EDUCATION POLICY COMMITTEE

MINUTES

Representative Cheryl Youakim, Chair of the Committee, called the remote Education Policy Committee meeting to order at 4:16 P.M. on Friday, May 1 pursuant to House rule 10.01. The meeting is being broadcast via Zoom and House Public Information Services.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members present:

YOUAKIM, Cheryl (Chair) KUNESH-PODEIN, Mary (Vice-Chair) ERICKSON, Sondra (GOP-Lead) BAHR, Cal BAKER, Dave BENNETT, Peggy BIERMAN, Robert CHRISTENSEN, Shelly GRUENHAGEN, Glenn HASSAN, Hodan HER, Kaohly JORDAN, Sydney MOLLER, Kelly SANDELL, Steve SCOTT, Peggy URDAHL, Dean WAZLAWIK, Ami

Members excused: MARIANI, Carlos

A quorum was present.

Representative Christensen moved that the minutes of April 28, 2020 be adopted. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

HF 3849 (Sandstede) Concurrent enrollment teacher training funding increased, and money appropriated.

Representative Wazlawik moved HF 3849 be re-referred to the Education Finance Division.

Representative Wazlawik moved the A2 Amendment. THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.

Representative Sandstede presented the bill and took member questions.

The following testifiers gave remarks regarding the bill:
Jeremy Kovash, Executive Director of Lakes Country Service Cooperative; and
Kim Lewis, Associate Director of Government Relations of the MN School Boards
Association, and on behalf of the Association of Metropolitan School Districts,
Minnesota Rural Education Association, Schools for Equity in Education, MN
Association of School Administrators and Principals organizations.

Testifiers took member questions.

Chair Youakim renewed Representative Wazlawik's motion that HF 3849, as amended, be re-referred to the Education Finance Division. The Committee Legislative Assistant took the roll on the motion:

AYES

YOUAKIM, Cheryl (Chair)

KUNESH-PODEIN, Mary (Vice-Chair)

ERICKSON, Sondra (GOP-Lead)

BAHR, Cal

BAKER, Dave

BENNETT, Peggy

BIERMAN, Robert

CHRISTENSEN, Shelly

GRUENHAGEN, Glenn

HASSAN, Hodan

HER, Kaohly

JORDAN, Sydney

MOLLER, Kelly

SANDELL, Steve

SCOTT, Peggy

URDAHL, Dean

WAZLAWIK, Ami

NAYS

ABSENT

MARIANI, Carlos

With 17 ayes, 0 nays, and 1 absent, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

HF 4098 (Sandell) Innovation research zone program established, and money appropriated.

Representative Sandell moved HF 4098 be re-referred to the Education Finance Division.

Representative Sandell moved the A1 Amendment. THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.

Representative Sandell presented HF 4098 and took member questions.

The following testifiers gave remarks regarding the bill:

Jay Haugen, Co-Facilitator of Superintendents Innovation Discussion Group and Former Superintendent of Farmington School District;

Dr. Denise Pontrelli, Superintendent of Stillwater School District;

Joe Brown, Superintendent of Fairmont District Schools;

Danyika Leonard, Policy Director for Education Evolving; and

Krista Kaput, Research Director for EdAllies.

Testifiers took member questions.

Chair Youakim renewed Representative Sandell's motion that HF 4098, as amended, be re-referred to the Education Finance Division. The Committee Legislative Assistant took the roll on the motion:

AYES YOUAKIM

YOUAKIM, Cheryl (Chair)

KUNESH-PODEIN, Mary (Vice-Chair)

BENNETT, Peggy

BIERMAN, Robert

CHRISTENSEN, Shelly

HASSAN, Hodan HER, Kaohly JORDAN, Sydney MOLLER, Kelly SANDELL, Steve URDAHL, Dean WAZLAWIK, Ami

NAYS ERICKSON, Sondra (GOP-Lead) BAHR, Cal BAKER, Dave GRUENHAGEN, Glenn SCOTT, Peggy

ABSENT MARIANI, Carlos

With 12 ayes, 5 nays, and 1 absent, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Representative Kunesh-Podein assumed the Chair at 5:29 P.M.

HF 163 (Youakim) School board vacancy technical changes made.

Representative Youakim moved HF 163 be recommended to be placed on the General Register.

Representative Youakim moved the DE3 Amendment before the committee for discussion.

Representative Youakim presented HF 163 and the DE3 Amendment and took member questions.

The following testifiers gave remarks regarding the bill:

Mary Cathryn Ricker, Commissioner of the Minnesota Department of Education; Brad Lundell, on behalf of Minnesota Administrators for Special Education, Minnesota School Psychologists Association, and Education Management Organizations; Paul Spies, Co-Founder of the Coalition to Increase Teachers of Color and American Indian Teachers in MN; and

Adosh Unni, Director of Government Relations for the Minnesota Department of Education.

Testifiers took member questions.

Representative Youakim assumed the Chair at 6:07 P.M.

The meeting was adjourned at 6:10 P.M.

Representative Cheryl Youakim, Chair

Megan Arriola,
Committee Legislative Assistant