



- Subject Warehouse distribution worker safety
- Authors Greenman and others
- Analyst Marta James
  - Date February 7, 2022

## **Overview**

Establishes worker safety requirements for warehouse distribution centers.

# Summary

#### Section Description

#### 1 Warehouse distribution worker safety.

Provides several worker safety requirements for warehouse distribution centers.

**Subd. 1. Definitions.** Provides definitions used in the bill. Applies to employers with 100 or more employees at one warehouse distribution center or 1,000 or more employees at one or more warehouse distribution centers.

**Subd. 2. Notice required.** Requires written notice to employees in their preferred language of any quota they are required to meet. Notice must be given at the time of hire, or within 30 days of enactment, and at least two days before the quota will take effect. The notice must include how the work standards for the quota will be measured, such as a certain speed, certain output amount, or certain error or defect rate for a certain period of time or group, and any consequence for not meeting the quota. Creates a private cause of action for an employee who is fired, disciplined, or faces another adverse employment action for failing to meet a quota that was not disclosed in advance.

**Subd. 3. Breaks.** Prohibits employers from requiring employees to meet quotas that would interfere with compliance of required meal, rest, restroom break, or prayer periods, or otherwise prevent compliance with any Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) workplace safety standard. Also prohibits employers from taking adverse employment action against employees who do not meet such a quota.

**Subd. 4. Work speed data.** Allows employees to request their work speed data from their employer for the most recent 90 days orally or in writing up to four

#### Section Description

times a year. Requires employers to provide the data within 72 hours and when an employee is disciplined or fired for failing to meet a quota.

**Subd. 5. High rates of injury.** Requires the commissioner of labor and industry to investigate violations under this section if OSHA data shows a 30 percent higher than the year's average incidence rate for nonfatal occupational injuries and illnesses. Requires monthly safety meetings until the incidence rates fall below 30 percent higher than the average for two years.

**Subd. 6. Enforcement.** Provides enforcement by the commissioner of labor and industry. The commissioner may inspect and investigate and issue written citations for violations, set a reasonable timeline to correct violations, and impose a penalty. Citations, penalties, and remedies are set as provided under existing law. Also provides for civil or criminal prosecution of violations and allows an employee to seek an injunction to comply with this section.

### 2 Severability.

Provides that if any provision or application of the bill is found to be void by a court that the remaining provisions will remain in effect.



Minnesota House Research Department provides nonpartisan legislative, legal, and information services to the Minnesota House of Representatives. This document can be made available in alternative formats.

www.house.mn/hrd | 651-296-6753 | 155 State Office Building | St. Paul, MN 55155