WAYS AND MEANS COMMITTEE

MINUTES

Representative Lyndon Carlson, Chair of the Committee, called the remote Ways and Means Committee meeting to order at 9:46 A.M. on Monday, April 29, 2020, pursuant to House rule 10.01. The meeting was conducted over Zoom and broadcast via House Public Information Services, Facebook Live, and YouTube live streaming.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members present:

CARLSON, Lyndon, (Chair)
OLSON, Liz (Vice-Chair)
GAROFALO, Pat (GOP-Lead)
ALBRIGHT, Tony
BERNARDY, Connie
DAVIDS, Greg
DAVNIE, Jim
DRAZKOWSKI, Steve

ECKLUND, Rob HAMILTON, Rod

HANSEN, Rick

HAUSMAN, Alice

HERTAUS, Jerry

HORNSTEIN, Frank

KRESHA, Ron

LIEBLING, Tina

LILLIE, Leon

LONG, Jamie

MARIANI, Carlos

MARQUART, Paul

NELSON, Michael

NOOR, Mohamud

PELOWSKI, Gene, Jr.

POPPE, Jeanne

SCHOMACKER, Joe

SCOTT, Peggy

TORKELSON, Paul

VOGEL, Bob

WAGENIUS, Jean

A quorum was present.

Representative Olson moved that the minutes of April 27, 2020 be adopted. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

HF4415 (Davnie) Compensation for hourly employees required for school days cancelled due to COVID-19 (coronavirus) during the 2019-2020 school year.

Representative Davnie moved that HF4415 be recommended to be placed on the General Register.

Representative Davnice moved the H4415A21 amendment to amend HF4415. THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.

Representative Davnie presented HF4415 as amended and answered member questions.

Representative Davnie renewed the motion that HF4415, as amended, be recommended to be placed on the General Register. A roll call was taken, and the results are as follows:

AYES:

CARLSON

OLSON

BERNARDY

DAVIDS

DAVIE

ECKLUND

HAMILTON

HANSEN

HAUSMAN

HORNSTEIN

LIEBLING

LILLIE

LONG

MARIANI

MARQUART

NELSON

NOOR

PELOWSKI

POPPE

WAGENIUS

NAYS:

GAROFALO

ALBRIGHT

DRAZKOWSKI

HERTAUS

KRESHA

SCHOMACKER

SCOTT

TORKELSON

VOGEL

By a vote of 20 AYES and 9 NAYS, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

HF3429 (Nelson) Elections; various technical and policy changes made relating to voting, voter registration, polling places, ballots, recounts, contests, candidates, and other election-related provisions; and election equipment grant money availability extended.

Representative Nelson moved that HF3429 be recommended to be placed on the General Register.

Representative Nelson moved the A20-0749 amendment to amend HF3429 and explained the amendment.

Representative Nelson moved the H3429A4 amendment to amend the A20-0749 amendment and explained the amendment. THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT TO THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.

Representative Nelson renewed the motion to adopt the A20-0749 amendment as amended. THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.

Representative Nelson presented HF3429 as amended and answered member questions.

Representative Nelson renewed the motion that HF3429, as amended, be recommended to be placed on the General Register. A roll call was taken, and the results were as follows:

AYES:

CARLSON

OLSON

GAROFALO

ALBRIGHT

BERNARDY

DAVIDS

DAVNIE

ECKLUND

HAMILTON

HANSEN

HAUSMAN

HORNSTEIN

KRESHA

LIEBLING

LILLIE

LONG

MARIANI

MARQUART

NELSON

NOOR

PELOWSKI

POPPE

SCHOMACKER

SCOTT

TORKELSON

VOGEL

WAGENIUS

NAYS:

DRAZKOWSKI

HERTAUS

By a vote of 27 AYES and 2 NAYS, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

HF2768 (Lillie) Labor agreements and compensation plan ratified.

Representative Nelson moved adoption of the State Government Finance Division Report for HF2768. THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE DIVISION REPORT WAS ADOPTED.

Representative Lillie moved that HF2768, as amended, be recommended to be placed on the General Register.

Representative Lillie presented HF2768.

Greg Hubinger, Director, Legislative Coordinating Commission, answered questions on HF2768.

Representative Garofalo requested a roll call vote.

Representative Lillie renewed the motion that HF2768, as amended, be recommended to be placed on the General Register. A roll call was taken, and the results were as follows:

AYES:

CARLSON	
OLSON	
BERNARDY	
DAVNIE	
ECKLUND	
HANSEN	
HAUSMAN	
HORNSTEIN	
LIEBLING	
LILLIE	
LONG	
MARIANI	
NELSON	
NOOR	
PELOWSKI	
POPPE	
WAGENIUS	
NAYS:	
GARFALO	
ALBRIGHT	
DAVIDS	
DRAZKOWSKI	
HERTAUS	
SCOTT	
TORKELSON	
VOGEL	
ABSENT/EXCUSED:	
HAMILTON	
KRESHA	
MARQUART	
SCHOMACKER	
D	THE MOTION PREMARED
By a vote of 17 AYES and 8 NAYS, THE MOTION PREVAILED.	
Chair Carlson made some administrative announcements.	
The meeting adjourned at 11:02 A.M.	
The meeting adjourned at 11.02 A.W	1.
	Representative Lyndon Carlson, Chair
	•
	Laura Sparkman, Committee Legislative Assistant
	-