## Written Testimony in the House Early Childhood Education Finance and Policy Committee

## In Support of HF 1278

We the undersigned pediatricians, family physicians, early childhood educators strongly support HF 1278, providing affordable parental enrichment and access to quality child care and early preschool education. HF 1278 also creates a task force with a goal limiting a family's costs for early childhood programs to no more than 7% of income by 2031. Further, the necessary wages for workers in the QCC and Early Education (parent and child) field and the goal of no more than 7% of income will be reconciled to accomplish both objectives. In addition, steps will be outlined so workers in the field can enhance their skills and advance in their positions.

We the undersigned believe strongly in the necessity for this Committee and the Legislature to act on behalf of our youngest citizens by passing HF 1278 creating a path to affordable early childhood education, quality childcare, and community education through the creation of a widely representative task force to make recommendations about how this goal may be accomplished.

Most sincerely,

Dale Dobrin, MD, FAAP

Honored Clinical Associate Professor of Pediatrics

U of M Medical School

Mary Meland, MD, FAAP

**Honored Clinical Professor of Pediatrics** 

U of M Medical School

Roger Sheldon, MD, FAAP

Emeritus Professor of Pediatrics (Neonatology)

University of Oklahoma School of Medicine

Andrew Slattengren, DO, FAAFP

President, MN Chapter AAFP

Joseph Neglia, MD, MPH, Dept Chief Pediatrics,

U of M Medical School and Physician in Chief Masonic Children's Hospital, U of M

<sup>\*</sup>FAAP is Fellow of the American Academy of Pediatrics

\*FAAFP is Fellow of the American Academy of Family Practice

Ada Alden, EdD (Leadership)

Retired Consultant to MN Public Schools ECFE

Marc H Gorelick, MD, CEO and President
Children's Hospitals and Clinics of Minnesota
(Children's Minnesota)

Michael Georgieff, MD, Co-Director

Masonic Institute for the Developing Brain

University of Minnesota

Angela Kade Goepferd, MD, Chief Education Officer, Chief of Staff, and Medical Director Gender Health Program, Children's Minnesota

Heidi Northrup, MHA, CEO South Lake Pediatric Clinic

Corrine Abdou, BA, Administrator, Wayzata Children's Clinic

Arthur Krammer, MD, FAAP

Mark Nupen, MD, FAAP

Steve Ellies, MD, FAAP

Mary Conroy, MD, FAAP

Larry Condon, MD, FAAP

Rhoda Liebo, MD, FAAP

Richard Wicklund, MD, FAAP

Anne Skemp, MD, FAAP

Nathalie Lechault, MD, FAAP

Laura Saliterman, MD, FAAP, Retired

Dianne Pizey, MD, FAAP, Retired

John Paulson, MD, FAAP

David Estrin, MD, FAAP, VP SLPeds

Keenan Richardson, MD, FAAP, Retired

Ted Jewett, MD, FAAP, Retired

Maria McGannon, APRN-CPNP, Director

of Quality South Lake Pediatrics

Larry Manney, MD, FAAP

Joanne Hoffman-Jecha, MD, FAAP

Director of Mental Health Services, SLPeds

Lisa Batchelor, MD, FAAP

Sylvia Sekhon, MD, FAAP, Retired

Andrew Thomas, MD, FAAP

Shelley Strong, MD, FAAP,

Susan Goodale, MD, FAAP

James Ritchart, MD, FAAP

Sharon Jaeger, MD, FAAP

Dan Khoury, MD, FAAP

Catherine Crosby-Schmidt, MD, FAAP

Lawrence Morrissey, MD, FAAP

Carrie Pettey, MD, FAAP

Heidi Bryson, MD, FAAP

Laurel Anderson, MD, FAAP

Sandra Sackett, MD, FAAP

Pamela Heggie, MD, FAAP

Christine Rhodes Dekko, MD, FAAP

Nicole Wilson, MD, FAAP

Amanda Gillett, MD FAAP

Christine Huberty, MD, FAAP

Lindsay Bragg, MD, FAAP

Chelsey Meier, MD, FAAP

Diana Thyssen, MD, FAAP

Hannah Esdal, MD, FAAP

Nora Gavigan, MD, FAAP

Mary Brown, MD, FAAP

Marlieke van Tyn, MD, FAAP

Heidi Hubbard, MD, FAAP

Duane Skar, MD, FAAP

Darrell Carter, MD, FAAFP