
1.1 .................... moves to amend H.F. No. 2208 as follows:​

1.2 Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:​

1.3 "ARTICLE 1​

1.4 APPROPRIATIONS​

1.5 Section 1. JOBS AND ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT.​

1.6 (a) The sums shown in the columns marked "Appropriations" are appropriated to the​

1.7 agencies and for the purposes specified in this article. The appropriations are from the​

1.8 general fund, or another named fund, and are available for the fiscal years indicated for​

1.9 each purpose. The figures "2020" and "2021" used in this article mean the appropriations​

1.10 listed under them are available for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2020, or June 30, 2021,​

1.11 respectively. "The first year" is fiscal year 2020. "The second year" is fiscal year 2021.​

1.12 "Each year" means each of fiscal years 2020 and 2021.​

1.13 (b) If an appropriation in this article is enacted more than once in the 2019 legislative​

1.14 session, the appropriation must be given effect only once.​

1.15 APPROPRIATIONS​

1.16 Available for the Year​

1.17 Ending June 30​

2021​1.18 2020​

1.19 Sec. 2. DEPARTMENT OF EMPLOYMENT​
1.20 AND ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT​

131,569,000​$​167,498,000​$​1.21 Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation​

1.22 Appropriations by Fund​

2021​1.23 2020​

99,298,000​135,026,000​1.24 General​
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700,000​700,000​2.1 Remediation​

31,571,000​31,772,000​
2.2 Workforce​
2.3 Development​

2.4 The amounts that may be spent for each​

2.5 purpose are specified in the following​

2.6 subdivisions.​

31,474,000​44,114,000​2.7 Subd. 2. Business and Community Development​

2.8 Appropriations by Fund​

28,074,000​40,714,000​2.9 General​

700,000​700,000​2.10 Remediation​

2,700,000​2,700,000​
2.11 Workforce​
2.12 Development​

2.13 (a) $9,350,000 the first year is for:​

2.14 (1) the greater Minnesota business​

2.15 development public infrastructure grant​

2.16 program under Minnesota Statutes, section​

2.17 116J.431;​

2.18 (2) the spark program, formerly known as the​

2.19 business development competitive grant​

2.20 program;​

2.21 (3) the community prosperity grant program;​

2.22 and​

2.23 (4) a grant to the Minnesota Design Center at​

2.24 the University of Minnesota for the greater​

2.25 Minnesota community design program.​

2.26 The commissioner has discretion to allocate​

2.27 this appropriation among the listed programs,​

2.28 including awarding zero funds to a listed​

2.29 program or grantee. The commissioner has​

2.30 discretion to stipulate reasonable terms for​

2.31 individual programs and grants. Of this​

2.32 amount, up to four percent is for​

2.33 administration and monitoring of the funded​
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3.1 programs. This appropriation is available until​

3.2 June 30, 2022.​

3.3 (b) $2,500,000 each year is for the Minnesota​

3.4 Innovation Collaborative. This is a onetime​

3.5 appropriation and funds are available until​

3.6 June 30, 2023. Of this amount:​

3.7 (1) $1,600,000 each year is for innovation​

3.8 grants to eligible Minnesota entrepreneurs or​

3.9 start-up businesses to assist with their​

3.10 operating needs. Of this amount, five percent​

3.11 is for the department's administrative costs;​

3.12 (2) $450,000 each year is for administration​

3.13 of the Minnesota Innovation Collaborative;​

3.14 and​

3.15 (3) $450,000 each year is for grantee activities​

3.16 at the Minnesota Innovation Collaborative. Of​

3.17 this amount, five percent is for the​

3.18 department's administrative costs.​

3.19 (c) $1,772,000 each year is from the general​

3.20 fund and $700,000 each year is from the​

3.21 remediation fund for contaminated site cleanup​

3.22 and development grants under Minnesota​

3.23 Statutes, sections 116J.551 to 116J.558. These​

3.24 appropriations are available until spent.​

3.25 (d) $139,000 each year is for a grant to the​

3.26 Rural Policy and Development Center under​

3.27 Minnesota Statutes, section 116J.421.​

3.28 (e) $25,000 each year is for the administration​

3.29 of state aid for the Destination Medical Center​

3.30 under Minnesota Statutes, sections 469.40 to​

3.31 469.47.​

3.32 (f) $875,000 each year is for the host​

3.33 community economic development grant​

3​Article 1 Sec. 2.​
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4.1 program established in Minnesota Statutes,​

4.2 section 116J.548.​

4.3 (g) $500,000 the first year and $125,000 the​

4.4 second year are for grants to the White Earth​

4.5 Nation for the White Earth Nation Integrated​

4.6 Business Development System to provide​

4.7 business assistance with workforce​

4.8 development, outreach, technical assistance,​

4.9 infrastructure and operational support,​

4.10 financing, and other business development​

4.11 activities. This is a onetime appropriation.​

4.12 (h) $875,000 each year is for a grant to​

4.13 Enterprise Minnesota, Inc. for the small​

4.14 business growth acceleration program under​

4.15 Minnesota Statutes, section 116O.115. This​

4.16 is a onetime appropriation.​

4.17 (i) $300,000 each year is to provide business​

4.18 performance assessments to Minnesota​

4.19 manufacturers with 50 or fewer employees,​

4.20 with focus on very small and rural locations.​

4.21 The assessment findings must position​

4.22 Minnesota manufacturers to retain and recruit​

4.23 employees and grow in their community. This​

4.24 is a onetime appropriation.​

4.25 (j) $125,000 each year is for a grant to the​

4.26 Rondo Community Land Trust for​

4.27 improvements to leased commercial space in​

4.28 the Selby Milton Victoria Project that will​

4.29 create long-term affordable space for small​

4.30 businesses and for build-out and development​

4.31 of new businesses. This is a onetime​

4.32 appropriation.​

4.33 (k) $2,865,000 the first year is for grants for​

4.34 projects that support economic development​

4​Article 1 Sec. 2.​
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5.1 by increasing the availability of child care.​

5.2 Eligible recipients for these grants are limited​

5.3 to:​

5.4 (1) WomenVenture;​

5.5 (2) the Minnesota Initiative Foundations; and​

5.6 (3) eligible applicants under the child care​

5.7 economic development grant program.​

5.8 The commissioner has discretion to allocate​

5.9 the available grant funds among the listed​

5.10 eligible recipients, including awarding zero​

5.11 funds to a listed entity. The commissioner has​

5.12 discretion to stipulate reasonable terms for​

5.13 individual programs and grants. Of this​

5.14 amount, up to four percent is for​

5.15 administration and monitoring of the funded​

5.16 programs. This appropriation is available until​

5.17 June 30, 2021.​

5.18 (l)(1) $750,000 each year is for grants to the​

5.19 Neighborhood Development Center for small​

5.20 business programs. This is a onetime​

5.21 appropriation.​

5.22 (2) Of the amount appropriated in the first​

5.23 year, $150,000 is for outreach and training​

5.24 activities outside the seven-county​

5.25 metropolitan area, as defined in Minnesota​

5.26 Statutes, section 473.121, subdivision 2.​

5.27 (m)(1) $50,000 the first year is for grants to​

5.28 support broadband connections for coworking​

5.29 spaces designed to foster start-up businesses.​

5.30 Grant recipients must be located in an​

5.31 unserved area or an underserved area for​

5.32 broadband, as defined in Minnesota Statutes,​

5.33 section 116J.394. Grant recipients must obtain​

5.34 a 100 percent nonstate match to grant funds​

5​Article 1 Sec. 2.​
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6.1 in either cash or in-kind contributions, though​

6.2 matching funds may be used for expenses of​

6.3 the coworking space other than broadband.​

6.4 This is a onetime appropriation.​

6.5 (2) Within one year of receiving grant funds,​

6.6 grant recipients must report to the​

6.7 commissioner on the outcomes of the grant​

6.8 program including but not limited to the​

6.9 number of start-up businesses served and the​

6.10 amount of local funds invested.​

6.11 (n) $5,500,000 each year is for the Minnesota​

6.12 job creation fund under Minnesota Statutes,​

6.13 section 116J.8748. Of this amount, the​

6.14 commissioner of employment and economic​

6.15 development may use up to three percent for​

6.16 administrative expenses. This appropriation​

6.17 is available until expended.​

6.18 (o)(1) $5,500,000 each year is for the​

6.19 Minnesota investment fund under Minnesota​

6.20 Statutes, section 116J.8731. Of this amount,​

6.21 the commissioner of employment and​

6.22 economic development may use up to three​

6.23 percent for administration and monitoring of​

6.24 the program. This appropriation is available​

6.25 until expended.​

6.26 (2) Of the amount appropriated in the first​

6.27 year, $2,000,000 is for a loan to a paper mill​

6.28 in Duluth for a retrofit project that will support​

6.29 the operation and manufacture of packaging​

6.30 paper grades. The company that owns the​

6.31 paper mill must spend $20,000,000 on project​

6.32 activities by December 31, 2020, in order to​

6.33 be eligible to receive this loan. Loan funds​

6.34 may be used for purchases of materials,​

6.35 supplies, and equipment for the project and​

6​Article 1 Sec. 2.​
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7.1 are available from July 1, 2019, to July 30,​

7.2 2021. The commissioner of employment and​

7.3 economic development shall forgive 25​

7.4 percent of the loan each year after the second​

7.5 year during a five-year period if the mill has​

7.6 retained at least 200 full-time equivalent​

7.7 employees and has satisfied other performance​

7.8 goals and contractual obligations as required​

7.9 under Minnesota Statutes, section 116J.8731.​

7.10 (p) $1,000,000 each year is for the Minnesota​

7.11 emerging entrepreneur loan program under​

7.12 Minnesota Statutes, section 116M.18. Funds​

7.13 available under this paragraph are for transfer​

7.14 into the emerging entrepreneur program​

7.15 special revenue fund account created under​

7.16 Minnesota Statutes, chapter 116M, and are​

7.17 available until expended. Of this amount, up​

7.18 to four percent is for administration and​

7.19 monitoring of the program.​

7.20 (q) $163,000 each year is for the Minnesota​

7.21 Film and TV Board. The appropriation in each​

7.22 year is available only upon receipt by the​

7.23 board of $1 in matching contributions of​

7.24 money or in-kind contributions from nonstate​

7.25 sources for every $3 provided by this​

7.26 appropriation, except that each year up to​

7.27 $50,000 is available on July 1 even if the​

7.28 required matching contribution has not been​

7.29 received by that date.​

7.30 (r) $12,000 each year is for a grant to the​

7.31 Upper Minnesota Film Office.​

7.32 (s) $500,000 each year is from the general​

7.33 fund for a grant to the Minnesota Film and TV​

7.34 Board for the film production jobs program​

7.35 under Minnesota Statutes, section 116U.26.​

7​Article 1 Sec. 2.​
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8.1 This appropriation is available until June 30,​

8.2 2023.​

8.3 (t) $4,195,000 each year is for the Minnesota​

8.4 job skills partnership program under​

8.5 Minnesota Statutes, sections 116L.01 to​

8.6 116L.17. If the appropriation for either year​

8.7 is insufficient, the appropriation for the other​

8.8 year is available. This appropriation is​

8.9 available until expended.​

8.10 (u) $1,350,000 each year is from the​

8.11 workforce development fund for jobs training​

8.12 grants under Minnesota Statutes, section​

8.13 116L.42.​

8.14 (v) $1,350,000 each year is from the​

8.15 workforce development fund for metropolitan​

8.16 job training grants under Minnesota Statutes,​

8.17 section 116L.43.​

26,736,000​51,451,000​8.18 Subd. 3. Workforce Development​

8.19 Appropriations by Fund​

5,750,000​30,264,000​8.20 General​

20,986,000​21,187,000​
8.21 Workforce​
8.22 Development​

8.23 (a) $250,000 each year is for pilot programs​

8.24 in the workforce service areas to combine​

8.25 career and higher education advising.​

8.26 (b) $500,000 each year is for rural career​

8.27 counseling coordinator positions in the​

8.28 workforce service areas and for the purposes​

8.29 specified in Minnesota Statutes, section​

8.30 116L.667.​

8.31 (c) $750,000 each year is for the women and​

8.32 high-wage, high-demand, nontraditional jobs​

8.33 grant program under Minnesota Statutes,​

8.34 section 116L.99. Of this amount, up to five​

8​Article 1 Sec. 2.​
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9.1 percent is for administration and monitoring​

9.2 of the program.​

9.3 (d) $700,000 the first year is for a grant to the​

9.4 Washburn Center for Children to train and​

9.5 hire additional children's mental health​

9.6 treatment staff. This appropriation is available​

9.7 until June 30, 2023.​

9.8 (e)(1) $300,000 the first year is for a grant to​

9.9 the Regional Center for Entrepreneurial​

9.10 Facilitation hosted by a county or higher​

9.11 education institution. Funds available under​

9.12 this paragraph must be used to provide​

9.13 entrepreneur and small business development​

9.14 direct professional business assistance services​

9.15 in the following counties in Minnesota: Blue​

9.16 Earth, Brown, Faribault, Le Sueur, Martin,​

9.17 Nicollet, Sibley, Watonwan, and Waseca. For​

9.18 the purposes of this paragraph, "direct​

9.19 professional business assistance services" must​

9.20 include but is not limited to payment of​

9.21 overhead costs, pre-venture assistance for​

9.22 individuals considering starting a business,​

9.23 and services for underserved populations,​

9.24 agricultural businesses, and students. This​

9.25 appropriation is not available until the​

9.26 commissioner determines that an equal amount​

9.27 is committed from nonstate sources. This​

9.28 appropriation is available until June 30, 2021.​

9.29 (2) Grant recipients shall report to the​

9.30 commissioner by February 1, 2021, and​

9.31 include information on the number of​

9.32 customers served in each county; the number​

9.33 of businesses started, stabilized, or expanded;​

9.34 the number of jobs created and retained; and​

9.35 business success rates in each county. By April​

9​Article 1 Sec. 2.​
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10.1 1, 2021, the commissioner shall report the​

10.2 information submitted by grant recipients to​

10.3 the chairs and ranking minority members of​

10.4 the standing committees of the house of​

10.5 representatives and senate having jurisdiction​

10.6 over economic development issues.​

10.7 (f) $20,000 in the first year is for preparing​

10.8 the inventory of workforce development​

10.9 programs under Minnesota Statutes, section​

10.10 116L.35.​

10.11 (g) $1,500,000 each year is for a grant to​

10.12 Summit Academy OIC to expand its​

10.13 contextualized GED and employment​

10.14 placement program and STEM program. This​

10.15 is a onetime appropriation.​

10.16 (h) $485,000 the first year is for a grant to​

10.17 Lifetrack, a St. Paul nonprofit organization,​

10.18 for building maintenance. This appropriation​

10.19 is available until June 30, 2023.​

10.20 (i) $23,009,000 the first year is for:​

10.21 (1) distribution to existing nonprofit and state​

10.22 displaced homemaker programs under​

10.23 Minnesota Statutes, section 116L.96;​

10.24 (2) the special education employment pilot​

10.25 project;​

10.26 (3) a grant to Fathers Rise Together to study​

10.27 the creation of a Duluth-Iron Range African​

10.28 heritage hub;​

10.29 (4) a grant to Hennepin County for the Cedar​

10.30 Riverside Partnership;​

10.31 (5) a grant to Youthprise to give grants​

10.32 through a competitive process to community​

10.33 organizations to provide economic​
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11.1 development services designed to enhance​

11.2 long-term economic self-sufficiency in​

11.3 communities with concentrated east African​

11.4 populations;​

11.5 (6) a grant to Goodwill-Easter Seals Minnesota​

11.6 and its partners for the FATHER Project;​

11.7 (7) competitive grants to eligible nonprofit​

11.8 minority business development organizations​

11.9 for statewide business development and​

11.10 assistance services to minority-owned​

11.11 businesses, including the creation of revolving​

11.12 loan funds and operating support for the​

11.13 organizations providing the services;​

11.14 (8) a grant to Lifetrack for job training and​

11.15 employment preparation for at-risk adults;​

11.16 (9) a grant to the YWCA of Minneapolis to​

11.17 provide economically challenged individuals​

11.18 the job skills training, career counseling, and​

11.19 job placement assistance necessary to secure​

11.20 a child development associate credential and​

11.21 to have a career path in early childhood​

11.22 education;​

11.23 (10) a grant to YWCA St. Paul to provide​

11.24 low-income workers and workers from​

11.25 communities of color with comprehensive​

11.26 workforce development programs and services​

11.27 including training, education, workforce​

11.28 readiness, job coaching and support, job​

11.29 placement, and post-placement support​

11.30 services;​

11.31 (11) the pathways to prosperity grant program​

11.32 under Minnesota Statutes, section 116L.25;​

11.33 (12) a grant to Better Futures Minnesota to​

11.34 provide job skills training to individuals who​
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12.1 have been released from incarceration for a​

12.2 felony-level offense and are no more than 12​

12.3 months from the date of release; and​

12.4 (13) a grant to the Hmong American​

12.5 Partnership, in collaboration with community​

12.6 partners, for services targeting Minnesota​

12.7 communities with the highest concentrations​

12.8 of Southeast Asian joblessness, based on the​

12.9 most recent census tract data, to provide​

12.10 employment readiness training, credentialed​

12.11 training placement, job placement and​

12.12 retention services, supportive services for​

12.13 hard-to-employ individuals, and a general​

12.14 education development fast track and adult​

12.15 diploma program.​

12.16 The commissioner has discretion to allocate​

12.17 this appropriation among the listed programs​

12.18 and grantees, including awarding zero funds​

12.19 to a listed program or grantee. The​

12.20 commissioner has discretion to stipulate​

12.21 reasonable terms for individual programs and​

12.22 grants. Of these amounts, up to four percent​

12.23 is for administration and monitoring of the​

12.24 funded programs. This is a onetime​

12.25 appropriation and funds are available until​

12.26 June 30, 2021.​

12.27 (j) $100,000 the first year is from the​

12.28 workforce development fund for a grant to the​

12.29 Cook County Higher Education Board to​

12.30 provide educational programming and​

12.31 academic support services to remote regions​

12.32 in northeastern Minnesota. This appropriation​

12.33 is in addition to other funds previously​

12.34 appropriated to the board.​
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13.1 (k) $500,000 each year is from the workforce​

13.2 development fund for the Nonprofits​

13.3 Assistance Fund to make grants for​

13.4 infrastructure support to small nonprofit​

13.5 organizations that serve historically​

13.6 underserved cultural communities.​

13.7 (l) $250,000 each year is from the workforce​

13.8 development fund for a grant to the American​

13.9 Indian Opportunities and Industrialization​

13.10 Center, in collaboration with the Northwest​

13.11 Indian Community Development Center, to​

13.12 reduce academic disparities for American​

13.13 Indian students and adults. This is a onetime​

13.14 appropriation. The grant funds may be used​

13.15 to provide:​

13.16 (1) student tutoring and testing support​

13.17 services;​

13.18 (2) training and employment placement in​

13.19 information technology;​

13.20 (3) training and employment placement within​

13.21 trades;​

13.22 (4) assistance in obtaining a GED;​

13.23 (5) remedial training leading to enrollment​

13.24 and to sustain enrollment in a postsecondary​

13.25 higher education institution;​

13.26 (6) real-time work experience in information​

13.27 technology fields and in the trades;​

13.28 (7) contextualized adult basic education;​

13.29 (8) career and educational counseling for​

13.30 clients with significant and multiple barriers;​

13.31 and;​

13.32 (9) reentry services and counseling for adults​

13.33 and youth.​
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14.1 After notification to the legislature, the​

14.2 commissioner may transfer this appropriation​

14.3 to the commissioner of education.​

14.4 (m) $350,000 each year is from the workforce​

14.5 development fund for a grant to the​

14.6 International Institute of Minnesota. Grant​

14.7 funds must be used for workforce training for​

14.8 New Americans in industries in need of trained​

14.9 workforce. This is a onetime appropriation.​

14.10 (n) $100,000 the first year is from the​

14.11 workforce development fund for preparing a​

14.12 plan to address barriers to employment for​

14.13 persons with mental illness.​

14.14 (o) $11,489,000 the first year and $11,488,000​

14.15 the second year are from the workforce​

14.16 development fund for:​

14.17 (1) a grant to Minnesota Diversified Industries,​

14.18 Inc., to provide progressive development and​

14.19 employment opportunities for persons with​

14.20 disabilities;​

14.21 (2) the getting to work grant program under​

14.22 Minnesota Statutes, section 116J.545;​

14.23 (3) a grant to the Minnesota High Tech​

14.24 Association to support SciTechsperience;​

14.25 (4) the Opportunities Industrialization Center​

14.26 programs;​

14.27 (5) rural career counseling coordinator​

14.28 positions in the workforce service areas and​

14.29 for the purposes specified in Minnesota​

14.30 Statutes, section 116L.667;​

14.31 (6) grants to community-based organizations​

14.32 serving Somali youth for youth development,​
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15.1 community engagement, legal services, and​

15.2 capacity building;​

15.3 (7) a grant to EMERGE Community​

15.4 Development, in collaboration with​

15.5 community partners, for services targeting​

15.6 communities with the highest concentrations​

15.7 of African and African American joblessness,​

15.8 based on the most recent census tract data, to​

15.9 provide employment readiness training,​

15.10 credentialed training placement, job placement​

15.11 and retention services, supportive services for​

15.12 hard-to-employ individuals, and a general​

15.13 education development fast track and adult​

15.14 diploma program;​

15.15 (8) a grant to the Minneapolis Foundation for​

15.16 a strategic intervention program designed to​

15.17 target and connect program participants to​

15.18 meaningful, sustainable living-wage​

15.19 employment;​

15.20 (9) a grant to the Construction Careers​

15.21 Foundation for the construction career​

15.22 pathway initiative to provide year-round​

15.23 educational and experiential learning​

15.24 opportunities for teens and young adults under​

15.25 the age of 21 that lead to careers in the​

15.26 construction industry;​

15.27 (10) the pathways to prosperity grant program​

15.28 under Minnesota Statutes, section 116L.25;​

15.29 (11) a grant to Latino Communities United in​

15.30 Service (CLUES) for programs that address​

15.31 employment and education skill gaps for​

15.32 working parents and underserved youth by​

15.33 providing new job skills training to stimulate​

15.34 higher wages for low-income people, family​
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16.1 support systems designed to reduce​

16.2 intergenerational poverty, and youth​

16.3 programming to promote educational​

16.4 advancement and career pathways in​

16.5 high-demand fields, including information​

16.6 technology;​

16.7 (12) performance grants under Minnesota​

16.8 Statutes, section 116J.8747, to Twin Cities​

16.9 R!SE to provide training for hard-to-train​

16.10 individuals;​

16.11 (13) a grant to Bridges to Healthcare to​

16.12 provide career education, wraparound support​

16.13 services, and job skills training in​

16.14 high-demand health care fields to low-income​

16.15 parents, nonnative speakers of English, and​

16.16 other hard-to-train individuals;​

16.17 (14) a grant to Avivo to provide low-income​

16.18 individuals with career education and job skills​

16.19 training that are fully integrated with chemical​

16.20 and mental health services; and​

16.21 (15) a grant to Better Futures Minnesota to​

16.22 provide job skills training to individuals who​

16.23 have been released from incarceration for a​

16.24 felony-level offense and are no more than 12​

16.25 months from the date of release.​

16.26 The commissioner has discretion to allocate​

16.27 this appropriation among the listed programs​

16.28 and grantees, including awarding zero funds​

16.29 to a listed program or grantee. The​

16.30 commissioner has discretion to stipulate​

16.31 reasonable terms for individual programs and​

16.32 grants. Of these amounts, up to four percent​

16.33 is for administration and monitoring of the​

16.34 funded programs. This is a onetime​
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17.1 appropriation and funds are available until​

17.2 June 30, 2022.​

17.3 (p) $1,000,000 each year is for a competitive​

17.4 grant program to provide grants to​

17.5 organizations that provide support services for​

17.6 individuals, such as job training, employment​

17.7 preparation, internships, job assistance to​

17.8 parents, financial literacy, academic and​

17.9 behavioral interventions for low-performing​

17.10 students, and youth intervention. Grants made​

17.11 under this section must focus on low-income​

17.12 communities, young adults from families with​

17.13 a history of intergenerational poverty, and​

17.14 communities of color. Of this amount, up to​

17.15 four percent is for administration and​

17.16 monitoring of the program.​

17.17 (q) $1,000,000 each year is for a grant to​

17.18 Ujamaa Place for job training, employment​

17.19 preparation, internships, education, training​

17.20 in vocational trades, housing, and​

17.21 organizational capacity building. This is a​

17.22 onetime appropriation.​

17.23 (r) $750,000 each year is from the general fund​

17.24 and $8,398,000 each year is from the​

17.25 workforce development fund for:​

17.26 (1) the youth-at-work grant program under​

17.27 Minnesota Statutes, section 116L.562;​

17.28 (2) the youthbuild program under Minnesota​

17.29 Statutes, sections 116L.361 to 116L.366;​

17.30 (3) the Minnesota youth program under​

17.31 Minnesota Statutes, sections 116L.56 and​

17.32 116L.561;​

17.33 (4) a grant to Big Brothers, Big Sisters of the​

17.34 Greater Twin Cities for workforce readiness,​

17​Article 1 Sec. 2.​
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18.1 employment exploration, and skills​

18.2 development for youth ages 12 to 21; and​

18.3 (5) a grant to the Minnesota Alliance of Boys​

18.4 and Girls Clubs to administer a statewide​

18.5 project of youth job skills and career​

18.6 development.​

18.7 The commissioner has discretion to allocate​

18.8 these appropriations among the listed​

18.9 programs and grantees, including awarding​

18.10 zero funds to a listed program or grantee. The​

18.11 commissioner has discretion to stipulate​

18.12 reasonable terms for individual programs and​

18.13 grants. Of these amounts, up to four percent​

18.14 is for administration and monitoring of the​

18.15 funded programs. This is a onetime​

18.16 appropriation and funds are available until​

18.17 June 30, 2021.​

4,726,000​4,726,000​18.18 Subd. 4. General Support Services​

18.19 Appropriations by Fund​

4,671,000​4,671,000​18.20 General Fund​

55,000​55,000​
18.21 Workforce​
18.22 Development​

18.23 (a) $250,000 each year is for the publication,​

18.24 dissemination, and use of labor market​

18.25 information under Minnesota Statutes, section​

18.26 116J.401.​

18.27 (b) $1,269,000 each year is for transfer to the​

18.28 Minnesota Housing Finance Agency for​

18.29 operating the Olmstead Compliance Office.​

18.30 (c) $500,000 each year is for the​

18.31 capacity-building grant program to assist​

18.32 nonprofit organizations offering or seeking to​

18.33 offer workforce development and economic​

18.34 development programming.​
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2,292,000​2,292,000​19.1 Subd. 5. Minnesota Trade Office​

19.2 (a) $300,000 each year is for the STEP grants​

19.3 in Minnesota Statutes, section 116J.979.​

19.4 (b) $180,000 each year is for the Invest​

19.5 Minnesota marketing initiative in Minnesota​

19.6 Statutes, section 116J.9781.​

19.7 (c) $270,000 each year is for the Minnesota​

19.8 Trade Offices under Minnesota Statutes,​

19.9 section 116J.978.​

19.10 (d) $50,000 each year is for the Trade Policy​

19.11 Advisory Council under Minnesota Statutes,​

19.12 section 116J.9661.​

37,941,000​37,941,000​19.13 Subd. 6. Vocational Rehabilitation​

19.14 Appropriations by Fund​

30,111,000​30,111,000​19.15 General​

7,830,000​7,830,000​
19.16 Workforce​
19.17 Development​

19.18 (a) $14,800,000 each year is for the state's​

19.19 vocational rehabilitation program under​

19.20 Minnesota Statutes, chapter 268A.​

19.21 (b) $8,995,000 each year from the general fund​

19.22 and $6,830,000 each year from the workforce​

19.23 development fund is for extended employment​

19.24 services for persons with severe disabilities​

19.25 under Minnesota Statutes, section 268A.15.​

19.26 Of the general fund amount appropriated,​

19.27 $2,000,000 each year is for rate increases to​

19.28 providers of extended employment services​

19.29 for persons with severe disabilities under​

19.30 Minnesota Statutes, section 268A.15.​

19.31 (c) $2,555,000 each year is for grants to​

19.32 programs that provide employment support​

19.33 services to persons with mental illness under​
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20.1 Minnesota Statutes, sections 268A.13 and​

20.2 268A.14.​

20.3 (d) $3,761,000 each year is for grants to​

20.4 centers for independent living under​

20.5 Minnesota Statutes, section 268A.11. Of these​

20.6 amounts, at least $1,000,000 each year must​

20.7 be used for providing services to veterans.​

20.8 (e) $1,000,000 each year is from the workforce​

20.9 development fund for grants under Minnesota​

20.10 Statutes, section 268A.16, for employment​

20.11 services for persons, including transition-age​

20.12 youth, who are deaf, deafblind, or​

20.13 hard-of-hearing. If the amount in the first year​

20.14 is insufficient, the amount in the second year​

20.15 is available in the first year.​

6,425,000​6,425,000​20.16 Subd. 7. Services for the Blind​

20.17 Of this amount, $500,000 each year is for​

20.18 senior citizens who are becoming blind. At​

20.19 least one-half of the funds for this purpose​

20.20 must be used to provide training services for​

20.21 seniors who are becoming blind. Training​

20.22 services must provide independent living skills​

20.23 to seniors who are becoming blind to allow​

20.24 them to continue to live independently in their​

20.25 homes.​

21,975,000​10,549,000​20.26 Subd. 8. Paid Family and Medical Leave​

20.27 (a) $10,549,000 the first year and $21,442,000​

20.28 the second year are for the purposes of​

20.29 Minnesota Statutes, chapter 268B.​

20.30 Unexpended funds appropriated in the first​

20.31 year are available in the second year. In fiscal​

20.32 year 2022, the base amount is $16,096,000;​

20.33 in fiscal year 2023, the base amount is​

20.34 $15,181,000; in fiscal year 2024, the base​
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21.1 amount is $11,520,000; and in fiscal year 2025​

21.2 and beyond, the base amount is $0.​

21.3 (b) $533,000 the second year is for the purpose​

21.4 of outreach, education, and technical​

21.5 assistance for employees and employers​

21.6 regarding Minnesota Statutes, chapter 268B.​

21.7 Of the amount appropriated, at least one-half​

21.8 must be used for grants to community-based​

21.9 groups providing outreach, education, and​

21.10 technical assistance for employees, employers,​

21.11 and self-employed individuals regarding​

21.12 Minnesota Statutes, chapter 268B. This​

21.13 outreach must include efforts to notify​

21.14 self-employed individuals of their ability to​

21.15 elect coverage under Minnesota Statutes,​

21.16 section 268B.11, and provide them with​

21.17 technical assistance in doing so. This is a​

21.18 onetime appropriation.​

-0-​10,000,000​21.19 Subd. 9. Dairy Assistance​

21.20 $10,000,000 the first year is for transfer to the​

21.21 commissioner of agriculture to award need​

21.22 based grants to Minnesota dairy producers​

21.23 who milk herds of no more than 750 cows for​

21.24 buy-in to the federal Dairy Margin Coverage​

21.25 Program. The commissioner of agriculture​

21.26 must develop eligibility criteria in consultation​

21.27 with the chairs and ranking minority members​

21.28 of the legislative committees with jurisdiction​

21.29 over agriculture finance.​

21.30 Sec. 3. DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND​
21.31 INDUSTRY​

34,532,000​$​36,178,000​$​21.32 Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation​

21.33 Appropriations by Fund​

2021​21.34 2020​

9,910,000​8,556,000​21.35 General​

21​Article 1 Sec. 3.​

REVISOR SS/CH A19-0341​03/31/19 06:04 pm  ​



22,088,000​25,088,000​
22.1 Workers'​
22.2 Compensation​

2,534,000​2,534,000​
22.3 Workforce​
22.4 Development​

22.5 The amounts that may be spent for each​

22.6 purpose are specified in the following​

22.7 subdivisions.​

8,339,000​8,039,000​22.8 Subd. 2. General Support​

22.9 Appropriations by Fund​

1,550,000​1,250,000​22.10 General​

6,039,000​6,039,000​
22.11 Workers'​
22.12 Compensation​

750,000​750,000​
22.13 Workforce​
22.14 Development Fund​

22.15 (a) Except as provided in paragraphs (b) and​

22.16 (c), this appropriation is from the workers'​

22.17 compensation fund.​

22.18 (b) $1,250,000 the first year and $1,550,000​

22.19 the second year are from the general fund for​

22.20 system upgrades. This is a onetime​

22.21 appropriation and funds are available until​

22.22 June 30, 2023. This appropriation includes​

22.23 funds for information technology project​

22.24 services and support subject to Minnesota​

22.25 Statutes, section 16E.0466. Any ongoing​

22.26 information technology costs must be​

22.27 incorporated into the service level agreement​

22.28 and must be paid to the Office of MN.IT​

22.29 Services by the commissioner of labor and​

22.30 industry under the rates and mechanism​

22.31 specified in that agreement.​

22.32 (c) $750,000 each year is from the workforce​

22.33 development fund to administer the youth​

22.34 skills training program and make grant awards​

22.35 under Minnesota Statutes, section 175.46.​

10,144,000​9,090,000​22.36 Subd. 3. Labor Standards and Apprenticeship​

22​Article 1 Sec. 3.​

REVISOR SS/CH A19-0341​03/31/19 06:04 pm  ​



23.1 Appropriations by Fund​

8,360,000​7,306,000​23.2 General​

1,784,000​1,784,000​
23.3 Workforce​
23.4 Development​

23.5 (a) $1,546,000 each year is for wage theft​

23.6 prevention.​

23.7 (b) $3,866,000 the first year and $4,072,000​

23.8 the second year are for enforcement and other​

23.9 duties regarding earned sick and safe time​

23.10 under Minnesota Statutes, section 181.9445​

23.11 and chapter 177. In fiscal years 2022 and​

23.12 beyond, the base appropriation is $3,770,000.​

23.13 (c) $214,000 the first year and $377,000 the​

23.14 second year are for the purpose of outreach,​

23.15 education, and technical assistance for​

23.16 employees, employers, and self-employed​

23.17 individuals regarding Minnesota Statutes,​

23.18 chapter 268B. This outreach must include​

23.19 efforts to notify self-employed individuals of​

23.20 their ability to elect coverage under Minnesota​

23.21 Statutes, section 268B.11, and provide them​

23.22 with technical assistance in doing so.​

23.23 Unexpended amounts appropriated the first​

23.24 year are available in the second year. This is​

23.25 a onetime appropriation.​

23.26 (d) $382,000 the first year and $1,101,000 the​

23.27 second year are for enforcement duties and​

23.28 related administration under Minnesota​

23.29 Statutes, chapter 268B. This is a onetime​

23.30 appropriation.​

23.31 (e) $151,000 each year is from the workforce​

23.32 development fund for prevailing wage​

23.33 enforcement.​

23.34 (f) $1,133,000 each year is from the workforce​

23.35 development fund for the apprenticeship​

23​Article 1 Sec. 3.​
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24.1 program under Minnesota Statutes, chapter​

24.2 178.​

24.3 (g) $100,000 each year is from the workforce​

24.4 development fund for labor education and​

24.5 advancement program grants under Minnesota​

24.6 Statutes, section 178.11, to expand and​

24.7 promote registered apprenticeship training for​

24.8 minorities and women.​

24.9 (h)(1) $400,000 each year is from the​

24.10 workforce development fund for grants to the​

24.11 Construction Careers Foundation for the​

24.12 Helmets to Hardhats Minnesota initiative.​

24.13 Grant funds must be used to recruit, retain,​

24.14 assist, and support National Guard, reserve,​

24.15 and active duty military members' and​

24.16 veterans' participation into apprenticeship​

24.17 programs registered with the Department of​

24.18 Labor and Industry and connect them with​

24.19 career training and employment in the building​

24.20 and construction industry. The recruitment,​

24.21 selection, employment, and training must be​

24.22 without discrimination due to race, color,​

24.23 creed, religion, national origin, sex, sexual​

24.24 orientation, marital status, physical or mental​

24.25 disability, receipt of public assistance, or age.​

24.26 (2) Construction Careers Foundation must​

24.27 report to the commissioner and the chairs and​

24.28 ranking minority members of the house of​

24.29 representatives and senate committees​

24.30 overseeing labor and industry policy and​

24.31 finance and veterans affairs policy and finance​

24.32 by January 15 of each year on the Helmets to​

24.33 Hardhats program. The report must include​

24.34 an overview of the program's budget, a​

24.35 detailed explanation of program expenditures,​
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25.1 the number of veterans and service members​

25.2 served by the program, a list and explanation​

25.3 of the services provided to program​

25.4 participants, details of the positions program​

25.5 participants assumed, the number of​

25.6 participants placed in union jobs, and the​

25.7 number of participants placed in nonunion​

25.8 jobs.​

11,882,000​14,882,000​25.9 Subd. 4. Workers' Compensation​

25.10 $3,000,000 the first year is from the workers'​

25.11 compensation fund for workers' compensation​

25.12 system upgrades. This amount is available​

25.13 until June 30, 2023. This is a onetime​

25.14 appropriation.​

25.15 This appropriation includes funds for​

25.16 information technology project services and​

25.17 support subject to the provisions of Minnesota​

25.18 Statutes, section 16E.0466. Any ongoing​

25.19 information technology costs must be​

25.20 incorporated into the service level agreement​

25.21 and must be paid to the Office of MN.IT​

25.22 Services by the commissioner of labor and​

25.23 industry under the rates and mechanism​

25.24 specified in that agreement.​

4,167,000​4,167,000​25.25 Subd. 5. Workplace Safety​

25.26 This appropriation is from the workers'​

25.27 compensation fund.​

2,283,000​$​2,222,000​$​
25.28 Sec. 4. WORKERS' COMPENSATION COURT​
25.29 OF APPEALS​

25.30 This appropriation is from the workers'​

25.31 compensation fund.​

3,076,000​$​3,076,000​$​25.32 Sec. 5. BUREAU OF MEDIATION SERVICES​

25​Article 1 Sec. 5.​
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26.1 (a) $560,000 each year is for purposes of the​

26.2 Public Employment Relations Board under​

26.3 Minnesota Statutes, section 179A.041.​

26.4 (b) $68,000 each year is from the general fund​

26.5 for grants to area labor management​

26.6 committees. Grants may be awarded for a​

26.7 12-month period beginning July 1 each year.​

26.8 Any unencumbered balance remaining at the​

26.9 end of the first year does not cancel but is​

26.10 available for the second year.​

26.11 (c) $394,000 each year is for the Office of​

26.12 Collaboration and Dispute Resolution under​

26.13 Minnesota Statutes, section 179.90. Of this​

26.14 amount, $160,000 each year is for grants under​

26.15 Minnesota Statutes, section 179.91.​

26.16 Sec. 6. DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE​

24,795,000​$​25,323,000​$​26.17 Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation​

26.18 Appropriations by Fund​

22,426,000​22,955,000​26.19 General​

1,610,000​1,610,000​26.20 Special Revenue​

759,000​758,000​
26.21 Workers'​
26.22 Compensation​

26.23 The amounts that may be spent for each​

26.24 purpose are specified in the following​

26.25 subdivisions.​

1,036,000​1,031,000​26.26 Subd. 2. Financial Institutions​

26.27 (a) $400,000 each year is for a grant to Prepare​

26.28 and Prosper to develop, market, evaluate, and​

26.29 distribute a financial services inclusion​

26.30 program that (1) assists low-income and​

26.31 financially underserved populations to build​

26.32 savings and strengthen credit, and (2) provides​

26.33 services to assist low-income and financially​

26.34 underserved populations to become more​
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27.1 financially stable and secure. Grants must be​

27.2 matched by nonstate contributions. Money​

27.3 remaining after the first year is available for​

27.4 the second year.​

27.5 (b) $100,000 each year is for a grant to Exodus​

27.6 Lending to assist individuals in reaching​

27.7 financial stability and resolving payday loans.​

27.8 This is a onetime appropriation and funds are​

27.9 available until June 30, 2022.​

27.10 (c) $200,000 each year is to administer the​

27.11 requirements of Minnesota Statutes, chapter​

27.12 58B. This is a onetime appropriation.​

8,955,000​9,645,000​27.13 Subd. 3. Administrative Services​

27.14 (a) $384,000 each year is for additional​

27.15 compliance efforts with unclaimed property.​

27.16 The commissioner may issue contracts for​

27.17 these services.​

27.18 (b) $100,000 each year is for the support of​

27.19 broadband development.​

27.20 (c) $33,000 each year is for rulemaking and​

27.21 administration under Minnesota Statutes,​

27.22 section 80A.461.​

27.23 (d) $960,000 the first year is to pay the award​

27.24 in the SafeLite Group, Inc., litigation.​

2,657,000​2,647,000​27.25 Subd. 4. Telecommunications​

27.26 Appropriations by Fund​

1,047,000​1,037,000​27.27 General​

1,610,000​1,610,000​27.28 Special Revenue​

27.29 $1,610,000 each year is from the​

27.30 telecommunication access Minnesota fund​

27.31 account in the special revenue fund for the​

27.32 following transfers. This appropriation is​

27.33 added to the department's base:​
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REVISOR SS/CH A19-0341​03/31/19 06:04 pm  ​



28.1 (1) $1,170,000 each year is to the​

28.2 commissioner of human services to​

28.3 supplement the ongoing operational expenses​

28.4 of the Commission of the Deaf, DeafBlind and​

28.5 Hard of Hearing;​

28.6 (2) $290,000 each year is to the chief​

28.7 information officer for the purpose of​

28.8 coordinating technology accessibility and​

28.9 usability;​

28.10 (3) $100,000 each year is to the Legislative​

28.11 Coordinating Commission for captioning of​

28.12 legislative coverage. This transfer is subject​

28.13 to Minnesota Statutes, section 16A.281; and​

28.14 (4) $50,000 each year is to the Office of​

28.15 MN.IT Services for a consolidated access fund​

28.16 to provide grants to other state agencies related​

28.17 to accessibility of their web-based services.​

6,507,000​6,417,000​28.18 Subd. 5. Enforcement​

28.19 Appropriations by Fund​

6,307,000​6,217,000​28.20 General​

200,000​200,000​
28.21 Workers'​
28.22 Compensation​

28.23 (a) $279,000 each year is for health care​

28.24 enforcement.​

28.25 (b) $250,000 each year is for a statewide​

28.26 education and outreach campaign to protect​

28.27 seniors, meaning those 60 years of age or​

28.28 older, vulnerable adults, as defined in​

28.29 Minnesota Statutes, section 626.5572,​

28.30 subdivision 21, and their caregivers from​

28.31 financial fraud and exploitation. The education​

28.32 and outreach campaign must include but is not​

28.33 limited to the dissemination of information​

28.34 through television, print, or other media,​
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29.1 training and outreach to senior living facilities,​

29.2 and the creation of a senior fraud toolkit. This​

29.3 is a onetime appropriation.​

5,640,000​5,583,000​29.4 Subd. 6. Insurance​

29.5 Appropriations by Fund​

5,081,000​5,025,000​29.6 General​

559,000​558,000​
29.7 Workers'​
29.8 Compensation​

29.9 (a) $642,000 each year is for health insurance​

29.10 rate review staffing.​

29.11 (b) $412,000 each year is for actuarial work​

29.12 to prepare for implementation of​

29.13 principle-based reserves.​

173,000​$​501,000​$​29.14 Sec. 7. HUMAN SERVICES DEPARTMENT​

29.15 $501,000 the first year and $173,000 the​

29.16 second year are for IT systems costs associated​

29.17 with paid family and medical leave under​

29.18 Minnesota Statutes, chapter 268B. In fiscal​

29.19 year 2022 and beyond, the base amount is​

29.20 $115,000.​

106,000​$​51,000​$​
29.21 Sec. 8. MINNESOTA MANAGEMENT AND​
29.22 BUDGET​

29.23 (a) $29,000 the first year and $13,000 the​

29.24 second year are for implementation and costs​

29.25 associated with paid family and medical leave​

29.26 under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 268B.​

29.27 (b) $22,000 the first year and $93,000 the​

29.28 second year are for costs associated with​

29.29 earned sick and safe time under Minnesota​

29.30 Statutes, section 181.9445.​

91,000​$​-0-​$​29.31 Sec. 9. REVENUE DEPARTMENT​

29.32 $91,000 the second year is for implementation​

29.33 and costs associated with paid family and​

29​Article 1 Sec. 9.​
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30.1 medical leave under Minnesota Statutes,​

30.2 chapter 268B. In fiscal year 2022, the base​

30.3 amount is $149,000 and in fiscal year 2023​

30.4 and beyond, the base amount is $117,000.​

15,000​$​-0-​$​30.5 Sec. 10. SUPREME COURT​

30.6 $15,000 the second year is for responsibilities​

30.7 related to Minnesota Statutes, chapter 268B.​

30.8 In fiscal year 2022, the base amount is $0 and​

30.9 in fiscal year 2023 and beyond, the base​

30.10 amount is $3,433,000.​

654,000​$​654,000​$​30.11 Sec. 11. ATTORNEY GENERAL​

30.12 $654,000 each year is for wage theft​

30.13 prevention.​

30.14 ARTICLE 2​

30.15 FAMILY AND MEDICAL BENEFITS​

30.16 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 13.719, is amended by adding a subdivision​

30.17 to read:​

30.18 Subd. 7. Family and medical insurance data. (a) For the purposes of this subdivision,​

30.19 the terms used have the meanings given them in section 268B.01.​

30.20 (b) Data on applicants, family members, or employers under chapter 268B are private​

30.21 or nonpublic data, provided that the department may share data collected from applicants​

30.22 with employers or health care providers to the extent necessary to meet the requirements​

30.23 of chapter 268B or other applicable law.​

30.24 (c) The department and the Department of Labor and Industry may share data classified​

30.25 under paragraph (b) to the extent necessary to meet the requirements of chapter 268B or​

30.26 the Department of Labor and Industry's enforcement authority over chapter 268B, as provided​

30.27 in section 177.27.​

30.28 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 177.27, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

30.29 Subd. 4. Compliance orders. The commissioner may issue an order requiring an​

30.30 employer to comply with sections 177.21 to 177.435, 181.02, 181.03, 181.031, 181.032,​

30.31 181.101, 181.11, 181.13, 181.14, 181.145, 181.15, 181.172, paragraph (a) or (d), 181.275,​

30​Article 2 Sec. 2.​
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31.1 subdivision 2a, 181.722, 181.79, and 181.939 to 181.943, 268B.09, subdivisions 1 to 6, and​

31.2 268B.12, subdivision 2, or with any rule promulgated under section 177.28. The​

31.3 commissioner shall issue an order requiring an employer to comply with sections 177.41​

31.4 to 177.435 if the violation is repeated. For purposes of this subdivision only, a violation is​

31.5 repeated if at any time during the two years that preceded the date of violation, the​

31.6 commissioner issued an order to the employer for violation of sections 177.41 to 177.435​

31.7 and the order is final or the commissioner and the employer have entered into a settlement​

31.8 agreement that required the employer to pay back wages that were required by sections​

31.9 177.41 to 177.435. The department shall serve the order upon the employer or the employer's​

31.10 authorized representative in person or by certified mail at the employer's place of business.​

31.11 An employer who wishes to contest the order must file written notice of objection to the​

31.12 order with the commissioner within 15 calendar days after being served with the order. A​

31.13 contested case proceeding must then be held in accordance with sections 14.57 to 14.69.​

31.14 If, within 15 calendar days after being served with the order, the employer fails to file a​

31.15 written notice of objection with the commissioner, the order becomes a final order of the​

31.16 commissioner.​

31.17 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 181.032, is amended to read:​

31.18 181.032 REQUIRED STATEMENT OF EARNINGS BY EMPLOYER.​

31.19 (a) At the end of each pay period, the employer shall provide each employee an earnings​

31.20 statement, either in writing or by electronic means, covering that pay period. An employer​

31.21 who chooses to provide an earnings statement by electronic means must provide employee​

31.22 access to an employer-owned computer during an employee's regular working hours to​

31.23 review and print earnings statements, and must make statements available for review or​

31.24 printing for a period of at least 12 months.​

31.25 (b) The earnings statement may be in any form determined by the employer but must​

31.26 include:​

31.27 (1) the name of the employee;​

31.28 (2) the hourly rate of pay (if applicable);​

31.29 (3) the total number of hours worked by the employee unless exempt from chapter 177;​

31.30 (4) the total amount of gross pay earned by the employee during that period;​

31.31 (5) a list of deductions made from the employee's pay;​
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32.1 (6) any amount deducted by the employer under section 268B.12, subdivision 2, and​

32.2 the amount paid by the employer based on the employee's wages under section 268B.12,​

32.3 subdivision 1;​

32.4 (6) (7) the net amount of pay after all deductions are made;​

32.5 (7) (8) the date on which the pay period ends; and​

32.6 (8) (9) the legal name of the employer and the operating name of the employer if different​

32.7 from the legal name.​

32.8 (c) An employer must provide earnings statements to an employee in writing, rather​

32.9 than by electronic means, if the employer has received at least 24 hours notice from an​

32.10 employee that the employee would like to receive earnings statements in written form. Once​

32.11 an employer has received notice from an employee that the employee would like to receive​

32.12 earnings statements in written form, the employer must comply with that request on an​

32.13 ongoing basis.​

32.14 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 268.19, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

32.15 Subdivision 1. Use of data. (a) Except as provided by this section, data gathered from​

32.16 any person under the administration of the Minnesota Unemployment Insurance Law are​

32.17 private data on individuals or nonpublic data not on individuals as defined in section 13.02,​

32.18 subdivisions 9 and 12, and may not be disclosed except according to a district court order​

32.19 or section 13.05. A subpoena is not considered a district court order. These data may be​

32.20 disseminated to and used by the following agencies without the consent of the subject of​

32.21 the data:​

32.22 (1) state and federal agencies specifically authorized access to the data by state or federal​

32.23 law;​

32.24 (2) any agency of any other state or any federal agency charged with the administration​

32.25 of an unemployment insurance program;​

32.26 (3) any agency responsible for the maintenance of a system of public employment offices​

32.27 for the purpose of assisting individuals in obtaining employment;​

32.28 (4) the public authority responsible for child support in Minnesota or any other state in​

32.29 accordance with section 256.978;​

32.30 (5) human rights agencies within Minnesota that have enforcement powers;​

32.31 (6) the Department of Revenue to the extent necessary for its duties under Minnesota​

32.32 laws;​
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33.1 (7) public and private agencies responsible for administering publicly financed assistance​

33.2 programs for the purpose of monitoring the eligibility of the program's recipients;​

33.3 (8) the Department of Labor and Industry and the Commerce Fraud Bureau in the​

33.4 Department of Commerce for uses consistent with the administration of their duties under​

33.5 Minnesota law;​

33.6 (9) the Department of Human Services and the Office of Inspector General and its agents​

33.7 within the Department of Human Services, including county fraud investigators, for​

33.8 investigations related to recipient or provider fraud and employees of providers when the​

33.9 provider is suspected of committing public assistance fraud;​

33.10 (10) local and state welfare agencies for monitoring the eligibility of the data subject​

33.11 for assistance programs, or for any employment or training program administered by those​

33.12 agencies, whether alone, in combination with another welfare agency, or in conjunction​

33.13 with the department or to monitor and evaluate the statewide Minnesota family investment​

33.14 program by providing data on recipients and former recipients of food stamps or food​

33.15 support, cash assistance under chapter 256, 256D, 256J, or 256K, child care assistance under​

33.16 chapter 119B, or medical programs under chapter 256B or 256L or formerly codified under​

33.17 chapter 256D;​

33.18 (11) local and state welfare agencies for the purpose of identifying employment, wages,​

33.19 and other information to assist in the collection of an overpayment debt in an assistance​

33.20 program;​

33.21 (12) local, state, and federal law enforcement agencies for the purpose of ascertaining​

33.22 the last known address and employment location of an individual who is the subject of a​

33.23 criminal investigation;​

33.24 (13) the United States Immigration and Customs Enforcement has access to data on​

33.25 specific individuals and specific employers provided the specific individual or specific​

33.26 employer is the subject of an investigation by that agency;​

33.27 (14) the Department of Health for the purposes of epidemiologic investigations;​

33.28 (15) the Department of Corrections for the purposes of case planning and internal research​

33.29 for preprobation, probation, and postprobation employment tracking of offenders sentenced​

33.30 to probation and preconfinement and postconfinement employment tracking of committed​

33.31 offenders;​

33.32 (16) the state auditor to the extent necessary to conduct audits of job opportunity building​

33.33 zones as required under section 469.3201; and​
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34.1 (17) the Office of Higher Education for purposes of supporting program improvement,​

34.2 system evaluation, and research initiatives including the Statewide Longitudinal Education​

34.3 Data System.; and​

34.4 (18) the Family and Medical Benefits Division of the Department of Employment and​

34.5 Economic Development to be used as necessary to administer chapter 268B.​

34.6 (b) Data on individuals and employers that are collected, maintained, or used by the​

34.7 department in an investigation under section 268.182 are confidential as to data on individuals​

34.8 and protected nonpublic data not on individuals as defined in section 13.02, subdivisions 3​

34.9 and 13, and must not be disclosed except under statute or district court order or to a party​

34.10 named in a criminal proceeding, administrative or judicial, for preparation of a defense.​

34.11 (c) Data gathered by the department in the administration of the Minnesota unemployment​

34.12 insurance program must not be made the subject or the basis for any suit in any civil​

34.13 proceedings, administrative or judicial, unless the action is initiated by the department.​

34.14 Sec. 5. [268B.01] DEFINITIONS.​

34.15 Subdivision 1. Scope. For the purposes of this chapter, the terms defined in this section​

34.16 have the meanings given them.​

34.17 Subd. 2. Account. "Account" means the family and medical benefit insurance account​

34.18 in the special revenue fund in the state treasury under section 268B.02.​

34.19 Subd. 3. Applicant. "Applicant" means an individual applying for leave with benefits​

34.20 under this chapter.​

34.21 Subd. 4. Applicant's average weekly wage. "Applicant's average weekly wage" means​

34.22 an amount equal to the applicant's high quarter wage credits divided by 13.​

34.23 Subd. 5. Benefit. "Benefit" or "benefits" mean monetary payments under this chapter​

34.24 associated with qualifying bonding, family care, pregnancy, serious health condition,​

34.25 qualifying exigency, or safety leave events, unless otherwise indicated by context.​

34.26 Subd. 6. Benefit year. "Benefit year" means a period of 52 consecutive calendar weeks​

34.27 beginning on the first day of a leave approved for benefits under this chapter.​

34.28 Subd. 7. Bonding. "Bonding" means time spent by an applicant who is a biological,​

34.29 adoptive, or foster parent with a biological, adopted, or foster child in conjunction with the​

34.30 child's birth, adoption, or placement.​

34.31 Subd. 8. Calendar day. "Calendar day" or "day" means a fixed 24-hour period​

34.32 corresponding to a single calendar date.​
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35.1 Subd. 9. Calendar week. "Calendar week" means a period of seven consecutive calendar​

35.2 days.​

35.3 Subd. 10. Commissioner. "Commissioner" means the commissioner of employment​

35.4 and economic development, unless otherwise indicated by context.​

35.5 Subd. 11. Continuing treatment. A serious health condition involving continuing​

35.6 treatment by a health care provider includes any one or more of the following:​

35.7 (1) a period of incapacity of more than three consecutive, full calendar days, and any​

35.8 subsequent treatment or period of incapacity relating to the same condition, that also involves:​

35.9 (i) treatment two or more times within 30 calendar days of the first day of incapacity,​

35.10 unless extenuating circumstances exist, by a health care provider; or​

35.11 (ii) treatment by a health care provider on at least one occasion that results in a regimen​

35.12 of continuing treatment under the supervision of the health care provider;​

35.13 (2) any period of incapacity or treatment for such incapacity due to a chronic serious​

35.14 health condition. A chronic serious health condition is one that:​

35.15 (i) requires periodic visits, defined as at least twice per year, for treatment for the​

35.16 incapacity by a health care provider;​

35.17 (ii) continues over an extended period of time, including recurring episodes of a single​

35.18 underlying condition; and​

35.19 (iii) may cause episodic rather than a continuing period of incapacity;​

35.20 (3) a period of incapacity that is long-term due to a condition for which treatment may​

35.21 not be effective, with the employee or family member under the supervision of, but not​

35.22 necessarily receiving active treatment by a health care provider; and​

35.23 (4) any period of absence to receive multiple treatments by a health care provider,​

35.24 including any period of recovery therefrom, for:​

35.25 (i) restorative surgery after an accident or other injury; or​

35.26 (ii) a condition that would likely result in a period of incapacity of more than seven​

35.27 consecutive, calendar days in the absence of medical intervention or treatment, such as​

35.28 cancer, severe arthritis, or kidney disease.​

35.29 Subd. 12. Covered employment. "Covered employment" has the meaning given in​

35.30 section 268.035, subdivision 12.​

35.31 Subd. 13. Day. "Day" means an eight-hour period.​
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36.1 Subd. 14. Department. "Department" means the Department of Employment and​

36.2 Economic Development, unless otherwise indicated by context.​

36.3 Subd. 15. Employee. "Employee" means an individual for whom premiums are paid on​

36.4 wages under this chapter.​

36.5 Subd. 16. Employer. "Employer" means a person or entity, other than an employee,​

36.6 required to pay premiums under this chapter, except that a self-employed individual who​

36.7 has elected and been approved for coverage under section 268B.11 is not considered an​

36.8 employer with regard to the self-employed individual's own coverage and benefits.​

36.9 Subd. 17. Estimated self-employment income. "Estimated self-employment income"​

36.10 means a self-employed individual's average net earnings from self-employment in the two​

36.11 most recent taxable years. For a self-employed individual who had net earnings from​

36.12 self-employment in only one of the years, the individual's estimated self-employment income​

36.13 equals the individual's net earnings from self-employment in the year in which the individual​

36.14 had net earnings from self-employment.​

36.15 Subd. 18. Family benefit program. "Family benefit program" means the program​

36.16 administered under this chapter for the collection of premiums and payment of benefits​

36.17 related to family care, bonding, safety leave, and leave related to a qualifying exigency.​

36.18 Subd. 19. Family care. "Family care" means an applicant caring for a family member​

36.19 with a serious health condition or caring for a family member who is a covered service​

36.20 member.​

36.21 Subd. 20. Family member. (a) "Family member" means an employee's child, adult​

36.22 child, spouse, sibling, parent, parent-in-law, grandchild, grandparent, stepparent, member​

36.23 of the employee's household, or an individual described in paragraph (e).​

36.24 (b) For the purposes of this chapter, a child includes a stepchild, biological, adopted, or​

36.25 foster child of the employee.​

36.26 (c) For the purposes of this chapter, a grandchild includes a step-grandchild, biological,​

36.27 adopted, or foster grandchild of the employee.​

36.28 (d) For the purposes of this chapter, an individual is a member of the employee's​

36.29 household if the individual has resided at the same address as the employee for at least one​

36.30 year as of the first day of a leave under this chapter.​

36.31 (e) For the purposes of this chapter, an individual with a serious health condition is​

36.32 deemed a family member of the employee if (1) a health care provider certifies in writing​

36.33 that the individual requires care relating to the serious health condition, and (2) the employee​
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37.1 and the care recipient certify in writing that the employee will be providing the required​

37.2 care.​

37.3 Subd. 21. Health care provider. "Health care provider" means an individual who is​

37.4 licensed, certified, or otherwise authorized under law to practice in the individual's scope​

37.5 of practice as a physician, osteopath, physician assistant, chiropractor, advanced practice​

37.6 registered nurse, licensed psychologist, licensed independent clinical social worker, or​

37.7 dentist. "Chiropractor" means only a chiropractor who provides manual manipulation of​

37.8 the spine to correct a subluxation demonstrated to exist by an x-ray.​

37.9 Subd. 22. High quarter. "High quarter" has the meaning given in section 268.035,​

37.10 subdivision 19.​

37.11 Subd. 23. Independent contractor. (a) If there is an existing specific test or definition​

37.12 for independent contractor in Minnesota statute or rule applicable to an occupation or sector​

37.13 as of the date of enactment of this chapter, that test or definition will apply to that occupation​

37.14 or sector for purposes of this chapter. If there is not an existing test or definition as described,​

37.15 the definition for independent contractor shall be as provided in this subdivision.​

37.16 (b) An individual is an independent contractor and not an employee of the person for​

37.17 whom the individual is performing services in the course of the person's trade, business,​

37.18 profession, or occupation only if:​

37.19 (1) the individual maintains a separate business with the individual's own office,​

37.20 equipment, materials, and other facilities;​

37.21 (2) the individual:​

37.22 (i) holds or has applied for a federal employer identification number; or​

37.23 (ii) has filed business or self-employment income tax returns with the federal Internal​

37.24 Revenue Service if the individual has performed services in the previous year;​

37.25 (3) the individual is operating under contract to perform the specific services for the​

37.26 person for specific amounts of money and under which the individual controls the means​

37.27 of performing the services;​

37.28 (4) the individual is incurring the main expenses related to the services that the individual​

37.29 is performing for the person under the contract;​

37.30 (5) the individual is responsible for the satisfactory completion of the services that the​

37.31 individual has contracted to perform for the person and is liable for a failure to complete​

37.32 the services;​
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38.1 (6) the individual receives compensation from the person for the services performed​

38.2 under the contract on a commission or per-job or competitive bid basis and not on any other​

38.3 basis;​

38.4 (7) the individual may realize a profit or suffer a loss under the contract to perform​

38.5 services for the person;​

38.6 (8) the individual has continuing or recurring business liabilities or obligations; and​

38.7 (9) the success or failure of the individual's business depends on the relationship of​

38.8 business receipts to expenditures.​

38.9 (c) For the purposes of this chapter, an insurance producer, as defined in section 60K.31,​

38.10 subdivision 6, is an independent contractor of an insurance company, as defined in section​

38.11 60A.02, subdivision 4, unless the insurance producer and insurance company agree otherwise.​

38.12 Subd. 24. Inpatient care. "Inpatient care" means an overnight stay in a hospital, hospice,​

38.13 or residential medical care facility, including any period of incapacity defined under​

38.14 subdivision 33, paragraph (b), or any subsequent treatment in connection with such inpatient​

38.15 care.​

38.16 Subd. 25. Maximum weekly benefit amount. "Maximum weekly benefit amount"​

38.17 means the state's average weekly wage as calculated under section 268.035, subdivision 23.​

38.18 Subd. 26. Medical benefit program. "Medical benefit program" means the program​

38.19 administered under this chapter for the collection of premiums and payment of benefits​

38.20 related to an applicant's serious health condition or pregnancy.​

38.21 Subd. 27. Net earnings from self-employment. "Net earnings from self-employment"​

38.22 has the meaning given in section 1402 of the Internal Revenue Code, as defined in section​

38.23 290.01, subdivision 31.​

38.24 Subd. 28. Noncovered employment. "Noncovered employment" has the meaning given​

38.25 in section 268.035, subdivision 20.​

38.26 Subd. 29. Pregnancy. "Pregnancy" means prenatal care or incapacity due to pregnancy,​

38.27 or recovery from childbirth, still birth, miscarriage, or related health conditions.​

38.28 Subd. 30. Qualifying exigency. (a) "Qualifying exigency" means a need arising out of​

38.29 a military member's active duty service or notice of an impending call or order to active​

38.30 duty in the United States armed forces, including providing for the care or other needs of​

38.31 the family member's child or other dependent, making financial or legal arrangements for​

38.32 the family member, attending counseling, attending military events or ceremonies, spending​
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39.1 time with the family member during a rest and recuperation leave or following return from​

39.2 deployment, or making arrangements following the death of the military member.​

39.3 (b) For the purposes of this chapter, a "military member" means a current or former​

39.4 member of the United States armed forces, including a member of the National Guard or​

39.5 reserves, who, except for a deceased military member, is a resident of the state and is a​

39.6 family member of the employee taking leave related to the qualifying exigency.​

39.7 Subd. 31. Safety leave. "Safety leave" means leave from work because of domestic​

39.8 abuse, sexual assault, or stalking of the employee or employee's family member, provided​

39.9 the leave is to:​

39.10 (1) seek medical attention related to the physical or psychological injury or disability​

39.11 caused by domestic abuse, sexual assault, or stalking;​

39.12 (2) obtain services from a victim services organization;​

39.13 (3) obtain psychological or other counseling;​

39.14 (4) seek relocation due to the domestic abuse, sexual assault, or stalking; or​

39.15 (5) seek legal advice or take legal action, including preparing for or participating in any​

39.16 civil or criminal legal proceeding related to, or resulting from, the domestic abuse, sexual​

39.17 assault, or stalking.​

39.18 Subd. 32. Self-employed individual. "Self-employed individual" means a resident of​

39.19 the state who, in one of the two taxable years preceding the current calendar year, derived​

39.20 at least $10,000 in net earnings from self-employment from an entity other than an S​

39.21 corporation for the performance of services in this state.​

39.22 Subd. 33. Self-employment premium base. "Self-employment premium base" means​

39.23 the lesser of:​

39.24 (1) a self-employed individual's estimated self-employment income for the calendar year​

39.25 plus the individual's self-employment wages in the calendar year; or​

39.26 (2) the maximum earnings subject to the FICA Old-Age, Survivors, and Disability​

39.27 Insurance tax in the taxable year.​

39.28 Subd. 34. Self-employment wages. "Self-employment wages" means the amount of​

39.29 wages that a self-employed individual earned in the calendar year from an entity from which​

39.30 the individual also received net earnings from self-employment.​

39.31 Subd. 35. Serious health condition. (a) "Serious health condition" means an illness,​

39.32 injury, impairment, or physical or mental condition that involves inpatient care as defined​
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40.1 in subdivision 24 or continuing treatment by a health care provider as defined in subdivision​

40.2 11.​

40.3 (b) "Incapacity" means inability to work, attend school, or perform other regular daily​

40.4 activities due to the serious health condition, treatment therefore, or recovery therefrom.​

40.5 (c) Treatment includes but is not limited to examinations to determine if a serious health​

40.6 condition exists and evaluations of the condition. Treatment does not include routine physical​

40.7 examinations, eye examinations, or dental examinations. A regimen of continuing treatment​

40.8 includes, for example, a course of prescription medication or therapy requiring special​

40.9 equipment to resolve or alleviate the health condition.​

40.10 Subd. 36. State's average weekly wage. "State's average weekly wage" means the​

40.11 weekly wage calculated under section 268.035, subdivision 23.​

40.12 Subd. 37. Taxable year. "Taxable year" has the meaning given in section 290.01,​

40.13 subdivision 9.​

40.14 Subd. 38. Wage credits. "Wage credits" has the meaning given in section 268.035,​

40.15 subdivision 27.​

40.16 Sec. 6. [268B.02] FAMILY AND MEDICAL BENEFIT INSURANCE PROGRAM​

40.17 CREATION.​

40.18 Subdivision 1. Creation. A family and medical benefit insurance program is created to​

40.19 be administered by the commissioner according to the terms of this chapter.​

40.20 Subd. 2. Creation of division. A Family and Medical Benefit Insurance Division is​

40.21 created within the department under the authority of the commissioner. The commissioner​

40.22 shall appoint a director of the division. The division shall administer and operate the benefit​

40.23 program under this chapter.​

40.24 Subd. 3. Rulemaking. The commissioner may adopt rules to implement the provisions​

40.25 of this chapter.​

40.26 Subd. 4. Account creation; appropriation. The family and medical benefit insurance​

40.27 account is created in the special revenue fund in the state treasury. Money in this account​

40.28 is appropriated to the commissioner to pay benefits under and to administer this chapter,​

40.29 including outreach required under section 268B.15.​

40.30 Subd. 5. Information technology services and equipment. The department is exempt​

40.31 from the provisions of section 16E.016 for the purposes of this chapter.​
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41.1 Sec. 7. [268B.03] ELIGIBILITY.​

41.2 Subdivision 1. Applicant. An applicant who has a serious health condition, has a​

41.3 qualifying exigency, is taking safety leave, is providing family care, is bonding, or is pregnant​

41.4 or recovering from pregnancy, and who satisfies the conditions of this section is eligible to​

41.5 receive benefits subject to the provisions of this chapter.​

41.6 Subd. 2. Wage credits. An applicant must have sufficient wage credits from an employer​

41.7 or employers as defined in section 268B.01, subdivision 16, to establish a benefit account​

41.8 under section 268.07, subdivision 2.​

41.9 Subd. 3. Seven-day qualifying event. (a) The period for which an applicant is seeking​

41.10 benefits must be or have been based on a single event of at least seven calendar days' duration​

41.11 related to pregnancy, recovery from pregnancy, family care, a qualifying exigency, safety​

41.12 leave, or the applicant's serious health condition. The days need not be consecutive.​

41.13 (b) Benefits related to bonding need not meet the seven-day qualifying event requirement.​

41.14 (c) The commissioner must use the rulemaking authority under section 268B.02,​

41.15 subdivision 3, to adopt rules regarding what serious health conditions and other events are​

41.16 prospectively presumed to constitute seven-day qualifying events under this chapter.​

41.17 Subd. 4. Ineligible. (a) An applicant is not eligible for benefits for any portion of a day​

41.18 for which the applicant worked for pay.​

41.19 (b) An applicant is not eligible for benefits for any day for which the applicant received​

41.20 benefits under chapter 176 or 268.​

41.21 Subd. 5. Certification. An applicant for benefits under this chapter must fulfill the​

41.22 certification requirements under section 268B.04, subdivision 2.​

41.23 Subd. 6. Records release. An individual whose medical records are necessary to​

41.24 determine eligibility for benefits under this chapter must sign and date a legally effective​

41.25 waiver authorizing release of medical or other records, to the limited extent necessary to​

41.26 administer or enforce this chapter, to the department and the Department of Labor and​

41.27 Industry.​

41.28 Subd. 7. Self-employed individual applicant. To fulfill the requirements of this section,​

41.29 a self-employed individual or independent contractor who has elected and been approved​

41.30 for coverage under section 268B.011 must fulfill only the requirements of subdivisions 3,​

41.31 4, 5, and 6.​
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42.1 Sec. 8. [268B.04] APPLICATIONS.​

42.2 Subdivision 1. Process; deadline. Applicants must file a benefit claim pursuant to rules​

42.3 promulgated by the commissioner within 90 calendar days of the related qualifying event.​

42.4 If a claim is filed more than 90 calendar days after the start of leave, the covered individual​

42.5 may receive reduced benefits. All claims shall include a certification supporting a request​

42.6 for leave under this chapter. The commissioner must establish good cause exemptions from​

42.7 the certification requirement deadline in the event that a serious health condition of the​

42.8 applicant prevents the applicant from providing the required certification within the 90​

42.9 calendar days.​

42.10 Subd. 2. Certification. (a) Certification for an applicant taking leave related to the​

42.11 applicant's serious health condition shall be sufficient if the certification states the date on​

42.12 which the serious health condition began, the probable duration of the condition, and the​

42.13 appropriate medical facts within the knowledge of the health care provider as required by​

42.14 the commissioner.​

42.15 (b) Certification for an applicant taking leave to care for a family member with a serious​

42.16 health condition shall be sufficient if the certification states the date on which the serious​

42.17 health condition commenced, the probable duration of the condition, the appropriate medical​

42.18 facts within the knowledge of the health care provider as required by the commissioner, a​

42.19 statement that the family member requires care, and an estimate of the amount of time that​

42.20 the family member will require care.​

42.21 (c) Certification for an applicant taking leave related to pregnancy shall be sufficient if​

42.22 the certification states the expected due date and recovery period based on appropriate​

42.23 medical facts within the knowledge of the health care provider.​

42.24 (d) Certification for an applicant taking bonding leave because of the birth of the​

42.25 applicant's child shall be sufficient if the certification includes either the child's birth​

42.26 certificate or a document issued by the health care provider of the child or the health care​

42.27 provider of the person who gave birth, stating the child's birth date.​

42.28 (e) Certification for an applicant taking bonding leave because of the placement of a​

42.29 child with the applicant for adoption or foster care shall be sufficient if the applicant provides​

42.30 a document issued by the health care provider of the child, an adoption or foster care agency​

42.31 involved in the placement, or by other individuals as determined by the commissioner that​

42.32 confirms the placement and the date of placement. To the extent that the status of an applicant​

42.33 as an adoptive or foster parent changes while an application for benefits is pending, or while​
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43.1 the covered individual is receiving benefits, the applicant must notify the department of​

43.2 such change in status in writing.​

43.3 (f) Certification for an applicant taking leave because of a qualifying exigency shall be​

43.4 sufficient if the certification includes:​

43.5 (1) a copy of the family member's active-duty orders;​

43.6 (2) other documentation issued by the United States armed forces; or​

43.7 (3) other documentation permitted by the commissioner.​

43.8 (g) Certification for an applicant taking safety leave is sufficient if the certification​

43.9 includes a court record or documentation signed by a volunteer or employee of a victim's​

43.10 services organization, an attorney, a police officer, or an antiviolence counselor. The​

43.11 commissioner must not require disclosure of details relating to an applicant's or applicant's​

43.12 family member's domestic abuse, sexual assault, or stalking.​

43.13 (h) Certifications under paragraphs (a) to (e) must be reviewed and signed by a health​

43.14 care provider with knowledge of the qualifying event associated with the leave.​

43.15 (i) For a leave taken on an intermittent or reduced-schedule basis, based on a serious​

43.16 health condition of an applicant or applicant's family member, the certification under this​

43.17 subdivision must include an explanation of how such leave would be medically beneficial​

43.18 to the individual with the serious health condition.​

43.19 Sec. 9. [268B.05] DETERMINATION OF APPLICATION.​

43.20 Upon the filing of a complete application for benefits, the commissioner shall examine​

43.21 the application and on the basis of facts found by the commissioner and records maintained​

43.22 by the department, the applicant shall be determined to be eligible or ineligible within two​

43.23 weeks. If the application is determined to be valid, the commissioner shall promptly notify​

43.24 the applicant and any other interested party as to the week when benefits commence, the​

43.25 weekly benefit amount payable, and the maximum duration of those benefits. If the​

43.26 application is determined to be invalid, the commissioner shall notify the applicant and any​

43.27 other interested party of that determination and the reasons for it. If the processing of the​

43.28 application is delayed for any reason, the commissioner shall notify the applicant, in writing,​

43.29 within two weeks of the date the application for benefits is filed of the reason for the delay.​

43.30 Unless the applicant or any other interested party, within 30 calendar days, requests a hearing​

43.31 before a benefit judge, the determination is final. For good cause shown, the 30-day period​

43.32 may be extended. At any time within one year from the date of a monetary determination,​

43.33 the commissioner, upon request of the applicant or on the commissioner's own initiative,​
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44.1 may reconsider the determination if it is found that an error in computation or identity has​

44.2 occurred in connection with the determination or that additional wages pertinent to the​

44.3 applicant's status have become available, or if that determination has been made as a result​

44.4 of a nondisclosure or misrepresentation of a material fact.​

44.5 Sec. 10. [268B.06] EMPLOYER NOTIFICATION.​

44.6 (a) Upon a determination under section 268B.05 that an applicant is entitled to benefits,​

44.7 the commissioner must promptly send a notification to each current employer of the applicant,​

44.8 if any, in accordance with paragraph (b).​

44.9 (b) The notification under paragraph (a) must include, at a minimum:​

44.10 (1) the name of the applicant;​

44.11 (2) that the applicant has applied for and received benefits;​

44.12 (3) the week the benefits commence;​

44.13 (4) the weekly benefit amount payable;​

44.14 (5) the maximum duration of benefits; and​

44.15 (6) descriptions of the employer's right to participate in a hearing under section 268B.05,​

44.16 and appeal process under section 268B.07.​

44.17 Sec. 11. [268B.07] APPEAL PROCESS.​

44.18 Subdivision 1. Hearing. (a) The commissioner shall designate a chief benefit judge.​

44.19 (b) Upon a timely appeal to a determination having been filed or upon a referral for​

44.20 direct hearing, the chief benefit judge must set a time and date for a de novo due-process​

44.21 hearing and send notice to an applicant and an employer, by mail or electronic transmission,​

44.22 not less than ten calendar days before the date of the hearing.​

44.23 (c) The commissioner may adopt rules on procedures for hearings. The rules need not​

44.24 conform to common law or statutory rules of evidence and other technical rules of procedure.​

44.25 (d) The chief benefit judge has discretion regarding the method by which the hearing is​

44.26 conducted.​

44.27 Subd. 2. Decision. (a) After the conclusion of the hearing, upon the evidence obtained,​

44.28 the benefit judge must serve by mail or electronic transmission to all parties, the decision,​

44.29 reasons for the decision, and written findings of fact.​

44.30 (b) Decisions of a benefit judge are not precedential.​
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45.1 Subd. 3. Request for reconsideration. Any party, or the commissioner, may, within​

45.2 30 calendar days after service of the benefit judge's decision, file a request for reconsideration​

45.3 asking the judge to reconsider that decision.​

45.4 Subd. 4. Appeal to court of appeals. Any final determination on a request for​

45.5 reconsideration may be appealed by any party directly to the Minnesota Court of Appeals.​

45.6 Subd. 5. Benefit judges. (a) Only employees of the department who are attorneys licensed​

45.7 to practice law in Minnesota may serve as a chief benefit judge, senior benefit judges who​

45.8 are supervisors, or benefit judges.​

45.9 (b) The chief benefit judge must assign a benefit judge to conduct a hearing and may​

45.10 transfer to another benefit judge any proceedings pending before another benefit judge.​

45.11 Sec. 12. [268B.08] BENEFITS.​

45.12 Subdivision 1. Weekly benefit amount. (a) Subject to the maximum weekly benefit​

45.13 amount, an applicant's weekly benefit is calculated by adding the amounts obtained by​

45.14 applying the following percentage to an applicant's average weekly wage:​

45.15 (1) 90 percent of wages that do not exceed 50 percent of the state's average weekly wage;​

45.16 plus​

45.17 (2) 66 percent of wages that exceed 50 percent of the state's average weekly wage but​

45.18 not 100 percent; plus​

45.19 (3) 55 percent of wages that exceed 100 percent of the state's average weekly wage.​

45.20 (b) The state's average weekly wage is the average wage as calculated under section​

45.21 268.035, subdivision 23, at the time a benefit amount is first determined.​

45.22 (c) Notwithstanding any other provision in this section, weekly benefits must not exceed​

45.23 the maximum weekly benefit amount applicable at the time benefit payments commence.​

45.24 Subd. 2. Timing of payment. Except as otherwise provided for in this chapter, benefits​

45.25 must be paid weekly.​

45.26 Subd. 3. Maximum length of benefits. (a) Except as provided in paragraph (b), in a​

45.27 single benefit year, an applicant may receive up to 12 weeks of benefits under this chapter​

45.28 related to the applicant's serious health condition or pregnancy and up to 12 weeks of benefits​

45.29 under this chapter for bonding, safety leave, or family care.​

45.30 (b) An applicant may receive up to 12 weeks of benefits in a single benefit year for leave​

45.31 related to one or more qualifying exigencies.​
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46.1 Subd. 4. Minimum period for which benefits payable. Except for a claim for benefits​

46.2 for bonding leave, any claim for benefits must be based on a single-qualifying event of at​

46.3 least seven calendar days. Benefits may be paid for a minimum increment of one day. The​

46.4 minimum increment of one day may consist of multiple, nonconsecutive portions of a day​

46.5 totaling eight hours.​

46.6 Subd. 5. Withholding of federal tax. If the Internal Revenue Service determines that​

46.7 benefits are subject to federal income tax, and an applicant elects to have federal income​

46.8 tax deducted and withheld from the applicant's benefits, the commissioner must deduct and​

46.9 withhold the amount specified in the Internal Revenue Code in a manner consistent with​

46.10 state law.​

46.11 Sec. 13. [268B.085] LEAVE.​

46.12 Subdivision 1. Right to leave. Ninety calendar days from the date of hire, an employee​

46.13 has a right to leave from employment for any day, or portion of a day, for which the employee​

46.14 would be eligible for benefits under this chapter, regardless of whether the employee actually​

46.15 applied for benefits and regardless of whether the employee is covered under a private plan​

46.16 or the public program under this chapter.​

46.17 Subd. 2. Notice to employer. (a) If the need for leave is foreseeable, an employee must​

46.18 provide the employer at least 30 days' advance notice before leave under this chapter is to​

46.19 begin. If 30 days' notice is not practicable because of a lack of knowledge of approximately​

46.20 when leave will be required to begin, a change in circumstances, or a medical emergency,​

46.21 notice must be given as soon as practicable. Whether leave is to be continuous or is to be​

46.22 taken intermittently or on a reduced schedule basis, notice need only be given one time, but​

46.23 the employee must advise the employer as soon as practicable if dates of scheduled leave​

46.24 change or are extended, or were initially unknown. In those cases where the employee is​

46.25 required to provide at least 30 days' notice of foreseeable leave and does not do so, the​

46.26 employee must explain the reasons why such notice was not practicable upon a request from​

46.27 the employer for such information.​

46.28 (b) "As soon as practicable" means as soon as both possible and practical, taking into​

46.29 account all of the facts and circumstances in the individual case. When an employee becomes​

46.30 aware of a need for leave under this chapter less than 30 days in advance, it should be​

46.31 practicable for the employee to provide notice of the need for leave either the same day or​

46.32 the next day, unless the need for leave is based on a medical emergency. In all cases,​

46.33 however, the determination of when an employee could practicably provide notice must​

46.34 take into account the individual facts and circumstances.​
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47.1 (c) An employee shall provide at least verbal notice sufficient to make the employer​

47.2 aware that the employee needs leave allowed under this chapter and the anticipated timing​

47.3 and duration of the leave. An employer may require an employee giving notice of leave to​

47.4 include a certification for the leave as described in section 268B.04, subdivision 2. Such​

47.5 certification, if required by an employer, is timely when the employee delivers it as soon​

47.6 as practicable given the circumstances requiring the need for leave, and the required contents​

47.7 of the certification.​

47.8 (d) An employer may require an employee to comply with the employer's usual and​

47.9 customary notice and procedural requirements for requesting leave, absent unusual​

47.10 circumstances or other circumstances caused by the reason for the employee's need for​

47.11 leave. Leave under this chapter must not be delayed or denied where an employer's usual​

47.12 and customary notice or procedural requirements require notice to be given sooner than set​

47.13 forth in this subdivision.​

47.14 (e) If an employer has failed to provide notice to the employee as required under section​

47.15 268B.22, paragraph (a), (b), or (e), the employee is not required to comply with the notice​

47.16 requirements of this subdivision.​

47.17 Subd. 3. Bonding leave. Bonding leave taken under this chapter begins at a time requested​

47.18 by the employee. Bonding leave must begin within 12 months of the birth, adoption, or​

47.19 placement of a foster child, except that, in the case where the child must remain in the​

47.20 hospital longer than the mother, the leave must begin within 12 months after the child leaves​

47.21 the hospital.​

47.22 Subd. 4. Intermittent or reduced leave schedule. (a) Leave under this chapter, based​

47.23 on a serious health condition, may be taken intermittently or on a reduced leave schedule​

47.24 if such leave would be medically beneficial to the individual with the serious health condition.​

47.25 For all other leaves under this chapter, leave may be taken intermittently or on a reduced​

47.26 leave schedule. Intermittent leave is leave taken in separate blocks of time due to a single,​

47.27 seven-day qualifying event. A reduced leave schedule is a leave schedule that reduces an​

47.28 employee's usual number of working hours per workweek or hours per workday.​

47.29 (b) Leave taken intermittently or on a reduced schedule basis counts toward the​

47.30 maximums described in section 268B.08, subdivision 3.​
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48.1 Sec. 14. [268B.09] EMPLOYMENT PROTECTIONS.​

48.2 Subdivision 1. Retaliation prohibited. An employer must not retaliate against an​

48.3 employee for requesting or obtaining benefits, or for exercising any other right under this​

48.4 chapter.​

48.5 Subd. 2. Interference prohibited. An employer must not obstruct or impede an​

48.6 application for leave or benefits or the exercise of any other right under this chapter.​

48.7 Subd. 3. Waiver of rights void. Any agreement to waive, release, or commute rights​

48.8 to benefits or any other right under this chapter is void.​

48.9 Subd. 4. No assignment of benefits. Any assignment, pledge, or encumbrance of benefits​

48.10 is void. Benefits are exempt from levy, execution, attachment, or any other remedy provided​

48.11 for the collection of debt. Any waiver of this subdivision is void.​

48.12 Subd. 5. Continued insurance. During any leave for which an employee is entitled to​

48.13 benefits under this chapter, the employer must maintain coverage under any group insurance​

48.14 policy, group subscriber contract, or health care plan for the employee and any dependents​

48.15 as if the employee was not on leave, provided, however, that the employee must continue​

48.16 to pay any employee share of the cost of such benefits.​

48.17 Subd. 6. Employee right to reinstatement. (a) On return from leave under this chapter,​

48.18 an employee is entitled to be returned to the same position the employee held when leave​

48.19 commenced or to an equivalent position with equivalent benefits, pay, and other terms and​

48.20 conditions of employment. An employee is entitled to such reinstatement even if the​

48.21 employee has been replaced or the employee's position has been restructured to accommodate​

48.22 the employee's absence.​

48.23 (b)(1) An equivalent position is one that is virtually identical to the employee's former​

48.24 position in terms of pay, benefits, and working conditions, including privileges, prerequisites,​

48.25 and status. It must involve the same or substantially similar duties and responsibilities,​

48.26 which must entail substantially equivalent skill, effort, responsibility, and authority.​

48.27 (2) If an employee is no longer qualified for the position because of the employee's​

48.28 inability to attend a necessary course, renew a license, fly a minimum number of hours, or​

48.29 the like, as a result of the leave, the employee must be given a reasonable opportunity to​

48.30 fulfill those conditions upon return from leave.​

48.31 (c)(1) An employee is entitled to any unconditional pay increases which may have​

48.32 occurred during the leave period, such as cost of living increases. Pay increases conditioned​

48.33 upon seniority, length of service, or work performed must be granted in accordance with​
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49.1 the employer's policy or practice with respect to other employees on an equivalent leave​

49.2 status for a reason that does not qualify for leave under this chapter. An employee is entitled​

49.3 to be restored to a position with the same or equivalent pay premiums, such as a shift​

49.4 differential. If an employee departed from a position averaging ten hours of overtime, and​

49.5 corresponding overtime pay, each week an employee is ordinarily entitled to such a position​

49.6 on return from leave under this chapter.​

49.7 (2) Equivalent pay includes any bonus or payment, whether it is discretionary or​

49.8 nondiscretionary, made to employees consistent with the provisions of clause (1). However,​

49.9 if a bonus or other payment is based on the achievement of a specified goal such as hours​

49.10 worked, products sold, or perfect attendance, and the employee has not met the goal due to​

49.11 leave under this chapter, the payment may be denied, unless otherwise paid to employees​

49.12 on an equivalent leave status for a reason that does not qualify for leave under this chapter.​

49.13 (d) Benefits under this section include all benefits provided or made available to​

49.14 employees by an employer, including group life insurance, health insurance, disability​

49.15 insurance, sick leave, annual leave, educational benefits, and pensions, regardless of whether​

49.16 such benefits are provided by a practice or written policy of an employer through an employee​

49.17 benefit plan as defined in section 3(3) of United States Code, title 29, section 1002(3).​

49.18 (1) At the end of an employee's leave under this chapter, benefits must be resumed in​

49.19 the same manner and at the same levels as provided when the leave began, and subject to​

49.20 any changes in benefit levels that may have taken place during the period of leave affecting​

49.21 the entire workforce, unless otherwise elected by the employee. Upon return from a leave​

49.22 under this chapter, an employee cannot be required to requalify for any benefits the employee​

49.23 enjoyed before leave began, including family or dependent coverages.​

49.24 (2) An employee may, but is not entitled to, accrue any additional benefits or seniority​

49.25 during a leave under this chapter. Benefits accrued at the time leave began, however, must​

49.26 be available to an employee upon return from leave.​

49.27 (3) With respect to pension and other retirement plans, leave under this chapter must​

49.28 not be treated as or counted toward a break in service for purposes of vesting and eligibility​

49.29 to participate. Also, if the plan requires an employee to be employed on a specific date in​

49.30 order to be credited with a year of service for vesting, contributions, or participation purposes,​

49.31 an employee on leave under this chapter must be treated as employed on that date. However,​

49.32 periods of leave under this chapter need not be treated as credited service for purposes of​

49.33 benefit accrual, vesting, and eligibility to participate.​
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50.1 (4) Employees on leave under this chapter must be treated as if they continued to work​

50.2 for purposes of changes to benefit plans. Employees on leave under this chapter are entitled​

50.3 to changes in benefit plans, except those which may be dependent upon seniority or accrual​

50.4 during the leave period, immediately upon return from leave or to the same extent they​

50.5 would have qualified if no leave had been taken.​

50.6 (e) An equivalent position must have substantially similar duties, conditions,​

50.7 responsibilities, privileges, and status as the employee's original position.​

50.8 (1) The employee must be reinstated to the same or a geographically proximate worksite​

50.9 from where the employee had previously been employed. If the employee's original worksite​

50.10 has been closed, the employee is entitled to the same rights as if the employee had not been​

50.11 on leave when the worksite closed.​

50.12 (2) The employee is ordinarily entitled to return to the same shift or the same or an​

50.13 equivalent work schedule.​

50.14 (3) The employee must have the same or an equivalent opportunity for bonuses,​

50.15 profit-sharing, and other similar discretionary and nondiscretionary payments.​

50.16 (4) This chapter does not prohibit an employer from accommodating an employee's​

50.17 request to be restored to a different shift, schedule, or position which better suits the​

50.18 employee's personal needs on return from leave, or to offer a promotion to a better position.​

50.19 However, an employee must not be induced by the employer to accept a different position​

50.20 against the employee's wishes.​

50.21 (f) The requirement that an employee be restored to the same or equivalent job with the​

50.22 same or equivalent pay, benefits, and terms and conditions of employment does not extend​

50.23 to de minimis, intangible, or unmeasurable aspects of the job.​

50.24 Subd. 7. Limitations on an employee's right to reinstatement. An employee has no​

50.25 greater right to reinstatement or to other benefits and conditions of employment than if the​

50.26 employee had been continuously employed during the period of leave under this chapter.​

50.27 An employer must be able to show that an employee would not otherwise have been​

50.28 employed at the time reinstatement is requested in order to deny restoration to employment.​

50.29 (1) If an employee is laid off during the course of taking a leave under this chapter and​

50.30 employment is terminated, the employer's responsibility to continue the leave, maintain​

50.31 group health plan benefits, and restore the employee cease at the time the employee is laid​

50.32 off, provided the employer has no continuing obligations under a collective bargaining​

50.33 agreement or otherwise. An employer would have the burden of proving that an employee​
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51.1 would have been laid off during the period of leave under this chapter and, therefore, would​

51.2 not be entitled to restoration. Restoration to a job slated for layoff when the employee's​

51.3 original position would not meet the requirements of an equivalent position.​

51.4 (2) If a shift has been eliminated or overtime has been decreased, an employee would​

51.5 not be entitled to return to work that shift or the original overtime hours upon restoration.​

51.6 However, if a position on, for example, a night shift has been filled by another employee,​

51.7 the employee is entitled to return to the same shift on which employed before taking leave​

51.8 under this chapter.​

51.9 (3) If an employee was hired for a specific term or only to perform work on a discrete​

51.10 project, the employer has no obligation to restore the employee if the employment term or​

51.11 project is over and the employer would not otherwise have continued to employ the employee.​

51.12 Subd. 8. Remedies. (a) In addition to any other remedies available to an employee in​

51.13 law or equity, an employer who violates the provisions of this section is liable to any​

51.14 employee affected for:​

51.15 (1) damages equal to the amount of:​

51.16 (i) any wages, salary, employment benefits, or other compensation denied or lost to such​

51.17 employee by reason of the violation, or, in a cases in which wages, salary, employment​

51.18 benefits, or other compensation have not been denied or lost to the employee, any actual​

51.19 monetary losses sustained by the employee as a direct result of the violation; and​

51.20 (ii) reasonable interest on the amount described in item (i); and​

51.21 (2) such equitable relief as may be appropriate, including employment, reinstatement,​

51.22 and promotion.​

51.23 (b) An action to recover damages or equitable relief prescribed in paragraph (a) may be​

51.24 maintained against any employer in any federal or state court of competent jurisdiction by​

51.25 any one or more employees for and on behalf of:​

51.26 (1) the employees; or​

51.27 (2) the employees and other employees similarly situated.​

51.28 (c) The court in an action under this section must, in addition to any judgment awarded​

51.29 to the plaintiff or plaintiffs, allow reasonable attorney fees, reasonable expert witness fees,​

51.30 and other costs of the action to be paid by the defendant.​
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52.1 (d) Nothing in this section shall be construed to allow an employee to recover damages​

52.2 from an employer for the denial of benefits under this chapter by the department, unless the​

52.3 employer unlawfully interfered with the application for benefits under subdivision 2.​

52.4 Sec. 15. [268B.10] SUBSTITUTION OF A PRIVATE PLAN.​

52.5 Subdivision 1. Application for substitution. Employers may apply to the commissioner​

52.6 for approval to meet their obligations under this chapter through the substitution of a private​

52.7 plan that provides paid family, paid medical, or paid family and medical benefits. In order​

52.8 to be approved as meeting an employer's obligations under this chapter, a private plan must​

52.9 confer all of the same rights, protections, and benefits provided to employees under this​

52.10 chapter, including but not limited to benefits under section 268B.08 and employment​

52.11 protections under section 268B.09. An employee covered by a private plan under this section​

52.12 retains all applicable rights and remedies under section 268B.09.​

52.13 Subd. 2. Private plan requirements; medical benefit program. The commissioner​

52.14 must approve an application for private provision of the medical benefit program if the​

52.15 commissioner determines:​

52.16 (1) all of the employees of the employer are to be covered under the provisions of the​

52.17 employer plan;​

52.18 (2) eligibility requirements for benefits and leave are no more restrictive than as provided​

52.19 under this chapter;​

52.20 (3) the weekly benefits payable under the private plan for any week are at least equal to​

52.21 the weekly benefit amount payable under this chapter, taking into consideration any coverage​

52.22 with respect to concurrent employment by another employer;​

52.23 (4) the total number of weeks for which benefits are payable under the private plan is​

52.24 at least equal to the total number of weeks for which benefits would have been payable​

52.25 under this chapter;​

52.26 (5) no greater amount is required to be paid by employees toward the cost of benefits​

52.27 under the employer plan than by this chapter;​

52.28 (6) wage replacement benefits are stated in the plan separately and distinctly from other​

52.29 benefits;​

52.30 (7) the private plan will provide benefits and leave for any serious health condition or​

52.31 pregnancy for which benefits are payable, and leave provided, under this chapter;​
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53.1 (8) the private plan will impose no additional condition or restriction on the use of​

53.2 medical benefits beyond those explicitly authorized by this chapter or regulations​

53.3 promulgated pursuant to this chapter;​

53.4 (9) the private plan will allow any employee covered under the private plan who is​

53.5 eligible to receive medical benefits under this chapter to receive medical benefits under the​

53.6 employer plan; and​

53.7 (10) coverage will be continued under the private plan while an employee remains​

53.8 employed by the employer.​

53.9 Subd. 3. Private plan requirements; family benefit program. The commissioner must​

53.10 approve an application for private provision of the family benefit program if the​

53.11 commissioner determines:​

53.12 (1) all of the employees of the employer are to be covered under the provisions of the​

53.13 employer plan;​

53.14 (2) eligibility requirements for benefits and leave are no more restrictive than as provided​

53.15 under this chapter;​

53.16 (3) the weekly benefits payable under the private plan for any week are at least equal to​

53.17 the weekly benefit amount payable under this chapter, taking into consideration any coverage​

53.18 with respect to concurrent employment by another employer;​

53.19 (4) the total number of weeks for which benefits are payable under the private plan is​

53.20 at least equal to the total number of weeks for which benefits would have been payable​

53.21 under this chapter;​

53.22 (5) no greater amount is required to be paid by employees toward the cost of benefits​

53.23 under the employer plan than by this chapter;​

53.24 (6) wage replacement benefits are stated in the plan separately and distinctly from other​

53.25 benefits;​

53.26 (7) the private plan will provide benefits and leave for any care for a family member​

53.27 with a serious health condition, bonding with a child, qualifying exigency, or safety leave​

53.28 event for which benefits are payable, and leave provided, under this chapter;​

53.29 (8) the private plan will impose no additional condition or restriction on the use of family​

53.30 benefits beyond those explicitly authorized by this chapter or regulations promulgated​

53.31 pursuant to this chapter;​
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54.1 (9) the private plan will allow any employee covered under the private plan who is​

54.2 eligible to receive medical benefits under this chapter to receive medical benefits under the​

54.3 employer plan; and​

54.4 (10) coverage will be continued under the private plan while an employee remains​

54.5 employed by the employer.​

54.6 Subd. 4. Use of private insurance products. Nothing in this section prohibits an​

54.7 employer from meeting the requirements of a private plan through a private insurance​

54.8 product. If the employer plan involves a private insurance product, that insurance product​

54.9 must conform to any applicable law or rule.​

54.10 Subd. 5. Private plan approval and oversight fee. An employer with an approved​

54.11 private plan will not be required to pay premiums established under section 268B.12. An​

54.12 employer with an approved private plan will be responsible for a private plan approval and​

54.13 oversight fee equal to $250 for employers with fewer than 50 employees, $500 for employers​

54.14 with 50 to 499 employees, and $1,000 for employers with 500 or more employees. The​

54.15 employer must pay this fee (1) upon initial application for private plan approval and (2) any​

54.16 time the employer applies to amend the private plan. The commissioner will review and​

54.17 report on the adequacy of this fee to cover private plan administrative costs annually​

54.18 beginning in 2020 as part of the annual report established in section 268B.21.​

54.19 Subd. 6. Plan duration. A private plan under this section must be in effect for a period​

54.20 of at least one year and, thereafter, continuously unless the commissioner finds that the​

54.21 employer has given notice of withdrawal from the plan in a manner specified by the​

54.22 commissioner in this section or rule. The plan may be withdrawn by the employer within​

54.23 30 days of the effective date of any law increasing the benefit amounts or within 30 days​

54.24 of the date of any change in the rate of premiums. If the plan is not withdrawn, it must be​

54.25 amended to conform to provide the increased benefit amount or change in the rate of the​

54.26 employee's premium on the date of the increase or change.​

54.27 Subd. 7. Appeals. An employer may appeal any adverse action regarding that employer's​

54.28 private plan to the commissioner, in a manner specified by the commissioner.​

54.29 Subd. 8. Employees no longer covered. (a) An employee is no longer covered by an​

54.30 approved private plan if a leave under this chapter occurs after the employment relationship​

54.31 with the private plan employer ends, or if the commissioner revokes the approval of the​

54.32 private plan.​
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55.1 (b) An employee no longer covered by an approved private plan is, if otherwise eligible,​

55.2 immediately entitled to benefits under this chapter to the same extent as though there had​

55.3 been no approval of the private plan.​

55.4 Subd. 9. Posting of notice regarding private plan. An employer with a private plan​

55.5 must provide a notice prepared by or approved by the commissioner regarding the private​

55.6 plan consistent with the provisions of section 268B.22.​

55.7 Subd. 10. Amendment. (a) The commissioner must approve any amendment to a private​

55.8 plan adjusting the provisions thereof, if the commissioner determines:​

55.9 (1) that the plan, as amended, will conform to the standards set forth in this chapter; and​

55.10 (2) that notice of the amendment has been delivered to all affected employees at least​

55.11 ten days before the submission of the amendment.​

55.12 (b) Any amendments approved under this subdivision are effective on the date of the​

55.13 commissioner's approval, unless the commissioner and the employer agree on a later date.​

55.14 Subd. 11. Successor employer. A private plan in effect at the time a successor acquires​

55.15 the employer organization, trade, or business, or substantially all the assets thereof, or a​

55.16 distinct and severable portion of the organization, trade, or business, and continues its​

55.17 operation without substantial reduction of personnel resulting from the acquisition, must​

55.18 continue the approved private plan and must not withdraw the plan without a specific request​

55.19 for withdrawal in a manner and at a time specified by the commissioner. A successor may​

55.20 terminate a private plan with notice to the commissioner and within 90 days from the date​

55.21 of the acquisition.​

55.22 Subd. 12. Revocation of approval by commissioner. (a) The commissioner may​

55.23 terminate any private plan if the commissioner determines the employer:​

55.24 (1) failed to pay benefits;​

55.25 (2) failed to pay benefits in a timely manner, consistent with the requirements of this​

55.26 chapter;​

55.27 (3) failed to submit reports as required by this chapter or rule adopted under this chapter;​

55.28 or​

55.29 (4) otherwise failed to comply with this chapter or rule adopted under this chapter.​

55.30 (b) The commissioner must give notice of the intention to terminate a plan to the employer​

55.31 at least ten days before taking any final action. The notice must state the effective date and​

55.32 the reason for the termination.​
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56.1 (c) The employer may, within ten days from mailing or personal service of the notice,​

56.2 file an appeal to the commissioner in the time, manner, method, and procedure provided by​

56.3 the commissioner under subdivision 7.​

56.4 (d) The payment of benefits must not be delayed during an employer's appeal of the​

56.5 revocation of approval of a private plan.​

56.6 (e) If the commissioner revokes approval of an employer's private plan, that employer​

56.7 is ineligible to apply for approval of another private plan for a period of three years, beginning​

56.8 on the date of revocation.​

56.9 Subd. 13.  Employer penalties. (a) The commissioner may assess the following monetary​

56.10 penalties against an employer with an approved private plan found to have violated this​

56.11 chapter:​

56.12 (1) $1,000 for the first violation; and​

56.13 (2) $2,000 for the second, and each successive violation.​

56.14 (b) The commissioner must waive collection of any penalty if the employer corrects the​

56.15 violation within 30 days of receiving a notice of the violation and the notice is for a first​

56.16 violation.​

56.17 (c) The commissioner may waive collection of any penalty if the commissioner determines​

56.18 the violation to be an inadvertent error by the employer.​

56.19 (d) Monetary penalties collected under this section shall be deposited in the account.​

56.20 (e) Assessment of penalties under this subdivision may be appealed as provided by the​

56.21 commissioner under subdivision 7.​

56.22 Subd. 14. Reports, information, and records. Employers with an approved private​

56.23 plan must maintain all reports, information, and records as relating to the private plan and​

56.24 claims for a period of six years from creation and provide to the commissioner upon request.​

56.25 Subd. 15. Audit and investigation. The commissioner may investigate and audit plans​

56.26 approved under this section both before and after the plans are approved.​

56.27 Sec. 16. [268B.11] SELF-EMPLOYED AND INDEPENDENT CONTRACTOR​

56.28 ELECTION OF COVERAGE.​

56.29 Subdivision 1. Election of coverage. (a) A self-employed individual or independent​

56.30 contractor may file with the commissioner by electronic transmission in a format prescribed​

56.31 by the commissioner an application to be entitled to benefits under this chapter for a period​
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57.1 not less than 104 consecutive calendar weeks. Upon the approval of the commissioner, sent​

57.2 by United States mail or electronic transmission, the individual is entitled to benefits under​

57.3 this chapter beginning the calendar quarter after the date of approval or beginning in a later​

57.4 calendar quarter if requested by the self-employed individual or independent contractor.​

57.5 The individual ceases to be entitled to benefits as of the first day of January of any calendar​

57.6 year only if, at least 30 calendar days before the first day of January, the individual has filed​

57.7 with the commissioner by electronic transmission in a format prescribed by the commissioner​

57.8 a notice to that effect.​

57.9 (b) The commissioner may terminate any application approved under this section with​

57.10 30 calendar days' notice sent by United States mail or electronic transmission if the​

57.11 self-employed individual is delinquent on any premiums due under this chapter an election​

57.12 agreement. If an approved application is terminated in this manner during the first 104​

57.13 consecutive calendar weeks of election, the self-employed individual remains obligated to​

57.14 pay the premium under subdivision 3 for the remainder of that 104-week period.​

57.15 Subd. 2. Application A self-employed individual who applies for coverage under this​

57.16 section must provide the commissioner with (1) the amount of the individual's net earnings​

57.17 from self-employment, if any, from the two most recent taxable years and all tax documents​

57.18 necessary to prove the accuracy of the amounts reported and (2) any other documentation​

57.19 the commissioner requires. A self-employed individual who is covered under this chapter​

57.20 must annually provide the commissioner with the amount of the individual's net earnings​

57.21 from self-employment within 30 days of filing a federal income tax return.​

57.22 Subd. 3. Premium. A self-employed individual who elects to receive coverage under​

57.23 this chapter must annually pay a premium equal to one-half the percentage in section​

57.24 268B.12, subdivision 4, clause (1), times the lesser of:​

57.25 (1) the individual's self-employment premium base; or​

57.26 (2) the maximum earnings subject to the FICA Old-Age, Survivors, and Disability​

57.27 Insurance tax.​

57.28 Subd. 4. Benefits. Notwithstanding anything to the contrary, a self-employed individual​

57.29 who has applied to and been approved for coverage by the commissioner under this section​

57.30 is entitled to benefits on the same basis as an employee under this chapter, except that a​

57.31 self-employed individual's weekly benefit amount under section 268B.08, subdivision 1,​

57.32 must calculated as a percentage of the self-employed individual's self-employment premium​

57.33 base, rather than wages.​
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58.1 Sec. 17. [268B.12] PREMIUMS.​

58.2 Subdivision 1. Employer. (a) Each person or entity required, or who elected, to register​

58.3 for a tax account under sections 268.042, 268.045, and 268.046 must pay a premium on the​

58.4 wages paid to employees in covered employment for each calendar year. The premium must​

58.5 be paid on all wages up to the maximum specified by this section.​

58.6 (b) Each person or entity required, or who elected, to register for a reimbursable account​

58.7 under sections 268.042, 268.045, and 268.046 must pay a premium on the wages paid to​

58.8 employees in covered employment in the same amount and manner as provided by paragraph​

58.9 (a).​

58.10 Subd. 2. Employee charge back. Notwithstanding section 177.24, subdivision 4, or​

58.11 181.06, subdivision 1, employers and covered business entities may deduct up to 50 percent​

58.12 of annual premiums paid under this section from employee wages. Such deductions for any​

58.13 given employee must be in equal proportion to the premiums paid based on the wages of​

58.14 that employee, and all employees of an employer must be subject to the same percentage​

58.15 deduction. Deductions under this section must not cause an employee's wage, after the​

58.16 deduction, to fall below the rate required to be paid to the worker by law, including any​

58.17 applicable statute, regulation, rule, ordinance, government resolution or policy, contract, or​

58.18 other legal authority, whichever rate of pay is greater.​

58.19 Subd. 3. Wages and payments subject to premium. (a) The maximum wages subject​

58.20 to premium in a calendar year is equal to the maximum earnings in that year subject to the​

58.21 FICA Old-Age, Survivors, and Disability Insurance tax.​

58.22 (b) The maximum payment amount subject to premium in a calendar year, under​

58.23 subdivision 1, paragraph (c), is equal to the maximum earnings in that year subject to the​

58.24 FICA Old-Age, Survivors, and Disability Insurance tax.​

58.25 Subd. 4. Annual premium rates. The employer premium rates for the calendar year​

58.26 beginning January 1, 2021, shall be as follows:​

58.27 (1) for employers participating in both family and medical benefit programs, 0.65 percent;​

58.28 (2) for an employer participating in only the medical benefit program and with an​

58.29 approved private plan for the family benefit program, 0.5265 percent; and​

58.30 (3) for an employer participating in only the family benefit program and with an approved​

58.31 private plan for the medical benefit program, 0.1235 percent.​
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59.1 Subd. 5. Premium rate adjustments. (a) Each calendar year following the calendar​

59.2 year beginning January 1, 2023, the commissioner must adjust the annual premium rates​

59.3 using the formula in paragraph (b).​

59.4 (b) To calculate the employer rates for a calendar year, the commissioner must:​

59.5 (1) multiply 1.45 times the amount disbursed from the account for the 52-week period​

59.6 ending September 30 of the prior year;​

59.7 (2) subtract the amount in the account on that September 30 from the resulting figure;​

59.8 (3) divide the resulting figure by twice the total wages in covered employment of​

59.9 employees of employers without approved private plans under section 268B.10 for either​

59.10 the family or medical benefit program. For employers with an approved private plan for​

59.11 either the medical benefit program or the family benefit program, but not both, count only​

59.12 the proportion of wages in covered employment associated with the program for which the​

59.13 employer does not have an approved private plan; and​

59.14 (4) round the resulting figure down to the nearest one-hundredth of one percent.​

59.15 (c) The commissioner must apportion the premium rate between the family and medical​

59.16 benefit programs based on the relative proportion of expenditures for each program during​

59.17 the preceding year.​

59.18 Subd. 6. Deposit of premiums. All premiums collected under this section must be​

59.19 deposited into the account.​

59.20 Subd. 7. Nonpayment of premiums by employer. The failure of an employer to pay​

59.21 premiums does not impact the right of an employee to benefits, or any other right, under​

59.22 this chapter.​

59.23 Sec. 18. [268B.13] COLLECTION OF PREMIUMS.​

59.24 Subdivision 1. Amount computed presumed correct. Any amount due from an​

59.25 employer, as computed by the commissioner, is presumed to be correctly determined and​

59.26 assessed, and the burden is upon the employer to show any error. A statement by the​

59.27 commissioner of the amount due is admissible in evidence in any court or administrative​

59.28 proceeding and is prima facie evidence of the facts in the statement.​

59.29 Subd. 2. Priority of payments. (a) Any payment received from an employer must be​

59.30 applied in the following order:​

59.31 (1) premiums due under this chapter; then​
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60.1 (2) interest on past due premiums; then​

60.2 (3) penalties, late fees, administrative service fees, and costs.​

60.3 (b) Paragraph (a) is the priority used for all payments received from an employer,​

60.4 regardless of how the employer may designate the payment to be applied, except when:​

60.5 (1) there is an outstanding lien and the employer designates that the payment made​

60.6 should be applied to satisfy the lien;​

60.7 (2) a court or administrative order directs that the payment be applied to a specific​

60.8 obligation;​

60.9 (3) a preexisting payment plan provides for the application of payment; or​

60.10 (4) the commissioner agrees to apply the payment to a different priority.​

60.11 Subd. 3. Costs. (a) Any employer that fails to pay any amount when due under this​

60.12 chapter is liable for any filing fees, recording fees, sheriff fees, costs incurred by referral​

60.13 to any public or private collection agency, or litigation costs, including attorney fees, incurred​

60.14 in the collection of the amounts due.​

60.15 (b) If any tendered payment of any amount due is not honored when presented to a​

60.16 financial institution for payment, any costs assessed to the department by the financial​

60.17 institution and a fee of $25 must be assessed to the person.​

60.18 (c) Costs and fees collected under this subdivision are credited to the account.​

60.19 Subd. 4. Interest on amounts past due. If any amounts due from an employer under​

60.20 this chapter, except late fees, are not received on the date due, the unpaid balance bears​

60.21 interest at the rate of one percent per month or any part of a month. Interest collected under​

60.22 this subdivision is payable to the account.​

60.23 Subd. 5. Interest on judgments. Regardless of section 549.09, if judgment is entered​

60.24 upon any past due amounts from an employer under this chapter, the unpaid judgment bears​

60.25 interest at the rate specified in subdivision 4 until the date of payment.​

60.26 Subd. 6. Credit adjustments; refunds. (a) If an employer makes an application for a​

60.27 credit adjustment of any amount paid under this chapter within four years of the date that​

60.28 the payment was due, in a manner and format prescribed by the commissioner, and the​

60.29 commissioner determines that the payment or any portion thereof was erroneous, the​

60.30 commissioner must make an adjustment and issue a credit without interest. If a credit cannot​

60.31 be used, the commissioner must refund, without interest, the amount erroneously paid. The​
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61.1 commissioner, on the commissioner's own motion, may make a credit adjustment or refund​

61.2 under this subdivision.​

61.3 (b) Any refund returned to the commissioner is considered unclaimed property under​

61.4 chapter 345.​

61.5 (c) If a credit adjustment or refund is denied in whole or in part, a determination of denial​

61.6 must be sent to the employer by United States mail or electronic transmission. The​

61.7 determination of denial is final unless an employer files an appeal within 20 calendar days​

61.8 after receipt of the determination.​

61.9 (d) If an employer receives a credit adjustment or refund under this section, the employer​

61.10 must determine the amount of any overpayment attributable to a deduction from employee​

61.11 wages under section 268B.12, subdivision 2, and return any amount erroneously deducted​

61.12 to each affected employee.​

61.13 Subd. 7. Priorities under legal dissolutions or distributions. In the event of any​

61.14 distribution of an employer's assets according to an order of any court, including any​

61.15 receivership, assignment for benefit of creditors, adjudicated insolvency, or similar​

61.16 proceeding, premiums then or thereafter due must be paid in full before all other claims​

61.17 except claims for wages of not more than $1,000 per former employee that are earned within​

61.18 six months of the commencement of the proceedings. In the event of an employer's​

61.19 adjudication in bankruptcy under federal law, premiums then or thereafter due are entitled​

61.20 to the priority provided in that law for taxes due.​

61.21 Sec. 19. [268B.14] ADMINISTRATIVE COSTS.​

61.22 From July 1, 2021, through December 31, 2021, the commissioner may spend up to​

61.23 seven percent of premiums collected under section 268B.13 for administration of this chapter.​

61.24 Beginning January 1, 2022, and each calendar year thereafter, the commissioner may spend​

61.25 up to seven percent of projected benefit payments for that calendar year for the administration​

61.26 of this chapter. The department may enter into interagency agreements with the Department​

61.27 of Labor and Industry, including agreements to transfer funds, subject to the limit in this​

61.28 section, for the Department of Labor and Industry to fulfill its enforcement authority of this​

61.29 chapter.​

61.30 Sec. 20. [268B.15] PUBLIC OUTREACH.​

61.31 Beginning in fiscal year 2022, the commissioner must use at least 0.5 percent of revenue​

61.32 collected under this chapter for the purpose of outreach, education, and technical assistance​

61​Article 2 Sec. 20.​

REVISOR SS/CH A19-0341​03/31/19 06:04 pm  ​



62.1 for employees, employers, and self-employed individuals eligible to elect coverage under​

62.2 section 268B.11. The department may enter into interagency agreements with the Department​

62.3 of Labor and Industry, including agreements to transfer funds, subject to the limit in section​

62.4 268B.14, to accomplish the requirements of this section. At least one-half of the amount​

62.5 spent under this section must be used for grants to community-based groups.​

62.6 Sec. 21. [268B.16] APPLICANT'S FALSE REPRESENTATIONS; CONCEALMENT​

62.7 OF FACTS; PENALTY.​

62.8 (a) Any applicant who knowingly makes a false statement or representation, knowingly​

62.9 fails to disclose a material fact, or makes a false statement or representation without a​

62.10 good-faith belief as to the correctness of the statement or representation in order to obtain​

62.11 or in an attempt to obtain benefits may be assessed, in addition to any other penalties, an​

62.12 administrative penalty of ineligibility of benefits for 13 to 104 weeks.​

62.13 (b) A determination of ineligibility setting out the weeks the applicant is ineligible must​

62.14 be sent to the applicant by United States mail or electronic transmission. The determination​

62.15 is final unless an appeal is filed within 30 calendar days after receipt of the determination.​

62.16 Sec. 22. [268B.17] EMPLOYER MISCONDUCT; PENALTY.​

62.17 (a) The commissioner must penalize an employer if that employer or any employee,​

62.18 officer, or agent of that employer is in collusion with any applicant for the purpose of​

62.19 assisting the applicant in receiving benefits fraudulently. The penalty is $500 or the amount​

62.20 of benefits determined to be overpaid, whichever is greater.​

62.21 (b) The commissioner must penalize an employer if that employer or any employee,​

62.22 officer, or agent of that employer:​

62.23 (1) made a false statement or representation knowing it to be false;​

62.24 (2) made a false statement or representation without a good-faith belief as to the​

62.25 correctness of the statement or representation; or​

62.26 (3) knowingly failed to disclose a material fact.​

62.27 (c) The penalty is the greater of $500 or 50 percent of the following resulting from the​

62.28 employer's action:​

62.29 (1) the amount of any overpaid benefits to an applicant;​

62.30 (2) the amount of benefits not paid to an applicant that would otherwise have been paid;​

62.31 or​
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63.1 (3) the amount of any payment required from the employer under this chapter that was​

63.2 not paid.​

63.3 (d) Penalties must be paid within 30 calendar days of issuance of the determination of​

63.4 penalty and credited to the account.​

63.5 (e) The determination of penalty is final unless the employer files an appeal within 30​

63.6 calendar days after the sending of the determination of penalty to the employer by United​

63.7 States mail or electronic transmission.​

63.8 Sec. 23. [268B.18] RECORDS; AUDITS.​

63.9 (a) Each employer must keep true and accurate records on individuals performing services​

63.10 for the employer, containing the information the commissioner may require under this​

63.11 chapter. The records must be kept for a period of not less than four years in addition to the​

63.12 current calendar year.​

63.13 (b) For the purpose of administering this chapter, the commissioner has the power to​

63.14 investigate, audit, examine, or cause to be supplied or copied, any books, correspondence,​

63.15 papers, records, or memoranda that are the property of, or in the possession of, an employer​

63.16 or any other person at any reasonable time and as often as may be necessary.​

63.17 (c) An employer or other person that refuses to allow an audit of its records by the​

63.18 department or that fails to make all necessary records available for audit in the state upon​

63.19 request of the commissioner may be assessed an administrative penalty of $500. The penalty​

63.20 collected is credited to the account.​

63.21 Sec. 24. [268B.19] SUBPOENAS; OATHS.​

63.22 (a) The commissioner or benefit judge has authority to administer oaths and affirmations,​

63.23 take depositions, certify to official acts, and issue subpoenas to compel the attendance of​

63.24 individuals and the production of documents and other personal property necessary in​

63.25 connection with the administration of this chapter.​

63.26 (b) Individuals subpoenaed, other than applicants or officers and employees of an​

63.27 employer that is the subject of the inquiry, must be paid witness fees the same as witness​

63.28 fees in civil actions in district court. The fees need not be paid in advance.​

63.29 (c) The subpoena is enforceable through the district court in Ramsey County.​
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64.1 Sec. 25. [268B.20] CONCILIATION SERVICES.​

64.2 The Department of Labor and Industry may offer conciliation services to employers and​

64.3 employees to resolve disputes concerning alleged violations of employment protections​

64.4 identified in section 268B.09.​

64.5 Sec. 26. [268B.21] ANNUAL REPORTS.​

64.6 (a) Annually, beginning on or before December 1, 2021, the commissioner must report​

64.7 to the Department of Management and Budget and the house of representatives and senate​

64.8 committee chairs with jurisdiction over this chapter on program administrative expenditures​

64.9 and revenue collection for the prior fiscal year, including but not limited to:​

64.10 (1) total revenue raised through premium collection;​

64.11 (2) the number of self-employed individuals or independent contractors electing coverage​

64.12 under section 268B.11 and amount of associated revenue;​

64.13 (3) the number of covered business entities paying premiums under this chapter and​

64.14 associated revenue;​

64.15 (4) administrative expenditures including transfers to other state agencies expended in​

64.16 the administration of the chapter;​

64.17 (5) summary of contracted services expended in the administration of this chapter;​

64.18 (6) grant amounts and recipients under section 268B.15;​

64.19 (7) an accounting of required outreach expenditures;​

64.20 (8) summary of private plan approvals including the number of employers and employees​

64.21 covered under private plans; and​

64.22 (9) adequacy and use of the private plan approval and oversight fee.​

64.23 (b) Annually, beginning on or before December 1, 2022, the commissioner must publish​

64.24 a publicly available report providing the following information for the previous fiscal year:​

64.25 (1) total eligible claims;​

64.26 (2) the number and percentage of claims attributable to each category of benefit;​

64.27 (3) claimant demographics by age, gender, average weekly wage, occupation, and the​

64.28 type of leave taken;​

64.29 (4) the percentage of claims denied and the reasons therefor, including, but not limited​

64.30 to insufficient information and ineligibility and the reason therefor;​
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65.1 (5) average weekly benefit amount paid for all claims and by category of benefit;​

65.2 (6) changes in the benefits paid compared to previous fiscal years;​

65.3 (7) processing times for initial claims processing, initial determinations, and final​

65.4 decisions;​

65.5 (8) average duration for cases completed; and​

65.6 (9) the number of cases remaining open at the close of such year.​

65.7 Sec. 27. [268B.22] NOTICE REQUIREMENTS.​

65.8 (a) Each employer must post in a conspicuous place on each of its premises a workplace​

65.9 notice prepared or approved by the commissioner providing notice of benefits available​

65.10 under this chapter. The required workplace notice must be in English and each language​

65.11 other than English which is the primary language of five or more employees or independent​

65.12 contractors of that workplace, if such notice is available from the department.​

65.13 (b) Each employer must issue to each employee not more than 30 days from the beginning​

65.14 date of the employee's employment, or 30 days before premium collection begins, which​

65.15 ever is later, the following written information provided or approved by the department in​

65.16 the primary language of the employee:​

65.17 (1) an explanation of the availability of family and medical leave benefits provided under​

65.18 this chapter, including rights to reinstatement and continuation of health insurance;​

65.19 (2) the amount of premium deductions made by the employer under this chapter;​

65.20 (3) the employer's premium amount and obligations under this chapter;​

65.21 (4) the name and mailing address of the employer;​

65.22 (5) the identification number assigned to the employer by the department;​

65.23 (6) instructions on how to file a claim for family and medical leave benefits;​

65.24 (7) the mailing address, e-mail address, and telephone number of the department; and​

65.25 (8) any other information required by the department.​

65.26 Delivery is made when an employee provides written acknowledgment of receipt of the​

65.27 information, or signs a statement indicating the employee's refusal to sign such​

65.28 acknowledgment.​

65.29 (c) Each employer shall provide to each independent contractor with whom it contracts,​

65.30 at the time such contract is made or, for existing contracts, within 30 days of the effective​
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66.1 date of this section, the following written information provided or approved by the department​

66.2 in the self-employed individual's primary language:​

66.3 (1) the address and telephone number of the department; and​

66.4 (2) any other information required by the department.​

66.5 (d) An employer that fails to comply with this subsection may be issued, for a first​

66.6 violation, a civil penalty of $50 per employee and per independent contractor with whom​

66.7 it has contracted, and for each subsequent violation, a civil penalty of $300 per employee​

66.8 or self-employed individual with whom it has contracted. The employer shall have the​

66.9 burden of demonstrating compliance with this section.​

66.10 (e) Employer notice to an employee under this section may be provided in paper or​

66.11 electronic format. For notice provided in electronic format only, the employer must provide​

66.12 employee access to an employer-owner computer during an employee's regular working​

66.13 hours to review and print required notices.​

66.14 Sec. 28. [268B.23] RELATIONSHIP TO OTHER LEAVE; CONSTRUCTION.​

66.15 Subdivision 1. Concurrent leave. An employer may require leave taken under this​

66.16 chapter to run concurrently with leave taken for the same purpose under section 181.941​

66.17 or the Family and Medical Leave Act, United States Code, title 29, sections 2601 to 2654,​

66.18 as amended.​

66.19 Subd. 2. Construction. Nothing in this chapter shall be construed to:​

66.20 (1) allow an employer to compel an employee to exhaust accumulated sick, vacation,​

66.21 or personal time before or while taking leave under this chapter;​

66.22 (2) prohibit an employer from providing additional benefits, including, but not limited​

66.23 to, covering the portion of earnings not provided under this chapter during periods of leave​

66.24 covered under this chapter; or​

66.25 (3) limit the parties to a collective bargaining agreement from bargaining and agreeing​

66.26 with respect to leave benefits and related procedures and employee protections that meet​

66.27 or exceed, and do not otherwise conflict with, the minimum standards and requirements in​

66.28 this chapter.​

66.29 Sec. 29. [268B.24] SMALL BUSINESS ASSISTANCE GRANTS.​

66.30 (a) Employers with 50 or fewer employees may apply to the department for grants under​

66.31 this section.​
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67.1 (b) The commissioner may approve a grant of up to $3,000 if the employer hires a​

67.2 temporary worker to replace an employee on family or medical leave for a period of seven​

67.3 days or more.​

67.4 (c) For an employee's family or medical leave, the commissioner may approve a grant​

67.5 of up to $1,000 as reimbursement for significant additional wage-related costs due to the​

67.6 employee's leave.​

67.7 (d) To be eligible for consideration for a grant under this section, the employer must​

67.8 provide the department written documentation showing the temporary worker hired or​

67.9 significant wage-related costs incurred are due to an employee's use of leave under this​

67.10 chapter.​

67.11 (e) The grants under this section may be funded from the account.​

67.12 (f) For the purposes of this section, the commissioner shall average the number of​

67.13 employees reported by an employer over the last four completed calendar quarters to​

67.14 determine the size of the employer.​

67.15 (g) An employer who has an approved private plan is not eligible to receive a grant under​

67.16 this section.​

67.17 (h) The commissioner may award grants under this section only up to a maximum of​

67.18 $5,000,000 per calendar year.​

67.19 Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 290.0132, is amended by adding a subdivision​

67.20 to read:​

67.21 Subd. 23. Benefits under chapter 268B. The amount received in benefits under chapter​

67.22 268B is a subtraction.​

67.23 Sec. 31. EFFECTIVE DATES.​

67.24 (a) Benefits under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 268B, shall not be applied for or paid​

67.25 until January 1, 2022, and thereafter.​

67.26 (b) Sections 1, 2, 4, 5, and 6 are effective July 1, 2019.​

67.27 (c) Section 15 is effective July 1, 2020.​

67.28 (d) Sections 3, 17, 18, 22, 23, 24, and 26 are effective January 1, 2021.​

67.29 (e) Sections 19 and 20 are effective July 1, 2021.​
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68.1 (f) Sections 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 16, 21, 25, 27, 28, 29, and 30 are effective January​

68.2 1, 2022.​

68.3 ARTICLE 3​

68.4 FAMILY AND MEDICAL LEAVE BENEFIT AS EARNINGS​

68.5 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 256J.561, is amended by adding a subdivision​

68.6 to read:​

68.7 Subd. 4. Parents receiving family and medical leave benefits. A parent who meets​

68.8 the criteria under subdivision 2 and who receives benefits under chapter 268B is not required​

68.9 to participate in employment services.​

68.10 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 256J.95, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

68.11 Subd. 3. Eligibility for diversionary work program. (a) Except for the categories of​

68.12 family units listed in clauses (1) to (8), all family units who apply for cash benefits and who​

68.13 meet MFIP eligibility as required in sections 256J.11 to 256J.15 are eligible and must​

68.14 participate in the diversionary work program. Family units or individuals that are not eligible​

68.15 for the diversionary work program include:​

68.16 (1) child only cases;​

68.17 (2) single-parent family units that include a child under 12 months of age. A parent is​

68.18 eligible for this exception once in a parent's lifetime;​

68.19 (3) family units with a minor parent without a high school diploma or its equivalent;​

68.20 (4) family units with an 18- or 19-year-old caregiver without a high school diploma or​

68.21 its equivalent who chooses to have an employment plan with an education option;​

68.22 (5) family units with a caregiver who received DWP benefits within the 12 months prior​

68.23 to the month the family applied for DWP, except as provided in paragraph (c);​

68.24 (6) family units with a caregiver who received MFIP within the 12 months prior to the​

68.25 month the family applied for DWP;​

68.26 (7) family units with a caregiver who received 60 or more months of TANF assistance;​

68.27 and​

68.28 (8) family units with a caregiver who is disqualified from the work participation cash​

68.29 benefit program, DWP, or MFIP due to fraud.; and​
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69.1 (9) single-parent family units where a parent is receiving family and medical leave​

69.2 benefits under chapter 268B.​

69.3 (b) A two-parent family must participate in DWP unless both caregivers meet the criteria​

69.4 for an exception under paragraph (a), clauses (1) through (5), or the family unit includes a​

69.5 parent who meets the criteria in paragraph (a), clause (6), (7), or (8).​

69.6 (c) Once DWP eligibility is determined, the four months run consecutively. If a participant​

69.7 leaves the program for any reason and reapplies during the four-month period, the county​

69.8 must redetermine eligibility for DWP.​

69.9 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 256J.95, subdivision 11, is amended to read:​

69.10 Subd. 11. Universal participation required. (a) All DWP caregivers, except caregivers​

69.11 who meet the criteria in paragraph (d), are required to participate in DWP employment​

69.12 services. Except as specified in paragraphs (b) and (c), employment plans under DWP must,​

69.13 at a minimum, meet the requirements in section 256J.55, subdivision 1.​

69.14 (b) A caregiver who is a member of a two-parent family that is required to participate​

69.15 in DWP who would otherwise be ineligible for DWP under subdivision 3 may be allowed​

69.16 to develop an employment plan under section 256J.521, subdivision 2, that may contain​

69.17 alternate activities and reduced hours.​

69.18 (c) A participant who is a victim of family violence shall be allowed to develop an​

69.19 employment plan under section 256J.521, subdivision 3. A claim of family violence must​

69.20 be documented by the applicant or participant by providing a sworn statement which is​

69.21 supported by collateral documentation in section 256J.545, paragraph (b).​

69.22 (d) One parent in a two-parent family unit that has a natural born child under 12 months​

69.23 of age is not required to have an employment plan until the child reaches 12 months of age​

69.24 unless the family unit has already used the exclusion under section 256J.561, subdivision​

69.25 3, or the previously allowed child under age one exemption under section 256J.56, paragraph​

69.26 (a), clause (5). if that parent:​

69.27 (1) receives family and medical leave benefits under chapter 268B; or​

69.28 (2) has a natural born child under 12 months of age until the child reaches 12 months​

69.29 of age unless the family unit has already used the exclusion under section 256J.561,​

69.30 subdivision 3, or the previously allowed child under age one exemption under section​

69.31 256J.56, paragraph (a), clause (5).​
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70.1 (e) The provision in paragraph (d) ends the first full month after the child reaches 12​

70.2 months of age. This provision is allowable only once in a caregiver's lifetime. In a two-parent​

70.3 household, only one parent shall be allowed to use this category.​

70.4 (f) The participant and job counselor must meet in the month after the month the child​

70.5 reaches 12 months of age to revise the participant's employment plan. The employment plan​

70.6 for a family unit that has a child under 12 months of age that has already used the exclusion​

70.7 in section 256J.561 must be tailored to recognize the caregiving needs of the parent.​

70.8 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 256P.01, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

70.9 Subd. 3. Earned income. "Earned income" means cash or in-kind income earned through​

70.10 the receipt of wages, salary, commissions, bonuses, tips, gratuities, profit from employment​

70.11 activities, net profit from self-employment activities, payments made by an employer for​

70.12 regularly accrued vacation or sick leave, severance pay based on accrued leave time, benefits​

70.13 paid under chapter 268B, payments from training programs at a rate at or greater than the​

70.14 state's minimum wage, royalties, honoraria, or other profit from activity that results from​

70.15 the client's work, service, effort, or labor. The income must be in return for, or as a result​

70.16 of, legal activity.​

70.17 Sec. 5. EFFECTIVE DATES.​

70.18 Sections 1 to 4 are effective January 1, 2022.​

70.19 ARTICLE 4​

70.20 ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT POLICY​

70.21 Section 1. [116J.545] GETTING TO WORK GRANT PROGRAM.​

70.22 Subdivision 1. Creation. The commissioner of employment and economic development​

70.23 shall make grants to nonprofit organizations to establish and operate programs under this​

70.24 section that provide, repair, or maintain motor vehicles to assist eligible individuals in​

70.25 obtaining or maintaining employment. All grants shall be for two years.​

70.26 Subd. 2. Qualified grantee. A grantee must:​

70.27 (1) qualify under section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code; and​

70.28 (2) at the time of application, offer or have the demonstrated capacity to offer a motor​

70.29 vehicle program that provides the services required under subdivision 3.​
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71.1 Subd. 3. Program requirements. (a) A program must offer one or more of the following​

71.2 services:​

71.3 (1) provision of new or used motor vehicles by gift, sale, or lease;​

71.4 (2) motor vehicle repair and maintenance services; or​

71.5 (3) motor vehicle loans.​

71.6 (b) In addition to the requirements of paragraph (a), a program must offer one or more​

71.7 of the following services:​

71.8 (1) financial literacy education;​

71.9 (2) education on budgeting for vehicle ownership;​

71.10 (3) car maintenance and repair instruction;​

71.11 (4) credit counseling; or​

71.12 (5) job training related to motor vehicle maintenance and repair.​

71.13 Subd. 4. Application. An application for a grant must be on a form provided by the​

71.14 commissioner and on a schedule set by the commissioner. An application must, in addition​

71.15 to any other information required by the commissioner, include the following:​

71.16 (1) a detailed description of all services to be offered;​

71.17 (2) the area to be served;​

71.18 (3) the estimated number of program participants to be served by the grant; and​

71.19 (4) a plan for leveraging resources from partners that may include but are not limited​

71.20 to:​

71.21 (i) automobile dealers;​

71.22 (ii) automobile parts dealers;​

71.23 (iii) independent local mechanics and automobile repair facilities;​

71.24 (iv) banks and credit unions;​

71.25 (v) employers;​

71.26 (vi) employment and training agencies;​

71.27 (vii) insurance companies and agents;​

71.28 (viii) local workforce centers; and​
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72.1 (ix) educational institutions including vocational institutions and jobs or skills training​

72.2 programs.​

72.3 Subd. 5. Participant eligibility. (a) To be eligible to receive program services, a person​

72.4 must:​

72.5 (1) have a household income at or below 200 percent of the federal poverty level;​

72.6 (2) be at least 18 years of age;​

72.7 (3) have a valid driver's license;​

72.8 (4) provide the grantee with proof of motor vehicle insurance; and​

72.9 (5) demonstrate to the grantee that a motor vehicle is required by the person to obtain​

72.10 or maintain employment.​

72.11 (b) This subdivision does not preclude a grantee from imposing additional requirements​

72.12 consistent with paragraph (a) for the receipt of program services.​

72.13 Subd. 6. Report to legislature. By February 15, 2021, and each January 15 in an​

72.14 odd-numbered year thereafter, the commissioner shall submit a report to the chairs of the​

72.15 house of representatives and senate committees with jurisdiction over workforce and​

72.16 economic development on program outcomes. At a minimum, the report must include:​

72.17 (1) the total number of program participants;​

72.18 (2) the number of program participants who received each of the following:​

72.19 (i) provision of a motor vehicle;​

72.20 (ii) motor vehicle repair services; and​

72.21 (iii) motor vehicle loans;​

72.22 (3) the number of program participants who report that they or their children were able​

72.23 to increase their participation in community activities such as after-school programs, other​

72.24 youth programs, church or civic groups, or library services as a result of participation in the​

72.25 program; and​

72.26 (4) an analysis of the impact of the getting to work grant program on the employment​

72.27 rate and wages of program participants.​

72.28 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 116J.8731, subdivision 5, is amended to read:​

72.29 Subd. 5. Grant limits. A Minnesota investment fund grant may not be approved for an​

72.30 amount in excess of $1,000,000, except that a grant of up to $2,000,000 is allowable for​
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73.1 projects that have at least $25,000,000 in capital investment and 150 new employees. This​

73.2 limit covers all money paid to complete the same project, whether paid to one or more grant​

73.3 recipients and whether paid in one or more fiscal years. A local community or recognized​

73.4 Indian tribal government may retain 40 percent, but not more than $100,000, of a Minnesota​

73.5 investment fund grant when it is repaid to the local community or recognized Indian tribal​

73.6 government by the person or entity to which it was loaned by the local community or Indian​

73.7 tribal government. Money repaid to the state must be credited to a Minnesota investment​

73.8 revolving loan account in the state treasury. Funds in the account are appropriated to the​

73.9 commissioner and must be used in the same manner as are funds appropriated to the​

73.10 Minnesota investment fund. Funds repaid to the state through existing Minnesota investment​

73.11 fund agreements must be credited to the Minnesota investment revolving loan account​

73.12 effective July 1, 2005. A grant or loan may not be made to a person or entity for the operation​

73.13 or expansion of a casino or a store which is used solely or principally for retail sales. Persons​

73.14 or entities receiving grants or loans must pay each employee total compensation, including​

73.15 benefits not mandated by law, that on an annualized basis is equal to at least 110 125 percent​

73.16 of the federal poverty level for a family of four.​

73.17 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 116J.8748, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

73.18 Subd. 4. Certification; benefits. (a) The commissioner may certify a Minnesota job​

73.19 creation fund business as eligible to receive a specific value of benefit under paragraphs (b)​

73.20 and (c) when the business has achieved its job creation and capital investment goals noted​

73.21 in its agreement under subdivision 3.​

73.22 (b) A qualified Minnesota job creation fund business may be certified eligible for the​

73.23 benefits in this paragraph for up to five years for projects located in the metropolitan area​

73.24 as defined in section 200.02, subdivision 24, and seven years for projects located outside​

73.25 the metropolitan area, as determined by the commissioner when considering the best interests​

73.26 of the state and local area. Notwithstanding section 16B.98, subdivision 5, paragraph (a),​

73.27 clause (3), or 16B.98, subdivision 5, paragraph (b), grant agreements for projects located​

73.28 outside the metropolitan area may be for up to seven years in length. The eligibility for the​

73.29 following benefits begins the date the commissioner certifies the business as a qualified​

73.30 Minnesota job creation fund business under this subdivision:​

73.31 (1) up to five percent rebate for projects located in the metropolitan area as defined in​

73.32 section 200.02, subdivision 24, and 7.5 percent for projects located outside the metropolitan​

73.33 area, on capital investment on qualifying purchases as provided in subdivision 5 with the​

73.34 total rebate for a project not to exceed $500,000;​
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74.1 (2) an award of up to $500,000 based on full-time job creation and wages paid as provided​

74.2 in subdivision 6 with the total award not to exceed $500,000;​

74.3 (3) up to $1,000,000 in capital investment rebates and $1,000,000 in job creation awards​

74.4 are allowable for projects that have at least $25,000,000 in capital investment and 200 new​

74.5 employees in the metropolitan area as defined in section 200.02, subdivision 24, and 75​

74.6 new employees for projects located outside the metropolitan area;​

74.7 (4) up to $1,000,000 in capital investment rebates are allowable for projects that have​

74.8 at least $25,000,000 in capital investment and 200 retained employees for projects located​

74.9 in the metropolitan area as defined in section 200.02, subdivision 24, and 75 employees for​

74.10 projects located outside the metropolitan area; and​

74.11 (5) for clauses (3) and (4) only, the capital investment expenditure requirements may​

74.12 include the installation and purchases of machinery and equipment. These expenditures are​

74.13 not eligible for the capital investment rebate provided under subdivision 5.​

74.14 (c) The job creation award may be provided in multiple years as long as the qualified​

74.15 Minnesota job creation fund business continues to meet the job creation goals provided for​

74.16 in its agreement under subdivision 3 and the total award does not exceed $500,000 except​

74.17 as provided under paragraph (b), clauses (3) and (4).​

74.18 (d) No rebates or award may be provided until the Minnesota job creation fund business​

74.19 or a third party constructing or managing the project has at least $500,000 in capital​

74.20 investment in the project and at least ten full-time jobs have been created and maintained​

74.21 for at least one year or the retained employees, as provided in paragraph (b), clause (4),​

74.22 remain for at least one year. The agreement may require additional performance outcomes​

74.23 that need to be achieved before rebates and awards are provided. If fewer retained jobs are​

74.24 maintained, but still above the minimum under this subdivision, the capital investment​

74.25 award shall be reduced on a proportionate basis.​

74.26 (e) The forms needed to be submitted to document performance by the Minnesota job​

74.27 creation fund business must be in the form and be made under the procedures specified by​

74.28 the commissioner. The forms shall include documentation and certification by the business​

74.29 that it is in compliance with the business subsidy agreement, sections 116J.871 and 116L.66,​

74.30 and other provisions as specified by the commissioner.​

74.31 (f) Minnesota job creation fund businesses must pay each new full-time employee added​

74.32 pursuant to the agreement total compensation, including benefits not mandated by law, that​

74.33 on an annualized basis is equal to at least 110 125 percent of the federal poverty level for​

74.34 a family of four.​
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75.1 (g) A Minnesota job creation fund business must demonstrate reasonable progress on​

75.2 capital investment expenditures within six months following designation as a Minnesota​

75.3 job creation fund business to ensure that the capital investment goal in the agreement under​

75.4 subdivision 1 will be met. Businesses not making reasonable progress will not be eligible​

75.5 for benefits under the submitted application and will need to work with the local government​

75.6 unit to resubmit a new application and request to be a Minnesota job creation fund business.​

75.7 Notwithstanding the goals noted in its agreement under subdivision 1, this action shall not​

75.8 be considered a default of the business subsidy agreement.​

75.9 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 116J.8748, subdivision 6, is amended to read:​

75.10 Subd. 6. Job creation award. (a) A qualified Minnesota job creation fund business is​

75.11 eligible for an annual award for each new job created and maintained by the business using​

75.12 the following schedule: $1,000 for each job position paying annual wages at least $26,000​

75.13 $32,188 but less than $35,000 no more than $37,707; $2,000 for each job position paying​

75.14 at least $35,000 more than $37,707 but less than $45,000 no more than $47,965; and $3,000​

75.15 for each job position paying at least $45,000 more than $47,965; and as noted in the goals​

75.16 under the agreement provided under subdivision 1. These awards are increased by $1,000​

75.17 if the business is located outside the metropolitan area as defined in section 200.02,​

75.18 subdivision 24, or if 51 percent of the business is cumulatively owned by minorities, veterans,​

75.19 women, or persons with a disability.​

75.20 (b) The job creation award schedule must be adjusted annually using the percentage​

75.21 increase in the federal poverty level for a family of four.​

75.22 (c) Minnesota job creation fund businesses seeking an award credit provided under​

75.23 subdivision 4 must submit forms and applications to the Department of Employment and​

75.24 Economic Development as prescribed by the commissioner.​

75.25 Sec. 5. [116L.25] PATHWAYS TO PROSPERITY GRANT PROGRAM.​

75.26 Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For the purposes of this section, the following terms have​

75.27 the meanings given.​

75.28 (b) "Career pathway" means a career-readiness program, connected to a specific industry​

75.29 sector, that combines basic skills training, education, and support services and results in​

75.30 either industry-specific training or an employer-recognized credential.​

75.31 (c) "Commissioner" means the commissioner of employment and economic development.​
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76.1 (d) "Pathways to prosperity grant program" or "grant program" means the competitive​

76.2 grant program created in this section.​

76.3 Subd. 2. Establishment. The commissioner shall establish a pathways to prosperity​

76.4 grant program to award grants to organizations to train adults facing the greatest employment​

76.5 disparities and to assist them in finding employment in high-demand occupations with​

76.6 long-term employment opportunities.​

76.7 Subd. 3. Grant process. (a) The commissioner shall award grants to organizations​

76.8 through a competitive grant process.​

76.9 (b) The commissioner shall develop grant-making criteria for the grant program. These​

76.10 criteria shall include guidelines for multiple types of career pathways. These criteria shall​

76.11 also consider a program's alignment with the labor market in the community where the​

76.12 program operates and, where applicable, a program's previous grant performance. At least​

76.13 once every biennium, the commissioner shall consult with workforce development service​

76.14 providers on program criteria and administration.​

76.15 (c) All reporting requirements for grant recipients shall be outlined in plain language in​

76.16 both the request for proposal and the grant contract.​

76.17 (d) The commissioner shall provide applicants with technical assistance with​

76.18 understanding application procedures and program guidelines.​

76.19 Sec. 6. [116L.35] INVENTORY OF WORKFORCE DEVELOPMENT PROGRAMS.​

76.20 (a) By January 15, 2020, and by January 15 of each even-numbered year thereafter, the​

76.21 commissioner of employment and economic development must submit a report to the chairs​

76.22 of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over workforce development that provides​

76.23 an inventory of all workforce development programs either provided by or overseen by any​

76.24 branch of the state of Minnesota.​

76.25 (b) Programs related to workforce development that must be included in the report​

76.26 include those that:​

76.27 (1) are federally funded or state funded;​

76.28 (2) provide assistance to either businesses or individuals; or​

76.29 (3) support internships, apprenticeships, career and technical education, or any form of​

76.30 employment training.​

76.31 (c) For each workforce development program, the report must include, at a minimum,​

76.32 the following information:​
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77.1 (1) details of program costs;​

77.2 (2) the number of staff, both within the department and any outside organization;​

77.3 (3) the number of program participants;​

77.4 (4) a short description of what each program does; and​

77.5 (5) to the extent practical, quantifiable measures of program success.​

77.6 Sec. 7. [116L.43] METROPOLITAN JOB TRAINING GRANTS.​

77.7 Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For the purposes of this section, the following terms have​

77.8 the meanings given.​

77.9 (b) "Agreement" means the agreement between an employer and the commissioner for​

77.10 a project.​

77.11 (c) "Commissioner" means the commissioner of employment and economic development.​

77.12 (d) "Disability" has the meaning given under United States Code, title 42, chapter 126.​

77.13 (e) "Employee" means the individual employed in a new job.​

77.14 (f) "Employer" means the individual, corporation, partnership, limited liability company,​

77.15 or association providing new jobs and entering into an agreement.​

77.16 (g) "New job" means a job:​

77.17 (1) that is provided by a new or expanding business in the manufacturing or technology​

77.18 industry;​

77.19 (2) that is located within the metropolitan area, as defined under section 473.121,​

77.20 subdivision 2;​

77.21 (3) that provides at least 32 hours of work per week for a minimum of nine months per​

77.22 year and is permanent with no planned termination date;​

77.23 (4) that is certified by the commissioner as qualifying under the program before the first​

77.24 employee is hired to fill the job; and​

77.25 (5) for which an employee hired was not:​

77.26 (i) formerly employed by the employer in the state; or​

77.27 (ii) a replacement worker, including a worker newly hired as a result of a labor dispute.​

77.28 (h) "Program" means the project or projects established under this section.​
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78.1 (i) "Program costs" means all necessary and incidental costs of providing program​

78.2 services, except that program costs are increased by $1,000 per employee for an individual​

78.3 with a disability. The term does not include the cost of purchasing equipment to be owned​

78.4 or used by the training or educational institution or service.​

78.5 (j) "Program services" means training and education specifically directed to new jobs​

78.6 that are determined to be appropriate by the commissioner, including in-house training;​

78.7 services provided by institutions of higher education and federal, state, or local agencies;​

78.8 or private training or educational services. Administrative services and assessment and​

78.9 testing costs are included.​

78.10 (k) "Project" means a training arrangement that is the subject of an agreement entered​

78.11 into between the commissioner and an employer to provide program services.​

78.12 Subd. 2. Service provision. Upon request, the commissioner shall provide or coordinate​

78.13 the provision of program services under this section to a business eligible for grants under​

78.14 subdivision 8. The commissioner shall specify the form of and required information to be​

78.15 provided with applications for projects to be funded with grants under this section.​

78.16 Subd. 3. Agreements; required terms. (a) The commissioner may enter into an​

78.17 agreement to establish a project with an employer that:​

78.18 (1) identifies program costs to be paid from sources under the program;​

78.19 (2) identifies program costs to be paid by the employer;​

78.20 (3) provides that on-the-job training costs for employees may not exceed 50 percent of​

78.21 the annual gross wages and salaries of the new jobs in the first full year after execution of​

78.22 the agreement up to a maximum of $10,000 per eligible employee;​

78.23 (4) provides that each employee must be paid wages at least equal to the median hourly​

78.24 wage for the county in which the job is located, as reported in the most recently available​

78.25 data from the United States Bureau of the Census, plus benefits, by the earlier of the end​

78.26 of the training period or 18 months of employment under the project; and​

78.27 (5) provides that job training will be provided and the length of time of training.​

78.28 (b) Before entering into a final agreement, the commissioner shall:​

78.29 (1) determine that sufficient funds for the project are available under subdivision 8; and​

78.30 (2) investigate the applicability of other training programs and determine whether the​

78.31 job skills partnership grant program is a more suitable source of funding for the training​
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79.1 and whether the training can be completed in a timely manner that meets the needs of the​

79.2 business.​

79.3 The investigation under clause (2) must be completed within 15 days or as soon as reasonably​

79.4 possible after the employer has provided the commissioner with all the requested information.​

79.5 Subd. 4. Grant funds sufficient. The commissioner must not enter into an agreement​

79.6 under subdivision 3 unless the commissioner determines that sufficient funds are available.​

79.7 Subd. 5. Grant limit. The maximum grant amount for a project is $400,000.​

79.8 Subd. 6. Allocation. The commissioner shall allocate grant funds under subdivision 8​

79.9 to project applications based on a first-come, first-served basis, determined on the basis of​

79.10 the commissioner's receipt of a complete application for the project, including the provision​

79.11 of all of the required information. The agreement must specify the amount of grant funds​

79.12 available to the employer for each year covered by the agreement.​

79.13 Subd. 7. Application fee. The commissioner may charge each employer an application​

79.14 fee to cover part or all of the administrative and legal costs incurred, not to exceed $500​

79.15 per employer. The fee is deemed approved under section 16A.1283. The fee is deposited​

79.16 in the metropolitan jobs training account in the special revenue fund and amounts in the​

79.17 account are appropriated to the commissioner for the costs of administering the program.​

79.18 The commissioner shall refund the fee to the employer if the application is denied because​

79.19 program funding is unavailable.​

79.20 Subd. 8. Grants; recovery of program costs. Amounts paid by employers for program​

79.21 costs are repaid by a metropolitan job training grant equal to the lesser of the following:​

79.22 (1) the amount of program costs specified in the agreement for the project; or​

79.23 (2) the amount of program costs paid by the employer for new employees under a project.​

79.24 Subd. 9. Reports. (a) By February 1, 2022, and each February 1 thereafter, the​

79.25 commissioner shall report to the governor and the legislature on the program. The report​

79.26 must include at least:​

79.27 (1) the amount of grants issued under the program;​

79.28 (2) the number of individuals receiving training under the program, including the number​

79.29 of new hires who are individuals with disabilities;​

79.30 (3) the number of new hires attributable to the program, including the number of new​

79.31 hires who are individuals with disabilities;​

79.32 (4) an analysis of the effectiveness of the grant in encouraging employment; and​
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80.1 (5) any other information the commissioner determines appropriate.​

80.2 (b) The report to the legislature must be distributed as provided in section 3.195.​

80.3 Sec. 8. [116L.9761] MINNESOTA CALL CENTER JOBS ACT.​

80.4 Sections 116L.9762 to 116L.9766 shall be known as the "Minnesota Call Center Jobs​

80.5 Act."​

80.6 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective 180 days after final enactment​

80.7 Sec. 9. [116L.9762] DEFINITIONS.​

80.8 Subdivision 1. Application. For the purposes of sections 116L.9762 to 116L.9766, the​

80.9 terms defined in this section have the meanings given them.​

80.10 Subd. 2. Agency. "Agency" means a state department under section 15.01.​

80.11 Subd. 3. Business entity. "Business entity" means any organization, corporation, trust,​

80.12 partnership, sole proprietorship, unincorporated association, or venture established to make​

80.13 a profit, in whole or in part, by purposefully availing itself of the privilege of conducting​

80.14 commerce in Minnesota.​

80.15 Subd. 4. Call center. "Call center" means a facility or other operation with employees​

80.16 who receive incoming telephone calls, e-mail, or other electronic communications for the​

80.17 purpose of providing customer assistance or other service.​

80.18 Subd. 5. Commissioner. "Commissioner" means the commissioner of employment and​

80.19 economic development.​

80.20 Subd. 6. Employer. "Employer" means a business enterprise that employs, for the​

80.21 purpose of customer service or back-office operations:​

80.22 (1) 50 or more employees, excluding part-time employees; or​

80.23 (2) 50 or more employees who, in the aggregate, work at least 1,500 hours per week,​

80.24 exclusive of hours of overtime.​

80.25 Subd. 7. Part-time employee. "Part-time employee" means an employee who is employed​

80.26 for an average of fewer than 20 hours per week or who has been employed for fewer than​

80.27 six of the 12 months preceding the date on which notice is required under section 116L.9763.​

80.28 Subd. 8. Relocating; relocation. "Relocating" or "relocation" means the closure of a​

80.29 call center, the cessation of operations of a call center, or one or more facilities or operating​

80.30 units within a call center comprising at least 30 percent of the call center's or operating unit's​
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81.1 total volume when measured against the previous 12-month average call volume of operations​

81.2 or substantially similar operations, to a location outside of the United States.​

81.3 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective 180 days after final enactment​

81.4 Sec. 10. [116L.9763] CALL CENTER RELOCATIONS.​

81.5 (a) An employer must notify the commissioner if it intends to relocate from Minnesota​

81.6 to a foreign country either of the following:​

81.7 (1) a call center; or​

81.8 (2) one or more facilities or operating units within a call center that comprise at least 30​

81.9 percent of the call center's or operating unit's total volume when measured against the​

81.10 previous 12-month average call volume of operations or substantially similar operations.​

81.11 (b) The notification required under paragraph (a) must be given at least 120 days before​

81.12 the relocation is to occur.​

81.13 (c) An employer that violates paragraph (a) is subject to a civil penalty not to exceed​

81.14 $10,000 for each day of the violation, except that the commissioner may reduce the amount​

81.15 for just cause shown.​

81.16 (d) The commissioner shall compile a semiannual list of all employers that relocate a​

81.17 call center, or one or more facilities or operating units within a call center comprising at​

81.18 least 30 percent of the call center's total volume of operations, from the United States to a​

81.19 foreign country, and distribute the list to all agencies.​

81.20 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective 180 days after final enactment​

81.21 Sec. 11. [116L.9764] GRANTS; LOANS; SUBSIDIES.​

81.22 (a) Except as provided in paragraph (b) and notwithstanding any other provision of law,​

81.23 an employer that appears on the list prepared under section 116L.9763 shall be ineligible​

81.24 for any direct or indirect state grants or state guaranteed loans for five years after the date​

81.25 the employer is placed on the list.​

81.26 (b) Except as provided in paragraph (c) and notwithstanding any other provision of law,​

81.27 an employer that appears on the list prepared under section 116L.9763 shall remit to the​

81.28 commissioner of management and budget the unamortized value of any grants, guaranteed​

81.29 loans, tax benefits, or other governmental support it has previously received.​

81.30 (c) The commissioner of management and budget, in consultation with the commissioner​

81.31 of the agency providing or administering the public subsidy, may waive the ineligibility​
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82.1 requirement under paragraph (a) if the employer applying for the loan or grant demonstrates​

82.2 that not having the loan or grant would threaten national security, result in substantial job​

82.3 loss in Minnesota, or harm the environment.​

82.4 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective 180 days after final enactment​

82.5 Sec. 12. [116L.9765] PROCUREMENT.​

82.6 The commissioner of each agency shall ensure that all state business related call center​

82.7 and customer service work be performed by state contractors or their agents or subcontractors​

82.8 entirely within Minnesota. State contractors who currently perform work outside Minnesota​

82.9 shall have two years following the effective date of this act to comply with this section.​

82.10 Any new call center or customer service employees hired by the contractor during the​

82.11 compliance period under this section must be employed in Minnesota.​

82.12 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective 180 days after final enactment​

82.13 Sec. 13. [116L.9766] EMPLOYEE BENEFITS.​

82.14 Nothing in sections 116L.9762 to 116L.9766 shall be construed to permit the withholding​

82.15 or denial of payments, compensation, or benefits under any other state law, including state​

82.16 unemployment compensation, disability payments, or worker retraining or readjustment​

82.17 funds, to employees of employers that relocate to a foreign country.​

82.18 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective 180 days after final enactment​

82.19 Sec. 14. Laws 2017, chapter 94, article 1, section 2, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

30,231,000​$​31,498,000​$​82.20 Subd. 3. Workforce Development​

82.21 Appropriations by Fund​

$5,889,000​$6,239,000​82.22 General​

$24,342,000​$25,259,000​
82.23 Workforce​
82.24 Development​

82.25 (a) $500,000 each year is for the​

82.26 youth-at-work competitive grant program​

82.27 under Minnesota Statutes, section 116L.562.​

82.28 Of this amount, up to five percent is for​

82.29 administration and monitoring of the youth​

82.30 workforce development competitive grant​

82.31 program. All grant awards shall be for two​
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83.1 consecutive years. Grants shall be awarded in​

83.2 the first year. In fiscal year 2020 and beyond,​

83.3 the base amount is $750,000.​

83.4 (b) $250,000 each year is for pilot programs​

83.5 in the workforce service areas to combine​

83.6 career and higher education advising.​

83.7 (c) $500,000 each year is for rural career​

83.8 counseling coordinator positions in the​

83.9 workforce service areas and for the purposes​

83.10 specified in Minnesota Statutes, section​

83.11 116L.667. The commissioner of employment​

83.12 and economic development, in consultation​

83.13 with local workforce investment boards and​

83.14 local elected officials in each of the service​

83.15 areas receiving funds, shall develop a method​

83.16 of distributing funds to provide equitable​

83.17 services across workforce service areas.​

83.18 (d) $1,000,000 each year is for a grant to the​

83.19 Construction Careers Foundation for the​

83.20 construction career pathway initiative to​

83.21 provide year-round educational and​

83.22 experiential learning opportunities for teens​

83.23 and young adults under the age of 21 that lead​

83.24 to careers in the construction industry. This is​

83.25 a onetime appropriation. Grant funds must be​

83.26 used to:​

83.27 (1) increase construction industry exposure​

83.28 activities for middle school and high school​

83.29 youth, parents, and counselors to reach a more​

83.30 diverse demographic and broader statewide​

83.31 audience. This requirement includes, but is​

83.32 not limited to, an expansion of programs to​

83.33 provide experience in different crafts to youth​

83.34 and young adults throughout the state;​
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84.1 (2) increase the number of high schools in​

84.2 Minnesota offering construction classes during​

84.3 the academic year that utilize a multicraft​

84.4 curriculum;​

84.5 (3) increase the number of summer internship​

84.6 opportunities;​

84.7 (4) enhance activities to support graduating​

84.8 seniors in their efforts to obtain employment​

84.9 in the construction industry;​

84.10 (5) increase the number of young adults​

84.11 employed in the construction industry and​

84.12 ensure that they reflect Minnesota's diverse​

84.13 workforce; and​

84.14 (6) enhance an industrywide marketing​

84.15 campaign targeted to youth and young adults​

84.16 about the depth and breadth of careers within​

84.17 the construction industry.​

84.18 Programs and services supported by grant​

84.19 funds must give priority to individuals and​

84.20 groups that are economically disadvantaged​

84.21 or historically underrepresented in the​

84.22 construction industry, including but not limited​

84.23 to women, veterans, and members of minority​

84.24 and immigrant groups.​

84.25 (e) $1,539,000 each year from the general fund​

84.26 and $4,604,000 each year from the workforce​

84.27 development fund are for the Pathways to​

84.28 Prosperity adult workforce development​

84.29 competitive grant program. Of this amount,​

84.30 up to four percent is for administration and​

84.31 monitoring of the program. When awarding​

84.32 grants under this paragraph, the commissioner​

84.33 of employment and economic development​

84.34 may give preference to any previous grantee​
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85.1 with demonstrated success in job training and​

85.2 placement for hard-to-train individuals. In​

85.3 fiscal year 2020 and beyond, the general fund​

85.4 base amount for this program is $4,039,000.​

85.5 (f) $750,000 each year is for a competitive​

85.6 grant program to provide grants to​

85.7 organizations that provide support services for​

85.8 individuals, such as job training, employment​

85.9 preparation, internships, job assistance to​

85.10 fathers, financial literacy, academic and​

85.11 behavioral interventions for low-performing​

85.12 students, and youth intervention. Grants made​

85.13 under this section must focus on low-income​

85.14 communities, young adults from families with​

85.15 a history of intergenerational poverty, and​

85.16 communities of color. Of this amount, up to​

85.17 four percent is for administration and​

85.18 monitoring of the program. In fiscal year 2020​

85.19 and beyond, the base amount is $1,000,000.​

85.20 (g) $500,000 each year is for the women and​

85.21 high-wage, high-demand, nontraditional jobs​

85.22 grant program under Minnesota Statutes,​

85.23 section 116L.99. Of this amount, up to five​

85.24 percent is for administration and monitoring​

85.25 of the program. In fiscal year 2020 and​

85.26 beyond, the base amount is $750,000.​

85.27 (h) $500,000 each year is for a competitive​

85.28 grant program for grants to organizations​

85.29 providing services to relieve economic​

85.30 disparities in the Southeast Asian community​

85.31 through workforce recruitment, development,​

85.32 job creation, assistance of smaller​

85.33 organizations to increase capacity, and​

85.34 outreach. Of this amount, up to five percent​

85.35 is for administration and monitoring of the​
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86.1 program. In fiscal year 2020 and beyond, the​

86.2 base amount is $1,000,000.​

86.3 (i) $250,000 each year is for a grant to the​

86.4 American Indian Opportunities and​

86.5 Industrialization Center, in collaboration with​

86.6 the Northwest Indian Community​

86.7 Development Center, to reduce academic​

86.8 disparities for American Indian students and​

86.9 adults. This is a onetime appropriation. The​

86.10 grant funds may be used to provide:​

86.11 (1) student tutoring and testing support​

86.12 services;​

86.13 (2) training in information technology;​

86.14 (3) assistance in obtaining a GED;​

86.15 (4) remedial training leading to enrollment in​

86.16 a postsecondary higher education institution;​

86.17 (5) real-time work experience in information​

86.18 technology fields; and​

86.19 (6) contextualized adult basic education.​

86.20 After notification to the legislature, the​

86.21 commissioner may transfer this appropriation​

86.22 to the commissioner of education.​

86.23 (j) $100,000 each year is for the getting to​

86.24 work grant program. This is a onetime​

86.25 appropriation and is available until June 30,​

86.26 2021.​

86.27 (k) $525,000 each year is from the workforce​

86.28 development fund for a grant to the YWCA​

86.29 of Minneapolis to provide economically​

86.30 challenged individuals the job skills training,​

86.31 career counseling, and job placement​

86.32 assistance necessary to secure a child​

86.33 development associate credential and to have​
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87.1 a career path in early childhood education.​

87.2 This is a onetime appropriation.​

87.3 (l) $1,350,000 each year is from the workforce​

87.4 development fund for a grant to the Minnesota​

87.5 High Tech Association to support​

87.6 SciTechsperience, a program that supports​

87.7 science, technology, engineering, and math​

87.8 (STEM) internship opportunities for two- and​

87.9 four-year college students and graduate​

87.10 students in their field of study. The internship​

87.11 opportunities must match students with paid​

87.12 internships within STEM disciplines at small,​

87.13 for-profit companies located in Minnesota,​

87.14 having fewer than 250 employees worldwide.​

87.15 At least 300 students must be matched in the​

87.16 first year and at least 350 students must be​

87.17 matched in the second year. No more than 15​

87.18 percent of the hires may be graduate students.​

87.19 Selected hiring companies shall receive from​

87.20 the grant 50 percent of the wages paid to the​

87.21 intern, capped at $2,500 per intern. The​

87.22 program must work toward increasing the​

87.23 participation of women or other underserved​

87.24 populations. This is a onetime appropriation.​

87.25 (m) $450,000 each year is from the workforce​

87.26 development fund for grants to Minnesota​

87.27 Diversified Industries, Inc. to provide​

87.28 progressive development and employment​

87.29 opportunities for people with disabilities. This​

87.30 is a onetime appropriation.​

87.31 (n) $500,000 each year is from the workforce​

87.32 development fund for a grant to Resource, Inc.​

87.33 to provide low-income individuals career​

87.34 education and job skills training that are fully​
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88.1 integrated with chemical and mental health​

88.2 services. This is a onetime appropriation.​

88.3 (o) $750,000 each year is from the workforce​

88.4 development fund for a grant to the Minnesota​

88.5 Alliance of Boys and Girls Clubs to administer​

88.6 a statewide project of youth job skills and​

88.7 career development. This project, which may​

88.8 have career guidance components including​

88.9 health and life skills, is designed to encourage,​

88.10 train, and assist youth in early access to​

88.11 education and job-seeking skills, work-based​

88.12 learning experience including career pathways​

88.13 in STEM learning, career exploration and​

88.14 matching, and first job placement through​

88.15 local community partnerships and on-site job​

88.16 opportunities. This grant requires a 25 percent​

88.17 match from nonstate resources. This is a​

88.18 onetime appropriation.​

88.19 (p) $215,000 each year is from the workforce​

88.20 development fund for grants to Big Brothers,​

88.21 Big Sisters of the Greater Twin Cities for​

88.22 workforce readiness, employment exploration,​

88.23 and skills development for youth ages 12 to​

88.24 21. The grant must serve youth in the Twin​

88.25 Cities, Central Minnesota, and Southern​

88.26 Minnesota Big Brothers, Big Sisters chapters.​

88.27 This is a onetime appropriation.​

88.28 (q) $250,000 each year is from the workforce​

88.29 development fund for a grant to YWCA St.​

88.30 Paul to provide job training services and​

88.31 workforce development programs and​

88.32 services, including job skills training and​

88.33 counseling. This is a onetime appropriation.​

88.34 (r) $1,000,000 each year is from the workforce​

88.35 development fund for a grant to EMERGE​

88​Article 4 Sec. 14.​

REVISOR SS/CH A19-0341​03/31/19 06:04 pm  ​



89.1 Community Development, in collaboration​

89.2 with community partners, for services​

89.3 targeting Minnesota communities with the​

89.4 highest concentrations of African and​

89.5 African-American joblessness, based on the​

89.6 most recent census tract data, to provide​

89.7 employment readiness training, credentialed​

89.8 training placement, job placement and​

89.9 retention services, supportive services for​

89.10 hard-to-employ individuals, and a general​

89.11 education development fast track and adult​

89.12 diploma program. This is a onetime​

89.13 appropriation.​

89.14 (s) $1,000,000 each year is from the workforce​

89.15 development fund for a grant to the​

89.16 Minneapolis Foundation for a strategic​

89.17 intervention program designed to target and​

89.18 connect program participants to meaningful,​

89.19 sustainable living-wage employment. This is​

89.20 a onetime appropriation.​

89.21 (t) $750,000 each year is from the workforce​

89.22 development fund for a grant to Latino​

89.23 Communities United in Service (CLUES) to​

89.24 expand culturally tailored programs that​

89.25 address employment and education skill gaps​

89.26 for working parents and underserved youth by​

89.27 providing new job skills training to stimulate​

89.28 higher wages for low-income people, family​

89.29 support systems designed to reduce​

89.30 intergenerational poverty, and youth​

89.31 programming to promote educational​

89.32 advancement and career pathways. At least​

89.33 50 percent of this amount must be used for​

89.34 programming targeted at greater Minnesota.​

89.35 This is a onetime appropriation.​
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90.1 (u) $600,000 each year is from the workforce​

90.2 development fund for a grant to Ujamaa Place​

90.3 for job training, employment preparation,​

90.4 internships, education, training in the​

90.5 construction trades, housing, and​

90.6 organizational capacity building. This is a​

90.7 onetime appropriation.​

90.8 (v) $1,297,000 in the first year and $800,000​

90.9 in the second year are from the workforce​

90.10 development fund for performance grants​

90.11 under Minnesota Statutes, section 116J.8747,​

90.12 to Twin Cities R!SE to provide training to​

90.13 hard-to-train individuals. Of the amounts​

90.14 appropriated, $497,000 in fiscal year 2018 is​

90.15 for a grant to Twin Cities R!SE, in​

90.16 collaboration with Metro Transit and Hennepin​

90.17 Technical College for the Metro Transit​

90.18 technician training program. This is a onetime​

90.19 appropriation and funds are available until​

90.20 June 30, 2020.​

90.21 (w) $230,000 in fiscal year 2018 is from the​

90.22 workforce development fund for a grant to the​

90.23 Bois Forte Tribal Employment Rights Office​

90.24 (TERO) for an American Indian workforce​

90.25 development training pilot project. This is a​

90.26 onetime appropriation and is available until​

90.27 June 30, 2019. Funds appropriated the first​

90.28 year are available for use in the second year​

90.29 of the biennium.​

90.30 (x) $40,000 in fiscal year 2018 is from the​

90.31 workforce development fund for a grant to the​

90.32 Cook County Higher Education Board to​

90.33 provide educational programming and​

90.34 academic support services to remote regions​

90.35 in northeastern Minnesota. This appropriation​
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91.1 is in addition to other funds previously​

91.2 appropriated to the board.​

91.3 (y) $250,000 each year is from the workforce​

91.4 development fund for a grant to Bridges to​

91.5 Healthcare to provide career education,​

91.6 wraparound support services, and job skills​

91.7 training in high-demand health care fields to​

91.8 low-income parents, nonnative speakers of​

91.9 English, and other hard-to-train individuals,​

91.10 helping families build secure pathways out of​

91.11 poverty while also addressing worker​

91.12 shortages in one of Minnesota's most​

91.13 innovative industries. Funds may be used for​

91.14 program expenses, including, but not limited​

91.15 to, hiring instructors and navigators; space​

91.16 rental; and supportive services to help​

91.17 participants attend classes, including assistance​

91.18 with course fees, child care, transportation,​

91.19 and safe and stable housing. In addition, up to​

91.20 five percent of grant funds may be used for​

91.21 Bridges to Healthcare's administrative costs.​

91.22 This is a onetime appropriation and is​

91.23 available until June 30, 2020.​

91.24 (z) $500,000 each year is from the workforce​

91.25 development fund for a grant to the Nonprofits​

91.26 Assistance Fund to provide capacity-building​

91.27 grants to small, culturally specific​

91.28 organizations that primarily serve historically​

91.29 underserved cultural communities. Grants may​

91.30 only be awarded to nonprofit organizations​

91.31 that have an annual organizational budget of​

91.32 less than $500,000 and are culturally specific​

91.33 organizations that primarily serve historically​

91.34 underserved cultural communities. Grant funds​

91.35 awarded must be used for:​

91​Article 4 Sec. 14.​

REVISOR SS/CH A19-0341​03/31/19 06:04 pm  ​



92.1 (1) organizational infrastructure improvement,​

92.2 including developing database management​

92.3 systems and financial systems, or other​

92.4 administrative needs that increase the​

92.5 organization's ability to access new funding​

92.6 sources;​

92.7 (2) organizational workforce development,​

92.8 including hiring culturally competent staff,​

92.9 training and skills development, and other​

92.10 methods of increasing staff capacity; or​

92.11 (3) creation or expansion of partnerships with​

92.12 existing organizations that have specialized​

92.13 expertise in order to increase the capacity of​

92.14 the grantee organization to improve services​

92.15 for the community. Of this amount, up to five​

92.16 percent may be used by the Nonprofits​

92.17 Assistance Fund for administration costs and​

92.18 providing technical assistance to potential​

92.19 grantees. This is a onetime appropriation.​

92.20 (aa) $4,050,000 each year is from the​

92.21 workforce development fund for the​

92.22 Minnesota youth program under Minnesota​

92.23 Statutes, sections 116L.56 and 116L.561.​

92.24 (bb) $1,000,000 each year is from the​

92.25 workforce development fund for the​

92.26 youthbuild program under Minnesota Statutes,​

92.27 sections 116L.361 to 116L.366.​

92.28 (cc) $3,348,000 each year is from the​

92.29 workforce development fund for the "Youth​

92.30 at Work" youth workforce development​

92.31 competitive grant program. Of this amount,​

92.32 up to five percent is for administration and​

92.33 monitoring of the youth workforce​

92.34 development competitive grant program. All​
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93.1 grant awards shall be for two consecutive​

93.2 years. Grants shall be awarded in the first year.​

93.3 (dd) $500,000 each year is from the workforce​

93.4 development fund for the Opportunities​

93.5 Industrialization Center programs.​

93.6 (ee) $750,000 each year is from the workforce​

93.7 development fund for a grant to Summit​

93.8 Academy OIC to expand its contextualized​

93.9 GED and employment placement program.​

93.10 This is a onetime appropriation.​

93.11 (ff) $500,000 each year is from the workforce​

93.12 development fund for a grant to​

93.13 Goodwill-Easter Seals Minnesota and its​

93.14 partners. The grant shall be used to continue​

93.15 the FATHER Project in Rochester, Park​

93.16 Rapids, St. Cloud, Minneapolis, and the​

93.17 surrounding areas to assist fathers in​

93.18 overcoming barriers that prevent fathers from​

93.19 supporting their children economically and​

93.20 emotionally. This is a onetime appropriation.​

93.21 (gg) $150,000 each year is from the workforce​

93.22 development fund for displaced homemaker​

93.23 programs under Minnesota Statutes, section​

93.24 116L.96. The commissioner shall distribute​

93.25 the funds to existing nonprofit and state​

93.26 displaced homemaker programs. This is a​

93.27 onetime appropriation.​

93.28 (hh)(1) $150,000 in fiscal year 2018 is from​

93.29 the workforce development fund for a grant​

93.30 to Anoka County to develop and implement​

93.31 a pilot program to increase competitive​

93.32 employment opportunities for transition-age​

93.33 youth ages 18 to 21.​
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94.1 (2) The competitive employment for​

94.2 transition-age youth pilot program shall​

94.3 include career guidance components, including​

94.4 health and life skills, to encourage, train, and​

94.5 assist transition-age youth in job-seeking​

94.6 skills, workplace orientation, and job site​

94.7 knowledge.​

94.8 (3) In operating the pilot program, Anoka​

94.9 County shall collaborate with schools,​

94.10 disability providers, jobs and training​

94.11 organizations, vocational rehabilitation​

94.12 providers, and employers to build upon​

94.13 opportunities and services, to prepare​

94.14 transition-age youth for competitive​

94.15 employment, and to enhance employer​

94.16 connections that lead to employment for the​

94.17 individuals served.​

94.18 (4) Grant funds may be used to create an​

94.19 on-the-job training incentive to encourage​

94.20 employers to hire and train qualifying​

94.21 individuals. A participating employer may​

94.22 receive up to 50 percent of the wages paid to​

94.23 the employee as a cost reimbursement for​

94.24 on-the-job training provided.​

94.25 (ii) $500,000 each year is from the workforce​

94.26 development fund for rural career counseling​

94.27 coordinator positions in the workforce service​

94.28 areas and for the purposes specified in​

94.29 Minnesota Statutes, section 116L.667. The​

94.30 commissioner of employment and economic​

94.31 development, in consultation with local​

94.32 workforce investment boards and local elected​

94.33 officials in each of the service areas receiving​

94.34 funds, shall develop a method of distributing​
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95.1 funds to provide equitable services across​

95.2 workforce service areas.​

95.3 (jj) In calendar year 2017, the public utility​

95.4 subject to Minnesota Statutes, section​

95.5 116C.779, must withhold $1,000,000 from the​

95.6 funds required to fulfill its financial​

95.7 commitments under Minnesota Statutes,​

95.8 section 116C.779, subdivision 1, and pay such​

95.9 amounts to the commissioner of employment​

95.10 and economic development for deposit in the​

95.11 Minnesota 21st century fund under Minnesota​

95.12 Statutes, section 116J.423.​

95.13 (kk) $350,000 in fiscal year 2018 is for a grant​

95.14 to AccessAbility Incorporated to provide job​

95.15 skills training to individuals who have been​

95.16 released from incarceration for a felony-level​

95.17 offense and are no more than 12 months from​

95.18 the date of release. AccessAbility Incorporated​

95.19 shall annually report to the commissioner on​

95.20 how the money was spent and the results​

95.21 achieved. The report must include, at a​

95.22 minimum, information and data about the​

95.23 number of participants; participant​

95.24 homelessness, employment, recidivism, and​

95.25 child support compliance; and training​

95.26 provided to program participants.​

95.27 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective retroactively from July 1, 2017.​

95.28 Sec. 15. PLAN TO ADDRESS BARRIERS TO EMPLOYMENT.​

95.29 The commissioner of employment and economic development must consult with the​

95.30 commissioners of health and human services and stakeholders in order to identify the barriers​

95.31 that people with mental illness face in obtaining employment and all current programs that​

95.32 assist people with mental illness in obtaining employment. Stakeholders shall include people​

95.33 with mental illness and their families, mental health advocates, mental health providers,​

95.34 and employers. The commissioner of employment and economic development shall submit​
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96.1 a detailed plan to the legislative committees with jurisdiction over employment and human​

96.2 services before February 1, 2020, identifying the barriers to employment and making​

96.3 recommendations on how to best improve the employment rate among people with mental​

96.4 illness.​

96.5 Sec. 16. SPECIAL EDUCATION EMPLOYMENT PILOT PROJECT.​

96.6 Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For the purposes of this section, the terms in this​

96.7 subdivision have the meanings given.​

96.8 (b) "Commissioner" means the commissioner of employment and economic development.​

96.9 (c) "Eligible provider" means an organization currently eligible to provide services​

96.10 through the extended employment program under Minnesota Statutes, section 268A.15.​

96.11 (d) "Eligible student" means:​

96.12 (1) a student receiving special instruction under Minnesota Statutes, section 125A.03,​

96.13 who has completed at least three years of high school; or​

96.14 (2) an individual under the age of 25 who has graduated from secondary school after​

96.15 receiving special instruction under Minnesota Statutes, section 125A.03, but has not had​

96.16 competitive wage employment in an integrated community setting.​

96.17 (e) "Pilot" means the special education employment pilot project established under this​

96.18 section.​

96.19 Subd. 2. Establishment. The commissioner shall establish a special education​

96.20 employment pilot project designed to transition special education graduates into competitive​

96.21 wage employment in integrated community settings.​

96.22 Subd. 3. Services. Eligible providers wishing to participate in the pilot must notify the​

96.23 commissioner, on a form designated by the commissioner, of the intent to provide an eligible​

96.24 student with one of the following services:​

96.25 (1) comprehensive job preparation training that must provide an eligible student with at​

96.26 least 20 hours in a classroom setting, resume preparation, and assistance in establishing a​

96.27 bank account;​

96.28 (2) job shadowing experiences where eligible students can observe at least 30 hours of​

96.29 workplace activity for a job similar to one the eligible student might be hired for. Eligible​

96.30 providers shall facilitate transportation to and from the workplace for the eligible student;​

96.31 and​
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97.1 (3) employment placement services to match eligible students with appropriate​

97.2 employment paying at least the minimum wage in an integrated community setting. Eligible​

97.3 providers shall support such placements with training for the employer and the eligible​

97.4 student, both before and after hiring, to foster success.​

97.5 Subd. 4. Payments. Eligible providers may apply to the commissioner, on a form​

97.6 designated by the commissioner, for the following payments:​

97.7 (1) $1,000 for each eligible student certified to have completed the services under​

97.8 subdivision 3, clause (1);​

97.9 (2) $1,000 for each eligible student certified to have completed the services under​

97.10 subdivision 3, clause (2); and​

97.11 (3) $3,000 for each eligible student certified to have completed 90 days of employment​

97.12 after receiving the services under subdivision 3, clause (3).​

97.13 Subd. 5. Forms. By October 1, 2019, the commissioner must make available the forms​

97.14 necessary for eligible providers to participate in the pilot. These must include:​

97.15 (1) a form to notify the commissioner of the intent to provide an eligible student with a​

97.16 service under subdivision 3; and​

97.17 (2) a form to certify to the commissioner that an eligible student from clause (1) was​

97.18 provided the service under subdivision 3, and to apply for payment for that service under​

97.19 subdivision 4.​

97.20 Sec. 17. MINNESOTA INNOVATION COLLABORATIVE.​

97.21 Subdivision 1. Establishment. The Minnesota Innovation Collaborative is established​

97.22 within the Business and Community Development Division of the Department of​

97.23 Employment and Economic Development to encourage and support the development of​

97.24 new private sector technologies and support the science and technology policies under​

97.25 Minnesota Statutes, section 3.222. The Minnesota Innovation Collaborative must provide​

97.26 entrepreneurs and emerging technology-based companies business development assistance​

97.27 and financial assistance to spur growth.​

97.28 Subd. 2. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the terms defined in this subdivision​

97.29 have the meanings given.​

97.30 (b) "Advisory board" means the board established under subdivision 11.​

97.31 (c) "Commissioner" means the commissioner of employment and economic development.​
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98.1 (d) "Department" means the Department of Employment and Economic Development.​

98.2 (e) "Entrepreneur" means a Minnesota resident who is involved in establishing a business​

98.3 entity and secures resources directed to its growth while bearing the risk of loss.​

98.4 (f) "Greater Minnesota" means the area of Minnesota located outside of the metropolitan​

98.5 area as defined in section 473.121, subdivision 2.​

98.6 (g) "High technology" includes aerospace, agricultural processing, renewable energy,​

98.7 energy efficiency and conservation, environmental engineering, food technology, cellulosic​

98.8 ethanol, information technology, materials science technology, nanotechnology,​

98.9 telecommunications, biotechnology, medical device products, pharmaceuticals, diagnostics,​

98.10 biologicals, chemistry, veterinary science, and similar fields.​

98.11 (h) "Institution of higher education" has the meaning given in Minnesota Statutes, section​

98.12 136A.28, subdivision 6.​

98.13 (i) "Minority group member" means a United States citizen who is Asian, Pacific Islander,​

98.14 Black, Hispanic, or Native American.​

98.15 (j) "Minority-owned business" means a business for which one or more minority group​

98.16 members:​

98.17 (1) own at least 50 percent of the business or, in the case of a publicly owned business,​

98.18 own at least 51 percent of the stock; and​

98.19 (2) manage the business and control the daily business operations.​

98.20 (k) "Research and development" means any activity that is:​

98.21 (1) a systematic, intensive study directed toward greater knowledge or understanding​

98.22 of the subject studies;​

98.23 (2) a systematic study directed specifically toward applying new knowledge to meet a​

98.24 recognized need; or​

98.25 (3) a systematic application of knowledge toward the production of useful materials,​

98.26 devices, systems and methods, including design, development and improvement of prototypes​

98.27 and new processes to meet specific requirements.​

98.28 (l) "Start-up" means a business entity that has been in operation for less than ten years,​

98.29 has operations in Minnesota, and is in the development stage defined as devoting substantially​

98.30 all of its efforts to establishing a new business and either of the following conditions exists:​

98.31 (1) planned principal operations have not commenced; or​
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99.1 (2) planned principal operations have commenced, but have generated less than​

99.2 $1,000,000 in revenue.​

99.3 (m) "Technology-related assistance" means the application and utilization of​

99.4 technological-information and technologies to assist in the development and production of​

99.5 new technology-related products or services or to increase the productivity or otherwise​

99.6 enhance the production or delivery of existing products or services.​

99.7 (n) "Trade association" means a nonprofit membership organization organized to promote​

99.8 businesses and business conditions and having an election under Internal Revenue Code​

99.9 section 501(c)(3) or 501(c)(6).​

99.10 (o) "Women" means persons of the female gender.​

99.11 (p) "Women-owned business" means a business for which one or more women:​

99.12 (1) own at least 50 percent of the business or, in the case of a publicly owned business,​

99.13 own at least 51 percent of the stock; and​

99.14 (2) manage the business and control the daily business operations.​

99.15 Subd. 3. Duties. The Minnesota Innovation Collaborative shall:​

99.16 (1) support innovation and initiatives designed to accelerate the growth of high-technology​

99.17 start-ups in Minnesota;​

99.18 (2) offer classes and instructional sessions on how to start a high-tech and innovative​

99.19 start-up;​

99.20 (3) promote activities for entrepreneurs and investors regarding the state's growing​

99.21 innovation economy;​

99.22 (4) hold events and meetings that gather key stakeholders in the state's innovation sector;​

99.23 (5) conduct outreach and education on innovation activities and related financial programs​

99.24 available from the department and other organizations, particularly for underserved​

99.25 communities;​

99.26 (6) interact and collaborate with statewide partners including but not limited to businesses,​

99.27 nonprofits, trade associations, and higher education institutions;​

99.28 (7) administer an advisory board to assist with direction, grant application review,​

99.29 program evaluation, report development, and partnerships;​
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100.1 (8) commission research in partnership with the University of Minnesota and Minnesota​

100.2 State Colleges and Universities to study innovation and its impacts on the state's economy​

100.3 with emphasis on the state's labor market;​

100.4 (9) accept grant applications under subdivisions 5 and 6 and work with the advisory​

100.5 board to evaluate the applications and provide funding recommendations to the commissioner;​

100.6 and​

100.7 (10) perform other duties at the commissioner's discretion.​

100.8 Subd. 4. Administration. (a) The department shall employ an executive director in the​

100.9 unclassified service. The executive director shall:​

100.10 (1) hire no more than two staff;​

100.11 (2) assist the commissioner and the advisory board in performing the duties of the​

100.12 Minnesota Innovation Collaborative; and​

100.13 (3) comply with all state and federal program requirements, and all state and federal​

100.14 securities and tax laws and regulations.​

100.15 (b) To the extent possible, the space that the Minnesota Innovation Collaborative shall​

100.16 occupy and lease must be a private coworking facility that includes office space for staff​

100.17 and space for community engagement for training entrepreneurs. The space leased under​

100.18 this paragraph is exempt from the requirements in Minnesota Statutes, section 16B.24,​

100.19 subdivision 6.​

100.20 (c) Except for grants under subdivision 7, the Minnesota Innovation Collaborative must​

100.21 accept grant applications under this section and provide funding recommendations to the​

100.22 commissioner, who shall distribute grants based in part on the recommendations.​

100.23 Subd. 5. Application process. (a) The commissioner shall establish the application form​

100.24 and procedures for innovation grants.​

100.25 (b) Upon receiving recommendations from the Minnesota Innovation Collaborative​

100.26 under subdivision 4, paragraph (c), the department is responsible for evaluating all​

100.27 applications using evaluation criteria developed by the Minnesota Innovation Collaborative,​

100.28 the advisory board, and the commissioner. Priority shall be given if the applicant is:​

100.29 (1) a business or entrepreneur located in greater Minnesota; or​

100.30 (2) a business owner or entrepreneur who is a woman or minority group member.​
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101.1 (c) The department staff, and not the Minnesota Innovation Collaborative staff, is​

101.2 responsible for awarding funding, disbursing funds, and monitoring grantee performance​

101.3 for all grants awarded under this section.​

101.4 (d) Grantees must provide matching funds by equal expenditures and grant payments​

101.5 must be provided on a reimbursement basis after review of submitted receipts by the​

101.6 department.​

101.7 (e) Grant applications must be accepted on a regular periodic basis by the Minnesota​

101.8 Innovation Collaborative and must be reviewed by the collaborative and the advisory board​

101.9 before being submitted to the commissioner with their recommendations.​

101.10 Subd. 6. Innovation grants. (a) The commissioner shall distribute innovation grants​

101.11 under this subdivision.​

101.12 (b) The commissioner shall provide a grant of up to $50,000 to an eligible business or​

101.13 entrepreneur for research and development expenses. Research and development expenditures​

101.14 may be related but not limited to proof of concept activities, intellectual property protection,​

101.15 prototype designs and production, and commercial feasibility. Expenditures funded under​

101.16 this subdivision are not eligible for the research and development tax credit under Minnesota​

101.17 Statutes, section 290.068. Each business or entrepreneur may receive only one grant under​

101.18 this paragraph.​

101.19 (c) The commissioner shall provide a grant of up to $25,000 to an eligible start-up or​

101.20 entrepreneur for direct business expenses including but not limited to rent, equipment​

101.21 purchases, supplier invoices, and staffing. Taxes imposed by the federal, state, or local​

101.22 government entities may be not be reimbursed under this paragraph. Each start-up or​

101.23 entrepreneur may receive only one grant under this paragraph.​

101.24 (d) The commissioner shall provide a grant of up to $7,500 to reimburse an entrepreneur​

101.25 for health care, housing, or child care expenses for the entrepreneur, spouse, or children 26​

101.26 years of age or younger. Each entrepreneur may receive only one grant under this paragraph.​

101.27 (e) The commissioner shall provide a grant of up to $50,000 to an eligible business or​

101.28 entrepreneur that, as a registered client of the Small Business Innovation Research (SBIR)​

101.29 program, has been awarded a Phase 2 award pursuant to the SBIR or Small Business​

101.30 Technology Transfer (STTR) programs after July 1, 2019. Each business or entrepreneur​

101.31 may receive only one grant under this paragraph. Grants under this paragraph are not subject​

101.32 to the requirements of subdivision 2, paragraph (l), and are awarded without the review or​

101.33 recommendation of the Minnesota Innovation Collaborative.​
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102.1 (f) The commissioner shall provide a grant of up to $25,000 to provide financing to​

102.2 start-ups to purchase technical assistance and services from public higher education​

102.3 institutions and nonprofit entities to assist in the development or commercialization of​

102.4 innovative new products or services.​

102.5 Subd. 7. Entrepreneur education grants. (a) The commissioner shall make entrepreneur​

102.6 education grants to institutions of higher education and other organizations to provide​

102.7 educational programming to entrepreneurs and provide outreach to and collaboration with​

102.8 businesses, federal and state agencies, institutions of higher education, trade associations,​

102.9 and other organizations working to advance innovative, high technology businesses​

102.10 throughout Minnesota.​

102.11 (b) Applications for entrepreneur education grants under this subdivision must be​

102.12 submitted to the commissioner and evaluated by department staff other than the Minnesota​

102.13 Innovation Collaborative. The evaluation criteria must be developed by the Minnesota​

102.14 Innovation Collaborative, the advisory board, and the commissioner with priority given to​

102.15 an applicant who demonstrates activity assisting businesses or entrepreneurs residing in​

102.16 greater Minnesota or who are women or minority group members.​

102.17 (c) Department staff other than the Minnesota Innovation Collaborative staff is responsible​

102.18 for awarding funding, disbursing funds, and monitoring grantee performance under this​

102.19 subdivision.​

102.20 (d) Grantees may use the grant funds to deliver the following services:​

102.21 (1) development and delivery to high technology businesses of industry specific or​

102.22 innovative product or process specific counseling on issues of business formation, market​

102.23 structure, market research and strategies, securing first mover advantage or overcoming​

102.24 barriers to entry, protecting intellectual property, and securing debt or equity capital. This​

102.25 counseling is to be delivered in a classroom setting or using distance media presentations;​

102.26 (2) outreach and education to businesses and organizations on the small business​

102.27 investment tax credit program under Minnesota Statutes, section 116J.8737, the MNvest​

102.28 crowd-funding program under Minnesota Statutes, section 80A.461, and other state programs​

102.29 that support high technology business creation especially in underserved communities;​

102.30 (3) collaboration with institutions of higher education, local organizations, federal and​

102.31 state agencies, the Small Business Development Center, and the Small Business Assistance​

102.32 Office to create and offer educational programming and ongoing counseling in greater​

102.33 Minnesota that is consistent with those services offered in the metropolitan area; and​
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103.1 (4) events and meetings with other innovation-related organizations to inform​

103.2 entrepreneurs and potential investors about Minnesota's growing information economy.​

103.3 Subd. 8. Report. The Minnesota Innovation Collaborative shall report by February 1,​

103.4 2020, and again on February 1, 2021, to the chairs and ranking minority members of the​

103.5 committees of the house of representatives and senate having jurisdiction over economic​

103.6 development policy and finance issues on the work completed, including awards made by​

103.7 the department under this section.​

103.8 Subd. 9. Advisory board. (a) The commissioner shall establish an advisory board to​

103.9 advise the executive director regarding the activities of the Minnesota Innovation​

103.10 Collaborative and to perform the recommendations described in this section.​

103.11 (b) The advisory board shall consist of ten members and is governed by Minnesota​

103.12 Statutes, section 15.059. A minimum of six members must be from the private sector​

103.13 representing business and at least two members but no more than four members from​

103.14 government and higher education. Appointees shall represent a range of interests, including​

103.15 entrepreneurs, large businesses, industry organizations, investors, and both public and private​

103.16 small business service providers.​

103.17 (c) The advisory board shall select a chair from its private sector members. The executive​

103.18 director shall provide administrative support to the committee.​

103.19 Sec. 18. CHILD CARE ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT GRANT PROGRAM.​

103.20 Subdivision 1. Establishment. A grant program is established under the Department of​

103.21 Employment and Economic Development to award grants to eligible local communities to​

103.22 increase the availability of child care in order to reduce the child care shortage in the​

103.23 community, and support increased workforce participation, business expansion and retention,​

103.24 and new business location.​

103.25 Subd. 2. Definitions. For the purposes of this section, the following terms have the​

103.26 meanings given them:​

103.27 (1) "commissioner" means the commissioner of employment and economic development;​

103.28 (2) "child care" has the meaning given in section 119B.011;​

103.29 (3) "political subdivision" means a county, statutory or home rule charter city, or school​

103.30 district; and​

103.31 (4) "Indian tribe" means one of the federally recognized Minnesota tribes listed in section​

103.32 3.922, subdivision 1, clause (1).​
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104.1 Subd. 3. Eligible expenditures. The commissioner may make grants under this section​

104.2 to implement solutions to reduce the child care shortage in the state including but not limited​

104.3 to funding for child care business start-ups or expansions, training, facility modifications​

104.4 or improvements required for licensing, and assistance with licensing and other regulatory​

104.5 requirements.​

104.6 Subd. 4. Eligible applicants. Eligible applicants for grants awarded under this section​

104.7 include:​

104.8 (1) a political subdivision;​

104.9 (2) an Indian tribe;​

104.10 (3) a Minnesota nonprofit organization organized under chapter 317 having experience​

104.11 in one or more of the following: the operation of, planning for, financing of, advocacy for,​

104.12 or advancement of the delivery of child care services in a defined service area spanning the​

104.13 boundaries of one or more political subdivisions.​

104.14 Subd. 5. Application process. (a) An eligible applicant must submit an application to​

104.15 the commissioner on a form prescribed by the commissioner. The commissioner shall​

104.16 develop procedures governing the application and grant award process. The commissioner​

104.17 shall act as fiscal agent for the grant program and shall be responsible for receiving and​

104.18 reviewing grant applications and awarding grants under this section.​

104.19 (b) At least 30 days prior to the first day applications may be submitted each fiscal year,​

104.20 the commissioner must publish on the department's website the specific criteria and any​

104.21 quantitative weighting scheme or scoring system the commissioner will use to evaluate or​

104.22 rank applications and award grants under subdivision 6.​

104.23 Subd. 6. Application contents. An applicant for a grant under this section shall provide​

104.24 the following information on the application:​

104.25 (1) the service area of the project;​

104.26 (2) the project budget;​

104.27 (3) evidence of the child care shortage in the community in which the project is to be​

104.28 located;​

104.29 (4) the number of licensed child care slots that will be created as a result of the project;​

104.30 (5) the number of families with children under age six that will have access to child care​

104.31 as a result of the project;​

104.32 (6) community employers and businesses that will benefit from the proposed project;​
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105.1 (7) evidence of community support for the project;​

105.2 (8) the total cost of the project;​

105.3 (9) sources of funding or in-kind contributions for the project that will supplement any​

105.4 grant award; and​

105.5 (10) any additional information requested by the commissioner.​

105.6 Subd. 7. Awarding grants. (a) In evaluating applications and awarding grants, the​

105.7 commissioner may give priority to applications that:​

105.8 (1) are in areas that have a documented shortage of affordable quality child care;​

105.9 (2) demonstrate programmatic or financial collaborations and partnering among private​

105.10 sector employers, public and nonprofit organizations within geographic areas;​

105.11 (3) serve areas of the state experiencing worker shortages, low prime age workforce​

105.12 participation rates, or prime age worker population loss that is significantly greater than the​

105.13 statewide average;​

105.14 (4) provide evidence of strong support for the project from citizens, government,​

105.15 businesses, and institutions in the community;​

105.16 (5) leverage greater amounts of funding for the project from private and nonstate public​

105.17 sources.​

105.18 (b) The commissioner shall endeavor to award grants under this section to qualified​

105.19 applicants in all regions of the state.​

105.20 Subd. 8. Limitation. (a) No grant awarded under this section may fund more than 50​

105.21 percent of the total cost of a project.​

105.22 (b) Grants awarded to a single project under this section must not exceed $100,000.​

105.23 Sec. 19. COMMUNITY PROSPERITY GRANT PROGRAM.​

105.24 Subdivision 1. Establishment; purpose. The community prosperity grant program is​

105.25 established to provide grants to public or 501(c)(3) nonprofit entities to implement innovative​

105.26 economic development projects that will support economic growth in their community.​

105.27 Subd. 2. Definitions. For the purposes of this section, the following terms have the​

105.28 meanings given them:​
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106.1 (1) "economic development" means activities, services, investments, and infrastructure​

106.2 that support the economic success of individuals, businesses, and communities by facilitating​

106.3 an economic environment that produces net new jobs;​

106.4 (2) "innovative project" means the provision of a public service or good that was absent​

106.5 in the community or of insufficient quantity or quality;​

106.6 (3) "local governmental unit" means a county, city, town, special district, public higher​

106.7 education institution, or other political subdivision or public corporation; and​

106.8 (4) "community" means any geographic area defined by one or more census tracts.​

106.9 Subd. 3. Community prosperity grants. The commissioner of employment and​

106.10 economic development shall:​

106.11 (1) develop and implement a community prosperity grant program that will provide​

106.12 matching grants up to 85 percent of total project cost up to $100,000 to implement innovative​

106.13 economic development projects that will induce economic growth in their community;​

106.14 (2) develop a request for proposals;​

106.15 (3) review responses to requests for proposals and award grants under this section;​

106.16 (4) establish a transparent and objective accountability process focused on outcomes​

106.17 that grantees agree to achieve; and​

106.18 (5) maintain data on outcomes reported by grantees.​

106.19 Subd. 4. Eligible grantees. Organizations eligible to receive grant funding under this​

106.20 section include:​

106.21 (1) local government units; and​

106.22 (2) nonprofit 501(c)(3) organizations that have established partnerships with one or more​

106.23 local government units to implement economic development projects or activities.​

106.24 Subd. 5. Priority of proposals; grant awards. The commissioner shall prioritize the​

106.25 award of grants to proposals that demonstrate that the project:​

106.26 (1) will serve communities with a population of 5,000 or less;​

106.27 (2) will support the economic success of individuals, businesses, and communities by​

106.28 facilitating an economic environment that produces net new jobs;​

106.29 (3) will provide public services or goods that was absent in the community or of​

106.30 insufficient quantity or quality;​
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107.1 (4) serves a defined geographic area; racial, ethnic, or minority community; or American​

107.2 Indian community experiencing any the following: below state average wages, above state​

107.3 average unemployment rate, or below state average labor force participation rate;​

107.4 (5) will be sustainable or continue to have impact beyond the one-time funding from​

107.5 this program;​

107.6 (6) will be successfully implemented based on the qualifications of the lead organization;​

107.7 and​

107.8 (7) will serve two or more local government units.​

107.9 Subd. 6. Geographic distribution of grants. The commissioner shall ensure that a​

107.10 minimum of 50 percent of grants are awarded to communities outside the seven-county​

107.11 metropolitan area.​

107.12 Subd. 7. Report. Grantees must report grant program outcomes to the commissioner on​

107.13 the forms and according to the timelines established by the commissioner.​

107.14 ARTICLE 5​

107.15 WAGE THEFT​

107.16 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 16C.285, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

107.17 Subd. 3. Minimum criteria. "Responsible contractor" means a contractor that conforms​

107.18 to the responsibility requirements in the solicitation document for its portion of the work​

107.19 on the project and verifies that it meets the following minimum criteria:​

107.20 (1) the contractor:​

107.21 (i) is in compliance with workers' compensation and unemployment insurance​

107.22 requirements;​

107.23 (ii) is in compliance with Department of Revenue and Department of Employment and​

107.24 Economic Development registration requirements if it has employees;​

107.25 (iii) has a valid federal tax identification number or a valid Social Security number if​

107.26 an individual; and​

107.27 (iv) has filed a certificate of authority to transact business in Minnesota with the secretary​

107.28 of state if a foreign corporation or cooperative;​

107.29 (2) the contractor or related entity is in compliance with and, during the three-year period​

107.30 before submitting the verification, has not violated section 177.24, 177.25, 177.41 to 177.44,​

107.31 181.03, 181.101, 181.13, 181.14, or 181.722, and has not violated United States Code, title​
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108.1 29, sections 201 to 219, or United States Code, title 40, sections 3141 to 3148. For purposes​

108.2 of this clause, a violation occurs when a contractor or related entity:​

108.3 (i) repeatedly fails to pay statutorily required wages or penalties on one or more separate​

108.4 projects for a total underpayment of $25,000 or more within the three-year period, provided​

108.5 that a failure to pay is "repeated" only if it involves two or more separate and distinct​

108.6 occurrences of underpayment during the three-year period;​

108.7 (ii) has been issued an order to comply by the commissioner of labor and industry that​

108.8 has become final;​

108.9 (iii) has been issued at least two determination letters within the three-year period by​

108.10 the Department of Transportation finding an underpayment by the contractor or related​

108.11 entity to its own employees;​

108.12 (iv) has been found by the commissioner of labor and industry to have repeatedly or​

108.13 willfully violated any of the sections referenced in this clause pursuant to section 177.27;​

108.14 (v) has been issued a ruling or findings of underpayment by the administrator of the​

108.15 Wage and Hour Division of the United States Department of Labor that have become final​

108.16 or have been upheld by an administrative law judge or the Administrative Review Board;​

108.17 or​

108.18 (vi) has been found liable for underpayment of wages or penalties or misrepresenting a​

108.19 construction worker as an independent contractor in an action brought in a court having​

108.20 jurisdiction; or​

108.21 (vii) has been convicted of a violation of section 609.52, subdivision 2, clause (19).​

108.22 Provided that, if the contractor or related entity contests a determination of underpayment​

108.23 by the Department of Transportation in a contested case proceeding, a violation does not​

108.24 occur until the contested case proceeding has concluded with a determination that the​

108.25 contractor or related entity underpaid wages or penalties;​

108.26 (3) the contractor or related entity is in compliance with and, during the three-year period​

108.27 before submitting the verification, has not violated section 181.723 or chapter 326B. For​

108.28 purposes of this clause, a violation occurs when a contractor or related entity has been issued​

108.29 a final administrative or licensing order;​

108.30 (4) the contractor or related entity has not, more than twice during the three-year period​

108.31 before submitting the verification, had a certificate of compliance under section 363A.36​

108.32 revoked or suspended based on the provisions of section 363A.36, with the revocation or​
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109.1 suspension becoming final because it was upheld by the Office of Administrative Hearings​

109.2 or was not appealed to the office;​

109.3 (5) the contractor or related entity has not received a final determination assessing a​

109.4 monetary sanction from the Department of Administration or Transportation for failure to​

109.5 meet targeted group business, disadvantaged business enterprise, or veteran-owned business​

109.6 goals, due to a lack of good faith effort, more than once during the three-year period before​

109.7 submitting the verification;​

109.8 (6) the contractor or related entity is not currently suspended or debarred by the federal​

109.9 government or the state of Minnesota or any of its departments, commissions, agencies, or​

109.10 political subdivisions that have authority to debar a contractor; and​

109.11 (7) all subcontractors and motor carriers that the contractor intends to use to perform​

109.12 project work have verified to the contractor through a signed statement under oath by an​

109.13 owner or officer that they meet the minimum criteria listed in clauses (1) to (6).​

109.14 Any violations, suspensions, revocations, or sanctions, as defined in clauses (2) to (5),​

109.15 occurring prior to July 1, 2014, shall not be considered in determining whether a contractor​

109.16 or related entity meets the minimum criteria.​

109.17 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 177.27, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

109.18 read:​

109.19 Subd. 1a. Authority to investigate. To carry out the purposes of this chapter and chapters​

109.20 181, 181A, and 184, and utilizing the enforcement authority of section 175.20, the​

109.21 commissioner is authorized to enter the places of business and employment of any employer​

109.22 in the state to investigate wages, hours, and other conditions and practices of work, collect​

109.23 evidence, and conduct interviews. The commissioner is authorized to enter the places of​

109.24 business and employment during working hours and without delay. The commissioner may​

109.25 use investigation methods that include but are not limited to examination, surveillance,​

109.26 transcription, copying, scanning, photographing, audio or video recording, testing, and​

109.27 sampling along with taking custody of evidence. Evidence that may be collected includes​

109.28 but is not limited to documents, records, books, registers, payrolls, electronically and digitally​

109.29 stored information, machinery, equipment, tools, and other tangible items that in any way​

109.30 relate to wages, hours, and other conditions and practices of work. The commissioner may​

109.31 privately interview any individual, including owners, employers, operators, agents, workers,​

109.32 and other individuals who may have knowledge of the conditions and practices of work​

109.33 under investigation.​
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110.1 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 177.27, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

110.2 Subd. 2. Submission of records; penalty. The commissioner may require the employer​

110.3 of employees working in the state to submit to the commissioner photocopies, certified​

110.4 copies, or, if necessary, the originals of employment records which the commissioner deems​

110.5 necessary or appropriate. The records which may be required include full and correct​

110.6 statements in writing, including sworn statements by the employer, containing information​

110.7 relating to wages, hours, names, addresses, and any other information pertaining to the​

110.8 employer's employees and the conditions of their employment as the commissioner deems​

110.9 necessary or appropriate.​

110.10 The commissioner may require the records to be submitted in a specific format by​

110.11 certified mail delivery or, if necessary, by personal delivery by the employer or a​

110.12 representative of the employer, as authorized by the employer in writing.​

110.13 The commissioner may fine the employer up to $1,000 for each failure to submit or​

110.14 deliver records as required by this section, and up to $10,000 for each repeated failure. This​

110.15 penalty is in addition to any penalties provided under section 177.32, subdivision 1. In​

110.16 determining the amount of a civil penalty under this subdivision, the appropriateness of​

110.17 such penalty to the size of the employer's business and the gravity of the violation shall be​

110.18 considered.​

110.19 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 177.27, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

110.20 read:​

110.21 Subd. 11. Subpoenas. In order to carry out the purposes of this chapter and chapter 181,​

110.22 181A, or 184, the commissioner may issue subpoenas to compel persons to appear before​

110.23 the commissioner to give testimony and produce and permit inspection, copying, testing,​

110.24 or sampling of documents, electronically stored information, tangible items, or other items​

110.25 in the possession, custody, or control of that person that are deemed necessary or appropriate​

110.26 by the commissioner. A subpoena may specify the form or format in which electronically​

110.27 stored information is to be produced. Upon the application of the commissioner, a district​

110.28 court shall treat the failure of any person to obey a subpoena lawfully issued by the​

110.29 commissioner under this subdivision as a contempt of court.​

110.30 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 177.27, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

110.31 read:​

110.32 Subd. 12. Court orders for entrance and inspection. To carry out the purposes of this​

110.33 chapter and chapters 181, 181A, and 184, and utilizing the enforcement authority of section​
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111.1 175.20, the commissioner is authorized to enter places of business and employment of any​

111.2 employer in the state to investigate wages, hours, and other conditions and practices of​

111.3 work, collect evidence, and conduct interviews. The commissioner is authorized to enter​

111.4 the places of business and employment during working hours and without delay. Upon the​

111.5 anticipated refusal based on a refusal to permit entrance on a prior occasion or actual refusal​

111.6 of an employer, owner, operator, or agent in charge of an employer's place of business or​

111.7 employment, the commissioner may apply for an order in the district court in the county in​

111.8 which the place of business or employment is located, to compel an employer, owner,​

111.9 operator, or agent in charge of the place of business or employment to permit the​

111.10 commissioner entry to investigate wages, hours, and other conditions and practices of work,​

111.11 collect evidence, and interview witnesses.​

111.12 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 177.27, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

111.13 read:​

111.14 Subd. 13. State licensing or regulatory power. In the case of an employer which is​

111.15 subject to the licensing or regulatory power of the state or any political subdivision or agency​

111.16 thereof, if the commissioner issues an order to comply under subdivision 4, the commissioner​

111.17 may provide the licensing or regulatory agency a copy of the order to comply. Unless the​

111.18 order to comply is reversed in the course of administrative or judicial review, the order to​

111.19 comply is binding on the agency and the agency may take appropriate action, including​

111.20 action related to the eligibility, renewal, suspension, or revocation of a license or certificate​

111.21 of public convenience and necessity if the agency is otherwise authorized to take such action.​

111.22 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 177.27, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

111.23 read:​

111.24 Subd. 14. Public contracts. In the case of an employer that is a party to a public contract,​

111.25 if the commissioner issues an order to comply under subdivision 4, the commissioner may​

111.26 provide a copy of the order to comply to the contract letting agency. Unless the order to​

111.27 comply is reversed in the course of administrative or judicial review, an order to comply is​

111.28 binding on the contract letting agency and the agency may take appropriate administrative​

111.29 action, including the imposition of financial penalties and eligibility for, termination or​

111.30 nonrenewal of a contract, in whole or in part, if the agency is otherwise authorized to take​

111.31 the action.​
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112.1 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 177.27, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

112.2 read:​

112.3 Subd. 15. Notice to employees of compliance orders and citations. In a compliance​

112.4 order or citation issued under this chapter and chapters 181, 181A, and 184, the commissioner​

112.5 may require that the provisions of a compliance order or citation setting out the violations​

112.6 found by the commissioner and any subsequent document setting out the resolution of the​

112.7 compliance order or citation through settlement agreement or other final disposition, upon​

112.8 receipt by the employer, be made available for review by the employees of the employer​

112.9 using the means the employer uses to provide other work-related notices to the employer's​

112.10 employees. The means used by the employer must be at least as effective as the following​

112.11 options for providing notice: (1) posting a copy of the compliance order or citation at each​

112.12 location where employees perform work and where the notice must be readily observed and​

112.13 easily reviewed by all employees performing work; or (2) providing a paper or electronic​

112.14 copy of the compliance order or citation to employees. Each citation and proposed penalty​

112.15 shall be posted or made available to employees for a minimum period of 20 days. Upon​

112.16 issuance of a compliance order or citation to an employer, the commissioner may also​

112.17 provide the provisions of the compliance order or citation setting out the violations found​

112.18 by the commissioner and any resolution of a compliance order or citation through settlement​

112.19 agreement or other final disposition to the employer's employees who may be affected by​

112.20 the order or citation and how the order or citation and resolution may affect their interests.​

112.21 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 177.30, is amended to read:​

112.22 177.30 KEEPING RECORDS; PENALTY.​

112.23 (a) Every employer subject to sections 177.21 to 177.44 must make and keep a record​

112.24 of:​

112.25 (1) the name, address, and occupation of each employee;​

112.26 (2) the rate of pay, and the amount paid each pay period to each employee, including​

112.27 whether each employee is paid by the hour, shift, day, week, salary, piece, commission, or​

112.28 other;​

112.29 (3) the hours worked each day and each workweek by the employee, including for all​

112.30 employees paid at piece rate, the number of pieces completed at each piece rate;​

112.31 (4) any personnel policies provided to employees;​

112.32 (5) a copy of the notice provided to each employee as required by section 181.032,​

112.33 paragraph (d);​
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113.1 (6) for each employer subject to sections 177.41 to 177.44, and while performing work​

113.2 on public works projects funded in whole or in part with state funds, the employer shall​

113.3 furnish under oath signed by an owner or officer of an employer to the contracting authority​

113.4 and the project owner every two weeks, a certified payroll report with respect to the wages​

113.5 and benefits paid each employee during the preceding weeks specifying for each employee:​

113.6 name; identifying number; prevailing wage master job classification; hours worked each​

113.7 day; total hours; rate of pay; gross amount earned; each deduction for taxes; total deductions;​

113.8 net pay for week; dollars contributed per hour for each benefit, including name and address​

113.9 of administrator; benefit account number; and telephone number for health and welfare,​

113.10 vacation or holiday, apprenticeship training, pension, and other benefit programs; and​

113.11 (5) (7) other information the commissioner finds necessary and appropriate to enforce​

113.12 sections 177.21 to 177.435. The records must be kept for three years in or near the premises​

113.13 where an employee works except each employer subject to sections 177.41 to 177.44, and​

113.14 while performing work on public works projects funded in whole or in part with state funds,​

113.15 the records must be kept for three years after the contracting authority has made final payment​

113.16 on the public works project.​

113.17 (b) All records required to be kept under paragraph (a) must be readily available for​

113.18 inspection by the commissioner upon demand. The records must be either kept at the place​

113.19 where employees are working or kept in a manner that allows the employer to comply with​

113.20 this paragraph within 24 hours.​

113.21 (c) The commissioner may fine an employer up to $1,000 for each failure to maintain​

113.22 records as required by this section, and up to $10,000 for each repeated failure. This penalty​

113.23 is in addition to any penalties provided under section 177.32, subdivision 1. In determining​

113.24 the amount of a civil penalty under this subdivision, the appropriateness of such penalty to​

113.25 the size of the employer's business and the gravity of the violation shall be considered.​

113.26 (d) If the records maintained by the employer do not provide sufficient information to​

113.27 determine the exact amount of back wages due an employee, the commissioner may make​

113.28 a determination of wages due based on available evidence.​

113.29 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 177.32, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

113.30 Subdivision 1. Misdemeanors. (a) An employer who does any of the following is guilty​

113.31 of a misdemeanor:​

113.32 (1) hinders or delays the commissioner in the performance of duties required under​

113.33 sections 177.21 to 177.435, or chapter 181;​
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114.1 (2) refuses to admit the commissioner to the place of business or employment of the​

114.2 employer, as required by section 177.27, subdivision 1;​

114.3 (3) repeatedly fails to make, keep, and preserve records as required by section 177.30;​

114.4 (4) falsifies any record;​

114.5 (5) refuses to make any record available, or to furnish a sworn statement of the record​

114.6 or any other information as required by section 177.27;​

114.7 (6) repeatedly fails to post a summary of sections 177.21 to 177.44 or a copy or summary​

114.8 of the applicable rules as required by section 177.31;​

114.9 (7) pays or agrees to pay wages at a rate less than the rate required under sections 177.21​

114.10 to 177.44, or described and provided by an employer to its employees under section 181.032;​

114.11 (8) refuses to allow adequate time from work as required by section 177.253; or​

114.12 (9) otherwise violates any provision of sections 177.21 to 177.44, or commits wage theft​

114.13 as described in section 181.03, subdivision 1.​

114.14 Intent is not an element of a misdemeanor under this paragraph.​

114.15 (b) An employer is guilty of a gross misdemeanor if the employer is found to have​

114.16 intentionally retaliated against an employee for asserting rights or remedies under sections​

114.17 177.21 to 177.44 or section 181.03.​

114.18 Sec. 11. [177.45] ENFORCEMENT; REMEDIES.​

114.19 Subdivision 1. Public enforcement. In addition to the enforcement of this chapter by​

114.20 the department, the attorney general may enforce this chapter under section 8.31.​

114.21 Subd. 2. Remedies cumulative. The remedies provided in this chapter are cumulative​

114.22 and do not restrict any remedy that is otherwise available, including remedies provided​

114.23 under section 8.31. The remedies available under this section are not exclusive and are in​

114.24 addition to any other requirements, rights, remedies, and penalties provided by law.​

114.25 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 181.03, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

114.26 Subdivision 1. Prohibited practices. An employer may not, directly or indirectly and​

114.27 with intent to defraud: (a) No employer shall commit wage theft.​

114.28 (b) For purposes of this section, wage theft is committed if:​

114.29 (1) cause an employer has failed to pay an employee all wages, salary, gratuities, earnings,​

114.30 or commissions at the employee's rate or rates of pay or at the rate or rates required by law,​
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115.1 including any applicable statute, regulation, rule, ordinance, government resolution or policy,​

115.2 contract, or other legal authority, whichever rate of pay is greater;​

115.3 (2) an employer directly or indirectly causes any employee to give a receipt for wages​

115.4 for a greater amount than that actually paid to the employee for services rendered;​

115.5 (2) (3) an employer directly or indirectly demand demands or receive receives from any​

115.6 employee any rebate or refund from the wages owed the employee under contract of​

115.7 employment with the employer; or​

115.8 (3) (4) an employer in any manner make makes or attempt attempts to make it appear​

115.9 that the wages paid to any employee were greater than the amount actually paid to the​

115.10 employee.​

115.11 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 181.03, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

115.12 read:​

115.13 Subd. 4. Enforcement. The use of an enforcement provision in this section shall not​

115.14 preclude the use of any other enforcement provision provided by law.​

115.15 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 181.03, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

115.16 read:​

115.17 Subd. 5. Citations. (a) In addition to other remedies and penalties provided by this​

115.18 chapter and chapter 177, the commissioner may issue a citation for a civil penalty of up to​

115.19 $1,000 for any wage theft of up to $1,000 by serving the citation on the employer. The​

115.20 citation may direct the employer to pay employees in a manner prescribed by the​

115.21 commissioner any wages, salary, gratuities, earnings, or commissions owed to the employee​

115.22 within 15 days of service of the citation on the employer. The commissioner shall serve the​

115.23 citation upon the employer or the employer's authorized representative in person or by​

115.24 certified mail at the employer's place of business or registered office address with the​

115.25 secretary of state. The citation shall require the employer to correct the violation and cease​

115.26 and desist from committing the violation.​

115.27 (b) In determining the amount of the civil penalty, the commissioner shall consider the​

115.28 size of the employer's business and the gravity of the violation as provided in section 14.045,​

115.29 subdivision 3, paragraph (a). If the citation includes a penalty assessment, the penalty is​

115.30 due and payable on the date the citation becomes final. The commissioner may vacate the​

115.31 citation if the employer pays the amount of wages, salaries, commissions, earnings, and​

115.32 gratuities due in the citation within five days after the citation is served on the employer.​
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116.1 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 181.03, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

116.2 read:​

116.3 Subd. 6. Administrative review. Within 15 days after the commissioner of labor and​

116.4 industry issues a citation under subdivision 5, the employer to whom the citation is issued​

116.5 may request an expedited hearing to review the citation. The request for hearing must be​

116.6 in writing and must be served on the commissioner at the address specified in the citation.​

116.7 If the employer does not request a hearing or if the employer's written request for hearing​

116.8 is not served on the commissioner by the 15th day after the commissioner issues the citation,​

116.9 the citation becomes a final order of the commissioner and is not subject to review by any​

116.10 court or agency. The hearing request must state the reasons for seeking review of the citation.​

116.11 The employer to whom the citation is issued and the commissioner are the parties to the​

116.12 expedited hearing. The commissioner must notify the employer to whom the citation is​

116.13 issued of the time and place of the hearing at least 15 days before the hearing. The hearing​

116.14 shall be conducted under Minnesota Rules, parts 1400.8510 to 1400.8612, as modified by​

116.15 this section. If a hearing has been held, the commissioner shall not issue a final order until​

116.16 at least five days after the date of the administrative law judge's report. Any person aggrieved​

116.17 by the administrative law judge's report may, within those five days, serve written comments​

116.18 to the commissioner on the report and the commissioner shall consider and enter the​

116.19 comments in the record. The commissioner's final order shall comply with sections 14.61,​

116.20 subdivision 2, and 14.62, subdivisions 1 and 2a, and may be appealed in the manner provided​

116.21 in sections 14.63 to 14.69.​

116.22 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 181.03, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

116.23 read:​

116.24 Subd. 7. Effect on other laws. Nothing in this section shall be construed to limit the​

116.25 application of other state or federal laws.​

116.26 Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 181.03, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

116.27 read:​

116.28 Subd. 8. Retaliation. An employer must not retaliate against an employee for asserting​

116.29 rights or remedies under this section, including but not limited to filing a complaint with​

116.30 the Department of Labor and Industry or telling the employer of intention to file a complaint.​

116.31 A rebuttable presumption of unlawful retaliation under this section exists whenever an​

116.32 employer takes adverse action against an employee within 90 days of the employee asserting​

116.33 rights or remedies under this section.​
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117.1 Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 181.032, is amended to read:​

117.2 181.032 REQUIRED STATEMENT OF EARNINGS BY EMPLOYER; NOTICE​

117.3 TO EMPLOYEE.​

117.4 (a) At the end of each pay period, the employer shall provide each employee an earnings​

117.5 statement, either in writing or by electronic means, covering that pay period. An employer​

117.6 who chooses to provide an earnings statement by electronic means must provide employee​

117.7 access to an employer-owned computer during an employee's regular working hours to​

117.8 review and print earnings statements.​

117.9 (b) The earnings statement may be in any form determined by the employer but must​

117.10 include:​

117.11 (1) the name of the employee;​

117.12 (2) the hourly rate or rates of pay (if applicable) and basis thereof, including whether​

117.13 the employee is paid by hour, shift, day, week, salary, piece, commission, or other method;​

117.14 (3) allowances, if any, claimed pursuant to permitted meals and lodging;​

117.15 (4) the total number of hours worked by the employee unless exempt from chapter 177;​

117.16 (4) (5) the total amount of gross pay earned by the employee during that period;​

117.17 (5) (6) a list of deductions made from the employee's pay;​

117.18 (6) (7) the net amount of pay after all deductions are made;​

117.19 (7) (8) the date on which the pay period ends; and​

117.20 (8) (9) the legal name of the employer and the operating name of the employer if different​

117.21 from the legal name.;​

117.22 (10) the physical address of the employer's main office or principal place of business,​

117.23 and a mailing address if different; and​

117.24 (11) the telephone number of the employer.​

117.25 (c) An employer must provide earnings statements to an employee in writing, rather​

117.26 than by electronic means, if the employer has received at least 24 hours notice from an​

117.27 employee that the employee would like to receive earnings statements in written form. Once​

117.28 an employer has received notice from an employee that the employee would like to receive​

117.29 earnings statements in written form, the employer must comply with that request on an​

117.30 ongoing basis.​
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118.1 (d) At the start of employment, an employer shall provide each employee a written notice​

118.2 containing the following information:​

118.3 (1) the rate or rates of pay and basis thereof, including whether the employee is paid by​

118.4 the hour, shift, day, week, salary, piece, commission, or other method, and the specific​

118.5 application of any additional rates;​

118.6 (2) allowances, if any, claimed pursuant to permitted meals and lodging;​

118.7 (3) paid vacation, sick time, or other paid time off accruals and terms of use;​

118.8 (4) the employee's employment status and whether the employee is exempt from minimum​

118.9 wage, overtime, and other provisions of chapter 177, and on what basis;​

118.10 (5) a list of deductions that may be made from the employee's pay;​

118.11 (6) the dates on which the pay periods start and end and the regularly scheduled payday;​

118.12 (7) the legal name of the employer and the operating name of the employer if different​

118.13 from the legal name;​

118.14 (8) the physical address of the employer's main office or principal place of business, and​

118.15 a mailing address if different; and​

118.16 (9) the telephone number of the employer.​

118.17 (e) The employer must keep a copy of the notice under paragraph (d) signed by each​

118.18 employee acknowledging receipt of the notice. The notice must be provided to each employee​

118.19 in English and in the employee's native language.​

118.20 (f) An employer must provide the employee any written changes to the information​

118.21 contained in the notice under paragraph (d) at least seven calendar days prior to the time​

118.22 the changes take effect. The changes must be signed by the employee before the changes​

118.23 go into effect. The employer must keep a signed copy of all notice of changes as well as​

118.24 the initial notices under paragraph (d).​

118.25 Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 181.101, is amended to read:​

118.26 181.101 WAGES; HOW OFTEN PAID.​

118.27 (a) Except as provided in paragraph (b), every employer must pay all wages earned by​

118.28 an employee at least once every 31 16 days on a regular payday designated in advance by​

118.29 the employer regardless of whether the employee requests payment at longer intervals.​

118.30 Unless paid earlier, the wages earned during the first half of the first 31-day pay period​

118.31 become due on the first regular payday following the first day of work. An employer's pay​
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119.1 period must be no longer than 16 days. All wages earned in a pay period must be paid to​

119.2 an employee within 16 days of the end of that pay period. If wages earned are not paid, the​

119.3 commissioner of labor and industry or the commissioner's representative may serve a demand​

119.4 for payment on behalf of an employee. If payment is not made within ten five days of service​

119.5 of the demand, the commissioner may charge and collect the wages earned and a penalty​

119.6 liquidated damages in the amount of the employee's average daily earnings at the employee's​

119.7 rate agreed upon in the contract of employment or rates of pay or at the rate or rates required​

119.8 by law, including any applicable statute, regulation, rule, ordinance, government resolution​

119.9 or policy, contract, or other legal authority, whichever rate of pay is greater, not exceeding​

119.10 15 days in all, for each day beyond the ten-day five-day limit following the demand. Money​

119.11 collected by the commissioner must be paid to the employee concerned. This section does​

119.12 not prevent an employee from prosecuting a claim for wages. This section does not prevent​

119.13 a school district, other public school entity, or other school, as defined under section 120A.22,​

119.14 from paying any wages earned by its employees during a school year on regular paydays​

119.15 in the manner provided by an applicable contract or collective bargaining agreement, or a​

119.16 personnel policy adopted by the governing board. For purposes of this section, "employee"​

119.17 includes a person who performs agricultural labor as defined in section 181.85, subdivision​

119.18 2. For purposes of this section, wages are earned on the day an employee works.​

119.19 (b) An employer of a volunteer firefighter, as defined in section 424A.001, subdivision​

119.20 10, a member of an organized first responder squad that is formally recognized by a political​

119.21 subdivision in the state, or a volunteer ambulance driver or attendant must pay all wages​

119.22 earned by the volunteer firefighter, first responder, or volunteer ambulance driver or attendant​

119.23 at least once every 31 days, unless the employer and the employee mutually agree upon​

119.24 payment at longer intervals.​

119.25 Sec. 20. [181.1721] ENFORCEMENT; REMEDIES.​

119.26 Subdivision 1. Public enforcement. In addition to the enforcement of this chapter by​

119.27 the department, the attorney general may enforce this chapter under section 8.31.​

119.28 Subd. 2. Remedies cumulative. The remedies provided in this chapter are cumulative​

119.29 and do not restrict any remedy that is otherwise available, including remedies provided​

119.30 under section 8.31. The remedies available under this section are not exclusive and are in​

119.31 addition to any other requirements, rights, remedies, and penalties provided by law.​

119.32 Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 609.52, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

119.33 Subdivision 1. Definitions. In this section:​
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120.1 (1) "Property" means all forms of tangible property, whether real or personal, without​

120.2 limitation including documents of value, electricity, gas, water, corpses, domestic animals,​

120.3 dogs, pets, fowl, and heat supplied by pipe or conduit by municipalities or public utility​

120.4 companies and articles, as defined in clause (4), representing trade secrets, which articles​

120.5 shall be deemed for the purposes of Extra Session Laws 1967, chapter 15 to include any​

120.6 trade secret represented by the article.​

120.7 (2) "Movable property" is property whose physical location can be changed, including​

120.8 without limitation things growing on, affixed to, or found in land.​

120.9 (3) "Value" means the retail market value at the time of the theft, or if the retail market​

120.10 value cannot be ascertained, the cost of replacement of the property within a reasonable​

120.11 time after the theft, or in the case of a theft or the making of a copy of an article representing​

120.12 a trade secret, where the retail market value or replacement cost cannot be ascertained, any​

120.13 reasonable value representing the damage to the owner which the owner has suffered by​

120.14 reason of losing an advantage over those who do not know of or use the trade secret. For a​

120.15 check, draft, or other order for the payment of money, "value" means the amount of money​

120.16 promised or ordered to be paid under the terms of the check, draft, or other order. For a​

120.17 theft committed within the meaning of subdivision 2, clause (5), items (i) and (ii), if the​

120.18 property has been restored to the owner, "value" means the value of the use of the property​

120.19 or the damage which it sustained, whichever is greater, while the owner was deprived of​

120.20 its possession, but not exceeding the value otherwise provided herein. For a theft committed​

120.21 within the meaning of subdivision 2, clause (9), if the property has been restored to the​

120.22 owner, "value" means the rental value of the property, determined at the rental rate contracted​

120.23 by the defendant or, if no rental rate was contracted, the rental rate customarily charged by​

120.24 the owner for use of the property, plus any damage that occurred to the property while the​

120.25 owner was deprived of its possession, but not exceeding the total retail value of the property​

120.26 at the time of rental. For a theft committed within the meaning of subdivision 2, clause (19),​

120.27 "value" means the difference between wages legally required to be reported or paid to an​

120.28 employee and the amount actually reported or paid to the employee.​

120.29 (4) "Article" means any object, material, device or substance, including any writing,​

120.30 record, recording, drawing, sample specimen, prototype, model, photograph, microorganism,​

120.31 blueprint or map, or any copy of any of the foregoing.​

120.32 (5) "Representing" means describing, depicting, containing, constituting, reflecting or​

120.33 recording.​
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121.1 (6) "Trade secret" means information, including a formula, pattern, compilation, program,​

121.2 device, method, technique, or process, that:​

121.3 (i) derives independent economic value, actual or potential, from not being generally​

121.4 known to, and not being readily ascertainable by proper means by, other persons who can​

121.5 obtain economic value from its disclosure or use, and​

121.6 (ii) is the subject of efforts that are reasonable under the circumstances to maintain its​

121.7 secrecy.​

121.8 (7) "Copy" means any facsimile, replica, photograph or other reproduction of an article,​

121.9 and any note, drawing, or sketch made of or from an article while in the presence of the​

121.10 article.​

121.11 (8) "Property of another" includes property in which the actor is co-owner or has a lien,​

121.12 pledge, bailment, or lease or other subordinate interest, property transferred by the actor in​

121.13 circumstances which are known to the actor and which make the transfer fraudulent as​

121.14 defined in section 513.44, property possessed pursuant to a short-term rental contract, and​

121.15 property of a partnership of which the actor is a member, unless the actor and the victim​

121.16 are husband and wife. It does not include property in which the actor asserts in good faith​

121.17 a claim as a collection fee or commission out of property or funds recovered, or by virtue​

121.18 of a lien, setoff, or counterclaim.​

121.19 (9) "Services" include but are not limited to labor, professional services, transportation​

121.20 services, electronic computer services, the supplying of hotel accommodations, restaurant​

121.21 services, entertainment services, advertising services, telecommunication services, and the​

121.22 supplying of equipment for use including rental of personal property or equipment.​

121.23 (10) "Motor vehicle" means a self-propelled device for moving persons or property or​

121.24 pulling implements from one place to another, whether the device is operated on land, rails,​

121.25 water, or in the air.​

121.26 (11) "Motor fuel" has the meaning given in section 604.15, subdivision 1.​

121.27 (12) "Retailer" has the meaning given in section 604.15, subdivision 1.​

121.28 Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 609.52, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

121.29 Subd. 2. Acts constituting theft. (a) Whoever does any of the following commits theft​

121.30 and may be sentenced as provided in subdivision 3:​
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122.1 (1) intentionally and without claim of right takes, uses, transfers, conceals or retains​

122.2 possession of movable property of another without the other's consent and with intent to​

122.3 deprive the owner permanently of possession of the property; or​

122.4 (2) with or without having a legal interest in movable property, intentionally and without​

122.5 consent, takes the property out of the possession of a pledgee or other person having a​

122.6 superior right of possession, with intent thereby to deprive the pledgee or other person​

122.7 permanently of the possession of the property; or​

122.8 (3) obtains for the actor or another the possession, custody, or title to property of or​

122.9 performance of services by a third person by intentionally deceiving the third person with​

122.10 a false representation which is known to be false, made with intent to defraud, and which​

122.11 does defraud the person to whom it is made. "False representation" includes without​

122.12 limitation:​

122.13 (i) the issuance of a check, draft, or order for the payment of money, except a forged​

122.14 check as defined in section 609.631, or the delivery of property knowing that the actor is​

122.15 not entitled to draw upon the drawee therefor or to order the payment or delivery thereof;​

122.16 or​

122.17 (ii) a promise made with intent not to perform. Failure to perform is not evidence of​

122.18 intent not to perform unless corroborated by other substantial evidence; or​

122.19 (iii) the preparation or filing of a claim for reimbursement, a rate application, or a cost​

122.20 report used to establish a rate or claim for payment for medical care provided to a recipient​

122.21 of medical assistance under chapter 256B, which intentionally and falsely states the costs​

122.22 of or actual services provided by a vendor of medical care; or​

122.23 (iv) the preparation or filing of a claim for reimbursement for providing treatment or​

122.24 supplies required to be furnished to an employee under section 176.135 which intentionally​

122.25 and falsely states the costs of or actual treatment or supplies provided; or​

122.26 (v) the preparation or filing of a claim for reimbursement for providing treatment or​

122.27 supplies required to be furnished to an employee under section 176.135 for treatment or​

122.28 supplies that the provider knew were medically unnecessary, inappropriate, or excessive;​

122.29 or​

122.30 (4) by swindling, whether by artifice, trick, device, or any other means, obtains property​

122.31 or services from another person; or​

122.32 (5) intentionally commits any of the acts listed in this subdivision but with intent to​

122.33 exercise temporary control only and:​
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123.1 (i) the control exercised manifests an indifference to the rights of the owner or the​

123.2 restoration of the property to the owner; or​

123.3 (ii) the actor pledges or otherwise attempts to subject the property to an adverse claim;​

123.4 or​

123.5 (iii) the actor intends to restore the property only on condition that the owner pay a​

123.6 reward or buy back or make other compensation; or​

123.7 (6) finds lost property and, knowing or having reasonable means of ascertaining the true​

123.8 owner, appropriates it to the finder's own use or to that of another not entitled thereto without​

123.9 first having made reasonable effort to find the owner and offer and surrender the property​

123.10 to the owner; or​

123.11 (7) intentionally obtains property or services, offered upon the deposit of a sum of money​

123.12 or tokens in a coin or token operated machine or other receptacle, without making the​

123.13 required deposit or otherwise obtaining the consent of the owner; or​

123.14 (8) intentionally and without claim of right converts any article representing a trade​

123.15 secret, knowing it to be such, to the actor's own use or that of another person or makes a​

123.16 copy of an article representing a trade secret, knowing it to be such, and intentionally and​

123.17 without claim of right converts the same to the actor's own use or that of another person. It​

123.18 shall be a complete defense to any prosecution under this clause for the defendant to show​

123.19 that information comprising the trade secret was rightfully known or available to the​

123.20 defendant from a source other than the owner of the trade secret; or​

123.21 (9) leases or rents personal property under a written instrument and who:​

123.22 (i) with intent to place the property beyond the control of the lessor conceals or aids or​

123.23 abets the concealment of the property or any part thereof; or​

123.24 (ii) sells, conveys, or encumbers the property or any part thereof without the written​

123.25 consent of the lessor, without informing the person to whom the lessee sells, conveys, or​

123.26 encumbers that the same is subject to such lease or rental contract with intent to deprive the​

123.27 lessor of possession thereof; or​

123.28 (iii) does not return the property to the lessor at the end of the lease or rental term, plus​

123.29 agreed-upon extensions, with intent to wrongfully deprive the lessor of possession of the​

123.30 property; or​

123.31 (iv) returns the property to the lessor at the end of the lease or rental term, plus​

123.32 agreed-upon extensions, but does not pay the lease or rental charges agreed upon in the​

123.33 written instrument, with intent to wrongfully deprive the lessor of the agreed-upon charges.​
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124.1 For the purposes of items (iii) and (iv), the value of the property must be at least $100.​

124.2 Evidence that a lessee used a false, fictitious, or not current name, address, or place of​

124.3 employment in obtaining the property or fails or refuses to return the property or pay the​

124.4 rental contract charges to lessor within five days after written demand for the return has​

124.5 been served personally in the manner provided for service of process of a civil action or​

124.6 sent by certified mail to the last known address of the lessee, whichever shall occur later,​

124.7 shall be evidence of intent to violate this clause. Service by certified mail shall be deemed​

124.8 to be complete upon deposit in the United States mail of such demand, postpaid and addressed​

124.9 to the person at the address for the person set forth in the lease or rental agreement, or, in​

124.10 the absence of the address, to the person's last known place of residence; or​

124.11 (10) alters, removes, or obliterates numbers or symbols placed on movable property for​

124.12 purpose of identification by the owner or person who has legal custody or right to possession​

124.13 thereof with the intent to prevent identification, if the person who alters, removes, or​

124.14 obliterates the numbers or symbols is not the owner and does not have the permission of​

124.15 the owner to make the alteration, removal, or obliteration; or​

124.16 (11) with the intent to prevent the identification of property involved, so as to deprive​

124.17 the rightful owner of possession thereof, alters or removes any permanent serial number,​

124.18 permanent distinguishing number or manufacturer's identification number on personal​

124.19 property or possesses, sells or buys any personal property knowing or having reason to​

124.20 know that the permanent serial number, permanent distinguishing number or manufacturer's​

124.21 identification number has been removed or altered; or​

124.22 (12) intentionally deprives another of a lawful charge for cable television service by:​

124.23 (i) making or using or attempting to make or use an unauthorized external connection​

124.24 outside the individual dwelling unit whether physical, electrical, acoustical, inductive, or​

124.25 other connection; or by​

124.26 (ii) attaching any unauthorized device to any cable, wire, microwave, or other component​

124.27 of a licensed cable communications system as defined in chapter 238. Nothing herein shall​

124.28 be construed to prohibit the electronic video rerecording of program material transmitted​

124.29 on the cable communications system by a subscriber for fair use as defined by Public Law​

124.30 94-553, section 107; or​

124.31 (13) except as provided in clauses (12) and (14), obtains the services of another with​

124.32 the intention of receiving those services without making the agreed or reasonably expected​

124.33 payment of money or other consideration; or​
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125.1 (14) intentionally deprives another of a lawful charge for telecommunications service​

125.2 by:​

125.3 (i) making, using, or attempting to make or use an unauthorized connection whether​

125.4 physical, electrical, by wire, microwave, radio, or other means to a component of a local​

125.5 telecommunication system as provided in chapter 237; or​

125.6 (ii) attaching an unauthorized device to a cable, wire, microwave, radio, or other​

125.7 component of a local telecommunication system as provided in chapter 237.​

125.8 The existence of an unauthorized connection is prima facie evidence that the occupier​

125.9 of the premises:​

125.10 (A) made or was aware of the connection; and​

125.11 (B) was aware that the connection was unauthorized;​

125.12 (15) with intent to defraud, diverts corporate property other than in accordance with​

125.13 general business purposes or for purposes other than those specified in the corporation's​

125.14 articles of incorporation; or​

125.15 (16) with intent to defraud, authorizes or causes a corporation to make a distribution in​

125.16 violation of section 302A.551, or any other state law in conformity with it; or​

125.17 (17) takes or drives a motor vehicle without the consent of the owner or an authorized​

125.18 agent of the owner, knowing or having reason to know that the owner or an authorized agent​

125.19 of the owner did not give consent; or​

125.20 (18) intentionally, and without claim of right, takes motor fuel from a retailer without​

125.21 the retailer's consent and with intent to deprive the retailer permanently of possession of​

125.22 the fuel by driving a motor vehicle from the premises of the retailer without having paid​

125.23 for the fuel dispensed into the vehicle.; or​

125.24 (19) intentionally engages in or authorizes a prohibited practice of wage theft as described​

125.25 in section 181.03, subdivision 1.​

125.26 (b) Proof that the driver of a motor vehicle into which motor fuel was dispensed drove​

125.27 the vehicle from the premises of the retailer without having paid for the fuel permits the​

125.28 factfinder to infer that the driver acted intentionally and without claim of right, and that the​

125.29 driver intended to deprive the retailer permanently of possession of the fuel. This paragraph​

125.30 does not apply if: (1) payment has been made to the retailer within 30 days of the receipt​

125.31 of notice of nonpayment under section 604.15; or (2) a written notice as described in section​

125.32 604.15, subdivision 4, disputing the retailer's claim, has been sent. This paragraph does not​
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126.1 apply to the owner of a motor vehicle if the vehicle or the vehicle's license plate has been​

126.2 reported stolen before the theft of the fuel.​

126.3 Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 609.52, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

126.4 Subd. 3. Sentence. Whoever commits theft may be sentenced as follows:​

126.5 (1) to imprisonment for not more than 20 years or to payment of a fine of not more than​

126.6 $100,000, or both, if the property is a firearm, or the value of the property or services stolen​

126.7 is more than $35,000 and the conviction is for a violation of subdivision 2, clause (3), (4),​

126.8 (15), or (16), or (19), or section 609.2335, subdivision 1, clause (1) or (2), item (i); or​

126.9 (2) to imprisonment for not more than ten years or to payment of a fine of not more than​

126.10 $20,000, or both, if the value of the property or services stolen exceeds $5,000, or if the​

126.11 property stolen was an article representing a trade secret, an explosive or incendiary device,​

126.12 or a controlled substance listed in Schedule I or II pursuant to section 152.02 with the​

126.13 exception of marijuana; or​

126.14 (3) to imprisonment for not more than five years or to payment of a fine of not more​

126.15 than $10,000, or both, if any of the following circumstances exist:​

126.16 (a) the value of the property or services stolen is more than $1,000 but not more than​

126.17 $5,000; or​

126.18 (b) the property stolen was a controlled substance listed in Schedule III, IV, or V pursuant​

126.19 to section 152.02; or​

126.20 (c) the value of the property or services stolen is more than $500 but not more than​

126.21 $1,000 and the person has been convicted within the preceding five years for an offense​

126.22 under this section, section 256.98; 268.182; 609.24; 609.245; 609.53; 609.582, subdivision​

126.23 1, 2, or 3; 609.625; 609.63; 609.631; or 609.821, or a statute from another state, the United​

126.24 States, or a foreign jurisdiction, in conformity with any of those sections, and the person​

126.25 received a felony or gross misdemeanor sentence for the offense, or a sentence that was​

126.26 stayed under section 609.135 if the offense to which a plea was entered would allow​

126.27 imposition of a felony or gross misdemeanor sentence; or​

126.28 (d) the value of the property or services stolen is not more than $1,000, and any of the​

126.29 following circumstances exist:​

126.30 (i) the property is taken from the person of another or from a corpse, or grave or coffin​

126.31 containing a corpse; or​
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127.1 (ii) the property is a record of a court or officer, or a writing, instrument or record kept,​

127.2 filed or deposited according to law with or in the keeping of any public officer or office; or​

127.3 (iii) the property is taken from a burning, abandoned, or vacant building or upon its​

127.4 removal therefrom, or from an area of destruction caused by civil disaster, riot, bombing,​

127.5 or the proximity of battle; or​

127.6 (iv) the property consists of public funds belonging to the state or to any political​

127.7 subdivision or agency thereof; or​

127.8 (v) the property stolen is a motor vehicle; or​

127.9 (4) to imprisonment for not more than one year or to payment of a fine of not more than​

127.10 $3,000, or both, if the value of the property or services stolen is more than $500 but not​

127.11 more than $1,000; or​

127.12 (5) in all other cases where the value of the property or services stolen is $500 or less,​

127.13 to imprisonment for not more than 90 days or to payment of a fine of not more than $1,000,​

127.14 or both, provided, however, in any prosecution under subdivision 2, clauses (1), (2), (3),​

127.15 (4), and (13), the value of the money or property or services received by the defendant in​

127.16 violation of any one or more of the above provisions within any six-month period may be​

127.17 aggregated and the defendant charged accordingly in applying the provisions of this​

127.18 subdivision; provided that when two or more offenses are committed by the same person​

127.19 in two or more counties, the accused may be prosecuted in any county in which one of the​

127.20 offenses was committed for all of the offenses aggregated under this paragraph.​

127.21 ARTICLE 6​

127.22 EARNED SICK AND SAFE TIME​

127.23 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 181.942, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

127.24 Subdivision 1. Comparable position. (a) An employee returning from a leave of absence​

127.25 under section 181.941 is entitled to return to employment in the employee's former position​

127.26 or in a position of comparable duties, number of hours, and pay. An employee returning​

127.27 from a leave of absence longer than one month must notify a supervisor at least two weeks​

127.28 prior to return from leave. An employee returning from a leave under section 181.9412 or​

127.29 181.9413 181.9445 is entitled to return to employment in the employee's former position.​

127.30 (b) If, during a leave under sections 181.940 to 181.944, the employer experiences a​

127.31 layoff and the employee would have lost a position had the employee not been on leave,​

127.32 pursuant to the good faith operation of a bona fide layoff and recall system, including a​
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128.1 system under a collective bargaining agreement, the employee is not entitled to reinstatement​

128.2 in the former or comparable position. In such circumstances, the employee retains all rights​

128.3 under the layoff and recall system, including a system under a collective bargaining​

128.4 agreement, as if the employee had not taken the leave.​

128.5 Sec. 2. [181.9445] EARNED SICK AND SAFE TIME.​

128.6 Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For the purposes of this section and section 177.50, the​

128.7 terms defined in this subdivision have the meanings given them.​

128.8 (b) "Commissioner" means the commissioner of labor and industry or authorized designee​

128.9 or representative.​

128.10 (c) "Domestic abuse" has the meaning given in section 518B.01.​

128.11 (d) "Earned sick and safe time" means leave, including paid time off and other paid leave​

128.12 systems, that is paid at the same hourly rate as an employee earns from employment that​

128.13 may be used for the same purposes and under the same conditions as provided under​

128.14 subdivision 3.​

128.15 (e) "Employee" means any person who is employed by an employer, including temporary​

128.16 and part-time employees, who performs work for at least 80 hours in a year for that employer​

128.17 in Minnesota. Employee does not include an independent contractor.​

128.18 (f) "Employer" means a person who has one or more employees. Employer includes an​

128.19 individual, a corporation, a partnership, an association, a business trust, a nonprofit​

128.20 organization, a group of persons, a state, county, town, city, school district, or other​

128.21 governmental subdivision. In the event that a temporary employee is supplied by a staffing​

128.22 agency, absent a contractual agreement stating otherwise, that individual shall be an employee​

128.23 of the staffing agency for all purposes of this section and section 177.50.​

128.24 (g) "Family member" means:​

128.25 (1) an employee's:​

128.26 (i) child, foster child, adult child, legal ward, or child for whom the employee is legal​

128.27 guardian;​

128.28 (ii) spouse or registered domestic partner;​

128.29 (iii) sibling, stepsibling, or foster sibling;​

128.30 (iv) parent or stepparent;​

128.31 (v) grandchild, foster grandchild, or stepgrandchild; or​
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129.1 (vi) grandparent or stepgrandparent;​

129.2 (2) any of the family members listed in clause (1) of a spouse or registered domestic​

129.3 partner;​

129.4 (3) any individual related by blood or affinity whose close association with the employee​

129.5 is the equivalent of a family relationship; and​

129.6 (4) up to one individual annually designated by the employee.​

129.7 (h) "Health care professional" means any person licensed under federal or state law to​

129.8 provide medical or emergency services, including doctors, physician assistants, nurses, and​

129.9 emergency room personnel.​

129.10 (i) "Prevailing wage rate" has the meaning given in section 177.42 and as calculated by​

129.11 the Department of Labor and Industry.​

129.12 (j) "Retaliatory personnel action" means:​

129.13 (1) any form of intimidation, threat, reprisal, harassment, discrimination, or adverse​

129.14 employment action, including discipline, discharge, suspension, transfer, or reassignment​

129.15 to a lesser position in terms of job classification, job security, or other condition of​

129.16 employment; reduction in pay or hours or denial of additional hours; the accumulation of​

129.17 points under an attendance point system; informing another employer that the person has​

129.18 engaged in activities protected by this chapter; or reporting or threatening to report the actual​

129.19 or suspected citizenship or immigration status of an employee, former employee, or family​

129.20 member of an employee to a federal, state, or local agency; and​

129.21 (2) interference with or punishment for participating in any manner in an investigation,​

129.22 proceeding, or hearing under this chapter.​

129.23 (k) "Sexual assault" means an act that constitutes a violation under sections 609.342 to​

129.24 609.3453 or 609.352.​

129.25 (l) "Stalking" has the meaning given in section 609.749.​

129.26 (m) "Year" means a regular and consecutive 12-month period, as determined by an​

129.27 employer and clearly communicated to each employee of that employer.​

129.28 Subd. 2. Accrual of earned sick and safe time. (a) An employee accrues a minimum​

129.29 of one hour of earned sick and safe time for every 30 hours worked up to a maximum of 48​

129.30 hours of earned sick and safe time in a year. Employees may not accrue more than 48 hours​

129.31 of earned sick and safe time in a year unless the employer agrees to a higher amount.​
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130.1 (b) Employers must permit an employee to carry over accrued but unused sick and safe​

130.2 time into the following year. The total amount of accrued but unused earned sick and safe​

130.3 time for an employee may not exceed 80 hours at any time, unless an employer agrees to a​

130.4 higher amount.​

130.5 (c) Employees who are exempt from overtime requirements under United States Code,​

130.6 title 29, section 213(a)(1), as amended through the effective date of this section, are deemed​

130.7 to work 40 hours in each workweek for purposes of accruing earned sick and safe time,​

130.8 except that an employee whose normal workweek is less than 40 hours will accrue earned​

130.9 sick and safe time based on the normal workweek.​

130.10 (d) Earned sick and safe time under this section begins to accrue at the commencement​

130.11 of employment of the employee.​

130.12 (e) Employees may use accrued earned sick and safe time beginning 90 calendar days​

130.13 after the day their employment commenced. After 90 days from the day employment​

130.14 commenced, employees may use earned sick and safe time as it is accrued. The​

130.15 90-calendar-day period under this paragraph includes both days worked and days not worked.​

130.16 Subd. 3. Use of earned sick and safe time. (a) An employee may use accrued earned​

130.17 sick and safe time for:​

130.18 (1) an employee's:​

130.19 (i) mental or physical illness, injury, or other health condition;​

130.20 (ii) need for medical diagnosis, care, or treatment of a mental or physical illness, injury,​

130.21 or health condition; or​

130.22 (iii) need for preventive medical or health care;​

130.23 (2) care of a family member:​

130.24 (i) with a mental or physical illness, injury, or other health condition;​

130.25 (ii) who needs medical diagnosis, care, or treatment of a mental or physical illness,​

130.26 injury, or other health condition; or​

130.27 (iii) who needs preventive medical or health care;​

130.28 (3) absence due to domestic abuse, sexual assault, or stalking of the employee or​

130.29 employee's family member, provided the absence is to:​

130.30 (i) seek medical attention related to physical or psychological injury or disability caused​

130.31 by domestic abuse, sexual assault, or stalking;​
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131.1 (ii) obtain services from a victim services organization;​

131.2 (iii) obtain psychological or other counseling;​

131.3 (iv) seek relocation due to domestic abuse, sexual assault, or stalking; or​

131.4 (v) seek legal advice or take legal action, including preparing for or participating in any​

131.5 civil or criminal legal proceeding related to or resulting from domestic abuse, sexual assault,​

131.6 or stalking;​

131.7 (4) closure of the employee's place of business due to weather or other public emergency​

131.8 or an employee's need to care for a family member whose school or place of care has been​

131.9 closed due to weather or other public emergency; and​

131.10 (5) when it has been determined by the health authorities having jurisdiction or by a​

131.11 health care professional that the presence of the employee or family member of the employee​

131.12 in the community would jeopardize the health of others because of the exposure of the​

131.13 employee or family member of the employee to a communicable disease, whether or not​

131.14 the employee or family member has actually contracted the communicable disease.​

131.15 (b) An employer may require notice of the need for use of earned sick and safe time as​

131.16 provided in this paragraph. If the need for use is foreseeable, an employer may require​

131.17 advance notice of the intention to use earned sick and safe time but must not require more​

131.18 than seven days' advance notice. If the need is unforeseeable, an employer may require an​

131.19 employee to give notice of the need for earned sick and safe time as soon as practicable.​

131.20 (c) When an employee uses earned sick and safe time for more than three consecutive​

131.21 days, an employer may require reasonable documentation that the earned sick and safe time​

131.22 is covered by paragraph (a). For earned sick and safe time under paragraph (a), clauses (1)​

131.23 and (2), reasonable documentation may include a signed statement by a health care​

131.24 professional indicating the need for use of earned sick and safe time. For earned sick and​

131.25 safe time under paragraph (a), clause (3), an employer must accept a court record or​

131.26 documentation signed by a volunteer or employee of a victims services organization, an​

131.27 attorney, a police officer, or an antiviolence counselor as reasonable documentation. An​

131.28 employer must not require disclosure of details relating to domestic abuse, sexual assault,​

131.29 or stalking or the details of an employee's or an employee's family member's medical​

131.30 condition as related to an employee's request to use earned sick and safe time under this​

131.31 section.​
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132.1 (d) An employer may not require, as a condition of an employee using earned sick and​

132.2 safe time, that the employee seek or find a replacement worker to cover the hours the​

132.3 employee uses as earned sick and safe time.​

132.4 (e) Earned sick and safe time may be used in the smallest increment of time tracked by​

132.5 the employer's payroll system, provided such increment is not more than four hours.​

132.6 Subd. 4. Retaliation prohibited. An employer shall not take retaliatory personnel action​

132.7 against an employee because the employee has requested earned sick and safe time, used​

132.8 earned sick and safe time, requested a statement of accrued sick and safe time, or made a​

132.9 complaint or filed an action to enforce a right to earned sick and safe time under this section.​

132.10 Subd. 5. Reinstatement to comparable position after leave. An employee returning​

132.11 from a leave under this section is entitled to return to employment in a comparable position.​

132.12 If, during a leave under this section, the employer experiences a layoff and the employee​

132.13 would have lost a position had the employee not been on leave, pursuant to the good faith​

132.14 operation of a bona fide layoff and recall system, including a system under a collective​

132.15 bargaining agreement, the employee is not entitled to reinstatement in the former or​

132.16 comparable position. In such circumstances, the employee retains all rights under the layoff​

132.17 and recall system, including a system under a collective bargaining agreement, as if the​

132.18 employee had not taken the leave.​

132.19 Subd. 6. Pay and benefits after leave. An employee returning from a leave under this​

132.20 section is entitled to return to employment at the same rate of pay the employee had been​

132.21 receiving when the leave commenced, plus any automatic adjustments in the employee's​

132.22 pay scale that occurred during leave period. The employee returning from a leave is entitled​

132.23 to retain all accrued preleave benefits of employment and seniority as if there had been no​

132.24 interruption in service, provided that nothing under this section prevents the accrual of​

132.25 benefits or seniority during the leave pursuant to a collective bargaining or other agreement​

132.26 between the employer and employees.​

132.27 Subd. 7. Part-time return from leave. An employee, by agreement with the employer,​

132.28 may return to work part time during the leave period without forfeiting the right to return​

132.29 to employment at the end of the leave, as provided under this section.​

132.30 Subd. 8. Notice and posting by employer. (a) Employers must give notice to all​

132.31 employees that they are entitled to earned sick and safe time, including the amount of earned​

132.32 sick and safe time, the accrual year for the employee, and the terms of its use under this​

132.33 section; that retaliation against employees who request or use earned sick and safe time is​

132.34 prohibited; and that each employee has the right to file a complaint or bring a civil action​
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133.1 if earned sick and safe time is denied by the employer or the employee is retaliated against​

133.2 for requesting or using earned sick and safe time.​

133.3 (b) Employers must supply employees with a notice in English and other appropriate​

133.4 languages that contains the information required in paragraph (a) at commencement of​

133.5 employment or the effective date of this section, whichever is later.​

133.6 (c) The means used by the employer must be at least as effective as the following options​

133.7 for providing notice:​

133.8 (1) posting a copy of the notice at each location where employees perform work and​

133.9 where the notice must be readily observed and easily reviewed by all employees performing​

133.10 work; or​

133.11 (2) providing a paper or electronic copy of the notice to employees.​

133.12 The notice must contain all information required under paragraph (a). The commissioner​

133.13 shall create and make available to employers a poster and a model notice that contains the​

133.14 information required under paragraph (a) for their use in complying with this section.​

133.15 (d) An employer that provides an employee handbook to its employees must include in​

133.16 the handbook notice of employee rights and remedies under this section.​

133.17 Subd. 9. Required statement to employee. (a) Upon request of the employee, the​

133.18 employer must provide, in writing or electronically, current information stating the​

133.19 employee's amount of:​

133.20 (1) earned sick and safe time available to the employee; and​

133.21 (2) used earned sick and safe time.​

133.22 (b) Employers may choose a reasonable system for providing the information in paragraph​

133.23 (a), including but not limited to listing information on each pay stub or developing an online​

133.24 system where employees can access their own information.​

133.25 Subd. 10. Employer records. (a) Employers shall retain accurate records documenting​

133.26 hours worked by employees and earned sick and safe time taken and comply with all​

133.27 requirements under section 177.30.​

133.28 (b) An employer must allow an employee to inspect records required by this section and​

133.29 relating to that employee at a reasonable time and place.​

133.30 Subd. 11. Confidentiality and nondisclosure. (a) If, in conjunction with this section,​

133.31 an employer possesses (1) health or medical information regarding an employee or an​

133.32 employee's family member; (2) information pertaining to domestic abuse, sexual assault,​
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134.1 or stalking; (3) information that the employee has requested or obtained leave under this​

134.2 section; or (4) any written or oral statement, documentation, record, or corroborating evidence​

134.3 provided by the employee or an employee's family member, the employer must treat such​

134.4 information as confidential. Information given by an employee may only be disclosed by​

134.5 an employer if the disclosure is requested or consented to by the employee, when ordered​

134.6 by a court or administrative agency, or when otherwise required by federal or state law.​

134.7 (b) Records and documents relating to medical certifications, recertifications, or medical​

134.8 histories of employees or family members of employees created for purposes of this section​

134.9 or section 177.50 must be maintained as confidential medical records separate from the​

134.10 usual personnel files. At the request of the employee, the employer must destroy or return​

134.11 the records required by this section that are older than three years prior to the current calendar​

134.12 year.​

134.13 (c) Employers may not discriminate against any employee based on records created for​

134.14 the purposes of this section or section 177.50.​

134.15 Subd. 12. No effect on more generous sick and safe time policies. (a) Nothing in this​

134.16 section shall be construed to discourage employers from adopting or retaining earned sick​

134.17 and safe time policies that meet or exceed, and do not otherwise conflict with, the minimum​

134.18 standards and requirements provided in this section.​

134.19 (b) Nothing in this section shall be construed to limit the right of parties to a collective​

134.20 bargaining agreement to bargain and agree with respect to earned sick and safe time policies​

134.21 or to diminish the obligation of an employer to comply with any contract, collective​

134.22 bargaining agreement, or any employment benefit program or plan that meets or exceeds,​

134.23 and does not otherwise conflict with, the minimum standards and requirements provided in​

134.24 this section.​

134.25 (c) Employers who provide earned sick and safe time to their employees under a paid​

134.26 time off policy or other paid leave policy that meets or exceeds, and does not otherwise​

134.27 conflict with, the minimum standards and requirements provided in this section are not​

134.28 required to provide additional earned sick and safe time.​

134.29 (d) An employer may opt to satisfy the requirements of this section for construction​

134.30 industry employees by:​

134.31 (1) paying at least the prevailing wage rate as defined by section 177.42 and as calculated​

134.32 by the Department of Labor and Industry; or​
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135.1 (2) paying at least the required rate established in a registered apprenticeship agreement​

135.2 for apprentices registered with the Department of Labor and Industry.​

135.3 An employer electing this option is deemed to be in compliance with this section for​

135.4 construction industry employees who receive either at least the prevailing wage rate or the​

135.5 rate required in the applicable apprenticeship agreement regardless of whether the employees​

135.6 are working on private or public projects.​

135.7 (e) This section does not prohibit an employer from establishing a policy whereby​

135.8 employees may donate unused accrued sick and safe time to another employee.​

135.9 (f) This section does not prohibit an employer from advancing sick and safe time to an​

135.10 employee before accrual by the employee.​

135.11 Subd. 13. Termination; separation; transfer. This section does not require financial​

135.12 or other reimbursement to an employee from an employer upon the employee's termination,​

135.13 resignation, retirement, or other separation from employment for accrued earned sick and​

135.14 safe time that has not been used. If an employee is transferred to a separate division, entity,​

135.15 or location, but remains employed by the same employer, the employee is entitled to all​

135.16 earned sick and safe time accrued at the prior division, entity, or location and is entitled to​

135.17 use all earned sick and safe time as provided in this section. When there is a separation from​

135.18 employment and the employee is rehired within 180 days of separation by the same employer,​

135.19 previously accrued earned sick and safe time that had not been used must be reinstated. An​

135.20 employee is entitled to use accrued earned sick and safe time and accrue additional earned​

135.21 sick and safe time at the commencement of reemployment.​

135.22 Subd. 14. Employer succession. (a) When a different employer succeeds or takes the​

135.23 place of an existing employer, all employees of the original employer who remain employed​

135.24 by the successor employer are entitled to all earned sick and safe time accrued but not used​

135.25 when employed by the original employer, and are entitled to use all earned sick and safe​

135.26 time previously accrued but not used.​

135.27 (b) If, at the time of transfer of the business, employees are terminated by the original​

135.28 employer and hired within 30 days by the successor employer following the transfer, those​

135.29 employees are entitled to all earned sick and safe time accrued but not used when employed​

135.30 by the original employer, and are entitled to use all earned sick and safe time previously​

135.31 accrued but not used.​

135.32 Sec. 3.  REPEALER.​

135.33 Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 181.9413, is repealed.​
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136.1 Sec. 4. EFFECTIVE DATE.​

136.2 Sections 1 to 3 are effective 180 days following final enactment.​

136.3 ARTICLE 7​

136.4 EARNED SICK AND SAFE TIME ENFORCEMENT​

136.5 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 177.27, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

136.6 Subd. 2. Submission of records; penalty. The commissioner may require the employer​

136.7 of employees working in the state to submit to the commissioner photocopies, certified​

136.8 copies, or, if necessary, the originals of employment records which the commissioner deems​

136.9 necessary or appropriate. The records which may be required include full and correct​

136.10 statements in writing, including sworn statements by the employer, containing information​

136.11 relating to wages, hours, names, addresses, and any other information pertaining to the​

136.12 employer's employees and the conditions of their employment as the commissioner deems​

136.13 necessary or appropriate.​

136.14 The commissioner may require the records to be submitted by certified mail delivery​

136.15 or, if necessary, by personal delivery by the employer or a representative of the employer,​

136.16 as authorized by the employer in writing.​

136.17 The commissioner may fine the employer up to $1,000 $10,000 for each failure to submit​

136.18 or deliver records as required by this section. This penalty is in addition to any penalties​

136.19 provided under section 177.32, subdivision 1. In determining the amount of a civil penalty​

136.20 under this subdivision, the appropriateness of such penalty to the size of the employer's​

136.21 business and the gravity of the violation shall be considered.​

136.22 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 177.27, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

136.23 Subd. 4. Compliance orders. The commissioner may issue an order requiring an​

136.24 employer to comply with sections 177.21 to 177.435, 181.02, 181.03, 181.031, 181.032,​

136.25 181.101, 181.11, 181.13, 181.14, 181.145, 181.15, 181.172, paragraph (a) or (d), 181.275,​

136.26 subdivision 2a, 181.722, 181.79, and 181.939 to 181.943, and 181.9445, or with any rule​

136.27 promulgated under section 177.28. The commissioner shall issue an order requiring an​

136.28 employer to comply with sections 177.41 to 177.435 if the violation is repeated. For purposes​

136.29 of this subdivision only, a violation is repeated if at any time during the two years that​

136.30 preceded the date of violation, the commissioner issued an order to the employer for violation​

136.31 of sections 177.41 to 177.435 and the order is final or the commissioner and the employer​

136.32 have entered into a settlement agreement that required the employer to pay back wages that​
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137.1 were required by sections 177.41 to 177.435. The department shall serve the order upon the​

137.2 employer or the employer's authorized representative in person or by certified mail at the​

137.3 employer's place of business. An employer who wishes to contest the order must file written​

137.4 notice of objection to the order with the commissioner within 15 calendar days after being​

137.5 served with the order. A contested case proceeding must then be held in accordance with​

137.6 sections 14.57 to 14.69. If, within 15 calendar days after being served with the order, the​

137.7 employer fails to file a written notice of objection with the commissioner, the order becomes​

137.8 a final order of the commissioner.​

137.9 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 177.27, subdivision 7, is amended to read:​

137.10 Subd. 7. Employer liability. If an employer is found by the commissioner to have​

137.11 violated a section identified in subdivision 4, or any rule adopted under section 177.28, and​

137.12 the commissioner issues an order to comply, the commissioner shall order the employer to​

137.13 cease and desist from engaging in the violative practice and to take such affirmative steps​

137.14 that in the judgment of the commissioner will effectuate the purposes of the section or rule​

137.15 violated. The commissioner shall order the employer to pay to the aggrieved parties back​

137.16 pay, gratuities, and compensatory damages, less any amount actually paid to the employee​

137.17 by the employer, and for an additional equal amount as liquidated damages. Any employer​

137.18 who is found by the commissioner to have repeatedly or willfully violated a section or​

137.19 sections identified in subdivision 4 shall be subject to a civil penalty of up to $1,000  $10,000​

137.20 for each violation for each employee. In determining the amount of a civil penalty under​

137.21 this subdivision, the appropriateness of such penalty to the size of the employer's business​

137.22 and the gravity of the violation shall be considered. In addition, the commissioner may order​

137.23 the employer to reimburse the department and the attorney general for all appropriate​

137.24 litigation and hearing costs expended in preparation for and in conducting the contested​

137.25 case proceeding, unless payment of costs would impose extreme financial hardship on the​

137.26 employer. If the employer is able to establish extreme financial hardship, then the​

137.27 commissioner may order the employer to pay a percentage of the total costs that will not​

137.28 cause extreme financial hardship. Costs include but are not limited to the costs of services​

137.29 rendered by the attorney general, private attorneys if engaged by the department,​

137.30 administrative law judges, court reporters, and expert witnesses as well as the cost of​

137.31 transcripts. Interest shall accrue on, and be added to, the unpaid balance of a commissioner's​

137.32 order from the date the order is signed by the commissioner until it is paid, at an annual rate​

137.33 provided in section 549.09, subdivision 1, paragraph (c). The commissioner may establish​

137.34 escrow accounts for purposes of distributing damages.​

137​Article 7 Sec. 3.​

REVISOR SS/CH A19-0341​03/31/19 06:04 pm  ​



138.1 Sec. 4. [177.50] EARNED SICK AND SAFE TIME ENFORCEMENT.​

138.2 Subdivision 1. Definitions. The definitions in section 181.9445, subdivision 1, apply to​

138.3 this section.​

138.4 Subd. 2. Rulemaking authority. The commissioner may adopt rules to carry out the​

138.5 purposes of this section and section 181.9445.​

138.6 Subd. 3. Individual remedies. In addition to any other remedies provided by law, a​

138.7 person injured by a violation of section 181.9445 may bring a civil action to recover general​

138.8 and special damages, along with costs, fees, and reasonable attorney fees, and may receive​

138.9 injunctive and other equitable relief as determined by a court. An action to recover damages​

138.10 under this subdivision must be commenced within three years of the violation of section​

138.11 181.9445 that caused the injury to the employee.​

138.12 Subd. 4. Grants to community organizations. The commissioner may make grants to​

138.13 community organizations for the purpose of outreach to and education for employees​

138.14 regarding their rights under section 181.9445. The community-based organizations must​

138.15 be selected based on their experience, capacity, and relationships in high-violation industries.​

138.16 The work under such a grant may include the creation and administration of a statewide​

138.17 worker hotline.​

138.18 Subd. 5. Report to legislature. (a) The commissioner must submit an annual report to​

138.19 the legislature, including to the chairs and ranking minority members of any relevant​

138.20 legislative committee. The report must include, but is not limited to:​

138.21 (1) a list of all violations of section 181.9445, including the employer involved, and the​

138.22 nature of any violations; and​

138.23 (2) an analysis of noncompliance with section 181.9445, including any patterns by​

138.24 employer, industry, or county.​

138.25 (b) A report under this section must not include an employee's name or other identifying​

138.26 information, any health or medical information regarding an employee or an employee's​

138.27 family member, or any information pertaining to domestic abuse, sexual assault, or stalking​

138.28 of an employee or an employee's family member.​

138.29 Subd. 6. Contract for labor or services. It is the responsibility of all employers to not​

138.30 enter into any contract or agreement for labor or services where the employer has any actual​

138.31 knowledge or knowledge arising from familiarity with the normal facts and circumstances​

138.32 of the business activity engaged in, or has any additional facts or information that, taken​

138.33 together, would make a reasonably prudent person undertake to inquire whether, taken​
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139.1 together, the contractor is not complying or has failed to comply with this section. For​

139.2 purposes of this subdivision, "actual knowledge" means information obtained by the employer​

139.3 that the contractor has violated this section within the past two years and has failed to present​

139.4 the employer with credible evidence that such noncompliance has been cured going forward.​

139.5 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective 180 days after final enactment.​

139.6 ARTICLE 8​

139.7 LABOR AND INDUSTRY POLICY​

139.8 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 15.72, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

139.9 Subd. 2. Retainage. (a) A public contracting agency may reserve as retainage from any​

139.10 progress payment on a public contract for a public improvement an amount not to exceed​

139.11 five percent of the payment. A The public contracting agency may reduce the amount of​

139.12 the retainage and may eliminate retainage on any monthly contract payment if, in the agency's​

139.13 opinion, the work is progressing satisfactorily.​

139.14 (b) For all construction contracts greater than $5,000,000, the public contracting agency​

139.15 must reduce retainage to no more than 2.5 percent if the public contracting agency determines​

139.16 the work is 75 percent or more complete, that work is progressing satisfactorily, and all​

139.17 contract requirements are being met.​

139.18 (c) The public contracting agency must release any remaining retainage no later than 60​

139.19 days after substantial completion.​

139.20 (d) A contractor on a public contract for a public improvement must pay out any​

139.21 remaining retainage to its subcontractors no later than ten days after receiving payment of​

139.22 retainage from the public contracting agency, unless there is a dispute about the work under​

139.23 a subcontract. If there is a dispute about the work under a subcontract, the contractor must​

139.24 pay out retainage to any subcontractor whose work is not involved in the dispute, and must​

139.25 provide a written statement detailing the amount and reason for the withholding to the​

139.26 affected subcontractor and the public agency.​

139.27 (e) A contractor may not reserve as retainage from a subcontractor an amount that exceeds​

139.28 the amount reserved by the public contracting agency under this subdivision. Upon written​

139.29 request of a subcontractor who has not been paid for work in accordance with section​

139.30 16A.1245 or 471.425, subdivision 4a, the public contracting agency shall notify the​

139.31 subcontractor of a progress payment, retainage payment, or final payment made to the​

139.32 contractor. A contractor must include in any contract with a subcontractor the name, address,​
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140.1 and telephone number of a responsible official at the public contracting agency that may​

140.2 be contacted for purposes of making a request under this paragraph.​

140.3 (f) After substantial completion, a public contracting agency may withhold no more​

140.4 than:​

140.5 (1) 250 percent of the value of incomplete or defective work; and​

140.6 (2) one percent of the value of the contract or $500, whichever is greater, pending​

140.7 completion and submission of all final paperwork by the contractor, provided that an amount​

140.8 withheld under this clause may not exceed $10,000.​

140.9 If the public contracting agency withholds payment under this paragraph, the public​

140.10 contracting agency must promptly provide a written statement detailing the amount and​

140.11 basis of withholding to the contractor. The public contracting agency must provide a copy​

140.12 of this statement to any subcontractor that requests it. Any amounts withheld for incomplete​

140.13 or defective work shall be paid within 45 days after the completion of the work. Any amounts​

140.14 withheld under clause (1) must be paid within 45 days after completion of the work. Any​

140.15 amounts withheld under clause (2) must be paid within 45 days after submission of all final​

140.16 paperwork.​

140.17 (g) As used in this subdivision, "substantial completion" shall be determined as provided​

140.18 in section 541.051, subdivision 1, paragraph (a). For construction, reconstruction, or​

140.19 improvement of streets and highways, including bridges, substantial completion means the​

140.20 date when construction-related traffic devices and ongoing inspections are no longer required.​

140.21 (h) The maximum retainage percentage allowed for a building and construction contract​

140.22 is the retainage percentage withheld by the public contracting agency from the contractor.​

140.23 (i) Withholding retainage for warranties or warranty work is prohibited.​

140.24 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section applies to agreements entered into on or after August​

140.25 1, 2019.​

140.26 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 175.46, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

140.27 Subd. 3. Duties. (a) The commissioner shall:​

140.28 (1) approve youth skills training programs that train student learners for careers in​

140.29 high-growth, high-demand occupations that provide:​

140.30 (i) that the work of the student learner in the occupations declared particularly hazardous​

140.31 shall be incidental to the training;​
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141.1 (ii) that the work shall be intermittent and for short periods of time, and under the direct​

141.2 and close supervision of a qualified and experienced person;​

141.3 (iii) that safety instruction shall be provided to the student learner and may be given by​

141.4 the school and correlated by the employer with on-the-job training;​

141.5 (iv) a schedule of organized and progressive work processes to be performed on the job;​

141.6 (v) a schedule of wage rates in compliance with section 177.24; and​

141.7 (vi) whether the student learner will obtain secondary school academic credit,​

141.8 postsecondary credit, or both, for the training program;​

141.9 (2) approve occupations and maintain a list of approved occupations for programs under​

141.10 this section;​

141.11 (3) issue requests for proposals for grants;​

141.12 (4) work with individuals representing industry and labor to develop new youth skills​

141.13 training programs;​

141.14 (5) develop model program guides;​

141.15 (6) monitor youth skills training programs;​

141.16 (7) provide technical assistance to local partnership grantees;​

141.17 (8) work with providers to identify paths for receiving postsecondary credit for​

141.18 participation in the youth skills training program; and​

141.19 (9) approve other activities as necessary to implement the program.​

141.20 (b) The commissioner shall collaborate with stakeholders, including, but not limited to,​

141.21 representatives of secondary school institutions, career and technical education instructors,​

141.22 postsecondary institutions, businesses, and labor, in developing youth skills training​

141.23 programs, and identifying and approving occupations and competencies for youth skills​

141.24 training programs.​

141.25 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 175.46, subdivision 13, is amended to read:​

141.26 Subd. 13. Grant awards. (a) The commissioner shall award grants to local partnerships​

141.27 for youth skills training programs that train student learners for careers in high-growth,​

141.28 high-demand occupations. Grant awards may not exceed $100,000 per local partnership​

141.29 grant.​
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142.1 (b) A local partnership awarded a grant under this section must use the grant award for​

142.2 any of the following implementation and coordination activities:​

142.3 (1) recruiting additional employers to provide on-the-job training and supervision for​

142.4 student learners and providing technical assistance to those employers;​

142.5 (2) recruiting students to participate in the local youth skills training program, monitoring​

142.6 the progress of student learners participating in the program, and monitoring program​

142.7 outcomes;​

142.8 (3) coordinating youth skills training activities within participating school districts and​

142.9 among participating school districts, postsecondary institutions, and employers;​

142.10 (4) coordinating academic, vocational and occupational learning, school-based and​

142.11 work-based learning, and secondary and postsecondary education for participants in the​

142.12 local youth skills training program;​

142.13 (5) coordinating transportation for student learners participating in the local youth skills​

142.14 training program; and​

142.15 (6) any other implementation or coordination activity that the commissioner may direct​

142.16 or permit the local partnership to perform.​

142.17 (b) (c) Grant awards may not be used to directly or indirectly pay the wages of a student​

142.18 learner.​

142.19 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 176.1812, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

142.20 Subd. 2. Filing and review. (a) A copy of the agreement and the approximate number​

142.21 of employees who will be covered under it must be filed with the commissioner. Within 21​

142.22 days of receipt of an agreement, the commissioner shall review the agreement for compliance​

142.23 with this section and the benefit provisions of this chapter and notify the parties of any​

142.24 additional information required or any recommended modification that would bring the​

142.25 agreement into compliance. Upon receipt of any requested information or modification, the​

142.26 commissioner must notify the parties within 21 days whether the agreement is in compliance​

142.27 with this section and the benefit provisions of this chapter.​

142.28 (b) After an agreement is approved by the commissioner under paragraph (a), a qualified​

142.29 employer may join or withdraw from a qualified group of employers without commissioner​

142.30 review or approval. The commissioner must be notified within 30 days when a qualified​

142.31 employer joins or withdraws from a qualified group of employers.​
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143.1 (c) In order for any agreement to remain in effect, it must provide for a timely and​

143.2 accurate method of reporting to the commissioner necessary information regarding service​

143.3 cost and utilization the individual claims covered by the agreement and claim-specific​

143.4 dispute resolution data, in the form and manner prescribed by the commissioner. Dispute​

143.5 resolution data includes information about facilitation, mediation, and arbitration and shall​

143.6 be provided annually to the commissioner to enable the commissioner to annually report​

143.7 aggregate dispute data to the legislature. The information provided to the commissioner​

143.8 must include aggregate data on the:​

143.9 (i) person hours and payroll covered by agreements filed;​

143.10 (ii) number of claims filed;​

143.11 (iii) average cost per claim;​

143.12 (iv) number of litigated claims, including the number of claims submitted to arbitration,​

143.13 the Workers' Compensation Court of Appeals, the Office of Administrative Hearings, the​

143.14 district court, the Minnesota Court of Appeals or the supreme court;​

143.15 (v) number of contested claims resolved prior to arbitration;​

143.16 (vi) projected incurred costs and actual costs of claims;​

143.17 (vii) employer's safety history;​

143.18 (viii) number of workers participating in vocational rehabilitation; and​

143.19 (ix) number of workers participating in light-duty programs.​

143.20 EFFECTIVE DATE. Paragraphs (a) and (b) are effective June 1, 2019. Paragraph (c)​

143.21 is effective August 1, 2020.​

143.22 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 176.231, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

143.23 Subdivision 1. Time limitation. (a) Where death or serious injury occurs to an employee​

143.24 during the course of employment, the employer shall report the injury or death to the​

143.25 commissioner and insurer within 48 hours after its occurrence. Where any other injury​

143.26 occurs which wholly or partly incapacitates the employee from performing labor or service​

143.27 for more than three calendar days, the employer shall report the injury to the insurer on a​

143.28 form prescribed by the commissioner within ten days from its occurrence. An insurer and​

143.29 self-insured employer shall report the injury to the commissioner no later than 14 days from​

143.30 its occurrence. Where an injury has once been reported but subsequently death ensues, the​

143.31 employer shall report the death to the commissioner and insurer within 48 hours after the​

143.32 employer receives notice of this fact. An employer who provides notice to the Occupational​
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144.1 Safety and Health Division of the Department of Labor and Industry of a fatality within the​

144.2 eight-hour time frame required by law, or of an inpatient hospitalization within the 24-hour​

144.3 time frame required by law, has satisfied the employer's obligation under this section.​

144.4 (b) At the time an injury is required to be reported to the commissioner, the insurer or​

144.5 self-insured employer must also specify whether the injury is covered by a collective​

144.6 bargaining agreement approved by the commissioner under section 176.1812. Notice must​

144.7 be provided in the format and manner prescribed by the commissioner.​

144.8 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2020.​

144.9 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 179.86, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

144.10 Subdivision 1. Definition. For the purpose of this section, "employer" means:​

144.11 (1) an employer in the meatpacking industry. whose employees routinely pack, can, or​

144.12 otherwise process poultry or meat for human consumption; or​

144.13 (2) an employer whose employees routinely clean or sterilize meat processing or poultry​

144.14 processing equipment used by an employer as defined in clause (1).​

144.15 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 179.86, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

144.16 Subd. 3. Information provided to employee by employer. (a) An employer must​

144.17 provide an explanation in an employee's native language of the employee's rights and duties​

144.18 as an employee either person to person or through written materials that, at a minimum,​

144.19 include:​

144.20 (1) a complete description of the salary and benefits plans as they relate to the employee;​

144.21 (2) a job description for the employee's position;​

144.22 (3) a description of leave policies;​

144.23 (4) a description of the work hours and work hours policy; and​

144.24 (5) a description of the occupational hazards known to exist for the position.​

144.25 (b) The explanation must also include information on the following employee rights as​

144.26 protected by state or federal law and a description of where additional information about​

144.27 those rights may be obtained:​

144.28 (1) the right to organize and bargain collectively and refrain from organizing and​

144.29 bargaining collectively;​

144.30 (2) the right to a safe workplace; and​
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145.1 (3) the right to be free from discrimination.​

145.2 (c) The explanation must be provided in a language the employee speaks fluently.​

145.3 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 181.635, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

145.4 Subd. 2. Recruiting; required disclosure. An employer shall provide written disclosure​

145.5 of the terms and conditions of employment to a person at the time it recruits the person to​

145.6 relocate to work in the food processing industry. The disclosure requirement does not apply​

145.7 to an exempt employee as defined in United States Code, title 29, section 213(a)(1). The​

145.8 disclosure must be written in English and Spanish, a language the employee speaks fluently​

145.9 in addition to any other languages preferred by the employer. The disclosure must be dated​

145.10 and signed by the employer and the person recruited, and maintained by the employer for​

145.11 two years. If the employer has any reason to doubt the employee's ability to read, the​

145.12 employer must read the disclosure out loud to the employee in a language the employee​

145.13 speaks fluently before the disclosure is signed. A copy of the signed and completed disclosure​

145.14 must be delivered immediately to the recruited person. The disclosure may not be construed​

145.15 as an employment contract.​

145.16 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 326B.082, subdivision 6, is amended to read:​

145.17 Subd. 6. Notices of violation. (a) The commissioner may issue a notice of violation to​

145.18 any person who the commissioner determines has committed a violation of the applicable​

145.19 law. The notice of violation must state a summary of the facts that constitute the violation​

145.20 and the applicable law violated. The notice of violation may require the person to correct​

145.21 the violation. If correction is required, the notice of violation must state the deadline by​

145.22 which the violation must be corrected.​

145.23 (b) The commissioner shall issue the notice of violation by:​

145.24 (1) serving the notice of violation on the property owner or on the person who committed​

145.25 the violation; or​

145.26 (2) posting the notice of violation at the location where the violation occurred.​

145.27 (c) If the person to whom the commissioner has issued the notice of violation believes​

145.28 the notice was issued in error, then the person may request reconsideration of the parts of​

145.29 the notice that the person believes are in error. The request for reconsideration must be in​

145.30 writing and must be served on or, faxed, or e-mailed to the commissioner at the address or,​

145.31 fax number, or e-mail address specified in the notice of violation by the tenth day after the​

145.32 commissioner issued the notice of violation. The date on which a request for reconsideration​
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146.1 is served by mail shall be the postmark date on the envelope in which the request for​

146.2 reconsideration is mailed. If the person does not serve or, fax, or e-mail a written request​

146.3 for reconsideration or if the person's written request for reconsideration is not served on or​

146.4 faxed to the commissioner by the tenth day after the commissioner issued the notice of​

146.5 violation, the notice of violation shall become a final order of the commissioner and will​

146.6 not be subject to review by any court or agency. The request for reconsideration must:​

146.7 (1) specify which parts of the notice of violation the person believes are in error;​

146.8 (2) explain why the person believes the parts are in error; and​

146.9 (3) provide documentation to support the request for reconsideration.​

146.10 The commissioner shall respond in writing to requests for reconsideration made under​

146.11 this paragraph within 15 days after receiving the request. A request for reconsideration does​

146.12 not stay a requirement to correct a violation as set forth in the notice of violation. After​

146.13 reviewing the request for reconsideration, the commissioner may affirm, modify, or rescind​

146.14 the notice of violation. The commissioner's response to a request for reconsideration is final​

146.15 and shall not be reviewed by any court or agency.​

146.16 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 326B.082, subdivision 8, is amended to read:​

146.17 Subd. 8. Hearings related to administrative orders. (a) Within 30 days after the​

146.18 commissioner issues an administrative order or within 20 days after the commissioner issues​

146.19 the notice under section 326B.083, subdivision 3, paragraph (b), clause (3), the person to​

146.20 whom the administrative order or notice is issued may request an expedited hearing to​

146.21 review the commissioner's order or notice. The request for hearing must be in writing and​

146.22 must be served on or, faxed, or e-mailed to the commissioner at the address or, fax number,​

146.23 or e-mail address specified in the order or notice. If the person does not request a hearing​

146.24 or if the person's written request for hearing is not served on or, faxed, or e-mailed to the​

146.25 commissioner by the 30th day after the commissioner issues the administrative order or the​

146.26 20th day after the commissioner issues the notice under section 326B.083, subdivision 3,​

146.27 paragraph (b), clause (3), the order will become a final order of the commissioner and will​

146.28 not be subject to review by any court or agency. The date on which a request for hearing is​

146.29 served by mail shall be the postmark date on the envelope in which the request for hearing​

146.30 is mailed. The hearing request must specifically state the reasons for seeking review of the​

146.31 order or notice. The person to whom the order or notice is issued and the commissioner are​

146.32 the parties to the expedited hearing. The commissioner must notify the person to whom the​

146.33 order or notice is issued of the time and place of the hearing at least 15 days before the​
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147.1 hearing. The expedited hearing must be held within 45 days after a request for hearing has​

147.2 been received by the commissioner unless the parties agree to a later date.​

147.3 (b) Parties may submit written arguments if permitted by the administrative law judge.​

147.4 All written arguments must be submitted within ten days following the completion of the​

147.5 hearing or the receipt of any late-filed exhibits that the parties and the administrative law​

147.6 judge have agreed should be received into the record, whichever is later. The hearing shall​

147.7 be conducted under Minnesota Rules, parts 1400.8510 to 1400.8612, as modified by this​

147.8 subdivision. The Office of Administrative Hearings may, in consultation with the agency,​

147.9 adopt rules specifically applicable to cases under this section.​

147.10 (c) The administrative law judge shall issue a report making findings of fact, conclusions​

147.11 of law, and a recommended order to the commissioner within 30 days following the​

147.12 completion of the hearing, the receipt of late-filed exhibits, or the submission of written​

147.13 arguments, whichever is later.​

147.14 (d) If the administrative law judge makes a finding that the hearing was requested solely​

147.15 for purposes of delay or that the hearing request was frivolous, the commissioner may add​

147.16 to the amount of the penalty the costs charged to the department by the Office of​

147.17 Administrative Hearings for the hearing.​

147.18 (e) If a hearing has been held, the commissioner shall not issue a final order until at least​

147.19 five days after the date of the administrative law judge's report. Any person aggrieved by​

147.20 the administrative law judge's report may, within those five days, serve written comments​

147.21 to the commissioner on the report and the commissioner shall consider and enter the​

147.22 comments in the record. The commissioner's final order shall comply with sections 14.61,​

147.23 subdivision 2, and 14.62, subdivisions 1 and 2a, and may be appealed in the manner provided​

147.24 in sections 14.63 to 14.69.​

147.25 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 326B.082, subdivision 12, is amended to read:​

147.26 Subd. 12. Issuance of licensing orders; hearings related to licensing orders. (a) If​

147.27 the commissioner determines that a permit, license, registration, or certificate should be​

147.28 conditioned, limited, suspended, revoked, or denied under subdivision 11, or that the permit​

147.29 holder, licensee, registrant, or certificate holder should be censured under subdivision 11,​

147.30 then the commissioner shall issue to the person an order denying, conditioning, limiting,​

147.31 suspending, or revoking the person's permit, license, registration, or certificate, or censuring​

147.32 the permit holder, licensee, registrant, or certificate holder.​
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148.1 (b) Any order issued under paragraph (a) may include an assessment of monetary penalties​

148.2 and may require the person to cease and desist from committing the violation or committing​

148.3 the act, conduct, or practice set out in subdivision 11, paragraph (b). The monetary penalty​

148.4 may be up to $10,000 for each violation or act, conduct, or practice committed by the person.​

148.5 The procedures in section 326B.083 must be followed when issuing orders under paragraph​

148.6 (a).​

148.7 (c) The permit holder, licensee, registrant, certificate holder, or applicant to whom the​

148.8 commissioner issues an order under paragraph (a) shall have 30 days after issuance of the​

148.9 order to request a hearing. The request for hearing must be in writing and must be served​

148.10 on or, faxed, or e-mailed to the commissioner at the address or, fax number, or e-mail address​

148.11 specified in the order by the 30th day after issuance of the order. If the person does not​

148.12 request a hearing or if the person's written request for hearing is not served on or, faxed, or​

148.13 e-mailed to the commissioner by the 30th day after issuance of the order, the order shall​

148.14 become a final order of the commissioner and will not be subject to review by any court or​

148.15 agency. The date on which a request for hearing is served by mail shall be the postmark​

148.16 date on the envelope in which the request for hearing is mailed. If the person submits to the​

148.17 commissioner a timely request for hearing, the order is stayed unless the commissioner​

148.18 summarily suspends the license, registration, certificate, or permit under subdivision 13,​

148.19 and a contested case hearing shall be held in accordance with chapter 14.​

148.20 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 326B.103, subdivision 11, is amended to read:​

148.21 Subd. 11. Public building. "Public building" means a building and its grounds the cost​

148.22 of which is paid for by the state or a state agency regardless of its cost, and a school district​

148.23 building project for a school district or charter school building project the cost of which is​

148.24 $100,000 or more.​

148.25 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 326B.106, subdivision 9, is amended to read:​

148.26 Subd. 9. Accessibility. (a) Public buildings. The code must provide for making require​

148.27 new public buildings constructed or remodeled after July 1, 1963, and remodeled portions​

148.28 of existing public buildings to be accessible to and usable by persons with disabilities,​

148.29 although this does not require the remodeling of public buildings solely to provide​

148.30 accessibility and usability to persons with disabilities when remodeling would not otherwise​

148.31 be undertaken.​

148.32 (b) Leased space. No agency of the state may lease space for agency operations in a​

148.33 non-state-owned building unless the building satisfies the requirements of the State Building​
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149.1 Code for accessibility by persons with disabilities, or is eligible to display the state symbol​

149.2 of accessibility. This limitation applies to leases of 30 days or more for space of at least​

149.3 1,000 square feet.​

149.4 (c) Meetings or conferences. Meetings or conferences for the public or for state​

149.5 employees which are sponsored in whole or in part by a state agency must be held in​

149.6 buildings that meet the State Building Code requirements relating to accessibility for persons​

149.7 with disabilities. This subdivision does not apply to any classes, seminars, or training​

149.8 programs offered by the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities or the University of​

149.9 Minnesota. Meetings or conferences intended for specific individuals none of whom need​

149.10 the accessibility features for persons with disabilities specified in the State Building Code​

149.11 need not comply with this subdivision unless a person with a disability gives reasonable​

149.12 advance notice of an intent to attend the meeting or conference. When sign language​

149.13 interpreters will be provided, meetings or conference sites must be chosen which allow​

149.14 participants who are deaf or hard-of-hearing to see the sign language interpreters clearly.​

149.15 (d) Exemptions. The commissioner may grant an exemption from the requirements of​

149.16 paragraphs (b) and (c) in advance if an agency has demonstrated that reasonable efforts​

149.17 were made to secure facilities which complied with those requirements and if the selected​

149.18 facilities are the best available for access for persons with disabilities. Exemptions shall be​

149.19 granted using criteria developed by the commissioner in consultation with the Council on​

149.20 Disability.​

149.21 (e) Symbol indicating access. The wheelchair symbol adopted by Rehabilitation​

149.22 International's Eleventh World Congress is the state symbol indicating buildings, facilities,​

149.23 and grounds which are accessible to and usable by persons with disabilities. In the interests​

149.24 of uniformity, this symbol is the sole symbol for display in or on all public or private​

149.25 buildings, facilities, and grounds which qualify for its use. The secretary of state shall obtain​

149.26 the symbol and keep it on file. No building, facility, or grounds may display the symbol​

149.27 unless it is in compliance with the rules adopted by the commissioner under subdivision 1.​

149.28 Before any rules are proposed for adoption under this paragraph, the commissioner shall​

149.29 consult with the Council on Disability. Rules adopted under this paragraph must be enforced​

149.30 in the same way as other accessibility rules of the State Building Code.​

149.31 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 326B.46, is amended by adding a subdivision​

149.32 to read:​

149.33 Subd. 7. License number to be displayed. Any vehicle used by a plumbing contractor​

149.34 or restricted plumbing contractor while performing plumbing work for which a contractor's​
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150.1 license is required shall have the contractor's name and license number as it appears on the​

150.2 contractor's license in contrasting color with characters at least three inches high and one-half​

150.3 inch in width affixed to each side of the vehicle.​

150.4 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 326B.475, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

150.5 Subd. 4. Renewal; use period for license. (a) A restricted master plumber and restricted​

150.6 journeyworker plumber license must be renewed for as long as that licensee engages in the​

150.7 plumbing trade. Notwithstanding section 326B.094, failure to renew a restricted master​

150.8 plumber and restricted journeyworker plumber license within 12 months after the expiration​

150.9 date will result in permanent forfeiture of the restricted master plumber and restricted​

150.10 journeyworker plumber license.​

150.11 (b) The commissioner shall in a manner determined by the commissioner, without the​

150.12 need for any rulemaking under chapter 14, phase in the renewal of restricted master plumber​

150.13 and restricted journeyworker plumber licenses from one year to two years. By June 30,​

150.14 2011, all restricted master plumber and restricted journeyworker plumber licenses shall be​

150.15 two-year licenses.​

150.16 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 326B.815, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

150.17 Subdivision 1. Fees. (a) For the purposes of calculating fees under section 326B.092,​

150.18 an initial or renewed residential contractor, residential remodeler, or residential roofer license​

150.19 is a business license. Notwithstanding section 326B.092, the licensing fee for manufactured​

150.20 home installers under section 327B.041 is $300 $180 for a three-year period.​

150.21 (b) All initial and renewal licenses, except for manufactured home installer licenses,​

150.22 shall be effective for two years and shall expire on March 31 of the year after the year in​

150.23 which the application is made.​

150.24 (c) The commissioner shall in a manner determined by the commissioner, without the​

150.25 need for any rulemaking under chapter 14, phase in the renewal of residential contractor,​

150.26 residential remodeler, and residential roofer licenses from one year to two years. By June​

150.27 30, 2011, all renewed residential contractor, residential remodeler, and residential roofer​

150.28 licenses shall be two-year licenses.​

150.29 Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 326B.821, subdivision 21, is amended to read:​

150.30 Subd. 21. Residential building contractor, remodeler, and roofer education. (a) Each​

150.31 licensee must, during each continuing education reporting period, complete and report one​

150.32 hour of continuing education relating to energy codes or energy conservation measures​
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151.1 applicable to residential buildings and one hour of business management strategies applicable​

151.2 to residential construction businesses.​

151.3 (b) Immediately following the adoption date of a new residential code, the commissioner​

151.4 may prescribe that up to seven of the required 14 hours of continuing education credit per​

151.5 licensure period include education hours specifically designated to instruct licensees on​

151.6 new or existing State Building Code provisions.​

151.7 Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 326B.84, is amended to read:​

151.8 326B.84 GROUNDS FOR SANCTIONS.​

151.9 The commissioner may use any enforcement provision in section 326B.082 against an​

151.10 applicant for, qualifying person of, or holder of a license or certificate of exemption, or any​

151.11 individual or entity who is required by law to hold a license or certificate of exemption, if​

151.12 the individual, entity, applicant, licensee, certificate of exemption holder, qualifying person,​

151.13 or owner, officer, member, managing employee, or affiliate of the applicant, licensee, or​

151.14 certificate of exemption holder:​

151.15 (1) has filed an application for licensure or a certificate of exemption which is incomplete​

151.16 in any material respect or contains any statement which, in light of the circumstances under​

151.17 which it is made, is false or misleading with respect to any material fact;​

151.18 (2) has engaged in a fraudulent, deceptive, or dishonest practice;​

151.19 (3) is permanently or temporarily enjoined by any court of competent jurisdiction from​

151.20 engaging in or continuing any conduct or practice involving any aspect of the business;​

151.21 (4) has failed to reasonably supervise employees, agents, subcontractors, or salespersons,​

151.22 or has performed negligently or in breach of contract, so as to cause injury or harm to the​

151.23 public;​

151.24 (5) has violated or failed to comply with any provision of sections 326B.802 to 326B.885,​

151.25 any rule or order under sections 326B.802 to 326B.885, or any other law, rule, or order​

151.26 related to the duties and responsibilities entrusted to the commissioner;​

151.27 (6) has been convicted of a violation of the State Building Code or has refused to comply​

151.28 with a correction order issued by a certified building official, or in local jurisdictions that​

151.29 have not adopted the State Building Code has refused to correct a violation of the State​

151.30 Building Code when the violation has been documented by a certified building official;​

151.31 (7) has failed to use the proceeds of any payment made to the licensee for the construction​

151.32 of, or any improvement to, residential real estate, as defined in section 326B.802, subdivision​
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152.1 13, for the payment of labor, skill, material, and machinery contributed to the construction​

152.2 or improvement, knowing that the cost of any labor performed, or skill, material, or​

152.3 machinery furnished for the improvement remains unpaid;​

152.4 (8) has not furnished to the person making payment either a valid lien waiver as to any​

152.5 unpaid labor performed, or skill, material, or machinery furnished for an improvement, or​

152.6 a payment bond in the basic amount of the contract price for the improvement conditioned​

152.7 for the prompt payment to any person or persons entitled to payment;​

152.8 (9) has engaged in an act or practice that results in compensation to an aggrieved owner​

152.9 or lessee from the contractor recovery fund pursuant to section 326B.89, unless:​

152.10 (i) the applicant or licensee has repaid the fund twice the amount paid from the fund,​

152.11 plus interest at the rate of 12 percent per year; and​

152.12 (ii) the applicant or licensee has obtained a surety bond in the amount of at least $40,000,​

152.13 issued by an insurer authorized to transact business in this state;​

152.14 (10) has engaged in bad faith, unreasonable delays, or frivolous claims in defense of a​

152.15 civil lawsuit or arbitration arising out of their activities as a licensee or certificate of​

152.16 exemption holder under this chapter;​

152.17 (11) has had a judgment entered against them for failure to make payments to employees,​

152.18 subcontractors, or suppliers, that the licensee has failed to satisfy and all appeals of the​

152.19 judgment have been exhausted or the period for appeal has expired;​

152.20 (12) if unlicensed, has obtained a building permit by the fraudulent use of a fictitious​

152.21 license number or the license number of another, or, if licensed, has knowingly allowed an​

152.22 unlicensed person to use the licensee's license number for the purpose of fraudulently​

152.23 obtaining a building permit; or has applied for or obtained a building permit for an unlicensed​

152.24 person;​

152.25 (13) has made use of a forged mechanic's lien waiver under chapter 514;​

152.26 (14) has provided false, misleading, or incomplete information to the commissioner or​

152.27 has refused to allow a reasonable inspection of records or premises;​

152.28 (15) has engaged in an act or practice whether or not the act or practice directly involves​

152.29 the business for which the person is licensed, that demonstrates that the applicant or licensee​

152.30 is untrustworthy, financially irresponsible, or otherwise incompetent or unqualified to act​

152.31 under the license granted by the commissioner; or​
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153.1 (16) has failed to comply with requests for information, documents, or other requests​

153.2 from the department within the time specified in the request or, if no time is specified, within​

153.3 30 days of the mailing of the request by the department.​

153.4 Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 327.31, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

153.5 read:​

153.6 Subd. 23. Modular home. "Modular home" means a building or structural unit of closed​

153.7 construction that has been substantially manufactured or constructed, in whole or in part,​

153.8 at an off-site location, with the final assembly occurring on site alone or with other units​

153.9 and attached to a foundation designed to the State Building Code and occupied as a​

153.10 single-family dwelling. Modular home construction must comply with applicable standards​

153.11 adopted in Minnesota Rules, chapter 1360 or 1361.​

153.12 Sec. 20. [327.335] PLACEMENT OF MODULAR HOMES.​

153.13 A modular home may be placed in a manufactured home park as defined in section​

153.14 327.14, subdivision 3. A modular home placed in a manufactured home park is a​

153.15 manufactured home for purposes of chapters 327C and 504B and all rights, obligations, and​

153.16 duties under those chapters apply. A modular home may not be placed in a manufactured​

153.17 home park without prior written approval of the park owner. Nothing in this section shall​

153.18 be construed to inhibit the application of zoning, subdivision, architectural, or esthetic​

153.19 requirements pursuant to chapters 394 and 462 that otherwise apply to manufactured homes​

153.20 and manufactured home parks. A modular home placed in a manufactured home park under​

153.21 this section shall be assessed and taxed as a manufactured home.​

153.22 Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 327B.041, is amended to read:​

153.23 327B.041 MANUFACTURED HOME INSTALLERS.​

153.24 (a) Manufactured home installers are subject to all of the fees in section 326B.092 and​

153.25 the requirements of sections 326B.802 to 326B.885, except for the following:​

153.26 (1) manufactured home installers are not subject to the continuing education requirements​

153.27 of sections 326B.0981, 326B.099, and 326B.821, but are subject to the continuing education​

153.28 requirements established in rules adopted under section 327B.10;​

153.29 (2) the examination requirement of section 326B.83, subdivision 3, for manufactured​

153.30 home installers shall be satisfied by successful completion of a written examination​

153.31 administered and developed specifically for the examination of manufactured home installers.​

153.32 The examination must be administered and developed by the commissioner. The​
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154.1 commissioner and the state building official shall seek advice on the grading, monitoring,​

154.2 and updating of examinations from the Minnesota Manufactured Housing Association;​

154.3 (3) a local government unit may not place a surcharge on a license fee, and may not​

154.4 charge a separate fee to installers;​

154.5 (4) a dealer or distributor who does not install or repair manufactured homes is exempt​

154.6 from licensure under sections 326B.802 to 326B.885;​

154.7 (5) the exemption under section 326B.805, subdivision 6, clause (5), does not apply;​

154.8 and​

154.9 (6) manufactured home installers are not subject to the contractor recovery fund in​

154.10 section 326B.89.​

154.11 (b) The commissioner may waive all or part of the requirements for licensure as a​

154.12 manufactured home installer for any individual who holds an unexpired license or certificate​

154.13 issued by any other state or other United States jurisdiction if the licensing requirements of​

154.14 that jurisdiction meet or exceed the corresponding licensing requirements of the department​

154.15 and the individual complies with section 326B.092, subdivisions 1 and 3 to 7. For the​

154.16 purposes of calculating fees under section 326B.092, licensure as a manufactured home​

154.17 installer is a business license.​

154.18 Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 327C.095, subdivision 6, is amended to read:​

154.19 Subd. 6. Intent to convert use of park at time of purchase. Before the execution of​

154.20 an agreement to purchase a manufactured home park, the purchaser must notify the park​

154.21 owner, in writing, if the purchaser intends to close the manufactured home park or convert​

154.22 it to another use within one year of the execution of the agreement. The park owner shall​

154.23 provide a resident of each manufactured home with a 45-day written notice of the purchaser's​

154.24 intent to close the park or convert it to another use. The notice must state that the park owner​

154.25 will provide information on the cash price and the terms and conditions of the purchaser's​

154.26 offer to residents requesting the information. The notice must be sent by first class mail to​

154.27 a resident of each manufactured home in the park. The notice period begins on the postmark​

154.28 date affixed to the notice and ends 45 days after it begins. During the notice period required​

154.29 in this subdivision, the owners of at least 51 percent of the manufactured homes in the park​

154.30 or a nonprofit organization which has the written permission of the owners of at least 51​

154.31 percent of the manufactured homes in the park to represent them in the acquisition of the​

154.32 park shall have the right to meet the cash price and execute an agreement to purchase the​

154.33 park for the purposes of keeping the park as a manufactured housing community, provided​
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155.1 that the owners or nonprofit organization will covenant and warrant to the park owner in​

155.2 the agreement that they will continue to operate the park for not less than six years from​

155.3 the date of closing. The park owner must accept the offer if it meets the cash price and the​

155.4 same terms and conditions set forth in the purchaser's offer except that the seller is not​

155.5 obligated to provide owner financing. For purposes of this section, cash price means the​

155.6 cash price offer or equivalent cash offer as defined in section 500.245, subdivision 1,​

155.7 paragraph (d).​

155.8 Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 327C.095, is amended by adding a subdivision​

155.9 to read:​

155.10 Subd. 16. Reporting of licensed manufactured home parks. The Department of Health​

155.11 or, if applicable, local units of government that have entered into a delegation of authority​

155.12 agreement with the Department of Health as provided in section 145A.07 shall provide, by​

155.13 March 31 of each year, a list of names and addresses of the manufactured home parks​

155.14 licensed in the previous year, and for each manufactured home park, the current licensed​

155.15 owner, the owner's address, the number of licensed manufactured home lots, and other data​

155.16 as they may request for the Department of Management and Budget to invoice each licensed​

155.17 manufactured home park in Minnesota.​

155.18 Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 337.10, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

155.19 Subd. 4. Progress payments and retainages. (a) Unless the building and construction​

155.20 contract provides otherwise, the owner or other persons making payments under the contract​

155.21 must make progress payments monthly as the work progresses. Payments shall be based​

155.22 upon estimates of work completed as approved by the owner or the owner's agent. A progress​

155.23 payment shall not be considered acceptance or approval of any work or waiver of any defects​

155.24 therein.​

155.25 (b) Retainage on a building and construction contract may not exceed five percent. An​

155.26 owner or owner's agent may reduce the amount of retainage and may eliminate retainage​

155.27 on any monthly contract payment if, in the owner's opinion, the work is progressing​

155.28 satisfactorily. Nothing in this subdivision is intended to require that retainage be withheld​

155.29 in any building or construction contract. For all construction contracts greater than​

155.30 $5,000,000, the owner or the owner's agent must reduce retainage to no more than 2.5​

155.31 percent if the owner or the owner's agent determines the work is 75 percent or more complete,​

155.32 that work is progressing satisfactorily, and all contract requirements are being met.​
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156.1 (c) The owner or the owner's agent must release any remaining retainage no later than​

156.2 60 days after substantial completion. For purposes of this subdivision, "substantial​

156.3 completion" shall be determined as provided in section 541.051, subdivision 1, paragraph​

156.4 (a).​

156.5 (c) (d) Any contractor holding retainage must reduce that retainage at the same rate​

156.6 reduced by the owner or the owner's agent. A contractor must pay out any remaining retainage​

156.7 no later than ten days after receiving payment of retainage, unless there is a dispute about​

156.8 the work under a subcontract, in which case the contractor must pay out retainage to any​

156.9 party whose work is not involved in the dispute. Nothing in this subdivision is intended to​

156.10 require that retainage be withheld in any building or construction contract.​

156.11 (e) After substantial completion, an owner or owner's agent may withhold no more than:​

156.12 (1) 250 percent of the value of incomplete or defective work; and​

156.13 (2) one percent of the value of the contract or $500, whichever is greater, pending​

156.14 completion and submission of all final paperwork by the contractor, provided that an amount​

156.15 withheld under this clause may not exceed $10,000.​

156.16 If the owner or the owner's agent withholds payment under this paragraph, the owner or the​

156.17 owner's agent must promptly provide a written statement detailing the amount and basis of​

156.18 withholding to the contractor. The owner or the owner's agent and the contractor must​

156.19 provide a copy of this statement to any subcontractor that requests it. Any amounts withheld​

156.20 for incomplete or defective work shall be paid within 45 days after the completion of the​

156.21 work. Any amounts withheld under clause (1) must be paid within 45 days after completion​

156.22 of the work. Any amounts withheld under clause (2) must be paid within 45 days after​

156.23 submission of all final paperwork.​

156.24 (f) The maximum retainage percentage allowed for a building and construction contract​

156.25 is the retainage percentage withheld by the owner from the contractor.​

156.26 (g) Withholding retainage for warranties or warranty work is prohibited.​

156.27 (h) Retainage must not be used as collateral for the owner, owner's agent, or contractor.​

156.28 (i) This subdivision does not apply to a public agency as defined in section 15.71,​

156.29 subdivision 3.​

156.30 (j) This subdivision does not apply to contracts for professional services as defined in​

156.31 sections 326.02 to 326.15.​
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157.1 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section applies to agreements entered into on or after August​

157.2 1, 2019.​

157.3 Sec. 25. ADVANCES TO THE MINNESOTA MANUFACTURED HOME​

157.4 RELOCATION TRUST FUND.​

157.5 (a) The Housing Finance Agency or Department of Management and Budget as​

157.6 determined by the commissioner of management and budget, is authorized to advance up​

157.7 to $400,000 from state appropriations or other resources to the Minnesota manufactured​

157.8 home relocation trust fund established under Minnesota Statutes, section 462A.35, if the​

157.9 account balance in the Minnesota manufactured home relocation trust fund is insufficient​

157.10 to pay the amounts claimed under Minnesota Statutes, section 327C.095, subdivision 13.​

157.11 (b) The Housing Finance Agency or Department of Management and Budget shall be​

157.12 reimbursed from the Minnesota manufactured home relocation trust fund for any money​

157.13 advanced by the agency under paragraph (a) to the fund. Approved claims for payment to​

157.14 manufactured home owners shall be paid prior to the money being advanced by the agency​

157.15 or the department to the fund.​

157.16 Sec. 26. REPEALER.​

157.17 Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 325F.75, is repealed.​

157.18 ARTICLE 9​

157.19 COMMERCE POLICY​

157.20 Section 1. [16C.57] CONTRACTS FOR INTERNET SERVICE; ADHERENCE TO​

157.21 NET NEUTRALITY.​

157.22 Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have​

157.23 the meanings given in this subdivision.​

157.24 (b) "Broadband Internet access service" means:​

157.25 (1) a mass-market retail service by wire or radio that provides the capability, including​

157.26 any capability that is incidental to and enables the operation of the communications service,​

157.27 to transmit data to and receive data from all or substantially all Internet endpoints;​

157.28 (2) any service that provides a functional equivalent of the service described in clause​

157.29 (1); or​

157.30 (3) any service that is used to evade the protections set forth in this section.​
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158.1 "Broadband Internet access service" includes service that serves end users at fixed endpoints​

158.2 using stationary equipment or end users using mobile stations but does not include dial-up​

158.3 Internet access service.​

158.4 (c) "Edge provider" means any person or entity that provides (1) any content, application,​

158.5 or service over the Internet, or (2) a device used to access any content, application, or service​

158.6 over the Internet. Edge provider does not include a person or entity providing obscene​

158.7 material, as defined by section 617.241.​

158.8 (d) "Internet service provider" means a business that provides broadband Internet access​

158.9 service to a customer in Minnesota.​

158.10 (e) "Paid prioritization" means the management of an Internet service provider's network​

158.11 to directly or indirectly favor some traffic over other traffic (1) in exchange for monetary​

158.12 or other consideration from a third party, or (2) to benefit an affiliated entity.​

158.13 Subd. 2. Purchasing or funding broadband Internet access services; prohibitions. A​

158.14 state agency or political subdivision is prohibited from entering into a contract or providing​

158.15 funding to purchase broadband Internet access service after August 1, 2019, that does not​

158.16 contain:​

158.17 (1) a binding agreement in which the Internet service provider certifies to the​

158.18 commissioner of commerce that the Internet service provider does not engage in any of the​

158.19 following activities with respect to any of its Minnesota customers:​

158.20 (i) block lawful content, applications, services, or nonharmful devices, subject to​

158.21 reasonable network management;​

158.22 (ii) impair, impede, or degrade lawful Internet traffic on the basis of Internet content,​

158.23 application, or service, or use of a nonharmful device, subject to reasonable network​

158.24 management;​

158.25 (iii) engage in paid prioritization;​

158.26 (iv) unreasonably interfere with or unreasonably disadvantage:​

158.27 (A) a customer's ability to select, access, and use broadband Internet service or lawful​

158.28 Internet content, applications, services, or devices of the customer's choice; or​

158.29 (B) an edge provider's ability to provide lawful Internet content, applications, services,​

158.30 or devices to a customer, except that an Internet service provider may block content if the​

158.31 edge provider charges or intends to charge a fee to the Internet service provider for the​

158.32 content; or​

158​Article 9 Section 1.​

REVISOR SS/CH A19-0341​03/31/19 06:04 pm  ​



159.1 (v) engage in deceptive or misleading marketing practices that misrepresent the treatment​

159.2 of Internet traffic or content; and​

159.3 (2) provisions requiring the state agency or political subdivision, upon determining the​

159.4 Internet service provider has violated the binding agreement under clause (1), to unilaterally​

159.5 terminate the contract for broadband Internet access service and require the Internet service​

159.6 provider to remunerate the state agency or political subdivision for all revenues earned​

159.7 under the contract during the period when the violation occurred.​

159.8 Subd. 3. Other laws. Nothing in this section (1) supersedes any obligation or​

159.9 authorization an Internet service provider may have consistent with or as permitted by​

159.10 applicable law to address the needs of emergency communications or law enforcement,​

159.11 public safety, or national security authorities, or (2) limits the provider's ability to meet the​

159.12 needs under clause (1).​

159.13 Subd. 4. Exception. This section does not apply to a state agency or political subdivision​

159.14 that purchases or funds fixed broadband Internet access services in a geographic location​

159.15 where broadband Internet access services are only available from a single Internet service​

159.16 provider.​

159.17 Subd. 5. Enforcement. A violation of the certification provided under subdivision 2​

159.18 must be enforced by the commissioner of commerce. An Internet service provider who​

159.19 materially or repeatedly violates this section is subject to a fine of not more than $1,000 for​

159.20 each violation. A fine authorized by this section may be imposed by the commissioner,​

159.21 through a civil action brought by the commissioner under section 45.027, or by the attorney​

159.22 general under section 8.31 on behalf of the state of Minnesota. Fines collected under this​

159.23 subdivision must be deposited into the state treasury.​

159.24 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 46.131, subdivision 11, is amended to read:​

159.25 Subd. 11. Financial institutions account; appropriation. (a) The financial institutions​

159.26 account is created as a separate account in the special revenue fund. The account consists​

159.27 of funds received from assessments under subdivision 7, examination fees under subdivision​

159.28 8, and license and renewal fees under section 216C.437, subdivision 12. Earnings, including​

159.29 interest, dividends, and any other earnings arising from account assets, must be credited to​

159.30 the account.​

159.31 (b) The account consists of funds received from assessments under subdivision 7,​

159.32 examination fees under subdivision 8, and funds received pursuant to subdivision 10 and​

159.33 the following provisions: sections 46.041, subdivision 1; 46.048, subdivision 1; 47.101,​
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160.1 subdivision 3; 47.54, subdivision 1; 47.60, subdivision 3; 47.62, subdivision 4; 47.65,​

160.2 subdivision 2; 48.36, subdivision 2; 48.61, subdivision 7; 48A.01, subdivision 1; 48A.14,​

160.3 subdivision 1; 48A.17; 48A.18; 48A.19; 49.36, subdivision 1; 50.001; 52.01; 52.203; 53.03,​

160.4 subdivisions 1, 5, and 6; 53A.03, paragraph (b); 53A.05, subdivision 1; 53A.07, subdivision​

160.5 2; 53B.09; 53B.11, subdivision 1; 53C.02, paragraph (c); 55.04, subdivision 2; 55.041;​

160.6 56.02; 56.04; 56.08; 58.10, subdivision 1; 58A.045, subdivision 2; 59A.03, subdivision 2;​

160.7 216C.437, subdivision 12; 332.30, paragraph (a); 332.54, subdivision 7; 332A.04, subdivision​

160.8 3; 332A.06; and 332B.04, subdivisions 3 and 6.​

160.9 (b) (c) Funds in the account are annually appropriated to the commissioner of commerce​

160.10 for activities under this section.​

160.11 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2019.​

160.12 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 47.59, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

160.13 Subd. 2. Application. Extensions of credit or purchases of extensions of credit by​

160.14 financial institutions under sections 47.20, 47.21, 47.201, 47.204, 47.58, 47.60, 48.153,​

160.15 48.185, 48.195, 59A.01 to 59A.15, 334.01, 334.011, 334.012, 334.022, 334.06, and 334.061​

160.16 to 334.19 may, but need not, be made according to those sections in lieu of the authority​

160.17 set forth in this section to the extent those sections authorize the financial institution to make​

160.18 extensions of credit or purchase extensions of credit under those sections. If a financial​

160.19 institution elects to make an extension of credit or to purchase an extension of credit under​

160.20 those other sections, the extension of credit or the purchase of an extension of credit is​

160.21 subject to those sections and not this section, except this subdivision, and except as expressly​

160.22 provided in those sections. A financial institution may also charge an organization a rate of​

160.23 interest and any charges agreed to by the organization and may calculate and collect finance​

160.24 and other charges in any manner agreed to by that organization. Except for extensions of​

160.25 credit a financial institution elects to make under section 334.01, 334.011, 334.012, 334.022,​

160.26 334.06, or 334.061 to 334.19, chapter 334 does not apply to extensions of credit made​

160.27 according to this section or the sections listed in this subdivision. This subdivision does not​

160.28 authorize a financial institution to extend credit or purchase an extension of credit under​

160.29 any of the sections listed in this subdivision if the financial institution is not authorized to​

160.30 do so under those sections. A financial institution extending credit under any of the sections​

160.31 listed in this subdivision shall specify in the promissory note, contract, or other loan document​

160.32 the section under which the extension of credit is made.​
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161.1 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 47.60, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

161.2 Subd. 2. Authorization, terms, conditions, and prohibitions. (a) In lieu of the interest,​

161.3 finance charges, or fees in any other law, A consumer small loan lender may charge the​

161.4 following: interest, finance charges, and fees which, when combined, cannot exceed an​

161.5 annual percentage rate, as defined in section 47.59, subdivision 1, paragraph (b), of 36​

161.6 percent.​

161.7 (1) on any amount up to and including $50, a charge of $5.50 may be added;​

161.8 (2) on amounts in excess of $50, but not more than $100, a charge may be added equal​

161.9 to ten percent of the loan proceeds plus a $5 administrative fee;​

161.10 (3) on amounts in excess of $100, but not more than $250, a charge may be added equal​

161.11 to seven percent of the loan proceeds with a minimum of $10 plus a $5 administrative fee;​

161.12 (4) for amounts in excess of $250 and not greater than the maximum in subdivision 1,​

161.13 paragraph (a), a charge may be added equal to six percent of the loan proceeds with a​

161.14 minimum of $17.50 plus a $5 administrative fee.​

161.15 (b) The term of a loan made under this section shall be for no more than 30 calendar​

161.16 days.​

161.17 (c) After maturity, the contract rate must not exceed 2.75 percent per month of the​

161.18 remaining loan proceeds after the maturity date calculated at a rate of 1/30 of the monthly​

161.19 rate in the contract for each calendar day the balance is outstanding.​

161.20 (d) No insurance charges or other charges must be permitted to be charged, collected,​

161.21 or imposed on a consumer small loan except as authorized in this section.​

161.22 (e) On a loan transaction in which cash is advanced in exchange for a personal check,​

161.23 a return check charge may be charged as authorized by section 604.113, subdivision 2,​

161.24 paragraph (a). The civil penalty provisions of section 604.113, subdivision 2, paragraph​

161.25 (b), may not be demanded or assessed against the borrower.​

161.26 (f) A loan made under this section must not be repaid by the proceeds of another loan​

161.27 made under this section by the same lender or related interest. The proceeds from a loan​

161.28 made under this section must not be applied to another loan from the same lender or related​

161.29 interest. No loan to a single borrower made pursuant to this section shall be split or divided​

161.30 and no single borrower shall have outstanding more than one loan with the result of collecting​

161.31 a higher charge than permitted by this section or in an aggregate amount of principal exceed​

161.32 at any one time the maximum of $350.​
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162.1 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 47.601, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

162.2 Subd. 2. Consumer short-term loan contract. (a) No contract or agreement between​

162.3 a consumer short-term loan lender and a borrower residing in Minnesota may contain the​

162.4 following:​

162.5 (1) a provision selecting a law other than Minnesota law under which the contract is​

162.6 construed or enforced;​

162.7 (2) a provision choosing a forum for dispute resolution other than the state of Minnesota;​

162.8 or​

162.9 (3) a provision limiting class actions against a consumer short-term lender for violations​

162.10 of subdivision 3 or for making consumer short-term loans:​

162.11 (i) without a required license issued by the commissioner; or​

162.12 (ii) in which interest rates, fees, charges, or loan amounts exceed those allowable under​

162.13 section 47.59, subdivision 6, or 47.60, subdivision 2, other than by de minimis amounts if​

162.14 no pattern or practice exists.​

162.15 (b) Any provision prohibited by paragraph (a) is void and unenforceable.​

162.16 (c) A consumer short-term loan lender must furnish a copy of the written loan contract​

162.17 to each borrower. The contract and disclosures must be written in the language in which​

162.18 the loan was negotiated with the borrower and must contain:​

162.19 (1) the name; address, which may not be a post office box; and telephone number of the​

162.20 lender making the consumer short-term loan;​

162.21 (2) the name and title of the individual employee or representative who signs the contract​

162.22 on behalf of the lender;​

162.23 (3) an itemization of the fees and interest charges to be paid by the borrower;​

162.24 (4) in bold, 24-point type, the annual percentage rate as computed under United States​

162.25 Code, chapter 15, section 1606; and​

162.26 (5) a description of the borrower's payment obligations under the loan.​

162.27 (d) The holder or assignee of a check or other instrument evidencing an obligation of a​

162.28 borrower in connection with a consumer short-term loan takes the instrument subject to all​

162.29 claims by and defenses of the borrower against the consumer short-term lender.​
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163.1 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 47.601, subdivision 6, is amended to read:​

163.2 Subd. 6. Penalties for violation; private right of action. (a) Except for a "bona fide​

163.3 error" as set forth under United States Code, chapter 15, section 1640, subsection (c), an​

163.4 individual or entity who violates subdivision 2 or 3 is liable to the borrower for:​

163.5 (1) all money collected or received in connection with the loan;​

163.6 (2) actual, incidental, and consequential damages;​

163.7 (3) statutory damages of up to $1,000 per violation;​

163.8 (4) costs, disbursements, and reasonable attorney fees; and​

163.9 (5) injunctive relief.​

163.10 (b) In addition to the remedies provided in paragraph (a), a loan is void, and the borrower​

163.11 is not obligated to pay any amounts owing if the loan is made:​

163.12 (1) by a consumer short-term lender who has not obtained an applicable license from​

163.13 the commissioner;​

163.14 (2) in violation of any provision of subdivision 2 or 3; or​

163.15 (3) in which interest, fees, charges, or loan amounts exceed the interest, fees, charges,​

163.16 or loan amounts allowable under sections 47.59, subdivision 6, and section 47.60, subdivision​

163.17 2.​

163.18 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 53.04, subdivision 3a, is amended to read:​

163.19 Subd. 3a. Loans. (a) The right to make loans, secured or unsecured, at the rates and on​

163.20 the terms and other conditions permitted under chapters 47 and 334. Loans made under this​

163.21 authority must be in amounts in compliance with section 53.05, clause (7). A licensee making​

163.22 a loan under this chapter secured by a lien on real estate shall comply with the requirements​

163.23 of section 47.20, subdivision 8. A licensee making a loan that is a consumer small loan, as​

163.24 defined in section 47.60, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), must comply with section 47.60. A​

163.25 licensee making a loan that is a consumer short-term loan, as defined in section 47.601,​

163.26 subdivision 1, paragraph (d), must comply with section 47.601.​

163.27 (b) Loans made under this subdivision may be secured by real or personal property, or​

163.28 both. If the proceeds of a loan secured by a first lien on the borrower's primary residence​

163.29 are used to finance the purchase of the borrower's primary residence, the loan must comply​

163.30 with the provisions of section 47.20.​
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164.1 (c) An agency or instrumentality of the United States government or a corporation​

164.2 otherwise created by an act of the United States Congress or a lender approved or certified​

164.3 by the secretary of housing and urban development, or approved or certified by the​

164.4 administrator of veterans affairs, or approved or certified by the administrator of the Farmers​

164.5 Home Administration, or approved or certified by the Federal Home Loan Mortgage​

164.6 Corporation, or approved or certified by the Federal National Mortgage Association, that​

164.7 engages in the business of purchasing or taking assignments of mortgage loans and undertakes​

164.8 direct collection of payments from or enforcement of rights against borrowers arising from​

164.9 mortgage loans, is not required to obtain a certificate of authorization under this chapter in​

164.10 order to purchase or take assignments of mortgage loans from persons holding a certificate​

164.11 of authorization under this chapter.​

164.12 (d) This subdivision does not authorize an industrial loan and thrift company to make​

164.13 loans under an overdraft checking plan.​

164.14 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 56.131, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

164.15 Subdivision 1. Interest rates and charges. (a) On any loan in a principal amount not​

164.16 exceeding $100,000 or 15 percent of a Minnesota corporate licensee's capital stock and​

164.17 surplus as defined in section 53.015, if greater, a licensee may contract for and receive​

164.18 interest, finance charges, and other charges as provided in section 47.59.​

164.19 (b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), a licensee making a loan that is a consumer small​

164.20 loan, as defined in section 47.60, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), must comply with section​

164.21 47.60. A licensee making a loan that is a consumer short-term loan, as defined in section​

164.22 47.601, subdivision 1, paragraph (d), must comply with section 47.601.​

164.23 (b) (c) With respect to a loan secured by an interest in real estate, and having a maturity​

164.24 of more than 60 months, the original schedule of installment payments must fully amortize​

164.25 the principal and interest on the loan. The original schedule of installment payments for any​

164.26 other loan secured by an interest in real estate must provide for payment amounts that are​

164.27 sufficient to pay all interest scheduled to be due on the loan.​

164.28 (c) (d) A licensee may contract for and collect a delinquency charge as provided for in​

164.29 section 47.59, subdivision 6, paragraph (a), clause (4).​

164.30 (d) (e) A licensee may grant extensions, deferments, or conversions to interest-bearing​

164.31 as provided in section 47.59, subdivision 5.​
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165.1 Sec. 9. [58B.01] DEFINITIONS.​

165.2 Subdivision 1. Scope. For the purposes of this chapter, the following terms have the​

165.3 meanings given them.​

165.4 Subd. 2. Borrower. "Borrower" means a resident of this state who has received or agreed​

165.5 to pay a student loan, or a person who shares responsibility with a resident for repaying a​

165.6 student loan.​

165.7 Subd. 3. Commissioner. "Commissioner" means the commissioner of commerce.​

165.8 Subd. 4. Financial institution. "Financial institution" means any of the following​

165.9 organized under the laws of this state, any other state, or the United States: a bank, bank​

165.10 and trust, trust company with banking powers, savings bank, savings association, or credit​

165.11 union.​

165.12 Subd. 5. Person in control. "Person in control" means any member of senior​

165.13 management, including owners or officers, and other persons who directly or indirectly​

165.14 possess the power to direct or cause the direction of the management policies of an applicant​

165.15 or student loan servicer under this chapter, regardless of whether the person has any​

165.16 ownership interest in the applicant or student loan servicer. Control is presumed to exist if​

165.17 a person directly or indirectly owns, controls, or holds with power to vote ten percent or​

165.18 more of the voting stock of an applicant or student loan servicer or of a person who owns,​

165.19 controls, or holds with power to vote ten percent or more of the voting stock of an applicant​

165.20 or student loan servicer.​

165.21 Subd. 6. Servicing. "Servicing" means:​

165.22 (1) receiving any scheduled periodic payments from a borrower or notification of​

165.23 payments, and applying payments to the borrower's account pursuant to the terms of the​

165.24 student loan or of the contract governing servicing of a student loan;​

165.25 (2) during a period when no payment is required on a student loan, maintaining account​

165.26 records for the loan and communicating with the borrower regarding the loan on behalf of​

165.27 the loan's holder; and​

165.28 (3) interacting with a borrower, including activities to help prevent default on obligations​

165.29 arising from student loans, to facilitate the requirements in clauses (1) and (2).​

165.30 Subd. 7. Student loan. "Student loan" means a government, commercial, or foundation​

165.31 loan for actual costs paid for tuition and reasonable education and living expenses.​
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166.1 Subd. 8. Student loan servicer. "Student loan servicer" means any person, wherever​

166.2 located, responsible for servicing any student loan to any borrower. Student loan servicer​

166.3 includes a nonbank covered person, as defined in Code of Federal Regulations, title 12,​

166.4 section 1090.101, who is responsible for servicing any student loan to any borrower.​

166.5 Sec. 10. [58B.02] STUDENT LOAN ADVOCATE.​

166.6 Subdivision 1. Designation of a student loan advocate. The commissioner must​

166.7 designate a student loan advocate within the Department of Commerce to provide timely​

166.8 assistance to any borrower.​

166.9 Subd. 2. Duties. The student loan advocate must:​

166.10 (1) receive, review, and attempt to resolve complaints from borrowers, including but​

166.11 not limited to attempts to resolve such complaints in collaboration with institutions of higher​

166.12 education, student loan servicers, and any other participants in student loan lending;​

166.13 (2) compile and analyze data on borrower complaints received under clause (1);​

166.14 (3) help borrowers understand the rights and responsibilities under the terms of student​

166.15 loans;​

166.16 (4) provide information to the public, state agencies, legislators, and relevant stakeholders​

166.17 regarding the problems and concerns of borrowers;​

166.18 (5) make recommendations for resolving the problems of borrowers;​

166.19 (6) analyze and monitor the development and implementation of federal, state, and local​

166.20 laws, regulations, and policies relating to borrowers and recommend any changes deemed​

166.21 necessary;​

166.22 (7) review the complete student loan history for any borrower who has provided written​

166.23 consent for a review;​

166.24 (8) increase public awareness that the advocate is available to help resolve the student​

166.25 loan servicing concerns of potential and actual borrowers, institutions of higher education,​

166.26 student loan servicers, and any other participant in student lending; and​

166.27 (9) take other actions, as necessary, to fulfill the duties of the advocate set forth in this​

166.28 section.​

166.29 Subd. 3. Student loan education course. The advocate must establish and maintain a​

166.30 borrower education course. The course must include educational presentations and materials​

166.31 regarding important topics in student loans, including but not limited to:​
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167.1 (1) the meaning of important terminology used in student lending;​

167.2 (2) documentation requirements;​

167.3 (3) monthly payment obligations;​

167.4 (4) income-based repayment options;​

167.5 (5) the availability of state and federal loan forgiveness programs; and​

167.6 (6) disclosure requirements.​

167.7 Subd. 4. Reporting. By January 15 of each odd-numbered year, the advocate must report​

167.8 to the legislative committees with jurisdiction over commerce and higher education. The​

167.9 report must describe the advocate's implementation of this section, the outcomes achieved​

167.10 by the advocate in the previous two years, and recommendations to improve the regulation​

167.11 of student loan servicers.​

167.12 Sec. 11. [58B.03] LICENSING OF STUDENT LOAN SERVICERS.​

167.13 Subdivision 1. License required. A person is prohibited from directly or indirectly​

167.14 acting as a student loan servicer without first obtaining a license from the commissioner.​

167.15 Subd. 2. Exempt persons. The following persons are exempt from the requirements of​

167.16 this chapter:​

167.17 (1) a financial institution;​

167.18 (2) a person servicing student loans made with the person's own funds, if no more than​

167.19 three student loans are made in any 12-month period;​

167.20 (3) an agency, instrumentality, or political subdivision of this state that makes, services,​

167.21 or guarantees student loans;​

167.22 (4) a person acting in a fiduciary capacity, including a trustee or receiver, as a result of​

167.23 a specific order issued by a court of competent jurisdiction; or​

167.24 (5) a person exempted by order of the commissioner.​

167.25 Subd. 3. Application for licensure. (a) Any person seeking to act as a student loan​

167.26 servicer in Minnesota must apply for a license in a form and manner specified by the​

167.27 commissioner. At a minimum, the application must include:​

167.28 (1) a financial statement prepared by a certified public accountant or a public accountant;​

167.29 (2) the history of criminal convictions, excluding traffic violations, for persons in control​

167.30 of the applicant;​
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168.1 (3) any information requested by the commissioner related to the history of criminal​

168.2 convictions disclosed under clause (2);​

168.3 (4) a nonrefundable license fee established by the commissioner; and​

168.4 (5) a nonrefundable investigation fee established by the commissioner.​

168.5 (b) The commissioner may conduct a state and national criminal history records check​

168.6 of the applicant and of each person in control of or employed by the applicant.​

168.7 Subd. 4. Issuance of a license. Upon receipt of a complete application for an initial​

168.8 license and the payment of fees for a license and investigation, the commissioner must​

168.9 investigate the financial condition and responsibility, character, financial and business​

168.10 experience, and general fitness of the applicant. The commissioner may issue a license if​

168.11 the commissioner finds:​

168.12 (1) the applicant's financial condition is sound;​

168.13 (2) the applicant's business is conducted honestly, fairly, equitably, carefully, and​

168.14 efficiently within the purposes and intent of this section;​

168.15 (3) each person in control of the applicant is in all respects properly qualified and of​

168.16 good character;​

168.17 (4) no person has, on behalf of the applicant, knowingly made any incorrect statement​

168.18 of a material fact in the application, or in any report or statement made pursuant to this​

168.19 section;​

168.20 (5) no person has, on behalf of the applicant, knowingly omitted from an application,​

168.21 report, or statement made pursuant to this section any information required by the​

168.22 commissioner;​

168.23 (6) the applicant has paid the fees required under this section; and​

168.24 (7) the application has met other similar requirements, as determined by the commissioner.​

168.25 Subd. 5. Notification of a change in status. An applicant or student loan servicer must​

168.26 notify the commissioner in writing of any change in the information provided in the initial​

168.27 license application or the most recent renewal application for a license. The notification​

168.28 must be received no later than ten business days after the date an event that results in the​

168.29 information becoming inaccurate occurs.​

168.30 Subd. 6. Term of license. Licenses issued under this chapter expire on December 31​

168.31 and are renewable on January 1.​
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169.1 Subd. 7. Exemption from application. (a) A person is exempt from the application​

169.2 procedures under subdivision 3 if the commissioner determines the person is servicing​

169.3 student loans in Minnesota pursuant to a contract awarded by the United States Secretary​

169.4 of Education under United States Code, title 20, section 1087f. Documentation of eligibility​

169.5 for this exemption must be in a form and manner determined by the commissioner.​

169.6 (b) Upon payment of the fees under subdivision 3, a person determined eligible for the​

169.7 exemption under paragraph (a) must be issued a license and deemed to meet all the​

169.8 requirements of subdivision 4.​

169.9 Subd. 8. Notice. (a) A person issued a license under subdivision 7 must provide the​

169.10 commissioner with written notice no less than seven days after the date the person's contract​

169.11 under United States Code, title 20, section 1087f, expires, is revoked, or is terminated.​

169.12 (b) A person issued a license under subdivision 7 has 30 days from the date the​

169.13 notification under paragraph (a) is provided to complete the requirements of subdivision 3.​

169.14 If a person does not meet the requirements of subdivision 3 within this time period, the​

169.15 commissioner must immediately suspend the person's license under this chapter.​

169.16 Sec. 12. [58B.04] LICENSING MULTIPLE PLACES OF BUSINESS.​

169.17 (a) A person licensed to act as a student loan servicer in Minnesota is prohibited from​

169.18 doing so under any other name or at any other place of business than that named in the​

169.19 license. Any time a student loan servicer changes the location of the servicer's place of​

169.20 business, the servicer must provide prior written notice to the commissioner. A student loan​

169.21 servicer must not maintain more than one place of business under the same license. The​

169.22 commissioner may issue more than one license to the same student loan servicer, provided​

169.23 that the servicer complies with the application procedures in section 58B.03 for each license.​

169.24 (b) A license issued under this chapter is not transferable or assignable.​

169.25 Sec. 13. [58B.05] LICENSE RENEWAL.​

169.26 Subdivision 1. Term. Licenses are renewable on January 1 of each year.​

169.27 Subd. 2. Timely renewal. (a) A person whose application is properly and timely filed​

169.28 who has not received notice of denial of renewal is considered approved for renewal. The​

169.29 person may continue to act as a student loan servicer whether or not the renewed license​

169.30 has been received on or before January 1 of the renewal year. An application to renew a​

169.31 license is considered timely filed if received by the commissioner, or mailed with proper​

169.32 postage and postmarked, by the December 15 before the renewal year. An application to​
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170.1 renew a license is considered properly filed if made upon forms duly executed, accompanied​

170.2 by fees prescribed by this chapter, and containing any information that the commissioner​

170.3 requires.​

170.4 (b) A person who fails to make a timely application to renew a license and who has not​

170.5 received the renewal license as of January 1 of the renewal year is unlicensed until the​

170.6 renewal license has been issued by the commissioner and is received by the person.​

170.7 Subd. 3. Contents of renewal application. An application to renew an existing license​

170.8 must contain the information specified in section 58B.03, subdivision 3, except that only​

170.9 the requested information having changed from the most recent prior application need be​

170.10 submitted.​

170.11 Subd. 4. Cancellation. A student loan servicer that ceases an activity or activities​

170.12 regulated by this chapter and desires to no longer be licensed must inform the commissioner​

170.13 in writing and, at the same time, surrender the license and all other symbols or indicia of​

170.14 licensure. The licensee must include a plan to withdraw from student loan servicing, including​

170.15 a timetable for the disposition of the student loans being serviced.​

170.16 Subd. 5. Renewal fees. The following fees must be paid to the commissioner for a​

170.17 renewal license:​

170.18 (1) a nonrefundable renewal license fee established by the commissioner; and​

170.19 (2) a nonrefundable renewal investigation fee established by the commissioner.​

170.20 Sec. 14. [58B.06] DUTIES OF STUDENT LOAN SERVICERS.​

170.21 Subdivision 1. Response requirements. Upon receiving a written communication from​

170.22 a borrower, a student loan servicer must:​

170.23 (1) acknowledge receipt of the communication in less than ten days from the date the​

170.24 written communication was received; and​

170.25 (2) provide information relating to the communication and, if applicable, the action the​

170.26 student loan servicer will take to either (i) correct the borrower's issue, or (ii) explain why​

170.27 the issue cannot be corrected. This information must be provided less than 30 days from​

170.28 the date the written communication was received by the student loan servicer.​

170.29 Subd. 2. Overpayments. A student loan servicer must ask a borrower in what manner​

170.30 the borrower would like any overpayment on a student loan that exceeds the monthly amount​

170.31 due to be applied to a student loan. A borrower's instruction regarding the application of​
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171.1 overpayments is effective for the term of the loan or until the borrower provides a different​

171.2 instruction.​

171.3 Subd. 3. Partial payments. A student loan servicer must apply a partial payment that​

171.4 is less than the amount due on a student loan in a manner that minimizes late fees and the​

171.5 negative impact on the borrower's credit history. If a borrower has multiple student loans​

171.6 with the same student loan servicer, upon receipt of a partial payment the servicer must​

171.7 apply the payments to satisfy as many individual loan payments as possible.​

171.8 Subd. 4. Transfer of student loan. (a) If a borrower's student loan servicer changes​

171.9 pursuant to the sale, assignment, or transfer of the servicing, the original student loan servicer​

171.10 must:​

171.11 (1) require the new student loan servicer to honor all benefits that were made available,​

171.12 or which may have become available, to a borrower from the original student loan servicer;​

171.13 and​

171.14 (2) transfer to the new student loan servicer all information regarding the borrower, the​

171.15 account of the borrower, and the borrower's student loan, including but not limited to the​

171.16 repayment status of the student loan and the benefits described in clause (1).​

171.17 (b) The student loan servicer must complete the transfer under clause (2) less than 45​

171.18 days from the date the of the sale, assignment, or transfer of the servicing.​

171.19 (c) A sale, assignment, or transfer of the servicing must be completed no less than seven​

171.20 days from the date the next payment is due on the student loan.​

171.21 (d) A new student loan servicer must adopt policies and procedures to verify that the​

171.22 original student loan servicer has met the requirements of paragraph (a).​

171.23 Subd. 5. Income-driven repayment. A student loan servicer must evaluate a borrower's​

171.24 eligibility for an income-driven repayment program before placing a borrower in forbearance​

171.25 or default.​

171.26 Subd. 6. Records. A student loan servicer must maintain adequate records of each student​

171.27 loan for at least two years following the final payment on the student loan, or the sale,​

171.28 assignment, or transfer of the servicing.​

171.29 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2019, and applies to student loan​

171.30 contracts executed on or after that date.​
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172.1 Sec. 15. [58B.07] PROHIBITED CONDUCT.​

172.2 Subdivision 1. Misleading borrowers. A student loan servicer must not directly or​

172.3 indirectly attempt to mislead a borrower.​

172.4 Subd. 2. Misrepresentation. A student loan servicer must not (1) engage in any unfair​

172.5 or deceptive practice, or (2) misrepresent or omit any material information in connection​

172.6 with the servicing of a student loan, including but not limited to misrepresenting the amount,​

172.7 nature, or terms of any fee or payment due or claimed to be due on a student loan, the terms​

172.8 and conditions of the loan agreement, or the borrower's obligations under the loan.​

172.9 Subd. 3. Misapplication of payments. A student loan servicer must not knowingly or​

172.10 negligently misapply student loan payments.​

172.11 Subd. 4. Inaccurate information. A student loan servicer must not knowingly or​

172.12 negligently provide inaccurate information to any consumer reporting agency.​

172.13 Subd. 5. Reporting of payment history. A student loan servicer must report both the​

172.14 favorable and unfavorable payment history of the borrower to a consumer reporting agency​

172.15 at least annually, if the student loan servicer regularly reports the information.​

172.16 Subd. 6. Refusal to communicate with a borrower's representative. A student loan​

172.17 servicer must not refuse to communicate with a representative of the borrower who provides​

172.18 a written authorization signed by the borrower. The student loan servicer may adopt​

172.19 procedures reasonably related to verifying that the representative is in fact authorized to act​

172.20 on behalf of the borrower.​

172.21 Subd. 7. False statements and omissions. A student loan servicer must not knowingly​

172.22 or negligently make any false statement or omission of material fact in connection with any​

172.23 application, information, or reports filed with the commissioner or any other federal, state,​

172.24 or local government agency.​

172.25 Subd. 8. Noncompliance with applicable laws. A student loan servicer must not violate​

172.26 any other federal, state, or local laws, including those related to fraudulent, coercive, or​

172.27 dishonest practices.​

172.28 Subd. 9. Failure to respond to advocate. (a) A student loan servicer must respond in​

172.29 less than 15 days from the date the student loan servicer receives a communication from​

172.30 the student loan advocate. This response period may be reasonably shortened by the advocate​

172.31 in their communication.​

172.32 (b) A student loan servicer must provide a response in less than 15 days from the date​

172.33 the student loan servicer receives a consumer complaint submitted to the servicer by the​
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173.1 student loan advocate. A student loan servicer may request from the advocate an extension​

173.2 of up to 45 days from receipt of the consumer complaint, if the request is accompanied by​

173.3 an explanation of why additional time is reasonable and necessary.​

173.4 Sec. 16. [58B.08] EXAMINATIONS.​

173.5 For the purposes of this chapter, the commissioner has the same powers with respect to​

173.6 examinations of student loan servicers that the commissioner has under section 46.04.​

173.7 Sec. 17. [58B.09] DENIAL, SUSPENSION, REVOCATION OF LICENSES.​

173.8 Subdivision 1. Powers of commissioner. (a) The commissioner may by order take any​

173.9 or all of the following actions:​

173.10 (1) bar a person from engaging in student loan servicing;​

173.11 (2) deny, suspend, or revoke a student loan servicer license;​

173.12 (3) censure a student loan servicer;​

173.13 (4) impose a civil penalty as provided in section 45.027, subdivision 6; or​

173.14 (5) revoke an exemption.​

173.15 (b) In order to take the action in paragraph (a), the commissioner must find:​

173.16 (1) the order is in the public interest; and​

173.17 (2) the student loan servicer, applicant, person in control, employee, or agent has:​

173.18 (i) violated any provision of this chapter, or any rule or order under this chapter;​

173.19 (ii) violated a standard of conduct or engaged in a fraudulent, coercive, deceptive, or​

173.20 dishonest act or practice, including but not limited to negligently making a false statement​

173.21 or knowingly omitting a material fact, whether or not the act or practice involves student​

173.22 loan servicing;​

173.23 (iii) engaged in an act or practice that demonstrates untrustworthiness, financial​

173.24 irresponsibility, or incompetence, whether or not the act or practice involves student loan​

173.25 servicing;​

173.26 (iv) pled guilty or nolo contendere to or been convicted of a felony, gross misdemeanor,​

173.27 or misdemeanor;​

173.28 (v) paid a civil penalty or been the subject of disciplinary action by the commissioner,​

173.29 an order of suspension or revocation, cease and desist order, injunction order, or order​
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174.1 barring involvement in an industry or profession issued by the commissioner or any other​

174.2 federal, state, or local government agency;​

174.3 (vi) been found by a court of competent jurisdiction to have engaged in conduct​

174.4 evidencing gross negligence, fraud, misrepresentation, or deceit;​

174.5 (vii) refused to cooperate with an investigation or examination by the commissioner;​

174.6 (viii) failed to pay any fee or assessment imposed by the commissioner; or​

174.7 (ix) failed to comply with state and federal tax obligations.​

174.8 Subd. 2. Orders of the commissioner. To begin a proceeding under this section, the​

174.9 commissioner must issue an order requiring the subject of the proceeding to show cause​

174.10 why action should not be taken against the person under this section. The order must be​

174.11 calculated to give reasonable notice of the time and place for the hearing and must state the​

174.12 reasons for entry of the order. The commissioner may by order summarily suspend a license​

174.13 or exemption, or summarily bar a person from engaging in student loan servicing, pending​

174.14 a final determination of an order to show cause. If a license or exemption is summarily​

174.15 suspended or if the person is summarily barred from any involvement in the servicing of​

174.16 student loans, pending final determination of an order to show cause, a hearing on the merits​

174.17 must be held within 30 days of the issuance of the order of summary suspension or bar. All​

174.18 hearings must be conducted under chapter 14. After the hearing, the commissioner must​

174.19 enter an order disposing of the matter as the facts require. If the subject of the order fails to​

174.20 appear at a hearing after having been duly notified, the person is considered in default and​

174.21 the proceeding may be determined against the subject of the order upon consideration of​

174.22 the order to show cause, the allegations of which may be considered to be true.​

174.23 Subd. 3. Actions against lapsed license. If a license or certificate of exemption lapses,​

174.24 or is surrendered, withdrawn, terminated, or otherwise becomes ineffective, the commissioner​

174.25 may institute a proceeding under this subdivision within two years after the license or​

174.26 certificate of exemption was last effective and enter a revocation or suspension order as of​

174.27 the last date the license or certificate of exemption was in effect, and may impose a civil​

174.28 penalty as provided under this section or section 45.027, subdivision 6.​

174.29 Sec. 18. [325F.6945] INTERNET SERVICE PROVIDERS; PROHIBITED ACTIONS.​

174.30 Subdivision 1. Definitions. The definitions in section 16C.57 apply to this section.​

174.31 Subd. 2. Prohibited actions. An Internet service provider is prohibited from engaging​

174.32 in any of the following activities with respect to any of its Minnesota customers:​
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175.1 (1) block lawful content, applications, services, or nonharmful devices, subject to​

175.2 reasonable network management;​

175.3 (2) impair, impede, or degrade lawful Internet traffic on the basis of Internet content,​

175.4 application, or service, or use of a nonharmful device, subject to reasonable network​

175.5 management;​

175.6 (3) engage in paid prioritization;​

175.7 (4) unreasonably interfere with or unreasonably disadvantage:​

175.8 (i) a customer's ability to select, access, and use broadband Internet service or lawful​

175.9 Internet content, applications, services, or devices of the customer's choice; or​

175.10 (ii) an edge provider's ability to provide lawful Internet content, applications, services,​

175.11 or devices to a customer; or​

175.12 (5) engage in deceptive or misleading marketing practices that misrepresent the treatment​

175.13 of Internet traffic or content.​

175.14 Subd. 3. Certification required. Prior to offering service to a customer in Minnesota,​

175.15 or prior to August 1, 2019, for Internet service providers already offering services to​

175.16 customers in Minnesota, an Internet service provider must file a document with the​

175.17 commissioner of commerce certifying that it does not engage in any of the activities​

175.18 prohibited under subdivision 2. The filing required by this subdivision must be provided​

175.19 prior to offering services for the first time in Minnesota, at any time after a company or​

175.20 entity has changed ownership or merged with another entity, or prior to offering services​

175.21 in Minnesota after the company has suspended service for more than 30 days. An Internet​

175.22 service provider is not otherwise required to make filings on an annual basis.​

175.23 Subd. 4. Other laws. Nothing in this section (1) supersedes any obligation or​

175.24 authorization an Internet service provider may have consistent with or as permitted by​

175.25 applicable law to address the needs of emergency communications or law enforcement,​

175.26 public safety, or national security authorities, or (2) limits the provider's ability to meet the​

175.27 needs under clause (1).​

175.28 Subd. 5. Enforcement. (a) A violation of subdivision 2 may be enforced by the​

175.29 commissioner of commerce under section 45.027 and by the attorney general under section​

175.30 8.31. The venue for enforcement proceedings is Ramsey County.​

175.31 (b) A violation of the certification provided under subdivision 3 must be enforced under​

175.32 section 609.48. The venue for enforcement proceedings is Ramsey County.​
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176.1 ARTICLE 10​

176.2 UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE ADVISORY COUNCIL; POLICY​

176.3 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 268.035, subdivision 12, is amended to read:​

176.4 Subd. 12. Covered employment. (a) "Covered employment" means the following unless​

176.5 excluded as "noncovered employment" under subdivision 20:​

176.6 (1) an employee's entire employment during the calendar quarter if:​

176.7 (i) (1) 50 percent or more of the employment during the quarter is performed primarily​

176.8 in Minnesota;​

176.9 (ii) (2) 50 percent or more of the employment during the quarter is not performed​

176.10 primarily in Minnesota or any other state, or Canada, but some of the employment is​

176.11 performed in Minnesota and the base of operations or the place from which the employment​

176.12 is directed or controlled is in Minnesota; or​

176.13 (iii) the employment during the quarter is not performed primarily in Minnesota or any​

176.14 other state and the base of operations or place from which the employment is directed or​

176.15 controlled is not in any state where part of the employment is performed, but the employee's​

176.16 residence is in Minnesota during 50 percent or more of the calendar quarter;​

176.17 (2) an employee's entire employment during the calendar quarter performed within the​

176.18 United States or Canada, if:​

176.19 (i) the employment is not covered employment under the unemployment insurance​

176.20 program of any other state, federal law, or the law of Canada; and​

176.21 (ii) the place from which the employment is directed or controlled is in Minnesota;​

176.22 (3) the employment during the calendar quarter, is performed entirely outside the United​

176.23 States and Canada, by an employee who is a United States citizen in the employ of an​

176.24 American employer, if the employer's principal place of business in the United States is​

176.25 located in Minnesota. For the purposes of this clause, an "American employer," for the​

176.26 purposes of this clause, means a corporation organized under the laws of any state, an​

176.27 individual who is a resident of the United States, or a partnership if two-thirds or more of​

176.28 the partners are residents of the United States, or a trust, if all of the trustees are residents​

176.29 of the United States is defined under the Federal Unemployment Tax Act, United States​

176.30 Code title 26, chapter 23, section 3306, subsection (j)(3); and or​

176.31 (4) all the employment during the calendar quarter is performed by an officer or member​

176.32 of the crew of an American vessel on or in connection with the vessel, if the operating on​
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177.1 navigable waters within, or within and without, the United States, and the office from which​

177.2 the operations of the vessel operating on navigable waters within, or within and without,​

177.3 the United States are ordinarily and regularly supervised, managed, directed, and controlled​

177.4 is in Minnesota.​

177.5 (b) "Covered employment" includes covered agricultural employment under subdivision​

177.6 11.​

177.7 (c) For the purposes of section 268.095, "covered employment" includes employment​

177.8 covered under an unemployment insurance program:​

177.9 (1) of any other state; or​

177.10 (2) established by an act of Congress.; or​

177.11 (3) the law of Canada.​

177.12 (d) The percentage of employment performed under paragraph (a) is determined by the​

177.13 amount of hours worked.​

177.14 (e) Covered employment does not include any employment defined as "noncovered​

177.15 employment" under subdivision 20.​

177.16 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 268.035, subdivision 20, is amended to read:​

177.17 Subd. 20. Noncovered employment. "Noncovered employment" means:​

177.18 (1) employment for the United States government or an instrumentality thereof, including​

177.19 military service;​

177.20 (2) employment for a state, other than Minnesota, or a political subdivision or​

177.21 instrumentality thereof;​

177.22 (3) employment for a foreign government;​

177.23 (4) employment covered under the federal Railroad Unemployment Insurance Act;​

177.24 (5) employment for a church or convention or association of churches, or a nonprofit​

177.25 organization operated primarily for religious purposes that is operated, supervised, controlled,​

177.26 or principally supported by a church or convention or association of churches;​

177.27 (6) employment for an elementary or secondary school with a curriculum that includes​

177.28 religious education that is operated by a church, a convention or association of churches,​

177.29 or a nonprofit organization that is operated, supervised, controlled, or principally supported​

177.30 by a church or convention or association of churches;​
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178.1 (7) employment for Minnesota or a political subdivision, or a nonprofit organization, of​

178.2 a duly ordained or licensed minister of a church in the exercise of a ministry or by a member​

178.3 of a religious order in the exercise of duties required by the order;​

178.4 (8) employment for Minnesota or a political subdivision, or a nonprofit organization, of​

178.5 an individual receiving rehabilitation of "sheltered" work in a facility conducted for the​

178.6 purpose of carrying out a program of rehabilitation for individuals whose earning capacity​

178.7 is impaired by age or physical or mental deficiency or injury or a program providing​

178.8 "sheltered" work for individuals who because of an impaired physical or mental capacity​

178.9 cannot be readily absorbed in the competitive labor market. This clause applies only to​

178.10 services performed in a facility certified by the Rehabilitation Services Branch of the​

178.11 department or in a day training or habilitation program licensed by the Department of Human​

178.12 Services;​

178.13 (9) employment for Minnesota or a political subdivision, or a nonprofit organization, of​

178.14 an individual receiving work relief or work training as part of an unemployment work relief​

178.15 or work training program financed in whole or in part by any federal agency or an agency​

178.16 of a state or political subdivision thereof. This clause does not apply to programs that require​

178.17 unemployment benefit coverage for the participants;​

178.18 (10) employment for Minnesota or a political subdivision, as an elected official, a member​

178.19 of a legislative body, or a member of the judiciary;​

178.20 (11) employment as a member of the Minnesota National Guard or Air National Guard;​

178.21 (12) employment for Minnesota or a political subdivision, or instrumentality thereof, of​

178.22 an individual serving on a temporary basis in case of fire, flood, tornado, or similar​

178.23 emergency;​

178.24 (13) employment as an election official or election worker for Minnesota or a political​

178.25 subdivision, if the compensation for that employment was less than $1,000 in a calendar​

178.26 year;​

178.27 (14) employment for Minnesota that is a major policy-making or advisory position in​

178.28 the unclassified service;​

178.29 (15) employment for Minnesota in an unclassified position established under section​

178.30 43A.08, subdivision 1a;​

178.31 (16) employment for a political subdivision of Minnesota that is a nontenured major​

178.32 policy making or advisory position;​
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179.1 (17) domestic employment in a private household, local college club, or local chapter​

179.2 of a college fraternity or sorority, if the wages paid in any calendar quarter in either the​

179.3 current or prior calendar year to all individuals in domestic employment totaled less than​

179.4 $1,000.​

179.5 "Domestic employment" includes all service in the operation and maintenance of a​

179.6 private household, for a local college club, or local chapter of a college fraternity or sorority​

179.7 as distinguished from service as an employee in the pursuit of an employer's trade or business;​

179.8 (18) employment of an individual by a son, daughter, or spouse, and employment of a​

179.9 child under the age of 18 by the child's father or mother;​

179.10 (19) employment of an inmate of a custodial or penal institution;​

179.11 (20) employment for a school, college, or university, by a student who is enrolled and​

179.12 whose primary relation to the school, college, or university is as a student. This does not​

179.13 include an individual whose primary relation to the school, college, or university is as an​

179.14 employee who also takes courses;​

179.15 (21) employment of an individual who is enrolled as a student in a full-time program at​

179.16 a nonprofit or public educational institution that maintains a regular faculty and curriculum​

179.17 and has a regularly organized body of students in attendance at the place where its educational​

179.18 activities are carried on, taken for credit at the institution, that combines academic instruction​

179.19 with work experience, if the employment is an integral part of the program, and the institution​

179.20 has so certified to the employer, except that this clause does not apply to employment in a​

179.21 program established for or on behalf of an employer or group of employers;​

179.22 (22) employment of a foreign college or university student who works on a seasonal or​

179.23 temporary basis under the J-1 visa summer work travel program described in Code of Federal​

179.24 Regulations, title 22, section 62.32;​

179.25 (22) (23) employment of university, college, or professional school students in an​

179.26 internship or other training program with the city of St. Paul or the city of Minneapolis​

179.27 under Laws 1990, chapter 570, article 6, section 3;​

179.28 (23) (24) employment for a hospital by a patient of the hospital. "Hospital" means an​

179.29 institution that has been licensed by the Department of Health as a hospital;​

179.30 (24) (25) employment as a student nurse for a hospital or a nurses' training school by​

179.31 an individual who is enrolled and is regularly attending classes in an accredited nurses'​

179.32 training school;​
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180.1 (25) (26) employment as an intern for a hospital by an individual who has completed a​

180.2 four-year course in an accredited medical school;​

180.3 (26) (27) employment as an insurance salesperson, by other than a corporate officer, if​

180.4 all the wages from the employment is solely by way of commission. The word "insurance"​

180.5 includes an annuity and an optional annuity;​

180.6 (27) (28) employment as an officer of a township mutual insurance company or farmer's​

180.7 mutual insurance company under chapter 67A;​

180.8 (28) (29) employment of a corporate officer, if the officer directly or indirectly, including​

180.9 through a subsidiary or holding company, owns 25 percent or more of the employer​

180.10 corporation, and employment of a member of a limited liability company, if the member​

180.11 directly or indirectly, including through a subsidiary or holding company, owns 25 percent​

180.12 or more of the employer limited liability company;​

180.13 (29) (30) employment as a real estate salesperson, other than a corporate officer, if all​

180.14 the wages from the employment is solely by way of commission;​

180.15 (30) (31) employment as a direct seller as defined in United States Code, title 26, section​

180.16 3508;​

180.17 (31) (32) employment of an individual under the age of 18 in the delivery or distribution​

180.18 of newspapers or shopping news, not including delivery or distribution to any point for​

180.19 subsequent delivery or distribution;​

180.20 (32) (33) casual employment performed for an individual, other than domestic​

180.21 employment under clause (17), that does not promote or advance that employer's trade or​

180.22 business;​

180.23 (33) (34) employment in "agricultural employment" unless it is "covered agricultural​

180.24 employment" under subdivision 11; or​

180.25 (34) (35) if employment during one-half or more of any pay period was covered​

180.26 employment, all the employment for the pay period is covered employment; but if during​

180.27 more than one-half of any pay period the employment was noncovered employment, then​

180.28 all of the employment for the pay period is noncovered employment. "Pay period" means​

180.29 a period of not more than a calendar month for which a payment or compensation is ordinarily​

180.30 made to the employee by the employer.​
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181.1 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 268.051, subdivision 2a, is amended to read:​

181.2 Subd. 2a. Unemployment insurance tax limits reduction. (a) If the balance in the trust​

181.3 fund on December 31 of any calendar year is four percent or more above the amount equal​

181.4 to an average high cost multiple of 1.0, future unemployment taxes payable must be reduced​

181.5 by all amounts above 1.0. The amount of tax reduction for any taxpaying employer is the​

181.6 same percentage of the total amount above 1.0 as the percentage of taxes paid by the​

181.7 employer during the calendar year is of the total amount of taxes that were paid by all​

181.8 nonmaximum experience rated employers during the year except taxes paid by employers​

181.9 assigned a tax rate equal to the maximum experience rating plus the applicable base tax​

181.10 rate.​

181.11 (b) For purposes of this subdivision, "average high cost multiple" has the meaning given​

181.12 in Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, section 606.3, as amended through December 31,​

181.13 2015. An amount equal to an average high cost multiple of 1.0 is a federal measure of​

181.14 adequate reserves in relation to the state's current economy. The commissioner must calculate​

181.15 and publish, as soon as possible following December 31 of any calendar year, the trust fund​

181.16 balance on December 31 along with the amount an average high cost multiple of 1.0 equals.​

181.17 Actual wages paid must be used in the calculation and estimates may not be used.​

181.18 (c) The unemployment tax reduction under this subdivision does not apply to employers​

181.19 that were at assigned a tax rate equal to the maximum experience rating plus the applicable​

181.20 base tax rate for the year, nor to high experience rating industry employers under subdivision​

181.21 5, paragraph (b). Computations under paragraph (a) are not subject to the rounding​

181.22 requirement of section 268.034. The refund provisions of section 268.057, subdivision 7,​

181.23 do not apply.​

181.24 (d) The unemployment tax reduction under this subdivision applies to taxes paid between​

181.25 March 1 and December 15 of the year following the December 31 computation under​

181.26 paragraph (a).​

181.27 (e) The amount equal to the average high cost multiple of 1.0 on December 31, 2012,​

181.28 must be used for the calculation under paragraph (a) but only for the calculation made on​

181.29 December 31, 2015. Notwithstanding paragraph (d), the tax reduction resulting from the​

181.30 application of this paragraph applies to unemployment taxes paid between July 1, 2016,​

181.31 and June 30, 2017. If there was an experience rating history transfer under subdivision 4,​

181.32 the successor employer must receive that portion of the predecessor employer's tax reduction​

181.33 equal to that portion of the experience rating history transferred. The predecessor employer​

181.34 retains that portion of tax reduction not transferred to the successor. This paragraph applies​
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182.1 to that portion of the tax reduction that remains unused at the time of notice of acquisition​

182.2 is provided under subdivision 4, paragraph (e).​

182.3 Sec. 4. EFFECTIVE DATE.​

182.4 Unless otherwise specified, this article is effective October 1, 2020.​

182.5 ARTICLE 11​

182.6 UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE ADVISORY COUNCIL; INTEREST​

182.7 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 268.057, subdivision 5, is amended to read:​

182.8 Subd. 5. Interest on amounts past due. If any amounts due from an employer under​

182.9 this chapter or section 116L.20, except late fees under section 268.044, are not received on​

182.10 the date due the unpaid balance bears the commissioner must assess interest on any amount​

182.11 that remains unpaid. Interest is assessed at the rate of one percent per month or any part of​

182.12 a month. Interest is not assessed on unpaid interest. Interest collected under this subdivision​

182.13 is credited to the contingent account.​

182.14 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective October 1, 2020.​

182.15 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 268.18, subdivision 2b, is amended to read:​

182.16 Subd. 2b. Interest. On any unemployment benefits obtained by misrepresentation, and​

182.17 any penalty amounts assessed under subdivision 2, the commissioner must assess interest​

182.18 at the rate of one percent per month on any amount that remains unpaid beginning 30 calendar​

182.19 days after the date of a determination of overpayment penalty. Interest is assessed at the​

182.20 rate of one percent per month or any part of a month. A determination of overpayment​

182.21 penalty must state that interest will be assessed. Interest is not assessed in the same manner​

182.22 as on employer debt under section 268.057, subdivision 5 on unpaid interest. Interest​

182.23 payments collected under this subdivision are is credited to the trust fund.​

182.24 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective October 1, 2020.​

182.25 ARTICLE 12​

182.26 UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE ADVISORY COUNCIL; BASE PERIODS​

182.27 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 268.035, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

182.28 Subd. 4. Base period. (a) "Base period," unless otherwise provided in this subdivision,​

182.29 means the most recent four completed calendar quarters before the effective date of an​

182.30 applicant's application for unemployment benefits if the application has an effective date​
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183.1 occurring after the month following the most recent completed calendar quarter. The base​

183.2 period under this paragraph is as follows:​

The base period is the prior:​183.3 If the application for unemployment​
183.4 benefits is effective on or between these​
183.5 dates:​

January 1 - December 31​183.6 February 1 - March 31​

April 1 - March 31​183.7 May 1 - June 30​

July 1 - June 30​183.8 August 1 - September 30​

October 1 - September 30​183.9 November 1 - December 31​

183.10 (b) If an application for unemployment benefits has an effective date that is during the​

183.11 month following the most recent completed calendar quarter, then the base period is the​

183.12 first four of the most recent five completed calendar quarters before the effective date of​

183.13 an applicant's application for unemployment benefits. The base period under this paragraph​

183.14 is as follows:​

The base period is the prior:​183.15 If the application for unemployment​
183.16 benefits is effective on or between these​
183.17 dates:​

October 1 - September 30​183.18 January 1 - January 31​

January 1 - December 31​183.19 April 1 - April 30​

April 1 - March 31​183.20 July 1 - July 31​

July 1 - June 30​183.21 October 1 - October 31​

183.22 (c) Regardless of paragraph (a), a base period of the first four of the most recent five​

183.23 completed calendar quarters must be used if the applicant would have more wage credits​

183.24 under that base period than under a base period of the four most recent completed calendar​

183.25 quarters.​

183.26 (d) If the applicant under paragraph (b) has insufficient wage credits to establish a benefit​

183.27 account, then a base period of the most recent four completed calendar quarters before the​

183.28 effective date of the applicant's application for unemployment benefits must be used.​

183.29 (e) (d) If the applicant has insufficient wage credits to establish a benefit account under​

183.30 a base period of the four most recent completed calendar quarters, or a base period of the​

183.31 first four of the most recent five completed calendar quarters, but during either base period​

183.32 the applicant received workers' compensation for temporary disability under chapter 176​

183.33 or a similar federal law or similar law of another state, or if the applicant whose own serious​

183.34 illness caused a loss of work for which the applicant received compensation for loss of​

183.35 wages from some other source, the applicant may request a base period as follows:​

183​Article 12 Section 1.​
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184.1 (1) if an applicant was compensated for a loss of work of seven to 13 weeks, during a​

184.2 base period referred to in paragraph (a) or (b), then the base period is the first four of the​

184.3 most recent six completed calendar quarters before the effective date of the application for​

184.4 unemployment benefits;​

184.5 (2) if an applicant was compensated for a loss of work of 14 to 26 weeks, during a base​

184.6 period referred to in paragraph (a) or (b), then the base period is the first four of the most​

184.7 recent seven completed calendar quarters before the effective date of the application for​

184.8 unemployment benefits;​

184.9 (3) if an applicant was compensated for a loss of work of 27 to 39 weeks, during a base​

184.10 period referred to in paragraph (a) or (b), then the base period is the first four of the most​

184.11 recent eight completed calendar quarters before the effective date of the application for​

184.12 unemployment benefits; and​

184.13 (4) if an applicant was compensated for a loss of work of 40 to 52 weeks, during a base​

184.14 period referred to in paragraph (a) or (b), then the base period is the first four of the most​

184.15 recent nine completed calendar quarters before the effective date of the application for​

184.16 unemployment benefits.​

184.17 (f) (e) No base period under this subdivision may include wage credits upon which a​

184.18 prior benefit account was established.​

184.19 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 268.07, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

184.20 Subdivision 1. Application for unemployment benefits; determination of benefit​

184.21 account. (a) An application for unemployment benefits may be filed in person, by mail, or​

184.22 by electronic transmission as the commissioner may require. The applicant must be​

184.23 unemployed at the time the application is filed and must provide all requested information​

184.24 in the manner required. If the applicant is not unemployed at the time of the application or​

184.25 fails to provide all requested information, the communication is not an application for​

184.26 unemployment benefits.​

184.27 (b) The commissioner must examine each application for unemployment benefits to​

184.28 determine the base period and the benefit year, and based upon all the covered employment​

184.29 in the base period the commissioner must determine the weekly unemployment benefit​

184.30 amount available, if any, and the maximum amount of unemployment benefits available,​

184.31 if any. The determination, which is a document separate and distinct from a document titled​

184.32 a determination of eligibility or determination of ineligibility issued under section 268.101,​
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185.1 must be titled determination of benefit account. A determination of benefit account must​

185.2 be sent to the applicant and all base period employers, by mail or electronic transmission.​

185.3 (c) If a base period employer did not provide wage detail information for the applicant​

185.4 as required under section 268.044, or provided erroneous information, or wage detail is not​

185.5 yet due and the applicant is using a base period under section 268.035, subdivision 4,​

185.6 paragraph (d), the commissioner may accept an applicant certification of wage credits, based​

185.7 upon the applicant's records, and issue a determination of benefit account.​

185.8 (d) An employer must provide wage detail information on an applicant within five​

185.9 calendar days of request by the commissioner, in a manner and format requested, when:​

185.10 (1) the applicant is using a base period under section 268.035, subdivision 4, paragraph​

185.11 (d); and​

185.12 (2) wage detail under section 268.044 is not yet required to have been filed by the​

185.13 employer.​

185.14 (e) (d) The commissioner may, at any time within 24 months from the establishment of​

185.15 a benefit account, reconsider any determination of benefit account and make an amended​

185.16 determination if the commissioner finds that the wage credits listed in the determination​

185.17 were incorrect for any reason. An amended determination of benefit account must be​

185.18 promptly sent to the applicant and all base period employers, by mail or electronic​

185.19 transmission. This subdivision does not apply to documents titled determinations of eligibility​

185.20 or determinations of ineligibility issued under section 268.101.​

185.21 (f) (e) If an amended determination of benefit account reduces the weekly unemployment​

185.22 benefit amount or maximum amount of unemployment benefits available, any unemployment​

185.23 benefits that have been paid greater than the applicant was entitled is an overpayment of​

185.24 unemployment benefits. A determination or amended determination issued under this section​

185.25 that results in an overpayment of unemployment benefits must set out the amount of the​

185.26 overpayment and the requirement under section 268.18, subdivision 1, that the overpaid​

185.27 unemployment benefits must be repaid.​

185.28 Sec. 3. EFFECTIVE DATE.​

185.29 Unless otherwise specified, this article is effective January 1, 2020.​

185​Article 12 Sec. 3.​
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186.1 ARTICLE 13​

186.2 UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE ADVISORY COUNCIL; HOUSEKEEPING​

186.3 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 268.035, subdivision 15, is amended to read:​

186.4 Subd. 15. Employment. (a) "Employment" means service performed by:​

186.5 (1) an individual who is an employee under the common law of employer-employee and​

186.6 not an independent contractor;​

186.7 (2) an officer of a corporation;​

186.8 (3) a member of a limited liability company who is an employee under the common law​

186.9 of employer-employee; or​

186.10 (4) an individual who is an employee under the Federal Insurance Contributions Act,​

186.11 United States Code, title 26, chapter 21, sections 3121 (d)(3)(A) and 3121 (d)(3)(D); or​

186.12 (4) (5) product demonstrators in retail stores or other locations to aid in the sale of​

186.13 products. The person that pays the wages is the employer.​

186.14 (b) Employment does not include service as a juror.​

186.15 (c) Construction industry employment is defined in subdivision 9a. Trucking and​

186.16 messenger/courier industry employment is defined in subdivision 25b. Rules on determining​

186.17 worker employment status are described under Minnesota Rules, chapter 3315.​

186.18 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 268.044, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

186.19 Subd. 2. Failure to timely file report; late fees. (a) Any employer that fails to submit​

186.20 the quarterly wage detail report when due must pay a late fee of $10 per employee, computed​

186.21 based upon the highest of:​

186.22 (1) the number of employees reported on the last wage detail report submitted;​

186.23 (2) the number of employees reported in the corresponding quarter of the prior calendar​

186.24 year; or​

186.25 (3) if no wage detail report has ever been submitted, the number of employees listed at​

186.26 the time of employer registration.​

186.27 The late fee is canceled if the wage detail report is received within 30 calendar days​

186.28 after a demand for the report is sent to the employer by mail or electronic transmission. A​

186.29 late fee assessed an employer may not be canceled more than twice each 12 months. The​

186.30 amount of the late fee assessed may not be less than $250.​
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187.1 (b) If the wage detail report is not received in a manner and format prescribed by the​

187.2 commissioner within 30 calendar days after demand is sent under paragraph (a), the late​

187.3 fee assessed under paragraph (a) doubles and a renewed demand notice and notice of the​

187.4 increased late fee will be sent to the employer by mail or electronic transmission.​

187.5 (c) Late fees due under this subdivision may be canceled, in whole or in part, under​

187.6 section 268.066 where good cause for late submission is found by the commissioner 268.067.​

187.7 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 268.047, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

187.8 Subd. 3. Exceptions for taxpaying employers. Unemployment benefits paid will not​

187.9 be used in computing the future tax rate of a taxpaying base period employer when:​

187.10 (1) the applicant's wage credits from that employer are less than $500;​

187.11 (2) the applicant quit the employment, unless it was determined under section 268.095,​

187.12 to have been because of a good reason caused by the employer or because the employer​

187.13 notified the applicant of discharge within 30 calendar days. This exception applies only to​

187.14 unemployment benefits paid for periods after the applicant's quitting the employment and,​

187.15 if the applicant is rehired by the employer, continues only until the beginning of the week​

187.16 the applicant is rehired; or​

187.17 (3) the employer discharged the applicant from employment because of employment​

187.18 misconduct as determined under section 268.095. This exception applies only to​

187.19 unemployment benefits paid for periods after the applicant's discharge from employment​

187.20 and, if the applicant is rehired by the employer, continues only until the beginning of the​

187.21 week the applicant is rehired.​

187.22 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 268.085, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

187.23 Subd. 3. Vacation and sick payments that delay unemployment benefits. (a) An​

187.24 applicant is not eligible to receive unemployment benefits for any week the applicant is​

187.25 receiving, has received, or will receive vacation pay, sick pay, or personal time off pay, also​

187.26 known as "PTO."​

187.27 This paragraph only applies upon temporary, indefinite, or seasonal separation and does​

187.28 not apply:​

187.29 (1) upon a permanent separation from employment; or​

187.30 (2) to payments from a vacation fund administered by a union or a third party not under​

187.31 the control of the employer.​
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188.1 Payments under this paragraph are applied to the period immediately following the​

188.2 temporary, indefinite, or seasonal separation.​

188.3 (b) An applicant is not eligible to receive unemployment benefits for any week the​

188.4 applicant is receiving, has received, or will receive severance pay, bonus pay, or any other​

188.5 payments paid by an employer because of, upon, or after separation from employment.​

188.6 This paragraph only applies if the payment is:​

188.7 (1) considered wages under section 268.035, subdivision 29; or​

188.8 (2) subject to the Federal Insurance Contributions Act (FICA) tax imposed to fund Social​

188.9 Security and Medicare.​

188.10 (b) Payments under this paragraph subdivision are applied to the period immediately​

188.11 following the later of the date of separation from employment or the date the applicant first​

188.12 becomes aware that the employer will be making a payment. The date the payment is actually​

188.13 made or received, or that an applicant must agree to a release of claims, does not affect the​

188.14 application of this paragraph subdivision.​

188.15 This paragraph does not apply to earnings under subdivision 5, back pay under​

188.16 subdivision 6, or vacation pay, sick pay, or personal time off pay under paragraph (a).​

188.17 (c) An applicant is not eligible to receive unemployment benefits for any week the​

188.18 applicant is receiving, has received, will receive, or has applied for pension, retirement, or​

188.19 annuity payments from any plan contributed to by a base period employer including the​

188.20 United States government. The base period employer is considered to have contributed to​

188.21 the plan if the contribution is excluded from the definition of wages under section 268.035,​

188.22 subdivision 29. If the pension, retirement, or annuity payment is paid in a lump sum, an​

188.23 applicant is not considered to have received a payment if:​

188.24 (1) the applicant immediately deposits that payment in a qualified pension plan or​

188.25 account; or​

188.26 (2) that payment is an early distribution for which the applicant paid an early distribution​

188.27 penalty under the Internal Revenue Code, United States Code, title 26, section 72(t)(1).​

188.28 This paragraph does not apply to Social Security benefits under subdivision 4 or 4a.​

188.29 (d) (c) This subdivision applies to all the weeks of payment. The number of weeks of​

188.30 payment is determined as follows:​

188.31 (1) if the payments are made periodically, the total of the payments to be received is​

188.32 divided by the applicant's last level of regular weekly pay from the employer; or​
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189.1 (2) if the payment is made in a lump sum, that sum is divided by the applicant's last level​

189.2 of regular weekly pay from the employer.​

189.3 For purposes of this paragraph, The "last level of regular weekly pay" includes​

189.4 commissions, bonuses, and overtime pay if that is part of the applicant's ongoing regular​

189.5 compensation.​

189.6 (e) (d) Under this subdivision, if the payment with respect to a week is equal to or more​

189.7 than the applicant's weekly unemployment benefit amount, the applicant is ineligible for​

189.8 benefits for that week. If the payment with respect to a week is less than the applicant's​

189.9 weekly unemployment benefit amount, unemployment benefits are reduced by the amount​

189.10 of the payment.​

189.11 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 268.085, subdivision 3a, is amended to read:​

189.12 Subd. 3a. Workers' compensation and disability insurance offset. (a) An applicant​

189.13 is not eligible to receive unemployment benefits for any week in which the applicant is​

189.14 receiving or has received compensation for loss of wages equal to or in excess of the​

189.15 applicant's weekly unemployment benefit amount under:​

189.16 (1) the workers' compensation law of this state;​

189.17 (2) the workers' compensation law of any other state or similar federal law; or​

189.18 (3) any insurance or trust fund paid in whole or in part by an employer.​

189.19 (b) This subdivision does not apply to an applicant who has a claim pending for loss of​

189.20 wages under paragraph (a); however, before unemployment benefits may be paid when a​

189.21 claim is pending, the issue of the applicant being available for suitable employment, as​

189.22 required under subdivision 1, clause (4), is must be determined under section 268.101,​

189.23 subdivision 2. If the applicant later receives compensation as a result of the pending claim,​

189.24 the applicant is subject to the provisions of paragraph (a) and the unemployment benefits​

189.25 paid are subject to recoupment by the commissioner to the extent that the compensation​

189.26 constitutes overpaid unemployment benefits under section 268.18, subdivision 1.​

189.27 (c) If the amount of compensation described under paragraph (a) for any week is less​

189.28 than the applicant's weekly unemployment benefit amount, unemployment benefits requested​

189.29 for that week are reduced by the amount of that compensation payment.​
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190.1 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 268.085, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

190.2 read:​

190.3 Subd. 3b. Separation, severance, or bonus payments that delay unemployment​

190.4 benefits. (a) An applicant is not eligible to receive unemployment benefits for any week​

190.5 the applicant is receiving, has received, or will receive separation pay, severance pay, bonus​

190.6 pay, or any other payments paid by an employer because of, upon, or after separation from​

190.7 employment. This subdivision applies if the payment is:​

190.8 (1) considered wages under section 268.035, subdivision 29; or​

190.9 (2) subject to the Federal Insurance Contributions Act (FICA) tax imposed to fund Social​

190.10 Security and Medicare.​

190.11 (b) Payments under this subdivision are applied to the period immediately following the​

190.12 later of the date of separation from employment or the date the applicant first becomes​

190.13 aware that the employer will be making a payment. The date the payment is actually made​

190.14 or received, or that an applicant must agree to a release of claims, does not affect the​

190.15 application of this paragraph.​

190.16 (c) This subdivision does not apply to earnings under subdivision 5, back pay under​

190.17 subdivision 6, or vacation pay, sick pay, or personal time off pay under subdivision 3.​

190.18 (d) This subdivision applies to all the weeks of payment. The number of weeks of​

190.19 payment is determined in accordance with subdivision 3, paragraph (c).​

190.20 (e) Under this subdivision, if the payment with respect to a week is equal to or more​

190.21 than the applicant's weekly unemployment benefit amount, the applicant is ineligible for​

190.22 benefits for that week. If the payment with respect to a week is less than the applicant's​

190.23 weekly unemployment benefit amount, unemployment benefits are reduced by the amount​

190.24 of the payment.​

190.25 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 268.085, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

190.26 read:​

190.27 Subd. 3c. Pension or retirement payment offset. (a) An applicant is not eligible to​

190.28 receive unemployment benefits for any week the applicant is receiving, has received, will​

190.29 receive, or has applied for pension, retirement, or annuity payments from any plan contributed​

190.30 to by a base period employer including the United States government. The base period​

190.31 employer is considered to have contributed to the plan if the contribution is excluded from​

190.32 the definition of wages under section 268.035, subdivision 29.​
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191.1 (b) If the pension, retirement, or annuity payment is paid in a lump sum, an applicant is​

191.2 not considered to have received a payment if:​

191.3 (1) the applicant immediately deposits that payment in a qualified pension plan or​

191.4 account; or​

191.5 (2) that payment is an early distribution for which the applicant paid an early distribution​

191.6 penalty under the Internal Revenue Code, United Stats Code, title 26, section 72(t)(1).​

191.7 (c) This subdivision does not apply to Social Security benefits under subdivision 4 or​

191.8 4a.​

191.9 (d) This subdivision applies to all the weeks of payment.​

191.10 If the payment is made in a lump sum, that sum is divided by the applicant's last level​

191.11 of regular weekly pay from the employer to determine the weeks of payment.​

191.12 The "last level of regular weekly pay" includes commissions, bonuses, and overtime​

191.13 pay if that is part of the applicant's ongoing regular compensation.​

191.14 (e) Under this subdivision, if the payment with respect to a week is equal to or more​

191.15 than the applicant's weekly unemployment benefit amount, the applicant is ineligible for​

191.16 benefits for that week. If the payment with respect to a week is less than the applicant's​

191.17 weekly unemployment benefit amount, unemployment benefits are reduced by the amount​

191.18 of the payment.​

191.19 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 268.085, subdivision 13a, is amended to read:​

191.20 Subd. 13a. Leave of absence. (a) An applicant on a voluntary leave of absence is​

191.21 ineligible for unemployment benefits for the duration of the leave of absence. An applicant​

191.22 on an involuntary leave of absence is not ineligible under this subdivision.​

191.23 A leave of absence is voluntary when work that the applicant can then perform is available​

191.24 with the applicant's employer but the applicant chooses not to work. A medical leave of​

191.25 absence is not presumed to be voluntary.​

191.26 (b) A period of vacation requested by the applicant, paid or unpaid, is a voluntary leave​

191.27 of absence. A vacation period assigned by an employer under: (1) a uniform vacation​

191.28 shutdown; (2) a collective bargaining agreement; or (3) an established employer policy, is​

191.29 an involuntary leave of absence.​

191.30 (c) A leave of absence is a temporary stopping of work that has been approved by the​

191.31 employer. A voluntary leave of absence is not a quit and an involuntary leave of absence​
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192.1 is not or a discharge from employment for purposes of. Section 268.095 does not apply to​

192.2 a leave of absence.​

192.3 (d) An applicant who is on a paid leave of absence, whether the leave of absence is​

192.4 voluntary or involuntary, is ineligible for unemployment benefits for the duration of the​

192.5 leave.​

192.6 (e) This subdivision applies to a leave of absence from a base period employer, an​

192.7 employer during the period between the end of the base period and the effective date of the​

192.8 benefit account, or an employer during the benefit year.​

192.9 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 268.095, subdivision 6, is amended to read:​

192.10 Subd. 6. Employment misconduct defined. (a) Employment misconduct means any​

192.11 intentional, negligent, or indifferent conduct, on the job or off the job, that displays clearly:​

192.12 (1) is a serious violation of the standards of behavior the employer has the right to​

192.13 reasonably expect of the employee; or.​

192.14 (2) a substantial lack of concern for the employment.​

192.15 (b) Regardless of paragraph (a), the following is not employment misconduct:​

192.16 (1) conduct that was a consequence of the applicant's mental illness or impairment;​

192.17 (2) conduct that was a consequence of the applicant's inefficiency or inadvertence;​

192.18 (3) simple unsatisfactory conduct;​

192.19 (4) conduct an average reasonable employee would have engaged in under the​

192.20 circumstances;​

192.21 (5) conduct that was a consequence of the applicant's inability or incapacity;​

192.22 (6) good faith errors in judgment if judgment was required;​

192.23 (7) absence because of illness or injury of the applicant, with proper notice to the​

192.24 employer;​

192.25 (8) absence, with proper notice to the employer, in order to provide necessary care​

192.26 because of the illness, injury, or disability of an immediate family member of the applicant;​

192.27 (9) conduct that was a consequence of the applicant's chemical dependency, unless the​

192.28 applicant was previously diagnosed chemically dependent or had treatment for chemical​

192.29 dependency, and since that diagnosis or treatment has failed to make consistent efforts to​

192.30 control the chemical dependency; or​
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193.1 (10) conduct that was a consequence of the applicant, or an immediate family member​

193.2 of the applicant, being a victim of domestic abuse, sexual assault, or stalking. For the​

193.3 purposes of this subdivision, "domestic abuse," "sexual assault," and "stalking" have the​

193.4 meanings given them in subdivision 1.​

193.5 (c) Regardless of paragraph (b), clause (9), conduct in violation of sections 169A.20,​

193.6 169A.31, 169A.50 to 169A.53, or 171.177 that interferes with or adversely affects the​

193.7 employment is employment misconduct.​

193.8 (d) If the conduct for which the applicant was discharged involved only a single incident,​

193.9 that is an important fact that must be considered in deciding whether the conduct rises to​

193.10 the level of employment misconduct under paragraph (a). This paragraph does not require​

193.11 that a determination under section 268.101 or decision under section 268.105 contain a​

193.12 specific acknowledgment or explanation that this paragraph was considered.​

193.13 (e) The definition of employment misconduct provided by this subdivision is exclusive​

193.14 and no other definition applies.​

193.15 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 268.095, subdivision 6a, is amended to read:​

193.16 Subd. 6a. Aggravated employment misconduct defined. (a) For the purpose of this​

193.17 section, "aggravated employment misconduct" means:​

193.18 (1) The commission of any act, on the job or off the job, that would amount to a gross​

193.19 misdemeanor or felony is aggravated employment misconduct if the act substantially​

193.20 interfered with the employment or had a significant adverse effect on the employment; or.​

193.21 A criminal charge or conviction is not necessary to determine aggravated employment​

193.22 misconduct under this paragraph. If an applicant is convicted of a gross misdemeanor or​

193.23 felony, the applicant is presumed to have committed the act.​

193.24 (2) (b) For an employee of a facility as defined in section 626.5572, aggravated​

193.25 employment misconduct includes an act of patient or resident abuse, financial exploitation,​

193.26 or recurring or serious neglect, as defined in section 626.5572 and applicable rules.​

193.27 (b) If an applicant is convicted of a gross misdemeanor or felony for the same act for​

193.28 which the applicant was discharged, it is aggravated employment misconduct if the act​

193.29 substantially interfered with the employment or had a significant adverse effect on the​

193.30 employment.​

193.31 (c) The definition of aggravated employment misconduct provided by this subdivision​

193.32 is exclusive and no other definition applies.​
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194.1 Sec. 11. EFFECTIVE DATE.​

194.2 Unless otherwise specified, this article is effective October 1, 2019.​

194.3 ARTICLE 14​

194.4 UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE ADVISORY COUNCIL; TECHNICAL​

194.5 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 268.044, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

194.6 Subd. 3. Missing or erroneous information. (a) Any employer that submits the wage​

194.7 detail report, but fails to include all required employee information or enters erroneous​

194.8 information, is subject to an administrative service fee of $25 for each employee for whom​

194.9 the information is partially missing or erroneous.​

194.10 (b) Any employer that submits the wage detail report, but fails to include an employee,​

194.11 is subject to an administrative service fee equal to two percent of the total wages for each​

194.12 employee for whom the information is completely missing.​

194.13 (c) An administrative service fee under this subdivision must be canceled under section​

194.14 268.067 if the commissioner determines that the failure or error by the employer occurred​

194.15 because of ignorance or inadvertence.​

194.16 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 268.046, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

194.17 Subdivision 1. Tax accounts assigned. (a) Any person that contracts with a taxpaying​

194.18 employer to have that person obtain the taxpaying employer's workforce and provide workers​

194.19 to the taxpaying employer for a fee is, as of the effective date of the contract, assigned for​

194.20 the duration of the contract the taxpaying employer's account under section 268.045. That​

194.21 tax account must be maintained by the person separate and distinct from every other tax​

194.22 account held by the person and identified in a manner prescribed by the commissioner. The​

194.23 tax account is, for the duration of the contract, considered that person's account for all​

194.24 purposes of this chapter. The workers obtained from the taxpaying employer and any other​

194.25 workers provided by that person to the taxpaying employer, including officers of the​

194.26 taxpaying employer as defined in section 268.035, subdivision 20, clause (28) (29), whose​

194.27 wages paid by the person are considered paid in covered employment under section 268.035,​

194.28 subdivision 24, for the duration of the contract between the taxpaying employer and the​

194.29 person, must, under section 268.044, be reported on the wage detail report under that tax​

194.30 account, and that person must pay any taxes due at the tax rate computed for that account​

194.31 under section 268.051, subdivision 2.​
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195.1 (b) Any workers of the taxpaying employer who are not covered by the contract under​

195.2 paragraph (a) must be reported by the taxpaying employer as a separate unit on the wage​

195.3 detail report under the tax account assigned under paragraph (a). Taxes and any other​

195.4 amounts due on the wages reported by the taxpaying employer under this paragraph may​

195.5 be paid directly by the taxpaying employer.​

195.6 (c) If the taxpaying employer that contracts with a person under paragraph (a) does not​

195.7 have a tax account at the time of the execution of the contract, an account must be registered​

195.8 for the taxpaying employer under section 268.042 and the new employer tax rate under​

195.9 section 268.051, subdivision 5, must be assigned. The tax account is then assigned to the​

195.10 person as provided for in paragraph (a).​

195.11 (d) A person that contracts with a taxpaying employer under paragraph (a) must, within​

195.12 30 calendar days of the execution or termination of a contract, notify the commissioner by​

195.13 electronic transmission, in a format prescribed by the commissioner, of that execution or​

195.14 termination. The taxpaying employer's name, the account number assigned, and any other​

195.15 information required by the commissioner must be provided by that person.​

195.16 (e) Any contract subject to paragraph (a) must specifically inform the taxpaying employer​

195.17 of the assignment of the tax account under this section and the taxpaying employer's​

195.18 obligation under paragraph (b). If there is a termination of the contract, the tax account is,​

195.19 as of the date of termination, immediately assigned to the taxpaying employer.​

195.20 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 268.069, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

195.21 Subdivision 1. Requirements. The commissioner must pay unemployment benefits​

195.22 from the trust fund to an applicant who has met each of the following requirements:​

195.23 (1) the applicant has filed an application for unemployment benefits and established a​

195.24 benefit account in accordance with section 268.07;​

195.25 (2) the applicant has not been held ineligible for unemployment benefits under section​

195.26 268.095 because of a quit or discharge;​

195.27 (3) the applicant has met all of the ongoing eligibility requirements under section 268.085;​

195.28 (4) the applicant does not have an outstanding overpayment of unemployment benefits,​

195.29 including any penalties or interest; and​

195.30 (5) the applicant has not been held ineligible for unemployment benefits under section​

195.31 268.183 because of a false representation or concealment of facts.​

195​Article 14 Sec. 3.​

REVISOR SS/CH A19-0341​03/31/19 06:04 pm  ​



196.1 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 268.105, subdivision 6, is amended to read:​

196.2 Subd. 6. Representation; fees. (a) In any proceeding under subdivision 1 or 2, an​

196.3 applicant or employer may be represented by any authorized representative.​

196.4 Except for services provided by an attorney-at-law, no person may charge an applicant​

196.5 a fee of any kind for advising, assisting, or representing an applicant in a hearing or, on​

196.6 reconsideration, or in a proceeding under subdivision 7.​

196.7 (b) An applicant may not be charged fees, costs, or disbursements of any kind in a​

196.8 proceeding before an unemployment law judge, the Minnesota Court of Appeals, or the​

196.9 Supreme Court of Minnesota.​

196.10 (c) No attorney fees may be awarded, or costs or disbursements assessed, against the​

196.11 department as a result of any proceedings under this section.​

196.12 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 268.145, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

196.13 Subdivision 1. Notification. (a) Upon filing an application for unemployment benefits,​

196.14 the applicant must be informed that:​

196.15 (1) unemployment benefits are subject to federal and state income tax;​

196.16 (2) there are requirements for filing estimated tax payments;​

196.17 (3) the applicant may elect to have federal income tax withheld from unemployment​

196.18 benefits;​

196.19 (4) if the applicant elects to have federal income tax withheld, the applicant may, in​

196.20 addition, elect to have Minnesota state income tax withheld; and​

196.21 (5) at any time during the benefit year the applicant may change a prior election.​

196.22 (b) If an applicant elects to have federal income tax withheld, the commissioner must​

196.23 deduct ten percent for federal income tax. If an applicant also elects to have Minnesota state​

196.24 income tax withheld, the commissioner must make an additional five percent deduction for​

196.25 state income tax. Any amounts amount deducted or offset under sections 268.155, 268.18,​

196.26 and 268.184 have section 268.085 has priority over any amounts deducted under this section.​

196.27 Federal income tax withholding has priority over state income tax withholding.​

196.28 (c) An election to have income tax withheld may not be retroactive and only applies to​

196.29 unemployment benefits paid after the election.​
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197.1 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 268.18, subdivision 5, is amended to read:​

197.2 Subd. 5. Remedies. (a) Any method undertaken to recover an overpayment of​

197.3 unemployment benefits, including any penalties and interest, is not an election of a method​

197.4 of recovery.​

197.5 (b) Intervention or lack thereof, in whole or in part, in a workers' compensation matter​

197.6 under section 176.361 is not an election of a remedy and does not prevent the commissioner​

197.7 from determining an applicant ineligible for unemployment benefits or taking action under​

197.8 section 268.183.​

197.9 Sec. 7. REVISOR INSTRUCTION.​

197.10 The revisor of statutes is instructed to make the following changes in Minnesota Statutes:​

197.11 (1) delete the term "bona fide" wherever it appears in section 268.035;​

197.12 (2) replace the term "under" with "subject to" in section 268.047, subdivision 2, clause​

197.13 (8);​

197.14 (3) replace the term "displays clearly" with "shows" in chapter 268;​

197.15 (4) replace the term "entire" with "hearing" in section 268.105; and​

197.16 (5) replace "24 calendar months" with "eight calendar quarters" in section 268.052,​

197.17 subdivision 2.​

197.18 Sec. 8. EFFECTIVE DATE.​

197.19 Unless otherwise specified, this article is effective October 1, 2019.​

197.20 ARTICLE 15​

197.21 UI POLICY​

197.22 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 268.085, subdivision 8, is amended to read:​

197.23 Subd. 8. Services for school contractors. (a) Wage credits from an employer are subject​

197.24 to subdivision 7, if:​

197.25 (1) the employment was provided under a contract between the employer and an​

197.26 elementary or secondary school; and​

197.27 (2) the contract was for services that the elementary or secondary school could have had​

197.28 performed by its employees.​

197.29 (b) Wage credits from an employer are not subject to subdivision 7 if:​
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198.1 (1) those wage credits were earned by an employee of a private employer performing​

198.2 work under a contract between the employer and an elementary or secondary school; and​

198.3 (2) the employment was related to bus or food services provided to the school by the​

198.4 employer.​

198.5 ARTICLE 16​

198.6 BUREAU OF MEDIATION SERVICES POLICY​

198.7 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 13.43, subdivision 6, is amended to read:​

198.8 Subd. 6. Access by labor organizations, Bureau of Mediation Services, Public​

198.9 Employment Relations Board. Personnel data may be disseminated to labor organizations​

198.10 and the Public Employment Relations Board to the extent that the responsible authority​

198.11 determines that the dissemination is necessary to conduct elections, notify employees of​

198.12 fair share fee assessments, and implement the provisions of chapters 179 and 179A. Personnel​

198.13 data shall be disseminated to labor organizations, the Public Employment Relations Board,​

198.14 and to the Bureau of Mediation Services to the extent the dissemination is ordered or​

198.15 authorized by the commissioner of the Bureau of Mediation Services or the Public​

198.16 Employment Relations Board or its designee.​

198.17 Sec. 2. [13.7909] PUBLIC EMPLOYMENT RELATIONS BOARD DATA.​

198.18 Subdivision 1. Definition. For purposes of this section, "board" means the Public​

198.19 Employment Relations Board.​

198.20 Subd. 2. Nonpublic data. (a) Except as provided in this subdivision, all data maintained​

198.21 by the board about a charge or complaint of unfair labor practices and appeals of​

198.22 determinations of the commissioner under section 179A.12, subdivision 11, are classified​

198.23 as protected nonpublic data or confidential data, and become public when admitted into​

198.24 evidence at a hearing conducted pursuant to section 179A.13. The data may be subject to​

198.25 a protective order as determined by the board or a hearing officer.​

198.26 (b) Notwithstanding sections 13.43 and 181.932, the following data are public:​

198.27 (1) the filing date of unfair labor practice charges;​

198.28 (2) the status of unfair labor practice charges as an original or amended charge;​

198.29 (3) the names and job classifications of charging parties and charged parties;​

198.30 (4) the provisions of law alleged to have been violated in unfair labor practice charges;​

198.31 (5) the complaint issued by the board and all data in the complaint;​
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199.1 (6) the full and complete record of an evidentiary hearing before a hearing officer,​

199.2 including the hearing transcript, exhibits admitted into evidence, and posthearing briefs,​

199.3 unless subject to a protective order;​

199.4 (7) recommended decisions and orders of hearing officers pursuant to section 179A.13,​

199.5 subdivision 1, paragraph (i);​

199.6 (8) exceptions to the hearing officer's recommended decision and order filed with the​

199.7 board pursuant to section 179A.13, subdivision 1, paragraph (k);​

199.8 (9) briefs filed with the board; and​

199.9 (10) decisions and orders issued by the board.​

199.10 (c) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), individuals have access to their own statements​

199.11 provided to the board under paragraph (a).​

199.12 (d) The board may make any data classified as protected nonpublic or confidential​

199.13 pursuant to this subdivision accessible to any person or party if the access will aid the​

199.14 implementation of chapters 179 and 179A or ensure due process protection of the parties.​

199.15 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 179A.041, is amended by adding a subdivision​

199.16 to read:​

199.17 Subd. 10. Open meetings. Chapter 13D does not apply to meetings of the board when​

199.18 it is deliberating on the merits of unfair labor practice charges under sections 179.11, 179.12,​

199.19 and 179A.13; reviewing a recommended decision and order of a hearing officer under​

199.20 section 179A.13; or reviewing decisions of the commissioner of the Bureau of Mediation​

199.21 Services relating to unfair labor practices under section 179A.12, subdivision 11.​

199.22 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

199.23 Sec. 4. Laws 2014, chapter 211, section 13, as amended by Laws 2015, First Special​

199.24 Session chapter 1, article 7, section 1, Laws 2016, chapter 189, article 7, section 42, and​

199.25 Laws 2017, chapter 94, article 12, section 1, is amended to read:​

199.26 Sec. 13. EFFECTIVE DATE.​

199.27 Sections 1 to 3 and 6 to 11 are effective July January 1, 2020. Sections 4, 5, and 12 are​

199.28 effective July 1, 2014.​

199.29 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment. Until​

199.30 January 1, 2020, any employee, employer, employee or employer organization, exclusive​
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200.1 representative, or any other person or organization aggrieved by an unfair labor practice as​

200.2 defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 179A.13, may bring an action for injunctive relief​

200.3 and for damages caused by the unfair labor practice in the district court of the county in​

200.4 which the practice is alleged to have occurred.​

200.5 ARTICLE 17​

200.6 UNCLAIMED PROPERTY; GENERAL​

200.7 Section 1. [345A.101] DEFINITIONS.​

200.8 (1) For the purposes of this chapter, the terms defined in this section have the meanings​

200.9 given them.​

200.10 (2) "Administrator" means the commissioner of commerce.​

200.11 (3) "Administrator's agent" means a person with which the administrator contracts to​

200.12 conduct an examination under this chapter on behalf of the administrator. The term includes​

200.13 an independent contractor of the person and each individual participating in the examination​

200.14 on behalf of the person or contractor.​

200.15 (4) "Affiliated group of merchants" means two or more affiliated merchants or other​

200.16 persons that are related by common ownership or common corporate control and that share​

200.17 the same name, mark, or logo. Affiliated group of merchants also applies to two or more​

200.18 merchants or other persons that agree among themselves, by contract or otherwise, to redeem​

200.19 cards, codes, or other devices bearing the same name, mark, or logo, other than the mark,​

200.20 logo, or brand of a payment network, for the purchase of goods or services solely at such​

200.21 merchants or persons. However, merchants or other persons are not considered affiliated​

200.22 merely because they agree to accept a card that bears the mark, logo, or brand of a payment​

200.23 network.​

200.24 (5) "Apparent owner" means a person whose name appears on the records of a holder​

200.25 as the owner of property held, issued, or owing by the holder.​

200.26 (6) "Business association" means a corporation, joint stock company, investment​

200.27 company, other than an investment company registered under the Investment Company Act​

200.28 of 1940, as amended, United States Code, title 15, sections 80a-1 to 80a-64, partnership,​

200.29 unincorporated association, joint venture, limited liability company, business trust, trust​

200.30 company, land bank, safe deposit company, safekeeping depository, financial organization,​

200.31 insurance company, federally chartered entity, utility, sole proprietorship, or other business​

200.32 entity, whether or not for profit.​
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201.1 (7) "District court" means Ramsey County District Court.​

201.2 (8) "Domicile" means:​

201.3 (A) for a corporation, the state of its incorporation;​

201.4 (B) for a business association whose formation requires a filing with a state, other than​

201.5 a corporation, the state of its filing;​

201.6 (C) for a federally chartered entity or an investment company registered under the​

201.7 Investment Company Act of 1940, as amended, United States Code, title 15, sections 80a-1​

201.8 to 80a-64, the state of its home office; and​

201.9 (D) for any other holder, the state of its principal place of business.​

201.10 (9) "Electronic" means relating to technology having electrical, digital, magnetic, wireless,​

201.11 optical, electromagnetic, or similar capabilities.​

201.12 (10) "E-mail" means a communication by electronic means which is automatically​

201.13 retained and stored and may be readily accessed or retrieved.​

201.14 (11) "Financial organization" means a savings and loan association, building and loan​

201.15 association, savings bank, industrial bank, bank, banking organization, or credit union.​

201.16 (12) "Game-related digital content" means digital content that exists only in an electronic​

201.17 game or electronic-game platform. The term:​

201.18 (A) includes:​

201.19 i. game-play currency such as a virtual wallet, even if denominated in United States​

201.20 currency; and​

201.21 ii. the following if for use or redemption only within the game or platform or another​

201.22 electronic game or electronic-game platform:​

201.23 1. points sometimes referred to as gems, tokens, gold, and similar names; and​

201.24 2. digital codes; and​

201.25 (B) does not include an item that the issuer:​

201.26 i. permits to be redeemed for use outside a game or platform for:​

201.27 ii. money; or​

201.28 iii. goods or services that have more than minimal value; or​

201.29 iv. otherwise monetizes for use outside a game or platform.​
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202.1 (13) "Gift card" means:​

202.2 (A) a stored-value card:​

202.3 i. issued on a prepaid basis for a specified amount;​

202.4 ii. the value of which does not expire;​

202.5 iii. that is not subject to a dormancy, inactivity, or service fee;​

202.6 iv. that may be decreased in value only by redemption for merchandise, goods, or services​

202.7 upon presentation at a single merchant or an affiliated group of merchants;​

202.8 v. that, unless required by law, may not be redeemed for or converted into money or​

202.9 otherwise monetized by the issuer; and​

202.10 (B) includes a prepaid commercial mobile radio service, as defined in Code of Federal​

202.11 Regulations, title 47, section 20.3, as amended.​

202.12 (14) "Holder" means a person obligated to hold for the account of, or to deliver or pay​

202.13 to, the owner, property subject to this chapter.​

202.14 (15) "Insurance company" means an association, corporation, or fraternal or​

202.15 mutual-benefit organization, whether or not for profit, engaged in the business of providing​

202.16 life endowments, annuities, or insurance, including accident, burial, casualty, credit-life,​

202.17 contract-performance, dental, disability, fidelity, fire, health, hospitalization, illness, life,​

202.18 malpractice, marine, mortgage, surety, wage-protection, and worker-compensation insurance.​

202.19 (16) "Loyalty card" means a record given without direct monetary consideration under​

202.20 an award, reward, benefit, loyalty, incentive, rebate, or promotional program which may​

202.21 be used or redeemed only to obtain goods or services or a discount on goods or services.​

202.22 Loyalty card does not include a record that may be redeemed for money or otherwise​

202.23 monetized by the issuer.​

202.24 (17) "Mineral" means gas, oil, coal, oil shale, other gaseous liquid or solid hydrocarbon,​

202.25 cement material, sand and gravel, road material, building stone, chemical raw material,​

202.26 gemstone, fissionable and nonfissionable ores, colloidal and other clay, steam and other​

202.27 geothermal resources, and any other substance defined as a mineral by law of this state other​

202.28 than this chapter.​

202.29 (18) "Mineral proceeds" means an amount payable for extraction, production, or sale of​

202.30 minerals, or, on the abandonment of the amount, an amount that becomes payable after​

202.31 abandonment. Mineral proceeds includes an amount payable:​
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203.1 (A) for the acquisition and retention of a mineral lease, including a bonus, royalty,​

203.2 compensatory royalty, shut-in royalty, minimum royalty, and delay rental;​

203.3 (B) for the extraction, production, or sale of minerals, including a net revenue interest,​

203.4 royalty, overriding royalty, extraction payment, and production payment; and​

203.5 (C) under an agreement or option, including a joint-operating agreement, unit agreement,​

203.6 pooling agreement, and farm-out agreement.​

203.7 (19) "Money order" means a payment order for a specified amount of money. Money​

203.8 order includes an express money order and a personal money order on which the remitter​

203.9 is the purchaser.​

203.10 (20) "Municipal bond" means a bond or evidence of indebtedness issued by a municipality​

203.11 or other political subdivision of a state.​

203.12 (21) "Net card value" means the original purchase price or original issued value of a​

203.13 stored-value card, plus amounts added to the original price or value, minus amounts used​

203.14 and any service charge, fee, or dormancy charge permitted by law.​

203.15 (22) "Nonfreely transferable security" means a security that cannot be delivered to the​

203.16 administrator by the Depository Trust Clearing Corporation or similar custodian of securities​

203.17 providing post-trade clearing and settlement services to financial markets or cannot be​

203.18 delivered because there is no agent to effect transfer. Nonfreely transferable security includes​

203.19 a worthless security.​

203.20 (23) "Owner" means a person that has a legal, beneficial, or equitable interest in property​

203.21 subject to this chapter or the person's legal representative when acting on behalf of the​

203.22 owner. Owner includes:​

203.23 (A) a depositor, for a deposit;​

203.24 (B) a beneficiary, for a trust other than a deposit in trust;​

203.25 (C) a creditor, claimant, or payee, for other property; and​

203.26 (D) the lawful bearer of a record that may be used to obtain money, a reward, or a thing​

203.27 of value.​

203.28 (24) "Payroll card" means a record that evidences a payroll card account as defined in​

203.29 Regulation E, Code of Federal Regulations, title 12, part 1005, as amended.​

203.30 (25) "Person" means an individual, estate, business association, public corporation,​

203.31 government or governmental subdivision, agency, instrumentality, or other legal entity​

203.32 whether or not for profit.​
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204.1 (26) "Property" means tangible property described in section 345A.205 or a fixed and​

204.2 certain interest in intangible property held, issued, or owed in the course of a holder's business​

204.3 or by a government, governmental subdivision, agency, or instrumentality. Property:​

204.4 (A) includes all income from or increments to the property;​

204.5 (B) includes property referred to as or evidenced by:​

204.6 i. money, virtual currency, interest, dividend, check, draft, deposit, or payroll card;​

204.7 ii. a credit balance, customer's overpayment, stored-value card, security deposit, refund,​

204.8 credit memorandum, unpaid wage, unused ticket for which the issuer has an obligation to​

204.9 provide a refund, mineral proceeds, or unidentified remittance;​

204.10 iii. a security except for:​

204.11 1. a worthless security; or​

204.12 2. a security that is subject to a lien, legal hold, or restriction evidenced on the records​

204.13 of the holder or imposed by operation of law, if the lien, legal hold, or restriction restricts​

204.14 the holder's or owner's ability to receive, transfer, sell, or otherwise negotiate the security;​

204.15 iv. a bond, debenture, note, or other evidence of indebtedness;​

204.16 v. money deposited to redeem a security, make a distribution, or pay a dividend;​

204.17 vi. an amount due and payable under an annuity contract or insurance policy; and​

204.18 vii. an amount distributable from a trust or custodial fund established under a plan to​

204.19 provide health, welfare, pension, vacation, severance, retirement, death, stock purchase,​

204.20 profit-sharing, employee savings, supplemental unemployment insurance, or a similar​

204.21 benefit; and​

204.22 (C) does not include:​

204.23 i. property held in a plan described in section 529A of the Internal Revenue Code, as​

204.24 amended, United States Code, title 26, section 529A;​

204.25 ii. game-related digital content;​

204.26 iii. a loyalty card;​

204.27 iv. a gift card; or​

204.28 v. money held or owing by a public pension fund enumerated in section 356.20,​

204.29 subdivision 2, or 356.30, subdivision 3; or covered by sections 69.77 or 69.771 to 69.776,​
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205.1 if the plan governing the public pension fund includes a provision governing the disposition​

205.2 of unclaimed amounts of money.​

205.3 (27) "Putative holder" means a person believed by the administrator to be a holder, until​

205.4 the person pays or delivers to the administrator property subject to this chapter or the​

205.5 administrator or a court makes a final determination that the person is or is not a holder.​

205.6 (28) "Record" means information that is inscribed on a tangible medium or that is stored​

205.7 in an electronic or other medium and is retrievable in perceivable form. "Records of the​

205.8 holder" includes records maintained by a third party that has contracted with the holder.​

205.9 (29) "Security" means:​

205.10 (A) a security as defined in article 8 of the Uniform Commercial Code, section 336.8-102;​

205.11 (B) a security entitlement as defined in article 8 of the Uniform Commercial Code,​

205.12 section 336.8-102, including a customer security account held by a registered broker-dealer,​

205.13 to the extent the financial assets held in the security account are not:​

205.14 i. registered on the books of the issuer in the name of the person for which the​

205.15 broker-dealer holds the assets;​

205.16 ii. payable to the order of the person; or​

205.17 iii. specifically endorsed to the person; or​

205.18 (C) an equity interest in a business association not included in subparagraph (A) or (B).​

205.19 (30) "State" means a state of the United States, the District of Columbia, the​

205.20 Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, the United States Virgin Islands, or any territory or insular​

205.21 possession subject to the jurisdiction of the United States.​

205.22 (31) "Stored-value card" means a record evidencing a promise made for consideration​

205.23 by the seller or issuer of the record that goods, services, or money will be provided to the​

205.24 owner of the record to the value or amount shown in the record. Stored-value card:​

205.25 (A) includes:​

205.26 i. a record that contains or consists of a microprocessor chip, magnetic strip, or other​

205.27 means for the storage of information, which is prefunded and whose value or amount is​

205.28 decreased on each use and increased by payment of additional consideration; and​

205.29 ii. a payroll card; and​

205.30 (B) does not include a loyalty card, gift card, or game-related digital content.​
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206.1 (32) "Utility" means a person that owns or operates for public use a plant, equipment,​

206.2 real property, franchise, or license for the following public services:​

206.3 (A) transmission of communications or information;​

206.4 (B) production, storage, transmission, sale, delivery, or furnishing of electricity, water,​

206.5 steam, or gas; or​

206.6 (C) provision of sewage or septic services, or trash, garbage, or recycling disposal.​

206.7 (33) "Virtual currency" means a digital representation of value used as a medium of​

206.8 exchange, unit of account, or store of value, which does not have legal tender status​

206.9 recognized by the United States. Virtual currency does not include:​

206.10 (A) the software or protocols governing the transfer of the digital representation of value;​

206.11 (B) game-related digital content; or​

206.12 (C) a loyalty card or gift card.​

206.13 (34) "Worthless security" means a security whose cost of liquidation and delivery to the​

206.14 administrator would exceed the value of the security on the date a report is due under this​

206.15 chapter.​

206.16 Sec. 2. [345A.102] INAPPLICABILITY TO FOREIGN TRANSACTION.​

206.17 This chapter does not apply to property held, due, and owing in a foreign country if the​

206.18 transaction out of which the property arose was a foreign transaction.​

206.19 ARTICLE 18​

206.20 UNCLAIMED PROPERTY; PRESUMPTION OF ABANDONMENT​

206.21 Section 1. [345A.201] WHEN PROPERTY PRESUMED ABANDONED.​

206.22 Subject to section 345A.210, the following property is presumed abandoned if it is​

206.23 unclaimed by the apparent owner during the period specified below:​

206.24 (1) a traveler's check, 15 years after issuance;​

206.25 (2) a money order, seven years after issuance;​

206.26 (3) cooperative property, including any profit distribution or other sum held or owing​

206.27 by a cooperative to a participating patron is presumed abandoned only if it has remained​

206.28 unclaimed by the owner for more than seven years after it became payable or distributable;​
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207.1 (4) a state or municipal bond, bearer bond, or original-issue discount bond, three years​

207.2 after the earliest of the date the bond matures or is called or the obligation to pay the principal​

207.3 of the bond arises;​

207.4 (5) a debt of a business association, three years after the obligation to pay arises;​

207.5 (6) demand, savings, or time deposit, including a deposit that is automatically renewable,​

207.6 three years after the later of the maturity or the date of the last indication of interest in the​

207.7 property by the apparent owner, except a deposit that is automatically renewable is deemed​

207.8 matured three years after its initial date of maturity unless the apparent owner consented to​

207.9 renewal in a record on file with the holder at or about the time of the renewal;​

207.10 (7) money or a credit owed to a customer as a result of a retail business transaction, other​

207.11 than in-store credit for returned merchandise, three years after the obligation arose;​

207.12 (8) an amount owed by an insurance company on a life or endowment insurance policy​

207.13 or an annuity contract that has matured or terminated, three years after the obligation to pay​

207.14 arose under the terms of the policy or contract or, if a policy or contract for which an amount​

207.15 is owed on proof of death has not matured by proof of the death of the insured or annuitant,​

207.16 as follows:​

207.17 (A) with respect to an amount owed on a life or endowment insurance policy, the earlier​

207.18 of:​

207.19 i. three years after the death of the insured; or​

207.20 ii. two years after the insured has attained, or would have attained if living, the limiting​

207.21 age under the mortality table in which the reserve for the policy is based; and​

207.22 (B) with respect to an amount owed on an annuity contract, three years after the date of​

207.23 the death of the annuitant;​

207.24 (9) funds on deposit or held in trust for the prepayment of funeral or other funeral-related​

207.25 expenses, the earliest of:​

207.26 (A) two years after the date of death of the beneficiary;​

207.27 (B) one year after the date the beneficiary has attained, or would have attained if living,​

207.28 the age of 105 where the holder does not know whether the beneficiary is deceased; or​

207.29 (C) 30 years after the contract for prepayment was executed;​

207.30 (10) property distributable by a business association in the course of dissolution, one​

207.31 year after the property becomes distributable;​
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208.1 (11) property held by a court, including property received as proceeds of a class action,​

208.2 three years after the property becomes distributable;​

208.3 (12) property held by a government or governmental subdivision, agency, or​

208.4 instrumentality, including municipal bond interest and unredeemed principal under the​

208.5 administration of a paying agent or indenture trustee, one year after the property becomes​

208.6 distributable;​

208.7 (13) wages, commissions, bonuses, or reimbursements to which an employee is entitled,​

208.8 or other compensation for personal services, including amounts held on a payroll card, one​

208.9 year after the amount becomes payable;​

208.10 (14) a deposit or refund owed to a subscriber by a utility, one year after the deposit or​

208.11 refund becomes payable; and​

208.12 (15) property not specified in this section or sections 345A.202 to 345A.208, the earlier​

208.13 of three years after the owner first has a right to demand the property or the obligation to​

208.14 pay or distribute the property arises.​

208.15 Notwithstanding any provision in this section to the contrary, and subject to section​

208.16 345A.210, a deceased owner cannot indicate interest in the owner's property. If the owner​

208.17 is deceased and the abandonment period for the owner's property specified in this section​

208.18 is greater than two years, then the property, excluding any amounts owed by an insurance​

208.19 company on a life or endowment insurance policy or an annuity contract that has matured​

208.20 or terminated, shall instead be presumed abandoned two years from the date of the owner's​

208.21 last indication of interest in the property.​

208.22 Sec. 2. [345A.202] WHEN TAX-DEFERRED RETIREMENT ACCOUNT​

208.23 PRESUMED ABANDONED.​

208.24 (a) Subject to section 345A.210, property held in a pension account or retirement account​

208.25 that qualifies for tax deferral under the income tax laws of the United States is presumed​

208.26 abandoned if it is unclaimed by the apparent owner after the later of:​

208.27 (1) three years after the following dates:​

208.28 (A) except as in subparagraph (B), the date a communication sent by the holder by​

208.29 first-class United States mail to the apparent owner is returned to the holder undelivered by​

208.30 the United States Postal Service; or​
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209.1 (B) if such communication is re-sent within 30 days after the date the first communication​

209.2 is returned undelivered, the date the second communication was returned undelivered by​

209.3 the United States Postal Service; or​

209.4 (2) the earlier of the following dates:​

209.5 (A) three years after the date the apparent owner becomes 70.5 years of age, if​

209.6 determinable by the holder; or​

209.7 (B) one year after the date of mandatory distribution following death if the Internal​

209.8 Revenue Code, as amended, United States Code, title 26, section 1, et seq., requires​

209.9 distribution to avoid a tax penalty and the holder:​

209.10 (i) receives confirmation of the death of the apparent owner in the ordinary course of​

209.11 its business; or​

209.12 (ii) confirms the death of the apparent owner under subsection (b).​

209.13 (b) If a holder in the ordinary course of its business receives notice or an indication of​

209.14 the death of an apparent owner and subsection (a)(2) applies, the holder shall attempt, not​

209.15 later than 90 days after receipt of the notice or indication, to confirm whether the apparent​

209.16 owner is deceased.​

209.17 (c) If the holder does not send communications to the apparent owner of an account​

209.18 described in subsection (a) by first-class United States mail, the holder shall attempt to​

209.19 confirm the apparent owner's interest in the property by sending the apparent owner an​

209.20 e-mail communication not later than two years after the apparent owner's last indication of​

209.21 interest in the property; however, the holder promptly shall attempt to contact the apparent​

209.22 owner by first-class United States mail if:​

209.23 (1) the holder does not have information needed to send the apparent owner an e-mail​

209.24 communication or the holder believes that the apparent owner's e-mail address in the holder's​

209.25 records is not valid;​

209.26 (2) the holder receives notification that the e-mail communication was not received; or​

209.27 (3) the apparent owner does not respond to the e-mail communication not later than 30​

209.28 days after the communication was sent.​

209.29 (d) If first-class United States mail sent under subsection (c) is returned to the holder​

209.30 undelivered by the United States Postal Service, the property is presumed abandoned three​

209.31 years after the later of:​
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210.1 (1) except as in paragraph (2), the date a communication to contact the apparent owner​

210.2 sent by first-class United States mail is returned to the holder undelivered;​

210.3 (2) if such communication is sent later than 30 days after the date the first communication​

210.4 is returned undelivered, the date the second communication was returned undelivered; or​

210.5 (3) the date established by subsection (a)(2).​

210.6 Sec. 3. [345A.203] WHEN OTHER TAX-DEFERRED ACCOUNT PRESUMED​

210.7 ABANDONED.​

210.8 (a) Subject to section 345A.210 and except for property described in section 345A.202​

210.9 and property held in a plan described in section 529A of the Internal Revenue Code, as​

210.10 amended; United States Code, title 26, section 529A, property held in an account or plan,​

210.11 including a health savings account, that qualifies for tax deferral under the income tax laws​

210.12 of the United States is presumed abandoned if it is unclaimed by the apparent owner three​

210.13 years after the earlier of:​

210.14 (1) the date, if determinable by the holder, specified in the income tax laws and​

210.15 regulations of the United States by which distribution of the property must begin to avoid​

210.16 a tax penalty, with no distribution having been made; or​

210.17 (2) 30 years after the date the account was opened.​

210.18 (b) If the owner is deceased, property subject to this section is presumed abandoned two​

210.19 years from the earliest of:​

210.20 (1) the date of the distribution or attempted distribution of the property;​

210.21 (2) the date the required distribution as stated in the plan or trust agreement governing​

210.22 the plan; or​

210.23 (3) the date, if determinable by the holder, specified in the income tax laws of the United​

210.24 States by which distribution of the property must begin in order to avoid a tax penalty.​

210.25 Sec. 4. [345A.204] WHEN CUSTODIAL ACCOUNT FOR MINOR PRESUMED​

210.26 ABANDONED.​

210.27 (a) Subject to section 345A.210, property held in an account established under a state's​

210.28 Uniform Gifts to Minors Act or Uniform Transfers to Minors Act is presumed abandoned​

210.29 if it is unclaimed by or on behalf of the minor on whose behalf the account was opened​

210.30 three years after the later of:​
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211.1 (1) except as in paragraph (2), the date a communication sent by the holder by first-class​

211.2 United States mail to the custodian of the minor on whose behalf the account was opened​

211.3 is returned undelivered to the holder by the United States Postal Service;​

211.4 (2) if the communication is re-sent later than 30 days after the date the first​

211.5 communication is returned undelivered, the date the second communication was returned​

211.6 undelivered; or​

211.7 (3) the date on which the custodian is required to transfer the property to the minor or​

211.8 the minor's estate in accordance with the Uniform Gifts to Minors Act or Uniform Transfers​

211.9 to Minors Act of the state in which the account was opened.​

211.10 (b) If the holder does not send communications to the custodian of the minor on whose​

211.11 behalf an account described in subsection (a) was opened by first-class United States mail,​

211.12 the holder shall attempt to confirm the custodian's interest in the property by sending the​

211.13 custodian an e-mail communication not later than two years after the custodian's last​

211.14 indication of interest in the property; however, the holder promptly shall attempt to contact​

211.15 the custodian by first-class United States mail if:​

211.16 (1) the holder does not have information needed to send the custodian an e-mail​

211.17 communication or the holder believes that the custodian's e-mail address in the holder's​

211.18 records is not valid;​

211.19 (2) the holder receives notification that the e-mail communication was not received; or​

211.20 (3) the custodian does not respond to the e-mail communication not later than 30 days​

211.21 after the communication was sent.​

211.22 (c) If first-class United States mail sent under subsection (b) is returned undelivered to​

211.23 the holder by the United States Postal Service, the property is presumed abandoned three​

211.24 years after the later of:​

211.25 (1) the date a communication to contact the custodian by first-class United States mail​

211.26 is returned to the holder undelivered by the United States Postal Service; or​

211.27 (2) the date established by subsection (a)(3).​

211.28 (d) When the property in the account described in subsection (a) is transferred to the​

211.29 minor on whose behalf an account was opened or to the minor's estate, the property in the​

211.30 account is no longer subject to this section.​
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212.1 Sec. 5. [345A.205] WHEN CONTENTS OF SAFE DEPOSIT BOX PRESUMED​

212.2 ABANDONED.​

212.3 Tangible property held in a safe deposit box and proceeds from a sale of the property​

212.4 by the holder permitted by law of this state other than this chapter are presumed abandoned​

212.5 if the property remains unclaimed by the apparent owner five years after the earlier of the:​

212.6 (1) expiration of the lease or rental period for the safe deposit box; or​

212.7 (2) earliest date when the lessor of the safe deposit box is authorized by law of this state​

212.8 other than this chapter to enter the safe deposit box and remove or dispose of the contents​

212.9 without consent or authorization of the lessee.​

212.10 Sec. 6. [345A.206] WHEN STORED-VALUE CARD PRESUMED ABANDONED.​

212.11 (a) Subject to section 345A.210, the net card value of a stored-value card, other than a​

212.12 payroll card or a gift card, is presumed abandoned on the latest of three years after:​

212.13 (1) December 31 of the year in which the card is issued or additional funds are deposited​

212.14 into it;​

212.15 (2) the most recent indication of interest in the card by the apparent owner; or​

212.16 (3) a verification or review of the balance by or on behalf of the apparent owner.​

212.17 (b) The amount presumed abandoned in a stored-value card is the net card value at the​

212.18 time it is presumed abandoned.​

212.19 (c) If a holder has reported and remitted to the administrator the net card value on a​

212.20 stored-value card presumed abandoned under this section and the stored-value card does​

212.21 not have an expiration date, then the holder must honor the card on presentation indefinitely​

212.22 and may then request reimbursement from the administrator under section 345A.605.​

212.23 Sec. 7. [345A.208] WHEN SECURITY PRESUMED ABANDONED.​

212.24 (a) Subject to section 345A.210, a security is presumed abandoned after the earlier of​

212.25 the following:​

212.26 (1) three years after the date a communication sent by the holder by first-class United​

212.27 States mail to the apparent owner is returned to the holder undelivered by the United States​

212.28 Postal Service or if such communication is re-sent no later than 30 days after the first​

212.29 communication is returned, the date the second communication is returned undelivered to​

212.30 the holder by the United States Postal Service; or​
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213.1 (2) five years after the date of the apparent owner's last indication of interest in the​

213.2 security.​

213.3 (b) If the holder does not send communications to the apparent owner of a security by​

213.4 first-class United States mail, the holder shall attempt to confirm the apparent owner's​

213.5 interest in the security by sending the apparent owner an e-mail communication not later​

213.6 than two years after the apparent owner's last indication of interest in the security; however,​

213.7 the holder promptly shall attempt to contact the apparent owner by first-class United States​

213.8 mail if:​

213.9 (1) the holder does not have information needed to send the apparent owner an e-mail​

213.10 communication or the holder believes that the apparent owner's e-mail address in the holder's​

213.11 records is not valid;​

213.12 (2) the holder receives notification that the e-mail communication was not received; or​

213.13 (3) the apparent owner does not respond to the e-mail communication not later than 30​

213.14 days after the communication was sent.​

213.15 (c) If first-class United States mail sent under subsection (b) is returned to the holder​

213.16 undelivered by the United States Postal Service, the security is presumed abandoned in​

213.17 accordance with subsection (a)(2).​

213.18 (d) If a holder, in the ordinary course of business, receives notice or an indication of the​

213.19 death of an apparent owner, the holder shall attempt, not later than 90 days after receipt of​

213.20 the notice or indication, to confirm whether the apparent owner is deceased. Notwithstanding​

213.21 the standards set forth in subsections (a), (b), and (c), if the holder either receives​

213.22 confirmation of the death of the apparent owner in the ordinary course of business or confirms​

213.23 the death of the apparent owner under this subsection, then the property shall be presumed​

213.24 abandoned two years after the date of the owner's death.​

213.25 Sec. 8. [345A.209] WHEN RELATED PROPERTY PRESUMED ABANDONED.​

213.26 At and after the time property is presumed abandoned under this chapter, any other​

213.27 property right or interest accrued or accruing from the property and not previously presumed​

213.28 abandoned is also presumed abandoned.​

213.29 Sec. 9. [345A.210] INDICATION OF APPARENT OWNER INTEREST IN​

213.30 PROPERTY.​

213.31 (a) The period after which property is presumed abandoned is measured from the later:​
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214.1 (1) the date the property is presumed abandoned under sections 345A.201 to 345A.211;​

214.2 or​

214.3 (2) the latest indication of interest by the apparent owner in the property.​

214.4 (b) Under this chapter, an indication of an apparent owner's interest in property includes:​

214.5 (1) a record communicated by the apparent owner to the holder or agent of the holder​

214.6 concerning the property or the account in which the property is held;​

214.7 (2) an oral communication by the apparent owner to the holder or agent of the holder​

214.8 concerning the property or the account in which the property is held, if the holder or its​

214.9 agent contemporaneously makes and preserves a record of the fact of the apparent owner's​

214.10 communication;​

214.11 (3) presentment of a check or other instrument of payment of a dividend, interest payment,​

214.12 or other distribution, or evidence of receipt of a distribution made by electronic or similar​

214.13 means, with respect to an account, underlying security, or interest in a business association.​

214.14 (4) activity directed by an apparent owner in the account in which the property is held,​

214.15 including accessing the account or information concerning the account, or a direction by​

214.16 the apparent owner to increase, decrease, or otherwise change the amount or type of property​

214.17 held in the account;​

214.18 (5) a deposit into or withdrawal from an account at a financial organization, except for​

214.19 an automatic debit or credit previously authorized by the apparent owner or an automatic​

214.20 reinvestment of dividends or interest; and​

214.21 (6) subject to subsection (e), payment of a premium on an insurance policy.​

214.22 (c) An action by an agent or other representative of an apparent owner, other than the​

214.23 holder acting as the apparent owner's agent, is presumed to be an action on behalf of the​

214.24 apparent owner.​

214.25 (d) A communication with an apparent owner by a person other than the holder or the​

214.26 holder's representative is not an indication of interest in the property by the apparent owner​

214.27 unless a record of the communication evidences the apparent owner's knowledge of a right​

214.28 to the property.​

214.29 (e) If the insured dies or the insured or beneficiary of an insurance policy otherwise​

214.30 becomes entitled to the proceeds before depletion of the cash surrender value of the policy​

214.31 by operation of an automatic premium loan provision or other nonforfeiture provision​
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215.1 contained in the policy, the operation does not prevent the policy from maturing or​

215.2 terminating.​

215.3 (f) If the apparent owner has other property with the holder to which section 345A.201,​

215.4 paragraph (6), applies, the activity directed by the apparent owner toward any other accounts,​

215.5 including but not limited to loan accounts, at the financial organization holding an inactive​

215.6 account of the apparent owner shall be an indication of interest in all such accounts if:​

215.7 (1) the apparent owner engages in one or more of the following activities:​

215.8 (A) the apparent owner undertakes one or more of the actions described in subsection​

215.9 (b) regarding an account that appears on a consolidated statement with the inactive account;​

215.10 (B) the apparent owner increases or decreases the amount of funds in any other account​

215.11 the apparent owner has with the financial organization; or​

215.12 (C) the apparent owner engages in any other relationship with the financial organization,​

215.13 including payment of any amounts due on a loan; and​

215.14 (2) the mailing address for the apparent owner in the financial organization's records is​

215.15 the same for both the inactive account and the active account.​

215.16 Sec. 10. [345A.211] KNOWLEDGE OF DEATH OF INSURED OR ANNUITANT.​

215.17 (a) In this section, "death master file" ("DMF") means the United States Social Security​

215.18 Administration Death Master File or other database or service that is at least as​

215.19 comprehensive as the United States Social Security Administration Death Master File for​

215.20 determining that an individual reportedly has died.​

215.21 (b) With respect to a life or endowment insurance policy or annuity contract for which​

215.22 an amount is owed on proof of death, but which has not matured by proof of death of the​

215.23 insured or annuitant, the company has knowledge of the death of an insured or annuitant​

215.24 when:​

215.25 (1) the company receives a death certificate or court order determining that the insured​

215.26 or annuitant has died;​

215.27 (2) the company receives notice of the death of the insured or annuitant from the​

215.28 administrator or an unclaimed property administrator of another state, a beneficiary, a policy​

215.29 owner, a relative of the insured, a representative under the Probate Act of 1975, or an​

215.30 executor or other legal representative of the insured's or annuitant's estate and validates the​

215.31 death of the insured or annuitant;​
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216.1 (3) the company conducts a comparison for any purpose between a DMF and the names​

216.2 of some or all of the company's insureds or annuitants, finds a match that provides notice​

216.3 that the insured or annuitant has died, and validates the death; or​

216.4 (4) the administrator or the administrator's agent conducts a comparison for the purpose​

216.5 of finding matches during an examination conducted under this chapter between a DMF​

216.6 and the names of some or all of the company's insureds or annuitants, and finds a match​

216.7 that provides notice that the insured or annuitant has died.​

216.8 (c) A holder shall perform a comparison of its insureds' in-force policies, annuity​

216.9 contracts, and retained asset accounts against a DMF on at least a semiannual basis by using​

216.10 the full DMF once and thereafter using DMF updated files for future comparisons to identify​

216.11 potential matches of its insureds.​

216.12 (d) A death master file match under subsection (b)(3) or (4) occurs if the criteria for an​

216.13 exact or partial match are satisfied.​

216.14 (1) an exact match occurs when the Social Security number, first and last name, and​

216.15 date of birth contained in the holder's records matches exactly to the data contained in the​

216.16 DMF;​

216.17 (2) a partial match occurs in any of the following circumstances:​

216.18 (A) when the Social Security number contained in the data found in the holder's records​

216.19 matches exactly or in accordance with the fuzzy match criteria listed below to the Social​

216.20 Security number contained in the DMF, the first and last names match either exactly or in​

216.21 accordance with the fuzzy match criteria listed below, and the date of birth matches exactly​

216.22 or in accordance with the fuzzy match criteria listed below;​

216.23 (B) when the holder's records do not include a Social Security number or where the​

216.24 Social Security number is incomplete or otherwise invalid, and there is a first name, last​

216.25 name, and date of birth combination in the holder's data that is a match against the data​

216.26 contained in the DMF where the first and last names match either exactly or in accordance​

216.27 with the fuzzy match criteria listed below and the date of birth matches exactly or in​

216.28 accordance with the fuzzy match criteria listed below;​

216.29 (C) if there is more than one potentially matched individual returned as a result of the​

216.30 process described in paragraphs (A) and (B) above, the holder shall search the Social Security​

216.31 numbers obtained from the DMF for the potential matched individuals against Accurint for​

216.32 Insurance or an equivalent database. If a search of those databases shows that the DMF​

216.33 Social Security number is listed at the address in the holder's records for the insured, a​
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217.1 partial match will be considered to have been made only for individuals with a matching​

217.2 address;​

217.3 (D) fuzzy match criteria includes the following:​

217.4 (i) a first name fuzzy match includes one or more of the following: a nickname; an initial​

217.5 instead of a full first name; accepted industry standard phonetic name-matching algorithm;​

217.6 data entry mistakes with a maximum difference of one character with at least five characters​

217.7 in length; a first and last name are provided and cannot be reliably distinguished from one​

217.8 another; use of interchanged first name and middle name; a misused compound name; and​

217.9 the use of a "Mrs." in conjunction with a spouse's name where the date of birth and Social​

217.10 Security number match exactly and the last name matches exactly or in accordance with​

217.11 the fuzzy match criteria listed herein;​

217.12 (ii) a last name fuzzy match includes one or more of the following: Anglicized forms​

217.13 of last names; compound last name; blank spaces in last name; accepted industry standard​

217.14 phonetic name-matching algorithm; a first and last name are provided and cannot be reliably​

217.15 distinguished from one another; use of apostrophe or other punctuation; data entry mistakes​

217.16 with a maximum difference of one character for last name with at least eight characters in​

217.17 length; and married female last name variations;​

217.18 (iii) a date of birth fuzzy match includes one of the following: two dates with a maximum​

217.19 of two digits in difference, but only one entry mistake per full date is allowable; transposition​

217.20 of the month and date portion of the date of birth; if the holder's records do not contain a​

217.21 complete date of birth, then a fuzzy match date of birth will be found to exist where the data​

217.22 available in the holder's records does not conflict with the data contained in the DMF; if​

217.23 the holder provided a first and last name match, either exactly or in accordance with the​

217.24 fuzzy match criteria herein and the Social Security number matches exactly against the​

217.25 DMF, the date of birth is a fuzzy match if the holder provided a date of birth that is within​

217.26 two years of the DMF-listed date of birth;​

217.27 (iv) a Social Security number fuzzy match includes one of the following: two Social​

217.28 Security numbers with a maximum of two digits in difference, any number position; two​

217.29 consecutive numbers are transposed; and the Social Security number is less than nine digits​

217.30 in length, but at least seven digits, and is entirely embedded within the other Social Security​

217.31 number;​

217.32 (3) the DMF match does not constitute proof of death for the purpose of submission to​

217.33 an insurance company of a claim by a beneficiary, annuitant, or owner of the policy or​

217.34 contract for an amount due under an insurance policy or annuity contract;​
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218.1 (4) the DMF match or validation of the insured's or annuitant's death does not alter the​

218.2 requirements for a beneficiary, annuitant, or owner of the policy or contract to make a claim​

218.3 to receive proceeds under the terms of the policy or contract;​

218.4 (5) an insured or an annuitant is presumed dead if the date of the person's death is​

218.5 indicated by the DMF match under either subsection (b)(3) or (4), unless the insurer has​

218.6 competent and substantial evidence that the person is living, including but not limited to a​

218.7 contact made by the insurer with the person or the person's legal representation.​

218.8 (e) This chapter does not affect the determination of the extent to which an insurance​

218.9 company before the effective date of this chapter had knowledge of the death of an insured​

218.10 or annuitant or was required to conduct a DMF comparison to determine whether amounts​

218.11 owed by the company on a life or endowment insurance policy or annuity contract were​

218.12 presumed abandoned or unclaimed.​

218.13 Sec. 11. [345A.211] DEPOSIT ACCOUNT FOR PROCEEDS OF INSURANCE​

218.14 POLICY OR ANNUITY CONTRACT.​

218.15 If proceeds payable under a life or endowment insurance policy or annuity contract are​

218.16 deposited into an account with check or draft-writing privileges for the beneficiary of the​

218.17 policy or contract and, under a supplementary contract not involving annuity benefits other​

218.18 than death benefits, the proceeds are retained by the insurance company or the financial​

218.19 organization where the account is held, the policy or contract includes the assets in the​

218.20 account.​

218.21 ARTICLE 19​

218.22 UNCLAIMED PROPERTY; RULES FOR TAKING CUSTODY OF PROPERTY​
218.23 PRESUMED ABANDONED​

218.24 Section 1. [345A.301] ADDRESS OF APPARENT OWNER TO ESTABLISH​

218.25 PRIORITY.​

218.26 In sections 345A.301 to 345A.307, the following rules apply:​

218.27 (1) The last known address of an apparent owner is any description, code, or other​

218.28 indication of the location of the apparent owner which identifies the state, even if the​

218.29 description, code, or indication of location is not sufficient to direct the delivery of first-class​

218.30 United States mail to the apparent owner.​

218.31 (2) If the United States postal zip code associated with the apparent owner is for a post​

218.32 office located in this state, this state is deemed to be the state of the last known address of​
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219.1 the apparent owner unless other records associated with the apparent owner specifically​

219.2 identify the physical address of the apparent owner to be in another state.​

219.3 (3) If the address under paragraph (2) is in another state, the other state is deemed to be​

219.4 the state of the last known address of the apparent owner.​

219.5 (4) The address of the apparent owner of a life or endowment insurance policy or annuity​

219.6 contract or its proceeds is presumed to be the address of the insured or annuitant if a person​

219.7 other than the insured or annuitant is entitled to the amount owed under the policy or contract​

219.8 and the address of the other person is not known by the insurance company and cannot be​

219.9 determined under section 345A.302.​

219.10 Sec. 2. [345A.302] ADDRESS OF APPARENT OWNER IN THIS STATE.​

219.11 The administrator may take custody of property that is presumed abandoned, whether​

219.12 located in this state, another state, or a foreign country, if:​

219.13 (1) the last known address of the apparent owner in the records of the holder is in this​

219.14 state; or​

219.15 (2) the records of the holder do not reflect the identity or last known address of the​

219.16 apparent owner, but the administrator has determined that the last known address of the​

219.17 apparent owner is in this state.​

219.18 Sec. 3. [345A.303] IF RECORDS SHOW MULTIPLE ADDRESSES OF APPARENT​

219.19 OWNER.​

219.20 (a) Except as provided in subsection (b), if records of a holder reflect multiple addresses​

219.21 for an apparent owner and this state is the state of the last known address, this state may​

219.22 take custody of property presumed abandoned, whether located in this state or another state.​

219.23 (b) If it appears from records of the holder that the last known address of the apparent​

219.24 owner under subsection (a) is a temporary address and this state is the state of the next most​

219.25 recently recorded address that is not a temporary address, this state may take custody of the​

219.26 property presumed abandoned.​

219.27 Sec. 4. [345A.304] HOLDER DOMICILED IN THIS STATE.​

219.28 (a) Except as provided in subsection (b) or section 345A.302 or 345A.303, the​

219.29 administrator may take custody of property presumed abandoned, whether located in this​

219.30 state, another state, or a foreign country, if the holder is domiciled in this state, another state,​

219.31 or a governmental subdivision, agency, or instrumentality of this state and:​
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220.1 (1) another state or foreign country is not entitled to the property because there is no last​

220.2 known address of the apparent owner or other person entitled to the property in the records​

220.3 of the holder; or​

220.4 (2) the state or foreign country of the last known address of the apparent owner or other​

220.5 person entitled to the property does not provide for custodial taking of the property.​

220.6 (b) Property is not subject to custody of the administrator under subsection (a) if the​

220.7 property is specifically exempt from custodial taking under the law of this state, another​

220.8 state, or foreign country of the last known address of the apparent owner.​

220.9 (c) If a holder's state of domicile has changed since the time the property was presumed​

220.10 abandoned, the holder's state of domicile in this section is deemed to be the state where the​

220.11 holder was domiciled at the time the property was presumed abandoned.​

220.12 Sec. 5. [345A.305] CUSTODY IF TRANSACTION TOOK PLACE IN THIS STATE.​

220.13 Except as provided in sections 345A.302 to 345A.304, the administrator may take custody​

220.14 of property presumed abandoned whether located in this state or another state if:​

220.15 (1) the transaction out of which the property arose took place in this state;​

220.16 (2) the holder is domiciled in a state that does not provide for the custodial taking of the​

220.17 property, except that if the property is specifically exempt from custodial taking under the​

220.18 law of the state of the holder's domicile, the property is not subject to the custody of the​

220.19 administrator; and​

220.20 (3) the last known address of the apparent owner or other person entitled to the property​

220.21 is unknown or in a state that does not provide for the custodial taking of the property, except​

220.22 that if the property is specifically exempt from custodial taking under the law of the state​

220.23 of the last known address, the property is not subject to the custody of the administrator.​

220.24 Sec. 6. [345A.306] TRAVELER'S CHECK, MONEY ORDER, OR SIMILAR​

220.25 INSTRUMENT.​

220.26 The administrator may take custody of sums payable on a traveler's check, money order,​

220.27 or similar instrument presumed abandoned to the extent permissible under United States​

220.28 Code, title 12, sections 2501 through 2503, as amended.​
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221.1 Sec. 7. [345A.307] BURDEN OF PROOF TO ESTABLISH ADMINISTRATOR'S​

221.2 RIGHT TO CUSTODY.​

221.3 Subject to this chapter, if the administrator asserts a right to custody of unclaimed​

221.4 property and there is a dispute concerning such property, the administrator has the initial​

221.5 burden to prove:​

221.6 (1) the amount of the property;​

221.7 (2) the property is presumed abandoned; and​

221.8 (3) the property is subject to the custody of the administrator.​

221.9 ARTICLE 20​

221.10 UNCLAIMED PROPERTY; REPORT BY HOLDER​

221.11 Section 1. [345A.401] REPORT REQUIRED BY HOLDER.​

221.12 (a) A holder of property presumed abandoned and subject to the custody of the​

221.13 administrator shall report in a record to the administrator concerning the property. A holder​

221.14 shall submit an electronic report in a format prescribed by, and acceptable to, the​

221.15 administrator.​

221.16 (b) A holder may contract with a third party to make the report required under subsection​

221.17 (a).​

221.18 (c) Whether or not a holder contracts with a third party under subsection (b), the holder​

221.19 is responsible:​

221.20 (1) to the administrator for the complete, accurate, and timely reporting of property​

221.21 presumed abandoned; and​

221.22 (2) for paying or delivering to the administrator property described in the report.​

221.23 Sec. 2. [345A.402] CONTENT OF REPORT.​

221.24 (a) The report required under section 345A.401 must:​

221.25 (1) be signed by or on behalf of the holder and verified as to its completeness and​

221.26 accuracy;​

221.27 (2) be filed electronically, unless exception is granted, and be in a secure format approved​

221.28 by the administrator which protects confidential information of the apparent owner;​

221.29 (3) describe the property;​
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222.1 (4) except for a traveler's check, money order, or similar instrument, contain the name,​

222.2 if known, last known address, if known, and Social Security number or taxpayer identification​

222.3 number, if known or readily ascertainable, of the apparent owner of property with a value​

222.4 of $50 or more;​

222.5 (5) for an amount held or owing under a life or endowment insurance policy or annuity​

222.6 contract, contain the name and last known address of the insured, annuitant, or other apparent​

222.7 owner of the policy or contract and of the beneficiary;​

222.8 (6) for property held in or removed from a safe deposit box, indicate the location of the​

222.9 property, and where it may be inspected by the administrator;​

222.10 (7) contain the commencement date for determining abandonment under sections​

222.11 345A.201 to 345A.211;​

222.12 (8) state that the holder has complied with the notice requirements of section 345A.501;​

222.13 (9) identify property that is a nonfreely transferable security and explain why it is a​

222.14 nonfreely transferable security; and​

222.15 (10) contain other information prescribed by the administrator.​

222.16 (b) A report under section 345A.401 may include in the aggregate items valued under​

222.17 $50 each. If the report includes items in the aggregate valued under $50 each, the​

222.18 administrator may not require the holder to provide the name and address of an apparent​

222.19 owner of an item unless the information is necessary to verify or process a claim in progress​

222.20 by the apparent owner.​

222.21 (c) A report under section 345A.401 may include personal information as defined in​

222.22 section 345A.401(a) about the apparent owner or the apparent owner's property.​

222.23 (d) If a holder has changed its name while holding property presumed abandoned or is​

222.24 a successor to another person that previously held the property for the apparent owner, the​

222.25 holder must include in the report under section 345A.401 its former name or the name of​

222.26 the previous holder, if any, and the known name and address of each previous holder of the​

222.27 property.​

222.28 Sec. 3. [345A.403] WHEN REPORT TO BE FILED.​

222.29 (a) Except as otherwise provided in subsection (b) and subject to subsection (c), the​

222.30 report under section 345A.401 must be filed before November 1 of each year and cover the​

222.31 12 months preceding July 1 of that year.​
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223.1 (b) Subject to subsection (c), the report under section 345A.401 to be filed by an insurance​

223.2 company must be filed before May 1 of each year for the immediately preceding calendar​

223.3 year.​

223.4 (c) Before the date for filing the report under section 345A.401, the holder of property​

223.5 presumed abandoned may request the administrator to extend the time for filing. The​

223.6 administrator may grant an extension. If the extension is granted, the holder may pay or​

223.7 make a partial payment of the amount the holder estimates ultimately will be due. The​

223.8 payment or partial payment terminates accrual of interest on the amount paid.​

223.9 Sec. 4. [345A.404] RETENTION OF RECORDS BY HOLDER.​

223.10 A holder required to file a report under section 345A.401 shall retain records for ten​

223.11 years after the later of the date the report was filed or the last date a timely report was due​

223.12 to be filed, unless a shorter period is provided by rule of the administrator. The holder may​

223.13 satisfy the requirement to retain records under this section through an agent. The records​

223.14 must contain:​

223.15 (1) the information required to be included in the report;​

223.16 (2) the date, place, and nature of the circumstances that gave rise to the property right;​

223.17 (3) the amount or value of the property;​

223.18 (4) the last known address of the apparent owner, if known to the holder; and​

223.19 (5) if the holder sells, issues, or provides to others for sale or issue in this state traveler's​

223.20 checks, money orders, or similar instruments, other than third-party bank checks, on which​

223.21 the holder is directly liable, a record of the instruments while they remain outstanding,​

223.22 indicating the state and date of issue.​

223.23 Sec. 5. [345A.405] PROPERTY REPORTABLE AND PAYABLE OR​

223.24 DELIVERABLE ABSENT OWNER DEMAND.​

223.25 Property is reportable and payable or deliverable under this chapter even if the owner​

223.26 fails to make demand or present an instrument or document otherwise required to obtain​

223.27 payment.​
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224.1 ARTICLE 21​

224.2 UNCLAIMED PROPERTY; NOTICE TO APPARENT OWNER OF PROPERTY​
224.3 PRESUMED ABANDONED​

224.4 Section 1. [345A.501] NOTICE TO APPARENT OWNER BY HOLDER.​

224.5 (a) Subject to subsection (b), the holder of property presumed abandoned shall send to​

224.6 the apparent owner notice by first-class United States mail that complies with section​

224.7 345A.502 in a format acceptable to the administrator not more than 180 days nor less than​

224.8 60 days before filing the report under section 345A.401 if:​

224.9 (1) the holder has in its records an address for the apparent owner which the holder's​

224.10 records do not disclose to be invalid and is sufficient to direct the delivery of first-class​

224.11 United States mail to the apparent owner; and​

224.12 (2) the value of the property is $50 or more.​

224.13 (b) If an apparent owner has consented to receive e-mail delivery from the holder, the​

224.14 holder shall send the notice described in subsection (a) both by first-class United States​

224.15 mail to the apparent owner's last known mailing address and by e-mail, unless the holder​

224.16 believes that the apparent owner's e-mail address is invalid.​

224.17 (c) The holder of securities presumed abandoned under sections 345A.202, 345A.203,​

224.18 or 345A.208 shall send the apparent owner notice by certified United States mail that​

224.19 complies with section 345A.502, and in a format acceptable to the administrator, not less​

224.20 than 60 days before filing the report under section 345A.401, if:​

224.21 (1) the holder has in its records an address for the apparent owner which the holder's​

224.22 records do not disclose to be invalid and is sufficient to direct the delivery of United States​

224.23 mail to the apparent owner; and​

224.24 (2) the value of the property is $1,000 or more.​

224.25 (d) In addition to other indications of an apparent owner's interest in property pursuant​

224.26 to section 345A.210, a signed return receipt in response to a notice sent pursuant to this​

224.27 section by certified United States mail shall constitute a record communicated by the apparent​

224.28 owner to the holder concerning the property or the account in which the property is held.​

224.29 Sec. 2. [345A.502] CONTENTS OF NOTICE BY HOLDER.​

224.30 (a) Notice under section 345A.501 must contain a heading that reads substantially as​

224.31 follows: "Notice. The State of Minnesota requires us to notify you that your property may​
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225.1 be transferred to the custody of the commissioner of commerce if you do not contact us​

225.2 before (insert date that is 30 days after the date of this notice)."​

225.3 (b) The notice under section 345A.501 must:​

225.4 (1) identify the nature and, except for property that does not have a fixed value, the value​

225.5 of the property that is the subject of the notice;​

225.6 (2) state that the property will be turned over to the administrator;​

225.7 (3) state that after the property is turned over to the administrator an apparent owner​

225.8 that seeks return of the property must file a claim with the administrator;​

225.9 (4) state that property that is not legal tender of the United States may be sold by the​

225.10 administrator; and​

225.11 (5) provide instructions that the apparent owner must follow to prevent the holder from​

225.12 reporting and paying or delivering the property to the administrator.​

225.13 Sec. 3. [345A.503] NOTICE BY ADMINISTRATOR.​

225.14 (a) The administrator shall give notice to an apparent owner that property presumed​

225.15 abandoned and that appears to be owned by the apparent owner is held by the administrator​

225.16 under this chapter.​

225.17 (b) In providing notice under subsection (a), the administrator shall:​

225.18 (1) publish every 12 months in at least one newspaper of general circulation in each​

225.19 county in this state notice of property held by the administrator which must include:​

225.20 (A) the total value of property received by the administrator during the preceding​

225.21 12-month period, taken from the reports under section 345A.401;​

225.22 (B) the total value of claims paid by the administrator during the preceding 12-month​

225.23 period;​

225.24 (C) the Internet address of the unclaimed property website maintained by the​

225.25 administrator;​

225.26 (D) a telephone number and e-mail address to contact the administrator to inquire about​

225.27 or claim property; and​

225.28 (E) a statement that a person may access the Internet by a computer to search for​

225.29 unclaimed property and a computer may be available as a service to the public at a local​

225.30 public library; and​
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226.1 (2) maintain a website or database accessible by the public and electronically searchable​

226.2 which contains the names reported to the administrator of all apparent owners for whom​

226.3 property is being held by the administrator. The administrator need not list property on such​

226.4 website when:​

226.5 (A) no owner name was reported;​

226.6 (B) a claim has been initiated or is pending for the property;​

226.7 (C) the administrator has made direct contact with the apparent owner of the property;​

226.8 and​

226.9 (D) other instances exist where the administrator reasonably believes exclusion of the​

226.10 property is in the best interests of both the state and the owner of the property.​

226.11 (c) The website or database maintained under subsection (b)(2) must include instructions​

226.12 for filing with the administrator a claim to property and a printable claim form with​

226.13 instructions for its use.​

226.14 (d) In addition to giving notice under subsection (b), publishing the information under​

226.15 subsection (b)(1), and maintaining the website or database under subsection (b)(2), the​

226.16 administrator may use other printed publication, telecommunication, the Internet, or other​

226.17 media to inform the public of the existence of unclaimed property held by the administrator.​

226.18 ARTICLE 22​

226.19 UNCLAIMED PROPERTY; TAKING CUSTODY OF PROPERTY BY​
226.20 ADMINISTRATOR​

226.21 Section 1. [345A.601] DORMANCY CHARGE.​

226.22 (a) A holder may deduct a dormancy charge from property required to be paid or delivered​

226.23 to the administrator if:​

226.24 (1) a valid contract between the holder and the apparent owner authorizes imposition of​

226.25 the charge for the apparent owner's failure to claim the property within a specified time;​

226.26 and​

226.27 (2) the holder regularly imposes the charge and regularly does not reverse or otherwise​

226.28 cancel the charge.​

226.29 (b) The amount of the deduction under subsection (a) is limited to an amount that is not​

226.30 unconscionable considering all relevant factors, including the marginal transactional costs​

226.31 incurred by the holder in maintaining the apparent owner's property and any services received​

226.32 by the apparent owner.​
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227.1 (c) A holder may not deduct an escheat fee or impose other charges solely by virtue of​

227.2 property being reported as presumed abandoned.​

227.3 Sec. 2. [345A.602] PAYMENT OR DELIVERY OF PROPERTY TO​

227.4 ADMINISTRATOR.​

227.5 (a) Except as otherwise provided in this section, on filing a report under section 345A.401,​

227.6 the holder shall pay or deliver to the administrator the property described in the report.​

227.7 (b) If property in a report under section 345A.401 is an automatically renewable deposit​

227.8 and a penalty or forfeiture in the payment of interest would result from paying the deposit​

227.9 to the administrator at the time of the report, the date for payment of the property to the​

227.10 administrator is extended until a penalty or forfeiture no longer would result from payment,​

227.11 if the holder informs the administrator of the extended date.​

227.12 (c) Tangible property in a safe deposit box may not be delivered to the administrator​

227.13 until 60 days after filing the report under section 345A.401.​

227.14 (d) If property reported to the administrator under section 345A.401 is a security, the​

227.15 administrator may:​

227.16 (1) make an endorsement, instruction, or entitlement order on behalf of the apparent​

227.17 owner to invoke the duty of the issuer, its transfer agent, or the securities intermediary to​

227.18 transfer the security; or​

227.19 (2) dispose of the security under section 345A.702.​

227.20 (e) If the holder of property reported to the administrator under section 345A.401 is the​

227.21 issuer of a certificated security, the administrator may obtain a replacement certificate in​

227.22 physical or book-entry form under section 336.8-405. An indemnity bond is not required.​

227.23 (f) The administrator shall establish procedures for the registration, issuance, method​

227.24 of delivery, transfer, and maintenance of securities delivered to the administrator by a holder.​

227.25 (g) An issuer, holder, and transfer agent or other person acting under this section under​

227.26 instructions of and on behalf of the issuer or holder is not liable to the apparent owner for,​

227.27 and must be indemnified by the state against, a claim arising with respect to property after​

227.28 the property has been delivered to the administrator.​

227.29 (h) A holder is not required to deliver to the administrator a security identified by the​

227.30 holder as a nonfreely transferable security. If the administrator or holder determines that a​

227.31 security is no longer a nonfreely transferable security, the holder shall deliver the security​

227.32 on the next regular date prescribed for delivery of securities under this chapter. The holder​
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228.1 shall make a determination annually whether a security identified in a report filed under​

228.2 section 345A.401 as a nonfreely transferable security is no longer a nonfreely transferable​

228.3 security.​

228.4 Sec. 3. [345A.603] EFFECT OF PAYMENT OR DELIVERY OF PROPERTY TO​

228.5 ADMINISTRATOR.​

228.6 On payment or delivery of property to the administrator under this chapter, the​

228.7 administrator, as agent for the state, assumes custody and responsibility for safekeeping the​

228.8 property. A holder that pays or delivers property to the administrator in good faith and​

228.9 substantially complies with sections 345A.501 and 345A.502 is relieved of liability which​

228.10 may arise thereafter with respect to the property so paid or delivered.​

228.11 Sec. 4. [345A.604] RECOVERY OF PROPERTY BY HOLDERS FROM​

228.12 ADMINISTRATOR.​

228.13 (a) A holder that under this chapter pays money to the administrator may file a claim​

228.14 for reimbursement from the administrator of the amount paid if the holder:​

228.15 (1) paid the money in error; or​

228.16 (2) after paying the money to the administrator, paid money to a person the holder​

228.17 reasonably believed entitled to the money.​

228.18 (b) If a claim for return of property is made, the holder shall include with the claim​

228.19 evidence sufficient to establish that the apparent owner has claimed the property from the​

228.20 holder or that the property was delivered by the holder to the administrator in error.​

228.21 Sec. 5. [345A.605] CREDITING INCOME OR GAIN TO OWNER'S ACCOUNT.​

228.22 If property other than money is delivered to the administrator, the owner is entitled to​

228.23 receive from the administrator income or gain realized or accrued on the property before​

228.24 the property is sold. If the property was interest-bearing, the administrator shall pay interest​

228.25 at the lesser of the rate of the weekly average one-year constant maturity treasury yield, as​

228.26 published by the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System, for the calendar week​

228.27 preceding the beginning of the fiscal quarter in which the property was sold or the rate the​

228.28 property earned while in the possession of the holder. Interest begins to accrue when the​

228.29 property is delivered to the administrator and ends on the earlier of the expiration of ten​

228.30 years after its delivery or the date on which payment is made to the owner.​
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229.1 Sec. 6. [345A.606] ADMINISTRATOR'S OPTIONS AS TO CUSTODY.​

229.2 (a) The administrator may decline to take custody of property reported under section​

229.3 345A.401 if the administrator determines that:​

229.4 (1) the property has a value less than the estimated expenses of notice and sale of the​

229.5 property; or​

229.6 (2) taking custody of the property would be unlawful.​

229.7 (b) A holder may pay or deliver property to the administrator before the property is​

229.8 presumed abandoned under this chapter if the holder:​

229.9 (1) sends the apparent owner of the property notice required by section 345A.501 and​

229.10 provides the administrator evidence of the holder's compliance with this paragraph;​

229.11 (2) includes with the payment or delivery a report regarding the property conforming to​

229.12 section 345A.402; and​

229.13 (3) first obtains the administrator's written consent to accept payment or delivery.​

229.14 (c) A holder's request for the administrator's consent under subsection (b)(3) must be in​

229.15 a record. If the administrator fails to respond to the request not later than 30 days after​

229.16 receipt of the request, the administrator is deemed to consent to the payment or delivery of​

229.17 the property and the payment or delivery is considered to have been made in good faith.​

229.18 (d) On payment or delivery of property under subsection (b), the property is presumed​

229.19 abandoned.​

229.20 Sec. 7. [345A.607] DISPOSITION OF PROPERTY HAVING NO SUBSTANTIAL​

229.21 VALUE; IMMUNITY FROM LIABILITY.​

229.22 (a) If the administrator takes custody of property delivered under this chapter and later​

229.23 determines that the property has no substantial commercial value or that the cost of disposing​

229.24 of the property will exceed the value of the property, the administrator may return the​

229.25 property to the holder or destroy or otherwise dispose of the property.​

229.26 (b) An action or proceeding may not be commenced against the state, an agency of the​

229.27 state, the administrator, another officer, employee, or agent of the state, or a holder for or​

229.28 because of an act of the administrator under this section, except for intentional misconduct​

229.29 or malfeasance.​
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230.1 Sec. 8. [345A.608] PERIODS OF LIMITATION AND REPOSE.​

230.2 (a) Expiration, before, on, or after the effective date of this chapter, of a period of​

230.3 limitation on an owner's right to receive or recover property, whether specified by contract,​

230.4 statute, or court order, does not prevent the property from being presumed abandoned or​

230.5 affect the duty of a holder under this chapter to file a report or pay or deliver property to​

230.6 the administrator.​

230.7 (b) An action or proceeding may not be maintained by the administrator to enforce this​

230.8 act's reporting, delivery, or payment requirements more than ten years after the holder​

230.9 specifically identified the property in a report filed with the administrator, or gave express​

230.10 notice to the administrator of a dispute regarding the property. In the absence of such a​

230.11 report or other express notice, the period of limitation is tolled. The period of limitation is​

230.12 also tolled by filing a fraudulent report.​

230.13 ARTICLE 23​

230.14 UNCLAIMED PROPERTY; SALE OF PROPERTY BY ADMINISTRATOR​

230.15 Section 1. [345A.701] PUBLIC SALE OF PROPERTY.​

230.16 (a) Subject to section 345A.702, not earlier than three years after receipt of property​

230.17 presumed abandoned, the administrator may sell the property.​

230.18 (b) Before selling property under subsection (a), the administrator shall give notice to​

230.19 the public of:​

230.20 (1) the date of the sale; and​

230.21 (2) a reasonable description of the property.​

230.22 (c) A sale under subsection (a) must be to the highest bidder:​

230.23 (1) at public sale at a location in this state which the administrator determines to be the​

230.24 most favorable market for the property;​

230.25 (2) on the Internet; or​

230.26 (3) on another forum the administrator determines is likely to yield the highest net​

230.27 proceeds of sale.​

230.28 (d) The administrator may decline the highest bid at a sale under this section and reoffer​

230.29 the property for sale if the administrator determines the highest bid is insufficient.​

230.30 (e) If a sale held under this section is to be conducted other than on the Internet, the​

230.31 administrator must publish at least one notice of the sale, at least two weeks but not more​
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231.1 than five weeks before the sale, in a newspaper of general circulation in the county in which​

231.2 the property is sold. For purposes of this subsection, the reasonable description of property​

231.3 to be sold required by subsection (b) may be satisfied by posting such information on the​

231.4 administrator's website so long as the newspaper notice includes the website address where​

231.5 such information is posted.​

231.6 Sec. 2. [345A.702] DISPOSAL OF SECURITIES.​

231.7 (a) The administrator may not sell or otherwise liquidate a security until one year after​

231.8 the administrator receives the security, unless requested to do so by the owner of the security​

231.9 in making a claim for the property.​

231.10 (b) The administrator may not sell a security listed on an established stock exchange for​

231.11 less than the price prevailing on the exchange at the time of sale. The administrator may​

231.12 sell a security not listed on an established exchange by any commercially reasonable method.​

231.13 Sec. 3. [345A.704] PURCHASER OWNS PROPERTY AFTER SALE.​

231.14 A purchaser of property at a sale conducted by the administrator under this chapter takes​

231.15 the property free of all claims of the owner, a previous holder, or a person claiming through​

231.16 the owner or holder. The administrator shall execute documents necessary to complete the​

231.17 transfer of ownership to the purchaser.​

231.18 ARTICLE 24​

231.19 UNCLAIMED PROPERTY; ADMINISTRATION OF PROPERTY​

231.20 Section 1. [345A.801] DEPOSIT OF FUNDS BY ADMINISTRATOR.​

231.21 (a) The administrator shall deposit in the general fund all funds received under this​

231.22 chapter, including proceeds from the sale of property under sections 345A.701 to 345A.704,​

231.23 except:​

231.24 (1) expenses of disposition of property delivered to the administrator under this chapter;​

231.25 (2) expenses incurred in examining records of or collecting property from a putative​

231.26 holder or holder; and​

231.27 (3) as otherwise provided in this chapter.​

231.28 Sec. 2. [345A.802] ADMINISTRATOR TO RETAIN RECORDS OF PROPERTY.​

231.29 The administrator shall:​
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232.1 (1) record and retain the name and last known address of each person shown on a report​

232.2 filed under section 345A.401 to be the apparent owner of property delivered to the​

232.3 administrator;​

232.4 (2) record and retain the name and last known address of each insured or annuitant and​

232.5 beneficiary shown on the report;​

232.6 (3) for each policy of insurance or annuity contract listed in the report of an insurance​

232.7 company, record and retain the policy or account number, the name of the company, and​

232.8 the amount due or paid; and​

232.9 (4) for each apparent owner listed in the report, record and retain the name of the holder​

232.10 that filed the report and the amount due or paid.​

232.11 ARTICLE 25​

232.12 UNCLAIMED PROPERTY; CONFIDENTIALITY AND SECURITY OF​
232.13 INFORMATION​

232.14 Section 1. [345A.901] DATA PRACTICES.​

232.15 (a) All working papers, recorded information, documents, and copies thereof produced​

232.16 by, obtained by, or disclosed to the administrator or the administrator's agent in the course​

232.17 of an examination made under this chapter are classified private or nonpublic for purposes​

232.18 of the Minnesota Government Data Practices Act, Minnesota Statutes, chapter 13, are not​

232.19 subject to subpoena, and may only be disclosed to:​

232.20 (1) the extent required or permitted by law to report upon or take special action regarding​

232.21 compliance and delivery of unclaimed property, or ordered by a court of law to testify or​

232.22 produce evidence in a civil or criminal proceeding;​

232.23 (2) another department or agency of this state or the United States;​

232.24 (3) the person that administers the unclaimed property law of another state, if the other​

232.25 state accords substantially reciprocal privileges to the administrator of this state and maintains​

232.26 the confidentiality and security of information obtained in a substantially equivalent manner;​

232.27 (4) a person subject to an examination as required by this chapter; and​

232.28 (5) the auditor or administrator of a joint examination conducted with another state, the​

232.29 United States, a foreign country or subordinate unit of a foreign country, or any other​

232.30 governmental entity if the governmental entity conducting the examination maintains the​

232.31 confidentiality and security of information in a substantially equivalent manner.​
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233.1 (b) All personal information derived or otherwise obtained by or communicated to the​

233.2 administrator or the administrator's agent from a person making a claim for personal property​

233.3 are classified private or nonpublic for purposes of the Minnesota Government Data Practices​

233.4 Act, Minnesota Statutes, chapter 13, and may not be made public by the administrator or​

233.5 the administrator's agent, except to:​

233.6 (1) the subject, or the subject's personal representative, attorney, other legal representative,​

233.7 heir, or agent designated to have the information;​

233.8 (2) the personal representative of an estate, other legal representative, agent designated​

233.9 by a deceased apparent owner, or a person entitled to inherit from a deceased apparent​

233.10 owner;​

233.11 (3) another department or agency of this state or the United States; and​

233.12 (4) the extent required or permitted by law or ordered by a court of law to testify or​

233.13 produce evidence in a civil or criminal proceeding.​

233.14 (c) Except as otherwise provided by law, the administrator shall include on its website​

233.15 or in the database required by section 345A.503(b)(2) the name of each apparent owner of​

233.16 property held by the administrator. The administrator may include in published notices,​

233.17 printed publications, telecommunications, the Internet, or other media and on the website​

233.18 or in the database additional information concerning the apparent owner's property if the​

233.19 administrator believes the information will assist in identifying and returning property to​

233.20 the owner and does not disclose personal information except the home or physical address​

233.21 of an apparent owner.​

233.22 ARTICLE 26​

233.23 UNCLAIMED PROPERTY; HEARINGS, PROCEDURE, AND JUDICIAL REVIEW​

233.24 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 345.515, is amended to read:​

233.25 345.515 AGREEMENTS TO LOCATE REPORTED PROPERTY.​

233.26 It is unlawful for a person to seek or receive from another person or contract with a​

233.27 person for a fee or compensation for locating property, knowing it to have been reported or​

233.28 paid or delivered to the commissioner pursuant to chapter 345 prior to 24 months after the​

233.29 date the property is paid or delivered to the commissioner administrator.​

233.30 No An agreement entered into after 24 months after the date the property is paid or​

233.31 delivered to the commissioner is valid only if a person thereby undertakes to locate property​

233.32 included in a report for a fee or other compensation exceeding ten percent of the value of​
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234.1 the recoverable property unless the agreement is in writing and, is signed by the owner and,​

234.2 discloses the nature and value of the property and the name and address of the holder thereof​

234.3 as such facts have been reported, and provides for compensation in an amount that is no​

234.4 more than 15 percent of the amount collected. Nothing in this section shall be construed to​

234.5 prevent an owner from asserting at any time that an agreement to locate property is based​

234.6 upon an excessive or unjust consideration.​

234.7 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 345.53, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

234.8 Subdivision 1. Commissioner's Administrator's duties. (a) The commissioner​

234.9 administrator or the administrator's agent may at reasonable times and upon reasonable​

234.10 notice examine the records of any person, including examination of appropriate records in​

234.11 the possession of an agent of the person under examination, if there is reason to believe that​

234.12 the person has failed to report property that should have been reported pursuant to sections​

234.13 345.31 to 345.60. the records are reasonably necessary to determine whether the person has​

234.14 complied with this chapter. The administrator may issue an administrative subpoena requiring​

234.15 the person or agent of the person to make records available for examination, and bring an​

234.16 action seeking judicial enforcement of the subpoena, as well as impose penalties under​

234.17 section 345.55.​

234.18 (b) The administrator may contract with a person to conduct an examination under this​

234.19 chapter. The contract shall be awarded pursuant to a request for proposals issued in​

234.20 compliance with the state procurement rules.​

234.21 (1) If the administrator contracts with a person under this subsection, the contract may​

234.22 provide for compensation of the person based on a fixed fee, hourly fee, or contingent fee.​

234.23 (2) A contract under subsection (b) is public data.​

234.24 (c) If the administrator conducts an examination under subsection (a), each person under​

234.25 examination shall pay an examination fee upon the request of the administrator and to be​

234.26 based on the salary cost of examiners or assistants, and at such an average rate per day or​

234.27 fraction thereof so as to provide for the total cost of such examinations. In no case may the​

234.28 charges exceed the value of the property found to be reportable and deliverable.​

234.29 (d) All data gathered in the course of an examination or audit of a holder or purported​

234.30 holder under this chapter is classified as private or nonpublic information under the Minnesota​

234.31 Government Data Practices Act, Minnesota Statutes, chapter 13, except as set forth in section​

234.32 (b)(2) and except that such data may be disclosed as follows:​
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235.1 (1) to the extent required or permitted by law to report upon or take special action​

235.2 regarding compliance and delivery of unclaimed property, or ordered by a court of law;​

235.3 (2) to another department or agency of this state or the United States;​

235.4 (3) to the person that administers the unclaimed property law of another state, if the​

235.5 other state accords substantially reciprocal privileges to the administrator of this state, and​

235.6 maintains the confidentiality and security of information by law or by agreement in a​

235.7 substantially equivalent manner;​

235.8 (4) to a person subject to an examination as required by this chapter; and​

235.9 (5) to the auditor or administrator of a joint examination conducted with another state,​

235.10 the United States, a foreign country or subordinate unit of a foreign country, or any other​

235.11 governmental entity if the governmental entity conducting the examination maintains the​

235.12 confidentiality and security of information by law or by agreement in a substantially​

235.13 equivalent manner.​

235.14 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 345.53, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

235.15 read:​

235.16 Subd. 3. Failure of person examined to retain records. If a person subject to​

235.17 examination under this chapter does not retain the records required by section 345A.404,​

235.18 the administrator may determine the value of property due using a reasonable method of​

235.19 estimation based on all information available to the administrator, including extrapolation​

235.20 and use of statistical sampling when appropriate and necessary. A payment made based on​

235.21 estimation under this section is a penalty for failure to maintain the records required by​

235.22 section 345A.404, and does not relieve a person from an obligation to report and deliver​

235.23 property to a state in which the holder is domiciled.​

235.24 Sec. 4. [345A.950] HEARINGS, PROCEDURE, JUDICIAL REVIEW.​

235.25 (a) Any person aggrieved by a decision of the administrator under this chapter as it​

235.26 relates to holder examinations may, within 21 days after that decision, make a written request​

235.27 to the administrator for a hearing pursuant to this article to determine whether the decision​

235.28 complies with the requirements of this chapter.​

235.29 (b) Any person aggrieved by a decision of the administrator under this chapter as it​

235.30 relates to claims of ownership of unclaimed property may, within 21 days after that decision​

235.31 or within 180 days from the filing of the claim if the administrator fails to act on a claim,​
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236.1 make a written request to the administrator for a hearing pursuant to this article to determine​

236.2 whether the decision complies with the requirements of this chapter.​

236.3 (c) At the administrator's discretion, a hearing may be based upon written submissions,​

236.4 and nothing contained in this section requires the observance of formal rules of pleading or​

236.5 evidence.​

236.6 (d) The administrator shall commence a hearing within 45 days after receipt of the​

236.7 request and shall give not less than 15 days' written notice of the hearing. Within 30 days​

236.8 after the hearing, the administrator shall affirm, reverse, or modify the previous action and​

236.9 specify the reasons for that decision in writing.​

236.10 (e) An order or decision of the administrator is a final decision subject to appeal in​

236.11 accordance with chapter 14.​

236.12 Sec. 5. REPEALER.​

236.13 Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 345.53, subdivision 2, is repealed."​

236.14 Delete the title and insert:​

236.15 "A bill for an act​

236.16 relating to economic development; appropriating money for jobs and economic​
236.17 development; establishing paid family leave insurance; modifying economic​
236.18 development programs; establishing wage theft prevention; providing for earned​
236.19 sick and safe time; modifying labor and industry policy provisions; modifying​
236.20 commerce policy provisions; adopting Unemployment Insurance Advisory Council​
236.21 provisions; modifying unemployment insurance policy; modifying Bureau of​
236.22 Mediation Services policy; establishing guidelines relating to unclaimed property;​
236.23 modifying fees; increasing civil and criminal penalties; authorizing rulemaking;​
236.24 amending Minnesota Statutes 2018, sections 13.43, subdivision 6; 13.719, by​
236.25 adding a subdivision; 15.72, subdivision 2; 16C.285, subdivision 3; 46.131,​
236.26 subdivision 11; 47.59, subdivision 2; 47.60, subdivision 2; 47.601, subdivisions​
236.27 2, 6; 53.04, subdivision 3a; 56.131, subdivision 1; 116J.8731, subdivision 5;​
236.28 116J.8748, subdivisions 4, 6; 175.46, subdivisions 3, 13; 176.1812, subdivision​
236.29 2; 176.231, subdivision 1; 177.27, subdivisions 2, 4, 7, by adding subdivisions;​
236.30 177.30; 177.32, subdivision 1; 179.86, subdivisions 1, 3; 179A.041, by adding a​
236.31 subdivision; 181.03, subdivision 1, by adding subdivisions; 181.032; 181.101;​
236.32 181.635, subdivision 2; 181.942, subdivision 1; 256J.561, by adding a subdivision;​
236.33 256J.95, subdivisions 3, 11; 256P.01, subdivision 3; 268.035, subdivisions 4, 12,​
236.34 15, 20; 268.044, subdivisions 2, 3; 268.046, subdivision 1; 268.047, subdivision​
236.35 3; 268.051, subdivision 2a; 268.057, subdivision 5; 268.069, subdivision 1; 268.07,​
236.36 subdivision 1; 268.085, subdivisions 3, 3a, 8, 13a, by adding subdivisions; 268.095,​
236.37 subdivisions 6, 6a; 268.105, subdivision 6; 268.145, subdivision 1; 268.18,​
236.38 subdivisions 2b, 5; 268.19, subdivision 1; 290.0132, by adding a subdivision;​
236.39 326B.082, subdivisions 6, 8, 12; 326B.103, subdivision 11; 326B.106, subdivision​
236.40 9; 326B.46, by adding a subdivision; 326B.475, subdivision 4; 326B.815,​
236.41 subdivision 1; 326B.821, subdivision 21; 326B.84; 327.31, by adding a subdivision;​
236.42 327B.041; 327C.095, subdivision 6, by adding a subdivision; 337.10, subdivision​
236.43 4; 345.515; 345.53, subdivision 1, by adding a subdivision; 609.52, subdivisions​
236.44 1, 2, 3; Laws 2014, chapter 211, section 13, as amended; Laws 2017, chapter 94,​
236.45 article 1, section 2, subdivision 3; proposing coding for new law in Minnesota​
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237.1 Statutes, chapters 13; 16C; 116J; 116L; 177; 181; 325F; 327; proposing coding​
237.2 for new law as Minnesota Statutes, chapters 58B; 268B; 345A; repealing Minnesota​
237.3 Statutes 2018, sections 181.9413; 325F.75; 345.53, subdivision 2."​
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