04/09/18 03:32 PM HOUSE RESEARCH JD/SK H3203DE1

1.1 moves to amend H.F. No. 3203 as follows:

Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:

1.3

1.4

1.5

1.6

1.7

1.8

1.9

1.10

1.11

1.12

1.13

1.14

1.15

1.16

1.17

1.18

1.19

1.20

1.21

1.22

1.23

1.24

"Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 609.341, subdivision 10, is amended to read:

Subd. 10. **Position of authority.** "Position of authority" includes but is not limited to any person who is a parent or acting in the place of a parent and charged with any of a parent's rights, duties or responsibilities to a child, or a person who is charged with any duty or responsibility for the health, welfare, or supervision of a child, either independently or through another, no matter how brief, at the time of the act. For the purposes of subdivision 11, "position of authority" includes a psychotherapist. For the purposes of sections 609.344, subdivision 1, paragraph (e), clause (2), and 609.345, subdivision 1, paragraph (e), clause (2), the term extends to a person having the described authority over a student in a secondary school who is at least 16 but less than 21 years of age under the circumstances described in those two clauses.

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2018, and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 609.341, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

Subd. 24. Secondary school. "Secondary school" means any public or private school meeting the standards established by the commissioner of education that enrolls students in grades 7 through 12 or that provides special education services to students who have completed grade 12 including charter schools, alternative learning centers, schools with classes that are held off campus or school grounds, special school districts, universities, colleges, vocational or technical colleges, or other postsecondary educational institutions that provide educational courses or programs for public or private schools that enroll students

Sec. 2.

04/09/18 03:32 PM	HOUSE RESEARCH	JD/SK	H3203DE1
04/09/16 03.32 FM	HOUSE RESEARCH	JD/SK	D3ZU3DE1

in grades 7 through 12 or that provide special educational services to students who have 2.1 competed grade 12. 2.2 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 609.341, is amended by adding a subdivision to 2.3 read: 2.4 Subd. 25. Independent contractor. For purposes of sections 609.344, subdivision 1, 2.5 paragraph (e), and 609.345, subdivision 1, paragraph (e), "independent contractor" means 2.6 any person who contracts with a secondary school or any person employed by a business 2.7 that contracts with a secondary school. 2.8 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 609.344, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 2.9 Subdivision 1. **Crime defined.** A person who engages in sexual penetration with another 2.10 person is guilty of criminal sexual conduct in the third degree if any of the following 2.11 circumstances exists: 2.12 (a) the complainant is under 13 years of age and the actor is no more than 36 months 2.13 older than the complainant. Neither mistake as to the complainant's age nor consent to the 2.14 act by the complainant shall be a defense; 2.15 (b) the complainant is at least 13 but less than 16 years of age and the actor is more than 2.16 24 months older than the complainant. In any such case if the actor is no more than 120 2.17 months older than the complainant, it shall be an affirmative defense, which must be proved 2.18 by a preponderance of the evidence, that the actor reasonably believes the complainant to 2.19 be 16 years of age or older. In all other cases, mistake as to the complainant's age shall not 2.20 be a defense. Consent by the complainant is not a defense; 2.21 (c) the actor uses force or coercion to accomplish the penetration; 2.22 (d) the actor knows or has reason to know that the complainant is mentally impaired, 2.23 mentally incapacitated, or physically helpless; 2.24 (e) the complainant is: 2.25 (1) at least 16 but less than 18 years of age and the actor is more than 48 months older 2.26 than the complainant and in a position of authority over the complainant; or 2.27 (2) at least 16 but less than 21 years of age and a student in a secondary school who has 2.28 not graduated and received a diploma and the actor is an employee, volunteer, or independent 2.29 contractor of the secondary school and in a position of authority over the complainant. 2.30

Sec. 4. 2

04/09/18 03:32 PM	HOUSE RESEARCH	JD/SK	H3203DE1

Neither mistake as to the complainant's age nor consent to the act by the complainant is a 3.1 defense; 3.2 (f) the actor has a significant relationship to the complainant and the complainant was 3 3 at least 16 but under 18 years of age at the time of the sexual penetration. Neither mistake 3.4 as to the complainant's age nor consent to the act by the complainant is a defense; 3.5 (g) the actor has a significant relationship to the complainant, the complainant was at 3.6 least 16 but under 18 years of age at the time of the sexual penetration, and: 3.7 (i) the actor or an accomplice used force or coercion to accomplish the penetration; 3.8 (ii) the complainant suffered personal injury; or 3.9 (iii) the sexual abuse involved multiple acts committed over an extended period of time. 3.10 Neither mistake as to the complainant's age nor consent to the act by the complainant is 3.11 a defense; 3.12 (h) the actor is a psychotherapist and the complainant is a patient of the psychotherapist 3.13 and the sexual penetration occurred: 3.14 (i) during the psychotherapy session; or 3.15 (ii) outside the psychotherapy session if an ongoing psychotherapist-patient relationship 3.16 exists. 3.17 Consent by the complainant is not a defense; 3.18 (i) the actor is a psychotherapist and the complainant is a former patient of the 3.19 psychotherapist and the former patient is emotionally dependent upon the psychotherapist; 3.20 (j) the actor is a psychotherapist and the complainant is a patient or former patient and 3.21 the sexual penetration occurred by means of therapeutic deception. Consent by the 3.22 complainant is not a defense; 3.23 (k) the actor accomplishes the sexual penetration by means of deception or false 3.24 representation that the penetration is for a bona fide medical purpose. Consent by the 3.25 complainant is not a defense; 3.26 (1) the actor is or purports to be a member of the clergy, the complainant is not married 3.27 to the actor, and: 3.28 (i) the sexual penetration occurred during the course of a meeting in which the 3.29

complainant sought or received religious or spiritual advice, aid, or comfort from the actor

Sec. 4. 3

3.30

3.31

in private; or

04/09/18 03:32 PM	HOUSE RESEARCH	JD/SK	H3203DE1

(ii) the sexual penetration occurred during a period of time in which the complainant was meeting on an ongoing basis with the actor to seek or receive religious or spiritual advice, aid, or comfort in private. Consent by the complainant is not a defense;

4.1

4.2

4.3

4.4

4.5

4.6

4.7

4.8

4.9

4.10

4.11

4.12

4.13

4.14

4.15

4.16

4.17

4.18

4.19

4.20

4.25

4.26

4.27

4.28

4.29

4.30

4.31

4.32

4.33

- (m) the actor is an employee, independent contractor, or volunteer of a state, county, city, or privately operated adult or juvenile correctional system, or secure treatment facility, or treatment facility providing services to clients civilly committed as mentally ill and dangerous, sexually dangerous persons, or sexual psychopathic personalities, including, but not limited to, jails, prisons, detention centers, or work release facilities, and the complainant is a resident of a facility or under supervision of the correctional system. Consent by the complainant is not a defense;
- (n) the actor provides or is an agent of an entity that provides special transportation service, the complainant used the special transportation service, and the sexual penetration occurred during or immediately before or after the actor transported the complainant. Consent by the complainant is not a defense; or
- (o) the actor performs massage or other bodywork for hire, the complainant was a user of one of those services, and nonconsensual sexual penetration occurred during or immediately before or after the actor performed or was hired to perform one of those services for the complainant.
- **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2018, and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.
- Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 609.345, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- Subdivision 1. **Crime defined.** A person who engages in sexual contact with another person is guilty of criminal sexual conduct in the fourth degree if any of the following circumstances exists:
  - (a) the complainant is under 13 years of age and the actor is no more than 36 months older than the complainant. Neither mistake as to the complainant's age or consent to the act by the complainant is a defense. In a prosecution under this clause, the state is not required to prove that the sexual contact was coerced;
  - (b) the complainant is at least 13 but less than 16 years of age and the actor is more than 48 months older than the complainant or in a position of authority over the complainant. Consent by the complainant to the act is not a defense. In any such case, if the actor is no more than 120 months older than the complainant, it shall be an affirmative defense which must be proved by a preponderance of the evidence that the actor reasonably believes the

Sec. 5. 4

04/09/18 03:32 PM	HOUSE RESEARCH	JD/SK	H3203DE1

complainant to be 16 years of age or older. In all other cases, mistake as to the complainant's 5.1 age shall not be a defense; 5.2 (c) the actor uses force or coercion to accomplish the sexual contact; 5.3 (d) the actor knows or has reason to know that the complainant is mentally impaired, 5.4 mentally incapacitated, or physically helpless; 5.5 (e) the complainant is: 5.6 5.7 (1) at least 16 but less than 18 years of age and the actor is more than 48 months older than the complainant and in a position of authority over the complainant; or 5.8 (2) at least 16 but less than 21 years of age and a student in a secondary school who has 5.9 not graduated and received a diploma and the actor is an employee, volunteer, or independent 5.10 contractor of the secondary school and in a position of authority over the complainant. 5.11 Neither mistake as to the complainant's age nor consent to the act by the complainant is a 5.12 defense; 5.13 (f) the actor has a significant relationship to the complainant and the complainant was 5.14 at least 16 but under 18 years of age at the time of the sexual contact. Neither mistake as to 5.15 the complainant's age nor consent to the act by the complainant is a defense; 5.16 (g) the actor has a significant relationship to the complainant, the complainant was at 5.17 least 16 but under 18 years of age at the time of the sexual contact, and: 5.18 (i) the actor or an accomplice used force or coercion to accomplish the contact; 5.19 (ii) the complainant suffered personal injury; or 5.20 (iii) the sexual abuse involved multiple acts committed over an extended period of time. 5.21 Neither mistake as to the complainant's age nor consent to the act by the complainant is 5.22 a defense; 5.23 (h) the actor is a psychotherapist and the complainant is a patient of the psychotherapist 5.24 and the sexual contact occurred: 5.25 (i) during the psychotherapy session; or 5.26 (ii) outside the psychotherapy session if an ongoing psychotherapist-patient relationship 5.27

psychotherapist and the former patient is emotionally dependent upon the psychotherapist;

(i) the actor is a psychotherapist and the complainant is a former patient of the

Sec. 5. 5

exists. Consent by the complainant is not a defense;

5.28

5.29

04/09/18 03:32 PM	HOUSE RESEARCH	JD/SK	H3203DE1
U <del>4</del> /U9/16 U3.34 PW	HOUSE RESEARCH	JD/5N	ロシというけたし

(j) the actor is a psychotherapist and the complainant is a patient or former patient and the sexual contact occurred by means of therapeutic deception. Consent by the complainant is not a defense;

6.1

6.2

6.3

6.4

6.5

6.6

6.7

6.8

6.9

6.10

6.11

6.12

6.13

6.14

6.15

6.16

6.17

6.18

6.19

6.20

6.21

6.22

6.23

6.24

6.25

6.26

6.27

6.28

6.29

6.30

- (k) the actor accomplishes the sexual contact by means of deception or false representation that the contact is for a bona fide medical purpose. Consent by the complainant is not a defense;
- (1) the actor is or purports to be a member of the clergy, the complainant is not married to the actor, and:
- (i) the sexual contact occurred during the course of a meeting in which the complainant sought or received religious or spiritual advice, aid, or comfort from the actor in private; or
- (ii) the sexual contact occurred during a period of time in which the complainant was meeting on an ongoing basis with the actor to seek or receive religious or spiritual advice, aid, or comfort in private. Consent by the complainant is not a defense;
- (m) the actor is an employee, independent contractor, or volunteer of a state, county, city, or privately operated adult or juvenile correctional system, or secure treatment facility, or treatment facility providing services to clients civilly committed as mentally ill and dangerous, sexually dangerous persons, or sexual psychopathic personalities, including, but not limited to, jails, prisons, detention centers, or work release facilities, and the complainant is a resident of a facility or under supervision of the correctional system. Consent by the complainant is not a defense;
- (n) the actor provides or is an agent of an entity that provides special transportation service, the complainant used the special transportation service, the complainant is not married to the actor, and the sexual contact occurred during or immediately before or after the actor transported the complainant. Consent by the complainant is not a defense; or
- (o) the actor performs massage or other bodywork for hire, the complainant was a user of one of those services, and nonconsensual sexual contact occurred during or immediately before or after the actor performed or was hired to perform one of those services for the complainant.
- **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2018, and applies to crimes committed on or after that date."

Sec. 5. 6

04/09/18 03:32 PM	HOUSE RESEARCH	JD/SK	H3203DE1

7.2	"A bill for an act
7 3	relating to public safety: expanding the third and fourth degree criminal sexual

Delete the title and insert:

7.1

relating to public safety; expanding the third and fourth degree criminal sexual conduct crimes; amending Minnesota Statutes 2016, sections 609.341, subdivision 10, by adding subdivisions; 609.344, subdivision 1; 609.345, subdivision 1."

7.5 10, by adding subdivisions, 007.544, subdivision 1, 007.545, subdivision 1.

Sec. 5. 7