Minnesota Economic Support Programs

Minnesors Department of Human Services  [ncome and Asset Limits April 2015
Program Income Guidelines Monthly Income Limit Asset Household Disregards Reporting
Limit Composition
One Two Three Addtl.
Members

Minnesota Family Investment Program | Working — Based on countable income $927 $1,657 $2,179 Applicants - Currently at 50%. | Monthly

(MFIP) after allowable disregards and the Family $2,000 (Earned income reporting

Cash and food assistance for families Wage level. Approximately between 95%- Participants - disregard of first required.

with children. 130% FPG $5,000 $65 and 50% of Includes excluded

MFIP payments combine cash and food (Starting June 1, earned income earnings.

into one payment. The cash portion has | Non-working — Based on the Family Wage $422 $754 $991 Additional 2016 the asset afterwards Changes need to

not changed since 1986. Increases for Level, includes cash and SNAP benefit. $196 added limit will be effective October | be reported

different household sizes vary from $336 | Approximately below 43%-59% FPG to family $10,000) 1, 2015) within 10 days, at

for the first additional person to 5178 wage level recert, 8 calendar

for the 10" additional person and any per days after end of

person over 10. additional reporting period.

member. Changes must be

reported but only
verified if they
affect eligibility.

Supplemental Food Assistance Program | Gross income at or below 165% FPG $1,605 $2,163 $2,722 $559 None

(SNAP) Households not categorically eligible** $1,265 $1,705 $2,144 $440 None 6 month

Food assistance for adults without (due to intentional program violations, reporting.

children and families drug felons or other non-cooperation)

use gross income at or below 130% of FPG.

**For food support, categorical Households that are elderly or disabled $973 $1,311 $1,650 $339 None

eligibility refers to households who are with gross income over 165% FPG, must

exempt from meeting the resource, meet net income at 100% FPG

gross and net income limits.

General Assistance (GA) Below 21% FPG $203 $260 N/A N/A $1,000 First $50 earned Monthly

Cash assistance for adults without (Starting June 1, income reporting
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children. 2016 the asset disregarded plus required.
limit will be allowable work Includes excluded
Income eligibility for this program is $10,000) expenses. ($500 earnings.
determined by standards set in state addtl. Residingin | Changes need to
law. FPG is shown for comparison MH facility, CD or | be reported
purposes only. GRH) within 10 days, at
(Earned income recert, 8 calendar
disregard of first days after end of
$65 and 50% of reporting period.
earned income
afterwards
effective October
1, 2015)
Minnesota Supplemental Aid (MSA) Single Adults: below 59% - 80% FPG N/A N/A N/A Individual - First $20 general Monthly
A state supplement for adults who are Living alone: $794 $794 $2,000 income disregard | reporting
aged, blind or disabled and are eligible Living with others: $581 $581 (Starting June 1, then first $65 required when
for SSI or would be except for excess 2016 the asset disregarded and there is earned
income. limit will be 50% of earned income for non-
$10,000) income. SSI.
Income eligibility for this program is
determined by standards set in state law | Married Couples: below 60% to 89% FPG N/A N/A N/A Couple - $3,000 First $20 general Monthly
based on the SSI Federal Benefit Rate (Starting June 1, income disregard | reporting
(FBR). FPG is shown for comparison Living alone: $1,191 $1,191 2016 the asset then first $65 required when
purposes only. limit will be disregarded and there is earned
$10,000) 50% of earned income for non-
Living with others: $797 $797 income. SSI.
Group Residential Housing (GRH) An individual’s income must be less than the monthly rate for the GRH setting. If SSI basis of If SSI recipient, Monthly
A state-funded income supplement for The current GRH housing rate limit is $877 per month (about 92% of FPG). In addition, some people are eligibility, then disregards are reporting
elderly or low-income adults with eligible for the standard supplementary service payment of $482.84 (142% FPG) per month. In some $2,000 applied by SSA. required when

disabilities who live in licensed or
registered community based settings

settings, people are eligible for a higher than standard supplementary service payment.

(determined by
SSA)

If SSI basis of

there is earned
income over $100

2




Program Income Guidelines Monthly Income Limit Asset Household Disregards Reporting
Limit Composition
One Two Three Addtl.
Members
that pay for room and board costs. | ] s eligibility, but not | for non-SSI.
If GA basis of receiving SSI, then
Income eligibility for this program is eligibility, then 1% $65, plus 50%
determined by standards set in state $1,000 (If of remaining

law. FPG is shown for comparison
purposes only.

participating in
Earned Income
Savings Program,
then up to
additional $2,000)
(Starting June 1,
2016 the asset
limit will be
$10,000)

earned income.
If GA basis of
eligibility, then 1%
S50 earned
income (If
participating in
Earned Income
Savings Program,
then up to
additional
$500/month)
(Earned income
disregard of first
$65 and 50% of
earned income
afterwards
effective October
1, 2015)




