CAPITAL INVESTMENT COMMITTEE

MINUTES

Representative Fue Lee, Chair of the Capital Investment Committee, called the remote meeting to order at 8:30 A.M. on February 16, 2021, pursuant to House rule 10.01. The meeting was conducted over Zoom and broadcast via House Public Information Services, Facebook Live, and YouTube live streaming.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members present:

LEE, Fue (Chair)

MURPHY, Mary (Vice Chair)

URDAHL, Dean (Lead)

AGBAJE, Esther

BERG, Kaela

DAVIDS, Greg

FRANKE, Keith

FREIBERG, Mike

HANSEN, Rick

HUOT, John

LILLIE, Leon

LUCERO, Eric

MORAN, Rena

PIERSON, Nels

RALEIGH, Donald

RASMUSSON, Jordan

REYER, Liz

WEST, Nolan

XIONG, Jay

A quorum was present.

Representative Murphy moved to approve the minutes from February 11, 2021. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Vice Chair Murphy assumed the gavel at 8:33 A.M.

HF728 (Lee); Protests of May and June 2020; redevelopment appropriation bond issuance authorized for areas damaged by civil unrest, and money appropriated.

Representative Lee moved that HF728 be referred to the Committee on Workforce and Business Development Finance and Policy.

Representative Lee moved the H0728A1-1 amendment. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.

Representative Lee presented his bill as amended.

Testifying on the bill as amended:

- -Louis Lau, Business Owner, Peking Garden
- -Rob Yang, Business Owner, Phenom
- -Va-Megn Thoj, Executive Director, Asian Economic Development Association
- -Chad Kulas, Executive Director, Midway Chamber of Commerce
- -Butch Inks, Fire Chief, St. Paul
- -Henry Jiménez, Executive Director, Latino Economic Development Center
- -Chris Montana, Chief Executive Officer and Head Distiller, DuNord Craft Spirits
- -Allison Sharkey, Executive Director, Lake Street Council
- -Abe Demaaj, Business Owner, G & L Furniture
- -Kenya McKnight-Ahad, Founder, Black Women's Wealth Alliance
- -Nicolle Goodman, Director, St. Paul Department of Planning and Economic Development
- -Erik Hansen, Director of Economic Policy and Development, City of Minneapolis
- -Jim Terrell, Principal Project Coordinator & Manager of Participation Loan Programs, City of Minneapolis

ANTEC	
AYES	
Lee	
Murphy	
Agbaje	
Berg	
Freiberg	
Hansen	
Huot	
Lillie	
Moran	
Reyer	
Xiong	
NAYS	
Urdahl	
Davids	
Franke	
Lucero	
Pierson	
Raleigh	
Rasmusson	
West	
There being 11 ayes and 8 nays, THE MOTION Parties that the meeting was adjourned at 9:58 A.M.	REVAILED.
	Representative Fue Lee, Chair
	In I was a series of the I and the Andrew
	Joe Lenczewski, Committee Legislative Assistant

Representative Lee renewed his motion that HF728 as amended be referred to the Committee on Workforce and Business Development Finance and Policy. A roll call was taken, and the results were as follows: