## STATE OF MINNESOTA HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

TWENTY-THIRD MEETING NINETY-SECOND SESSION

AGRICULTURE FINANCE AND POLICY COMMITTEE MINUTES

Representative Mike Sundin, Chair of the Agriculture Finance and Policy Committee, called the virtual meeting to order at 8:30 A.M. on Friday, April 9, 2021, pursuant to House rule 10.01. The meeting was broadcast via Zoom and House Public Information Services.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll. A quorum was present.

Members present:
SUNDIN, Mike, CHAIR
VANG, Samantha, Vice Chair
ANDERSON, Paul, Minority Lead
BURKEL, John
ECKLUND, Rob
HANSEN, Rick
HANSON, Jessica
KLEVORN, Ginny
LIPPERT, Todd
LUECK, Dale
MILLER, Tim
NELSON, Nathan

THOMPSON, John

Rep. Anderson moved to approve adoption of the minutes of the previous meeting. The motion prevailed. The minutes from the April 7, 2021 meeting were adopted.

Chair Sundin passed the gavel to Rep. Vang and Vice Chair Vang assumed the Chair at 8:32 A.M.

HF 1524 (Sundin) Omnibus Agriculture Finance Bill

Vice Chair Vang brought HF 1524 back before the committee and moved that HF 1524 be recommended to be referred to the Ways and Means Committee.

Rep. Sundin moved the H1524DE2 amendment.

Rep. Sundin moved the H1524A9 amendment to the H1524DE2 amendment. The motion prevailed. The amendment was adopted.

Rep. Vang moved the H1524A1 amendment to the H1524DE2 amendment. The motion prevailed. The amendment was adopted.

Rep. Anderson moved the H1524A2 amendment to the H1524DE2 amendment. The motion prevailed. The amendment was adopted.

Rep. Lueck moved the H1524A3 amendment to the H1524DE2 amendment and requested a roll call on the vote.

Ayes:

**ANDERSON** 

BURKEL

LUECK

MILLER

**NELSON** 

Nays:

SUNDIN

**VANG** 

**ECKLUND** 

HANSEN, R.

HANSON, J.

**KLEVORN** 

LIPPERT

Absent/Excused:

**THOMPSON** 

There being 5 ayes and 7 nays, the motion does not prevail. The amendment was not adopted.

Rep. Ecklund moved the H1524A4 amendment to the H1524DE2 amendment. The motion prevailed. The amendment was adopted.

Rep. Nelson moved the H1524A5 amendment to the H1524DE2 amendment. The motion does not prevail. The amendment was not adopted.

Rep. Burkel moved the H1524A6 amendment to the H1524DE2 amendment and requested a roll call vote.

Ayes:

**ANDERSON** 

BURKEL

LUECK

**MILLER** 

**NELSON** 

Nays:

SUNDIN

VANG

**ECKLUND** 

HANSEN, R.

HANSON, J. KLEVORN LIPPERT THOMPSON

There being 5 ayes and 8 nays, the motion does not prevail. The amendment was not adopted.

Rep. Hansen, R. moved the H1524A8 amendment to the H1524DE2 amendment. The motion prevailed. The amendment was adopted.

Rep. Vang moved the H1524A10 amendment to the H1524DE2 amendment. The motion prevailed. The amendment was adopted.

Rep. Vang restated the motion to adopt the H1524DE2 amendment, as amended, to HF 1524. The motion prevailed. The amendment, as amended, was adopted.

Rep. Sundin renewed his motion that HF 1524, as amended, be recommended to be referred to the Ways and Means Committee, and that staff be directed to make any technical corrections as necessary.

Ayes:

**SUNDIN** 

**VANG** 

**ANDERSON** 

**ECKLUND** 

HANSEN, R.

HANSON, J.

**KLEVORN** 

LIPPERT

**THOMPSON** 

Nays:

**BURKEL** 

LUECK

**MILLER** 

**NELSON** 

There being 9 ayes and 4 nays, the motion prevailed.

Chair Sundin reassumed the Chair at 9:41 A.M.

Chair Sundin adjourned the meeting at 9:43 A.M.

Representative Mike Sundin, Chair	
	_
Kyle Smith, Committee Legislative A	Assista