69.12	ARTICLE 6
69.13	STATE BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY
69.14	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 326A.01, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
69.15	Subd. 2. Attest. "Attest" means providing any of the following services:
69.16 69.17	(1) an audit or other engagement performed in accordance with the Statements on Auditing Standards (SAS);
69.18 69.19	(2) an audit or other engagement performed in accordance with the Generally Accepted Government Auditing Standards (GAGAS);
69.20 69.21	(3) a review of a financial statement performed in accordance with the Statements on Standards for Accounting and Review Services (SSARS);
69.22 69.23	(3) (4) an examination of prospective financial information performed in accordance with the Statements on Standards for Attestation Engagements (SSAE);
69.24 69.25	(4) (5) an engagement performed in accordance with the standards of the Public Company Accounting Oversight Board (PCAOB); and
69.26 69.27	(5) (6) an examination, review, or agreed-upon procedures engagement performed in accordance with SSAE, other than an examination described in clause (3).
69.28	Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 326A.04, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
69.29 69.30 70.1 70.2 70.3 70.4 70.5 70.6 70.7 70.8 70.9	Subd. 4. Program of learning. Each licensee shall participate in a program of learning designed to maintain professional competency. The program of learning must comply with rules adopted by the board. The board may by rule create an exception to this requirement for licensees who do not perform or offer to perform for the public one or more kinds of services involving the use of accounting or auditing skills, including issuance of reports on financial statements or of one or more kinds of: attest or compilation engagements, management advisory services, financial advisory services, or consulting services, or the preparation of tax returns or the furnishing of advice on tax matters. A licensee granted such an exception by the board must place the word "inactive" or "retired," if applicable, adjacent to the CPA title on any business card, letterhead, or any other document or device, with the exception of the licensee's certificate on which the CPA title appears.
70.10	Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 326A.04, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
70.11 70.12 70.13	Subd. 5. Fee. (a) The board shall charge a fee for each application for initial issuance or renewal of a certificate or temporary military certificate under this section as provided in paragraph (b). The fee for the temporary military certificate is \$100.
70.14	(b) The board shall charge the following fees:

70.15 (1) initial issuance of certificate, \$150;

62.1 Sec. 60. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 326A.01, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

House Language UES2227-1

- 62.2 Subd. 2. Attest. "Attest" means providing any of the following services:
- 62.3 (1) an audit or other engagement performed in accordance with the Statements on62.4 Auditing Standards (SAS);
- 62.5 (2) an audit or other engagement performed in accordance with the Generally Accepted62.6 Government Auditing Standards (GAGAS);
- 62.7 (3) a review of a financial statement performed in accordance with the Statements on
 62.8 Standards for Accounting and Review Services (SSARS);
- $\begin{array}{ll} 62.9 & (3) (4) \\ 62.10 & \text{with the Statements on Standards for Attestation Engagements (SSAE);} \end{array}$
- 62.11 (4) (5) an engagement performed in accordance with the standards of the Public Company 62.12 Accounting Oversight Board (PCAOB); and
- 62.13 (5) (6) an examination, review, or agreed-upon procedures engagement performed in 62.14 accordance with SSAE, other than an examination described in clause (3).
- 62.15 Sec. 61. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 326A.04, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
- 62.16 Subd. 4. **Program of learning.** Each licensee shall participate in a program of learning
- 62.17 designed to maintain professional competency. The program of learning must comply with
- 62.18 rules adopted by the board. The board may by rule create an exception to this requirement
- 62.19 for licensees who do not perform or offer to perform for the public one or more kinds of
- 62.20 services involving the use of accounting or auditing skills, including issuance of reports on
- 62.21 financial statements or of one or more kinds of: attest or compilation engagements,
- 62.22 management advisory services, financial advisory services, or consulting services, or the
- 62.23 preparation of tax returns or the furnishing of advice on tax matters. A licensee granted such
- 62.24 an exception by the board must place the word "inactive" or "retired," if applicable, adjacent
- 62.25 to the CPA title on any business card, letterhead, or any other document or device, with the
- 62.26 exception of the licensee's certificate on which the CPA title appears.
- 62.27 Sec. 62. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 326A.04, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
- 62.28 Subd. 5. Fee. (a) The board shall charge a fee for each application for initial issuance
- 62.29 or renewal of a certificate or temporary military certificate under this section as provided
- 62.30 in paragraph (b). The fee for the temporary military certificate is \$100.
- 62.31 (b) The board shall charge the following fees:
- 63.1 (1) initial issuance of certificate, \$150;

63.2

63.3

63.4

70.16	(2) renewal of certificate with an active status, \$100 per year;
70.17	(3) initial CPA firm permits, except for sole practitioners, \$100;
70.18 70.19	(4) renewal of CPA firm permits, except for sole practitioners and those firms specified in clause $(17)(16)$, \$35 per year;
70.20 70.21	(5) initial issuance and renewal of CPA firm permits for sole practitioners, except for those firms specified in clause $\frac{(17)}{(16)}$, \$35 per year;
70.22 70.23	(6) annual late processing delinquency fee for permit, certificate, or registration renewal applications not received prior to expiration date, \$50;
70.24	(7) copies of records, per page, 25 cents;
70.25 70.26	(8) registration of noncertificate holders, nonlicensees, and nonregistrants in connection with renewal of firm permits, \$45 per year;
70.27	(9) applications for reinstatement, \$20;
70.28	(10) initial registration of a registered accounting practitioner, \$50;
70.29	(11) initial registered accounting practitioner firm permits, \$100;
70.30 70.31	(12) renewal of registered accounting practitioner firm permits, except for sole practitioners, \$100 per year;
71.1 71.2	(13) renewal of registered accounting practitioner firm permits for sole practitioners, \$35 per year;
71.3	(14) CPA examination application, \$40;
71.4	(15)(14) CPA examination, fee determined by third-party examination administrator;
71.5	$\frac{(16)(15)}{(15)}$ renewal of certificates with an inactive status, \$25 per year; and
71.6 71.7	$\frac{(17)}{(16)}$ renewal of CPA firm permits for firms that have one or more offices located in another state, \$68 per year; and
71.8	(17) temporary military certificate, \$100.
71.9	Sec. 4. [326A.045] RETIRED STATUS.
71.10 71.11	Subdivision 1. Retired status requirements. The board shall grant retired status to a person who meets the following criteria:
71.12	(1) is age 55 or older;
71.13 71.14	(2) holds a current active license to practice public accounting under this chapter with a license status of active, inactive, or exempt under Minnesota Rules, part 1105.3700;

63.5	in clause (17) (16), \$35 per year;
63.6 63.7	(5) initial issuance and renewal of CPA firm permits for sole practitioners, except for those firms specified in clause $\frac{(17)}{(16)}$, \$35 per year;
63.8 63.9	(6) annual late processing delinquency fee for permit, certificate, or registration renewal applications not received prior to expiration date, \$50;
63.10	(7) copies of records, per page, 25 cents;
63.11 63.12	(8) registration of noncertificate holders, nonlicensees, and nonregistrants in connection with renewal of firm permits, \$45 per year;
63.13	(9) applications for reinstatement, \$20;
63.14	(10) initial registration of a registered accounting practitioner, \$50;
63.15	(11) initial registered accounting practitioner firm permits, \$100;
63.16 63.17	(12) renewal of registered accounting practitioner firm permits, except for sole practitioners, \$100 per year;
63.18 63.19	(13) renewal of registered accounting practitioner firm permits for sole practitioners, \$35 per year;
63.20	(14) CPA examination application, \$40;
63.21	(15)(14) CPA examination, fee determined by third-party examination administrator;
63.22	(16) (15) renewal of certificates with an inactive status, \$25 per year; and
63.23 63.24	$\frac{(17)}{(16)}$ renewal of CPA firm permits for firms that have one or more offices located in another state, \$68 per year; and
63.25	(17) temporary military certificate, \$100.
63.26	Sec. 63. [326A.045] RETIRED STATUS.
63.27 63.28	Subdivision 1. Retired status requirements. The board shall grant retired status to a person who meets the following criteria:
63.29	(1) is age 55 or older;
64.1 64.2	(2) holds a current active license to practice public accounting under this chapter with a license status of active, inactive, or exempt under Minnesota Rules, part 1105.3700;

House Language UES2227-1

(2) renewal of certificate with an active status, \$100 per year;

(3) initial CPA firm permits, except for sole practitioners, \$100;

(4) renewal of CPA firm permits, except for sole practitioners and those firms specified

71.15	(3) declares that he or she is not practicing public accounting in any jurisdiction;
71.16 71.17	(4) was in good standing with the board at the time the person last held a license under this chapter; and
71.18	(5) submits an application for retired status on a form provided by the board.
71.19 71.20 71.21	Subd. 2. Retired status effect. Retired status is an honorific status. Retired status is not a license to engage in the practice of public accounting. A person granted retired status shall not perform or offer to perform services for which a license under this chapter is required.
71.22 71.23	Subd. 3. Documentation of status. The board shall provide to a person granted retired status a document stating that retired status has been granted.
71.24 71.25 71.26 71.27	Subd. 4. Representation to the public. A person granted retired status may represent themselves as "Certified Public Accountant - Retired," "CPA - Retired," "Retired Certified Public Accountant," or "Retired CPA," but shall not represent themselves or allow themselves to be represented to the public as a current licensee of the board.
71.28 71.29 71.30	Subd. 5. Continuing education not required. A person is not required to comply with continuing education requirements in section 326A.04, subdivision 4, to acquire or maintain retired status.
72.1 72.2	Subd. 6. Renewal not required. A person granted retired status is not required to renew their registration or pay renewal fees to maintain retired status.
72.3 72.4 72.5	Subd. 7. Change to active or inactive status. The board shall change a license status from retired to active or inactive, if a person with retired status requests a status change and meets requirements for reactivitation prescribed by rule.
72.6	Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 326A.08, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
72.7 72.8 72.9 72.10 72.11 72.12 72.13 72.14 72.15	Subd. 4. Cease and desist orders. (a) The board, or the complaint committee if authorized by the board, may issue and have served upon a certificate holder, a permit holder, a registration holder, a person with practice privileges granted under section 326A.14, a person who has previously been subject to a disciplinary order by the board, or an unlicensed firm or person an order requiring the person or firm to cease and desist from the act or practice constituting a violation of the statute, rule, or order. The order must be calculated to give reasonable notice of the rights of the person or firm to request a hearing and must state the reasons for the entry of the order. No order may be issued until an investigation of the facts has been conducted pursuant to section 214.10.
72.16 72.17 72.18 72.19 72.20 72.21	(b) Service of the order is effective when the order is served on the person, firm, or counsel of record personally, or by certified mail to the most recent address provided to the board for the person, firm, or counsel of record. may be by first class United States mail, including certified United States mail, or overnight express mail service, postage prepaid and addressed to the party at the party's last known address. Service by United States mail, including certified mail, is complete upon placing the order in the mail or otherwise delivering

64.3	(3) declares that he or she is not practicing public accounting in any jurisdiction;
64.4	(4) was in good standing with the board at the time the person last held a license under
64.5	this chapter; and
64.6	(5) submits an application for retired status on a form provided by the board.
64.7	Subd. 2. Retired status effect. Retired status is an honorific status. Retired status is not
64.8	a license to engage in the practice of public accounting. A person granted retired status shall
64.9	not perform or offer to perform services for which a license under this chapter is required.
64.10 64.11	Subd. 3. Documentation of status. The board shall provide to a person granted retired status a document stating that retired status has been granted.
64.12	Subd. 4. Representation to the public. A person granted retired status may represent
64.13	themselves as "Certified Public Accountant - Retired," "CPA - Retired," "Retired Certified
64.14	Public Accountant," or "Retired CPA," but shall not represent themselves or allow themselves
64.15	to be represented to the public as a current licensee of the board.
64.16	Subd. 5. Continuing education not required. A person is not required to comply with
64.17	the continuing education requirements in section 326A.04, subdivision 4, to acquire or
64.18	maintain retired status.
64.19	Subd. 6. Renewal not required. A person granted retired status is not required to renew
64.20	the person's registration or pay renewal fees to maintain retired status.
64.21	Subd. 7. Change to active or inactive status. The board shall change a license status
64.22	from retired to active or inactive if a person with retired status requests a status change and
64.23	meets requirements for reactivation prescribed by rule.
64.24	Sec. 64. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 326A.08, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
64.25	Subd. 4. Cease and desist orders. (a) The board, or the complaint committee if
64.26	authorized by the board, may issue and have served upon a certificate holder, a permit
64.27	holder, a registration holder, a person with practice privileges granted under section 326A.14,
64.28	a person who has previously been subject to a disciplinary order by the board, or an
64.29	unlicensed firm or person an order requiring the person or firm to cease and desist from the
64.30	act or practice constituting a violation of the statute, rule, or order. The order must be
64.31	calculated to give reasonable notice of the rights of the person or firm to request a hearing
65.1	and must state the reasons for the entry of the order. No order may be issued until an investigation of the foot has been conducted purposent to continue 214.10
65.2	investigation of the facts has been conducted pursuant to section 214.10.
65.3	(b) Service of the order is effective when the order is served on the person, firm, or
65.4	counsel of record personally, or by certified mail to the most recent address provided to the
65.5	board for the person, firm, or counsel of record. may be by first class United States mail,
65.6	including certified United States mail, or overnight express mail service, postage prepaid
65.7	and addressed to the party at the party's last known address. Service by United States mail,
65.8	including certified mail, is complete upon placing the order in the mail or otherwise delivering

House Language UES2227-1

- the order to the United States mail service. Service by overnight express mail service is 72.22 65.9 complete upon delivering the order to an authorized agent of the express mail service. 72.23 65.10 72.24 (c) Unless otherwise agreed by the board, or the complaint committee if authorized by 65.11 the board, and the person or firm requesting the hearing, the hearing must be held no later 72.25 65.12 than 30 days after the request for the hearing is received by the board. 65.13 72.26 (d) The administrative law judge shall issue a report within 30 days of the close of the 72.27 65.14 contested case hearing record, notwithstanding Minnesota Rules, part 1400.8100, subpart 72.28 65.15 3. Within 30 days after receiving the report and any exceptions to it, the board shall issue 72.29 65.16 a further order vacating, modifying, or making permanent the cease and desist orders as the 72.30 65.17 72.31 facts require. 65.18 facts require. 72.32 (e) If no hearing is requested within 30 days of service of the order, the order becomes 65.19 72.33 final and remains in effect until it is modified or vacated by the board. 65.20 (f) If the person or firm to whom a cease and desist order is issued fails to appear at the 73.1 65.21 73.2 hearing after being duly notified, the person or firm is in default and the proceeding may 65.22 be determined against that person or firm upon consideration of the cease and desist order, 73.3 65.23 the allegations of which may be considered to be true. 73.4 65.24 73.5 (g) In lieu of or in addition to the order provided in paragraph (a), the board may require 65.25 the person or firm to provide to the board a true and complete list of the person's or firm's 73.6 65.26 clientele so that they can, if deemed necessary, be notified of the board's action. Failure to 73.7 65.27 do so, or to provide an incomplete or inaccurate list, is an act discreditable. 73.8 65.28 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 326A.08, subdivision 5, is amended to read: 73.9 65.29 73.10 Subd. 5. Actions against persons or firms. (a) The board may, by order, deny, refuse 65.30 to renew, suspend, temporarily suspend, or revoke the application, or practice privileges, 73.11 65.31 registration or certificate of a person or firm; censure or reprimand the person or firm; 73.12 65.32 prohibit the person or firm from preparing tax returns or reporting on financial statements; 73.13 65.33 73.14 limit the scope of practice of any licensee; limit privileges under section 326A.14; refuse 66.1 to permit a person to sit for examination; or refuse to release the person's examination grades 73.15 66.2 if the board finds that the order is in the public interest and that, based on a preponderance 73.16 66.3 of the evidence presented, the person or firm: 73.17 66.4 73.18 (1) has violated a statute, rule, or order that the board has issued or is empowered to 66.5 73.19 enforce: enforce: 66.6 (2) has engaged in conduct or acts that are fraudulent, deceptive, or dishonest whether 73.20 66.7 or not the conduct or acts relate to performing or offering to perform professional services. 73.21 66.8 providing that the fraudulent, deceptive, or dishonest conduct or acts reflect adversely on 73.22 66.9 73.23 the person's or firm's ability or fitness to provide professional services; 66.10 (3) has engaged in conduct or acts that are negligent or otherwise in violation of the 73.24 66.11 standards established by board rule, where the conduct or acts relate to providing professional 73.25 66.12 services, including in the filing or failure to file the licensee's income tax returns; 73.26 66.13 PAGE R4-A6
 - the order to the United States mail service. Service by overnight express mail service is
 - complete upon delivering the order to an authorized agent of the express mail service.
 - 65.11 (c) Unless otherwise agreed by the board, or the complaint committee if authorized by
 - 65.12 the board, and the person or firm requesting the hearing, the hearing must be held no later
 - 65.13 than 30 days after the request for the hearing is received by the board.
 - (d) The administrative law judge shall issue a report within 30 days of the close of the
 - 65.15 contested case hearing record, notwithstanding Minnesota Rules, part 1400.8100, subpart
 - 65.16 3. Within 30 days after receiving the report and any exceptions to it, the board shall issue
 - 65.17 a further order vacating, modifying, or making permanent the cease and desist orders as the 65.18 facts require.
 - (e) If no hearing is requested within 30 days of service of the order, the order becomesfinal and remains in effect until it is modified or vacated by the board.
 - 65.21 (f) If the person or firm to whom a cease and desist order is issued fails to appear at the
 - 65.22 hearing after being duly notified, the person or firm is in default and the proceeding may
 - 65.23 be determined against that person or firm upon consideration of the cease and desist order,
 - 65.24 the allegations of which may be considered to be true.
 - (g) In lieu of or in addition to the order provided in paragraph (a), the board may require
 - 65.26 the person or firm to provide to the board a true and complete list of the person's or firm's
 - 65.27 clientele so that they can, if deemed necessary, be notified of the board's action. Failure to
 - 65.28 do so, or to provide an incomplete or inaccurate list, is an act discreditable.
 - 65.29 Sec. 65. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 326A.08, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
 - 55.30 Subd. 5. Actions against persons or firms. (a) The board may, by order, deny, refuse
 - 65.31 to renew, suspend, temporarily suspend, or revoke the application, or practice privileges,
 - 65.32 registration or certificate of a person or firm; censure or reprimand the person or firm;
 - 65.33 prohibit the person or firm from preparing tax returns or reporting on financial statements;
 - 66.1 limit the scope of practice of any licensee; limit privileges under section 326A.14; refuse
 - 66.2 to permit a person to sit for examination; or refuse to release the person's examination grades
 - if the board finds that the order is in the public interest and that, based on a preponderance
 - 66.4 of the evidence presented, the person or firm:

(1) has violated a statute, rule, or order that the board has issued or is empowered to enforce;

(2) has engaged in conduct or acts that are fraudulent, deceptive, or dishonest whether

- 66.8 or not the conduct or acts relate to performing or offering to perform professional services,
- 66.9 providing that the fraudulent, deceptive, or dishonest conduct or acts reflect adversely on
- 66.10 the person's or firm's ability or fitness to provide professional services;
- 6.11 (3) has engaged in conduct or acts that are negligent or otherwise in violation of the
- 66.12 standards established by board rule, where the conduct or acts relate to providing professional
- 66.13 services, including in the filing or failure to file the licensee's income tax returns;

66.14

66.16

73.27	(4) has been convicted of, has pled guilty or nolo contendere to, or has been sentenced
73.28	as a result of the commission of a felony or crime, an element of which is dishonesty or

- 73.29 fraud; has been shown to have or admitted to having engaged in acts or practices tending
- 73.30 to show that the person or firm is incompetent; or has engaged in conduct reflecting adversely
- 73.31 on the person's or firm's ability or fitness to provide professional services, whether or not
- 73.32 a conviction was obtained or a plea was entered or withheld and whether or not dishonesty
- 73.33 or fraud was an element of the conduct;

(5) employed fraud or deception in obtaining a certificate, permit, registration, practiceprivileges, renewal, or reinstatement or in passing all or a portion of the examination;

74.3 (6) has had the person's or firm's permit, registration, practice privileges, certificate,

74.4 right to examine, or other similar authority revoked, suspended, canceled, limited, or not

74.5 renewed for cause, or has committed unprofessional acts for which the person or firm was

- 74.6 otherwise disciplined or sanctioned, including, but not limited to, being ordered to or agreeing
- 74.7 to cease and desist from prescribed conduct, in any state or any foreign country;

74.8 (7) has had the person's or firm's right to practice before any federal, state, other

- 74.9 government agency, or Public Company Accounting Oversight Board revoked, suspended,
- 74.10 canceled, limited, or not renewed for cause, or has committed unprofessional acts for which
- 74.11 the person or firm was otherwise disciplined or sanctioned, including, but not limited to,
- 74.12 being ordered to or agreeing to cease and desist from prescribed conduct;

(8) failed to meet any requirement for the issuance or renewal of the person's or firm'scertificate, registration or permit, or for practice privileges;

74.15 (9) with respect to temporary suspension orders, has committed an act, engaged in 74.16 conduct, or committed practices that may result or may have resulted, in the opinion of the 74.17 board or the complaint committee if authorized by the board, in an immediate threat to the

74.18 public;

(10) has engaged in any conduct reflecting adversely upon the person's or firm's fitness
 to perform services while a licensee, individual granted privileges under section 326A.14,

74.21 or a person registered under section 326A.06, paragraph (b); or

(11) has, prior to a voluntary surrender of a certificate or permit to the board, engaged
in conduct which at any time resulted in the discipline or sanction described in clause (6)
or (7).

74.25 (b) In lieu of or in addition to any remedy provided in paragraph (a), the board, or the

- 74.26 complaint committee if authorized by the board, may require, as a condition of continued
- 74.27 possession of a certificate, a registration, or practice privileges, termination of suspension,
- reinstatement of permit, registration of a person or firm or of practice privileges under
- 74.29 section 326A.14, a certificate, an examination, or release of examination grades, that the 74.30 person or firm:

66.17 to show that the person or firm is incompetent; or has engaged in conduct reflecting adversely
66.18 on the person's or firm's ability or fitness to provide professional services, whether or not
66.19 a conviction was obtained or a plea was entered or withheld and whether or not dishonesty

66.15 as a result of the commission of a felony or crime, an element of which is dishonesty or

66.20 or fraud was an element of the conduct;

66.21 (5) employed fraud or deception in obtaining a certificate, permit, registration, practice

fraud; has been shown to have or admitted to having engaged in acts or practices tending

(4) has been convicted of, has pled guilty or nolo contendere to, or has been sentenced

- 66.22 privileges, renewal, or reinstatement or in passing all or a portion of the examination;
- 66.23 (6) has had the person's or firm's permit, registration, practice privileges, certificate,
- 66.24 right to examine, or other similar authority revoked, suspended, canceled, limited, or not
- 66.25 renewed for cause, or has committed unprofessional acts for which the person or firm was
- 66.26 otherwise disciplined or sanctioned, including, but not limited to, being ordered to or agreeing
- 66.27 to cease and desist from prescribed conduct, in any state or any foreign country;
- 66.28 (7) has had the person's or firm's right to practice before any federal, state, other
- 66.29 government agency, or Public Company Accounting Oversight Board revoked, suspended,
- 66.30 canceled, limited, or not renewed for cause, or has committed unprofessional acts for which
- 66.31 the person or firm was otherwise disciplined or sanctioned, including, but not limited to,
- 66.32 being ordered to or agreeing to cease and desist from prescribed conduct;
- 67.1 (8) failed to meet any requirement for the issuance or renewal of the person's or firm's
- 67.2 certificate, registration or permit, or for practice privileges;
- 67.3 (9) with respect to temporary suspension orders, has committed an act, engaged in
- 67.4 conduct, or committed practices that may result or may have resulted, in the opinion of the
- 67.5 board or the complaint committee if authorized by the board, in an immediate threat to the
- 67.6 public;
- 67.7 (10) has engaged in any conduct reflecting adversely upon the person's or firm's fitness
- 67.8 to perform services while a licensee, individual granted privileges under section 326A.14,
- 67.9 or a person registered under section 326A.06, paragraph (b); or
- 67.10 (11) has, prior to a voluntary surrender of a certificate or permit to the board, engaged
- 67.11 in conduct which at any time resulted in the discipline or sanction described in clause (6) 67.12 or (7).
- (b) In lieu of or in addition to any remedy provided in paragraph (a), the board, or the
- 67.14 complaint committee if authorized by the board, may require, as a condition of continued
- 67.15 possession of a certificate, a registration, or practice privileges, termination of suspension,
- 67.16 reinstatement of permit, registration of a person or firm or of practice privileges under
- 67.17 section 326A.14, a certificate, an examination, or release of examination grades, that the 67.18 person or firm:

conducted in a fashion and by persons, entity, or entities as required by the board; and 74.32 75.1 (2) complete to the satisfaction of the board continuing professional education courses specified by the board. 75.2 75.3 (c) Service of the order is effective if the order is served on the person, firm, or eounsel of record personally or by certified mail to the most recent address provided to the board 75.4 for the person, firm, or counsel of record, may be by first class United States mail, including 75.5 certified United States mail, or overnight express mail service, postage prepaid and addressed 75.6 75.7 to the party at the party's last known address. Service by United States mail, including certified mail, is complete upon placing the order in the mail or otherwise delivering the 75.8 order to the United States mail service. Service by overnight express mail service is complete 75.9 upon delivering the order to an authorized agent of the express mail service. The order shall 75.10 state the reasons for the entry of the order. 75.11 75.12 (d) All hearings required by this subdivision must be conducted in accordance with chapter 14 except with respect to temporary suspension orders as provided for in subdivision 75.13 75.14 6. (e) In addition to the remedies authorized by this subdivision, the board, or the complaint 75.15

(1) submit to a peer review of the person's or firm's ability, skills, or quality of work,

committee if authorized by the board, may enter into an agreement with the person or firm 75.16

- for corrective action and may unilaterally issue a warning to a person or firm. 75.17
- (f) The board shall not use agreements for corrective action or warnings in any situation 75.18

where the person or firm has been convicted of or pled guilty or nolo contendere to a felony 75.19

- or crime and the felony or crime is the basis of the board's action against the person or firm, 75.20
- where the conduct of the person or firm indicates a pattern of related violations of paragraph 75.21
- (a) or the rules of the board, or where the board concludes that the conduct of the person or 75.22
- firm will not be deterred other than by disciplinary action under this subdivision or 75.23
- 75.24 subdivision 4 or 6.

74.31

75.25 (g) Agreements for corrective action may be used by the board, or the complaint

committee if authorized by the board, where the violation committed by the person or firm 75.26

- does not warrant disciplinary action pursuant to this subdivision or subdivision 4 or 6, but 75.27
- where the board, or the complaint committee if authorized by the board, determines that 75.28
- corrective action is required to prevent further such violations and to otherwise protect the 75.29
- 75.30 public. Warnings may be used by the board, or the complaint committee if authorized by
- the board, where the violation of the person or firm is de minimus, does not warrant 75.31
- disciplinary action under this subdivision or subdivision 4 or 6, and does not require 75.32
- 75.33 corrective action to protect the public.
- (h) Agreements for corrective action must not be considered disciplinary action against 76.1
- the person's or firm's application, permit, registration or certificate, or practice privileges 76.2
- under section 326A.14. However, agreements for corrective action are public data. Warnings 76.3

67.19 (1) submit to a peer review of the person's or firm's ability, skills, or quality of work, conducted in a fashion and by persons, entity, or entities as required by the board; and 67.20 67.21 (2) complete to the satisfaction of the board continuing professional education courses specified by the board. 67.22 (c) Service of the order is effective if the order is served on the person, firm, or eounsel 67.23 of record personally or by certified mail to the most recent address provided to the board 67.24 for the person, firm, or counsel of record, may be by first class United States mail, including 67.25 certified United States mail, or overnight express mail service, postage prepaid and addressed 67.26 67.27 to the party at the party's last known address. Service by United States mail, including certified mail, is complete upon placing the order in the mail or otherwise delivering the 67.28 order to the United States mail service. Service by overnight express mail service is complete 67.29 upon delivering the order to an authorized agent of the express mail service. The order shall 67.30 67.31 state the reasons for the entry of the order. 68.1 (d) All hearings required by this subdivision must be conducted in accordance with chapter 14 except with respect to temporary suspension orders as provided for in subdivision 68.2 68.3 6. (e) In addition to the remedies authorized by this subdivision, the board, or the complaint 68.4 committee if authorized by the board, may enter into an agreement with the person or firm 68.5 for corrective action and may unilaterally issue a warning to a person or firm. 68.6 (f) The board shall not use agreements for corrective action or warnings in any situation 68.7 where the person or firm has been convicted of or pled guilty or nolo contendere to a felony 68.8 or crime and the felony or crime is the basis of the board's action against the person or firm, 68.9 where the conduct of the person or firm indicates a pattern of related violations of paragraph 68.10 (a) or the rules of the board, or where the board concludes that the conduct of the person or 68.11 firm will not be deterred other than by disciplinary action under this subdivision or 68.12 68.13 subdivision 4 or 6. 68.14 (g) Agreements for corrective action may be used by the board, or the complaint

- 68.15 committee if authorized by the board, where the violation committed by the person or firm
- does not warrant disciplinary action pursuant to this subdivision or subdivision 4 or 6, but 68.16 where the board, or the complaint committee if authorized by the board, determines that
- 68.17 corrective action is required to prevent further such violations and to otherwise protect the 68.18
- public. Warnings may be used by the board, or the complaint committee if authorized by
- 68.19
- the board, where the violation of the person or firm is de minimus, does not warrant 68.20
- disciplinary action under this subdivision or subdivision 4 or 6, and does not require 68.21
- corrective action to protect the public. 68.22
- (h) Agreements for corrective action must not be considered disciplinary action against 68.23
- the person's or firm's application, permit, registration or certificate, or practice privileges 68.24
- under section 326A.14. However, agreements for corrective action are public data. Warnings 68.25

- must not be considered disciplinary action against the person's or firm's application, permit. 76.4
- registration, or certificate or person's practice privileges and are private data. 76.5
- Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 326A.08, is amended by adding a subdivision to 76.6 read: 76.7
- 76.8 Subd. 10. Actions against lapsed license, certificate, or permit. If a person's or firm's
- permit, registration, practice privileges, license, certificate, or other similar authority lapses, 76.9
- expires, is surrendered, withdrawn, terminated, canceled, limited, not renewed, or otherwise 76.10
- becomes invalid, the board may institute a proceeding under this subdivision within two 76.11
- years after the date the license, certificate, or permit was last effective and enter a revocation 76.12
- or suspension order as of the last date on which the license, certificate, or permit was in 76.13
- effect, or impose a civil penalty as provided for in subdivision 7. 76.14

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 326A.10, is amended to read: 76.15

326A.10 UNLAWFUL ACTS. 76.16

76.17 (a) Only a licensee and individuals who have been granted practice privileges under

- section 326A.14 may issue a report on financial statements of any person, firm, organization, 76.18
- or governmental unit that results from providing attest services, or offer to render or render 76.19
- any attest service. Only a certified public accountant, an individual who has been granted 76.20
- practice privileges under section 326A.14, a CPA firm, or, to the extent permitted by board 76.21
- rule, a person registered under section 326A.06, paragraph (b), may issue a report on financial 76.22
- statements of any person, firm, organization, or governmental unit that results from providing 76.23 compilation services or offer to render or render any compilation service. These restrictions
- 76.24 do not prohibit any act of a public official or public employee in the performance of that 76.25
- person's duties or prohibit the performance by any nonlicensee of other services involving 76.26
- the use of accounting skills, including the preparation of tax returns, management advisory 76.27
- services, and the preparation of financial statements without the issuance of reports on them. 76.28
- Nonlicensees may prepare financial statements and issue nonattest transmittals or information 76.29
- on them which do not purport to be in compliance with the Statements on Standards for 76.30
- Accounting and Review Services (SSARS). Nonlicensees registered under section 326A.06, 76.31
- paragraph (b), may, to the extent permitted by board rule, prepare financial statements and 76.32
- issue nonattest transmittals or information on them. 76.33
- (b) Licensees and individuals who have been granted practice privileges under section 77.1
- 326A.14 performing attest or compilation services must provide those services in accordance 77.2
- 77.3 with professional standards. To the extent permitted by board rule, registered accounting
- practitioners performing compilation services must provide those services in accordance 77.4
- with standards specified in board rule. 77.5
- 77.6 (c) A person who does not hold a valid certificate issued under section 326A.04 or a
- practice privilege granted under section 326A.14 shall not use or assume the title "certified 77.7
- public accountant," the abbreviation "CPA," or any other title, designation, words, letters, 77.8
- abbreviation, sign, card, or device tending to indicate that the person is a certified public 77.9
- 77 10 accountant.

- must not be considered disciplinary action against the person's or firm's application, permit. 68.26
- registration, or certificate or person's practice privileges and are private data. 68.27
- 68.28 Sec. 66. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 326A.08, is amended by adding a subdivision 68.29 to read:
- 68.30 Subd. 10. Actions against lapsed license, certificate, or permit. If a person's or firm's
- permit, registration, practice privileges, license, certificate, or other similar authority lapses, 68.31
- expires, is surrendered, withdrawn, terminated, canceled, limited, not renewed, or otherwise 68.32
- becomes invalid, the board may institute a proceeding under this subdivision within two 68.33
- 68.34 years after the date the license, certificate, or permit was last effective and enter a revocation
- or suspension order as of the last date on which the license, certificate, or permit was in 69.1
- effect, or impose a civil penalty as provided for in subdivision 7. 69.2
- 69.3 Sec. 67. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 326A.10, is amended to read:
- 326A.10 UNLAWFUL ACTS. 69.4
- 69.5 (a) Only a licensee and individuals who have been granted practice privileges under
- section 326A.14 may issue a report on financial statements of any person, firm, organization, 69.6
- or governmental unit that results from providing attest services, or offer to render or render 69.7
- any attest service. Only a certified public accountant, an individual who has been granted 69.8
- 69.9 practice privileges under section 326A.14, a CPA firm, or, to the extent permitted by board
- rule, a person registered under section 326A.06, paragraph (b), may issue a report on financial 69.10
- statements of any person, firm, organization, or governmental unit that results from providing 69.11
- compilation services or offer to render or render any compilation service. These restrictions 69.12
- do not prohibit any act of a public official or public employee in the performance of that 69.13
- person's duties or prohibit the performance by any nonlicensee of other services involving 69.14
- the use of accounting skills, including the preparation of tax returns, management advisory 69.15
- services, and the preparation of financial statements without the issuance of reports on them. 69.16
- Nonlicensees may prepare financial statements and issue nonattest transmittals or information 69.17
- 69.18 on them which do not purport to be in compliance with the Statements on Standards for
- Accounting and Review Services (SSARS). Nonlicensees registered under section 326A.06, 69.19
- paragraph (b), may, to the extent permitted by board rule, prepare financial statements and 69.20
- issue nonattest transmittals or information on them. 69.21
- (b) Licensees and individuals who have been granted practice privileges under section 69.22
- 326A.14 performing attest or compilation services must provide those services in accordance 69.23
- with professional standards. To the extent permitted by board rule, registered accounting 69.24
- practitioners performing compilation services must provide those services in accordance 69.25
- with standards specified in board rule. 69.26
- 69.27 (c) A person who does not hold a valid certificate issued under section 326A.04 or a
- practice privilege granted under section 326A.14 shall not use or assume the title "certified 69.28
- public accountant," the abbreviation "CPA," or any other title, designation, words, letters, 69.29
- abbreviation, sign, card, or device tending to indicate that the person is a certified public 69.30
- 69.31 accountant.

- (d) A firm shall not provide attest services or assume or use the title "certified public
- 77.12 accountants," the abbreviation "CPA's," or any other title, designation, words, letters,
- abbreviation, sign, card, or device tending to indicate that the firm is a CPA firm unless (1)
- the firm has complied with section 326A.05, and (2) ownership of the firm is in accordance
- 77.15 with this chapter and rules adopted by the board.

(e) A person or firm that does not hold a valid certificate or permit issued under section

- 77.17 326A.04 or 326A.05 or has not otherwise complied with section 326A.04 or 326A.05 as
- 77.18 required in this chapter shall not assume or use the title "certified accountant," "chartered
- 77.19 accountant," "enrolled accountant," "licensed accountant," "registered accountant,"
- 77.20 "accredited accountant," "accounting practitioner," "public accountant," "licensed public
- 77.21 accountant," or any other title or designation likely to be confused with the title "certified
- 77.22 public accountant," or use any of the abbreviations "CA," "LA," "RA," "AA," "PA," "AP,"
- 77.23 "LPA," or similar abbreviation likely to be confused with the abbreviation "CPA." The title
- "renrolled agent" or "EA" may only be used by individuals so designated by the Internal
- 77.25 Revenue Service.
- (f) Persons registered under section 326A.06, paragraph (b), may use the title "registered
- 77.27 accounting practitioner" or the abbreviation "RAP." A person who does not hold a valid
- registration under section 326A.06, paragraph (b), shall not assume or use such title or
- 77.29 abbreviation.
- (g) Except to the extent permitted in paragraph (a), nonlicensees may not use language
- 77.31 in any statement relating to the financial affairs of a person or entity that is conventionally
- 17.32 used by licensees in reports on financial statements or on an attest service. In this regard,
- 77.33 the board shall issue by rule safe harbor language that nonlicensees may use in connection
- 77.34 with such financial information. A person or firm that does not hold a valid certificate or
- 78.1 permit, or a registration issued under section 326A.04, 326A.05, or 326A.06, paragraph (b),
- 78.2 or has not otherwise complied with section 326A.04 or 326A.05 as required in this chapter
- 78.3 shall not assume or use any title or designation that includes the word "accountant" or
- 78.4 "accounting" in connection with any other language, including the language of a report, that
- 78.5 implies that the person or firm holds such a certificate, permit, or registration or has special
- 78.6 competence as an accountant. A person or firm that does not hold a valid certificate or
- 78.7 permit issued under section 326A.04 or 326A.05 or has not otherwise complied with section
- 78.8 326A.04 or 326A.05 as required in this chapter shall not assume or use any title or designation
- 78.9 that includes the word "auditor" in connection with any other language, including the
- 78.10 language of a report, that implies that the person or firm holds such a certificate or permit
- 78.11 or has special competence as an auditor. However, this paragraph does not prohibit any
- 78.12 officer, partner, member, manager, or employee of any firm or organization from affixing
- 78.13 that person's own signature to any statement in reference to the financial affairs of such firm
- 78.14 or organization with any wording designating the position, title, or office that the person
- 78.15 holds, nor prohibit any act of a public official or employee in the performance of the person's
- 78.16 duties as such.

- 69.32 (d) A firm shall not provide attest services or assume or use the title "certified public
- 69.33 accountants," the abbreviation "CPA's," or any other title, designation, words, letters,
- 69.34 abbreviation, sign, card, or device tending to indicate that the firm is a CPA firm unless (1)
- 70.1 the firm has complied with section 326A.05, and (2) ownership of the firm is in accordance
- 70.2 with this chapter and rules adopted by the board.
- 70.3 (e) A person or firm that does not hold a valid certificate or permit issued under section
- 70.4 326A.04 or 326A.05 or has not otherwise complied with section 326A.04 or 326A.05 as
- 70.5 required in this chapter shall not assume or use the title "certified accountant," "chartered
- 70.6 accountant," "enrolled accountant," "licensed accountant," "registered accountant,"
- 70.7 "accredited accountant," "accounting practitioner," "public accountant," "licensed public
- 70.8 accountant," or any other title or designation likely to be confused with the title "certified
- 70.9 public accountant," or use any of the abbreviations "CA," "LA," "RA," "AA," "PA," "AP,"
- 70.10 "LPA," or similar abbreviation likely to be confused with the abbreviation "CPA." The title
- 70.11 "enrolled agent" or "EA" may only be used by individuals so designated by the Internal
- 70.12 Revenue Service.
- 70.13 (f) Persons registered under section 326A.06, paragraph (b), may use the title "registered
- 70.14 accounting practitioner" or the abbreviation "RAP." A person who does not hold a valid
- 70.15 registration under section 326A.06, paragraph (b), shall not assume or use such title or
- 70.16 abbreviation.
- 70.17 (g) Except to the extent permitted in paragraph (a), nonlicensees may not use language
- 70.18 in any statement relating to the financial affairs of a person or entity that is conventionally
- 70.19 used by licensees in reports on financial statements or on an attest service. In this regard,
- 70.20 the board shall issue by rule safe harbor language that nonlicensees may use in connection
- 70.21 with such financial information. A person or firm that does not hold a valid certificate or
- 70.22 permit, or a registration issued under section 326A.04, 326A.05, or 326A.06, paragraph (b),
- 70.23 or has not otherwise complied with section 326A.04 or 326A.05 as required in this chapter
- 70.24 shall not assume or use any title or designation that includes the word "accountant" or
- 70.25 "accounting" in connection with any other language, including the language of a report, that
- 70.26 implies that the person or firm holds such a certificate, permit, or registration or has special
- 70.27 competence as an accountant. A person or firm that does not hold a valid certificate or
- 70.28 permit issued under section 326A.04 or 326A.05 or has not otherwise complied with section
- 70.29 326A.04 or 326A.05 as required in this chapter shall not assume or use any title or designation
- 70.30 that includes the word "auditor" in connection with any other language, including the
- 70.31 language of a report, that implies that the person or firm holds such a certificate or permit
- 70.32 or has special competence as an auditor. However, this paragraph does not prohibit any
- 70.33 officer, partner, member, manager, or employee of any firm or organization from affixing
- 70.34 that person's own signature to any statement in reference to the financial affairs of such firm
- 70.35 or organization with any wording designating the position, title, or office that the person
- 71.1 holds, nor prohibit any act of a public official or employee in the performance of the person's
- 71.2 duties as such.

- 78.17 (h)(1) No person holding a certificate or registration or firm holding a permit under this 78.18 chapter shall use a professional or firm name or designation that is misleading about the
- 78.19 legal form of the firm, or about the persons who are partners, officers, members, managers,
- 78.20 or shareholders of the firm, or about any other matter. However, names of one or more
- 78.21 former partners, members, managers, or shareholders may be included in the name of a firm
- 78.22 or its successor.

78.23 (2) A common brand name or network name part, including common initials, used by

- 78.24 a CPA firm in its name, is not misleading if the firm is a network firm as defined in the
- 78.25 American Institute of Certified Public Accountants (AICPA) Code of Professional Conduct
- 78.26 in effect July 1, 2011 incorporated by reference in Minnesota Rules, part 1105.0250, and
- 78.27 when offering or rendering services that require independence under AICPA standards, the
- 78.28 firm must comply with the AICPA code's applicable standards on independence.

78.29 (i) Paragraphs (a) to (h) do not apply to a person or firm holding a certification,

- 78.30 designation, degree, or license granted in a foreign country entitling the holder to engage
- 78.31 in the practice of public accountancy or its equivalent in that country, if:

78.32 (1) the activities of the person or firm in this state are limited to the provision of

78.33 professional services to persons or firms who are residents of, governments of, or business 78.34 entities of the country in which the person holds the entitlement;

(2) the person or firm performs no attest or compilation services and issues no reports
with respect to the information of any other persons, firms, or governmental units in this
state; and

(3) the person or firm does not use in this state any title or designation other than the
one under which the person practices in the foreign country, followed by a translation of
the title or designation into English, if it is in a different language, and by the name of the

79.7 country.

(j) No holder of a certificate issued under section 326A.04 may perform attest servicesthrough any business form that does not hold a valid permit issued under section 326A.05.

- 79.10 (k) No individual licensee may issue a report in standard form upon a compilation of
- 79.11 financial information through any form of business that does not hold a valid permit issued
- 79.12 under section 326A.05, unless the report discloses the name of the business through which
- 79.13 the individual is issuing the report, and the individual:
- 79.14 (1) signs the compilation report identifying the individual as a certified public accountant;
- 79.15 (2) meets the competency requirement provided in applicable standards; and
- 79.16 (3) undergoes no less frequently than once every three years, a peer review conducted
- 79.17 in a manner specified by the board in rule, and the review includes verification that the
- 79.18 individual has met the competency requirements set out in professional standards for such

79.19 services.

- (h)(1) No person holding a certificate or registration or firm holding a permit under this 71.3 chapter shall use a professional or firm name or designation that is misleading about the 71.4 legal form of the firm, or about the persons who are partners, officers, members, managers, 71.5 71.6 or shareholders of the firm, or about any other matter. However, names of one or more former partners, members, managers, or shareholders may be included in the name of a firm 71.7 71.8 or its successor. 71.9 (2) A common brand name or network name part, including common initials, used by 71.10 a CPA firm in its name, is not misleading if the firm is a network firm as defined in the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants (AICPA) Code of Professional Conduct 71.11 in effect July 1, 2011 incorporated by reference in Minnesota Rules, part 1105.0250, and 71.12 when offering or rendering services that require independence under AICPA standards, the 71.13 firm must comply with the AICPA code's applicable standards on independence. 71.14 71.15 (i) Paragraphs (a) to (h) do not apply to a person or firm holding a certification, designation, degree, or license granted in a foreign country entitling the holder to engage 71.16 in the practice of public accountancy or its equivalent in that country, if: 71.17 (1) the activities of the person or firm in this state are limited to the provision of 71.18 professional services to persons or firms who are residents of, governments of, or business 71.19 entities of the country in which the person holds the entitlement; 71.20 (2) the person or firm performs no attest or compilation services and issues no reports 71.21 with respect to the information of any other persons, firms, or governmental units in this 71.22 71.23 state: and (3) the person or firm does not use in this state any title or designation other than the 71.24 one under which the person practices in the foreign country, followed by a translation of 71.25 the title or designation into English, if it is in a different language, and by the name of the 71.26 71.27 country. (i) No holder of a certificate issued under section 326A.04 may perform attest services 71.28 through any business form that does not hold a valid permit issued under section 326A.05. 71.29 (k) No individual licensee may issue a report in standard form upon a compilation of 71.30 71.31 financial information through any form of business that does not hold a valid permit issued under section 326A.05, unless the report discloses the name of the business through which 71.32 the individual is issuing the report, and the individual: 71.33 (1) signs the compilation report identifying the individual as a certified public accountant; 72.1
- 72.2 (2) meets the competency requirement provided in applicable standards; and
- 72.3 (3) undergoes no less frequently than once every three years, a peer review conducted
- 72.4 in a manner specified by the board in rule, and the review includes verification that the
- 72.5 individual has met the competency requirements set out in professional standards for such
- 72.6 services.

79.20 (1) No person registered under section 326A.06, paragraph (b), may issue a report in

79.21 standard form upon a compilation of financial information unless the board by rule permits

79.22 the report and the person:

(1) signs the compilation report identifying the individual as a registered accountingpractitioner;

79.25 (2) meets the competency requirements in board rule; and

79.26 (3) undergoes no less frequently than once every three years a peer review conducted

79.27 in a manner specified by the board in rule, and the review includes verification that the

79.28 individual has met the competency requirements in board rule.

79.29 (m) Nothing in this section prohibits a practicing attorney or firm of attorneys from

79.30 preparing or presenting records or documents customarily prepared by an attorney or firm

79.31 of attorneys in connection with the attorney's professional work in the practice of law.

80.1 (n) The board shall adopt rules that place limitations on receipt by a licensee or a person

- 80.2 who holds a registration under section 326A.06, paragraph (b), of:
- 80.3 (1) contingent fees for professional services performed; and
- 80.4 (2) commissions or referral fees for recommending or referring to a client any product80.5 or service.
- 80.6 (o) Anything in this section to the contrary notwithstanding, it shall not be a violation
- 80.7 of this section for a firm not holding a valid permit under section 326A.05 and not having
- an office in this state to provide its professional services in this state so long as it complies
- 80.9 with the applicable requirements of section 326A.05, subdivision 1.

72.7 (1) No person registered under section 326A.06, paragraph (b), may issue a report in

72.8 standard form upon a compilation of financial information unless the board by rule permits 72.9 the report and the person:

(1) signs the compilation report identifying the individual as a registered accountingpractitioner;

72.12 (2) meets the competency requirements in board rule; and

- 72.13 (3) undergoes no less frequently than once every three years a peer review conducted
- 72.14 in a manner specified by the board in rule, and the review includes verification that the
- 72.15 individual has met the competency requirements in board rule.
- 72.16 (m) Nothing in this section prohibits a practicing attorney or firm of attorneys from
- 72.17 preparing or presenting records or documents customarily prepared by an attorney or firm
- 72.18 of attorneys in connection with the attorney's professional work in the practice of law.

(n) The board shall adopt rules that place limitations on receipt by a licensee or a personwho holds a registration under section 326A.06, paragraph (b), of:

72.21 (1) contingent fees for professional services performed; and

(2) commissions or referral fees for recommending or referring to a client any productor service.

- 72.24 (o) Anything in this section to the contrary notwithstanding, it shall not be a violation
- 72.25 of this section for a firm not holding a valid permit under section 326A.05 and not having
- 72.26 an office in this state to provide its professional services in this state so long as it complies
- vith the applicable requirements of section 326A.05, subdivision 1.