..... moves to amend H.F. No. 563 as follows:

Page 1, after line 11, insert:

1.1

1.2

1.3

1.4

1.5

1.6

1.7

1.8

1.9

1.10

1.11

1.12

1.13

1.14

1.15

1.16

1.17

1.18

1.19

1.20

1.21

1.22

1.23

1.24

"Sec. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 245C.32, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

- Subd. 2. **Use.** (a) The commissioner may also use these systems and records to obtain and provide criminal history data from the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension, criminal history data held by the commissioner, and data about substantiated maltreatment under section 626.556 or 626.557, for other purposes, provided that:
 - (1) the background study is specifically authorized in statute; or
- (2) the request is made with the informed consent of the subject of the study as provided in section 13.05, subdivision 4.
- (b) An individual making a request under paragraph (a), clause (2), must agree in writing not to disclose the data to any other individual without the consent of the subject of the data.
- (c) The commissioner may recover the cost of obtaining and providing background study data by charging the individual or entity requesting the study a fee of no more than \$20 per study. The fees collected under this paragraph are appropriated to the commissioner for the purpose of conducting background studies.
- (d) The commissioner shall recover the cost of obtaining background study data required under section 524.5-118 through a fee of \$50 per study for an individual who has not lived outside Minnesota for the past ten years, and a fee of \$100 for an individual who has resided outside of Minnesota for any period during the ten years preceding the background study. The commissioner shall recover, from the individual, any additional fees charged by other states' licensing agencies that are associated with these data requests. Fees under subdivision 3 also apply when criminal history data from the National Criminal Records Repository is required.

Sec. . 1

03/27/19 12:23 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	SS/JG	H0563A1

2.1	(e) According to paragraph (a), the commissioner shall use the systems and records
2.2	described in this chapter to provide summary data about maltreatment under sections 626.556
2.3	or 626.557 to government entities seeking this data for the purposes of child protection."
2.4	Page 6, line 3, after the period, insert "As a part of determining whether child protective
2.5	services are needed, the local welfare agency responsible for conducting the family
2.6	assessment or investigation shall submit a request to the commissioner of human services
2.7	to collect child abuse and neglect records maintained in each state other than Minnesota
2.8	where the alleged offender has resided in the preceding five years. The commissioner shall
2.9	send out-of-state child abuse and neglect records inquiries to the relevant states within three
2.10	business days of receiving the request from the local welfare agency. The commissioner
2.11	shall forward the results of these inquiries to the local welfare agency responsible for
2.12	conducting the family assessment or investigation as they are received. The commissioner
2.13	shall inform the local welfare agency if the commissioner does not receive a response from
2.14	all states with records required to be searched within 20 business days."
2.15	Page 6, delete line 7
2.16	Page 6, line 8, delete "investigation must ask for" and reinstate the stricken language
2.17	Page 6, line 9, reinstate the stricken language and delete ", including a search of the
2.18	central child abuse and neglect registry or equivalent "
2.19	Page 6, delete line 10
2.20	Page 6, line 11, delete "five years, to the extent information is available. This information"
2.21	Page 8, delete section 3
2.22	Renumber the sections in sequence and correct the internal references
2.23	Amend the title accordingly

Sec. . 2