

Minnesota Freight Advisory Committee (MFAC): Your One-Stop Resource for All Things "Freight"

The Minnesota Freight Advisory Committee, established in 1998, was recently restructured to increase awareness of freight transportation issues, facilitate quick response to freight questions and issues from the Minnesota legislature, MnDOT and other organizations, and provide a focal point for freight transportation expertise in Minnesota. Following a strategic planning process completed during the development of MnDOT's recently-released Statewide Freight System Plan, structural changes made in 2016 to MFAC included the formalization and development of a diverse membership.

MFAC's new member roster (see back side) includes representation from all freight modes of transportation and many major industries statewide, and relevant public sector organizations – forming an expert freight resource. The committee members are available to respond to inquiries regarding specific freight-related issues, industry needs, and trends, and provide input into state and local freight plans and activities. The committee also serves as a conduit for other freight industry and business contacts.

In late-2015, the U.S. Department of Transportation released a draft of the first-ever National Freight Strategic Plan, including a national freight policy and designated multimodal freight network, and new federal FAST Act legislation includes freight program investment opportunities to address state and local needs. An active state Freight Advisory Committee, such as MFAC, is now more critical than ever for states to have in place and engage. MFAC provides important expertise to guide public sector decision-making, helping to ensure an efficient, reliable and safe freight transportation system serving Minnesota's communities.



New Minnesota Freight Advisory Committee -- March 11, 2016 Inaugural MFAC Quarterly Meeting Attendees (L to R) Seated: Ron Seifried (*for James Carver*), Land O'Lakes; Mark Wegner, Twin Cities & Western Railroad; Dan Murray, American Transportation Research Institute; Bill Gardner, MnDOT OFCVO; Chair Bill Goins, FedEx; Vice-Chair Ron Dvorak, Lake Superior Warehousing Co., Inc.; Kurt Wayne, MN Assn. of Regional Development Organizations; John Hausladen, MN Trucking Assn.; Vanta E. Coda II, Duluth Seaway Port Authority; Brian Sweeney, BNSF Railway.

Standing: Mike Norton, Transportation Club of Mpls. & St. Paul; Steve Elmer, Metropolitan Council; Randy Brown (*for George Schember*), Cargill; Robert "Chip" Smith, Bay & Bay Transportation; Tom Clark, The Schwan Food Company; Shelley Latham, Perkins STC; Jon Huseby, MnDOT District 8; John Brumbaugh, Canadian Pacific Railway; Tracie Walter, Bemidji Aviation; Scott Hutchins, Greater MN Cities (Moorhead); Bruce Abbe, Midwest Shippers Assn.; Neal Young, MN Dept. of Employment & Economic Development; Jason Craig, C.H. Robinson; Dave Cashman, Spee-Dee Delivery Service; Ryan Hanson, Target Corporation; Kathryn Sarnecki, St. Paul Port Authority; Neil Ralston, Metropolitan Airports Commission; Dean Zuleger, Valley Cartage; Capt. Jon Olsen, Minnesota State Patrol. **Attendees not pictured:** Brad Emch, MPLS/STP Council of Supply Chain Mgmt. Professionals (CSCMP); James McCarthy, Federal Highway Administration (FHWA); Lee Nelson, Upper River Services, LLC; Bob Zelenka, MN Grain and Feed Association.

For More Information

Visit: www.dot.state.mn.us/ofrw/mfac

For assistance or input from MFAC, please contact: Laurie Ryan, MFAC / Freight Partner Relations / MnDOT Office of Freight & Commercial Vehicle Operations at (651) 366-3658 or Laurie.Ryan@state.mn.us.



MFAC EXECUTIVE LEADERSHIP & MEMBER ROSTER 1/1/2017

NOTE: EXEC = MFAC Executive Committee

Air:

1 <u>Bemidji Aviation</u>

2 <u>Metropolitan Airports Commission</u>

Associations:

- 3 American Transportation Research Institute
- 4 <u>Council of Supply Chain Management Professionals (MPLS/STP)</u>
- EXEC Midwest Shippers Association
- 5 Minnesota Grain and Feed Association
- 6 <u>Minnesota Trucking Association</u>
- 7 Transportation Club of Minneapolis & St. Paul

Carriers:

- EXEC Bay and Bay Transportation
- EXEC FedEx
 - 8 Perkins STC
 - 9 Spee-Dee Delivery Service
- 10 Valley Cartage

Industry Workforce:

11 UTU-SMART-TD (Sheet Metal, Air, Rail, and Transit Union)

MnDOT:

EXEC	Minnesota Dept. of Transportation, Central Office
EXEC	Minnesota Dept. of Transportation, District 8

Pipeline:

12 Enbridge Energy Company, Inc.

Ports:

 13
 Duluth Seaway Port Authority

 EXEC
 Lake Superior Warehousing Co., Inc.

 14
 Upper River Services, LLC

Rail:

- 15 <u>BNSF Railway</u>
- 16 Canadian Pacific Railway
- 17 Minnesota Regional Railroads Association

Shippers:

- 18 <u>Cargill</u>
- 19 Land O'Lakes
- 20 <u>Medtronic</u>
- 21 Target Corporation
- 22 The Schwan Food Company
- 23 **TBD**

Statewide / Regional Organizations & Economic Development Reps

- 24 Greater Minnesota Cities Representative
- 25 Greater Minnesota Metropolitan Planning Organizations (MPOs)
- 26 Minnesota Association of Regional Development Organizations
- EXEC Minnesota Dept. of Employment & Economic Development
- 27 <u>Minnesota State Patrol</u>
- 28 <u>St. Paul Port Authority</u>
- **EXEC** Twin Cities' Area Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO)

Third Party Logistics Providers:

- EXEC C.H. Robinson
- 29 Murphy Warehouse

Tribal Government:

30 Advocacy Council for Tribal Transportation (ACTT)

U.S. DOT

31 Federal Highway Administration (FHWA)

Tracie Walter, Vice President/Director of Operations Neil Ralston, Airport Planner

Dan Murray, Vice President Eric Sieve, President Bruce Abbe, Executive Director Bob Zelenka, Executive Director John Hausladen, President Mike Norton, Board of Directors Member

Robert "Chip" Smith, Advisor Bill Goins, Worldwide Account Manager Shelley Latham, Business Development Manager Dave Cashman, Corporate Secretary Dean Zuleger, Executive Vice President and General Manager

Phillip Qualy, Minnesota Legislative Director

Bill Gardner, OFCVO Director Jon Huseby, District Engineer

TBD

Vanta E. Coda II, Executive Director Ron Dvorak, Marketing Director Lee Nelson, President

Brian Sweeney, Legislative Counsel **TBD** - Interim: John Brumbaugh, Transload Services Manager Mark Wegner, President

George Schember, VP Transportation & Logistics James Carver, Director of Transportation Michael Loney, Sr. Logistics Manager, Global Supply Chain Ryan Hanson, Sr. Director of Domestic Operations Tom Clark, Sr. Vice President of Logistics TBD

Scott Hutchins, City of Moorhead Ron Chicka, Metropolitan Interstate Council Director Troy Schroeder, Northwest RDC Transportation Director Neal Young, Economic Analysis Director Jon Olsen, Captain Kathryn Sarnecki, VP of Redevelopment & Harbor Management Steve Peterson, Metropolitan Council Highway Planning Manager

Jason Craig, Manager, Governmental Affairs Richard Murphy, President and CEO

Ed Fairbanks, MnDOT Tribal Liaison

James McCarthy, Traffic Operation Engineer