1.3	"ARTICLE 1
1.4	DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND PUBLIC HEALTH
1.5 1.6	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 103I.005, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
1.7 1.8 1.9	Subd. 2. Boring. "Boring" means a hole or excavation that is not used to extract water and includes exploratory borings, bored geothermal heat exchangers, temporary borings, and elevator borings.
1.10 1.11	Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 103I.005, subdivision 8a, is amended to read:
1.121.131.14	Subd. 8a. Environmental well. "Environmental well" means an excavation 15 or more feet in depth that is drilled, cored, bored, washed, driven, dug, jetted, or otherwise constructed to:
1.15 1.16	(1) conduct physical, chemical, or biological testing of groundwater, and includes a groundwater quality monitoring or sampling well;
1.17 1.18	(2) lower a groundwater level to control or remove contamination in groundwater, and includes a remedial well and excludes horizontal trenches; or
1.19 1.20 1.21	(3) monitor or measure physical, chemical, radiological, or biological parameters of the earth and earth fluids, or for vapor recovery or venting systems. An environmental well includes an excavation used to:
1.22	(i) measure groundwater levels, including a piezometer;

..... moves to amend H.F. No. 3138 as follows:

Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:

1.1

2.1	(ii) determine groundwater flow direction or velocity;
2.2	(iii) measure earth properties such as hydraulic conductivity, bearing capacity, or
2.3	resistance;
2.4	(iv) obtain samples of geologic materials for testing or classification; or
2.5	(v) remove or remediate pollution or contamination from groundwater or soil through
2.6	the use of a vent, vapor recovery system, or sparge point.
2.7	An environmental well does not include an exploratory boring.
2.8	Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 103I.005, subdivision 17a, is amended
2.9	to read:
2.10	Subd. 17a. Temporary environmental well boring. "Temporary environmental well"
2.11	means an environmental well as defined in section 103I.005, subdivision 8a, that is sealed
2.12	within 72 hours of the time construction on the well begins. "Temporary boring" means an
2.13	excavation that is 15 feet or more in depth that is sealed within 72 hours of the start of
2.14	construction and is drilled, cored, washed, driven, dug, jetted, or otherwise constructed to:
2.15	(1) conduct physical, chemical, or biological testing of groundwater, including
2.16	groundwater quality monitoring;
2.17	(2) monitor or measure physical, chemical, radiological, or biological parameters of
2.18	earth materials or earth fluids, including hydraulic conductivity, bearing capacity, or
2.19	resistance;
2.20	(3) measure groundwater levels, including use of a piezometer;
2.21	(4) determine groundwater flow direction or velocity; or
2.22	(5) collect samples of geologic materials for testing or classification, or soil vapors for
2.23	testing or extraction.
2.24	Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 103I.205, subdivision 1, is amended
2.25	to read:
2.26	Subdivision 1. Notification required. (a) Except as provided in paragraph (d), a person
2.27	may not construct a water-supply, dewatering, or environmental well until a notification of
2.28	the proposed well on a form prescribed by the commissioner is filed with the commissioner
2.29	with the filing fee in section 103I.208, and, when applicable, the person has met the
2.30	requirements of paragraph (e). If after filing the well notification an attempt to construct a
2.31	well is unsuccessful, a new notification is not required unless the information relating to

the successful well has substantially changed. A notification is not required prior to construction of a temporary environmental well boring.

- (b) The property owner, the property owner's agent, or the licensed contractor where a well is to be located must file the well notification with the commissioner.
- (c) The well notification under this subdivision preempts local permits and notifications, and counties or home rule charter or statutory cities may not require a permit or notification for wells unless the commissioner has delegated the permitting or notification authority under section 103I.111.
- (d) A person who is an individual that constructs a drive point water-supply well on property owned or leased by the individual for farming or agricultural purposes or as the individual's place of abode must notify the commissioner of the installation and location of the well. The person must complete the notification form prescribed by the commissioner and mail it to the commissioner by ten days after the well is completed. A fee may not be charged for the notification. A person who sells drive point wells at retail must provide buyers with notification forms and informational materials including requirements regarding wells, their location, construction, and disclosure. The commissioner must provide the notification forms and informational materials to the sellers.
- (e) When the operation of a well will require an appropriation permit from the commissioner of natural resources, a person may not begin construction of the well until the person submits the following information to the commissioner of natural resources:
 - (1) the location of the well;

3.1

3.2

3 3

3.4

3.5

3.6

3 7

3.8

3.9

3.10

3.11

3.12

3.13

3.14

3.15

3.16

3.17

3.18

3.19

3.20

3.21

- (2) the formation or aquifer that will serve as the water source;
- 3.23 (3) the maximum daily, seasonal, and annual pumpage rates and volumes that will be requested in the appropriation permit; and
- 3.25 (4) other information requested by the commissioner of natural resources that is necessary to conduct the preliminary assessment required under section 103G.287, subdivision 1, paragraph (c).
- 3.28 The person may begin construction after receiving preliminary approval from the commissioner of natural resources.

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 103I.205, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

- Subd. 4. **License required.** (a) Except as provided in paragraph (b), (c), (d), or (e), section 103I.401, subdivision 2, or 103I.601, subdivision 2, a person may not drill, construct, repair, or seal a well or boring unless the person has a well contractor's license in possession.
- (b) A person may construct, repair, and seal an environmental well or temporary boringif the person:
- 4.8 (1) is a professional engineer licensed under sections 326.02 to 326.15 in the branches of civil or geological engineering;
- 4.10 (2) is a hydrologist or hydrogeologist certified by the American Institute of Hydrology;
- 4.11 (3) is a professional geoscientist licensed under sections 326.02 to 326.15;
- (4) is a geologist certified by the American Institute of Professional Geologists; or
- 4.13 (5) meets the qualifications established by the commissioner in rule.
- A person must be licensed by the commissioner as an environmental well contractor on forms provided by the commissioner.
- 4.16 (c) A person may do the following work with a limited well/boring contractor's license in possession. A separate license is required for each of the four activities:
 - (1) installing, repairing, and modifying well screens, pitless units and pitless adaptors, well pumps and pumping equipment, and well casings from the pitless adaptor or pitless unit to the upper termination of the well casing;
- 4.21 (2) sealing wells and borings;

43

4.4

4.5

4.18

4.19

- 4.22 (3) constructing, repairing, and sealing dewatering wells; or
- 4.23 (4) constructing, repairing, and sealing bored geothermal heat exchangers.
- (d) A person may construct, repair, and seal an elevator boring with an elevator boring contractor's license.
- 4.26 (e) Notwithstanding other provisions of this chapter requiring a license, a license is not 4.27 required for a person who complies with the other provisions of this chapter if the person 4.28 is:
- (1) an individual who constructs a water-supply well on land that is owned or leased by
 the individual and is used by the individual for farming or agricultural purposes or as the
 individual's place of abode; or

14/17/10	DEVICOD	A CIT/II	A 10 077/
1/1 / 1 / / 1 %	REVISOR	A ('H/II	/\ I X II / /#
04/17/18	REVISOR	ACF/IL	A18-0776

(2) an individual who performs labor or services for a contractor licensed under the provisions of this chapter in connection with the construction, sealing, or repair of a well or boring at the direction and under the personal supervision of a contractor licensed under the provisions of this chapter; or.

- (3) a licensed plumber who is repairing submersible pumps or water pipes associated with well water systems if: (i) the repair location is within an area where there is no licensed well contractor within 50 miles, and (ii) the licensed plumber complies with all relevant sections of the plumbing code.
- Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 103I.205, subdivision 9, is amended to read:
 - Subd. 9. **Report of work.** Within 30 90 days after completion or sealing of a well or boring, the person doing the work must submit a verified report to the commissioner containing the information specified by rules adopted under this chapter.
 - Within 30 days after receiving the report, the commissioner shall send or otherwise provide access to a copy of the report to the commissioner of natural resources, to the local soil and water conservation district where the well is located, and to the director of the Minnesota Geological Survey.
- Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 103I.208, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
 - Subdivision 1. **Well notification fee.** The well notification fee to be paid by a property owner is:
- 5.21 (1) for construction of a water supply well, \$275, which includes the state core function fee;
 - (2) for a well sealing, \$75 for each well <u>or boring</u>, which includes the state core function fee, except that a single fee of \$75 is required for all temporary <u>environmental wells borings</u> recorded on the sealing notification for a single property, <u>having depths within a 25 foot range</u>, and sealed within 72 hours of start of construction, except that temporary borings less than 25 feet in depth are exempt from the notification and fee requirements in this <u>chapter</u>;
 - (3) for construction of a dewatering well, \$275, which includes the state core function fee, for each dewatering well except a dewatering project comprising five or more dewatering wells shall be assessed a single fee of \$1,375 for the dewatering wells recorded on the notification; and

5.1

5.2

5.3

5.4

5.5

5.6

5.7

5.8

5.9

5.10

5.11

5.12

5.13

5.14

5.15

5 16

5.19

5.20

5.23

5.24

5.25

5.26

5.27

5.28

5.29

5.30

5.31

14/17/10	DEVICOD	A CIT/II	A 10 077/
1/1 / 1 / / 1 %	REVISOR	A ('H/II	/\ I X II / /#
04/17/18	REVISOR	ACF/IL	A18-0776

(4) for construction of an environmental well, \$275, which includes the state core function fee, except that a single fee of \$275 is required for all environmental wells recorded on the notification that are located on a single property, and except that no fee is required for construction of a temporary environmental well boring.

- Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 103I.235, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
- 6.7 Subd. 3. Temporary environmental well boring and unsuccessful well exemption.
- 6.8 This section does not apply to temporary <u>environmental wells borings</u> or unsuccessful wells 6.9 that have been sealed by a licensed contractor in compliance with this chapter.
- Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 103I.301, subdivision 6, is amended to read:
- 6.11 Subd. 6. **Notification required.** A person may not seal a well <u>or boring</u> until a notification of the proposed sealing is filed as prescribed by the commissioner. <u>Temporary borings less</u>
 6.13 than 25 feet in depth are exempt from the notification requirements in this chapter.
- Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 103I.601, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
 - Subd. 4. **Notification and map of borings.** (a) By ten days before beginning exploratory boring, an explorer must submit to the commissioner of health a notification of the proposed boring on a form prescribed by the commissioner, map and a fee of \$275 for each exploratory boring.
- (b) By ten days before beginning exploratory boring, an explorer must submit to the 6.20 commissioners of health and natural resources a county road map on a single sheet of paper 6.21 that is eight and one-half by 11 inches in size and having a scale of one-half inch equal to 6.22 one mile, as prepared by the Department of Transportation, or a 7.5 minute series topographic 6.23 map (1:24,000 scale), as prepared by the United States Geological Survey, showing the 6.24 location of each proposed exploratory boring to the nearest estimated 40 acre parcel. 6.25 6.26 Exploratory boring that is proposed on the map may not be commenced later than 180 days after submission of the map, unless a new map is submitted. 6.27

Sec. 11. [137.68] ADVISORY COUNCIL ON RARE DISEASES.

Subdivision 1. Establishment. The Board of Regents of the University of Minnesota is
 requested to establish an advisory council on rare diseases to provide advice on research,
 diagnosis, treatment, and education related to rare diseases. For purposes of this section,

6.1

6.2

6.3

6.4

6.16

6.17

6.18

6.19

"rare disease" has the meaning given	n in United States Code, title 21, section 360bb. The
council shall be called the Chloe Ba	rnes Advisory Council on Rare Diseases.
Subd. 2. Membership. (a) The ad	visory council may consist of public members appointed
by the Board of Regents or a design	ee according to paragraph (b) and four members of the
legislature appointed according to p	aragraph (c).
(b) The Board of Regents or a de	esignee is requested to appoint the following public
members:	
(1) three physicians licensed and	I practicing in the state with experience researching,
diagnosing, or treating rare diseases	<u>2</u>
(2) one registered nurse or advar	nced practice registered nurse licensed and practicing
in the state with experience treating	rare diseases;
(3) at least two hospital administ	trators, or their designees, from hospitals in the state
that provide care to persons diagnos	ed with a rare disease. One administrator or designee
appointed under this clause must rep	present a hospital in which the scope of service focuses
on rare diseases of pediatric patients	<u>5;</u>
(4) three persons age 18 or older	who either have a rare disease or are a caregiver of a
person with a rare disease;	
(5) a representative of a rare dise	ease patient organization that operates in the state;
(6) a social worker with experien	nce providing services to persons diagnosed with a rare
disease;	
(7) a pharmacist with experience	e with drugs used to treat rare diseases;
(8) a representative of the biotec	hnology industry;
(9) a representative of health pla	n companies;
(10) a medical researcher with ex	xperience conducting research on rare diseases;
(11) a genetic counselor with exp	perience providing services to persons diagnosed with
a rare disease or caregivers of those	persons; and
(12) other public members, who	may serve on an ad hoc basis.
(c) The advisory council shall in	clude two members of the senate, one appointed by the
majority leader and one appointed b	y the minority leader; and two members of the house
of representatives, one appointed by	the speaker of the house and one appointed by the
minority leader.	

8.1	(d) The commissioner of health or a designee, a representative of Mayo Medical School,
8.2	and a representative of the University of Minnesota Medical School, shall serve as ex officio,
8.3	nonvoting members of the advisory council.
8.4	(e) Initial appointments to the advisory council shall be made no later than July 1, 2018.
8.5	Members appointed according to paragraph (b) shall serve for a term of three years, except
8.6	that the initial members appointed according to paragraph (b) shall have an initial term of
8.7	two, three, or four years determined by lot by the chairperson. Members appointed according
8.8	to paragraph (b) shall serve until their successors have been appointed.
8.9	Subd. 3. Meetings. The Board of Regents or a designee is requested to convene the first
8.10	meeting of the advisory council no later than September 1, 2018. The advisory council shall
8.11	meet at the call of the chairperson or at the request of a majority of advisory council members.
8.12	Subd. 4. Duties. The advisory council's duties may include, but are not limited to:
8.13	(1) in conjunction with the state's medical schools, the state's schools of public health,
8.14	and hospitals in the state that provide care to persons diagnosed with a rare disease,
8.15	developing resources or recommendations relating to quality of and access to treatment and
8.16	services in the state for persons with a rare disease, including but not limited to:
8.17	(i) a list of existing, publicly accessible resources on research, diagnosis, treatment, and
8.18	education relating to rare diseases;
8.19	(ii) identifying best practices for rare disease care implemented in other states, at the
8.20	national level, and at the international level, that will improve rare disease care in the state
8.21	and seeking opportunities to partner with similar organizations in other states and countries;
8.22	(iii) identifying problems faced by patients with a rare disease when changing health
8.23	plans, including recommendations on how to remove obstacles faced by these patients to
8.24	finding a new health plan and how to improve the ease and speed of finding a new health
8.25	plan that meets the needs of patients with a rare disease; and
8.26	(iv) identifying best practices to ensure health care providers are adequately informed
8.27	of the most effective strategies for recognizing and treating rare diseases; and
8.28	(2) advising, consulting, and cooperating with the Department of Health, the Advisory
8.29	Committee on Heritable and Congenital Disorders, and other agencies of state government
8.30	in developing information and programs for the public and the health care community
8.31	relating to diagnosis, treatment, and awareness of rare diseases.
8.32	Subd. 5. Conflict of interest. Advisory council members are subject to the Board of
8.33	Regents policy on conflicts of interest.

9.1	Subd. 6. Annual report. By January 1 of each year, beginning January 1, 2019, the
9.2	advisory council shall report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative
9.3	committees with jurisdiction over higher education and health care policy on the advisory
9.4	council's activities under subdivision 4 and other issues on which the advisory council may
9.5	choose to report.
9.6	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
9.7	Sec. 12. [144.064] THE VIVIAN ACT.
9.8	Subdivision 1. Short title. This section shall be known and may be cited as the "Vivian
9.9	Act."
9.10	Subd. 2. Definitions. For purposes of this section, the following terms have the meanings
9.11	given them:
9.12	(1) "commissioner" means the commissioner of health;
9.13	(2) "health care practitioner" means a medical professional that provides prenatal or
9.14	postnatal care;
9.15	(3) "CMV" means the human herpesvirus cytomegalovirus, also called HCMV, human
9.16	herpesvirus 5, and HHV-5; and
9.17	(4) "congenital CMV" means the transmission of a CMV infection from a pregnant
9.18	mother to her fetus.
9.19	Subd. 3. Commissioner duties. (a) The commissioner shall make available to health
9.20	care practitioners and women who may become pregnant, expectant parents, and parents
9.21	of infants up-to-date and evidence-based information about congenital CMV that has been
9.22	reviewed by experts with knowledge of the disease. The information shall include the
9.23	following:
9.24	(1) the recommendation to consider testing for congenital CMV in babies who did not
9.25	pass their newborn hearing screen or in which a pregnancy history suggests increased risk
9.26	for congenital CMV infection;
9.27	(2) the incidence of CMV;
9.28	(3) the transmission of CMV to pregnant women and women who may become pregnant;
9.29	(4) birth defects caused by congenital CMV;
9.30	(5) available preventative measures to avoid the infection of women who are pregnant
9.31	or may become pregnant; and

(6) resources available for families of children born with congenital CMV. 10.1 (b) The commissioner shall follow existing department practice, inclusive of community 10.2 engagement, to ensure that the information in paragraph (a) is culturally and linguistically 10.3 appropriate for all recipients. 10.4 10.5 (c) The department shall establish an outreach program to: (1) educate women who may become pregnant, expectant parents, and parents of infants 10.6 10.7 about CMV; and (2) raise awareness for CMV among health care providers who provide care to expectant 10.8 mothers or infants. 10.9 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144.121, subdivision 1a, is amended to read: 10.10 10.11 Subd. 1a. Fees for ionizing radiation-producing equipment. (a) A facility with ionizing radiation-producing equipment must pay an annual initial or annual renewal registration 10.12 fee consisting of a base facility fee of \$100 and an additional fee for each radiation source, 10.13 as follows: 10.14 100 (1) medical or veterinary equipment \$ 10.15 \$ 40 (2) dental x-ray equipment 10.16 100 (3) x-ray equipment not used on \$ 10 17 humans or animals 10.18 (4) devices with sources of ionizing \$ 100 10.19 10.20 radiation not used on humans or animals 10.21 (5) security screening system 100 \$ 10.22 (b) A facility with radiation therapy and accelerator equipment must pay an annual 10.23 registration fee of \$500. A facility with an industrial accelerator must pay an annual 10.24 registration fee of \$150. 10.25 (c) Electron microscopy equipment is exempt from the registration fee requirements of 10.26 this section. 10.27 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144.121, is amended by adding a subdivision 10.28 to read: 10.29 Subd. 9. Exemption from examination requirements; operators of security screening 10.30 systems. (a) This subdivision applies to security screening systems that are 10.31 radiation-producing equipment, designed and used for security screening of humans who 10.32

are in custody of a correctional or detention facility to image and identify contraband items
concealed within or on all sides of the body.

(b) For purposes of this subdivision, a correctional or detention facility means an agency

- (b) For purposes of this subdivision, a correctional or detention facility means an agency of the state or a political subdivision charged with detection, enforcement, or incarceration in respect to state criminal or traffic laws and that is licensed as a correctional or detention facility by the commissioner of corrections under section 241.021.
- (c) An employee of a correctional or detention facility who operates a security screening system that meets the definition under paragraph (a) and the facility in which an individual who operates a security screening system are exempt from the requirements of subdivisions 5 and 6.
- (d) An employee of a correctional or detention facility who operates a security screening system that meets the definition under paragraph (a) and the facility in which an individual operates a security screening system must meet the requirements of a variance to Minnesota Rules, parts 4732.0305 and 4732.0565, issued under Minnesota Rules, parts 4717.7000 to 4717.7050, until permanent rules governing security screening systems are adopted under section 83.
- EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective 30 days following final enactment.

 Paragraph (d) expires on the December 31 that occurs in the same year following the publication in the State Register of rules adopted under section 83.

11.20 Sec. 15. **[144.131] ADVISORY COUNCIL ON PANDAS AND PANS.**

- Subdivision 1. Advisory council established. The commissioner of health shall establish
 an advisory council on pediatric autoimmune neuropsychiatric disorders associated with
 streptococcal infections (PANDAS) and pediatric acute-onset neuropsychiatric syndrome
 (PANS) to advise the commissioner regarding research, diagnosis, treatment, and education
 relating to PANDAS and PANS.
- Subd. 2. Membership. (a) The advisory council shall consist of 14 public members
 appointed according to paragraph (b) and two members of the legislature appointed according
 to paragraph (c).
- (b) The commissioner shall appoint the following public members to the advisory council
 in the manner provided in section 15.0597:
- (1) an immunologist who is licensed by the Board of Medical Practice and who has
 experience treating PANS with the use of intravenous immunoglobulin;

11.4

11.5

11.6

11.7

11.8

11.9

12.1	(2) a health care provider who is licensed and practicing in Minnesota and who has
12.2	experience treating persons with PANS and autism spectrum disorder;
12.3	(3) a representative of a nonprofit PANS advocacy organization;
12.4	(4) a family practice physician who is licensed by the Board of Medical Practice and
12.5	practicing in Minnesota and who has experience treating persons with PANS;
12.6	(5) a medical researcher with experience conducting research on PANDAS, PANS,
12.7	obsessive-compulsive disorder, and other neurological disorders;
12.8	(6) a health care provider who is licensed and practicing in Minnesota and who has
12.9	expertise in treating patients with eating disorders;
12.10	(7) a representative of a professional organization in Minnesota for school psychologists
12.11	or school social workers;
12.12	(8) a child psychiatrist who is licensed by the Board of Medical Practice and practicing
12.13	in Minnesota and who has experience treating persons with PANS;
12.14	(9) a pediatrician who is licensed by the Board of Medical Practice and practicing in
12.15	Minnesota and who has experience treating persons with PANS;
12.16	(10) a representative of an organization focused on autism spectrum disorder;
12.17	(11) a parent of a child who has been diagnosed with PANS and autism spectrum disorder
12.18	(12) a social worker licensed by the Board of Social Work and practicing in Minnesota
12.19	(13) a designee of the commissioner of education with expertise in special education;
12.20	<u>and</u>
12.21	(14) a representative of health plan companies that offer health plans in the individual
12.22	or group markets.
12.23	(c) Legislative members shall be appointed to the advisory council as follows:
12.24	(1) the Subcommittee on Committees of the Committee on Rules and Administration
12.25	in the senate shall appoint one member from the senate; and
12.26	(2) the speaker of the house shall appoint one member from the house of representatives
12.27	(d) The commissioner of health or a designee shall serve as a nonvoting member of the
12.28	advisory council.
12.29	Subd. 3. Terms. Members of the advisory council shall serve for a term of three years
12.30	and may be reappointed. Members shall serve until their successors have been appointed.

13.1	Subd. 4. Administration. The commissioner of health or the commissioner's designee
13.2	shall provide meeting space and administrative services for the advisory council.
13.3	Subd. 5. Compensation and expenses. Public members of the advisory council shall
13.4	not receive compensation but may be reimbursed for allowed actual and necessary expenses
13.5	incurred in the performance of the member's duties for the advisory council, in the same
13.6	manner and amount as authorized by the commissioner's plan adopted under section 43A.18,
13.7	subdivision 2.
13.8	Subd. 6. Chair; meetings. (a) At the advisory council's first meeting, and every two
13.9	years thereafter, the members of the advisory council shall elect from among their
13.10	membership a chair and a vice-chair, whose duties shall be established by the advisory
13.11	council.
13.12	(b) The chair of the advisory council shall fix a time and place for regular meetings. The
13.13	advisory council shall meet at least four times each year at the call of the chair or at the
13.14	request of a majority of the advisory council's members.
13.15	Subd. 7. Duties. The advisory council shall:
13.16	(1) advise the commissioner regarding research, diagnosis, treatment, and education
13.17	relating to PANDAS and PANS;
13.18	(2) annually develop recommendations on the following issues related to PANDAS and
13.19	PANS:
13.20	(i) practice guidelines for diagnosis and treatment;
13.21	(ii) ways to increase clinical awareness and education of PANDAS and PANS among
13.22	pediatricians, other physicians, school-based health centers, and providers of mental health
13.23	services;
13.24	(iii) outreach to educators and parents to increase awareness of PANDAS and PANS;
13.25	and
13.26	(iv) development of a network of volunteer experts on the diagnosis and treatment of
13.27	PANDAS and PANS to assist in education and research; and
13.28	(3) by October 1, 2019, and each October 1 thereafter, complete an annual report with
13.29	the advisory council's recommendations on the issues listed in clause (2), and submit the
13.30	report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with
13.31	jurisdiction over health care and education. The commissioner shall also post a copy of each
13.32	annual report on the Department of Health Web site.

Subd. 8. **Expiration.** The advisory council expires October 1, 2024.

- Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144.1501, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- Subdivision 1. **Definitions.** (a) For purposes of this section, the following definitions apply.
- 14.5 (b) "Advanced dental therapist" means an individual who is licensed as a dental therapist under section 150A.06, and who is certified as an advanced dental therapist under section 150A.106.
- 14.8 (c) "Alcohol and drug counselor" means an individual who is licensed as an alcohol and drug counselor under chapter 148F.
- 14.10 (e) (d) "Dental therapist" means an individual who is licensed as a dental therapist under section 150A.06.
- 14.12 (d) (e) "Dentist" means an individual who is licensed to practice dentistry.
- (e) (f) "Designated rural area" means a statutory and home rule charter city or township that is outside the seven-county metropolitan area as defined in section 473.121, subdivision 2, excluding the cities of Duluth, Mankato, Moorhead, Rochester, and St. Cloud.
- (f) (g) "Emergency circumstances" means those conditions that make it impossible for the participant to fulfill the service commitment, including death, total and permanent disability, or temporary disability lasting more than two years.
- (g) (h) "Mental health professional" means an individual providing clinical services in the treatment of mental illness who is qualified in at least one of the ways specified in section 245.462, subdivision 18.
- (h) (i) "Medical resident" means an individual participating in a medical residency in family practice, internal medicine, obstetrics and gynecology, pediatrics, or psychiatry.
- 14.24 (i) (j) "Midlevel practitioner" means a nurse practitioner, nurse-midwife, nurse anesthetist, 14.25 advanced clinical nurse specialist, or physician assistant.
- 14.26 (j) (k) "Nurse" means an individual who has completed training and received all licensing or certification necessary to perform duties as a licensed practical nurse or registered nurse.
- 14.28 (k) (l) "Nurse-midwife" means a registered nurse who has graduated from a program of study designed to prepare registered nurses for advanced practice as nurse-midwives.
- 14.30 (1) (m) "Nurse practitioner" means a registered nurse who has graduated from a program
 14.31 of study designed to prepare registered nurses for advanced practice as nurse practitioners.

(m) (n) "Pharmacist" means an individual with a valid license issued under chapter 151. 15.1

- (n) (o) "Physician" means an individual who is licensed to practice medicine in the areas of family practice, internal medicine, obstetrics and gynecology, pediatrics, or psychiatry.
- (o) (p) "Physician assistant" means a person licensed under chapter 147A. 15.4

15.2

15.3

15.5

15.6

15.7

15.8

15.9

15.10

15.21

15.24

15.25

15.26

15.27

15.28

15.29

15.30

- (p) (q) "Public health nurse" means a registered nurse licensed in Minnesota who has obtained a registration certificate as a public health nurse from the Board of Nursing in accordance with Minnesota Rules, chapter 6316.
- (q) (r) "Qualified educational loan" means a government, commercial, or foundation loan for actual costs paid for tuition, reasonable education expenses, and reasonable living expenses related to the graduate or undergraduate education of a health care professional.
- (r) (s) "Underserved urban community" means a Minnesota urban area or population 15.11 included in the list of designated primary medical care health professional shortage areas 15.12 (HPSAs), medically underserved areas (MUAs), or medically underserved populations 15.13 (MUPs) maintained and updated by the United States Department of Health and Human 15.14 Services. 15.15
- Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 144.1501, subdivision 2, is amended 15.16 to read: 15.17
- Subd. 2. Creation of account. (a) A health professional education loan forgiveness 15.18 program account is established. The commissioner of health shall use money from the 15.19 account to establish a loan forgiveness program: 15.20
- (1) for medical residents and mental health professionals agreeing to practice in designated rural areas or underserved urban communities or specializing in the area of pediatric 15.22 psychiatry; 15.23
 - (2) for midlevel practitioners agreeing to practice in designated rural areas or to teach at least 12 credit hours, or 720 hours per year in the nursing field in a postsecondary program at the undergraduate level or the equivalent at the graduate level;
 - (3) for nurses who agree to practice in a Minnesota nursing home; an intermediate care facility for persons with developmental disability; a hospital if the hospital owns and operates a Minnesota nursing home and a minimum of 50 percent of the hours worked by the nurse is in the nursing home; a housing with services establishment as defined in section 144D.01, subdivision 4; or for a home care provider as defined in section 144A.43, subdivision 4; or

agree to teach at least 12 credit hours, or 720 hours per year in the nursing field in a postsecondary program at the undergraduate level or the equivalent at the graduate level;

- (4) for other health care technicians agreeing to teach at least 12 credit hours, or 720 hours per year in their designated field in a postsecondary program at the undergraduate level or the equivalent at the graduate level. The commissioner, in consultation with the Healthcare Education-Industry Partnership, shall determine the health care fields where the need is the greatest, including, but not limited to, respiratory therapy, clinical laboratory technology, radiologic technology, and surgical technology;
- (5) for pharmacists, advanced dental therapists, dental therapists, and public health nurses, and alcohol and drug counselors who agree to practice in designated rural areas; and
- (6) for dentists agreeing to deliver at least 25 percent of the dentist's yearly patient encounters to state public program enrollees or patients receiving sliding fee schedule discounts through a formal sliding fee schedule meeting the standards established by the United States Department of Health and Human Services under Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, section 51, chapter 303.
- (b) Appropriations made to the account do not cancel and are available until expended, except that at the end of each biennium, any remaining balance in the account that is not committed by contract and not needed to fulfill existing commitments shall cancel to the fund.
- Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144.1501, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
- Subd. 3. **Eligibility.** (a) To be eligible to participate in the loan forgiveness program, an individual must:
 - (1) be a medical or dental resident; a licensed pharmacist; or be enrolled in a training or education program to become a dentist, dental therapist, advanced dental therapist, mental health professional, pharmacist, public health nurse, midlevel practitioner, registered nurse, or a licensed practical nurse, or alcohol and drug counselor. The commissioner may also consider applications submitted by graduates in eligible professions who are licensed and in practice; and
 - (2) submit an application to the commissioner of health.
 - (b) An applicant selected to participate must sign a contract to agree to serve a minimum three-year full-time service obligation according to subdivision 2, which shall begin no later than March 31 following completion of required training, with the exception of a nurse,

16.1

16.2

16.3

16.4

16.5

16.6

16.7

16.8

16.9

16.10

16.11

16.12

16.13

16.14

16.15

16.16

16.17

16.18

16.19

16.20

16.24

16.25

16.26

16.27

16.28

16.29

16.30

16.31

16.32

who must agree to serve a minimum two-year full-time service obligation according to subdivision 2, which shall begin no later than March 31 following completion of required training.

- Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144.1506, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
 - Subd. 2. **Expansion grant program.** (a) The commissioner of health shall award primary care residency expansion grants to eligible primary care residency programs to plan and implement new residency slots. A planning grant shall not exceed \$75,000, and a training grant shall not exceed \$150,000 per new residency slot for the first year, \$100,000 for the second year, and \$50,000 for the third year of the new residency slot. For eligible residency programs longer than three years, training grants may be awarded for the duration of the residency, not exceeding an average of \$100,000 per residency slot per year.
- (b) Funds may be spent to cover the costs of:

17.1

17.2

17.3

17.5

17.6

17.7

17.8

17.9

17.10

17.11

17.24

17.25

17.26

17.27

17.28

17.29

- (1) planning related to establishing an accredited primary care residency program;
- 17.14 (2) obtaining accreditation by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education 17.15 or another national body that accredits residency programs;
- 17.16 (3) establishing new residency programs or new resident training slots;
- 17.17 (4) recruitment, training, and retention of new residents and faculty;
- 17.18 (5) travel and lodging for new residents;
- (6) faculty, new resident, and preceptor salaries related to new residency slots;
- 17.20 (7) training site improvements, fees, equipment, and supplies required for new primary
 17.21 care resident training slots; and
- (8) supporting clinical education in which trainees are part of a primary care team model.

17.23 Sec. 20. [144.397] STATEWIDE TOBACCO CESSATION SERVICES.

- (a) The commissioner of health shall administer, or contract for the administration of, statewide tobacco cessation services to assist Minnesotans who are seeking advice or services to help them quit using tobacco products. The commissioner shall establish statewide public awareness activities to inform the public of the availability of the services and encourage the public to utilize the services because of the dangers and harm of tobacco use and dependence.
- (b) Services to be provided may include, but are not limited to:

18.1	(1) telephone-based coaching and counseling;
18.2	(2) referrals;
18.3	(3) written materials mailed upon request;
18.4	(4) Web-based texting or e-mail services; and
18.5	(5) free Food and Drug Administration-approved tobacco cessation medications.
18.6	(c) Services provided must be consistent with evidence-based best practices in tobacco
18.7	cessation services. Services provided must be coordinated with employer, health plan
18.8	company, and private sector tobacco prevention and cessation services that may be available
18.9	to individuals depending on their employment or health coverage.
18.10	Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144.608, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
18.11	Subdivision 1. Trauma Advisory Council established. (a) A Trauma Advisory Council
18.12	is established to advise, consult with, and make recommendations to the commissioner on
18.13	the development, maintenance, and improvement of a statewide trauma system.
18.14	(b) The council shall consist of the following members:
18.15	(1) a trauma surgeon certified by the American Board of Surgery or the American
18.16	Osteopathic Board of Surgery who practices in a level I or II trauma hospital;
18.17	(2) a general surgeon certified by the American Board of Surgery or the American
18.18	Osteopathic Board of Surgery whose practice includes trauma and who practices in a
18.19	designated rural area as defined under section 144.1501, subdivision 1, paragraph (e) (f);
18.20	(3) a neurosurgeon certified by the American Board of Neurological Surgery who
18.21	practices in a level I or II trauma hospital;
18.22	(4) a trauma program nurse manager or coordinator practicing in a level I or II trauma
18.23	hospital;
18.24	(5) an emergency physician certified by the American Board of Emergency Medicine
18.25	or the American Osteopathic Board of Emergency Medicine whose practice includes
18.26	emergency room care in a level I, II, III, or IV trauma hospital;
18.27	(6) a trauma program manager or coordinator who practices in a level III or IV trauma
18.28	hospital;
18.29	(7) a physician certified by the American Board of Family Medicine or the American
18.30	Osteopathic Board of Family Practice whose practice includes emergency department care

in a level III or IV trauma hospital located in a designated rural area as defined under section 144.1501, subdivision 1, paragraph (e) (f);

- (8) a nurse practitioner, as defined under section 144.1501, subdivision 1, paragraph (1) (m), or a physician assistant, as defined under section 144.1501, subdivision 1, paragraph (o) (p), whose practice includes emergency room care in a level IV trauma hospital located in a designated rural area as defined under section 144.1501, subdivision 1, paragraph (e) (f);
- (9) a physician certified in pediatric emergency medicine by the American Board of Pediatrics or certified in pediatric emergency medicine by the American Board of Emergency Medicine or certified by the American Osteopathic Board of Pediatrics whose practice primarily includes emergency department medical care in a level I, II, III, or IV trauma hospital, or a surgeon certified in pediatric surgery by the American Board of Surgery whose practice involves the care of pediatric trauma patients in a trauma hospital;
- (10) an orthopedic surgeon certified by the American Board of Orthopaedic Surgery or the American Osteopathic Board of Orthopedic Surgery whose practice includes trauma and who practices in a level I, II, or III trauma hospital;
- (11) the state emergency medical services medical director appointed by the Emergency
 Medical Services Regulatory Board;
 - (12) a hospital administrator of a level III or IV trauma hospital located in a designated rural area as defined under section 144.1501, subdivision 1, paragraph (e) (f);
- 19.21 (13) a rehabilitation specialist whose practice includes rehabilitation of patients with 19.22 major trauma injuries or traumatic brain injuries and spinal cord injuries as defined under 19.23 section 144.661;
 - (14) an attendant or ambulance director who is an EMT, EMT-I, or EMT-P within the meaning of section 144E.001 and who actively practices with a licensed ambulance service in a primary service area located in a designated rural area as defined under section 144.1501, subdivision 1, paragraph (e) (f); and
- 19.28 (15) the commissioner of public safety or the commissioner's designee.
- 19.29 Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.43, subdivision 11, is amended to read:
- Subd. 11. **Medication administration.** "Medication administration" means performing a set of tasks to ensure a client takes medications, and includes that include the following:
- 19.32 (1) checking the client's medication record;

19.1

19.2

19.3

19.4

19.5

19.6

19.7

19.8

19.9

19.10

19.11

19.12

19.13

19.14

19.15

19.16

19.19

19.20

19.24

19.25

19.26

- (2) preparing the medication as necessary; 20.1 (3) administering the medication to the client; 20.2 (4) documenting the administration or reason for not administering the medication; and 20.3 (5) reporting to a registered nurse or appropriate licensed health professional any concerns 20.4 about the medication, the client, or the client's refusal to take the medication. 20.5 Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.43, is amended by adding a subdivision 20.6 20.7 to read: Subd. 12a. **Medication reconciliation.** "Medication reconciliation" means the process 20.8 of identifying the most accurate list of all medications the client is taking, including the 20.9 name, dosage, frequency, and route by comparing the client record to an external list of 20.10 medications obtained from the client, hospital, prescriber, or other provider. 20.11 Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.43, subdivision 27, is amended to read: 20.12 Subd. 27. Service plan agreement. "Service plan agreement" means the written plan 20.13 agreement between the client or client's representative and the temporary licensee or licensee 20.14 about the services that will be provided to the client. 20.15 20.16 Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.43, subdivision 30, is amended to read: Subd. 30. Standby assistance. "Standby assistance" means the presence of another 20.17 person within arm's reach to minimize the risk of injury while performing daily activities 20.18 through physical intervention or cuing to assist a client with an assistive task by providing 20.19 cues, oversight, and minimal physical assistance. 20.20 Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.472, subdivision 5, is amended to read: 20.21 Subd. 5. Transfers prohibited; Changes in ownership. Any (a) A home care license 20.22 issued by the commissioner may not be transferred to another party. Before acquiring 20.23 ownership of or a controlling interest in a home care provider business, a prospective 20.24 applicant owner must apply for a new temporary license. A change of ownership is a transfer 20.25 20.26 of operational control to a different business entity of the home care provider business and includes: 20.27
- 20.28 (1) transfer of the business to a different or new corporation;
- 20.29 (2) in the case of a partnership, the dissolution or termination of the partnership under chapter 323A, with the business continuing by a successor partnership or other entity;

(3) relinquishment of control of the provider to another party, including to a contract 21.1 management firm that is not under the control of the owner of the business' assets; 21.2 (4) transfer of the business by a sole proprietor to another party or entity; or 213 (5) in the case of a privately held corporation, the change in transfer of ownership or 21.4 21.5 control of 50 percent or more of the outstanding voting stock controlling interest of a home care provider business not covered by clauses (1) to (4). 21.6 21.7 (b) An employee who was employed by the previous owner of the home care provider business prior to the effective date of a change in ownership under paragraph (a), and who 21.8 will be employed by the new owner in the same or a similar capacity, shall be treated as if 21.9 no change in employer occurred, with respect to orientation, training, tuberculosis testing, 21.10 background studies, and competency testing and training on the policies identified in 21.11 subdivision 1, clause (14), and subdivision 2, if applicable. 21.12 (c) Notwithstanding paragraph (b), a new owner of a home care provider business must 21.13 ensure that employees of the provider receive and complete training and testing on any 21.14 provisions of policies that differ from those of the previous owner, within 90 days after the 21.15 date of the change in ownership. 21.16 Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 144A.472, subdivision 7, is amended 21.17 21.18 to read: Subd. 7. Fees; application, change of ownership, and renewal. (a) An initial applicant 21.19 seeking temporary home care licensure must submit the following application fee to the 21.20 commissioner along with a completed application: 21.21 (1) for a basic home care provider, \$2,100; or 21.22 (2) for a comprehensive home care provider, \$4,200. 21.23 (b) A home care provider who is filing a change of ownership as required under 21.24 subdivision 5 must submit the following application fee to the commissioner, along with 21.25 the documentation required for the change of ownership: 21.26 (1) for a basic home care provider, \$2,100; or 21.27 21.28 (2) for a comprehensive home care provider, \$4,200. (c) For the period ending June 30, 2018, a home care provider who is seeking to renew

21.29

21.30

21.31

21.32

the provider's license shall pay a fee to the commissioner based on revenues derived from

the provision of home care services during the calendar year prior to the year in which the

application is submitted, according to the following schedule:

Provider Annual Revenue Fee greater than \$1,500,000 \$6,625

greater than \$1,275,000 and no more than

License Renewal Fee

22.1

22.2

22.3

22.21

22.22

22.30

- 22.5 \$1,500,000 \$5,797
- 22.6 greater than \$1,100,000 and no more than 22.7 \$1,275,000 \$4,969
- 22.8 greater than \$950,000 and no more than
- 22.9 \$1,100,000 \$4,141
- 22.10 greater than \$850,000 and no more than \$950,000 \$3,727
- 22.11 greater than \$750,000 and no more than \$850,000 \$3,313
- 22.12 greater than \$650,000 and no more than \$750,000 \$2,898
- 22.13 greater than \$550,000 and no more than \$650,000 \$2,485
- 22.14 greater than \$450,000 and no more than \$550,000 \$2,070
- 22.15 greater than \$350,000 and no more than \$450,000 \$1,656
- 22.16 greater than \$250,000 and no more than \$350,000 \$1,242
- 22.17 greater than \$100,000 and no more than \$250,000 \$828
- 22.18 greater than \$50,000 and no more than \$100,000 \$500
- 22.19 greater than \$25,000 and no more than \$50,000 \$400
- 22.20 no more than \$25,000 \$200
 - (d) For the period between July 1, 2018, and June 30, 2020, a home care provider who is seeking to renew the provider's license shall pay a fee to the commissioner in an amount
- 22.23 that is ten percent higher than the applicable fee in paragraph (c). A home care provider's
- fee shall be based on revenues derived from the provision of home care services during the
- 22.25 calendar year prior to the year in which the application is submitted.
- (e) Beginning July 1, 2020, a home care provider who is seeking to renew the provider's
- 22.27 license shall pay a fee to the commissioner based on revenues derived from the provision
- of home care services during the calendar year prior to the year in which the application is
- submitted, according to the following schedule:

License Renewal Fee

22.31	Provider Annual Revenue	Fee
22.32	greater than \$1,500,000	\$7,651
22.33 22.34	greater than \$1,275,000 and no more than \$1,500,000	\$6,695
22.35 22.36	greater than \$1,100,000 and no more than \$1,275,000	\$5,739
22.37 22.38	greater than \$950,000 and no more than \$1,100,000	\$4,783

	04/1//18	REVISOR	ACF/IL	A18-0//6
23.1	greater than \$850,000 and no more tha	n \$950,000	\$4,304	
23.2	greater than \$750,000 and no more tha	n \$850,000	\$3,826	
23.3	greater than \$650,000 and no more tha	ın \$750,000	\$3,347	
23.4	greater than \$550,000 and no more tha	ın \$650,000	\$2,870	
23.5	greater than \$450,000 and no more tha	ın \$550,000	\$2,391	
23.6	greater than \$350,000 and no more tha	ın \$450,000	\$1,913	
23.7	greater than \$250,000 and no more tha	ın \$350,000	\$1,434	
23.8	greater than \$100,000 and no more tha	ın \$250,000	\$957	
23.9	greater than \$50,000 and no more tha	n \$100,000	\$577	
23.10	greater than \$25,000 and no more th	an \$50,000	\$462	
23.11	no more than \$25,000		\$231	

DEVICOD

ACE/II

A 10 0776

- (f) If requested, the home care provider shall provide the commissioner information to verify the provider's annual revenues or other information as needed, including copies of documents submitted to the Department of Revenue.
- (g) At each annual renewal, a home care provider may elect to pay the highest renewal fee for its license category, and not provide annual revenue information to the commissioner.
- (h) A temporary license or license applicant, or temporary licensee or licensee that knowingly provides the commissioner incorrect revenue amounts for the purpose of paying a lower license fee, shall be subject to a civil penalty in the amount of double the fee the provider should have paid.
- 23.21 (i) The fee for failure to comply with the notification requirements of section 144A.473, subdivision 2, paragraph (c), is \$1,000.
 - (j) Fees and penalties collected under this section shall be deposited in the state treasury and credited to the state government special revenue fund. All fees are nonrefundable. Fees collected under paragraphs (c), (d), and (e) are nonrefundable even if received before July 1, 2017, for temporary licenses or licenses being issued effective July 1, 2017, or later.
- Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.473, is amended to read:

144A.473 ISSUANCE OF TEMPORARY LICENSE AND LICENSE RENEWAL.

Subdivision 1. **Temporary license and renewal of license.** (a) The department shall review each application to determine the applicant's knowledge of and compliance with Minnesota home care regulations. Before granting a temporary license or renewing a license, the commissioner may further evaluate the applicant or licensee by requesting additional

04/17/19

23.12

23.13

23.14

23.15

23.16

23.17

23.18

23.19

23.20

23.23

23.24

23.25

23.26

23.28

23.29

23.30

23.31

information or documentation or by conducting an on-site survey of the applicant to determine compliance with sections 144A.43 to 144A.482.

- (b) Within 14 calendar days after receiving an application for a license, the commissioner shall acknowledge receipt of the application in writing. The acknowledgment must indicate whether the application appears to be complete or whether additional information is required before the application will be considered complete.
- (c) Within 90 days after receiving a complete application, the commissioner shall issue a temporary license, renew the license, or deny the license.
- (d) The commissioner shall issue a license that contains the home care provider's name, address, license level, expiration date of the license, and unique license number. All licenses, except for temporary licenses issued under subdivision 2, are valid for up to one year from the date of issuance.
- Subd. 2. **Temporary license.** (a) For new license applicants, the commissioner shall issue a temporary license for either the basic or comprehensive home care level. A temporary license is effective for up to one year from the date of issuance, except that a temporary license may be extended according to subdivision 3. Temporary licensees must comply with sections 144A.43 to 144A.482.
- (b) During the temporary license <u>year period</u>, the commissioner shall survey the temporary licensee <u>within 90 calendar days</u> after the commissioner is notified or has evidence that the temporary licensee is providing home care services.
- (c) Within five days of beginning the provision of services, the temporary licensee must notify the commissioner that it is serving clients. The notification to the commissioner may be mailed or e-mailed to the commissioner at the address provided by the commissioner. If the temporary licensee does not provide home care services during the temporary license year period, then the temporary license expires at the end of the year period and the applicant must reapply for a temporary home care license.
- (d) A temporary licensee may request a change in the level of licensure prior to being surveyed and granted a license by notifying the commissioner in writing and providing additional documentation or materials required to update or complete the changed temporary license application. The applicant must pay the difference between the application fees when changing from the basic level to the comprehensive level of licensure. No refund will be made if the provider chooses to change the license application to the basic level.

24.1

24.2

24.3

24.4

24.5

24.6

24.7

24.8

24.9

24.10

24.11

24.12

24.13

24.14

24.15

24.16

24.17

24.18

24.19

24.20

24.21

24.22

24.23

24.24

24.25

24.26

24.27

24.28

24.29

24.30

24.31

(e) If the temporary licensee notifies the commissioner that the licensee has clients within 45 days prior to the temporary license expiration, the commissioner may extend the temporary license for up to 60 days in order to allow the commissioner to complete the on-site survey required under this section and follow-up survey visits.

- Subd. 3. **Temporary licensee survey.** (a) If the temporary licensee is in substantial compliance with the survey, the commissioner shall issue either a basic or comprehensive home care license. If the temporary licensee is not in substantial compliance with the survey, the commissioner shall either: (1) not issue a basic or comprehensive license and there will be no contested hearing right under chapter 14 terminate the temporary license; or (2) extend the temporary license for a period not to exceed 90 days and apply conditions, as permitted under section 144A.475, subdivision 2, to the extension of a temporary license. If the temporary licensee is not in substantial compliance with the survey within the time period of the extension, or if the temporary licensee does not satisfy the license conditions, the commissioner may deny the license.
- (b) If the temporary licensee whose basic or comprehensive license has been denied or extended with conditions disagrees with the conclusions of the commissioner, then the temporary licensee may request a reconsideration by the commissioner or commissioner's designee. The reconsideration request process must be conducted internally by the commissioner or commissioner's designee, and chapter 14 does not apply.
- (c) The temporary licensee requesting reconsideration must make the request in writing and must list and describe the reasons why the <u>temporary</u> licensee disagrees with the decision to deny the basic or comprehensive home care license or the decision to extend the temporary license with conditions.
- 25.24 (d) The reconsideration request and supporting documentation must be received by the
 25.25 commissioner within 15 calendar days after the date the temporary licensee receives the
 25.26 correction order.
- 25.27 (e) A temporary licensee whose license is denied, is permitted to continue operating as
 25.28 a home care provider during the period of time when:
- 25.29 (1) a reconsideration request is in process;
- 25.30 (2) an extension of a temporary license is being negotiated;
- 25.31 (3) the placement of conditions on a temporary license is being negotiated; or
- 25.32 (4) a transfer of home care clients from the temporary licensee to a new home care 25.33 provider is in process.

25.1

25.2

25.3

25.4

25.5

25.6

25.7

25.8

25.9

25.10

25.11

25.12

25.13

25.14

25.15

25.16

25.17

25.18

25.19

25.20

25.21

25.22

(f) A temporary licensee whose license is denied must comply with the requirements 26.1 for notification and transfer of clients in section 144A.475, subdivision 5. 26.2 Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.474, subdivision 2, is amended to read: 26.3 Subd. 2. Types of home care surveys. (a) "Initial full survey" means the survey of a 26.4 new temporary licensee conducted after the department is notified or has evidence that the 26.5 temporary licensee is providing home care services to determine if the provider is in 26.6 compliance with home care requirements. Initial full surveys must be completed within 14 26.7 months after the department's issuance of a temporary basic or comprehensive license. 26.8 (b) "Change in ownership survey" means a full survey of a new licensee due to a change 26.9 in ownership. Change in ownership surveys must be completed within six months after the 26.10 department's issuance of a new license due to a change in ownership. 26.11 (c) "Core survey" means periodic inspection of home care providers to determine ongoing 26.12 compliance with the home care requirements, focusing on the essential health and safety 26.13 requirements. Core surveys are available to licensed home care providers who have been 26.14 26.15 licensed for three years and surveyed at least once in the past three years with the latest 26.16 survey having no widespread violations beyond Level 1 as provided in subdivision 11. Providers must also not have had any substantiated licensing complaints, substantiated 26.17 complaints against the agency under the Vulnerable Adults Act or Maltreatment of Minors 26.18 Act, or an enforcement action as authorized in section 144A.475 in the past three years. 26.19 (1) The core survey for basic home care providers must review compliance in the 26.20 following areas: 26.21 (i) reporting of maltreatment; 26.22 (ii) orientation to and implementation of the home care bill of rights; 26.23 (iii) statement of home care services; 26.24 (iv) initial evaluation of clients and initiation of services; 26.25 26.26 (v) client review and monitoring; (vi) service plan agreement implementation and changes to the service plan agreement; 26.27

(ix) infection control.

(vii) client complaint and investigative process;

(viii) competency of unlicensed personnel; and

26.28

26.29

(2) For comprehensive home care providers, the core survey must include everything in the basic core survey plus these areas:

(i) delegation to unlicensed personnel;

27.1

27.2

27.3

27.4

27.6

27.7

27.8

27.9

27.10

27.11

27.12

27.13

27.14

27.15

27.16

27.17

27.18

27.19

- (ii) assessment, monitoring, and reassessment of clients; and
- 27.5 (iii) medication, treatment, and therapy management.
 - (e) (d) "Full survey" means the periodic inspection of home care providers to determine ongoing compliance with the home care requirements that cover the core survey areas and all the legal requirements for home care providers. A full survey is conducted for all temporary licensees and, for licensees that receive licenses due to an approved change in ownership, for providers who do not meet the requirements needed for a core survey, and when a surveyor identifies unacceptable client health or safety risks during a core survey. A full survey must include all the tasks identified as part of the core survey and any additional review deemed necessary by the department, including additional observation, interviewing, or records review of additional clients and staff.
 - (d) (e) "Follow-up surveys" means surveys conducted to determine if a home care provider has corrected deficient issues and systems identified during a core survey, full survey, or complaint investigation. Follow-up surveys may be conducted via phone, e-mail, fax, mail, or on-site reviews. Follow-up surveys, other than complaint surveys, shall be concluded with an exit conference and written information provided on the process for requesting a reconsideration of the survey results.
- (e) (f) Upon receiving information alleging that a home care provider has violated or is currently violating a requirement of sections 144A.43 to 144A.482, the commissioner shall investigate the complaint according to sections 144A.51 to 144A.54.
- Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.475, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- Subdivision 1. **Conditions.** (a) The commissioner may refuse to grant a temporary
 license, refuse to grant a license as a result of a change in ownership, refuse to renew a
 license, suspend or revoke a license, or impose a conditional license if the home care provider
 or owner or managerial official of the home care provider:
- 27.29 (1) is in violation of, or during the term of the license has violated, any of the requirements 27.30 in sections 144A.471 to 144A.482;
- 27.31 (2) permits, aids, or abets the commission of any illegal act in the provision of home care;

28.1	(3) performs any act detrimental to the health, safety, and welfare of a client;
28.2	(4) obtains the license by fraud or misrepresentation;
28.3	(5) knowingly made or makes a false statement of a material fact in the application for
28.4	a license or in any other record or report required by this chapter;
28.5	(6) denies representatives of the department access to any part of the home care provider's
28.6	books, records, files, or employees;
28.7	(7) interferes with or impedes a representative of the department in contacting the home
28.8	care provider's clients;
28.9	(8) interferes with or impedes a representative of the department in the enforcement of
28.10	this chapter or has failed to fully cooperate with an inspection, survey, or investigation by
28.11	the department;
28.12	(9) destroys or makes unavailable any records or other evidence relating to the home
28.13	care provider's compliance with this chapter;
28.14	(10) refuses to initiate a background study under section 144.057 or 245A.04;
28.15	(11) fails to timely pay any fines assessed by the department;
28.16	(12) violates any local, city, or township ordinance relating to home care services;
28.17	(13) has repeated incidents of personnel performing services beyond their competency
28.18	level; or
28.19	(14) has operated beyond the scope of the home care provider's license level.
28.20	(b) A violation by a contractor providing the home care services of the home care provider
28.21	is a violation by the home care provider.
28.22	Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.475, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
28.23	Subd. 2. Terms to suspension or conditional license. (a) A suspension or conditional
28.24	license designation may include terms that must be completed or met before a suspension
28.25	or conditional license designation is lifted. A conditional license designation may include
28.26	restrictions or conditions that are imposed on the provider. Terms for a suspension or
28.27	conditional license may include one or more of the following and the scope of each will be
28.28	determined by the commissioner:
28.29	(1) requiring a consultant to review, evaluate, and make recommended changes to the
28.30	home care provider's practices and submit reports to the commissioner at the cost of the
28.31	home care provider;

04/17/18	REVISOR	ACF/IL	A18-0776

(2) requiring supervision of the home care provider or staff practices at the cost of the 29.1 home care provider by an unrelated person who has sufficient knowledge and qualifications 29.2 to oversee the practices and who will submit reports to the commissioner; 29.3 (3) requiring the home care provider or employees to obtain training at the cost of the 29.4 29.5 home care provider; (4) requiring the home care provider to submit reports to the commissioner; 29.6 29.7 (5) prohibiting the home care provider from taking any new clients for a period of time; or 29.8 (6) any other action reasonably required to accomplish the purpose of this subdivision 29.9 and section 144A.45, subdivision 2. 29.10 (b) A home care provider subject to this subdivision may continue operating during the 29.11 period of time home care clients are being transferred to other providers. 29.12 Sec. 32. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.475, subdivision 5, is amended to read: 29.13 29.14 Subd. 5. **Plan required.** (a) The process of suspending or revoking a license must include 29.15 a plan for transferring affected clients to other providers by the home care provider, which will be monitored by the commissioner. Within three business days of being notified of the 29.16 final revocation or suspension action, the home care provider shall provide the commissioner, 29.17 the lead agencies as defined in section 256B.0911, and the ombudsman for long-term care 29.18 with the following information: 29.19 (1) a list of all clients, including full names and all contact information on file; 29.20 (2) a list of each client's representative or emergency contact person, including full names 29.21 and all contact information on file; 29.22 (3) the location or current residence of each client; 29.23 (4) the payor sources for each client, including payor source identification numbers; and 29.24 (5) for each client, a copy of the client's service plan, and a list of the types of services 29.25 being provided. 29.26 (b) The revocation or suspension notification requirement is satisfied by mailing the 29.27 notice to the address in the license record. The home care provider shall cooperate with the 29.28 commissioner and the lead agencies during the process of transferring care of clients to 29.29 29.30 qualified providers. Within three business days of being notified of the final revocation or

29.31

suspension action, the home care provider must notify and disclose to each of the home

care provider's clients, or the client's representative or emergency contact persons, that the commissioner is taking action against the home care provider's license by providing a copy of the revocation or suspension notice issued by the commissioner.

(c) A home care provider subject to this subdivision may continue operating during the period of time home care clients are being transferred to other providers.

Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.476, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. **Prior criminal convictions; owner and managerial officials.** (a) Before the commissioner issues a temporary license, issues a license as a result of an approved change in ownership, or renews a license, an owner or managerial official is required to complete a background study under section 144.057. No person may be involved in the management, operation, or control of a home care provider if the person has been disqualified under chapter 245C. If an individual is disqualified under section 144.057 or chapter 245C, the individual may request reconsideration of the disqualification. If the individual requests reconsideration and the commissioner sets aside or rescinds the disqualification, the individual is eligible to be involved in the management, operation, or control of the provider. If an individual has a disqualification under section 245C.15, subdivision 1, and the disqualification is affirmed, the individual's disqualification is barred from a set aside, and the individual must not be involved in the management, operation, or control of the provider.

- (b) For purposes of this section, owners of a home care provider subject to the background check requirement are those individuals whose ownership interest provides sufficient authority or control to affect or change decisions related to the operation of the home care provider. An owner includes a sole proprietor, a general partner, or any other individual whose individual ownership interest can affect the management and direction of the policies of the home care provider.
- (c) For the purposes of this section, managerial officials subject to the background check requirement are individuals who provide direct contact as defined in section 245C.02, subdivision 11, or individuals who have the responsibility for the ongoing management or direction of the policies, services, or employees of the home care provider. Data collected under this subdivision shall be classified as private data on individuals under section 13.02, subdivision 12.
- (d) The department shall not issue any license if the applicant or owner or managerial official has been unsuccessful in having a background study disqualification set aside under section 144.057 and chapter 245C; if the owner or managerial official, as an owner or managerial official of another home care provider, was substantially responsible for the

30.1

30.2

30.3

30.4

30.5

30.6

30.7

30.8

30.9

30.10

30.11

30.12

30.13

30.14

30.15

30.16

30.17

30.18

30.19

30.20

30.21

30.22

30.23

30.24

30.25

30.26

30.27

30.28

30.29

30.30

30.31

30.32

30.33

other home care provider's failure to substantially comply with sections 144A.43 to 144A.482; or if an owner that has ceased doing business, either individually or as an owner of a home care provider, was issued a correction order for failing to assist clients in violation of this chapter.

- Sec. 34. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.479, subdivision 7, is amended to read:
- Subd. 7. **Employee records.** The home care provider must maintain current records of each paid employee, regularly scheduled volunteers providing home care services, and of each individual contractor providing home care services. The records must include the following information:
- 31.10 (1) evidence of current professional licensure, registration, or certification, if licensure, registration, or certification is required by this statute or other rules;
- 31.12 (2) records of orientation, required annual training and infection control training, and competency evaluations;
- 31.14 (3) current job description, including qualifications, responsibilities, and identification 31.15 of staff providing supervision;
- 31.16 (4) documentation of annual performance reviews which identify areas of improvement needed and training needs;
- (5) for individuals providing home care services, verification that <u>required any</u> health screenings <u>required by infection control programs established under section 144A.4798</u>
 have taken place and the dates of those screenings; and
- 31.21 (6) documentation of the background study as required under section 144.057.
- Each employee record must be retained for at least three years after a paid employee, home care volunteer, or contractor ceases to be employed by or under contract with the home care provider. If a home care provider ceases operation, employee records must be maintained for three years.
- Sec. 35. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.4791, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- Subdivision 1. **Home care bill of rights; notification to client.** (a) The home care provider shall provide the client or the client's representative a written notice of the rights under section 144A.44 before the initiation of date that services are first provided to that client. The provider shall make all reasonable efforts to provide notice of the rights to the

31.1

31.2

31.3

31.4

client or the client's representative in a language the client or client's representative can understand.

- (b) In addition to the text of the home care bill of rights in section 144A.44, subdivision 1, the notice shall also contain the following statement describing how to file a complaint with these offices.
 - "If you have a complaint about the provider or the person providing your home care services, you may call, write, or visit the Office of Health Facility Complaints, Minnesota Department of Health. You may also contact the Office of Ombudsman for Long-Term Care or the Office of Ombudsman for Mental Health and Developmental Disabilities."

The statement should include the telephone number, Web site address, e-mail address, mailing address, and street address of the Office of Health Facility Complaints at the Minnesota Department of Health, the Office of the Ombudsman for Long-Term Care, and the Office of the Ombudsman for Mental Health and Developmental Disabilities. The statement should also include the home care provider's name, address, e-mail, telephone number, and name or title of the person at the provider to whom problems or complaints may be directed. It must also include a statement that the home care provider will not retaliate because of a complaint.

- (c) The home care provider shall obtain written acknowledgment of the client's receipt of the home care bill of rights or shall document why an acknowledgment cannot be obtained. The acknowledgment may be obtained from the client or the client's representative. Acknowledgment of receipt shall be retained in the client's record.
- Sec. 36. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.4791, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
 - Subd. 3. **Statement of home care services.** Prior to the <u>initiation of date that</u> services are first provided to the client, a home care provider must provide to the client or the client's representative a written statement which identifies if the provider has a basic or comprehensive home care license, the services the provider is authorized to provide, and which services the provider cannot provide under the scope of the provider's license. The home care provider shall obtain written acknowledgment from the clients that the provider has provided the statement or must document why the provider could not obtain the acknowledgment.

32.1

32.2

32.3

32.4

32.5

32.6

32.7

32.8

32.9

32.10

32.11

32.12

32.13

32.14

32.15

32.16

32.17

32.18

32.19

32.20

32.21

32.23

32.24

32.25

32.26

32.27

32.28

32.29

Sec. 37. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.4791, subdivision 6, is amended to read:

Subd. 6. **Initiation of services.** When a provider <u>initiates provides home care</u> services and to a client before the individualized review or assessment <u>by a licensed health</u> professional or registered nurse as required in subdivisions 7 and 8 <u>has not been is completed</u>, the <u>provider licensed health professional or registered nurse</u> must complete a temporary plan and agreement with the client <u>for services</u> and orient staff assigned to deliver services as identified in the temporary plan.

- Sec. 38. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.4791, subdivision 7, is amended to read:
- Subd. 7. **Basic individualized client review and monitoring.** (a) When services being provided are basic home care services, an individualized initial review of the client's needs and preferences must be conducted at the client's residence with the client or client's representative. This initial review must be completed within 30 days after the initiation of the date that home care services are first provided.
- (b) Client monitoring and review must be conducted as needed based on changes in the needs of the client and cannot exceed 90 days from the date of the last review. The monitoring and review may be conducted at the client's residence or through the utilization of telecommunication methods based on practice standards that meet the individual client's needs.
- Sec. 39. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.4791, subdivision 8, is amended to read:
- Subd. 8. Comprehensive assessment, monitoring, and reassessment. (a) When the services being provided are comprehensive home care services, an individualized initial assessment must be conducted in person by a registered nurse. When the services are provided by other licensed health professionals, the assessment must be conducted by the appropriate health professional. This initial assessment must be completed within five days after initiation of the date that home care services are first provided.
- (b) Client monitoring and reassessment must be conducted in the client's home no more than 14 days after initiation of the date that home care services are first provided.
- (c) Ongoing client monitoring and reassessment must be conducted as needed based on changes in the needs of the client and cannot exceed 90 days from the last date of the assessment. The monitoring and reassessment may be conducted at the client's residence or through the utilization of telecommunication methods based on practice standards that meet the individual client's needs.

33.1

33.2

33.3

33.4

33.5

33.6

33.7

33.8

33.9

33.10

33.11

33.12

33.13

33.14

33.15

33.16

33.17

33.18

33.19

33.20

33 21

33.22

33.23

33.24

33.25

33.26

33.27

33.28

33.29

33.30

33.31

Sec. 40. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.4791, subdivision 9, is amended to read: 34.1 Subd. 9. Service plan agreement, implementation, and revisions to service plan 34.2 agreement. (a) No later than 14 days after the initiation of date that home care services are 34.3 first provided, a home care provider shall finalize a current written service plan agreement. 34.4 34.5 (b) The service plan agreement and any revisions must include a signature or other authentication by the home care provider and by the client or the client's representative 34.6 documenting agreement on the services to be provided. The service plan agreement must 34.7 be revised, if needed, based on client review or reassessment under subdivisions 7 and 8. 34.8 The provider must provide information to the client about changes to the provider's fee for 34.9 services and how to contact the Office of the Ombudsman for Long-Term Care. 34.10 (c) The home care provider must implement and provide all services required by the 34.11 current service plan agreement. 34.12 (d) The service plan agreement and revised service plan agreement must be entered into 34.13 the client's record, including notice of a change in a client's fees when applicable. 34.14 (e) Staff providing home care services must be informed of the current written service 34.15 plan agreement. 34.16 (f) The service plan agreement must include: 34.17 (1) a description of the home care services to be provided, the fees for services, and the 34.18 frequency of each service, according to the client's current review or assessment and client 34.19 preferences; 34.20 (2) the identification of the staff or categories of staff who will provide the services; 34.21 (3) the schedule and methods of monitoring reviews or assessments of the client; 34.22 (4) the frequency of sessions of supervision of staff and type of personnel who will 34.23 supervise staff; and the schedule and methods of monitoring staff providing home care 34.24 services; and 34.25 34.26 (5) a contingency plan that includes: (i) the action to be taken by the home care provider and by the client or client's 34.27 representative if the scheduled service cannot be provided; 34.28

care provider;

34.29

34.30

(ii) information and a method for a client or client's representative to contact the home

(iii) names and contact information of persons the client wishes to have notified in an emergency or if there is a significant adverse change in the client's condition, including identification of and information as to who has authority to sign for the client in an emergency; and

- (iv) the circumstances in which emergency medical services are not to be summoned consistent with chapters 145B and 145C, and declarations made by the client under those chapters.
- Sec. 41. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.4792, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- Subdivision 1. **Medication management services; comprehensive home care license.**(a) This subdivision applies only to home care providers with a comprehensive home care license that provide medication management services to clients. Medication management services may not be provided by a home care provider who has a basic home care license.
- (b) A comprehensive home care provider who provides medication management services must develop, implement, and maintain current written medication management policies and procedures. The policies and procedures must be developed under the supervision and direction of a registered nurse, licensed health professional, or pharmacist consistent with current practice standards and guidelines.
- (c) The written policies and procedures must address requesting and receiving prescriptions for medications; preparing and giving medications; verifying that prescription drugs are administered as prescribed; documenting medication management activities; controlling and storing medications; monitoring and evaluating medication use; resolving medication errors; communicating with the prescriber, pharmacist, and client and client representative, if any; disposing of unused medications; and educating clients and client representatives about medications. When controlled substances are being managed, stored, and secured by the comprehensive home care provider, the policies and procedures must also identify how the provider will ensure security and accountability for the overall management, control, and disposition of those substances in compliance with state and federal regulations and with subdivision 22.
 - Sec. 42. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.4792, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2. **Provision of medication management services.** (a) For each client who requests medication management services, the comprehensive home care provider shall, prior to providing medication management services, have a registered nurse, licensed health professional, or authorized prescriber under section 151.37 conduct an assessment to

35.1

35.2

35.3

35.4

35.5

35.6

35.7

35.8

35.9

35.10

35.11

35.12

35.13

35.14

35.15

35.16

35.17

35.18

35.19

35.20

35.21

35.22

35.23

35.24

35.25

35.26

35.27

35.28

determine what medication management services will be provided and how the services will be provided. This assessment must be conducted face-to-face with the client. The assessment must include an identification and review of all medications the client is known to be taking. The review and identification must include indications for medications, side effects, contraindications, allergic or adverse reactions, and actions to address these issues.

(b) The assessment must:

36.1

36.2

36.3

36.4

36.5

36.6

36.13

36.14

36.15

36.16

36.17

36.18

36.19

- 36.7 (1) identify interventions needed in management of medications to prevent diversion of medication by the client or others who may have access to the medications-; and
- 36.9 (2) provide instructions to the client or client's representative on interventions to manage 36.10 the client's medications and prevent diversion of medications.
- "Diversion of medications" means the misuse, theft, or illegal or improper disposition ofmedications.
 - Sec. 43. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.4792, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
 - Subd. 5. **Individualized medication management plan.** (a) For each client receiving medication management services, the comprehensive home care provider must prepare and include in the service plan agreement a written statement of the medication management services that will be provided to the client. The provider must develop and maintain a current individualized medication management record for each client based on the client's assessment that must contain the following:
 - (1) a statement describing the medication management services that will be provided;
- 36.21 (2) a description of storage of medications based on the client's needs and preferences, risk of diversion, and consistent with the manufacturer's directions;
- 36.23 (3) documentation of specific client instructions relating to the administration of medications;
- 36.25 (4) identification of persons responsible for monitoring medication supplies and ensuring
 that medication refills are ordered on a timely basis;
- 36.27 (5) identification of medication management tasks that may be delegated to unlicensed personnel;
- 36.29 (6) procedures for staff notifying a registered nurse or appropriate licensed health 36.30 professional when a problem arises with medication management services; and

	04/17/18	REVISOR	ACF/IL	A18-0776
37.1	(7) any client-specific requireme	ents relating to docum	enting medication a	dministration,
37.2	verifications that all medications ar	re administered as pre	scribed, and monito	ring of
37.3	medication use to prevent possible	complications or adv	erse reactions.	
37.4	(b) The medication managemen	t record must be curre	nt and updated when	n there are any
37.5	changes.			
37.6	(c) Medication reconciliation m	ust be completed whe	n a licensed nurse, l	icensed health
37.7	professional, or authorized prescrib	er is providing medic	eation management.	
37.8	Sec. 44. Minnesota Statutes 2016,	section 144A.4792, s	ubdivision 10, is am	ended to read:
37.9	Subd. 10. Medication manager	ment for clients who	will be away from	home. (a) A
37.10	home care provider who is providir	ng medication manage	ement services to the	e client and
37.11	controls the client's access to the m	edications must deve	lop and implement p	policies and
37.12	procedures for giving accurate and	current medications to	o clients for planned	l or unplanned
37.13	times away from home according to	o the client's individu	alized medication m	anagement
37.14	plan. The policy and procedures mu	ust state that:		
37.15	(1) for planned time away, the n	nedications must be o	btained from the ph	armacy or set
37.16	up by the registered a licensed nurs	e according to approp	oriate state and feder	ral laws and
37.17	nursing standards of practice;			
37.18	(2) for unplanned time away, wh	nen the pharmacy is no	ot able to provide the	e medications,
37.19	a licensed nurse or unlicensed person	onnel shall give the cl	lient or client's repre	esentative
37.20	medications in amounts and dosage	es needed for the leng	th of the anticipated	absence, not
37.21	to exceed 120 hours seven calendar	days;		

- (3) the client or client's representative must be provided written information on medications, including any special instructions for administering or handling the medications, including controlled substances;
- (4) the medications must be placed in a medication container or containers appropriate to the provider's medication system and must be labeled with the client's name and the dates and times that the medications are scheduled; and
- (5) the client or client's representative must be provided in writing the home care provider's name and information on how to contact the home care provider.
- 37.30 (b) For unplanned time away when the licensed nurse is not available, the registered nurse may delegate this task to unlicensed personnel if:

37.22

37.23

37.24

37.25

37.26

37.27

37.28

38.1	(1) the registered nurse has trained the unlicensed staff and determined the unlicensed
38.2	staff is competent to follow the procedures for giving medications to clients; and
38.3	(2) the registered nurse has developed written procedures for the unlicensed personnel,
38.4	including any special instructions or procedures regarding controlled substances that are
38.5	prescribed for the client. The procedures must address:
38.6	(i) the type of container or containers to be used for the medications appropriate to the
38.7	provider's medication system;
38.8	(ii) how the container or containers must be labeled;
38.9	(iii) the written information about the medications to be given to the client or client's
38.10	representative;
38.11	(iv) how the unlicensed staff must document in the client's record that medications have
38.12	been given to the client or the client's representative, including documenting the date the
38.13	medications were given to the client or the client's representative and who received the
38.14	medications, the person who gave the medications to the client, the number of medications
38.15	that were given to the client, and other required information;
38.16	(v) how the registered nurse shall be notified that medications have been given to the
38.17	client or client's representative and whether the registered nurse needs to be contacted before
38.18	the medications are given to the client or the client's representative; and
38.19	(vi) a review by the registered nurse of the completion of this task to verify that this task
38.20	was completed accurately by the unlicensed personnel-; and
38.21	(vii) how the unlicensed staff must document in the client's record any unused medications
38.22	that are returned to the provider, including the name of each medication and the doses of
38.23	each returned medication.
38.24	Sec. 45. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.4793, subdivision 6, is amended to read:
38.25	Subd. 6. <u>Treatment and therapy</u> orders or prescriptions. There must be an up-to-date
38.26	written or electronically recorded order or prescription from an authorized prescriber for
38.27	all treatments and therapies. The order must contain the name of the client, a description of
38.28	the treatment or therapy to be provided, and the frequency, duration, and other information
38.29	needed to administer the treatment or therapy. Treatment and therapy orders must be renewed

38.30

at least every 12 months.

Sec. 46. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 144A.4796, subdivision 2, is 39.1 amended to read: 39.2 Subd. 2. Content. (a) The orientation must contain the following topics: 393 (1) an overview of sections 144A.43 to 144A.4798; 39.4 (2) introduction and review of all the provider's policies and procedures related to the 39.5 provision of home care services by the individual staff person; 39.6 39.7 (3) handling of emergencies and use of emergency services; (4) compliance with and reporting of the maltreatment of minors or vulnerable adults 39.8 under sections 626.556 and 626.557; 39.9 (5) home care bill of rights under section 144A.44; 39.10 (6) handling of clients' complaints, reporting of complaints, and where to report 39.11 complaints including information on the Office of Health Facility Complaints and the 39.12 Common Entry Point; 39.13 (7) consumer advocacy services of the Office of Ombudsman for Long-Term Care, 39.14 Office of Ombudsman for Mental Health and Developmental Disabilities, Managed Care 39.15 Ombudsman at the Department of Human Services, county managed care advocates, or 39.16 other relevant advocacy services; and 39.17 (8) review of the types of home care services the employee will be providing and the 39.18 provider's scope of licensure. 39.19 (b) In addition to the topics listed in paragraph (a), orientation may also contain training 39.20 on providing services to clients with hearing loss. Any training on hearing loss provided 39.21 under this subdivision must be high quality and research-based, may include online training, 39.22 and must include training on one or more of the following topics: 39.23 (1) an explanation of age-related hearing loss and how it manifests itself, its prevalence, 39.24 and challenges it poses to communication; 39.25 (2) health impacts related to untreated age-related hearing loss, such as increased 39.26 incidence of dementia, falls, hospitalizations, isolation, and depression; or 39.27 (3) information about strategies and technology that may enhance communication and 39.28

Article 1 Sec. 46.

39.29

39.30

involvement, including communication strategies, assistive listening devices, hearing aids,

visual and tactile alerting devices, communication access in real time, and closed captions.

Sec. 47. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.4797, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Supervision of staff providing delegated nursing or therapy home care tasks must be supervised by an appropriate licensed health professional or a registered nurse periodically where the services are being provided to verify that the work is being performed competently and to identify problems and solutions related to the staff person's ability to perform the tasks. Supervision of staff performing medication or treatment administration shall be provided by a registered nurse or appropriate licensed health professional and must include observation of the staff administering the medication or treatment and the interaction with the client.

(b) The direct supervision of staff performing delegated tasks must be provided within 30 days after the <u>date on which the individual begins</u> working for the home care provider <u>and first performs delegated tasks for clients</u> and thereafter as needed based on performance. This requirement also applies to staff who have not performed delegated tasks for one year or longer.

Sec. 48. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.4798, is amended to read:

144A.4798 EMPLOYEE HEALTH STATUS DISEASE PREVENTION AND INFECTION CONTROL.

Subdivision 1. **Tuberculosis (TB) prevention and infection control.** (a) A home care provider must establish and maintain a TB prevention and comprehensive tuberculosis infection control program based on according to the most current tuberculosis infection control guidelines issued by the United States Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), Division of Tuberculosis Elimination, as published in the CDC's Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report. Components of a TB prevention and control program include sereening all staff providing home care services, both paid and unpaid, at the time of hire for active TB disease and latent TB infection, and developing and implementing a written TB infection control plan. The commissioner shall make the most recent CDC standards available to home care providers on the department's Web site. This program must include a tuberculosis infection control plan that covers all paid and unpaid employees, contractors, students, and volunteers. The commissioner shall provide technical assistance regarding implementation of the guidelines.

(b) Written evidence of compliance with this subdivision must be maintained by the home care provider.

40.1

40.2

40.3

40.4

40.5

40.6

40.7

40.8

40.9

40.10

40.11

40.12

40.13

40.14

40.15

40.16

40.17

40.18

40.19

40.20

40.21

40.22

40.23

40.24

40.25

40.26

40.27

40.28

40.29

40.30

40.31

41.1	Subd. 2. Communicable diseases. A home care provider must follow current federal
41.2	or state guidelines state requirements for prevention, control, and reporting of human
41.3	immunodeficiency virus (HIV), hepatitis B virus (HBV), hepatitis C virus, or other
41.4	communicable diseases as defined in Minnesota Rules, part parts 4605.7040, 4605.7044,
41.5	4605.7050, 4605.7075, 4605.7080, and 4605.7090.
41.6	Subd. 3. Infection control program. A home care provider must establish and maintain
41.7	an effective infection control program that complies with accepted health care, medical,
41.8	and nursing standards for infection control.
41.9	Sec. 49. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.4799, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
41.10	Subdivision 1. Membership. The commissioner of health shall appoint eight persons
41.11	to a home care and assisted living program advisory council consisting of the following:
41.12	(1) three public members as defined in section 214.02 who shall be either persons who
41.13	are currently receiving home care services or, persons who have received home care services
41.14	within five years of the application date, persons who have family members receiving home
41.15	care services, or persons who have family members who have received home care services
41.16	within five years of the application date;
41.17	(2) three Minnesota home care licensees representing basic and comprehensive levels
41.18	of licensure who may be a managerial official, an administrator, a supervising registered
41.19	nurse, or an unlicensed personnel performing home care tasks;
41.20	(3) one member representing the Minnesota Board of Nursing; and
41.21	(4) one member representing the Office of Ombudsman for Long-Term Care.
41.22	Sec. 50. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 144A.4799, subdivision 3, is
41.23	amended to read:
41.24	Subd. 3. Duties. (a) At the commissioner's request, the advisory council shall provide
41.25	advice regarding regulations of Department of Health licensed home care providers in this
41.26	chapter, including advice on the following:
41.27	(1) community standards for home care practices;
41.28	(2) enforcement of licensing standards and whether certain disciplinary actions are
41.29	appropriate;
41.30	(3) ways of distributing information to licensees and consumers of home care;
41.31	(4) training standards;

(5) identifying emerging issues and opportunities in the home care field, including and assisted living;

- (6) identifying the use of technology in home and telehealth capabilities;
- (6) (7) allowable home care licensing modifications and exemptions, including a method for an integrated license with an existing license for rural licensed nursing homes to provide limited home care services in an adjacent independent living apartment building owned by the licensed nursing home; and
- (7) (8) recommendations for studies using the data in section 62U.04, subdivision 4, including but not limited to studies concerning costs related to dementia and chronic disease among an elderly population over 60 and additional long-term care costs, as described in section 62U.10, subdivision 6.
 - (b) The advisory council shall perform other duties as directed by the commissioner.
- (c) The advisory council shall annually review the balance of the account in the state government special revenue fund described in section 144A.474, subdivision 11, paragraph (i), and make annual recommendations by January 15 directly to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over health and human services regarding appropriations to the commissioner for the purposes in section 144A.474, subdivision 11, paragraph (i).
- Sec. 51. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.484, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- Subdivision 1. **Integrated licensing established.** (a) From January 1, 2014, to June 30, 2015, the commissioner of health shall enforce the home and community-based services standards under chapter 245D for those providers who also have a home care license pursuant to this chapter as required under Laws 2013, chapter 108, article 8, section 60, and article 11, section 31. During this period, the commissioner shall provide technical assistance to achieve and maintain compliance with applicable law or rules governing the provision of home and community-based services, including complying with the service recipient rights notice in subdivision 4, clause (4). If during the survey, the commissioner finds that the licensee has failed to achieve compliance with an applicable law or rule under chapter 245D and this failure does not imminently endanger the health, safety, or rights of the persons served by the program, the commissioner may issue a licensing survey report with recommendations for achieving and maintaining compliance.
- (b) Beginning July 1, 2015, A home care provider applicant or license holder may apply to the commissioner of health for a home and community-based services designation for

42.1

42.2

42.3

42.4

42.5

42.6

42.7

42.8

42.9

42.10

42.11

42.12

42.13

42.14

42.15

42.16

42.17

42.18

42.19

42.20

42.21

42.22

42.23

42.24

42.25

42.26

42.27

42.28

42.29

42.30

42.31

42.32

the provision of basic support services identified under section 245D.03, subdivision 1, 43.1 paragraph (b). The designation allows the license holder to provide basic support services 43.2 43.3 that would otherwise require licensure under chapter 245D, under the license holder's home care license governed by sections 144A.43 to 144A.481 144A.4799. 43.4 Sec. 52. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144E.16, is amended by adding a subdivision 43.5 to read: 43.6 Subd. 9. Rules authorizing patient-assisted medication administration. (a) The board 43.7 shall adopt rules authorizing EMTs, AEMTs, and paramedics certified under section 144E.28 43.8 43.9 to assist a patient, in emergency situations, with administering prescription medications that 43.10 are: 43.11 (1) carried by a patient; (2) intended to treat adrenal insufficiency; and 43.12 43.13 (3) administered via routes of delivery that are within the skill set of the EMT, AEMT, or paramedic. 43.14 43.15 (b) EMTs, AEMTs, and paramedics assisting a patient with medication administration according to the rules adopted under this subdivision may do so only under the authority 43.16 of guidelines approved by the ambulance service medical director or under direct medical 43.17 control. 43.18 Sec. 53. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144E.16, is amended by adding a subdivision 43.19 to read: 43.20 Subd. 10. Rules establishing standards for communication with patients regarding 43.21 **need for emergency medical services.** The board shall adopt rules to establish standards 43.22 for ambulance services to communicate with a patient in the service area of the ambulance 43.23 service, and with the patient's caregivers, concerning the patient's health condition, the 43.24 likelihood that the patient will need emergency medical services, and how to collaboratively 43.25 43.26 develop emergency medical services care plans to meet the patient's needs. Sec. 54. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 144H.01, subdivision 5, is amended 43.27 43.28 to read: Subd. 5. Medically complex or technologically dependent child. "Medically complex 43.29 43.30 or technologically dependent child" means a child under 21 years of age who, because of a medical condition, requires continuous therapeutic interventions or skilled nursing 43.31

04/17/18	REVISOR	ACF/IL	A18-0776

supervision which must be prescribed by a licensed physician and administered by, or under 44.1 the direct supervision of, a licensed registered nurse meets the criteria for medical complexity 44.2 described in the federally approved community alternative care waiver. 44.3 Sec. 55. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 144H.04, subdivision 1, is amended 44.4 to read: 44.5 Subdivision 1. Licenses. (a) A person seeking licensure for a PPEC center must submit 44.6 44.7 a completed application for licensure to the commissioner, in a form and manner determined by the commissioner. The applicant must also submit the application fee, in the amount 44.8 specified in section 144H.05, subdivision 1. Effective For the period January 1, 2019, 44.9 through December 31, 2020, the commissioner shall issue licenses for no more than two 44.10 PPEC centers according to the requirements in the phase-in of licensure of prescribed 44.11 pediatric extended care centers in section 80. Beginning January 1, 2018 2021, the 44.12 commissioner shall issue a license for a PPEC center if the commissioner determines that 44.13 44.14 the applicant and center meet the requirements of this chapter and rules that apply to PPEC centers. A license issued under this subdivision is valid for two years. 44.15 44.16 (b) The commissioner may limit issuance of PPEC center licenses to PPEC centers located in areas of the state with a demonstrated home care worker shortage. 44.17 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment. 44.18 Sec. 56. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 145.56, subdivision 2, is amended to read: 44.19 Subd. 2. Community-based programs. To the extent funds are appropriated for the 44.20 purposes of this subdivision, the commissioner shall establish a grant program to fund: 44.21 (1) community-based programs to provide education, outreach, and advocacy services 44.22 to populations who may be at risk for suicide; 44.23 (2) community-based programs that educate community helpers and gatekeepers, such 44.24 as family members, spiritual leaders, coaches, and business owners, employers, and 44.25 44.26 coworkers on how to prevent suicide by encouraging help-seeking behaviors; (3) community-based programs that educate populations at risk for suicide and community 44.27 helpers and gatekeepers that must include information on the symptoms of depression and 44.28 other psychiatric illnesses, the warning signs of suicide, skills for preventing suicides, and 44.29 making or seeking effective referrals to intervention and community resources; 44.30

04/17/18	REVISOR	ACF/IL	A18-0776

5.1	(4) community-based programs to provide evidence-based suicide prevention and
15.2	intervention education to school staff, parents, and students in grades kindergarten through
5.3	12, and for students attending Minnesota colleges and universities;
5.4	(5) community-based programs to provide evidence-based suicide prevention and
15.5	intervention to public school nurses, teachers, administrators, coaches, school social workers,
15.6	peace officers, firefighters, emergency medical technicians, advanced emergency medical
5.7	technicians, paramedics, primary care providers, and others; and
5.8	(6) community-based, evidence-based postvention training to mental health professionals
15.9	and practitioners in order to provide technical assistance to communities after a suicide and
5.10	to prevent suicide clusters and contagion; and
5.11	(7) a nonprofit organization to provide crisis telephone counseling services across the
5.12	state to people in suicidal crisis or emotional distress, 24 hours a day, seven days a week,
5.13	365 days a year.
5.14	Sec. 57. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 145.928, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
5.15	Subdivision 1. Goal; establishment. It is the goal of the state, by 2010, to decrease by
5.16	50 percent the disparities in infant mortality rates and adult and child immunization rates
5.17	for American Indians and populations of color, as compared with rates for whites. To do
5.18	so and to achieve other measurable outcomes, the commissioner of health shall establish a
5.19	program to close the gap in the health status of American Indians and populations of color
5.20	as compared with whites in the following priority areas: infant mortality, access to and
5.21	utilization of high-quality prenatal care, breast and cervical cancer screening, HIV/AIDS
5.22	and sexually transmitted infections, adult and child immunizations, cardiovascular disease,
5.23	diabetes, and accidental injuries and violence.
5.24	Sec. 58. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 145.928, subdivision 7, is amended to read:
5.25	Subd. 7. Community grant program; immunization rates, prenatal care access and
5.26	<u>utilization</u> , and infant mortality rates. (a) The commissioner shall award grants to eligible
5.27	applicants for local or regional projects and initiatives directed at reducing health disparities
5.28	in one or both more of the following priority areas:
5.29	(1) decreasing racial and ethnic disparities in infant mortality rates; or
5.30	(2) decreasing racial and ethnic disparities in access to and utilization of high-quality
15.21	proposal coro: or

46.1 (2) (3) increasing adult and child immunization rates in nonwhite racial and ethnic populations.

- (b) The commissioner may award up to 20 percent of the funds available as planning grants. Planning grants must be used to address such areas as community assessment, coordination activities, and development of community supported strategies.
- (c) Eligible applicants may include, but are not limited to, faith-based organizations, social service organizations, community nonprofit organizations, community health boards, tribal governments, and community clinics. Applicants must submit proposals to the commissioner. A proposal must specify the strategies to be implemented to address one or both more of the priority areas listed in paragraph (a) and must be targeted to achieve the outcomes established according to subdivision 3.
- (d) The commissioner shall give priority to applicants who demonstrate that their proposed project or initiative:
- (1) is supported by the community the applicant will serve;
- 46.15 (2) is research-based or based on promising strategies;
- 46.16 (3) is designed to complement other related community activities;
- (4) utilizes strategies that positively impact both two or more priority areas;
- 46.18 (5) reflects racially and ethnically appropriate approaches; and
- 46.19 (6) will be implemented through or with community-based organizations that reflect the race or ethnicity of the population to be reached.
- Sec. 59. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 147A.08, is amended to read:

46.22 **147A.08 EXEMPTIONS.**

46.3

46.4

46.5

46.6

46.7

46.8

46.9

46.10

46.11

- (a) This chapter does not apply to, control, prevent, or restrict the practice, service, or activities of persons listed in section 147.09, clauses (1) to (6) and (8) to (13), persons regulated under section 214.01, subdivision 2, or persons defined in section 144.1501, subdivision 1, paragraphs (i), (k), and (j), (l), and (m).
 - (b) Nothing in this chapter shall be construed to require licensure of:
- 46.28 (1) a physician assistant student enrolled in a physician assistant educational program
 46.29 accredited by the Accreditation Review Commission on Education for the Physician Assistant
 46.30 or by its successor agency approved by the board;

47.1	(2) a physician assistant employed in the service of the federal government while
47.2	performing duties incident to that employment; or
47.3	(3) technicians, other assistants, or employees of physicians who perform delegated
47.4	tasks in the office of a physician but who do not identify themselves as a physician assistant.
47.5	Sec. 60. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 148.512, subdivision 17a, is amended to read:
47.6	Subd. 17a. Speech-language pathology assistant. "Speech-language pathology assistant"
47.7	means a person who provides speech-language pathology services under the supervision of
47.8	a licensed speech-language pathologist in accordance with section 148.5192 practices
47.9	speech-language pathology assisting, meets the requirements under section 148.5185 or
47.10	148.5186, and is licensed by the commissioner.
47.11	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2019.
47.12	Sec. 61. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 148.513, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
47.13	Subdivision 1. Unlicensed practice prohibited. A person must not engage in the practice
47.14	of speech-language pathology or, audiology, or speech-language pathology assisting unless
47.15	the person is licensed as a speech-language pathologist or, an audiologist, or a
47.16	speech-language pathology assistant under sections 148.511 to 148.5198 or is practicing as
47.17	a speech-language pathology assistant in accordance with section 148.5192. For purposes
47.18	of this subdivision, a speech-language pathology assistant's duties are limited to the duties
47.19	described in accordance with section 148.5192, subdivision 2.
47.20	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2019.
47.21	Sec. 62. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 148.513, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
47.22	Subd. 2. Protected titles and restrictions on use; speech-language pathologists and
47.23	audiologists. (a) Notwithstanding paragraph (b) Except as provided in subdivision 2b, the
47.24	use of the following terms or initials which represent the following terms, alone or in
47.25	combination with any word or words, by any person to form an occupational title is prohibited
47.26	unless that person is licensed as a speech-language pathologist or audiologist under sections
47.27	148.511 to 148.5198:
47.28	(1) speech-language;
47.29	(2) speech-language pathologist, S, SP, or SLP;
47.30	(3) speech pathologist;

(4) language pathologist; 48.1 (5) audiologist, A, or AUD; 48.2 (6) speech therapist; 48.3 (7) speech clinician; 48.4 (8) speech correctionist; 48.5 (9) language therapist; 48.6 (10) voice therapist; 48.7 (11) voice pathologist; 48.8 (12) logopedist; 48.9 48.10 (13) communicologist; (14) aphasiologist; 48.11 (15) phoniatrist; 48.12 (16) audiometrist; 48.13 (17) audioprosthologist; 48.14 (18) hearing therapist; 48.15 (19) hearing clinician; or 48.16 (20) hearing aid audiologist. 48.17 Use of the term "Minnesota licensed" in conjunction with the titles protected under this 48.18 paragraph subdivision by any person is prohibited unless that person is licensed as a 48.19 speech-language pathologist or audiologist under sections 148.511 to 148.5198. 48.20 (b) A speech-language pathology assistant practicing under section 148.5192 must not 48.21 represent, indicate, or imply to the public that the assistant is a licensed speech-language 48.22 pathologist and shall only utilize one of the following titles: "speech-language pathology 48.23 48.24 assistant," "SLP assistant," or "SLP asst." **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2019. 48.25 Sec. 63. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 148.513, is amended by adding a subdivision 48.26 to read: 48.27 Subd. 2b. Protected titles and restrictions on use; speech-language pathology 48.28

48.29

assistants. (a) Use of the following titles is prohibited, unless that person is licensed under

sec	tion 148.5185 or 148.5186: "speech-language pathology assistant," "SLP assistant," or
<u>"SI</u>	_P asst."
	(b) A speech-language pathology assistant licensed under section 148.5185 or 148.5186
mu	st not represent, indicate, or imply to the public that the assistant is a licensed
spe	ech-language pathologist and shall only utilize one of the following titles:
"sp	eech-language pathology assistant," "SLP assistant," or "SLP asst." A speech-language
pat	hology assistant licensed under section 148.5185 or 148.5186 may use the term "licensed"
or '	'Minnesota licensed" in connection with a title listed in this paragraph. Use of the term
"M	innesota licensed" in conjunction with any of the titles protected under paragraph (a) by
any	person is prohibited unless that person is licensed under section 148.5185 or 148.5186.
	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2019.
S	ec. 64. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 148.515, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
	Subdivision 1. Applicability. Except as provided in section 148.516 or 148.517, an
app	olicant for licensure as a speech-language pathologist or audiologist must meet the
req	uirements in this section.
	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2019.
S	ec. 65. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 148.516, is amended to read:
	148.516 LICENSURE BY EQUIVALENCY.
	An applicant who applies for licensure by equivalency as a speech-language pathologist
or a	audiologist must show evidence of possessing a current certificate of clinical competence
issı	aed by the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association or board certification by
the	American Board of Audiology and must meet the requirements of section 148.514.
	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2019.
S	ec. 66. [148.5185] RESTRICTED LICENSURE; SPEECH-LANGUAGE
PA	THOLOGY ASSISTANTS.
	Subdivision 1. Qualifications for a restricted license. To be eligible for restricted
lice	ensure as a speech-language pathology assistant, an applicant must satisfy the requirements
in s	subdivision 2, 3, or 4.
	Subd. 2. Person practicing as a speech-language pathology assistant before January
1, 2	2019. (a) A person who is practicing as a speech-language pathology assistant before

January 1, 2019, and who does not meet the qualifications for a license under section 50.1 148.5186 may apply for a restricted speech-language pathology assistant license from the 50.2 50.3 commissioner. An applicant under this paragraph must submit to the commissioner: (1) proof of current employment as a speech-language pathology assistant; and 50.4 50.5 (2) a signed affidavit affirming supervision, from the licensed speech-language pathologist currently supervising the applicant. 50.6 50.7 (b) In order to be licensed as a speech-language pathology assistant under section 148.5186, a licensee with a restricted license under this subdivision must obtain an associate 50.8 degree from a speech-language pathology assistant program that is accredited by the Higher 50.9 Learning Commission of the North Central Association of Colleges or its equivalent, as 50.10 approved by the commissioner, and that includes (1) coursework on an introduction to 50.11 50.12 communication disorders, phonetics, language development, articulation disorders, language disorders, anatomy of speech/language hearing, stuttering, adult communication disorders, 50.13 and clinical documentations and materials management; and (2) at least 100 hours of 50.14 supervised field work experience in speech-language pathology assisting. Upon completion 50.15 of the requirements in this paragraph prior to January 1, 2025, a licensee with a restricted 50.16 license under this subdivision is eligible to apply for licensure under section 148.5186. 50.17 Subd. 3. Person with a bachelor's degree in communication sciences or disorders 50.18 and practicing as a speech-language pathology assistant before January 1, 2019. (a) A 50.19 person with a bachelor's degree in the discipline of communication sciences or disorders 50.20 and who is practicing as a speech-language pathology assistant before January 1, 2019, but 50.21 who does not meet the qualifications for a license under section 148.5186, may apply for a 50.22 restricted speech-language pathology assistant license from the commissioner. An applicant 50.23 50.24 under this paragraph must submit to the commissioner: (1) a transcript from an educational institution documenting satisfactory completion of 50.25 a bachelor's degree in the discipline of communication sciences or disorders; 50.26 (2) proof of current employment as a speech-language pathology assistant; and 50.27 (3) a signed affidavit affirming supervision, from the licensed speech-language pathologist 50.28 50.29 currently supervising the applicant. (b) In order to be licensed as a speech-language pathology assistant under section 50.30 148.5186, a licensee with a restricted license under this subdivision must complete (1) 50.31 coursework from a speech-language pathology assistant program in articulation disorders, 50.32 language disorders, adult communication disorders, and stuttering; and (2) at least 100 hours 50.33

of supervised field work experience in speech-language pathology assisting. Upon completion 51.1 of the requirements in this paragraph prior to January 1, 2025, a licensee with a restricted 51.2 51.3 license under this subdivision is eligible to apply for licensure under section 148.5186. Subd. 4. Person with an associate degree from a program that does not meet 51.4 51.5 requirements in section 148.5186. (a) A person with an associate degree from a 51.6 speech-language pathology assistant program that does not meet the requirements in section 148.5186, subdivision 1, clause (1), may apply for a restricted speech-language pathology 51.7 assistant license from the commissioner. An applicant under this paragraph must submit to 51.8 the commissioner a transcript from an educational institution documenting satisfactory 51.9 51.10 completion of an associate degree from a speech-language pathology assistant program. If the commissioner determines that the applicant's speech-language pathology assistant 51.11 program does not include coursework or supervised field work experience that is equivalent 51.12 to a program under section 148.5186, subdivision 1, clause (1), the commissioner may issue 51.13 a restricted license to the applicant. 51.14 (b) In order to be licensed as a speech-language pathology assistant under section 51.15 148.5186, a licensee with a restricted license under this subdivision must complete any 51.16 missing coursework or supervised field work experience, as determined by the commissioner, 51.17 in a speech-language pathology assisting program. Upon completion of the requirements 51.18 in this paragraph prior to January 1, 2025, a licensee with a restricted license under this 51.19 subdivision is eligible to apply for licensure under section 148.5186. 51.20 Subd. 5. Additional requirements; restricted license. (a) A restricted license issued 51.21 51.22 under subdivision 2, 3, or 4 may be renewed biennially until January 1, 2025. (b) A licensee with a restricted license under subdivision 2 or 3 may only practice 51.23 speech-language pathology assisting for the employer with whom the licensee was employed 51.24 when the licensee applied for licensure. 51.25 Subd. 6. Continuing education. In order to renew a restricted license, a licensee must 51.26 comply with the continuing education requirements in section 148.5193, subdivision 1a. 51.27 Subd. 7. **Scope of practice.** Scope of practice for a speech-language pathology assistant 51.28 licensed under this section is governed by section 148.5192, subdivision 2. 51.29 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2019. 51.30

Sec. 67. [148.5186] LICENSURE; SPEECH-LANGUAGE PATHOLOGY

52.2	ASSISTANTS.
52.3	Subdivision 1. Requirements for licensure. To be eligible for licensure as a
52.4	speech-language pathology assistant, an applicant must submit to the commissioner a
52.5	transcript from an educational institution documenting satisfactory completion of either:
52.6	(1) an associate degree from a speech-language pathology assistant program that is
52.7	accredited by the Higher Learning Commission of the North Central Association of Colleges
52.8	or its equivalent as approved by the commissioner, which includes at least 100 hours of
52.9	supervised field work experience in speech-language pathology assisting; or
52.10	(2) a bachelor's degree in the discipline of communication sciences or disorders and a
52.11	speech-language pathology assistant certificate program that includes (i) coursework in an
52.12	introduction to speech-language pathology assisting, stuttering, articulation disorders, and
52.13	language disorders; and (ii) at least 100 hours of supervised field work experience in
52.14	speech-language pathology assisting.
52.15	Subd. 2. Licensure by equivalency. An applicant who applies for licensure by
52.16	equivalency as a speech-language pathology assistant must provide evidence to the
52.17	commissioner of satisfying the requirements in subdivision 1.
52.18	Subd. 3. Scope of practice. Scope of practice for a speech-language pathology assistant
52.19	licensed under this section is governed by section 148.5192, subdivision 2.
52.20	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2019.
52.21	Sec. 68. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 148.519, subdivision 1, is amended
52.22	to read:
52.23	Subdivision 1. Applications for licensure; speech-language pathologists and
52.24	audiologists. (a) An applicant for licensure <u>as a speech-language pathologist or audiologist</u>
52.25	must:
52.26	(1) submit a completed application for licensure on forms provided by the commissioner.
52.27	The application must include the applicant's name, certification number under chapter 153A,
52.28	if applicable, business address and telephone number, or home address and telephone number
52.29	if the applicant practices speech-language pathology or audiology out of the home, and a
52.30	description of the applicant's education, training, and experience, including previous work
52.31	history for the five years immediately preceding the date of application. The commissioner

53.1	may ask the applicant to provide additional information necessary to clarify information
53.2	submitted in the application; and
53.3	(2) submit documentation of the certificate of clinical competence issued by the American
53.4	Speech-Language-Hearing Association, board certification by the American Board of
53.5	Audiology, or satisfy the following requirements:
53.6	(i) submit a transcript showing the completion of a master's or doctoral degree or its
53.7	equivalent meeting the requirements of section 148.515, subdivision 2;
53.8	(ii) submit documentation of the required hours of supervised clinical training;
53.9	(iii) submit documentation of the postgraduate clinical or doctoral clinical experience
53.10	meeting the requirements of section 148.515, subdivision 4; and
53.11	(iv) submit documentation of receiving a qualifying score on an examination meeting
53.12	the requirements of section 148.515, subdivision 6.
53.13	(b) In addition, an applicant must:
53.14	(1) sign a statement that the information in the application is true and correct to the best
53.15	of the applicant's knowledge and belief;
53.16	(2) submit with the application all fees required by section 148.5194;
53.17	(3) sign a waiver authorizing the commissioner to obtain access to the applicant's records
53.18	in this or any other state in which the applicant has engaged in the practice of speech-language
53.19	pathology or audiology; and
53.20	(4) consent to a fingerprint-based criminal history background check as required under
53.21	section 144.0572, pay all required fees, and cooperate with all requests for information. Ar
53.22	applicant must complete a new criminal history background check if more than one year
53.23	has elapsed since the applicant last applied for a license.
53.24	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2019.
53.25	Sec. 69. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 148.519, is amended by adding a subdivision
53.26	to read:
53.27	Subd. 1a. Applications for licensure; speech-language pathology assistants. An
53.28	applicant for licensure as a speech-language pathology assistant must submit to the
53.29	commissioner:
53.30	(1) a completed application on forms provided by the commissioner. The application
53.31	must include the applicant's name, business address and telephone number, home address

54.1	and telephone number, and a description of the applicant's education, training, and experience,
54.2	including previous work history for the five years immediately preceding the application
54.3	date. The commissioner may ask the applicant to provide additional information needed to
54.4	clarify information submitted in the application;
54.5	(2) documentation that the applicant satisfied one of the qualifications listed in section
54.6	148.5185 or 148.5186;
54.7	(3) a signed statement that the information in the application is true and correct to the
54.8	best of the applicant's knowledge and belief;
54.9	(4) all fees required under section 148.5194; and
54.10	(5) a signed waiver authorizing the commissioner to obtain access to the applicant's
54.11	records in this or any other state in which the applicant has worked as a speech-language
54.12	pathology assistant.
54.13	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2019.
54.14	Sec. 70. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 148.5192, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
54.15	Subdivision 1. Delegation requirements. A licensed speech-language pathologist may
54.16	delegate duties to a speech-language pathology assistant in accordance with this section.
54.17	Duties may only be delegated to an individual who has documented with a transcript from
54.18	an educational institution satisfactory completion of either:
54.19	(1) an associate degree from a speech-language pathology assistant program that is
54.20	accredited by the Higher Learning Commission of the North Central Association of Colleges
54.21	or its equivalent as approved by the commissioner; or
54.22	(2) a bachelor's degree in the discipline of communication sciences or disorders with
54.23	additional transcript credit in the area of instruction in assistant-level service delivery
54.24	practices and completion of at least 100 hours of supervised field work experience as a
54.25	speech-language pathology assistant student is licensed under section 148.5185 or 148.5186.
54.26	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2019.
54.27	Sec. 71. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 148.5193, subdivision 1, is amended
54.28	to read:
54.29	Subdivision 1. Number of contact hours required. (a) An applicant for licensure
54.30	renewal as a speech-language pathologist or audiologist must meet the requirements for
54.31	continuing education stipulated by the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association

04/17/18 REVISOR ACF/IL A18-0776

or the American Board of Audiology, or satisfy the requirements described in paragraphs (b) to (e).

- (b) Within one month following expiration of a license, an applicant for licensure renewal as either a speech-language pathologist or an audiologist must provide evidence to the commissioner of a minimum of 30 contact hours of continuing education obtained within the two years immediately preceding licensure expiration. A minimum of 20 contact hours of continuing education must be directly related to the licensee's area of licensure. Ten contact hours of continuing education may be in areas generally related to the licensee's area of licensure. Licensees who are issued licenses for a period of less than two years shall prorate the number of contact hours required for licensure renewal based on the number of months licensed during the biennial licensure period. Licensees shall receive contact hours for continuing education activities only for the biennial licensure period in which the continuing education activity was performed.
- (c) An applicant for licensure renewal as both a speech-language pathologist and an audiologist must attest to and document completion of a minimum of 36 contact hours of continuing education offered by a continuing education sponsor within the two years immediately preceding licensure renewal. A minimum of 15 contact hours must be received in the area of speech-language pathology and a minimum of 15 contact hours must be received in the area of audiology. Six contact hours of continuing education may be in areas generally related to the licensee's areas of licensure. Licensees who are issued licenses for a period of less than two years shall prorate the number of contact hours required for licensure renewal based on the number of months licensed during the biennial licensure period. Licensees shall receive contact hours for continuing education activities only for the biennial licensure period in which the continuing education activity was performed.
- (d) If the licensee is licensed by the Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board:
- (1) activities that are approved in the categories of Minnesota Rules, part 8710.7200, subpart 3, items A and B, and that relate to speech-language pathology, shall be considered:
- (i) offered by a sponsor of continuing education; and
- (ii) directly related to speech-language pathology;
- (2) activities that are approved in the categories of Minnesota Rules, part 8710.7200, subpart 3, shall be considered:
- 55.33 (i) offered by a sponsor of continuing education; and

55.1

55.2

55.3

55.4

55.5

55.6

55.7

55.8

55.9

55.10

55.11

55.12

55.13

55.14

55.15

55.16

55.17

55.18

55.19

55.20

55.21

55.22

55.23

55.24

55.25

55.26

55.27

56.1	(ii) generally related to speech-language pathology; and
56.2	(3) one clock hour as defined in Minnesota Rules, part 8710.7200, subpart 1, is equivalent
56.3	to 1.0 contact hours of continuing education.
56.4	(e) Contact hours may not be accumulated in advance and transferred to a future
56.5	continuing education period.
56.6	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2019.
56.7	Sec. 72. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 148.5193, is amended by adding a subdivision
56.8	to read:
56.9	Subd. 1a. Continuing education; speech-language pathology assistants. An applicant
56.10	for licensure renewal as a speech-language pathology assistant must meet the requirements
56.11	for continuing education established by the commissioner.
56.12	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2019.
56.13	Sec. 73. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 148.5194, is amended by adding a subdivision
56.14	to read:
56.15	Subd. 3b. Speech-language pathology assistant initial licensure and renewal fees.
56.16	The fee for initial speech-language pathology assistant licensure under section 148.5185 or
56.17	148.5186 is \$130. The fee for licensure renewal is \$120.
56.18	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2019.
56.19	Sec. 74. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 148.5194, subdivision 8, is amended to read:
56.20	Subd. 8. Penalty fees. (a) The penalty fee for practicing speech-language pathology or
56.21	audiology or using protected titles without a current license after the credential has expired
56.22	and before it is renewed is the amount of the license renewal fee for any part of the first
56.23	month, plus the license renewal fee for any part of any subsequent month up to 36 months.
56.24	The penalty fee for a speech-language pathology assistant who practices speech-language
56.25	pathology assisting or uses protected titles without a current license after a license has
56.26	expired and before it is renewed is the amount of the license renewal fee for any part of the
56.27	first month, plus the license renewal fee for any part of any subsequent month up to 36
56.28	months.
56.29	(b) The penalty fee for applicants who engage in the unauthorized practice of
56.30	speech-language pathology or audiology or using protected titles before being issued a
56.31	license is the amount of the license application fee for any part of the first month, plus the

license application fee for any part of any subsequent month up to 36 months. The penalty fee for a speech-language pathology assistant who engages in the unauthorized practice of speech-language pathology assisting or uses protected titles without being issued a license is the amount of the license application fee for any part of the first month, plus the license application fee for any part of any subsequent month up to 36 months. This paragraph does not apply to applicants not qualifying for a license who engage in the unauthorized practice of speech language pathology or audiology.

- (c) The penalty fee for practicing speech-language pathology or audiology and failing to submit a continuing education report by the due date with the correct number or type of hours in the correct time period is \$100 plus \$20 for each missing clock hour. The penalty fee for a licensed speech-language pathology assistant who fails to submit a continuing education report by the due date with the correct number or type of hours in the correct time period is \$100 plus \$20 for each missing clock hour. "Missing" means not obtained between the effective and expiration dates of the certificate, the one-month period following the certificate expiration date, or the 30 days following notice of a penalty fee for failing to report all continuing education hours. The licensee must obtain the missing number of continuing education hours by the next reporting due date.
- (d) Civil penalties and discipline incurred by licensees prior to August 1, 2005, for conduct described in paragraph (a), (b), or (c) shall be recorded as nondisciplinary penalty fees. For conduct described in paragraph (a) or (b) occurring after August 1, 2005, and exceeding six months, payment of a penalty fee does not preclude any disciplinary action reasonably justified by the individual case.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2019.

- Sec. 75. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 148.5195, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
- Subd. 3. **Grounds for disciplinary action by commissioner.** The commissioner may take any of the disciplinary actions listed in subdivision 4 on proof that the individual has:
- 57.27 (1) intentionally submitted false or misleading information to the commissioner or the advisory council;
- 57.29 (2) failed, within 30 days, to provide information in response to a written request by the commissioner or advisory council;
- 57.31 (3) performed services of a speech-language pathologist or, audiologist, or 57.32 speech-language pathology assistant in an incompetent or negligent manner;
- 57.33 (4) violated sections 148.511 to 148.5198;

57.1

57.2

57.3

57.4

57.5

57.6

57.7

57.8

57.9

57.10

57.11

57.12

57.13

57.14

57.15

57.16

57.17

57.18

57.19

57.20

57.21

57.22

58.1	(5) failed to perform services with reasonable judgment, skill, or safety due to the use
58.2	of alcohol or drugs, or other physical or mental impairment;
58.3	(6) violated any state or federal law, rule, or regulation, and the violation is a felony or
58.4	misdemeanor, an essential element of which is dishonesty, or which relates directly or
58.5	indirectly to the practice of speech-language pathology or, audiology, or speech-language
58.6	pathology assisting. Conviction for violating any state or federal law which relates to
58.7	speech-language pathology or, audiology, or speech-language pathology assisting is
58.8	necessarily considered to constitute a violation, except as provided in chapter 364;
58.9	(7) aided or abetted another person in violating any provision of sections 148.511 to
58.10	148.5198;
58.11	(8) been or is being disciplined by another jurisdiction, if any of the grounds for the
58.12	discipline is the same or substantially equivalent to those under sections 148.511 to 148.5198;
58.13	(9) not cooperated with the commissioner or advisory council in an investigation
58.14	conducted according to subdivision 1;
58.15	(10) advertised in a manner that is false or misleading;
58.16	(11) engaged in conduct likely to deceive, defraud, or harm the public; or demonstrated
58.17	a willful or careless disregard for the health, welfare, or safety of a client;
58.18	(12) failed to disclose to the consumer any fee splitting or any promise to pay a portion
58.19	of a fee to any other professional other than a fee for services rendered by the other
58.20	professional to the client;
58.21	(13) engaged in abusive or fraudulent billing practices, including violations of federal
58.22	Medicare and Medicaid laws, Food and Drug Administration regulations, or state medical
58.23	assistance laws;
58.24	(14) obtained money, property, or services from a consumer through the use of undue
58.25	influence, high pressure sales tactics, harassment, duress, deception, or fraud;
58.26	(15) performed services for a client who had no possibility of benefiting from the services;
58.27	(16) failed to refer a client for medical evaluation or to other health care professionals
58.28	when appropriate or when a client indicated symptoms associated with diseases that could
58.29	be medically or surgically treated;
58.30	(17) had the certification required by chapter 153A denied, suspended, or revoked

58.31

according to chapter 153A;

59.1	(18) used the term doctor of audiology, doctor of speech-language pathology, AuD, or
59.2	SLPD without having obtained the degree from an institution accredited by the North Central
59.3	Association of Colleges and Secondary Schools, the Council on Academic Accreditation
59.4	in Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology, the United States Department of Education,
59.5	or an equivalent;
59.6	(19) failed to comply with the requirements of section 148.5192 regarding supervision
59.7	of speech-language pathology assistants; or
59.8	(20) if the individual is an audiologist or certified hearing instrument dispenser:
59.9	(i) prescribed or otherwise recommended to a consumer or potential consumer the use
59.10	of a hearing instrument, unless the prescription from a physician or recommendation from
59.11	an audiologist or certified dispenser is in writing, is based on an audiogram that is delivered
59.12	to the consumer or potential consumer when the prescription or recommendation is made,
59.13	and bears the following information in all capital letters of 12-point or larger boldface type:
59.14	"THIS PRESCRIPTION OR RECOMMENDATION MAY BE FILLED BY, AND
59.15	HEARING INSTRUMENTS MAY BE PURCHASED FROM, THE LICENSED
59.16	AUDIOLOGIST OR CERTIFIED DISPENSER OF YOUR CHOICE";
59.17	(ii) failed to give a copy of the audiogram, upon which the prescription or
59.18	recommendation is based, to the consumer when the consumer requests a copy;
59.19	(iii) failed to provide the consumer rights brochure required by section 148.5197,
59.20	subdivision 3;
59.21	(iv) failed to comply with restrictions on sales of hearing instruments in sections
59.22	148.5197, subdivision 3, and 148.5198;
59.23	(v) failed to return a consumer's hearing instrument used as a trade-in or for a discount
59.24	in the price of a new hearing instrument when requested by the consumer upon cancellation
59.25	of the purchase agreement;
59.26	(vi) failed to follow Food and Drug Administration or Federal Trade Commission
59.27	regulations relating to dispensing hearing instruments;
59.28	(vii) failed to dispense a hearing instrument in a competent manner or without appropriate

(viii) delegated hearing instrument dispensing authority to a person not authorized to dispense a hearing instrument under this chapter or chapter 153A;

training;

0.4/4.7/4.0		. ~ .	
04/17/18	REVISOR	ACF/IL	A18-0776
U 1 /1//10	KE VISOK	ACI/IL	A10-0//

(ix) failed to comply with the requirements of an employer or supervisor of a hearing instrument dispenser trainee;

- (x) violated a state or federal court order or judgment, including a conciliation court judgment, relating to the activities of the individual's hearing instrument dispensing; or
- (xi) failed to include on the audiogram the practitioner's printed name, credential type, credential number, signature, and date.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2019.

- Sec. 76. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 148.5196, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- Subdivision 1. **Membership.** The commissioner shall appoint <u>12_13</u> persons to a

 Speech-Language Pathologist and Audiologist Advisory Council. The <u>12_13</u> persons must include:
 - (1) three public members, as defined in section 214.02. Two of the public members shall be either persons receiving services of a speech-language pathologist or audiologist, or family members of or caregivers to such persons, and at least one of the public members shall be either a hearing instrument user or an advocate of one;
 - (2) three speech-language pathologists licensed under sections 148.511 to 148.5198, one of whom is currently and has been, for the five years immediately preceding the appointment, engaged in the practice of speech-language pathology in Minnesota and each of whom is employed in a different employment setting including, but not limited to, private practice, hospitals, rehabilitation settings, educational settings, and government agencies;
 - (3) one speech-language pathologist licensed under sections 148.511 to 148.5198, who is currently and has been, for the five years immediately preceding the appointment, employed by a Minnesota public school district or a Minnesota public school district consortium that is authorized by Minnesota Statutes and who is licensed in speech-language pathology by the Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board;
 - (4) three audiologists licensed under sections 148.511 to 148.5198, two of whom are currently and have been, for the five years immediately preceding the appointment, engaged in the practice of audiology and the dispensing of hearing instruments in Minnesota and each of whom is employed in a different employment setting including, but not limited to, private practice, hospitals, rehabilitation settings, educational settings, industry, and government agencies;

60.1

60.2

60.3

60.4

60.5

60.6

60.7

60.13

60.14

60.15

60.16

60.17

60.18

60.19

60.20

60.21

60.22

60.23

60.24

60.25

60.26

60.27

60.28

60.29

60.30

60.31

61.1	(5) one nonaudiologist hearing instrument dispenser recommended by a professional
61.2	association representing hearing instrument dispensers; and
61.3	(6) one physician licensed under chapter 147 and certified by the American Board of
61.4	Otolaryngology, Head and Neck Surgery; and
61.5	(7) one speech-language pathology assistant licensed under section 148.5186.
61.6	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2019.
61.7	Sec. 77. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 148.5196, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
61.8	Subd. 3. Duties. The advisory council shall:
61.9	(1) advise the commissioner regarding speech-language pathologist and audiologist.
61.10	and speech-language pathology assistant licensure standards;
61.11	(2) advise the commissioner regarding the delegation of duties to and the training required
61.12	for speech-language pathology assistants;
61.13	(3) advise the commissioner on enforcement of sections 148.511 to 148.5198;
61.14	(4) provide for distribution of information regarding speech-language pathologist and,
61.15	audiologist, and speech-language pathology assistant licensure standards;
61.16	(5) review applications and make recommendations to the commissioner on granting or
61.17	denying licensure or licensure renewal;
61.18	(6) review reports of investigations relating to individuals and make recommendations
61.19	to the commissioner as to whether licensure should be denied or disciplinary action taken
61.20	against the individual;
61.21	(7) advise the commissioner regarding approval of continuing education activities
61.22	provided by sponsors using the criteria in section 148.5193, subdivision 2; and
61.23	(8) perform other duties authorized for advisory councils under chapter 214, or as directed
61.24	by the commissioner.
61.25	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2019.
61.26	Sec. 78. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 149A.40, subdivision 11, is amended to read:
61.27	Subd. 11. Continuing education. The commissioner shall require 15 continuing education
61.28	hours for renewal of a license to practice mortuary science. Nine of the hours must be in
61.29	the following areas: body preparation, care, or handling, and cremation, 3 CE hours;
61.30	professional practices, 3 CE hours; and regulation and ethics, 3 CE hours. Continuing

0.4/1.7/1.0	DELUCOD	A CIT/II	110 0776
04/17/18	REVISOR	ACF/IL	A18-0776

education hours shall be reported to the commissioner every other year based on the licensee's 62.1 license number. Licensees whose license ends in an odd number must report CE hours at 62.2 renewal time every odd year. If a licensee's license ends in an even number, the licensee 62.3 must report the licensee's CE hours at renewal time every even year. 62.4 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2019, and applies to mortuary 62.5 science license renewals on or after that date. 62.6 62.7 Sec. 79. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 149A.95, subdivision 3, is amended to read: Subd. 3. Unlicensed personnel. (a) A licensed crematory may employ unlicensed 62.8 personnel, provided that all applicable provisions of this chapter are followed. It is the duty 62.9 of the licensed crematory to provide proper training for to all unlicensed personnel and 62.10 ensure that unlicensed personnel performing cremations are in compliance with the 62.11 requirements in paragraph (b). The licensed crematory shall be strictly accountable for 62.12 compliance with this chapter and other applicable state and federal regulations regarding 62.13 occupational and workplace health and safety. 62.14 (b) Unlicensed personnel performing cremations at a licensed crematory must: 62.15 (1) complete a certified crematory operator course that is approved by the commissioner 62.16 and that covers at least the following subjects: 62.17 (i) cremation and incinerator terminology; 62.18 (ii) combustion principles; 62.19 (iii) maintenance of and troubleshooting for cremation devices; 62.20 (iv) how to operate cremation devices; 62.21 (v) identification, the use of proper forms, and the record-keeping process for 62.22 documenting chain of custody of human remains; 62.23 (vi) guidelines for recycling, including but not limited to compliance, disclosure, recycling 62.24 procedures, and compensation; 62.25 (vii) legal and regulatory requirements regarding environmental issues, including specific 62.26 environmental regulations with which compliance is required; and 62.27 (viii) cremation ethics; 62.28 (2) obtain a crematory operator certification; 62.29 (3) publicly post the crematory operator certification at the licensed crematory where 62.30 the unlicensed personnel performs cremations; and 62.31

63.1	(4) maintain crematory operator certification through:
63.2	(i) recertification, if such recertification is required by the program through which the
63.3	unlicensed personnel is certified; or
63.4	(ii) if recertification is not required by the program, completion of at least seven hours
63.5	of continuing education credits in crematory operation every five years.
63.6	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2019, and applies to unlicensed
63.7	personnel performing cremations on or after that date.
63.8	Sec. 80. PHASE-IN OF LICENSURE OF PRESCRIBED PEDIATRIC EXTENDED
63.9	CARE CENTERS.
63.10	Subdivision 1. 2019-2020 licensure period. The commissioner of health shall phase in
63.11	the licensure of prescribed pediatric extended care centers (PPEC centers) under Minnesota
63.12	Statutes, chapter 144H, by issuing licenses for no more than two PPEC centers for the
63.13	licensure period January 1, 2019, through December 31, 2020. To be eligible for licensure
63.14	for the licensure period January 1, 2019, through December 31, 2020, an entity must hold
63.15	a current comprehensive home care license under Minnesota Statutes, sections 144A.43 to
63.16	144A.482, and must have experience providing home care services to medically complex
63.17	or technologically dependent children, as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 144H.01,
63.18	subdivision 5. Beginning January 1, 2021, the commissioner shall license additional PPEC
63.19	centers if the commissioner determines that the applicant and the center meet the licensing
63.20	requirements of Minnesota Statutes, chapter 144H.
63.21	Subd. 2. Quality measures; development and reporting. The commissioner of health,
63.22	in consultation with prescribed pediatric extended care centers licensed for the 2019-2020
63.23	licensure period, shall develop quality measures for PPEC centers, procedures for PPEC
63.24	centers to report quality measures to the commissioner, and methods for the commissioner
63.25	to make the results of the quality measures available to the public.
63.26	Sec. 81. OLDER ADULT SOCIAL ISOLATION WORKING GROUP.
63.27	Subdivision 1. Establishment; members. The commissioner of health or the
63.28	commissioner's designee shall convene an older adult social isolation working group that
63.29	consists of no more than 35 members including, but not limited to:
63.30	(1) one person diagnosed with Alzheimer's or dementia;
63.31	(2) one caregiver of a person diagnosed with Alzheimer's or dementia;

64.1	(3) the executive director of Giving Voice;
64.2	(4) one representative from the Mayo Clinic Alzheimer's Disease Research Center;
64.3	(5) one representative from AARP Minnesota;
64.4	(6) one representative from Little Brothers-Friends of the Elderly, Minneapolis/St. Paul
64.5	(7) one representative from the Alzheimer's Association Minnesota-North Dakota Chapter
64.6	(8) one representative from the American Heart Association Minnesota Chapter;
64.7	(9) one representative from the Minnesota HomeCare Association;
64.8	(10) two representatives from long-term care trade associations;
64.9	(11) one representative from the Minnesota Rural Health Association;
64.10	(12) the commissioner of health or the commissioner's designee;
64.11	(13) one representative from the Minnesota Board on Aging;
64.12	(14) one representative from the Commission of Deaf, Deafblind and Hard of Hearing
64.13	Minnesotans;
64.14	(15) one representative from the Minnesota Nurses Association;
64.15	(16) one representative from the Minnesota Council of Churches;
64.16	(17) one representative from the Minnesota Leadership Council on Aging;
64.17	(18) one representative from the Minnesota Association of Senior Services;
64.18	(19) one representative from Metro Meals on Wheels;
64.19	(20) one rural Minnesota geriatrician or family physician;
64.20	(21) at least two representatives from the University of Minnesota;
64.21	(22) one representative from one of the Minnesota Area Agencies on Aging;
64.22	(23) at least two members representing Minnesota rural communities;
64.23	(24) additional members representing communities of color;
64.24	(25) one representative from the National Alliance on Mental Illness; and
64.25	(26) one representative from the Citizens League.
64.26	Subd. 2. Duties; recommendations. The older adult social isolation working group
64.27	must assess the current and future impact of social isolation on the lives of Minnesotans
64.28	over age 55. The working group shall consider and make recommendations to the governor

65.1	and chairs and members of the health and human services committees in the house of
65.2	representatives and senate on the following issues:
65.3	(1) the public health impact of social isolation in the older adult population of Minnesota;
65.4	(2) identify existing Minnesota resources, services, and capacity to respond to the issue
65.5	of social isolation in older adults;
65.6	(3) needed policies or community responses, including but not limited to expanding
65.7	current services or developing future services after identifying gaps in service for rural
65.8	geographical areas;
65.9	(4) needed policies or community responses, including but not limited to the expansion
65.10	of culturally appropriate current services or developing future services after identifying
65.11	gaps in service for persons of color; and
65.12	(5) impact of social isolation on older adults with disabilities and needed policies or
65.13	community responses.
65.14	Subd. 3. Meetings. The working group must hold at least four public meetings beginning
65.15	August 10, 2018. To the extent possible, technology must be utilized to reach the greatest
65.16	number of interested persons throughout the state. The working group must complete the
65.17	required meeting schedule by December 10, 2018.
65.18	Subd. 4. Report. The commissioner of health must submit a report and the working
65.19	group's recommendations to the governor and chairs and members of the health and human
65.20	services committees in the house of representatives and senate no later than January 14,
65.21	<u>2019.</u>
65.22	Subd. 5. Sunset. The working group sunsets upon delivery of the required report to the
65.23	governor and legislative committees.
65.24	Sec. 82. RULEMAKING; WELL AND BORING RECORDS.
65.25	(a) The commissioner of health shall amend Minnesota Rules, part 4725.1851, subpart
65.26	1, to require the licensee, registrant, or property owner or lessee to submit the record of well
65.27	or boring construction or sealing within 90 days after completion of the work, rather than
65.28	within 30 days after completion of the work.
65.29	(b) The commissioner may use the good cause exemption under Minnesota Statutes,
65.30	section 14.388, subdivision 1, clause (3), to adopt rules under this section, and Minnesota
65.31	Statutes, section 14.386, does not apply, except as provided under Minnesota Statutes,
65.32	section 14.388.

66.1	Sec. 83.	RULEMAKING	SECURITY S	SCREENING	SYSTEMS.
------	----------	------------	------------	-----------	----------

The commissioner may adopt permanent rules to implement Minnesota Statutes, section

66.3 144.121, subdivision 9.

66.4

66.5

Sec. 84. ADVISORY COUNCIL ON PANDAS AND PANS; INITIAL

APPOINTMENTS AND FIRST MEETING.

The appointing authorities shall appoint the first members of the advisory council on 66.6 PANDAS and PANS under Minnesota Statutes, section 144.131, no later than October 1, 66.7 2018. The commissioner of health shall convene the first meeting by November 1, 2018, 66.8 and the commissioner or the commissioner's designee shall act as chair until the advisory 66.9 council elects a chair at its first meeting. Notwithstanding the length of terms specified in 66.10 66.11 Minnesota Statutes, section 144.131, subdivision 3, at the first meeting of the advisory council, the chair elected by the members shall determine by lot one-third of the advisory 66.12 council members whose terms shall expire on September 30 of the calendar year following 66.13the year of first appointment, one-third of the advisory council members whose terms shall 66.14 expire on September 30 of the second calendar year following the year of first appointment, 66.1566.16 and the remaining advisory council members whose terms shall expire on September 30 of the third calendar year following the year of first appointment. 66.17

Sec. 85. **REVISOR'S INSTRUCTIONS.**

- (a) The revisor of statutes shall change the terms "service plan or service agreement"

 and "service agreement or service plan" to "service agreement" in the following sections of

 Minnesota Statutes: sections 144A.442; 144D.045; 144G.03, subdivision 4, paragraph (c);
- 66.22 and 144G.04.

66.18

- (b) The revisor of statutes shall change the term "service plan" to "service agreement"
- and the term "service plans" to "service agreements" in the following sections of Minnesota
- 66.25 Statutes: sections 144A.44; 144A.45; 144A.475; 144A.4791; 144A.4792; 144A.4793;
- 66.26 144A.4794; 144D.04; and 144G.03, subdivision 4, paragraph (a).

66.27 Sec. 86. **REPEALER.**

Minnesota Statutes 2016, sections 144A.45, subdivision 6; and 144A.481, are repealed.

04/17/18	REVISOR		A18-077
		ACF/IL	

	04/17/18 REVISOR ACF/IL A18-0776
67.1	ARTICLE 2
67.2	HEALTH CARE
67.3	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 13.69, subdivision 1, is amended
67.4	to read:
67.5	Subdivision 1. Classifications. (a) The following government data of the Department
67.6	of Public Safety are private data:
67.7	(1) medical data on driving instructors, licensed drivers, and applicants for parking
67.8	certificates and special license plates issued to physically disabled persons;
67.9	(2) other data on holders of a disability certificate under section 169.345, except that (i)
67.10	data that are not medical data may be released to law enforcement agencies, and (ii) data
67.11	necessary for enforcement of sections 169.345 and 169.346 may be released to parking
67.12	enforcement employees or parking enforcement agents of statutory or home rule charter
67.13	cities and towns;
67.14	(3) Social Security numbers in driver's license and motor vehicle registration records,
67.15	except that Social Security numbers must be provided to the Department of Revenue for
67.16	purposes of tax administration, the Department of Labor and Industry for purposes of
67.17	workers' compensation administration and enforcement, the judicial branch for purposes of
67.18	debt collection, and the Department of Natural Resources for purposes of license application
67.19	administration, and except that the last four digits of the Social Security number must be
67.20	provided to the Department of Human Services for purposes of recovery of Minnesota health
67.21	care program benefits paid; and
67.22	(4) data on persons listed as standby or temporary custodians under section 171.07,
67.23	subdivision 11, except that the data must be released to:
67.24	(i) law enforcement agencies for the purpose of verifying that an individual is a designated
67.25	caregiver; or
67.26	(ii) law enforcement agencies who state that the license holder is unable to communicate

at that time and that the information is necessary for notifying the designated caregiver of 67.27 the need to care for a child of the license holder. 67.28

The department may release the Social Security number only as provided in clause (3) and must not sell or otherwise provide individual Social Security numbers or lists of Social Security numbers for any other purpose.

67.29

67.30

(b) The following government data of the Department of Public Safety are confidential data: data concerning an individual's driving ability when that data is received from a member of the individual's family.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2018.

68.1

68.2

68.3

68.4

68.5

68.6

68.7

68.8

68.9

68.10

68.11

68.12

68.13

68.14

68.15

68.16

68.17

68.18

68.19

68.20

68.21

68.22

68.23

68.24

68.25

- Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256.014, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2. **State systems account created.** (a) A state systems account is created in the state treasury. Money collected by the commissioner of human services for the programs in subdivision 1 must be deposited in the account. Money in the state systems account and federal matching money is appropriated to the commissioner of human services for purposes of this section. Any unexpended balance in the appropriations for information systems projects for MAXIS, PRISM, MMIS, ISDS, METS, or SSIS does not cancel and is available for ongoing development and operations, subject to review by the Legislative Advisory Commission under paragraphs (b) and (c).
- (b) No unexpended balance under paragraph (a) may be expended by the commissioner of human services until the commissioner of management and budget has submitted the proposed expenditure to the members of the Legislative Advisory Commission for review and recommendation. If the commission makes a positive recommendation or no recommendation, or if the commission has not reviewed the request within 20 days after the date the proposed expenditure was submitted, the commissioner of management and budget may approve the proposed expenditure. If the commission recommends further review of the proposed expenditure, the commissioner shall provide additional information to the commission. If the commission makes a negative recommendation on the proposed expenditure within ten days of receiving further information, the commissioner shall not approve the proposed expenditure. If the commission makes a positive recommendation or no recommendation within ten days of receiving further information, the commissioner may approve the proposed expenditure.
- (c) A recommendation of the commission must be made at a meeting of the commission
 unless a written recommendation is signed by all members entitled to vote on the item as
 specified in section 3.30, subdivision 2. A recommendation of the commission must be
 made by a majority of the commission.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 256B.0625, subdivision 3b, is amended to read:

- Subd. 3b. **Telemedicine services.** (a) Medical assistance covers medically necessary services and consultations delivered by a licensed health care provider via telemedicine in the same manner as if the service or consultation was delivered in person. Coverage is limited to three telemedicine services per enrollee per calendar week, except as provided in paragraph (f). Telemedicine services shall be paid at the full allowable rate.
- (b) The commissioner shall establish criteria that a health care provider must attest to in order to demonstrate the safety or efficacy of delivering a particular service via telemedicine. The attestation may include that the health care provider:
- (1) has identified the categories or types of services the health care provider will provide via telemedicine;
- 69.13 (2) has written policies and procedures specific to telemedicine services that are regularly reviewed and updated;
 - (3) has policies and procedures that adequately address patient safety before, during, and after the telemedicine service is rendered;
- 69.17 (4) has established protocols addressing how and when to discontinue telemedicine 69.18 services; and
- 69.19 (5) has an established quality assurance process related to telemedicine services.
- 69.20 (c) As a condition of payment, a licensed health care provider must document each occurrence of a health service provided by telemedicine to a medical assistance enrollee.

 Health care service records for services provided by telemedicine must meet the requirements set forth in Minnesota Rules, part 9505.2175, subparts 1 and 2, and must document:
- 69.24 (1) the type of service provided by telemedicine;
- 69.25 (2) the time the service began and the time the service ended, including an a.m. and p.m. designation;
- (3) the licensed health care provider's basis for determining that telemedicine is an appropriate and effective means for delivering the service to the enrollee;
- 69.29 (4) the mode of transmission of the telemedicine service and records evidencing that a particular mode of transmission was utilized;
 - (5) the location of the originating site and the distant site;

69.31

69.3

69.4

69.5

69.6

69.7

69.8

69.9

69.10

69.15

(6) if the claim for payment is based on a physician's telemedicine consultation with another physician, the written opinion from the consulting physician providing the telemedicine consultation; and

- (7) compliance with the criteria attested to by the health care provider in accordance with paragraph (b).
- (d) For purposes of this subdivision, unless otherwise covered under this chapter, "telemedicine" is defined as the delivery of health care services or consultations while the patient is at an originating site and the licensed health care provider is at a distant site. A communication between licensed health care providers, or a licensed health care provider and a patient that consists solely of a telephone conversation, e-mail, or facsimile transmission does not constitute telemedicine consultations or services. Telemedicine may be provided by means of real-time two-way, interactive audio and visual communications, including the application of secure video conferencing or store-and-forward technology to provide or support health care delivery, which facilitate the assessment, diagnosis, consultation, treatment, education, and care management of a patient's health care.
- (e) For purposes of this section, "licensed health care provider" means a licensed health care provider under section 62A.671, subdivision 6, a community paramedic as defined under section 144E.001, subdivision 5f, and a mental health practitioner defined under section 245.462, subdivision 17, or 245.4871, subdivision 26, working under the general supervision of a mental health professional; "health care provider" is defined under section 62A.671, subdivision 3; and "originating site" is defined under section 62A.671, subdivision 7.
- (f) The limit on coverage of three telemedicine services per enrollee per calendar week 70.23 does not apply if:
- (1) the telemedicine services provided by the licensed health care provider are for the 70.25 treatment and control of tuberculosis; and 70.26
- (2) the services are provided in a manner consistent with the recommendations and best 70.27 practices specified by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and the commissioner 70.28 of health. 70.29
- Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256B.0625, subdivision 30, is amended to read: 70.30
- 70.31 Subd. 30. Other clinic services. (a) Medical assistance covers rural health clinic services, federally qualified health center services, nonprofit community health clinic services, and 70.32 public health clinic services. Rural health clinic services and federally qualified health center 70.33

70.1

70.2

70.3

70.4

70.5

70.6

70.7

70.8

70.9

70.10

70.11

70.12

70.13

70.14

70.15

70.16

70.17

70.18

70.19

70.20

70.21

70.22

services mean services defined in United States Code, title 42, section 1396d(a)(2)(B) and (C). Payment for rural health clinic and federally qualified health center services shall be made according to applicable federal law and regulation.

- (b) A federally qualified health center that is beginning initial operation shall submit an estimate of budgeted costs and visits for the initial reporting period in the form and detail required by the commissioner. A federally qualified health center that is already in operation shall submit an initial report using actual costs and visits for the initial reporting period. Within 90 days of the end of its reporting period, a federally qualified health center shall submit, in the form and detail required by the commissioner, a report of its operations, including allowable costs actually incurred for the period and the actual number of visits for services furnished during the period, and other information required by the commissioner. Federally qualified health centers that file Medicare cost reports shall provide the commissioner with a copy of the most recent Medicare cost report filed with the Medicare program intermediary for the reporting year which support the costs claimed on their cost report to the state.
- (c) In order to continue cost-based payment under the medical assistance program according to paragraphs (a) and (b), a federally qualified health center or rural health clinic must apply for designation as an essential community provider within six months of final adoption of rules by the Department of Health according to section 62Q.19, subdivision 7. For those federally qualified health centers and rural health clinics that have applied for essential community provider status within the six-month time prescribed, medical assistance payments will continue to be made according to paragraphs (a) and (b) for the first three years after application. For federally qualified health centers and rural health clinics that either do not apply within the time specified above or who have had essential community provider status for three years, medical assistance payments for health services provided by these entities shall be according to the same rates and conditions applicable to the same service provided by health care providers that are not federally qualified health centers or rural health clinics.
- (d) Effective July 1, 1999, the provisions of paragraph (c) requiring a federally qualified health center or a rural health clinic to make application for an essential community provider designation in order to have cost-based payments made according to paragraphs (a) and (b) no longer apply.
- 71.33 (e) Effective January 1, 2000, payments made according to paragraphs (a) and (b) shall be limited to the cost phase-out schedule of the Balanced Budget Act of 1997.

71.1

71.2

71.3

71.4

71.5

71.6

71.7

71.8

71.9

71.10

71.11

71.12

71.13

71.14

71.15

71.16

71.17

71.18

71.19

71.20

71.21

71.22

71.23

71.24

71.25

71.26

71.27

71.28

71.29

71.30

71.31

(f) Effective January 1, 2001, each federally qualified health center and rural health 72.1 clinic may elect to be paid either under the prospective payment system established in United 72.2 States Code, title 42, section 1396a(aa), or under an alternative payment methodology 72.3 consistent with the requirements of United States Code, title 42, section 1396a(aa), and 72.4 approved by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services. The alternative payment 72.5 methodology shall be 100 percent of cost as determined according to Medicare cost 72.6 principles. 72.7 72.8 (g) For purposes of this section, "nonprofit community clinic" is a clinic that: (1) has nonprofit status as specified in chapter 317A; 72.9 (2) has tax exempt status as provided in Internal Revenue Code, section 501(c)(3); 72.10 (3) is established to provide health services to low-income population groups, uninsured, 72.11 high-risk and special needs populations, underserved and other special needs populations; 72.12 (4) employs professional staff at least one-half of which are familiar with the cultural 72.13 background of their clients; 72.14 (5) charges for services on a sliding fee scale designed to provide assistance to 72.15 low-income clients based on current poverty income guidelines and family size; and 72.16 (6) does not restrict access or services because of a client's financial limitations or public 72.17 assistance status and provides no-cost care as needed. 72.18 (h) Effective for services provided on or after January 1, 2015, all claims for payment 72.19 of clinic services provided by federally qualified health centers and rural health clinics shall 72.20 be paid by the commissioner. the commissioner shall determine the most feasible method 72.21 for paying claims from the following options: 72.22 (1) federally qualified health centers and rural health clinics submit claims directly to 72.23 the commissioner for payment, and the commissioner provides claims information for 72.24 recipients enrolled in a managed care or county-based purchasing plan to the plan, on a 72.25 regular basis; or 72.26 (2) federally qualified health centers and rural health clinics submit claims for recipients 72.27 enrolled in a managed care or county-based purchasing plan to the plan, and those claims 72.28 are submitted by the plan to the commissioner for payment to the clinic. 72.29

72.30

72.31

(h) Federally qualified health centers and rural health clinics shall submit claims directly

to the commissioner for payment, and the commissioner shall provide claims information

for recipients enrolled in a managed care plan or county-based purchasing plan to the plan on a regular basis as determined by the commissioner.

- (i) For clinic services provided prior to January 1, 2015, the commissioner shall calculate and pay monthly the proposed managed care supplemental payments to clinics, and clinics shall conduct a timely review of the payment calculation data in order to finalize all supplemental payments in accordance with federal law. Any issues arising from a clinic's review must be reported to the commissioner by January 1, 2017. Upon final agreement between the commissioner and a clinic on issues identified under this subdivision, and in accordance with United States Code, title 42, section 1396a(bb), no supplemental payments for managed care plan or county-based purchasing plan claims for services provided prior to January 1, 2015, shall be made after June 30, 2017. If the commissioner and clinics are unable to resolve issues under this subdivision, the parties shall submit the dispute to the arbitration process under section 14.57.
- (j) The commissioner shall seek a federal waiver, authorized under section 1115 of the Social Security Act, to obtain federal financial participation at the 100 percent federal matching percentage available to facilities of the Indian Health Service or tribal organization in accordance with section 1905(b) of the Social Security Act for expenditures made to organizations dually certified under Title V of the Indian Health Care Improvement Act, Public Law 94-437, and as a federally qualified health center under paragraph (a) that provides services to American Indian and Alaskan Native individuals eligible for services under this subdivision.
- 73.22 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2019, and applies to services provided on or after that date.

Sec. 5. ENCOUNTER REPORTING OF 340B ELIGIBLE DRUGS.

(a) The commissioner of human services, in consultation with federally qualified health centers, managed care organizations, and contract pharmacies, shall develop recommendations for a process to identify and report at point of sale the 340B drugs that are dispensed to enrollees of managed care organizations who are patients of a federally qualified health center, and to exclude these claims from the Medicaid Drug Rebate Program and ensure that duplicate discounts for drugs do not occur. In developing this process, the commissioner shall assess the impact of allowing federally qualified health centers to utilize the 340B Drug Pricing Program drug discounts if a federally qualified health center utilizes a contract pharmacy for a patient enrolled in the prepaid medical assistance program.

73.1

73.2

73.3

73.4

73.5

73.6

73.7

73.8

73.9

73.10

73.11

73.12

73.13

73.14

73.15

73.16

73.17

73.18

73.19

73.20

73.21

73.24

73.25

73.26

73.27

73.28

73.29

73.30

73.31

73.32

(b) By March 1, 2019, the commissioner shall report the recommendations to the chairs and ranking minority members of the house of representatives and senate committees with jurisdiction over medical assistance.

Sec. 6. RECONCILIATION OF MINNESOTACARE PREMIUMS.

74.1

74.2

74.3

74.4

74.5

74.6

74.7

74.8

74.9

74.10

74.11

74.12

74.13

74.14

74.15

74.16

74.17

74.18

74.19

74.20

74.21

74.22

74.23

74.24

74.25

74.26

74.27

74.28

74.29

74.30

74.31

74.32

74.33

Subdivision 1. Reconciliation required. (a) The commissioner of human services shall reconcile all MinnesotaCare premiums paid or due for health coverage provided during the period January 1, 2014, through December 31, 2017, by July 1, 2018. Based on this reconciliation, the commissioner shall notify each MinnesotaCare enrollee or former enrollee of any amount owed as premiums, refund to the enrollee or former enrollee any premium overpayment, and enter into a payment arrangement with the enrollee or former enrollee as necessary.

(b) The commissioner of human services is prohibited from using agency staff and resources to plan, develop, or promote any proposal that would offer a health insurance product on the individual market that would offer consumers similar benefits and networks as the standard MinnesotaCare program, until the commissioner of management and budget has determined under subdivision 2 that the commissioner is in compliance with the requirements of this section.

Subd. 2. Determination of compliance; contingent transfer. The commissioner of management and budget shall determine whether the commissioner of human services has complied with the requirements of subdivision 1. If the commissioner of management and budget determines that the commissioner of human services is not in compliance with subdivision 1, the commissioner of management and budget shall transfer \$10,000 from the central office operations account of the Department of Human Services to the premium security plan account established under Minnesota Statutes, section 62E.25, for each business day of noncompliance.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 7. CONTRACT TO RECOVER THIRD-PARTY LIABILITY.

The commissioner shall contract with a vendor to implement a third-party liability recovery program for medical assistance and MinnesotaCare. Under the terms of the contract, the vendor shall be reimbursed using a percentage of the money recovered through the third-party liability recovery program. All money recovered that remains after reimbursement of the vendor is available for operation of the medical assistance and MinnesotaCare programs. The use of this money must be authorized in law by the legislature.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2018.

75.1

Sec. 8. STUDY AND REPORT ON DISPARITIES BETWEEN GEOGRAPHIC
RATING AREAS IN INDIVIDUAL AND SMALL GROUP MARKET HEALTH
INSURANCE RATES.
Subdivision 1. Study and recommendations. (a) As permitted by the availability of
resources, the legislative auditor is requested to study disparities between Minnesota's nine
geographic rating areas in individual and small group market health insurance rates and
recommend ways to reduce or eliminate rate disparities between the geographic rating areas
and provide for stability of the individual and small group health insurance markets in the
state. In the study, if conducted, the legislative auditor shall:
(1) identify the factors that cause higher individual and small group market health
insurance rates in certain geographic rating areas, and determine the extent to which each
identified factor contributes to the higher rates;
(2) identify the impact of referral centers on individual and small group market health
insurance rates in southeastern Minnesota, and identify ways to reduce the rate disparity
between southeastern Minnesota and the metropolitan area, taking into consideration the
patterns of referral center usage by patients in those regions;
(3) determine the extent to which individuals and small employers located in a geographic
rating area with higher health insurance rates than surrounding geographic rating areas have
obtained health insurance in a lower-cost geographic rating area, identify the strategies that
individuals and small employers use to obtain health insurance in a lower-cost geographic
rating area, and measure the effects of this practice on the rates of the individuals and small
employers remaining in the geographic rating area with higher health insurance rates; and
(4) develop proposals to redraw the boundaries of Minnesota's geographic rating areas,
and calculate the effect each proposal would have on rates in each of the proposed rating
areas. The legislative auditor shall examine at least three options for redrawing the boundaries
of Minnesota's geographic rating areas, at least one of which must reduce the number of
geographic rating areas. All options for redrawing Minnesota's geographic rating areas
considered by the legislative auditor must be designed:
(i) with the purposes of reducing or eliminating rate disparities between geographic
rating areas and providing for stability of the individual and small group health insurance

75.32

markets in the state;

(ii) with consideration of the composition of existing provider networks and referral
patterns in regions of the state; and
(iii) in compliance with the requirements for geographic rating areas in Code of Federal
Regulations, title 45, section 147.102(b), and other applicable federal law and guidance.
(b) Health carriers that cover Minnesota residents, health systems that provide care to
Minnesota residents, and the commissioner of health shall cooperate with any requests for
information from the legislative auditor that the legislative auditor determines is necessary
to conduct the study.
(c) The legislative auditor may recommend one or more proposals for redrawing
Minnesota's geographic rating areas if the legislative auditor determines that the proposal
would reduce or eliminate individual and small group market health insurance rate disparities
between the geographic rating areas and provide for stability of the individual and small
group health insurance markets in the state.
Subd. 2. Contract. The legislative auditor may contract with another entity for technical
assistance in conducting the study and developing recommendations according to subdivision
<u>1.</u>
Subd. 3. Report. The legislative auditor is requested to complete the study and
recommendations by January 1, 2019, and to submit a report on the study and
recommendations by that date to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative
committees with jurisdiction over health care and health insurance.
A DEFECT TO A
ARTICLE 3
CHEMICAL AND MENTAL HEALTH
Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 13.851, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:
Subd. 11. Mental health screening. The treatment of data collected by a sheriff or local
corrections agency related to individuals who may have a mental illness is governed by
section 641.15, subdivision 3a.
Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 245A.04, subdivision 7, is amended to read:
Subd. 7. Grant of license; license extension. (a) If the commissioner determines that
the program complies with all applicable rules and laws, the commissioner shall issue a
license consistent with this section or, if applicable, a temporary change of ownership license

- 77.1 (1) the name of the license holder;
- 77.2 (2) the address of the program;
- 77.3 (3) the effective date and expiration date of the license;
- 77.4 (4) the type of license;
- 77.5 (5) the maximum number and ages of persons that may receive services from the program;
- 77.6 and
- 77.7 (6) any special conditions of licensure.
- 77.8 (b) The commissioner may issue an initial <u>a</u> license for a period not to exceed two years 77.9 if:
- 77.10 (1) the commissioner is unable to conduct the evaluation or observation required by subdivision 4, paragraph (a), clauses (3) and (4), because the program is not yet operational;
- 77.12 (2) certain records and documents are not available because persons are not yet receiving services from the program; and
- (3) the applicant complies with applicable laws and rules in all other respects.
- 77.15 (c) A decision by the commissioner to issue a license does not guarantee that any person 77.16 or persons will be placed or cared for in the licensed program. A license shall not be 77.17 transferable to another individual, corporation, partnership, voluntary association, other 77.18 organization, or controlling individual or to another location.
- 77.19 (d) A license holder must notify the commissioner and obtain the commissioner's approval
 before making any changes that would alter the license information listed under paragraph
 (a).
- 77.22 (e) (d) Except as provided in paragraphs (g) (f) and (h) (g), the commissioner shall not issue or reissue a license if the applicant, license holder, or controlling individual has:
- 77.24 (1) been disqualified and the disqualification was not set aside and no variance has been granted;
- 77.26 (2) been denied a license within the past two years;
- 77.27 (3) had a license <u>issued under this chapter</u> revoked within the past five years;
- 77.28 (4) an outstanding debt related to a license fee, licensing fine, or settlement agreement 77.29 for which payment is delinquent; or

04/17/18 REVISOR ACF/IL A18-0776

(5) failed to submit the information required of an applicant under subdivision 1, paragraph (f) or (g), after being requested by the commissioner.

When a license <u>issued under this chapter</u> is revoked under clause (1) or (3), the license holder and controlling individual may not hold any license under chapter 245A or 245D for five years following the revocation, and other licenses held by the applicant, license holder, or controlling individual shall also be revoked.

- (f) (e) The commissioner shall not issue or reissue a license <u>under this chapter</u> if an individual living in the household where the licensed services will be provided as specified under section 245C.03, subdivision 1, has been disqualified and the disqualification has not been set aside and no variance has been granted.
- (g) (f) Pursuant to section 245A.07, subdivision 1, paragraph (b), when a license <u>issued</u> under this chapter has been suspended or revoked and the suspension or revocation is under appeal, the program may continue to operate pending a final order from the commissioner. If the license under suspension or revocation will expire before a final order is issued, a temporary provisional license may be issued provided any applicable license fee is paid before the temporary provisional license is issued.
- (h) (g) Notwithstanding paragraph (g) (f), when a revocation is based on the disqualification of a controlling individual or license holder, and the controlling individual or license holder is ordered under section 245C.17 to be immediately removed from direct contact with persons receiving services or is ordered to be under continuous, direct supervision when providing direct contact services, the program may continue to operate only if the program complies with the order and submits documentation demonstrating compliance with the order. If the disqualified individual fails to submit a timely request for reconsideration, or if the disqualification is not set aside and no variance is granted, the order to immediately remove the individual from direct contact or to be under continuous, direct supervision remains in effect pending the outcome of a hearing and final order from the commissioner.
- (i) (h) For purposes of reimbursement for meals only, under the Child and Adult Care Food Program, Code of Federal Regulations, title 7, subtitle B, chapter II, subchapter A, part 226, relocation within the same county by a licensed family day care provider, shall be considered an extension of the license for a period of no more than 30 calendar days or until the new license is issued, whichever occurs first, provided the county agency has determined the family day care provider meets licensure requirements at the new location.

78.1

78.2

78.3

78.4

78.5

78.6

78.7

78.8

78.9

78.10

78.11

78.12

78.13

78.14

78.15

78.16

78.17

78.18

78.19

78.20

78.21

78.22

78.23

78.24

78.25

78.26

78.27

78.28

78.29

78.30

78.31

78.32

79.1	(j) (i) Unless otherwise specified by statute, all licenses issued under this chapter expire
79.2	at 12:01 a.m. on the day after the expiration date stated on the license. A license holder mus
79.3	apply for and be granted a new license to operate the program or the program must not be
79.4	operated after the expiration date.
79.5	(k) (j) The commissioner shall not issue or reissue a license under this chapter if it has
79.6	been determined that a tribal licensing authority has established jurisdiction to license the
79.7	program or service.
79.8	Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 245A.04, is amended by adding a subdivision to
79.9	read:
79.10	Subd. 7a. Notification required. (a) A license holder must notify the commissioner and
79.11	obtain the commissioner's approval before making any change that would alter the license
79.12	information listed under subdivision 7, paragraph (a).
79.13	(b) At least 30 days before the effective date of a change, the license holder must notify
79.14	the commissioner in writing of any change:
79.15	(1) to the license holder's controlling individual as defined in section 245A.02, subdivision
79.16	<u>5a;</u>
79.17	(2) to license holder information on file with the secretary of state;
79.18	(3) in the location of the program or service licensed under this chapter; and
79.19	(4) in the federal or state tax identification number associated with the license holder.
79.20	(c) When a license holder notifies the commissioner of a change to the business structure
79.21	governing the licensed program or services but is not selling the business, the license holder
79.22	must provide amended articles of incorporation and other documentation of the change and
79.23	any other information requested by the commissioner.
79.24	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2018.
79.25	Sec. 4. [245A.043] LICENSE APPLICATION AFTER CHANGE OF OWNERSHIP
79.26	Subdivision 1. Transfer prohibited. A license issued under this chapter is only valid
79.27	for a premises and individual, organization, or government entity identified by the
79.28	commissioner on the license. A license is not transferable or assignable.
79.29	Subd. 2. Change of ownership. If the commissioner determines that there will be a
79.30	change of ownership, the commissioner shall require submission of a new license application
79 31	A change of ownership occurs when:

80.1	(1) the license holder sells or transfers 100 percent of the property, stock, or assets;
80.2	(2) the license holder merges with another organization;
80.3	(3) the license holder consolidates with two or more organizations, resulting in the
80.4	creation of a new organization;
80.5	(4) there is a change in the federal tax identification number associated with the license
80.6	holder; or
80.7	(5) there is a turnover of each controlling individual associated with the license within
80.8	a 12-month period. A change to the license holder's controlling individuals, including a
80.9	change due to a transfer of stock, is not a change of ownership if at least one controlling
80.10	individual who was listed on the license for at least 12 consecutive months continues to be
80.11	a controlling individual after the reported change.
80.12	Subd. 3. Change of ownership requirements. (a) A license holder who intends to
80.13	change the ownership of the program or service under subdivision 2 to a party that intends
80.14	to assume operation without an interruption in service longer than 60 days after acquiring
80.15	the program or service must provide the commissioner with written notice of the proposed
80.16	sale or change, on a form provided by the commissioner, at least 60 days before the
80.17	anticipated date of the change in ownership. For purposes of this subdivision and subdivision
80.18	4, "party" means the party that intends to operate the service or program.
80.19	(b) The party must submit a license application under this chapter on a form and in the
80.20	manner prescribed by the commissioner at least 30 days before the change of ownership is
80.21	complete and must include documentation to support the upcoming change. The form and
80.22	manner of the application prescribed by the commissioner shall require only information
80.23	which is specifically required by statute or rule. The party must comply with background
80.24	study requirements under chapter 245C and shall pay the application fee required in section
80.25	245A.10. A party that intends to assume operation without an interruption in service longer
80.26	than 60 days after acquiring the program or service is exempt from the requirements of
80.27	Minnesota Rules, part 9530.6800.
80.28	(c) The commissioner may develop streamlined application procedures when the party
80.29	is an existing license holder under this chapter and is acquiring a program licensed under
80.30	this chapter or service in the same service class as one or more licensed programs or services
80.31	the party operates and those licenses are in substantial compliance according to the licensing
80.32	standards in this chapter and applicable rules. For purposes of this subdivision, "substantial
80.33	compliance" means within the past 12 months the commissioner did not: (i) issue a sanction

under section 245A.07 against a license held by the party or (ii) make a license held by the 81.1 party conditional according to section 245A.06. 81.2 81.3 (d) Except when a temporary change of ownership license is issued pursuant to subdivision 4, the existing license holder is solely responsible for operating the program 81.4 81.5 according to applicable rules and statutes until a license under this chapter is issued to the 81.6 party. (e) If a licensing inspection of the program or service was conducted within the previous 81.7 12 months and the existing license holder's license record demonstrates substantial 81.8 compliance with the applicable licensing requirements, the commissioner may waive the 81.9 81.10 party's inspection required by section 245A.04, subdivision 4. The party must submit to the commissioner proof that the premises was inspected by a fire marshal or that the fire marshal 81.11 deemed that an inspection was not warranted and proof that the premises was inspected for 81.12 compliance with the building code or that no inspection was deemed warranted. 81.13 (f) If the party is seeking a license for a program or service that has an outstanding 81.14 correction order, the party must submit a letter with the license application identifying how 81.15 and within what length of time the party shall resolve the outstanding correction order and 81.16 come into full compliance with the licensing requirements. 81.17 (g) Any action taken under section 245A.06 or 245A.07 against the existing license 81.18 holder's license at the time the party is applying for a license, including when the existing 81.19 81.20 license holder is operating under a conditional license or is subject to a revocation, shall remain in effect until the commissioner determines that the grounds for the action are 81.21 corrected or no longer exist. 81.22 81.23 (h) The commissioner shall evaluate the application of the party according to section 245A.04, subdivision 6. Pursuant to section 245A.04, subdivision 7, if the commissioner 81.24 determines that the party complies with applicable laws and rules, the commissioner may 81.25 issue a license or a temporary change of ownership license. 81.26 (i) The commissioner may deny an application as provided in section 245A.05. An 81.27 applicant whose application was denied by the commissioner may appeal the denial according 81.28 to section 245A.05. 81.29 81.30 (j) This subdivision does not apply to a licensed program or service located in a home where the license holder resides. 81.31 Subd. 4. **Temporary change of ownership license.** (a) After receiving the party's

81.32

81.33

application and upon the written request of the existing license holder and the party, the

commissioner may issue a temporary change of ownership license to the party while the commissioner evaluates the party's application. Until a decision is made to grant or deny a license under this chapter, the existing license holder and the party shall both be responsible for operating the program or service according to applicable laws and rules, and the sale or transfer of the license holder's ownership interest in the licensed program or service does not terminate the existing license. (b) The commissioner may establish criteria to issue a temporary change of ownership license, if a license holder's death, divorce, or other event affects the ownership of the program, when an applicant seeks to assume operation of the program or service to ensure continuity of the program or service while a license application is evaluated. This subdivision applies to any program or service licensed under this chapter. **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2018. Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 245C.22, subdivision 4, is amended to read: Subd. 4. **Risk of harm; set aside.** (a) The commissioner may set aside the disqualification if the commissioner finds that the individual has submitted sufficient information to demonstrate that the individual does not pose a risk of harm to any person served by the applicant, license holder, or other entities as provided in this chapter. (b) In determining whether the individual has met the burden of proof by demonstrating the individual does not pose a risk of harm, the commissioner shall consider: (1) the nature, severity, and consequences of the event or events that led to the disqualification; (2) whether there is more than one disqualifying event; (3) the age and vulnerability of the victim at the time of the event; (4) the harm suffered by the victim; (5) vulnerability of persons served by the program; (6) the similarity between the victim and persons served by the program; (7) the time elapsed without a repeat of the same or similar event; (8) documentation of successful completion by the individual studied of training or rehabilitation pertinent to the event; and

82.1

82.2

82.3

82.4

82.5

82.6

82.7

82.8

82.9

82.10

82.11

82.12

82.13

82.14

82.15

82.16

82.17

82.18

82.19

82.20

82.21

82.22

82.23

82.24

82.25

82.26

82.27

82.28

82.29

82.30

(9) any other information relevant to reconsideration.

83.1	(c) If the individual requested reconsideration on the basis that the information relied
83.2	upon to disqualify the individual was incorrect or inaccurate and the commissioner determines
83.3	that the information relied upon to disqualify the individual is correct, the commissioner
83.4	must also determine if the individual poses a risk of harm to persons receiving services in
83.5	accordance with paragraph (b).
83.6	(d) For an individual in the chemical dependency field, the commissioner must set aside
83.7	the disqualification if the following criteria are met:
83.8	(1) the individual submits sufficient documentation to demonstrate that the individual
83.9	is a nonviolent controlled substance offender under section 244.0513, subdivision 2, clauses
83.10	(1), (2), and (6);
83.11	(2) the individual is disqualified exclusively for one or more offenses listed under section
83.12	152.021, subdivision 2 or 2a; 152.022, subdivision 2; 152.023, subdivision 2; 152.024; or
83.13	<u>152.025;</u>
83.14	(3) the individual provided documentation of successful completion of treatment, at least
83.15	one year prior to the date of the request for reconsideration, at a program licensed under
83.16	chapter 245G;
83.17	(4) the individual provided documentation demonstrating abstinence from controlled
83.18	substances, as defined in section 152.01, subdivision 4, for the period one year prior to the
83.19	date of the request for reconsideration; and
83.20	(5) the individual is seeking employment in the chemical dependency field.
83.21	Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 245C.22, subdivision 5, is amended
83.22	to read:
83.23	Subd. 5. Scope of set-aside. (a) If the commissioner sets aside a disqualification under
83.24	this section, the disqualified individual remains disqualified, but may hold a license and
83.25	have direct contact with or access to persons receiving services. Except as provided in
83.26	paragraph (b), the commissioner's set-aside of a disqualification is limited solely to the
83.27	licensed program, applicant, or agency specified in the set aside notice under section 245C.23.
83.28	For personal care provider organizations, the commissioner's set-aside may further be limited
83.29	to a specific individual who is receiving services. For new background studies required
83.30	under section 245C.04, subdivision 1, paragraph (h), if an individual's disqualification was
83.31	previously set aside for the license holder's program and the new background study results
83.32	in no new information that indicates the individual may pose a risk of harm to persons
83.33	receiving services from the license holder, the previous set-aside shall remain in effect.

(b) If the commissioner has previously set aside an individual's disqualification for one
or more programs or agencies, and the individual is the subject of a subsequent background
study for a different program or agency, the commissioner shall determine whether the
disqualification is set aside for the program or agency that initiated the subsequent
background study. A notice of a set-aside under paragraph (c) shall be issued within 15
working days if all of the following criteria are met:

- (1) the subsequent background study was initiated in connection with a program licensed or regulated under the same provisions of law and rule for at least one program for which the individual's disqualification was previously set aside by the commissioner;
- (2) the individual is not disqualified for an offense specified in section 245C.15, subdivision 1 or 2;
- (3) the individual is not disqualified for an offense specified in section 245C.15, subdivision 2, unless the individual is employed in the chemical dependency field;
- 84.14 (4) the commissioner has received no new information to indicate that the individual 84.15 may pose a risk of harm to any person served by the program; and
 - (4) (5) the previous set-aside was not limited to a specific person receiving services.
 - (c) When a disqualification is set aside under paragraph (b), the notice of background study results issued under section 245C.17, in addition to the requirements under section 245C.17, shall state that the disqualification is set aside for the program or agency that initiated the subsequent background study. The notice must inform the individual that the individual may request reconsideration of the disqualification under section 245C.21 on the basis that the information used to disqualify the individual is incorrect.
- Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 245G.03, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- Subdivision 1. **License requirements.** (a) An applicant for a license to provide substance use disorder treatment must comply with the general requirements in chapters 245A and 245C, sections 626.556 and 626.557, and Minnesota Rules, chapter 9544.
 - (b) The assessment of need process under Minnesota Rules, parts 9530.6800 and 9530.6810, is not applicable to programs licensed under this chapter. However, the commissioner may deny issuance of a license to an applicant if the commissioner determines that the services currently available in the local area are sufficient to meet local need and the addition of new services would be detrimental to individuals seeking these services.

84.1

84.2

84.3

84.4

84 5

84.6

84.7

84.8

84.9

84.10

84.11

84.12

84.13

84.16

84.17

84.18

84.19

84.20

84.21

84.22

84.28

84.29

84.30

84.31

04/17/18 REVISOR ACF/IL A18-0776

(c) The commissioner may grant variances to the requirements in this chapter that do not affect the client's health or safety if the conditions in section 245A.04, subdivision 9, are met.

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 254B.02, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. **Chemical dependency treatment allocation.** The chemical dependency treatment appropriation shall be placed in a special revenue account. The commissioner shall annually transfer funds from the chemical dependency fund to pay for operation of the drug and alcohol abuse normative evaluation system and to pay for all costs incurred by adding two positions for licensing of chemical dependency treatment and rehabilitation programs located in hospitals for which funds are not otherwise appropriated. The remainder of the money in the special revenue account must be used according to the requirements in this chapter.

Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 254B.03, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Chemical dependency fund payment. (a) Payment from the chemical dependency fund is limited to payments for services other than detoxification licensed under Minnesota Rules, parts 9530.6510 to 9530.6590, that, if located outside of federally recognized tribal lands, would be required to be licensed by the commissioner as a chemical dependency treatment or rehabilitation program under sections 245A.01 to 245A.16, and services other than detoxification provided in another state that would be required to be licensed as a chemical dependency program if the program were in the state. Out of state vendors must also provide the commissioner with assurances that the program complies substantially with state licensing requirements and possesses all licenses and certifications required by the host state to provide chemical dependency treatment. Vendors receiving payments from the chemical dependency fund must not require co-payment from a recipient of benefits for services provided under this subdivision. The vendor is prohibited from using the client's public benefits to offset the cost of services paid under this section. The vendor shall not require the client to use public benefits for room or board costs. This includes but is not limited to cash assistance benefits under chapters 119B, 256D, and 256J, or SNAP benefits. Retention of SNAP benefits is a right of a client receiving services through the consolidated chemical dependency treatment fund or through state contracted managed care entities. Payment from the chemical dependency fund shall be made for necessary room and board costs provided by vendors certified according to section 254B.05, or in a

85.1

85.2

85.3

85.4

85.5

85.6

85.7

85.8

85.9

85.10

85.11

85.12

85.13

85.14

85.15

85.16

85.17

85.18

85.19

85.20

85.21

85.22

85.23

85.24

85.25

85.26

85.27

85.28

85.29

85.30

85.31

85.32

community hospital licensed by the commissioner of health according to sections 144.50 to 144.56 to a client who is:

- (1) determined to meet the criteria for placement in a residential chemical dependency treatment program according to rules adopted under section 254A.03, subdivision 3; and
- (2) concurrently receiving a chemical dependency treatment service in a program licensed by the commissioner and reimbursed by the chemical dependency fund.
- (b) A county may, from its own resources, provide chemical dependency services for which state payments are not made. A county may elect to use the same invoice procedures and obtain the same state payment services as are used for chemical dependency services for which state payments are made under this section if county payments are made to the state in advance of state payments to vendors. When a county uses the state system for payment, the commissioner shall make monthly billings to the county using the most recent available information to determine the anticipated services for which payments will be made in the coming month. Adjustment of any overestimate or underestimate based on actual expenditures shall be made by the state agency by adjusting the estimate for any succeeding month.
- (c) The commissioner shall coordinate chemical dependency services and determine whether there is a need for any proposed expansion of chemical dependency treatment services. The commissioner shall deny vendor certification to any provider that has not received prior approval from the commissioner for the creation of new programs or the expansion of existing program capacity. The commissioner shall consider the provider's capacity to obtain clients from outside the state based on plans, agreements, and previous utilization history, when determining the need for new treatment services The commissioner may deny vendor certification to a provider if the commissioner determines that the services currently available in the local area are sufficient to meet local need and that the addition of new services would be detrimental to individuals seeking these services.
- Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 256B.0625, subdivision 56a, is amended to read:
- 86.29 Subd. 56a. Post-arrest Officer-involved community-based service care coordination.
- 86.30 (a) Medical assistance covers post-arrest officer-involved community-based service care coordination for an individual who:
- 86.32 (1) has been identified as having screened positive for benefiting from treatment for a
 mental illness or substance use disorder using a screening tool approved by the commissioner;

86.1

86.2

86.3

86.4

86.5

86.6

86.7

86.8

86.9

86.10

86.11

86.12

86.13

86.14

86.15

86.16

86.17

86.18

86.19

86.20

86.21

86.22

86.23

86.24

86.25

86.26

86.27

- (2) does not require the security of a public detention facility and is not considered an inmate of a public institution as defined in Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, section 435.1010;
 - (3) meets the eligibility requirements in section 256B.056; and

87.1

87.2

87.3

87.4

87.5

87.6

87.7

87.8

87.9

87.10

87.11

87.12

87.13

87.14

87.15

87.16

87.17

87.20

- (4) has agreed to participate in post-arrest officer-involved community-based service care coordination through a diversion contract in lieu of incarceration.
 - (b) Post-arrest Officer-involved community-based service care coordination means navigating services to address a client's mental health, chemical health, social, economic, and housing needs, or any other activity targeted at reducing the incidence of jail utilization and connecting individuals with existing covered services available to them, including, but not limited to, targeted case management, waiver case management, or care coordination.
 - (c) Post-arrest Officer-involved community-based service care coordination must be provided by an individual who is an employee of a county or is under contract with a county or is an employee of or under contract with an Indian health service facility or facility owned and operated by a tribe or a tribal organization operating under Public Law 93-638 as a 638 facility to provide post-arrest officer-involved community-based care coordination and is qualified under one of the following criteria:
- (1) a licensed mental health professional as defined in section 245.462, subdivision 18, clauses (1) to (6);
 - (2) a mental health practitioner as defined in section 245.462, subdivision 17, working under the clinical supervision of a mental health professional; or
- (3) a certified peer specialist under section 256B.0615, working under the clinical supervision of a mental health professional;
- 87.24 (4) an individual qualified as an alcohol and drug counselor under section 254G.11, 87.25 subdivision 5; or
- (5) a recovery peer qualified under section 245G.11, subdivision 8, working under the
 supervision of an individual qualified as an alcohol and drug counselor under section
 245G.11, subdivision 5.
- (d) Reimbursement is allowed for up to 60 days following the initial determination of eligibility.
- 87.31 (e) Providers of post-arrest officer-involved community-based service care coordination 87.32 shall annually report to the commissioner on the number of individuals served, and number

04/17/18	REVISOR	ACF/IL	A18-0776

of the community-based services that were accessed by recipients. The commissioner shall 88.1 ensure that services and payments provided under post-arrest officer-involved 88.2 community-based service care coordination do not duplicate services or payments provided 88.3 under section 256B.0625, subdivision 20, 256B.0753, 256B.0755, or 256B.0757. 88.4 (f) Notwithstanding section 256B.19, subdivision 1, the nonfederal share of cost for 88.5 post-arrest community-based service coordination services shall be provided by the county 88.6 providing the services, from sources other than federal funds or funds used to match other 88.7 federal funds. 88.8 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** Paragraphs (a) to (e) are effective retroactively from March 1, 88.9 88.10 2018. Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 641.15, subdivision 3a, is amended to read: 88.11 Subd. 3a. Intake procedure; approved mental health screening. As part of its intake 88.12 procedure for new prisoners inmates, the sheriff or local corrections shall use a mental health 88.13 screening tool approved by the commissioner of corrections in consultation with the 88.14 commissioner of human services and local corrections staff to identify persons who may 88.15 88.16 have mental illness. Names of persons who have screened positive or may have a mental illness may be shared with the local county social services agency. The jail may refer an 88.17 offender to county personnel of the welfare system, as defined in section 13.46, subdivision 88.18 1, paragraph (c), in order to arrange for services upon discharge and may share private data 88.19 88.20 as necessary to carry out the following: (1) providing assistance in filling out an application for medical assistance or 88.21 MinnesotaCare; 88.22 (2) making a referral for case management as outlined under section 245.467, subdivision 88.23 4; 88.24 (3) providing assistance in obtaining a state photo identification; 88.25 (4) securing a timely appointment with a psychiatrist or other appropriate community 88.26 mental health provider; 88.27 (5) providing prescriptions for a 30-day supply of all necessary medications; or 88.28

88.29

(6) behavioral health service coordination.

04/17/18	REVISOR	ACF/IL	A18-0776
J 4 /1//10	KE VISOK	ACr/IL	A10-U//U

Sec. 12. Laws 2017, First Special Session chapter 6, article 8, section 71, the effective 89.1 date, is amended to read: 89.2 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective for services provided on July 1, 2017, 89.3 through April 30, 2019, and expires May 1, 2019 June 30, 2019, and expires July 1, 2019. 89.4 Sec. 13. Laws 2017, First Special Session chapter 6, article 8, section 72, the effective 89.5 date, is amended to read: 89.6 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective for services provided on July 1, 2017, 89.7 through April 30, 2019, and expires May 1, 2019 June 30, 2019, and expires July 1, 2019. 89.8 Sec. 14. Laws 2017, First Special Session chapter 6, article 8, section 74, is amended to 89.9 89.10 read: Sec. 74. CHILDREN'S MENTAL HEALTH REPORT AND 89.11 RECOMMENDATIONS. 89.12 The commissioner of human services shall conduct a comprehensive analysis of 89.13 Minnesota's continuum of intensive mental health services and shall develop 89.14 recommendations for a sustainable and community-driven continuum of care for children 89.15 with serious mental health needs, including children currently being served in residential 89.16 treatment. The commissioner's analysis shall include, but not be limited to: 89.17 (1) data related to access, utilization, efficacy, and outcomes for Minnesota's current 89.18 system of residential mental health treatment for a child with a severe emotional disturbance; 89.19 (2) potential expansion of the state's psychiatric residential treatment facility (PRTF) 89.20 capacity, including increasing the number of PRTF beds and conversion of existing children's 89.21 mental health residential treatment programs into PRTFs; 89.22 (3) the capacity need for PRTF and other group settings within the state if adequate 89.23 community-based alternatives are accessible, equitable, and effective statewide; 89.24 (4) recommendations for expanding alternative community-based service models to 89.25 meet the needs of a child with a serious mental health disorder who would otherwise require 89.26 residential treatment and potential service models that could be utilized, including data 89.27 related to access, utilization, efficacy, and outcomes; 89.28 (5) models of care used in other states; and 89.29 (6) analysis and specific recommendations for the design and implementation of new 89.30 service models, including analysis to inform rate setting as necessary. 89.31

The analysis shall be supported and informed by extensive stakeholder engagement. 90.1 Stakeholders include individuals who receive services, family members of individuals who 90.2 receive services, providers, counties, health plans, advocates, and others. Stakeholder 90.3 engagement shall include interviews with key stakeholders, intentional outreach to individuals 90.4 who receive services and the individual's family members, and regional listening sessions. 90.5 The commissioner shall provide a report with specific recommendations and timelines 90.6 for implementation to the legislative committees with jurisdiction over children's mental 90.7 90.8 health policy and finance by November 15, 2018 January 15, 2019. **ARTICLE 4** 90.9 OPIOIDS AND PRESCRIPTION DRUGS 90.10 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 151.214, subdivision 2, is amended to read: 90.11 Subd. 2. **No prohibition on disclosure.** No contracting agreement between an 90.12 employer-sponsored health plan or health plan company, or its contracted pharmacy benefit 90.13 manager, and a resident or nonresident pharmacy registered licensed under this chapter, 90.14 may prohibit the: 90.15 (1) a pharmacy from disclosing to patients information a pharmacy is required or given 90.16 the option to provide under subdivision 1; or 90.17 90.18 (2) a pharmacist from informing a patient when the amount the patient is required to pay under the patient's health plan for a particular drug is greater than the amount the patient 90.19 would be required to pay for the same drug if purchased out-of-pocket at the pharmacy's 90.20 usual and customary price. 90.21 90.22 Sec. 2. [151.555] PRESCRIPTION DRUG REPOSITORY PROGRAM. Subdivision 1. **Definitions.** (a) For the purposes of this section, the terms defined in this 90.23 subdivision have the meanings given. 90.24 (b) "Central repository" means a wholesale distributor that meets the requirements under 90.25 subdivision 3 and enters into a contract with the Board of Pharmacy in accordance with this 90.26 section. 90.27 (c) "Distribute" means to deliver, other than by administering or dispensing. 90.28 (d) "Donor" means: 90.29 (1) a health care facility as defined in this subdivision; 90.30 (2) a skilled nursing facility licensed under chapter 144A; 90.31

91.1	(3) an assisted living facility registered under chapter 144D where there is centralized
91.2	storage of drugs and 24-hour on-site licensed nursing coverage provided seven days a week;
91.3	(4) a pharmacy licensed under section 151.19, and located either in the state or outside
91.4	the state;
91.5	(5) a drug wholesaler licensed under section 151.47; or
91.6	(6) a drug manufacturer licensed under section 151.252.
91.7	(e) "Drug" means any prescription drug that has been approved for medical use in the
91.8	United States, is listed in the United States Pharmacopoeia or National Formulary, and
91.9	meets the criteria established under this section for donation. This definition includes cancer
91.10	drugs and antirejection drugs, but does not include controlled substances, as defined in
91.11	section 152.01, subdivision 4, or a prescription drug that can only be dispensed to a patient
91.12	registered with the drug's manufacturer in accordance with federal Food and Drug
91.13	Administration requirements.
91.14	(f) "Health care facility" means:
91.15	(1) a physician's office or health care clinic where licensed practitioners provide health
91.16	care to patients;
91.17	(2) a hospital licensed under section 144.50;
91.18	(3) a pharmacy licensed under section 151.19 and located in Minnesota; or
91.19	(4) a nonprofit community clinic, including a federally qualified health center; a rural
91.20	health clinic; public health clinic; or other community clinic that provides health care utilizing
91.21	a sliding fee scale to patients who are low-income, uninsured, or underinsured.
91.22	(g) "Local repository" means a health care facility that elects to accept donated drugs
91.23	and medical supplies and meets the requirements of subdivision 4.
91.24	(h) "Medical supplies" or "supplies" means any prescription and nonprescription medical
91.25	supply needed to administer a prescription drug.
91.26	(i) "Original, sealed, unopened, tamper-evident packaging" means packaging that is
91.27	sealed, unopened, and tamper-evident, including a manufacturer's original unit dose or
91.28	unit-of-use container, a repackager's original unit dose or unit-of-use container, or unit-dose
91.29	packaging prepared by a licensed pharmacy according to the standards of Minnesota Rules,
91.30	part 6800.3750.
91.31	(j) "Practitioner" has the meaning given in section 151.01, subdivision 23, except that
91.32	it does not include a veterinarian.

92.1	Subd. 2. Establishment. By January 1, 2019, the Board of Pharmacy shall establish a
92.2	drug repository program, through which donors may donate a drug or medical supply for
92.3	use by an individual who meets the eligibility criteria specified under subdivision 5. The
92.4	board shall contract with a central repository that meets the requirements of subdivision 3
92.5	to implement and administer the prescription drug repository program.
92.6	Subd. 3. Central repository requirements. (a) The board shall publish a request for
92.7	proposal for participants who meet the requirements of this subdivision and are interested
92.8	in acting as the central repository for the drug repository program. The board shall follow
92.9	all applicable state procurement procedures in the selection process.
92.10	(b) To be eligible to act as the central repository, the participant must be a wholesale
92.11	<u>drug distributor located in Minnesota, licensed pursuant to section 151.47, and in compliance</u>
92.12	with all applicable federal and state statutes, rules, and regulations.
92.13	(c) The central repository shall be subject to inspection by the board pursuant to section
92.14	<u>151.06</u> , subdivision 1.
92.15	Subd. 4. Local repository requirements. (a) To be eligible for participation in the drug
92.16	repository program, a health care facility must agree to comply with all applicable federal
92.17	and state laws, rules, and regulations pertaining to the drug repository program, drug storage,
92.18	and dispensing. The facility must also agree to maintain in good standing any required state
92.19	license or registration that may apply to the facility.
92.20	(b) A local repository may elect to participate in the program by submitting the following
92.21	<u>information</u> to the central repository on a form developed by the board and made available
92.22	on the board's Web site:
92.23	(1) the name, street address, and telephone number of the health care facility and any
92.24	state-issued license or registration number issued to the facility, including the issuing state
92.25	agency;
92.26	(2) the name and telephone number of a responsible pharmacist or practitioner who is
92.27	employed by or under contract with the health care facility; and
92.28	(3) a statement signed and dated by the responsible pharmacist or practitioner indicating
92.29	that the health care facility meets the eligibility requirements under this section and agrees
92.30	to comply with this section.
92.31	(c) Participation in the drug repository program is voluntary. A local repository may
92.32	withdraw from participation in the drug repository program at any time by providing written
92.33	notice to the central repository on a form developed by the board and made available on

93.1	the board's Web site. The central repository shall provide the board with a copy of the
93.2	withdrawal notice within ten business days from the date of receipt of the withdrawal notice
93.3	Subd. 5. Individual eligibility and application requirements. (a) To be eligible for
93.4	the drug repository program, an individual must submit to a local repository an intake
93.5	application form that is signed by the individual and attests that the individual:
93.6	(1) is a resident of Minnesota;
93.7	(2) is uninsured or has no prescription drug coverage;
93.8	(3) acknowledges that the drugs or medical supplies to be received through the program
93.9	may have been donated; and
93.10	(4) consents to a waiver of the child-resistant packaging requirements of the federal
93.11	Poison Prevention Packaging Act.
93.12	(b) Upon determining that an individual is eligible for the program, the local repository
93.13	shall furnish the individual with an identification card. The card shall be valid for one year
93.14	from the date of issuance and may be used at any local repository. A new identification card
93.15	may be issued upon expiration once the individual submits a new application form.
93.16	(c) The local repository shall send a copy of the intake application form to the central
93.17	repository by regular mail, facsimile, or secured e-mail within ten days from the date the
93.18	application is approved by the local repository.
93.19	(d) The board shall develop and make available on the board's Web site an application
93.20	form and the format for the identification card.
93.21	Subd. 6. Standards and procedures for accepting donations of drugs and supplies
93.22	(a) A donor may donate prescription drugs or medical supplies to the central repository or
93.23	a local repository if the drug or supply meets the requirements of this section as determined
93.24	by a pharmacist or practitioner who is employed by or under contract with the central
93.25	repository or a local repository.
93.26	(b) A prescription drug is eligible for donation under the drug repository program if the
93.27	following requirements are met:
93.28	(1) the donation is accompanied by a drug repository donor form described under
93.29	paragraph (d) that is signed by an individual who is authorized by the donor to attest to the
93.30	donor's knowledge in accordance with paragraph (d);
93.31	(2) the drug's expiration date is at least six months after the date the drug was donated.
93.32	If a donated drug bears an expiration date that is less than six months from the donation

94.1	date, the drug may be accepted and distributed if the drug is in high demand and can be
94.2	dispensed for use by a patient before the drug's expiration date;
94.3	(3) the drug is in its original, sealed, unopened, tamper-evident packaging that includes
94.4	the expiration date. Single-unit-dose drugs may be accepted if the single-unit-dose packaging
94.5	is unopened;
94.6	(4) the drug or the packaging does not have any physical signs of tampering, misbranding
94.7	deterioration, compromised integrity, or adulteration;
94.8	(5) the drug does not require storage temperatures other than normal room temperature
94.9	as specified by the manufacturer or United States Pharmacopoeia, unless the drug is being
94.10	donated directly by its manufacturer, a wholesale drug distributor, or a pharmacy located
94.11	in Minnesota; and
94.12	(6) the prescription drug is not a controlled substance.
94.13	(c) A medical supply is eligible for donation under the drug repository program if the
94.14	following requirements are met:
94.15	(1) the supply has no physical signs of tampering, misbranding, or alteration and there
94.16	is no reason to believe it has been adulterated, tampered with, or misbranded;
94.17	(2) the supply is in its original, unopened, sealed packaging;
94.18	(3) the donation is accompanied by a drug repository donor form described under
94.19	paragraph (d) that is signed by an individual who is authorized by the donor to attest to the
94.20	donor's knowledge in accordance with paragraph (d); and
94.21	(4) if the supply bears an expiration date, the date is at least six months later than the
94.22	date the supply was donated. If the donated supply bears an expiration date that is less than
94.23	six months from the date the supply was donated, the supply may be accepted and distributed
94.24	if the supply is in high demand and can be dispensed for use by a patient before the supply's
94.25	expiration date.
94.26	(d) The board shall develop the drug repository donor form and make it available on the
94.27	board's Web site. The form must state that to the best of the donor's knowledge the donated
94.28	drug or supply has been properly stored and that the drug or supply has never been opened
94.29	used, tampered with, adulterated, or misbranded.
94.30	(e) Donated drugs and supplies may be shipped or delivered to the premises of the central
94.31	repository or a local repository, and shall be inspected by a pharmacist or an authorized
94.32	practitioner who is employed by or under contract with the repository and who has been

designated by the repository to accept donations. A drop box must not be used to deliver or accept donations.

(f) The central repository and local repository shall inventory all drugs and supplies donated to the repository. For each drug, the inventory must include the drug's name, strength, quantity, manufacturer, expiration date, and the date the drug was donated. For each medical supply, the inventory must include a description of the supply, its manufacturer, the date the supply was donated, and, if applicable, the supply's brand name and expiration date.

Subd. 7. Standards and procedures for inspecting and storing donated prescription drugs and supplies. (a) A pharmacist or authorized practitioner who is employed by or under contract with the central repository or a local repository shall inspect all donated prescription drugs and supplies to determine, to the extent reasonably possible in the professional judgment of the pharmacist or practitioner, that the drug or supply is not adulterated or misbranded, has not been tampered with, is safe and suitable for dispensing, and meets the requirements for donation. The pharmacist or practitioner who inspects the drugs or supplies shall sign an inspection record stating that the requirements for donation have been met. If a local repository receives drugs and supplies from the central repository, the local repository does not need to reinspect the drugs and supplies.

- (b) The central repository and local repositories shall store donated drugs and supplies in a secure storage area under environmental conditions appropriate for the drug or supply being stored. Donated drugs and supplies may not be stored with nondonated inventory. If donated drugs or supplies are not inspected immediately upon receipt, a repository must quarantine the donated drugs or supplies separately from all dispensing stock until the donated drugs or supplies have been inspected and approved for dispensing under the program.
- (c) The central repository and local repositories shall dispose of all prescription drugs and medical supplies that are not suitable for donation in compliance with applicable federal and state statutes, regulations, and rules concerning hazardous waste.
- (d) In the event that controlled substances or prescription drugs that can only be dispensed to a patient registered with the drug's manufacturer are shipped or delivered to a central or local repository for donation, the shipment delivery must be documented by the repository and returned immediately to the donor or the donor's representative that provided the drugs.
- (e) Each repository must develop drug and medical supply recall policies and procedures.

 If a repository receives a recall notification, the repository shall destroy all of the drug or medical supply in its inventory that is the subject of the recall and complete a record of

95.1

95.2

95.3

95.4

95.5

95.6

95.7

95.8

95.9

95.10

95.11

95.12

95.13

95.14

95.15

95.16

95.17

95.18

95.19

95.20

95.21

95.22

95.23

95.24

95.25

95.26

95.27

95.28

95.29

95.30

95.31

95.32

95.33

destruction form in accordance with paragraph (f). If a drug or medical supply that is the 96.1 subject of a Class I or Class II recall has been dispensed, the repository shall immediately 96.2 96.3 notify the recipient of the recalled drug or medical supply. A drug that potentially is subject to a recall need not be destroyed if its packaging bears a lot number and that lot of the drug 96.4 is not subject to the recall. If no lot number is on the drug's packaging, it must be destroyed. 96.5 96.6 (f) A record of destruction of donated drugs and supplies that are not dispensed under subdivision 8, are subject to a recall under paragraph (e), or are not suitable for donation 96.7 96.8 shall be maintained by the repository for at least five years. For each drug or supply destroyed, the record shall include the following information: 96.9 96.10 (1) the date of destruction; (2) the name, strength, and quantity of the drug destroyed; and 96.11 96.12 (3) the name of the person or firm that destroyed the drug. Subd. 8. **Dispensing requirements.** (a) Donated drugs and supplies may be dispensed 96.13 if the drugs or supplies are prescribed by a practitioner for use by an eligible individual and 96.14 are dispensed by a pharmacist or practitioner. A repository shall dispense donated prescription 96.15 drugs in compliance with applicable federal and state laws and regulations for dispensing 96.16 prescription drugs, including all requirements relating to packaging, labeling, record keeping, 96.17 drug utilization review, and patient counseling. 96.18 (b) Before dispensing or administering a drug or supply, the pharmacist or practitioner 96.19 shall visually inspect the drug or supply for adulteration, misbranding, tampering, and date 96.20 of expiration. Drugs or supplies that have expired or appear upon visual inspection to be 96.21 adulterated, misbranded, or tampered with in any way must not be dispensed or administered. 96.22 (c) Before a drug or supply is dispensed or administered to an individual, the individual 96.23 96.24 must sign a drug repository recipient form acknowledging that the individual understands the information stated on the form. The board shall develop the form and make it available 96.25 on the board's Web site. The form must include the following information: 96.26 96.27 (1) that the drug or supply being dispensed or administered has been donated and may have been previously dispensed; 96.28 96.29 (2) that a visual inspection has been conducted by the pharmacist or practitioner to ensure that the drug or supply has not expired, has not been adulterated or misbranded, and is in 96.30 its original, unopened packaging; and 96.31 (3) that the dispensing pharmacist, the dispensing or administering practitioner, the 96.32 central repository or local repository, the Board of Pharmacy, and any other participant of 96.33

97.1	the drug repository program cannot guarantee the safety of the drug or medical supply being
97.2	dispensed or administered and that the pharmacist or practitioner has determined that the
97.3	drug or supply is safe to dispense or administer based on the accuracy of the donor's form
97.4	submitted with the donated drug or medical supply and the visual inspection required to be
97.5	performed by the pharmacist or practitioner before dispensing or administering.
97.6	Subd. 9. Handling fees. (a) The central or local repository may charge the individual
97.7	receiving a drug or supply a handling fee of no more than 250 percent of the medical
97.8	assistance program dispensing fee for each drug or medical supply dispensed or administered
97.9	by that repository.
97.10	(b) A repository that dispenses or administers a drug or medical supply through the drug
97.11	repository program shall not receive reimbursement under the medical assistance program
97.12	or the MinnesotaCare program for that dispensed or administered drug or supply.
97.13	Subd. 10. Distribution of donated drugs and supplies. (a) The central repository and
97.14	local repositories may distribute drugs and supplies donated under the drug repository
97.15	program to other participating repositories for use pursuant to this program.
97.16	(b) A local repository that elects not to dispense donated drugs or supplies must transfer
97.17	all donated drugs and supplies to the central repository. A copy of the donor form that was
97.18	completed by the original donor under subdivision 6 must be provided to the central
97.19	repository at the time of transfer.
97.20	Subd. 11. Forms and record-keeping requirements. (a) The following forms developed
97.21	for the administration of this program shall be utilized by the participants of the program
97.22	and shall be available on the board's Web site:
97.23	(1) intake application form described under subdivision 5;
97.24	(2) local repository participation form described under subdivision 4;
97.25	(3) local repository withdrawal form described under subdivision 4;
97.26	(4) drug repository donor form described under subdivision 6;
97.27	(5) record of destruction form described under subdivision 7; and
97.28	(6) drug repository recipient form described under subdivision 8.
97.29	(b) All records, including drug inventory, inspection, and disposal of donated prescription
97.30	drugs and medical supplies must be maintained by a repository for a minimum of five years.
97.31	Records required as part of this program must be maintained pursuant to all applicable
97.32	practice acts.

8.1	(c) Data collected by the drug repository program from all local repositories shall be
8.2	submitted quarterly or upon request to the central repository. Data collected may consist of
8.3	the information, records, and forms required to be collected under this section.
8.4	(d) The central repository shall submit reports to the board as required by the contract
8.5	or upon request of the board.
8.6	Subd. 12. Liability. (a) The manufacturer of a drug or supply is not subject to criminal
8.7	or civil liability for injury, death, or loss to a person or to property for causes of action
8.8	described in clauses (1) and (2). A manufacturer is not liable for:
8.9	(1) the intentional or unintentional alteration of the drug or supply by a party not under
8.10	the control of the manufacturer; or
3.11	(2) the failure of a party not under the control of the manufacturer to transfer or
8.12	communicate product or consumer information or the expiration date of the donated drug
3.13	or supply.
3.14	(b) A health care facility participating in the program, a pharmacist dispensing a drug
.15	or supply pursuant to the program, a practitioner dispensing or administering a drug or
.16	supply pursuant to the program, or a donor of a drug or medical supply is immune from
17	civil liability for an act or omission that causes injury to or the death of an individual to
8	whom the drug or supply is dispensed and no disciplinary action by a health-related licensing
9	board shall be taken against a pharmacist or practitioner so long as the drug or supply is
	donated, accepted, distributed, and dispensed according to the requirements of this section.
	This immunity does not apply if the act or omission involves reckless, wanton, or intentional
2	misconduct, or malpractice unrelated to the quality of the drug or medical supply.
	Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 151.71, is amended by adding a subdivision to
4	read:
5	Subd. 3. Lowest cost to consumers. (a) A health plan company or pharmacy benefits
6	manager shall not require an individual to make a payment at the point of sale for a covered
	prescription medication in an amount greater than the allowable cost to consumers, as
	defined in paragraph (b).
	(b) For purposes of paragraph (a), "allowable cost to consumers" means the lowest of:
	(1) the applicable co-payment for the prescription medication; or (2) the amount an individual
	would pay for the prescription medication if the individual purchased the prescription
	medication without using a health plan benefit.

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 152.11, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

- Subd. 5. Limitations on the dispensing of opioid prescription drug orders. (a) No prescription drug order for an opioid drug listed in Schedule II may be dispensed by a pharmacist or other dispenser more than 30 days after the date on which the prescription drug order was issued.
- (b) No prescription drug order for an opioid drug listed in Schedules III through V may be initially dispensed by a pharmacist or other dispenser more than 30 days after the date on which the prescription drug order was issued. No prescription drug order for an opioid drug listed in Schedules III through V may be refilled by a pharmacist or other dispenser more than 30 days after the previous date on which it was dispensed.
- 99.12 (c) For purposes of this section, "dispenser" has the meaning given in section 152.126, subdivision 1.

Sec. 5. STUDENT HEALTH INITIATIVE TO LIMIT OPIOID HARM.

Subdivision 1. **Grant awards.** The commissioner of human services, in consultation with the commissioner of education, the Board of Trustees of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities, the Board of Directors of the Minnesota Private College Council, and the regents of the University of Minnesota, shall develop and administer a program to award grants to secondary school students in grades 7 through 12 and undergraduate students attending a Minnesota postsecondary educational institution, and their community partner or partners, to conduct opioid awareness and opioid abuse prevention activities. If a grant proposal includes more than one community partner, the proposal must designate a primary community partner. Grant applications must be submitted by the primary community partner and any grant award must be managed by the primary community partner on behalf of secondary school and undergraduate student applicants and grantees. Grants shall be awarded for a fiscal year and are onetime.

Subd. 2. **Grant criteria.** (a) Grant dollars may be used for opioid awareness campaigns and events, education related to opioid addiction and abuse prevention, initiatives to limit inappropriate opioid prescriptions, peer education programs targeted to students at high risk of opioid addiction and abuse, and other related initiatives as approved by the commissioner. Grant projects must include one or more of the following components as they relate to opioid abuse and prevention and the role of the community partner: high-risk populations, law enforcement, education, clinical services, or social services.

99.1

99.2

99.3

99.4

99.5

99.6

99.7

99.8

99.9

99.10

99.11

99.14

99.15

99.16

99.17

99.18

99.19

99.20

99.21

99.22

99.23

99.24

99.25

99.26

99.27

99.28

99.29

99.30

99.31

99.32

(b) The commissioner of human services shall seek to provide grant funding for at least 100.1 one proposal that addresses opioid abuse in the American Indian community. 100.2 100.3 Subd. 3. Community partners. For purposes of the grant program, community partners may include but are not limited to public health agencies; local law enforcement; community 100.4 100.5 health centers; medical clinics; emergency medical service professionals; schools and postsecondary educational institutions; opioid addiction, advocacy, and recovery 100.6 organizations; tribal governments; local chambers of commerce; and city councils and 100.7 100.8 county boards. Subd. 4. **Report.** The commissioner of human services shall report to the chairs and 100.9 100.10 ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over health and human services policy and finance, K-12 education policy and finance, and higher education 100.11 policy and finance by September 1, 2019, on the implementation of the grant program and 100.12 the grants awarded under this section. 100.13 100.14 Subd. 5. **Federal grants.** (a) The commissioner of human services shall apply for any federal grant funding that aligns with the purposes of this section. The commissioner shall 100.15 submit to the legislature any changes to the program established under this section that are 100.16 necessary to comply with the terms of the federal grant. 100.17 (b) The commissioner shall notify the chairs and ranking minority members of the 100.18 legislative committees with jurisdiction over health and human services policy and finance, 100.19 K-12 education policy and finance, and higher education policy and finance of any grant 100.20 applications submitted and any federal actions taken related to the grant applications. 100.21 Sec. 6. OPIOID OVERDOSE REDUCTION PILOT PROGRAM. 100.22 Subdivision 1. Establishment. The commissioner of health shall provide grants to 100.23 ambulance services to fund activities by community paramedic teams to reduce opioid 100.24 overdoses in the state. Under this pilot program, ambulance services shall develop and 100.25 implement projects in which community paramedics connect with patients who are discharged 100.26 100.27 from a hospital or emergency department following an opioid overdose episode, develop personalized care plans for those patients in consultation with the ambulance service medical 100.28 director, and provide follow-up services to those patients. 100.29 Subd. 2. **Priority areas; services.** (a) In a project developed under this section, an 100.30 ambulance service must target community paramedic team services to portions of the service 100.31 area with high levels of opioid use, high death rates from opioid overdoses, and urgent needs 100.32

100.33

for interventions.

04/17/18	REVISOR	ACF/IL	A18-0776

101.1	(b) In a project developed under this section, a community paramedic team shall:
101.2	(1) provide services to patients released from a hospital following an opioid overdose
101.3	episode and place priority on serving patients who were administered the opiate antagonist
101.4	naloxone hydrochloride by emergency medical services personnel in response to a 911 call
101.5	during the opioid overdose episode;
101.6	(2) provide the following evaluations during an initial home visit: a home safety
101.7	assessment including whether there is a need to dispose of prescription drugs that are expired
101.8	or no longer needed; medication reconciliation; an HIV risk assessment; instruction on the
101.9	use of naloxone hydrochloride; and a basic needs assessment;
101.10	(3) provide patients with health assessments, medication management, chronic disease
101.11	monitoring and education, and assistance in following hospital discharge orders; and
101.12	(4) work with a multidisciplinary team to address the overall physical and mental health
101.13	needs of patients and health needs related to substance use disorder treatment.
101.14	Subd. 3. Evaluation. An ambulance service that receives a grant under this section must
101.15	evaluate the extent to which the project was successful in reducing the number of opioid
101.16	overdoses and opioid overdose deaths among patients who received services and in reducing
101.17	the inappropriate use of opioids by patients who received services. The commissioner of
101.18	health shall develop specific evaluation measures and reporting timelines for ambulance
101.19	services receiving grants. Ambulance services must submit the information required by the
101.20	commissioner to the commissioner and the chairs and ranking minority members of the
101.21	legislative committees with jurisdiction over health and human services by December 1,
101.22	<u>2019.</u>
101.23	Sec. 7. REPEALER.
101.24	Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 151.55, is repealed.
101.25	ARTICLE 5
101.26	COMMUNITY SUPPORTS AND CONTINUING CARE
101.20	
101.27	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 252.41, subdivision 3, is amended
101.28	to read:
101.29	Subd. 3. Day training and habilitation services for adults with developmental
101.30	disabilities. (a) "Day training and habilitation services for adults with developmental
101.31	disabilities" means services that:

102.1	(1) include supervision, training, assistance, center-based work-related activities, or
102.2	other community-integrated activities designed and implemented in accordance with the
102.3	individual service and individual habilitation plans required under Minnesota Rules, parts
102.4	9525.0004 to 9525.0036, to help an adult reach and maintain the highest possible level of
102.5	independence, productivity, and integration into the community; and
102.6	(2) are provided by a vendor licensed under sections 245A.01 to 245A.16 and 252.28,
102.7	subdivision 2, to provide day training and habilitation services.
102.8	(b) Day training and habilitation services reimbursable under this section do not include
102.9	special education and related services as defined in the Education of the Individuals with
102.10	Disabilities Act, United States Code, title 20, chapter 33, section 1401, clauses (6) and (17),
102.11	or vocational services funded under section 110 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, United
102.12	States Code, title 29, section 720, as amended.
102.13	(c) Except for specified service units authorized and provided in the transition period
102.14	defined in section 256B.4913, subdivision 7, paragraph (b), day training and habilitation
102.15	services do not include employment exploration, employment development, or employment
102.16	support services as defined in the home and community-based services waivers for people
102.17	with disabilities authorized under sections 256B.092 and 256B.49.
102.18	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective retroactively from January 1, 2018.
102.19	Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256B.0625, is amended by adding a subdivision
102.20	to read:
102.21	Subd. 65. Prescribed pediatric extended care center services. Medical assistance
102.22	covers prescribed pediatric extended care center basic services as defined under section
102.23	144H.01, subdivision 2. The commissioner shall set two payment rates for basic services
102.24	provided at prescribed pediatric extended care centers licensed under chapter 144H: (1) a
102.25	\$250 half-day rate per child attending a prescribed pediatric extended care center for less
102.26	than four hours per day; and (2) a \$500 full-day rate per child attending a prescribed pediatric
102.27	extended care center for four hours or more per day. The rates established in this subdivision
102.28	may be reevaluated by the commissioner two years after the effective date of this subdivision.
102.29	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2019, or upon federal approval,
102.30	whichever occurs later. The commissioner of human services shall notify the revisor of

102.31 statutes when federal approval is obtained.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 256B.0921, is amended to read: 103.1

256B.0921 HOME AND COMMUNITY-BASED SERVICES INCE	NTIVE
--	-------

INNOVATION POOL. 103.3

103.2

103.20

103.24

103.32

- 103.4 The commissioner of human services shall develop an initiative to provide incentives 103.5 for innovation in: (1) achieving integrated competitive employment; (2) achieving integrated competitive employment for youth under age 25 upon their graduation from school; (3) 103.6 living in the most integrated setting; and (4) other outcomes determined by the commissioner. 103.7 The commissioner shall seek requests for proposals and shall contract with one or more 103.8 entities to provide incentive payments for meeting identified outcomes. 103.9
- Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 256B.4913, subdivision 7, is amended 103.10 103.11 to read:
- 103.12 Subd. 7. New services. (a) A service added to section 256B.4914 after January 1, 2014, is not subject to rate stabilization adjustment in this section.
- (b) The commissioner shall implement the new services in section 256B.4914, subdivision 103.14 3, clauses (23), (24), and (25). Transition to the new services shall occur as service 103.15 agreements renew or service plans change, except that service authorizations of daily units 103.16 of day training and habilitation services and prevocational services that have rates subject 103.17 to rate stabilization under this section as of July 1, 2018, shall transition service unit authorizations that fall under the new services in section 256B.4914, subdivision 3, clauses 103.19
- (c) Service authorizations that include the delayed transition under paragraph (b) shall 103.21 not also authorize and bill for the new services in section 256B.4914, subdivision 3, clauses (23), (24), and (25), on the same day that a daily unit or partial day unit of day training and 103.23 habilitation services or prevocational services is billed.

(23), (24), and (25), no later than June 30, 2019.

- **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2018, or upon federal approval, 103.25 whichever is later. The commissioner of human services shall notify the revisor of statutes 103.26 103.27 when federal approval is obtained.
- Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 256B.4914, subdivision 2, is amended 103.28 103.29 to read:
- Subd. 2. **Definitions.** (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have the 103.30 meanings given them, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise. 103.31
 - (b) "Commissioner" means the commissioner of human services.

- 104.1 (c) "Component value" means underlying factors that are part of the cost of providing
 104.2 services that are built into the waiver rates methodology to calculate service rates.
 - (d) "Customized living tool" means a methodology for setting service rates that delineates and documents the amount of each component service included in a recipient's customized living service plan.
- 104.6 (e) "Direct care staff" means employees providing direct service provision to people
 104.7 receiving services under this section. Direct care staff does not include executive, managerial,
 104.8 and administrative staff.
- 104.9 (f) "Disability waiver rates system" means a statewide system that establishes rates that are based on uniform processes and captures the individualized nature of waiver services and recipient needs.
- (f) (g) "Individual staffing" means the time spent as a one-to-one interaction specific to an individual recipient by staff to provide direct support and assistance with activities of daily living, instrumental activities of daily living, and training to participants, and is based on the requirements in each individual's coordinated service and support plan under section 245D.02, subdivision 4b; any coordinated service and support plan addendum under section 245D.02, subdivision 4c; and an assessment tool. Provider observation of an individual's needs must also be considered.
- 104.19 (g) (h) "Lead agency" means a county, partnership of counties, or tribal agency charged with administering waivered services under sections 256B.092 and 256B.49.
- 104.21 (h) (i) "Median" means the amount that divides distribution into two equal groups, one-half above the median and one-half below the median.
- 104.23 (i) (j) "Payment or rate" means reimbursement to an eligible provider for services provided to a qualified individual based on an approved service authorization.
- 104.25 (j) (k) "Rates management system" means a Web-based software application that uses a framework and component values, as determined by the commissioner, to establish service rates.
- 104.28 (k) (l) "Recipient" means a person receiving home and community-based services funded under any of the disability waivers.
- (1) (m) "Shared staffing" means time spent by employees, not defined under paragraph (f) (g), providing or available to provide more than one individual with direct support and assistance with activities of daily living as defined under section 256B.0659, subdivision 1, paragraph (b); instrumental activities of daily living as defined under section 256B.0659,

104.3

104.4

subdivision 1, paragraph (i); ancillary activities needed to support individual services; and training to participants, and is based on the requirements in each individual's coordinated service and support plan under section 245D.02, subdivision 4b; any coordinated service and support plan addendum under section 245D.02, subdivision 4c; an assessment tool; and provider observation of an individual's service need. Total shared staffing hours are divided proportionally by the number of individuals who receive the shared service provisions.

- (m) (n) "Staffing ratio" means the number of recipients a service provider employee supports during a unit of service based on a uniform assessment tool, provider observation, case history, and the recipient's services of choice, and not based on the staffing ratios under section 245D.31.
- 105.11 $\frac{\text{(n)}(\text{o})}{\text{(m)}}$ "Unit of service" means the following:

105.1

105.2

105.3

105.4

105.5

105.6

105.7

105.8

105.9

- 105.12 (1) for residential support services under subdivision 6, a unit of service is a day. Any portion of any calendar day, within allowable Medicaid rules, where an individual spends time in a residential setting is billable as a day;
- 105.15 (2) for day services under subdivision 7:
- (i) for day training and habilitation services, a unit of service is either:
- 105.17 (A) a day unit of service is defined as six or more hours of time spent providing direct services and transportation; or
- (B) a partial day unit of service is defined as fewer than six hours of time spent providing direct services and transportation; and
- 105.21 (C) for new day service recipients after January 1, 2014, 15 minute units of service must be used for fewer than six hours of time spent providing direct services and transportation;
- 105.23 (ii) for adult day and structured day services, a unit of service is a day or 15 minutes. A day unit of service is six or more hours of time spent providing direct services;
- 105.25 (iii) for prevocational services, a unit of service is a day or an hour. A day unit of service 105.26 is six or more hours of time spent providing direct service;
- 105.27 (3) for unit-based services with programming under subdivision 8:
- (i) for supported living services, a unit of service is a day or 15 minutes. When a day rate is authorized, any portion of a calendar day where an individual receives services is billable as a day; and
- (ii) for all other services, a unit of service is 15 minutes; and

106.1 (4) for unit-based services without programming under subdivision 9, a unit of service is 15 minutes.

- Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256B.4914, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
- Subd. 4. **Data collection for rate determination.** (a) Rates for applicable home and community-based waivered services, including rate exceptions under subdivision 12, are set by the rates management system.
- 106.7 (b) Data for services under section 256B.4913, subdivision 4a, shall be collected in a manner prescribed by the commissioner.
- 106.9 (c) Data and information in the rates management system may be used to calculate an individual's rate.
- (d) Service providers, with information from the community support plan and oversight by lead agencies, shall provide values and information needed to calculate an individual's rate into the rates management system. The determination of service levels must be part of a discussion with members of the support team as defined in section 245D.02, subdivision 34. This discussion must occur prior to the final establishment of each individual's rate. The values and information include:
- 106.17 (1) shared staffing hours;
- 106.18 (2) individual staffing hours;
- 106.19 (3) direct registered nurse hours;
- 106.20 (4) direct licensed practical nurse hours;
- 106.21 (5) staffing ratios;
- 106.22 (6) information to document variable levels of service qualification for variable levels of reimbursement in each framework;
- 106.24 (7) shared or individualized arrangements for unit-based services, including the staffing ratio;
- 106.26 (8) number of trips and miles for transportation services; and
- 106.27 (9) service hours provided through monitoring technology.
- (e) Updates to individual data must include:
- (1) data for each individual that is updated annually when renewing service plans; and

(2) requests by individuals or lead agencies to update a rate whenever there is a change 107.1 in an individual's service needs, with accompanying documentation. 107.2

- (f) Lead agencies shall review and approve all services reflecting each individual's needs, and the values to calculate the final payment rate for services with variables under subdivisions 6, 7, 8, and 9 for each individual. Lead agencies must notify the individual and the service provider of the final agreed-upon values and rate, and provide information that is identical to what was entered into the rates management system. If a value used was mistakenly or erroneously entered and used to calculate a rate, a provider may petition lead agencies to correct it. Lead agencies must respond to these requests. When responding to the request, the lead agency must consider:
- 107.11 (1) meeting the health and welfare needs of the individual or individuals receiving services by service site, identified in their coordinated service and support plan under section 107.12 245D.02, subdivision 4b, and any addendum under section 245D.02, subdivision 4c; 107.13
- (2) meeting the requirements for staffing under subdivision 2, paragraphs (f) (g), (i) (m), 107.14 and (m) (n); and meeting or exceeding the licensing standards for staffing required under 107.15 section 245D.09, subdivision 1; and 107.16
- (3) meeting the staffing ratio requirements under subdivision 2, paragraph (n), and meeting or exceeding the licensing standards for staffing required under section 245D.31. 107.18
- (g) To aid in the transition required in section 256B.4913, subdivision 7, paragraph (b), 107.19 discussion of transition to the new services in subdivision 3, clauses (23), (24), and (25), 107.20 shall be a part of the service planning process. Lead agencies authorizing daily units of day 107.21 training and habilitation services and prevocational services shall enter information into the 107.22 rate management system indicating the average units of employment development services, 107.23 employment exploration services, and employment support services that are expected to be 107.24 provided within the transition period daily rate. 107.25

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2018. 107.26

- 107.27 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 256B.4914, subdivision 5, is amended to read: 107.28
- Subd. 5. Base wage index and standard component values. (a) The base wage index 107.29 is established to determine staffing costs associated with providing services to individuals 107.30 receiving home and community-based services. For purposes of developing and calculating 107.31 the proposed base wage, Minnesota-specific wages taken from job descriptions and standard 107.32 occupational classification (SOC) codes from the Bureau of Labor Statistics as defined in 107.33

107.3

107.4

107.5

107.6

107.7

107.8

107.9

107.10

the most recent edition of the Occupational Handbook must be used. The base wage index must be calculated as follows:

(1) for residential direct care staff, the sum of:

- (i) 15 percent of the subtotal of 50 percent of the median wage for personal and home health aide (SOC code 39-9021); 30 percent of the median wage for nursing assistant (SOC code 31-1014); and 20 percent of the median wage for social and human services aide (SOC code 21-1093); and
- (ii) 85 percent of the subtotal of 20 percent of the median wage for home health aide (SOC code 31-1011); 20 percent of the median wage for personal and home health aide (SOC code 39-9021); 20 percent of the median wage for nursing assistant (SOC code 31-1014); 20 percent of the median wage for psychiatric technician (SOC code 29-2053); and 20 percent of the median wage for social and human services aide (SOC code 21-1093);
- 108.13 (2) for day services, 20 percent of the median wage for nursing assistant (SOC code 31-1014); 20 percent of the median wage for psychiatric technician (SOC code 29-2053); and 60 percent of the median wage for social and human services aide (SOC code 21-1093);
- 108.16 (3) for residential asleep-overnight staff, the wage is the minimum wage in Minnesota for large employers, except in a family foster care setting, the wage is 36 percent of the minimum wage in Minnesota for large employers;
- 108.19 (4) for behavior program analyst staff, 100 percent of the median wage for mental health counselors (SOC code 21-1014);
- 108.21 (5) for behavior program professional staff, 100 percent of the median wage for clinical counseling and school psychologist (SOC code 19-3031);
- 108.23 (6) for behavior program specialist staff, 100 percent of the median wage for psychiatric technicians (SOC code 29-2053);
- (7) for supportive living services staff, 20 percent of the median wage for nursing assistant (SOC code 31-1014); 20 percent of the median wage for psychiatric technician (SOC code 29-2053); and 60 percent of the median wage for social and human services aide (SOC code 21-1093);
- 108.29 (8) for housing access coordination staff, 100 percent of the median wage for community and social services specialist (SOC code 21-1099);
- 108.31 (9) for in-home family support staff, 20 percent of the median wage for nursing aide (SOC code 31-1012); 30 percent of the median wage for community social service specialist

(SOC code 21-1099); 40 percent of the median wage for social and human services aide (SOC code 21-1093); and ten percent of the median wage for psychiatric technician (SOC code 29-2053);

- (10) for individualized home supports services staff, 40 percent of the median wage for community social service specialist (SOC code 21-1099); 50 percent of the median wage for social and human services aide (SOC code 21-1093); and ten percent of the median wage for psychiatric technician (SOC code 29-2053);
- 109.8 (11) for independent living skills staff, 40 percent of the median wage for community social service specialist (SOC code 21-1099); 50 percent of the median wage for social and human services aide (SOC code 21-1093); and ten percent of the median wage for psychiatric technician (SOC code 29-2053);
- 109.12 (12) for independent living skills specialist staff, 100 percent of mental health and substance abuse social worker (SOC code 21-1023);
- (13) for supported employment staff, 20 percent of the median wage for nursing assistant (SOC code 31-1014); 20 percent of the median wage for psychiatric technician (SOC code 29-2053); and 60 percent of the median wage for social and human services aide (SOC code 21-1093);
- 109.18 (14) for employment support services staff, 50 percent of the median wage for rehabilitation counselor (SOC code 21-1015); and 50 percent of the median wage for community and social services specialist (SOC code 21-1099);
- (15) for employment exploration services staff, 50 percent of the median wage for rehabilitation counselor (SOC code 21-1015); and 50 percent of the median wage for community and social services specialist (SOC code 21-1099);
- (16) for employment development services staff, 50 percent of the median wage for education, guidance, school, and vocational counselors (SOC code 21-1012); and 50 percent of the median wage for community and social services specialist (SOC code 21-1099);
- (17) for adult companion staff, 50 percent of the median wage for personal and home care aide (SOC code 39-9021); and 50 percent of the median wage for nursing assistant (SOC code 31-1014);
- (18) for night supervision staff, 20 percent of the median wage for home health aide (SOC code 31-1011); 20 percent of the median wage for personal and home health aide (SOC code 39-9021); 20 percent of the median wage for nursing assistant (SOC code

31-1014); 20 percent of the median wage for psychiatric technician (SOC code 29-2053);

- and 20 percent of the median wage for social and human services aide (SOC code 21-1093);
- 110.3 (19) for respite staff, 50 percent of the median wage for personal and home care aide
- 110.4 (SOC code 39-9021); and 50 percent of the median wage for nursing assistant (SOC code
- 110.5 31-1014);
- 110.6 (20) for personal support staff, 50 percent of the median wage for personal and home
- care aide (SOC code 39-9021); and 50 percent of the median wage for nursing assistant
- 110.8 (SOC code 31-1014);
- (21) for supervisory staff, 100 percent of the median wage for community and social
- services specialist (SOC code 21-1099), with the exception of the supervisor of behavior
- professional, behavior analyst, and behavior specialists, which is 100 percent of the median
- wage for clinical counseling and school psychologist (SOC code 19-3031);
- 110.13 (22) for registered nurse staff, 100 percent of the median wage for registered nurses
- 110.14 (SOC code 29-1141); and
- 110.15 (23) for licensed practical nurse staff, 100 percent of the median wage for licensed
- practical nurses (SOC code 29-2061).
- (b) Component values for residential support services are:
- (1) supervisory span of control ratio: 11 percent;
- (2) employee vacation, sick, and training allowance ratio: 8.71 percent;
- (3) employee-related cost ratio: 23.6 percent;
- (4) general administrative support ratio: 13.25 percent;
- (5) program-related expense ratio: 1.3 percent; and
- (6) absence and utilization factor ratio: 3.9 percent.
- (c) Component values for family foster care are:
- (1) supervisory span of control ratio: 11 percent;
- (2) employee vacation, sick, and training allowance ratio: 8.71 percent;
- (3) employee-related cost ratio: 23.6 percent;
- (4) general administrative support ratio: 3.3 percent;
- (5) program-related expense ratio: 1.3 percent; and
- 110.30 (6) absence factor: 1.7 percent.

04/17/18 REVISOR ACF/IL A18-0776

- (d) Component values for day services for all services are:
- (1) supervisory span of control ratio: 11 percent;
- (2) employee vacation, sick, and training allowance ratio: 8.71 percent;
- 111.4 (3) employee-related cost ratio: 23.6 percent;
- 111.5 (4) program plan support ratio: 5.6 percent;
- (5) client programming and support ratio: ten percent;
- (6) general administrative support ratio: 13.25 percent;
- 111.8 (7) program-related expense ratio: 1.8 percent; and
- (8) absence and utilization factor ratio: 9.4 percent.
- (e) Component values for unit-based services with programming are:
- (1) supervisory span of control ratio: 11 percent;
- (2) employee vacation, sick, and training allowance ratio: 8.71 percent;
- (3) employee-related cost ratio: 23.6 percent;
- (4) program plan supports ratio: 15.5 percent;
- (5) client programming and supports ratio: 4.7 percent;
- (6) general administrative support ratio: 13.25 percent;
- (7) program-related expense ratio: 6.1 percent; and
- 111.18 (8) absence and utilization factor ratio: 3.9 percent.
- (f) Component values for unit-based services without programming except respite are:
- (1) supervisory span of control ratio: 11 percent;
- (2) employee vacation, sick, and training allowance ratio: 8.71 percent;
- (3) employee-related cost ratio: 23.6 percent;
- (4) program plan support ratio: 7.0 percent;
- (5) client programming and support ratio: 2.3 percent;
- (6) general administrative support ratio: 13.25 percent;
- (7) program-related expense ratio: 2.9 percent; and
- (8) absence and utilization factor ratio: 3.9 percent.

04/17/18 REVISOR ACF/IL A18-0776

(g) Component values for unit-based services without programming for respite are:

- (1) supervisory span of control ratio: 11 percent;
- (2) employee vacation, sick, and training allowance ratio: 8.71 percent;
- 112.4 (3) employee-related cost ratio: 23.6 percent;
- (4) general administrative support ratio: 13.25 percent;
- (5) program-related expense ratio: 2.9 percent; and
- (6) absence and utilization factor ratio: 3.9 percent.
- (h) On July 1, 2017, the commissioner shall update the base wage index in paragraph (a) based on the wage data by standard occupational code (SOC) from the Bureau of Labor Statistics available on December 31, 2016. The commissioner shall publish these updated values and load them into the rate management system. On July January 1, 2022, and every
- 112.12 five two years thereafter, the commissioner shall update the base wage index in paragraph
- 112.13 (a) based on the most recently available wage data by SOC from the Bureau of Labor
- Statistics available on December 31 of the year two years prior to the scheduled update.
- The commissioner shall publish these updated values and load them into the rate management
- 112.16 system.

112.2

(i) On July 1, 2017, the commissioner shall update the framework components in 112.17 paragraph (d), clause (5); paragraph (e), clause (5); and paragraph (f), clause (5); subdivision 112.18 6, clauses (8) and (9); and subdivision 7, clauses (10), (16), and (17), for changes in the 112.19 Consumer Price Index. The commissioner will adjust these values higher or lower by the 112.20 percentage change in the Consumer Price Index-All Items, United States city average (CPI-U) from January 1, 2014, to January 1, 2017. The commissioner shall publish these updated values and load them into the rate management system. On July January 1, 2022, 112.23 and every five two years thereafter, the commissioner shall update the framework components 112.24 in paragraph (d), clause (5); paragraph (e), clause (5); and paragraph (f), clause (5); 112.25 subdivision 6, clauses (8) and (9); and subdivision 7, clauses (10), (16), and (17), for changes 112.26 112.27 in the Consumer Price Index. The commissioner shall adjust these values higher or lower by the percentage change in the CPI-U from the date of the previous update to the date of 112.28 the data most recently available on December 31 of the year two years prior to the scheduled 112.29 update. The commissioner shall publish these updated values and load them into the rate 112.30

112.31

management system.

113.1	(j) In this subdivision, if Bureau of Labor Statistics occupational codes or Consumer
113.2	Price Index items are unavailable in the future, the commissioner shall recommend to the
113.3	legislature codes or items to update and replace missing component values.
113.4	(k) The commissioner shall increase the updated base wage index in paragraph (h) with
113.5	a competitive workforce factor of 8.35 percent.
113.6	EFFECTIVE DATE. (a) The amendments to paragraphs (h) and (i) are effective January
113.7	1, 2022, or upon federal approval, whichever is later. The commissioner shall inform the
113.8	revisor of statutes when federal approval is obtained.
113.9	(b) Paragraph (k) is effective July 1, 2018, or upon federal approval, whichever is later.
113.10	The commissioner shall inform the revisor of statutes when federal approval is obtained.
113.11	Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 256B.4914, subdivision 6, is amended
113.12	to read:
113.13	Subd. 6. Payments for residential support services. (a) Payments for residential support
113.14	services, as defined in sections 256B.092, subdivision 11, and 256B.49, subdivision 22,
113.15	must be calculated as follows:
113.16	(1) determine the number of shared staffing and individual direct staff hours to meet a
113.17	recipient's needs provided on site or through monitoring technology;
113.18	(2) personnel hourly wage rate must be based on the 2009 Bureau of Labor Statistics
113.19	Minnesota-specific rates or rates derived by the commissioner as provided in subdivision
113.20	5. This is defined as the direct-care rate;
113.21	(3) for a recipient requiring customization for deaf and hard-of-hearing language
113.22	accessibility under subdivision 12, add the customization rate provided in subdivision 12
113.23	to the result of clause (2). This is defined as the customized direct-care rate;
113.24	(4) multiply the number of shared and individual direct staff hours provided on site or
113.25	through monitoring technology and nursing hours by the appropriate staff wages in
113.26	subdivision 5, paragraph (a), or the customized direct-care rate;
113.27	(5) multiply the number of shared and individual direct staff hours provided on site or
113.28	through monitoring technology and nursing hours by the product of the supervision span
113.29	of control ratio in subdivision 5, paragraph (b), clause (1), and the appropriate supervision
113.30	wage in subdivision 5, paragraph (a), clause (21);
113.31	(6) combine the results of clauses (4) and (5), excluding any shared and individual direct

staff hours provided through monitoring technology, and multiply the result by one plus

the employee vacation, sick, and training allowance ratio in subdivision 5, paragraph (b), clause (2). This is defined as the direct staffing cost;

- (7) for employee-related expenses, multiply the direct staffing cost, excluding any shared and individual direct staff hours provided through monitoring technology, by one plus the employee-related cost ratio in subdivision 5, paragraph (b), clause (3);
 - (8) for client programming and supports, the commissioner shall add \$2,179; and
- 114.7 (9) for transportation, if provided, the commissioner shall add \$1,680, or \$3,000 if customized for adapted transport, based on the resident with the highest assessed need.
- (b) The total rate must be calculated using the following steps:

114.3

114.4

114.5

1146

114.19

114.20

114.21

- (1) subtotal paragraph (a), clauses (7) to (9), and the direct staffing cost of any shared and individual direct staff hours provided through monitoring technology that was excluded in clause (7);
- 114.13 (2) sum the standard general and administrative rate, the program-related expense ratio, 114.14 and the absence and utilization ratio; and
- 114.15 (3) divide the result of clause (1) by one minus the result of clause (2). This is the total payment amount; and.
- (4) adjust the result of clause (3) by a factor to be determined by the commissioner to adjust for regional differences in the cost of providing services.
 - (c) The payment methodology for customized living, 24-hour customized living, and residential care services must be the customized living tool. Revisions to the customized living tool must be made to reflect the services and activities unique to disability-related recipient needs.
- (d) For individuals enrolled prior to January 1, 2014, the days of service authorized must meet or exceed the days of service used to convert service agreements in effect on December 1, 2013, and must not result in a reduction in spending or service utilization due to conversion during the implementation period under section 256B.4913, subdivision 4a. If during the implementation period, an individual's historical rate, including adjustments required under section 256B.4913, subdivision 4a, paragraph (c), is equal to or greater than the rate determined in this subdivision, the number of days authorized for the individual is 365.
- (e) The number of days authorized for all individuals enrolling after January 1, 2014, in residential services must include every day that services start and end.
- 114.32 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2022.

Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 256B.4914, subdivision 7, is amended to read:

- Subd. 7. **Payments for day programs.** Payments for services with day programs including adult day care, day treatment and habilitation, prevocational services, and structured day services must be calculated as follows:
- (1) determine the number of units of service and staffing ratio to meet a recipient's needs:
- (i) the staffing ratios for the units of service provided to a recipient in a typical week must be averaged to determine an individual's staffing ratio; and
- (ii) the commissioner, in consultation with service providers, shall develop a uniform staffing ratio worksheet to be used to determine staffing ratios under this subdivision;
- (2) personnel hourly wage rates must be based on the 2009 Bureau of Labor Statistics Minnesota-specific rates or rates derived by the commissioner as provided in subdivision 5;
- 115.14 (3) for a recipient requiring customization for deaf and hard-of-hearing language 115.15 accessibility under subdivision 12, add the customization rate provided in subdivision 12 115.16 to the result of clause (2). This is defined as the customized direct-care rate;
- 115.17 (4) multiply the number of day program direct staff hours and nursing hours by the appropriate staff wage in subdivision 5, paragraph (a), or the customized direct-care rate;
- 115.19 (5) multiply the number of day direct staff hours by the product of the supervision span 115.20 of control ratio in subdivision 5, paragraph (d), clause (1), and the appropriate supervision 115.21 wage in subdivision 5, paragraph (a), clause (21);
- (6) combine the results of clauses (4) and (5), and multiply the result by one plus the employee vacation, sick, and training allowance ratio in subdivision 5, paragraph (d), clause (2). This is defined as the direct staffing rate;
- 115.25 (7) for program plan support, multiply the result of clause (6) by one plus the program plan support ratio in subdivision 5, paragraph (d), clause (4);
- 115.27 (8) for employee-related expenses, multiply the result of clause (7) by one plus the employee-related cost ratio in subdivision 5, paragraph (d), clause (3);
- (9) for client programming and supports, multiply the result of clause (8) by one plus the client programming and support ratio in subdivision 5, paragraph (d), clause (5);
- (10) for program facility costs, add \$19.30 per week with consideration of staffing ratios to meet individual needs;

115.3

115.4

115.5

- (11) for adult day bath services, add \$7.01 per 15 minute unit;
- 116.2 (12) this is the subtotal rate;
- 116.3 (13) sum the standard general and administrative rate, the program-related expense ratio, and the absence and utilization factor ratio;
- 116.5 (14) divide the result of clause (12) by one minus the result of clause (13). This is the total payment amount;
- 116.7 (15) adjust the result of clause (14) by a factor to be determined by the commissioner to adjust for regional differences in the cost of providing services;
- 116.9 (15) for transportation provided as part of day training and habilitation for an individual who does not require a lift, add:
- (i) \$10.50 for a trip between zero and ten miles for a nonshared ride in a vehicle without a lift, \$8.83 for a shared ride in a vehicle without a lift, and \$9.25 for a shared ride in a vehicle with a lift;
- (ii) \$15.75 for a trip between 11 and 20 miles for a nonshared ride in a vehicle without a lift, \$10.58 for a shared ride in a vehicle without a lift, and \$11.88 for a shared ride in a vehicle with a lift;
- (iii) \$25.75 for a trip between 21 and 50 miles for a nonshared ride in a vehicle without a lift, \$13.92 for a shared ride in a vehicle without a lift, and \$16.88 for a shared ride in a vehicle with a lift; or
- (iv) \$33.50 for a trip of 51 miles or more for a nonshared ride in a vehicle without a lift, \$16.50 for a shared ride in a vehicle without a lift, and \$20.75 for a shared ride in a vehicle with a lift; and
- 116.23 (17) (16) for transportation provided as part of day training and habilitation for an individual who does require a lift, add:
- (i) \$19.05 for a trip between zero and ten miles for a nonshared ride in a vehicle with a lift, and \$15.05 for a shared ride in a vehicle with a lift;
- (ii) \$32.16 for a trip between 11 and 20 miles for a nonshared ride in a vehicle with a lift, and \$28.16 for a shared ride in a vehicle with a lift;
- (iii) \$58.76 for a trip between 21 and 50 miles for a nonshared ride in a vehicle with a lift, and \$58.76 for a shared ride in a vehicle with a lift; or

(iv) \$80.93 for a trip of 51 miles or more for a nonshared ride in a vehicle with a lift, and \$80.93 for a shared ride in a vehicle with a lift.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2022.

1173

- Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 256B.4914, subdivision 8, is amended to read:
- Subd. 8. Payments for unit-based services with programming. Payments for unit-based 117.6 services with programming, including behavior programming, housing access coordination, 117.7 in-home family support, independent living skills training, independent living skills specialist 117.8 services, individualized home supports, hourly supported living services, employment 117.9 exploration services, employment development services, supported employment, and 117.10 117.11 employment support services provided to an individual outside of any day or residential service plan must be calculated as follows, unless the services are authorized separately 117.12 under subdivision 6 or 7: 117.13
- (1) determine the number of units of service to meet a recipient's needs;
- 117.15 (2) personnel hourly wage rate must be based on the 2009 Bureau of Labor Statistics
 117.16 Minnesota-specific rates or rates derived by the commissioner as provided in subdivision
 117.17 5;
- 117.18 (3) for a recipient requiring customization for deaf and hard-of-hearing language accessibility under subdivision 12, add the customization rate provided in subdivision 12 to the result of clause (2). This is defined as the customized direct-care rate;
- 117.21 (4) multiply the number of direct staff hours by the appropriate staff wage in subdivision 117.22 5, paragraph (a), or the customized direct-care rate;
- (5) multiply the number of direct staff hours by the product of the supervision span of control ratio in subdivision 5, paragraph (e), clause (1), and the appropriate supervision wage in subdivision 5, paragraph (a), clause (21);
- (6) combine the results of clauses (4) and (5), and multiply the result by one plus the employee vacation, sick, and training allowance ratio in subdivision 5, paragraph (e), clause 117.28 (2). This is defined as the direct staffing rate;
- 117.29 (7) for program plan support, multiply the result of clause (6) by one plus the program plan supports ratio in subdivision 5, paragraph (e), clause (4);
- 117.31 (8) for employee-related expenses, multiply the result of clause (7) by one plus the employee-related cost ratio in subdivision 5, paragraph (e), clause (3);

(9) for client programming and supports, multiply the result of clause (8) by one plus 118.1 the client programming and supports ratio in subdivision 5, paragraph (e), clause (5); 118.2 118.3 (10) this is the subtotal rate; (11) sum the standard general and administrative rate, the program-related expense ratio, 118.4 118.5 and the absence and utilization factor ratio; (12) divide the result of clause (10) by one minus the result of clause (11). This is the 118.6 118.7 total payment amount; and (13) for supported employment provided in a shared manner, divide the total payment 118.8 amount in clause (12) by the number of service recipients, not to exceed three. For 118.9 employment support services provided in a shared manner, divide the total payment amount 118.10 in clause (12) by the number of service recipients, not to exceed six. For independent living 118.11 skills training and individualized home supports provided in a shared manner, divide the 118.12 total payment amount in clause (12) by the number of service recipients, not to exceed two; 118.13 118.14 and. (14) adjust the result of clause (13) by a factor to be determined by the commissioner 118.15 to adjust for regional differences in the cost of providing services. 118.16 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2022. 118.17 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 256B.4914, subdivision 9, is 118.18 amended to read: 118.19 118.20 Subd. 9. Payments for unit-based services without programming. Payments for unit-based services without programming, including night supervision, personal support, 118.21 respite, and companion care provided to an individual outside of any day or residential 118.22 service plan must be calculated as follows unless the services are authorized separately 118.23 under subdivision 6 or 7: 118.24 (1) for all services except respite, determine the number of units of service to meet a 118.25 118.26 recipient's needs; (2) personnel hourly wage rates must be based on the 2009 Bureau of Labor Statistics 118.27 Minnesota-specific rate or rates derived by the commissioner as provided in subdivision 5; 118 28 118.29 (3) for a recipient requiring customization for deaf and hard-of-hearing language accessibility under subdivision 12, add the customization rate provided in subdivision 12 118.30 to the result of clause (2). This is defined as the customized direct care rate; 118.31

- (4) multiply the number of direct staff hours by the appropriate staff wage in subdivision 5 or the customized direct care rate;
- (5) multiply the number of direct staff hours by the product of the supervision span of control ratio in subdivision 5, paragraph (f), clause (1), and the appropriate supervision wage in subdivision 5, paragraph (a), clause (21);
- (6) combine the results of clauses (4) and (5), and multiply the result by one plus the employee vacation, sick, and training allowance ratio in subdivision 5, paragraph (f), clause (2). This is defined as the direct staffing rate;
- 119.9 (7) for program plan support, multiply the result of clause (6) by one plus the program plan support ratio in subdivision 5, paragraph (f), clause (4);
- 119.11 (8) for employee-related expenses, multiply the result of clause (7) by one plus the employee-related cost ratio in subdivision 5, paragraph (f), clause (3);
- (9) for client programming and supports, multiply the result of clause (8) by one plus the client programming and support ratio in subdivision 5, paragraph (f), clause (5);
- 119.15 (10) this is the subtotal rate;
- 119.16 (11) sum the standard general and administrative rate, the program-related expense ratio, 119.17 and the absence and utilization factor ratio;
- 119.18 (12) divide the result of clause (10) by one minus the result of clause (11). This is the total payment amount;
- 119.20 (13) for respite services, determine the number of day units of service to meet an individual's needs;
- 119.22 (14) personnel hourly wage rates must be based on the 2009 Bureau of Labor Statistics
 119.23 Minnesota-specific rate or rates derived by the commissioner as provided in subdivision 5;
- (15) for a recipient requiring deaf and hard-of-hearing customization under subdivision 119.25 12, add the customization rate provided in subdivision 12 to the result of clause (14). This 119.26 is defined as the customized direct care rate;
- (16) multiply the number of direct staff hours by the appropriate staff wage in subdivision 5, paragraph (a);
- (17) multiply the number of direct staff hours by the product of the supervisory span of control ratio in subdivision 5, paragraph (g), clause (1), and the appropriate supervision wage in subdivision 5, paragraph (a), clause (21);

120.1	(18) combine the results of clauses (16) and (17), and multiply the result by one plus
120.2	the employee vacation, sick, and training allowance ratio in subdivision 5, paragraph (g),
120.3	clause (2). This is defined as the direct staffing rate;
120.4	(19) for employee-related expenses, multiply the result of clause (18) by one plus the
120.5	employee-related cost ratio in subdivision 5, paragraph (g), clause (3);
120.6	(20) this is the subtotal rate;
120.7	(21) sum the standard general and administrative rate, the program-related expense ratio,
120.8	and the absence and utilization factor ratio; and
120.9	(22) divide the result of clause (20) by one minus the result of clause (21). This is the
120.10	total payment amount; and.
120.11	(23) adjust the result of clauses (12) and (22) by a factor to be determined by the
120.12	commissioner to adjust for regional differences in the cost of providing services.
120.13	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2022.
120.14	Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 256B.4914, subdivision 10, is
120.15	amended to read:
120.16	Subd. 10. Updating payment values and additional information. (a) From January
120.17	1, 2014, through December 31, 2017, the commissioner shall develop and implement uniform
120.18	procedures to refine terms and adjust values used to calculate payment rates in this section.
120.19	(b) No later than July 1, 2014, the commissioner shall, within available resources, begin
120.20	to conduct research and gather data and information from existing state systems or other
120.21	outside sources on the following items:
120.22	(1) differences in the underlying cost to provide services and care across the state; and
120.22	
120.23	(2) mileage, vehicle type, lift requirements, incidents of individual and shared rides, and
120.23	(2) mileage, vehicle type, lift requirements, incidents of individual and shared rides, and units of transportation for all day services, which must be collected from providers using
120.24	units of transportation for all day services, which must be collected from providers using
120.24 120.25	units of transportation for all day services, which must be collected from providers using the rate management worksheet and entered into the rates management system; and
120.24 120.25 120.26	units of transportation for all day services, which must be collected from providers using the rate management worksheet and entered into the rates management system; and (3) the distinct underlying costs for services provided by a license holder under sections
120.24 120.25 120.26 120.27	units of transportation for all day services, which must be collected from providers using the rate management worksheet and entered into the rates management system; and (3) the distinct underlying costs for services provided by a license holder under sections 245D.05, 245D.06, 245D.07, 245D.071, 245D.081, and 245D.09, and for services provided
120.24 120.25 120.26 120.27 120.28	units of transportation for all day services, which must be collected from providers using the rate management worksheet and entered into the rates management system; and (3) the distinct underlying costs for services provided by a license holder under sections 245D.05, 245D.06, 245D.07, 245D.071, 245D.081, and 245D.09, and for services provided by a license holder certified under section 245D.33.

the framework rate at the individual, provider, lead agency, and state levels. The
commissioner shall issue semiannual reports to the stakeholders on the difference in rates
by service and by county during the banding period under section 256B.4913, subdivision
4a. The commissioner shall issue the first report by October 1, 2014, and the final report
shall be issued by December 31, 2018.

- (d) No later than July 1, 2014, the commissioner, in consultation with stakeholders, shall begin the review and evaluation of the following values already in subdivisions 6 to 9, or issues that impact all services, including, but not limited to:
- 121.9 (1) values for transportation rates;
- (2) values for services where monitoring technology replaces staff time;
- 121.11 (3) values for indirect services;
- 121.12 (4) values for nursing;
- 121.13 (5) values for the facility use rate in day services, and the weightings used in the day service ratios and adjustments to those weightings;
- (6) values for workers' compensation as part of employee-related expenses;
- 121.16 (7) values for unemployment insurance as part of employee-related expenses;
- 121.17 (8) any changes in state or federal law with a direct impact on the underlying cost of providing home and community-based services; and
- (9) direct care staff labor market measures; and
- 121.20 (10) outcome measures, determined by the commissioner, for home and community-based services rates determined under this section.
- (e) The commissioner shall report to the chairs and the ranking minority members of the legislative committees and divisions with jurisdiction over health and human services policy and finance with the information and data gathered under paragraphs (b) to (d) on the following dates:
- (1) January 15, 2015, with preliminary results and data;
- 121.27 (2) January 15, 2016, with a status implementation update, and additional data and summary information;
- 121.29 (3) January 15, 2017, with the full report; and
- 121.30 (4) January 15, 2020, with another full report, and a full report once every four years thereafter.

- (f) The commissioner shall implement a regional adjustment factor to all rate calculations in subdivisions 6 to 9, effective no later than January 1, 2015. Beginning July 1, 2017, the commissioner shall renew analysis and implement changes to the regional adjustment factors when adjustments required under subdivision 5, paragraph (h), occur. Prior to implementation, the commissioner shall consult with stakeholders on the methodology to calculate the adjustment.
- 122.7 (g) The commissioner shall provide a public notice via LISTSERV in October of each 122.8 year beginning October 1, 2014, containing information detailing legislatively approved 122.9 changes in:
- 122.10 (1) calculation values including derived wage rates and related employee and administrative factors;
- 122.12 (2) service utilization;

122.1

122.2

122.3

122.4

122.5

- (3) county and tribal allocation changes; and
- 122.14 (4) information on adjustments made to calculation values and the timing of those adjustments.
- The information in this notice must be effective January 1 of the following year.
- (h) When the available shared staffing hours in a residential setting are insufficient to meet the needs of an individual who enrolled in residential services after January 1, 2014, or insufficient to meet the needs of an individual with a service agreement adjustment described in section 256B.4913, subdivision 4a, paragraph (f), then individual staffing hours shall be used.
- (i) The commissioner shall study the underlying cost of absence and utilization for day services. Based on the commissioner's evaluation of the data collected under this paragraph, the commissioner shall make recommendations to the legislature by January 15, 2018, for changes, if any, to the absence and utilization factor ratio component value for day services.
- 122.26 (j) Beginning July 1, 2017, the commissioner shall collect transportation and trip
 122.27 information for all day services through the rates management system.
- Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 256B.4914, subdivision 10a, is amended to read:
- Subd. 10a. **Reporting and analysis of cost data.** (a) The commissioner must ensure that wage values and component values in subdivisions 5 to 9 reflect the cost to provide the service. As determined by the commissioner, in consultation with stakeholders identified

in section 256B.4913, subdivision 5, a provider enrolled to provide services with rates determined under this section must submit requested cost data to the commissioner to support research on the cost of providing services that have rates determined by the disability waiver rates system. Requested cost data may include, but is not limited to:

- 123.5 (1) worker wage costs;
- 123.6 (2) benefits paid;

123.1

123.2

123.3

123.4

- 123.7 (3) supervisor wage costs;
- 123.8 (4) executive wage costs;
- 123.9 (5) vacation, sick, and training time paid;
- (6) taxes, workers' compensation, and unemployment insurance costs paid;
- 123.11 (7) administrative costs paid;
- 123.12 (8) program costs paid;
- 123.13 (9) transportation costs paid;
- 123.14 (10) vacancy rates; and
- 123.15 (11) other data relating to costs required to provide services requested by the commissioner.
- (b) At least once in any five-year period, a provider must submit cost data for a fiscal 123.17 year that ended not more than 18 months prior to the submission date. The commissioner 123.18 shall provide each provider a 90-day notice prior to its submission due date. If a provider 123.19 fails to submit required reporting data, the commissioner shall provide notice to providers 123 20 that have not provided required data 30 days after the required submission date, and a second 123.21 notice for providers who have not provided required data 60 days after the required 123.22 submission date. The commissioner shall temporarily suspend payments to the provider if 123.23 cost data is not received 90 days after the required submission date. Withheld payments shall be made once data is received by the commissioner. 123.25
 - (c) The commissioner shall conduct a random validation of data submitted under paragraph (a) to ensure data accuracy. The commissioner shall analyze cost documentation in paragraph (a) and provide recommendations for adjustments to cost components.
- (d) The commissioner shall analyze cost documentation in paragraph (a) and, in consultation with stakeholders identified in section 256B.4913, subdivision 5, may submit recommendations on component values and inflationary factor adjustments to the chairs

123.26

124.1	and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over human
124.2	services every four years beginning January 1, 2020. The commissioner shall make
124.3	recommendations in conjunction with reports submitted to the legislature according to
124.4	subdivision 10, paragraph (e). The commissioner shall release cost data in an aggregate
124.5	form, and cost data from individual providers shall not be released except as provided for
124.6	in current law.
124.7	(e) The commissioner, in consultation with stakeholders identified in section 256B.4913,
124.8	subdivision 5, shall develop and implement a process for providing training and technical
124.9	assistance necessary to support provider submission of cost documentation required under
124.10	paragraph (a).
124.11	(f) Beginning January 1, 2019, providers enrolled to provide services with rates
124.12	determined under this section shall submit labor market data to the commissioner annually,
124.13	including, but not limited to:
124.14	(1) number of direct care staff;
124.15	(2) wages of direct care staff;
124.16	(3) overtime wages of direct care staff;
124.17	(4) hours worked by direct care staff;
124.18	(5) overtime hours worked by direct care staff;
124.19	(6) benefits provided to direct care staff;
124.20	(7) direct care staff job vacancies; and
124.21	(8) direct care staff retention rates.
124.22	(g) Beginning January 15, 2020, the commissioner shall publish annual reports on
124.23	provider and state-level labor market data, including, but not limited to:
124.24	(1) number of direct care staff;
124.25	(2) wages of direct care staff;
124.26	(3) overtime wages of direct care staff;
124.27	(4) hours worked by direct care staff;
124.28	(5) overtime hours worked by direct care staff;
124.29	(6) benefits provided to direct care staff;
124 30	(7) direct care staff job vacancies: and

(8) direct care staff retention rates.

Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256B.5012, is amended by adding a subdivision

125.3 to read:

125.1

125.15

- Subd. 18. **ICF/DD rate increase effective July 1, 2018; Steele County.** Effective July
- 1, 2018, the daily rate for an intermediate care facility for persons with developmental
- disabilities located in Steele County that is classified as a class B facility and licensed for
- 125.7 16 beds is \$400. The increase under this subdivision is in addition to any other increase that
- is effective on July 1, 2018.
- Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256R.53, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2. Nursing facilities in Breekenridge border cities. The operating payment rate of a nonprofit nursing facility that exists on January 1, 2015, is located within the boundaries of the eity cities of Breckenridge or Moorhead, and is reimbursed under this
- chapter, is equal to the greater of:
- (1) the operating payment rate determined under section 256R.21, subdivision 3; or
- determined by the median case mix adjusted rates, including comparable rate components as determined by the commissioner, for the equivalent case mix indices of the nonprofit nursing facility or facilities located in an adjacent city in another state and in cities contiguous to the adjacent city. The commissioner shall make the comparison required in this subdivision

(2) the median case mix adjusted rates, including comparable rate components as

- on November 1 of each year and shall apply it to the rates to be effective on the following
- 125.21 <u>January 1.</u> The Minnesota facility's operating payment rate with a case mix index of 1.0 is
- computed by dividing the adjacent city's nursing facility or facilities' median operating
- payment rate with an index of 1.02 by 1.02. If the adjustments under this subdivision result
- in a rate that exceeds the limits in section 256R.23, subdivision 5, and whose costs exceed
- the rate in section 256R.24, subdivision 3, in a given rate year, the facility's rate shall not
- be subject to the limits in section 256R.23, subdivision 5, and shall not be limited to the
- rate established in section 256R.24, subdivision 3, for that rate year.
- 125.28 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** The rate increases for a facility located in Moorhead are effective
- 125.29 for the rate year beginning January 1, 2020, and annually thereafter.
- Sec. 16. Laws 2014, chapter 312, article 27, section 76, is amended to read:
- 125.31 Sec. 76. DISABILITY WAIVER REIMBURSEMENT RATE ADJUSTMENTS.

126.1	Subdivision 1. Historical rate. The commissioner of human services shall adjust the
126.2	historical rates calculated in Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.4913, subdivision 4a,
126.3	paragraph (b), in effect during the banding period under Minnesota Statutes, section
126.4	256B.4913, subdivision 4a, paragraph (a), for the reimbursement rate increases effective
126.5	April 1, 2014, and any rate modification enacted during the 2014 legislative session.
126.6	Subd. 2. Residential support services. The commissioner of human services shall adjust
126.7	the rates calculated in Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.4914, subdivision 6, paragraphs
126.8	(b), clause (4), and (c), for the reimbursement rate increases effective April 1, 2014, and
126.9	any rate modification enacted during the 2014 legislative session.
126.10	Subd. 3. Day programs. The commissioner of human services shall adjust the rates
126.11	ealculated in Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.4914, subdivision 7, paragraph (a), clauses
126.12	(15) to (17), for the reimbursement rate increases effective April 1, 2014, and any rate
126.13	modification enacted during the 2014 legislative session.
126.14	Subd. 4. Unit-based services with programming. The commissioner of human services
126.15	shall adjust the rate calculated in Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.4914, subdivision 8,
126.16	paragraph (a), clause (14), for the reimbursement rate increases effective April 1, 2014, and
126.17	any rate modification enacted during the 2014 legislative session.
126.18	Subd. 5. Unit-based services without programming. The commissioner of human
126.19	services shall adjust the rate calculated in Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.4914, subdivision
126.20	9, paragraph (a), clause (23), for the reimbursement rate increases effective April 1, 2014,
126.21	and any rate modification enacted during the 2014 legislative session.
126.22	Sec. 17. Laws 2017, First Special Session chapter 6, article 3, section 49, is amended to
126.23	read:
126.24	Sec. 49. ELECTRONIC SERVICE DELIVERY DOCUMENTATION SYSTEM
126.25	<u>VISIT VERIFICATION</u> .
126.26	Subdivision 1. Documentation ; establishment. The commissioner of human services
126.27	shall establish implementation requirements and standards for an electronic service delivery
126.28	documentation system visit verification to comply with the 21st Century Cures Act, Public
126.29	Law 114-255. Within available appropriations, the commissioner shall take steps to comply
126.30	with the electronic visit verification requirements in the 21st Century Cures Act, Public
126.31	Law 114-255.
126.32	Subd. 2. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the terms in this subdivision have

126.33 the meanings given them.

(b) "Electronic service delivery documentation visit verification" means the electronic 127.1 documentation of the: 127.2 (1) type of service performed; 127.3 (2) individual receiving the service; 127.4 127.5 (3) date of the service; (4) location of the service delivery; 127.6 (5) individual providing the service; and 127.7 (6) time the service begins and ends. 127.8 (c) "Electronic service delivery documentation visit verification system" means a system 127.9 that provides electronic service delivery documentation verification of services that complies with the 21st Century Cures Act, Public Law 114-255, and the requirements of subdivision 127.11 127.12 (d) "Service" means one of the following: 127.13 (1) personal care assistance services as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.0625, 127.14 subdivision 19a, and provided according to Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.0659; or 127.15 (2) community first services and supports under Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.85; 127.16 (3) home health services under Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.0625, subdivision 6a; 127.17 127.18 or (4) other medical supplies and equipment or home and community-based services that 127.19 are required to be electronically verified by the 21st Century Cures Act, Public Law 114-255. 127.20 Subd. 3. **Requirements.** (a) In developing implementation requirements for an electronic 127.21 service delivery documentation system visit verification, the commissioner shall consider 127.22 electronic visit verification systems and other electronic service delivery documentation 127.23 methods. The commissioner shall convene stakeholders that will be impacted by an electronic 127.24 service delivery system, including service providers and their representatives, service 127.25 recipients and their representatives, and, as appropriate, those with expertise in the 127.26 development and operation of an electronic service delivery documentation system, to ensure that the requirements: 127.28 (1) are minimally administratively and financially burdensome to a provider; 127.29 127.30 (2) are minimally burdensome to the service recipient and the least disruptive to the

127.31

service recipient in receiving and maintaining allowed services;

128.1	(3) consider existing best practices and use of electronic service delivery documentation
128.2	visit verification;
128.3	(4) are conducted according to all state and federal laws;
128.4	(5) are effective methods for preventing fraud when balanced against the requirements
128.5	of clauses (1) and (2); and
128.6	(6) are consistent with the Department of Human Services' policies related to covered
128.7	services, flexibility of service use, and quality assurance.
128.8	(b) The commissioner shall make training available to providers on the electronic service
128.9	delivery documentation visit verification system requirements.
128.10	(c) The commissioner shall establish baseline measurements related to preventing fraud
128.11	and establish measures to determine the effect of electronic service delivery documentation
128.12	visit verification requirements on program integrity.
128.13	(d) The commissioner shall make a state-selected electronic visit verification system
128.14	available to providers of services. Providers of services may select their own electronic visit
128.15	verification system that meets the requirements established by the commissioner.
128.16	(e) All electronic visit verification systems used by providers to comply with the
128.17	requirements established by the commissioner must provide data to the commissioner in a
128.18	format and at a frequency to be established by the commissioner.
128.19	Subd. 4. Legislative report. (a) The commissioner shall submit a report by January 15,
128.20	2018, to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with
128.21	jurisdiction over human services with recommendations, based on the requirements of
128.22	subdivision 3, to establish electronic service delivery documentation system requirements
128.23	and standards. The report shall identify:
128.24	(1) the essential elements necessary to operationalize a base-level electronic service
128.25	delivery documentation system to be implemented by January 1, 2019; and
128.26	(2) enhancements to the base-level electronic service delivery documentation system to
128.27	be implemented by January 1, 2019, or after, with projected operational costs and the costs
128.28	and benefits for system enhancements.
128.29	(b) The report must also identify current regulations on service providers that are either
128.30	inefficient, minimally effective, or will be unnecessary with the implementation of an
128.31	electronic service delivery documentation system.

128.32

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

129.1	Sec. 18. COMPETITIVE WORKFORCE SUSTAINABILITY GRANTS.
129.2	Subdivision 1. Establishment; eligibility. The commissioner of human services shall
129.3	establish competitive workforce sustainability grants for providers reimbursed under
129.4	Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.4914.
129.5	Subd. 2. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have the
129.6	meanings given in this subdivision.
129.7	(b) "Provider" means a provider of services with rates determined under Minnesota
129.8	Statutes, section 256B.4914, that has:
129.9	(1) a unique Minnesota provider identifier or national provider identifier; and
129.10	(2) revenues from unbanded services for the period beginning July 1, 2018, and ending
129.11	on January 31, 2019, that are ten percent or more of its total revenues from all services with
129.12	rates determined under Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.4914, for that same period.
129.13	(c) "Unbanded services" means services with rates determined under Minnesota Statutes,
129.14	section 256B.4914, that are not banded under Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.4913.
129.15	Subd. 3. Applications. Eligible providers must apply to the commissioner of human
129.16	services on the forms and according to the timelines established by the commissioner.
129.17	Subd. 4. Grant awards. The commissioner may award grants in an amount up to 7.1
129.18	percent of the total revenues generated from unbanded services delivered by a provider
129.19	during the period beginning July 1, 2018, and ending January 31, 2019.
129.20	Sec. 19. DIRECTION TO COMMISSIONER; PRESCRIBED PEDIATRIC
129.21	EXTENDED CARE.
129.22	No later than August 15, 2018, the commissioner of human services shall submit to the
129.23	federal Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services any medical assistance state plan
129.24	amendments necessary to cover prescribed pediatric extended care center basic services
129.25	according to Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.0625, subdivision 65.
129.26	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
129.27	Sec. 20. DIRECTION TO COMMISSIONER; BI AND CADI WAIVER
129.28	CUSTOMIZED LIVING SERVICES PROVIDER LOCATED IN HENNEPIN
129.29	COUNTY.
129.30	(a) The commissioner of human services shall allow a housing with services establishment
129 31	located in Minneapolis that provides customized living and 24-hour customized living

130.1	services for clients enrolled in the brain injury (BI) or community access for disability
130.2	inclusion (CADI) waiver and had a capacity to serve 66 clients as of July 1, 2017, to transfer
130.3	service capacity of up to 66 clients to no more than three new housing with services
130.4	establishments located in Hennepin County.
130.5	(b) Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.492, the commissioner shall
130.6	determine the new housing with services establishments described under paragraph (a) meet
130.7	the BI and CADI waiver customized living and 24-hour customized living size limitation
130.8	exception for clients receiving those services at the new housing with services establishments
130.9	described under paragraph (a).
130.10	Sec. 21. DIRECTION TO COMMISSIONER; HOME AND COMMUNITY-BASED
130.11	SERVICES FEDERAL WAIVER SUBMISSION.
130.12	No later than July 1, 2018, the commissioner of human services shall submit to the
130.13	federal Centers for Medicare and Medicaid services any home and community-based services
130.14	waivers necessary to implement the changes to the disability waiver rate system under
130.15	Minnesota Statutes, sections 256B.4913 and 256B.4914. The priorities for submittal to the
130.16	federal Centers for Medicare and Medicaid services are as follows:
130.17	(1) first priority for submittal are the changes related to the transition to the new
130.18	employment services and the establishment of the competitive workforce factor; and
130.19	(2) second priority for submittal are the changes related to the inflationary adjustments,
130.20	removal of the regional variance factor, and changes to the reporting requirements.
130.21	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
130.22	Sec. 22. REVISOR'S INSTRUCTION.
130.23	The revisor of statutes shall codify Laws 2017, First Special Session chapter 6, article
130.24	3, section 49, as amended in this article, in Minnesota Statutes, chapter 256B.
130.25	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
130.26	Sec. 23. REPEALER.
130.27	Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256B.0705, is repealed.
130.28	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

131.1 **ARTICLE 6**

131.2

131.3

131.4

131.5

131.6

131.7

131.8

131.9

131 10

131.11

131.12

131.13

131 14

131.15

131.16

131.18

131.19

131.20

131.21

131.22

131.23

131 26

131.27

131.28

131.29

131.30

131.31

131.32

131.33

PROTECTIONS FOR OLDER ADULTS AND VULNERABLE ADULTS

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144.651, subdivision 20, is amended to read:

Subd. 20. **Grievances.** Patients and residents shall be encouraged and assisted, throughout their stay in a facility or their course of treatment, to understand and exercise their rights as patients, residents, and citizens. Patients and residents may voice grievances and recommend changes in policies and services to facility staff and others of their choice, and otherwise exercise their rights under this section free from restraint, interference, coercion, discrimination, or reprisal, including threat of discharge. Notice of the grievance procedure of the facility or program, as well as addresses and telephone numbers for the Office of Health Facility Complaints and the area nursing home ombudsman pursuant to the Older Americans Act, section 307(a)(12) shall be posted in a conspicuous place.

Every acute care inpatient facility, every residential program as defined in section 253C.01, every nonacute care facility, and every facility employing more than two people that provides outpatient mental health services shall have a written internal grievance procedure that, at a minimum, sets forth the process to be followed; specifies time limits, including time limits for facility response; provides for the patient or resident to have the assistance of an advocate; requires a written response to written grievances; and provides for a timely decision by an impartial decision maker if the grievance is not otherwise resolved. Compliance by hospitals, residential programs as defined in section 253C.01 which are hospital-based primary treatment programs, and outpatient surgery centers with section 144.691 and compliance by health maintenance organizations with section 62D.11 is deemed to be compliance with the requirement for a written internal grievance procedure.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 144A.10, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. **Correction orders.** Whenever a duly authorized representative of the commissioner of health finds upon inspection of a nursing home, that the facility or a controlling person or an employee of the facility is not in compliance with sections 144.411 to 144.417, 144.651, 144.6503, 144A.01 to 144A.155, or 626.557 or the rules promulgated thereunder, a correction order shall be issued to the facility. The correction order shall state the deficiency, cite the specific rule or statute violated, state the suggested method of correction, and specify recommend the time allowed for correction. Upon receipt of a correction order, a facility shall develop and submit to the commissioner a corrective action

plan based on the correction order. The corrective action plan must specify the steps the facility will take to correct the violation and to prevent such violations in the future, how the facility will monitor its compliance with the corrective action plan, and when the facility plans to complete the steps in the corrective action plan. The commissioner is presumed to accept a corrective action plan unless the commissioner notifies the submitting facility that the plan is not accepted within 15 calendar days after the plan is submitted to the commissioner. The commissioner shall monitor the facility's compliance with the corrective action plan. If the commissioner finds that the nursing home had uncorrected or repeated violations which create a risk to resident care, safety, or rights, the commissioner shall notify the commissioner of human services. 132.10

- Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.44, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 132.11
- Subdivision 1. Statement of rights. A person who receives home care services has these 132.12 132.13 rights:
- (1) the right to receive written information about rights before receiving services, 132.14 including what to do if rights are violated; 132.15
- 132.16 (2) the right to receive care and services according to a suitable and up-to-date plan, and subject to accepted health care, medical or nursing standards, to take an active part in 132.17 developing, modifying, and evaluating the plan and services; 132.18
- 132.19 (3) the right to be told before receiving services the type and disciplines of staff who will be providing the services, the frequency of visits proposed to be furnished, other choices 132.20 that are available for addressing home care needs, and the potential consequences of refusing 132.21 these services; 132.22
- (4) the right to be told in advance of any recommended changes by the provider in the 132.23 service plan and to take an active part in any decisions about changes to the service plan; 132.24
- (5) the right to refuse services or treatment; 132.25
- (6) the right to know, before receiving services or during the initial visit, any limits to 132.26 the services available from a home care provider; 132.27
- (7) the right to be told before services are initiated what the provider charges for the 132.28 services; to what extent payment may be expected from health insurance, public programs, 132.29 or other sources, if known; and what charges the client may be responsible for paying; 132.30

132.1

132.2

132.3

132.4

132.5

132.6

132.7

132.8

133.1	(8) the right to know that there may be other services available in the community,
133.2	including other home care services and providers, and to know where to find information
133.3	about these services;
133.4	(9) the right to choose freely among available providers and to change providers after
133.5	services have begun, within the limits of health insurance, long-term care insurance, medical
133.6	assistance, or other health programs;
133.7	(10) the right to have personal, financial, and medical information kept private, and to
133.8	be advised of the provider's policies and procedures regarding disclosure of such information;
133.9	(11) the right to access the client's own records and written information from those
133.10	records in accordance with sections 144.291 to 144.298;
133.11	(12) the right to be served by people who are properly trained and competent to perform
133.12	their duties;
133.13	(13) the right to be treated with courtesy and respect, and to have the client's property
133.14	treated with respect;
133.15	(14) the right to be free from physical and verbal abuse, neglect, financial exploitation,
133.16	and all forms of maltreatment covered under the Vulnerable Adults Act and the Maltreatment
133.17	of Minors Act;
133.18	(15) the right to reasonable, advance notice of changes in services or charges;
133.19	(16) the right to know the provider's reason for termination of services;
133.20	(17) the right to at least ten days' advance notice of the termination of a service by a
133.21	provider, except in cases where:
133.22	(i) the client engages in conduct that significantly alters the terms of the service plan
133.23	with the home care provider;
133.24	(ii) the client, person who lives with the client, or others create an abusive or unsafe
133.25	work environment for the person providing home care services; or
133.26	(iii) an emergency or a significant change in the client's condition has resulted in service
133.27	needs that exceed the current service plan and that cannot be safely met by the home care
133.28	provider;
133.29	(18) the right to a coordinated transfer when there will be a change in the provider of
133.30	services;

134.1 (19) the right to complain about services that are provided, or fail to be provided, and 134.2 the lack of courtesy or respect to the client or the client's property;

- (20) the right to recommend changes in policies and services to the home care provider, provider staff, and others of the person's choice, free from restraint, interference, coercion, discrimination, or reprisal, including threat of termination of services;
- 134.6 (20) (21) the right to know how to contact an individual associated with the home care provider who is responsible for handling problems and to have the home care provider investigate and attempt to resolve the grievance or complaint;
- 134.9 (21) (22) the right to know the name and address of the state or county agency to contact 134.10 for additional information or assistance; and
- 134.11 (22) (23) the right to assert these rights personally, or have them asserted by the client's representative or by anyone on behalf of the client, without retaliation.
- Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.473, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2. **Temporary license.** (a) For new license applicants, the commissioner shall issue a temporary license for either the basic or comprehensive home care level. A temporary license is effective for up to one year from the date of issuance. Temporary licensees must comply with sections 144A.43 to 144A.482.
- 134.18 (b) During the temporary license <u>year period</u>, the commissioner shall survey the temporary licensee <u>within 90 days</u> after the commissioner is notified or has evidence that the temporary licensee is providing home care services.
 - (c) Within five days of beginning the provision of services, the temporary licensee must notify the commissioner that it is serving clients. The notification to the commissioner may be mailed or e-mailed to the commissioner at the address provided by the commissioner. If the temporary licensee does not provide home care services during the temporary license year period, then the temporary license expires at the end of the year period and the applicant must reapply for a temporary home care license.
- (d) A temporary licensee may request a change in the level of licensure prior to being surveyed and granted a license by notifying the commissioner in writing and providing additional documentation or materials required to update or complete the changed temporary license application. The applicant must pay the difference between the application fees when changing from the basic level to the comprehensive level of licensure. No refund will be made if the provider chooses to change the license application to the basic level.

134.3

134.4

134.5

134 21

134 22

134.24

134.25

(e) If the temporary licensee notifies the commissioner that the licensee has clients within 45 days prior to the temporary license expiration, the commissioner may extend the temporary license for up to 60 days in order to allow the commissioner to complete the on-site survey required under this section and follow-up survey visits.

- Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.474, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2. **Types of home care surveys.** (a) "Initial full survey" means the survey of a new temporary licensee conducted after the department is notified or has evidence that the temporary licensee is providing home care services to determine if the provider is in compliance with home care requirements. Initial full surveys must be completed within 14 months after the department's issuance of a temporary basic or comprehensive license.
- (b) "Change in ownership survey" means a full survey of a new licensee due to a change in ownership. Change in ownership surveys must be completed within six months after the department's issuance of a new license due to a change in ownership.
- (c) "Core survey" means periodic inspection of home care providers to determine ongoing compliance with the home care requirements, focusing on the essential health and safety requirements. Core surveys are available to licensed home care providers who have been licensed for three years and surveyed at least once in the past three years with the latest survey having no widespread violations beyond Level 1 as provided in subdivision 11. Providers must also not have had any substantiated licensing complaints, substantiated complaints against the agency under the Vulnerable Adults Act or Maltreatment of Minors Act, or an enforcement action as authorized in section 144A.475 in the past three years.
- 135.22 (1) The core survey for basic home care providers must review compliance in the following areas:
- (i) reporting of maltreatment;

135.1

135.2

135.3

135.4

135.5

135.6

135.7

135.8

135.9

- (ii) orientation to and implementation of the home care bill of rights;
- 135.26 (iii) statement of home care services;
- (iv) initial evaluation of clients and initiation of services;
- (v) client review and monitoring;
- (vi) service plan implementation and changes to the service plan;
- (vii) client complaint and investigative process;
- (viii) competency of unlicensed personnel; and

(ix) infection control. 136.1

136.5

136.7

136.8

136.9

136.11

136.13

136.14

136.15

136.16

136.17

136.18

- (2) For comprehensive home care providers, the core survey must include everything 136.2 in the basic core survey plus these areas: 1363
- (i) delegation to unlicensed personnel; 136.4
 - (ii) assessment, monitoring, and reassessment of clients; and
- (iii) medication, treatment, and therapy management. 136.6
- (e) (d) "Full survey" means the periodic inspection of home care providers to determine ongoing compliance with the home care requirements that cover the core survey areas and all the legal requirements for home care providers. A full survey is conducted for all temporary licensees and for providers who do not meet the requirements needed for a core 136.10 survey, and when a surveyor identifies unacceptable client health or safety risks during a core survey. A full survey must include all the tasks identified as part of the core survey 136.12 and any additional review deemed necessary by the department, including additional observation, interviewing, or records review of additional clients and staff.
 - (d) (e) "Follow-up surveys" means surveys conducted to determine if a home care provider has corrected deficient issues and systems identified during a core survey, full survey, or complaint investigation. Follow-up surveys may be conducted via phone, e-mail, fax, mail, or on-site reviews. Follow-up surveys, other than complaint surveys, shall be concluded with an exit conference and written information provided on the process for requesting a reconsideration of the survey results.
- (e) (f) Upon receiving information alleging that a home care provider has violated or is 136.21 currently violating a requirement of sections 144A.43 to 144A.482, the commissioner shall 136.22 investigate the complaint according to sections 144A.51 to 144A.54.
- Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.474, subdivision 8, is amended to read: 136.24
- Subd. 8. Correction orders. (a) A correction order may be issued whenever the 136.25 commissioner finds upon survey or during a complaint investigation that a home care 136.26 provider, a managerial official, or an employee of the provider is not in compliance with sections 144A.43 to 144A.482. The correction order shall cite the specific statute and 136.28 document areas of noncompliance and the time allowed for correction. 136.29
- (b) The commissioner shall mail copies of any correction order to the last known address 136.30 of the home care provider, or electronically scan the correction order and e-mail it to the last known home care provider e-mail address, within 30 calendar days after the survey exit

date. A copy of each correction order and copies of any documentation supplied to the commissioner shall be kept on file by the home care provider, and public documents shall be made available for viewing by any person upon request. Copies may be kept electronically.

- (c) By the correction order date, the home care provider must document in the provider's records any action taken to comply with the correction order. The commissioner may request a copy of this documentation and the home care provider's action to respond to the correction order in future surveys, upon a complaint investigation, and as otherwise needed develop and submit to the commissioner a corrective action plan based on the correction order. The corrective action plan must specify the steps the provider will take to comply with the correction order and how to prevent noncompliance in the future, how the provider will monitor its compliance with the corrective action plan, and when the provider plans to complete the steps in the corrective action plan. The commissioner is presumed to accept a corrective action plan unless the commissioner notifies the submitting home care provider that the plan is not accepted within 15 calendar days after the plan is submitted to the commissioner. The commissioner shall monitor the provider's compliance with the corrective action plan.
- Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.53, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 137.17 Subdivision 1. **Powers.** The director may: 137.18
 - (a) Promulgate by rule, pursuant to chapter 14, and within the limits set forth in subdivision 2, the methods by which complaints against health facilities, health care providers, home care providers, or residential care homes, or administrative agencies are to be made, reviewed, investigated, and acted upon; provided, however, that a fee may not be charged for filing a complaint.
- (b) Recommend legislation and changes in rules to the state commissioner of health, 137.24 137.25 governor, administrative agencies or the federal government.
- (c) Investigate, upon a complaint or upon initiative of the director, any action or failure 137.26 to act by a health care provider, home care provider, residential care home, or a health 137.27 facility. 137.28
- (d) Request and receive access to relevant information, records, incident reports, or documents in the possession of an administrative agency, a health care provider, a home 137.30 care provider, a residential care home, or a health facility, and issue investigative subpoenas to individuals and facilities for oral information and written information, including privileged information which the director deems necessary for the discharge of responsibilities. For 137.33

137.1

137.2

137.3

137.4

137.5

137.6

137.7

137.8

137.9

137.10

137.11

137.13

137.14

137.15

137.16

137.19

137.20

137.21

137.22

137.23

137.29

purposes of investigation and securing information to determine violations, the director need not present a release, waiver, or consent of an individual. The identities of patients or residents must be kept private as defined by section 13.02, subdivision 12.

- (e) Enter and inspect, at any time, a health facility or residential care home and be permitted to interview staff; provided that the director shall not unduly interfere with or disturb the provision of care and services within the facility or home or the activities of a patient or resident unless the patient or resident consents.
- (f) Issue correction orders and assess civil fines <u>for all licensing violations or maltreatment</u> determinations, including licensing violations or maltreatment determinations identified in the appeals or review process following final disposition of a maltreatment report or issuance of a citation for a licensing violation. Correction orders shall be issued and civil penalties <u>shall be assessed pursuant</u> to section 144.653 or any other law which provides for the issuance of correction orders to health facilities or home care provider, or under section 144A.45. A facility's or home's refusal to cooperate in providing lawfully requested information may also be grounds for a correction order.
- 138.16 (g) Recommend the certification or decertification of health facilities pursuant to Title
 138.17 XVIII or XIX of the United States Social Security Act.
- (h) Assist patients or residents of health facilities or residential care homes in the enforcement of their rights under Minnesota law.
- (i) Work with administrative agencies, health facilities, home care providers, residential care homes, and health care providers and organizations representing consumers on programs designed to provide information about health facilities to the public and to health facility residents.
- Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.53, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
- Subd. 5. Safety and quality improvement technical panel. The director shall establish an expert technical panel to examine and make recommendations, on an ongoing basis, on how to apply proven safety and quality improvement practices and infrastructure to settings and providers that provide long-term services and supports. The technical panel must include representation from nonprofit Minnesota-based organizations dedicated to patient safety or innovation in health care safety and quality, Department of Health staff with expertise in issues related to adverse health events, the University of Minnesota, organizations representing long-term care providers and home care providers in Minnesota, national patient

138.1

138.2

138.3

138.4

138.5

138.6

138.7

138.8

138.9

138.10

138.11

138.12

138.13

138.14

04/17/18 REVISOR ACF/IL A18-0776

safety experts, and other experts in the safety and quality improvement field. The technical panel shall periodically provide recommendations to the legislature on legislative changes needed to promote safety and quality improvement practices in long-term care settings and with long-term care providers.

Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.53, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

- Subd. 6. Training and operations panel. (a) The director shall establish a training and operations panel within the Office of Health Facility Complaints to examine and make recommendations, on an ongoing basis, on continual improvements to the operation of the office. The training and operations panel shall be composed of office staff, including investigators and intake and triage staff, one or more representatives of the commissioner's office, and employees from any other divisions in the Department of Health with relevant knowledge or expertise. The training and operations panel may also consult with employees from other agencies in state government with relevant knowledge or expertise.
- (b) The training and operations panel shall examine and make recommendations to the director and the commissioner regarding introducing or refining office systems, procedures, and staff training in order to improve office and staff efficiency; enhance communications between the office, health care facilities, home care providers, and residents or clients; and provide for appropriate, effective protection for vulnerable adults through rigorous investigations and enforcement of laws. Panel duties include but are not limited to:
- (1) developing the office's training processes to adequately prepare and support investigators in performing their duties;
- (2) developing clear, consistent internal policies for conducting investigations as required by federal law, including policies to ensure staff meet the deadlines in state and federal laws for triaging, investigating, and making final dispositions of cases involving maltreatment, and procedures for notifying the vulnerable adult, reporter, and facility of any delays in investigations; communicating these policies to staff in a clear, timely manner; and developing procedures to evaluate and modify these internal policies on an ongoing basis;
- (3) developing and refining quality control measures for the intake and triage processes, through such practices as reviewing a random sample of the triage decisions made in case reports or auditing a random sample of the case files to ensure the proper information is being collected, the files are being properly maintained, and consistent triage and investigations determinations are being made;

139.1

139.2

139.3

139.4

139.5

139.6

139.7

139.8

139.9

139.10

139.11

139.13

139.14

139.15

139.16

139.17

139.18

139.19

139.20

139.21

139.22

139.23

139.24

139.25

139.26

139.27

139.28

139.29

139.30

139.31

139.32

140.1	(4) developing and maintaining systems and procedures to accurately determine the
140.2	situations in which the office has jurisdiction over a maltreatment allegation;
140.3	(5) developing and maintaining audit procedures for investigations, to ensure investigators
140.4	obtain and document information necessary to support decisions;
140.5	(6) developing and maintaining procedures to, following a maltreatment determination,
140.6	clearly communicate the appeal or review rights of all parties upon final disposition;
140.7	(7) continuously upgrading the information on and utility of the office's Web site through
140.8	such steps as providing clear, detailed information about the appeal or review rights of
140.9	vulnerable adults, alleged perpetrators, and providers and facilities; and
140.10	(8) publishing, in coordination with other areas at the Department of Health and in the
140.11	manner that does not duplicate information already published by the Department of Health,
140.12	the public portions of all investigation memoranda prepared by the commissioner of health
140.13	in the past three years under section 626.557, subdivision 12b, and the public portions of
140.14	all final orders in the past three years related to licensing violations under this chapter. These
140.15	memoranda and orders must be published in a manner that allows consumers to search
140.16	memoranda and orders by facility or provider name and by the physical location of the
140.17	facility or provider.
140.17 140.18	Sec. 10. [144D.044] INFORMATION REQUIRED TO BE POSTED.
140.18	Sec. 10. [144D.044] INFORMATION REQUIRED TO BE POSTED.
140.18 140.19	Sec. 10. [144D.044] INFORMATION REQUIRED TO BE POSTED. A housing with services establishment must post conspicuously within the establishment,
140.18 140.19 140.20	Sec. 10. [144D.044] INFORMATION REQUIRED TO BE POSTED. A housing with services establishment must post conspicuously within the establishment, in a location accessible to public view, the following information:
140.18 140.19 140.20 140.21	Sec. 10. [144D.044] INFORMATION REQUIRED TO BE POSTED. A housing with services establishment must post conspicuously within the establishment, in a location accessible to public view, the following information: (1) the name and mailing address of the current owner or owners of the establishment
140.18 140.19 140.20 140.21 140.22	Sec. 10. [144D.044] INFORMATION REQUIRED TO BE POSTED. A housing with services establishment must post conspicuously within the establishment, in a location accessible to public view, the following information: (1) the name and mailing address of the current owner or owners of the establishment and, if the owner or owners are not natural persons, identification of the type of business
140.18 140.19 140.20 140.21 140.22 140.23	Sec. 10. [144D.044] INFORMATION REQUIRED TO BE POSTED. A housing with services establishment must post conspicuously within the establishment, in a location accessible to public view, the following information: (1) the name and mailing address of the current owner or owners of the establishment and, if the owner or owners are not natural persons, identification of the type of business entity of the owner or owners;
140.18 140.19 140.20 140.21 140.22 140.23	Sec. 10. [144D.044] INFORMATION REQUIRED TO BE POSTED. A housing with services establishment must post conspicuously within the establishment, in a location accessible to public view, the following information: (1) the name and mailing address of the current owner or owners of the establishment and, if the owner or owners are not natural persons, identification of the type of business entity of the owner or owners; (2) the name and mailing address of the managing agent, through management agreement
140.18 140.19 140.20 140.21 140.22 140.23 140.24 140.25	Sec. 10. [144D.044] INFORMATION REQUIRED TO BE POSTED. A housing with services establishment must post conspicuously within the establishment, in a location accessible to public view, the following information: (1) the name and mailing address of the current owner or owners of the establishment and, if the owner or owners are not natural persons, identification of the type of business entity of the owner or owners; (2) the name and mailing address of the managing agent, through management agreement or lease agreement, of the establishment, if different from the owner or owners, and the
140.18 140.19 140.20 140.21 140.22 140.23 140.24 140.25 140.26	Sec. 10. [144D.044] INFORMATION REQUIRED TO BE POSTED. A housing with services establishment must post conspicuously within the establishment, in a location accessible to public view, the following information: (1) the name and mailing address of the current owner or owners of the establishment and, if the owner or owners are not natural persons, identification of the type of business entity of the owner or owners; (2) the name and mailing address of the managing agent, through management agreement or lease agreement, of the establishment, if different from the owner or owners, and the name of the on-site manager, if any; and
140.18 140.19 140.20 140.21 140.22 140.23 140.24 140.25 140.26	Sec. 10. [144D.044] INFORMATION REQUIRED TO BE POSTED. A housing with services establishment must post conspicuously within the establishment, in a location accessible to public view, the following information: (1) the name and mailing address of the current owner or owners of the establishment and, if the owner or owners are not natural persons, identification of the type of business entity of the owner or owners; (2) the name and mailing address of the managing agent, through management agreement or lease agreement, of the establishment, if different from the owner or owners, and the name of the on-site manager, if any; and (3) the name and mailing address of at least one natural person who is authorized to
140.18 140.19 140.20 140.21 140.22 140.23 140.24 140.25 140.26 140.27	Sec. 10. [144D.044] INFORMATION REQUIRED TO BE POSTED. A housing with services establishment must post conspicuously within the establishment, in a location accessible to public view, the following information: (1) the name and mailing address of the current owner or owners of the establishment and, if the owner or owners are not natural persons, identification of the type of business entity of the owner or owners; (2) the name and mailing address of the managing agent, through management agreement or lease agreement, of the establishment, if different from the owner or owners, and the name of the on-site manager, if any; and (3) the name and mailing address of at least one natural person who is authorized to accept service of process on behalf of the owner or owners and managing agent.

the report, or from participating in the investigation, or for failure to comply fully with the reporting obligation under section 609.234 or 626.557, subdivision 7.

- (b) A person employed by a lead investigative agency or a state licensing agency who is conducting or supervising an investigation or enforcing the law in compliance with this section or any related rule or provision of law is immune from any civil or criminal liability that might otherwise result from the person's actions, if the person is acting in good faith and exercising due care.
- (c) A person who knows or has reason to know a report has been made to a common 141.8 entry point and who in good faith participates in an investigation of alleged maltreatment 141.9 is immune from civil or criminal liability that otherwise might result from making the report, 141.10 or from failure to comply with the reporting obligation or from participating in the 141.11 investigation. 141.12
- (d) The identity of any reporter may not be disclosed, except as provided in subdivision 141.13 subdivisions 9c and 12b. 141.14
- (e) For purposes of this subdivision, "person" includes a natural person or any form of 141.15 a business or legal entity. 141.16
- Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 626.557, subdivision 9c, is amended to read: 141.17
- 141.18 Subd. 9c. Lead investigative agency; notifications, dispositions, determinations. (a) Upon request of the reporter, The lead investigative agency shall notify the reporter that it 141.19 has received the report, and provide information on the initial disposition of the report within 141.20 five business days of receipt of the report, provided that the notification will not endanger 141.21 the vulnerable adult or hamper the investigation. If a vulnerable adult who is the subject of the report, or the vulnerable adult's guardian or health care agent, so inquires, the lead 141.23 investigative agency shall disclose to the person who inquired whether the lead investigative 141.24 agency has received a report from a facility regarding maltreatment of the vulnerable adult. 141.25
- (b) Upon conclusion of every investigation it conducts, the lead investigative agency 141.26 141.27 shall make a final disposition as defined in section 626.5572, subdivision 8.
- (c) When determining whether the facility or individual is the responsible party for substantiated maltreatment or whether both the facility and the individual are responsible 141.29 for substantiated maltreatment, the lead investigative agency shall consider at least the following mitigating factors:
- (1) whether the actions of the facility or the individual caregivers were in accordance 141.32 with, and followed the terms of, an erroneous physician order, prescription, resident care 141.33

141.28

141.30

141.31

141.1

141.2

141.3

141.4

141.5

141.6

plan, or directive. This is not a mitigating factor when the facility or caregiver is responsible for the issuance of the erroneous order, prescription, plan, or directive or knows or should have known of the errors and took no reasonable measures to correct the defect before administering care;

- (2) the comparative responsibility between the facility, other caregivers, and requirements placed upon the employee, including but not limited to, the facility's compliance with related regulatory standards and factors such as the adequacy of facility policies and procedures, the adequacy of facility training, the adequacy of an individual's participation in the training, the adequacy of caregiver supervision, the adequacy of facility staffing levels, and a consideration of the scope of the individual employee's authority; and
- 142.11 (3) whether the facility or individual followed professional standards in exercising professional judgment. 142.12
 - (d) When substantiated maltreatment is determined to have been committed by an individual who is also the facility license holder, both the individual and the facility must be determined responsible for the maltreatment, and both the background study disqualification standards under section 245C.15, subdivision 4, and the licensing actions under section 245A.06 or 245A.07 apply.
- (e) The lead investigative agency shall complete its final disposition within 60 calendar days. If the lead investigative agency is unable to complete its final disposition within 60 calendar days, the lead investigative agency shall notify the following persons provided that the notification will not endanger the vulnerable adult or hamper the investigation: (1) the vulnerable adult or the vulnerable adult's guardian or health care agent, when known, if the lead investigative agency knows them to be aware of the investigation; and (2) the facility, where applicable; and (3) the reporter. The notice shall contain the reason for the delay and the projected completion date. If the lead investigative agency is unable to complete its final disposition by a subsequent projected completion date, the lead investigative agency shall again notify the vulnerable adult or the vulnerable adult's guardian or health care agent, when known if the lead investigative agency knows them to be aware of the investigation, and; the facility, where applicable; and the reporter, of the reason for the delay and the revised projected completion date provided that the notification will not endanger the vulnerable adult or hamper the investigation. The lead investigative agency must notify the health care agent of the vulnerable adult only if the health care agent's authority to make 142.32 health care decisions for the vulnerable adult is currently effective under section 145C.06 and not suspended under section 524.5-310 and the investigation relates to a duty assigned to the health care agent by the principal. A lead investigative agency's inability to complete

142.1

142.2

142.3

142.4

142.5

142.6

142.7

142.8

142.9

142.10

142.13

142.14

142.15

142.16

142.17

142.18

142.19

142.20

142.21

142.22

142.23

142.25

142.26

142.27

142.28

142.29

142.30

142.31

142.33

142 34

the final disposition within 60 calendar days or by any projected completion date does not invalidate the final disposition.

- (f) Within ten calendar days of completing the final disposition, the lead investigative agency shall provide a copy of the public investigation memorandum under subdivision 12b, paragraph (b), clause (1), when required to be completed under this section, to the following persons: (1) the vulnerable adult, or the vulnerable adult's guardian or health care agent, if known, unless the lead investigative agency knows that the notification would endanger the well-being of the vulnerable adult; (2) the reporter, if the reporter requested notification when making the report, provided this notification would not endanger the well-being of the vulnerable adult; (3) the alleged perpetrator, if known; (4) the facility; and (5) the ombudsman for long-term care, or the ombudsman for mental health and developmental disabilities, as appropriate.
- (g) If, as a result of a reconsideration, review, or hearing, the lead investigative agency changes the final disposition, or if a final disposition is changed on appeal, the lead investigative agency shall notify the parties specified in paragraph (f).
- (h) The lead investigative agency shall notify the vulnerable adult who is the subject of the report or the vulnerable adult's guardian or health care agent, if known, and any person or facility determined to have maltreated a vulnerable adult, of their appeal or review rights under this section or section 256.021.
- (i) The lead investigative agency shall routinely provide investigation memoranda for substantiated reports to the appropriate licensing boards. These reports must include the names of substantiated perpetrators. The lead investigative agency may not provide investigative memoranda for inconclusive or false reports to the appropriate licensing boards unless the lead investigative agency's investigation gives reason to believe that there may have been a violation of the applicable professional practice laws. If the investigation memorandum is provided to a licensing board, the subject of the investigation memorandum shall be notified and receive a summary of the investigative findings.
- (j) In order to avoid duplication, licensing boards shall consider the findings of the lead investigative agency in their investigations if they choose to investigate. This does not preclude licensing boards from considering other information.
- 143.31 (k) The lead investigative agency must provide to the commissioner of human services 143.32 its final dispositions, including the names of all substantiated perpetrators. The commissioner 143.33 of human services shall establish records to retain the names of substantiated perpetrators.

143.1

143.2

143.3

143.4

143.5

143.6

143.7

143.8

143.9

143.10

143.11

143.13

143.14

143.15

143.16

143.17

143.18

143.19

143.20

143.21

143.22

143.23

143.25

143.26

143.27

143.28

143.29

Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 626.557, subdivision 9e, is amended to read:

Subd. 9e. Education requirements. (a) The commissioners of health, human services, and public safety shall cooperate in the development of a joint program for education of lead investigative agency investigators in the appropriate techniques for investigation of complaints of maltreatment. This program must be developed by July 1, 1996. The program must include but need not be limited to the following areas: (1) information collection and preservation; (2) analysis of facts; (3) levels of evidence; (4) conclusions based on evidence; (5) interviewing skills, including specialized training to interview people with unique needs; (6) report writing; (7) coordination and referral to other necessary agencies such as law enforcement and judicial agencies; (8) human relations and cultural diversity; (9) the dynamics of adult abuse and neglect within family systems and the appropriate methods for interviewing relatives in the course of the assessment or investigation; (10) the protective social services that are available to protect alleged victims from further abuse, neglect, or financial exploitation; (11) the methods by which lead investigative agency investigators and law enforcement workers cooperate in conducting assessments and investigations in order to avoid duplication of efforts; and (12) data practices laws and procedures, including provisions for sharing data.

- (b) The commissioner of human services shall conduct an outreach campaign to promote the common entry point for reporting vulnerable adult maltreatment. This campaign shall use the Internet and other means of communication.
- (c) The commissioners of health, human services, and public safety shall offer at least annual education to others on the requirements of this section, on how this section is implemented, and investigation techniques.
- (d) The commissioner of human services, in coordination with the commissioner of public safety shall provide training for the common entry point staff as required in this subdivision and the program courses described in this subdivision, at least four times per year. At a minimum, the training shall be held twice annually in the seven-county metropolitan area and twice annually outside the seven-county metropolitan area. The commissioners shall give priority in the program areas cited in paragraph (a) to persons currently performing assessments and investigations pursuant to this section.
- (e) The commissioner of public safety shall notify in writing law enforcement personnel of any new requirements under this section. The commissioner of public safety shall conduct regional training for law enforcement personnel regarding their responsibility under this section.

144.1

144.2

144.3

144.4

144.5

144.6

144.7

144.8

144.9

144.10

144.11

144.12

144.13

144.14

144.15

144.16

144.17

144.18

144.19

144.20

144.21

144.22

144 23

144.24

144.25

144.26

144 27

144.28

144.29

144.30

144.31

144.32

144.33

(f) Each lead investigative agency investigator must complete the education program specified by this subdivision within the first 12 months of work as a lead investigative agency investigator.

A lead investigative agency investigator employed when these requirements take effect must complete the program within the first year after training is available or as soon as training is available.

All lead investigative agency investigators having responsibility for investigation duties under this section must receive a minimum of eight hours of continuing education or in-service training each year specific to their duties under this section.

- (g) The commissioners of health and human services shall develop and maintain written guidance materials for facilities that explain and illustrate the reporting requirements under this section, and the reporting requirements under Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, section 483.12(c) for facilities subject to those requirements.
- Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 626.557, subdivision 12b, is amended to read:
- Subd. 12b. **Data management.** (a) In performing any of the duties of this section as a lead investigative agency, the county social service agency shall maintain appropriate records. Data collected by the county social service agency under this section are welfare data under section 13.46. Notwithstanding section 13.46, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), data under this paragraph that are inactive investigative data on an individual who is a vendor of services are private data on individuals, as defined in section 13.02. The identity of the reporter may only be disclosed as provided in paragraph (c).
 - Data maintained by the common entry point are confidential data on individuals or protected nonpublic data as defined in section 13.02. Notwithstanding section 138.163, the common entry point shall maintain data for three calendar years after date of receipt and then destroy the data unless otherwise directed by federal requirements.
- (b) The commissioners of health and human services shall prepare an investigation memorandum for each report alleging maltreatment investigated under this section. County social service agencies must maintain private data on individuals but are not required to prepare an investigation memorandum. During an investigation by the commissioner of health or the commissioner of human services, data collected under this section are confidential data on individuals or protected nonpublic data as defined in section 13.02. Upon completion of the investigation, the data are classified as provided in clauses (1) to (3) and paragraph (c).

145.1

145.2

145.3

145.4

145.5

145.6

145.7

145.8

145.9

145.10

145.11

145.12

145.13

145.22

145.23

145 24

- (1) The investigation memorandum must contain the following data, which are public:

 (i) the name of the facility investigated;

 (ii) a statement of the nature of the alleged maltreatment;

 (iii) pertinent information obtained from medical or other records reviewed;

 (iv) the identity of the investigator;
- (v) a summary of the investigation's findings;
- (vi) statement of whether the report was found to be substantiated, inconclusive, false, or that no determination will be made;
- (vii) a statement of any action taken by the facility;
- (viii) a statement of any action taken by the lead investigative agency; and
- 146.11 (ix) when a lead investigative agency's determination has substantiated maltreatment, a 146.12 statement of whether an individual, individuals, or a facility were responsible for the 146.13 substantiated maltreatment, if known.
- The investigation memorandum must be written in a manner which protects the identity of the reporter and of the vulnerable adult and may not contain the names or, to the extent possible, data on individuals or private data listed in clause (2).
- 146.17 (2) Data on individuals collected and maintained in the investigation memorandum are private data, including:
- (i) the name of the vulnerable adult;
- (ii) the identity of the individual alleged to be the perpetrator;
- (iii) the identity of the individual substantiated as the perpetrator; and
- (iv) the identity of all individuals interviewed as part of the investigation.
- 146.23 (3) Other data on individuals maintained as part of an investigation under this section are private data on individuals upon completion of the investigation.
- (c) After the assessment or investigation is completed, the name of the reporter must be confidential. The subject of the report may compel disclosure of the name of the reporter only with the consent of the reporter or upon a written finding by a court that the report was false and there is evidence that the report was made in bad faith. This subdivision does not alter disclosure responsibilities or obligations under the Rules of Criminal Procedure, except that where the identity of the reporter is relevant to a criminal prosecution, the district court

shall do an in-camera review prior to determining whether to order disclosure of the identity of the reporter.

- (d) Notwithstanding section 138.163, data maintained under this section by the commissioners of health and human services must be maintained under the following schedule and then destroyed unless otherwise directed by federal requirements:
- 147.6 (1) data from reports determined to be false, maintained for three years after the finding was made;
- 147.8 (2) data from reports determined to be inconclusive, maintained for four years after the 147.9 finding was made;
- 147.10 (3) data from reports determined to be substantiated, maintained for seven years after 147.11 the finding was made; and
- 147.12 (4) data from reports which were not investigated by a lead investigative agency and for which there is no final disposition, maintained for three years from the date of the report.
 - (e) The commissioners of health and human services shall annually publish on their Web sites the number and type of reports of alleged maltreatment involving licensed facilities reported under this section, the number of those requiring investigation under this section, and the resolution of those investigations. On a biennial basis, the commissioners of health and human services shall jointly report the following information to the legislature and the governor:
 - (1) the number and type of reports of alleged maltreatment involving licensed facilities reported under this section, the number of those requiring investigations under this section, the resolution of those investigations, and which of the two lead agencies was responsible;
 - (2) trends about types of substantiated maltreatment found in the reporting period;
- 147.24 (3) if there are upward trends for types of maltreatment substantiated, recommendations 147.25 for preventing, addressing, and responding to them substantiated maltreatment;
- (4) efforts undertaken or recommended to improve the protection of vulnerable adults;
- 147.27 (5) whether and where backlogs of cases result in a failure to conform with statutory
 147.28 time frames and recommendations for reducing backlogs if applicable;
- (6) recommended changes to statutes affecting the protection of vulnerable adults; and
- 147.30 (7) any other information that is relevant to the report trends and findings.
- (f) Each lead investigative agency must have a record retention policy.

147.3

147.4

147.5

147.14

147.15

147.16

147.17

147.18

147.19

147.20

147.21

147.22

- (g) Lead investigative agencies, prosecuting authorities, and law enforcement agencies may exchange not public data, as defined in section 13.02, if the agency or authority requesting the data determines that the data are pertinent and necessary to the requesting agency in initiating, furthering, or completing an investigation under this section. Data collected under this section must be made available to prosecuting authorities and law enforcement officials, local county agencies, and licensing agencies investigating the alleged maltreatment under this section. The lead investigative agency shall exchange not public data with the vulnerable adult maltreatment review panel established in section 256.021 if the data are pertinent and necessary for a review requested under that section.

 Notwithstanding section 138.17, upon completion of the review, not public data received by the review panel must be destroyed.
- (h) Each lead investigative agency shall keep records of the length of time it takes to complete its investigations.
 - (i) A lead investigative agency may notify other affected parties and their authorized representative if the lead investigative agency has reason to believe maltreatment has occurred and determines the information will safeguard the well-being of the affected parties or dispel widespread rumor or unrest in the affected facility.
 - (j) Under any notification provision of this section, where federal law specifically prohibits the disclosure of patient identifying information, a lead investigative agency may not provide any notice unless the vulnerable adult has consented to disclosure in a manner which conforms to federal requirements.
- Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 626.557, subdivision 17, is amended to read:
- Subd. 17. **Retaliation prohibited.** (a) A facility or person shall not retaliate against any person who reports in good faith suspected maltreatment pursuant to this section, or against a vulnerable adult with respect to whom a report is made, because of the report.
- (b) In addition to any remedies allowed under sections 181.931 to 181.935, any facility or person which retaliates against any person because of a report of suspected maltreatment is liable to that person for actual damages, punitive damages up to \$10,000, and attorney fees.
- 148.30 (c) There shall be a rebuttable presumption that any adverse action, as defined below,
 148.31 within 90 days of a report, is retaliatory. For purposes of this clause, the term "adverse
 148.32 action" refers to action taken by a facility or person involved in a report against the person

148.1

148.2

148.3

148.4

148.5

148.6

148.7

148.8

148.9

148.10

148.11

148.14

148.15

148.17

148.18

148.19

148.20

making the report or the person with respect to whom the report was made because of the 149.1 report, and includes, but is not limited to: 149.2 149.3 (1) discharge or transfer from the facility; (2) discharge from or termination of employment; 149.4 149.5 (3) demotion or reduction in remuneration for services; 149.6 (4) restriction or prohibition of access to the facility or its residents; or (5) any restriction of rights set forth in section 144.651, 144A.44, or 144A.441. 149.7 Sec. 16. REPORT; SAFETY AND QUALITY IMPROVEMENT PRACTICES. 149.8 By January 15, 2019, the safety and quality improvement technical panel established 149.9 under Minnesota Statutes, section 144A.53, subdivision 5, shall provide recommendations 149.10 to the legislature on legislative changes needed to promote safety and quality improvement 149.11 149.12 practices in long-term care settings and with long-term care providers. The recommendations must address: 149.13 149.14 (1) how to implement a system for adverse health events reporting, learning, and prevention in long-term care settings and with long-term care providers; and 149.15 149.16 (2) interim actions to improve systems for the timely analysis of reports and complaints submitted to the Office of Health Facility Complaints to identify common themes and key 149.17 prevention opportunities, and to disseminate key findings to providers across the state for 149.18 149.19 the purposes of shared learning and prevention. Sec. 17. REPORT AND RECOMMENDATIONS; IMMEDIATE PENALTIES FOR 149.20 SERIOUS VIOLATIONS OF STATE LAW. 149.21 The commissioner of health shall develop a proposal and draft legislation to allow the 149.22 commissioner to impose immediate penalties on long-term care facilities and providers for 149.23 serious violations of state law. The proposal and draft legislation must determine what 149.24 149.25 actions constitute a serious violation of state law and specify appropriate penalties for each category of serious violation. The commissioner shall develop this proposal in consultation 149.26 with representatives of long-term care facilities, representatives of home care providers, 149.27 and elder justice advocates. The proposal and draft legislation must be submitted to the 149.28 chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over 149.29

149.30

health care or aging and long-term care by January 15, 2019.

Sec. 18. REPORTS; OFFICE OF HEALTH FACILITY COMPLAINTS' RESPONSE

150.2	TO VULNERABLE ADULT MALTREATMENT ALLEGATIONS.
150.3	(a) On a quarterly basis until January 2021, and annually thereafter, the commissioner
150.4	of health must publish on the Department of Health Web site, a report on the Office of
150.5	Health Facility Complaints' response to allegations of maltreatment of vulnerable adults.
150.6	The report must include:
150.7	(1) a description and assessment of the office's efforts to improve its internal processes
150.8	and compliance with federal and state requirements concerning allegations of maltreatment
150.9	of vulnerable adults, including any relevant timelines;
150.10	(2)(i) the number of reports received by type of reporter; (ii) the number of reports
150.11	investigated; (iii) the percentage and number of reported cases awaiting triage; (iv) the
150.12	number and percentage of open investigations; (v) the number and percentage of reports
150.13	that have failed to meet state or federal timelines for triaging, investigating, or making a
150.14	final disposition of an investigation by cause of delay; and (vi) processes the office will
150.15	implement to bring the office into compliance with state and federal timelines for triaging,
150.16	investigating, and making final dispositions of investigations;
150.17	(3) a trend analysis of internal audits conducted by the office; and
150.18	(4) trends and patterns in maltreatment of vulnerable adults, licensing violations by
150.19	facilities or providers serving vulnerable adults, and other metrics as determined by the
150.20	commissioner.
150.21	(b) The commissioner shall maintain on the Department of Health Web site reports
150.22	published under this section for at least the past three years.
150.23	Sec. 19. ASSISTED LIVING AND DEMENTIA CARE LICENSING WORKING
150.24	GROUP.
130.24	<u>GROUI.</u>
150.25	Subdivision 1. Establishment; membership. (a) An assisted living and dementia care
150.26	licensing working group is established.
150.27	(b) The commissioner of health shall appoint the following members of the working
150.28	group:
150.29	(1) four providers from the senior housing with services profession, two providing
150.30	services in the seven-county metropolitan area and two providing services outside the
150.31	seven-county metropolitan area. The providers appointed must include providers from
150.32	establishments of different sizes:

151.1	(2) two persons who reside in senior housing with services establishments, or family
151.2	members of persons who reside in senior housing with services establishments. One resident
151.3	or family member must reside in the seven-county metropolitan area and one resident or
151.4	family member must reside outside the seven-county metropolitan area;
151.5	(3) one representative from the Home Care and Assisted Living Program Advisory
151.6	Council;
151.7	(4) one representative of a health plan company;
151.8	(5) one representative from Care Providers of Minnesota;
151.9	(6) one representative from LeadingAge Minnesota;
151.10	(7) one representative from the Alzheimer's Association;
151.11	(8) one representative from the Metropolitan Area Agency on Aging and one
151.12	representative from an area agency on aging other than the Metropolitan Area Agency on
151.13	Aging;
151.14	(9) one representative from the Minnesota Rural Health Association;
151.15	(10) one federal compliance official; and
151.16	(11) one representative from the Minnesota Home Care Association.
151.17	(c) The following individuals shall also be members of the working group:
151.18	(1) two members of the house of representatives, one appointed by the speaker of the
151.19	house and one appointed by the minority leader;
151.20	(2) two members of the senate, one appointed by the majority leader and one appointed
151.21	by the minority leader;
151.22	(3) one member of the Minnesota Council on Disability or a designee, selected by the
151.23	council;
151.24	(4) one member of the Commission of Deaf, Deafblind and Hard of Hearing Minnesotans
151.25	or a designee, selected by the commission;
151.26	(5) the commissioner of health or a designee;
151.27	(6) the commissioner of human services or a designee;
151.28	(7) the ombudsman for long-term care or a designee; and
151.29	(8) one member of the Minnesota Board of Aging, selected by the board.

152.1	(d) The appointing authorities under this subdivision must complete their appointments
152.2	no later than July 1, 2018.
152.3	Subd. 2. Duties; recommendations. (a) The assisted living and dementia care licensing
152.4	working group shall consider and make recommendations on a new regulatory framework
152.5	for assisted living and dementia care. In developing the licensing framework, the working
152.6	group must address at least the following:
152.7	(1) the appropriate level of regulation, including licensure, registration, or certification;
152.8	(2) coordination of care;
152.9	(3) the scope of care to be provided, and limits on acuity levels of residents;
152.10	(4) consumer rights;
152.11	(5) building design and physical environment;
152.12	(6) dietary services;
152.13	(7) support services;
152.14	(8) transition planning;
152.15	(9) the installation and use of electronic monitoring in settings in which assisted living
152.16	or dementia care services are provided;
152.17	(10) staff training and qualifications;
152.18	(11) options for the engagement of seniors and their families;
152.19	(12) notices and financial requirements; and
152.20	(13) compliance with federal Medicaid waiver requirements for home and
152.21	community-based services settings.
152.22	(b) Facilities and providers licensed by the commissioner of human services shall be
152.23	exempt from licensing requirements for assisted living recommended under this section.
152.24	Subd. 3. Meetings. The commissioner of health or a designee shall convene the first
152.25	meeting of the working group no later than August 1, 2018. The members of the working
152.26	group shall elect a chair from among the group's members at the first meeting, and the
152.27	commissioner of health or a designee shall serve as the working group's chair until a chair
152.28	is elected. Meetings of the working group shall be open to the public.
152.29	Subd. 4. Compensation. Members of the working group appointed under subdivision
152.30	1, paragraph (b), shall serve without compensation or reimbursement for expenses.

153.1	Subd. 5. Administrative support. The commissioner of health shall provide
153.2	administrative support for the working group and arrange meeting space.
153.3	Subd. 6. Report. By January 15, 2019, the working group must submit a report with
153.4	findings, recommendations, and draft legislation to the chairs and ranking minority members
153.5	of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over health and human services policy and
153.6	finance.
153.7	Subd. 7. Expiration. The working group expires January 16, 2019, or the day after the
153.8	working group submits the report required under subdivision 6, whichever is earlier.
153.9	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
153.10	Sec. 20. <u>DEMENTIA CARE CERTIFICATION WORKING GROUP.</u>
153.11	Subdivision 1. Establishment; membership. (a) A dementia care certification working
153.12	group is established.
153.13	(b) The commissioner of health shall appoint the following members of the working
153.14	group:
153.15	(1) two caregivers of persons who have been diagnosed with Alzheimer's disease or
153.16	other dementia, one caregiver residing in the seven-county metropolitan area and one
153.17	caregiver residing outside the seven-county metropolitan area;
153.18	(2) two providers from the senior housing with services profession, one providing services
153.19	in the seven-county metropolitan area and one providing services outside the seven-county
153.20	metropolitan area;
153.21	(3) two geriatricians, one of whom serves a diverse or underserved community;
153.22	(4) one psychologist who specializes in dementia care;
153.23	(5) one representative of the Alzheimer's Association;
153.24	(6) one representative from Care Providers of Minnesota;
153.25	(7) one representative from LeadingAge Minnesota; and
153.26	(8) one representative from the Minnesota Home Care Association.
153.27	(c) The following individuals shall also be members of the working group:
153.28	(1) two members of the house of representatives, one appointed by the speaker of the
153.29	house and one appointed by the minority leader;

154.1	(2) two members of the senate, one appointed by the majority leader and one appointed
154.2	by the minority leader;
154.3	(3) the commissioner of health or a designee;
154.4	(4) the commissioner of human services or a designee;
154.5	(5) the ombudsman for long-term care or a designee;
154.6	(6) one member of the Minnesota Board on Aging, selected by the board; and
154.7	(7) the executive director of the Minnesota Board on Aging, who shall serve as a
154.8	nonvoting member of the working group.
154.9	(d) The appointing authorities under this subdivision must complete their appointments
154.10	no later than July 1, 2018.
154.11	Subd. 2. Duties; recommendations. The dementia care certification working group
154.12	shall consider and make recommendations regarding the certification of providers offering
154.13	dementia care services to clients diagnosed with Alzheimer's disease or other dementias.
154.14	The working group must:
154.15	(1) develop standards in the following areas that nursing homes, boarding care homes,
154.16	and housing with services establishments that offer care for clients diagnosed with
154.17	Alzheimer's disease or other dementias must meet in order to obtain dementia care
154.18	certification: staffing, egress control, access to secured outdoor spaces, specialized therapeutic
154.19	activities, and specialized life enrichment programming;
154.20	(2) develop requirements for disclosing dementia care certification standards to
154.21	consumers; and
154.22	(3) develop mechanisms for enforcing dementia care certification standards.
154.23	Subd. 3. Meetings. The commissioner of health or a designee shall convene the first
154.24	meeting of the working group no later than August 1, 2018. The members of the working
154.25	group shall elect a chair from among the group's members at the first meeting, and the
154.26	commissioner of health or a designee shall serve as the working group's chair until a chair
154.27	is elected. Meetings of the working group shall be open to the public.
154.28	Subd. 4. Compensation. Members of the working group appointed under subdivision
154.29	1, paragraph (b), shall serve without compensation or reimbursement for expenses.
154.30	Subd. 5. Administrative support. The commissioner of health shall provide
154 31	administrative support for the working group and arrange meeting space

155.1	Subd. 6. Report. By January 15, 2019, the working group must submit a report with
155.2	findings, recommendations, and draft legislation to the chairs and ranking minority members
155.3	of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over health and human services policy and
155.4	finance.
155.5	Subd. 7. Expiration. The working group expires January 16, 2019, or the day after the
155.6	working group submits the report required under subdivision 6, whichever is earlier.
155.7	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
155.8	Sec. 21. ASSISTED LIVING REPORT CARD WORKING GROUP.
155.9	Subdivision 1. Establishment; membership. (a) An assisted living report card working
155.10	group, tasked with researching and making recommendations on the development of an
155.11	assisted living report card, is established.
155.12	(b) The commissioner of human services shall appoint the following members of the
155.13	working group:
155.14	(1) two persons who reside in senior housing with services establishments, one residing
155.15	in an establishment in the seven-county metropolitan area and one residing in an
155.16	establishment outside the seven-county metropolitan area;
155.17	(2) four representatives of the senior housing with services profession, two providing
155.18	services in the seven-county metropolitan area and two providing services outside the
155.19	seven-county metropolitan area;
155.20	(3) one family member of a person who resides in a senior housing with services
155.21	establishment in the seven-county metropolitan area, and one family member of a person
155.22	who resides in a senior housing with services establishment outside the seven-county
155.23	metropolitan area;
155.24	(4) a representative from the Home Care and Assisted Living Program Advisory Council;
155.25	(5) a representative from the University of Minnesota with expertise in data and analytics;
155.26	(6) a representative from Care Providers of Minnesota; and
155.27	(7) a representative from LeadingAge Minnesota.
155.28	(c) The following individuals shall also be appointed to the working group:
155.29	(1) the commissioner of human services or a designee;
155.30	(2) the commissioner of health or a designee;

156.1	(3) the ombudsman for long-term care or a designee;
156.2	(4) one member of the Minnesota Board on Aging, selected by the board; and
156.3	(5) the executive director of the Minnesota Board on Aging who shall serve on the
156.4	working group as a nonvoting member.
156.5	(d) The appointing authorities under this subdivision must complete their appointments
156.6	no later than July 1, 2018.
156.7	Subd. 2. Duties. The assisted living report card working group shall consider and make
156.8	recommendations on the development of an assisted living report card. The quality metrics
156.9	considered shall include, but are not limited to:
156.10	(1) an annual customer satisfaction survey measure using the CoreQ questions for assisted
156.11	living residents and family members;
156.12	(2) a measure utilizing level 3 or 4 citations from Department of Health home care survey
156.13	findings and substantiated Office of Health Facility Complaints findings against a home
156.14	care provider;
156.15	(3) a home care staff retention measure; and
156.16	(4) a measure that scores a provider's staff according to their level of training and
156.17	education.
156.18	Subd. 3. Meetings. The commissioner of human services or a designee shall convene
156.19	the first meeting of the working group no later than August 1, 2018. The members of the
156.20	working group shall elect a chair from among the group's members at the first meeting, and
156.21	the commissioner of human services or a designee shall serve as the working group's chair
156.22	until a chair is elected. Meetings of the working group shall be open to the public.
156.23	Subd. 4. Compensation. Members of the working group shall serve without compensation
156.24	or reimbursement for expenses.
156.25	Subd. 5. Administrative support. The commissioner of human services shall provide
156.26	administrative support for the working group and arrange meeting space.
156.27	Subd. 6. Report. By January 15, 2019, the working group must submit a report with
156.28	findings, recommendations, and draft legislation to the chairs and ranking minority members
156.29	of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over health and human services policy and
156.30	finance.
156.31	Subd. 7. Expiration. The working group expires January 16, 2019, or the day after the
156.32	working group submits the report required in subdivision 6, whichever is later.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment. 157.1 **ARTICLE 7** 157.2 **CHILDREN AND FAMILIES** 157.3 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 119B.011, is amended by adding a subdivision 157.4 to read: 157.5 Subd. 13b. **Homeless.** "Homeless" means a self-declared housing status as defined in 157.6 the McKinney-Vento Homeless Assistance Act and United States Code, title 42, section 157.7 11302, paragraph (a). 157.8 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 119B.011, subdivision 20, is amended 157.9 157.10 to read: Subd. 20. **Transition year families.** "Transition year families" means families who have 157.11 received MFIP assistance, or who were eligible to receive MFIP assistance after choosing 157.12 to discontinue receipt of the cash portion of MFIP assistance under section 256J.31, 157.13 subdivision 12, or families who have received DWP assistance under section 256J.95 for 157.15 at least three one of the last six months before losing eligibility for MFIP or DWP. Notwithstanding Minnesota Rules, parts 3400.0040, subpart 10, and 3400.0090, subpart 2, transition year child care may be used to support employment, approved education or training 157.17 programs, or job search that meets the requirements of section 119B.10. Transition year 157.18 child care is not available to families who have been disqualified from MFIP or DWP due 157.19 157.20 to fraud. Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 119B.02, subdivision 7, is amended to read: 157.21 Subd. 7. Child care market rate survey. Biennially, The commissioner shall survey 157.22 prices charged by child care providers in Minnesota every three years to determine the 75th 157.23 percentile for like-care arrangements in county price clusters. 157.24 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective retroactively from the market rate survey 157.25 conducted in calendar year 2016 and applies to any market rate survey conducted after the 157.26 2016 market rate survey. 157.27

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 119B.025, subdivision 1, is amended 158.1 158.2 to read: 158.3 Subdivision 1. Applications. (a) Except as provided in paragraph (c), clause (4), the county shall verify the following at all initial child care applications using the universal 158.4 158.5 application: (1) identity of adults; 158.6 158.7 (2) presence of the minor child in the home, if questionable; (3) relationship of minor child to the parent, stepparent, legal guardian, eligible relative 158.8 caretaker, or the spouses of any of the foregoing; 158.9 (4) age; 158.10 158.11 (5) immigration status, if related to eligibility; (6) Social Security number, if given; 158.12 (7) counted income; 158.13 (8) spousal support and child support payments made to persons outside the household; 158.14 (9) residence; and 158.15 158.16 (10) inconsistent information, if related to eligibility. (b) The county must mail a notice of approval or denial of assistance to the applicant 158.17 within 30 calendar days after receiving the application. The county may extend the response 158.18 time by 15 calendar days if the applicant is informed of the extension. 158.19 (c) For an applicant who declares that the applicant is homeless and who meets the 158.20 definition of homeless in section 119B.011, subdivision 13b, the county must: 158.21 (1) if information is needed to determine eligibility, send a request for information to 158.22 the applicant within five working days after receiving the application; 158.23 (2) if the applicant is eligible, send a notice of approval of assistance within five working 158.24 days after receiving the application; 158.25 (3) if the applicant is ineligible, send a notice of denial of assistance within 30 days after 158.26 receiving the application. The county may extend the response time by 15 calendar days if 158.27 the applicant is informed of the extension; 158.28 (4) not require verifications required by paragraph (a) before issuing the notice of approval 158.29 or denial; and 158.30

159.1	(5) follow limits set by the commissioner for how frequently expedited application
159.2	processing may be used for an applicant who declares that the applicant is homeless.
159.3	(d) An applicant who declares that the applicant is homeless must submit proof of
159.4	eligibility within three months of the date the application was received. If proof of eligibility
159.5	is not submitted within three months, eligibility ends. A 15-day adverse action notice is
159.6	required to end eligibility.
159.7	Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 119B.03, subdivision 9, is amended to read:
159.8	Subd. 9. Portability pool. (a) The commissioner shall establish a pool of up to five
159.9	percent of the annual appropriation for the basic sliding fee program to provide continuous
159.10	child care assistance for eligible families who move between Minnesota counties. At the
159.11	end of each allocation period, any unspent funds in the portability pool must be used for
159.12	assistance under the basic sliding fee program. If expenditures from the portability pool
159.13	exceed the amount of money available, the reallocation pool must be reduced to cover these
159.14	shortages.
159.15	(b) To be eligible for portable basic sliding fee assistance, A family that has moved from
159.16	a county in which it was receiving basic sliding fee assistance to a county with a waiting
159.17	list for the basic sliding fee program must:
159.18	(1) meet the income and eligibility guidelines for the basic sliding fee program; and
159.19	(2) notify the new county of residence within 60 days of moving and submit information
159.20	to the new county of residence to verify eligibility for the basic sliding fee program the
159.21	<u>family</u> 's previous county of residence of the family's move to a new county of residence.
159.22	(c) The receiving county must:
159.23	(1) accept administrative responsibility for applicants for portable basic sliding fee
159.24	assistance at the end of the two months of assistance under the Unitary Residency Act;
159.25	(2) continue portability pool basic sliding fee assistance for the lesser of six months or
159.26	until the family is able to receive assistance under the county's regular basic sliding program
159.27	and
159.28	(3) notify the commissioner through the quarterly reporting process of any family that

meets the criteria of the portable basic sliding fee assistance pool.

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 119B.095, is amended by adding a 160.1 subdivision to read: 160.2

- Subd. 3. Assistance for persons who are experiencing homelessness. An applicant who is homeless and eligible for child care assistance under this chapter is eligible for 60 hours of child care assistance per service period for three months from the date the county receives the application. Additional hours may be authorized as needed based on the applicant's participation in employment, education, or MFIP or DWP employment plan. To continue receiving child care assistance after the initial three months, the parent must verify that the parent meets eligibility and activity requirements for child care assistance under this chapter.
- Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 119B.13, subdivision 1, is amended 160.11 to read: 160.12
- Subdivision 1. Subsidy restrictions. (a) Beginning February 3, 2014 July 1, 2019, the 160.13 maximum rate paid for child care assistance in any county or county price cluster under the 160.14 child care fund shall be the greater of the 25th percentile of the 2011 2016 child care provider 160.15 rate survey under section 119B.02, subdivision 7, or the maximum rate effective November 28, 2011. rates in effect at the time of the update. For a child care provider located within the boundaries of a city located in two or more of the counties of Benton, Sherburne, and 160.18 Stearns, the maximum rate paid for child care assistance shall be equal to the maximum 160.19 rate paid in the county with the highest maximum reimbursement rates or the provider's 160.20 charge, whichever is less. The commissioner may: (1) assign a county with no reported 160.21 provider prices to a similar price cluster; and (2) consider county level access when 160.22 determining final price clusters. 160.23
- (b) A rate which includes a special needs rate paid under subdivision 3 may be in excess of the maximum rate allowed under this subdivision. 160.25
- (c) The department shall monitor the effect of this paragraph on provider rates. The county shall pay the provider's full charges for every child in care up to the maximum 160.27 established. The commissioner shall determine the maximum rate for each type of care on an hourly, full-day, and weekly basis, including special needs and disability care.
- 160.30 (d) If a child uses one provider, the maximum payment for one day of care must not exceed the daily rate. The maximum payment for one week of care must not exceed the 160.31 weekly rate. 160.32

160.3

160.4

160.5

160.6

160.7

160.8

160.9

160.10

160.24

160.26

160.28

(e) If a child uses two providers under section 119B.097, the maximum payment must 161.1 161.2 not exceed: 161.3 (1) the daily rate for one day of care; (2) the weekly rate for one week of care by the child's primary provider; and 161.4 (3) two daily rates during two weeks of care by a child's secondary provider. 161.5 161.6 (f) Child care providers receiving reimbursement under this chapter must not be paid 161.7 activity fees or an additional amount above the maximum rates for care provided during nonstandard hours for families receiving assistance. 161.8 161.9 (g) If the provider charge is greater than the maximum provider rate allowed, the parent is responsible for payment of the difference in the rates in addition to any family co-payment 161.10 161.11 fee. (h) All maximum provider rates changes shall be implemented on the Monday following 161.12 the effective date of the maximum provider rate. 161.13 (i) Notwithstanding Minnesota Rules, part 3400.0130, subpart 7, maximum registration 161.14 fees in effect on January 1, 2013, shall remain in effect. 161.15 (j) For calendar year 2019, notwithstanding section 119B.03, subdivisions 6, 6a, and 161.16 6b, the commissioner must allocate the additional basic sliding fee child care funds for 161.17 calendar year 2019 due to the updated provider rate survey under paragraph (a) to counties 161.18 based on relative need to cover the maximum rate increases. In distributing the additional 161.19 funds, the commissioner shall consider the following factors by county: 161.20 161.21 (1) expenditures; 161.22 (2) provider type; (3) age of children; and 161.23 (4) amount of the increase in maximum rates. 161.24 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 245A.06, subdivision 8, is amended 161.25 to read: 161.26 Subd. 8. Requirement to post correction order conditional license. (a) For licensed 161.27 family child care providers and child care centers, upon receipt of any correction order or 161.28 order of conditional license issued by the commissioner under this section, and 161.29

161.30

161.31

notwithstanding a pending request for reconsideration of the eorrection order or order of

conditional license by the license holder, the license holder shall post the correction order

of order of conditional license in a place that is conspicuous to the people receiving services and all visitors to the facility for two years. When the correction order of order of conditional license is accompanied by a maltreatment investigation memorandum prepared under section 626.556 or 626.557, the investigation memoranda must be posted with the correction order of order of conditional license.

- (b) If the commissioner reverses or rescinds a violation in a correction order upon reconsideration under subdivision 2, the commissioner shall issue an amended correction order and the license holder shall post the amended order according to paragraph (a).
- (c) If the correction order is rescinded or reversed in full upon reconsideration under subdivision 2, the license holder shall remove the original correction order posted according to paragraph (a).
- Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 245A.50, subdivision 7, is amended to read:
- Subd. 7. **Training requirements for family and group family child care.** (a) For purposes of family and group family child care, the license holder and each primary caregiver must complete 16 hours of ongoing training each year. For purposes of this subdivision, a primary caregiver is an adult caregiver who provides services in the licensed setting for more than 30 days in any 12-month period. Repeat of topical training requirements in subdivisions 2 to 8 9 shall count toward the annual 16-hour training requirement. Additional ongoing training subjects to meet the annual 16-hour training requirement must be selected from the following areas:
- (1) child development and learning training under subdivision 2, paragraph (a);
- 162.23 (2) developmentally appropriate learning experiences, including training in creating positive learning experiences, promoting cognitive development, promoting social and emotional development, promoting physical development, promoting creative development; and behavior guidance;
- 162.27 (3) relationships with families, including training in building a positive, respectful relationship with the child's family;
- (4) assessment, evaluation, and individualization, including training in observing, recording, and assessing development; assessing and using information to plan; and assessing and using information to enhance and maintain program quality;

162.1

162.2

162.3

162.4

162.5

162.6

162.7

163.1	(5) historical and contemporary development of early childhood education, including
163.2	training in past and current practices in early childhood education and how current events
163.3	and issues affect children, families, and programs;
163.4	(6) professionalism, including training in knowledge, skills, and abilities that promote
163.5	ongoing professional development; and
163.6	(7) health, safety, and nutrition, including training in establishing healthy practices;
163.7	ensuring safety; and providing healthy nutrition.
163.8	(b) A family or group family child care license holder or primary caregiver who is an
163.9	approved trainer through the Minnesota Center for Professional Development and who
163.10	conducts an approved training course through the Minnesota Center for Professional
163.11	Development in any of the topical training in subdivisions 2 to 9 shall receive training credit
163.12	for the training topic in the applicable annual period. Each hour of approved training
163.13	conducted shall count toward the annual 16-hour training requirement.
163.14	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
163.15	Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256K.45, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
163.16	Subd. 2. Homeless youth report. The commissioner shall prepare a biennial report,
163.17	beginning in February 2015, which provides meaningful information to the legislative
163.18	committees having jurisdiction over the issue of homeless youth, that includes, but is not
163.19	limited to: (1) a list of the areas of the state with the greatest need for services and housing
163.20	for homeless youth, and the level and nature of the needs identified; (2) details about grants
163.21	made; (3) the distribution of funds throughout the state based on population need; (4)
163.22	follow-up information, if available, on the status of homeless youth and whether they have
163.23	stable housing two years after services are provided; and (5) any other outcomes for
163.24	populations served to determine the effectiveness of the programs and use of funding. The
163.25	commissioner is exempt from preparing this report in 2019 and must instead update the
163.26	2007 report on homeless youth under section 16.
163.27	Sec. 11. [256K.46] STABLE HOUSING AND SUPPORT SERVICES FOR
163.28	VULNERABLE YOUTH.
163.29	Subdivision 1. Definitions. For purposes of this section, the following terms have the
163.30	meanings given them:
163.31	(a) "Eligible applicant" means a program licensed by the commissioner of human services
163.32	to provide transitional housing and support services to youth. An eligible applicant must

164.1	have staff on site 24 hours per day and must have established confidentiality protocols as
164.2	required by state and federal law.
164.3	(b) "Living essentials" means clothing, toiletries, transportation, interpreters, other
164.4	supplies, and services necessary for daily living.
164.5	(c) "Support services" has the meaning given in section 256E.33, subdivision 1, paragraph
164.6	(b), and includes crisis intervention, conflict mediation, family reunification services,
164.7	educational services, and employment resources.
164.8	(d) "Transitional housing" means secure shelter and housing that:
164.9	(1) is provided at low or no cost;
164.10	(2) is designed to assist people transitioning from homelessness, family or relationship
164.11	violence, or sexual exploitation, to living independently in the community; and
164.12	(3) provides residents with regular staff interaction, supervision plans, and living skills
164.13	training and assistance.
164.14	(e) "Vulnerable youth" means youth 13 years of age through 17 years of age who have
164.15	reported histories of sexual exploitation or family or relationship violence. Vulnerable youth
164.16	includes youth who are homeless and youth who are parents and their children.
164.17	Subd. 2. Grants authorized. The commissioner of human services may award grants
164.18	to eligible applicants to plan, establish, or operate programs to provide transitional housing
164.19	and support services to vulnerable youth. An applicant may apply for and the commissioner
164.20	may award grants for two-year periods, and the commissioner shall determine the number
164.21	of grants awarded. The commissioner may reallocate underspending among grantees within
164.22	the same grant period.
164.23	Subd. 3. Program variance. For purposes of this grant program, the commissioner may
164.24	grant a program variance under chapter 245A allowing a program licensed to provide
164.25	transitional housing and support services to youth 16 years of age through 17 years of age
164.26	to serve youth 13 years of age through 17 years of age.
164.27	Subd. 4. Allocation of grants. (a) An application must be on a form and contain
164.28	information as specified by the commissioner but at a minimum must contain:
164.29	(1) a description of the purpose or project for which grant funds will be used;
164.30	(2) a description of the specific problem the grant funds are intended to address;
164.31	(3) a description of achievable objectives, a work plan, and a timeline for implementation
164.32	and completion of processes or projects enabled by the grant;

165.1	(4) a description of the eligible applicant's existing frameworks and experience providing
165.2	transitional housing and support services to vulnerable youth; and
165.3	(5) a proposed process for documenting and evaluating results of the grant.
165.4	(b) Grant funds allocated under this section may be used for purposes that include, but
165.5	are not limited to, the following:
165.6	(1) transitional housing, meals, and living essentials for vulnerable youth and their
165.7	children;
165.8	(2) support services;
165.9	(3) mental health and substance use disorder counseling;
165.10	(4) staff training;
165.11	(5) case management and referral services; and
165.12	(6) aftercare and follow-up services, including ongoing adult and peer support.
165.13	(c) The commissioner shall review each application to determine whether the application
165.14	is complete and whether the applicant and the project are eligible for a grant. In evaluating
165.15	applications, the commissioner shall establish criteria including, but not limited to:
165.16	(1) the eligibility of the applicant or project;
165.17	(2) the applicant's thoroughness and clarity in describing the problem grant funds are
165.18	intended to address;
165.19	(3) a description of the population demographics and service area of the proposed project;
165.20	<u>and</u>
165.21	(4) the proposed project's longevity and demonstrated financial sustainability after the
165.22	initial grant period.
165.23	(d) In evaluating applications, the commissioner may request additional information
165.24	regarding a proposed project, including information on project cost. An applicant's failure
165.25	to provide the information requested disqualifies an applicant.
165.26	Subd. 5. Awarding of grants. The commissioner must notify grantees of awards by
165.27	January 1, 2019.
165.28	Subd. 6. Update. The commissioner shall consult with providers serving homeless youth,
165.29	sex-trafficked youth, or sexually exploited youth, including providers serving older youth
165.30	under the Safe Harbor Act and Homeless Youth Act to make recommendations that resolve
165 21	conflicting requirements placed on providers and foster best practices in delivering services

04/17/18 **REVISOR** ACF/IL A18-0776

to these populations of older youth. The recommendations may include the development 166.1 of additional certifications not currently available under Minnesota Rules, chapter 2960. 166.2 166.3 The commissioner shall provide an update on the stakeholder work and recommendations identified through this process to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative 166.4 committees with jurisdiction over health and human services finance and policy by January 166.5 15, 2019. 166.6

- Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256M.41, subdivision 3, is amended to read: 166.7
- Subd. 3. Payments based on performance. (a) The commissioner shall make payments 166.8 166.9 under this section to each county board on a calendar year basis in an amount determined under paragraph (b). 166.10
- 166.11 (b) Calendar year allocations under subdivision 1 shall be paid to counties in the following manner: 166.12
- (1) 80 percent of the allocation as determined in subdivision 1 must be paid to counties 166.13 on or before July 10 of each year;
 - (2) ten percent of the allocation shall be withheld until the commissioner determines if the county has met the performance outcome threshold of 90 percent based on face-to-face contact with alleged child victims. In order to receive the performance allocation, the county child protection workers must have a timely face-to-face contact with at least 90 percent of all alleged child victims of screened-in maltreatment reports. The standard requires that each initial face-to-face contact occur consistent with timelines defined in section 626.556, subdivision 10, paragraph (i). The commissioner shall make threshold determinations in January of each year and payments to counties meeting the performance outcome threshold shall occur in February of each year. Any withheld funds from this appropriation for counties that do not meet this requirement shall be reallocated by the commissioner to those counties meeting the requirement transferred to children and families operations for use under section 626.5591, subdivision 2, to support the Child Welfare Training Academy; and
- (3) ten percent of the allocation shall be withheld until the commissioner determines that the county has met the performance outcome threshold of 90 percent based on face-to-face visits by the case manager. In order to receive the performance allocation, the total number of visits made by caseworkers on a monthly basis to children in foster care and children receiving child protection services while residing in their home must be at least 90 percent of the total number of such visits that would occur if every child were visited 166.32 once per month. The commissioner shall make such determinations in January of each year 166.33 and payments to counties meeting the performance outcome threshold shall occur in February 166.34

166.15

166.16

166.17

166.19

166.20

166.21

166.22

166.23

166.24

166.25

166.26

166.27

166.28

166.29

166.30

of each year. Any withheld funds from this appropriation for counties that do not meet this requirement shall be reallocated by the commissioner to those counties meeting the requirement transferred to children and families operations for use under section 626.5591, subdivision 2, to support the Child Welfare Training Academy. For 2015, the commissioner shall only apply the standard for monthly foster care visits.

(c) The commissioner shall work with stakeholders and the Human Services Performance Council under section 402A.16 to develop recommendations for specific outcome measures that counties should meet in order to receive funds withheld under paragraph (b), and include in those recommendations a determination as to whether the performance measures under paragraph (b) should be modified or phased out. The commissioner shall report the recommendations to the legislative committees having jurisdiction over child protection issues by January 1, 2018.

Sec. 13. [260C.81] MINN-LINK STUDY.

167.1

167.2

167.3

167.4

167.5

167.6

167.7

167.8

167.9

167.10

167.11

- (a) The commissioner of human services shall partner with the University of Minnesota's

 Minn-LInK statewide integrated administrative data project to conduct an annual study to

 understand characteristics, experiences, and outcomes of children and families served by

 the child welfare system. Minn-LInK researchers shall annually conduct research and provide

 research briefs, reports, and consultation to the Child Welfare Training Academy to inform

 the development and revision of training curriculum.
- (b) The commissioner shall report a summary of the research results to the governor and to the committees in the house of representatives and senate with jurisdiction over human services annually by December 15.
- Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 518A.32, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
- Subd. 3. Parent not considered voluntarily unemployed, underemployed, or employed on a less than full-time basis. A parent is not considered voluntarily unemployed, underemployed, or employed on a less than full-time basis upon a showing by the parent that:
- 167.28 (1) the unemployment, underemployment, or employment on a less than full-time basis 167.29 is temporary and will ultimately lead to an increase in income;
- 167.30 (2) the unemployment, underemployment, or employment on a less than full-time basis 167.31 represents a bona fide career change that outweighs the adverse effect of that parent's 167.32 diminished income on the child; or

(3) the unemployment, underemployment, or employment on a less than full-time basis is because a parent is physically or mentally incapacitated or due to incarceration, except where the reason for incarceration is the parent's nonpayment of support.; or

- (4) the parent has been determined by an authorized government agency to be eligible to receive general assistance or Supplemental Security Income payments. Any income, not including public assistance payments, earned by the parent who is eligible for general assistance or Supplemental Security Income payments may be considered for the purpose of calculating child support.
- Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 518A.685, is amended to read:

518A.685 CONSUMER REPORTING AGENCY; REPORTING ARREARS.

- (a) If a public authority determines that an obligor has not paid the current monthly support obligation plus any required arrearage payment for three months, the public authority must report this information to a consumer reporting agency.
- 168.14 (b) Before reporting that an obligor is in arrears for court-ordered child support, the public authority must:
- 168.16 (1) provide written notice to the obligor that the public authority intends to report the
 arrears to a consumer reporting agency; and
- 168.18 (2) mail the written notice to the obligor's last known mailing address at least 30 days before the public authority reports the arrears to a consumer reporting agency.
- 168.20 (c) The obligor may, within 21 days of receipt of the notice, do the following to prevent the public authority from reporting the arrears to a consumer reporting agency:
- (1) pay the arrears in full; or

168.1

168.2

168.3

168.4

168.5

168.6

168.7

168.8

168.9

168.10

168.11

168.12

- 168.23 (2) request an administrative review. An administrative review is limited to issues of mistaken identity, a pending legal action involving the arrears, or an incorrect arrears balance.
- (d) If the public authority has reported that an obligor is in arrears for court-ordered
 child support and subsequently determines that the obligor has paid the court-ordered child
 support arrears in full, or is paying the current monthly support obligation plus any required
 arrearage payment, the public authority must report to the consumer reporting agency that
 the obligor is currently paying child support as ordered by the court.
- (e) (d) A public authority that reports arrearage information under this section must make monthly reports to a consumer reporting agency. The monthly report must be consistent with credit reporting industry standards for child support.

(f) (e) For purposes of this section, "consumer reporting agency" has the meaning given 169.1 in section 13C.001, subdivision 4, and United States Code, title 15, section 1681a(f). 169.2 Sec. 16. 2018 REPORT TO LEGISLATURE ON HOMELESS YOUTH. 169.3 Subdivision 1. Report development. In lieu of the biennial homeless youth report under 169.4 Minnesota Statutes, section 256K.45, subdivision 2, the commissioner of human services 169.5 shall update the information in the 2007 legislative report on runaway and homeless youth. 169.6 In developing the updated report, the commissioner may use existing data, studies, and 169.7 analysis provided by state, county, and other entities including, but not limited to: 169.8 (1) Minnesota Housing Finance Agency analysis on housing availability; 169.9 169.10 (2) Minnesota state plan to end homelessness; (3) continuum of care counts of youth experiencing homelessness and assessments as 169.11 provided by Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD)-required coordinated 169.12 169.13 entry systems; (4) data collected through the Department of Human Services Homeless Youth Act grant 169.14 169.15 program; (5) Wilder Research homeless study; 169.16 169.17 (6) Voices of Youth Count sponsored by Hennepin County; and (7) privately funded analysis, including: 169.18 169.19 (i) nine evidence-based principles to support youth in overcoming homelessness; (ii) return on investment analysis conducted for YouthLink by Foldes Consulting; and 169.20 (iii) evaluation of Homeless Youth Act resources conducted by Rainbow Research. 169.21 Subd. 2. **Key elements**; due date. (a) The report may include three key elements where 169.22 significant learning has occurred in the state since the 2007 report, including: 169.23 169.24 (1) unique causes of youth homelessness; (2) targeted responses to youth homelessness, including significance of positive youth 169.25 development as fundamental to each targeted response; and 169.26 (3) recommendations based on existing reports and analysis on what it will take to end 169.27 youth homelessness. 169.28

169.29

(b) To the extent data is available, the report must include:

170.1	(1) general accounting of the federal and philanthropic funds leveraged to support
170.2	homeless youth activities;
170.3	(2) general accounting of the increase in volunteer responses to support youth
170.4	experiencing homelessness; and
170.5	(3) data-driven accounting of geographic areas or distinct populations that have gaps in
170.6	service or are not yet served by homeless youth responses.
170.7	(c) The commissioner of human services may consult with community-based providers
170.8	of homeless youth services and other expert stakeholders to complete the report. The
170.9	commissioner shall submit the report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the
170.10	legislative committees with jurisdiction over youth homelessness by February 15, 2019.
170.11	Sec. 17. TASK FORCE ON CHILDHOOD TRAUMA-INFORMED POLICY AND
170.12	PRACTICES.
170.13	Subdivision 1. Establishment. The commissioner of human services must establish and
170.14	appoint a task force on trauma-informed policy and practices to prevent and reduce children's
170.15	exposure to adverse childhood experiences (ACEs) consisting of the following members:
170.16	(1) the commissioners of human services, public safety, health, and education or the
170.17	commissioners' designees;
170.18	(2) two members representing law enforcement with expertise in juvenile justice;
170.19	(3) two members representing county social services agencies;
170.20	(4) four members, one representing each of the three ethnic councils established under
170.21	Minnesota Statutes, section 15.0145, and one representing the Indian Affairs Council
170.22	established under Minnesota Statutes, section 3.922;
170.23	(5) two members representing tribal social services providers;
170.24	(6) two members with expertise in prekindergarten through grade 12 education;
170.25	(7) three licensed health care professionals with expertise in the neurobiology of
170.26	childhood development representing public health, mental health, and primary health;
170.27	(8) one member representing family service or children's mental health collaboratives;
170.28	(9) two parents who had ACEs;
170.29	(10) two ombudspersons from the Minnesota Office of Ombudsperson for Families; and

(11) representatives of any other group the commissioner of human services deems 171.1 171.2 appropriate to complete the duties of the task force. 171.3 Subd. 2. Staff. The commissioner of human services must provide meeting space, support staff, and administrative services for the task force. 171.4 171.5 Subd. 3. **Duties.** The task force must perform the following duties: (1) engage the human services, education, public health, juvenile justice, and criminal 171.6 171.7 justice systems in the creation of trauma-informed policy and practices in each of these systems to prevent and reduce ACEs and to support the health and well-being of all families; 171.8 171.9 and (2) identify social determinants of the health and well-being of all families and 171.10 171.11 recommend solutions to eliminate racial and ethnic disparities in the state. Subd. 4. **Report.** The task force must submit a report on the results of its duties outlined 171.12 in subdivision 3 and any policy recommendations to the chairs and ranking minority members 171.13 of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over health and human services, public safety, 171.14 judiciary, and education by January 15, 2019. 171.15 Subd. 5. Expiration. The task force expires upon submission of the report required 171.16 under subdivision 4. 171.17 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment. 171.18 171.19 Sec. 18. CHILD WELFARE TRAINING ACADEMY. 171.20 Subdivision 1. **Modifications.** (a) The commissioner of human services shall modify 171.21 the Child Welfare Training System developed pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 626.5591, subdivision 2, as provided in this section. The new training framework shall be 171.22 known as the Child Welfare Training Academy. 171.23 (b) The Child Welfare Training Academy shall be administered through five regional 171.24 hubs in northwest, northeast, southwest, southeast, and central Minnesota. Each hub shall 171.25 deliver training targeted to the needs of its particular region, taking into account varying 171.26 demographics, resources, and practice outcomes. 171.27 171.28 (c) The Child Welfare Training Academy shall use training methods best suited to the training content. National best practices in adult learning must be used to the greatest extent 171.29 possible, including online learning methodologies, coaching, mentoring, and simulated skill 171.30 application. 171.31

172.1	(d) Each child welfare worker and supervisor shall be required to complete a certification,
172.2	including a competency-based knowledge test and a skills demonstration, at the completion
172.3	of the worker's initial training and biennially thereafter. The commissioner shall develop
172.4	ongoing training requirements and a method for tracking certifications.
172.5	(e) Each regional hub shall have a regional organizational effectiveness specialist trained
172.6	in continuous quality improvement strategies. The specialist shall provide organizational
172.7	change assistance to counties and tribes, with priority given to efforts intended to impact
172.8	child safety.
172.9	(f) The Child Welfare Training Academy shall include training and resources that address
172.10	worker well-being and secondary traumatic stress.
172.11	(g) The Child Welfare Training Academy shall serve the primary training audiences of
172.12	(1) county and tribal child welfare workers, (2) county and tribal child welfare supervisors,
172.13	and (3) staff at private agencies providing out-of-home placement services for children
172.14	involved in Minnesota's county and tribal child welfare system.
172.15	Subd. 2. Partners. (a) The commissioner of human services shall enter into a partnership
172.16	with the University of Minnesota to collaborate in the administration of workforce training.
172.17	(b) The commissioner of human services shall enter into a partnership with one or more
172.18	agencies to provide consultation, subject matter expertise, and capacity building in
172.19	organizational resilience and child welfare workforce well-being.
172.20	Sec. 19. CHILD WELFARE CASELOAD STUDY.
172.21	(a) The commissioner of human services shall conduct a child welfare caseload study
172.22	to collect data on (1) the number of child welfare workers in Minnesota, and (2) the amount
172.23	of time that child welfare workers spend on different components of child welfare work.
172.24	The study must be completed by July 1, 2019.
172.25	(b) The commissioner shall report the results of the child welfare caseload study to the
172.26	governor and to the committees in the house of representatives and senate with jurisdiction
172.27	over human services by December 1, 2019.
172.28	(c) After the child welfare caseload study is complete, the commissioner shall work with
172.29	counties and other stakeholders to develop a process for ongoing monitoring of child welfare
172.30	workers' caseloads.

173.1 Sec. 20. RULEMAKING.

The commissioner of human services may adopt rules as necessary to establish the Child

173.3 Welfare Training Academy.

Sec. 21.	REVISOR'S	INSTRUCTION.

- 173.5 The revisor of statutes, in consultation with the Department of Human Services, House
- 173.6 Research Department, and Senate Counsel, Research and Fiscal Analysis shall change the
- terms "food support" and "food stamps" to "Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program"
- or "SNAP" in Minnesota Statutes and Minnesota Rules when appropriate. The revisor may
- make technical and other necessary changes to sentence structure to preserve the meaning
- 173.10 of the text.

173.4

Sec. 22. **EFFECTIVE DATE.**

- (a) Sections 1, 2, and 4 to 7 are effective as soon as practicable contingent upon:
- (1) receipt of additional federal child care and development funds above the amount
- 173.14 received in federal fiscal year 2017 appropriated in the federal Consolidated Appropriations
- 173.15 Act of 2018, Public Law 115-141, and any subsequent federal appropriations, in an amount
- sufficient to cover the cost associated with the amendments to those sections through June
- 173.17 30, 2021; and
- 173.18 (2) satisfactory completion of the requirements in Minnesota Statutes, section 3.3005.
- (b) If the additional federal child care and development funds are not sufficient to cover
- the cost of the amendments to sections 1, 2, and 4 to 7, those sections are effective upon
- implementation by the commissioner of human services.
- 173.22 The commissioner of human services shall prioritize implementation of those sections as
- 173.23 follows:
- (1) first priority is implementation of the amendments to Minnesota Statutes, sections
- 173.25 119B.011, subdivision 13b; 119B.025, subdivision 1; and 119B.095, subdivision 3;
- 173.26 (2) second priority is implementation of the amendments to Minnesota Statutes, section
- 173.27 <u>119B.011</u>, subdivision 20;
- 173.28 (3) third priority is implementation of the amendments to Minnesota Statutes, section
- 173.29 119B.03, subdivision 9; and
- 173.30 (4) fourth priority is implementation of the amendments to Minnesota Statutes, section
- 173.31 119B.13, subdivision 1.

04/17/18 REVISOR ACF/IL A18-0776

(c) The commissioner of human services shall determine if the additional child care and development funds are sufficient by June 30, 2018, and notify the revisor of statutes when sections 1, 2, and 4 to 7 are effective.

ARTICLE 8

174.1

174.2

174.3

174.4

174.5

174.6

174.7

174.8

174.9

174.10

174.11

174.12

174 13

174.14

174.15

174.17

174.18

174.19

174.20

174.21

174.22

174.24

174.25

174.26

174.27

174.28

174.29

174.30

174.31

HEALTH LICENSING BOARDS

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 13.83, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Public data. Unless specifically classified otherwise by state statute or federal law, the following data created or collected by a medical examiner or coroner on a deceased individual are public: name of the deceased; date of birth; date of death; address; sex; race; citizenship; height; weight; hair color; eye color; build; complexion; age, if known, or approximate age; identifying marks, scars and amputations; a description of the decedent's clothing; marital status; location of death including name of hospital where applicable; name of spouse; whether or not the decedent ever served in the armed forces of the United States; occupation; business; father's name (also birth name, if different); mother's name (also birth name, if different); birthplace; birthplace of parents; cause of death; causes of cause of death; whether an autopsy was performed and if so, whether it was conclusive; date and place of injury, if applicable, including work place; how injury occurred; whether death was caused by accident, suicide, homicide, or was of undetermined cause; certification of attendance by physician or advanced practice registered nurse; physician's or advanced practice registered nurse's name and address; certification by coroner or medical examiner; name and signature of coroner or medical examiner; type of disposition of body; burial place name and location, if applicable; date of burial, cremation or removal; funeral home name and address; and name of local register or funeral director.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144.651, subdivision 21, is amended to read:

Subd. 21. **Communication privacy.** Patients and residents may associate and communicate privately with persons of their choice and enter and, except as provided by the Minnesota Commitment Act, leave the facility as they choose. Patients and residents shall have access, at their expense, to writing instruments, stationery, and postage. Personal mail shall be sent without interference and received unopened unless medically or programmatically contraindicated and documented by the physician <u>or advanced practice registered nurse</u> in the medical record. There shall be access to a telephone where patients and residents can make and receive calls as well as speak privately. Facilities which are unable to provide a private area shall make reasonable arrangements to accommodate the

privacy of patients' or residents' calls. Upon admission to a facility where federal law prohibits unauthorized disclosure of patient or resident identifying information to callers and visitors, the patient or resident, or the legal guardian or conservator of the patient or resident, shall be given the opportunity to authorize disclosure of the patient's or resident's presence in the facility to callers and visitors who may seek to communicate with the patient or resident. To the extent possible, the legal guardian or conservator of a patient or resident shall consider the opinions of the patient or resident regarding the disclosure of the patient's or resident's presence in the facility. This right is limited where medically inadvisable, as documented by the attending physician or advanced practice registered nurse in a patient's or resident's care record. Where programmatically limited by a facility abuse prevention plan pursuant to section 626.557, subdivision 14, paragraph (b), this right shall also be limited accordingly.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.26, is amended to read:

175.14 **144A.26 RECIPROCITY WITH OTHER STATES AND EQUIVALENCY OF**175.15 **HEALTH SERVICES EXECUTIVE.**

Subdivision 1. Reciprocity. The Board of Examiners may issue a nursing home administrator's license, without examination, to any person who holds a current license as a nursing home administrator from another jurisdiction if the board finds that the standards for licensure in the other jurisdiction are at least the substantial equivalent of those prevailing in this state and that the applicant is otherwise qualified.

Subd. 2. **Health services executive license.** The Board of Examiners may issue a health services executive license to any person who (1) has been validated by the National Association of Long Term Care Administrator Boards as a health services executive, and (2) has met the education and practice requirements for the minimum qualifications of a nursing home administrator, assisted living administrator, and home and community-based service provider. Licensure decisions made by the board under this subdivision are final.

- Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.4791, subdivision 13, is amended to read:
- Subd. 13. **Request for discontinuation of life-sustaining treatment.** (a) If a client, family member, or other caregiver of the client requests that an employee or other agent of the home care provider discontinue a life-sustaining treatment, the employee or agent receiving the request:
- 175.32 (1) shall take no action to discontinue the treatment; and

175.1

175.2

175.3

175.4

175.5

175.6

175.7

175.8

175.9

175.10

175.11

175.12

175.16

175.17

175.18

175.19

175.20

175.21

175.22

175.23

175.24

175.25

175.26

0.4/4.7/4.0		. ~ .	
04/17/18	REVISOR	ACF/IL	A18-0776
U 1 /1//10	KE VISOK	ACI/IL	A10-0//

176.1	(2) shall promptly inform the supervisor or other agent of the home care provider of the
176.2	client's request.
176.3	(b) Upon being informed of a request for termination of treatment, the home care provider
176.4	shall promptly:
176.5	(1) inform the client that the request will be made known to the physician or advanced
176.6	practice registered nurse who ordered the client's treatment;
176.7	(2) inform the physician or advanced practice registered nurse of the client's request;
176.8	and
176.9	(3) work with the client and the client's physician or advanced practice registered nurse
176.10	to comply with the provisions of the Health Care Directive Act in chapter 145C.
176.11	(c) This section does not require the home care provider to discontinue treatment, except
176.12	as may be required by law or court order.
176.13	(d) This section does not diminish the rights of clients to control their treatments, refuse
176.14	services, or terminate their relationships with the home care provider.
176.15	(e) This section shall be construed in a manner consistent with chapter 145B or 145C,
176.16	whichever applies, and declarations made by clients under those chapters.
176.17	Sec. 5. [148.2855] NURSE LICENSURE COMPACT.
176.18	The Nurse Licensure Compact is enacted into law and entered into with all other
176.19	jurisdictions legally joining in it, in the form substantially as follows:
176.20	ARTICLE I
176.21	<u>DEFINITIONS</u>
176.22	As used in this compact:
176.23	(a) "Adverse action" means any administrative, civil, equitable, or criminal action
176.24	permitted by a state's law that is imposed by a licensing board or other authority against a
176.25	nurse, including actions against an individual's license or multistate licensure privilege such
176.26	as revocation, suspension, probation, monitoring of the licensee, limitation on the licensee's
176.27	practice, or any other encumbrance on licensure affecting a nurse's authorization to practice,
176.28	including issuance of a cease and desist action.
176.29	(b) "Alternative program" means a nondisciplinary monitoring program approved by a
176.30	licensing board.

177.1	(c) "Coordinated licensure information system" means an integrated process for collecting
177.2	storing, and sharing information on nurse licensure and enforcement activities related to
177.3	nurse licensure laws that is administered by a nonprofit organization composed of and
177.4	controlled by licensing boards.
177.5	(d) "Current significant investigative information" means:
177.6	(1) investigative information that a licensing board, after a preliminary inquiry that
177.7	includes notification and an opportunity for the nurse to respond, if required by state law,
177.8	has reason to believe is not groundless and, if proved true, would indicate more than a minor
177.9	infraction; or
177.10	(2) investigative information that indicates that the nurse represents an immediate threat
177.11	to public health and safety, regardless of whether the nurse has been notified and had an
177.12	opportunity to respond.
177.13	(e) "Encumbrance" means a revocation or suspension of, or any limitation on, the full
177.14	and unrestricted practice of nursing imposed by a licensing board.
177.15	(f) "Home state" means the party state which is the nurse's primary state of residence.
177.16	(g) "Licensing board" means a party state's regulatory body responsible for issuing nurse
177.17	licenses.
177.18	(h) "Multistate license" means a license to practice as a registered or a licensed
177.19	practical/vocational nurse (LPN/VN) issued by a home state licensing board that authorizes
177.20	the licensed nurse to practice in all party states under a multistate licensure privilege.
177.21	(i) "Multistate licensure privilege" means a legal authorization associated with a multistate
177.22	license permitting the practice of nursing as either a registered nurse (RN) or licensed
177.23	practical/vocational nurse (LPN/VN) in a remote state.
177.24	(j) "Nurse" means a registered nurse (RN) or licensed practical/vocational nurse
177.25	(LPN/VN), as those terms are defined by each party state's practice laws.
177.26	(k) "Party state" means any state that has adopted this compact.
177.27	(l) "Remote state" means a party state, other than the home state.
177.28	(m) "Single-state license" means a nurse license issued by a party state that authorizes
177.29	practice only within the issuing state and does not include a multistate licensure privilege
177.30	to practice in any other party state.
177.31	(n) "State" means a state, territory, or possession of the United States and the District
177.32	of Columbia.

(o) "State practice laws" means a party state's laws, rules, and regulations that govern 178.1 the practice of nursing, define the scope of nursing practice, and create the methods and 178.2 178.3 grounds for imposing discipline. State practice laws do not include requirements necessary to obtain and retain a license, except for qualifications or requirements of the home state. 178.4 178.5 ARTICLE II GENERAL PROVISIONS AND JURISDICTION 178.6 178.7 (a) A multistate license to practice registered or licensed practical/vocational nursing issued by a home state to a resident in that state will be recognized by each party state as 178.8 authorizing a nurse to practice as an RN or as a LPN/VN under a multistate licensure 178.9 privilege in each party state. 178.10 (b) A state must implement procedures for considering the criminal history records of 178.11 applicants for initial multistate license or licensure by endorsement. Such procedures shall 178.12 include the submission of fingerprints or other biometric-based information by applicants 178.13 for the purpose of obtaining an applicant's criminal history record information from the 178.14 Federal Bureau of Investigation and the agency responsible for retaining that state's criminal 178.15 178.16 records. (c) Each party state shall require the following for an applicant to obtain or retain a 178.17 multistate license in the home state: 178.18 (1) meets the home state's qualifications for licensure or renewal of licensure, as well 178.19 as all other applicable state laws; 178.20 (2)(i) has graduated or is eligible to graduate from a licensing board-approved RN or 178.21 LPN/VN prelicensure education program; or 178.22 (ii) has graduated from a foreign RN or LPN/VN prelicensure education program that: 178.23 (A) has been approved by the authorized accrediting body in the applicable country; and 178.24 178.25 (B) has been verified by an independent credentials review agency to be comparable to a licensing board-approved prelicensure education program; 178.26 (3) has, if a graduate of a foreign prelicensure education program not taught in English 178.27 or if English is not the individual's native language, successfully passed an English 178.28 proficiency examination that includes the components of reading, speaking, writing, and 178.29 listening; 178.30 178.31 (4) has successfully passed an NCLEX-RN or NCLEX-PN Examination or recognized predecessor, as applicable; 178.32

(5) is eligible for or holds an active, unencumbere	d license;
---	------------

179.1

179.2

179.3

179.4

179.5

- (6) has submitted, in connection with an application for initial licensure or licensure by endorsement, fingerprints, or other biometric data for the purpose of obtaining criminal history record information from the Federal Bureau of Investigation and the agency responsible for retaining that state's criminal records;
- 179.6 (7) has not been convicted or found guilty, or has entered into an agreed disposition, of 179.7 a felony offense under applicable state or federal criminal law;
- 179.8 (8) has not been convicted or found guilty, or has entered into an agreed disposition, of
 a misdemeanor offense related to the practice of nursing as determined on a case-by-case
 basis;
- (9) is not currently enrolled in an alternative program;
- (10) is subject to self-disclosure requirements regarding current participation in an alternative program; and
- (11) has a valid United States Social Security number.
- (d) All party states shall be authorized, in accordance with existing state due process
 law, to take adverse action against a nurse's multistate licensure privilege such as revocation,
 suspension, probation, or any other action that affects a nurse's authorization to practice
 under a multistate licensure privilege, including cease and desist actions. If a party state
 takes such action, it shall promptly notify the administrator of the coordinated licensure
 information system. The administrator of the coordinated licensure information system shall
 promptly notify the home state of any such actions by remote states.
- (e) A nurse practicing in a party state must comply with the state practice laws of the
 state in which the client is located at the time service is provided. The practice of nursing
 is not limited to patient care, but shall include all nursing practice as defined by the state
 practice laws of the party state in which the client is located. The practice of nursing in a
 party state under a multistate licensure privilege will subject a nurse to the jurisdiction of
 the licensing board, the courts, and the laws of the party state in which the client is located
 at the time service is provided.
 - (f) Individuals not residing in a party state shall continue to be able to apply for a party state's single-state license as provided under the laws of each party state. However, the single-state license granted to these individuals will not be recognized as granting the privilege to practice nursing in any other party state. Nothing in this compact shall affect the requirements established by a party state for the issuance of a single-state license.

179.29

179.30

179.31

179.32

180.1	(g) Any nurse holding a home state multistate license, on the effective date of this
180.2	compact, may retain and renew the multistate license issued by the nurse's then-current
180.3	home state, provided that:
180.4	(1) a nurse, who changes primary state of residence after this compact's effective date,
180.5	must meet all applicable paragraph (c) requirements to obtain a multistate license from a
180.6	new home state; or
180.7	(2) a nurse who fails to satisfy the multistate licensure requirements in paragraph (c)
180.8	due to a disqualifying event occurring after this compact's effective date shall be ineligible
180.9	to retain or renew a multistate license, and the nurse's multistate license shall be revoked
180.10	or deactivated in accordance with applicable rules adopted by the Interstate Commission
180.11	of Nurse Licensure Compact Administrators ("Commission").
180.12	ARTICLE III
180.13	APPLICATIONS FOR LICENSURE IN A PARTY STATE
180.14	(a) Upon application for a multistate license, the licensing board in the issuing party
180.15	state shall ascertain, through the coordinated licensure information system, whether the
180.16	applicant has ever held, or is the holder of, a license issued by any other state, whether there
180.17	are any encumbrances on any license or multistate licensure privilege held by the applicant,
180.18	whether any adverse action has been taken against any license or multistate licensure privilege
180.19	held by the applicant, and whether the applicant is currently participating in an alternative
180.20	program.
180.21	(b) A nurse may hold a multistate license, issued by the home state, in only one party
180.22	state at a time.
180.23	(c) If a nurse changes primary state of residence by moving between two party states,
180.24	the nurse must apply for licensure in the new home state, and the multistate license issued
180.25	by the prior home state will be deactivated in accordance with applicable rules adopted by
180.26	the commission:
180.27	(1) the nurse may apply for licensure in advance of a change in primary state of residence;
180.28	and
180.29	(2) a multistate license shall not be issued by the new home state until the nurse provides
180.30	satisfactory evidence of a change in primary state of residence to the new home state and

satisfies all applicable requirements to obtain a multistate license from the new home state.

(d) If a nurse changes primary state of residence by moving from a party state to a 181.1 nonparty state, the multistate license issued by the prior home state will convert to a 181.2 181.3 single-state license, valid only in the former home state. ARTICLE IV 181.4 181.5 ADDITIONAL AUTHORITIES INVESTED IN PARTY STATE LICENSING BOARDS (a) In addition to the other powers conferred by state law, a licensing board shall have 181.6 181.7 the authority to: (1) take adverse action against a nurse's multistate licensure privilege to practice within 181.8 181.9 that party state: 181.10 (i) only the home state shall have the power to take adverse action against a nurse's license issued by the home state; and 181.11 181.12 (ii) for purposes of taking adverse action, the home state licensing board shall give the same priority and effect to reported conduct received from a remote state as it would if such 181.13 conduct occurred within the home state. In so doing, the home state shall apply its own state 181.14 laws to determine appropriate action; 181.15 181.16 (2) issue cease and desist orders or impose an encumbrance on a nurse's authority to practice within that party state; 181.17 (3) complete any pending investigations of a nurse who changes primary state of residence 181.18 during the course of such investigations. The licensing board shall also have the authority 181.19 to take appropriate action(s) and shall promptly report the conclusions of such investigations 181.20 to the administrator of the coordinated licensure information system. The administrator of the coordinated licensure information system shall promptly notify the new home state of 181.22 any such actions; 181 23 (4) issue subpoenas for both hearings and investigations that require the attendance and 181.24 testimony of witnesses, as well as the production of evidence. Subpoenas issued by a licensing board in a party state for the attendance and testimony of witnesses or the production of 181.26 evidence from another party state shall be enforced in the latter state by any court of 181.27 competent jurisdiction, according to the practice and procedure of that court applicable to 181 28 subpoenas issued in proceedings pending before it. The issuing authority shall pay any 181.29 witness fees, travel expenses, mileage, and other fees required by the service statutes of the 181.30 state in which the witnesses or evidence are located; 181.31 (5) obtain and submit, for each nurse licensure applicant, fingerprint, or other 181.32

181.33

biometric-based information to the Federal Bureau of Investigation for criminal background

182.1	checks, receive the results of the Federal Bureau of Investigation record search on criminal
182.2	background checks, and use the results in making licensure decisions;
182.3	(6) if otherwise permitted by state law, recover from the affected nurse the costs of
182.4	investigations and disposition of cases resulting from any adverse action taken against that
182.5	nurse; and
182.6	(7) take adverse action based on the factual findings of the remote state, provided that
182.7	the licensing board follows its own procedures for taking such adverse action.
182.8	(b) If adverse action is taken by the home state against a nurse's multistate license, the
182.9	nurse's multistate licensure privilege to practice in all other party states shall be deactivated
182.10	until all encumbrances have been removed from the multistate license. All home state
182.11	disciplinary orders that impose adverse action against a nurse's multistate license shall
182.12	include a statement that the nurse's multistate licensure privilege is deactivated in all party
182.13	states during the pendency of the order.
182.14	(c) Nothing in this compact shall override a party state's decision that participation in
182.15	an alternative program may be used in lieu of adverse action. The home state licensing board
182.16	shall deactivate the multistate licensure privilege under the multistate license of any nurse
182.17	for the duration of the nurse's participation in an alternative program.
182.18	ARTICLE V
182.19	COORDINATED LICENSURE INFORMATION SYSTEM AND EXCHANGE OF
182.20	INFORMATION
182.21	(a) All party states shall participate in a coordinated licensure information system of all
182.22	licensed registered nurses (RNs) and licensed practical/vocational nurses (LPN/VNs). This
182.23	system will include information on the licensure and disciplinary history of each nurse, as
182.24	submitted by party states, to assist in the coordination of nurse licensure and enforcement
182.25	efforts.
182.26	(b) The commission, in consultation with the administrator of the coordinated licensure
182.27	information system, shall formulate necessary and proper procedures for the identification,
182.28	collection, and exchange of information under this compact.
182.29	(c) All licensing boards shall promptly report to the coordinated licensure information
182.30	system any adverse action, any current significant investigative information, denials of
182.31	applications, including the reasons for such denials, and nurse participation in alternative
182.32	programs known to the licensing board, regardless of whether such participation is deemed

183.1	(d) Current significant investigative information and participation in nonpublic or
183.2	confidential alternative programs shall be transmitted through the coordinated licensure
183.3	information system only to party state licensing boards.
183.4	(e) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, all party state licensing boards
183.5	contributing information to the coordinated licensure information system may designate
183.6	information that may not be shared with nonparty states or disclosed to other entities or
183.7	individuals without the express permission of the contributing state.
183.8	(f) Any personally identifiable information obtained from the coordinated licensure
183.9	information system by a party state licensing board shall not be shared with nonparty states
183.10	or disclosed to other entities or individuals except to the extent permitted by the laws of the
183.11	party state contributing the information.
183.12	(g) Any information contributed to the coordinated licensure information system that is
183.13	subsequently required to be expunged by the laws of the party state contributing that
183.14	information shall also be expunged from the coordinated licensure information system.
183.15	(h) The compact administrator of each party state shall furnish a uniform data set to the
183.16	compact administrator of each other party state, which shall include, at a minimum:
183.17	(1) identifying information;
183.18	(2) licensure data;
183.19	(3) information related to alternative program participation; and
183.20	(4) other information that may facilitate the administration of this compact, as determined
183.21	by commission rules.
183.22	(i) The compact administrator of a party state shall provide all investigative documents
183.23	and information requested by another party state.
183.24	ARTICLE VI
183.25	ESTABLISHMENT OF THE INTERSTATE COMMISSION OF NURSE LICENSURE
183.26	COMPACT ADMINISTRATORS
183.27	(a) The party states hereby create and establish a joint public entity known as the Interstate
183.28	Commission of Nurse Licensure Compact Administrators:
183.29	(1) the commission is an instrumentality of the party states;
183.30	(2) venue is proper, and judicial proceedings by or against the commission shall be
183.31	brought solely and exclusively, in a court of competent jurisdiction where the principal

184.1	office of the commission is located. The commission may waive venue and jurisdictional
184.2	defenses to the extent it adopts or consents to participate in alternative dispute resolution
184.3	proceedings; and
184.4	(3) nothing in this compact shall be construed to be a waiver of sovereign immunity.
184.5	(b) Membership, voting, and meetings:
184.6	(1) each party state shall have and be limited to one administrator. The head of the state
184.7	licensing board or designee shall be the administrator of this compact for each party state.
184.8	Any administrator may be removed or suspended from office as provided by the law of the
184.9	state from which the administrator is appointed. Any vacancy occurring in the commission
184.10	shall be filled in accordance with the laws of the party state in which the vacancy exists;
184.11	(2) each administrator shall be entitled to one vote with regard to the promulgation of
184.12	rules and creation of bylaws and shall otherwise have an opportunity to participate in the
184.13	business and affairs of the commission. An administrator shall vote in person or by such
184.14	other means as provided in the bylaws. The bylaws may provide for an administrator's
184.15	participation in meetings by telephone or other means of communication;
184.16	(3) the commission shall meet at least once during each calendar year. Additional
184.17	meetings shall be held as set forth in the bylaws or rules of the commission;
184.18	(4) all meetings shall be open to the public, and public notice of meetings shall be given
184.19	in the same manner as required under the rulemaking provisions in article VII;
184.20	(5) the commission may convene in a closed, nonpublic meeting if the commission must
184.21	discuss:
184.22	(i) noncompliance of a party state with its obligations under this compact;
184.23	(ii) the employment, compensation, discipline, or other personnel matters, practices, or
184.24	procedures related to specific employees or other matters related to the commission's internal
184.25	personnel practices and procedures;
184.26	(iii) current, threatened, or reasonably anticipated litigation;
184.27	(iv) negotiation of contracts for the purchase or sale of goods, services, or real estate;
184.28	(v) accusing any person of a crime or formally censuring any person;
184.29	(vi) disclosure of trade secrets or commercial or financial information that is privileged
184.30	or confidential;

(vii) disclosure of information of a personal nature where disclosure would constitute a

185.2	clearly unwarranted invasion of personal privacy;
185.3	(viii) disclosure of investigatory records compiled for law enforcement purposes;
185.4	(ix) disclosure of information related to any reports prepared by or on behalf of the
185.5	commission for the purpose of investigation of compliance with this compact; or
185.6	(x) matters specifically exempted from disclosure by federal or state statute; and
185.7	(6) if a meeting, or portion of a meeting, is closed pursuant to this provision, the
185.8	commission's legal counsel or designee shall certify that the meeting may be closed and
185.9	shall reference each relevant exempting provision. The commission shall keep minutes that
185.10	fully and clearly describe all matters discussed in a meeting and shall provide a full and
185.11	accurate summary of actions taken, and the reasons therefore, including a description of the
185.12	views expressed. All documents considered in connection with an action shall be identified
185.13	in minutes. All minutes and documents of a closed meeting shall remain under seal, subject
185.14	to release by a majority vote of the commission or order of a court of competent jurisdiction
185.15	(c) The commission shall, by a majority vote of the administrators, prescribe bylaws or
185.16	rules to govern its conduct as may be necessary or appropriate to carry out the purposes and
185.17	exercise the powers of this compact, including, but not limited to:
185.18	(1) establishing the fiscal year of the commission;
185.19	(2) providing reasonable standards and procedures:
185.20	(i) for the establishment and meetings of other committees; and
185.21	(ii) governing any general or specific delegation of any authority or function of the
185.22	commission;
185.23	(3) providing reasonable procedures for calling and conducting meetings of the
185.24	commission, ensuring reasonable advance notice of all meetings and providing an opportunity
185.25	for attendance of such meetings by interested parties, with enumerated exceptions designed
185.26	to protect the public's interest, the privacy of individuals, and proprietary information,
185.27	including trade secrets. The commission may meet in closed session only after a majority
185.28	of the administrators vote to close a meeting in whole or in part. As soon as practicable, the
185.29	commission must make public a copy of the vote to close the meeting revealing the vote of
185.30	each administrator, with no proxy votes allowed;
185.31	(4) establishing the titles, duties, and authority and reasonable procedures for the election
185.32	of the officers of the commission;

186.1	(5) providing reasonable standards and procedures for the establishment of the personnel
186.2	policies and programs of the commission. Notwithstanding any civil service or other similar
186.3	laws of any party state, the bylaws shall exclusively govern the personnel policies and
186.4	programs of the commission; and
186.5	(6) providing a mechanism for winding up the operations of the commission and the
186.6	equitable disposition of any surplus funds that may exist after the termination of this compact
186.7	after the payment or reserving of all of its debts and obligations.
186.8	(d) The commission shall publish its bylaws and rules, and any amendments thereto, in
186.9	a convenient form on the Web site of the commission.
186.10	(e) The commission shall maintain its financial records in accordance with the bylaws.
186.11	(f) The commission shall meet and take actions as are consistent with the provisions of
186.12	this compact and the bylaws.
186.13	(g) The commission shall have the following powers:
186.14	(1) to promulgate uniform rules to facilitate and coordinate implementation and
186.15	administration of this compact. The rules shall have the force and effect of law and shall
186.16	be binding in all party states;
186.17	(2) to bring and prosecute legal proceedings or actions in the name of the commission,
186.18	provided that the standing of any licensing board to sue or be sued under applicable law
186.19	shall not be affected;
186.20	(3) to purchase and maintain insurance and bonds;
186.21	(4) to borrow, accept, or contract for services of personnel, including, but not limited
186.22	to, employees of a party state or nonprofit organizations;
186.23	(5) to cooperate with other organizations that administer state compacts related to the
186.24	regulation of nursing, including, but not limited to, sharing administrative or staff expenses,
186.25	office space, or other resources;
186.26	(6) to hire employees, elect or appoint officers, fix compensation, define duties, grant
186.27	such individuals appropriate authority to carry out the purposes of this compact, and to
186.28	establish the commission's personnel policies and programs relating to conflicts of interest,
186.29	qualifications of personnel, and other related personnel matters;
186.30	(7) to accept any and all appropriate donations, grants, and gifts of money, equipment,
186.31	supplies, materials, and services, and to receive, utilize, and dispose of the same; provided

187.1	that at all times the commission shall avoid any appearance of impropriety or conflict of
187.2	interest;
187.3	(8) to lease, purchase, accept appropriate gifts or donations of, or otherwise to own,
187.4	hold, improve, or use any property, whether real, personal, or mixed; provided that at all
187.5	times the commission shall avoid any appearance of impropriety;
187.6	(9) to sell, convey, mortgage, pledge, lease, exchange, abandon, or otherwise dispose
187.7	of any property, whether real, personal, or mixed;
187.8	(10) to establish a budget and make expenditures;
187.9	(11) to borrow money;
187.10	(12) to appoint committees, including advisory committees comprised of administrators
187.11	state nursing regulators, state legislators or their representatives, and consumer
187.12	representatives, and other such interested persons;
187.13	(13) to provide and receive information from, and to cooperate with, law enforcement
187.14	agencies;
187.15	(14) to adopt and use an official seal; and
187.16	(15) to perform such other functions as may be necessary or appropriate to achieve the
187.17	purposes of this Compact consistent with the state regulation of nurse licensure and practice
187.18	(h) Financing of the commission:
187.19	(1) the commission shall pay, or provide for the payment of, the reasonable expenses of
187.20	its establishment, organization, and ongoing activities;
187.21	(2) the commission may also levy on and collect an annual assessment from each party
187.22	state to cover the cost of its operations, activities, and staff in its annual budget as approved
187.23	each year. The aggregate annual assessment amount, if any, shall be allocated based upon
187.24	a formula to be determined by the commission, which shall promulgate a rule that is binding
187.25	upon all party states;
187.26	(3) the commission shall not incur obligations of any kind prior to securing the funds
187.27	adequate to meet the same; nor shall the commission pledge the credit of any of the party
187.28	states, except by, and with the authority of, such party state; and
187.29	(4) the commission shall keep accurate accounts of all receipts and disbursements. The
187.30	receipts and disbursements of the commission shall be subject to the audit and accounting
187.31	procedures established under its bylaws. However, all receipts and disbursements of funds
187.32	handled by the commission shall be audited yearly by a certified or licensed public

04/17/18 REVISOR ACF/IL A18-0776

accountant, and the report of the audit shall be included in and become part of the annual report of the commission.

(i) Qualified immunity, defense, and indemnification:

188.1

188.2

188.3

188.4

188.5

188.6

188.7

188.8

188.9

188.10

188.11

188.12

188.13

188.14

188.15

188.16

188.17

188.18

188.19

188.20

188.21

188.22

188.23

188.25

188.26

188.27

188.28

188.29

188.32

188.33

(1) the administrators, officers, executive director, employees, and representatives of the commission shall be immune from suit and liability, either personally or in their official capacity, for any claim for damage to or loss of property or personal injury or other civil liability caused by or arising out of any actual or alleged act, error, or omission that occurred, or that the person against whom the claim is made had a reasonable basis for believing occurred, within the scope of commission employment, duties, or responsibilities; provided that nothing in this paragraph shall be construed to protect any such person from suit or liability for any damage, loss, injury, or liability caused by the intentional, willful, or wanton misconduct of that person;

(2) the commission shall defend any administrator, officer, executive director, employee, or representative of the commission in any civil action seeking to impose liability arising out of any actual or alleged act, error, or omission that occurred within the scope of commission employment, duties, or responsibilities, or that the person against whom the claim is made had a reasonable basis for believing occurred within the scope of commission employment, duties, or responsibilities; provided that nothing herein shall be construed to prohibit that person from retaining his or her own counsel; and provided further that the actual or alleged act, error, or omission did not result from that person's intentional, willful, or wanton misconduct; and

(3) the commission shall indemnify and hold harmless any administrator, officer, executive director, employee, or representative of the commission for the amount of any settlement or judgment obtained against that person arising out of any actual or alleged act, error, or omission that occurred within the scope of commission employment, duties, or responsibilities, or that such person had a reasonable basis for believing occurred within the scope of commission employment, duties, or responsibilities, provided that the actual or alleged act, error, or omission did not result from the intentional, willful, or wanton misconduct of that person.

188.30 ARTICLE VII

188.31 RULEMAKING

(a) The commission shall exercise its rulemaking powers pursuant to the criteria set forth in this article and the rules adopted thereunder. Rules and amendments shall become

189.1	binding as of the date specified in each rule or amendment and shall have the same force
189.2	and effect as provisions of this compact.
189.3	(b) Rules or amendments to the rules shall be adopted at a regular or special meeting of
189.4	the commission.
189.5	(c) Prior to promulgation and adoption of a final rule or rules by the commission, and
189.6	at least 60 days in advance of the meeting at which the rule will be considered and voted
189.7	upon, the commission shall file a notice of proposed rulemaking:
189.8	(1) on the Web site of the commission; and
189.9	(2) on the Web site of each licensing board or the publication in which state would
189.10	otherwise publish proposed rules.
189.11	(d) The notice of proposed rulemaking shall include:
189.12	(1) the proposed time, date, and location of the meeting in which the rule will be
189.13	considered and voted upon;
189.14	(2) the text of the proposed rule or amendment, and the reason for the proposed rule;
189.15	(3) a request for comments on the proposed rule from any interested person; and
189.16	(4) the manner in which interested persons may submit notice to the commission of their
189.17	intention to attend the public hearing and any written comments.
189.18	(e) Prior to adoption of a proposed rule, the commission shall allow persons to submit
189.19	written data, facts, opinions, and arguments, which shall be made available to the public.
189.20	(f) The commission shall grant an opportunity for a public hearing before it adopts a
189.21	rule or amendment.
189.22	(g) The commission shall publish the place, time, and date of the scheduled public
189.23	hearing:
189.24	(1) hearings shall be conducted in a manner providing each person who wishes to
189.25	comment a fair and reasonable opportunity to comment orally or in writing. All hearings
189.26	will be recorded, and a copy will be made available upon request; and
189.27	(2) nothing in this section shall be construed as requiring a separate hearing on each
189.28	rule. Rules may be grouped for the convenience of the commission at hearings required by
189.29	this section.
189.30	(h) If no one appears at the public hearing, the commission may proceed with
189.31	promulgation of the proposed rule.

04/17/18	REVISOR	ACF/IL	A18-0776

190.1	(i) Following the scheduled hearing date, or by the close of business on the scheduled
190.2	hearing date if the hearing was not held, the commission shall consider all written and oral
190.3	comments received.
190.4	(j) The commission shall, by majority vote of all administrators, take final action on the
190.5	proposed rule and shall determine the effective date of the rule, if any, based on the
190.6	rulemaking record and the full text of the rule.
190.7	(k) Upon determination that an emergency exists, the commission may consider and
190.8	adopt an emergency rule without prior notice, opportunity for comment or hearing, provided
190.9	that the usual rulemaking procedures provided in this compact and in this section shall be
190.10	retroactively applied to the rule as soon as reasonably possible, in no event later than 90
190.11	days after the effective date of the rule. For the purposes of this provision, an emergency
190.12	rule is one that must be adopted immediately in order to:
190.13	(1) meet an imminent threat to public health, safety, or welfare;
190.14	(2) prevent a loss of commission or party state funds; or
190.15	(3) meet a deadline for the promulgation of an administrative rule that is required by
190.16	federal law or rule.
190.17	(l) The commission may direct revisions to a previously adopted rule or amendment for
190.18	purposes of correcting typographical errors, errors in format, errors in consistency, or
190.19	grammatical errors. Public notice of any revisions shall be posted on the Web site of the
190.20	commission. The revision shall be subject to challenge by any person for a period of 30
190.21	days after posting. The revision may be challenged only on grounds that the revision results
190.22	in a material change to a rule. A challenge shall be made in writing, and delivered to the
190.23	commission prior to the end of the notice period. If no challenge is made, the revision will
190.24	take effect without further action. If the revision is challenged, the revision may not take
190.25	effect without the approval of the commission.
190.26	ARTICLE VIII
190.27	OVERSIGHT, DISPUTE RESOLUTION, AND ENFORCEMENT
190.28	(a) Oversight:
190.29	(1) each party state shall enforce this compact and take all actions necessary and
190.30	appropriate to effectuate this compact's purposes and intent; and
190.31	(2) the commission shall be entitled to receive service of process in any proceeding that
190.32	may affect the powers, responsibilities, or actions of the commission, and shall have standing

191.1	to intervene in such a proceeding for all purposes. Failure to provide service of process in
191.2	such proceeding to the commission shall render a judgment or order void as to the
191.3	commission, this compact, or promulgated rules.
191.4	(b) Default, technical assistance, and termination:
191.5	(1) if the commission determines that a party state has defaulted in the performance of
191.6	its obligations or responsibilities under this compact or the promulgated rules, the commission
191.7	<u>shall:</u>
191.8	(i) provide written notice to the defaulting state and other party states of the nature of
191.9	the default, the proposed means of curing the default or any other action to be taken by the
191.10	commission; and
191.11	(ii) provide remedial training and specific technical assistance regarding the default;
191.12	(2) if a state in default fails to cure the default, the defaulting state's membership in this
191.13	compact may be terminated upon an affirmative vote of a majority of the administrators,
191.14	and all rights, privileges, and benefits conferred by this compact may be terminated on the
191.15	effective date of termination. A cure of the default does not relieve the offending state of
191.16	obligations or liabilities incurred during the period of default;
191.17	(3) termination of membership in this compact shall be imposed only after all other
191.18	means of securing compliance have been exhausted. Notice of intent to suspend or terminate
191.19	shall be given by the commission to the governor of the defaulting state and to the executive
191.20	officer of the defaulting state's licensing board and each of the party states;
191.21	(4) a state whose membership in this compact has been terminated is responsible for all
191.22	assessments, obligations, and liabilities incurred through the effective date of termination,
191.23	including obligations that extend beyond the effective date of termination;
191.24	(5) the commission shall not bear any costs related to a state that is found to be in default
191.25	or whose membership in this compact has been terminated, unless agreed upon in writing
191.26	between the commission and the defaulting state; and
191.27	(6) the defaulting state may appeal the action of the commission by petitioning the U.S.
191.28	District Court for the District of Columbia or the federal district in which the commission
191.29	has its principal offices. The prevailing party shall be awarded all costs of such litigation,
191.30	including reasonable attorneys' fees.
191.31	(c) Dispute resolution:

192.1	(1) upon request by a party state, the commission shall attempt to resolve disputes related
192.2	to the compact that arise among party states and between party and nonparty states;
192.3	(2) the commission shall promulgate a rule providing for both mediation and binding
192.4	dispute resolution for disputes, as appropriate; and
192.5	(3) in the event the commission cannot resolve disputes among party states arising under
192.6	this compact:
192.7	(i) the party states may submit the issues in dispute to an arbitration panel, which will
192.8	be comprised of individuals appointed by the compact administrator in each of the affected
192.9	party states and an individual mutually agreed upon by the compact administrators of all
192.10	the party states involved in the dispute; and
192.11	(ii) the decision of a majority of the arbitrators shall be final and binding.
192.12	(d) Enforcement:
192.13	(1) the commission, in the reasonable exercise of its discretion, shall enforce the
192.14	provisions and rules of this compact;
192.15	(2) by majority vote, the commission may initiate legal action in the U.S. District Court
192.16	for the District of Columbia or the federal district in which the commission has its principal
192.17	offices against a party state that is in default to enforce compliance with the provisions of
192.18	this compact and its promulgated rules and bylaws. The relief sought may include both
192.19	injunctive relief and damages. In the event judicial enforcement is necessary, the prevailing
192.20	party shall be awarded all costs of such litigation, including reasonable attorneys' fees; and
192.21	(3) the remedies herein shall not be the exclusive remedies of the commission. The
192.22	commission may pursue any other remedies available under federal or state law.
192.23	ARTICLE IX
192.24	EFFECTIVE DATE, WITHDRAWAL, AND AMENDMENT
192.25	(a) This compact shall become effective and binding on the earlier of the date of
192.26	legislative enactment of this compact into law by no less than 26 states or December 31,
192.27	2018. All party states to this compact, that also were parties to the prior Nurse Licensure
192.28	Compact, superseded by this compact, ("prior compact"), shall be deemed to have withdrawn
192.29	from said prior compact within six months after the effective date of this compact.
192.30	(b) Each party state to this compact shall continue to recognize a nurse's multistate
192.31	licensure privilege to practice in that party state issued under the prior compact until such
192.32	party state has withdrawn from the prior compact.

193.1	(c) Any party state may withdraw from this compact by enacting a statute repealing the
193.2	same. A party state's withdrawal shall not take effect until six months after enactment of
193.3	the repealing statute.
193.4	(d) A party state's withdrawal or termination shall not affect the continuing requirement
193.5	of the withdrawing or terminated state's licensing board to report adverse actions and
193.6	significant investigations occurring prior to the effective date of such withdrawal or
193.7	termination.
193.8	(e) Nothing contained in this compact shall be construed to invalidate or prevent any
193.9	nurse licensure agreement or other cooperative arrangement between a party state and a
193.10	nonparty state that is made in accordance with the other provisions of this compact.
193.11	(f) This compact may be amended by the party states. No amendment to this compact
193.12	shall become effective and binding upon the party states, unless and until it is enacted into
193.13	the laws of all party states.
193.14	(g) Representatives of nonparty states to this compact shall be invited to participate in
193.15	the activities of the commission, on a nonvoting basis, prior to the adoption of this compact
193.16	by all states.
193.17	ARTICLE X
193.18	CONSTRUCTION AND SEVERABILITY
193.19	This compact shall be liberally construed so as to effectuate the purposes thereof. The
193.20	provisions of this compact shall be severable, and if any phrase, clause, sentence, or provision
193.21	of this compact is declared to be contrary to the constitution of any party state or of the
193.22	United States, or if the applicability thereof to any government, agency, person, or
193.23	circumstance is held invalid, the validity of the remainder of this compact and the
193.24	applicability thereof to any government, agency, person, or circumstance shall not be affected
193.25	thereby. If this compact shall be held to be contrary to the constitution of any party state,
193.26	this compact shall remain in full force and effect as to the remaining party states and in full
193.27	force and effect as to the party state affected as to all severable matters.
193.28	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective upon implementation of the coordinated
193.29	licensure information system defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 148.2855, article V,
193.30	but no sooner than July 1, 2019.

194.1	Sec. 6. [148.2856] APPLICATION OF NURSE LICENSURE COMPACT TO
194.2	EXISTING LAWS.
194.3	(a) Section 148.2855 does not relieve employers of nurses from complying with statutorily
194.4	imposed obligations.
194.5	(b) Section 148.2855 does not supersede existing state labor laws.
194.6	(c) For purposes of the Minnesota Government Data Practices Act, chapter 13, an
194.7	individual not licensed as a nurse under sections 148.171 to 148.285 who practices
194.8	professional or practical nursing in Minnesota under the authority of section 148.2855 is
194.9	considered to be a licensee of the board.
194.10	(d) Proceedings brought against an individual's multistate privilege shall be adjudicated
194.11	following the procedures listed in sections 14.50 to 14.62 and shall be subject to judicial
194.12	review as provided for in sections 14.63 to 14.69.
194.13	(e) The reporting requirements of sections 144.4175, 148.263, 626.52, and 626.557
194.14	apply to individuals not licensed as registered or licensed practical nurses under sections
194.15	148.171 to 148.285 who practice professional or practical nursing in Minnesota under the
194.16	authority of section 148.2855.
194.17	(f) The board may take action against an individual's multistate privilege based on the
194.18	grounds listed in section 148.261, subdivision 1, and any other statute authorizing or requiring
194.19	the board to take corrective or disciplinary action.
194.20	(g) The board may take all forms of disciplinary action provided for in section 148.262,
194.21	subdivision 1, and corrective action provided for in section 214.103, subdivision 6, against
194.22	an individual's multistate privilege.
194.23	(h) The immunity provisions of section 148.264, subdivision 1, apply to individuals who
194.24	practice professional or practical nursing in Minnesota under the authority of section
194.25	148.2855.
10406	
194.26	(i) The cooperation requirements of section 148.265 apply to individuals who practice
194.27	professional or practical nursing in Minnesota under the authority of section 148.2855.
194.28	(j) The provisions of section 148.283 shall not apply to individuals who practice
194.29	professional or practical nursing in Minnesota under the authority of section 148.2855.
194.30	(k) Complaints against individuals who practice professional or practical nursing in
194 31	Minnesota under the authority of section 148 2855 shall be handled as provided in sections

194.32 214.10 and 214.103.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective upon implementation of the coordinated 195.1 licensure information system defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 148.2855, article V, 195.2 195.3 but no sooner than July 1, 2019. Sec. 7. [148.2858] MISCELLANEOUS PROVISIONS. 195.4 (a) For the purposes of section 148.2855, "head of the Nurse Licensing Board" means 195.5 the executive director of the board. 195.6 (b) The Board of Nursing shall have the authority to recover from a nurse practicing 195.7 professional or practical nursing in Minnesota under the authority of section 148.2855 the 195.8 costs of investigation and disposition of cases resulting from any adverse action taken against 195.9 the nurse. 195.10 195.11 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective upon implementation of the coordinated licensure information system defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 148.2855, article V, 195.12 but no sooner than July 1, 2019. Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 148.59, is amended to read: 195.14 148.59 LICENSE RENEWAL; LICENSE AND REGISTRATION FEES. 195.15 A licensed optometrist shall pay to the state Board of Optometry a fee as set by the board 195.16 in order to renew a license as provided by board rule. No fees shall be refunded. Fees may 195.17 not exceed the following amounts but may be adjusted lower by board direction and are for 195.18 the exclusive use of the board: 195.19 (1) optometry licensure application, \$160; 195.20 195.21 (2) optometry annual licensure renewal, \$135 \$170; (3) optometry late penalty fee, \$75; 195.22 (4) annual license renewal card, \$10; 195.23 (5) continuing education provider application, \$45; 195.24 (6) emeritus registration, \$10; 195.25 (7) endorsement/reciprocity application, \$160; 195.26 (8) replacement of initial license, \$12; and 195.27 (9) license verification, \$50-; 195.28 (10) jurisprudence state examination, \$75; 195.29

196.1 (11) Optometric Education Continuing Education data bank registration, \$20; and

- (12) data requests and labels, \$50.
- Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 148E.180, is amended to read:
- 196.4 **148E.180 FEE AMOUNTS.**

- Subdivision 1. **Application fees.** Nonrefundable application fees for licensure are as
- 196.6 <u>follows may not exceed the following amounts but may be adjusted lower by board action:</u>
- 196.7 (1) for a licensed social worker, \$45 \) \$75;
- 196.8 (2) for a licensed graduate social worker, \$45 \unders75;
- 196.9 (3) for a licensed independent social worker, \$45 \$75;
- 196.10 (4) for a licensed independent clinical social worker, \$45 \$75;
- 196.11 (5) for a temporary license, \$50; and
- 196.12 (6) for a licensure by endorsement, \$85 \$115.
- The fee for criminal background checks is the fee charged by the Bureau of Criminal
- 196.14 Apprehension. The criminal background check fee must be included with the application
- 196.15 fee as required according to section 148E.055.
- Subd. 2. **License fees.** Nonrefundable license fees are as follows may not exceed the
- 196.17 <u>following amounts but may be adjusted lower by board action:</u>
- 196.18 (1) for a licensed social worker, \$\frac{\$81}{5115};
- 196.19 (2) for a licensed graduate social worker, \$144 \$210;
- 196.20 (3) for a licensed independent social worker, \$216 \$305;
- 196.21 (4) for a licensed independent clinical social worker, \$238.50 \$335;
- 196.22 (5) for an emeritus inactive license, \$43.20 \$65;
- 196.23 (6) for an emeritus active license, one-half of the renewal fee specified in subdivision
- 196.24 3; and
- 196.25 (7) for a temporary leave fee, the same as the renewal fee specified in subdivision 3.
- 196.26 If the licensee's initial license term is less or more than 24 months, the required license
- 196.27 fees must be prorated proportionately.

Subd. 3. Renewal fees. Nonrefundable renewal fees for licensure are as follows the 197.1 two-year renewal term may not exceed the following amounts but may be adjusted lower 197.2 197.3 by board action: (1) for a licensed social worker, \$81 \$115; 197.4 197.5 (2) for a licensed graduate social worker, \$144 \$210; (3) for a licensed independent social worker, \$216 \$305; and 197.6 197.7 (4) for a licensed independent clinical social worker, \$238.50 \$335. Subd. 4. Continuing education provider fees. Continuing education provider fees are 197.8 as follows the following nonrefundable amounts: 197.9 (1) for a provider who offers programs totaling one to eight clock hours in a one-year 197.10 period according to section 148E.145, \$50; 197.11 (2) for a provider who offers programs totaling nine to 16 clock hours in a one-year 197.12 period according to section 148E.145, \$100; 197.13 (3) for a provider who offers programs totaling 17 to 32 clock hours in a one-year period 197.14 according to section 148E.145, \$200; 197.15 (4) for a provider who offers programs totaling 33 to 48 clock hours in a one-year period 197.16 according to section 148E.145, \$400; and 197.17 (5) for a provider who offers programs totaling 49 or more clock hours in a one-year 197.18 period according to section 148E.145, \$600. 197.19 Subd. 5. Late fees. Late fees are as follows the following nonrefundable amounts: 197.20 (1) renewal late fee, one-fourth of the renewal fee specified in subdivision 3; 197.21 (2) supervision plan late fee, \$40; and 197.22 (3) license late fee, \$100 plus the prorated share of the license fee specified in subdivision 197.23 2 for the number of months during which the individual practiced social work without a 197.24 197.25 license. Subd. 6. License cards and wall certificates. (a) The fee for a license card as specified 197.26 in section 148E.095 is \$10. 197.27

197.30 <u>amounts</u>:

Article 8 Sec. 9.

197.28

197.29

(b) The fee for a license wall certificate as specified in section 148E.095 is \$30.

Subd. 7. **Reactivation fees.** Reactivation fees are as follows the following nonrefundable

198.1	(1) reactivation from a temporary leave or emeritus status, the prorated share of the
198.2	renewal fee specified in subdivision 3; and
198.3	(2) reactivation of an expired license, 1-1/2 times the renewal fees specified in subdivision
198.4	3.
198.5	Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 151.15, is amended by adding a subdivision to
198.6	read:
198.7	Subd. 5. Receipt of emergency prescription orders. A pharmacist, when that pharmacist
198.8	is not present within a licensed pharmacy, may accept a written, verbal, or electronic
198.9	prescription drug order from a practitioner only if:
198.10	(1) the prescription drug order is for an emergency situation where waiting for the
198.11	licensed pharmacy from which the prescription will be dispensed to open would likely cause
198.12	the patient to experience significant physical harm or discomfort;
198.13	(2) the pharmacy from which the prescription drug order will be dispensed is closed for
198.14	business;
198.15	(3) the pharmacist has been designated to be on call for the licensed pharmacy that will
198.16	fill the prescription drug order;
198.17	(4) in the case of an electronic prescription drug order, the order must be received through
198.18	secure and encrypted electronic means;
198.19	(5) the pharmacist takes reasonable precautions to ensure that the prescription drug order
198.20	will be handled in a manner consistent with federal and state statutes regarding the handling
198.21	of protected health information; and
198.22	(6) the pharmacy from which the prescription drug order will be dispensed has relevant
198.23	and appropriate policies and procedures in place and makes them available to the board
198.24	upon request.
	Co. 11 Minorary Co. 4 and 2017 and 151 15 in any 1 11 and 11 and 11 in any
198.25	Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 151.15, is amended by adding a subdivision to
198.26	read:
198.27	Subd. 6. Processing of emergency prescription orders. A pharmacist, when that
198.28	pharmacist is not present within a licensed pharmacy, may access a pharmacy prescription
198.29	processing system through secure and encrypted electronic means in order to process an
198 30	emergency prescription accepted pursuant to subdivision 5 only if

199.1	(1) the pharmacy from which the prescription drug order will be dispensed is closed for
199.2	<u>business;</u>
199.3	(2) the pharmacist has been designated to be on call for the licensed pharmacy that will
199.4	fill the prescription drug order;
199.5	(3) the prescription drug order is for a patient of a long-term care facility or a county
199.6	correctional facility;
199.7	(4) the prescription drug order is processed pursuant to this chapter and rules adopted
199.8	under this chapter; and
199.9	(5) the pharmacy from which the prescription drug order will be dispensed has relevant
199.10	and appropriate policies and procedures in place and makes them available to the board
199.11	upon request.
199.12	Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 151.19, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
199.13	Subdivision 1. Pharmacy licensure requirements. (a) No person shall operate a
199.14	pharmacy without first obtaining a license from the board and paying any applicable fee
199.15	specified in section 151.065. The license shall be displayed in a conspicuous place in the
199.16	pharmacy for which it is issued and expires on June 30 following the date of issue. It is
199.17	unlawful for any person to operate a pharmacy unless the license has been issued to the
199.18	person by the board.
199.19	(b) Application for a pharmacy license under this section shall be made in a manner
199.20	specified by the board.
199.21	(c) No license shall be issued or renewed for a pharmacy located within the state unless
199.22	the applicant agrees to operate the pharmacy in a manner prescribed by federal and state
199.23	law and according to rules adopted by the board. No license shall be issued for a pharmacy
199.24	located outside of the state unless the applicant agrees to operate the pharmacy in a manner
199.25	prescribed by federal law and, when dispensing medications for residents of this state, the
199.26	laws of this state, and Minnesota Rules.
199.27	(d) No license shall be issued or renewed for a pharmacy that is required to be licensed
199.28	or registered by the state in which it is physically located unless the applicant supplies the
199.29	board with proof of such licensure or registration.
199.30	(e) The board shall require a separate license for each pharmacy located within the state
199.31	and for each pharmacy located outside of the state at which any portion of the dispensing
199.32	process occurs for drugs dispensed to residents of this state.

- (f) The board shall not issue an initial or renewed license for a pharmacy unless the pharmacy passes an inspection conducted by an authorized representative of the board. In the case of a pharmacy located outside of the state, the board may require the applicant to pay the cost of the inspection, in addition to the license fee in section 151.065, unless the applicant furnishes the board with a report, issued by the appropriate regulatory agency of the state in which the facility is located, of an inspection that has occurred within the 24 months immediately preceding receipt of the license application by the board. The board may deny licensure unless the applicant submits documentation satisfactory to the board that any deficiencies noted in an inspection report have been corrected.
- 200.10 (g) The board shall not issue an initial or renewed license for a pharmacy located outside 200.11 of the state unless the applicant discloses and certifies:
- 200.12 (1) the location, names, and titles of all principal corporate officers and all pharmacists who are involved in dispensing drugs to residents of this state;
- 200.14 (2) that it maintains its records of drugs dispensed to residents of this state so that the records are readily retrievable from the records of other drugs dispensed;
 - (3) that it agrees to cooperate with, and provide information to, the board concerning matters related to dispensing drugs to residents of this state;
 - (4) that, during its regular hours of operation, but no less than six days per week, for a minimum of 40 hours per week, a toll-free telephone service is provided to facilitate communication between patients in this state and a pharmacist at the pharmacy who has access to the patients' records; the toll-free number must be disclosed on the label affixed to each container of drugs dispensed to residents of this state; and
 - (5) that, upon request of a resident of a long-term care facility located in this state, the resident's authorized representative, or a contract pharmacy or licensed health care facility acting on behalf of the resident, the pharmacy will dispense medications prescribed for the resident in unit-dose packaging or, alternatively, comply with section 151.415, subdivision 5.
- (h) This subdivision does not apply to a manufacturer licensed under section 151.252, subdivision 1, a wholesale drug distributor licensed under section 151.47, or a third-party logistics provider, to the extent the manufacturer, wholesale drug distributor, or third-party logistics provider is engaged in the distribution of dialysate or devices necessary to perform home peritoneal dialysis on patients with end-stage renal disease, if:

200.1

200.2

200.3

200.4

200.5

200.6

200.7

200.8

200.9

200.16

200.17

200.18

200.19

200.20

200.21

200.22

200.23

200.24

200.26

201.1	(1) the manufacturer or its agent leases or owns the licensed manufacturing or wholesaling
201.2	facility from which the dialysate or devices will be delivered;
201.3	(2) the dialysate is comprised of dextrose or icodextrin and has been approved by the
201.4	United States Food and Drug Administration;
201.5	(3) the dialysate is stored and delivered in its original, sealed, and unopened
201.6	manufacturer's packaging;
201.7	(4) the dialysate or devices are delivered only upon:
201.8	(i) receipt of a physician's order by a Minnesota licensed pharmacy; and
201.9	(ii) the review and processing of the prescription by a pharmacist licensed by the state
201.10	in which the pharmacy is located, who is employed by or under contract to the pharmacy;
201.11	(5) prescriptions, policies, procedures, and records of delivery are maintained by the
201.12	manufacturer for a minimum of three years and are made available to the board upon request;
201.13	<u>and</u>
201.14	(6) the manufacturer or the manufacturer's agent delivers the dialysate or devices directly
201.15	<u>to:</u>
201.15 201.16	to: (i) a patient with end-stage renal disease for whom the prescription was written or the
201.16	(i) a patient with end-stage renal disease for whom the prescription was written or the
201.16 201.17	(i) a patient with end-stage renal disease for whom the prescription was written or the patient's designee, for the patient's self-administration of the dialysis therapy; or
201.16 201.17 201.18	(i) a patient with end-stage renal disease for whom the prescription was written or the patient's designee, for the patient's self-administration of the dialysis therapy; or (ii) a health care provider or institution, for administration or delivery of the dialysis
201.16 201.17 201.18 201.19	(i) a patient with end-stage renal disease for whom the prescription was written or the patient's designee, for the patient's self-administration of the dialysis therapy; or (ii) a health care provider or institution, for administration or delivery of the dialysis therapy to a patient with end-stage renal disease for whom the prescription was written.
201.16 201.17 201.18 201.19 201.20	(i) a patient with end-stage renal disease for whom the prescription was written or the patient's designee, for the patient's self-administration of the dialysis therapy; or (ii) a health care provider or institution, for administration or delivery of the dialysis therapy to a patient with end-stage renal disease for whom the prescription was written. Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 151.46, is amended to read:
201.16 201.17 201.18 201.19 201.20 201.21	(i) a patient with end-stage renal disease for whom the prescription was written or the patient's designee, for the patient's self-administration of the dialysis therapy; or (ii) a health care provider or institution, for administration or delivery of the dialysis therapy to a patient with end-stage renal disease for whom the prescription was written. Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 151.46, is amended to read: 151.46 PROHIBITED DRUG PURCHASES OR RECEIPT.
201.16 201.17 201.18 201.19 201.20 201.21 201.22	(i) a patient with end-stage renal disease for whom the prescription was written or the patient's designee, for the patient's self-administration of the dialysis therapy; or (ii) a health care provider or institution, for administration or delivery of the dialysis therapy to a patient with end-stage renal disease for whom the prescription was written. Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 151.46, is amended to read: 151.46 PROHIBITED DRUG PURCHASES OR RECEIPT. It is unlawful for any person to knowingly purchase or receive a prescription drug from
201.16 201.17 201.18 201.19 201.20 201.21 201.22 201.23	(i) a patient with end-stage renal disease for whom the prescription was written or the patient's designee, for the patient's self-administration of the dialysis therapy; or (ii) a health care provider or institution, for administration or delivery of the dialysis therapy to a patient with end-stage renal disease for whom the prescription was written. Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 151.46, is amended to read: 151.46 PROHIBITED DRUG PURCHASES OR RECEIPT. It is unlawful for any person to knowingly purchase or receive a prescription drug from a source other than a person or entity licensed under the laws of the state, except where
201.16 201.17 201.18 201.19 201.20 201.21 201.22 201.23 201.24	(i) a patient with end-stage renal disease for whom the prescription was written or the patient's designee, for the patient's self-administration of the dialysis therapy; or (ii) a health care provider or institution, for administration or delivery of the dialysis therapy to a patient with end-stage renal disease for whom the prescription was written. Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 151.46, is amended to read: 151.46 PROHIBITED DRUG PURCHASES OR RECEIPT. It is unlawful for any person to knowingly purchase or receive a prescription drug from a source other than a person or entity licensed under the laws of the state, except where otherwise provided. Licensed wholesale drug distributors other than pharmacies shall not
201.16 201.17 201.18 201.19 201.20 201.21 201.22 201.23 201.24 201.25	(i) a patient with end-stage renal disease for whom the prescription was written or the patient's designee, for the patient's self-administration of the dialysis therapy; or (ii) a health care provider or institution, for administration or delivery of the dialysis therapy to a patient with end-stage renal disease for whom the prescription was written. Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 151.46, is amended to read: 151.46 PROHIBITED DRUG PURCHASES OR RECEIPT. It is unlawful for any person to knowingly purchase or receive a prescription drug from a source other than a person or entity licensed under the laws of the state, except where otherwise provided. Licensed wholesale drug distributors other than pharmacies shall not dispense or distribute prescription drugs directly to patients except for licensed facilities

202.1	Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 214.075, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
202.2	Subdivision 1. Applications. (a) By January 1, 2018, Each health-related licensing
202.3	board, as defined in section 214.01, subdivision 2, shall require applicants for initial licensure,
202.4	licensure by endorsement, or reinstatement or other relicensure after a lapse in licensure,
202.5	as defined by the individual health-related licensing boards, the following individuals to
202.6	submit to a criminal history records check of state data completed by the Bureau of Criminal
202.7	Apprehension (BCA) and a national criminal history records check, including a search of
202.8	the records of the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI)-:
202.9	(1) applicants for initial licensure or licensure by endorsement. An applicant is exempt
202.10	from this paragraph if the applicant submitted to a state and national criminal history records
202.11	check as described in this paragraph for a license issued by the same board;
202.12	(2) applicants seeking reinstatement or relicensure, as defined by the individual
202.13	health-related licensing board, if more than one year has elapsed since the applicant's license
202.14	or registration expiration date; or
202.15	(3) licensees applying for eligibility to participate in an interstate licensure compact.
202.16	(b) An applicant must complete a criminal background check if more than one year has
202.17	elapsed since the applicant last submitted a background check to the board. An applicant's
202.18	<u>criminal background check results are valid for one year from the date the background check</u>
202.19	results were received by the board. If more than one year has elapsed since the results were
202.20	received by the board, then an applicant who has not completed the licensure, reinstatement,
202.21	or relicensure process must complete a new background check.
202.22	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
202.23	Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 214.075, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
202.24	Subd. 4. Refusal to consent. (a) The health-related licensing boards shall not issue a
202.25	license to any applicant who refuses to consent to a criminal background check or fails to
202.26	submit fingerprints within 90 days after submission of an application for licensure. Any
202.27	fees paid by the applicant to the board shall be forfeited if the applicant refuses to consent
202.28	to the criminal background check or fails to submit the required fingerprints.
202.29	(b) The failure of a licensee to submit to a criminal background check as provided in
202.30	subdivision 3 is grounds for disciplinary action by the respective health-related licensing
202.31	board.

202.32

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 214.075, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

Subd. 5. Submission of fingerprints to the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension. The health-related licensing board or designee shall submit applicant or licensee fingerprints to the BCA. The BCA shall perform a check for state criminal justice information and shall forward the applicant's or licensee's fingerprints to the FBI to perform a check for national criminal justice information regarding the applicant or licensee. The BCA shall report to the board the results of the state and national criminal justice information history records checks.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 214.075, subdivision 6, is amended to read:

Subd. 6. Alternatives to fingerprint-based criminal background checks. The health-related licensing board may require an alternative method of criminal history checks for an applicant or licensee who has submitted at least three two sets of fingerprints in accordance with this section that have been unreadable by the BCA or the FBI.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 214.077, is amended to read: 203.16

214.077 TEMPORARY LICENSE SUSPENSION; IMMINENT RISK OF SERIOUS 203.17 HARM. 203 18

- (a) Notwithstanding any provision of a health-related professional practice act, when a health-related licensing board receives a complaint regarding a regulated person and has probable cause to believe that the regulated person has violated a statute or rule that the health-related licensing board is empowered to enforce, and continued practice by the regulated person presents an imminent risk of serious harm, the health-related licensing 203.23 board shall issue an order temporarily suspending the regulated person's authority to practice. The temporary suspension order shall specify the reason for the suspension, including the statute or rule alleged to have been violated. The temporary suspension order shall take effect upon personal service on the regulated person or the regulated person's attorney, or upon the third calendar day after the order is served by first class mail to the most recent address provided to the health-related licensing board for the regulated person or the regulated person's attorney.
- (b) The temporary suspension shall remain in effect until the health-related licensing 203.31 board or the commissioner completes an investigation, holds a contested case hearing 203.32

203.1

203.2

203.3

203.4

203.5

203.6

203.7

203.8

203.9

203.10

203.11

203.12

203.14

203.15

203.19

203.20

203.21

203.22

203.24

203.26

203 27

203.28

203.29

pursuant to the Administrative Procedure Act, and issues a final order in the matter as provided for in this section.

- (c) At the time it issues the temporary suspension order, the health-related licensing board shall schedule a contested case hearing, on the merits of whether discipline is warranted, to be held pursuant to the Administrative Procedure Act. The regulated person shall be provided with at least ten days' notice of any contested case hearing held pursuant to this section. The contested case hearing shall be scheduled to begin no later than 30 days after the effective service of the temporary suspension order.
- (d) The administrative law judge presiding over the contested case hearing shall issue a report and recommendation to the health-related licensing board no later than 30 days after the final day of the contested case hearing. If the administrative law judge's report and recommendations are for no action, the health-related licensing board shall issue a final order pursuant to sections 14.61 and 14.62 within 30 days of receipt of the administrative law judge's report and recommendations. If the administrative law judge's report and recommendations are for action, the health-related licensing board shall issue a final order pursuant to sections 14.61 and 14.62 within 60 days of receipt of the administrative law judge's report and recommendations. Except as provided in paragraph (e), if the health-related licensing board has not issued a final order pursuant to sections 14.61 and 14.62 within 30 days of receipt of the administrative law judge's report and recommendations for no action or within 60 days of receipt of the administrative law judge's report and recommendations for no action for action, the temporary suspension shall be lifted.
- (e) If the regulated person requests a delay in the contested case proceedings provided for in paragraphs (c) and (d) for any reason, the temporary suspension shall remain in effect until the health-related licensing board issues a final order pursuant to sections 14.61 and 14.62.
- 204.26 (f) This section shall not apply to the Office of Unlicensed Complementary and
 204.27 Alternative Health Practice established under section 146A.02. The commissioner of health
 204.28 shall conduct temporary suspensions for complementary and alternative health care
 204.29 practitioners in accordance with section 146A.09.
- 204.30 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment.
- Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 214.10, subdivision 8, is amended to read:
- Subd. 8. **Special requirements for health-related licensing boards.** In addition to the provisions of this section that apply to all examining and licensing boards, the requirements

204.1

204.2

204.3

204.4

204.5

204.6

204.7

204.8

204.9

204.10

204.11

204.12

204.13

204.14

204.15

204.16

204.17

204.18

204.19

204.20

204.21

204.22

204 23

204.24

204 25

in this subdivision apply to all health-related licensing boards, except the Board of Veterinary Medicine.

- (a) If the executive director or consulted board member determines that a communication received alleges a violation of statute or rule that involves sexual contact with a patient or client, the communication shall be forwarded to the designee of the attorney general for an investigation of the facts alleged in the communication. If, after an investigation it is the opinion of the executive director or consulted board member that there is sufficient evidence to justify disciplinary action, the board shall conduct a disciplinary conference or hearing. If, after a hearing or disciplinary conference the board determines that misconduct involving sexual contact with a patient or client occurred, the board shall take disciplinary action. Notwithstanding subdivision 2, a board may not attempt to correct improper activities or redress grievances through education, conciliation, and persuasion, unless in the opinion of the executive director or consulted board member there is insufficient evidence to justify disciplinary action. The board may settle a case by stipulation prior to, or during, a hearing if the stipulation provides for disciplinary action.
- (b) A board member who has a direct current or former financial connection or professional relationship to a person who is the subject of board disciplinary activities must not participate in board activities relating to that case.
- (c) Each health-related licensing board shall establish procedures for exchanging information with other Minnesota state boards, agencies, and departments responsible for regulating health-related occupations, facilities, and programs, and for coordinating investigations involving matters within the jurisdiction of more than one regulatory body. The procedures must provide for the forwarding to other regulatory bodies of all information and evidence, including the results of investigations, that are relevant to matters within that licensing body's regulatory jurisdiction. Each health-related licensing board shall have access to any data of the Department of Human Services relating to a person subject to the jurisdiction of the licensing board. The data shall have the same classification under chapter 13, the Minnesota Government Data Practices Act, in the hands of the agency receiving the data as it had in the hands of the Department of Human Services.
- (d) Each health-related licensing board shall establish procedures for exchanging information with other states regarding disciplinary actions against licensees. The procedures must provide for the collection of information from other states about disciplinary actions taken against persons who are licensed to practice in Minnesota or who have applied to be licensed in this state and the dissemination of information to other states regarding disciplinary actions taken in Minnesota. In addition to any authority in chapter 13 permitting

205.1

205.2

205.3

205.4

205.5

205.6

205.7

205.8

205.9

205.10

205.11

205.13

205.14

205.15

205.16

205.17

205.18

205.19

205.20

205.21

205.22

205 23

205.24

205.25

205.26

205.28

205.29

205.30

205.31

205.32

205.33

205 34

the dissemination of data, the board may, in its discretion, disseminate data to other states 206.1 regardless of its classification under chapter 13. Criminal history record information shall 206.2 206.3 not be exchanged. Before transferring any data that is not public, the board shall obtain reasonable assurances from the receiving state that the data will not be made public. 206.4 206.5 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment. Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 214.12, is amended by adding a subdivision to 206.6 read: 206.7 Subd. 6. Opioid and controlled substances prescribing. (a) The Board of Medical 206.8 Practice, the Board of Nursing, the Board of Dentistry, the Board of Optometry, and the 206.9 Board of Podiatric Medicine shall require that licensees with the authority to prescribe 206.10 206.11 controlled substances obtain at least two hours of continuing education credit on best practices in prescribing opioids and controlled substances, as part of the continuing education 206.12 requirements for licensure renewal. Licensees shall not be required to complete more than 206.13 206.14 two credit hours of continuing education on best practices in prescribing opioids and controlled substances before this subdivision expires. Continuing education credit on best 206.15 practices in prescribing opioids and controlled substances must meet board requirements. 206.16 (b) This subdivision expires January 1, 2023. 206.17 206.18 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2019. Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 245G.22, subdivision 2, is amended 206.19 to read: 206 20 Subd. 2. **Definitions.** (a) For purposes of this section, the terms defined in this subdivision 206.21 have the meanings given them. 206.22 (b) "Diversion" means the use of a medication for the treatment of opioid addiction being 206.23 diverted from intended use of the medication. 206.24 (c) "Guest dose" means administration of a medication used for the treatment of opioid 206.25 addiction to a person who is not a client of the program that is administering or dispensing 206.26 the medication. 206.27 (d) "Medical director" means a physician licensed to practice medicine in the jurisdiction 206.28 that the opioid treatment program is located who assumes responsibility for administering 206.29 all medical services performed by the program, either by performing the services directly 206.30 or by delegating specific responsibility to (1) authorized program physicians and; (2) 206.31 advanced practice registered nurses, when approved by variance by the State Opioid 206.32

Treatment Authority under section 254A.03 and the federal Substance Abuse and Mental 207.1 Health Services Administration; or (3) health care professionals functioning under the 207.2 207.3 medical director's direct supervision. (e) "Medication used for the treatment of opioid use disorder" means a medication 207.4 approved by the Food and Drug Administration for the treatment of opioid use disorder. 207.5 (f) "Minnesota health care programs" has the meaning given in section 256B.0636. 207.6 207.7 (g) "Opioid treatment program" has the meaning given in Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, section 8.12, and includes programs licensed under this chapter. 207.8 (h) "Placing authority" has the meaning given in Minnesota Rules, part 9530.6605, 207.9 207.10 subpart 21a. (i) "Unsupervised use" means the use of a medication for the treatment of opioid use 207.11 disorder dispensed for use by a client outside of the program setting. 207.12 207.13 Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256.975, subdivision 7b, is amended to read: 207.14 Subd. 7b. Exemptions and emergency admissions. (a) Exemptions from the federal 207.15 screening requirements outlined in subdivision 7a, paragraphs (b) and (c), are limited to: (1) a person who, having entered an acute care facility from a certified nursing facility, 207.16 is returning to a certified nursing facility; or 207.17 (2) a person transferring from one certified nursing facility in Minnesota to another 207.18 certified nursing facility in Minnesota. 207.19 (b) Persons who are exempt from preadmission screening for purposes of level of care 207.20 determination include: 207.21 (1) persons described in paragraph (a); 207.22 (2) an individual who has a contractual right to have nursing facility care paid for 207.23 indefinitely by the Veterans Administration; 207.24 207.25 (3) an individual enrolled in a demonstration project under section 256B.69, subdivision 8, at the time of application to a nursing facility; and 207.26 (4) an individual currently being served under the alternative care program or under a 207.27 home and community-based services waiver authorized under section 1915(c) of the federal 207.28

Social Security Act.

(c) Persons admitted to a Medicaid-certified nursing facility from the community on an emergency basis as described in paragraph (d) or from an acute care facility on a nonworking day must be screened the first working day after admission.

- (d) Emergency admission to a nursing facility prior to screening is permitted when all of the following conditions are met:
- (1) a person is admitted from the community to a certified nursing or certified boarding care facility during Senior LinkAge Line nonworking hours;
- 208.8 (2) a physician <u>or advanced practice registered nurse</u> has determined that delaying 208.9 admission until preadmission screening is completed would adversely affect the person's 208.10 health and safety;
- (3) there is a recent precipitating event that precludes the client from living safely in the community, such as sustaining an injury, sudden onset of acute illness, or a caregiver's inability to continue to provide care;
- 208.14 (4) the attending physician <u>or advanced practice registered nurse</u> has authorized the emergency placement and has documented the reason that the emergency placement is recommended; and
- 208.17 (5) the Senior LinkAge Line is contacted on the first working day following the emergency admission.
- Transfer of a patient from an acute care hospital to a nursing facility is not considered an emergency except for a person who has received hospital services in the following situations: hospital admission for observation, care in an emergency room without hospital admission, or following hospital 24-hour bed care and from whom admission is being sought on a nonworking day.
- (e) A nursing facility must provide written information to all persons admitted regarding the person's right to request and receive long-term care consultation services as defined in section 256B.0911, subdivision 1a. The information must be provided prior to the person's discharge from the facility and in a format specified by the commissioner.
- Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256B.0575, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- Subdivision 1. **Income deductions.** When an institutionalized person is determined eligible for medical assistance, the income that exceeds the deductions in paragraphs (a) and (b) must be applied to the cost of institutional care.

208.1

208.2

208.3

208.4

208.5

208.6

(a) The following amounts must be deducted from the institutionalized person's income in the following order:

- (1) the personal needs allowance under section 256B.35 or, for a veteran who does not have a spouse or child, or a surviving spouse of a veteran having no child, the amount of an improved pension received from the veteran's administration not exceeding \$90 per month;
- (2) the personal allowance for disabled individuals under section 256B.36;
- 209.8 (3) if the institutionalized person has a legally appointed guardian or conservator, five percent of the recipient's gross monthly income up to \$100 as reimbursement for guardianship or conservatorship services;
- 209.11 (4) a monthly income allowance determined under section 256B.058, subdivision 2, but only to the extent income of the institutionalized spouse is made available to the community spouse;
 - (5) a monthly allowance for children under age 18 which, together with the net income of the children, would provide income equal to the medical assistance standard for families and children according to section 256B.056, subdivision 4, for a family size that includes only the minor children. This deduction applies only if the children do not live with the community spouse and only to the extent that the deduction is not included in the personal needs allowance under section 256B.35, subdivision 1, as child support garnished under a court order;
 - (6) a monthly family allowance for other family members, equal to one-third of the difference between 122 percent of the federal poverty guidelines and the monthly income for that family member;
- 209.24 (7) reparations payments made by the Federal Republic of Germany and reparations payments made by the Netherlands for victims of Nazi persecution between 1940 and 1945;
- 209.26 (8) all other exclusions from income for institutionalized persons as mandated by federal law; and
- 209.28 (9) amounts for reasonable expenses, as specified in subdivision 2, incurred for necessary medical or remedial care for the institutionalized person that are recognized under state law, not medical assistance covered expenses, and not subject to payment by a third party.
- For purposes of clause (6), "other family member" means a person who resides with the community spouse and who is a minor or dependent child, dependent parent, or dependent

209.1

209.2

209.3

209.4

209.5

209.6

209.7

209.14

209.15

209.16

209.17

209.18

209 19

209.20

209.21

209.22

sibling of either spouse. "Dependent" means a person who could be claimed as a dependent for federal income tax purposes under the Internal Revenue Code.

- (b) Income shall be allocated to an institutionalized person for a period of up to three calendar months, in an amount equal to the medical assistance standard for a family size of one if:
- 210.6 (1) a physician <u>or advanced practice registered nurse</u> certifies that the person is expected to reside in the long-term care facility for three calendar months or less;
- 210.8 (2) if the person has expenses of maintaining a residence in the community; and
- 210.9 (3) if one of the following circumstances apply:
- 210.10 (i) the person was not living together with a spouse or a family member as defined in 210.11 paragraph (a) when the person entered a long-term care facility; or
- 210.12 (ii) the person and the person's spouse become institutionalized on the same date, in which case the allocation shall be applied to the income of one of the spouses.
- For purposes of this paragraph, a person is determined to be residing in a licensed nursing home, regional treatment center, or medical institution if the person is expected to remain for a period of one full calendar month or more.
- Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256B.0595, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
- Subd. 3. **Homestead exception to transfer prohibition.** (a) An institutionalized person is not ineligible for long-term care services due to a transfer of assets for less than fair market value if the asset transferred was a homestead and:
- (1) title to the homestead was transferred to the individual's:
- 210.22 (i) spouse;

210.3

210.4

- 210.23 (ii) child who is under age 21;
- 210.24 (iii) blind or permanently and totally disabled child as defined in the Supplemental Security Income program;
- (iv) sibling who has equity interest in the home and who was residing in the home for a period of at least one year immediately before the date of the individual's admission to the facility; or
- (v) son or daughter who was residing in the individual's home for a period of at least two years immediately before the date the individual became an institutionalized person, and who provided care to the individual that, as certified by the individual's attending

physician or advanced practice registered nurse, permitted the individual to reside at home rather than receive care in an institution or facility;

- (2) a satisfactory showing is made that the individual intended to dispose of the homestead at fair market value or for other valuable consideration; or
- (3) the local agency grants a waiver of a penalty resulting from a transfer for less than fair market value because denial of eligibility would cause undue hardship for the individual, based on imminent threat to the individual's health and well-being. Whenever an applicant or recipient is denied eligibility because of a transfer for less than fair market value, the local agency shall notify the applicant or recipient that the applicant or recipient may request a waiver of the penalty if the denial of eligibility will cause undue hardship. With the written consent of the individual or the personal representative of the individual, a long-term care facility in which an individual is residing may file an undue hardship waiver request, on behalf of the individual who is denied eligibility for long-term care services on or after July 211.14 1, 2006, due to a period of ineligibility resulting from a transfer on or after February 8, 2006. In evaluating a waiver, the local agency shall take into account whether the individual was the victim of financial exploitation, whether the individual has made reasonable efforts to recover the transferred property or resource, and other factors relevant to a determination of hardship. If the local agency does not approve a hardship waiver, the local agency shall issue a written notice to the individual stating the reasons for the denial and the process for appealing the local agency's decision.
 - (b) When a waiver is granted under paragraph (a), clause (3), a cause of action exists against the person to whom the homestead was transferred for that portion of long-term care services provided within:
- (1) 30 months of a transfer made on or before August 10, 1993; 211.24
- (2) 60 months if the homestead was transferred after August 10, 1993, to a trust or portion 211.25 of a trust that is considered a transfer of assets under federal law; 211.26
- (3) 36 months if transferred in any other manner after August 10, 1993, but prior to 211.27 February 8, 2006; or 211.28
- (4) 60 months if the homestead was transferred on or after February 8, 2006, 211.29 or the amount of the uncompensated transfer, whichever is less, together with the costs 211.30 incurred due to the action. 211.31

211.1

211.2

211.3

211.4

211.5

211.6

211.7

211.8

211.9

211.10

211.11

211.12

211.13

211.15

211.17

211.18

211.19

211.20

211.21

211.22

211 23

04/17/18 REVISOR ACF/IL A18-0776

Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256B.0625, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. **Skilled and intermediate nursing care.** (a) Medical assistance covers skilled nursing home services and services of intermediate care facilities, including training and habilitation services, as defined in section 252.41, subdivision 3, for persons with developmental disabilities who are residing in intermediate care facilities for persons with developmental disabilities. Medical assistance must not be used to pay the costs of nursing care provided to a patient in a swing bed as defined in section 144.562, unless (1) the facility in which the swing bed is located is eligible as a sole community provider, as defined in Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, section 412.92, or the facility is a public hospital owned by a governmental entity with 15 or fewer licensed acute care beds; (2) the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services approves the necessary state plan amendments; (3) the patient was screened as provided by law; (4) the patient no longer requires acute care services; and (5) no nursing home beds are available within 25 miles of the facility. The commissioner shall exempt a facility from compliance with the sole community provider requirement in clause (1) if, as of January 1, 2004, the facility had an agreement with the commissioner to provide medical assistance swing bed services.

(b) Medical assistance also covers up to ten days of nursing care provided to a patient in a swing bed if: (1) the patient's physician <u>or advanced practice registered nurse</u> certifies that the patient has a terminal illness or condition that is likely to result in death within 30 days and that moving the patient would not be in the best interests of the patient and patient's family; (2) no open nursing home beds are available within 25 miles of the facility; and (3) no open beds are available in any Medicare hospice program within 50 miles of the facility. The daily medical assistance payment for nursing care for the patient in the swing bed is the statewide average medical assistance skilled nursing care per diem as computed annually by the commissioner on July 1 of each year.

Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 259.24, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. **Parents, guardian.** If an unmarried parent who consents to the adoption of a child is under 18 years of age, the consent of the minor parent's parents or guardian, if any, also shall be required; if either or both the parents are disqualified for any of the reasons enumerated in subdivision 1, the consent of such parent shall be waived, and the consent of the guardian only shall be sufficient; and, if there be neither parent nor guardian qualified to give such consent, the consent may be given by the commissioner. The agency overseeing the adoption proceedings shall ensure that the minor parent is offered the opportunity to consult with an attorney, a member of the clergy ΘF_2 a physician, or an advanced practice

212.1

212.2

212.3

212.4

212.5

212.6

212.7

212.8

212.9

212.10

212.11

212.13

212 14

212.15

212.16

212.17

212 18

212.19

212.20

212.21

212.22

212.23

212.24

212.25

212.26

212.27

212.28

212.29

212.30

212.31

212.32

212.33

registered nurse before consenting to adoption of the child. The advice or opinion of the attorney, clergy member or, physician, or advanced practice registered nurse shall not be binding on the minor parent. If the minor parent cannot afford the cost of consulting with an attorney, a member of the clergy or, a physician, or an advanced practice registered nurse, the county shall bear that cost.

- Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 260C.007, subdivision 6, is amended 213.6 to read: 213.7
- Subd. 6. Child in need of protection or services. "Child in need of protection or 213.8 213.9 services" means a child who is in need of protection or services because the child:
- (1) is abandoned or without parent, guardian, or custodian; 213.10

213.1

213.2

213.3

213.4

213.5

213.11

213.12

213.13

213.16

- (2)(i) has been a victim of physical or sexual abuse as defined in section 626.556, subdivision 2, (ii) resides with or has resided with a victim of child abuse as defined in subdivision 5 or domestic child abuse as defined in subdivision 13, (iii) resides with or would reside with a perpetrator of domestic child abuse as defined in subdivision 13 or child abuse as defined in subdivision 5 or 13, or (iv) is a victim of emotional maltreatment as defined in subdivision 15;
- (3) is without necessary food, clothing, shelter, education, or other required care for the child's physical or mental health or morals because the child's parent, guardian, or custodian is unable or unwilling to provide that care; 213.19
- 213.20 (4) is without the special care made necessary by a physical, mental, or emotional condition because the child's parent, guardian, or custodian is unable or unwilling to provide 213.22 that care;
- (5) is medically neglected, which includes, but is not limited to, the withholding of 213.23 medically indicated treatment from an infant with a disability with a life-threatening 213.24 condition. The term "withholding of medically indicated treatment" means the failure to respond to the infant's life-threatening conditions by providing treatment, including 213.26 appropriate nutrition, hydration, and medication which, in the treating physician's or 213.27 physicians' advanced practice registered nurse's reasonable medical judgment, will be most 213.28 likely to be effective in ameliorating or correcting all conditions, except that the term does 213 29 not include the failure to provide treatment other than appropriate nutrition, hydration, or 213.30 medication to an infant when, in the treating physician's or physicians' advanced practice 213.31 213.32 registered nurse's reasonable medical judgment:
- (i) the infant is chronically and irreversibly comatose; 213.33

214.1	(ii) the provision of the treatment would merely prolong dying, not be effective in
214.2	ameliorating or correcting all of the infant's life-threatening conditions, or otherwise be
214.3	futile in terms of the survival of the infant; or
214.4	(iii) the provision of the treatment would be virtually futile in terms of the survival of
214.5	the infant and the treatment itself under the circumstances would be inhumane;
214.6	(6) is one whose parent, guardian, or other custodian for good cause desires to be relieved
214.7	of the child's care and custody, including a child who entered foster care under a voluntary
214.8	placement agreement between the parent and the responsible social services agency under
214.9	section 260C.227;
214.10	(7) has been placed for adoption or care in violation of law;
214.11	(8) is without proper parental care because of the emotional, mental, or physical disability,
214.12	or state of immaturity of the child's parent, guardian, or other custodian;
214.13	(9) is one whose behavior, condition, or environment is such as to be injurious or
214.14	dangerous to the child or others. An injurious or dangerous environment may include, but
214.15	is not limited to, the exposure of a child to criminal activity in the child's home;
214.16	(10) is experiencing growth delays, which may be referred to as failure to thrive, that
214.17	have been diagnosed by a physician and are due to parental neglect;
214.18	(11) is a sexually exploited youth;
214.19	(12) has committed a delinquent act or a juvenile petty offense before becoming ten
214.20	years old;
214.21	(13) is a runaway;
214.22	(14) is a habitual truant;
214.23	(15) has been found incompetent to proceed or has been found not guilty by reason of
214.24	mental illness or mental deficiency in connection with a delinquency proceeding, a
214.25	certification under section 260B.125, an extended jurisdiction juvenile prosecution, or a
214.26	proceeding involving a juvenile petty offense; or
214.27	(16) has a parent whose parental rights to one or more other children were involuntarily
214.28	terminated or whose custodial rights to another child have been involuntarily transferred to
214.29	a relative and there is a case plan prepared by the responsible social services agency
214.30	documenting a compelling reason why filing the termination of parental rights petition under

214.31 section 260C.503, subdivision 2, is not in the best interests of the child.

Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 364.09, is amended to read:

364.09 EXCEPTIONS.

215.1

215.2

215.3

215.4

215.5

215.6

215.7

215.8

- (a) This chapter does not apply to the licensing process for peace officers; to law enforcement agencies as defined in section 626.84, subdivision 1, paragraph (f); to fire protection agencies; to eligibility for a private detective or protective agent license; to the licensing and background study process under chapters 245A and 245C; to the licensing and background investigation process under chapter 240; to eligibility for school bus driver endorsements; to eligibility for special transportation service endorsements; to eligibility for a commercial driver training instructor license, which is governed by section 171.35 and rules adopted under that section; to emergency medical services personnel, or to the 215.10 licensing by political subdivisions of taxicab drivers, if the applicant for the license has 215.11 been discharged from sentence for a conviction within the ten years immediately preceding 215.12 application of a violation of any of the following: 215.13
- (1) sections 609.185 to 609.2114, 609.221 to 609.223, 609.342 to 609.3451, or 617.23, 215.14 subdivision 2 or 3; or Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 609.21; 215.15
- (2) any provision of chapter 152 that is punishable by a maximum sentence of 15 years 215.16 or more; or 215.17
- (3) a violation of chapter 169 or 169A involving driving under the influence, leaving 215.18 the scene of an accident, or reckless or careless driving. 215.19
- This chapter also shall not apply to eligibility for juvenile corrections employment, where 215.20 the offense involved child physical or sexual abuse or criminal sexual conduct. 215.21
- (b) This chapter does not apply to a school district or to eligibility for a license issued 215.22 215.23 or renewed by the Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board or the commissioner of education. 215.24
- (c) Nothing in this section precludes the Minnesota Police and Peace Officers Training 215.25 Board or the state fire marshal from recommending policies set forth in this chapter to the 215.26 attorney general for adoption in the attorney general's discretion to apply to law enforcement 215.27 or fire protection agencies. 215.28
- 215.29 (d) This chapter does not apply to a license to practice medicine that has been denied or revoked by the Board of Medical Practice pursuant to section 147.091, subdivision 1a. 215.30
- (e) This chapter does not apply to any person who has been denied a license to practice 215.31 chiropractic or whose license to practice chiropractic has been revoked by the board in 215 32 accordance with section 148.10, subdivision 7. 215.33

216.1	(f) This chapter does not apply to any license, registration, or permit that has been denied
216.2	or revoked by the Board of Nursing in accordance with section 148.261, subdivision 1a.
216.3	(g) (d) This chapter does not apply to any license, registration, permit, or certificate that
216.4	has been denied or revoked by the commissioner of health according to section 148.5195,
216.5	subdivision 5; or 153A.15, subdivision 2.
216.6	(h) (e) This chapter does not supersede a requirement under law to conduct a criminal
216.7	history background investigation or consider criminal history records in hiring for particular
216.8	types of employment.
216.9	(f) This chapter does not apply to the licensing or registration process for, or to any
216.10	license, registration, or permit that has been denied or revoked by, a health licensing board
216.11	listed in section 214.01, subdivision 2.
216.12	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
216.13	Sec. 29. COUNCIL OF HEALTH BOARDS WORK GROUP.
216.14	(a) The Council of Health Boards shall convene a work group to study and make
216.15	recommendations on:
216.16	(1) increasing the use of telehealth technologies including, but not limited to, high-fidelity
216.17	simulation and teleconferencing to complete portions of the clinical experiences required
216.18	as part of postsecondary educational programs that relate to counseling. Clinical experiences
216.19	may include supervised practicum and internship hours. The study shall include the
216.20	parameters in which the proposed technology may be utilized in order to ensure that students
216.21	are integrating classroom theory in a lifelike clinical setting without compromising clinical
216.22	competency outcomes;
216.23	(2) increasing access to telehealth technologies for use in supervision of persons
216.24	completing postdegree supervised practice work experience and training required for
216.25	licensure. The study shall include the parameters in which the proposed technology may be
216.26	utilized for supervision to ensure the quality and competence of the activities supervised;
216.27	<u>and</u>
216.28	(3) increasing client access to mental health services through use of telehealth
216.29	technologies.
216.30	(b) The work group must consist of representatives of:
216.31	(1) the Boards of Psychology, Social Work, Marriage and Family Therapy, and Behavioral
216.32	Health and Therapy;

217.1	(2) postsecondary educational institutions that have accredited educational programs
217.2	for social work, psychology, alcohol and drug counseling, marriage and family therapy,
217.3	and professional counseling; and
217.4	(3) the relevant professional counseling associations, including the Minnesota Counseling
217.5	Association; Minnesota Psychology Association; National Association of Social Workers,
217.6	Minnesota chapter; Minnesota Association for Marriage and Family Therapy; and the
217.7	Minnesota Association of Resources for Recovery and Chemical Health.
217.8	(c) By February 1, 2019, the council shall submit recommendations for using telehealth
217.9	technologies to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with
217.10	jurisdiction over health occupations and higher education, and shall include a plan for
217.11	implementing the recommendations and any legislative changes necessary for
217.12	implementation.
217.13	Sec. 30. REPEALER.
217.14	Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 214.075, subdivision 8, is repealed.
217.15	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
217.16	ARTICLE 9
217.17	MISCELLANEOUS
217.18	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 62V.05, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
217.19	Subd. 2. Operations funding. (a) Prior to January 1, 2015, MNsure shall retain or collect
217.20	up to 1.5 percent of total premiums for individual and small group market health plans and
217.21	dental plans sold through MNsure to fund the cash reserves of MNsure, but the amount
217.22	eollected shall not exceed a dollar amount equal to 25 percent of the funds collected under
217.23	section 62E.11, subdivision 6, for calendar year 2012.
217.24	(I) D : : I 1 2017 NOT 1 11 4 : 11 4 27 4 Ct 1
	(b) Beginning January 1, 2015, MNsure shall retain or collect up to 3.5 percent of total
217.25	(b) Beginning January 1, 2015, MNsure shall retain or collect up to 3.5 percent of total premiums for individual and small group market health plans and dental plans sold through
217.25 217.26	
	premiums for individual and small group market health plans and dental plans sold through
217.26	premiums for individual and small group market health plans and dental plans sold through MNsure to fund the operations of MNsure, but the amount collected shall not exceed a
217.26 217.27	premiums for individual and small group market health plans and dental plans sold through MNsure to fund the operations of MNsure, but the amount collected shall not exceed a dollar amount equal to 50 percent of the funds collected under section 62E.11, subdivision
217.26 217.27 217.28	premiums for individual and small group market health plans and dental plans sold through MNsure to fund the operations of MNsure, but the amount collected shall not exceed a dollar amount equal to 50 percent of the funds collected under section 62E.11, subdivision 6, for calendar year 2012.

amount collected may never exceed a dollar amount greater than 100 percent of the funds collected under section 62E.11, subdivision 6, for calendar year 2012.

- (d) For fiscal years 2014 and 2015, the commissioner of management and budget is authorized to provide cash flow assistance of up to \$20,000,000 from the special revenue fund or the statutory general fund under section 16A.671, subdivision 3, paragraph (a), to MNsure. Any funds provided under this paragraph shall be repaid, with interest, by June 30, 2015.
- 218.8 (b) Beginning January 1, 2019, MNsure shall retain or collect up to two percent of total
 218.9 premiums for individual and small group health plans and dental plans sold through MNsure
 218.10 to fund the operations of MNsure, but the amount collected may never exceed a dollar
 218.11 amount greater than 25 percent of the funds collected under section 62E.11, subdivision 6,
 218.12 for calendar year 2012.
- 218.13 (e) (c) Funding for the operations of MNsure shall cover any compensation provided to navigators participating in the navigator program.
- (d) Interagency agreements between MNsure and the Department of Human Services,
 and the Public Assistance Cost Allocation Plan for the Department of Human Services,
 shall not be modified to reflect any changes to the percentage of premiums that MNsure is
 allowed to retain or collect under this section, and no additional funding shall be transferred
 from the Department of Human Services to MNsure as a result of any changes to the
 percentage of premiums that MNsure is allowed to retain or collect under this section.
- Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 62V.05, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
- Subd. 5. **Health carrier and health plan requirements; participation.** (a) Beginning January 1, 2015, the board may establish certification requirements for health carriers and health plans to be offered through MNsure that satisfy federal requirements under section 1311(c)(1) of the Affordable Care Act, Public Law 111-148 United States Code, title 42, section 18031(c)(1).
- (b) Paragraph (a) does not apply if by June 1, 2013, the legislature enacts regulatory requirements that:
- (1) apply uniformly to all health carriers and health plans in the individual market;
- (2) apply uniformly to all health carriers and health plans in the small group market; and
- 218.31 (3) satisfy minimum federal certification requirements under section 1311(c)(1) of the
 218.32 Affordable Care Act, Public Law 111-148 United States Code, title 42, section 18031(c)(1).

2183

218.4

218.5

218.6

218.7

219.1	(c) In accordance with section 1311(e) of the Affordable Care Act, Public Law 111-148
219.2	United States Code, title 42, section 18031(e), the board shall establish policies and
219.3	procedures for certification and selection of health plans to be offered as qualified health
219.4	plans through MNsure. The board shall certify and select a health plan as a qualified health
219.5	plan to be offered through MNsure, if:
219.6	(1) the health plan meets the minimum certification requirements established in paragraph
219.7	(a) or the market regulatory requirements in paragraph (b);
219.8	(2) the board determines that making the health plan available through MNsure is in the
219.9	interest of qualified individuals and qualified employers;
219.10	(3) the health carrier applying to offer the health plan through MNsure also applies to
219.11	offer health plans at each actuarial value level and service area that the health carrier currently
219.12	offers in the individual and small group markets; and
219.13	(4) the health carrier does not apply to offer health plans in the individual and small
219.14	group markets through MNsure under a separate license of a parent organization or holding
219.15	company under section 60D.15, that is different from what the health carrier offers in the
219.16	individual and small group markets outside MNsure.
219.17	(d) In determining the interests of qualified individuals and employers under paragraph
219.18	(c), clause (2), the board may not exclude a health plan for any reason specified under section
219.19	1311(e)(1)(B) of the Affordable Care Act, Public Law 111-148 United States Code, title
219.20	42, section 18031(e)(1)(B). The board may consider:
219.21	(1) affordability;
219.22	(2) quality and value of health plans;
219.23	(3) promotion of prevention and wellness;
219.24	(4) promotion of initiatives to reduce health disparities;
219.25	(5) market stability and adverse selection;
219.26	(6) meaningful choices and access;
219.27	(7) alignment and coordination with state agency and private sector purchasing strategies
219.28	and payment reform efforts; and
219.29	(8) other criteria that the board determines appropriate.
219.30	(e) A health plan that meets the minimum certification requirements under paragraph
219.31	(c) and United States Code, title 42, section 18031(c)(1), and any regulations and guidance

issued under that section, is deemed to be in the interest of qualified individuals and qualified employers. The board shall not establish certification requirements for health carriers and health plans for participation in MNsure that are in addition to the certification requirements under paragraph (c) and United States Code, title 42, section 18031(c)(1), and any regulations and guidance issued under that section. The board shall not determine the cost of, cost-sharing elements of, or benefits provided in health plans sold through MNsure.

- (e) (f) For qualified health plans offered through MNsure on or after January 1, 2015, the board shall establish policies and procedures under paragraphs (c) and (d) for selection of health plans to be offered as qualified health plans through MNsure by February 1 of each year, beginning February 1, 2014. The board shall consistently and uniformly apply all policies and procedures and any requirements, standards, or criteria to all health carriers and health plans. For any policies, procedures, requirements, standards, or criteria that are defined as rules under section 14.02, subdivision 4, the board may use the process described in subdivision 9.
- (f) For 2014, the board shall not have the power to select health carriers and health plans for participation in MNsure. The board shall permit all health plans that meet the certification requirements under section 1311(e)(1) of the Affordable Care Act, Public Law 111-148, to be offered through MNsure.
- 220.19 (g) Under this subdivision, the board shall have the power to verify that health carriers 220.20 and health plans are properly certified to be eligible for participation in MNsure.
- (h) The board has the authority to decertify health carriers and health plans that fail to maintain compliance with section 1311(c)(1) of the Affordable Care Act, Public Law 111-148 United States Code, title 42, section 18031(c)(1).
- (i) For qualified health plans offered through MNsure beginning January 1, 2015, health carriers must use the most current addendum for Indian health care providers approved by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services and the tribes as part of their contracts with Indian health care providers. MNsure shall comply with all future changes in federal law with regard to health coverage for the tribes.
- Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 62V.05, subdivision 10, is amended to read:
- Subd. 10. **Limitations; risk-bearing.** (a) The board shall not bear insurance risk or enter into any agreement with health care providers to pay claims.
- (b) Nothing in this subdivision shall prevent MNsure from providing insurance for its employees.

220.1

220.2

220.3

220.4

220.5

220.6

220.7

220.8

220.9

220.10

220.11

220.13

220.14

221.1	(c) The commissioner of human services shall not bear insurance risk or enter into any
221.2	agreement with providers to pay claims for any health coverage administered by the
221.3	commissioner that is made available for purchase through the MNsure Web site as an
221.4	alternative to purchasing a qualifying health plan through MNsure or an individual health
221.5	plan offered outside of MNsure.
221.6	(d) Nothing in this subdivision shall prohibit:
221.7	(1) the commissioner of human services from administering the medical assistance
221.8	program under chapter 256B and the MinnesotaCare program under chapter 256L, as long
221.9	as health coverage under these programs is not purchased by the individual through the
221.10	MNsure Web site; and
221.11	(2) employees of the Department of Human Services from obtaining insurance from the
221.12	state employee group insurance program.
221.13	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
221.14	Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 169.345, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
221.15	Subd. 2. Definitions. (a) For the purpose of section 168.021 and this section, the following
221.16	terms have the meanings given them in this subdivision.
221.17	(b) "Health professional" means a licensed physician, licensed physician assistant,
221.18	advanced practice registered nurse, <u>licensed physical therapist</u> , or licensed chiropractor.
221.19	(c) "Long-term certificate" means a certificate issued for a period greater than 12 months
221.20	but not greater than 71 months.
221.21	(d) "Organization certificate" means a certificate issued to an entity other than a natural
221.22	person for a period of three years.
221.23	(e) "Permit" refers to a permit that is issued for a period of 30 days, in lieu of the
221.24	certificate referred to in subdivision 3, while the application is being processed.
221.25	(f) "Physically disabled person" means a person who:
221.26	(1) because of disability cannot walk without significant risk of falling;
221.27	(2) because of disability cannot walk 200 feet without stopping to rest;
221.28	(3) because of disability cannot walk without the aid of another person, a walker, a cane,
221.29	crutches, braces, a prosthetic device, or a wheelchair;

222.3 one liter; (5) has an arterial oxygen tension (PaO ₂) of less than 60 mm/Hg on room air at (6) uses portable oxygen; (7) has a cardiac condition to the extent that the person's functional limitations a classified in severity as class III or class IV according to standards set by the Ameri Heart Association; (8) has lost an arm or a leg and does not have or cannot use an artificial limb; or (9) has a disability that would be aggravated by walking 200 feet under normal environmental conditions to an extent that would be life threatening. (g) "Short-term certificate" means a certificate issued for a period greater than six is but not greater than 12 months. (h) "Six-year certificate" means a certificate issued for a period of six years. (i) "Temporary certificate" means a certificate issued for a period not greater than months. Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 243.166, subdivision 4b, is amended to r Subd. 4b. Health care facility; notice of status. (a) For the purposes of this subdivibility in the purpose of the purpose of this subdivibilit	222.1	(4) is restricted by a respiratory disease to such an extent that the person's forced
(5) has an arterial oxygen tension (PaO ₂) of less than 60 mm/Hg on room air at: (6) uses portable oxygen; (7) has a cardiac condition to the extent that the person's functional limitations a classified in severity as class III or class IV according to standards set by the American Heart Association; (8) has lost an arm or a leg and does not have or cannot use an artificial limb; or (9) has a disability that would be aggravated by walking 200 feet under normal environmental conditions to an extent that would be life threatening. (g) "Short-term certificate" means a certificate issued for a period greater than six reduction but not greater than 12 months. (h) "Six-year certificate" means a certificate issued for a period of six years. (i) "Temporary certificate" means a certificate issued for a period not greater than months. Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 243.166, subdivision 4b, is amended to reduce the subdivision 4b. It is amended to reduce the subdivision 4b. It is a month to subdivision 4b. It is a month to subdivision 4b. It is a month to subdivision 4b. It is a hospital, boarding care home supervised living facility under sections 144.50 to 144.58, or a nursing home under the subdivision facility under sections 144.50 to 144.58, or a nursing home under the subdivision facility in the commissioner of health as a hospital, boarding care home supervised living facility under sections 144.50 to 144.58, or a nursing home under the subdivision facility under sections 144.50 to 144.58, or a nursing home under the subdivision facility under sections 144.50 to 144.58, or a nursing home under the subdivision facility under sections 144.50 to 144.58, or a nursing home under the subdivision facility under sections 144.50 to 144.58, or a nursing home under the subdivision facility under section 144.50 to 144.58, or a nursing home under the subdivision facility under section 144.50 to 144.58, or a nursing home under the subdivision facility under section 144.50 to 144.58, or a nursing home under the subdi	222.2	(respiratory) expiratory volume for one second, when measured by spirometry, is less than
(6) uses portable oxygen; (7) has a cardiac condition to the extent that the person's functional limitations a classified in severity as class III or class IV according to standards set by the Americal classified in severity as class III or class IV according to standards set by the Americal classified in severity as class III or class IV according to standards set by the Americal Classified in severity as class III or class IV according to standards set by the Americal Classified in severity as class III or class IV according to standards set by the Americal Classified in severity as class III or class IV according to standards set by the Americal Classified in severity as classified	222.3	one liter;
(7) has a cardiac condition to the extent that the person's functional limitations a classified in severity as class III or class IV according to standards set by the Ameri Heart Association; (8) has lost an arm or a leg and does not have or cannot use an artificial limb; or (9) has a disability that would be aggravated by walking 200 feet under normal environmental conditions to an extent that would be life threatening. (g) "Short-term certificate" means a certificate issued for a period greater than six reductions to the period greater than six reductions to the period greater than six reductions (1) "Six-year certificate" means a certificate issued for a period of six years. (i) "Temporary certificate" means a certificate issued for a period not greater than months. Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 243.166, subdivision 4b, is amended to reduct the subdivision 4b. Health care facility; notice of status. (a) For the purposes of this subdivision (1) "health care facility" means a facility: (H) (i) licensed by the commissioner of health as a hospital, boarding care home supervised living facility under sections 144.50 to 144.58, or a nursing home under complete the supervised living facility under sections 144.50 to 144.58, or a nursing home under complete the supervised by the commissioner of health as a housing with services establises as defined in section 144D.01; or (3) (iii) licensed by the commissioner of human services as a residential facility chapter 245A to provide adult foster care, adult mental health treatment, chemical dependence of the period greater than supervised form a home care provider" has the meaning given in section 144A.43. (b) Prior to admission to a health care facility or home care services from a home	222.4	(5) has an arterial oxygen tension (PaO ₂) of less than 60 mm/Hg on room air at rest;
classified in severity as class III or class IV according to standards set by the Ameri Heart Association; (8) has lost an arm or a leg and does not have or cannot use an artificial limb; or (9) has a disability that would be aggravated by walking 200 feet under normal environmental conditions to an extent that would be life threatening. (g) "Short-term certificate" means a certificate issued for a period greater than six r but not greater than 12 months. (h) "Six-year certificate" means a certificate issued for a period of six years. (i) "Temporary certificate" means a certificate issued for a period not greater than months. Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 243.166, subdivision 4b, is amended to r Subd. 4b. Health care facility; notice of status. (a) For the purposes of this subdiv (1) "health care facility" means a facility: (+) (i) licensed by the commissioner of health as a hospital, boarding care home supervised living facility under sections 144.50 to 144.58, or a nursing home under of 144A; (2) (ii) registered by the commissioner of health as a housing with services establis as defined in section 144D.01; or (3) (iii) licensed by the commissioner of human services as a residential facility chapter 245A to provide adult foster care, adult mental health treatment, chemical depert treatment to adults, or residential services to persons with disabilities; and (2) "home care provider" has the meaning given in section 144A.43. (b) Prior to admission to a health care facility or home care services from a hom	222.5	(6) uses portable oxygen;
Heart Association; (8) has lost an arm or a leg and does not have or cannot use an artificial limb; or (9) has a disability that would be aggravated by walking 200 feet under normal environmental conditions to an extent that would be life threatening. (g) "Short-term certificate" means a certificate issued for a period greater than six r but not greater than 12 months. (h) "Six-year certificate" means a certificate issued for a period of six years. (i) "Temporary certificate" means a certificate issued for a period not greater that months. Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 243.166, subdivision 4b, is amended to r Subd. 4b. Health care facility; notice of status. (a) For the purposes of this subdivibility. (1) "health care facility" means a facility: (+) (i) licensed by the commissioner of health as a hospital, boarding care home supervised living facility under sections 144.50 to 144.58, or a nursing home under of 144A; (2) (ii) registered by the commissioner of health as a housing with services establise as defined in section 144D.01; or (3) (iii) licensed by the commissioner of human services as a residential facility chapter 245A to provide adult foster care, adult mental health treatment, chemical depert reatment to adults, or residential services to persons with disabilities; and (2) "home care provider" has the meaning given in section 144A.43. (b) Prior to admission to a health care facility or home care services from a home	222.6	(7) has a cardiac condition to the extent that the person's functional limitations are
(8) has lost an arm or a leg and does not have or cannot use an artificial limb; or (9) has a disability that would be aggravated by walking 200 feet under normal environmental conditions to an extent that would be life threatening. (g) "Short-term certificate" means a certificate issued for a period greater than six r but not greater than 12 months. (h) "Six-year certificate" means a certificate issued for a period of six years. (i) "Temporary certificate" means a certificate issued for a period not greater than months. Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 243.166, subdivision 4b, is amended to r Subd. 4b. Health care facility; notice of status. (a) For the purposes of this subdiv (1) "health care facility" means a facility: (1) (i) licensed by the commissioner of health as a hospital, boarding care home supervised living facility under sections 144.50 to 144.58, or a nursing home under of 144A; (2) (ii) registered by the commissioner of health as a housing with services establis as defined in section 144D.01; or (3) (iii) licensed by the commissioner of human services as a residential facility chapter 245A to provide adult foster care, adult mental health treatment, chemical deper treatment to adults, or residential services to persons with disabilities; and (2) "home care provider" has the meaning given in section 144A.43.	222.7	classified in severity as class III or class IV according to standards set by the American
(9) has a disability that would be aggravated by walking 200 feet under normal environmental conditions to an extent that would be life threatening. (g) "Short-term certificate" means a certificate issued for a period greater than six r but not greater than 12 months. (h) "Six-year certificate" means a certificate issued for a period of six years. (i) "Temporary certificate" means a certificate issued for a period not greater than months. Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 243.166, subdivision 4b, is amended to r Subd. 4b. Health care facility; notice of status. (a) For the purposes of this subdividing the care facility in means a facility: (1) "health care facility" means a facility: (1) (i) licensed by the commissioner of health as a hospital, boarding care home supervised living facility under sections 144.50 to 144.58, or a nursing home under compact that the compact of the purposes of the section 144D.01; or (2) (ii) registered by the commissioner of health as a housing with services establish as defined in section 144D.01; or (3) (iii) licensed by the commissioner of human services as a residential facility chapter 245A to provide adult foster care, adult mental health treatment, chemical dependence of the purpose of the purpo	222.8	Heart Association;
environmental conditions to an extent that would be life threatening. (g) "Short-term certificate" means a certificate issued for a period greater than six r but not greater than 12 months. (h) "Six-year certificate" means a certificate issued for a period of six years. (i) "Temporary certificate" means a certificate issued for a period not greater than months. Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 243.166, subdivision 4b, is amended to r Subd. 4b. Health care facility; notice of status. (a) For the purposes of this subdivided (1) "health care facility" means a facility: (+) (i) licensed by the commissioner of health as a hospital, boarding care home supervised living facility under sections 144.50 to 144.58, or a nursing home under constant of the section 144D.01; or (2) (ii) registered by the commissioner of health as a housing with services establised as defined in section 144D.01; or (3) (iii) licensed by the commissioner of human services as a residential facility chapter 245A to provide adult foster care, adult mental health treatment, chemical dependent treatment to adults, or residential services to persons with disabilities; and (2) "home care provider" has the meaning given in section 144A.43.	222.9	(8) has lost an arm or a leg and does not have or cannot use an artificial limb; or
(g) "Short-term certificate" means a certificate issued for a period greater than six results but not greater than 12 months. (h) "Six-year certificate" means a certificate issued for a period of six years. (i) "Temporary certificate" means a certificate issued for a period not greater that months. Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 243.166, subdivision 4b, is amended to result of Subd. 4b. Health care facility; notice of status. (a) For the purposes of this subdivible (1) "health care facility" means a facility: (H) (i) licensed by the commissioner of health as a hospital, boarding care home supervised living facility under sections 144.50 to 144.58, or a nursing home under constant of the section of the section of health as a housing with services establise as defined in section 144D.01; or (3) (iii) licensed by the commissioner of human services as a residential facility chapter 245A to provide adult foster care, adult mental health treatment, chemical depert treatment to adults, or residential services to persons with disabilities; and (2) "home care provider" has the meaning given in section 144A.43.	222.10	(9) has a disability that would be aggravated by walking 200 feet under normal
but not greater than 12 months. (h) "Six-year certificate" means a certificate issued for a period of six years. (i) "Temporary certificate" means a certificate issued for a period not greater that months. Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 243.166, subdivision 4b, is amended to receive Subd. 4b. Health care facility; notice of status. (a) For the purposes of this subdivided (1) "health care facility" means a facility: (H) (i) licensed by the commissioner of health as a hospital, boarding care home supervised living facility under sections 144.50 to 144.58, or a nursing home under compared to 144A; (2) (ii) registered by the commissioner of health as a housing with services establise as defined in section 144D.01; or (3) (iii) licensed by the commissioner of human services as a residential facility chapter 245A to provide adult foster care, adult mental health treatment, chemical dependent treatment to adults, or residential services to persons with disabilities; and (2) "home care provider" has the meaning given in section 144A.43.	222.11	environmental conditions to an extent that would be life threatening.
(h) "Six-year certificate" means a certificate issued for a period of six years. (i) "Temporary certificate" means a certificate issued for a period not greater that months. Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 243.166, subdivision 4b, is amended to r. Subd. 4b. Health care facility; notice of status. (a) For the purposes of this subdivided (1) "health care facility" means a facility: (1) "health care facility" means a facility: (1) (i) licensed by the commissioner of health as a hospital, boarding care home supervised living facility under sections 144.50 to 144.58, or a nursing home under comparison of health as a housing with services establised as defined in section 144D.01; or (2) (ii) registered by the commissioner of human services as a residential facility chapter 245A to provide adult foster care, adult mental health treatment, chemical dependence of the provider	222.12	(g) "Short-term certificate" means a certificate issued for a period greater than six months
(i) "Temporary certificate" means a certificate issued for a period not greater that months. Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 243.166, subdivision 4b, is amended to result of Subd. 4b. Health care facility; notice of status. (a) For the purposes of this subdivided (1) "health care facility" means a facility: (1) "health care facility" means a facility: (1) (i) licensed by the commissioner of health as a hospital, boarding care home supervised living facility under sections 144.50 to 144.58, or a nursing home under consistent of the section 144.59 (ii) registered by the commissioner of health as a housing with services establised as defined in section 144D.01; or (2) (iii) licensed by the commissioner of human services as a residential facility chapter 245A to provide adult foster care, adult mental health treatment, chemical dependence of the section 144A.43. (2) "home care provider" has the meaning given in section 144A.43. (b) Prior to admission to a health care facility or home care services from a home	222.13	but not greater than 12 months.
222.16 months. Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 243.166, subdivision 4b, is amended to r Subd. 4b. Health care facility; notice of status. (a) For the purposes of this subdiv (1) "health care facility" means a facility: (1) (i) licensed by the commissioner of health as a hospital, boarding care home supervised living facility under sections 144.50 to 144.58, or a nursing home under care 144A; (2) (ii) registered by the commissioner of health as a housing with services establise as defined in section 144D.01; or (3) (iii) licensed by the commissioner of human services as a residential facility chapter 245A to provide adult foster care, adult mental health treatment, chemical dependence of the provide adults, or residential services to persons with disabilities; and (2) "home care provider" has the meaning given in section 144A.43. (b) Prior to admission to a health care facility or home care services from a home	222.14	(h) "Six-year certificate" means a certificate issued for a period of six years.
Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 243.166, subdivision 4b, is amended to r Subd. 4b. Health care facility; notice of status. (a) For the purposes of this subdiv (1) "health care facility" means a facility: (1) (i) licensed by the commissioner of health as a hospital, boarding care home supervised living facility under sections 144.50 to 144.58, or a nursing home under compared to 144A; (2) (ii) registered by the commissioner of health as a housing with services establises as defined in section 144D.01; or (3) (iii) licensed by the commissioner of human services as a residential facility chapter 245A to provide adult foster care, adult mental health treatment, chemical dependence treatment to adults, or residential services to persons with disabilities; and (2) "home care provider" has the meaning given in section 144A.43. (b) Prior to admission to a health care facility or home care services from a home	222.15	(i) "Temporary certificate" means a certificate issued for a period not greater than six
Subd. 4b. Health care facility; notice of status. (a) For the purposes of this subdivided (1) "health care facility" means a facility: (1) (i) licensed by the commissioner of health as a hospital, boarding care home supervised living facility under sections 144.50 to 144.58, or a nursing home under of 144A; (2) (ii) registered by the commissioner of health as a housing with services establised as defined in section 144D.01; or (3) (iii) licensed by the commissioner of human services as a residential facility chapter 245A to provide adult foster care, adult mental health treatment, chemical dependence treatment to adults, or residential services to persons with disabilities; and (2) "home care provider" has the meaning given in section 144A.43. (b) Prior to admission to a health care facility or home care services from a home	222.16	months.
(1) "health care facility" means a facility: (1) (i) licensed by the commissioner of health as a hospital, boarding care home supervised living facility under sections 144.50 to 144.58, or a nursing home under compared (222.22) (2) (ii) registered by the commissioner of health as a housing with services establish as defined in section 144D.01; or (3) (iii) licensed by the commissioner of human services as a residential facility chapter 245A to provide adult foster care, adult mental health treatment, chemical dependence treatment to adults, or residential services to persons with disabilities; and (2) "home care provider" has the meaning given in section 144A.43.	222.17	Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 243.166, subdivision 4b, is amended to read:
(1) (i) licensed by the commissioner of health as a hospital, boarding care home supervised living facility under sections 144.50 to 144.58, or a nursing home under commissioner of health as a housing with services establish as defined in section 144D.01; or (2) (ii) registered by the commissioner of health as a housing with services establish as defined in section 144D.01; or (3) (iii) licensed by the commissioner of human services as a residential facility chapter 245A to provide adult foster care, adult mental health treatment, chemical dependence treatment to adults, or residential services to persons with disabilities; and (2) "home care provider" has the meaning given in section 144A.43. (b) Prior to admission to a health care facility or home care services from a home	222.18	Subd. 4b. Health care facility; notice of status. (a) For the purposes of this subdivision,
supervised living facility under sections 144.50 to 144.58, or a nursing home under compared to 144A; (2) (ii) registered by the commissioner of health as a housing with services establish as defined in section 144D.01; or (3) (iii) licensed by the commissioner of human services as a residential facility chapter 245A to provide adult foster care, adult mental health treatment, chemical dependance treatment to adults, or residential services to persons with disabilities; and (2) "home care provider" has the meaning given in section 144A.43. (b) Prior to admission to a health care facility or home care services from a home	222.19	(1) "health care facility" means a facility:
222.22 144A; (2) (ii) registered by the commissioner of health as a housing with services establis as defined in section 144D.01; or (3) (iii) licensed by the commissioner of human services as a residential facility chapter 245A to provide adult foster care, adult mental health treatment, chemical deper treatment to adults, or residential services to persons with disabilities; and (2) "home care provider" has the meaning given in section 144A.43. (b) Prior to admission to a health care facility or home care services from a home	222.20	(1) (i) licensed by the commissioner of health as a hospital, boarding care home or
222.23 (2) (ii) registered by the commissioner of health as a housing with services establis as defined in section 144D.01; or 222.25 (3) (iii) licensed by the commissioner of human services as a residential facility chapter 245A to provide adult foster care, adult mental health treatment, chemical deper treatment to adults, or residential services to persons with disabilities; and (2) "home care provider" has the meaning given in section 144A.43. (b) Prior to admission to a health care facility or home care services from a home	222.21	supervised living facility under sections 144.50 to 144.58, or a nursing home under chapter
as defined in section 144D.01; or (3) (iii) licensed by the commissioner of human services as a residential facility chapter 245A to provide adult foster care, adult mental health treatment, chemical deper treatment to adults, or residential services to persons with disabilities; and (2) "home care provider" has the meaning given in section 144A.43. (b) Prior to admission to a health care facility or home care services from a home	222.22	144A;
222.25 (3) (iii) licensed by the commissioner of human services as a residential facility chapter 245A to provide adult foster care, adult mental health treatment, chemical deper treatment to adults, or residential services to persons with disabilities; and (2) "home care provider" has the meaning given in section 144A.43. (b) Prior to admission to a health care facility or home care services from a home	222.23	(2) (ii) registered by the commissioner of health as a housing with services establishment
chapter 245A to provide adult foster care, adult mental health treatment, chemical deper treatment to adults, or residential services to persons with disabilities; and (2) "home care provider" has the meaning given in section 144A.43. (b) Prior to admission to a health care facility or home care services from a home	222.24	as defined in section 144D.01; or
treatment to adults, or residential services to persons with disabilities; and (2) "home care provider" has the meaning given in section 144A.43. (b) Prior to admission to a health care facility or home care services from a hom	222.25	(3) (iii) licensed by the commissioner of human services as a residential facility under
(2) "home care provider" has the meaning given in section 144A.43. (b) Prior to admission to a health care facility or home care services from a home	222.26	chapter 245A to provide adult foster care, adult mental health treatment, chemical dependency
(b) Prior to admission to a health care facility or home care services from a hom	222.27	treatment to adults, or residential services to persons with disabilities; and
	222.28	(2) "home care provider" has the meaning given in section 144A.43.
222.30 <u>provider</u> , a person required to register under this section shall disclose to:	222.29	(b) Prior to admission to a health care facility or home care services from a home care
	222.30	provider, a person required to register under this section shall disclose to:

223.1	(1) the health care facility employee or the home care provider processing the admission
223.2	the person's status as a registered predatory offender under this section; and
223.3	(2) the person's corrections agent, or if the person does not have an assigned corrections
223.4	agent, the law enforcement authority with whom the person is currently required to register,
223.5	that inpatient admission will occur.
223.6	(c) A law enforcement authority or corrections agent who receives notice under paragraph
223.7	(b) or who knows that a person required to register under this section is planning to be
223.8	admitted and receive, or has been admitted and is receiving health care at a health care
223.9	facility or home care services from a home care provider, shall notify the administrator of
223.10	the facility <u>or the home care provider</u> and deliver a fact sheet to the administrator <u>or provider</u>
223.11	containing the following information: (1) name and physical description of the offender;
223.12	(2) the offender's conviction history, including the dates of conviction; (3) the risk level
223.13	classification assigned to the offender under section 244.052, if any; and (4) the profile of
223.14	likely victims.
223.15	(d) Except for a hospital licensed under sections 144.50 to 144.58, if a health care facility
223.16	receives a fact sheet under paragraph (c) that includes a risk level classification for the
223.17	offender, and if the facility admits the offender, the facility shall distribute the fact sheet to
223.18	all residents at the facility. If the facility determines that distribution to a resident is not
223.19	appropriate given the resident's medical, emotional, or mental status, the facility shall
223.20	distribute the fact sheet to the patient's next of kin or emergency contact.
223.21	(e) If a home care provider receives a fact sheet under paragraph (c) that includes a risk
223.22	level classification for the offender, the provider shall distribute the fact sheet to any
223.23	individual who will provide direct services to the offender before the individual begins to
223.24	provide the service.
223.25	Sec. 6. HUMAN SERVICES DEPARTMENT RESTRUCTURING WORKING
223.26	GROUP.
223.27	Subdivision 1. Establishment; membership. (a) A working group to consider
223.28	restructuring the Department of Human Services is established.
223.29	(b) The working group shall include 17 members as follows:
223.30	(1) two members of the house of representatives, one appointed by the speaker of the
223.31	house and one appointed by the minority leader of the house of representatives;
223.32	(2) two members of the senate, one appointed by the senate majority leader and one
223.33	appointed by the senate minority leader;

224.1	(3) the legislative auditor or a designee;
224.2	(4) the commissioner of administration or a designee;
224.3	(5) two representatives from county social services agencies, appointed by the
224.4	commissioner of human services;
224.5	(6) two representatives from tribal social services agencies, appointed by the
224.6	commissioner of human services;
224.7	(7) two representatives from organizations that represent people served by programs
224.8	administered by the Department of Human Services, appointed by the commissioner of
224.9	<u>human services;</u>
224.10	(8) two representatives from organizations that represent service providers that are either
224.11	licensed or reimbursed by the Department of Human Services, appointed by the commissioner
224.12	of human services;
224.13	(9) one member representing the Cultural and Ethnic Communities Leadership Council
224.14	appointed by the commissioner of human services; and
224.15	(10) two representatives of labor organizations, who must be full-time employees of the
224.16	Department of Human Services working in facilities located in different geographic regions
224.17	of the state, appointed by the governor.
224.18	(c) The appointing authorities under this subdivision must complete their appointments
224.19	no later than July 1, 2018.
224.20	Subd. 2. Duties. The working group shall review the current structure of the Departmen
224.21	of Human Services and programs administered by that agency and propose a restructuring
224.22	of the agency to provide for better coordination and control of programs, accountability,
224.23	and continuity. In making recommendations, the working group must consider:
224.24	(1) how human services agencies are structured in other states;
224.25	(2) transferring duties to other state agencies;
224.26	(3) the effect of a restructuring on clients and counties;
224.27	(4) administrative efficiencies;
224.28	(5) various analytical methods to evaluate efficiencies, including but not limited to
224.29	zero-based budgeting;
224.30	(6) budget and policy priorities;
224.31	(7) program funding sources;

225.1	(8) avoiding conflicting agency roles;
225.2	(9) the extent to which the agency should provide direct services to clients;
225.3	(10) eliminating any duplication of services; and
225.4	(11) staffing issues.
225.5	Subd. 3. Meetings. The legislative auditor or a designee shall convene the first meeting
225.6	of the working group no later than August 1, 2018. The legislative auditor or a designee
225.7	shall serve as the chair of the working group. Meetings of the working group are open to
225.8	the public.
225.9	Subd. 4. Compensation. Members of the working group shall serve without compensation
225.10	or reimbursement for expenses.
225.11	Subd. 5. Administrative support. The Legislative Coordinating Commission shall
225.12	provide administrative support for the working group and arrange for meeting space.
225.13	Subd. 6. Report. By March 1, 2019, the working group must submit a report with
225.14	findings, recommendations, and draft legislation to the chairs and ranking minority members
225.15	of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over human services policy and finance. The
225.16	report must include a discussion of the costs and benefits associated with any proposed
225.17	restructuring.
225.18	Subd. 7. Expiration. The working group expires March 2, 2019, or the day after the
225.19	working group submits the report required under subdivision 6, whichever is earlier.
225.20	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
225.21	Sec. 7. RATES FOR INDIVIDUAL MARKET HEALTH AND DENTAL PLANS
225.22	FOR 2019.
225.23	(a) Health carriers must take into account the reduction in the premium withhold
225.24	percentage under Minnesota Statutes, section 62V.05, subdivision 2, applicable beginning
225.25	in calendar year 2019 for individual market health plans and dental plans sold through
225.26	MNsure when setting rates for individual market health plans and dental plans for calendar
225.27	<u>year 2019.</u>
225.28	(b) For purposes of this section, "dental plan," "health carrier," "health plan," and
225.29	"individual market" have the meanings given in Minnesota Statutes, section 62V.02.

04/17/18	REVISOR	ACF/IL	A18-0776

ARTICLE 10

220.1		ARTICLE IV				
226.2	FORECAST ADJUSTMENTS					
226.3	Section 1. HUMAN SERVICES AI	PPROPRIATION	<u>N.</u>			
226.4	The dollar amounts shown in the columns marked "Appropriations" are added to or, if					
226.5	shown in parentheses, are subtracted	from the appropr	riations in Laws 2017	7, First Special		
226.6	Session chapter 6, article 18, from the	e general fund or	any fund named to t	he Department		
226.7	of Human Services for the purposes	specified in this a	article, to be available	e for the fiscal		
226.8	year indicated for each purpose. The	figures "2018" ar	nd "2019" used in thi	is article mean		
226.9	that the appropriations listed under the	hem are available	for the fiscal years e	ending June 30,		
226.10	2018, or June 30, 2019, respectively.	"The first year" is	s fiscal year 2018. "T	he second year"		
226.11	is fiscal year 2019. "The biennium"	is fiscal years 201	8 and 2019.			
226.12			APPROPRIAT	TIONS		
226.13			Available for th	ne Year		
226.14			Ending Jun	e 30		
226.15			<u>2018</u>	<u>2019</u>		
226.16 226.17	Sec. 2. <u>COMMISSIONER OF HU</u> <u>SERVICES</u>	<u>MAN</u>				
226.18	Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation	<u>\$</u>	(208,963,000) \$	(88,363,000)		
226.19	Appropriations by Fur	<u>nd</u>				
226.20	<u>General Fund</u> (210,083,000)	(103,535,000)				
226.21 226.22	Health Care Access Fund 7,620,000	9,258,000				
226.23	Federal TANF (6,500,000)					
226.24	Subd. 2. Forecasted Programs					
226.25	(a) MFIP/DWP					
226.26	Appropriations by Fur	<u>nd</u>				
226.27	General Fund (3,749,000)	(11,267,000)				
226.28	<u>Federal TANF</u> (7,418,000)	4,565,000				
226.29	(b) MFIP Child Care Assistance		(7,995,000)	(521,000)		
226.30	(c) General Assistance		(4,850,000)	(3,770,000)		
226.31	(d) Minnesota Supplemental Aid		(1,179,000)	(821,000)		
226.32	(e) Housing Support		(3,260,000)	(3,038,000)		
226.33	(f) Northstar Care for Children		(5,168,000)	(6,458,000)		

226.1

	04/17/18	REVISOR	ACF/IL	A18-0776
227.1	(g) MinnesotaCare		7,620,000	9,258,000
227.2	These appropriations are from the health	n care		
227.3	access fund.			
227.4	(h) Medical Assistance			
227.5	Appropriations by Fund			
227.6	General Fund (199,817,000) (1	106,124,000)		
227.7	Health Care Access	0		
227.8	<u>Fund</u> <u>-0-</u>	<u>-0-</u>		
227.9	(i) Alternative Care Program		<u>-0-</u>	<u>-0-</u>
227.10	(j) CCDTF Entitlements		15,935,000	28,464,000
227.11	Subd. 3. Technical Activities		918,000	1,349,000
227.12	These appropriations are from the federal	<u>al</u>		
227.13	TANF fund.			
227.14	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is	s effective the d	ay following final e	nactment.
227.15	\mathbf{A}°	RTICLE 11		
227.16	HEALTH AND HUMAN	N SERVICES A	PPROPRIATION	S
227.17	Section 1. HEALTH AND HUMAN S	ERVICES APP	PROPRIATIONS.	
227.18	The sums shown in the columns man	ked "Appropria	tions" are added to	or, if shown in
227.19	parentheses, subtracted from the appropri	riations in Laws	2017, First Special S	Session chapter
227.20	6, article 18, to the agencies and for the p	ourposes specifie	d in this article. The	appropriations
227.21	are from the general fund and are availa	ble for the fiscal	l years indicated for	each purpose.
227.22	The figures "2018" and "2019" used in t	this article mean	that the addition to	or subtraction
227.23	from the appropriation listed under then	n is available for	the fiscal year endi	ng June 30,
227.24	2018, or June 30, 2019, respectively. Ba	se adjustments 1	mean the addition to	or subtraction
227.25	from the base level adjustment set in Lav	ws 2017, First Sp	pecial Session chapt	er 6, article 18.
227.26	Supplemental appropriations and reduct	ions to appropri	ations for the fiscal	year ending
227.27	June 30, 2018, are effective the day follows:	owing final enac	etment unless a diffe	erent effective
227.28	date is explicit.			
227.29			APPROPRIAT	<u>IONS</u>
227.30			Available for the	e Year
227.31			Ending June	30

228.1			<u>2018</u>		<u>2019</u>
228.2 228.3	Sec. 2. <u>COMMISSIONER OF HUMAN</u> <u>SERVICES</u>				
228.4	Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation	<u>\$</u>		<u>-0-</u> <u>\$</u>	18,997,000
228.5	Subd. 2. Central Office; Operations			<u>-0-</u>	5,735,000
228.6	(a) Foster Care Recruitment Models.				
228.7	\$75,000 in fiscal year 2019 is from the general				
228.8	fund for a grant to Hennepin County to				
228.9	establish and promote family foster care				
228.10	recruitment models. The county shall use the				
228.11	grant funds for the purpose of increasing foster				
228.12	care providers through administrative				
228.13	simplification, nontraditional recruitment				
228.14	models, and family incentive options, and				
228.15	develop a strategic planning model to recruit				
228.16	family foster care providers. This is a onetime				
228.17	appropriation.				
228.18	(b) Transfer; Advisory Council on Rare				
228.19	Diseases. \$150,000 in fiscal year 2019 is from				
228.20	the general fund for transfer to the Board of				
228.21	Regents of the University of Minnesota for				
228.22	the advisory council on rare diseases under				
228.23	Minnesota Statutes, section 137.68.				
228.24	(c) Transfer; Study and Report on Health				
228.25	Insurance Rate Disparities between				
228.26	Geographic Rating Areas. \$251,000 in fiscal				
228.27	year 2019 is from the general fund for transfer				
228.28	to the Legislative Coordinating Commission				
228.29	for the Office of the Legislative Auditor to				
228.30	study and report on disparities between				
228.31	geographic rating areas in individual and small				
228.32	group market health insurance rates. This is a				
228.33	onetime appropriation.				

229.1	(d) Substance Abuse Recovery Services		
229.2	Provided through Minnesota Recovery		
229.3	Corps. \$450,000 in fiscal year 2019 is from		
229.4	the general fund for transfer to		
229.5	ServeMinnesota under Minnesota Statutes,		
229.6	section 124D.37, for purposes of providing		
229.7	evidenced-based substance abuse recovery		
229.8	services through Minnesota Recovery Corps.		
229.9	Funds shall be used to support training,		
229.10	supervision, and deployment of AmeriCorps		
229.11	members to serve as recovery navigators. The		
229.12	Minnesota Commission on National and		
229.13	Community Service shall include in the		
229.14	commission's report to the legislature under		
229.15	Minnesota Statutes, section 124D.385,		
229.16	subdivision 3, an evaluation of program data		
229.17	to determine the efficacy of the services		
229.18	promoting sustained substance abuse recovery,		
229.19	including but not limited to stable housing,		
229.20	relationship-building, employment skills, or		
229.21	a year of AmeriCorps service. This is a		
229.22	onetime appropriation.		
229.23	(e) Base Adjustment. The general fund base		
229.24	is increased \$6,074,000 in fiscal year 2020		
229.25	and \$6,083,000 in fiscal year 2021.		
229.26	Subd. 3. Central Office; Children and Families	<u>-0-</u>	1,420,000
229.27	(a) Task Force on Childhood		
229.28	Trauma-Informed Policy and Practices.		
229.29	\$55,000 in fiscal year 2019 is from the general		
229.30	fund for the task force on childhood		
229.31	trauma-informed policy and practices. This is		
229.32	a onetime appropriation.		
229.33	(b) Child Welfare Training Academy.		
229.34	\$786,000 in fiscal year 2019 is from the		
229.35	general fund for the child welfare training		

	04/17/18	REVISOR	ACF/IL	A18-0776
230.1	academy, which shall provide training t	0		
230.2	county and tribal child welfare workers	_		
230.3	county and tribal child welfare supervis	=		
230.4	and staff at agencies providing out-of-h	ome		
230.5	placement services.			
230.6	(c) Child Welfare Caseload Study. \$40	0,000		
230.7	in fiscal year 2019 is from the general f			
230.8	for a child welfare caseload study.			
230.9	(d) Minn-LInK Study. \$150,000 in fis	cal		
230.10	year 2019 is from the general fund for t			
230.11	Minn-LInK study under Minnesota Star	tutes,		
230.12	section 260C.81.			
230.13	Subd. 4. Central Office; Health Care		<u>-0-</u>	1,150,000
230.14	(a) Encounter Reporting of 340B Elig	gible_		
230.15	Drugs. \$35,000 in fiscal year 2019 is fro	m the		
230.16	general fund for development of			
230.17	recommendations for a process to ident	<u>ify</u>		
230.18	340B eligible drugs and report them at	<u>the</u>		
230.19	point of sale. This is a onetime appropri	ation.		
230.20	(b) Base Adjustment. The general fund	l base		
230.21	is increased \$858,000 in fiscal year 202	0 and		
230.22	\$872,000 in fiscal year 2021.			
230.23	Subd. 5. Central Office; Continuing C	<u>Care</u>	<u>-0-</u>	640,000
230.24	(a) Regional Ombudsmen. \$640,000 in	fiscal		
230.25	year 2019 is from the general fund to fun	<u>d five</u>		
230.26	additional regional ombudsman in the O	<u>Office</u>		
230.27	of Ombudsman for Long-Term Care, to			
230.28	perform the duties in Minnesota Statute	<u>es,</u>		
230.29	section 256.9742.			
230.30	(b) Base Adjustment. The general fund	l base		
230.31	is increased \$730,000 in fiscal year 202	0 and		
230.32	\$730,000 in fiscal year 2021.			
		~	•	4.551.000

230.33 Subd. 6. Central Office; Community Supports

-0-

4,571,000

	01/1//10	KL VISOK	ACI/IL	7110 0770
231.1	Base Adjustment. The general fund bas	e is		
231.2	increased \$4,127,000 in fiscal year 2020	and		
231.3	\$4,012,000 in fiscal year 2021.			
231.4 231.5	Subd. 7. Forecasted Programs; Medica Assistance	<u>ıl</u>	<u>-0-</u>	8,917,000
231.6	Subd. 8. Forecasted Programs; Alterna	tive Care	<u>-0-</u>	(28,000)
231.7 231.8	Subd. 9. Forecasted Programs; Chemic Dependency Treatment Fund	<u>cal</u>	<u>-0-</u>	(14,243,000)
231.9 231.10	Subd. 10. Grant Programs; Child and E Support Grants	<u>Cconomic</u>	<u>-0-</u>	1,900,000
231.11	(a) Community Action Grants. \$750,00	00 in		
231.12	fiscal year 2019 is from the general fund	for		
231.13	community action grants under Minneso	ta_		
231.14	Statutes, sections 256E.30 to 256E.32. The	nis is		
231.15	a onetime appropriation.			
231.16	(b) Mobile food shelf grants. (1) \$750,0	000		
231.17	in fiscal year 2019 is from the general fu	<u>nd</u>		
231.18	for mobile food shelf grants to be awarde	d by		
231.19	Hunger Solutions. Of this appropriation,			
231.20	\$375,000 is for sustaining existing mobil	<u>le</u>		
231.21	food shelf programs and \$375,000 is for			
231.22	creating new mobile food shelf programs	<u>S.</u>		
231.23	(2) Hunger Solutions shall award grants	on a		
231.24	priority basis under clause (4). A grant to	<u>)</u>		
231.25	sustain an existing mobile food shelf prog	gram_		
231.26	shall not exceed \$25,000. A grant to crea	nte a		
231.27	new mobile food shelf program shall not			
231.28	exceed \$75,000.			
231.29	(3) An applicant for a mobile food shelf g	grant		
231.30	must provide the following information to	to		
231.31	Hunger Solutions:			
231.32	(i) the location of the project;			
231.33	(ii) a description of the mobile program,			
231.34	including the program's size and scope;			

ACF/IL

A18-0776

REVISOR

04/17/18

232.1	(111) evidence regarding the unserved or
232.2	underserved nature of the community in which
232.3	the program is located;
232.4	(iv) evidence of community support for the
232.5	program;
232.6	(v) the total cost of the program;
232.7	(vi) the amount of the grant request and how
232.8	funds will be used;
232.9	(vii) sources of funding or in-kind
232.10	contributions for the program that may
232.11	supplement any grant award;
232.12	(viii) the applicant's commitment to maintain
232.13	the mobile program; and
232.14	(ix) any additional information requested by
232.15	<u>Hunger Solutions.</u>
232.16	(4) In evaluating applications and awarding
232.17	grants, Hunger Solutions must give priority
232.18	to an applicant who:
232.19	(i) serves unserved or underserved areas;
232.20	(ii) creates a new mobile program or expands
232.21	an existing mobile program;
232.22	(iii) serves areas where a high level of need is
232.23	identified;
232.24	(iv) provides evidence of strong support for
232.25	the program from residents and other
232.26	institutions in the community;
232.27	(v) leverages funding for the program from
232.28	other private and public sources; and
232.29	(vi) commits to maintaining the program on
232.30	a multiyear basis.
232.31	(5) This is a onetime appropriation.

233.1	(c) Project Legacy. \$400,000 in fiscal year		
233.2	2019 is from the general fund for a grant to		
233.3	Project Legacy to provide counseling and		
233.4	outreach to youth and young adults from		
233.5	families with a history of generational poverty.		
233.6	Money from this appropriation must be spent		
233.7	for mental health care, medical care, chemical		
233.8	dependency interventions, housing, and		
233.9	mentoring and counseling services for first		
233.10	generation college students. This is a onetime		
233.11	appropriation.		
233.12	Subd. 11. Grant Programs; Disabilities Grants	-0-	7,740,000
222 12	Disability grants \$7.740,000 in fiscal year		
233.13	Disability grants. \$7,740,000 in fiscal year		
233.14	2019 is from the general fund for the home		
233.15	and community-based services innovation pool		
233.16	under Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.0921;		
233.17	disability waiver rate system transition grants under Laws 2017, First Special Session		
233.18	•		
233.19	chapter 6, article 18, section 2, subdivision 20: and competitive workforce sustainability		
233.20	29; and competitive workforce sustainability grants under article 5, section 18. These funds		
233.21	shall be provided to home and		
233.22	community-based waiver service providers		
233.23233.24	that are projected to be negatively impacted		
233.24	due to the transition to rates calculated under		
233.26	Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.4914. The		
233.27	commissioner may transfer funds from this		
233.27	appropriation to budget activity 52, other		
233.29	long-term care grants, as necessary. This is a		
233.30	onetime appropriation.		
233.31233.32	Subd. 12. Grant Programs; Child Mental Health Grants	<u>-0-</u>	250,000
233.33	School-Linked Mental Health Services		
233.34	Delivered by Telemedicine. \$250,000 in		
233.35	fiscal year 2019 is from the general fund for		
	J		

	04/17/18	REVISOR	ACF/IL	A18-0776
234.1	grants for four pilot projects to deliver			
234.2	school-linked mental health services by	,		
234.3	telemedicine. The grants are for new or			
234.4	existing providers and must be two pilo	<u>ot</u>		
234.5	projects in greater Minnesota, one in the	<u>e</u>		
234.6	seven-county metropolitan area excluding			
234.7	Minneapolis and St. Paul, and one in			
234.8	Minneapolis or St. Paul. No later than s	six		
234.9	months after the funds are expended, the	<u>e</u>		
234.10	commissioner shall report to the legisla	tive		
234.11	committees with jurisdiction over ment	<u>al</u>		
234.12	health issues on the effectiveness of the	pilot		
234.13	projects. This is a onetime appropriation	n and		
234.14	is available until June 30, 2021.			
234.15 234.16	Subd. 13. Grant Programs; Chemical Dependency Treatment Support Grant	<u>.</u>	<u>-0-</u>	945,000
234.17	Student Health Initiative to Limit Op	oioid		
234.18	Harm. \$945,000 in fiscal year 2019 is	from		
234.19	the general fund for the student health			
234.20	initiative to limit opioid harm. This is a			
234.21	onetime appropriation.			
234.22	Sec. 3. COMMISSIONER OF HEAL	<u>тн</u>		
234.23	Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation	<u>\$</u>	<u>-0-</u> <u>\$</u>	11,937,000
234.24	Appropriations by Fund			
234.25	2018	2019		
234.26	General <u>-0-</u>	11,853,000		
234.27	State Government	04.000		
234.28	Special Revenue <u>-0-</u>	84,000		
234.29	Subd. 2. Health Improvement		<u>-0-</u>	9,127,000
234.30	(a) Health Professional Education Lo	<u>an</u>		
234.31	Forgiveness Program. \$1,000,000 in f	<u>iscal</u>		
234.32	year 2019 is from the general fund for t	<u>he</u>		
234.33	health professional education loan forgiv	<u>veness</u>		
234.34	program under Minnesota Statutes, sect	tion		

234.35 144.1501.

235.1	(b) Transfer; Minnesota Biomedicine and
235.2	Bioethics Innovation Grants. \$2,897,000 in
235.3	fiscal year 2019 is from the general fund for
235.4	transfer to the Board of Regents of the
235.5	University of Minnesota for Minnesota
235.6	biomedicine and bioethics innovation grants
235.7	under Minnesota Statutes, section 137.67. This
235.8	appropriation is available until June 30, 2021.
235.9	The general fund base for this program is
235.10	\$30,000 in fiscal year 2020 and \$30,000 in
235.11	fiscal year 2021.
235.12	(c) Addressing Disparities in Prenatal Care
235.13	Access and Utilization. \$613,000 in fiscal
235.14	year 2019 is from the general fund for grants
235.15	under Minnesota Statutes, section 145.928,
235.16	subdivision 7, paragraph (a), clause (2), to
235.17	decrease racial and ethnic disparities in access
235.18	to and utilization of high-quality prenatal care.
235.19	This is a onetime appropriation.
235.20	(d) Information on Congenital
235.21	Cytomegalovirus. \$127,000 in fiscal year
235.22	2019 is from the general fund for the
235.23	development and dissemination of information
235.24	about congenital cytomegalovirus according
235.25	to Minnesota Statutes, section 144.064.
235.26	(e) Older Adult Social Isolation Working
235.27	Group. \$85,000 in fiscal year 2018 is from
235.28	the general fund for the older adult social
235.29	isolation working group, for costs related to
235.30	the salary of an independent, professional
235.31	facilitator, printing and duplicating costs, and
235.32	expenses related to meeting management for
235.33	the working group. This is a onetime
235.34	appropriation.

Article 11 Sec. 3.

236.1	(f) The TAP Program. \$10,000 in fiscal year
236.2	2019 is from the general fund for a grant to
236.3	the TAP in St. Paul to support mental health
236.4	in disability communities through spoken art
236.5	forms, community supports, and community
236.6	engagement. This is a onetime appropriation.
236.7	(g) Statewide Tobacco Cessation Services.
236.8	\$291,000 in fiscal year 2019 is from the
236.9	general fund for statewide tobacco cessation
236.10	services under Minnesota Statutes, section
236.11	144.397. The general fund base for this
236.12	appropriation is \$1,550,000 in fiscal year 2020
236.13	and \$2,955,000 in fiscal year 2021.
236.14	(h) Opioid Abuse Prevention Pilot Project.
236.15	\$2,000,000 in fiscal year 2019 is from the
236.16	general fund for opioid abuse prevention pilot
236.17	projects under Laws 2017, First Special
236.18	Session chapter 6, article 10, section 144. Of
236.19	this amount: (1) \$1,400,000 is for the opioid
236.20	abuse prevention pilot project through CHI
236.21	St. Gabriel's Health Family Medical Center,
236.22	also known as Unity Family Health Care; and
236.23	(2) \$600,000 is for Project Echo through CHI
236.24	St. Gabriel's Health Family Medical Center
236.25	for e-learning sessions centered around opioid
236.26	case management and best practices for opioid
236.27	abuse prevention. This is a onetime
236.28	appropriation.
236.29	(i) Opioid Overdose Reduction Pilot
236.30	Program. \$1,000,000 in fiscal year 2019 is
236.31	from the general fund for the opioid overdose
236.32	reduction pilot program, which provides grants
236.33	to ambulance services to fund community
236.34	paramedic teams. Of this appropriation, the
236.35	commissioner may use up to \$50,000 to

237.1	administer the program. This is a onetime
237.2	appropriation and is available until June 30,
237.3	<u>2021.</u>
237.4	(j) Prescription Drug Deactivation and
237.5	Disposal Products. (1) \$1,104,000 in fiscal
237.6	year 2019 is from the general fund to provide
237.7	grants to pharmacists and other prescription
237.8	drug dispensers, health care providers, local
237.9	law enforcement and emergency services
237.10	personnel, and local health and human services
237.11	departments to purchase at-home prescription
237.12	drug deactivation and disposal products that
237.13	render drugs and medications inert and
237.14	irretrievable. The grants must be awarded on
237.15	a competitive basis and targeted toward
237.16	geographic areas of the state with the highest
237.17	rates of overdose deaths.
237.18	(2) Grant recipients must provide these
237.19	deactivation and disposal products free of
237.20	charge to members of the public. Grant
237.21	recipients, and the vendors providing
237.22	deactivation and disposal products to grant
237.23	recipients, shall provide information necessary
237.24	to evaluate the effectiveness of the grant
237.25	program to the commissioner of health, in the
237.26	form and manner specified by the
237.27	commissioner.
237.28	(3) This is a onetime appropriation.
237.29	(k) Base Adjustments. The general fund base
237.30	is increased \$2,707,000 in fiscal year 2020
237.31	and \$4,112,000 in fiscal year 2021.
237.32	Subd. 3. Health Protection
237.33	Appropriations by Fund
237.34	<u>General</u> <u>-0-</u> <u>2,726,000</u>

	04/17/18	REVISOR	ACF/IL	A18-0776
238.1 238.2	State Government Special Revenue -0-	84,000		
238.3	Base Adjustments. The general fund	base is		
238.4	increased \$1,980,000 in fiscal year 20	20 and		
238.5	\$1,933,000 in fiscal year 2021. The st	<u>ate</u>		
238.6	government special revenue fund base	e is		
238.7	increased \$365,000 in fiscal year 2020	ond and		
238.8	\$77,000 in fiscal year 2021.			
238.9	Sec. 4. HEALTH-RELATED BOAR	RDS		
238.10	Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation	<u>\$</u>	<u>-0-</u> \$	216,000
238.11	Unless otherwise noted, this appropria	ntion is		
238.12	from the state government special reve	enue		
238.13	fund. The amounts that may be spent f	or each		
238.14	purpose are specified in the following			
238.15	subdivisions.			
238.16	Subd. 2. Board of Dentistry		<u>-0-</u>	<u>5,000</u>
238.17	This is a onetime appropriation.			
238.18	Subd. 3. Board of Nursing		<u>-0-</u>	162,000
238.19	(a) Nurse Licensure Compact. \$157,	,000 in		
238.20	fiscal year 2019 is for implementation	of		
238.21	Minnesota Statutes, section 148.2855.	<u>.</u>		
238.22	(b) Base Adjustments. The state gove	rnment		
238.23	special revenue fund base is increased	l by		
238.24	\$6,000 in fiscal year 2020 and \$6,000 i	n fiscal		
238.25	year 2021.			
238.26	Subd. 4. Board of Nursing Home Adn	<u>ninistrators</u>	<u>-0-</u>	25,000
238.27	Council of Health Boards Work Gro	oup.		
238.28	\$25,000 in fiscal year 2019 is for the			
238.29	administrative services unit to conven	<u>e a</u>		
238.30	Council of Health Boards work group t	o study		
238.31	and make recommendations on the use	e of		
238.32	telehealth technologies. This is a onet	<u>ime</u>		
238.33	appropriation.			

	04/17/18	REVISOR	ACF/IL	A18-0776
239.1	Subd. 5. Board of Optometry		<u>-0-</u>	5,000
239.2	This is a onetime appropriation.			
239.3	Subd. 6. Board of Pharmacy		<u>-0-</u>	14,000
239.4	Base Adjustments. The state governm	<u>ent</u>		
239.5	special revenue fund base is increased l	<u>by</u>		
239.6	\$12,000 in fiscal year 2020 and \$12,00	<u>0 in</u>		
239.7	fiscal year 2021.			
239.8	Subd. 7. Board of Podiatric Medicine	<u>.</u>	<u>-0-</u>	5,000
239.9	This is a onetime appropriation.			
239.10 239.11	Sec. 5. EMERGENCY MEDICAL SI REGULATORY BOARD	ERVICES §	<u>-0-</u> <u>\$</u>	<u>35,000</u>
239.12	Base Adjustment. The general fund ba	ase is		
239.13	increased by \$15,000 in fiscal year 2020	only.		
239.14	Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2016, sect	ion 256.01, is amend	ed by adding a sul	bdivision to
239.15	read:			
239.16	Subd. 17a. Transfers for routine a	dministrative opera	tions. (a) The con	nmissioner
239.17	may only transfer money from the gene	-		
239.18	operations and may not transfer money	from the general fun	d to any other fun	d without
239.19	approval from the commissioner of man	nagement and budget	unless specificall	y authorized
239.20	by law. If the commissioner of manager	nent and budget deter	mines that a trans	fer proposed
239.21	by the commissioner is necessary for ro	outine administrative	operations of the	Department
239.22	of Human Services, the commissioner	may approve the tran	sfer. If the commi	ssioner of
239.23	management and budget determines that	at the transfer propose	ed by the commiss	sioner is not
239.24	necessary for routine administrative op	erations of the Depar	tment of Human S	Services, the
239.25	commissioner may not approve the tran	nsfer unless the requir	rements of paragra	aph (b) are
239.26	met.			
239.27	(b) If the commissioner of managen	nent and budget deter	mines that a trans	sfer under
239.28	paragraph (a) is not necessary for routing	ne administrative ope	rations of the Dep	partment of
239.29	Human Services, the commissioner may	request approval of the	ne transfer from the	e Legislative
239.30	Advisory Commission under section 3.	30. To request approv	val of a transfer fr	om the
239.31	Legislative Advisory Commission, the	commissioner must s	ubmit a request th	nat includes
239.32	the amount of the transfer, the budget a	ctivity and fund from	which money wo	ould be
239.33	transferred and the budget activity and	fund to which money	would be transfe	rred, an

240.1	explanation of the administrative necessity of the transfer, and a statement from the
240.2	commissioner of management and budget explaining why the transfer is not necessary for
240.3	routine administrative operations of the Department of Human Services. The Legislative
240.4	Advisory Commission shall review the proposed transfer and make a recommendation
240.5	within 20 days of the request from the commissioner. If the Legislative Advisory Commission
240.6	makes a positive recommendation or no recommendation, the commissioner may approve
240.7	the transfer. If the Legislative Advisory Commission makes a negative recommendation or
240.8	a request for more information, the commissioner may not approve the transfer. A
240.9	recommendation of the Legislative Advisory Commission must be made by a majority of
240.10	the commission and must be made at a meeting of the commission unless a written
240.11	recommendation is signed by a majority of the commission members required to vote on
240.12	the question. If the commission makes a negative recommendation or a request for more
240.13	information, the commission may subsequently withdraw or change its recommendation.
240.14	Sec. 7. Laws 2017, First Special Session chapter 6, article 18, section 16, subdivision 2,
240.15	is amended to read:
240.16	Subd. 2. Administration. Subject to Minnesota Statutes, section 256.01, subdivision
240.17	17a, positions, salary money, and nonsalary administrative money may be transferred within
240.18	the Departments of Health and Human Services as the commissioners consider necessary,
240.19	with the advance approval of the commissioner of management and budget. The
240.20	commissioner shall inform the chairs and ranking minority members of the senate Health
240.21	and Human Services Finance and Policy Committee, the senate Human Services Reform
240.22	Finance and Policy Committee, and the house of representatives Health and Human Services
240.23	Finance Committee quarterly about transfers made under this subdivision.
240.24	Sec. 8. TRANSFERS.
240.25	By June 30, 2018, the commissioner of management and budget shall transfer:
240.26	(1) \$14,000,000 from the systems operations account in the special revenue fund to the
240.27	general fund;
240.28	(2) \$2,000,000 from the system long-term care options product account in the special
240.29	revenue fund to the general fund; and
240.30	(3) \$2,400,000 from the direct care and treatment special health care receipts account
240.31	in the special revenue fund to the general fund.
	<u>.</u>

241.1	Sec. 9.	EXPIRATION	OF UNCO	DIFIED LA	ANGUAGE
-------	---------	-------------------	---------	-----------	---------

- All uncodified language contained in this article expires on June 30, 2019, unless a
- 241.3 <u>different expiration date is explicit.</u>
- Sec. 10. **EFFECTIVE DATE.**
- 241.5 This article is effective July 1, 2018, unless a different effective date is specified."
- 241.6 Amend the title accordingly