
1.1 .................... moves to amend S.F. No. 1456, the delete everything amendment​

1.2 (A17-0497), as follows:​

1.3 Page 4, line 16, delete "2018" and insert "2020"​

1.4 Page 9, line 28, "six" and insert "four"​

1.5 Page 9, delete lines 32 to 33 and insert "a decline in walleye fishing on Lake Mille Lacs."​

1.6 Page 12, line 8, delete "$2,289,000" and insert "$1,539,000"​

1.7 Page 12, line 21, delete "$5,039,000" and insert "$4,039,000"​

1.8 Page 12, after line 21, insert:​

1.9 "(f) $750,000 each year is for a competitive​

1.10 grant program to provide grants to​

1.11 organizations that provide support services for​

1.12 individuals, such as job training, employment​

1.13 preparation, internships, job assistance to​

1.14 fathers, financial literacy, academic and​

1.15 behavioral interventions for low-performing​

1.16 students, and youth intervention. Grants made​

1.17 under this section must focus on low-income​

1.18 communities, young adults from families with​

1.19 a history of intergenerational poverty, and​

1.20 communities of color. Of this amount, up to​

1.21 four percent is for administration and​

1.22 monitoring of the program. In fiscal year 2020​

1.23 and beyond, the base amount is $1,000,000."​

1.24 Reletter the paragraphs in sequence​
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2.1 Page 20, line 22, delete ", through the adult"​

2.2 Page 20, line 23, delete "career pathways program,"​

2.3 Page 21, after line 34, insert:​

2.4 "(jj) In calendar year 2017, the public utility​

2.5 subject to Minnesota Statutes, section​

2.6 116C.779, must withhold $1,000,000 from the​

2.7 funds required to fulfill its financial​

2.8 commitments under Minnesota Statutes,​

2.9 section 116C.779, subdivision 1, and pay such​

2.10 amounts to the commissioner of employment​

2.11 and economic development for deposit in the​

2.12 Minnesota 21st century fund under Minnesota​

2.13 Statutes, section 116J.423."​

2.14 Page 27, delete lines 19 to 26​

2.15 Page 27, line 28, before "This" insert "(a)"​

2.16 Page 27, after line 31, insert:​

2.17 "(b) $1,750,000 in fiscal year 2018 is for the​

2.18 rental assistance to highly mobile students​

2.19 program under Minnesota Statutes, section​

2.20 462A.201, subdivision 2, paragraph (a), clause​

2.21 (4)."​

2.22 Page 28, line 9, before "This" insert "(a)"​

2.23 Page 28, after line 11, insert:​

2.24 "(b) $250,000 in fiscal year 2018 is for grants​

2.25 to programs under Minnesota Statutes, section​

2.26 462A.204, subdivision 8."​

2.27 Page 35, delete lines 4 to 5 and insert​

2.28 "(a) $384,000 each year is for additional​

2.29 compliance efforts with unclaimed property.​

2.30 The commissioner may issue contracts for​

2.31 these services."​

2.32 Page 55, delete section 15​
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3.1 Page 57, after line 12, insert:​

3.2 "Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 176.135, is amended by adding a subdivision​

3.3 to read:​

3.4 Subd. 9. Designated contact person and required training related to submission​

3.5 and payment of medical bills. (a) For purposes of this subdivision:​

3.6 (1) "clearinghouse" means a health care clearinghouse as defined in section 62J.51,​

3.7 subdivision 11a, that receives or transmits workers' compensation electronic transactions​

3.8 as described in section 62J.536;​

3.9 (2) "department" means the Department of Labor and Industry;​

3.10 (3) "hospital" means a hospital licensed in this state;​

3.11 (4) "payer" means:​

3.12 (i) a workers' compensation insurer;​

3.13 (ii) an employer, or group of employers, authorized to self-insure for workers'​

3.14 compensation liability; and​

3.15 (iii) a third-party administrator licensed by the Department of Commerce under section​

3.16 60A.23, subdivision 8, to pay or review workers' compensation medical bills under this​

3.17 chapter; and​

3.18 (5) "submission or payment of medical bills" includes the submission, transmission,​

3.19 receipt, acceptance, response, adjustment, and payment of medical bills under this chapter.​

3.20 (b) Effective November 1, 2017, each payer, hospital, and clearinghouse must provide​

3.21 the department with the name and contact information of a designated employee to answer​

3.22 inquiries related to the submission or payment of medical bills. Payers, hospitals, and​

3.23 clearinghouses must provide the department with the name of a new designated employee​

3.24 within 14 days after the previously designated employee is no longer employed or becomes​

3.25 unavailable for more than 30 days. The name and contact information of the designated​

3.26 employee must be provided on forms and at intervals prescribed by the department. The​

3.27 department must post a directory of the designated employees on the department's Web site.​

3.28 (c) The designated employee under paragraph (b) must:​

3.29 (1) complete training, provided by the department, about submission or payment of​

3.30 medical bills; and​
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4.1 (2) respond within 30 days to written department inquiries related to submission or​

4.2 payment of medical bills.​

4.3 The training requirement in clause (1) does not apply to a payer that has not received any​

4.4 workers' compensation medical bills in the 12 months before the training becomes available.​

4.5 (d) The commissioner may assess penalties, payable to the assigned risk safety account,​

4.6 against payers, hospitals, and clearinghouses for violation of this subdivision as provided​

4.7 in clauses (1) to (3):​

4.8 (1) for failure to comply with the requirements in paragraph (b), the commissioner may​

4.9 assess a penalty of $50 for each day of noncompliance after the department has provided​

4.10 the noncompliant payer, clearinghouse, or hospital with a 30-day written warning;​

4.11 (2) for failure of the designated employee to complete training under paragraph (c),​

4.12 clause (1), within 90 days after the department has notified a payer, clearinghouse, or​

4.13 hospital's designated employee that required training is available, the commissioner may​

4.14 assess a penalty of $3,000;​

4.15 (3) for failure to respond within 30 days to a department inquiry related to submission​

4.16 or payment of medical bills under paragraph (c), clause (2), the commissioner may assess​

4.17 a penalty of $3,000. The commissioner shall not assess a penalty under both this clause and​

4.18 section 176.194, subdivision 3, clause (6), for failure to respond to the same department​

4.19 inquiry.​

4.20 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective October 1, 2017.​

4.21 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 176.1362, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

4.22 Subdivision 1. Payment based on Medicare MS-DRG system. (a) Except as provided​

4.23 in subdivisions 2 and 3, the maximum reimbursement for inpatient hospital services, articles,​

4.24 and supplies is 200 percent of the amount calculated for each hospital under the federal​

4.25 Inpatient Prospective Payment System developed for Medicare, using the inpatient Medicare​

4.26 PC-Pricer program for the applicable MS-DRG as provided in paragraph (b) this subdivision.​

4.27 All adjustments included in the PC-Pricer program are included in the amount calculated,​

4.28 including but not limited to any outlier payments.​

4.29 (b) Payment under this section is effective for services, articles, and supplies provided​

4.30 to patients discharged from the hospital on or after January 1, 2016. Payment for services,​

4.31 articles, and supplies provided to patients discharged on January 1, 2016, through December​

4.32 31, 2016, must be based on the Medicare PC-Pricer program in effect on January 1, 2016.​
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5.1 (c) For patients discharged on or after the effective date of this section, payment for​

5.2 inpatient services, articles, and supplies for patients discharged in each calendar year​

5.3 thereafter must be based on calculated according to the PC-Pricer program in effect on​

5.4 January 1 of the year of discharge identified on Medicare's Web site as FY 2016.1, updated​

5.5 on January 19, 2016.​

5.6 (d) For patients discharged on or after October 1, 2017, payment for inpatient services,​

5.7 articles, and supplies must be calculated according to the PC-Pricer program posted on the​

5.8 Department of Labor and Industry's Web site as follows:​

5.9 (1) No later than October 1, 2017, and October 1 of each subsequent year, the​

5.10 commissioner must post on the department's Web site the version of the PC-Pricer program​

5.11 that is most recently available on Medicare's Web site as of the preceding July 1. If no​

5.12 PC-Pricer program is available on the Medicare Web site on any July 1, the PC-Pricer​

5.13 program most recently posted on the department's Web site remains in effect.​

5.14 (2) The commissioner must publish notice of the applicable PC-Pricer program in the​

5.15 State Register no later than October 1 of each year.​

5.16 (e) The MS-DRG grouper software or program that corresponds to the applicable version​

5.17 of the PC-Pricer program must be used to determine payment under this subdivision.​

5.18 (c) (f) Hospitals must bill workers' compensation insurers using the same codes, formats,​

5.19 and details that are required for billing for hospital inpatient services by the Medicare​

5.20 program. The bill must be submitted to the insurer within the time period required by section​

5.21 62Q.75, subdivision 3. For purposes of this section, "insurer" includes both workers'​

5.22 compensation insurers and self-insured employers.​

5.23 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

5.24 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 176.1362, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

5.25 Subd. 2. Payment for catastrophic, high-cost injuries. (a) If the hospital's total usual​

5.26 and customary charges for services, articles, and supplies for a patient's hospitalization​

5.27 exceed a threshold of $175,000, annually adjusted as provided in paragraph (b),​

5.28 reimbursement must not be based on the MS-DRG system, but must instead be paid at 75​

5.29 percent of the hospital's usual and customary charges. The threshold amount in effect on​

5.30 the date of discharge determines the applicability of this paragraph.​

5.31 (b) Beginning On January 1, 2017, and each January 1 thereafter, the commissioner​

5.32 must adjust the previous year's threshold by the percent change in average total charges per​

5.33 inpatient case, using data available as of October 1 for non-Critical Access Hospitals from​
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6.1 the Health Care Cost Information System maintained by the Department of Health pursuant​

6.2 to chapter 144. Beginning October 1, 2017, and each October 1 thereafter, the commissioner​

6.3 must adjust the previous threshold using the data available as of the preceding July 1. The​

6.4 commissioner must annually publish notice of the updated threshold in the State Register.​

6.5 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

6.6 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 176.275, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

6.7 Subdivision 1. Filing. If a document is required to be filed by this chapter or any rules​

6.8 adopted pursuant to authority granted by this chapter, the filing shall be completed by the​

6.9 receipt of the document at the division, department, office, or the court of appeals. The​

6.10 division, department, office, and the court of appeals shall accept any document which has​

6.11 been delivered to it for legal filing, but may refuse to accept any form or document that​

6.12 lacks the name of the injured employee, employer, or insurer, the date of injury, or the​

6.13 injured employee's Social Security number information required by statute or rule. The​

6.14 division, department, office, and court of appeals are not required to maintain, and may​

6.15 destroy, a duplicate of a form or document that has already been filed. If a workers'​

6.16 compensation identification number has been assigned by the department, it may be​

6.17 substituted for the Social Security number on a form or document. If the injured employee​

6.18 has fewer than three days of lost time from work, the party submitting the required document​

6.19 must attach to it, at the time of filing, a copy of the first report of injury.​

6.20 A notice or other document required to be served or filed at either the department, the​

6.21 office, or the court of appeals which is inadvertently served or filed at the wrong one of​

6.22 these agencies shall be deemed to have been served or filed with the proper agency. The​

6.23 receiving agency shall note the date of receipt of a document and shall forward the documents​

6.24 to the proper agency no later than two working days following receipt.​

6.25 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 176.285, is amended to read:​

6.26 176.285 SERVICE OF PAPERS AND NOTICES; ELECTRONIC FILING.​

6.27 Subdivision 1. Service by mail. Service of papers and notices shall be by mail or​

6.28 otherwise as the commissioner or the chief administrative law judge may by rule direct.​

6.29 Where service is by mail, service is effected at the time mailed if properly addressed and​

6.30 stamped. If it is so mailed, it is presumed the paper or notice reached the party to be served.​

6.31 However, a party may show by competent evidence that that party did not receive it or that​

6.32 it had been delayed in transit for an unusual or unreasonable period of time. In case of​
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7.1 nonreceipt or delay, an allowance shall be made for the party's failure to assert a right within​

7.2 the prescribed time.​

7.3 Subd. 2. Electronic service and filing. (a) Where a statute or rule authorizes or requires​

7.4 a document to be filed with or served on an agency, the document may be filed electronically​

7.5 if electronic filing is authorized by the agency and if the document is transmitted in the​

7.6 manner and in the format specified by the agency. If electronic filing of a document is​

7.7 authorized by the agency and a statute or rule requires a copy of the document to be provided​

7.8 or served on another person or party, the document filed electronically with the agency and​

7.9 provided or served on the other person or party must contain the same information in the​

7.10 format required by the commissioner.​

7.11 (b) Where a statute or rule authorizes or requires a person's signature on a document to​

7.12 be filed with or served on an agency, the signature may be an electronic signature, as defined​

7.13 by section 325L.02, or transmitted electronically, if authorized by the agency and if the​

7.14 signature is transmitted in the manner and format specified by the agency. The commissioner​

7.15 may require that a document authorized or required to be filed with the commissioner,​

7.16 department, or division be filed electronically in the manner and format specified by the​

7.17 commissioner, except that an employee must not be required to file a document electronically​

7.18 unless the document is filed by an attorney on behalf of an employee. An agency may serve​

7.19 a document electronically if the recipient agrees to receive it in an electronic format. The​

7.20 department or court may adopt rules for the certification of signatures.​

7.21 (c) An agency may serve a document electronically on a payer, rehabilitation provider,​

7.22 or attorney. An agency may serve a document on any other party if the recipient agrees to​

7.23 receive it in an electronic format. The date of electronic service of a document is the date​

7.24 the recipient is sent a document electronically, or the date the recipient is notified that the​

7.25 document is available on a Web site, whichever occurs first.​

7.26 (d) When the electronic filing of a legal document with the department marks the​

7.27 beginning of a prescribed time for another party to assert a right, the prescribed time for​

7.28 another party to assert a right shall be lengthened by two calendar days when it can be shown​

7.29 that service to the other party was by mail.​

7.30 Subd. 3. Proof of service. The commissioner and the chief administrative law judge​

7.31 shall ensure that proof of service of all papers and notices served by their respective agencies​

7.32 is placed in the official file of the case.​

7.33 Subd. 4. Definitions; applicability. (a) For purposes of this section, "agency" means​

7.34 the workers' compensation division, the Department of Labor and Industry, the commissioner​
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8.1 of the Department of Labor and Industry, the Office of Administrative Hearings, the chief​

8.2 administrative law judge, or the Workers' Compensation Court of Appeals. "Document"​

8.3 includes documents, reports, notices, orders, papers, forms, information, and data elements​

8.4 that are authorized or required to be filed with an agency or the commissioner or that are​

8.5 authorized or required to be served on or by an agency or the commissioner. "Payer" means​

8.6 a workers' compensation insurer, self-insurer employer, or third-party administrator.​

8.7 (b) Except as otherwise modified by this section, the provisions of chapter 325L apply​

8.8 to electronic signatures and the electronic transmission of documents under this section."​

8.9 Page 89, after line 16, insert:​

8.10 "Sec. 18. Laws 2015, First Special Session chapter 1, article 1, section 2, subdivision 6,​

8.11 is amended to read:​

8.12 Subd. 6. Vocational Rehabilitation​

8.13 Appropriations by Fund​

21,611,000​22,611,000​8.14 General​

7,830,000​7,830,000​
8.15 Workforce​
8.16 Development​

8.17 (a) $10,800,000 each year is from the general​

8.18 fund for the state's vocational rehabilitation​

8.19 program under Minnesota Statutes, chapter​

8.20 268A.​

8.21 (b) $2,261,000 each year is from the general​

8.22 fund for grants to centers for independent​

8.23 living under Minnesota Statutes, section​

8.24 268A.11.​

8.25 (c) $5,745,000 each year from the general fund​

8.26 and $6,830,000 each year from the workforce​

8.27 development fund are for extended​

8.28 employment services for persons with severe​

8.29 disabilities under Minnesota Statutes, section​

8.30 268A.15.​

8.31 (d) $250,000 in fiscal year 2016 and $250,000​

8.32 in fiscal year 2017 are for rate increases to​

8.33 providers of extended employment services​

8.34 for persons with severe disabilities under​
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9.1 Minnesota Statutes, section 268A.15. This​

9.2 appropriation is added to the agency's base.​

9.3 (e) $2,555,000 each year is from the general​

9.4 fund for grants to programs that provide​

9.5 employment support services to persons with​

9.6 mental illness under Minnesota Statutes,​

9.7 sections 268A.13 and 268A.14.​

9.8 (f) $1,000,000 each year is from the workforce​

9.9 development fund for grants under Minnesota​

9.10 Statutes, section 268A.16, for employment​

9.11 services for persons, including transition-aged​

9.12 youth, who are deaf, deafblind, or​

9.13 hard-of-hearing. If the amount in the first year​

9.14 is insufficient, the amount in the second year​

9.15 is available in the first year.​

9.16 (g) $1,000,000 in fiscal year 2016 is for a​

9.17 grant to Assistive Technology of Minnesota,​

9.18 a statewide nonprofit organization that is​

9.19 exclusively dedicated to the issues of access​

9.20 to and the acquisition of assistive technology.​

9.21 The purpose of the grant is to acquire assistive​

9.22 technology and to work in tandem with​

9.23 individuals using this technology to create​

9.24 career paths Assistive Technology of​

9.25 Minnesota must use the funds to provide​

9.26 low-interest loans to individuals of all ages​

9.27 and types of disabilities to purchase assistive​

9.28 technology and employment-related​

9.29 equipment. This is a onetime appropriation​

9.30 and is available until June 30, 2019.​

9.31 (h) For purposes of this subdivision,​

9.32 Minnesota Diversified Industries, Inc. is an​

9.33 eligible provider of services for persons with​

9.34 severe disabilities under Minnesota Statutes,​

9.35 section 268A.15.​
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10.1 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective retroactively from July 1, 2015."​

10.2 Page 94, after line 8, insert:​

10.3 "Sec. 27. USE OF UNALLOCATED FUNDS.​

10.4 (a) Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, sections 116L.05, subdivision 5, and 116L.20,​

10.5 subdivision 2, in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 only, the unallocated workforce development​

10.6 funds appropriated to the Job Skills Partnership Board under Minnesota Statutes, section​

10.7 116L.20, subdivision 2, paragraph (b), may be used for other job creation and economic​

10.8 enhancement opportunities in Minnesota at the discretion of the commissioner.​

10.9 (b) Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section 116J.8731, in fiscal years 2018 and​

10.10 2019 only, funds appropriated to the commissioner for the Minnesota investment fund may​

10.11 be used for other job creation and economic enhancement opportunities in Minnesota at the​

10.12 discretion of the commissioner. Grants under this paragraph are not subject to the grant​

10.13 amount limitation under Minnesota Statutes, section 116J.8731.​

10.14 (c) Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section 116J.748, in fiscal years 2018 and 2019​

10.15 only, funds appropriated to the commissioner for the job creation fund may be used for​

10.16 other job creation and economic enhancement opportunities in Minnesota at the discretion​

10.17 of the commissioner."​

10.18 Page 134, after line 9, insert:​

10.19 "Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 46.131, subdivision 7, is amended to read:​

10.20 Subd. 7. Fiscal year assessments. Such assessments shall be levied on July 1, 1965,​

10.21 and at prior to the beginning of each fiscal period beginning July 1 and ending June 30​

10.22 thereafter, and shall be based on the total estimated expense as herein referred to during​

10.23 such period. Assessment revenue will be remitted to the commissioner for deposit in the​

10.24 financial institutions account on or before July 1 of each year.​

10.25 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 46.131, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

10.26 read:​

10.27 Subd. 11. Financial institutions account; appropriation. (a) The financial institutions​

10.28 account is created as a separate account in the special revenue fund. The account consists​

10.29 of funds received from assessments under subdivision 7 and examination fees under​

10.30 subdivision 8. Earnings, including interest, dividends, and any other earnings arising from​

10.31 account assets, must be credited to the account.​

10.32 (b) Funds in the account are annually appropriated to the commissioner of commerce​

10.33 for activities under this section.​
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11.1 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2017."​

11.2 Page 135, after line 30, insert:​

11.3 "Sec. 5. [72A.328] AFFINITY GROUP.​

11.4 Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section the following terms have​

11.5 the meanings given.​

11.6 (b) "Affinity program" means a group of individuals who are members of an entity that​

11.7 offers individuals benefits based on their membership in that entity. Affinity program does​

11.8 not include an entity that obtains group insurance, as defined in section 60A.02, subdivision​

11.9 28, or risk retention groups as defined in section 60E.02, subdivision 12.​

11.10 (c) "Policy" means an individually underwritten policy of private passenger vehicle​

11.11 insurance, as defined in section 65B.001, subdivision 2, or an individually underwritten​

11.12 policy of homeowner's insurance, as defined in section 65A.27, subdivision 4.​

11.13 Subd. 2. Discount. An insurance company may offer an individual a discount or other​

11.14 benefit relating to a policy based on the individual's membership in an affinity program if:​

11.15 (1) the benefit or discount is based on an actuarial justification; and​

11.16 (2) the insurance company offers the benefit or discount to all members of the affinity​

11.17 program eligible for the discount or benefit.​

11.18 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 80A.61, is amended to read:​

11.19 80A.61 SECTION 406; REGISTRATION BY BROKER-DEALER, AGENT,​

11.20 FUNDING PORTAL, INVESTMENT ADVISER, AND INVESTMENT ADVISER​

11.21 REPRESENTATIVE.​

11.22 (a) Application for initial registration by broker-dealer, agent, or investment adviser,​

11.23 or investment adviser representative. A person shall register as a broker-dealer, agent,​

11.24 or investment adviser, or investment adviser representative by filing an application and a​

11.25 consent to service of process complying with section 80A.88, and paying the fee specified​

11.26 in section 80A.65 and any reasonable fees charged by the designee of the administrator for​

11.27 processing the filing. The application must contain:​

11.28 (1) the information or record required for the filing of a uniform application; and​

11.29 (2) upon request by the administrator, any other financial or other information or record​

11.30 that the administrator determines is appropriate.​
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12.1 (b) Amendment. If the information or record contained in an application filed under​

12.2 subsection (a) is or becomes inaccurate or incomplete in a material respect, the registrant​

12.3 shall promptly file a correcting amendment.​

12.4 (c) Effectiveness of registration. If an order is not in effect and a proceeding is not​

12.5 pending under section 80A.67, registration becomes effective at noon on the 45th day after​

12.6 a completed application is filed, unless the registration is denied. A rule adopted or order​

12.7 issued under this chapter may set an earlier effective date or may defer the effective date​

12.8 until noon on the 45th day after the filing of any amendment completing the application.​

12.9 (d) Registration renewal. A registration is effective until midnight on December 31 of​

12.10 the year for which the application for registration is filed. Unless an order is in effect under​

12.11 section 80A.67, a registration may be automatically renewed each year by filing such records​

12.12 as are required by rule adopted or order issued under this chapter, by paying the fee specified​

12.13 in section 80A.65, and by paying costs charged by the designee of the administrator for​

12.14 processing the filings.​

12.15 (e) Additional conditions or waivers. A rule adopted or order issued under this chapter​

12.16 may impose such other conditions, not inconsistent with the National Securities Markets​

12.17 Improvement Act of 1996. An order issued under this chapter may waive, in whole or in​

12.18 part, specific requirements in connection with registration as are in the public interest and​

12.19 for the protection of investors.​

12.20 (f) Funding portal registration. A funding portal that has its principal place of business​

12.21 in the state of Minnesota shall register with the state of Minnesota by filing with the​

12.22 administrator a copy of the information or record required for the filing of an application​

12.23 for registration as a funding portal in the manner established by the Securities and Exchange​

12.24 Commission and/or the Financial Institutions Regulatory Authority (FINRA), along with​

12.25 any rule adopted or order issued, and any amendments thereto.​

12.26 (g) Application for investment adviser representative registration.​

12.27 (1) The application for initial registration as an investment adviser representative pursuant​

12.28 to section 80A.58 is made by completing Form U-4 (Uniform Application for Securities​

12.29 Industry Registration or Transfer) in accordance with the form instructions and by filing​

12.30 the form U-4 with the IARD. The application for initial registration must also include the​

12.31 following:​

12.32 (i) proof of compliance by the investment adviser representative with the examination​

12.33 requirements of:​
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13.1 (A) the Uniform Investment Adviser Law Examination (Series 65); or​

13.2 (B) the General Securities Representative Examination (Series 7) and the Uniform​

13.3 Combined State Law Examination (Series 66);​

13.4 (ii) any other information the administrator may reasonably require.​

13.5 (2) The application for the annual renewal registration as an investment adviser​

13.6 representative shall be filed with the IARD.​

13.7 (3)(i) The investment adviser representative is under a continuing obligation to update​

13.8 information required by Form U-4 as changes occur;​

13.9 (ii) An investment adviser representative and the investment adviser must file promptly​

13.10 with the IARD any amendments to the representative's Form U-4; and​

13.11 (iii) An amendment will be considered to be filed promptly if the amendment is filed​

13.12 within 30 days of the event that requires the filing of the amendment.​

13.13 (4) An application for initial or renewal of registration is not considered filed for purposes​

13.14 of section 80A.58 until the required fee and all required submissions have been received​

13.15 by the administrator.​

13.16 (5) The application for withdrawal of registration as an investment adviser representative​

13.17 pursuant to section 80A.58 shall be completed by following the instructions on Form U-5​

13.18 (Uniform Termination Notice for Securities Industry Registration) and filed upon Form U-5​

13.19 with the IARD.​

13.20 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 80A.65, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

13.21 Subd. 2. Registration application and renewal filing fee. Every applicant for an initial​

13.22 or renewal registration shall pay a filing fee of $200 in the case of a broker-dealer, $50 $65​

13.23 in the case of an agent, and $100 in the case of an investment adviser, and $50 in the case​

13.24 of an investment adviser representative. When an application is denied or withdrawn, the​

13.25 filing fee shall be retained. A registered agent who has terminated employment with one​

13.26 broker-dealer shall, before beginning employment with another broker-dealer, pay a transfer​

13.27 fee of $25.​

13.28 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 216B.62, subdivision 3b, is amended to read:​

13.29 Subd. 3b. Assessment for department regional and national duties. In addition to​

13.30 other assessments in subdivision 3, the department may assess up to $1,000,000 $500,000​

13.31 per fiscal year for performing its duties under section 216A.07, subdivision 3a. The amount​
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14.1 in this subdivision shall be assessed to energy utilities in proportion to their respective gross​

14.2 operating revenues from retail sales of gas or electric service within the state during the last​

14.3 calendar year and shall be deposited into an account in the special revenue fund and is​

14.4 appropriated to the commissioner of commerce for the purposes of section 216A.07,​

14.5 subdivision 3a. An assessment made under this subdivision is not subject to the cap on​

14.6 assessments provided in subdivision 3 or any other law. For the purpose of this subdivision,​

14.7 an "energy utility" means public utilities, generation and transmission cooperative electric​

14.8 associations, and municipal power agencies providing natural gas or electric service in the​

14.9 state. This subdivision expires June 30, 2017 2018."​

14.10 Page 137, line 14, delete "July 1, 2017" and insert "January 1, 2018"​

14.11 Page 137, line 23, delete "the day following final enactment" and insert "January 1,​

14.12 2018"​

14.13 Page 138, after line 27, insert:​

14.14 "ARTICLE 9​

14.15 TELECOMMUNICATIONS​

14.16 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 237.162, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

14.17 Subd. 2. Local government unit. "Local government unit" means a county, home rule​

14.18 charter or statutory city, or town, or the Metropolitan Council.​

14.19 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

14.20 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 237.162, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

14.21 Subd. 4. Telecommunications right-of-way user. (a) "Telecommunications right-of-way​

14.22 user" means a person owning or controlling a facility in the public right-of-way, or seeking​

14.23 to own or control a facility in the public right-of-way, that is used or is intended to be used​

14.24 for providing wireless service, or transporting telecommunications or other voice or data​

14.25 information.​

14.26 (b) A cable communication system defined and regulated under chapter 238, and​

14.27 telecommunications activities related to providing natural gas or electric energy services​

14.28 whether provided by, a public utility as defined in section 216B.02, a municipality, a​

14.29 municipal gas or power agency organized under chapter 453 or 453A, or a cooperative​

14.30 electric association organized under chapter 308A, are not telecommunications right-of-way​

14.31 users for the purposes of this section and section 237.163, except to the extent these entities​

14.32 are offering wireless services.​

14​

REVISOR SS/DI A17-0517​05/21/17  ​



15.1 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

15.2 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 237.162, subdivision 9, is amended to read:​

15.3 Subd. 9. Management costs or rights-of-way management costs. (a) "Management​

15.4 costs" or "rights-of-way management costs" means the actual costs a local government unit​

15.5 incurs in managing its public rights-of-way, and includes such costs, if incurred, as those​

15.6 associated with registering applicants; issuing, processing, and verifying right-of-way or​

15.7 small wireless facility permit applications; inspecting job sites and restoration projects;​

15.8 maintaining, supporting, protecting, or moving user equipment during public right-of-way​

15.9 work; determining the adequacy of right-of-way restoration; restoring work inadequately​

15.10 performed after providing notice and the opportunity to correct the work; and revoking​

15.11 right-of-way or small wireless facility permits.​

15.12 (b) Management costs do not include:​

15.13 (1) payment by a telecommunications right-of-way user for the use of the public​

15.14 right-of-way,;​

15.15 (2) unreasonable fees of a third-party contractor used by a local government unit as part​

15.16 of managing its public rights-of-way, including but not limited to any third-party contractor​

15.17 fee tied to or based upon customer counts, access lines, revenue generated by the​

15.18 telecommunications right-of-way user, or revenue generated for a local government unit;​

15.19 or​

15.20 (3) the fees and cost of litigation relating to the interpretation of this section or section​

15.21 237.163 or any ordinance enacted under those sections, or the local unit of government's​

15.22 fees and costs related to appeals taken pursuant to section 237.163, subdivision 5.​

15.23 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

15.24 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 237.162, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

15.25 read:​

15.26 Subd. 10. Collocate. "Collocate" or "collocation" means to install, mount, maintain,​

15.27 modify, operate, or replace a small wireless facility on, under, within, or adjacent to an​

15.28 existing wireless support structure that is owned privately or by a local government unit.​

15.29 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​
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16.1 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 237.162, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

16.2 read:​

16.3 Subd. 11. Small wireless facility. "Small wireless facility" means:​

16.4 (1) a wireless facility that meets both of the following qualifications:​

16.5 (i) each antenna is located inside an enclosure of no more than six cubic feet in volume​

16.6 or, in the case of an antenna that has exposed elements, the antenna and all its exposed​

16.7 elements could fit within an enclosure of no more than six cubic feet; and​

16.8 (ii) all other wireless equipment associated with the small wireless facility, excluding​

16.9 electric meters, concealment elements, telecommunications demarcation boxes, battery​

16.10 backup power systems, grounding equipment, power transfer switches, cutoff switches,​

16.11 cable, conduit, vertical cable runs for the connection of power and other services, and any​

16.12 equipment concealed from public view within or behind an existing structure or concealment,​

16.13 is in aggregate no more than 28 cubic feet in volume; or​

16.14 (2) a micro wireless facility.​

16.15 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

16.16 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 237.162, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

16.17 read:​

16.18 Subd. 12. Utility pole. "Utility pole" means a pole that is used in whole or in part to​

16.19 facilitate telecommunications or electric service.​

16.20 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

16.21 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 237.162, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

16.22 read:​

16.23 Subd. 13. Wireless facility. (a) "Wireless facility" means equipment at a fixed location​

16.24 that enables the provision of wireless services between user equipment and a wireless service​

16.25 network, including:​

16.26 (1) equipment associated with wireless service;​

16.27 (2) a radio transceiver, antenna, coaxial or fiber-optic cable, regular and backup power​

16.28 supplies, and comparable equipment, regardless of technological configuration; and​

16.29 (3) a small wireless facility.​

16.30 (b) "Wireless facility" does not include:​
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17.1 (1) wireless support structures;​

17.2 (2) wireline backhaul facilities; or​

17.3 (3) coaxial or fiber-optic cables (i) between utility poles or wireless support structures,​

17.4 or (ii) that are not otherwise immediately adjacent to or directly associated with a specific​

17.5 antenna.​

17.6 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

17.7 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 237.162, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

17.8 read:​

17.9 Subd. 14. Micro wireless facility. "Micro wireless facility" means a small wireless​

17.10 facility that is no larger than 24 inches long, 15 inches wide, and 12 inches high, and whose​

17.11 exterior antenna, if any, is no longer than 11 inches.​

17.12 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

17.13 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 237.162, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

17.14 read:​

17.15 Subd. 15. Wireless service. "Wireless service" means any service using licensed or​

17.16 unlicensed wireless spectrum, including the use of Wi-Fi, whether at a fixed location or by​

17.17 means of a mobile device, that is provided using wireless facilities. Wireless service does​

17.18 not include services regulated under Title VI of the Communications Act of 1934, as​

17.19 amended, including a cable service under United States Code, title 47, section 522, clause​

17.20 (6).​

17.21 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

17.22 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 237.162, is amended by adding a subdivision​

17.23 to read:​

17.24 Subd. 16. Wireless support structure. "Wireless support structure" means a new or​

17.25 existing structure in a public right-of-way designed to support or capable of supporting​

17.26 small wireless facilities, as reasonably determined by a local government unit.​

17.27 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​
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18.1 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 237.162, is amended by adding a subdivision​

18.2 to read:​

18.3 Subd. 17. Wireline backhaul facility. "Wireline backhaul facility" means a facility​

18.4 used to transport communications data by wire from a wireless facility to a communications​

18.5 network.​

18.6 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

18.7 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 237.163, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

18.8 Subd. 2. Generally. (a) Subject to this section, a telecommunications right-of-way user​

18.9 authorized to do business under the laws of this state or by license of the Federal​

18.10 Communications Commission may construct, maintain, and operate small wireless facilities,​

18.11 conduit, cable, switches, and related appurtenances and facilities along, across, upon, above,​

18.12 and under any public right-of-way.​

18.13 (b) Subject to this section, a local government unit has the authority to manage its public​

18.14 rights-of-way and to recover its rights-of-way management costs. Except as provided in​

18.15 subdivisions 3a, 3b, and 3c, the authority defined in this section may be exercised at the​

18.16 option of the local government unit. The exercise of this authority and is not mandated under​

18.17 this section. A local government unit may, by ordinance:​

18.18 (1) require a telecommunications right-of-way user seeking to excavate or obstruct a​

18.19 public right-of-way for the purpose of providing telecommunications services to obtain a​

18.20 right-of-way permit to do so and to impose permit conditions consistent with the local​

18.21 government unit's management of the right-of-way;​

18.22 (2) require a telecommunications right-of-way user using, occupying, or seeking to use​

18.23 or occupy a public right-of-way for the purpose of providing telecommunications services​

18.24 to register with the local government unit by providing the local government unit with the​

18.25 following information:​

18.26 (i) the applicant's name, gopher state one-call registration number under section 216D.03,​

18.27 address, and telephone and facsimile numbers;​

18.28 (ii) the name, address, and telephone and facsimile numbers of the applicant's local​

18.29 representative;​

18.30 (iii) proof of adequate insurance; and​

18.31 (iv) other information deemed reasonably necessary by the local government unit for​

18.32 the efficient administration of the public right-of-way; and​
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19.1 (3) require telecommunications right-of-way users to submit to the local government​

19.2 unit plans for construction and major maintenance that provide reasonable notice to the​

19.3 local government unit of projects that the telecommunications right-of-way user expects to​

19.4 undertake that may require excavation and obstruction of public rights-of-way.​

19.5 (c) A local government unit may also require a telecommunications right-of-way user​

19.6 that is registered with the local government unit pursuant to paragraph (b), clause (2), to​

19.7 periodically update the information in its registration application.​

19.8 (d) Notwithstanding sections 394.34 and 462.355, or any other law, a local government​

19.9 unit must not establish a moratorium with respect to:​

19.10 (1) filing, receiving, or processing applications for right-of-way or small wireless facility​

19.11 permits; or​

19.12 (2) issuing or approving right-of-way or small wireless facility permits.​

19.13 (e) A telecommunications right-of-way user may place a new wireless support structure​

19.14 or collocate small wireless facilities on wireless support structures located within a public​

19.15 right-of-way, subject to the approval procedures under this section and, for collocation on​

19.16 wireless support structures owned by a local government unit, the reasonable terms,​

19.17 conditions, and rates set forth under this section. A local government unit may prohibit,​

19.18 regulate, or charge a fee to install wireless support structures or to collocate small wireless​

19.19 facilities only as provided in this section.​

19.20 (f) The placement of small wireless facilities and wireless support structures to​

19.21 accommodate small wireless facilities are a permitted use in a public right-of-way, except​

19.22 that a local government unit may require a person to obtain a special or conditional land​

19.23 use permit to install a new wireless support structure for the siting of a small wireless facility​

19.24 in a right-of-way in a district or area zoned for single-family residential use or within a​

19.25 historic district established by federal or state law or city ordinance as of the date of​

19.26 application for a small wireless facility permit. This paragraph does not apply to areas​

19.27 outside a public right-of-way that are zoned and used exclusively for single-family residential​

19.28 use.​

19.29 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment, except​

19.30 that paragraph (d) is effective January 1, 2018, for a local government unit that has not​

19.31 enacted an ordinance regulating public rights-of-way as of May 18, 2017.​
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20.1 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 237.163, is amended by adding a subdivision​

20.2 to read:​

20.3 Subd. 3a. Small wireless facility permits; general. (a) A local government unit:​

20.4 (1) may require a telecommunications right-of-way user to obtain a permit or permits​

20.5 under this section to place a new wireless support structure or collocate a small wireless​

20.6 facility in a public right-of-way managed by the local government unit;​

20.7 (2) must not require an applicant for a small wireless facility permit to provide any​

20.8 information that:​

20.9 (i) has previously been provided to the local government unit by the applicant in an​

20.10 application for a small wireless permit, which specific reference shall be provided to the​

20.11 local government unit by the applicant; and​

20.12 (ii) is not reasonably necessary to review a permit application for compliance with​

20.13 generally applicable and reasonable health, safety, and welfare regulations, and to​

20.14 demonstrate compliance with applicable Federal Communications Commission regulations​

20.15 governing radio frequency exposure, or other information required by this section;​

20.16 (3) must ensure that any application for a small wireless facility permit is processed on​

20.17 a nondiscriminatory basis; and​

20.18 (4) must specify that the term of a small wireless facility permit is equal to the length​

20.19 of time that the small wireless facility is in use, unless the permit is revoked under this​

20.20 section.​

20.21 (b) An applicant may file a consolidated permit application to collocate up to 15 small​

20.22 wireless facilities, or a greater number if agreed to by a local government unit, provided​

20.23 that all the small wireless facilities in the application:​

20.24 (1) are located within a two-mile radius;​

20.25 (2) consist of substantially similar equipment; and​

20.26 (3) are to be placed on similar types of wireless support structures.​

20.27 In rendering a decision on a consolidated permit application, a local government unit may​

20.28 approve a permit for some small wireless facilities and deny a permit for others, but may​

20.29 not use denial of one or more permits as a basis to deny all the small wireless facilities in​

20.30 the application.​

20.31 (c) If a local government unit receives applications within a single seven-day period​

20.32 from one or more applicants seeking approval of permits for more than 30 small wireless​
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21.1 facilities, the local government unit may extend the 90-day deadline imposed in subdivision​

21.2 3c by an additional 30 days. If a local government unit elects to invoke this extension, it​

21.3 must inform in writing any applicant to whom the extension will be applied.​

21.4 (d) A local government unit is prohibited from requiring a person to pay a small wireless​

21.5 facility permit fee, obtain a small wireless facility permit, or enter into a small wireless​

21.6 facility collocation agreement solely in order to conduct any of the following activities:​

21.7 (1) routine maintenance of a small wireless facility;​

21.8 (2) replacement of a small wireless facility with a new facility that is substantially similar​

21.9 or smaller in size, weight, height, and wind or structural loading than the small wireless​

21.10 facility being replaced; or​

21.11 (3) installation, placement, maintenance, operation, or replacement of micro wireless​

21.12 facilities that are suspended on cables strung between existing utility poles in compliance​

21.13 with national safety codes.​

21.14 A local government unit may require advance notification of these activities if the work​

21.15 will obstruct a public right-of-way.​

21.16 (e) Nothing in this subdivision affects the need for an entity seeking to place a small​

21.17 wireless facility on a wireless support structure that is not owned by a local government​

21.18 unit to obtain from the owner of the wireless support structure any necessary authority to​

21.19 place the small wireless facility, nor shall any provision of this chapter be deemed to affect​

21.20 the rates, terms, and conditions for access to or placement of a small wireless facility or a​

21.21 wireless support structure not owned by a local government unit. This subdivision does not​

21.22 affect any existing agreement between a local government unit and an entity concerning​

21.23 the placement of small wireless facilities on local government unit-owned wireless support​

21.24 structures.​

21.25 (f) No later than six months after the effective date of this act or three months after​

21.26 receiving a small wireless facility permit application from a wireless service provider, a​

21.27 local government unit that has elected to set forth terms and conditions of collocation in a​

21.28 standard small wireless facility collocation agreement shall develop and make available an​

21.29 agreement that complies with the requirements of this section and section 237.162. A​

21.30 standard small wireless facility collocation agreement shall be substantially complete.​

21.31 Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, the parties to a small wireless facility collocation​

21.32 agreement may incorporate additional terms and conditions mutually agreed upon into a​

21.33 small wireless facility collocation agreement. A small wireless facility collocation agreement​
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22.1 between a local government unit and a wireless service provider is considered public data​

22.2 not on individuals and is accessible to the public under section 13.03.​

22.3 (g) An approval of a small wireless facility permit under this section authorizes the​

22.4 installation, placement, maintenance, or operation of a small wireless facility to provide​

22.5 wireless service and shall not be construed to confer authorization to (1) provide any service​

22.6 other than a wireless service, or (2) install, place, maintain, or operate a wireline backhaul​

22.7 facility in the right-of-way.​

22.8 (h) The terms and conditions of collocation under this subdivision:​

22.9 (1) may be set forth in a small wireless facility collocation agreement, if a local​

22.10 government unit elects to utilize such an agreement;​

22.11 (2) must be nondiscriminatory, competitively neutral, and commercially reasonable; and​

22.12 (3) must comply with this section and section 237.162.​

22.13 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

22.14 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 237.163, is amended by adding a subdivision​

22.15 to read:​

22.16 Subd. 3b. Small wireless facility permits; placement. (a) A local government unit may​

22.17 not require the placement of small wireless facilities on any specific wireless support structure​

22.18 other than the wireless support structure proposed in the permit application.​

22.19 (b) A local government unit must not limit the placement of small wireless facilities,​

22.20 either by minimum separation distances between small wireless facilities or maximum​

22.21 height limitations, except that each wireless support structure installed in the right-of-way​

22.22 after the effective date of this act shall not exceed 50 feet above ground level, unless the​

22.23 local government unit agrees to a greater height, subject to local zoning regulations, and​

22.24 may be subject to separation requirements in relation to other wireless support structures.​

22.25 (c) Notwithstanding paragraph (b), a wireless support structure that replaces an existing​

22.26 wireless support structure that is higher than 50 feet above ground level may be placed at​

22.27 the height of the existing wireless support structure, unless the local government unit agrees​

22.28 to a greater height, subject to local zoning regulations.​

22.29 (d) Wireless facilities constructed in the right-of-way after the effective date of this act​

22.30 may not extend more than ten feet above an existing wireless support structure in place as​

22.31 of the effective date of this act.​

22.32 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​
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23.1 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 237.163, is amended by adding a subdivision​

23.2 to read:​

23.3 Subd. 3c. Small wireless facility permits; approval. (a) Except as provided in​

23.4 subdivision 4, a local government unit shall issue a small wireless facility permit to a​

23.5 telecommunications right-of-way user seeking to install a new or replacement wireless​

23.6 support structure for a small wireless facility, or to collocate a small wireless facility on a​

23.7 wireless support structure in a public right-of-way. In processing and approving a small​

23.8 wireless facility permit, a local government unit may condition its approval on compliance​

23.9 with:​

23.10 (1) generally applicable and reasonable health, safety, and welfare regulations consistent​

23.11 with the local government unit's public right-of-way management;​

23.12 (2) reasonable accommodations for decorative wireless support structures or signs; and​

23.13 (3) any reasonable restocking, replacement, or relocation requirements when a new​

23.14 wireless support structure is placed in a public right-of-way.​

23.15 (b) A local government unit has 90 days after the date a small wireless facility permit​

23.16 application is filed to issue or deny the permit, or the permit is automatically issued. To toll​

23.17 the 90-day clock, the local government unit must provide a written notice of incompleteness​

23.18 to the applicant within 30 days of receipt of the application, clearly and specifically​

23.19 delineating all missing documents or information. Information delineated in the notice is​

23.20 limited to documents or information publicly required as of the date of application and​

23.21 reasonably related to a local government unit's determination whether the proposed equipment​

23.22 falls within the definition of a small wireless facility and whether the proposed deployment​

23.23 satisfies all health, safety, and welfare regulations applicable to the small wireless facility​

23.24 permit request. Upon an applicant's submittal of additional documents or information in​

23.25 response to a notice of incompleteness, the local government unit has ten days to notify the​

23.26 applicant in writing of any information requested in the initial notice of incompleteness that​

23.27 is still missing. Second or subsequent notices of incompleteness may not specify documents​

23.28 or information that were not delineated in the original notice of incompleteness. Requests​

23.29 for information not requested in the initial notice of incompleteness do not toll the 90-day​

23.30 clock. Parties can mutually agree in writing to toll the 90-day clock at any time. Section​

23.31 15.99 does not apply to this paragraph or paragraph (c).​

23.32 For the purposes of this subdivision, "toll the 90-day clock" means to halt the progression​

23.33 of days that count towards the 90-day deadline.​
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24.1 (c) Except as provided in subdivision 3a, paragraph (c), a small wireless facility permit​

24.2 and any associated encroachment or building permit required by a local government unit,​

24.3 are deemed approved if the local government unit fails to approve or deny the application​

24.4 within 90 days after the permit application has been filed, unless the applicant and the local​

24.5 government unit have mutually agreed in writing to extend the 90-day deadline.​

24.6 (d) Nothing in this subdivision precludes a local government unit from applying generally​

24.7 applicable and reasonable health, safety, and welfare regulations when evaluating and​

24.8 deciding to approve or deny a small wireless facility permit.​

24.9 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

24.10 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 237.163, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

24.11 Subd. 4. Permit denial or revocation. (a) A local government unit may deny any​

24.12 application for a right-of-way or small wireless facility permit if the telecommunications​

24.13 right-of-way user does not comply with a provision of this section.​

24.14 (b) A local government unit may deny an application for a right-of-way permit if the​

24.15 local government unit determines that the denial is necessary to protect the health, safety,​

24.16 and welfare or when necessary to protect the public right-of-way and its current use.​

24.17 (c) A local government unit may revoke a right-of-way or small wireless facility permit​

24.18 granted to a telecommunications right-of-way user, with or without fee refund, in the event​

24.19 of a substantial breach of the terms and conditions of statute, ordinance, rule, or regulation​

24.20 or any material condition of the permit. A substantial breach by a permittee includes, but​

24.21 is not limited to, the following:​

24.22 (1) a material violation of a provision of the right-of-way or small wireless facility​

24.23 permit;​

24.24 (2) an evasion or attempt to evade any material provision of the right-of-way or small​

24.25 wireless facility permit, or the perpetration or attempt to perpetrate any fraud or deceit upon​

24.26 the local government unit or its citizens;​

24.27 (3) a material misrepresentation of fact in the right-of-way or small wireless facility​

24.28 permit application;​

24.29 (4) a failure to complete work in a timely manner, unless a permit extension is obtained​

24.30 or unless the failure to complete work is due to reasons beyond the permittee's control; and​
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25.1 (5) a failure to correct, in a timely manner, work that does not conform to applicable​

25.2 standards, conditions, or codes, upon inspection and notification by the local government​

25.3 unit of the faulty condition.​

25.4 (d) Subject to this subdivision, a local government unit may not deny an application for​

25.5 a right-of-way or small wireless facility permit for failure to include a project in a plan​

25.6 submitted to the local government unit under subdivision 2, paragraph (b), clause (3), when​

25.7 the telecommunications right-of-way user has used commercially reasonable efforts to​

25.8 anticipate and plan for the project.​

25.9 (e) In no event may a local government unit unreasonably withhold approval of an​

25.10 application for a right-of-way or small wireless facility permit, or unreasonably revoke a​

25.11 permit.​

25.12 (f) Any denial or revocation of a right-of-way or small wireless facility permit must be​

25.13 made in writing and must document the basis for the denial. The local government unit must​

25.14 notify the telecommunications right-of-way user in writing within three business days of​

25.15 the decision to deny or revoke a permit. If a permit application is denied, the​

25.16 telecommunications right-of-way user may cure the deficiencies identified by the local​

25.17 government unit and resubmit its application. If the telecommunications right-of-way user​

25.18 resubmits the application within 30 days of receiving written notice of the denial, it may​

25.19 not be charged an additional filing or processing fee. The local government unit must approve​

25.20 or deny the revised application within 30 days after the revised application is submitted.​

25.21 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

25.22 Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 237.163, subdivision 6, is amended to read:​

25.23 Subd. 6. Fees. (a) A local government unit may recover its right-of-way management​

25.24 costs by imposing a fee for registration, a fee for each right-of-way or small wireless facility​

25.25 permit, or, when appropriate, a fee applicable to a particular telecommunications right-of-way​

25.26 user when that user causes the local government unit to incur costs as a result of actions or​

25.27 inactions of that user. A local government unit may not recover costs from a​

25.28 telecommunications right-of-way user costs or an owner of a cable communications system​

25.29 awarded a franchise under chapter 238 caused by another entity's activity in the right-of-way.​

25.30 (b) Fees, or other right-of-way obligations, imposed by a local government unit on​

25.31 telecommunications right-of-way users under this section must be:​

25.32 (1) based on the actual costs incurred by the local government unit in managing the​

25.33 public right-of-way;​
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26.1 (2) based on an allocation among all users of the public right-of-way, including the local​

26.2 government unit itself, which shall reflect the proportionate costs imposed on the local​

26.3 government unit by each of the various types of uses of the public rights-of-way;​

26.4 (3) imposed on a competitively neutral basis; and​

26.5 (4) imposed in a manner so that aboveground uses of public rights-of-way do not bear​

26.6 costs incurred by the local government unit to regulate underground uses of public​

26.7 rights-of-way.​

26.8 (c) The rights, duties, and obligations regarding the use of the public right-of-way​

26.9 imposed under this section must be applied to all users of the public right-of-way, including​

26.10 the local government unit while recognizing regulation must reflect the distinct engineering,​

26.11 construction, operation, maintenance and public and worker safety requirements, and​

26.12 standards applicable to various users of the public rights-of-way. For users subject to the​

26.13 franchising authority of a local government unit, to the extent those rights, duties, and​

26.14 obligations are addressed in the terms of an applicable franchise agreement, the terms of​

26.15 the franchise shall prevail over any conflicting provision in an ordinance.​

26.16 (d) A wireless service provider may collocate small wireless facilities on wireless support​

26.17 structures owned or controlled by a local government unit and located within the public​

26.18 roads or rights-of-way without being required to apply for or enter into any individual​

26.19 license, franchise, or other agreement with the local government unit or any other entity,​

26.20 other than a standard small wireless facility collocation agreement under subdivision 3a,​

26.21 paragraph (f), if the local unit of government elects to utilize such an agreement.​

26.22 (e) Any initial engineering survey and preparatory construction work associated with​

26.23 collocation must be paid by the cost causer in the form of a onetime, nonrecurring,​

26.24 commercially reasonable, nondiscriminatory, and competitively neutral charge to recover​

26.25 the costs associated with a proposed attachment.​

26.26 (f) Total application fees for a small wireless facility permit must comply with this​

26.27 subdivision with respect to costs related to the permit.​

26.28 (g) A local government unit may elect to charge each small wireless facility attached to​

26.29 a wireless support structure owned by the local government unit a fee, in addition to other​

26.30 fees or charges allowed under this subdivision, consisting of:​

26.31 (1) up to $150 per year for rent to occupy space on a wireless support structure;​

26.32 (2) up to $25 per year for maintenance associated with the space occupied on a wireless​

26.33 support structure; and​
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27.1 (3) a monthly fee for electricity used to operate a small wireless facility, if not purchased​

27.2 directly from a utility, at the rate of:​

27.3 (i) $73 per radio node less than or equal to 100 max watts;​

27.4 (ii) $182 per radio node over 100 max watts; or​

27.5 (iii) the actual costs of electricity, if the actual costs exceed the amount in item (i) or​

27.6 (ii).​

27.7 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

27.8 Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 237.163, subdivision 7, is amended to read:​

27.9 Subd. 7. Additional right-of-way provisions. (a) In managing the public rights-of-way​

27.10 and in imposing fees under this section, no local government unit may:​

27.11 (1) unlawfully discriminate among telecommunications right-of-way users;​

27.12 (2) grant a preference to any telecommunications right-of-way user;​

27.13 (3) create or erect any unreasonable requirement for entry to the public rights-of-way​

27.14 by telecommunications right-of-way users; or​

27.15 (4) require a telecommunications right-of-way user to obtain a franchise or pay for the​

27.16 use of the right-of-way.​

27.17 (b) A telecommunications right-of-way user need not apply for or obtain right-of-way​

27.18 permits for facilities that are located in public rights-of-way on May 10, 1997, for which​

27.19 the user has obtained the required consent of the local government unit, or that are otherwise​

27.20 lawfully occupying the public right-of-way. However, the telecommunications right-of-way​

27.21 user may be required to register and to obtain a right-of-way permit for an excavation or​

27.22 obstruction of existing facilities within the public right-of-way after May 10, 1997.​

27.23 (c) Data and documents exchanged between a local government unit and a​

27.24 telecommunications right-of-way user are subject to the terms of chapter 13. A local​

27.25 government unit not complying with this paragraph is subject to the penalties set forth in​

27.26 section 13.08.​

27.27 (d) A local government unit may not collect a fee imposed under this section through​

27.28 the provision of in-kind services by a telecommunications right-of-way user, nor may a​

27.29 local government unit require the provision of in-kind services as a condition of consent to​

27.30 use the local government unit's public right-of-way or to obtain a small wireless facility​

27.31 permit.​
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28.1 (e) Except as provided in this chapter or required by federal law, a local government​

28.2 unit shall not adopt or enforce any regulation on the placement or operation of​

28.3 communications facilities in the right-of-way where the entity is already authorized to​

28.4 operate in the right-of-way, and shall not regulate or impose or collect fees on​

28.5 communications services except to the extent specifically provided for in the existing​

28.6 authorization, and unless expressly required by state or federal statute.​

28.7 Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 237.163, is amended by adding a subdivision​

28.8 to read:​

28.9 Subd. 9. Authorized contractors. (a) Nothing in this section precludes a​

28.10 telecommunications right-of-way user from authorizing another entity or individual to act​

28.11 on its behalf to install, construct, maintain, or repair a facility or facilities owned or controlled​

28.12 by the telecommunications right-of-way user.​

28.13 (b) A local government unit is prohibited from imposing fees or requirements on an​

28.14 authorized entity or individual for actions on behalf of a telecommunications right-of-way​

28.15 user that are in addition to or different from the fees and requirements it is authorized to​

28.16 impose on the telecommunications right-of-way user under this section.​

28.17 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

28.18 Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 237.163, is amended by adding a subdivision​

28.19 to read:​

28.20 Subd. 10. Exemptions. (a) Notwithstanding any other provision in this chapter, this​

28.21 section does not apply to a wireless support structure owned, operated, maintained, or served​

28.22 by a municipal electric utility.​

28.23 (b) Subdivisions 3a, 3b, 3c, and subdivision 6, paragraphs (d) through (g), and subdivision​

28.24 7, paragraph (e), do not apply to the collocation or regulation of small wireless facilities​

28.25 issued a permit by a local government unit before the effective date of this act under an​

28.26 ordinance enacted before May 18, 2017, that regulates the collocation of small wireless​

28.27 facilities.​

28.28 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment."​

28.29 Page 140, lines 22 and 24, strike "40" and insert "300"​

28.30 Page 140, line 25, after "building" insert a comma and strike "to the extent" and insert​

28.31 "the capacity must be no more than"​
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29.1 Page 141, line 10, delete the new language and reinstate the stricken language​

29.2 Page 141, line 11, delete "clean energy advancement fund account, or C-LEAF account,"​

29.3 and insert "renewable development account"​

29.4 Page 141, lines 20 and 27, delete "C-LEAF" and insert "renewable development"​

29.5 Page 142, line 3, delete the new language and reinstate the stricken language​

29.6 Page 142, lines 9, 19, 31, and 33, delete "C-LEAF" and insert "renewable development"​

29.7 Page 144, line 17, delete "C-LEAF" and insert "renewable development account"​

29.8 Page 144, line 31, strike "The"​

29.9 Page 144, line 32, delete the new language​

29.10 Page 144, lines 33 and 34, delete the new language and strike the old language​

29.11 Page 144, line 35, delete the new language and strike the period​

29.12 Page 145, after line 3, insert:​

29.13 "(m) The advisory group shall submit funding recommendations to the public utility,​

29.14 which has full and sole authority to determine which expenditures shall be submitted by​

29.15 the advisory group to the legislature. The commission may approve proposed expenditures,​

29.16 may disapprove proposed expenditures that it finds not to be in compliance with this​

29.17 subdivision or otherwise not in the public interest, and may, if agreed to by the public utility,​

29.18 modify proposed expenditures. The commission shall, by order, submit its funding​

29.19 recommendations to the legislature as provided under paragraph (n)."​

29.20 Page 145, line 4, delete "(m)" and insert "(n)" and delete "C-LEAF advisory group" and​

29.21 insert "commission"​

29.22 Reletter the paragraphs​

29.23 Page 145, lines 12 and 13, delete "C-LEAF advisory group" and insert "commission"​

29.24 Page 146, line 5, reinstate "renewable development" and delete "C-LEAF"​

29.25 Page 146, line 7, delete "C-LEAF" and insert "renewable development"​

29.26 Page 146, delete section 5​

29.27 Page 147, line 3, reinstate "renewable"​

29.28 Page 147, line 4, reinstate "development" and delete "C-LEAF"​

29.29 Page 147, line 25, before "In" insert "(a)"​
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30.1 Page 147, after line 32, insert:​

30.2 "(b) Notwithstanding subdivisions 9 and 11, a qualifying facility over 20 megawatts​

30.3 may, until December 31, 2022, request that the commission resolve a dispute with any​

30.4 utility, including a cooperative electric association or municipal utility, under paragraph​

30.5 (a)."​

30.6 Page 149, delete lines 18 to 20​

30.7 Page 165, delete section 23​

30.8 Page 167, delete sections 25 and 26​

30.9 Page 168, lines 11, 14, and 18, delete "C-LEAF" and insert "renewable development"​

30.10 Page 168, line 13, delete "Notwithstanding section 116C.779, subdivision 1, paragraph​

30.11 (g),"​

30.12 Pages 169 to 171, delete sections 29 to 35​

30.13 Page 184, line 21 after the period insert "Grants or deferred loans authorized under this​

30.14 section may be made without limitations relating to the maximum incomes of the renters."​

30.15 Page 185, line 3, delete "excludes:" insert "may include rental developments that have​

30.16 a portion of income-restricted units."​

30.17 Page 185, delete lines 4 to 7​

30.18 Page 185, after line 30 insert:​

30.19 "(c) Among comparable proposals, preference must be given to projects with a higher​

30.20 proportion of units that are not income-restricted."​

30.21 Adjust amounts accordingly​

30.22 Renumber the articles and sections in sequence and correct the internal references​

30.23 Amend the title accordingly​
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