04/10/15 10:51 AM HOUSE RESEARCH CS/NH H1437A3

...... moves to amend H.F. No. 1437, the delete everything amendment (H1437DE1), as follows:

Page 25, after line 22, insert:

1.1

1.2

1.3

1.4

1.5

1.6

1.7

18

19

1.10

1.11

1.12

1.13

1.14

1 15

1.16

1.17

1.18

1.19

1.20

1.21

1.22

1.23

1 24

1.25

"Sec. 27 Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 28A.15, subdivision 9, is amended to read:

Subd. 9. Community Sales of less than \$5,000 at community event or farmers' market. An individual who prepares and sells food that is not potentially hazardous food, as defined in rules adopted under section 31.11, at a community event or farmers' market with gross receipts of less than \$5,000 or less in a calendar year from the prepared food items. If the food is not prepared in a kitchen that is licensed or inspected, the seller must post a visible sign or placard stating that: "These products are homemade and not subject to state inspection." Prepared foods sold under this subdivision must be labeled to accurately reflect the name and address of the person preparing and selling the foods.

Sec. 28 Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 28A.15, subdivision 10, is amended to read:

Subd. 10. Certain Sales of less than \$5,000 of certain home-processed and home-canned foods. (a) A person who receives less than \$5,000 in gross receipts in a calendar year from the sale of home-processed and home-canned food products and meets the requirements in clauses (1) to (5):

- (1) the products are pickles, vegetables, or fruits having an equilibrium pH value of 4.6 or lower;
 - (2) the products are home-processed and home-canned in Minnesota;
- (3) the products are sold or offered for sale at a community or social event or a farmers' market in Minnesota;
- (4) the seller displays at the point of sale a clearly legible sign or placard stating: "These canned goods are homemade and not subject to state inspection" unless the products were processed and canned in a kitchen that is licensed or inspected; and

Sec. 28

04/10/15 10:51 AM HOUSE RESEARCH CS/NH H1437A3

2.1

2.2

2.3

2.4

2.5

2.6

2.7

2.8

2.9

2.10

2.11

2.12

2.13

2.14

2.15

2.16

2.17

2.18

2.19

2.20

2.21

2.22

(5) each container of the product sold or offered for sale under this exemption is
accurately labeled to provide the name and address of the person who processed and
canned the goods and the date on which the goods were processed and canned.
(b) A person who qualifies for an exemption under paragraph (a) is also exempt from
the provisions of sections 31.31 and 31.392.
(c) A person claiming an exemption under this subdivision is urged to:
(1) attend and successfully complete a better process school recognized by the
commissioner; and
(2) have the recipe and manufacturing process reviewed by a person knowledgeable
in the food canning industry and recognized by the commissioner as a process authority.
(d) The commissioner, in close cooperation with the commissioner of health and the
Minnesota Extension Service, shall attempt to maximize the availability of information
and technical services and support for persons who wish to home process and home can
low acid and acidified food products."
Page 25, line 23, before "EXEMPTION" insert "SALES OF \$5,000 TO \$18,000"
Page 25, after line 23, insert:
"Subdivision 1. Applicability. This section applies only to individuals with gross
receipts of \$5,000 to \$18,000 in a calendar year from the sale of exempt food."
Renumber the subdivisions in sequence
Page 48, line 12, delete "; 28A.15, subdivisions 9 and 10;"
Renumber the sections in sequence and correct the internal references

Sec. 28 2

Amend the title accordingly