
1.1 .................... moves to amend H.F. No. 3610 as follows:​

1.2 Page 1, after line 18, insert:​

1.3 "Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 609.2231, subdivision 3a, is amended to read:​

1.4 Subd. 3a. Secure treatment facility personnel. (a) As used in this subdivision, "secure​

1.5 treatment facility" includes facilities listed in sections 253B.02, subdivision 18a, and​

1.6 253D.02, subdivision 13.​

1.7 (b) Whoever, while committed under chapter 253D, Minnesota Statutes 2012, section​

1.8 253B.185, or Minnesota Statutes 1992, section 526.10, commits either of the following acts​

1.9 against an employee or other individual who provides care or treatment at a secure treatment​

1.10 facility while the person is engaged in the performance of a duty imposed by law, policy,​

1.11 or rule is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than two​

1.12 years or to payment of a fine of not more than $4,000, or both:​

1.13 (1) assaults the person and inflicts demonstrable bodily harm; or​

1.14 (2) intentionally throws or otherwise transfers bodily fluids or feces at or onto the person.​

1.15 (c) Whoever, while committed under section 253B.18, or admitted under the provision​

1.16 of section 253B.10, subdivision 1, commits either of the following acts against an employee​

1.17 or other individual who supervises and works directly with patients at a secure treatment​

1.18 facility while the person is engaged in the performance of a duty imposed by law, policy,​

1.19 or rule, is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than two​

1.20 years or to payment of a fine of not more than $4,000, or both:​

1.21 (1) assaults the person and inflicts demonstrable bodily harm; or​

1.22 (2) intentionally throws or otherwise transfers urine, blood, semen, bodily fluids or feces​

1.23 at or onto the person.​
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2.1 (d) The court shall commit a person convicted of violating paragraph (b) to the custody​

2.2 of the commissioner of corrections for not less than one year and one day. The court may​

2.3 not, on its own motion or the prosecutor's motion, sentence a person without regard to this​

2.4 paragraph. A person convicted and sentenced as required by this paragraph is not eligible​

2.5 for probation, parole, discharge, work release, or supervised release, until that person has​

2.6 served the full term of imprisonment as provided by law, notwithstanding the provisions of​

2.7 sections 241.26, 242.19, 243.05, 244.04, 609.12, and 609.135.​

2.8 (e) Notwithstanding the statutory maximum sentence provided in paragraph (b), when​

2.9 a court sentences a person to the custody of the commissioner of corrections for a violation​

2.10 of paragraph (b), the court shall provide that after the person has been released from prison,​

2.11 the commissioner shall place the person on conditional release for five years. The terms of​

2.12 conditional release are governed by sections 244.05 and 609.3455, subdivision 6, 7, or 8;​

2.13 and Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.109.​

2.14 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2018, and applies to violations​

2.15 committed on or after that date."​

2.16 Amend the title accordingly​
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