01/05/17 04:34 PM HOUSE RESEARCH BE/JF H0006DE1

..... moves to amend H.F. No. 6 as follows:

1.1

1.2

1.3

1.4

1.5

1.6

1.7

1.8

1.9

1.10

1.11

1.12

1.13

1.14

1.15

1.16

1.17

1.18

1.19

1.20

1.21

Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:

"Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 216A.03, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Members. The Public Utilities Commission shall consist of five nine members, eight of whom shall each represent one of the state's congressional districts, and one member appointed at large. At the time of appointment, each member, except for the at-large appointee, must reside in the congressional district the member is to represent. The terms of members shall be six years and until their successors have been appointed and qualified. Each commissioner shall be appointed by the governor by and with the advice and consent of the senate. Not more than three five commissioners shall belong to the same political party. At least one commissioner must have been domiciled at the time of appointment outside the seven-county metropolitan area. If the membership of the commission after July 31, 1986, does not consist of at least one member domiciled at the time of appointment outside the seven-county metropolitan area, the membership shall conform to this requirement following normal attrition of the present commissioners. The governor when selecting commissioners shall give consideration to persons learned in the law or persons who have engaged in the profession of engineering, public accounting, property and utility valuation, finance, physical or natural sciences, production agriculture, or natural resources as well as being representative of the general public.

For purposes of this subdivision, "seven-county metropolitan area" means Anoka, Carver, Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey, Scott, and Washington Counties.

1.22 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Section 1.

01/05/17 04:34 PM	HOUSE RESEARCH	BE/JF	11000CDE1
01/03/1/ 04.34 FM	HOUSE RESEARCH	\mathbf{DE}/\mathbf{JF}	H0006DE1

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 216A.03, is amended by adding a subdivision to 2.1 read: 2.2 Subd. 2a. **Transition.** (a) Until the governor has appointed commissioners from each 2.3 congressional district and one at-large commissioner, this subdivision governs membership 2.4 2.5 of the commission. (b) Members of the commission as of July 1, 2017, shall continue to serve until the 2.6 expiration of their terms. 2.7 (c) No later than October 1, 2017, the governor shall appoint commissioners from the 2.8 first, second, seventh, and eighth congressional districts for terms to begin January 2, 2018. 2.9 (d) No later than October 1, 2018, the governor shall appoint a commissioner from the 2.10 third congressional district for a term to begin January 8, 2019. 2.11 (e) No later than October 1, 2019, the governor shall appoint a commissioner from the 2.12 fourth congressional district for a term to begin January 7, 2020. 2.13 (f) No later than October 1, 2020, the governor shall appoint a commissioner from the 2.14 fifth congressional district for a term to begin January 5, 2021. 2.15 (g) No later than October 1, 2021, the governor shall appoint a commissioner from the 2.16 sixth congressional district for a term to begin January 4, 2022. 2.17 (h) No later than October 1, 2022, the governor shall appoint a commissioner to serve 2.18 at large for a term to begin January 4, 2023. 2.19

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment."

Sec. 2. 2

Amend the title accordingly

2.20

2.21