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.................... moves to amend H.F. No. 1136 as follows:1.1

Page 1, after line 4, insert:1.2

"Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 116J.8747, subdivision 1, is amended to1.3

read:1.4

Subdivision 1. Grant allowed. The commissioner may provide a grant to a qualified1.5

job training program from money appropriated for the purposes of this section as follows:1.6

(1) a $9,000 $11,000 placement grant paid to a job training program upon placement1.7

in employment of a qualified graduate of the program; and1.8

(2) a $9,000 $11,000 retention grant paid to a job training program upon retention in1.9

employment of a qualified graduate of the program for at least one year.1.10

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 116J.8747, subdivision 2, is amended to read:1.11

Subd. 2. Qualified job training program. To qualify for grants under this section,1.12

a job training program must satisfy the following requirements:1.13

(1) the program must be operated by a nonprofit corporation that qualifies under1.14

section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code;1.15

(2) the program must spend at least, on average, $15,000 or more per graduate1.16

of the program;1.17

(3) the program must provide education and training in:1.18

(i) basic skills, such as reading, writing, mathematics, and communications;1.19

(ii) thinking skills, such as reasoning, creative thinking, decision making, and1.20

problem solving; and1.21

(iii) personal qualities, such as responsibility, self-esteem, self-management,1.22

honesty, and integrity;1.23

(4) the program must may provide income supplements, when needed, to participants1.24

for housing, counseling, tuition, and other basic needs;1.25
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(5) the program's education and training course must last for an average of at least2.1

six months;2.2

(6) individuals served by the program must:2.3

(i) be 18 years of age or older;2.4

(ii) have federal adjusted gross income of no more than $11,000 $12,000 per year in2.5

the calendar year immediately before entering the program;2.6

(iii) have assets of no more than $7,000 $10,000, excluding the value of a2.7

homestead; and2.8

(iv) not have been claimed as a dependent on the federal tax return of another person2.9

in the previous taxable year; and2.10

(7) the program must be certified by the commissioner of employment and economic2.11

development as meeting the requirements of this subdivision."2.12

Renumber the sections in sequence and correct the internal references2.13

Amend the title as follows:2.14

Page 1, line 2, after the first semicolon, insert "modifying pay-for-performance2.15

grant requirements;"2.16
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