1.2	Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:
1.3	"ARTICLE 1
1.4	APPROPRIATIONS
1.5	Section 1. APPROPRIATION; PERSONAL CARE ASSISTANCE.
1.6	\$13,066,000 in fiscal year 2021 is appropriated from the general fund to the commissioner
1.7	of human services to implement the personal care assistance provisions in this act. The
1.8	appropriation under this section includes federal financial participation of \$29,000 in fiscal
1.9	<u>year 2021.</u>
1.10	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
1.11	Sec. 2. APPROPRIATIONS; DIRECT CARE AND TREATMENT.
1.12	(a) \$2,730,000 in fiscal year 2021 is appropriated from the general fund to the
1.13	commissioner of human services for forensic services programs. This is a onetime
1.14	appropriation.
1.15	(b) \$2,102,000 in fiscal year 2021 is appropriated from the general fund to the
1.16	commissioner of human services for the sex offender program. This is a onetime
1.17	appropriation.
1.18	(c) \$207,000 in fiscal year 2021 is appropriated from the general fund to the commissioner
1.19	of human services for direct care and treatment program operations costs. This is a onetime
1.20	appropriation.
1.21	(d) \$2,560,000 in fiscal year 2021 is appropriated from the general fund to the
1.22	commissioner of human services for direct care and treatment mental health and substance
1.23	abuse treatment services. The commissioner must transfer \$547,000 in fiscal year 2021 to

..... moves to amend H.F. No. 14 as follows:

2.1	the enterprise fund for the Community Addiction Recovery Enterprise program. This is a
2.2	onetime appropriation.
2.3	(e) \$17,698,000 in fiscal year 2021 is appropriated from the general fund to the
2.4	commissioner of human services for direct care and treatment community-based services.
2.5	The commissioner must transfer \$20,582,000 in fiscal year 2021 from the general fund to
2.6	the enterprise fund for Minnesota State Operated Community Services. This is a onetime
2.7	appropriation.
2.8	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
2.9	Sec. 3. APPROPRIATIONS; MFIP SUPPLEMENTAL PAYMENT.
2.10	(a) \$13,852,000 in fiscal year 2021 is appropriated from the TANF fund to the
2.11	commissioner of human services to provide a onetime cash benefit of up to \$500 for each
2.12	household enrolled in the Minnesota family investment program or diversionary work
2.13	program under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 256J, at the time that the cash benefit is
2.14	distributed. The commissioner shall distribute these funds through existing systems and in
2.15	a manner that minimizes the burden to families. This is a onetime appropriation.
2.16	(b) \$92,000 in fiscal year 2021 is appropriated from the general fund to the commissioner
2.17	of human services for administrative costs associated with distributing the cash benefit in
2.18	paragraph (a). This is a onetime appropriation.
2.19	(c) \$6,000 in fiscal year 2021 is appropriated from the general fund to the commissioner
2.20	of human services for information technology to administer the cash benefit in paragraph
2.21	(a). This is a onetime appropriation.
2.22	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
2.23	Sec. 4. APPROPRIATIONS; VETERANS AFFAIRS.
2.24	Subdivision 1. Veterans Suicide Office. \$1,000,000 in fiscal year 2021 is appropriated
2.25	from the general fund to the commissioner of veterans affairs for the operation of a Veterans
2.26	Suicide Office within the Department of Veterans Affairs. The Veterans Suicide Office
2.27	must address the problem of veteran suicide in Minnesota. The base for this appropriation
2.28	is \$650,000 in fiscal year 2022 and \$550,000 in fiscal year 2023.
2.29	Subd. 2. Veteran homelessness. \$2,000,000 in fiscal year 2021 is appropriated from
2.30	the general fund to the commissioner of veterans affairs for the provision of housing vouchers
2.31	and other services dedicated to alleviating homelessness for veterans and former service
2.32	members in Minnesota.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment. 3.1 Sec. 5. APPROPRIATIONS; DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY. 3.2 Subdivision 1. **Appropriations.** The appropriations in this section are to the commissioner 3.3 of public safety. The amounts that may be spent for each purpose are specified in the 3.4 following subdivisions. 3.5 Subd. 2. Patrolling highways. (a) \$7,168,000 in fiscal year 2021 is appropriated from 3.6 the trunk highway fund for staff and operating costs to patrol highways. 3.7 (b) The base from the trunk highway fund for patrolling highways is \$102,452,000 in 3.8 each of fiscal years 2022 and 2023. 3.9 Subd. 3. Commercial vehicle enforcement. (a) \$648,000 in fiscal year 2021 is 3.10 appropriated from the trunk highway fund for commercial vehicle enforcement staff and 3.11 operating costs. 3.12 (b) The base for commercial vehicle enforcement is \$9,686,000 in each of fiscal years 3.13 2022 and 2023. 3.14 3.15 Subd. 4. Civil unrest costs. \$4,637,000 in fiscal year 2021 is appropriated from the trunk highway fund for costs incurred related to the response to civil unrest in the 3.16 Minneapolis-St. Paul area in May and June of 2020. Of the amount appropriated under this 3.17 subdivision, \$3,772,000 is for the Department of Public Safety, and \$865,000 is for transfer 3.18 to the Department of Transportation. This is a onetime appropriation 3.19 Subd. 5. Capitol security. (a) \$1,278,000 in fiscal year 2021 is appropriated from the 3.20 general fund for capitol security staff and operating costs. 3.21 (b) The base for capitol security is \$10,528,000 in each of fiscal years 2022 and 2023. 3.22 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment. 3.23 Sec. 6. APPROPRIATION; DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTIONS. 3.24 3.25 Subdivision 1. Total appropriation. \$11,742,000 in fiscal year 2021 is appropriated from the general fund to the commissioner of corrections for overtime and staffing. 3.26 Subd. 2. Correctional institutions. Of the amount appropriated in subdivision 1, 3.27

including overtime.

3.28

3.29

\$9,888,000 in fiscal year 2021 is for additional correctional institution compensation costs,

07/13/20	REVISOR	RSI/AA	A20-0817
N 1/1 3/20	PHVISOR		7.7H HX F
07/13/40	INTENTION .	KSI/AA	7.40-001

4.1	Subd. 3. Community services. Of the amount appropriated in subdivision 1, \$1,268,000
4.2	in fiscal year 2021 is for additional community services compensation costs, including
4.3	overtime.
4.4	Subd. 4. Operations support. Of the amount appropriated in subdivision 1, \$586,000
4.5	in fiscal year 2021 is for additional operations support compensation costs, including
4.6	overtime.
4.7	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
4.8	Sec. 7. APPROPRIATION; DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY; BUREAU OF
4.9	CRIMINAL APPREHENSION.
4.10	(a) \$4,482,000 in fiscal year 2021 is appropriated from the general fund to the
4.11	commissioner of public safety for use by the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension in storing,
4.12	tracking, and testing sexual assault examination kits; and forensic testing to combat violent
4.13	crime.
4.14	(b) Of the amount appropriated in paragraph (a), \$3,096,000 in fiscal year 2021 is to
4.15	pay for the testing of unrestricted sexual assault examination kits, storage of restricted kits,
4.16	and the development of an informational website for sexual assault survivors to learn the
4.17	status of the testing of the survivor's individual sexual assault examination kit. The base for
4.18	this appropriation is \$2,067,000 in fiscal year 2022 and each year thereafter.
4.19	(c) Of the amount appropriated in paragraph (a), \$1,386,000 in fiscal year 2021 is for
4.20	staffing and operating costs to provide for training, supplies, and equipment; and renovate
4.21	space to enhance the capacity for forensic testing to combat violent crime. The base for this
4.22	appropriation is \$844,000 in fiscal year 2022 and each year thereafter.
4.23	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
4.24	Sec. 8. APPROPRIATION; NATURAL RESOURCES LEGAL COSTS.
4.25	\$2,000,000 in fiscal year 2021 is appropriated from the general fund to the commissioner
4.26	of natural resources for legal costs. Of this amount, up to \$1,000,000 may be transferred to
4.27	the Minnesota Pollution Control Agency. This is a onetime appropriation and is available
4.28	until June 30, 2023.
4.29	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

07/13/20	REVISOR	RSI/AA	A20-0817
11//13/711	RHVISOR	R S I / A A	Δ /Π_ΠΧΙ /
0//13/40	IND VIDOR	KSI/AA	740-001/

5.1	Sec. 9. APPROPRIATION; CHILD FOSTER CARE BACKGROUND STUDY	Y
5.2	MODIFICATIONS.	

\$100,000 in fiscal year 2021 is appropriated from the general fund to the commissioner of human services to implement child foster care background study modifications. The base for this appropriation is \$115,000 in fiscal year 2022 and \$115,000 in fiscal year 2023. The appropriation under this section includes federal financial participation of \$32,000 in fiscal year 2021 and \$37,000 in fiscal years 2022 and 2023.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 10. APPROPRIATION; DISCRIMINATION INVESTIGATION.

\$750,000 in fiscal year 2021 is appropriated from the general fund to the commissioner of human rights for a civil rights investigation into discrimination by the Minneapolis Police Department. This is a onetime appropriation and is available until June 30, 2022.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 11. WEIGHTS AND MEASURES; PETROLEUM TANK FUND TRANSFER.

(a) Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section 115C.08, subdivision 4, when the revenue from the fee appropriated to the commissioner of commerce under Minnesota Statutes, section 239.101, subdivision 3, is insufficient to cover the costs to perform the duties and responsibilities required under Minnesota Statutes, section 239.011, the commissioner of management and budget must transfer an amount necessary to pay for the required expenditures from the petroleum tank fund under Minnesota Statutes, section 115C.08, to the Weights and Measures Division petroleum inspection fee account under Minnesota Statutes, section 239.101, subdivision 3. The maximum aggregate amount the commissioner of management and budget may transfer under this paragraph is \$1,000,000.

(b) If money transferred under paragraph (a) during fiscal year 2021 exceeds the actual expenditures for the duties and responsibilities under Minnesota Statutes, section 239.011, during fiscal year 2021, the remaining money must be transferred back to the petroleum tank fund under Minnesota Statutes, section 115C.08, on June 30, 2021.

(c) Beginning September 1, 2020, and on the first day of each odd-numbered month thereafter, the commissioner of commerce must submit a report regarding the use of money transferred under paragraph (a) to the chairs and ranking minority members of the house of representatives and senate committees with jurisdiction over energy and commerce.

5.3

5.4

5.5

5.6

5.7

5.8

5.9

5.10

5.11

5.12

5.13

5.14

5.15

5.16

5.17

5.18

5.19

5.20

5.21

5.22

5.23

5.24

5.25

5.26

5.27

5.28

5.29

5.30

6.1 <u>EFFECTIVE DATE.</u> This section is effective the day following final enactment and expires July 1, 2021.

Sec. 12. AGENCY BUDGET REDUCTION.

6.3

6.4

6.5

6.6

6.7

6.8

6.9

6.10

6.11

6.12

6.13

6.14

6.15

6.16

6.17

6.20

6.21

6.22

6.25

- (a) The commissioner of management and budget must reduce general fund appropriations to executive branch agencies for agency operations for the biennium ending June 30, 2021, by \$58,000,000. The commissioner of management and budget may transfer amounts that would otherwise be spent for agency operating costs, from nongeneral funds, other than those established in the state constitution or protected by federal law, to the general fund. The amount transferred to the general fund from other funds reduces the required general fund reduction in this section. Reductions to agency operating appropriations are onetime and do not reduce the appropriation base for the next biennium as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 16A.11, subdivision 3.
- (b) By August 1, 2021, the commissioner of management and budget must report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the Senate Finance Committee and the House of Representatives Ways and Means Committee regarding the amount of reductions in spending by each agency under this section.
 - **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment.

6.18 **ARTICLE 2**6.19 **CONFORMING POLICY CHANGES**

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2019 Supplement, section 245A.05, is amended to read:

245A.05 DENIAL OF APPLICATION.

- (a) The commissioner may deny a license if an applicant or controlling individual:
- 6.23 (1) fails to submit a substantially complete application after receiving notice from the commissioner under section 245A.04, subdivision 1;
 - (2) fails to comply with applicable laws or rules;
- (3) knowingly withholds relevant information from or gives false or misleading
 information to the commissioner in connection with an application for a license or during
 an investigation;
- 6.29 (4) has a disqualification that has not been set aside under section 245C.22 and no variance has been granted;

(5) has an individual living in the household who received a background study under
section 245C.03, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clause (2), who has a disqualification that
has not been set aside under section 245C.22, and no variance has been granted;

- (6) is associated with an individual who received a background study under section 245C.03, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clause (6), who may have unsupervised access to children or vulnerable adults, and who has a disqualification that has not been set aside under section 245C.22, and no variance has been granted;
- 7.8 (7) fails to comply with section 245A.04, subdivision 1, paragraph (f) or (g);
- (8) fails to demonstrate competent knowledge as required by section 245A.04, subdivision
 6;
 - (9) has a history of noncompliance as a license holder or controlling individual with applicable laws or rules, including but not limited to this chapter and chapters 119B and 245C; or
 - (10) is prohibited from holding a license according to section 245.095-; or
 - (11) for family child foster care, has nondisqualifying background study information, as described in section 245C.05, subdivision 4, that reflects on the individual's ability to safely provide care to foster children.
 - (b) An applicant whose application has been denied by the commissioner must be given notice of the denial, which must state the reasons for the denial in plain language. Notice must be given by certified mail or personal service. The notice must state the reasons the application was denied and must inform the applicant of the right to a contested case hearing under chapter 14 and Minnesota Rules, parts 1400.8505 to 1400.8612. The applicant may appeal the denial by notifying the commissioner in writing by certified mail or personal service. If mailed, the appeal must be postmarked and sent to the commissioner within 20 calendar days after the applicant received the notice of denial. If an appeal request is made by personal service, it must be received by the commissioner within 20 calendar days after the applicant received the notice of denial. Section 245A.08 applies to hearings held to appeal the commissioner's denial of an application.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2021.

7.1

7.2

7.3

7.4

7.5

7.6

7.7

7.11

7.12

7.13

7.14

7.15

7.16

7.17

7.18

7.19

7.20

7.21

7.22

7.23

7.24

7.25

7.26

7.27

7.28

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2019 Supplement, section 245A.07, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. **Sanctions; appeals; license.** (a) In addition to making a license conditional under section 245A.06, the commissioner may suspend or revoke the license, impose a fine, or secure an injunction against the continuing operation of the program of a license holder who does not comply with applicable law or rule, or who has nondisqualifying background study information, as described in section 245C.05, subdivision 4, that reflects on the license holder's ability to safely provide care to foster children. When applying sanctions authorized under this section, the commissioner shall consider the nature, chronicity, or severity of the violation of law or rule and the effect of the violation on the health, safety, or rights of persons served by the program.

- (b) If a license holder appeals the suspension or revocation of a license and the license holder continues to operate the program pending a final order on the appeal, the commissioner shall issue the license holder a temporary provisional license. Unless otherwise specified by the commissioner, variances in effect on the date of the license sanction under appeal continue under the temporary provisional license. If a license holder fails to comply with applicable law or rule while operating under a temporary provisional license, the commissioner may impose additional sanctions under this section and section 245A.06, and may terminate any prior variance. If a temporary provisional license is set to expire, a new temporary provisional license shall be issued to the license holder upon payment of any fee required under section 245A.10. The temporary provisional license shall expire on the date the final order is issued. If the license holder prevails on the appeal, a new nonprovisional license shall be issued for the remainder of the current license period.
- (c) If a license holder is under investigation and the license issued under this chapter is due to expire before completion of the investigation, the program shall be issued a new license upon completion of the reapplication requirements and payment of any applicable license fee. Upon completion of the investigation, a licensing sanction may be imposed against the new license under this section, section 245A.06, or 245A.08.
- (d) Failure to reapply or closure of a license issued under this chapter by the license holder prior to the completion of any investigation shall not preclude the commissioner from issuing a licensing sanction under this section or section 245A.06 at the conclusion of the investigation.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2021.

8.1

8.2

8.3

8.4

8.5

8.6

8.7

8.8

8.9

8.10

8.11

8.12

8.13

8.14

8.15

8.16

8.17

8.18

8.19

8.20

8.21

8.22

8.23

8.24

8.25

8.26

8.27

8.28

8.29

8.30

8.31

8.32

9.1	Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 245A.16, is amended by adding a subdivision to
9.2	read:
9.3	Subd. 9. Licensed family child foster care. (a) Before recommending to deny a license
9.4	under section 245A.05 or revoke a license under section 245A.07 for nondisqualifying
9.5	background study information received under section 245C.05, subdivision 4, paragraph
9.6	(a), clause (3), for licensed family child foster care a county agency or private agency that
9.7	has been designated or licensed by the commissioner must review the following:
9.8	(1) the type of offense;
9.9	(2) the number of offenses;
9.10	(3) the nature of the offenses;
9.11	(4) the age of the individual at the time of the offense;
9.12	(5) the length of time that has elapsed since the last offense;
9.13	(6) the relationship of the offenses and the capacity to care for a child;
9.14	(7) evidence of rehabilitation;
9.15	(8) information or knowledge from community members regarding the individual's
9.16	capacity to provide foster care;
9.17	(9) a statement from the study subject;
9.18	(10) a statement from the license holder; and
9.19	(11) other aggravating and mitigating factors.
9.20	(b) When licensing a relative to provide family child foster care, the commissioner shall
9.21	also consider the importance of maintaining the child's relationship with relatives as an
9.22	additional significant factor in determining whether an application will be denied.
9.23	(c) The county or private licensing agency must send a summary of the review completed
9.24	according to paragraph (a), on a form developed by the commissioner, to the commissioner
9.25	and include any recommendation for licensing action.
9.26	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2021.
9.27	Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 245C.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to
9.28	read:
9.29	Subd. 12a. Licensed family child foster care. "Licensed family child foster care"
9.30	includes providers who have submitted an application for family child foster care licensure

under section 245A.04, subdivision 1. Licensed family child foster care does not include foster residence settings that meet the licensing requirements of Minnesota Rules, parts 2960.3200 to 2960.3230.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2021.

10.1

10.2

10.3

10.4

10.5

10.6

10.7

10.8

10.9

10.10

10.11

10.12

10.13

10.14

10.15

10.16

10.17

10.20

10.26

10.27

10.28

10.29

10.30

- Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 245C.05, subdivision 2c, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2c. Privacy notice to background study subject. (a) Prior to initiating each background study, the entity initiating the study must provide the commissioner's privacy notice to the background study subject required under section 13.04, subdivision 2. The notice must be available through the commissioner's electronic NETStudy and NETStudy 2.0 systems and shall include the information in paragraphs (b) and (c).
- (b) The background study subject shall be informed that any previous background studies that received a set-aside will be reviewed, and without further contact with the background study subject, the commissioner may notify the agency that initiated the subsequent background study:
- (1) that the individual has a disqualification that has been set aside for the program or agency that initiated the study;
 - (2) the reason for the disqualification; and
- (3) that information about the decision to set aside the disqualification will be available 10.18 to the license holder upon request without the consent of the background study subject. 10.19
 - (c) The background study subject must also be informed that:
- (1) the subject's fingerprints collected for purposes of completing the background study 10.21 under this chapter must not be retained by the Department of Public Safety, Bureau of 10.22 Criminal Apprehension, or by the commissioner. The Federal Bureau of Investigation will 10.23 10.24 only retain fingerprints of subjects with a criminal history not retain background study subjects' fingerprints; 10.25
 - (2) effective upon implementation of NETStudy 2.0, the subject's photographic image will be retained by the commissioner, and if the subject has provided the subject's Social Security number for purposes of the background study, the photographic image will be available to prospective employers and agencies initiating background studies under this chapter to verify the identity of the subject of the background study;
- (3) the commissioner's authorized fingerprint collection vendor shall, for purposes of verifying the identity of the background study subject, be able to view the identifying 10.32

11.1	information entered into NETStudy 2.0 by the entity that initiated the background study,
11.2	but shall not retain the subject's fingerprints, photograph, or information from NETStudy
11.3	2.0. The authorized fingerprint collection vendor shall retain no more than the subject's
11.4	name and the date and time the subject's fingerprints were recorded and sent, only as
11.5	necessary for auditing and billing activities;
11.6	(4) the commissioner shall provide the subject notice, as required in section 245C.17,
11.7	subdivision 1, paragraph (a), when an entity initiates a background study on the individual;
11.8	(5) the subject may request in writing a report listing the entities that initiated a
11.9	background study on the individual as provided in section 245C.17, subdivision 1, paragraph
11.10	(b);
11.11	(6) the subject may request in writing that information used to complete the individual's
11.12	background study in NETStudy 2.0 be destroyed if the requirements of section 245C.051,
11.13	paragraph (a), are met; and
11.14	(7) notwithstanding clause (6), the commissioner shall destroy:
11.15	(i) the subject's photograph after a period of two years when the requirements of section
11.16	245C.051, paragraph (c), are met; and
11.17	(ii) any data collected on a subject under this chapter after a period of two years following
11.18	the individual's death as provided in section 245C.051, paragraph (d).
11.19	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
11.20	Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 245C.05, subdivision 2d, is amended to read:
11.21	Subd. 2d. Fingerprint data notification. The commissioner of human services shall
11.22	notify all background study subjects under this chapter that the Department of Human
11.23	Services, Department of Public Safety, and the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension do not
11.24	retain fingerprint data after a background study is completed, and that the Federal Bureau
11.25	of Investigation only retains the fingerprints of subjects who have a criminal history does
11.26	not retain background study subjects' fingerprints.
11.27	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

07/13/20	REVISOR	RSI/AA	A20-0817

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2019 Supplement, section 245C.05, subdivision 4, as amended 12.1 by Laws 2020, First Special Session chapter 2, article 5, section 13, is amended to read: 12.2 Subd. 4. Electronic transmission. (a) For background studies conducted by the 12.3 Department of Human Services, the commissioner shall implement a secure system for the 12.4 electronic transmission of: 12.5 (1) background study information to the commissioner; 12.6 12.7 (2) background study results to the license holder; (3) background study results and relevant underlying investigative information to counties 12.8 for background studies conducted by the commissioner for child foster care, including a 12.9 summary of nondisqualifying results, except as prohibited by law; and 12.10 (4) background study results to county agencies for background studies conducted by 12.11 the commissioner for adult foster care and family adult day services and, upon 12.12 implementation of NETStudy 2.0, family child care and legal nonlicensed child care 12.13 authorized under chapter 119B. 12.14 (b) Unless the commissioner has granted a hardship variance under paragraph (c), a 12.15 license holder or an applicant must use the electronic transmission system known as 12.16 NETStudy or NETStudy 2.0 to submit all requests for background studies to the 12.17 commissioner as required by this chapter. 12.18 (c) A license holder or applicant whose program is located in an area in which high-speed 12.19 Internet is inaccessible may request the commissioner to grant a variance to the electronic 12.20 transmission requirement. 12.21 (d) Section 245C.08, subdivision 3, paragraph (c), applies to results transmitted under 12.22 this subdivision. 12.23 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2021. 12.24 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2019 Supplement, section 245C.08, subdivision 3, is amended 12.25 12.26 to read: Subd. 3. Arrest and investigative information. (a) For any background study completed 12.27 under this section, if the commissioner has reasonable cause to believe the information is 12.28 pertinent to the disqualification of an individual, the commissioner also may review arrest 12.29 and investigative information from: 12.30 (1) the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension; 12.31

13.1	(2) the commissioners of health and human services;
13.2	(3) a county attorney;
13.3	(4) a county sheriff;
13.4	(5) a county agency;
13.5	(6) a local chief of police;
13.6	(7) other states;
13.7	(8) the courts;
13.8	(9) the Federal Bureau of Investigation;
13.9	(10) the National Criminal Records Repository; and
13.10	(11) criminal records from other states.
13.11	(b) Except when specifically required by law, the commissioner is not required to conduct
13.12	more than one review of a subject's records from the Federal Bureau of Investigation if a
13.13	review of the subject's criminal history with the Federal Bureau of Investigation has already
13.14	been completed by the commissioner and there has been no break in the subject's affiliation
13.15	with the entity that initiated the background study.
13.16	(c) If the commissioner conducts a national criminal history record check when required
13.17	by law and uses the information from the national criminal history record check to make a
13.18	disqualification determination, the data obtained is private data and cannot be shared with
13.19	county agencies, private agencies, or prospective employers of the background study subject.
13.20	(d) If the commissioner conducts a national criminal history record check when required
13.21	by law and uses the information from the national criminal history record check to make a
13.22	disqualification determination, the license holder or entity that submitted the study is not
13.23	required to obtain a copy of the background study subject's disqualification letter under
13.24	section 245C.17, subdivision 3.
13.25	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2020.
13.26	Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 245C.14, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
13.27	Subdivision 1. Disqualification from direct contact. (a) The commissioner shall
13.28	disqualify an individual who is the subject of a background study from any position allowing

13.29

13.30

13.31

direct contact with persons receiving services from the license holder or entity identified in

section 245C.03, upon receipt of information showing, or when a background study

completed under this chapter shows any of the following:

14.1	(1) a conviction of, admission to, or Alford plea to one or more crimes listed in section
14.2	245C.15, regardless of whether the conviction or admission is a felony, gross misdemeanor,
14.3	or misdemeanor level crime;
14.4	(2) a preponderance of the evidence indicates the individual has committed an act or
14.5	acts that meet the definition of any of the crimes listed in section 245C.15, regardless of
14.6	whether the preponderance of the evidence is for a felony, gross misdemeanor, or
14.7	misdemeanor level crime; or
14.8	(3) an investigation results in an administrative determination listed under section
14.9	245C.15, subdivision 4, paragraph (b).
14.10	(b) No individual who is disqualified following a background study under section
14.11	245C.03, subdivisions 1 and 2, may be retained in a position involving direct contact with
14.12	persons served by a program or entity identified in section 245C.03, unless the commissioner
14.13	has provided written notice under section 245C.17 stating that:
14.14	(1) the individual may remain in direct contact during the period in which the individual
14.15	may request reconsideration as provided in section 245C.21, subdivision 2;
14.16	(2) the commissioner has set aside the individual's disqualification for that program or
14.17	entity identified in section 245C.03, as provided in section 245C.22, subdivision 4; or
14.18	(3) the license holder has been granted a variance for the disqualified individual under
14.19	section 245C.30.
14.20	(c) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), for the purposes of a background study affiliated
14.21	with a licensed family child foster care provider, the commissioner shall disqualify an
14.22	individual who is the subject of a background study from any position allowing direct contact
14.23	with persons receiving services from the license holder or entity identified in section 245C.03,
14.24	upon receipt of information showing, or when a background study completed under this
14.25	chapter shows reason for disqualification under section 245C.15, subdivision 6.
14.26	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2021.
14.27	Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 245C.15, is amended by adding a subdivision
14.28	to read:
14.29	Subd. 6. Licensed family child foster care disqualifications. (a) Notwithstanding
14.30	subdivisions 1 to 5, for a background study affiliated with a licensed family child foster
14.31	care, regardless of how much time has passed, an individual is disqualified under section
14 32	245C 14 if the individual committed an act that resulted in a felony-level conviction for:

15.1	609.185 (murder in the first degree); 609.19 (murder in the second degree); 609.195 (murder
15.2	in the third degree); 609.20 (manslaughter in the first degree); 609.205 (manslaughter in
15.3	the second degree); 609.2112 (criminal vehicular homicide); 609.223, subdivision 2 (assault
15.4	in the third degree, past pattern of child abuse); 609.223, subdivision 3 (assault in the third
15.5	degree, victim under four); a felony offense under sections 609.2242 and 609.2243 (domestic
15.6	assault, spousal abuse, child abuse or neglect, or a crime against children); 609.2247
15.7	(domestic assault by strangulation); 609.25 (kidnapping); 609.255 (false imprisonment);
15.8	609.265 (abduction); 609.2661 (murder of an unborn child in the first degree); 609.2662
15.9	(murder of an unborn child in the second degree); 609.2663 (murder of an unborn child in
15.10	the third degree); 609.2664 (manslaughter of an unborn child in the first degree); 609.2665
15.11	(manslaughter of an unborn child in the second degree); 609.267 (assault of an unborn child
15.12	in the first degree); 609.2671 (assault of an unborn child in the second degree); 609.268
15.13	(injury or death of an unborn child in the commission of a crime); 609.324, subdivision 1
15.14	(other prohibited acts; engaging in, hiring, or agreeing to hire minor to engage in prostitution);
15.15	609.342 (criminal sexual conduct in the first degree); 609.343 (criminal sexual conduct in
15.16	the second degree); 609.344 (criminal sexual conduct in the third degree); 609.345 (criminal
15.17	sexual conduct in the fourth degree); 609.3451 (criminal sexual conduct in the fifth degree);
15.18	609.3453 (criminal sexual predatory conduct); 609.352 (solicitation of children to engage
15.19	in sexual conduct); 609.377 (malicious punishment of a child); 609.378 (neglect or
15.20	endangerment of a child); 617.246 (use of minors in sexual performance prohibited); or
15.21	617.247 (possession of pictorial representations of minors).
15.22	(b) Notwithstanding subdivisions 1 to 5, for the purposes of a background study affiliated
15.23	with a licensed family foster care license, an individual is disqualified under section 245C.14,
15.24	regardless of how much time has passed, if the individual:
15.25	(1) committed an action under paragraph (d) that resulted in death or involved sexual
15.26	abuse;
15.27	(2) committed an act that resulted in a felony-level conviction for section 609.746
15.28	(interference with privacy);
15.29	(3) committed an act that resulted in a gross misdemeanor-level conviction for section
15.30	609.3451 (criminal sexual conduct in the fifth degree); or
15.31	(4) committed an act against or involving a minor that resulted in a felony-level conviction
15.32	for: section 609.221 (assault in the first degree); 609.222 (assault in the second degree);
15.33	609.223, subdivision 1 (assault in the third degree); 609.2231 (assault in the fourth degree);
15.34	or 609.224, subdivision 4 (assault in the fifth degree).

07/13/20	REVISOR	RSI/AA	A20-0817

16.1	(c) Notwithstanding subdivisions 1 to 5, for a background study affiliated with a licensed
16.2	family child foster care license, an individual is disqualified under section 245C.14 if:
16.3	(1) less than five years have passed since the termination of parental rights under section
16.4	260C.301, subdivision 1, paragraph (b);
16.5	(2) less than five years have passed since a felony-level conviction for: section 152.021
16.6	(controlled substance crime in the first degree); 152.022 (controlled substance crime in the
16.7	second degree); 152.023 (controlled substance crime in the third degree); 152.024 (controlled
16.8	substance crime in the fourth degree); 152.025 (controlled substance crime in the fifth
16.9	degree); 152.0261 (importing controlled substances across state borders); 152.0262,
16.10	subdivision 1, paragraph (b) (possession of substance with intent to manufacture
16.11	methamphetamine); 152.027, subdivision 6, paragraph (c) (sale or possession of synthetic
16.12	cannabinoids); 152.096 (conspiracies prohibited); 152.097 (simulated controlled substances);
16.13	152.136 (anhydrous ammonia; prohibited conduct; criminal penalties; civil liabilities);
16.14	152.137 (methamphetamine-related crimes involving children or vulnerable adults); 169A.24
16.15	(felony first-degree driving while impaired); 243.166 (violation of predatory offender
16.16	registration requirements); 609.2113 (criminal vehicular operation; bodily harm); 609.2114
16.17	(criminal vehicular operation; unborn child); 609.228 (great bodily harm caused by
16.18	distribution of drugs); 609.2325 (criminal abuse of a vulnerable adult); 609.235 (use of
16.19	drugs to injure or facilitate a crime); 609.322 (solicitation, inducement, and promotion of
16.20	prostitution; sex trafficking); 609.561 (arson in the first degree); 609.562 (arson in the
16.21	second degree); 609.563 (arson in the third degree); 609.66, subdivision 1e (felony drive-by
16.22	shooting); 609.687 (adulteration); 609.749, subdivision 3, 4, or 5 (felony-level harassment
16.23	or stalking); or 609.855, subdivision 5 (shooting at or in a public transit vehicle or facility);
16.24	<u>or</u>
16.25	(3) less than five years have passed since a felony-level conviction for an act not against
16.26	or involving a minor that constitutes: section 609.221 (assault in the first degree); 609.222
16.27	(assault in the second degree); 609.223, subdivision 1 (assault in the third degree); 609.2231
16.28	(assault in the fourth degree); or 609.224, subdivision 4 (assault in the fifth degree).
16.29	(d) Notwithstanding subdivisions 1 to 5, except as provided in paragraph (a), for a
16.30	background study affiliated with a licensed family child foster care license, an individual
16.31	is disqualified under section 245C.14 if less than five years have passed since:
16.32	(1) a determination or disposition of the individual's failure to make required reports
16.33	under section 626.556, subdivision 3, or 626.557, subdivision 3, for incidents in which the
10.33	which service of the distribution of the order of the medical in which the

final disposition under section 626.556 or 626.557 was substantiated maltreatment and the 17.1 maltreatment was recurring or serious; 17.2 (2) a determination or disposition of the individual's substantiated serious or recurring 17.3 maltreatment of a minor under section 626.556, a vulnerable adult under section 626.557, 17.4 or serious or recurring maltreatment in any other state, the elements of which are substantially 17.5 similar to the elements of maltreatment under section 626.556 or 626.557 and meet the 17.6 definition of serious maltreatment or recurring maltreatment; 17.7 (3) the termination of the individual's parental rights under section 260C.301, subdivision 17.8 1, paragraph (a); or 17.9 (4) a gross misdemeanor-level conviction for: section 609.746 (interference with privacy); 17.10 609.2242 and 609.2243 (domestic assault); 609.377 (malicious punishment of a child); or 17.11 17.12 609.378 (neglect or endangerment of a child). **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2021. 17.13 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2019 Supplement, section 245C.24, subdivision 1, is amended 17.14 to read: 17.15 Subdivision 1. Minimum disqualification periods. The disqualification periods under 17.16 subdivisions 3 to 5 6 are the minimum applicable disqualification periods. The commissioner 17.17 may determine that an individual should continue to be disqualified from licensure because 17.18 the individual continues to pose a risk of harm to persons served by that individual, even 17.19 after the minimum disqualification period has passed. 17.20 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2021. 17.21 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2019 Supplement, section 245C.24, subdivision 2, is amended 17.22 to read: 17.23 Subd. 2. Permanent bar to set aside a disqualification. (a) Except as provided in 17.24 paragraphs (b) to (e) (f), the commissioner may not set aside the disqualification of any 17.25 17.26 individual disqualified pursuant to this chapter, regardless of how much time has passed, if the individual was disqualified for a crime or conduct listed in section 245C.15, subdivision 17.27 1. 17.28 (b) For an individual in the chemical dependency or corrections field who was disqualified 17.29 for a crime or conduct listed under section 245C.15, subdivision 1, and whose disqualification 17.30 was set aside prior to July 1, 2005, the commissioner must consider granting a variance 17.31

17.32

pursuant to section 245C.30 for the license holder for a program dealing primarily with

adults. A request for reconsideration evaluated under this paragraph must include a letter of recommendation from the license holder that was subject to the prior set-aside decision addressing the individual's quality of care to children or vulnerable adults and the circumstances of the individual's departure from that service.

- (c) If an individual who requires a background study for nonemergency medical transportation services under section 245C.03, subdivision 12, was disqualified for a crime or conduct listed under section 245C.15, subdivision 1, and if more than 40 years have passed since the discharge of the sentence imposed, the commissioner may consider granting a set-aside pursuant to section 245C.22. A request for reconsideration evaluated under this paragraph must include a letter of recommendation from the employer. This paragraph does not apply to a person disqualified based on a violation of sections 243.166; 609.185 to 609.205; 609.25; 609.342 to 609.3453; 609.352; 617.23, subdivision 2, clause (1), or 3, clause (1); 617.246; or 617.247.
- (d) When a licensed foster care provider adopts an individual who had received foster care services from the provider for over six months, and the adopted individual is required to receive a background study under section 245C.03, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clause (2) or (6), the commissioner may grant a variance to the license holder under section 245C.30 to permit the adopted individual with a permanent disqualification to remain affiliated with the license holder under the conditions of the variance when the variance is recommended by the county of responsibility for each of the remaining individuals in placement in the home and the licensing agency for the home.
- (e) For an individual 18 years of age or older affiliated with a licensed family child foster care program, the commissioner must not set aside the disqualification of any individual disqualified pursuant to this chapter, regardless of how much time has passed, if the individual was disqualified for a crime or conduct listed in section 245C.15, subdivision 6, paragraph (a).
- (f) In connection with a license for family child foster care, the commissioner may grant a variance to the disqualification for an individual who is under 18 years of age at the time the background study is submitted.
- **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2021.

18.1

18.2

18.3

18.4

18.5

18.6

18.7

18.8

18.9

18.10

18.11

18.12

18.13

18.14

18.15

18.16

18.17

18.18

18.19

18.20

18.21

18.22

18.23

18.24

18.25

18.26

18.27

18.28

18.29

07/13/20 REVISOR RSI/AA A20-0817

Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2019 Supplement, section 245C.24, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Ten-year bar to set aside disqualification. (a) The commissioner may not set aside the disqualification of an individual in connection with a license to provide family child care for children, foster care for children in the provider's home, or foster care or day care services for adults in the provider's home if: (1) less than ten years has passed since the discharge of the sentence imposed, if any, for the offense; or (2) when disqualified based on a preponderance of evidence determination under section 245C.14, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clause (2), or an admission under section 245C.14, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clause (1), and less than ten years has passed since the individual committed the act or admitted to committing the act, whichever is later; and (3) the individual has committed a violation of any of the following offenses: sections 609.165 (felon ineligible to possess firearm); criminal vehicular homicide or criminal vehicular operation causing death under 609.2112, 609.2113, or 609.2114 (criminal vehicular homicide or injury); 609.215 (aiding suicide or aiding attempted suicide); felony violations under 609.223 or 609.2231 (assault in the third or fourth degree); 609.229 (crimes committed for benefit of a gang); 609.713 (terroristic threats); 609.235 (use of drugs to injure or to facilitate crime); 609.24 (simple robbery); 609.255 (false imprisonment); 609.562 (arson in the second degree); 609.71 (riot); 609.498, subdivision 1 or 1b (aggravated first-degree or first-degree tampering with a witness); burglary in the first or second degree under 609.582 (burglary); 609.66 (dangerous weapon); 609.665 (spring guns); 609.67 (machine guns and short-barreled shotguns); 609.749, subdivision 2 (gross misdemeanor harassment); 152.021 or 152.022 (controlled substance crime in the first or second degree); 152.023, subdivision 1, clause (3) or (4) or subdivision 2, clause (4) (controlled substance crime in the third degree); 152.024, subdivision 1, clause (2), (3), or (4) (controlled substance crime in the fourth degree); 609.224, subdivision 2, paragraph (c) (fifth-degree assault by a caregiver against a vulnerable adult); 609.23 (mistreatment of persons confined); 609.231 (mistreatment of residents or patients); 609.2325 (criminal abuse of a vulnerable adult); 609.233 (criminal neglect of a vulnerable adult); 609.2335 (financial exploitation of a vulnerable adult); 609.234 (failure to report); 609.265 (abduction); 609.2664 to 609.2665 (manslaughter of an unborn child in the first or second degree); 609.267 to 609.2672 (assault of an unborn child in the first, second, or third degree); 609.268 (injury or death of an unborn child in the commission of a crime); repeat offenses under 617.23 (indecent exposure); 617.293 (disseminating or displaying harmful material to minors); a felony-level conviction involving alcohol or drug use, a gross misdemeanor offense under 609.324, subdivision 1 (other prohibited acts); a gross misdemeanor offense under 609.378 (neglect or endangerment of a child); a gross

19.1

19.2

19.3

19.4

19.5

19.6

19.7

19.8

19.9

19.10

19.11

19.12

19.13

19.14

19.15

19.16

19.17

19.18

19.19

19.20

19.21

19.22

19.23

19.24

19.25

19.26

19.27

19.28

19.29

19.30

19.31

19.32

19.33

19.34

19.35

07/13/20	REVISOR	RSI/AA	A20-0817

misdemeanor offense under 609.377 (malicious punishment of a child); 609.72, subdivision 3 (disorderly conduct against a vulnerable adult); or 624.713 (certain persons not to possess firearms); or Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 609.21.

- (b) The commissioner may not set aside the disqualification of an individual if less than ten years have passed since the individual's aiding and abetting, attempt, or conspiracy to commit any of the offenses listed in paragraph (a) as each of these offenses is defined in Minnesota Statutes.
- (c) The commissioner may not set aside the disqualification of an individual if less than ten years have passed since the discharge of the sentence imposed for an offense in any other state or country, the elements of which are substantially similar to the elements of any of the offenses listed in paragraph (a).

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2021.

- Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 245C.24, subdivision 4, as amended by Laws 20.14 2020, First Special Session chapter 2, article 8, section 55, is amended to read:
- Subd. 4. **Seven-year bar to set aside disqualification.** The commissioner may not set aside the disqualification of an individual in connection with a license to provide family child care for children, foster care for children in the provider's home, or foster care or day care services for adults in the provider's home if within seven years preceding the study:
 - (1) the individual committed an act that constitutes maltreatment of a child under sections 260E.24, subdivisions 1, 2, and 3, and 260E.30, subdivisions 1, 2, and 4, and the maltreatment resulted in substantial bodily harm as defined in section 609.02, subdivision 7a, or substantial mental or emotional harm as supported by competent psychological or psychiatric evidence; or
 - (2) the individual was determined under section 626.557 to be the perpetrator of a substantiated incident of maltreatment of a vulnerable adult that resulted in substantial bodily harm as defined in section 609.02, subdivision 7a, or substantial mental or emotional harm as supported by competent psychological or psychiatric evidence.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2021.

- Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 245C.24, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
- 20.31 Subd. 6. Five-year bar to set aside disqualification; family child foster care. (a) The
 20.32 commissioner shall not set aside the disqualification of an individual 18 years of age or

20.1

20.2

20.3

20.4

20.5

20.6

20.7

20.8

20.9

20.10

20.11

20.12

20.19

20.20

20.21

20.22

20.23

20.24

20.25

20.26

20.27

07/13/20	REVISOR	RSI/AA	A20-0817

older in connection with a license for foster care for children in the provider's home if within 21.1 five years preceding the study the individual is convicted of a felony in section 245C.15, 21.2 subdivision 6, paragraph (c). 21.3 (b) In connection with a license for family child foster care, the commissioner may set 21.4 aside or grant a variance to the disqualification for an individual who is under 18 years of 21.5 age at the time the background study is submitted. 21.6 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2021. 21.7 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2019 Supplement, section 256B.0659, subdivision 11, as 21.8 amended by Laws 2020, chapter 115, article 4, section 128, is amended to read: 21.9 Subd. 11. Personal care assistant; requirements. (a) A personal care assistant must 21.10 meet the following requirements: 21.11 (1) be at least 18 years of age with the exception of persons who are 16 or 17 years of 21.12 21.13 age with these additional requirements: (i) supervision by a qualified professional every 60 days; and 21.14 21.15 (ii) employment by only one personal care assistance provider agency responsible for compliance with current labor laws; 21.16 21.17 (2) be employed by a personal care assistance provider agency; (3) enroll with the department as a personal care assistant after clearing a background 21.18 study. Except as provided in subdivision 11a, before a personal care assistant provides 21.19 services, the personal care assistance provider agency must initiate a background study on 21.20 the personal care assistant under chapter 245C, and the personal care assistance provider 21.21 21.22 agency must have received a notice from the commissioner that the personal care assistant is: 21.23 (i) not disqualified under section 245C.14; or 21.24 (ii) disqualified, but the personal care assistant has received a set aside of the 21.25 disqualification under section 245C.22; 21.26 (4) be able to effectively communicate with the recipient and personal care assistance 21.27 21.28 provider agency; (5) be able to provide covered personal care assistance services according to the recipient's 21.29

21.30

personal care assistance care plan, respond appropriately to recipient needs, and report

07/13/20 REVISOR RSI/AA A20-0817

changes in the recipient's condition to the supervising qualified professional, physician, or advanced practice registered nurse;

(6) not be a consumer of personal care assistance services;

22.1

22.2

22.3

22.4

22.5

22.6

22.7

22.8

22.9

22.10

22.11

22.12

22.13

22.14

22.15

22.16

22.21

22.22

22.23

22.24

22.25

- (7) maintain daily written records including, but not limited to, time sheets under subdivision 12;
- (8) effective January 1, 2010, complete standardized training as determined by the commissioner before completing enrollment. The training must be available in languages other than English and to those who need accommodations due to disabilities. Personal care assistant training must include successful completion of the following training components: basic first aid, vulnerable adult, child maltreatment, OSHA universal precautions, basic roles and responsibilities of personal care assistants including information about assistance with lifting and transfers for recipients, emergency preparedness, orientation to positive behavioral practices, fraud issues, and completion of time sheets. Upon completion of the training components, the personal care assistant must demonstrate the competency to provide assistance to recipients;
- (9) complete training and orientation on the needs of the recipient; and
- (10) be limited to providing and being paid for up to 275 310 hours per month of personal care assistance services regardless of the number of recipients being served or the number of personal care assistance provider agencies enrolled with. The number of hours worked per day shall not be disallowed by the department unless in violation of the law.
 - (b) A legal guardian may be a personal care assistant if the guardian is not being paid for the guardian services and meets the criteria for personal care assistants in paragraph (a).
 - (c) Persons who do not qualify as a personal care assistant include parents, stepparents, and legal guardians of minors; spouses; paid legal guardians of adults; family foster care providers, except as otherwise allowed in section 256B.0625, subdivision 19a; and staff of a residential setting.
- 22.27 (d) Personal care assistance services qualify for the enhanced rate described in subdivision 22.28 17a if the personal care assistant providing the services:
- 22.29 (1) provides covered services to a recipient who qualifies for 12 or more hours per day 22.30 of personal care assistance services; and
- 22.31 (2) satisfies the current requirements of Medicare for training and competency or 22.32 competency evaluation of home health aides or nursing assistants, as provided in the Code

of Federal Regulations, title 42, section 483.151 or 484.36, or alternative state-approved training or competency requirements.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

- Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2019 Supplement, section 256B.85, subdivision 16, is amended to read:
- Subd. 16. **Support workers requirements.** (a) Support workers shall:
- 23.7 (1) enroll with the department as a support worker after a background study under chapter
 23.8 245C has been completed and the support worker has received a notice from the
 23.9 commissioner that the support worker:
- 23.10 (i) is not disqualified under section 245C.14; or

23.3

23.4

23.5

23.15

23.16

23.17

23.18

23.19

23.20

23.21

23.22

23.23

23.24

23.25

23.26

- 23.11 (ii) is disqualified, but has received a set-aside of the disqualification under section 23.12 245C.22;
- 23.13 (2) have the ability to effectively communicate with the participant or the participant's representative;
 - (3) have the skills and ability to provide the services and supports according to the participant's CFSS service delivery plan and respond appropriately to the participant's needs;
 - (4) complete the basic standardized CFSS training as determined by the commissioner before completing enrollment. The training must be available in languages other than English and to those who need accommodations due to disabilities. CFSS support worker training must include successful completion of the following training components: basic first aid, vulnerable adult, child maltreatment, OSHA universal precautions, basic roles and responsibilities of support workers including information about basic body mechanics, emergency preparedness, orientation to positive behavioral practices, orientation to responding to a mental health crisis, fraud issues, time cards and documentation, and an overview of person-centered planning and self-direction. Upon completion of the training components, the support worker must pass the certification test to provide assistance to participants;
- 23.28 (5) complete employer-directed training and orientation on the participant's individual needs;
- 23.30 (6) maintain the privacy and confidentiality of the participant; and
- 23.31 (7) not independently determine the medication dose or time for medications for the participant.

	07/13/20	REVISOR	RSI/AA	A20-0817
24.1	(b) The commissioner may deny or to	erminate a suppor	t worker's provide	er enrollment
24.2	and provider number if the support work	er:		
24.3	(1) does not meet the requirements in	n paragraph (a);		
24.4	(2) fails to provide the authorized ser	vices required by	the employer;	
24.5	(3) has been intoxicated by alcohol o	r drugs while prov	viding authorized	services to the
24.6	participant or while in the participant's h	ome;		
24.7	(4) has manufactured or distributed d	rugs while provid	ling authorized se	rvices to the
24.8	participant or while in the participant's h	ome; or		
24.9	(5) has been excluded as a provider b	by the commission	ner of human serv	ices, or by the
24.10	United States Department of Health and I	Human Services, C	Office of Inspector	General, from
24.11	participation in Medicaid, Medicare, or a	any other federal l	nealth care progra	m.
24.12	(c) A support worker may appeal in v	vriting to the com	missioner to conte	est the decision
24.13	to terminate the support worker's provide	er enrollment and	provider number.	
24.14	(d) A support worker must not provid	le or be paid for m	ore than 275 310	hours of CFSS
24.15	per month, regardless of the number of pa	articipants the supp	port worker serves	s or the number
24.16	of agency-providers or participant emplo	oyers by which the	e support worker i	is employed.
24.17	The department shall not disallow the nu	umber of hours per	r day a support w	orker works
24.18	unless it violates other law.			
24.19	(e) CFSS qualify for an enhanced rat	e if the support wo	orker providing th	ne services:
24.20	(1) provides services, within the scope	of CFSS described	d in subdivision 7,	to a participant
24.21	who qualifies for 12 or more hours per d	ay of CFSS; and		

- 2 ıt 2
- (2) satisfies the current requirements of Medicare for training and competency or 24.22 competency evaluation of home health aides or nursing assistants, as provided in the Code 24.23 of Federal Regulations, title 42, section 483.151 or 484.36, or alternative state-approved 24.24 24.25 training or competency requirements.
- **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment. 24.26

07/13/20	REVISOR	RSI/AA	A20-0817

Sec. 18. Laws 2014, chapter 211, section 13, as amended by Laws 2015, First Special 25.1 Session chapter 1, article 7, section 1, Laws 2016, chapter 189, article 7, section 42, and 25.2 Laws 2017, chapter 94, article 12, section 1, is amended to read: 25.3 Sec. 13. EFFECTIVE DATE. 25.4 Sections 1 to 3 and 6 to 11 are effective July January 1, 2020 2022. Sections 4, 5, and 25.5 12 are effective July 1, 2014. 25.6 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment. Until 25.7 January 1, 2022, any employee, employer, employee or employer organization, exclusive 25.8 representative, or any other person or organization aggrieved by an unfair labor practice as 25.9 defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 179A.13, may bring an action for injunctive relief 25.10 and for damages caused by the unfair labor practice in the district court of the county in 25.11 which the practice is alleged to have occurred. 25.12 Sec. 19. GRANT AND APPROPRIATION EXTENSIONS RELATED TO COVID-19; 25.13 REPORT REQUIRED. 25.14 Subdivision 1. General encumbrances for grants. Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, 25.15 sections 16A.28, subdivision 6, and 16B.98, subdivision 7, and in order to provide relief 25.16 from the effects of the peacetime emergency related to the infectious disease known as 25.17 COVID-19, upon approval by the commissioner of management and budget, encumbrances 25.18 for grants issued by June 30, 2020, may be certified for a period of two fiscal years beyond 25.19 the fiscal year in which the appropriations were scheduled to cancel. 25.20 Subd. 2. Report. The commissioner of management and budget must submit a report 25.21 on the implementation of this section to the chairs and ranking minority members of the 25.22 legislative committees with jurisdiction over finance, ways and means, and state government 25.23 finance by December 31, 2020. The report must provide a list of the encumbrances that 25.24 were requested for approval under subdivision 1, itemizing separately those that were 25.25 approved and those that were not approved. 25.26 **EFFECTIVE DATE**; APPLICABILITY. This section is effective the day following 25.27 final enactment and applies to grants encumbered on or before June 30, 2020. 25.28 25.29 Sec. 20. TEMPORARY PERSONAL CARE ASSISTANCE COMPENSATION FOR SERVICES PROVIDED BY A PARENT OR SPOUSE. 25.30 (a) Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.0659, subdivisions 3, paragraph 25.31 (a), clause (1); 11, paragraph (c); and 19, paragraph (b), clause (3), during a peacetime 25.32

07/13/20	DEVICOD	RSI/AA	A20-0817
11 / / 1 3 / / 11	REVISOR	RSI/AA	Δ /Π_ΠΧΙ /
07/13/20		KSI/AA	A4U-UU1/

26.1	emergency declared by the governor under Minnesota Statutes, section 12.31, subdivision
26.2	2, for an outbreak of COVID-19, a parent, stepparent, or legal guardian of a minor who is
26.3	a personal care assistance recipient or a spouse of a personal care assistance recipient may
26.4	provide and be paid for providing personal care assistance services.
26.5	(b) This section expires January 31, 2021, or 60 days after the peacetime emergency
26.6	declared by the governor under Minnesota Statutes, section 12.31, subdivision 2, for an
26.7	outbreak of COVID-19, is terminated or rescinded by proper authority, whichever is earlier.
26.8	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment or
26.9	upon federal approval, whichever is later. The commissioner of human services shall notify
26.10	the revisor of statutes when federal approval is obtained.
26.11	Sec. 21. PERSONAL CARE ASSISTANCE TEMPORARY RATE INCREASE.
26.12	Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For the purposes of this section, the following terms have
26.13	the meanings given.
26.14	(b) "Commissioner" means the commissioner of human services.
26.15	(c) "Covered program" has the meaning given in Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.0711,
26.16	subdivision 1, paragraph (b).
26.17	(d) "Direct support professional" means an individual employed to personally provide
26.18	personal care assistance services covered by medical assistance under Minnesota Statutes,
26.19	section 256B.0625, subdivisions 19a and 19c; or to personally provide medical assistance
26.20	services covered under Minnesota Statutes, sections 256B.0913, 256B.092, or 256B.49, or
26.21	chapter 256S. Direct support professional does not include managerial or administrative
26.22	staff who do not personally provide the services described in this paragraph.
26.23	(e) "Direct support services" has the meaning given in Minnesota Statutes, section
26.24	256B.0711, subdivision 1, paragraph (c).
26.25	Subd. 2. Temporary rates for direct support services. (a) To respond to the infectious
26.26	disease known as COVID-19, the commissioner must temporarily increase rates and enhanced
26.27	rates by 13.75 percent for direct support services provided under a covered program or
26.28	under Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.0659, while this section is effective.
26.29	(b) Providers that receive a rate increase under this section must:
26.30	(1) use at least 80 percent of the additional revenue to increase wages, salaries, and
26.31	benefits for personal care assistants and any corresponding increase in the employer's share

07/13/20	REVISOR	RSI/AA	A20-0817

of FICA taxes, Medicare taxes, state and federal unemployment taxes, and workers' 27.1 compensation premiums; and 27.2 (2) use any remainder of the additional revenue for activities and items necessary to 27.3 support compliance with Centers for Disease Control and Prevention guidance on sanitation 27.4 27.5 and personal protective equipment. Subd. 3. Capitation rates and directed payments. (a) To implement the temporary 27.6 rate increase under this section, managed care plans and county-based purchasing plans 27.7 shall increase rates and enhanced rates by 13.75 percent for the direct support services. 27.8 (b) In combination with contract amendments instructing plans to increase reimbursement 27.9 rates for direct support services, the commissioner shall adjust capitation rates paid to 27.10 managed care plans and county-based purchasing plans as needed to maintain managed 27.11 27.12 care plans' expected medical loss ratios. (c) Contracts between managed care plans and providers and between county-based 27.13 purchasing plans and providers must allow recovery of payments from providers if federal 27.14 approval for the provisions of this subdivision is not received and the commissioner reduces 27.15 capitation payments as a result. Payment recoveries must not exceed the amount equal to 27.16 any decrease in rates that results from this paragraph. 27.17 27.18 Subd. 4. Consumer-directed community supports budgets. Lead agencies shall temporarily increase the budget for each recipient of consumer-directed community supports 27.19 to reflect a 13.75 percent rate increase for direct support services. 27.20 Subd. 5. Consumer support grants; increased maximum allowable grant. The 27.21 commissioner shall temporarily increase the maximum allowable monthly grant level for 27.22 each recipient of consumer support grants to reflect a 13.75 percent rate increase for direct 27.23 support services. 27.24 27.25 Subd. 6. **Distribution plans.** (a) A provider agency or individual provider that receives a rate increase under subdivision 2 shall prepare and, upon request, submit to the 27.26 commissioner a distribution plan that specifies the anticipated amount and proposed uses 27.27 of the additional revenue the provider will receive under subdivision 2. 27.28 (b) By October 15, 2020, the provider must post the distribution plan for a period of at 27.29 least six weeks in an area of the provider's operation to which all direct support professionals 27.30 have access. The provider must post with the distribution plan instructions on how to contact 27.31 the commissioner if direct support professionals do not believe they have received the wage 27.32 increase or benefits specified in the distribution plan. The instructions must include a mailing 27.33

07/13/20	REVISOR	RSI/AA	A20-0817
11//13/711	RHVISOR	R S I / A A	Δ /Π_ΠΧΙ /
0//13/40	IND VIDOR	KSI/AA	740-001/

address, e-mail address, and telephone number that the direct support professional may use to contact the commissioner or the commissioner's representative.

Subd. 7. Expiration. This section expires January 31, 2021, or 60 days after the peacetime emergency declared by the governor in an executive order that relates to the infectious disease known as COVID-19 is terminated or rescinded by proper authority, whichever is earlier.

<u>EFFECTIVE DATE.</u> This section is effective the day following final enactment or upon federal approval, whichever is later. The commissioner shall notify the revisor of statutes when federal approval is obtained.

28.10 **ARTICLE 3**

28.1

28.2

28.3

28.4

28.5

28.6

28.7

28.8

28.9

28.12

28.13

28.14

28.15

28.16

28.17

28.18

28.19

28.20

28.21

28.22

28.23

28.24

28.25

28.26

28.29

28.30

28.31

28.32

28.11 STATE LANDS

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 84.63, is amended to read:

84.63 CONVEYANCE OF INTERESTS IN LANDS TO STATE AND, FEDERAL, AND TRIBAL GOVERNMENTS.

- (a) Notwithstanding any existing law to the contrary, the commissioner of natural resources is hereby authorized on behalf of the state to convey to the United States, to a federally recognized Indian tribe, or to the state of Minnesota or any of its subdivisions, upon state-owned lands under the administration of the commissioner of natural resources, permanent or temporary easements for specified periods or otherwise for trails, highways, roads including limitation of right of access from the lands to adjacent highways and roads, flowage for development of fish and game resources, stream protection, flood control, and necessary appurtenances thereto, such conveyances to be made upon such terms and conditions including provision for reversion in the event of non-user as the commissioner of natural resources may determine.
- (b) In addition to the fee for the market value of the easement, the commissioner of natural resources shall assess the applicant the following fees:
- 28.27 (1) an application fee of \$2,000 to cover reasonable costs for reviewing the application and preparing the easement; and
 - (2) a monitoring fee to cover the projected reasonable costs for monitoring the construction of the improvement for which the easement was conveyed and preparing special terms and conditions for the easement. The commissioner must give the applicant an estimate of the monitoring fee before the applicant submits the fee.

- (c) The applicant shall pay these fees to the commissioner of natural resources. The commissioner shall not issue the easement until the applicant has paid in full the application fee, the monitoring fee, and the market value payment for the easement.
- (d) Upon completion of construction of the improvement for which the easement was conveyed, the commissioner shall refund the unobligated balance from the monitoring fee revenue. The commissioner shall not return the application fee, even if the application is withdrawn or denied.
- (e) Money received under paragraph (b) must be deposited in the land management account in the natural resources fund and is appropriated to the commissioner of natural resources to cover the reasonable costs incurred for issuing and monitoring easements.
- (f) A county or joint county regional railroad authority is exempt from all fees specified under this section for trail easements on state-owned land.
- Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 92.502, is amended to read:

92.502 LEASE OF TAX-FORFEITED AND STATE LANDS.

- (a) Notwithstanding section 282.04 or other law to the contrary, St. Louis County may enter a 30-year lease of tax-forfeited land for a wind energy project.
- 29.17 (b) The commissioner of natural resources may enter a 30-year lease of land administered by the commissioner for a wind energy project.
 - (c) The commissioner of natural resources may enter a 30-year lease of land administered by the commissioner for recreational trails and facilities. The commissioner may assess the lease applicant a monitoring fee to cover the projected reasonable costs of monitoring construction of the recreational trail or facility and preparing special terms and conditions of the license to ensure proper construction. The commissioner must give the applicant an estimate of the monitoring fee before the applicant is required to submit the fee. Upon completion of construction of the trail or facility, the commissioner must refund the unobligated balance from the monitoring fee revenue.
- 29.27 (d) Notwithstanding section 282.04 or other law to the contrary, Lake and St. Louis Counties may enter into 30-year leases of tax-forfeited land for recreational trails and facilities.

29.1

29.2

29.3

29.4

29.5

29.6

29.7

29.8

29.9

29.10

29.11

29.12

29.14

29.15

29.16

29.19

29.20

29.21

29.22

29.23

29.24

29.25

Sec. 3. ADDITION TO STATE PARK. 30.1 [85.012] [Subd. 18.] Fort Snelling State Park, Dakota County. The following areas 30.2 are added to Fort Snelling State Park, Dakota County: 30.3 (1) that part of Section 28, Township 28 North, Range 23 West, Dakota County, 30.4 30.5 Minnesota, bounded by the Dakota County line along the Minnesota River and the following described lines: 30.6 30.7 Beginning at the intersection of the south line of Lot 18 of Auditor's Subdivision Number 29 of Mendota, according to the plat on file in the Office of the Dakota County Recorder, 30.8 with the westerly right-of-way line of the existing Sibley Memorial Highway; thence 30.9 northerly along said westerly right-of-way line to the north line of said Lot 18; thence 30.10 westerly along the north line of said Lot 18 to the easterly right-of-way line of the 30.11 30.12 Chicago and Northwestern Railroad; thence northerly and northeasterly along said easterly right-of-way to the east line of said Section 28; 30.13 (2) that part of Section 33, Township 28 North, Range 23 West, Dakota County, 30.14 Minnesota, lying westerly of the easterly right-of-way of the Chicago and Northwestern 30.15 Railroad; 30.16 (3) that part of Government Lot 6 of Section 33, Township 28 North, Range 23 West, 30.17 Dakota County, Minnesota, lying East of the easterly right-of-way of the Chicago and 30.18 Northwestern Railroad and West of the westerly right-of-way of Sibley Memorial Highway 30.19 and North of the South 752 feet of said Government Lot 6; 30.20 (4) the North 152 feet of the South 752 feet of that part of Government Lot 6 of Section 30.21 33, Township 28 North, Range 23 West, Dakota County, Minnesota, lying East of the 30.22 easterly right-of-way of the Chicago and Northwestern Railroad and West of the westerly 30.23 right-of-way of Sibley Memorial Highway; 30.24

30.29 (6) that part of the South 20 rods of Government Lot 6 of Section 33, Township 28

North, Range 23 West, Dakota County, Minnesota, lying East of the easterly right-of-way

of the Chicago and Northwestern Railroad and West of the westerly right-of-way of Sibley

Memorial Highway, excepting therefrom that part described as follows:

(5) the North 270 feet of the South 600 feet of that part of Government Lot 6 lying

between the westerly right-of-way of Sibley Memorial Highway and the easterly right-of-way

of the Chicago and Northwestern Railroad in Section 33, Township 28 North, Range 23

West, Dakota County, Minnesota;

30.25

30.26

30.27

07/13/20 REVISOR RSI/AA A20-0817

Commencing at the southeast corner of said Government Lot 6; thence North 89 degrees 31.1 56 minutes 54 seconds West assumed bearing along the south line of said Government 31.2 31.3 Lot 6 a distance of 260.31 feet to the point of beginning of the property to be described; thence continue North 89 degrees 56 minutes 54 seconds West a distance of 71.17 feet; 31.4 thence northwesterly a distance of 37.25 feet along a nontangential curve concave to 31.5 the East having a radius of 4,098.00 feet and a central angle of 00 degrees 31 minutes 31.6 15 seconds the chord of said curve bears North 23 degrees 31 minutes 27 seconds West; 31.7 31.8 thence northerly a distance of 127.39 feet along a compound curve concave to the East having a radius of 2,005.98 feet and a central angle of 03 degrees 38 minutes 19 seconds; 31.9 thence North 70 degrees 22 minutes 29 seconds East not tangent to said curve a distance 31.10 of 65.00 feet; thence southerly a distance of 123.26 feet along a nontangential curve 31.11 concave to the East having a radius of 1,940.98 feet and a central angle of 03 degrees 31.12 31.13 38 minutes 19 seconds the chord of said curve bears South 21 degrees 26 minutes 40 seconds East; thence southerly a distance of 65.42 feet to the point of beginning along 31.14 a compound curve concave to the East having a radius of 4,033.00 feet and a central 31.15 angle of 00 degrees 55 minutes 46 seconds; 31.16 (7) that part of Government Lot 5 of Section 33, Township 28 North, Range 23 West, 31.17 Dakota County, Minnesota, lying East of the easterly right-of-way of the Chicago and 31.18 Northwestern Railroad and West of the westerly right-of-way of Sibley Memorial Highway, 31.19 excepting therefrom that part described as follows: 31.20 Commencing at the southeast corner of said Government Lot 5; thence North 89 degrees 31.21 56 minutes 18 seconds West assumed bearing along the south line of said Government 31.22 Lot 5 a distance of 70.48 feet to the point of beginning of the property to be described; 31.23 thence continue North 89 degrees 56 minutes 18 seconds West along said south line of 31.24 Government Lot 5 a distance of 40.01 feet; thence North 01 degree 30 minutes 25 seconds 31.25 East a distance of 6.08 feet; thence northerly a distance of 185.58 feet along a tangential 31.26 curve concave to the West having a radius of 4,427.00 feet and a central angle of 02 31.27 degrees 24 minutes 07 seconds; thence South 89 degrees 06 minutes 18 seconds West 31.28 31.29 not tangent to said curve a distance of 25.00 feet; thence North 00 degrees 53 minutes 42 seconds West a distance of 539.13 feet; thence northerly a distance of 103.77 feet 31.30 along a tangential curve concave to the West having a radius of 1,524.65 feet and a 31.31 central angle of 03 degrees 53 minutes 59 seconds; thence northerly a distance of 159.33 31.32 feet along a compound curve concave to the West having a radius of 522.45 feet and a 31.33 central angle of 17 degrees 28 minutes 23 seconds; thence northwesterly a distance of 31.34 86.78 feet along a tangential curve concave to the West having a radius of 1,240.87 feet 31.35

07/13/20 REVISOR RSI/AA A20-0817

and a central angle of 04 degrees 00 minutes 25 seconds; thence North 26 degrees 16 minutes 30 seconds West tangent to said curve a distance of 92.39 feet; thence northwesterly a distance of 178.12 feet along a tangential curve concave to the East having a radius of 4,098.00 feet and a central angle of 02 degrees 29 minutes 25 seconds to a point on the north line of said Government Lot 5 which is 331.48 feet from the northeast corner thereof as measured along said north line; thence South 89 degrees 56 minutes 54 seconds East along said north line of Government Lot 5 a distance of 71.17 feet; thence southeasterly a distance of 146.53 feet along a nontangential curve concave to the East having a radius of 4,033.00 feet and a central angle of 02 degrees 04 minutes 54 seconds the chord of said curve bears South 25 degrees 14 minutes 03 seconds East; thence South 26 degrees 16 minutes 30 seconds East tangent to said curve a distance of 92.39 feet; thence southerly a distance of 91.33 feet along a tangential curve concave to the West having a radius of 1,305.87 feet and a central angle of 04 degrees 00 minutes 25 seconds; thence southerly a distance of 179.15 feet along a tangential curve concave to the West having a radius of 587.45 feet and a central angle of 17 degrees 28 minutes 23 seconds; thence southerly a distance of 108.20 feet along a compound curve concave to the West having a radius of 1,589.65 feet and a central angle of 03 degrees 53 minutes 59 seconds; thence South 00 degrees 53 minutes 42 seconds East tangent to said curve a distance of 539.13 feet; thence southerly a distance of 187.26 feet along a tangential curve concave to the West having a radius of 4,467.00 feet and a central angle of 02 degrees 24 minutes 07 seconds; thence South 01 degree 30 minutes 25 seconds West tangent to said curve a distance of 5.07 feet to the point of beginning; and (8) that part of Government Lot 4 of Section 33, Township 28 North, Range 23 West, Dakota County, Minnesota, lying East of the easterly right-of-way of the Chicago and Northwestern Railroad and northerly of the following described line: Commencing at the southeast corner of said Government Lot 4; thence North 89 degrees 55 minutes 42 seconds West assumed bearing along the south line of said Government Lot 4 a distance of 312.44 feet to corner B205, MNDOT Right-of-Way Plat No. 19-93, according to the recorded map thereof; thence continue North 89 degrees 55 minutes 42 seconds West along said south line of Government Lot 4 a distance of 318.00 feet to the easterly right-of-way of Chicago and Northwestern Railroad; thence northerly along said railroad right-of-way a distance of 387.97 feet along a nontangential curve concave to the West having a radius of 2,963.54 feet and a central angle of 07 degrees 30 minutes 03 seconds, the chord of said curve bears North 00 degrees 42 minutes 41 seconds East; thence North 03 degrees 02 minutes 21 seconds West tangent to said curve along said

32.1

32.2

32.3

32.4

32.5

32.6

32.7

32.8

32.9

32.10

32.11

32.12

32.13

32.14

32.15

32.16

32.17

32.18

32.19

32.20

32.21

32.22

32.23

32.24

32.25

32.26

32.27

32.28

32.29

32.30

32.31

32.32

32.33

32.34

07/13/20	DEVICOD	RSI/AA	A20-0817
11 // 1 3 / / 11	REVISOR	R S I / A A	Δ /Π_ΠΧΙ /
07/13/20		KSI/AA	A4U-UU1/

railroad right-of-way a distance of 619.45 feet to the point of beginning of the line to
be described; thence North 89 degrees 35 minutes 27 seconds East a distance of 417.92
feet; thence North 18 degrees 18 minutes 58 seconds East a distance of 317.52 feet to a
point on the north line of said Government Lot 4 which is 135.00 feet from the northeast
corner thereof as measured along said north line and there terminating.

Sec. 4. ADDITION TO STATE RECREATION AREA.

33.6

33.7 [85.013] [Subd. 12a.] Iron Range Off-Highway Vehicle Recreation Area, St. Louis County. The following area is added to Iron Range Off-Highway Vehicle Recreation Area, 33.8 33.9 St. Louis County: that part of the South Half of the Northwest Quarter of Section 15, Township 58 North, Range 17 West, St. Louis County, Minnesota, lying northerly of the 33.10 following described line: 33.11 Commencing at the West quarter corner of said Section 15; thence North 01 degree 24 33.12 minutes 27 seconds West, bearing assumed, along the west line of said South Half of 33.13 33.14 the Northwest Quarter a distance of 1,034.09 feet to a 3/4-inch rebar with plastic cap stamped "MN DNR LS 44974" (DM) and the point of beginning; thence South 62 degrees 33.15 33.16 44 minutes 07 seconds East 405.24 feet to a DM; thence South 82 degrees 05 minutes 33.17 24 seconds East 314.95 feet to a DM; thence South 86 degrees 18 minutes 01 second East 269.23 feet to a DM; thence North 81 degrees 41 minutes 24 seconds East 243.61 33.18 33.19 feet to a DM; thence North 71 degrees 48 minutes 05 seconds East 478.17 feet to a DM; thence North 60 degrees 53 minutes 38 seconds East 257.32 feet to a DM; thence South 33.20 33.21 09 degrees 16 minutes 07 seconds East 179.09 feet to a DM; thence South 49 degrees 16 minutes 00 seconds East 127.27 feet to a DM; thence South 50 degrees 16 minutes 33.22 11 seconds East 187.13 feet to a DM; thence South 67 degrees 11 minutes 35 seconds 33.23 East 189.33 feet to a DM; thence South 67 degrees 13 minutes 16 seconds East 209.43 33.24 feet to a DM; thence South 80 degrees 39 minutes 19 seconds East 167.59 feet to a DM 33.25 33.26 on the east line of said South Half of the Northwest Quarter, and there terminating.

Sec. 5. **DELETIONS FROM STATE PARKS.**

Subdivision 1. [85.012] [Subd. 18.] Fort Snelling State Park, Dakota County. The following areas are deleted from Fort Snelling State Park, Dakota County:

33.30 (1) all of Section 33, Township 28 North, Range 23 West of the 4th Principal Meridian
33.31 lying westerly of the westerly right-of-way line of the existing Minnesota Trunk Highway
33.32 No. 13, excepting the right-of-way owned by the Chicago and Northwestern railway
33.33 company; and

34.1	(2) all of Section 28, Township 28 North, Range 23 West of the 4th Principal Meridian
34.2	bounded by the Dakota County line along the Minnesota River and the following described
34.3	lines: Beginning at the south line of said Section 28 at its intersection with the westerly
34.4	right-of-way line of the existing Minnesota Trunk Highway No. 13; thence northerly along
34.5	the said westerly right-of-way line of existing Minnesota Trunk Highway No. 13 to the
34.6	southerly right-of-way line of existing Minnesota Trunk Highway Nos. 55 and 100; thence
34.7	along the existing southerly right-of-way line of Minnesota Trunk Highway Nos. 55 and
34.8	100 to the westerly right-of-way line owned by the Chicago and Northwestern railway
34.9	company; thence northeasterly along the said westerly right-of-way line of the Chicago and
34.10	Northwestern railway to the east line of said Section 28, excepting therefrom the right-of-way
34.11	owned by the Chicago and Northwestern railway company.
34.12	Subd. 2. [85.012] [Subd. 60.] William O'Brien State Park, Washington County. The
34.13	following areas are deleted from William O'Brien State Park, Washington County:
34.14	(1) those parts of Section 25, Township 32 North, Range 20 West, Washington County,
34.15	Minnesota, described as follows:
34.16	The West two rods of the Southwest Quarter of the Northeast Quarter, the West two
34.17	rods of the North two rods of the Northwest Quarter of the Southeast Quarter, and the
34.18	East two rods of the Southeast Quarter of the Northwest Quarter; and
34.19	(2) the East two rods over and across the Northeast Quarter of the Northwest Quarter,
34.20	excepting therefrom the North 200 feet of said Northeast Quarter of the Northwest Quarter.
34.21	Also, the West 2 rods of the Northwest Quarter of the Northeast Quarter, excepting therefrom
34.22	the North 266 feet of said Northwest Quarter of the Northeast Quarter. Also, the South 66
34.23	feet of the North 266 feet of that part of said Northwest Quarter of the Northeast Quarter
34.24	lying southwesterly of the existing public road known as 199th Street North.
34.25	Sec. 6. PRIVATE SALE OF SURPLUS STATE LAND; CASS COUNTY.
51.25	
34.26	(a) Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, sections 94.09 to 94.16, the commissioner of
34.27	natural resources may sell by private sale the surplus land that is described in paragraph (c).
34.28	(b) The commissioner may make necessary changes to the legal description to correct
34.29	errors and ensure accuracy.
34.30	(c) The land to be conveyed is located in Cass County and is described as: the westerly
34.31	20.00 feet of the West Half of the Northeast Quarter, Section 16, Township 139 North,
34.32	Range 30 West, Cass County, Minnesota. The Grantor, its employees and agents only,

07/13/20	DELUCOD	RSI/AA	A20-0817
(1) // 1 3 / /(1)	REVISOR	R S I / A A	Δ /Π_ΠΧΙ /
07/13/20		KSI/AA	A4U-UU1/

reserves a perpetual easement for ingress and egress over and across the above described 35.1 35.2 land. (d) The Department of Natural Resources has determined that the land is not needed for 35.3 natural resource purposes and that the state's land management interests would best be 35.4 35.5 served if the land was returned to private ownership. Sec. 7. PRIVATE SALE OF SURPLUS STATE LAND; LAKE OF THE WOODS 35.6 COUNTY. 35.7 (a) Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, sections 94.09 to 94.16, the commissioner of 35.8 natural resources may sell by private sale the surplus land that is described in paragraph (c). 35.9 (b) The commissioner may make necessary changes to the legal description to correct 35.10 35.11 errors and ensure accuracy. (c) The land to be conveyed is located in Lake of the Woods County and is described 35.12 35.13 as: a strip of land lying in Government Lot 3, Section 5, Township 163 North, Range 34 West of the Fifth Principal Meridian, Lake of the Woods County, Minnesota; said strip of 35.14 land being 33.00 feet in width lying 16.50 feet on each side of the following described 35.15 centerline: 35.16 35.17 Commencing at the southeast corner of said Government Lot 3; thence North 00 degrees 35.18 09 minutes 28 seconds West, assumed bearing, along the east line of said Government Lot 3, a distance of 690 feet, more or less, to the south line of that particular tract of land 35.19 deeded to the State of Minnesota according to Document No. 75286, on file and of record 35.20 in the Office of the Recorder, Lake of the Woods County, Minnesota; thence South 89 35.21 degrees 50 minutes 32 seconds West, along said south line of that particular tract of 35.22 land, a distance of 200.00 feet; thence South 00 degrees 09 minutes 28 seconds East, 35.23 parallel with the east line of said Government Lot 3, a distance of 40.00 feet; thence 35.24 South 89 degrees 50 minutes 32 seconds West, a distance of 16.50 feet to the point of 35.25 beginning of the centerline to be herein described; thence South 00 degrees 09 minutes 35.26 28 seconds East, parallel with the east line of said Government Lot 3, a distance of 650.5 35.27 feet, more or less, to the south line of said Government Lot 3 and said centerline there 35.28 terminating. 35.29 (d) The Department of Natural Resources has determined that the land is not needed for 35.30 natural resource purposes and that the state's land management interests would best be 35.31 35.32 served if the land was returned to private ownership.

Sec	e. 8. PRIVATE SALE OF SURPLUS STATE LAND; ST. LOUIS COUNTY.
<u>(</u> a	a) Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, sections 94.09 to 94.16, the commissioner of
natuı	ral resources may convey the surplus land that is described in paragraph (c) to a local
unit (of government for no consideration.
<u>(1</u>	b) The commissioner may make necessary changes to the legal description to correct
error	s and ensure accuracy.
<u>(</u> (c) The land to be conveyed is located in St. Louis County and is described as: that part
of the	e Southwest Quarter of the Northwest Quarter of Section 27, Township 52 North, Range
17 W	Vest, St. Louis County, Minnesota, described as follows:
<u>C</u>	Commencing at the quarter corner between Sections 27 and 28 of said Township 52
<u>N</u>	North, Range 17 West; thence running East 624 feet; thence North 629 feet to the point
<u>o</u>	f beginning; thence North 418 feet; thence East 208 feet; thence South 418 feet; thence
<u>v</u>	Vest 208 feet to the point of beginning.
<u>(</u> (d) The Department of Natural Resources has determined that the land is not needed for
<u>1atui</u>	ral resource purposes and that the state's land management interests would best be
serve	ed if the land were conveyed to a local unit of government.
<u>(</u> 8	a) Notwithstanding the public sale provisions of Minnesota Statutes, chapter 282, or
other	law to the contrary, St. Louis County may sell by private sale the tax-forfeited lands
desci	ribed in paragraph (c).
<u>(</u> 1	b) The conveyances must be in a form approved by the attorney general. The attorney
gene	ral may make changes to the land descriptions to correct errors and ensure accuracy.
<u>(</u> (e) The lands to be sold are located in St. Louis County and are described as:
<u>(</u>	1) Lot 5, Block 9, including part of vacated Seafield Street adjacent, Bristol Beach 1st
<u>Divi</u> s	sion, Duluth (parcel 010-0300-01030); and
<u>(2</u>	2) that part of the Southeast Quarter of the Northwest Quarter, Township 58, Range
15, S	Section 5, lying northerly of the northerly right-of-way line of the town of White road
runn	ing in an east-west direction connecting County Road No. 138 with State Highway No
135 a	and lying westerly of the following described line: commencing at the northeast corner
of G	overnment Lot 3; thence South 89 degrees 46 minutes 22 seconds West along the north
line (of Government Lot 3 558.28 feet; thence South 27 degrees 50 minutes 01 second Wes
<u>1</u> 02.′	75 feet; thence South 41 degrees 51 minutes 46 seconds West 452.29 feet; thence South

37.1	28 degrees 19 minutes 22 seconds West 422.74 feet; thence South 30 degrees 55 minutes
37.2	42 seconds West 133.79 feet; thence southwesterly 210.75 feet along a tangential curve
37.3	concave to the southeast having a radius of 300 feet and a central angle of 40 degrees 15
37.4	minutes 00 seconds; thence South 09 degrees 19 minutes 19 seconds East tangent to said
37.5	curve 100.30 feet, more or less, to the north line of said Southeast Quarter of the Northwest
37.6	Quarter; thence North 89 degrees 09 minutes 31 seconds East along said north line 40.44
37.7	feet to the point of beginning of the line; thence South 09 degrees 19 minutes 19 seconds
37.8	East 148 feet, more or less, to said right-of-way line and said line there terminating. Surface
37.9	only (parcel 570-0021-00112).
37.10	(d) The county has determined that the county's land management interests would best
37.11	be served if the lands were returned to private ownership.
37.12	Sec. 10. PUBLIC SALE OF SURPLUS STATE LAND BORDERING PUBLIC
37.13	WATER; WADENA COUNTY.
37.14	(a) Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section 92.45, the commissioner of natural
37.15	resources may sell by public sale the surplus land bordering public water that is described
37.16	in paragraph (c).
37.17	(b) The commissioner may make necessary changes to the legal description to correct
37.18	errors and ensure accuracy.
37.19	(c) The land that may be sold is located in Wadena County and is described as: the
37.20	Northeast Quarter of the Southwest Quarter of Section 26, Township 136 North, Range 34
37.21	West, Wadena County, Minnesota, except that part described as follows:
37.22	Beginning at the northeast corner of said Northeast Quarter of the Southwest Quarter;
37.23	thence West 10 rods; thence South 8 rods; thence East 10 rods; thence North 8 rods to
37.24	the point of beginning and there terminating.
37.25	(d) The land borders the Redeye River. The Department of Natural Resources has
37.26	determined that the land is not needed for natural resource purposes and that the state's land
37.27	management interests would best be served if the land were returned to private ownership.
37.28	Sec. 11. EFFECTIVE DATE.
37.29	This article is effective the day following final enactment."
37.30	Delete the title and insert:

07/13/20 REVISOR RSI/AA A20-0817

38.1 "A bill for an act

38.2 relating to state government finance; establishing a supplemental state budget; appropriating money, transferring money, and reducing appropriations to support 38.3 state government activities; making various policy changes to conform with the 38.4 supplemental budget; authorizing the sale of surplus state lands; making conforming 38.5 changes; amending Minnesota Statutes 2018, sections 84.63; 92.502; 245A.16, by 38.6 adding a subdivision; 245C.02, by adding a subdivision; 245C.05, subdivisions 38.7 2c, 2d; 245C.14, subdivision 1; 245C.15, by adding a subdivision; 245C.24, 38.8 subdivision 4, as amended, by adding a subdivision; Minnesota Statutes 2019 38.9 Supplement, sections 245A.05; 245A.07, subdivision 1; 245C.05, subdivision 4, 38.10 as amended; 245C.08, subdivision 3; 245C.24, subdivisions 1, 2, 3; 256B.0659, 38.11 subdivision 11, as amended; 256B.85, subdivision 16; Laws 2014, chapter 211, 38.12 section 13, as amended." 38.13