1.1	ARTICLE 5
51.2	GENERAL CRIMINAL PROVISIONS
51.3	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 169.444, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
51.4 51.5 51.6	Subd. 2. <b>Violations by drivers; penalties.</b> (a) A person who fails to stop a vehicle or to keep it stopped, as required in subdivision 1, or who violates subdivision 1a, is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of not less than \$300 \$500.
51.7 51.8 51.9	(b) A person is guilty of a gross misdemeanor if the person fails to stop a motor vehicle or to keep it stopped, as required in subdivision 1, or who violates subdivision 1a, and commits either or both of the following acts:
51.10	(1) passes or attempts to pass the school bus in a motor vehicle on the right-hand, passenger-door side of the bus; or
51.12	(2) passes or attempts to pass the school bus in a motor vehicle when a school child is outside of and on the street or highway used by the school bus or on the adjacent sidewalk.
51.14 51.15	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective August 1, 2017, and applies to violations committed on and after that date.
51.16 51.17	Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 169.64, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
51.18 51.19 51.20	Subd. 11. <b>Gross misdemeanor.</b> A person who violates subdivision 2, 3, or 4 while impersonating a peace officer in violation of section 609.4751, subdivision 1, is guilty of a gross misdemeanor.
51.21	Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 169.68, is amended to read:
1.22	169.68 HORN, SIREN.
51.23 51.24 51.25 51.26 51.27 51.28 51.29	Subdivision 1. Requirement; limitations. (a) Every motor vehicle when operated upon a highway must be equipped with a horn in good working order and capable of emitting sound audible under normal conditions from a distance of not less than 200 feet. However, the horn or other warning device must not emit an unreasonably loud or harsh sound or a whistle. The driver of a motor vehicle shall, when reasonably necessary to insure safe operation, give audible warning with the horn, but shall not otherwise use the horn when upon a highway.

61.30 61.31	(b) A vehicle must not be equipped with, and a person shall not use upon a vehicle, any siren, whistle, or bell, except as otherwise permitted in this section.
62.1 62.2 62.3	(c) It is permissible, but not required, for any commercial vehicle to be equipped with a theft alarm signal device, so arranged that it cannot be used by the driver as an ordinary warning signal.
62.4 62.5 62.6 62.7 62.8 62.9 62.10	(d) All authorized emergency vehicles must be equipped with a siren capable of emitting sound audible under normal conditions from a distance of not less than 500 feet and of a type conforming to the federal certification standards for sirens, as determined by the General Services Administration. However, the siren must not be used except when the vehicle is operated in response to an emergency call or in the immediate pursuit of an actual or suspected violator of the law, in which latter events the driver of the vehicle shall sound the siren when necessary to warn pedestrians and other drivers of the vehicle's approach.
62.11 62.12	(e) It is permissible, but not required, for a bicycle to be equipped with a horn or bell designed to alert motor vehicles, other bicycles, and pedestrians of the bicycle's presence.
62.13 62.14 62.15	Subd. 2. <b>Gross misdemeanor.</b> A person who violates subdivision 1 while impersonating a peace officer in violation of section 609.4751, subdivision 1, is guilty of a gross misdemeanor.
62.16	Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 169.98, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
62.17 62.18 62.19 62.20 62.21 62.22 62.23 62.24 62.25 62.26 62.27 62.28	Subd. 3. <b>Security guard vehicle.</b> (a) All motor vehicles which that are used by security guards in the course of their employment may have any color other than those specified in subdivision 1 for law enforcement vehicles shall be predominantly grey. The identity of the security service shall be displayed on the motor vehicle as required for law enforcement vehicles both front door panels and on the rear of the vehicle. The identity must include the word "Security" with letters not less than 2-1/2 inches high, one inch wide, and of a three-eighth inch brush stroke. The identity shall be of a color contrasting with the background color so that the motor vehicle is easily identifiable as belonging to a specific security service. The identity may be in the form of an emblem. Each vehicle must be marked with its own identifying number on the rear of the vehicle. The number shall be printed in the same size and color required pursuant to this subdivision for identifying words which may be displayed on the vehicle.
62.29 62.30 62.31	(b) Notwithstanding subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clause (1), a security guard may continue to use a motor vehicle that is predominantly black in the course of the guard's employment if the vehicle was being used in this manner before August 1, 2002.

63.1 63.2 63.3	(c) Notwithstanding subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clause (3), a security guard may continue to use a motor vehicle that is predominantly gold in the course of the guard's employment if the vehicle was being used in this manner before August 1, 2012.
63.4 63.5 63.6	(d) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), a security guard may continue to use a motor vehicle that is not predominantly grey in the course of the guard's employment if the vehicle was being used in this manner before August 1, 2017.
63.7 63.8	Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 169.98, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
63.9	Subd. 6. Offense. A person may not own or operate a motor vehicle marked or identified
63.10	(1) in any manner described in this section;
63.11 63.12	(2) with the word or words "police," "patrolman," "sheriff," "deputy," "trooper," "state patrol," "conservation officer," "agent," or "marshal"; or
63.13 63.14 63.15 63.16 63.17	(3) with any lettering, marking, or insignia, or colorable imitation thereof, including, but not limited to, stars, badges, or shields identifying the vehicle as a federal, state, county, or municipal law enforcement vehicle, and which a reasonable person would believe that the vehicle is authorized by any agency for use by the person operating the motor vehicle; and
63.18 63.19	(4) that a reasonable person would believe that the vehicle is authorized by any agency for use by the person operating the motor vehicle.
63.20	Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 171.24, is amended to read:
63.21	171.24 VIOLATIONS; DRIVING WITHOUT VALID LICENSE.
63.22 63.23	Subdivision 1. <b>Driving after suspension; misdemeanor.</b> Except as otherwise provided in subdivision 5, a person is guilty of a misdemeanor if:
63.24	(1) the person's driver's license or driving privilege has been suspended;
63.25 63.26	(2) the person has been given notice of or reasonably should know of the suspension; and
63.27 63.28 63.29	(3) the person disobeys the order by operating in this state any motor vehicle, the operation of which requires a driver's license, while the person's license or privilege is suspended.

64.1 64.2	Subd. 2. <b>Driving after revocation; misdemeanor.</b> Except as otherwise provided in subdivision 5, a person is guilty of a misdemeanor if:
64.3	(1) the person's driver's license or driving privilege has been revoked;
64.4 64.5	(2) the person has been given notice of or reasonably should know of the revocation; and
64.6 64.7 64.8	(3) the person disobeys the order by operating in this state any motor vehicle, the operation of which requires a driver's license, while the person's license or privilege is revoked.
64.9 64.10	Subd. 3. <b>Driving after cancellation; misdemeanor.</b> Except as otherwise provided in subdivision 5, a person is guilty of a misdemeanor if:
64.11	(1) the person's driver's license or driving privilege has been canceled;
64.12 64.13	(2) the person has been given notice of or reasonably should know of the cancellation; and
64.14 64.15 64.16	(3) the person disobeys the order by operating in this state any motor vehicle, the operation of which requires a driver's license, while the person's license or privilege is canceled.
64.17 64.18	Subd. 4. <b>Driving after disqualification; misdemeanor.</b> Except as otherwise provided in subdivision 5, a person is guilty of a misdemeanor if the person:
64.19 64.20	(1) has been disqualified from holding a commercial driver's license or been denied the privilege to operate a commercial motor vehicle;
64.21	(2) has been given notice of or reasonably should know of the disqualification; and
64.22 64.23	(3) disobeys the order by operating in this state a commercial motor vehicle while the person is disqualified to hold the license or privilege.
64.24 64.25	Subd. 5. <b>Gross misdemeanor violations.</b> (a) A person is guilty of a gross misdemeanor if:
64.26 64.27	(1) the person's driver's license or driving privilege has been canceled or denied under section 171.04, subdivision 1, clause (10);

64.28 64.29	(2) the person has been given notice of or reasonably should know of the cancellation or denial; and
65.1 65.2 65.3	(3) the person disobeys the order by operating in this state any motor vehicle, the operation of which requires a driver's license, while the person's license or privilege is canceled or denied.
65.4 65.5	(b) A person is guilty of a gross misdemeanor if the person violates this section and causes a collision resulting in substantial bodily harm or death to another.
65.6 65.7 65.8	(c) A person is guilty of a gross misdemeanor and is subject to the minimum penalty under subdivision 5a, paragraph (b), if the person violates this section within ten years of the first of two prior convictions under this section.
65.9 65.10 65.11	Subd. 5a. Minimum penalties. (a) A person who is convicted under this section a second time must, at a minimum, be sentenced to pay a fine of at least \$750. This paragraph does not apply to penalties under subdivision 5, paragraph (c).
65.12 65.13	(b) A person who is convicted under this section a third or subsequent time must, at a minimum, be sentenced to pay a fine of at least \$1,500.
65.14 65.15 65.16 65.17	(c) The court may order a person to perform community work service in lieu of all or a portion of the minimum fine required under this subdivision if the court makes specific findings on the record that the convicted person is indigent or that payment of the fine would create undue hardship for the convicted person or that person's immediate family.
65.18 65.19 65.20	Subd. 6. <b>Responsibility for prosecution.</b> (a) The attorney in the jurisdiction in which the violation occurred who is responsible for prosecution of misdemeanor violations of this section is also responsible for prosecution of gross misdemeanor violations of this section.
65.21 65.22 65.23	(b) Nothing in this section or section 609.035 or 609.04 shall limit the power of the state to prosecute or punish a person for conduct that constitutes any other crime under any other law of this state.
65.24 65.25 65.26 65.27 65.28 65.29	Subd. 7. <b>Sufficiency of notice.</b> (a) Notice of revocation, suspension, cancellation, or disqualification is sufficient if personally served, or if mailed by first class mail to the person's last known address or to the address listed on the person's driver's license. Notice is also sufficient if the person was informed that revocation, suspension, cancellation, or disqualification would be imposed upon a condition occurring or failing to occur, and where the condition has in fact occurred or failed to occur.

65.30 65.31 65.32	(b) It is not a defense that a person failed to file a change of address with the post office, or failed to notify the Department of Public Safety of a change of name or address as required under section 171.11.
66.1 66.2	Subd. 8. <b>Definition.</b> For the purposes of this section, "substantial bodily harm" has the meaning given in section 609.02, subdivision 7a.
66.3 66.4	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective August 1, 2017, and applies to offenses committed on or after that date.
56.5	Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 243.166, subdivision 1b, is amended to read:
66.6	Subd. 1b. Registration required. (a) A person shall register under this section if:
66.7 66.8 66.9 66.10	(1) the person was charged with or petitioned for a felony violation of or attempt to violate, or aiding, abetting, or conspiracy to commit, any of the following, and convicted of or adjudicated delinquent for that offense or another offense arising out of the same set of circumstances:
66.11	(i) murder under section 609.185, paragraph (a), clause (2);
66.12	(ii) kidnapping under section 609.25;
66.13 66.14	(iii) criminal sexual conduct under section 609.342; 609.343; 609.344; 609.345; 609.3451 subdivision 3; or 609.3453; <del>or</del>
66.15	(iv) indecent exposure under section 617.23, subdivision 3; or
66.16 66.17	(v) stalking a minor with sexual or aggressive intent under section 609.749, subdivision 3, paragraph (b);
66.18 66.19	(2) the person was charged with or petitioned for a violation of, or attempt to violate, or aiding, abetting, or conspiring to commit criminal abuse in violation of section 609.2325,
66.20 66.21	subdivision 1, paragraph (b); false imprisonment in violation of section 609.255, subdivision 2; solicitation, inducement, or promotion of the prostitution of a minor or engaging in the
56.22	sex trafficking of a minor in violation of section 609.322; a prostitution offense in violation
56.23	of section 609.324, subdivision 1, paragraph (a); soliciting a minor to engage in sexual
66.24	conduct in violation of section 609.352, subdivision 2 or 2a, clause (1); using a minor in a
56.25	sexual performance in violation of section 617.246; or possessing pornographic work
66.26	involving a minor in violation of section 617.247, and convicted of or adjudicated delinquent
56 27	for that offense or another offense arising out of the same set of circumstances:

66.28 66.29	(3) the person was sentenced as a patterned sex offender under section 609.3455, subdivision 3a; or
66.30	(4) the person was charged with or petitioned for, including pursuant to a court martial,
66.31	violating a law of the United States, including the Uniform Code of Military Justice, similar
67.1	to the offenses described in clause (1), (2), or (3), and convicted of or adjudicated delinquent
67.2	for that offense or another offense arising out of the same set of circumstances.
67.3	(b) A person also shall register under this section if:
67.4	(1) the person was charged with or petitioned for an offense in another state that would
67.5	be a violation of a law described in paragraph (a) if committed in this state and convicted
67.6	of or adjudicated delinquent for that offense or another offense arising out of the same set
67.7	of circumstances;
67.8	(2) the person enters this state to reside, work, or attend school, or enters this state and
67.9	remains for 14 days or longer; and
67.10	(3) ten years have not elapsed since the person was released from confinement or, if the
67.11	person was not confined, since the person was convicted of or adjudicated delinquent for
67.12	the offense that triggers registration, unless the person is subject to a longer registration
67.13	period under the laws of another state in which the person has been convicted or adjudicated,
67.14	or is subject to lifetime registration.
67.15	If a person described in this paragraph is subject to a longer registration period in another
67.16	state or is subject to lifetime registration, the person shall register for that time period
67.17	regardless of when the person was released from confinement, convicted, or adjudicated
67.18	delinquent.
67.19	(c) A person also shall register under this section if the person was committed pursuant
67.20	to a court commitment order under Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 253B.185, chapter
67.21	253D, Minnesota Statutes 1992, section 526.10, or a similar law of another state or the
67.22	United States, regardless of whether the person was convicted of any offense.
67.23	(d) A person also shall register under this section if:
67.24	(1) the person was charged with or petitioned for a felony violation or attempt to violate
67.25	any of the offenses listed in paragraph (a), clause (1), or a similar law of another state or
67.26	the United States, or the person was charged with or petitioned for a violation of any of the
67.27	offenses listed in paragraph (a), clause (2), or a similar law of another state or the United
67.28	States:

67.29 67.30 67.31	(2) the person was found not guilty by reason of mental illness or mental deficiency after a trial for that offense, or found guilty but mentally ill after a trial for that offense, in states with a guilty but mentally ill verdict; and
67.32 67.33	(3) the person was committed pursuant to a court commitment order under section 253B.18 or a similar law of another state or the United States.
68.1	Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 326.3384, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
68.2 68.3 68.4 68.5	Subdivision 1. <b>Prohibition.</b> No license holder or employee of a license holder shall, in a manner that implies that the person is an employee or agent of a governmental agency, display on a badge, identification card, emblem, vehicle, uniform, stationery, or in advertising for private detective or protective agent services:
68.6 68.7	(1) the words "public safety," "police," "highway patrol," "state patrol," "sheriff," "trooper," "marshal," "agent," or "law enforcement"; or
68.8 68.9	(2) the name of a municipality, county, state, or of the United States, or any governmental subdivision thereof.
68.10	Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 609.2231, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
68.11 68.12 68.13 68.14	Subd. 2. <b>Firefighters and emergency medical personnel.</b> (a) Whoever physically assaults any of the following persons and inflicts demonstrable bodily harm is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than two years or to payment of a fine of not more than \$4,000, or both gross misdemeanor:
68.15 68.16	(1) a member of a municipal or volunteer fire department or emergency medical services personnel unit in the performance of the member's duties; or
68.17 68.18	(2) a physician, nurse, or other person providing health care services in a hospital emergency department.
68.19 68.20 68.21	(b) Whoever commits either of the following acts against a person identified in paragraph (a), clause (1) or (2), is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than three years or to payment of a fine of not more than \$6,000, or both:
68.22	(1) physically assaults the person and the assault inflicts demonstrable bodily harm; or
68.23	(2) intentionally throws or otherwise transfers bodily fluids or feces at or onto the person.

68.24	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective August 1, 2017, and applies to crimes
68.25	committed on or after that date.
68.26	Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 609.475, is amended to read:
68.27	609.475 IMPERSONATING OFFICER A MILITARY SERVICE MEMBER,
68.28	VETERAN, OR PUBLIC OFFICIAL.
68.29	Whoever falsely impersonates a police or military officer an active or reserve component
68.30	military service member, veteran, or public official with intent to mislead another into
69.1	believing that the impersonator is actually such officer or official wrongfully obtain money,
69.2	property, or any other tangible benefit is guilty of a misdemeanor.
69.3	Sec. 11. [609.4751] IMPERSONATING A PEACE OFFICER.
69.4	Subdivision 1. Misdemeanor. Whoever falsely impersonates a peace officer with intent
69.5	to mislead another into believing that the impersonator is actually an officer is guilty of a
69.6	misdemeanor.
69.7	Subd. 2. Gross misdemeanor. Whoever violates subdivision 1 while committing any
69.8	of the following acts is guilty of a gross misdemeanor:
69.9	(1) attempting to gain access to a public building or government facility that is not open
69.10	to the public;
69.11	(2) possessing false or fraudulent credentials that identify the person as a peace officer;
69.12	or
	<del>-</del>
69.13	(3) directing or ordering another person to act.
	<u>(1)                                    </u>
69.14	Subd. 3. Felony. (a) Whoever violates subdivision 1 or 2 while committing any of the
69.15	following acts is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than
69.16	five years or to payment of a fine of not more than \$10,000, or both:
69.17	(1) possessing a firearm; or
07.17	(1) possessing a meanin, or
69.18	(2) violating section 169.98, subdivision 6.
07.10	(2) Holding Section 107.70, Subdivision 0.
69.19	(b) Whoever violates subdivision 1 or 2 within five years of a previous violation of this
69.20	section is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than five
69.21	years or to payment of a fine of not more than \$10,000, or both.
J J . 1	j

9.22	Sec. 12. [609.476] IMPERSONATING A SECURITY OFFICER.
9.23	Whoever falsely impersonates a private security officer, protective officer, or bail
9.24	enforcement officer with intent to mislead another into believing that the impersonator is
9.25	actually an officer to gain entry to a government facility that the impersonator is not
9.26	authorized to enter or for other criminal purposes is guilty of a gross misdemeanor.
7.20	audiorized to effect of for other eliminar purposes is guilty of a gross impacineanor.
9.27	Sec. 13. [609.547] PUBLIC SAFETY MOTOR VEHICLE TAMPERING.
9.28	Subdivision 1. <b>Offenses.</b> (a) Whoever intentionally damages or tampers with a public
9.29	safety motor vehicle is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced as provided in subdivision
9.30	<u>2.</u>
0.1	(b) Whoever intentionally damages or tampers with a motor vehicle owned by a public
0.2	safety officer because the motor vehicle belongs to a public safety officer is guilty of a crime
0.3	and may be sentenced as provided in subdivision 2.
0.4	Subd. 2. <b>Penalties.</b> (a) Except as provided in paragraph (c), a person who violates
0.5	subdivision 1, paragraph (a), may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than five years
0.6	or to payment of a fine of not more than \$10,000, or both.
0.7	(b) Except as provided in paragraph (c), a person who violates subdivision 1, paragraph
0.8	(b), may be sentenced:
	(4),, 44 44-44-44-44
0.9	(1) to a gross misdemeanor if the violation reduces the value of the property by not more
0.10	than \$500; or
0.10	than \$500, or
0.11	
0.11	(2) to imprisonment for not more than two years or to payment of a fine of not more
0.12	than \$5,000, or both, if the violation:
0.13	(i) reduces the value of the property by more than \$500 but not more than \$1,000 as
0.14	measured by the cost of repair and replacement; or
0.15	(ii) creates a reasonably foreseeable risk of bodily harm but does not otherwise damage
0.16	the vehicle.
	<del></del>
0.17	(c) A person who violates subdivision 1, paragraph (a) or (b), and the violation causes
0.17	a substantial interruption or impairment of a service rendered by the public safety agency
0.18	that owns the motor vehicle or employs the officer who owns the motor vehicle may be
0.19	
	sentenced to imprisonment for not more than ten years or to payment of a fine of not more than \$20,000, or both.
0.21	uiaii \$20,000, 01 00ui.

70.22 70.23	Subd. 3. <b>Definitions.</b> (a) As used in this section, the following terms have the meanings given.
70.24	(b) "Public safety motor vehicle" includes:
70.25 70.26	(1) police patrols, including specially marked vehicles permitted under section 169.98, subdivision 2a, owned or leased by the state or a political subdivision;
70.27 70.28	(2) fire apparatuses, including fire-suppression support vehicles, owned or leased by the state or a political subdivision;
70.29	(3) ambulances owned or leased by the state or a political subdivision;
70.30 70.31 70.32	(4) vehicles owned by ambulance services licensed under section 144E.10 that are equipped and specifically intended for emergency response or providing ambulance services; and
71.1 71.2	(5) marked vehicles used by conservation officers of the Division of Enforcement and Field Service of the Department of Natural Resources.
71.3	(c) "Public safety officer" includes:
71.4	(1) a peace officer as defined in section 626.84, subdivision 1, paragraph (c) or (d);
71.5 71.6	(2) an individual employed on a full-time basis by the state or by a fire department of a governmental subdivision of the state, who is engaged in any of the following duties:
71.7	(i) firefighting;
71.8	(ii) emergency motor vehicle operation;
71.9	(iii) the provision of emergency medical services; or
71.10	(iv) hazardous material response;
71.11 71.12	(3) a legally enrolled member of a volunteer fire department or member of an independent nonprofit firefighting corporation who is engaged in the hazards of firefighting; and
71.13 71.14 71.15	(4) a first responder who is certified by the Emergency Medical Services Regulatory Board to perform basic emergency skills before the arrival of a licensed ambulance service and who is a member of an organized service recognized by a local political subdivision to

71.16 71.17	respond to medical emergencies to provide initial medical care before the arrival of an ambulance.
71.18 71.19	Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 609.605, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
71.20 71.21	Subd. 4a. <b>Trespass on a school bus.</b> (a) As used in this subdivision, "school bus" has the meaning given in section 169.011, subdivision 71.
71.22 71.23	(b) As used in this subdivision, "pupil" has the meaning given in section 123B.41, subdivision 6.
71.24 71.25 71.26	(c) A person who boards a school bus when the bus is on its route or otherwise in operation, or while it has pupils in it, and who refuses to leave the bus on demand of the bus operator, is guilty of a misdemeanor.
71.27 71.28	(d) This subdivision does not apply to a pupil, school employee, or volunteer authorized to be on the school bus.
71.29 71.30	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective August 1, 2017, and applies to violation committed on or after that date.
72.1	Sec. 15. [609.6057] GEOGRAPHIC RESTRICTION.
72.2 72.3 72.4	Subdivision 1. <b>Definition.</b> As used in this section "geographic restriction" means a limitation prohibiting a defendant in a criminal proceeding or a juvenile offender in a delinquency proceeding from entering a designated property or geographic area.
72.5 72.6 72.7	Subd. 2. <b>Prohibited conduct; penalty.</b> A person who knows of a geographic restriction order issued against the person and intentionally enters or remains in the restricted area is guilty of a misdemeanor.
72.8 72.9 72.10 72.11 72.12	Subd. 3. Notice. (a) A geographic restriction may be issued as a pretrial order before final disposition of the underlying criminal case, as a postconviction probationary order, or both. A geographic restriction order is independent of any condition of pretrial release or probation imposed on the defendant. A geographic restriction order may be issued in additio to a similar restriction imposed as a condition of pretrial release or probation.
72.13 72.14 72.15	(b) A court may issue a geographic restriction upon a finding that its issuance will serve the interests of protecting public safety or property. In making that determination, a court shall consider the following factors:

72.16 72.17	(1) whether a defendant's presence in a restricted area creates a risk to public safety or property;
72.18	(2) a defendant's criminal history;
72.19	(3) the likelihood of future criminal activity within the restricted area; and
72.20	(4) any other factors deemed relevant by the court.
72.21 72.22 72.23 72.24	(c) A court may grant any exceptions to a geographic restriction that it deems necessary in order to avoid the imposition of a significant hardship upon a defendant. In determining whether to grant an exception, a court shall also consider the impact of the exception on the interests of protecting public safety or property.
72.25 72.26 72.27	(d) A geographic restriction order under this section shall be issued in a proceeding that is separate from but which may be held immediately following a proceeding in which any pretrial release or sentencing issues are decided.
72.28 72.29	(e) A court issuing a geographic restriction order under this section shall notify a defendant:
72.30	(1) of the area subject to a geographic restriction; and
72.31	(2) that violation of the geographic restriction order is a crime.
73.1 73.2	Subd. 4. Cancellation. (a) A court shall cancel a pretrial geographic restriction order at the final disposition of the underlying criminal case.
73.3 73.4 73.5	(b) A court shall cancel a postconviction geographic restriction order when an offender completes a period of probationary supervision or is committed to the commissioner of corrections.
73.6 73.7	(c) A court may cancel a postconviction geographic restriction order at any time during which an offender is under probationary supervision.
73.8 73.9	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2017, and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.
73.10 73.11	Sec. 16. [609.7141] SOLICITING OR PROVIDING SUPPORT FOR AN ACT OF TERRORISM.

73.12	Subdivision 1. Crime. Whoever raises, solicits, collects, or provides material support
73.13	or resources with intent that the material support or resources will be used, in whole or in
73.14	part, to plan, prepare, carry out, or aid in either an act of terrorism or the concealment of,
73.15	or an escape from, an act of terrorism is guilty of a felony.
73.16	Subd. 2. Penalty. Whoever violates subdivision 1 may be sentenced as follows:
73.17 73.18	(1) to imprisonment for not more than 15 years or to payment of a fine of not more than $\$30,000$ , or both, if the total value of the material support or resources exceeds $\$5,000$ ; or
73.19 73.20 73.21	(2) to imprisonment for not more than seven years or to payment of a fine of not more than \$15,000, or both, if the total value of the material support or resources is \$5,000 or less.
73.22 73.23	$\underline{\text{Subd. 3.}} \ \underline{\text{\textbf{Definitions.}}} \ (a) \ \text{As used in this section, the following terms have the meanings} \\ \underline{\text{given.}}$
73.24 73.25	(b) "Act of terrorism" means an act that is violent or dangerous to human life, a violation of the criminal laws of the United States or any state, and intended to:
73.26	(1) intimidate or coerce a civilian population; or
73.27	(2) affect the conduct of a unit of government by murder, assassination, or kidnapping.
73.28	(c) "Coercion" means compulsion by physical force or threat of physical force.
73.29 73.30 74.1 74.2	(d) "Material support or resources" means currency or other financial securities, financial services, lodging, training, safehouses, false documentation or identification, communications equipment, facilities, weapons, lethal substances, explosives, personnel, transportation, and other physical assets, except medicine or religious materials.
74.3	Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 609.74, is amended to read:
74.4	609.74 PUBLIC NUISANCE.
74.5 74.6	(a) Whoever by an act or failure to perform a legal duty intentionally does any of the following is guilty of maintaining a public nuisance, which is a misdemeanor:
74.7 74.8 74.9	(1) maintains or permits a condition which unreasonably annoys, injures or endangers the safety, health, morals, comfort, or repose of any considerable number of members of the public; or

74.10 74.11	(2) except as provided in paragraph (b), interferes with, obstructs, or renders dangerous for passage, any public highway or right-of-way, or waters used by the public; or
/ 4.11	for passage, any paone nighway of right-of-way, of waters used by the paone, of
74.12	(3) is guilty of any other act or omission declared by law to be a public nuisance and for
74.13	which no sentence is specifically provided.
74.14	(b) It is a gross misdemeanor for a person to interfere with or obstruct traffic that is
74.14	entering, exiting, or on a freeway or entering, exiting, or on a public roadway within the
74.15	boundaries of airport property with the intent to interfere with, obstruct, or otherwise disrupt
74.17	traffic. This paragraph does not apply to the actions of law enforcement or other emergency
74.18	responders, road or airport authorities, or utility officials, or their agents, employees, or
74.19	contractors when carrying out duties imposed by law or contract. For purposes of this
74.20	paragraph: (1) "airport" means an airport that has a control tower and airline service; and
74.21	(2) "freeway" means any section of a divided highway where the only access and egress for
74.22	vehicular traffic is from entrance and exit ramps.
74.23	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective August 1, 2017, and applies to crimes
74.24	committed on or after that date.
74.25	Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 609.746, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
74.26	Subdivision 1. Surreptitious intrusion; observation device. (a) A person is guilty of
74.27	a gross misdemeanor who:
74.28	(1) enters upon another's property;
74.20	(1) enters upon another's property,
74.29	(2) surreptitiously gazes, stares, or peeps in the window or any other aperture of a house
74.30	or place of dwelling of another; and
75.1	(3) does so with intent to intrude upon or interfere with the privacy of a member of the
75.2	household.
75.3	(b) A person is guilty of a gross misdemeanor who:
75.4	(1) enters upon another's property;
75.4	(1) enters upon unother s property,
75.5	(2) surreptitiously installs or uses any device for observing, photographing, recording,
75.6	amplifying, or broadcasting sounds or events through the window or any other aperture of
75.7	a house or place of dwelling of another; and
75.0	
75.8	(3) does so with intent to intrude upon or interfere with the privacy of a member of the household.
75.9	HOUSCHOIG.

75.10	(c) A person is guilty of a gross misdemeanor who:
75.11 75.12 75.13 75.14 75.15	(1) surreptitiously gazes, stares, or peeps in the window or other aperture of a sleeping room in a hotel, as defined in section 327.70, subdivision 3, a tanning booth, or other place where a reasonable person would have an expectation of privacy and has exposed or is likely to expose their intimate parts, as defined in section 609.341, subdivision 5, or the clothing covering the immediate area of the intimate parts; and
75.16	(2) does so with intent to intrude upon or interfere with the privacy of the occupant.
75.17	(d) A person is guilty of a gross misdemeanor who:
75.18 75.19 75.20 75.21 75.22 75.23	(1) surreptitiously installs or uses any device for observing, photographing, recording, amplifying, or broadcasting sounds or events through the window or other aperture of a sleeping room in a hotel, as defined in section 327.70, subdivision 3, a tanning booth, or other place where a reasonable person would have an expectation of privacy and has exposed or is likely to expose their intimate parts, as defined in section 609.341, subdivision 5, or the clothing covering the immediate area of the intimate parts; and
75.24	(2) does so with intent to intrude upon or interfere with the privacy of the occupant.
75.25 75.26	(e) A person is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than two <u>five</u> years or to payment of a fine of not more than \$5,000, or both, if the person:
75.27 75.28	(1) violates this subdivision after a previous conviction under this subdivision or section 609.749; or
75.29 75.30	(2) violates this subdivision against a minor under the age of 18, knowing or having reason to know that the minor is present.
76.1 76.2 76.3 76.4 76.5	(f) Paragraphs (b) and (d) do not apply to law enforcement officers or corrections investigators, or to those acting under their direction, while engaged in the performance of their lawful duties. Paragraphs (c) and (d) do not apply to conduct in: (1) a medical facility; or (2) a commercial establishment if the owner of the establishment has posted conspicuous signs warning that the premises are under surveillance by the owner or the owner's employee
76.6	Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 609.749, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
76.7 76.8	Subd. 3. <b>Aggravated violations.</b> (a) A person who commits any of the following acts is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than five years or to payment of a fine of not more than \$10,000, or both:

76.10 76.11 76.12	(1) commits any offense described in subdivision 2 because of the victim's or another's actual or perceived race, color, religion, sex, sexual orientation, disability as defined in section 363A.03, age, or national origin;
76.13	(2) commits any offense described in subdivision 2 by falsely impersonating another;
76.14 76.15	(3) commits any offense described in subdivision 2 and possesses a dangerous weapon at the time of the offense;
76.16 76.17 76.18 76.19 76.20	(4) stalks another, as defined in subdivision 1, with intent to influence or otherwise tamper with a juror or a judicial proceeding or with intent to retaliate against a judicial officer, as defined in section 609.415, or a prosecutor, defense attorney, or officer of the court, because of that person's performance of official duties in connection with a judicial proceeding; or
76.21 76.22	(5) commits any offense described in subdivision 2 against a victim under the age of 18, if the actor is more than 36 months older than the victim.
76.23 76.24 76.25 76.26 76.27	(b) A person who commits any offense described in subdivision 2 against a victim under the age of 18, if the actor is more than 36 months older than the victim, and the act is committed with sexual or aggressive intent, is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than ten 15 years or to payment of a fine of not more than \$20,000, or both.
76.28	Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 609.855, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
76.29 76.30 76.31 76.32	Subd. 2. <b>Unlawful interference with transit <del>operator</del></b> . (a) Whoever intentionally commits an act that interferes with or obstructs, or tends to interfere with or obstruct, the operation of a transit vehicle is guilty of <del>unlawful interference with a transit operator</del> a crime and may be sentenced as provided in paragraph (c).
77.1 77.2 77.3 77.4	(b) An act that is committed on a transit vehicle that distracts the driver from the safe operation of the vehicle, restricts passenger access to the transit vehicle, or that endangers passengers is a violation of this subdivision if an authorized transit representative has clearly warned the person once to stop the act.
77.5	(c) A person who violates this subdivision may be sentenced as follows:
77.6 77.7 77.8	(1) to imprisonment for not more than three years or to payment of a fine of not more than \$5,000, or both, if the violation was accompanied by force or violence or a communication of a threat of force or violence; or

77.9 77.10 77.11	(2) to imprisonment for not more than 90 days one year or to payment of a fine of not more than \$1,000 \$3,000, or both, if the violation was not accompanied by force or violence or a communication of a threat of force or violence.
77.12 77.13	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective August 1, 2017, and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.
77.14	Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 609.87, subdivision 2a, is amended to read:
77.15	Subd. 2a. <b>Authorization.</b> (a) "Authorization" means:
77.16 77.17	(1) with the permission of the owner of the computer, computer system, computer network, computer software, or other property:
77.18 77.19 77.20	(2) access by employees of the Department of Commerce acting under the authority and powers granted to the director of the Weights and Measures Division in chapter 239 at any time the device is commercially available for use;
77.21 77.22 77.23 77.24	(3) access by registrants in the voluntary placing in service program and registered liquefied petroleum gas (LPG) meter inspectors acting under the authority and powers granted in Minnesota Rules, chapter 7601, but only at times specified by the device owner or operator or the device owner's or operator's designated representative; or
77.25 77.26 77.27 77.28	(4) access by other people who have the express permission of the device owner or operator or the device owner's or operator's designated representative but only at times as approved by the device owner or operator and only for purposes approved by the device owner or operator.
77.29	(b) Authorization may be limited by the owner by:
77.30	(1) giving the user actual notice orally or in writing;
78.1 78.2	(2) posting a written notice in a prominent location adjacent to the computer being used; or
78.3	(3) using a notice displayed on or announced by the computer being used.
78.4 78.5	Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 609.87, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

78.6 78.7 78.8 78.9	Subd. 15. <b>Electronic terminal.</b> "Electronic terminal" means an electronic device, other than a telephone operated by a consumer, through which an individual or company may initiate an electronic fund transfer. The term includes, but is not limited to, point-of-sale terminals, automated teller machines, cash dispensing machines, and gas pump dispensers.
78.10 78.11	Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 609.87, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
78.12 78.13	Subd. 16. Access device. "Access device" means a card that is used by an individual or company to initiate transactions and is:
78.14	(1) a means of access to an individual's or company's account;
78.15	(2) issued on a prepaid basis to the individual or company in a specific amount; or
78.16	(3) used by the individual or company to access government benefits.
78.17	Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 609.891, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
78.18 78.19 78.20	Subdivision 1. <b>Crime.</b> A person is guilty of unauthorized computer access if the person intentionally and without authorization attempts to or does penetrate a computer security system <u>or electronic terminal</u> .
78.21	Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 609.891, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
78.22 78.23 78.24 78.25	Subd. 2. <b>Felony.</b> (a) A person who violates subdivision 1 in a manner that creates a grave risk of causing the death of a person is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than ten years or to payment of a fine of not more than \$20,000, or both.
78.26 78.27	(b) A person who is convicted of a second or subsequent gross misdemeanor violation of subdivision 1 is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced under paragraph (a).
78.28 78.29 79.1 79.2	(c) A person who violates subdivision 1 by accessing or attempting to access an electronic terminal through opening any panel or access door without authorization and placing or attaching or attempting to place or attach an electronic device to capture, store, or communicate access device information is guilty of a felony.
79.3 79.4	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2017, and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.

79.5	Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 609.891, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
79.6 79.7 79.8 79.9	Subd. 3. <b>Gross misdemeanor.</b> (a) A person who violates subdivision 1 in a manner the creates a risk to public health and safety is guilty of a gross misdemeanor and may be sentenced to imprisonment for a term of not more than one year or to payment of a fine of not more than \$3,000, or both.
79.10 79.11 79.12 79.13	(b) A person who violates subdivision 1 in a manner that compromises the security of data that are protected under section 609.52, subdivision 2, clause (8), or are not public data as defined in section 13.02, subdivision 8a, is guilty of a gross misdemeanor and may be sentenced under paragraph (a).
79.14 79.15	(c) A person who violates subdivision 1 and gains access to personal data is guilty of a gross misdemeanor and may be sentenced under paragraph (a).
79.16 79.17 79.18	(d) A person who is convicted of a second or subsequent misdemeanor violation of subdivision 1 within five years is guilty of a gross misdemeanor and may be sentenced under paragraph (a).
79.19 79.20 79.21	(e) A person who violates subdivision 1 by accessing an electronic terminal through opening any panel or access door without authorization is guilty of a gross misdemeanor and may be sentenced under paragraph (a).
79.22 79.23	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective August 1, 2017, and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.
79.24 79.25	Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 626.863, is amended to read: 626.863 UNAUTHORIZED PRACTICE.
79.26 79.27 79.28 79.29	(a) A person who is not a peace officer or part-time peace officer is guilty of a misdemeanor if the person: (1) makes a representation of being a peace officer or part-time peace officer, or (2) performs or attempts to perform an act, duty, or responsibility reserved by law for licensed peace officers and part-time peace officers.
79.30 79.31	(b) A peace officer who authorizes or knowingly allows a person to violate paragraph (a) is guilty of a misdemeanor.

(c) The board shall designate the appropriate law enforcement agency to investigate violations of this section. The attorney general shall prosecute violations of this section.

80.3 80.4	(d) A person who violates this section and who has previously been convicted of a violation of this section is guilty of a gross misdemeanor felony.
80.5	Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 626.88, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
80.6 80.7	Subd. 2. <b>Uniforms.</b> (a) Uniforms for peace officers shall be of uniform colors throughout the state as provided herein. Uniforms for:
80.8 80.9	(1) municipal peace officers, including University of Minnesota peace officers and peace officers assigned to patrol duties in parks, shall be blue, brown, or green;
80.10 80.11	(2) peace officers who are members of the county sheriffs' office shall be blue, brown, or green;
80.12	(3) state troopers shall be maroon;
80.13	(4) conservation officers shall be green.
80.14 80.15 80.16	(b) The uniforms of security guards may be any color other than those specified for peace officers and protective agents shall be predominantly white or grey. This paragraph shall apply to uniforms purchased after August 1, 2018.
80.17 80.18 80.19	(c) The uniforms of a bail bondsman or bail enforcement agent or any person who acts at the direction of a surety may be any color other than those specified for peace officers. A violation of this paragraph is a petty misdemeanor.
80.20	(d) This subdivision shall apply to uniforms purchased subsequent to January 1, 1981.
80.21	Sec. 29. SENTENCING GUIDELINES MODIFICATIONS.
80.22 80.23 80.24 80.25	The Sentencing Guidelines Commission shall modify the sentencing guidelines grid by ranking: (1) violations of Minnesota Statutes, section 609.746, subdivision 1, paragraph (e) (interfering with the privacy - subsequent violations and minor victim), in severity level 2; and (2) violations of Minnesota Statutes, section 609.749, subdivision 3, paragraph (b)
80 26	(stalking a minor with sexual or aggressive intent) in severity level 5