## Human Services Finance and Policy Committee

#### **MINUTES**

Chair Schomacker called the meeting to order at 8:15AM on April 2, 2025, in Room 123 of the Capitol Building. A quorum was present.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members present:

SCHOMACKER, Joe Chair GILLMAN, Dawn Vice Chair

NOOR, Mohamud

KEELER, Heather

BACKER, Jeff

CURRAN, Brion

FISCHER, Peter

FRANSON, Mary

FREDERICK, Luke

GANDER, Steve

GORDON, Jimmy

HICKS, Kim

JACOB, Steve

**KNUDSEN Krista** 

MOMANYI-HILTSLEY, Huldah

MURPHY, Tom

NORRIS, Matt

VIRNIG, Bianca

A quorum was present.

Representative Gordon moved the minutes of April 1, 2025, be approved. **THE MOTION PREVAILED.** 

HF 2963 (P.E. Anderson) – Office of Inspector General established, powers and duties provided, enhanced grant oversight provided, retaliation prohibited, existing executive Offices of Inspector General transferred or repealed, detection and prevention of fraud provided, penalties provided, and money appropriated.

Chair Schomacker moved HF 2963 before the committee.

Chair Schomacker moved to adopt the DE1 amendment. **THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.** 

Chair Schomacker laid over HF 2963 as amended.

HF 2040 (Nadeau) – Commissioner of human services directed to provide updates and seek federal approval for children's mental health projects, gaps in children's residential facilities funded, crisis stabilization facility established, legislative task force established, and money appropriated.

Chair Schomacker moved HF 2040 before the committee.

Chair Schomacker moved to adopt the A4 amendment. **THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.** 

**Testifiers:** 

Jeffrey Lunde, Hennepin County Commissioner Suwana Kirkland, Community Corrections Director, Dakota County Suzanne Arntson, Health and Human Services Deputy Director, Scott County

Chair Schomacker laid over HF 2040 as amended.

# HF 2416 (Nadeau) – County cost of care provisions modified, required admission timelines modified, report required, and money appropriated.

Chair Schomacker moved HF 2416 before the committee.

#### **Testifiers:**

Tarryl Clark, Stearns County Commissioner

Angela Youngerberg, Blue Earth County Human Services Director of Business Operations

County Attorney Kevin Magnuson, Washington County Attorney, Minnesota County Attorney's Association

Sheriff Bryan Welk, Cass County Sheriff, Minnesota Sheriff's Association

Chair Schomacker laid over HF 2416.

# HF 1502 (Reyer) – Presumptive disability determination process established for medical assistance eligibility.

Chair Schomacker moved HF 1502 before the committee.

## **Testifiers:**

Dr. Paul Orchard, Medical Director of the Inherited Metabolic and Storage Disease Program and a Professor in the Department of Pediatrics, Division of Blood and Marrow Transplant & Cellular Therapy at Children's Masonic

Erica Barnes, Executive Director of the Minnesota Rare Disease Council

Chair Schomacker laid over HF 1502.

# HF 2421 (Noor) – Council on direct support professionals established, report required, and money appropriated.

Representative Noor moved HF 2421 before the committee.

## **Testifiers:**

Jesse Bethke Gomez

Chair Schomacker laid over HF 2421.

# HF 2212 (Fischer) – Senior nutrition programs funding provided, and money appropriated.

Representative Fischer moved HF 2212 before the committee.

## **Testifiers:**

Jason Swanson, Executive Director, Minnesota River Area Agency on Aging

Chair Schomacker laid over HF 2212.

HF 1914 (Curran) – Emergency service grant funding provided for innovative homelessness response grants, innovative homelessness response grants, and provider capacity building, and money appropriated.

Representative Curran moved HF 1914 before the committee.

Representative Curran moved to adopt the A1 amendment. **THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.** 

## **Testifiers:**

Rena Moran, Ramsey County Commissioner Reed Olson, Executive Director of the Nameless Coalition for the Homeless Rico Morales

Chair Schomacker laid over HF 1914 as amended.

Vice Chair Gillman assumed the Gavel at 9:43AM.

HF 2799 (Schomacker) – Minnesota Age in Place Network funding provided, and money appropriated.

Chair Schomacker moved HF 2799 before the committee.

## **Testifiers:**

Patrick Lund, Executive Director, Age Well at Home

Vice Chair Gillman laid over HF 2799.

HF 2647 (Schomacker) - Changes made to assisted living facilities and services.

Chair Schomacker moved HF 2647 before the committee.

Chair Schomacker moved to adopt the DE1 amendment. **THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.** 

## **Testifiers:**

Nicole Mattson, LTC Imperative Erin Huppert, LTC Imperative Parichay Rudina, Legislative Specialist Office of Ombudsman for Long-Term Care

Vice Chair Gillman laid over HF 2647 as amended.

HF 2646 (Schomacker) – Governor's Council on an Age Friendly Minnesota converted into the Age-Friendly Minnesota Council, existing grants codified, and money appropriated

Chair Schomacker moved HF 2646 before the committee.

### **Testifiers:**

Sherrie Pugh, Chair of the Age-Friendly Minnesota Council

Vice Chair Gillman Laid over HF 2646.

The meeting was adjourned at 10:02AM.

Representative Joe Schomacker, Chair

Joseph Fruehauf, Committee Legislative Assistant