
1.1 Senator .................... moves to amend S.F. No. 803 as follows:​

1.2 Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:​

1.3 "ARTICLE 1​

1.4 APPROPRIATIONS​

1.5 Section 1. APPROPRIATIONS.​

1.6 The sums shown in the columns marked "Appropriations" are appropriated to the agencies​

1.7 and for the purposes specified in this article. The appropriations are from the general fund,​

1.8 or another named fund, and are available for the fiscal years indicated for each purpose.​

1.9 The figures "2018" and "2019" used in this article mean that the appropriations listed under​

1.10 them are available for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2018, or June 30, 2019, respectively.​

1.11 "The first year" is fiscal year 2018. "The second year" is fiscal year 2019. "The biennium"​

1.12 is fiscal years 2018 and 2019. Appropriations for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2017, are​

1.13 effective the day following final enactment.​

1.14 APPROPRIATIONS​
1.15 Available for the Year​
1.16 Ending June 30​

2019​2018​1.17 2017​

1.18 Sec. 2. SUPREME COURT​

50,262,000​$​49,848,000​$​1.19 Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation​

1.20 The amounts that may be spent for each​

1.21 purpose are specified in the following​

1.22 subdivisions.​

36,792,000​36,378,000​1.23 Subd. 2. Supreme Court Operations​

1.24 (a) Contingent Account​

1.25 $5,000 each year is for a contingent account​

1.26 for expenses necessary for the normal​

1.27 operation of the court for which no other​

1.28 reimbursement is provided.​

1.29 (b) Harassment Restraining Orders​

1.30 $993,000 each year is to implement the​

1.31 changes related to harassment restraining​

1.32 orders required in article 3. The base for this​

1​Article 1 Sec. 2.​
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2.1 activity is $993,000 in fiscal year 2020, and​

2.2 zero in fiscal year 2021.​

13,470,000​13,470,000​2.3 Subd. 3. Civil Legal Services​

2.4 Legal Services to Low-Income Clients in​

2.5 Family Law Matters. $948,000 each year is​

2.6 to improve the access of low-income clients​

2.7 to legal representation in family law matters.​

2.8 This appropriation must be distributed under​

2.9 Minnesota Statutes, section 480.242, to the​

2.10 qualified legal services program described in​

2.11 Minnesota Statutes, section 480.242,​

2.12 subdivision 2, paragraph (a). Any​

2.13 unencumbered balance remaining in the first​

2.14 year does not cancel and is available in the​

2.15 second year.​

12,163,000​$​12,082,000​$​2.16 Sec. 3. COURT OF APPEALS​

286,074,000​$​283,495,000​$​2.17 Sec. 4. DISTRICT COURTS​

2.18 (a) New Trial Judges​

2.19 $884,000 the first year and $818,000 the​

2.20 second year are for two new trial court judge​

2.21 units.​

2.22 (b) Mandated Services​

2.23 $503,000 the first year and $504,000 the​

2.24 second year are for mandated court services.​

2.25 (c) Treatment Courts Stability​

2.26 $100,000 each year is for treatment courts​

2.27 stability.​

15,675,000​$​15,547,000​$​2.28 Sec. 5. GUARDIAN AD LITEM BOARD​

1,505,000​$​1,501,000​$​2.29 Sec. 6. TAX COURT​

2​Article 1 Sec. 6.​

COUNSEL KPB/CT/RER SCS0803A172​05/02/17 07:39 AM ​



3.1 $104,000 each year is for a case management​

3.2 system.​

93,000​$​93,000​$​3.3 Sec. 7. UNIFORM LAWS COMMISSION​

486,000​$​486,000​$​3.4 Sec. 8. BOARD ON JUDICIAL STANDARDS​

3.5 Major Disciplinary Actions. $125,000 each​

3.6 year is for special investigative and hearing​

3.7 costs for major disciplinary actions undertaken​

3.8 by the board. This appropriation does not​

3.9 cancel. Any unencumbered and unspent​

3.10 balances remain available for these​

3.11 expenditures until June 30, 2021.​

84,853,000​$​84,083,000​$​3.12 Sec. 9. BOARD OF PUBLIC DEFENSE​

651,000​$​647,000​$​3.13 Sec. 10. SENTENCING GUIDELINES​

3.14 Sec. 11. PUBLIC SAFETY​

190,388,000​$​189,984,000​$​3.15 Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation​

3.16 Appropriations by Fund​

2019​3.17 2018​

97,153,000​96,912,000​3.18 General​

13,572,000​13,436,000​3.19 Special Revenue​

103,000​103,000​
3.20 State Government​
3.21 Special Revenue​

73,000​73,000​3.22 Environmental​

2,356,000​2,341,000​3.23 Trunk Highway​

77,131,000​77,119,000​3.24 911 Fund​

3.25 The amounts that may be spent for each​

3.26 purpose are specified in the following​

3.27 subdivisions.​

3,893,000​4,779,000​3.28 Subd. 2. Emergency Management​

3.29 Appropriations by Fund​

2,420,000​3,306,000​3.30 General​

73,000​73,000​3.31 Environmental​

3​Article 1 Sec. 11.​
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1,400,000​1,400,000​
4.1 Special Revenue​
4.2 Fund​

4.3 (a) Hazmat and Chemical Assessment​

4.4 Teams​

4.5 $850,000 each year is from the fire safety​

4.6 account in the special revenue fund. These​

4.7 amounts must be used to fund the hazardous​

4.8 materials and chemical assessment teams. Of​

4.9 this amount, $100,000 the first year is for​

4.10 cases for which there is no identified​

4.11 responsible party.​

4.12 (b) Emergency Response Teams​

4.13 $550,000 each year from the fire safety​

4.14 account in the special revenue fund is to​

4.15 maintain three emergency response teams: one​

4.16 under the jurisdiction of the St. Cloud Fire​

4.17 Department or a similarly located fire​

4.18 department if necessary; one under the​

4.19 jurisdiction of the Duluth Fire Department;​

4.20 and one under the jurisdiction of the Moorhead​

4.21 Fire Department. The commissioner must​

4.22 allocate the appropriation as follows: (1)​

4.23 $225,000 each year to the St. Cloud Fire​

4.24 Department; (2) $225,000 each year to the​

4.25 Duluth Fire Department; and (3) $100,000​

4.26 each year to the Moorhead Fire Department.​

4.27 These are onetime appropriations.​

4.28 (c) Roseau County Disaster Reimbursement​

4.29 $750,000 the first year from the general fund​

4.30 is for distribution to Roseau County for​

4.31 reimbursement of costs to repair public​

4.32 infrastructure damaged by the 1999 and 2002​

4.33 floods.​

4.34 (d) Supplemental Nonprofit Security Grants​

4​Article 1 Sec. 11.​
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5.1 $150,000 the first year from the general fund​

5.2 is for supplemental nonprofit security grants​

5.3 under this paragraph.​

5.4 Nonprofit organizations whose applications​

5.5 for funding through the Federal Emergency​

5.6 Management Agency's nonprofit security grant​

5.7 program have been approved by the Division​

5.8 of Homeland Security and Emergency​

5.9 Management are eligible for grants under this​

5.10 paragraph. No additional application shall be​

5.11 required for grants under this paragraph, and​

5.12 an application for a grant from the federal​

5.13 program is also an application for funding​

5.14 from the state supplemental program.​

5.15 Eligible organizations may receive grants of​

5.16 up to $75,000, except that the total received​

5.17 by any individual from both the federal​

5.18 nonprofit security grant program and the state​

5.19 supplemental nonprofit security grant program​

5.20 shall not exceed $75,000. Grants shall be​

5.21 awarded in an order consistent with the​

5.22 ranking given to applicants for the federal​

5.23 nonprofit security grant program. No grants​

5.24 under the state supplemental nonprofit security​

5.25 grant program shall be awarded until the​

5.26 announcement of the recipients and the​

5.27 amount of the grants awarded under the federal​

5.28 nonprofit security grant program.​

5.29 The commissioner may use up to one percent​

5.30 of the appropriation received under this​

5.31 paragraph to pay costs incurred by the​

5.32 department in administering the supplemental​

5.33 nonprofit security grant program.​

55,502,000​54,388,000​5.34 Subd. 3. Criminal Apprehension​

5.35 Appropriations by Fund​

5​Article 1 Sec. 11.​
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53,139,000​52,040,000​6.1 General​

7,000​7,000​
6.2 State Government​
6.3 Special Revenue​

2,356,000​2,341,000​6.4 Trunk Highway​

6.5 (a) DWI Lab Analysis; Trunk Highway​

6.6 Fund​

6.7 Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section​

6.8 161.20, subdivision 3, $2,341,000 the first​

6.9 year and $2,356,000 the second year are from​

6.10 the trunk highway fund for laboratory analysis​

6.11 related to driving-while-impaired cases.​

6.12 (b) Predatory Registration System​

6.13 $1,000,000 the second year is to be used to​

6.14 build the predatory registration system. This​

6.15 appropriation is available until June 30, 2020.​

6.16 The base for fiscal year 2020 is $3,100,000​

6.17 and the base for fiscal year 2021 is $400,000​

6.18 to maintain the system.​

6.19 (c) BCA Investment Initiative​

6.20 $275,000 each year is:​

6.21 (1) for an additional firearms examiner; and​

6.22 (2) for additional staff in the drug chemistry​

6.23 lab.​

6.24 (d) Harassment Restraining Orders​

6.25 $169,000 the first year and $47,000 the second​

6.26 year are for the Bureau of Criminal​

6.27 Apprehension to implement the changes​

6.28 related to harassment restraining orders​

6.29 required in article 3.​

6.30 (e) Base Adjustment​

6.31 The base from the general fund for the Bureau​

6.32 of Criminal Apprehension is $55,239,000 in​

6​Article 1 Sec. 11.​
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7.1 fiscal year 2020 and $52,539,000 in fiscal year​

7.2 2021.​

6,408,000​6,274,000​7.3 Subd. 4. Fire Marshal​

7.4 Appropriations by Fund​

6,408,000​6,274,000​7.5 Special Revenue​

7.6 The special revenue fund appropriation is from​

7.7 the fire safety account in the special revenue​

7.8 fund and is for activities under Minnesota​

7.9 Statutes, section 299F.012.​

7.10 Inspections​

7.11 $300,000 each year is for inspection of nursing​

7.12 homes and boarding care facilities.​

5,015,000​5,015,000​
7.13 Subd. 5. Firefighter Training and Education​
7.14 Board​

7.15 Appropriations by Fund​

5,015,000​5,015,000​7.16 Special Revenue​

7.17 The special revenue fund appropriation is from​

7.18 the fire safety account in the special revenue​

7.19 fund and is for activities under Minnesota​

7.20 Statutes, section 299F.012.​

7.21 (a) Firefighter Training and Education​

7.22 $4,265,000 each year is for firefighter training​

7.23 and education.​

7.24 (b) Task Force 1​

7.25 $500,000 each year is for the Minnesota Task​

7.26 Force 1.​

7.27 (c) Air Rescue​

7.28 $250,000 each year is for the Minnesota Air​

7.29 Rescue Team.​

7.30 (d) Unappropriated Revenue​

7.31 Any additional unappropriated money​

7.32 collected in fiscal year 2017 is appropriated​

7​Article 1 Sec. 11.​
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8.1 to the commissioner of public safety for the​

8.2 purposes of Minnesota Statutes, section​

8.3 299F.012. The commissioner may transfer​

8.4 appropriations and base amounts between​

8.5 activities in this subdivision.​

2,521,000​2,506,000​8.6 Subd. 6. Alcohol and Gambling Enforcement​

8.7 Appropriations by Fund​

1,772,000​1,759,000​8.8 General​

749,000​747,000​8.9 Special Revenue​

8.10 $677,000 the first year and $679,000 the​

8.11 second year are from the alcohol enforcement​

8.12 account in the special revenue fund. Of this​

8.13 appropriation, $500,000 each year shall be​

8.14 transferred to the general fund.​

8.15 $70,000 each year is from the lawful gambling​

8.16 regulation account in the special revenue fund.​

8.17 Field Agent or Alcohol Educator​

8.18 $90,000 each year from the general fund is for​

8.19 a field agent or an alcohol educator.​

39,918,000​39,903,000​8.20 Subd. 7. Office of Justice Programs​

8.21 Appropriations by Fund​

39,822,000​39,807,000​8.22 General​

96,000​96,000​
8.23 State Government​
8.24 Special Revenue​

8.25 (a) OJP Administration Costs​

8.26 Up to 2.5 percent of the grant funds​

8.27 appropriated in this subdivision may be used​

8.28 by the commissioner to administer the grant​

8.29 program.​

8.30 (b) Violent Crime Enforcement​

8.31 $35,000 each year is for additional grants for​

8.32 Statewide Violent Crime Enforcement Teams.​

8.33 (c) Combating Terrorism Recruitment​

8​Article 1 Sec. 11.​
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9.1 $250,000 each year is for grants to local law​

9.2 enforcement agencies to develop strategies​

9.3 and make efforts to combat the recruitment of​

9.4 Minnesota residents by terrorist organizations​

9.5 such as ISIS and al-Shabaab. This is a onetime​

9.6 appropriation.​

9.7 (d) Sex Trafficking Prevention Grants​

9.8 $180,000 each year is for grants to state and​

9.9 local units of government for the following​

9.10 purposes:​

9.11 (1) to support new or existing​

9.12 multijurisdictional entities to investigate sex​

9.13 trafficking crimes; and​

9.14 (2) to provide technical assistance, including​

9.15 training and case consultation, to law​

9.16 enforcement agencies statewide.​

9.17 (e) Pathway to Policing Reimbursement Grants​

9.18 $400,000 each year is for reimbursement​

9.19 grants to local units of government that operate​

9.20 pathway to policing programs intended to​

9.21 bring persons with nontraditional backgrounds​

9.22 into law enforcement. Applicants for​

9.23 reimbursement grants may receive up to 50​

9.24 percent of the cost of compensating and​

9.25 training pathway to policing participants.​

9.26 Reimbursement grants shall be proportionally​

9.27 allocated based on the number of grant​

9.28 applications approved by the commissioner.​

77,131,000​77,119,000​9.29 Subd. 8. Emergency Communication Networks​

9.30 This appropriation is from the state​

9.31 government special revenue fund for 911​

9.32 emergency telecommunications services.​

9.33 This appropriation includes funds for​

9.34 information technology project services and​

9​Article 1 Sec. 11.​
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10.1 support subject to the provisions of Minnesota​

10.2 Statutes, section 16E.0466. Any ongoing​

10.3 information technology costs will be​

10.4 incorporated into the service level agreement​

10.5 and will be paid to the Office of MN.IT​

10.6 Services by the Department of Public Safety​

10.7 under the rates and mechanism specified in​

10.8 that agreement.​

10.9 (a) Public Safety Answering Points​

10.10 $13,664,000 each year is to be distributed as​

10.11 provided in Minnesota Statutes, section​

10.12 403.113, subdivision 2.​

10.13 (b) Medical Resource Communication Centers​

10.14 $683,000 each year is for grants to the​

10.15 Minnesota Emergency Medical Services​

10.16 Regulatory Board for the Metro East and​

10.17 Metro West Medical Resource​

10.18 Communication Centers that were in operation​

10.19 before January 1, 2000.​

10.20 (c) ARMER Debt Service​

10.21 $23,261,000 each year is to the commissioner​

10.22 of management and budget to pay debt service​

10.23 on revenue bonds issued under Minnesota​

10.24 Statutes, section 403.275.​

10.25 Any portion of this appropriation not needed​

10.26 to pay debt service in a fiscal year may be used​

10.27 by the commissioner of public safety to pay​

10.28 cash for any of the capital improvements for​

10.29 which bond proceeds were appropriated by​

10.30 Laws 2005, chapter 136, article 1, section 9,​

10.31 subdivision 8; or Laws 2007, chapter 54,​

10.32 article 1, section 10, subdivision 8.​

10.33 (d) ARMER State Backbone Operating​

10.34 Costs​

10​Article 1 Sec. 11.​
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11.1 $9,650,000 each year is to the commissioner​

11.2 of transportation for costs of maintaining and​

11.3 operating the statewide radio system​

11.4 backbone.​

11.5 (e) ARMER Improvements​

11.6 $1,000,000 each year is to the Statewide​

11.7 Emergency Communications Board for​

11.8 improvements to those elements of the​

11.9 statewide public safety radio and​

11.10 communication system that support mutual​

11.11 aid communications and emergency medical​

11.12 services or provide interim enhancement of​

11.13 public safety communication interoperability​

11.14 in those areas of the state where the statewide​

11.15 public safety radio and communication system​

11.16 is not yet implemented, and grants to local​

11.17 units of government to further the strategic​

11.18 goals set forth by the Statewide Emergency​

11.19 Communications Board strategic plan.​

11.20 Sec. 12. PEACE OFFICER STANDARDS AND​
11.21 TRAINING (POST) BOARD​

10,638,000​$​10,634,000​$​11.22 Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation​

11.23 Appropriations by Fund​

2019​11.24 2018​

6,500,000​6,500,000​11.25 General​

4,138,000​4,134,000​11.26 Special Revenue​

11.27 The amounts that may be spent for each​

11.28 purpose are specified in the following​

11.29 subdivisions.​

11.30 Subd. 2. Excess Amounts Transferred​

11.31 The special revenue fund appropriation is from​

11.32 the peace officer training account. Any new​

11.33 receipts credited to that account in the first​

11.34 year in excess of $4,134,000 must be​

11​Article 1 Sec. 12.​
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12.1 transferred and credited to the general fund.​

12.2 Any new receipts credited to that account in​

12.3 the second year in excess of $4,138,000 must​

12.4 be transferred and credited to the general fund.​

12.5 Subd. 3. Peace Officer Training Reimbursements​

12.6 $2,859,000 each year from the peace officer​

12.7 training account in the special revenue fund​

12.8 is for reimbursements to local governments​

12.9 for peace officer training costs.​

12.10 Subd. 4. Peace Officer Training Assistance​

12.11 $6,500,000 each year is from the general fund​

12.12 to support and strengthen law enforcement​

12.13 training and implement best practices. The​

12.14 base for this activity is $6,500,000 in fiscal​

12.15 years 2020 and 2021, and zero in fiscal year​

12.16 2022 and thereafter.​

12.17 Subd. 5. De-escalation Training​

12.18 $100,000 each year from the peace officer​

12.19 training account in the special revenue fund​

12.20 is for training state and local community safety​

12.21 personnel in the use of crisis de-escalation​

12.22 techniques. When selecting a service provider​

12.23 for this training, the board may consult with​

12.24 any postsecondary institution, any state or​

12.25 local governmental official, or any​

12.26 nongovernmental authority the board​

12.27 determines to be relevant. Among any other​

12.28 criteria the board may establish, the training​

12.29 provider must have a demonstrated​

12.30 understanding of the transitions and challenges​

12.31 that veterans may experience during their​

12.32 re-entry into society following combat service.​

12.33 The board must ensure that training​

12.34 opportunities provided are reasonably​

12.35 distributed statewide.​

12​Article 1 Sec. 12.​
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190,000​$​190,000​$​13.1 Sec. 13. PRIVATE DETECTIVE BOARD​

13.2 Sec. 14. CORRECTIONS​

558,772,000​$​567,929,000​$​9,200,000​$​
13.3 Subdivision 1. Total​
13.4 Appropriation​

13.5 The amounts that may be spent for each​

13.6 purpose are specified in the following​

13.7 subdivisions.​

403,591,000​412,949,000​9,200,000​
13.8 Subd. 2. Correctional​
13.9 Institutions​

13.10 (a) Offender Health Care​

13.11 $9,200,000 in fiscal year 2017 is to fund a​

13.12 deficiency in the base budget for the offender​

13.13 health care contract.​

13.14 $11,400,000 the first year is for the offender​

13.15 health care contract.​

13.16 Prior to entering into a new health care​

13.17 contract, the commissioner must identify and​

13.18 directly solicit bids from at least five health​

13.19 care organizations that provide, or are willing​

13.20 to provide, health care to prison inmates. In​

13.21 the department's next report required under​

13.22 Minnesota Statutes, section 241.016, after​

13.23 entering a new health care contract, the​

13.24 commissioner shall:​

13.25 (1) provide the names and a summary of each​

13.26 bid proposal from the health care organizations​

13.27 that submitted a proposal to provide health​

13.28 care to state inmates; and​

13.29 (2) explain, in detail, why the commissioner​

13.30 selected the chosen provider.​

13.31 The base for offender health care is​

13.32 $11,400,000 in fiscal years 2020 and 2021.​

13.33 (b) Federal Prison Rape Elimination Act​

13​Article 1 Sec. 14.​
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14.1 $500,000 each year is to comply with​

14.2 requirements of the federal Prison Rape​

14.3 Elimination Act. The commissioner must limit​

14.4 the number of juveniles accepted at MCF-Red​

14.5 Wing so that the staffing to offender ratio at​

14.6 the facility complies with the act.​

128,213,000​128,070,000​14.7 Subd. 3. Community Services​

14.8 (a) DOC Supervision Services​

14.9 $696,000 the first year and $697,000 the​

14.10 second year are for Department of Corrections​

14.11 probation and supervised release agents.​

14.12 (b) Community Corrections Act​

14.13 $2,100,000 each year is added to the​

14.14 Community Corrections Act subsidy, as​

14.15 described in Minnesota Statutes, section​

14.16 401.14.​

14.17 (c) County Probation Officer​

14.18 Reimbursement​

14.19 $230,000 each year is added to the county​

14.20 probation officers reimbursement, as described​

14.21 in Minnesota Statutes, section 244.19,​

14.22 subdivision 6.​

14.23 (d) Alternatives to Incarceration Pilot Program​
14.24 Fund​

14.25 $159,000 the first year and $160,000 the​

14.26 second year are to fund grants to facilitate​

14.27 access to community treatment options under​

14.28 article 3, section 30.​

26,968,000​26,910,000​14.29 Subd. 4. Operations Support​

14.30 Critical Technology Needs​

14.31 $1,187,000 each year is to support critical​

14.32 technology needs.​

14​Article 1 Sec. 14.​
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15.1 ARTICLE 2​

15.2 COURTS​

15.3 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 2.722, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

15.4 Subdivision 1. Description. Effective July 1, 1959, the state is divided into ten judicial​

15.5 districts composed of the following named counties, respectively, in each of which districts​

15.6 judges shall be chosen as hereinafter specified:​

15.7 1. Goodhue, Dakota, Carver, Le Sueur, McLeod, Scott, and Sibley; 36 judges; and four​

15.8 permanent chambers shall be maintained in Red Wing, Hastings, Shakopee, and Glencoe​

15.9 and one other shall be maintained at the place designated by the chief judge of the district;​

15.10 2. Ramsey; 26 judges;​

15.11 3. Wabasha, Winona, Houston, Rice, Olmsted, Dodge, Steele, Waseca, Freeborn, Mower,​

15.12 and Fillmore; 23 judges; and permanent chambers shall be maintained in Faribault, Albert​

15.13 Lea, Austin, Rochester, and Winona;​

15.14 4. Hennepin; 60 judges;​

15.15 5. Blue Earth, Watonwan, Lyon, Redwood, Brown, Nicollet, Lincoln, Cottonwood,​

15.16 Murray, Nobles, Pipestone, Rock, Faribault, Martin, and Jackson; 16 judges; and permanent​

15.17 chambers shall be maintained in Marshall, Windom, Fairmont, New Ulm, and Mankato;​

15.18 6. Carlton, St. Louis, Lake, and Cook; 15 judges;​

15.19 7. Benton, Douglas, Mille Lacs, Morrison, Otter Tail, Stearns, Todd, Clay, Becker, and​

15.20 Wadena; 28 29 judges; and permanent chambers shall be maintained in Moorhead, Fergus​

15.21 Falls, Little Falls, and St. Cloud;​

15.22 8. Chippewa, Kandiyohi, Lac qui Parle, Meeker, Renville, Swift, Yellow Medicine, Big​

15.23 Stone, Grant, Pope, Stevens, Traverse, and Wilkin; 11 judges; and permanent chambers​

15.24 shall be maintained in Morris, Montevideo, and Willmar;​

15.25 9. Norman, Polk, Marshall, Kittson, Red Lake, Roseau, Mahnomen, Pennington, Aitkin,​

15.26 Itasca, Crow Wing, Hubbard, Beltrami, Lake of the Woods, Clearwater, Cass and​

15.27 Koochiching; 23 24 judges; and permanent chambers shall be maintained in Crookston,​

15.28 Thief River Falls, Bemidji, Brainerd, Grand Rapids, and International Falls; and​

15.29 10. Anoka, Isanti, Wright, Sherburne, Kanabec, Pine, Chisago, and Washington; 45​

15.30 judges; and permanent chambers shall be maintained in Anoka, Stillwater, and other places​

15.31 designated by the chief judge of the district.​

15​Article 2 Section 1.​
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16.1 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 13.69, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

16.2 Subdivision 1. Classifications. (a) The following government data of the Department​

16.3 of Public Safety are private data:​

16.4 (1) medical data on driving instructors, licensed drivers, and applicants for parking​

16.5 certificates and special license plates issued to physically disabled persons;​

16.6 (2) other data on holders of a disability certificate under section 169.345, except that (i)​

16.7 data that are not medical data may be released to law enforcement agencies, and (ii) data​

16.8 necessary for enforcement of sections 169.345 and 169.346 may be released to parking​

16.9 enforcement employees or parking enforcement agents of statutory or home rule charter​

16.10 cities and towns;​

16.11 (3) Social Security numbers in driver's license and motor vehicle registration records,​

16.12 except that Social Security numbers must be provided to the Department of Revenue for​

16.13 purposes of tax administration, the Department of Labor and Industry for purposes of​

16.14 workers' compensation administration and enforcement, the judicial branch for purposes of​

16.15 debt collection, and the Department of Natural Resources for purposes of license application​

16.16 administration; and​

16.17 (4) data on persons listed as standby or temporary custodians under section 171.07,​

16.18 subdivision 11, except that the data must be released to:​

16.19 (i) law enforcement agencies for the purpose of verifying that an individual is a designated​

16.20 caregiver; or​

16.21 (ii) law enforcement agencies who state that the license holder is unable to communicate​

16.22 at that time and that the information is necessary for notifying the designated caregiver of​

16.23 the need to care for a child of the license holder.​

16.24 The department may release the Social Security number only as provided in clause (3)​

16.25 and must not sell or otherwise provide individual Social Security numbers or lists of Social​

16.26 Security numbers for any other purpose.​

16.27 (b) The following government data of the Department of Public Safety are confidential​

16.28 data: data concerning an individual's driving ability when that data is received from a member​

16.29 of the individual's family.​

16.30 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 243.49, is amended to read:​

16.31 243.49 COMMITMENT PAPERS; DUTY OF COURT ADMINISTRATOR.​

16​Article 2 Sec. 3.​
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17.1 Upon a plea of guilty or finding of guilty after trial, the court administrator of every​

17.2 court which sentences a defendant for a felony or gross misdemeanor to the custody of the​

17.3 commissioner of corrections or to the superintendent of the workhouse or work farm, shall​

17.4 provide the officer or person having custody of the defendant a certified record for​

17.5 commitment, including (1) a copy of the indictment and plea, (2) a transcript of the sentencing​

17.6 proceedings, with the date thereof, together with the defendant's statement under oath, if​

17.7 obtained, as to the defendant's true name, residence, if any, the date and place of birth, the​

17.8 names and addresses of parents and other relatives and of employers and others who know​

17.9 the defendant well, social and other affiliations, past occupations and employments, former​

17.10 places of residence and the period of time and the dates the defendant has resided in each,​

17.11 citizenship, the number, dates, places and causes of any prior convictions, and (3) if the​

17.12 person pleaded guilty, a transcript of the sentencing proceedings. The record shall also​

17.13 include the trial judge's impressions of the defendant's mental and physical condition, general​

17.14 character, capacity, disposition, habits and special needs. The court reporter shall provide​

17.15 the required transcripts. The certified record for commitment may be used as evidence in​

17.16 any postconviction proceeding brought by the defendant. The court administrator shall also​

17.17 deliver to the sheriff or other officer or person conveying the defendant to the correctional​

17.18 facility, workhouse, or work farm designated by the commissioner of corrections or the​

17.19 judge a warrant of commitment together with a certified copy of the warrant directing the​

17.20 conveyor to deliver the person and the certified record for commitment to the principal​

17.21 officer in charge of the correctional facility, workhouse, or work farm. Upon the delivery​

17.22 of any person, the principal officer in charge of the correctional facility, workhouse, or work​

17.23 farm shall keep the certified copy of the warrant of commitment and endorse the principal​

17.24 officer's receipt upon the original, which shall be filed with the sentencing court. The court​

17.25 administrator shall retain one copy of the required transcripts, and a tape recording and the​

17.26 court reporter's notes of all other proceedings.​

17.27 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 271.21, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

17.28 Subd. 2. Jurisdiction. At the election of the taxpayer, the Small Claims Division shall​

17.29 have jurisdiction only in the following matters:​

17.30 (a) cases involving valuation, assessment, or taxation of real or personal property, if:​

17.31 (i) the issue is a denial of a current year application for the homestead classification for​

17.32 the taxpayer's property;​

17.33 (ii) only one parcel is included in the petition, the entire parcel is classified as homestead​

17.34 class 1a or 1b under section 273.13, and the parcel contains no more than one dwelling unit;​
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18.1 (iii) the entire property is classified as agricultural homestead class 2a or 1b under section​

18.2 273.13; or​

18.3 (iv) the assessor's estimated market value of the property included in the petition is less​

18.4 than $300,000; or​

18.5 (b) any case not involving valuation, assessment, or taxation of real and personal property​

18.6 in which the amount in controversy does not exceed $5,000 $15,000, including penalty and​

18.7 interest.​

18.8 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

18.9 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 299A.707, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

18.10 Subd. 2. Account purpose, grants. Money in this account shall be allocated by a grant​

18.11 program administered by the commissioner of public safety through the Office of Justice​

18.12 Programs. Local units of government and nonprofit organizations are eligible for grants to​

18.13 establish or operate chemical dependency and mental health treatment programs, programs​

18.14 that improve supervision, including pretrial and precharge supervision, and programs to​

18.15 reduce recidivism of controlled substances offenders on probation or supervised release or​

18.16 participating in drug treatment courts or to fund local participation in drug treatment court​

18.17 initiatives approved by the Judicial Council.​

18.18 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 357.42, is amended to read:​

18.19 357.42 DRUG TREATMENT COURT FEES.​

18.20 (a) When a court establishes a drug treatment court process, the court may establish one​

18.21 or more fees for services provided to defendants participating in the process.​

18.22 (b) In each fiscal year, the court shall deposit the drug treatment court participation fees​

18.23 in the special revenue fund and credit the fees to a separate account for the trial courts. The​

18.24 balance in this account is appropriated to the trial courts and does not cancel but is available​

18.25 until expended. Expenditures from this account must be made for drug treatment court​

18.26 purposes.​

18.27 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 358.116, is amended to read:​

18.28 358.116 COURT DOCUMENTS.​

18.29 Unless specifically required by court rule, a pleading, motion, affidavit, or other document​

18.30 filed with a court of the Minnesota judicial branch, or presented to a judge or judicial officer​

18.31 in support of a request for a court order, warrant, or other relief, is not required to be​
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19.1 notarized. Signing a document filed with the court or presented to a judge or judicial officer​

19.2 constitutes "verification upon oath or affirmation" as defined in section 358.41, clause (3),​

19.3 without administration of an oath under section 358.07, provided that the signature, as​

19.4 defined by court rules, is affixed immediately below a declaration using substantially the​

19.5 following language: "I declare under penalty of perjury that everything I have stated in this​

19.6 document is true and correct." In addition to the signature, the date of signing and the county​

19.7 and state where the document was signed shall be noted on the document. A person who​

19.8 signs knowing that the document is false in any material respect is guilty of perjury under​

19.9 section 609.48, even if the date, county, and state of signing are omitted from the document.​

19.10 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 480.242, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

19.11 Subd. 2. Review of applications; selection of recipients. At times and in accordance​

19.12 with any procedures as the Supreme Court adopts in the form of court rules, applications​

19.13 for the expenditure of civil legal services funds shall be accepted from qualified legal services​

19.14 programs or from local government agencies and nonprofit organizations seeking to establish​

19.15 qualified alternative dispute resolution programs. The applications shall be reviewed by the​

19.16 advisory committee, and the advisory committee, subject to review by the Supreme Court,​

19.17 shall distribute the funds available for this expenditure to qualified legal services programs​

19.18 or to qualified alternative dispute resolution programs submitting applications. The funds​

19.19 shall be distributed in accordance with the following formula:​

19.20 (a) Eighty-five percent of the funds distributed shall be distributed to qualified legal​

19.21 services programs that have demonstrated an ability as of July 1, 1982, to provide legal​

19.22 services to persons unable to afford private counsel with funds provided by the federal Legal​

19.23 Services Corporation. The allocation of funds among the programs selected shall be based​

19.24 upon the number of persons with incomes below the poverty level established by the United​

19.25 States Census Bureau who reside in the geographical area served by each program, as​

19.26 determined by the Supreme Court on the basis of the most recent national census. All funds​

19.27 distributed pursuant to this clause shall be used for the provision of legal services in civil​

19.28 and farm legal assistance matters as prioritized by program boards of directors to eligible​

19.29 clients.​

19.30 (b) Fifteen percent of the funds distributed may be distributed (1) to other qualified legal​

19.31 services programs for the provision of legal services in civil matters to eligible clients,​

19.32 including programs which organize members of the private bar to perform services and​

19.33 programs for qualified alternative dispute resolution, (2) to programs for training mediators​

19.34 operated by nonprofit alternative dispute resolution corporations, or (3) to qualified legal​
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20.1 services programs to provide family farm legal assistance for financially distressed state​

20.2 farmers. The family farm legal assistance must be directed at farm financial problems​

20.3 including, but not limited to, liquidation of farm property including bankruptcy, farm​

20.4 foreclosure, repossession of farm assets, restructuring or discharge of farm debt, farm credit​

20.5 and general debtor-creditor relations, and tax considerations. If all the funds to be distributed​

20.6 pursuant to this clause cannot be distributed because of insufficient acceptable applications,​

20.7 the remaining funds shall be distributed pursuant to clause (a).​

20.8 A person is eligible for legal assistance under this section if the person is an eligible​

20.9 client as defined in section 480.24, subdivision 2, or:​

20.10 (1) is a state resident;​

20.11 (2) is or has been a farmer or a family shareholder of a family farm corporation within​

20.12 the preceding 24 months;​

20.13 (3) has a debt-to-asset ratio greater than 50 percent; and​

20.14 (4) has a reportable federal adjusted gross income of $15,000 or less in the previous​

20.15 year; and​

20.16 (5) is financially unable to retain legal representation (4) satisfies the income eligibility​

20.17 guidelines established under section 480.243, subdivision 1.​

20.18 Qualifying farmers and small business operators whose bank loans are held by the Federal​

20.19 Deposit Insurance Corporation are eligible for legal assistance under this section.​

20.20 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 484.70, subdivision 7, is amended to read:​

20.21 Subd. 7. Referee duties. The duties and powers of referees shall be as follows:​

20.22 (a) Hear and report all matters assigned by the chief judge.​

20.23 (b) Recommend findings of fact, conclusions of law, temporary and interim orders, and​

20.24 final orders for judgment.​

20.25 All recommended orders and findings of a referee shall be subject to confirmation by a​

20.26 judge.​

20.27 (c) Upon the conclusion of the hearing in each case, the referee shall transmit to a judge​

20.28 the court file together with recommended findings and orders in writing. The recommended​

20.29 findings and orders of a referee become the findings and orders of the court when confirmed​

20.30 by a judge. The order of the court shall be proof of such confirmation, and also of the fact​

20.31 that the matter was duly referred to the referees.​
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21.1 (d) Review of any recommended order or finding of a referee by a judge may be by​

21.2 notice served and filed within ten days of effective notice of the recommended order or​

21.3 finding. The notice of review shall specify the grounds for review and the specific provisions​

21.4 of the recommended findings or orders disputed, and the court, upon receipt of a notice of​

21.5 review, shall set a time and place for a review hearing.​

21.6 (e) All orders and findings recommended by a referee become an effective order when​

21.7 countersigned by a judge and remain effective during the pendency of a review, including​

21.8 a remand to the referee, unless a judge:​

21.9 (1) expressly stays the effect of the order;​

21.10 (2) changes the order during the pendency of the review; or​

21.11 (3) changes or vacates the order upon completion of the review.​

21.12 (f) Notwithstanding paragraphs (d) and (e), referee orders and decrees in probate or civil​

21.13 commitment court proceedings, if appealed, must be appealed directly to the Court of​

21.14 Appeals, in the same manner as judicial orders and decrees.​

21.15 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 484.702, is amended by adding a subdivision​

21.16 to read:​

21.17 Subd. 6. Expedited child support process. Hearings and proceedings conducted in the​

21.18 expedited child support process under this section may be reported by use of electronic​

21.19 recording equipment provided that the equipment meets the minimum standards established​

21.20 by the state court administrator. Electronic recording equipment must be operated and​

21.21 monitored by a person who meets the minimum qualifications established by the state court​

21.22 administrator.​

21.23 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 486.01, is amended to read:​

21.24 486.01 APPOINTMENT, DUTIES, BOND; SUBSTITUTES.​

21.25 Each judge, by duplicate orders order filed with the court administrator and county​

21.26 auditor of the several counties of the judge's district, may appoint a competent stenographer​

21.27 court reporter as reporter of the court, to hold office during the judge's pleasure, and to act​

21.28 as the judge's secretary in all matters pertaining to official duties. Such reporter shall give​

21.29 bond to the state in the sum of $2,000, to be approved by the appointing judge, conditioned​

21.30 for the faithful and impartial discharge of all the reporter's duties, which bond, with the oath​

21.31 of office, shall be filed with the court administrator in the county in which the judge resides.​
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22.1 Whenever the official reporter so appointed, because of sickness or physical disability,​

22.2 is temporarily unable to perform duties, the judge of the court affected may, if another​

22.3 official court reporter is not available, secure for the temporary period of disability of the​

22.4 official court reporter, another competent reporter to perform such duties for not to exceed​

22.5 60 days in any calendar year. The substitute court reporter so appointed shall receive as​

22.6 salary an amount equal to the salary of the official court reporter for the period of time​

22.7 involved and shall also receive in addition thereto expenses and fees provided by sections​

22.8 486.05 and 486.06. The salary of such substitute reporter shall be paid in the manner now​

22.9 provided by law for the payment of the salary of the official court reporter. The substitute​

22.10 court reporter shall not be required to furnish bond, unless ordered by the judge to do so.​

22.11 The employment of and the compensation paid to such substitute reporter shall in no way​

22.12 affect or prejudice the employment of and the compensation paid to the official court reporter​

22.13 of said court.​

22.14 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 486.02, is amended to read:​

22.15 486.02 STENOGRAPHIC RECORD.​

22.16 Except as provided in section 484.72, A competent stenographer court reporter who​

22.17 meets minimum qualifications promulgated by the Supreme Court, shall make a complete​

22.18 stenographic record of all testimony given and all proceedings had before the judge upon​

22.19 the trial of issues of fact, with or without a jury, or before any referee appointed by such​

22.20 judge. In so doing the stenographer court reporter shall take down all questions in the exact​

22.21 language thereof, and all answers thereto precisely as given by the witness or by the sworn​

22.22 interpreter. The stenographer court reporter shall also record, verbatim, all objections made,​

22.23 and the grounds thereof as stated by counsel, all rulings thereon, all exceptions taken, all​

22.24 motions, orders, and admissions made and the charge to the jury. When directed so to do​

22.25 by the judge, the stenographer court reporter shall make a like record of any other matter​

22.26 or proceeding, and shall read to such judge or referee any record made by the stenographer​

22.27 court reporter, or transcribe the same, without charge, for any purpose in furtherance of​

22.28 justice.​

22.29 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 486.05, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

22.30 Subdivision 1. Salaries. The salary for each court reporter shall be set annually by the​

22.31 district administrator as provided in judicial branch personnel policies and collective​

22.32 bargaining agreements within the range established under section 480.181 as provided in​

22.33 the judicial branch personnel rules.​
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23.1 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 486.06, is amended to read:​

23.2 486.06 CHARGE FOR TRANSCRIPT.​

23.3 In addition to the salary set in section 486.05, the court reporter may charge for a​

23.4 transcript of a record ordered by any person other than the judge 50 cents per original folio​

23.5 thereof and ten cents per folio for each manifold or other copy thereof when so ordered that​

23.6 it can be made with the original transcript. The chief judge of the judicial district may by​

23.7 order establish new transcript fee ceilings annually at a rate set by the chief justice.​

23.8 A court reporter may impose a fee authorized under this section only if the transcript is​

23.9 delivered to the person who ordered it within a reasonable time after it was ordered.​

23.10 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 513.41, is amended to read:​

23.11 513.41 DEFINITIONS.​

23.12 As used in sections 513.41 to 513.51:​

23.13 (1) "Affiliate" means:​

23.14 (i) a person that directly or indirectly owns, controls, or holds with power to vote, 20​

23.15 percent or more of the outstanding voting securities of the debtor, other than a person that​

23.16 holds the securities,​

23.17 (A) as a fiduciary or agent without sole discretionary power to vote the securities; or​

23.18 (B) solely to secure a debt, if the person has not in fact exercised the power to vote;​

23.19 (ii) a corporation 20 percent or more of whose outstanding voting securities are directly​

23.20 or indirectly owned, controlled, or held with power to vote, by the debtor or a person that​

23.21 directly or indirectly owns, controls, or holds with power to vote, 20 percent or more of the​

23.22 outstanding voting securities of the debtor, other than a person that holds the securities,​

23.23 (A) as a fiduciary or agent without sole discretionary power to vote the securities; or​

23.24 (B) solely to secure a debt, if the person has not in fact exercised the power to vote;​

23.25 (iii) a person whose business is operated by the debtor under a lease or other agreement,​

23.26 or a person substantially all of whose assets are controlled by the debtor; or​

23.27 (iv) a person that operates the debtor's business under a lease or other agreement or​

23.28 controls substantially all of the debtor's assets.​

23.29 (2) "Asset" means property of a debtor, but the term does not include:​

23.30 (i) property to the extent it is encumbered by a valid lien;​
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24.1 (ii) property to the extent it is generally exempt under nonbankruptcy law; or​

24.2 (iii) an interest in property held in tenancy by the entireties to the extent it is not subject​

24.3 to process by a creditor holding a claim against only one tenant.​

24.4 (3) "Claim" means a right to payment, whether or not the right is reduced to judgment,​

24.5 liquidated, unliquidated, fixed, contingent, matured, unmatured, disputed, undisputed, legal,​

24.6 equitable, secured, or unsecured.​

24.7 (4) "Creditor" means a person that has a claim.​

24.8 (5) "Debt" means liability on a claim.​

24.9 (6) "Debtor" means a person that is liable on a claim.​

24.10 (7) "Electronic" means relating to technology having electrical, digital, magnetic, wireless,​

24.11 optical, electromagnetic, or similar capabilities.​

24.12 (8) "Insider" includes:​

24.13 (i) if the debtor is an individual,​

24.14 (A) a relative of the debtor or of a general partner of the debtor;​

24.15 (B) a partnership in which the debtor is a general partner;​

24.16 (C) a general partner in a partnership described in subitem (B); or​

24.17 (D) a corporation of which the debtor is a director, officer, or a person in control;​

24.18 (ii) if the debtor is a corporation,​

24.19 (A) a director of the debtor;​

24.20 (B) an officer of the debtor;​

24.21 (C) a person in control of the debtor;​

24.22 (D) a partnership in which the debtor is a general partner;​

24.23 (E) a general partner in a partnership described in subitem (D); or​

24.24 (F) a relative of a general partner, director, officer, or person in control of the debtor;​

24.25 (iii) if the debtor is a partnership,​

24.26 (A) a general partner in the debtor;​

24.27 (B) a relative of a general partner in, or a general partner of, or a person in control of​

24.28 the debtor;​
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25.1 (C) another partnership in which the debtor is a general partner;​

25.2 (D) a general partner in a partnership described in subitem (C); or​

25.3 (E) a person in control of the debtor;​

25.4 (iv) an affiliate, or an insider of an affiliate as if the affiliate were the debtor; and​

25.5 (v) a managing agent of the debtor.​

25.6 (9) "Lien" means a charge against or an interest in property to secure payment of a debt​

25.7 or performance of an obligation, and includes a security interest created by agreement, a​

25.8 judicial lien obtained by legal or equitable process or proceedings, a common-law lien, or​

25.9 a statutory lien.​

25.10 (10) "Organization" means a person other than an individual.​

25.11 (11) "Person" means an individual, estate, business or nonprofit entity, public corporation,​

25.12 government or governmental subdivision, agency, or instrumentality, or other legal entity.​

25.13 (12) "Property" means anything that may be subject of ownership.​

25.14 (13) "Record" means information that is inscribed on a tangible medium or that is stored​

25.15 in an electronic or other medium and is retrievable in perceivable form.​

25.16 (14) "Relative" means an individual related by consanguinity within the third degree as​

25.17 determined by the common law, a spouse, or an individual related to a spouse within the​

25.18 third degree as so determined, and includes an individual in an adoptive relationship within​

25.19 the third degree.​

25.20 (15) "Sign" means, with present intent to authenticate or adopt a record:​

25.21 (i) to execute or adopt a tangible symbol; or​

25.22 (ii) to attach to or logically associate with the record an electronic symbol, sound, or​

25.23 process.​

25.24 (16) "Transfer" means every mode, direct or indirect, absolute or conditional, voluntary​

25.25 or involuntary, of disposing of or parting with an asset or an interest in an asset, and includes​

25.26 payment of money, release, lease, license, and creation of a lien or other encumbrance.​

25.27 Transfer does not include a donation or contribution of money or an asset made to a qualified​

25.28 charitable or religious organization or entity, whether made by a debtor or by any other​

25.29 person and whether or not the donation or contribution requires or results in a payment​

25.30 being made by a debtor to the charitable or religious organization pursuant to a promissory​

25.31 note, stock, bond, debenture, or by any other method, unless the donation or contribution​
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26.1 was made within two years of commencement of an action under sections 513.41 to 513.51​

26.2 against the qualified charitable or religious organization or entity, was made by the debtor,​

26.3 and:​

26.4 (i) the debtor made the donation or charitable contribution with actual intent to hinder,​

26.5 delay, or defraud any creditor of the debtor; or​

26.6 (ii) the debtor made the donation or charitable contribution and:​

26.7 (A) was insolvent at the time of the contribution or would be rendered insolvent by​

26.8 reason of the contribution;​

26.9 (B) was engaged or was about to engage in a business or a transaction for which the​

26.10 remaining assets of the debtor were unreasonably small in relation to the business or​

26.11 transaction; or​

26.12 (C) intended to incur, or the charitable or religious organization or entity believed or​

26.13 had reason to believe that the debtor would incur, debts beyond the debtor's ability to pay​

26.14 as the debts become due.​

26.15 A transfer of a charitable contribution to a qualified charitable or religious organization​

26.16 or entity is not considered a transfer covered under item (ii) if the amount of that contribution​

26.17 did not exceed 15 percent of the gross annual income of the debtor for the year in which​

26.18 the transfer of the contribution was made; or the contribution exceeded that amount but the​

26.19 transfer was consistent with practices of the debtor in making charitable contributions.​

26.20 Transfer does include a return on investment made directly by a qualified charitable or​

26.21 religious organization or entity. A charitable or religious organization shall not be deemed​

26.22 to have made an investment by reason of accepting the donation or contribution of a​

26.23 promissory note, stock, bond, debenture, or other nonmonetary asset nor by extending or​

26.24 modifying the terms of repayment of the promissory note, stock, bond, debenture, or other​

26.25 similar nonmonetary asset. "Qualified charitable or religious organization or entity" means​

26.26 an organization or entity described in United States Code, title 26, section 170(c)(1), (2),​

26.27 or (3).​

26.28 (17) "Valid lien" means a lien that is effective against the holder of a judicial lien​

26.29 subsequently obtained by legal or equitable process or proceedings.​

26.30 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment, and​

26.31 applies to all pending cases and to causes of action arising before, on, or after that date.​
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27.1 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 518.179, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

27.2 Subd. 2. Applicable crimes. This section applies to the following crimes or similar​

27.3 crimes under the laws of the United States, or any other state:​

27.4 (1) murder in the first, second, or third degree under section 609.185, 609.19, or 609.195;​

27.5 (2) manslaughter in the first degree under section 609.20;​

27.6 (3) assault in the first, second, or third degree under section 609.221, 609.222, or 609.223;​

27.7 (4) kidnapping under section 609.25;​

27.8 (5) depriving another of custodial or parental rights under section 609.26;​

27.9 (6) soliciting, inducing, promoting, or receiving profit derived from prostitution involving​

27.10 a minor under section 609.322;​

27.11 (7) criminal sexual conduct in the first degree under section 609.342;​

27.12 (8) criminal sexual conduct in the second degree under section 609.343;​

27.13 (9) criminal sexual conduct in the third degree under section 609.344, subdivision 1,​

27.14 paragraph (c), (f), or (g);​

27.15 (10) solicitation of a child to engage in sexual conduct under section 609.352;​

27.16 (11) incest under section 609.365;​

27.17 (12) malicious punishment of a child under section 609.377;​

27.18 (13) neglect of a child under section 609.378;​

27.19 (14) terroristic threats under section 609.713; or​

27.20 (15) felony stalking under section 609.749, subdivision 4; or​

27.21 (16) domestic assault by strangulation under section 609.2247.​

27.22 Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 549.09, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

27.23 Subdivision 1. When owed; rate. (a) When a judgment or award is for the recovery of​

27.24 money, including a judgment for the recovery of taxes, interest from the time of the verdict,​

27.25 award, or report until judgment is finally entered shall be computed by the court administrator​

27.26 or arbitrator as provided in paragraph (c) and added to the judgment or award.​

27.27 (b) Except as otherwise provided by contract or allowed by law, preverdict, preaward,​

27.28 or prereport interest on pecuniary damages shall be computed as provided in paragraph (c)​

27.29 from the time of the commencement of the action or a demand for arbitration, or the time​
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28.1 of a written notice of claim, whichever occurs first, except as provided herein. The action​

28.2 must be commenced within two years of a written notice of claim for interest to begin to​

28.3 accrue from the time of the notice of claim. If either party serves a written offer of settlement,​

28.4 the other party may serve a written acceptance or a written counteroffer within 30 days.​

28.5 After that time, interest on the judgment or award shall be calculated by the judge or arbitrator​

28.6 in the following manner. The prevailing party shall receive interest on any judgment or​

28.7 award from the time of commencement of the action or a demand for arbitration, or the time​

28.8 of a written notice of claim, or as to special damages from the time when special damages​

28.9 were incurred, if later, until the time of verdict, award, or report only if the amount of its​

28.10 offer is closer to the judgment or award than the amount of the opposing party's offer. If​

28.11 the amount of the losing party's offer was closer to the judgment or award than the prevailing​

28.12 party's offer, the prevailing party shall receive interest only on the amount of the settlement​

28.13 offer or the judgment or award, whichever is less, and only from the time of commencement​

28.14 of the action or a demand for arbitration, or the time of a written notice of claim, or as to​

28.15 special damages from when the special damages were incurred, if later, until the time the​

28.16 settlement offer was made. Subsequent offers and counteroffers supersede the legal effect​

28.17 of earlier offers and counteroffers. For the purposes of clause (2), the amount of settlement​

28.18 offer must be allocated between past and future damages in the same proportion as determined​

28.19 by the trier of fact. Except as otherwise provided by contract or allowed by law, preverdict,​

28.20 preaward, or prereport interest shall not be awarded on the following:​

28.21 (1) judgments, awards, or benefits in workers' compensation cases, but not including​

28.22 third-party actions;​

28.23 (2) judgments or awards for future damages;​

28.24 (3) punitive damages, fines, or other damages that are noncompensatory in nature;​

28.25 (4) judgments or awards not in excess of the amount specified in section 491A.01; and​

28.26 (5) that portion of any verdict, award, or report which is founded upon interest, or costs,​

28.27 disbursements, attorney fees, or other similar items added by the court or arbitrator.​

28.28 (c)(1)(i) For a judgment or award of $50,000 or less or a judgment or award for or against​

28.29 the state or a political subdivision of the state, regardless of the amount, or a judgment or​

28.30 award in a family court action, regardless of the amount, The interest shall be computed as​

28.31 simple interest per annum. The rate of interest shall be based on the secondary market yield​

28.32 of one year United States Treasury bills, calculated on a bank discount basis as provided in​

28.33 this section.​
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29.1 On or before the 20th day of December of each year the state court administrator shall​

29.2 determine the rate from the one-year constant maturity treasury yield for the most recent​

29.3 calendar month, reported on a monthly basis in the latest statistical release of the board of​

29.4 governors of the Federal Reserve System. This yield, rounded to the nearest one percent,​

29.5 or four percent, whichever is greater, shall be the annual interest rate during the succeeding​

29.6 calendar year. The state court administrator shall communicate the interest rates to the court​

29.7 administrators and sheriffs for use in computing the interest on verdicts and shall make the​

29.8 interest rates available to arbitrators.​

29.9 This item applies to any section that references section 549.09 by citation for the purposes​

29.10 of computing an interest rate on any amount owed to or by the state or a political subdivision​

29.11 of the state, regardless of the amount.​

29.12 (ii) The court, in a family court action, may order a lower interest rate or no interest rate​

29.13 if the parties agree or if the court makes findings explaining why application of a lower​

29.14 interest rate or no interest rate is necessary to avoid causing an unfair hardship to the debtor.​

29.15 This item does not apply to child support or spousal maintenance judgments subject to​

29.16 section 548.091.​

29.17 (2) For a judgment or award over $50,000, other than a judgment or award for or against​

29.18 the state or a political subdivision of the state or a judgment or award in a family court​

29.19 action, the interest rate shall be ten percent per year until paid.​

29.20 (3) When a judgment creditor, or the judgment creditor's attorney or agent, has received​

29.21 a payment after entry of judgment, whether the payment is made voluntarily by or on behalf​

29.22 of the judgment debtor, or is collected by legal process other than execution levy where a​

29.23 proper return has been filed with the court administrator, the judgment creditor, or the​

29.24 judgment creditor's attorney, before applying to the court administrator for an execution​

29.25 shall file with the court administrator an affidavit of partial satisfaction. The affidavit must​

29.26 state the dates and amounts of payments made upon the judgment after the most recent​

29.27 affidavit of partial satisfaction filed, if any; the part of each payment that is applied to taxable​

29.28 disbursements and to accrued interest and to the unpaid principal balance of the judgment;​

29.29 and the accrued, but the unpaid interest owing, if any, after application of each payment.​

29.30 (d) This section does not apply to arbitrations between employers and employees under​

29.31 chapter 179 or 179A. An arbitrator is neither required to nor prohibited from awarding​

29.32 interest under chapter 179 or under section 179A.16 for essential employees.​

29.33 (e) For purposes of this subdivision:​
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30.1 (1) "state" includes a department, board, agency, commission, court, or other entity in​

30.2 the executive, legislative, or judicial branch of the state; and​

30.3 (2) "political subdivision" includes a town, statutory or home rule charter city, county,​

30.4 school district, or any other political subdivision of the state.​

30.5 (e) This section does not apply to a judgment or award upon which interest is entitled​

30.6 to be recovered under section 60A.0811.​

30.7 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2017, and applies to judgments​

30.8 and awards entered on or after that date.​

30.9 Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 609.48, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

30.10 read:​

30.11 Subd. 5. Venue. A violation of subdivision 1, clause (4), may be prosecuted in the county​

30.12 where the statement, under penalty of perjury, was signed, or the county of the district court​

30.13 in which the statement was filed.​

30.14 Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 609.748, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

30.15 Subd. 4. Temporary restraining order; relief by court. (a) The court may issue a​

30.16 temporary restraining order that provides any or all of the following:​

30.17 (1) orders the respondent to cease or avoid the harassment of another person; or​

30.18 (2) orders the respondent to have no contact with another person.​

30.19 (b) The court may issue an order under paragraph (a) if the petitioner files a petition in​

30.20 compliance with subdivision 3 and if the court finds reasonable grounds to believe that the​

30.21 respondent has engaged in harassment. When a petition alleges harassment as defined by​

30.22 subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clause (1), the petition must further allege an immediate and​

30.23 present danger of harassment before the court may issue a temporary restraining order under​

30.24 this section. When signed by a referee, the temporary order becomes effective upon the​

30.25 referee's signature.​

30.26 (c) Notice need not be given to the respondent before the court issues a temporary​

30.27 restraining order under this subdivision. A copy of the restraining order must be served on​

30.28 the respondent along with the order for hearing and petition, as provided in subdivision 3.​

30.29 If the respondent is a juvenile, whenever possible, a copy of the restraining order, along​

30.30 with notice of the pendency of the case and the time and place of the hearing, shall also be​

30.31 served by mail at the last known address upon any parent or guardian of the juvenile​
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31.1 respondent who is not the petitioner. A temporary restraining order may be entered only​

31.2 against the respondent named in the petition.​

31.3 (d) The temporary restraining order is in effect until a hearing is held on the issuance of​

31.4 a restraining order under subdivision 5. The court shall hold the hearing on the issuance of​

31.5 a restraining order if the petitioner requests a hearing. The hearing may be continued by the​

31.6 court upon a showing that the respondent has not been served with a copy of the temporary​

31.7 restraining order despite the exercise of due diligence or if service is made by published​

31.8 notice under subdivision 3 and the petitioner files the affidavit required under that​

31.9 subdivision.​

31.10 (e) If the temporary restraining order has been issued and the respondent requests a​

31.11 hearing, the hearing shall be scheduled by the court upon receipt of the respondent's request.​

31.12 Service of the notice of hearing must be made upon the petitioner not less than five days​

31.13 prior to the hearing. The court shall serve the notice of the hearing upon the petitioner by​

31.14 mail in the manner provided in the Rules of Civil Procedure for pleadings subsequent to a​

31.15 complaint and motions and shall also mail notice of the date and time of the hearing to the​

31.16 respondent. In the event that service cannot be completed in time to give the respondent or​

31.17 petitioner the minimum notice required under this subdivision, the court may set a new​

31.18 hearing date.​

31.19 (f) A request for a hearing under this subdivision must be made within 45 20 days after​

31.20 the temporary restraining order is issued of the date of completed service of the petition.​

31.21 Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 631.52, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

31.22 Subd. 2. Application. Subdivision 1 applies to the following crimes or similar crimes​

31.23 under the laws of the United States or any other state:​

31.24 (1) murder in the first, second, or third degree under section 609.185, 609.19, or 609.195;​

31.25 (2) manslaughter in the first degree under section 609.20;​

31.26 (3) assault in the first, second, or third degree under section 609.221, 609.222, or 609.223;​

31.27 (4) kidnapping under section 609.25;​

31.28 (5) depriving another of custodial or parental rights under section 609.26;​

31.29 (6) soliciting, inducing, promoting, or receiving profit derived from prostitution involving​

31.30 a minor under section 609.322;​

31.31 (7) criminal sexual conduct in the first degree under section 609.342;​
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32.1 (8) criminal sexual conduct in the second degree under section 609.343;​

32.2 (9) criminal sexual conduct in the third degree under section 609.344, subdivision 1,​

32.3 paragraph (c), (f), or (g);​

32.4 (10) solicitation of a child to engage in sexual conduct under section 609.352;​

32.5 (11) incest under section 609.365;​

32.6 (12) malicious punishment of a child under section 609.377;​

32.7 (13) neglect of a child under section 609.378;​

32.8 (14) terroristic threats under section 609.713; or​

32.9 (15) felony stalking under section 609.749; or​

32.10 (16) domestic assault by strangulation under section 609.2247.​

32.11 Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 634.36, is amended to read:​

32.12 634.36 EVIDENCE OF VIDEOTAPES, AUDIOTAPES, OR OTHER​

32.13 RECORDINGS.​

32.14 In any hearing or trial of a criminal offense or petty misdemeanor or proceeding pursuant​

32.15 to section 169A.53, subdivision 3, evidence of a videotape, audiotape, or electronic or digital​

32.16 recording prepared by a peace officer, using recording equipment in a law enforcement​

32.17 vehicle or on the officer's person, while in the performance of official duties shall not be​

32.18 excluded on the ground that a written transcript of the recording was not prepared and​

32.19 available at or prior to trial. As used in this section, "peace officer" has the meaning given​

32.20 in section 169A.03, subdivision 18.​

32.21 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2017, and applies to trials and​

32.22 hearings beginning on or after that date.​

32.23 Sec. 22.  REPEALER.​

32.24 Minnesota Statutes 2016, sections 169.685, subdivision 4; 484.72; 486.05, subdivision​

32.25 1a; and 525.112, are repealed.​

32.26 ARTICLE 3​

32.27 CORRECTIONS AND PUBLIC SAFETY​

32.28 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 3.739, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​
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33.1 Subdivision 1. Permissible claims. Claims and demands arising out of the circumstances​

33.2 described in this subdivision shall be presented to, heard, and determined as provided in​

33.3 subdivision 2:​

33.4 (1) an injury to or death of an inmate of a state, regional, or local correctional facility​

33.5 or county jail who has been conditionally released and ordered to perform while performing​

33.6 compensated or uncompensated work in the community for a state agency, a political​

33.7 subdivision or public corporation of this state, a nonprofit educational, medical, or social​

33.8 service agency, or a private business or individual, as a condition of the release, while​

33.9 performing the work;​

33.10 (2) an injury to or death of a person sentenced by a court, granted a suspended sentence​

33.11 by a court, or subject to a court disposition order, and who, under court order, is performing​

33.12 work (a) (i) in restitution, (b) (ii) in lieu of or to work off fines or court ordered, court-ordered​

33.13 costs, or other statutorily authorized correctional fees, (c) (iii) in lieu of incarceration, or​

33.14 (d) (iv) as a term or condition of a sentence, suspended sentence, or disposition order, while​

33.15 performing the work;​

33.16 (3) an injury to or death of a person, who has been diverted from the court system and​

33.17 who is performing work as described in paragraph clause (1) or (2) under a written agreement​

33.18 signed by the person, and if a juvenile, by a parent or guardian; and​

33.19 (4) an injury to or death of any person caused by an individual who was performing​

33.20 work as described in paragraph clause (1), (2), or (3).​

33.21 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 152.105, is amended to read:​

33.22 152.105 DISPOSAL.​

33.23 Subdivision 1. Disposal of controlled substances. Controlled substances listed in section​

33.24 152.02, subdivisions 3 to 6, may be collected and disposed of only pursuant to the provisions​

33.25 of Code of Federal Regulations, title 21, parts 1300, 1301, 1304, 1305, 1307, and 1317, that​

33.26 are applicable to the disposal of controlled substances. Disposal of controlled substances​

33.27 and legend and nonlegend drugs must also comply with the requirements of section 116.07​

33.28 governing the disposal of hazardous waste, and the rules promulgated thereunder.​

33.29 Subd. 2. Sheriff to maintain collection receptacle.  The sheriff of each county shall​

33.30 maintain or contract for the maintenance of at least one collection receptacle for the disposal​

33.31 of noncontrolled substances, pharmaceutical controlled substances, and other legend drugs,​

33.32 as permitted by federal law. For purposes of this section, "legend drug" has the meaning​

33.33 given in section 151.01, subdivision 17. The collection receptacle must comply with federal​

33​Article 3 Sec. 2.​

COUNSEL KPB/CT/RER SCS0803A172​05/02/17 07:39 AM ​



34.1 law. In maintaining and operating the collection receptacle, the sheriff shall follow all​

34.2 applicable provisions of Code of Federal Regulations, title 21, parts 1300, 1301, 1304, 1305,​

34.3 1307, and 1317, as amended through May 1, 2017.​

34.4 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 241.01, subdivision 3a, is amended to read:​

34.5 Subd. 3a. Commissioner, powers and duties. The commissioner of corrections has the​

34.6 following powers and duties:​

34.7 (a) To accept persons committed to the commissioner by the courts of this state for care,​

34.8 custody, and rehabilitation.​

34.9 (b) To determine the place of confinement of committed persons in a correctional facility​

34.10 or other facility of the Department of Corrections and to prescribe reasonable conditions​

34.11 and rules for their employment, conduct, instruction, and discipline within or outside the​

34.12 facility. Inmates shall not exercise custodial functions or have authority over other inmates.​

34.13 (c) To administer the money and property of the department.​

34.14 (d) To administer, maintain, and inspect all state correctional facilities.​

34.15 (e) To transfer authorized positions and personnel between state correctional facilities​

34.16 as necessary to properly staff facilities and programs.​

34.17 (f) To utilize state correctional facilities in the manner deemed to be most efficient and​

34.18 beneficial to accomplish the purposes of this section, but not to close the Minnesota​

34.19 Correctional Facility-Stillwater or the Minnesota Correctional Facility-St. Cloud without​

34.20 legislative approval. The commissioner may place juveniles and adults at the same state​

34.21 minimum security correctional facilities, if there is total separation of and no regular contact​

34.22 between juveniles and adults, except contact incidental to admission, classification, and​

34.23 mental and physical health care.​

34.24 (g) To organize the department and employ personnel the commissioner deems necessary​

34.25 to discharge the functions of the department, including a chief executive officer for each​

34.26 facility under the commissioner's control who shall serve in the unclassified civil service​

34.27 and may, under the provisions of section 43A.33, be removed only for cause.​

34.28 (h) To define the duties of these employees and to delegate to them any of the​

34.29 commissioner's powers, duties and responsibilities, subject to the commissioner's control​

34.30 and the conditions the commissioner prescribes.​

34.31 (i) To annually develop a comprehensive set of goals and objectives designed to clearly​

34.32 establish the priorities of the Department of Corrections. This report shall be submitted to​
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35.1 the governor commencing January 1, 1976. The commissioner may establish ad hoc advisory​

35.2 committees.​

35.3 (j) The commissioner may not expand the bed capacity of an existing adult male​

35.4 correctional facility or build a new adult male correctional facility, or propose or seek​

35.5 funding for either, unless the commissioner submits to the legislature an outside, independent​

35.6 appraisal estimating the market value of the existing prison facility located in Appleton,​

35.7 Minnesota. The appraisal must have been completed within 90 days of submission to the​

35.8 legislature. This requirement does not apply if the Appleton facility is in use in a manner​

35.9 that makes it unavailable to meet the department's prison capacity needs.​

35.10 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 243.05, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

35.11 Subdivision 1. Conditional release. (a) The commissioner of corrections may parole​

35.12 any person sentenced to confinement in any state correctional facility for adults under the​

35.13 control of the commissioner of corrections, provided that:​

35.14 (1) no inmate serving a life sentence for committing murder before May 1, 1980, other​

35.15 than murder committed in violation of clause (1) of section 609.185 who has not been​

35.16 previously convicted of a felony shall be paroled without having served 20 years, less the​

35.17 diminution that would have been allowed for good conduct had the sentence been for 20​

35.18 years;​

35.19 (2) no inmate serving a life sentence for committing murder before May 1, 1980, who​

35.20 has been previously convicted of a felony or though not previously convicted of a felony​

35.21 is serving a life sentence for murder in the first degree committed in violation of clause (1)​

35.22 of section 609.185 shall be paroled without having served 25 years, less the diminution​

35.23 which would have been allowed for good conduct had the sentence been for 25 years;​

35.24 (3) any inmate sentenced prior to September 1, 1963, who would be eligible for parole​

35.25 had the inmate been sentenced after September 1, 1963, shall be eligible for parole; and​

35.26 (4) any new rule or policy or change of rule or policy adopted by the commissioner of​

35.27 corrections which has the effect of postponing eligibility for parole has prospective effect​

35.28 only and applies only with respect to persons committing offenses after the effective date​

35.29 of the new rule or policy or change.​

35.30 (b) Upon being paroled and released, an inmate is and remains in the legal custody and​

35.31 under the control of the commissioner, subject at any time to be returned to a facility of the​

35.32 Department of Corrections established by law for the confinement or treatment of convicted​

35.33 persons and the parole rescinded by the commissioner.​
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36.1 (c) The written order of the commissioner of corrections, is sufficient authority for any​

36.2 peace officer, state correctional investigator, or state parole and probation agent to retake​

36.3 and place in actual custody any person on parole or supervised release. In addition, when​

36.4 it appears necessary in order to prevent escape or enforce discipline, any state parole and​

36.5 probation agent or state correctional investigator may, without order of warrant, take and​

36.6 detain a parolee or person on supervised release or work release and bring the person to the​

36.7 commissioner for action.​

36.8 (d) The written order of the commissioner of corrections is sufficient authority for any​

36.9 peace officer, state correctional investigator, or state parole and probation agent to retake​

36.10 and place in actual custody any person on probation under the supervision of the​

36.11 commissioner pursuant to section 609.135. Additionally, when it appears necessary in order​

36.12 to prevent escape or enforce discipline, any state parole and probation agent or state​

36.13 correctional investigator may, without an order, retake and detain a probationer and bring​

36.14 the probationer before the court for further proceedings under section 609.14.​

36.15 (e) The written order of the commissioner of corrections is sufficient authority for any​

36.16 peace officer, state correctional investigator, or state parole and probation agent to detain​

36.17 any person on pretrial release who absconds from pretrial release or fails to abide by the​

36.18 conditions of pretrial release.​

36.19 (f) Persons conditionally released, and those on probation under the supervision of the​

36.20 commissioner of corrections pursuant to section 609.135 may be placed within or outside​

36.21 the boundaries of the state at the discretion of the commissioner of corrections or the court,​

36.22 and the limits fixed for these persons may be enlarged or reduced according to their conduct.​

36.23 (g) Except as otherwise provided in subdivision 1b, in considering applications for​

36.24 conditional release or discharge, the commissioner is not required to hear oral argument​

36.25 from any attorney or other person not connected with an adult correctional facility of the​

36.26 Department of Corrections in favor of or against the parole or release of any inmates. The​

36.27 commissioner may institute inquiries by correspondence, taking testimony, or otherwise,​

36.28 as to the previous history, physical or mental condition, and character of the inmate and, to​

36.29 that end, has the authority to require the attendance of the chief executive officer of any​

36.30 state adult correctional facility and the production of the records of these facilities, and to​

36.31 compel the attendance of witnesses. The commissioner is authorized to administer oaths to​

36.32 witnesses for these purposes.​

36.33 (h) Unless the district court directs otherwise, state parole and probation agents may​

36.34 require a person who is under the supervision of the commissioner of corrections to perform​
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37.1 community work service for violating a condition of probation imposed by the court.​

37.2 Community work service may be imposed for the purpose of protecting the public, to aid​

37.3 the offender's rehabilitation, or both. Agents may impose up to eight hours of community​

37.4 work service for each violation and up to a total of 24 hours per offender per 12-month​

37.5 period, beginning with the date on which community work service is first imposed. The​

37.6 commissioner may authorize an additional 40 hours of community work services, for a total​

37.7 of 64 hours per offender per 12-month period, beginning with the date on which community​

37.8 work service is first imposed. At the time community work service is imposed, parole and​

37.9 probation agents are required to provide written notice to the offender that states:​

37.10 (1) the condition of probation that has been violated;​

37.11 (2) the number of hours of community work service imposed for the violation; and​

37.12 (3) the total number of hours of community work service imposed to date in the 12-month​

37.13 period.​

37.14 An offender may challenge the imposition of community work service by filing a petition​

37.15 in district court. An offender must file the petition within five days of receiving written​

37.16 notice that community work service is being imposed. If the offender challenges the​

37.17 imposition of community work service, the state bears the burden of showing, by a​

37.18 preponderance of the evidence, that the imposition of community work service is reasonable​

37.19 under the circumstances.​

37.20 Community work service includes sentencing to service.​

37.21 (i) Prior to revoking a nonviolent controlled substance offender's parole or probation​

37.22 based on a technical violation, when the offender does not present a risk to the public and​

37.23 the offender is amenable to continued supervision in the community, a parole or probation​

37.24 agent must identify community options to address and correct the violation including, but​

37.25 not limited to, inpatient chemical dependency treatment. If a probation or parole agent​

37.26 determines that community options are appropriate, the agent shall seek to restructure the​

37.27 offender's terms of release to incorporate those options. If an offender on probation stipulates​

37.28 in writing to restructure the terms of release, a probation agent must forward a report to the​

37.29 district court containing:​

37.30 (1) the specific nature of the technical violation of probation;​

37.31 (2) the recommended restructure to the terms of probation; and​

37.32 (3) a copy of the offender's signed stipulation indicating that the offender consents to​

37.33 the restructuring of probation.​
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38.1 The recommended restructuring of probation becomes effective when confirmed by a​

38.2 judge. The order of the court shall be proof of such confirmation and amend the terms of​

38.3 the sentence imposed by the court under section 609.135. If a nonviolent controlled substance​

38.4 offender's parole or probation is revoked, the offender's agent must first attempt to place​

38.5 the offender in a local jail. For purposes of this paragraph, "nonviolent controlled substance​

38.6 offender" is a person who meets the criteria described under section 244.0513, subdivision​

38.7 2, clauses (1), (2), and (5), and "technical violation" means any violation of a court order​

38.8 of probation or a condition of parole, except an allegation of a subsequent criminal act that​

38.9 is alleged in a formal complaint, citation, or petition.​

38.10 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 243.17, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

38.11 Subdivision 1. Allowed expenses. The necessary expenses of sheriffs and other peace​

38.12 officers commissioner of management and budget shall pay out of the state treasury to the​

38.13 commissioner of corrections each fiscal year the amount necessary to offset expenses​

38.14 incurred in conveying to convey convicted persons and children adjudicated delinquent and​

38.15 committed to the custody of the commissioner of corrections to the appropriate adult or​

38.16 juvenile correctional facility as designated by the commissioner of corrections, including​

38.17 per diem and expenses of correctional officers, shall be allowed by the commissioner of​

38.18 management and budget and paid out of the state treasury. The commissioner of management​

38.19 and budget may allow and pay for the necessary expenses incurred by the sheriff, deputy,​

38.20 or other peace officer in going to and returning from the correctional facility and $10 per​

38.21 day for each correctional officer. Not more than one correctional officer shall be allowed​

38.22 for one prisoner, but one additional correctional officer shall be allowed for every two​

38.23 additional prisoners. All bills shall be in writing, fully itemized, verified, and accompanied​

38.24 by the receipt of the chief executive officer of the facility for the delivery of the convicted​

38.25 or adjudicated persons, in a form prescribed by the commissioner of management and​

38.26 budget. The total amount of payments shall not exceed $500,000 each fiscal year. Payments​

38.27 shall be made one or two times each fiscal year based on a fee schedule agreed to by the​

38.28 Department of Corrections and the Minnesota Sheriffs' Association.​

38.29 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 244.05, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

38.30 Subd. 3. Sanctions for violation. If an inmate violates the conditions of the inmate's​

38.31 supervised release imposed by the commissioner, the commissioner may:​

38.32 (1) continue the inmate's supervised release term, with or without modifying or enlarging​

38.33 the conditions imposed on the inmate; or​
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39.1 (2) revoke the inmate's supervised release and reimprison the inmate for the appropriate​

39.2 period of time.​

39.3 Prior to revoking a nonviolent controlled substance offender's supervised release based​

39.4 on a technical violation, when the offender does not present a risk to the public and the​

39.5 offender is amenable to continued supervision in the community, the commissioner must​

39.6 identify community options to address and correct the violation including, but not limited​

39.7 to, inpatient chemical dependency treatment. If the commissioner determines that community​

39.8 options are appropriate, the commissioner shall restructure the inmate's terms of release to​

39.9 incorporate those options. If a nonviolent controlled substance offender's supervised release​

39.10 is revoked, the offender's agent must first attempt to place the offender in a local jail. For​

39.11 purposes of this subdivision, "nonviolent controlled substance offender" is a person who​

39.12 meets the criteria described under section 244.0513, subdivision 2, clauses (1), (2), and (5),​

39.13 and "technical violation" means a violation of a condition of supervised release, except an​

39.14 allegation of a subsequent criminal act that is alleged in a formal complaint, citation, or​

39.15 petition.​

39.16 The period of time for which a supervised release may be revoked may not exceed the​

39.17 period of time remaining in the inmate's sentence, except that if a sex offender is sentenced​

39.18 and conditionally released under Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.108, subdivision 5,​

39.19 the period of time for which conditional release may be revoked may not exceed the balance​

39.20 of the conditional release term.​

39.21 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 244.198, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

39.22 read:​

39.23 Subd. 1a. Alternatives to incarceration. At a sanctions conference regarding a​

39.24 nonviolent controlled substance offender, when the offender does not present a risk to the​

39.25 public and the offender is amenable to continued supervision in the community, a probation​

39.26 agency must identify community options to address and correct the violation including, but​

39.27 not limited to, inpatient chemical dependency treatment. If the agency determines that​

39.28 community options are appropriate, the county probation officer shall recommend a sanction​

39.29 that incorporates those options. For purposes of this subdivision, "nonviolent controlled​

39.30 substance offender" is a person who meets the criteria described under section 244.0513,​

39.31 subdivision 2, clauses (1), (2), and (5).​
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40.1 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 299A.55, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

40.2 Subd. 2. Railroad and pipeline safety account. (a) A railroad and pipeline safety​

40.3 account is created in the special revenue fund. The account consists of funds collected under​

40.4 subdivision 4 and funds donated, allotted, transferred, or otherwise provided to the account.​

40.5 (b) $104,000 is annually appropriated from the railroad and pipeline safety account to​

40.6 the commissioner of the Pollution Control Agency for environmental protection activities​

40.7 related to railroad discharge preparedness under chapter 115E.​

40.8 (c) $600,000 in fiscal year 2018 and $600,000 in fiscal year 2019 are appropriated from​

40.9 the railroad and pipeline safety account to the commissioner of transportation for improving​

40.10 safety at railroad grade crossings.​

40.11 (d) Following the appropriation in paragraph paragraphs (b) and (c), the remaining​

40.12 money in the account is annually appropriated to the commissioner of public safety for the​

40.13 purposes specified in subdivision 3.​

40.14 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 299C.46, subdivision 6, is amended to read:​

40.15 Subd. 6. Orders for protection and no contact orders. (a) As used in this subdivision,​

40.16 "no contact orders" include orders issued as pretrial orders under section 629.72, subdivision​

40.17 2, orders under section 629.75, and orders issued as probationary or sentencing orders at​

40.18 the time of disposition in a criminal domestic abuse case.​

40.19 (b) The data communications network must include orders for protection issued under​

40.20 section 518B.01 and, harassment restraining orders, and no contact orders issued against​

40.21 adults and juveniles. A no contact order must be accompanied by a photograph of the​

40.22 offender for the purpose of enforcement of the order, if a photograph is available and verified​

40.23 by the court to be an image of the defendant.​

40.24 (c) Data from orders for protection, harassment restraining orders, or no contact orders​

40.25 and data entered by law enforcement to assist in the enforcement of those orders are classified​

40.26 as private data on individuals as defined in section 13.02, subdivision 12. Data about the​

40.27 offender can be shared with the victim for purposes of enforcement of the order.​

40.28 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 518B.01, subdivision 8a, is amended to read:​

40.29 Subd. 8a. Short form notification. (a) In lieu of personal service of an order for​

40.30 protection under subdivision 8, a law enforcement officer may serve a person with a short​

40.31 form notification. The short form notification must include the following clauses: the​

40.32 respondent's name; the respondent's date of birth, if known; the petitioner's name; the names​
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41.1 of other protected parties; the date and county in which the ex parte order for protection or​

41.2 order for protection was filed; the court file number; the hearing date and time, if known;​

41.3 the conditions that apply to the respondent, either in checklist form or handwritten; and the​

41.4 name of the judge who signed the order.​

41.5 The short form notification must be in bold print in the following form:​

41.6 The order for protection is now enforceable. You must report to your nearest sheriff​

41.7 office or county court to obtain a copy of the order for protection. You are subject to arrest​

41.8 and may be charged with a misdemeanor, gross misdemeanor, or felony if you violate any​

41.9 of the terms of the order for protection or that are described on this short form notification.​

41.10 (b) Upon verification of the identity of the respondent and the existence of an unserved​

41.11 order for protection against the respondent, a law enforcement officer may detain the​

41.12 respondent for a reasonable time necessary to complete and serve the short form notification.​

41.13 (c) When service is made by short form notification, it may be proved by the affidavit​

41.14 of the law enforcement officer making the service.​

41.15 (d) For service under this section only, service upon an individual may occur at any​

41.16 time, including Sundays, and legal holidays.​

41.17 (e) The superintendent of the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension shall provide the short​

41.18 form to law enforcement agencies.​

41.19 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2017, and applies to crimes​

41.20 committed on or after that date.​

41.21 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 609.14, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

41.22 read:​

41.23 Subd. 2a. Alternatives to incarceration. (a) A probation agent must present the court​

41.24 with local options to address and correct the violation including, but not limited to, inpatient​

41.25 chemical dependency treatment when the defendant at a summary hearing provided by​

41.26 subdivision 2 is:​

41.27 (1) a nonviolent controlled substance offender;​

41.28 (2) subject to supervised probation;​

41.29 (3) appearing based on a technical violation; and​

41.30 (4) admitting or found to have violated any of the conditions of probation.​
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42.1 (b) For purposes of this subdivision, "nonviolent controlled substance offender" is a​

42.2 person who meets the criteria described under section 244.0513, subdivision 2, clauses (1),​

42.3 (2), and (5), and "technical violation" has the meaning given in section 244.196, subdivision​

42.4 6.​

42.5 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 609.475, is amended to read:​

42.6 609.475 IMPERSONATING OFFICER A MILITARY SERVICE MEMBER,​

42.7 VETERAN, OR PUBLIC OFFICIAL.​

42.8 Whoever falsely impersonates a police or military officer an active or reserve component​

42.9 military service member, veteran, or public official with intent to mislead another into​

42.10 believing that the impersonator is actually such officer or official wrongfully obtain money,​

42.11 property, or any other tangible benefit is guilty of a misdemeanor.​

42.12 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2017, and applies to crimes​

42.13 committed on or after that date.​

42.14 Sec. 13. [609.4751] IMPERSONATING A PEACE OFFICER.​

42.15 Subdivision 1. Misdemeanor. Whoever falsely impersonates a peace officer with intent​

42.16 to mislead another into believing that the impersonator is actually an officer is guilty of a​

42.17 misdemeanor.​

42.18 Subd. 2. Gross misdemeanor. Whoever violates subdivision 1 while committing any​

42.19 of the following acts is guilty of a gross misdemeanor:​

42.20 (1) gaining access to a public building or government facility that is not open to the​

42.21 public;​

42.22 (2) without legal authority, directing or ordering another person to act or refrain from​

42.23 acting;​

42.24 (3) violating section 169.24, subdivision 2, 3, or 4, or the siren provisions of section​

42.25 169.68; or​

42.26 (4) operating a motor vehicle marked:​

42.27 (i) with the word or words "police," "patrolman," "sheriff," "deputy," "trooper," "state​

42.28 patrol," "conservation officer," "agent," or "marshal"; or​

42.29 (ii) with any lettering, marking, or insignia, or colorable imitation thereof, including,​

42.30 but not limited to, stars, badges, or shields identifying the vehicle as a law enforcement​
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43.1 vehicle, and which a reasonable person would believe is a law enforcement vehicle governed​

43.2 under section 169.98, subdivision 1.​

43.3 Subd. 3. Felony. Whoever violates this section within five years of a previous violation​

43.4 of this section is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than​

43.5 two years or to payment of a fine of not more than $4,000, or both.​

43.6 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2017, and applies to crimes​

43.7 committed on or after that date.​

43.8 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 609.595, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

43.9 Subdivision 1. Criminal damage to property in the first degree. Whoever intentionally​

43.10 causes damage to physical property of another without the latter's consent may be sentenced​

43.11 to imprisonment for not more than five years or to payment of a fine of not more than​

43.12 $10,000, or both, if:​

43.13 (1) the damage to the property caused a reasonably foreseeable risk of bodily harm; or​

43.14 (2) the property damaged was a public safety motor vehicle, the defendant knew the​

43.15 vehicle was a public safety motor vehicle, and the damage to the vehicle caused a substantial​

43.16 interruption or impairment of public safety service or a reasonably foreseeable risk of bodily​

43.17 harm; or​

43.18 (3) the property damaged belongs to a common carrier and the damage impairs the​

43.19 service to the public rendered by the carrier; or​

43.20 (3) (4) the damage reduces the value of the property by more than $1,000 measured by​

43.21 the cost of repair and replacement; or​

43.22 (4) (5) the damage reduces the value of the property by more than $500 measured by​

43.23 the cost of repair and replacement and the defendant has been convicted within the preceding​

43.24 three years of an offense under this subdivision or subdivision 2.​

43.25 In any prosecution under clause (3) (4), the value of any property damaged by the​

43.26 defendant in violation of that clause within any six-month period may be aggregated and​

43.27 the defendant charged accordingly in applying the provisions of this section; provided that​

43.28 when two or more offenses are committed by the same person in two or more counties, the​

43.29 accused may be prosecuted in any county in which one of the offenses was committed for​

43.30 all of the offenses aggregated under this paragraph.​

43.31 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2017, and applies to crimes​

43.32 committed on or after that date.​
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44.1 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 609.595, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

44.2 Subd. 2. Criminal damage to property in the third degree. (a) Except as otherwise​

44.3 provided in subdivision 1a, whoever intentionally causes damage to another person's physical​

44.4 property without the other person's consent may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more​

44.5 than one year or to payment of a fine of not more than $3,000, or both, if: (1)  the damage​

44.6 reduces the value of the property by more than $500 but not more than $1,000 as measured​

44.7 by the cost of repair and replacement; or (2) the damage was to a public safety motor vehicle​

44.8 and the defendant knew the vehicle was a public safety motor vehicle.​

44.9 (b) Whoever intentionally causes damage to another person's physical property without​

44.10 the other person's consent because of the property owner's or another's actual or perceived​

44.11 race, color, religion, sex, sexual orientation, disability as defined in section 363A.03, age,​

44.12 or national origin may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than one year or to​

44.13 payment of a fine of not more than $3,000, or both, if the damage reduces the value of the​

44.14 property by not more than $500.​

44.15 (c) In any prosecution under paragraph (a), clause (1), the value of property damaged​

44.16 by the defendant in violation of that paragraph within any six-month period may be​

44.17 aggregated and the defendant charged accordingly in applying this section. When two or​

44.18 more offenses are committed by the same person in two or more counties, the accused may​

44.19 be prosecuted in any county in which one of the offenses was committed for all of the​

44.20 offenses aggregated under this paragraph.​

44.21 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2017, and applies to crimes​

44.22 committed on or after that date.​

44.23 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 609.595, is amended by adding a subdivision​

44.24 to read:​

44.25 Subd. 4. Definitions. (a) As used in this section, "public safety motor vehicle" includes:​

44.26 (1) marked vehicles used by law enforcement agencies and specially marked vehicles​

44.27 permitted under section 169.98, subdivision 2a, owned or leased by the state or a political​

44.28 subdivision;​

44.29 (2) fire apparatuses, including fire-suppression support vehicles, owned or leased by the​

44.30 state or a political subdivision;​

44.31 (3) ambulances owned or leased by the state or a political subdivision;​
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45.1 (4) vehicles owned by ambulance services licensed under section 144E.10 that are​

45.2 equipped and specifically intended for emergency response or providing ambulance services;​

45.3 and​

45.4 (5) marked vehicles used by conservation officers of the Division of Enforcement and​

45.5 Field Service of the Department of Natural Resources.​

45.6 (b) As used in subdivision 1, clause (2), and subdivision 2, paragraph (a), clause (2),​

45.7 "damage" includes tampering with a public safety motor vehicle and acts that obstruct or​

45.8 interfere with the vehicle's use.​

45.9 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2017, and applies to crimes​

45.10 committed on or after that date.​

45.11 Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 609.605, is amended by adding a subdivision​

45.12 to read:​

45.13 Subd. 4a. Trespass on a school bus. (a) As used in this subdivision, "school bus" has​

45.14 the meaning given in section 169.011, subdivision 71.​

45.15 (b) As used in this subdivision, "pupils" means persons in grades prekindergarten through​

45.16 grade 12.​

45.17 (c) A person who boards a school bus when the bus is on its route or otherwise in​

45.18 operation, or while it has pupils on it, and who refuses to leave the bus on demand of the​

45.19 bus operator, is guilty of a misdemeanor.​

45.20 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2017, and applies to violations​

45.21 committed on or after that date.​

45.22 Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 609.74, is amended to read:​

45.23 609.74 PUBLIC NUISANCE.​

45.24 (a) Whoever by an act or failure to perform a legal duty intentionally does any of the​

45.25 following is guilty of maintaining a public nuisance, which is a misdemeanor:​

45.26 (1) maintains or permits a condition which unreasonably annoys, injures or endangers​

45.27 the safety, health, morals, comfort, or repose of any considerable number of members of​

45.28 the public; or​

45.29 (2) except as provided in paragraph (b), interferes with, obstructs, or renders dangerous​

45.30 for passage, any public highway or right-of-way, or waters used by the public; or​
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46.1 (3) is guilty of any other act or omission declared by law to be a public nuisance and for​

46.2 which no sentence is specifically provided.​

46.3 (b) It is a gross misdemeanor for a person to interfere with or obstruct traffic that is​

46.4 entering, exiting, or on a freeway or entering, exiting, or on a public roadway within the​

46.5 boundaries of airport property with the intent to interfere with, obstruct, or otherwise disrupt​

46.6 traffic. This paragraph does not apply to the actions of law enforcement or other emergency​

46.7 responders, road or airport authorities, or utility officials, or their agents, employees, or​

46.8 contractors when carrying out duties imposed by law or contract. For purposes of this​

46.9 paragraph: (1) "airport" means an airport that has a control tower and airline service; and​

46.10 (2) "freeway" means any section of a divided highway where the only access and egress for​

46.11 vehicular traffic is from entrance and exit ramps.​

46.12 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2017, and applies to crimes​

46.13 committed on or after that date.​

46.14 Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 609.748, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

46.15 Subd. 3. Contents of petition; hearing; notice. (a) A petition for relief must allege​

46.16 facts sufficient to show the following:​

46.17 (1) the name of the alleged harassment victim;​

46.18 (2) the name of the respondent; and​

46.19 (3) that the respondent has engaged in harassment.​

46.20 A petition for relief must state whether the petitioner has had a previous restraining order​

46.21 in effect against the respondent. The petition shall be accompanied by an affidavit made​

46.22 under oath stating the specific facts and circumstances from which relief is sought. The​

46.23 court shall provide simplified forms and clerical assistance to help with the writing and​

46.24 filing of a petition under this section and shall advise the petitioner of the right to sue in​

46.25 forma pauperis under section 563.01. The court shall advise the petitioner of the right to​

46.26 request a hearing. If the petitioner does not request a hearing, the court shall advise the​

46.27 petitioner that the respondent may request a hearing and that notice of the hearing date and​

46.28 time will be provided to the petitioner by mail at least five days before the hearing. Upon​

46.29 receipt of the petition and a request for a hearing by the petitioner, the court shall order a​

46.30 hearing. Personal service must be made upon the respondent not less than five days before​

46.31 the hearing. If personal service cannot be completed in time to give the respondent the​

46.32 minimum notice required under this paragraph, the court may set a new hearing date. Nothing​

46.33 in this section shall be construed as requiring a hearing on a matter that has no merit.​
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47.1 (b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), the order for a hearing and a temporary order issued​

47.2 under subdivision 4 may be served on the respondent by means of a one-week published​

47.3 notice under section 645.11, if:​

47.4 (1) the petitioner files an affidavit with the court stating that an attempt at personal​

47.5 service made by a sheriff peace officer was unsuccessful because the respondent is avoiding​

47.6 service by concealment or otherwise; and​

47.7 (2) a copy of the petition and order for hearing and any temporary restraining order has​

47.8 been mailed to the respondent at the respondent's residence or place of business, if the​

47.9 respondent is an organization, or the respondent's residence or place of business is not known​

47.10 to the petitioner.​

47.11 (c) Regardless of the method of service, if the respondent is a juvenile, whenever possible,​

47.12 the court also shall have notice of the pendency of the case and of the time and place of the​

47.13 hearing served by mail at the last known address upon any parent or guardian of the juvenile​

47.14 respondent who is not the petitioner.​

47.15 (d) A request for a hearing under this subdivision must be made within 20 days of service​

47.16 of the petition.​

47.17 Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 609.748, subdivision 3a, is amended to read:​

47.18 Subd. 3a. Filing fee; cost of service. The filing fees for a restraining order under this​

47.19 section are waived for the petitioner if the petition alleges acts that would constitute a​

47.20 violation of section 609.749, subdivision 2, 3, 4, or 5, or sections 609.342 to 609.3451. The​

47.21 court administrator and the sheriff of any county any peace officer in this state shall perform​

47.22 their duties relating to service of process without charge to the petitioner. The court shall​

47.23 direct payment of the reasonable costs of service of process if served by a private process​

47.24 server when the sheriff a peace officer is unavailable or if service is made by publication.​

47.25 The court may direct a respondent to pay to the court administrator the petitioner's filing​

47.26 fees and reasonable costs of service of process if the court determines that the respondent​

47.27 has the ability to pay the petitioner's fees and costs.​

47.28 Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 609.748, subdivision 5, is amended to read:​

47.29 Subd. 5. Restraining order. (a) The court may issue a restraining order that provides​

47.30 any or all of the following:​

47.31 (1) orders the respondent to cease or avoid the harassment of another person; or​

47.32 (2) orders the respondent to have no contact with another person.​
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48.1 (b) The court may issue an order under paragraph (a) if all of the following occur:​

48.2 (1) the petitioner has filed a petition under subdivision 3;​

48.3 (2) the sheriff a peace officer has served respondent with a copy of the temporary​

48.4 restraining order obtained under subdivision 4, and with notice of the right to request a​

48.5 hearing, or service has been made by publication under subdivision 3, paragraph (b); and​

48.6 (3) the court finds at the hearing that there are reasonable grounds to believe that the​

48.7 respondent has engaged in harassment.​

48.8 A restraining order may be issued only against the respondent named in the petition; except​

48.9 that if the respondent is an organization, the order may be issued against and apply to all of​

48.10 the members of the organization. If the court finds that the petitioner has had two or more​

48.11 previous restraining orders in effect against the same respondent or the respondent has​

48.12 violated a prior or existing restraining order on two or more occasions, relief granted by the​

48.13 restraining order may be for a period of up to 50 years. In all other cases, relief granted by​

48.14 the restraining order must be for a fixed period of not more than two years. When a referee​

48.15 presides at the hearing on the petition, the restraining order becomes effective upon the​

48.16 referee's signature.​

48.17 (c) An order issued under this subdivision must be personally served upon the respondent.​

48.18 (d) If the court orders relief for a period of up to 50 years under paragraph (a), the​

48.19 respondent named in the restraining order may request to have the restraining order vacated​

48.20 or modified if the order has been in effect for at least five years and the respondent has not​

48.21 violated the order. Application for relief under this paragraph must be made in the county​

48.22 in which the restraining order was issued. Upon receipt of the request, the court shall set a​

48.23 hearing date. Personal service must be made upon the petitioner named in the restraining​

48.24 order not less than 30 days before the date of the hearing. At the hearing, the respondent​

48.25 named in the restraining order has the burden of proving by a preponderance of the evidence​

48.26 that there has been a material change in circumstances and that the reasons upon which the​

48.27 court relied in granting the restraining order no longer apply and are unlikely to occur. If​

48.28 the court finds that the respondent named in the restraining order has met the burden of​

48.29 proof, the court may vacate or modify the order. If the court finds that the respondent named​

48.30 in the restraining order has not met the burden of proof, the court shall deny the request and​

48.31 no request may be made to vacate or modify the restraining order until five years have​

48.32 elapsed from the date of denial. An order vacated or modified under this paragraph must​

48.33 be personally served on the petitioner named in the restraining order.​
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49.1 Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 609.748, is amended by adding a subdivision​

49.2 to read:​

49.3 Subd. 5a. Short form notification. (a) In lieu of personal service of a harassment​

49.4 restraining order, a peace officer may serve a person with a short form notification. The​

49.5 short form notification must include the following clauses: the respondent's name; the​

49.6 respondent's date of birth, if known; the petitioner's name; the names of other protected​

49.7 parties; the date and county in which the temporary restraining order or restraining order​

49.8 was filed; the court file number; the hearing date and time, if known; the conditions that​

49.9 apply to the respondent, either in checklist form or handwritten; and the name of the judge​

49.10 who signed the order.​

49.11 The short form notification must be in bold print in the following form:​

49.12 "The restraining order is now enforceable. A copy of the restraining order is available​

49.13 at your nearest law enforcement office or district court. You are subject to arrest and may​

49.14 be charged with a misdemeanor, gross misdemeanor, or felony if you violate any of the​

49.15 terms of the restraining order that are described on this short form notification."​

49.16 (b) Upon verification of the identity of the respondent and the existence of an unserved​

49.17 harassment restraining order against the respondent, a law enforcement officer may detain​

49.18 the respondent for a reasonable time necessary to complete and serve the short form​

49.19 notification.​

49.20 (c) When service is made by short form notification, it may be proved by the affidavit​

49.21 of the law enforcement officer making the service.​

49.22 (d) For service under this section only, service upon an individual may occur at any​

49.23 time, including Sundays and legal holidays.​

49.24 (e) The superintendent of the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension shall provide the short​

49.25 form to law enforcement agencies.​

49.26 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective 30 days following publication of a notice​

49.27 on the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension's website that a computer system is available to​

49.28 send harassment restraining order data from the Minnesota judicial branch to law​

49.29 enforcement.​
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50.1 Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 609.748, is amended by adding a subdivision​

50.2 to read:​

50.3 Subd. 5b. Service by others. In addition to peace officers, corrections officers, including​

50.4 but not limited to probation officers, court services officers, parole officers, and employees​

50.5 of jails or correctional facilities, may serve a temporary restraining order or restraining​

50.6 order.​

50.7 Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 609.855, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

50.8 Subd. 2. Unlawful interference with transit operator. (a) Whoever intentionally​

50.9 commits an act that interferes with or obstructs, or tends to interfere with or obstruct, the​

50.10 operation of a transit vehicle is guilty of unlawful interference with a transit operator a crime​

50.11 and may be sentenced as provided in paragraph (c).​

50.12 (b) An act that is committed on a transit vehicle that distracts the driver from the safe​

50.13 operation of the vehicle, restricts passenger access to the transit vehicle, or that endangers​

50.14 passengers is a violation of this subdivision if an authorized transit representative has clearly​

50.15 warned the person once to stop the act.​

50.16 (c) A person who violates this subdivision may be sentenced as follows:​

50.17 (1) to imprisonment for not more than three years or to payment of a fine of not more​

50.18 than $5,000, or both, if the violation was accompanied by force or violence or a​

50.19 communication of a threat of force or violence; or​

50.20 (2) to imprisonment for not more than 90 days one year or to payment of a fine of not​

50.21 more than $1,000 $3,000, or both, if the violation was not accompanied by force or violence​

50.22 or a communication of a threat of force or violence.​

50.23 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2017, and applies to crimes​

50.24 committed on or after that date.​

50.25 Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 624.714, subdivision 17, is amended to read:​

50.26 Subd. 17. Posting; trespass. (a) A person carrying a firearm on or about his or her person​

50.27 or clothes under a permit or otherwise who remains at a private establishment knowing that​

50.28 the operator of the establishment or its agent has made a reasonable request that firearms​

50.29 not be brought into the establishment may be ordered to leave the premises. A person who​

50.30 fails to leave when so requested is guilty of a petty misdemeanor. The fine for a first offense​

50.31 must not exceed $25. Notwithstanding section 609.531, a firearm carried in violation of​

50.32 this subdivision is not subject to forfeiture.​
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51.1 (b) As used in this subdivision, the terms in this paragraph have the meanings given.​

51.2 (1) "Reasonable request" means a request made under the following circumstances:​

51.3 (i) the requester has prominently posted a conspicuous sign at every entrance to the​

51.4 establishment containing the following language: "(INDICATE IDENTITY OF OPERATOR)​

51.5 BANS GUNS IN THESE PREMISES."; or​

51.6 (ii) the requester or the requester's agent personally informs the person that guns are​

51.7 prohibited in the premises and demands compliance.​

51.8 (2) "Prominently" means readily visible and within four feet laterally of the entrance​

51.9 with the bottom of the sign at a height of four to six feet above the floor.​

51.10 (3) "Conspicuous" means lettering in black arial typeface at least 1-1/2 inches in height​

51.11 against a bright contrasting background that is at least 187 square inches in area.​

51.12 (4) "Private establishment" means a building, structure, or portion thereof that is owned,​

51.13 leased, controlled, or operated by a nongovernmental entity for a nongovernmental purpose.​

51.14 (c) The owner or operator of a private establishment may not prohibit the lawful carry​

51.15 or possession of firearms in a parking facility or parking area.​

51.16 (d) The owner or operator of a private establishment may not prohibit the lawful carry​

51.17 or possession of firearms by a peace officer, as defined in section 626.84, subdivision 1,​

51.18 paragraph (c), within the private establishment or deny the officer access thereto, except​

51.19 when specifically authorized by statute.​

51.20 (d) (e) This subdivision does not apply to private residences. The lawful possessor of a​

51.21 private residence may prohibit firearms, and provide notice thereof, in any lawful manner.​

51.22 (e) (f) A landlord may not restrict the lawful carry or possession of firearms by tenants​

51.23 or their guests.​

51.24 (f) (g) Notwithstanding any inconsistent provisions in section 609.605, this subdivision​

51.25 sets forth the exclusive criteria to notify a permit holder when otherwise lawful firearm​

51.26 possession is not allowed in a private establishment and sets forth the exclusive penalty for​

51.27 such activity.​

51.28 (g) This subdivision does not apply to:​

51.29 (1) an active licensed peace officer; or​

51.30 (2) a security guard acting in the course and scope of employment.​
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52.1 Sec. 26. [626.8469] TRAINING IN CRISIS RESPONSE, CONFLICT​

52.2 MANAGEMENT, AND CULTURAL DIVERSITY.​

52.3 Subdivision 1. In-service training required. Beginning July 1, 2018, the chief law​

52.4 enforcement officer of every state and local law enforcement agency shall provide in-service​

52.5 training in crisis intervention and mental illness crises; conflict management and mediation;​

52.6 and recognizing and valuing community diversity and cultural differences to include implicit​

52.7 bias training to every peace officer and part-time peace officer employed by the agency.​

52.8 The training shall comply with learning objectives developed and approved by the board​

52.9 and shall meet board requirements for board-approved continuing education credit. The​

52.10 training shall consist of at least 16 continuing education credits within an officer's three-year​

52.11 licensing cycle. Each peace officer with a license renewal date after June 30, 2018, is not​

52.12 required to complete this training until the officer's next full three-year licensing cycle.​

52.13 Subd. 2. Record keeping required. The head of every local and state law enforcement​

52.14 agency shall maintain written records of the agency's compliance with the requirements of​

52.15 subdivision 1. The documentation is subject to periodic review by the board, and shall be​

52.16 made available to the board at its request.​

52.17 Subd. 3. Licensing sanctions; injunctive relief. The board may impose licensing​

52.18 sanctions and seek injunctive relief under section 214.11 for failure to comply with the​

52.19 requirements of this section.​

52.20 Sec. 27. Laws 2011, chapter 87, section 1, subdivision 5, is amended to read:​

52.21 Subd. 5. Diversion driver's license. (a) Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, the​

52.22 commissioner of public safety may issue a diversion driver's license to a person who is a​

52.23 participant in a pilot program for diversion, following receipt of an application and payment​

52.24 of:​

52.25 (1) the reinstatement fee under Minnesota Statutes, section 171.20, subdivision 4, by a​

52.26 participant whose driver's license has been suspended;​

52.27 (2) the reinstatement fee under Minnesota Statutes, section 171.29, subdivision 2,​

52.28 paragraph (a), by a participant whose driver's license has been revoked under Minnesota​

52.29 Statutes, section 169.791; 169.797; or 171.17, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clause (6); or​

52.30 (3) the reinstatement fee under Minnesota Statutes, section 171.29, subdivision 2,​

52.31 paragraph (a), by a participant whose driver's license has been revoked under Minnesota​

52.32 Statutes, section 169A.52 or 169A.54. The reinstatement fee and surcharge, both of which​
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53.1 are provided under Minnesota Statutes, section 171.29, subdivision 2, paragraph (b), also​

53.2 must be paid during the course of, and as a condition of, the diversion program.​

53.3 The diversion driver's license may bear restrictions imposed by the commissioner suitable​

53.4 to the licensee's driving ability or other restrictions applicable to the licensee as the​

53.5 commissioner may determine to be appropriate to assure the safe operation of a motor​

53.6 vehicle by the licensee.​

53.7 (b) Payments by participants in the diversion program of the reinstatement fee and​

53.8 surcharge under Minnesota Statutes, section 171.29, subdivision 2, paragraph (b), must be​

53.9 applied first toward payment of the reinstatement fee, and after the reinstatement fee has​

53.10 been fully paid, toward payment of the surcharge. Each payment that is applied toward the​

53.11 reinstatement fee must be credited as provided in Minnesota Statutes, section 171.29,​

53.12 subdivision 2, paragraph (b), and each payment that is applied toward the surcharge must​

53.13 be credited as provided in Minnesota Statutes, section 171.29, subdivision 2, paragraphs​

53.14 (c) and (d). After the reinstatement fee and surcharge are satisfied, the participant must pay​

53.15 any outstanding criminal fines and restitution. After the reinstatement fee, surcharge, criminal​

53.16 fines, and restitution are satisfied, the participant must pay the program participation fee.​

53.17 Sec. 28. Laws 2011, chapter 87, section 1, subdivision 8, is amended to read:​

53.18 Subd. 8. Report. (a) By February 1, 2013 2019, the commissioner of public safety and​

53.19 each eligible city and county that participates in the diversion program shall report to the​

53.20 legislative committees with jurisdiction over transportation and the judiciary concerning​

53.21 the results of the program. The report must be made electronically and available in print​

53.22 only upon request. The report must include, without limitation, the effect of the program​

53.23 on:​

53.24 (1) recidivism rates for participants in the diversion pilot program;​

53.25 (2) payment of the fees and fines collected in the diversion pilot program to cities,​

53.26 counties, and the state;​

53.27 (3) educational support provided to participants in the diversion pilot program; and​

53.28 (4) the total number of participants in the diversion pilot program and the number of​

53.29 participants who have terminated from the pilot program under subdivision 7, paragraph​

53.30 (a), clauses (1) to (3).​

53.31 (b) The report must include recommendations regarding the future of the program and​

53.32 any necessary legislative changes.​
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54.1 Sec. 29. Laws 2009, chapter 59, article 3, section 4, subdivision 9, as amended by Laws​

54.2 2010, chapter 197, section 1, Laws 2011, chapter 87, section 1, subdivision 9, and Laws​

54.3 2013, chapter 127, section 60, is amended to read:​

54.4 Subd. 9. Sunset.  A city or county participating in this pilot program may accept an​

54.5 individual for diversion into the pilot program until June 30, 2017 2019. The third party​

54.6 administering the diversion program may collect and disburse fees collected pursuant to​

54.7 subdivision 6, paragraph (a), clause (2), through December 31, 2018 2020, at which time​

54.8 the pilot program under this section expires.​

54.9 Sec. 30. ALTERNATIVES TO INCARCERATION PILOT PROGRAM FUND.​

54.10 (a) Agencies providing supervision to offenders on probation, parole, or supervised​

54.11 release are eligible for grants to facilitate access to community options including, but not​

54.12 limited to, inpatient chemical dependency treatment for nonviolent controlled substance​

54.13 offenders to address and correct behavior that is, or is likely to result in, a technical violation​

54.14 of the conditions of release. For purposes of this section, "nonviolent controlled substance​

54.15 offender" is a person who meets the criteria described under Minnesota Statutes, section​

54.16 244.0513, subdivision 2, clauses (1), (2), and (5), and "technical violation" means a violation​

54.17 of a court order of probation, condition of parole, or condition of supervised release, except​

54.18 an allegation of a subsequent criminal act that is alleged in a formal complaint, citation, or​

54.19 petition.​

54.20 (b) The Department of Corrections shall establish criteria for selecting grant recipients​

54.21 and the amount awarded to each grant recipient.​

54.22 (c) By January 15, 2019, the commissioner of corrections shall submit a report to the​

54.23 chairs of the house of representatives and senate committees with jurisdiction over public​

54.24 safety policy and finance. At a minimum, the report must include:​

54.25 (1) the total number of grants issued under this program;​

54.26 (2) the average amount of each grant;​

54.27 (3) the community services accessed as a result of the grants;​

54.28 (4) a summary of the type of supervision offenders were under when a grant was used​

54.29 to help access a community option;​

54.30 (5) the number of individuals who completed, and the number who failed to complete,​

54.31 programs accessed as a result of this grant; and​
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55.1 (6) the number of individuals who violated the terms of release following participation​

55.2 in a program accessed as a result of this grant, separating technical violations and new​

55.3 criminal offenses.​

55.4 ARTICLE 4​

55.5 COURT-RELATED FEE DECREASES​

55.6 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 357.021, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

55.7 Subd. 2. Fee amounts. The fees to be charged and collected by the court administrator​

55.8 shall be as follows:​

55.9 (1) In every civil action or proceeding in said court, including any case arising under​

55.10 the tax laws of the state that could be transferred or appealed to the Tax Court, the plaintiff,​

55.11 petitioner, or other moving party shall pay, when the first paper is filed for that party in said​

55.12 action, a fee of $310 $280, except in marriage dissolution actions the fee is $340 $310.​

55.13 The defendant or other adverse or intervening party, or any one or more of several​

55.14 defendants or other adverse or intervening parties appearing separately from the others,​

55.15 shall pay, when the first paper is filed for that party in said action, a fee of $310 $280, except​

55.16 in marriage dissolution actions the fee is $340 $310. This subdivision does not apply to the​

55.17 filing of an Application for Discharge of Judgment. Section 548.181 applies to an Application​

55.18 for Discharge of Judgment.​

55.19 The party requesting a trial by jury shall pay $100.​

55.20 The fees above stated shall be the full trial fee chargeable to said parties irrespective of​

55.21 whether trial be to the court alone, to the court and jury, or disposed of without trial, and​

55.22 shall include the entry of judgment in the action, but does not include copies or certified​

55.23 copies of any papers so filed or proceedings under chapter 103E, except the provisions​

55.24 therein as to appeals.​

55.25 (2) Certified copy of any instrument from a civil or criminal proceeding, $14, and $8​

55.26 for an uncertified copy.​

55.27 (3) Issuing a subpoena, $16 for each name.​

55.28 (4) Filing a motion or response to a motion in civil, family, excluding child support, and​

55.29 guardianship cases, $100 $75.​

55.30 (5) Issuing an execution and filing the return thereof; issuing a writ of attachment,​

55.31 injunction, habeas corpus, mandamus, quo warranto, certiorari, or other writs not specifically​

55.32 mentioned, $55.​
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56.1 (6) Issuing a transcript of judgment, or for filing and docketing a transcript of judgment​

56.2 from another court, $40.​

56.3 (7) Filing and entering a satisfaction of judgment, partial satisfaction, or assignment of​

56.4 judgment, $5.​

56.5 (8) Certificate as to existence or nonexistence of judgments docketed, $5 for each name​

56.6 certified to.​

56.7 (9) Filing and indexing trade name; or recording basic science certificate; or recording​

56.8 certificate of physicians, osteopathic physicians, chiropractors, veterinarians, or optometrists,​

56.9 $5.​

56.10 (10) For the filing of each partial, final, or annual account in all trusteeships, $55.​

56.11 (11) For the deposit of a will, $27.​

56.12 (12) For recording notary commission, $20.​

56.13 (13) Filing a motion or response to a motion for modification of child support, a fee of​

56.14 $100 $50.​

56.15 (14) All other services required by law for which no fee is provided, such fee as compares​

56.16 favorably with those herein provided, or such as may be fixed by rule or order of the court.​

56.17 (15) In addition to any other filing fees under this chapter, a surcharge in the amount of​

56.18 $75 must be assessed in accordance with section 259.52, subdivision 14, for each adoption​

56.19 petition filed in district court to fund the fathers' adoption registry under section 259.52.​

56.20 The fees in clauses (3) and (5) need not be paid by a public authority or the party the​

56.21 public authority represents.​

56.22 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 357.022, is amended to read:​

56.23 357.022 CONCILIATION COURT FEE.​

56.24 The court administrator in every county shall charge and collect a filing fee of $65 $50​

56.25 from every plaintiff and from every defendant when the first paper for that party is filed in​

56.26 any conciliation court action. This section does not apply to conciliation court actions filed​

56.27 by the state. The court administrator shall transmit the fees monthly to the commissioner​

56.28 of management and budget for deposit in the state treasury and credit to the general fund.​
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57.1 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 609.748, subdivision 3a, is amended to read:​

57.2 Subd. 3a. Filing fee; cost of service. The filing fees for a restraining order under this​

57.3 section are waived for the petitioner and the respondent if the petition alleges acts that would​

57.4 constitute a violation of section 609.749, subdivision 2, 3, 4, or 5, or sections 609.342 to​

57.5 609.3451. The court administrator and the sheriff of any county in this state shall perform​

57.6 their duties relating to service of process without charge to the petitioner. The court shall​

57.7 direct payment of the reasonable costs of service of process if served by a private process​

57.8 server when the sheriff is unavailable or if service is made by publication. The court may​

57.9 direct a respondent to pay to the court administrator the petitioner's filing fees and reasonable​

57.10 costs of service of process if the court determines that the respondent has the ability to pay​

57.11 the petitioner's fees and costs.​

57.12 ARTICLE 5​

57.13 CONTROLLED SUBSTANCES​

57.14 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 152.02, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

57.15 Subd. 2. Schedule I. (a) Schedule I consists of the substances listed in this subdivision.​

57.16 (b) Opiates. Unless specifically excepted or unless listed in another schedule, any of the​

57.17 following substances, including their analogs, isomers, esters, ethers, salts, and salts of​

57.18 isomers, esters, and ethers, whenever the existence of the analogs, isomers, esters, ethers,​

57.19 and salts is possible:​

57.20 (1) acetylmethadol;​

57.21 (2) allylprodine;​

57.22 (3) alphacetylmethadol (except levo-alphacetylmethadol, also known as levomethadyl​

57.23 acetate);​

57.24 (4) alphameprodine;​

57.25 (5) alphamethadol;​

57.26 (6) alpha-methylfentanyl benzethidine;​

57.27 (7) betacetylmethadol;​

57.28 (8) betameprodine;​

57.29 (9) betamethadol;​

57.30 (10) betaprodine;​
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58.1 (11) clonitazene;​

58.2 (12) dextromoramide;​

58.3 (13) diampromide;​

58.4 (14) diethyliambutene;​

58.5 (15) difenoxin;​

58.6 (16) dimenoxadol;​

58.7 (17) dimepheptanol;​

58.8 (18) dimethyliambutene;​

58.9 (19) dioxaphetyl butyrate;​

58.10 (20) dipipanone;​

58.11 (21) ethylmethylthiambutene;​

58.12 (22) etonitazene;​

58.13 (23) etoxeridine;​

58.14 (24) furethidine;​

58.15 (25) hydroxypethidine;​

58.16 (26) ketobemidone;​

58.17 (27) levomoramide;​

58.18 (28) levophenacylmorphan;​

58.19 (29) 3-methylfentanyl;​

58.20 (30) acetyl-alpha-methylfentanyl;​

58.21 (31) alpha-methylthiofentanyl;​

58.22 (32) benzylfentanyl beta-hydroxyfentanyl;​

58.23 (33) beta-hydroxy-3-methylfentanyl;​

58.24 (34) 3-methylthiofentanyl;​

58.25 (35) thenylfentanyl;​

58.26 (36) thiofentanyl;​

58.27 (37) para-fluorofentanyl;​
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59.1 (38) morpheridine;​

59.2 (39) 1-methyl-4-phenyl-4-propionoxypiperidine;​

59.3 (40) noracymethadol;​

59.4 (41) norlevorphanol;​

59.5 (42) normethadone;​

59.6 (43) norpipanone;​

59.7 (44) 1-(2-phenylethyl)-4-phenyl-4-acetoxypiperidine (PEPAP);​

59.8 (45) phenadoxone;​

59.9 (46) phenampromide;​

59.10 (47) phenomorphan;​

59.11 (48) phenoperidine;​

59.12 (49) piritramide;​

59.13 (50) proheptazine;​

59.14 (51) properidine;​

59.15 (52) propiram;​

59.16 (53) racemoramide;​

59.17 (54) tilidine;​

59.18 (55) trimeperidine;​

59.19 (56) N-(1-Phenethylpiperidin-4-yl)-N-phenylacetamide (acetyl fentanyl);​

59.20 (57)​

59.21 3,4-dichloro-N-[(1R,2R)-2-(dimethylamino)cyclohexyl]-N-methylbenzamide(U47700);​

59.22 and​

59.23 (58) N-phenyl-N-[1-(2-phenylethyl)piperidin-4-yl]furan-2-carboxamide(furanylfentanyl).​

59.24 (c) Opium derivatives. Any of the following substances, their analogs, salts, isomers,​

59.25 and salts of isomers, unless specifically excepted or unless listed in another schedule,​

59.26 whenever the existence of the analogs, salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible:​

59.27 (1) acetorphine;​

59.28 (2) acetyldihydrocodeine;​
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60.1 (3) benzylmorphine;​

60.2 (4) codeine methylbromide;​

60.3 (5) codeine-n-oxide;​

60.4 (6) cyprenorphine;​

60.5 (7) desomorphine;​

60.6 (8) dihydromorphine;​

60.7 (9) drotebanol;​

60.8 (10) etorphine;​

60.9 (11) heroin;​

60.10 (12) hydromorphinol;​

60.11 (13) methyldesorphine;​

60.12 (14) methyldihydromorphine;​

60.13 (15) morphine methylbromide;​

60.14 (16) morphine methylsulfonate;​

60.15 (17) morphine-n-oxide;​

60.16 (18) myrophine;​

60.17 (19) nicocodeine;​

60.18 (20) nicomorphine;​

60.19 (21) normorphine;​

60.20 (22) pholcodine; and​

60.21 (23) thebacon.​

60.22 (d) Hallucinogens. Any material, compound, mixture or preparation which contains any​

60.23 quantity of the following substances, their analogs, salts, isomers (whether optical, positional,​

60.24 or geometric), and salts of isomers, unless specifically excepted or unless listed in another​

60.25 schedule, whenever the existence of the analogs, salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is​

60.26 possible:​

60.27 (1) methylenedioxy amphetamine;​

60.28 (2) methylenedioxymethamphetamine;​
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61.1 (3) methylenedioxy-N-ethylamphetamine (MDEA);​

61.2 (4) n-hydroxy-methylenedioxyamphetamine;​

61.3 (5) 4-bromo-2,5-dimethoxyamphetamine (DOB);​

61.4 (6) 2,5-dimethoxyamphetamine (2,5-DMA);​

61.5 (7) 4-methoxyamphetamine;​

61.6 (8) 5-methoxy-3, 4-methylenedioxyamphetamine;​

61.7 (9) alpha-ethyltryptamine;​

61.8 (10) bufotenine;​

61.9 (11) diethyltryptamine;​

61.10 (12) dimethyltryptamine;​

61.11 (13) 3,4,5-trimethoxyamphetamine;​

61.12 (14) 4-methyl-2, 5-dimethoxyamphetamine (DOM);​

61.13 (15) ibogaine;​

61.14 (16) lysergic acid diethylamide (LSD);​

61.15 (17) mescaline;​

61.16 (18) parahexyl;​

61.17 (19) N-ethyl-3-piperidyl benzilate;​

61.18 (20) N-methyl-3-piperidyl benzilate;​

61.19 (21) psilocybin;​

61.20 (22) psilocyn;​

61.21 (23) tenocyclidine (TPCP or TCP);​

61.22 (24) N-ethyl-1-phenyl-cyclohexylamine (PCE);​

61.23 (25) 1-(1-phenylcyclohexyl) pyrrolidine (PCPy);​

61.24 (26) 1-[1-(2-thienyl)cyclohexyl]-pyrrolidine (TCPy);​

61.25 (27) 4-chloro-2,5-dimethoxyamphetamine (DOC);​

61.26 (28) 4-ethyl-2,5-dimethoxyamphetamine (DOET);​

61.27 (29) 4-iodo-2,5-dimethoxyamphetamine (DOI);​
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62.1 (30) 4-bromo-2,5-dimethoxyphenethylamine (2C-B);​

62.2 (31) 4-chloro-2,5-dimethoxyphenethylamine (2C-C);​

62.3 (32) 4-methyl-2,5-dimethoxyphenethylamine (2C-D);​

62.4 (33) 4-ethyl-2,5-dimethoxyphenethylamine (2C-E);​

62.5 (34) 4-iodo-2,5-dimethoxyphenethylamine (2C-I);​

62.6 (35) 4-propyl-2,5-dimethoxyphenethylamine (2C-P);​

62.7 (36) 4-isopropylthio-2,5-dimethoxyphenethylamine (2C-T-4);​

62.8 (37) 4-propylthio-2,5-dimethoxyphenethylamine (2C-T-7);​

62.9 (38) 2-(8-bromo-2,3,6,7-tetrahydrofuro [2,3-f][1]benzofuran-4-yl)ethanamine​

62.10 (2-CB-FLY);​

62.11 (39) bromo-benzodifuranyl-isopropylamine (Bromo-DragonFLY);​

62.12 (40) alpha-methyltryptamine (AMT);​

62.13 (41) N,N-diisopropyltryptamine (DiPT);​

62.14 (42) 4-acetoxy-N,N-dimethyltryptamine (4-AcO-DMT);​

62.15 (43) 4-acetoxy-N,N-diethyltryptamine (4-AcO-DET);​

62.16 (44) 4-hydroxy-N-methyl-N-propyltryptamine (4-HO-MPT);​

62.17 (45) 4-hydroxy-N,N-dipropyltryptamine (4-HO-DPT);​

62.18 (46) 4-hydroxy-N,N-diallyltryptamine (4-HO-DALT);​

62.19 (47) 4-hydroxy-N,N-diisopropyltryptamine (4-HO-DiPT);​

62.20 (48) 5-methoxy-N,N-diisopropyltryptamine (5-MeO-DiPT);​

62.21 (49) 5-methoxy-α-methyltryptamine (5-MeO-AMT);​

62.22 (50) 5-methoxy-N,N-dimethyltryptamine (5-MeO-DMT);​

62.23 (51) 5-methylthio-N,N-dimethyltryptamine (5-MeS-DMT);​

62.24 (52) 5-methoxy-N-methyl-N-propyltryptamine​

62.25 5-methoxy-N-methyl-N-isopropyltryptamine (5-MeO-MiPT);​

62.26 (53) 5-methoxy-α-ethyltryptamine (5-MeO-AET);​

62.27 (54) 5-methoxy-N,N-dipropyltryptamine (5-MeO-DPT);​

62.28 (55) 5-methoxy-N,N-diethyltryptamine (5-MeO-DET);​
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63.1 (56) 5-methoxy-N,N-diallyltryptamine (5-MeO-DALT);​

63.2 (57) methoxetamine (MXE);​

63.3 (58) 5-iodo-2-aminoindane (5-IAI);​

63.4 (59) 5,6-methylenedioxy-2-aminoindane (MDAI);​

63.5 (60) 2-(4-bromo-2,5-dimethoxyphenyl)-N-(2-methoxybenzyl)ethanamine (25B-NBOMe);​

63.6 (61) 2-(4-chloro-2,5-dimethoxyphenyl)-N-(2-methoxybenzyl)ethanamine (25C-NBOMe);​

63.7 (62) 2-(4-iodo-2,5-dimethoxyphenyl)-N-(2-methoxybenzyl)ethanamine (25I-NBOMe);​

63.8 (63) 2-(2,5-Dimethoxyphenyl)ethanamine (2C-H);​

63.9 (64) 2-(4-Ethylthio-2,5-dimethoxyphenyl)ethanamine (2C-T-2);​

63.10 (65) N,N-Dipropyltryptamine (DPT);​

63.11 (66) 3-[1-(Piperidin-1-yl)cyclohexyl]phenol (3-HO-PCP);​

63.12 (67) N-ethyl-1-(3-methoxyphenyl)cyclohexanamine (3-MeO-PCE);​

63.13 (68) 4-[1-(3-methoxyphenyl)cyclohexyl]morpholine (3-MeO-PCMo);​

63.14 (69) 1-[1-(4-methoxyphenyl)cyclohexyl]-piperidine (methoxydine, 4-MeO-PCP);​

63.15 (70) 2-(2-Chlorophenyl)-2-(ethylamino)cyclohexan-1-one (N-Ethylnorketamine,​

63.16 ethketamine, NENK); and​

63.17 (71) methylenedioxy-N,N-dimethylamphetamine (MDDMA);​

63.18 (72) 3-(2-Ethyl(methyl)aminoethyl)-1H-indol-4-yl (4-AcO-MET); and​

63.19 (73) 2-Phenyl-2-(methylamino)cyclohexanone (deschloroketamine).​

63.20 (e) Peyote. All parts of the plant presently classified botanically as Lophophora williamsii​

63.21 Lemaire, whether growing or not, the seeds thereof, any extract from any part of the plant,​

63.22 and every compound, manufacture, salts, derivative, mixture, or preparation of the plant,​

63.23 its seeds or extracts. The listing of peyote as a controlled substance in Schedule I does not​

63.24 apply to the nondrug use of peyote in bona fide religious ceremonies of the American Indian​

63.25 Church, and members of the American Indian Church are exempt from registration. Any​

63.26 person who manufactures peyote for or distributes peyote to the American Indian Church,​

63.27 however, is required to obtain federal registration annually and to comply with all other​

63.28 requirements of law.​

63.29 (f) Central nervous system depressants. Unless specifically excepted or unless listed in​

63.30 another schedule, any material compound, mixture, or preparation which contains any​
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64.1 quantity of the following substances, their analogs, salts, isomers, and salts of isomers​

64.2 whenever the existence of the analogs, salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible:​

64.3 (1) mecloqualone;​

64.4 (2) methaqualone;​

64.5 (3) gamma-hydroxybutyric acid (GHB), including its esters and ethers;​

64.6 (4) flunitrazepam; and​

64.7 (5) 2-(2-Methoxyphenyl)-2-(methylamino)cyclohexanone (2-MeO-2-deschloroketamine,​

64.8 methoxyketamine).​

64.9 (g) Stimulants. Unless specifically excepted or unless listed in another schedule, any​

64.10 material compound, mixture, or preparation which contains any quantity of the following​

64.11 substances, their analogs, salts, isomers, and salts of isomers whenever the existence of the​

64.12 analogs, salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible:​

64.13 (1) aminorex;​

64.14 (2) cathinone;​

64.15 (3) fenethylline;​

64.16 (4) methcathinone;​

64.17 (5) methylaminorex;​

64.18 (6) N,N-dimethylamphetamine;​

64.19 (7) N-benzylpiperazine (BZP);​

64.20 (8) methylmethcathinone (mephedrone);​

64.21 (9) 3,4-methylenedioxy-N-methylcathinone (methylone);​

64.22 (10) methoxymethcathinone (methedrone);​

64.23 (11) methylenedioxypyrovalerone (MDPV);​

64.24 (12) 3-fluoro-N-methylcathinone (3-FMC);​

64.25 (13) methylethcathinone (MEC);​

64.26 (14) 1-benzofuran-6-ylpropan-2-amine (6-APB);​

64.27 (15) dimethylmethcathinone (DMMC);​

64.28 (16) fluoroamphetamine;​
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65.1 (17) fluoromethamphetamine;​

65.2 (18) α-methylaminobutyrophenone (MABP or buphedrone);​

65.3 (19) 1-(1,3-benzodioxol-5-yl)-2-(methylamino)butan-1-one (butylone);​

65.4 (20) 2-(methylamino)-1-(4-methylphenyl)butan-1-one (4-MEMABP or BZ-6378);​

65.5 (21) 1-(naphthalen-2-yl)-2-(pyrrolidin-1-yl) pentan-1-one (naphthylpyrovalerone or​

65.6 naphyrone);​

65.7 (22) (alpha-pyrrolidinopentiophenone (alpha-PVP);​

65.8 (23) (RS)-1-(4-methylphenyl)-2-(1-pyrrolidinyl)-1-hexanone (4-Me-PHP or MPHP);​

65.9 (24) 2-(1-pyrrolidinyl)-hexanophenone (Alpha-PHP);​

65.10 (25) 4-methyl-N-ethylcathinone (4-MEC);​

65.11 (26) 4-methyl-alpha-pyrrolidinopropiophenone (4-MePPP);​

65.12 (27) 2-(methylamino)-1-phenylpentan-1-one (pentedrone);​

65.13 (28) 1-(1,3-benzodioxol-5-yl)-2-(methylamino)pentan-1-one (pentylone);​

65.14 (29) 4-fluoro-N-methylcathinone (4-FMC);​

65.15 (30) 3,4-methylenedioxy-N-ethylcathinone (ethylone);​

65.16 (31) alpha-pyrrolidinobutiophenone (α-PBP);​

65.17 (32) 5-(2-Aminopropyl)-2,3-dihydrobenzofuran (5-APDB);​

65.18 (33) 1-phenyl-2-(1-pyrrolidinyl)-1-heptanone (PV8);​

65.19 (34) 6-(2-Aminopropyl)-2,3-dihydrobenzofuran (6-APDB); and​

65.20 (35) 4-methyl-alpha-ethylaminopentiophenone (4-MEAPP);​

65.21 (36) 4'-chloro-alpha-pyrrolidinopropiophenone (4-chloro-PPP);​

65.22 (37) 1-(1,3-Benzodioxol-5-yl)-2-(dimethylamino)butan-1-one (dibutylone, bk-DMBDB);​

65.23 and​

65.24 (38) any other substance, except bupropion or compounds listed under a different​

65.25 schedule, that is structurally derived from 2-aminopropan-1-one by substitution at the​

65.26 1-position with either phenyl, naphthyl, or thiophene ring systems, whether or not the​

65.27 compound is further modified in any of the following ways:​
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66.1 (i) by substitution in the ring system to any extent with alkyl, alkylenedioxy, alkoxy,​

66.2 haloalkyl, hydroxyl, or halide substituents, whether or not further substituted in the ring​

66.3 system by one or more other univalent substituents;​

66.4 (ii) by substitution at the 3-position with an acyclic alkyl substituent;​

66.5 (iii) by substitution at the 2-amino nitrogen atom with alkyl, dialkyl, benzyl, or​

66.6 methoxybenzyl groups; or​

66.7 (iv) by inclusion of the 2-amino nitrogen atom in a cyclic structure.​

66.8 (h) Marijuana, tetrahydrocannabinols, and synthetic cannabinoids. Unless specifically​

66.9 excepted or unless listed in another schedule, any natural or synthetic material, compound,​

66.10 mixture, or preparation that contains any quantity of the following substances, their analogs,​

66.11 isomers, esters, ethers, salts, and salts of isomers, esters, and ethers, whenever the existence​

66.12 of the isomers, esters, ethers, or salts is possible:​

66.13 (1) marijuana;​

66.14 (2) tetrahydrocannabinols naturally contained in a plant of the genus Cannabis, synthetic​

66.15 equivalents of the substances contained in the cannabis plant or in the resinous extractives​

66.16 of the plant, or synthetic substances with similar chemical structure and pharmacological​

66.17 activity to those substances contained in the plant or resinous extract, including, but not​

66.18 limited to, 1 cis or trans tetrahydrocannabinol, 6 cis or trans tetrahydrocannabinol, and 3,4​

66.19 cis or trans tetrahydrocannabinol;​

66.20 (3) synthetic cannabinoids, including the following substances:​

66.21 (i) Naphthoylindoles, which are any compounds containing a 3-(1-napthoyl)indole​

66.22 structure with substitution at the nitrogen atom of the indole ring by an alkyl, haloalkyl,​

66.23 alkenyl, cycloalkylmethyl, cycloalkylethyl, 1-(N-methyl-2-piperidinyl)methyl or​

66.24 2-(4-morpholinyl)ethyl group, whether or not further substituted in the indole ring to any​

66.25 extent and whether or not substituted in the naphthyl ring to any extent. Examples of​

66.26 naphthoylindoles include, but are not limited to:​

66.27 (A) 1-Pentyl-3-(1-naphthoyl)indole (JWH-018 and AM-678);​

66.28 (B) 1-Butyl-3-(1-naphthoyl)indole (JWH-073);​

66.29 (C) 1-Pentyl-3-(4-methoxy-1-naphthoyl)indole (JWH-081);​

66.30 (D) 1-[2-(4-morpholinyl)ethyl]-3-(1-naphthoyl)indole (JWH-200);​

66.31 (E) 1-Propyl-2-methyl-3-(1-naphthoyl)indole (JWH-015);​
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67.1 (F) 1-Hexyl-3-(1-naphthoyl)indole (JWH-019);​

67.2 (G) 1-Pentyl-3-(4-methyl-1-naphthoyl)indole (JWH-122);​

67.3 (H) 1-Pentyl-3-(4-ethyl-1-naphthoyl)indole (JWH-210);​

67.4 (I) 1-Pentyl-3-(4-chloro-1-naphthoyl)indole (JWH-398);​

67.5 (J) 1-(5-fluoropentyl)-3-(1-naphthoyl)indole (AM-2201).​

67.6 (ii) Napthylmethylindoles, which are any compounds containing a​

67.7 1H-indol-3-yl-(1-naphthyl)methane structure with substitution at the nitrogen atom of the​

67.8 indole ring by an alkyl, haloalkyl, alkenyl, cycloalkylmethyl, cycloalkylethyl,​

67.9 1-(N-methyl-2-piperidinyl)methyl or 2-(4-morpholinyl)ethyl group, whether or not further​

67.10 substituted in the indole ring to any extent and whether or not substituted in the naphthyl​

67.11 ring to any extent. Examples of naphthylmethylindoles include, but are not limited to:​

67.12 (A) 1-Pentyl-1H-indol-3-yl-(1-naphthyl)methane (JWH-175);​

67.13 (B) 1-Pentyl-1H-indol-3-yl-(4-methyl-1-naphthyl)methane (JWH-184).​

67.14 (iii) Naphthoylpyrroles, which are any compounds containing a 3-(1-naphthoyl)pyrrole​

67.15 structure with substitution at the nitrogen atom of the pyrrole ring by an alkyl, haloalkyl,​

67.16 alkenyl, cycloalkylmethyl, cycloalkylethyl, 1-(N-methyl-2-piperidinyl)methyl or​

67.17 2-(4-morpholinyl)ethyl group whether or not further substituted in the pyrrole ring to any​

67.18 extent, whether or not substituted in the naphthyl ring to any extent. Examples of​

67.19 naphthoylpyrroles include, but are not limited to,​

67.20 (5-(2-fluorophenyl)-1-pentylpyrrol-3-yl)-naphthalen-1-ylmethanone (JWH-307).​

67.21 (iv) Naphthylmethylindenes, which are any compounds containing a naphthylideneindene​

67.22 structure with substitution at the 3-position of the indene ring by an allkyl, haloalkyl, alkenyl,​

67.23 cycloalkylmethyl, cycloalkylethyl, 1-(N-methyl-2-piperidinyl)methyl or​

67.24 2-(4-morpholinyl)ethyl group whether or not further substituted in the indene ring to any​

67.25 extent, whether or not substituted in the naphthyl ring to any extent. Examples of​

67.26 naphthylemethylindenes include, but are not limited to,​

67.27 E-1-[1-(1-naphthalenylmethylene)-1H-inden-3-yl]pentane (JWH-176).​

67.28 (v) Phenylacetylindoles, which are any compounds containing a 3-phenylacetylindole​

67.29 structure with substitution at the nitrogen atom of the indole ring by an alkyl, haloalkyl,​

67.30 alkenyl, cycloalkylmethyl, cycloalkylethyl, 1-(N-methyl-2-piperidinyl)methyl or​

67.31 2-(4-morpholinyl)ethyl group whether or not further substituted in the indole ring to any​

67.32 extent, whether or not substituted in the phenyl ring to any extent. Examples of​

67.33 phenylacetylindoles include, but are not limited to:​
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68.1 (A) 1-(2-cyclohexylethyl)-3-(2-methoxyphenylacetyl)indole (RCS-8);​

68.2 (B) 1-pentyl-3-(2-methoxyphenylacetyl)indole (JWH-250);​

68.3 (C) 1-pentyl-3-(2-methylphenylacetyl)indole (JWH-251);​

68.4 (D) 1-pentyl-3-(2-chlorophenylacetyl)indole (JWH-203).​

68.5 (vi) Cyclohexylphenols, which are compounds containing a​

68.6 2-(3-hydroxycyclohexyl)phenol structure with substitution at the 5-position of the phenolic​

68.7 ring by an alkyl, haloalkyl, alkenyl, cycloalkylmethyl, cycloalkylethyl,​

68.8 1-(N-methyl-2-piperidinyl)methyl or 2-(4-morpholinyl)ethyl group whether or not substituted​

68.9 in the cyclohexyl ring to any extent. Examples of cyclohexylphenols include, but are not​

68.10 limited to:​

68.11 (A) 5-(1,1-dimethylheptyl)-2-[(1R,3S)-3-hydroxycyclohexyl]-phenol (CP 47,497);​

68.12 (B) 5-(1,1-dimethyloctyl)-2-[(1R,3S)-3-hydroxycyclohexyl]-phenol​

68.13 (Cannabicyclohexanol or CP 47,497 C8 homologue);​

68.14 (C) 5-(1,1-dimethylheptyl)-2-[(1R,2R)-5-hydroxy-2-(3-hydroxypropyl)cyclohexyl]​

68.15 -phenol (CP 55,940).​

68.16 (vii) Benzoylindoles, which are any compounds containing a 3-(benzoyl)indole structure​

68.17 with substitution at the nitrogen atom of the indole ring by an alkyl, haloalkyl, alkenyl,​

68.18 cycloalkylmethyl, cycloalkylethyl, 1-(N-methyl-2-piperidinyl)methyl or​

68.19 2-(4-morpholinyl)ethyl group whether or not further substituted in the indole ring to any​

68.20 extent and whether or not substituted in the phenyl ring to any extent. Examples of​

68.21 benzoylindoles include, but are not limited to:​

68.22 (A) 1-Pentyl-3-(4-methoxybenzoyl)indole (RCS-4);​

68.23 (B) 1-(5-fluoropentyl)-3-(2-iodobenzoyl)indole (AM-694);​

68.24 (C) (4-methoxyphenyl-[2-methyl-1-(2-(4-morpholinyl)ethyl)indol-3-yl]methanone (WIN​

68.25 48,098 or Pravadoline).​

68.26 (viii) Others specifically named:​

68.27 (A) (6aR,10aR)-9-(hydroxymethyl)-6,6-dimethyl-3-(2-methyloctan-2-yl)​

68.28 -6a,7,10,10a-tetrahydrobenzo[c]chromen-1-ol (HU-210);​

68.29 (B) (6aS,10aS)-9-(hydroxymethyl)-6,6-dimethyl-3-(2-methyloctan-2-yl)​

68.30 -6a,7,10,10a-tetrahydrobenzo[c]chromen-1-ol (Dexanabinol or HU-211);​
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69.1 (C) 2,3-dihydro-5-methyl-3-(4-morpholinylmethyl)pyrrolo[1,2,3-de]​

69.2 -1,4-benzoxazin-6-yl-1-naphthalenylmethanone (WIN 55,212-2);​

69.3 (D) (1-pentylindol-3-yl)-(2,2,3,3-tetramethylcyclopropyl)methanone (UR-144);​

69.4 (E) (1-(5-fluoropentyl)-1H-indol-3-yl)(2,2,3,3-tetramethylcyclopropyl)methanone​

69.5 (XLR-11);​

69.6 (F) 1-pentyl-N-tricyclo[3.3.1.13,7]dec-1-yl-1H-indazole-3-carboxamide​

69.7 (AKB-48(APINACA));​

69.8 (G) N-((3s,5s,7s)-adamantan-1-yl)-1-(5-fluoropentyl)-1H-indazole-3-carboxamide​

69.9 (5-Fluoro-AKB-48);​

69.10 (H) 1-pentyl-8-quinolinyl ester-1H-indole-3-carboxylic acid (PB-22);​

69.11 (I) 8-quinolinyl ester-1-(5-fluoropentyl)-1H-indole-3-carboxylic acid (5-Fluoro PB-22);​

69.12 (J) N-[(1S)-1-(aminocarbonyl)-2-methylpropyl]-1-pentyl-1H-indazole- 3-carboxamide​

69.13 (AB-PINACA);​

69.14 (K) N-[(1S)-1-(aminocarbonyl)-2-methylpropyl]-1-[(4-fluorophenyl)methyl]-​

69.15 1H-indazole-3-carboxamide (AB-FUBINACA);​

69.16 (L) N-[(1S)-1-(aminocarbonyl)-2-methylpropyl]-1-(cyclohexylmethyl)-1H-​

69.17 indazole-3-carboxamide(AB-CHMINACA);​

69.18 (M) (S)-methyl 2-(1-(5-fluoropentyl)-1H-indazole-3-carboxamido)-3- methylbutanoate​

69.19 (5-fluoro-AMB);​

69.20 (N) [1-(5-fluoropentyl)-1H-indazol-3-yl](naphthalen-1-yl) methanone (THJ-2201);​

69.21 (O) (1-(5-fluoropentyl)-1H-benzo[d]imidazol-2-yl)(naphthalen-1-yl)methanone)​

69.22 (FUBIMINA);​

69.23 (P) (7-methoxy-1-(2-morpholinoethyl)-N-((1S,2S,4R)-1,3,3-trimethylbicyclo​

69.24 [2.2.1]heptan-2-yl)-1H-indole-3-carboxamide (MN-25 or UR-12);​

69.25 (Q) (S)-N-(1-amino-3-methyl-1-oxobutan-2-yl)-1-(5-fluoropentyl)​

69.26 -1H-indole-3-carboxamide (5-fluoro-ABICA);​

69.27 (R) N-(1-amino-3-phenyl-1-oxopropan-2-yl)-1-(5-fluoropentyl)​

69.28 -1H-indole-3-carboxamide;​

69.29 (S) N-(1-amino-3-phenyl-1-oxopropan-2-yl)-1-(5-fluoropentyl)​

69.30 -1H-indazole-3-carboxamide;​

69​Article 5 Section 1.​

COUNSEL KPB/CT/RER SCS0803A172​05/02/17 07:39 AM ​



70.1 (T) methyl 2-(1-(cyclohexylmethyl)-1H-indole-3-carboxamido) -3,3-dimethylbutanoate;​

70.2 (U) N-(1-amino-3,3-dimethyl-1-oxobutan-2-yl)-1(cyclohexylmethyl)-1​

70.3 H-indazole-3-carboxamide (MAB-CHMINACA);​

70.4 (V) N-(1-Amino-3,3-dimethyl-1-oxo-2-butanyl)-1-pentyl-1H-indazole-3-carboxamide​

70.5 (ADB-PINACA);​

70.6 (W) methyl (1-(4-fluorobenzyl)-1H-indazole-3-carbonyl)-L-valinate (FUB-AMB);​

70.7 (X)​

70.8 N-[(1S)-2-amino-2-oxo-1-(phenylmethyl)ethyl]-1-(cyclohexylmethyl)-1H-Indazole-3-carboxamide.​

70.9 (APP-CHMINACA); and​

70.10 (Y) quinolin-8-yl 1-(4-fluorobenzyl)-1H-indole-3-carboxylate (FUB-PB-22); and​

70.11 (Z) methyl N-[1-(cyclohexylmethyl)-1H-indole-3-carbonyl]valinate (MMB-CHMICA).​

70.12 (i) A controlled substance analog, to the extent that it is implicitly or explicitly intended​

70.13 for human consumption.​

70.14 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2017, and applies to crimes​

70.15 committed on or after that date.​

70.16 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 152.02, subdivision 12, is amended to read:​

70.17 Subd. 12. Coordination of controlled substance regulation with federal law and​

70.18 state statute. (a) If any substance is designated, rescheduled, or deleted as a controlled​

70.19 substance under federal law and notice thereof is given to the state Board of Pharmacy, the​

70.20 state Board of Pharmacy shall may similarly and temporarily control the substance under​

70.21 this chapter, after the expiration of 30 days from publication in the Federal Register of a​

70.22 final order designating a substance as a controlled substance or rescheduling or deleting a​

70.23 substance. Such order shall be filed with the secretary of state. If within that 30-day period,​

70.24 the state Board of Pharmacy objects to inclusion, rescheduling, or deletion, it shall publish​

70.25 the reasons for objection and afford all interested parties an opportunity to be heard. At the​

70.26 conclusion of the hearing, the state Board of Pharmacy shall publish its decision, which​

70.27 shall be subject to the provisions of chapter 14 by issuing an order and causing it to be​

70.28 published in the State Register and filed with the secretary of state. In issuing the order, the​

70.29 board is not required to engage in rulemaking. The order expires no later than 12 months​

70.30 after the date of issue and may not be renewed. After issuing the order, the board may​

70.31 permanently schedule the substance only by exercising the authority granted to it under​

70.32 subdivision 8.​
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71.1 In exercising the authority granted by this chapter, the state Board of Pharmacy shall be​

71.2 subject to the provisions of chapter 14.​

71.3 (b) The state Board of Pharmacy shall annually submit a report to the legislature on or​

71.4 before December 1 that specifies what changes the board made to the controlled substance​

71.5 schedules maintained by the board in Minnesota Rules, parts 6800.4210 to 6800.4250, in​

71.6 the preceding 12 months. The report must also specify any orders issued by the board under​

71.7 this subdivision. The report must include specific recommendations for amending the​

71.8 controlled substance schedules contained in subdivisions 2 to 6, so that they conform with​

71.9 the controlled substance schedules maintained by the board in Minnesota Rules, parts​

71.10 6800.4210 to 6800.4250, and with the federal schedules.​

71.11 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 152.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

71.12 read:​

71.13 Subd. 14. Procedural requirements. Except as otherwise permitted in this section, the​

71.14 Board of Pharmacy is subject to the provisions of chapter 14 in exercising the authority​

71.15 granted by this chapter."​

71.16 Delete the title and insert:​

71.17 "A bill for an act​
71.18 relating to public safety; modifying certain provisions relating to courts, public​
71.19 safety, corrections, crime, and controlled substances; requesting reports; providing​
71.20 for penalties; appropriating money for public safety, courts, corrections, Guardian​
71.21 Ad Litem Board, Uniform Laws Commission, Board on Judicial Standards, Board​
71.22 of Public Defense, Sentencing Guidelines, Peace Officer Standards and Training​
71.23 (POST) Board, and Private Detective Board; amending Minnesota Statutes 2016,​
71.24 sections 2.722, subdivision 1; 3.739, subdivision 1; 13.69, subdivision 1; 152.02,​
71.25 subdivisions 2, 12, by adding a subdivision; 152.105; 241.01, subdivision 3a;​
71.26 243.05, subdivision 1; 243.17, subdivision 1; 243.49; 244.05, subdivision 3;​
71.27 244.198, by adding a subdivision; 271.21, subdivision 2; 299A.55, subdivision 2;​
71.28 299A.707, subdivision 2; 299C.46, subdivision 6; 357.021, subdivision 2; 357.022;​
71.29 357.42; 358.116; 480.242, subdivision 2; 484.70, subdivision 7; 484.702, by adding​
71.30 a subdivision; 486.01; 486.02; 486.05, subdivision 1; 486.06; 513.41; 518.179,​
71.31 subdivision 2; 518B.01, subdivision 8a; 549.09, subdivision 1; 609.14, by adding​
71.32 a subdivision; 609.475; 609.48, by adding a subdivision; 609.595, subdivisions 1,​
71.33 2, by adding a subdivision; 609.605, by adding a subdivision; 609.74; 609.748,​
71.34 subdivisions 3, 3a, 4, 5, by adding subdivisions; 609.855, subdivision 2; 624.714,​
71.35 subdivision 17; 631.52, subdivision 2; 634.36; Laws 2009, chapter 59, article 3,​
71.36 section 4, subdivisions 5, as amended, 8, as amended, 9, as amended; proposing​
71.37 coding for new law in Minnesota Statutes, chapters 609; 626; repealing Minnesota​
71.38 Statutes 2016, sections 169.685, subdivision 4; 484.72; 486.05, subdivision 1a;​
71.39 525.112."​
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