EDUCATION POLICY MINUTES

Representative Laurie Pryor, Chair of the Committee on Education Policy, called the meeting to order at 3:00 PM on January 18, 2023 in Room 120 of the Capitol.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members Present:

PRYOR, Laurie, Chair HILL, Josiah, Vice Chair BENNETT, Peggy, Republican Lead BAKEBERG, Ben BERG, Kaela FEIST, Sandra FRAZIER, Cedrick KEELER, Heather KNUDSEN, Krista LEE, Liz MUELLER, Patricia URDAHL, Dean YOUAKIM, Cheryl

A quorum was present.

Representative Lee moved to approve the minutes from January 17, 2023. The motion prevailed.

Representative Berg moved that HF58 be before the committee; to be referred to the Committee on Education Finance.

Representative Richardson presented HF58.

The following testified on HF58:

• Dr. Bernadeia Johnson, Assistant Professor, Department of Educational Leadership, Minnesota State University

• Idil Abdull, Advocate/Parent, Minnesota

The following gave public testimony on HF58:

- Mina Lein, Special Education Teacher, Minneapolis Public Schools
- Adosh Unni, Director of Government Relations, Minnesota Department of Education
- Jason Luksik, Elementary Principal, Bemidji
- Nancy Antoine, Elementary Principal, Northfield
- Khulia Pringle, Member, National Parents Union & Solutions Not Suspensions

- Tonya Draughn, Minnesota Delegate, National Parents Union & Solutions Not Suspensions
- Nyakueth Biel, Sister, Faribault Public Schools
- Joshua Crosson, Executive Director, EdAllies
- Paula Cole, Executive Director, Educators for Excellence

Representative Berg renewed the motion that HF58 be referred to the Committee on Education Finance. A voice vote was taken. The motion prevailed.

Representative Keeler moved that HF320 be before the committee; to be referred to the committee on Education Finance.

Representative Hassan presented HF320.

The following testified on HF320:

- Sarah Lancaster, 1st Grade Teacher, Onamia School District
- Glen-Edward Shivers, 3rd grade student, Onamia School District
- Azomali Obisakin, 4th grade student, Riverview School
- Sidarth Gazula, Student, Wayzata Public Schools
- Mariah Valenzuela, Student, South High School
- Abduwahid Mohamed, Student, South High School
- Angelica Torralba-Olague, Teacher, South High School

The following gave public testimony on HF320:

• Paula Cole, Executive Director, Educators for Excellence

Chair Pryor moved to lay over HF320 until 1/24

The meeting was adjourned at 4:35 pm.

Representative Laurie Pryor, Chair

Isabel Anderson, Committee Legislative Assistant