
1.1 .................... moves to amend H.F. No. 2890 as follows:​

1.2 Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:​

1.3 "ARTICLE 1​

1.4 PUBLIC SAFETY APPROPRIATIONS​

1.5 Section 1. APPROPRIATIONS.​

1.6 The sums shown in the columns marked "Appropriations" are appropriated to the agencies​

1.7 and for the purposes specified in this article. The appropriations are from the general fund,​

1.8 or another named fund, and are available for the fiscal years indicated for each purpose.​

1.9 The figures "2024" and "2025" used in this article mean that the appropriations listed under​

1.10 them are available for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, or June 30, 2025, respectively.​

1.11 "The first year" is fiscal year 2024. "The second year" is fiscal year 2025. "The biennium"​

1.12 is fiscal years 2024 and 2025. Appropriations for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, are​

1.13 effective the day following final enactment.​

1.14 APPROPRIATIONS​
1.15 Available for the Year​
1.16 Ending June 30​

2025​2024​1.17 2023​

1,488,000​$​1,549,000​$​1.18 Sec. 2. SENTENCING GUIDELINES​

1.19 The general fund base is $1,071,000 in fiscal​

1.20 year 2026 and $1,071,000 in fiscal year 2027.​

1.21 Sec. 3. PUBLIC SAFETY​

279,032,000​$​295,624,000​$​1,000,000​$​
1.22 Subdivision 1. Total​
1.23 Appropriation​

1.24 Appropriations by Fund​

2025​2024​1.25 2023​

189,449,000​199,570,000​1,000,000​1.26 General​

1​Article 1 Sec. 3.​
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18,327,000​18,074,000​2.1 Special Revenue​

103,000​103,000​
2.2 State Government​
2.3 Special Revenue​

127,000​119,000​2.4 Environmental​

2,429,000​2,429,000​2.5 Trunk Highway​

68,597,000​75,329,000​2.6 911 Fund​

2.7 The amounts that may be spent for each​

2.8 purpose are specified in the following​

2.9 subdivisions.​

2,500,000​2,500,000​1,000,000​
2.10 Subd. 2. Public Safety​
2.11 Administration​

2.12 (a) Public Safety Officer Survivor Benefits​

2.13 $1,000,000 in fiscal year 2023, $1,500,000 in​

2.14 fiscal year 2024, and $1,500,000 in fiscal year​

2.15 2025 are for payment of public safety officer​

2.16 survivor benefits under Minnesota Statutes,​

2.17 section 299A.44. If the appropriation for either​

2.18 year is insufficient, the appropriation for the​

2.19 other year is available.​

2.20 (b) Soft Body Armor Reimbursements​

2.21 $1,000,000 each year is for soft body armor​

2.22 reimbursements under Minnesota Statutes,​

2.23 section 299A.38.​

7,281,000​10,195,000​2.24 Subd. 3. Emergency Management​

2.25 Appropriations by Fund​

7,154,000​10,076,000​2.26 General​

127,000​119,000​2.27 Environmental​

2.28 (a) Supplemental Nonprofit Security Grants​

2.29 $250,000 each year is for supplemental​

2.30 nonprofit security grants under this paragraph.​

2.31 This appropriation is onetime.​

2.32 Nonprofit organizations whose applications​

2.33 for funding through the Federal Emergency​

2.34 Management Agency's nonprofit security grant​

2​Article 1 Sec. 3.​
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3.1 program have been approved by the Division​

3.2 of Homeland Security and Emergency​

3.3 Management are eligible for grants under this​

3.4 paragraph. No additional application shall be​

3.5 required for grants under this paragraph, and​

3.6 an application for a grant from the federal​

3.7 program is also an application for funding​

3.8 from the state supplemental program.​

3.9 Eligible organizations may receive grants of​

3.10 up to $75,000, except that the total received​

3.11 by any individual from both the federal​

3.12 nonprofit security grant program and the state​

3.13 supplemental nonprofit security grant program​

3.14 shall not exceed $75,000. Grants shall be​

3.15 awarded in an order consistent with the​

3.16 ranking given to applicants for the federal​

3.17 nonprofit security grant program. No grants​

3.18 under the state supplemental nonprofit security​

3.19 grant program shall be awarded until the​

3.20 announcement of the recipients and the​

3.21 amount of the grants awarded under the federal​

3.22 nonprofit security grant program.​

3.23 The commissioner may use up to one percent​

3.24 of the appropriation received under this​

3.25 paragraph to pay costs incurred by the​

3.26 department in administering the supplemental​

3.27 nonprofit security grant program.​

3.28 (b) School Safety Center​

3.29 $300,000 each year is to fund two new school​

3.30 safety specialists at the Minnesota School​

3.31 Safety Center.​

3.32 (c) Local Government Emergency​

3.33 Management​
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4.1 $2,000,000 each year is to award grants in​

4.2 equal amounts to the emergency management​

4.3 organization of the 87 counties, 11 federally​

4.4 recognized Tribes, and four cities of the first​

4.5 class for reimbursement of planning and​

4.6 preparedness activities, including capital​

4.7 purchases, that are eligible under federal​

4.8 emergency management grant guidelines.​

4.9 Local emergency management organizations​

4.10 must make a request to Homeland Security​

4.11 and Emergency Management Division​

4.12 (HSEM) for these grants. Current local​

4.13 funding for emergency management and​

4.14 preparedness activities may not be supplanted​

4.15 by these additional state funds. Of this amount,​

4.16 up to one percent may be used for the​

4.17 administrative costs of the agency. Funds​

4.18 appropriated for this purpose do not cancel​

4.19 and are available until expended. Unspent​

4.20 money may be redistributed to eligible local​

4.21 emergency management organizations. This​

4.22 appropriation is onetime.​

4.23 By March 15, 2024, the commissioner of​

4.24 public safety must submit a report on the grant​

4.25 awards to the chairs and ranking minority​

4.26 members of the legislative committees with​

4.27 jurisdiction over emergency management and​

4.28 preparedness activities. At a minimum, the​

4.29 report must identify grant recipients and give​

4.30 detailed information on how the grantees used​

4.31 the money received.​

4.32 (d) Statewide Public Safety Radio​

4.33 Communication System Equipment Grants​

4.34 $1,000,000 each year is for grants to local​

4.35 government units, federally recognized Tribal​

4​Article 1 Sec. 3.​
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5.1 entities, and state agencies participating in the​

5.2 statewide Allied Radio Matrix for Emergency​

5.3 Response (ARMER) public safety radio​

5.4 communication system established under​

5.5 Minnesota Statutes, section 403.36,​

5.6 subdivision 1e. The grants must be used to​

5.7 purchase or upgrade portable radios, mobile​

5.8 radios, and related equipment that is​

5.9 interoperable with the ARMER system. Each​

5.10 local government unit may receive only one​

5.11 grant. The grant is contingent upon a match​

5.12 of at least five percent from nonstate funds.​

5.13 The director of the Department of Public​

5.14 Safety Emergency Communication Networks​

5.15 division, in consultation with the Statewide​

5.16 Emergency Communications Board, must​

5.17 administer the grant program. This​

5.18 appropriation is available until June 30, 2026.​

5.19 This is a onetime appropriation.​

5.20 (e) Lake Superior Chippewa Tribal​

5.21 Emergency Management Coordinator​

5.22 $145,000 each year is for a grant to the Grand​

5.23 Portage Band of Lake Superior Chippewa to​

5.24 establish and maintain a Tribal emergency​

5.25 management coordinator under Minnesota​

5.26 Statutes, section 12.25.​

5.27 (f) Grand Portage Band of Lake Superior​

5.28 Chippewa Tribe Coast Guard Services​

5.29 $3,000,000 in fiscal year 2024 is for a grant​

5.30 to the Grand Portage Band of Lake Superior​

5.31 Chippewa to purchase equipment and fund a​

5.32 position for coast guard services off the north​

5.33 shore of Lake Superior. This is a onetime​

5.34 appropriation.​

5​Article 1 Sec. 3.​
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6.1 (g) Fusion Center Report​

6.2 $115,000 each year is to fund the fusion center​

6.3 report mandated under Minnesota Statutes,​

6.4 section 299C.055. The appropriation is added​

6.5 to the agency's base.​

96,564,000​99,522,000​6.6 Subd. 4. Criminal Apprehension​

6.7 Appropriations by Fund​

94,128,000​97,086,000​6.8 General​

7,000​7,000​
6.9 State Government​
6.10 Special Revenue​

2,429,000​2,429,000​6.11 Trunk Highway​

6.12 The base from the general fund is $94,152,000​

6.13 in fiscal year 2026 and $94,157,000 in fiscal​

6.14 year 2027.​

6.15 (a) DWI Lab Analysis; Trunk Highway​

6.16 Fund​

6.17 Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section​

6.18 161.20, subdivision 3, $2,429,000 the first​

6.19 year and $2,429,000 the second year are from​

6.20 the trunk highway fund for staff and operating​

6.21 costs for laboratory analysis related to​

6.22 driving-while-impaired cases.​

6.23 (b) State Fraud Unit​

6.24 $1,300,000 each year is for staff and operating​

6.25 costs to create the State Fraud Unit to​

6.26 centralize the state's response to activities of​

6.27 fraud with an estimated impact of $100,000​

6.28 or more.​

6.29 (c) FBI Compliance, Critical IT​

6.30 Infrastructure, and Cybersecurity​

6.31 Upgrades​

6.32 $3,000,000 the first year and $2,000,000 the​

6.33 second year are for cybersecurity investments,​

6​Article 1 Sec. 3.​
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7.1 critical infrastructure upgrades, and Federal​

7.2 Bureau of Investigation audit compliance.​

7.3 (d) Costs of Medical Examinations​

7.4 $3,967,000 in fiscal year 2024 and $3,767,000​

7.5 in fiscal year 2025 are to reimburse qualified​

7.6 health care providers for the expenses​

7.7 associated with medical examinations​

7.8 administered to victims of criminal sexual​

7.9 conduct as required under Minnesota Statutes,​

7.10 section 609.35. The base for this program is​

7.11 $3,771, 000 in fiscal year 2026 and $3,776,000​

7.12 in fiscal year 2027.​

7.13 (e) Clean Slate​

7.14 $3,737,000 in fiscal year 2024 and $190,000​

7.15 in fiscal year 2025 are for costs associated​

7.16 with automatic expungements and changes to​

7.17 expungements by petition.​

7.18 (f) Firearm Eligibility Background Checks​

7.19 $70,000 in fiscal year 2024 is to purchase and​

7.20 integrate information technology hardware​

7.21 and software necessary to process additional​

7.22 firearms eligibility background checks.​

7.23 (g) Firearm Storage Grants​

7.24 $ 250,000 in fiscal year 2024 is for grants to​

7.25 local or state law enforcement agencies to​

7.26 support the safe and secure storage of firearms​

7.27 owned by persons subject to extreme risk​

7.28 protection orders. The commissioner must​

7.29 apply for a grant from the Byrne State Crisis​

7.30 Intervention Formula Program to supplement​

7.31 the funds appropriated by the legislature for​

7.32 implementation of Minnesota Statutes,​

7.33 sections 626.7171 to 626.7178 and 626.8481.​

7​Article 1 Sec. 3.​
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8.1 Of the federal funds received, the​

8.2 commissioner must dedicate at least an amount​

8.3 that is equal to this appropriation to fund safe​

8.4 and secure firearms storage grants provided​

8.5 for under this paragraph. This is onetime​

8.6 appropriation.​

16,272,000​16,013,000​8.7 Subd. 5. Fire Marshal​

8.8 Appropriations by Fund​

4,190,000​4,184,000​8.9 General​

12,082,000​11,829,000​8.10 Special Revenue​

8.11 The special revenue fund appropriation is from​

8.12 the fire safety account in the special revenue​

8.13 fund and is for activities under Minnesota​

8.14 Statutes, section 299F.012. The base​

8.15 appropriation from this account is $12,182,000​

8.16 in fiscal year 2026 and $12,082,000 in fiscal​

8.17 year 2027.​

8.18 (a) Hazardous Materials and Emergency​

8.19 Response Teams​

8.20 $453,000 each year from the fire safety​

8.21 account in the special revenue fund for​

8.22 hazardous materials and emergency response​

8.23 teams.​

8.24 (b) Hometown Heroes Assistance Program​

8.25 $4,000,000 each year from the general fund​

8.26 is for grants to the Minnesota Firefighter​

8.27 Initiative to fund the hometown heroes​

8.28 assistance program established in Minnesota​

8.29 Statutes, section 299A.477.​

6,175,000​6,175,000​
8.30 Subd. 6. Firefighter Training and Education​
8.31 Board​

8.32 Appropriations by Fund​

6,175,000​6,175,000​8.33 Special Revenue​

8​Article 1 Sec. 3.​
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9.1 The special revenue fund appropriation is from​

9.2 the fire safety account in the special revenue​

9.3 fund and is for activities under Minnesota​

9.4 Statutes, section 299F.012.​

9.5 (a) Firefighter Training and Education​

9.6 $4,500,000 each year from the special revenue​

9.7 fund is for firefighter training and education.​

9.8 (b) Task Force 1​

9.9 $1,125,000 each year is for the Minnesota​

9.10 Task Force 1.​

9.11 (c) Task Force 2​

9.12 $200,000 each year is for Minnesota Task​

9.13 Force 2.​

9.14 (d) Air Rescue​

9.15 $350,000 each year is for the Minnesota Air​

9.16 Rescue Team.​

9.17 (e) Unappropriated Revenue​

9.18 Any additional unappropriated money​

9.19 collected in fiscal year 2023 is appropriated​

9.20 to the commissioner of public safety for the​

9.21 purposes of Minnesota Statutes, section​

9.22 299F.012. The commissioner may transfer​

9.23 appropriations and base amounts between​

9.24 activities in this subdivision.​

3,754,000​3,500,000​
9.25 Subd. 7. Alcohol and Gambling​
9.26 Enforcement​

9.27 Appropriations by Fund​

3,684,000​3,430,000​9.28 General​

70,000​70,000​9.29 Special Revenue​

9.30 $70,000 each year is from the lawful gambling​

9.31 regulation account in the special revenue fund.​

77,889,000​82,390,000​9.32 Subd. 8. Office of Justice Programs​

9​Article 1 Sec. 3.​
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10.1 Appropriations by Fund​

77,793,000​82,294,000​10.2 General​

96,000​96,000​
10.3 State Government​
10.4 Special Revenue​

10.5 (a) Domestic and Sexual Violence Housing​

10.6 $1,250,000 each year is to establish a​

10.7 Domestic Violence Housing First grant​

10.8 program to provide resources for survivors of​

10.9 violence to access safe and stable housing and​

10.10 for staff to provide mobile advocacy and​

10.11 expertise in housing resources in their​

10.12 community, and a Minnesota Domestic and​

10.13 Sexual Violence Transitional Housing​

10.14 program to develop and support medium to​

10.15 long term transitional housing for survivors​

10.16 of domestic and sexual violence with​

10.17 supportive services.​

10.18 (b) Office for Missing and Murdered​

10.19 African American Women​

10.20 $1,248,000 each year is to establish and​

10.21 maintain the Minnesota Office for Missing​

10.22 and Murdered African American Women.​

10.23 (c) Office of Restorative Practices​

10.24 $500,000 each year is to establish and​

10.25 maintain the Office of Restorative Practices.​

10.26 (d) Crossover and Dual-Status Youth Model​

10.27 Grants​

10.28 $1,000,000 each year is to provide grants to​

10.29 local units of government to initiate or expand​

10.30 crossover youth practices model and​

10.31 dual-status youth programs that provide​

10.32 services for youth who are involved with or​

10.33 at risk of becoming involved with both the​

10.34 child welfare and juvenile justice systems, in​
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11.1 accordance with the Robert F. Kennedy​

11.2 National Resource Center for Juvenile Justice​

11.3 model.​

11.4 (e) Restorative Practices Initiatives Grants​

11.5 $5,000,000 each year is for grants to establish​

11.6 and support restorative practices initiatives​

11.7 pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section​

11.8 260B.020, subdivision 6. The base for this​

11.9 activity is $2,500,000 beginning in fiscal year​

11.10 2026.​

11.11 (f) Ramsey County Youth Treatment​

11.12 Homes Acquisition and Betterment​

11.13 $5,000,000 in fiscal year 2024 is for a grant​

11.14 to Ramsey County to establish, with input​

11.15 from community stakeholders, including​

11.16 impacted youth and families, up to seven​

11.17 intensive trauma-informed therapeutic​

11.18 treatment homes in Ramsey County that are​

11.19 licensed by the Department of Human​

11.20 Services, culturally specific,​

11.21 community-based, and can be secured. These​

11.22 residential spaces must provide intensive​

11.23 treatment and intentional healing for youth as​

11.24 ordered by the court as part of the disposition​

11.25 of a case in juvenile court.​

11.26 (g) Ramsey County Violence Prevention​

11.27 $1,250,000 each year is for a grant to Ramsey​

11.28 County to operate intensive trauma-informed​

11.29 therapeutic treatment homes in Ramsey​

11.30 County that are licensed by the Department​

11.31 of Human Services, culturally specific,​

11.32 community-based, can be secured, and provide​

11.33 intensive treatment and intentional healing for​

11​Article 1 Sec. 3.​
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12.1 youth as ordered by the court as part of the​

12.2 disposition of a case in juvenile court.​

12.3 (h) Youth Intervention Programs​

12.4 $7,500,000 each year is for youth intervention​

12.5 programs under Minnesota Statutes, section​

12.6 299A.73.​

12.7 (i) Community-Co-Responder Grants​

12.8 $3,000,000 each year is for grants to local law​

12.9 enforcement agencies and local governments​

12.10 to build or maintain partnerships with mental​

12.11 health professionals, mental health​

12.12 practitioners, peer specialists, or mobile crisis​

12.13 teams in order to respond to people​

12.14 experiencing or having experienced a mental​

12.15 health crisis. The Office of Justice Programs​

12.16 must prioritize grants to law enforcement​

12.17 agencies and local governments that partner​

12.18 with mobile crisis teams providing mobile​

12.19 crisis services pursuant to Minnesota Statutes,​

12.20 sections 245.469 and 256B.0624. Grant​

12.21 proposals should define the types of calls to​

12.22 which mental health professionals, mental​

12.23 health practitioners, peer specialists, or mobile​

12.24 crisis teams will respond; the types of services​

12.25 that will be provided; the training that will be​

12.26 provided; and the types of records that will be​

12.27 kept. The proposal should also address the​

12.28 respective roles of the peace officers and​

12.29 mental health workers, including but not​

12.30 limited to their respective roles in relation to​

12.31 transport holds, and data that will be collected​

12.32 to demonstrate the impact of the partnership.​

12.33 The base for this activity is $4,500,000​

12.34 beginning in fiscal year 2026.​
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13.1 (j) Prosecutor Training​

13.2 $100,000 each year is for a grant to the​

13.3 Minnesota County Attorneys Association to​

13.4 be used for prosecutorial and law enforcement​

13.5 training, including trial school training and​

13.6 train-the-trainer courses. All training funded​

13.7 with grant proceeds must contain blocks of​

13.8 instruction on racial disparities in the criminal​

13.9 justice system, collateral consequences to​

13.10 criminal convictions, and trauma-informed​

13.11 responses to victims. This is a onetime​

13.12 appropriation.​

13.13 (k) Violence Prevention Research Center​

13.14 $250,000 each year is to fund a violence​

13.15 prevention project research center that operates​

13.16 as a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization and is a​

13.17 nonpartisan research center dedicated to​

13.18 reducing violence in society and using data​

13.19 and analysis to improve criminal​

13.20 justice-related policy and practice in​

13.21 Minnesota. The research center must place an​

13.22 emphasis on issues related to deaths and​

13.23 injuries involving firearms.​

13.24 (l) First Responder Mental Health​

13.25 Curriculum​

13.26 $25,000 in fiscal year 2024 is for a grant to a​

13.27 nonprofit graduate school that trains mental​

13.28 health professionals. The grantee must use the​

13.29 grant to develop a curriculum for a 24-week​

13.30 certificate to train licensed therapists to​

13.31 understand the nuances, culture, and stressors​

13.32 of the work environments of first responders​

13.33 to allow those therapists to provide effective​

13.34 treatment to first responders in distress. The​
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14.1 grantee must collaborate with first responders​

14.2 who are familiar with the psychological,​

14.3 cultural, and professional issues of their field​

14.4 to develop the curriculum and promote it upon​

14.5 completion.​

14.6 (m) First Responder Therapy Grant​

14.7 $100,000 in fiscal year 2024 is to issue a grant​

14.8 to an organization that provides equine​

14.9 experiential mental health therapy to first​

14.10 responders suffering from job-related trauma​

14.11 and post-traumatic stress disorder. This is a​

14.12 onetime appropriation.​

14.13 For purposes of this section, a "first responder"​

14.14 is a peace officer as defined in Minnesota​

14.15 Statutes, section 626.84, subdivision 1,​

14.16 paragraph (c); a full-time firefighter as defined​

14.17 in Minnesota Statutes, section 299N.03,​

14.18 subdivision 5; or a volunteer firefighter as​

14.19 defined in Minnesota Statutes, section​

14.20 299N.03, subdivision 7.​

14.21 The grant recipient must report to the​

14.22 commissioner of public safety and the chairs​

14.23 and ranking minority members of the house​

14.24 of representatives and senate committees​

14.25 overseeing public safety policy and finance​

14.26 on the equine experiential mental health​

14.27 therapy provided to first responders under this​

14.28 section. The report must include an overview​

14.29 of the program's budget, a detailed explanation​

14.30 of program expenditures, the number of first​

14.31 responders served by the program, and a list​

14.32 and explanation of the services provided to​

14.33 and benefits received by program participants.​

14.34 An initial report is due by January 15, 2024,​

14.35 and a final report is due by January 15, 2025.​
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15.1 (n) Peer-to-Peer First Responder Mental​

15.2 Health Treatment Grant​

15.3 $250,000 in fiscal year 2024 is to provide a​

15.4 grant to a nonprofit that provides and​

15.5 facilitates peer-to-peer mental health treatment​

15.6 for present and former law enforcement​

15.7 officers and first responders facing​

15.8 employment-related mental health issues,​

15.9 utilizing interactive group activity and other​

15.10 methods. This is a onetime appropriation.​

15.11 (o) Report on Approaches to Address Illicit​

15.12 Drug Use in Minnesota​

15.13 $118,000 each year is to enter into an​

15.14 agreement with Rise Research LLC for a study​

15.15 on illicit drug use in Minnesota that includes​

15.16 reports describing current responses to that​

15.17 use, reviewing alternative approaches utilized​

15.18 in other jurisdictions, and making policy and​

15.19 funding recommendations for a holistic and​

15.20 effective response to illicit drug use and the​

15.21 illicit drug trade. The agreement must establish​

15.22 a budget and schedule with clear deliverables.​

15.23 This appropriation is onetime.​

15.24 (p) Legal Representation for Children​

15.25 $150,000 each year is for a grant to an​

15.26 organization that provides legal representation​

15.27 for children in need of protection or services​

15.28 and children in out-of-home placement. The​

15.29 grant is contingent upon a match in an equal​

15.30 amount from nonstate funds. The match may​

15.31 be in kind, including the value of volunteer​

15.32 attorney time, in cash, or a combination of the​

15.33 two. These appropriations are in addition to​

15.34 any other appropriations for the legal​
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16.1 representation of children. This appropriation​

16.2 is onetime.​

16.3 (q) Mental Health Services for First​

16.4 Responders Grant Program​

16.5 $1,000,000 each year is to administer the​

16.6 mental health services for first responders​

16.7 grant program under section 21.​

16.8 (r) Pretrial Release Study and Report​

16.9 $250,000 each year are for a grant to the​

16.10 Minnesota Justice Research Center to study​

16.11 and report on pretrial release practices in​

16.12 Minnesota and other jurisdictions, including​

16.13 but not limited to the use of bail as a condition​

16.14 of pretrial release. This appropriation is​

16.15 onetime.​

16.16 (s) Increased Staffing​

16.17 $667,000 in fiscal year 2024 and $1,334,000​

16.18 in fiscal year 2025 are to increase staffing in​

16.19 the Office of Justice Programs for grant​

16.20 monitoring and compliance; provide training​

16.21 and technical assistance to grantees and​

16.22 potential grantees; conduct community​

16.23 outreach and engagement to improve the​

16.24 experiences and outcomes of applicants, grant​

16.25 recipients, and crime victims throughout​

16.26 Minnesota; expand the Minnesota Statistical​

16.27 Analysis Center; and increase staffing for the​

16.28 crime victim reimbursement program.​

16.29 (t) Administration Costs​

16.30 Up to 2.5 percent of the grant funds​

16.31 appropriated in this subdivision may be used​

16.32 by the commissioner to administer the grant​

16.33 program.​
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68,597,000​75,329,000​17.1 Subd. 9. Emergency Communication Networks​

17.2 This appropriation is from the state​

17.3 government special revenue fund for 911​

17.4 emergency telecommunications services.​

17.5 (a) Public Safety Answering Points​

17.6 $28,011,000 the first year and $28,011,000​

17.7 the second year shall be distributed as​

17.8 provided under Minnesota Statutes, section​

17.9 403.113, subdivision 2.​

17.10 (b) Transition to Next Generation 911​

17.11 $7,000,000 in the first year is to support Public​

17.12 Safety Answering Points' transition to Next​

17.13 Generation 911. Funds may be used for​

17.14 planning, cybersecurity, GIS data collection​

17.15 and maintenance, 911 call processing​

17.16 equipment, and new Public Safety Answering​

17.17 Point technology to improve service delivery.​

17.18 Funds shall be distributed by October 1, 2023,​

17.19 as provided in Minnesota Statutes, section​

17.20 403.113, subdivision 2. Funds are available​

17.21 until June 30, 2025, and any unspent funds​

17.22 must be returned to the 911 emergency​

17.23 telecommunications service account. This is​

17.24 a onetime appropriation.​

17.25 Each eligible entity receiving these funds must​

17.26 provide a detailed report on how the funds​

17.27 were used to the commissioner of public safety​

17.28 by August 1, 2025.​

17.29 (c) ARMER State Backbone Operating​

17.30 Costs​

17.31 $10,116,000 the first year and $10,384,000​

17.32 the second year are transferred to the​

17.33 commissioner of transportation for costs of​
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18.1 maintaining and operating the statewide radio​

18.2 system backbone.​

18.3 (d) Statewide Emergency Communications​

18.4 Board​

18.5 $1,000,000 each year is to the Statewide​

18.6 Emergency Communications Board. Funds​

18.7 may be used for operating costs, to provide​

18.8 competitive grants to local units of​

18.9 government to fund enhancements to a​

18.10 communication system, technology, or support​

18.11 activity that directly provides the ability to​

18.12 deliver the 911 call between the entry point to​

18.13 the 911 system and the first responder, and to​

18.14 further the strategic goals set forth by the​

18.15 SECB Statewide Communication​

18.16 Interoperability Plan.​

18.17 Sec. 4. PEACE OFFICER STANDARDS AND​
18.18 TRAINING (POST) BOARD​

12,892,000​$​13,286,000​$​18.19 Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation​

18.20 The general fund base is $6,892,000 beginning​

18.21 in fiscal year 2026. The amounts that may be​

18.22 spent for each purpose are specified in the​

18.23 following subdivisions.​

18.24 Subd. 2. Peace Officer Training Reimbursements​

18.25 $2,949,000 each year is for reimbursements​

18.26 to local governments for peace officer training​

18.27 costs.​

688,000​$​758,000​$​18.28 Sec. 5. PRIVATE DETECTIVE BOARD​

18.29 Sec. 6. CORRECTIONS​

805,996,000​$​769,178,000​$​12,643,000​$​
18.30 Subdivision 1. Total​
18.31 Appropriation​
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19.1 The amounts that may be spent for each​

19.2 purpose are specified in the following​

19.3 subdivisions.​

557,640,000​$​525,389,000​$​12,643,000​$​
19.4 Subd. 2. Incarceration and​
19.5 Prerelease Services​

19.6 (a) Body-worn Camera Program​

19.7 $1,000,000 each year is to create a body-worn​

19.8 camera program for corrections officers and​

19.9 intensive supervised release agents.​

19.10 (b) Prison Rape Elimination Act​

19.11 $1,000,000 each year is for Prison Rape​

19.12 Elimination Act (PREA) compliance.​

19.13 (c) ARMER Radio System​

19.14 $1,500,000 each year is to upgrade and​

19.15 maintain the ARMER radio system within​

19.16 correctional facilities.​

19.17 (d) Special Investigations Office​

19.18 $999,000 in fiscal year 2024 and $1,865,000​

19.19 in fiscal year 2025 are to establish and​

19.20 maintain a special investigations office within​

19.21 the fugitive apprehension unit. The base for​

19.22 this purpose in fiscal year 2026 is $1,461,000.​

19.23 Beginning in fiscal year 2027, the base for this​

19.24 purpose is $1,462,000.​

19.25 (e) Health Services​

19.26 $1,072,000 in fiscal year 2024 and $2,542,000​

19.27 in fiscal year 2025 are for the health services​

19.28 division to provide 24-hour nursing capacity​

19.29 at correctional facilities in Rush City, Moose​

19.30 Lake, St. Cloud, Lino Lakes, and Stillwater.​

19.31 (f) Educational Programming and Support​

19.32 Services​
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20.1 $2,320,000 in fiscal year 2024 and $3,145,000​

20.2 in fiscal year 2025 are for educational​

20.3 programming and support services. Beginning​

20.4 in fiscal year 2026, the base for this purpose​

20.5 is $2,901,000.​

20.6 (g) Inmate External Communication Fees​

20.7 $2,000,000 each year is to reduce or eliminate​

20.8 the fees for inmates to communicate with​

20.9 non-incarcerated persons.​

20.10 (h) Supportive Arts for Incarcerated​

20.11 Persons​

20.12 $150,000 in fiscal year 2024 is for supportive​

20.13 arts for incarcerated persons grants. Of this​

20.14 amount, up to ten percent is for administration,​

20.15 including facility space, access, liaison, and​

20.16 monitoring. Any unencumbered balance​

20.17 remaining at the end of the first year does not​

20.18 cancel but is available for the second year.​

20.19 (i) Operating Deficiency​

20.20 $12,643,000 in fiscal year 2023 is to meet​

20.21 financial obligations in fiscal year 2023. This​

20.22 is a onetime appropriation.​

20.23 (j) Incarceration and Prerelease Services​

20.24 Base Budget​

20.25 The general fund base for Department of​

20.26 Corrections incarceration and prerelease​

20.27 services is $552,247,000 in fiscal year 2026​

20.28 and $552,553,000 in fiscal year 2027.​

197,455,000​196,375,000​

20.29 Subd. 3. Community​
20.30 Supervision and Postrelease​
20.31 Services​

20.32 (a) Community Corrections Act​
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21.1 $32,054,000 in fiscal year 2024 and​

21.2 $32,050,000 in fiscal year 2025 are added to​

21.3 the Community Corrections Act subsidy under​

21.4 Minnesota Statutes, section 401.14.​

21.5 (b) County Probation Officer​

21.6 Reimbursement​

21.7 $5,790,000 each year is for county probation​

21.8 officer reimbursement under Minnesota​

21.9 Statutes, section 244.19, subdivision 6.​

21.10 (c) Tribal Nation Supervision​

21.11 $2,750,000 each year is for grants to Tribal​

21.12 Nations to provide supervision in tandem with​

21.13 the department.​

21.14 (d) Treatment and Support Grants​

21.15 $5,000,000 each year is to provide grants to​

21.16 counties and local providers to implement​

21.17 treatment programs, support programs, and​

21.18 innovative supervision practices to reduce the​

21.19 risk of recidivism.​

21.20 (e) Alternatives to Incarceration​

21.21 $160,000 each year is for funding to Mower​

21.22 County to facilitate access to community​

21.23 treatment options under the alternatives to​

21.24 incarceration program.​

21.25 (f) Peer Support Project​

21.26 $266,000 each year is to create a reentry peer​

21.27 support project.​

21.28 (g) Postrelease Sex Offender Program​

21.29 $2,415,000 each year is for postrelease sex​

21.30 offender treatment.​

21.31 (h) Regional and County Jails Study and​

21.32 Report​
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22.1 $150,000 in fiscal year 2024 is to fund the​

22.2 commissioner's study and report on the​

22.3 consolidation or merger of county jails and​

22.4 alternatives to incarceration for persons​

22.5 experiencing mental health disorders.​

22.6 (i) Work Release Programs​

22.7 $500,000 each year is for work release​

22.8 programs.​

22.9 (j) County Discharge Plans​

22.10 $1,080,000 each year is for counties to​

22.11 establish or maintain jail reentry coordination​

22.12 programs. The commissioner shall develop a​

22.13 request for proposal for counties to establish​

22.14 or maintain reentry programs. The​

22.15 commissioner must disburse 50 percent of the​

22.16 funding to counties outside the metropolitan​

22.17 area, as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section​

22.18 473.121, subdivision 2. The commissioner​

22.19 may retain up to five percent of the​

22.20 appropriation amount to monitor and​

22.21 administer the grant under this section.​

22.22 (k) Housing Initiatives​

22.23 $2,130,000 each year is for housing initiatives​

22.24 to support stable housing of incarcerated​

22.25 individuals upon release. The base for this​

22.26 purpose in fiscal year 2026 and beyond is​

22.27 $1,685,000. Of this amount:​

22.28 (1) $1,000,000 each year is for housing​

22.29 stabilization prerelease services and program​

22.30 evaluation. The base for this purpose in fiscal​

22.31 year 2026 and beyond is $760,000;​

22.32 (2) $500,000 each year is for rental assistance​

22.33 for incarcerated individuals approaching​
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23.1 release, on supervised release, or on probation​

23.2 who are at risk of homelessness;​

23.3 (3) $405,000 each year is for culturally​

23.4 responsive trauma-informed transitional​

23.5 housing. The base for this purpose in fiscal​

23.6 year 2026 and beyond is $200,000; and​

23.7 (4) $225,000 each year is for housing​

23.8 coordination activities.​

23.9 (l) Community Supervision and Postrelease​

23.10 Services Base Budget​

23.11 The general fund base for Department of​

23.12 Corrections community supervision and​

23.13 postrelease services is $196,342,000 in fiscal​

23.14 year 2026 and $196,242,000 in fiscal year​

23.15 2027.​

50,901,000​47,414,000​
23.16 Subd. 4. Organizational, Regulatory, and​
23.17 Administrative Services​

23.18 (a) Public Safety Data Infrastructure​

23.19 $1,000,000 each year s for the development​

23.20 and management of statewide public safety​

23.21 information sharing infrastructure and​

23.22 foundation technologies. The department shall​

23.23 consult with county correctional supervision​

23.24 providers, the Judicial Branch, the Minnesota​

23.25 Sheriff's Association, the Minnesota Chiefs​

23.26 of Police Association, and the Bureau of​

23.27 Criminal Apprehension, among other public​

23.28 safety stakeholders, in the development,​

23.29 design, and implementation of a statewide​

23.30 public safety information sharing​

23.31 infrastructure.​

23.32 (b) Indeterminate Sentence Release Board​

23​Article 1 Sec. 6.​

HOUSE RESEARCH JD/RK H2890DE1​03/26/23 03:25 pm ​



24.1 $40,000 each year is to establish an​

24.2 indeterminate sentence release board to review​

24.3 eligible cases and make release decisions for​

24.4 persons serving indeterminate sentences under​

24.5 the authority of the commissioner of​

24.6 corrections.​

24.7 (c) Clemency Review Commission​

24.8 $986,000 each year is for the Clemency​

24.9 Review Commission established under​

24.10 Minnesota Statutes, section 638.09.​

24.11 (d) Organizational, Regulatory, and​

24.12 Administrative Services Base Budget​

24.13 The general fund base for Department of​

24.14 Corrections organizational, regulatory, and​

24.15 administrative services is $50,831,000 in fiscal​

24.16 year 2026 and $50,622,000 in fiscal year 2027.​

1,099,000​$​1,105,000​$​
24.17 Sec. 7. OMBUDSPERSON FOR​
24.18 CORRECTIONS​

-0-​$​750,000​$​24.19 Sec. 8. BOARD OF PUBLIC DEFENSE​

24.20 $750,000 in fiscal year 2024 is for costs​

24.21 related to assisting offenders convicted of​

24.22 felony murder with petitions for resentencing.​

500,000​$​500,000​$​

24.23 Sec. 9. BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE​
24.24 MINNESOTA STATE COLLEGES AND​
24.25 UNIVERSITIES​

24.26 $500,000 each year is for transfer to​

24.27 Metropolitan State University. Of this amount,​

24.28 $280,000 each year is to provide juvenile​

24.29 justice services and resources, including the​

24.30 Juvenile Detention Alternatives Initiative, to​

24.31 Minnesota counties and federally recognized​

24.32 Tribes and $220,000 each year is for funding​

24.33 to local units of government, federally​

24.34 recognized Tribes, and agencies to support​
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25.1 local Juvenile Detention Alternatives​

25.2 Initiatives, including but not limited to​

25.3 Alternatives to Detention. The unencumbered​

25.4 balance in the first year of the biennium does​

25.5 not cancel but is available throughout the​

25.6 biennium.​

-0-​$​2,500,000​$​25.7 Sec. 10. OFFICE OF HIGHER EDUCATION​

25.8 $2,500,000 in fiscal year 2024 is to provide​

25.9 reimbursement grants to postsecondary​

25.10 schools certified to provide programs of​

25.11 professional peace officer education for​

25.12 providing in-service training programs on the​

25.13 use of force, including deadly force, by peace​

25.14 officers. Of this amount, up to 2.5 percent is​

25.15 for administration and monitoring of the​

25.16 program.​

182,000​$​91,000​$​25.17 Sec. 11. SUPREME COURT​

25.18 $91,000 in fiscal year 2024 and $182,000 in​

25.19 fiscal year 2025 are for hearing costs related​

25.20 to extreme risk protection orders.​

25.21 Sec. 12. VIOLENT CRIME REDUCTION AND CLEARANCE SUPPORT​

25.22 ACCOUNT.​

25.23 $75,000,000 in fiscal year 2024 is transferred from the general fund to the violent crime​

25.24 reduction and clearance support account in the special revenue fund.​

25.25 Sec. 13. COMMUNITY CRIME AND VIOLENCE PREVENTION ACCOUNT.​

25.26 $100,000,000 in fiscal year 2024 is transferred from the general fund to the community​

25.27 crime and violence prevention account in the special revenue fund.​
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26.1 Sec. 14. INTENSIVE COMPREHENSIVE PEACE OFFICER EDUCATION AND​

26.2 TRAINING ACCOUNT.​

26.3 $5,000,000 each year is transferred from the general fund to the intensive comprehensive​

26.4 peace officer education and training account in the special revenue fund. This transfer is​

26.5 onetime.​

26.6 Sec. 15. GAAGIGE-MIKWENDAAGOZIWAG REWARD ACCOUNT.​

26.7 $250,000 in fiscal year 2024 is transferred from the general fund to the account for​

26.8 rewards for information on missing and murdered Indigenous women, girls, and Two-Spirit​

26.9 relatives in the special revenue fund.​

26.10 Sec. 16. VIOLENT CRIME REDUCTION AND CLEARANCE SUPPORT; SPECIAL​

26.11 REVENUE ACCOUNT; APPROPRIATION.​

26.12 (a) The violent crime reduction and clearance support account is created in the special​

26.13 revenue fund consisting of money deposited, donated, allotted, transferred, or otherwise​

26.14 provided to the account. Of the amount in the account, $15,000,000 each year is appropriated​

26.15 to the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension to support violent crime reduction strategies. This​

26.16 includes funding for staff and supplies to enhance forensic, analytical, and investigations​

26.17 capacity, and financially support investigative partnerships with other law enforcement​

26.18 agencies to conduct forensic and investigatory work to expedite clearance rates.​

26.19 (b) Funds allocated shall be used where there is the most acute need for supplemental​

26.20 resources based on the rate of violent crime and the need to improve clearance rates for​

26.21 violent crime investigations. The superintendent of the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension​

26.22 shall prioritize allocating resources to political subdivisions that have recorded at least three​

26.23 violent crimes in the previous fiscal year and that rank in the 20 highest per capita crime​

26.24 rates among Minnesota political subdivisions in the previous fiscal year based on the Uniform​

26.25 Crime Reports or National Incident Based Reporting System. As a condition of receiving​

26.26 investigatory assistance from the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension from this account, the​

26.27 local unit of government must enter a joint powers agreement with the commissioner of​

26.28 Public Safety and the superintendent of the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension.​

26.29 (c) By December 15 of each calendar year, the commissioner shall report to the chairs​

26.30 and ranking minority members of the legislative committees and divisions with jurisdiction​

26.31 over public safety finance and policy on how funds in the violent crime reduction and​

26.32 clearance support account were used. Each report must, at a minimum, summarize the​

26.33 expenditures made, indicate the purpose of those expenditures, and provide an overview of​
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27.1 the criminal cases where funds from the account were used, including a summary of the​

27.2 cases that identifies each case's disposition or outcome.​

27.3 Sec. 17. COMMUNITY CRIME AND VIOLENCE PREVENTION GRANTS;​

27.4 SPECIAL REVENUE ACCOUNT; APPROPRIATION.​

27.5 (a) The community crime and violence prevention account is created in the special​

27.6 revenue fund consisting of money deposited, donated, allotted, transferred, or otherwise​

27.7 provided to the account. Of the amount in the account, up to $30,000,000 each year is​

27.8 appropriated to the commissioner of public safety for grants administered by the Office of​

27.9 Justice Programs to be awarded to community violence prevention and intervention programs.​

27.10 (b) Grants may be awarded to community-based nonprofit organizations, local​

27.11 governments, or the governing bodies of federally recognized Indian Tribes. Applicants​

27.12 that are nonprofit organizations must demonstrate the support of the local government or​

27.13 Indian Tribe where the nonprofit will be offering services. Support may be demonstrated​

27.14 by partnerships with the local government or Indian Tribe, or letters or other affirmations​

27.15 of support.​

27.16 (c) Grant recipients must operate crime or violence prevention programs with an​

27.17 established record of providing direct services to community members. Programs must be​

27.18 culturally competent and identify specific outcomes that can be tracked and measured to​

27.19 demonstrate the impact the program has on community crime and violence. Crime or violence​

27.20 prevention programs may include but are not limited to:​

27.21 (1) programs that provide services to victims of crime or violence;​

27.22 (2) programs that provide services to individuals and families harmed by gun violence;​

27.23 (3) programs that provide support services for victims of crimes where there is a​

27.24 reasonable belief that the crimes were committed in whole or in substantial part because of​

27.25 the victim's or another's actual or perceived race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, gender,​

27.26 sexual orientation, gender identity, gender expression, age, national origin, or disability as​

27.27 defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 363A.03, or because of the victim's actual or perceived​

27.28 association with another person or group of a certain actual or perceived race, color, ethnicity,​

27.29 religion, sex, gender, sexual orientation, gender identity, gender expression, age, national​

27.30 origin, or disability as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 363A.03;​

27.31 (4) homelessness assistance programs;​

27.32 (5) programs that intervene in volatile situations to mediate disputes before they become​

27.33 violent;​
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28.1 (6) juvenile diversion programs; and​

28.2 (7) programs that support a community response to violence that addresses trauma in​

28.3 the community and promotes community leadership development and coalition building.​

28.4 (d) As part of the narrative and statistical progress reports provided to the Office of​

28.5 Justice Programs, grant recipients must report on the specific outcomes identified pursuant​

28.6 to paragraph (c).​

28.7 (e) The Office of Justice Programs may use up to 2.5 percent of the annual appropriation​

28.8 to administer the grants.​

28.9 Sec. 18. Laws 2021, First Special Session chapter 11, article 1, section 15, subdivision 3,​

28.10 is amended to read:​

28.11 Subd. 3. Peace Officer Training Assistance​

28.12 Philando Castile Memorial Training Fund​

28.13 $6,000,000 each year is to support and​

28.14 strengthen law enforcement training and​

28.15 implement best practices. This funding shall​

28.16 be named the "Philando Castile Memorial​

28.17 Training Fund." These funds may only be used​

28.18 to reimburse costs related to training courses​

28.19 that qualify for reimbursement under​

28.20 Minnesota Statutes, sections 626.8469​

28.21 (training in crisis response, conflict​

28.22 management, and cultural diversity), 626.8452​

28.23 (use of force), and 626.8474 (autism training).​

28.24 Each sponsor of a training course is required​

28.25 to include the following in the sponsor's​

28.26 application for approval submitted to the​

28.27 board: course goals and objectives; a course​

28.28 outline including at a minimum a timeline and​

28.29 teaching hours for all courses; instructor​

28.30 qualifications, including skills and concepts​

28.31 such as crisis intervention, de-escalation, and​

28.32 cultural competency that are relevant to the​

28.33 course provided; and a plan for learning​
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29.1 assessments of the course and documenting​

29.2 the assessments to the board during review.​

29.3 Upon completion of each course, instructors​

29.4 must submit student evaluations of the​

29.5 instructor's teaching to the sponsor.​

29.6 The board shall keep records of the​

29.7 applications of all approved and denied​

29.8 courses. All continuing education courses shall​

29.9 be reviewed after the first year. The board​

29.10 must set a timetable for recurring review after​

29.11 the first year. For each review, the sponsor​

29.12 must submit its learning assessments to the​

29.13 board to show that the course is teaching the​

29.14 learning outcomes that were approved by the​

29.15 board.​

29.16 A list of licensees who successfully complete​

29.17 the course shall be maintained by the sponsor​

29.18 and transmitted to the board following the​

29.19 presentation of the course and the completed​

29.20 student evaluations of the instructors.​

29.21 Evaluations are available to chief law​

29.22 enforcement officers. The board shall establish​

29.23 a data retention schedule for the information​

29.24 collected in this section.​

29.25 Each year, if funds are available after​

29.26 reimbursing all eligible requests for courses​

29.27 approved by the board under this subdivision,​

29.28 the board may use the funds to reimburse law​

29.29 enforcement agencies for other​

29.30 board-approved law enforcement training​

29.31 courses. The base for this activity is $0 in​

29.32 fiscal year 2026 and thereafter.​
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30.1 Sec. 19. PRETRIAL RELEASE STUDY AND REPORT.​

30.2 (a) Pursuant to the terms of a grant, the Minnesota Justice Research Center shall study​

30.3 and report on pretrial release practices in Minnesota and other jurisdictions.​

30.4 (b) The Minnesota Justice Research Center shall examine pretrial release practices in​

30.5 Minnesota and community perspectives about those practices; conduct a robust study of​

30.6 pretrial release practices in other jurisdictions to identify effective approaches to pretrial​

30.7 release that use identified best practices; provide analysis and recommendations describing​

30.8 if, and how, practices in other jurisdictions could be adopted and implemented in Minnesota,​

30.9 including but not limited to analysis addressing how changes would impact public safety,​

30.10 appearance rates, treatment of defendants with different financial means, disparities in​

30.11 pretrial detention, and community perspectives about pretrial release; and make​

30.12 recommendations for policy changes for consideration by the legislature.​

30.13 (c) By February 15, 2024, the Minnesota Justice Research Center must provide a​

30.14 preliminary report to the legislative committees and divisions with jurisdiction over public​

30.15 safety finance and policy including a summary of the preliminary findings, any legislative​

30.16 proposals to improve the ability of the Minnesota Justice Research Center to complete its​

30.17 work, and any proposals for legislation related to pretrial release. The Minnesota Justice​

30.18 Research Center shall submit a final report to the legislative committees and divisions with​

30.19 jurisdiction over public safety finance and policy by February 15, 2025. The final report​

30.20 shall include a description of the Minnesota Justice Research Center's work, findings, and​

30.21 any legislative proposals.​

30.22 Sec. 20. REPORT ON APPROACHES TO ADDRESS ILLICIT DRUG USE IN​

30.23 MINNESOTA.​

30.24 (a) Pursuant to an agreement with the commissioner of public safety, Rise Research​

30.25 LLC shall conduct a study on illicit drug use in Minnesota.​

30.26 (b) Research and analysis must include an examination of problematic drug use and the​

30.27 drug trade in Minnesota; exploration of the policies, practices, and funding currently used​

30.28 to address illicit drug use and the drug trade in Minnesota; and a review of policies, practices,​

30.29 and funding related to illicit drugs employed in other states and countries. Reports must​

30.30 identify successful approaches to addressing illicit drug use and the drug trade that are​

30.31 rooted in public health, community safety, data-based evidence, and human rights. Reports​

30.32 must offer specific recommendations to update Minnesota's policies, practices, and funding​

30.33 to develop an approach to drug policy that reduces and, where possible, prevents harm and​

30.34 expands individual and community health and safety. Recommendations must consider​
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31.1 impacts on public safety, appropriate levels of funding for the prevention and treatment of​

31.2 substance use disorders, the interaction between illicit drug use and mental health, and​

31.3 appropriate guidelines for implementing policies that are informed by evidence. Reports​

31.4 must also analyze the ways in which policies addressing illicit drug use become embedded​

31.5 in other policy areas, including the ways in which policies interact and the reasons for that​

31.6 interaction. Reports may include other information that is consistent with this paragraph​

31.7 and must include specific policy recommendations.​

31.8 (c) Rise Research may subcontract and coordinate with other organizations or individuals​

31.9 to conduct research, provide analysis, and prepare the reports required by this section.​

31.10 (d) Rise Research shall submit reports to the chairs and ranking minority members of​

31.11 the house of representatives and senate committees and divisions with jurisdiction over​

31.12 public safety finance and policy, human services finance and policy, health finance and​

31.13 policy, and judiciary finance and policy. By February 15, 2024, Rise Research shall submit​

31.14 an initial report that describes any relevant findings and provides specific policy​

31.15 recommendations to address the use of illicit drugs and the drug trade in Minnesota. The​

31.16 scope of such recommendations may include the criminalization of controlled substances,​

31.17 enforcement of those laws, accessibility of mental health and substance abuse treatment,​

31.18 provision of medical care, need for other supportive services, and coordination of services.​

31.19 By February 15, 2025, Rise Research shall submit a final report updating its findings, making​

31.20 additional policy recommendations, and identifying guiding principles for a policy framework​

31.21 to establish a holistic and effective approach to illicit drug use and the drug trade in​

31.22 Minnesota.​

31.23 Sec. 21. MENTAL HEALTH SERVICES FOR FIRST RESPONDERS GRANT​

31.24 PROGRAM.​

31.25 Subdivision 1. Establishment. The commissioner of public safety through the Office​

31.26 of Justice Programs shall establish and administer a grant program to fund mental health​

31.27 services to first responders employed by local units of government.​

31.28 Subd. 2. Eligibility. Each local unit of government that employs peace officers or​

31.29 firefighters may apply for a grant.​

31.30 Subd. 3. Qualifying programs. To qualify for a grant, an applicant must present a viable​

31.31 plan to the commissioner to offer a program that ensures at least one hour of mental health​

31.32 services every six months for any peace officers and firefighters employed by the applicant.​
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32.1 Subd. 4. Selection; grant cap. The commissioner may award grants up to $........ Grant​

32.2 amounts must be based on the total number of peace officers and firefighters employed by​

32.3 the applicant.​

32.4 Subd. 5. Reports. (a) Each grant recipient must submit a report to the commissioner by​

32.5 June 30 of each year that identifies the services provided, total number of employees served,​

32.6 total number of hours of services provided, and expenditures of grant money. The report​

32.7 must also include an evaluation of the program's impact.​

32.8 (b) By September 1 of each year, the commissioner shall report aggregate data received​

32.9 from grant recipients under paragraph (a) to the chairs and ranking minority members of​

32.10 the senate and house of representatives committees with jurisdiction over public safety​

32.11 policy and finance.​

32.12 Subd. 6. Definitions. For the purposes of this section, the following terms have the​

32.13 meanings given:​

32.14 (1) "firefighter" means a firefighter employed full-time by a fire department and licensed​

32.15 by the Board of Firefighter Training and Education;​

32.16 (2) "local unit of government" means a statutory or home rule charter city that employs​

32.17 its own law enforcement agency, or a county; and​

32.18 (3) "peace officer" means a full-time peace officer employed by a local unit of​

32.19 government's law enforcement agency and licensed by the Minnesota Board of Peace Officer​

32.20 Standards and Training.​

32.21 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2023, and applies services​

32.22 administered on or after that date.​

32.23 Sec. 22. LAW ENFORCEMENT MENTAL HEALTH AND WELLNESS TRAINING​

32.24 GRANT.​

32.25 (a) The commissioner of public safety must award a grant to the Adler Graduate School​

32.26 to develop and implement a law enforcement mental health and wellness training program​

32.27 to train licensed counselors to understand the nuances, culture, and stressors of the law​

32.28 enforcement profession so that the trainees can provide effective and successful treatment​

32.29 to peace officers in distress. The grantee must request and incorporate the advice and counsel​

32.30 of law enforcement officers and mental health professionals who are familiar with the​

32.31 psychological, cultural, and professional issues of law enforcement to develop and implement​

32.32 the program.​
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33.1 (b) The grantee may offer the program online.​

33.2 (c) The grantee must seek to recruit licensed counselors providing services outside of​

33.3 the 11-county metropolitan area as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 115A.1314,​

33.4 subdivision 2, paragraph (b).​

33.5 (d) The grantee must create a resource directory to provide law enforcement agencies​

33.6 with the names of counselors who have completed the program and other resources to​

33.7 support law enforcement professionals with overall wellness. The grantee must collaborate​

33.8 with the commissioner of public safety and law enforcement organizations to promote the​

33.9 directory.​

33.10 Sec. 23. USE OF FORCE TRAINING; REIMBURSEMENT.​

33.11 (a) The commissioner of the Office of Higher Education shall issue reimbursement​

33.12 grants to postsecondary schools certified to provide programs of professional peace officer​

33.13 education for providing in-service training programs on the use of force, including deadly​

33.14 force, by peace officers.​

33.15 (b) To be eligible for reimbursement, training offered by a postsecondary school must:​

33.16 (1) satisfy the requirements of Minnesota Statutes, section 626.8452, and be approved​

33.17 by the Board of Peace Officer Standards and Training;​

33.18 (2) utilize scenario-based training that simulates real-world situations and involves the​

33.19 use of real firearms that fire nonlethal ammunition;​

33.20 (3) include a block of instruction on the physical and psychological effects of stress​

33.21 before, during, and after a high-risk or traumatic incident and the cumulative impact of​

33.22 stress on the health of officers;​

33.23 (4) include blocks of instruction on de-escalation methods and tactics, bias motivation,​

33.24 unknown risk training, defensive tactics, and force-on-force training; and​

33.25 (5) be offered to peace officers at no charge to the peace officer or law enforcement​

33.26 agency.​

33.27 (c) A postsecondary school that offers training consistent with the requirements of​

33.28 paragraph (b) may apply for reimbursement for the costs of offering the training.​

33.29 Reimbursement shall be made at a rate of $450 for each officer who completes the training.​

33.30 The postsecondary school must submit the name and peace officer license number of the​

33.31 peace officer who received the training to the Office of Higher Education.​

33.32 (d) As used in this section:​
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34.1 (1) "law enforcement agency" has the meaning given in Minnesota Statutes, section​

34.2 626.84, subdivision 1, paragraph (f); and​

34.3 (2) "peace officer" has the meaning given in Minnesota Statutes, section 626.84,​

34.4 subdivision 1, paragraph (c).​

34.5 Sec. 24. APPROPRIATIONS GIVEN EFFECT ONCE.​

34.6 If an appropriation or transfer in this article is enacted more than once during the 2023​

34.7 regular session, the appropriation or transfer must be given effect once.​

34.8 ARTICLE 2​

34.9 GENERAL CRIMES​

34.10 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 243.166, subdivision 1b, is amended to read:​

34.11 Subd. 1b. Registration required. (a) A person shall register under this section if:​

34.12 (1) the person was charged with or petitioned for a felony violation of or attempt to​

34.13 violate, or aiding, abetting, or conspiracy to commit, any of the following, and convicted​

34.14 of or adjudicated delinquent for that offense or another offense arising out of the same set​

34.15 of circumstances:​

34.16 (i) murder under section 609.185, paragraph (a), clause (2);​

34.17 (ii) kidnapping under section 609.25;​

34.18 (iii) criminal sexual conduct under section 609.342; 609.343; 609.344; 609.345; 609.3451,​

34.19 subdivision 3, paragraph (b); or 609.3453;​

34.20 (iv) indecent exposure under section 617.23, subdivision 3; or​

34.21 (v) surreptitious intrusion under the circumstances described in section 609.746,​

34.22 subdivision 1, paragraph (f) (h);​

34.23 (2) the person was charged with or petitioned for a violation of, or attempt to violate, or​

34.24 aiding, abetting, or conspiring to commit any of the following and convicted of or adjudicated​

34.25 delinquent for that offense or another offense arising out of the same set of circumstances:​

34.26 (i) criminal abuse in violation of section 609.2325, subdivision 1, paragraph (b);​

34.27 (ii) false imprisonment in violation of section 609.255, subdivision 2;​

34.28 (iii) solicitation, inducement, or promotion of the prostitution of a minor or engaging in​

34.29 the sex trafficking of a minor in violation of section 609.322;​

34​Article 2 Section 1.​

HOUSE RESEARCH JD/RK H2890DE1​03/26/23 03:25 pm ​



35.1 (iv) a prostitution offense in violation of section 609.324, subdivision 1, paragraph (a);​

35.2 (v) soliciting a minor to engage in sexual conduct in violation of section 609.352,​

35.3 subdivision 2 or 2a, clause (1);​

35.4 (vi) using a minor in a sexual performance in violation of section 617.246; or​

35.5 (vii) possessing pornographic work involving a minor in violation of section 617.247;​

35.6 (3) the person was sentenced as a patterned sex offender under section 609.3455,​

35.7 subdivision 3a; or​

35.8 (4) the person was charged with or petitioned for, including pursuant to a court martial,​

35.9 violating a law of the United States, including the Uniform Code of Military Justice, similar​

35.10 to an offense or involving similar circumstances to an offense described in clause (1), (2),​

35.11 or (3), and convicted of or adjudicated delinquent for that offense or another offense arising​

35.12 out of the same set of circumstances.​

35.13 (b) A person also shall register under this section if:​

35.14 (1) the person was charged with or petitioned for an offense in another state similar to​

35.15 an offense or involving similar circumstances to an offense described in paragraph (a),​

35.16 clause (1), (2), or (3), and convicted of or adjudicated delinquent for that offense or another​

35.17 offense arising out of the same set of circumstances;​

35.18 (2) the person enters this state to reside, work, or attend school, or enters this state and​

35.19 remains for 14 days or longer or for an aggregate period of time exceeding 30 days during​

35.20 any calendar year; and​

35.21 (3) ten years have not elapsed since the person was released from confinement or, if the​

35.22 person was not confined, since the person was convicted of or adjudicated delinquent for​

35.23 the offense that triggers registration, unless the person is subject to a longer registration​

35.24 period under the laws of another state in which the person has been convicted or adjudicated,​

35.25 or is subject to lifetime registration.​

35.26 If a person described in this paragraph is subject to a longer registration period in another​

35.27 state or is subject to lifetime registration, the person shall register for that time period​

35.28 regardless of when the person was released from confinement, convicted, or adjudicated​

35.29 delinquent.​

35.30 (c) A person also shall register under this section if the person was committed pursuant​

35.31 to a court commitment order under Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 253B.185, chapter​
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36.1 253D, Minnesota Statutes 1992, section 526.10, or a similar law of another state or the​

36.2 United States, regardless of whether the person was convicted of any offense.​

36.3 (d) A person also shall register under this section if:​

36.4 (1) the person was charged with or petitioned for a felony violation or attempt to violate​

36.5 any of the offenses listed in paragraph (a), clause (1), or a similar law of another state or​

36.6 the United States, or the person was charged with or petitioned for a violation of any of the​

36.7 offenses listed in paragraph (a), clause (2), or a similar law of another state or the United​

36.8 States;​

36.9 (2) the person was found not guilty by reason of mental illness or mental deficiency​

36.10 after a trial for that offense, or found guilty but mentally ill after a trial for that offense, in​

36.11 states with a guilty but mentally ill verdict; and​

36.12 (3) the person was committed pursuant to a court commitment order under section​

36.13 253B.18 or a similar law of another state or the United States.​

36.14 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.​

36.15 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 299A.78, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

36.16 Subdivision 1. Definitions. For purposes of sections 299A.78 to 299A.795, the following​

36.17 definitions apply:​

36.18 (a) "Commissioner" means the commissioner of the Department of Public Safety.​

36.19 (b) "Nongovernmental organizations" means nonprofit, nongovernmental organizations​

36.20 that provide legal, social, or other community services.​

36.21 (c) "Blackmail" has the meaning given in section 609.281, subdivision 2.​

36.22 (d) (c) "Debt bondage" has the meaning given in section 609.281, subdivision 3.​

36.23 (e) (d) "Forced or coerced labor or services" has the meaning given in section 609.281,​

36.24 subdivision 4.​

36.25 (f) (e) "Labor trafficking" has the meaning given in section 609.281, subdivision 5.​

36.26 (g) (f) "Labor trafficking victim" has the meaning given in section 609.281, subdivision​

36.27 6.​

36.28 (h) (g) "Sex trafficking" has the meaning given in section 609.321, subdivision 7a.​

36.29 (i) (h) "Sex trafficking victim" has the meaning given in section 609.321, subdivision​

36.30 7b.​
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37.1 (j) (i) "Trafficking" includes "labor trafficking" and "sex trafficking."​

37.2 (k) (j) "Trafficking victim" includes "labor trafficking victim" and "sex trafficking​

37.3 victim."​

37.4 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.​

37.5 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 299A.79, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

37.6 Subd. 3. Public awareness initiative. The public awareness initiative required in​

37.7 subdivision 1 must address, at a minimum, the following subjects:​

37.8 (1) the risks of becoming a trafficking victim;​

37.9 (2) common recruitment techniques; use of debt bondage, blackmail, forced or coerced​

37.10 labor and or services, prostitution, and other coercive tactics; and risks of assault, criminal​

37.11 sexual conduct, exposure to sexually transmitted diseases, and psychological harm;​

37.12 (3) crime victims' rights; and​

37.13 (4) reporting recruitment activities involved in trafficking.​

37.14 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.​

37.15 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.02, subdivision 16, is amended to read:​

37.16 Subd. 16. Qualified domestic violence-related offense. "Qualified domestic​

37.17 violence-related offense" includes a violation of or an attempt to violate sections 518B.01,​

37.18 subdivision 14 (violation of domestic abuse order for protection); 609.185 (first-degree​

37.19 murder); 609.19 (second-degree murder); 609.195, paragraph (a) (third-degree murder);​

37.20 609.20, clauses (1), (2), and (5) (first-degree manslaughter); 609.205, clauses (1) and (5)​

37.21 (second-degree manslaughter); 609.221 (first-degree assault); 609.222 (second-degree​

37.22 assault); 609.223 (third-degree assault); 609.2231 (fourth-degree assault); 609.224​

37.23 (fifth-degree assault); 609.2242 (domestic assault); 609.2245 (female genital mutilation);​

37.24 609.2247 (domestic assault by strangulation); 609.25 (kidnapping); 609.255 (false​

37.25 imprisonment); 609.342 (first-degree criminal sexual conduct); 609.343 (second-degree​

37.26 criminal sexual conduct); 609.344 (third-degree criminal sexual conduct); 609.345​

37.27 (fourth-degree criminal sexual conduct); 609.3458 (sexual extortion); 609.377 (malicious​

37.28 punishment of a child); 609.587, subdivision 1, clause (c) (burglary in the first degree);​

37.29 609.713 (terroristic threats); 609.748, subdivision 6 (violation of harassment restraining​

37.30 order); 609.749 (harassment or stalking); 609.78, subdivision 2 (interference with an​

37.31 emergency call); 617.261 (nonconsensual dissemination of private sexual images); and​
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38.1 629.75 (violation of domestic abuse no contact order); and similar laws of other states, the​

38.2 United States, the District of Columbia, tribal lands, and United States territories.​

38.3 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.​

38.4 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.05, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

38.5 read:​

38.6 Subd. 2a. Exception. (a) A person may not be held criminally liable for a violation of​

38.7 section 609.185, paragraph (a), clause (3), committed by another unless the person​

38.8 intentionally aided, advised, hired, counseled, or conspired with or otherwise procured the​

38.9 other with the intent to cause the death of a human being.​

38.10 (b) A person may not be held criminally liable for a violation of section 609.19,​

38.11 subdivision 2, clause (1), committed by another unless the person was a major participant​

38.12 in the underlying felony and acted with extreme indifference to human life.​

38.13 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to crimes​

38.14 committed on or after that date.​

38.15 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.2231, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

38.16 Subd. 4. Assaults motivated by bias. (a) Whoever assaults another in whole or in​

38.17 substantial part because of the victim's or another's actual or perceived race, color, ethnicity,​

38.18 religion, sex, gender, sexual orientation, gender identity, gender expression, age, national​

38.19 origin, or disability as defined in section 363A.03, age, or national origin or because of the​

38.20 victim's actual or perceived association with another person or group of a certain actual or​

38.21 perceived race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, gender, sexual orientation, gender identity,​

38.22 gender expression, age, national origin, or disability as defined in section 363A.03, may be​

38.23 sentenced to imprisonment for not more than one year or to payment of a fine of not more​

38.24 than $3,000, or both.​

38.25 (b) Whoever violates the provisions of paragraph (a) within five years of a previous​

38.26 conviction under paragraph (a) is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to imprisonment​

38.27 for not more than one year and a day or to payment of a fine of not more than $3,000, or​

38.28 both.​

38.29 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to crimes​

38.30 committed on or after that date.​
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39.1 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.2233, is amended to read:​

39.2 609.2233 FELONY ASSAULT MOTIVATED BY BIAS; INCREASED​

39.3 STATUTORY MAXIMUM SENTENCE.​

39.4 A person who violates section 609.221, 609.222, or 609.223 in whole or in substantial​

39.5 part because of the victim's or another person's actual or perceived race, color, ethnicity,​

39.6 religion, sex, gender, sexual orientation, gender identity, gender expression, age, national​

39.7 origin, or disability as defined in section 363A.03, age, or national origin or because of the​

39.8 victim's actual or perceived association with another person or group of a certain actual or​

39.9 perceived race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, gender, sexual orientation, gender identity,​

39.10 gender expression, age, national origin, or disability as defined in section 363A.03, is subject​

39.11 to a statutory maximum penalty of 25 percent longer than the maximum penalty otherwise​

39.12 applicable.​

39.13 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to crimes​

39.14 committed on or after that date.​

39.15 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.25, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

39.16 Subd. 2. Sentence. Whoever violates subdivision 1 may be sentenced as follows:​

39.17 (1) if the victim is released in a safe place without great bodily harm, to imprisonment​

39.18 for not more than 20 years or to payment of a fine of not more than $35,000, or both; or​

39.19 (2) if the victim is not released in a safe place, or if the victim suffers great bodily harm​

39.20 during the course of the kidnapping, or if the person kidnapped is under the age of 16, to​

39.21 imprisonment for not more than 40 years or to payment of a fine of not more than $50,000,​

39.22 or both if:​

39.23 (i) the victim is not released in a safe place;​

39.24 (ii) the victim suffers great bodily harm during the course of the kidnapping; or​

39.25 (iii) the person kidnapped is under the age of 16.​

39.26 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.​

39.27 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.269, is amended to read:​

39.28 609.269 EXCEPTION.​

39.29 Sections 609.2661 to 609.268 do not apply to any act described in section 145.412. a​

39.30 person providing reproductive health care offered, arranged, or furnished:​
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40.1 (1) for the purpose of terminating a pregnancy; and​

40.2 (2) with the consent of the pregnant individual or the pregnant individual's representative,​

40.3 except in a medical emergency in which consent cannot be obtained.​

40.4 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

40.5 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.281, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

40.6 Subd. 3. Debt bondage. "Debt bondage" means the status or condition of a debtor arising​

40.7 from a pledge by the debtor of the debtor's personal occurs when a person provides labor​

40.8 or services or those of any kind to pay a real or alleged debt of a the person under the debtor's​

40.9 control as a security for debt or another, if the value of those the labor or services as​

40.10 reasonably assessed is not applied toward the liquidation of the debt or the length and nature​

40.11 of those the labor or services are not respectively limited and defined.​

40.12 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to crimes​

40.13 committed on or after that date.​

40.14 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.281, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

40.15 Subd. 4. Forced or coerced labor or services. "Forced or coerced labor or services"​

40.16 means labor or services of any kind that are performed or provided by another person and​

40.17 are obtained or maintained through an actor's:​

40.18 (1) threat, either implicit or explicit, scheme, plan, or pattern, or other action or statement​

40.19 intended to cause a person to believe that, if the person did not perform or provide the labor​

40.20 or services, that person or another person would suffer bodily harm or physical restraint;​

40.21 sexual contact, as defined in section 609.341, subdivision 11, paragraph (b); or bodily,​

40.22 psychological, economic, or reputational harm;​

40.23 (2) physically restraining or threatening to physically restrain sexual contact, as defined​

40.24 in section 609.341, subdivision 11, paragraph (b), with a person;​

40.25 (3) physical restraint of a person;​

40.26 (4) infliction of bodily, psychological, economic, or reputational harm;​

40.27 (3) (5) abuse or threatened abuse of the legal process, including the use or threatened​

40.28 use of a law or legal process, whether administrative, civil, or criminal; or​

40.29 (4) knowingly destroying, concealing, removing, confiscating, or possessing (6)​

40.30 destruction, concealment, removal, confiscation, withholding, or possession of any actual​
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41.1 or purported passport or other immigration document, or any other actual or purported​

41.2 government identification document, of another person; or.​

41.3 (5) use of blackmail.​

41.4 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to crimes​

41.5 committed on or after that date.​

41.6 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.281, subdivision 5, is amended to read:​

41.7 Subd. 5. Labor trafficking. "Labor trafficking" means:​

41.8 (1) the recruitment, transportation, transfer, harboring, enticement, provision, obtaining,​

41.9 or receipt of a person by any means, for the purpose in furtherance of:​

41.10 (i) debt bondage or;​

41.11 (ii) forced or coerced labor or services;​

41.12 (ii) (iii) slavery or practices similar to slavery; or​

41.13 (iii) (iv) the removal of organs through the use of coercion or intimidation; or​

41.14 (2) receiving profit or anything of value, knowing or having reason to know it is derived​

41.15 from an act described in clause (1).​

41.16 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to crimes​

41.17 committed on or after that date.​

41.18 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.282, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

41.19 Subdivision 1. Individuals under age 18 Labor trafficking resulting in death. Whoever​

41.20 knowingly engages in the labor trafficking of an individual who is under the age of 18 is​

41.21 guilty of a crime and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than 20 25 years or​

41.22 to payment of a fine of not more than $40,000, or both if the labor trafficking victim dies​

41.23 and the death arose out of and in the course of the labor trafficking or the labor and services​

41.24 related to the labor trafficking.​

41.25 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to crimes​

41.26 committed on or after that date.​
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42.1 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.282, is amended by adding a subdivision​

42.2 to read:​

42.3 Subd. 1a. Individuals under age 18; extended period of time; great bodily​

42.4 harm. Whoever knowingly engages in the labor trafficking of an individual is guilty of a​

42.5 crime and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than 20 years or to a payment​

42.6 of a fine of not more than $40,000, or both if any of the following circumstances exist:​

42.7 (1) the labor trafficking victim is under the age of 18;​

42.8 (2) the labor trafficking occurs over an extended period of time; or​

42.9 (3) the labor trafficking victim suffers great bodily harm and the great bodily harm arose​

42.10 out of and in the course of the labor trafficking or the labor and services related to the labor​

42.11 trafficking.​

42.12 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to crimes​

42.13 committed on or after that date.​

42.14 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.321, is amended by adding a subdivision​

42.15 to read:​

42.16 Subd. 15. Debt bondage. "Debt bondage" has the meaning given in section 609.281,​

42.17 subdivision 3.​

42.18 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.​

42.19 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.321, is amended by adding a subdivision​

42.20 to read:​

42.21 Subd. 16. Forced or coerced labor or services. "Forced or coerced labor or services"​

42.22 has the meaning given in section 609.281, subdivision 4.​

42.23 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.​

42.24 Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.321, is amended by adding a subdivision​

42.25 to read:​

42.26 Subd. 17. Labor trafficking. "Labor trafficking" has the meaning given in section​

42.27 609.281, subdivision 5.​

42.28 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2023.​

42​Article 2 Sec. 17.​
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43.1 Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.321, is amended by adding a subdivision​

43.2 to read:​

43.3 Subd. 18. Labor trafficking victim. "Labor trafficking victim" has the meaning given​

43.4 in section 609.281, subdivision 6.​

43.5 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.​

43.6 Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.321, is amended by adding a subdivision​

43.7 to read:​

43.8 Subd. 19. Trafficking. "Trafficking" includes labor trafficking and sex trafficking.​

43.9 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.​

43.10 Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.321, is amended by adding a subdivision​

43.11 to read:​

43.12 Subd. 20. Trafficking victim. "Trafficking victim" includes a labor trafficking victim​

43.13 and a sex trafficking victim.​

43.14 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.​

43.15 Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.322, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

43.16 Subdivision 1. Solicitation, inducement, and promotion of prostitution; sex trafficking​

43.17 in the first degree. (a) Whoever, while acting other than as a prostitute or patron,​

43.18 intentionally does any of the following may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more​

43.19 than 25 years or to payment of a fine of not more than $50,000, or both:​

43.20 (1) solicits or induces an individual under the age of 18 years to practice prostitution;​

43.21 (2) promotes the prostitution of an individual under the age of 18 years;​

43.22 (3) receives profit, knowing or having reason to know that it is derived from the​

43.23 prostitution, or the promotion of the prostitution, of an individual under the age of 18 years;​

43.24 or​

43.25 (4) engages in the sex trafficking of an individual under the age of 18 years.​

43.26 (b) Whoever violates paragraph (a) or subdivision 1a may be sentenced to imprisonment​

43.27 for not more than 30 years or to payment of a fine of not more than $60,000, or both, if one​

43.28 or more of the following aggravating factors are present:​

43.29 (1) the offender has committed a prior qualified human trafficking-related offense;​

43​Article 2 Sec. 21.​
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44.1 (2) the offense involved a sex trafficking victim who suffered bodily harm during the​

44.2 commission of the offense;​

44.3 (3) the time period that a sex trafficking victim was held in debt bondage or forced or​

44.4 coerced labor or services exceeded 180 days; or​

44.5 (4) the offense involved more than one sex trafficking victim.​

44.6 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to crimes​

44.7 committed on or after that date.​

44.8 Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.52, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

44.9 Subd. 3. Sentence. Whoever commits theft may be sentenced as follows:​

44.10 (1) to imprisonment for not more than 20 years or to payment of a fine of not more than​

44.11 $100,000, or both, if the property is a firearm, or the value of the property or services stolen​

44.12 is more than $35,000 and the conviction is for a violation of subdivision 2, clause (3), (4),​

44.13 (15), (16), or (19), or section 609.2335, subdivision 1, clause (1) or (2), item (i); or​

44.14 (2) to imprisonment for not more than ten years or to payment of a fine of not more than​

44.15 $20,000, or both, if the value of the property or services stolen exceeds $5,000, or if the​

44.16 property stolen was an article representing a trade secret, an explosive or incendiary device,​

44.17 or a controlled substance listed in Schedule I or II pursuant to section 152.02 with the​

44.18 exception of marijuana; or​

44.19 (3) to imprisonment for not more than five years or to payment of a fine of not more​

44.20 than $10,000, or both, if any of the following circumstances exist:​

44.21 (a) the value of the property or services stolen is more than $1,000 but not more than​

44.22 $5,000; or​

44.23 (b) the property stolen was a controlled substance listed in Schedule III, IV, or V pursuant​

44.24 to section 152.02; or​

44.25 (c) the value of the property or services stolen is more than $500 but not more than​

44.26 $1,000 and the person has been convicted within the preceding five years for an offense​

44.27 under this section, section 256.98; 268.182; 609.24; 609.245; 609.522; 609.53; 609.582,​

44.28 subdivision 1, 2, or 3; 609.625; 609.63; 609.631; or 609.821, or a statute from another state,​

44.29 the United States, or a foreign jurisdiction, in conformity with any of those sections, and​

44.30 the person received a felony or gross misdemeanor sentence for the offense, or a sentence​

44.31 that was stayed under section 609.135 if the offense to which a plea was entered would​

44.32 allow imposition of a felony or gross misdemeanor sentence; or​
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45.1 (d) the value of the property or services stolen is not more than $1,000, and any of the​

45.2 following circumstances exist:​

45.3 (i) the property is taken from the person of another or from a corpse, or grave or coffin​

45.4 containing a corpse; or​

45.5 (ii) the property is a record of a court or officer, or a writing, instrument or record kept,​

45.6 filed or deposited according to law with or in the keeping of any public officer or office; or​

45.7 (iii) the property is taken from a burning, abandoned, or vacant building or upon its​

45.8 removal therefrom, or from an area of destruction caused by civil disaster, riot, bombing,​

45.9 or the proximity of battle; or​

45.10 (iv) the property consists of public funds belonging to the state or to any political​

45.11 subdivision or agency thereof; or​

45.12 (v) the property stolen is a motor vehicle; or​

45.13 (4) to imprisonment for not more than one year or to payment of a fine of not more than​

45.14 $3,000, or both, if the value of the property or services stolen is more than $500 but not​

45.15 more than $1,000; or​

45.16 (5) in all other cases where the value of the property or services stolen is $500 or less,​

45.17 to imprisonment for not more than 90 days or to payment of a fine of not more than $1,000,​

45.18 or both, provided, however, in any prosecution under subdivision 2, clauses (1), (2), (3),​

45.19 (4), (13), and (19), the value of the money or property or services received by the defendant​

45.20 in violation of any one or more of the above provisions within any six-month period may​

45.21 be aggregated and the defendant charged accordingly in applying the provisions of this​

45.22 subdivision; provided that when two or more offenses are committed by the same person​

45.23 in two or more counties, the accused may be prosecuted in any county in which one of the​

45.24 offenses was committed for all of the offenses aggregated under this paragraph.​

45.25 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to crimes​

45.26 committed on or after that date.​

45.27 Sec. 23. [609.522] ORGANIZED RETAIL THEFT.​

45.28 Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) As used in this section, the terms in this subdivision have​

45.29 the meanings given.​

45.30 (b) "Article surveillance system" means any electronic device or other security device​

45.31 that is designed to detect or prevent the unauthorized removal of retail merchandise from​

45.32 a retailer.​

45​Article 2 Sec. 23.​
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46.1 (c) "Retailer" means a person or entity that sells retail merchandise.​

46.2 (d) "Retail merchandise" means all forms of tangible property, without limitation, held​

46.3 out for sale by a retailer.​

46.4 (e) "Value" means the retail market value at the time of the theft or, if the retail market​

46.5 value cannot be ascertained, the cost of replacement of the property within a reasonable​

46.6 time after the theft.​

46.7 Subd. 2. Organized retail theft. (a) Whoever steals or fraudulently obtains retail​

46.8 merchandise from a retailer commits organized retail theft and may be sentenced as provided​

46.9 in subdivision 3 if the actor:​

46.10 (1) resells or intends to resell the retail merchandise;​

46.11 (2) advertises or displays any item of the retail merchandise for sale;​

46.12 (3) returns any item of the retail merchandise to a retailer for anything of value; or​

46.13 (4) steals retail merchandise within five years of a conviction under this section.​

46.14 (b) Whoever receives, purchases, or possesses retail merchandise knowing or having​

46.15 reason to know the retail merchandise was stolen from a retailer and with the intent to resell​

46.16 that merchandise may be sentenced as provided in subdivision 3.​

46.17 (c) Whoever possesses any device, gear, or instrument designed to assist in shoplifting​

46.18 or defeating an electronic article surveillance system with intent to use the same to shoplift​

46.19 and thereby commit theft may be sentenced pursuant to subdivision 3, clause (3).​

46.20 Subd. 3. Sentence. Whoever commits organized retail theft may be sentenced as follows:​

46.21 (1) to imprisonment for not more than 15 years or to payment of a fine of not more than​

46.22 $35,000, or both, if the value of the property stolen exceeds $5,000;​

46.23 (2) to imprisonment for not more than seven years or to payment of a fine of not more​

46.24 than $14,000, or both, if either of the following circumstances exist:​

46.25 (i) the value of the property stolen is more than $1,000 but not more than $5,000; or​

46.26 (ii) the person commits the offense within ten years of the first of two or more convictions​

46.27 under this section;​

46.28 (3) to imprisonment for not more than two years or to payment of a fine of not more​

46.29 than $5,000, or both, if either of the following circumstances exist:​

46.30 (i) the value of the property stolen is more than $500 but not more than $1,000; or​
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47.1 (ii) the person commits the offense within ten years of a previous conviction under this​

47.2 section; or​

47.3 (4) to imprisonment of not more than one year or to payment of a fine of not more than​

47.4 $3,000, or both, if the value of the property stolen is $500 or less.​

47.5 Subd. 4. Aggregation. The value of the retail merchandise received by the defendant​

47.6 in violation of this section within any six-month period may be aggregated and the defendant​

47.7 charged accordingly in applying the provisions of this subdivision; provided that when two​

47.8 or more offenses are committed by the same person in two or more counties, the accused​

47.9 may be prosecuted in any county in which one of the offenses was committed for all of the​

47.10 offenses aggregated under this paragraph.​

47.11 Subd. 5. Enhanced penalty. If a violation of this section creates a reasonably foreseeable​

47.12 risk of bodily harm to another, the penalties described in subdivision 3 are enhanced as​

47.13 follows:​

47.14 (1) if the penalty is a gross misdemeanor, the person is guilty of a felony and may be​

47.15 sentenced to imprisonment for not more than three years or to payment of a fine of not more​

47.16 than $5,000, or both; and​

47.17 (2) if the penalty is a felony, the statutory maximum sentence for the offense is 50 percent​

47.18 longer than for the underlying crime.​

47.19 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to crimes​

47.20 committed on or after that date.​

47.21 Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.582, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

47.22 Subd. 3. Burglary in the third degree. (a) Except as otherwise provided in this section,​

47.23 whoever enters a building without consent and with intent to steal or commit any felony or​

47.24 gross misdemeanor while in the building, or enters a building without consent and steals or​

47.25 commits a felony or gross misdemeanor while in the building, either directly or as an​

47.26 accomplice, commits burglary in the third degree and may be sentenced to imprisonment​

47.27 for not more than five years or to payment of a fine of not more than $10,000, or both.​

47.28 (b) Whoever enters a building that is open to the public, other than a building identified​

47.29 in subdivision 2, paragraph (b), with intent to steal while in the building, or enters a building​

47.30 that is open to the public, other than a building identified in subdivision 2, paragraph (b),​

47.31 and steals while in the building, either directly or as an accomplice, commits burglary in​

47.32 the third degree and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than five years or to​

47.33 payment of a fine of not more than $10,000, or both, if:​

47​Article 2 Sec. 24.​
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48.1 (1) the person enters the building within one year after being told to leave the building​

48.2 and not return; and​

48.3 (2) the person has been convicted within the preceding five years for an offense under​

48.4 this section, section 256.98, 268.182, 609.24, 609.245, 609.52, 609.522, 609.53, 609.625,​

48.5 609.63, 609.631, or 609.821, or a statute from another state, the United States, or a foreign​

48.6 jurisdiction, in conformity with any of those sections, and the person received a felony​

48.7 sentence for the offense or a sentence that was stayed under section 609.135 if the offense​

48.8 to which a plea was entered would allow imposition of a felony sentence.​

48.9 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to crimes​

48.10 committed on or after that date.​

48.11 Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.582, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

48.12 Subd. 4. Burglary in the fourth degree. (a) Whoever enters a building without consent​

48.13 and with intent to commit a misdemeanor other than to steal, or enters a building without​

48.14 consent and commits a misdemeanor other than to steal while in the building, either directly​

48.15 or as an accomplice, commits burglary in the fourth degree and may be sentenced to​

48.16 imprisonment for not more than one year or to payment of a fine of not more than $3,000,​

48.17 or both.​

48.18 (b) Whoever enters a building that is open to the public, other than a building identified​

48.19 in subdivision 2, paragraph (b), with intent to steal while in the building, or enters a building​

48.20 that is open to the public, other than a building identified in subdivision 2, paragraph (b),​

48.21 and steals while in the building, either directly or as an accomplice, commits burglary in​

48.22 the fourth degree and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than one year or to​

48.23 payment of a fine of not more than $3,000, or both, if the person enters the building within​

48.24 one year after being told to leave the building and not return.​

48.25 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to crimes​

48.26 committed on or after that date.​

48.27 Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.595, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:​

48.28 Subd. 1a. Criminal damage to property in the second degree. (a) Whoever intentionally​

48.29 causes damage described in subdivision 2, paragraph (a), because of the property owner's​

48.30 or another's actual or perceived race, color, religion, sex, sexual orientation, disability as​

48.31 defined in section 363A.03, age, or national origin is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced​
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49.1 to imprisonment for not more than one year and a day or to payment of a fine of not more​

49.2 than $3,000, or both., if the damage:​

49.3 (1) was committed in whole or in substantial part because of the property owner's or​

49.4 another's actual or perceived race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, gender, sexual orientation,​

49.5 gender identity, gender expression, age, national origin, or disability as defined in section​

49.6 363A.03;​

49.7 (2) was committed in whole or in substantial part because of the victim's actual or​

49.8 perceived association with another person or group of a certain actual or perceived race,​

49.9 color, ethnicity, religion, sex, gender, sexual orientation, gender identity, gender expression,​

49.10 age, national origin, or disability as defined in section 363A.03; or​

49.11 (3) was motivated in whole or in substantial part by an intent to intimidate or harm an​

49.12 individual or group of individuals because of actual or perceived race, color, ethnicity,​

49.13 religion, sex, gender, sexual orientation, gender identity, gender expression, age, national​

49.14 origin, or disability as defined in section 363A.03.​

49.15 (b) In any prosecution under paragraph (a), the value of property damaged by the​

49.16 defendant in violation of that paragraph within any six-month period may be aggregated​

49.17 and the defendant charged accordingly in applying this section. When two or more offenses​

49.18 are committed by the same person in two or more counties, the accused may be prosecuted​

49.19 in any county in which one of the offenses was committed for all of the offenses aggregated​

49.20 under this paragraph.​

49.21 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to crimes​

49.22 committed on or after that date.​

49.23 Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.595, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

49.24 Subd. 2. Criminal damage to property in the third degree. (a) Except as otherwise​

49.25 provided in subdivision 1a, whoever intentionally causes damage to another person's physical​

49.26 property without the other person's consent may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more​

49.27 than one year or to payment of a fine of not more than $3,000, or both, if: (1) the damage​

49.28 reduces the value of the property by more than $500 but not more than $1,000 as measured​

49.29 by the cost of repair and replacement; or (2) the damage was to a public safety motor vehicle​

49.30 and the defendant knew the vehicle was a public safety motor vehicle.​

49.31 (b) Whoever intentionally causes damage to another person's physical property without​

49.32 the other person's consent because of the property owner's or another's actual or perceived​

49.33 race, color, religion, sex, sexual orientation, disability as defined in section 363A.03, age,​
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50.1 or national origin may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than one year or to​

50.2 payment of a fine of not more than $3,000, or both, if the damage reduces the value of the​

50.3 property by not more than $500. and:​

50.4 (1) was committed in whole or in substantial part because of the property owner's or​

50.5 another's actual or perceived race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, gender, sexual orientation,​

50.6 gender identity, gender expression, age, national origin, or disability as defined in section​

50.7 363A.03;​

50.8 (2) was committed in whole or in substantial part because of the victim's actual or​

50.9 perceived association with another person or group of a certain actual or perceived race,​

50.10 color, ethnicity, religion, sex, gender, sexual orientation, gender identity, gender expression,​

50.11 age, national origin, or disability as defined in section 363A.03; or​

50.12 (3) was motivated in whole or in substantial part by an intent to intimidate or harm an​

50.13 individual or group of individuals because of actual or perceived race, color, ethnicity,​

50.14 religion, sex, gender, sexual orientation, gender identity, gender expression, age, national​

50.15 origin, or disability as defined in section 363A.03.​

50.16 (c) In any prosecution under paragraph (a), clause (1), the value of property damaged​

50.17 by the defendant in violation of that paragraph within any six-month period may be​

50.18 aggregated and the defendant charged accordingly in applying this section. When two or​

50.19 more offenses are committed by the same person in two or more counties, the accused may​

50.20 be prosecuted in any county in which one of the offenses was committed for all of the​

50.21 offenses aggregated under this paragraph.​

50.22 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to crimes​

50.23 committed on or after that date.​

50.24 Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.67, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

50.25 Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) "Machine gun" means any firearm designed to discharge,​

50.26 or capable of discharging automatically more than once by a single function of the trigger.​

50.27 (b) "Shotgun" means a weapon designed, redesigned, made or remade which is intended​

50.28 to be fired from the shoulder and uses the energy of the explosive in a fixed shotgun shell​

50.29 to fire through a smooth bore either a number of ball shot or a single projectile for each​

50.30 single pull of the trigger.​

50.31 (c) "Short-barreled shotgun" means a shotgun having one or more barrels less than 18​

50.32 inches in length and any weapon made from a shotgun if such weapon as modified has an​

50.33 overall length less than 26 inches.​
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51.1 (d) "Trigger activator" means:​

51.2 (1) a removable manual or power driven trigger activating device constructed and​

51.3 designed so that, when attached to a firearm, the rate at which the trigger may be pulled​

51.4 increases and the rate of fire of the firearm increases to that of a machine gun; or​

51.5 (2) a device that allows a semiautomatic firearm to shoot more than one shot with a​

51.6 single pull of the trigger or by harnessing the recoil of energy of the semiautomatic firearm​

51.7 to which it is affixed so that the trigger resets and continues firing without additional physical​

51.8 manipulation of the trigger.​

51.9 (e) "Machine gun conversion kit" means any part or combination of parts designed and​

51.10 intended for use in converting a weapon into a machine gun, and any combination of parts​

51.11 from which a machine gun can be assembled, but does not include a spare or replacement​

51.12 part for a machine gun that is possessed lawfully under section 609.67, subdivision 3.​

51.13 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to offenses​

51.14 that occur on or after that date.​

51.15 Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.67, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

51.16 Subd. 2. Acts prohibited. (a) Except as otherwise provided herein, whoever owns,​

51.17 possesses, or operates a machine gun, or any trigger activator or machine gun conversion​

51.18 kit, or a short-barreled shotgun may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than five​

51.19 20 years or to payment of a fine of not more than $10,000 $35,000, or both.​

51.20 (b) Except as otherwise provided herein, whoever owns, possesses, or operates a​

51.21 short-barreled shotgun may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than five years or​

51.22 to payment of a fine of not more than $10,000, or both.​

51.23 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to offenses​

51.24 that occur on or after that date.​

51.25 Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.746, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

51.26 Subdivision 1. Surreptitious intrusion; observation device. (a) A person is guilty of​

51.27 a gross misdemeanor who:​

51.28 (1) enters upon another's property;​

51.29 (2) surreptitiously gazes, stares, or peeps in the window or any other aperture of a house​

51.30 or place of dwelling of another; and​
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52.1 (3) does so with intent to intrude upon or interfere with the privacy of a member of the​

52.2 household.​

52.3 (b) A person is guilty of a gross misdemeanor who:​

52.4 (1) enters upon another's property;​

52.5 (2) surreptitiously installs or uses any device for observing, photographing, recording,​

52.6 amplifying, or broadcasting sounds or events through the window or any other aperture of​

52.7 a house or place of dwelling of another; and​

52.8 (3) does so with intent to intrude upon or interfere with the privacy of a member of the​

52.9 household.​

52.10 (c) A person is guilty of a gross misdemeanor who:​

52.11 (1) surreptitiously gazes, stares, or peeps in the window or other aperture of a sleeping​

52.12 room in a hotel, as defined in section 327.70, subdivision 3, a tanning booth, or other place​

52.13 where a reasonable person would have an expectation of privacy and has exposed or is​

52.14 likely to expose their intimate parts, as defined in section 609.341, subdivision 5, or the​

52.15 clothing covering the immediate area of the intimate parts; and​

52.16 (2) does so with intent to intrude upon or interfere with the privacy of the occupant.​

52.17 (d) A person is guilty of a gross misdemeanor who:​

52.18 (1) surreptitiously installs or uses any device for observing, photographing, recording,​

52.19 amplifying, or broadcasting sounds or events through the window or other aperture of a​

52.20 sleeping room in a hotel, as defined in section 327.70, subdivision 3, a tanning booth, or​

52.21 other place where a reasonable person would have an expectation of privacy and has exposed​

52.22 or is likely to expose their intimate parts, as defined in section 609.341, subdivision 5, or​

52.23 the clothing covering the immediate area of the intimate parts; and​

52.24 (2) does so with intent to intrude upon or interfere with the privacy of the occupant.​

52.25 (e) A person is guilty of a gross misdemeanor who:​

52.26 (1) uses any device for photographing, recording, or broadcasting an image of an​

52.27 individual in a house or place of dwelling, a sleeping room of a hotel as defined in section​

52.28 327.70, subdivision 3, a tanning booth, a bathroom, a locker room, a changing room, an​

52.29 indoor shower facility, or any place where a reasonable person would have an expectation​

52.30 of privacy; and​
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53.1 (2) does so with the intent to photograph, record, or broadcast an image of the individual's​

53.2 intimate parts, as defined in section 609.341, subdivision 5, without the consent of the​

53.3 individual.​

53.4 (f) A person is guilty of a misdemeanor who:​

53.5 (1) surreptitiously installs or uses any device for observing, photographing, recording,​

53.6 or broadcasting an image of an individual's intimate parts, as defined in section 609.341,​

53.7 subdivision 5, or the clothing covering the immediate area of the intimate parts;​

53.8 (2) observes, photographs, or records the image under or around the individual's clothing;​

53.9 and​

53.10 (3) does so with intent to intrude upon or interfere with the privacy of the individual.​

53.11 (e) (g) A person is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more​

53.12 than two years or to payment of a fine of not more than $5,000, or both, if the person:​

53.13 (1) violates this subdivision paragraph (a), (b), (c), (d), or (e) after a previous conviction​

53.14 under this subdivision or section 609.749; or​

53.15 (2) violates this subdivision paragraph (a), (b), (c), (d), or (e) against a minor under the​

53.16 age of 18, knowing or having reason to know that the minor is present.​

53.17 (f) (h) A person is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more​

53.18 than four years or to payment of a fine of not more than $5,000, or both, if: (1) the person​

53.19 violates paragraph (b) or, (d), or (e) against a minor victim under the age of 18; (2) the​

53.20 person is more than 36 months older than the minor victim; (3) the person knows or has​

53.21 reason to know that the minor victim is present; and (4) the violation is committed with​

53.22 sexual intent.​

53.23 (i) A person is guilty of a gross misdemeanor if the person:​

53.24 (1) violates paragraph (f) after a previous conviction under this subdivision or section​

53.25 609.749; or​

53.26 (2) violates paragraph (f) against a minor under the age of 18, knowing or having reason​

53.27 to know that the victim is a minor.​

53.28 (j) A person is guilty of a felony if the person violates paragraph (f) after two or more​

53.29 convictions under this subdivision or section 609.749.​

53.30 (g) Paragraphs (k) Paragraph (b) and, (d) do, or (e) does not apply to law enforcement​

53.31 officers or corrections investigators, or to those acting under their direction, while engaged​

53.32 in the performance of their lawful duties. Paragraphs (c) and, (d), and (e) do not apply to​
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54.1 conduct in: (1) a medical facility; or (2) a commercial establishment if the owner of the​

54.2 establishment has posted conspicuous signs warning that the premises are under surveillance​

54.3 by the owner or the owner's employees.​

54.4 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to crimes​

54.5 committed on or after that date.​

54.6 Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.749, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

54.7 Subd. 3. Aggravated violations. (a) A person who commits any of the following acts​

54.8 is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than five years or​

54.9 to payment of a fine of not more than $10,000, or both:​

54.10 (1) commits any offense described in subdivision 2 in whole or in substantial part because​

54.11 of the victim's or another's actual or perceived race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, gender,​

54.12 sexual orientation, gender identity, gender expression, age, national origin, or disability as​

54.13 defined in section 363A.03, age, or national origin or because of the victim's actual or​

54.14 perceived association with another person or group of a certain actual or perceived race,​

54.15 color, ethnicity, religion, sex, gender, sexual orientation, gender identity, gender expression,​

54.16 age, national origin, or disability as defined in section 363A.03;​

54.17 (2) commits any offense described in subdivision 2 by falsely impersonating another;​

54.18 (3) commits any offense described in subdivision 2 and a dangerous weapon was used​

54.19 in any way in the commission of the offense;​

54.20 (4) commits any offense described in subdivision 2 with intent to influence or otherwise​

54.21 tamper with a juror or a judicial proceeding or with intent to retaliate against a judicial​

54.22 officer, as defined in section 609.415, or a prosecutor, defense attorney, or officer of the​

54.23 court, because of that person's performance of official duties in connection with a judicial​

54.24 proceeding; or​

54.25 (5) commits any offense described in subdivision 2 against a victim under the age of​

54.26 18, if the actor is more than 36 months older than the victim.​

54.27 (b) A person who commits any offense described in subdivision 2 against a victim under​

54.28 the age of 18, if the actor is more than 36 months older than the victim, and the act is​

54.29 committed with sexual or aggressive intent, is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to​

54.30 imprisonment for not more than ten years or to payment of a fine of not more than $20,000,​

54.31 or both.​
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55.1 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to crimes​

55.2 committed on or after that date.​

55.3 Sec. 32. [609.771] USE OF DEEP FAKE TECHNOLOGY TO INFLUENCE AN​

55.4 ELECTION.​

55.5 Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) As used in this section, the following terms have the​

55.6 meanings given.​

55.7 (b) "Candidate" means an individual who seeks nomination or election to a federal,​

55.8 statewide, legislative, judicial, or local office including special districts, school districts,​

55.9 towns, home rule charter and statutory cities, and counties.​

55.10 (c) "Deep fake" means any video recording, motion-picture film, sound recording,​

55.11 electronic image, or photograph, or any technological representation of speech or conduct​

55.12 substantially derivative thereof:​

55.13 (1) which appears to authentically depict any speech or conduct of an individual who​

55.14 did not in fact engage in such speech or conduct; and​

55.15 (2) the production of which was substantially dependent upon technical means, rather​

55.16 than the ability of another individual to physically or verbally impersonate such individual.​

55.17 (d) "Depicted individual" means an individual in a deep fake who appears to be engaging​

55.18 in speech or conduct in which the individual did not engage.​

55.19 Subd. 2. Use of deep fake to influence an election; violation. A person who disseminates​

55.20 a deep fake or enters into a contract or other agreement to disseminate a deep fake is guilty​

55.21 of a crime and may be sentenced as provided in subdivision 3 if the person knows or​

55.22 reasonably should know that the item being disseminated is a deep fake and dissemination:​

55.23 (1) takes place within 90 days before an election;​

55.24 (2) is made without the consent of the depicted individual; and​

55.25 (3) is made with the intent to injure a candidate or influence the result of an election.​

55.26 Subd. 3. Use of deep fake to influence an election; penalty. A person convicted of​

55.27 violating subdivision 2 may be sentenced as follows:​

55.28 (1) if the person commits the violation within five years of one or more prior convictions​

55.29 under this section, to imprisonment for not more than five years or to payment of a fine of​

55.30 not more than $10,000, or both;​
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56.1 (2) if the person commits the violation with the intent to cause violence or bodily harm,​

56.2 to imprisonment for not more than one year or to payment of a fine of not more than $3,000,​

56.3 or both; or​

56.4 (3) in other cases, to imprisonment for not more than 90 days or to payment of a fine of​

56.5 not more than $1,000, or both.​

56.6 Subd. 4. Injunctive relief. A cause of action for injunctive relief may be maintained​

56.7 against any person who is reasonably believed to be about to violate or who is in the course​

56.8 of violating this section by:​

56.9 (1) the attorney general;​

56.10 (2) a county attorney or city attorney;​

56.11 (3) the depicted individual; or​

56.12 (4) a candidate for nomination or election to a public office who is injured or likely to​

56.13 be injured by dissemination.​

56.14 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to crimes​

56.15 committed on or after that date.​

56.16 Sec. 33. [617.262] NONCONSENSUAL DISSEMINATION OF A DEEP FAKE​

56.17 DEPICTING INTIMATE PARTS OR SEXUAL ACTS.​

56.18 Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have​

56.19 the meanings given.​

56.20 (b) "Deep fake" means any video recording, motion-picture film, sound recording,​

56.21 electronic image, or photograph, or any technological representation of speech or conduct​

56.22 substantially derivative thereof:​

56.23 (1) which appears to authentically depict any speech or conduct of an individual who​

56.24 did not in fact engage in such speech or conduct; and​

56.25 (2) the production of which was substantially dependent upon technical means, rather​

56.26 than the ability of another individual to physically or verbally impersonate such individual.​

56.27 (c) "Depicted individual" means an individual in a deep fake who appears to be engaging​

56.28 in speech or conduct in which the individual did not engage.​

56.29 (d) "Dissemination" means distribution to one or more persons, other than the person​

56.30 depicted in the deep fake, or publication by any publicly available medium.​
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57.1 (e) "Harass" means an act that would cause a substantial adverse effect on the safety,​

57.2 security, or privacy of a reasonable person.​

57.3 (f) "Intimate parts" means the genitals, pubic area, or anus of an individual, or if the​

57.4 individual is female, a partially or fully exposed nipple.​

57.5 (g) "Personal information" means any identifier that permits communication or in-person​

57.6 contact with a person, including:​

57.7 (1) a person's first and last name, first initial and last name, first name and last initial,​

57.8 or nickname;​

57.9 (2) a person's home, school, or work address;​

57.10 (3) a person's telephone number, email address, or social media account information; or​

57.11 (4) a person's geolocation data.​

57.12 (h) "Sexual act" means either sexual contact or sexual penetration.​

57.13 (i) "Sexual contact" means the intentional touching of intimate parts or intentional​

57.14 touching with seminal fluid or sperm onto another person's body.​

57.15 (j) "Sexual penetration" means any of the following acts:​

57.16 (1) sexual intercourse, cunnilingus, fellatio, or anal intercourse; or​

57.17 (2) any intrusion, however slight, into the genital or anal openings of an individual by​

57.18 another's body part or an object used by another for this purpose.​

57.19 (k) "Social media" means any electronic medium, including an interactive computer​

57.20 service, telephone network, or data network, that allows users to create, share, and view​

57.21 user-generated content.​

57.22 Subd. 2. Crime. It is a crime to intentionally disseminate a deep fake when:​

57.23 (1) the actor knows or reasonably should know that the depicted individual does not​

57.24 consent to the dissemination;​

57.25 (2) the deep fake realistically depicts any of the following:​

57.26 (i) the intimate parts of another individual presented as the intimate parts of the depicted​

57.27 individual;​

57.28 (ii) artificially generated intimate parts presented as the intimate parts of the depicted​

57.29 individual; or​

57.30 (iii) the depicted individual engaging in a sexual act; and​
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58.1 (3) the depicted individual is identifiable:​

58.2 (i) from the deep fake itself, by the depicted individual or by another person; or​

58.3 (ii) from the personal information displayed in connection with the deep fake.​

58.4 Subd. 3. Penalties. (a) Except as provided in paragraph (b), whoever violates subdivision​

58.5 2 is guilty of a gross misdemeanor.​

58.6 (b) Whoever violates subdivision 2 may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than​

58.7 three years or to payment of a fine of $5,000, or both, if one of the following factors is​

58.8 present:​

58.9 (1) the depicted person suffers financial loss due to the dissemination of the deep fake;​

58.10 (2) the actor disseminates the deep fake with intent to profit from the dissemination;​

58.11 (3) the actor maintains an Internet website, online service, online application, or mobile​

58.12 application for the purpose of disseminating the deep fake;​

58.13 (4) the actor posts the deep fake on a website;​

58.14 (5) the actor disseminates the deep fake with intent to harass the depicted person;​

58.15 (6) the actor obtained the deep fake by committing a violation of section 609.52, 609.746,​

58.16 609.89, or 609.891; or​

58.17 (7) the actor has previously been convicted under this chapter.​

58.18 Subd. 4. No defense. It is not a defense to a prosecution under this section that the person​

58.19 consented to the creation or possession of the deep fake.​

58.20 Subd. 5. Venue. Notwithstanding anything to the contrary in section 627.01, an offense​

58.21 committed under this section may be prosecuted in:​

58.22 (1) the county where the offense occurred;​

58.23 (2) the county of residence of the actor or victim or in the jurisdiction of the victim's​

58.24 designated address if the victim participates in the address confidentiality program established​

58.25 by chapter 5B; or​

58.26 (3) only if venue cannot be located in the counties specified under clause (1) or (2), the​

58.27 county where any deep fake is produced, reproduced, found, stored, received, or possessed​

58.28 in violation of this section.​

58.29 Subd. 6. Exemptions. Subdivision 2 does not apply when:​
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59.1 (1) the dissemination is made for the purpose of a criminal investigation or prosecution​

59.2 that is otherwise lawful;​

59.3 (2) the dissemination is for the purpose of, or in connection with, the reporting of unlawful​

59.4 conduct;​

59.5 (3) the dissemination is made in the course of seeking or receiving medical or mental​

59.6 health treatment, and the image is protected from further dissemination;​

59.7 (4) the deep fake was obtained in a commercial setting for the purpose of the legal sale​

59.8 of goods or services, including the creation of artistic products for sale or display, and the​

59.9 depicted individual knew, or should have known, that a deep fake would be created and​

59.10 disseminated;​

59.11 (5) the deep fake relates to a matter of public interest and dissemination serves a lawful​

59.12 public purpose;​

59.13 (6) the dissemination is for legitimate scientific research or educational purposes; or​

59.14 (7) the dissemination is made for legal proceedings and is consistent with common​

59.15 practice in civil proceedings necessary for the proper functioning of the criminal justice​

59.16 system, or protected by court order which prohibits any further dissemination.​

59.17 Subd. 7. Immunity. Nothing in this section shall be construed to impose liability upon​

59.18 the following entities solely as a result of content or information provided by another person:​

59.19 (1) an interactive computer service as defined in United States Code, title 47, section​

59.20 230, paragraph (f), clause (2);​

59.21 (2) a provider of public mobile services or private radio services; or​

59.22 (3) a telecommunications network or broadband provider.​

59.23 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to crimes​

59.24 committed on or after that date.​

59.25 Sec. 34. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 628.26, is amended to read:​

59.26 628.26 LIMITATIONS.​

59.27 (a) Indictments or complaints for any crime resulting in the death of the victim may be​

59.28 found or made at any time after the death of the person killed.​

59.29 (b) Indictments or complaints for a violation of section 609.25 may be found or made​

59.30 at any time after the commission of the offense.​
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60.1 (c) Indictments or complaints for violation of section 609.282 may be found or made at​

60.2 any time after the commission of the offense if the victim was under the age of 18 at the​

60.3 time of the offense.​

60.4 (d) Indictments or complaints for violation of section 609.282 where the victim was 18​

60.5 years of age or older at the time of the offense, or 609.42, subdivision 1, clause (1) or (2),​

60.6 shall be found or made and filed in the proper court within six years after the commission​

60.7 of the offense.​

60.8 (e) Indictments or complaints for violation of sections 609.322, 609.342 to 609.345, and​

60.9 609.3458 may be found or made at any time after the commission of the offense.​

60.10 (f) Indictments or complaints for violation of sections 609.466 and 609.52, subdivision​

60.11 2, paragraph (a), clause (3), item (iii), shall be found or made and filed in the proper court​

60.12 within six years after the commission of the offense.​

60.13 (g) Indictments or complaints for violation of section 609.2335, 609.52, subdivision 2,​

60.14 paragraph (a), clause (3), items (i) and (ii), (4), (15), or (16), 609.631, or 609.821, where​

60.15 the value of the property or services stolen is more than $35,000, or for violation of section​

60.16 609.527 where the offense involves eight or more direct victims or the total combined loss​

60.17 to the direct and indirect victims is more than $35,000, shall be found or made and filed in​

60.18 the proper court within five years after the commission of the offense.​

60.19 (h) Except for violations relating to false material statements, representations or​

60.20 omissions, indictments or complaints for violations of section 609.671 shall be found or​

60.21 made and filed in the proper court within five years after the commission of the offense.​

60.22 (i) Indictments or complaints for violation of sections 609.561 to 609.563, shall be found​

60.23 or made and filed in the proper court within five years after the commission of the offense.​

60.24 (j) Indictments or complaints for violation of section 609.746 shall be found or made​

60.25 and filed in the proper court within the later of three years after the commission of the​

60.26 offense or three years after the offense was reported to law enforcement authorities.​

60.27 (j) (k) In all other cases, indictments or complaints shall be found or made and filed in​

60.28 the proper court within three years after the commission of the offense.​

60.29 (k) (l) The limitations periods contained in this section shall exclude any period of time​

60.30 during which the defendant was not an inhabitant of or usually resident within this state.​

60.31 (l) (m) The limitations periods contained in this section for an offense shall not include​

60.32 any period during which the alleged offender participated under a written agreement in a​

60.33 pretrial diversion program relating to that offense.​
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61.1 (m) (n) The limitations periods contained in this section shall not include any period of​

61.2 time during which physical evidence relating to the offense was undergoing DNA analysis,​

61.3 as defined in section 299C.155, unless the defendant demonstrates that the prosecuting or​

61.4 law enforcement agency purposefully delayed the DNA analysis process in order to gain​

61.5 an unfair advantage.​

61.6 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to crimes​

61.7 committed on or after that date and to crimes committed before that date if the limitations​

61.8 period for the crime did not expire before August 1, 2023.​

61.9 Sec. 35. REPEALER.​

61.10 (a) Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.281, subdivision 2, is repealed.​

61.11 (b) Minnesota Statutes 2022, sections 609.293, subdivisions 1 and 5; 609.34; and 609.36,​

61.12 are repealed.​

61.13 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.​

61.14 ARTICLE 3​

61.15 PUBLIC SAFETY AND CRIME VICTIMS​

61.16 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 144.6586, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

61.17 Subd. 2. Contents of notice. The commissioners of health and public safety, in​

61.18 consultation with sexual assault victim advocates and health care professionals, shall develop​

61.19 the notice required by subdivision 1. The notice must inform the victim, at a minimum, of:​

61.20 (1) the obligation under section 609.35 of the county where the criminal sexual conduct​

61.21 occurred state to pay for the examination performed for the purpose of gathering evidence,​

61.22 that payment is not contingent on the victim reporting the criminal sexual conduct to law​

61.23 enforcement, and that the victim may incur expenses for treatment of injuries;​

61.24 (2) the victim's rights if the crime is reported to law enforcement, including the victim's​

61.25 right to apply for reparations under sections 611A.51 to 611A.68, information on how to​

61.26 apply for reparations, and information on how to obtain an order for protection or a​

61.27 harassment restraining order; and​

61.28 (3) the opportunity under section 611A.27 to obtain status information about an​

61.29 unrestricted sexual assault examination kit, as defined in section 299C.106, subdivision 1,​

61.30 paragraph (h).​
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62.1 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 145.4712, is amended to read:​

62.2 145.4712 EMERGENCY CARE TO SEXUAL ASSAULT VICTIMS.​

62.3 Subdivision 1. Emergency care to female sexual assault victims. (a) It shall be the​

62.4 standard of care for all hospitals and other health care providers that provide emergency​

62.5 care to, at a minimum:​

62.6 (1) provide each female sexual assault victim with medically and factually accurate and​

62.7 unbiased written and oral information about emergency contraception from the American​

62.8 College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists and distributed to all hospitals by the Department​

62.9 of Health;​

62.10 (2) orally inform each female sexual assault victim of the option of being provided with​

62.11 emergency contraception at the hospital or other health care facility; and​

62.12 (3) immediately provide emergency contraception to each sexual assault victim who​

62.13 requests it provided it is not medically contraindicated and is ordered by a legal prescriber.​

62.14 Emergency contraception shall be administered in accordance with current medical protocols​

62.15 regarding timing and dosage necessary to complete the treatment.​

62.16 (b) A hospital or health care provider may administer a pregnancy test. If the pregnancy​

62.17 test is positive, the hospital or health care provider does not have to comply with the​

62.18 provisions in paragraph (a).​

62.19 Subd. 2. Emergency care to male and female sexual assault victims. It shall be the​

62.20 standard of care for all hospitals and health care providers that provide emergency care to,​

62.21 at a minimum:​

62.22 (1) provide each sexual assault victim with factually accurate and unbiased written and​

62.23 oral medical information about prophylactic antibiotics for treatment of sexually transmitted​

62.24 diseases infections;​

62.25 (2) orally inform each sexual assault victim of the option of being provided prophylactic​

62.26 antibiotics for treatment of sexually transmitted diseases infections at the hospital or other​

62.27 health care facility; and​

62.28 (3) immediately provide prophylactic antibiotics for treatment of sexually transmitted​

62.29 diseases infections to each sexual assault victim who requests it, provided it is not medically​

62.30 contraindicated and is ordered by a legal prescriber.​

62​Article 3 Sec. 2.​

HOUSE RESEARCH JD/RK H2890DE1​03/26/23 03:25 pm ​



63.1 Sec. 3. [260B.020] OFFICE OF RESTORATIVE PRACTICES.​

63.2 Subdivision 1. Definition. As used in this section, "restorative practices" means programs,​

63.3 practices, and policies that incorporate core principles including but not limited to​

63.4 voluntariness, prioritization of agreement by the people closest to the harm on what is needed​

63.5 to repair the harm, reintegration into the community, honesty, and respect. Further, restorative​

63.6 practices are rooted in community values and create meaningful outcomes that may include,​

63.7 but are not limited to:​

63.8 (1) establishing and meeting goals related to increasing connection to community,​

63.9 restoring relationships, and increasing empathy, perspective taking, and taking responsibility​

63.10 for impact of actions by all parties involved;​

63.11 (2) addressing the needs of those who have been harmed;​

63.12 (3) recognizing and addressing the underlying issues of behavior;​

63.13 (4) engaging with those most directly affected by an incident and including community​

63.14 members that reflect the diversity of the child's environment;​

63.15 (5) having broad authority to determine the complete and appropriate responses to​

63.16 specific incidents through the use of a collaborative process;​

63.17 (6) providing solutions and approaches that affirm and are tailored to specific cultures;​

63.18 and​

63.19 (7) implementing policies and procedures that are informed by the science of the social,​

63.20 emotional, and cognitive development of children.​

63.21 Subd. 2. Establishment. The Office of Restorative Practices is established within the​

63.22 Department of Public Safety. The Office of Restorative Practices shall have the powers and​

63.23 duties described in this section.​

63.24 Subd. 3. Department of Children, Youth, and Family; automatic transfer. In the​

63.25 event that a Department of Children, Youth, and Family is created as an independent agency,​

63.26 the Office of Restorative Practices shall be transferred to that department pursuant to section​

63.27 15.039 effective six months following the effective date for legislation creating that​

63.28 department.​

63.29 Subd. 4. Director; other staff. (a) The commissioner of public safety shall appoint a​

63.30 director of the Office of Restorative Practices. The director should have qualifications that​

63.31 include or are similar to the following:​
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64.1 (1) experience in the many facets of restorative justice and practices such as peacemaking​

64.2 circles, sentencing circles, community conferencing, community panels, and family group​

64.3 decision making;​

64.4 (2) experience in victim-centered and trauma informed practices;​

64.5 (3) knowledge of the range of social problems that bring children and families to points​

64.6 of crisis such as poverty, racism, unemployment, and unequal opportunity;​

64.7 (4) knowledge of the many ways youth become involved in other systems such as truancy,​

64.8 juvenile delinquency, child protection; and​

64.9 (5) understanding of educational barriers.​

64.10 (b) The director shall hire additional staff to perform the duties of the Office of​

64.11 Restorative Practices. The staff shall be in the classified service of the state and their​

64.12 compensation shall be established pursuant to chapter 43A.​

64.13 Subd. 5. Duties. (a) The Office of Restorative Practices shall promote the use of​

64.14 restorative practices across multiple disciplines including, but not limited to:​

64.15 (1) pretrial diversion programs established pursuant to section 388.24;​

64.16 (2) delinquency, criminal justice, child welfare, and education systems; and​

64.17 (3) community violence prevention practices.​

64.18 (b) The Office of Restorative Practices shall collaborate with Tribal communities,​

64.19 counties, multicounty agencies, other state agencies, nonprofit agencies, and other​

64.20 jurisdictions, and with existing restorative practices initiatives in those jurisdictions to​

64.21 establish new restorative practices initiatives, support existing restorative practices initiatives,​

64.22 and identify effective restorative practices initiatives.​

64.23 (c) The Office of Restorative Practices shall encourage collaboration between jurisdictions​

64.24 by creating a statewide network, led by restorative practitioners, to share effective methods​

64.25 and practices.​

64.26 (d) The Office of Restorative Practices shall create a statewide directory of restorative​

64.27 practices initiatives. The office shall make this directory available to all restorative practices​

64.28 initiatives, counties, multicounty agencies, nonprofit agencies, and Tribes in order to facilitate​

64.29 referrals to restorative practices initiatives and programs.​

64.30 (e) The Office of Restorative Practices shall work throughout the state to build capacity​

64.31 for the use of restorative practices in all jurisdictions and shall encourage every county to​

64.32 have at least one available restorative practices initiative.​
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65.1 (f) The Office of Restorative Practices will engage restorative practitioners in discerning​

65.2 ways to measure the effectiveness of restorative efforts throughout the state.​

65.3 (g) The Office of Restorative Practices shall oversee the coordination and establishment​

65.4 of local restorative practices advisory committees. The office shall oversee compliance with​

65.5 the conditions of this funding program. If a complaint or concern about a local advisory​

65.6 committee or a grant recipient is received, the Office of Restorative Practices shall exercise​

65.7 oversight as provided in this section.​

65.8 (h) The Office of Restorative Practices shall provide information to local restorative​

65.9 practices advisory committees, or restorative practices initiatives in Tribal communities and​

65.10 governments, counties, multicounty agencies, other state agencies, and other jurisdictions​

65.11 about best practices that are developmentally tailored to youth, trauma-informed, and​

65.12 healing-centered, and provide technical support. Providing information includes, but is not​

65.13 limited to, sharing data on successful practices in other jurisdictions, sending notification​

65.14 about available training opportunities, and sharing known resources for financial support.​

65.15 The Office of Restorative Practices shall also provide training and technical support to local​

65.16 restorative practices advisory committees. Training includes, but is not limited to the use​

65.17 and scope of restorative practices, victim-centered restorative practices, and trauma-informed​

65.18 care.​

65.19 (i) The Office of Restorative Practices shall annually establish minimum requirements​

65.20 for the grant application process.​

65.21 (j) The Office of Restorative Practices shall work with Tribes, counties, multicounty​

65.22 agencies, and nonprofit agencies throughout the state to educate those entities about the​

65.23 application process for grants and encourage applications.​

65.24 Subd. 6. Grants. (a) Within available appropriations, the director shall award grants to​

65.25 establish and support restorative practices initiatives. An approved applicant must receive​

65.26 a grant of up to $500,000 each year.​

65.27 (b) On an annual basis, the Office of Restorative Practices shall establish a minimum​

65.28 number of applications that must be received during the application process. If the minimum​

65.29 number of applications is not received, the office must reopen the application process.​

65.30 (c) Grants may be awarded to private and public nonprofit agencies; local units of​

65.31 government, including cities, counties, and townships; local educational agencies; and Tribal​

65.32 governments. A restorative practices advisory committee may support multiple entities​

65.33 applying for grants based on community needs, the number of youth and families in the​
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66.1 jurisdiction, and the number of restorative practices available to the community. Budgets​

66.2 supported by grant funds can include contracts with partner agencies.​

66.3 (d) Applications must include the following:​

66.4 (1) a list of willing restorative practices advisory committee members;​

66.5 (2) letters of support from potential restorative practices advisory committee members;​

66.6 (3) a description of the planning process that includes:​

66.7 (i) a description of the origins of the initiative, including how the community provided​

66.8 input; and​

66.9 (ii) an estimated number of participants to be served; and​

66.10 (4) a formal document containing a project description that outlines the proposed goals,​

66.11 activities, and outcomes of the initiative including, at a minimum:​

66.12 (i) a description of how the initiative meets the minimum eligibility requirements of the​

66.13 grant;​

66.14 (ii) the roles and responsibilities of key staff assigned to the initiative;​

66.15 (iii) identification of any key partners, including a summary of the roles and​

66.16 responsibilities of those partners;​

66.17 (iv) a description of how volunteers and other community members are engaged in the​

66.18 initiative; and​

66.19 (v) a plan for evaluation and data collection.​

66.20 (e) In determining the appropriate amount of each grant, the Office of Restorative​

66.21 Practices shall consider the number of individuals likely to be served by the local restorative​

66.22 practices initiative.​

66.23 Subd. 7. Restorative practices advisory committees; membership and duties. (a)​

66.24 Restorative practices advisory committees must include:​

66.25 (1) a judge of the judicial district that will be served by the restorative practices initiative;​

66.26 (2) the county attorney of a county that will be served by the restorative practices initiative​

66.27 or a designee;​

66.28 (3) the chief district public defender in the district that will be served by the local​

66.29 restorative justice program or a designee;​

66​Article 3 Sec. 3.​

HOUSE RESEARCH JD/RK H2890DE1​03/26/23 03:25 pm ​



67.1 (4) a representative from the children's unit of a county social services agency assigned​

67.2 to the area that will be served by the restorative practices initiative;​

67.3 (5) a representative from the local probation department or community corrections​

67.4 agency that works with youth in the area that will be served by the restorative practices​

67.5 initiative;​

67.6 (6) a representative from a local law enforcement agency that operates in the area that​

67.7 will be served by the restorative practices initiative;​

67.8 (7) a school administrator or designee from a school or schools that operate in the area​

67.9 that will be served by the restorative practices initiative;​

67.10 (8) multiple community members that reflect the racial, socioeconomic, and other​

67.11 diversity of the population of a county that will be served by the local restorative justice​

67.12 program and the individuals most frequently involved in the truancy, juvenile offender, and​

67.13 juvenile safety and placement systems;​

67.14 (9) restorative practitioners, including restorative practitioners from within the community​

67.15 if available and, if not, from nearby communities;​

67.16 (10) parents, youth, and justice-impacted participants; and​

67.17 (11) at least one representative from a victims advocacy group.​

67.18 (b) Community members described in paragraph (a), clause (8), must make up at least​

67.19 one-third of the restorative practices advisory committee.​

67.20 (c) Community members, parents, youth, and justice-impacted participants participating​

67.21 in the advisory committee may receive a per diem from grant funds in the amount determined​

67.22 by the General Services Administration.​

67.23 (d) The restorative practices advisory committees must utilize restorative practices in​

67.24 their decision-making process and come to consensus when developing, expanding, and​

67.25 maintaining restorative practices criteria and referral processes for their communities.​

67.26 (e) Restorative practices advisory committees shall be responsible for establishing​

67.27 eligibility requirements for referrals to the local restorative practices initiative. Once​

67.28 restorative practices criteria and referral processes are developed, children, families, and​

67.29 cases, depending upon the point of prevention or intervention, must be referred to the local​

67.30 restorative practices initiatives or programs that serve the county, local community, or Tribal​

67.31 community where the child and family reside.​

67.32 (f) Referrals may be made under circumstances including, but not limited to:​
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68.1 (1) as an alternative to arrest as outlined in section 260B.1755;​

68.2 (2) for a juvenile petty offense;​

68.3 (3) for a juvenile traffic offense;​

68.4 (4) for a juvenile delinquency offense, including before and after a delinquency petition​

68.5 has been filed;​

68.6 (5) for a child protection case, including before and after adjudication;​

68.7 (6) for a children's mental health case;​

68.8 (7) for a juvenile status offense, including but not limited to truancy or running away;​

68.9 (8) for substance use issues;​

68.10 (9) for situations involving transition to or from the community; and​

68.11 (10) through self-referral.​

68.12 Subd. 8. Oversight of restorative practices advisory committees. (a) Complaints by​

68.13 restorative practices advisory committee members, community members, restorative practices​

68.14 initiatives, or restorative practices practitioners regarding concerns about grant recipients​

68.15 may be made to the Office of Restorative Practices.​

68.16 (b) The Office of Restorative Practices may prescribe the methods by which complaints​

68.17 to the office are to be made, reviewed, and acted upon.​

68.18 (c) The Office of Restorative Practices shall establish and use a restorative process to​

68.19 respond to complaints so that grant recipients are being held to their agreed upon​

68.20 responsibilities and continue to meet the minimum eligibility requirements for grants to​

68.21 local restorative practices initiatives for the duration of the grant.​

68.22 Subd. 9. Report. By February 15 of each year, the director shall report to the chairs and​

68.23 ranking minority members of the legislative committees and divisions with jurisdiction over​

68.24 public safety, human services, and education, on the work of the Office of Restorative​

68.25 Practices, any grants issued pursuant to this section, and the status of local restorative​

68.26 practices initiatives in the state that were reviewed in the previous year.​

68.27 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 297I.06, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

68.28 Subdivision 1. Insurance policies surcharge. (a) Except as otherwise provided in​

68.29 subdivision 2, each licensed insurer engaged in writing policies of homeowner's insurance​

68.30 authorized in section 60A.06, subdivision 1, clause (1)(c), or commercial fire policies or​

68.31 commercial nonliability policies shall collect a surcharge as provided in this paragraph.​
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69.1 Through June 30, 2013, The surcharge is equal to 0.65 percent of the gross premiums and​

69.2 assessments, less return premiums, on direct business received by the company, or by its​

69.3 agents for it, for homeowner's insurance policies, commercial fire policies, and commercial​

69.4 nonliability insurance policies in this state. Beginning July 1, 2013, the surcharge is 0.5​

69.5 percent.​

69.6 (b) The surcharge amount collected under paragraph (a) or subdivision 2, paragraph (b),​

69.7 may not be considered premium for any other purpose. The surcharge amount under​

69.8 paragraph (a) must be separately stated on either a billing or policy declaration or document​

69.9 containing similar information sent to an insured.​

69.10 (c) Amounts collected by the commissioner under this section must be deposited in the​

69.11 fire safety account established pursuant to subdivision 3.​

69.12 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 299A.38, is amended to read:​

69.13 299A.38 SOFT BODY ARMOR REIMBURSEMENT.​

69.14 Subdivision 1. Definitions. As used in this section:​

69.15 (a) (1) "commissioner" means the commissioner of public safety.;​

69.16 (2) "firefighter" means a volunteer, paid on-call, part-time, or career firefighter serving​

69.17 a general population within the boundaries of the state;​

69.18 (b) (3) "peace officer" means a person who is licensed under section 626.84, subdivision​

69.19 1, paragraph (c).;​

69.20 (3) "public safety officer" means a firefighter or qualified emergency medical service​

69.21 provider;​

69.22 (4) "qualified emergency medical service provider" means a person certified under​

69.23 section 144E.101 who is actively employed by a Minnesota licensed ambulance service;​

69.24 and​

69.25 (c) (5) "vest" means bullet-resistant soft body armor that is flexible, concealable, and​

69.26 custom fitted to the peace officer to provide ballistic and trauma protection.​

69.27 Subd. 2. State and local reimbursement. Peace officers and heads of local law​

69.28 enforcement agencies and public safety officers and heads of agencies and entities who buy​

69.29 vests for the use of peace officer employees, public safety officer employees, or both may​

69.30 apply to the commissioner for reimbursement of funds spent to buy vests. On approving an​

69.31 application for reimbursement, the commissioner shall pay the applicant an amount equal​

69.32 to the lesser of one-half of the vest's purchase price or $600, as adjusted according to​
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70.1 subdivision 2a. The political subdivision, agency, or entity that employs the peace officer​

70.2 or public safety officer shall pay at least the lesser of one-half of the vest's purchase price​

70.3 or $600, as adjusted according to subdivision 2a. The political subdivision, agency, or entity​

70.4 may not deduct or pay its share of the vest's cost from any clothing, maintenance, or similar​

70.5 allowance otherwise provided to the peace officer by the law enforcement agency or public​

70.6 safety officer by the employing agency or entity.​

70.7 Subd. 2a. Adjustment of reimbursement amount. On October 1, 2006, the​

70.8 commissioner of public safety shall adjust the $600 reimbursement amounts specified in​

70.9 subdivision 2, and in each subsequent year, on October 1, the commissioner shall adjust the​

70.10 reimbursement amount applicable immediately preceding that October 1 date. The adjusted​

70.11 rate must reflect the annual percentage change in the Consumer Price Index for all urban​

70.12 consumers, published by the federal Bureau of Labor Statistics, occurring in the one-year​

70.13 period ending on the preceding June 1.​

70.14 Subd. 3. Eligibility requirements. (a) Only vests that either meet or exceed the​

70.15 requirements of standard 0101.03 of the National Institute of Justice or that meet or exceed​

70.16 the requirements of that standard, except wet armor conditioning, are eligible for​

70.17 reimbursement.​

70.18 (b) Eligibility for reimbursement is limited to vests bought after December 31, 1986, by​

70.19 or for peace officers (1) who did not own a vest meeting the requirements of paragraph (a)​

70.20 before the purchase, or (2) who owned a vest that was at least five years old.​

70.21 (c) The requirement set forth in paragraph (b), clauses (1) and (2), shall not apply to any​

70.22 peace officer who purchases a vest constructed from a zylon-based material, provided that​

70.23 the peace officer provides proof of purchase or possession of the vest prior to July 1, 2005.​

70.24 Subd. 4. Rules. The commissioner may adopt rules under chapter 14 to administer this​

70.25 section.​

70.26 Subd. 5. Limitation of liability. A state agency, political subdivision of the state, or​

70.27 state or local government employee, or other entity that provides reimbursement for purchase​

70.28 of a vest under this section is not liable to a peace officer or the peace officer's heirs or a​

70.29 public safety officer or the public safety officer's heirs for negligence in the death of or​

70.30 injury to the peace officer because the vest was defective or deficient.​

70.31 Subd. 6. Right to benefits unaffected. A peace officer or public safety officer who is​

70.32 reimbursed for the purchase of a vest under this section and who suffers injury or death​

70.33 because the officer failed to wear the vest, or because the officer wore a vest that was​
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71.1 defective or deficient, may not lose or be denied a benefit or right, including a benefit under​

71.2 section 299A.44, to which the officer, or the officer's heirs, is otherwise entitled.​

71.3 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 299A.41, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

71.4 Subd. 3. Killed in the line of duty. "Killed in the line of duty" does not include deaths​

71.5 from natural causes, except as provided in this subdivision. In the case of a public safety​

71.6 officer, killed in the line of duty includes the death of a public safety officer caused by​

71.7 accidental means while the public safety officer is acting in the course and scope of duties​

71.8 as a public safety officer. Killed in the line of duty also means if a public safety officer dies​

71.9 as the direct and proximate result of a heart attack, stroke, or vascular rupture, that officer​

71.10 shall be presumed to have died as the direct and proximate result of a personal injury​

71.11 sustained in the line of duty if:​

71.12 (1) that officer, while on duty:​

71.13 (i) engaged in a situation, and that engagement involved nonroutine stressful or strenuous​

71.14 physical law enforcement, fire suppression, rescue, hazardous material response, emergency​

71.15 medical services, prison security, disaster relief, or other emergency response activity; or​

71.16 (ii) participated in a training exercise, and that participation involved nonroutine stressful​

71.17 or strenuous physical activity;​

71.18 (2) that officer died as a result of a heart attack, stroke, or vascular rupture suffered:​

71.19 (i) while engaging or participating under clause (1);​

71.20 (ii) while still on duty after engaging or participating under clause (1); or​

71.21 (iii) not later than 24 hours after engaging or participating under clause (1); and​

71.22 (3) that officer died as a result of a disabling cancer of a type caused by exposure to​

71.23 heat, radiation, or a known or suspected carcinogen, as defined by the International Agency​

71.24 for Research on Cancer, and the carcinogen is reasonably linked to the disabling cancer;​

71.25 (4) that officer died due to suicide secondary to a diagnosis of post-traumatic stress​

71.26 disorder as described in the most recent edition of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of​

71.27 Mental Disorders published by the American Psychiatric Association;​

71.28 (5) within 45 days of the end of exposure, while on duty, to a traumatic event. As used​

71.29 in this section, "traumatic event" means an officer exposed to an event that is:​
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72.1 (i) a homicide, suicide, or the violent or gruesome death of another individual, including​

72.2 but not limited to a death resulting from a mass casualty event, mass fatality event, or mass​

72.3 shooting;​

72.4 (ii) a harrowing circumstance posing an extraordinary and significant danger or threat​

72.5 to the life of or of serious bodily harm to any individual, including but not limited to a death​

72.6 resulting from a mass casualty event, mass fatality event, or mass shooting; or​

72.7 (iii) an act of criminal sexual violence committed against any individual; and​

72.8 (3) (6) the presumption is not overcome by competent medical evidence to the contrary.​

72.9 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 299A.85, subdivision 6, is amended to read:​

72.10 Subd. 6. Reports. The office must report on measurable outcomes achieved to meet its​

72.11 statutory duties, along with specific objectives and outcome measures proposed for the​

72.12 following year. The report must include data and statistics on missing and murdered​

72.13 Indigenous women, children, and Two-Spirit relatives in Minnesota, including names, dates​

72.14 of disappearance, and dates of death, to the extent the data is publicly available. The report​

72.15 must also identify and describe the work of any reward advisory group and itemize the​

72.16 expenditures of the Gaagige-Mikwendaagoziwag reward account, if any. The office must​

72.17 submit the report by January 15 each year to the chairs and ranking minority members of​

72.18 the legislative committees with primary jurisdiction over public safety.​

72.19 Sec. 8. [299A.90] OFFICE FOR MISSING AND MURDERED BLACK WOMEN​

72.20 AND GIRLS.​

72.21 Subdivision 1. Establishment. The commissioner shall establish and maintain an office​

72.22 dedicated to preventing and ending the targeting of Black women and girls within the​

72.23 Minnesota Office of Justice Programs.​

72.24 Subd. 2. Director; staff. (a) The commissioner must appoint a director who is a person​

72.25 closely connected to the Black community and who is highly knowledgeable about criminal​

72.26 investigations. The commissioner is encouraged to consider candidates for appointment​

72.27 who are recommended by members of the Black community.​

72.28 (b) The director may select, appoint, and compensate out of available funds assistants​

72.29 and employees as necessary to discharge the office's responsibilities.​

72.30 (c) The director and full-time staff shall be members of the Minnesota State Retirement​

72.31 Association.​
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73.1 Subd. 3. Duties. (a) The office has the following duties:​

73.2 (1) advocate in the legislature for legislation that will facilitate the accomplishment of​

73.3 mandates identified in the report of the Task Force on Missing and Murdered African​

73.4 American Women;​

73.5 (2) advocate for state agencies to take actions to facilitate the accomplishment of mandates​

73.6 identified in the report of the Task Force on Missing and Murdered African American​

73.7 Women;​

73.8 (3) develop recommendations for legislative and agency actions to address injustice in​

73.9 the criminal justice system's response to cases of missing and murdered Black women and​

73.10 girls;​

73.11 (4) facilitate research to refine the mandates in the report of the Task Force on Missing​

73.12 and Murdered African American Women and to assess the potential efficacy, feasibility,​

73.13 and impact of the recommendations;​

73.14 (5) collect data on missing person and homicide cases involving Black women and girls,​

73.15 including the total number of cases, the rate at which the cases are solved, the length of time​

73.16 the cases remain open, and a comparison to similar cases involving different demographic​

73.17 groups;​

73.18 (6) collect data on Amber Alerts, including the total number of Amber Alerts issued,​

73.19 the total number of Amber Alerts that involve Black girls, and the outcome of cases involving​

73.20 Amber Alerts disaggregated by the child's race and sex;​

73.21 (7) collect data on reports of missing Black girls, including the number classified as​

73.22 voluntary runaways, and a comparison to similar cases involving different demographic​

73.23 groups;​

73.24 (8) analyze and assess the intersection between cases involving missing and murdered​

73.25 Black women and girls and labor trafficking and sex trafficking;​

73.26 (9) develop recommendations for legislative, agency, and community actions to address​

73.27 the intersection between cases involving missing and murdered Black women and girls and​

73.28 labor trafficking and sex trafficking;​

73.29 (10) analyze and assess the intersection between cases involving murdered Black women​

73.30 and girls and domestic violence, including prior instances of domestic violence within the​

73.31 family or relationship, whether an offender had prior convictions for domestic assault or​

73.32 related offenses, and whether the offender used a firearm in the murder or any prior instances​

73.33 of domestic assault;​
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74.1 (11) develop recommendations for legislative, agency, and community actions to address​

74.2 the intersection between cases involving murdered Black women and girls and domestic​

74.3 violence;​

74.4 (12) develop tools and processes to evaluate the implementation and impact of the efforts​

74.5 of the office;​

74.6 (13) track and collect Minnesota data on missing and murdered Black women and girls,​

74.7 and provide statistics upon public or legislative inquiry;​

74.8 (14) facilitate technical assistance for local and Tribal law enforcement agencies during​

74.9 active cases involving missing and murdered Black women and girls;​

74.10 (15) conduct case reviews and report on the results of case reviews for the following​

74.11 types of cases involving missing and murdered Black women and girls: cold cases for​

74.12 missing Black women and girls and death investigation review for cases of Black women​

74.13 and girls ruled as suicide or overdose under suspicious circumstances;​

74.14 (16) conduct case reviews of the prosecution and sentencing for cases where a perpetrator​

74.15 committed a violent or exploitative crime against a Black woman or girl. These case reviews​

74.16 must identify those cases where the perpetrator is a repeat offender;​

74.17 (17) prepare draft legislation as necessary to allow the office access to the data necessary​

74.18 for the office to conduct the reviews required in this section and advocate for passage of​

74.19 that legislation;​

74.20 (18) review sentencing guidelines for crimes related to missing and murdered Black​

74.21 women and girls, recommend changes if needed, and advocate for consistent implementation​

74.22 of the guidelines across Minnesota courts;​

74.23 (19) develop and maintain communication with relevant divisions in the Department of​

74.24 Public Safety, including but not limited to the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension, regarding​

74.25 any cases involving missing and murdered Black women and girls and on procedures for​

74.26 investigating cases involving missing and murdered Black women and girls;​

74.27 (20) consult with the Council for Minnesotans of African Heritage established in section​

74.28 15.0145; and​

74.29 (21) coordinate, as relevant, with federal efforts, and efforts in neighboring states and​

74.30 Canada.​

74.31 (b) As used in this subdivision:​

74.32 (1) "labor trafficking" has the meaning given in section 609.281, subdivision 5; and​
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75.1 (2) "sex trafficking" has the meaning given in section 609.321, subdivision 7a.​

75.2 Subd. 4. Coordination with other organizations. In fulfilling its duties, the office may​

75.3 coordinate, as useful, with stakeholder groups that were represented on the Task Force on​

75.4 Missing and Murdered African American Women and state agencies that are responsible​

75.5 for the systems that play a role in investigating, prosecuting, and adjudicating cases involving​

75.6 violence committed against Black women and girls; those who have a role in supporting or​

75.7 advocating for missing or murdered Black women and girls and the people who seek justice​

75.8 for them; and those who represent the interests of Black people. This includes the following​

75.9 entities: Minnesota Chiefs of Police Association; Minnesota Sheriffs' Association; Bureau​

75.10 of Criminal Apprehension; Minnesota Police and Peace Officers Association; Tribal law​

75.11 enforcement; Minnesota County Attorneys Association; United States Attorney's Office;​

75.12 juvenile courts; Minnesota Coroners' and Medical Examiners' Association; United States​

75.13 Coast Guard; state agencies, including the Departments of Health, Human Services,​

75.14 Education, Corrections, and Public Safety; service providers who offer legal services,​

75.15 advocacy, and other services to Black women and girls; Black women and girls who are​

75.16 survivors; and organizations and leadership from urban and statewide Black communities.​

75.17 Subd. 5. Reports. The office must report on measurable outcomes achieved to meet its​

75.18 statutory duties, along with specific objectives and outcome measures proposed for the​

75.19 following year. The report must include data and statistics on missing and murdered Black​

75.20 women and girls in Minnesota, including names, dates of disappearance, and dates of death,​

75.21 to the extent the data is publicly available. The office must submit the report by January 15​

75.22 each year to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with​

75.23 primary jurisdiction over public safety.​

75.24 Subd. 6. Acceptance of gifts and receipt of grants. (a) A missing and murdered Black​

75.25 women and girls account is established in the special revenue fund. Money in the account,​

75.26 including interest earned, is appropriated to the office for the purposes of carrying out the​

75.27 office's duties, including but not limited to issuing grants to community-based organizations.​

75.28 (b) Notwithstanding sections 16A.013 to 16A.016, the office may accept funds​

75.29 contributed by individuals and may apply for and receive grants from public and private​

75.30 entities. The funds accepted or received under this subdivision must be deposited in the​

75.31 missing and murdered Black women and girls account created under paragraph (a).​

75.32 Subd. 7. Grants to organizations. (a) The office shall issue grants to community-based​

75.33 organizations that provide services designed to prevent or end the targeting of Black women​

75.34 or girls, or to provide assistance to victims of offenses that targeted Black women or girls.​
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76.1 (b) Grant recipients must use money to:​

76.2 (1) provide services designed to reduce or prevent crimes or other negative behaviors​

76.3 that target Black women or girls;​

76.4 (2) provide training to the community about how to handle situations and crimes involving​

76.5 the targeting of Black women and girls, including but not limited to training for law​

76.6 enforcement officers, county attorneys, city attorneys, judges, and other criminal justice​

76.7 partners; or​

76.8 (3) provide services to Black women and girls who are victims of crimes or other offenses,​

76.9 or to the family members of missing and murdered Black women and girls.​

76.10 (c) Applicants must apply in a form and manner established by the office.​

76.11 (d) Grant recipients must provide an annual report to the office that includes:​

76.12 (1) the services provided by the grant recipient;​

76.13 (2) the number of individuals served in the previous year; and​

76.14 (3) any other information required by the office.​

76.15 (e) On or before February 1 of each year, the office shall report to the legislative​

76.16 committees and divisions with jurisdiction over public safety on the work of grant recipients,​

76.17 including a description of the number of entities awarded grants, the amount of those grants,​

76.18 and the number of individuals served by the grantees.​

76.19 (f) The office may enter into agreements with the Office of Justice Programs for the​

76.20 administration of grants issued under this subdivision.​

76.21 Subd. 8. Access to data. Notwithstanding section 13.384 or 13.85, the director has access​

76.22 to corrections and detention data and medical data maintained by an agency and classified​

76.23 as private data on individuals or confidential data on individuals to the extent the data is​

76.24 necessary for the office to perform its duties under this section.​

76.25 Sec. 9. [299C.055] LEGISLATIVE REPORT ON FUSION CENTER ACTIVITIES.​

76.26 (a) The superintendent must prepare an annual report for the public and the legislature​

76.27 on the Minnesota Fusion Center (MNFC) that includes general information about the MNFC;​

76.28 the types of activities it monitors; the scale of information it collects; the local, state, and​

76.29 federal agencies with which it shares information; and the quantifiable benefits it produces.​

76.30 None of the reporting requirements in this section supersede chapter 13 or any other state​

76.31 or federal law. The superintendent must report on activities for the preceding calendar year​
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77.1 unless another time period is specified. The report must include the following information,​

77.2 to the extent allowed by other law:​

77.3 (1) the MNFC's operating budget for the current biennium, number of staff, and staff​

77.4 duties;​

77.5 (2) the number of publications generated and an overview of the type of information​

77.6 provided in the publications, including products such as law enforcement briefs, partner​

77.7 briefs, risk assessments, threat assessments, and operational reports;​

77.8 (3) a summary of audit findings for the MNFC and what corrective actions were taken​

77.9 pursuant to audits;​

77.10 (4) the number of data requests received by the MNFC and a general description of those​

77.11 requests;​

77.12 (5) the types of surveillance and data analysis technologies utilized by the MNFC, such​

77.13 as artificial intelligence or social media analysis tools;​

77.14 (6) a description of the commercial and governmental databases utilized by the MNFC​

77.15 to the extent permitted by law;​

77.16 (7) the number of suspicious activity reports (SARs) received and processed by the​

77.17 MNFC;​

77.18 (8) the number of SARs received and processed by the MNFC that were converted into​

77.19 Bureau of Criminal Apprehension case files, that were referred to the Federal Bureau of​

77.20 Investigation, or that were referred to local law enforcement agencies;​

77.21 (9) the number of SARs received and processed by the MNFC that involve an individual​

77.22 on the Terrorist Screening Center watchlist;​

77.23 (10) the number of requests for information (RFIs) that the MNFC received from law​

77.24 enforcement agencies and the number of responses to federal requests for RFIs;​

77.25 (11) the names of the federal agencies the MNFC received data from or shared data​

77.26 with;​

77.27 (12) the names of the agencies that submitted SARs;​

77.28 (13) a summary description of the MNFC's activities with the Joint Terrorism Task​

77.29 Force; and​

77.30 (14) the number of investigations aided by the MNFC's use of SARs and RFIs.​
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78.1 (b) The agency must use existing appropriations to fund preparation of reports required​

78.2 under this section.​

78.3 (c) The report shall be provided to the chairs and ranking minority members of the​

78.4 committees of the house of representatives and senate with jurisdiction over data practices​

78.5 and public safety issues, and shall be posted on the MNFC website by February 15 each​

78.6 year beginning on February 15, 2024.​

78.7 Sec. 10. [299C.061] STATE FRAUD UNIT.​

78.8 Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) As used in this section, the following terms have the​

78.9 meanings provided.​

78.10 (1) "Fraud" includes any violation of sections 609.466, 609.611, 609.651, 609.7475, or​

78.11 609.821.​

78.12 (2) "Peace officer" has the meaning given in section 626.84, subdivision 1, paragraph​

78.13 (c).​

78.14 (3) "State agency" has the meaning given in section 13.02, subdivision 17.​

78.15 (4) "Superintendent" means the superintendent of the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension.​

78.16 (5) "Unit" means the State Fraud Unit housed at the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension.​

78.17 Subd. 2. State Fraud Unit. The superintendent shall form a State Fraud Unit within the​

78.18 Bureau of Criminal Apprehension to conduct investigations into fraud involving state-funded​

78.19 programs or services subject to availability of funds.​

78.20 Subd. 3. Mandatory referral; duty to investigate. A state agency shall refer all​

78.21 suspected fraudulent activity under the provisions noted within subdivision 1, clause (1),​

78.22 equaling $100,000 or more, to the unit for evaluation and investigation or appropriate​

78.23 referral. Upon receipt of this referral, the unit shall review and, where appropriate, conduct​

78.24 criminal investigations into such allegations. The unit has sole discretion as to which​

78.25 allegations are investigated further, referred back to the reporting agency for appropriate​

78.26 regulatory investigation, or referred to another law enforcement agency with appropriate​

78.27 jurisdiction.​

78.28 Subd. 4. Discretionary referral. (a) A state agency may refer suspected fraudulent​

78.29 activity related to any state-funded programs or services equaling less than $100,000 to the​

78.30 unit for investigation. Upon referral, the unit shall:​

78.31 (1) accept the referral and, where appropriate, conduct criminal investigations into the​

78.32 allegations and make appropriate referrals for criminal prosecution; or​
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79.1 (2) redirect the referral to another appropriate law enforcement agency or civil​

79.2 investigative authority, offering assistance where appropriate.​

79.3 Subd. 5. State agency reporting. By January 15 of each year, each state agency must​

79.4 report all suspected fraudulent activities equaling $10,000 or more to the unit to be​

79.5 summarized in the report under subdivision 6.​

79.6 Subd. 6. State Fraud Unit annual report. By February 1 of each odd-numbered year,​

79.7 the superintendent shall report to the commissioner, the governor, and the chairs and ranking​

79.8 minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over public safety finance​

79.9 and policy the following information about the unit:​

79.10 (1) the number of investigations initiated;​

79.11 (2) the number of allegations investigated;​

79.12 (3) the outcomes or current status of each investigation;​

79.13 (4) the charging decisions made by the prosecuting authority of incidents investigated​

79.14 by the unit;​

79.15 (5) the number of plea agreements reached in incidents investigated by the unit;​

79.16 (6) the number of reports received under subdivision 5; and​

79.17 (7) any other information relevant to the unit's mission.​

79.18 EFFECTIVE DATE. Subdivisions 1, 3, 5, and 6 are effective July 1, 2023. Subdivisions​

79.19 3 and 4 are effective January 1, 2024.​

79.20 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 299C.106, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

79.21 Subd. 3. Submission and storage of sexual assault examination kits. (a) Within 60​

79.22 days of receiving an unrestricted sexual assault examination kit, a law enforcement agency​

79.23 shall submit the kit for testing to a forensic laboratory. The testing laboratory shall return​

79.24 unrestricted sexual assault examination kits to the submitting agency for storage after testing​

79.25 is complete. The submitting agency must store unrestricted sexual assault examination kits​

79.26 indefinitely.​

79.27 (b) Within 60 days of a hospital preparing a restricted sexual assault examination kit or​

79.28 a law enforcement agency receiving a restricted sexual assault examination kit from a​

79.29 hospital, the hospital or the agency shall submit the kit to the Bureau of Criminal​

79.30 Apprehension a forensic laboratory. The bureau laboratory shall store all restricted sexual​

79.31 assault examination kits collected by hospitals or law enforcement agencies in the state.​
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80.1 The bureau laboratory shall retain a restricted sexual assault examination kit for at least 30​

80.2 months from the date the bureau laboratory receives the kit.​

80.3 (c) The receiving forensic laboratory must test the sexual assault examination kit within​

80.4 90 days of receipt from a hospital or law enforcement agency. Upon completion of testing,​

80.5 the forensic laboratory will update the kit-tracking database to indicate that testing is​

80.6 complete. The forensic laboratory must notify the submitting agency when any kit testing​

80.7 does not meet the 90-day deadline and provide an estimated time frame for testing​

80.8 completion.​

80.9 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 299C.53, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

80.10 Subd. 3. Missing and endangered persons. The Bureau of Criminal Apprehension​

80.11 must operate a missing person alert program. If the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension​

80.12 receives a report from a law enforcement agency indicating that a person is missing and​

80.13 endangered, the superintendent must originate an alert. The superintendent may assist the​

80.14 law enforcement agency in conducting the preliminary investigation, offer resources, and​

80.15 assist the agency in helping implement the investigation policy with particular attention to​

80.16 the need for immediate action. The law enforcement agency shall promptly notify all​

80.17 appropriate law enforcement agencies in the state and is required to issue a missing person​

80.18 alert utilizing the Crime Alert Network as prescribed in section 299A.61 and, if deemed​

80.19 appropriate, law enforcement agencies in adjacent states or jurisdictions of any information​

80.20 that may aid in the prompt location and safe return of a missing and endangered person.​

80.21 The superintendent shall provide guidance on issuing alerts using this system and provide​

80.22 the system for law enforcement agencies to issue these alerts. The Bureau of Criminal​

80.23 Apprehension may provide assistance to agencies in issuing missing person alerts as required​

80.24 by this section.​

80.25 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 299F.46, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

80.26 Subdivision 1. Hotel inspection. (a) It shall be the duty of the commissioner of public​

80.27 safety to inspect, or cause to be inspected, at least once every three years, every hotel in​

80.28 this state; and, for that purpose, the commissioner, or the commissioner's deputies or​

80.29 designated alternates or agents, shall have the right to enter or have access thereto at any​

80.30 reasonable hour; and, when, upon such inspection, it shall be found that the hotel so inspected​

80.31 does not conform to or is not being operated in accordance with the provisions of sections​

80.32 157.011 and 157.15 to 157.22, in so far as the same relate to fire prevention or fire protection​

80.33 of hotels, or the rules promulgated thereunder, or is being maintained or operated in such​
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81.1 manner as to violate the Minnesota State Fire Code promulgated pursuant to section 326B.02,​

81.2 subdivision 6, 299F.51, or any other law of this state relating to fire prevention and fire​

81.3 protection of hotels, the commissioner and the deputies or designated alternates or agents​

81.4 shall report such a situation to the hotel inspector who shall proceed as provided for in​

81.5 chapter 157.​

81.6 (b) The word "hotel", as used in this subdivision, has the meaning given in section​

81.7 299F.391.​

81.8 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 299F.50, is amended by adding a subdivision​

81.9 to read:​

81.10 Subd. 11. Hotel. "Hotel" means any building, or portion thereof, containing six or more​

81.11 guest rooms intended or designed to be used, or which are used, rented, or hired out to be​

81.12 occupied, or which are occupied for sleeping purposes by guests.​

81.13 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 299F.50, is amended by adding a subdivision​

81.14 to read:​

81.15 Subd. 12. Lodging house. "Lodging house" means any building, or portion thereof,​

81.16 containing not more than five guest rooms which are used or are intended to be used for​

81.17 sleeping purposes by guests and where rent is paid in money, goods, labor, or otherwise.​

81.18 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 299F.51, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

81.19 Subdivision 1. Generally. (a) Every single family single-family dwelling and every​

81.20 dwelling unit in a multifamily dwelling must have an approved and operational carbon​

81.21 monoxide alarm installed within ten feet of each room lawfully used for sleeping purposes.​

81.22 (b) Every guest room in a hotel or lodging house must have an approved and operational​

81.23 carbon monoxide alarm installed in each room lawfully used for sleeping purposes.​

81.24 Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 299F.51, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

81.25 Subd. 2. Owner's duties. (a) The owner of a multifamily dwelling unit which is required​

81.26 to be equipped with one or more approved carbon monoxide alarms must:​

81.27 (1) provide and install one approved and operational carbon monoxide alarm within ten​

81.28 feet of each room lawfully used for sleeping; and​

81.29 (2) replace any required carbon monoxide alarm that has been stolen, removed, found​

81.30 missing, or rendered inoperable during a prior occupancy of the dwelling unit and which​
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82.1 has not been replaced by the prior occupant prior to the commencement of a new occupancy​

82.2 of a dwelling unit.​

82.3 (b) The owner of a hotel or lodging house which is required to be equipped with one or​

82.4 more approved carbon monoxide alarms must:​

82.5 (1) provide and install one approved and operational carbon monoxide alarm in each​

82.6 room lawfully used for sleeping; and​

82.7 (2) replace any required carbon monoxide alarm that has been stolen, removed, found​

82.8 missing, or rendered inoperable during a prior occupancy and which has not been replaced​

82.9 by the prior occupant prior to the commencement of a new occupancy of a hotel guest room​

82.10 or lodging house.​

82.11 Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 299F.51, subdivision 5, is amended to read:​

82.12 Subd. 5. Exceptions; certain multifamily dwellings and state-operated facilities. (a)​

82.13 In lieu of requirements of subdivision 1, multifamily dwellings may have approved and​

82.14 operational carbon monoxide alarms detectors installed between 15 and 25 feet of carbon​

82.15 monoxide-producing central fixtures and equipment, provided there is a centralized alarm​

82.16 system or other mechanism for responsible parties to hear the alarm at all times.​

82.17 (b) An owner of a multifamily dwelling that contains minimal or no sources of carbon​

82.18 monoxide may be exempted from the requirements of subdivision 1, provided that such​

82.19 owner certifies to the commissioner of public safety that such multifamily dwelling poses​

82.20 no foreseeable carbon monoxide risk to the health and safety of the dwelling units.​

82.21 (c) The requirements of this section do not apply to facilities owned or operated by the​

82.22 state of Minnesota.​

82.23 Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 299F.51, is amended by adding a subdivision​

82.24 to read:​

82.25 Subd. 6. Safety warning. A first violation of this section shall not result in a penalty,​

82.26 but is punishable by a safety warning. A second or subsequent violation is a petty​

82.27 misdemeanor.​

82.28 Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 299M.10, is amended to read:​

82.29 299M.10 MONEY CREDITED TO GENERAL FUND.​

82.30 The fees and penalties collected under this chapter, except as provided in section​

82.31 299M.07, must be deposited in the state treasury and credited to the general fund. Money​
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83.1 received by the State Fire Marshal Division in the form of gifts, grants, reimbursements, or​

83.2 appropriation from any source for the administration of this chapter must also be deposited​

83.3 in the state treasury and credited to the general fund. state fire marshal account, which is​

83.4 established in the special revenue fund. Money in the state fire marshal account is annually​

83.5 appropriated to the commissioner of public safety to administer the programs under this​

83.6 chapter.​

83.7 Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 326.32, subdivision 10, is amended to read:​

83.8 Subd. 10. License holder. "License holder" means any individual, partnership as defined​

83.9 in section 323A.0101, clause (8), or corporation licensed to perform the duties of a private​

83.10 detective or a protective agent.​

83.11 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

83.12 Sec. 22. [604.32] CAUSE OF ACTION FOR NONCONSENSUAL DISSEMINATION​

83.13 OF A DEEP FAKE DEPICTING INTIMATE PARTS OR SEXUAL ACTS.​

83.14 Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) As used in this section, the following terms have the​

83.15 meanings given.​

83.16 (b) "Deep fake" means any video recording, motion-picture film, sound recording,​

83.17 electronic image, or photograph, or any technological representation of speech or conduct​

83.18 substantially derivative thereof:​

83.19 (1) which appears to authentically depict any speech or conduct of an individual who​

83.20 did not in fact engage in such speech or conduct; and​

83.21 (2) the production of which was substantially dependent upon technical means, rather​

83.22 than the ability of another individual to physically or verbally impersonate such individual.​

83.23 (c) "Depicted individual" means an individual in a deep fake who appears to be engaging​

83.24 in speech or conduct in which the individual did not engage.​

83.25 (d) "Intimate parts" means the genitals, pubic area, partially or fully exposed nipple, or​

83.26 anus of an individual.​

83.27 (e) "Personal information" means any identifier that permits communication or in-person​

83.28 contact with a person, including:​

83.29 (1) a person's first and last name, first initial and last name, first name and last initial,​

83.30 or nickname;​

83.31 (2) a person's home, school, or work address;​
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84.1 (3) a person's telephone number, email address, or social media account information; or​

84.2 (4) a person's geolocation data.​

84.3 (f) "Sexual act" means either sexual contact or sexual penetration.​

84.4 (g) "Sexual contact" means the intentional touching of intimate parts or intentional​

84.5 touching with seminal fluid or sperm onto another person's body.​

84.6 (h) "Sexual penetration" means any of the following acts:​

84.7 (1) sexual intercourse, cunnilingus, fellatio, or anal intercourse; or​

84.8 (2) any intrusion, however slight, into the genital or anal openings of an individual by​

84.9 another's body part or an object used by another for this purpose.​

84.10 Subd. 2. Nonconsensual dissemination of a deep fake. (a) A cause of action against a​

84.11 person for the nonconsensual dissemination of a deep fake exists when:​

84.12 (1) a person disseminated a deep fake without the consent of the depicted individual;​

84.13 (2) the deep fake realistically depicts any of the following:​

84.14 (i) the intimate parts of another individual presented as the intimate parts of the depicted​

84.15 individual;​

84.16 (ii) artificially generated intimate parts presented as the intimate parts of the depicted​

84.17 individual; or​

84.18 (iii) the depicted individual engaging in a sexual act; and​

84.19 (3) the depicted individual is identifiable:​

84.20 (i) from the deep fake itself, by the depicted individual or by another person; or​

84.21 (ii) from the personal information displayed in connection with the deep fake.​

84.22 (b) The fact that the depicted individual consented to the creation of the deep fake or to​

84.23 the voluntary private transmission of the deep fake is not a defense to liability for a person​

84.24 who has disseminated the deep fake without consent.​

84.25 Subd. 3. Damages. The court may award the following damages to a prevailing plaintiff​

84.26 from a person found liable under subdivision 2:​

84.27 (1) general and special damages, including all finance losses due to the dissemination​

84.28 of the deep fake and damages for mental anguish;​

84.29 (2) an amount equal to any profit made from the dissemination of the deep fake by the​

84.30 person who intentionally disclosed the deep fake;​
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85.1 (3) a civil penalty awarded to the plaintiff of an amount up to $10,000; and​

85.2 (4) court costs, fees, and reasonable attorney fees.​

85.3 Subd. 4. Injunction; temporary relief. (a) A court may issue a temporary or permanent​

85.4 injunction or restraining order to prevent further harm to the plaintiff.​

85.5 (b) The court may issue a civil fine for the violation of a court order in an amount up to​

85.6 $1,000 per day for failure to comply with an order granted under this section.​

85.7 Subd. 5. Confidentiality. The court shall allow confidential filings to protect the privacy​

85.8 of the plaintiff in cases filed under this section.​

85.9 Subd. 6. Liability; exceptions. (a) No person shall be found liable under this section​

85.10 when:​

85.11 (1) the dissemination is made for the purpose of a criminal investigation or prosecution​

85.12 that is otherwise lawful;​

85.13 (2) the dissemination is for the purpose of, or in connection with, the reporting of unlawful​

85.14 conduct;​

85.15 (3) the dissemination is made in the course of seeking or receiving medical or mental​

85.16 health treatment, and the image is protected from further dissemination;​

85.17 (4) the deep fake was obtained in a commercial setting for the purpose of the legal sale​

85.18 of goods or services, including the creation of artistic products for sale or display, and the​

85.19 depicted individual knew that a deep fake would be created and disseminated in a commercial​

85.20 setting;​

85.21 (5) the deep fake relates to a matter of public interest and dissemination serves a lawful​

85.22 public purpose and the person disseminating the deep fake as a matter of public interest​

85.23 clearly identifies that the video recording, motion-picture film, sound recording, electronic​

85.24 image, or photograph, or other item is a deep fake, and acts in good faith to prevent further​

85.25 dissemination of the deep fake;​

85.26 (6) the dissemination is for legitimate scientific research or educational purposes and​

85.27 the deep fake is clearly identified as such, and the person acts in good faith to minimize the​

85.28 risk that the deep fake will be further disseminated; or​

85.29 (7) the dissemination is made for legal proceedings and is consistent with common​

85.30 practice in civil proceedings necessary for the proper functioning of the criminal justice​

85.31 system, or protected by court order which prohibits any further dissemination.​
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86.1 (b) This section does not alter or amend the liabilities and protections granted by United​

86.2 States Code, title 47, section 230, and shall be construed in a manner consistent with federal​

86.3 law.​

86.4 (c) A cause of action arising under this section does not prevent the use of any other​

86.5 cause of action or remedy available under the law.​

86.6 Subd. 7. Jurisdiction. A court has jurisdiction over a cause of action filed pursuant to​

86.7 this section if the plaintiff or defendant resides in this state.​

86.8 Subd. 8. Venue. A cause of action arising under this section may be filed in either:​

86.9 (1) the county of residence of the defendant or plaintiff or in the jurisdiction of the​

86.10 plaintiff's designated address if the plaintiff participates in the address confidentiality program​

86.11 established by chapter 5B; or​

86.12 (2) the county where any deep fake is produced, reproduced, or stored in violation of​

86.13 this section.​

86.14 Subd. 9. Discovery of dissemination. In a civil action brought under subdivision 2, the​

86.15 statute of limitations is tolled until the plaintiff discovers the deep fake has been disseminated.​

86.16 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to​

86.17 dissemination of a deep fake that takes place on or after that date.​

86.18 Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.35, is amended to read:​

86.19 609.35 COSTS OF MEDICAL EXAMINATION.​

86.20 (a) Costs incurred by a county, city, or private hospital or other emergency medical​

86.21 facility or by a private physician, sexual assault nurse examiner, forensic nurse, or other​

86.22 licensed health care provider for the examination of a victim of criminal sexual conduct​

86.23 when the examination is performed for the purpose of gathering evidence that occurred in​

86.24 the state shall be paid by the county in which the criminal sexual conduct occurred state.​

86.25 These costs include, but are not limited to, the full cost of the rape kit medical forensic​

86.26 examination, associated tests and treatments relating to the complainant's sexually transmitted​

86.27 disease status infection, and pregnancy status, including emergency contraception. A hospital,​

86.28 emergency medical facility, or health care provider shall submit the costs for examination​

86.29 and any associated tests and treatment to the Office of Justice Programs for payment. Upon​

86.30 receipt of the costs, the commissioner shall provide payment to the facility or health care​

86.31 provider. The cost of the examination and any associated test and treatments shall not exceed​
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87.1 the amount of $1,400. Beginning on January 1, 2024, the maximum amount of an award​

87.2 shall be adjusted annually by the inflation rate.​

87.3 (b) Nothing in this section shall be construed to limit the duties, responsibilities, or​

87.4 liabilities of any insurer, whether public or private. However, a county The hospital or other​

87.5 licensed health care provider performing the examination may seek insurance reimbursement​

87.6 from the victim's insurer only if authorized by the victim. This authorization may only be​

87.7 sought after the examination is performed. When seeking this authorization, the county​

87.8 hospital or other licensed health care provider shall inform the victim that if the victim does​

87.9 not authorize this, the county state is required by law to pay for the examination and that​

87.10 the victim is in no way liable for these costs or obligated to authorize the reimbursement.​

87.11 (c) The applicability of this section does not depend upon whether the victim reports​

87.12 the offense to law enforcement or the existence or status of any investigation or prosecution.​

87.13 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2023, and applies to any​

87.14 examination that occurs on or after that date.​

87.15 Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 611A.211, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

87.16 Subdivision 1. Grants. The commissioner of public safety shall award grants to programs​

87.17 which provide support services or emergency shelter and housing supports as defined by​

87.18 section 611A.31 to victims of sexual assault. The commissioner shall also award grants for​

87.19 training, technical assistance, and the development and implementation of education programs​

87.20 to increase public awareness of the causes of sexual assault, the solutions to preventing and​

87.21 ending sexual assault, and the problems faced by sexual assault victims.​

87.22 Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 611A.31, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

87.23 Subd. 2. Battered woman Domestic abuse victim. "Battered woman" "Domestic abuse​

87.24 victim" means a woman person who is being or has been victimized by domestic abuse as​

87.25 defined in section 518B.01, subdivision 2.​

87.26 Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 611A.31, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

87.27 Subd. 3. Emergency shelter services. "Emergency shelter services" include, but are​

87.28 not limited to, secure crisis shelters for battered women domestic abuse victims and housing​

87.29 networks for battered women domestic abuse victims.​
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88.1 Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 611A.31, is amended by adding a subdivision​

88.2 to read:​

88.3 Subd. 3a. Housing supports. "Housing supports" means services and supports used to​

88.4 enable victims to secure and maintain transitional and permanent housing placement. Housing​

88.5 supports include but are not limited to rental assistance and financial assistance to maintain​

88.6 housing stability. Transitional housing placements may take place in communal living,​

88.7 clustered site or scattered site programs, or other transitional housing models.​

88.8 Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 611A.32, is amended to read:​

88.9 611A.32 BATTERED WOMEN DOMESTIC ABUSE PROGRAMS.​

88.10 Subdivision 1. Grants awarded. The commissioner shall award grants to programs​

88.11 which provide emergency shelter services to battered women, housing supports, and support​

88.12 services to battered women and domestic abuse victims and their children. The commissioner​

88.13 shall also award grants for training, technical assistance, and for the development and​

88.14 implementation of education programs to increase public awareness of the causes of battering​

88.15 domestic abuse, the solutions to preventing and ending domestic violence, and the problems​

88.16 faced by battered women and domestic abuse victims. Grants shall be awarded in a manner​

88.17 that ensures that they are equitably distributed to programs serving metropolitan and​

88.18 nonmetropolitan populations. By July 1, 1995, community-based domestic abuse advocacy​

88.19 and support services programs must be established in every judicial assignment district.​

88.20 Subd. 1a. Program for American Indian women domestic abuse victims. The​

88.21 commissioner shall establish at least one program under this section to provide emergency​

88.22 shelter services and support services to battered American Indian women domestic abuse​

88.23 victims and their children. The commissioner shall grant continuing operating expenses to​

88.24 the program established under this subdivision in the same manner as operating expenses​

88.25 are granted to programs established under subdivision 1.​

88.26 Subd. 2. Applications. Any public or private nonprofit agency may apply to the​

88.27 commissioner for a grant to provide emergency shelter services to battered women, housing​

88.28 supports, support services, and one or more of these services and supports to domestic abuse​

88.29 victims, or both, to battered women and their children. The application shall be submitted​

88.30 in a form approved by the commissioner by rule adopted under chapter 14 and shall include:​

88.31 (1) a proposal for the provision of emergency shelter services for battered women,​

88.32 housing supports, support services, and one or more of these services and supports for​

88.33 domestic abuse victims, or both, for battered women and their children;​
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89.1 (2) a proposed budget;​

89.2 (3) the agency's overall operating budget, including documentation on the retention of​

89.3 financial reserves and availability of additional funding sources;​

89.4 (4) evidence of an ability to integrate into the proposed program the uniform method of​

89.5 data collection and program evaluation established under section 611A.33;​

89.6 (5) evidence of an ability to represent the interests of battered women and domestic​

89.7 abuse victims and their children to local law enforcement agencies and courts, county welfare​

89.8 agencies, and local boards or departments of health;​

89.9 (6) evidence of an ability to do outreach to unserved and underserved populations and​

89.10 to provide culturally and linguistically appropriate services; and​

89.11 (7) any other content the commissioner may require by rule adopted under chapter 14,​

89.12 after considering the recommendations of the advisory council.​

89.13 Programs which have been approved for grants in prior years may submit materials​

89.14 which indicate changes in items listed in clauses (1) to (7), in order to qualify for renewal​

89.15 funding. Nothing in this subdivision may be construed to require programs to submit​

89.16 complete applications for each year of renewal funding.​

89.17 Subd. 3. Duties of grantees. Every public or private nonprofit agency which receives​

89.18 a grant to provide emergency shelter services to battered women and, housing supports, or​

89.19 support services to battered women and domestic abuse victims shall comply with all rules​

89.20 of the commissioner related to the administration of the pilot programs.​

89.21 Subd. 5. Classification of data collected by grantees. Personal history information and​

89.22 other information collected, used or maintained by a grantee from which the identity or​

89.23 location of any victim of domestic abuse may be determined is private data on individuals,​

89.24 as defined in section 13.02, subdivision 12, and the grantee shall maintain the data in​

89.25 accordance with the provisions of chapter 13.​

89.26 Sec. 29. RULES; SOFT BODY ARMOR REIMBURSEMENT.​

89.27 The commissioner of public safety shall amend rules adopted under Minnesota Statutes,​

89.28 section 299A.38, subdivision 4, to reflect the soft body armor reimbursement for public​

89.29 safety officers under that section.​
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90.1 Sec. 30. GAAGIGE-MIKWENDAAGOZIWAG REWARD ACCOUNT FOR​

90.2 INFORMATION ON MISSING AND MURDERED INDIGENOUS RELATIVES.​

90.3 Subdivision 1. Definitions. As used in this section:​

90.4 (1) "Gaagige-Mikwendaagoziwag" means "they will be remembered forever";​

90.5 (2) "missing and murdered Indigenous relatives" means missing and murdered Indigenous​

90.6 people from or descended from a federally recognized Indian Tribe; and​

90.7 (3) "Two-Spirit" means cultural, spiritual, sexual, and gender identity as reflected in​

90.8 complex Indigenous understandings of gender roles, spirituality, and the long history of​

90.9 gender diversity in Indigenous cultures.​

90.10 Subd. 2. Account created. An account for rewards for information on missing and​

90.11 murdered Indigenous women, girls, and Two-Spirit relatives is created in the special revenue​

90.12 fund. Money deposited into the account is appropriated to the commissioner of public safety​

90.13 to pay rewards and for the purposes provided under this section.​

90.14 Subd. 3. Reward. The director of the Office for Missing and Murdered Indigenous​

90.15 Relatives, in consultation with the Gaagige-Mikwendaagoziwag reward advisory group:​

90.16 (1) shall determine the eligibility criteria and procedures for granting rewards under this​

90.17 section; and​

90.18 (2) is authorized to pay a reward to any person who provides relevant information relating​

90.19 to a missing and murdered Indigenous woman, girl, and Two-Spirit relative investigation.​

90.20 Subd. 4. Reward advisory group. (a) The director of the Office for Missing and​

90.21 Murdered Indigenous Relatives, in consultation with the stakeholder groups described in​

90.22 Minnesota Statutes, section 299A.85, subdivision 5, shall appoint an advisory group to make​

90.23 recommendations on:​

90.24 (1) paying rewards under this section;​

90.25 (2) supporting community-based efforts through funding community-led searches and​

90.26 search kits, including but not limited to global position system devices and vests;​

90.27 community-led communications, including but not limited to flyers, staples, and duct tape;​

90.28 and other justice-related expenses;​

90.29 (3) funding for community-led communications and outreach, including but not limited​

90.30 to billboards and other media-related expenses;​
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91.1 (4) funding activities and programs to gather information on missing and murdered​

91.2 Indigenous women, girls, and Two-Spirit relatives, and to partner with and support​

91.3 community-led efforts;​

91.4 (5) developing, implementing, and coordinating prevention and awareness programming​

91.5 based on best practices and data-driven research; and​

91.6 (6) any other funding activities and needs.​

91.7 (b) The advisory group shall consist of the following individuals:​

91.8 (1) a representative from the Office for Missing and Murdered Indigenous Relatives;​

91.9 (2) a representative from a Tribal, statewide, or local organization that provides legal​

91.10 services to Indigenous women and girls;​

91.11 (3) a representative from a Tribal, statewide, or local organization that provides advocacy​

91.12 or counseling for Indigenous women and girls who have been victims of violence;​

91.13 (4) a representative from a Tribal, statewide, or local organization that provides services​

91.14 to Indigenous women and girls;​

91.15 (5) a Tribal peace officer who works for or resides on a federally recognized American​

91.16 Indian reservation in Minnesota;​

91.17 (6) a representative from the Minnesota Human Trafficking Task Force; and​

91.18 (7) a survivor or family member of a missing and murdered Indigenous woman, girl, or​

91.19 Two-Spirit relative.​

91.20 (c) Each member shall serve as long as the member occupies the position which made​

91.21 the member eligible for the appointment. Vacancies shall be filled by the appointing authority.​

91.22 (d) The advisory group shall meet as necessary but at a minimum twice per year to carry​

91.23 out its duties and shall elect a chair from among its members at its first meeting. The director​

91.24 shall convene the group's first meeting. The director shall provide necessary office space​

91.25 and administrative support to the group. Members of the group serve without compensation​

91.26 but shall receive expense reimbursement as provided in Minnesota Statutes, section 15.059.​

91.27 (e) The representative from the Office for Missing and Murdered Indigenous Relatives​

91.28 may fully participate in the advisory group's activities but may not vote on issues before​

91.29 the group.​

91.30 Subd. 5. Advertising. The director of the Office for Missing and Murdered Indigenous​

91.31 Relatives, in consultation with the reward advisory group, may spend up to four percent of​
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92.1 available funds on an advertising or public relations campaign to increase public awareness​

92.2 on the availability of rewards under this section.​

92.3 Subd. 6. Grants; donations. The director of the Office for Missing and Murdered​

92.4 Indigenous Relatives, in consultation with the reward advisory group, may apply for and​

92.5 accept grants and donations from the public and from public and private entities to implement​

92.6 this section. The commissioner of public safety shall deposit any grants or donations received​

92.7 under this subdivision into the account established under subdivision 1.​

92.8 Subd. 7. Expiration. This section expires on June 30, 2025.​

92.9 Sec. 31. REPEALER.​

92.10 Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 299C.80, subdivision 7, is repealed.​

92.11 ARTICLE 4​

92.12 SENTENCING​

92.13 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 244.09, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

92.14 Subd. 2. Members. The Sentencing Guidelines Commission shall consist of the​

92.15 following:​

92.16 (1) the chief justice of the supreme court or a designee;​

92.17 (2) one judge of the court of appeals, appointed by the chief justice of the supreme court​

92.18 judge of the appellate court;​

92.19 (3) one district court judge appointed by the chief justice of the supreme court Judicial​

92.20 Council upon recommendation of the Minnesota District Judges Association;​

92.21 (4) one public defender appointed by the governor upon recommendation of the state​

92.22 public defender;​

92.23 (5) one county attorney appointed by the governor upon recommendation of the board​

92.24 of directors of the Minnesota County Attorneys Association;​

92.25 (6) the commissioner of corrections or a designee;​

92.26 (7) one peace officer as defined in section 626.84 appointed by the governor;​

92.27 (8) one probation officer or parole supervised release officer appointed by the governor;​

92.28 and​

92.29 (9) one person who works for an organization that provides treatment or rehabilitative​

92.30 services for individuals convicted of felony offenses appointed by the governor;​
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93.1 (10) one person who is an academic with a background in criminal justice or corrections​

93.2 appointed by the governor; and​

93.3 (11) three public members appointed by the governor, one of whom shall be a person​

93.4 who has been the victim of a crime defined as a felony or a victims' advocate, and one of​

93.5 whom shall be a person who has been formerly convicted of and discharged from a​

93.6 felony-level sentence.​

93.7 When an appointing authority selects individuals for membership on the commission,​

93.8 the authority shall make reasonable efforts to appoint qualified members of protected groups,​

93.9 as defined in section 43A.02, subdivision 33.​

93.10 One of the members shall be designated by the governor as chair of the commission.​

93.11 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 244.09, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

93.12 Subd. 3. Appointment terms. (a) Except as provided in paragraph (b), each appointed​

93.13 member shall be appointed for four years and shall continue to serve during that time as​

93.14 long as the member occupies the position which made the member eligible for the​

93.15 appointment. Each member shall continue in office until a successor is duly appointed.​

93.16 Members shall be eligible for reappointment, and appointment may be made to fill an​

93.17 unexpired term.​

93.18 (b) The term of any member appointed or reappointed by the governor before the first​

93.19 Monday in January 1991 2027 expires on that date. The term of any member appointed or​

93.20 reappointed by the governor after the first Monday in January 1991 is coterminous with the​

93.21 governor. The terms of members appointed or reappointed by the governor to fill the​

93.22 vacancies that occur on the first Monday in January 2027 shall be staggered so that five​

93.23 members shall be appointed for initial terms of four years and four members shall be​

93.24 appointed for initial terms of two years.​

93.25 (c) The members of the commission shall elect any additional officers necessary for the​

93.26 efficient discharge of their duties.​

93.27 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 244.09, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

93.28 read:​

93.29 Subd. 15. Report on sentencing adjustments. The Sentencing Guidelines Commission​

93.30 shall include in its annual report to the legislature a summary and analysis of sentence​

93.31 adjustments issued under section 609.133. At a minimum, the summary and analysis must​
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94.1 include information on the counties where a sentencing adjustment was granted and on the​

94.2 race, sex, and age of individuals who received a sentence adjustment.​

94.3 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.02, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

94.4 Subd. 2. Felony. "Felony" means a crime for which a sentence of imprisonment for​

94.5 more than one year or more may be imposed.​

94.6 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

94.7 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.03, is amended to read:​

94.8 609.03 PUNISHMENT WHEN NOT OTHERWISE FIXED.​

94.9 If a person is convicted of a crime for which no punishment is otherwise provided the​

94.10 person may be sentenced as follows:​

94.11 (1) If the crime is a felony, to imprisonment for not more than five years or to payment​

94.12 of a fine of not more than $10,000, or both; or​

94.13 (2) If the crime is a gross misdemeanor, to imprisonment for not more than one year​

94.14 364 days or to payment of a fine of not more than $3,000, or both; or​

94.15 (3) If the crime is a misdemeanor, to imprisonment for not more than 90 days or to​

94.16 payment of a fine of not more than $1,000, or both; or​

94.17 (4) If the crime is other than a misdemeanor and a fine is imposed but the amount is not​

94.18 specified, to payment of a fine of not more than $1,000, or to imprisonment for a specified​

94.19 term of not more than six months if the fine is not paid.​

94.20 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment and​

94.21 applies to offenders receiving a gross misdemeanor sentence on or after that date and​

94.22 retroactively to offenders who received a gross misdemeanor sentence before that date.​

94.23 Sec. 6. [609.0342] MAXIMUM PUNISHMENT FOR GROSS MISDEMEANORS.​

94.24 (a) Any law of this state that provides for a maximum sentence of imprisonment of one​

94.25 year or is defined as a gross misdemeanor shall be deemed to provide for a maximum fine​

94.26 of $3,000 and a maximum sentence of imprisonment of 364 days.​

94.27 (b) Any sentence of imprisonment for one year or 365 days imposed or executed before​

94.28 July 1, 2023, shall be deemed to be a sentence of imprisonment for 364 days. A court may​

94.29 at any time correct or reduce such a sentence pursuant to rule 27.03, subdivision 9, of the​
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95.1 Rules of Criminal Procedure and shall issue a corrected sentencing order upon motion of​

95.2 any eligible defendant.​

95.3 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment and​

95.4 applies to offenders receiving a gross misdemeanor sentence on or after that date and​

95.5 retroactively to offenders who received a gross misdemeanor sentence before that date.​

95.6 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.105, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

95.7 Subdivision 1. Sentence to more than one year or more. A felony sentence to​

95.8 imprisonment for more than one year or more shall commit the defendant to the custody of​

95.9 the commissioner of corrections.​

95.10 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

95.11 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.105, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

95.12 Subd. 3. Sentence to less than one year or less. A sentence to imprisonment for a period​

95.13 of less than one year or any lesser period shall be to a workhouse, work farm, county jail,​

95.14 or other place authorized by law.​

95.15 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

95.16 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.1055, is amended to read:​

95.17 609.1055 OFFENDERS WITH SERIOUS AND PERSISTENT MENTAL ILLNESS;​

95.18 ALTERNATIVE PLACEMENT.​

95.19 When a court intends to commit an offender with a serious and persistent mental illness,​

95.20 as defined in section 245.462, subdivision 20, paragraph (c), to the custody of the​

95.21 commissioner of corrections for imprisonment at a state correctional facility, either when​

95.22 initially pronouncing a sentence or when revoking an offender's probation, the court, when​

95.23 consistent with public safety, may instead place the offender on probation or continue the​

95.24 offender's probation and require as a condition of the probation that the offender successfully​

95.25 complete an appropriate supervised alternative living program having a mental health​

95.26 treatment component. This section applies only to offenders who would have a remaining​

95.27 term of imprisonment after adjusting for credit for prior imprisonment, if any, of more than​

95.28 one year or more.​

95.29 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​
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96.1 Sec. 10. [609.133] SENTENCE ADJUSTMENT.​

96.2 Subdivision 1. Definitions. As used in this section:​

96.3 (1) "prosecutor" means the attorney general, county attorney, or city attorney responsible​

96.4 for the prosecution of individuals charged with a crime; and​

96.5 (2) "victim" has the meaning given in section 611A.01.​

96.6 Subd. 2. Prosecutor-initiated sentence adjustment. The prosecutor responsible for​

96.7 the prosecution of an individual convicted of a crime may commence a proceeding to adjust​

96.8 the sentence of that individual at any time after the initial sentencing provided the prosecutor​

96.9 does not seek to increase the period of confinement or, if the individual is serving a stayed​

96.10 sentence, increase the period of supervision.​

96.11 Subd. 3. Review by prosecutor. (a) A prosecutor may review individual cases at the​

96.12 prosecutor's discretion.​

96.13 (b) Prior to filing a petition under this section, a prosecutor shall make a reasonable and​

96.14 good faith effort to seek input from any identifiable victim and shall consider the impact​

96.15 an adjusted sentence would have on the victim.​

96.16 (c) The commissioner of corrections, a supervising agent, or an offender may request​

96.17 that a prosecutor review an individual case. A prosecutor is not required to respond to a​

96.18 request. Inaction by a prosecutor shall not be considered by any court as grounds for an​

96.19 offender, a supervising agent, or the commissioner of corrections to petition for a sentence​

96.20 adjustment under this section or for a court to adjust a sentence without a petition.​

96.21 Subd. 4. Petition; contents; fee. (a) A prosecutor's petition for sentence adjustment​

96.22 shall be filed in the district court where the individual was convicted and include the​

96.23 following:​

96.24 (1) the full name of the individual on whose behalf the petition is being brought and, to​

96.25 the extent possible, all other legal names or aliases by which the individual has been known​

96.26 at any time;​

96.27 (2) the individual's date of birth;​

96.28 (3) the individual's address;​

96.29 (4) a brief statement of the reason the prosecutor is seeking a sentence adjustment for​

96.30 the individual;​

96.31 (5) the details of the offense for which an adjustment is sought, including:​
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97.1 (i) the date and jurisdiction of the occurrence;​

97.2 (ii) either the names of any victims or that there were no identifiable victims;​

97.3 (iii) whether there is a current order for protection, restraining order, or other no contact​

97.4 order prohibiting the individual from contacting the victims or whether there has ever been​

97.5 a prior order for protection or restraining order prohibiting the individual from contacting​

97.6 the victims;​

97.7 (iv) the court file number; and​

97.8 (v) the date of conviction;​

97.9 (6) what steps the individual has taken since the time of the offense toward personal​

97.10 rehabilitation, including treatment, work, good conduct within correctional facilities, or​

97.11 other personal history that demonstrates rehabilitation;​

97.12 (7) the individual's criminal conviction record indicating all convictions for​

97.13 misdemeanors, gross misdemeanors, or felonies in this state, and for all comparable​

97.14 convictions in any other state, federal court, or foreign country, whether the convictions​

97.15 occurred before or after the conviction for which an adjustment is sought;​

97.16 (8) the individual's criminal charges record indicating all prior and pending criminal​

97.17 charges against the individual in this state or another jurisdiction, including all criminal​

97.18 charges that have been continued for dismissal, stayed for adjudication, or were the subject​

97.19 of pretrial diversion; and​

97.20 (9) to the extent known, all prior requests by the individual, whether for the present​

97.21 offense or for any other offenses in this state or any other state or federal court, for pardon,​

97.22 return of arrest records, or expungement or sealing of a criminal record, whether granted​

97.23 or not, and all stays of adjudication or imposition of sentence involving the petitioner.​

97.24 (b) The filing fee for a petition brought under this section shall be waived.​

97.25 Subd. 5. Service of petition. (a) The prosecutor shall serve the petition for sentence​

97.26 adjustment on the individual on whose behalf the petition is being brought.​

97.27 (b) The prosecutor shall make a good faith and reasonable effort to notify any person​

97.28 determined to be a victim of the offense for which adjustment is sought of the existence of​

97.29 a petition. Notification under this paragraph does not constitute a violation of an existing​

97.30 order for protection, restraining order, or other no contact order.​

97.31 (c) Notice to victims of the offense under this subdivision must:​
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98.1 (1) specifically inform the victim of the right to object, orally or in writing, to the​

98.2 proposed adjustment of sentence; and​

98.3 (2) inform the victims of the right to be present and to submit an oral or written statement​

98.4 at the hearing described in subdivision 6.​

98.5 (d) If a victim notifies the prosecutor of an objection to the proposed adjustment of​

98.6 sentence and is not present when the court considers the sentence adjustment, the prosecutor​

98.7 shall make these objections known to the court.​

98.8 Subd. 6. Hearing. (a) The court shall hold a hearing on the petition no sooner than 60​

98.9 days after service of the petition. The hearing shall be scheduled so that the parties have​

98.10 adequate time to prepare and present arguments regarding the issue of sentence adjustment.​

98.11 The parties may submit written arguments to the court prior to the date of the hearing and​

98.12 may make oral arguments before the court at the hearing. The individual on whose behalf​

98.13 the petition has been brought must be present at the hearing, unless excused under Minnesota​

98.14 Rules of Criminal Procedure, rule 26.03, subdivision 1, clause (3).​

98.15 (b) A victim of the offense for which sentence adjustment is sought has a right to submit​

98.16 an oral or written statement to the court at the time of the hearing describing the harm​

98.17 suffered by the victim as a result of the crime and the victim's recommendation on whether​

98.18 adjustment should be granted or denied. The judge shall consider the victim's statement​

98.19 when making a decision.​

98.20 (c) Representatives of the Department of Corrections, supervising agents, community​

98.21 treatment providers, and any other individual with relevant information may submit an oral​

98.22 or written statement to the court at the time of the hearing.​

98.23 Subd. 7. Nature of remedy; standard. (a) The court shall determine whether there are​

98.24 substantial and compelling reasons to adjust the individual's sentence. In making this​

98.25 determination, the court shall consider what impact, if any, a sentence adjustment would​

98.26 have on public safety, including whether an adjustment would promote the rehabilitation​

98.27 of the individual, properly reflect the severity of the underlying offense, or reduce sentencing​

98.28 disparities. In making this determination, the court may consider factors relating to both the​

98.29 offender and the offense, including but not limited to:​

98.30 (1) the presentence investigation report used at sentencing, if available;​

98.31 (2) the individual's performance on probation or supervision;​

98.32 (3) the individual's disciplinary record during any period of incarceration;​
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99.1 (4) records of any rehabilitation efforts made by the individual since the date of offense​

99.2 and any plan to continue those efforts in the community;​

99.3 (5) evidence that remorse, age, diminished physical condition, or any other factor has​

99.4 significantly reduced the likelihood that the individual will commit a future offense;​

99.5 (6) the amount of time the individual has served in custody or under supervision; and​

99.6 (7) significant changes in law or sentencing practice since the date of offense.​

99.7 (b) Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, if the court determines by a preponderance​

99.8 of the evidence that there are substantial and compelling reasons to adjust the individual's​

99.9 sentence, the court may modify the sentence in any way provided the adjustment does not:​

99.10 (1) increase the period of confinement or, if the individual is serving a stayed sentence,​

99.11 increase the period of supervision;​

99.12 (2) reduce or eliminate the amount of court-ordered restitution; or​

99.13 (3) reduce or eliminate a term of conditional release required by law when a court​

99.14 commits an offender to the custody of the commissioner of corrections.​

99.15 The court may stay imposition or execution of sentence pursuant to section 609.135.​

99.16 (c) A sentence adjustment is not a valid basis to vacate the judgment of conviction, enter​

99.17 a judgment of conviction for a different offense, or impose sentence for any other offense.​

99.18 (d) The court shall state in writing or on the record the reasons for its decision on the​

99.19 petition. If the court grants a sentence adjustment, the court shall provide the information​

99.20 in section 244.09, subdivision 15, to the Sentencing Guidelines Commission.​

99.21 Subd. 8. Appeals. An order issued under this section shall not be considered a final​

99.22 judgment, but shall be treated as an order imposing or staying a sentence.​

99.23 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.​

99.24 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.135, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:​

99.25 Subd. 1a. Failure to pay restitution. If the court orders payment of restitution as a​

99.26 condition of probation and if the defendant fails to pay the restitution in accordance with​

99.27 the payment schedule or structure established by the court or the probation officer, the​

99.28 prosecutor or the defendant's probation officer may, on the prosecutor's or the officer's own​

99.29 motion or at the request of the victim, ask the court to hold a hearing to determine whether​

99.30 or not the conditions of probation should be changed or probation should be revoked. The​

99.31 defendant's probation officer shall ask for the hearing if the restitution ordered has not been​
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100.1 paid prior to 60 days before the term of probation expires. The court shall schedule and hold​

100.2 this hearing and take appropriate action, including action under subdivision 2, paragraph​

100.3 (g) (h), before the defendant's term of probation expires.​

100.4 Nothing in this subdivision limits the court's ability to refer the case to collections under​

100.5 section 609.104 when a defendant fails to pay court-ordered restitution.​

100.6 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.​

100.7 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.135, subdivision 1c, is amended to read:​

100.8 Subd. 1c. Failure to complete court-ordered treatment. If the court orders a defendant​

100.9 to undergo treatment as a condition of probation and if the defendant fails to successfully​

100.10 complete treatment at least 60 days before the term of probation expires, the prosecutor or​

100.11 the defendant's probation officer may ask the court to hold a hearing to determine whether​

100.12 the conditions of probation should be changed or probation should be revoked. The court​

100.13 shall schedule and hold this hearing and take appropriate action, including action under​

100.14 subdivision 2, paragraph (h) (i), before the defendant's term of probation expires.​

100.15 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.​

100.16 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.135, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

100.17 Subd. 2. Stay of sentence maximum periods. (a) Except as provided in paragraph (b),​

100.18 if the conviction is for a felony other than section 609.2113, subdivision 1 or 2, 609.2114,​

100.19 subdivision 2, or section 609.3451, subdivision 1 or 1a, or Minnesota Statutes 2012, section​

100.20 609.21, subdivision 1a, paragraph (b) or (c), the stay shall be for not more than four five​

100.21 years or the maximum period for which the sentence of imprisonment might have been​

100.22 imposed, whichever is longer less.​

100.23 (b) If the conviction is for a felony described in section 609.19, 609.195, 609.20,​

100.24 609.2112, 609.2662, 609.2663, 609.2664, 609.268, 609.342, 609.343, 609.344, 609.345,​

100.25 609.3451, 609.3458, or 609.749, the stay shall be for not more than the maximum period​

100.26 for which the sentence of imprisonment might have been imposed.​

100.27 (b) (c) If the conviction is for a gross misdemeanor violation of section 169A.20,​

100.28 609.2113, subdivision 3, or 609.3451, or for a felony described in section 609.2113,​

100.29 subdivision 1 or 2, 609.2114, subdivision 2, or 609.3451, subdivision 1 or 1a, the stay shall​

100.30 be for not more than six five years. The court shall provide for unsupervised probation for​

100.31 the last year of the stay unless the court finds that the defendant needs supervised probation​

100.32 for all or part of the last year.​
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101.1 (c) (d) If the conviction is for a gross misdemeanor not specified in paragraph (b) (c),​

101.2 the stay shall be for not more than two years.​

101.3 (d) (e) If the conviction is for any misdemeanor under section 169A.20; 609.746,​

101.4 subdivision 1; 609.79; or 617.23; or for a misdemeanor under section 609.2242 or 609.224,​

101.5 subdivision 1, in which the victim of the crime was a family or household member as defined​

101.6 in section 518B.01, the stay shall be for not more than two years. The court shall provide​

101.7 for unsupervised probation for the second year of the stay unless the court finds that the​

101.8 defendant needs supervised probation for all or part of the second year.​

101.9 (e) (f) If the conviction is for a misdemeanor not specified in paragraph (d) (e), the stay​

101.10 shall be for not more than one year.​

101.11 (f) (g) The defendant shall be discharged six months after the term of the stay expires,​

101.12 unless the stay has been revoked or extended under paragraph (g) (h), or the defendant has​

101.13 already been discharged.​

101.14 (g) (h) Notwithstanding the maximum periods specified for stays of sentences under​

101.15 paragraphs (a) to (f) (g), a court may extend a defendant's term of probation for up to one​

101.16 year if it finds, at a hearing conducted under subdivision 1a, that:​

101.17 (1) the defendant has not paid court-ordered restitution in accordance with the payment​

101.18 schedule or structure; and​

101.19 (2) the defendant is likely to not pay the restitution the defendant owes before the term​

101.20 of probation expires.​

101.21 This one-year extension of probation for failure to pay restitution may be extended by the​

101.22 court for up to one additional year if the court finds, at another hearing conducted under​

101.23 subdivision 1a, that the defendant still has not paid the court-ordered restitution that the​

101.24 defendant owes.​

101.25 Nothing in this subdivision limits the court's ability to refer the case to collections under​

101.26 section 609.104.​

101.27 (h) (i) Notwithstanding the maximum periods specified for stays of sentences under​

101.28 paragraphs (a) to (f) (g), a court may extend a defendant's term of probation for up to three​

101.29 years if it finds, at a hearing conducted under subdivision 1c, that:​

101.30 (1) the defendant has failed to complete court-ordered treatment successfully; and​

101.31 (2) the defendant is likely not to complete court-ordered treatment before the term of​

101.32 probation expires.​
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102.1 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to sentences​

102.2 announced on or after that date.​

102.3 Sec. 14. LIABILITY FOR MURDER COMMITTED BY ANOTHER;​

102.4 RETROACTIVE APPLICATION.​

102.5 Subdivision 1. Purpose. Any person convicted of a violation of Minnesota Statutes,​

102.6 section 609.185, paragraph (a), clause (3), or 609.19, subdivision 2, clause (1), and in the​

102.7 custody of the commissioner of corrections or under court supervision is entitled to petition​

102.8 to have the person's conviction vacated pursuant to this section.​

102.9 Subd. 2. Notification. (a) By October 1, 2023, the commissioner of corrections shall​

102.10 notify individuals convicted for a violation of Minnesota Statutes, section 609.185, paragraph​

102.11 (a), clause (3), or 609.19, subdivision 2, clause (1), of the right to file a preliminary​

102.12 application for relief if:​

102.13 (1) the person was convicted for a violation of Minnesota Statutes, section 609.185,​

102.14 paragraph (a), clause (3), and did not actually cause the death of a human being or​

102.15 intentionally aid, advise, hire, counsel, or conspire with or otherwise procure another with​

102.16 the intent to cause the death of a human being; or​

102.17 (2) the person was convicted for a violation of Minnesota Statutes, section 609.19,​

102.18 subdivision 2, clause (1), and did not actually cause the death of a human being or was not​

102.19 a major participant in the underlying felony who acted with extreme indifference to human​

102.20 life.​

102.21 (b) The notice shall include the address of the Ramsey County District Court court​

102.22 administration.​

102.23 (c) The commissioner of corrections may coordinate with the judicial branch to establish​

102.24 a standardized notification form.​

102.25 Subd. 3. Preliminary application. (a) An applicant shall submit a preliminary application​

102.26 to the Ramsey County District Court. The preliminary application must contain:​

102.27 (1) the applicant's name and, if different, the name under which the person was convicted;​

102.28 (2) the applicant's date of birth;​

102.29 (3) the district court case number of the case for which the person is seeking relief;​

102.30 (4) a statement as to whether the applicant was convicted following a trial or pursuant​

102.31 to a plea;​
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103.1 (5) a statement as to whether the person filed a direct appeal from the conviction, a​

103.2 petition for postconviction relief, or both;​

103.3 (6) a brief statement, not to exceed 2,000 words, explaining why the applicant is entitled​

103.4 to relief from a conviction for the death of a human being caused by another; and​

103.5 (7) the name and address of any attorney representing the applicant.​

103.6 (b) The preliminary application may contain:​

103.7 (1) the name, date of birth, and district court case number of any other person charged​

103.8 with, or convicted of, a crime arising from the same set of circumstances for which the​

103.9 applicant was convicted; and​

103.10 (2) a copy of a criminal complaint or indictment, or the relevant portions of a presentence​

103.11 investigation or life imprisonment report, describing the facts of the case for which the​

103.12 applicant was convicted.​

103.13 (c) The judicial branch may establish a standardized preliminary application form, but​

103.14 shall not reject a preliminary application for failure to use a standardized form.​

103.15 (d) Any person seeking relief under this section must submit a preliminary application​

103.16 no later than October 1, 2024. Submission is complete upon mailing.​

103.17 (e) Submission of a preliminary application shall be without costs or any fees charged​

103.18 to the applicant.​

103.19 Subd. 4. Review of preliminary application. (a) Upon receipt of a preliminary​

103.20 application, the court administrator of the Ramsey County District Court shall immediately​

103.21 direct attention of the filing thereof to the chief judge or judge acting on the chief judge's​

103.22 behalf who shall promptly assign the matter to a judge in said district.​

103.23 (b) The judicial branch may appoint a special master to review preliminary applications​

103.24 and may assign additional staff as needed to assist in the review of preliminary applications.​

103.25 (c) The reviewing judge shall determine whether, in the discretion of that judge, there​

103.26 is a reasonable probability that the applicant is entitled to relief under this section.​

103.27 (d) In making the determination under paragraph (c), the reviewing judge shall consider​

103.28 the preliminary application and any materials submitted with the preliminary application​

103.29 and may consider relevant records in the possession of the judicial branch.​

103.30 (e) The court may summarily deny an application when the applicant is not in the custody​

103.31 of the commissioner of corrections or under court supervision; the applicant was not​

103.32 convicted of a violation of Minnesota Statutes, section 609.185, paragraph (a), clause (3),​
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104.1 or 609.19, subdivision 2, clause (1), before August 1, 2023; the issues raised in the application​

104.2 are not relevant to the relief available under this section or have previously been decided​

104.3 by the court of appeals or the supreme court in the same case; or the applicant has filed a​

104.4 second or successive preliminary application.​

104.5 (f) If the reviewing judge determines that there is a reasonable probability that the​

104.6 applicant is entitled to relief, the judge shall send notice to the applicant and the applicant's​

104.7 attorney, if any, and the prosecutorial office responsible for prosecuting the applicant. In​

104.8 the event the applicant is without counsel, the reviewing judge shall send notice to the state​

104.9 public defender and shall advise the applicant of such referral.​

104.10 (g) If the reviewing judge determines that there is not a reasonable probability that the​

104.11 applicant is entitled to relief, the judge shall send notice to the applicant and the applicant's​

104.12 attorney, if any.​

104.13 Subd. 5. Petition for relief; hearing. (a) Within 60 days of receipt of the notice sent​

104.14 pursuant to subdivision 4, paragraph (f), the individual seeking relief shall file and serve a​

104.15 petition to vacate the conviction. The petition shall contain the information identified in​

104.16 subdivision 3, paragraph (a), and a statement of why the petitioner is entitled to relief. The​

104.17 petition may contain any other relevant information including police reports, trial transcripts,​

104.18 and plea transcripts involving the petitioner or any other person investigated for, charged​

104.19 with, or convicted of a crime arising out of the same set of circumstances for which the​

104.20 petitioner was convicted. The filing of the petition and any document subsequent thereto​

104.21 and all proceedings thereon shall be without costs or any fees charged to the petitioner.​

104.22 (b) A county attorney representing the prosecutorial office shall respond to the petition​

104.23 by answer or motion within 30 days after the filing of the petition pursuant to paragraph​

104.24 (a), unless extended for good cause. The response shall be filed with the court administrator​

104.25 of the district court and served on the petitioner if unrepresented or on the petitioner's​

104.26 attorney. The response may serve notice of the intent to support the petition or include a​

104.27 statement explaining why the petitioner is not entitled to relief along with any supporting​

104.28 documents. The filing of the response and any document subsequent thereto and all​

104.29 proceedings thereon shall be without costs or any fees charged to the county attorney.​

104.30 (c) Within 30 days of receipt of the response from the county attorney, the court shall:​

104.31 (1) issue an order pursuant to subdivision 6 and schedule the matter for sentencing or​

104.32 resentencing pursuant to subdivision 6, paragraph (e), if the county attorney indicates an​

104.33 intent to support the petition;​
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105.1 (2) issue an order denying the petition if additional information or submissions establish​

105.2 that there is not a reasonable probability that the applicant is entitled to relief under this​

105.3 section; or​

105.4 (3) schedule the matter for a hearing and issue any appropriate order regarding submission​

105.5 of evidence or identification of witnesses.​

105.6 (d) The hearing shall be held in open court and conducted pursuant to Minnesota Statutes,​

105.7 section 590.04, except that the petitioner must be present at the hearing, unless excused​

105.8 under Rules of Criminal Procedure, rule 26.03, subdivision 1, clause (3).​

105.9 Subd. 6. Determination; order; resentencing. (a) A petitioner who was convicted of​

105.10 a violation of Minnesota Statutes, section 609.185, paragraph (a), clause (3), is entitled to​

105.11 relief if the petitioner:​

105.12 (1) did not cause the death of a human being; and​

105.13 (2) did not intentionally aid, advise, hire, counsel, or conspire with or otherwise procure​

105.14 another with the intent to cause the death of a human being.​

105.15 (b) A petitioner who was convicted of a violation of Minnesota Statutes, section 609.19,​

105.16 subdivision 2, clause (1), is entitled to relief if the petitioner:​

105.17 (1) did not cause the death of a human being; and​

105.18 (2) was not a major participant in the underlying felony and did not act with extreme​

105.19 indifference to human life.​

105.20 (c) If the court determines that the petitioner does not qualify for relief, the court shall​

105.21 issue an order denying the petition. If the court determines that the petitioner is entitled to​

105.22 relief, the court shall issue an order vacating the conviction for a violation of Minnesota​

105.23 Statutes, section 609.185, paragraph (a), clause (3), or 609.19, subdivision 2, clause (1),​

105.24 and either:​

105.25 (1) resentence the petitioner for any other offense for which the petitioner was convicted;​

105.26 or​

105.27 (2) enter a conviction and impose a sentence for any other predicate felony arising out​

105.28 of the course of conduct that served as the factual basis for the conviction vacated by the​

105.29 court.​

105.30 (d) The court shall state in writing or on the record the reasons for its decision on the​

105.31 petition.​
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106.1 (e) If the court intends to resentence a petitioner or impose a sentence on a petitioner,​

106.2 the court must hold the hearing at a time that allows any victim an opportunity to submit a​

106.3 statement consistent with Minnesota Statutes, section 611A.038. The prosecutor shall make​

106.4 a good faith and reasonable effort to notify any person determined to be a victim of the​

106.5 hearing and the right to submit or make a statement. A sentence imposed under this​

106.6 subdivision shall not increase the petitioner's period of confinement or, if the petitioner was​

106.7 serving a stayed sentence, increase the period of supervision. A person resentenced under​

106.8 this paragraph is entitled to credit for time served in connection with the vacated offense.​

106.9 (f) Relief granted under this section shall not be treated as an exoneration for purposes​

106.10 of the Incarceration and Exoneration Remedies Act.​

106.11 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.​

106.12 Sec. 15. PROBATION LIMITS; RETROACTIVE APPLICATION.​

106.13 (a) Any person placed on probation before August 1, 2023, is eligible for resentencing​

106.14 if:​

106.15 (1) the person was placed on probation for a felony violation;​

106.16 (2) the court placed the person on probation for a length of time that exceeded five years;​

106.17 (3) under Minnesota Statutes, section 609.135, subdivision 2, the maximum length of​

106.18 probation the court could have ordered the person to serve on or after August 1, 2023, is​

106.19 five years; and​

106.20 (4) the sentence of imprisonment has not been executed.​

106.21 (b) Eligibility for resentencing within the maximum length of probation the court could​

106.22 have ordered the person to serve on or after August 1, 2023, applies to each period of​

106.23 probation ordered by the court. Upon resentencing, periods of probation must be served​

106.24 consecutively if a court previously imposed consecutive periods of probation on the person.​

106.25 The court may not increase a previously ordered period of probation under this section or​

106.26 order that periods of probation be served consecutively unless the court previously imposed​

106.27 consecutive periods of probation.​

106.28 (c) Resentencing may take place without a hearing.​

106.29 (d) The term of the stay of probation for any person who is eligible for resentencing​

106.30 under paragraph (a) and who has served five or more years of probation as of August 1,​

106.31 2023, shall be considered to have expired on October 1, 2023, unless:​
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107.1 (1) the term of the stay of probation would have expired before that date under the​

107.2 original sentence; or​

107.3 (2) the length of probation is extended pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 609.135,​

107.4 subdivision 2, paragraph (h) or (i).​

107.5 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to sentences​

107.6 announced before that date.​

107.7 Sec. 16. SENTENCING GUIDELINES COMMISSION; MODIFICATION.​

107.8 The Sentencing Guidelines Commission shall modify the Sentencing Guidelines to be​

107.9 consistent with changes to Minnesota Statutes, section 609.135, subdivision 2, governing​

107.10 the maximum length of probation a court may order.​

107.11 Sec. 17. REVISOR INSTRUCTION.​

107.12 In Minnesota Statutes, the revisor of statutes shall substitute "364 days" for "one year"​

107.13 consistent with the change in this act. The revisor shall also make other technical changes​

107.14 resulting from the change of term to the statutory language if necessary to preserve the​

107.15 meaning of the text.​

107.16 ARTICLE 5​

107.17 EXPUNGEMENT​

107.18 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 13.871, subdivision 14, is amended to read:​

107.19 Subd. 14. Expungement petitions. (a) Provisions regarding the classification and sharing​

107.20 of data contained in a petition for expungement of a criminal record are included in section​

107.21 609A.03.​

107.22 (b) Provisions regarding the classification and sharing of data related to automatic​

107.23 expungements are included in sections 299C.097 and 609A.015.​

107.24 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.​

107.25 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 152.18, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

107.26 Subdivision 1. Deferring prosecution for certain first time drug offenders. (a) A​

107.27 court may defer prosecution as provided in paragraph (c) for any person found guilty, after​

107.28 trial or upon a plea of guilty, of a violation of section 152.023, subdivision 2, 152.024,​

107.29 subdivision 2, 152.025, subdivision 2, or 152.027, subdivision 2, 3, 4, or 6, paragraph (d),​

107.30 for possession of a controlled substance, who:​
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108.1 (1) has not previously participated in or completed a diversion program authorized under​

108.2 section 401.065;​

108.3 (2) has not previously been placed on probation without a judgment of guilty and​

108.4 thereafter been discharged from probation under this section; and​

108.5 (3) has not been convicted of a felony violation of this chapter, including a felony-level​

108.6 attempt or conspiracy, or been convicted by the United States or another state of a similar​

108.7 offense that would have been a felony under this chapter if committed in Minnesota, unless​

108.8 ten years have elapsed since discharge from sentence.​

108.9 (b) The court must defer prosecution as provided in paragraph (c) for any person found​

108.10 guilty of a violation of section 152.025, subdivision 2, who:​

108.11 (1) meets the criteria listed in paragraph (a), clauses (1) to (3); and​

108.12 (2) has not previously been convicted of a felony offense under any state or federal law​

108.13 or of a gross misdemeanor under section 152.025.​

108.14 (c) In granting relief under this section, the court shall, without entering a judgment of​

108.15 guilty and with the consent of the person, defer further proceedings and place the person​

108.16 on probation upon such reasonable conditions as it may require and for a period, not to​

108.17 exceed the maximum sentence provided for the violation. The court may give the person​

108.18 the opportunity to attend and participate in an appropriate program of education regarding​

108.19 the nature and effects of alcohol and drug abuse as a stipulation of probation. Upon violation​

108.20 of a condition of the probation, the court may enter an adjudication of guilt and proceed as​

108.21 otherwise provided. The court may, in its discretion, dismiss the proceedings against the​

108.22 person and discharge the person from probation before the expiration of the maximum​

108.23 period prescribed for the person's probation. If during the period of probation the person​

108.24 does not violate any of the conditions of the probation, then upon expiration of the period​

108.25 the court shall discharge the person and dismiss the proceedings against that person.​

108.26 Discharge and dismissal under this subdivision shall be without court adjudication of guilt,​

108.27 but a not public record of it shall be retained by the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension for​

108.28 the purpose of use by the courts in determining the merits of subsequent proceedings against​

108.29 the person. The not public record may also be opened only upon court order for purposes​

108.30 of a criminal investigation, prosecution, or sentencing. Upon receipt of notice that the​

108.31 proceedings were dismissed, the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension shall notify the arresting​

108.32 or citing law enforcement agency and direct that agency to seal its records related to the​

108.33 charge. Upon request by law enforcement, prosecution, or corrections authorities, the bureau​

108.34 shall notify the requesting party of the existence of the not public record and the right to​
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109.1 seek a court order to open it pursuant to this section. The court shall forward a record of​

109.2 any discharge and dismissal under this subdivision to the bureau which shall make and​

109.3 maintain the not public record of it as provided under this subdivision. The discharge or​

109.4 dismissal shall not be deemed a conviction for purposes of disqualifications or disabilities​

109.5 imposed by law upon conviction of a crime or for any other purpose.​

109.6 For purposes of this subdivision, "not public" has the meaning given in section 13.02,​

109.7 subdivision 8a.​

109.8 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.​

109.9 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 181.981, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

109.10 Subdivision 1. Limitation on admissibility of criminal history. Information regarding​

109.11 a criminal history record of an employee or former employee may not be introduced as​

109.12 evidence in a civil action against a private employer or its employees or agents that is based​

109.13 on the conduct of the employee or former employee, if:​

109.14 (1) the duties of the position of employment did not expose others to a greater degree​

109.15 of risk than that created by the employee or former employee interacting with the public​

109.16 outside of the duties of the position or that might be created by being employed in general;​

109.17 (2) before the occurrence of the act giving rise to the civil action,:​

109.18 (i) a court order sealed any record of the criminal case;​

109.19 (ii) any record of the criminal case was sealed as the result of an automatic expungement,​

109.20 including but not limited to a grant of expungement made pursuant to section 609A.015;​

109.21 or​

109.22 (iii) the employee or former employee received a pardon;​

109.23 (3) the record is of an arrest or charge that did not result in a criminal conviction; or​

109.24 (4) the action is based solely upon the employer's compliance with section 364.021.​

109.25 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.​

109.26 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245C.08, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

109.27 Subdivision 1. Background studies conducted by Department of Human Services. (a)​

109.28 For a background study conducted by the Department of Human Services, the commissioner​

109.29 shall review:​
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110.1 (1) information related to names of substantiated perpetrators of maltreatment of​

110.2 vulnerable adults that has been received by the commissioner as required under section​

110.3 626.557, subdivision 9c, paragraph (j);​

110.4 (2) the commissioner's records relating to the maltreatment of minors in licensed​

110.5 programs, and from findings of maltreatment of minors as indicated through the social​

110.6 service information system;​

110.7 (3) information from juvenile courts as required in subdivision 4 for individuals listed​

110.8 in section 245C.03, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), when there is reasonable cause;​

110.9 (4) information from the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension, including information​

110.10 regarding a background study subject's registration in Minnesota as a predatory offender​

110.11 under section 243.166;​

110.12 (5) except as provided in clause (6), information received as a result of submission of​

110.13 fingerprints for a national criminal history record check, as defined in section 245C.02,​

110.14 subdivision 13c, when the commissioner has reasonable cause for a national criminal history​

110.15 record check as defined under section 245C.02, subdivision 15a, or as required under section​

110.16 144.057, subdivision 1, clause (2);​

110.17 (6) for a background study related to a child foster family setting application for licensure,​

110.18 foster residence settings, children's residential facilities, a transfer of permanent legal and​

110.19 physical custody of a child under sections 260C.503 to 260C.515, or adoptions, and for a​

110.20 background study required for family child care, certified license-exempt child care, child​

110.21 care centers, and legal nonlicensed child care authorized under chapter 119B, the​

110.22 commissioner shall also review:​

110.23 (i) information from the child abuse and neglect registry for any state in which the​

110.24 background study subject has resided for the past five years;​

110.25 (ii) when the background study subject is 18 years of age or older, or a minor under​

110.26 section 245C.05, subdivision 5a, paragraph (c), information received following submission​

110.27 of fingerprints for a national criminal history record check; and​

110.28 (iii) when the background study subject is 18 years of age or older or a minor under​

110.29 section 245C.05, subdivision 5a, paragraph (d), for licensed family child care, certified​

110.30 license-exempt child care, licensed child care centers, and legal nonlicensed child care​

110.31 authorized under chapter 119B, information obtained using non-fingerprint-based data​

110.32 including information from the criminal and sex offender registries for any state in which​
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111.1 the background study subject resided for the past five years and information from the national​

111.2 crime information database and the national sex offender registry; and​

111.3 (7) for a background study required for family child care, certified license-exempt child​

111.4 care centers, licensed child care centers, and legal nonlicensed child care authorized under​

111.5 chapter 119B, the background study shall also include, to the extent practicable, a name​

111.6 and date-of-birth search of the National Sex Offender Public website.​

111.7 (b) Notwithstanding expungement by a court, the commissioner may consider information​

111.8 obtained under paragraph (a), clauses (3) and (4), unless:​

111.9 (1) the commissioner received notice of the petition for expungement and the court order​

111.10 for expungement is directed specifically to the commissioner; or​

111.11 (2) the commissioner received notice of the expungement order issued pursuant to section​

111.12 609A.017, 609A.025, or 609A.035, and the order for expungement is directed specifically​

111.13 to the commissioner.​

111.14 (c) The commissioner shall also review criminal case information received according​

111.15 to section 245C.04, subdivision 4a, from the Minnesota court information system that relates​

111.16 to individuals who have already been studied under this chapter and who remain affiliated​

111.17 with the agency that initiated the background study.​

111.18 (d) When the commissioner has reasonable cause to believe that the identity of a​

111.19 background study subject is uncertain, the commissioner may require the subject to provide​

111.20 a set of classifiable fingerprints for purposes of completing a fingerprint-based record check​

111.21 with the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension. Fingerprints collected under this paragraph​

111.22 shall not be saved by the commissioner after they have been used to verify the identity of​

111.23 the background study subject against the particular criminal record in question.​

111.24 (e) The commissioner may inform the entity that initiated a background study under​

111.25 NETStudy 2.0 of the status of processing of the subject's fingerprints.​

111.26 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.​

111.27 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245C.08, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

111.28 Subd. 2. Background studies conducted by a county agency for family child care. (a)​

111.29 Before the implementation of NETStudy 2.0, for a background study conducted by a county​

111.30 agency for family child care services, the commissioner shall review:​

111.31 (1) information from the county agency's record of substantiated maltreatment of adults​

111.32 and the maltreatment of minors;​
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112.1 (2) information from juvenile courts as required in subdivision 4 for:​

112.2 (i) individuals listed in section 245C.03, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), who are ages 13​

112.3 through 23 living in the household where the licensed services will be provided; and​

112.4 (ii) any other individual listed under section 245C.03, subdivision 1, when there is​

112.5 reasonable cause; and​

112.6 (3) information from the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension.​

112.7 (b) If the individual has resided in the county for less than five years, the study shall​

112.8 include the records specified under paragraph (a) for the previous county or counties of​

112.9 residence for the past five years.​

112.10 (c) Notwithstanding expungement by a court, the county agency may consider information​

112.11 obtained under paragraph (a), clause (3), unless:​

112.12 (1) the commissioner received notice of the petition for expungement and the court order​

112.13 for expungement is directed specifically to the commissioner; or​

112.14 (2) the commissioner received notice of the expungement order issued pursuant to section​

112.15 609A.017, 609A.025, or 609A.035, and the order for expungement is directed specifically​

112.16 to the commissioner.​

112.17 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.​

112.18 Sec. 6. [299C.097] DATABASE FOR IDENTIFYING INDIVIDUALS ELIGIBLE​

112.19 FOR EXPUNGEMENT.​

112.20 (a) The superintendent of the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension shall maintain a​

112.21 computerized data system relating to petty misdemeanor and misdemeanor offenses that​

112.22 may become eligible for expungement pursuant to section 609A.015 and which do not​

112.23 require fingerprinting pursuant to section 299C.10 and are not linked to an arrest record in​

112.24 the criminal history system.​

112.25 (b) This data is private data on individuals under section 13.02, subdivision 12.​

112.26 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2024.​

112.27 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 299C.10, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

112.28 Subdivision 1. Required fingerprinting. (a) Sheriffs, peace officers, and community​

112.29 corrections agencies operating secure juvenile detention facilities shall take or cause to be​

112.30 taken immediately finger and thumb prints, photographs, distinctive physical mark​
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113.1 identification data, information on any known aliases or street names, and other identification​

113.2 data requested or required by the superintendent of the bureau, of the following:​

113.3 (1) persons arrested for, appearing in court on a charge of, or convicted of a felony, gross​

113.4 misdemeanor, or targeted misdemeanor;​

113.5 (2) juveniles arrested for, appearing in court on a charge of, adjudicated delinquent for,​

113.6 or alleged to have committed felonies or gross misdemeanors as distinguished from those​

113.7 committed by adult offenders;​

113.8 (3) adults and juveniles admitted to jails or detention facilities;​

113.9 (4) persons reasonably believed by the arresting officer to be fugitives from justice;​

113.10 (5) persons in whose possession, when arrested, are found concealed firearms or other​

113.11 dangerous weapons, burglar tools or outfits, high-power explosives, or articles, machines,​

113.12 or appliances usable for an unlawful purpose and reasonably believed by the arresting officer​

113.13 to be intended for such purposes;​

113.14 (6) juveniles referred by a law enforcement agency to a diversion program for a felony​

113.15 or gross misdemeanor offense; and​

113.16 (7) persons currently involved in the criminal justice process, on probation, on parole,​

113.17 or in custody for any offense whom the superintendent of the bureau identifies as being the​

113.18 subject of a court disposition record which cannot be linked to an arrest record, and whose​

113.19 fingerprints are necessary to reduce the number of suspense files, or to comply with the​

113.20 mandates of section 299C.111, relating to the reduction of the number of suspense files.​

113.21 This duty to obtain fingerprints for the offenses in suspense at the request of the bureau​

113.22 shall include the requirement that fingerprints be taken in post-arrest interviews, while​

113.23 making court appearances, while in custody, or while on any form of probation, diversion,​

113.24 or supervised release.​

113.25 (b) Unless the superintendent of the bureau requires a shorter period, within 24 hours​

113.26 of taking the fingerprints and data, the fingerprint records and other identification data​

113.27 specified under paragraph (a) must be electronically entered into a bureau-managed​

113.28 searchable database in a manner as may be prescribed by the superintendent.​

113.29 (c) Prosecutors, courts, and probation officers and their agents, employees, and​

113.30 subordinates shall attempt to ensure that the required identification data is taken on a person​

113.31 described in paragraph (a). Law enforcement may take fingerprints of an individual who is​

113.32 presently on probation.​

113.33 (d) Finger and thumb prints must be obtained no later than:​
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114.1 (1) release from booking; or​

114.2 (2) if not booked prior to acceptance of a plea of guilty or not guilty.​

114.3 Prior to acceptance of a plea of guilty or not guilty, an individual's finger and thumb​

114.4 prints must be submitted to the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension for the offense. If finger​

114.5 and thumb prints have not been successfully received by the bureau, an individual may,​

114.6 upon order of the court, be taken into custody for no more than eight hours so that the taking​

114.7 of prints can be completed. Upon notice and motion of the prosecuting attorney, this time​

114.8 period may be extended upon a showing that additional time in custody is essential for the​

114.9 successful taking of prints.​

114.10 (e) For purposes of this section, a targeted misdemeanor is a misdemeanor violation of​

114.11 section 169A.20 (driving while impaired), 518B.01 (order for protection violation), 609.224​

114.12 (fifth-degree assault), 609.2242 (domestic assault), 609.746 (interference with privacy),​

114.13 609.748 (harassment or restraining order violation), 609.749 (obscene or harassing telephone​

114.14 calls), 617.23 (indecent exposure), or 629.75 (domestic abuse no contact order).​

114.15 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to violations​

114.16 that occur on or after that date.​

114.17 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 299C.11, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

114.18 Subdivision 1. Identification data other than DNA. (a) Each sheriff and chief of police​

114.19 shall furnish the bureau, upon such form as the superintendent shall prescribe, with such​

114.20 finger and thumb prints fingerprints and thumbprints, photographs, distinctive physical​

114.21 mark identification data, information on known aliases and street names, and other​

114.22 identification data as may be requested or required by the superintendent of the bureau,​

114.23 which must be taken under the provisions of section 299C.10. In addition, sheriffs and chiefs​

114.24 of police shall furnish this identification data to the bureau for individuals found to have​

114.25 been convicted of a felony, gross misdemeanor, or targeted misdemeanor, within the ten​

114.26 years immediately preceding their arrest. When the bureau learns that an individual who is​

114.27 the subject of a background check has used, or is using, identifying information, including,​

114.28 but not limited to, name and date of birth, other than those listed on the criminal history,​

114.29 the bureau shall convert into an electronic format, if necessary, and enter into a​

114.30 bureau-managed searchable database the new identifying information when supported by​

114.31 fingerprints within three business days of learning the information if the information is not​

114.32 entered by a law enforcement agency.​
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115.1 (b) No petition under chapter 609A is required if the person has not been convicted of​

115.2 any felony or gross misdemeanor, either within or without the state, within the period of​

115.3 ten years immediately preceding the determination of all pending criminal actions or​

115.4 proceedings in favor of the arrested person, and either of the following occurred:​

115.5 (1) all charges were dismissed prior to a determination of probable cause; or​

115.6 (2) the prosecuting authority declined to file any charges and a grand jury did not return​

115.7 an indictment.​

115.8 Where these conditions are met, the bureau or agency shall, upon demand, destroy the​

115.9 arrested person's finger and thumb prints fingerprints and thumbprints, photographs,​

115.10 distinctive physical mark identification data, information on known aliases and street names,​

115.11 and other identification data, and all copies and duplicates of them.​

115.12 (c) The bureau or agency shall destroy an arrested person's fingerprints and thumbprints,​

115.13 photographs, distinctive physical mark identification data, information on known aliases​

115.14 and street names, and other identification data and all copies and duplicates of them without​

115.15 the demand of any person or the granting of a petition under chapter 609A if:​

115.16 (1) the sheriff, chief of police, bureau, or other arresting agency determines that the​

115.17 person was arrested or identified as the result of mistaken identity before presenting​

115.18 information to the prosecuting authority for a charging decision; or​

115.19 (2) the prosecuting authority declines to file any charges or a grand jury does not return​

115.20 an indictment based on a determination that the person was identified or arrested as the​

115.21 result of mistaken identity.​

115.22 (d) A prosecuting authority that determines a person was arrested or identified as the​

115.23 result of mistaken identity and either declines to file any charges or receives notice that a​

115.24 grand jury did not return an indictment shall notify the bureau and the applicable sheriff,​

115.25 chief of police, or other arresting agency of the determination.​

115.26 (c) (e) Except as otherwise provided in paragraph (b) or (c), upon the determination of​

115.27 all pending criminal actions or proceedings in favor of the arrested person, and the granting​

115.28 of the petition of the arrested person under chapter 609A, the bureau shall seal finger and​

115.29 thumb prints fingerprints and thumbprints, photographs, distinctive physical mark​

115.30 identification data, information on known aliases and street names, and other identification​

115.31 data, and all copies and duplicates of them if the arrested person has not been convicted of​

115.32 any felony or gross misdemeanor, either within or without the state, within the period of​

115.33 ten years immediately preceding such determination.​
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116.1 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to​

116.2 determinations that a person was identified as the result of mistaken identity made on or​

116.3 after that date.​

116.4 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 299C.11, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

116.5 Subd. 3. Definitions. For purposes of this section:​

116.6 (1) "determination of all pending criminal actions or proceedings in favor of the arrested​

116.7 person" does not include:​

116.8 (i) the sealing of a criminal record pursuant to section 152.18, subdivision 1, 242.31, or​

116.9 chapter 609A;​

116.10 (ii) the arrested person's successful completion of a diversion program;​

116.11 (iii) an order of discharge under section 609.165; or​

116.12 (iv) a pardon granted under section 638.02; and​

116.13 (2) "mistaken identity" means the person was incorrectly identified as being a different​

116.14 person:​

116.15 (i) because the person's identity had been transferred, used, or possessed in violation of​

116.16 section 609.527; or​

116.17 (ii) as a result of misidentification by a witness or law enforcement, confusion on the​

116.18 part of a witness or law enforcement as to the identity of the person who committed the​

116.19 crime, misinformation provided to law enforcement as to the identity of the person who​

116.20 committed the crime, or some other mistake on the part of a witness or law enforcement as​

116.21 to the identity of the person who committed the crime; and​

116.22 (2) (3) "targeted misdemeanor" has the meaning given in section 299C.10, subdivision​

116.23 1.​

116.24 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.​

116.25 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 299C.111, is amended to read:​

116.26 299C.111 SUSPENSE FILE REPORTING.​

116.27 The superintendent shall immediately notify the appropriate entity or individual when​

116.28 a disposition record for a felony, gross misdemeanor, or targeted misdemeanor is received​

116.29 that cannot be linked to an arrest record.​

116.30 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.​
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117.1 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 299C.17, is amended to read:​

117.2 299C.17 REPORT BY COURT ADMINISTRATOR.​

117.3 The superintendent shall require the court administrator of every court which sentences​

117.4 a defendant for a felony, gross misdemeanor, or targeted misdemeanor, or petty misdemeanor​

117.5 to electronically transmit within 24 hours of the disposition of the case a report, in a form​

117.6 prescribed by the superintendent providing information required by the superintendent with​

117.7 regard to the prosecution and disposition of criminal cases. A copy of the report shall be​

117.8 kept on file in the office of the court administrator.​

117.9 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.​

117.10 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609A.01, is amended to read:​

117.11 609A.01 EXPUNGEMENT OF CRIMINAL RECORDS.​

117.12 This chapter provides the grounds and procedures for expungement of criminal records​

117.13 under section 13.82; 152.18, subdivision 1; 299C.11, where expungement is automatic under​

117.14 sections 609A.015, 609A.017, or 609A.035, or a petition is authorized under section 609A.02,​

117.15 subdivision 3; or other applicable law. The remedy available is limited to a court order or​

117.16 grant of expungement under section 609A.015 sealing the records and prohibiting the​

117.17 disclosure of their existence or their opening except under court order or statutory authority.​

117.18 Nothing in this chapter authorizes the destruction of records or their return to the subject​

117.19 of the records.​

117.20 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.​

117.21 Sec. 13. [609A.015] AUTOMATIC EXPUNGEMENT OF RECORDS.​

117.22 Subdivision 1. Eligibility; dismissal; exoneration. (a) A person who is the subject of​

117.23 a criminal record or delinquency record is eligible for a grant of expungement relief without​

117.24 the filing of a petition:​

117.25 (1) if the person was arrested and all charges were dismissed after a case was filed unless​

117.26 dismissal was based on a finding that the defendant was incompetent to proceed;​

117.27 (2) upon the dismissal and discharge of proceedings against a person under section​

117.28 152.18, subdivision 1, for violation of section 152.024, 152.025, or 152.027 for possession​

117.29 of a controlled substance; or​

117.30 (3) if all pending actions or proceedings were resolved in favor of the person.​
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118.1 (b) For purposes of this chapter, a verdict of not guilty by reason of mental illness is not​

118.2 a resolution in favor of the person. For purposes of this chapter, an action or proceeding is​

118.3 resolved in favor of the person if the petitioner received an order under section 590.11​

118.4 determining that the person is eligible for compensation based on exoneration.​

118.5 Subd. 2. Eligibility; diversion and stay of adjudication. A person is eligible for a grant​

118.6 of expungement relief if the person has successfully completed the terms of a diversion​

118.7 program or stay of adjudication for a qualifying offense that is not a felony and has not been​

118.8 petitioned or charged with a new offense, other than an offense that would be a petty​

118.9 misdemeanor, in Minnesota:​

118.10 (1) for one year immediately following completion of the diversion program or stay of​

118.11 adjudication; or​

118.12 (2) for one year immediately preceding a subsequent review performed pursuant to​

118.13 subdivision 5, paragraph (a).​

118.14 Subd. 3. Eligibility; certain criminal proceedings. (a) A person is eligible for a grant​

118.15 of expungement relief if the person:​

118.16 (1) was convicted of a qualifying offense;​

118.17 (2) has not been convicted of a new offense, other than an offense that would be a petty​

118.18 misdemeanor, in Minnesota:​

118.19 (i) during the applicable waiting period immediately following discharge of the disposition​

118.20 or sentence for the crime; or​

118.21 (ii) during the applicable waiting period immediately preceding a subsequent review​

118.22 performed pursuant to subdivision 5, paragraph (a); and​

118.23 (3) is not charged with an offense, other than an offense that would be a petty​

118.24 misdemeanor, in Minnesota at the time the person reaches the end of the applicable waiting​

118.25 period or at the time of a subsequent review.​

118.26 (b) As used in this subdivision, "qualifying offense" means a conviction for:​

118.27 (1) any petty misdemeanor offense other than a violation of a traffic regulation relating​

118.28 to the operation or parking of motor vehicles;​

118.29 (2) any misdemeanor offense other than:​

118.30 (i) section 169A.20 under the terms described in section 169A.27 (fourth-degree driving​

118.31 while impaired);​
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119.1 (ii) section 518B.01, subdivision 14 (violation of an order for protection);​

119.2 (iii) section 609.224 (assault in the fifth degree);​

119.3 (iv) section 609.2242 (domestic assault);​

119.4 (v) section 609.748 (violation of a harassment restraining order);​

119.5 (vi) section 609.78 (interference with emergency call);​

119.6 (vii) section 609.79 (obscene or harassing phone calls);​

119.7 (viii) section 617.23 (indecent exposure);​

119.8 (ix) section 609.746 (interference with privacy); or​

119.9 (x) section 629.75 (violation of domestic abuse no contact order);​

119.10 (3) any gross misdemeanor offense other than:​

119.11 (i) section 169A.25 (second-degree driving while impaired);​

119.12 (ii) section 169A.26 (third-degree driving while impaired);​

119.13 (iii) section 518B.01, subdivision 14 (violation of an order for protection);​

119.14 (iv) section 609.2113, subdivision 3 (criminal vehicular operation);​

119.15 (v) section 609.2231 (assault in the fourth degree);​

119.16 (vi) section 609.224 (assault in the fifth degree);​

119.17 (vii) section 609.2242 (domestic assault);​

119.18 (viii) section 609.233 (criminal neglect);​

119.19 (ix) section 609.3451 (criminal sexual conduct in the fifth degree);​

119.20 (x) section 609.377 (malicious punishment of child);​

119.21 (xi) section 609.485 (escape from custody);​

119.22 (xii) section 609.498 (tampering with witness);​

119.23 (xiii) section 609.582, subdivision 4 (burglary in the fourth degree);​

119.24 (xiv) section 609.746 (interference with privacy);​

119.25 (xv) section 609.748 (violation of a harassment restraining order);​

119.26 (xvi) section 609.749 (harassment; stalking);​

119.27 (xvii) section 609.78 (interference with emergency call);​

119​Article 5 Sec. 13.​

HOUSE RESEARCH JD/RK H2890DE1​03/26/23 03:25 pm ​



120.1 (xviii) section 617.23 (indecent exposure);​

120.2 (xix) section 617.261 (nonconsensual dissemination of private sexual images); or​

120.3 (xx) section 629.75 (violation of domestic abuse no contact order); or​

120.4 (4) any felony offense listed in section 609A.02, subdivision 3, paragraph (b), other​

120.5 than:​

120.6 (i) section 152.023, subdivision 2 (possession of a controlled substance in the third​

120.7 degree);​

120.8 (ii) 152.024, subdivision 2 (possession of a controlled substance in the fourth degree);​

120.9 (iii) section 609.485, subdivision 4, paragraph (a), clause (2) or (4) (escape from civil​

120.10 commitment for mental illness); or​

120.11 (iv) section 609.746, subdivision 1, paragraph (e) (interference with privacy; subsequent​

120.12 violation or minor victim).​

120.13 (c) As used in this subdivision, "applicable waiting period" means:​

120.14 (1) if the offense was a petty misdemeanor, two years since discharge of the sentence;​

120.15 (2) if the offense was a misdemeanor, two years since discharge of the sentence for the​

120.16 crime;​

120.17 (3) if the offense was a gross misdemeanor, three years since discharge of the sentence​

120.18 for the crime;​

120.19 (4) if the offense was a felony violation of section 152.025, four years since the discharge​

120.20 of the sentence for the crime; and​

120.21 (5) if the offense was any other felony, five years since discharge of the sentence for the​

120.22 crime.​

120.23 (d) Felony offenses deemed to be a gross misdemeanor or misdemeanor pursuant to​

120.24 section 609.13, subdivision 1, remain ineligible for expungement under this section. Gross​

120.25 misdemeanor offenses ineligible for a grant of expungement under this section remain​

120.26 ineligible if deemed to be for a misdemeanor pursuant to section 609.13, subdivision 2.​

120.27 Subd. 4. Notice. (a) The court shall notify a person who may become eligible for an​

120.28 automatic expungement under this section of that eligibility at any hearing where the court​

120.29 dismisses and discharges proceedings against a person under section 152.18, subdivision​

120.30 1, for violation of section 152.024, 152.025, or 152.027 for possession of a controlled​

120.31 substance; concludes that all pending actions or proceedings were resolved in favor of the​
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121.1 person; grants a person's placement into a diversion program; or sentences a person or​

121.2 otherwise imposes a consequence for a qualifying offense.​

121.3 (b) To the extent possible, prosecutors, defense counsel, supervising agents, and​

121.4 coordinators or supervisors of a diversion program shall notify a person who may become​

121.5 eligible for an automatic expungement under this section of that eligibility.​

121.6 (c) If any party gives notification under this subdivision, the notification shall inform​

121.7 the person that:​

121.8 (1) a record expunged under this section may be opened for purposes of a background​

121.9 study by the Department of Human Services under section 245C.08 and for purposes of a​

121.10 background check by the Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board as required​

121.11 under section 122A.18, subdivision 8; and​

121.12 (2) the person can file a petition to expunge the record and request that the petition be​

121.13 directed to the commissioner of human services and the Professional Educator Licensing​

121.14 and Standards Board.​

121.15 Subd. 5. Bureau of Criminal Apprehension to identify eligible persons and grant​

121.16 expungement relief. (a) The Bureau of Criminal Apprehension shall identify any records​

121.17 that qualify for a grant of expungement relief pursuant to this subdivision or subdivision 1,​

121.18 2, or 3. The Bureau of Criminal Apprehension shall make an initial determination of​

121.19 eligibility within 30 days of the end of the applicable waiting period. If a record is not​

121.20 eligible for a grant of expungement at the time of the initial determination, the Bureau of​

121.21 Criminal Apprehension shall make subsequent eligibility determinations annually until the​

121.22 record is eligible for a grant of expungement.​

121.23 (b) In making the determination under paragraph (a), the Bureau of Criminal​

121.24 Apprehension shall identify individuals who are the subject of relevant records through the​

121.25 use of finger and thumb prints where finger and thumb prints are available. Where finger​

121.26 and thumb prints are not available, the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension shall identify​

121.27 individuals through the use of the person's name and date of birth. Records containing the​

121.28 same name and date of birth shall be presumed to refer to the same individual unless other​

121.29 evidence establishes, by a preponderance of the evidence, that they do not refer to the same​

121.30 individual. The Bureau of Criminal Apprehension is not required to review any other​

121.31 evidence in making a determination.​

121.32 (c) The Bureau of Criminal Apprehension shall grant expungement relief to qualifying​

121.33 persons and seal its own records without requiring an application, petition, or motion.​

121.34 Records shall be sealed 60 days after notice is sent to the judicial branch pursuant to​
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122.1 paragraph (e) unless an order of the judicial branch prohibits sealing the records or additional​

122.2 information establishes that the records are not eligible for expungement.​

122.3 (d) Nonpublic criminal records maintained by the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension​

122.4 and subject to a grant of expungement relief shall display a notation stating "expungement​

122.5 relief granted pursuant to section 609A.015."​

122.6 (e) The Bureau of Criminal Apprehension shall inform the judicial branch of all cases​

122.7 for which expungement relief was granted pursuant to this section. Notification may be​

122.8 through electronic means and may be made in real time or in the form of a monthly report.​

122.9 Upon receipt of notice, the judicial branch shall seal all records relating to an arrest,​

122.10 indictment or information, trial, verdict, or dismissal and discharge for any case in which​

122.11 expungement relief was granted and shall issue any order deemed necessary to achieve this​

122.12 purpose.​

122.13 (f) The Bureau of Criminal Apprehension shall inform each law enforcement agency​

122.14 that its records may be affected by a grant of expungement relief. Notification may be​

122.15 through electronic means. Each notified law enforcement agency that receives a request to​

122.16 produce records shall first contact the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension to determine if the​

122.17 records were subject to a grant of expungement under this section. The law enforcement​

122.18 agency must not disclose records relating to an arrest, indictment or information, trial,​

122.19 verdict, or dismissal and discharge for any case in which expungement relief was granted​

122.20 and must maintain the data consistent with the classification in paragraph (g). This paragraph​

122.21 does not apply to requests from a criminal justice agency as defined in section 609A.03,​

122.22 subdivision 7a, paragraph (f), for the purposes of:​

122.23 (1) initiating, furthering, or completing a criminal investigation or prosecution or for​

122.24 sentencing purposes or providing probation or other correctional services; or​

122.25 (2) evaluating a prospective employee in a criminal justice agency without a court order.​

122.26 (g) Data on the person whose offense has been expunged under this subdivision, including​

122.27 any notice sent pursuant to paragraph (f), are private data on individuals as defined in section​

122.28 13.02, subdivision 12.​

122.29 (h) The prosecuting attorney shall notify the victim that an offense qualifies for automatic​

122.30 expungement under this section in the manner provided in section 611A.03, subdivisions​

122.31 1 and 2.​

122.32 (i) In any subsequent prosecution of a person granted expungement relief, the expunged​

122.33 criminal record may be pleaded and has the same effect as if the relief had not been granted.​
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123.1 (j) The Bureau of Criminal Apprehension is directed to develop, modify, or update a​

123.2 system to provide criminal justice agencies with uniform statewide access to criminal records​

123.3 sealed by expungement.​

123.4 Subd. 6. Immunity from civil liability. Employees of the Bureau of Criminal​

123.5 Apprehension shall not be held civilly liable for the exercise or the failure to exercise, or​

123.6 the decision to exercise or the decision to decline to exercise, the powers granted by this​

123.7 section or for any act or omission occurring within the scope of the performance of their​

123.8 duties under this section.​

123.9 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025, and applies to offenses​

123.10 that meet the eligibility criteria on or after that date and retroactively to offenses that met​

123.11 those qualifications before January 1, 2025, and are stored in the Bureau of Criminal​

123.12 Apprehension's criminal history system as of January 1, 2025.​

123.13 Sec. 14. [609A.017] MISTAKEN IDENTITY; AUTOMATIC EXPUNGEMENT.​

123.14 Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) As used in this section, the following terms have the​

123.15 meanings given.​

123.16 (b) "Conviction" means a plea of guilty, a verdict of guilty by a jury, or a finding of​

123.17 guilty by a court.​

123.18 (c) "Mistaken identity" means a person was incorrectly identified as being a different​

123.19 person:​

123.20 (1) because the person's identity had been transferred, used, or possessed in violation of​

123.21 section 609.527; or​

123.22 (2) as a result of misidentification by a witness or law enforcement, confusion on the​

123.23 part of a witness or law enforcement as to the identity of the person who committed the​

123.24 crime, misinformation provided to law enforcement as to the identity of the person who​

123.25 committed the crime, or some other mistake on the part of a witness or law enforcement as​

123.26 to the identity of the person who committed the crime.​

123.27 Subd. 2. Determination by prosecutor; notification. If, before a conviction, a prosecutor​

123.28 determines that a defendant was issued a citation, charged, indicted, or otherwise prosecuted​

123.29 as the result of mistaken identity, the prosecutor must dismiss or move to dismiss the action​

123.30 or proceeding and must state in writing or on the record that mistaken identity is the reason​

123.31 for the dismissal.​
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124.1 Subd. 3. Order of expungement. (a) The court shall issue an order of expungement​

124.2 without the filing of a petition when an action or proceeding is dismissed based on a​

124.3 determination that a defendant was issued a citation, charged, indicted, or otherwise​

124.4 prosecuted as the result of mistaken identity. The order shall cite this section as the basis​

124.5 for the order.​

124.6 (b) An order issued under this section is not subject to the considerations or standards​

124.7 identified in section 609A.025 or 609A.03, subdivision 5, paragraph (a), (b), or (c).​

124.8 Subd. 4. Effect of order. (a) An order issued under this section is not subject to the​

124.9 limitations in section 609A.03, subdivision 7a or 9. The effect of the court order to seal the​

124.10 record of the proceedings shall be to restore the person, in the contemplation of the law, to​

124.11 the status the person occupied before the arrest, indictment, or information. The person shall​

124.12 not be guilty of perjury or otherwise of giving a false statement if the person fails to​

124.13 acknowledge the arrest, indictment, information, or trial in response to any inquiry made​

124.14 for any purpose.​

124.15 (b) A criminal justice agency may seek access to a record that was sealed under this​

124.16 section for purposes of determining whether the subject of the order was identified in any​

124.17 other action or proceeding as the result of mistaken identity or for a criminal investigation,​

124.18 prosecution, or sentencing involving any other person. The requesting agency must obtain​

124.19 an ex parte court order after stating a good-faith basis to believe that opening the record​

124.20 may lead to relevant information.​

124.21 (c) The court administrator must distribute and confirm receipt of an order issued under​

124.22 this section pursuant to section 609A.03, subdivision 8.​

124.23 (d) Data on the person whose offense has been expunged contained in a letter or other​

124.24 notification sent under this subdivision are private data on individuals as defined in section​

124.25 13.02.​

124.26 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to​

124.27 determinations that a person was identified as the result of mistaken identity on or after that​

124.28 date.​

124.29 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609A.02, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

124.30 Subd. 3. Certain criminal proceedings. (a) A petition may be filed under section​

124.31 609A.03 to seal all records relating to an arrest, indictment or information, trial, or verdict​

124.32 if the records are not subject to section 299C.11, subdivision 1, paragraph (b), and if:​
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125.1 (1) all pending actions or proceedings were resolved in favor of the petitioner. For​

125.2 purposes of this chapter, a verdict of not guilty by reason of mental illness is not a resolution​

125.3 in favor of the petitioner. For the purposes of this chapter, an action or proceeding is resolved​

125.4 in favor of the petitioner, if the petitioner received an order under section 590.11 determining​

125.5 that the petitioner is eligible for compensation based on exoneration;​

125.6 (2) the petitioner has successfully completed the terms of a diversion program or stay​

125.7 of adjudication and has not been charged with a new crime for at least one year since​

125.8 completion of the diversion program or stay of adjudication;​

125.9 (3) the petitioner was convicted of or received a stayed sentence for a petty misdemeanor​

125.10 or misdemeanor or the sentence imposed was within the limits provided by law for a​

125.11 misdemeanor and the petitioner has not been convicted of a new crime for at least two years​

125.12 since discharge of the sentence for the crime;​

125.13 (4) the petitioner was convicted of or received a stayed sentence for a gross misdemeanor​

125.14 or the sentence imposed was within the limits provided by law for a gross misdemeanor​

125.15 and the petitioner has not been convicted of a new crime for at least four three years since​

125.16 discharge of the sentence for the crime; or​

125.17 (5) the petitioner was convicted of a gross misdemeanor that is deemed to be for a​

125.18 misdemeanor pursuant to section 609.13, subdivision 2, clause (2), and has not been convicted​

125.19 of a new crime for at least three years since discharge of the sentence for the crime;​

125.20 (6) the petitioner was convicted of a felony violation of section 152.025 and has not​

125.21 been convicted of a new crime for at least four years since discharge of the sentence for the​

125.22 crime;​

125.23 (7) the petitioner was convicted of a felony that is deemed to be for a gross misdemeanor​

125.24 or misdemeanor pursuant to section 609.13, subdivision 1, clause (2), and has not been​

125.25 convicted of a new crime for at least five years since discharge of the sentence for the crime;​

125.26 or​

125.27 (5) (8) the petitioner was convicted of or received a stayed sentence for a felony violation​

125.28 of an offense listed in paragraph (b), and has not been convicted of a new crime for at least​

125.29 five four years since discharge of the sentence for the crime.​

125.30 (b) Paragraph (a), clause (5) (7), applies to the following offenses:​

125.31 (1) section 35.824 (altering livestock certificate);​

125.32 (2) section 62A.41 (insurance regulations);​
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126.1 (3) section 86B.865, subdivision 1 (certification for title on watercraft);​

126.2 (4) section 152.023, subdivision 2 (possession of a controlled substance in the third​

126.3 degree); 152.024, subdivision 2 (possession of a controlled substance in the fourth degree);​

126.4 152.025 (controlled substance in the fifth degree); or 152.097 (sale of simulated controlled​

126.5 substance);​

126.6 (5) section 168A.30, subdivision 1 (certificate of title false information); or 169.09,​

126.7 subdivision 14, paragraph (a), clause (2) (accident resulting in great bodily harm);​

126.8 (6) chapter 201; 203B; or 204C (voting violations);​

126.9 (7) section 228.45; 228.47; 228.49; 228.50; or 228.51 (false bill of lading);​

126.10 (8) section 256.984 (false declaration in assistance application);​

126.11 (9) section 296A.23, subdivision 2 (willful evasion of fuel tax);​

126.12 (10) section 297D.09, subdivision 1 (failure to affix stamp on scheduled substances);​

126.13 (11) section 297G.19 (liquor taxation); or 340A.701 (unlawful acts involving liquor);​

126.14 (12) section 325F.743 (precious metal dealers); or 325F.755, subdivision 7 (prize notices​

126.15 and solicitations);​

126.16 (13) section 346.155, subdivision 10 (failure to control regulated animal);​

126.17 (14) section 349.2127; or 349.22 (gambling regulations);​

126.18 (15) section 588.20 (contempt);​

126.19 (16) section 609.27, subdivision 1, clauses (2) to (5) (coercion);​

126.20 (17) section 609.31 (leaving state to evade establishment of paternity);​

126.21 (18) section 609.485, subdivision 4, paragraph (a), clause (2) or (4) (escape from civil​

126.22 commitment for mental illness);​

126.23 (19) section 609.49 (failure to appear in court);​

126.24 (20) section 609.52, subdivision 2, when sentenced pursuant to section 609.52,​

126.25 subdivision 3, clause (3)(a) (theft of $5,000 or less), or other theft offense that is sentenced​

126.26 under this provision; or 609.52, subdivision 3a, clause (1) (theft of $1,000 or less with risk​

126.27 of bodily harm); or any other offense sentenced pursuant to section 609.52, subdivision 3,​

126.28 clause (3)(a);​

126.29 (21) section 609.521 (possession of shoplifting gear);​

126.30 (21) (22) section 609.525 (bringing stolen goods into state);​
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127.1 (22) (23) section 609.526, subdivision 2, clause (2) (metal dealer receiving stolen goods);​

127.2 (23) (24) section 609.527, subdivision 5b (possession or use of scanning device or​

127.3 reencoder); 609.528, subdivision 3, clause (3) (possession or sale of stolen or counterfeit​

127.4 check); or 609.529 (mail theft);​

127.5 (24) (25) section 609.53 (receiving stolen goods);​

127.6 (25) (26) section 609.535, subdivision 2a, paragraph (a), clause (1) (dishonored check​

127.7 over $500);​

127.8 (26) (27) section 609.54, clause (1) (embezzlement of public funds $2,500 or less);​

127.9 (27) (28) section 609.551 (rustling and livestock theft);​

127.10 (28) (29) section 609.5641, subdivision 1a, paragraph (a) (wildfire arson);​

127.11 (29) (30) section 609.576, subdivision 1, clause (3), item (iii) (negligent fires);​

127.12 (31) section 609.582, subdivision 3 (burglary in the third degree);​

127.13 (32) section 609.59 (possession of burglary or theft tools);​

127.14 (30) (33) section 609.595, subdivision 1, clauses (3) to (5), and subdivision 1a, paragraph​

127.15 (a) (criminal damage to property);​

127.16 (31) (34) section 609.597, subdivision 3, clause (3) (assaulting or harming police horse);​

127.17 (32) (35) section 609.625 (aggravated forgery); 609.63 (forgery); 609.631, subdivision​

127.18 4, clause (3)(a) (check forgery $2,500 or less); 609.635 (obtaining signature by false​

127.19 pretense); 609.64 (recording, filing forged instrument); or 609.645 (fraudulent statements);​

127.20 (33) (36) section 609.65, clause (1) (false certification by notary); or 609.651, subdivision​

127.21 4, paragraph (a) (lottery fraud);​

127.22 (34) (37) section 609.652 (fraudulent driver's license and identification card);​

127.23 (35) (38) section 609.66, subdivision 1a, paragraph (a) (discharge of firearm; silencer);​

127.24 or 609.66, subdivision 1b (furnishing firearm to minor);​

127.25 (36) (39) section 609.662, subdivision 2, paragraph (b) (duty to render aid);​

127.26 (37) (40) section 609.686, subdivision 2 (tampering with fire alarm);​

127.27 (38) (41) section 609.746, subdivision 1, paragraph (e) (g) (interference with privacy;​

127.28 subsequent violation or minor victim);​

127.29 (39) (42) section 609.80, subdivision 2 (interference with cable communications system);​
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128.1 (40) (43) section 609.821, subdivision 2 (financial transaction card fraud);​

128.2 (41) (44) section 609.822 (residential mortgage fraud);​

128.3 (42) (45) section 609.825, subdivision 2 (bribery of participant or official in contest);​

128.4 (43) (46) section 609.855, subdivision 2, paragraph (c), clause (1) (interference with​

128.5 transit operator);​

128.6 (44) (47) section 609.88 (computer damage); or 609.89 (computer theft);​

128.7 (45) (48) section 609.893, subdivision 2 (telecommunications and information services​

128.8 fraud);​

128.9 (46) (49) section 609.894, subdivision 3 or 4 (cellular counterfeiting);​

128.10 (47) (50) section 609.895, subdivision 3, paragraph (a) or (b) (counterfeited intellectual​

128.11 property);​

128.12 (48) (51) section 609.896 (movie pirating);​

128.13 (49) (52) section 624.7132, subdivision 15, paragraph (b) (transfer pistol to minor);​

128.14 624.714, subdivision 1a (pistol without permit; subsequent violation); or 624.7141,​

128.15 subdivision 2 (transfer of pistol to ineligible person); or​

128.16 (50) (53) section 624.7181 (rifle or shotgun in public by minor).​

128.17 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2023, and applies to all offenses​

128.18 that meet the eligibility criteria on or after that date.​

128.19 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609A.03, subdivision 5, is amended to read:​

128.20 Subd. 5. Nature of remedy; standard. (a) Except as otherwise provided by paragraph​

128.21 (b), expungement of a criminal record under this section is an extraordinary remedy to be​

128.22 granted only upon clear and convincing evidence that it would yield a benefit to the petitioner​

128.23 commensurate with the disadvantages to the public and public safety of:​

128.24 (1) sealing the record; and​

128.25 (2) burdening the court and public authorities to issue, enforce, and monitor an​

128.26 expungement order.​

128.27 (b) Except as otherwise provided by this paragraph, if the petitioner is petitioning for​

128.28 the sealing of a criminal record under section 609A.02, subdivision 3, paragraph (a), clause​

128.29 (1) or (2), the court shall grant the petition to seal the record unless the agency or jurisdiction​

128.30 whose records would be affected establishes by clear and convincing evidence that the​
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129.1 interests of the public and public safety outweigh the disadvantages to the petitioner of not​

129.2 sealing the record.​

129.3 (c) In making a determination under this subdivision, the court shall consider:​

129.4 (1) the nature and severity of the underlying crime, the record of which would be sealed;​

129.5 (2) the risk, if any, the petitioner poses to individuals or society;​

129.6 (3) the length of time since the crime occurred;​

129.7 (4) the steps taken by the petitioner toward rehabilitation following the crime;​

129.8 (5) aggravating or mitigating factors relating to the underlying crime, including the​

129.9 petitioner's level of participation and context and circumstances of the underlying crime;​

129.10 (6) the reasons for the expungement, including the petitioner's attempts to obtain​

129.11 employment, housing, or other necessities;​

129.12 (7) the petitioner's criminal record;​

129.13 (8) the petitioner's record of employment and community involvement;​

129.14 (9) the recommendations of interested law enforcement, prosecutorial, and corrections​

129.15 officials;​

129.16 (10) the recommendations of victims or whether victims of the underlying crime were​

129.17 minors;​

129.18 (11) the amount, if any, of restitution outstanding, past efforts made by the petitioner​

129.19 toward payment, and the measures in place to help ensure completion of restitution payment​

129.20 after expungement of the record if granted; and​

129.21 (12) other factors deemed relevant by the court.​

129.22 (d) Notwithstanding section 13.82, 13.87, or any other law to the contrary, if the court​

129.23 issues an expungement order it may require that the criminal record be sealed, the existence​

129.24 of the record not be revealed, and the record not be opened except as required under​

129.25 subdivision 7. Records must not be destroyed or returned to the subject of the record.​

129.26 (e) Information relating to a criminal history record of an employee, former employee,​

129.27 or tenant that has been expunged before the occurrence of the act giving rise to the civil​

129.28 action may not be introduced as evidence in a civil action against a private employer or​

129.29 landlord or its employees or agents that is based on the conduct of the employee, former​

129.30 employee, or tenant.​

129.31 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.​
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130.1 Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609A.03, subdivision 7a, is amended to read:​

130.2 Subd. 7a. Limitations of order effective January 1, 2015, and later. (a) Upon issuance​

130.3 of an expungement order related to a charge supported by probable cause, the DNA samples​

130.4 and DNA records held by the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension and collected under authority​

130.5 other than section 299C.105 shall not be sealed, returned to the subject of the record, or​

130.6 destroyed.​

130.7 (b) Notwithstanding the issuance of an expungement order:​

130.8 (1) except as provided in clause (2), an expunged record may be opened, used, or​

130.9 exchanged between criminal justice agencies without a court order for the purposes of​

130.10 initiating, furthering, or completing a criminal investigation or prosecution or for sentencing​

130.11 purposes or providing probation or other correctional services;​

130.12 (2) when a criminal justice agency seeks access to a record that was sealed under section​

130.13 609A.02, subdivision 3, paragraph (a), clause (1), after an acquittal or a court order dismissing​

130.14 for lack of probable cause, for purposes of a criminal investigation, prosecution, or​

130.15 sentencing, the requesting agency must obtain an ex parte court order after stating a​

130.16 good-faith basis to believe that opening the record may lead to relevant information;​

130.17 (3) an expunged record of a conviction may be opened for purposes of evaluating a​

130.18 prospective employee in a criminal justice agency without a court order;​

130.19 (4) an expunged record of a conviction may be opened for purposes of a background​

130.20 study under section 245C.08 unless the commissioner had been properly served with notice​

130.21 of the petition for expungement and the court order for expungement is directed specifically​

130.22 to the commissioner of human services following proper service of a petition, or following​

130.23 proceedings under section 609A.025 or 609A.035 upon service of an order to the​

130.24 commissioner of human services;​

130.25 (5) an expunged record of a conviction may be opened for purposes of a background​

130.26 check required under section 122A.18, subdivision 8, unless the court order for expungement​

130.27 is directed specifically to the Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board; and​

130.28 (6) the court may order an expunged record opened upon request by the victim of the​

130.29 underlying offense if the court determines that the record is substantially related to a matter​

130.30 for which the victim is before the court.;​

130.31 (7) a prosecutor may request, and the district court shall provide, certified records of​

130.32 conviction for a record expunged pursuant to sections 609A.015, 609A.17, 609A.02,​

130.33 609A.025, and 609A.035, and the certified records of conviction may be disclosed and​
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131.1 introduced in criminal court proceedings as provided by the rules of court and applicable​

131.2 law; and​

131.3 (8) the subject of an expunged record may request, and the court shall provide, certified​

131.4 or uncertified records of conviction for a record expunged pursuant to sections 609A.015,​

131.5 609A.017, 609A.02, 609A.025, and 609A.035.​

131.6 (c) An agency or jurisdiction subject to an expungement order shall maintain the record​

131.7 in a manner that provides access to the record by a criminal justice agency under paragraph​

131.8 (b), clause (1) or (2), but notifies the recipient that the record has been sealed. The Bureau​

131.9 of Criminal Apprehension shall notify the commissioner of human services or the​

131.10 Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board of the existence of a sealed record​

131.11 and of the right to obtain access under paragraph (b), clause (4) or (5). Upon request, the​

131.12 agency or jurisdiction subject to the expungement order shall provide access to the record​

131.13 to the commissioner of human services or the Professional Educator Licensing and Standards​

131.14 Board under paragraph (b), clause (4) or (5).​

131.15 (d) An expunged record that is opened or exchanged under this subdivision remains​

131.16 subject to the expungement order in the hands of the person receiving the record.​

131.17 (e) A criminal justice agency that receives an expunged record under paragraph (b),​

131.18 clause (1) or (2), must maintain and store the record in a manner that restricts the use of the​

131.19 record to the investigation, prosecution, or sentencing for which it was obtained.​

131.20 (f) For purposes of this section, a "criminal justice agency" means a court or government​

131.21 agency that performs the administration of criminal justice under statutory authority.​

131.22 (g) This subdivision applies to expungement orders subject to its limitations and effective​

131.23 on or after January 1, 2015, and grants of expungement relief issued on or after January 1,​

131.24 2025.​

131.25 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.​

131.26 Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609A.03, subdivision 9, is amended to read:​

131.27 Subd. 9. Stay of order; appeal. An expungement order issued under this section shall​

131.28 be stayed automatically for 60 days after the order is filed and, if the order is appealed,​

131.29 during the appeal period. A person or an agency or jurisdiction whose records would be​

131.30 affected by the order may appeal the order within 60 days of service of notice of filing of​

131.31 the order. An agency or jurisdiction or its officials or employees need not file a cost bond​

131.32 or supersedeas bond in order to further stay the proceedings or file an appeal.​
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132.1 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.​

132.2 Sec. 19. [609A.035] PARDON EXTRAORDINARY; NO PETITION REQUIRED.​

132.3 (a) Notwithstanding section 609A.02, if the Board of Pardons grants a petition for a​

132.4 pardon extraordinary pursuant to section 638.02, subdivision 2, it shall file a copy of the​

132.5 pardon extraordinary with the district court of the county in which the conviction occurred.​

132.6 (b) The district court shall issue an expungement order sealing all records wherever held​

132.7 relating to the arrest, indictment or information, trial, verdict, and pardon for the pardoned​

132.8 offense without the filing of a petition and send an expungement order to each government​

132.9 entity whose records are affected.​

132.10 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.​

132.11 Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 611A.03, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

132.12 Subdivision 1. Plea agreements; notification of victim. Prior to the entry of the factual​

132.13 basis for a plea pursuant to a plea agreement recommendation, a prosecuting attorney shall​

132.14 make a reasonable and good faith effort to inform the victim of:​

132.15 (1) the contents of the plea agreement recommendation, including the amount of time​

132.16 recommended for the defendant to serve in jail or prison if the court accepts the agreement;​

132.17 and​

132.18 (2) the right to be present at the sentencing hearing and at the hearing during which the​

132.19 plea is presented to the court and to express orally or in writing, at the victim's option, any​

132.20 objection to the agreement or to the proposed disposition. If the victim is not present when​

132.21 the court considers the recommendation, but has communicated objections to the prosecuting​

132.22 attorney, the prosecuting attorney shall make these objections known to the court.; and​

132.23 (3) the eligibility of the offense for automatic expungement pursuant to section 609A.015.​

132.24 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025, and applies to plea​

132.25 agreements entered into on or after that date.​

132.26 Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 638.02, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

132.27 Subd. 2. Petition; pardon extraordinary. Any person, convicted of a crime in any​

132.28 court of this state, who has served the sentence imposed by the court and has been discharged​

132.29 of the sentence either by order of court or by operation of law, may petition the Board of​

132.30 Pardons for the granting of a pardon extraordinary. Unless the Board of Pardons expressly​
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133.1 provides otherwise in writing by unanimous vote, the application for a pardon extraordinary​

133.2 may not be filed until the applicable time period in clause (1) or (2) has elapsed:​

133.3 (1) if the person was convicted of a crime of violence as defined in section 624.712,​

133.4 subdivision 5, ten years must have elapsed since the sentence was discharged and during​

133.5 that time the person must not have been convicted of any other crime; and​

133.6 (2) if the person was convicted of any crime not included within the definition of crime​

133.7 of violence under section 624.712, subdivision 5, five years must have elapsed since the​

133.8 sentence was discharged and during that time the person must not have been convicted of​

133.9 any other crime.​

133.10 If the Board of Pardons determines that the person is of good character and reputation, the​

133.11 board may, in its discretion, grant the person a pardon extraordinary. The pardon​

133.12 extraordinary, when granted, has the effect of setting aside and nullifying the conviction​

133.13 and of purging the person of it, and the person shall never after that be required to disclose​

133.14 the conviction at any time or place other than in a judicial proceeding or as part of the​

133.15 licensing process for peace officers. The pardon extraordinary, after being granted and filed​

133.16 with the district court in which the conviction occurred, will also seal all records wherever​

133.17 held related to the arrest, indictment or information, trial, verdict, and pardon.​

133.18 The application for a pardon extraordinary, the proceedings to review an application,​

133.19 and the notice requirements are governed by the statutes and the rules of the board in respect​

133.20 to other proceedings before the board. The application shall contain any further information​

133.21 that the board may require.​

133.22 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.​

133.23 Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 638.02, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

133.24 Subd. 3. Pardon extraordinary; filing; copies sent. Upon granting a pardon​

133.25 extraordinary, the Board of Pardons shall file a copy of it with the district court of the county​

133.26 in which the conviction occurred, and the court shall order the conviction set aside and​

133.27 include a copy of the pardon in the court file. The court shall order all records wherever​

133.28 held relating to the arrest, indictment or information, trial, verdict, and pardon sealed and​

133.29 prohibit the disclosure of the existence of the records or the opening of the records except​

133.30 under court order or pursuant to section 609A.03, subdivision 7a, paragraph (b), clause (1),​

133.31 (7) or (8). The court shall send a copy of its order and the pardon to the Bureau of Criminal​

133.32 Apprehension and all other government entities that hold affected records. The court​

133.33 administrator under section 609A.03, subdivision 8, shall send a copy of the expungement​

133​Article 5 Sec. 22.​
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134.1 order to each government entity whose records are affected by the order, including but not​

134.2 limited to the Department of Corrections, the Department of Public Safety, and law​

134.3 enforcement agencies.​

134.4 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.​

134.5 ARTICLE 6​

134.6 CLEMENCY REFORM​

134.7 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 13.871, subdivision 8, is amended to read:​

134.8 Subd. 8. Board of Pardons Clemency Review Commission records. Access to Board​

134.9 of Pardons records of the Clemency Review Commission is governed by section 638.07​

134.10 638.20.​

134.11 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 299C.11, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

134.12 Subd. 3. Definitions. For purposes of this section:​

134.13 (1) "determination of all pending criminal actions or proceedings in favor of the arrested​

134.14 person" does not include:​

134.15 (i) the sealing of a criminal record pursuant to section 152.18, subdivision 1, 242.31, or​

134.16 chapter 609A;​

134.17 (ii) the arrested person's successful completion of a diversion program;​

134.18 (iii) an order of discharge under section 609.165; or​

134.19 (iv) a pardon granted under section 638.02 chapter 638; and​

134.20 (2) "targeted misdemeanor" has the meaning given in section 299C.10, subdivision 1.​

134.21 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 638.01, is amended to read:​

134.22 638.01 BOARD OF PARDONS; HOW CONSTITUTED; POWERS.​

134.23 The Board of Pardons shall consist consists of the governor, the chief justice of the​

134.24 supreme court, and the attorney general. The board governor in conjunction with the board​

134.25 may grant pardons and reprieves and commute the sentence of any person convicted of any​

134.26 offense against the laws of the state, in the manner and under the conditions and rules​

134.27 hereinafter prescribed, but not otherwise clemency according to this chapter.​

134.28 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

134​Article 6 Sec. 3.​
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135.1 Sec. 4. [638.011] DEFINITIONS.​

135.2 Subdivision 1. Scope. For purposes of this chapter, the terms defined in this section have​

135.3 the meanings given.​

135.4 Subd. 2. Board. "Board" means the Board of Pardons under section 638.01.​

135.5 Subd. 3. Clemency. Unless otherwise provided, "clemency" includes a pardon,​

135.6 commutation, and reprieve after conviction for a crime against the state except in cases of​

135.7 impeachment.​

135.8 Subd. 4. Commission. "Commission" means the Clemency Review Commission under​

135.9 section 638.09.​

135.10 Subd. 5. Department. "Department" means the Department of Corrections.​

135.11 Subd. 6. Waiver request. "Waiver request" means a request to waive a time restriction​

135.12 under sections 638.12, subdivisions 2 and 3, and 638.19, subdivision 1.​

135.13 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.​

135.14 Sec. 5. [638.09] CLEMENCY REVIEW COMMISSION.​

135.15 Subdivision 1. Establishment; duties. (a) The Clemency Review Commission is​

135.16 established to:​

135.17 (1) review each eligible clemency application and waiver request that it receives;​

135.18 (2) recommend to the board, in writing, whether to grant or deny the application or​

135.19 waiver request, with each member's vote reported;​

135.20 (3) recommend to the board, in writing, whether the board should conduct a hearing on​

135.21 a clemency application, with each member's vote reported; and​

135.22 (4) provide victim support services, assistance to applicants, and other assistance as the​

135.23 board requires.​

135.24 (b) Unless otherwise provided:​

135.25 (1) the commission's recommendations under this chapter are nonbinding on the governor​

135.26 or the board; and​

135.27 (2) chapter 15 applies unless otherwise inconsistent with this chapter.​

135.28 Subd. 2. Composition. (a) The commission consists of nine members, each serving a​

135.29 term coterminous with the governor.​

135​Article 6 Sec. 5.​
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136.1 (b) The governor, the attorney general, and the chief justice of the supreme court must​

136.2 each appoint three members to serve on the commission and replace members when the​

136.3 members' terms expire. Members serve at the pleasure of their appointing authority.​

136.4 Subd. 3. Appointments to commission. (a) An appointing authority is encouraged to​

136.5 consider the following criteria when appointing a member:​

136.6 (1) expertise in law, corrections, victims' services, correctional supervision, mental​

136.7 health, and substance abuse treatment; and​

136.8 (2) experience addressing systemic disparities, including but not limited to disparities​

136.9 based on race, gender, and ability.​

136.10 (b) An appointing authority must seek out and encourage qualified individuals to apply​

136.11 to serve on the commission, including:​

136.12 (1) members of Indigenous communities, Black communities, and other communities​

136.13 of color;​

136.14 (2) members diverse as to gender identity; and​

136.15 (3) members diverse as to age and ability.​

136.16 (c) If there is a vacancy, the appointing authority who selected the vacating member​

136.17 must make an interim appointment to expire at the end of the vacating member's term.​

136.18 (d) A member may continue to serve until the member's successor is appointed, but a​

136.19 member may not serve more than eight years in total.​

136.20 Subd. 4. Commission; generally. (a) The commission must biennially elect one of its​

136.21 members as chair and one as vice-chair. The chair serves as the board's secretary.​

136.22 (b) Each commission member must be:​

136.23 (1) compensated at a rate of $150 for each day or part of the day spent on commission​

136.24 activities; and​

136.25 (2) reimbursed for all reasonable expenses actually paid or incurred by the member while​

136.26 performing official duties.​

136.27 (c) Beginning January 1, 2025, and annually thereafter, the board may set a new per​

136.28 diem rate for commission members, not to exceed an amount ten percent higher than the​

136.29 previous year's rate.​
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137.1 Subd. 5. Executive director. (a) The board must appoint a commission executive director​

137.2 knowledgeable about clemency and criminal justice. The executive director serves at the​

137.3 pleasure of the board in the unclassified service as an executive branch employee.​

137.4 (b) The executive director's salary is set in accordance with section 15A.0815, subdivision​

137.5 3.​

137.6 (c) The executive director may obtain office space and supplies and hire administrative​

137.7 staff necessary to carry out the commission's official functions, including providing​

137.8 administrative support to the board and attending board meetings. Any additional staff serve​

137.9 in the unclassified service at the pleasure of the executive director.​

137.10 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.​

137.11 Sec. 6. [638.10] CLEMENCY APPLICATION.​

137.12 Subdivision 1. Required contents. A clemency application must:​

137.13 (1) be in writing;​

137.14 (2) be signed under oath by the applicant; and​

137.15 (3) state the clemency sought, state why the clemency should be granted, and contain​

137.16 the following information and any additional information that the commission or board​

137.17 requires:​

137.18 (i) the applicant's name, address, and date and place of birth, and every alias by which​

137.19 the applicant is or has been known;​

137.20 (ii) the applicant's demographic information, including race, ethnicity, gender, disability​

137.21 status, and age, only if voluntarily reported;​

137.22 (iii) the name of the crime for which clemency is requested, the date and county of​

137.23 conviction, the sentence imposed, and the sentence's expiration or discharge date;​

137.24 (iv) the names of the sentencing judge, the prosecuting attorney, and any victims of the​

137.25 crime;​

137.26 (v) a brief description of the crime and the applicant's age at the time of the crime;​

137.27 (vi) the date and outcome of any prior clemency application, including any application​

137.28 submitted before July 1, 2024;​

137.29 (vii) to the best of the applicant's knowledge, a statement of any past criminal conviction​

137.30 and any pending criminal charge or investigation;​
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138.1 (viii) for an applicant under the department's custody, a statement describing the​

138.2 applicant's reentry plan should clemency be granted; and​

138.3 (ix) an applicant statement acknowledging and consenting to the disclosure to the​

138.4 commission, board, and public of any private data on the applicant in the application or in​

138.5 any other record relating to the clemency being sought, including conviction and arrest​

138.6 records.​

138.7 Subd. 2. Required form. (a) An application must be made on a commission-approved​

138.8 form or forms and filed with the commission by commission-prescribed deadlines. The​

138.9 commission must consult with the board on the forms and deadlines.​

138.10 (b) The application must include language informing the applicant that the board and​

138.11 the commission will consider any and all past convictions and that the applicant may provide​

138.12 information about the convictions.​

138.13 Subd. 3. Reviewing application for completeness. The commission must review an​

138.14 application for completeness. An incomplete application must be returned to the applicant,​

138.15 who may then provide the missing information and resubmit the application within a​

138.16 commission-prescribed period.​

138.17 Subd. 4. Notice to applicant. After the commission's initial investigation of a clemency​

138.18 application, the commission must notify the applicant of the scheduled date, time, and​

138.19 location that the applicant must appear before the commission for a meeting under section​

138.20 638.14.​

138.21 Subd. 5. Equal access to information. Each board and commission member must have​

138.22 equal access to information under this chapter that is used when making a clemency decision.​

138.23 Sec. 7. [638.11] THIRD-PARTY NOTIFICATIONS.​

138.24 Subdivision 1. Notice to victim; victim rights. (a) After receiving a clemency​

138.25 application, the commission must make all reasonable efforts to locate any victim of the​

138.26 applicant's crime.​

138.27 (b) At least 30 calendar days before the commission meeting at which the application​

138.28 will be heard, the commission must notify any located victim of:​

138.29 (1) the application;​

138.30 (2) the meeting's scheduled date, time, and location; and​

138.31 (3) the victim's right to attend the meeting and submit an oral or written statement to the​

138.32 commission.​
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139.1 (c) The commission must make all reasonable efforts to ensure that a victim can:​

139.2 (1) submit an oral or written statement; and​

139.3 (2) receive victim support services as necessary to help the victim submit a statement​

139.4 and participate in the clemency process.​

139.5 Subd. 2. Notice to sentencing judge and prosecuting attorney. (a) At least 30 calendar​

139.6 days before the commission meeting at which the application will be heard, the commission​

139.7 must notify the sentencing judge and prosecuting attorney or their successors of the​

139.8 application and solicit the judge's and attorney's written statements on whether to grant​

139.9 clemency.​

139.10 (b) Unless otherwise provided in this chapter, "law enforcement agency" includes the​

139.11 sentencing judge and prosecuting attorney or their successors.​

139.12 Subd. 3. Notice to public. At least 30 calendar days before the commission meeting at​

139.13 which the application will be heard, the commission must publish notice of an application​

139.14 in a qualified newspaper of general circulation in the county in which the applicant's crime​

139.15 occurred.​

139.16 Sec. 8. [638.12] TYPES OF CLEMENCY; ELIGIBILITY AND WAIVER.​

139.17 Subdivision 1. Types of clemency; requirements. (a) The board may:​

139.18 (1) pardon a criminal conviction imposed under the laws of this state;​

139.19 (2) commute a criminal sentence imposed by a court of this state to time served or a​

139.20 lesser sentence; or​

139.21 (3) grant a reprieve of a sentence imposed by a court of this state.​

139.22 (b) A grant of clemency must be in writing and has no force or effect if the governor or​

139.23 a board majority duly convened opposes the clemency. Every conditional grant of clemency​

139.24 must state the terms and conditions upon which it was granted, and every commutation​

139.25 must specify the terms of the commuted sentence.​

139.26 (c) A granted pardon sets aside the conviction and purges the conviction from an​

139.27 individual's criminal record. The individual is not required to disclose the conviction at any​

139.28 time or place other than:​

139.29 (1) in a judicial proceeding; or​

139.30 (2) during the licensing process for peace officers.​

139​Article 6 Sec. 8.​

HOUSE RESEARCH JD/RK H2890DE1​03/26/23 03:25 pm ​



140.1 Subd. 2. Pardon eligibility; waiver. (a) An individual convicted of a crime in a court​

140.2 of this state may apply for a pardon of the individual's conviction on or after five years from​

140.3 the sentence's expiration or discharge date.​

140.4 (b) An individual may request the board to waive the waiting period if there is a showing​

140.5 of unusual circumstances and special need.​

140.6 (c) The commission must review a waiver request and recommend to the board whether​

140.7 to grant the request. When considering a waiver request, the commission is exempt from​

140.8 the meeting requirements under section 638.14 and chapter 13D.​

140.9 (d) The board must grant a waiver request unless the governor or a board majority​

140.10 opposes the waiver.​

140.11 Subd. 3. Commutation eligibility. (a) An individual may apply for a commutation of​

140.12 an unexpired criminal sentence imposed by a court of this state, including an individual​

140.13 confined in a correctional facility or on probation, parole, supervised release, or conditional​

140.14 release. An application for commutation may not be filed until the date that the individual​

140.15 has served at least one-half of the sentence imposed or on or after five years from the​

140.16 conviction date, whichever is earlier.​

140.17 (b) An individual may request the board to waive the waiting period if there is a showing​

140.18 of unusual circumstances and special need.​

140.19 (c) The commission must review a waiver request and recommend to the board whether​

140.20 to grant the request. When considering a waiver request, the commission is exempt from​

140.21 the meeting requirements under section 638.14 and chapter 13D.​

140.22 (d) The board must grant a waiver request unless the governor or a board majority​

140.23 opposes the waiver.​

140.24 Sec. 9. [638.13] ACCESS TO RECORDS; ISSUING SUBPOENA.​

140.25 Subdivision 1. Access to records. (a) Notwithstanding chapter 13 or any other law to​

140.26 the contrary, upon receiving a clemency application, the board or commission may request​

140.27 and obtain any relevant reports, data, and other information from state courts, law​

140.28 enforcement agencies, or state agencies. The board and the commission must have access​

140.29 to all relevant sealed or otherwise inaccessible court records, presentence investigation​

140.30 reports, police reports, criminal history reports, prison records, and any other relevant​

140.31 information.​
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141.1 (b) State courts, law enforcement agencies, and state agencies must promptly respond​

141.2 to record requests from the board or the commission.​

141.3 Subd. 2. Issuing subpoena. The board or the commission may issue a subpoena requiring​

141.4 the presence of any person before the commission or board and the production of papers,​

141.5 records, and exhibits in any pending matter. When a person is summoned before the​

141.6 commission or the board, the person may be allowed compensation for travel and attendance​

141.7 as the commission or the board considers reasonable.​

141.8 Sec. 10. [638.14] COMMISSION MEETINGS.​

141.9 Subdivision 1. Frequency. The commission must meet at least four times each year for​

141.10 one or more days at each meeting to hear eligible clemency applications and recommend​

141.11 appropriate action to the board on each application. One or more of the meetings may be​

141.12 held at a department-operated correctional facility.​

141.13 Subd. 2. When open to the public. All commission meetings are open to the public as​

141.14 provided under chapter 13D, but the commission may hold closed meetings:​

141.15 (1) as provided under chapter 13D; or​

141.16 (2) as necessary to protect sensitive or confidential information, including (i) a victim's​

141.17 identity, and (ii) sensitive or confidential victim testimony.​

141.18 Subd. 3. Recording. When possible, the commission must record its meetings by audio​

141.19 or audiovisual means.​

141.20 Subd. 4. Board attendance. The governor, attorney general, and chief justice, or their​

141.21 designees, may attend commission meetings as ex officio nonvoting members, but their​

141.22 attendance does not affect whether the commission has a quorum.​

141.23 Subd. 5. Applicant appearance; third-party statements. (a) An applicant for clemency​

141.24 must appear before the commission either in person or through available forms of​

141.25 telecommunication.​

141.26 (b) The victim of an applicant's crime may appear and speak at the meeting or submit a​

141.27 written statement to the commission. The commission may treat a victim's written statement​

141.28 as confidential and not disclose the statement to the applicant or the public if there is or has​

141.29 been an order for protection, harassment restraining order, or other no-contact order​

141.30 prohibiting the applicant from contacting the victim.​

141.31 (c) A law enforcement agency's representative may provide the agency's position on​

141.32 whether the commission should recommend clemency by:​

141​Article 6 Sec. 10.​
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142.1 (1) appearing and speaking at the meeting; or​

142.2 (2) submitting a written statement to the commission.​

142.3 (d) The sentencing judge and the prosecuting attorney, or their successors, may provide​

142.4 their positions on whether the commission should recommend clemency by:​

142.5 (1) appearing and speaking at the meeting; or​

142.6 (2) submitting their statements under section 638.11, subdivision 2.​

142.7 Sec. 11. [638.15] COMMISSION RECOMMENDATION.​

142.8 Subdivision 1. Grounds for recommending clemency. (a) When recommending whether​

142.9 to grant clemency, the commission must consider any factors that the commission deems​

142.10 appropriate, including but not limited to:​

142.11 (1) the nature, seriousness, and circumstances of the applicant's crime; the applicant's​

142.12 age at the time of the crime; and the time that has elapsed between the crime and the​

142.13 application;​

142.14 (2) the successful completion or revocation of previous probation, parole, supervised​

142.15 release, or conditional release;​

142.16 (3) the number, nature, and circumstances of the applicant's other criminal convictions;​

142.17 (4) the extent to which the applicant has demonstrated rehabilitation through​

142.18 postconviction conduct, character, and reputation;​

142.19 (5) the extent to which the applicant has accepted responsibility, demonstrated remorse,​

142.20 and made restitution to victims;​

142.21 (6) whether the sentence is clearly excessive in light of the applicant's crime and criminal​

142.22 history and any sentence received by an accomplice and with due regard given to:​

142.23 (i) any plea agreement;​

142.24 (ii) the sentencing judge's views; and​

142.25 (iii) the sentencing ranges established by law;​

142.26 (7) whether the applicant's age or medical status indicates that it is in the best interest​

142.27 of society that the applicant receive clemency;​

142.28 (8) the applicant's asserted need for clemency, including family needs and barriers to​

142.29 housing or employment created by the conviction;​

142​Article 6 Sec. 11.​
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143.1 (9) for an applicant under the department's custody, the adequacy of the applicant's​

143.2 reentry plan;​

143.3 (10) the amount of time already served by the applicant and the availability of other​

143.4 forms of judicial or administrative relief;​

143.5 (11) the extent to which there is credible evidence indicating that the applicant is or may​

143.6 be innocent of the crime for which they were convicted; and​

143.7 (12) if provided by the applicant, the applicant's demographic information, including​

143.8 race, ethnicity, gender, disability status, and age.​

143.9 (b) Unless an applicant knowingly omitted past criminal convictions on the application,​

143.10 the commission or the board must not prejudice an applicant for failing to identify past​

143.11 criminal convictions.​

143.12 Subd. 2. Recommending denial of commutation without hearing. (a) At a meeting​

143.13 under section 638.14, the commission may recommend denying a commutation application​

143.14 without a board hearing if:​

143.15 (1) the applicant is challenging the conviction or sentence through court proceedings;​

143.16 (2) the applicant has failed to exhaust all available state court remedies for challenging​

143.17 the sentence; or​

143.18 (3) the commission determines that the matter should first be considered by the parole​

143.19 authority.​

143.20 (b) A commission recommendation to deny an application under paragraph (a) must be​

143.21 sent to the board along with the application.​

143.22 Subd. 3. Considering public statements. When making its recommendation on an​

143.23 application, the commission must consider any statement provided by a victim or law​

143.24 enforcement agency.​

143.25 Subd. 4. Commission recommendation; notifying applicant. (a) Before the board's​

143.26 next meeting at which the clemency application may be considered, the commission must​

143.27 send to the board:​

143.28 (1) the application;​

143.29 (2) the commission's recommendation;​

143.30 (3) any recording of the commission's meeting related to the application; and​

143.31 (4) all statements from victims and law enforcement agencies.​
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144.1 (b) No later than 14 calendar days after its dated recommendation, the commission must​

144.2 notify the applicant in writing of its recommendation.​

144.3 Sec. 12. [638.16] BOARD MEETINGS.​

144.4 Subdivision 1. Frequency. (a) The board must meet at least two times each year to​

144.5 consider clemency applications that have received favorable recommendations under section​

144.6 638.09, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clauses (2) and (3), from the commission and any​

144.7 other applications for which at least one board member seeks consideration.​

144.8 (b) Any board member may request a hearing on any application.​

144.9 Subd. 2. When open to the public. All board meetings are open to the public as provided​

144.10 under chapter 13D, but the board may hold closed meetings:​

144.11 (1) as provided under chapter 13D; or​

144.12 (2) as necessary to protect sensitive or confidential information, including (i) a victim's​

144.13 identity, and (ii) sensitive or confidential victim testimony.​

144.14 Subd. 3. Executive director; attendance required. Unless excused by the board, the​

144.15 executive director and the commission's chair or vice-chair must attend all board meetings.​

144.16 Subd. 4. Considering statements. (a) Applicants, victims, and law enforcement agencies​

144.17 may not submit oral or written statements at a board meeting unless:​

144.18 (1) a board member requests a hearing on an application; or​

144.19 (2) the commission has recommended a hearing on an application.​

144.20 (b) The board must consider any statements provided to the commission when​

144.21 determining whether to consider a clemency application.​

144.22 Sec. 13. [638.17] BOARD DECISION; NOTIFYING APPLICANT.​

144.23 Subdivision 1. Board decision. (a) At each meeting, the board must render a decision​

144.24 on each clemency application considered at the meeting or continue the matter to a future​

144.25 board meeting. If the board continues consideration of an application, the commission must​

144.26 notify the applicant in writing and explain why the matter was continued.​

144.27 (b) If the commission recommends denying an application and no board member seeks​

144.28 consideration of the recommendation, it is presumed that the board concurs with the adverse​

144.29 recommendation and that the application has been considered and denied on the merits.​

144​Article 6 Sec. 13.​
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145.1 Subd. 2. Notifying applicant. The commission must notify the applicant in writing of​

145.2 the board's decision to grant or deny clemency no later than 14 calendar days from the date​

145.3 of the board's decision.​

145.4 Sec. 14. [638.18] FILING COPY OF CLEMENCY; COURT ACTION.​

145.5 Subdivision 1. Filing with district court. After clemency has been granted, the​

145.6 commission must file a copy of the pardon, commutation, or reprieve with the district court​

145.7 of the county in which the conviction and sentence were imposed.​

145.8 Subd. 2. Court action; pardon. For a pardon, the court must:​

145.9 (1) order the conviction set aside;​

145.10 (2) include a copy of the pardon in the court file; and​

145.11 (3) send a copy of the order and the pardon to the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension.​

145.12 Subd. 3. Court action; commutation. For a commutation, the court must:​

145.13 (1) amend the sentence to reflect the specific relief granted by the board;​

145.14 (2) include a copy of the commutation in the court file; and​

145.15 (3) send a copy of the amended sentencing order and commutation to the commissioner​

145.16 of corrections and the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension.​

145.17 Sec. 15. [638.19] REAPPLYING FOR CLEMENCY.​

145.18 Subdivision 1. Time-barred from reapplying; exception. (a) After the board has​

145.19 considered and denied a clemency application on the merits, an applicant may not file a​

145.20 subsequent application for five years after the date of the most recent denial.​

145.21 (b) An individual may request permission to reapply before the five-year period expires​

145.22 based only on new and substantial information that was not and could not have been​

145.23 previously considered by the board or commission.​

145.24 (c) If a waiver request contains new and substantial information, the commission must​

145.25 review the request and recommend to the board whether to waive the time restriction. When​

145.26 considering a waiver request, the commission is exempt from the meeting requirements​

145.27 under section 638.14 and chapter 13D.​

145.28 (d) The board must grant a waiver request unless the governor or a board majority​

145.29 opposes the waiver.​
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146.1 Subd. 2. Applying for pardon not precluded. An applicant who is denied or granted​

146.2 a commutation is not precluded from later seeking a pardon of the criminal conviction once​

146.3 the eligibility requirements of this chapter have been met.​

146.4 Sec. 16. [638.20] COMMISSION RECORD KEEPING.​

146.5 Subdivision 1. Record keeping. The commission must keep a record of every application​

146.6 received, its recommendation on each application, and the final disposition of each​

146.7 application.​

146.8 Subd. 2. When open to public. The commission's records and files are open to public​

146.9 inspection at all reasonable times, except for:​

146.10 (1) sealed court records;​

146.11 (2) presentence investigation reports;​

146.12 (3) Social Security numbers;​

146.13 (4) financial account numbers;​

146.14 (5) driver's license information;​

146.15 (6) medical records;​

146.16 (7) confidential Bureau of Criminal Apprehension records;​

146.17 (8) the identities of victims who wish to remain anonymous and confidential victim​

146.18 statements; and​

146.19 (9) any other confidential data on individuals, private data on individuals, not public​

146.20 data, or nonpublic data under chapter 13.​

146.21 Sec. 17. [638.21] LANGUAGE ACCESS AND VICTIM SUPPORT.​

146.22 Subdivision 1. Language access. The commission and the board must take reasonable​

146.23 steps to provide meaningful language access to applicants and victims. Applicants and​

146.24 victims must have language access to information, documents, and services under this​

146.25 chapter, with each communicated in a language or manner that the applicant or victim can​

146.26 understand.​

146.27 Subd. 2. Interpreters. (a) Applicants and victims are entitled to interpreters as necessary​

146.28 to fulfill the purposes of this chapter, including oral or written communication. Sections​

146.29 546.42 to 546.44 apply, to the extent consistent with this section.​
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147.1 (b) The commission or the board may not discriminate against an applicant or victim​

147.2 who requests or receives interpretation services.​

147.3 Subd. 3. Victim services. The commission and the board must provide or contract for​

147.4 victim support services as necessary to support victims under this chapter.​

147.5 Sec. 18. [638.22] LEGISLATIVE REPORT.​

147.6 Beginning February 15, 2025, and every February 15 thereafter, the commission must​

147.7 submit a written report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the house of​

147.8 representatives and senate committees with jurisdiction over public safety, corrections, and​

147.9 judiciary that contains at least the following information:​

147.10 (1) the number of clemency applications received by the commission during the preceding​

147.11 calendar year;​

147.12 (2) the number of favorable and adverse recommendations made by the commission for​

147.13 each type of clemency;​

147.14 (3) the number of applications granted and denied by the board for each type of clemency;​

147.15 (4) the crimes for which the applications were granted by the board, the year of each​

147.16 conviction, and the individual's age at the time of the crime; and​

147.17 (5) summary data voluntarily reported by applicants, including but not limited to​

147.18 demographic information on race, ethnicity, gender, disability status, and age, of applicants​

147.19 recommended or not recommended for clemency by the commission.​

147.20 Sec. 19. [638.23] RULEMAKING.​

147.21 (a) The board and commission may jointly adopt rules, including amending Minnesota​

147.22 Rules, chapter 6600, to:​

147.23 (1) enforce their powers and duties under this chapter and ensure the efficient processing​

147.24 of applications; and​

147.25 (2) allow for expedited review of applications if there is unanimous support from the​

147.26 sentencing judge or successor, the prosecuting attorney or successor, and any victims of the​

147.27 crime.​

147.28 (b) The time limit to adopt rules under section 14.125 does not apply.​
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148.1 Sec. 20. TRANSITION PERIOD.​

148.2 (a) Beginning August 1, 2023, through March 1, 2024, the Department of Corrections​

148.3 must provide the Clemency Review Commission with administrative assistance, technical​

148.4 assistance, office space, and other assistance necessary for the commission to carry out its​

148.5 duties under sections 4 to 21.​

148.6 (b) Beginning July 1, 2024, the Clemency Review Commission must begin reviewing​

148.7 applications for pardons, commutations, and reprieves. Applications received after the​

148.8 effective date of this section but before July 1, 2024, must be considered according to​

148.9 Minnesota Statutes 2022, sections 638.02, subdivisions 2 to 5, and 638.03 to 638.08.​

148.10 (c) A pardon, commutation, or reprieve that is granted during the transition period has​

148.11 no force or effect if the governor or a board majority duly convened opposes the clemency.​

148.12 (d) By July 1, 2024, the Clemency Review Commission must develop application forms​

148.13 in consultation with the Board of Pardons.​

148.14 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

148.15 Sec. 21. REPEALER.​

148.16 Minnesota Statutes 2022, sections 638.02; 638.03; 638.04; 638.05; 638.06; 638.07;​

148.17 638.075; and 638.08, are repealed.​

148.18 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

148.19 Sec. 22. EFFECTIVE DATE.​

148.20 Sections 1, 2, and 6 to 19 are effective July 1, 2024.​

148.21 ARTICLE 7​

148.22 EVIDENCE GATHERING AND REPORTING​

148.23 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 13A.02, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

148.24 Subdivision 1. Access by government. Except as authorized by this chapter, no​

148.25 government authority may have access to, or obtain copies of, or the information contained​

148.26 in, the financial records of any customer from a financial institution unless the financial​

148.27 records are reasonably described and:​

148.28 (1) the customer has authorized the disclosure;​

148.29 (2) the financial records are disclosed in response to a search warrant;​
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149.1 (3) the financial records are disclosed in response to a judicial or administrative subpoena;​

149.2 (4) the financial records are disclosed to law enforcement, a lead investigative agency​

149.3 as defined in section 626.5572, subdivision 13, or prosecuting authority that is investigating​

149.4 financial exploitation of a vulnerable adult in response to a judicial subpoena or​

149.5 administrative subpoena under section 388.23; or​

149.6 (5) the financial records are disclosed pursuant to section 609.527 or 609.535 or other​

149.7 statute or rule.​

149.8 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.​

149.9 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 13A.02, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

149.10 Subd. 2. Release prohibited. No financial institution, or officer, employee, or agent of​

149.11 a financial institution, may provide to any government authority access to, or copies of, or​

149.12 the information contained in, the financial records of any customer except in accordance​

149.13 with the provisions of this chapter.​

149.14 Nothing in this chapter shall require a financial institution to inquire or determine that​

149.15 those seeking disclosure have duly complied with the requirements of this chapter, provided​

149.16 only that the customer authorization, search warrant, subpoena, or written certification​

149.17 pursuant to section 609.527, subdivision 8; 609.535, subdivision 6; 626.557; or other statute​

149.18 or rule, served on or delivered to a financial institution shows compliance on its face.​

149.19 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.​

149.20 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.527, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

149.21 Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) As used in this section, the following terms have the​

149.22 meanings given them in this subdivision.​

149.23 (b) "Direct victim" means any person or entity described in section 611A.01, paragraph​

149.24 (b), whose identity has been transferred, used, or possessed in violation of this section.​

149.25 (c) "False pretense" means any false, fictitious, misleading, or fraudulent information​

149.26 or pretense or pretext depicting or including or deceptively similar to the name, logo, website​

149.27 address, email address, postal address, telephone number, or any other identifying information​

149.28 of a for-profit or not-for-profit business or organization or of a government agency, to which​

149.29 the user has no legitimate claim of right.​

149.30 (d) "Financial institution" has the meaning given in section 13A.01, subdivision 2.​
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150.1 (e) "Identity" means any name, number, or data transmission that may be used, alone or​

150.2 in conjunction with any other information, to identify a specific individual or entity, including​

150.3 any of the following:​

150.4 (1) a name, Social Security number, date of birth, official government-issued driver's​

150.5 license or identification number, government passport number, or employer or taxpayer​

150.6 identification number;​

150.7 (2) unique electronic identification number, address, account number, or routing code;​

150.8 or​

150.9 (3) telecommunication identification information or access device.​

150.10 (e) (f) "Indirect victim" means any person or entity described in section 611A.01,​

150.11 paragraph (b), other than a direct victim.​

150.12 (f) (g) "Loss" means value obtained, as defined in section 609.52, subdivision 1, clause​

150.13 (3), and expenses incurred by a direct or indirect victim as a result of a violation of this​

150.14 section.​

150.15 (g) (h) "Unlawful activity" means:​

150.16 (1) any felony violation of the laws of this state or any felony violation of a similar law​

150.17 of another state or the United States; and​

150.18 (2) any nonfelony violation of the laws of this state involving theft, theft by swindle,​

150.19 forgery, fraud, or giving false information to a public official, or any nonfelony violation​

150.20 of a similar law of another state or the United States.​

150.21 (h) (i) "Scanning device" means a scanner, reader, or any other electronic device that is​

150.22 used to access, read, scan, obtain, memorize, or store, temporarily or permanently,​

150.23 information encoded on a computer chip or magnetic strip or stripe of a payment card,​

150.24 driver's license, or state-issued identification card.​

150.25 (i) (j) "Reencoder" means an electronic device that places encoded information from the​

150.26 computer chip or magnetic strip or stripe of a payment card, driver's license, or state-issued​

150.27 identification card, onto the computer chip or magnetic strip or stripe of a different payment​

150.28 card, driver's license, or state-issued identification card, or any electronic medium that​

150.29 allows an authorized transaction to occur.​

150.30 (j) (k) "Payment card" means a credit card, charge card, debit card, or any other card​

150.31 that:​

150.32 (1) is issued to an authorized card user; and​
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151.1 (2) allows the user to obtain, purchase, or receive credit, money, a good, a service, or​

151.2 anything of value.​

151.3 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.​

151.4 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.527, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

151.5 read:​

151.6 Subd. 8. Release of limited account information to law enforcement authorities. (a)​

151.7 A financial institution may release the information described in paragraph (b) to a law​

151.8 enforcement or prosecuting authority that certifies in writing that it is investigating or​

151.9 prosecuting a crime of identity theft under this section. The certification must describe with​

151.10 reasonable specificity the nature of the suspected identity theft that is being investigated or​

151.11 prosecuted, including the dates of the suspected criminal activity.​

151.12 (b) This subdivision applies to requests for the following information relating to a​

151.13 potential victim's account:​

151.14 (1) the name of the account holder or holders; and​

151.15 (2) the last known home address and telephone numbers of the account holder or holders.​

151.16 (c) A financial institution may release the information requested under this subdivision​

151.17 that it possesses within a reasonable time after the request. The financial institution may​

151.18 not impose a fee for furnishing the information.​

151.19 (d) A financial institution is not liable in a criminal or civil proceeding for releasing​

151.20 information in accordance with this subdivision.​

151.21 (e) Release of limited account information to a law enforcement agency under this​

151.22 subdivision is criminal investigative data under section 13.82, subdivision 7, except that​

151.23 when the investigation becomes inactive the account information remains confidential data​

151.24 on individuals or protected nonpublic data.​

151.25 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.​

151.26 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 626.14, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

151.27 Subd. 2. Definition. For the purposes of this section, "no-knock search warrant" means​

151.28 a search warrant authorizing peace officers to enter certain premises a dwelling without​

151.29 first knocking and loudly and understandably announcing the officer's presence or purpose​

151.30 and waiting a reasonable amount of time thereafter prior to entering the premises dwelling​
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152.1 to allow the subject to become alert and able to comply. No-knock search warrants may​

152.2 also be referred to as dynamic entry warrants.​

152.3 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 626.14, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

152.4 read:​

152.5 Subd. 2a. No-knock search warrants prohibited. A court may not issue or approve a​

152.6 no-knock search warrant.​

152.7 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 626.14, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

152.8 read:​

152.9 Subd. 2b. Execution. If a peace officer enters a dwelling to serve or execute a search​

152.10 warrant without loudly and understandably announcing the officer's presence or purpose​

152.11 and waiting a reasonable amount of time thereafter prior to entering the dwelling, any​

152.12 evidence seized, discovered, or obtained as a result of the entry must be suppressed and​

152.13 may not be used as evidence unless exigent circumstances or another exception to the warrant​

152.14 requirement would justify a warrantless entry.​

152.15 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 626.15, is amended to read:​

152.16 626.15 EXECUTION AND RETURN OF WARRANT; TIME.​

152.17 (a) Except as provided in paragraph (b) (c), a search warrant must be executed and​

152.18 returned to the court which issued it within ten days after its date. After the expiration of​

152.19 this time, the warrant is void unless previously executed.​

152.20 (b) A search warrant on a financial institution for financial records is valid for 30 days.​

152.21 (c) A district court judge may grant an extension of a the warrant on a financial institution​

152.22 for financial records upon an application under oath stating that the financial institution has​

152.23 not produced the requested financial records within ten days the 30-day period and that an​

152.24 extension is necessary to achieve the purposes for which the search warrant was granted.​

152.25 Each extension may not exceed 30 days.​

152.26 (d) For the purposes of this paragraph section, "financial institution" has the meaning​

152.27 given in section 13A.01, subdivision 2, and "financial records" has the meaning given in​

152.28 section 13A.01, subdivision 3.​

152.29 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.​
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153.1 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 626.21, is amended to read:​

153.2 626.21 RETURN OF PROPERTY AND SUPPRESSION OF EVIDENCE.​

153.3 (a) A person aggrieved by an unlawful search and seizure may move the district court​

153.4 for the district in which the property was seized or the district court having jurisdiction of​

153.5 the substantive offense for the return of the property and to suppress the use, as evidence,​

153.6 of anything so obtained on the ground that:​

153.7 (1) the property was illegally seized, or ;​

153.8 (2) the property was illegally seized without warrant, or;​

153.9 (3) the warrant is insufficient on its face, or;​

153.10 (4) the property seized is not that described in the warrant, or;​

153.11 (5) there was not probable cause for believing the existence of the grounds on which the​

153.12 warrant was issued, or;​

153.13 (6) the warrant was illegally executed, or;​

153.14 (7) the warrant was improvidently issued; or​

153.15 (8) the peace officer did not loudly and understandably announce the officer's presence​

153.16 or purpose and wait a reasonable amount of time thereafter prior to entering a dwelling to​

153.17 serve or execute a search warrant.​

153.18 (b) The judge shall receive evidence on any issue of fact necessary to the decision of​

153.19 the motion. If the motion is granted the property shall be restored unless otherwise subject​

153.20 to lawful detention, and it shall not be admissible in evidence at any hearing or trial. The​

153.21 motion to suppress evidence may also be made in the district where the trial is to be had.​

153.22 The motion shall be made before trial or hearing unless opportunity therefor did not exist​

153.23 or the defendant was not aware of the grounds for the motion, but the court in its discretion​

153.24 may entertain the motion at the trial or hearing.​

153.25 Sec. 10. [626.5535] CARJACKING; REPORTING REQUIRED.​

153.26 Subdivision 1. Definition. For purposes of this section, "carjacking" means taking a​

153.27 motor vehicle from a person or in the presence of another while having knowledge of not​

153.28 being entitled to the motor vehicle and using or threatening the imminent use of force against​

153.29 any person to overcome the person's resistance or powers of resistance to, or to compel​

153.30 acquiescence in, the taking of the motor vehicle.​
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154.1 Subd. 2. Use of information collected. (a) The head of a local law enforcement agency​

154.2 or state law enforcement department that employs peace officers, as defined in section​

154.3 626.84, subdivision 1, paragraph (c), must forward the following carjacking information​

154.4 from the agency's or department's jurisdiction for the previous year to the commissioner of​

154.5 public safety by January 15 each year:​

154.6 (1) the number of carjacking attempts;​

154.7 (2) the number of carjackings;​

154.8 (3) the ages of the offenders;​

154.9 (4) the number of persons injured in each offense;​

154.10 (5) the number of persons killed in each offense; and​

154.11 (6) weapons used in each offense, if any.​

154.12 (b) The commissioner of public safety must include the data received under paragraph​

154.13 (a) in a separate carjacking category in the department's annual uniform crime report.​

154.14 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 626A.35, is amended by adding a subdivision​

154.15 to read:​

154.16 Subd. 2b. Exception; stolen motor vehicles. (a) The prohibition under subdivision 1​

154.17 does not apply to the use of a mobile tracking device on a stolen motor vehicle when:​

154.18 (1) the consent of the owner of the vehicle has been obtained; or​

154.19 (2) the owner of the motor vehicle has reported to law enforcement that the vehicle is​

154.20 stolen, and the vehicle is occupied when the tracking device is installed.​

154.21 (b) Within 24 hours of a tracking device being attached to a vehicle pursuant to the​

154.22 authority granted in paragraph (a), clause (2), an officer employed by the agency that attached​

154.23 the tracking device to the vehicle must remove the device, disable the device, or obtain a​

154.24 search warrant granting approval to continue to use the device in the investigation.​

154.25 (c) A peace officer employed by the agency that attached a tracking device to a stolen​

154.26 motor vehicle must remove the tracking device if the vehicle is recovered and returned to​

154.27 the owner.​

154.28 (d) Any tracking device evidence collected after the motor vehicle is returned to the​

154.29 owner is inadmissible.​

154.30 (e) By August 1, 2024, and each year thereafter, the chief law enforcement officer of an​

154.31 agency that obtains a search warrant under paragraph (b), must provide notice to the​
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155.1 superintendent of the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension of the number of search warrants​

155.2 the agency obtained under this subdivision in the preceding 12 months. The superintendent​

155.3 must provide a summary of the data received pursuant to this paragraph in the bureau's​

155.4 biennial report to the legislature required under section 299C.18.​

155.5 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

155.6 Sec. 12. REPEALER.​

155.7 Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 626.14, subdivisions 3 and 4, are repealed.​

155.8 ARTICLE 8​

155.9 POLICING AND PRIVATE SECURITY​

155.10 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 13.825, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

155.11 Subd. 2. Data classification; court-authorized disclosure. (a) Data collected by a​

155.12 portable recording system are private data on individuals or nonpublic data, subject to the​

155.13 following:​

155.14 (1) all government data that record, describe, or otherwise document actions and​

155.15 circumstances surrounding either the discharge of a firearm by a peace officer in the course​

155.16 of duty, if a notice is required under section 626.553, subdivision 2, or the use of force by​

155.17 a peace officer that results in substantial bodily harm, as defined in section 609.02,​

155.18 subdivision 7a, are public;​

155.19 (2) data are public if a subject of the data requests it be made accessible to the public,​

155.20 except that, if practicable, (i) data on a subject who is not a peace officer and who does not​

155.21 consent to the release must be redacted, and (ii) data on a peace officer whose identity is​

155.22 protected under section 13.82, subdivision 17, clause (a), must be redacted;​

155.23 (3) portable recording system data that are active criminal investigative data are governed​

155.24 by section 13.82, subdivision 7, and portable recording system data that are inactive criminal​

155.25 investigative data are governed by this section;​

155.26 (4) portable recording system data that are public personnel data under section 13.43,​

155.27 subdivision 2, clause (5), are public; and​

155.28 (5) data that are not public data under other provisions of this chapter retain that​

155.29 classification.​

155.30 (b) Notwithstanding section 13.82, subdivision 7, a deceased individual's next of kin,​

155.31 legal representative of the next of kin, or other parent of the deceased individual's children​
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156.1 is entitled to view any and all recordings from a peace officer's portable recording system​

156.2 and police vehicle dashboard camera, redacted no more than what is required by law, that​

156.3 documents the use of deadly force no later than five business days following an incident​

156.4 where deadly force used by a peace officer results in the death of an individual, except that​

156.5 a chief law enforcement officer may deny a request if the investigating agency requests and​

156.6 can articulate a compelling reason as to why allowing the deceased individual's next of kin,​

156.7 legal representative of next of kin, or other parent of the deceased individual's children to​

156.8 review the recordings would interfere with a thorough investigation. If the chief law​

156.9 enforcement officer denies a request under this paragraph, the involved officer's agency​

156.10 must issue a prompt, written denial and provide notice to the deceased individual's next of​

156.11 kin, legal representative of the next of kin, or other parent of the deceased individual's​

156.12 children that relief may be sought from the district court.​

156.13 (c) Notwithstanding section 13.82, subdivision 7, an involved officer's agency shall​

156.14 release all body-worn camera and police vehicle dashboard camera recordings of an incident​

156.15 where a peace officer used deadly force and an individual dies to the public no later than​

156.16 14 business days after the incident, except that a chief law enforcement officer shall not​

156.17 release the video if the investigating agency asserts in writing that allowing the public to​

156.18 view the recordings would interfere with the ongoing investigation.​

156.19 (b) (d) A law enforcement agency may redact or withhold access to portions of data that​

156.20 are public under this subdivision if those portions of data are clearly offensive to common​

156.21 sensibilities.​

156.22 (c) (e) Section 13.04, subdivision 2, does not apply to collection of data classified by​

156.23 this subdivision.​

156.24 (d) (f) Any person may bring an action in the district court located in the county where​

156.25 portable recording system data are being maintained to authorize disclosure of data that are​

156.26 private or nonpublic under this section or to challenge a determination under paragraph (b)​

156.27 to redact or withhold access to portions of data because the data are clearly offensive to​

156.28 common sensibilities. The person bringing the action must give notice of the action to the​

156.29 law enforcement agency and subjects of the data, if known. The law enforcement agency​

156.30 must give notice to other subjects of the data, if known, who did not receive the notice from​

156.31 the person bringing the action. The court may order that all or part of the data be released​

156.32 to the public or to the person bringing the action. In making this determination, the court​

156.33 shall consider whether the benefit to the person bringing the action or to the public outweighs​

156.34 any harm to the public, to the law enforcement agency, or to a subject of the data and, if​

156.35 the action is challenging a determination under paragraph (b), whether the data are clearly​
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157.1 offensive to common sensibilities. The data in dispute must be examined by the court in​

157.2 camera. This paragraph does not affect the right of a defendant in a criminal proceeding to​

157.3 obtain access to portable recording system data under the Rules of Criminal Procedure.​

157.4 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

157.5 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 214.10, subdivision 10, is amended to read:​

157.6 Subd. 10. Board of Peace Officers Standards and Training; receipt of​

157.7 complaint. Notwithstanding the provisions of subdivision 1 to the contrary, when the​

157.8 executive director or any member of the Board of Peace Officer Standards and Training​

157.9 produces or receives a written statement or complaint that alleges a violation of a statute or​

157.10 rule that the board is empowered to enforce, the executive director shall designate the​

157.11 appropriate law enforcement agency to investigate the complaint and shall may order it to​

157.12 conduct an inquiry into the complaint's allegations. The investigating agency must complete​

157.13 the inquiry and submit a written summary of it to the executive director within 30 days of​

157.14 the order for inquiry.​

157.15 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 326.3311, is amended to read:​

157.16 326.3311 POWERS AND DUTIES.​

157.17 The board has the following powers and duties:​

157.18 (1) to receive and review all applications for private detective and protective agent​

157.19 licenses;​

157.20 (2) to approve applications for private detective and protective agent licenses and issue,​

157.21 or reissue licenses as provided in sections 326.32 to 326.339;​

157.22 (3) to deny applications for private detective and protective agent licenses if the applicants​

157.23 do not meet the requirements of sections 326.32 to 326.339; upon denial of a license​

157.24 application, the board shall notify the applicant of the denial and the facts and circumstances​

157.25 that constitute the denial; the board shall advise the applicant of the right to a contested case​

157.26 hearing under chapter 14;​

157.27 (4) to enforce all laws and rules governing private detectives and protective agents; and​

157.28 (5) to suspend or revoke the license of a license holder or impose a civil penalty on a​

157.29 license holder for violations of any provision of sections 326.32 to 326.339 or the rules of​

157.30 the board.;​
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158.1 (6) to investigate and refer for prosecution all criminal violations by individuals and​

158.2 entities; and​

158.3 (7) to investigate and refer for prosecution any individuals and entities operating as​

158.4 private detectives or protective agents without a license.​

158.5 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 326.336, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

158.6 Subd. 2. Identification card. An identification card must be issued by the license holder​

158.7 to each employee. The card must be in the possession of the employee to whom it is issued​

158.8 at all times. The identification card must contain the license holder's name, logo (if any),​

158.9 address or Minnesota office address, and the employee's photograph and physical description.​

158.10 The card must be signed by the employee and by the license holder, qualified representative,​

158.11 or Minnesota office manager. The card must be presented upon request.​

158.12 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 326.3361, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

158.13 Subd. 2. Required contents. The rules adopted by the board must require:​

158.14 (1) 12 hours of preassignment or on-the-job certified training within the first 21 days of​

158.15 employment, or evidence that the employee has successfully completed equivalent training​

158.16 before the start of employment. Notwithstanding any statute or rule to the contrary, this​

158.17 clause is satisfied if the employee provides a prospective employer with a certificate or a​

158.18 copy of a certificate demonstrating that the employee successfully completed this training​

158.19 prior to employment with a different Minnesota licensee and completed this training within​

158.20 three previous calendar years, or successfully completed this training with a Minnesota​

158.21 licensee while previously employed with a Minnesota licensee. The certificate or a copy of​

158.22 the certificate is the property of the employee who completed the training, regardless of​

158.23 who paid for the training or how training was provided. Upon a current or former employee's​

158.24 request, a current or former licensed employer must provide a copy of a certificate​

158.25 demonstrating the employee's successful completion of training to the current or former​

158.26 employee. The current or former licensed employer must not charge the employee a fee for​

158.27 a copy of the certificate. The employee who completed the training is entitled to access a​

158.28 copy of the certificate at no charge according to sections 181.960 to 181.966. A current or​

158.29 former employer must comply with sections 181.960 to 181.966;​

158.30 (2) certification by the board of completion of certified training for a license holder,​

158.31 qualified representative, Minnesota manager, partner, and employee to carry or use a firearm,​

158.32 a weapon other than a firearm, or an immobilizing or restraint technique; and​
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159.1 (3) six hours a year of certified continuing training for all license holders, qualified​

159.2 representatives, Minnesota managers, partners, and employees, and an additional six hours​

159.3 a year for individuals who are armed with firearms or armed with weapons, which must​

159.4 include annual certification of the individual.​

159.5 An individual may not carry or use a weapon while undergoing on-the-job training under​

159.6 this subdivision.​

159.7 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 326.3387, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

159.8 Subdivision 1. Basis for action. The board may revoke or suspend or refuse to issue or​

159.9 reissue a private detective or protective agent license if:​

159.10 (1) the license holder violates a provision of sections 326.32 to 326.339 or a rule adopted​

159.11 under those sections;​

159.12 (2) the license holder has engaged in fraud, deceit, or misrepresentation while in the​

159.13 business of private detective or protective agent;​

159.14 (3) the license holder has made a false statement in an application submitted to the board​

159.15 or in a document required to be submitted to the board; or​

159.16 (4) the license holder violates an order of the board; or​

159.17 (5) the individual or entity previously operated without a license.​

159.18 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 626.5531, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

159.19 Subdivision 1. Reports required. A peace officer must report to the head of the officer's​

159.20 department every violation of chapter 609 or a local criminal ordinance if the officer has​

159.21 reason to believe, or if the victim alleges, that the offender was motivated to commit the​

159.22 act by was committed in whole or in substantial part because of the victim's actual or​

159.23 perceived race, color, ethnicity, religion, national origin, sex, gender, sexual orientation,​

159.24 gender identity, gender expression, age, national origin, or disability as defined in section​

159.25 363A.03, or characteristics identified as sexual orientation because of the victim's actual or​

159.26 perceived association with another person or group of a certain actual or perceived race,​

159.27 color, ethnicity, religion, sex, gender, sexual orientation, gender identity, gender expression,​

159.28 age, national origin, or disability as defined in section 363A.03. The superintendent of the​

159.29 Bureau of Criminal Apprehension shall adopt a reporting form to be used by law enforcement​

159.30 agencies in making the reports required under this section. The reports must include for​

159.31 each incident all of the following:​
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160.1 (1) the date of the offense;​

160.2 (2) the location of the offense;​

160.3 (3) whether the target of the incident is a person, private property, or public property;​

160.4 (4) the crime committed;​

160.5 (5) the type of bias and information about the offender and the victim that is relevant to​

160.6 that bias;​

160.7 (6) any organized group involved in the incident;​

160.8 (7) the disposition of the case;​

160.9 (8) whether the determination that the offense was motivated by bias was based on the​

160.10 officer's reasonable belief or on the victim's allegation; and​

160.11 (9) any additional information the superintendent deems necessary for the acquisition​

160.12 of accurate and relevant data.​

160.13 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 626.843, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

160.14 read:​

160.15 Subd. 1c. Rules governing certain misconduct. No later than January 1, 2024, the​

160.16 board must adopt rules under chapter 14 that permit the board to take disciplinary action​

160.17 on a licensee for a violation of a standard of conduct in Minnesota Rules, chapter 6700,​

160.18 whether or not criminal charges have been filed and in accordance with the evidentiary​

160.19 standards and civil processes for boards under chapter 214.​

160.20 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 626.8432, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

160.21 Subdivision 1. Grounds for revocation, suspension, or denial. (a) The board may​

160.22 refuse to issue, refuse to renew, refuse to reinstate, suspend, revoke eligibility for licensure,​

160.23 or revoke a peace officer or part-time peace officer license for any of the following causes:​

160.24 (1) fraud or misrepresentation in obtaining a license;​

160.25 (2) failure to meet licensure requirements; or​

160.26 (3) a violation of section 626.8436, subdivision 1; or​

160.27 (4) a violation of the standards of conduct set forth in Minnesota Rules, chapter 6700.​

160.28 (b) Unless otherwise provided by the board, a revocation or suspension applies to each​

160.29 license, renewal, or reinstatement privilege held by the individual at the time final action​
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161.1 is taken by the board. A person whose license or renewal privilege has been suspended or​

161.2 revoked shall be ineligible to be issued any other license by the board during the pendency​

161.3 of the suspension or revocation.​

161.4 Sec. 10. [626.8436] HATE OR EXTREMIST GROUPS.​

161.5 Subdivision 1. Prohibition. (a) A peace officer may not join, support, advocate for,​

161.6 maintain membership, or participate in the activities of:​

161.7 (1) a hate or extremist group; or​

161.8 (2) a criminal gang as defined in section 609.229, subdivision 1.​

161.9 (b) This section does not apply when the conduct is sanctioned by the law enforcement​

161.10 agency as part of the officer's official duties.​

161.11 Subd. 2. Definitions. (a) "Hate or extremist group" means a group that, as demonstrated​

161.12 by its official statements or principles, the statements of its leaders or members, or its​

161.13 activities:​

161.14 (1) promotes the use of threats, force, violence, or criminal activity:​

161.15 (i) against a local, state, or federal entity, or the officials of such an entity;​

161.16 (ii) to deprive, or attempt to deprive, individuals of their civil rights under the Minnesota​

161.17 or United States Constitution; or​

161.18 (iii) to achieve goals that are political, religious, discriminatory, or ideological in nature;​

161.19 (2) promotes seditious activities; or​

161.20 (3) advocates for differences in the right to vote, speak, assemble, travel, or maintain​

161.21 citizenship based on a person's perceived race, color, creed, religion, national origin,​

161.22 disability, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, public assistance status, or any protected​

161.23 class as defined in Minnesota Statutes or federal law.​

161.24 (b) For the purposes of this section, advocacy, membership, or participation in a hate or​

161.25 extremist group or criminal gang is demonstrated by:​

161.26 (1) dissemination of material that promotes:​

161.27 (i) the use of threats, force, violence, or criminal activity;​

161.28 (ii) seditious activities; or​

161.29 (iii) the objectives described in paragraph (a), clause (3);​
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162.1 (2) engagement in cyber or social media posts, chats, forums, and other forms of​

162.2 promotion of the group's activities;​

162.3 (3) display or use of insignia, colors, tattoos, hand signs, slogans, or codes associated​

162.4 with the group;​

162.5 (4) direct financial or in-kind contributions to the group;​

162.6 (5) a physical or cyber presence in the group's events; or​

162.7 (6) other conduct that could reasonably be considered support, advocacy, or participation​

162.8 in the group's activities.​

162.9 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 626.8451, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

162.10 Subdivision 1. Training course; crimes motivated by bias. (a) The board must prepare​

162.11 a approve a list of training course courses to assist peace officers in identifying and,​

162.12 responding to, and reporting crimes motivated by committed in whole or in substantial part​

162.13 because of the victim's or another's actual or perceived race, color, ethnicity, religion,​

162.14 national origin, sex, gender, sexual orientation, gender identity, gender expression, age,​

162.15 national origin, or disability as defined in section 363A.03, or characteristics identified as​

162.16 sexual orientation because of the victim's actual or perceived association with another person​

162.17 or group of a certain actual or perceived race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, gender, sexual​

162.18 orientation, gender identity, gender expression, age, national origin, or disability as defined​

162.19 in section 363A.03. The course must include material to help officers distinguish bias crimes​

162.20 from other crimes, to help officers in understanding and assisting victims of these crimes,​

162.21 and to ensure that bias crimes will be accurately reported as required under section 626.5531.​

162.22 The course must be updated periodically board must review the approved courses every​

162.23 three years and update the list of approved courses as the board, in consultation with​

162.24 communities most targeted by hate crimes because of their characteristics as described​

162.25 above, organizations with expertise in providing training on hate crimes, and the statewide​

162.26 coalition of organizations representing communities impacted by hate crimes , considers​

162.27 appropriate.​

162.28 (b) In updating the list of approved training courses described in paragraph (a), the board​

162.29 must consult and significantly incorporate input from communities most targeted by hate​

162.30 crimes because of their characteristics as described in paragraph (a), organizations with​

162.31 expertise in providing training on hate crimes, and the statewide coalition of organizations​

162.32 representing communities impacted by hate crimes.​
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163.1 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 626.8457, is amended by adding a subdivision​

163.2 to read:​

163.3 Subd. 4. Data to be shared with board. (a) Upon receiving written notice that the board​

163.4 is investigating any allegation of misconduct within its regulatory authority, a chief law​

163.5 enforcement officer, city, county, or public official must cooperate with the board's​

163.6 investigation and any data request from the board.​

163.7 (b) Upon written request from the board that a matter alleging misconduct within its​

163.8 regulatory authority has occurred regarding a licensed peace officer, a chief law enforcement​

163.9 officer, city, county, or public official shall provide the board with all requested public and​

163.10 private data about the alleged misconduct involving the licensed peace officer, including​

163.11 any pending or final disciplinary or arbitration proceeding, any settlement or compromise,​

163.12 and any investigative files including but not limited to body worn camera or other audio or​

163.13 video files. Confidential data must only be disclosed when the board specifies that the​

163.14 particular identified data is necessary to fulfill its investigatory obligation concerning an​

163.15 allegation of misconduct within its regulatory authority.​

163.16 (c) If a licensed peace officer is discharged or resigns from employment after engaging​

163.17 in any conduct that initiates and results in an investigation of alleged misconduct within the​

163.18 board's regulatory authority, regardless of whether the licensee was criminally charged or​

163.19 an administrative or internal affairs investigation was commenced or completed, a chief​

163.20 law enforcement officer must report the conduct to the board and provide the board with​

163.21 all public and not public data requested under paragraph (b). If the conduct involves the​

163.22 chief law enforcement officer, the overseeing city, county, or public official must report​

163.23 the conduct to the board and provide the board with all public and not public data requested​

163.24 under paragraph (b).​

163.25 (d) Data obtained by the board shall be classified and governed as articulated in sections​

163.26 13.03, subdivision 4, and 13.09, as applicable.​

163.27 (e) A chief law enforcement officer, city, county, or public official is not required to​

163.28 comply with this subdivision when there is an active criminal investigation or active criminal​

163.29 proceeding regarding the same incident or misconduct that is being investigated by the​

163.30 board.​
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164.1 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 626.8457, is amended by adding a subdivision​

164.2 to read:​

164.3 Subd. 5. Immunity from liability. A chief law enforcement officer, city, county, or​

164.4 public official and employees of the law enforcement agency are immune from civil or​

164.5 criminal liability, including any liability under chapter 13, for reporting or releasing public​

164.6 or not public data to the board under subdivisions 3 and 4, unless the chief law enforcement​

164.7 officer, city, county, or public official or employees of the law enforcement agency presented​

164.8 false information to the board with the intention of causing reputational harm to the peace​

164.9 officer.​

164.10 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 626.8469, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

164.11 Subdivision 1. In-service training required. (a) Beginning July 1, 2018, the chief law​

164.12 enforcement officer of every state and local law enforcement agency shall provide in-service​

164.13 training in crisis intervention and mental illness crises; conflict management and mediation;​

164.14 and recognizing and valuing community diversity and cultural differences to include implicit​

164.15 bias training; and training to assist peace officers in identifying, responding to, and reporting​

164.16 incidents committed in whole or in substantial part because of the victim's actual or perceived​

164.17 race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, gender, sexual orientation, gender identity, gender​

164.18 expression, age, national origin, or disability as defined in section 363A.03, or because of​

164.19 the victim's actual or perceived association with another person or group of a certain actual​

164.20 or perceived race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, gender, sexual orientation, gender identity,​

164.21 gender expression, age, national origin, or disability as defined in section 363A.03, to every​

164.22 peace officer and part-time peace officer employed by the agency. The training shall comply​

164.23 with learning objectives developed and approved by the board and shall meet board​

164.24 requirements for board-approved continuing education credit. Every three years the board​

164.25 shall review the learning objectives and must consult and collaborate with communities​

164.26 most targeted by hate crimes because of their characteristics as described above, organizations​

164.27 with expertise in providing training on hate crimes, and the statewide coalition of​

164.28 organizations representing communities impacted by hate crimes in identifying appropriate​

164.29 objectives and training courses related to identifying, responding to, and reporting incidents​

164.30 committed in whole or in substantial part because of the victim's or another's actual or​

164.31 perceived race, color, ethnicity, religion, national origin, sex, gender, sexual orientation,​

164.32 gender identity, gender expression, age, national origin, or disability as defined in section​

164.33 363A.03, or because of the victim's actual or perceived association with another person or​

164.34 group of a certain actual or perceived race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, gender, sexual​

164.35 orientation, gender identity, gender expression, age, national origin, or disability as defined​
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165.1 in section 363A.03. The training shall consist of at least 16 continuing education credits​

165.2 within an officer's three-year licensing cycle. Each peace officer with a license renewal date​

165.3 after June 30, 2018, is not required to complete this training until the officer's next full​

165.4 three-year licensing cycle.​

165.5 (b) Beginning July 1, 2021, the training mandated under paragraph (a) must be provided​

165.6 by an approved entity. The board shall create a list of approved entities and training courses​

165.7 and make the list available to the chief law enforcement officer of every state and local law​

165.8 enforcement agency. Each peace officer (1) with a license renewal date before June 30,​

165.9 2022, and (2) who received the training mandated under paragraph (a) before July 1, 2021,​

165.10 is not required to receive this training by an approved entity until the officer's next full​

165.11 three-year licensing cycle.​

165.12 (c) For every peace officer and part-time peace officer with a license renewal date of​

165.13 June 30, 2022, or later, the training mandated under paragraph (a) must:​

165.14 (1) include a minimum of six hours for crisis intervention and mental illness crisis​

165.15 training that meets the standards established in subdivision 1a; and​

165.16 (2) include a minimum of four hours to ensure safer interactions between peace officers​

165.17 and persons with autism in compliance with section 626.8474.​

165.18 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 626.8473, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

165.19 Subd. 3. Written policies and procedures required. (a) The chief officer of every state​

165.20 and local law enforcement agency that uses or proposes to use a portable recording system​

165.21 must establish and enforce a written policy governing its use. In developing and adopting​

165.22 the policy, the law enforcement agency must provide for public comment and input as​

165.23 provided in subdivision 2. Use of a portable recording system without adoption of a written​

165.24 policy meeting the requirements of this section is prohibited. The written policy must be​

165.25 posted on the agency's website, if the agency has a website.​

165.26 (b) At a minimum, the written policy must incorporate and require compliance with the​

165.27 following:​

165.28 (1) the requirements of section 13.825 and other data classifications, access procedures,​

165.29 retention policies, and data security safeguards that, at a minimum, meet the requirements​

165.30 of chapter 13 and other applicable law. The policy must prohibit altering, erasing, or​

165.31 destroying any recording made with a peace officer's portable recording system or data and​

165.32 metadata related to the recording prior to the expiration of the applicable retention period​
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166.1 under section 13.825, subdivision 3, except that the full, unedited, and unredacted recording​

166.2 of a peace officer using deadly force must be maintained indefinitely;​

166.3 (2) mandate that a portable recording system be:​

166.4 (i) worn where it affords an unobstructed view, and above the mid-line of the waist;​

166.5 (ii) activated during all contacts with citizens in the performance of official duties other​

166.6 than community engagement, to the extent practical without compromising officer safety;​

166.7 and​

166.8 (iii) activated when the officer arrives on scene of an incident and remain active until​

166.9 the conclusion of the officer's duties at the scene of the incident;​

166.10 (3) mandate that officers assigned a portable recording system wear and operate the​

166.11 system in compliance with the agency's policy adopted under this section while performing​

166.12 law enforcement activities under the command and control of another chief law enforcement​

166.13 officer or federal law enforcement official;​

166.14 (4) mandate that, notwithstanding any law to the contrary, a deceased individual's next​

166.15 of kin, legal representative of the next of kin, or other parent of the deceased individual's​

166.16 children be entitled to view any and all recordings from a peace officer's portable recording​

166.17 system, redacted no more than what is required by law, of an officer's use of deadly force​

166.18 no later than five business days following an incident where deadly force used by a peace​

166.19 officer results in the death of an individual, except that a chief law enforcement officer may​

166.20 deny a request if the investigating agency requests and can articulate a compelling reason​

166.21 as to why allowing the deceased individual's next of kin, legal representative of the next of​

166.22 kin, or other parent of the deceased individual's children to review the recordings would​

166.23 interfere with a thorough investigation. If the chief law enforcement officer denies a request​

166.24 under this paragraph, the involved officer's agency must issue a prompt, written denial and​

166.25 provide notice to the deceased individual's next of kin, legal representative of the next of​

166.26 kin, or other parent of the deceased individual's children that relief may be sought from the​

166.27 district court;​

166.28 (5) mandate that, notwithstanding any law to the contrary, an involved officer's agency​

166.29 shall release all body-worn camera recordings of an incident where a peace officer used​

166.30 deadly force and an individual dies to the public no later than 14 business days after the​

166.31 incident, except that a chief law enforcement officer shall not release the video if the​

166.32 investigating agency asserts in writing that allowing the public to view the recordings would​

166.33 interfere with the ongoing investigation;​
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167.1 (6) procedures for testing the portable recording system to ensure adequate functioning;​

167.2 (3) (7) procedures to address a system malfunction or failure, including requirements​

167.3 for documentation by the officer using the system at the time of a malfunction or failure;​

167.4 (4) (8) circumstances under which recording is mandatory, prohibited, or at the discretion​

167.5 of the officer using the system;​

167.6 (5) (9) circumstances under which a data subject must be given notice of a recording;​

167.7 (6) (10) circumstances under which a recording may be ended while an investigation,​

167.8 response, or incident is ongoing;​

167.9 (7) (11) procedures for the secure storage of portable recording system data and the​

167.10 creation of backup copies of the data; and​

167.11 (8) (12) procedures to ensure compliance and address violations of the policy, which​

167.12 must include, at a minimum, supervisory or internal audits and reviews, and the employee​

167.13 discipline standards for unauthorized access to data contained in section 13.09.​

167.14 (c) The board has authority to inspect state and local law enforcement agency policies​

167.15 to ensure compliance with this section. The board may conduct this inspection based upon​

167.16 a complaint it receives about a particular agency or through a random selection process.​

167.17 The board may impose licensing sanctions and seek injunctive relief under section 214.11​

167.18 for an agency's or licensee's failure to comply with this section.​

167.19 Sec. 16. [626.8516] INTENSIVE COMPREHENSIVE PEACE OFFICER​

167.20 EDUCATION AND TRAINING PROGRAM.​

167.21 Subdivision 1. Establishment; title. A program is established within the Department​

167.22 of Public Safety to fund the intensive comprehensive law enforcement education and training​

167.23 of college degree holders. The program shall be known as the intensive comprehensive​

167.24 peace officer education and training program.​

167.25 Subd. 2. Purpose. The program is intended to address the critical shortage of peace​

167.26 officers in the state. The program shall reimburse law enforcement agencies that recruit,​

167.27 educate, and train highly qualified college graduates to become licensed peace officers in​

167.28 the state.​

167.29 Subd. 3. Eligibility for reimbursement grant; grant cap. (a) The chief law enforcement​

167.30 officer of a law enforcement agency may apply to the commissioner for reimbursement of​

167.31 the cost of educating, training, paying, and insuring an eligible peace officer candidate until​

167.32 the candidate is licensed by the board as a peace officer.​
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168.1 (b) The commissioner must reimburse an agency for the actual cost of educating, training,​

168.2 paying, and insuring an eligible peace officer candidate up to $50,000.​

168.3 (c) The commissioner shall not award a grant under this section until the candidate has​

168.4 been licensed by the board.​

168.5 Subd. 4. Eligibility for retention bonus reimbursement grant. (a) The chief law​

168.6 enforcement officer of a law enforcement agency may apply to the commissioner for a​

168.7 onetime reimbursement grant for a retention bonus awarded to an eligible peace officer​

168.8 candidate after the candidate has worked for a minimum of two years as a licensed peace​

168.9 officer for the applicant's agency.​

168.10 (b) The commissioner must reimburse an agency for the actual cost of an eligible retention​

168.11 bonus up to $10,000.​

168.12 Subd. 5. Eligibility for student loan reimbursement grant. (a) An eligible peace officer​

168.13 candidate, after serving for ....... consecutive years as a licensed peace officer in good​

168.14 standing for a law enforcement agency, may apply to the commissioner for a grant to cover​

168.15 student loan debt incurred by the applicant in earning the applicant's two- or four-year​

168.16 degree.​

168.17 (b) The commissioner shall reimburse the applicant for the amount of the applicant's​

168.18 student loan debt up to $20,000.​

168.19 Subd. 6. Forms. The commissioner must prepare the necessary grant application forms​

168.20 and make them available on the agency's public website.​

168.21 Subd. 7. Intensive education and skills training program. No later than February 1,​

168.22 2024, the commissioner, in consultation with the executive director of the board and the​

168.23 institutions designated as education providers under subdivision 8, shall develop an intensive​

168.24 comprehensive law enforcement education and skills training curriculum that will provide​

168.25 eligible peace officer candidates with the law enforcement education and skills training​

168.26 needed to be licensed as a peace officer. The curriculum must be designed to be completed​

168.27 in eight months or less and shall be offered at the institutions designated under subdivision​

168.28 8. The curriculum may overlap, coincide with, or draw upon existing law enforcement​

168.29 education and training programs at institutions designated as education providers under​

168.30 subdivision 8. The commissioner may designate existing law enforcement education and​

168.31 training programs that are designed to be completed in eight months or less as intensive​

168.32 comprehensive law enforcement education and skills training programs for purposes of this​

168.33 section.​
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169.1 Subd. 8. Education providers; sites. (a) No later than September 1, 2023, the Board​

169.2 of Trustees of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities shall designate at least two​

169.3 regionally diverse system campuses to provide the required intensive comprehensive law​

169.4 enforcement education and skills training to eligible peace officer candidates.​

169.5 (b) In addition to the campuses designated under paragraph (a), the commissioner may​

169.6 designate private, nonprofit postsecondary institutions to provide the required intensive​

169.7 comprehensive law enforcement education and skills training to eligible peace officer​

169.8 candidates.​

169.9 Subd. 9. Account established. An intensive comprehensive peace officer education and​

169.10 training program account is created in the special revenue fund for depositing money​

169.11 appropriated to or received by the department for this program. Money deposited in the​

169.12 account is appropriated to the commissioner, does not cancel, and is continuously available​

169.13 to fund the requirements of this section.​

169.14 Subd. 10. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have the​

169.15 meanings given.​

169.16 (b) "Commissioner" means the commissioner of public safety.​

169.17 (c) "Eligible peace officer candidate" means a person who:​

169.18 (1) holds a two- or four-year degree from an accredited college or university;​

169.19 (2) is a citizen of the United States;​

169.20 (3) passed a thorough background check, including searches by local, state, and federal​

169.21 agencies, to disclose the existence of any criminal record or conduct which would adversely​

169.22 affect the candidate's performance of peace officer duties;​

169.23 (4) possesses a valid Minnesota driver's license or, in case of residency therein, a valid​

169.24 driver's license from another state, or eligibility to obtain either license; and​

169.25 (5) is sponsored by a state or local law enforcement agency.​

169.26 (d) "Law enforcement agency" has the meaning given in section 626.84, subdivision 1,​

169.27 paragraph (f), clause (1).​

169.28 (e) "Program" means the intensive comprehensive peace officer education and training​

169.29 program.​
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170.1 Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 626.87, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

170.2 read:​

170.3 Subd. 1a. Background records checks. (a) The law enforcement agency must request​

170.4 a criminal history background check from the superintendent of the Bureau of Criminal​

170.5 Apprehension on an applicant for employment as a licensed peace officer or an applicant​

170.6 for a position leading to employment as a licensed peace officer within the state of Minnesota​

170.7 to determine eligibility for licensing. Applicants must provide, for submission to the​

170.8 superintendent of the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension:​

170.9 (1) an executed criminal history consent form, authorizing the dissemination of state​

170.10 and federal records to the law enforcement agency and the Minnesota Board of Peace Officer​

170.11 Standards and Training and fingerprints; and​

170.12 (2) a money order or cashier's check payable to the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension​

170.13 for the fee for conducting the criminal history background check.​

170.14 (b) The superintendent of the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension shall perform the​

170.15 background check required under paragraph (a) by retrieving criminal history data as defined​

170.16 in section 13.87 and shall also conduct a search of the national criminal records repository.​

170.17 The superintendent is authorized to exchange the applicant's fingerprints with the Federal​

170.18 Bureau of Investigation to obtain their national criminal history record information. The​

170.19 superintendent must return the results of the Minnesota and federal criminal history records​

170.20 checks to the law enforcement agency who is authorized to share with the Minnesota Board​

170.21 of Peace Officer Standards and Training to determine if the individual is eligible for licensing​

170.22 under Minnesota Rules, chapter 6700.​

170.23 Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 626.87, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

170.24 Subd. 2. Disclosure of employment information. Upon request of a law enforcement​

170.25 agency, an employer shall disclose or otherwise make available for inspection employment​

170.26 information of an employee or former employee who is the subject of an investigation under​

170.27 subdivision 1 or who is a candidate for employment with a law enforcement agency in any​

170.28 other capacity. The request for disclosure of employment information must be in writing,​

170.29 must be accompanied by an original authorization and release signed by the employee or​

170.30 former employee, and must be signed by a sworn peace officer or other an authorized​

170.31 representative of the law enforcement agency conducting the background investigation.​
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171.1 Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 626.87, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

171.2 Subd. 3. Refusal to disclose a personnel record. If an employer refuses to disclose​

171.3 employment information in accordance with this section, upon request the district court​

171.4 may issue an ex parte order directing the disclosure of the employment information. The​

171.5 request must be made by a sworn peace officer an authorized representative from the law​

171.6 enforcement agency conducting the background investigation and must include a copy of​

171.7 the original request for disclosure made upon the employer or former employer and the​

171.8 authorization and release signed by the employee or former employee. The request must be​

171.9 signed by the peace officer person requesting the order and an attorney representing the​

171.10 state or the political subdivision on whose behalf the background investigation is being​

171.11 conducted. It is not necessary for the request or the order to be filed with the court​

171.12 administrator. Failure to comply with the court order subjects the person or entity who fails​

171.13 to comply to civil or criminal contempt of court.​

171.14 Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 626.87, subdivision 5, is amended to read:​

171.15 Subd. 5. Notice of investigation. Upon initiation of a background investigation under​

171.16 this section for a person described in subdivision 1, the law enforcement agency shall give​

171.17 written notice to the Peace Officer Standards and Training Board of:​

171.18 (1) the candidate's full name and date of birth; and​

171.19 (2) the candidate's peace officer license number, if known.​

171.20 The initiation of a background investigation does not include the submission of an​

171.21 application for employment. Initiation of a background investigation occurs when the law​

171.22 enforcement agency begins its determination of whether an applicant meets the agency's​

171.23 standards for employment as a law enforcement employee.​

171.24 Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 626.89, subdivision 17, is amended to read:​

171.25 Subd. 17. Civilian review. (a) As used in this subdivision, the following terms have the​

171.26 meanings given:​

171.27 (1) "civilian oversight council" means a civilian review board, commission, or other​

171.28 oversight body established by a local unit of government to provide civilian oversight of a​

171.29 law enforcement agency and officers employed by the agency; and​

171.30 (2) "misconduct" means a violation of law, standards promulgated by the Peace Officer​

171.31 Standards and Training Board, or agency policy.​
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172.1 (b) A local unit of government may establish a civilian review board, commission, or​

172.2 other oversight body shall not have council and grant the council the authority to make a​

172.3 finding of fact or determination regarding a complaint against an officer or impose discipline​

172.4 on an officer. A civilian review board, commission, or other oversight body may make a​

172.5 recommendation regarding the merits of a complaint, however, the recommendation shall​

172.6 be advisory only and shall not be binding on nor limit the authority of the chief law​

172.7 enforcement officer of any unit of government.​

172.8 (c) At the conclusion of any criminal investigation or prosecution, if any, a civilian​

172.9 oversight council may conduct an investigation into allegations of peace officer misconduct​

172.10 and retain an investigator to facilitate an investigation. Subject to other applicable law, a​

172.11 council may subpoena or compel testimony and documents in an investigation. Upon​

172.12 completion of an investigation, a council may make a finding of misconduct and recommend​

172.13 appropriate discipline against peace officers employed by the agency. If the governing body​

172.14 grants a council the authority, the council may impose discipline on peace officers employed​

172.15 by the agency. A council may submit investigation reports that contain findings of peace​

172.16 officer misconduct to the chief law enforcement officer and the Peace Officer Standards​

172.17 and Training Board's complaint committee. A council may also make policy​

172.18 recommendations to the chief law enforcement officer and the Peace Officer Standards and​

172.19 Training Board.​

172.20 (d) The chief law enforcement officer of a law enforcement agency under the jurisdiction​

172.21 of a civilian oversight council shall cooperate with the council and facilitate the council's​

172.22 achievement of its goals. However, the officer is under no obligation to agree with individual​

172.23 recommendations of the council and may oppose a recommendation. If the officer fails to​

172.24 implement a recommendation that is within the officer's authority, the officer shall inform​

172.25 the council of the failure along with the officer's underlying reasons.​

172.26 (e) Peace officer discipline decisions imposed pursuant to the authority granted under​

172.27 this subdivision shall be subject to the applicable grievance procedure established or agreed​

172.28 to under chapter 179A.​

172.29 (f) Data collected, created, received, maintained, or disseminated by a civilian oversight​

172.30 council related to an investigation of a peace officer are personnel data as defined by section​

172.31 13.43, subdivision 1, and are governed by that section.​
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173.1 Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 626.90, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

173.2 Subd. 2. Law enforcement agency. (a) The band has the powers of a law enforcement​

173.3 agency, as defined in section 626.84, subdivision 1, paragraph (f), if all of the requirements​

173.4 of clauses (1) to (4) are met:​

173.5 (1) the band agrees to be subject to liability for its torts and those of its officers,​

173.6 employees, and agents acting within the scope of their employment or duties arising out of​

173.7 a law enforcement agency function conferred by this section, to the same extent as a​

173.8 municipality under chapter 466, and the band further agrees, notwithstanding section 16C.05,​

173.9 subdivision 7, to waive its sovereign immunity for purposes of claims of this liability;​

173.10 (2) the band files with the Board of Peace Officer Standards and Training a bond or​

173.11 certificate of insurance for liability coverage with the maximum single occurrence amounts​

173.12 set forth in section 466.04 and an annual cap for all occurrences within a year of three times​

173.13 the single occurrence amount;​

173.14 (3) the band files with the Board of Peace Officer Standards and Training a certificate​

173.15 of insurance for liability of its law enforcement officers, employees, and agents for lawsuits​

173.16 under the United States Constitution; and​

173.17 (4) the band agrees to be subject to section 13.82 and any other laws of the state relating​

173.18 to data practices of law enforcement agencies.​

173.19 (b) The band shall may enter into mutual aid/cooperative agreements with the Mille​

173.20 Lacs County sheriff under section 471.59 to define and regulate the provision of law​

173.21 enforcement services under this section. The agreements must define the trust property​

173.22 involved in the joint powers agreement.​

173.23 (c) Only if the requirements of paragraph (a) are met, the band shall have concurrent​

173.24 jurisdictional authority under this section with the Mille Lacs County Sheriff's Department​

173.25 only if the requirements of paragraph (a) are met and under the following circumstances:​

173.26 (1) over all persons in the geographical boundaries of the property held by the United​

173.27 States in trust for the Mille Lacs Band or the Minnesota Chippewa tribe;​

173.28 (2) over all Minnesota Chippewa tribal members within the boundaries of the Treaty of​

173.29 February 22, 1855, 10 Stat. 1165, in Mille Lacs County, Minnesota; and.​

173.30 (3) concurrent jurisdiction over any person who commits or attempts to commit a crime​

173.31 in the presence of an appointed band peace officer within the boundaries of the Treaty of​

173.32 February 22, 1855, 10 Stat. 1165, in Mille Lacs County, Minnesota.​
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174.1 Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 626.91, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

174.2 Subd. 2. Law enforcement agency. (a) The community has the powers of a law​

174.3 enforcement agency, as defined in section 626.84, subdivision 1, paragraph (f), if all of the​

174.4 requirements of clauses (1) to (4) are met:​

174.5 (1) the community agrees to be subject to liability for its torts and those of its officers,​

174.6 employees, and agents acting within the scope of their employment or duties arising out of​

174.7 the law enforcement agency powers conferred by this section to the same extent as a​

174.8 municipality under chapter 466, and the community further agrees, notwithstanding section​

174.9 16C.05, subdivision 7, to waive its sovereign immunity with respect to claims arising from​

174.10 this liability;​

174.11 (2) the community files with the Board of Peace Officer Standards and Training a bond​

174.12 or certificate of insurance for liability coverage with the maximum single occurrence amounts​

174.13 set forth in section 466.04 and an annual cap for all occurrences within a year of three times​

174.14 the single occurrence amount;​

174.15 (3) the community files with the Board of Peace Officer Standards and Training a​

174.16 certificate of insurance for liability of its law enforcement officers, employees, and agents​

174.17 for lawsuits under the United States Constitution; and​

174.18 (4) the community agrees to be subject to section 13.82 and any other laws of the state​

174.19 relating to data practices of law enforcement agencies.​

174.20 (b) The community shall may enter into an agreement under section 471.59 with the​

174.21 Redwood County sheriff to define and regulate the provision of law enforcement services​

174.22 under this section and to provide for mutual aid and cooperation. If entered, the agreement​

174.23 must identify and describe the trust property involved in the agreement. For purposes of​

174.24 entering into this agreement, the community shall be considered a "governmental unit" as​

174.25 that term is defined in section 471.59, subdivision 1.​

174.26 Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 626.91, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

174.27 Subd. 4. Peace officers. If the community complies with the requirements set forth in​

174.28 subdivision 2, paragraph (a), the community is authorized to appoint peace officers, as​

174.29 defined in section 626.84, subdivision 1, paragraph (c), who have the same powers as peace​

174.30 officers employed by the Redwood County sheriff over the persons and the geographic​

174.31 areas described in subdivision 3.​
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175.1 Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 626.92, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

175.2 Subd. 2. Law enforcement agency. (a) The band has the powers of a law enforcement​

175.3 agency, as defined in section 626.84, subdivision 1, paragraph (f), if all of the requirements​

175.4 of clauses (1) to (4) and paragraph (b) are met:​

175.5 (1) the band agrees to be subject to liability for its torts and those of its officers,​

175.6 employees, and agents acting within the scope of their employment or duties arising out of​

175.7 the law enforcement agency powers conferred by this section to the same extent as a​

175.8 municipality under chapter 466, and the band further agrees, notwithstanding section 16C.05,​

175.9 subdivision 7, to waive its sovereign immunity for purposes of claims arising out of this​

175.10 liability;​

175.11 (2) the band files with the Board of Peace Officer Standards and Training a bond or​

175.12 certificate of insurance for liability coverage with the maximum single occurrence amounts​

175.13 set forth in section 466.04 and an annual cap for all occurrences within a year of three times​

175.14 the single occurrence amount or establishes that liability coverage exists under the Federal​

175.15 Torts Claims Act, United States Code, title 28, section 1346(b), et al., as extended to the​

175.16 band pursuant to the Indian Self-Determination and Education Assistance Act of 1975,​

175.17 United States Code, title 25, section 450f(c);​

175.18 (3) the band files with the Board of Peace Officer Standards and Training a certificate​

175.19 of insurance for liability of its law enforcement officers, employees, and agents for lawsuits​

175.20 under the United States Constitution or establishes that liability coverage exists under the​

175.21 Federal Torts Claims Act, United States Code, title 28, section 1346(b) et al., as extended​

175.22 to the band pursuant to the Indian Self-Determination and Education Assistance Act of​

175.23 1975, United States Code, title 25, section 450F(c); and​

175.24 (4) the band agrees to be subject to section 13.82 and any other laws of the state relating​

175.25 to data practices of law enforcement agencies.​

175.26 (b) By July 1, 1998, The band shall may enter into written mutual aid or cooperative​

175.27 agreements with the Carlton County sheriff, the St. Louis County sheriff, and the city of​

175.28 Cloquet under section 471.59 to define and regulate the provision of law enforcement​

175.29 services under this section. If entered, the agreements must define the following:​

175.30 (1) the trust property involved in the joint powers agreement;​

175.31 (2) the responsibilities of the county sheriffs;​

175.32 (3) the responsibilities of the county attorneys; and​

175.33 (4) the responsibilities of the city of Cloquet city attorney and police department.​
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176.1 Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 626.92, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

176.2 Subd. 3. Concurrent jurisdiction. The band shall have concurrent jurisdictional authority​

176.3 under this section with the Carlton County and St. Louis County Sheriffs' Departments over​

176.4 crimes committed within the boundaries of the Fond du Lac Reservation as indicated by​

176.5 the mutual aid or cooperative agreements entered into under subdivision 2, paragraph (b),​

176.6 and any exhibits or attachments to those agreements if the requirements of subdivision 2,​

176.7 paragraph (a), are met, regardless of whether a cooperative agreement pursuant to subdivision​

176.8 2, paragraph (b), is entered into.​

176.9 Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 626.93, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

176.10 Subd. 3. Concurrent jurisdiction. If the requirements of subdivision 2 are met and the​

176.11 tribe enters into a cooperative agreement pursuant to subdivision 4, the Tribe shall have has​

176.12 concurrent jurisdictional authority under this section with the local county sheriff within​

176.13 the geographical boundaries of the Tribe's reservation to enforce state criminal law.​

176.14 Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 626.93, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

176.15 Subd. 4. Cooperative agreements. In order to coordinate, define, and regulate the​

176.16 provision of law enforcement services and to provide for mutual aid and cooperation,​

176.17 governmental units and the Tribe shall may enter into agreements under section 471.59.​

176.18 For the purposes of entering into these agreements, the Tribe shall be is considered a​

176.19 "governmental unit" as that term is defined in section 471.59, subdivision 1.​

176.20 Sec. 29. REPEALER.​

176.21 Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 626.93, subdivision 7, is repealed.​

176.22 ARTICLE 9​

176.23 CORRECTIONS POLICY​

176.24 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 241.01, subdivision 3a, is amended to read:​

176.25 Subd. 3a. Commissioner, powers and duties. The commissioner of corrections has the​

176.26 following powers and duties:​

176.27 (a) To accept persons committed to the commissioner by the courts of this state for care,​

176.28 custody, and rehabilitation.​

176.29 (b) To determine the place of confinement of committed persons in a correctional facility​

176.30 or other facility of the Department of Corrections and to prescribe reasonable conditions​
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177.1 and rules for their employment, conduct, instruction, and discipline within or outside the​

177.2 facility. After July 1, 2023, the commissioner shall not allow inmates who have not been​

177.3 conditionally released from prison, whether on parole, supervised release, work release, or​

177.4 an early release program, to be housed in correctional facilities that are not owned and​

177.5 operated by the state, a local unit of government, or a group of local units of government.​

177.6 Inmates shall not exercise custodial functions or have authority over other inmates.​

177.7 (c) To administer the money and property of the department.​

177.8 (d) To administer, maintain, and inspect all state correctional facilities.​

177.9 (e) To transfer authorized positions and personnel between state correctional facilities​

177.10 as necessary to properly staff facilities and programs.​

177.11 (f) To utilize state correctional facilities in the manner deemed to be most efficient and​

177.12 beneficial to accomplish the purposes of this section, but not to close the Minnesota​

177.13 Correctional Facility-Stillwater or the Minnesota Correctional Facility-St. Cloud without​

177.14 legislative approval. The commissioner may place juveniles and adults at the same state​

177.15 minimum security correctional facilities, if there is total separation of and no regular contact​

177.16 between juveniles and adults, except contact incidental to admission, classification, and​

177.17 mental and physical health care.​

177.18 (g) To organize the department and employ personnel the commissioner deems necessary​

177.19 to discharge the functions of the department, including a chief executive officer for each​

177.20 facility under the commissioner's control who shall serve in the unclassified civil service​

177.21 and may, under the provisions of section 43A.33, be removed only for cause.​

177.22 (h) To define the duties of these employees and to delegate to them any of the​

177.23 commissioner's powers, duties and responsibilities, subject to the commissioner's control​

177.24 and the conditions the commissioner prescribes.​

177.25 (i) To annually develop a comprehensive set of goals and objectives designed to clearly​

177.26 establish the priorities of the Department of Corrections. This report shall be submitted to​

177.27 the governor commencing January 1, 1976. The commissioner may establish ad hoc advisory​

177.28 committees.​

177.29 (j) To publish, administer, and award grant contracts with state agencies, local units of​

177.30 government, and other entities for correctional programs embodying rehabilitative concepts,​

177.31 for restorative programs for crime victims and the overall community, and for implementing​

177.32 legislative directives.​

177.33 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​
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178.1 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 241.021, subdivision 1d, is amended to read:​

178.2 Subd. 1d. Public notice of restriction, revocation, or suspension. If the license of a​

178.3 facility under this section is revoked or suspended, or use of the facility is restricted for any​

178.4 reason under a conditional license order, or a correction order is issued to a facility, the​

178.5 commissioner shall post the facility, the status of the facility's license, and the reason for​

178.6 the correction order, restriction, revocation, or suspension publicly and on the department's​

178.7 website.​

178.8 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 241.021, subdivision 2a, is amended to read:​

178.9 Subd. 2a. Affected municipality; notice. The commissioner must not issue grant a​

178.10 license without giving 30 calendar days' written notice to any affected municipality or other​

178.11 political subdivision unless the facility has a licensed capacity of six or fewer persons and​

178.12 is occupied by either the licensee or the group foster home parents. The notification must​

178.13 be given before the license is first issuance of a license granted and annually after that time​

178.14 if annual notification is requested in writing by any affected municipality or other political​

178.15 subdivision. State funds must not be made available to or be spent by an agency or department​

178.16 of state, county, or municipal government for payment to a foster care facility licensed under​

178.17 subdivision 2 until the provisions of this subdivision have been complied with in full.​

178.18 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 241.021, subdivision 2b, is amended to read:​

178.19 Subd. 2b. Licensing; facilities; juveniles from outside state. The commissioner may​

178.20 not:​

178.21 (1) issue grant a license under this section to operate a correctional facility for the​

178.22 detention or confinement of juvenile offenders if the facility accepts juveniles who reside​

178.23 outside of Minnesota without an agreement with the entity placing the juvenile at the facility​

178.24 that obligates the entity to pay the educational expenses of the juvenile; or​

178.25 (2) renew a license under this section to operate a correctional facility for the detention​

178.26 or confinement of juvenile offenders if the facility accepts juveniles who reside outside of​

178.27 Minnesota without an agreement with the entity placing the juvenile at the facility that​

178.28 obligates the entity to pay the educational expenses of the juvenile.​

178.29 Sec. 5. [241.0215] JUVENILE DETENTION FACILITIES; RESTRICTIONS ON​

178.30 STRIP SEARCHES AND DISCIPLINE.​

178.31 Subdivision 1. Applicability. This section applies to juvenile facilities licensed by the​

178.32 commissioner of corrections under section 241.021, subdivision 2.​
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179.1 Subd. 2. Definitions. (a) As used in this section, the following terms have the meanings​

179.2 given.​

179.3 (b) "Health care professional" means an individual who is licensed or permitted by a​

179.4 Minnesota health-related licensing board, as defined in section 214.01, subdivision 2, to​

179.5 perform health care services in Minnesota within the professional's scope of practice.​

179.6 (c) "Strip search" means a visual inspection of a juvenile's unclothed breasts, buttocks,​

179.7 or genitalia.​

179.8 Subd. 3. Searches restricted. (a) A staff person working in a facility may not conduct​

179.9 a strip search unless:​

179.10 (1) a specific, articulable, and immediate contraband concern is present;​

179.11 (2) other search techniques and technology cannot be used or have failed to identify the​

179.12 contraband; and​

179.13 (3) the facility's chief administrator or designee has reviewed the situation and approved​

179.14 the strip search.​

179.15 (b) A strip search must be conducted by:​

179.16 (1) a health care professional; or​

179.17 (2) a staff person working in a facility who has received training on trauma-informed​

179.18 search techniques and other applicable training under Minnesota Rules, chapter 2960.​

179.19 (c) A strip search must be documented in writing and describe the contraband concern,​

179.20 summarize other inspection techniques used or considered, and verify the approval from​

179.21 the facility's chief administrator or, in the temporary absence of the chief administrator, the​

179.22 staff person designated as the person in charge of the facility. A copy of the documentation​

179.23 must be provided to the commissioner within 24 hours of the strip search.​

179.24 (d) Nothing in this section prohibits or limits a strip search as part of a health care​

179.25 procedure conducted by a health care professional.​

179.26 Subd. 4. Discipline restricted. (a) A staff person working in a facility may not discipline​

179.27 a juvenile by physically or socially isolating the juvenile.​

179.28 (b) Nothing in this subdivision restricts a facility from isolating a juvenile for the​

179.29 juvenile's safety, staff safety, or the safety of other facility residents when the isolation is​

179.30 consistent with rules adopted by the commissioner.​
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180.1 Subd. 5. Commissioner action. The commissioner may take any action authorized under​

180.2 section 241.021, subdivisions 2 and 3, to address a violation of this section.​

180.3 Subd. 6. Report. (a) By February 15 each year, the commissioner must report to the​

180.4 chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees and divisions with​

180.5 jurisdiction over public safety finance and policy on the use of strip searches and isolation.​

180.6 (b) The report must consist of summary data from the previous calendar year and must,​

180.7 at a minimum, include:​

180.8 (1) how often strip searches were performed;​

180.9 (2) how often juveniles were isolated;​

180.10 (3) the length of each period of isolation used and, for juveniles isolated in the previous​

180.11 year, the total cumulative amount of time that the juvenile was isolated that year; and​

180.12 (4) any injury to a juvenile related to a strip search or isolation, or both, that was​

180.13 reportable as a critical incident.​

180.14 (c) Data in the report must provide information on the demographics of juveniles who​

180.15 were subject to a strip search and juveniles who were isolated. At a minimum, data must​

180.16 be disaggregated by age, race, and gender.​

180.17 (d) The report must identify any facility that performed a strip search or used isolation,​

180.18 or both, in a manner that did not comply with this section or rules adopted by the​

180.19 commissioner in conformity with this section.​

180.20 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2024.​

180.21 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 241.025, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

180.22 Subdivision 1. Authorization. The commissioner of corrections may appoint peace​

180.23 officers, as defined in section 626.84, subdivision 1, paragraph (c), who shall serve in the​

180.24 classified service subject to the provisions of section 43A.01, subdivision 2, and establish​

180.25 a law enforcement agency, as defined in section 626.84, subdivision 1, paragraph (f), known​

180.26 as the Department of Corrections Fugitive Apprehension Unit, to perform the duties necessary​

180.27 to make statewide arrests under sections 629.30 and 629.34. The jurisdiction of the law​

180.28 enforcement agency is limited to primarily the arrest of Department of Corrections'​

180.29 discretionary and statutory released violators and Department of Corrections' escapees and​

180.30 this must be its primary focus. The Department of Corrections Fugitive Apprehension Unit​

180.31 may respond to a law enforcement agency's request to exercise general law enforcement​

180.32 duties during the course of official duties by carrying out law enforcement activities at the​

180​Article 9 Sec. 6.​

HOUSE RESEARCH JD/RK H2890DE1​03/26/23 03:25 pm ​



181.1 direction of the law enforcement agency of jurisdiction. In addition, the unit may investigate​

181.2 criminal offenses in agency-operated correctional facilities and surrounding property.​

181.3 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 241.025, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

181.4 Subd. 2. Limitations. The initial processing of a person arrested by the fugitive​

181.5 apprehension unit for an offense within the agency's jurisdiction is the responsibility of the​

181.6 fugitive apprehension unit unless otherwise directed by the law enforcement agency with​

181.7 primary jurisdiction. A subsequent investigation is the responsibility of the law enforcement​

181.8 agency of the jurisdiction in which a new crime is committed unless the law enforcement​

181.9 agency authorizes the fugitive apprehension unit to assume the subsequent investigation.​

181.10 At the request of the primary jurisdiction, the fugitive apprehension unit may assist in​

181.11 subsequent investigations or law enforcement efforts being carried out by the primary​

181.12 jurisdiction. Persons arrested for violations that the fugitive apprehension unit determines​

181.13 are not within the agency's jurisdiction must be referred to the appropriate local law​

181.14 enforcement agency for further investigation or disposition.​

181.15 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 241.025, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

181.16 Subd. 3. Policies. The fugitive apprehension unit must develop and file all policies​

181.17 required under state law for law enforcement agencies. The fugitive apprehension unit also​

181.18 must develop a policy for contacting law enforcement agencies in a city or county before​

181.19 initiating any fugitive surveillance, investigation, or apprehension within the city or county.​

181.20 These policies must be filed with the board of peace officers standards and training by​

181.21 November 1, 2000. Revisions of any of these policies must be filed with the board within​

181.22 ten days of the effective date of the revision. The Department of Corrections shall train all​

181.23 of its peace officers regarding the application of these policies.​

181.24 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 241.90, is amended to read:​

181.25 241.90 OFFICE OF OMBUDSPERSON; CREATION; QUALIFICATIONS;​

181.26 FUNCTION.​

181.27 The Office of Ombudsperson for the Department of Corrections is hereby created. The​

181.28 ombudsperson shall serve at the pleasure of be appointed by the governor in the unclassified​

181.29 service, and may be removed only for just cause. The ombudsperson shall be selected without​

181.30 regard to political affiliation, and shall be a person highly competent and qualified to analyze​

181.31 questions of law, administration, and public policy. No person may serve as ombudsperson​

181.32 while holding any other public office. The ombudsperson for corrections shall be accountable​
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182.1 to the governor and shall have the authority to investigate decisions, acts, and other matters​

182.2 of the Department of Corrections so as to promote the highest attainable standards of​

182.3 competence, efficiency, and justice in the administration of corrections.​

182.4 Sec. 10. [243.95] PRIVATE PRISON CONTRACTS PROHIBITED.​

182.5 (a) The commissioner may not contract with privately owned and operated prisons for​

182.6 the care, custody, and rehabilitation of inmates committed to the custody of the commissioner.​

182.7 (b) Notwithstanding section 43A.047, nothing in this section prohibits the commissioner​

182.8 from contracting with privately owned residential facilities, such as halfway houses, group​

182.9 homes, work release centers, or treatment facilities, to provide for the care, custody, and​

182.10 rehabilitation of inmates who have been released from prison under section 241.26, 244.065,​

182.11 244.05, 244.0513, 244.172, or any other form of supervised or conditional release.​

182.12 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

182.13 Sec. 11. [244.049] INDETERMINATE SENTENCE RELEASE BOARD.​

182.14 Subdivision 1. Establishment; membership. (a) As provided under paragraph (b) and​

182.15 section 244.05, subdivision 5, the Indeterminate Sentence Release Board is established to​

182.16 review eligible cases and make release and final discharge decisions for:​

182.17 (1) inmates serving life sentences with the possibility of parole or supervised release​

182.18 under sections 243.05, subdivision 1, and 244.05, subdivision 5; and​

182.19 (2) inmates serving indeterminate sentences for crimes committed on or before April​

182.20 30, 1980.​

182.21 (b) Beginning July 1, 2024, the authority to grant discretionary release and final discharge​

182.22 previously vested in the commissioner under sections 243.05, subdivisions 1, paragraph​

182.23 (a), and 3; 244.08; and 609.12 is transferred to the board.​

182.24 (c) The board consists of five members as follows:​

182.25 (1) four members appointed by the governor from which each of the majority leaders​

182.26 and minority leaders of the house of representatives and the senate provides two candidate​

182.27 recommendations for consideration; and​

182.28 (2) the commissioner, who serves as chair.​

182.29 (d) Appointed board members must meet the following qualifications, at a minimum:​
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183.1 (1) a law degree or a bachelor's degree in criminology, corrections, or a related social​

183.2 science;​

183.3 (2) five years of experience in corrections, a criminal justice or community corrections​

183.4 field, rehabilitation programming, behavioral health, or criminal law; and​

183.5 (3) demonstrated knowledge of victim issues and correctional processes.​

183.6 Subd. 2. Terms; compensation. (a) Appointed board members serve four-year staggered​

183.7 terms, but the terms of the initial members are as follows:​

183.8 (1) two members must be appointed for terms that expire January 1, 2026; and​

183.9 (2) two members must be appointed for terms that expire January 1, 2028.​

183.10 (b) An appointed member is eligible for reappointment, and a vacancy must be filled​

183.11 according to subdivision 1.​

183.12 (c) For appointed members, compensation and removal are as provided in section 15.0575.​

183.13 Subd. 3. Quorum; administrative duties. (a) The majority of members constitutes a​

183.14 quorum.​

183.15 (b) An appointed board member must visit at least one state correctional facility every​

183.16 12 months.​

183.17 (c) The commissioner must provide the board with personnel, supplies, equipment, office​

183.18 space, and other administrative services necessary and incident to fulfilling the board's​

183.19 functions.​

183.20 Subd. 4. Limitation. Nothing in this section or section 244.05, subdivision 5:​

183.21 (1) supersedes the commissioner's authority to set conditions of release or revoke an​

183.22 inmate's release for violating any of the conditions; or​

183.23 (2) impairs the power of the Board of Pardons to grant a pardon or commutation in any​

183.24 case.​

183.25 Subd. 5. Report. (a) Beginning February 15, 2025, and each year thereafter, the board​

183.26 must submit to the legislative committees with jurisdiction over criminal justice policy a​

183.27 written report that:​

183.28 (1) details the number of inmates reviewed;​

183.29 (2) identifies inmates granted release or final discharge in the preceding year; and​
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184.1 (3) provides demographic data of inmates who were granted release or final discharge​

184.2 and inmates who were denied release or final discharge.​

184.3 (b) The report must also include the board's recommendations to the commissioner for​

184.4 policy modifications that influence the board's duties.​

184.5 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 244.05, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

184.6 Subd. 2. Rules. (a) Notwithstanding section 14.03, subdivision 3, paragraph (b), clause​

184.7 (1), the commissioner of corrections shall must adopt by rule standards and procedures for​

184.8 the revocation of revoking supervised or conditional release, and shall must specify the​

184.9 period of revocation for each violation of release except in accordance with subdivision 5,​

184.10 paragraph (i), for inmates serving life sentences.​

184.11 (b) Procedures for the revocation of revoking release shall must provide due process of​

184.12 law for the inmate.​

184.13 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.​

184.14 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 244.05, subdivision 5, is amended to read:​

184.15 Subd. 5. Supervised release,; life sentence and indeterminate sentences. (a) The​

184.16 commissioner of corrections board may, under rules promulgated adopted by the​

184.17 commissioner, give grant supervised release or parole to an inmate serving a mandatory​

184.18 life sentence under section 609.185, paragraph (a), clause (3), (5), or (6); 609.3455,​

184.19 subdivision 3 or 4; 609.385; or Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.109, subdivision 3,:​

184.20 (1) after the inmate has served the minimum term of imprisonment specified in​

184.21 subdivision 4 or section 243.05, subdivision 1, paragraph (a); or​

184.22 (2) at any time for an inmate serving a nonlife indeterminate sentence for a crime​

184.23 committed on or before April 30, 1980.​

184.24 (b) No earlier than three years before an inmate reaches their minimum term of​

184.25 imprisonment or parole eligibility date, the commissioner must conduct a formal review​

184.26 and make programming recommendations relevant to the inmate's release review under this​

184.27 subdivision.​

184.28 (c) The commissioner shall board must require the preparation of a community​

184.29 investigation report and shall consider the findings of the report when making a supervised​

184.30 release or parole decision under this subdivision. The report shall must:​
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185.1 (1) reflect the sentiment of the various elements of the community toward the inmate,​

185.2 both at the time of the offense and at the present time.;​

185.3 The report shall (2) include the views of the sentencing judge, the prosecutor, any law​

185.4 enforcement personnel who may have been involved in the case, and any successors to these​

185.5 individuals who may have information relevant to the supervised release decision.; and​

185.6 The report shall also (3) include the views of the victim and the victim's family unless​

185.7 the victim or the victim's family chooses not to participate.​

185.8 (c) (d) The commissioner shall must make reasonable efforts to notify the victim, in​

185.9 advance, of the time and place of the inmate's supervised release review hearing. The victim​

185.10 has a right to submit an oral or written statement at the review hearing. The statement may​

185.11 summarize the harm suffered by the victim as a result of the crime and give the victim's​

185.12 recommendation on whether the inmate should be given supervised release or parole at this​

185.13 time. The commissioner must consider the victim's statement when making the supervised​

185.14 release decision.​

185.15 (d) (e) Supervised release or parole must be granted with a majority vote of the board​

185.16 members. When considering whether to give grant supervised release or parole to an inmate​

185.17 serving a life sentence under section 609.3455, subdivision 3 or 4 or indeterminate sentence,​

185.18 the commissioner shall board must consider, at a minimum, the following:​

185.19 (1) the risk the inmate poses to the community if released,;​

185.20 (2) the inmate's progress in treatment,;​

185.21 (3) the inmate's behavior while incarcerated,;​

185.22 (4) psychological or other diagnostic evaluations of the inmate,;​

185.23 (5) the inmate's criminal history,;​

185.24 (6) a victim statement under paragraph (d), if submitted; and​

185.25 (7) any other relevant conduct of the inmate while incarcerated or before incarceration.​

185.26 (f) The commissioner board may not give grant supervised release or parole to the an​

185.27 inmate unless:​

185.28 (1) while in prison:​

185.29 (i) the inmate has successfully completed appropriate sex offender treatment, if applicable;​

185.30 (ii) the inmate has been assessed for substance use disorder needs and, if appropriate,​

185.31 has successfully completed substance use disorder treatment; and​
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186.1 (iii) the inmate has been assessed for mental health needs and, if appropriate, has​

186.2 successfully completed mental health treatment; and​

186.3 (2) a comprehensive individual release plan is in place for the inmate that:​

186.4 (i) ensures that, after release, the inmate will have suitable housing and receive appropriate​

186.5 aftercare and community-based treatment. The comprehensive plan also must include; and​

186.6 (ii) includes a postprison employment or education plan for the inmate.​

186.7 (e) (g) When granting supervised release under this subdivision, the board must set​

186.8 prerelease conditions to be followed by the inmate before their actual release or before​

186.9 constructive parole becomes effective. If the inmate violates any of the prerelease conditions,​

186.10 the commissioner may rescind the grant of supervised release without a hearing at any time​

186.11 before the inmate's release or before constructive parole becomes effective. A grant of​

186.12 constructive parole becomes effective once the inmate begins serving the consecutive​

186.13 sentence.​

186.14 (h) If the commissioner rescinds a grant of supervised release or parole, the board:​

186.15 (1) must set a release review date that occurs within 90 days of the commissioner's​

186.16 rescission; and​

186.17 (2) by majority vote, may set a new supervised release date or set another review date.​

186.18 (i) If the commissioner revokes supervised release or parole for an inmate serving a life​

186.19 sentence, the revocation is not subject to the limitations under section 244.30 and the board:​

186.20 (1) must set a release review date that occurs within one year of the commissioner's final​

186.21 revocation decision; and​

186.22 (2) by majority vote, may set a new supervised release date or set another review date.​

186.23 (j) The board may, by a majority vote, grant a person on supervised release or parole​

186.24 for a life or indeterminate sentence a final discharge from their sentence in accordance with​

186.25 section 243.05, subdivision 3. In no case, however, may a person subject to a mandatory​

186.26 lifetime conditional release term under section 609.3455, subdivision 7, be discharged from​

186.27 that term.​

186.28 As used in (k) For purposes of this subdivision,:​

186.29 (1) "board" means the Indeterminate Sentence Release Board under section 244.049;​

186.30 (2) "constructive parole" means the status of an inmate who has been paroled from an​

186.31 indeterminate sentence to begin serving a consecutive sentence in prison; and​
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187.1 (3) "victim" means the an individual who has directly suffered loss or harm as a result​

187.2 of the from an inmate's crime or, if the individual is deceased, the deceased's a murder​

187.3 victim's surviving spouse or, next of kin, or family kin.​

187.4 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.​

187.5 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 244.19, is amended to read:​

187.6 244.19 PROBATION OFFICERS.​

187.7 Subdivision 1. Appointment; joint services; state services. (a) If a county or group of​

187.8 counties has established a human services board pursuant to chapter 402, the district court​

187.9 may appoint one or more county probation officers as necessary to perform court services,​

187.10 and the human services board shall appoint persons as necessary to provide correctional​

187.11 services within the authority granted in chapter 402. In all counties of more than 200,000​

187.12 population, which have not organized pursuant to chapter 402, the district court shall appoint​

187.13 one or more persons of good character to serve as county probation officers during the​

187.14 pleasure of the court. All other counties shall provide adult misdemeanant and juvenile​

187.15 probation services to district courts in one of the following ways:​

187.16 (1) the court, with the approval of the county boards, may appoint one or more salaried​

187.17 county probation officers to serve during the pleasure of the court;​

187.18 (2) when two or more counties offer probation services the district court through the​

187.19 county boards may appoint common salaried county probation officers to serve in the several​

187.20 counties;​

187.21 (3) a county or a district court may request the commissioner of corrections to furnish​

187.22 probation services in accordance with the provisions of this section, and the commissioner​

187.23 of corrections shall furnish such services to any county or court that fails to provide its own​

187.24 probation officer by one of the two procedures listed above;​

187.25 (4) if a county or district court providing probation services under clause (1) or (2) asks​

187.26 the commissioner of corrections or the legislative body for the state of Minnesota mandates​

187.27 the commissioner of corrections to furnish probation services to the district court, the​

187.28 probation officers and other employees displaced by the changeover shall be employed by​

187.29 the commissioner of corrections. Years of service in the county probation department are​

187.30 to be given full credit for future sick leave and vacation accrual purposes;​

187.31 (5) for a person who is enrolled or eligible to be enrolled in a Tribal Nation or who​

187.32 resides in an enrolled member's household, a Tribal Nation may elect to provide probation​

187.33 services within the county in which the person resides; and​
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188.1 (5) (6) all probation officers serving the juvenile courts on July 1, 1972, shall continue​

188.2 to serve in the county or counties they are now serving.​

188.3 (b) The commissioner of management and budget shall place employees transferred to​

188.4 state service under paragraph (a), clause (4), in the proper classifications in the classified​

188.5 service. Each employee is appointed without examination at no loss in salary or accrued​

188.6 vacation or sick leave benefits, but no additional accrual of vacation or sick leave benefits​

188.7 may occur until the employee's total accrued vacation or sick leave benefits fall below the​

188.8 maximum permitted by the state for the employee's position. An employee appointed under​

188.9 paragraph (a), clause (4), shall serve a probationary period of six months. After exhausting​

188.10 labor contract remedies, a noncertified employee may appeal for a hearing within ten days​

188.11 to the commissioner of management and budget, who may uphold the decision, extend the​

188.12 probation period, or certify the employee. The decision of the commissioner of management​

188.13 and budget is final. The state shall negotiate with the exclusive representative for the​

188.14 bargaining unit to which the employees are transferred regarding their seniority. For purposes​

188.15 of computing seniority among those employees transferring from one county unit only, a​

188.16 transferred employee retains the same seniority position as the employee had within that​

188.17 county's probation office.​

188.18 Subd. 1a. Definition. For purposes of this section, "Tribal Nation" means a federally​

188.19 recognized Tribal Nation within the boundaries of the state of Minnesota.​

188.20 Subd. 2. Sufficiency of services. Probation services shall be sufficient in amount to​

188.21 meet the needs of the district court in each county. County probation officers serving district​

188.22 courts in all counties of not more than 200,000 population shall also, pursuant to subdivision​

188.23 3, provide probation and parole services to wards of the commissioner of corrections resident​

188.24 in their counties. To provide these probation services counties containing a city of 10,000​

188.25 or more population shall, as far as practicable, have one probation officer for not more than​

188.26 35,000 population; in counties that do not contain a city of such size, the commissioner of​

188.27 corrections shall, after consultation with the chief judge of the district court, and the county​

188.28 commissioners, or Tribal Nation through an approved plan, and in the light of experience,​

188.29 establish probation districts to be served by one officer.​

188.30 All probation officers appointed for any district court or community county corrections​

188.31 agency, including Tribal Nations, shall be selected from a list of eligible candidates who​

188.32 have. Those candidates must be minimally qualified according to the same or equivalent​

188.33 examining procedures as used by the commissioner of management and budget to certify​

188.34 eligibles eligibility to the commissioner of corrections in appointing parole agents, and the​

188.35 Department of Management and Budget shall furnish the names of such candidates on​
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189.1 request. This subdivision shall not apply to a political subdivision having a civil service or​

189.2 merit system unless the subdivision elects to be covered by this subdivision.​

189.3 Subd. 3. Powers and duties. All county or Tribal Nation probation officers serving a​

189.4 district court shall act under the orders of the court in reference to any person committed​

189.5 to their care by the court, and in the performance of their duties shall have the general powers​

189.6 of a peace officer; and it shall be their duty to make such investigations with regard to any​

189.7 person as may be required by the court before, during, or after the trial or hearing, and to​

189.8 furnish to the court such information and assistance as may be required; to take charge of​

189.9 any person before, during or after trial or hearing when so directed by the court, and to keep​

189.10 such records and to make such reports to the court as the court may order. Tribal Nations​

189.11 providing probation services have the same general powers provided to county probation​

189.12 officers defined within statute or rule.​

189.13 All county or Tribal Nation probation officers serving a district court shall, in addition,​

189.14 provide probation and parole services to wards of the commissioner of corrections resident​

189.15 in the counties they serve, and shall act under the orders of said commissioner of corrections​

189.16 in reference to any ward committed to their care by the commissioner of corrections.​

189.17 All probation officers serving a district court shall, under the direction of the authority​

189.18 having power to appoint them, initiate programs for the welfare of persons coming within​

189.19 the jurisdiction of the court to prevent delinquency and crime and to rehabilitate within the​

189.20 community persons who come within the jurisdiction of the court and are properly subject​

189.21 to efforts to accomplish prevention and rehabilitation. They shall, under the direction of the​

189.22 court, cooperate with all law enforcement agencies, schools, child welfare agencies of a​

189.23 public or private character, and other groups concerned with the prevention of crime and​

189.24 delinquency and the rehabilitation of persons convicted of crime and delinquency.​

189.25 All probation officers serving a district court shall make monthly and annual reports to​

189.26 the commissioner of corrections, on forms furnished by the commissioner, containing such​

189.27 information on number of cases cited to the juvenile division of district court, offenses,​

189.28 adjudications, dispositions, and related matters as may be required by the commissioner of​

189.29 corrections. The reports shall include the information on individuals convicted as an extended​

189.30 jurisdiction juvenile identified in section 241.016, subdivision 1, paragraph (c).​

189.31 Subd. 5. Compensation. In counties of more than 200,000 population, a majority of the​

189.32 judges of the district court may direct the payment of such salary to probation officers as​

189.33 may be approved by the county board, and in addition thereto shall be reimbursed for all​

189.34 necessary expenses incurred in the performance of their official duties. In all counties which​
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190.1 obtain probation services from the commissioner of corrections the commissioner shall, out​

190.2 of appropriations provided therefor, pay probation officers the salary and all benefits fixed​

190.3 by the state law or applicable bargaining unit and all necessary expenses, including secretarial​

190.4 service, office equipment and supplies, postage, telephone and telegraph services, and travel​

190.5 and subsistence. Each county receiving probation services from the commissioner of​

190.6 corrections shall reimburse the department of corrections for the total cost and expenses of​

190.7 such services as incurred by the commissioner of corrections. Total annual costs for each​

190.8 county shall be that portion of the total costs and expenses for the services of one probation​

190.9 officer represented by the ratio which the county's population bears to the total population​

190.10 served by one officer. For the purposes of this section, the population of any county shall​

190.11 be the most recent estimate made by the Department of Health. At least every six months​

190.12 the commissioner of corrections shall bill for the total cost and expenses incurred by the​

190.13 commissioner on behalf of each county which has received probation services. The​

190.14 commissioner of corrections shall notify each county of the cost and expenses and the county​

190.15 shall pay to the commissioner the amount due for reimbursement. All such reimbursements​

190.16 shall be deposited in the general fund. Objections by a county to all allocation of such cost​

190.17 and expenses shall be presented to and determined by the commissioner of corrections.​

190.18 Each county providing probation services under this section is hereby authorized to use​

190.19 unexpended funds and to levy additional taxes for this purpose.​

190.20 The county commissioners of any county of not more than 200,000 population shall,​

190.21 when requested to do so by the juvenile judge, provide probation officers with suitable​

190.22 offices, and may provide equipment, and secretarial help needed to render the required​

190.23 services.​

190.24 Subd. 6. Reimbursement of counties or Tribal Nations. In order to reimburse the​

190.25 counties or a Tribal Nation for the cost which they assume under this section of providing​

190.26 probation and parole services to wards of the commissioner of corrections and to aid the​

190.27 counties in achieving the purposes of this section, the commissioner of corrections shall​

190.28 annually, from funds appropriated and specifically for that purpose counties or a Tribal​

190.29 Nation, pay 50 percent of the costs of probation officers' salaries to all counties of not more​

190.30 than 200,000 population. Nothing in this section will invalidate any payments to counties​

190.31 made pursuant to this section before May 15, 1963. Salary costs include fringe benefits, but​

190.32 only to the extent that fringe benefits do not exceed those provided for state civil service​

190.33 employees. On or before July 1 of each even-numbered year each county or group of counties​

190.34 or Tribal Nations which provide their own probation services to the district court under​

190.35 subdivision 1, clause (1) or (2), shall submit to the commissioner of corrections an estimate​
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191.1 of its costs under this section. Reimbursement to those counties or Tribal Nations shall be​

191.2 made on the basis of the estimate or actual expenditures incurred, whichever is less.​

191.3 Reimbursement for those counties which obtain probation services from the commissioner​

191.4 of corrections pursuant to subdivision 1, clause (3), must be made on the basis of actual​

191.5 expenditures. Salary costs shall not be reimbursed unless county probation officers or Tribal​

191.6 Nations are paid salaries commensurate with the salaries paid to comparable positions in​

191.7 the classified service of the state civil service. The salary range to which each county​

191.8 probation officer is assigned shall be determined by the authority having power to appoint​

191.9 probation officers, and shall be based on the officer's length of service and performance.​

191.10 The appointing authority shall annually assign each county or Tribal Nation probation officer​

191.11 to a position on the salary scale commensurate with the officer's experience, tenure, and​

191.12 responsibilities. For county provided probation officers, the judge shall file with the county​

191.13 auditor an order setting each county probation officer's salary. Time spent by a county​

191.14 probation officer as a court referee shall not qualify for reimbursement. Reimbursement​

191.15 shall be prorated if the appropriation for counties or Tribal Nations is insufficient. A new​

191.16 position eligible for reimbursement under this section may not be added by a county or​

191.17 Tribal Nation without the written approval of the commissioner of corrections. When a new​

191.18 position is approved, the commissioner shall include the cost of the position in calculating​

191.19 each county's or Tribal Nation's share.​

191.20 Subd. 7. Certificate of counties entitled to state aid. On or before January 1 of each​

191.21 year, until 1970 and On or before April 1 thereafter each year, the commissioner of​

191.22 corrections shall deliver to the commissioner of management and budget a certificate in​

191.23 duplicate for each county of the state entitled to receive state aid under the provisions of​

191.24 this section. Upon the receipt of such certificate, the commissioner of management and​

191.25 budget shall issue a payment to the county treasurer for the amount shown by each certificate​

191.26 to be due to the county specified. The commissioner of management and budget shall​

191.27 transmit such payment to the county treasurer or a Tribal Nation together with a copy of​

191.28 the certificate prepared by the commissioner of corrections.​

191.29 Subd. 8. Exception. This section shall not apply to Ramsey County.​

191.30 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 260B.176, is amended by adding a subdivision​

191.31 to read:​

191.32 Subd. 1a. Risk-assessment instrument. (a) If a peace officer, probation officer, or​

191.33 parole officer who takes a child into custody does not release the child according to​
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192.1 subdivision 1, the officer must communicate with or deliver the child to a juvenile secure​

192.2 detention facility to determine whether the child should be released or detained.​

192.3 (b) To determine whether a child should be released or detained, a facility's supervisor​

192.4 must use an objective and racially, ethnically, and gender-responsive juvenile detention​

192.5 risk-assessment instrument developed by the commissioner of corrections, county, group​

192.6 of counties, or judicial district, in consultation with the state coordinator or coordinators of​

192.7 the Minnesota Juvenile Detention Alternative Initiative.​

192.8 (c) The risk-assessment instrument must:​

192.9 (1) assess the likelihood that a child released from preadjudication detention under this​

192.10 section or section 260B.178 would endanger others or not return for a court hearing;​

192.11 (2) identify the appropriate setting for a child who might endanger others or not return​

192.12 for a court hearing pending adjudication, with either continued detention or placement in a​

192.13 noncustodial community-based supervision setting; and​

192.14 (3) identify the type of noncustodial community-based supervision setting necessary to​

192.15 minimize the risk that a child who is released from custody will endanger others or not​

192.16 return for a court hearing.​

192.17 (d) If, after using the instrument, a determination is made that the child should be released,​

192.18 the person taking the child into custody or the facility supervisor must release the child​

192.19 according to subdivision 1.​

192.20 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 15, 2023.​

192.21 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 401.01, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

192.22 Subdivision 1. Grants. For the purpose of more effectively protecting society and to​

192.23 promote efficiency and economy in the delivery of correctional services, the commissioner​

192.24 is authorized to make grants to assist counties or Tribal Nations in the development,​

192.25 implementation, and operation of community-based corrections programs including​

192.26 preventive or diversionary correctional programs, conditional release programs, community​

192.27 corrections centers, and facilities for the detention or confinement, care and treatment of​

192.28 persons convicted of crime or adjudicated delinquent. The commissioner may authorize the​

192.29 use of a percentage of a grant for the operation of an emergency shelter or make a separate​

192.30 grant for the rehabilitation of a facility owned by the grantee and used as a shelter to bring​

192.31 the facility into compliance with state and local laws pertaining to health, fire, and safety,​

192.32 and to provide security.​
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193.1 Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 401.01, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

193.2 Subd. 2. Definitions. (a) For the purposes of sections 401.01 to 401.16, the following​

193.3 terms have the meanings given them.​

193.4 (b) "CCA county" "CCA jurisdiction" means a county or Tribal Nation that participates​

193.5 in the Community Corrections Act.​

193.6 (c) "Commissioner" means the commissioner of corrections or a designee.​

193.7 (d) "Conditional release" means parole, supervised release, conditional release as​

193.8 authorized by section 609.3455, subdivision 6, 7, or 8; Minnesota Statutes 2004, section​

193.9 609.108, subdivision 6; or Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.109, subdivision 7, work​

193.10 release as authorized by sections 241.26, 244.065, and 631.425, probation, furlough, and​

193.11 any other authorized temporary release from a correctional facility.​

193.12 (e) "County probation officer" means a probation officer appointed and defined under​

193.13 section 244.19.​

193.14 (f) "Detain" means to take into actual custody, including custody within a local​

193.15 correctional facility.​

193.16 (g) "Joint board" means the board provided in section 471.59.​

193.17 (h) "Local correctional facility" has the meaning given in section 241.021, subdivision​

193.18 1.​

193.19 (i) "Local correctional service" means those services authorized by and employees,​

193.20 officers, and agents appointed under section 244.19, subdivision 1.​

193.21 (j) "Release" means to release from actual custody.​

193.22 (k) "Tribal Nation" means a federally recognized Tribal Nation within the boundaries​

193.23 of the state of Minnesota.​

193.24 Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 401.02, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

193.25 Subdivision 1. Qualification of counties or Tribal Nation. (a) One or more counties,​

193.26 having an aggregate population of 30,000 or more persons, or Tribal Nations may qualify​

193.27 for a grant as provided in section 401.01 by the enactment of appropriate resolutions creating​

193.28 and establishing a corrections advisory board, designating the officer or agency to be​

193.29 responsible for administering grant funds, and providing for the preparation of a​

193.30 comprehensive plan for the development, implementation, and operation of the correctional​

193.31 services described in section 401.01, including the assumption of those correctional services,​
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194.1 other than the operation of state facilities, presently provided in such counties by the​

194.2 Department of Corrections, or for Tribal Nations, probation services within a Tribal Nation,​

194.3 and providing for centralized administration and control of those correctional services​

194.4 described in section 401.01.​

194.5 Where counties combine as authorized in this section, they shall comply with the​

194.6 provisions of section 471.59.​

194.7 (b) A county that has participated in the Community Corrections Act for five or more​

194.8 years is eligible to continue to participate in the Community Corrections Act.​

194.9 Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 401.02, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

194.10 Subd. 2. Planning counties; advisory board members expenses. To assist counties​

194.11 or Tribal Nations which have complied with the provisions of subdivision 1 and require​

194.12 financial aid to defray all or a part of the expenses incurred by corrections advisory board​

194.13 members in discharging their official duties pursuant to section 401.08, the commissioner​

194.14 may designate counties or Tribal Nations as "planning counties", and, upon receipt of​

194.15 resolutions by the governing boards of the counties or Tribal Nations certifying the need​

194.16 for and inability to pay the expenses described in this subdivision, advance to the counties​

194.17 or Tribal Nations an amount not to exceed five percent of the maximum quarterly subsidy​

194.18 for which the counties or Tribal Nations are eligible. The expenses described in this​

194.19 subdivision shall be paid in the same manner and amount as for state employees.​

194.20 Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 401.02, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

194.21 Subd. 3. Establishment and reorganization of administrative structure. Any county,​

194.22 Tribal Nation, or group of counties which have qualified for participation in the community​

194.23 corrections subsidy program provided by this chapter may establish, organize, and reorganize​

194.24 an administrative structure and provide for the budgeting, staffing, and operation of court​

194.25 services and probation, construction or improvement to juvenile detention and juvenile​

194.26 correctional facilities and adult detention and correctional facilities, and other activities​

194.27 required to conform to the purposes of this chapter. No contrary general or special statute​

194.28 divests any county or group of counties of the authority granted by this subdivision.​
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195.1 Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 401.025, is amended to read:​

195.2 401.025 DETENTION AND RELEASE; PROBATIONERS, CONDITIONAL​

195.3 RELEASEES, AND PRETRIAL RELEASEES.​

195.4 Subdivision 1. Peace officers and probation officers serving CCA counties​

195.5 jurisdictions. (a) When it appears necessary to enforce discipline or to prevent a person on​

195.6 conditional release from escaping or absconding from supervision, the chief executive​

195.7 officer or designee of a community corrections agency in a CCA county jurisdiction has​

195.8 the authority to issue a written order directing any peace officer or any probation officer in​

195.9 the state serving the district and juvenile courts to detain and bring the person before the​

195.10 court or the commissioner, whichever is appropriate, for disposition. This written order is​

195.11 sufficient authority for the peace officer or probation officer to detain the person for not​

195.12 more than 72 hours, excluding Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays, pending a hearing before​

195.13 the court or the commissioner.​

195.14 (b) The chief executive officer or designee of a community corrections agency in a CCA​

195.15 county jurisdiction has the authority to issue a written order directing a peace officer or​

195.16 probation officer serving the district and juvenile courts to release a person detained under​

195.17 paragraph (a) within 72 hours, excluding Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays, without an​

195.18 appearance before the court or the commissioner. This written order is sufficient authority​

195.19 for the peace officer or probation officer to release the detained person.​

195.20 (c) The chief executive officer or designee of a community corrections agency in a CCA​

195.21 county jurisdiction has the authority to issue a written order directing any peace officer or​

195.22 any probation officer serving the district and juvenile courts to detain any person on​

195.23 court-ordered pretrial release who absconds from pretrial release or fails to abide by the​

195.24 conditions of pretrial release. A written order issued under this paragraph is sufficient​

195.25 authority for the peace officer or probation officer to detain the person.​

195.26 Subd. 2. Peace officers and probation officers in other counties and state correctional​

195.27 investigators. (a) The chief executive officer or designee of a community corrections agency​

195.28 in a CCA county jurisdiction has the authority to issue a written order directing any state​

195.29 correctional investigator or any peace officer, probation officer, or county probation officer​

195.30 from another county to detain a person under sentence or on probation who:​

195.31 (1) fails to report to serve a sentence at a local correctional facility;​

195.32 (2) fails to return from furlough or authorized temporary release from a local correctional​

195.33 facility;​
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196.1 (3) escapes from a local correctional facility; or​

196.2 (4) absconds from court-ordered home detention.​

196.3 (b) The chief executive officer or designee of a community corrections agency in a CCA​

196.4 county jurisdiction has the authority to issue a written order directing any state correctional​

196.5 investigator or any peace officer, probation officer, or county probation officer from another​

196.6 county to detain any person on court-ordered pretrial release who absconds from pretrial​

196.7 release or fails to abide by the conditions of pretrial release.​

196.8 (c) A written order issued under paragraph (a) or (b) is sufficient authority for the state​

196.9 correctional investigator, peace officer, probation officer, or county probation officer to​

196.10 detain the person.​

196.11 Subd. 3. Offenders under Department of Corrections commitment. CCA counties​

196.12 jurisdictions shall comply with the policies prescribed by the commissioner when providing​

196.13 supervision and other correctional services to persons conditionally released pursuant to​

196.14 sections 241.26, 242.19, 243.05, 243.1605, 244.05, and 244.065, including intercounty​

196.15 transfer of persons on conditional release and the conduct of presentence investigations.​

196.16 Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 401.04, is amended to read:​

196.17 401.04 ACQUISITION OF PROPERTY; SELECTION OF ADMINISTRATIVE​

196.18 STRUCTURE; EMPLOYEES.​

196.19 Any county or, group of counties, or Tribal Nation electing to come within the provisions​

196.20 of sections 401.01 to 401.16 may (a) acquire by any lawful means, including purchase, lease​

196.21 or transfer of custodial control, the lands, buildings and equipment necessary and incident​

196.22 to the accomplishment of the purposes of sections 401.01 to 401.16, (b) determine and​

196.23 establish the administrative structure best suited to the efficient administration and delivery​

196.24 of the correctional services described in section 401.01, and (c) employ a director and other​

196.25 officers, employees and agents as deemed necessary to carry out the provisions of sections​

196.26 401.01 to 401.16. To the extent that participating counties shall assume and take over state​

196.27 and local correctional services presently provided in counties, employment shall be given​

196.28 to those state and local officers, employees and agents thus displaced; if hired by a county,​

196.29 employment shall, to the extent possible and notwithstanding the provisions of any other​

196.30 law or ordinance to the contrary, be deemed a transfer in grade with all of the benefits​

196.31 enjoyed by such officer, employee or agent while in the service of the state or local​

196.32 correctional service.​
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197.1 State or local employees displaced by county participation in the subsidy program​

197.2 provided by this chapter are on layoff status and, if not hired by a participating county as​

197.3 provided herein, may exercise their rights under layoff procedures established by law or​

197.4 union agreement whichever is applicable.​

197.5 State or local officers and employees displaced by a county's participation in the​

197.6 Community Corrections Act and hired by the participating county shall retain all fringe​

197.7 benefits and recall from layoff benefits accrued by seniority and enjoyed by them while in​

197.8 the service of the state.​

197.9 Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 401.05, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

197.10 Subdivision 1. Authorization to use and accept funds. Any county CCA jurisdiction​

197.11 or group of counties electing to come within the provisions of sections 401.01 to 401.16​

197.12 may, through their governing bodies, use unexpended funds; accept gifts, grants, and​

197.13 subsidies from any lawful source; and apply for and accept federal funds.​

197.14 Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 401.06, is amended to read:​

197.15 401.06 COMPREHENSIVE PLAN; STANDARDS OF ELIGIBILITY;​

197.16 COMPLIANCE.​

197.17 No county, Tribal Nation, or group of counties electing to provide correctional services​

197.18 pursuant to sections 401.01 to 401.16 shall be eligible for the subsidy herein provided unless​

197.19 and until its comprehensive plan shall have been approved by the commissioner. The​

197.20 commissioner shall, pursuant to the Administrative Procedure Act, promulgate rules​

197.21 establishing standards of eligibility for counties or Tribal Nations to receive funds under​

197.22 sections 401.01 to 401.16. To remain eligible for subsidy counties CCA jurisdictions shall​

197.23 maintain substantial compliance with the minimum standards established pursuant to sections​

197.24 401.01 to 401.16 and the policies and procedures governing the services described in section​

197.25 401.025 as prescribed by the commissioner. Counties shall also be in substantial compliance​

197.26 with other correctional operating standards permitted by law and established by the​

197.27 commissioner and shall report statistics required by the commissioner including but not​

197.28 limited to information on individuals convicted as an extended jurisdiction juvenile identified​

197.29 in section 241.016, subdivision 1, paragraph (c). The commissioner shall review annually​

197.30 the comprehensive plans submitted by participating counties CCA jurisdictions, including​

197.31 the facilities and programs operated under the plans. The commissioner is hereby authorized​

197.32 to enter upon any facility operated under the plan, and inspect books and records, for purposes​

197.33 of recommending needed changes or improvements.​
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198.1 When the commissioner shall determine that there are reasonable grounds to believe​

198.2 that a county CCA jurisdiction or group of counties is not in substantial compliance with​

198.3 minimum standards, at least 30 days' notice shall be given to the county or counties CCA​

198.4 jurisdiction and a hearing conducted by the commissioner to ascertain whether there is​

198.5 substantial compliance or satisfactory progress being made toward compliance. The​

198.6 commissioner may suspend all or a portion of any subsidy until the required standard of​

198.7 operation has been met.​

198.8 Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 401.08, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

198.9 Subd. 2. Appointment; terms. The members of the corrections advisory board shall be​

198.10 appointed by the board of county commissioners or, the joint board in the case of multiple​

198.11 counties, or a Tribal Nation and shall serve for terms of two years from and after the date​

198.12 of their appointment, and shall remain in office until their successors are duly appointed.​

198.13 The board may elect its own officers.​

198.14 Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 401.08, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

198.15 Subd. 4. Comprehensive plan. The corrections advisory board provided in sections​

198.16 401.01 to 401.16, shall actively participate in the formulation of the comprehensive plan​

198.17 for the development, implementation, and operation of the correctional program and services​

198.18 described in section 401.01, and shall make a formal recommendation to the county board,​

198.19 Tribal governance, or joint board at least annually concerning the comprehensive plan and​

198.20 its implementation during the ensuing year.​

198.21 Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 401.09, is amended to read:​

198.22 401.09 OTHER SUBSIDY PROGRAMS; PURCHASE OF STATE SERVICES.​

198.23 Failure of a county CCA jurisdiction or group of counties to elect to come within the​

198.24 provisions of sections 401.01 to 401.16 shall not affect their eligibility for any other state​

198.25 subsidy for correctional purposes otherwise provided by law. Any comprehensive plan​

198.26 submitted pursuant to sections 401.01 to 401.16 may include the purchase of selected​

198.27 correctional services from the state by contract, including the temporary detention and​

198.28 confinement of persons convicted of crime or adjudicated delinquent; confinement to be in​

198.29 an appropriate state facility as otherwise provided by law. The commissioner shall annually​

198.30 determine the costs of the purchase of services under this section and deduct them from the​

198.31 subsidy due and payable to the county or counties concerned; provided that no contract​
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199.1 shall exceed in cost the amount of subsidy to which the participating county or counties are​

199.2 eligible.​

199.3 Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 401.10, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

199.4 Subdivision 1. Aid calculations. To determine the community corrections aid amount​

199.5 to be paid to each participating county, the commissioner of corrections must apply the​

199.6 following formula:​

199.7 (1) For each of the 87 counties in the state, a percent score must be calculated for each​

199.8 of the following five factors:​

199.9 (i) percent of the total state population aged ten to 24 residing within the county according​

199.10 to the most recent federal census, and, in the intervening years between the taking of the​

199.11 federal census, according to the most recent estimate of the state demographer;​

199.12 (ii) percent of the statewide total number of felony case filings occurring within the​

199.13 county, as determined by the state court administrator;​

199.14 (iii) percent of the statewide total number of juvenile case filings occurring within the​

199.15 county, as determined by the state court administrator;​

199.16 (iv) percent of the statewide total number of gross misdemeanor case filings occurring​

199.17 within the county, as determined by the state court administrator; and​

199.18 (v) percent of the total statewide number of convicted felony offenders who did not​

199.19 receive an executed prison sentence, as monitored and reported by the Sentencing Guidelines​

199.20 Commission.​

199.21 The percents in items (ii) to (v) must be calculated by combining the most recent​

199.22 three-year period of available data. The percents in items (i) to (v) each must sum to 100​

199.23 percent across the 87 counties.​

199.24 (2) For each of the 87 counties, the county's percents in clause (1), items (i) to (v), must​

199.25 be weighted, summed, and divided by the sum of the weights to yield an average percent​

199.26 for each county, referred to as the county's "composite need percent." When performing​

199.27 this calculation, the weight for each of the percents in clause (1), items (i) to (v), is 1.0. The​

199.28 composite need percent must sum to 100 percent across the 87 counties.​

199.29 (3) For each of the 87 counties, the county's "adjusted net tax capacity percent" is the​

199.30 county's adjusted net tax capacity amount, defined in the same manner as it is defined for​

199.31 cities in section 477A.011, subdivision 20, divided by the statewide total adjusted net tax​
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200.1 capacity amount. The adjusted net tax capacity percent must sum to 100 percent across the​

200.2 87 counties.​

200.3 (4) For each of the 87 counties, the county's composite need percent must be divided by​

200.4 the county's adjusted net tax capacity percent to produce a ratio that, when multiplied by​

200.5 the county's composite need percent, results in the county's "tax base adjusted need percent."​

200.6 (5) For each of the 87 counties, the county's tax base adjusted need percent must be​

200.7 added to twice the composite need percent, and the sum must be divided by 3, to yield the​

200.8 county's "weighted need percent."​

200.9 (6) Each participating county's weighted need percent must be added to the weighted​

200.10 need percent of each other participating county to yield the "total weighted need percent​

200.11 for participating counties."​

200.12 (7) Each participating county's weighted need percent must be divided by the total​

200.13 weighted need percent for participating counties to yield the county's "share percent." The​

200.14 share percents for participating counties must sum to 100 percent.​

200.15 (8) Each participating county's "base funding amount" is the aid amount that the county​

200.16 received under this section for fiscal year 1995 plus the amount received in caseload or​

200.17 workload reduction, felony caseload reduction, and sex offender supervision grants in fiscal​

200.18 year 2015, as reported by the commissioner of corrections. In fiscal year 1997 and thereafter,​

200.19 no county's aid amount under this section may be less than its base funding amount, provided​

200.20 that the total amount appropriated for this purpose is at least as much as the aggregate base​

200.21 funding amount defined in clause (9).​

200.22 (9) The "aggregate base funding amount" is equal to the sum of the base funding amounts​

200.23 for all participating counties. If a county that participated under this section chooses not to​

200.24 participate in any given year, then the aggregate base funding amount must be reduced by​

200.25 that county's base funding amount. If a county that did not participate under this section in​

200.26 fiscal year 1995 chooses to participate on or after July 1, 2015, then the aggregate base​

200.27 funding amount must be increased by the amount of aid that the county would have received​

200.28 had it participated in fiscal year 1995 plus the estimated amount it would have received in​

200.29 caseload or workload reduction, felony caseload reduction, and sex offender supervision​

200.30 grants in fiscal year 2015, as reported by the commissioner of corrections, and the amount​

200.31 of increase shall be that county's base funding amount.​

200.32 (10) In any given year, the total amount appropriated for this purpose first must be​

200.33 allocated to participating counties in accordance with each county's base funding amount.​

200.34 Then, any remaining amount in excess of the aggregate base funding amount must be​
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201.1 allocated to participating counties in proportion to each county's share percent, and is referred​

201.2 to as the county's "formula amount."​

201.3 Each participating county's "community corrections aid amount" equals the sum of (i)​

201.4 the county's base funding amount, and (ii) the county's formula amount.​

201.5 (11) However, if in any year the total amount appropriated for the purpose of this section​

201.6 is less than the aggregate base funding amount, then each participating county's community​

201.7 corrections aid amount is the product of (i) the county's base funding amount multiplied by​

201.8 (ii) the ratio of the total amount appropriated to the aggregate base funding amount.​

201.9 For each participating county, the county's community corrections aid amount calculated​

201.10 in this subdivision is the total amount of subsidy to which the county is entitled under​

201.11 sections 401.01 to 401.16.​

201.12 For each Tribal Nation, a base funding amount of $250,000 is allotted annually through​

201.13 legislative appropriation to each Tribal Nation to purchase probation services regardless of​

201.14 a CCA jurisdiction. An additional formula amount as appropriated through legislation must​

201.15 be developed and approved by the commissioner for equitable distribution for Tribal Nations​

201.16 under a CCA jurisdiction.​

201.17 Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 401.12, is amended to read:​

201.18 401.12 CONTINUATION OF CURRENT SPENDING LEVEL BY COUNTIES.​

201.19 Participating counties or Tribal Nations shall not diminish their current level of spending​

201.20 for correctional expenses as defined in section 401.01, to the extent of any subsidy received​

201.21 pursuant to sections 401.01 to 401.16; rather the subsidy herein provided is for the​

201.22 expenditure for correctional purposes in excess of those funds currently being expended.​

201.23 Should a participating county CCA jurisdiction be unable to expend the full amount of the​

201.24 subsidy to which it would be entitled in any one year under the provisions of sections 401.01​

201.25 to 401.16, the commissioner shall retain the surplus, subject to disbursement in the following​

201.26 year wherein such county CCA jurisdiction can demonstrate a need for and ability to expend​

201.27 same for the purposes provided in section 401.01. If in any biennium the subsidy is increased​

201.28 by an inflationary adjustment which results in the county CCA jurisdiction receiving more​

201.29 actual subsidy than it did in the previous calendar year, the county CCA jurisdiction shall​

201.30 be eligible for that increase only if the current level of spending is increased by a percentage​

201.31 equal to that increase within the same biennium.​
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202.1 Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 401.14, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

202.2 Subdivision 1. Payment. Upon compliance by a county CCA jurisdiction or group of​

202.3 counties with the prerequisites for participation in the subsidy prescribed by sections 401.01​

202.4 to 401.16, and approval of the comprehensive plan by the commissioner, the commissioner​

202.5 shall determine whether funds exist for the payment of the subsidy and proceed to pay same​

202.6 in accordance with applicable rules.​

202.7 Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 401.14, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

202.8 Subd. 3. Installment payments. The commissioner of corrections shall make payments​

202.9 for community corrections services to each county CCA jurisdiction in 12 installments per​

202.10 year. The commissioner shall ensure that the pertinent payment of the allotment for each​

202.11 month is made to each county on the first working day after the end of each month of the​

202.12 calendar year, except for the last month of the calendar year. The commissioner shall ensure​

202.13 that each county CCA jurisdiction receives its payment of the allotment for that month no​

202.14 later than the last working day of that month. The payment described in this subdivision for​

202.15 services rendered during June 1985 shall be made on the first working day of July 1985.​

202.16 Sec. 32. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 401.15, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

202.17 Subdivision 1. Certified statements; determinations; adjustments. Within 60 days​

202.18 of the end of each calendar quarter, participating counties CCA jurisdictions which have​

202.19 received the payments authorized by section 401.14 shall submit to the commissioner​

202.20 certified statements detailing the amounts expended and costs incurred in furnishing the​

202.21 correctional services provided in sections 401.01 to 401.16. Upon receipt of certified​

202.22 statements, the commissioner shall, in the manner provided in sections 401.10 and 401.12,​

202.23 determine the amount each participating county is entitled to receive, making any adjustments​

202.24 necessary to rectify any disparity between the amounts received pursuant to the estimate​

202.25 provided in section 401.14 and the amounts actually expended. If the amount received​

202.26 pursuant to the estimate is greater than the amount actually expended during the quarter,​

202.27 the commissioner may withhold the difference from any subsequent monthly payments​

202.28 made pursuant to section 401.14. Upon certification by the commissioner of the amount a​

202.29 participating county CCA jurisdiction is entitled to receive under the provisions of section​

202.30 401.14 or of this subdivision the commissioner of management and budget shall thereupon​

202.31 issue a payment to the chief fiscal officer of each participating county CCA jurisdiction for​

202.32 the amount due together with a copy of the certificate prepared by the commissioner.​
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203.1 Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 401.16, is amended to read:​

203.2 401.16 WITHDRAWAL FROM PROGRAM.​

203.3 Any participating county may, (1) CCA jurisdiction at the beginning of any calendar​

203.4 quarter, by resolution of its board of commissioners, or (2) Tribal Council may notify the​

203.5 commissioner of its intention to withdraw from the subsidy program established by sections​

203.6 401.01 to 401.16, and the withdrawal shall be effective at least six months of the last day​

203.7 of the last month of the quarter in which the notice was given. Upon withdrawal, the​

203.8 unexpended balance of moneys allocated to the county, or that amount necessary to reinstate​

203.9 state correctional services displaced by that county's participation, including complement​

203.10 positions, may, upon approval of the legislative advisory commission, be transferred to the​

203.11 commissioner for the reinstatement of the displaced services and the payment of any other​

203.12 correctional subsidies for which the withdrawing county had previously been eligible.​

203.13 Sec. 34. [641.015] PLACEMENT IN PRIVATE PRISONS PROHIBITED.​

203.14 Subdivision 1. Placement prohibited. After August 1, 2023, a sheriff shall not allow​

203.15 inmates committed to the custody of the sheriff who are not on probation, work release, or​

203.16 some other form of approved release status to be housed in facilities that are not owned and​

203.17 operated by a local government, or a group of local units of government.​

203.18 Subd. 2. Contracts prohibited. (a) Except as provided in paragraph (b), the county​

203.19 board may not authorize the sheriff to contract with privately owned and operated prisons​

203.20 for the care, custody, and rehabilitation of offenders committed to the custody of the sheriff.​

203.21 (b) Nothing in this section prohibits a county board from contracting with privately​

203.22 owned residential facilities, such as halfway houses, group homes, work release centers, or​

203.23 treatment facilities, to provide for the care, custody, and rehabilitation of offenders who are​

203.24 on probation, work release, or some other form of approved release status.​

203.25 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

203.26 Sec. 35. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 641.15, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

203.27 Subd. 2. Medical aid. Except as provided in section 466.101, the county board shall​

203.28 pay the costs of medical services provided to prisoners pursuant to this section. The amount​

203.29 paid by the county board for a medical service shall not exceed the maximum allowed​

203.30 medical assistance payment rate for the service, as determined by the commissioner of​

203.31 human services. In the absence of a health or medical insurance or health plan that has a​

203.32 contractual obligation with the provider or the prisoner, medical providers shall charge no​
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204.1 higher than the rate negotiated between the county and the provider. In the absence of an​

204.2 agreement between the county and the provider, the provider may not charge an amount​

204.3 that exceeds the maximum allowed medical assistance payment rate for the service, as​

204.4 determined by the commissioner of human services. The county is entitled to reimbursement​

204.5 from the prisoner for payment of medical bills to the extent that the prisoner to whom the​

204.6 medical aid was provided has the ability to pay the bills. The prisoner shall, at a minimum,​

204.7 incur co-payment obligations for health care services provided by a county correctional​

204.8 facility. The county board shall determine the co-payment amount. Notwithstanding any​

204.9 law to the contrary, the co-payment shall be deducted from any of the prisoner's funds held​

204.10 by the county, to the extent possible. If there is a disagreement between the county and a​

204.11 prisoner concerning the prisoner's ability to pay, the court with jurisdiction over the defendant​

204.12 shall determine the extent, if any, of the prisoner's ability to pay for the medical services.​

204.13 If a prisoner is covered by health or medical insurance or other health plan when medical​

204.14 services are provided, the medical provider shall bill that health or medical insurance or​

204.15 other plan. If the county providing the medical services for a prisoner that has coverage​

204.16 under health or medical insurance or other plan, that county has a right of subrogation to​

204.17 be reimbursed by the insurance carrier for all sums spent by it for medical services to the​

204.18 prisoner that are covered by the policy of insurance or health plan, in accordance with the​

204.19 benefits, limitations, exclusions, provider restrictions, and other provisions of the policy or​

204.20 health plan. The county may maintain an action to enforce this subrogation right. The county​

204.21 does not have a right of subrogation against the medical assistance program. The county​

204.22 shall not charge prisoners for telephone calls to MNsure navigators, the Minnesota Warmline,​

204.23 a mental health provider, or calls for the purpose of providing case management or mental​

204.24 health services as defined in section 245.462 to prisoners.​

204.25 Sec. 36. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 641.155, is amended to read:​

204.26 641.155 DISCHARGE PLANS; OFFENDERS WITH SERIOUS AND PERSISTENT​

204.27 MENTAL ILLNESS.​

204.28 Subdivision 1. Discharge plans. The commissioner of corrections shall develop and​

204.29 distribute a model discharge planning process for every offender with a serious and persistent​

204.30 mental illness, as defined in section 245.462, subdivision 20, paragraph (c), who has been​

204.31 convicted and sentenced to serve three or more months and is being released from a county​

204.32 jail or county regional jail. The commissioner may specify different model discharge plans​

204.33 for prisoners who have been detained pretrial and prisoners who have been sentenced to​

204.34 jail. The commissioner must consult best practices and the most current correctional health​
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205.1 care standards from national accrediting organizations. The commissioner must review and​

205.2 update the model process as needed.​

205.3 Subd. 2. Discharge plans for people with serious and persistent mental illnesses. An​

205.4 offender A person with a serious and persistent mental illness, as defined in section 245.462,​

205.5 subdivision 20, paragraph (c), who has been convicted and sentenced to serve three or more​

205.6 months and is being released from a county jail or county regional jail shall be referred to​

205.7 the appropriate staff in the county human services department at least 60 days before being​

205.8 released. The county human services department may carry out provisions of the model​

205.9 discharge planning process such as must complete a discharge plan with the prisoner no​

205.10 less than 14 days before release that may include:​

205.11 (1) providing assistance in filling out an application for medical assistance or​

205.12 MinnesotaCare;​

205.13 (2) making a referral for case management as outlined under section 245.467, subdivision​

205.14 4;​

205.15 (3) providing assistance in obtaining a state photo identification;​

205.16 (4) securing a timely appointment with a psychiatrist or other appropriate community​

205.17 mental health providers; and​

205.18 (5) providing prescriptions for a 30-day supply of all necessary medications.​

205.19 Subd. 3. Reentry coordination programs. (a) A county may establish a program to​

205.20 provide services and assist prisoners with reentering the community. Reentry services may​

205.21 include but are not limited to:​

205.22 (1) providing assistance in meeting the basic needs of the prisoner immediately after​

205.23 release including but not limited to provisions for transportation, clothing, food, and shelter;​

205.24 (2) providing assistance in filling out an application for medical assistance or​

205.25 MinnesotaCare;​

205.26 (3) providing assistance in obtaining a state photo identification;​

205.27 (4) providing assistance in obtaining prescriptions for all necessary medications;​

205.28 (5) coordinating services with the local county services agency or the social services​

205.29 agency in the county where the prisoner is a resident; and​

205.30 (6) coordinating services with a community mental health or substance use disorder​

205.31 provider.​
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206.1 Sec. 37. MENTAL HEALTH UNIT PILOT PROGRAM.​

206.2 (a) The commissioner of corrections shall establish a pilot program with interested​

206.3 counties to provide mental health care to individuals with serious and persistent mental​

206.4 illness who are incarcerated in county jails. The pilot program must require the participating​

206.5 counties to pay according to Minnesota Statutes, section 243.51, a per diem for​

206.6 reimbursement of the Mental Health Unit at the Minnesota Correctional Facility - Oak Park​

206.7 Heights, and other costs incurred by the Department of Corrections.​

206.8 (b) The commissioner in consultation with the Minnesota Sheriffs' Association shall​

206.9 develop program protocols, guidelines, and procedures and qualifications for participating​

206.10 counties and incarcerated individuals to be treated in the Mental Health Unit. The program​

206.11 is limited to a total of five incarcerated individuals from the participating counties at any​

206.12 one time. Incarcerated individuals must volunteer to be treated in the unit and be able to​

206.13 participate in programming with other incarcerated individuals.​

206.14 (c) The Minnesota Correctional Facility - Oak Park Heights warden, director of​

206.15 psychology, and associate director of behavioral health, or a designee of each, in consultation​

206.16 with the Minnesota Sheriffs' Association, the Minnesota branch of the National Association​

206.17 on Mental Illness, and the Department of Human Services, shall oversee the pilot program.​

206.18 (d) On November 15, 2024, the warden shall submit a report to the chairs and ranking​

206.19 minority members of the legislative committees and divisions with jurisdiction over​

206.20 corrections describing the protocols, guidelines, and procedures for participation in the pilot​

206.21 program by counties and incarcerated individuals, challenges with staffing, cost sharing​

206.22 with counties, capacity of the program, services provided to the incarcerated individuals,​

206.23 program outcomes, concerns regarding the program, and recommendations for the viability​

206.24 of a long-term program.​

206.25 (e) The pilot program expires November 16, 2024.​

206.26 Sec. 38. REVISED FACILITY PLANS.​

206.27 The commissioner of corrections must direct any juvenile facility licensed by the​

206.28 commissioner to revise its plan under Minnesota Rules, part 2960.0270, subpart 6, and its​

206.29 restrictive-procedures plan under Minnesota Rules, part 2960.0710, subpart 2, to be consistent​

206.30 with Minnesota Statutes, section 241.0215. After receiving notice from the commissioner,​

206.31 a facility must submit the revised plans to the commissioner within 60 days.​

206.32 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2024.​
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207.1 Sec. 39. RULEMAKING.​

207.2 (a) The commissioner of corrections must amend Minnesota Rules, chapter 2960, to​

207.3 enforce the requirements under Minnesota Statutes, section 241.0215, including but not​

207.4 limited to training, facility audits, strip searches, disciplinary room time, time-outs, and​

207.5 seclusion. The commissioner may amend the rules to make technical changes and ensure​

207.6 consistency with Minnesota Statutes, section 241.0215.​

207.7 (b) In amending or adopting rules according to paragraph (a), the commissioner must​

207.8 use the exempt rulemaking process under Minnesota Statutes, section 14.386.​

207.9 Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section 14.386, paragraph (b), a rule adopted under​

207.10 this section is permanent. After the rule is adopted, the authorization to use the exempt​

207.11 rulemaking process expires.​

207.12 (c) Notwithstanding Minnesota Laws 1995, chapter 226, article 3, sections 50, 51, and​

207.13 60, or any other law to the contrary, the joint rulemaking authority with the commissioner​

207.14 of human services does not apply to rule amendments applicable only to the Department of​

207.15 Corrections. A rule that is amending jointly administered rule parts must be related to​

207.16 requirements on strip searches, disciplinary room time, time-outs, and seclusion and be​

207.17 necessary for consistency with this section.​

207.18 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2024.​

207.19 Sec. 40. REGIONAL AND COUNTY JAILS; STUDY AND REPORT.​

207.20 Subdivision 1. Study. The commissioner of corrections must study and make​

207.21 recommendations on the consolidation or merger of county jails and alternatives to​

207.22 incarceration for persons experiencing mental health disorders. The commissioner must​

207.23 engage and solicit feedback from citizens who live in communities served by facilities that​

207.24 may be impacted by the commissioner's recommendations for the consolidation or merger​

207.25 of jails. The commissioner must consult with the following individuals on the study and​

207.26 recommendations:​

207.27 (1) county sheriffs;​

207.28 (2) county and city attorneys that prosecute offenders;​

207.29 (3) chief law enforcement officers;​

207.30 (4) administrators of county jail facilities; and​

207.31 (5) district court administrators.​
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208.1 Each party receiving a request for information from the commissioner under this section​

208.2 shall provide the requested information in a timely manner.​

208.3 Subd. 2. Report. The commissioner of corrections must file a report with the chairs and​

208.4 ranking minority members of the senate and house of representatives committees and​

208.5 divisions with jurisdiction over public safety and capital investment on the study and​

208.6 recommendations under subdivision 1 on or before December 1, 2024. The report must, at​

208.7 a minimum, provide the following information:​

208.8 (1) the daily average number of offenders incarcerated in each county jail facility:​

208.9 (i) that are in pretrial detention;​

208.10 (ii) that cannot afford to pay bail;​

208.11 (iii) for failure to pay fines and fees;​

208.12 (iv) for offenses that stem from controlled substance addiction or mental health disorders;​

208.13 (v) for nonfelony offenses;​

208.14 (vi) that are detained pursuant to contracts with other authorities; and​

208.15 (vii) for supervised release and probation violations;​

208.16 (2) the actual cost of building a new jail facility, purchasing another facility, or repairing​

208.17 a current facility;​

208.18 (3) the age of current jail facilities;​

208.19 (4) county population totals and trends;​

208.20 (5) county crime rates and trends;​

208.21 (6) the proximity of current jails to courthouses, probation services, social services,​

208.22 treatment providers, and work-release employment opportunities;​

208.23 (7) specific recommendations for alternatives to incarceration for persons experiencing​

208.24 mental health disorders; and​

208.25 (8) specific recommendations on the consolidation or merger of county jail facilities​

208.26 and operations, including:​

208.27 (i) where consolidated facilities should be located;​

208.28 (ii) which counties are best suited for consolidation;​

208.29 (iii) the projected costs of construction, renovation, or purchase of the facility; and​
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209.1 (iv) the projected cost of operating the facility.​

209.2 Subd. 3. Evaluation. The commissioner, in consultation with the commissioner of​

209.3 management and budget, must evaluate the need of any capital improvement project that​

209.4 requests an appropriation of state capital budget money during an odd-numbered year to​

209.5 construct a jail facility or for capital improvements to expand the number of incarcerated​

209.6 offenders at an existing jail facility. The commissioner shall use the report under subdivision​

209.7 2 to inform the evaluation. The commissioner must submit all evaluations under this​

209.8 subdivision by January 15 of each even-numbered year to the chairs and ranking minority​

209.9 members of the senate and house of representatives committees and divisions with jurisdiction​

209.10 over public safety and capital investment on the study and recommendations under this​

209.11 subdivision.​

209.12 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

209.13 Sec. 41. INDETERMINATE SENTENCE RELEASE BOARD.​

209.14 Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section 244.049, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), the​

209.15 Indeterminate Sentence Release Board may not begin to review eligible cases and make​

209.16 release and final discharge decisions until July 1, 2024.​

209.17 Sec. 42. REVISOR INSTRUCTION.​

209.18 When necessary to reflect the transfer under Minnesota Statutes, section 244.049,​

209.19 subdivision 1, the revisor of statutes must change the term "commissioner" or "commissioner​

209.20 of corrections" to "Indeterminate Sentence Release Board" or "board" in Minnesota Statutes,​

209.21 sections 243.05, subdivisions 1, paragraph (a), and 3; 244.08; and 609.12, and make any​

209.22 other necessary grammatical changes.​

209.23 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.​

209.24 ARTICLE 10​

209.25 MINNESOTA REINVESTMENT AND REHABILITATION ACT​

209.26 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 244.03, is amended to read:​

209.27 244.03 REHABILITATIVE PROGRAMS.​

209.28 Subdivision 1. Commissioner responsibility. (a) For individuals committed to the​

209.29 commissioner's authority, the commissioner shall provide appropriate mental health programs​

209.30 and vocational and educational programs with employment-related goals for inmates. The​

209.31 selection, design and implementation of programs under this section shall be the sole​
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210.1 responsibility of the commissioner, acting within the limitations imposed by the funds​

210.2 appropriated for such programs. must develop, implement, and provide, as appropriate:​

210.3 (1) substance use disorder treatment programs;​

210.4 (2) sexual offender treatment programming;​

210.5 (3) domestic abuse programming;​

210.6 (4) medical and mental health services;​

210.7 (5) spiritual and faith-based programming;​

210.8 (6) culturally responsive programming;​

210.9 (7) vocational, employment and career, and educational programming; and​

210.10 (8) other rehabilitative programs.​

210.11 (b) While evidence-based programs must be prioritized, selecting, designing, and​

210.12 implementing programs under this section are the sole responsibility of the commissioner,​

210.13 acting within the limitations imposed by the funds appropriated for the programs under this​

210.14 section.​

210.15 Subd. 2. Challenge prohibited. No action challenging the level of expenditures for​

210.16 rehabilitative programs authorized under this section, nor any action challenging the selection,​

210.17 design, or implementation of these programs, including employee assignments, may be​

210.18 maintained by an inmate in any court in this state.​

210.19 Subd. 3. Disciplinary sanctions. The commissioner may impose disciplinary sanctions​

210.20 upon on any inmate who refuses to participate in rehabilitative programs.​

210.21 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 244.05, subdivision 1b, is amended to read:​

210.22 Subd. 1b. Supervised release; offenders inmates who commit crimes on or after​

210.23 August 1, 1993. (a) Except as provided in subdivisions 4 and 5, every inmate sentenced to​

210.24 prison for a felony offense committed on or after August 1, 1993, shall serve a supervised​

210.25 release term upon completion of the inmate's term of imprisonment and any disciplinary​

210.26 confinement period imposed by the commissioner due to the inmate's violation of any​

210.27 disciplinary rule adopted by the commissioner or refusal to participate in a rehabilitative​

210.28 program required under section 244.03. The amount of time the inmate serves on supervised​

210.29 release shall be is equal in length to the amount of time remaining in to one-third of the​

210.30 inmate's fixed executed sentence after the inmate has served the term of imprisonment and​

210.31 any disciplinary confinement period imposed by the commissioner, less any disciplinary​
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211.1 confinement period imposed by the commissioner and regardless of any earned incentive​

211.2 release credit applied toward the individual's term of imprisonment under section 244.44.​

211.3 (b) No inmate who violates a disciplinary rule or refuses to participate in a rehabilitative​

211.4 program as required under section 244.03 shall be placed on supervised release until the​

211.5 inmate has served the disciplinary confinement period for that disciplinary sanction or until​

211.6 the inmate is discharged or released from punitive segregation restrictive-housing​

211.7 confinement, whichever is later. The imposition of a disciplinary confinement period shall​

211.8 be considered to be a disciplinary sanction imposed upon an inmate, and the procedure for​

211.9 imposing the disciplinary confinement period and the rights of the inmate in the procedure​

211.10 shall be those in effect for the imposition of other disciplinary sanctions at each state​

211.11 correctional institution.​

211.12 (c) For purposes of this subdivision, "earned incentive release credit" has the meaning​

211.13 given in section 244.41, subdivision 7.​

211.14 Sec. 3. [244.40] MINNESOTA REHABILITATION AND REINVESTMENT ACT.​

211.15 Sections 244.40 to 244.51 may be cited as the "Minnesota Rehabilitation and​

211.16 Reinvestment Act."​

211.17 Sec. 4. [244.41] DEFINITIONS.​

211.18 Subdivision 1. Scope. For purposes of the act, the terms defined in this section have the​

211.19 meanings given.​

211.20 Subd. 2. Act. "Act" means the Minnesota Rehabilitation and Reinvestment Act.​

211.21 Subd. 3. Commissioner. "Commissioner" means the commissioner of corrections.​

211.22 Subd. 4. Correctional facility. "Correctional facility" means a state facility under the​

211.23 direct operational authority of the commissioner but does not include a commissioner-licensed​

211.24 local detention facility.​

211.25 Subd. 5. Direct-cost per diem. "Direct-cost per diem" means the actual nonsalary​

211.26 expenditures, including encumbrances as of July 31 following the end of the fiscal year,​

211.27 from the Department of Corrections expense budgets for food preparation; food provisions;​

211.28 personal support for incarcerated persons, including clothing, linen, and other personal​

211.29 supplies; transportation; and professional technical contracted health care services.​

211.30 Subd. 6. Earned compliance credit. "Earned compliance credit" means a one-month​

211.31 reduction from the period during active supervision of the supervised release term for every​
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212.1 two months that a supervised individual exhibits compliance with the conditions and goals​

212.2 of the individual's supervision plan.​

212.3 Subd. 7. Earned incentive release credit. "Earned incentive release credit" means credit​

212.4 that is earned and included in calculating an incarcerated person's term of imprisonment for​

212.5 completing objectives established by their individualized rehabilitation plan under section​

212.6 244.42.​

212.7 Subd. 8. Earned incentive release savings. "Earned incentive release savings" means​

212.8 the calculation of the direct-cost per diem multiplied by the number of incarcerated days​

212.9 saved for the period of one fiscal year.​

212.10 Subd. 9. Executed sentence. "Executed sentence" means the total period for which an​

212.11 incarcerated person is committed to the custody of the commissioner.​

212.12 Subd. 10. Incarcerated days saved. "Incarcerated days saved" means the number of​

212.13 days of an incarcerated person's original term of imprisonment minus the number of actual​

212.14 days served, excluding days not served due to death or as a result of time earned in the​

212.15 challenge incarceration program under sections 244.17 to 244.173.​

212.16 Subd. 11. Incarcerated person. "Incarcerated person" has the meaning given "inmate"​

212.17 in section 244.01, subdivision 2.​

212.18 Subd. 12. Supervised release. "Supervised release" means the release of an incarcerated​

212.19 person according to section 244.05.​

212.20 Subd. 13. Supervised release term. "Supervised release term" means the period equal​

212.21 to one-third of the individual's fixed executed sentence, less any disciplinary confinement​

212.22 period or punitive restrictive-housing confinement imposed under section 244.05, subdivision​

212.23 1b.​

212.24 Subd. 14. Supervision abatement status. "Supervision abatement status" means an end​

212.25 to active correctional supervision of a supervised individual without effect on the legal​

212.26 expiration date of the individual's executed sentence less any earned incentive release credit.​

212.27 Subd. 15. Term of imprisonment. "Term of imprisonment" has the meaning given in​

212.28 section 244.01, subdivision 8.​

212.29 Sec. 5. [244.42] COMPREHENSIVE ASSESSMENT AND INDIVIDUALIZED​

212.30 REHABILITATION PLAN REQUIRED.​

212.31 Subdivision 1. Comprehensive assessment. (a) The commissioner must develop a​

212.32 comprehensive assessment process for each person who:​
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213.1 (1) is committed to the commissioner's custody and confined in a state correctional​

213.2 facility on or after January 1, 2025; and​

213.3 (2) has 365 or more days remaining until the person's scheduled supervised release date​

213.4 or parole eligibility date.​

213.5 (b) As part of the assessment process, the commissioner must take into account​

213.6 appropriate rehabilitative programs under section 244.03.​

213.7 Subd. 2. Individualized rehabilitation plan. After completing the assessment process,​

213.8 the commissioner must ensure the development of an individualized rehabilitation plan,​

213.9 along with identified goals, for every person committed to the commissioner's custody. The​

213.10 individualized rehabilitation plan must be holistic in nature by identifying intended outcomes​

213.11 for addressing:​

213.12 (1) the incarcerated person's needs and risk factors;​

213.13 (2) the person's identified strengths; and​

213.14 (3) available and needed community supports, including victim safety considerations​

213.15 as required under section 244.47, if applicable.​

213.16 Subd. 3. Victim input. (a) If an individual is committed to the commissioner's custody​

213.17 for a crime listed in section 609.02, subdivision 16, the commissioner must make reasonable​

213.18 efforts to notify a victim of the opportunity to provide input during the assessment and​

213.19 rehabilitation plan process. Victim input may include:​

213.20 (1) a summary of victim concerns relative to release;​

213.21 (2) concerns related to victim safety during the committed individual's term of​

213.22 imprisonment; or​

213.23 (3) requests for imposing victim safety protocols as additional conditions of imprisonment​

213.24 or supervised release.​

213.25 (b) The commissioner must consider all victim input statements when developing an​

213.26 individualized rehabilitation plan and establishing conditions governing confinement or​

213.27 release.​

213.28 Subd. 4. Transition and release plan. For an incarcerated person with less than 365​

213.29 days remaining until the person's supervised release date, the commissioner, in consultation​

213.30 with the incarcerated person, must develop a transition and release plan.​

213.31 Subd. 5. Scope of act. This act is separate and distinct from other legislatively authorized​

213.32 release programs, including the challenge incarceration program, work release, conditional​
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214.1 medical release, or the program for the conditional release of nonviolent controlled substance​

214.2 offenders.​

214.3 Sec. 6. [244.43] EARNED INCENTIVE RELEASE CREDIT.​

214.4 Subdivision 1. Policy for earned incentive release credit; stakeholder consultation. (a)​

214.5 To encourage and support rehabilitation when consistent with the public interest and public​

214.6 safety, the commissioner must establish a policy providing for earned incentive release​

214.7 credit as a part of the term of imprisonment. The policy must be established in consultation​

214.8 with the following organizations:​

214.9 (1) Minnesota County Attorneys Association;​

214.10 (2) Minnesota Board of Public Defense;​

214.11 (3) Minnesota Association of Community Corrections Act Counties;​

214.12 (4) Minnesota Indian Women's Sexual Assault Coalition;​

214.13 (5) Violence Free Minnesota;​

214.14 (6) Minnesota Coalition Against Sexual Assault;​

214.15 (7) Minnesota Alliance on Crime;​

214.16 (8) Minnesota Sheriffs' Association;​

214.17 (9) Minnesota Chiefs of Police Association;​

214.18 (10) Minnesota Police and Peace Officers Association; and​

214.19 (11) faith-based organizations that reflect the demographics of the incarcerated population.​

214.20 (b) The policy must:​

214.21 (1) provide circumstances upon which an incarcerated person may receive earned​

214.22 incentive release credits, including participation in rehabilitative programming under section​

214.23 244.03; and​

214.24 (2) address circumstances where:​

214.25 (i) the capacity to provide rehabilitative programming in the correctional facility is​

214.26 diminished but the programming is available in the community; and​

214.27 (ii) the conditions under which the incarcerated person could be released to the​

214.28 community-based resource but remain subject to commitment to the commissioner and​

214.29 could be considered for earned incentive release credit.​
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215.1 Subd. 2. Policy on disparities. The commissioner must develop a policy establishing a​

215.2 process for assessing and addressing any systemic and programmatic gender and racial​

215.3 disparities that may be identified when awarding earned incentive release credits.​

215.4 Sec. 7. [244.44] APPLYING EARNED INCENTIVE RELEASE CREDIT.​

215.5 Earned incentive release credits are included in calculating the term of imprisonment​

215.6 but are not added to the person's supervised release term, the total length of which remains​

215.7 unchanged. The maximum amount of earned incentive release credit that can be earned and​

215.8 subtracted from the term of imprisonment is 17 percent of the total executed sentence.​

215.9 Earned credit cannot reduce the term of imprisonment to less than one-half of the incarcerated​

215.10 person's executed sentence. Once earned, earned incentive release credits are nonrevocable.​

215.11 Sec. 8. [244.45] INELIGIBILITY FOR EARNED INCENTIVE RELEASE CREDIT.​

215.12 The following individuals are ineligible for earned incentive release credit:​

215.13 (1) those serving life sentences;​

215.14 (2) those given indeterminate sentences for crimes committed on or before April 30,​

215.15 1980; or​

215.16 (3) those subject to good time under section 244.04 or similar laws.​

215.17 Sec. 9. [244.46] EARNED COMPLIANCE CREDIT AND SUPERVISION​

215.18 ABATEMENT STATUS.​

215.19 Subdivision 1. Adopting policy for earned compliance credit; supervision abatement​

215.20 status. (a) The commissioner must adopt a policy providing for earned compliance credit.​

215.21 (b) Except as otherwise provided in the act, once the time served on active supervision​

215.22 plus earned compliance credits equals the total length of the supervised release term, the​

215.23 commissioner must place the individual on supervision abatement status for the remainder​

215.24 of the supervised release term.​

215.25 Subd. 2. Violating conditions of release; commissioner action. If an individual violates​

215.26 the conditions of release while on supervision abatement status, the commissioner may:​

215.27 (1) return the individual to active supervision for the remainder of the supervised release​

215.28 term, with or without modifying the conditions of release; or​

215.29 (2) revoke the individual's supervised release in accordance with section 244.05,​

215.30 subdivision 3.​
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216.1 Subd. 3. Supervision abatement status; requirements. A person who is placed on​

216.2 supervision abatement status under this section must not be required to regularly report to​

216.3 a supervised release agent or pay a supervision fee but must continue to:​

216.4 (1) obey all laws;​

216.5 (2) report any new criminal charges; and​

216.6 (3) abide by section 243.1605 before seeking written authorization to relocate to another​

216.7 state.​

216.8 Subd. 4. Applicability. This section does not apply to individuals:​

216.9 (1) serving life sentences;​

216.10 (2) given indeterminate sentences for crimes committed on or before April 30, 1980; or​

216.11 (3) subject to good time under section 244.04 or similar laws.​

216.12 Sec. 10. [244.47] VICTIM INPUT.​

216.13 Subdivision 1. Notifying victim; victim input. (a) If an individual is committed to the​

216.14 custody of the commissioner for a crime listed in section 609.02, subdivision 16, and is​

216.15 eligible for earned incentive release credit, the commissioner must make reasonable efforts​

216.16 to notify the victim that the committed individual is eligible for earned incentive release​

216.17 credit.​

216.18 (b) Victim input may include:​

216.19 (1) a summary of victim concerns relative to eligibility of earned incentive release credit;​

216.20 (2) concerns related to victim safety during the committed individual's term of​

216.21 imprisonment; or​

216.22 (3) requests for imposing victim safety protocols as additional conditions of imprisonment​

216.23 or supervised release.​

216.24 Subd. 2. Victim input statements. The commissioner must consider victim input​

216.25 statements when establishing requirements governing conditions of release. The​

216.26 commissioner must provide the name and telephone number of the local victim agency​

216.27 serving the jurisdiction of release to any victim providing input on earned incentive release​

216.28 credit.​
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217.1 Sec. 11. [244.48] VICTIM NOTIFICATION.​

217.2 Nothing in this act limits any victim notification obligations of the commissioner required​

217.3 by statute related to a change in custody status, committing offense, end-of-confinement​

217.4 review, or notification registration.​

217.5 Sec. 12. [244.49] INTERSTATE COMPACT.​

217.6 (a) This section applies to a person serving a Minnesota sentence while being supervised​

217.7 in another state according to the Interstate Compact for Adult Supervision.​

217.8 (b) As may be allowed under section 243.1605, a person may be eligible for supervision​

217.9 abatement status according to the act only if they meet eligibility criteria for earned​

217.10 compliance credit as established under section 244.46.​

217.11 Sec. 13. [244.50] REALLOCATING EARNED INCENTIVE RELEASE SAVINGS.​

217.12 Subdivision 1. Establishing reallocation revenue account. The reallocation of earned​

217.13 incentive release savings account is established in the special revenue fund in the state​

217.14 treasury. Funds in the account are appropriated to the commissioner and must be expended​

217.15 in accordance with the allocation established in subdivision 4 after the requirements of​

217.16 subdivision 2 are met. Funds in the account are available until expended.​

217.17 Subd. 2. Certifying earned incentive release savings. On or before the final closeout​

217.18 date of each fiscal year, the commissioner must certify to Minnesota Management and​

217.19 Budget the earned incentive release savings from the previous fiscal year. The commissioner​

217.20 must provide the detailed calculation substantiating the savings amount, including​

217.21 accounting-system-generated data where possible, supporting the direct-cost per diem and​

217.22 the incarcerated days saved.​

217.23 Subd. 3. Savings to be transferred to reallocation revenue account. After the​

217.24 certification in subdivision 2 is completed, the commissioner must transfer funds from the​

217.25 appropriation from which the savings occurred to the reallocation revenue account according​

217.26 to the allocation in subdivision 4. Transfers must occur by September 1 each year.​

217.27 Subd. 4. Distributing reallocation funds. The commissioner must distribute funds as​

217.28 follows:​

217.29 (1) 25 percent must be transferred to the Office of Justice Programs in the Department​

217.30 of Public Safety for crime victim services;​
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218.1 (2) 25 percent must be transferred to the Community Corrections Act subsidy​

218.2 appropriation and to the Department of Corrections for supervised release and intensive​

218.3 supervision services, based upon a three-year average of the release jurisdiction of supervised​

218.4 releasees and intensive supervised releasees across the state;​

218.5 (3) 25 percent must be transferred to the Department of Corrections for:​

218.6 (i) grants to develop and invest in community-based services that support the identified​

218.7 needs of correctionally involved individuals or individuals at risk of becoming involved in​

218.8 the criminal justice system; and​

218.9 (ii) sustaining the operation of evidence-based programming in state and local correctional​

218.10 facilities; and​

218.11 (4) 25 percent must be transferred to the general fund.​

218.12 Sec. 14. [244.51] REPORTING REQUIRED.​

218.13 Subdivision 1. Annual report required. (a) Beginning January 15, 2026, and by January​

218.14 15 each year thereafter for ten years, the commissioner must provide a report to the chairs​

218.15 and ranking minority members of the house of representatives and senate committees and​

218.16 divisions with jurisdiction over public safety and judiciary.​

218.17 (b) For the 2026 report, the commissioner must report on implementing the requirements​

218.18 in this act. Starting with the 2027 report, the commissioner must report on the status of the​

218.19 requirements in this act for the previous fiscal year.​

218.20 (c) Each report must be provided to the sitting president of the Minnesota Association​

218.21 of Community Corrections Act Counties and the executive directors of the Minnesota​

218.22 Sentencing Guidelines Commission, the Minnesota Indian Women's Sexual Assault Coalition,​

218.23 the Minnesota Alliance on Crime, Violence Free Minnesota, the Minnesota Coalition Against​

218.24 Sexual Assault, and the Minnesota County Attorneys Association.​

218.25 (d) The report must include but not be limited to:​

218.26 (1) a qualitative description of policy development; implementation status; identified​

218.27 implementation or operational challenges; strategies identified to mitigate and ensure that​

218.28 the act does not create or exacerbate gender, racial, and ethnic disparities; and proposed​

218.29 mechanisms for projecting future savings and reallocation of savings;​

218.30 (2) the number of persons who were granted earned incentive release credit, the total​

218.31 number of days of incentive release earned, a summary of committing offenses for those​

218.32 persons who earned incentive release credit, a summary of earned incentive release savings,​
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219.1 and the demographic data for all persons eligible for earned incentive release credit and the​

219.2 reasons and demographic data of those eligible persons for whom earned incentive release​

219.3 credit was unearned or denied;​

219.4 (3) the number of persons who earned supervision abatement status, the total number​

219.5 of days of supervision abatement earned, the committing offenses for those persons granted​

219.6 supervision abatement status, the number of revocations for reoffense while on supervision​

219.7 abatement status, and the demographic data for all persons eligible for, considered for,​

219.8 granted, or denied supervision abatement status and the reasons supervision abatement status​

219.9 was unearned or denied;​

219.10 (4) the number of persons deemed ineligible to receive earned incentive release credits​

219.11 and supervise abatement and the demographic data for the persons; and​

219.12 (5) the number of victims who submitted input, the number of referrals to local​

219.13 victim-serving agencies, and a summary of the kinds of victim services requested.​

219.14 Subd. 2. Soliciting feedback. (a) The commissioner must solicit feedback on​

219.15 victim-related operational concerns from the Minnesota Indian Women's Sexual Assault​

219.16 Coalition, Minnesota Alliance on Crime, Minnesota Coalition Against Sexual Assault, and​

219.17 Violence Free Minnesota.​

219.18 (b) The feedback should relate to applying earned incentive release credit and supervision​

219.19 abatement status options. A summary of the feedback from the organizations must be​

219.20 included in the annual report.​

219.21 Subd. 3. Evaluating earned incentive release credit and act. The commissioner must​

219.22 direct the Department of Corrections' research unit to regularly evaluate earned incentive​

219.23 release credits and other provisions of the act. The findings must be published on the​

219.24 Department of Corrections' website and in the annual report.​

219.25 Sec. 15. EFFECTIVE DATE.​

219.26 Sections 1 to 14 are effective August 1, 2023.​
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220.1 ARTICLE 11​

220.2 FIREARMS BACKGROUND CHECKS​

220.3 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 624.7131, is amended to read:​

220.4 624.7131 TRANSFEREE PERMIT; PENALTY.​

220.5 Subdivision 1. Information. Any person may apply for a transferee permit by providing​

220.6 the following information in writing to the chief of police of an organized full time police​

220.7 department of the municipality in which the person resides or to the county sheriff if there​

220.8 is no such local chief of police:​

220.9 (1) the name, residence, telephone number, and driver's license number or​

220.10 nonqualification certificate number, if any, of the proposed transferee;​

220.11 (2) the sex, date of birth, height, weight, and color of eyes, and distinguishing physical​

220.12 characteristics, if any, of the proposed transferee;​

220.13 (3) a statement that the proposed transferee authorizes the release to the local police​

220.14 authority of commitment information about the proposed transferee maintained by the​

220.15 commissioner of human services, to the extent that the information relates to the proposed​

220.16 transferee's eligibility to possess a pistol or semiautomatic military-style assault weapon​

220.17 under section 624.713, subdivision 1; and​

220.18 (4) a statement by the proposed transferee that the proposed transferee is not prohibited​

220.19 by section 624.713 from possessing a pistol or semiautomatic military-style assault weapon.​

220.20 The statements shall be signed and dated by the person applying for a permit. At the​

220.21 time of application, the local police authority shall provide the applicant with a dated receipt​

220.22 for the application. The statement under clause (3) must comply with any applicable​

220.23 requirements of Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, sections 2.31 to 2.35, with respect​

220.24 to consent to disclosure of alcohol or drug abuse patient records.​

220.25 Subd. 2. Investigation. The chief of police or sheriff shall check criminal histories,​

220.26 records and warrant information relating to the applicant through the Minnesota Crime​

220.27 Information System, the national criminal record repository, and the National Instant Criminal​

220.28 Background Check System. The chief of police or sheriff shall also make a reasonable effort​

220.29 to check other available state and local record-keeping systems. The chief of police or sheriff​

220.30 shall obtain commitment information from the commissioner of human services as provided​

220.31 in section 245.041.​

220.32 Subd. 3. Forms. Chiefs of police and sheriffs shall make transferee permit application​

220.33 forms available throughout the community. There shall be no charge for forms, reports,​
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221.1 investigations, notifications, waivers or any other act performed or materials provided by​

221.2 a government employee or agency in connection with application for or issuance of a​

221.3 transferee permit.​

221.4 Subd. 4. Grounds for disqualification. A determination by (a) The chief of police or​

221.5 sheriff that shall refuse to grant a transferee permit if the applicant is: (1) prohibited by​

221.6 section 624.713 state or federal law from possessing a pistol or semiautomatic military-style​

221.7 assault weapon shall be the only basis for refusal to grant a transferee permit; (2) determined​

221.8 to be a danger to self or the public when in possession of firearms under paragraph (b); or​

221.9 (3) listed in the criminal gang investigative data system under section 299C.091.​

221.10 (b) A chief of police or sheriff shall refuse to grant a permit to a person if there exists a​

221.11 substantial likelihood that the applicant is a danger to self or the public when in possession​

221.12 of a firearm. To deny the application pursuant to paragraph (a), clause (2), the chief of police​

221.13 or sheriff must provide the applicant with written notification and the specific factual basis​

221.14 justifying the denial, including the source of the factual basis. The chief of police or sheriff​

221.15 must inform the applicant of the applicant's right to submit, within 20 business days, any​

221.16 additional documentation relating to the propriety of the denial. Upon receiving any additional​

221.17 documentation, the chief of police or sheriff must reconsider the denial and inform the​

221.18 applicant within 15 business days of the result of the reconsideration. Any denial after​

221.19 reconsideration must be in the same form and substance as the original denial and must​

221.20 specifically address any continued deficiencies in light of the additional documentation​

221.21 submitted by the applicant. The applicant must be informed of the right to seek de novo​

221.22 review of the denial as provided in subdivision 8.​

221.23 (c) A person is not eligible to submit a permit application under this section if the person​

221.24 has had an application denied pursuant to paragraph (b) and less than six months have​

221.25 elapsed since the denial was issued or the person's appeal under subdivision 8 was denied,​

221.26 whichever is later.​

221.27 (d) A chief of police or sheriff who denies a permit application pursuant to paragraph​

221.28 (b) must provide a copy of the notice of disqualification to the chief of police or sheriff with​

221.29 joint jurisdiction over the proposed transferee's residence.​

221.30 Subd. 5. Granting of permits. (a) The chief of police or sheriff shall issue a transferee​

221.31 permit or deny the application within seven 30 days of application for the permit.​

221.32 (b) In the case of a denial, the chief of police or sheriff shall provide an applicant with​

221.33 written notification of a denial and the specific reason for the denial.​

221.34 (c) The permits and their renewal shall be granted free of charge.​
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222.1 Subd. 6. Permits valid statewide. Transferee permits issued pursuant to this section are​

222.2 valid statewide and shall expire after one year. A transferee permit may be renewed in the​

222.3 same manner and subject to the same provisions by which the original permit was obtained,​

222.4 except that all renewed permits must comply with the standards adopted by the commissioner​

222.5 under section 624.7151. Permits issued pursuant to this section are not transferable. A person​

222.6 who transfers a permit in violation of this subdivision is guilty of a misdemeanor.​

222.7 Subd. 7. Permit voided; revocation. (a) The transferee permit shall be void at the time​

222.8 that the holder becomes prohibited from possessing or receiving a pistol under section​

222.9 624.713, in which event the holder shall return the permit within five days to the issuing​

222.10 authority. If the chief law enforcement officer who issued the permit has knowledge that​

222.11 the permit holder is ineligible to possess firearms, the chief law enforcement officer must​

222.12 revoke the permit and give notice to the holder in writing. Failure of the holder to return​

222.13 the permit within the five days of learning that the permit is void or revoked is a gross​

222.14 misdemeanor unless the court finds that the circumstances or the physical or mental condition​

222.15 of the permit holder prevented the holder from complying with the return requirement.​

222.16 (b) When a permit holder receives a court disposition that prohibits the permit holder​

222.17 from possessing a firearm, the court must take possession of the permit, if it is available,​

222.18 and send it to the issuing law enforcement agency. If the permit holder does not have the​

222.19 permit when the court imposes a firearm prohibition, the permit holder must surrender the​

222.20 permit to the assigned probation officer, if applicable. When a probation officer is assigned​

222.21 upon disposition of the case, the court shall inform the probation agent of the permit holder's​

222.22 obligation to surrender the permit. Upon surrender, the probation officer must send the​

222.23 permit to the issuing law enforcement agency. If a probation officer is not assigned to the​

222.24 permit holder, the holder shall surrender the permit as provided for in paragraph (a).​

222.25 Subd. 8. Hearing upon denial. (a) Any person aggrieved by denial of a transferee permit​

222.26 may appeal the denial to the district court having jurisdiction over the county or municipality​

222.27 in which the denial occurred. by petition to the district court having jurisdiction over the​

222.28 county or municipality where the application was submitted. The petition must list the​

222.29 applicable chief of police or sheriff as the respondent. The district court must hold a hearing​

222.30 at the earliest practicable date and in any event no later than 60 days following the filing of​

222.31 the petition for review. The court may not grant or deny any relief before the completion​

222.32 of the hearing. The record of the hearing must be sealed. The matter must be heard de novo​

222.33 without a jury.​

222.34 (b) The court must issue written findings of fact and conclusions of law regarding the​

222.35 issues submitted by the parties. The court must issue its writ of mandamus directing that​
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223.1 the permit be issued and order other appropriate relief unless the chief of police or sheriff​

223.2 establishes by clear and convincing evidence that:​

223.3 (1) the applicant is disqualified from possessing a firearm under state or federal law;​

223.4 (2) there exists a substantial likelihood that the applicant is a danger to self or the public​

223.5 when in possession of a firearm. Incidents of alleged criminal misconduct that are not​

223.6 investigated and documented may not be considered; or​

223.7 (3) the applicant is listed in the criminal gang investigative data system under section​

223.8 299C.091.​

223.9 (c) If an application is denied because the proposed transferee is listed in the criminal​

223.10 gang investigative data system under section 299C.091, the applicant may challenge the​

223.11 denial, after disclosure under court supervision of the reason for that listing, based on grounds​

223.12 that the person:​

223.13 (1) was erroneously identified as a person in the data system;​

223.14 (2) was improperly included in the data system according to the criteria outlined in​

223.15 section 299C.091, subdivision 2, paragraph (b); or​

223.16 (3) has demonstrably withdrawn from the activities and associations that led to inclusion​

223.17 in the data system.​

223.18 Subd. 9. Permit to carry. A valid permit to carry issued pursuant to section 624.714​

223.19 constitutes a transferee permit for the purposes of this section and section sections 624.7132​

223.20 and 624.7134.​

223.21 Subd. 10. Transfer report not required. A person who transfers a pistol or​

223.22 semiautomatic military-style assault weapon to a person exhibiting a valid transferee permit​

223.23 issued pursuant to this section or a valid permit to carry issued pursuant to section 624.714​

223.24 is not required to file a transfer report pursuant to section 624.7132, subdivision 1.​

223.25 Subd. 11. Penalty. A person who makes a false statement in order to obtain a transferee​

223.26 permit knowing or having reason to know the statement is false is guilty of a gross​

223.27 misdemeanor felony.​

223.28 Subd. 12. Local regulation. This section shall be construed to supersede municipal or​

223.29 county regulation of the issuance of transferee permits.​

223.30 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to crimes​

223.31 committed on or after that date.​

223​Article 11 Section 1.​

HOUSE RESEARCH JD/RK H2890DE1​03/26/23 03:25 pm ​



224.1 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 624.7132, is amended to read:​

224.2 624.7132 REPORT OF TRANSFER.​

224.3 Subdivision 1. Required information. Except as provided in this section and section​

224.4 624.7131, every person who agrees to transfer a pistol or semiautomatic military-style​

224.5 assault weapon shall report the following information in writing to the chief of police of​

224.6 the organized full-time police department of the municipality where the proposed transferee​

224.7 resides or to the appropriate county sheriff if there is no such local chief of police:​

224.8 (1) the name, residence, telephone number, and driver's license number or​

224.9 nonqualification certificate number, if any, of the proposed transferee;​

224.10 (2) the sex, date of birth, height, weight, and color of eyes, and distinguishing physical​

224.11 characteristics, if any, of the proposed transferee;​

224.12 (3) a statement that the proposed transferee authorizes the release to the local police​

224.13 authority of commitment information about the proposed transferee maintained by the​

224.14 commissioner of human services, to the extent that the information relates to the proposed​

224.15 transferee's eligibility to possess a pistol or semiautomatic military-style assault weapon​

224.16 under section 624.713, subdivision 1;​

224.17 (4) a statement by the proposed transferee that the transferee is not prohibited by section​

224.18 624.713 from possessing a pistol or semiautomatic military-style assault weapon; and​

224.19 (5) the address of the place of business of the transferor.​

224.20 The report shall be signed and dated by the transferor and the proposed transferee. The​

224.21 report shall be delivered by the transferor to the chief of police or sheriff no later than three​

224.22 days after the date of the agreement to transfer, excluding weekends and legal holidays.​

224.23 The statement under clause (3) must comply with any applicable requirements of Code of​

224.24 Federal Regulations, title 42, sections 2.31 to 2.35, with respect to consent to disclosure of​

224.25 alcohol or drug abuse patient records.​

224.26 Subd. 2. Investigation. Upon receipt of a transfer report, the chief of police or sheriff​

224.27 shall check criminal histories, records and warrant information relating to the proposed​

224.28 transferee through the Minnesota Crime Information System, the national criminal record​

224.29 repository, and the National Instant Criminal Background Check System. The chief of police​

224.30 or sheriff shall also make a reasonable effort to check other available state and local​

224.31 record-keeping systems. The chief of police or sheriff shall obtain commitment information​

224.32 from the commissioner of human services as provided in section 245.041.​
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225.1 Subd. 3. Notification. The chief of police or sheriff shall notify the transferor and​

225.2 proposed transferee in writing as soon as possible if the chief or sheriff determines that the​

225.3 proposed transferee is prohibited by section 624.713 from possessing a pistol or​

225.4 semiautomatic military-style assault weapon. The notification to the transferee shall specify​

225.5 the grounds for the disqualification of the proposed transferee and shall set forth in detail​

225.6 the transferee's right of appeal under subdivision 13.​

225.7 Subd. 4. Delivery. Except as otherwise provided in subdivision 7 or 8, no person shall​

225.8 deliver a pistol or semiautomatic military-style assault weapon to a proposed transferee​

225.9 until five business 30 days after the date the agreement to transfer is delivered to a chief of​

225.10 police or sheriff in accordance with subdivision 1 unless the chief of police or sheriff waives​

225.11 all or a portion of the seven-day waiting period. The chief of police or sheriff may waive​

225.12 all or a portion of the five business day waiting period in writing if the chief of police or​

225.13 sheriff: (1) determines the proposed transferee is not disqualified prior to the waiting period​

225.14 concluding; or (2) finds that the transferee requires access to a pistol or semiautomatic​

225.15 military-style assault weapon because of a threat to the life of the transferee or of any member​

225.16 of the household of the transferee. Prior to modifying the waiting period under the authority​

225.17 granted in clause (2), the chief of police or sheriff must first determine that the proposed​

225.18 transferee is not prohibited from possessing a firearm under state or federal law.​

225.19 No person shall deliver a pistol or semiautomatic military-style assault weapon firearm​

225.20 to a proposed transferee after receiving a written notification that the chief of police or​

225.21 sheriff has determined that the proposed transferee is prohibited by section 624.713 from​

225.22 possessing a pistol or semiautomatic military-style assault weapon firearm.​

225.23 If the transferor makes a report of transfer and receives no written notification of​

225.24 disqualification of the proposed transferee within five 30 business days after delivery of the​

225.25 agreement to transfer, the pistol or semiautomatic military-style assault weapon firearm​

225.26 may be delivered to the transferee, unless the transferor knows the transferee is ineligible​

225.27 to possess firearms.​

225.28 Subd. 5. Grounds for disqualification. A determination by (a) The chief of police or​

225.29 sheriff that shall deny an application if the proposed transferee is: (1) prohibited by section​

225.30 624.713 state or federal law from possessing a pistol or semiautomatic military-style assault​

225.31 weapon shall be the sole basis for a notification of disqualification under this section; (2)​

225.32 determined to be a danger to self or the public when in possession of firearms under paragraph​

225.33 (b); or (3) listed in the criminal gang investigative data system under section 299C.091.​
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226.1 (b) A chief of police or sheriff shall deny an application if there exists a substantial​

226.2 likelihood that the proposed transferee is a danger to self or the public when in possession​

226.3 of a firearm. To deny the application under this paragraph, the chief of police or sheriff​

226.4 must provide the applicant with written notification and the specific factual basis justifying​

226.5 the denial, including the source of the factual basis. The chief of police or sheriff must​

226.6 inform the applicant of the applicant's right to submit, within 20 business days, any additional​

226.7 documentation relating to the propriety of the denial. Upon receiving any additional​

226.8 documentation, the chief of police or sheriff must reconsider the denial and inform the​

226.9 applicant within 15 business days of the result of the reconsideration. Any denial after​

226.10 reconsideration must be in the same form and substance as the original denial and must​

226.11 specifically address any continued deficiencies in light of the additional documentation​

226.12 submitted by the applicant. The applicant must be informed of the right to seek de novo​

226.13 review of the denial as provided in subdivision 13.​

226.14 (c) A chief of police or sheriff need not process an application under this section if the​

226.15 person has had an application denied pursuant to paragraph (b) and less than six months​

226.16 have elapsed since the denial was issued or the person's appeal under subdivision 13 was​

226.17 denied, whichever is later.​

226.18 (d) A chief of police or sheriff who denies an application pursuant to paragraph (b) must​

226.19 provide a copy of the notice of disqualification to the chief of police or sheriff with joint​

226.20 jurisdiction over the applicant's residence.​

226.21 Subd. 6. Transferee permit. If a chief of police or sheriff determines that a transferee​

226.22 is not a person prohibited by section 624.713 from possessing a pistol or semiautomatic​

226.23 military-style assault weapon, the transferee may, within 30 days after the determination,​

226.24 apply to that chief of police or sheriff for a transferee permit, and the permit shall be issued.​

226.25 Subd. 8. Report not required. If the proposed transferee presents a valid transferee​

226.26 permit issued under section 624.7131 or a valid permit to carry issued under section 624.714,​

226.27 the transferor need not file a transfer report.​

226.28 Subd. 9. Number of pistols or semiautomatic military-style assault weapons. Any​

226.29 number of pistols or semiautomatic military-style assault weapons may be the subject of a​

226.30 single transfer agreement and report to the chief of police or sheriff. Nothing in this section​

226.31 or section 624.7131 shall be construed to limit or restrict the number of pistols or​

226.32 semiautomatic military-style assault weapons a person may acquire.​

226.33 Subd. 10. Restriction on records. Except as provided for in section 624.7134, subdivision​

226.34 3, paragraph (e), if, after a determination that the transferee is not a person prohibited by​
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227.1 section 624.713 from possessing a pistol or semiautomatic military-style assault weapon,​

227.2 a transferee requests that no record be maintained of the fact of who is the transferee of a​

227.3 pistol or semiautomatic military-style assault weapon, the chief of police or sheriff shall​

227.4 sign the transfer report and return it to the transferee as soon as possible. Thereafter, no​

227.5 government employee or agency shall maintain a record of the transfer that identifies the​

227.6 transferee, and the transferee shall retain the report of transfer.​

227.7 Subd. 11. Forms; cost. Chiefs of police and sheriffs shall make transfer report forms​

227.8 available throughout the community. There shall be no charge for forms, reports,​

227.9 investigations, notifications, waivers or any other act performed or materials provided by​

227.10 a government employee or agency in connection with a transfer.​

227.11 Subd. 12. Exclusions. Except as otherwise provided in section 609.66, subdivision 1f,​

227.12 this section shall not apply to transfers of antique firearms as curiosities or for their historical​

227.13 significance or value, transfers to or between federally licensed firearms dealers, transfers​

227.14 by order of court, involuntary transfers, transfers at death or the following transfers:​

227.15 (1) a transfer by a person other than a federally licensed firearms dealer;​

227.16 (2) a loan to a prospective transferee if the loan is intended for a period of no more than​

227.17 one day;​

227.18 (3) the delivery of a pistol or semiautomatic military-style assault weapon to a person​

227.19 for the purpose of repair, reconditioning or remodeling;​

227.20 (4) a loan by a teacher to a student in a course designed to teach marksmanship or safety​

227.21 with a pistol and approved by the commissioner of natural resources;​

227.22 (5) a loan between persons at a firearms collectors exhibition;​

227.23 (6) a loan between persons lawfully engaged in hunting or target shooting if the loan is​

227.24 intended for a period of no more than 12 hours;​

227.25 (7) a loan between law enforcement officers who have the power to make arrests other​

227.26 than citizen arrests; and​

227.27 (8) a loan between employees or between the employer and an employee in a business​

227.28 if the employee is required to carry a pistol or semiautomatic military-style assault weapon​

227.29 by reason of employment and is the holder of a valid permit to carry a pistol.​

227.30 Subd. 13. Appeal. (a) A person aggrieved by the determination of a chief of police or​

227.31 sheriff that the person is prohibited by section 624.713 from possessing a pistol or​

227.32 semiautomatic military-style assault weapon may appeal the determination as provided in​
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228.1 this subdivision. The district court shall have jurisdiction of proceedings under this​

228.2 subdivision. under subdivision 5 may appeal by petition to the district court having​

228.3 jurisdiction over the county or municipality where the application was submitted. The​

228.4 petition must list the applicable chief of police or sheriff as the respondent. The district​

228.5 court must hold a hearing at the earliest practicable date and in any event no later than 60​

228.6 days following the filing of the petition for review. The court may not grant or deny any​

228.7 relief before the completion of the hearing. The record of the hearing must be sealed. The​

228.8 matter must be heard de novo without a jury.​

228.9 On review pursuant to this subdivision, the court shall be limited to a determination of​

228.10 whether the proposed transferee is a person prohibited from possessing a pistol or​

228.11 semiautomatic military-style assault weapon by section 624.713.​

228.12 (b) The court must issue written findings of fact and conclusions of law regarding the​

228.13 issues submitted by the parties. The court must issue its writ of mandamus directing that​

228.14 the permit be issued and order other appropriate relief unless the chief of police or sheriff​

228.15 establishes by clear and convincing evidence that:​

228.16 (1) the applicant is disqualified under state or federal law from possession of firearms;​

228.17 (2) there exists a substantial likelihood that the applicant is a danger to self or the public​

228.18 when in possession of a firearm. Incidents of alleged criminal misconduct that are not​

228.19 investigated and documented may not be considered; or​

228.20 (3) the applicant is listed in the criminal gang investigative data system under section​

228.21 299C.091.​

228.22 (c) If an application is denied because the proposed transferee is listed in the criminal​

228.23 gang investigative data system under section 299C.091, the proposed transferee may​

228.24 challenge the denial, after disclosure under court supervision of the reason for that listing,​

228.25 based on grounds that the person:​

228.26 (1) was erroneously identified as a person in the data system;​

228.27 (2) was improperly included in the data system according to the criteria outlined in​

228.28 section 299C.091, subdivision 2, paragraph (b); or​

228.29 (3) has demonstrably withdrawn from the activities and associations that led to inclusion​

228.30 in the data system.​

228.31 Subd. 14. Transfer to unknown party. (a) No person shall transfer a pistol or​

228.32 semiautomatic military-style assault weapon to another who is not personally known to the​

228.33 transferor unless the proposed transferee presents evidence of identity to the transferor.​
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229.1 (b) No person who is not personally known to the transferor shall become a transferee​

229.2 of a pistol or semiautomatic military-style assault weapon unless the person presents evidence​

229.3 of identity to the transferor.​

229.4 (c) The evidence of identity shall contain the name, residence address, date of birth, and​

229.5 photograph of the proposed transferee; must be made or issued by or under the authority of​

229.6 the United States government, a state, a political subdivision of a state, a foreign government,​

229.7 a political subdivision of a foreign government, an international governmental or an​

229.8 international quasi-governmental organization; and must be of a type commonly accepted​

229.9 for the purpose of identification of individuals.​

229.10 (d) A person who becomes a transferee of a pistol or semiautomatic military-style assault​

229.11 weapon in violation of this subdivision is guilty of a misdemeanor.​

229.12 Subd. 15. Penalties. (a) Except as otherwise provided in paragraph (b), a person who​

229.13 does any of the following is guilty of a gross misdemeanor:​

229.14 (1) transfers a pistol or semiautomatic military-style assault weapon in violation of​

229.15 subdivisions 1 to 13;​

229.16 (2) transfers a pistol or semiautomatic military-style assault weapon to a person who​

229.17 has made a false statement in order to become a transferee, if the transferor knows or has​

229.18 reason to know the transferee has made the false statement;​

229.19 (3) knowingly becomes a transferee in violation of subdivisions 1 to 13; or​

229.20 (4) makes a false statement in order to become a transferee of a pistol or semiautomatic​

229.21 military-style assault weapon knowing or having reason to know the statement is false.​

229.22 (b) A person who does either of the following is guilty of a felony:​

229.23 (1) transfers a pistol or semiautomatic military-style assault weapon to a person under​

229.24 the age of 18 in violation of subdivisions 1 to 13; or​

229.25 (2) transfers a pistol or semiautomatic military-style assault weapon to a person under​

229.26 the age of 18 who has made a false statement in order to become a transferee, if the transferor​

229.27 knows or has reason to know the transferee has made the false statement.​

229.28 Subd. 16. Local regulation. This section shall be construed to supersede municipal or​

229.29 county regulation of the transfer of pistols.​

229.30 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to crimes​

229.31 committed on or after that date.​
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230.1 Sec. 3. [624.7134] PRIVATE PARTY TRANSFERS; BACKGROUND CHECK​

230.2 REQUIRED.​

230.3 Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) As used in this section, the following terms have the​

230.4 meanings provided in this subdivision.​

230.5 (b) "Firearms dealer" means a person who is licensed by the United States Department​

230.6 of Justice, Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives, under United States Code,​

230.7 title 18, section 923(a).​

230.8 (c) "State or federally issued identification" means a document or card made or issued​

230.9 by or under the authority of the United States government or the state that contains the​

230.10 person's name, residence address, date of birth, and photograph and is of a type commonly​

230.11 accepted for the purpose of identification of individuals.​

230.12 (d) "Unlicensed person" means a person who does not hold a license under United States​

230.13 Code, title 18, section 923(a).​

230.14 Subd. 2. Background check and evidence of identity. An unlicensed person is prohibited​

230.15 from transferring a pistol or semiautomatic military-style assault weapon to any other​

230.16 unlicensed person, unless: (1) the transfer is made through a firearms dealer as provided​

230.17 for in subdivision 3; or (2) the transferee presents a valid transferee permit issued under​

230.18 section 624.7131 and a current state or federally issued identification.​

230.19 Subd. 3. Background check conducted by federally licensed firearms dealer. (a)​

230.20 Where both parties to a prospective transfer of a pistol or semiautomatic military-style​

230.21 assault weapon are unlicensed persons, the transferor and transferee may appear jointly​

230.22 before a federally licensed firearms dealer with the firearm and request that the federally​

230.23 licensed firearms dealer conduct a background check on the transferee and facilitate the​

230.24 transfer.​

230.25 (b) Except as otherwise provided in this section, a federally licensed firearms dealer​

230.26 who agrees to facilitate a transfer under this section shall:​

230.27 (1) process the transfer as though transferring the firearm from the dealer's inventory to​

230.28 the transferee; and​

230.29 (2) comply with all requirements of federal and state law that would apply if the firearms​

230.30 dealer were making the transfer, including at a minimum all background checks and record​

230.31 keeping requirements. The exception to the report of transfer process in section 624.7132,​

230.32 subdivision 12, clause (1), does not apply to transfers completed under this subdivision.​
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231.1 (c) If the transferee is prohibited by federal law from purchasing or possessing the firearm​

231.2 or not entitled under state law to possess the firearm, neither the federally licensed firearms​

231.3 dealer nor the transferor shall transfer the firearm to the transferee.​

231.4 (d) Notwithstanding any other law to the contrary, this section shall not prevent the​

231.5 transferor from:​

231.6 (1) removing the firearm from the premises of the federally licensed firearms dealer, or​

231.7 the gun show or event where the federally licensed firearms dealer is conducting business,​

231.8 as applicable, while the background check is being conducted, provided that the transferor​

231.9 must return to the federally licensed firearms dealer with the transferee before the transfer​

231.10 takes place, and the federally licensed firearms dealer must take possession of the firearm​

231.11 in order to complete the transfer; and​

231.12 (2) removing the firearm from the business premises of the federally licensed firearms​

231.13 dealer if the results of the background check indicate the transferee is prohibited by federal​

231.14 law from purchasing or possessing the firearm or not entitled under state law to possess the​

231.15 firearm.​

231.16 (e) A transferee who consents to participate in a transfer under this subdivision is not​

231.17 entitled to have the transfer report returned as provided for in section 624.7132, subdivision​

231.18 10.​

231.19 (f) A firearms dealer may charge a reasonable fee for conducting a background check​

231.20 and facilitating a transfer between the transferor and transferee pursuant to this section.​

231.21 Subd. 4. Record of transfer; required information. (a) Unless a transfer is made​

231.22 through a firearms dealer as provided for in subdivision 3, when two unlicensed persons​

231.23 complete the transfer of a pistol or semiautomatic military-style assault weapon, the transferor​

231.24 and transferee must complete a record of transfer on a form designed and made publicly​

231.25 available without fee for this purpose by the superintendent of the Bureau of Criminal​

231.26 Apprehension. Each page of the record of transfer must be signed and dated by the transferor​

231.27 and the transferee and contain the serial number of the pistol or semiautomatic military-style​

231.28 assault weapon.​

231.29 (b) The record of transfer must contain the following information:​

231.30 (1) a clear copy of each person's current state or federally issued identification;​

231.31 (2) a clear copy of the transferee permit presented by the transferee; and​

231.32 (3) a signed statement by the transferee swearing that the transferee is not currently​

231.33 prohibited by state or federal law from possessing a firearm.​
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232.1 (c) The record of transfer must also contain the following information regarding the​

232.2 transferred pistol or semiautomatic military-style assault weapon:​

232.3 (1) the type of pistol or semiautomatic military-style assault weapon;​

232.4 (2) the manufacturer, make, and model of the pistol or semiautomatic military-style​

232.5 assault weapon; and​

232.6 (3) the pistol or semiautomatic military-style assault weapon's manufacturer-assigned​

232.7 serial number.​

232.8 (d) Both the transferor and the transferee must retain a copy of the record of transfer​

232.9 and any attachments to the record of transfer for 20 years from the date of the transfer. A​

232.10 copy in digital form shall be acceptable for the purposes of this paragraph.​

232.11 Subd. 5. Compulsory production of a record of transfer; gross misdemeanor​

232.12 penalty. (a) Unless a transfer was completed under subdivision 3, the transferor and​

232.13 transferee of a pistol or semiautomatic military-style assault weapon transferred under​

232.14 subdivision 4 must produce the record of transfer when a peace officer requests the record​

232.15 as part of a criminal investigation.​

232.16 (b) A person who refuses or is unable to produce a record of transfer for a firearm​

232.17 transferred under this section in response to a request for production made by a peace officer​

232.18 pursuant to paragraph (a) is guilty of a gross misdemeanor. A prosecution or conviction for​

232.19 violation of this subdivision is not a bar to conviction of, or punishment for, any other crime​

232.20 committed involving the transferred firearm.​

232.21 Subd. 6. Immunity. A person is immune to a charge of violating this section if the person​

232.22 presents a record of transfer that satisfies the requirements of subdivision 4.​

232.23 Subd. 7. Exclusions. (a) This section shall not apply to the following transfers:​

232.24 (1) a transfer by or to a federally licensed firearms dealer;​

232.25 (2) a transfer by or to any law enforcement agency;​

232.26 (3) to the extent the transferee is acting within the course and scope of employment and​

232.27 official duties, a transfer to:​

232.28 (i) a peace officer, as defined in section 626.84, subdivision 1, paragraph (c);​

232.29 (ii) a member of the United States armed forces, the National Guard, or the Reserves of​

232.30 the United States armed forces;​

232.31 (iii) a federal law enforcement officer; or​
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233.1 (iv) a security guard employed by a protective agent licensed pursuant to chapter 326;​

233.2 (4) a transfer between immediate family members, which for the purposes of this section​

233.3 means spouses, domestic partners, parents, children, siblings, grandparents, and​

233.4 grandchildren;​

233.5 (5) a transfer to an executor, administrator, trustee, or personal representative of an estate​

233.6 or a trust that occurs by operation of law upon the death of the former owner of the firearm;​

233.7 (6) a transfer of an antique firearm as defined in section 624.712, subdivision 3;​

233.8 (7) a transfer of a curio or relic, as defined in Code of Federal Regulations, title 27,​

233.9 section 478.11, if the transfer is between collectors of firearms as curios or relics as defined​

233.10 by United States Code, title 18, section 921(a)(13), who each have in their possession a​

233.11 valid collector of curio and relics license issued by the United States Department of Justice,​

233.12 Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives;​

233.13 (8) the temporary transfer of a firearm if:​

233.14 (i) the transfer is necessary to prevent imminent death or great bodily harm; and​

233.15 (ii) the person's possession lasts only as long as immediately necessary to prevent such​

233.16 imminent death or great bodily harm;​

233.17 (9) transfers by or to an auctioneer who is in compliance with chapter 330 and acting in​

233.18 the person's official role as an auctioneer to facilitate or conduct an auction of the firearm;​

233.19 and​

233.20 (10) a temporary transfer if the transferee's possession of the firearm following the​

233.21 transfer is only:​

233.22 (i) at a shooting range that operates in compliance with the performance standards under​

233.23 chapter 87A or is a nonconforming use under section 87A.03, subdivision 2, or, if compliance​

233.24 is not required by the governing body of the jurisdiction, at an established shooting range​

233.25 operated consistently with local law in the jurisdiction;​

233.26 (ii) at a lawfully organized competition involving the use of a firearm, or while​

233.27 participating in or practicing for a performance by an organized group that uses firearms as​

233.28 part of the performance;​

233.29 (iii) while hunting or trapping if the hunting or trapping is legal in all places where the​

233.30 transferee possesses the firearm and the transferee holds all licenses or permits required for​

233.31 hunting or trapping;​
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234.1 (iv) at a lawfully organized educational or instructional course and under the direct​

234.2 supervision of a certified instructor, as that term is defined in section 624.714, subdivision​

234.3 2a, paragraph (d); or​

234.4 (v) while in the actual presence of the transferor.​

234.5 (b) A transfer under this subdivision is permitted only if the transferor has no reason to​

234.6 believe:​

234.7 (1) that the transferee is prohibited by federal law from buying or possessing firearms​

234.8 or not entitled under state law to possess firearms;​

234.9 (2) if the transferee is under 18 years of age and is receiving the firearm under direct​

234.10 supervision and control of an adult, that the adult is prohibited by federal law from buying​

234.11 or possessing firearms or not entitled under state law to possess firearms; or​

234.12 (3) that the transferee will use or intends to use the firearm in the commission of a crime.​

234.13 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to crimes​

234.14 committed on or after that date.​

234.15 ARTICLE 12​

234.16 EXTREME RISK PROTECTION ORDERS​

234.17 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 624.713, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

234.18 Subdivision 1. Ineligible persons. The following persons shall not be entitled to possess​

234.19 ammunition or a pistol or semiautomatic military-style assault weapon or, except for clause​

234.20 (1), any other firearm:​

234.21 (1) a person under the age of 18 years except that a person under 18 may possess​

234.22 ammunition designed for use in a firearm that the person may lawfully possess and may​

234.23 carry or possess a pistol or semiautomatic military-style assault weapon (i) in the actual​

234.24 presence or under the direct supervision of the person's parent or guardian, (ii) for the​

234.25 purpose of military drill under the auspices of a legally recognized military organization​

234.26 and under competent supervision, (iii) for the purpose of instruction, competition, or target​

234.27 practice on a firing range approved by the chief of police or county sheriff in whose​

234.28 jurisdiction the range is located and under direct supervision; or (iv) if the person has​

234.29 successfully completed a course designed to teach marksmanship and safety with a pistol​

234.30 or semiautomatic military-style assault weapon and approved by the commissioner of natural​

234.31 resources;​

234​Article 12 Section 1.​

HOUSE RESEARCH JD/RK H2890DE1​03/26/23 03:25 pm ​



235.1 (2) except as otherwise provided in clause (9), a person who has been convicted of, or​

235.2 adjudicated delinquent or convicted as an extended jurisdiction juvenile for committing, in​

235.3 this state or elsewhere, a crime of violence. For purposes of this section, crime of violence​

235.4 includes crimes in other states or jurisdictions which would have been crimes of violence​

235.5 as herein defined if they had been committed in this state;​

235.6 (3) a person who is or has ever been committed in Minnesota or elsewhere by a judicial​

235.7 determination that the person is mentally ill, developmentally disabled, or mentally ill and​

235.8 dangerous to the public, as defined in section 253B.02, to a treatment facility, or who has​

235.9 ever been found incompetent to stand trial or not guilty by reason of mental illness, unless​

235.10 the person's ability to possess a firearm and ammunition has been restored under subdivision​

235.11 4;​

235.12 (4) a person who has been convicted in Minnesota or elsewhere of a misdemeanor or​

235.13 gross misdemeanor violation of chapter 152, unless three years have elapsed since the date​

235.14 of conviction and, during that time, the person has not been convicted of any other such​

235.15 violation of chapter 152 or a similar law of another state; or a person who is or has ever​

235.16 been committed by a judicial determination for treatment for the habitual use of a controlled​

235.17 substance or marijuana, as defined in sections 152.01 and 152.02, unless the person's ability​

235.18 to possess a firearm and ammunition has been restored under subdivision 4;​

235.19 (5) a person who has been committed to a treatment facility in Minnesota or elsewhere​

235.20 by a judicial determination that the person is chemically dependent as defined in section​

235.21 253B.02, unless the person has completed treatment or the person's ability to possess a​

235.22 firearm and ammunition has been restored under subdivision 4. Property rights may not be​

235.23 abated but access may be restricted by the courts;​

235.24 (6) a peace officer who is informally admitted to a treatment facility pursuant to section​

235.25 253B.04 for chemical dependency, unless the officer possesses a certificate from the head​

235.26 of the treatment facility discharging or provisionally discharging the officer from the​

235.27 treatment facility. Property rights may not be abated but access may be restricted by the​

235.28 courts;​

235.29 (7) a person, including a person under the jurisdiction of the juvenile court, who has​

235.30 been charged with committing a crime of violence and has been placed in a pretrial diversion​

235.31 program by the court before disposition, until the person has completed the diversion program​

235.32 and the charge of committing the crime of violence has been dismissed;​

235.33 (8) except as otherwise provided in clause (9), a person who has been convicted in​

235.34 another state of committing an offense similar to the offense described in section 609.224,​
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236.1 subdivision 3, against a family or household member or section 609.2242, subdivision 3,​

236.2 unless three years have elapsed since the date of conviction and, during that time, the person​

236.3 has not been convicted of any other violation of section 609.224, subdivision 3, or 609.2242,​

236.4 subdivision 3, or a similar law of another state;​

236.5 (9) a person who has been convicted in this state or elsewhere of assaulting a family or​

236.6 household member and who was found by the court to have used a firearm in any way​

236.7 during commission of the assault is prohibited from possessing any type of firearm or​

236.8 ammunition for the period determined by the sentencing court;​

236.9 (10) a person who:​

236.10 (i) has been convicted in any court of a crime punishable by imprisonment for a term​

236.11 exceeding one year;​

236.12 (ii) is a fugitive from justice as a result of having fled from any state to avoid prosecution​

236.13 for a crime or to avoid giving testimony in any criminal proceeding;​

236.14 (iii) is an unlawful user of any controlled substance as defined in chapter 152;​

236.15 (iv) has been judicially committed to a treatment facility in Minnesota or elsewhere as​

236.16 a person who is mentally ill, developmentally disabled, or mentally ill and dangerous to the​

236.17 public, as defined in section 253B.02;​

236.18 (v) is an alien who is illegally or unlawfully in the United States;​

236.19 (vi) has been discharged from the armed forces of the United States under dishonorable​

236.20 conditions;​

236.21 (vii) has renounced the person's citizenship having been a citizen of the United States;​

236.22 or​

236.23 (viii) is disqualified from possessing a firearm under United States Code, title 18, section​

236.24 922(g)(8) or (9), as amended through March 1, 2014;​

236.25 (11) a person who has been convicted of the following offenses at the gross misdemeanor​

236.26 level, unless three years have elapsed since the date of conviction and, during that time, the​

236.27 person has not been convicted of any other violation of these sections: section 609.229​

236.28 (crimes committed for the benefit of a gang); 609.2231, subdivision 4 (assaults motivated​

236.29 by bias); 609.255 (false imprisonment); 609.378 (neglect or endangerment of a child);​

236.30 609.582, subdivision 4 (burglary in the fourth degree); 609.665 (setting a spring gun); 609.71​

236.31 (riot); or 609.749 (harassment or stalking). For purposes of this paragraph, the specified​
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237.1 gross misdemeanor convictions include crimes committed in other states or jurisdictions​

237.2 which would have been gross misdemeanors if conviction occurred in this state;​

237.3 (12) a person who has been convicted of a violation of section 609.224 if the court​

237.4 determined that the assault was against a family or household member in accordance with​

237.5 section 609.2242, subdivision 3 (domestic assault), unless three years have elapsed since​

237.6 the date of conviction and, during that time, the person has not been convicted of another​

237.7 violation of section 609.224 or a violation of a section listed in clause (11); or​

237.8 (13) a person who is subject to an order for protection as described in section 260C.201,​

237.9 subdivision 3, paragraph (d), or 518B.01, subdivision 6, paragraph (g); or​

237.10 (14) a person who is subject to an extreme risk protection order as described in section​

237.11 624.7172 or 624.7174.​

237.12 A person who issues a certificate pursuant to this section in good faith is not liable for​

237.13 damages resulting or arising from the actions or misconduct with a firearm or ammunition​

237.14 committed by the individual who is the subject of the certificate.​

237.15 The prohibition in this subdivision relating to the possession of firearms other than​

237.16 pistols and semiautomatic military-style assault weapons does not apply retroactively to​

237.17 persons who are prohibited from possessing a pistol or semiautomatic military-style assault​

237.18 weapon under this subdivision before August 1, 1994.​

237.19 The lifetime prohibition on possessing, receiving, shipping, or transporting firearms and​

237.20 ammunition for persons convicted or adjudicated delinquent of a crime of violence in clause​

237.21 (2), applies only to offenders who are discharged from sentence or court supervision for a​

237.22 crime of violence on or after August 1, 1993.​

237.23 For purposes of this section, "judicial determination" means a court proceeding pursuant​

237.24 to sections 253B.07 to 253B.09 or a comparable law from another state.​

237.25 Sec. 2. [624.7171] EXTREME RISK PROTECTION ORDERS.​

237.26 Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) As used in sections 624.7171 to 624.7178, the following​

237.27 terms have the meanings given.​

237.28 (b) "Family or household members" means:​

237.29 (1) spouses and former spouses of the respondent;​

237.30 (2) parents and children of the respondent;​

237.31 (3) persons who are presently residing with the respondent; or​
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238.1 (4) a person involved in a significant romantic or sexual relationship with the respondent.​

238.2 In determining whether persons are in a significant romantic or sexual relationship under​

238.3 clause (4), the court shall consider the length of time of the relationship; type of relationship;​

238.4 and frequency of interaction between the parties.​

238.5 (c) "Firearm" has the meaning given in section 609.666, subdivision 1, paragraph (a).​

238.6 (d) "Mental health professional" has the meaning given in section 245I.02, subdivision​

238.7 27.​

238.8 Subd. 2. Court jurisdiction. (a) An application for relief under sections 624.7172 and​

238.9 624.7174 may be filed in the county of residence of the respondent except as provided for​

238.10 in paragraph (b). Actions under sections 624.7172 and 624.7174 shall be given docket​

238.11 priorities by the court.​

238.12 (b) At the time of filing, a petitioner may request that the court allow the petitioner to​

238.13 appear virtually at all proceedings. If the court denies the petitioner's request for virtual​

238.14 participation, the petitioner may refile the petition in the county where the petitioner resides​

238.15 or is officed.​

238.16 Subd. 3. Information on petitioner's location or residence. Upon the petitioner's​

238.17 request, information maintained by the court regarding the petitioner's location or residence​

238.18 is not accessible to the public and may be disclosed only to court personnel or law​

238.19 enforcement for purposes of service of process, conducting an investigation, or enforcing​

238.20 an order.​

238.21 Subd. 4. Generally. (a) There shall exist an action known as a petition for an extreme​

238.22 risk protection order, which order shall enjoin and prohibit the respondent from possessing​

238.23 or purchasing firearms for as long as the order remains in effect.​

238.24 (b) A petition for relief under sections 624.7171 to 624.7178 may be made by the chief​

238.25 law enforcement officer, the chief law enforcement officer's designee, a city or county​

238.26 attorney, any family or household members of the respondent, or a guardian, as defined in​

238.27 section 524.1-201, clause (27), of the respondent.​

238.28 (c) A petition for relief shall allege that the respondent poses a significant danger of​

238.29 bodily harm to other persons or is at significant risk of suicide by possessing a firearm. The​

238.30 petition shall be accompanied by an affidavit made under oath stating specific facts and​

238.31 circumstances forming a basis to allege that an extreme risk protection order should be​

238.32 granted. The affidavit may include but is not limited to evidence showing any of the factors​

238.33 described in section 624.7172, subdivision 2.​
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239.1 (d) A petition for emergency relief under section 624.7174 shall additionally allege that​

239.2 the respondent presents an immediate and present danger of either bodily harm to others or​

239.3 of taking their life.​

239.4 (e) A petition for relief must describe, to the best of the petitioner's knowledge, the types​

239.5 and location of any firearms believed by the petitioner to be possessed by the respondent.​

239.6 (f) The court shall provide simplified forms and clerical assistance to help with the​

239.7 writing and filing of a petition under this section.​

239.8 (g) The state court administrator shall create all forms necessary under sections 624.7171​

239.9 to 624.7178.​

239.10 (h) The filing fees for an extreme risk protection order under this section are waived for​

239.11 the petitioner and respondent. The court administrator, the sheriff of any county in this state,​

239.12 and other law enforcement and corrections officers shall perform their duties relating to​

239.13 service of process without charge to the petitioner. The court shall direct payment of the​

239.14 reasonable costs of service of process if served by a private process server when the sheriff​

239.15 or other law enforcement or corrections officer is unavailable or if service is made by​

239.16 publication, without requiring the petitioner to make application under section 563.01.​

239.17 (i) The court shall advise the petitioner of the right to serve the respondent by alternate​

239.18 notice under section 624.7172, subdivision 1, paragraph (e), if the respondent is avoiding​

239.19 personal service by concealment or otherwise, and shall assist in the writing and filing of​

239.20 the affidavit.​

239.21 (j) The court shall advise the petitioner of the right to request a hearing under section​

239.22 624.7174. If the petitioner does not request a hearing, the court shall advise the petitioner​

239.23 that the respondent may request a hearing and that notice of the hearing date and time will​

239.24 be provided to the petitioner by mail at least five days before the hearing.​

239.25 (k) Any proceeding under sections 624.7171 to 624.7178 shall be in addition to other​

239.26 civil or criminal remedies.​

239.27 (l) All health records and other health information provided in a petition or considered​

239.28 as evidence in a proceeding under sections 624.7171 to 624.7178 shall be protected from​

239.29 public disclosure but may be provided to law enforcement agencies as described in this​

239.30 section.​

239.31 (m) Any extreme risk protection order or subsequent extension issued under sections​

239.32 624.7171 to 624.7178 shall be forwarded by the court administrator within 24 hours to the​

239.33 local law enforcement agency with jurisdiction over the residence of the respondent and​
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240.1 electronically transmitted within three business days to the National Instant Criminal​

240.2 Background Check System. When an order expires or is terminated by the court, the court​

240.3 must submit a request that the order be removed from the National Instant Background​

240.4 Check System. Each appropriate law enforcement agency shall make available to other law​

240.5 enforcement officers, through a system for verification, information as to the existence and​

240.6 status of any extreme risk protection order issued under sections 624.7171 to 624.7178.​

240.7 Subd. 5. Mental health professionals. When a mental health professional has a statutory​

240.8 duty to warn another of a client's serious threat of physically violent behavior or determines​

240.9 that a client presents a significant risk of suicide by possessing a firearm, the mental health​

240.10 professional must communicate the threat or risk to the sheriff of the county where the client​

240.11 resides and make a recommendation to the sheriff regarding the client's fitness to possess​

240.12 firearms.​

240.13 Sec. 3. [624.7172] EXTREME RISK PROTECTION ORDERS ISSUED AFTER​

240.14 HEARING.​

240.15 Subdivision 1. Hearing. (a) Upon receipt of the petition for an order after a hearing, the​

240.16 court must schedule and hold a hearing within 14 days from the date the petition was​

240.17 received.​

240.18 (b) The court shall advise the petitioner of the right to request an emergency extreme​

240.19 risk protection order under section 624.7174 separately from or simultaneously with the​

240.20 petition under this subdivision.​

240.21 (c) The petitioning agency shall be responsible for service of an extreme risk protection​

240.22 order issued by the court and shall further be the agency responsible for the execution of​

240.23 any legal process required for the seizure and storage of firearms subject to the order. Nothing​

240.24 in this provision limits the ability of the law enforcement agency of record from cooperating​

240.25 with other law enforcement entities. When a court issues an extreme risk protection order​

240.26 for a person who resides on Tribal territory, the chief law enforcement officer of the law​

240.27 enforcement agency responsible for serving the order must request the assistance and counsel​

240.28 of the appropriate Tribal police department prior to serving the respondent. When the​

240.29 petitioner is a family or household member of the respondent, the primary law enforcement​

240.30 agency serving the jurisdiction of residency of the respondent shall be responsible for the​

240.31 execution of any legal process required for the seizure and storage of firearms subject to​

240.32 the order.​

240.33 (d) Personal service of notice for the hearing may be made upon the respondent at any​

240.34 time up to 48 hours prior to the time set for the hearing, provided that the respondent at the​
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241.1 hearing may request a continuance of up to 14 days if the respondent is served less than​

241.2 five days prior to the hearing, which continuance shall be granted unless there are compelling​

241.3 reasons not to do so. If the court grants the requested continuance, and an existing emergency​

241.4 order under section 624.7174 will expire due to the continuance, the court shall also issue​

241.5 a written order continuing the emergency order pending the new time set for the hearing.​

241.6 (e) If personal service cannot be made, the court may order service of the petition and​

241.7 any order issued under this section by alternate means. The application for alternate service​

241.8 must include the last known location of the respondent; the petitioner's most recent contacts​

241.9 with the respondent; the last known location of the respondent's employment; the names​

241.10 and locations of the respondent's parents, siblings, children, and other close relatives; the​

241.11 names and locations of other persons who are likely to know the respondent's whereabouts;​

241.12 and a description of efforts to locate those persons. The court shall consider the length of​

241.13 time the respondent's location has been unknown, the likelihood that the respondent's location​

241.14 will become known, the nature of the relief sought, and the nature of efforts made to locate​

241.15 the respondent. The court shall order service by first class mail, forwarding address requested,​

241.16 to any addresses where there is a reasonable possibility that mail or information will be​

241.17 forwarded or communicated to the respondent. The court may also order publication, within​

241.18 or without the state, but only if it might reasonably succeed in notifying the respondent of​

241.19 the proceeding. Service shall be deemed complete 14 days after mailing or 14 days after​

241.20 court-ordered publication.​

241.21 (f) When a petitioner who is not the sheriff of the county where the respondent resides,​

241.22 the sheriff's designee, or a family or household member files a petition, the petitioner must​

241.23 provide notice of the action to the sheriff of the county where the respondent resides. When​

241.24 a family or household member is the petitioner, the court must provide notice of the action​

241.25 to the sheriff of the county where the respondent resides.​

241.26 Subd. 2. Relief by court. (a) At the hearing, the petitioner must prove by clear and​

241.27 convincing evidence that the respondent poses a significant danger to other persons or is at​

241.28 significant risk of suicide by possessing a firearm.​

241.29 (b) In determining whether to grant the order after a hearing, the court shall consider​

241.30 evidence of the following, whether or not the petitioner has provided evidence of the same:​

241.31 (1) a history of threats or acts of violence by the respondent directed toward another​

241.32 person;​

241.33 (2) the history of use, attempted use, or threatened use of physical force by the respondent​

241.34 against another person;​
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242.1 (3) a violation of any court order, including but not limited to orders issued under sections​

242.2 624.7171 to 624.7178 or chapter 260C or 518B;​

242.3 (4) a prior arrest for a felony offense;​

242.4 (5) a conviction or prior arrest for a violent misdemeanor offense, for a stalking offense​

242.5 under section 609.749, or for domestic assault under section 609.2242;​

242.6 (6) a conviction for an offense of cruelty to animals under chapter 343;​

242.7 (7) the unlawful and reckless use, display, or brandishing of a firearm by the respondent;​

242.8 (8) suicide attempts by the respondent or a serious mental illness; and​

242.9 (9) whether the respondent is named in an existing order in effect under sections 624.7171​

242.10 to 624.7178 or chapter 260C or 518B, or party to a pending lawsuit, complaint, petition, or​

242.11 other action under sections 624.7171 to 624.7178 or chapter 518B.​

242.12 (c) In determining whether to grant the order after a hearing, the court may:​

242.13 (1) subpoena peace officers who have had contact with the respondent to provide written​

242.14 or sworn testimony regarding the officer's contacts with the respondent; and​

242.15 (2) consider any other evidence that bears on whether the respondent poses a danger to​

242.16 others or is at risk of suicide.​

242.17 (d) If the court finds there is clear and convincing evidence to issue an extreme risk​

242.18 protection order, the court shall issue the order prohibiting the person from possessing or​

242.19 purchasing a firearm for the duration of the order. The court shall inform the respondent​

242.20 that the respondent is prohibited from possessing or purchasing firearms and shall issue a​

242.21 transfer order under section 624.7175. The court shall also give notice to the county attorney's​

242.22 office, which may take action as it deems appropriate.​

242.23 (e) The court shall determine the length of time the order is in effect, but may not set​

242.24 the length of time for less than six months or more than one year, subject to renewal or​

242.25 extension under section 624.7173.​

242.26 (f) If there is no existing emergency order under section 624.7174 at the time an order​

242.27 is granted under this section, the court shall determine by clear and convincing evidence​

242.28 whether the respondent presents an immediate and present danger of bodily harm. If the​

242.29 court so determines, the transfer order shall include the provisions described in section​

242.30 624.7175, paragraph (d).​

242.31 (g) If, after a hearing, the court does not issue an order of protection, the court shall​

242.32 vacate any emergency extreme risk protection order currently in effect.​
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243.1 (h) A respondent may waive the respondent's right to contest the hearing and consent​

243.2 to the court's imposition of an extreme risk protection order. The court shall seal the petition​

243.3 filed under this section and section 624.7144 if a respondent who consents to imposition of​

243.4 an extreme risk protection order requests that the petition be sealed, unless the court finds​

243.5 that there is clear and convincing evidence that the interests of the public and public safety​

243.6 outweigh the disadvantages to the respondent of not sealing the petition. All extreme risk​

243.7 protection orders based on the respondent being a danger to others shall remain public.​

243.8 Extreme risk protection orders issued for respondents who are solely at risk of suicide shall​

243.9 not be public.​

243.10 Sec. 4. [624.7173] SUBSEQUENT EXTENSIONS AND TERMINATION.​

243.11 (a) Upon application by any party entitled to petition for an order under section 624.7172,​

243.12 and after notice to the respondent and a hearing, the court may extend the relief granted in​

243.13 an existing order granted after a hearing under section 624.7172. Application for an extension​

243.14 may be made any time within the three months before the expiration of the existing order.​

243.15 The court may extend the order if the court makes the same findings by clear and convincing​

243.16 evidence as required for granting of an initial order under section 624.7172, subdivision 2,​

243.17 paragraph (d). The minimum length of time of an extension is six months and the maximum​

243.18 length of time of an extension is one year. The court shall consider the same types of evidence​

243.19 as required for the initial order under section 624.7172, subdivision 2, paragraphs (b) and​

243.20 (c).​

243.21 (b) Upon application by the respondent to an order issued under section 624.7172, the​

243.22 court may terminate an order after a hearing at which the respondent shall bear the burden​

243.23 of proving by clear and convincing evidence that the respondent does not pose a significant​

243.24 danger to other persons or is at significant risk of suicide by possessing a firearm. Application​

243.25 for termination may be made one time for each year an order is in effect. If an order has​

243.26 been issued for a period of six months, the respondent may apply for termination one time.​

243.27 Sec. 5. [624.7174] EMERGENCY ISSUANCE OF EXTREME RISK PROTECTION​

243.28 ORDER.​

243.29 (a) In determining whether to grant an emergency extreme risk protection order, the​

243.30 court shall consider evidence of all facts identified in section 624.7172, subdivision 2,​

243.31 paragraphs (b) and (c).​

243.32 (b) The court shall advise the petitioner of the right to request an order after a hearing​

243.33 under section 624.7172 separately from or simultaneously with the petition.​
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244.1 (c) If the court finds there is probable cause that (1) the respondent poses a significant​

244.2 danger of bodily harm to other persons or is at significant risk of suicide by possessing a​

244.3 firearm, and (2) the respondent presents an immediate and present danger of either bodily​

244.4 harm to others or of taking their life, the court shall issue an ex parte emergency order​

244.5 prohibiting the respondent from possessing or purchasing a firearm for the duration of the​

244.6 order. The order shall inform the respondent that the respondent is prohibited from possessing​

244.7 or purchasing firearms and shall issue a transfer order under section 624.7175, paragraph​

244.8 (d).​

244.9 (d) A finding by the court that there is a basis for issuing an emergency extreme risk​

244.10 protection order constitutes a finding that sufficient reasons exist not to require notice under​

244.11 applicable court rules governing applications for ex parte relief.​

244.12 (e) The emergency order shall have a fixed period of 14 days unless a hearing is set​

244.13 under section 624.7172 on an earlier date, in which case the order shall expire upon a judge's​

244.14 finding that no order is issued under section 624.7172.​

244.15 (f) Except as provided in paragraph (g), the respondent shall be personally served​

244.16 immediately with a copy of the emergency order and a copy of the petition and, if a hearing​

244.17 is requested by the petitioner under section 624.7172, notice of the date set for the hearing.​

244.18 If the petitioner does not request a hearing under section 624.7172, an order served on a​

244.19 respondent under this section must include a notice advising the respondent of the right to​

244.20 request a hearing challenging the issuance of the emergency order, and must be accompanied​

244.21 by a form that can be used by the respondent to request a hearing.​

244.22 (g) Service of the emergency order may be made by alternate service as provided under​

244.23 section 624.7172, subdivision 1, paragraph (e), provided that the petitioner files the affidavit​

244.24 required under that subdivision. If the petitioner does not request a hearing under section​

244.25 624.7172, the petition mailed to the respondent's residence, if known, must be accompanied​

244.26 by the form for requesting a hearing described in paragraph (f).​

244.27 Sec. 6. [624.7175] TRANSFER OF FIREARMS.​

244.28 (a) Except as provided in paragraph (b), upon issuance of an extreme risk protection​

244.29 order, the court shall direct the respondent to transfer any firearms the person possesses as​

244.30 soon as reasonably practicable, but in no case later than 24 hours, to a federally licensed​

244.31 firearms dealer or a law enforcement agency. If the respondent elects to transfer the​

244.32 respondent's firearms to a law enforcement agency, the agency must accept the transfer.​

244.33 The transfer may be permanent or temporary. A temporary firearm transfer only entitles​

244.34 the receiving party to possess the firearm and does not transfer ownership or title. If the​
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245.1 respondent makes a temporary transfer, a federally licensed firearms dealer or law​

245.2 enforcement agency may charge the respondent a reasonable fee to store the firearms and​

245.3 may establish policies for disposal of abandoned firearms, provided these policies require​

245.4 that the respondent be notified prior to disposal of abandoned firearms. If a respondent​

245.5 permanently transfers the respondent's firearms to a law enforcement agency, the agency​

245.6 is not required to compensate the respondent and may charge the respondent a reasonable​

245.7 processing fee.​

245.8 (b) A person directed to transfer any firearms pursuant to paragraph (a) may transfer​

245.9 any antique firearm, as defined in United States Code, title 18, section 921, paragraph (a),​

245.10 clause (16), as amended, or a curio or relic as defined in Code of Federal Regulations, title​

245.11 27, section 478.11, as amended, to a relative who does not live with the respondent after​

245.12 confirming that the relative may lawfully own or possess a firearm.​

245.13 (c) The respondent must file proof of transfer as provided in this paragraph.​

245.14 (1) A law enforcement agency or federally licensed firearms dealer accepting transfer​

245.15 of a firearm pursuant to this section shall provide proof of transfer to the respondent. The​

245.16 proof of transfer must specify whether the firearms were permanently or temporarily​

245.17 transferred and must include the name of the respondent, date of transfer, and the serial​

245.18 number, manufacturer, and model of all transferred firearms. If transfer is made to a federally​

245.19 licensed firearms dealer, the respondent shall, within two business days after being served​

245.20 with the order, file a copy of proof of transfer with the law enforcement agency and attest​

245.21 that all firearms owned or possessed at the time of the order have been transferred in​

245.22 accordance with this section and that the person currently does not possess any firearms. If​

245.23 the respondent claims not to own or possess firearms, the respondent shall file a declaration​

245.24 of nonpossession with the law enforcement agency attesting that, at the time of the order,​

245.25 the respondent neither owned nor possessed any firearms, and that the respondent currently​

245.26 neither owns nor possesses any firearms. If the transfer is made to a relative pursuant to​

245.27 paragraph (b), the relative must sign an affidavit under oath before a notary public either​

245.28 acknowledging that the respondent permanently transferred the respondent's antique firearms,​

245.29 curios, or relics to the relative or agreeing to temporarily store the respondent's antique​

245.30 firearms, curios, or relics until such time as the respondent is legally permitted to possess​

245.31 firearms. To the extent possible, the affidavit shall indicate the serial number, make, and​

245.32 model of all antique firearms, curios, or relics transferred by the respondent to the relative.​

245.33 (2) The court shall seal affidavits, proofs of transfer, and declarations of nonpossession​

245.34 filed pursuant to this paragraph.​
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246.1 (d) If a court issues an emergency order under section 624.7174, or makes a finding of​

246.2 immediate and present danger under section 624.7172, subdivision 2, paragraph (f), and​

246.3 there is probable cause to believe the respondent possesses firearms, the court shall issue a​

246.4 search warrant to the local law enforcement agency to take possession of all firearms in the​

246.5 respondent's possession as soon as practicable. The chief law enforcement officer, or the​

246.6 chief's designee, shall notify the respondent of the option to voluntarily comply with the​

246.7 order by surrendering the respondent's firearms to law enforcement prior to execution of​

246.8 the search warrant. Only if the respondent refuses to voluntarily comply with the order to​

246.9 surrender the respondent's firearms shall the officer or officers tasked with serving the search​

246.10 warrant execute the warrant. The local law enforcement agency shall, upon written notice​

246.11 from the respondent, transfer the firearms to a federally licensed firearms dealer. Before a​

246.12 local law enforcement agency transfers a firearm under this paragraph, the agency shall​

246.13 require the federally licensed firearms dealer receiving the firearm to submit a proof of​

246.14 transfer that complies with the requirements for proofs of transfer established in paragraph​

246.15 (c). The agency shall file all proofs of transfer received by the court within two business​

246.16 days of the transfer. A federally licensed firearms dealer who accepts a firearm transfer​

246.17 pursuant to this paragraph shall comply with paragraphs (a) and (c) as if accepting transfer​

246.18 directly from the respondent. If the law enforcement agency does not receive written notice​

246.19 from the respondent within three business days, the agency may charge a reasonable fee to​

246.20 store the respondent's firearms. A law enforcement agency may establish policies for disposal​

246.21 of abandoned firearms, provided these policies require that the respondent be notified prior​

246.22 to disposal of abandoned firearms.​

246.23 Sec. 7. [624.7176] RETURN OF FIREARMS.​

246.24 Subdivision 1. Law enforcement. A local law enforcement agency that accepted​

246.25 temporary transfer of firearms under section 624.7175 shall return the firearms to the​

246.26 respondent after the expiration of the order, provided the respondent is not otherwise​

246.27 prohibited from possessing firearms under state or federal law.​

246.28 Subd. 2. Firearms dealer. A federally licensed firearms dealer that accepted temporary​

246.29 transfer of firearms under section 624.7175 shall return the transferred firearms to the​

246.30 respondent upon request after the expiration of the order, provided the respondent is not​

246.31 otherwise prohibited from possessing firearms under state or federal law. A federally licensed​

246.32 firearms dealer returning firearms shall comply with state and federal law as though​

246.33 transferring a firearm from the dealer's own inventory.​
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247.1 Sec. 8. [624.7177] OFFENSES.​

247.2 Subdivision 1. False information or harassment. A person who petitions for an extreme​

247.3 risk protection order under section 624.7172 or 624.7174, knowing any information in the​

247.4 petition to be materially false or with the intent to harass, abuse, or threaten, is guilty of a​

247.5 gross misdemeanor.​

247.6 Subd. 2. Violation of order. A person who possesses a firearm and knows or should​

247.7 have known that the person is prohibited from doing so by an extreme risk protection order​

247.8 under section 624.7172 or 624.7174, or by an order of protection granted by a judge or​

247.9 referee pursuant to a substantially similar law of another state, is guilty of a misdemeanor​

247.10 and shall be prohibited from possessing firearms for a period of five years. Each extreme​

247.11 risk protection order granted under this chapter must contain a conspicuous notice to the​

247.12 respondent regarding the penalty for violation of the order.​

247.13 Sec. 9. [624.7178] LIABILITY PROTECTION.​

247.14 Subdivision 1. Liability protection for petition. A chief law enforcement officer, the​

247.15 chief law enforcement officer's designee, or a city or county attorney who, in good faith,​

247.16 decides not to petition for an extreme risk protection order or emergency extreme risk​

247.17 protection order shall be immune from criminal or civil liability.​

247.18 Subd. 2. Liability protection for storage of firearms. A law enforcement agency shall​

247.19 be immune from civil or criminal liability for any damage or deterioration of firearms,​

247.20 ammunition, or weapons stored or transported pursuant to section 624.7175. This subdivision​

247.21 shall not apply if the damage or deterioration occurred as a result of recklessness, gross​

247.22 negligence, or intentional misconduct by the law enforcement agency.​

247.23 Subd. 3. Liability protection for harm following service of an order or execution of​

247.24 a search warrant. A peace officer, law enforcement agency, and the state or a political​

247.25 subdivision by which a peace officer is employed has immunity from any liability, civil or​

247.26 criminal, for harm caused by a person who is the subject of an extreme risk protection order,​

247.27 a search warrant issued pursuant to section 624.7175, paragraph (d), or both, after service​

247.28 of the order or execution of the warrant, whichever comes first, if the peace officer acts in​

247.29 good faith in serving the order or executing the warrant.​

247.30 Subd. 4. Liability protection for mental health professionals. A mental health​

247.31 professional who provides notice to the sheriff under section 626.7171, subdivision 5, is​

247.32 immune from monetary liability and no cause of action, or disciplinary action by the person's​

247.33 licensing board may arise against the mental health professional for disclosure of confidences​
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248.1 to the sheriff, for failure to disclose confidences to the sheriff, or for erroneous disclosure​

248.2 of confidences to the sheriff in a good faith effort to warn against or take precautions against​

248.3 a client's violent behavior or threat of suicide.​

248.4 Sec. 10. [626.8481] EXTREME RISK PROTECTION ORDER; DEVELOPMENT​

248.5 OF MODEL PROCEDURES.​

248.6 By December 1, 2023, the Peace Officer Standards and Training Board, after consulting​

248.7 with the National Alliance on Mental Illness Minnesota, the Minnesota County Attorneys​

248.8 Association, the Minnesota Sheriffs' Association, the Minnesota Chiefs of Police Association,​

248.9 and the Minnesota Police and Peace Officers Association, shall develop model procedures​

248.10 and standards for the storage of firearms transferred to law enforcement under section​

248.11 624.7175.​

248.12 Sec. 11. FEDERAL BYRNE STATE CRISIS INTERVENTION FORMULA​

248.13 PROGRAM.​

248.14 The Department of Public Safety is designated the state agency with the exclusive​

248.15 authority to apply for federal Byrne State Crisis Intervention Formula Program grants.​

248.16 Sec. 12. EFFECTIVE DATE.​

248.17 Sections 1 to 9 are effective January 1, 2024, and apply to firearm permit background​

248.18 checks made on or after that date.​

248.19 ARTICLE 13​

248.20 CONTROLLED SUBSTANCES POLICY​

248.21 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 121A.28, is amended to read:​

248.22 121A.28 LAW ENFORCEMENT RECORDS.​

248.23 A law enforcement agency shall provide notice of any drug incident occurring within​

248.24 the agency's jurisdiction, in which the agency has probable cause to believe a student violated​

248.25 section 152.021, 152.022, 152.023, 152.024, 152.025, 152.0262, 152.027, 152.092, 152.097,​

248.26 or 340A.503, subdivision 1, 2, or 3. The notice shall be in writing and shall be provided,​

248.27 within two weeks after an incident occurs, to the chemical abuse preassessment team in the​

248.28 school where the student is enrolled.​

248.29 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.​

248​Article 13 Section 1.​
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249.1 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 151.01, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

249.2 read:​

249.3 Subd. 43. Syringe services provider. "Syringe services provider" means a​

249.4 community-based public health program that offers cost-free comprehensive harm reduction​

249.5 services which may include: providing sterile needles, syringes, and other injection​

249.6 equipment; making safe disposal containers for needles and syringes available; educating​

249.7 participants and others about overdose prevention, safer injection practices, and infectious​

249.8 disease prevention; providing blood-borne pathogen testing or referrals to blood-borne​

249.9 pathogen testing; offering referrals to substance use disorder treatment, including substance​

249.10 use disorder treatment with medications for opioid use disorder; and providing referrals to​

249.11 medical treatment and services, mental health programs and services, and other social​

249.12 services.​

249.13 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.​

249.14 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 151.40, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

249.15 Subdivision 1. Generally. It is unlawful for any person to possess, control, manufacture,​

249.16 or sell, furnish, dispense, or otherwise dispose of hypodermic syringes or needles or any​

249.17 instrument or implement which can be adapted for subcutaneous injections, except for:​

249.18 (1) the following persons when acting in the course of their practice or employment:​

249.19 (i) licensed practitioners and their employees, agents, or delegates;​

249.20 (ii) licensed pharmacies and their employees or agents;​

249.21 (iii) licensed pharmacists;​

249.22 (iv) registered nurses and licensed practical nurses;​

249.23 (v) registered medical technologists;​

249.24 (vi) medical interns and residents;​

249.25 (vii) licensed drug wholesalers and their employees or agents;​

249.26 (viii) licensed hospitals;​

249.27 (ix) bona fide hospitals in which animals are treated;​

249.28 (x) licensed nursing homes;​

249.29 (xi) licensed morticians;​

249.30 (xii) syringe and needle manufacturers and their dealers and agents;​

249​Article 13 Sec. 3.​
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250.1 (xiii) persons engaged in animal husbandry;​

250.2 (xiv) clinical laboratories and their employees;​

250.3 (xv) persons engaged in bona fide research or education or industrial use of hypodermic​

250.4 syringes and needles provided such persons cannot use hypodermic syringes and needles​

250.5 for the administration of drugs to human beings unless such drugs are prescribed, dispensed,​

250.6 and administered by a person lawfully authorized to do so; and​

250.7 (xvi) persons who administer drugs pursuant to an order or direction of a licensed​

250.8 practitioner; and​

250.9 (xvii) syringe services providers and their employees and agents;​

250.10 (2) a person who self-administers drugs pursuant to either the prescription or the direction​

250.11 of a practitioner, or a family member, caregiver, or other individual who is designated by​

250.12 such person to assist the person in obtaining and using needles and syringes for the​

250.13 administration of such drugs;​

250.14 (3) a person who is disposing of hypodermic syringes and needles through an activity​

250.15 or program developed under section 325F.785; or​

250.16 (4) a person who sells, possesses, or handles hypodermic syringes and needles pursuant​

250.17 to subdivision 2.; or​

250.18 (5) a participant receiving services from a syringe services provider, who accesses or​

250.19 receives new syringes or needles from a syringe services provider or returns used syringes​

250.20 or needles to a syringe services provider.​

250.21 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.​

250.22 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 151.40, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

250.23 Subd. 2. Sales of limited quantities of clean needles and syringes. (a) A registered​

250.24 pharmacy or a licensed pharmacist may sell, without the prescription or direction of a​

250.25 practitioner, unused hypodermic needles and syringes in quantities of ten or fewer, provided​

250.26 the pharmacy or pharmacist complies with all of the requirements of this subdivision.​

250.27 (b) At any location where hypodermic needles and syringes are kept for retail sale under​

250.28 this subdivision, the needles and syringes shall be stored in a manner that makes them​

250.29 available only to authorized personnel and not openly available to customers.​

250​Article 13 Sec. 4.​
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251.1 (c) A registered pharmacy or licensed pharmacist that sells hypodermic needles or​

251.2 syringes under this subdivision may give the purchaser the materials developed by the​

251.3 commissioner of health under section 325F.785.​

251.4 (d) A registered pharmacy or licensed pharmacist that sells hypodermic needles or​

251.5 syringes under this subdivision must certify to the commissioner of health participation in​

251.6 an activity, including but not limited to those developed under section 325F.785, that supports​

251.7 proper disposal of used hypodermic needles or syringes.​

251.8 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 152.01, subdivision 12a, is amended to read:​

251.9 Subd. 12a. Park zone. "Park zone" means an area designated as a public park by the​

251.10 federal government, the state, a local unit of government, a park district board, or a park​

251.11 and recreation board in a city of the first class, or a federally recognized Indian Tribe. "Park​

251.12 zone" includes the area within 300 feet or one city block, whichever distance is greater, of​

251.13 the park boundary.​

251.14 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to crimes​

251.15 committed on or after that date.​

251.16 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 152.01, subdivision 18, is amended to read:​

251.17 Subd. 18. Drug paraphernalia. (a) Except as otherwise provided in paragraph (b), "drug​

251.18 paraphernalia" means all equipment, products, and materials of any kind, except those items​

251.19 used in conjunction with permitted uses of controlled substances under this chapter or the​

251.20 Uniform Controlled Substances Act, which are knowingly or intentionally used primarily​

251.21 in (1) manufacturing a controlled substance, (2) injecting, ingesting, inhaling, or otherwise​

251.22 introducing into the human body a controlled substance, or (3) testing the strength,​

251.23 effectiveness, or purity of a controlled substance, or (4) enhancing the effect of a controlled​

251.24 substance.​

251.25 (b) "Drug paraphernalia" does not include the possession, manufacture, delivery, or sale​

251.26 of: (1) hypodermic needles or syringes in accordance with section 151.40, subdivision 2​

251.27 hypodermic syringes or needles or any instrument or implement which can be adapted for​

251.28 subcutaneous injections; or (2) products that detect the presence of fentanyl or a fentanyl​

251.29 analog in a controlled substance.​

251.30 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to crimes​

251.31 committed on or after that date.​

251​Article 13 Sec. 6.​
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252.1 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 152.01, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

252.2 read:​

252.3 Subd. 25. Fentanyl. As used in sections 152.021 to 152.025, "fentanyl" includes fentanyl,​

252.4 carfentanil, and any fentanyl analogs and fentanyl-related substances listed in section 152.02,​

252.5 subdivisions 2 and 3.​

252.6 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

252.7 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 152.021, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

252.8 Subdivision 1. Sale crimes. A person is guilty of controlled substance crime in the first​

252.9 degree if:​

252.10 (1) on one or more occasions within a 90-day period the person unlawfully sells one or​

252.11 more mixtures of a total weight of 17 grams or more containing cocaine or methamphetamine;​

252.12 (2) on one or more occasions within a 90-day period the person unlawfully sells one or​

252.13 more mixtures of a total weight of ten grams or more containing cocaine or methamphetamine​

252.14 and:​

252.15 (i) the person or an accomplice possesses on their person or within immediate reach, or​

252.16 uses, whether by brandishing, displaying, threatening with, or otherwise employing, a​

252.17 firearm; or​

252.18 (ii) the offense involves two aggravating factors;​

252.19 (3) on one or more occasions within a 90-day period the person unlawfully sells one or​

252.20 more mixtures of a total weight of ten grams or more, or 40 dosage units or more, containing​

252.21 heroin or fentanyl;​

252.22 (4) on one or more occasions within a 90-day period the person unlawfully sells one or​

252.23 more mixtures of a total weight of 50 grams or more containing a narcotic drug other than​

252.24 cocaine, heroin, fentanyl, or methamphetamine;​

252.25 (5) on one or more occasions within a 90-day period the person unlawfully sells one or​

252.26 more mixtures of a total weight of 50 grams or more containing amphetamine, phencyclidine,​

252.27 or hallucinogen or, if the controlled substance is packaged in dosage units, equaling 200 or​

252.28 more dosage units; or​

252.29 (6) on one or more occasions within a 90-day period the person unlawfully sells one or​

252.30 more mixtures of a total weight of 25 kilograms or more containing marijuana or​

252.31 Tetrahydrocannabinols.​

252​Article 13 Sec. 8.​
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253.1 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment and​

253.2 applies to crimes committed on or after that date.​

253.3 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 152.021, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

253.4 Subd. 2. Possession crimes. (a) A person is guilty of a controlled substance crime in​

253.5 the first degree if:​

253.6 (1) the person unlawfully possesses one or more mixtures of a total weight of 50 grams​

253.7 or more containing cocaine or methamphetamine;​

253.8 (2) the person unlawfully possesses one or more mixtures of a total weight of 25 grams​

253.9 or more containing cocaine or methamphetamine and:​

253.10 (i) the person or an accomplice possesses on their person or within immediate reach, or​

253.11 uses, whether by brandishing, displaying, threatening with, or otherwise employing, a​

253.12 firearm; or​

253.13 (ii) the offense involves two aggravating factors;​

253.14 (3) the person unlawfully possesses one or more mixtures of a total weight of 25 grams​

253.15 or more, or 100 dosage units or more, containing heroin or fentanyl;​

253.16 (4) the person unlawfully possesses one or more mixtures of a total weight of 500 grams​

253.17 or more containing a narcotic drug other than cocaine, heroin, fentanyl, or methamphetamine;​

253.18 (5) the person unlawfully possesses one or more mixtures of a total weight of 500 grams​

253.19 or more containing amphetamine, phencyclidine, or hallucinogen or, if the controlled​

253.20 substance is packaged in dosage units, equaling 500 or more dosage units; or​

253.21 (6) the person unlawfully possesses one or more mixtures of a total weight of 50​

253.22 kilograms or more containing marijuana or Tetrahydrocannabinols, or possesses 500 or​

253.23 more marijuana plants.​

253.24 (b) For the purposes of this subdivision, the weight of fluid used in a water pipe may​

253.25 not be considered in measuring the weight of a mixture except in cases where the mixture​

253.26 contains four or more fluid ounces of fluid.​

253.27 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment and​

253.28 applies to crimes committed on or after that date.​

253​Article 13 Sec. 9.​
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254.1 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 152.022, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

254.2 Subdivision 1. Sale crimes. A person is guilty of controlled substance crime in the​

254.3 second degree if:​

254.4 (1) on one or more occasions within a 90-day period the person unlawfully sells one or​

254.5 more mixtures of a total weight of ten grams or more containing a narcotic drug other than​

254.6 heroin or fentanyl;​

254.7 (2) on one or more occasions within a 90-day period the person unlawfully sells one or​

254.8 more mixtures of a total weight of three grams or more containing cocaine or​

254.9 methamphetamine and:​

254.10 (i) the person or an accomplice possesses on their person or within immediate reach, or​

254.11 uses, whether by brandishing, displaying, threatening with, or otherwise employing, a​

254.12 firearm; or​

254.13 (ii) the offense involves three aggravating factors;​

254.14 (3) on one or more occasions within a 90-day period the person unlawfully sells one or​

254.15 more mixtures of a total weight of three grams or more, or 12 dosage units or more,​

254.16 containing heroin or fentanyl;​

254.17 (4) on one or more occasions within a 90-day period the person unlawfully sells one or​

254.18 more mixtures of a total weight of ten grams or more containing amphetamine, phencyclidine,​

254.19 or hallucinogen or, if the controlled substance is packaged in dosage units, equaling 50 or​

254.20 more dosage units;​

254.21 (5) on one or more occasions within a 90-day period the person unlawfully sells one or​

254.22 more mixtures of a total weight of ten kilograms or more containing marijuana or​

254.23 Tetrahydrocannabinols;​

254.24 (6) the person unlawfully sells any amount of a Schedule I or II narcotic drug to a person​

254.25 under the age of 18, or conspires with or employs a person under the age of 18 to unlawfully​

254.26 sell the substance; or​

254.27 (7) the person unlawfully sells any of the following in a school zone, a park zone, a​

254.28 public housing zone, or a drug treatment facility:​

254.29 (i) any amount of a Schedule I or II narcotic drug, lysergic acid diethylamide (LSD),​

254.30 3,4-methylenedioxy amphetamine, or 3,4-methylenedioxymethamphetamine;​

254.31 (ii) one or more mixtures containing methamphetamine or amphetamine; or​

254​Article 13 Sec. 10.​

HOUSE RESEARCH JD/RK H2890DE1​03/26/23 03:25 pm ​



255.1 (iii) one or more mixtures of a total weight of five kilograms or more containing marijuana​

255.2 or Tetrahydrocannabinols.​

255.3 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment and​

255.4 applies to crimes committed on or after that date.​

255.5 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 152.022, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

255.6 Subd. 2. Possession crimes. (a) A person is guilty of controlled substance crime in the​

255.7 second degree if:​

255.8 (1) the person unlawfully possesses one or more mixtures of a total weight of 25 grams​

255.9 or more containing cocaine or methamphetamine;​

255.10 (2) the person unlawfully possesses one or more mixtures of a total weight of ten grams​

255.11 or more containing cocaine or methamphetamine and:​

255.12 (i) the person or an accomplice possesses on their person or within immediate reach, or​

255.13 uses, whether by brandishing, displaying, threatening with, or otherwise employing, a​

255.14 firearm; or​

255.15 (ii) the offense involves three aggravating factors;​

255.16 (3) the person unlawfully possesses one or more mixtures of a total weight of six grams​

255.17 or more, or 50 dosage units or more, containing heroin or fentanyl;​

255.18 (4) the person unlawfully possesses one or more mixtures of a total weight of 50 grams​

255.19 or more containing a narcotic drug other than cocaine, heroin, fentanyl, or methamphetamine;​

255.20 (5) the person unlawfully possesses one or more mixtures of a total weight of 50 grams​

255.21 or more containing amphetamine, phencyclidine, or hallucinogen or, if the controlled​

255.22 substance is packaged in dosage units, equaling 100 or more dosage units; or​

255.23 (6) the person unlawfully possesses one or more mixtures of a total weight of 25​

255.24 kilograms or more containing marijuana or Tetrahydrocannabinols, or possesses 100 or​

255.25 more marijuana plants.​

255.26 (b) For the purposes of this subdivision, the weight of fluid used in a water pipe may​

255.27 not be considered in measuring the weight of a mixture except in cases where the mixture​

255.28 contains four or more fluid ounces of fluid.​

255.29 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment and​

255.30 applies to crimes committed on or after that date.​

255​Article 13 Sec. 11.​
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256.1 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 152.023, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

256.2 Subd. 2. Possession crimes. (a) A person is guilty of controlled substance crime in the​

256.3 third degree if:​

256.4 (1) on one or more occasions within a 90-day period the person unlawfully possesses​

256.5 one or more mixtures of a total weight of ten grams or more containing a narcotic drug other​

256.6 than heroin or fentanyl;​

256.7 (2) on one or more occasions within a 90-day period the person unlawfully possesses​

256.8 one or more mixtures of: (i) a total weight of three grams or more containing heroin; or (ii)​

256.9 a total weight of five grams or more, or 25 dosage units or more, containing fentanyl;​

256.10 (3) on one or more occasions within a 90-day period the person unlawfully possesses​

256.11 one or more mixtures containing a narcotic drug other than heroin or fentanyl, it is packaged​

256.12 in dosage units, and equals 50 or more dosage units;​

256.13 (4) on one or more occasions within a 90-day period the person unlawfully possesses​

256.14 any amount of a schedule I or II narcotic drug or five or more dosage units of lysergic acid​

256.15 diethylamide (LSD), 3,4-methylenedioxy amphetamine, or​

256.16 3,4-methylenedioxymethamphetamine in a school zone, a park zone, a public housing zone,​

256.17 or a drug treatment facility;​

256.18 (5) on one or more occasions within a 90-day period the person unlawfully possesses​

256.19 one or more mixtures of a total weight of ten kilograms or more containing marijuana or​

256.20 Tetrahydrocannabinols; or​

256.21 (6) the person unlawfully possesses one or more mixtures containing methamphetamine​

256.22 or amphetamine in a school zone, a park zone, a public housing zone, or a drug treatment​

256.23 facility.​

256.24 (b) For the purposes of this subdivision, the weight of fluid used in a water pipe may​

256.25 not be considered in measuring the weight of a mixture except in cases where the mixture​

256.26 contains four or more fluid ounces of fluid.​

256.27 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment and​

256.28 applies to crimes committed on or after that date.​

256.29 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 152.025, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

256.30 Subd. 2. Possession and other crimes. A person is guilty of controlled substance crime​

256.31 in the fifth degree and upon conviction may be sentenced as provided in subdivision 4 if:​
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257.1 (1) the person unlawfully possesses one or more mixtures containing a controlled​

257.2 substance classified in Schedule I, II, III, or IV, except a small amount of marijuana or a​

257.3 residual amount of one or more mixtures of controlled substances contained in drug​

257.4 paraphernalia; or​

257.5 (2) the person procures, attempts to procure, possesses, or has control over a controlled​

257.6 substance by any of the following means:​

257.7 (i) fraud, deceit, misrepresentation, or subterfuge;​

257.8 (ii) using a false name or giving false credit; or​

257.9 (iii) falsely assuming the title of, or falsely representing any person to be, a manufacturer,​

257.10 wholesaler, pharmacist, physician, doctor of osteopathic medicine licensed to practice​

257.11 medicine, dentist, podiatrist, veterinarian, or other authorized person for the purpose of​

257.12 obtaining a controlled substance.​

257.13 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to crimes​

257.14 committed on or after that date.​

257.15 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 152.093, is amended to read:​

257.16 152.093 MANUFACTURE OR DELIVERY OF DRUG PARAPHERNALIA​

257.17 PROHIBITED.​

257.18 It is unlawful for any person knowingly or intentionally to deliver drug paraphernalia​

257.19 or knowingly or to intentionally to possess or manufacture drug paraphernalia for delivery.​

257.20 Any violation of this section is a misdemeanor.​

257.21 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to crimes​

257.22 committed on or after that date.​

257.23 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 152.205, is amended to read:​

257.24 152.205 LOCAL REGULATIONS.​

257.25 Sections 152.01, subdivision 18, and 152.092 152.093 to 152.095 do not preempt​

257.26 enforcement or preclude adoption of municipal or county ordinances prohibiting or otherwise​

257.27 regulating the manufacture, delivery, possession, or advertisement of drug paraphernalia.​

257.28 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.​

257​Article 13 Sec. 15.​
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258.1 Sec. 16. [626.8443] OPIATE ANTAGONISTS; TRAINING; CARRYING; USE.​

258.2 Subdivision 1. Training. A chief law enforcement officer must provide basic training​

258.3 to peace officers employed by the chief's agency on:​

258.4 (1) identifying persons who are suffering from narcotics overdoses; and​

258.5 (2) the proper use of opiate antagonists to treat a narcotics overdose.​

258.6 Subd. 2. Mandatory supply. A chief law enforcement officer must maintain a sufficient​

258.7 supply of opiate antagonists to ensure that officers employed by the chief's agency can​

258.8 satisfy the requirements of subdivision 3.​

258.9 Subd. 3. Mandatory carrying. Each on-duty peace officer who is assigned to respond​

258.10 to emergency calls must have at least two unexpired opiate antagonist doses readily available​

258.11 when the officer's shift begins. An officer who depletes their supply of opiate antagonists​

258.12 during the officer's shift shall replace the expended doses from the officer's agency's supply​

258.13 so long as replacing the doses will not compromise public safety.​

258.14 Subd. 4. Authorization of use. (a) A chief law enforcement officer must authorize peace​

258.15 officers employed by the chief's agency to perform administration of an opiate antagonist​

258.16 when an officer believes a person is suffering a narcotics overdose.​

258.17 (b) In order to administer opiate antagonists, a peace officer must comply with section​

258.18 151.37, subdivision 12, paragraph (b), clause (1).​

258.19 Sec. 17. REPEALER.​

258.20 Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 152.092, is repealed.​

258.21 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.​

258.22 ARTICLE 14​

258.23 CONTROLLED SUBSTANCES SCHEDULES​

258.24 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 152.02, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

258.25 Subd. 2. Schedule I. (a) Schedule I consists of the substances listed in this subdivision.​

258.26 (b) Opiates. Unless specifically excepted or unless listed in another schedule, any of the​

258.27 following substances, including their analogs, isomers, esters, ethers, salts, and salts of​

258.28 isomers, esters, and ethers, whenever the existence of the analogs, isomers, esters, ethers,​

258.29 and salts is possible:​

258.30 (1) acetylmethadol;​
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259.1 (2) allylprodine;​

259.2 (3) alphacetylmethadol (except levo-alphacetylmethadol, also known as levomethadyl​

259.3 acetate);​

259.4 (4) alphameprodine;​

259.5 (5) alphamethadol;​

259.6 (6) alpha-methylfentanyl benzethidine;​

259.7 (7) betacetylmethadol;​

259.8 (8) betameprodine;​

259.9 (9) betamethadol;​

259.10 (10) betaprodine;​

259.11 (11) clonitazene;​

259.12 (12) dextromoramide;​

259.13 (13) diampromide;​

259.14 (14) diethyliambutene;​

259.15 (15) difenoxin;​

259.16 (16) dimenoxadol;​

259.17 (17) dimepheptanol;​

259.18 (18) dimethyliambutene;​

259.19 (19) dioxaphetyl butyrate;​

259.20 (20) dipipanone;​

259.21 (21) ethylmethylthiambutene;​

259.22 (22) etonitazene;​

259.23 (23) etoxeridine;​

259.24 (24) furethidine;​

259.25 (25) hydroxypethidine;​

259.26 (26) ketobemidone;​

259.27 (27) levomoramide;​
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260.1 (28) levophenacylmorphan;​

260.2 (29) 3-methylfentanyl;​

260.3 (30) acetyl-alpha-methylfentanyl;​

260.4 (31) alpha-methylthiofentanyl;​

260.5 (32) benzylfentanyl beta-hydroxyfentanyl;​

260.6 (33) beta-hydroxy-3-methylfentanyl;​

260.7 (34) 3-methylthiofentanyl;​

260.8 (35) thenylfentanyl;​

260.9 (36) thiofentanyl;​

260.10 (37) para-fluorofentanyl;​

260.11 (38) morpheridine;​

260.12 (39) 1-methyl-4-phenyl-4-propionoxypiperidine;​

260.13 (40) noracymethadol;​

260.14 (41) norlevorphanol;​

260.15 (42) normethadone;​

260.16 (43) norpipanone;​

260.17 (44) 1-(2-phenylethyl)-4-phenyl-4-acetoxypiperidine (PEPAP);​

260.18 (45) phenadoxone;​

260.19 (46) phenampromide;​

260.20 (47) phenomorphan;​

260.21 (48) phenoperidine;​

260.22 (49) piritramide;​

260.23 (50) proheptazine;​

260.24 (51) properidine;​

260.25 (52) propiram;​

260.26 (53) racemoramide;​

260.27 (54) tilidine;​
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261.1 (55) trimeperidine;​

261.2 (56) N-(1-Phenethylpiperidin-4-yl)-N-phenylacetamide (acetyl fentanyl);​

261.3 (57) 3,4-dichloro-N-[(1R,2R)-2-(dimethylamino)cyclohexyl]-N-​

261.4 methylbenzamide(U47700);​

261.5 (58) N-phenyl-N-[1-(2-phenylethyl)piperidin-4-yl]furan-2-carboxamide(furanylfentanyl);​

261.6 (59) 4-(4-bromophenyl)-4-dimethylamino-1-phenethylcyclohexanol (bromadol);​

261.7 (60) N-(1-phenethylpiperidin-4-yl)-N-phenylcyclopropanecarboxamide (Cyclopropryl​

261.8 fentanyl);​

261.9 (61) N-(1-phenethylpiperidin-4-yl)-N-phenylbutanamide) (butyryl fentanyl);​

261.10 (62) 1-cyclohexyl-4-(1,2-diphenylethyl)piperazine) (MT-45);​

261.11 (63) N-(1-phenethylpiperidin-4-yl)-N-phenylcyclopentanecarboxamide (cyclopentyl​

261.12 fentanyl);​

261.13 (64) N-(1-phenethylpiperidin-4-yl)-N-phenylisobutyramide (isobutyryl fentanyl);​

261.14 (65) N-(1-phenethylpiperidin-4-yl)-N-phenylpentanamide (valeryl fentanyl);​

261.15 (66) N-(4-chlorophenyl)-N-(1-phenethylpiperidin-4-yl)isobutyramide​

261.16 (para-chloroisobutyryl fentanyl);​

261.17 (67) N-(4-fluorophenyl)-N-(1-phenethylpiperidin-4-yl)butyramide (para-fluorobutyryl​

261.18 fentanyl);​

261.19 (68) N-(4-methoxyphenyl)-N-(1-phenethylpiperidin-4-yl)butyramide​

261.20 (para-methoxybutyryl fentanyl);​

261.21 (69) N-(2-fluorophenyl)-2-methoxy-N-(1-phenethylpiperidin-4-yl)acetamide (ocfentanil);​

261.22 (70) N-(4-fluorophenyl)-N-(1-phenethylpiperidin-4-yl)isobutyramide (4-fluoroisobutyryl​

261.23 fentanyl or para-fluoroisobutyryl fentanyl);​

261.24 (71) N-(1-phenethylpiperidin-4-yl)-N-phenylacrylamide (acryl fentanyl or​

261.25 acryloylfentanyl);​

261.26 (72) 2-methoxy-N-(1-phenethylpiperidin-4-yl)-N-phenylacetamide (methoxyacetyl​

261.27 fentanyl);​

261.28 (73) N-(2-fluorophenyl)-N-(1-phenethylpiperidin-4-yl)propionamide (ortho-fluorofentanyl​

261.29 or 2-fluorofentanyl);​
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262.1 (74) N-(1-phenethylpiperidin-4-yl)-N-phenyltetrahydrofuran-2-carboxamide​

262.2 (tetrahydrofuranyl fentanyl); and​

262.3 (75) Fentanyl-related substances, their isomers, esters, ethers, salts and salts of isomers,​

262.4 esters and ethers, meaning any substance not otherwise listed under another federal​

262.5 Administration Controlled Substance Code Number or not otherwise listed in this section,​

262.6 and for which no exemption or approval is in effect under section 505 of the Federal Food,​

262.7 Drug, and Cosmetic Act, United States Code , title 21, section 355, that is structurally related​

262.8 to fentanyl by one or more of the following modifications:​

262.9 (i) replacement of the phenyl portion of the phenethyl group by any monocycle, whether​

262.10 or not further substituted in or on the monocycle;​

262.11 (ii) substitution in or on the phenethyl group with alkyl, alkenyl, alkoxyl, hydroxyl, halo,​

262.12 haloalkyl, amino, or nitro groups;​

262.13 (iii) substitution in or on the piperidine ring with alkyl, alkenyl, alkoxyl, ester, ether,​

262.14 hydroxyl, halo, haloalkyl, amino, or nitro groups;​

262.15 (iv) replacement of the aniline ring with any aromatic monocycle whether or not further​

262.16 substituted in or on the aromatic monocycle; or​

262.17 (v) replacement of the N-propionyl group by another acyl group.;​

262.18 (76) 1-(1-(1-(4-bromophenyl)ethyl)piperidin-4-yl)-1,3-​

262.19 dihydro-2H-benzo[d]imidazol-2-one (brorphine);​

262.20 (77) 4'-methyl acetyl fentanyl;​

262.21 (78) beta-hydroxythiofentanyl;​

262.22 (79) beta-methyl fentanyl;​

262.23 (80) beta'-phenyl fentanyl;​

262.24 (81) crotonyl fentanyl ((E)-N-(1-phenethylpiperidin-4-yl)-N-phenylbut-2-enamide);​

262.25 (82) cyclopropyl fentanyl​

262.26 (N-(1-phenethylpiperidin-4-yl)-N-phenylcyclopropanecarboxamide);​

262.27 (83) fentanyl carbamate;​

262.28 (84) isotonitazene (N,N-diethyl-2-(2-(4​

262.29 isopropoxybenzyl)-5-nitro-1H-benzimidazol-1-yl)ethan-1-amine);​

262.30 (85) para-fluoro furanyl fentanyl;​
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263.1 (86) para-methylfentanyl;​

263.2 (87) phenyl fentanyl;​

263.3 (88) ortho-fluoroacryl fentanyl;​

263.4 (89) ortho-fluorobutyryl fentanyl;​

263.5 (90) ortho-fluoroisobutyryl fentanyl;​

263.6 (91) ortho-methyl acetylfentanyl;​

263.7 (92) thiofuranyl fentanyl;​

263.8 (93) metonitazene​

263.9 (N,N-diethyl-2-(2-(4-methoxybenzyl)-5-nitro-1H-benzimidazol-1-yl)ethan-1-amine);​

263.10 (94) metodesnitazene​

263.11 (N,N-diethyl-2-(2-(4-methoxybenzyl)-1H-benzimidazol-1-yl)ethan-1-amine);​

263.12 (95) etodesnitazene; etazene​

263.13 (2-(2-(4-ethoxybenzyl)-1H-benzimidazol-1-yl)-N,N-diethylethan-1-amine);​

263.14 (96) protonitazene​

263.15 (N,N-diethyl-2-(5-nitro-2-(4-propoxybenzyl)-1H-benzimidazol-1-yl)ethan-1-amine);​

263.16 (97) butonitazene​

263.17 (2-(2-(4-butoxybenzyl)-5-nitro-1H-benzimidazol-1-yl)-N,N-diethylethan-1-amine);​

263.18 (98) flunitazene​

263.19 (N,N-diethyl-2-(2-(4-fluorobenzyl)-5-nitro-1H-benzimidazol-1-yl)ethan-1-amine); and​

263.20 (99) N-pyrrolidino etonitazene; etonitazepyne​

263.21 (2-(4-ethoxybenzyl)-5-nitro-1-(2-(pyrrolidin-1-yl)ethyl)-1H-benzimidazole).​

263.22 (c) Opium derivatives. Any of the following substances, their analogs, salts, isomers,​

263.23 and salts of isomers, unless specifically excepted or unless listed in another schedule,​

263.24 whenever the existence of the analogs, salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible:​

263.25 (1) acetorphine;​

263.26 (2) acetyldihydrocodeine;​

263.27 (3) benzylmorphine;​

263.28 (4) codeine methylbromide;​

263.29 (5) codeine-n-oxide;​
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264.1 (6) cyprenorphine;​

264.2 (7) desomorphine;​

264.3 (8) dihydromorphine;​

264.4 (9) drotebanol;​

264.5 (10) etorphine;​

264.6 (11) heroin;​

264.7 (12) hydromorphinol;​

264.8 (13) methyldesorphine;​

264.9 (14) methyldihydromorphine;​

264.10 (15) morphine methylbromide;​

264.11 (16) morphine methylsulfonate;​

264.12 (17) morphine-n-oxide;​

264.13 (18) myrophine;​

264.14 (19) nicocodeine;​

264.15 (20) nicomorphine;​

264.16 (21) normorphine;​

264.17 (22) pholcodine; and​

264.18 (23) thebacon.​

264.19 (d) Hallucinogens. Any material, compound, mixture or preparation which contains any​

264.20 quantity of the following substances, their analogs, salts, isomers (whether optical, positional,​

264.21 or geometric), and salts of isomers, unless specifically excepted or unless listed in another​

264.22 schedule, whenever the existence of the analogs, salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is​

264.23 possible:​

264.24 (1) methylenedioxy amphetamine;​

264.25 (2) methylenedioxymethamphetamine;​

264.26 (3) methylenedioxy-N-ethylamphetamine (MDEA);​

264.27 (4) n-hydroxy-methylenedioxyamphetamine;​

264.28 (5) 4-bromo-2,5-dimethoxyamphetamine (DOB);​
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265.1 (6) 2,5-dimethoxyamphetamine (2,5-DMA);​

265.2 (7) 4-methoxyamphetamine;​

265.3 (8) 5-methoxy-3, 4-methylenedioxyamphetamine;​

265.4 (9) alpha-ethyltryptamine;​

265.5 (10) bufotenine;​

265.6 (11) diethyltryptamine;​

265.7 (12) dimethyltryptamine;​

265.8 (13) 3,4,5-trimethoxyamphetamine;​

265.9 (14) 4-methyl-2, 5-dimethoxyamphetamine (DOM);​

265.10 (15) ibogaine;​

265.11 (16) lysergic acid diethylamide (LSD);​

265.12 (17) mescaline;​

265.13 (18) parahexyl;​

265.14 (19) N-ethyl-3-piperidyl benzilate;​

265.15 (20) N-methyl-3-piperidyl benzilate;​

265.16 (21) psilocybin;​

265.17 (22) psilocyn;​

265.18 (23) tenocyclidine (TPCP or TCP);​

265.19 (24) N-ethyl-1-phenyl-cyclohexylamine (PCE);​

265.20 (25) 1-(1-phenylcyclohexyl) pyrrolidine (PCPy);​

265.21 (26) 1-[1-(2-thienyl)cyclohexyl]-pyrrolidine (TCPy);​

265.22 (27) 4-chloro-2,5-dimethoxyamphetamine (DOC);​

265.23 (28) 4-ethyl-2,5-dimethoxyamphetamine (DOET);​

265.24 (29) 4-iodo-2,5-dimethoxyamphetamine (DOI);​

265.25 (30) 4-bromo-2,5-dimethoxyphenethylamine (2C-B);​

265.26 (31) 4-chloro-2,5-dimethoxyphenethylamine (2C-C);​

265.27 (32) 4-methyl-2,5-dimethoxyphenethylamine (2C-D);​
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266.1 (33) 4-ethyl-2,5-dimethoxyphenethylamine (2C-E);​

266.2 (34) 4-iodo-2,5-dimethoxyphenethylamine (2C-I);​

266.3 (35) 4-propyl-2,5-dimethoxyphenethylamine (2C-P);​

266.4 (36) 4-isopropylthio-2,5-dimethoxyphenethylamine (2C-T-4);​

266.5 (37) 4-propylthio-2,5-dimethoxyphenethylamine (2C-T-7);​

266.6 (38) 2-(8-bromo-2,3,6,7-tetrahydrofuro [2,3-f][1]benzofuran-4-yl)ethanamine​

266.7 (2-CB-FLY);​

266.8 (39) bromo-benzodifuranyl-isopropylamine (Bromo-DragonFLY);​

266.9 (40) alpha-methyltryptamine (AMT);​

266.10 (41) N,N-diisopropyltryptamine (DiPT);​

266.11 (42) 4-acetoxy-N,N-dimethyltryptamine (4-AcO-DMT);​

266.12 (43) 4-acetoxy-N,N-diethyltryptamine (4-AcO-DET);​

266.13 (44) 4-hydroxy-N-methyl-N-propyltryptamine (4-HO-MPT);​

266.14 (45) 4-hydroxy-N,N-dipropyltryptamine (4-HO-DPT);​

266.15 (46) 4-hydroxy-N,N-diallyltryptamine (4-HO-DALT);​

266.16 (47) 4-hydroxy-N,N-diisopropyltryptamine (4-HO-DiPT);​

266.17 (48) 5-methoxy-N,N-diisopropyltryptamine (5-MeO-DiPT);​

266.18 (49) 5-methoxy-α-methyltryptamine (5-MeO-AMT);​

266.19 (50) 5-methoxy-N,N-dimethyltryptamine (5-MeO-DMT);​

266.20 (51) 5-methylthio-N,N-dimethyltryptamine (5-MeS-DMT);​

266.21 (52) 5-methoxy-N-methyl-N-isopropyltryptamine (5-MeO-MiPT);​

266.22 (53) 5-methoxy-α-ethyltryptamine (5-MeO-AET);​

266.23 (54) 5-methoxy-N,N-dipropyltryptamine (5-MeO-DPT);​

266.24 (55) 5-methoxy-N,N-diethyltryptamine (5-MeO-DET);​

266.25 (56) 5-methoxy-N,N-diallyltryptamine (5-MeO-DALT);​

266.26 (57) methoxetamine (MXE);​

266.27 (58) 5-iodo-2-aminoindane (5-IAI);​
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267.1 (59) 5,6-methylenedioxy-2-aminoindane (MDAI);​

267.2 (60) 2-(4-bromo-2,5-dimethoxyphenyl)-N-(2-methoxybenzyl)ethanamine (25B-NBOMe);​

267.3 (61) 2-(4-chloro-2,5-dimethoxyphenyl)-N-(2-methoxybenzyl)ethanamine (25C-NBOMe);​

267.4 (62) 2-(4-iodo-2,5-dimethoxyphenyl)-N-(2-methoxybenzyl)ethanamine (25I-NBOMe);​

267.5 (63) 2-(2,5-Dimethoxyphenyl)ethanamine (2C-H);​

267.6 (64) 2-(4-Ethylthio-2,5-dimethoxyphenyl)ethanamine (2C-T-2);​

267.7 (65) N,N-Dipropyltryptamine (DPT);​

267.8 (66) 3-[1-(Piperidin-1-yl)cyclohexyl]phenol (3-HO-PCP);​

267.9 (67) N-ethyl-1-(3-methoxyphenyl)cyclohexanamine (3-MeO-PCE);​

267.10 (68) 4-[1-(3-methoxyphenyl)cyclohexyl]morpholine (3-MeO-PCMo);​

267.11 (69) 1-[1-(4-methoxyphenyl)cyclohexyl]-piperidine (methoxydine, 4-MeO-PCP);​

267.12 (70) 2-(2-Chlorophenyl)-2-(ethylamino)cyclohexan-1-one (N-Ethylnorketamine,​

267.13 ethketamine, NENK);​

267.14 (71) methylenedioxy-N,N-dimethylamphetamine (MDDMA);​

267.15 (72) 3-(2-Ethyl(methyl)aminoethyl)-1H-indol-4-yl (4-AcO-MET); and​

267.16 (73) 2-Phenyl-2-(methylamino)cyclohexanone (deschloroketamine).​

267.17 (e) Peyote. All parts of the plant presently classified botanically as Lophophora williamsii​

267.18 Lemaire, whether growing or not, the seeds thereof, any extract from any part of the plant,​

267.19 and every compound, manufacture, salts, derivative, mixture, or preparation of the plant,​

267.20 its seeds or extracts. The listing of peyote as a controlled substance in Schedule I does not​

267.21 apply to the nondrug use of peyote in bona fide religious ceremonies of the American Indian​

267.22 Church, and members of the American Indian Church are exempt from registration. Any​

267.23 person who manufactures peyote for or distributes peyote to the American Indian Church,​

267.24 however, is required to obtain federal registration annually and to comply with all other​

267.25 requirements of law.​

267.26 (f) Central nervous system depressants. Unless specifically excepted or unless listed in​

267.27 another schedule, any material compound, mixture, or preparation which contains any​

267.28 quantity of the following substances, their analogs, salts, isomers, and salts of isomers​

267.29 whenever the existence of the analogs, salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible:​

267.30 (1) mecloqualone;​
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268.1 (2) methaqualone;​

268.2 (3) gamma-hydroxybutyric acid (GHB), including its esters and ethers;​

268.3 (4) flunitrazepam;​

268.4 (5) 2-(2-Methoxyphenyl)-2-(methylamino)cyclohexanone (2-MeO-2-deschloroketamine,​

268.5 methoxyketamine);​

268.6 (6) tianeptine;​

268.7 (7) clonazolam;​

268.8 (8) etizolam;​

268.9 (9) flubromazolam; and​

268.10 (10) flubromazepam.​

268.11 (g) Stimulants. Unless specifically excepted or unless listed in another schedule, any​

268.12 material compound, mixture, or preparation which contains any quantity of the following​

268.13 substances, their analogs, salts, isomers, and salts of isomers whenever the existence of the​

268.14 analogs, salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible:​

268.15 (1) aminorex;​

268.16 (2) cathinone;​

268.17 (3) fenethylline;​

268.18 (4) methcathinone;​

268.19 (5) methylaminorex;​

268.20 (6) N,N-dimethylamphetamine;​

268.21 (7) N-benzylpiperazine (BZP);​

268.22 (8) methylmethcathinone (mephedrone);​

268.23 (9) 3,4-methylenedioxy-N-methylcathinone (methylone);​

268.24 (10) methoxymethcathinone (methedrone);​

268.25 (11) methylenedioxypyrovalerone (MDPV);​

268.26 (12) 3-fluoro-N-methylcathinone (3-FMC);​

268.27 (13) methylethcathinone (MEC);​

268.28 (14) 1-benzofuran-6-ylpropan-2-amine (6-APB);​
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269.1 (15) dimethylmethcathinone (DMMC);​

269.2 (16) fluoroamphetamine;​

269.3 (17) fluoromethamphetamine;​

269.4 (18) α-methylaminobutyrophenone (MABP or buphedrone);​

269.5 (19) 1-(1,3-benzodioxol-5-yl)-2-(methylamino)butan-1-one (butylone);​

269.6 (20) 2-(methylamino)-1-(4-methylphenyl)butan-1-one (4-MEMABP or BZ-6378);​

269.7 (21) 1-(naphthalen-2-yl)-2-(pyrrolidin-1-yl) pentan-1-one (naphthylpyrovalerone or​

269.8 naphyrone);​

269.9 (22) (alpha-pyrrolidinopentiophenone (alpha-PVP);​

269.10 (23) (RS)-1-(4-methylphenyl)-2-(1-pyrrolidinyl)-1-hexanone (4-Me-PHP or MPHP);​

269.11 (24) 2-(1-pyrrolidinyl)-hexanophenone (Alpha-PHP);​

269.12 (25) 4-methyl-N-ethylcathinone (4-MEC);​

269.13 (26) 4-methyl-alpha-pyrrolidinopropiophenone (4-MePPP);​

269.14 (27) 2-(methylamino)-1-phenylpentan-1-one (pentedrone);​

269.15 (28) 1-(1,3-benzodioxol-5-yl)-2-(methylamino)pentan-1-one (pentylone);​

269.16 (29) 4-fluoro-N-methylcathinone (4-FMC);​

269.17 (30) 3,4-methylenedioxy-N-ethylcathinone (ethylone);​

269.18 (31) alpha-pyrrolidinobutiophenone (α-PBP);​

269.19 (32) 5-(2-Aminopropyl)-2,3-dihydrobenzofuran (5-APDB);​

269.20 (33) 1-phenyl-2-(1-pyrrolidinyl)-1-heptanone (PV8);​

269.21 (34) 6-(2-Aminopropyl)-2,3-dihydrobenzofuran (6-APDB);​

269.22 (35) 4-methyl-alpha-ethylaminopentiophenone (4-MEAPP);​

269.23 (36) 4'-chloro-alpha-pyrrolidinopropiophenone (4'-chloro-PPP);​

269.24 (37) 1-(1,3-Benzodioxol-5-yl)-2-(dimethylamino)butan-1-one (dibutylone, bk-DMBDB);​

269.25 (38) 1-(3-chlorophenyl) piperazine (meta-chlorophenylpiperazine or mCPP);​

269.26 (39) 1-(1,3-benzodioxol-5-yl)-2-(ethylamino)-pentan-1-one (N-ethylpentylone, ephylone);​

269.27 and​
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270.1 (40) any other substance, except bupropion or compounds listed under a different​

270.2 schedule, that is structurally derived from 2-aminopropan-1-one by substitution at the​

270.3 1-position with either phenyl, naphthyl, or thiophene ring systems, whether or not the​

270.4 compound is further modified in any of the following ways:​

270.5 (i) by substitution in the ring system to any extent with alkyl, alkylenedioxy, alkoxy,​

270.6 haloalkyl, hydroxyl, or halide substituents, whether or not further substituted in the ring​

270.7 system by one or more other univalent substituents;​

270.8 (ii) by substitution at the 3-position with an acyclic alkyl substituent;​

270.9 (iii) by substitution at the 2-amino nitrogen atom with alkyl, dialkyl, benzyl, or​

270.10 methoxybenzyl groups; or​

270.11 (iv) by inclusion of the 2-amino nitrogen atom in a cyclic structure.;​

270.12 (41) 4,4'-dimethylaminorex (4,4'-DMAR;​

270.13 4,5-dihydro-4-methyl-5-(4-methylphenyl)-2-oxazolamine);​

270.14 (42) 4-chloro-alpha-pyrrolidinovalerophenone (4-chloro-A-PVP);​

270.15 (43) para-methoxymethamphetamine (PMMA),​

270.16 1-(4-methoxyphenyl)-N-methylpropan-2-amine; and​

270.17 (44) N-ethylhexedrone.​

270.18 (h) Marijuana, tetrahydrocannabinols, and synthetic cannabinoids. Unless specifically​

270.19 excepted or unless listed in another schedule, any natural or synthetic material, compound,​

270.20 mixture, or preparation that contains any quantity of the following substances, their analogs,​

270.21 isomers, esters, ethers, salts, and salts of isomers, esters, and ethers, whenever the existence​

270.22 of the isomers, esters, ethers, or salts is possible:​

270.23 (1) marijuana;​

270.24 (2) tetrahydrocannabinols naturally contained in a plant of the genus Cannabis, except​

270.25 that tetrahydrocannabinols do not include any material, compound, mixture, or preparation​

270.26 that qualifies as industrial hemp as defined in section 18K.02, subdivision 3; synthetic​

270.27 equivalents of the substances contained in the cannabis plant or in the resinous extractives​

270.28 of the plant; or synthetic substances with similar chemical structure and pharmacological​

270.29 activity to those substances contained in the plant or resinous extract, including, but not​

270.30 limited to, 1 cis or trans tetrahydrocannabinol, 6 cis or trans tetrahydrocannabinol, and 3,4​

270.31 cis or trans tetrahydrocannabinol;​

270.32 (3) synthetic cannabinoids, including the following substances:​

270​Article 14 Section 1.​

HOUSE RESEARCH JD/RK H2890DE1​03/26/23 03:25 pm ​



271.1 (i) Naphthoylindoles, which are any compounds containing a 3-(1-napthoyl)indole​

271.2 structure with substitution at the nitrogen atom of the indole ring by an alkyl, haloalkyl,​

271.3 alkenyl, cycloalkylmethyl, cycloalkylethyl, 1-(N-methyl-2-piperidinyl)methyl or​

271.4 2-(4-morpholinyl)ethyl group, whether or not further substituted in the indole ring to any​

271.5 extent and whether or not substituted in the naphthyl ring to any extent. Examples of​

271.6 naphthoylindoles include, but are not limited to:​

271.7 (A) 1-Pentyl-3-(1-naphthoyl)indole (JWH-018 and AM-678);​

271.8 (B) 1-Butyl-3-(1-naphthoyl)indole (JWH-073);​

271.9 (C) 1-Pentyl-3-(4-methoxy-1-naphthoyl)indole (JWH-081);​

271.10 (D) 1-[2-(4-morpholinyl)ethyl]-3-(1-naphthoyl)indole (JWH-200);​

271.11 (E) 1-Propyl-2-methyl-3-(1-naphthoyl)indole (JWH-015);​

271.12 (F) 1-Hexyl-3-(1-naphthoyl)indole (JWH-019);​

271.13 (G) 1-Pentyl-3-(4-methyl-1-naphthoyl)indole (JWH-122);​

271.14 (H) 1-Pentyl-3-(4-ethyl-1-naphthoyl)indole (JWH-210);​

271.15 (I) 1-Pentyl-3-(4-chloro-1-naphthoyl)indole (JWH-398);​

271.16 (J) 1-(5-fluoropentyl)-3-(1-naphthoyl)indole (AM-2201).​

271.17 (ii) Napthylmethylindoles, which are any compounds containing a​

271.18 1H-indol-3-yl-(1-naphthyl)methane structure with substitution at the nitrogen atom of the​

271.19 indole ring by an alkyl, haloalkyl, alkenyl, cycloalkylmethyl, cycloalkylethyl,​

271.20 1-(N-methyl-2-piperidinyl)methyl or 2-(4-morpholinyl)ethyl group, whether or not further​

271.21 substituted in the indole ring to any extent and whether or not substituted in the naphthyl​

271.22 ring to any extent. Examples of naphthylmethylindoles include, but are not limited to:​

271.23 (A) 1-Pentyl-1H-indol-3-yl-(1-naphthyl)methane (JWH-175);​

271.24 (B) 1-Pentyl-1H-indol-3-yl-(4-methyl-1-naphthyl)methane (JWH-184).​

271.25 (iii) Naphthoylpyrroles, which are any compounds containing a 3-(1-naphthoyl)pyrrole​

271.26 structure with substitution at the nitrogen atom of the pyrrole ring by an alkyl, haloalkyl,​

271.27 alkenyl, cycloalkylmethyl, cycloalkylethyl, 1-(N-methyl-2-piperidinyl)methyl or​

271.28 2-(4-morpholinyl)ethyl group whether or not further substituted in the pyrrole ring to any​

271.29 extent, whether or not substituted in the naphthyl ring to any extent. Examples of​

271.30 naphthoylpyrroles include, but are not limited to,​

271.31 (5-(2-fluorophenyl)-1-pentylpyrrol-3-yl)-naphthalen-1-ylmethanone (JWH-307).​
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272.1 (iv) Naphthylmethylindenes, which are any compounds containing a naphthylideneindene​

272.2 structure with substitution at the 3-position of the indene ring by an alkyl, haloalkyl, alkenyl,​

272.3 cycloalkylmethyl, cycloalkylethyl, 1-(N-methyl-2-piperidinyl)methyl or​

272.4 2-(4-morpholinyl)ethyl group whether or not further substituted in the indene ring to any​

272.5 extent, whether or not substituted in the naphthyl ring to any extent. Examples of​

272.6 naphthylemethylindenes include, but are not limited to,​

272.7 E-1-[1-(1-naphthalenylmethylene)-1H-inden-3-yl]pentane (JWH-176).​

272.8 (v) Phenylacetylindoles, which are any compounds containing a 3-phenylacetylindole​

272.9 structure with substitution at the nitrogen atom of the indole ring by an alkyl, haloalkyl,​

272.10 alkenyl, cycloalkylmethyl, cycloalkylethyl, 1-(N-methyl-2-piperidinyl)methyl or​

272.11 2-(4-morpholinyl)ethyl group whether or not further substituted in the indole ring to any​

272.12 extent, whether or not substituted in the phenyl ring to any extent. Examples of​

272.13 phenylacetylindoles include, but are not limited to:​

272.14 (A) 1-(2-cyclohexylethyl)-3-(2-methoxyphenylacetyl)indole (RCS-8);​

272.15 (B) 1-pentyl-3-(2-methoxyphenylacetyl)indole (JWH-250);​

272.16 (C) 1-pentyl-3-(2-methylphenylacetyl)indole (JWH-251);​

272.17 (D) 1-pentyl-3-(2-chlorophenylacetyl)indole (JWH-203).​

272.18 (vi) Cyclohexylphenols, which are compounds containing a​

272.19 2-(3-hydroxycyclohexyl)phenol structure with substitution at the 5-position of the phenolic​

272.20 ring by an alkyl, haloalkyl, alkenyl, cycloalkylmethyl, cycloalkylethyl,​

272.21 1-(N-methyl-2-piperidinyl)methyl or 2-(4-morpholinyl)ethyl group whether or not substituted​

272.22 in the cyclohexyl ring to any extent. Examples of cyclohexylphenols include, but are not​

272.23 limited to:​

272.24 (A) 5-(1,1-dimethylheptyl)-2-[(1R,3S)-3-hydroxycyclohexyl]-phenol (CP 47,497);​

272.25 (B) 5-(1,1-dimethyloctyl)-2-[(1R,3S)-3-hydroxycyclohexyl]-phenol​

272.26 (Cannabicyclohexanol or CP 47,497 C8 homologue);​

272.27 (C) 5-(1,1-dimethylheptyl)-2-[(1R,2R)-5-hydroxy-2-(3-hydroxypropyl)cyclohexyl]​

272.28 -phenol (CP 55,940).​

272.29 (vii) Benzoylindoles, which are any compounds containing a 3-(benzoyl)indole structure​

272.30 with substitution at the nitrogen atom of the indole ring by an alkyl, haloalkyl, alkenyl,​

272.31 cycloalkylmethyl, cycloalkylethyl, 1-(N-methyl-2-piperidinyl)methyl or​

272.32 2-(4-morpholinyl)ethyl group whether or not further substituted in the indole ring to any​
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273.1 extent and whether or not substituted in the phenyl ring to any extent. Examples of​

273.2 benzoylindoles include, but are not limited to:​

273.3 (A) 1-Pentyl-3-(4-methoxybenzoyl)indole (RCS-4);​

273.4 (B) 1-(5-fluoropentyl)-3-(2-iodobenzoyl)indole (AM-694);​

273.5 (C) (4-methoxyphenyl-[2-methyl-1-(2-(4-morpholinyl)ethyl)indol-3-yl]methanone (WIN​

273.6 48,098 or Pravadoline).​

273.7 (viii) Others specifically named:​

273.8 (A) (6aR,10aR)-9-(hydroxymethyl)-6,6-dimethyl-3-(2-methyloctan-2-yl)​

273.9 -6a,7,10,10a-tetrahydrobenzo[c]chromen-1-ol (HU-210);​

273.10 (B) (6aS,10aS)-9-(hydroxymethyl)-6,6-dimethyl-3-(2-methyloctan-2-yl)​

273.11 -6a,7,10,10a-tetrahydrobenzo[c]chromen-1-ol (Dexanabinol or HU-211);​

273.12 (C) 2,3-dihydro-5-methyl-3-(4-morpholinylmethyl)pyrrolo[1,2,3-de]​

273.13 -1,4-benzoxazin-6-yl-1-naphthalenylmethanone (WIN 55,212-2);​

273.14 (D) (1-pentylindol-3-yl)-(2,2,3,3-tetramethylcyclopropyl)methanone (UR-144);​

273.15 (E) (1-(5-fluoropentyl)-1H-indol-3-yl)(2,2,3,3-tetramethylcyclopropyl)methanone​

273.16 (XLR-11);​

273.17 (F) 1-pentyl-N-tricyclo[3.3.1.13,7]dec-1-yl-1H-indazole-3-carboxamide​

273.18 (AKB-48(APINACA));​

273.19 (G) N-((3s,5s,7s)-adamantan-1-yl)-1-(5-fluoropentyl)-1H-indazole-3-carboxamide​

273.20 (5-Fluoro-AKB-48);​

273.21 (H) 1-pentyl-8-quinolinyl ester-1H-indole-3-carboxylic acid (PB-22);​

273.22 (I) 8-quinolinyl ester-1-(5-fluoropentyl)-1H-indole-3-carboxylic acid (5-Fluoro PB-22);​

273.23 (J) N-[(1S)-1-(aminocarbonyl)-2-methylpropyl]-1-pentyl-1H-indazole- 3-carboxamide​

273.24 (AB-PINACA);​

273.25 (K) N-[(1S)-1-(aminocarbonyl)-2-methylpropyl]-1-[(4-fluorophenyl)methyl]-​

273.26 1H-indazole-3-carboxamide (AB-FUBINACA);​

273.27 (L) N-[(1S)-1-(aminocarbonyl)-2-methylpropyl]-1-(cyclohexylmethyl)-1H-​

273.28 indazole-3-carboxamide(AB-CHMINACA);​

273.29 (M) (S)-methyl 2-(1-(5-fluoropentyl)-1H-indazole-3-carboxamido)-3- methylbutanoate​

273.30 (5-fluoro-AMB);​
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274.1 (N) [1-(5-fluoropentyl)-1H-indazol-3-yl](naphthalen-1-yl) methanone (THJ-2201);​

274.2 (O) (1-(5-fluoropentyl)-1H-benzo[d]imidazol-2-yl)(naphthalen-1-yl)methanone)​

274.3 (FUBIMINA);​

274.4 (P) (7-methoxy-1-(2-morpholinoethyl)-N-((1S,2S,4R)-1,3,3-trimethylbicyclo​

274.5 [2.2.1]heptan-2-yl)-1H-indole-3-carboxamide (MN-25 or UR-12);​

274.6 (Q) (S)-N-(1-amino-3-methyl-1-oxobutan-2-yl)-1-(5-fluoropentyl)​

274.7 -1H-indole-3-carboxamide (5-fluoro-ABICA);​

274.8 (R) N-(1-amino-3-phenyl-1-oxopropan-2-yl)-1-(5-fluoropentyl)​

274.9 -1H-indole-3-carboxamide;​

274.10 (S) N-(1-amino-3-phenyl-1-oxopropan-2-yl)-1-(5-fluoropentyl)​

274.11 -1H-indazole-3-carboxamide;​

274.12 (T) methyl 2-(1-(cyclohexylmethyl)-1H-indole-3-carboxamido) -3,3-dimethylbutanoate;​

274.13 (U) N-(1-amino-3,3-dimethyl-1-oxobutan-2-yl)-1(cyclohexylmethyl)-1​

274.14 H-indazole-3-carboxamide (MAB-CHMINACA);​

274.15 (V) N-(1-Amino-3,3-dimethyl-1-oxo-2-butanyl)-1-pentyl-1H-indazole-3-carboxamide​

274.16 (ADB-PINACA);​

274.17 (W) methyl (1-(4-fluorobenzyl)-1H-indazole-3-carbonyl)-L-valinate (FUB-AMB);​

274.18 (X) N-[(1S)-2-amino-2-oxo-1-(phenylmethyl)ethyl]-1-(cyclohexylmethyl)-1H-Indazole-​

274.19 3-carboxamide. (APP-CHMINACA);​

274.20 (Y) quinolin-8-yl 1-(4-fluorobenzyl)-1H-indole-3-carboxylate (FUB-PB-22); and​

274.21 (Z) methyl N-[1-(cyclohexylmethyl)-1H-indole-3-carbonyl]valinate (MMB-CHMICA).​

274.22 (ix) Additional substances specifically named:​

274.23 (A) 1-(5-fluoropentyl)-N-(2-phenylpropan-2-yl)-1​

274.24 H-pyrrolo[2,3-B]pyridine-3-carboxamide (5F-CUMYL-P7AICA);​

274.25 (B) 1-(4-cyanobutyl)-N-(2- phenylpropan-2-yl)-1 H-indazole-3-carboxamide​

274.26 (4-CN-Cumyl-Butinaca);​

274.27 (C) naphthalen-1-yl-1-(5-fluoropentyl)-1-H-indole-3-carboxylate (NM2201; CBL2201);​

274.28 (D) N-(1-amino-3-methyl-1-oxobutan-2-yl)-1-(5-fluoropentyl)-1​

274.29 H-indazole-3-carboxamide (5F-ABPINACA);​
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275.1 (E) methyl-2-(1-(cyclohexylmethyl)-1H-indole-3-carboxamido)-3,3-dimethylbutanoate​

275.2 (MDMB CHMICA);​

275.3 (F) methyl 2-(1-(5-fluoropentyl)-1H-indazole-3-carboxamido)-3,3-dimethylbutanoate​

275.4 (5F-ADB; 5F-MDMB-PINACA); and​

275.5 (G) N-(1-amino-3,3-dimethyl-1-oxobutan-2-yl)-1-(4-fluorobenzyl)​

275.6 1H-indazole-3-carboxamide (ADB-FUBINACA).;​

275.7 (H) 1-(5-fluoropentyl)-N-(2-phenylpropan-2-yl)-1H-indazole-3-carboxamide;​

275.8 (I) (1-(4-fluorobenzyl)-1H-indol-3-yl)(2,2,3,3- tetramethylcyclopropyl)methanone;​

275.9 (J) methyl 2-(1-(4-fluorobenzyl)-1Hindazole-3-carboxamido)-3,3-dimethylbutanoate;​

275.10 (K) methyl 2-(1-(5-fluoropentyl)-1H-indole-3-carboxamido)-3,3-dimethylbutanoate;​

275.11 (L) ethyl 2-(1-(5-fluoropentyl)-1H-indazole-3-carboxamido)-3,3-dimethylbutanoate;​

275.12 (M) methyl 2-(1-(4-fluorobenzyl)-1Hindazole-3-carboxamido)-3- methylbutanoate;​

275.13 (N) N-(adamantan-1-yl)-1-(4-fluorobenzyl)-1H-indazole-3-carboxamide; and​

275.14 (O) N-(adamantan-1-yl)-1-(5-fluoropentyl)-1H-indazole-3-carboxamide.​

275.15 (i) A controlled substance analog, to the extent that it is implicitly or explicitly intended​

275.16 for human consumption.​

275.17 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

275.18 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 152.02, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

275.19 Subd. 3. Schedule II. (a) Schedule II consists of the substances listed in this subdivision.​

275.20 (b) Unless specifically excepted or unless listed in another schedule, any of the following​

275.21 substances whether produced directly or indirectly by extraction from substances of vegetable​

275.22 origin or independently by means of chemical synthesis, or by a combination of extraction​

275.23 and chemical synthesis:​

275.24 (1) Opium and opiate, and any salt, compound, derivative, or preparation of opium or​

275.25 opiate.​

275.26 (i) Excluding:​

275.27 (A) apomorphine;​

275.28 (B) thebaine-derived butorphanol;​

275.29 (C) dextrophan;​
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276.1 (D) nalbuphine;​

276.2 (E) nalmefene;​

276.3 (F) naloxegol;​

276.4 (G) naloxone;​

276.5 (H) naltrexone; and​

276.6 (I) their respective salts;​

276.7 (ii) but including the following:​

276.8 (A) opium, in all forms and extracts;​

276.9 (B) codeine;​

276.10 (C) dihydroetorphine;​

276.11 (D) ethylmorphine;​

276.12 (E) etorphine hydrochloride;​

276.13 (F) hydrocodone;​

276.14 (G) hydromorphone;​

276.15 (H) metopon;​

276.16 (I) morphine;​

276.17 (J) oxycodone;​

276.18 (K) oxymorphone;​

276.19 (L) thebaine;​

276.20 (M) oripavine;​

276.21 (2) any salt, compound, derivative, or preparation thereof which is chemically equivalent​

276.22 or identical with any of the substances referred to in clause (1), except that these substances​

276.23 shall not include the isoquinoline alkaloids of opium;​

276.24 (3) opium poppy and poppy straw;​

276.25 (4) coca leaves and any salt, cocaine compound, derivative, or preparation of coca leaves​

276.26 (including cocaine and ecgonine and their salts, isomers, derivatives, and salts of isomers​

276.27 and derivatives), and any salt, compound, derivative, or preparation thereof which is​

276.28 chemically equivalent or identical with any of these substances, except that the substances​
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277.1 shall not include decocainized coca leaves or extraction of coca leaves, which extractions​

277.2 do not contain cocaine or ecgonine;​

277.3 (5) concentrate of poppy straw (the crude extract of poppy straw in either liquid, solid,​

277.4 or powder form which contains the phenanthrene alkaloids of the opium poppy).​

277.5 (c) Any of the following opiates, including their isomers, esters, ethers, salts, and salts​

277.6 of isomers, esters and ethers, unless specifically excepted, or unless listed in another schedule,​

277.7 whenever the existence of such isomers, esters, ethers and salts is possible within the specific​

277.8 chemical designation:​

277.9 (1) alfentanil;​

277.10 (2) alphaprodine;​

277.11 (3) anileridine;​

277.12 (4) bezitramide;​

277.13 (5) bulk dextropropoxyphene (nondosage forms);​

277.14 (6) carfentanil;​

277.15 (7) dihydrocodeine;​

277.16 (8) dihydromorphinone;​

277.17 (9) diphenoxylate;​

277.18 (10) fentanyl;​

277.19 (11) isomethadone;​

277.20 (12) levo-alpha-acetylmethadol (LAAM);​

277.21 (13) levomethorphan;​

277.22 (14) levorphanol;​

277.23 (15) metazocine;​

277.24 (16) methadone;​

277.25 (17) methadone - intermediate, 4-cyano-2-dimethylamino-4, 4-diphenylbutane;​

277.26 (18) moramide - intermediate, 2-methyl-3-morpholino-1, 1-diphenyl-propane-carboxylic​

277.27 acid;​

277.28 (19) pethidine;​

277.29 (20) pethidine - intermediate - a, 4-cyano-1-methyl-4-phenylpiperidine;​
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278.1 (21) pethidine - intermediate - b, ethyl-4-phenylpiperidine-4-carboxylate;​

278.2 (22) pethidine - intermediate - c, 1-methyl-4-phenylpiperidine-4-carboxylic acid;​

278.3 (23) phenazocine;​

278.4 (24) piminodine;​

278.5 (25) racemethorphan;​

278.6 (26) racemorphan;​

278.7 (27) remifentanil;​

278.8 (28) sufentanil;​

278.9 (29) tapentadol;​

278.10 (30) 4-Anilino-N-phenethylpiperidine.;​

278.11 (31) oliceridine;​

278.12 (32) norfentanyl (N-phenyl-N-(piperidin-4-yl) propionamide).​

278.13 (d) Unless specifically excepted or unless listed in another schedule, any material,​

278.14 compound, mixture, or preparation which contains any quantity of the following substances​

278.15 having a stimulant effect on the central nervous system:​

278.16 (1) amphetamine, its salts, optical isomers, and salts of its optical isomers;​

278.17 (2) methamphetamine, its salts, isomers, and salts of its isomers;​

278.18 (3) phenmetrazine and its salts;​

278.19 (4) methylphenidate;​

278.20 (5) lisdexamfetamine.​

278.21 (e) Unless specifically excepted or unless listed in another schedule, any material,​

278.22 compound, mixture, or preparation which contains any quantity of the following substances​

278.23 having a depressant effect on the central nervous system, including its salts, isomers, and​

278.24 salts of isomers whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible​

278.25 within the specific chemical designation:​

278.26 (1) amobarbital;​

278.27 (2) glutethimide;​

278.28 (3) secobarbital;​

278.29 (4) pentobarbital;​
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279.1 (5) phencyclidine;​

279.2 (6) phencyclidine immediate precursors:​

279.3 (i) 1-phenylcyclohexylamine;​

279.4 (ii) 1-piperidinocyclohexanecarbonitrile;​

279.5 (7) phenylacetone.​

279.6 (f) Cannabinoids:​

279.7 (1) nabilone;​

279.8 (2) dronabinol [(-)-delta-9-trans-tetrahydrocannabinol (delta-9-THC)] in an oral solution​

279.9 in a drug product approved for marketing by the United States Food and Drug Administration.​

279.10 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

279.11 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 152.02, subdivision 5, is amended to read:​

279.12 Subd. 5. Schedule IV. (a) Schedule IV consists of the substances listed in this subdivision.​

279.13 (b) Narcotic drugs. Unless specifically excepted or unless listed in another schedule,​

279.14 any material, compound, mixture, or preparation containing any of the following narcotic​

279.15 drugs, or their salts calculated as the free anhydrous base or alkaloid, in limited quantities​

279.16 as follows:​

279.17 (1) not more than one milligram of difenoxin and not less than 25 micrograms of atropine​

279.18 sulfate per dosage unit;​

279.19 (2) dextropropoxyphene (Darvon and Darvocet);​

279.20 (3) 2-[(dimethylamino)methyl]-1-(3-methoxyphenyl)cyclohexanol, its salts, optical and​

279.21 geometric isomers, and salts of these isomers (including tramadol);​

279.22 (4) eluxadoline;​

279.23 (5) pentazocine; and​

279.24 (6) butorphanol (including its optical isomers).​

279.25 (c) Depressants. Unless specifically excepted or unless listed in another schedule, any​

279.26 material, compound, mixture, or preparation containing any quantity of the following​

279.27 substances, including its salts, isomers, and salts of isomers whenever the existence of the​

279.28 salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible:​

279.29 (1) alfaxalone (5α-pregnan-3α-ol-11,20-dione);​
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280.1 (2) alprazolam;​

280.2 (3) barbital;​

280.3 (4) bromazepam;​

280.4 (5) camazepam;​

280.5 (6) carisoprodol;​

280.6 (7) chloral betaine;​

280.7 (8) chloral hydrate;​

280.8 (9) chlordiazepoxide;​

280.9 (10) clobazam;​

280.10 (11) clonazepam;​

280.11 (12) clorazepate;​

280.12 (13) clotiazepam;​

280.13 (14) cloxazolam;​

280.14 (15) delorazepam;​

280.15 (16) diazepam;​

280.16 (17) dichloralphenazone;​

280.17 (18) estazolam;​

280.18 (19) ethchlorvynol;​

280.19 (20) ethinamate;​

280.20 (21) ethyl loflazepate;​

280.21 (22) fludiazepam;​

280.22 (23) flurazepam;​

280.23 (24) fospropofol;​

280.24 (25) halazepam;​

280.25 (26) haloxazolam;​

280.26 (27) ketazolam;​

280.27 (28) loprazolam;​
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281.1 (29) lorazepam;​

281.2 (30) lormetazepam mebutamate;​

281.3 (31) medazepam;​

281.4 (32) meprobamate;​

281.5 (33) methohexital;​

281.6 (34) methylphenobarbital;​

281.7 (35) midazolam;​

281.8 (36) nimetazepam;​

281.9 (37) nitrazepam;​

281.10 (38) nordiazepam;​

281.11 (39) oxazepam;​

281.12 (40) oxazolam;​

281.13 (41) paraldehyde;​

281.14 (42) petrichloral;​

281.15 (43) phenobarbital;​

281.16 (44) pinazepam;​

281.17 (45) prazepam;​

281.18 (46) quazepam;​

281.19 (47) suvorexant;​

281.20 (48) temazepam;​

281.21 (49) tetrazepam;​

281.22 (50) triazolam;​

281.23 (51) zaleplon;​

281.24 (52) zolpidem;​

281.25 (53) zopiclone.;​

281.26 (54) brexanolone (3α-hydroxy-5α-pregnan-20-one);​

281.27 (55) lemborexant;​
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282.1 (56) remimazolam (4H-imidazol[1,2-a][1,4]benzodiazepine4-propionic acid).​

282.2 (d) Any material, compound, mixture, or preparation which contains any quantity of the​

282.3 following substance including its salts, isomers, and salts of such isomers, whenever the​

282.4 existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible: fenfluramine.​

282.5 (e) Stimulants. Unless specifically excepted or unless listed in another schedule, any​

282.6 material, compound, mixture, or preparation which contains any quantity of the following​

282.7 substances having a stimulant effect on the central nervous system, including its salts,​

282.8 isomers, and salts of isomers:​

282.9 (1) cathine (norpseudoephedrine);​

282.10 (2) diethylpropion;​

282.11 (3) fencamfamine;​

282.12 (4) fenproporex;​

282.13 (5) mazindol;​

282.14 (6) mefenorex;​

282.15 (7) modafinil;​

282.16 (8) pemoline (including organometallic complexes and chelates thereof);​

282.17 (9) phentermine;​

282.18 (10) pipradol;​

282.19 (11) sibutramine;​

282.20 (12) SPA (1-dimethylamino-1,2-diphenylethane).;​

282.21 (13) serdexmethylphenidate;​

282.22 (14) solriamfetol (2-amino-3-phenylpropyl car-bamate; benzenepropanol, beta-amino-,​

282.23 carbamate (ester)).​

282.24 (f) lorcaserin.​

282.25 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

282.26 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 152.02, subdivision 6, is amended to read:​

282.27 Subd. 6. Schedule V; restrictions on methamphetamine precursor drugs. (a) As used​

282.28 in this subdivision, the following terms have the meanings given:​

282​Article 14 Sec. 4.​
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283.1 (1) "methamphetamine precursor drug" means any compound, mixture, or preparation​

283.2 intended for human consumption containing ephedrine or pseudoephedrine as its sole active​

283.3 ingredient or as one of its active ingredients; and​

283.4 (2) "over-the-counter sale" means a retail sale of a drug or product but does not include​

283.5 the sale of a drug or product pursuant to the terms of a valid prescription.​

283.6 (b) The following items are listed in Schedule V:​

283.7 (1) any compound, mixture, or preparation containing any of the following limited​

283.8 quantities of narcotic drugs, which shall include one or more nonnarcotic active medicinal​

283.9 ingredients in sufficient proportion to confer upon the compound, mixture or preparation​

283.10 valuable medicinal qualities other than those possessed by the narcotic drug alone:​

283.11 (i) not more than 100 milligrams of dihydrocodeine per 100 milliliters or per 100 grams;​

283.12 (ii) not more than 100 milligrams of ethylmorphine per 100 milliliters or per 100 grams;​

283.13 (iii) not more than 2.5 milligrams of diphenoxylate and not less than 25 micrograms of​

283.14 atropine sulfate per dosage unit;​

283.15 (iv) not more than 100 milligrams of opium per 100 milliliters or per 100 grams; or​

283.16 (v) not more than 0.5 milligrams of difenoxin and not less than 25 micrograms of atropine​

283.17 sulfate per dosage unit.​

283.18 (2) Stimulants. Unless specifically exempted or excluded or unless listed in another​

283.19 schedule, any material, compound, mixture, or preparation that contains any quantity of the​

283.20 following substance having a stimulant effect on the central nervous system, including its​

283.21 salts, isomers, and salts of isomers: pyrovalerone.​

283.22 (3) Depressants. Unless specifically exempted or excluded or unless listed in another​

283.23 schedule, any material, compound, mixture, or preparation that contains any quantity of the​

283.24 following substance having a depressant effect on the central nervous system, including its​

283.25 salts, isomers, and salts of isomers:​

283.26 (i) ezogabine;​

283.27 (ii) pregabalin;​

283.28 (iii) lacosamide.;​

283.29 (iv) cenobamate [(1R)-1-(2-chlorophenyl)-2-(tetrazol-2-yl)ethyl]carbamate.​

283.30 (4) Any compound, mixture, or preparation containing ephedrine or pseudoephedrine​

283.31 as its sole active ingredient or as one of its active ingredients.​
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284.1 (c) No person may sell in a single over-the-counter sale more than two packages of a​

284.2 methamphetamine precursor drug or a combination of methamphetamine precursor drugs​

284.3 or any combination of packages exceeding a total weight of six grams, calculated as the​

284.4 base.​

284.5 (d) Over-the-counter sales of methamphetamine precursor drugs are limited to:​

284.6 (1) packages containing not more than a total of three grams of one or more​

284.7 methamphetamine precursor drugs, calculated in terms of ephedrine base or pseudoephedrine​

284.8 base; or​

284.9 (2) for nonliquid products, sales in blister packs, where each blister contains not more​

284.10 than two dosage units, or, if the use of blister packs is not technically feasible, sales in unit​

284.11 dose packets or pouches.​

284.12 (e) A business establishment that offers for sale methamphetamine precursor drugs in​

284.13 an over-the-counter sale shall ensure that all packages of the drugs are displayed behind a​

284.14 checkout counter where the public is not permitted and are offered for sale only by a licensed​

284.15 pharmacist, a registered pharmacy technician, or a pharmacy clerk. The establishment shall​

284.16 ensure that the person making the sale requires the buyer:​

284.17 (1) to provide photographic identification showing the buyer's date of birth; and​

284.18 (2) to sign a written or electronic document detailing the date of the sale, the name of​

284.19 the buyer, and the amount of the drug sold.​

284.20 A document described under clause (2) must be retained by the establishment for at least​

284.21 three years and must at all reasonable times be open to the inspection of any law enforcement​

284.22 agency.​

284.23 Nothing in this paragraph requires the buyer to obtain a prescription for the drug's​

284.24 purchase.​

284.25 (f) No person may acquire through over-the-counter sales more than six grams of​

284.26 methamphetamine precursor drugs, calculated as the base, within a 30-day period.​

284.27 (g) No person may sell in an over-the-counter sale a methamphetamine precursor drug​

284.28 to a person under the age of 18 years. It is an affirmative defense to a charge under this​

284.29 paragraph if the defendant proves by a preponderance of the evidence that the defendant​

284.30 reasonably and in good faith relied on proof of age as described in section 340A.503,​

284.31 subdivision 6.​
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285.1 (h) A person who knowingly violates paragraph (c), (d), (e), (f), or (g) is guilty of a​

285.2 misdemeanor and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than 90 days, or to​

285.3 payment of a fine of not more than $1,000, or both.​

285.4 (i) An owner, operator, supervisor, or manager of a business establishment that offers​

285.5 for sale methamphetamine precursor drugs whose employee or agent is convicted of or​

285.6 charged with violating paragraph (c), (d), (e), (f), or (g) is not subject to the criminal penalties​

285.7 for violating any of those paragraphs if the person:​

285.8 (1) did not have prior knowledge of, participate in, or direct the employee or agent to​

285.9 commit the violation; and​

285.10 (2) documents that an employee training program was in place to provide the employee​

285.11 or agent with information on the state and federal laws and regulations regarding​

285.12 methamphetamine precursor drugs.​

285.13 (j) Any person employed by a business establishment that offers for sale​

285.14 methamphetamine precursor drugs who sells such a drug to any person in a suspicious​

285.15 transaction shall report the transaction to the owner, supervisor, or manager of the​

285.16 establishment. The owner, supervisor, or manager may report the transaction to local law​

285.17 enforcement. A person who reports information under this subdivision in good faith is​

285.18 immune from civil liability relating to the report.​

285.19 (k) Paragraphs (b) to (j) do not apply to:​

285.20 (1) pediatric products labeled pursuant to federal regulation primarily intended for​

285.21 administration to children under 12 years of age according to label instructions;​

285.22 (2) methamphetamine precursor drugs that are certified by the Board of Pharmacy as​

285.23 being manufactured in a manner that prevents the drug from being used to manufacture​

285.24 methamphetamine;​

285.25 (3) methamphetamine precursor drugs in gel capsule or liquid form; or​

285.26 (4) compounds, mixtures, or preparations in powder form where pseudoephedrine​

285.27 constitutes less than one percent of its total weight and is not its sole active ingredient.​

285.28 (l) The Board of Pharmacy, in consultation with the Department of Public Safety, shall​

285.29 certify methamphetamine precursor drugs that meet the requirements of paragraph (k),​

285.30 clause (2), and publish an annual listing of these drugs.​

285.31 (m) Wholesale drug distributors licensed and regulated by the Board of Pharmacy​

285.32 pursuant to sections 151.42 to 151.51 151.43 to 151.471 and registered with and regulated​
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286.1 by the United States Drug Enforcement Administration are exempt from the​

286.2 methamphetamine precursor drug storage requirements of this section.​

286.3 (n) This section preempts all local ordinances or regulations governing the sale by a​

286.4 business establishment of over-the-counter products containing ephedrine or​

286.5 pseudoephedrine. All ordinances enacted prior to the effective date of this act are void.​

286.6 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

286.7 ARTICLE 15​

286.8 911 EMERGENCY COMMUNICATION SYSTEM​

286.9 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.02, subdivision 7, is amended to read:​

286.10 Subd. 7. Automatic location identification. "Automatic location identification" means​

286.11 the process of electronically identifying and displaying the name of the subscriber and the​

286.12 location, where available, of the calling telephone number the name of the subscriber, the​

286.13 communications device's current location, and the callback number to a person public safety​

286.14 telecommunicator answering a 911 emergency call.​

286.15 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.02, subdivision 9a, is amended to read:​

286.16 Subd. 9a. Callback number. "Callback number" means a telephone number or​

286.17 functionally equivalent Internet address or device identification number used by the public​

286.18 safety answering point to recontact contact the location device from which the 911 call was​

286.19 placed.​

286.20 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

286.21 read:​

286.22 Subd. 10a. Cost recovery. "Cost recovery" means costs incurred by​

286.23 commissioner-approved originating service providers specifically for the purpose of providing​

286.24 access to the 911 network for their subscribers or maintenance of 911 customer databases.​

286.25 These costs may be reimbursed to the requesting originating service provider. Recoverable​

286.26 costs include only those costs that the requesting provider would avoid if the provider were​

286.27 not providing access to the 911 network or maintenance of 911 customer databases.​
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287.1 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

287.2 read:​

287.3 Subd. 10b. Cybersecurity. "Cybersecurity" means the prevention of damage to,​

287.4 unauthorized use of, exploitation of, and if needed, the restoration of, electronic information​

287.5 and communications systems and services and the information contained therein to ensure​

287.6 confidentiality, integrity, and availability.​

287.7 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

287.8 read:​

287.9 Subd. 10c. Emergency communications network service provider​

287.10 (ECNSP). "Emergency communications network service provider" or "ECNSP" means a​

287.11 service provider, determined by the commissioner to be capable of providing effective and​

287.12 efficient components of the 911 network or its management that provides or manages all​

287.13 or portions of the statewide 911 emergency communications network. The ECNSP is the​

287.14 entity or entities that the state contracts with to provide facilities and services associated​

287.15 with operating and maintaining the Minnesota statewide 911 network.​

287.16 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.02, subdivision 11b, is amended to read:​

287.17 Subd. 11b. Emergency response location. "Emergency response location" means a​

287.18 location to which a 911 emergency response team services may be dispatched. The location​

287.19 must be specific enough to provide a reasonable opportunity for the emergency response​

287.20 team to locate a caller to be located anywhere within it.​

287.21 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

287.22 read:​

287.23 Subd. 11c. Emergency services. "Emergency services" includes but is not limited to​

287.24 firefighting, police, ambulance, medical, or other mobile services dispatched, monitored,​

287.25 or controlled by a public safety answering point.​

287.26 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

287.27 read:​

287.28 Subd. 11d. Emergency Services Internet (ESInet). "Emergency Services Internet" or​

287.29 "ESInet" means an Internet protocol-based and multipurpose network supporting local,​

287.30 regional, and national public safety communications services in addition to 911 services.​
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288.1 The ESInet is comprised of three network components, including ingress network, next​

288.2 generation core services, and egress network.​

288.3 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

288.4 read:​

288.5 Subd. 12a. End user equipment. "End user equipment" means any device held or​

288.6 operated by an employee of a public safety agency, except for public safety​

288.7 telecommunicators, for the purpose of receiving voice or data communications outside of​

288.8 a public safety answering point. This includes but is not limited to mobile radios, portable​

288.9 radios, pagers, mobile computers, tablets, and cellular telephones.​

288.10 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

288.11 read:​

288.12 Subd. 13a. Geographical Information System (GIS). "Geographical Information​

288.13 System" or "GIS" means a system for capturing, storing, displaying, analyzing, and managing​

288.14 data and associated attributes that are spatially referenced.​

288.15 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

288.16 read:​

288.17 Subd. 14a. Internet protocol (IP). "Internet protocol" or "IP" means the method by​

288.18 which data are sent from one computer to another on the Internet or other networks.​

288.19 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.02, subdivision 16a, is amended to read:​

288.20 Subd. 16a. Multiline telephone system (MLTS). "Multiline telephone system" or​

288.21 "MLTS" means a private telephone system comprised of common control units, telephones,​

288.22 and telephone sets, control hardware and, software that share a common interface to the​

288.23 public switched telephone network, and adjunct systems used to support the capabilities​

288.24 outlined in this chapter. This includes network and premises-based systems such as Centrex,​

288.25 VoIP, PBX, Hybrid, and Key Telephone Systems, as classified by the Federal​

288.26 Communications Commission requirements under Code of Federal Regulations, title 47,​

288.27 part 68, and systems owned or leased by governmental agencies and, nonprofit entities, as​

288.28 well as and for-profit businesses.​
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289.1 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

289.2 read:​

289.3 Subd. 16c. Next generation core services (NGCS). "Next generation core services" or​

289.4 "NGCS" means the base set of services needed to process a 911 call on an ESInet. These​

289.5 services include but are not limited to the Emergency Services Routing Proxy, Emergency​

289.6 Call Routing Function, Location Validation Function, Border Control Function, Bridge,​

289.7 Policy Store, Logging Services, and typical IP services such as DNS and DHCP. Next​

289.8 generation core services includes only the services and not the network on which they​

289.9 operate.​

289.10 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

289.11 read:​

289.12 Subd. 16d. Next generation 911 (NG911). "Next generation 911" or "NG911" means​

289.13 an Internet protocol-based system comprised of managed Emergency Services IP networks,​

289.14 functional elements and applications, and databases that replicate the traditional E911​

289.15 features and functions and that also provides additional capabilities based on industry​

289.16 standards. NG911 is designed to provide access to emergency services from all connected​

289.17 communications services and provide multimedia data capabilities for public safety answering​

289.18 points and other emergency services organizations.​

289.19 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

289.20 read:​

289.21 Subd. 16e. 911 call. "911 call" means any form of communication requesting any type​

289.22 of emergency services by contacting a public safety answering point, including voice or​

289.23 nonvoice communications, as well as transmission of any analog or digital data. 911 call​

289.24 includes a voice call, video call, text message, or data-only call.​

289.25 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

289.26 read:​

289.27 Subd. 16f. 911 network. "911 network" means:​

289.28 (1) a legacy telecommunications network that supports basic and enhanced 911 service;​

289.29 or​

289.30 (2) the ESInet that is used for 911 calls that can be shared by all public safety answering​

289.31 points and that provides the IP transport infrastructure upon which independent public safety​
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290.1 application platforms and core functional processes can be deployed, including but not​

290.2 limited to those necessary for providing next generation 911 service capability.​

290.3 A network may be constructed from a mix of dedicated and shared facilities and may be​

290.4 interconnected at local, regional, state, national, and international levels.​

290.5 Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

290.6 read:​

290.7 Subd. 16g. 911 system. "911 system" means a coordinated system of technologies,​

290.8 networks, hardware, and software applications that a public safety answering point must​

290.9 procure and maintain in order to connect to the state 911 network and provide 911 services.​

290.10 Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

290.11 read:​

290.12 Subd. 16h. Originating service provider (OSP). "Originating service provider" or​

290.13 "OSP" means an entity that provides the capability for customers to originate 911 calls to​

290.14 public safety answering points, including wire-line communications service providers, Voice​

290.15 over Internet Protocol service providers, and wireless communications service providers.​

290.16 Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.02, subdivision 17, is amended to read:​

290.17 Subd. 17. 911 service. "911 service" means a telecommunications service that​

290.18 automatically connects a person dialing the digits 911 to an established public safety​

290.19 answering point. 911 service includes: the emergency response service a public safety​

290.20 answering point provides as a result of processing 911 calls through its 911 system.​

290.21 (1) customer data and network components connecting to the common 911 network and​

290.22 database;​

290.23 (2) common 911 network and database equipment, as appropriate, for automatically​

290.24 selectively routing 911 calls to the public safety answering point serving the caller's​

290.25 jurisdiction; and​

290.26 (3) provision of automatic location identification if the public safety answering point​

290.27 has the capability of providing that service.​

290.28 Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.02, subdivision 17c, is amended to read:​

290.29 Subd. 17c. 911 Public safety telecommunicator. "911 Public safety telecommunicator"​

290.30 means a person employed by a public safety answering point, an emergency medical dispatch​
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291.1 service provider, or both, who is qualified to answer incoming emergency telephone calls,​

291.2 text messages, and computer notifications or provide for the appropriate emergency response​

291.3 either directly or through communication with the appropriate public safety answering point.​

291.4 Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

291.5 read:​

291.6 Subd. 17e. Point of interconnection (POI). "Point of interconnection" or "POI" means​

291.7 the location or locations within the 911 network where OSPs deliver 911 calls on behalf of​

291.8 their users or subscribers for delivery to the appropriate public service answering point.​

291.9 Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.02, subdivision 18, is amended to read:​

291.10 Subd. 18. Public safety agency. "Public safety agency" means a functional division of​

291.11 a public agency which provides firefighting, police, medical, or other emergency services,​

291.12 or a private entity which provides emergency medical or ambulance services an agency that​

291.13 provides emergency services to the public.​

291.14 Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.02, subdivision 19, is amended to read:​

291.15 Subd. 19. Public safety answering point (PSAP). "Public safety answering point" or​

291.16 "PSAP" means a governmental agency operating a 24-hour communications facility operated​

291.17 on a 24-hour basis which that first receives 911 and other emergency calls from persons in​

291.18 a 911 service area and which may, as appropriate, central station notifications, text messages,​

291.19 and computer notifications and directly dispatch public safety dispatches emergency response​

291.20 services or extend, transfer, or relay 911 calls relays communications to appropriate public​

291.21 safety agencies according to a specific operational policy.​

291.22 Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.02, subdivision 19a, is amended to read:​

291.23 Subd. 19a. Secondary public safety answering point. "Secondary public safety​

291.24 answering point" means a communications facility that: (1) is operated on a 24-hour basis,​

291.25 in which a minimum of three public safety answering points (PSAPs) route calls for​

291.26 postdispatch or prearrival instructions; (2) receives calls directly from medical facilities to​

291.27 reduce call volume at the PSAPs; and (3) is able to receive 911 calls routed to it from a​

291.28 PSAP when the PSAP is unable to receive or answer 911 calls receives calls transferred​

291.29 from a public safety answering point and is connected to the 911 network.​
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292.1 Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

292.2 read:​

292.3 Subd. 19c. Public Utilities Commission (PUC). "Public Utilities Commission" or​

292.4 "PUC" means the Minnesota state commission defined in section 216A.03.​

292.5 Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

292.6 read:​

292.7 Subd. 19d. Regional board. "Regional board" means one of the seven emergency​

292.8 services and emergency communications boards in this state.​

292.9 Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

292.10 read:​

292.11 Subd. 19e. Service user. "Service user" means any person who initiates a 911 call to​

292.12 receive emergency services.​

292.13 Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

292.14 read:​

292.15 Subd. 19f. Voice over Internet Protocol (VoIP) service provider. "Voice over Internet​

292.16 Protocol service provider" or "VoIP service provider" means an entity that provides distinct​

292.17 packetized voice information in a digital format using the Internet protocol directly or​

292.18 through a third party, marketed or sold as either a telephone service or an information service​

292.19 interconnected with the PSTN, including both facilities-based service providers and resellers​

292.20 of such services.​

292.21 Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.02, subdivision 20, is amended to read:​

292.22 Subd. 20. Wire-line telecommunications communications service provider. "Wire-line​

292.23 telecommunications communications service provider" means a person, firm, association,​

292.24 corporation, or other legal entity, however organized, or combination of them, authorized​

292.25 by state or federal regulatory agencies to furnish telecommunications communications​

292.26 service, including local service, over wire-line facilities.​

292.27 Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.02, subdivision 20a, is amended to read:​

292.28 Subd. 20a. Wireless telecommunications communications service. "Wireless​

292.29 telecommunications communications service" means a commercial mobile radio service,​

292.30 as that term is defined in Code of Federal Regulations, title 47, section 20.3, including all​
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293.1 broadband personal communication services, wireless radio telephone services, and​

293.2 geographic area specialized mobile radio licensees, that offer real-time, two-way voice​

293.3 service interconnected with the public switched telephone network.​

293.4 Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.02, subdivision 21, is amended to read:​

293.5 Subd. 21. Wireless telecommunications communications service provider. "Wireless​

293.6 telecommunications communications service provider" means a provider of wireless​

293.7 telecommunications communications service.​

293.8 Sec. 32. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.025, is amended to read:​

293.9 403.025 911 EMERGENCY TELECOMMUNICATIONS COMMUNICATIONS​

293.10 SYSTEM AND SERVICES REQUIRED.​

293.11 Subdivision 1. General requirement. Each county shall operate and maintain a 911​

293.12 emergency telecommunications system.​

293.13 Subd. 1a. Emergency telephone number 911. The digits 911, so designated by the​

293.14 Federal Communications Commission, must be the primary emergency telephone number​

293.15 within the system 911 network. A public safety agency may maintain a separate secondary​

293.16 backup number for emergency calls and shall must maintain a separate number for​

293.17 nonemergency telephone calls.​

293.18 Subd. 1b. State requirements. The commissioner must establish, maintain, and make​

293.19 available to all counties a statewide interoperable ESInet backbone 911 network that ensures​

293.20 interoperability between all public safety answering points connected to the network and​

293.21 meets the requirements of counties operating 911 systems that have an approved update to​

293.22 their 911 plans.​

293.23 Subd. 1c. Contractual requirements. (a) The commissioner must contract with one or​

293.24 more ECNSPs to deliver the 911 network.​

293.25 (b) The contract language or subsequent amendments to the contracts between the parties​

293.26 must contain provisions on how the 911 call routing and location validation data provided​

293.27 by the counties will be utilized by the ECNSPs, including how data coordination and quality​

293.28 assurance with the counties will be conducted.​

293.29 (c) The contract language or subsequent amendments to contracts between the parties​

293.30 must contain provisions for resolving disputes.​
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294.1 (d) All data required under this chapter or Minnesota Rules, chapter 7580, to route 911​

294.2 calls, provide caller location, or validate possible 911 caller location information that is​

294.3 utilized or intended to be utilized by the 911 system must be provided by the counties and​

294.4 the state without cost and may be utilized by ECNSPs and OSPs for purposes of performing​

294.5 location data quality assurance, ensuring 911 system performance and statutory compliance.​

294.6 Use of the data is governed by section 403.07 and Minnesota Rules, chapter 7580.​

294.7 Subd. 1d. Intergovernmental agreements. Intergovernmental agreements may be​

294.8 implemented between the commissioner and counties or regional boards to support 911​

294.9 system plan changes, communicate the network design, and specify cybersecurity standards.​

294.10 The commissioner must develop the master agreement in collaboration with the governmental​

294.11 entity.​

294.12 Subd. 1e. County requirements. (a) Each county must operate and maintain a 911​

294.13 system and provide 911 services.​

294.14 (b) Each county is responsible for creating and maintaining a master street address guide​

294.15 and Geographical Information Systems data necessary to support accurate 911 call routing​

294.16 and location validation required to support the 911 network.​

294.17 Subd. 1f. 911 plans. Each participating county, federal, Tribal, or other organization​

294.18 must maintain and update a 911 plan that accurately documents current operations and 911​

294.19 system configurations within the public safety answering point in accordance with Minnesota​

294.20 Rules, chapter 7580. The commissioner must review 911 system plans for compliance with​

294.21 911 network and cybersecurity standards required under Minnesota Rules, chapter 7580.​

294.22 Subd. 1g. Secondary public safety answering point requirements. Secondary public​

294.23 safety answering points may be required to engage in agreements with the commissioner​

294.24 regarding network design standards, cybersecurity standards, and 911 fee audits.​

294.25 Subd. 2. Multijurisdictional system. The 911 network, 911 services, and 911 systems​

294.26 may be multijurisdictional and regional in character provided that design and implementation​

294.27 are preceded by cooperative planning on a county-by-county basis with local public safety​

294.28 agencies. An intergovernmental agreement must be in place between the participating​

294.29 government entities in a multijurisdictional or regional system, and the commissioner must​

294.30 be notified of the 911 plan change in accordance with Minnesota Rules, chapter 7580.​

294.31 Subd. 3. Connected telecommunications originating service provider​

294.32 requirements. Every owner and operator of a wire-line or wireless circuit switched or​

294.33 packet-based telecommunications system connected to the public switched telephone network​

294.34 shall design and maintain the system to dial the 911 number without charge to the caller.​
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295.1 Every OSP must allow Minnesota customers to access 911 without charge and deliver the​

295.2 request for emergency assistance to the 911 network at a state-designated POI and provide​

295.3 caller location information unless there are circumstances beyond the control of the provider​

295.4 to define a valid caller address, geographic location, and primary place of address.​

295.5 Subd. 3a. Originating service provider contractual requirements. (a) The state may​

295.6 contract with the appropriate wire-line telecommunications service providers or other entities​

295.7 determined by the commissioner to be eligible for cost recovery for providing access to the​

295.8 911 network for their subscribers.​

295.9 (b) The contract language or subsequent amendments to the contract must include a​

295.10 description of the costs that are being reimbursed. The contract language or subsequent​

295.11 amendments must include the terms of compensation based on the effective tariff or price​

295.12 list filed with the Public Utilities Commission or the prices agreed to by the parties.​

295.13 (c) The contract language or subsequent amendments to contracts between the parties​

295.14 must contain a provision for resolving disputes.​

295.15 Subd. 4. Wireless requirements. Every owner and operator of a wireless​

295.16 telecommunications system shall design and maintain the system to dial the 911 number​

295.17 without charge to the caller.​

295.18 Subd. 5. Pay phone requirements. Every pay phone owner and operator shall must​

295.19 permit dialing of the 911 number without coin and without charge to the caller.​

295.20 Subd. 6. Multistation or PBX system. Every owner and operator of a multistation or​

295.21 private branch exchange (PBX) multiline telephone system shall must design and maintain​

295.22 the system to dial the 911 number without charge to the caller.​

295.23 Subd. 7. Contractual requirements. (a) The state shall contract with the county or other​

295.24 governmental agencies operating public safety answering points and with the appropriate​

295.25 wire-line telecommunications service providers or other entities determined by the​

295.26 commissioner to be capable of providing effective and efficient components of the 911​

295.27 system for the operation, maintenance, enhancement, and expansion of the 911 system.​

295.28 (b) The contract language or subsequent amendments to the contract must include a​

295.29 description of the services to be furnished to the county or other governmental agencies​

295.30 operating public safety answering points. The contract language or subsequent amendments​

295.31 must include the terms of compensation based on the effective tariff or price list filed with​

295.32 the Public Utilities Commission or the prices agreed to by the parties.​
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296.1 (c) The contract language or subsequent amendments to contracts between the parties​

296.2 must contain a provision for resolving disputes.​

296.3 Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.03, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

296.4 Subd. 2. Telephone cardiopulmonary resuscitation program. (a) On or before July​

296.5 1, 2021, Every public safety answering point must maintain a telephone cardiopulmonary​

296.6 resuscitation program by either:​

296.7 (1) providing each 911 telecommunicator with training in cardiopulmonary resuscitation;​

296.8 or​

296.9 (2) transferring callers to another public safety answering point with 911​

296.10 telecommunicators that have received training in cardiopulmonary resuscitation.​

296.11 (b) Training in cardiopulmonary resuscitation must, at a minimum, include:​

296.12 (1) use of an evidence-based protocol or script for providing cardiopulmonary​

296.13 resuscitation instruction that has been recommended by an academic institution or a nationally​

296.14 recognized organization specializing in medical dispatch and, if the public safety answering​

296.15 point has a medical director, approved by that medical director; and​

296.16 (2) appropriate continuing education, as determined by the evidence-based protocol for​

296.17 providing cardiopulmonary resuscitation instruction and, if the public safety answering​

296.18 point has a medical director, approved by that medical director.​

296.19 (c) A public safety answering point that transfers callers to another public safety​

296.20 answering point must, at a minimum:​

296.21 (1) use an evidence-based protocol for the identification of a person in need of​

296.22 cardiopulmonary resuscitation;​

296.23 (2) provide each 911 telecommunicator with appropriate training and continuing education​

296.24 to identify a person in need of cardiopulmonary resuscitation through the use of an​

296.25 evidence-based protocol; and​

296.26 (3) ensure that any public safety answering point to which calls are transferred uses 911​

296.27 telecommunicators who meet the training requirements under paragraph (b).​

296.28 (d) Each public safety answering point shall conduct ongoing quality assurance of its​

296.29 telephone cardiopulmonary resuscitation program.​
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297.1 Sec. 34. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.05, is amended to read:​

297.2 403.05 911 SYSTEM NETWORK OPERATION AND MAINTENANCE.​

297.3 Subdivision 1. Operate and maintain. Each county or any other governmental agency​

297.4 shall The commissioner must operate and maintain its a statewide 911 system to meet​

297.5 network meeting the requirements of governmental agencies whose services are available​

297.6 through the 911 system and to permit future expansion or enhancement of the system. set​

297.7 forth by the commissioner through rules established under chapter 14, including but not​

297.8 limited to network and data performance measures, diversity, redundancy, interoperability,​

297.9 and cybersecurity. Each county, federal, Tribal, or other organization connected to the​

297.10 statewide 911 network must operate and maintain a 911 system that meets the requirements​

297.11 of governmental agencies whose services are available through the 911 network.​

297.12 Subd. 1a. GIS validation and aggregation. The commissioner must provide geospatial​

297.13 data validation and aggregation tools that counties need in order to share the GIS data​

297.14 required for the 911 network.​

297.15 Subd. 2. Rule requirements for 911 system plans. Each county or any other​

297.16 governmental agency shall maintain and update its 911 system plans as required under​

297.17 Minnesota Rules, chapter 7580.​

297.18 Subd. 2a. Responsibilities of PSAPs. (a) Each PSAP connecting to the statewide 911​

297.19 network must comply with state and, where applicable, regional 911 plans. Federal, Tribal,​

297.20 or other governmental organizations operating their own 911 systems must be approved by​

297.21 the commissioner.​

297.22 (b) Any PSAP not connected to the state 911 network that desires to interact with a 911​

297.23 system or has an agreement for shared 911 services must be interoperable with the state​

297.24 911 network.​

297.25 Subd. 3. Agreements for service. Each county or any other governmental agency shall​

297.26 contract with the state for the recurring and nonrecurring costs associated with operating​

297.27 and maintaining 911 emergency communications systems. If requested by the county or​

297.28 other governmental agency, the county or agency is entitled to be a party to any contract​

297.29 between the state and any wire-line telecommunications service provider or 911 emergency​

297.30 telecommunications service provider providing components of the 911 system within the​

297.31 county. The state must contract for facilities and services associated with the operation and​

297.32 maintenance of the statewide 911 network and ESInet. The contract and any subsequent​

297.33 amendments must include a description of the services to be provided and the terms of​

297.34 compensation based on the prices agreed to by the parties.​
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298.1 Sec. 35. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.06, is amended to read:​

298.2 403.06 COMMISSIONER'S DUTIES.​

298.3 Subdivision 1. System coordination, improvements, variations, and agreements. The​

298.4 commissioner shall may coordinate with counties on the management and maintenance of​

298.5 their 911 systems. If requested, the commissioner shall must aid counties in the formulation​

298.6 of concepts, methods, their public safety answering point plans, system design plans,​

298.7 performance and operational requirements, and procedures which will improve the operation​

298.8 and maintenance of their 911 systems. The commissioner shall establish procedures for​

298.9 determining and evaluating requests for variations from the established design standards.​

298.10 The commissioner shall respond to requests by wireless or wire-line telecommunications​

298.11 service providers or by counties or other governmental agencies for system agreements,​

298.12 contracts, and tariff language promptly and no later than within 45 days of the request unless​

298.13 otherwise mutually agreed to by the parties.​

298.14 Subd. 1a. Biennial budget; annual financial report. The commissioner shall must​

298.15 prepare a biennial budget for maintaining the 911 system. by December 15 of each year,.​

298.16 The commissioner shall must submit a report to the legislature detailing the expenditures​

298.17 for maintaining the 911 system network, the 911 fees collected, the balance of the 911 fund,​

298.18 the 911-related administrative expenses of the commissioner, and the most recent forecast​

298.19 of revenues and expenditures for the 911 emergency telecommunications service account,​

298.20 including a separate projection of E911 911 fees from prepaid wireless customers and​

298.21 projections of year-end fund balances. The commissioner is authorized to expend money​

298.22 that has been appropriated to pay for the maintenance, enhancements, and expansion of the​

298.23 911 system network.​

298.24 Subd. 1b. Connection plan required; commissioner review and enforcement. (a)​

298.25 The commissioner must respond to network and database change requests by OSPs promptly​

298.26 and no later than 45 days after the request unless otherwise mutually agreed to by the parties.​

298.27 All network and location database variances requested by OSPs connecting to the ESInet​

298.28 must comply with Minnesota Rules.​

298.29 (b) All OSPs must submit and maintain a plan for connection to the 911 network POIs​

298.30 in accordance with the requirements set forth in Minnesota Rules. The commissioner must​

298.31 review all connection plans to ensure compliance with all 911 network and database design​

298.32 and performance requirements.​

298.33 Subd. 2. Waiver. Any county, other governmental agency, wireless telecommunications​

298.34 service provider, or wire-line telecommunications service provider federal, Tribal, or other​
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299.1 organization connected to the statewide 911 network or OSP may petition the commissioner​

299.2 for a waiver of all or portions of the requirements. A waiver may be granted upon a​

299.3 demonstration by the petitioner that the requirement is economically infeasible.​

299.4 Sec. 36. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.07, is amended to read:​

299.5 403.07 NETWORK STANDARDS ESTABLISHED; DATA PRIVACY.​

299.6 Subdivision 1. Rules. The commissioner shall must establish and adopt in accordance​

299.7 with chapter 14, rules for the administration of this chapter and for the development of 911​

299.8 systems network in the state including:​

299.9 (1) design and performance standards for the 911 systems incorporating the standards​

299.10 adopted pursuant to subdivision 2 for the seven-county metropolitan area network, including​

299.11 but not limited to network, routing, and database standards for counties, OSPs, and ECNSPs;​

299.12 and​

299.13 (2) a procedure for determining and evaluating requests for variations from the established​

299.14 design standards design and performance standards for the ten-county metropolitan area,​

299.15 incorporating the standards adopted pursuant to subdivision 2.​

299.16 Subd. 2. Design standards for metropolitan area. The Metropolitan Emergency​

299.17 Services Board shall must establish and adopt design and performance standards for the​

299.18 metropolitan area 911 system and transmit them to the commissioner for incorporation into​

299.19 the rules adopted pursuant to this section. 911 network for the ten-county metropolitan area,​

299.20 including but not limited to network design, routing, and database standards for counties,​

299.21 OSPs, and ECNSPs operating in the ten-county metropolitan area and provide them to the​

299.22 commissioner in accordance with chapter 14 for incorporation into the rules adopted pursuant​

299.23 to this section. The standards must be interoperable with the statewide 911 network and​

299.24 data standards.​

299.25 Subd. 3. Database Location data. In 911 systems that have been approved by the​

299.26 commissioner for a local location identification database, each wire-line telecommunications​

299.27 service provider shall provide current customer names, service addresses, and telephone​

299.28 numbers to each public safety answering point within the 911 system and shall update the​

299.29 information according to a schedule prescribed by the county 911 plan. Information provided​

299.30 under this subdivision must be provided in accordance with the transactional record disclosure​

299.31 requirements of the federal Communications Act of 1934, United States Code, title 47,​

299.32 section 222, subsection (g). All OSPs must provide to the 911 network, at the time of each​

299.33 911 call, the location of the device making the 911 call, unless there are circumstances​
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300.1 beyond the control of the provider that prevents the OSP from sharing the location data.​

300.2 Any OSP supplying the location of 911 calls in civic address form must prevalidate the​

300.3 address to location data supplied by the county accessible through the NGCS.​

300.4 Subd. 3a. Access to data for accuracy. (a) OSPs must, upon request of the state, a​

300.5 region, the ECNSP, or a PSAP, provide a description or copy of subscriber address location​

300.6 information or GIS data used by the OSP that is necessary to verify location and routing​

300.7 accuracy of 911 calls. Any ECNSP routing 911 calls must, upon request of the state, provide​

300.8 a copy of routing files used in determining PSAP selection for the purpose of verifying​

300.9 routing accuracy.​

300.10 (b) OSPs must, upon request of the state, a region, the ECNSP, or a PSAP, provide a​

300.11 copy of subscriber address location information for uses specific to 911 systems. This request​

300.12 may carry a cost to the requester.​

300.13 Subd. 3b. Database standards in metropolitan area. The Metropolitan Emergency​

300.14 Services Board must establish and adopt 911 database standards for OSPs operating in the​

300.15 ten-county metropolitan area 911 system and provide them to the commissioner for​

300.16 incorporation in accordance with chapter 14 into the rules adopted pursuant to this section.​

300.17 Subd. 4. Use of furnished information. (a) Names, addresses, and telephone numbers​

300.18 provided to a 911 system under subdivision 3 are private data and may be used only:​

300.19 (1) to identify the location or identity, or both, of a person calling a 911 public safety​

300.20 answering point PSAP; or​

300.21 (2) by a public safety answering point PSAP to notify the public of an emergency.​

300.22 (b) The information furnished under subdivision 3 this chapter and the rules adopted​

300.23 pursuant to subdivision 1 may not be used or disclosed by 911 system agencies, their agents,​

300.24 or their employees for any other purpose except under a court order.​

300.25 (b) (c) For purposes of this subdivision, "emergency" means a situation in which property​

300.26 or human life is in jeopardy and the prompt notification of the public by the public safety​

300.27 answering point is essential.​

300.28 Subd. 5. Liability. (a) A wire-line telecommunications service provider An OSP, its​

300.29 employees, or its agents are not liable to any person who uses enhanced 911​

300.30 telecommunications service NG911 services for release of subscriber information required​

300.31 under this chapter to any public safety answering point PSAP.​

300.32 (b) A wire-line telecommunications service provider An OSP is not liable to any person​

300.33 for the good-faith release to emergency communications personnel of information not in​
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301.1 the public record, including, but not limited to, nonpublished or nonlisted telephone numbers,​

301.2 except for willful or wanton misconduct.​

301.3 (c) A wire-line telecommunications service provider, its employees, or its agents are not​

301.4 liable to any person for civil damages resulting from or caused by any act or omission in​

301.5 the development, design, installation, operation, maintenance, performance, or provision​

301.6 of enhanced 911 telecommunications service, except for willful or wanton misconduct.​

301.7 (d) A multiline telephone system manufacturer, provider, or operator is not liable for​

301.8 any civil damages or penalties as a result of any act or omission, except willful or wanton​

301.9 misconduct, in connection with developing, designing, installing, maintaining, performing,​

301.10 provisioning, adopting, operating, or implementing any plan or system required by section​

301.11 403.15.​

301.12 (e) A telecommunications service provider (c) An OSP that participates in or cooperates​

301.13 with the public safety answering point in notifying the public of an emergency, as authorized​

301.14 under subdivision 4, is immune from liability arising out of the notification except for willful​

301.15 or wanton misconduct.​

301.16 Sec. 37. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.08, is amended to read:​

301.17 403.08 WIRELESS TELECOMMUNICATIONS ORIGINATING SERVICE​

301.18 PROVIDER PROVIDERS.​

301.19 Subd. 7. Duties. Each wireless telecommunications service provider shall cooperate in​

301.20 planning and implementing integration with enhanced 911 systems operating in their service​

301.21 territories to meet Federal Communications Commission-enhanced 911 standards. Each​

301.22 wireless telecommunications service provider shall annually develop and provide to the​

301.23 commissioner good-faith estimates of installation and recurring expenses to integrate wireless​

301.24 911 service into the enhanced 911 networks to meet Federal Communications Commission​

301.25 phase one wireless enhanced 911 standards. The commissioner shall coordinate with counties​

301.26 and affected public safety agency representatives in developing a statewide design and plan​

301.27 for implementation. Each originating service provider (OSP) must cooperate in planning​

301.28 and implementing integration with the statewide 911 network to meet Federal​

301.29 Communications Commission and Public Utilities Commission 911 requirements, as​

301.30 applicable.​

301.31 Subd. 9. Scope. Planning considerations must include cost, degree of integration into​

301.32 existing 911 systems, the retention of existing 911 infrastructure, and the potential​

301.33 implications of phase 2 of the Federal Communications Commission wireless enhanced​
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302.1 911 standards a plan to interconnect to the 911 network POIs, the retention and reuse of​

302.2 existing 911 infrastructure, and the implications of the Federal Communications​

302.3 Commission's wireless location accuracy requirements.​

302.4 Subd. 10. Plan integration. Counties shall incorporate the statewide design when​

302.5 modifying county 911 plans to provide for integrating wireless 911 service into existing​

302.6 county 911 systems. An OSP must annually submit plans to the commissioner detailing​

302.7 how they will connect, or confirming how they already connect, to the statewide 911 network.​

302.8 Subd. 11. Liability. (a) No wireless enhanced 911 emergency telecommunications​

302.9 service provider OSP, its employees, or its agents are liable to any person for civil damages​

302.10 resulting from or caused by any act or omission in the development, design, installation,​

302.11 operation, maintenance, performance, or provision of enhanced 911 wireless service, except​

302.12 for willful or wanton misconduct.​

302.13 (b) No wireless carrier, its employees, or its agents are liable to any person who uses​

302.14 enhanced 911 wireless service for release of subscriber information required under this​

302.15 chapter to any public safety answering point.​

302.16 (b) A multiline telephone system manufacturer, provider, or operator is not liable for​

302.17 any civil damages or penalties as a result of any act or omission, except willful or wanton​

302.18 misconduct, in connection with developing, designing, installing, maintaining, performing,​

302.19 provisioning, adopting, operating, or implementing any plan or system required by section​

302.20 403.15.​

302.21 Subd. 12. Notification of subscriber. A provider of wireless telecommunications services​

302.22 shall notify its subscribers at the time of initial subscription and four times per year thereafter​

302.23 that a 911 emergency call made from a wireless telephone is not always answered by a local​

302.24 public safety answering point but may be routed to a State Patrol dispatcher and that,​

302.25 accordingly, the caller must provide specific information regarding the caller's location.​

302.26 Sec. 38. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.09, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

302.27 Subd. 2. Commission authority. At the request of the public utilities commission, the​

302.28 attorney general may commence proceedings before the district court pursuant to section​

302.29 237.27, against any wire-line telecommunications originating service provider that falls​

302.30 under the commission's authority and refuses to comply with this chapter.​
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303.1 Sec. 39. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.10, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

303.2 Subd. 2. Notice to public safety government agency. Public safety Government agencies​

303.3 with jurisdictional responsibilities shall must in all cases be notified by the public safety​

303.4 answering point of a request for service in their jurisdiction.​

303.5 Sec. 40. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.10, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

303.6 Subd. 3. Allocating costs. Counties, public agencies, operating public safety answering​

303.7 points, and other local governmental units may enter into cooperative agreements under​

303.8 section 471.59 for the allocation of operational and capital costs attributable to the 911​

303.9 system and 911 services.​

303.10 Sec. 41. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.11, is amended to read:​

303.11 403.11 911 SYSTEM COST ACCOUNTING REQUIREMENTS; FEE.​

303.12 Subdivision 1. Emergency telecommunications service fee; account. (a) Each customer​

303.13 of a wireless or wire-line switched or packet-based telecommunications an originating​

303.14 service provider connected to the public switched telephone network that furnishes service​

303.15 capable of originating a 911 emergency telephone call is assessed a fee based upon the​

303.16 number of wired or wireless telephone lines, or their equivalent, to provide access to the​

303.17 911 network and maintenance of the 911 customer database, or when the only option, to​

303.18 cover the costs of ongoing maintenance and related improvements for trunking and central​

303.19 office switching equipment and maintenance of 911 customer databases for 911 emergency​

303.20 telecommunications service, to offset administrative and staffing costs of the commissioner​

303.21 related to managing the 911 emergency telecommunications service program, to make​

303.22 distributions provided for in section 403.113, and to offset the costs, including administrative​

303.23 and staffing costs, incurred by the State Patrol Division of the Department of Public Safety​

303.24 in handling 911 emergency calls made from wireless phones.​

303.25 (b) Money remaining in the 911 emergency telecommunications service account after​

303.26 all other obligations are paid and defined reserves are met must not cancel and is carried​

303.27 forward to subsequent years and may be appropriated from time to time to the commissioner​

303.28 to provide financial assistance to counties eligible entities for the improvement of local​

303.29 emergency telecommunications services 911 systems in compliance with use as designated​

303.30 in section 403.113, subdivision 3.​

303.31 (c) The fee may not be more than 95 cents a month on or after July 1, 2010, for each​

303.32 customer access line or other basic access service, including trunk equivalents as designated​
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304.1 by the Public Utilities Commission for access charge purposes and including wireless​

304.2 telecommunications services. With the approval of the commissioner of management and​

304.3 budget, the commissioner of public safety shall must establish the amount of the fee within​

304.4 the limits specified and inform the companies and carriers of the amount to be collected.​

304.5 When the revenue bonds authorized under section 403.27, subdivision 1, have been fully​

304.6 paid or defeased, the commissioner shall reduce the fee to reflect that debt service on the​

304.7 bonds is no longer needed. The commissioner shall must provide companies and carriers a​

304.8 minimum of 45 days' notice of each fee change. The fee must be the same for all customers,​

304.9 except that the fee imposed under this subdivision does not apply to prepaid wireless​

304.10 telecommunications service, which is instead subject to the fee imposed under section​

304.11 403.161, subdivision 1, paragraph (a).​

304.12 (d) The fee must be collected by each wireless or wire-line telecommunications​

304.13 originating service provider subject to the fee. Fees are payable to and must be submitted​

304.14 to the commissioner monthly before the 25th of each month following the month of​

304.15 collection, except that fees may be submitted quarterly if less than $250 a month is due, or​

304.16 annually if less than $25 a month is due. Receipts must be deposited in the state treasury​

304.17 and credited to a 911 emergency telecommunications service account in the special revenue​

304.18 fund. The money in the account may only be used for 911 telecommunications services.​

304.19 The money in the account may only be used for costs outlined in section 403.113.​

304.20 (e) Competitive local exchanges carriers holding certificates of authority from the Public​

304.21 Utilities Commission are eligible to receive payment for recurring 911 services.​

304.22 Subd. 1a. Fee collection declaration. If the commissioner disputes the accuracy of a​

304.23 fee submission or if no fees are submitted by a wireless, wire-line, or packet-based​

304.24 telecommunications service provider, the wireless, wire-line, or packet-based​

304.25 telecommunications an originating service provider shall, the OSP must submit a sworn​

304.26 declaration signed by an officer of the company certifying, under penalty of perjury, that​

304.27 the information provided with the fee submission is true and correct. The sworn declaration​

304.28 must specifically describe and affirm that the 911 fee computation is complete and accurate.​

304.29 When a wireless, wire-line, or packet-based telecommunications service provider an OSP​

304.30 fails to provide a sworn declaration within 90 days of notice by the commissioner that the​

304.31 fee submission is disputed, the commissioner may estimate the amount due from the wireless,​

304.32 wire-line, or packet-based telecommunications service provider OSP and refer that amount​

304.33 for collection under section 16D.04.​

304.34 Subd. 1b. Examination of fees. If the commissioner determines that an examination is​

304.35 necessary to document the fee submission and sworn declaration in subdivision 1a, the​
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305.1 wireless, wire-line, or packet-based telecommunications service provider OSP must contract​

305.2 with an independent certified public accountant to conduct an examination of fees. The​

305.3 examination must be conducted in accordance with attestation audit standards.​

305.4 Subd. 3. Method of payment. (a) Any wireless or wire-line telecommunications service​

305.5 provider incurring reimbursable costs under subdivision 1 shall submit an invoice itemizing​

305.6 rate elements by county or service area to the commissioner for 911 services furnished under​

305.7 contract. Any wireless or wire-line telecommunications service provider is eligible to receive​

305.8 payment for 911 services rendered according to the terms and conditions specified in the​

305.9 contract. The commissioner shall pay the invoice within 30 days following receipt of the​

305.10 invoice unless the commissioner notifies the service provider that the commissioner disputes​

305.11 the invoice must be paid in accordance with the amount and terms of their valid cost recovery​

305.12 contract as described in section 403.025, subdivision 3a.​

305.13 (b) The commissioner shall must estimate the amount required to reimburse 911​

305.14 emergency telecommunications service providers and wireless and wire-line​

305.15 telecommunications service providers the OSP for the state's obligations under subdivision​

305.16 1 and the governor shall must include the estimated amount in the biennial budget request.​

305.17 Subd. 3a. Timely invoices. An invoice for services provided for in the contract with a​

305.18 wireless or wire-line telecommunications service provider must be submitted to the​

305.19 commissioner no later than 90 days after commencing a new or additional eligible 911​

305.20 service. Each applicable contract must provide that, if certified expenses under the contract​

305.21 deviate from estimates in the contract by more than ten percent, the commissioner may​

305.22 reduce the level of service without incurring any termination fees.​

305.23 Subd. 3b.  Declaration. If the commissioner disputes an invoice, the wireless and​

305.24 wire-line telecommunications service providers shall submit a declaration under section​

305.25 16A.41 signed by an officer of the company with the invoices for payment of service​

305.26 described in the service provider's 911 contract. The sworn declaration must specifically​

305.27 describe and affirm that the 911 service contracted for is being provided and the costs​

305.28 invoiced for the service are true and correct. When a wireless or wire-line telecommunications​

305.29 service provider fails to provide a sworn declaration within 90 days of notice by the​

305.30 commissioner that the invoice is disputed, the disputed amount of the invoice must be​

305.31 disallowed.​

305.32 Subd. 3c. Audit. If the commissioner determines that an audit is necessary to document​

305.33 the invoice and sworn declaration in subdivision 3b costs eligible for recovery as detailed​

305.34 in subdivision 1, the wireless or wire-line telecommunications service provider OSP must​
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306.1 contract with an independent certified public accountant to conduct the audit. The audit​

306.2 must be conducted according to generally accepted accounting principles. The wireless or​

306.3 wire-line telecommunications service provider OSP is responsible for any costs associated​

306.4 with the audit.​

306.5 Subd. 3d. Eligible telecommunications carrier; requirement. No wireless​

306.6 communications provider OSP may provide telecommunications services under a designation​

306.7 of eligible telecommunications carrier, as provided under Minnesota Rules, part 7811.1400,​

306.8 until and unless the commissioner of public safety certifies to the chair of the public utilities​

306.9 commission that the wireless telecommunications provider is not in arrears in amounts owed​

306.10 to the 911 emergency telecommunications service account in the special revenue fund.​

306.11 Subd. 4. Local recurring costs. Recurring costs of not covered as part of the state 911​

306.12 network contracts for telecommunications equipment and services at public safety answering​

306.13 points must be borne by the local governmental agency operating the public safety answering​

306.14 point or allocated pursuant to section 403.10, subdivision 3. Costs attributable to local​

306.15 government electives for services not otherwise addressed under section 403.11 or 403.113​

306.16 must be borne by the governmental agency requesting the elective service.​

306.17 Subd. 5. Tariff notification. Wire-line telecommunications service providers or wireless​

306.18 telecommunications service providers holding eligible telecommunications carrier status​

306.19 shall must give notice to the commissioner and any other affected governmental agency of​

306.20 tariff or price list changes related to 911 service at the same time that the filing is made with​

306.21 the public utilities commission.​

306.22 Subd. 6. OSP report. (a) Beginning Each September 1, 2013, and continuing​

306.23 semiannually thereafter and March 1, each wireless telecommunications service provider​

306.24 shall OSP must report to the commissioner, based on the mobile subscriber's telephone​

306.25 number, both. Wireless communication providers must include the total number of prepaid​

306.26 wireless telecommunications subscribers sourced to Minnesota and the total number of​

306.27 wireless telecommunications subscribers sourced to Minnesota. The report must be filed​

306.28 on the same schedule as Federal Communications Commission Form 477.​

306.29 (b) The commissioner shall must make a standard form available to all wireless​

306.30 telecommunications service providers for submitting information required to compile the​

306.31 report required under this subdivision.​

306.32 (c) The information provided to the commissioner under this subdivision is considered​

306.33 trade secret information under section 13.37 and may only be used for purposes of​

306.34 administering this chapter.​

306​Article 15 Sec. 41.​
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307.1 Sec. 42. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.113, is amended to read:​

307.2 403.113 ENHANCED 911 SERVICE COSTS; FEE.​

307.3 Subdivision 1. Fee. A portion of the fee collected under section 403.11 must be used to​

307.4 fund implementation, operation, maintenance, enhancement, and expansion of enhanced​

307.5 the 911 service network, including acquisition of necessary equipment and the costs of the​

307.6 commissioner to administer the program in accordance with Federal Communications​

307.7 Commission rules.​

307.8 Subd. 2. Distribution of money. (a) After payment of the costs of the commissioner to​

307.9 administer the program, the commissioner shall must distribute the money collected under​

307.10 this section as follows:​

307.11 (1) one-half of the amount equally to all qualified counties, and after October 1, 1997,​

307.12 to all qualified counties, existing ten public safety answering points operated by the​

307.13 Minnesota State Patrol, and each governmental entity operating the individual public safety​

307.14 answering points serving the Metropolitan Airports Commission, the Red Lake Indian​

307.15 Reservation, and the University of Minnesota Police Department; and​

307.16 (2) the remaining one-half to qualified counties and cities with existing 911 systems​

307.17 based on each county's or city's percentage of the total population of qualified counties and​

307.18 cities. The population of a qualified city with an existing system must be deducted from its​

307.19 county's population when calculating the county's share under this clause if the city seeks​

307.20 direct distribution of its share.​

307.21 (b) A county's share under subdivision 1 must be shared pro rata between the county​

307.22 and existing city systems in the county. A county or city or other governmental entity as​

307.23 described in paragraph (a), clause (1), shall must deposit money received under this​

307.24 subdivision in an interest-bearing fund or account separate from the governmental entity's​

307.25 general fund and may use money in the fund or account only for the purposes specified in​

307.26 subdivision 3.​

307.27 (c) A county or city or other governmental entity as described in paragraph (a), clause​

307.28 (1), is not qualified to share in the distribution of money for enhanced 911 service if it has​

307.29 not implemented enhanced 911 service before December 31, 1998.​

307.30 (d) For the purposes of this subdivision, "existing city system" means a city 911 system​

307.31 that provides at least basic 911 service and that was implemented on or before April 1, 1993.​

307.32 Subd. 3. Local expenditures. (a) Money distributed under subdivision 2 for enhanced​

307.33 911 service systems or services may be spent on enhanced 911 system costs for the purposes​

307​Article 15 Sec. 42.​
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308.1 stated in subdivision 1. In addition, money may be spent to lease, purchase, lease-purchase,​

308.2 or maintain enhanced 911 equipment, including telephone equipment; recording equipment;​

308.3 computer hardware; computer software for database provisioning, addressing, mapping,​

308.4 and any other software necessary for automatic location identification or local location​

308.5 identification; trunk lines; selective routing equipment; the master street address guide;​

308.6 dispatcher public safety answering point equipment proficiency and operational skills; pay​

308.7 for long-distance charges incurred due to transferring 911 calls to other jurisdictions; and​

308.8 the equipment necessary within the public safety answering point for community alert​

308.9 systems and to notify and communicate with the emergency services requested by the 911​

308.10 caller. as well as expenses deemed allowable in accordance with Code of Federal Regulations,​

308.11 title 47, section 9.2.​

308.12 (b) Money distributed for enhanced 911 service systems or services may not be spent​

308.13 on:​

308.14 (1) purchasing or leasing of real estate or cosmetic additions to or remodeling of​

308.15 communications centers public safety answering points;​

308.16 (2) mobile communications vehicles, fire engines, ambulances, law enforcement vehicles,​

308.17 or other emergency vehicles;​

308.18 (3) signs, posts, or other markers related to addressing or any costs associated with the​

308.19 installation or maintenance of signs, posts, or markers.;​

308.20 (4) any purposes prohibited by the Federal Communications Commission;​

308.21 (5) the transfer of 911 fees into a state or other jurisdiction's general fund or other fund​

308.22 for non-911 purposes;​

308.23 (6) public safety telecommunicator salaries unless associated with training functions;​

308.24 and​

308.25 (7) the leasing or purchase of end user equipment.​

308.26 Subd. 4. Audits. (a) Each county and city or other governmental entity federal, Tribal,​

308.27 or other organization connected to the statewide 911 network as described in subdivision​

308.28 2, paragraph (a), clause (1), shall or secondary public safety answering point must conduct​

308.29 an annual audit a compliance report in accordance with Minnesota Rules, chapter 7580, and​

308.30 Code of Federal Regulations, title 47, section 9.25, on the use of funds distributed to it for​

308.31 enhanced 911 service systems or services to ensure the distribution is spent according to​

308.32 subdivision 3. A copy of each audit compliance report must be submitted to the​

308.33 commissioner.​

308​Article 15 Sec. 42.​
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309.1 (b) The commissioner may request a state audit of a county, federal, Tribal, or other​

309.2 organization connected to the statewide 911 network which receives 911 funds from the​

309.3 state to operate its 911 system or service to ensure compliance with subdivision 3.​

309.4 (c) Failure to submit a compliance report may result in a disruption of 911 fee distribution​

309.5 until the compliance report is submitted.​

309.6 Sec. 43. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.15, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

309.7 Subdivision 1. Multistation or PBX system. Except as otherwise provided in this​

309.8 section, every owner and operator of a new multistation or private branch exchange (PBX)​

309.9 multiline telephone system purchased or upgraded after December 31, 2004, shall must​

309.10 design and maintain the system to provide a callback number or ten-digit caller ID and​

309.11 emergency response location.​

309.12 Sec. 44. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.15, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

309.13 Subd. 2. Multiline telephone system user dialing instructions. (a) Each multiline​

309.14 telephone system (MLTS) operator must demonstrate or otherwise inform each new telephone​

309.15 system user how to call for emergency assistance from that particular multiline telephone​

309.16 system.​

309.17 (b) MLTS platforms that are manufactured, imported, offered for first sale or lease, first​

309.18 sold or leased, or installed after February 16, 2020, must enable users to directly initiate a​

309.19 call to 911 from any station equipped with dialing facilities without dialing any additional​

309.20 digit, code, prefix, or postfix, including any trunk-access code such as the digit nine,​

309.21 regardless of whether the user is required to dial such a digit, code, prefix, or postfix for​

309.22 other calls.​

309.23 (c) MLTSs that are manufactured, imported, offered for first sale or lease, first sold or​

309.24 leased, or installed after February 16, 2020, must be configured so that upon an occurrence​

309.25 of a 911 call it will provide a notification that a 911 call has been made to a central location​

309.26 at the facility where the system is installed or to another person or organization, regardless​

309.27 of location, if the system is able to be configured to provide the notification without an​

309.28 improvement to the hardware or software of the system.​

309.29 Sec. 45. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.15, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

309.30 Subd. 3. Shared residential multiline telephone system. On and after January 1, 2005,​

309.31 operators of shared multiline telephone systems, whenever installed, serving residential​

309.32 customers shall must ensure that the shared multiline telephone system is connected to the​

309​Article 15 Sec. 45.​
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310.1 public switched network and that 911 calls from the system result in at least one distinctive​

310.2 automatic number identification and automatic location identification for each residential​

310.3 unit, except those requirements do not apply if the residential facility maintains one of the​

310.4 following:​

310.5 (1) automatic location identification for each respective emergency response location;​

310.6 (2) the ability to direct emergency responders to the 911 caller's location through an​

310.7 alternative and adequate means, such as the establishment of a 24-hour private answering​

310.8 point operated by the facility; or​

310.9 (3) a connection to a switchboard operator, attendant, or other designated on-site​

310.10 individual.​

310.11 Sec. 46. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.15, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

310.12 Subd. 4. Hotel or motel multiline telephone system. Operators of hotel and motel​

310.13 multiline telephone systems shall must permit the dialing of 911 and shall must ensure that​

310.14 911 calls originating from hotel or motel multiline telephone systems allow the 911 system​

310.15 to clearly identify the address and specific location of the 911 caller.​

310.16 Sec. 47. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.15, subdivision 5, is amended to read:​

310.17 Subd. 5. Business multiline telephone system. (a) An operator of business multiline​

310.18 telephone systems connected to the public switched telephone network and serving business​

310.19 locations of one employer shall must ensure that calls to 911 from any telephone on the​

310.20 system result in one of the following:​

310.21 (1) automatic location identification for each respective emergency response location;​

310.22 (2) an ability to direct emergency responders to the 911 caller's location through an​

310.23 alternative and adequate means, such as the establishment of a 24-hour private answering​

310.24 point operated by the employer; or​

310.25 (3) a connection to a switchboard operator, attendant, or other designated on-site​

310.26 individual.​

310.27 (b) Except as provided in paragraph (c), providers of multiline telephone systems serving​

310.28 multiple employers' business locations shall must ensure that calls to 911 from any telephone​

310.29 result in automatic location identification for the respective emergency response location​

310.30 of each business location sharing the system.​

310.31 (c) Only one emergency response location is required in the following circumstances:​

310​Article 15 Sec. 47.​
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311.1 (1) an employer's work space is less than 40,000 square feet, located on a single floor​

311.2 and on a single contiguous property;​

311.3 (2) an employer's work space is less than 7,000 square feet, located on multiple floors​

311.4 and on a single contiguous property; or​

311.5 (3) an employer's work space is a single public entrance, single floor facility on a single​

311.6 contiguous property.​

311.7 Sec. 48. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.15, subdivision 6, is amended to read:​

311.8 Subd. 6. Schools. A multiline telephone system operated by a public or private​

311.9 educational institution, including a system serving dormitories and other residential​

311.10 customers, is subject to this subdivision and is not subject to subdivision 3. The operator​

311.11 of the education institution multiline system connected to the public switched network must​

311.12 ensure that calls to 911 from any telephone on the system result in one of the following:​

311.13 (1) automatic location identification for each respective emergency response location;​

311.14 (2) an ability to direct emergency responders to the 911 caller's location through an​

311.15 alternative and adequate means, such as the establishment of a 24-hour private answering​

311.16 point operated by the educational institution; or​

311.17 (3) a connection to a switchboard operator, attendant, or other designated on-site​

311.18 individual.​

311.19 Sec. 49. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 403.15, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

311.20 read:​

311.21 Subd. 9. MLTS location compliance notification. Beginning July 1, 2023, all vendors​

311.22 of MLTSs or hosted MLTS services in Minnesota must disclose to their customers the 911​

311.23 location requirements in this chapter and include 911 location compliant capabilities in the​

311.24 systems or services they sell.​

311.25 Sec. 50. RENUMBERING.​

311.26 In Minnesota Statutes, the revisor of statutes shall renumber the subdivisions of Minnesota​

311.27 Statutes, section 403.02.​

311.28 Sec. 51. REPEALER.​

311.29 Minnesota Statutes 2022, sections 403.02, subdivision 13; and 403.09, subdivision 3,​

311.30 are repealed."​

311​Article 15 Sec. 51.​
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312.1 Amend the title accordingly​

312​Article 15 Sec. 51.​
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