STATE OF MINNESOTA FOURTIETH MEETING HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES NINETY-SECOND SESSION

Environment and Natural Resources Finance and Policy

MINUTES

Representative Rick Hansen, Chair of the Environment and Natural Resources Finance and Policy Committee, called the virtual meeting to order at 1:00 P.M. February 22, 2022, pursuant to House rule 10.01. The meeting was conducted over Zoom and broadcast via House Public Information Services.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll

Members present:

HANSEN, Rick (Chair) WAZLAWIK, Ami (Vice Chair) HEINTZEMAN, Josh (Lead) ACOMB, Patty AKLAND, Susan BACKER, Jeff **BECKER-FINN**, Jamie ECKLUND, Rob FISCHER, Peter **GREEN**, Steve IGO, Spencer JORDAN, Sydney **KEELER**, Heather LEE, Fue LIPPERT, Todd LUECK, Dale MORRISON, Kelly NELSON. Nathan

Members excused:

THEIS, Tama

A quorum was present.

Representative Lippert moved that the minutes of February 17. 2022, be adopted. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Vice-Chair Wazlawik assumed the gavel at 1:03 P.M.

Representative Hansen moved that HF 3598 (Hansen) be recommended to be re-referred to the Ways and Means Committee.

Representative Hansen moved that the A1 amendment be adopted. THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.

Representative Hansen presented HF 3598, as amended, Livestock farmers and specialty crop producers impacted by drought financial assistance provided; drought relief loans provided to farmers; financial assistance provided to municipalities, townships, and Tribal governments for increasing water efficiency in public water supplies; grants provided for planting shade trees and purchasing tree-watering equipment; financial assistance provided to replace drought-killed seedlings; and money appropriated.

Testifying on HF 3598, as amended:

- Sarah Strommen, Commissioner, Minnesota Department of Natural Resources
- Stephanie Pinkalla, Government Relations Manager, The Nature Conservancy
- Forrest Boe, Forestry Division Director, Minnesota Department of Natural Resources

Representative Hansen renewed his motion that HF 3598, as amended, be recommended to be rereferred to the Ways and Means Committee.

Vice-Chair Wazlawik directed the clerk to take the roll on HF3598 as amended:

AYES: HANSEN, Rick WAZLAWIK, Ami ACOMB, Patty AKLAND, Susan BECKER-FINN, Jamie ECKLUND, Rob FISCHER, Peter JORDAN, Sydney KEELER, Heather LEE, Fue LIPPERT, Todd MORRISON, Kelly

NAYS: HEINTZEMAN, Josh BACKER, Jeff GREEN, Steve IGO, Spencer LUECK, Dale NELSON, Nathan EXCUSED: THEIS, Tama

There being 12 ayes, 6 nays and 1 excused, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Chair Hansen assumed the gavel at 1:57 P.M.

A presentation was given on the Petroleum Remediation Program by the Office of the Legislative Auditor (OLA).

Testifying:

- Judy Randall, Legislative Auditor, Office of the Legislative Auditor.
- Caitlin Badger, Evaluation Manager, Office of the Legislative Auditor.
- Kirk Koudelka, Assistant Commissioner, Minnesota Pollution Control Agency.

Chair Hansen adjourned the meeting at 2:39 P.M.

Rick Hansen Chair of Environment and Natural Resources Finance and Policy

> Scotland Kraker Committee Legislative Assistant