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H. F. No. 2208,4 bill for an act relating to jobs; appropriating money for the Departments
of Employment and Economic Development, Labor and Industry, Human Services, and

Commerce; the Bureau of Mediation Services; Public Employment Relations Board; Housing
Finance Agency; Workers' Compensation Court ofAppeals; and Prùlic Utilities Commission;
making policy and technical changes; modiffing fees; providing criminal and civil penalties;

requiring reports; amending Minnesota Statutes 2078, sections 16C.285, subdivision 3;

116J.8731, subdivision 5; 116J.8148, subdivision4;I77.27, subdivisions2,4,7,8,by
adding subdivisions;177.30; I77.32, subdivision 1; 181.03, subdivision 1, by adding
subdivisions; 181.032; 181.101; 182.659, subdivision 8; 182.666, subdivisions I,2,3,4,
5, by adding a subdivision;3268.802, subdivision 15;327C.095, subdivisions 1,2,3, 4,
12,13;34I.30,subdivisionI;341.32, subdivisionl;34I.321;345.515;345.53, subdivision
1, by adding a subdivision; 609.52, subdivisions 1, 2, 3; proposing coding for new law in
Minnesota Statutes, chapters 777; l8l;2I6C; proposing coding for new law as Minnesota
Statutes, chapter 345A; repealing Minnesota Statutes 2018, sections 177.27, subdivisions
l, 3; 345.53, subdivision 2.

Reported the same back with the following amendments:

Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:

''ARTICLE 1

APPROPRIATIONS

Section 1. JOBS AND ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT.

(a) The sums shown in the columns marked "Appropriations" are appropriated to the

asencies and for the oumoses soecified in this article. The aoorooriations are from the

seneral fund. or another named fund, and are available for the fiscal years indicated for

each The s"2020" and"202l" used in this article mean the tions

listed under them arc avallúle for the fiscal year ending June 30,2020, or June 30,2021,

respectively. "The first year" is f,rscal year 2020. "The second year" is fiscal year 202I

"Each year" means each of fiscal years 2020 and202I

lb) If an aoorooriation in this article is enacted more than once in the 2019leeislative

session. the appropriation must be given effect only once
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04l04lt9 REVISOR

Sec. 2. DEPARTMENT OF EMPLOYMENT
AND ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation

Appropriations by Fund

2020 2021

General

APPROPRIATIONS

Available for the Year

Endine June 30

2020 2021

169,405,000 $ 139,075,000

47,r2r,000 34.230.000
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$

Remediation

734,933,000

700,000

104,804.000

700,000

Workforce
Development 33.772.000 33.571.000

The amounts that may be spent for each

1ìr rfl¡rtrc cnanifier{ in the fnllnr¡¡in r¡e are

subdivisions.

Subd. 2. Business and CommunitvDevelopment

Appropriations by Fund

General 44.721.000 31.830.000

Remediation 700,000 700,000
'Workforce

Development 1,700,000 1,700,000

(a) $9,350,000 the first year is for:

(1) the sreater Minnesota business

development public infrastructure srant

program under Minnesota Statutes. section

tt6J.43t:

(2) the spark proqram, formerly known as the

business development competitive grant

program;

(4\ a srarfi to the Minnesota Desisrr Center at

the University of Minnesota for the greater

Minnesota community design program; and

the

Article 1 Sec.2 2



04t04119

(5) a srant to Red Wine lgnite for economic

development activities focused on technology

and innovation in Southeastern Minnesota.

The commissioner has discretion to allocate

this aoorooriation amons the listed Drosrams.

including awarding zero funds to a listed

program or grantee. The commissioner has

discretion to stipulate reasonable terms for

individual programs and grants. Of this

amount, up to four percent is for

administration and monitorins of the funded

programs. This appropriation is available until

June 30, 2022.

(b) S2,500,000 each year is for the Minnesota

Innovation Collaborative. This is a onetime

appropriation and funds are available until

June 30 2023. Of this amount:

(1) S1,600,000 each year is for innovation

grants to eligible Minnesota entrepreneurs or

start-up businesses to assist with their

operating needs. Of this amount, five percent

is for the administrative costs

(2) $450,000 each year is for administration

of the Minnesota Innovation Collaborative;

(3) $450,000 each year is for grantee activities

at the Minnesota Innovation Collaborative. Of

this amount, five percent is for the

department's administrative costs

(c) $1,772,000 each year is from the general

fund and $700,000 each year is from the

remediation fund for contaminated site cleanup

and development grants under Minnesota
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Statutes, sections 116J.551 to 116J.558. These

appropriations are available until spent.

(d) $139,000 each year is for a grant to the

Rural Policy and Development Center under

Minnesota Statutes, section 116J.421

(e) $25,000 each year is for the administration

of state aid forthe Destination Medical Center

under Minnesota Statutes sections 469.40 to

469.47.

(Ð $875,000 each year is for the host

community economic development grant

established in Minnesota Statutes

section 116J.548

(e) $500,000 the first year and $125,000 the

second year are for grants to the White Earth

Nation for the White Earth Nation Integrated

Business Development System to provide

business assistance with workforce

development, outreach, technical assistance,

infrastructure and operational support,

financing, and other business development

activities. This is a onetime appropriation.

(h) $SZS,O00 each year is for a grant to

Enterprise Minnesota, Inc. for the small

business growth acceleration program under

Minnesota Statutes, section 1160.115. This

is a onetime appropriation.

(i) S300,000 each year is to provide business

performance assessments to Minnesota

manufacturers with 50 or fewer emolovees.

with focus on very small and rural locations.

The assessment findines must position

Minnesota manufacturers to retain and recruit

4Article 1 Sec.2.
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employees and grow in their community. This

is a onetime appropriation.

(i) $250,000 the first year is for a grantto the

Rondo Communify Land Trust for

improvements to leased commercial space in

the Selby Milton Victoria Proiect that will

create long-term affordable space for small

businesses and forbuild-out and development

of new businesses.

(k) S1,175,000 each year is for a grant to the

Metropolitan Economic Development

Association (MEDA) for statewide business

development and assistance services, including

services to entrepreneurs with businesses that

have the potential to create job opportunities

for and

with an emphasis on minority-owned

businesses. This is a onetime appropriation.

(l) $2,865,000 the first year is for grants for

proiects that support economic development

by increasing the availability of child care

Eligible recipients for these grants are limited

1

(2) the Minnesota Initiative Foundations; and

(3) elieible applicants under the child care

economic development grant program.

The commissioner has discretion to allocate

the available grant funds among the listed

elieible recipients, including awarding zero

funds to a listed entity. The commissionerhas

discretion to stipulate reasonable terms for

individual Drosrams and srants. Of this

amount, up to four percent is for

to:

5Article 1 Sec.2.
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administration and monitorine of the funded

prosrams. This appropriation is available until

June30,2027.

(mX1) $750,000 each year is for grants to the

Neiehborhood Development Center for small

business programs. This is a onetime

appropriation.

(2) Of the amount appropriated in the first

veâr. s0 000 is for outreach and trainino$1

activities outside the seven-county

metropolitaÍr atea, as defined in Minnesota

Statutes, section 473.121, subdivision 2.

(nXl) $50,000 the first year is for grants to

support broadband connections for coworking

spaces designed to foster start-up busrnesses.

Grant recipients must be located in an

unserved area or an underserved area for

broadband, as defined in Minnesota Statutes,

section 1I6J.394. Grant recipients must obtain

a 100 percent nonstate match to grant funds

in either cash or in-kind contributions, though

matching funds may be used for expenses of

the coworking space other than broadband.

This is a onetime appropriation.

(2) Within one year of receiving grarrt funds,

srant recioients must report to the

commissioner on the outcomes of the grant

program including but not limited to the

number of start-up businesses served and the

amount of local funds invested.

(o\ $6,772,000 each year is for the Minnesota

ob creation fund under Minnesota Sta

section 1I6J.8748. Of this amount, the

commissioner of employment and economic

Article 1 Sec.2 6
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development may use up to three percent for

administrative expenses. This appropriation

is available until expended.

(pXl) $6,935,000 the firstyear and$6,934,000

the second year aÍe for the Minnesota

investment fund under Minnesot¿ Statutes,

section II6J.8731. Of this amount, the

commissioner of employment and economic

development may use up to three percent for

administration and monitoring ofthe program.

This appropriæion is available until expended.

(2) Of the amount appropriated in the first

vear" S2.000.000 is for a loan to a paper mill

in Duluth for a retrofit proiect that will support

the operation and manufacture of packaging

Daoer srades. The company that owns the

oaoermill must soend S20.000.000 onproiect

activities by December 31, 2020, in order to

be eligible to receive this loan. Loan funds

mav be used for purchases of materials.

supplies, and equipment for the proiect and

are available from Julv 1. 2019. to Julv 30.

2021. The commissioner of emplor¡ment and

economic development shall forgive 25

oercent of the loan each year after the second

vear durins a five-vear period if the mill has

retained at least 200 fuIl-time equivalent

emolovees and has satisfied other perfoÍnance

goals and contractual obligations as required

under Minnesota Statutes, section 116J.8731.

(q) $1,000,000 each year is for the Minnesota

emerging entrepreneur loan program under

Minnesota Statutes, section 116M.18. Funds

available under this paragraph are for transfer

into the emerging entrepreneur program

REVISOR SS/BM DIVH22O8CR1
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special revenue fund account created under

Minnesota Statutes, chapter 116M, and are

available until expended. Of this amount, up

to four oercent is for administration and

monitorine of the program.

(r) $163,000 each year is for the Minnesota

Film and TV Board. The appropriation in each

year is available only upon receipt by the

board of $1 in matchins contributions of

money or in-kind contributions from nonstate

sources for every $3 provided by this

appropriation, exceptthat each year up to

$50,000 is available on July 1 even if the

required matching contribution has not been

received by that date.

(s) $12,000 each year is for a grant to the

Upper Minnesota Film Office.

(t) $500,000 eachyearis fromthe general fund

for a grant to the Minnesota Film and TV

Board for the film production iobs program

under Minnesota Statutes, section 116U.26.

This appropriation is available until June 30,

2023.

(u) $4,19S,000 each year is for the Minnesota

iob skills partnership program under

Minnesota Statutes, sections 116L.01 to

Il6L.l7.If the appropriation for either year

is insuffrcient, the appropriation for the other

vear is available. This appropriation is

available until expended.

(v) $1,350,000 each year is from the

workforce development fund for iobs training

grants under Minnesota Statutes, sectron

1t6L.42.

8Article 1 Sec.2
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(w) $350,000 each year is from the workforce

development fund formetropolitan iob training

grants under Minnesota Statutes, sectron

rr6L.43.

Subd. 3. \Morkforce Development

Appropriations bv Fund

General 26.164.000 7.500.000

Workforce
Development 24,187,000 23.986.000

(a) $250.000 each vear is for pilot Drosrams

in the workforce service areas to combine

career and hisher education advisins.

(b) 5500,000 each year is for rural career

counseling coordinator positions in the

workforce service areas and for the purposes

specified in Minnesota Statutes. section

tt6L.667

(c) $750,000 each year is for the women and

high-wage, high-demand, nontraditional iobs

under Minnesota Statu

section 116L.99. Of this amount. up to five

nercenf is for administration and monifnrino

of the Þrogram.

(d) $700,000 the first year is for a srarttto the

Washburn Center for Children to train and

hire additional children's mental health

treatment staff. Of this amount, $200,000 is

for the pathways proqram to create fellowships

for professionals of color in children's mental

health treatment. This appropriation is

available until June 30,2023.

(eXl) $300,000 the first year is for a srant to

the Regional Center for Entrepreneurial

Facilitation hosted by a county or hisher

SS/BM DTVH22O8CRl

50,351,000 31.486.000
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education institution. Funds available under

this paragraph must be used to provide

entrepreneur and small business development

direct professional business assistance services

in the following counties in Minnesota: Blue

Earth. Brown. Faribault. Le Sueur. Martin.

Nicollet, Sibley,'Watonwan, and Waseca. For

the purposes of this paragraph, "direct

professional business assistance seryices" must

include but is not limited to payment of

overhead costs, pre-venture assistance for

individuals considering starting a business,

and services for underserved populations,

agricultural businesses, and students. This

appropriation is not available until the

commissionerdetermines that an equal amount

is committed from nonstate sources. This

appropriation is available until June 30,2021.

(2) Grantrecipients shall report to the

commissioner by February I, 2027, and

include information on the number of

customers served in each countv: the nuinber

of businesses started. stabilized, or expanded;

the number of iobs created and retained: and

business success rates in each county. Bv April

7,202I, the commissioner shall report the

information submitted by grant recipients to

the chairs and rankins minoritv members of

the standins committees of the house of

representative s and senate having i urisdiction

over economic development issues.

/fi $20 000 in the first \/êâ1' is for Ítrê1ìcl't1.ìû

the inventory of workforce development

programs under Minnesota Statutes, section

116L.3s

REVISOR SS/BM DIVH22O8CRl
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(g) $t,S00,000 each year is for a grant to

Summit Academy OIC to expand its

contextualized GED and employment

placement Drosram and STEM prosram. This

is a onetime appropriation.

(h) $485,000 the first year is for a grant to

Lifetrack, a St. Paul nonprofit organization,

for building maintenance. This appropriation

is available until June 30. 2023.

(i) $1,000,000 each year is for a grant to

Youthprise to give grants through a

competitive process to community

orsanizatrons to provide economic

development services designed to enhance

long-term economic self-sufficiency in

communities with concentrated East Afücan

oopulations. Such communities include but

are not limited to Faribault, Rochester" St.

Cloud, Moorhead, and Willmar. To the extent

oossible. Youthorise must make at least 50

ncrnanf ofthese orqnfq to ¡'¡r r¡ cni z ch 
^n 

c cel-r¡iñ cl

communities located outside the seven-county

metropolitaî atea, as defined in Minnesota

Statutes, section 47 3 .121, subdivision 2.This

is a onetime appropriation and is available

until June 30 2022.

(i) $525,000 each year is for a grant to the

YWCA of Minneapolis to provide

economically challenged individuals the iobs

skills training, career counseling, and job

placement assistance necessary to secure a

child development associate credential and to

have a career path in early childhood

education. This is a onetime appropriation.

Article 1 Sec.2. 11
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lk) 5250.000 each vear is for a srant to YWCA

St. Paul to provide iob training services and

workforce development programs and

services, including iob skills training and

counseling. This is a onetime appropriation.

(1) $17,159,000 the first year is for:

(1) distribution to existing nonprofit and state

displaced homemaker programs under

Minnesota Statutes. section ll6L.96:

(2) the special education employment pilot

project;

(3) a grant to Fathers Rise Together to study

the creation of a Duluth-Iron Range African

heritaee hub;

(4\ a srant to Hennepin County for the Cedar

Riverside Partnership :

(5) a grant to Goodwill-Easter Seals Miruresota

and its parbrers for the FIfIIIER Proiect;

(6) comoetitive srants to elisible nonorof,rt

minority business development organizations

for statewide business development and

assistance services to minority-owned

businesses, including the creation of revolving

loan funds and operating support for the

organizations providing the services;

(7\ a srant to Lifetrack for iob training and

employment preparation for at-risk adults;

SS/BM DIVH22O8CR1REVISOR

and12.30

12.28 (8) the pathways to prosperity grant program

12.29 under Minnesota Statutes, section ll6L.25:

12.31 (9) a erant to Better Futures Minnesota to

t2.32 provide iob skills trainine to individuals who

12.33 have been released from incarceration for a

Article 1 Sec.2 t2
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felony-level offense and are no more fhan 12

months from the date of release

The commissioner has discretion to allocate

this appropriation among the listed progrcms

and grantees, including awardiîgzero funds

to a listed program or grantee. The

commissioner has discretion to stipulate

reasonable terms for individual programs and

srants. Of these amounts. uo to four oercent

is for administration and monitoring of the

funded programs. This is a onetime

appropriation and funds are avulable until

June 30 2021

(m) $100,000 the first year is from the

workforce development fund for a grant to the

Cook County Higher Education Board to

provide educational programming and

academic support services to remote regions

in northeastern Minnesota. This appropriation

is in addition to other funds previously

appropriated to the board.

(n) $500,000 each year is from the workforce

development fund for Propel Nonprofits,

formerly known as the Nonprofits Assistance

Fund, to make grants forinfrastructure support

to small nonprofit organizations that serve

historically underserved cultural communities.

(o) $250,000 each year is from the workforce

development fund for a grant to the American

Indian Opportunities and Industriali zation

Center, in collaboration with the Northwest

Indian Community Development Center, to

reduce academic disparities for American

Indian students and adults. This is a onetime

Article 1 Sec.2. 13
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appropriation. The grarrt funds may be used
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to provide:

(1) student tutoring and testing support

servlces;

(2) training and employment placement in

information technolo sv :

(3) trainine and ernployment placement within

trades;

assistance in a GED

(5) remedial training leading to enrollment

and to sustain enrollment in a postsecondary

higher education institution;

(6) real-time work experience in information

technolosy fields and in the trades;

(î contextualized adult basic education:

(8) career and educational counseling for

clients with sienificant and multiple barriers;

q4q

19) reentrv services and counseline for adults

and youth.

After notification to the chairs and minority

leads of the legislative committees with

iurisdiction over iobs and economic

development, the commissioner may transfer

this appropriation to the commissioner of

education.

(p) $3S0,000 each year is from the workforce

development fund for a grant to the

International Institute of Minnesota. Grant

funds mustbe used forworkforce kaining for

New Americans in industries in need oftrained

workforce. This is a onetime appropriation.

Article 1 Sec.2. l4
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1s.1 (q) $100,000 the first year is from the

ts.2 workforce development fund for preparing a

rs.3 olan to address barriers to emplovment for

ts.4 persons with mental illness.

ls.s (r) $1,000,000 each year is from the workforce

ts.6 development fund for a grant to EMERGE

ts.l Community Development, in collaboration

1s.8 with communitv oarfirers. for services

ts.s targeting Minnesota communities with the

1s.10 hiehest concentrations of African and

1s.11 African-American ioblessness, based on the

rs.r2 most recent census tract data, to provide

15.13 employment readiness training, credentialed

ls.t4 training placement, iob placement and

15.15 retention services, supportive services for

1s.16 hard-to-employ individuals, and a general

1s.17 education development fast track and adult

15.18 diploma program. This is a onetime

1s.19 appropriation.

ts.zo (s) $1,000,000 eachyearis fromtheworkforce

ts.2t development fund for a grant to the

ts.z2 Minneapolis Foundation for a strategic

15.23 intervention program desimed to target and

15.24 connect program participants to meaningful,

ts.zs sustainable living-wage employment. This is

15.26 a onetime appropriation.

ts.27 (t) $1,000,000 each year from the workforce

rs.28 development fund is for a grarftto the

ts.2g Construction Careers Foundation for the

1s.30 construction career pathway initiative to

15.31 provide year-round educational and

ts.32 experiential learning opportunities for teens

1s.33 andyoung adults underthe age of2l thatlead

15.34 to careers in the construction industry. This is

Article I Sec.2 15
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a onetime appropriation. Grant funds must be

used to:

l1) increase construction industrv exoosure

activities for middle school and hieh school

youth, parents, and counselors to reach amore

diverse demographic and broader statewide

audience. This requirement includes, but is

not limited to, an expansion of programs to

provide experience in different crafts to youth

and vouns adults throushout the state:

(2) increase the number of high schools in

Minnesota offerine consffuction classes durine

the academic year that utilize a multicraft

curriculum;

(3) increase the number of summer internship

opportunities;

( \ enhance activities to c¡rnnr.ìrf orerfirqfino4

seniors in their efforts to obtain employment

in the construction industry;

(5) increase the number of young adults

employed in the construction industrv and

ensure that they reflect Minnesota's diverse

workforce; and

(Ã\ enhance an in rlr r cfnnx¡i r{ c rn q rl¿cfin cr

campaign targeted to youth and young adults

about the depth and breadth of careers within

the construction industry.

Programs and services supported by grant

funds must give priority to individuals and

groups that are economically disadvantaged

or historically underrepresented in the

construction industry. includine but not limited

to women. veterans. and members of minority

and immigrant groups.

REVISOR SS/BM DIVH22O8CRl

16.1

16.2

16.3

t6.4

16.5

16.ó

t6.7

16.8

16.9

16.10

16.11

16.t2

16.13

16.r4

16.1s

16.16

16.17

i6.18

16.19

16.20

16.2t

16.22

t6.23

t6.24

16.25

16.26

16.27

t6.28

16.29

16.30

16.31

16.32

16.33

16.34

Article 1 Sec.2. t6
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t7.t

17.2

17.3

17.4

17.5

17.6

17.7

17.8

17.9

17.10

17.11

t7.t2

17.13

17.14

r7.15

17.T6

17.17

17.18

17.19

17.20

17.21

17.22

17.23

n.24

17.25

17.26

t'7.27

t7.28

17.29

11.30

17.31

17.32

17.33

(u) $1,000,000 each year is from the

workforce development fund for a grant to

Latino Communities United in Service

(CLUES) to expand culturally tailored

Drosrams that address emolovment and

education skill eaps for working parents and

underserved youth by providing new iob skills

training to stimulate higher wages for

low-income people, family supporJ systems

designed to reduce intergenerational poverty.

and youth prograrrìming to promote

educational advancement and career pathways

At least 50 percent of this amount must be

used for programming targeted at greater

Minnesota. This is a onetime appropriation.

(v) 81,297,000 in the first year and $800,000

in the second year are from the workforce

development fund for performance grants

under Minnesota Statutes. section ll6J.8147 
"

to Twin Cities R!SE to provide training to

hard-to-train individuals. This is a onetime

appropriation.

(w) $6,192,000 the first year and $6,688,000

the second year aÍe from the workforce

development fund for:

( I ) a grant to Minnesota Diversified Industries,

Inc., to provide progressive development and

emplo¡rment opportunities for persons with

disabilities;

(2\ the getting to work grant program under

Minnesota Statutes, section 116J.545;

(3) a grant to the Minnesota Hieh Tech

Association to support SciTechsperience;

Article 1 Sec.2. I7
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18.1

18.2

18.3

18.4

18.5

18.6

18.7

18.8

18.9

18.10

18.1 l

18.12

18.13

18.t4

18.1s

18.16

18.17

18.18

18.r9

18.20

18.21

18.22

18.23

18.24

18.25

18.26

t8.27

18.28

18.29

18.3û

18.3 l

18.32

18.33

18.34

(4) the Opportunities Industri alization Center

programs;

(5) rural career counseling coordinator

positions in the workforce service areas and

for the oumoses soecified in Minnesota

Statutes, section 116L.667 :

the to

under Minnesota Statutes, section 116L.25;

(7) agrantto Bridges to Healthcare to provide

career education, wraparound support services,

and iob skills training in hieh-demand health

care fields to low-income parents, nonnative

speakers of Enelish, and other hard-to-train

individuals;

(8) a grant to Avivo to provide low-income

individuals with caÍeef education and iob skills

training that are fully integrated with chemical

and mental health services; and

(9) a srant to Better Futures Minnesota to

provide iob skills trainins to individuals who

have been released from incarceration for a

felony-level offense and are no more than 12

months from the date of release

The commissioner has discretion to allocate

this appropriation among the listed programs

and grantees, including awardingzero funds

to a listed program or grantee. The

commissioner has discretion to stipulate

reasonable terms for individual programs and

grants. Of these amounts, up to four percent

is for administration and monitorine of the

funded programs. This is a onetime

appropriation and funds are available until

June 30 2022

Article 1 Sec.2. 18
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19.1

19.2

19.3

19.4

19.s

19.6

19.7

r 9.8

t 9.9

19.r0

19.11

19.12

19.13

t9.14

19.15

19.t6

19.17

19.18

19.19

19.20

19.2t

19.22

19.23

19.24

19.2s

t9.26

19.27

19.28

19.29

19.30

19.31

19.32

19.33

19.34

19.35

(x) $500,000 each year is from the workforce

development fund for competitive grants to

organizattons providing services to relieve

economic disparities in the Southeast Asian

community through workforce recruitment,

development, job creation, assistance of

smaller orgartjzations to increase capacity, and

outreach. Of this amount, up to five percent

is for administration and monitoring of the

program.

(v) $1,000,000 each year is from the

workforce development fund for a grant to the

Hmong American Parhrership, in collaboration

with community partners, for services

tarsetine Minnesota communities with the

hiehest concentrations of Southeast Asian

ioblessness, based on the most recent census

tract data, to provide employment readiness

training, credentialed training placement, iob

placement and retention services, supportive

services for hard-to-employ individuals, and

a general education development fast track

and adult diploma program. This is a onetime

appropnatron.

(z) $1,000,000 each year is for a competitive

grant program to provide grants to

organizatrons that provide support services for

individuals, such as iob training, employment

preparation, internships, iob assistance to

parents, financial literacy, academic and

behavioral interventions for low-performing

students, and youth intervention. Grants made

under this section must focus on low-income

communities, young adults from families with

a history of intergenerational poverty, and

A¡ticle 1 Sec.2 t9
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20.1

20.2

20.3

20.4

20.5

20.6

20.7

20.8

20.9

24.10

20.11

20.12

20.13

20.t4

20.15

20.t6

20.17

20.18

20.19

20.20

20.21

20.22

20.23

20.24

20.25

20.26

24.27

20.28

20.29

20.30

20.3t

20.32

20.33

communities of color. Of this amount, up to

four percent is for administration and

monitoring of the program.

(aa) $1,000,000 each year is for a grant to

Uiamaa Place for iob training, employment

in vocational trades, housing, and

organizational capacity building. This is a

onetime appropriation.

(bb) $750,000 each year is from the general

fund and $4,848,000 each year is from the

workforce development fund for the

youth-at-work competitive grant program

under Minnesota Statutes. section 116L.562

Of this amount, up to five percent is for

administration and monitorine of the vouth

workforce development competitive grant

program. A1l grant awards shall be for two

consecutive years. Grants shall be awarded in

the first year. This is a onetime

(cc) $5,050,000 each year is from the

workforce development fund for:

(l) the youthbuild program under Minnesota

Statutes, sections ll6L.36I to 1L6L.366:

(2\ the Minnesota youth prosram under

Minnesota Statutes, sections II6L.56 and

ll6L.s6t

(3) a grant to Big Brothers, Big Sisters of the

Greater Twin Cities for workforce readiness.

employment exploration, and skills

development for youth aees 12 to 2l:

(4) a grantto the Minnesota Alliance ofBoys

and Girls Clubs to administer a statewide

Article 1 Sec.2. 20



21.1

21.2

2t.3

2t.4

21.5

21.6

21.1

21.8

21.9

21.10

21.11

2t.12

21.13

21.14

21.15

21.16

21.17

21.18

21.19

21.20

21.21

21.22

21.23

21.24

21.2s

21.26

21.27

21.28

21.29

21.30

21.31

21.32

21.33

21.34

proiect of youth iob skills and career

development;

(5) a srant to the Minneapolis Park and

Recreation Board for its youth workforce

emplor¡ment pro gram Leam to Earn/Teen

Teamworks; and

(6\ a grant to Youthprise for Opportunify

Reboot, a statewide initiative to address the

economic challenges of disconnected youth.

The commissioner has discretion to allocate

these appropriations among the listed

programs and grantees, including awarding

zero ñrnds to a listed program or grantee. The

commissioner has discretion to stipulate

reasonable terms for individual programs and

grants. Of these amounts, up to four percent

is for administration and monitoring of the

funded programs. This is a onetime

appropriation and funds are available until

Jwrc 30,2027.

Subd. 4. General Support Services

Appropriations by Fund

General Fund 4,671,000

04104119 REVISOR

4,671,000
'Workforce

Development 55,000 55,000

(a) $250,000 each year is for the publication,

dissemination, and use of labor market

information under Minnesota Statutes, section

116J.401.

(b) $1,269,000 each year is for transfer to the

Minnesota Housing Finance Agency for

operating the Olmstead Compliance Offrce.

(c) $S00,000 each year is for the

capacity-buildine grant program to assist

SS/BM

4,726,000

DIVH22O8CR1

4,726,000

Article 1 Sec.2. 2T



22.2

22.1 nonprofit organizations offering or seeking to

offer workforce development and economic

22.3 developmentprogramming.

22.4 Subd. 5. Minnesota Trade Offïce

22.s (a) $300,000 each year is for the STEP srants

22.6 in Minnesota Statutes, section II6J.979.

22.7 (b) $180,000 each year is for the Invest

22.8 Minnesota marketing initiative in Minnesota

z2.e Statutes, section 116J.9781.

22.10 (c) $270,000 each year is for the Minnesota

z2.tt Trade Offices under Minnesota Statutes.

22.12 section I16J.978

22.13 (d) $50,000 each year is for the Trade Policy

22.14 Advisory Council under Minnesota Statutes.

2z.ts section L16J.966I.

22.16 Subd. 6. Vocational Rehabilitation

REVISOR

Appropriations by Fund

30,111,000 30,111,000

7,830,000 7,930,000

SS/BM DIVH22O8CR1

2,292,000 2,292,000

37,941,000 37,941,000

04104119

General

Workforce
Development

22.17

22.t8

22.19

22.20

z2.zt (a) $14,800,000 each year is for the state's

22.22 vocational rehabilitationprogram under

22.23 Minnesota Statutes, chapter 268A.

22.24 (b) $8,995,000 eachyearfromthe general fund

22.2s and $6,830,000 each year from the workforce

22.26 development fund is for extended employment

22.27 services for persons with severe disabilities

22.2s under Minnesota Statutes, section 268A.15.

22.29 Of the general fund amount appropriated,

22.30 $2,000,000 each year is for rate increases to

22.3t providers of extended employment services

22.32 for persons with severe disabilities under

22.33 Minnesota Statutes, section 2684.15.

A¡ticle 1 Sec.2. 22
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6,425,000

10,549,000

DIVH22O8CRl

21,975,000

23.1

23.2

zs-)

23.4

23.s

23.6

23.7

23.8

23.9

23.10

23.t|

23.12

23.13

23.14

23.15

23.t6

23.17

23.1 8

23.r9

23.20

23.21

23.22

23.23

23.24

23.25

23.26

23.27

23.28

23.29

23.30

23.31

23.32

¿5.J)

23.34

(c) $2,555,000 each year is for grants to

programs that provide employment support

services to persons with mental illness under

Minnesota Statutes, sections 268A.13 and

2684.14.

(d) S3.761.000 each year is for srants to

centers for independent living under

Minnesota Statutes section 268A.11. Ofthese

amounts, at least $100,000 each year must be

used for providing services to veterans

(e) $ 1,000,000 each year is from the workforce

development fund for grants under Minnesota

Statutes, section 268A.16, for employment

services for persons, including transition-age

youth, who are deaf. deafblind. or

hard-of-hearing. If the amount in the first year

is insufficient, the amount in the second year

is available in the first year,

Subd. 7. Services for the Blind

Of this amount, $500,000 each year is for

senior citizens who are becomins blind. At

least one-half of the funds for this purpose

mlrst be used to provide training services for

seniors who are becoming blind. Training

services must provide independent living skills

to seniors who are becoming blind to allow

them to continue to live independently in their

homes

Subd. 8. Paid Family and Medical Leave

(a) $10,549,000 the firstyear and527,442,000

the second year ate for the pumoses of

Minnesota Statutes, chapter 2688

Unexpended funds appropriated in the hrst

year are available in the second vear. In fiscal

6,425,000

Article I Sec.2 23
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24.1 vear 2022. the base amount is $14.596.000;

24-2 in fiscal 2023 the base amount is

24.3 $13,681,000; in fiscal year 2024 the base

24.4 amount is $ 1 1,520,000; and in fiscal year 2025

24.s and beyond, the base amount is $0

24.6 (b) $533,000 the second year is for the purpose

24.7 of outreach, education, and technical

24.8 assistance for emplovees and employers

24.9 regarding Minnesota Statutes, chapter 2688

24.10 Of the amount appropriated, at least one-half

z4.rr must be used for grants to community-based

24.12 groups providing outreach, education, and

24.13 technical assistance for employees, employers,

24.14 and self-employed individuals resarding

24.ts Minnesota Statutes. chapter 2688. This

24.16 outreach must include efforts to notifu

24.ri selÊemployed individuals of their ability to

24.t8 elect coverage under Minnesota Statutes,

24.1s section 2688.11, and provide them with

24.2t technical assistance in doing so. This is a

24.2t onetimeappropriation.

REVISOR

Subd. 9. Dairy Assistance,Investment, Relief
InitiatÍve (DAIRÐ

S 10,000,000 the first year is for transfer to the

commissioner of agriculture to award need

based grants to Minnesota dairy producers

who milkherds ofno more than750 cows for

buy-in to the federal Dairy Margin Coverage

Program. The commissioner of agriculture

must develop eligibility criteria in consultation

with the chairs and rankine minority members

of the legislative committees with jurisdiction

over agriculture finance

Sec. 3. DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND
INDUSTRY

SS/BM

10,000,000

DIVH22O8CRl

24.22

24.23 -0-

24.24

24.25

24.26

24.27

24.28

24.29

24.30

24,31

24.32

24.33

24.34

24.3s

Article 1 Sec. 3 24



25.1

25.2

25.3

25.4

25.5

25.6

25.7

2s.8

25.9

25.10

25.t\

25.12

25.13

25.t4

25.t5

2s.t6

25.r7

25,18

25.19

2s.20

25.21

25.22

25.23

25.24

25.25

2s.26

25.21

2s.28

25.29

25.30

25.31

25.32

2s.33

25.34

25.35

04104119

Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation

Appropriations by Fund

2020

General

REVISOR

202r

9,056,000 10,410,000

25.098.000 22.088,000

2.534.000 2.534.000

SS/BM DIVH22O8CRl

$ 36,680,000 $ 35,032,000

8.039.000 8,339,000

Workers
Compensation

Workforce
Development

The amounts that may be spent for each

fied in the fo llnrx¡inoflt f1'ft¡.ie ê c1têlr1are

subdivisions.

Subd. 2. General Support

Appropriations by Fund

General 1.250,000 1,550,000

Workers'
Compensation
'Workforce

6,039,000 6,039,000

Develooment Fund 750,000 750,000

(a) Except as provided in paragraphs (b) and

(c), this appropriation is from the workers'

compensation fund.

(b) $1,250,000 the first year and $1,550,000

the second yeat are from the general fund for

system upgrades. This is a onetime

appropriation and funds are avulable until

June 30, 2023. This appropriation includes

funds for information technolosy proiect

services and support subiect to Minnesota

Statutes, section 16F,.0466. Any ongoing

information technology costs must be

incorporated into the service level agreement

and must be paid to the Office of MN.IT

Services by the commissioner of labor and

industry under the rates and mechanism

specified in that agreement.

Article 1 Sec.3 25
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(c) $750,000 each year is from the workforce

development fund to administer the youth

skills training program and make grant awards

under Minnesota Statutes, section 175.46.

Subd. 3. Labor Standards and Apprenticeship

Appropriations by Fund

General 7,806,000 8,860,000

Workforce
Development 1,784,000 1,784,000

(a) $2,046,000 each year is for wage theft

preventron.

ft) $3.866.000 the first year and $4,072,000

the second year are for enforcement and other

duties regarding earned sick and safe time

under Minnesota Statutes, section 18I.9445

and chapter I77.In fiscal year 2022, the base

amount is $2,874,000 and in fiscal vear 2023

and beyond, the base amount is 52,873,000.

(c) $214,000 the first year and8377,000 the

second yeat are for the purpose of outreach,

education, and technical assistance for

employees, employers, and self-employed

individuals regarding Minnesota Statutes,

chapter 2688. This outreagh must include 
,

efforts to notifu self-employed individuals of

their ability to elect coverage under Minnesota

Statutes, section 2688.11, and provide them

with technical assistance in doing so

Unexpended amounts appropriated the first

year are available in the second vear. This is

a onetime appropriation.

(d) $382,000 the first year and $ 1,101,000 the

second year are for enforcement duties and

related administration under Minnesota

SS/BM DIVH22O8CR1

9,590,000 11,394,000

26.8

26.9

26.1

26.2

26.3

26.4

26.s

26.6

26.7

26.r0

26.n

26.r2

26.r3

26.t4

26.15

26.16

26.t7

26.18

26.19

26.20

26.21

26.22

26.23

26.24

26.25

26.26

26.27

26.28

26.29

26.30

26.31

26.32

26.33

26.34
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27.1 Statutes, chapter 2688. This is a onetime

27.2 appropriation.

27.3 (e) $151,000 each year is from the workforce

2i.4 develooment fund for prevailins wage

27.5 enforcement.

27 .6 (fl $ 1 , 1 3 3,000 each year is from the workforce

21.7 development fund for the apprenticeship

zi.B Drogram under Minnesota Statutes, chapter

27.e I78

27.r0 (e) $100,000 each year is from the workforce

27.rr development fund for labor education and

27.r2 advancementprogram grants underMinnesota

27.13 Statutes, section 178.11, to expand and

27.t4

27.15

promote registered apprenticeship training for

minorities and women.

27.t6 (h) $400,000 each year is from the workforce

27.17 development fund for grants to the

27.r2 Construction Careers Foundation for the

27.ls Helmets to Hardhats Minnesota initiative.

27.20 Grant funds must be used to recruit, retain,

27.2t assist, and support National Guard, reserve,

27.22 and active duty military members' and

27.23 veterans' participation into apprenticeship

27.24 programs registered with the Department of

27.zs Labor and Industry and connect them with

27.26 career training and employment in the building

27.27 and construction industry. The recruitment,

21.28 selection, employment, and training must be

27.2s without discrimination due to race co

27.30 creed, religion, national origin, sex, sexual

27.31 orientation, marital stafus, physical or mental

27.32 disability, receipt of public assistance, or age.

27.33 (i) In fiscal years 2020 and202l the

27.34 commissioner of labor and industry shall

Article 1 Sec.3 27
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28.1 utllize funds in the contractor recovery fund

28.2 for a statewide consumer awareness campaign

2s.3 hishlishtine the importançe of hirine licensed

28.4 contractors as well as the consequences of

28.s hirineunlicensedcontractors

28.6 Subd.4.Workers'Compensation

28.7 $3,000,000 the first year is from the workers'

28.8 compensationfundforworkers'compensation

28.9 system upgrades. This amount is available

28.10 until June 30,2023. This is a onetime

28.11 appropriation.

zl.tz This appropriation includes funds for

28.13 information technologv proiect services and

2s.14 support subiect to the provisions ofMinnesota

28.1s Statutes, section 16F-0466. Any ongoing

28.16 information technology costs must be

zl.tl incorporated into the service level agreement

2B.tB and must be paid to the Office of MN.IT

28.19 Services by the commissioner of labor and

28.20 industry under the rates and mechanism

2s.zt soecified in that asreement.

28.22 Subd. 5. Workplace Safety

zs.z3 This appropriation is from the workers'

28.24 cornpensationfund.

REVISOR

Sec. 4. WORKERS' COMPENSÄTION COURT
OF APPEALS

SS/BM DIVH22O8CR1

14,882,000 11.882.000

4,167,000 4,167,000

2,283,000
28.25

28.26 $

28.27 This appropriation is from the workers'

29.28 compensationfund.

28.2s Sec. 5. BUREAU OF MEDIATION SERVICES

2,222,000 $

$ 3,076,000 $ 3,076,000

2s.30 (a) $560,000 each year is for purposes of the

28.31 Public Employment Relations Board under

2s.32 Minnesota Statutes, section 179A.04I.
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29.t8

29.19

29.20

29.21

29.22
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29.26
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29.28

29.29

29.30
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29.34
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ft) $68.000 each vear is from the general fund

for grants to area labor management

committees. Grants mav be awarded for a

l2-month period beeirmine Julv 1 each year.

Any unencumbered balance remaining at the

end of the first year does not cancel but is

available for the second year.

(c) $394,000 each year is for the Office of

Collaboration and Dispute Resolution under

Minnesota Statutes, section 179.90. Of this

amount. $ 1 60,000 each year is for grants under

Minnesota Statutes, section ll9.9l.

Sec. 6. DEPARTMEI{T OF COMMERCE

Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation

Appropriations by Fund

General 23.055.000 22,526,000

Special Revenue 2,060,000 2,060,000

'Workers

Compensation 758,000 759,000

The amounts that may be spent for each

purpose are specified in the following

subdivisions.

Subd. 2. Financial Institutions

(a) $400,000 each year is for a grant to Prepare

and Prosper to develop, market, evaluate, and

distribute a financial services inclusion

Drosram that 11) assists low-income and

f,rnanciallv underserved populations to build

savinss and strengthen credit, and(2) provides

services to assist low-income and financially

underserved populations to become more

financially stable and secure. Money

remaining after the first year is available for

the second year.

SS/BM DIVH22O8CRl

$ 25,423,000 $ 24,895,000

1,131,000 1.136,000

Article 1 Sec. 6. 29
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30.15
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30.r1

30.18

30.19

30.20

30.21

30.22

30.23

30.24

30.25

30.26

30.27

30.28

30.29

30.30
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30.32
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(b) $ 100,000 each year is for a grant to Exodus

Lending to assist individuals in reaching

financial stability and resolving payday loans.

This is a onetime appropriation and funds are

available until June 30 2022.

(c) $200,000 each year is to administer the

requirements of Minnesota Statutes, chapter

588. This is a onetime appropriation.

Subd. 3. Administrative Services

(a) $384,000 each year is for additional

compliance efforts with unclaimed property.

The commissioner may issue contracts for

these services

(b) $100,000 each year is for the support of

broadband development.

(c) $33,000 each year is for rulemaking and

administration under Minnesota Statutes

section 804.461.

(d) 5960,000 the first year is to pay the award

in the Safelite Group. Inc., litigation.

Subd. 4. Telecommunications

Aooropriations by Fund

General 1,037,000 1,047,000

Special Revenue 2,060,000 2,060,000

$2,060,000 each year is from the

telecommunication access Minnesota fund

account in the special revenue fund for the

following transfers. This appropriation rs

added to the department's base:

(1) $1,620,000 each year is to the

commissioner of human services to

supplement the ongoing operational expenses

SS/BM

g,645,ooo

3,097,000

DIVH22O8CRl

8,955,000

3,107,000
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6,417,000

DIVH22O8CR1

6,507,000

31.1

31.2

3 1.3

31.4

31.5

31.ó

3T.7

31.8

31.9

3 1.10

31.11

31.t2

31.13

31.14

31.15

31.16

31.17

3 1.18

31.r9

31.20

31.21

3t.22

3t.23

3t.24

3t.25

3t.26

31.27

31.28

31.29

31.30

31.31

31.32

J 1.JJ

31.34

ofthe Commission ofthe Deat DeafBlind and

Hard of Hearins:

(2) $290,000 each year is to the chief

information officer for the purpose of

coordinating technology accessibility and

usability;

(3) S100.000 each vear is to the Leeislative

Coordinating Commission for captioning of

legislative coverage. This transfer is subiect

to Minnesota Statutes, section 164.281; and

(4) $50"000 each vear is to the Office of

MN.IT Services for a consolidated access fund

to provide grants to other state agencies related

to accessibilitv of their web-based services.

Subd. 5. Enforcement

Appropriations by Fund

General 6,217,000 6,307,000

Workers'
Compensation 200,000 200,000

(a\ 5279,000 each year is for health care

enforcement.

(b) $250,000 each year is for a statewide

education and outreach campaign to protect

seniors, meaning those 60 years of age or

older, vulnerable adults, as defined in

Minnesota Statutes, section 626.5572,

subdivision2l, and their caregivers from

financial fraud and exploitation. The education

and outreach carnpaimmust include but is not

limited to the dissemination of information

through television, print, or other media,

training and outreach to senior livine facilities,

and the creation of a senior fraud toolkit. This

is a onetime appropriation.

Article 1 Sec. 6. 31



32.1

32.2

JZ.J

32.T1

32.t2

Workers
Compensation 558,000 559,000

32.6 (a) $642,000 each year is for health insurance

32.7 rate review staffing.

32.8 (b) $412,000 each year is for actuarial work

32.s to prepare for implementation of

32.10 principle-basedreserves.

04104119 REVISOR

Appropriations bv Fund

General 5,025,000 5,081,000

Sec. 7. MINNESOTA MANAGEMENT ANI)
BT]DGET

(a) $29,000 the first year and $13,000 the

second yeat are for implementation and costs

associated with paid family and medical leave

under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 2688.

(b) $22,000 the first year and $93,000 the

second year are for costs associated with

earned sick and safe time under Minnesota

Statutes, section 18I.9445

Sec. 8. REVENUE DEPARTMENT

$91,000 the second year is for implementation

and costs associated with paid family and

medical leave under Minnesota Statutes,

chapter 268B.In fiscal year 2022, the base

amount is $149,000 and in fiscal year 2023

and beyond, the base amount is $117,000.

Sec. 9. SUPREME COURT

S 15,000 the second year is for responsibilities

related to Minnesota Statutes. chapter 2688.

This is a onetime appropriation.

Sec. 10. ATTORI\EY GENERAL

SS/BM DIVH22O8CRl

5,583,000 5,640,000

L06,000

91,000

15,000

Subd. 6. Insurance

32.4

32.5

$51,000$

32.t3

32.14

32.r5

32.16

32.17

32.18

32.19

32.20

32.21

32.22

)2.2J

32.24

32.2s

32.26

32.27

32.28

32.29

32.30

32.31

)Z.J¿

s-0-$

q-0-$

s
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33.s
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33.1 $654,000 each year is for wage theft

33.2 prevention.

ARTICLE 2

F'AMILY AND MEDICAL BENEFITS

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 13.719, is amended by adding a subdivision

to read:

Subd. 7. Family and medical insurance data. (a) For the purposes of this subdivision,

the terms used have the meanings given them in section 2688.01.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section I77.27, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. Compliance orders. The commissioner may issue an order requiring an

employer to comply with sections I1 7 .21 to 17 7 .435, 181.02, 1 8 1 .03, 1 8 1 .03 I, 181 .032,

181.101, 181.11, 181.13, 181.14, 181.145, 181.15, 181 .IT2,paragraph (a) or (d),181.275,

subdivision2a,I8I.722,l8l.79,an4181.939 to 181 .943,2688.09, subdivisions 1 to 6, and

2688.12, subdivision 2, or with any rule promulgated under section 177.28.The

commissioner shall issue an order requiring an employer to comply with sections 177.41

to 177.435 if the violation is repeated. For purposes of this subdivision only, a violation is

repeated if at any time during the two years that preceded the date of violation, the

commissioner issued an order to the employer for violation of sections 177.4I to'177.435

and the order is final or the commissioner and the employer have entered into a settlement

agreement that required the employer to pay back wages that were required by sections

177 .4I to 177 .435. The department shall serve the order upon the employer or the employer's

authorized representative in person or by certified mail at the employer's place of business.

An employer who wishes to contest the order must file written notice of objection to the

order with the commissioner within 15 calendar days after being served with the order. A

contested case proceeding must then be held in accordance with sections 14.57 to 14.69.

JJ.J

JJ.+

33.6

33.7

33.8

33.t7

33.18

33.19

33.20

33.21

33.22

3 J.r3

33.24

33.25

33.26

33.27

33.28

33.29

33.30

JJ.J I

)J.)Z

-t-t --t-t

33.9 (b) Data on applicants, family members, or employers under chapter 2688 are private

33.10 or nonpublic data, provided that the department may share data collected from applicants

33.11 with employers or health care providers to the extent necessary to meet the requirements

33.12 of chapter 2688 or other applicable law.

33.13 (c) The department and the Department of Labor and Industry may share data classified

33.14 under paragraph (b) to the extent necessary to meet the requirements of chapter 2688 or

33.1s the Deoartment of Labor and Industrv's enforcement authoritv over chaoter 2688. as orovided

33.t6 in section 177.27

Article 2 Sec.2. JJ
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34.1 If, within 15 calendar days after being served with the orde¡ the employer fails to file a

written notice of objection with the commissioner, the order becomes aftnal order of the

34.3 Commlssloner.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section I81.032, is amended to read:

181.032 REQUIRED STATEMENT OF EARNINGS BY EMPLOYER.

(a) At the end of each pay period, the employer shall provide each employee an earnings

statement, either in writing or by electronic means, covering thatpay period. An employer

who chooses to provide an earnings statement by electronic means must provide employee

access to an employer-owned computer during an employee's regular working hours to

34.4

34.5

34.6

34.7

34.8

34.9

34.10

34.11

34.12

34.13

34.14

34.r5

34.16

34,17

34.18

34.t9

34.20

34.21

34.22

34.23

34.24

34.25

34.26

34.27

34.28

34.29

34.30

34.31

review and print earnings statements, and must make statements available for review or

orintins for a period of at least 12 months

(b) The earnings statement may be in any form determined by the employer but must

include:

(1) the name of the employee;

(2) the hourly rate of pay (if applicable);

(3) the total nurnber of hours worked by the employee unless exempt from chapter I77;

(a) the total amount of gross pay earned by the employee during that period;

(5) a list of deductions made from the employee's pay;

(6) anv amount deducted bv the employer under section 2688.12, subdivision2, and

the amount paid bv the emolover based on the emplovee's wages under section 2688.I2,

subdivision 1;

(6X?) the net amount of pay after all deductions are made;

(fllÐ the date on which the pay period ends; and

(SXÐ the legal name ofthe employer and the operating name ofthe employer if different

from the legal name.

(c) An employer must provide earnings statements to an employee in writing,rather

than by eleckonic means, if the employer has received at least 24 hours notice from an

employee that the employee would like to receive earnings statements in written form. Once

an employer has received notice from an employee that the employee would like to receive

earnings statements in written form, the employer must comply with that request on an

ongoing basis.

Article 2 Sec. 3. 34
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Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 268.79, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Use of data. (a) Except as provided by this section, data gathered from

any person under the administration of the Minnesota Unemployment Insurance Law are

private data on individuals or nonpublic data not on individuals as defined in section 13.02,

subdivisions 9 and l2,.andmay not be disclosed except according to a district court order

or section 13.05. A subpoena is not considered a district court order. These datamaybe

disseminated to and used by the following agencies without the consent of the subject of

the data:

(1) state and federal agencies specifically authorized access to the databy state or federal

law;

(2) arty agency of any other state or any federal agency charged with the administration

of an unemployment insurance program;

(3) any agency responsible for the maintenance of a system of public employment offices

for the pu{pose of assisting individuals in obøining employment;

(4) the public authority responsible for child support in Minnesota or any other state in

accordance with section 256.978;

(5) human rights agencies within Minnesota that have enforcement powers;

(6) the Department of Revenue to the extent necessary for its duties under Minnesota

laws;

(7) public and private agencies responsible for administering publicly financed assistance

programs for the purpose of monitoring the eligibility of the program's recipients;

(8) the Department of Labor and Industry and the Commerce Fraud Bureau in the

Department of Commerce for uses consistent with the administration of their duties under

Minnesota law;

REVISOR SS/BM DIVH22O8CRl

35.1

35.2

35.3

35.4

35.5

3s.6

35.7

3s.8

35.9

35.i0

35.1I

35.t2

3s.13

3s.14

35.1 5

35.16

35.r7

3s.18

3s.19

35.20

35.21

3s.22

35.23

35.24

3s.2s (9) the Department of Human Services and the Office of Inspector General and its agents

3s.26 within the Department of Human Services, including county fraud investigators, for

3s.27 investigations related to recipient or provider fraud and employees of providers when the

3s.28 provider is suspected of committing public assistance fraud;

3s.zs (10) local and state welfare agencies for monitoring the eligibility of the data subject

3s.30 for assistance programs, or for any employment or training program administered by those

3s.31 agencies, whether alone, in combination with another welfare agency, or in conjunction

3s.32 with the department or to monitor and evaluate the statewide Minnesota family investment

Article 2 Sec. 4. 35
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program by providing data on recipients and former recipients of food stamps or food

support, cash assistance under chapter 256,256D,256J, or 256K, child care assistance under

chapter 1198, or medical programs under chapter 2568 or 256L or formerly codif,red under

chapter 256D;

(11) local and state welfare agencies for the pu{pose of identiffing emplo¡iment, wages,

and other information to assist in the collection of an overpayment debt in an assistance

program;

(12) local, state, and federal law enforcement agencies for the purpose of ascertaining

the last known address and employment location of an individual who is the subject of a

criminal investi gation;

(13) the United States Immigration and Customs Enforcement has access to data on

specific individuals and specific employers provided the specific individual or specif,rc

employer is the subject of an investigation by that agency;

(14) the Department of Health for the purposes of epidemiologic investigations;

(15) the Department of Corrections for the purposes of case planning and internal research

for preprobation, probation, and postprobation employment tracking of offenders sentenced

to probation and preconfinement and postconfinement employment tracking of committed

offenders;

(16) the state auditorto the extentnecessaryto conduct audits ofjob opportunitybuilding

zones as required under section 469.3201; and

(17) the Office of Higher Education for purposes of supporting program improvement,

system evaluation, and research initiatives including the Statewide Longitudinal Education

Data System-.;g44

(18) the Family and Medical Benefits Division of the Department of Employment and

Economic Develooment to be used as necessary to administer chapter 2688.

(b) Data on individuals and employers that are collected, maintained, or used by the

department in an investigationunder section 268.182 are confidential as to data on individuals

and protected nonpublic data not on individuals as defined in sectiont3.02, subdivisions 3

and 13, and must not be disclosed except under statute or district court order or to a party

named in a criminal proceeding, administrative or judicial, for preparation of a defense.

(c) Data gathered by the department in the administration of the Minnesot¿ unemployment

insurance program must not be made the subject or the basis for any suit in any civil

proceedings, administrative or judicial, unless the action is initiated by the department.
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Sec. 5. t2688.011 DEFII\ITIOI\S.

Subdivision 1. Scope. For the purposes of this chapter, the terms defined in this section

have the meanings given them.

Subd. 2. Account. "Account" means the family and medical benefit insurance account

in the special revenue fund in the state treasury under section 2688.02.

Subd. 3. Applicant. "Applicant" means an individual applying for leave with benefits

under this chapter.

Subd. 4. Applicant's average weekly wage. "Applicant's average weekly wage" means

an amount equal to the applicant's high quarter wage credits divided bv 13.

Subd. 5. Benefit. "Benefrt" or "benef,rts" mean monetary pa¡rments under this chapter

associated with qualifuine bonding, family care, pregnancr serious health condition,

qualifirine exigenc% or safety leave events, unless otherwise indicated by context.

Subd. 6. Benefit year. "Benefit year" means a period of 52 consecutive calendar weeks

beginning on the first day of a leave approved for benefits under this chapter.

Subd.7. Bonding. "Bonding" means time spent by an applicant who is a biological,

adoptive, or foster parent with a biological, adopted, or foster child in coniunction with the

child's birth, adoption, or placement.

Subd. 8. Calendar dav "Calendar dav" or "dav" means a fixed 24-hour period

colrespondine to a single calendar date.

Subd. 9. Calendar week. "Calendar v/eek" means a period ofseven consecutive calendar

Subd. 10. Commissioner. "Commissioner" means the commissioner of employment

and economic development, unless otherwise indicated by context.

Subd. 11. Continuine treatment. A serious health condition involving continuing

treatment by a health care provider includes any one or more of the following

(1) a period of incapacity of more than three consecutive, full calendar days, and any

subsequent treatment or period of incapacity relating to the same condition, that also involves

treatment two or more times within 30 calendar of the first of

unless extenuating circumstances exist, by a health care provider; or

(ii) treatment by a health care provider on at least one occasion that results in a regimen

of continuing treatment under the supervision of the health care provider;

days.
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Q\ anv oeriod of incapacitv or treatment for such incapacitv due to a chronic serious

health condition. A chronic serious health condition is one that:

(i) requires periodic visits, defined as at least twice per year, for treatment for the

incapacity by a health care provider;

fii) continues over an extended period of time, includine recurring episodes of a single

underlying condition; and

(iii) mav cause episodic rather than a continuing period of incapacity;

(3) a period of incapacrty that is lons-term due to a condition for which treatment may

not be effective, with the employee or family member under the supervision of, but not

necessarily receiving active treatment by a health care provider; and

38.1

38.2

38.3

38.4

38.5

38.6

38.7

38.8

38.9

38.10

38.11

38.12

38.1 3

38.14

38.1s

38.16

38.17

38.18

38.19

38.20

38.21

38.22

38.23

38.24

38.25

38.26

38.27

38.28

38.29

38.30

38.31

afr of absence to receive treatments a health care

including any period of recovery therefrom, for:

(i) restorative surgery after an accident or other iniury; or

(ii) a condition that would likely result in a period of incapacity of more than seven

consecutive. calendar days in the absence of medical intervention or treatment, such as

cancer, severe arthritis, or kidney disease

Subd. 12. Covered employment. "Covered employment" has the meaning given in

section 268.035 subdivision 12.

Subd. 13. Day. "Day" means an eight-hour period.

Subd. 14. Department. "Department" means the Department of Employment and

Economic Develooment. unless otherwise indicated by context.

Subd. 15. Employee. "Employee" means an individual for whom premiums are paid on

wages under this chapter.

Subd. 16. Employer. "Employer" means a person or entity, other than an employee,

reouired to oav oremiums under this chaoter. exceot that a self-emploved individual who

has elected and been approved for coverage under section 2688.1I is not considered an

emplover with resard to the self-employed individual's own coverage and benefits.

Subd. 17. Estimated self-emplovment income. "Estimated self-employment income"

means a self-employed individual's average net earnings from self-employment in the two

most recent taxable years. For a selÊemployed individual who had net earnings from

self-emolor¡ment in onlv one of the vears. the individual's estimated self-employment income
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equals the individual's net earnings from self-employment in the year in which the individual

had net earninss from self-employment.

Subd. 18. Familv benefît program. "Family benefit program" means the progtam

administered under this chapter for the collection of premiums and payment of benefits

related to family care, bonding, safety leave, and leave related to a qualifuing exigency

Subd. 19. Familv care. "Family care" means an applicant caring for a family member

with a serious health condition or caring for a family member who is a covered service

member.

Subd. 20. Family member. (a) "Family member" means an employee's child, adult

child. spouse. siblins. oarent. oarent-in-1aw. srandchild. grandparent, stepparent, member

of the employee's household, or an individual describedtnparagraph (e).

(b) For the purposes of this chapter, a child includes a stepchild, biological, adopted, or

foster child of the employee.

39.1

39.2

39.3

39.4

39.5

39.6

39.7

39.8

39.9

39.r0

39.11

39.12

39.13

39.14

39.15

39.16

39.r7

39.18

39.19

39.20

39.21

39.22

39.23

39.24

39.25

39.26

39.27

39.28

39.29

39.30

39.31

39.32

39.33

c For the of this a includes a bio

adopted, or foster grandchild of the employee.

ld) For the oumoses of this chapter, an individual is a member of the employee's

household if the individual has resided at the same address as the employee for at least one

vear of the frst day of a leave under this chapterAS

(e) For the of this chapter, an individual with a serious health condition is

deemed a family member of the employee if (1) a health care provider certifies in writing

that the individual requires care relating to the serious health condition, and(2) the employeç

and the care recipient certifu in writine that the employee will be providing the required

care.

Subd. 2l.H¡ealth care provider. "Health care provider" means an individual who is

licensed. certified. or otherwise authorized under law to practice in the individual's scope

of practice as a osteopath, physician assistant, chiropractor, advanced practice

registered nurse. licensed psychologist, licensed independent clinical social worker, or

dentist. "Chiropractor' 'means only a chiropractor who provides manual manipulation of

the soine to correct a subluxation demonstrated to exist by an x-raY.

Subd. 22.H;igh quarter. "Hish quarter" has the meaning given in section 268.035,

subdivision 19.

Subd. 23. Independent contractor. (a) If there is an existing specific test or definition

for independent contractor in Minnesota statute or rule applicable to an occupation or sector
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40.r as of the date of enactment of this chapter that test or definition will apply to that occupation

40.2 or sector forpurposes of this chapter. If there is not an existing test or definition as described,

40.3 the def,rnition for independent contractor shall be as provided in this subdivision.

40.4 fb) An individual is an indeoendent contractor and not an emplovee of the person for

40.s whom the individual is performing services in the course of the person's trade, business,

or if:40.6

40.7

40.8

(11the individual maintains a separate business with the individual's own office,

equipment, materials, and other facilities;

40.9 (2)the individual:

40.10 (i) holds or has applied for a federal employer identification number; or

40.11 (ii) has filed business or self-employment income tax returns with the federal Internal

40.t2 Revenue Service if the individual has performed services in the previous year;

40.13 (3) the individual is operatinq under contract to perform the specific services for the

40.14 person for specific amounts of money and under which the individual ccintrols the means

4o.ts of performing the services;

40.16 14) the individual is incurrins the main exoenses related to the services that the individual

40.17 is oerformins for the person under the contract:

40.18 15) the individual is responsible for the satisfactory completion of the services that the

40.19 individual has contracted to perform for the person and is liable for a failure to complete

40.20 the services

40.21 (O the individual receives compensation from the person for the services performed

40.22 under the contract on a commission or per-iob or competitive bid basis and not on any other

40.23 basis;

40.24 (7\ the individual mav realize a orofit or suffer a loss under the contract to perform

40.25 services for the person;

40.26 (8) the individual has continuinq or recurrins business liabilities or oblieations; and

40.21 19) the success or failure of the individual's business depends on the relationship of

40.28 business receipts to expenditures

40.29 (c) For the purposes of this chaptet an insurance producer, as defined in section 60K.3 1,

40.30 subdivision 6, is an independent contractor of an insurance company, as defined in section

40.31 60A.02, subdivision 4, unless the insurance producer and insurance company agree otherwise.
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Subd. 24. Inpatient care. "Inoatient care" means an overnisht stav in a hospital, hospice,

or residential medical care facility, including any period of incapacity defined under

subdivision 33, (b), or any subsequent treatment in connection with such inpatignt

care.

Subd. 25. Maximum weekly benefit amount. "Maximum weekly benef,rt amount"

means the state's averase weeklv wage as calculated under section 268 .035 , subdivision 23

Subd. 26. Medical benefït program. "Medical benefit program" means the program

administered under this chapter for the collection of premiums and payment of benefits

related to an applicant's serious health condition or pregnancy.

Subd. 27. Net earnings from self-employment. "Net earnings from self-employment"

has the meaning given in section 1402 of the Internal Revenue Code, as defined in section

zg}.}I,subdivision 3 1.

Subd. 28. Noncovered emnlovment. "Noncovered employment" has the meaning given

in section 268.035 subdivision20.

Subd.29. Pregnancy. I'p¡sgnâncy" means prenatal care or incapacity due to pregnancy,

or from childbirth- birth- miscarriase. or related health conditions.still

Subd. 30. Quatiffing exigency. (a) "Qualiû¡ing exigency" means a need arising out of

amilitary member's active duty service or notice of an impending call or order to active

duty in the United States armed forces, including providing for the care or other needs of

the family rnember's child or other dependent, making financial or legal anangements foË

the events or

time with the member durins a rest and recuperation leave or following return from

deolor¡men t- or makins affansements followine the death of the military member.

(b) For the of this chaoter. a "military member" means a current or former

member of the United States armed forces. includine a member of the National Guard or

reserves. who. for a deceased militarv membet is a resident of the state and is a

family member of the employee takine leave related to the qualiffing exigency.

abuse,

the leave is to:

(1) seek medical attention related to the physical or psychological injury or disabilify

caused bv domestic abuse. sexual assault, or stalking;

obtain services from a victim services

Subd. 31. Safetv leave. "Safety leave" means leave from work because of domestic

sexual assault, or stalking of the employee or employee's family member, p!qy1dq4
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obtain or other

(4) seek relocation due to the domestic abuse. sexual assault. or stalking; or

(5) seek leeal advice or take lesal action. includins preparing for or participating in any

civil or criminal legal proceeding related to, or resulting from, the domestic abuse, sexual

assault, or stalking.

Subd. 32. Self-emploved individual. "Self-employed individual" means a resident of

the state who. in one of the two taxable years preceding the current calendar yeat derived

at least $10,000 in net earnings from self-employment from an entity other than an S

corporation for the performance of services in this state.

Subd. 33. Self-employment premium base. "Self-employment premium base" means

the lesser of:

(1) a self-employed individual's estimated self-employment income for the calendar year

plus the individual's selÊemployment wages in the calendar year; or

(2\ the maximum earnings subiect to the FICA Old-Ase, Survivors, and Disability

Insurance tax in the taxable

Subd. 34. Self-employment wages. "Self-employment wages" means the amount of

wages thata self-employed individual earned in the calendar year from an entity from which

the individual also received net earnings from selÊemployment.

Subd. 35. Serious health condition. a "Serious health condition" means an illness

iniurv, impairment. or physical or mental condition that involves inpatient care as defined

in subdivision24 or continuing treatrnent by a health care provider as defined in subdivision

11.

(b) "Incapacity" means inabilitv to work, attend school, or perform other rezular daily

activities due to the serious health condition, treatment therefore, or recovery therefrom.

(c) Treatment includes but is not limited to examinations to determine if a serious health

condition exists and evaluations ofthe condition. Treatment does not include routine physical

examinations, eye examinations, or dental examinations. A regimen of continuing treatment

includes, for example, a course of prescription medication or therapy requiring special

equioment to resolve or alleviate the health condition.

Subd. 36. Statets average weeklv wâge. "State's average weekly wage" means the

weekly wage calculated under section 268.035, subdivision23.
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43.1 Subd. 3T.Taxable vear. "Taxable year" has the meaning given in section 290.0I,

43.2 subdivision 9.

43.3 Subd. 38. Wage credits. "'Wage credits" has the meaning given in section 268.035,

43.4 subdivision2T.

43.s Sec. 6. t2688.02ì FAMILY AND MEDICAL BENEFIT INSURANCE PROGRAM

43.6 CREATION.

43.7 Subdivision 1. Creation. A familv and medical benefit insurance program is created to

43.8 be administered bv the commissioner accordins to the terms of this chapter

Subd. 2. Creation of division. A Family and Medical Benefit Insurance Division is

43.10 created within the department under the authority of the commissioner. The commissioner

43.t1 shall aoooint a director ofthe division. The division shall administer and operate the benefit

43.12 program under this chapter.

43.r3 Subd. 3. Rulemaki_4& The commissioner may adopt rules to implement the provisions

43.t4 of this chapter

43.rs Subd. 4. Account creation; appropriation. The family and medical benefit insurance

43.16 account is created in the special revenue fund in the state treasury. Money in this account

43.1i is appropriated to the commissioner to pay benefits under and to administer this chapter,

43.18 including outreach required under section 2688.15.

43.1s Subd. 5. lnformation technology services and equipment. The department is exempt

43.20 from the of section 16E.016 for the of this

43.21 Sec. 7. t2688.03ì ELIGIBILITY.

43.22 Subdivision 1. Applicant. An applicant who has a serious health condition, has a

43.23 1S lea 1S 1S or$

43.24 or recoverine from Dresnancy. and who satisfies the conditions of this section is elieible to

43.2s receive benefits subiect to the provisions of this chapter,

43.26 Subd. 2. Wage credits. An applicantmusthave sufficientwage credits from an employer

43.2i or emolovers as defined in section 2688.01. subdivision 16. to establish a benefit account

43.28 under section 268.07 subdivision 2

43.2s Subd. 3. Seven-day qualifying event. The od for which an ant isannlia ccal¿inrtñêñ

43.30 benefits must be or have been based on a single event of at least seven calendar days' duration
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related to pregnancy, recovery from pregnancy, family caÍe, a qualifuing exigency, safety

leave. or the aoplicant's serious health condition. The days need not be consecutive.

ß) Benefits related to bondine need not meet the seven-day qualifuine event requirement.

c The commissioner must use the au under section 2688.02

subdivision 3. to adopt rules regardine what serious health conditions and other events are

prospectivelv presumed to constitute seven-day qualifuine events under this chapter.

Subd. 4. Ineligible. (a) An applicant is not eligible for benefits for any portion of a day

for which the applicant worked for pay.

(b) An applicant is not elieible for benefits for any day for which the applicant received

benefits under chapter 176 or 268.

Subd. 5. Certification. An applicant for benefits under this chapter must fulfill the

certification requirements under section 2688.04. subdivision 2

Subd. 6. Records release. An individual whose medical records are necessary to

determine elieibilitv for benefits under this chapter must sign and date a legally effective

waiver authorizing release of medical or other records, to the limited extent necessary to

administer or enforce this chapter, to the department and the Department of Labor and

Industry.

Subd. 7. Self-employed individual applicant. To fulfillthe requirements of this section,

a self-employed individual or independent contractor who has elected and been approved

for coverase under section 2688.011 must fulfillonlv the requirements of subdivisions 3.

4,5, and6.

44.22 Sec. 8. [2688.041 APPLICATIONS.

44.23 Subdivision 1. Process; deadline. Applicants must file a benefit claim pursuant to rules

44.24 promulsated bv the commissioner within 90 calendar davs of the related qualifuine event.

44.2s If a claim is f,rled more than 90 calendar davs after the start of leave. the covered individual

44.26 may receive reduced benefits. All claims shall include a certification supporting a request

44.21 for leave underthis chapter. The commissionermust establish good cause exemptions from

44.28 the certification requirement deadline in the event that a serious health condition of the

44.2s applicant prevents the applicant from providine the required certification within the 90

44.30 calendar days.

44.3t Subd. 2. Certification. (a) Certification for an applicant takine leave related to the

44.32 applicant's serious health condition shall be sufficient if the certification states the date on

Article 2 Sec. 8. 44



45.t

45.2

45.3

45.4

45.5

4s.6

45.7

45.8

4s.9

45.10

45.11

45.12

45.13

45.74

45.r5

4s.16

45.17

45.18

45.19

4s.2t

45.2r

45.22

4s.23

45.24

45.25

45.26

45.27

45.28

45.29

4s.30

45.31

45.32

04104119 REVISOR SS/BM DWH22O8CRl

which the serious health condition began, the probable duration of the condition, and the

aoorooriate medical facts within the knowledse of the health care provider as required bv

the commissioner,

ft) Certification for an applicant taking leave to care for a family member with a serious

health condition shall be sufTicient if the certification states the date on which the serious

health condition commenced, the probable duration of the condition, the appropriate medical

facts within the knowledge of the health care provider as required by the commissioner, â

statement that the family member requires care. and an estimate of the amount of time that

the family member.will require care.

(c) Certification for an applicant taking leave related to pregnancy shall be sufficient if
the certification states the expected due date and recovery period based on appropriate

medical facts within the knowledee of the health care provider.

(d) Cetification for an applicant takine bondine leave because of the birth of the

applicant's child shall be sufficient if the certification includes either the child's birth

certificate or a document issued by the health care provider of the child or the health care

orovider of the Derson who save birth. statins the child's birth date.

(e) Certif,rcation for an applicant taking bonding leave because of the placement of a

child with the applicant for adoption or foster care shall be sufficient if the applicant provides

a document issued by the health care provider of the child, an adoption or foster care agency

involved in the placement, or by other individuals as determined by the commissioner that

confirms the placement and the date ofplacement. To the extent that the status of an applicant

as an adoptive or foster parent changes while an application for benefits is pending, or while

the covered individual is receiving benefits, the applicant must notifu the department of

such change in status in writine.

(f) Certification for an applicant taking leave because of a qualifi¡ing exigency shall be

suffrcient if the certification includes:

(1) a copy of the family member's active-duty orders;

(2) other documentation issued bv the United States armed forces: or

13) other documentation permitted bv the commissioner.

(e) Certifrcation for an applicant taking safety leave is sufficient if the certification

includes a court record or documentation signed by a volunteer or employee of a victim's

services otganization, an attorney, a police officer, or an antiviolence counselor. The
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46.r commissioner must not require disclosure of details relating to an applicant's or applicant's

46.2 familv mernber's domestic abuse, sexual assault, or stalking

46.3 (h) Certifications under paragraphs (a) to (e) must be reviewed and sigared by a health

46.4 care provider with knowledge of the qualifuine event associated with the leave

46.s (i) For a leave taken on an intermittent or reduced-schedule basis, based on a senous

46.6 health condition of an applicant or applicant's family member, the certification under this

46.7 subdivision must include an explanation of how such leave would be medically beneficial

46.8 to the individual with the serious health condition.

46.e Sec. 9. 12688.051 DETERMINATION OF APPLICATION.

46.10 Upon the filing of a complete application for benefits, the commissioner shall examine

46.tr the application and on the basis of facts found by the commissioner and records maintained

46.12 by the department, the applicant shall be determined to be elieible or inelieible within two

46.13 weeks. If thB ¡ppþation is determined to be valid, the commissioner shall promptly notifu

46.14 the applicant and any other interested partsr as to the week when benefits commence, the

46.1s weekly benefit amount payable, and the maximum duration of those benefits. If the

46.t6 application is determined to be invalid, the commissioner shall notifu the aoplicant and anv

46.17 other interested party of that determination and the reasons for it. If the processing of the

46.18 application is delayed for any reason, the commissioner shall notifi¡ the applicant, inwritine.

46.19 within two weeks of the date the application for benefits is filed of the reason for the delay.

46.20 Unless the applicant or any other interestedpartv. within 30 calendar days. requests a hearine

46.21 before a benefit judge, the determination is final. For good cause shown, the 30-day period

46.22 may be extended. At any time within one year from the date of a monetary determination,

46.23 the commissioner, upon request of the applicant or on the commissioner's own initiative,

46.24 may reconsider the determination if it is found that an error in computation or identity has

46.2s occurred in connection with the determination or that additional wages pertinent to the

46.26 applicant's status have become available, or if that determination has been made as a result

46.2i of a nondisclosure or misrepresentation of a materialfact.

46.28 Sec. 10. [2688.061 EMPLOYER NOTIFICATION.

46.29 ñ^ñ(a U a determination under section 268B.05 thatan licant is entitled to benefi

employer of the applicarfi ,

qññ fc

46.30 thecommissionermust promptly send a notification to each current

46.31 if any, in accordance with paraeraph (b).

46.32 (b) The notification under paragraph (a) must include, at a minimum
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47.1 (1) the name of the applicant;

47.2 Q\ thatthe applicant has applied for and received benefits;

47.3 the week the benefits

47.4 (4) the weekly benefit amount payable;

qi.s (5) the maximum duration of benefits; and

47.6 (6) descriptions of the employer's risht to participate in a hearing under section 2688.05,

47.7 and appeal process under section 2688.07

41.8
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Sec. 11. t2688.071 APPEAL PROCESS.

Subdivision 1. (a) The commissioner shall designate a chief benefit judge.Hearing.

ft) Upon a timelv aopeal to a determination having been filed or upon a referral for

direct hearine, the chief benefit iudse must set a time and date for a de novo due-process

hearins and send notice to an apolicant and an employer, by mail or electronic transmission,

not less than ten calendar days before the date of the hearing.

(c) The commissioner mav adopt rules on procedures for hearings. The rules need not

conform to common law or statutory rules of evidence and other technical rules of procedure.

td) The chiefbenefit iudse has discretion resardine the method by which the hearing is

conducted.

Subd. 2. Decision. (a) After the conclusion of the hearing, upon the evidence obtained,

the benefit iudse must serve bv eleckonic transmission to all parties, the decision,mail or

reasons for the decision, and written findings of fact.

ft) Decisions of a benefit iudee are not precedential.

Subd.3. Request for reconsÍderation. Any or the commissioner, may, within

30 calendar days after service of the benefit iudge's decision, file a request for reconsideration

asking the iudge to reconsider that decision.

Subd.4. Appeal to court of appeals. Any final determination on a request for

reconsideration mav be aopealed bv anv partv directly to the Minnesota Court of Appeals

Subd. 5. Benefìt iudses. la) Onlv emplovees ofthe departmentwho are attorneys licensed

to practice law in Minnesota may serve as a chief benefit ludge, senior benefit judges who

are supervisors, or benefit judges.
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48.1 (b) The chief benefit iudee must assign a benefit iudge to conduct a hearing and may

4s.2 transfer to another benefit iudee any proceedings pending before another benefit judge
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Sec. 12. t2688.081 BENEFITS.

Subdivision 1. Weekly benefit amount. (a) Subiect to the maximum weekly benefit

amount, an applicant' s weekly benefit is calculated by adding the amounts obtained by

aoolvine the following percentage to an applicant's average weekly wage:

( 1 \ 90 ner¡:enf

Notwi

\I¡q õAQ

ng v

that do not exceed 50 ner¡-enf ofthe state's

other inthisnrôvlslôn section- weeklv

qr¡êrâ ûê r¡¡cel:lr¡ rrrt¡ 0ê

pluq

Q\ 66 percent of wases that exceed 50 percent of the state's avera$e weekly wage but

not 100 percent; plus

(3) 55 percent of wages that exceed 100 percent of the state's average weekly \Mage

(b) The state's average weekly wage is the average wage as calculated under section

268.035 subdivision 23 at the time a benefit amount is first determined.

(c aî benefits must not exceed

the maximum weeklv benefit amount applicable at the time benefit payments commence.

Subd. 2. Timing of payment. Exceot as otherwise provided for in this chapter, benefits

must be paid weekly

Subd. 3. Maximum lensth of benefits. (a) Except as provided in paragraph (b), in a

sinele benefit year. an applicant may receive up to 12 weeks of benefits under this chapter

related to the applicant's serious health condition orpregnancy and tnto l2weeks ofbenefits

under this chapter for bonding, safety leave, or family care.

(b) An applicant mav receive up to 12 weeks ofbenefits in a single benefit year for leave

related to one or more qualifuine exigencies.

Subd. 4. Minimum period for which benefÌts payable. Except for a claim forbenefits

for bonding leave, any claim for benefits must be based on a single-qualifiiing event of at

least seven calendar days. Benefits may be paid for a minimum increment of one day. The

minimum increment of one day may consist of multiple, nonconsecutive portions of a day

totalins eieht hours.

Subd. 5. Withholdine of federal tax. If the Internal Revenue Service determines that

benefits are subiect to federal income tax. and an applicarfi elects to have federal income

tax deducted and withheld from the applicant's benefits, the commissioner must deduct and
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4s.t withhold the amount specified in the Internal Revenue Code in a manner consistent with

49.2 state law.
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Sec. 13. t2688.0851 LEAVE.

Subdivision 1. Rieht to leave. N calendar from the date of atl

has a rieht to leave from employment for any day. or portion of a day, for which the employee

wouldbe elieible forbenefits underthis chapter, resardless ofwhetherthe employee actually

applied for benefits and regardless of whether the employee is covered under a private plan

Subd. 2. Notice to emplover. (a) If the need for leave is foreseeable, an employee must

provide the employer at least 30 days' advance notice before leave under this chapter is to

begin. If 30 days'notice is not practicable because of a lack of knowledge of approximately

when leave will be required to begin. a chanse in circumstances. or a medical emersencv.

the employee must advise the employer as soon as practicable if dates of scheduled leave

change or are extended, or were initially unknown. In those cases where the employee is

required to provide at least 30 days'notice of foreseeable leave and does not do so, the

the employer for such information.

account all ofthe facts and circumstances in the individual case. IVhen an employee becomes

practicable for the employee to provide notice of the need for leave either the same day or

the next day, unless the need for leave is based on a medical emergency. In all cases,

take into account the individual facts and circumstances.

(c) An employee shall provide at least verbal notice sufficient to make the employer

include a cefüftcation for the leave as described in section 2688.04, subdivision 2. Such

of the certification.

or the public program under this chapter.

notice must be given as soon as practicable. Whether leave is to be continuous or is to be

taken intermittently or on a reduced schedule basis, notice need only be given one time, but

employee must explain the reasons why such notice was not practicable upon a request from

(b) "As soon as practicable" means as soon as both possible and practical, taking into

aware of a need for leave under this chapter less than 30 days in advance, it should be

however, the determination of when an employee could practicably provide notice must

aware that the employee needs leave allowed under this chapter and the anticipated timing

and duration of the leave. An employer may require an employee giving notice of leave to

certification, if required by an employer, is timely when the employee delivers it as soon

as practicable given the circumstances requiring the need for leave, and the required contents
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(d) An employer may require an employee to comply with the employer's usual and

customary notice and procedural requirements for requesting leave, absent unusual

circumstances or other circumstances caused by the reason for the employee's need for

leave. Leave under this chapter must not be delayed or denied where an employer's usual

and customary notice or procedural requirements require notice to be given soonff than set

forth in this subdivlslon.

(e) If an employer has failed to provide notice to the employee as required under section

268B.22,parl,graph (a), (b), or (e), the employee is not required to comply with the notice

requirements of this subdivision.

Subd.3. Bondineleave. Bonding leave taken under this chapter begins at a time requested

by the employee. Bonding leave must begin within 12 months of the binh, adoption, or

placement of a foster child, except that, in the case where the child must remain in the

hospital longer than the mother, the leave must begin within 12 months after the child leaves

the hospital

Subd.4. Intermittent or reduced leave schedule. (a) Leave under this chapter, based

on a serious health condition, may be taken intermittently or on a reduced leave schedule

if such leave would beneficial to the individual with the serious health condition.

For all other leaves under this chapter, leave may be taken or on a reduced

leave schedule. Intermittent leave is leave taken in separate blocks of time due to a single,

seven-day event. A reduced leave schedule is a leave schedule that reduces an

employee's usual number of working hours per workweek or hours per workday.

(b) Leave taken intermittently or on a reduced schedule basis counts toward the

maximums described in section 268B.08 , subdivision 3.

Sec. 14. f2688.091 EMPLOYMENT PROTECTIO ¡{s.

Subdivision 1. Retaliation prohibited. An emolover must not retaliate against an

employee for requesting or obtaining benefits, or for exercising any other right under this

chapter.

Subd.2. Interference prohibited. An employer must not obstruct or impede an

application for leave or benefits or the exercise of any other right under this chapter.

Subd. 3. Waiver of rights void. Any agreement to waive,

to benefits or any other rieht under this chapter is void.
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5 i.1 Subd. 4. No assignment of benefits. Any assignment, pledge, or encurnbrance ofbenefits

51.2 is void. Benefits are exempt from levy, execution, attachment, or any other remedy provided

51.3 for the collection of debt. Any waiver of this subdivision is void.

51.4 Subd. 5. Continued insurance. During any leave for which an employee is entitled to

51.5 benefits under this chapter, the employer must maintain coveraEe under any group insurance

51.6 policy, group subscriber contract, or health care plan for the employee and any dependents

s1.7 as if the employee was not on leave, provided, however, that the employee must continue

51.8 to pay any employee share of the cost of such benefits

s1.9 Subd. 6. Employee right to reinstatement. (a) On return from leave under this chapter.

si.tû an employee is entitled to be returned to the same position the employee held when leave

51.11 conìmenced or to an equivalent position with equivalent benefits, pay, and other terms and

sl.rz conditions of employment. An employee is entitled to such reinstatement even if the

s 1.1 3 employee has been replaced or the employee's position has been restructured to accommodate

51.t4 the employee's absence.

si.ls (bxl) An equivalent position is one that is virtually identical to the employee's former

5 i.16 tion in terms of and condi

s|.n and status. It must involve the same or substantiallv similar duties and responsibilities.

51.18 which must entail substantially equivalent skill, effort, and authority,

s1.19 (2) If an employee is no longer qualified for the position because of the employee's

st.2a inability to attend a necessary course, renew a license, fly a minimum number of hours, or

st.zt the like, as a result of the leave , the employee must be given a reasonable opporfunity to

st.2z ilfill those conditions upon return from leave.

s1.23 (cXl) An employee is entitled to any unconditional pay increases which may have

51.24 occurred during the leave period, such as cost of living increases. Pay increases conditioned

51.2s upon seniority, length of service, or work performed must be sranted in accordance with

s1.26 the employer's policy or practice with respect to other emplovees on an equivalent leave

sr.27 status for a reason that does not qualifu for leave under this chapter. An employee is entitled

st.28 to be restored to a position with the same or equivalent pay premiums, such as a shift

s1.2e differential. If an departed from a position averaging ten hours of overtime, and

51.30 corresponding each week an employee is ordinarily entitled to such aposition

5i.31 on return from leave under this chapter

s1.32 (2) Equivalent pay includes any bonus or pa\,/ment, whether it is discretionary or

s1.33 nondiscretionary, made to employees consistent with the provisions of clause (1). However,

s1.34 if a bonus or other payment is based on the achievement of a specified

Article 2 Sec. 14. 51
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worked, products sold, or perfect attendance, and the employee has not met the goal due to

leave under this chapter, the par,rment may be denied, unless otherwise paid to employees

on an equivalent leave stafus for a reason that does not qualify for leave under this chapter.

(d) Benefits under this section include all benefits provided or made available to

employees by an employer. includine sroup life insurance. health insurance. disabilitv

insurance, sick leave, annual leave, educational benefits, andpensions, regardless of whether

such benefits are provided by a practice or written policy of an employer through an employee

benefit plan as defined in section 3(3) of United States Code, title 29, section 1002(3).

(1) At the end of an employee's leave under this chapter, benefits must be resumed in

the same manner and at the same levels as provided when the leave began, and subiect to

anv chanses in benefit levels that mav have taken olace durins the oeriod of leave affectins

the entire workforce, unless otherwise elected by the employee. Upon return from a leave

under this chapter, an employee cannot be required to requalifu for any benefits the employee

enjoyed before leave began, including family or dependent coverages.

(2) An employee may, but is not entitled to, accrue any additional benefits or seniority

during a leave under this chapter. Benefits accrued at the time leave besan. however. must

be available to an employee upon return from leave.

(3) With respect to pension and other retirement plans, leave under this chapter must

not be treated as or counted toward a break in service for purposes of vesting and elieibility

to participate. Also, if the plan requires an employee to be employed on a specific date in

order to be credited with a year of service for vestine. contributions" or participation pumoses.

an employee on leave under this chapter must be treated as employed on that date. However,

periods of leave under this chapter need not be treated as credited service for purposes of

benefit accruaI, vesting, and eligibility to parlicipate

(4) Employees on leave under this chapter must be treated as if they continued to work

for purposes of changes to benefit plans. Employees on leave under this chapter are entitled

to changes in benefit plans, except those which may be dependent upon seniority or accrual

during the leave period, immediately upon retum from leave or to the same extent they

would have qualified if no leave had been taken.

(e) An equivalent position must have substantially similar duties, conditions,

responsibilities, privileges, and status as the employee's original position

(1) The employee must be reinstated to the same or a geographically proximate worksite

from where the employee had previously been employed. If the employee's original worksite

Article 2 Sec. 14. 52
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has been closed, the employee is entitled to the same riehts as if the employee had not been

on leave when the worksite closed.

(2) The employee is ordinarily entitled to return to the same shift or the same or an

equivalent work schedule.

The must have the same or an êñr rivalent nnnnrfirnifr¡ hnrrttcoct?\ crnnlnr¡ee for

profit-sharing, and other similar discretionary and nondiscretionary par,¡ments.

(a) This chapter does not prohibit an employer from accommodating an employee's

request to be restored to a different shift, schedule, or position which better suits the

employee's personal needs on refurn from leave, or to offer a promotion to a better position

However, an employee must not be induced by the employer to accept a different position

against the employee's wishes.

(Ð The requirementthat an employee be restored to the same or equivalent iob with the

same or equivalent pay, benefits. and terms and conditions of does not extend

to de minimis, intangible, or unmeasurable aspects of the job

Subd.7. Limitations on an employee's right to reinstatement. An employee has no

greater rieht to reinstatement or to other benefits and conditions of employment than if the

employee had been continuously employed durine the period of leave under this chapter.

An employer must be able to show that an emolovee would not otherwise have been

employed at the time reinstatement is requested in order to deny restoration to employment.

(1) If an employee is laid off during the course of taking a leave under this chapter and

employment is terminated, the employer's responsibilitv to continue the leave, maintain

group health plan benefits. and restore the emolovee cease at the time the emolovee is laid

off provided the employer has no continuins oblieations under a collective barsainins

agreement or otherwise. An employer would have the burden of thatan employee

would have been laid off during the period of leave under this chapter and, therefore, would

not be entitled to restoration. Restoration to a iob slated for layoffwhen the employee's

original position would not meet the requirements of an equivalent position.

(2) If a shift has been eliminated or overtime has been decreased, an employee would

not be entitled to return to work that shift or the original overtime hours upon restoration.

However, if a position on, for example. a nisht shift has been filled bv another emplovee.

the employee is entitled to return to the same shift on which

under this chapter.
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54.1 (3) If an emp loyee was hired for a specific term or only to perform work on a discrete

s4.2 project, the employer has no obligation to restore the employee if the employment term or

54.3 prol ect is over and the employer would not otherwise have continued to employ the employee.

Subd. 8. Remedies. (a) In addition to any other remedies available to an employee in

s4.s law or equity, an employer who violates the provisions of this section is liable to any

s4.6 ernployee affected for:

54.7 (1) damaees equal to the amount of:

s4.8 (i) anv wases. salarv. emplovment benefits. or other compensation denied or lost to such

s4.g emolovee bv reason of the violation. or. in a cases in which wages. salary. employment

54.10 benefits, or other compensation have not been denied or lost to the employee, any actual

s4.rt monetary losses sustained by the employee as a direct result of the violation; and

s4.t2 (ii) reasonable interest on the amount described in item (i); and

54.13 ¡'t\ such litable relief as ñ4rt be oññfôññ i-^'ltrrli-- omnlnrmanf reinstatemen+afe

s4.14 and promotion.

s4.rs ft) An action to recover damages or equitable reliefprescribed in paragraþh (a) may be

s4.r6 maintained asainst anv emolover in anv federal or state court of competent iurisdiction by

54.17 any one or more employees for and on behalf of:

s4.18 (1) the employees; or

s4.rs Q\the employees and other employees similarly situated.

s4.20 (c) The court in an action under this section must, in addition to any iudgment awarded

s4.21 to the plaintiffor plaintiffs. allow reasonable attorney fees, reasonable expert witness fees,

s4.22 and other costs of the action to be paid bv the defendant.

s4.23 ld) Nothins in this section shall be construed to allow an employee to recover damages

s4.24 from an emolover for the denial of benefits under this chaoter by the deoartment. unless the

s4.zs emplover unlawfully interfered with the application for benefits under subdivision 2.

s4.26 Sec. 15. t2688.101 SUBSTITUTIOI\ OF A PRfVATE PLAN.

s4.zi Subdivision 1. Application for substitution. Employers may apply to the commissioner

s4.zs for approval to meet their obligations under this chapter through the substitution of a private

s4.zs olan that orovides oaid familv. oaid medical. or oaid familv and medical benefits. In order

54.30 to be approved as meeting an employer's obligations under this chapter, aþrlate plan must

54.31 confer all of the same riehts. protections. and benefits provided to employees under this

s4.32 chaoter. includins but not limited to benefits under section 2688.08 and employment
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protections under section 2688.09. An employee covered by a private plan under this section

retains all applicable riehts and remedies under section 2688.09.

Subd. 2.Private plan requirements: medical benefit prosram. The commrssloner

must approve anapplication for private provision of the medical benefit program if the

commissioner determines :

(1) all of the employees of the employer are to be covered under the provisions of the

employer plan;

(2) elieibility requirements for benefits and leave are no more restrictive than as provided

under this chapter;

(3) the weekly benefits payable under the private plan for any week are at least equal to

the weekly benefit amount payable under this chapter, taking into consideration any coverage

with resoect to concurrent emolovment bv another emolover:

(4) the total number of weeks for which benefits are payable under the private plan is

at least equal to the total number of weeks for which benefits would have been payable

under this chapter;

(5) no greater amount is required to be paid by employees toward the cost of benefits

under the emplover olan than bv this chaoter:

(6) wage replacement benefits are stated in the plan separately and distinctly from other

benefits;

(7) the private plan will provide benefits and leave for any serious health condition or

for which benefits are and leave under this

(8) the private plan will impose no additional condition or restriction on the use of

medical benefits beyond those explicitly authorized by this chapter or rezulations

promulgated pursuant to this chapter;

(9) the private plan will allow any employee covered under the private plan who is

eligible to receive medical benefits under this chapter to receive medical benefits under the

employer plan; and

(10) coverage will be continued under the private plan while an employee remains

employed by the employer.

Subd. 3. Private plan requirements; family benefït program. The commissioner must

approve an application for private provision of the family benefit program if the

commissioner determrnes :
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(1) all of the employees of the employer are to be covered under the provisions of the

employer plan;

(2) elisibilitv requirements for benefits and leave are no more restrictive than as provided

under this chapter;

(3) the weekly benefits payable under the private plan for any week are at least equal to

the weekly benefit amount payable under this chapter, t¿king into consideration any coverage

with respect to concurrent employment by another ernployer;

(4) the total number of weeks for which benefits are payable under the private plan is

at least equal to the total number of weeks for which benefits would have been payable

under this chapter;

(5) no greater amount is required to be paid by employees toward the cost of benefits

under the emplover plan than bv this chapter;

(6) waee replacement benefits are stated in the plan separately and distinctly from other

benefits;

(7) the private plan will provide benefits and leave for any care for a family member

with a serious health condition, bonding with a child, qualifuine exigency, or safety leave

event for which benefits are oavable. and leave orovided. under this chaoter:

(8) the private plan will impose no additional condition or restriction on the use of family

benefits beyond those explicitly authorized by this chapter or regulations promulgated

pursuant to this chapter;

(9) the private plan will allow any employee covered under the private plan who is

elieible to receive medical benefits under this chapter to receive medical benefits under the

employer plan; and

(10) coveraee will be continued under the private plan while an employee remains

employed by the employer.

Subd. 4. Use of private insurance products. Nothing in this section prohibits an

employer from meeting the requirements of a private plan through a private insurance

product. If the emplover plan involves a private insurance product. that insurance product

must conform to any applicable law or rule.

Subd. 5. Private plan appÍoval and oversiqht fee. An employer with an approved

private plan will not be required to oav oremiums established under section 2688.12. An

employer with an approved private plan will be responsible for a private plan approval and
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sl.t oversisht fee equal to $250 for employers with fewer than 50 employees, $500 for employers

s7.2 with 50 to 499 employees, and $1,000 for employers with 500 or more employees. The

s7.3 emolover must oav this fee (l) upon initial application for private plan approval and(2) arry

s7.4 time the employer applies to amend the private plan. The commissioner will review and

s7.s renort on the adequacv of this fee to cover private plan administrative costs annually

s7.6 beginning in2020 as part of the annual report established in section268B.21.

57.7 Subd. 6. Plan duration. A private plan under this section must be in effect for a period

57.9 of at least one year and, thereaftet continuously unless the commissioner finds that the

s7.s employer has given notice of withdrawal from the plan in a manner specified by the

si.r0 commissioner in this section or rule. The plan may be withdrawn by the employer within

si.tt 30 days of the effective date of any law increasing the benefit amounts or within 30 days

s7.t2 of the date of any change in the rate of premiums. If the plan is not withdrawn, it must be

si.r3 amended to conform to provide the increased benefit amount or change in the rate of the

s7.t4 employee's premium on the date of the increase or change

57.15 Subd. 7. Appeals. An employer may appeal any adverse action regarding that employer's

s7.16 private plan to the commissioner, in a manner specified by the commissioner

51.17 Subd. 8. Employees no longer covered. (a) An employee is no longer covered by an

57.18 approved private plan if a leave under this chapter occurs after the employment relationship

sj.t9 with the private plan employer ends, or if the commissioner revokes the approval of the

sl.zo private plan.

s7.zt (b) An employee no longer covered by an approved private plan is, if otherwise eligible,

s7.22 immediately entitled to benefits under this chapter to the same extent as though there had

s7.23 been no approval of the private plan.

si.z4 Subd. 9. Postine of notice resardins private plan. An employer with a private plan

s7.2s must provide a notice prepared by or approved by the commissioner regarding the private

sl.26 plan consistent with the provisions of section 2688.22.

si.27 Subd. 10. Amendment. (a)Thecommissionermustapproveanyamendmenttoaprivate

s7.2s plan adiustine the provisions thereof, if the commissioner determines

s7.zs (1) that the plan, as amended, will conform to the standards set forth in this chapter; and

s7.30 Q) that notice of the amendment has been delivered to all affected employees at least

s7.3r ten days before the submission of the amendment.

s7.32 (b) Anv amendments approved under this subdivision are effective on the date of the

57.33 commissioner's approval, unless the commissioner and the employer agree on a later date.
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Subd. 11. Successor employer. A private plan in effect at the time a successor acquires

the emolover orsanization. trade, or business, or substantially all the assets thereof, or a

distinct and severable portion of the organizatron, trade, or business, and continues its

ooeration without substantial reduction of oersonnel resultine from the acquisition, must

continue the approved private plan and must not withdraw the plan without a specific request

for withdrawal in a manner and at a time specified by the commissioner. A successor may

terminate a private plan with notice to the commissioner and within 90 days from the date

of the acquisition.

Subd. 12. Revocation of approval by commissioner. (a) The commissioner may

terminate any private plan if the commissioner determines the employer:

1 failed to b

(2) failed to pav benefits in a timely manner. consistent with the requirements of this

chapter;

(31 failed to submit reports as required by this chapter or rule adopted under this chapter;

(4) otherwise failed to comply with this chapter or rule adopted under this chapter,

lb) The commissioner must sive notice of the intention to terminate a plan to the employer

at least ten days before taking any final action. The notice must state the effective date and

the reason for the termination.

or

I o,-^l^-ro* ,-oa, within ten from orr{orro -oilina ñêfe^n al service of the nnfir.a

f,rle an appeal to the commissioner in the time, manner, method, and procedure provided by

the commissioner under subdivision 7.

(d) The oavment of benefits must not be delayed drning an employer's appeal of the

revocation of approval of a private plan.

(e) If the commissioner revokes approval of an employer's private plan, that employer

IS inelisible to aoolv tor annroval of another nrivate n neriod of three veârs heøinninslan for a

on the date of revocation.

Subd. 13. Employer penalties. (a) The commissionermay assess the following monetary

penalties asainst an emplover with an approved private plan found to have violated this

chapter:

(1) $t,OOO for the first violation; and

(2) S2.000 for the second" and each successive violation.
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59.1 (b) The commissioner must waive collection of any penalty if the employer corrects the

ss.2 violation within 30 days of receiving a notice of the violation and the notice is for a first

ss.3 violation.

59.4 (c) The commissioner mav waive collection of any penalty ifthe commissioner determines

sg.s the violation to be an inadvertent error by the employer.

59.6 (d) Monetary penalties collected under this section shall be deposited in the account.

ss.l (e) Assessment of penalties under this subdivision may be appealed as provided by the

s9.8 commissioner under subdivision 7

ss.s Subd. 14. Reportso information, and records. Employers with an approved private

s9.10 plan must maintain all reports. information, and records as relating to the private plan and

sg.tt claims for a period of six vears from creation and provide to the commissioner upon request.

ss.tz Subd. 15. Audit and investigation. The commissioner may investigate and audit plans

sg.t3 aonroved under this section both before and after the plans are approved.

59.14
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Sec. 16. t2688.111 SELF-EMPLOYED AND INDEPENDENT CONTRACTOR

ELECTION OF COVERAGE.

Subdivision 1. Election of coveraqe. (a) A self-employed individual or independent

contractormay file with the commissioner by electronic transmission in a format prescribed

bv the commissioner an aoolication to be entitled to benefits under this chapter for a period

not less than 104 consecutive calendar weeks. Upon the approval of the commissioner, sent

by United States mail or electronic transmission, the individual is entitled to benefits under

this chaoter besinnins the calendar quarter after the date of approval or beginning in alater

calendar quartei if requested by the selÊemployed individual or independent contractor.

The individual ceases to be entitled to benefits as of the first day of January of any calendar

vear only if, at least 30 calendar davs before the first day of January, the individual has filed

with the commissioner by electronic transmission in a format prescribed by the commissioner

a notice to that effect.

ft) The commissioner may terminate any application approved under this section with

30 calendar davs' notice sent bv United States mail or electronic transmission if the

self-employed individual is delinquent on any premiums due under this chapter an election

agreement. If an approved application is terminated in this manner during the first 104

consecutive calendar weeks of election. the self-emploved individual remains oblieated to

pay the premium under subdivision 3 for the remainder of that 104-week period.
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Subd.2. Application A selÊemoloved individual who applies for coverage under this

section must provide the commissioner with (l) the amount of the individual's net earnings

from self-emplovment. if any, from the two most recent taxable years and all tax documents

necessary to prove the accuracy of the amounts reported and(2) any other documentation

the commissioner requires. A self-emploved individual who is covered under this chapter

must annuallv orovide the commissioner with the amount of the individual's net earnings

from selÊemolovment within 30 davs of filine a federal income tax return.

Subd. 3. Premium. A selÊemploved individual who elects to receive coverage under

this chaoter must annuallv Day aoremium equal to one-half the percentage in section

2688.12. subdivision 4, clause (1), times the lesser of:

(1) the individual's self-employment premium base; or

0\ the maximum earnines subiect to the FICA Old-Ase. Survivors. and Disabilitv

Insurance tax.

Subd. 4. Benefits. Notwithstandins anythins to the contrary. a self-employed individual

who has aoolied to and been aooroved for coveraqe bv the commissioner under this section

is entitled to benefits on the same basis as an employee under this chapter, except that a

self-employed individual's weeklv benefit amount under section 2688.08, subdivision 1,

must calculated as aoercentase ofthe selÊemoloved individual's self-employment premium

bdse, rather than wages

60.20 Sec. 17. 1268B..12l PREMIUMS.

6o.zt Subdivision 1. Employer. (a) Each person or entity required, or who elected, to register

60.22 for a tax account under sections 268.042.268.045, and268.046 must pay apremium on the

60.23 wages paidto employees in covered employment for each calendaryear. The premium must

60.24 be paid on all wages up to the maximum specified by this section.

60.2s lb) Each Derson or entitv required. or who elected. to register for a reimbursable account

60.26 under sections 268.042"268.045. and 268.046 must þay apremium on the wages paid to

60.27 emolovees in covered emoloyment in the same amount and manner as provided by paragraph

60.28 (qI

60.2s Subd. 2. Emplovee charse back. No¡withstanding section I77.24, subdivision 4, or

60.30 181 .06" subdivision 1. emplovers and covered business entities may deduct up to 50 percent

60.31 of annual premiums oaid under this section from employee wages. Such deductions for any

60.32 given emplovee must be in equal proportion to the premiums paid based on the wages of

60.33 that employee. and all employees of an employer must be subiect to the same percentage
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deduction. Deductions under this section must not cause an employee's wage, after the

deduction, to fall below the rate required to be paid to the worker by la% including any

applicable statute. rezulation, rule. ordinance, goveÍrment resolution or policy, contract, or

other legal authority, whichever rate of pay is greater.

Subd. 3. Wages and payments subiect to premium. (a) The maximum wages subject

to premium in a calendan year is equal to the maximum earnings in that year subiect to the

FICA Old-Age, Survivors, and Disabilify Insurance tax.

ft) The maximum payment amount subiect to premium in a calendar year, under

subdivision 1. paragraph (c), is equal to the maximum earnings in that year subiect to the

FICA Old-Age, Survivors, and Disability Insurance tax.

Subd. 4. Annual premium rates. The employer premium rates for the calendar year

beeinnine January I.2021. shall be as follows:

1 for inboth fqrnik¡ and medical benefit ñf ffiqñc 0.6s narnanf'( \ etnnl m¡arc nor-fi r.inofin cr

(2\ for an employer participating in only the medical benef,rt prosram and with an

approved private plan for the family benefit prosram, 0.5265 percent: and

(3) for an employer participating in only the family benefit program and with an approved

private plan for the medical benefit program, 0.1235 percent.

Subd. 5. Premium rate adiustments. (a) Each calendar vear followins the calendar

year beginning January 1,2023, the commissioner must adiust the annual premium rates

usins the formulainpansnaph ft).

(b) To calculate the employer rates for a calendar yeat the commissioner must:

(1) multiply 1.45 times the amount disbursed from the account for the 52-week period

ending September 30 of the prior year;

()\ subtract the amount in the account on that Senfernber 30 from the reqrrlfino ficnrre'

(3) divide the resulting figure by twice the total wages in covered employment of

employees of employers without approved private plans under section 2688.10 for either

the family or medical benefit program. For employers with an approved private plan for

either the medical benefit program or the family benefit program, but not both, count only

the proportion of wages in covered employment associated with the program for which the

employer does not have an approved private plan; and

(4) round the resulting figure down to the nearest one-hundredth of one percent.
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62.1 (c) The commissioner must apportion the premium rate between the familv and medical

62.2 benefit Drosrams based on the relative proportion of expenditures for each program during

62.3 the preceding year,

62.4 Subd. 6. Deposit of premiums. All premiums collected under this section must be

62.s deposited into the account.

Subd. 7. Nonpayment of premiums by emplover. The failure of an employer to pay

62.7 premiums does not irnpact the right of an employee to benefits, or any other right, under

62.8 this chapter,

62.9

62.10

62.1t

62.12

62.r3

62.t4

62.15

62.16

62.r7

62.t8

62.19

62.20

62.2r

62.22

62.23

62.24

62.25

62.26

62.27

62.28

62.29

62.30

62.31

Sec. 18. [2688.131 COLLECTION OF PREMIUMS.

Subdivision 1. Amount computed presumed correct. Any amount due from an

employer, as computed by the commissioner, is presumed to be correctly determined and

assessed, and the burden is upon the employer to show any effor. A statement by the

commissioner of the amount due is admissible in evidence in any court or administrative

proceedins and is prima facie evidence of the facts in the statement.

(1) premiums due under this chapter; then

(2) interest on past due premiums: then

(3) penalties, late fees, administrative service fees, and costs.

a is the used for all received from an

regardless of how the employer may designate the par¡ment to be applied. except when:

(l) there is an outstanding lien and the employer designates that the payment made

should be applied to satisfu the lien;

(2) a court or administrative order directs that the payment be applied to a specific

(3) a preexistine pavment plan provides for the application of pavment: or

(4) the commissioner agrees to apply the payment to a different priority

Subd. 3. Costs. (a) Anv employer that fails to pay any amount when due under this

chapter is liable for any filing fees, recording fees, sherifffees, costs incurred by referral

to any public or private collection agency, or litigation costs, including attorney fees, incurred

in the collection of the amounts due

Subd. 2. Priority of payments. (a) Any payment received from an employer must be

applied in the following order:

obligation;
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63.r

63.2

63.3

63.4

63.s

63.6

63.7

63.8

63.9

63.r0

63.11

63.12

63.13

63.74

63.15

63.16

63.17

63.18

63.19

63.20

63.21

63.22

63.23

63.24

63.25

63.26

63.27

63.28

63.29

63.30

63.31

63.32

63.33
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(b) If anv tendered payment of any amount due is not honored when presented to a

financial institution for payment, any costs assessed to the department by the financial

institution and a fee of $25 must be assessed to the person.

(c) Costs and fees collected under this subdivision are credited to the account.

Subd. 4. Interest on amounts past due. If any amounts due from an employer under

this chapter, except late fees, are not received on the date due, the unpaid balance bears

interest at the rate of one percent per month or any part of a month. Interest collected under

this subdivision is payable to the account.

Subd. 5. Interest on judgments. Regardless of section 549.09, if iudernent is entered

upon anypast due amounts from an employerunderthis chapter, the unpaidìudgmentbears

interest at the rate specified in subdivision 4 until the date of payment.

Subd. 6. Credit adiustments; refunds. (a) If an employer makes an application for a

credit adjustment of any amount paid under this chapter within four years of the datethat

the payment was due, in a maûrer and format prescribed by the commissioner, and the

commissioner determines that the payment or any portion thereof was effoneous , the

commissionermust make an adfustment and issue a credit without interest. If a credit cannot

be used, the commissioner must refund, without interest, the amount erroneouslypaid. The

commissioner, on the commissioner's own motion, may make a credit adiustment or refimd

under this subdivision.

(b) Anv refund returned to the commissioner is considered unclaimed property under

chapter 345.

.(c) If a credit adiustment or refund is denied in whole or in part, a determination of denial

must be sent to the employer by United States mail or electronic transmission. The

determination of denial is final unless an emplover files an aoneal within 20 calendar days

after receipt of the determination.

(d) If an employer receives a credit adiustment or refund under this section, the employer

must determine the amount of any overpayment attributable to a deduction from employee

wages under section 2688.12, subdivision2, and return any amount effoneously deducted

to each affected employee.

Subd.7. Priorities under legal dissolutions or distributions. In the event of any

distribution of an employer's assets according to an order of any court, including any

receivership, assignment for benefit of creditors, adiudicated insolvency, or similar

proceeding, premiums then or thereafter due must be paid in fulIbefore all other claims
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64.1 except claims for wages of not more than $ I ,000 per former employee that are earned within

64.2 six months of the commencement of the proceedings. In the event of an employer's

64.3 adiudication in bankruptcv under federal law. premiums then or thereafter due are entitled

64.4 to the priority provided in that law for taxes due.

64.s Sec. 19. f2688.141 ADMINISTRATM COSTS.

64.6 From Julv l, 2021, through December 31,2021, the commissioner may spend up to

64.7 sevenpercent ofpremiums collectedunder section 2688.13 for administration ofthis chapter.

64.8 Beginning January 1,2022, and each calendar year thereafter, the commissioner may spend

64.9 up to seven percent of proiected benefit par,¡ments for that calendar year for the administration

64.10 of this chapter. The department may enter into interagency agreements with the Department

64.11 of Labor and Industry, including agreements to transfer funds, subiect to the limit in this

64.12 section, for the Department of Labor and Industry to fulfiII its enforcement authority of this

64.13 chapter.

64.14

64.15

64.16

64.17

64.18

64.19

64.20

64.21

Sec. 20. t2688.151 PUBLIC OUTREACH.

Beginning in fiscal year2022, the commissionermustuse at least 0.5 percent ofrevenue

collected under this chapter for the purpose of outreach, education, and technical assistance

for employees, employers, and selÊemployed individuals elieible to elect coverage under

section 2688.11. The department may enter into interagency agreements with the Department

of Labor and Industry, includine asreements to transfer funds. subiect to the limit in section

2688.I4,to accomplish the requirements of this section. At least one-half of the amount

spent under this section must be used for grants to communiff-based groups.

64.22 Sec. 21. t2688.161 APPLICANT'S FALSE REPRESENTATIONS; CONCEALMENT

64.23 OF FACTS; PENAITY.

64.24 la) Anv aoolicant who knowinslv makes a false statement or reoresentation. knowinslv

64.2s fails to disclose a material fact, or makes a false statement or representation without a

64.26 eood-faith belief as to the correctness of the statement or representation in order to obtain

64.27 or in an atternpt to obtain benefits may be assessed, in addition to any other penalties. an

64.28 administrative penalty of inelieibilitv of benefits for 13 to 104 weeks.

64.2e (b) A determination of inelieibility setting out the weeks the applicant is inelieible must

64.30 be sent to the applicant by United States mail or electronic transmission. The determination

64.31 is final unless an appeal is filed within 30 calendar days after receipt of the determination.
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65.1

65.2

6s.3

6s.4

65.5

6s.6

65.7

6s.8

6s.9

6s.10

6s.11

65.12

6s.13

6s.t4

65.1s

65.16

6s.r7

65.18

6s.1 9

65.20

65.21

65.22

6s.23
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or

officer. or agent of that employer is in collusion with any applicant for the pumose of

assistins the applicant in receivins benefits fraudulently. The penalty is $500 or the amount

of benefits determined to be overpaid, whichever is greater,

lh\ The commissioner must an if that

offrcer, or agent of that employer:

(1) made a false statement or representation knowing it to be false:

(2\ made a false statement or representation without a eood-faith belief as to the

correctness of the statement or representation; or

(3) knowinely failed to disclose amaterialfact.

(c) The penalty is the greater of $500 or 50 percent of the followine resultins from the

employer's action:

1 the amount of benefits to an

()\ the amount ofbenefits not nqi¿l to an q ll1.r licant that would otherwise have been noirl

or

(3) the amount of any par¡ment required from the employer under this chapter that was

not paid.

(d) Penalties must be paid within 30 calendar days of issuance of the determination of

penalty and credited to the account.

(e) The determination of penalty is final unless the employer files an appeal within 30

calendar days after the sending of the determination of penalty to the employer by United

States mail or electronic transmission.

6s.24 Sec. 23. t2688.181 RECORDS; AUDITS.

65.2s (a) Each employer must keep true and accurate records on individuals performing services

6s.26 for the employer, containing the information the commissioner may require under this

6s.27 chapter. The records must be kept for a period of not less than four years in addition to the

65.28 current calendar year,

6s.29 (b) For the purpose of administering this chapter, the commissioner has the power to

6s.30 investigate. audit, examine. or cause to be supplied or cooied. anv books. coffespondence.
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66.1 Dapers. records. or memorandathat are the property of, or in the possession of, an employer

66.2 or anv other person at any reasonable time and as often as may be necessary.

(c) An emolover or other oerson that refuses to allow an audit of its records by the

66.4 department or that fails to make all necessary records available for audit in the state upon

66.s request of the commissioner may be assessed an administrative penalty of $500. The penalty

66.6 collected is credited to the account.

66.7

66.8

66.9

66.10

66.11

66.12

66.13

66.14

66.15

Sec. 24. t2688.1,91 SUBPOENAS: OATIIS.

The commissioner or benefit has authori to administer oaths and

take depositions, certifu to official acts, and issue subpoenas to compel the attendance of

individuals and the production of documents and other personal propeúy necessary in

connection with the administration of this chapter.

(b) Individuals subpoenaed, other than applicants or officers and employees of an

emplover that is the subiect of the inquiry, must be paid witness fees the same as witness

fees in civil actions in district court. The fees need not be paid in advance.

(c) The subpoena is enforceable through the district court in Ramsey County.

66.16 Sec.25. 12688.201CONCILIATIONSERVICES.

66.17 The Department of Labor and Industry may offer conciliation services to employers and

66.18 employees to resolve disputes, concerning alleged violations of employment protections

66.1e identified in section 2688.09.

66.20 Sec. 26. 1268B.2ll AIINUAL REPORTS.

66.21 (a) Annuallv. beeinnins on or before December I^202I. the commissioner must report

66.22 to the Department of Management and Budget and the house of representatives and senate

66.23 committee chairs with iurisdiction over this chapter on program administrative expendifures

66.24 and revenue collection for the prior fiscal year. includine but not limited to:

66.2s (1) total revenue raised through premium collection;

66.26 (2)the number of self-employed individuals or independent contractors electing coverage

66.27 under section 2688.1 1 and amount of associated revenue;

66.28 (3) the number of covered business entities paying premiums under this chapter and

66.29 associatedrevenue;
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67.1 14) administrative expenditures including transfers to other state agencies expended in

61.2 the administration of the chapter:

67.3 (5) summary of contracted services expended in the administration of this chapter;

67.4 (O srant amounts and recipients under section 2688.15:

67.5 (7\ an accountins of required outreach expenditures;

67.6 18) summarv oforivate olan approvals including the number of employers and employees

67.7 covered under private plans; and

67.8 (9) adequacv and use of the privatg plan approval and oversight fee

67.9 ft) Annuallv. beeinnins on orbefore December I.2022,the commissionermust publish

67.r0 a publicly available report providing the following information for the previous fiscal year

67.11 (1) total elieible claims;

67.t2 the number and of claims attributable to each

67.13 13) claimant demosraphics bv aee. sender. averase weeklv wage. occupation, and the

67.t4 type of leave taken;

67.ls 14) the percentase of claims denied and the reasons therefor includine. but not limited

6i.t6 to insuffrcient information and inelisibility and the reason therefor:

67.r7 (5) averaee weekly benefit amount paid for all claims and by category of benefit;

67.18 16) chanses in the benefits paid comoared to previous f,rscal vears:

67.ls (7) processins times for initial claims processins, initial determinations, and final

67.20 decisions;

67.2t (8) average duration for cases completed; and

67.22 (9) the number of cases remaining open at the close of such year,

67.23 Sec. 27 . Í2688.221NOTICE REOUIREMENTS.

67.24 (a) Each employer must post in a conspicuous place on each of its premises a workplace

6i.zs notice prepared or approved bv the commissioner providing notice of benefits available

6j.26 under this chapter. The required workplace notice must be in Enelish and each lanzuage

67.27 other than Enslish which is the primary lanzuase of five or more employees or independent

67.29 contractors of that workplace. if such notice is available from the department.

6i .zg (b) Each employer must issue to each employee not more than 30 days from the beginning

67.30 date of the

of
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ever is later, the following written information provided or approved by the department in

the primary language of the employee:

(1) an explanation of the availabilitv of family and medical leave benefits provided under

this chapter, includins riehts to reinstatement and continuation of health insurance;

68.1

68.2

68.3

68.4

68.5

68.6

68.7

68.8

68.9

68.r0

68.11

68.12

68.13

68.14

68.15

68.16

68.17

68.18

68.19

68.20

68.21

68.22

68.23

68.24

68.25

68.26

68.27

68.28

68.29

the amount of

the

deductions made the under this

¡/2\ o*^l^-ro*? ium amount and ob licafinnc under this ¡hqnfer'S

(4) the name and mailins address of the employer;

5 the identification nurnber to the the

(O instructions on how to file a claim for family and medical leave benefits;

(7\ the mailins address. e-mail address. and telephone number of the department; and

(8) anv other information required by the department.

Delivery is made when an employee provides written acknowledgment of receipt of the

information. or sisns a statement indicatins the emolovee's refusal to sisn such

acknowledgment.

c Each shall to each contractorwith whom it

at the time such contract is made or, for existing contracts, within 30 days of the effective

date of this section" the followins written information provided or approved by the department

in the self-employed individual's primary language:

(1) the address and telephone number of the department; and

(2) any other information required by the department.

(d) An employer that fails to comply with this subsection may be issued, for a first

violation. a civil penalty of $50 Þer employee and per independent contractor with whom

it has contracted. and for each subsequent violation, a civil penalty of $300 per employee

or self-emoloved individual with whom it has contracted. The employer shall have the

burden of demonstrating compliance with this section.

(e) Emplover notice to an ernployee under this section may be provided in paper or

electronic format. For notice provided in electronic format only, the employer must provide

emplovee access to an emplover-owner computer durine an employee's rezular working

hours to review and print required notices.
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6e.r Sec. 28. 12688.231RELATIONSHIP TO OTHER LEAVE; CONSTRUCTION.

69.2 Subdivision 1. Concurrent leave. An employer may require leave taken under this

6s.3 chapter to run concurrentlv with leave taken for the same purpose under section 1 8 I .941

6s.4 or the Family and Medical Leave Act. United States Code. title 29, sections 2607 to 2654,

6g.s as amended.

69.6 Subd. 2. Construction. Nothing in this chapter shall be construed to

69.7 ( \ allow an I to com lan to exhaust accumulated cì..L r¡anafinn1 êfYìlt

69.8 or personal time before or while taking leave under this chapter;

69.9 12) orohibit an emolover from orovidine additional benef,rts. includine. but not limited

69.10 to. coverins the portion of earninss not orovided under this chapter during periods of leave

69.u covered under this chapter; or

69.12 ¡/?\ limit the arties to a collective lrorcoinina qffêêm ent from lrqrcroinin ct q (tfêêt 1t (tand

êmñ
^r/êf

69.13 with resoect to leave benefits and related procedures and employee protections that meet

69.14 or exceed. and do not otherwise conflict with. the minimum standards and requirements in

6s.ts this chapter.

6s:6 Sec. 29. 1268B..241SMALL BUSINESS ASSISTANICE GRANTS.

69.17 (a) Emolovers with 50 or fewer emplovees may apply to the department for grants under

69.18 this section.

6s.rs lb) The commissioner mav aoDrove a çrarrt of up to $3.000 if the employer hires a

69.2a temporary worker to replace an employee on family or medical leave for a period of seven

69.21 days or more.

69.22 (c) For an emplovee's family or medical leave, the commissioner may approve a grant

6s.23 of up to S1,000 as reimbursement for significant additional wage-related costs due to the

69-24 employee's leave

6s.2s (d) To be elieible for consideration for a grant under this section, the employer must

69.26 orovide the deoartment written documentation showing the temporary worker hired or

69.27 sisnificant wase-related costs incurred are due to an emplovee's use of leave under this

69.29 chapter.

6s.zs le) The srants under this section mav be funded from the account.

69.30 (fl For the purposes of this section, the commissioner shall average the number of

69.3t emplovees reoorted bv an emþloyer over the last four completed calendar quarters to

69.32 determine the size of the employer:
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70.1 (e) An employer who has an approved private plan is not eligible to receive a grant under

70.2 this section.

70.3 ft) The commissioner mav award srants under this section onlv up to a maximum of

70.4 $5,000,000 per calendar year.

Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 290.0132, is amended by adding a subdivision

to read:

Subd. 23. Benefits under chapter 2688. The amount received in benefits under chapter

lo.e Sec. 31. EFFECTM DATES.

70.10 (a) Benefits under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 268B.. shall not be applied for or paid

70.n until January 1. 2022. and thereafter

70.12 (b) Sections 1,2,4,5, and 6 are effective July 1,2019.

70.t3 (c) Section 15 is effective July 7,2020.

70.14 (d) Sections3, 7'/, 18,22,23,24, and26are effective January 1,2021

70.rs (e) Sections 19 and 20 arc effective Julv 7.2021

70.16 (Ð Sections 7, 8, 9, 10, II,12,13,14,16,2I,25,27,28,29, and 30 are effective January

70.17 1,2022.

70.8 2688 is a subtraction.

70.18

70.19

10.20

70.21

70.26

10.21

70.22 Subd. 4. Parents receiving family and medical leave benefîts. A parent who meets

70.23 the criteriaunder subdivision2 andwho receives benefits under chapter 2688 is not required

70.24 to participate in employment servrces

'70.2s Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 256J.95, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

ARTICLE 3

FAMILY AND MEDICAL LEAVE BENEFIT AS EARNINGS

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 256J.561,is amendedby adding a subdivision

to read:

Subd. 3. Eligibitity for diversionary work program. (a) Except for the categories of

family units listed in clauses (1) to (8), all family units who apply for cash benefits and who

meet MFIP eligibility as required in sections 256J.ll to 256J.15 are eligible and must70.28
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partrcþate in the diversionary work program. Family units or individuals that are not eligible

for the diversionary work program include:

ir.3 (1) child only cases;

71.1

71.2

71.4

71.5

71.7

71.8

7t.9

71.10

71.|t

71.t2

7t.13

71.14

7t.ts

71.16

'7 t .19

7t.20

71.21

71.22

'n.23

"11.24

71.26

71.27

7t.28

71.29

71.30

71.6 (3) family units with a minor parent without a high school diploma or its equivalent;

(2) single-parent family units that include a child under 12 months of age. A parent is

eligible for this exception once in a parent's lifetime;

(4) family units with an 18- or l9-year-old caregiver without a high school diploma or

its equivalent who chooses to have an employment plan with an education option;

(5) family units with a caregiver who received DWP benefits within the 12 months prior

to the month the family applied for DW?, except as provided in paragraph (c);

(6) family units with a caregiver who received MFIP within the 12 months prior to the

month the family applied for DWP;

(7) family units with a caregiver who received 60 or more months of TANF assistance;

and

(8) family units with a caregiver who is disqualified from the work participation cash

benefit program, DWP, or MFIP due to fraud,; and

lt.t'I (9) sinele-parent family units where a parent is receivins family and medical leave

?1.18 benefits under chapter 268F,

71.2s Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2078, section 256J.95, subdivision I l, is amended to read:

(b) A two-parent family must participate in DWP unless both caregivers meet the criteria

for an exception under paragraph (a), clauses (1) through (5), or the family unit includes a

parent who meets the criteriainparagraph (a), clause (6), (7), or (8).

(c) Once DWP eligibility is determined, the fourmonths nrn consecutively. If apafücipant

leaves the program for any reason and reapplies during the four-month period, the counfy

must redetermine eligibility for DWP.

Subd. 11. Universal participation required. (a) All DWP caregivers, except caregivers

who meet the criteria in paragraph (d), are required to participate in DWP employment

services. Except as specified in paragraphs (b) and (c), employment plans under DIWP must,

at a minimum, meet the requirements in section 256J.55, subdivision l.

(b) A caregiver who is a member of a two-parent family that is required to participate

in DWP who would otherwise be ineligible for DWP under subdivision 3 may be allowed71.3t
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to develop an employment plan under section 256J.521, subdivision2,that may contain

alternate activities and reduced hours.

(c) A participant who is a victim of family violence shall be allowed to develop an

employment plan under section 256J.527, subdivision 3. A claim of family violence must

be documented by the applicant or participant by providing a sworn statement which is

supported by collateral documentation in section 256J.545, paragraph (b).

(f) The participant and job counselor must meet in the month after the month the child

reaches 12 months of age to revise the participant's employment plan. The employment plan

for a family unit that has a child under 12 months of age that has already used the exclusion

in section 256J .56I must be tailored to recogni ze the caregiving needs of the parent.

state's minimum wage, royalties, honoraria, or other profit from activity that results from

the client's work, service, effort, or labor. The income must be in return for, or as a result

of, legal activity.

72.1

72.2

72.3

12.4

72.5

72.6

72.1

72.8

'12.9

12.10

72.tt

72.12

72.13

72.14

72.15

72.r6

(d) One parent in a two-parent family unit

of€€e is not required to have an employment plan

++ion

if that parent:

(1) receives family and medical leave benefits under chapter 2688: or

(2) has a natural born child under 12 months of age until the child reaches 12 months

of age unless the family unit has already used the exclusion under section 256J.567,

subdivision 3, or the previously allowed child under age one exemption under section

256J.56,parugraph (a), clause (5).

72.17 (e) The provision in paragraph (d) ends the first full month after the child reaches 12

72.18 months of age. This provision is allowable only once in a caregiver's lifetime. In a two-parent

72.rs household, only one parent shall be allowed to use this category.

72.20

72.21

72.22

72.23

72.30

72.31

72.24 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 256P.0I, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

72.25 Subd. 3. Earned income. "Earned income" means cash or in-kind income eamed through

72.26 the receipt of wages, salary, commissions, bonuses, tips, gratuities, profit from employment

72.27 activities, net profit from self-employment activities, payments made by an employer for

72.28 regularþ accrued vacation or sick leave, severance pay based on accrued leave time, benefits

72.29 under 268B from training programs at a rate at or greater than the

72.32

Article 3 Sec.4. 72



04104/19 REVISOR

73.r Sec. 5. EFFECTIVE DÄTES.

73.2 Sections I Io 4 are effective January 1,2022.

SS/BM

ARTICLE 4

ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT POT,TCY

DTVH22O8CR1

fnllnrx¡incr

'73.3

73.4

73.s Section 1. [116J.5451 GETTING TO \ryORK GRANT PROGRAM.

13.6 Subdivision 1. Creation. The commissioner ofemployment and economic development

73.7 shall make grants to nonprofit organizations to establish and operate programs under this

73.8 section that provide,repair, or maintain motor vehicles to assist elieible individuals in

73.s obtaining or maintaining employment. All grants shall be for two years.

73.10 Subd. 2. Qualifïed grantee. A grantee must:

73.tr Q) qualiff under section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code; and

73.12 (2) at the time of application, ofler or have the demonstrated capacíty to offer a motor

73.13 vehicle program that provides the services required under subdivision 3.

73.14 Subd. 3. Program requirements. must offer one or more of the( A nrfì0Tâ1rì

73.15 Sefvlces:

73.16 1 sion of new or used motor vehicles or

73.17 (2) motor vehicle repair and maintenance services; or

73.t8 (3) motor vehicle loans

73.19 (b) In addition to the requirements of paraqraph (a). a prosram must offer one or more

73.20 of the following services:

73.21 (1) financial literacy education;

73.22 education on for vehicle ownershi

73.23 (3) car maintenance and repair instruction;

73.24 (4) credit counseling; or

73.2s (5) job training related to motor vehicle maintenance and repair.

73.26 Subd.4. Application. An application for a grant must be on a form provided by the

73.27 commissioner and on a schedule set by the commissioner. An application must, in addition

i3.zg to any other information required by the commissioner, include the following:

73.29 (1) a detailed description of all services to be offered:

Article 4 Section 1. 73
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74.5

74.6
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74.r4

74.15

74.16

74.17
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74.19

74.20

74.21

74.22

74.23
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74.25

74.26

74.27

74.28

74.29

to:
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(2) the area to be served;

(3) the estimated number of program participants to be served by the grant; and

(4) aplan for leveraging resources from partners that may include but are not limited

(ii) automobile parts dealers;

(iii) independent local mechanics and automobile repair facilities;

1V banks and credit

(v) employers;

V1 and

( lnsurance ôaì7t11ìâfll es and q c¡enfc.

(viii) local workforce centers; and

(ix) educational institutions including vocational institutions and iobs or skills training

programs.

Subd. 5. Participant eligibility. (a) To be elieible to receive orogram servlces. a Defson

must:

(i) automobile dealers;

I have a household income at or below 200 t of the federal level

(2) be at least 18 years ofage;

(3) have a valid driver's license;

(4) provide the grantee with proof of motor vehicle insurance; and

(5) demonstrate to the grantee that amotor vehicle is required by the person to obtain

or maintain employment.

(bl This subdivision does notpreclude a grantee from imposing additional requirements

consistent with paragraph (a) for the receipt of program services.

Subd. 6. Report to legislature. By February 75,2027, and each January 15 in an

odd-numbered year thereafter, the commissioner shall submit a report to the chairs of the

house of representati ves and senate committees with iurisdiction over workforce and

economic development on program outcomes. At a minimum, the

(1) the total number of program

Article 4 Section 1. 74
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75.1 the number of who received each of the

75.2 li) orovision of a motor vehicle:

75.3 (ii) motor vehicle repair services; and

75.4 111 motor vehicle 1

75.5 (3) the number of prosram participants who report that they or their children were able

7s.6 to increase their participation in community activities such as after-school programs, other

7s.7 vouth Drosrams. church or civic sroups. or librarv services as a result of oarticioation in the

75.8 program; and

75.9 Ø\ an analvsis of the impact of the settins to work srant prosram on the emplovment

'7s.r0 rate and wages of program participants.

7s.r1 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 116J.8731, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

7s.r4 proiects that have at least $25,000,000 in caoital investment and 150 new employees. This

ls.rs limit covers all money paid to complete the same project, whether paid to one or more grant

7s.r6 recipients and whether paid in one or more fiscal years. A local community or recognized

7s.t'7 Indian tribal government may retainå} percent, but not more than $ 100,000, of a Minnesota

7s.18 investment fund grant when it is repaid to the local community or recognzed Indian tribal

7s.19 govemment by the person or entity to which it was loaned by the local community or Indian

7s.2t tribal government. Money repaid to the state must be credited to a Minnesota investment

zs.zt revolving loan account in the state treasury. Funds in the account are appropriated to the

7s.22 commissioner and must be used in the same marìner as are funds appropriated to the

'ts.23 Minnesota investment fund. Funds repaid to the state through existing Minnesota investment

7s.24 fund agreements must be credited to the Minnesota investment revolving loan account

7 s .2s effective July 1 , 2005 . A grant or loan may not be made to a person or entity for the operation

7s.26 or expansion of a casino or a store which is used solely or principally for retail sales. Persons

7s.27 or entities receiving grants or loans must pay each employee total compensation, including

7 s.2s benefits not mandated by law, that on an annualizedbasis is equal to at least 110 1 25 percent

7s.29 of the federal poverty level for a family of four.

7s.30 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 1161.8748, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

75.12

75.13

't5.3t

Subd. 5. Grant limits. A Minnesota investment fund grant may not be approved for an

amount in excess of $1,000,000, except that a grant of up to $2,000,000 is allowable for

Subd. 4. Certification; benefits. (a) The commissioner may certifz a Minnesota job

creation fund business as eligible to receive a specif,rc value of benefit under paragraphs (b)75.32
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76.13

76.14

76.15

76.16

76.11

76.18

'76.19

76.24

76.21

76.22

76.23

76.24

76.25

76.26

16.27

76.28

't6.29

76.30

76.31

76.32

04t041t9 REVISOR SS/BM DIVH22O8CR1

and (c) when the business has achieved its job creation and capital investment goals noted

in its agreement under subdivision 3.

(b) A qualified Minnesota job creation fund business may be certified eligible for the

benefits in this paragraph for up to five years for projects located in the metropolitan aÍea

as defined in section 200.02, subdivision24, and seven years for projects located outside

the metropolitan area, as determined by the commissioner when considering the best interests

of the state and local area. Nofwithstanding section 168.98, subdivision 5, paragraph (a),

clause (3), or 168.98, subdivision 5, paragraph (b), grant agreements for projects located

outside the metropolitan areamay be for up to seven years in length. The eligibility for the

following benefits begins the date the commissioner certifies the business as a qualified

Minnesota job creation fund business under this subdivision:

(1) up to five percent rebate for projects located in the metropolitanarea as defined in

section 200.02, subdivision2{,andT.5 percent forprojects located outside the metropolitan

area, on capital investment on qualiffing purchases as provided in subdivision 5 with the

total rebate for a project not to exceed $500,000;

(2) anaward ofup to $500,000 based on full-time job creation and wages paid as provided

in subdivision 6 with the total award not to exceed $500,000;

(3) up to $ 1,000,000 in capital investment rebates and $ 1,000,000 in job creation awards

are allowable for projects that have at least $25,000,000 in capital investment and 200 new

employees in the metropolitan area as defined in section 200.02, subdivision24, artd75

new employees for projects located outside the metropolitan area;

(4) up to $1,000,000 in capital investment rebates are allowable for projects that have

at least $25,000,000 in capitalinvestment and 200 retained employees for projects located

in the metropolit anaÍeaas defined in section 200.02,subdivision24, and75 employees for

projects located outside the metropolitan area; and

(5) for clauses (3) and (4) only, the capital investment expenditure requirements may

include the installation andpurchases of machinery and equipment. These expenditures are

not eligible for the capital investment rebate provided under subdivision 5.

(c) The job creation award may be provided in multiple years as long as the qualified

Mirrnesota job creation fund business continues to meet the job creation goals provided for

in its agreement under subdivision 3 and the total award does not exceed $500,000 except

as provided under paragraph (b), clauses (3) and (a).
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(d) No rebates or award may be provided until the Minnesota job creation fund business

or a third party constructing or managing the project has at least $500,000 in capital

investment in the project and at least ten full-time jobs have been created and maintained

for at least one year or the retained employees, as provided inparagraph (b), clause (4),

remain for at least one year. The agreement may require additional performance outcomes

that need to be achieved before rebates and awards are provided. If fewer retained jobs are

maintained, but still above the minimum under this subdivision, the capital investment

award shall be reduced on a proportionate basis.

(e) The forms needed to be submitted to document performance by the Minnesota job

creation fund business must be in the form and be made under the procedures specified by

the commissioner. The forms shall include documentation and certification by the business

that it is in compliance with the business subsidy agreement, sections 116J.871 and 116L.66,

and other provisions as specified by the commissioner.

(f¡ Minnesota job creation fund businesses must pay each new full-time employee added

pursuant to the agreement total compensation, including benefits not mandated by law, that

on an annualized basis is equal to at least ++Qf2tpercent of the federal poverty level for

a family of four.

(g) A Minnesota job creation fund business must demonstrate reasonable progress on

capital investment expenditures within six months following designation as a Minnesota

job creation fund business to ensure that the capitalinvestment goal in the agreement under

subdivision I will be met. Businesses not making reasonable progress will not be eligible

for benefits under the submitted application and will need to work with the local government

unit to resubmit a new application and request to be a Minnesotajob creation fund business.

Notwithstanding the goals noted in its agreement under subdivision 1, this action shall not

be considered a default of the business subsidy agreement.

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 116J.8748, subdivision 6, is amended to read:

Subd. 6. Job creation award. (a) A qualified Minnesota job creation fund business is

eligible for an annual award for each new job created and maintained by the business using

the following schedule: $1,000 for each job position paying annual wages at least $2ffee

S32,188 but +ess+an-$++9gg no more than $37 707 $2,000 for each job position paying

more than $37 707 but less+hanS45Se0 no more than $47,965 ; and $3,000

foreachjobpositionpaying;andasnotedinthegoa1s
under the agreement provided under subdivision 1r These awards are increased by $1,000

if the business is located outside the metropolitan area as defined in section 200.02,

"t7.26

77.27

77.28

77.29

77.30

71.31

77.32

77.33

77.34
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subdivision24, or if 51 percent of the business is cumulatively owned by minorities, veterans,

women, or persons with a disability.

(b) The job creation award schedule must be adjusted annually using the percentage

increase in the federal poverly level for a family of four.

(c) Minnesota job creation fund businesses seeking an award credit provided under

subdivision 4 must submit forms and applications to the Department of Employment and

Economic Development as prescribed by the commissioner.

Sec. 5. Ill6L.25l PATFIWAYS TO PROSPERITY GRANT PROGRAM.

Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For the purposes of this section, the following terms have

the meanings given.

(b) "Career pathwav" means a career-Íeadiness program, connected to a specific industry

sector. that combines basic skills trainins. education. and support services and results in

either industry-specifi c trainin g or an employer-reco gnized credential.

(c) "Commissioner" meansthe commissionerofemploymentandeconomic development.

fd) "Pathwavs to orosperitv grant program" or "grant program" means the competitive

graîtprogram created in this section.

Subd. 2. Establishment. The commissioner shall establish a pathways to prosperity

srantDrosram to award srants to orsanizations to train adults facing the greatest emplor,¡ment

disparitie s and to assist them in finding emplo'r,rment in high-demand occupations with

lons-term emolovment opoortunities.

Subd. 3. Grant process. (a) The commissioner shall award grants to organizations

through a competitive grant process.

lb) The commissioner shall develop srant-making criteria for the grant program. These

criteria shall include zuidelines for multinle tvoes of career pathwavs. These criteria shall

also consider a program's alignment with the labor market in the community where the

oroaram ooerates and- where aoolicable. a orosram's previous srant oerformance. At least

once every biennium, the commissioner shall consult with workforce development service

oroviders on þrogram criteria and administration.

(c) All reportins requirements for srant recipients shall be outlined in plain language in

both the request for proposal and the grant contract.

(d) The commissioner shall provide applicants with technical assistance with

understanding application procedures and program guidelines.
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Sec.6. [116L.351 INVENTORY OF WORJ(FORCE DEVELOPMENT PROGRAMS.

(a) Bv January 15.2020, and by January 15 of each even-numbered vear thereafter, the

commissioner of employment and economic development must submit a report to the chajrs

of the legislative committees with iurisdiction over workforce development that provides

an inventory of all workforce development programs either provided by or overseen by any

branch of the state of Minnesota.

(b) Programs related to workforce development that must be included in the report

include those that:

1 aÍe funded or state

12) orovide assistance to either businesses or individuals: or

(3) suooort internships. apprenticeships, career and technical education, or any form of

employment training.

\ For each workforce the must incltt¡{o ataã pr¡al nntrr anf rrrncrrqrn rennrf 1nf mì tñ

79.24

79.25

79.26

79.27

79.28

79.29

the followine information:

1 details of costs

(2\ the number of staff,. both within the deoartment and anv outside orsanization;

the number of

(4) a short description of what each program does;

(5) to the extent practical, quantifiable measures of program success;

(O any data necessary to describe the work of the program;

(7) anv data necessary to describe or evaluate the success of the program; and

(8) a plan for how the orosram can best measure its success in a manner useful and

understandable to those responsible for funding the program in the futurrd.

Sec. 7. 111.6L.431METROPOLITAN JOB TRAINING GRANTS.

Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For the pumoses ofthis section, the following terms have

the meanings given.

(b) "Agreement" means the agreement between an employer and the commissioner for

a project.

(c) "Commissioner" meansthe commissionerofemploymentandeconomic development.
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(d) "Disability" has the meanins given under United States Code, title 42, chapter 126

(e) "Employee" means the individual employed in a new job

(fl "Emplover" means the individual, corporation, parürerstrip, limited liability company,

or association providing new iobs and entering into an agreement.

(g) "New iob" means a.iob:

(1) that is provided by a new or expanding business in the manufacturing or technology

industry;

t'r\ that is located within the mofrnnnlif qtl ej?êq as defined under section 473.I21

subdivision 2

(3) that provides at least 32 hours of work per week for a minimum of nine months per

vear and is oermanent with no planned termination date;

(4) that is certified by the commissioner as qualif ing under the program before the first

employee is hired to fill the job; and

(5) for which an employee hired was not:

fi) formerlv emoloved bv the employer in the state; or

(ii) a replacement worker, including a worker newly hired as a result of a labor dispute

(h) "Program" means the proiect or proiects established under this section.

(i) "Prosram costs" means all necessarv and incidental costs of providing program

services, except that program costs are increased by $1,000 per employee for an individual

with a disabilitv. The term does not include the cost of purchasing equipment to be owned

or used by the training or educational institution or service.

(i) "Program services" means training and education specifically directed to new jobs

that are determined to be appropriate by the commissioner, including in-house training;

services provided by institutions of hieher education and federal, state, or local agencies;

or orivate trainine or educational services. Administrative services and assessment and

testing costs are included.

(k) "Project" means a training arrangement that is the subiect of an agreement entered

into between the commissioner and an employer to provide program services

Subd. 2. Service provision. Uoon request. the commissioner shall provide or coordinate

the orovision of prosram services under this section to a business elieible for grants under

Article 4 Sec.7 80
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subdivision 8. The commissioner shall specifi' the form of and required information to be

provided with applications for proiects to be funded with grants under this section.

Subd. 3. Agreements; required terms. (a) The commissioner may enter into an

agreement to establish a proiect with an employer that:

81.1

81.2

8 i.3

81.4

81.5

81.6

81 .7

81.8

81.9

81.10

81.11

8t.72

81.13

81.14

81.15

8 1.16

8i.17

81.18

8 1.19

81.20

81.21

8t.22

81.23

81.24

81.25

81.26

81.27

81.28

81.29

81.30

1 identifies costs to be from sources under the

identifies costs to be the

(3) provides that on-the-job training costs for employees may not exceed 50 percent of

the annual gross wages and salaries of the new jobs in the first fulI year after execution of

the agreement up to a maximum of $10,000 per eligible employee;

(4) provides that each employee must be paid wages at least equal to the median hourly

wage for the county in which the iob is located, as reported in the most recently available

data from the United States Bureau of the Census, plus benefits, by the earlier of the end

of the training period or 18 months of employment under the proiect; and

(5) provides that job training will be provided and the length of time of training.

(b) Before entering into a f,rnal agreement, the commissioner shall

(1) determine that sufficient funds for the proiect are available under subdivision 8: and

(2) investigate the applicability of other training programs and determine whether the

ob skills is a more suitable source of for the

and whether the training can be completed in a timely manner that meets the needs of the

business

The investigationunder clause (2) mustbe completedwithin 15 days or as soon as reasonably

possible after the employer has provided the commissioner with all the requested information.

Subd.4. Grant funds sufficient. The commissioner must not enter into an agreement

under subdivision 3 unless the commissioner determines that sufficient funds are available.

Subd. 5. Grant limit. The maximum grant amount for a proiect is $400,000

Subd. 6. Allocation. The commissioner shall allocate grant funds under subdivision 8

to project applications based on a first-come, first-served basis, determined on the basis of

the commissioner's receipt of a complete application for the proiect, including the provision

of all of the required information. The agreement must specifi¡ the amount of grant funds

available to the employer for each year covered by the agreement.
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Subd. 7. Apnlication fee. The commissioner mav charse each employer an application

fee to cover oart or all of the administrative and lesal costs incurred, not to exceed $500

per employer. The fee is deemed approved under section 16A.1283. The fee is deposited

in the metropolitan iobs training account in the special revenue fund and amounts in the

account are appropriated to the commissioner for the costs of administering the proqram.

The commissioner shall refund the fee to the employer if the application is denied because

Drosram fundine is unavailable.

Subd. 8. Grants; recovery of program costs. Amounts paid by employers for program

costs are repaid by a metropolitan iob training grant equal to the lesser of the followine

(1) the amount of program costs specified in the agreement for the proiect; or

Q) Ihe amount of prosram costs paid bv the employer for new employees under a proiect.

Subd.9. Reports. (a) Bv February I,2022, and each February 1 thereafter, the

commissioner shall report to the governor and the legislature on the program. The report

must include at least:

(1) the amount of grants issued under the program;

(2) the number of individuals receiving training under the program, including the number

of new hires who are individuals with disabilities

(3) the number of new hires attributable to the program, including the number of new

hires who are individuals with disabilities;

(4) an analysis of the effectiveness of the grant in encouraging employment; and

(5) anv other information the commissioner determines appropriate

(b) The report to the legislature must be distributed as provided in section 3.195.

s2.23 Sec. 8. Ill6L.9761l MINNESOTA CALL CENTER JOBS ACT.

82.24 Sections II6L.9762to 1t6L.9766 shall be known as the "Minnesota Call Center Jobs

Bz.z5 Act."

82.26 EFFECTIVE DÄTE. This section is effective 180 days after final enactment

82.27 Sec. 9. Ill6L.9762l DEFINITIONS.

B2.zB Subdivision 1. Application. For the purposes of sections 116L.9762 to 116L.9766, the

82.29 terms defined in this section have the meanings given them.

82.30 Subd.2. Agency. "Agency" means a state department under section 15.01.

Article 4 Sec. 9 82
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83.1 Subd. 3. Business entitv. "Business entity" means any organization, corporation, trust,

93.2 oartnership" sole proprietorship. unincorporated association, or venture established to make

83.3 a orofit. in whole or in oart. bv pumosefullv availine itself of the privilese of conductins

83.4 commerce in Minnesota.

83.s Subd. 4. Calt center. "Call center" means afaclliV or other operation with employees

83.6 who receive incoming telephone calls, e-mail, or other electronic communications for the

83.7 purpose of providing customer assistance or other servlce.

83.8 Subd. 5. Commissioner. "Commissioner" means the commissioner of emplor¡ment and

83.9 economic development.

83.10 Subd. 6. Emplover. "Employer" means a business entemrise that employs, for the

83.1l purpose of customer service or back-office operations:

83.12 (1) 50 or more employees, excluding part-time employees; or

83.13 (2) 50 or more employees who, in the aggregate, work at least 1,500 hours per week,

83.14 exclusive of hours of overtime.

83.15 Subd. 7. Part-time emplovee. "Part-time employee" means an employee who is employed

83.16 for an average of fewer than2D hours per week or who has been employed for fewer than

83. 1 7 six of the 1 2 months preceding the date on which notice is required under section 1I6L.97 63 .

83.18 Subd. 8. Relocating; relocation. "Relocating" or "relocation" means the closure of a

83.19 call center, the cessation of operations of a call center, or one or more facilities or operating

83.20 units within a call center comprising at least 30 percent of the call center's or operating unit's

83.21 total volume when measured against the previous l2-month average call volume of operations

s3.22 or substantially similar operations, to a location outside of the United States.

s3.23 EFFECTM DATE. This section is effective 180 days after final enactment

83.24 Sec. 10. Ill6L.9763l CALL CENTER RELOCATIONS.

B3.zs (a) An employer must notifu the commissioner if it intends to relocate from Minnesota

83.26 to a foreign country either of the following:

83.27 (1) a call center; or

83.28 (2) one or more facilities or operating units within a call center that comprise at least 30

83.29 percent of the call center's or operating unit's total volume when measured against the

83.30 previous l2-month average call volume of operations or substantially similar operations
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ft) The notification required under parugraph (a) must be given at least 120 days before

the relocation is to occur,

(c) An employer that violates paragraph (a) is subiect to a civil penalty not to exceed

$10,000 for each day of the violation, except that the commissioner may reduce the amount

for just cause shown.

(d) The commissioner shall compile a semiannual list of all employers that relocate a

call center, or one or more facilities or operating units within a caII center comprising at

least 30 percent of the call center's total volume of operations, from the United States to a

84.1

84.2

84.3

84.4

84.5

84.6

84.',7

84.8

84.9

84.10

foreign country, and distribute the list to all agencies.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective 180 days after final enactment

84.u Sec. 11. t116L.97641 GRANTS: LOANS: SUBSIDIES.

84.12 (a) Except as provided in paragraph (b) and notwithstanding any other provision of law,

84.13 an employer that appears on the list prepared under section 1I6L.9763 shall be ineligible

84.14 for any direct or indirect state grants or state guaranteed loans for five years after the date

84.1s the employer is placed on the list.

84.16 (b) Except as provided in paragraph (c) and notwithstanding any other provision of law,

B4.ti an employer that appears on the list prepared under section 116L.9763 shall remit to the

84.18 commissioner of management and budget the unamortizedvalue of any grants, guaranteed

84.19 loans, tax benefits, or other govefirmental support it has previously received.

84.20 (c) The commissioner ofmanagement and budget, in consultation with the commissioner

84.21 of the agency providing or administering the public subsidy, may waive the inelieibilitv

84.22 requirementunder Þaragrwh(a) ifthe employerapplying forthe loan or grantdemonstrates

s4.23 that not having the loan or grant would threaten national security, result in substantial iob

94.24 loss in Minnesota, or harm the environment.

84.2s EFFECTM DATE. This section is effective 180 days after final enactment

84.26 Sec. 12. t116L.9765ì PROCUREMEI\T.

84.27 The commissioner of each agency shall ensure that all state business related call center

84.28 and customer service work be performed by state contractors or their agents or subcontractors

84.29 entirely within Minnesota. State contractors who currently perform work outside Mir¡resota

84.30 shall have two years following the effective date of this act to comply with this section.

84.31 Any new call center or customer service employees hired by the contractor durine the

84.32 compliance period under this section must be employed in Minnesota.
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85.1 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective 180 days after final enactment

REVISOR SS/BM DIVH22O8CRl

Sec. 13. 1116L.9766ì EMPLOYEE BENEFITS.

Nothins in sections ll6L.9762to 1I6L.9766 shall be construed to permit the withholding

or denial of compensation, or benefits under any other state law including state

unemployment compensation, disability payments, or worker retraining or readjustment

funds. to employees of employers that relocate to a foreign country,

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective 180 days after f,rnal enactment

Sec. 14. Laws 2017, chapter 94, afücle 1, section 2, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Workforce Development $ 31,498,000 $ 30,231,000

General

Workforce
Development

Appropriations by Fund

$6,239,000 $5,889,000

925,259,000 s24,342,000

(a) $500,000 each year is for the

youth-at-work competitive gtant program

under Minnesota Statutes, section 116L.562.

Of this amount, up to five percent is for

administration and monitoring of the youth

workforce development competitive grant

program. All grant awards shall be for two

consecutive years. Grants shall be awarded in

the first year. In fiscal year 2020 and beyond,

the base amount is $750,000.

(b) $250,000 each year is for pilot programs

in the workforce service areas to combine

career and higher education advising.

(c) $500,000 each year is for rural career

counseling coordinator positions in the

workforce service areas and for the purposes

specified in Minnesota Statutes, section

I16L.667. The commissioner of employment

and economic development, in consultation

with local workforce investment boards and

85.2

85.3

85.4

85.s

8s.6

85.7

85.8

85.9

85.10

85.11

85.12

85.13

85.14

85.15

85.16

8s.17

85.18

85.19

85.24

8s.21

85.22

85.23

85.24

85.25

85.26

85.27

85.28

85.29

8s.30

85.31

8s.32

85.33
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86.1

86.2

86.3

86.4

local elected officials in each of the service

areas receiving funds, shall develop a method

of distributing funds to provide equitable

services across workforce service areas.

(1) increase construction industry exposure

activities for middle school and high school

youth, parents, and counselors to reach amore

diverse demographic and broader statewide

audience. This requirement includes, but is

not limited to, an expansion of programs to

provide experience in different crafts to youth

and young adults throughout the state;

(2) increase the number of high schools in

Minnesota offering construction classes during

the academic year thatvtilize a multicraft

curriculum;

(3) increase the number of summer internship

opportunities;

(4) enhance activities to support graduating

seniors in their efforts to obtain employment

in the construction industry;

(5) increase the number of young adults

employed in the construction industry and

ensure that they reflect Minnesota's diverse

workforce; and

86.s (d) $1,000,000 each year is for a grant to the

86.6 Construction Careers Foundation for the

86.7 construction career pathway initiative to

86.8 provide year-round educational and

86.9 experiential learning opporfunities for teens

86.10 andyoung adults underthe age of21 thatlead

86.11 to careers in the construction industry. This is

86.12 a onetime appropriation. Grant funds must be

86.13 used to:

86.14

86.15_

86.16

86.17

86.r8

86.19

86.20

86.21

86.22

86.23

86.24

86.25

86.26

86.27

86.28

86.29

86.30

86.31

86.32

86.33

86.34
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87.1

87.2

87.3

87.4

87.5

87.6

87.7

87.8

87.9

87.r0

87.11

87.r2

87.13

87.14

87.15

87.16

87.17

87.18

87.r9

87.20

87.21

87.22

87.23

87.24

87.25

(6) enhance an industrywide marketing

campaign targeted to youth and young adults

about the depth and breadth of careers within

the construction industry.

Programs and services supported by grant

funds must give priority to individuals and

groups that are economically disadv arttaged

or historically underrepresented in the

construction industry, including but not limited

to women, veterans, and members of minority

and immigrant groups.

(e) $ 1,539,000 each year from the general fund

and $4,604,000 each year from the workforce

development fund are for the Pathways to

Prosperity adult workforce development

competitive grant progmm. Of this amount,

up to four percent is for administration and

monitoring of the program. When awarding

grants under this paragraph, the commissioner

of employment and economic development

may give preference to any previous grantee

with demonstrated success injob training and

placement for hard-to-train individuals. In

fiscal year 2020 and beyond, the general fund

base amount for this program is $4,039,000.

87.26 (Ð $750,000 each year is for a competitive

87.27 granlprogram to provide grants to

87.2s organizations that provide support services for

Bl.zs individuals, such as job training, employment

87.30 preparation, internships, job assistance to

87.3r fathers, financial literacy, academic and

87.32 behavioral interventions forlow-performing

87.33 students, andyouth intervention. Grants made

8i.34 under this section must focus on low-income

87.3s communities, young adults from families with
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a history of intergenerational poverty, and

communities of color. Of this amount, up to

four percent is for administration and

monitoring ofthe program. úr fiscal year2020

and beyond, the base amount is $1,000,000.

(g) $500,000 each year is for the women and

high-wage, high-demand, nontraditional jobs

grant progrcm under Minnesota Stafutes,

section I16L.99. Of this amount, up to five

percent is for administration and monitoring

of the progpm. In fiscal year 2020 and

beyond, the base amount is $750,000.

(h) $500,000 each year is for a competitive

grant program for grants to organizations

providing services to relieve economic

disparities in the Southeast Asian community

through workforce recruitment, development,

job creation, assistance of smaller

organizations to increase capacily, and

outreach. Of this amount, up to five percent

is for administration and monitoring of the

program. In fiscal year 2020 and beyond, the

base amount is $1,000,000.

(Ð $250,000 each year is for a grant to the

American Indian Opportunities and

Industriali zalionCenter, in collaboration with

the Northwest Indian Community

Development Center, to reduce academic

disparities for American Indian students and

adults. This is a onetime appropriation. The

grant funds may be used to provide:

(1) student tutoring and testing support

services;

(2) training in information technology;

REVISOR SS/BM DTVH22O8CR1

88. I

88.2

88.3

88.4

88.s

88.6

88.7

88.8

88.9

88.10

88.11

88.12

88.1 3

88.14

88.15

88.16

88.17

88.18

88.19

88.20

88.21

88.22

88.23

88.24

88.2s

88.26

88.27

88.28

88.29

88.30

88.31

88.32

88.33

88.34
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8e.t (3) assistance in obtaining a GED;

Bs.z (4) remedial training leading to enrollment in

89.3 a postsecondary higher education institution;

89.4 (5) real-time work experience in information

8e.5 technology fields; and

8e.6 (6) contextualized adult basic education.

89.7 After notification to the legislature, the

B9.B commissioner may transfer this appropriation

89.9 to the commissioner of education.

8e.10 (i) S100,000 each year is for the getting to

89.11 work grantprogram. This is a onetime

ss.tz appropriation and is available until June 30,

Be.r3 2021.

ss.t4 (k) $525,000 each year is from the workforce

8e.1s development fund for a grant to the YWCA

8e.16 of Minneapolis to provide economically

Bs.t7 challenged individuals the job skills training,

89.18 career counseling, and job placement

89.19 assistance necessary to secure a child

Bs.zo development associate credential and to have

Bs.2r acareer path in early childhood education.

Bs:2 This is a onetime appropriation.

89.23

89.24

89.2s

89.26

89.27

89.28

89.29

89.30

89.31

89.32

89.33

89.34

(l) $ 1,350,000 each year is from the workforce

development fund for a grant to the Minnesota

High Tech Association to support

SciTechsperience, a program that supports

science, technology, engineering, and math

(STEM) internship opportunities for two- and

four-year college students and graduate

students in their field of study. The internship

opportunities must match students with paid

internships within STEM disciplines at small,

for-prof,rt companies located in Minnesota,

having fewer than250 employees worldwide.
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e0.1 At least 300 students must be matched in the

s0.2 first year and at least 350 students must be

90.3 matched in the second year. No more than 15

sa.4 percent ofthe hires maybe graduate students.

90.s Selected hiring companies shall receive from

90.6 the grant 50 percent of the wages paid to the

s0: intern, capped at $2,500 per intern. The

90.8 program must work toward increasing the

90.9 participation of women or other underserved

e0.10 populations. This is a onetime appropriation.

REVISOR SS/BN. DIVH22O8CRl

90.11

90.12

90.13

90.r4

90.15

90.16

90.17

90.1 8

90.19

90.20

90.2t

90.22

(m) 5450,000 each year is from the workforce

development fund for grants to Minnesota

Diversified Industries, Inc. to provide

progressive development and employment

opportunities for people with disabilities. This

is a onetime appropriation.

(n) $500,000 each year is from the workforce

development fund for a grant to Resource, Inc.

to provide low-income individuals career

education andjob skills training that are fully

integrated with chemical and mental health

services. This is a onetime appropriation.

e0.23 (o) $750,000 each year is from the workforce

90.24 development fund for a grantto the Minnesota

s0.2s Alliance ofBoys and Girls Clubs to administer

s0.26 a statewide project of youth job skills and

s0.2i career development. This project, which may

90.28 have career guidance components including

s0.2s health and life skills, is designed to encourage,

90.30 train, and assist youth in early access to

90.31 education and job-seeking skills, work-based

90.32 learning experience including careerpathways

90.33 in STEM learning, career exploration and

s0.34 matching, and first job placement through

90.3s local community partnerships and on-site job
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opporhrnities. This grant requires a 25 percent

match from nonstate resources. This is a

onetime appropriation.

þ) $215,000 each year is from the workforce

development fund for grants to Big Brothers,

Big Sisters of the Greater Twin Cities for

workforce readiness, employment exploration,

and skills development for youth ages 12 to

2l.Thegrant must serve youth in the Twin

Cities, Central Minnesota, and Southern

Minnesota Big Brothers, Big Sisters chapters.

This is a onetime appropriation.

(q) $250,000 each year is from the workforce

development fund for a grant to YWCA St.

Paul to provide job training services and

workforce development programs and

services, including job skills training and

counseling. This is a onetime appropriation.

(r) $ 1,000,000 each year is from the workforce

development fund for a grant to EMERGE

Community Development, in collaboration

with communify partners, for services

targeting Minnesota communities with the

highest concentrations of African and

Afücan-American joblessness, based on the

most recent census bracl. data, to provide

employment readiness training, credentialed

training placement, job placement and

retention services, supportive services for

hard-to-employ individuals, and a general

education development fast track and adult

diploma program. This is a onetime

appropriation.

(s) $ 1,000,000 each year is from the workforce

development fund for a grant to the

REVISOR SS/BM DIVH22O8CR1

9t.l

91.2

91.3

9t.4

91.5

91.6

91.7

9r.8

91.9

91.10

91.11

91.12

91.13

9r.14

91.15

91.16

9r.t7

91.18

91.r9

91.20

9t.21

91.22

91.23

91.24

91.25

91.26

9t.2"1

9t.28

9t.29

91.30

91.31

91.32

91.33

91.34

91.35

Article 4 Sec. 14. 91



04104119 REVISOR SS/BN/\ DIVH22O8CR1

92.1

92.2

92.3

92.4

92.s

92.6

92.7

92.8

92.9

92.10

92.rt

92.12

92.t3

92.14

92.15

92.16

92.17

92.18

92.19

92.20

92.21

oa 11

92.23

92.24

92.25

92.26

92.27

92.28

92.29

92.30

92.31

92.32

92.33

92.34

92.35

Minneapolis Foundation for a strategic

intervention program designed.to target and

connect progrcm participants to meaningful,

sustainable living-wage employment. This is

a onetime appropriation.

(t) $750,000 each year is from the workforce

development fund for a grant to Latino

Communities United in Service (CLUES) to

expand culturally tailored programs that

address employment and education skill gaps

for working parents and underserved youth by

providing new job skills training to stimulate

higher wages for low-income people, family

support systems designed to reduce

intergenerational poverfy, and youth

programming to promote educational

advancement and career pathways. At least

50 percent of this amount must be used for

programming targeted at greater Minnesota.

This is a onetime appropriation.

(u) $600,000 each year is from the workforce

development fund for a grant to Ujamaa Place

for job training, employment preparation,

internships, education, training in the

construction trades, housing, and

organizational capacity building. This is a

onetime appropriation.

(v) $I,297,000 in the first year and $800,000

in the second year are from the workforce

development fund for performance gtants

under Minnesota Statutes, section 1I6J.8747,

to Twin Cities RISE to provide training to

hard-to-train individuals. Of the amounts

appropriated,$497,000 in fiscal year 2018 is

for a grant to Twin Cities R!SE, in
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93.1

93.2

93.3

93.4

93.s

93.6

93.7

93.8

93.9

93.10

93.11

93.12

93.13

93.1,4

93.15

93.16

93.17

93.18

93.r9

93.20

93.21

93.22

93.23

93.24

93.25

93.26

93.27

93.28

93.29

93.30

93.3t

93.32

93.33

93.34

93.35

collaborationwith Meho Transit and Hennepin

Technical College for the Metro Transit

technician training program. This is a onetime

appropriation and funds are available until

June 30, 2020.

(w) $230,000 in fiscal year 2018 is from the

workforce development fund for a grant to the

Bois Forte Tribal Employment Rights Offrce

(TERO) for an American Indian workforce

development training pilot project. This is a

onetime appropriation and is available until

June 30, 2019. Funds appropriated the first

yeat are available for use in the second year

of the biennium.

(x) $40,000 in fiscal year 2018 is from the

workforce development fund for a grantto the

Cook County Higher Education Board to

provide educational prograrnming and

academic support services to remote regions

in northeastern Minnesota. This appropriation

is in addition to other funds previously

appropriated to the board.

(y) $250,000 each year is from the workforce

development fund for a grant to Bridges to

Healthcare to provide career education,

wraparound support services, and job skills

training in high-demand health care f,relds to

low-income parents, nonnative speakers of

English, and other hard-to-train individuals,

helping families build secure pathways out of

poverty while also addressing worker

shortages in one of Minnesota's most

innovative industries. Funds may be used for

program expenses, including, but not limited

to, hiring instructors and navigators; space
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s4.r rental; and supportive services to help

94.2 participants attend classes, including assistance

94.3 with course fees, child care, transportation,

94.4 and safe and stable housing. In addition, up to

s4.s five percent of grant funds may be used for

94.6 Bridges to Healthcare's administrative costs.

94.7 This is a onetime appropriation and is

s4.B available until June 30,2020.

REVISOR SSIBI\ DIVH22O8CRl

94.9

94.10

94.11

94.12

94.r3

94.14

94.15

94.16

94.17

94.18

94.19

94.20

94.21

94.22

94.23

94.24

94.25

94.26

94.27

94.28

94.29

94.30

94.31

94.32

94.33

94.34

94.35

(z) $500,000 each year is from the workforce

development fund for a grantto the Nonprofits

Assistance Fund to provide capacity-building

grants to small, culturally specific

organizationsthatprimarilyservehistorically

underserved cultural communities. Grants may

only be awarded to nonprofit organizations

that have an annual organizational budget of

less than $500,000 and are culturally specific

or garizations that primari ly s erve hi storical ly

underserved cultural communities. Grant funds

awarded must be used foi':

( 1 ) organizational infrastructure improvement,

including developing database management

systems and financial systems, or other

administrative needs thàt increase the

organization's ability to access new funding

sources;

(2) organi zational workforce development,

including hiring culturally competent staff,

training and skills development, and other

methods of increasing staffcapacity; or

(3) creation or expansion ofpartnerships with

existing organizations that have specialized

expertise in order to increase the capacity of

the grantee organization to improve services

for the community. Of this amount, up to five
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95.r

9s.2

9s.3

95.4

9s.s

95.6

95.7

95.8

9s.9

95.10

9s.11

95.12

95.13

9s.14

95.15

95.16

95.17

95.18

95.r9

95.20

95.21

95.22

95.23

95.24

95.25

9s.26

95.2',1

95.28

95.29

95.30

95.3t

9s.32

95.33

95.34

percent may be used by the Nonprofits

Assistance Fund for administration costs and

providing technical assistance to potential

grantees. This is a onetime appropriation.

(aa) $4,050,000 each year is from the

workforce development fund for the

Minnesota youth program under Minnesota

Statutes, sections 116L.56 and 116L.561.

(bb) $1,000,000 eachyear is from the

workforce development fund for the

youthbuild program under Minnesota Statutes,

sections 116L.361 to 116L.366.

(cc) $3,348,000 each year is from the

workforce development fund for the "Youth

at Work" youth workforce development

competitive grant program. Of this amount,

up to five percent is for administration and

monitoring of the youth workforce

development competitive grant program. All

graît awards shall be for two consecutive

years. Grants shall be awarded in the firstyear.

(dd) $500,000 each year is from the workforce

development fund for the Opportunities

Industriali zation C enter pro grams.

(ee) $750,000 each year is from the workforce

development fund for a grant to Summit

Academy OIC to expand its contextualized

GED and employment placement program.

This is a onetime appropriation.

(tr) S500,000 each year is from the workforce

development fund for a grant to

Goodwill-Easter Seals Minnesota and its

partners. The grant shall be used to continue

the FAIHER Project in Rochester, Park

Article 4 Sec. 14. 95



041041t9 REVISOR SS/BI\, DIVH22O8CR1

96.t

96.2

96.3

96.4

96.s

96.6

96.7

96.8

96.9

96.10

96.11

96.12

96.13

96.14

96.15

96.16

96.r7

96.18

96,r9

96.20

96.21

96.22

96.23

96.24

96.2s

96.26

96.27

96.28

96.29

96.30

96.31

96.32

96.33

96.34

96.3s

Rapids, St. Cloud, Minneapolis, and the

surrounding areas to assist fathers in

overcoming barriers that prevent fathers from

supporting their children economically and

emotionally. This is a onetime appropriation.

(gg) $150,000 each year is from the workforce

development fund for displaced homemaker

programs under Minnesota Statutes, section

l16L.96. The commissioner shall distribute

the funds to existing nonprofit and state

displaced homemaker programs. This is a

onetime appropriation.

(hhxl) $150,000 in fiscal year 2018 is from

the workforce development fund for a grant

to Anoka County to develop and implement

a pilot program to increase competitive

employment opportunities for transition-age

youth ages 18 to 21.

(2) The competitive employment for

transition-age youth pilot program shall

include career guidance components, including

health and life skills, to encourage,train, and

assist transition-age youth in job-seeking

skills, worþlace orientation, and job site

knowledge.

(3) In operating the pilot program, Anoka

County shall collaborate with schools,

disability providers, jobs and training

or ganizations, voc ati onal rehab ilitation

providers, and employers to build upon

opportunities and services, to prepare

transition-age youth for competitive

employment, and to enhance employer

connections that lead to employment for the

individuals served.
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97.1

97.2

91.3

97.4

91.s

97.6

97.7

97.8

97.9

97.10

97.11

97.12

97.13

97.14

97.15

97.t6

9"t.17

97.r8

97.19

97.20

97.21

97.22

97.23

91.24

97.25

97.26

97.27

97.28

97.29

97.30

97.31

97.32

97.33

97.34

97.35

(4) Grant funds may be used to create an

on-the-job training incentive to encourage

employers to hire and train qualiffing

individuals. A participating employer may

receive up to 50 percent of the \¡/ages paid to

the employee as a cost reimbursement for

on-the-job training provided.

(iÐ $500,000 each year is from the workforce

development fund for rural career counseling

coordinator positions in the workforce service

areas and for the purposes specified in

Minnesota Statutes, section 116L.667 . The

commissioner of employment and economic

development, in consultation with local

workforce investment boards and local elected

officials in each ofthe service areas receiving

funds, shall develop a method of distributing

funds to provide equitable services across

workforce service areas.

0j) In calendar year 2017, the public utility

subject to Minnesota Statutes, section

1I6C.7 7 9,must withhold $ 1,000,000 from the

funds required to fulfrll its financial

commitments under Minnesota Statutes,

section llíC.TTg,subdivision 1, andpay such

amounts to the commissioner of employment

and economic development for deposit in the

Minnesota 2 1 st century fund under Minnesota

Statutes, section II6J.423.

(kk) $350,000 in fiscal year20l8 is for agrant

to AccessAbility Incorporated to provide job

skills training to individuals who have been

released from incarceration for a felony-level

offense and are no more thanl2 months from

the date of release. AccessAbility Incorporated
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98.1 shall annually report to the commissioner on

gg.z how the money was spent and the results

98.3 achieved. The report must include, at a

sB.4 minimum, information and data about the

e8.5 number of participants; participant

98.6 homelessness,emplo¡rment,recidivism,and

9s.7 child support compliance; and training

98.8 provided to program participants.

e8.e EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective retroactively from July 1, 2017

Sec. 15. PLAN TO ADDRESS BARRIERS TO EMPLOYMENT.

The commissioner of employment and economic development must consult with the

commissioners ofhealth and human services and stakeholders in order to identi& the barriers

that people with mental illness face in obtaining emplor,¡ment and all current programs that

assist people with mental illness in obtainins emolovment. Stakeholders shall includeoeople

with mental illness and their families, mental health advocates, mental health providers,

and employers. The commissioner of employment and economic development shall submit

a detailed plan to the legislative committees with iurisdiction over employment and human

services before February 1,2020, identifuine the barriers to emplovment and makins

recoÍtmendations on how to best improve the employment rate among people with mental

illness

Sec. 16. INNOVATIONS rN SPECIAL EDUCATTON EMPLOYMENT (rSEE)

PILOT PROJECT.

Subdivision 1. DefTnitions. (a) For the purposes of this section, the terms in this

subdivision have the meanings given.

(b) "Commissioner" means the commissioner of emolor¡ment and economic development.

(c) "Eligible provider" means an organization currently eligible to provide services

through the extended employment program under Minnesota Statutes, section 268A.15.

(d) "Eligible student" means:

98.10

98.11

98.12

98.13

98.14

98.15

98.1 6

98.17

98.18

98.r9

98.20

98.21

98.22

98.23

98.24

98.2s

98.26

98.27

98.28

98.29

98.30
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99.1,

99.2

99.3

99.4

99.s

99.6

99.7

99.8

99.9

99.10

99.11

99.12

99.t3

99.14

99.i5

99.16

99.17

99.18

99.19

99.20

99.21

99.22

99.23

99.24

99.2s

99.26

99.27

99.28

99.29

99.30

99.31

99.32
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Q\ an individual under the ase of 25 who has graduated from secondary school after

receiving special instruction under Minnesota Statutes, section I25A.03, but has not had

competitive wage employment in an integrated community setting.

(e) "Pilot" means the innovations in special education employment (ISEE) pilot project

established under this section.

Subd. 2. Establishment. The commissioner shall establish an innovations in special

education emplor,¡ment ûSEE) pilot proiect designed to transition special education graduates

into

Subd. 3. Services. Elisible providers wishing to participate in the pilot must notifu the

commissioner. on a form designated by the commissioner, ofthe intent to provide an eligible

student with one of the following services:

(1) comprehensive iob preparation training that must provide an eligible student with at

least 20 hours in a classroom setting, resume preparation, and assistance in establishing a

bank account;

(2) iob shadowing experiences where eligible students can observe at least 30 hours of

workplace activity for a iob similar to one the eligible student might be hired for. Eligible

1n

shall facilitate to and from the

placement services to match elieible students with appropriate

for the 1e

and

(3)

emplovment payins at least the minimum wage in an integrated community setting. Eligible

providers shall suooort such placements with training for the employer and the eligible

student, both before and after hiring, to foster success

Subd. 4. Payments. Eligible providers may apply to the commissioner, on a form

designated by the commissioner, for the following payments for performance

(1) $1,000 for each elieible student certified to have completed the services under

subdivision 3. clause l1):

(2) $1,000 for each elieible student certified to have completed the services un4q!

subdivision 3, clause (2); and

(3) S3.000 for each elieible student certified to have completed 90 days of employment

after receiving thç services under subdivision 3, clause (3)

Subd. 5. Forms. Bv October t.2019. the commissioner must make available the forms

necessary for elieible oroviders to participate in the pilot. These must include:
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100.1 (l) a form to notifu the commissioner of the intent to provide an eligible student with a

100.2 service under subdivision 3; and

roo.3 (2) a form to certifu to the commissioner that an eligible student from clause (1) was

too.4 provided the service under subdivision 3, and to apply for payment for performance of that

100.s service under subdivision 4.

100.6 Sec. 17. MINNESOTA INNOVATION COLLABORATIVE.

100.7 Subdivision 1. Establishment. The Minnesota Innovation Collaborative is established

100.8 within the Business and Communitv Development Division of the Department of

100.9 Employment and Economic Development to encourage and support the development of

100.10 new private sector technologies and support the science and technology policies under

t00.ll Minnesota Statutes. section 3.222. The Minnesota Innovation Collaborative must provide

100.12 entreoreneurs and emersins technolosv-based companies business development assistance

r00.13 and f,rnancial assistance to spur growth.

100.14 Subd. 2. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the terms defured in this subdivision

100.15 have the meanings given.

100.16 (b) "Advisory board" means the board established under subdivision 11.

100.17 (c) "Commissioner" meansthe commissionerofemploymentandeconomic development.

100.18 (d) "Department" means the Department of Employment and Economic Development.

100.19 (e) "Entrepreneur" means a Minnesota resident who is involved in establishing a business

100.20 entity and secures resources directed to its growth while bearing the risk of loss

roo.21 (Ð "GreaterMinnesota" means the area of Minnesota located outside of the metropolitan

t00.22 area as defined in section 473.I21 subdivision 2.

too.23 (e) "High technolo gv" includes aerospace, agriculfural processing, renewable energy,

t00.24 energv efficiency and conservation, environmental engineering, food technology, cellulosic

t00.2s ethanol. information technology, materials science technology, nanotechnology,

ña.26 telecommunications" biotechnology. medical device products, pharmaceuticals, diagnostics,

r00.2i biolosicals. chemistrv. veterinarv science. and similar fields

100.28 (h) "Institution ofhieher education" has the meaning given in Minnesota Statutes, section

1oo.2s 136A.28, subdivision 6.

100.30 ( Itl\¡finorifv t1ì member" means aUnited States citizenwho is

100.31 Black, Hispanic, orNative American.

Article 4 Sec. 17. 100
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-owned business" means a business for which one or more minority group101.1

101.2

101.3

101.4

101.5

101.6

101.7

101.8

101.9

101.10

101.11

1 own at least 50 of the business in the case of a owned

own at least 51 percent of the stock; and

(2\ manaee the business and control the daily business operations.

(k) "Research and development" means any activity that is:

intensive studv directed toward greater knowledee or understanding

(2) a systematic studv directed soecificallv toward aoolvine new knowledee to meet a

recognized need; or

a ofknow toward the of useful

(1) a

of the subiect studies:

101.12 devices, systems and methods, including design, development and improvement ofprototypes

r01.r3 and new processes to meet specific requirements.

101.14 (1) "Start-up" means a business entity that has been in operation for less than ten years,

101.1s has operations in Minnesota. and is in the development stage defined as devoting substantially

101.16 all of its efforts to establishing a new business and either of the following conditions exists:

101.17 (1) planned principal operations have not commenced; or

101.18 Q\ olanned princioal ooerations have commenced, but have generated less than

ro1.re $1 000 000 in revenue.

101.20 (m) "Technolosy-related assistance" means the application andutilization of

t0t.2r technological-information and technologies to assist in the development and production of

t0t.z2 new technolosv-related products or services or to increase the productivity or otherwrse

101.23 enhance the production or delivery of existing products or services.

rot.24 (n) "Trade association" means a nonprofit membership organizationorganzedto promote

101.2s businesses and business conditions and having an election under Internal Revenue Code

10r.26 section 501(cX3) or 501(cX6).

t0r.2t lo) "'Women" means Dersons of the female gender.

101.28 (p) "Women-owned business" means a business for which one or more women:

101.2s (1) own at least 50 percent of the business or, in the case of a publicly owned business,

101.30 own at least 5l percent of the stock; and

t0t.3t (2\ manase the business and control the daily business operations.
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102.t Subd. 3. Duties. The Minnesota Innovation Collaborative shall

tlz.z 11) suooort innovation and initiatives desisned to accelerate the growth of high-technology

102.3 start-ups in Minnesota;

t02.4 (2) offer classes and instructional sessions on how to start a hish-tech and innovative

to2.s start-up;

102.6 /r2\ ^*^-^fa activities for ont¡onranarlrq and investors racqr¡lin r¡ the state's ttr^\r/l11 (t

102.7 innovationeconomv:

102.8 14) hold events and meetines that sather key stakeholders in the state's innovation sector;

102.s (Ð conduct outreach and education on innovation activities and related financial programs

102.10 available from the department and other organizations, particularly for underserved

102.r1 communities;

t02.t2 ¡'6\ irrteractand collaborate with statewide nqtfners irrnfirrlino butnotlimitedto lrrrcincccec

lû2.13 nonproflts" trade associations, and hieher education institutions;

102.r4 t'7\ administer an or{-rio^^t board to assist with ãironfinn mqnf qnn lication

102.1 s program evaluation, report development, and parbrerships;

102.16 (8) commission research in partnership with the University ofMinnesota and Minnesota

toz.tl State Colleees and Universities to studv innovation and its impacts on the state's economy

102.18 with emphasis on thq state's labor market;

t02.ts 19) acceot srant aoplications under subdivisions 5 and 6 and work with the advisory

r0z.z0 boardto evaluatethe applications andprovide fundingrecommendationsto the commissioner;

102.22 (10) oerform other duties at the commissioner's discretion.

102.23 Subd. 4. Administration. (a) The department shall employ an executive director in the

102.24 unclassified service. The executive director shall:

1oz.2s (1) hire no more than two staff;

102.26 (2) assist the commissioner and the advisory board in performing the duties of the

102.27 Minnesota Innovation Collaborative; and

r02.2s 13) comolv with all state and federal Drosram requirements. and all state and federal

102.29 securities and tax laws and regulations.

102.30 (b) To the extent possible, the space that the Minnesota Innovation Collaborative shall

102.31 occupy and lease must be a private coworkine facility that includes offtce space for staff

and102.21
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and soace for communitv engaeement for training entrepreneurs. The space leased under

this paragraph is exemot from the requirements in Minnesota Statutes, section 168.24,

subdivision 6

(c) Except for grants under subdivisio n 7, the Minnesota Innovation Collaborative must

accept grant app lications under this section and provide fundine recommendations to the

commissioner, who shall distribute grants based in part on the reconìmendations.

Subd. 5. Application process. (a) The commissioner shall establish the application form

and procedures for innovation grants.

ft) Upon receiving recommendations from the Minnesota Innovation Collaborative

under subdivisiot4.parasraph (c), the department is responsible for evaluating all

aoolications usins evaluation criteria developed by the Minnesota Innovation Collaborative,

the advisory board, and the commissioner. Priority shall be given if the applicant is

(1) a business or entrepreneur located in greater Minnesota; or

(2) a business owner or entrepreneur who is alvoman or minority group member,

(c) The department staff, and not the Minnesota Innovation Collaborative stafl, is

responsible for awardine fundine, disbursing funds, and monitoring grantee performance

for all grants awarded under this section.

(d) Grantees must provide matching funds by equal expenditures and grant payments

must be orovided on a reimbursement basis after review of submitted receipts by the

department.

le) Grant applications must be accepted on a rezular periodic basis by the Minnesota

Innovation Collaborative and must be reviewed by the collaborative and the advisory board

before beine submitted to the commissioner with their recommendations

Subd. 6. Innovation grants. la) The commissioner shall dishibute innovation grants

under this subdivision.

(b) The commissioner shall provide a grant of up to $50,000 to an eligible business or

entrepreneur forresearch and development expenses. Research and development expenditures

mav be related but not limited to oroof of concept activities. intellectual property protection,

orototvpe desisns and production, and commercial feasibility. Expenditures funded under

this subdivision are not elieible for the research and development tax credit under Minnesota

Statutes. section 290.068. Each business or entrepreneur may receive only one grant under

this paragraph.
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(c) The commissioner shall provide a grant of up to $25,000 to an elieible start-up or

entreoreneur for direct business expenses including but not limited to rent, equipment

purchases. suoplier invoices. and staffrng. Taxes imposed by the federal, state, or local

sovernment entities mav be not be reimbursed under this paragraph. Each start-up or

entreoreneur mav receive onlv one grant under this paragraph.

(d) The commissioner shall provide axantof up to $7,500 to reimburse an entrepreneur

for health care. housine. or child care expenses for the entrepreneur, spouse, or children 26

vears of ase or vounser. Each entrepreneur mav receive onlv one grant under this paragraph.

(e) The commissioner shall provide a f$ant of up to $50,000 to an elieible business or

entreoreneur that" as a resistered client of the Small Business Innovation Research (SBIR)

Drogram, has been awarded a Phase 2 awardpursuant to the SBIR or Small Business

Technolosv Transfer (STTR) Drosrams after Julv 1.2019. Each business or entrepreneur

mav receive onlv one srant under this oarawaph. Grants under this paragraphare not subiect

to the requirements of subdivision 2, paragraph (l), and are awarded without the review or

recommendation of the Minnesota Innovation Collaborative.

(fl The commissioner shall provide a grarrt of up to $25,000 to provide financing to

start-uos to ourchase technical assistance and services from oublic hisher education

institutions and nonorofit entities to assist in the development or commercialization of

innovative new products or services.

Subd. 7. Entrepreneur education grants. (a) The commissioner shall make entrepreneur

education grants to institutions of higher education and other organizations to provide

educational to entrepreneurs and provide outreach to and collaboration with

SSIBM DTVH22O8CR1

104.1

1t4.2

104.3

104.4

104.5

104.6

104.7

104.8

104.9

1 04.10

104.11

r04.t2

1 04. l3

104.14

104. l5

104.16

104.17

I 04.1 8

104.19

t04.20

104.21

104.22

t04.23

104.24

t04.25

104.26

104.27

104.28

1,04.29

104.30

104.31

r04.32

104.33

t04.34

federal and state institutions of trade

and other working to advance innovative, high technology businesses

throughout Minnesota.

ft) Applications for entrepreneur education grants under this subdivision must be

submitted to the commissioner and evaluated by department staffother than the Minnesota

Innovation Collaborative. The evaluation criteria must be developed by the Miruresota

Innovation Collaborative, the advisory board, and the commissioner with priority given to

an aoolicant who demonstrates activitv assistins businesses or entrepreneurs residing in

greater Minnesota or who are women or minority group members.

(c) Department staffother than the Minnesota Innovation Collaborative staffis responsible

for awardins fundins. disbursins funds. and monitoring grantee performance under this

subdivision.
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(d) Grantees may use the grant funds to deliver the following services:

(1) develooment and deliverv to hieh technology businesses of industry specific or

innovative product or þrocess specif,rc counseling on issues of business formation, market

structure, market research and stratesies. securine first mover advantage or overcoming

barriers to entry, protectine intellectual property. and securine debt or equity capital. This

counselinq is to be delivered in a classroom setting or using distance media presentations;

12) outreach and education to businesses and organizations on the small business

investment tax credit Drosram under Minnesota Statutes, section 116J.8737, the MNvest

crowd-fundine prosram under Minnesota Statutes, section 804.461 , and other state programs

that support hieh technolosv business creation especially in underserved communities

(3) collaboration with institutions of higher education, local organizations, federal and

state agencies, the Small Business Development Center, and the Small Business Assistance

OfTîce to create and offer educational programming and ongoing counseling in greater

t0s.t4 Minnesota that is consistent with those services offered in the metropolitan area; and

105.1s (4) events and meetines with other innovation-related organizations to inform

105.1ó entrepreneurs and potential investors about Minnesota's growing information economy.

105.17 Subd. 8. Report. The Minnesota Innovation Collaborative shall report by February 1,

tos.l8 2020, and again on February 1,2021,to the chairs and ranking minority members of the

105.19 committees of the house of representatives and senate having jurisdiction over economlc

tos.2o development policy and finance issues on the work completed, including awards made by

r0s.21 the department under this section.

t05.22 Subd.9. Advisory board. (a) The commissioner shall establish an advisory board to

10s.23 advise the executive director regarding the activities of the Minnesota Innovation

Collaborative and to perform the recommendations described in this section

lb) The advisotv board shall consist of ten members and is soverned bv Minnesota

Statutes, section 15.059. A minimum of six members must be from the private sector

representing business andat least two members but no more than four members from

1t5.24

tOs.25

105.26

t05.27

105.28

10s.29

105.30

105.31

10s.32

and education. shall ent a of incl

entrepreneurs, large businesses, industry organizations, investors, and both public and private

small business service providers

(c) The advisorv board shall selectachair from its private sector members. The executive

director shall orovide administrative support to the committee.
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106.1 Sec. 18. CHILD CARE ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT GRANT PROGRAM.

106.2 Subdivision 1. Establishment. A grant program is established under the Department of

106.3 Employment and Economic Development to award grants to eligible local communities to

t06.4 increase the availabilitv of child care in order to reduce the child care shortage in the

106.5 communitv. and support increased workforce participation, business expansion and retention,

106.6 and new business location.

r06.i Subd. 2. Defïnitions. For the pumoses of this section, the following terms have the

106.8 meanings given them:

106.9 (1) "commissioner" means the commissioner of employment and economic development;

106.10 (2) "child care" has the meaning given in section 1198.011;

106.rl (3) "political subdivision" means a county, statutory or home rule charter city, or school

106.12 district; and

106.13 (4) "Indian tribe" means one of the federally recognized Minnesota tribes listed in section

106:4 3.922, subdivision 1, clause (1)

106.ts Subd.3. Elieibte expenditures. The commissioner may make grants under this section

106.16 to implement solutions to reduce the child care shortage in the state including but not limited

106.17

106.1 8

1 06.1 9

106.20

t06.2t

106.22

106.23

106.24

106.25

106.26

t06.27

106.28

106.29

106.30

106.31

106.32

to fundins for child care business start-ups or expansions, training, facilitv modifications

or improvements required for licensing, and assistance with licensing and other regulatory

requirements.

Subd. 4. Etigible applicants. Eligible applicants for grants awarded under this section

include:

a litical

(2) anlndian tribe;

(3) a Minnesota nonorofit orsanization organized under chapter 377 havine experience

in one or more of the following: the operation of, planning for, financing of, advocacy for,

or advancement of the delivery of child care services in a defined service area spanning the

boundaries of one or more political subdivisions.

Subd. 5. Application process. (a) An eligible applicant must submit an application to

the commissioner on a form prescribed by the commissioner. The commissioner shall

develop procedures soverning the application and grant award process. The commissioner

shall act as fiscal asent for the srant program and shall be responsible for receiving and

reviewing grant applications and awarding grants under this section.
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(b) At least 30 prior to the first day applications may be submitted each fiscal year,

the commissioner must publish on the department's website the specific criteria and any

quantitative wei scheme or scoring system the commissioner will use to evaluate or

rank aoolications and award grants under subdivision 6.

Subd.6. Application contents. An applicant for a srant under this section shall provide

the following information on the application:

(1) the service area of the project;

(2) the project budget;

13) evidence of the child care shortase in the communitv in which the proiect is to be

located;

the number of licensed child care slots that will be created as a result of the nrnìpnf.

(5) the number of families with children under age six that will have access to child care

as a result of the proiect;

(6) communitv employers and businesses that will benefit from the proposed proiect;

(7) evidence of community support for the proiect;

(8) the total cost of the proiect;

(e) sources of fundine or in-kind contributions for the proiectthatwill supplement any

srant award: and

(10) anv additional information requested by the commtssloner.

Subd. 7. Awarding grants. (a) In evaluating applications and awarding grants, the

commissioner may give priority to applications that:

(1) are in areas that have a documented shortage of affordable quality child care;

12) demonstrate Drosrammatic or financial collaborations and partnering among private

Sector emolovers. oublic and nonprofit organizations within geographic areas;

(3) serve areas of the state experiencing worker shortages, low prime age workforce

participation rates, or prime age worker population loss that is significantly greater than the

statewide average;

(4 evidence of cftnnc crrrtrnrf

107.29 businesses. and institutions in the community;

Article 4 Sec. 18 r07
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108.1 (5) leveraee greater amounts of fundine for the proiect from private and nonstate public

108.2 sources.

108.3 ft) The commissioner shall endeavor to award grants under this section to qualified

108.4 applicants in all resions of the state

108.s Subd. 8. Limitation. (a) No grant awarded under this section may fund more than 50

r08.6 percent of the total cost of a proiect.

108.7 (b) Grants awarded to a single proiect under this section must not exceed $100,000

Sec. 19. COMMIINITY PROSPERITY GRANT PROGRAM.108.8

108.9

108.10

108.1 I

108.12

1 08.13

108.14

108.i5

108.16

108.17

108.1 8

108.19

108.20

108.21

Subdivision 1. Establishment; purposq The community prosperity grant program is

established to provide grants to public or 501(cX3) nonprofit entities to implement innovative

economic development projects that will support economic growth in their community.

Subd. 2. Defïnitions. For the purposes of this section, the following terms have the

meanings given them:

(1) "economic development" means activities, seryices, investments, and infrastructure

that support the economic success of individuals, businesses, and communities by facilitatine

an economlc envrronment that produces net new iobs;

(2) "innovative proiect" means the provision of a public service or good that was absent

in the community or of insufficient quantity or ouality;

(3) "local goveÍrmental unit" means a county. city. town. special district. public hieher

education institution, or other political subdivision or public comoration; and

(4) "community" means any geographic area defined by one or more census tracts.

108.22 Subd. 3. Community prosperity grants. The commissioner of emplo)¡ment and

108.23 economic development shall:

108.24 (1) develop and implement a community prospenty grantprogrcm that will provide

108.2s matching grants up to 85 percent of total Þroiect cost up to $100,000 to implement innovative

108.26 economic development proiects that will induce economic growth in their community;

108.27 (2) develop a request for proposals:

108.28 (3) review responses to requests for proposals and award grants under this section;

108.29 (4) establish a transparent and obiective accountabilitv process focused on outcomes

108.30 that grantees agree to achieve; and
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109.1 (5) maintain data on outcomes reported by grantees

109.2 Subd. 4. Eligible grantees. Orsaîizations elieible to receive grant fundine under this

109.3 section include

(1) local government units; and

(2) nonorofit 501(c)13) orsanizations thathave establishedpartnerships with one ormore

local government units to irnplement economic development projects or activities.

Subd. 5. Priority of proposals; grant awards. The commissioner shall prioritizethe

award of grants to proposals that demonstrate that the project:

109.4

109.5

109.6

109.7

109.8

109.9

109. l0

109.1 1

r09.12

109.13

r09.t4

109. I 5

109.16

t09.17

109.18

1 09.1 9

109.20

r09.21

rtg.22

r09.23

r09.24

r09.25

109.26

109.27

109.28

I 1 \ will serve communities with a ñ^ñì rlation of 5 000 or less

(2) will suooort communitv sroups orneishborhood orsanizatíons within one ofthe 128

federally designated opportunity zones;

(3) will support the economic success of individuals, businesses, and communities by

facilitatine an economic environment that produces net new iobs;

(4) will orovide oublic services or soods that was absent in the community or of

insufficient quantity or quality;

(5) serves a defined geographi c aÍea, racial, ethnic, or minority community; or American

Indian community experiencing any the following: below state average wages, above state

average unemplovment rate, or below state average labor force participatton rate;

will be sustainable or continue to have impact beyond the one-time funding from

and

(6)

this program;

(î will be successfullv irnplemented based on the qualifications of the lead organization;

(8) will serve two or more local government units.

Subd. 6. Geographic distribution of grants. The commissioner shall ensure that a

minimum of 50 percent of srants are awarded to communities outside the seven-counfy

metropolitan aÍea.

Subd. 7. Report. Grantees must report grant program outcomes to the commissioner on

the forms and accordine to the timelines established bv the commissioner
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1r0.1 Sec. 20. ONETIME EXCEPTION TO RESTRICTIONS ON USE OF MINNESOTA

110.2 II\I-VESTMENT FUND LOCAL GOVERNMENT LOAN REPAYMENT FUNDS.

u0.3 (a) Notwithstandins Minnesota Statutes, section I16J.8731, a home rule charter or

n0.4 stafutory city, county, or town that has uncommitted money received from repayment of

Ir0.5 funds awarded under Minnesota Statutes, section 116J.8731, ffi&y choose to transfer 20

110.6 percent of the balance of that money to the state general fund before June 30, 2020. Any

rto: local entity that does so may then use the remainine 80 percent of the uncommitted money

110.8 as a qeneral purpose aid for any lawful expenditure.

i10.9 ft) Bv February 15,2021, a home rule charter or statutory city, county, or town that

110.i0 exercises the option under pan¡raþh(a) shall submit to the chairs and ranking minoriW

i10.t1 members ofthe ve committees with ovef economlc

lt0.t2 and finance an accountine and explanation of the use and distribution of the funds.

041041t9 SSIBM DTVH22O8CRl

ARTICLE 5

WAGE THEFT

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 16C.285, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Minimum criteria. "Responsible contractor" means a contractorthat conforms

to the responsibility requirements in the solicitation document for its portion of the work

on the project and verifies that it meets the following minimum criteria:

(1) the contractor:

(i) is in compliance with workers' compensation and unemployment insurance

requirements;

(ii) is in compliance with Department of Revenue and Department of Employment and

Economic Development registration requirements if it has employees;

(iii) has a valid federal tax identification number or a valid Social Security number if
an individual; and

(iv) has filed a certificate of authority to transact business in Minnesota with the secretary

of state if a foreign corporation or cooperative;

(2) the contractor or related entity is in compliance with and, during the three-year period

before submitting the verification, has not violated section 177 .24,I77 .25,177 .4I to 177 .44,

181.03, 181.101, 181.13, 181.14,or 181 .T22,andhasnotviolatedUnitedStatesCode,title

110.31 29, sections 201 to 2I9, or United States Code, title 40, sections 3141 to 3148. For purposes

110.32 of this clause, a violation occurs when a contractor or related entity:

I t0.13

1 10.14

I 10.15

1 10. 16

t14.fi

1 10.18

1 10.19

110.20

110.21

tto.22

rt0.23

t|t.24

110.25

t10.26

tt0.27

110.28

110.29

110.30
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111.1

rlt.2

111.3

1tt.4

I r 1.5

111.6

ttt.7

111.8

111.9

I 1 l.l0

111.11

tl1.12

1 1 1.13

1 1 1.14

111.15 0f

I 1 t.16

tll.t7

I 1 1.18

11r.24

r11.25

ttt.26

1|t.27

I I 1.28

ttt.29

111.30

111.31

r11.32
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(i) repeatedly fails to pay statutorily required wages or penalties on one or more separate

projects for a total underpayment of $25,000 or more within the three-yearperiod, provided

that a failure to pay is "repeated" only if it involves two or more separate and distinct

occrrrences of underpayment during the three-year period;

(ii) has been issued an order to comply by the commissioner of labor and industry that

has become final;

(iii) has been issued at least two determination letters within the three-year period by

the Department of Transportation finding an underpayment by the contractor or related

entity to its own employees;

(iv) has been found by the commissioner of labor and industry to have repeatedly or

willfully violated any of the sections referenced in this clause pursuant to section I77.27;

(v) has been issued a ruling or findings of underpayment by the administrator of the

V/age and Hour Division of the United States Department of Labor thathave become final

or have been upheld by an administrative law judge or the Administrative Review Board;

111.1e (vii) has been convicted of a violation of section 609.52, subdivision 2, clause (19).

¡1.20 Provided that, if the contractor or related entity contests a determination of underpayment

ttl.zt by the Department of Transportation in a contested case proceeding, a violation does not

lt1.zz occur until the contested case proceeding has concluded with a determination that the

rtL.23 contractor or related entity underpaid wages or penalties;

(vi) has been found liable for underpayment of wages or penalties or misrepresenting a

construction worker as an independent contractor in an action brought in a court having

jurisdiction; or

(3) the contractor or related entity is in compliance with and, during the three-year period

before submitting the verification, has not violated section I81.723 or chapter 3268. For

purposes of this clause, a violation occurs when a contractor or related entity has been issued

afinal administrative or licensing order;

(a) the contractor or related entity has not, more than twice during the three-year period

before submitting the verification, had a certificate of compliance under section 3634.36

revoked or suspended based on the provisions of section 363A.36, with the revocation or

suspension becoming final because it was upheld by the Office of Administrative Hearings

or was not appealed to the ofÏice;
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(5) the contractor or related entify has not received a final determination assessing a

monetary sanction from the Department of Administration or Transportation for failure to

meet targeted group business, disadvantaged business enterprise, or veteran-owned business

goals, due to a lack of good faith effort, more than once during the three-year period before

submitting the verification;

(6) the contractor or related entity is not currently suspended or debarred by the federal

government or the state of Minnesota or any of its departments, commissions, agencies, or

political subdivisions that have authority to debar a contractor; and

(7) aII subcontractors and motor carriers that the contractor intends to use to perform

project work have verified to the contractor through a signed statement under oath by an

owner or officer that they meet the minimum criteria listed in clauses (1) to (6).

Any violations, suspensions, revocations, or sanctions, as defined in clauses (2) to (5),

occurring priorto July 1,2014, shall notbe considered in determining whether a contractor

or related entity meets the minimum criteria.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section I77.27, is amended by adding a subdivision to

read:

Subd. 1a. Authority to investigate. To carr.v out the purposes ofthis chapter and chapters

181, 1814, and 184, and utilizine the enforcement authority of section 175.20,the

commissioner is authorized to enter the places ofbusiness and employment of any employer

in the state to investigate wages, hours, and other conditions and practices of work, collect

evidence, and conduct interviews. The commissioner is authorized to enter the places of

business and emp lovment durine working hours and without delay. The commissioner may

use investigation methods that include but are not limited to examination, surveillance,

transcription. coovins. scannins. photosraþhine. audio or video recording, testing, and

samplins along with takins custodv of evidence. Evidence that may be collected includes

but is not limited to documents. records. books. registers, pavrolls, electronically and dieitally

stored machinery, equipment, tools, and other tangible items that in arry way

relate to wages, hours, and other conditions and practices of work. The commissioner may

rnteryrew incl
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112.1

112.2

112.3

112.4

t12.5

tt2.6

112.7

112.8

tt2.9

1 12.10

r12.tt

tt2.t2

t12.r3

112.14

tt2.r5

t12.t6

t12.17

I 12.18

t12.19

112.20

tt2.2r

112.22

t12.23

t12.24

112.25

t12.26

r12.27

t12.28

112.29

t12.30 and other individuals who may have knowledge of the conditions and practices of work

rtz.3t under investigation.
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113.1

1t3.2

113.3

t13.4

113.5

113.6

t13.7

113.8

1i3.9

1 13. l0

1 13.1 1

tt3.t2

I 13.13

113.14

I 13.1s

I 13.16

r13.17

1 13.1 8

I r3.30

113.31

t13.32
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Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 177.27, subdivision2,is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Submission of records; penalty. The commissionermayrequire the employer

of employees working in the state to submit to the commissioner photocopies, certified

copies, or, ifnecessary the originals of employmentrecords whichthe commissionerdeems

necessary or appropriate. The records which may be required include full and correct

statements in writing, including sworn statements by the employeç containing information

relating to wages, hours, names, addresses, and any other information pertaining to the

employer's employees and the conditions of their employment as the commissioner deems

necessary or appropriate.

The commissioner may require the records to be submiffed by certified mail delivery

or, if necessary by personal delivery by the employer or a representative of the employer,

as authorizedby the employer in writing.

The commissioner may fine the employer up to $1,000 for each failure to submit or

deliver records as required by this section, and up to $10,000 for e . This

penalty is in addition to any penalties provided under section I77.32, subdivision 1. In

determining the amount of a civil penalty under this subdivision, the appropriateness of

such penatty to the size of the employer's business and the gravity of the violation shall be

considered.

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 777.27, is amended by adding a subdivision to

read:

Subd. 12. Court orders for entrance and inspection. To carry out the purposes of this

113.33 chapter and chapters 181. 1814. and 184. andutllizing the enforcement authoriW of section

lt3.le Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section I77.27, is amended by adding a subdivision to

rt3.2o read:

tr3.2r Subd. 11. Subnoenas. In order to carr\¡ out the purposes of this chapter and chapter 181,

113.22 1814, or 184, the commissioner may issue subpoenas to compel persons to appear before

1t3.23 the commissioner to sive testimony and produce and permit inspection, copying, testing,

rr3.z4 or samolins of electronicallv stored information. taneible items, or other items

113.25 in the possession, custodv. or control of that person that are deemed necessary or appropriate

113.26 bv the commissioner. A subooena mav specifu the form or format in which electronically

rr3.z7 stored information is to be produced. Upon the application of the commissioÍre\ a district

113.28 court shall treat the failure of anv Derson to obev a subpoena lawfully issued by the

113.29 commissioner under this subdivision as a contempt of court.
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114.1 175.20, the commissioner is authorized to enter places of business and employment of any

114.2 employer in the state to investigate wages, hours, and other conditions and practices of

114.3 work. collect evidence. and conduct interviews. The commissioner is authorized to enter

114.4 the olaces of business and emolovment durine workins hours and without delay. I]pon the

tt4.s anticioated refusal based on a refusal to permit entrance on a prior occasion or actual refusal

114.6 of an emolover. o\Mner. ooerator. or asent in charse of an employer's place of business or

114.7 emolor¡ment. the commissioner mav applv for an order in the district court in the county in

n4.8 which the place of business or employment is located, to compel an employer, owner,

tr4.9 operator. or agent in charge of the place of business or emplor,¡ment to permit the

1 14.10 commissioner entrv to investisate wages" hours. and other conditions and practices of work,

t14.tt collect evidence, and interview witnesses.

114.1s subiect to the licensins or rezulatory power of the state or any political subdivision or agency

114.16 thereof. if the commissioner issues an order to comply under subdivision4.Ihe commisstoner

rr4.r7 mav orovide the licensine or rezulatory asency a copy of the order to comply. Unless the

114.18 order to complv is reversed in the course of administrative or iudicial review, the order to

trl.tg complv is bindins on the asencv and the agency may take appropriate action, including

tt4.z0 action related to the elieibility, renewal, suspension, or revocation of a license or certificate

114.21 ofoublic convenience and necessitv ifthe asencv is otherwise authorized to take such action.

1t4.12

1 14. l3

114.14

1t4.22

114.23

114.24

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 177.27, is amended by adding a subdivision to

read:

Subd. 13. State licensing or regulatory power. In the case of an employer which is

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 177.27, is amended by adding a subdivision to

read:

Subd. 14. Public contracts. In the case of an employer that is a þarV to a public contract,

ttl.zs if the commissioner issues an order to comply under subdivision 4, the commissioner may

114.26 provide a copy of the order to comolv to the contract lettine asency. Unless the order to

t14.27 complv is reversed in the course of adminiskative or iudicial review an order to comply is

rt4.2g bindine on the contract letting agency and the agency may take appropriate administrative

tt4.2s action. includins the imoosition of financial penalties and elieibilitv for termination or

114.30 noffenewal of a contract. in whole or in oart. if the asencv is otherwise authorized to take

114.31 the action.
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1 15.1

115.2

115.3

r15.4

115.5

115.6

115.7

115.8

I 15.9

115.10

115.11

1.ls.12

11s.13

11s.14

1 15.15

order or citation issued under this chapter and chapters 181, 1814, and 184, the commissloner

mav reouire that the orovisions of a compliance order or citation setting out the violations

found by the commissioner and any subsequent document setting out the resolution of the

compliance order or citation through settlement agreement or other final disposition, upon

receipt bv the emplovet be made available for review by the employees of the employer

usinq the means the employer uses to provide other work-related notices to the employer's

emolovees. The means used bv the employer must be at least as effective as the following

options for providing notice: (1) posting a copy of the compliance order or citation at each

location where employees perform work and where the notice must be readily observed and

easily reviewed bv all employees performing work; or (2\ providing a paper or electronic

copy of the compliance order or citation to employees. Each citation and proposed penalty

shall be posted or made available to ernployees for a minimum period of 20 days. Upon

115.1ó issuance of a compliance order or citation to an employer, the commissioner may also

tts.tl provide the provisions of the compliance order or citation setting out the violations found

1r5.r8 bv the commissioner and any resolution of a compliance order or citation through settlement

1r5.r9 asreement or other final disposition to the employer's employees who may be affected by

tl5.z0 the order or citation and how the order or citation and resolution may affect their interests.

rts.2t

1t5.22

115.23

115.24

|rs.2s

r15.26

115.27

r15.28

115.29

1 15.30

I 15.31

lts.32

11s.33

Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 177.30, is amended to read:

177.30 KEEPING RECORDS; PENALTY.

of:

other;

(3) the hours worked each day and each workweek by the employeer_rn4u4grg iql ell

the number of at each fe'

of the notice ded to each

04104119 REVISOR SS/Br DIVH22O8CRl

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 177.27, is amended by adding a subdivision to

read:

Subd. 15. Notice to emplovees of compliance orders and citations.In a compliance

(a) Every employer subject to sections 177.21to I77.44 must make and keep a record

(1) the name, address, and occupation of each employee;

(2) the rate of pay, and the amount paid each pay period to each employee-!4qlqfl!4g

whether each emolovee is oaid bv the hour. shift. day. week. salary. piece. commission, or

emnlovees neid ñ1êfÌe rate nier:eq cnrnnleferlat t"r1 ra

(4) any personnel policies provided to employees;

5 a Aññ

paragraph (d);

Article 5 Sec. 9
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116.1

116.2

116.3

116.4

116.5

116.6

116.7

116.8

116.9

I 16. l0

1i6.1I

116.12

1 i6.13

116.14

1 16.15

1 16.16
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(Q for each employer subject to sections 177.4I to I77.44, and while performing work

on public works projects funded in whole or in part with state funds, the employer shall

furnish under oath signed by an owner or off,rcer of an employer to the contracting authorify

and the project owner every two weeks, a certified payroll report with respect to the wages

and benefits paid each employee during the preceding weeks speciffing for each employee:

name; identiffing number; prevailing wage master job classification; hours worked each

day; total hours; rate ofpay; gross amount earned; each deduction for taxes; total deductions;

net pay for week; dollars contributed per hour for each benefit, including name and address

of administrato4benefit account number; and telephone number for health and welfare,

vacation or holiday, apprenticeship training, pension, and other benefit programs; and

(5)(A other information the commissioner finds necessary and appropriate to enforce

sections 177 .21to 777 .435. The records must be kept for three years in ornear the premises

where an employee works except each employer subject to sections I77.4I to I77.44, and

while performing work on public works projects funded in whole or in part with state funds,

the records must be kept for three years after the contracting authority has made final payment

on the public works project.

All records required to be kept under þaragr:aph (a) must be readily available forrt6.t7 (b)

t 16.18 inspection by the commissioner upon demand. The records must be either kept at the place

u6.r9 where employees are working or kept in a manner that allows the employer to comply with

116.20 this paragraph within 24 hours.

t16.21

1t6.22

r16.23

1t6.24

116.2s

(q) The commissioner may fîne an employer up to $1,000 for each failure to maintain

records as requiredby this section, andup to $10,000 for e . This penaþ

is in addition to any penalties provided under section 177 .32, subdivision 1. In determining

the amount of a civil penalty under this subdivision, the appropriateness of such penaþ to

the size of the employer's business and the gravity of the violation shall be considered.

116.26 (d) If the records maintained bv the employer do not provide suffrcient information to

t16.27 determine the exact amount of back wages due an employee, the commissioner may make

tt6.2g a deterrnination of wages due based on available evidence.

rt6.2s Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 177.32, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

116.30 Subdivision 1. Misdemeanors. (qIAt employer who does any of the following is guilty

116.31 of a misdemeanor:

tt6.3z (1) hinders or delays the commissioner in the performance of duties required under

116.33 sections I77.2I to I77.435, or chapter 181;
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117.1

117.2

tr7.3

117.4

117.5

117.6

t17.7

117.8

1t7.9

1 17.10

r17.t\

t17.12
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(2) refuses to admit the commissioner to the place of business or employment of the

employer, as required by section 177.27, subdivision 1;

(3) repeatedly fails to make, keep, and preserve records as required by section 177.30;

(4) falsifies any record;

(5) refuses to make any record available, or to furnish a sworn statement of the record

or any other information as required by sectionl77.27;

(6) repeatedty fails to post a summary of sections I77.21to 177 .44 or a copy or summary

of the applicable rules as required by section 177.31;

(7) pays or agrees to pay wages at arate less than the rate required under sections I77 .21

to 177 .44" or described and provided by an employer to its employees under section 181.032;

(8) refuses to allow adequate time from work as required by section 177.253; or

(9) otherwise violates any provision of sections I77 .2I to 177.44, or commits wage theft

tli.t3 as described in section 181.03 subdivision 1

rr7.t4 Intent is not an element of a misdemeanor under this paragraph.

ttl.ts (b) An emp lover is zuiltv of a gross misdemeanor if the employer is found to have

117.16 intentionally retaliated against an employee for asserting rights or remedies under sections

tti.t7 177 .21 to 177 .44 or section 181.03

r17.r8 Sec. 11. 1177.451 ENFORCEMENT; REMEDIES.

r17.r9 Subdivision l. Public enforcement. In addition to the enforcement of this chapter by

1r7.20 the the attorney general may enforce this chapter under section 8.31.

rtl.2t Subd. 2. Remedies cumulative. The remedies provided in this chapter are cumulative

r17.22 and do not restrict anv remedy that is otherwise available, including remedies provided

117.23 under section 8.31. The remedies available under this section are not exclusive and are rn

117.24 addition to anv other requirements. riehts. remedies, and penalties provided by law.

111.25 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 181.03, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

rti.26 Subdivision 1. Prohibited practices.

rr7.27 wiffi (a) No employer shall commit wage theft.

n7.zs (b) For purposes of this section, wage theft is committed if:

117.2e (1) eaüsie an has failedto Day aîemolovee all wages, salary. gratuities, earnlngs.

117.30 or commissions at the employee's rate or rates of pay or at the rate or rates required by laq
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I 18.3 (2) an employer directly or indirectly causes any employee to give a receipt for wages

118.4 for a greater amount than that actually paid to the employee for services rendered;

1 18.s (3) an employer directly or indirectly demandlþaqAlq or reeeive receives from any

118.1

118.2

l 18.6

118.7

118.11

1 18.12
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including any applicable statute, regulation, rule, ordinance, govemmentresolution orpolicy,

contract. or other lesal authority, whichever rate of pay is greater;

employee any rebate or refund from the wages owed the employee under contract of

employment with the employer; or

Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2078, section 181.03, is amended by adding a subdivision to

read:

citation mav direct the emplover to pav emplovees in a manner prescribed by the

secretary

due and oavable on the date the citation becomes final. The commissioner may vacate the

118.8 Ø) an emþloyer in any manner or attemptg[grnp]lq to make it appear

118.9 that the wages paid to any employee were greater than the amount actually paid to the

u8.lo employee.

118.13 Subd. 4. Enforcement. The use of an enforcement in this section shall not

118.14 preclude the use of any other enforcement provision provided by law

li8.1s Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 181.03, is amendedby adding a subdivision to

r 18.r6 read:

1ig.l7 Subd. 5. Citations. (a) In addition to other remedies and penalties provided by this

1i8.18

1 r 8.19

118.20

118.21

118.22

t 18.23

t18.24

r18.2s

118.26

tt8.27

118.28

ttg.29

1 18.30

I 18.3 1

118.32

chaoter and chaoter I77. the commissioner mav issue a citation for a civil penalty of up to

$1.000 for any wase theft of up to $1,000 by serving the citation on the employer. The

commissioner anv wases. salarv. eratuities. earninss. or commissions owed to the employee

within 15 days of service of the citation on the employer. The commissioner shall serve the

citation uþon the emplover or the employer's authonzedrepresentative in person or by

certified mail at the employer's place of business or registered office address with the

of state. The citation shall require the employer to correct the violation and cease

and desist from committing the violation.

fb) In determinins the amount of the civil oenalW" the commissioner shall consider the

size of the employer's business and the gravity of the violation as provided in section 14.045,

subdivision 3. parasraph (a). If the citation includes a penalty assessment, the penalty is

citation if the emplover pays the amount of wages. salaries, commissions, earnings, and

sratuities due in the citation within five days after the citation is served on the employer,
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119.1

t19.2

119.3

119.22

rr9.23

trg.4 industry issues a citation under subdivision 5, the employer to whom the citation is issued

119.5 may request an expedited hearing to review the citation. The request for hearing must be

u9.6 in writing and must be served on the commissioner at the address specified in the citation.

r1s.7 If the employer does not request a hearing or if the employer's written request for hearing

119.8 is not served on the commissioner bv the 15th dav after the commissioner issues the citation,

r19.e the citation becomes aftnal order of the commissioner and is not subiect to review by any

119.10 courtoragency The hearing request must state the reasons for seeking review of the citation.

119.11 The employer to whom the citation is issued and the commissioner are the parties to the

tts.t2 expedited hearins. The commissioner must notifi¡ the employer to whom the citation is

1i9.13 issued of the time and place of the hearing at least 15 days before the hearing. The hearing

11e.14 shall be conducted under Minnesota Rules, parts 1400.8510 to 1400.8612, as modified by

119.15 this section. If a hearine has been held, the commissioner shall not issue a final order until

tr9.r6 atleaslf,rve days after the date ofthe administrative law iudge's report. Any person aggrieved

l|s.17 by the administrative law iudge's reportmay, within those five days, serye written comments

119.18 to the commissioner on the report and the commissioner shall consider and enter the

1i9.19 comments in the record. The commissioner's fînal order shall comply with sections 14.6I,

tls.2o subdivision 2, and 7 4.62. subdivisions 1 and 2a, and maY be appealed in the manner provided

t1s.21 in sections 14.63 to 14.69
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Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 181.03, is amendedby adding a subdivision to

read:

Subd. 6. Administrative review. Within 15 days after the commissioner of labor and

Sec. 1 6. Minnesota Statutes 201 8, section 1 8 I .03, is amended by adding a subdivision to

read:

119.24 Subd.7. Effect on other laws. Nothins in this section shall be construed to limit the

119.2s app lication of other state or federal laws

t19.26

119.21

119.28

119.29

Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 181.03, is amended by adding a subdivision to

read:

Subd. 8. Retaliation. An emolover must not retaliate against an employee for asserting

rishts or remedies under this section. includins but not limited to filine a complaint with

119.30 the Department of Labor and Industry or telling the employer of intention to file a complaint.

11e.31 A rebuttable of unlawful retaliation under this section exists whenever an

119.32 emolover takes adverse action asainst an employee within 90 days ofthe employee asserting

119.33 rights or remedies under this section.
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120.2

120.3

r20.4

t20.5

120.6

120.1

120.8
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Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 181.032, is amended to read:

L81.032 REQUIRED STATEMENT OF EARNINGS BY EMPLOYER; NOTICE

TO EMPLOYEE.

(a) At the end of each pay period, the employer shall provide each employee an earnings

statement, either in writing or by electronic means, covering thatpay period. An employer

who chooses to provide an earnings statement by electronic means must provide employee

access to an employer-owned computer during an employee's regular working hours to

review and print earnings statements.

the emnlôvee 1S nairl hv s ft rlew rx¡eek salarv êt ê l-¡'rÍltlYìleclÍt1ì or other mofhnr{

(3 allowances. if anv. claimed pursuant to permitted meals and lodging;

(!) the total number of hours worked by the employee unless exempt from chapter t77;

(4)LÐ the total amount of gross pay earned by the employee during that period;

(Ð-1þ) a list of deductions made from the employee's pay;

(6)jD the net amount of pay after all deductions are made;

(7)lÐ the date on which the pay period ends; and

(Ð(Ðthq legalname ofthe employerandthe operatingname ofthe employerif different

from the legal name-.;

(
1 o\ ical address of the ptnrrlmreflc main office or nrin¡:inal nler:e of business

120.9 (b) The earnings statement may be in any form determined by the employer but must

t20.lo include:

120.r1

r20.12

t20.t3

120.t4

120.15

r20.t6

120.t7

120.18

t20.t9

120.20

t20.2r

t20.22

120.23

120.24

120.25

r20.26

120.27

120.28

t20.29

120.30

(1) the name of the employee;

(2) the hoüdy rate or rates of pay

the nhr¡c

and a mailing address if different; and

(11) the telephone number of the employer.

(c) An employer must provide earnings statements to an employee in writing, rather

than by electronic means, if the employer has received at least 24 hours notice from an

employee that the employee would like to receive earnings statements in written form. Once

an employer has received notice from an employee that the employee would like to receive

earnings statements in written form, the employer must comply with that request on an

ongoing basis.

Article 5 Sec. 18 t20
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t21.1 At the start of aÍr shall each awnttennotrce

t21.2 containing the following information:

r2r.3 (1) the rate or rates of oav and basis thereof. including whether the employee is paid by

12r.4 the hout shift, day. week. salary. piece, commission, or other method, and the specific

t2t.s application of any additional rates;

121.6 12) allowances. if anv" claimed pursuant to permitted meals and lodging;

121.7 /?\ Ã 'tinn sick fìmp or other 1tâ id time offaccruals and terms of usevaca

121.8 (4) the emploYee' s emolovment status and whether the employee is exempt from minimum

r2t.g rwase. overtime. and other provisions of chapter 177, and on what basis;

121.10 (5) a list of deductions that may be made from the employee's pay;

r2t.r1 (6) the dates on which the pay periods start and end and the regularly scheduled payday;

r21.tz (7) the leeal name of the employer and the operating name of the employer if different

t21.t3 from the legal name;

rz1.t4 (8) the physical address ofthe employer's main office orprincipalplace ofbusiness, and

t2r.ts a mailing address if different; and

121.16 (9) the telephone number of the employer.

t2t.t7 (e) The must keep a copy of the notice under paragraph (d) signed by each

121.18 employee acknowledsing receipt of the notice. The notice must be provided to each employee

12T.19 in Enslish and in the employee's native language.

121.20 (fl An must provide the employee any written changes to the information

t21.21 contained in the notice under parasraph (d) at least seven calendar days prior to the time

121.22 the changes take effect. The changes must be signed by the employee before the changes

r2t.23 so into effect The emolover must keep a signed copy of all notice of changes as well as

121.24 the initial notices under paraeraph (d).

121.25 Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 181.101, is amended to read:

12r.26 181.10L WAGES; HO\ry OFTEN PAID.

t21.27

rzt.28

t2t.29

121.30

721.31

(a) Except as provided in paragraph (b), every employer must pay alI wages earned by

an employee at least once every 3+ 16 days on aregular payday designated in advance by

the employer regardless of whether the employee requests payment at longer intervals.

Unless paid earlieû the rvages emneé drning the {irst half of the first 3 l -day pay period

beeome éue on the first regular payday fellowitg the first day of work, An employer's pay
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r2z.t period must be no lonser than 16 davs. All wages eamed in a pay period must be paid to

122.2 an employee within 16 days of the end of that pay period. If wages earned are not paid, the

122.3 commissioner of labor and industry or the commissioner's representative may serve a demand

tzz.4 for payment on behalf of an employee. If payment is not made within ten frve days of service

t2z.s of the demand, the commissioner may charge and collect the wages earned and æpenaþ

tzz.6 liquidated damages inthe amount ofthe employee's average daily earnings atthe employee's

122.7 . rate or rates ofpay or at the rate or rates required

tzz.g by la% including any applicable statute, rezulation, rule, ordinance, govemment resolution

122.9 of policv contract. or other lesal authoritv whichever rate ofnâv 1S

r22.r0 +5 days-in-al+, for each day beyond the ten-day fry4þ limit following the demand. Money

tzz.Lt collected by the commissioner must be paid to the employee concerned. This section does

122.12 not prevent an employee from prosecuting a claim for wages. This section does not prevent

tzz.t3 a school district, other public school entity, or other school, as defined under section 120A.22,

122.14 from payin g arry wages earned by its employees during a school year on regular paydays

r2z:s in the manner provided by an applicable contract or collective bargaining agreement, or a

122.16 personnel policy adopted by the governing board. For purposes of this section, "employee"

122.17 includes a person who performs agricultural labor as defined in section 181 .85, subdivision

122.18 2.For purposes of this section, wages are earned on the day an employee works.

122.19

122.20

122.21

r22.22

122.23

r22.24

(b) An employer of a volunteer firefighter, as def,rned in section 424A.00I, subdivision

10, a member of an orgarnzedfìrst responder squad that is formally recognized by a political

subdivision in the state, or a volunteer ambulance driver or attendant must pay allwages

eamed by the volunteer firefighter, first responder, or volunteer arnbulance driver or attendant

at least once every 31 days, unless the employer and the employee mutually agree upon

payment at longer intervals.

t2z.2s Sec. 20. I1'8l.l72ll ENFORCEMEI{T; REMEDIES.

122.26 Subdivision 1. Pubtic enforcement. In addition to the enforcement of this chapter by

122.27 the the attorney general may enforce this chapter under section 8.31.

rzz.zg Subd. 2. Remedies cumulative. The remedies provided in this chapter are cumulative

122.29 and do not restrict anv remedv that is otherwise available, including remedies provided

rzz.3o under section 8.31. The remedies available under this section are not exclusive and are in

tzz.31 addition to anv other requirements, rights, remedies, and penalties provided by law,

122.32 Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 609.52, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

122.33 Subdivision 1. Definitions. In this section:
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123.1

123.2

r23.3

123.4

123.s

123.6

123.7

t23.8

t23.9

123.10

t23.tr

123.12

123.13

r23.14

123.t5

r23.16

t23.17

t23.18

t23.19

123.20

123.21

t23.22

r23.23

123.24

123.25

123.26

723.27

123.28

123.29

r23.30

t23.31

123.32

123.33
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(l) "Property" means all forms of tangible property, whether real or personal, without

limitation including documents of value, electriciry gas, water, co{pses, domestic animals,

dogs, pets, fowl, and heat supplied by pipe or conduit by municipalities or public utility

companies and articles, as defined in clause (4), representing trade secrets, which articles

shall be deemed for the purposes of Extra Session Laws 1967, chapter l5 to include any

trade secret represented by the article.

(2) "Movable property" is property whose physical location can be changed, including

without limitation things growing on, affrxed to, or found in land.

(3) "Value" means the retail market value at the time of the theft, or if the retail market

value cannot be ascertained, the cost of replacement of the property within a reasonable

time after the theft, or in the case of a theft or the making of a copy of an article representing

a trade secret, where the retail market value or replacement cost cannot be ascertained, any

reasonable value representing the damage to the owner which the owner has suffered by

reason of losing an advantage over those who do not know of or use the trade secret. For a

check, draft, or other order for the payment of money, "value" means the amount of money

promised or ordered to be paid under the terms of the check, draft, or other order. For a

theft committed within the meaning of subdivision 2, clause (5), items (i) and (ii), if the

property has been restored to the owner, "value"'means the value of the use of the property

or the damage which it sustained, whichever is greater, while the owner was deprived of

its possession, but not exceeding the value otherwise provided herein. For a theft committed

within the meaning of subdivision 2, clause (9), if the property has been restored to the

owïìer, "value" means the rental value of the property, determined at the rental rate contracted

by the defendant or, if no rental rate was contracted, the rental rate customaily chatged by

the owner for use of the property, plus any damage that occurred to the property while the

owner was deprived of its possession, but not exceeding the total retail value of the property

at the time ofrental. For a theft committed within the meaning of subdivision 2, clause ( 1 9),

"value" means the difference between wases lesallv required to be reported or paid to an

emolovee and the amount acfuallv reported or paid to the employee.

(4) "Article" means any object, material, device or substance, including any writing,

record, recording, drawing, sample specimen, prototype, model, photograph, microorganism,

blueprint or map, or any copy of any of the foregoing.

(5) "Representing" means describing, depicting, containing, constituting, reflecting or

recording.
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124.1

r24.2

124.3

t24.4

124.5

t24.6

r24.7

r24.8

124.9

t24.t0

r24.tt

124.12

t24.t3

724.14

r24.15

124.t6

124.17

124.18

124.t9

t24.20

124.21

124.22

r24.23

124.24

124.25

124.26

124.27
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(6) "Trade secret" means information, including a formula, pattem, compilation, pÍogram,

device, method, technique, or process, that:

(i) derives independent economic value, actual or potential, from not being generally

known to, and not being readily ascertainable by proper means by, other persons who can

obtain economic value from its disclosure or use, and

(ii) is the subject of effiorts that are reasonable under the circumstances to maintain its

secrecy.

(7) "Copy" means any facsimile, replica, photograph or otherreproduction of an article,

and any note, drawing, or sketch made of or from an article while in the presence of the

article.

(8) "Property of another" includes property in which the actor is co-owner or has a lien,

pledge, bailment, or lease or other subordinate interest, property transferred by the actor in

circumstances which are known to the actor and which make the transfer fraudulent as

defined in section 5l3.44,property possessed pursuant to a short-term rental contract, and

property of a partnership of which the actor is a member, unless the actor and the victim

are husband and wife. It does not include property in which the actor asserts in good faith

a claim as a collection fee or commission out of property or funds recovered, or by virtue

of a lien, setoff, or counterclaim.

(9) "Services" include but are not limited to labor, professional services, transportation

services, electronic computer services, the supplying of hotel accommodations, restaurant

services, entertainment services, advertising services, telecommunication services, and the

supplying of equipment for use including rental of personal property or equipment.

(10) "Motor vehicle" means a self-propelled device for moving persons or property or

pulling implements from one place to another, whether the device is operated on land, rails,

wateq or in the air.

(11) "Motor fuel" has the meaning given in section 604.75, subdivision 1.

(12) "Retailer" has the meaning given in section 604.15, subdivision 1.

Sec.22. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 609.52, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Acts constituting theft. (a) \Mhoever does any of the following commits theft

and may be sentenced as provided in subdivision 3:

124.28

124.29

124.30

Article 5 Sec.22. t24
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t2s.r (1) intentionally and without claim of right takes, uses, transfers, conceals or retains

12s.2 possession of movable property of another without the other's consent and with intent to

rzs.3 deprive the owner pennanently of possession of the property; or

t2s.8 (3) obtains for the actor or another the possession, custody, or title to property of or

rzs.s performance of services by a third person by intentionally deceiving the third person with

12s.10 a false representation which is known to be false, made with intent to defraud, and which

t2s.n does defraud the person to whom it is made. "False representation" includes without

rzs.r2 limitation:

125.4

t25.5

125.6

125.7

725.13

t25.14

r2s.t5

125,16 0r

125.17

125.18

(2) with or without having alegalinterest in movable property, intentionally and without

consent, takes the property out of the possession of a pledgee or other person having a

superior right of possession, with intent thereby to deprive the pledgee or other person

permanently of the possession of the property; or

(i) the issuance of a check, draft, or order for the payment of money, except a forged

check as defined in section 609.631, or the delivery of property knowing that the actor is

not entitled to draw upon the drawee therefor or to order the payment or delivery thereof;

t2s.tg (iii) the preparation or filing of a claim for reimbursement, a rate application, or a cost

r2s.20 report used to establish arate or claim for payment for medical care provided to a recipient

r2s.2t of medical assistance under chapter 256B,which intentionally and falsely states the costs

tzs.z2 of or actual services provided by a vendor of medical care; or

(ii) a promise made with intent not to perform. Failure to perform is not evidence of

intent not to perform unless corroborated by other substantial evidence; or

(iv) the preparation or filing of a claim for reimbursement for providing treatment or

supplies required to be furnished to an employee under section 176.735 which intentionally

and falsely states the costs of or actual treatment or supplies provided; or

(v) the preparation or filing of a claim for reimbursement for providing treatment or

supplies required to be furnished to an employee under section 176.135 for treatment or

supplies that the provider knew were medically rmnecessary inappropriate, or excessive;

125.23

125.24

125.25

12s.26

125.27

t25.28

12s.29

125.30

125.31

t25.32

125.33

or

(4) by swindling, whether by artifice, trick, device, or any other means, obtains property

or services from another person; or

(5) intentionally commits any of the acts listed in this subdivision but with intent to

exercise temporary control only and:
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126.2

t26.3

126.4

126.5

126.6

t26.7

126.8

126.9

t26.r0

126.tr

126.12

126.13

126.t4

126.t5

t26.16

126.17

126. l 8

t26.r9

126.20

126.2t

126.22

126.23

126.24

126.25

126.26

126.27

126.28

126.29

t26.30

126.31

126.32

126.33
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(i) the control exercised manifests an indifference to the rights of the owner or the

restoration of the properfy to the owner; or

(ii) the actor pledges or otherwise attempts to subject the property to an adverse claim;

or

(iii) the actor intends to restore the property only on condition that the owner pay a

reward or buy back or make other compensation; or

(6) frnds lost property and, knowing or having reasonable means of ascertaining the true

owner, appropriates it to the finder's own use or to that of another not entitled thereto without

first having made reasonable effort to find the owner and offer and surrender the properfy

to the owner; or

(7) intentionally obtains property or services, offered upon the deposit of a sum of money

or tokens in a coin or token operated machine or other receptacle, without making the

required deposit or otherwise obtaining the consent of the owner; or

(8) intentionally and without claim of right converts any article representing a trade

secret, knowing it to be such, to the actor's own use or that of another person or makes a

copy of an article representing a trade secret, knowing it to be such, and intentionally and

without claim of right converts the same to the actor's own use or that of another person. It

shall be a complete defense to any prosecution under this clause for the defendant to show

that information comprising the trade secret was rightfully known or available to the

defendant from a source other than the owner of the trade secret; or

(9) leases or rents personal property under a written instrument and who:

(i) with intent to place the properfy beyond the control of the lessor conceals or aids or

abets the concealment of the property or any part thereof; or

(ii) sells, conveys, or encumbers the property or any part thereof without the written

consent of the lessor, without informing the person to whom the lessee sells, conveys, or

encumbers that the same is subject to such lease or rental contract with intent to deprive the

lessor ofpossession thereof; or

(iii) does not return the properfy to the lessor attheend of the lease or rental term, plus

agreed-upon extensions, with intent to wrongfully deprive the lessor of possession of the

properfy; or

(iv) returns the property to the lessor at the end of the lease or rental term, plus

agreed-upon extensions, but does not pay the lease or rental charges agreed upon in the

written instrument, with intent to wrongfully deprive the lessor of the agreed-upon charges.
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127.18
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t27.20
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For the purposes of items (iii) and (iv), the value of the property must be at least $100.

Evidence that a lessee used a false, fictitious, or not current name, address, or place of

employment in obtaining the property or fails or refuses to return the property or pay the

rental contract charges to lessor within five days after written demand for the return has

been served personally in the manner provided for service of process of a civil action or

sent by certified mail to the last known address of the lessee, whichever shall occur later,

shall be evidence of intent to violate this clause. Service by certified mail shall be deemed

to be complete upon deposit in the United States mail of such demand, posþaid and addressed

to the person at the address for the person set forth in the lease or rental agreement, or, in

the absence of the address, to the person's last known place of residence; or

(10) alters, removes, or obliterates numbers or symbols placed on movable properfy for

purpose of identification by the owner or person who has legal custody or right to possession

thereof with the intent to prevent identification, if the person who alters, removes, or

obliterates the numbers or symbols is not the owner and does not have the permission of

the owner to make the alteration, temoval, or obliteration; or

(11) with the intent to prevent the identification of property involved, so as to deprive

the rightful owner of possession thereof, alters or removes any permanent serial number,

permanent distinguishing number or manufacturer's identification number on personal

property or possesses, sells or buys any personal properfy knowing or having reason to

know thatthe permanent serial numbe¡ permanent distinguishing number ormanufacturer's

identification number has been removed or altered; or

(12) intentionally deprives another of a lawful charge for cable television service by:

(i) making or using or attempting to make or use an unauthonzedexternal connection

outside the individual dwelling unit whether physical, electrical, acoustical, inductive, or

other connection; or by

(ii) attaching any unauthorized device to any cable,wire, microwave, or other component

of a licensed cable communications system as defined in chapter 238. Nothing herein shall

be construed to prohibit the electronic video rerecording of program material transmitted

on the cable communications system by a subscriber for fair use as defined by Public Law

94-553, section 107; or

(13) except as provided in clauses (12) and,(14), obtains the services of another with

the intention of receiving those services without making the agreed or reasonably expected

payment of money or other consideration; or
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128.9
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(14) intentionally deprives another of a lawful charge for telecommunications service

by'

(i) making, using, or attempting to make or use an unauthonzed connection whether

physical, electrical, by wire, microwave, radio, or other means to a component of a local

telecommunication system as provided in chapter 237; or

(ii) attaching an unauthorized device to a cable, wire, microwave, radio, or other

component of a local telecommunication system as provided in chapter 237.

The existence of an unauthorized connection is prima facie evidence that the occupier

of the premises:

(A) made or was aware of the connection; and

(B) was aware that the connection was unauthorued;

(15) with intent to defraud, diverts corporate property other than in accordance with

general business purposes or for purposes other than those specified in the corporation's

articles of incorporation; or

(16) with intent to defraud, atthorizes or causes a corporation to make a distribution in

violation of section 302A.55I, or any other state law in conformity with it; or

(17) takes or drives a motor vehicle without the consent of the orü/ner or an authorized

agent of the owner, knowing or having reason to know that the owner or an authonzedagent

of the owner did not give consent; or

(18) intentionally, and without claim of right, takes motor fuel from a retailer without

the retailer's consent and with intent to deprive the retailer permanently of possession of

the fuel by driving a motor vehicle from the premises of the retailer without having paid

for the fuel dispensed into the vehicle-.; q

t19) ensases in or authonzes aprohibited practice of wage theft as described

in section 181.03 subdivision 1

(b) Proof that the driver of a motor vehicle into which motor fuel was dispensed drove

the vehicle from the premises of the retailer without having paid for the fuel permits the

factfinder to infer that the driver acted intentionally and without claim of right, and that the

driver intended to deprive the retailerpermanently ofpossession of the fuel. This paragraph

does not apply if: (l) pa¡rment has been made to the retailer within 30 days of the receipt

ofnotice ofnonpayment under section 604.15; or (2) a written notice as described in section

604.15, subdivision 4, disputing the retailer's claim, has been sent. This paragraphdoes not
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r2s.r apply to the owner of a motor vehicle if the vehicle or the vehicle's license plate has been

r2s.2 reported stolen before the theft of the fuel.

129.3

129.4

t29.s

129.6

129.7

r29.8

129.9

129.10

t29.lt

129.r2

129.r3

t29.t4

t29.15

129.16

t29.17

t29.18

129.t9

129.20

t29.21

129.22

r29.23

r29.24

129.25

t29.26

129.27

r29.28

129.29

129.30

t29.31

Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 609.52, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Sentence. Whoever commits theft may be sentenced as follows:

(1) to imprisonment for not more Than2} years or to payment of a fine of not more than

$100,000, or both, if the property is a firearm, or the value of the property or services stolen

is more than $35,000 and the conviction is for a violation of subdivision 2, clause (3), (4),

(15), or (16), or (19), or section 609.2335, subdivision 1, clause (1) or (2),rtem (i); or

(2) to imprisonment for not more than ten years or to payment of a fine of not more than

$20,000, or both, if the value of the property or services stolen exceeds $5,000, or if the

property stolen was an article representingatrade secret, an explosive or incendiary device,

or a controlled substance listed in Schedule I or II pursuant to section 152.02 with the

exception of marijuana; or

(3) to imprisonment for not more than five years or to payment of a fine of not more

than $10,000, or both, if any of the following circumstances exist:

(a) the value of the property or services stolen is more than S1,000 but not more than

$5,000; or

(b) the property stolen was a controlled substance listed in Schedule III, IY or V pursuant

to section 152.02; or

(c) the value of the property or services stolen is more than $500 but not more than

$1,000 and the person has been convicted within the preceding five years for an offense

under this section, section 256.98;268.182; 609.24; 609.245; 609.53:' 609.582, subdivision

!,2, or 3;609.625;609.63;609.63I; or 609.821, or a statute from another state, the United

States, or a foreign jurisdiction, in conformity with any of those sections, and the person

received a felony or gross misdemeanor sentence for the offlense, or a sentence that was

stayed under section 609.135 if the offense to which a plea was entered would allow

imposition of a felony or gross misdemeanor sentence; or

(d) the value of the property or services stolen is not more than $1,000, and any of the

following circumstances exist:

(i) the property is taken from the person of another or from a corpse, or gtrave or coffrn

containing a corpse; or
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130.9

130.10

130.1 I

t30.12

130.t3

130.14

130. l5

130. l6

130.t7
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130.19

130.20
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(ii) the property is a record of a court or officer, or a writing, instrument or record kept,

filed or deposited according to law with or in the keeping of any public officer or offtce; or

(iii) the property is taken from a burning, abandoned, or vacant building or upon its

removal therefrom, or from aî aÍeaof destruction caused by civil disaster, riot, bombing,

or the proximity of battle; or

(iv) the property consists of public funds belonging to the state or to any political

subdivision or agency thereof; or

(v) the property stolen is a motor vehicle; or

(4) to imprisonment for not more than one year or to payment of a fine of not more than

$3,000, or both, if the value of the property or services stolen is more than $500 but not

more than $1,000; or

(5) in all other cases where the value of the property or services stolen is 5500 or less,

to imprisonment for not more than 90 days or to payment of a fine of not more than $ 1 ,000,

or both, provided, however, in any prosecution under subdivision 2, clauses (1), (2), (3),

(4), and(13), the value of the money or property or services received by the defendant in

violation of any one or mote of the above provisions within any six-month period may be

aggregated and the defendant charged accordingly in applying the provisions of this

subdivision; provided that when two or more offenses are committed by the same person

in two or more counties, the accused may be prosecuted in any county in which one of the

offenses was committed for all of the offenses aggregatedunder this paragraph.

ARTICLE 6

EARNED SICK AND SAFE TIME

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 181.942, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Comparable position. (a) An employee returning from a leave of absence

under section 1 8 1 .941 is entitled to return to employment in the employee's former position

or in a position of comparable duties, number of hours, and pay. An employee returning

from a leave of absence longer than one month must notifr a supervisor at least two weeks

prior to return from leave. An employee returning from a leave under section I81.9412 or

+S+J'4+3 181.9445 is entitled to return to employment in the employee's former position.

130.21

730.22

130.23

t30.24

130.25

ßa.26

130.27

130.28

t30.29

130.30 (b) It during a leave under sections 181.940 to 78I.944, the employer experiences a

130.31 layoffand the employee would have lost a position had the employee not been on leave,

ßas2 pursuant to the good faith operation of a bona fide layoffand recall system, including a
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131.1 system under a collective bargaining agreement, the employee is not entitled to reinstatement

13t.2 in the former or comparable position. In such circumstances, the employee retains all rights

131.3 under the layoff and recall system, including a system under a collective bargaining

r31.4 agreement, as if the employee had not taken the leave.

131.s Sec. 2. 1181.94451 EARNED SICK AND SAFE TIME.

131.6 Subdivisron 1. Definitions. (a) For the purposes of this section and section 177.50, the

r3r.i terms defined in this subdivision have the meanings given them.

131.8 lb) "Commissioner" means the commissioner of labor and industrv or authorized designee

131.9 orrepresentative

131.10 (c) "Domestic abuse" has the meaning given in section 518B.01.

131.11 (d) "Earned sick and safe time" means leave. includine paid time offand other paid leave

r3t.t2 svstems. that is paid at the same hourly rate as an employee earns from ernployment that

131.13 mav be used for the same ourposes and under the same conditions as provided under

r3r.t4 subdivision 3

131.15 le) "Ernolovee" means anv Derson who is emoloved bv an employet includine temporary

131.16 andpart-time emplovees. who oerforms work for at least 80 hours in ayear for that employer

131.17 in Minnesota. Emplovee does not include an independent contractor.

131.18 lfl "Emolover" means a nerson who has one or more emolovees. Employer includes an

131.re individual, a corooration. a Oartnership, an association, a business trust, a nonprofit

r31.20 a srouo of oersons. a state. county. town, city, school district, or other

t31.21 sovernmental subdivision. In the event thata etnnlnwee 1S sìtnnlied hv a sfqffino

t31.22 asencv. absent a contractual asreement statins otherwise. that individual shall be an employee

131.23 of the staffrns asencv for all pufÞoses of this section and section 177 .50.

t31.24 (e) "Family member" means:

t3t.zs (1) an employee's:

131.26 (i) child. foster child. adult child. leqal ward, or child for whom the employee is legal

13t.27 guardian;

t3r.28 (ii) spouse or registered domestic partner;

r3r.29 (iiil sibling, stepsibling, or foster sibling;

131.30 (iv) parent or stePParent;

131.31 (v) srandchild. foster grandchild, or stepgrandchild; or

Article 6 Sec. 2. 131
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Q\ anv of the family members listed in clause (1) of a spouse or registered domestic

partner;

13) anv individual related bv blood or affrnitv whose close association with the employee

is the equivalent of a family relationship; and

(4) up to one individual annually designated by the employee.

(h) "Health care professional" means any person licensed under federal or state law to

provide medical or emergency services, including doctors, physician assistants, nurses, and

emergencv room personnel.

(i) "Prevailing wage rate" has the meaning given in section 177 .42 and as calculated by

the Department of Labor and Industry,

li) "Retaliatorv oersonnel action" means:

11) anv form of intimidation. threat. reorisal. harassment. discrimination. or adverse

employment action, including discipline, discharge, suspension, transfer, or reassignment

to a lesser position in terms of iob classification, iob security, or other condition of

employment; reduction in pav or hours or denial of additional hours; the accumulation of

ooints under an attendance point system: informine another employer that the person has

ensased in activities protected bv this chapter: or reporting or threatening to report the actual

or suspected citizenship or immisration status of an employee, former employee, or family

member of an employee to a federal, state, or local agency; and

or

interference with or for 1n mannef ln an

proceeding, or hearing under this chapter,

lk) "Sexual assault" means an act that constitutes a violation under sections 609.342 to

609.3453 or 609.352

û) "Stalkins" has the meanins siven in section 609.749.

(m) "Year" means a rezular and consecutive l2-month period, as determined by an

employer and clearly communicated to each employee of that employer.

Subd. 2. Accrual of earned sick and safe time. (a) An employee accrues a minimum

of one hour of earned sick and safe time for every 30 hours worked up to a maximum of 48

hours of earned sick and safe time in a year. Employees may not accrue more than 48 hours

of earned sick and safe time in a year unless the employer agrees to a higher amount.
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133.1 (b) Employers must permit an employee to cany over accrued but unused sick and safe

133.2 time into the following year. The total amount of accrued but unused earned sick and safe

133.3 time for an employee may not exceed 80 hours af any time, unless an ernployer agrees to a

133.4 hieher amount.

133.s (c) Employees who are exempt from overtime requirements under United States Code,

133.6 title29, section 213(a)(1), as amended through the effective date of this section, are deemed

133.7 to work 40 hours in each workweek for pumoses of accruinq earned sick and safe time.

133.8 except that an employee whose normal workweek is less than 40 hours will accrue earned

133.9 sick and safe time based on the normal workweek.

133.10 (d) Earned sick and safe time under this section begins to accrue at the commencement

133.11 of employment of the employee

t33.t2 (e) Employees may use accrued earned sick and safe time 90 calendar days

133.13 after the day their employment commenced. After 90 days from the day employment

133.14 commenced, employees may use earned sick and safe time as it is accrued. The

133.15

133.t6

133.t7

133.18

133.19

133.20

90-calendar-day period under this Þaragl:aphincludes both davs worked and days notworked.

Subd. 3. Use of earned sick and safe time. (a) An emplovee may use accrued earned

sick and safe time for:

(1) an emþlovee's:

(i) mental or physical illness, iqiury, or other health condition;

133.21 or health condition; or

133.22 (iii) need for preventive medical or health care;

133.23 (2) care of a family member:

133.24 with a mental or

need for medical

who needs medical r{iq crnncic ql'è

or.treatment of a mental or

1n or other health

or treatment of a mental or

illnes 1n

nhr¡cioql ilL.poo133.25

133.26 injury, or other health condition; or

133.27 (iii) who needs preventive medical or health care;

133.28 (3) absence due to domestic abuse, sexual assault, or stalking of the employee or

133.29 employee's family member, provided the absence is to

133.30 (i) seek medical attention related to physical or psychological in

133.31 by domestic abuse, sexual assault, or stalking;

Article 6 Sec. 2. 133
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lii) obtain services from a victim services organization:

111 obtain 1o or other

iv) seek relocation due to domestic abuse, sexual assault, or stalking; or

DIVH22O8CR1

134.1

134.2

134.3 (

134.4 (v) seek legal advice or take lesal action, including preparing for orparticipating in any

134.s civil or criminal lesal oroceedins related to or resultine from domestic abuse, sexual assault,

134.6 or stalkins:

134.7 (4)

134.8 or an employee'

t34.g closed due to weather or other public emergency; and

when it has been determined by the health authorities having jurisdiction or by a

closure of the employee's place of business due to weather or other public emergency

s need to care for a family member whose school or place of care has been

134.10 (5)

134.11 health careþrofessional that the Dresence of the employee or familv member ofthe employee

t34.rz in the community would ieopardize the health of others because of the exposure of the

134.r3 employee or familv member of the employee to a communicable disease, whether or not

t34.r4 the employee or family member has actually contracted the communicable disease.

r34.15

134.r6

134.17

134.1 8

t34.19

134.20

134.21

t34.22

134.23

134.24

t34.25

t34.26

r34.27

134.28

t34.29

134.30

134.31

ft) An emplover mav reouire notice of the need for use of earned sick and safe time as

orovided in this oarawaoh. If the need for use is foreseeable, an employer may require

advance notice of the intention to use earned sick and safe time but must not require more

than seven days' advance notice. If the need is unforeseeable, an employer may require an

emolovee to give notice of the need for earned sick and safe time as soon as practicable.

(c) When an employee uses earned sick and safe time for more than three consecutive

davs. an employer mav recuire reasonable documentation that the earned sick and safe time

is covered by la). For earned sick and safe time under paragtwh (a), clauses (1)

and(2\. reasonable documentation mav include a signed statement by a health care

orofessional indicatins the need for use of earned sick and safe time. For earned sick and

safe time under paragraph (a), clause (3), an must accept a court record or

documentation signed by a volunteer or employee of a victims services organization, an

attornev. a oolice officer^ antiviolence counselor as reasonable documentation. Anor an

emolover must not reculre disclosure of details relating to domestic abuse, sexual assault,

stalkins or the details of an emolovee's or an emplovee's family member's medical

condition as related to an emplovee's request to use earned sick and safe time under this

sectron.

or
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r3s.1 (d) An employer may not require, as a condition of an employee using earned sick and

13s.2 safe time, that the employee seek or find a replacement worker to cover the hours the

r3s.3 employee uses as earned sick and safe time

r3s.4 (e) Earned sick and safe time may be used in the smallest increment of time tracked by

135.5 the employer' s paWoll system, provided such increment is not more than four hours.

r3s.6 Subd. 4. Retaliation nrohibited. An employer shall not take retaliatory personnel action

r3s.7 against an employee because the employee has requested earned sick and safe time, used

135.8 earned sick and safe time, requested a statement of accrued sick and safe time, or made a

135.9 complaint or filed an action to enforce a rieht to earned sick and safe time under this section.

13s.10 Subd. 5. Reinstatement to comparable position after leave. An employee returning

13s.11 from a leave under this section is entitled to return to employment in a comparable position.

135.t2 If, durine a leave under this section, the employer experiences a layoffand the employee

135.13 would have lost a position had the employee not been on leave, pursuant to the good faith

r35.r4 operation of a bona fide layoff and recall system, including a system under a collective

13s.1s bargaining the employee is not entitled to reinstatement in the former or

r3s.t6 comparable position. In such circumstances, the employee retains all rights under the layoff

t3s.t't and recall includine a svstem under a collective bargaining agreement, as if the

13s.18 employee had not taken the leave

t3s.1e Subd. 6. Pav and benefits after leave. An employee returning from a leave under this

r3s.2o section is entitled to return to emplovment at the same rate of pay the employee had been

r35.2t receiving when the leave commenced, plus any automatic adjustments in the employed

r3s.z2 oav scale that occurred durins leave oeriod. The emplovee returning from a leave is entitled

r35.23

135.24

t3s.25

t35.26

135.27

135.28

135.29

135.30

i35.31

r35.32

135.33

135.34

to retain allaccrued oreleave benefits of emplovment and seniority as if there had been no

intemrption in service. orovided that nothing under this section prevents the accrual of

benefits or senioritv durins leave oursuant to a collective bareaininq or other agreementthe

between the employer and employees.

Subd. 7 .Part-time return from leave. An employee, by agreement with the employer,

mav return to work nart durins the leave period without forfeitine the rieht to returntime

to emolor,¡ment at the end of the leave, as provided under this section.

Subd. 8. Notice and nostins bv emplover. fa) Emplovers must give notice to all

employees that they are entitled to earned sick and safe time, including the amount of eamed

sick and safe time, the accrual year for the employee, and the terms of its use under this

section; that retaliation against employees who request or use earned sick and safe time is

orohibited: and that each emolovee has the risht to file a complaint or bring a civil action
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if earned sick and safe time is denied by the employer or the employee is retaliated against

for requesting or using earned sick and safe time.

lb) Emolovers must suoolv emolovees with a notice in Enelish and other appropriate

lansuases that contains the information required in paragraph (a) at commencement of

emplovment or the effective date of this section, whichever is later.

(c) The means used by the employer must be at least as eflective as the following options

for providing notice:

11) oostins a coov of the notice at eachlocation where emoloyees perform work and

where the notice mustbe readily observed and easilyreviewedby all employees performing

work; or

12) orovidins a DaDeÍ or electronic copv of the notice to emplovees.

The notice must contain all information required under paragraph (a). The commissioner

shall create and make available to employers a poster and a model notice that contains the

information required under parasraph (a) for their use in complying with this section.

(d) An employer that provides an employee handbook to its employees must include in

136.16 the handbook notice of employee rights and remedies under this section.

t36.ti Subd. 9. Required statement to emplovee. fa) Uoon request of the emplovee. the

136.18 emolover must provide. in writine or electronically, current information stating the

136.19 employee's amount of:

136.20 (1) earned sick and safe time available to the employee; and

136.21 (2) used earned sick and safe time.

136.22 (b) Employers may choose a reasonable system for providing the information in paragraph

136.23 (a), including but not limited to listine information on each pay stub or developing an online

t36.24 svstem where employees can access their own information.

136.2s Subd. 10. Employer records. ( \ Emnlm¡orc shall retain accurate records documenfrnoa

136.26 hours worked bv emolovees and earned sick and safe time taken and comply with all

136.27 requirements under section 177.30.

t36.zg ß) An emplover must allow an employee to inspect records required by this section and

136.29 relatins to that emolovee at a reasonable time and place.

136.30 Subd. 11. Confidentiality and nondisclosure. a in with this

r36.31 an employer possesses (1) health or medical information regarding an employee or an

136.32 employee's family member; (2) information pertaining to domestic abuse, sexual assault,
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t37.r or stalkine: 13) information that the employee has requested or obtained leave under this

13i.2 section: or (4) any written or oral statement. documentation, record, or corroborating evidence

r37.3 orovided bv the or an emolovee's familv member. the emploYer must treat such

137.4 information as confidential. Information siven by an employee may only be disclosed by

r3i.s an employer if the disclosure is requested or consented to by the employee, when ordered

137.6 by a court or administrative aqencv, or when otherwise required by federal or state law.

t3i,7 lb) Records and documents relatine to medical certifications, recertifications, or medical

histories of emplovees or familv members of emolovees created for purposes of this section

riz.g or section 177.50 must be maintained as confidential medical records separate from the

l37.lo usual personnel files. At the request of the employee, the employer must destroy or return

r37.tt the records required bv this section that are older than three vears prior to the current calendar

137.12 yeaL

13i.13 (c) Employers mav not discriminate aqainst any employee based on records created for

137.r4 the purposes of this section or section I77.50.

sick and safe time policies. (a) Nothing in this

137.8

137.t5

137.16

t31.t7

137.18

137.19

t31.20

137.21

137.22

r37.23

t37.24

137.25

r37.26

r37.27

137.28

t37.29

137.30

137.31

Subd. 12. No effect on more generous

section shall be construed to discourage emploYers from adopting or retaining earned sick

and safe time policies that meet or exceed, and do not otherwise conflictwith, the minimum

standards and requirements provided in this section.

lb) Nothins in this section shall be construed to limit the rieht of parties to a collective

agreementto bargatn and agree with respect to earned sick and safe time policies

or to diminish the obligation of an employer to comply with any contract, collective

asreement. or any emolovment benefit pro or olan that meets or exceeds,

and does not otherwise conflictwith. the minimum standards and requirements provided in

this section.

(c) Emplovers who provide earned sick and safe time to their emplovees under a paid

time offpolicy or other paid leave oolicy that meets or exceeds, and does not otherwise

conflict with, the minimum standards and requirements provided in this section are not

reouired to orovide additional earned sick and safe time

tdl An emt) mav ont satisfu the reouirements of this section for constructionto

industry employees by:

(1) at least the wase rate as defined

the Department of Labor and Industry; or137.32 by

Article 6 Sec. 2 t37
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Q\ pavins.at least the required rate established in a registered apprenticeship ag¡eement

for apprentices registered with the Department of Labor and Industry.

An employer electing this option is deemed to be in compliance with this section for

construction emolovees who receive either at least the prevailing wage rate or the

rate required inthe aoolicable apprenticeship asreementregardless ofwhetherthe employees

are working on private or public proiects.

(e) This section does not prohibit an employer from establishing a policy whereby

employees may donate unused accrued sick and safe time to anothq B4qpþyee

lfl This section does not orohibit an emolover from advancing sick and safe time to an

ernployee before accrual by the employee

Subd. 13. Termination; separation; transfer. This section does not require financial

or other reimbursement to an emolovee from an emplover upon the employee's termination,

resisnation. or other seoaration from emolovment for accrued earned sick and

safe time that has not been used. If an emolovee is transferred to a separate division, entity,

orlocation. but remains emoloved bv the same emplover. the emplovee is entitled to all

earned sick and safe time accrued at the prior division, enti& or location and is entitled to

use all earned sick and safe time as provided in this section. When there is a separatio" fto4q

emolor,¡ment and the ernolovee is rehired within 180 days of separation by the same employer,

nreviouslv accrued earned sick and safe time that had not been used must be reinstated. An

emolovee is entitled to use accrued earned sick and safe time and accrue additional earned

sick and safe time at the commencement of reemployment.

Subd. 14. Employer succession. (a) When a different emplover succeeds or takes the

place of an existing employer, all employees of the original employer who remain emploYed

138.24 by the successor employer are entitled to all earned sick and safe time accrued but not used

138.2s when emploved bv the original employet and are entitled to use all earned sick and safe

t38.26 time previously accrued but not used.

138.27 ft) If, at the time of transfer of the business, employees are terminated by the original

138.28 employer and hired within 30 davs bv the successor emplover following the transfer, those

t3l.2g employees are entitled to all earned sick and safe time accrued but not used when employed

138.30 bv the orieinal emolover" and are entitled to use all earned sick and safe time previously

138.31 accrued but not used.

r3s.32 Sec. 3. REPEALER.

Minnesota Statutes 2018. section 181.9413, is repealed.138.33

Article 6 Sec. 3. 138
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r3s.r Sec. 4. EFFECTIVE DATE.

r3s.z Sections 1 to 3 are efflective 180 days following final enactment.

ARTICLE 7

EARNED SICK AND SAFE TIME ENFORCEMENT

Subd. 2. Submission of records; penalty. The commissioner may require the employer

of employees working in the state to submit to the commissioner photocopies, certified

copies, or, if necessary the originals of employment records which the commissioner deems

necessary or appropriate. The records which may be required include full and correct

statements in writing, including sworn statements by the employer, containing information

relating to wages, hours, names, addresses, and any other information pertaining to the

employer's employees and the conditions of their employment as the commissioner deems

necessary or appropriate.

The commissioner may require the records to be submitted by certified mail delivery

or, if necessary by personal delivery by the employer or a representative of the employeq

as authorizedby the employer in writing.

139.s Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 177.27, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

139.6

139.7

139.8

139.9

1 39.10

139.1 I

139.t2

139. l3

139.14

139.15

139.16

1.39.17 The commissionermay fine the employerup to $1-900 $1 000 for each failure to submit

t3e.l8 or deliver records as required by this section. This penalty is in addition to any penalties

r3s.r9 provided under section 177.32, subdivision 1. In determining the amount of a civil penaþ

13s.20 under this subdivision, the appropriateness of such penalty to the size of the employer's

r3s.21 business and the gravity of the violation shall be considered.

139.22 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2078, section 177.27, subdivision 4, is amended to read

t3g.23 Subd. 4. Compliance orders. The commissioner may issue an order requiring an

t3s.z4 employertocomplywithsectionsl77.27toI77.435,78l.02,181.03, 181.03I,181.032,

t3s.2s 181.101, 181.11, 181.13, 181.14,181.745, 181.15, 181 .l72,paragraph(a)or(d), 1'81.275,

or with any rule139.26

139.27

139.28

739.29

139.30

139.31

139.32

subdivision 2a, I8l .7 22, 18L .7 9, and 1 8 1 .93 9 to 1 I 1 .943 andI8I.9445

promulgated under section I77.28. The commissioner shall issue an order requiring an

employer to comply with sections I77 .4I to 177 .435 if the violation is repeated. For purposes

of this subdivision onl¡ a violation is repeated if at any time during the two years that

preceded the date of violation, the commissioner issued an order to the employer for violation

of sections 777 .47 to 177 .435 and the order is final or the commissioner and the employer

have entered into a settlement agreement that required the employer to pay back wages that

Article 7 Sec.2. t39
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r40.r were requiredby sections 177.4I to 177.435. The department shall serve the orderupon the

r+a.2 employer or the employer's authorized representative in person or by certified mail at the

140.3 employer's place of business. An employer who wishes to contest the order must file wriffen

140.4 notice of objection to the order with the commissioner within 15 calendar days after being

140.s served with the order. A contested case proceeding must then be held in accordance with

140.6 sections 14.57 to 14.69.If, within 15 calendar days after being served with the order, the

140.7 employer fails to file a written notice of objection with the commissioner, the order becomes

140.8 a final order of the commissioner.

140.9

140.10

140.11

r40.t2

140.13

r40.14

140.1 5

t40.16

t40.17

140.1 8

140.19

140.20

r40.21

140.22

r40.23

140.24

140.25

r40.26

140.27

t40.28

140.29

140.30

r40.31

AA32

140.33

140.34

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 177.27, subdivision 7, is amended to read:

Subd. 7. Employer liability. If an employer is found by the commissioner to have

violated a section identified in subdivision 4, or any rule adopted under section t7l .28, and

the commissioner issues an order to comply, the commissioner shall order the employer to

cease and desist from engaging in the violative practice and to take such affirmative steps

that in the judgment of the commissioner will effectuate the purposes of the section or rule

violated. The commissioner shall order the employer to pay to the aggrieved parties back

pay, gratuities, and compensatory damages, less any amount actually paid to the employee

by the employer, and for an additional equal amount as liquidated damages. Any employer

who is found by the commissioner to have repeatedly or willfully violated a section or

sections identified in subdivision 4 shall be subject to a civil penalty of up to $1-90S $10 000

for each violation for each employee. In determining the amount of a civil penalty under

this subdivision, the appropriateness of such penalty to the size of the employer's business

and the gravity of the violation shall be considered. In addition, the commissioner may order

the employer to reimburse the department and the attorney general for all appropriate

litigation and hearing costs expended in preparation for and in conducting the contested

case proceeding, unless payment of costs would impose extreme financial hardship on the

employer. If the employer is able to establish extreme financial hardship, then the

commissioner may order the employer to pay apercentage of the total costs that will not

cause extreme financial hardship. Costs include but are not limited to the costs of services

rendered by the attorney general, private attorneys if engaged by the department,

administrative law judges, court reporters, and expert witnesses as well as the cost of

transcripts. Interest shall accrue on, and be added to, the unpaid balance of a commissioner's

order from the date the order is signed by the commissioner until it is paid, at an annualrute

provided in section 549.09, subdivisionT,paragraph (c). The commissionermay establish

escrow accounts for purposes of distributing damages.

Article 7 Sec. 3 t40



r41.1

141.2

14t.3

t4r.4

t41.5

141.6

t4L7

141.8

14r.9

141.10

141.11

141.12

L4r.t3

141.14

t4l.l5

141.t6

14r.17

141.18

141,.t9

141.20

t4t.2l

141.22

t4t.23

041041t9 REVISOR SSIBM DIVH22O8CR1

Sec. 4. 1177.501EARI\ED SICK AND SAFE TIME ENFORCEMENT.

Subdivision 1. Definitions. The definitions in section I81.9445, subdivision 1, apply to

this section.

Subd. 2. Rulemaking authority. The commissioner may adopt rules to carry out the

Durposes of this section and section78l.9445

Subd. 3. tndividual remedies. In addition to any other remedies provided by law, a

oerson iniured bv aviolation of section 181.9445 mav brine a civil action to recover general

and soecial alons with costs. fees. and reasonable attorney fees, and may receive

injunctive and other equitab le relief as determinedby a court. An action to recover damages

under this subdivision must be commenced within three vears of the violation of section

181.9445 that caused the iniurv to the emplovee.

Subd. 4. Grants to communitv organizations. The commissioner may make grants to

communitv tions for the oumose of outreach to and education for employees

their rights under section I8I.9445. The commgnity-based otgatizations must

be selected based on their capacity, and relationships in hieh-violation industries.

The work under such a srant mav include the creation and administration of a statewide

worker hotline.

Subd. 5. Report to legislature. (a) The commissioner must submit an annual report to

the leeislature- includins to the chairs and ranking minority members of any relevant

leeislative committee. The report must include, but is not limited to

(1) a list of all violations of section 18I.9445, includine the employer involved, and the

nature of any violations; and

(2\ afr analvsis ofnoncomnliance section 18I.9445. includine anv patterns bYwith

141.24 employer, industry, or county.

141.2s (b) A report under this section mustnot include an emplovee's name or other identit¡ing

t4t.26 information, any health or medical information regarding an employee or an employee's

t4t.27 familvmember, or anv information pertaining to domestic abuse, sexual assault, or stalking

r4r.2g of an emplovee or an employee's family member'

r4t.2s Subd. 6. Contract for labor or services. It is the responsibilitv of all employers to not

t4r.30 enter into any contract or agreement for labor or services where the employer has arty actual

r4t.3r knowledee or knowledee arising from familiarity with the normal facts and circumstances

t4t.32 of the business activitv ensased in. or has any additional facts or information that, taþ4

141.33 toSether. would make a reasonablv prudent person undertake to inquire whether, takeq

Article 7 Sec.4. t4I



04104119 REVISOR SS/B\ DIVH22O8CR1

142.1 together, the contractor is not complying or has failed to comply with this section. For

142.2 purposes of this subdivision, "actual knowledge" means information obtained by the ernployer

142.3 that the contractor has violated this section within the past two years and has failed to present

142.4 the employer with credible evidence that such noncompliance has been cured going forward.

t4z.s EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective 180 days after final enactment.

t42.8 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 15.72, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

142.6

142.7

142.9

142.t0

t42.rt

142.12

142.r3

ARTICLE 8

LABOR AND INDUSTRY POLICY

Subd. 2. Retainage. (4IA public contracting agency may reserve as retainage from any

progress payment on a public contract for a public improvement an amount not to exceed

five percent of the payment. A The public contracting agency may reduce the amount of

the retainage and may eliminate retainage on any monthly contract payment it in the agency's

opinion, the work is progressing satisfactorily.

contract requirements are being met.

(c) The public contracting agency must release any remaining retainage no later than 60

days after substantial completion.

(d) A contractor on a public contract for a public improvement muslI4y lut anJ

remaining retainage to its subcontractors no later than ten days after receiving payment of

retainase from the public contractins asency, unless there is a dispute about the work under

a subcontract. If there is a dispute about the work under a subcontract, the contractor must

oav out retainase to ânv subcontractor whose work is not involved in the dispute, and must

provide a written statement detailine the amount and reason for the withholding to the

affected subcontractor and the public agency,

(e) A contractor mav not reserve as retainase from a subcontractor an amount that exceeds

the amount reserved by the public contracting agency under this subdivision. Upon written

request of a subcontractor who has not been paid for work in accordance with section

16A.1245 or 47L425. subdivision 4a,the public contracting agency shall notifli the

subcontractor of a Drosress pavment. rctainage payment, or final paYment made to the

contractor. A contractor must include in any contract with a subcontractor the name, adùqqq

142.14 ft) For all construction contracts greater than $5,000,000, the public contracting agency

142:5 mustreduce to no more than2.5 percent ifthe public contracting agency determines

142.16 the work is 75 percent or more complete. that work is progressing satisfactorily, and all

142.17

142.18

142.19

142.20

742.21

t42.22

r42.23

142.24

t42.25

142.26

142.27

r42.28

142.29

t42.30

t42.31

142.32

Article 8 Section 1 r42



t43.1

143.2

t43.3

t43.4

143.5

143.6

743.7

r43.8

143.9

143. I 0

r43.11

r43.12

r43.t3

143.14

t43.r5

04t041t9

and teleDhone number

be contacted for purposes

(Ð After substantial

than

(1) 250 percent

//r\ one
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of a resoonsible official at the public contractingagertcy thatmay

of making a request under this paragraph.

letion, a public contracting agency may withhold no more

of the value of incomplete or defective work; and

ent of the value of the contract or $500 whichever is maqfar nanrlinct

If the oublic

completion and submission of all final paperworkby the contractor, provided that an amount

withheld under this clause maY not exceed $10,000.

asencv withholds par,¡ment under this paragraph, the public

contracting must oromptlv provide a written statement detailing the amount aq4

basis of wi to the contractor. The oublic contractins asency must provide a copy

of this statement to any subcon tractor that requests it. Anv amounts withheld for incomplete

or defective work shallbe paid within45 days after the completion of the work. Any amounts

withheld under clause (1) must be paid within 45 days after completion of the work. Any

amounts withheld under clause (2) must be paid within 45 days after submission of all final

t43.17

143.1 8

143.19

143.20

r43.21

143.22

t43.23

r43.24

143.25

r43.t6 paperwork.

(e) As used in this " sub stantial completion" shall be determined as provided

in section 541.051, subdivision 1, paragraph (a) For construction, reconstruction, or

improvement of streets and . includine bridees . substantial completion means the

date when construction-related traffic devices and inspections are no longer required.

(h) The maximum retainage percentage allowed for a buildins and construction contract

is the retainase oercentaqe withheld bv the public contractins agencv from the contractor,

6) ldins retainase for warranties or warranty work is prohibited.withho

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section applies to agreements entered into on or afterAugust

r,2019.

143.26

143.27

143.28

143.29

143.30

r43.3r

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 175.46, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Duties. (a) The commissioner shall:

(1) approve youth skills training progrcms that train student learners for careers in

high-growth, high-demand occupations that provide :

(i) that the work of the student learner in the occupations declared particularly hazardous

shall be incidental to the training;

Article 8 Sec. 2. r43



t44.1

144.2

t44.3

t44.4

144.5

144.6

144;1

r44.8

t44.9

744.10

144.11

144.12

t44.t3

144.t4

t44.15

144.t6

144.17

r44.r8

t44.t9

144.20

144.21

144.22

r44.23

144.24
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(ii) that the work shall be intermittent and for short periods of time, and under the direct

and close supervision of a qualified and experienced person;

(iii) that safety instruction shall be provided to the student learner and may be given by

the school and correlated by the employer with on-the-job training;

(iv) a schedule of organized and progressive work processes to be performed on the job;

(v) a schedule of wage rates in compliance with section 177.24; and

(vi) whether the student learner will obtain secondary school academic credit,

postsecondary credit, or both, for the training program;

(2) approve occupations and maintain a list of approved occupations for programs under

this section;

(3) issue requests for proposals for grants;

(4) work with individuals representing industry and labor to develop new youth skills

training programs;

(5) develop model program guides;

(6) monitor youth skills training programs;

(7) provide technical assistance to local partnership grantees;

(8) work with providers to identifu paths for receiving postsecondary credit for

participation in the youth skills training program; and

(9) approve other activities as necessary to implement the program.

(b) The commissioner shall collaborate with stakeholders, including, but not limited to,

representatives of secondary school institutions, career and technical education instructors,

postsecondary institutions, businesses, and laboq in developing youth skills training

programs, and identifying and approving occupations and competencies for youth skills

training programs.

144.2s Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 175.46, subdivision 13, is amended to read:

144.26 Subd. 13. Grant awards. (a) The commissioner shall award grants to localpartnerships

144.2i for vouth skills orosïams that train student learners for careers in hieh-erowth,

144.28 hieh-demand occupations. Grant awards may not exceed $100,000 per local partnership

144.29 grant.

Article 8 Sec.3 t44
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(þ) A local partnership awarded a grantunder this section must use the grant award for

any of the following implementation and coordination activities:

(1) recruiting additional employers to provide on-the-job training and supervision for

student learners and providing technical assistance to those employers;

(2) recruiting students to participate in the local youth skills training program, monitoring

the progress of student leamers participating in the program, and monitoring program

outcomes;

(3) coordinating youth skills training activities within participating school districts and

among participating school districts, postsecondary institutions, and employers;

(4) coordinating academic, vocational and occupational learning, school-based and

work-based learning, and secondary and postsecondary education for participants in the

local youth skills training program;

(5) coordinating transportation for student learners participating in the local youth skills

training program; and

(6) any other implementation or coordination activity that the commissioner may direct

or permit the local partnership to perform.

@XÐ Grant awards may not be used to directly or indirectly pay the wages of a student

learner.

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 176.1812, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Fiting and revie\ry. (ùA copy of the agreement and the approximate number

of employees who will be covered under it must be filed with the commissioner. Within 21

days of receipt of an agreement, the commissioner shall review the agreement for compliance

with this section and the benefit provisions of this chapter and notifu the parties of any

additional information required or any reconìmended modification that would bring the

agreement into compliance. IJpon receipt of any requested information or modification, the

commissioner must notiff the parties within 27 dayswhether the agreement is in compliance

with this section and the benefit provisions of this chapter.

ft) After an agreement is aooroved bv the commissioner under p aragt aph (a), a qualified

emolover mav ioin orwithdraw from a qualifîed group of employers without commissioner

review or approval. The commissioner must be notified within 30 days when a qualified

employer oins or withdraws from a qualif,red group of employers.

REVISOR SS/BM DTVH22O8CRl

145.1

145.2

t45.3

745.4

145.5

t45.6

t4s.7

145.8

145.9

145.10

145.11

145.12

14s.13

t45.r4

r45.15

145.t6

145.t7

145.18

t45.19

t45.20

t45.2r

t45.22

145.23

t45.24

14s.25

145.26

14s.27

145.28

145.29

145.30

145.31

Article 8 Sec.4 t45



146.4 dispute resolution data, in the form and manner prescribed by the commissioner. Dispute

146.s resolution data includes information about facilitation, mediation, and arbitration and shall

146.6 be provided annually to the commissioner to enable the commissioner to arnualþ report

146.7 aggregate dispute data to the legislature. issioner

146.8

146.9

146.10

146.r1

746.1

146.2

146.3

146.12

146.t3

146.14
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Glh order for any agreement to remain in effect, it must provide for a timely and

accurate method of reporting to the commissionerneeess@senriee
ees+an*utitizatiem the individual claims covered by the agreement and claim-specific

the Workers' eompensation €ourt of rppeals; the effiee of Adrninistrative Hearings; the

;

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 176.231, subdivision 1, is amended to read

Subdivision 1. Time limitation. (q[Vhere death or serious ittjury occurs to an employee

during the course of employment, the employer shall report the injury or death to the

commissioner and insurer within 48 hours after its occruïence. Where any other injury

occurs which wholly or partly incapacitates the employee from performing labor or service

for more than three calendar days, the employer shall report the injury to the insurer on a

form prescribed by the commissioner within ten days from its occwrence. An insurer and

self-insured employer shall report the injury to the commissioner no later than 14 days from

its occurrence. Where an injury has once been reported but subsequently death ensues, the

employer shall report the death to the commissioner and insurer within 48 hours after the

employer receives notice of this fact. An employer who provides notice to the Occupational

146.t5

146.16 (vi) prqieeteé ineurreé eosts ané aetual eosts of elaims;

146.17

146.t8

t46.19

t46.20 EFFECTIVE DATE. Parasraphs (a) and (b) are effective June 7,2079- Pafqglqpb{g)

146.21 is effective August 1,2020.

146.22

146.23

146.24

146.25

146.26

146.27

146.28

146.29

146.30

t46.31

146.32
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t4i.s Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 179.86, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

147.10 Subdivision 1. Definition. For the purpose of this section, "employer" means:

147.11 (1) ur employer i whose employees routinely pack, can, or

747.12 otherwise Drocess ooultrv or meat for human consumption; or

147.r3 Q\ anemployer whose emplovees routinely clean or sterilize meat processing or poultry

147.14 processins equipment used by an employer as defined in clause (1)

147.1

147.2

t47.3

r47.4

147.5

147.6

t47.7

147.8

147.r5

147.16

147.t7

t47.t8

r47.19

141.20

t47.21

t47.22

147.23

147.24

147.25

t47.26

t47.27

147.28

147.29

14',t.30
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Safety and Health Division of the Department of Labor and Industry of afatalily within the

eight-hour time frame required by law, or of an inpatient hospitalization within the24-hour

time frame required by law, has satisfied the employer's obligation under this section.

ß) At the time an iniury is required to be reported to the commissioner, the insurer or

self-insured emolover must also soecifu whether the iniury is covered by a collective

bargaining agreement approved by the commissioner under section 176.181.2. Notice must

be provided in the format and manner prescribed by the commissioner.

EFFECTM DATE. This section is effective August 1,2020.

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 179.86, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Information provided to employee by employer. (a) An employer must

provide an explanation in-anemployeelsnafive{anguage of the employee's rights and duties

as an employee either person to person or through written materials that, at a minimum,

include:

(1) a complete description of the salary andbenefits plans as they relate to the employee;

(2) a job description for the employee's position;

(3) a description of leave policies;

(4) a description of the work hours and work hours policy; and

(5) a description of the occupationalhazards known to exist for the position.

(b) The explanation must also include information on the following employee rights as

protected by state or federal law and a description of where additional information about

those rights may be obtained:

(1) the right to organizeand bargain collectively and refrain from organ izing arñ

bargaining collectively;

(2) the right to a safe worþlace; and

Article 8 Sec.7. 147
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148.1 (3) the right to be free from discrimination.

t4ç.z (c) The exp lanation must be provided in a language the employee speaks fluently.

148.3 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 181.635, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

148.4

148.s

148.6

t48.7

148.8

148.9

Subd. 2. Recruiting; required disclosure. An employer shall provide written disclosure

of the terms and conditions of employment to a person at the time it recruits the person to

relocate to work in the food processing industry. The disclosure requirement does not apply

to an exempt employee as defined in United States Code, title29, section 213(a)(1). The

disclosure mustbe written in

in addition to anv other lanzuages preferred by the employer. The disclosure must be dated

Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2078, section L82.659, subdivision 8, is amended to read

Subd. 8. Protection from subpoena; data. Neither the commissioner nor arLy employee

ofthe department

is subject

to subpoena for purposes of inquiry into any occupational safety and health inspection

except in enforcement proceedings brought under this chapter.Datathat identiff individuals

who provide data to the department as part of an investigation conducted under this chapter

shall be private.

Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 182.666, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Willful or repeated violations. Any employerwho willfully orrepeatedly

violates the requirements of section 182.653, or any standard, rule, or order adopted under

the authority of the commissioner as provided in this chapteq may be assessed a f,tne not to

exceed $70p09 $129 335 for each violation. The minimum fine for a willful violation is

148.2s $s90e J9øq.

148,30 EFFECTM DATE. This section is effective Julv I,2019.

148.10 and signed by the employer and the person recruited, and maintained by the employer for

148.11 two years. If the employer has any reason to doubt the employee's ability to read, the

149.12 employer must read the disclosure out loud to the employee in a language the employee

148.13 speaks fluently before the disclosure is signed. A copy ofthe signed and completed disclosure

148. 14 must be delivered immediately to the recruited person. The disclosure may not be construed

148.15 as an employment contract.

148.1ó

t48.r7

148. I 8

t48.19

148.20

148.2r

148.22

t48.23

148.24

t48.2s

148.26

r48.27

148.28
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149.1 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 182.666, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

149.2

149.3

t49.4

149.5

r49.6

149.7

Subd. 2. Serious violations. Any employer who has received a citation for a serious

violation of its duties under section 182.653, or any standard, rule, or order adopted under

the authority of the commissioner as provided in this chapter, shall be assessed a fine not

to exceed $7P00 $]2p3I for each violation. If a serious violation under section 782.653,

subdivision 2, causes or contributes to the death of an employee, the employer shall be

assessed a fine of up to $25,000 for each violation.

Subd. 3. Nonserious violations. Any employer who has received a citation for a violation

of its duties under section 782.653, subdivisions 2 to 4, where the violation is specifically

determined not to be of a serious nature as provided in section 182.651, subdivision t2,

may be assessed a fine of up to $78e0 S12,935 for each violation.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July I,20Ig.

Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 182.666, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. Failure to correct a violation. Any employer who fails to correct a violation

for which a citation has been issued under section 182.66 within the period permitted for

its correction, which period shall not begin to run until the date of the final order of the

commissioner in the case of any review proceedings under this chapter initiated by the

employer in good faith and not solely for delay or avoidance of penalties, may be assessed

a fine of not more than $7B00 $12,935 for each day during which the failure or violation

continues.

EFFECTM DATE. This section is effective Julv t, 2019.

149.8 EFFECTTVE DATE. This section is effective July 1,2019

t4s.s Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 182.666, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

149.10

r49.tt

149.t2

149. l3

r49.14

t49.ts

149.t6

149.t7

149.18

149.19

149.20

149.21

149.22

t49.23

t4s.z4 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 182.666, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

t4s.2s Subd. 5. Posting violations. Any employer who violates any of the posting requirements,

14s.26 as prescribed under this chapter, except those prescribed under section 182.661, subdivision

t4s.2i 3a, shall be assessed a fine of up to $+pOe S12,935 for each violation.

t4s.2s EFFECTM DATE. This section is effective Julv I,2019.
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t50.2

150.3

150.4

150.5

150.6

150.7

150.8

150.9

150.10

150.11

iso.12

1s0.13

150.14

l 50.15

150. l6

150.17

150. l I

150.19

150.20

150.21

1s0.22

1s0.23

t50.24

750.25

150.26

150.21

150.28

150.29

150.30

150.31

rs0.32
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Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 182.666, is amended by adding a subdivision

to read:

Subd. 6a. Increases for inflation. No later than À r¡rnrct 3l ofeach r¡eqr heoinnino

in2019, the commissioner shall determine the percentage increase in the rate of inflation,

as measured by the implicit price deflator, national data for personal consumption

expenditures as determined by the United States Department of Commerce, Bureau of

Economic Analysis durine the l2-month period immediately preceding that August or, if
that datais unavailable. durine the most recent l2-month period for which data is available.

The fines in subdivisions 1. 2. 3.4^ and 5. except for the fine for a serious violation under

section 182.653, subdivision2.that causes or contributes to the death of an employee, are

increased by the lesser of 11) 2.5 oercent rounded to the nearest dollar amount evenly

divisible by ten, or the percentage calculated by the commissioner, rounded to the nearest

dollar amount evenlv divisible by ten.

tb) The fines increased under Darasraph (a) shall not be increased to an amount greater

than the federal penalties for the specified violations promulgated in United

States Code, ffiIe29. section, 666, subsections (a)-(d), (i), as amended through November

5, 1990, and adjusted according to United States Code, title2ï, section 246l,no!q(Igdql4!

Civil Penalties Inflation Adiustment), as amended through November 2,2075.

(c) A fine must not be reduced under this subdivision. A fine increased under this

subdivision takes effect on the next January 1.

EFFECTM DÄTE. This section is effective July I,2019

Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 3268.082, subdivision 6, is amended to read:

Subd. 6. Notices of violation. (a) The commissioner may issue a notice of violation to

any person who the commissioner determines has committed a violation of the applicable

law. The notice of violation must state a summary of the facts that constitute the violation

and the applicable law violated. The notice of violation may require the person to correct

the violation. If correction is required, the notice of violation must state the deadline by

which the violation must be corrected.

(b) The commissioner shall issue the notice of violation by:

(1) serving the notice ofviolation on the properfy owner or on the person who committed

the violation; or

(2) posting the notice of violation at the location where the violation occurred.
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1s1.1 (c) If the person to whom the commissioner has issued the notice of violation believes

1s1.2 the notice was issued in error, then the person may request reconsideration of the parts of

1s1.3 the notice that the person believes are in error. Tlie request for reconsideration must be in

ls:.4 writing and must be served on or2 faxed.s! r-nqeiled to the commissioner at the address or,

151.5 fax number, or e-mail address specified in the notice of violation by the tenth day after the

commissioner issued the notice ofviolation. The date on which a request for reconsideration

is served by mail shall be the postmark date on the envelope in which the request for

reconsideration is mailed. If the person does not serve or, fax, or e-mail a written request

for reconsideration or if the person's written request for reconsideration is not served on or

faxed to the commissioner by the tenth day after the commissioner issued the notice of

violation, the notice of violation shall become afinaI order of the commissioner and will

not be subject to review by any court or agency. The request for reconsideration must:

(1) speciff which parts of the notice of violation the person believes are in error;

(2) explain why the person believes the parts are in error; and

(3) provide documentation to support the request for reconsideration.

The commissioner shall respond in writing to requests for reconsideration made under

this paragraph within 15 days after receiving the request. A request for reconsideration does

not stay a requirement to correct a violation as set forth in the notice of violation. After

reviewing the request for reconsideration, the commissioner may affirm, modifu, or rescind

the notice of violation. The commissioner's response to a request for reconsideration is final

and shall not be reviewed by any court or agency.

tst.zz Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 3268.082, subdivision 8, is amended to read:

151.6

151.7

151.8

151.9

151.10

1s t.1 l

tsr.t2

1s1.13

15 1.14

15i.15

15 1.16

151.17

151.18

151.19

151.20

15ï.21

151.23

t51.24

tsl.25

t51.26

15t.21

Subd. 8. Hearings related to administrative orders. (a) Within 30 days after the

commissioner issues an administrative order or within 20 days after the commissioner issues

the notice under section 3268.083, subdivision3,parugraph (b), clause (3), the person to

whom the administrative order or notice is issued may request an expedited hearing to

review the commissioner's order or notice. The request for hearing must be in writing and

151.28 mustbe served onor, or e-mailed to the commissioner at the address or, fax number,

rst.2g or e-mail address specified in the order or notice. If the person does not request a hearing

151.30 or if the person's written request for hearing is not served on of2 or e-mailed to the

1s1.31 commissioner by the 30th day after the commissioner issues the administrative order or the

tsr.3z 20th day after the commissioner issues the notice under section 326B.083, subdivision 3,

1s1.33 paragraph (b), clause (3), the order will become a final order of the commissioner and will

151.34 not be subject to review by any court or agency. The date on which a request for hearing is
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lsz.t served by mail shall be the postmark date on the envelope in which the request for hearing

tsz.2 is mailed. The hearing request must specifically state the reasons for seeking review of the

rsz.3 order or notice. The person to whom the order or notice is issued and the commissioner are

ls2.4thepartiestotheexpeditedhearing.Thecommissionermustnotifirthepersontowhomthe

tsz.s order or notice is issued of the time and place of the hearing at least 15 days before the

tsz.6 hearing. The expedited hearing must be held within 45 days after arequest for hearing has

152.7 been received by the commissioner unless the parties agree to a later date.

1s2.8

1s2.9

1s2.10

r52.11

t52.12

rs2.I3

152.14

152.15

t52.16

r52.17

152. I 8

ts2.19

r52.20

t52.2t

152.22

t52.23

152.24

r52.25

152.26

152.27

t52.28

t52.29

(b) Parties may submit written arguments if permitted by the administrative law judge.

All written arguments must be submitted within ten days following the completion of the

hearing or the receipt of any late-filed exhibits that the parties and the administrative law

judge have agreed should be received into the record, whichever is later. The hearing shall

be conducted under Minnesota Rules, parts 1400.8510 to 1400.8672, as modified by this

subdivision. The Ofüce of Administrative Hearings may, in consultation with the agency,

adopt rules specifîcally applicable to cases under this section.

(c) The administrative lawjudge shall issue areportmaking findings of fact, conclusions

of law, and a recommended order to the commissioner within 30 days following the

completion of the hearing, the receipt of late-filed exhibits, or the submission of written

arguments, whichever is later.

(d) If the administrative law judge makes a finding that the hearing was requested solely

for purposes of delay or that the hearing request was füvolous, the commissioner may add

to the amount of the penalty the costs charged to the department by the Office of

Administrative Hearings for the hearing.

(e) If a hearing has been held, the commissioner shall not issue a final order until at least

five days after the date of the administrative law judge's report. Any person aggrieved by

the administrative law judge's report may, within those five days, serve written comments

to the commissioner on the report and the commissioner shall consider and enter the

comments in the record. The commissioner's final order shall comply with sections L4.61,

subdivision2,andl4.62,subdivisions 1 and 2a,andmay be appealed in the mannerprovided

in sections 14.63 to t4.69.

152.30 Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 3268.082, subdivision 12, is amended to read:

tsz.3r Subd. 12. Issuance of licensing orders; hearings related to licensing orders. (a) If

r5z.3z the commissioner determines that a permit, license, registration, or certif,rcate should be

tsz.33 conditioned, limited, suspended, revoked, or denied under subdivision 11, or that the permit

rsz.34 holder, licensee, registrant, or certificate holder should be censured under subdivision 11,
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1s3.1 then the commissioner shall issue to the person an order denying, conditioning, limiting,

1s3.2 suspending, or revoking the person's permit, license, registration, or certifi cate, or censuring

1s3.3 the permit holder, licensee, registrant, or certificate holder.

153.4

153.5

153.6

753.7

153.8

153.9

153.10

153.1 1

ts3.t2

153.r3

153. 14

1s3. l5

153.16

153.t7

ls3.l8

1s3.19

153.20

153.21

1s3.22

(b) AnV order issued und er paragraph (a) may include an assessment of monetary penalties

and may require the person to cease and desist from committing the violation or committing

the act, conduct, or practice set out in subdivision l l,paragraph (b). The monetary penalty

may be up to $ 10,000 for each violation or act, conduct, or practice committed by the person.

The procedures in section 3268.083 must be followed when issuing orders under patagraph

(a).

(c) The permit holder, licensee, registrant, certificate holdq or applicant to whom the

commissioner issues an order under paragraph (a) shall have 30 days after issuance of the

order to request a hearing. The request for hearing must be in writing and must be served

on or2 faxedr_s1 e-melþ{ to the commissioner at the address or, fax nurnber or e-mail address

specified in the order by the 30th day after issuance of the order. If the person does not

request a hearing or if the person's written request for hearing is not served on or2 faxed, or

e-mailed to the commissioner by the 30th day after issuance of the ordeç the order shall

become a f,rnal order of the commissioner and will not be subject to review by any court or

agency. The date on which a request for hearing is served by mail shall be the postmark

date on the envelope in which the request for hearing is mailed. If the person submits to the

commissioner a timely request for hearing, the order is stayed unless the commissioner

summarily suspends the license, registration, certif,rcate, or permit under subdivision 13,

and,acontested case hearing shall be held in accordance with chaptet 14.

Subd. 11. Public building. "Public building" means a building and its grounds the cost

of which is paid for by the state or a state agency regardless of its cost, and a sehoeldisldet

1s3.26 building projectforaschoo1districtorcharterschool@thecostofwhichis

rs3.27 S100,000 or more.

t53.23 Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 3268.t03, subdivision 11, is amended to read:

153.24

153.25

153.28

153.29

153.30

153.31

r53.32

Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 3268.L06, subdivision 9, is amended to read

Subd.9.Accessibilify.(a)Publicbuildings.Thecodemust@require

new public buildings and remodeled portions

of existins public buildings to be accessible to and usable by persons with disabilities;

altheugh this does net require the remodeling of publie buildings solely to proviée
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154.1

rs4.2 beunde*aken.

1s4.3 (b) Leased space. No agency of the state may lease space for agency operations in a

rs4.4 non-state-owned building unless the building satisfies the requirements of the State Building

ts4.s Code for accessibility by persons with disabilities, or is eligible to display the state symbol

ts4.6 of accessibility. This limitation applies to leases of 30 days or more for space of at least

rsl.i 1,000 square feet.

1s4.8 (c) Meetings or conferences. Meetings or conferences for the public or for state

ts4.g employees which are sponsored in whole or in part by a state agency must be held in

154.10 buildings that meet the State Building Code requirements relating to accessibility for persons

154.11 with disabilities. This subdivision does not apply to any classes, seminars, or training

ts4.rz programs offered by the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities or the University of

ts4.l3 Minnesota. Meetings or conferences intended for specific individuals none of whom need

ts4.r4 the accessibility features for persons with disabilities specified in the State Building Code

ts4.ts need not comply with this subdivision unless a person with a disability gives reasonable

rs4.t6 advance notice of an intent to attend the meeting or conference. When sign language

ts4.r7 interpreters will be provided, meetings or conference sites must be chosen which allow

ls4.t8 participants who are deaf or hard-of-hearing to see the sign language interpreters clearly.

rs4.tg (d) Exemptions. The commissioner may grantan exemption from the requirements of

rs4.20 paragraphs (b) and (c) in advance if an agency has demonstrated that reasonable efforts

ts4.2t were made to secure facilities which complied with those requirements and if the selected

ts4.2z facilities are the best available for access for persons with disabilities. Exemptions shall be

1s4.23 granted using criteria developed by the commissioner in consultation with the Council on

1s4.24 Disability.

rs4.2s (e) Symbol indicating access. The wheelchair symbol adopted by Rehabilitation

ts4.26 International's Eleventh World Congress is the state symbol indicating buildings, facilities,

rs4.27 and grounds which are accessible to and usable by persons with disabilities. In the interests

ts4.2g of uniformity, this symbol is the sole symbol for display in or on all public or private

ts4.2s buildings, facilities, and grounds which qualiff for its use. The secretary of state shall obtain

1s4.30 the symbol and keep it on file. No building,factlity, or grounds may display the symbol

rs4.3t unless it is in compliance with the rules adopted by the commissioner under subdivision 1.

154.32 Before any rules are proposed for adoption under this paragraph, the commissioner shall

ts4.33 consult with the Council on Disability. Rules adopted under this paragraphmust be enforced

rs4.34 in the same way as other accessibility rules of the State Building Code.
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Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 3268.46, is amended by adding a subdivision

to read:

1 55.1

t55.2

155.8

155.9

155.10

155.1 I

155.12

155.13

155.14

155. t5

155.16

155.17

155.18

155.19

lss.3 Subd. 7. License number to be displayed. Any vehicle used by a plumbing contractor

155.4 or restricted contractor while performing plumbing work for which a contractor's

rss.s license is required shall have the contractor's name and license number as it appears on the

155.6 contractor's license in contrastins color with characters at least three inches high and one-half

tss.i inch in width affrxed to each side of the vehicle.

Sec.22. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 3268.475, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. Renewal; use period for license. (a) A restricted master plumber and restricted

journeyworker plumber license must be renewed for as long as that licensee engages in the

plumbing trade. Notwithstanding section 3268.094, failure to renew a restricted master

plumber and restricted journey'ovorker plumber license within 12 months after the expiration

date will result in permanent forfeiture of the restricted master plumber and restricted

j ourneyworker plumber license.

(Ð The eormnissioner shall in a marmer determined by the eornrnissioneû without tlre

g"e-Vearlieenses

155.20 Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 3268.802, subdivision 15, is amended to read:

t55.21 Subd. 15. Special skill. "Special skill" means one of the following eight categories:

155.22 (a) Excavation. Excavation includes work in any of the following areas:

Iss.23 (1) excavation;

rss.24 (2) trenching;

155.25 (3) grading; and

r55.26 (4) site grading.

155.27 (b) Masonry and concrete. Masonry and concrete includes workin any ofthe following

155.28 areas

tss.2s (1) drain systems;

(2) poured walls;15s.30
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156.1 (3) slabs and poured-in-place footings;

rs6.z (4) masonry walls;

156.3 (5) masonry fireplaces;

156.4 (6) masonry veneer; and

156.5 (7) water resistance and waterproofing

ts6.6 (c) Carpentry. Carpentry includes work in any of the following areas:

156;7 (1) rough framing;

1s6.8 (2) frnish carpentry;

1s6.9 (3) doors, windows, and sþlights;

156. l0 (4) porches and decks, excluding footings;

156.1 l (5) wood foundations; and

rs6.t2 (6) drywall installation, excluding taping and finishing

156.13 (d) Interior finishing. Interior finishing includes work in any of the following areas:

1s6.14 (1) floor covering;

ts6.l5 (2) wood floors;

1s6.16 (3) cabinet and counter top installation;

156.17 (4) insulation and vapor barriers;

156.18 (5) interior or exterior painting;

156.19 (6) ceramic, marble, and quarry tile;

156.20 (7) ornamental guardrail and installation of prefabricated stairs; and

ts6.2r (8) wallpapering.

156.22 (e) Exterior fînishing. Exterior finishing includes work in any of the following areas

rs6.23 (1) siding;

rs6.24 (2) soffrt, fascia, and trim;

1s6.25 (3) exterior plaster and stucco;

1s6.26 (4) painting; and

(5) rain carryíng systems, including gutters and down spouts156.27
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t57.1 (f) Drywall and plaster. Drywall and plaster includes work in any of the following

157:2 areAs:

15'Ì.3 (1) installation;

1s7.4 (2) tapng;

157.5 (3) finishing;

rsl.6 (4) interior plaster;

r57.7 (5) painting:, and

1s7.8 (6) wallpapering.

751.9 (g) Residential roofing. Residential roofing includes work in any of the following areas:

is7.lo (1) roof coverings;

rsl.rt (2) roof sheathing;

157.12 (3) roof weatherproofing and insulation; and

157.13 (4) repair of roof support system, but not construction of new roof support system'; and

ts7.t4 (5) penetration of roo f covering for purposes of attaching a solar photovoltaic system.

ls1.t5 (h) General installation specialties.Installation includes work in any of the following

I57.16 areas:

757.r7 (1) garage doors and openers;

I 57.1 8 (2) pools, spas, and hot tubs;

157.19 (3) fireplaces and wood stoves;

157.20 (4) asphalt paving and seal coating; and

157.21 (5) ornamental guardrail and prefabricated stairs'; and

ts1.22 (6) assemblv of the support sYstem for a solar photovoltaic system.

t57.23 Sec.24.Miruresota Statutes 2018, section 3268.815, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

t5"1.24

151.25

157.26

Subdivision 1. Fees. (a) For the purposes of calculating fees under section 326B.092,

an initial or renewed residential contractor, residential remodeler, or residential roofer license

is abusiness license. Notwithstanding section 3268.092,the licensing fee formanufactured

home installers under section 3278.04I is $300 $180 for a three-year period.157.27
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1s8.1 (b) All initial and renewal licenses, except for manufactured home installer licenses,

1s8.2 shall be effective for two years and shall expire on March 31 of the year after the year in

rs8.3 which the application is made.

1s8.4 (c) The commissioner shall in a manner determined by the commissioner, without the

lsg.s need for any rulemaking under chapter 14, phase in the renewal of residential contractor,

158.6 residential remodeler, and residential roofer licenses from one year to two years. By June

1s8.7 30,2011, all renewed residential contractor, residential remodeler, and residential roofer

158.8 licenses shall be two-year licenses.

1s8.9 Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 3268.821, subdivision2l, is amended to read:

158.10 Subd. 21. Residentialbuilding contractor, remodeler, and roofer education. (a) Each

licensee must, during each continuing education reporting period, complete and report one

hour of continuing education relating to energy codes or energy conservation measures

158. l3 applicable to residential and one hour ofbusiness management strategies applicable

158.14 to residential construction businesses.

ts8.ts (b) Immediately following the adoption date of anew residential code, the commissioner

ts8.t6 may prescribe that up to seven of the required 14 hours of continuing education credit per

1s8.17 licensure period include education hours specifically designated to instruct licensees on

1s8.18 new or existing State Building Code provisions.

158.19 Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 3268.84, is amended to read

158.20 3268.84 GROUNDS FOR SANCTIONS.

1s1.2r The commissioner may use any enforcement provision in section 3268.082 against an

rs1.zz applicant for, qualiffing person of, or holder of a license or certificate of exemption, or any

rs8.23 individual or entitY who is required by law to hold a license or certificate of exemption, if

ts1.24 the_lq4úlduqlrgntiÐa applicant, licensee, certificate of exemption holder, qualiffing person,

ts1.2s or owner, officer, member, managing employee, or affrliate of the applicant, licensee, or

rsl.26 certificate of exemption holder:

158.1 1

158.12

758.27

158.28

t58.29

1s8.30

158.31

(1) has filed an application for licensure or a certificate of exemption which is incomplete

in any material respect or contains any statement which, in light of the circumstances under

which it is made, is false or misleading with respect to any material fact;

(2) has engaged in a fraudulent, deceptive, or dishonest practice;

(3) is permanentþ or temporarily enjoined by any court of competent jurisdiction from

engaging in or continuing any conduct or practice involving any aspect of the business;r58.32
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r59.2

1s9.3

r59.4

159.5

r59.6

t59.1

159.8

1s9.9

159.10

159.1 I

t59.12

159.13

159.14

1s9.15

159.16

159.17

1s9.18

1 59.1 9

159.20

159.21

t59.22

159.23

t59.24

lsg.2s

159.26

159.27

L59.28

tsg.29

159.30

r59.31
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(4) has failed to reasonably supervise employees, agents, subcontractors, or salespersons,

or has performed negligently or in breach of contract, so as to cause injury or harm to the

public;

(5) has violated or failed to comply with any provision of sections 3268.802 to 3268.885,

any rule or order under sections 3268.802 to 3268.885, or any other law, rule, or order

related to the duties and responsibilities entrusted to the commissioner;

(6) has been convicted of a violation of the State Building Code or has refused to comply

with a correction order issued by a certified building ofTîcial, or in local jurisdictions that

have not adopted the State Building Code has refused to correct a violation of the State

Building Code when the violation has been documented by a certified building official;

(7) has failed to use the proceeds of any payment made to the licensee for the construction

of, or any improvement to, residential real estate, as defined in section 3268.802, subdivision

13, for the payment of labor, skill, matenal, andmachinery contributed to the construction

or improvement, knowing that the cost of any labor performed, or skill, material, or

machinery furnished for the improvement remains unpaid;

(8) has not furnished to the person making payment either a valid lien waiver as to any

unpaid labor performed, or skill, material, or machinery furnished for an improvement, or

a payment bond in the basic amount of the contract price for the improvement conditioned

for the prompt payment to any person or persons entitled to payment;

(9) has engaged in an act or practice that results in compensation to an aggrieved owner

or lessee from the contractor recovery fund pursuant to section 326B.89,unless:

(i) the applicant or licensee has repaid the fund twice the amount paid from the fund,

plus interest at the rate of t2 percentper year; and

(ii) the applicant or licensee has obtained a surety bond in the amount of at least $40,000,

issued by an insurer authorized to transact business in this state;

(10) has engaged in bad faith, unreasonable delays, or frivolous claims in defense of a

civil lawsuit or arbitration arising out of their activities as a licensee or certificate of

exemption holder under this chapter;

(11) has had a judgment entered against them for failure to make payments to employees,

subcontractors, or suppliers, that the licensee has failed to satisff and all appeals of the

judgment have been exhausted or the period for appeal has expired;

rss.32 (12) if unlicensed, has obtained a building permit by the fraudulent use of a fictitious

1s9.33 license number or the license number of another, or, if licensed, has knowingly allowed an
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unlicensed person to use the licensee's license nurnber for the purpose of fraudulently

obtaining a building permit; or has applied for or obtained a building permit for an unlicensed

160.3 person;

160.4 (13) has made use of a forged mechanic's lien waiver under chapter 514;

160.1

160.2

160.5

160.6

160.14

160.1 s

160.r6

t60.17

160. l 8

160.19

160.20

160.21

r60.i (15) has engaged inanactor practice whether or not the act or practice directþ involves

160.8 the business for which the person is licensed, that demonstrates that the applicant or licensee

160.9 is untrustworthy, financially irresponsible, or otherwise incompetent or unqualified to act

160.10 under the license granted by the commissioner; or

160.11 (16) has failed to comply with requests for information, documents, or other requests

160.12 from the department within the time specified in the request or, if no time is specified, within

160.13 30 days of the mailing of the request by the department.

(14) has provided false, misleading, or incomplete information to the commissioner or

has refused to allow a reasonable inspection of records or premises;

Sec.27 . Minnesota Statutes 20t8, section 327 .31, is amended by adding a subdivision to

read:

Subd.23. Modular home. "Modular home" means a buildine or structural unit of closed

construction that has been substantiallv manufactured or constructed. in whole or in part,

at an off-site location, with the final assembly occurring on site alone or with other units

and attached to a foundation designed to the State Buildine Code and occupied as a

sinele-famil v dwellins. Modular home construction must cornolv with applicable standards

adopted in Minnesota Rules, chapter 1360 or 136I.

160.22 Sec.28 1327.3351 PLACEMENT OF MODULAR HOMES.

160.23 A modular home mav be olaced in a manufactured home park as defined in section

rca.24 327.14, subdivision 3 A modular home placed in a manufactured home park is a

t64.25 manufactured home for purposes of chapters 327C and504B and all rishts, obligations, and

ßa.26 duties under those chaPters v. A modular home mav not be placed in a manufactured

r6t.27 home oark without orior written approval of the park owner. Nothing in this seclþ4 rh4ll

t60.28 be construed to inhibit the aoplication of zoning, subdivision, architectutal, or esthetic

160.29 requirements pursuant to chapters 394 and 462ilhatotherwise applv to manufactured homes

160.30 and manufactured home parks. A modular home placed in a manufactured home park under

160.31 this section shall be assessed and taxed as a manufactured home.

Article 8 Sec.28. 160



161.i

t61.2

161.3

t6r.4

161.5

t61.6

t6r.7

161.8

t61.9

161.10

161.11

161.12

161.13

16t.14

161.15

161.16

161.17

161.18

161.19

16i.20

161.21

t61.22

16r.23

1.6t.24

161.25

16r.26

161.27

161.28
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Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 3278.041, is amended to read:

3278.04I MANUFACTURED HOME INSTALLERS.

(a) Manufactured home installers are subject to all of the fees in section 3268.092 and

the requirements of sections 3268.802 to 3268.885, except for the following:

(1) manufactured home installers are not subject to the continuing education requirements

ofsections326B.098l,326B.099,and326B.82l,butaresubjecttothecontinuingeducation

requirements established in rules adopted under section 3278.10;

(2) the examination requirement of section 326B.83, subdivision 3, for manufactured

home installers shall be satisfied by successful completion of a written examination

administered and developed specifically for the examination of manufactured home installers'

The examination must be administered and developed by the commissioner. The

commissioner and the state building official shall seek advice on the grading, monitoring,

and updating of examinations from the Minnesota Manufactured Housing Association;

(3) a local govemment unit may not place a surcharge on a license fee, and may not

charge a separate fee to installers;

(4) a dealer or distributor who does not install or repair manufactured homes is exempt

from licensure under.sections 3268.802 to 326B.885;

(5) the exemption under section 3268.805, subdivision 6, clause (5), does not apply;

and

(6) manufactured home installers are not subject to the contractor recovery fund in

section 3268.89.

(b) The commissioner may waive all or part of the requirements for licensure as a

manufactured home installer for any individual who holds an unexpired license or certificate

issued by any other state or other United States jurisdiction if the licensing requirements of

that jurisdiction meet or exceed the coresponding licensing requirements of the department

and the individual complies with section326B.092, subdivisions 1 and 3 to 7. F€r+lrc

ptxposes of ealeulating fees under seetion 3268,092; lieenstrre as a manufaetureé home

i#ieense'

t6r.29 Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 327C.095, subdivision 6, is amended to read:

161.30 Subd. 6. Intent to convert use of park at time of purchase. Before the execution of

161.31 an agreement to purchase a manufactured home park, the purchaser must notiff the park

t6r.32 owner, in writing, if the purchaser intends to close the manufactured home park or convert

Article 8 Sec. 30. 161



t62.1

162.2

162.3

162.4

162.5

162.6

162.1

162.8

162.9

t62.r0

762.r1

t62.r2
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it to another use within one year of the execution of the agreement. The park owner shall

provide a resident of each manufactured home with a 45-day written notice ofthe purchaser's

intent to close the park or convert it to another use. The notice must state that the park owner

will provide information on the cash price and the terms and conditions of the purchaser's

offer to residents requesting the information. The notice must be sent by first class mail to

a resident of each manufactured home in the park. The notice period begins on the postmark

date affixed to the notice and ends 45 days after it begins. During the notice period required

in this subdivision, the owners of at least 51 percent of the manufactured homes in the park

or a nonprofit organizationwhich has the written permission of the owners of at least 51

percent of the manufactured homes in the park to represent them in the acquisition of the

park shall have the right to meet the cash price and execute an agreement to purchase the

park for the purposes of keeping the park as a manufactured housing communifyrplqvi4ecl

162.13 that the owners or nonorofit orsanization will covenant and warrant to the park owner in

162.14 the asreement that fhev will continue to ooerate the park for not less than six years from

t62.ts the date of closing. The park owner must accept the offer if it meets the cash price and the

t6z.t6 same terms and conditions set forth in the purchaser's offer except that the seller is not

t62.ti obligated to provide owner financing. For purposes of this section, cash price means the

162.18 cash price offer or equivalent cash offer as defined in section 500.245, subdivision 1,

t62.ts paragraph (d).

162.20

162.21

162.22

162.23

t62.24

162.25

t62.26

162.2',7

t62.28

162.29

Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2}lï,section 327c.095,is amendedby adding a subdivision

to read:

Subd. 16. Renortine of licensed manufactured home parks. The Department of Health

or, if le, local units of that have entered into a delegation of authority

agreement with the Department of Health as provided in section 145A.07 shall provide, bv

March 31 of each year, a list of names and addresses of the manufactured home parks

licensed in the previous Year, and for each manufactured home park, the current licensed

owner, the owner's address, the number of licensed manufactured home lots, and other data

as they mav request forthe Department ofManagement andBudsetto invoice each licensed

manufactured home park in Minnesota.

162.30 Sec. 32. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 337.10, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

L6z.3t Subd. 4. progress payments and retainages. (a) Unless the building and construction

L6z.3z contract provides otherwise, the owner or other persons making payments under the contract

162.33 must make progress payments monthly as the work proglesses. Payments shall be based

162.34 upon estimates of work completed as approved by the owner or the owner's agent. A progress

Article 8 Sec. 32. t62
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163.1 payment shall not be considered acceptance or approval of any work or waiver of any defects

163.2 therein.

163.3 (b) Retainage on a building and construction contract may not exceed five percent. An

t63.4 owner or owner's agent may reduce the amount of retainage and may eliminate retainage

163.s on any monthly contract payment if, in the owner's opinion, the work is progressing

t63.6 satisfactorily. Nothing in this subdivision is intended to require that retainage be withheld

163: in any building or construction contract. For all construction contracts gleater than

163.8 $s .000.000- the owner or the owner's asent reduce retainaee to no more than2.5must

163.9

163.10 that

ifthe owner or the owner's determines the work is 75 ormore

work is orosressine satisfactorily, and all contract requirements are being met.

163.11 (c) The owner or the owner's agent must release any remaining retainage no later than

t63.1,2 60 davs after substantial comoletion. For Dumoses of this subdivision, "substantial

163.13 completion" shall be determined as provided in section 54I.051, subdivision 1, paragraph

163.r4 (eI

163.1s (e) (d) Anv contractor holdine retainase must reduce that retainage at the same rate

163.t6 reducedbythe owner or the owner's agent. A contractor must pay out any remaining retainage

163.17 no later than ten days after receiving payment of retainage, unless there is a dispute about

163.18 the work under a subcontract,inwhich case the contractor must pay out retainage to any

t63rg þaf.-y whose work is not involved in the dispute Nothine in this subdivision is intended to

t63.20 require that retainase be withheld in any buildine or construction contract.

(e) After substantial completion. an owner or owner's agent mav withhold no more than:

(1) 2s0 percent of the value of incomplete or defective work; and

163.21

163.22

163.23

163.24

163.25

163.26

t63.27

t63.28

163.29

163.30

t63.31

163.32

163.33

one of the value of the contract or $5 whichever is

completion and submission of all final paperwork by

withheld under this clause may not exceed $10,000

If the owner or the owner's agent withholds paYmen

owner's asent must promptly provide a written

withholdins to the contractor. The owner or

provide a coov of this statement to anv subcon

for incomolete or defective work shall be paid

work. Any amounts withheld under clause (1) must be paid

of the work. Any amounts withheld under clause (2

submission of all final paperwork.

the contractor, provided that an amount

tunder this paragraph, the owner or the

statement detailine the amount and basis of

the owner's asent and the contractor must

tractor that requests it. Anv amounts withheld

within 45 davs after the completion of the

within 45 days after completion

Article 8 Sec.32. r63
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164.6
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164.1 (f) The maximum refainaseoercentage allowed for abuilding and construction contract

164.2 is the retainase percentaqe withheld by the owner from the contractor.

164.3 ) Withholdins retainase for warranties or warranty work is prohibited.

164.4 (h) Retainaee must not be used as collateral for the owner, owner'S agent, or contractor

(iì This subdivision does not apply to a public agency as defined in section 15.71,

subdivision 3.

Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 341.30, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Licensure; individuals. All refetees, judges, promoters, trainers, ring

annermeerü timekeepers, ringside physicians, combatants, ffiâ.ft&g€rg and seconds are

required to be licensed by the commissioner. The commissioner shall not permit any of

these persons to particip ate inany matter with any combative sport contest unless the

commissioner has fîrst issued the person a license.

t64.7 fi)This subdivision does not apply to contracts for professional services as defined in

164.8 sections 326.02to 326.75.

164.9 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section applies to agreements entered into on or after August

164.i0 r,2019.

t64.11

164.12

164. l3

t64.r4

t64.15

t64.16

164.r7 Sec. 34. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 341.32, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

164.18 Subdivision 1. Annual licensure. The commissioner may establish and issue annual

r64.tg licenses subject to the collection of advance fees by the commissioner for promoters,

t64.20 mafteger5, judges, referees, riftg€fffouaeerü ringside physicians, timekeepers, combatants,

164.21 trainers, and seconds.

164.22 Sec. 35. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 341.321, is amended to read:

164.23 34I.32I FEE SCHEDULE.

164.24 (a) The fee schedule for professional and amateur licenses issued by the commissioner

164.2s is as follows:

164.26 (l) referees, $80_p!;

t64.27 (2) promoters, $700;

164.28 (3) judges and knockdown judges, $80 $25;

(4) trainers and seconds, $80;164.29

Article 8 Sec, 35 r64



1ó5.1

165.2

165.3

165.4

165.5

165.6

t65.7

165.8

165.9

165.10

165.1 1

t65.12

16s.13

165.14

1 6s.1 5

i65.16

165.17

16s.1 8

165.19

165.20

165.2r

165.22

165.23

165.24
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@
(6XÐ timekeepers, $80 Jþ;

(7){O professional combatants, S70;

(S)12 amateur combatants, $50;

(9)managers,$80; and

(t0)LÐ ringside physicians, $8e $25.

License fees for promoters are due at least six weeks prior to the cornbative sport contest.

All other license fees shall be paid no later than the weigh-in prior to the contest. No license

may be issued until all prelicensure requirements are satisfied and fees are paid.

(b) The commissioner shall establish a contest fee for each combative sport contest and

shall consider the size and type of venue when establishing a contest fee. The combative

sport contest fee is $1,500 per event or not more than four percent of the gross ticket sales,

whichever is greater, as determined by the commissioner when the combative sport contest

is scheduled.

(c) A professional or amateur combative sport contest fee is nonrefundable and shall be

paid as follows:

(1) $500 at the time the combative sport contest is scheduled; and

(2) $1,000 at the weigh-in prior to the contest.

If four percent of the gross ticket sales is greater than $1,500, the balance is due to the

commissioner within seven days of the completed contest.

(d) The commissioner may establish the maximum number of complimentary tickets

allowed for each event bY rule.

(e) All fees and penalties collected by the commissioner must be deposited in the

commissioner account in the special revenue fund.

16s,zs Sec. 36. ADVANCES TO TIIE MINNESOTA MANUFACTURED HOME

r6s.z6 RELOCATION TRUST FUND.

165.27 la) The Housins Finance Asencv or Department of Management and Budget as

r6s.28 determined bv the commissioner of management and budeet. is authoizedto advance up

16s.29 to 000 from state tions or other resources to the Minnesota manufactured

165.30 home relocation trust fund established under Minnesota Statutes, section 462A,.35, if the

Article 8 Sec.36. r65



claimed under Minnesota Statutes, section 327C.095, subdivision 13

Housing Finance Agency or Department of Management and Budget shall be

166.4 reimbursed from the Minnesota manufactured home relocation trust fund for any money

166.5 advanced bv the agency under paragraph (a) to the fund. Approved claims for payment to

t66.6 manufactured

166.7 or the department to the fund.

166.8 Sec. 37. REPEALER.

t66.s Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 325F.75, is repealed.

0410411,9

166.1 account balance in the Minnesota

166.2 to oav the amounts

166.3 (b) The

166.10

166.1 I

home owners shall be paid prior to the money being advanced by the agercy

REVISOR SSlBlv,. DIVH2208CR1

manufactured home relocation trust fund is insufficient

ARTICLE 9

COMMERCE POLICY

RINTERNET SERVICE; ADHERENCE TO166.12 Section 1 16C CONTRACTS FO

166.13 NET NEUTRALITY.

r66.t4 Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For purþoses

the meaninss siven in this subdivision.

166.16 ft) "Broadband Internet access service" means:

of this section, the following terms have

166.15

166.17 1 a mass-market retail service wire or radio that the

166. I 8 anv that is incidental to

166.19 to transmit datato and receive

and enables the operation

data from all or substan

a functional equi

of the communications service,

tiallv all Internet endpoints;

166.20 0\ that providesanv servlce

166.2t (1); or

166.22 (3) any service that is used to evade the protections

166.23 "Broadband Intemet access service' 'includes

166.24 using stationary equipment or end users

166.2s Internet access servlce.

166.26 (c) "Edse orovider" means

166.27 or service over the Internet. or (2

166.28 over the Internet. Edge provider

t66.2s material. as defined bv section 617.241.

166.30 (d) "Internet service provider" means

166.31 service to a customer in Minnesota.

valent of the service described in clause

set forth in this section.

service that serves endusers at fixed endpoints

anv Derson or entitv that provides (1) any content, application,

) a device used to access anv content, application, or service

does not include a person or entity providing obscene

using mobile stations but does not include dial-up

a business that orovides broadband Internet acces s

Article 9 Section 1 r66
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to directly or indirectly favor

or other consideration from

Subd.2.

state orpolitical

to purchase broadband

a third oartv. or Q\ to benefit an affiliated entity.
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tization" means the management of an Internet service provider's network

some traffic over other trafTic (1) in exchange for monetary

t67.1

167.2

167.3

167.4

t67.5

t67.6

161.7

t67.8

t67.9

167.10

167.lt

167.12

167.t3

167.14

167.r5

t67.t6

167.17

167. l I

167.19

167.20

167.21

t67.22

167.23

167.24

167.25

167.26

167.27

167.28

167.29

contain

l1) a

nø fundins broadband Internet access services; prohibitions. Aor

subdivision is prohibited from enterine into a contract orproviding

Internet access service after Auzust l, 2079, that does not

asreement in which the Internet service provider certifies to the

commissioner of commerce that the Internet service provider does not engage in any of the

following activities with respect to any of its Minnesota customers:

ti) block lawful

reasonable network management;

content^ aoolications. services. or nonharmful devices, subiect to

ii) impair. impede, or lawful Internet traffic on the basis of Internet content,

or service, or use of a nonharmful device. subiect to reasonable network

interfere with or unreasonably disadvantage:

ability to select. access, and use broadband Internet service or lawful

lications. services. or devices of the customer's choice; or

abilitv to provide lawful Internet content, applications, service s,

or devices to a customer, except that an Internet service provider may block content if thç

edge orovider charges or intends to charge a fee to the Internet service provider for the

content; or

(v) in deceptive or misleadins marketing practices that misrepresent the treatment

of Internet traffrc or content; and

(2) provisions requiring the state asencv or Political subdivision, upon determining the

Internet service provider has violated the bindine agreement under clause (1), to unilaterallY

terminate the contract for broadband Internet access service and require the Internet service

orovider to remunerate the state agencv or Dolitical subdivision for all revenues earned

ßi3a under the contract during the od when the violation occurred.

167.31 Subd.3. Other laws. Nothins in this section 11) suoersedes anv obligation or

16'7.32 wthonzatton an Internet service provider may

(

management;

(iv) unreasonably

(A) a customer's

1n

Internet content.

(B) an edge provider's

Article 9 Section 1 t67
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168. I aoolicable law to addres s the needs of emerqencv conìmunications or law enforcement,

168.2 nublic safetv. or national securi tv authorities. or (2) limits the provider's abilitv to meet the

168.3 needs under clause (1).

168.4 Subd. 4. Exception. This section does not apply to a state agency or political subdivision
:_--:-- L

168.5 that ourchases or funds fixed broadband Internet access services in a geographic location

168.6 where broadband Internet access services are onlv available from a single Internet service

168.7 provider or who is a recipient of grant fundine under section 116J.395

168.8 Subd.5. Enforcement. A violation of the certification provided under subdivision 2

168.9 must be enforced bv the commis sioner of commerce. An Internet service provider who

i68.to materially or repeatedl v violates this section is subiect to a fine of not more than $1,0!QFor

168.11 each violation. A fine authorized bv this section may be imposed by the commissioner,

t68.r2 throush a civil action brousht bv the commissioner under section 45.027 , or by the attorngy

1 68.1 3 seneral under section 8.31 on behalf of the state of Minnesota. Fines collected under this

168.14 subdivision must be deposited into the state treasury.

168.1s

168.16

168.17

168.18

168.19

168.20

168.21

168.22

168.23

t68.24

168.2s

168.26

t68.27

168.28

168.29

i68.30

1ó8.31

168.32

168.33

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 47.59, subdivision2,is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Application. Extensions of credit or purchases of extensions of credit by

financial institutions under sections 41.20,47.21,47.20I,47.204,47.58,41áU 48.153'

48.185, 48.195, 594.01 to 594.15,334.0I,334.0t1,334.012,334.022,334-06, and334.061

to 334.19 may,but need not, be made according to those sections in lieu of the authority

set forth in this section to the extent those sections authorize the financial institution to make

extensions of credit or purchase extensions of credit under those sections. If a financial

institution elects to make an extension of credit or to purchase an extension of credit under

those other sections, the extension of credit or the purchase of an extension of credit is

subject to those sections and not this section, except this subdivision, and except as expressly

provided in those sections. A financial institution may also charge anorganization a rate of

interest and any charges agreed to by the organizationand may calculate and collect finance

and other charges in any manner agreed to by that organization. Except for extensions of

credit afnancialinstitution elects to make under section 334.01,334.0II,334.012'334.022,

334.06,o1 334.061 to 334.19, chapter 334 does not apply to extensions of credit made

according to this section or the sections listed in this subdivision. This subdivision does not

authorize a financial institution to extend credit or purchase an extension of credit under

any of the sections listed in this subdivision if the financial institution is not authorized to

do so under those sections. A financiat institution extending credit under any of the sections

Article 9 Sec. 2 168



04t04119 REVISOR SS/BN- DTVH2208CR1

169.i listed in this subdivision shall speciô' in the promissory note, contract, or other loan document

16s.2 the section under which the extension of credit is made.

169.3

t69.4

169.5

169.6

169.7

169.8

169.9

r69.10

169. I l

169.12

169.13

169.14

169.15

169.16

169.17

169. I 8

169.r9

169.20

t69.2r

169.22

169.23

169.24

t69.25

169.26

169.27

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 47 .60, subdivision2, is amended to read:

Subd.2.Ãuthorlzation,terms,conditions,andprohibitions.(a)@
A consumer small loan lender may charge the

interest. hnance charges, and fees which, when combined, cannot exceed an

annual rate. as defined in section 47 .59 , subdivision I , paragtaph (b), of 36

percent.

(1) on any afnount up to and ineluding $50; e ehafge of $5:50 mat'be added;

(2) en affiounts in exees

to ten pereent of the loan proeeeds plus a $5 administrative fee;

to seven pereent of the loan proeeeés with a minimum of $10 plus a $5 adrninistrative fee;

(4) for arnounts in exeess of $250 and not greater than the maximurn in subdivision 1;

paragraph (a), a eharge may be added equal to six pereent of the loan proeeeds wiér a

(b) The term of a loan made under this section shall be for no more than 30 calendar

days.

(c) After maturity, the contracl.rate must not exceed 2.75 percent per month of the

remaining loan proceeds after the maturity date calculated at arate of 1/30 of the monthly

rate in the contract for each calendat day the balance is outstanding.

(d) No insurance charges or other charges must be permitted to be charged, collected,

or imposed on a consumer small loan except as authorizedinthis section.

(e) On a loan transaction in which cash is advanced in exchange for a personal check,

a return check charge may be charged as authorized by section 604.t13, subdivision 2,

paragraph (a). The civil penalfy provisions of section 604.113, subdivision 2, paragraph

(b), may not be demanded or assessed against the borrower.

t6s.2g (f A loan made under this section must not be repaid by the proceeds of another loan

16s.2g made under this section by the same lender or related interest. The proceeds from a loan

169.30 made under this section must not be applied to another loan from the same lender or related

169.31 interest. No loan to a single borrower made pursuant to this section shall be split or divided

16s.32 and no single borrower shall have outstanding more than one loan with the result of collecting

Article 9 Sec. 3. 1.69



170.1

170.2

t70.3

t70.4

170.5

t70.6

t70.7

170.8

170.9

170.r0

r70.11

t70.12

170.13

170.14

r70.15

t70.16

170.17

1 70.1 8

170.r9

t70.20

t70.21

170.22

t70.23

r70.24

174.25

170.26

170.27

170.28

110.29

170.30

170.31
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a higher charge than permitted by this section or in an aggregate amount of principal exceed

atany one time the maximum of $350.

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 41.607, subdivision2,is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Consumer short-term loan contract. (a) No contract or agreement between

a consumer short-term loan lender and a borrower residing in Minnesota may contain the

following:

(1) a provision selecting alaw other than Minnesota law under which the contract is

construed or enforced;

(2) a provision choosing a forum for dispute resolution other than the state of Minnesota;

or

(3) a provision limiting class actions against a consumer short-term lender for violations

of subdivision 3 or for making consumer short-term loans:

(i) without a required license issued by the commissioner; or

(ii) in which interest rates, fees, charges, or loan amounts exceed those allowable under

section @ 47.60, subdivision 2, other than by ée minimis arnounts if

.

(b) Any provision prohibited by paragraph (a) is void and unenforceable.

(c) A consumer short-term loan lender must furnish a copy of the written loan contract

to each borrower. The contract and disclosures must be written in the language in which

the loan was negotiated with the borrower and must contain:

(1) the name; address, which may not be a post offîce box; and telephone number of the

lender making the consumer short-term loan;

(2) the name and title of the individual employee or representative who signs the contract

on behalf of the lender;

(3) an itemization of the fees and interest charges to be paid by the borrower;

(a) in bold, 2[-poin|type, the annual percentage rate as computed under United States

Code, chapter 15, section 1606; and

(5) a description of the borrower's payment obligations under the loan.

(d) The holder or assignee of a check or other instrument evidencing an obligation of a

borrower in connection with a consumer short-term loan takes the instrument subject to all

claims by and defenses of the borrower against the consumer short-term lender.

Article 9 Sec.4 t70



t71.r

17t.2

t7r.3

171.4

171.5

17t.6

171.7

171.8

17r.9

171.10

171.11

t7t.r2

171.13

171.14

17t.r5

r11.16

t7l.l7
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Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 47.60I, subdivision 6, is amended to read:

Subd. 6. Penatties for violation; private right of action. (a) Except for a "bona fide

error" as set forth under United States Code, chapter 15, section 7640, subsection (c), an

individual or entity who violates subdivision 2 or 3 is liable to the borrower for:

(1) all money collected or received in connection with the loan;

(2) acfrnI, incidental, and consequential damages;

(3) statutory damages of up to S1,000 per violation;

(4) costs, disbursements, and reasonable attorney fees; and

(5) injunctive relief.

(b) I" addition to the remedies provided inparagraph (a), a loan is void, and the borrower

is not obligated to pay any amounts owing if the loan is made:

(1) bV a consumer short-term lender who has not obtained an applicable license from

the commissioner;

(2) in violation of any provision of subdivision 2 or 3; or

(3) in which interest, fees, charges, or loan amounts exceed the interest, fees, charges,

or loan amounts allowable under 47 '60, subdivision

2.

Sec. 6. Minnesota Stafutes 2018, section 53.04, subdivision 3a, is amended to read:

Subd. 3a. Loans. (a) The right to make loans, secured or unsecured, at the rates and on

the terms and other conditions permitted under chapters 47 and334.Loans made under this

authority must be in amounts in compliance with section 53.05, clause (7). A licensee making

a loan under this chapter secured by a lien on real estate shall comply with the requirements

of section 47.20, subdivision 8. A licensee making a loan that is a consumer small loan, as

defined in section 47.60 , subdivision 1. paragraph (a)" must comply with section47.60- f
licensee makins a loan that is a consumer short-term loan, as defined in section 47.601,

subdivision 1 . oarasraph ( must complv with section47.60I

(b) Loans made under this subdivision may be secured by real or personal property, or

both. If the proceeds of a loan secured by a first lien on the borrower's primary residence

are used to finance the purchase of the borrower's primary residence, the loan must comply

with the provisions of section 47.20-
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(c) An agency or instrumentality of the United States government or a corporation

otherwise created by an act of the United States Congress or a lender approved or certified

by the secretary of housing and urban development, or approved or certified by the

administrator of veterans affairs, or approved or certified by the administrator of the Farmers

Home Administration, or approved or certified by the Federal Home Loan Mortgage

Corporation, or approved or certif,red by the Federal National Mortgage Association,that

engages in the business ofpurchasing or taking assignments of mortgage loans and undertakes

direct collection ofpayments from or enforcement of rights against borrowers arising from

mortgage loans, is not required to obtain acefüftcate of authorizationunder this chapter in

order to purchase or take assignments of mortgage loans from persons holding a cefüftcate

of authorization under this chapter.

(d) This subdivision does not authorize aÍL industrial loan and thrift company to make

loans under an overdraft checking plan.

(Ð(Ð With respect to a loan secured by an interest in real estate, and having a maturity

of more than 60 months, the original schedule of installment payments must fully amortize

the principal and interest on the loan. The original schedule of installment payments for any

other loan secured by an interest in real estate must provide for payment amounts that are

sufficient to pay all interest scheduled to be due on the loan.

(e)lÐ A licensee may contract for and collect a delinquency charge as provided for in

section 47.59, subdivision6,paragraph (a), clause (4).

(d)lÐ A licensee may grant extensions, deferments, or conversions to interest-bearing

as provided in section47.59, subdivision 5.

n2.14 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 56.131, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

t'lz.rs Subdivision 1. Interest rates and charges. (a) On any loan in a principal amount not

172.t6 exceeding $100,000 or 15 percent of a Minnesota corporate licensee's capital stock and

t72.17. surplus as defined in section 53.015, if greater, a licensee may contract for and receive

t72.tt interest, finance charges, and other charges as provided in section 47 .59.

r72.rg (b) Notwithstanding parugrwh (a), a licensee making a loan that is a consumer small

172.20 loan, as defined in section 47 .60, subdivision I,paragraph (a), must comply with section

r72.zt 47.60. A licensee makins a loan that is a consumer short-term loan. as defined in section

172.22 47.60I. subdivision 1, paragraph (d), must comply with section 47.601.
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Sec. 8. t588.011 DEFINITIONS.

Subdivision 1. For the ourooses of this chaoter. the followins terms have theScope.

meanings given them.

Subd. 2. Borrower. "Borrower" means a resident ofthis state who has received or agreed

to pay a student loan, or a person who shares responsibilitv with a resident for repaying a

student loan

Subd. 3. Commissioner. "Commissioner" means the commissioner of commerce.

Subd. 4. FÍnancial institution. "Financial institution" means any of the following

organized under the laws of this state, any other state, or the United States: a bank, bank

and trust. trust comoanv with bankine powers, savings bank, savings association' or credit

unlon.

Subd. 5. Person in control. "Person in control" means any member of senior

management, including owners or officers, and other persons who directly or indirectly

Dossess the power to direct or cause the direction of the management policies of an applicant

or student loan servicer under this chapter. regardless of whether the person has any

ownership interest in the applicant or student loan servicer. Control is presumed to exist if
a person directly or indirectly owns, controls, or holds with power to vote ten percent or

more of the voting stock of an applicant or student loan servicer or of a person who owns,

controls, or holds with power to vote ten percent or more of the voting stock of an applicant

or student loan servicer.

Subd.6. Servicing. "Servicing" means

(1) receiving any scheduled periodic payments from a borrower or notification of

payments, and payments to the borrower's account pursuant to the terms of the

student loan or of the contract governing servicing of a student loan;

(2) during a period when no pa\¡ment is required on a student loan, maintaining account

records for the loan and communicatins with the borrower regarding the loan on behalf of

the loan's and

(3) interacting with aborrower, including activities to help prevent default on obligations

arisine from student loans, to facilitate the requirements in clauses (1) and (2).

Subd. 7. Student loan. "Student loan" means a qovernment, commercial, or foundation

loan for actual costs oaid for tuition and reasonable education and livine expenses.

Article 9 Sec. 8. t73
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l'14.1 Subd. 8. Student loan servicer. "Student loan servicer" means any person, wherever

174.2 located. responsible for servicing any student loan to any borrower. Student loan servicer

174.3 includes a nonbank covered Derson. as defined in Code of Federal Rezulations, title 12,

174.4 section 1090.101. who is responsible for servicing any student loan to any borrower.

t74.s EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July I,2019.

174.6 Sec. 9. t588.021 STIIDENT LOAN ADVOCATE.

t74.7 Subdivision 1. Designatio n of a student loan advocate. The commissioner must

174.8 desisnate a student loan advocate within the Department of Commerce to provide timely

ti4.g assistance to any borrower.

174.10 Subd. 2. Duties. The student loan advocate must:

t74.tr (1) receive, review, and attempt to resolve complaints from borrowers, including but

t74.12 not limited to attempts to resolve such complaints in collaboration with institutions ofhigher

174.13 education, student loan servicers, and any other participants in student loan lending;

174.14 ¡/,)\ ^^-^ ile and anal data on borrower laints received under clause ( I^^ññ

r74.ts 13) helo borrowers understand the riehts and responsibilities under the terms of student

174.16 loans;

174.17 (4) provide information to the public. state agencies, legislators, and relevant stakeholders

tiç.tg regarding the problems and concerns of borrowers;

114.r9 5 make reconìmendations for resol the of borrowers

174.20 6\ analyze and monitor the development and implementation of federal, state, and local

174.21 laws. rezulations. and policies relating to borrowers and recoûrmend any changes deemed

174.22 necessary;

174.23 (7) review the complete student loan history for any borrower who has provided written

174.24 consent for a

r74.2s (8) increase public awareness that the advocate is available to help resolve the student

174.26 loan servicins concerns of potential and actualborrowers, institutions of hieher education,

174.27 sfudent loan servicers, and any other participarrt in student lending; and

ri4.2s 19) take other actions. as necessarv. to fulfill the duties of the advocate set forth in this

174.29 section.
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tzs.r Subd. 3. Student loan education course. The advocate must establish and maintain a

l"Ìs.z borrower education course. The course must include educational presentations and materials

r7s.3 reeardins important topics in student loans, including but not limited to:

175.4 the of t used in student

tzs.s (2)documentationrequirements;

175.6 (3) monthly payment obligations;

175.7 income-based

17s.8 (5) the availability of state and federal loan forgiveness programs; and

tis.g (6) disclosure requirements.

175.10 Subd. 4. Reporting. By January 15 of each odd-numbered year, the advocate must report

tls.tt to the leeislative committees with iurisdiction over commerce and higher education. The

t7s.t2 report must describe the advocate's implementation of this section, the outcomes achieved

r1s.t3 bv the advocate in the previous two years, and recommendations to improve the rezulation

r7s.14 of sfudent loan servicers.

tzs.ts EFFECTM DATE. This section is effective July I,2019.

t7s.r6 Sec. 10. t588.031 LICENSING OF STUDENT LOAN SERVICERS.

t7s.t7 Subdivision 1. License required. A oerson is orohibited from directlv or indirectly

175.18 actins as a student loan servicer without first obtaining a license from the commissioner.

t7s.r9

175.20

Subd. 2. Exempt persons. The following persons are exempt from the requirements of

this chapter:

rls.2r (1) a financial institution;

17s.22 (2\ aperson servicing student loans made with the person's own funds, if no more than

r7s.z3 three student loans are made in any l2-month period;

175.24 an lns or tical subdivision of this state that

175.25 or guarantees student loans;

17s.26 (4) a person acting in a fiduciary capacity, including a trustee or receiver, as a result of

r7s.z7 a specific order issued by a court of competent iurisdiction; or

r7s.z8 (5) a person exempted by order of the commissioner.
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Subd. 3. Application for licensure. (a) Any person seeking to act as a student loan

servicer in Minnesota must apply for a license in a form and manner specified by the

commissioner. At a minimum, the application must include:

(1) a financial statement prepared by a certif,red public accountant or a public accountant;

0\thehistorv of criminal convictions. excludins traffic violations, forpersons in control

of the applicant;

(3) any information requested by the commissioner related to the history of criminal

convictions disclosed under clause (2):

(4) a nonrefundable license fee established by the commissioner; and

(5) a nonrefundable investigation fee established by the commissioner.

lb) The commissioner may conduct a state and national criminal history records check

of the aoolicant and of each person in control of or emploved by the applicant.

Subd. 4. Issuance of a license. Upon receipt of a complete application for an initial

license and the payment of fees for a license and investigation, the commissioner must

investieate the financial condition and responsibility, character, fltnancial and business

experience. and general fitness of the applicant. The commissioner may issue a license if
the commissioner finds:

I the s financial condition is

Q\ the applicant's business is conducted honestly, fairly, equitably, carefully, and

efücientlv within the purposes and intent of this section;

(3) each person in control of the applicant is in all respects properly qualified and of

good character;

14) no Derson has. on behalf of the applicant, knowingly made any incorrect statement

of a materialfactin the application, or in any report or statement made pursuant to this

section;

¡t<\ ^oro^- hoo on behalf of the onnlinonf l¿nmx¡irrc¡lr¡ omitted from an annlicatinnno

report. or statement made pursuant to this section any information required by the

commlsslonet;

(6) the aoolicant has oaid the fees required under this section: and

0\ the apolication has met other similar requirements, as determined by the commissioner.
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t7'7.1 Subd. 5. NotifÌcation of a change in status. An applicant or student loan servicer must

tli.2 notifu the commissioner in writins of anv chanse in the information provided in the initial

t'77.3 license app lication or the most recent renewal application for a license. The notif,rcation

177.4 must be received no later than ten business days after the date an event that results in the

177.5 information becoming inaccurate occurs.

r77.6 Subd. 6. Term of license. Licenses issued under this chapter expire on December 31

177.7 and are renewable on January 1.

177.8 Subd. 7. Certificate of exemption. (a) A person is exempt from the application

r77.9 res under subdivision 3 if the commissioner determines the l,lêfe fifì 1S e ê1\/l r. I fl û

177.10 student loans in Minnesota þursuant to a contract awarded by the lJnited States Secretary

r77.tt of Education under United States Code. title 20, section 1087f. Documentation of elieibiliW

r77.r2 for this exemotion must be in a form and manner determined by the commissioner

r77.13 ft) Uoon oavment of the fees under subdivision 3, a person determined elieible for the

t7i.t4 exemotion under parasraoh (a) must be issued a certiftcate of exemption and deemed to

r77.ts meet all the requirements of subdivision 4.

r77.t6 Subd.8. Notice. a A on issued a license under subdivision 7 must the

177.17 commissioner with written notice no less than seven days after the date the person's contract

r77 .r8 under United States Code, title 20, section 1 087f, expires, is revoked, or is terminated.

ril.ts lb) A Derson issued a license under subdivision 7 has 30 days from the date the

tii.2o notification under (a) is provided to complete the requirements of subdivision 3.

177.21 If a person does not meet the requirements of subdivision 3 within this time period, the

177.22 commissioner must immediately suspend the person's license under this chapter.

t77.23 EFFECTM DÄTE. This section is effective January 1,2020.
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Sec. 11. t588.041 LICENSING MUXTIPLE PLACES OF BUSINESS.

(a) Aperson issued a certificate of exemption or licensed to act as a student loan servicer

in Minnesota is prohibited from doing so under any other name or at any other place of

business than that named in the certificate or license. Any time a student loan servicer

chanses the location of the servicer's olace of business. the servicer must provide prior

written notice to the commissioner. A sfudent loan servicer must not maintain more than

one place of business under the same certificate or license. The commissioner may issue

more than one license to the same student loan servicet provided that the servicer complies

with the apolication procedures in section 58B.03 for each certificate or license

ft) A certificate or license issued under this chapter is not transferable or assignable.

Article 9 Sec. 1i t77
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178.1 EFFECTI\rE DATE. This section is effective January 1,2020.

Sec. 12. t58B.051 LICENSE RENE\ryAL.

Subdivision 1. Term. Licenses are renewable on January 1 of each year.

Subd. 2. Timely renewal. (a) A person whose application is properly and timely filed

who has not received notice of denial of renewal is considered approved for renewal. The

þerson mav continue to act as a student loan servicer whether or not the renewed license

has been received on or before January 1 of the renewal year. An application to renew a

license is considered timely filed if received by the commissioner, or mailed with proper

Dostage and postmarked, by the December 15 before the renewalyear An application to

renew a license is considered properly filed ifmade upon forms duly executed, accompanied

by fees prescribed by this chapter, and containing any informationthat the commissioner

requres.

(b) A person who fails to make a timely application to renew a license and who has not

received the renewal license as of January I of the renewal year is unlicensed until the

renewal license has been issued by the commissioner and is received by the person.

regulated by this chapter and desires to no longer be licensed must inform the commissioner

in writing and, atthe same time, surrender the license and all other symbols or indicia of

licensure. The licensee must include a plan to withdraw from student loan servicing, including

a timetable for the disposition of the student loans being serviced

Subd. 5. Renewal fees. The following fees must be paid to the commissioner for a

renewal license:

(1) a nonrefundable renewal license fee established by the commissioner; and

(2) a nonrefundable renewal investigation fee established by the commissioner.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective

04104119
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178.16 Subd. 3. Contents of renewal application. An application to renew an existing license

t7ç.r7 must contain the information specified in section 588.03, subdivision 3, except that only

178.18 the requested information having changed from the most recent prior application need be

178.re submitted.

Subd. 4. Cancellation. A student loan servicer that ceases an activity or activities178.20
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Sec. 13. 1588.061 DUTIES OF STUDENT LOA¡{ SERVICERS.

Subdivision 1. Response requirements. Upon receiving a written communication from

a borrower, a student loan servicer must

(1) acknowledee receipt of the communication in less than ten days from the date the

written communication was received; and

(2) orovide information relatins to the communication and, if applicable, the action the

student loan servicer will take to either (i) correct the borrower's issue. or (ii) explain why

the issue cannot be corrected. This information must be provided less than 30 days from

the date the written communication was received bv the student loan servicer.

Subd. 2. Overpayments. A student loan servicer must ask a borrower in what manner

the borrowerwould like any overþayment on a student loan that exceeds the monthly amount

due to be aoolied to a student loan. A borrower's instruction resardins the apolication of

overpayments is effective for the term of the loan or until the borrower provides a different

instruction

Subd. 3. Partial pavments. A student loan servicer must apply apartial payment that

is less than the amount due on a student loan in a manner that minimizeslate fees and the

nesative impact on the borrower's credit history. If a borrower has multiple student loans

with the same student loan servicer, upon receipt of a partial payment the servicer must

apply the payments to satisfu as many individual loan payments as possible.

Subd. 4. Transfer of student loan. (a) If a borrower's student loan servicer changes

pursuant to the sale, assignment, or transfer of the servicing, the original student loan servicer

must:

(
1 lire the new student loan servicer to honor all benefits that were made available

or which may have become available, to a borrower from the original student loan servicer;

and

(2) transfer to the new student loan servicer all information regarding the borrower, the

account of the borrower, and the borrower's student loan, including but not limited to the

repayment status of the student loan and the benefits described in clause (1).

(b) The student loan servicer must complete the transfer under clause (2) less thart45

days from the date the of the sale, assignment, or transfer of the servicing.

(c) A sale, assignment, or transfer of the servicing must be completed no less than seven

days from the date the next payment is due on the student loan.

Article 9 Sec. 13. 179
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(d) A new student loan servicer must adopt policies and procedures to verifi¡ that the180.1

180.2

180.3

r80.4

180.5

180.6

180.7

180.8

180.9

180. l0

original student loan servicer has met the requirements of paragraph (a).

Subd. 5. Income-driven repayment. A student loan servicer must evaluate a borrower's

elieibilitv for an income-driven reþayrnent prosram before placins a borrower in forbearance

or default.

Subd. 6. Records. A student loan servicer must maintain adequate records of each student

loan for at least two vears followine the final pavment on the student loan. or the sale.

assignment, or transfer of the servicing.

EFFECTM DATE. This section is eflective July 1, 2019, and applies to student loan

contracts executed on or after that date.

180.1r Sec. 14. [588.071 PROHIBITED CONDUCT.

180.12 Subdivision 1. Misleading borrowers. A student loan servicer must not directly or

180.13 indirectly attempt to mislead a borrower.

180.14 Subd. 2. Misrepresentation. A student loan servicer must not (1) engage in any unfair

180.15 or deceptive practice, or (2) misrepresent or omit any material information in connection

t 80.16 with the servicing of a student loan, including but not limited to misrepresenting the amount,

180.17 nature, or terms of any fee or payment due or claimed to be due on a student loan, the terms

180.18 and conditions of the loan agreement, or the borrower's obligations under the loan.

180.19 Subd.3. Misapplication of payments. A student loan servicer must not knowingly or

180.20 negligently misapply student loan par,¡ments.

180.21 Subd. 4. Inaccurate information. A student loan servicer must not knowingly or

180.22 negligently provide inaccurate information to any consumer reporting agency,

180.23 Subd. 5. Reporting of payment history. A student loan servicer must report both the

180.24 favorable and unfavorable payment history of the borrower to a consumer reporting agency

180.2s at least annually, if the student loan servicer regularly reports the information.

180.26 Subd. 6. Refusal to communicate with a borrower's representative. A student loan

180.27 servicer must not refuse to communicate with a representative of the borrower who provides

180.28 a written authonzation signed by the borrower. The student loan servicer may adopt

ßa.29 procedures reasonably related to verifiiingthatthe representative is in fact authorized to act

t8o.3o on behalf of the borrower

180.31 Subd.7. False statements and omissions. A student loan servicer must not knowingly

180.32 or negligently make any false statement or omission of materialfactin connection with
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t81.7
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l8l.l0

l8l.l I

181.12

181.13

181.14

181.15

or local goverrìment agency.

Subd. 8. Noncompliance with applicable laws. A student loan servicer must not violate

any other federal, state, or local laws, including those related to fraudulent, coercive, or

dishonest practices.

Subd. 9. Failure to respond to advocate. (a) A student loan servicer must respond in

less than 15 days from the date the student loan servicer recelves a communication from

the student loan advocate. This response period may be reasonably shortened by the advocate

in their communication.

(b) A student loan servicer must provide a response in less than 15 days from the date

the student loan servicer receives a consumer complaint submitted to the servicer by the

student loan advocate. A student loan servicer may request from the advocate an extension

of up to 45 days from receipt of the consumer complaint, if the ïequest is accompanied by

an explanation of why additional time is reasonable and necessary

EFFECTM DATE. This section is effective July I,2019

181.16 Sec. 15. t588.081 EXAMINATIONS.

181.17 For the purposes of this chapter, the commissioner has the same po\Mers with respect to

181.18 examinations of student loan servicers that the commissioner has under section 46.04.

181.1e EFFECTM DATE. This section is effective January 1,2020

Sec. 16. [588.09] DENIAL, SUSPENSION, REVOCATION OF CERTIFICATES

04104119 REVISOR SSIBM DTVH22O8CR1

application, information, or reports filed with the commissioner or any other federal, state,

OF EXEMPTION AND LICENSES.

Subdivision 1. Powers of commissioner. (a) The commissioner may by order take any

or all of the following actions

(1) bar a person from engaging in student loan servicing;

(2) deny, suspend, or revoke a certificate of exemption or sfudent loan servicer license;

censure a student loan

(4) impose a civil penalty as provided in section45.027, subdivision 6; or

(5) revoke a certiftcate of exemption

(b) In order to take the action in paragraoh (a). the commissioner must find:

(1) the order is in the public interest; and

181.20

t8t.2t

181.22

181.23

r81.24

181.25

181.26

tgt.27

181.28

181.29

181.30
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Q\ the student loan servicer applicant. Þerson in control. emplovee. or asent has:

violated of this or rule or order under this

(ii) violated any applicable provision of federal law or regulation related to student loan

servicins, includine but not limited to the federal Truth in Lendine Act. United States Code.

title 15. sections 160l to 1667ff):

(iii) violated a standard of conduct or engaged in a fraudulent, coercive, deceptive, or

dishonest act or practice, including but not limited to negligently making a false statement

or knowingly omitting a materialfact, whether or not the act or practice involves student

loan servicing:

(iv) engaged in an act or practice that demonstrates untrustworthiness, financial

irresponsibility, or incompetence, whether or not the act or practice involves student loan

servlcmg;

(vl pled guilty or nolo contendere to or been convicted of a felony, gross misdemeanor,

182.1

182.2

182.3

182.4

182.5

182.6

r82.7

182.8

182.9

182.10

182.1 I

182.12

182.13

r82.t4

182.15

182.16

r82.17

1 82.1 8

182.19

182.20

r82.21

t82.22

182.23

182.24

lwil neir{ a civil nenrlfr¡ nlinqn¡ actron

or

or been the ect of discicrrhi hr¡ the rlrì?Yt f,Yttc ,'\ñêf

an order ofsuspension orrevocation, cease and desist order, iniunction order, or order

barring involvement in an industry or profession issued by the commissioner or any other

federal, state. or local government asencv:

(vii) been found by a court of competent iurisdiction to have engaged in conduct

or

refused to with an or examination the

(ix) failed to pay any fee or assessment imposed by the commissioner; or

(x) failed to comply with state and federal tax oblieations

Subd. 2. Orders of the commissioner. To begin a proceeding under this section, the

182.2s commissioner must issue an order requiring the subiect of the proceeding to show cause

182.26 why action should not be taken against the person under this section. The order must be

182.27 calculated to give reasonable notice of the time and place for the hearing and must state the

182.28 reasons for entry ofthe order. The commissioner may by order summarily suspend a license

182.29 or certificate of exemption, or summarily bar a person from engaging in student loan

182.30 servicing, pending a final determination of an order to show cause. If a license or certificate

ts2.3t of exemption is summarily suspended or if the person is summarily barred from any

182.32 involvement in the servicing of student loans, pending final determination of an order to

Article 9 Sec. 16. r82



04104119 REVISOR SS/BN DTVH22O8CR1

183.1 show cause, a hearing on the merits must be held within 30 days of the issuance of the order

t83.2 of summary suspension or bar. All hearings must be conducted under chapter 14. After the

183.3 hearing, the commissioner must enter an order disposing of the matter as the facts require.

183.4 If the subiect of the order fails to appear at a hearing after having been duly notified, the

183.s person is considered in default and the proceeding may be determined against the subiect

183.6 of the order upon consideration of the order to show cause, the allegations of which may

1s3.7 be considered to be true.

183.8 Subd. 3. Actions aqainst lapsed license. If a license or certificate of exemption lapses,

183.9 oris surrendered. withdrawn, terminated, orotherwisebecomes ineffective, the commissioner

183.10 mav institute a proceeding under this subdivision within two years after the license or

ts3.t 1 certificate of exemption was last effective and enter a revocation or suspension order as of

tl3.r2 the last date the license or certificate of exemption was in effect, and may impose a civil

183.13 oenaltv as provided under this section or section 45.027. subdivision 6.

r83.r4 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January I.2020

183.15

183.i6

r83.17

183.18

183.19

183.20

183.21

183.22

r83.23

183.24

183.25

r83.26

183.27

183.28

183.29

i83.30

183.31

Sec. 17. 13258.69451 INTERNET SERVICE PROVIDERS; PROHIBITED ACTIONS.

Subdivision 1. Definitions. The definitions in section I6C.57 apply to this section.

Subd. 2. Prohibited actions. An Internet service provider is prohibited from engaging

in any of the following activities with respect to any of its Minnesota customers

(1) block lawful content, applications, seryices, or nonharmful devices, subiect to

reasonable network manasement:

(2) impair, impede, or degrade lawful Internet f;rafftc on the basis of Internet content,

apolication. or service. or use of a nonharmful device, subiect to reasonable network

management;

(4) unreasonablv interfere with or unreasonably disadvantage:

(i) a customer's abilitv to select, access, and use broadband Internet service or lawful

Internet content, applications, seryices, or devices of the customer's choice; or

an 'ide lawful Internet tions

or devices to a customer; or

(5) engage in deceptive or misleading marketing practices that misrepresent the treatment

of Internet traffic or content.

(3) engage in paid prioritization;

¡t;;\ orl-o ^-^-rir{o-lo o}.ilir-.t to nnnfanf o^^li^o c afrf1
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184.1 Subd. 3. Certification required. Prior to offering service to a customer in Minnesota,

194.2 or prior to Auzust 1.2019. for Internet service providers already offering services to

184.3 customers in Minnesota. an Internet service provider must file a document with the

194.4 commissioner of commerce certifi¡ine that it does not engage in any of the activities

184.5 orohibited under subdivision 2.The filine required bv this subdivision must be provided

184.6 orior to offerins services for the first time in Minnesota. at any time after a company or

t84.7 entity has changed ownership or merged with another entity, or prior to offering services

184.8 in Minnesota after the company has suspended service for more than 30 days. An Internet

lg4.g service provider is not otherwise required to make filines on an annual basis.

184.10 Subd. 4. Other laws. Nothine in this section (1) supersedes any obligation or

184.11 atthorization an Internet service provider may have consistent with or as permitted by

tç4.t2 applicable law to address the needs of emergency communications or law enforcement,

184.13 public safetv. or national security authorities, or (2\ limits the provider's ability to meet the

184.14 needs under clause (1).

rg4.l5 Subd. 5. Enforcement. (a) A violation of subdivision 2 may be enforced by the

184.16 commissioner of commerce under section 45.027 andbv the attornev general under section

tl4.t7 8.31. The venue for enforcement proceedings is Ramsey County,

184.18 ft) A violation of the certification provided under subdivision 3 must be enforced under

184.19 section 609.48. The venue for enforcement proceedings is Ramsey County.

r84.20

184.21

184.22

t84.23

r84.24

r84.25

r84.26

184.27

184.28

ARTICLE 10

UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE ADVISORY COUNCTL; POLICY

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 268.035, subdivision 12, is amended to read:

Subd.12.Coveredemployment.(a)''Coveredemp1oyment''means@

(Ð an employee's entire employment during the calendar quarter if:

O (tl SO p.rce"t or -"r. Uthe employment during the quarter is performed primariþ

in Minnesota;

(ii) (2) 50 percent or more of the employment during the quarter is not performed

I84.2g@inMinnesotaoranyotherstate'prÇ3444a,butsomeoftheemp1oymentis

184.30 performed in Minnesota and the

184.31

Article 10 Section 1. 184
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;

(3) the employment during the eaMar quarteq is performed enfirely outside the United

States and Canada,by an employee who is a United States citizenin the employ of an

American employer, if the employer's principal place of business in the United States is

located in Minnesota. For the purposes of this clause, an "American employeg"Me

185.14

1 85.15

185.16

l85.17ffiisdefinedundertheFederalUnemploymentTaxAct'UnitedStates

r85.18 Code title ).6 ahanter 23 section 3306 subsection /i\/?\. and or

185.1

t85.2

185.3

185.4

185.5

185.6

18s.7

185.8

t85.9

185.10

185.1 I

185.12

18s.13

185.19

185.20

18s.21

185.27

185.28

04104119 REVISOR SS/BM DIVH22O8CRl

eontrolled is not in any state where part of the employment is performed; but the employee's

residence is in Minnesota durins 50 oercent or more of the calendar orrarfer'

(4) al+ the employment during the ealendar quarterlq performed by an officer or member

of the crew of an American vessel operating on

navisable waters within, or within and without, the United States, and the offrce from which

(c) For the purposes of section 268.095, "covered employment" includes employment

covered under an unemployment insurance program:

1ts.2s (1) of any other state; or

r85.30 (2) established by an act of Congress-.; q

18s.31 (3) the law of Canada.

tls.z2 the operations of the vessel

rgs.23 and controlled

tçs.24 is in Minnesota.

185.25 (b) "Covered employment" includes covered agricultural employment under subdivision

t8s.26 11.
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186.1 The of t under a is determined the

t86.2 amount of hours worked.

186.3 (e) Covered employment does not include any employment defined as "noncovered

186.4 employment" under subdivision 20

186.5

186.6

t86.7

186.8

186.9

186.10

186.11

186.12

1 86.1 3

186.14

186.15

1 86. l6

186.t7

1 86.1 8

186. l9

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 268.035, subdivision2}, is amended to read:

Subd. 20. Noncovered employment. "Noncovered emplo¡nnent" means:

(l) employment for the United States govenìment or an instrumentality thereof, including

military service;

(2) employment for a state, other than Minnesota, or a political subdivision or

instrumentality thereof;

(3) employment for a foreign government;

(4) employment covered under the federal Railroad Unemployment Insurance Act;

(5) employment for a church or convention or association of churches, or a nonprofit

organizatton operated primarily for religious purposes that is operated, supervised, controlled,

or principally supported by a church or convention or association of churches;

(6) employment for an elementary or secondary school with a curriculum that includes

religious education that is operated by a church, a convention or association of churches,

or a nonprofit organi zationthat is operated, supervised, controlled, or principally supported

by a church or convention or association ofchurches;

186.23

186.24

186.25

186.26

186.27

186.28

186.29

186.30

186.31

(8) employment for Minnesota or a political subdivision, or a nonprofit organization, of

an individual receiving rehabilitation of "sheltered" work in a facility conducted for the

purpose of carrying out a program of rehabilitation for individuals whose earning capacity

is impaired by age or physical or mental deficiency or injury or a program providing

"sheltered" work for individuals who because of an impaired physical or mental capacity

cannot be readily absorbed in the competitive labor market. This clause applies only to

services performed in a facility certified by the Rehabilitation Services Branch of the

department or in a day training or habilitation program licensed by the Department of Human

Services;

186.20 (7) employment for Minnesota or a political subdivision, or a nonprofit organizatron, of

tl6.2t a duly ordained or licensed minister of a church in the exercise of a ministry or by a member

ts6.22 of a religious order in the exercise of duties required by the order;
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18't.2

187.3

187.4

187.5

t87.6

187.7

187.8

187.9

187.10

187.r1

187.t2

187.13

187.14

1 87. l5

I 87. l6

r87.11

187.1 8

187.19

187.20

187.21

187.22

t87.23

r87.24

187.25

187.26

187.27

t87.28

187.29

187.30

187.31

r87.32
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(9) employment for Minnesota or a political subdivision, or a nonprofit organization, of

an individual receiving work relief or work training as part of an unemployment work relief

or work training program financed in whole or in part by any federal agency or an agency

of a state or political subdivision thereof. This clause does not apply to programs that require

unemployment benefit coverage for the participants;

(10) employment for Minnesota or a political subdivision, as an elected official, a member

of a legislative body, or a member of the judiciary;

(11) employment as a member of the Minnesota National Guard or Air National Guard;

(12) employment for Minnesota or a political subdivision, or instrumentality thereof, of

an individual serving on a temporary basis in case of fire, flood, tornado, or similar

emergency;

(13) employment as an election official or election worker for Minnesota or a political

subdivision, if the compensation for that employment was less than $1,000 in a calendar

year;

(14) employment for Minnesota that is a major policy-making or advisory position in

the unclassified service;

(15) employment for Minnesota in an unclassified position established under section

434.08, subdivision 1a;

(16) emplo¡rment for a political subdivision of Minnesota that is a nontenured major

policy making or advisory position;

(17) domestic employment in a private household, local college club, or local chapter

of a college fraternity or sorority, if the wages paid in any calendar quarter in either the

current or prior calendar year to all individuals in domestic employment totaled less than

$1,000.

"Domestic employment" includes all service in the operation and maintenance of a

private household, for a local college club, or local chapter of a college fraternity or sorority

as distinguished from service as an employee in the pursuit of an employer's trade orbusiness;

(18) employment of an individual by a son, daughter, or spouse, and employment of a

child under the age of 18 by the child's father or mother;

(19) employment of an inmate of a custodial or penal institution;

(20) employment for a school, college, or university, by a student who is enrolled and

whose primary relation to the school, college, or university is as a student. This does not

Article 10 Sec.2. t87
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188.2

188.3

188.4

188.5

188.6

r88.7

188.8

188.9

l 88.10

188.11

188.12

188.13

188.14

1 88.1 5

188.16

1 88.17
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include an individual whose primary relation to the school, college, or university is as an

employee who also takes courses;

(21) employment of an individual who is enrolled as a student in a full-time program at

a nonprofit or public educational institution that maintains a regular faculty and curriculum

and has a regularþ organized body of students in attendance at the place where its educational

activities are carried on, taken for credit at the institution, that combines academic instruction

with work experience, if the employment is an integral part of the program, and the institution

has so certified to the employer, except that this clause does not apply to employment in a

program established for or on behalf of an employer or group of employers;

(22) employment of a foreign college or university student who works on a seasonal or

Ø)l?Ðemployment as an offrcer of a township mutual insurance company or farmer's

mutual insurance company under chapter 67A;

e&)I?Ðemployment of a corporate officer, ifthe officer directly or indirectly, including

through a subsidiary or holding company, owns 25 percent or more of the employer

corporation, and employment of a member of a limited liability company, if the member

directly or indirectly, including through a subsidiary or holding company, owns 25 percent

or more of the employer limited liability company;

temporary basis under the J-1 visa summer work travel program described in Code of Federal

Resulations. title 22. section 62.32:

@)pÐemployment of university, college, or professional school students in an

internship or other training program with the city of St. Paul or the city of Minneapolis

under Laws 1990, chapter 570, article 6, section 3;

@pÐemployment for a hospital by a patient of the hospital. "Hospital" means an

institution that has been licensed by the Deparlment of Health as a hospital;

l8B.1B eqpÐemployment as a student nurse for a hospital or a nurses'training school by

188.19 an individual who is enrolled and is regularly attending classes in an accredited nurses'

188.20 training school;

188.21 eÐI?flemployment as an intern for a hospital by an individual who has completed a

rsl.z2 four-year course in an accredited medical school;

188.23 eqø)employment as an insurance salesperson, by other thana corporate officer, if
tBB.24 all the wages from the employment is solely by way of commission. The word "insurance"

tBB.2s includes an annuity and an optional annuity;

188.26

188.27

188.28

188,29

188.30

188.3 1

188.32
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189.1 (2Ð€q employment as a real estate salesperson, other thana corporate offrcer, if all

189.2 the wages from the employment is solely by way of commission;

18e.3 €q€Ð employrnent as a direct seller as defined in llnited States Code, titte26, section

lBe.4 3508;

189.s

189.6

r89.7

189.8

189.9

189.10

189.1 I

189.12

189.r3

189.r4

189. I 5

189.16

1 89.1 7

1 89.1 8

QÐPÐemployment of an individual under the age of 18 in the delivery or distribution

of newspapers or shopping news, not including delivery or distribution to any point for

subsequent delivery or distribution;

AÐI?Ðcasual employment performed for an individual, other than domestic

employment under clause (17),that does not promote or advance that employer's trade or

business;

QÐßÐemployment in "agricultural employment" unless it is "covered agricultural

employment" under subdivision 1l; or

€913Ð if employment during one-half or more of any pay period was covered

employment, all the employment for the pay period is covered employment; but if during

more than one-half of arry pay period the employment was noncovered employment, then

all of the employment for the pay period is noncovered employment. "Pay period" means

a period of not more than acalendar month for which a pa¡rment or compensation is ordinarily

made to the employee by the employer.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 268.05I, subdivision2a,is amended to read:

Subd. 2a. Unemployment insurance tax limits reduction. (a) If the balance in the trust

fund on December 31 of any calendar year is four percent or more above the amount equal

to an average high cost multiple of 1.0, future unemployment taxes payable must be reduced

by all amounts above 1.0. The amount of tax reduction for any taxpaying employer is the

same percentage of the total amount above 1.0 as the percentage of taxes paid by the

employer during the calendar year is of the total amount of taxes that were paid by all

employers during the except taxes paid by employers

assisned ataxrate eoual to the maximum experience rating plus the applicable base tax

rate

(b) For purposes of this subdivision, "average high cost multiple" has the meaning given

in Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, section 606.3, as amended through December 31,

2015. An amount equal to an average high cost multiple of 1.0 is a federal measure of

adequate reserves in relation to the state's current economy. The commissioner must calculate

and publish, as soon as possible following December 31 of any calendar year, the trust fund

189.r9

r89.20

189.21

189.22

t89.23

189.24

t89.25

189.26

r89.27

189.28

189.29

189.30

189.31

189.32

189.33
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balance on December 31 along with the amount arLaverage high cost multiple of 1.0 equals.

Actual wages paid must be used in the calculation and estimates may not be used.

(c) The unemployment tax reduction under this subdivision does not apply to employers

that were at assigned a tax rate equal to the maximum expenence us the licable

base tax rate forthe year

@Ð.Computationsunderparagraph(a)arenotsubjecttotherounding
requirement of section 268.034. The refund provisions of section 268.057, subdivision 7,

do not apply.

(d) The unemployment tax reduction under this subdivision applies to taxes paid between

March 1 and December 15 of the year following the December 31 computation under

paragraph (a).

(e)

f'eeember 3t;2015, N

^-l T,,-^ )^ a^1 ,7 If there was an experience rating history transfer under subdivision 4,4rtu Jwlv Jv) Lv L I .

ARTICLE 1.1

UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE ADVISORY COUNCIL; INTEREST

190.1

190.2

190.3

t90.4

190.5

190.6

190.7

i90.8

190.9

190.10

190.1 I

r90.12

190.13

190.r4

190.1 5

190.16

rg0.t7 the successor employer must receive that portion of the predecessor employer's tax reduction

190.18 equal to that portion of the experience rating history transferred. The predecessor employer

190.19 retains that oortion of tax reduction not transferred to the successor. This paragraph applies

190.20 to that portion of the tax reduction that remains unused at the time of notice of acquisition

1s0.21 is provided under subdivision 4,paragraph (e).

teo.22 Sec. 4. EFFECTIVE DATE.

ts0.z3 Unless otherwise specified, this article is effective October I,2020.

190.24

190.25

t90.28

ts0.26 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 268.057, subdivision 5, is amended to read

190.27 Subd. 5. Interest on amounts past due. If any amounts due from an employer under

this chapter or sectionIl6L.20, except late fees under section 268.044, are not received on

tso.zs thedatedue@ the commissioner must assess interest on any amount

190.30 that remains unpaid. Interest is assessed at the rate of one percent per month or any part of

190.31 a month. Interest is not assessed on unpaid interest. Interest collected under this subdivlslon

rs0.32 is credited to the contingent account.
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1e1.1 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective October I,2020.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 268.18, subdivision2b, is amended to read:

Subd. 2b. Interest. On any unemployment benefits obtained by misrepresentation, and

any penalty amounts assessed under subdivision2,the commissioner must assess interest

on any amount that remains unpaid beginning 30 calendar

days after the date of a determination of overpayment penalty. Interest is assessed at the

rate of one percent per month or any part of a month. A determination of overpayment

pena1tymuststatethatinterestwi11beassessed.InterestisnotassessediM

on unpaid interest. Interest

palments collected under this subdivision are is credited to the trust fund.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective October 1 ,2020.

ARTICLE 12

UI\EMPLOYMENT INSURANCE ADVISORY COINCIL; BASE PERIODS

191.2

191.3

19r.4

191.5

t91.6

19r.7

191.8

191.9

191.10

191. I 1

r9t.t2

191.13

tgt.r4

191.15

191.16

lgt.t7

191.18

191.19

191.20

lgt.2t
191.22

19t.23

191.24

t9t.25

191.26

191.27

191.28

19t.29

191.30

191_31

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 268.035, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. Base period. (a) "Base period," unless otherwise provided in this subdivision,

means the most recent four completed calendar quarters before the efflective date of an

applicant's application for unemployment benefits if the application has an effective date

occuring after the month following the most recent completed calendar quarter. The base

period under this paragraph is as follows:

If the application for unemployment
benefits is effective on or between these
dates:

February 1 - March 31

Mayl-June30

August 1- September30

Novemberl-December3l

The base period is the prior:

January I -December3l

April 1-March3l

Julyl-June30

October 1- September30

(b) If an application for unemployment benefits has an effective date that is during the

month following the most recent completed calendar quarter, then the base period is the

first four of the most recent five completed calendar quarters before the effective date of

an applicant's application for unemployment benefits. The base period under this paragraph

is as follows:

Article 12 Section 1. 19I
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If the application for unemployment
benefits is effective on or between these

dates:

Januaryl-January31

April 1 - April30

Julyl-July31

Octoberl-October3l

SS/BM DTVH22O8CR1

The base period is the prior:

October 1- September30

Januaryl-December3l

Aprill-March3l

Julyl-June30

192.t

192.2

t92.3

r92.4

t92.5

192.6

192.7

192.8

192.9

192.t0

192.11

192.12

r92.r3

t92.14

192.15

192.t6

t92.t7

192.18

192.19

192.20

192.21

192.22

(c) Regardless of paragraph (a), a base period of the first four of the most recent five

completed calendar quarters must be used if the applicant would have more wage credits

under that base period than under a base period of the four most recent completed calendar

quarters.

(e)G) If the applicant has insufficient wage credits to establish a benefit account under

a base period of the four most recent completed calendar quarters, or a base period of the

first four of the most recent five completed calendar quarters, but during either base period

the applicant received workers' compensation for temporary disability under chapter 176

or a similar federal law or similar law of another state, or ifthe applicant whose own serious

illness caused a loss of work for which the applicant received compensation for loss of

wages from some other source, the applicant may request a base period as follows:

(1) if an applicant \Mas compensated for a loss of work of seven to 13 weeks; during a

tgz.z3 base period referred to in paragraph (a) or (b), then the base period is the first four of the

tg2.z4 most recent six completed calendar quarters before the effective date of the application for

1s2.2s unemployment benefits;

1sz.z6 (2) if anapplicant was compensated for a loss of work of 14 to 26 weeks; during a base

rs2.z7 period referred to in paragraph (a) or (b), then the base period is the first four of the most

1s2.28 recent seven completed.calendar quarters before the effective date of the application for

tsz.2g unemployment benefits;

r92.3û (3) if an applicant was compensated for a loss of work of 27 to 39 weeks; during a base

ts2.31 oeriod referred to in parasraph (a) or ft). then the base period is the first four of the most

rs2.3z recent eight completed calendar quarters before the effective date of the application for

tgz.33 unemployment benefits; and

t92.34 (4) if an applicant was compensated for a loss of work of 40 to 52 weeks; during a base

1s2.3s period referred to in paragraph (a) or (b), then the base

Article 12 Section 1 r92
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193.1

t93.2

193.3

t93.4

193.5

193.6

t93.7

193.8

193.9

193. t0

193.1 I

r93.r2

193. l3

t93.t4

t93.15

t93.16

193.17

193.18

193.19

193.2û

193.21

193.22

193.23

t93.24

193.25

193.26

t93.27

r93.28

193.29

193.30

193.31

r93.32

193.33
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recent nine completed calendar quarters before the effective date of the application for

unemployment benefits.

($lÐ No base period under this subdivision may include wage credits upon which a

prior benefit account was established.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 268.07, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Application for unemployment benefits; determination of benefit

account. (a) An application for unemployment benefits may be filed in person, by mail, or

by electronic transmission as the commissioner may require. The applicant must be

unemployed at the time the application is filed and must provide all requested information

in the manner required. If the applicant is not unemployed at the time of the application or

fails to provide all requested information, the communication is not an application for

unemployment benefits.

(b) The commissioner must examine each application for unemployment benefits to

determine the base period and the benefit year, and based upon all the covered employment

in the base period the commissioner must determine the weekly unemployment benefit

amount available, if any, and the maximum amount of unemployment benefits available,

if any. The determination, which is a document separate and distinct from a document titled

a determination of eligibility or determination of ineligibility issued under section 268.I01,

must be titled determination of benefit account. A determination of benefit account must

be sent to the applicant and all base period employers, by mail or electronic transmission.

(c) If a base period employer did not provide wage detail information for the applicant

as required under section 268.044,

para€r€ph{é)t the commissioner may aeceptan applicant certification of wage credits, based

upon the applicant's records, and issue a determination of benefit account.

(1) the applieant is usfuig a base period nnder seetion 268,035; subéivision 4 pmagraph

(dM

effil?loyeÊ

@G) The commissioner may, al. any time within 24 months from the establishment of

a benefit account, reconsider any determination of benefit account and make an amended

Article 12 Sec.2. r93
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t94.2

194.3

194.4

t94.5

r94.6

194.7

194.8

194.9

194.10

r94.tt

194.12
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determination if the commissioner finds that the wage credits listed in the determination

were incorrect for any reason. An amended determination of benefit account must be

promptly sent to the applicant and all base period employers, by mail or electronic

transmission. This subdivision does not apply to documents titled determinations of eligibility

or determinations of ineligibility issued under section 268.10I.

(Ð(Ð If an amended determination ofbenefit account reduces the weekly unemployment

benefit amount or maximum amount of unemployrnent benefits available, any unemplo¡rment

benefits that have been paid greater than the applicant was entitled is an ovetpayment of

unemployment benefits. A determination or amended determination issued under this section

that results in an overpayment of unemployment benefits must set out the amount of the

overpayment and the requirement under section 268.18, subdivision I,that the overpaid

unemployment benefits must be repaid.

194.13 Sec. 3. EFFECTTVE DATE.

194.14 Unless otherwise specified, this article is effective January 1,2020.

04104119
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(3) a member of a limited liability company who is an employee under the common law

of employer-employee; or

t94.ts

194.16

194.22

t94.23

1e4.17 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 268.035, subdivision 15, is amended to read:

194.18 Subd. 15. Employment. (a) "Emplo¡rment" means service performed by:

194.19 (1) an individual who is an employee under the common law of employer-employee and

194.20 not an independent contractor;

r94.2r (2) an offrcer of a corporation;

194.24 4 an individual who rs an under the Federal Insurance Contributions

re4.zs United States Code, title26, chapter2l, sections 3121 (dX3XA) and 3121 (dX3)(D); or

re4.26 (4){Ð product demonstrators in retail stores or other locations to aid in the sale of

ts4.z7 products. The person that pays the \Mages is the employer.

te4.28 (b) Employment does not include service as a juror.

t94.2s (c) Construction industry employment is defined in subdivision 9a. Trucking and

194.30 messenger/courier industry employment is defined in subdivision 25b. Rules on determining

194.31 worker employment status are described under Minnesota Rules, chapter 3315.

Article 13 Section 1. 1,94
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Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 268.044, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Failure to timely file report;late fees. (a) Any employer that fails to submit

the quarterþ wage detail report when due must pay alate fee of $ 1 0 per employee, computed

based upon the highest of:

(1) the nurnber of employees reported on the last wage detail report submitted;

(2) the nurnber of employees reported in the conesponding quarter of the prior calendar

year; or

(3) if no wage detail report has ever been submitted, the number of employees listed at

the time of employer registration.

The late fee is canceled if the wage detail report is received within 30 calendar days

after a demand for the report is sent to the employer by mail or electronic transmission. A

late fee assessed an employer may not be canceled more than twice each 12 months. The

amount of the late fee assessed may not be less than 5250.

(b) If the wage detail report is not received in a manner and format prescribed by the

commissioner within 30 calendar days after demand is sent under paragraph (a), the late

fee assessed under paragraph (a) doubles and a renewed demand notice and notice of the

increased late fee will be sent to the employer by mail or electronic transmission.

(c) Late fees due under this subdivision may be canceled, in whole or in part, under

section issioner 268.067.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 268.047, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Exceptions for taxpaying employers. Unemployment benefits paid will not

be used in computing the future taxrate of a taxpaying base period employer when:

(1) the applicant's wage credits from that employer are less than $500;

(2) the applicant quit the employment, unless it was determined under section 268.095,

to have been because of a good reason caused by the employer or because the employer

notified the applicant of discharge within 30 calendar days. This exception applies onþ to

unemployment benefits paid for periods after the applicant's quitting the employment_q4d,

if the aoolicant is rehired bv the emolover. continues onlv until the beeinnine of the week

SS/BM

195.1

t95.2

195.3

tgs.4

195.5

195.6

r95.7

195.8

195.9

195.10

195.1 1

r95.t2

195.13

195.14

195.15

195.16

19s.17

195.1 8

1 95.1 9

195.20

195.21

t95.22

t9s.23

r95.24

195.25

195.26

195.27

t95.28

tss.2s the applicant is rehired; or

res.30 (3) the employer discharged the applicant from employment because of employment

tss.3r misconduct as determined under section 268.095. This exception applies onþ to

tss.32 unemployment benef,rts paid for periods after the applicant's discharge from employment

Article 13 Sec. 3 195



196.1

196.2

196.3

t96.4

196.5

196.6

196.7

196.8

196.9

196.r0

196.1 1

t96.12

196.13

196.14

196.15

196.16

196.17

196.1 I

196.r9

ú6.2A

196.21

196.22

196.23

196.24

196.25

196.26

196.21

196.28

196.29

196.30

196.31
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and. if the aoolicarfi is rehired bv the emolover. continues only until the beeinninq of the

week the applicant is rehired.

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 268.085, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Vacation and sick payments that delay unemployment benefits. (a) An

applicant is not eligible to receive unemployment benefits for any week the applicant is

receiving, has received, or will receive vacation pay, sick pay, or personal time offpay, also

known as "PTO."

Thisparagraph does

not apply:

(1) upon a permanent separation from employment; or

(2) to payments from a vacation fund administered by a union or a third pafry not under

the control of the employer.

Fayments Bnder this para$

ion.

(b) ,4m applieant is net eligible to reeeive unemployment benefits for any week the

ts:

SeeüriqÊand+'4edieare.

(þlPayments under this paragraph subdivision are applied to the period immediately

following the later of the date of separation from employment or the date the applicant first

becomes aware that the employer will be making a payment. The date the pa¡rment is actually

made or received, or that an applicant must agree to a release of claims, does not aflect the

applicationofthis@.

annuity payments *om any ptm

Article 13 Sec.4. 196
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197.2

t97.3

197.4

t97.s

197.6

191.1

197.8

197.9

197.10

r97.tt

r97.12

197.13

t97.14

t97.ls

197.16

197.17

197.18

197.19

197.20

t97.21

197.22

197.23
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United States government, The base period ernployer is eonsidered to have eonÉibuted to

(l) the applieant immediately depesits that payment in a qualified pension plan or

aeeoun+;e

ion

(d)lQ This subdivision applies to all the weeks of payment. The number of weeks of

payment is determined as follows:

(1) if the payments are made periodically, the total of the payments to be received is

divided by the applicant's last level of regular weekly pay from the employer; or

(2) if the payment is made in a lump sum, that sum is dividedby the applicant's last level

of regular weekly pay from the employer.

"last level of regular weekly pay" includes

commissions, bonuses, and overtime pay if that is part of the applicant's ongoing regular

compensation.

(e)G) Under this subdivision, if the payment with respect to a week is equal to or more

than the applicant's weekly unemployment benefit amount, the applicant is ineligible for

benefits for that week. If the payment with respect to a week is less than the applicant's

weekly unemployment benefit amount, unemployment benefits are reduced by the amount

of the payment.

rsl.24 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 268.085, subdivision 3a, is amended to read:

tsl.2s Subd. 3a. Workers' compensation and disability Ínsurance offset. (a) An applicant

1s7.26 is not eligible to receive unemployment benefits for any week in which the applicant is

197.27 receiving or has received compensation for loss of wages equal to or in excess of the

tg1.2t applicant's weekly unemployment benefit amount under:

t97.29 (1) the workers' compensation law of this state;

t97.30 (2)the workers'compensation law of any other state or similar federal law; or

(3) any insurance or trust fund paid in whole or in part by an employer.197.31

Article 13 Sec.5. t97
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le8.t (b) This subdivision does not apply to an applicant who has a claimpending for loss of

tss.2 wages under paragraph(a); however, before unemployment benefits may be paid when a

1e8.3 claim is pending, the issue of the applicant being available for suitable employment, as

198.4 required under subdivision l, clause (4), is rnUqlÞ determined under section 268.101,

198.s subdivision2.If the applicant later receives compensation as a result of the pending claim,

1e8.6 the applicant is subject to theprovisiens-of paragtaph (a) and the unemployment benefits

198.7 paid are ioft

198.8 eenstit*æs overpaid unemployment benefits under section 268.18, subdivision 1.

te8.e (c) If the amount of compensation described under paragraph (a) for any week is less

198. 1 0 than the applicant's weekly unemployment benefit amount, unemployment benefits requested

198.u for that week are reduced by the amount of that compensation payment.

tsl.t2 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 268.085, is amended by adding a subdivision to

198.13 read:

r98.14

198.15

198.t6

198.1 7

198.r8

198.19

198.20

198.21

r98.22

Subd. 3b. Separation, severance, or bonus pavments that delay unemployment

benefïts. (a) An applicant is not elieible to receive unemployment benefits for any week

the applicant is receiving, has received, or will receive separation pay, severançepay, bonus

pay. or any other payments paid by an employer because of, upon, or after separation from

employment. This subdivision applies if the par,¡ment is:

(1) considered wages under section 268.035, subdivision29: or

(2) subiect to the Federal Insurance Contributions Act (FICA) tax imposed to fund Social

Security and Medicare.

(b) Payments under this subdivision are applied to the period immediately following the

1e8.23 later of the date of from t or the date the t first becomes

1s8.24 aware that the employer will be making a payment. The date the payment is acfually made

tg8.2s or received, or that an applicant must agree to a release of claims, does not affect the

tgç.26 application of this þaragraph.

t98.27 c This subdivision does not to under subdivision 5 back under

198.28 subdivision 6, or vacation pay, sick pay, or personal time off pay under subdivision 3.

r98.29

198.30

198.31

r98.32

198.33

(d) This subdivision applies to all the weeks of payment. The nurnber of weeks of

oavment is determined in accordance with subdivision 3" parasraph (c).

(e) Under this subdivision, if the payment with respectto a week is equal to or more

than the applicant's weekly unemployment benefit amount, the applicant is inelieible for

benefits for that week. If the payment with respect to a week is less than the applicant's

Article 13 Sec. 6. 198
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tgg.r weeklyunemployment benefit amount, unemployment benefits are reduced by the amount

tgg.2 of the payment.

t99.3 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 268.085, is amended by adding a subdivision to

read:

Subd. 3c. Pension or retirement pavment offset. (a) An applicant is not eligible to

199.4

199.5

199.6 receiveunemploymen t benefits for any week the applicant is receiving, has received, will

rgg.t receive, orhas applied for pension, retirement, or annuity payments from any plan contributed

199.8 to bv a base oeriod employer including the United States govemment. The base period

tgg.s emplover is considered to have contributed to the plan if the contribution is excluded from

1ee.10 the definition of wases under section 268.035, subdivision 29

199.11 ft) If the pension, retirement, or annuity payment is paid in a lump sum, an applicant is

tgg.rz not considered to have received a payment if:

1ee.l3 (1) the applicant immediately deposits that payment in a qualified pension plan or

199.14 account; or

rss.ts Q\ thatoavment is an earlv distribution for which the applicant paid an early distribution

1ss.t6 oenaltv under the Internal Revenue Code, United Stats Code, title 26, section 72(t)(D.

199.t7

199. I 8

r99.19

199.20

199.2r

199.22

r99.23

199.24

199.25

199.26

r99.27

199.28

4a.

(c) This subdivision does not apply to Social Security benefits under subdivision 4 or

ld) This subdivision aoplies to all the weeks of pavment.

If the pavment is made in a lump sum, that sum is divided by the applicant's last level

of resular weeklv pav from the employer to determine the weeks of payment.

The "last level of rezular weeklv pav" includes commissions, bonuses, and overtime

pay if that is part of the applicant's ongoing regular compensation.

(e) Under this subdivision, if the payment with respect to a week is equal to or more

than the applicant's weekly unemployment benefit amount, the applicant is ineligible for

benefits for that week. If the par,¡ment with respect to a week is less than the applicant's

weekly unemployment benefit amount, unemployment benefits are reduced by the amount

of the pal¡ment.

Article 13 Sec. 7 r99
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Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 268.085, subdivision l3a, is amended to read:

Subd. l3a.Leave of absence. (a) An applicant on a voluntary leave of absence is

ineligible for unemployment benefits for the duration of the leave of absence. An applicant

on an involuntary leave of absence is not ineligible under this subdivision.

A leave of absence is voluntary when work that the applicant can then perform is available

with the applicant's employer but the applicant chooses not to work. A medical leave of

absence is not presumed to be voluntary.

(b) A period of vacation requested by the applicant, paid or unpaid, is a voluntary leave

of absence. A vacation period assigned by an employer under: (1) a uniform vacation

shutdown; (2) a collective bargaining agreement; or (3) an established employer policy, is

an involuntary leave of absence.

(c) A leave of absence is a temporary stopping of work that has been approved by the

employer. A volmtary leave of absence is not a quit

Subd. 6. Employment misconduct defined. (a) Employment misconduct means any

intentional, negligent, or indifferent conduct, on the job or offthe job, that ¿iæ+ayse+ead¡y'

(l) ls a serious violation of the standards of behavior the employer has the right to

reasonably expect of the employee;-or.

(b) Regardless of paragraph (a), the following is not employment misconduct:

(1) conductthatwas a consequence of the applicant's mental illness or impairment;

(2) conductthatwas a consequence of the applicant's inefficiency or inadvertence;

(3) simple unsatisfactory conduct;

200.1

200.2

200.3

200.4

204.5

240.6

200.1

200.8

200.9

200.10

200. l 1

200.12

204.ß

200.23

200.24

200.25

200.26

200.27

204.28

240.29

200.30

200.31

200.14 isnotp¡ a discharge from employment forpuryesesof. Section 268.095 does not applv to

200.15 a leave of absence.

200.16 (d) An applicant who is on a paid leave of absence, whether the leave of absence rs

200.17 voluntary or involuntary is ineligibte for unemployment benefits for the duration of the

200.18 leave.

200.1s (e) This subdivision applies to a leave of absence from a base period employer, an

200.20 employer during the period between the end of the base period and the effective date of the

za0.2t benefit account, or an employer during the benefityear.

2a0.22 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 268.095, subdivision 6, is amended to read:

Article 13 Sec. 9. 200
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20r.2

201.3

201.4

201.s

201.6

201.7

201.8
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(4) conduct anaverage reasonable employee would have engaged in under the

circumstances;

(5) conductthatwas a consequence of the applicant's inability or incapacity;

(6) good faith errors in judgment ifjudgment was required;

(7) absence because of illness or injury of the applicant, with proper notice to the

employer;

(8) absence, with proper notice to the employer, in order to provide necessary care

because ofthe illness, injury, or disability of an immediate family member ofthe applicant;

(c) Regardless of paragraph (b), clause (9), conduct in violation of sections 169A.20,

1694.31, 1694.50 to 1694.53, or l7l.I77 that,interfereswitþor adversely affects the

employment is employment misconduct.

(d) If the conduct for which the applicant was discharged involved only a single incident,

that is an important factthatmust be considered in deciding whether the conduct rises to

the level of employment misconduct under parugraph(a). This paragraphdoes not require

that adetermination under section 268.101 or decision under section 268.105 contain a

specific acknowledgment or explanation that this paragraph was considered.

(e) The definition of employment misconduct provided by this subdivision is exclusive

and no other definition applies.

Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 268.095, subdivision 6a, is amended to read:

Subd.6a.Ãggravatedemploymentmisconductdefined.(a)@is

(1) The commission of any act, on the job or offthe job, that would amount to a gross

misdemeanor or felony is aggravated employment misconduct if the act substantiaUy

had a significant adverse effect on the employmen$-or,

20t.s (9) conductthatwas a consequence of the applicant's chemical dependency, unless the

201.10 applicant was previously diagnosed chemically dependent or had treatment for chemical

20r.n dependency, and since that diagnosis or treatment has failed to make consistent efforts to

20t.r2 control the chemical dependency; or

201.13 (10) conductthatwas a consequence of the applicant, or an immediate family mernber

201:4 of the applicant, being a victim of domestic abuse, sexual assault, or stalking. For the

201.15 pu{poses of this subdivision, "domestic abuse," "sexual assault," and "stalking" have the

z0t.t6 meanings given them in subdivision 1.

201.17

201. I 8

20ï.19

201.20

201.21

201.22

201.23

201.24

241.25

20t.26

20r.27

201.28

201.29

201.30

20t.3r

20r.32
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202.t A criminal charge or conviction is not necessary to determine aÐgravated employment

202.2 misconduct under this paragraph. If an applicant is convicted of a gross misdemeanor or

202.3 felony. the applicant is presumed to have committed the act.

202.4

202.5

202.6

202.7

202.8

202.9

202.10

202.r1

202.r2

() @lFor an employee of a facility as defined in section 626.5572, aggravated

employment misconduct includes an act of patient or resident abuse, financial exploitation,

or recurring or serious neglect, as defined in section 626.5572 and applicable rules.

whieh the applieant-was diseharged; iÈis aggravated employment miseonduet if the aet

emplo1mûeff

(c) The definition of aggravated employment misconduct provided by this subdivision

is exclusive and no other definition applies.

202.15

202.16

202.t3 Sec. 11. EFFECTIVE DATE.

202.14 Unless otherwise specified. this article is effective October 1,2019.

ARTICLE 1.4

UNEMPLOYMENT IN SURANCE ADVIS ORY C OUNC IL ; TECHNICAL

202.17

202.r8

202.19

202.20

202.2r

202.22

202.23

2A2.24

202.25

202.26

202.2'7

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 268.044, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Missing or erroneous information. (a) Any employer that submits the wage

detail report, but fails to include all required employee information or enters effoneous

information, is subject to an administrative service fee of $25 for each employee for whom

the information is partially missing or erroneous.

(b) Any employer that submits the wage detail report, but fails to include an employee,

is subject to an administrative service fee equal to two percent of the total wages for each

employee for whom the information is completely missing.

(c) An administrative service fee under this subdivision must be canceled under section

268.067 ifthe commissioner determines that the failure or effor by the employer occurred

because of ignorance or inadvertence.

zlz.zt Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 268.046, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

202.29 Subdivision 1. Tax accounts assigned. (a) Any person that contracts with ataxpaying

202:0 employer to have that person obøin the taxpaying employer's workforce and provide workers

Article 14 Sec.2- 202
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to the taxpayingemployer for a fee is, as of the effective date of the contract, assigned for

the duration of the contract the taxpaying employer's account under section 268.045.Thaf

tax account must be maintained by the person separate and distinct from every other tax

account held by the person and identified in a manner prescribed by the commissioner. The

tax account is, for. the duration of the contract, considered that person's account for all

purposes of this chapter. The workers obtained from the taxpaying employer and any other

workers provided by that person to the taxpaying employer, including ofTicers of the

taxpaying employer as defined in section 268.035, subdivision2}, clause @)12Ð, whose

wages paid by the person are considered paid in covered employment under section 268.035,

subdivision2{, for the duration of the contract between the taxpaying employer and the

person, must, under section 268.044,be reported on the wage detail report under thattax

account, and that person must pay any taxes due at the tax rate computed for that account

under section 268.057, subdivision 2.

(b) Any workers of the taxpaying employer who are not covered by the contract under

paragraph(a) must be reported by the taxpaying employer as a separate unit on the wage

detail report under the tax account assigned under paragraph (a). Taxes and any other

amounts due on the wages reported by the taxpaying employer under this paragraph may

be paid directly by the taxpaying employer.

(c) If the taxpaying employer that contracts with a person under paragraph (a) does not

have a tax account at the time of the execution of the contract, an account must be registered

for the taxpaying employer under section 268.042 and the new employer tax rate under

section 268.051, subdivision 5, must be assigned. The tax account is then assigned to the

person as provided for in paragraph (a).

(d) A person that contracts with ataxpaying employer under paragraph (a) must, within

30 calendar days of the execution or termination of a contract, notiff the commissioner by

electronic transmission, in a format prescribed by the commissioner, of that execution or

termination. The taxpaying employer's name, the account number assigned, and any other

information required by the commissioner must be provided by that person.

(e) Any contract subject toparagraph (a) must specifically inform the taxpaying employer

of the assignment of the tax account under this section and the taxpaying employer's

obligation under parugtaph(b). If there is a termination of the contract, the tax account is,

as of the date of termination, immediately assigned to the taxpaying employer.

Article 14 Sec.2. 203
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Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 268.069, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Requirements. The commissioner must pay unemployment benefits

from the trust fund to an applicant who has met each of the following requirements:

(1) the applicant has filed an application for unemployment benefits and established a

benefit account in accordance with section 268.07;

(2) the applicant has not been held ineligible for unemployment benefits under section

268.095 because of a quit or discharge;

(3) the applicanthas met all ofthe ongoing eligibilityrequirements under section 268.085;

( ) the applicant does not have an outstanding ove{payment of unemployment benefits,

including any penalties or interest; and

(5) the applicant has not been held ineligible for unemployment benefits under section

268.183 .

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 268.705, subdivision 6, is amended to read:

Subd. 6. Representation; fees. (a) In any proceeding under subdivision 1 or 2, art

applicant or employer may be represented by any authorized representative.

Except for services provided by an attorney-at-1aw, no person may charge an applicant

a fee of any kind for advising, assisting, or representing an applicant in a hearing or, on

204.t3

204.14

204.1s

204.16

204.11

204.t8 orina under subdivision 7.

204.1s (b) An applicant may not be charged fees, costs, or disbursements of any kind in a

204.20 proceeding before an unemployment law judge, the Minnesota Court of Appeals, or the

2t4.21 Supreme Court of Minnesota.

204.22 (c) No attorney fees may be awarde¿, ot costs ot ¿isUurs against the

204.23 department as a result of any proceedings under this section.

204.24 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 268.745, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

204.2s Subdivision 1. Notification. (a) Upon filing an application for unemplo¡rment benefits,

204.26 the applicant must be informed that:

204.27 (1) unemployment benefits are subject to federal and state income tax;

204.28 (2) there are requirements for filing estimated tax payments;

204.2s (3) the applicant may elect to have federal income tax withheld from unemployment

204.30 benefits;
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(4) if the applicant elects to have federal income tax withheld, the applicant may, in

addition, elect to have Minnesota state income tax withheld; and

(5) at any time during the benefi tyearthe applic antmaychange a prior election.

(b) If an applicant elects to have federal income tax withheld, the commissioner must

deduct ten percent for federal income tax. If an applicant also elects to have Minnesota state

income tax withheld, the commissionermust make an additional five percent deduction for

state income tax. Any amoun+s_g4qggq!deducted orotr-set under@
an+26&fgåave section 268.085 has priority over any amounts deducted under this section.

Federal income tax withholding has priority over state income tax withholding.

(c) An election to have income tax withheld may not be retroactive and only applies to

unemplo¡rment benefits paid after the election.

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 268.I8, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

Subd. 5. Remedies. (a) Any method undertaken to recover an overpayment of

unemployment benefits, including any penalties and interest, is not an election of a method

of recovery.

(b) Intervention or lack thereof, in whole or in part, in a workers' compensation matter

under section 17 6 .36I is not an election of a remedy and does not prevent the commissioner

fromdetermininganapp1icantine1igib1eforunemp1o¡rmentbenefits@

seetion-26&t83.

205.12

205.13

20s.14

205.1 5

20s.16

205.17

205. I I

205.19

20s.20 Sec. 7. REVISOR INSTRUCTION.

z0s.2t The revisor of statutes is instructed to make the following changes in Minnesota Statutes:

20s.22 (1) delete the term "bona fide" wherever it appears in section 268.035;

z0s.z3 (2\ reolace the term "under" with "subiect to" in section 268.047. subdivision 2. clause

G}205.24

z0s.2s (3) replace the term "displays clearly" with "shows" in chapter 268;

z0s.z6 (4) replace the term "entire" with "hearing" in section 268.105; and

20s.27 (5) replace "24 calendar months" with "eight calendar quarters" in section 268.052,

2ts.2g subdivision 2.

zos.2e Sec. 8. EFFECTIVE DATE.

20s.30 Unless otherwise specified, this article is effective October I,201,9.
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206.t

206.2

206.3

206.4

2t6.5

246.6

206.7

206.8

206.9

206.10

206.11

206.12

206.13

206.14

206.1s

206.16

246.t7

206.r8

206.r9

206.20

206.21

206.22

206.23

ARTICLE 15

UI POLICY

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 268.085, subdivision 8, is amended to read:

Subd. 8. Services for school contractors. (a) Wage credits from an employer are subject

to subdivision 7; if:

(1) the employment was provided under a contract between the employer and an

elementary or secondary school; and

(2) the contract was for services that the elementary or secondary school could have had

performed by its employees.

(b) Wage credits from an employer are not subject to subdivision 7 if:

(1) those wage credits were earned by an employee of a private employer performing

work under a contract between the employer and an elementary or secondary school; and

(2) the employment was related to bus or food services provided to the school by the

employer.

ARTICLE 16

BT]REAU OF MEDIATION SERVICES POLICY

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 13.43, subdivision 6, is amended to read:

Subd. 6. Access by labor Bureau of Mediation Public

Employment Relations Board. Personneldatamay be disseminatedto labor organizations

and the Public Employment Relations Board to the extent that the responsible authorify

determines that the dissemination is necessary to conduct elections, notiff employees of

fair share fee assessments, and implementthe provisions of chapters 179 andl79A. Personnel

data shall be disseminated to labor organizations the Public Relations B

206.24 and to the Bureau of Mediation Services to the extent the dissemination is ordered or

zo6.2s authorized by the commissioner of the Bureau of Mediation Services or the Public

206.26 Employment Relations Board or its designee

206.27 Sec. 2. t13.79091 PUBLIC EMPLOYMENT RELATIONS BOARD DATA.

206.28 Subdivision 1. Definition. For purposes of this section, "board" means the Public

206.2s Employment Relations Board.

206.30

206.31 by

Subd.2. Nonpublic data. la) Except as provided in this subdivision, alI datamaintained

the board about a charge or complaint of unfair labor practices and appeals of
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determinations of the commissioner under section 179A.12, subdivision I I, are classified

as protected nonpublic data or confîdential data, and become public when admitted into

evidence at a hearing conducted pursuant to section 179A.I3. The data may be subject to

a orotective order as determined bv the board or a hearins officer.

(b) Notwithstanding sections 13.43 and 181 .932,the following dataare public:

(1) the filine date of unfair labor practice charges;

Q\ the status of unfair labor practice charges as an original or amended charge;

(3) the names and iob classifications of charging parties and charged parties;

I the Îìfrì\/l sions of law alleoerl to have been violated in unfair labor nrqofioa nhqrctoc'

lain

207.25

207.26

207.27

¡/<\ laint issued 1r-t the board and all data in the ^aìl"nl"r
+.

tÃ\ the fulland lete record of an evidenfio^r Loo.i-a before a hcorinc o

includine the hearing transcript. exhibits admitted into evidence, and posthearing briefs,

unless subiect to a protective order;

(7) recommended decisions and orders of hearing off,tcers pursuant to section 7791*73,

subdivision 1. oarasraoh (i):

(8) exceptions to the hearing offrcer's recommended decision and order filed with the

board oursuant to section 179A.I3. subdivision 1. paraqraph (k);

(9) briefs filed with the board; and

(10) decisions and orders issued by the board.

fc) Notwithstandins oarasraph (a). individuals have access to their own statements

provided to the board under paragraph (a).

(d) The board may make any dataclassified as protected nonpublic or confidential

pursuant to this subdivision accessible to any person or pafiy if the access will aid the

implementation of chapters 179 and 179A or ensure due process protection of the parties.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 179A.041, is amended by adding a subdivision

to read:

Subd. 10. Open meetings. Chapter 13D does not apply to meetings of the board when

zoi.2B it is deliberatins on the merits of unfair labor practice charges under sections I79 .lI, 179 .12,

207.29 and I79A.13: reviewing a recommended decision and order of a hearing offtcer under

207.30 section I79A.13: or reviewins decisions of the commissioner of the Bureau of Mediation

20i.3t Services relatins to unfair labor practices under section I79A.I2, subdivision 11.
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208.1 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

208.2

208.3

208.4

208.6

208.7

208.t4

208.1 5

208. l6

208.r7

208.18

208.19

208.20

208.21

208.22

208.23

208.24

208.25

208.26

208.27

208.28

Sec. 4. Laws 2014, chapter 211, section 13, as amended by Laws 2015, First Special

Session chapter 1, article 7, section 1, Laws 2016, chapter 189, article 7, section42, and

Laws 2017, chapter 94, afücle 12, section 1, is amended to read:

208.8 EFFECTIVE DATE, This section is effective the day followine final enactment. Until

z0ç.g January 1"2020. any employee, employer. employee or employer organization, exclusive

208.10 representative. or anv other person or organization aggrieved by an unfair labor practice as

208.11 defined in Minnesota Statutes. section 179A.13, may brine an action for iniunctive relief

20s.t2 and for damases caused by the unfair labor practice in the district court of the county rn

208.13 which the practice is alleged to have occurred.

208.s Sec. 13. EFFECTIV DÄTE.

Sections 1 to 3 and6 to 11 are effective**lyJq4ggry 1,2020. Sections 4,5,and12 are

effective July 1, 2014.

ARTICLE 17

UNCLAIMED PROPERTY; GENERAL

Section 1. t3454.1 011 DEFINITIONS.

(1) For the rrurposes of this chapter the terms defined in this section have the meanings

given them.

12) "Administrator" means the commissioner of commerce.

(3) "Administrator's agent" means a person with which the administrator contracts to

conduct an examination under this chapter on behalf of the administrator. The term includes

an independent contractor of the person and each individual participating in the examination

on behalf of the person or contractor.

(4) "Affiliated group of merchants" means two or more afÏiliated merchants or other

Dersons that are related by common ownership or common corporate control and that share

the same name, mark, or logo. Affiliated group of merchants also applies to two or more

merchants or other oersons that asree among themselves, by contract or otherwise, to redeem

cards. codes. or other devices bearins the same name. mark. or logo. other than the mark,

2al.2g loso. or brand of a pavment network. for the purchase of goods or services solely at such

208.30 merchants or þersons. However, merchants or other persons are not considered affiliated
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merely because agree to accept acardthatbears the mark, logo, orbrand of apayment

network.

(5) "Apparent owner" means a person whose name appears on the records of a holder

as the owner of property held, issued, or owing by the holder.

"Business association" means a corporation, ioint stock company, investment

company, other than an investment company registered under the Investment Company Act

of 1940, as amended, United States Code, title 15, sections 80a-1 to 80a-64, partnership,

unincorporated association, ioint venture, limited liability company, business trust, trust

comoanv.land safe deoo como anv. safekeeo in s dep o s itorv. financ i al or ganization,sit

(6)

209.12

209.t3

209.t4

209.15

209.16

209.r7

209. l8

209.19

209.20

209.21

209.22

209.23

lnsurance chartered enti utili sole or other business

20g.tt entify, whether or not for profit.

(7) "District court" means Ramsey County District Court.

(8) "Domicile" means

A for a the state of its

(B) for a business association whose formation requires a filing with a state, other than

a corþoration, the state of its filine;

(c) for a federally chartered entity or an investment company registered under the

Investment Act of 1940. as amended. United States Code, title 15, sections 80a-1

to 80a-64 the state of its home offrce and

(D) for any other holder, the state of its principal place of business.

19) "Electronic" means relatins to technolo sv having electrical, di gital, mágnetic, wireless,

optical, electromagnetic, or similar capabilities.

(10) "E-mail" means a communication by electronic means which is automatically

20s.24 retained and stored and may be readily accessed or retrieved.

2os.2s (11) "Financial orsanization" means a savings and loan association, building and loan

209.26 association, savinss bank. industrial bank, bank, banking organization, or credit union.

209.27 (12) "Game-related dieital content" means dieital content that exists only in an electronic

209.29 same or electronic-game platform. The term:

zos.2s (A) includes

2og.3o i. game-play cuffency such as a virtual wallet, even if denominated in United States

209.31 currency; and
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ii. the followine if for use or redemption only within the game or platform or another

electronic game or electronic-game platform:

1. points sometimes referred to as gems, tokens, gold, and similar names; and

2. dieital codes; and

(B) does not include an item that the lssuer:

i. permits to be redeemed for use outside a garrre or platform for:

11. moneY; Or

iii. eoods or services that have more than minimal value; or

iv. otherwise monetizes for use outside a game or platform.

(13) "Gift card" means:

(A) a stored-value card

i. issued on a prepaid basis for a specified amount;

ii. the value of which does not expire;

iii. that is not subiect to a dormancy, inactivity, or service fee;

iv. that may be decreased in value only by redemption for merchandise, goods, or services

upon presentation at a single merchant or an affrliated group of merchants;

v. that. unless required by law may not be redeemed for or converted into money or

otherwise monetized by the issuer; and

(B) includes a prepaid commercial mobile radio seryice, as defined in Code of Federal

Regulations, title 47, section 20.3, as amended.

(14) "Holder" means a þerson oblieated to hold for the account of, or to deliver or pay

to, the owner, properly subiect to this chapter.

(15) "Insurance company" means an association, corporation, or fraternal or

mutual-benefit organization. whether or not for profit, engaged in the business of providing

life endowments. annuities, or insurance, including accident, burial, casualty, creditlife,

210.26 contract-performance, dental, disability, fidelity, fire, health, hospitalization, illness, life,

210.27 malpractice, marine, mortgage, suretll wage-protection, and worker-compensation insurance.

210.28 (16) "Loyalty card" means a record given without direct monetary consideration under

2t0.29 an award, reward, benefit, loyalty, incentive, re-bate, or promotional program which may

210.30 be used or redeemed only to obtain goods or services or a discount on goods or services.
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21,1.1 Lovaltv card does not include a record that may be redeemed for money or otherwise

2t1.2 monetized by the issuer,

211.3 I "Mineral" means oil other or solid

ztr.4 cement material. sand and gravel, road material, building stone, chemical raw material,

2tt.s semstone. fissionable and nonfissionable ores. colloidal and other clay, steam and other

ztt.6 seothermal resources. and anv other substance defined as a mineral bv law of this state other

211.7 than this chapter

2tr.B (18) "Mineral proceeds" means an amount payable for extraction, production, or sale of

2tt.g minerals. or. on the abandonment of the amount, an amount that becomes payable after

2n.10 abandonment. Mineral proceeds includes an amount payable:

2it.ll (A) for the acquisition and retention of a mineral lease, including a bonus, royalty,

ztt.r2 compensatory royalty, shut-in royalty, minimum royaltlt and delay rental;

211.13 for the or sale of minerals a net revenue

211.14 royalty, overriding royalty, extraction par,¡ment, and production payment; and

211.15 /rt\ under an q mêêffiêñ nntinn innl.tr{inc ininf-nnarafinc q maamanrf unit qôrao?npnftor a

2tr.L6 pooline agreement. and farm-out agreement.

21r.11

211.18

2tI.t9

2t1.20

211.21

211.22

211.23

21r.24

2t1.25

211.26

211.27

2t1.28

ztr.29

21r.30

211.31

21r.32

(19) "Money order" means a payment order for a specified amount of money. Money

order includes an express money order and a personal money order on which the remitter

is the purchaser,

(20) "Municipal bond" means a bond or evidence of indebtedness issued by a municipality

or other political subdivision of a state.

(21) "Net card value" means the original purchase price or original issued value of a

stored-value card, plus amounts added to the original price or value, minus amounts used

and any service charge, fee, or dormancy charge permitted by law.

122) "Nonfreely transferable security" means a security that cannot be delivered to the

administratorby the Deoositorv Trust Clearins Comoration or similar custodian of securities

orovidins oost-trade clearins and settlement services to financial markets or cannot be

delivered because there is no agent to effect transfer. Nonfreely transferable security includes

a worthless security.

(23) "Owner" means a peßon that has a legal, beneficial, or equitable interest in property

subiect to this chapter or the person's legal representative when actíngon behalf of the

o'wner. Owner includes:
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(A) a depositor, for a deposit;

ß) a beneficiary, for a trust other than a deposit in trust;

lC) a creditor. claimant. or Davee. for other oropertv: and

(D) the lawful bearer of a record that may be used to obtain mone% a reward, or a thing

of value.

(24) "Payroll card" means a record that evidences a payroll card account as defined in

Resulation E. Code of Federal Rezulations. title 12. part 1005. as amended.

/rt<\ "Person" means an indi.r'i¿{tta1 tø business accnniqfinn nrrl"rlin nnrrrnrqfinnesta

sovemment or sovernmental subdivision. asency. instrumentalitv. or other leeal entity

whether or not for profit.

(26) "Propsftyrr 6s¿ns taneible properfy described in section 345A.205 or a fixed and

certain interest in intansible property held. issued. or owed in the course of a holder's business

or bv a sovernment. governmental subdivision. agency, or instrumentality. Propefi

lA) includes all income from or increments to the Dropeúv:

(B) includes property referred to as or evidenced by:

i. monev. virtual cuffency. interest. dividend. check. draft, deposit, or pawoll card;

ii. a creditbalance, customer's overpayment, stored-value card, security deposit, refund,

credit memorandum. unpaid wase. unused ticket for which the issuer has an obligation to

provide a refund, mineral proceeds, or unidentif,red remittance;

iii. a security except for:

1. a worthless security; or

2. a security that is subiect to a lien, legal hold, or restriction evidenced on the records

of the holder or imposed by operation of law if the lien, legal hold, or restriction restricts

the holder's or owner's ability to receive, transfer, sell, or otherwise negotiate the securiW;

iv. a bond. debenture. note. or other evidence of indebtedness;

v. money deposited to redeem a security, make a distribution, or pay a dividend;

vi. an amount due and payable under an annuity contract or insurance policy; and

vii. an amount distributable from a trust or custodial fund established under a plan to

welfare severance

Article 17 Section 1
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213.1 prof,rt-sharing, employee savings, supplemental unemployment insurance, or a similar

213.2 benefit; and

2t3.3 (C) does not include:

213.4 i. property held in a plan described in section 529A of the Internal Revenue Code, as

213.s amended. United States Code, title26, section 529A;

213.6 ii. game-related digital content;

213.7 iii. a loyalty card;

213.8 iv. a gift card; or

213.9 v. monev held or owinq by a public pension fund enumerated in section 356.20,

213.10 subdivision2. or 356.30. subdivision 3: or covered by sections 69.77 or 69.771to 69.776,

2r3.rr if the plan governing the public pension fund includes aprovision governing the disposition

zt3.t2 of unclaimed amounts of money.

213.13 QT "Putative holder" means a person believed by the administrator to be a holder, until

2r3.r4 the oerson þaYS or delivers to the administrator propertv subiect to this chapter or the

213.ts administrator oÍ a court makes aftnal determination that the person is or is not a holder

2r3.16 (28) "Record" means information that is inscribed on a tangible medium or that is stored

213.t7 in an electronic or other medium and is retrievable in perceivable form. "Records of the

213.18 holder" includes records maintained by a third party that has contracted with the holder,

z13.tg (29) "Security" means

2t3.20 (A) a security as defined in article I ofthe Uniform Commercial Code, section 336.8-102;

2t3.zt (B) a securitv entitlement as defined in article 8 of the Uniform Commercial Code,

213.22 section 336.8-t02, includins a customer security account held bv a registered broker-dealer,

213.23 to the extent the f,rnancial assets held in the securiW account are not:

213.24 i. resistered on the books of the issuer in the name of the person for which the

213.2s broker-dealer holds the assets

213.26 ii. payable to the order of the person; or

213.2i iii. specifically endorsed to the person; or

2r3.zs lC) an eouitv interest in a business association not included in subparagraph (A) or (B).

213.29 (30) "State" means a state of the United States, the District of Columbia, the

213.30 Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, the United States Virein Islands, or any territory or insular

213.31 oossession subiect to the iurisdiction of the United States.
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214.1 (31) "Stored-value card" means a record evidencing a promise made for consideration

214.2 by the seller or issuer of the record that goods, services, or money will be provided to the

214.3 owner of the record to the value or amount shown in the record. Stored-value card

214.4 (A) includes:

214.s i. a record that contains or consists of a microprocessor chip, magnetic strip, or other

214.6 means for the storase of information, which is prefunded and whose value or amount is

2t4: decreased on each use and increased by par,¡ment of additional consideration; and

214.8 ii. a payroll card; and

214.s lB) does not include a loyalty card. eift card, or game-related dieital content.

214.t0 2 "Utili means a that owns or for use a

2r4.u real property. franchise. or license for the followine public services:

zr4.t2 (A) transmission of communications or information;

2t4.t3 (B) production, storage, transmission, sale, delivery, or furnishing of electncity, water,

214.14 steam, or gas; or

2t4.t5 (C) orovision of sewage or septic services. or trash, garbage, or recycling disposal.

zt4:6 (33) "Virtual currency" means a dieital representation of value used as a medium of

214.t7 exchange. unit of account, or store of value, which does not have legal tender status

z14.ts recosnized bv the United States. Virtual crrrency does not include:

2t4.19 A the software or the transfer of the ofvalue

214.20 (B) eame-related digital content; or

2r4.2t (C) a loyalty card or gift card.

2t4.22 (3+1 "Worthless security" means a security whose cost of liquidation and delivery to the

214.23 administrator would exceed the value of the security on the date a report is due under this

214.24 chapter.

2t4.zs Sec. 2. 13451^.1021 INAPPLICABILITY TO FOREIGN TRANSACTION.

214.26 This chapter does not apply to property held, due, and owing in a foreign country if the

214.27 transaction out of which the properfy arose was a foreign transaction.
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2t5.1

215.2

2ts.3 Section 1.1345A.2011 WHEN PROPERTY PRESUMED ABANDONED.

21s.4 Subi ect to section 345A.210, the following property is presumed abandoned if it is

zts.s unclaimed bv the apparent owner durine the period specified below

215.6 1 a traveler's 15 after issuance

215.7 (2) a money order, seven years after issuance;

21s.8 (3) cooperative property, including any prof,tt distribution or other sum held or owing

2ts.g by a cooperative to apafücipating patron is presumed abandoned only if it has remained

2ts.1o unclaimedby the owner for more than seven years after it became payable or distributable;

2ts.n (4) a state or municipal bond, bearer bond, or original-issue discount bond, three years

2rs.r2 after the earliest of the date the bond matures or is called or the obligation to pay the principal

2ts.t3 of the bond arises;

215.14 15) a debt of a business association. three vears after the oblieation to pay arises;

215.15 ¡/Á\ ¿{amqnr{ a ortime t{o ^cif i-^lttr{in c rlanrnc it that is qrrtnrn cfi ncllr¡ renervqhl ea

215.16 three Years after the later of the maturitv or the date of the last indication of interest in the

215.t7 nronertv bv the aooarentôwïer excent deoosit that is automaticallv renewable is deemeda

215.18 matured three vears after its initial date of maturitv unless the apparent owner consented to

zts.tg renewal in a record on file with the holder at or about the time of the renewal;

21s.20 (î money or a credit owed to a customer as a result of a retail business transaction, other

215.21 than in-store credit for returned merchandise, three years after the obligation arose;

21s,22 (8) an amount owed bv an insurance comoanv on a life or endowment insurance policy

zts.z3 or an annuity contract that has matured or terminated, three years after the obligation to pay

2rs.24 aroseunder the terms of the oolicv or contract or, if a policv or contract for which an amount

2ts.25 is owed on proof of death has not matured by proof of the death of the insured or annuitant,

21s.26 as follows:

21s.2i (A) with respect to an amount owed on a life or endowment insurance policy, the earlier

2rs.2g of:

2ts.zs i. three years after the death of the insured; or

21s.30 ii. two years after the insured has attained, or would have attained if living, the limiti4g

215.31 age under the mortalitv table in which the reserve for the policy is based; and
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ß) with respect to an amount owed on an annuity contract, three years after the date of

the death of the annuitant;

19) funds on deoosit or held in trust for the Dreoavment of funeral or other funeral-related

exDenses. the earliest of:

A two ars after the date of death of the benefici q'?lr'

one after the date the has or would have attained if
the age of 105 where the holder does not know whether the beneficiary is deceased; or

(C) 30 years after the contract for prepayment was executed;

(10) propertv distributable by a business association in the course of dissolution, one

weâr after the nrnnerfv becomes distrihrrtehle'

(11) propertv held by a court, including property received as proceeds of a class action.

three years after the property becomes distributable;

(12) property held by a government or govemmental subdivision, agency, or

instrumentality, including municipal bond interest and unredeemed principal under the

administration of a paying agent or indenture trustee, one year after the property becomes

distributable;

13 bonuses orreimbursements to aÍr 1S

216:9 or other compensation for personal services, including amounts held on a payroll card, one

216.19 we-Àr after the amount becomes nawrhle

216.20 (I4) a deposit or refund owed to a subscriber by a utility, one year after the deposit or

216.21 refund becomes payable; and

216.22 (15) property not specified in this section or sections 345A.202 to 345A.208, the earlier

216.23 of three years after the owner first has anehtto demand the properly or the obligation to

216.24 pay or distribute the propefi anses.

216.2s Notwithstanding any provision in this section to the contrary, and subiect to section

216.26 345A.210, a deceased owner cannot indicate interest in the owner's property. If the owner

216.27 is deceased and the abandonment period for the owner's property specified in this section

216.28 is greater than two years, then the property, excluding any amounts owed by an insurance

216.29 company on a life or endowment insurance policy or an annuity contract that has mafured

216.30 or terminated, shall instead be presumed abandoned two years from the date of the owner's

216.31 last indication of interest in the property.
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21i.1 Sec.2. 1345A.202I WHEN TAX.DEFERRED RETIREMENT ACCOUNT

2t'1.2 PRESUMEDABANDONED.

211.3 (a) Subi ect to section 34s{.2l}.properfy held in a pension account or retirement account

2t1.4 that qualif,res for tax deferral under the income tax laws of the United States is presumed

zt7.s abandoned if it is unclaimed by the aþparent owner after the later of:

21i.6 (1) three years after the following dates

217.7 (A) except as in subparusraph (B), the date a communication sent by the holder by

2r7.s first-class United States mail to the apparent owner is returned to the holder undelivered by

2r1.s the United States Postal or

217.10 ß) if such communication is re-sent within 30 days after the date the first communication

217.tr is returned undelivered. the date the second communication was returned undelivered by

217.12 the United States Postal Service; or

21i.13 Q) the earlier of the following dates:

217.14 (A) three Vears after the date the apparent owner becomes 70.5 years of age, if

zti.rs determinable by the holder; or

217.16 (B) one year after the date of mandatorv distribution following death if the Internal

2r7.17 Revenue Code. as amended, United States Code, title26, section 1, et seq., requires

2ri.t8 distribution to avoid ataxpenalty and the holder:

ztl.rs (i) receives confirmation of the death of the apparent owner in the ordinary course of

217.20 its business or

2r7.2t (ii) confirms the death of the apparent owner under subsection (b)

zt1.zz ft) If a holder in the ordinary course of its business receives notice or an indication of

217.23 the death of an aPParerft owner and subsection (aX2) applies, the holder shall attempt, not

21i.24 later than 90 days after receiot of the notice or indication, to confirm whether the apparent

217.2s owner is deceased

2t7.26 (c) If the holder does not send communications to the apparent owner of an account

2r'1.2'1 described in subsection (a) bv first-class United States mail, the holder shall attempt to

2t7.28 confirm the apparent owner's interest in the property by sending the apparent owner an

217.29 e-mail communica tion not later than two years after the apparent owner's last indication of

217.30 interest in the however. the holder promptly shall attempt to contact the apparent

217.3r owner by first-class United States mail if:

04t04119 SS/BM DIVH22O8CR1
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218.r (1) the holder does not have information needed to send the apparent owner an e-mail

218.2 communication or the holder believes that the apparent owner's e-mail address in the holder's

218.3 records is not valid;

2t8.4 (2\ fhe holder receives notif,rcation that the e-mail communication was not received; or

2tg.s (3) the apparent owner does not respond to the e-mail communication not later than 30

218.6 days after the communication was sent.

2tl.i (d) If first-class United States mail sent under subsection (c) is returned to the holder

218.8 undelivered by the United States Postal Service, the property is presumed abandoned three

2rl.g years after the later of:

218.10 (1) except as in paraqraph (2\. the date a communication to contact the apparent owner

218.ri sent by first-class United States mail is returned to the holder undelivered;

2tç.t2 (2) if such communication is sent later than 30 days after the date the first communication

2ll.t3 is returned undelivered, the date the second communication was returned undelivered; or

218.14 (3) the date established bv subsection (aX2).

218.is Sec. 3. 13454.203ì WHEN OTHER TAX-DEFERRED ACCOTNT PRESUMED

218.16 ABANDONED.

(a) Subiect to section 345A.2I0 and except for property described in section345{.202218.17

21 8.1 8

218.19

218.20

2t8.21

218.22

218.23

218.24

218.25

218.26

218.27

218.28

218.29

218.30

2r8.31

and propertv held in a plan described in section 529A of the Internal Revenue Code, as

amended; United States Code. title 26. section 529A, property held in an account or plan,

including a health savings account, that qualifies for tax deferral under the income tax laws

of the ljnited States is presumed abandoned if it is unclaimed by the apparent owner three

vears after the earlier of:

(l) the date, if determinable by the holder, specified in the income tax laws and

rezulations of the United States by which dishibution of the property must begin to avoid

ataxþenaltv" with no distribution havins been made; or

(2\ 30 years after the date the account was opened.

(b) If the o\¡/ner is deceased, property subiect to this section is presumed abandoned two

vears from the earliest of:

(1) the date of the distribution or attempted distribution of the property;

(2) the date the required distribution as stated in the plan or trust agreement governing

the plan: or

Article 18 Sec.3 218



04104119 REVISOR SS/BM DIVH22O8CRl

zts.t (3) the date, if determinable by the holder, specified in the income tax laws of the United

21s.2 States by which distribution of the properfy must begin in order to avoid ataxpenalty.

Sec. 4. 1345A.2041 WHEN CUSTODIAL ACCOUNT FOR MINOR PRESUMED2t9.3

219.4

2r9.5

2t9.6

219.7

219.8

219.9

219.10

219.11

2t9.t2

ABANDONED.

(a) Subiect to section 345A.2I0, property held in an account established under a state's

Uniform Gifts to Minors Act or Uniform Transfers to Minors Act is presumed abandoned

if it is unclaimed by or on behalf of the minor on whose behalf the account was opened

three years after the later of:

(1) except as in paragraph(2), the date a communication sent by the holder by first-class

United States mail to the custodian of the minor on whose behalf the account was opened

is returned undelivered to the holder by the United States Postal Service;

(2) if the communication is re-sent Iater than 30 days after the date the first

2t9.13 communication is returned undelivered, the date the second communication was returned

219.t4 undelivered; or

2t9.rs (3) the date on which the custodian is required to transfer the propefi to the minor or

2rg.t6 the minor's estate in accordance with the Uniform Gifts to Minors Act or Uniform Transfers

219.17 to Minors Act of the state in which the account was opened.

219.t8 (b) If the holder does not send communications to the custodian of the minor on whose

zrs.ts behalf an account described in subsection (a) was opened by first-class United States mail,

2rs.20 the holder shall attempt to confirm the custodian's interest in the property by sendine the

219.21 custodian an e-mail communication not later than two vears after the custodian's last

zrs.22 indication of interest in the property; however the holder promptly shall attempt to contact

21s.23 the custodian by first-class United States mail if:

zrs.24 (1) the holder does not have information needed to send the custodian an e-mail

z1g.2s communication or the holder believes that the custodian's e-mail address in the holder's

219.26 records is not valid;

21s.27 (2\ the holder receives notification that the e-mail communication was not received; or

21s.28 (3) the custodian does not respond to the e-mail communication not later than 30 days

219.29 after the communication was sent.

219.30 (c) If first-class United States mail sent under subsection ft) is returned undelivered to

2rs.3t the holder by the United States Postal Service, the property is presumed abandoned three

219.32 years after the later of:
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220.r 11) the date a communication to contact the custodian by first-class United States mail

220.2 is returned to the holder undelivered by the United States Postal Service; or

220.3 (2)the date establishedby subsection (aX3).

220.4 ld) When the propertv in the account described in subsection (a) is transferred to the

220.5 minor on whose behalf an account was opened or to the minor's estate, the properfy in the

220.6 account is no longer subiect to this section.

220.7

224.8

220.9

220.10

220.1r

220.12

220.r3

220.t4

220.ts

Sec. 5. t3454.2051 WHEN CONTENTS OF SAFE DEPOSIT BOX PRESUMED

ABANDONED.

Taneible propefi held in a safe deposit box and proceeds from a sale of the properfy

by the holder permitted by law of this state other than this chapter are presumed abandoned

if the property remains unclaimed by the apparenl owner five years after the earlier of the:

(1) expiration of the lease or rental period for the safe deposit box; or

(2) earliest date when the lessor of the safe deposit box is authorized by law of this state

other than this chapter to enter the safe deposit box and remove or dispose of the contents

without consent or authorization of the lessee.

220.16 Sec. 6. 1345^.2061 WHEN STORED-VALUE CARD PRESUMED ABA¡IDONED.

220.t7 (a) Subiect to section 345A.2I0. the net card value of a stored-value card. other thana

220.t8 payroll card or a eift card, is presumed abandoned on the latest of three years after:

z20.rs (1) December 31 of the year in which the card is issued or additional funds are deposited

220.20 into it;

220.2r (2) the most recent indication of interest in the card by the apparent owner; or

220.22 (3) a verifrcation or review of the balance by or on behalf of the apparent owner.

220.23 (b) The amount presumed abandoned in a stored-value card is the net card value at the

220.24 time it is presumed abandoned.

220.2s (c) If a holder has reported and remitted to the administrator the net card value on a

220.26 stored-value card presumed abandoned under this section and the stored-value card does

220.2i nothave an tion date then the holder must honor the card on indefini

zz0.2s and may then request reimbursement from the administrator under section 345A.605.
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Sec. 7. t3454.2081 \ilHEN SECURITY PRESUMED ABA¡IDONED.

(a) Subiect to section 345A.2I0, a security is presumed abandoned after the earlier of

the following:

(1) three vears after the date a communication sent by the holder by first-class United

States mail to the owner is returned to the holder undelivered by the United States

Postal Service or if such communication is re-sent no later than 30 davs after the first

communication is returned, the date the second communication is returned undelivered to

the holder bv the United States Postal Service; or

(2) five years after the date of the apparent owner's last indication of interest in the

security.

fb) If the holder does not send communications to the apparent owner of a securitv bv

first-class United States mail. the holder shall attempt to confirm the apparent owner's

interest in the securitv bv sendins the apoarent owner an e-mail communication not later

than two vears after the aooarertlowner's last indication of interest in the security: howevet

the holder promptly shall attempt to contact the apparent owner by first-class United States

mail if:

11) the holder does not have information needed to send the apparent owner an e-mail

communication or the holder believes that the apparent owner's e-mail address in the holder's

records is not valid:

Q\ the holder receives notification that the e-mail communication was not received; or

13) the aooarent owner does not respond to the e-mail communication not later than 30

days after the communication was sent.

fc) If first-class United States mail sent under subsection (b) is returned to the holder

undelivered bv the United States Postal Service, the security is presumed abandoned in

accordance with subsection (a\(2\.

(d) If a holder, in the ordinary course of business, receives notice or an indication of the

death ofan apparent owner, the holder shall attempt, not later than 90 days after receipt of

the notice or indication, to confirm whether the apparent o\ryner is deceased. Notwithstanding

the standards set forth in subsections (a). ft). and (c). if the holder either receives

confirmation ofthe death of the auþarenfiowner in the ordinary course ofbusiness or confirms

the death of the apparent owner under this subsection, then the property shall be presumed

abandoned two years after the date of the owner's death.
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222.t Sec. 8. 1345A.2091 VVHEN RELATED PROPERTY PRESUMED ABANDONED.

222.2 At and after the time property is presumed abandoned under this chapteL arLy other

222.3 property right or interest accrued or accruing from the property and not previously presumed

222.4 abandoned is also presumed abandoned.

222.s Sec. 9. t3454.2101 INDICATION OF APPARENT OWNER INTEREST IN

222.6 PROPERTY.

222.7 (a) The period after which propefi is presumed abandoned is measured from the later:

222.8 1 the date the IS abandoned under sections 345A.201 to 3454.211

222.9 0r

222.10 Q) the latest indication of interest by the apparent owner in the property.

z2z.rt lb) Under this chaoter" an indication of an apparent owner's interest in property includes:

2z2.tz (1) a record communicated by the apparent owner to the holder or agent of the holder

222.13 concerning the property or the account in which the property is held;

222.14 Q\ anoral communication bv the apparent owner to the holder or agent of the holder

222.1s concernins the properfy or the account in which the property is held, if the holder or its

222.t6 asent contemporaneously makes and preserves a record of the fact of the apparent owner's

222.17 communication;

222.18 (3) presentment of a check or other instrument of payment of a dividend, interest payment,

222.rs or other distribution. or evidence of receipt of a distribution made by electronic or similar

2z2.zo means, with respect to an account, underhing security, or interest in a business association.

222.21 4 activi directed an owner in the account in which the 1S

222.22 including accessing the account or information concerning the account, or a direction by

222.23 the apparent owner to increase, decrease, or otherwise change the amount or type of property

222.24 held in the account:

222.2s (5) a deposit into or withdrawal from an account at a ftnancial orsanization, except for

222.26 an automatic debit or credit previously authorized by the apparent owner or an automatic

222.27 reinvestment of dividends or interest; and

222.28 (O subiect to subsection (e), payment of a premium on an insurance policy.

222.29 (c) An action by an agent or other representative of an apparent owner, other than the

222.30 holder actine as the apparcnt owner's agent. is presumed to be an action on behalf of the

222.31 apparent owner.
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223.1 (d) A communication with an apparent owner by a person other than the holder or the

223.2 holder's representative is not an indication of interest in the property by the apparerrt owner

223.3 unless a record of the communication evidences the apparent owner's knowledge of a right

223.4 to the property.

223.s (e) If the insured dies or the insured or beneficiary of an insurance policy otherwise

223.6 becomes entitled to the proceeds before depletion of the cash surrender value of the policy

223.7 by operation of an automatic premium loan provision or other nonforfeiture provision

zz3.B contained in the policy, the operation does not prevent the policy from maturing or

223.9 terminating.

223.10 (fl If the aÞþarentowner has other propefi with the holder to which section 345A.201,

223.1r the directed the ownertoward other

223.12 includine but not limited to loan accounts, at the financial organization holding an inactive

223.t3 account of the aooarent owner shall be an indication of interest in all such accounts if:

223.14 11) the apparent owner ensases in one or more of the followine activities

223.ts (A) the aooarent o\Mner undertakes one or more of the actions described in subsection

223.t6 (b) resardins an account that appears on a consolidated statement with the inactive account;

223.17 (B) the aþþarerrt o\ilTrer increases or decreases the amount of funds in any other account

223:9 the aooarent owner has with the financial oreanization: or

223.ts (C) the apparent owner engages in any other relationship with the financial organization,

223.20 includine pavment of any amounts due on a loan; and

223.2r Q) the mailing address for the aþparent owner in the financial organization's records is

223.22 the same for both the inactive account and the active account.

223.23 Sec. 10. 1345^.2 1.1.I KNOWLEDGE OF DEATH OF INSURED OR ANNUITA¡IT.

223.24 (a) In this section. "death master file" ("DMF") means the United States Social Security

223.2s Administration Death Master File or other database or service that is at least as

223.26 comprehenslve as the United States Social Security Administration Death Master File for

zz3.2i determinine that an individual reportedly has died.

223.28 lb) With resoect to a life or endowment insurance policy or annuity contract for which

223.29 an amount is owed on proof of death. but which has not matured by proof of death of the

223.30 insured or annuitant. the company has knowledee of the death of an insured or annuitant

223.31 when:
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zz4.l 11) the comoany receives a death certificate or court order determining that the insured

224.2 or annuitant has died;

224.3 Q\ the company receives notice of the death of the insured or annuitant from the

224.4 administrator or an unclaimed property administrator of another state, a beneficiary, a policy

224.s owner. a relative of the insured. a representative under the Probate Act of 1975, or an

224.6 executor or other legal representative of the insured's or annuitant's estate and validates the

224.j death of the insured or annuitant;

224.8 (3) the comoanv conducts a comparison for anv þurÞose between a DMF and the names

224.9 of some or all of the companv's insureds or annuitants, finds a match that provides notice

224.10 that the insured or annuitant has died. and validates the death; or

224.t1 (4) the administrator or the administrator's agent conducts a comparison for the purpose

224.12 of findine matches durine an examination conducted under this chapter between a DMF

224.13 and the names of some or all of the company's insureds or annuitants, and finds a match

224.14 that orovides notice that the insured or annuitant has died.

224.ts (c) A holder shall oerfoÍn a comparison of its insureds' in-force policies, annuity

224.16 contracts. and retained asset accounts against a DMF on at least a semiannual basis by using

224.t7 the full DMF once and thereafter usine DMF updated files for future comparisons to identifir

2z4.rg ootential matches of its insureds.

z24.ts (d) A death master file match under subsection (bX3) or (4) occurs if the cntena for an

224.20 exact or partial match are satisfied.

224.21 (1) an exact match occurs when the Social Security number, first and last name, and

224.22 date of birth contained in the holder's records matches exactly to the data contained in the

224.23 DMF;

224.24 Q\ arlafüal match occurs in any of the following circumstances:

224.2s (A) when the Social Securify number contained in the data found in the holder's records

224.26 matches exactly or in accordance with the f:¿znt match criteria listed below to the Social

224.27 Security number contained in the DMF, the first and last names match either exactly or in

224.2s accordance with the fuzn¡ match criteria listed below, and the date of birth matches exactly

224.2s or in accordance with the fuzzv match cnteia listed below;

224.30 (B) when the holder's records do not include a Social Security number or where the

224.31 Social Securifv number is incomplete or otherwise invalid, and there is a first name, last

224.32 name, and date of birth combination in the holder's data that is a match against the data

224.33 contained in the DMF where the first and last names match either exactly or in accordance
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with the fuzzv match criteria listed below and the date of birth matches exactly or in

accordance with the fuznt match criteria listed below:

(C) if there is more than one potentially matched individual returned as a result of the

process described inþaraffwhs (A) and (B) above, the holder shall search the Social Security

numbers obtained from the DMF for the potential matched individuals against Accurint for

Insurance or an equivalent database. If a search of those databases shows that the DMF

Social Securitv number is listed at the address in the holder's records for the insured, a

¡orfi al match will be considered to have been made onl\¡ for individuals with a rnqfohino

address;

(D) fuzrv match criteria includes the following:

(i) a first name fuzrv match includes one or more of the following: a nickname; an initial

instead of a full first name: accepted industrv standard phonetic name-matchine aleorithm;

data entrv mistakes with a maximum diflerence of one character with at least five characters

in leneth: a first and last name are provided and cannot be reliably distinzuished from one

another; use of interchanged first name and middle name; a misused compound name; and

the use of a "Mrs." in coniunction with a spouse's name where the date of birth and Social

Securitv number match exactlv and the last name matches exactlv or in accordance with

the fuzrv match criteria listed herein;

(ii) a last name fwnt match includes one or more of the following: Anglicized forms

of last names: compound last name; blank spaces in last name; accepted industry standard

phonetic name-matchine aleorithm: a first and last name are provided and cannot be reliably

distingui shed from one another; use of apostrophe or other punctuation; data entry mistakes

with a maximum difference of one character for last name with at least eight characters in

lensth: and married female last name variations:

(iii) a date of birth fuzrv match includes one of the followine: two dates with a maximum

oftwo digits in difference, but only one entry mistake per full date is allowable; transposition

of the month and date oortion of the date of birth: if the holder's records do not contain a

comnlete date of birth. then afuznt match date ofbirth will be found to exist where the data

available in the holder's records does not conflict with the data contained in the DMF if
the holder provided a first and last name match, either exactly or in accordance with the

fuzrv match cnteríaherein and the Social Security number matches exactly against the

DMF. the date of birth is afuzzv match if the holder provided a date of birth that is within

two years of the DMF-listed date of birth;
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226.1 (iv) a Social Security number fuzzy match includes one of the following: two Social

226.2 Securitv numbers with a maximum of two dieits in difference, any number position; two

226.3 consecutive numbers are transposed; and the Social Security number is less than nine dieits

226.4 in length, but at least seven digits, and is entirely embedded within the other Social Security

226.5 number;

226.6 (3) the DMF match does not constitute proof of death for the pumose of submission to

226.7 an insurance companv of a claim by a beneficiary, annuitant, or owner of the policy or

226.8 contract for an amount due under an insurance policy or annuity contract;

226.s (4) the DMF match or validation of the insured's or annuitant's death does not alter the

226.10 requirements for abeneficiary. annuitant, or owner of the policy or contract to make a claim

226.t1 to receive oroceeds under the terms of the policv or contract;

z26.tz (5) an insured or an annuitant is presumed dead if the date of the person's death is

226.13 indicated by the DMF match under either subsection (bX3) or (41, unless the insurerhas

226.14 comoetent and substantial evidence that the person is living, including but not limited to a

226.15

226.16

226.17

226.18

226.19

226.20

contact made bv the insurer with the person or the person's legal representation.

le) This chaoter does not affect the determination of the extent to which an insurance

company before the effective date of this chapter had knowledge of the death of an insured

or annuitant or was required to conduct a DMF comparison to determine whether amounts

owed bv the comoany on a life or endowment insurance policy or annuity contract were

oresumed abandoned or unclaimed.

Sec. 11.1345A.2111 DEPOSIT ACCOUNT FOR PROCEEDS OF INSURANCE

POLICY OR ANNUITY CONTRACT.

If proceeds payable under a life or endowment insurance policy or annuity contract are

deposited into an account with check or draft-writine privileges for the beneficiary of the

oolicv or contract and, under a supplementary contract not involving annuity benefits other

than death benefits" the proceeds are retained by the insurance company or the financial

orpanization where the account is held. the policy or contract includes the assets in the

account.

226.2r

226.22

226.23

226.24

226.25

226.26

226.27

226.28
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ARTICLE 1.9

UNCLAIMED PROPERTY; RULES FOR TAKING CUSTODY OF PROPERTY
PRESUMED ABANDONED

22i.4 Section 1. t3454.30 1I ADDRESS OF APPARENT OW\ER TO ESTABLISH

227.5 PRIORITY.

227.6 In sections 3454.301 to 3454.307,the following rules apply

227.7 (1) The last known address of an apparent owner is any description, code, or other

22i.8 indication of the location of the aþþarerrtowner which identifies the state, even if the

227.9 description,code, or indication of location is not suffrcient to direct the delivery of first-class

227.10 United States mail to the apparent owner.

z27.rr (2\ If the United States postal zip code associated with the apparent owner is for a post

227.12 offrce located in this state. this state is deemed to be the state of the last known address of

227.13 the apparent owner unless other records associated with the apparent owner specifically

227.14 identifu the phvsical address of the apparent owner to be in another state

227.1s (3) If the address under paragraph (2) is in another state, the other state is deemed to be

227.16 the state of the last known address of the apparent owner,

227.17 Ø\ The address ofthe aooarentowner of a life or endowment insurance policy or annuity

zz7.tB contract or its proceeds is presumed to be the address of the insured or annuitant if a person

227.rg other than the insured or annuitant is entitled to the amount owed under the policy or contract

227.20 and the address of the other person is not known by the insurance company and cannot be

22i.zr determined under section 345A.302,

2zi.zz Sec. 2. 1345A.302I ADDRESS OF APPARENT OWNER IN TIIIS STATE.

227.23 The administra tor mav take custody of property that is presumed abandoned, whether

227.24 located in this state, another state, or a foreign country, if:

2zi.2s (1) the last known address of the apparent owner in the records of the holder is in this

227.26 state; or

227.27 (2) the records of the holder do not reflect the identity or last known address of the

227.28 apparent owner, but the administrator has determined that the last known address of the

227.29 apparent owner is in this state.
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228.t Sec. 3. 13454.3031 IF RECORDS SHOW MULTIPLE ADDRESSES OF APPARENT

228.2 OWT\ER.

228.3 (a) Except as provided in subsection (b), if records of a holder reflect multiple addresses

22g.4 for an aooarent owTìer and this state is the state of the last known address, this state may

22g.s take custodv oforoperty presumed abandoned, whether located in this state or another state.

22s.6 (b) If it appears from records of the holder that the last known address of the apparent

228.i owner under subsection (a) is a temporary address and this state is the state of the next most

228.8 recentlv recorded address that is not a temporary address, this state may take custody of the

228.9 property presumed abandoned.

228.r0

228.rr

228.r2

228.13

228.14

228.15

228.16

228.17

228.18

228.19

228.20

228.21

228.22

228.23

228.24

Sec. 4. t3454.3041 HOLDER DOMICILED IN THIS STATE.

(a) Except as provided in subsection (b) or section 345A.302 or 3454.303, the

administrator may take custody of propefi presumed abandoned, whether located in this

state. another state. or a foreisn country, if the holder is domiciled in this state, another state,

or a goveÍtmental subdivision, agency, or instrumentality of this state and:

(1) another state or foreign country is not entitled to the properW because there is no last

known address of the apparent owner or other person entitled to the property in the records

of the OT

Q\ the state or foreien country of the last known address of the apparent owner or other

person entitled to the property does not provide for custodial taking of the property.

(b) Property is not subiect to custody of the administrator under subsection (a) if the

property is specifically exempt from custodial taking under the law of this state, another

state. or foreign country of the last known address of the apparent owner.

(c) If a holder's state of domicile has chanqed since the time the property was presumed

the holder's state of domicile in this section is deemed to be the state where the

228.2s holder was domiciled at the time the property was presumed abandoned.

22s.26 Sec.5. [345A.305I CUSTODY IF TRANSACTION TOOK PLACE IN THIS STATE.

228.27 Except as provided in sections 345L.302to 3454.304,the administrator may take custody

22s.28 of oropertv presumed abandoned whether located in this state or another state if:

228.29 1 the transaction out of which the arose took in this state

228.30 (2\ the holder is domiciled in a state that does not provide for the custodial taking of the

228.3r properfy, except that if the property is specifically exempt from custodial taking under the

Article 19 Sec. 5 228



zzs.l Sec. 6. 13454.3061 TRAVELER'S CHECK, MONEY ORDER, OR SIMILAR

229.8 INSTRUMENT.

229.9 The administrator may take custody of sums payable on a traveler's check, money order,

229.t0 or similar instrument Þresumed abandoned to the extent permissible under United States

22s.tr Code, title 12, sections 2501 through2503, as amended.

229.1

229.2

229.3

229.4

229.5

229.6

229.12

229.13

229.t4

229.|s

229.16

229.17

229.18

229.19

229.20

))q )1

)10'r^,

229.23

229.24

229.25

229.26

229.27

229.28

229.29

229.30
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law of the state of the holder's domicile, the property is not subiect to the custody of the

administrator; and

(3) the last known address of the apparent owner or other person entitled to the propefi

is unknown or in a state that does not provide for the custodial takine of the property, except

that if the property is specifically exempt from custodial taking under the law of the state

of the last known address. the property is not subiect to the custody of the administrator.

Sec. 7. t3454.3071 BURDEN OF PROOF TO ESTABLISH ADMINISTRÄTORTS

RIGHT TO CUSTODY.

Subiect to this chaoter. if the administrator asserts a risht to custodv of unclaimed

orooerlv and there is a disoute concernins such orooertv. the administrator has the initial

burden to prove:

1 the amount of the

(2) the propefi is presumed abandoned; and

(3) the propertv is subiect to the custody of the administrator,

ARTICLE 20

UNCLAIMED PROPERTY; REPORT BY HOLDER

Section 1.1345A.4011 REPORT REOUIRED BY HOLDER.

(a) A holder of property presumed abandoned and subiect to the custody of the

administrator shall report in a record to the administrator concerning the property. A holder

shall submit an electronic report in a format prescribed by, and acceptable to, the

administrator.

ft) A holder ma contract with a third partv to make the report required under subsection

(4t

(c) Whether or not a holder contracts with a third parfy under subsection (b), the holder

is responsible

Article 20 Section 1 229
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230.1 1 to the administrator for the accuÍa and

the

of

230.2 presumed abandoned; and

230: (2) for pavinq or delivering to the administrator property described in the report.

230.12 ifknown. last known address, ifknown, and Social Security nurnber or taxpayer identification

230.4

230.s

230.6

na.7

230.8

230.9

230.10

230.tt

230.r3

230.14

230.15

230.t6

230.17

230.18

230.t9

230.20

230.21

230.22

230.23

na.24

230.25

230.26

230.27

230.28

234.29

Sec. 2. 1345^.4021 CONTENT OF REPORT.

(a) The report required under section 345A.401must:

(1) be sisned by or on behalf of the holder and verified as to iÍs completeness and

accvtacy;

(2) be filed electronically, unless exception is granted, andbe in a secure format approved

bv the administrator which nrotects confidential information of the apparent owner;

describe the

4 exc for a traveler's order or similar contain the

number. if known or readilv ascertainable, of the apparent o\ilner of property with a value

of $50 or more;

for an amount held or owing under a life or endowment insurance policy or annuity(s)

contract, contain the name and last known address of the insured, annuitant, or other apparent

owner of the policy or contract and of the beneficiary;

(O for propertv held in or removed from a safe deposit box, indicate the location of the

nrnnprfr¡ lt.l â \/

(7\ contain the commencement date for determining abandonment under sections

345A.201to 3454.211;

(8) state that the holder has complied with the notice requirements of section 3454.501;

(9) identifu proþeffy that is a nonfreely transferable security and explain why it is a

nonfreely transferable security; and

(10) contain other information prescribed by the administrator.

(b) A report under section 345A.407 may include in the aggregate items valued under

$50 each. If the report includes items in the aggregate valued under $50 eaqþ¡Lhg

administrator mav not require the holder to provide the name and address of an apparent

owner of an item unless the information is necessary to verifu or process a claim in progress

230.30 by the apparent owner

and where it be incnenferl hr¡
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231.1

231.2

23t.3

231.4

231.5

231.6

231.7

(c) A report under section 345A.40I may include personal information as defined in

section 345A.401(a) about the apparent owner or the apparent owner's property.

(d) If a holder has chansed its name while holdine property presumed abandoned or is

a successor to another Derson that previously held the propefi for the apparent owner, the

holder must include in the report under section 345A.401its former name or the name of

the previous holder, if any, and the known name and address of each previous holder of the

property.

231.8 Sec. 3. t3454.4031 \ilIIEN REPORT TO BE FILED.

231.s (a) Except as otherwise provided in subsection (b) and subiect to subsection (c), the

23t.to report under section 345A.40I must be frled before November 1 of each year and cover the

23r.rr 12 months preceding July 1 of that year.

z3t .tz lb) Subiect to subsection (c). the report under section 345A.40I to be filed by an insurance

23t.r3 comoanv must be filed before Mav 1 of each vear for the immediately preceding calendar

231.14 year.

z31.ts (c) Before the date for fîline the report under section 3451'401, the holder of property

z3t.t6 oresumed abandoned mav request the administrator to extend the time for filing. The

23r.t7 administrator mav srant an extension. If the extension is granted, the holder may pay or

23t.tg make aoarfialpavment of the amount the holder estimates ultimately will be due. The

23t.tg oavment or partial þavment terminates accrual of interest on the amount paid.

23r.20 Sec. 4. 1345A.404ì RETENTION OF RECORDS BY HOLDER.

z3t.2r A holder required to file a report under section 345A.40I shall retain records for ten

231.22 vears after the later of the date the reoort was filed or the last date a timelv report was due

z3t.z3 to be filed, unless a shorter period is provided by rule of the administrator. The holder may

231.24 satisfu the requirement to retain records under this section through an agent. The records

231.2s must contarn:

231.26 (1) the information required to be included in the report;

23r.27 0\ the date. place. and nature of the circumstances that gave rise to the property right;

231.28 the amount or value of the

23r.2g (4) the last known address of the apparent owner, if known to the holder; and

if the holder sells, issues, or provides to others for sale or issue in this state traveler's23r.30 (5)

23r.3r checks, money orders, or similar instruments, other than third-party bank checks, on which

Article 20 Sec. 4. 231
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232.1 the holder is directlv liable. a record of the instruments while they remain outstanding,

232.2 indicating the state and date of issue

232.3 Sec. 5. t3454.4051 PROPERTY REPORTABLE AND PAYABLE OR

232.4 DELIVERABLE ABSENT OWNER DEMAND.

232.5 Properly is reportable and payable or deliverable under this chapter even if the owner

232.6 fails to make demand or present an instrument or document otherwise required to obtain

232.7 payment.

232.8

232.9

232.r0

ARTICLE 21

UNCLAIMED PROPERTY; NOTICE TO APPARENT OW\ER OF PROPERTY
PRESUMED ABAI\DONED

232.11 Section 1. t3454.5011 NOTICE TO APPARENT O\ryNER BY HOLDER.

232.12 (a) Subiect to subsection (b), the holder of propefi presumed abandoned shall send to

232:3 the apparent owner notice by first-class United States mail that cornplies with section

z3z.t4 345A.502 in a format acceptable to the administrator not more than 180 days nor less than

232.1s 60 davs before filins the report under section 345A.401if¡

232.16 11) the holder has in its records an address for the aooarent owner which the holder's

232.t7 records do not disclose to be invalid and is suffrcient to direct the delivery of first-class

232.18 United States mail to the apparent owner; and

232.1s (2) the value of the properfy is $50 or more.

232.20 ft) If an apparent owner has consented to receive e-mail delivery from the holder, the

23z.zr holder shall send the notice described in subsection (a) both by first-class United States

232.22 mail to the apparent owner's last known mailing address and by e-mail, unless the holder

232.23 believes that the apparent owner's e-mail address is invalid.

232.24 The holder of securities ^-oorr-oal abandoned under sections 345y''2 (r', 34s1t.203

232.2s or 345A.208 shall send the apparent owner notice by certified United States mail that

232.26 complies with section 3454.502, andin a format acceptable to the administrator, qot less

232.27 than 60 davs before filine the report under section 345A.401,if:

23z.zg (1) the holder has in its records an address for the apparent o\üner which the holder's

232.2s records do not disclose to be invalid and is sufficient to direct the delivery of United States

232.30 mail to the aooarent owner: and

232.31 (2\ the value of the property is $1,000 or more.

Article 21 Section 1 232
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233.1 (d) In addition to other indications of an apparcnt owrìer's interest in property pursuant

233.2 . to section 345A.210. a signed return receipt in response to a notice sent pursuant to this

233.3 section bv certified United Søtes mail shall constitute a record communicated by the apparent

233.4 owner to the holder concerning the property or the account in which the property is held.

233.s Sec. 2. 1345A.5021 CONTENTS OF NOTICE BY HOLDER.

233.6 (a) Notice under section 3454.501 must contain a heading that reads substantially as

233.7 follows: "Notice. The State of Minnesota requires us to notifu you that your property may

233.8 be transferred to the custodv of the commissioner of commerce if you do not contact us

233.s before (insert date that is 30 days after the date of this notice)."

233.10 (b) The notice under section 3454.501 must:

233.1r (1) identifir the nature and. except for propertv that does not have a fixed value, the value

233.12 of the property that is the subiect of the notice;

233.13 (2) state that the properff will be turned over to the administrator;

233.14 (3) state that after the propefi is turned over to the administrator an apparent owner

z33.rs that seeks return of the property must file a claim with the administrator;

233.16 14) state that propertv that is not legal tender of the United States may be sold by the

233.17 administrator; and

041041t9 SS/BM DIVH22O8CRl

233.18 instructions that the owner must follow to the holder from

233.1s reportins and pavine or deliverine the propeffy to the administrator.

233.20 Sec. 3. t3454.503ì NOTICE BY ADMINISTRATOR.

233.21 (a) The administrator shall give notice to an apparent owner that property presumed

233.22 abandoned and that appears to be owned by the apparent owner is held by the administrator

233.23 under this chapter.

233.24 ft) In orovidine notice under subsection (a), the administrator shall:

233.2s 11) publish every 12 months in at least one newspaper of general circulation in each

233.26 county in this state notice of propertv held by the administrator which must include:

233.27 /^\ the total value of nrnna**r¡ received }'rt the administrator ther{tr.i- a nranprlinc

233.28 l2-month period, taken from the reports under section 345A.401;

233.2e lB) the total value of claims oaid bv the administrator durins the orecedine 12-month

233.30 period;
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(C) the Internet address of the unclaimed property website maintained by the

admini

(D) a teleohone number and e-mail address to contact the administrator to inquire about

or claim propertv: and

(E) a statement that aperson may access the Internetby a computer to search for

unclaimed property and a computer may be available as a service to the public at atocaI

oublic librarv: and

(2) mairúain a website or database accessible bv the public and electronically searchable

which contains the names reported to the administrator of all apparent owners for whom

property is beine held bv the administrator. The administrator need not list property on such

website when:

A no owner name was

(B) a claim has been initiated or is pending for the propefi;

234.1

234.2

234.3

234.4

234.5

234.6

234.7

234.8

234.9

234.r0

234.tl

234.12

234.13

234.14

234.15

234.t6

234.t7

234.18

234.19

234.20

234.21

234.22

234.23

the administrator has made direct contact with the owner of the

and

(D) other instances exist where the administrator reasonably believes exclusion of the

oropertv is in the best interests of both the state and the owner of the property.

lc) The website or database maintainedunder subsection ftX2) must include instructions

for filins with the administrator a claim to orooertv and a printable claim form with

instructions for its use.

ld) In addition to sivins notice under subsection ft). publishine the information under

subsection lb)11). and maintainins the website or database under subsection ftX2), the

administrator may use other printed publication, telecommunication, the Internet, or other

234.24 media to inform the public of the existence of unclaimed property held by the administrator.

234.25

234.26

234.27

ARTICLE 22

UNCLATMED PROPERTY; TAKING CUSTODY OF PROPERTY BY
ADMINISTRATOR

234.2s Section 1. [3454.6011 DORMANCY CHARGE.

234.29 (a) A holder may deduct a dormancy charge from property required to be paid or delivered

234.30 to the administrator if:
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235.3

235.4

235.5

235.6

235.1

235.8

23s.9

235.r0

235.r1

and
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(1) a valid contract between the holder and the apparent owner authorizes imposition of

the charge for the apparent owner's failure to claim the property within a specified time;

(2) the holder rezularly imposes the charge and regularly does not reverse or otherwise

cancel the charge

ft) The amount of the deduction under subsection (a) is limited to an amount that is not

unconscionable considering all relevant factors, including the marginal transactional costs

incuredby the holder in maintainine the apparent owner's propeúy and any services received

by the aþparent owner.

(c) A holder may not deduct an escheat fee or impose other charges solely by virtue of

property being reported as presumed abandoned.

Sec. 2. 13454.6021 PAYMENT OR DELMRY OF PROPERTY TO

ADMINISTRÄTOR.

a\ Fvnanf as otherwise ñf \/1 dedinthis ccnfinn filinrv ronnrf under section 345A.401

235.12

235.t3

235.14

235.15

235.16

23s.t7

235.t8

235.t9

235.20

235.21

235.22

235.23

235.24

235.25

23s.26

235.27

235.28

235.29

23s.30

235.3r

on a

the holder shall pay or deliver to the administrator the propeúy described in the report.

(b) If property in a report under section 345A.401is an automatically renewable deposit

and apenalty or forfeiture in the payment of interest would result from paying the deposit

to the administrator at the time of the report, the date for payment of the property to the

administrator is extended until a penalty or forfeifure no lonser would result from oavment.

if the holder informs the administrator of the extended date.

(c) Taneible propefi in a safe deposit box may not be delivered to the administrator

until 60 days after filine the report under section 345A.401.

(d) If properfy reported to the administrator under section 345A.40I is a securifi the

administrator may:

(1) make an endorsement, instruction, or entitlement order on behalf of the apparent

owner to invoke the duty of the issuer, its transfer agent, or the securities intermediary to

transfer the security; or

(2) dispose of the security under section 345A.702.

(e) If the holder of property reported to the administrator under section 345A.40I is the

issuer of a certificated security, the administrator may obtain a replacement certificate in

phvsical or book-entry form under section 336.8-405. An indemnitv bond is not required.
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236.3

236.4

236.s

236.6

236.1

236.8

236.9

236.10

236.1r

236.12

236.13
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(fl The administrator shall establish procedures for the registration, issuance, method

ofdelivery, transfer, and maintenance of securities delivered to the administrator by a holder.

(g) An issuer, holder, and transfer agent or other person actingunder this section under

instructions of and on behalf of the issuer or holder is not liable to the aþparent owner for,

and must be indemnified by the state against, a claim arising with respect to propefi after

the property has been delivered to the administrator.

(h) A holder is not required to deliver to the administrator a security identified by the

holder as a nonfreelv transferable securitv. If the administrator or holder determines that a

section 345A.401as a nonfreely transferable security is no longer a nonfreely transferable

security is no lonqer a nonfreely transferable security, the holder shall deliver the security

on the next rezular date prescribed for delivery of securities under this chapter. The holder

shall make a determination annually whether a security identified in a report filed under

secunty.

236.14 Sec. 3. t3454.6031 EFFECT OF PAYMENT OR DELMRY OF PROPERTY TO

236.15 ADMINISTRATOR.

236.t6 On payment or delivery of property to the administrator under this chapter, the

236.17 administrator. as asent for the state, assumes custody and responsibilifv for safekeeping the

z36.tg prooerfv. A holder that pavs or delivers property to the administrator in good faith and

236.1s substantially complies with sections 3454.501 and345{.502 is relieved of liability which

236.2û may arise thereafter with respect to the proper8 so paid or delivered.

236.2r Sec. 4. t345A.6041 RECOVERY OF PROPERTY BY HOLDERS FROM

236.22 ADMINISTRATOR.

236.23 (a) A holder that under this chapter pays money to the administrator may file a claim

236.24 for reimbursement from the administrator of the amount paid if the holder:

236.2s (1) paid the money in error; or

236.26 Q\ after paying the money to the administrator, paid money to a person the holder

236.27 reasonably believed entitled to the money.

236.28 ft) If a claim for return of property is made, the holder shall include with the claim

236.29 evidence sufficient to establish that the apparent owner has claimed the property from the

236.30 holder or that the property was delivered by the holder to the administrator in error.
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237.2

231.3

237.4

237.5

231.6

237.7

237.8

237.9

237.10
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Sec. 5. CREDITING INCOME OR GAIN TO OWI\ER'S ACCOT]NT.

If property other than monev is delivered to the administrator, the owner is entitled to

receive from the administrator income or gain realized or accrued on the property before

the property is sold. If the oroperty was interest-bearing, the administrator shall pay interest

at the lesser of the rate of the weekly average one-year constant maturity treasury yield, as

published by the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System, for the calendar week

preceding the of the fîscal quarter in which the property was sold or the rate the

orooertv earned while in the possession of the holder. Interest begins to accrue when the

properfy is delivered to the administrator and ends on the earlier of the expiration of ten

years after its deliverv or the date on which payment is made to the owner.

23"t.tr Sec. 6. t3454.6061 ADMINISTRATOR'S OPTIONS AS TO CUSTODY.

237.r2 (a) The administrator mav decline to take custody of properfy reported under section

237.13 345A.401if the administrator determines that

237.14 (1) the has a value less than the estimated expenses of notice and sale of the

z3'1.r5 propertv: or

237.16 12) takins custodv of the oropertv would be unlawful

237.t7 A holder or deliver to the administrator before the 1S

237.t8 presumed abandoned under this chapter if the holder:

z37.ts (1) sends the owner of the property notice required by section 3454.501 and

nt.2a nrm¡ides the administrator evidence of the holder's comnliqnce with this nqrqmqnh'

23i.2r (2) includes with the payment or delivery a report regarding the properly conforming to

23i.22 section 345A.402; and

237.23 (3) first obtains the administrator's written consent to accept payment or delivery.

23i.24 (c) A holder's request for the administrator's consent under subsection (bX3) must be in

23i.2s a record. If the administrator fails to respond to the request not later than 30 days after

237.26 receipt of the the administrator is deemed to consent to the payment or delivery of

237.27 the property and the oavment or deliverv is considered to have been made in good faith.

237.28 (d) On payment or delivery of property under subsection (b), the property is presumed

237.29 abandoned.
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238.1 Sec. 7. t3454.6071 DISPOSITION OF PROPERTY HAVING NO SUBSTANITIAL

23s.2 VALUE; IMMUNITY FROM LIABILITY.

238.3 fa) If the administrator takes custodv of oropertv delivered under this chapter and later

238.4 determines that the orooerfv has no substantial commercial value or that the cost of disposine

z3l.s of the properW will exceed the value of the property, the administrator may return the

238.6 property to the holder or destroy or otherwise dispose of the property.

238.i ft) An action or proceedins mav not be commenced against the state. an agencv of the

238.8 state, the administrator, another officer, employee, or agent of the state, or a holder for or

238.9 because of an act of the administrator under this section. except for intentional misconduct

238.10 or malfeasance.

Sec. 8. t3454.6081 PERIODS OF LIMITATION AND REPOSE.238.tr

238.t2

238.13

238.t4

238.rs

238.16

238.17

238.1 8

238.r9

238.20

238.21

238.22

(a) Expiration, before, on, or after the effective date of this chapter, of a period of

limitation on an owner's risht to receive or recover orooertv. whether soecified bv contract.

statute. or court order. does not prevent the property from being presumed abandoned or

affect the duty of a holder under this chapter to file a report or pay or deliver property to

the administrator.

(b) An action or proceeding may not be maintained by the administrator to enforce this

act's reporting, delivery, or par,¡ment requirements more than ten years after the holder

specifically identified the property in a report filed with the administrator, or gave express

notice to the administrator of a dispute regarding the property. In the absence of such a

report or other express notice, the period of limitation is tolled. The period of limitation is

also tolled by filine a fraudulent report.

ARTICLE 23

T]NCLAIMED PROPERTY; SALE OF PROPERTY BY ADMINISTRATOR

238.23

238.24

238.2s Section 1. t345A.701ì PUBLIC SALE OF PROPERTY.

23s.26 (a) Subiect to section 345A.702. not earlier than three vears after receipt of property

238.27 presumed abandoned, the administrator may sell the property.

23B.zB ft) Before selline property under subsection (a), the administrator shall give notice to

238.2e the public of:

238.30 (l) the date of the sale; and

238.3t (2) a reasonable description of the property

Article 23 Section 1. 238



239.1

239.2

239.3

239.4

239.5

239.6

239.7

239.8

239.9

239.10

239.r1

239.r2

239.13

239.14

239.r5
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(c) A sale under subsection (a) must be to the hiehest bidder:

11) at oublic sale at a location in this state which the administrator determines to be the

most favorable market for the property;

(2) on the Internet; or

(3) on another forum the administrator determines is likelv to vield the hiehest net

proceeds of sale

(d) The administratormay decline the highestbid at a sale under this section and reof[er

the property for sale if the administrator determines the hiehest bid is insufficient.

(e) If a sale held under this section is to be conducted other than on the Internet, the

administrator must publish at least one notice of the sale, at least two weeks but not more

than five weeks before the sale, in a newspaper of general circulation in the county in which

the orooertv is sold. For oumoses of this subsection. the reasonable description of properfy

to be sold required by subsection (b) may be satisfied by posting such information on the

administrator's website so lonq as the newspaper notice includes the website address where

such information is posted.

23s.16 Sec. 2. 1345A.7021 DISPOSAL OF SECURITIES.

z3g.t7 (a) The administrator mav not sell or otherwise liquidate a security until one year after

23g.tg the administrator receives the security, unless requested to do so by the o\Ã/ner of the security

z39:s in making a claim for the property.

23e.20 ft) The administrator may not sell a security listed on an established stock exchange for

239.2t less than the price prevailins on the exchange at the time of sale. The administrator may

23g.zz sell a securitv not listed on an established exchange by any commercially reasonable method.

23e.23 Sec. 3. 1345^.7041 PURCHASER O\ilNS PROPERTY AFTER SALE.

23s.24 A purchaser of property ata sale conducted by the administrator under this chapter takes

z3g.zs the property free of all claims of the o\ilner, a previous holder, or a person claiming through

23s.26 the owner or holder. The administrator shall execute documents necessary to complete the

239.27 transfer of ownership to the purchaser
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240.3 Section 1. t3454.8011 DEPOSIT OF FUNDS BY ADMINISTRÄTOR.

240.4 (a) The administrator shall deposit in the general fund all funds received under this

240.s chapter. includine proceeds from the sale of property under sections 345A.701 to 3451'.704,

240.6 except:

240.7 1 of tion of delivered to the administrator under this

240.8 (2) expenses incurred in examining records of or collecting property from a putatrve

240s holder or holder; and

240.10 (3) as otherwise provided in this chapter,

240.11 Sec. 2. t3454.8021 ADMINISTRATOR TO RETAIN RECORDS OF PROPERTY.

240.t2 The administrator shall:

240.13 (1) record and retain the name and last known address of each person shown on a report

240.14 filed under section 345A.40I to be the apparent owner of property delivered to the

24o.ts administrator;

240.16 (2) record and retain the name and last known address of each insured or annuitant and

240.17 beneficiary shown on the report;

z40:g (3) for each policy of insurance or annuity contract listed in the report of an insurance

z40lg company, record and retain the policy or account number, the name of the company, and

240.20 the amount due or paid; and

240.21 (4) for each apparent owner listed in the report, record and retain the name of the holder

240.22 that filed the report and the amount due or paid.

240.1

240.2

240.23

240.24
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ARTICLE 24

UNCLAIMED PROPERTY; ADMTNISTRÄIION OF PROPERTY

ARTICLE 25

UNCLAIMED PROPERTY ; HEARINGS, PROCEDT]RE, AND JUDICIAL REVIEW

240.2s Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 345.5I5, is amended to read:

240.26 345.51.5 AGREEMENTS TO LOCÄTE REPORTED PROPERTY.

240.27 It is unlawful for a person to seek or receive from another person or contract with a

240.28perSonforafeeorcompensationfor1ocatingproperty,

240.2s prior to 24 months after the

240.30 date the property is paid or delivered to the eemmissioner administrator

240Article 25 Section 1



241.6 as such facts have been and for in an amount that is no

24r.i more than 15 percent of the amount collected. Nothing in this section shall be construed to

241.t prevent an owner from assertingat any time that an agteement to locate property is based

241.9 upon an excessive or unjust consideration.

241.1

241.2

24t.3

241.4

241.5

241.10

24t.Il

24t.12

241.13

24r.14

241.|s

24t.16

241.17

241.t8

24t.19

24t.20

241.21

24r.22

24r.23

24r.24

241.25

241.26

241.21

241.28

241.29

241.30

24r.31

241.32

24t.33

241.34

24t.35

241.36

241.37

241.38

241.39

24t.40

241.41

241.42

241.43
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No 4q agreement

ffiissisner is valid only if

the agreement is in writing aadris signedby the ownerand,

discloses the nature and value of the property and the name and address of the holder thereof

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2078, section 345.53, is amended by adding a subdivision to

read:

Subd. 3. Failure of person examined to retain records. If a person subiect to

examination under this chaoter does not retain the records required bv section 345A.404.

the administrator may determine the value of property due using a reasonable method of

estimation based on all information available to the administrator, includinq extrapolation

and use of statistical samplins when appropriate and necessary. A payment made based on

estimation under this section is a penalty for failure to maintain the records required by

section 345A.404. and does not relieve a person from an obligation to report and deliver

nrooertv to a state in which the holder is domiciled."

Delete the title and insert

"A bill for an act

relating to economic development; appropriating money for jobs and economic
development; establishing paid family leave insurance; modifuing economic
development programs; establishing wage theft prevention; providing for earned
sick and safe time; modif ing labor and industry policy provisions; modifuing
commerce policy provisions; adopting Unemployment Insurance Advisory Council
provisions; modiffing unemplo¡rment insurance policy; modifuing Bureau of
Mediation Services policy; establishing guidelines relating to unclaimed property;
modiflring fees; increasing civil and criminal penalties; authorizing rulemaking;
amending Minnesota Statutes 2018, sections 13.43, subdivision6; l3.7I9,by
adding a subdivis ion; I 5.7 2, subdivisi on 2; I6C.285, subdivision 3 ; 47 .59,
subdivision2;47.60, subdivision2;47.601, subdivisions 2,6;53.04, subdivision
3a;56.731, subdivision 1; 116J.8731, subdivision 5; 116J.8748, subdivisions 4,
6;175.46, subdivisions 3, 13; 176.1812, subdivision2;176.231, subdivision 1;

177 .27, subdivisions 2,4,7,by adding subdivisions; 177 .30; I77 .32, subdivision
I;179.86, subdivisions 1, 3; I19A.047, by adding a subdivision; 181.03,
subdivision 1, by adding subdivisions; 181.032;181.101; 181.635, subdivision 2;
I81.942, subdivisionl;182.659, subdivision 8; 182.666, subdivisionsI,2,3,4,
5, by adding a subdivision; 256J.561, by adding a subdivision;256J.95, subdivisions
3, 1l ; 25 6P.01, subdivision 3 ; 268.03 5, subdivisions 4, 12, 1 5, 20; 268.044,
subdivisio ns 2, 3 ; 268.046, subdivision 1 ; 268.047, subdivision 3 ; 268.05 l,
subdivisio n 2a; 268.05 7, subdivision 5 ; 268.0 69, subdivision 7 ; 268.07, subdivision
1 ; 268.085, subdivisions 3, 3 a, 8, 13a,by adding subdivisions; 268.095, subdivisions
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242.1

242.2

242.3

242.4

242.5

242.6

242.7

242.8

242.9

242.10

242.11

242.12

6,6a;268.105, subdivision6;268.145, subdivision l; 268.18, subdivisions2b,5;
268.I9, subdivisionT;290.0132,by adding a subdivision;3268.082, subdivisions
6,8,12;3268.103, subdivision 1I;3268.106, subdivision 9;3268.46,by adding
a subdivis ion1' 3268.475, subdivision 4; 3268.802, subdivision 1 5 ; 3268.81 5,

subdivision l;3268.821, subdivision2l;3268.84;327 .31,by adding a subdivision;
3278.041;327C.095, subdivision 6, by adding a subdivision;337.10, subdivision
4; 34L 30, subdivision I ; 341.32, subdivision 1; 34I.321; 345.515; 345.53,by
adding a subdivision; 609.52, subdivisions 1, 2,3;Laws2014, chapter211, section
13, as amended; Laws 2017, chapter 94, article 1, section 2, subdivision 3;
proposing coding for new law in Minnesota Statutes, chapters 13; I6C: ll6J; ll6L;
t77;I8I;325F;327;proposing coding fornew law as Minnesota Statutes, chapters

58B; 268B;345{;repealing Minnesota Statutes 2018, sections 181.9413; 325F.75."

242.13 With the recommendation that when so amended the bill be returned to the Committee

242.14 on Ways and Means.

242.15 This Division action taken April 4,2019

242.16

Article 25 Sec.2. 242


