

OFFICERS

President
Marc Myer, MD, FASAM
President-Elect
Emily Brunner, MD
Immediate Past President
Gregory M. Amer, MD, FASAM
Secretary
Joan Laes, MD
Treasurer
Robert Levy, MD, FASAM

The Honorable Joe Schomacker Chair, Health and Human Services Reform Committee 509 State Office Building 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd Saint Paul, MN 55155

Re: Support for HF1440

Dear Chairman Schomacker and members of the House Health and Human Services Reform Committee,

On behalf of the Minnesota Society of Addiction Medicine (MNSAM), the state's medical specialty organization representing more than 100 physicians and other clinicians who specialize in the treatment of addiction, we would like to take this opportunity to provide support for HF1440, which would establish an opioid stewardship program with the funds collected to be appropriated to add or expand care services for individuals with opioid use disorders. With the opioid addiction and overdose epidemic significantly impacting the country and Minnesota, MNSAM appreciates the effort to expand access to high-quality, evidence-based, and comprehensive addiction treatment for patients in your state.

MNSAM is dedicated to increasing access to and improving the quality of addiction treatment for patients in Minnesota. To that end, we are committed to advocating for a state addiction treatment system that funds, provides, and expands access to all Food and Drug Administration (FDA)-approved medications to treat opioid addiction. While Congress has made important progress toward turning the tide of this epidemic with recent investments in the Comprehensive Addiction and Recovery Act, the 21<sup>st</sup> Century Cures Act, and the Excellence in Mental Health and Addiction Act, there is still a need for crucial infusion of funding into a long-overburdened addiction care system. States continue to rely on traditional sources of funding such as the Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment Block Grant and other activities funded through the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, and this has shown to still not be enough for states experiencing significant opioid addiction and overdose rates.

We support a comprehensive approach to addressing the opioid misuse and overdose epidemic, which must include full funding for programs to prevent or reverse overdoses, develop best prescribing practices, modernize prescription drug monitoring programs, and expand access to treatment and vital recovery support services. HF1440 would provide this funding, estimated at around \$20 million, which can vastly help Minnesota prioritize high-impact substance use disorder programs and ensure such additional funding supports only the delivery of nationally-recognized, research-validated, and evidence-based education, practices, and programs. This will make a significant impact on individuals, families, and communities amid the opioid addiction and overdose epidemic. These funds are critical to addressing a crisis which is taking 120 American lives, including Minnesotans, every day.

MNSAM shares the state of Minnesota's goal of providing funding to expand access to high-quality, evidence-based, and comprehensive addiction treatment services. We offer our support for HF1440 and

recommend this committee favorably report it. Please do not hesitate to contact Dr. Marc Myer, at <a href="MMyer@hazeldenbettyford.org">MMyer@hazeldenbettyford.org</a>, if MNSAM can be of any service to you. We look forward to working with you.

Sincerely,

Marc Myer, MD, FASAM

President, Minnesota Society of Addiction Medicine

Gavin Bart, MD, PhD, FACP, DFASAM

Region VI Director, American Society of Addiction Medicine

## CC:

The Honorable Glenn Gruenhagen, Vice Chair

The Honorable Tina Liebling, DFL Lead

The Honorable Tony Albright

The Honorable Susan Allen

The Honorable Dave Baker

The Honorable Matt Dean

The Honorable Peggy Flanagan

The Honorable Mary Franson

The Honorable Mike Freiberg

The Honorable Laurie Halverson

The Honorable Debra Kiel

The Honorable Erin Koegel

The Honorable Ron Kresha

The Honorable Kathy Lohmer

The Honorable Joe McDonald

The Honorable Rena Moran

The Honorable Jeremy Munson

The Honorable Liz Olson

The Honorable Roz Peterson

The Honorable Duane Quam

The Honorable Julie Sandstede

The Honorable Tama Theis

The Honorable Rod Hamilton

The Honorable John Poston

The Honorable Leon Lillie

The Honorable Dennis Smith

The Honorable Keith Franke