05/21/17 11:18 AM

COUNSEL

1.1	Senator moves to amend the delete-everything amendment (A17-0487) to
1.2	S.F. No. 943 as follows:
1.3	Page 1, line 19, delete "265,536,000" and insert "260,036,000" and delete "250,995,000"
1.4	and insert "256,495,000"
1.5	Page 1, line 23, delete "203,706,000" and insert "198,206,000" and delete "192,856,000"
1.6	and insert " <u>198,356,000</u> "
1.7	Page 10, line 34, delete " <u>723,519,000</u> " and insert " <u>731,019,000</u> " and delete " <u>724,419,000</u> "
1.8	and insert " <u>721,919,000</u> "
1.9	Page 11, line 7, delete " <u>686,330,000</u> " and insert " <u>693,830,000</u> " and delete " <u>687,230,000</u> "
1.10	and insert " <u>684,730,000</u> "
1.11	Page 12, line 6, after the period insert "The base for this appropriation in fiscal year
1.12	<u>2020 is \$500,000.</u> "
1.13	Page 14, line 6, delete "653,343,000" and insert "660,843,000" and delete "653,293,000"
1.14	and insert " <u>650,793,000</u> "
1.15	Page 14, line 9, delete "651,186,000" and insert "658,686,000" and delete "651,136,000"
1.16	and insert " <u>648,636,000</u> "
1.17	Page 14, line 14, delete " <u>582,748,000</u> " and insert " <u>590,248,000</u> " and delete " <u>582,698,000</u> "
1.18	and insert " <u>580,198,000</u> "
1.19	Page 24, line 13, after "or" insert "debt" and after "obligations" insert ", including bonds
1.20	issued"
1.21	Page 24, after line 20, insert:
1.22	"EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective beginning September 1, 2017, and
1.23	applies to actions taken by a governing body of a public postsecondary institution."
1.24	Page 25, after line 22, insert:
1.25	"Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 136A.121, subdivision 6, is amended to read:
1.26	Subd. 6. Cost of attendance. (a) The recognized cost of attendance consists of: (1) an
1.27	allowance specified in law for living and miscellaneous expenses, and (2) an allowance for
1.28	tuition and fees equal to the lesser of the average tuition and fees charged by the institution,
1.29	or a tuition and fee maximum if one is established in law. If no living and miscellaneous
1.30	expense allowance is established in law, the allowance is equal to <u>101 percent of</u> the federal
1.31	poverty guidelines for a one person household in Minnesota for nine months. If no tuition
1.32	and fee maximum is established in law, the allowance for tuition and fees is equal to the

1

- 2.1 lesser of: (1) the average tuition and fees charged by the institution, and (2) for two-year
  2.2 programs, an amount equal to the highest tuition and fees charged at a public two-year
  2.3 institution, or for four-year programs, an amount equal to the highest tuition and fees charged
  2.4 at a public university.
- 2.5 (b) For a student registering for less than full time, the office shall prorate the cost of2.6 attendance to the actual number of credits for which the student is enrolled.
- 2.7 (c) The recognized cost of attendance for a student who is confined to a Minnesota
  2.8 correctional institution shall consist of the tuition and fee component in paragraph (a), with
  2.9 no allowance for living and miscellaneous expenses.
- (d) For the purpose of this subdivision, "fees" include only those fees that are mandatory
  and charged to full-time resident students attending the institution. Fees do not include
  charges for tools, equipment, computers, or other similar materials where the student retains
  ownership. Fees include charges for these materials if the institution retains ownership. Fees
  do not include optional or punitive fees."
- 2.15 Page 34, delete section 14 and insert:
- <sup>2.16</sup> "Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 136A.685, is amended to read:

## 2.17 **136A.685 PRIVATE INSTITUTIONS; ADJUDICATION OF FRAUD OR**

## 2.18 **MISREPRESENTATION.**

- 2.19 (a) The office shall not provide may revoke, or deny an application for, registration or
   2.20 degree or name approval to a school if there has been a criminal, civil, or administrative
- 2.21 adjudication of fraud or misrepresentation in Minnesota or in another state or jurisdiction
- 2.22 against the school or its owner, officers, agents, or sponsoring organization. If the
- 2.23 <u>adjudication was related to a particular academic program, the office may revoke, or deny</u>

## 2.24 <u>an application for:</u>

- 2.25 (1) degree approval for the program only;
- 2.26 (2) registration for the school; or
- 2.27 (3) name approval for the school.
- 2.28 (b) The adjudication of fraud or misrepresentation is sufficient cause for the office to
   2.29 determine that a school:
- 2.30 (1) does not qualify for exemption under section 136A.657; or
- 2.31 (2) is not approved to grant degrees or to use the term "academy," "college," "institute,"
  2.32 or "university" in its name."

2

05/21/17 11:18 AM

COUNSEL

3.1	Page 43, delete section 27
3.2	Page 52, delete subdivision 5 and insert:
3.3	"Subd. 5. Appeals. Any order requiring remedial action by the school or assigning a
3.4	penalty under section 136A.705 is appealable in accordance with chapter 14. The request
3.5	for an appeal must be made in writing to the office within 30 days of the date the school is
3.6	notified of the action of the office. The court shall award costs and reasonable attorney fees
3.7	in a contested chapter 14 hearing to the office if: (1) the office substantially prevails on the
3.8	merits in an action brought under this section; and (2) the school has a net income from
3.9	student tuition, fees, and other required institutional charges collected from the last fiscal
3.10	year of \$1,000,000 or greater. "
3.11	Page 61, delete subdivision 5 and insert:
3.12	"Subd. 5. Appeals. Any order requiring remedial action by the school or assigning a
3.13	penalty under section 136A.832 is appealable in accordance with chapter 14. The request
3.14	for an appeal must be made in writing to the office within 30 days of the date the school is
3.15	notified of the action of the office. The court shall award costs and reasonable attorney fees
3.16	in a contested chapter 14 hearing to the office if: (1) the office substantially prevails on the
3.17	merits in an action brought under this section; and (2) the school has a net income from
3.18	student tuition, fees, and other required institutional charges collected from the last fiscal
3.19	vear of \$1,000,000 or greater. "