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.................... moves to amend H.F. No. 4385 as follows:

Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:

"ARTICLE 1

FEDERAL TAX CONFORMITY

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 270A.03, subdivision 5, is

amended to read:

Subd. 5. Debt. (a) "Debt" means a legal obligation of a natural person to pay a fixed and
certain amount of money, which equals or exceeds $25 and which is due and payable to a
claimant agency. The term includes criminal fines imposed under section 609.10 or 609.125,
fines imposed for petty misdemeanors as defined in section 609.02, subdivision 4a, and
restitution. A debt may arise under a contractual or statutory obligation, a court order, or

other legal obligation, but need not have been reduced to judgment.

A debt includes any legal obligation of a current recipient of assistance which is based
on overpayment of an assistance grant where that payment is based on a client waiver or
an administrative or judicial finding of an intentional program violation; or where the debt
1s owed to a program wherein the debtor is not a client at the time notification is provided
to initiate recovery under this chapter and the debtor is not a current recipient of food support,

transitional child care, or transitional medical assistance.

(b) A debt does not include any legal obligation to pay a claimant agency for medical
care, including hospitalization if the income of the debtor at the time when the medical care

was rendered does not exceed the following amount:
(1) for an unmarried debtor, an income of $42;560 $13,180 or less;
(2) for a debtor with one dependent, an income of $1+6;680 $16,878 or less;

(3) for a debtor with two dependents, an income of $1+9;020 $19,959 or less;

Article 1 Section 1. 1
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(4) for a debtor with three dependents, an income of $24;580 $22,643 or less;
(5) for a debtor with four dependents, an income of $22;760 $23,887 or less; and
(6) for a debtor with five or more dependents, an income of $23;730 $24,900 or less.

For purposes of this paragraph, "debtor" means the individual whose income, together
with the income of the individual's spouse, other than a separated spouse, brings the
individual within the income provisions of this paragraph. For purposes of this paragraph,

a spouse, other than a separated spouse, shall be considered a dependent.

(c) The commissioner shall adjust the income amounts in paragraph (b) by the percentage
determined pursuant to the provisions of section 1(f) of the Internal Revenue Code, except

that in section 1(f)(3)(B) the word “2644" "2017" shall be substituted for the word "1992:"

onAugust 31-of the-year preeeding-the-taxable-year: "2016." The determination of the

commissioner pursuant to this subdivision shall not be considered a "rule" and shall not be

subject to the Administrative Procedure Act contained in chapter 14. The income amount
as adjusted must be rounded to the nearest $10 amount. If the amount ends in $5, the amount

is rounded up to the nearest $10 amount.

(d) Debt also includes an agreement to pay a MinnesotaCare premium, regardless of the

dollar amount of the premium authorized under section 256L.15, subdivision 1a.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for taxable year beginning after December
31, 2017.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 289A.02, subdivision 7, is amended

to read:

Subd. 7. Internal Revenue Code. Unless specifically defined otherwise, "Internal
Revenue Code" means the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as amended through Deeember
16,2646 March 31, 2018.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for taxable years beginning after December

31, 2017.

Article 1 Sec. 2. 2
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Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 289A.08, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Generally; individuals. (a) A taxpayer must file a return for each taxable
year the taxpayer is required to file a return under section 6012 of the Internal Revenue

Code or meets the requirements under paragraph (d) to file a return, except that:

(1) an individual who is not a Minnesota resident for any part of the year is not required
to file a Minnesota income tax return if the individual's gross income derived from Minnesota
sources as determined under sections 290.081, paragraph (a), and 290.17, is less than the

filing requirements for a single individual who is a full year resident of Minnesota; and

(2) an individual who is a Minnesota resident is not required to file a Minnesota income
tax return if the individual's gross income derived from Minnesota sources as determined
under section 290.17, less the subtractions allowed under section 290.0132, subdivisions
12 and 15, is less than the filing requirements for a single individual who is a full-year

resident of Minnesota.

(b) The decedent's final income tax return, and other income tax returns for prior years
where the decedent had gross income in excess of the minimum amount at which an
individual is required to file and did not file, must be filed by the decedent's personal
representative, if any. If there is no personal representative, the return or returns must be
filed by the transferees, as defined in section 270C.58, subdivision 3, who receive property

of the decedent.

(c) The term "gross income," as it is used in this section, has the same meaning given it

in section 290.01, subdivision 20.

(d) The commissioner of revenue shall annually determine the gross income levels at

which individuals are required to file a return for each taxable year based on the amounts

that may be deducted under section 290.0803.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for taxable years beginning after December
31,2017.

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 289A.08, subdivision 7, is amended to read:

Subd. 7. Composite income tax returns for nonresident partners, shareholders, and
beneficiaries. (a) The commissioner may allow a partnership with nonresident partners to
file a composite return and to pay the tax on behalf of nonresident partners who have no
other Minnesota source income. This composite return must include the names, addresses,
Social Security numbers, income allocation, and tax liability for the nonresident partners

electing to be covered by the composite return.

Article 1 Sec. 4. 3
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(b) The computation of a partner's tax liability must be determined by multiplying the
income allocated to that partner by the highest rate used to determine the tax liability for
individuals under section 290.06, subdivision 2¢. Nonbusiness deductions, standard

deductions, or personal exemptions are not allowed.

(c) The partnership must submit a request to use this composite return filing method for
nonresident partners. The requesting partnership must file a composite return in the form
prescribed by the commissioner of revenue. The filing of a composite return is considered

a request to use the composite return filing method.

(d) The electing partner must not have any Minnesota source income other than the
income from the partnership and other electing partnerships. If it is determined that the
electing partner has other Minnesota source income, the inclusion of the income and tax
liability for that partner under this provision will not constitute a return to satisfy the
requirements of subdivision 1. The tax paid for the individual as part of the composite return
is allowed as a payment of the tax by the individual on the date on which the composite
return payment was made. If the electing nonresident partner has no other Minnesota source

income, filing of the composite return is a return for purposes of subdivision 1.

(e) This subdivision does not negate the requirement that an individual pay estimated
tax if the individual's liability would exceed the requirements set forth in section 289A.25.
The individual's liability to pay estimated tax is, however, satisfied when the partnership

pays composite estimated tax in the manner prescribed in section 289A.25.

(f) If an electing partner's share of the partnership's gross income from Minnesota sources
is less than the filing requirements for a nonresident under this subdivision, the tax liability
is zero. However, a statement showing the partner's share of gross income must be included

as part of the composite return.

(g) The election provided in this subdivision is only available to a partner who has no
other Minnesota source income and who is either (1) a full-year nonresident individual or
(2) a trust or estate that does not claim a deduction under either section 651 or 661 of the

Internal Revenue Code.

(h) A corporation defined in section 290.9725 and its nonresident shareholders may
make an election under this paragraph. The provisions covering the partnership apply to

the corporation and the provisions applying to the partner apply to the shareholder.

(1) Estates and trusts distributing current income only and the nonresident individual

beneficiaries of the estates or trusts may make an election under this paragraph. The

Article 1 Sec. 4. 4
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provisions covering the partnership apply to the estate or trust. The provisions applying to

the partner apply to the beneficiary.

(j) For the purposes of this subdivision, "income" means the partner's share of federal
adjusted gross income from the partnership modified by the additions provided in section

290.0131, subdivisions 8 to H 10, 15, and 17, and the subtractions provided in: (1) section

290.0132, subdivision 9, to the extent the amount is assignable or allocable to Minnesota
under section 290.17; and (2) section 290.0132, subdivision 14. The subtraction allowed
under section 290.0132, subdivision 9, is only allowed on the composite tax computation

to the extent the electing partner would have been allowed the subtraction.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for taxable years beginning after December

31, 2017.

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 289A.12, subdivision 14, is amended

to read:

Subd. 14. Reporting exempt interest and exempt-interest dividends. (a) A regulated
investment company paying $10 or more in exempt-interest dividends to an individual who
is a resident of Minnesota, or any person receiving $10 or more of exempt interest or
exempt-interest dividends and paying as nominee to an individual who is a resident of
Minnesota, must make a return indicating the amount of the exempt interest or
exempt-interest dividends, the name, address, and Social Security number of the recipient,
and any other information that the commissioner specifies. The return must be provided to
the recipient by February 15 of the year following the year of the payment. The return
provided to the recipient must include a clear statement, in the form prescribed by the
commissioner, that the exempt interest or exempt-interest dividends must be included in
the computation of Minnesota taxable income. By June 1 of each year, the payer must file

a copy of the return with the commissioner.
(b) For purposes of this subdivision, the following definitions apply.

(1) "Exempt-interest dividends" mean exempt-interest dividends as defined in section
852(b)(5) of the Internal Revenue Code, but does not include the portion of exempt-interest

dividends that are not required to be added to federal taxable adjusted gross income under

section 290.0131, subdivision 2, paragraph (b).

(2) "Regulated investment company" means regulated investment company as defined
in section 851(a) of the Internal Revenue Code or a fund of the regulated investment company

as defined in section 851(g) of the Internal Revenue Code.

Article 1 Sec. 5. 5



6.1

6.2

6.3

6.4

6.5

6.6

6.7

6.8

6.9

6.10

6.11

6.12

6.13

6.14

6.15

6.16

6.17

6.18

6.19

6.20

6.21

6.22

6.23

6.24

6.25

6.26

6.27

6.28

6.29

6.30

04/21/18 12:28 PM HOUSE RESEARCH PD/RK H4385DE1

(3) "Exempt interest" means income on obligations of any state other than Minnesota,
or a political or governmental subdivision, municipality, or governmental agency or
instrumentality of any state other than Minnesota, and exempt from federal income taxes

under the Internal Revenue Code or any other federal statute.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for taxable years beginning after December
31, 2017.

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 289A.35, is amended to read:
289A.35 ASSESSMENTS ON RETURNS.

(a) The commissioner may audit and adjust the taxpayer's computation of federal adjusted

gross income, federal taxable income, items of federal tax preferences, or federal credit

amounts to make them conform with the provisions of chapter 290 or section 298.01. If a
return has been filed, the commissioner shall enter the liability reported on the return and

may make any audit or investigation that is considered necessary.

(b) Upon petition by a taxpayer, and when the commissioner determines that it is in the
best interest of the state, the commissioner may allow S corporations and partnerships to
receive orders of assessment issued under section 270C.33, subdivision 4, on behalf of their
owners, and to pay liabilities shown on such orders. In such cases, the owners' liability must

be calculated using the method provided in section 289A.08, subdivision 7, paragraph (b).

(c) A taxpayer may petition the commissioner for the use of the method described in
paragraph (b) after the taxpayer is notified that an audit has been initiated and before an

order of assessment has been issued.

(d) A determination of the commissioner under paragraph (b) to grant or deny the petition

of a taxpayer cannot be appealed to the Tax Court or any other court.

(e) The commissioner may audit and adjust the taxpayer's computation of tax under
chapter 291. In the case of a return filed pursuant to section 289A.10, the commissioner
shall notify the estate no later than nine months after the filing date, as provided by section
289A.38, subdivision 2, whether the return is under examination or the return has been

processed as filed.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for taxable years beginning after December
31, 2017.

Article 1 Sec. 6. 6
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Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 290.01, is amended by adding a subdivision to

read:

Subd. 14a. Surviving spouse. The term "surviving spouse" means an individual who is

a surviving spouse under section 2(a) of the Internal Revenue Code for the taxable year.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for taxable years beginning after December
31,2017.

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 290.01, subdivision 19, is amended

to read:

Subd. 19. Net income. (a) For a corporation taxable under section 290.02, an estate, or

a trust, the term "net income" means the federal taxable income, as defined in section 63 of
the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as amended through the date named in this subdivision,
incorporating the federal effective dates of changes to the Internal Revenue Code and any

elections made by the taxpayer in accordance with the Internal Revenue Code in determining
federal taxable income for federal income tax purposes, and with the modifications provided

in sections 290.0131 to 290.0136.

(b) For an individual, the term "net income" means federal adjusted gross income with

the modifications provided in sections 290.0131, 290.0132, 290.0135, and 290.0136.

(c) In the case of a regulated investment company or a fund thereof, as defined in section
851(a) or 851(g) of the Internal Revenue Code, federal taxable income means investment
company taxable income as defined in section 852(b)(2) of the Internal Revenue Code,

except that:

(1) the exclusion of net capital gain provided in section 852(b)(2)(A) of the Internal

Revenue Code does not apply;

(2) the deduction for dividends paid under section 852(b)(2)(D) of the Internal Revenue
Code must be applied by allowing a deduction for capital gain dividends and exempt-interest
dividends as defined in sections 852(b)(3)(C) and 852(b)(5) of the Internal Revenue Code;

and

(3) the deduction for dividends paid must also be applied in the amount of any
undistributed capital gains which the regulated investment company elects to have treated

as provided in section 852(b)(3)(D) of the Internal Revenue Code.

Article 1 Sec. 8. 7



8.1

8.2

8.3

8.4

8.5

8.6

8.7

8.8

8.9

8.10

8.11

8.12

8.13

8.14

8.15

8.16

8.17

8.18

8.19

8.20

8.21

8.22

8.23

8.24

8.25

8.26

8.27

8.28

8.29

8.30

8.31

8.32

04/21/18 12:28 PM HOUSE RESEARCH PD/RK H4385DE1

(d) The net income of a real estate investment trust as defined and limited by section
856(a), (b), and (c) of the Internal Revenue Code means the real estate investment trust

taxable income as defined in section 857(b)(2) of the Internal Revenue Code.

(e) The net income of a designated settlement fund as defined in section 468B(d) of the
Internal Revenue Code means the gross income as defined in section 468B(b) of the Internal

Revenue Code.

(f) For a taxpayer with a valid election under section 965(h) of the Internal Revenue

Code, including any successor in interest, net income for the taxable year includes the ratable

amount of deferred foreign income on which the taxpayer makes a federal tax payment in

that year.

(f) The Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as amended through Deeember16;2016 March

31, 2018, shall be in effect for taxable years beginning after December 31, 1996.

(g) Except as otherwise provided, references to the Internal Revenue Code in this
subdivision and sections 290.0131 to 290.0136 mean the code in effect for purposes of

determining net income for the applicable year.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment, except

the changes incorporated by federal changes are effective retroactively at the same time as

the changes were effective for federal purposes and the changes amending the new paragraph

(a) and adding paragraph (b) are effective for taxable years beginning after December 31,
2017.

Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 290.01, is amended by adding a subdivision to

read:

Subd. 21a. Adjusted gross income. The terms "adjusted gross income" and "federal

adjusted gross income" mean adjusted gross income, as defined in section 62 of the Internal

Revenue Code, as amended through the date named in subdivision 19, incorporating the

federal effective date of changes to the Internal Revenue Code and any elections made by

the taxpayer under the Internal Revenue Code in determining federal adjusted gross income

for federal income tax purposes.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 290.01, subdivision 22, is amended to read:

Subd. 22. Taxable net income. For tax years beginning after December 31, 1986 2017,

the term "taxable net income'" means:

Article 1 Sec. 10. 8
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(1) for resident individuals the-same-as, net income less the deductions allowed under

section 290.0803;

(2) for individuals who were net residents of Minnesota for less than the entire year, the

same-as net income less the deductions allowed under section 290.0803, except that the tax

1s imposed only on the Minnesota apportioned share of that income as determined pursuant

to section 290.06, subdivision 2c, paragraph (e);

(3) for all other taxpayers, the part of net income that is allocable to Minnesota by
assignment or apportionment under one or more of sections 290.17, 290.191, 290.20, and

290.36, except that for nonresident individuals net income is reduced by the amount of the

standard deduction allowable under section 290.0803, subdivision 2, before allocation of

net income to Minnesota.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for taxable years beginning after December
31, 2017.

Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 290.01, subdivision 31, is amended

to read:

Subd. 31. Internal Revenue Code. Unless specifically defined otherwise, "Internal
Revenue Code" means the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as amended through Deeember
1+6,201+6 March 31, 2018. Internal Revenue Code also includes any uncodified provision

in federal law that relates to provisions of the Internal Revenue Code that are incorporated
into Minnesota law. When used in this chapter, the reference to "subtitle A, chapter 1,
subchapter N, part 1, of the Internal Revenue Code" is to the Internal Revenue Code as

amended through March 18, 2010.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment and

applies to the same taxable years as the changes incorporated by federal changes are effective

for federal purposes, including any provisions that are retroactive to taxable years beginning

after December 31, 2016.

Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 290.0131, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Definition; scope. (2) For the purposes of this section, "addition" means

an amount that must be added to federal taxable adjusted gross income, or for estates and

trusts, federal taxable income, in computing net income for the taxable year to which the

amounts relate.

(b) The additions in this section apply to individuals, estates, and trusts.

Article 1 Sec. 12. 9
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(c) Unless specifically indicated or unless the context clearly indicates otherwise, only

amounts that were deducted or excluded in computing federal taxable adjusted gross income,

or for estates and trusts, federal taxable income, are an addition under this section.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for taxable years beginning after December
31,2017.

Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 290.0131, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Income, sales and use, motor vehicle sales, or excise taxes paid. (&) For trusts
and estates, the amount of income, sales and use, motor vehicle sales, or excise taxes paid
or accrued within the taxable year under this chapter and the amount of taxes based on net
income, sales and use, motor vehicle sales, or excise taxes paid to any other state or to any

province or territory of Canada is an addition to the extent deducted under section 63(d) of

the Internal Revenue Code.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for taxable years beginning after December
31,2017.

Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 290.013 1, subdivision 10, is amended

to read:

Subd. 10. Section 179 expensing. Effective for property placed in service in taxable

years beginning before January 1, 2018, 80 percent of the amount by which the deduction

allowed under the dollar limits of section 179 of the Internal Revenue Code exceeds the
deduction allowable by section 179 of the Internal Revenue Code, as amended through

December 31, 2003, is an addition.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for taxable years beginning after December
31,2017.

Article 1 Sec. 14. 10
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Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 290.0131, is amended by adding a subdivision

to read:

Subd. 15. Foreign-derived intangible income. The amount of foreign-derived intangible

income deducted under section 250 of the Internal Revenue Code for the taxable year is an

addition.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for taxable years beginning after December
31,2017.

Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 290.0131, is amended by adding a subdivision

to read:

Subd. 16. 529 plan distributions for K-12 expenses. The lesser of the following amounts

1s an addition:

(1) the total distributions for the taxable year from a qualified plan under section 529 of

the Internal Revenue Code, owned by the taxpayer, that are expended for qualified higher

education expenses under section 529(c)(7) of the Internal Revenue Code (expenses for

tuition for elementary or secondary public, private, or religious school); or

(2) the total amount required to be reported to the taxpayer by any trustee of a qualified

tuition plan under section 529 of the Internal Revenue Code as earnings on Internal Revenue

Service Form 1099Q for the taxable year.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for taxable years beginning after December
31, 2017.

Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 290.0131, is amended by adding a subdivision

to read:

Subd. 17. Qualified business income addition. For a trust or estate, the amount deducted

under section 199A of the Internal Revenue Code in computing the federal taxable income

of the trust or estate is an addition.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for taxable years beginning after December

31,2017.

Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 290.0132, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Definition; scope. (a) For the purposes of this section, "subtraction"

means an amount that shall is allowed to be subtracted from federal taxable adjusted gross

Article 1 Sec. 18. 11
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income, or for estates and trusts, federal taxable income, in computing net income for the

taxable year to which the amounts relate.
(b) The subtractions in this section apply to individuals, estates, and trusts.

(c) Unless specifically indicated or unless the context clearly indicates otherwise, no
amount deducted, subtracted, or otherwise excluded in computing federal taxable adjusted

gross income, or for estates and trusts, federal taxable income, is a subtraction under this

section.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for taxable years beginning after December
31, 2017.

Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 290.0132, subdivision 7, is amended to read:

Subd. 7. Charitable contributions for taxpayers who do not itemize. To-the-extent

determining federal-taxable-ineeme-by For an individual who does not itemize deductions
for-federalineome-tax-purpeses under section 290.0803 for the taxable year, an amount

equal to 50 percent of the excess of charitable contributions over $500 allowable as a

deduction for the taxable year under section +70¢a)-efthe Internal Revenue-Cede 290.0803,

subdivision 5, is a subtraction. The subtraction under this subdivision must not include a

distribution that is excluded from federal adjusted gross income and that is not deductible

under section 408(d)(8)(E) of the Internal Revenue Code.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for taxable years beginning after December
31,2017.

Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 290.0132, subdivision 21, is amended

to read:

Subd. 21. Military service pension; retirement pay. To the extent included in federal

taxable adjusted gross income, compensation received from a pension or other retirement

pay from the federal government for service in the military, as computed under United
States Code, title 10, sections 1401 to 1414, 1447 to 1455, and 12733, is a subtraction. The

subtraction is limited to individuals who do not claim the credit under section 290.0677.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for taxable years beginning after December

31, 2017.
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Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 290.0132, subdivision 26, is amended

to read:

Subd. 26. Social Security benefits. (a) A portion of Social Security benefits is allowed
as a subtraction. The subtraction equals the lesser of Social Security benefits or a maximum

subtraction subject to the limits under paragraphs (b), (c), and (d).

(b) For married taxpayers filing a joint return and surviving spouses, the maximum
subtraction equals $4;500 $4,590. The maximum subtraction is reduced by 20 percent of

provisional income over $77000 $78,530. In no case is the subtraction less than zero.

(c) For single or head-of-household taxpayers, the maximum subtraction equals $3;560
$3,570. The maximum subtraction is reduced by 20 percent of provisional income over

$60.200 $61,400. In no case is the subtraction less than zero.

(d) For married taxpayers filing separate returns, the maximum subtraction equals $2;250

one-half the maximum subtraction for joint returns under paragraph (b). The maximum

subtraction is reduced by 20 percent of provisional income over $38;500 one-half the

maximum subtraction for joint returns under paragraph (b). In no case is the subtraction

less than zero.

(e) For purposes of this subdivision, "provisional income" means modified adjusted
gross income as defined in section 86(b)(2) of the Internal Revenue Code, plus one-half of
the Social Security benefits received during the taxable year, and "Social Security benefits"

has the meaning given in section 86(d)(1) of the Internal Revenue Code.

(f) The commissioner shall adjust the maximum subtraction and threshold amounts in

paragraphs (b) to (d) by the percentage determined pursuant to the provisions of section

1(f) of the Internal Revenue Code, except that in section 1(f)(3)(B) of the Internal Revenue
Code the word “26+6" "2017" shall be substituted for the word 1992 Fer2018,the

the-yearpreceding thetaxable-year. "2016." The determination of the commissioner pursuant

to this subdivision must not be considered a rule and is not subject to the Administrative

Procedure Act contained in chapter 14, including section 14.386. The maximum subtraction
and threshold amounts as adjusted must be rounded to the nearest $10 amount. If the amount

ends in $5, the amount is rounded up to the nearest $10 amount.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for taxable years beginning after December
31, 2017.
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Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 290.0132, is amended by adding a subdivision

to read:

Subd. 27. Global intangible low-taxed income. The taxpayer's global intangible

low-taxed income included under section 951 A of the Internal Revenue Code for the taxable

year is a subtraction.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for taxable years beginning after December
31,2017.

Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 290.0132, is amended by adding a subdivision

to read:

Subd. 28. Deferred foreign income of nonresidents. For a nonresident individual the

amount of deferred foreign income recognized because of section 965 of the Internal Revenue

Code is a subtraction.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective retroactively for taxable years beginning

after December 31, 2016, and before January 1, 2019.

Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 290.0133, subdivision 6, is amended to read:

Subd. 6. Special deductions. (a) The amount of any special deductions under sections

241 to 247 of the Internal Revenue Code and 965 the amount of foreign derived intangible

income deducted under section 250 of the Internal Revenue Code is an addition.

(b) The addition under this subdivision is reduced by the amount of the deduction under

section 245A of the Internal Revenue Code that represents amounts included in federal

taxable income in a prior taxable year under section 965 of the Internal Revenue Code.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective retroactively for taxable years beginning

after December 31, 2016.

Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 290.0133, subdivision 12, is amended

to read:

Subd. 12. Section 179 expensing. Effective for property placed in service in taxable

years beginning before January 1, 2018, 80 percent of the amount by which the deduction

allowed under the dollar limits of section 179 of the Internal Revenue Code exceeds the
deduction allowable by section 179 of the Internal Revenue Code, as amended through

December 31, 2003, is an addition.

Article 1 Sec. 25. 14
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EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for taxable years beginning after December
31,2017.

Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 290.0134, is amended by adding a subdivision

to read:

Subd. 17. Global intangible low-taxed income. The taxpayer's global intangible

low-taxed income included under section 951 A of the Internal Revenue Code for the taxable

year is a subtraction.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for taxable years beginning after December
31, 2017.

Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 290.0136, is amended to read:

290.0136 CERTAIN PREFERRED STOCK LOSSES.

A taxpayer must compute net income by treating losses from the sale or transfer of
certain preferred stock, which the taxpayer treated as ordinary losses pursuant to Division
A, title III, section 301 of Public Law 110-343, as capital losses. The amount of net income
under section 290.01, subdivision 19; taxable net income under section 290.01, subdivision
22; taxable income under section 290.01, subdivision 29; the numerator and denominator
in section 290.06, subdivision 2c, paragraph (e); individual alternative minimum taxable
income under section 290.091, subdivision 2; eerperate-alternative- minimumtaxableineome
underseetion290-0921-subdivision3: and net operating losses under section 290.095 must
be computed for each taxable year as if those losses had been treated by the taxpayer as
capital losses under the Internal Revenue Code, including the limitations under section 1211

of the Internal Revenue Code.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for taxable years beginning after December
31, 2017.

Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 290.05, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Taxes imposed on exempt entities. (a) An organization exempt from taxation
under subdivision 2 shall, nevertheless, be subject to tax under this chapter to the extent

provided in the following provisions of the Internal Revenue Code:
(1) section 527 (dealing with political organizations);
(2) section 528 (dealing with certain homeowners associations);

(3) sections 511 to 515 (dealing with unrelated business income);
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(4) section 521 (dealing with farmers' cooperatives); and

(5) section 6033(e)(2) (dealing with lobbying expense); but notwithstanding this
subdivision, shall be considered an organization exempt from income tax for the purposes

of any law which refers to organizations exempt from income taxes.

(b) The tax shall be imposed on the taxable income of political organizations or
homeowner associations or the unrelated business taxable income, as defined in section 512
of the Internal Revenue Code, of organizations defined in section 511 of the Internal Revenue

Code, provided that the tax is not imposed on:

(1) advertising revenues from a newspaper published by an organization described in

section 501(c)(4) of the Internal Revenue Code; or

(2) revenues from lawful gambling authorized under chapter 349 that are expended for
purposes that qualify for the deduction for charitable contributions under section 170 of the
Internal Revenue Code, disregarding the limitation under section 170(b)(2), but only to the

extent the contributions are not deductible in computing federal taxable income.

The tax shall be at the corporate rates. The tax shall only be imposed on income and
deductions assignable to this state under sections 290.17 to 290.20. To the extent deducted
in computing federal taxable income, the deductions contained in section 290.21 shall not

be allowed in computing Minnesota taxable net income.

(c) The tax shall be imposed on organizations subject to federal tax under section
6033(e)(2) of the Internal Revenue Code, in an amount equal to the corporate tax rate
multiplied by the amount of lobbying expenses taxed under section 6033(e)(2) which are

attributable to lobbying the Minnesota state government.

(d) In calculating unrelated business taxable income under section 512 of the Internal

Revenue Code, the amount of any net operating loss deduction claimed under section 172

of the Internal Revenue Code is an addition. Taxpayers making an addition under this

paragraph may deduct a net operating loss for the taxable year in the same manner as a

corporation under section 290.095, in a form and manner prescribed by the commissioner,

and may calculate the loss without the application of the limitation provided for under

section 512(a)(6) of the Internal Revenue Code.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for taxable years beginning after December

31, 2017.
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Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 290.06, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Computation, corporations. (a) The franchise tax imposed upon
corporations shall be computed by applying to their taxable income the rate of 9-8 9.06

percent.

(b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), the rate for taxable years beginning after December

31, 2017, and before January 1, 2020, is 9.64 percent.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for taxable years beginning after December

31, 2017.

Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 290.06, subdivision 2c, is amended to read:

Subd. 2c. Schedules of rates for individuals, estates, and trusts. (a) The income taxes

imposed by this chapter upon married individuals filing joint returns and surviving spouses

as-defined-in-seetton2(a)-of the Internal Revenue-Code must be computed by applying to

their taxable net income the following schedule of rates:
(1) On the first $35;480 $37,850, 5.35 percent;

(2) On all over $35;486 $37,850, but not over $146;960,-7-065 $150,380, 6.75 percent;

(3) On all over $146,960 $150,380, but not over $256;060 $266,700, 7.85 percent;
(4) On all over $2506;000 $266,700, 9.85 percent.

Married individuals filing separate returns, estates, and trusts must compute their income
tax by applying the above rates to their taxable income, except that the income brackets

will be one-half of the above amounts.

(b) The income taxes imposed by this chapter upon unmarried individuals must be

computed by applying to taxable net income the following schedule of rates:
(1) On the first $24;270 $25,890, 5.35 percent;

(2) On all over $24;276 $25,890, but not over $79;736;-705 $85,060, 6.75 percent;

(3) On all over $79,736 $85,060, but not over $156,;000 $160,020, 7.85 percent;
(4) On all over $156;600 $160,020, 9.85 percent.

(c) The income taxes imposed by this chapter upon unmarried individuals qualifying as
a head of household as defined in section 2(b) of the Internal Revenue Code must be

computed by applying to taxable net income the following schedule of rates:

(1) On the first $29;880 $31,880, 5.35 percent;
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18.1

18.2

18.3

18.4

18.5

18.6

18.7

18.8

18.9

18.10

18.11

18.12

18.13

18.14

18.15

18.16

18.17

18.18

18.19

18.20

18.21

18.22

18.23

18.24

18.25

18.26

18.27

18.28

18.29

18.30

18.31

04/21/18 12:28 PM HOUSE RESEARCH PD/RK H4385DE1

(2) On all over $29;880 $31,880, but not over $120,070,-7-05 $128,090, 6.75 percent;

(3) On all over $326;676 $128,090, but not over $200;000 $213,360, 7.85 percent;
(4) On all over $200,600 $213,360, 9.85 percent.

(d) In lieu of a tax computed according to the rates set forth in this subdivision, the tax
of any individual taxpayer whose taxable net income for the taxable year is less than an
amount determined by the commissioner must be computed in accordance with tables
prepared and issued by the commissioner of revenue based on income brackets of not more
than $100. The amount of tax for each bracket shall be computed at the rates set forth in
this subdivision, provided that the commissioner may disregard a fractional part of a dollar

unless it amounts to 50 cents or more, in which case it may be increased to $1.

(e) An individual who is not a Minnesota resident for the entire year must compute the
individual's Minnesota income tax as provided in this subdivision. After the application of
the nonrefundable credits provided in this chapter, the tax liability must then be multiplied

by a fraction in which:

(1) the numerator is the individual's Minnesota source federal adjusted gross income as
definedinseetion-62-of the Internal Revenue-Cede and increased by the additions required
under section 290.0131, subdivisions 2 and 6 to H- 10, and reduced by the Minnesota
assignable portion of the subtraction for United States government interest under section
290.0132, subdivision 2, and the subtractions under section 290.0132, subdivisions 9, 10,
14, 15, 17, and 18, 27, and 28, after applying the allocation and assignability provisions of
section 290.081, clause (a), or 290.17; and

(2) the denominator is the individual's federal adjusted gross income as-defined-in-seetion
62-of the Internal Revenue-Ceode, increased by the amounts specified in section 290.0131,

subdivisions 2 and 6 to H 10, and reduced by the amounts specified in section 290.0132,
subdivisions 2, 9, 10, 14, 15, 17, and 18, 27, and 28.

(f) For taxable years beginning after December 31, 2017, and before January 1, 2019,

a rate of seven percent applies instead of the 6.75 percent rate in paragraphs (a) to (¢) and

for taxable years beginning after December 31, 2018, and before January 1, 2020, a rate of

6.9 percent applies.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for taxable years beginning after December

31, 2017.
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Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 290.06, subdivision 2d, is amended to read:

Subd. 2d. Inflation adjustment of brackets. (a) For taxable years beginning after
December 31, 2013, the minimum and maximum dollar amounts for each rate bracket for

which a tax is imposed in subdivision 2¢ shall be adjusted for inflation by the percentage

determined under paragraph (b). Ferthe-purpese-of making the-adjustment-as-provided-in

201+4- The rate applicable to any rate bracket must not be changed. The dollar amounts

setting forth the tax shall be adjusted to reflect the changes in the rate brackets. The rate
brackets as adjusted must be rounded to the nearest $10 amount. If the rate bracket ends in

$5, it must be rounded up to the nearest $10 amount.

(b) The commissioner shall adjust the rate brackets and by the percentage determined

pursuant to the provisions of section 1(f) of the Internal Revenue Code, except that in section

1()(3)(B) the word “2642" "2017" shall be substituted for the word 1992 Fer20+4,the

year-preceding-the-taxable-year: "2016." The determination of the commissioner pursuant

to this subdivision shall not be considered a "rule" and shall not be subject to the

Administrative Procedure Act contained in chapter 14.

No later than December 15 of each year, the commissioner shall announce the specific

percentage that will be used to adjust the tax rate brackets.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for taxable years beginning after December
31, 2017.

Sec. 32. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 290.067, subdivision 1, is amended

to read:

Subdivision 1. Amount of credit. (a) A taxpayer may take as a credit against the tax
due from the taxpayer and a spouse, if any, under this chapter an amount equal to the
dependent care credit for which the taxpayer is eligible pursuant to the provisions of section
21 of the Internal Revenue Code except that in determining whether the child qualified as
a dependent, income received as a Minnesota family investment program grant or allowance
to or on behalf of the child must not be taken into account in determining whether the child
received more than half of the child's support from the taxpayer, and the provisions of

section 32(b)(1)(D) of the Internal Revenue Code do not apply.
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(b) If a child who has not attained the age of six years at the close of the taxable year is
cared for at a licensed family day care home operated by the child's parent, the taxpayer is
deemed to have paid employment-related expenses. If the child is 16 months old or younger
at the close of the taxable year, the amount of expenses deemed to have been paid equals
the maximum limit for one qualified individual under section 21(c) and (d) of the Internal
Revenue Code. If the child is older than 16 months of age but has not attained the age of
six years at the close of the taxable year, the amount of expenses deemed to have been paid
equals the amount the licensee would charge for the care of a child of the same age for the

same number of hours of care.
(c) If a married couple:
(1) has a child who has not attained the age of one year at the close of the taxable year;
(2) files a joint tax return for the taxable year; and

(3) does not participate in a dependent care assistance program as defined in section 129
of the Internal Revenue Code, in lieu of the actual employment related expenses paid for
that child under paragraph (a) or the deemed amount under paragraph (b), the lesser of (i)
the combined earned income of the couple or (i1) the amount of the maximum limit for one
qualified individual under section 21(c) and (d) of the Internal Revenue Code will be deemed
to be the employment related expense paid for that child. The earned income limitation of
section 21(d) of the Internal Revenue Code shall not apply to this deemed amount. These
deemed amounts apply regardless of whether any employment-related expenses have been
paid.

(d) If the taxpayer is not required and does not file a federal individual income tax return

for the tax year, no credit is allowed for any amount paid to any person unless:

(1) the name, address, and taxpayer identification number of the person are included on

the return claiming the credit; or

(2) if the person is an organization described in section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue
Code and exempt from tax under section 501(a) of the Internal Revenue Code, the name

and address of the person are included on the return claiming the credit.

In the case of a failure to provide the information required under the preceding sentence,
the preceding sentence does not apply if it is shown that the taxpayer exercised due diligence

in attempting to provide the information required.

(e) In the case of a nonresident, part-year resident, or a person who has earned income

not subject to tax under this chapter including earned income excluded pursuant to section

Article 1 Sec. 32. 20
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290.0132, subdivision 10, the credit determined under section 21 of the Internal Revenue
Code must be allocated based on the ratio by which the earned income of the claimant and
the claimant's spouse from Minnesota sources bears to the total earned income of the claimant

and the claimant's spouse.

(f) For residents of Minnesota, the subtractions for military pay under section 290.0132,
subdivisions 11 and 12, are not considered "earned income not subject to tax under this

chapter."

(g) For residents of Minnesota, the exclusion of combat pay under section 112 of the
Internal Revenue Code is not considered "earned income not subject to tax under this

chapter."

(h) For taxpayers with federal adjusted gross income in excess of $56;060 $50,990, the
credit is equal to the lesser of the credit otherwise calculated under this subdivision, or the
amount equal to $600 minus five percent of federal adjusted gross income in excess of
$56,000 $50,990 for taxpayers with one qualified individual, or $1,200 minus five percent
of federal adjusted gross income in excess of $56;600 $50,990 for taxpayers with two or

more qualified individuals, but in no case is the credit less than zero.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for taxable years beginning after December

31, 2017.

Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 290.067, subdivision 2a, is amended to read:

Subd. 2a. Income. (a) For purposes of this section, "income" means the sum of the

following:

(1) federal adjusted gross income as-defined-inseetion-62-of theInternal Revenue Cede;

and
(2) the sum of the following amounts to the extent not included in clause (1):
(1) all nontaxable income;

(11) the amount of a passive activity loss that is not disallowed as a result of section 469,
paragraph (i) or (m) of the Internal Revenue Code and the amount of passive activity loss

carryover allowed under section 469(b) of the Internal Revenue Code;

(111) an amount equal to the total of any discharge of qualified farm indebtedness of a
solvent individual excluded from gross income under section 108(g) of the Internal Revenue

Code;

(iv) cash public assistance and relief;
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(v) any pension or annuity (including railroad retirement benefits, all payments received
under the federal Social Security Act, Supplemental Security Income, and veterans benefits),
which was not exclusively funded by the claimant or spouse, or which was funded exclusively
by the claimant or spouse and which funding payments were excluded from federal adjusted

gross income in the years when the payments were made;

(vi) interest received from the federal or a state government or any instrumentality or

political subdivision thereof;
(vii) workers' compensation;
(viii) nontaxable strike benefits;

(ix) the gross amounts of payments received in the nature of disability income or sick
pay as a result of accident, sickness, or other disability, whether funded through insurance

or otherwise;

(x) a lump-sum distribution under section 402(e)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code of

1986, as amended through December 31, 1995;

(x1) contributions made by the claimant to an individual retirement account, including
a qualified voluntary employee contribution; simplified employee pension plan;
self-employed retirement plan; cash or deferred arrangement plan under section 401(k) of
the Internal Revenue Code; or deferred compensation plan under section 457 of the Internal

Revenue Code;

(xi1) nontaxable scholarship or fellowship grants;

{xtv) (xiii) the amount of deduction allowed under section 220 or 223 of the Internal

Revenue Code;

xv) (xiv) the amount deducted for tuition expenses under section 222 of the Internal
Revenue Code; and

{xvi) (xv) the amount deducted for certain expenses of elementary and secondary school

teachers under section 62(a)(2)(D) of the Internal Revenue Code-; and

(xvi) alimony received to the extent not included in the recipient's income.

In the case of an individual who files an income tax return on a fiscal year basis, the
term "federal adjusted gross income" means federal adjusted gross income reflected in the

fiscal year ending in the next calendar year. Federal adjusted gross income may not be
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reduced by the amount of a net operating loss carryback or carryforward or a capital loss
carryback or carryforward allowed for the year.

(b) "Income" does not include:

(1) amounts excluded pursuant to the Internal Revenue Code, sections 101(a) and 102;

(2) amounts of any pension or annuity that were exclusively funded by the claimant or
spouse if the funding payments were not excluded from federal adjusted gross income in

the years when the payments were made;
(3) surplus food or other relief in kind supplied by a governmental agency;
(4) relief granted under chapter 290A;

(5) child support payments received under a temporary or final decree of dissolution or

legal separation; and

(6) restitution payments received by eligible individuals and excludable interest as
defined in section 803 of the Economic Growth and Tax Relief Reconciliation Act of 2001,
Public Law 107-16.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for taxable years beginning after December

31, 2017.

Sec. 34. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 290.067, subdivision 2b, is amended

to read:

Subd. 2b. Inflation adjustment. The commissioner shall adjust the dollar amount of
the income threshold at which the maximum credit begins to be reduced under subdivision
1 by the percentage determined pursuant to the provisions of section 1(f) of the Internal

Revenue Code, except that in section 1(f)(3)(B) the word “2646" "2017" shall be substituted

for the word “1992-

determination of the commissioner pursuant to this subdivision must not be considered a

"rule" and is not subject to the Administrative Procedure Act contained in chapter 14. The
threshold amount as adjusted must be rounded to the nearest $10 amount. If the amount

ends in $5, the amount is rounded up to the nearest $10 amount.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for taxable years beginning after December
31,2017.
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Sec. 35. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 290.0671, subdivision 1, is amended

to read:

Subdivision 1. Credit allowed. (a) An individual who is a resident of Minnesota is
allowed a credit against the tax imposed by this chapter equal to a percentage of earned
income. To receive a credit, a taxpayer must be eligible for a credit under section 32 of the
Internal Revenue Code, except that a taxpayer with no qualifying children who has attained
the age of 21, but not attained age 65 before the close of the taxable year and is otherwise

eligible for a credit under section 32 of the Internal Revenue Code may also receive a credit.

(b) For individuals with no qualifying children, the credit equals 2.10 percent of the first
$6:180 $6,480 of earned income. The credit is reduced by 2.01 percent of earned income
or adjusted gross income, whichever is greater, in excess of $8:436 $8,530, but in no case

1s the credit less than zero.

(c) For individuals with one qualifying child, the credit equals 9.35 percent of the first
$H-1420 $11,670 of earned income. The credit is reduced by 6.02 percent of earned income
or adjusted gross income, whichever is greater, in excess of $24:1496 $22,340, but in no case

1s the credit less than zero.

(d) For individuals with two or more qualifying children, the credit equals 11 percent
of the first $18;240 $19,130 of earned income. The credit is reduced by 10.82 percent of
earned income or adjusted gross income, whichever is greater, in excess of $25;:430 $26,360,

but in no case is the credit less than zero.

(e) For a part-year resident, the credit must be allocated based on the percentage calculated

under section 290.06, subdivision 2¢, paragraph (e).

(f) For a person who was a resident for the entire tax year and has earned income not
subject to tax under this chapter, including income excluded under section 290.0132,
subdivision 10, the credit must be allocated based on the ratio of federal adjusted gross
income reduced by the earned income not subject to tax under this chapter over federal
adjusted gross income. For purposes of this paragraph, the following clauses are not

considered "earned income not subject to tax under this chapter":
(1) the subtractions for military pay under section 290.0132, subdivisions 11 and 12;
(2) the exclusion of combat pay under section 112 of the Internal Revenue Code; and

(3) income derived from an Indian reservation by an enrolled member of the reservation

while living on the reservation.
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(g) For tax years beginning after December 31, 2643 2018, the $8;:430 $8,530 in paragraph
(b), the-$21:190 $22,340 in paragraph (c), and the $25;430 $26,360 in paragraph (d), after
being adjusted for inflation under subdivision 7, are each increased by $5;000 $5,700 for
married taxpayers filing joint returns. For tax years beginning after December 31, 2043
2018, the commissioner shall annually adjust the $5;000 $5,700 by the percentage determined
pursuant to the provisions of section 1(f) of the Internal Revenue Code, except that in section

1(£)(3)(B), the word “2068" "2017" shall be substituted for the word 1992 Fer2014-the

yearpreceding-the-taxable-year. "2016." The earned income thresholds as adjusted for

inflation must be rounded to the nearest $10. If the amount ends in $5, the amount is rounded

up to the nearest $10. The determination of the commissioner under this subdivision is not

a rule under the Administrative Procedure Act.

(h) The commissioner shall construct tables showing the amount of the credit at various
income levels and make them available to taxpayers. The tables shall follow the schedule
contained in this subdivision, except that the commissioner may graduate the transition

between income brackets.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for taxable years beginning after December
31, 2017.

Sec. 36. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 290.0671, subdivision 7, is amended to read:

Subd. 7. Inflation adjustment. The earned income amounts used to calculate the credit
and the income thresholds at which the maximum credit begins to be reduced in subdivision
1 must be adjusted for inflation. The commissioner shall adjust by the percentage determined
pursuant to the provisions of section 1(f) of the Internal Revenue Code, except that in section

1(£)(3)(B) the word “2643" "2017" shall be substituted for the word 1992 " Eer2015,the

year-preeeding the-taxable-year. "2016." The earned income thresholds as adjusted for

inflation must be rounded to the nearest $10 amount. If the amount ends in $5, the amount

is rounded up to the nearest $10 amount. The determination of the commissioner under this

subdivision is not a rule under the Administrative Procedure Act.
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EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for taxable years beginning after December
31,2017.

Sec. 37. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 290.0672, subdivision 1, is amended

to read:

Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have

the meanings given.
(b) "Long-term care insurance" means a policy that:

(1) qualifies for a deduction under section 213 of the Internal Revenue Code, disregarding
the adjusted gross income test; or meets the requirements given in section 62A.46; or provides

similar coverage issued under the laws of another jurisdiction; and
(2) has a lifetime long-term care benefit limit of not less than $100,000; and

(3) has been offered in compliance with the inflation protection requirements of section

62S.23.
(c) "Qualified beneficiary" means the taxpayer or the taxpayer's spouse.

(d) "Premiums deducted in determining federal taxable net income" means the lesser of
(1) long-term care insurance premiums that qualify as deductions under section 213 of the

Internal Revenue Code; and (2) the total amount deductible for medical eare expenses under

section 213-of the Internal Revenue-Code 290.0803.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for taxable years beginning after December

31, 2017.

Sec. 38. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 290.0672, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Credit. A taxpayer is allowed a credit against the tax imposed by this chapter
for long-term care insurance policy premiums paid during the tax year. The credit for each
policy equals 25 percent of premiums paid to the extent not deducted in determining federal
taxable net income. A taxpayer may claim a credit for only one policy for each qualified
beneficiary. A maximum of $100 applies to each qualified beneficiary. The maximum total
credit allowed per year is $200 for married couples filing joint returns and $100 for all other
filers. For a nonresident or part-year resident, the credit determined under this section must

be allocated based on the percentage calculated under section 290.06, subdivision 2c,

paragraph (e).
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EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for taxable years beginning after December
31,2017.

Sec. 39. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 290.0681, subdivision 1, is amended

to read:

Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have

the meanings given.

(b) "Account" means the historic credit administration account in the special revenue

fund.

(c) "Office" means the State Historic Preservation Office of the Department of

Administration.

(d) "Project" means rehabilitation of a certified historic structure, as defined in section
47(c)(3)(A) of the Internal Revenue Code, that is located in Minnesota and is allowed a

federal credit.

(e) "Federal credit" means the credit allowed under section 47(a)(2) 47(a) of the Internal

Revenue Code, except that the amount allowed is deemed to be allocated in the taxable year

that the project is placed in service.

(f) "Placed in service" has the meaning used in section 47 of the Internal Revenue Code.

(g) "Qualified rehabilitation expenditures" has the meaning given in section 47 of the

Internal Revenue Code.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for applications for allocation certificates

submitted after December 31, 2017.

Sec. 40. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 290.0681, subdivision 2, is amended

to read:

Subd. 2. Credit or grant allowed; certified historic structure. (a) A credit is allowed
against the tax imposed under this chapter equal to not more than 100 percent of the credit
allowed under section 47a)2) 47(a) of the Internal Revenue Code for a project. The credit

is payable in an amount equal to one-fifth of the total credit amount allowed in the five

taxable years beginning with the year the project is placed in service. To qualify for the

credit:

(1) the project must receive Part 3 certification and be placed in service during the taxable

year; and
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(2) the taxpayer must be allowed the federal credit and be issued a credit certificate for

the taxable year as provided in subdivision 4.

(b) The commissioner of administration may pay a grant in lieu of the credit. The grant

equals 90 percent of the credit that would be allowed for the project. The grant is payable

in an amount equal to one-fifth of 90 percent of the credit that would be allowed for the

project in the five taxable years beginning with the year the project is placed in service.

(c) In lieu of the credit under paragraph (a), an insurance company may claim a credit

against the insurance premiums tax imposed under chapter 2971.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for applications for allocation certificates

submitted after December 31, 2017.

Sec. 41. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 290.0681, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Applications; allocations. (a) To qualify for a credit or grant under this section,
the developer of a project must apply to the office before the rehabilitation begins. The
application must contain the information and be in the form prescribed by the oftice. The
office may collect a fee for application of up to 0.5 percent of qualified rehabilitation
expenditures, up to $40,000, based on estimated qualified rehabilitation expenditures, to
offset costs associated with personnel and administrative expenses related to administering
the credit and preparing the economic impact report in subdivision 9. Application fees are
deposited in the account. The application must indicate if the application is for a credit or
a grant in lieu of the credit or a combination of the two and designate the taxpayer qualifying

for the credit or the recipient of the grant.

(b) Upon approving an application for credit, the office shall issue allocation certificates

that:
(1) verify eligibility for the credit or grant;

(2) state the amount of credit or grant anticipated with the project, with the credit amount
equal to 100 percent and the grant amount equal to 90 percent of the federal credit anticipated

in the application;

(3) state that the credit or grant allowed may increase or decrease if the federal credit
the project receives at the time it is placed in service is different than the amount anticipated

at the time the allocation certificate is issued; and

(4) state the fiscal year in which the credit or grant is allocated, and that the taxpayer or

grant recipient is entitled to receive one-fifth of the total amount of either the credit or the
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grant at the time the project is placed in service, provided that date is within three calendar

years following the issuance of the allocation certificate.

(c) The office, in consultation with the commissioner, shall determine if the project is
eligible for a credit or a grant under this section and must notify the developer in writing
of its determination. Eligibility for the credit is subject to review and audit by the

commissioner.

(d) The federal credit recapture and repayment requirements under section 50 of the

Internal Revenue Code do not apply to the credit allowed under this section.

(e) Any decision of the office under paragraph (c) may be challenged as a contested case
under chapter 14. The contested case proceeding must be initiated within 45 days of the

date of written notification by the office.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for applications for allocation certificates

submitted after December 31, 2017.

Sec. 42. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 290.0681, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. Credit certificates; grants. (a)(1) The developer of a project for which the
office has issued an allocation certificate must notify the office when the project is placed
in service. Upon verifying that the project has been placed in service, and was allowed a
federal credit, the office must issue a credit certificate to the taxpayer designated in the
application or must issue a grant to the recipient designated in the application. The credit

certificate must state the amount of the credit.
(2) The credit amount equals the federal credit allowed for the project.
(3) The grant amount equals 90 percent of the federal credit allowed for the project.

(b) The recipient of a credit certificate may assign the certificate to another taxpayer

before the first one-fifth payment is claimed, which is then allowed the credit under this

section or section 2971.20, subdivision 3. An assignment is not valid unless the assignee
notifies the commissioner within 30 days of the date that the assignment is made. The
commissioner shall prescribe the forms necessary for notifying the commissioner of the

assignment of a credit certificate and for claiming a credit by assignment.

(c) Credits passed through to partners, members, shareholders, or owners pursuant to

subdivision 5 are not an assignment of a credit certificate under this subdivision.

(d) A grant agreement between the office and the recipient of a grant may allow the

grant to be issued to another individual or entity.
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EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for applications for allocation certificates

submitted after December 31, 2017.

Sec. 43. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 290.0684, subdivision 1, is amended

to read:

Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have

the meanings given them.

(b) "Contribution" means the amount contributed to one or more qualified accounts

except that the amount:

(1) is reduced by any withdrawals or distributions, other than transfers or rollovers to

another qualified account, from a qualified account during the taxable year; and

(2) excludes the amount of any transfers or rollovers from a qualified account made

during the taxable year.

&) "Qualified account" means an account qualifying under section 529 529(e)(3) of the

Internal Revenue Code.

te) (d) "Qualified higher education expenses" has the meaning given in section 529 of

the Internal Revenue Code, except section 529(c)(7) of the Internal Revenue Code does not

apply to the definition of qualified higher education expenses.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 44. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 290.0684, subdivision 2, is amended

to read:

Subd. 2. Credit allowed. (a) An individual who is a resident of Minnesota is allowed a
credit against the tax imposed by this chapter. The credit is not allowed to an individual
who is eligible to be claimed as a dependent, as defined in sections 151 and 152 of the

Internal Revenue Code. The credit may not exceed the liability for tax under this chapter.

(b) The amount of the credit allowed equals 50 percent of contributions for the taxable
year. The maximum credit is $500, subject to the phaseout in paragraphs (c) and (d). In no

case 1s the credit less than zero.

(¢) For individual filers, the maximum credit is reduced by two percent of adjusted gross

income in excess of $75;000 $76,490.
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(d) For married couples filing a joint return, the maximum credit is phased out as follows:

(1) for married couples with adjusted gross income in excess of $75;000 $76,490, but
not more than $+66;600 $101,990, the maximum credit is reduced by one percent of adjusted
gross income in excess of $75;600 $76,490;

(2) for married couples with adjusted gross income in excess of $1+66;660 $101,990, but
not more than $135;000 $137,680, the maximum credit is $250; and

(3) for married couples with adjusted gross income in excess of $135;000 $137,680, the
maximum credit is $250, reduced by one percent of adjusted gross income in excess of

$135.000 $137,680.

(e) The income thresholds in paragraphs (c) and (d) used to calculate the maximum
credit must be adjusted for inflation. The commissioner shall adjust the income thresholds
by the percentage determined under the provisions of section 1(f) of the Internal Revenue

Code, except that in section 1(f)(3)(B) the word “264+6" "2017" is substituted for the word

ending-enAugust3-of the-year preceding the-taxable-year: "2016." The income thresholds

as adjusted for inflation must be rounded to the nearest $10 amount. If the amount ends in
$5, the amount is rounded up to the nearest $10 amount. The determination of the

commissioner under this subdivision is not subject to chapter 14, including section 14.386.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for taxable years beginning after December
31,2017.

Sec. 45. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 290.0802, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Subtraction. (a) A qualified individual is allowed a subtraction from federal

taxable adjusted gross income of the individual's subtraction base amount. The excess of

the subtraction base amount over the taxable net income computed without regard to the
subtraction for the elderly or disabled under section 290.0132, subdivision 5, may be used

to reduce the amount of a lump sum distribution subject to tax under section 290.032.
(b)(1) The initial subtraction base amount equals
(1) $12,000 for a married taxpayer filing a joint return if a spouse is a qualified individual,
(i1) $9,600 for a single taxpayer, and

(ii1) $6,000 for a married taxpayer filing a separate federal return.
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(2) The qualified individual's initial subtraction base amount, then, must be reduced by
the sum of nontaxable retirement and disability benefits and one-half of the amount of

adjusted gross income in excess of the following thresholds:

(1) $18,000 for a married taxpayer filing a joint return if both spouses are qualified

individuals,

(i1) $14,500 for a single taxpayer or for a married couple filing a joint return if only one

spouse is a qualified individual, and
(ii1) $9,000 for a married taxpayer filing a separate federal return.

(3) In the case of a qualified individual who is under the age of 65, the maximum amount

of the subtraction base may not exceed the taxpayer's disability income.
(4) The resulting amount is the subtraction base amount.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for taxable years beginning after December
31, 2017.

Sec. 46. [290.0803] INDIVIDUALS; DEDUCTIONS AND EXEMPTIONS
ALLOWED.

Subdivision 1. Deduction allowed. Individuals are allowed to deduct the sum of the

following amounts in computing taxable net income for the taxable year:

(1) the standard or itemized deductions, as provided under subdivision 2 or 3; and

(2) the exemption allowance computed under subdivision 9.

Subd. 2. Standard deduction. (a) An individual may elect to claim a standard deduction

in lieu of the itemized deductions allowed under subdivision 3 for the taxable year equal to

the following amount:

(1) for a married joint filer or a surviving spouse, $14,000;

(2) for a head of household filer, $10,300; or

(3) for any other filer, $7,000; plus

(4) the additional amount for the taxpayer under paragraph (b).

(b) The additional amount equals the sum of the following amounts:

(1) $1,300 if the taxpayer has attained age 65 before the close of the taxable year or

$1,600 for such a taxpayer who is not married or a surviving spouse;
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(2) $1,300 for the spouse of the taxpayer if the spouse has attained the age of 65 before

the close of the taxable year and qualifies under subdivision 9, clause (2);

(3) $1,300 if the taxpayer is blind at the close of the taxable year or $1,600 for such a

taxpayer who is not married or a surviving spouse; and

(4) $1,300 for the spouse of the taxpayer if the spouse is blind as of the close of the

taxable year and qualifies under subdivision 9, clause (2).

(c) For an individual who is a dependent, as defined in section 152 of the Internal Revenue

Code, of another taxpayer for a taxable year beginning in the calendar year in which the

individual's taxable year begins, the standard deduction for that individual is limited to the

greater of:

(1) $500; or

(2) the sum of $250 and that individual's earned income, as defined in section 32(c) of

the Internal Revenue Code.

(d) The standard deduction is zero for (1) a married individual filing a separate return

if either spouse itemizes deductions, and (2) an individual making a return for a period of

less than twelve months on account of changes in the annual accounting period.

Subd. 3. Itemized deductions. (a) An individual who is a resident is allowed itemized

deductions for the taxable year equal to the sum of the following amounts:

(1) taxes paid, as provided in subdivision 4;

(2) charitable contributions, as provided in subdivision 5;

(3) interest, as provided in subdivision 6;

(4) medical expenses, as provided in subdivision 7;

(5) miscellaneous deductions, as provided in subdivision §8; and

(6) losses allowable under section 165(a) of the Internal Revenue Code, other than losses

allowable under that section in computing adjusted gross income, and except that the

provisions of section 165(h)(5) of the Internal Revenue Code apply regardless of the taxable

year; reduced by

(7) the amount of the disallowed itemized deductions computed under paragraph (b).

(b) The amount of disallowed itemized deductions equals the lesser of:

(1) three percent of the excess of the taxpayer's adjusted gross income, over the applicable

amount; or
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(2) 80 percent of the amount of the itemized deductions, excluding:

(1) medical expense deduction under subdivision 7;

(i1) any interest deduction under subdivision 6, for investment interest as defined in

section 163(d) of the Internal Revenue Code; and

(i11) losses allowable under section 165(¢)(2) or (3), or (d), of the Internal Revenue Code,

and allowed under paragraph (a), clause (6).

(¢) "Applicable amount" means $190,050, or $95,025 for a married individual filing a

separate return.

Subd. 4. Taxes paid. (a) The taxes paid deduction equals the sum of the following

amounts for the taxable year:

(1) state and local real and personal property taxes in an amount not to exceed $30,000;

(2) foreign income, war profits, and excess profits taxes to the extent not reduced by the

federal foreign tax credit; and

(3) for individuals who are allowed a federal foreign tax credit for taxes that do not

qualify for a credit under section 290.06, subdivision 22, an amount equal to the carryover

of subnational foreign taxes for the taxable year, but not to exceed the total subnational

foreign taxes reported in claiming the foreign tax credit.

(b) For purposes of this subdivision, the following terms have the meanings given them:

(1) "carryover of subnational foreign taxes" equals the carryover allowed under section

904(c) of the Internal Revenue Code minus national level foreign taxes to the extent they

exceed the federal foreign tax credit;

(2) "federal foreign tax credit" means the credit allowed under section 27 of the Internal

Revenue Code; and

(3) "foreign, income, war profits, and excess profits taxes" and "state and local real and

personal property taxes" have the meanings given in section 164 of the Internal Revenue

Code.

Subd. 5. Charitable contributions. The charitable contribution equals the amount of

the charitable contribution deduction allowable to the taxpayer under section 170 of the

Internal Revenue Code, except that the following rules apply:

(1) the provisions of section 170(b)(1)(G) apply regardless of the taxable year; and
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(2) for taxable years beginning after December 31, 2017, determination of carryover

amounts must be made by applying the rules under section 170 of the Internal Revenue

Code based on the charitable contribution deductions claimed and allowable under this

section.

Subd. 6. Interest deduction. The interest deduction equals the amount allowed to the

taxpayer as interest paid or accrued during the taxable year under section 163(d) of the

Internal Revenue Code with the following exceptions:

(1) qualified residence interest excludes home equity interest; and

(2) acquisition indebtedness must not exceed $750,000 ($375,000 for a married separate

return) for indebtedness incurred on or after December 16, 2017.

The definitions of terms under section 163 of the Internal Revenue Code apply for purposes

of this subdivision.

Subd. 7. Medical expenses. The medical expense deduction equals the deduction allowed

for the taxable year under section 213 of the Internal Revenue Code.

Subd. 8. Miscellaneous deduction. The miscellaneous deduction equals the sum of the

following amounts for the taxable year, but excluding any amounts allowed to be deducted

in computing adjusted gross income:

(1) impairment-related work expenses allowed under section 67(d) of the Internal Revenue

Code;

(2) the deduction for estate tax under section 691(c) of the Internal Revenue Code;

(3) any deduction allowable in connection with personal property used in a short sale

as described under section 67(b)(8);

(4) the deduction under section 1341 of the Internal Revenue Code;

(5) the deduction under section 72(b)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code;

(6) the deduction under section 171 of the Internal Revenue Code; and

(7) the deduction under section 216 of the Internal Revenue Code.

Subd. 9. Exemption allowance. (a) The exemption allowance is computed as follows:

(1) the exemption amount for the taxpayer; plus

(2) an additional exemption amount for the spouse of the taxpayer:

(1) for a joint return; or
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(i1) if a joint return is not made by the taxpayer and spouse, and if the spouse, for the

calendar year in which the taxable year of the taxpayer begins, has no gross income and is

not the dependent of another taxpayer; plus

(3) an exemption amount for each individual who is a dependent, as defined in section

152 of the Internal Revenue Code, of the taxpayer for the taxable year; minus

(4) the disallowed exemption amount under paragraph (d), but the remainder may not

be less than zero.

(b) The exemption amount equals $4,150.

(c) The disallowed personal exemption amount equals the number of personal exemptions

allowed under paragraph (a) multiplied by (i) the exemption amount under paragraph (b)

and (i1) the applicable percentage.

(d) For a married individual filing a separate return, "applicable percentage" means two

percentage points for each $1,250, or fraction of that amount, by which the taxpayer's federal

adjusted gross income for the taxable year exceeds the threshold amount. For all other filers,

applicable percentage means two percentage points for each $2,500, or fraction of that

amount, by which the taxpayer's federal adjusted gross income for the taxable year exceeds

the threshold amount. The applicable percentage must not exceed 100 percent.

(e) "Threshold amount" means:

(1) $285,050 for a joint return or a surviving spouse;

(2) $237,550 for a head of a household;

(3) $190,050 for an individual who is not married and who is not a surviving spouse or

head of a household; and

(4) $142,500 for a married individual filing a separate return.

Subd. 10. Indexing. (a) For taxable years beginning after December 31, 2018, the

commissioner must annually adjust the dollar amounts in subdivisions 2, 3, and 9, except

the amounts in paragraph (d) of subdivision 9, for inflation as provided in paragraph (b).

(b) Each dollar amount is increased by an amount equal to:

(1) that dollar amount, multiplied by

(2) the cost-of-living adjustment determined under section 1(f)(3) of the Internal Revenue

Code for the calendar year in which the taxable year begins, by substituting "calendar year

2017" for "calendar year 2016" in subparagraph (B) of section 1(f)(3).
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EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for taxable years beginning after December
31,2017.

Sec. 47. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 290.091, subdivision 2, is amended

to read:

Subd. 2. Definitions. For purposes of the tax imposed by this section, the following

terms have the meanings given.

(a) "Alternative minimum taxable income" means the sum of the following for the taxable

year:

(1) the taxpayer's federal alternative minimum taxable income as defined in section

55(b)(2) of the Internal Revenue Code;

(2) the taxpayer's itemized deductions allowed in computing federal alternative minimum

taxable income, but excluding:

(1) the charitable contribution deduction under section 170 of the Internal Revenue Code;

and
(i1) the medical expense deduction;
(111) the casualty, theft, and disaster loss deduction; and
(iv) the impairment-related work expenses of a disabled person;

(3) for depletion allowances computed under section 613A(c) of the Internal Revenue
Code, with respect to each property (as defined in section 614 of the Internal Revenue Code),
to the extent not included in federal alternative minimum taxable income, the excess of the
deduction for depletion allowable under section 611 of the Internal Revenue Code for the
taxable year over the adjusted basis of the property at the end of the taxable year (determined

without regard to the depletion deduction for the taxable year);

(4) to the extent not included in federal alternative minimum taxable income, the amount
of the tax preference for intangible drilling cost under section 57(a)(2) of the Internal Revenue

Code determined without regard to subparagraph (E);

(5) to the extent not included in federal alternative minimum taxable income, the amount

of interest income as provided by section 290.0131, subdivision 2; and
(6) the amount of addition required by section 290.0131, subdivisions 9 to H 10;

(7) the deduction allowed under section 199A of the Internal Revenue Code;

less the sum of the amounts determined under the following:
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(1) interest income as defined in section 290.0132, subdivision 2;

(11) an overpayment of state income tax as provided by section 290.0132, subdivision

3, to the extent included in federal alternative minimum taxable income;

(111) the amount of investment interest paid or accrued within the taxable year on
indebtedness to the extent that the amount does not exceed net investment income, as defined
in section 163(d)(4) of the Internal Revenue Code. Interest does not include amounts deducted

in computing federal adjusted gross income;

(iv) amounts subtracted from federal taxable adjusted gross income as provided by

section 290.0132, subdivisions 7, 9 to 15, 17, 21, 24, and 26 to 28; and

(v) the amount of the net operating loss allowed under section 290.095, subdivision 11,
paragraph (c).

In the case of an estate or trust, alternative minimum taxable income must be computed

as provided in section 59(c) of the Internal Revenue Code, except that alternative minimum

taxable income must be increased by the amount of the addition under section 290.0131,

subdivision 17.

(b) "Investment interest" means investment interest as defined in section 163(d)(3) of

the Internal Revenue Code.
(c) "Net minimum tax" means the minimum tax imposed by this section.

(d) "Regular tax" means the tax that would be imposed under this chapter (without regard
to this section and section 290.032), reduced by the sum of the nonrefundable credits allowed

under this chapter.

(e) "Tentative minimum tax" equals 6.75 percent of alternative minimum taxable income

after subtracting the exemption amount determined under subdivision 3.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for taxable years beginning after December
31,2017.

Sec. 48. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 290.091, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Exemption amount. (a) For purposes of computing the alternative minimum

tax, the exemption amount is
$75,760 for married couples filing joint returns, $30;000 $37,880 for married individuals

filing separate returns, estates, and trusts, and $45;600 $56,820 for unmarried individuals.

Article 1 Sec. 48. 38



39.1

39.2

393

394

39.5

39.6

39.7

39.8

39.9

39.10

39.11

39.12

39.13

39.14

39.15

39.16

39.17

39.18

39.19

39.20

39.21

39.22

39.23

39.24

39.25

39.26

39.27

39.28

39.29

39.30

39.31

39.32

04/21/18 12:28 PM HOUSE RESEARCH PD/RK H4385DE1

(b) The exemption amount determined under this subdivision is subject to the phase out
under section 55(d)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code, except that alternative minimum
taxable income as determined under this section must be substituted in the computation of

the phase out.

(c) For taxable years beginning after December 31, 2006 2018, the exemption amount
under paragraph (a) must be adjusted for inflation. The commissioner shall adjust the

exemption amount by the percentage determined pursuant to the provisions of section 1(f)

of the Internal Revenue Code, except that in section 1(f)(3)(B) the word “2605" "2017"
shall be substituted for the word 1992 For 2007 -the-commisstonershal-then-determine

"2016." The exemption amount as adjusted must be rounded to the nearest $10. If the amount
ends in $5, it must be rounded up to the nearest $10 amount. The determination of the

commissioner under this subdivision is not a rule under the Administrative Procedure Act.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for taxable years beginning after December
31,2017.

Sec. 49. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 290.0921, subdivision 8, is amended to read:

Subd. 8. Carryover credit. (a) A corporation is allowed a credit against qualified regular
tax for qualified alternative minimum tax previously paid. The credit is allowable only #

if the

corporation has an alternative minimum tax credit carryover from a previous year. The

credit allowable in a taxable year equals the lesser of

(1) the-exeess-of the qualified regular tax for the taxable year everthe-amounteomputed
under-subdiviston1-elause-(1);for-the-taxable-year; or

(2) the carryover credit to the taxable year.
(b) For purposes of this subdivision, the following terms have the meanings given.

(1) "Qualified alternative minimum tax" equals the amount determined under subdivision

1 for the a taxable year beginning before December 31, 2017.

(2) "Qualified regular tax" means the tax imposed under section 290.06, subdivision 1.

(c) The qualified alternative minimum tax for a taxable year is an alternative minimum

tax credit carryover to each of the taxable years succeeding the taxable year. The entire
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amount of the credit must be carried to the earliest taxable year to which the amount may
be carried. Any unused portion of the credit must be carried to the following taxable year.

No credit may be carried to a taxable year in which alternative minimum tax was paid.

(d) An acquiring corporation may carry over this credit from a transferor or distributor
corporation in a corporate acquisition. The provisions of section 381 of the Internal Revenue

Code apply in determining the amount of the carryover, if any.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for taxable years beginning after December
31,2017.

Sec. 50. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 290.0922, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Imposition. (a) In addition to the tax imposed by this chapter without
regard to this section, the franchise tax imposed on a corporation required to file under
section 289A.08, subdivision 3, other than a corporation treated as an "S" corporation under

section 290.9725 for the taxable year includes a tax equal to the following amounts:

If the sum of the corporation's Minnesota

property, payrolls, and sales or receipts is: the tax equals:
930,000

less than $ 990,000 $ 0
$§ 990,000 to $ 1,989,999 $ 200
$ 1,990,000 to $ 9,959,999 $ 600
9,346,600 18,679,999 1876
$ 9,960,000 to  $ 19,929,999 $ 1,990
18,680,000 37,359,999 3,740
$ 19,930,000 to  $ 39,859,999 $ 3,990
37,360,000 9340
$ 39,860,000 or more $ 9,960

(b) A tax is imposed for each taxable year on a corporation required to file a return under
section 289A.12, subdivision 3, that is treated as an "S" corporation under section 290.9725
and on a partnership required to file a return under section 289A.12, subdivision 3, other
than a partnership that derives over 80 percent of its income from farming. The tax imposed
under this paragraph is due on or before the due date of the return for the taxpayer due under
section 289A.18, subdivision 1. The commissioner shall prescribe the return to be used for

payment of this tax. The tax under this paragraph is equal to the following amounts:

If the sum of the S corporation's

or partnership's Minnesota

property, payrolls, and sales or

receipts is: the tax equals:
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930,000

less than $ 990,000 $ 0
936,006 869,999 199

$ 990,000 to $ 1,989,999 $ 200
+870,000 9;339,999 560

$ 1,990,000 to $ 9,959,999 $ 600
9,340,000 18,679,999 1,870

$ 9,960,000 to $ 19,929,999 $ 1,990
18;686,000 37.350.999 3740
$ 19,930,000 to $ 39,859,999 $ 3,990
37.360,000 9340
$ 39,860,000 or more $ 9,960

(c) The commissioner shall adjust the dollar amounts of both the tax and the property,
payrolls, and sales or receipts thresholds in paragraphs (a) and (b) by the percentage
determined pursuant to the provisions of section 1(f) of the Internal Revenue Code, except

that in section 1(f)(3)(B) the word “2042" "2017" must be substituted for the word “+992:"

onAugust31-of the-year preceding the taxable-year. "2016." The determination of the

commissioner pursuant to this subdivision is not a "rule" subject to the Administrative

Procedure Act contained in chapter 14. The tax amounts as adjusted must be rounded to the
nearest $10 amount and the threshold amounts must be adjusted to the nearest $10,000
amount. For tax amounts that end in $5, the amount is rounded up to the nearest $10 amount
and for the threshold amounts that end in $5,000, the amount is rounded up to the nearest

$10,000.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for taxable years beginning after December
31,2017.

Sec. 51. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 290.095, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. Computation and modifications. The following modifications shall be made
in computing a net operating loss in any taxable year and also in computing the taxable net

income for any taxable year before a net operating loss deduction shall be allowed:

(a) No deduction shall be allowed for or with respect to losses connected with income
producing activities if the income therefrom would not be required to be either assignable

to this state or included in computing the taxpayer's taxable net income.

(b) A net operating loss deduction shall not be allowed.
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(c) The amount deductible on account of losses from sales or exchanges of capital assets
shall not exceed the amount includable on account of gains from sales or exchanges of

capital assets.

(d) Renegotiation of profits for a prior taxable year under the renegotiation laws of the
United States of America, including renegotiation of the profits with a subcontractor, shall

not enter into the computation.
(e) Federal income and excess profits taxes shall not be allowed as a deduction.

(f) The 80-percent limitation under section 172(a)(2) of the Internal Revenue Code does

not apply to the computations for corporate taxpayers under this section.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for taxable years beginning after December
31, 2017.

Sec. 52. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 290.17, subdivision 2, is amended

to read:

Subd. 2. Income not derived from conduct of a trade or business. The income of a
taxpayer subject to the allocation rules that is not derived from the conduct of a trade or

business must be assigned in accordance with paragraphs (a) to (f):

(a)(1) Subject to paragraphs (a)(2) and (a)(3), income from wages as defined in section
3401(a) and, (f), and (1) of the Internal Revenue Code is assigned to this state if, and to the
extent that, the work of the employee is performed within it; all other income from such

sources is treated as income from sources without this state.
Severance pay shall be considered income from labor or personal or professional services.

(2) In the case of an individual who is a nonresident of Minnesota and who is an athlete
or entertainer, income from compensation for labor or personal services performed within

this state shall be determined in the following manner:

(1) the amount of income to be assigned to Minnesota for an individual who is a
nonresident salaried athletic team employee shall be determined by using a fraction in which
the denominator contains the total number of days in which the individual is under a duty
to perform for the employer, and the numerator is the total number of those days spent in
Minnesota. For purposes of this paragraph, off-season training activities, unless conducted
at the team's facilities as part of a team imposed program, are not included in the total number
of duty days. Bonuses earned as a result of play during the regular season or for participation

in championship, play-off, or all-star games must be allocated under the formula. Signing
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bonuses are not subject to allocation under the formula if they are not conditional on playing
any games for the team, are payable separately from any other compensation, and are

nonrefundable; and

(i1) the amount of income to be assigned to Minnesota for an individual who is a
nonresident, and who is an athlete or entertainer not listed in item (1), for that person's athletic
or entertainment performance in Minnesota shall be determined by assigning to this state

all income from performances or athletic contests in this state.

(3) For purposes of this section, amounts received by a nonresident as "retirement income"
as defined in section (b)(1) of the State Income Taxation of Pension Income Act, Public
Law 104-95, are not considered income derived from carrying on a trade or business or
from wages or other compensation for work an employee performed in Minnesota, and are

not taxable under this chapter.

(b) Income or gains from tangible property located in this state that is not employed in

the business of the recipient of the income or gains must be assigned to this state.

(c) Income or gains from intangible personal property not employed in the business of
the recipient of the income or gains must be assigned to this state if the recipient of the

income or gains is a resident of this state or is a resident trust or estate.

Gain on the sale of a partnership interest is allocable to this state in the ratio of the
original cost of partnership tangible property in this state to the original cost of partnership
tangible property everywhere, determined at the time of the sale. If more than 50 percent
of the value of the partnership's assets consists of intangibles, gain or loss from the sale of
the partnership interest is allocated to this state in accordance with the sales factor of the
partnership for its first full tax period immediately preceding the tax period of the partnership

during which the partnership interest was sold.

Gain on the sale of an interest in a single member limited liability company that is
disregarded for federal income tax purposes is allocable to this state as if the single member
limited liability company did not exist and the assets of the limited liability company are

personally owned by the sole member.

Gain on the sale of goodwill or income from a covenant not to compete that is connected
with a business operating all or partially in Minnesota is allocated to this state to the extent
that the income from the business in the year preceding the year of sale was allocable to

Minnesota under subdivision 3.
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When an employer pays an employee for a covenant not to compete, the income allocated
to this state is in the ratio of the employee's service in Minnesota in the calendar year
preceding leaving the employment of the employer over the total services performed by the

employee for the employer in that year.

(d) Income from winnings on a bet made by an individual while in Minnesota is assigned
to this state. In this paragraph, "bet" has the meaning given in section 609.75, subdivision

2, as limited by section 609.75, subdivision 3, clauses (1), (2), and (3).

(e) All items of gross income not covered in paragraphs (a) to (d) and not part of the

taxpayer's income from a trade or business shall be assigned to the taxpayer's domicile.

(f) For the purposes of this section, working as an employee shall not be considered to

be conducting a trade or business.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for wages paid after December 31, 2017.

Sec. 53. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 290.21, is amended by adding a subdivision to

read:

Subd. 9. Deferred foreign income. The income of domestic corporations that is included

in net income under section 965 of the Internal Revenue Code is dividend income.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective retroactively for each taxpayer's last

taxable year beginning before January 1, 2018.

Sec. 54. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 290.34, is amended by adding a subdivision to

read:

Subd. 5. Insurance companies; interest expense limitation. To be consistent with the

federal treatment of the interest expense limitation under section 163(j) of the Internal

Revenue Code for an affiliated group that includes an insurance company taxable under

chapter 2971 and exempt from taxation under section 290.05, subdivision 1, clause (c), the

rules under this subdivision apply. In that case, the interest expense limitation under section

163(f) must be computed for the corporation subject to tax under this chapter using the

adjusted taxable income of the insurance companies that are part of the affiliated group and

taxed under chapter 2971.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for taxable years beginning after December
31,2017.

Article 1 Sec. 54. 44



45.1

45.2

453

454

45.5

45.6

45.7

45.8

459

45.10

45.11

45.12

45.13

45.14

45.15

45.16

45.17

45.18

45.19

45.20

45.21

45.22

45.23

45.24

45.25

45.26

45.27

45.28

45.29

45.30

45.31

45.32

45.33

04/21/18 12:28 PM HOUSE RESEARCH PD/RK H4385DE1

Sec. 55. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 290.92, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Definitions. (1) Wages. For purposes of this section, the term "wages"
means the same as that term is defined in section 3401(a) and, (f), and (1) of the Internal

Revenue Code.

(2) Payroll period. For purposes of this section the term "payroll period" means a period
for which a payment of wages is ordinarily made to the employee by the employee's
employer, and the term "miscellaneous payroll period" means a payroll period other than a
daily, weekly, biweekly, semimonthly, monthly, quarterly, semiannual, or annual payroll

period.

(3) Employee. For purposes of this section the term "employee" means any resident
individual performing services for an employer, either within or without, or both within and
without the state of Minnesota, and every nonresident individual performing services within
the state of Minnesota, the performance of which services constitute, establish, and determine
the relationship between the parties as that of employer and employee. As used in the
preceding sentence, the term "employee" includes an officer of a corporation, and an officer,
employee, or elected official of the United States, a state, or any political subdivision thereof,
or the District of Columbia, or any agency or instrumentality of any one or more of the

foregoing.

(4) Employer. For purposes of this section the term "employer" means any person,
including individuals, fiduciaries, estates, trusts, partnerships, limited liability companies,
and corporations transacting business in or deriving any income from sources within the
state of Minnesota for whom an individual performs or performed any service, of whatever
nature, as the employee of such person, except that if the person for whom the individual
performs or performed the services does not have control of the payment of the wages for
such services, the term "employer," except for purposes of paragraph (1), means the person
having control of the payment of such wages. As used in the preceding sentence, the term
"employer" includes any corporation, individual, estate, trust, or organization which is
exempt from taxation under section 290.05 and further includes, but is not limited to, officers
of corporations who have control, either individually or jointly with another or others, of

the payment of the wages.

(5) Number of withholding exemptions claimed. For purposes of this section, the term
"number of withholding exemptions claimed" means the number of withholding exemptions

claimed in a withholding exemption certificate in effect under subdivision 5, except that if
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no such certificate is in effect, the number of withholding exemptions claimed shall be

considered to be zero.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for wages paid after July 1, 2018.

Sec. 56. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 290A.03, subdivision 3, is amended

to read:
Subd. 3. Income. (a) "Income" means the sum of the following:
(1) federal adjusted gross income as defined in the Internal Revenue Code; and
(2) the sum of the following amounts to the extent not included in clause (1):
(1) all nontaxable income;

(i1) the amount of a passive activity loss that is not disallowed as a result of section 469,
paragraph (i) or (m) of the Internal Revenue Code and the amount of passive activity loss

carryover allowed under section 469(b) of the Internal Revenue Code;

(ii1) an amount equal to the total of any discharge of qualified farm indebtedness of a
solvent individual excluded from gross income under section 108(g) of the Internal Revenue

Code;
(iv) cash public assistance and relief;

(v) any pension or annuity (including railroad retirement benefits, all payments received
under the federal Social Security Act, Supplemental Security Income, and veterans benefits),
which was not exclusively funded by the claimant or spouse, or which was funded exclusively
by the claimant or spouse and which funding payments were excluded from federal adjusted

gross income in the years when the payments were made;

(vi) interest received from the federal or a state government or any instrumentality or

political subdivision thereof;
(vii) workers' compensation;
(viii) nontaxable strike benefits;

(ix) the gross amounts of payments received in the nature of disability income or sick
pay as a result of accident, sickness, or other disability, whether funded through insurance

or otherwise;

(x) a lump-sum distribution under section 402(¢e)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code of

1986, as amended through December 31, 1995;
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(x1) contributions made by the claimant to an individual retirement account, including
a qualified voluntary employee contribution; simplified employee pension plan;
self-employed retirement plan; cash or deferred arrangement plan under section 401(k) of
the Internal Revenue Code; or deferred compensation plan under section 457 of the Internal
Revenue Code, to the extent the sum of amounts exceeds the retirement base amount for

the claimant and spouse;

(xii1) to the extent not included in federal adjusted gross income, distributions received

by the claimant or spouse from a traditional or Roth style retirement account or plan;

(xii1) nontaxable scholarship or fellowship grants;

alimony received to the extent not included in the recipient's income;

(xv) the amount of deduction allowed under section 220 or 223 of the Internal Revenue

Code;

(xvi1) the amount deducted for tuition expenses under section 222 of the Internal Revenue

Code; and

(xvii) the amount deducted for certain expenses of elementary and secondary school

teachers under section 62(a)(2)(D) of the Internal Revenue Code.

In the case of an individual who files an income tax return on a fiscal year basis, the
term "federal adjusted gross income" shall mean federal adjusted gross income reflected in
the fiscal year ending in the calendar year. Federal adjusted gross income shall not be reduced
by the amount of a net operating loss carryback or carryforward or a capital loss carryback

or carryforward allowed for the year.
(b) "Income" does not include:
(1) amounts excluded pursuant to the Internal Revenue Code, sections 101(a) and 102;

(2) amounts of any pension or annuity which was exclusively funded by the claimant
or spouse and which funding payments were not excluded from federal adjusted gross

income in the years when the payments were made;

(3) to the extent included in federal adjusted gross income, amounts contributed by the
claimant or spouse to a traditional or Roth style retirement account or plan, but not to exceed
the retirement base amount reduced by the amount of contributions excluded from federal

adjusted gross income, but not less than zero;

(4) surplus food or other relief in kind supplied by a governmental agency;
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(5) relief granted under this chapter;

(6) child support payments received under a temporary or final decree of dissolution or

legal separation; or

(7) restitution payments received by eligible individuals and excludable interest as
defined in section 803 of the Economic Growth and Tax Relief Reconciliation Act of 2001,
Public Law 107-16.

(c) The sum of the following amounts may be subtracted from income:

(1) for the claimant's first dependent, the exemption amount multiplied by 1.4;
(2) for the claimant's second dependent, the exemption amount multiplied by 1.3;
(3) for the claimant's third dependent, the exemption amount multiplied by 1.2;
(4) for the claimant's fourth dependent, the exemption amount multiplied by 1.1;
(5) for the claimant's fifth dependent, the exemption amount; and

(6) if the claimant or claimant's spouse was disabled or attained the age of 65 on or
before December 31 of the year for which the taxes were levied or rent paid, the exemption

amount.

(d) For purposes of this subdivision, the following terms have the meanings given them:

(1) "exemption amount" means the exemption amount under section +5Hd)-of the Internal
Revenue-Code 290.0803, subdivision 9, for the taxable year for which the income is reported;

(2) "retirement base amount" means the deductible amount for the taxable year for the
claimant and spouse under section 219(b)(5)(A) of the Internal Revenue Code, adjusted for
inflation as provided in section 219(b)(5)(C) of the Internal Revenue Code, without regard

to whether the claimant or spouse claimed a deduction; and

(3) "traditional or Roth style retirement account or plan" means retirement plans under

sections 401, 403, 408, 408A, and 457 of the Internal Revenue Code.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for property tax refunds based on property

taxes payable after December 31, 2018, and rent paid after December 31, 2017.

Sec. 57. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 290A.03, subdivision 12, is amended to read:

Subd. 12. Gross rent. (a) "Gross rent" means rental paid for the right of occupancy, at

arm's length, of a homestead, exclusive of charges for any medical services furnished by
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the landlord as a part of the rental agreement, whether expressly set out in the rental

agreement or not.

(b) The gross rent of a resident of a nursing home or intermediate care facility is $350
$490 per month. The gross rent of a resident of an adult foster care home is $550 $760 per
month. Beginning for rent paid in 2002 2019, the commissioner shall annually adjust for
inflation the gross rent amounts stated in this paragraph. The adjustment must be made in
accordance with section 1(f) of the Internal Revenue Code, except that for purposes of this
paragraph the percentage increase shall be determined from the year ending on June 30,
2001 2017, to the year ending on June 30 of the year in which the rent is paid. The
commissioner shall round the gross rents to the nearest $10 amount. If the amount ends in
$5, the commissioner shall round it up to the next $10 amount. The determination of the

commissioner under this paragraph is not a rule under the Administrative Procedure Act.

(c) If the landlord and tenant have not dealt with each other at arm's length and the
commissioner determines that the gross rent charged was excessive, the commissioner may

adjust the gross rent to a reasonable amount for purposes of this chapter.

(d) Any amount paid by a claimant residing in property assessed pursuant to section
273.124, subdivision 3, 4, 5, or 6 for occupancy in that property shall be excluded from
gross rent for purposes of this chapter. However, property taxes imputed to the homestead
of the claimant or the dwelling unit occupied by the claimant that qualifies for homestead
treatment pursuant to section 273.124, subdivision 3, 4, 5, or 6 shall be included within the
term "property taxes payable" as defined in subdivision 13, notwithstanding the fact that

ownership is not in the name of the claimant.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for refunds based on rent paid after

December 31, 2017, and property taxes payable after December 31, 2018.

Sec. 58. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 290A.03, subdivision 15, is amended

to read:

Subd. 15. Internal Revenue Code. "Internal Revenue Code" means the Internal Revenue

Code of 1986, as amended through Peeember16,2646 March 31, 2018.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for property tax refunds based on property

taxes payable after December 31, 2018, and rent paid after December 31, 2017.
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Sec. 59. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 290A.04, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. Inflation adjustment. (a) Beginning for property tax refunds payable in calendar
year 2002, the commissioner shall annually adjust the dollar amounts of the income thresholds

and the maximum refunds under subdivisions 2 and 2a for inflation. The commissioner

shall make the inflation adjustments -aeeordanee-with-seetionHH-of the Internal Revenue
Ceode-except-thatforpurpeses-of-this-subdivisten using the Consumer Price Index for All

Urban Consumers. The percentage increase shall be determined as provided in this

subdivision.

(b) In adjusting the dollar amounts of the income thresholds and the maximum refunds
under subdivision 2 for inflation, the percentage increase shall be determined from the year
ending on June 30, 2013, to the year ending on June 30 of the year preceding that in which

the refund is payable.

(c¢) In adjusting the dollar amounts of the income thresholds and the maximum refunds
under subdivision 2a for inflation, the percentage increase shall be determined from the
year ending on June 30, 2013, to the year ending on June 30 of the year preceding that in

which the refund is payable.

(d) The commissioner shall use the appropriate percentage increase to annually adjust
the income thresholds and maximum refunds under subdivisions 2 and 2a for inflation
without regard to whether or not the income tax brackets are adjusted for inflation in that
year. The commissioner shall round the thresholds and the maximum amounts, as adjusted
to the nearest $10 amount. If the amount ends in $5, the commissioner shall round it up to

the next $10 amount.

(e) The commissioner shall annually announce the adjusted refund schedule at the same
time provided under section 290.06. The determination of the commissioner under this

subdivision is not a rule under the Administrative Procedure Act.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for refunds based on rent paid after

December 31, 2018, and property taxes payable after December 31, 2019.

Sec. 60. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 291.005, subdivision 1, is amended

to read:

Subdivision 1. Scope. Unless the context otherwise clearly requires, the following terms

used in this chapter shall have the following meanings:

(1) "Commissioner" means the commissioner of revenue or any person to whom the

commissioner has delegated functions under this chapter.
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(2) "Federal gross estate" means the gross estate of a decedent as required to be valued
and otherwise determined for federal estate tax purposes under the Internal Revenue Code,
increased by the value of any property in which the decedent had a qualifying income interest
for life and for which an election was made under section 291.03, subdivision 1d, for

Minnesota estate tax purposes, but was not made for federal estate tax purposes.

(3) "Internal Revenue Code" means the United States Internal Revenue Code of 1986,

as amended through Peeember16,2046 March 31, 2018.

(4) "Minnesota gross estate" means the federal gross estate of a decedent after (a)
excluding therefrom any property included in the estate which has its situs outside Minnesota,
and (b) including any property omitted from the federal gross estate which is includable in

the estate, has its situs in Minnesota, and was not disclosed to federal taxing authorities.

(5) "Nonresident decedent" means an individual whose domicile at the time of death

was not in Minnesota.

(6) "Personal representative" means the executor, administrator or other person appointed
by the court to administer and dispose of the property of the decedent. If there is no executor,
administrator or other person appointed, qualified, and acting within this state, then any
person in actual or constructive possession of any property having a situs in this state which
is included in the federal gross estate of the decedent shall be deemed to be a personal
representative to the extent of the property and the Minnesota estate tax due with respect

to the property.

(7) "Resident decedent" means an individual whose domicile at the time of death was
in Minnesota. The provisions of section 290.01, subdivision 7, paragraphs (c) and (d), apply

to determinations of domicile under this chapter.
(8) "Situs of property" means, with respect to:
(1) real property, the state or country in which it is located;

(i1) tangible personal property, the state or country in which it was normally kept or
located at the time of the decedent's death or for a gift of tangible personal property within
three years of death, the state or country in which it was normally kept or located when the

gift was executed;

(ii1) a qualified work of art, as defined in section 2503(g)(2) of the Internal Revenue
Code, owned by a nonresident decedent and that is normally kept or located in this state

because it is on loan to an organization, qualifying as exempt from taxation under section
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501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code, that is located in Minnesota, the situs of the art is

deemed to be outside of Minnesota, notwithstanding the provisions of item (i1); and

(iv) intangible personal property, the state or country in which the decedent was domiciled
at death or for a gift of intangible personal property within three years of death, the state or

country in which the decedent was domiciled when the gift was executed.

For a nonresident decedent with an ownership interest in a pass-through entity with
assets that include real or tangible personal property, situs of the real or tangible personal
property, including qualified works of art, is determined as if the pass-through entity does
not exist and the real or tangible personal property is personally owned by the decedent. If
the pass-through entity is owned by a person or persons in addition to the decedent, ownership
of the property is attributed to the decedent in proportion to the decedent's capital ownership

share of the pass-through entity.
(9) "Pass-through entity" includes the following:

(1) an entity electing S corporation status under section 1362 of the Internal Revenue

Code;
(1) an entity taxed as a partnership under subchapter K of the Internal Revenue Code;

(111) a single-member limited liability company or similar entity, regardless of whether
it is taxed as an association or is disregarded for federal income tax purposes under Code

of Federal Regulations, title 26, section 301.7701-3; or

(iv) a trust to the extent the property is includible in the decedent's federal gross estate;

but excludes

(v) an entity whose ownership interest securities are traded on an exchange regulated
by the Securities and Exchange Commission as a national securities exchange under section

6 of the Securities Exchange Act, United States Code, title 15, section 78f.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective retroactively for estates of decedents

dying after December 31, 2017.

Sec. 61. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 297A.68, subdivision 25, is amended to read:

Subd. 25. Sale of property used in a trade or business. (a) The sale of tangible personal
property primarily used in a trade or business is exempt if the sale is not made in the normal
course of business of selling that kind of property and if one of the following conditions is

satisfied:
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(1) the sale occurs in a transaction subject to or described in section 118, 331, 332, 336,
337,338,351, 355,368, 721,731, 1031, or 1033 of the Internal Revenue Code, as amended
through December 16, 2016;

(2) the sale is between members of a controlled group as defined in section 1563(a) of

the Internal Revenue Code;
(3) the sale is a sale of farm machinery;
(4) the sale is a farm auction sale;
(5) the sale is a sale of substantially all of the assets of a trade or business; or

(6) the total amount of gross receipts from the sale of trade or business property made

during the calendar month of the sale and the preceding 11 calendar months does not exceed

$1,000.

The use, storage, distribution, or consumption of tangible personal property acquired as

a result of a sale exempt under this subdivision is also exempt.
(b) For purposes of this subdivision, the following terms have the meanings given.

(1) A "farm auction" is a public auction conducted by a licensed auctioneer if substantially
all of the property sold consists of property used in the trade or business of farming and

property not used primarily in a trade or business.

(2) "Trade or business" includes the assets of a separate division, branch, or identifiable
segment of a trade or business if, before the sale, the income and expenses attributable to
the separate division, branch, or identifiable segment could be separately ascertained from
the books of account or record (the lease or rental of an identifiable segment does not qualify

for the exemption).

(3) A "sale of substantially all of the assets of a trade or business" must occur as a single
transaction or a series of related transactions within the 12-month period beginning on the
date of the first sale of assets intended to qualify for the exemption provided in paragraph

(a), clause (5).

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective retroactively for sales and purchases

made after December 31, 2017.

Sec. 62. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 297B.03, 1s amended to read:

297B.03 EXEMPTIONS.
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There is specifically exempted from the provisions of this chapter and from computation

of the amount of tax imposed by it the following:

(1) purchase or use, including use under a lease purchase agreement or installment sales
contract made pursuant to section 465.71, of any motor vehicle by the United States and its
agencies and instrumentalities and by any person described in and subject to the conditions

provided in section 297A.67, subdivision 11;

(2) purchase or use of any motor vehicle by any person who was a resident of another
state or country at the time of the purchase and who subsequently becomes a resident of
Minnesota, provided the purchase occurred more than 60 days prior to the date such person
began residing in the state of Minnesota and the motor vehicle was registered in the person's

name in the other state or country;

(3) purchase or use of any motor vehicle by any person making a valid election to be

taxed under the provisions of section 297A.90;

(4) purchase or use of any motor vehicle previously registered in the state of Minnesota
when such transfer constitutes a transfer within the meaning of section 118, 331, 332, 336,
337,338, 351, 355, 368, 721, 731, 1031, 1033, or 1563(a) of the Internal Revenue Code,
as amended through December 16, 2016;

(5) purchase or use of any vehicle owned by a resident of another state and leased to a
Minnesota-based private or for-hire carrier for regular use in the transportation of persons
or property in interstate commerce provided the vehicle is titled in the state of the owner or
secured party, and that state does not impose a sales tax or sales tax on motor vehicles used

in interstate commerce;

(6) purchase or use of a motor vehicle by a private nonprofit or public educational
institution for use as an instructional aid in automotive training programs operated by the
institution. "Automotive training programs" includes motor vehicle body and mechanical

repair courses but does not include driver education programs;

(7) purchase of a motor vehicle by an ambulance service licensed under section 144E.10
when that vehicle is equipped and specifically intended for emergency response or for

providing ambulance service;

(8) purchase of a motor vehicle by or for a public library, as defined in section 134.001,

subdivision 2, as a bookmobile or library delivery vehicle;

(9) purchase of a ready-mixed concrete truck;
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(10) purchase or use of a motor vehicle by a town for use exclusively for road
maintenance, including snowplows and dump trucks, but not including automobiles, vans,

or pickup trucks;

(11) purchase or use of a motor vehicle by a corporation, society, association, foundation,
or institution organized and operated exclusively for charitable, religious, or educational

purposes, except a public school, university, or library, but only if the vehicle is:

(1) a truck, as defined in section 168.002, a bus, as defined in section 168.002, or a
passenger automobile, as defined in section 168.002, if the automobile is designed and used

for carrying more than nine persons including the driver; and

(i1) intended to be used primarily to transport tangible personal property or individuals,
other than employees, to whom the organization provides service in performing its charitable,

religious, or educational purpose;

(12) purchase of a motor vehicle for use by a transit provider exclusively to provide
transit service is exempt if the transit provider is either (i) receiving financial assistance or
reimbursement under section 174.24 or 473.384, or (i1) operating under section 174.29,

473.388, or 473.405;

(13) purchase or use of a motor vehicle by a qualified business, as defined in section
469.310, located in a job opportunity building zone, if the motor vehicle is principally
garaged in the job opportunity building zone and is primarily used as part of or in direct
support of the person's operations carried on in the job opportunity building zone. The
exemption under this clause applies to sales, if the purchase was made and delivery received
during the duration of the job opportunity building zone. The exemption under this clause

also applies to any local sales and use tax;

(14) purchase of a leased vehicle by the lessee who was a participant in a lease-to-own

program from a charitable organization that is:
(1) described in section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code; and
(i1) licensed as a motor vehicle lessor under section 168.27, subdivision 4; and

(15) purchase of a motor vehicle used exclusively as a mobile medical unit for the
provision of medical or dental services by a federally qualified health center, as defined
under title 19 of the Social Security Act, as amended by Section 4161 of the Omnibus Budget

Reconciliation Act of 1990.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective retroactively for sales and purchases

made after December 31, 2017.
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Sec. 63. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 462D.06, subdivision 1, is amended
to read:

Subdivision 1. Subtraction. (a) As provided in section 290.0132, subdivision 25, an

account holder is allowed a subtraction from the federal taxable adjusted gross income equal

to interest or dividends earned on the first-time home buyer savings account during the

taxable year.

(b) The subtraction under paragraph (a) is allowed each year for the taxable years
including and following the taxable year in which the account was established. No person

other than the account holder is allowed a subtraction under this section.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for taxable years beginning after December
31, 2017.

Sec. 64. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 462D.06, subdivision 2, is amended

to read:

Subd. 2. Addition. (a) As provided in section 290.0131, subdivision 14, an account

holder must add to federal taxable adjusted gross income the following amounts:

(1) the amount in excess of the total contributions for all taxable years that is withdrawn
and used for other than eligible costs, or for a transfer permitted under section 462D.04,

subdivision 2; and

(2) the amount remaining in the first-time home buyer savings account at the close of

the tenth taxable year that exceeds the total contributions to the account for all taxable years.

(b) For an account that received a transfer under section 462D.04, subdivision 2, the
ten-year period under paragraph (a), clause (2), ends at the close of the earliest taxable year

that applies to either account under that clause.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for taxable years beginning after December
31,2017.

Sec. 65. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 469.316, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Application. An individual, estate, or trust operating a trade or business
in a job opportunity building zone, and an individual, estate, or trust making a qualifying
investment in a qualified business operating in a job opportunity building zone qualifies for
the exemptions from taxes imposed under chapter 290, as provided in this section. The

exemptions provided under this section apply only to the extent that the income otherwise
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would be taxable under chapter 290. Subtractions under this section from federal adjusted

gross income, federal taxable income, alternative minimum taxable income, or any other

base subject to tax are limited to the amount that otherwise would be included in the tax
base absent the exemption under this section. This section applies only to taxable years

beginning during the duration of the job opportunity building zone.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for taxable years beginning after December
31, 2017.

Sec. 66. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 469.317, 1s amended to read:
469.317 CORPORATE FRANCHISE TAX EXEMPTION.

(a) A qualified business is exempt from taxation under section 290.02;-the-alternative
mintmum-tax-underseetion290-0921; and the minimum fee under section 290.0922; on the

portion of its income attributable to operations within the zone. This-exemptionis-determined
as-follows:

D (b) For purposes of the tax imposed under section 290.02, the exemption is determined

by multiplying its taxable net income by its zone percentage and by its relocation payroll

percentage and subtracting the result in determining taxable income;.

3) (c) For purposes of the minimum fee under section 290.0922, the exemption is

determined by excluding property and payroll in the zone from the computations of the fee

or by exempting the entity under section 290.0922, subdivision 2, clause (7).

{®) (d) No subtraction is allowed under this section in excess of 20 percent of the sum
of the corporation's job opportunity building zone payroll and the adjusted basis of the
property at the time that the property is first used in the job opportunity building zone by

the corporation.

te) (e) This section applies only to taxable years beginning during the duration of the

job opportunity building zone.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for taxable years beginning after December

31, 2017.
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Sec. 67. REPEALER.

Minnesota Statutes 2016, sections 290.01, subdivision 29a; 290.0131, subdivisions 7,

11,12, and 13; 290.0132, subdivisions &, 19, and 20; 290.0133, subdivisions 13 and 14;

290.0921, subdivisions 1, 2, 3a, 4, and 6; and 290.10, subdivision 2, are repealed.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for taxable years beginning after December
31,2017.

ARTICLE 2

INDIVIDUAL INCOME, CORPORATE FRANCHISE, AND ESTATE TAXES

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 116J.8737, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

Subd. 5. Credit allowed. (a)(1) A qualified investor or qualified fund is eligible for a
credit equal to 25 percent of the qualified investment in a qualified small business.
Investments made by a pass-through entity qualify for a credit only if the entity is a qualified
fund. The commissioner must not allocate more than $15;660;660 $10,000,000 in credits

to qualified investors or qualified funds for taxable years beginning after December 31,

2643 2017, and before January 1, 2047 -and-must-net-allocate-more-than-$10,000,000-in

50 percent must be allocated to credits for qualifying investments in qualified greater
Minnesota businesses and minority- or women-owned qualified small businesses in
Minnesota. Any portion of a taxable year's credits that is reserved for qualifying investments
in greater Minnesota businesses and minority- or women-owned qualified small businesses
in Minnesota that is not allocated by September 30 of the taxable year is available for
allocation to other credit applications beginning on October 1. Any portion of a taxable
year's credits that is not allocated by the commissioner does not cancel and may be carried

forward to subsequent taxable years until all credits have been allocated.

(b) The commissioner may not allocate more than a total maximum amount in credits
for a taxable year to a qualified investor for the investor's cumulative qualified investments
as an individual qualified investor and as an investor in a qualified fund; for married couples
filing joint returns the maximum is $250,000, and for all other filers the maximum is
$125,000. The commissioner may not allocate more than a total of $1,000,000 in credits

over all taxable years for qualified investments in any one qualified small business.
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(c) The commissioner may not allocate a credit to a qualified investor either as an
individual qualified investor or as an investor in a qualified fund if, at the time the investment

is proposed:
(1) the investor is an officer or principal of the qualified small business; or

(2) the investor, either individually or in combination with one or more members of the
investor's family, owns, controls, or holds the power to vote 20 percent or more of the

outstanding securities of the qualified small business.

A member of the family of an individual disqualified by this paragraph is not eligible for a
credit under this section. For a married couple filing a joint return, the limitations in this
paragraph apply collectively to the investor and spouse. For purposes of determining the
ownership interest of an investor under this paragraph, the rules under section 267(c) and

267(e) of the Internal Revenue Code apply.

(d) Applications for tax credits for 2010 must be made available on the department's
Web site by September 1, 2010, and the department must begin accepting applications by
September 1, 2010. Applications for subsequent years must be made available by November

1 of the preceding year.

(e) Qualified investors and qualified funds must apply to the commissioner for tax credits.
Tax credits must be allocated to qualified investors or qualified funds in the order that the
tax credit request applications are filed with the department. The commissioner must approve
or reject tax credit request applications within 15 days of receiving the application. The
investment specified in the application must be made within 60 days of the allocation of
the credits. If the investment is not made within 60 days, the credit allocation is canceled
and available for reallocation. A qualified investor or qualified fund that fails to invest as
specified in the application, within 60 days of allocation of the credits, must notify the
commissioner of the failure to invest within five business days of the expiration of the

60-day investment period.

(f) All tax credit request applications filed with the department on the same day must
be treated as having been filed contemporaneously. If two or more qualified investors or
qualified funds file tax credit request applications on the same day, and the aggregate amount
of credit allocation claims exceeds the aggregate limit of credits under this section or the
lesser amount of credits that remain unallocated on that day, then the credits must be allocated
among the qualified investors or qualified funds who filed on that day on a pro rata basis
with respect to the amounts claimed. The pro rata allocation for any one qualified investor

or qualified fund is the product obtained by multiplying a fraction, the numerator of which
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is the amount of the credit allocation claim filed on behalf of a qualified investor and the
denominator of which is the total of all credit allocation claims filed on behalf of all
applicants on that day, by the amount of credits that remain unallocated on that day for the

taxable year.

(g) A qualified investor or qualified fund, or a qualified small business acting on their
behalf, must notify the commissioner when an investment for which credits were allocated
has been made, and the taxable year in which the investment was made. A qualified fund
must also provide the commissioner with a statement indicating the amount invested by
each investor in the qualified fund based on each investor's share of the assets of the qualified
fund at the time of the qualified investment. After receiving notification that the investment
was made, the commissioner must issue credit certificates for the taxable year in which the
investment was made to the qualified investor or, for an investment made by a qualified
fund, to each qualified investor who is an investor in the fund. The certificate must state
that the credit is subject to revocation if the qualified investor or qualified fund does not
hold the investment in the qualified small business for at least three years, consisting of the
calendar year in which the investment was made and the two following years. The three-year

holding period does not apply if:

(1) the investment by the qualified investor or qualified fund becomes worthless before

the end of the three-year period;

(2) 80 percent or more of the assets of the qualified small business is sold before the end

of the three-year period;
(3) the qualified small business is sold before the end of the three-year period;

(4) the qualified small business's common stock begins trading on a public exchange

before the end of the three-year period; or
(5) the qualified investor dies before the end of the three-year period.

(h) The commissioner must notify the commissioner of revenue of credit certificates

1ssued under this section.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for taxable years beginning after December
31, 2017.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 116J.8737, subdivision 12, is amended to read:

Subd. 12. Sunset. This section expires for taxable years beginning after December 31,

2017 2018, except that reporting requirements under subdivision 6 and revocation of credits
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under subdivision 7 remain in effect through 2049 2020 for qualified investors and qualified
funds, and through 202+ 2022 for qualified small businesses, reporting requirements under
subdivision 9 remain in effect through 2022 2023, and the appropriation in subdivision 11

remains in effect through 2024+ 2022.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for taxable years beginning after December
31, 2017.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 290.01, subdivision 4a, is amended

to read:
Subd. 4a. Financial institution. (a) "Financial institution" means:

(1) any corporation or other business entity registered (i) under state law as a bank
holding company; (i) under the federal Bank Holding Company Act of 1956, as amended,;
or (ii1) as a savings and loan holding company under the federal National Housing Act, as

amended,;

(2) anational bank organized and existing as a national bank association pursuant to the

provisions of United States Code, title 12, chapter 2;

(3) a savings association or federal savings bank as defined in United States Code, title

12, section 1813(b)(1);
(4) any bank or thrift institution incorporated or organized under the laws of any state;
(5) any corporation organized under United States Code, title 12, sections 611 to 631;

(6) any agency or branch of a foreign depository as defined under United States Code,

title 12, section 3101;

(7) any corporation or other business entity that is more than 50 percent owned, directly
or indirectly, by any person or business entity described in clauses (1) to (6), other than an

insurance company taxable under chapter 2971;

(8) a corporation or other business entity that derives more than 50 percent of its total
gross income for financial accounting purposes from finance leases. For the purposes of
this clause, "gross income" means the average from the current tax year and immediately
preceding two years and excludes gross income from incidental or occasional transactions.
For purposes of this clause, "finance lease" means any lease transaction that is the functional
equivalent of an extension of credit and that transfers substantially all the benefits and risks
incident to the ownership of property, including any direct financing lease or leverage lease

that meets the criteria of Financial Accounting Standards Board Statement No. 13, accounting
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for leases, or any other lease that is accounted for as financing by a lessor under generally

accepted accounting principles; or

(9) any other person or business entity, other than an insurance company taxable-under
chapter 297, that derives more than 50 percent of its gross income from activities that an
entity described in clauses (2) to (6) or (8) is authorized to transact. For the purposes of this

clause, gross income does not include income from nonrecurring, extraordinary items.

(b) The commissioner is authorized to exclude any person from the application of
paragraph (a), clause (9), if the person proves by clear and convincing evidence that the
person's income-producing activity is not in substantial competition with any person described

in paragraph (a), clauses (2) to (6) or (8).

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective retroactively for taxable years beginning
after December 31, 2016.

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 290.01, is amended by adding a subdivision to

read:

Subd. 5c. Disqualified captive insurance company. (a) "Disqualified captive insurance

company" means a company that:

(1)(1) 1s licensed as a captive insurance company under the laws of any state or foreign

country; or

(ii) derives 80 percent or more of its total premiums for the taxable year from entities

that are members of the unitary business, as that term is used in section 290.17; and

(2)(1) receives less than 50 percent of its gross receipts for the taxable year from

premiums; or

(1) pays less than 0.25 percent of its total premiums for the taxable year in tax under

chapter 2971 or a comparable tax of another state or country.

(b) For purposes of this subdivision, "premiums" means amounts paid for arrangements

that constitute insurance for federal income tax purposes, but excludes return premiums,

premiums for reinsurance assumed from other insurance companies, and any other premiums

that are or would be exempt from taxation under section 2971.05 as a result of their type or

character, if the insurance was for business in Minnesota.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective retroactively for taxable years beginning

after December 31, 2016.
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Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 290.0132, is amended by adding a subdivision

to read:

Subd. 29. Disallowed section 280E expenses; medical cannabis manufacturers. The

amount of expenses of a medical cannabis manufacturer, as defined under section 152.22,

subdivision 7, related to the business of medical cannabis under sections 152.21 to 152.37,

and not allowed for federal income tax purposes under section 280E of the Internal Revenue

Code is a subtraction.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for taxable years beginning after December

31, 2017.

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 290.0133, is amended by adding a subdivision

to read:

Subd. 15. Prepared food donation. The amount of charitable contributions under section

170 of the Internal Revenue Code used to claim the credit under section 290.06, subdivision

39, 1s an addition.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for taxable years beginning after December
31,2017.

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 290.0134, is amended by adding a subdivision

to read:

Subd. 18. Disallowed section 280E expenses; medical cannabis manufacturers. The

amount of expenses of a medical cannabis manufacturer, as defined under section 152.22,

subdivision 7, related to the business of medical cannabis under sections 152.21 to 152.37,

and not allowed for federal income tax purposes under section 280E of the Internal Revenue

Code is a subtraction.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for taxable years beginning after December

31, 2017.

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 290.05, subdivision 1, is amended

to read:

Subdivision 1. Exempt entities. The following corporations, individuals, estates, trusts,
and organizations shall be exempted from taxation under this chapter, provided that every
such person or corporation claiming exemption under this chapter, in whole or in part, must

establish to the satisfaction of the commissioner the taxable status of any income or activity:
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(a) corporations, individuals, estates, and trusts engaged in the business of mining or
producing iron ore and mining, producing, or refining other ores, metals, and minerals, the
mining, production, or refining of which is subject to the occupation tax imposed by section
298.01; but if any such corporation, individual, estate, or trust engages in any other business
or activity or has income from any property not used in such business it shall be subject to
this tax computed on the net income from such property or such other business or activity.
Royalty shall not be considered as income from the business of mining or producing iron

ore within the meaning of this section;

(b) the United States of America, the state of Minnesota or any political subdivision of
either agencies or instrumentalities, whether engaged in the discharge of governmental or

proprietary functions; and

(¢) any insurance company, b b A7, EVisi - i)

on-areeiprocal-basts;-exemptionfromretaliaterytaxes other than a disqualified captive

insurance company.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective retroactively for taxable years beginning
after December 31, 2016.

Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 290.06, is amended by adding a subdivision to

read:

Subd. 39. Prepared food donation credit. (a) A qualifying taxpayer is allowed a credit

against the tax imposed by this chapter equal to 20 percent of the taxpayer's eligible charitable

food donation. The credit may not exceed the taxpayer's liability for tax and may not be

carried forward to any other taxable year.

(b) For purposes of this subdivision, the following terms have the meanings given:

(1) "eligible charitable food donation" means a contribution of prepared food allowable

as a charitable deduction for the taxable year under section 170(a) of the Internal Revenue

Code, subject to the limitations of section 170(b) of the Internal Revenue Code, and

determined without regard to whether or not the taxpayer itemizes deductions;

(2) "prepared food" means food that meets all quality and labeling standards imposed

by federal, state, and local laws and regulations even though the food may not be readily

marketable due to appearance, age, freshness, grade, size, surplus, or other conditions, and

includes:

(1) food that is cooked or heated by the qualifying taxpayer;
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(i1) two or more ingredients mixed together to be eaten as a single item; and

(111) any ingredients supplied for ingestion or chewing by humans that are consumed for

their taste or nutritional value; and

(3) "qualifying taxpayer" means an individual or entity that makes a charitable food

donation in Minnesota and is engaged in a trade or business that includes regularly selling

prepared food.

(c) A food donation for which a credit is claimed under this section may not be deducted

as a charitable contribution deduction under section 290.0803.

(d) Credits allowed to a partnership, a limited liability company taxed as a partnership,

an S corporation, or multiple owners of property are passed through to the partners, members,

shareholders, or owners, respectively, pro rata to each partner, member, shareholder, or

owner based on their share of the entity's income for the taxable year.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for taxable years beginning after December
31, 2017.

Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 290.0685, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Credit allowed. (a) An eligible individual is allowed a credit against the
tax imposed by this chapter equal to $2,000 for each birth-fer-which-a-—eertificate-of birth

resultingin-stillbirth-hasbeenissuedunderseetion144-2151 stillbirth. The credit under this
section is allowed only in the taxable year in which the stillbirth occurred and-ifthe-child

(b) For a nenresident-er part-year resident, the credit must be allocated based on the

percentage calculated under section 290.06, subdivision 2c, paragraph (e).

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective retroactively for taxable years beginning

after December 31, 2015.

Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 290.0685, is amended by adding a subdivision

to read:

Subd. 1a. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have the

meanings given, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise.
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(b) "Certificate of birth resulting in stillbirth" means the printed certificate of birth

resulting in stillbirth issued under section 144.2151 or for a stillbirth occurring in another

state or country a similar certificate issued under that state's or country's law.

(c) "Eligible individual" means an individual who is:

(1)(1) a resident; or

(ii) the nonresident spouse of a resident who is a member of armed forces of the United

States or the United Nations; and

(2)(1) the individual who gave birth resulting in stillbirth and is listed as a parent on the

certificate of birth resulting in stillbirth;

(1) if no individual meets the requirements of clause (1) for a stillbirth that occurs in this

state, then the first parent listed on the certificate of birth resulting in stillbirth; or

(i11) the individual who gave birth resulting in stillbirth for a birth outside of this state

for which no certificate of birth resulting in stillbirth was issued.

(d) "Stillbirth" means a birth for which a fetal death report would be required under

section 144.222, subdivision 1, if the birth occurred in this state.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective retroactively for taxable years beginning

after December 31, 2015.

Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 290.0686, subdivision 1, is amended

to read:

Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have

the meanings given them.

(b) "Master's degree program" means a graduate-level program at an accredited university

leading to a master of arts or science degree in either a core content area directly related to

a qualified teacher's licensure field or special education. Except for a special education

program authorized under paragraph (e), the master's degree program may not include

pedagogy or a pedagogy component. To be eligible under this credit, a licensed elementary
school teacher must pursue and complete a master's degree program in either a core content

area in which the teacher provides direct classroom instruction or a special education

program.

(¢) "Qualified teacher" means a person who:
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(1) holds a teaching license issued by the licensing division in the Department of
Education on behalf of the Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board both when
the teacher begins the master's degree program and when the teacher completes the master's

degree program;
(2) began a master's degree program after June 30, 2017; and
(3) completes the master's degree program during the taxable year.

(d) "Core content area" means the academic subject of reading, English or language arts,
mathematics, science, foreign languages, civics and government, economics, arts, history,

or geography.

(e) "Special education" means a program of study directly related to licensure in

developmental disabilities, early childhood special education, emotional or behavioral

disorders, autism spectrum disorders, or learning disabilities.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for taxable years beginning after December
31, 2017.

Sec. 13. [290.0687] TAX CREDIT; RAILROAD CROSSING IMPROVEMENTS.

Subdivision 1. Credit allowed. An individual or entity operating a railroad is allowed

a credit against the liability for tax equal to 50 percent of the expenditures during the taxable

year on qualified costs.

Subd. 2. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have the

meanings given them.

(b) "Crossing" means a grade crossing as defined in section 219.16.

(c) "Liability for tax" means the sum of the tax imposed under sections 290.06,

subdivision 1 or 2¢; and 290.091 for the taxable year, reduced by the sum of the

nonrefundable credits allowed under this chapter.

(d) "Qualified costs" means amounts expended to improve a priority crossing that:

(1) increase the safety of the crossing by installing, facilitating the installation of, or

improving the quality of active traffic signals or controls or by assisting in implementing

grade separation for the crossing;

(2) would qualify for depreciation deductions under section 167(a) of the Internal Revenue

Code without regard to whether the improvements are property of the taxpayer; and

(3) are not required by law to be made by the railroad.
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(e) "Railroad" means a rail carrier as defined in United States Code, title 49, section

20102, as amended.

(f) "Priority crossing" means a crossing that is designated by the commissioner of

transportation under subdivision 5.

Subd. 3. Carryover. The credit for a taxable year must not exceed the taxpayer's liability

for tax. If the credit for a taxable year exceeds the liability for tax, the excess is a carryover

to each of the 15 succeeding taxable years. The entire amount of the excess unused credit

for the taxable year must be carried first to the earliest of the taxable years to which the

credit may be carried and then to each successive year to which the credit may be carried.

The amount of the unused credit that may be added under this subdivision must not exceed

the liability for tax less the credit for the taxable year.

Subd. 4. Partnerships and S corporations. For a railroad operated as a partnership, a

limited liability company taxed as a partnership, or an S corporation, the credit under this

section is passed through to each partner, member, or shareholder in proportion to their

share of the entity's net income for the taxable year.

Subd. 5. Designation of priority crossings. (a) By October 1, 2018, the commissioner

of transportation shall designate a list of at least 15 priority crossings that qualify for the

tax credit under this section and publish the list on the Web site of the Department of

Transportation. The list establishes priority crossings, expenditures for which qualify for

the tax credit under this section. The commissioner may revise the list of priority crossings

as the commissioner determines appropriate, based on changing conditions and circumstances.

(b) In establishing a list of priority crossings, the commissioner of transportation shall

use a methodology for evaluating the priority for and cost-effectiveness of expenditures for

improving public safety following or similar to the methods used in preparing the study

required by Laws 2014, chapter 312, article 10, section 10, with any modifications or

improvements the commissioner determines appropriate.

(c) Actions of the commissioner of transportation in establishing a list of priority crossings

under this subdivision are not an administrative rule subject to the Administrative Procedure

Act in chapter 14, including section 14.386.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for taxable years beginning after December

31, 2017, and applies to expenditures made after October 1, 2018.
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Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 290.091, subdivision 2, is amended
to read:

Subd. 2. Definitions. For purposes of the tax imposed by this section, the following

terms have the meanings given.

(a) "Alternative minimum taxable income" means the sum of the following for the taxable

year:

(1) the taxpayer's federal alternative minimum taxable income as defined in section

55(b)(2) of the Internal Revenue Code;

(2) the taxpayer's itemized deductions allowed in computing federal alternative minimum

taxable income, but excluding:
(1) the charitable contribution deduction under section 170 of the Internal Revenue Code;
(i1) the medical expense deduction;
(111) the casualty, theft, and disaster loss deduction; and
(iv) the impairment-related work expenses of a disabled person;

(3) for depletion allowances computed under section 613A(c) of the Internal Revenue
Code, with respect to each property (as defined in section 614 of the Internal Revenue Code),
to the extent not included in federal alternative minimum taxable income, the excess of the
deduction for depletion allowable under section 611 of the Internal Revenue Code for the
taxable year over the adjusted basis of the property at the end of the taxable year (determined

without regard to the depletion deduction for the taxable year);

(4) to the extent not included in federal alternative minimum taxable income, the amount
of the tax preference for intangible drilling cost under section 57(a)(2) of the Internal Revenue

Code determined without regard to subparagraph (E);

(5) to the extent not included in federal alternative minimum taxable income, the amount

of interest income as provided by section 290.0131, subdivision 2; and
(6) the amount of addition required by section 290.0131, subdivisions 9 to 11;
less the sum of the amounts determined under the following:
(1) interest income as defined in section 290.0132, subdivision 2;

(11) an overpayment of state income tax as provided by section 290.0132, subdivision

3, to the extent included in federal alternative minimum taxable income;
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(ii1) the amount of investment interest paid or accrued within the taxable year on
indebtedness to the extent that the amount does not exceed net investment income, as defined
in section 163(d)(4) of the Internal Revenue Code. Interest does not include amounts deducted

in computing federal adjusted gross income;

(iv) amounts subtracted from federal taxable income as provided by section 290.0132,

subdivisions 7, 9 to 15, 17, 21, 24, and 26, and 29; and
(v) the amount of the net operating loss allowed under section 290.095, subdivision 11,
paragraph (c).

In the case of an estate or trust, alternative minimum taxable income must be computed

as provided in section 59(c) of the Internal Revenue Code.

(b) "Investment interest" means investment interest as defined in section 163(d)(3) of

the Internal Revenue Code.
(c) "Net minimum tax" means the minimum tax imposed by this section.

(d) "Regular tax" means the tax that would be imposed under this chapter (without regard
to this section and section 290.032), reduced by the sum of the nonrefundable credits allowed

under this chapter.

(e) "Tentative minimum tax" equals 6.75 percent of alternative minimum taxable income

after subtracting the exemption amount determined under subdivision 3.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for taxable years beginning after December
31, 2017.

Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 290.17, subdivision 4, is amended

to read:

Subd. 4. Unitary business principle. (a) If a trade or business conducted wholly within
this state or partly within and partly without this state is part of a unitary business, the entire
income of the unitary business is subject to apportionment pursuant to section 290.191.
Notwithstanding subdivision 2, paragraph (c), none of the income of a unitary business is
considered to be derived from any particular source and none may be allocated to a particular
place except as provided by the applicable apportionment formula. The provisions of this
subdivision do not apply to business income subject to subdivision 5, income of an insurance

company, or income of an investment company determined under section 290.36.

(b) The term "unitary business" means business activities or operations which result in

a flow of value between them. The term may be applied within a single legal entity or
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between multiple entities and without regard to whether each entity is a sole proprietorship,

a corporation, a partnership or a trust.

(c) Unity is presumed whenever there is unity of ownership, operation, and use, evidenced
by centralized management or executive force, centralized purchasing, advertising,
accounting, or other controlled interaction, but the absence of these centralized activities
will not necessarily evidence a nonunitary business. Unity is also presumed when business
activities or operations are of mutual benefit, dependent upon or contributory to one another,

either individually or as a group.

(d) Where a business operation conducted in Minnesota is owned by a business entity
that carries on business activity outside the state different in kind from that conducted within
this state, and the other business is conducted entirely outside the state, it is presumed that
the two business operations are unitary in nature, interrelated, connected, and interdependent

unless it can be shown to the contrary.

(e) Unity of ownership does not exist when two or more corporations are involved unless
more than 50 percent of the voting stock of each corporation is directly or indirectly owned
by a common owner or by common owners, either corporate or noncorporate, or by one or
more of the member corporations of the group. For this purpose, the term "voting stock"
shall include membership interests of mutual insurance holding companies formed under

section 66A.40.

(f) The net income and apportionment factors under section 290.191 or 290.20 of foreign

corporations and other foreign entities, but excluding a disqualified captive insurance

company, which are part of a unitary business shall not be included in the net income or
the apportionment factors of the unitary business; except that the income and apportionment
factors of a foreign entity, other than an entity treated as a C corporation for federal income
tax purposes, that are included in the federal taxable income, as defined in section 63 of the
Internal Revenue Code as amended through the date named in section 290.01, subdivision
19, of a domestic corporation, domestic entity, or individual must be included in determining
net income and the factors to be used in the apportionment of net income pursuant to section
290.191 or 290.20. A foreign corporation or other foreign entity which is not included on
a combined report and which is required to file a return under this chapter shall file on a

separate return basis.

(g) For purposes of determining the net income of a unitary business and the factors to
be used in the apportionment of net income pursuant to section 290.191 or 290.20, there

must be included only the income and apportionment factors of domestic corporations or
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other domestic entities that are determined to be part of the unitary business pursuant to this
subdivision, notwithstanding that foreign corporations or other foreign entities might be
included in the unitary business; except that the income and apportionment factors of a
foreign entity, other than an entity treated as a C corporation for federal income tax purposes,
that is included in the federal taxable income, as defined in section 63 of the Internal Revenue
Code as amended through the date named in section 290.01, subdivision 19, of a domestic
corporation, domestic entity, or individual must be included in determining net income and
the factors to be used in the apportionment of net income pursuant to section 290.191 or

290.20.

(h) Each corporation or other entity, except a sole proprietorship, that is part of a unitary
business must file combined reports as the commissioner determines. On the reports, all
intercompany transactions between entities included pursuant to paragraph (g) must be
eliminated and the entire net income of the unitary business determined in accordance with
this subdivision is apportioned among the entities by using each entity's Minnesota factors
for apportionment purposes in the numerators of the apportionment formula and the total
factors for apportionment purposes of all entities included pursuant to paragraph (g) in the
denominators of the apportionment formula. Except as otherwise provided by paragraph
(), all sales of the unitary business made within this state pursuant to section 290.191 or
290.20 must be included on the combined report of a corporation or other entity that is a
member of the unitary business and is subject to the jurisdiction of this state to impose tax

under this chapter.

(1) If a corporation has been divested from a unitary business and is included in a
combined report for a fractional part of the common accounting period of the combined

report:

(1) its income includable in the combined report is its income incurred for that part of

the year determined by proration or separate accounting; and

(2) its sales, property, and payroll included in the apportionment formula must be prorated

or accounted for separately.

(j) For purposes of this subdivision, "insurance company" means an insurance company,

as defined in section 290.01, subdivision 5b, that is:
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captive insurance company.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective retroactively for taxable years beginning

after December 31, 2016.

Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 291.03, subdivision 8, is amended to read:

Subd. 8. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have the

meanings given in this subdivision.

(b) "Family member" means a family member as defined in section 2032A(e)(2) of the
Internal Revenue Code, or a trust whose present beneficiaries are all family members as

defined in section 2032A(e)(2) of the Internal Revenue Code.

(c) "Qualified heir" means a family member who acquired qualified property upon the
death of the decedent and satisfies the requirement under subdivision 9, clause (7 (8), or

subdivision 10, clause (5), for the property.

(d) "Qualified property" means qualified small business property under subdivision 9

and qualified farm property under subdivision 10.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 291.03, subdivision 9, is amended

to read:

Subd. 9. Qualified small business property. Property satisfying all of the following

requirements is qualified small business property:
(1) The value of the property was included in the federal adjusted taxable estate.

(2) The property consists of the assets of a trade or business or shares of stock or other
ownership interests in a corporation or other entity engaged in a trade or business. Shares

of stock in a corporation or an ownership interest in another type of entity do not qualify
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under this subdivision if the shares or ownership interests are traded on a public stock
exchange at any time during the three-year period ending on the decedent's date of death.
For purposes of this subdivision, an ownership interest includes the interest the decedent is

deemed to own under sections 2036, 2037, and 2038 of the Internal Revenue Code.

(3) During the taxable year that ended before the decedent's death, the trade or business
must not have been a passive activity within the meaning of section 469(c) of the Internal
Revenue Code, and the decedent or the decedent's spouse must have materially participated
in the trade or business within the meaning of section 469(h) of the Internal Revenue Code,
excluding section 469(h)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code and any other provision provided
by United States Treasury Department regulation that substitutes material participation in
prior taxable years for material participation in the taxable year that ended before the

decedent's death.

(4) The gross annual sales of the trade or business were $10,000,000 or less for the last

taxable year that ended before the date of the death of the decedent.
(5) The property does not include:
(1) cash;
(i1) cash equivalents;
(111) publicly traded securities; or
(iv) any assets not used in the operation of the trade or business.

(6) For property consisting of shares of stock or other ownership interests in an entity,
the value of items described in clause (5) must be excluded in the valuation of the decedent's

interest in the entity.

(7) The decedent or the decedent's spouse continuously owned the property, or an

undivided or joint interest in the property, including property the decedent or the decedent's

spouse is deemed to own under sections 2036, 2037, and 2038, 2040, or 2044 of the Internal

Revenue Code, or under subdivision 1d, for the three-year period ending on the date of

death of the decedent. In the case of a sole proprietor, if the property replaced similar property
within the three-year period, the replacement property will be treated as having been owned

for the three-year period ending on the date of death of the decedent. For the purposes of

the three-year holding period under this clause, any ownership by the decedent's spouse,

whether the spouse predeceases or survives the decedent, is attributed to the decedent.

(8) For three years following the date of death of the decedent, the trade or business is

not a passive activity within the meaning of section 469(c) of the Internal Revenue Code,
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and a family member materially participates in the operation of the trade or business within
the meaning of section 469(h) of the Internal Revenue Code, excluding section 469(h)(3)
of the Internal Revenue Code and any other provision provided by United States Treasury
Department regulation that substitutes material participation in prior taxable years for

material participation in the three years following the date of death of the decedent.

(9) The estate and the qualified heir elect to treat the property as qualified small business
property and agree, in the form prescribed by the commissioner, to pay the recapture tax

under subdivision 11, if applicable.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective retroactively for estates of decedents

dying after December 31, 2017.

Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 291.03, subdivision 10, is amended to read:

Subd. 10. Qualified farm property. Property satisfying all of the following requirements

is qualified farm property:
(1) The value of the property was included in the federal adjusted taxable estate.

(2) The property consists of agricultural land and is owned by a person or entity that is

either not subject to or is in compliance with section 500.24.

(3) For property taxes payable in the taxable year of the decedent's death, the property
is classified as class 2a property under section 273.13, subdivision 23, and is classified as
agricultural homestead, agricultural relative homestead, or special agricultural homestead

under section 273.124.

(4) The decedent or the decedent's spouse continuously owned the property, or an

undivided or joint interest in the property, including property the decedent or the decedent's

spouse is deemed to own under sections 2036, 2037, and 2038, 2040, or 2044 of the Internal

Revenue Code, or under subdivision 1d, for the three-year period ending on the date of

death of the decedent either by ownership of the agricultural land or pursuant to holding an
interest in an entity that is not subject to or is in compliance with section 500.24. For the

purposes of the three-year holding period under this clause, any ownership by the decedent's

spouse, whether the spouse predeceases or survives the decedent, is attributed to the decedent.

(5) The property is classified for property tax purposes as class 2a property under section

273.13, subdivision 23, for three years following the date of death of the decedent.
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(6) The estate and the qualified heir elect to treat the property as qualified farm property
and agree, in a form prescribed by the commissioner, to pay the recapture tax under

subdivision 11, if applicable.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective retroactively for estates of decedents

dying after December 31, 2017.

Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 291.03, subdivision 11, is amended

to read:

Subd. 11. Recapture tax. (a) If, within three years after the decedent's death and before
the death of the qualified heir, the qualified heir disposes of any interest in the qualified
property, other than by a disposition to a family member, or a family member ceases to
satisfy the requirement under subdivision 9, clause (7 (8); or 10, clause (5), an additional
estate tax is imposed on the property. In the case of a sole proprietor, if the qualified heir
replaces qualified small business property excluded under subdivision 9 with similar property,

then the qualified heir will not be treated as having disposed of an interest in the qualified
property.

(b) The amount of the additional tax equals the amount of the exclusion claimed by the

estate under subdivision 8, paragraph (d), multiplied by 16 percent.

(c) The additional tax under this subdivision is due on the day which is six months after

the date of the disposition or cessation in paragraph (a).

(d) The tax under this subdivision does not apply to the acquisition of title or possession
of the qualified property by a federal, state, or local government unit, or any other entity
with the power of eminent domain for a public purpose, as defined in section 117.025,

subdivision 11, within the three-year holding period.
(e) This subdivision shall not apply as a result of any of the following:

(1) a portion of qualified farm property consisting of less than one-fifth of the acreage
of the property is reclassified as class 2b property under section 273.13, subdivision 23, and
the qualified heir has not substantially altered the reclassified property during the three-year

holding period; or

(2) a portion of qualified farm property classified as 2a property at the death of the
decedent pursuant to section 273.13, subdivision 23, paragraph (a), consisting of a residence,
garage, and immediately surrounding one acre of land is reclassified as 4bb property during

the three-year holding period, and the qualified heir has not substantially altered the property.
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(f) This paragraph applies only to estates of decedents dying after December 31, 2011,

and before January 1, 2017, for which no tax liability was reported on the final estate tax

return. For purposes of estates qualifying under this paragraph, the amount of the exclusion

claimed by the estate for purposes of calculating the tax under paragraph (b) is deemed to

be the minimum amount of the exclusion necessary to reduce the amount of estate tax to

zero, without regard to the amount of the exclusion actually claimed on the final estate tax

return. The provisions of this paragraph expire effective January 1, 2021.

EFFECTIVE DATE. The provisions of this section are effective retroactively for estates

of decedents dying after December 31, 2011, and amended returns and claims for refund

of recapture tax may be filed without regard to any applicable statute of limitation.

ARTICLE 3

SALES AND USE TAXES

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 295.50, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
Subd. 4. Health care provider. (a) "Health care provider" means:

(1) a person whose health care occupation is regulated or required to be regulated by
the state of Minnesota furnishing any or all of the following goods or services directly to a
patient or consumer: medical, surgical, optical, visual, dental, hearing, nursing services,

drugs, laboratory, diagnostic or therapeutic services;

(2) a person who provides goods and services not listed in clause (1) that qualify for

reimbursement under the medical assistance program provided under chapter 256B;
(3) a staff model health plan company;
(4) an ambulance service required to be licensed; o

(5) a person who sells or repairs hearing aids and related equipment or prescription

eyewear; or

(6) a massage therapist.

(b) Health care provider does not include:

(1) hospitals; medical supplies distributors, except as specified under paragraph (a),
clause (5); nursing homes licensed under chapter 144A or licensed in any other jurisdiction;
wholesale drug distributors; pharmacies; surgical centers; bus and taxicab transportation,
or any other providers of transportation services other than ambulance services required to

be licensed; supervised living facilities for persons with developmental disabilities, licensed
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under Minnesota Rules, parts 4665.0100 to 4665.9900; housing with services establishments
required to be registered under chapter 144D; board and lodging establishments providing
only custodial services that are licensed under chapter 157 and registered under section

157.17 to provide supportive services or health supervision services; adult foster homes as
defined in Minnesota Rules, part 9555.5105; day training and habilitation services for adults
with developmental disabilities as defined in section 252.41, subdivision 3; boarding care
homes, as defined in Minnesota Rules, part 4655.0100; and adult day care centers as defined

in Minnesota Rules, part 9555.9600;

(2) home health agencies as defined in Minnesota Rules, part 9505.0175, subpart 15; a
person providing personal care services and supervision of personal care services as defined
in Minnesota Rules, part 9505.0335; a person providing home care nursing services as
defined in Minnesota Rules, part 9505.0360; and home care providers required to be licensed

under chapter 144A;

(3) a person who employs health care providers solely for the purpose of providing

patient services to its employees;

(4) an educational institution that employs health care providers solely for the purpose
of providing patient services to its students if the institution does not receive fee for service

payments or payments for extended coverage; and

(5) a person who receives all payments for patient services from health care providers,
surgical centers, or hospitals for goods and services that are taxable to the paying health
care providers, surgical centers, or hospitals, as provided under section 295.53, subdivision

1, clause (3) or (4), or from a source of funds that is exempt from tax under this chapter.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for gross revenues received after June
30, 2018.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 295.50, is amended by adding a subdivision to

read:

Subd. 8a. Massage therapist. "Massage therapist" means a person providing massage

therapy services who registers with the commissioner to pay the tax imposed under section

295.52 prior to the calendar quarter in which the massage therapy services are provided.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for gross revenues received after June

30, 2018.
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Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 295.50, is amended by adding a subdivision to

read:

Subd. 8b. Massage therapy services. (a) "Massage therapy services" or "massage

therapy" means a health care service provided by a massage therapist that involves systematic

and structured touch and palpation and pressure and movement of the muscles, tendons,

ligaments, and fascia, in order to reduce muscle tension, relieve soft tissue pain, improve

circulation, increase flexibility, increase activity of the parasympathetic branch of the

autonomic nervous system, or promote general wellness.

(b) Massage therapy services or massage therapy excludes services described in paragraph

(a) that are provided by a licensed health care facility or professional or upon written referral

from a licensed health care facility or professional for treatment of illness, injury, or disease.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for gross revenues received after June
30, 2018.

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 295.50, subdivision 9b, is amended to read:

Subd. 9b. Patient services. (a) "Patient services" means inpatient and outpatient services
and other goods and services provided by hospitals, surgical centers, or health care providers.

They include the following health care goods and services provided to a patient or consumer:
(1) bed and board;
(2) nursing services and other related services;
(3) use of hospitals, surgical centers, or health care provider facilities;
(4) medical social services;
(5) drugs, biologicals, supplies, appliances, and equipment;
(6) other diagnostic or therapeutic items or services;
(7) medical or surgical services;

(8) items and services furnished to ambulatory patients not requiring emergency care;

and
(9) emergency services; and

(10) massage therapy services.

(b) "Patient services" does not include:

(1) services provided to nursing homes licensed under chapter 144A;
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(2) examinations for purposes of utilization reviews, insurance claims or eligibility,

litigation, and employment, including reviews of medical records for those purposes;

(3) services provided to and by community residential mental health facilities licensed
under Minnesota Rules, parts 9520.0500 to 9520.0670, and to and by residential treatment
programs for children with severe emotional disturbance licensed or certified under chapter

245A.;

(4) services provided to and by community support programs and family community
support programs approved under Minnesota Rules, parts 9535.1700 to 9535.1760, or

certified as mental health rehabilitative services under chapter 256B;

(5) services provided to and by community mental health centers as defined in section

245.62, subdivision 2;

(6) services provided to and by assisted living programs and congregate housing

programs;
(7) hospice care services;

(8) home and community-based waivered services under sections 256B.0915, 256B.49,

and 256B.501;

(9) targeted case management services under sections 256B.0621; 256B.0625,
subdivisions 20, 20a, 33, and 44; and 256B.094; and

(10) services provided to the following: supervised living facilities for persons with
developmental disabilities licensed under Minnesota Rules, parts 4665.0100 to 4665.9900;
housing with services establishments required to be registered under chapter 144D; board
and lodging establishments providing only custodial services that are licensed under chapter
157 and registered under section 157.17 to provide supportive services or health supervision
services; adult foster homes as defined in Minnesota Rules, part 9555.5105; day training
and habilitation services for adults with developmental disabilities as defined in section
252.41, subdivision 3; boarding care homes as defined in Minnesota Rules, part 4655.0100;
adult day care services as defined in section 245A.02, subdivision 2a; and home health
agencies as defined in Minnesota Rules, part 9505.0175, subpart 15, or licensed under
chapter 144A.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for gross revenues received after June
30, 2018.
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Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 297A.61, subdivision 3, is amended

to read:

Subd. 3. Sale and purchase. (a) "Sale" and "purchase" include, but are not limited to,
each of the transactions listed in this subdivision. In applying the provisions of this chapter,
the terms "tangible personal property" and "retail sale" include the taxable services listed
in paragraph (g), clause (6), items (i) to (vi) and (viii), and the provision of these taxable
services, unless specifically provided otherwise. Services performed by an employee for
an employer are not taxable. Services performed by a partnership or association for another
partnership or association are not taxable if one of the entities owns or controls more than
80 percent of the voting power of the equity interest in the other entity. Services performed
between members of an affiliated group of corporations are not taxable. For purposes of
the preceding sentence, "affiliated group of corporations" means those entities that would
be classified as members of an affiliated group as defined under United States Code, title

26, section 1504, disregarding the exclusions in section 1504(b).
(b) Sale and purchase include:

(1) any transfer of title or possession, or both, of tangible personal property, whether

absolutely or conditionally, for a consideration in money or by exchange or barter; and

(2) the leasing of or the granting of a license to use or consume, for a consideration in
money or by exchange or barter, tangible personal property, other than a manufactured

home used for residential purposes for a continuous period of 30 days or more.

(c) Sale and purchase include the production, fabrication, printing, or processing of
tangible personal property for a consideration for consumers who furnish either directly or

indirectly the materials used in the production, fabrication, printing, or processing.

(d) Sale and purchase include the preparing for a consideration of food. Notwithstanding

section 297A.67, subdivision 2, taxable food includes, but is not limited to, the following:
(1) prepared food sold by the retailer;
(2) soft drinks;
(3) candy; and
(4) dietary supplements.

(e) A sale and a purchase includes the furnishing for a consideration of electricity, gas,

water, or steam for use or consumption within this state.
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(f) A sale and a purchase includes the transfer for a consideration of prewritten computer

software whether delivered electronically, by load and leave, or otherwise.

(g) A sale and a purchase includes the furnishing for a consideration of the following

services:

(1) the privilege of admission to places of amusement, recreational areas, or athletic
events, and the making available of amusement devices, tanning facilities, reducing salons,

steam baths, health clubs, and spas or athletic facilities;

(2) lodging and related services by a hotel, rooming house, resort, campground, motel,
or trailer camp, including furnishing the guest of the facility with access to telecommunication
services, and the granting of any similar license to use real property in a specific facility,
other than the renting or leasing of it for a continuous period of 30 days or more under an
enforceable written agreement that may not be terminated without prior notice and including
accommodations intermediary services provided in connection with other services provided

under this clause;

(3) nonresidential parking services, whether on a contractual, hourly, or other periodic

basis, except for parking at a meter;
(4) the granting of membership in a club, association, or other organization if:

(1) the club, association, or other organization makes available for the use of its members
sports and athletic facilities, without regard to whether a separate charge is assessed for use

of the facilities; and

(11) use of the sports and athletic facility is not made available to the general public on

the same basis as it is made available to members.

Granting of membership means both onetime initiation fees and periodic membership dues.
Sports and athletic facilities include golf courses; tennis, racquetball, handball, and squash
courts; basketball and volleyball facilities; running tracks; exercise equipment; swimming

pools; and other similar athletic or sports facilities;

(5) delivery of aggregate materials by a third party, excluding delivery of aggregate
material used in road construction; and delivery of concrete block by a third party if the
delivery would be subject to the sales tax if provided by the seller of the concrete block.

For purposes of this clause, "road construction" means construction of:
(1) public roads;

(11) cartways; and
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(ii1) private roads in townships located outside of the seven-county metropolitan area

up to the point of the emergency response location sign; and
(6) services as provided in this clause:

(1) laundry and dry cleaning services including cleaning, pressing, repairing, altering,
and storing clothes, linen services and supply, cleaning and blocking hats, and carpet,
drapery, upholstery, and industrial cleaning. Laundry and dry cleaning services do not

include services provided by coin operated facilities operated by the customer;

(11) motor vehicle washing, waxing, and cleaning services, including services provided
by coin operated facilities operated by the customer, and rustproofing, undercoating, and

towing of motor vehicles;

(111) building and residential cleaning, maintenance, and disinfecting services and pest

control and exterminating services;

(iv) detective, security, burglar, fire alarm, and armored car services; but not including
services performed within the jurisdiction they serve by off-duty licensed peace officers as
defined in section 626.84, subdivision 1, or services provided by a nonprofit organization
or any organization at the direction of a county for monitoring and electronic surveillance
of persons placed on in-home detention pursuant to court order or under the direction of the

Minnesota Department of Corrections;
(V) pet grooming services;

(vi) lawn care, fertilizing, mowing, spraying and sprigging services; garden planting
and maintenance; tree, bush, and shrub pruning, bracing, spraying, and surgery; indoor plant
care; tree, bush, shrub, and stump removal, except when performed as part of a land clearing
contract as defined in section 297A.68, subdivision 40; and tree trimming for public utility
lines. Services performed under a construction contract for the installation of shrubbery,

plants, sod, trees, bushes, and similar items are not taxable;

(viii) the furnishing of lodging, board, and care services for animals in kennels and other

similar arrangements, but excluding veterinary and horse boarding services.

(h) A sale and a purchase includes the furnishing for a consideration of tangible personal
property or taxable services by the United States or any of its agencies or instrumentalities,

or the state of Minnesota, its agencies, instrumentalities, or political subdivisions.
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(i) A sale and a purchase includes the furnishing for a consideration of
telecommunications services, ancillary services associated with telecommunication services,
and pay television services. Telecommunication services include, but are not limited to, the
following services, as defined in section 297A.669: air-to-ground radiotelephone service,
mobile telecommunication service, postpaid calling service, prepaid calling service, prepaid
wireless calling service, and private communication services. The services in this paragraph

are taxed to the extent allowed under federal law.

(j) A sale and a purchase includes the furnishing for a consideration of installation if the
installation charges would be subject to the sales tax if the installation were provided by

the seller of the item being installed.

(k) A sale and a purchase includes the rental of a vehicle by a motor vehicle dealer to a
customer when (1) the vehicle is rented by the customer for a consideration, or (2) the motor
vehicle dealer is reimbursed pursuant to a service contract as defined in section 59B.02,

subdivision 11.

(1) A sale and a purchase includes furnishing for a consideration of specified digital
products or other digital products or granting the right for a consideration to use specified
digital products or other digital products on a temporary or permanent basis and regardless
of whether the purchaser is required to make continued payments for such right. Wherever
the term "tangible personal property" is used in this chapter, other than in subdivisions 10
and 38, the provisions also apply to specified digital products, or other digital products,

unless specifically provided otherwise or the context indicates otherwise.

(m) The sale of the privilege of admission under section 297A.61, subdivision 3,
paragraph (g), clause (1), to a place of amusement, recreational area, or athletic event
includes all charges included in the privilege of admission's sales price, without deduction
for amenities that may be provided, unless the amenities are separately stated and the
purchaser of the privilege of admission is entitled to add or decline the amenities, and the

amenities are not otherwise taxable.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for sales and purchases made after June
30, 2018.

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 297A.67, subdivision 34, is amended

to read:

Subd. 34. Precious metal bullion and bullion coin. (a) Precious metal bullion is exempt.

For purposes of this subdivision;:
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(1) "precious metal bullion" means bars or rounds that consist of 99.9 percent or more
by weight of either gold, silver, platinum, or palladium and are marked with weight, purity,

and content:; and

(2) "bullion coin" means a coin as described in section 80G.01, subdivision 2.

(b) The exemption under this subdivision does not apply to sales and purchases of

jewelry, works of art, or scrap metal.

(c) The intent of this subdivision is to eliminate the difference in tax treatment between

the sale of precious metal bullion and bullion coin and the sale of stock, bullion ETFs,

bonds, and other investment instruments.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for sales and purchases made after June
30, 2018.

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 297A.67, is amended by adding a subdivision to

read:

Subd. 37. Massage therapy. Massage therapy services subject to tax under section

295.52 or provided upon referral from a professional or licensed health care facility for

treatment of illness, injury, or disease are exempt.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for sales and purchases made after June

30, 2018.

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 297A.67, is amended by adding a subdivision to

read:

Subd. 38. Certain herbicides. Purchases of herbicides authorized for use pursuant to

an invasive aquatic plant management permit as defined under section 103G.615 are exempt

if purchased by a lakeshore property owner, an association of lakeshore property owners

organized under chapter 317A, or by a contractor hired by a lakeshore owner or association

to provide invasive aquatic plant management under the permit. For purposes of this

subdivision, "herbicides" means all herbicides that meet the following requirements:

(1) are labeled for use in water;

(2) are registered for use in this state by the Minnesota Department of Agriculture under

section 18B.26; and

(3) are listed as one of the herbicides proposed for use on the invasive aquatic plant

management permit.
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EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for sales and purchases made after June
30, 2018.

Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 297A.67, is amended by adding a subdivision to

read:

Subd. 39. Ticket purchasing rights to collegiate events. The sale of the privilege of

admission under section 297A.61, subdivision 3, paragraph (g), clause (1), does not include

consideration paid for the right to purchase a ticket to a collegiate athletic event in a preferred

area, and the sale of the right to purchase a ticket is exempt provided that:

(1) the consideration paid for the right to purchase in the preferred area is used entirely

to support student scholarship costs;

(2) the consideration paid for the right to purchase in the preferred area is separately

stated from the admission price; and

(3) the admission price is equal to or greater than the highest priced general admission

ticket for the closest seat not in the preferred area.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 297A.68, subdivision 29, is amended to read:

Subd. 29. Prizes. (a) Tangible personal property that will be given as prizes to players

in games of skill or chance is exempt if:

(1) the games are conducted at events such as community festivals, fairs, and carnivals

and if the events last less than six days:; or

(2) the property is awarded as prizes in connection with lawful gambling as defined in

section 349.12.

(b) This exemption does not apply to property awarded as prizes in connection with

lawful-gambling-as-defined-i-seetton349-12-or the State Lottery.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for sales and purchases made after June

30, 2018.

Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 297A.70, subdivision 7, is amended to read:

Subd. 7. Hospitals, outpatient surgical centers, and critical access dental providers.
(a) Sales, except for those listed in paragraph (d), to a hospital are exempt, if the items

purchased are used in providing hospital services. For purposes of this subdivision, "hospital"
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means a hospital organized and operated for charitable purposes within the meaning of
section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code, and licensed under chapter 144 or by any
other jurisdiction, and "hospital services" are services authorized or required to be performed

by a "hospital" under chapter 144.

(b) Sales, except for those listed in paragraph (d), to an outpatient surgical center are
exempt, if the items purchased are used in providing outpatient surgical services. For purposes
of this subdivision, "outpatient surgical center" means an outpatient surgical center organized
and operated for charitable purposes within the meaning of section 501(c)(3) of the Internal
Revenue Code, and licensed under chapter 144 or by any other jurisdiction. For the purposes
of this subdivision, "outpatient surgical services" means: (1) services authorized or required
to be performed by an outpatient surgical center under chapter 144; and (2) urgent care. For
purposes of this subdivision, "urgent care" means health services furnished to a person
whose medical condition is sufficiently acute to require treatment unavailable through, or
inappropriate to be provided by, a clinic or physician's office, but not so acute as to require

treatment in a hospital emergency room.

(c) Sales, except for those listed in paragraph (d), to a critical access dental provider are
exempt, if the items purchased are used in providing critical access dental care services.
For the purposes of this subdivision, "critical access dental provider" means a dentist or
dental clinic that qualifies under section 256B.76, subdivision 4, paragraph (b), and, in the
previous calendar year, had no more than 15 percent of its patients covered by private dental

insurance.
(d) This exemption does not apply to the following products and services:

(1) purchases made by a clinic, physician's office, or any other medical facility not

operating as a hospital, outpatient surgical center, qualifying medical facility, or critical

access dental provider, even though the clinic, office, or facility may be owned and operated

by a hospital, outpatient surgical center, qualifying medical facility, or critical access dental

provider;

(2) sales under section 297A.61, subdivision 3, paragraph (g), clause (2), and prepared
food, candy, and soft drinks;

(3) building and construction materials used in constructing buildings or facilities that

will not be used principally by the hospital, outpatient surgical center, qualifying medical

facility, or critical access dental provider;

(4) building, construction, or reconstruction materials purchased by a contractor or a

subcontractor as a part of a lump-sum contract or similar type of contract with a guaranteed
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maximum price covering both labor and materials for use in the construction, alteration, or

repair of a hospital, outpatient surgical center, qualifying medical facility, or critical access

dental provider; or
(5) the leasing of a motor vehicle as defined in section 297B.01, subdivision 11.

(e) A limited liability company also qualifies for exemption under this subdivision if
(1) it consists of a sole member that would qualify for the exemption, and (2) the items

purchased qualify for the exemption.

(f) An entity that contains both a hospital and a nonprofit unit may claim this exemption

on purchases made for both the hospital and nonprofit unit provided that:
(1) the nonprofit unit would have qualified for exemption under subdivision 4; and
(2) the items purchased would have qualified for the exemption.

(g) Sales, except for those listed in paragraph (d), to a qualifying medical facility are

exempt, if the items are purchased or used in providing medical services. For purposes of

this subdivision, "qualifying medical facility" means a medical facility as defined in section

469.1812, subdivision 2a, that has been granted an abatement of the state general tax under

section 469.1817.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for sales and purchases made after June

30, 2018.

Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 297A.70, subdivision 20, is amended

to read:

Subd. 20. Ice arenas and rinks. Sales to organizations that exist primarily for the purpose
of operating ice arenas or rinks that are (1) part of either the Duluth Heritage Sports Center

or the David M. Thaler Sports Center; and (2) are used for youth and high school programs,

are exempt if the organization is a private, nonprofit corporation exempt from federal income

taxation under section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for sales and purchases made after June
30, 2018.
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Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 297A.70, is amended by adding a subdivision

to read:

Subd. 21. Lawful gambling equipment. The lease or purchase of gambling equipment,

as defined in section 349.12, subdivision 18, by an organization licensed to conduct lawful

gambling under chapter 349 is exempt.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for sales and purchases made after June
30, 2018.

Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 297A.70, is amended by adding a subdivision

to read:

Subd. 22. Nonprofit conservation clubs. Sales to nonprofit conservation clubs are

exempt. For purposes of this subdivision, a "nonprofit conservation club" means an

organization exempt under section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code that provides

instruction, training, and facilities for shooting handguns or rifles.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for sales and purchases made after June

30, 2018.

Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 297A.71, is amended by adding a subdivision

to read:

Subd. 51. Public safety facilities. Materials and supplies used in and equipment

incorporated into construction or remodeling of the following public safety facilities are

exempt:

(1) the construction of a new fire station, which includes firefighting and public safety

training facilities, in the city of Inver Grove Heights;

(2) the construction of a new fire station or the remodeling and expansion of an existing

fire station in the city of Virginia;

(3) the construction of a new fire station on the campus of the Minnetonka City Hall;

and

(4) the remodeling and expansion of an existing police and fire station in Minnetonka

to accommodate its use as a police station.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for sales and purchases made after the

day following final enactment and before January 1, 2021.
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Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 297A.71, is amended by adding a subdivision

to read:

Subd. 52. Second Harvest Heartland. Materials and supplies used or consumed in and

equipment incorporated into construction and rehabilitation of the Second Harvest Heartland

regional charitable food warehouse, distribution, and office facility in Hennepin County are

exempt. The tax must be imposed and collected as if the rate under section 297A.62,

subdivision 1, applied and then refunded in the manner provided in section 297A.75.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for sales and purchases made after January

1, 2018, and before January 1, 2022.

Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 297A.71, is amended by adding a subdivision

to read:

Subd. 53. Nonprofit snowmobile clubs. Building materials and supplies used by a

nonprofit snowmobile club to construct, reconstruct, or maintain or improve state or

grant-in-aid snowmobile trails are exempt. A nonprofit snowmobile club is eligible for the

exemption under this subdivision if it received, in the current year or in the previous

three-year period, a state grant-in-aid grant administered by the Department of Natural

Resources by applying for the grant with a local unit of government sponsor.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for sales and purchases made after June

30, 2018.

Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 297A.71, is amended by adding a subdivision

to read:

Subd. 54. Medical facility in underserved area. Materials and supplies used or

consumed in, and equipment incorporated into, the construction or improvement of real

property that has been granted an abatement of the state general tax under section 469.1817

are exempt.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for sales and purchases made after June
30, 2018.

Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 297A.71, is amended by adding a subdivision

to read:

Subd. 55. Properties destroyed by fire. Building materials and supplies used in, and

equipment incorporated into, the construction or replacement of real property affected by,
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and capital equipment to replace equipment destroyed in, the fire on March 11, 2018, in the

city of Mazeppa are exempt. The tax must be imposed and collected as if the rate under

section 297A.62, subdivision 1, applied and then refunded in the manner provided in section

297A.75. For purposes of this subdivision, "capital equipment" includes durable equipment

used in a restaurant for food storage, preparation, and serving.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective retroactively for sales and purchases

made after March 11, 2018, and before January 1, 2021.

Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 297A.71, is amended by adding a subdivision

to read:

Subd. 56. Former Duluth Central High School. Materials and supplies used in and

equipment incorporated into a private redevelopment project on the site of the former Duluth

Central High School are exempt, provided the resulting development is subject to property

taxes. The tax must be imposed and collected as if the rate under section 297A.62 applied

and then refunded in the manner provided in section 297A.75. The commissioner must not

pay more than $5,000,000 in refunds for purchases exempt under this section. Refunds must

be processed and issued in the order that complete and accurate applications are received

by the commissioner.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective retroactively for sales and purchases

made after June 30, 2018, and before January 1, 2020.

Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 297A.75, subdivision 1, is amended

to read:

Subdivision 1. Tax collected. The tax on the gross receipts from the sale of the following
exempt items must be imposed and collected as if the sale were taxable and the rate under

section 297A.62, subdivision 1, applied. The exempt items include:

(1) building materials for an agricultural processing facility exempt under section

297A.71, subdivision 13;

(2) building materials for mineral production facilities exempt under section 297A.71,

subdivision 14;
(3) building materials for correctional facilities under section 297A.71, subdivision 3;

(4) building materials used in a residence for disabled veterans exempt under section

297A.71, subdivision 11;
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(5) elevators and building materials exempt under section 297A.71, subdivision 12;

(6) materials and supplies for qualified low-income housing under section 297A.71,

subdivision 23;

(7) materials, supplies, and equipment for municipal electric utility facilities under

section 297A.71, subdivision 35;

(8) equipment and materials used for the generation, transmission, and distribution of
electrical energy and an aerial camera package exempt under section 297A.68, subdivision

37;

(9) commuter rail vehicle and repair parts under section 297A.70, subdivision 3, paragraph

(a), clause (10);

(10) materials, supplies, and equipment for construction or improvement of projects and

facilities under section 297A.71, subdivision 40;

(11) materials, supplies, and equipment for construction, improvement, or expansion

(12) enterprise information technology equipment and computer software for use in a

qualified data center exempt under section 297A.68, subdivision 42;

(13) materials, supplies, and equipment for qualifying capital projects under section

297A.71, subdivision 44, paragraph (a), clause (1), and paragraph (b);

(14) items purchased for use in providing critical access dental services exempt under

section 297A.70, subdivision 7, paragraph (c);

(15) items and services purchased under a business subsidy agreement for use or
consumption primarily in greater Minnesota exempt under section 297A.68, subdivision

44;
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(16) building materials, equipment, and supplies for constructing or replacing real

property exempt under section 297A.71, subdivisien subdivisions 49 and 55; and

(17) building materials, equipment, and supplies for constructing or replacing real

property exempt under section 297A.71, subdivision 50, paragraph (b)-;

(18) materials, equipment, and supplies for a regional charitable food warehouse,

distribution, and office facility exempt under section 297A.71, subdivision 52; and

(19) materials and supplies used in and equipment incorporated into a private

redevelopment project exempt under section 297A.71, subdivision 56.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for sales and purchases made after June
30, 2018.

Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 297A.75, subdivision 2, is amended

to read:

Subd. 2. Refund; eligible persons. Upon application on forms prescribed by the
commissioner, a refund equal to the tax paid on the gross receipts of the exempt items must

be paid to the applicant. Only the following persons may apply for the refund:
(1) for subdivision 1, clauses (1), (2), and (14), the applicant must be the purchaser;
(2) for subdivision 1, clause (3), the applicant must be the governmental subdivision;

(3) for subdivision 1, clause (4), the applicant must be the recipient of the benefits

provided in United States Code, title 38, chapter 21;

(4) for subdivision 1, clause (5), the applicant must be the owner of the homestead
property;

(5) for subdivision 1, clause (6), the owner of the qualified low-income housing project;

(6) for subdivision 1, clause (7), the applicant must be a municipal electric utility or a

joint venture of municipal electric utilities;

(7) for subdivision 1, clauses (8), (11), (12), and (15), the owner of the qualifying

business;

(8) for subdivision 1, clauses (9), (10), and (13), the applicant must be the governmental

entity that owns or contracts for the project or facility; and

(9) for subdivision 1, elause(16); clauses (16) to (19), the applicant must be the owner

or developer of the building or project;-and.
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EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for sales and purchases made after June

30, 2018.

Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 297A.75, subdivision 3, is amended

to read:

Subd. 3. Application. (a) The application must include sufficient information to permit
the commissioner to verify the tax paid. If the tax was paid by a contractor, subcontractor,
or builder, under subdivision 1, clauses (3) to (13) or (15) to &7 (19), the contractor,
subcontractor, or builder must furnish to the refund applicant a statement including the cost
of the exempt items and the taxes paid on the items unless otherwise specifically provided
by this subdivision. The provisions of sections 289A.40 and 289A.50 apply to refunds under

this section.

(b) An applicant may not file more than two applications per calendar year for refunds

for taxes paid on capital equipment exempt under section 297A.68, subdivision 5.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for sales and purchases made after June

30, 2018.

Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 297E.02, subdivision 3, is amended

to read:

Subd. 3. Collection; disposition. (a) Taxes imposed by this section are due and payable
to the commissioner when the gambling tax return is required to be filed. Distributors must
file their monthly sales figures with the commissioner on a form prescribed by the
commissioner. Returns covering the taxes imposed under this section must be filed with
the commissioner on or before the 20th day of the month following the close of the previous
calendar month. The commissioner shall prescribe the content, format, and manner of returns
or other documents pursuant to section 270C.30. The proceeds, along with the revenue
received from all license fees and other fees under sections 349.11 to 349.191, 349.211,
and 349.213, must be paid to the commissioner of management and budget for deposit in

the general fund.

(b)
distributor-is-tmpesed-on-theretatl-sales-priee: The retail sale of pull-tabs or tipboards by
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the organization is exempt from taxes imposed by chapter 297A and is exempt from all

local taxes and license fees except a fee authorized under section 349.16, subdivision 8.

(c) One-half of one percent of the revenue deposited in the general fund under paragraph
(a), is appropriated to the commissioner of human services for the compulsive gambling
treatment program established under section 245.98. One-half of one percent of the revenue
deposited in the general fund under paragraph (a), is appropriated to the commissioner of
human services for a grant to the state affiliate recognized by the National Council on
Problem Gambling to increase public awareness of problem gambling, education and training
for individuals and organizations providing effective treatment services to problem gamblers
and their families, and research relating to problem gambling. Money appropriated by this

paragraph must supplement and must not replace existing state funding for these programs.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2018.

Sec. 25. MUNICIPALLY OWNED WATER TREATMENT FACILITY; CITY OF
ELKO NEW MARKET.

Subdivision 1. Exemption. Materials and supplies used in and equipment incorporated

into a water treatment facility owned and operated by the city of Elko New Market are

exempt from taxation under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 297A, regardless of whether

purchased by the city or a contractor, subcontractor, or builder. All purchases for this facility

must be made after June 1, 2014, and before June 1, 2016.

Subd. 2. Refund. The tax on purchases exempt under subdivision 1 must be imposed

and collected as if the rate under Minnesota Statutes, section 297A.62, applied, and then

refunded in the manner provided in Minnesota Statutes, section 297A.75. The applicant

must be the city of Elko New Market. If sales tax has been paid on sales and purchases

exempt under this section prior to the effective date of this section, the city of Elko New

Market may apply directly to the commissioner of revenue for a refund. The application

must be in the form and manner required by the commissioner and provide sufficient

information so the commissioner can verify the amount paid. If the tax was paid by a

contractor, subcontractor, or builder, the contractor, subcontractor, or builder must furnish

to the refund applicant a statement including the cost of the exempt items and the taxes paid

on the items. Interest must be paid on the refund at the rate in Minnesota Statutes, section

270C.405, from 90 days after the refund claim is filed with the commissioner.

Subd. 3. Appropriation. The amount required to make the refunds under this section

is appropriated to the commissioner of revenue.
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EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective retroactively for purchases made after
June 1, 2014, and before June 1, 2016.

Sec. 26. SALES TAX RATE ADJUSTMENT IF TAX IS IMPOSED ON REMOTE
SELLERS.

Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this subdivision, the following terms

have the meanings given.

(b) "Day the state begins enforcing a duty to collect and remit sales tax on retailers

without a physical presence in this state, and marketplace providers under Minnesota Statutes,

section 297A.66, subdivision 4," means the earliest of:

(1) the first day of a calendar quarter at least 60 days after a decision is made by the

United States Supreme Court modifying its decision in Quill Corp. v. North Dakota, 504

U.S. 298 (1992) so that a state may require retailers without a physical presence in the state

to collect and remit sales tax; or

(i1) the first day of a calendar quarter at least 60 days after a federal law is enacted

authorizing a state to impose a requirement to collect and remit sales tax on retailers without

a physical presence in the state.

Subd. 2. Rate adjustment. (a) The commissioner of revenue must make an adjustment

to the sales tax rates in Minnesota Statutes, section 297A.62, subdivisions 1 and 1a, effective

for the first day of the calendar quarter beginning 15 months after the day the state begins

enforcing a duty to collect and remit sales tax on retailers without a physical presence in

this state, and marketplace providers under Minnesota Statutes, section 297A.66, subdivision

4. The adjustment must be equal to the reduction necessary to make the total collections

under the sales tax revenue neutral as calculated in paragraph (b).

(b) The adjustment factor for each tax rate must be equal to the ratio by which:

(1) the revenues collected under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 297A, in the 12-month

period immediately preceding the day the state begins enforcing a duty to collect and remit

sales tax on retailers without a physical presence in this state, and marketplace providers

under Minnesota Statutes, section 297A.66, subdivision 4, multiplied by the projected

growth rate in sales tax revenues between the same 12-month period and the time period in

clause (2), calculated from data used in preparing the February 2018 forecast; compared to

(2) the revenues collected under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 297A, in the 12-month

period beginning on the day the state begins enforcing a duty to collect and remit sales tax
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on retailers without a physical presence in this state, and marketplace providers under

Minnesota Statutes, section 297A.66, subdivision 4. The ratio cannot be less than one.

(c) The adjusted rates must be rounded to the nearest one thousandth of one percent and

are effective for the first calendar quarter at least 15 months after the day the state begins

enforcing a duty to collect and remit sales tax on retailers without a physical presence in

this state, and marketplace providers under Minnesota Statutes, section 297A.66, subdivision

4. The commissioner of revenue must publish the new tax rates in the State Register at least

30 days prior to the rate change going into effect.

(d) After the commissioner of revenue publishes the new tax rates in the State Register,

the revisor of statutes must update the tax rates in Minnesota Statutes, section 297A.62,

subdivisions 1 and la, in the next edition of Minnesota Statutes.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

ARTICLE 4

MISCELLANEOUS PROVISIONS

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 360.013, is amended by adding a subdivision

to read:

Subd. 62. Unmanned aircraft. "Unmanned aircraft" means an aircraft, as defined in

subdivision 37, that is operated without the possibility of human intervention from within

or on the aircraft.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2018.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 360.013, is amended by adding a subdivision to

read:

Subd. 63. Unmanned aircraft system. "Unmanned aircraft system" means an unmanned

aircraft and all of its associated elements, including components and communication links,

that are required to control and operate the aircraft.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2018.
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Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 360.55, is amended by adding a subdivision to

read:

Subd. 9. Unmanned aircraft systems. (a) Any unmanned aircraft system in which the

unmanned aircraft weighs less than 55 pounds at takeoff, including payload and anything

affixed to the aircraft, either:

(1) must be registered in the state for an annual fee of $25; or

(2) is not subject to registration or an annual fee if the unmanned aircraft system is owned

and operated solely for recreational purposes.

(b) An unmanned aircraft system that meets the requirements under paragraph (a) is

exempt from aircraft registration tax under sections 360.511 to 360.67.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2018.

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 360.62, 1s amended to read:

360.62 TAX REFUND.

Except as provided herein the tax upon any aircraft which has been paid for any year,
shall be refunded only for errors made in computing the tax or fees or for the error on the
part of an owner who may in error have registered an aircraft that was not before, nor at the
time of such registration, nor at any time thereafter during the tax period, subject to such
tax in this state; provided that after more than 24 months after such tax was paid no refund
shall be made for any tax paid on any aircraft. Refunds as provided by sections 360.511 to
360.67 shall be made in the manner provided by Laws 1947, chapter 416. The former owner
of a transferred aircraft by an assignment in writing endorsed upon the former owner's
registration certificate and delivered to the commissioner within the time provided herein
may sell and assign to the new owner thereof the right to have the tax paid by the former
owner accredited to such new owner who duly registers such aircraft. Any owner whose
aircraft shall-be is destroyed or permanently removed from the state shall-be is entitled to
a refund for the unused portion of the tax paid upon the destroyed or removed aircraft se

destroeyed-orremoved-from-thestate;sueh. The refund te must be computed pro rata by the

month, and to be equal to the monthly tax rate multiplied by the number of full calendar

months remaining in the fiscal year, or multiplied by the number of full calendar months
remaining in that period between January 1, 1966, to and including June 30, 1967, whichever

period is applicable. An unmanned aircraft system that is destroyed or permanently removed

from the state is not entitled to a tax refund under this section.
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In order to secure such refund, the aircraft owner shall submit a signed statement that
such aircraft has either been sold out of state or destroyed, the date of such sale or destruction,
and such other information as the commissioner may require. Any false statement willfully
and knowingly made in regard thereto shall be deemed a perjury and punished accordingly.
No refund shall be made if application is not made within 12 months after the date the

aircraft was sold out of state or destroyed.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2018.

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 477A.013, subdivision 13, is amended to read:

Subd. 13. Certified aid adjustments. (a)A-—eity-thatrecetved-an-aid-baseinereaseunder

acntq o o A o ~n-4 A I ats
Cl catyo . Cl V

b) (a) A city that received an aid base increase under Minnesota Statutes 2012, section

477A.011, subdivision 36, paragraph (r), shall have its total aid under subdivision 9 increased

by an amount equal to $160,000 for aids payable in 2014 and thereafter.

(b) For aids payable in 2019 only, a city shall have its total aid under subdivision 9

increased by an amount equal to its aid decrease between aids payable in 2016 and 2017 if:

(1) the city's aid decreased by more than $50,000 between aids payable in 2016 and

2017 under this section; and

(2) the city's unmet need amount calculated for aids payable in 2017 exceeded its aids

payable in 2016.

(c) The city of Lilydale shall have its total aid under subdivision 9 increased by $150,000

for aids payable in 2019 only.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for aids payable in calendar year 2019.

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 477A.03, subdivision 2a, is amended

to read:

Subd. 2a. Cities. For aids payable in 2016 and 2017, the total aid paid under section
477A.013, subdivision 9, is $519,398,012. For aids payable in 2018, 2020, and thereafter,
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the total aid paid under section 477A.013, subdivision 9, is $534,398,012. For aids payable

in 2019 only, the total aid paid under section 477A.013, subdivision 9, is $534,645,272.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for aids payable in calendar year 2019

and thereafter.

Sec. 7. UNMANNED AIRCRAFT REGISTRATION TAX REFUND;
APPROPRIATION.

(a) The commissioner of transportation shall refund the tax paid for the most recent

registration period on an unmanned aircraft system under Minnesota Statutes, sections

360.531 to 360.67, to a person who:

(1) registers and pays the specified fee for the unmanned aircraft system under Minnesota

Statutes, section 360.55, subdivision 9, for the same registration period or an overlapping

registration period; or

(2) 1s exempt from payment of the tax under Minnesota Statutes, sections 360.531 to

360.67, and the fee under Minnesota Statutes, section 360.55, subdivision 9, as provided

under this act.

(b) An amount necessary for any refunds under paragraph (a) is appropriated in fiscal

year 2018 from the state airports fund to the commissioner of transportation for the purposes

of providing refunds.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2018.

ARTICLE §

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE; PROPERTY TAX; POLICY CHANGES

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 162.145, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Administration. (a) Subject to funds made available by law, the commissioner

shall allocate all funds as provided in subdivision 4 and shall netify, by June 1, certify to

the commissioner of revenue the amounts to be paid.

(b) Following netifieatien certification from the commissioner eftranspertation, the
commissioner of revenue shall distribute the specified funds to cities in the same manner
as local government aid under chapter 477A. An appropriation to the commissioner ef
transpertation under this section is available to the commissioner of revenue for the purposes

specified in this paragraph.
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(c) Notwithstanding other law to the contrary, in order to receive distributions under
this section, a city must conform to the standards in section 477A.017, subdivision 2. A city
that receives funds under this section must make and preserve records necessary to show

that the funds are spent in compliance with subdivision 4.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for aids payable in 2018 and thereafter.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 270.41, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Assessor sanctions; refusal to license. (a) Following a recommendation from

the commissioner of revenue, the board may (1) refuse to grant or renew, or may suspend

or revoke, a license of an applicant or licensee, or (i1) censure, warn, or fine any licensed
assessor, or any other person employed by an assessment jurisdiction or contracting with
an assessment jurisdiction for the purpose of valuing or classifying property for property

tax purposes, for any of the following causes or acts:
(1) failure to complete required training;
(2) nefficiency or neglect of duty;

(3) failure to comply with the Code of Conduct and Ethics for Licensed Minnesota
Assessors adopted by the board pursuant to Laws 2005, First Special Session chapter 3,

article 1, section 38;
(4) conviction of a crime involving moral turpitude;

(5) failure to faithfully and fully perform his or her duties through malfeasance,

misfeasance, or nonfeasance; or

(6) any other cause or act that in the board's opinion warrants a refusal to issue a license

or the imposition of a sanction provided under this subdivision.

(b) When appropriate for the level of infraction, a written warning must be given to
assessors who have no prior identified infractions. The warning must identify the infraction
and, as appropriate, detail future expectations of performance and behavior. Fines must not
exceed $1,000 for the first occurrence and must not exceed $3,000 for each occurrence
thereafter, and suspensions must not exceed one year for each occurrence, depending in
each case upon the severity of the infraction and the level of negligence or intent. The

commissioner of revenue shall give notice to an applicant or licensee of the commissioner's

recommendation that the board impose sanctions or refuse to grant or renew a license. An

action by the board to impose a sanetion fine, to suspend or revoke a license, or to refuse

to grant or renew a license is subject to review in a contested case hearing under chapter
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14. A licensee must submit a request for a hearing to the board within 30 days of the notice

date of the commissioner's recommendation for sanctions or for refusal to grant or renew

a license.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for sanctions or refusals to grant or renew

a license recommended by the commissioner of revenue after June 30, 2018.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 272.115, subdivision 1, is amended

to read:

Subdivision 1. Requirement. Except as otherwise provided in subdivision 5, 6, or 7,
whenever any real estate is sold for a consideration in excess of $+000 $3,000, whether by
warranty deed, quitclaim deed, contract for deed or any other method of sale, the grantor,
grantee or the legal agent of either shall file a certificate of value with the county auditor
in the county in which the property is located when the deed or other document is presented
for recording. Contract for deeds are subject to recording under section 507.235, subdivision
1. Value shall, in the case of any deed not a gift, be the amount of the full actual consideration
thereof, paid or to be paid, including the amount of any lien or liens assumed. The items
and value of personal property transferred with the real property must be listed and deducted
from the sale price. The certificate of value shall include the classification to which the
property belongs for the purpose of determining the fair market value of the property, and
shall include any proposed change in use of the property known to the person filing the
certificate that could change the classification of the property. The certificate shall include
financing terms and conditions of the sale which are necessary to determine the actual,
present value of the sale price for purposes of the sales ratio study. If the property is being
acquired as part of a like-kind exchange under section 1031 of the Internal Revenue Code
of 1986, as amended through December 31, 2006, that must be indicated on the certificate.
The commissioner of revenue shall promulgate administrative rules specifying the financing
terms and conditions which must be included on the certificate. The certificate of value
must include the Social Security number or the federal employer identification number of
the grantors and grantees. However, a married person who is not an owner of record and
who is signing a conveyance instrument along with the person's spouse solely to release
and convey their marital interest, if any, in the real property being conveyed is not a grantor
for the purpose of the preceding sentence. A statement in the deed that is substantially in
the following form is sufficient to allow the county auditor to accept a certificate for filing
without the Social Security number of the named spouse: "(Name) claims no ownership
interest in the real property being conveyed and is executing this instrument solely to release

and convey a marital interest, if any, in that real property." The identification numbers of

Article 5 Sec. 3. 102



103.1

103.2

103.3

103.4

103.5

103.6

103.7

103.8

103.9

103.10

103.11

103.12

103.13

103.14

103.15

103.16

103.17

103.18

103.19

103.20

103.21

103.22

103.23

103.24

103.25

103.26

103.27

103.28

103.29

103.30

103.31

103.32

103.33

103.34

04/21/18 12:28 PM HOUSE RESEARCH PD/RK H4385DE1

the grantors and grantees are private data on individuals or nonpublic data as defined in
section 13.02, subdivisions 9 and 12, but, notwithstanding that section, the private or
nonpublic data may be disclosed to the commissioner of revenue for purposes of tax
administration. The information required to be shown on the certificate of value is limited
to the information required as of the date of the acknowledgment on the deed or other

document to be recorded.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for certificates of value filed after

December 31, 2018.

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 287.21, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Determination of tax. (a) A tax is imposed on each deed or instrument
by which any real property in this state is granted, assigned, transferred, or otherwise
conveyed. The tax applies against the net consideration. For purposes of the tax, the
conversion of a corporation to a limited liability company, a limited liability company to a
corporation, a partnership to a limited partnership, a limited partnership to another limited
partnership or other entity, or a similar conversion of one entity to another does not grant,

assign, transfer, or convey real property.

(b) The tax is determined in the following manner: (1) when transfers are made by
instruments pursuant to (i) consolidations or mergers, or (ii) designated transfers, the tax is
$1.65; (2) when there is no consideration or when the consideration, exclusive of the value
of any lien or encumbrance remaining thereon at the time of sale, is $500 $3,000 or less,
the tax is $1.65; or (3) when the consideration, exclusive of the value of any lien or
encumbrance remaining at the time of sale, exceeds $500 $3,000, the tax is .0033 of the net

consideration.

(c) If, within six months from the date of a designated transfer, an ownership interest in
the grantee entity is transferred by an initial owner to any person or entity with the result
that the designated transfer would not have been a designated transfer if made to the grantee
entity with its subsequent ownership, then a tax is imposed at .0033 of the net consideration
for the designated transfer. If the subsequent transfer of ownership interests was reasonably
expected at the time of the designated transfer, the applicable penalty under section 287.31,
subdivision 1, must be paid. The deed tax imposed under this paragraph is due within 30
days of the subsequent transfer that caused the tax to be imposed under this paragraph.
Involuntary transfers of ownership shall not be considered transfers of ownership under this
paragraph. The commissioner may adopt rules defining the types of transfers to be considered

involuntary.
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(d) The tax is due at the time a taxable deed or instrument is presented for recording,
except as provided in paragraph (c). The commissioner may require the tax to be documented
in a manner prescribed by the commissioner, and may require that the documentation be
attached to and recorded as part of the deed or instrument. The county recorder or registrar
of titles shall accept the attachment for recording as part of the deed or instrument and may
not require, as a condition of recording a deed or instrument, evidence that a transfer is a
designated transfer in addition to that required by the commissioner. Such an attachment
shall not, however, provide actual or constructive notice of the information contained therein
for purposes of determining any interest in the real property. The commissioner shall
prescribe the manner in which the tax due under paragraph (c) is to be paid and may require
grantees of designated transfers to file with the commissioner subsequent statements verifying

that the tax provided under paragraph (c) does not apply.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for deeds recorded after December 31,
2018.

ARTICLE 6

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE; MISCELLANEOUS; POLICY CHANGES

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 270B.08, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Revocation or cancellation. When a taxpayer's sales tax permit has been

revoked or canceled under section 270C.722 or 297A.84, the commissioner may disclose
to any person data identifying the holder of the revoked or canceled permit, stating the basis

for the revocation or cancellation, the date of the revocation or cancellation, and stating

whether-the if a revoked or canceled permit has been reinstated, the date upon which the

permit was reinstated.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 297A.84, is amended to read:

297A.84 PERMITS ISSUED AND NOT ISSUED; CANCELLATION.

Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) The following definitions apply for the purposes of this

section.

(b) "Applicant" means an individual, corporation, or partnership. Applicant also includes

any officer of a corporation or member of a partnership.
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(c) "Delinquent sales tax" means tax not paid by the date the tax was due and payable

under section 289A.20, subdivision 4, or an assessment not paid if the applicant has been

issued an order assessing sales and use tax under section 270C.33, subdivision 4.

Subd. 2. Permits issued. Except as provided in subdivision 3, the commissioner shal

must issue a permit to each applicant who has complied with section 297A.83, and with
section 297A.92 if security is required. A person is considered to have a permit if the person
has a Minnesota tax identification number issued by the commissioner that is currently
active for taxes imposed by this chapter. A permit is valid until canceled or revoked. It is
not assignable and is valid only for the person in whose name it is granted and for the

transaction of business at the places designated on the permit.

Subd. 3. Permits not issued. (a) Except as provided in paragraph (b), the commissioner

must not issue a permit to an applicant if the applicant is liable for delinquent sales tax.

(b) The commissioner must issue a permit to an applicant if an appeal period of an order

assessing sales tax under section 270C.33, subdivision 5, has not ended. The commissioner

may cancel a permit issued under this paragraph in the manner provided in subdivision 4

if the applicant owes delinquent sales tax after the appeal period has ended.

Subd. 4. Nonconforming permits; cancellation; reissue. (a) If the commissioner issues

a permit that does not conform with the requirements of this section or applicable rules, the

commissioner may cancel the permit upon notice to the permit holder. The notice must be

served by first class and certified mail at the permit holder's last known address. The

cancellation is effective immediately.

(b) If a permit holder shows that a canceled permit was issued in conformance with the

requirements of this section and applicable rules, the commissioner must reissue the permit.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for permit applications filed after
December 31, 2018.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 297A.85, 1s amended to read:
297A.85 CANCELLATION OF PERMITS.
The commissioner may cancel a permit if one of the following conditions occurs:
(1) the permit holder has not filed a sales or use tax return for at least one year;

(2) the permit holder has not reported any sales or use tax liability on the permit holder's

returns for at least two years;

(3) the permit holder requests cancellation of the permit; ex

Article 6 Sec. 3. 105



106.1

106.2

106.3

106.4

106.5

106.6

106.7

106.8

106.9

106.10

106.11

106.12

106.13

106.14

106.15

106.16

106.17

106.18

106.19

106.20

106.21

106.22

106.23

106.24

106.25

106.26

106.27

106.28

106.29

106.30

106.31

04/21/18 12:28 PM HOUSE RESEARCH PD/RK H4385DE1

(4) the permit is subject to cancellation pursaantte under section 270C.722, subdivision

2, paragraph (a)-; or

(5) the permit is subject to cancellation under section 289A.84.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for permit applications filed after
December 31, 2018.

ARTICLE 7

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE; PARTNERSHIP TAX; POLICY CHANGES

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 270C.445, subdivision 6, is

amended to read:

Subd. 6. Enforcement; administrative order; penalties; cease and desist. (a) The
commissioner may impose an administrative penalty of not more than $1,000 per violation
of subdivision 3 or 5, or section 270C.4451, provided that a penalty may not be imposed
for any conduct for which a tax preparer penalty is imposed under section 289A.60,
subdivision 13. The commissioner may terminate a tax preparer's authority to transmit
returns electronically to the state, if the commissioner determines the tax preparer engaged
in a pattern and practice of violating this section. Imposition of a penalty under this paragraph
is subject to the contested case procedure under chapter 14. The commissioner shall collect
the penalty in the same manner as the income tax. There is no right to make a claim for
refund under section 289A.50 of the penalty imposed under this paragraph. Penalties imposed

under this paragraph are public data.

(b) In addition to the penalty under paragraph (a), if the commissioner determines that
a tax preparer has violated subdivision 3 or 5, or section 270C.4451, the commissioner may
issue an administrative order to the tax preparer requiring the tax preparer to cease and
desist from committing the violation. The administrative order may include an administrative

penalty provided in paragraph (a).

(c) If the commissioner issues an administrative order under paragraph (b), the
commissioner must send the order to the tax preparer addressed to the last known address

of the tax preparer.
(d) A cease and desist order under paragraph (b) must:

(1) describe the act, conduct, or practice committed and include a reference to the law

that the act, conduct, or practice violates; and
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(2) provide notice that the tax preparer may request a hearing as provided in this

subdivision.

(e) Within 30 days after the commissioner issues an administrative order under paragraph
(b), the tax preparer may request a hearing to review the commissioner's action. The request
for hearing must be made in writing and must be served on the commissioner at the address
specified in the order. The hearing request must specifically state the reasons for seeking
review of the order. The date on which a request for hearing is served by mail is the postmark

date on the envelope in which the request for hearing is mailed.

(f) If a tax preparer does not timely request a hearing regarding an administrative order
issued under paragraph (b), the order becomes a final order of the commissioner and is not

subject to review by any court or agency.

(g) If a tax preparer timely requests a hearing regarding an administrative order issued
under paragraph (b), the hearing must be commenced within ten days after the commissioner

receives the request for a hearing.

(h) A hearing timely requested under paragraph (e) is subject to the contested case
procedure under chapter 14, as modified by this subdivision. The administrative law judge
must issue a report containing findings of fact, conclusions of law, and a recommended
order within ten days after the completion of the hearing, the receipt of late-filed exhibits,

or the submission of written arguments, whichever is later.

(1) Within five days of the date of the administrative law judge's report issued under
paragraph (h), any party aggrieved by the administrative law judge's report may submit
written exceptions and arguments to the commissioner. Within 15 days after receiving the
administrative law judge's report, the commissioner must issue an order vacating, modifying,

or making final the administrative order.

(j) The commissioner and the tax preparer requesting a hearing may by agreement

lengthen any time periods prescribed in paragraphs (g) to (1).

(k) An administrative order issued under paragraph (b) is in effect until it is modified
or vacated by the commissioner or an appellate court. The administrative hearing provided
by paragraphs (e) to (1) and any appellate judicial review as provided in chapter 14 constitute

the exclusive remedy for a tax preparer aggrieved by the order.

(I) The commissioner may impose an administrative penalty, in addition to the penalty
under paragraph (a), up to $5,000 per violation of a cease and desist order issued under

paragraph (b). Imposition of a penalty under this paragraph is subject to the contested case
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procedure under chapter 14. Within 30 days after the commissioner imposes a penalty under
this paragraph, the tax preparer assessed the penalty may request a hearing to review the
penalty order. The request for hearing must be made in writing and must be served on the
commissioner at the address specified in the order. The hearing request must specifically
state the reasons for seeking review of the order. The cease and desist order issued under
paragraph (b) is not subject to review in a proceeding to challenge the penalty order under
this paragraph. The date on which a request for hearing is served by mail is the postmark
date on the envelope in which the request for hearing is mailed. If the tax preparer does not
timely request a hearing, the penalty order becomes a final order of the commissioner and
is not subject to review by any court or agency. A penalty imposed by the commissioner
under this paragraph may be collected and enforced by the commissioner as an income tax
liability. There is no right to make a claim for refund under section 289A.50 of the penalty

imposed under this paragraph. A penalty imposed under this paragraph is public data.

(m) If a tax preparer violates a cease and desist order issued under paragraph (b), the
commissioner may terminate the tax preparer's authority to transmit returns electronically

to the state. Termination under this paragraph is public data.

(n) A cease and desist order issued under paragraph (b) is public data when it is a final

order.

(o) Notwithstanding any other law, the commissioner may impose a penalty or take other
action under this subdivision against a tax preparer, with respect to a return, within the

period to assess tax on that return as provided by seetion sections 289A.38 to 289A.384.

(p) Notwithstanding any other law, the imposition of a penalty or any other action against
a tax preparer under this subdivision, other than with respect to a return, must be taken by

the commissioner within five years of the violation of statute.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for tax years beginning after December

31, 2017, except that for partnerships that make an election under Code of Federal

Regulations, title 26, section 301.9100-22T, this section is effective retroactively and applies

to the same tax periods to which the election relates.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 289A.31, subdivision 1, is amended

to read:

Subdivision 1. Individual income, fiduciary income, mining company, corporate

franchise, and entertainment taxes. (a) Individual income, fiduciary income, mining
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company, and corporate franchise taxes, and interest and penalties, must be paid by the

taxpayer upon whom the tax is imposed, except in the following cases:

(1) the tax due from a decedent for that part of the taxable year in which the decedent
died during which the decedent was alive and the taxes, interest, and penalty due for the
prior years must be paid by the decedent's personal representative, if any. If there is no
personal representative, the taxes, interest, and penalty must be paid by the transferees, as
defined in section 270C.58, subdivision 3, to the extent they receive property from the

decedent;

(2) the tax due from an infant or other incompetent person must be paid by the person's

guardian or other person authorized or permitted by law to act for the person;

(3) the tax due from the estate of a decedent must be paid by the estate's personal

representative;

(4) the tax due from a trust, including those within the definition of a corporation, as

defined in section 290.01, subdivision 4, must be paid by a trustee; and

(5) the tax due from a taxpayer whose business or property is in charge of a receiver,
trustee in bankruptcy, assignee, or other conservator, must be paid by the person in charge

of the business or property so far as the tax is due to the income from the business or property.

(b) Entertainment taxes are the joint and several liability of the entertainer and the
entertainment entity. The payor is liable to the state for the payment of the tax required to
be deducted and withheld under section 290.9201, subdivision 7, and is not liable to the

entertainer for the amount of the payment.

(c) The taxes imposed under sections 289A.35, paragraph (b), 289A.383, subdivision

3, and 290.0922 on partnerships are the joint and several liability of the partnership and the

general partners.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for tax years beginning after December

31, 2017, except that for partnerships that make an election under Code of Federal

Regulations, title 26, section 301.9100-22T, this section is effective retroactively and applies

to the same tax periods to which the election relates.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 289A.37, subdivision 2, is amended

to read:

Subd. 2. Erroneous refunds. (a) Except as provided in paragraph (b), an erroneous

refund occurs when the commissioner issues a payment to a person that exceeds the amount
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the person is entitled to receive under law. An erroneous refund is considered an

underpayment of tax on the date issued.

(b) To the extent that the amount paid does not exceed the amount claimed by the

taxpayer, an erroneous refund does not include the following:

(1) any amount of a refund or credit paid pursuant to a claim for refund filed by a
taxpayer, including but not limited to refunds of claims made under section 290.06,
subdivision 23; 290.067; 290.0671; 290.0672; 290.0674; 290.0675; 290.0677; 290.068;
290.0681; or 290.0692; or chapter 290A; or

(2) any amount paid pursuant to a claim for refund of an overpayment of tax filed by a

taxpayer.

(c) The commissioner may make an assessment to recover an erroneous refund at any
time within two years from the issuance of the erroneous refund. If all or part of the erroneous
refund was induced by fraud or misrepresentation of a material fact, the assessment may

be made at any time.

(d) Assessments of amounts that are not erroneous refunds under paragraph (b) must be

conducted under seetion sections 289A.38 to 289A.384.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for tax years beginning after December

31, 2017, except that for partnerships that make an election under Code of Federal

Regulations, title 26, section 301.9100-22T, this section is effective retroactively and applies

to the same tax periods to which the election relates.

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 289A.38, subdivision 10, is amended to read:

Subd. 10. Incorrect determination of federal adjusted gross income. Notwithstanding
any other provision of this chapter, if a taxpayer whose net income is determined under
section 290.01, subdivision 19, omits from income an amount that will under the Internal
Revenue Code extend the statute of limitations for the assessment of federal income taxes,
or otherwise incorrectly determines the taxpayer's federal adjusted gross income resulting
in adjustments by the Internal Revenue Service, then the period of assessment and
determination of tax will be that under the Internal Revenue Code. When a change is made
to federal income during the extended time provided under this subdivision, the provisions

under subdivistons7te-9 sections 289A.381 to 289A.384 regarding additional extensions

apply.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for tax years beginning after December

31, 2017, except that for partnerships that make an election under Code of Federal
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Regulations, title 26, section 301.9100-22T, this section is effective retroactively and applies

to the same tax periods to which the election relates.

Sec. 5.[289A.381] DEFINITIONS; PARTNERSHIPS; FEDERAL ADJUSTMENTS.

Subdivision 1. Definitions relating to federal adjustments. Unless otherwise specified,

the definitions in this section apply for the purposes of sections 289A.381 to 289A.385.

Subd. 2. Administrative adjustment request. "Administrative adjustment request"

means an administrative adjustment request filed by a partnership under section 6227 of

the Internal Revenue Code.

Subd. 3. Audited partnership. "Audited partnership" means a partnership subject to a

federal adjustment resulting from a partnership-level audit.

Subd. 4. Corporate partner. "Corporate partner" means a partner that is subject to tax

under section 290.02.

Subd. 5. Direct partner. "Direct partner" means a partner that holds an immediate legal

ownership interest in a partnership or pass-through entity.

Subd. 6. Exempt partner. "Exempt partner" means a partner that is exempt from taxes

on its net income under section 290.05, subdivision 1.

Subd. 7. Federal adjustment. "Federal adjustment" means any change in an amount

calculated under the Internal Revenue Code, whether to income, gross estate, a credit, an

item of preference, or any other item that is used by a taxpayer to compute a tax administered

under this chapter for the reviewed year whether that change results from action by the

Internal Revenue Service or other competent authority, including a partnership-level audit,

or the filing of an amended federal return, federal refund claim, or an administrative

adjustment request by the taxpayer.

Subd. 8. Federal adjustments report. "Federal adjustments report" includes a method

or form prescribed by the commissioner for use by a taxpayer to report federal adjustments,

including an amended Minnesota tax return or a uniform multistate report.

Subd. 9. Federal partnership representative. "Federal partnership representative"

means the person the partnership designates for the taxable year as the partnership's

representative, or the person the Internal Revenue Service has appointed to act as the

partnership representative, pursuant to section 6223(a) of the Internal Revenue Code.

Subd. 10. Final determination date. (a) "Final determination date" means:
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(1) for a federal adjustment arising from an audit by the Internal Revenue Service or

other competent authority, the first day on which no federal adjustment arising from that

audit remains to be finally determined, whether by agreement, or, if appealed or contested,

by a final decision with respect to which all rights of appeal have been waived or exhausted;

(2) for a federal adjustment arising from the filing of an amended federal return, a federal

refund claim, or the filing by a partnership of an administrative adjustment request, the day

which the amended return, refund claim, or administrative adjustment request was filed; or

(3) for agreements required to be signed by the Internal Revenue Service and the taxpayer,

the date on which the last party signed the agreement.

Subd. 11. Final federal adjustment. "Final federal adjustment" means a federal

adjustment for which the final determination date for that federal adjustment has passed.

Subd. 12. Indirect partner. "Indirect partner" means either:

(1) a partner in a partnership or pass-through entity that itself holds an immediate legal

ownership interest in another partnership or pass-through entity; or

(2) a partner in a partnership or pass-through entity that holds an indirect interest in

another partnership or pass-through entity through another indirect partner.

Subd. 13. Partner. "Partner" means a person that holds an interest directly or indirectly

in a partnership or other pass-through entity.

Subd. 14. Partnership. The term "partnership" has the meaning provided under section

7701(a)(2) of the Internal Revenue Code.

Subd. 15. Partnership-level audit. "Partnership-level audit" means an examination by

the Internal Revenue Service at the partnership level pursuant to subtitle F, chapter 63,

subchapter C, of the Internal Revenue Code, which results in federal adjustments including

reallocation adjustments and adjustments to partnership-related items.

Subd. 16. Pass-through entity. "Pass-through entity" means an entity, other than a

partnership, that is not subject to the tax imposed under section 290.02. The term pass-through

entity includes but is not limited to S corporations, estates, and trusts other than grantor

trusts.

Subd. 17. Reallocation adjustment. "Reallocation adjustment" means a federal

adjustment, or final federal adjustment, that changes the shares of items of partnership

income, gain, loss, expense, or credit allocated to partners. The term positive reallocation

adjustment means reallocation adjustments that would increase state taxable income for
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partners, and the term negative reallocation adjustment means reallocation adjustments that

would decrease state taxable income for partners.

Subd. 18. Resident partner. "Resident partner" means an individual partner or individual

indirect partner who is a resident of Minnesota under section 290.01, subdivision 7.

Subd. 19. Reviewed year. "Reviewed year" means the taxable year of a partnership that

is subject to a partnership-level audit from which federal adjustments arise.

Subd. 20. Tiered partner. "Tiered partner" means any partner that is a partnership or

pass-through entity.

Subd. 21. Unrelated business taxable income. "Unrelated business taxable income"

has the same meaning as defined in section 512 of the Internal Revenue Code.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for tax years beginning after December

31, 2017, except that for partnerships that make an election under Code of Federal

Regulations, title 26, section 301.9100-22T, this section is effective retroactively and applies

to the same tax periods to which the election relates.

Sec. 6. [289A.382] REPORTING FEDERAL ADJUSTMENTS; GENERAL RULE.

(a) Within 180 days of a final determination date, a taxpayer must file a federal adjustment

report with the commissioner reporting all final federal adjustments by the Internal Revenue

Service or other competent authority.

(b) Within 180 days of a final determination date, a taxpayer must file a federal adjustment

report with the commissioner reporting any federal adjustments reported by the taxpayer

to the Internal Revenue Service, including but not limited to:

(1) federal refund claims;

(2) a change reported on a timely filed amended federal income tax return; and

(3) a change reported on an amended return filed pursuant to section 6225(c) of the

Internal Revenue Code.

(c) In the case of a final federal adjustment arising from a partnership-level audit or an

administrative adjustment request filed by a partnership under section 6227 of the Internal

Revenue Code, a taxpayer must report adjustments as provided for under section 289A.383,

and not this section.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for tax years beginning after December

31, 2017, except that for partnerships that make an election under Code of Federal
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Regulations, title 26, section 301.9100-22T, this section is effective retroactively and applies

to the same tax periods to which the election relates.

Sec. 7. [289A.383] REPORTING AND PAYMENT REQUIREMENTS.

Subdivision 1. State partnership representative. (a) With respect to an action required

or permitted to be taken by a partnership under this section, or in a proceeding under section

270C.35 or 271.06, the state partnership representative for the reviewed year has the sole

authority to act on behalf of the partnership, and its direct partners and indirect partners are

bound by those actions.

(b) The state partnership representative for the reviewed year is the partnership's federal

partnership representative unless the partnership, in a form and manner prescribed by the

commissioner, designates another person as its state partnership representative.

Subd. 2. Reporting and payment requirements for partnerships and tiered partners.

(a) Unless an audited partnership makes the election in subdivision 3, then, for all final

federal adjustments the audited partnership must comply with paragraph (b) and each direct

partner of the audited partnership, other than a tiered partner, must comply with paragraph

(©).

(b) No later than 90 days after the final determination date, the audited partnership must:

(1) file a completed federal adjustment report, including all partner-level information

required under section 289A.12, subdivision 3, with the commissioner;

(2) notify each of its direct partners of their distributive share of the adjustments;

(3) file an amended composite report for all direct partners who were included in a

composite return under section 289A.08, subdivision 7, in the reviewed year, and pay the

additional amount that would have been due had the federal adjustments been reported

properly as required; and

(4) file amended withholding reports for all direct partners who were or should have

been subject to nonresident withholding under section 290.92, subdivision 4b, in the reviewed

year, and pay the additional amount that would have been due had the federal adjustments

been reported properly as required.

(c) No later than 180 days after the final determination date, each direct partner, other

than a tiered partner, that is subject to a tax administered under this chapter, other than the

sales tax, must:
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(1) file a federal adjustment report reporting their distributive share of the adjustments

reported to them under paragraph (b), clause (2); and

(2) pay any additional amount of tax due as if the final federal adjustment had been

properly reported, plus any penalty and interest due under this chapter, and less any credit

for related amounts paid or withheld and remitted on behalf of the direct partner under

paragraph (b), clauses (3) and (4).

Subd. 3. Election; partnership or tiered partners pay. (a) An audited partnership may

make an election under this subdivision to pay its assessment at the entity level. If an audited

partnership makes an election to pay its assessment at the entity level it must:

(1) no later than 90 days after the final determination date, file a completed federal

adjustment report, including the residency information for all individual direct partners, and

information pertaining to all other partners as prescribed by the commissioner, and notify

the commissioner that it is making the election under this subdivision; and

(2) no later than 180 days after the final determination date, pay an amount, determined

as follows, in lieu of taxes on partners:

(1) exclude from final federal adjustments and any positive reallocation adjustments the

distributive share of these adjustments made to an exempt partner that is not unrelated

business taxable income;

(1) exclude from final federal adjustments and any positive reallocation adjustments the

distributive share of these adjustments made to a partner that has filed a federal adjustment

report and paid the applicable tax, as required under subdivision 2, for the distributive share

of adjustments reported on a federal return under section 6225(c) of the Internal Revenue

Code;

(i11) allocate at the partner level using section 290.17, subdivision 1, all final federal

adjustments and positive reallocation adjustments attributable to resident direct partners for

the reviewed year;

(iv) allocate and apportion at the partnership level using sections 290.17 to 290.20 all

remaining final federal adjustments and positive reallocation adjustments for the reviewed

year;

(v) determine the total distributive share of the allocated and apportioned final federal

adjustments and positive reallocation adjustments determined in items (iii) and (iv) that are

attributable to:

(A) resident partners;
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(B) corporate partners and exempt partners; and

(C) the total distributive share amount allocated to all other partners;

(vi) for the total distributive share of net final federal adjustments plus positive

reallocation adjustments attributed to corporate partners and exempt partners under item

(v), subitem (B), multiply the total by the highest tax rate in section 290.06, subdivision 1,

for the reviewed year, and calculate interest and penalties as applicable under this chapter;

(vii) for the total distributive share of net final federal adjustments plus positive

reallocation adjustments attributable to resident partners, and all other partners under item

(v), subitems (A) and (C), multiply the total by the highest tax rate in section 290.06,

subdivision 2c, for the reviewed year, and calculate interest and penalties as applicable

under this chapter; and

(viii) add the amount determined in item (vi) to the amount determined in item (vii),

and pay all applicable taxes, penalties, and interest to the commissioner.

(b) An audited partnership may not make an election under this subdivision to report:

(1) a federal adjustment, including a positive reallocation adjustment, that results in

unitary business income to a corporate partner required to file as a member of a combined

report under section 290.17, subdivision 4; or

(2) any final federal adjustments resulting from an administrative adjustment request.

Subd. 4. Tiered partners and indirect partners. (a) Each tiered partner and each

indirect partner of an audited partnership that reported final federal adjustments pursuant

to subdivision 2, paragraph (b), clause (1), or this subdivision, must:

(1) within 90 days of the report comply with the filing, reporting, and payment

requirements of subdivision 2, paragraph (b); or

(2) make the election under subdivision 3 as though it were the audited partnership.

(b) Each direct partner in a partnership making a report under paragraph (a) must, within

180 days of the report, comply with the filing, reporting, and payment requirements of

subdivision 2, paragraph (c).

(c) Notwithstanding the interim time requirements in this subdivision and subdivisions

2 and 3, all reports and payments required to be made by the tiered and indirect partners

under this section are required to be made within 90 days after the time for the filing and

furnishing of statements to tiered partners and their partners as established by the Internal

Revenue Service under section 6226 of the Internal Revenue Code.
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Subd. 5. Effects of election by partnership or tiered partner and payment of amount

due. (a) Unless the commissioner determines otherwise, the election under subdivision 3

1s irrevocable.

(b) If an audited partnership or tiered partner properly reports and pays an amount

determined in subdivision 3, the amount will be treated as paid in lieu of taxes owed by the

partnership's direct partners on the same final federal adjustments. The direct partners and

indirect partners of the partnership who are not resident partners may not take any deduction

or credit for this amount or claim a refund of the amount in this state.

(c) Nothing in this subdivision precludes resident partners from claiming a credit against

taxes paid under section 290.06, on any amounts paid by the audited partnership or tiered

partners on the resident partner's behalf to another state or local tax jurisdiction.

Subd. 6. Failure of partnership or tiered partner to report or pay. Nothing in this

section prevents the commissioner from assessing partners or indirect partners for taxes

they owe in the event that, for any reason, a partnership or tiered partner fails to timely

make any report or payment required by this section.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for tax years beginning after December

31, 2017, except that for partnerships that make an election under Code of Federal

Regulations, title 26, section 301.9100-22T, this section is effective retroactively and applies

to the same tax periods to which the election relates.

Sec. 8. [289A.384] ASSESSMENT OF TAX, INTEREST, PENALTIES, AND
ADDITIONAL AMOUNTS.

Subdivision 1. Assessment of additional tax, interest, and penalties. The commissioner

may assess additional tax, interest, and penalties following a final federal adjustment:

(1) arising from an audit by the Internal Revenue Service, including a partnership-level

audit;

(2) reported by the taxpayer on an amended federal tax return; or

(3) as part of an administrative adjustment request on or before the dates provided in

this section.

Subd. 2. Timely and untimely reported federal adjustments. If a taxpayer files a

federal adjustment report, within or after the periods prescribed in section 289A.382 or

289A.383, the commissioner may assess additional Minnesota amounts related to the federal

adjustments including in-lieu-of amounts, taxes, interest, and penalties at the later of:
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(1) the expiration of the period of limitations in section 289A.38; or

(2) the expiration of the one-year period following the date of the filing with the

commissioner of the federal adjustments report.

Subd. 3. Unreported reported federal adjustments. If the taxpayer fails to file a federal

adjustments report, the commissioner may assess additional amounts related to the federal

adjustments including in-lieu-of amounts, taxes, penalties, and interest, at the later of:

(1) the expiration of the period of limitations in section 289A.38; or

(2) the expiration of the six-year period following the final determination date.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for tax years beginning after December

31, 2017, except that for partnerships that make an election under Code of Federal

Regulations, title 26, section 301.9100-22T, this section is effective retroactively and applies

to the same tax periods to which the election relates.

Sec. 9. [289A.385] CLAIMS FOR REFUND OR CREDITS OF STATE TAX
ARISING FROM FINAL FEDERAL ADJUSTMENTS MADE BY THE INTERNAL
REVENUE SERVICE.

Notwithstanding the general period of limitations on claims for refund in section 289A.40,

taxpayers subject to the reporting requirements of sections 289A.382 and 289A.383 may

file claims for refund related to federal adjustments made by the Internal Revenue Service

on or before the last day for the assessment of tax under section 289A.384.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for tax years beginning after December

31, 2017, except that for partnerships that make an election under Code of Federal

Regulations, title 26, section 301.9100-22T, this section is effective retroactively and applies

to the same tax periods to which the election relates.

Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 289A.42, 1s amended to read:

289A.42 CONSENT TO EXTEND STATUTE.

Subdivision 1. Extension agreement. If before the expiration of time prescribed in
sections 289A.38 to 289A.384 and 289A.40 for the assessment of tax or the filing of a claim
for refund, both the commissioner and the taxpayer have consented in writing to the
assessment or filing of a claim for refund after that time, the tax may be assessed or the
claim for refund filed at any time before the expiration of the agreed-upon period. The

period may be extended by later agreements in writing before the expiration of the period
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previously agreed upon. The taxpayer and the commissioner may also agree to extend the

period for collection of the tax.

Subd. 2. Federal extensions. When a taxpayer consents to an extension of time for the
assessment of federal withholding or income taxes, the period in which the commissioner

may recompute the tax is also extended, notwithstanding any period of limitations to the

contrary, as-follows:

b for the periods provided in section 289A38;subdivistons8-and-9; 289A.384,

subdivisions 2 and 3.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for tax years beginning after December

31, 2017, except that for partnerships that make an election under Code of Federal

Regulations, title 26, section 301.9100-22T, this section is effective retroactively and applies

to the same tax periods to which the election relates.

Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 289A.60, subdivision 24, 1s amended to read:

Subd. 24. Penalty for failure to notify of federal change. If a person fails to report to

the commissioner a change or correction of the person's federal return in the manner and

time prescribed in seetton289A-38;-subdiviston7 sections 289A.382 and 289A.383, there

must be added to the tax an amount equal to ten percent of the amount of any underpayment

of Minnesota tax attributable to the federal change.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for tax years beginning after December

31, 2017, except that for partnerships that make an election under Code of Federal

Regulations, title 26, section 301.9100-22T, this section is effective retroactively and applies

to the same tax periods to which the election relates.

Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 290.31, subdivision 1, is amended

to read:

Subdivision 1. Partners, not partnership, subject to tax. Except as provided under

seetton sections 289A.35, paragraph (b), and 289A.383, subdivision 3, a partnership as such
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shall not be subject to the income tax imposed by this chapter, but is subject to the tax
imposed under section 290.0922. Persons carrying on business as partners shall be liable

for income tax only in their separate or individual capacities.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for tax years beginning after December

31, 2017, except that for partnerships that make an election under Code of Federal

Regulations, title 26, section 301.9100-22T, this section is effective retroactively and applies

to the same tax periods to which the election relates.

Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 297F.17, subdivision 6, is amended to read:

Subd. 6. Time limit for bad debt refund. Claims for refund must be filed with the
commissioner during the one-year period beginning with the timely filing of the taxpayer's
federal income tax return containing the bad debt deduction that is being claimed. Claimants
under this subdivision are subject to the notice requirements of seetton289A-38,-subdiviston
7 sections 289A.382 and 289A.383.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for tax years beginning after December

31, 2017, except that for partnerships that make an election under Code of Federal

Regulations, title 26, section 301.9100-22T, this section is effective retroactively and applies

to the same tax periods to which the election relates.

Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 297G.16, subdivision 7, is amended to read:

Subd. 7. Time limit for a bad debt deduction. Claims for refund must be filed with
the commissioner within one year of the filing of the taxpayer's income tax return containing

the bad debt deduction that is being claimed. Claimants under this subdivision are subject

to the notice requirements of seetion289A-38;subdivision7 sections 289A.38 to 289A.384.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for tax years beginning after December

31, 2017, except that for partnerships that make an election under Code of Federal

Regulations, title 26, section 301.9100-22T, this section is effective retroactively and applies

to the same tax periods to which the election relates.

Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 469.319, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. Repayment procedures. (a) For the repayment of taxes imposed under chapter
290 or 297A or local taxes collected pursuant to section 297A.99, a business must file an
amended return with the commissioner of revenue and pay any taxes required to be repaid

within 30 days after becoming subject to repayment under this section. The amount required
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to be repaid is determined by calculating the tax for the period or periods for which repayment

1s required without regard to the exemptions and credits allowed under section 469.315.

(b) For the repayment of taxes imposed under chapter 297B, a business must pay any
taxes required to be repaid to the motor vehicle registrar, as agent for the commissioner of

revenue, within 30 days after becoming subject to repayment under this section.

(c) For the repayment of property taxes, the county auditor shall prepare a tax statement
for the business, applying the applicable tax extension rates for each payable year and
provide a copy to the business and to the taxpayer of record. The business must pay the
taxes to the county treasurer within 30 days after receipt of the tax statement. The business
or the taxpayer of record may appeal the valuation and determination of the property tax to

the Tax Court within 30 days after receipt of the tax statement.

(d) The provisions of chapters 270C and 289A relating to the commissioner's authority
to audit, assess, and collect the tax and to hear appeals are applicable to the repayment
required under paragraphs (a) and (b). The commissioner may impose civil penalties as
provided in chapter 289A, and the additional tax and penalties are subject to interest at the
rate provided in section 270C.40. The additional tax shall bear interest from 30 days after
becoming subject to repayment under this section until the date the tax is paid. Any penalty
imposed pursuant to this section shall bear interest from the date provided in section 270C.40,

subdivision 3, to the date of payment of the penalty.

(e) If a property tax is not repaid under paragraph (c), the county treasurer shall add the
amount required to be repaid to the property taxes assessed against the property for payment

in the year following the year in which the auditor provided the statement under paragraph
(c).

(f) For determining the tax required to be repaid, a reduction of a state or local sales or
use tax is deemed to have been received on the date that the good or service was purchased
or first put to a taxable use. In the case of an income tax or franchise tax, including the credit
payable under section 469.318, a reduction of tax is deemed to have been received for the
two most recent tax years that have ended prior to the date that the business became subject
to repayment under this section. In the case of a property tax, a reduction of tax is deemed
to have been received for the taxes payable in the year that the business became subject to

repayment under this section and for the taxes payable in the prior year.

(g) The commissioner may assess the repayment of taxes under paragraph (d) any time
within two years after the business becomes subject to repayment under subdivision 1, or

within any period of limitations for the assessment of tax under seetion289A<38 sections
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289A.38 to 289A.384, whichever period is later. The county auditor may send the statement

under paragraph (c) any time within three years after the business becomes subject to

repayment under subdivision 1.

(h) A business is not entitled to any income tax or franchise tax benefits, including
refundable credits, for any part of the year in which the business becomes subject to
repayment under this section nor for any year thereafter. Property is not exempt from tax
under section 272.02, subdivision 64, for any taxes payable in the year following the year
in which the property became subject to repayment under this section nor for any year
thereafter. A business is not eligible for any sales tax benefits beginning with goods or
services purchased or first put to a taxable use on the day that the business becomes subject

to repayment under this section.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for tax years beginning after December

31, 2017, except that for partnerships that make an election under Code of Federal

Regulations, title 26, section 301.9100-22T, this section is effective retroactively and applies

to the same tax periods to which the election relates.

Sec. 16. REPEALER.

Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 289A.38, subdivisions 7, 8, and 9, are repealed.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for tax years beginning after December

31, 2017, except that for partnerships that make an election under Code of Federal

Regulations, title 26, section 301.9100-22T, this section is effective retroactively and applies

to the same tax periods to which the election relates.

ARTICLE 8

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE; INDIVIDUAL INCOME AND CORPORATE
FRANCHISE TAXES; TECHNICAL CHANGES

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 289A.38, subdivision 7, i1s amended to read:

Subd. 7. Federal tax changes. (a) If the amount of income, items of tax preference,
deductions, or credits for any year of a taxpayer, or the wages paid by a taxpayer for any
period, as reported to the Internal Revenue Service is changed or corrected by the
commissioner of Internal Revenue or other officer of the United States or other competent
authority, or where a renegotiation of a contract or subcontract with the United States results
in a change in income, items of tax preference, deductions, credits, or withholding tax, or,
in the case of estate tax, where there are adjustments to the taxable estate, the taxpayer shall

report the change or correction or renegotiation results in writing to the commissioner. The
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report must be submitted within 180 days after the final determination and must be in the
form of either an amended Minnesota estate, withholding tax, corporate franchise tax, or
income tax return conceding the accuracy of the federal determination or a letter detailing
how the federal determination is incorrect or does not change the Minnesota tax. An amended
Minnesota income tax return must be accompanied by an amended property tax refund
return, if necessary. A taxpayer filing an amended federal tax return must also file a copy
of the amended return with the commissioner of revenue within 180 days after filing the

amended return.

(b) For the purposes of paragraph (a), a change or correction includes any case where a

taxpayer reaches a closing agreement or compromise with the Internal Revenue Service

under section 7121 or 7122 of the Internal Revenue Code.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 290.0137, is amended to read:

290.0137 ACCELERATED RECOGNITION OF CERTAIN INSTALLMENT
SALE GAINS.

(a) In the case of a nonresident individual or a person who becomes a nonresident
individual during the tax year, taxable net income shall include the aleeable amount realized
upon a sale of the assets of, or any interest in, an S corporation or partnership that operated
in Minnesota during the year of sale, including any income or gain to be recognized in future

years pursuant to an installment sale method of reporting under the Internal Revenue Code.

(1) For the purposes of this paragraph, an individual who becomes a nonresident of
Minnesota in any year after an installment sale is required to recognize the full amount of
any income or gain described in this paragraph on the individual's final Minnesota resident

tax return to the extent that such income has not been recognized in a prior year.

(2) For the purposes of this section, "realized" has the meaning given in section 1001(b)

of the Internal Revenue Code.

(3) For the purposes of this section, "installment sale" means any installment sale under
section 453 of the Internal Revenue Code and any other sale that is reported utilizing a

method of accounting authorized under subchapter E of the Internal Revenue Code that

allows taxpayers to delay reporting or recognizing a realized gain until a future year.
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(b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), nonresident taxpayers may elect to defer recognizing
unrecognized installment sale gains by making an election under this paragraph. The election
must be filed on a form to be determined or prescribed by the commissioner and must be
filed by the due date of the individual income tax return, including any extension. Electing

taxpayers must make an irrevocable agreement to:

(1) file Minnesota tax returns in all subsequent years when gains from the installment

sales are recognized and reported to the Internal Revenue Service;

(2) allocate gains to the state of Minnesota as though the gains were realized in the year

of sale under section 290.17, 290.191, or 290.20; and

(3) include all relevant federal tax documents reporting the installment sale with

subsequent Minnesota tax returns.

(c) Income or gain recognized for Minnesota purposes pursuant to paragraph (a) must
be excluded from taxable net income in any future year that the taxpayer files a Minnesota

tax return to the extent that the income or gain has already been subject to tax pursuant to
paragraph (a).

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 290.06, subdivision 2c, is amended to read:

Subd. 2c. Schedules of rates for individuals, estates, and trusts. (a) The income taxes
imposed by this chapter upon married individuals filing joint returns and surviving spouses
as defined in section 2(a) of the Internal Revenue Code must be computed by applying to

their taxable net income the following schedule of rates:
(1) On the first $35,480, 5.35 percent;
(2) On all over $35,480, but not over $140,960, 7.05 percent;
(3) On all over $140,960, but not over $250,000, 7.85 percent;
(4) On all over $250,000, 9.85 percent.

Married individuals filing separate returns, estates, and trusts must compute their income
tax by applying the above rates to their taxable income, except that the income brackets

will be one-half of the above amounts after the adjustment required in subdivision 2d.

(b) The income taxes imposed by this chapter upon unmarried individuals must be

computed by applying to taxable net income the following schedule of rates:

(1) On the first $24,270, 5.35 percent;
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(2) On all over $24,270, but not over $79,730, 7.05 percent;
(3) On all over $79,730, but not over $150,000, 7.85 percent;
(4) On all over $150,000, 9.85 percent.

(c) The income taxes imposed by this chapter upon unmarried individuals qualifying as
a head of household as defined in section 2(b) of the Internal Revenue Code must be

computed by applying to taxable net income the following schedule of rates:
(1) On the first $29,880, 5.35 percent;
(2) On all over $29,880, but not over $120,070, 7.05 percent;
(3) On all over $120,070, but not over $200,000, 7.85 percent;
(4) On all over $200,000, 9.85 percent.

(d) In lieu of a tax computed according to the rates set forth in this subdivision, the tax
of any individual taxpayer whose taxable net income for the taxable year is less than an
amount determined by the commissioner must be computed in accordance with tables
prepared and issued by the commissioner of revenue based on income brackets of not more
than $100. The amount of tax for each bracket shall be computed at the rates set forth in
this subdivision, provided that the commissioner may disregard a fractional part of a dollar

unless it amounts to 50 cents or more, in which case it may be increased to $1.

(e) An individual who is not a Minnesota resident for the entire year must compute the
individual's Minnesota income tax as provided in this subdivision. After the application of
the nonrefundable credits provided in this chapter, the tax liability must then be multiplied

by a fraction in which:

(1) the numerator is the individual's Minnesota source federal adjusted gross income as

defined in section 62 of the Internal Revenue Code and increased by:

(1) the additions required under seetion sections 290.0131, subdivisions 2 and 6 to 11,
and 290.0137, paragraph (a); and reduced by

(i1) the Minnesota assignable portion of the subtraction for United States government
interest under section 290.0132, subdivision 2, and the subtractions under seetiort sections

290.0132, subdivisions 9, 10, 14, 15, 17, and 18, and 290.0137, paragraph (¢), after applying

the allocation and assignability provisions of section 290.081, clause (a), or 290.17; and

(2) the denominator is the individual's federal adjusted gross income as defined in section

62 of the Internal Revenue Code, increased by:
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(1) the amounts-specified-in-seetion additions required under sections 290.0131,
subdivisions 2 and 6 to 11, and 290.0137, paragraph (a); and reduced by

(1) the ameunts-speetfied-in-seetion subtractions under sections 290.0132, subdivisions
2,9,10, 14, 15, 17, and 18, and 290.0137, paragraph (c).

EFFECTIVE DATE. The amendment to paragraph (a) is effective for taxable years

beginning after December 31, 2017. The amendment to paragraph (e) is effective the day

following final enactment.

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 290.06, subdivision 2d, is amended to read:

Subd. 2d. Inflation adjustment of brackets. (a) For taxable years beginning after
December 31, 2013, the minimum and maximum dollar amounts for each rate bracket for
which a tax is imposed in subdivision 2¢ shall be adjusted for inflation by the percentage
determined under paragraph (b). For the purpose of making the adjustment as provided in
this subdivision all of the rate brackets provided in subdivision 2c shall be the rate brackets
as they existed for taxable years beginning after December 31, 2012, and before January 1,
2014. The rate applicable to any rate bracket must not be changed. The dollar amounts
setting forth the tax shall be adjusted to reflect the changes in the rate brackets. The rate
brackets as adjusted must be rounded to the nearest $10 amount. If the rate bracket ends in

$5, it must be rounded up to the nearest $10 amount.

(b) The commissioner shall adjust the rate brackets and by the percentage determined
pursuant to the provisions of section 1(f) of the Internal Revenue Code, except that in section
1(H)(3)(B) the word "2012" shall be substituted for the word "1992." For 2014, the
commissioner shall then determine the percent change from the 12 months ending on August
31, 2012, to the 12 months ending on August 31, 2013, and in each subsequent year, from
the 12 months ending on August 31, 2012, to the 12 months ending on August 31 of the

year preceding the taxable year. The commissioner shall determine the rate bracket for

married filing separate returns after this adjustment is done. The rate bracket for married

filing separate must be one-half of the rate bracket for married filing joint. The determination

of the commissioner pursuant to this subdivision shall not be considered a "rule" and shall

not be subject to the Administrative Procedure Act contained in chapter 14.

No later than December 15 of each year, the commissioner shall announce the specific

percentage that will be used to adjust the tax rate brackets.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for taxable years beginning after December

31, 2017.
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Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 290.92, subdivision 28, is amended to read:

Subd. 28. Payments to horse racing license holders. Effective with payments made
after April 1, 1988, any holder of a license issued by the Minnesota Racing Commission
who makes a payment for personal or professional services to a holder of a class C license
issued by the commission, except an amount paid as a purse, shall deduct from the payment
and withhold 6.25 percent of the amount as Minnesota withholding tax when the amount
paid to that individual by the same person during the calendar year exceeds $600. For
purposes of the provisions of this section, a payment to any person which is subject to
withholding under this subdivision must be treated as if the payment was a wage paid by
an employer to an employee. Every individual who is to receive a payment which is subject
to withholding under this subdivision shall furnish the license holder with a statement, made
under the penalties of perjury, containing the name, address, and Social Security account
number of the person receiving the payment. No withholding is required if the individual
presents a signed certificate from the individual's employer which states that the individual
is an employee of that employer. A nonresident individual who holds a class C license must

be treated as an athlete for purposes of applying the provisions of subdivision 4a and section
290.17, subdivision 2(H)EH(a)(2)(i1).

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 462D.03, subdivision 2, is amended

to read:

Subd. 2. Designation of qualified beneficiary. (a) The account holder must designate
a first-time home buyer as the qualified beneficiary of the account by-April15-efthe-year

in a form and manner prescribed by the commissioner following the taxable year in which

the account was established. The account holder may be the qualified beneficiary. The
account holder may change the designated qualified beneficiary at any time, but no more
than one qualified beneficiary may be designated for an account at any one time. For purposes
of the one beneficiary restriction, a married couple qualifies as one beneficiary. Changing
the designated qualified beneficiary of an account does not affect computation of the ten-year

period under section 462D.06, subdivision 2.

(b) The commissioner shall establish a process for account holders to notify the state
that permits recording of the account, the account holder or holders, any transfers under
section 462D.04, subdivision 2, and the designated qualified beneficiary for each account.
This may be done upon filing the account holder's income tax return or in any other way

the commissioner determines to be appropriate.
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EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

ARTICLE 9

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE; SALES AND USE TAXES; TECHNICAL CHANGES

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 297A.68, subdivision 17, is amended to read:

Subd. 17. Ships used in interstate commerce; other vessels. Repair, replacement, and

rebuilding parts and materials, and lubricants, for the following are exempt:

(1) ships or vessels used or to be used principally in interstate or foreign commerce are
exempt:; and
(2) vessels with a gross registered tonnage of at least 3,000 tons are-exempt.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 297A.68, subdivision 44, is amended to read:

Subd. 44. Greater Minnesota business expansions. (a) Purchases and use of tangible
personal property or taxable services by a qualified business;-as-defined-in-seetionH6}-8738;

are exempt if:

(1) the commissioner of employment and economic development certifies to the

commissioner of revenue, in a format approved by the commissioner of revenue, that the

qualified business meets the requirements under section 116J.8738;

(2) the business subsidy agreement provides that the exemption under this subdivision

applies;

2) (3) the property or services are primarily used or consumed at the facility in greater

Minnesota identified in the business subsidy agreement; and

3) (4) the purchase was made and delivery received during the duration of the

& business subsidy

agreement.

(b) Purchase and use of construction materials and supplies used or consumed in, and
equipment incorporated into, the construction of improvements to real property in greater
Minnesota are exempt if the improvements after completion of construction are to be used

in the conduct of the trade or business of the qualified business, as-defined-in-—seetion

H-6F8738 and the commissioner of employment and economic development certifies to

the commissioner of revenue, in a format approved by the commissioner of revenue, that
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the qualified business meets the requirements under section 116J.8738. This exemption

applies regardless of whether the purchases are made by the business or a contractor.
(c) The exemptions under this subdivision apply to a local sales and use tax.

(d) The tax on purchases imposed under this subdivision must be imposed and collected
as if the rate under section 297A.62 applied, and then refunded in the manner provided in
section 297A.75. The total amount refunded for a facility over the certification period is
limited to the amount listed in the business subsidy agreement. No more than $7,000,000
may be refunded in a fiscal year for all purchases under this subdivision. Refunds must be
allocated on a first-come, first-served basis. If more than $7,000,000 of eligible claims are
made in a fiscal year, claims by qualified businesses carry over to the next fiscal year, and
the commissioner of revenue must first allocate refunds to qualified businesses eligible for
a refund in the preceding fiscal year. Any portion of the balance of funds allocated for
refunds under this paragraph does not cancel and shall be carried forward to and available
for refunds in subsequent fiscal years. Notwithstanding section 297A.75, subdivision 4, for
an eligible refund claim that carries over to a subsequent fiscal year, the interest on the
amount carried over must be paid on the refund no sooner than from 90 days after July 1

of the fiscal year in which funds are available for the eligible claim.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 297A.71, subdivision 45, is amended to read:

Subd. 45. Biopharmaceutical manufacturing facility. (a) Materials and supplies used
or consumed in, capital equipment incorporated into, and privately owned infrastructure in
support of the construction, improvement, or expansion of a biopharmaceutical manufacturing

facility in the state are exempt if the commissioner of employment and economic

development certifies to the commissioner of revenue that the following criteria are met:

(1) the facility is used for the manufacturing of biologics;
(2) the total capital investment made at the facility exceeds $50,000,000; and

(3) the facility creates and maintains at least 190 full-time equivalent positions at the
facility. These positions must be new jobs in Minnesota and not the result of relocating jobs

that currently exist in Minnesota.

(b) The tax must be imposed and collected as if the rate under section 297A.62 applied,

and refunded in the manner provided in section 297A.75.

Article 9 Sec. 3. 129



130.1

130.2

130.3

130.4

130.5

130.6

130.7

130.8

130.9

130.10

130.11

130.12

130.13

130.14

130.15

130.16

130.17

130.18

130.19

130.20

130.21

130.22

130.23

130.24

130.25

130.26

130.27

130.28

130.29

130.30

130.31

04/21/18 12:28 PM HOUSE RESEARCH PD/RK H4385DE1

(c) To be eligible for a refund, the owner of the biopharmaceutical manufacturing facility

must:

(1) initially apply to the Department commissioner of employment and economic

development for certification no later than one year from the final completion date of

construction, improvement, or expansion of the facility; and

(2) for each year that the owner of the biopharmaceutical manufacturing facility applies

for a refund, the ewner commissioner must have received written certification from the

Department commissioner of employment and economic development that the facility has

met the criteria of paragraph (a).

(d) The refund is to be paid annually at a rate of 25 percent of the total allowable refund
payable to date, with the commissioner making annual payments of the remaining refund

until all of the refund has been paid.

(e) For purposes of this subdivision, "biopharmaceutical" and "biologics" are
interchangeable and mean medical drugs or medicinal preparations produced using
technology that uses biological systems, living organisms, or derivatives of living organisms
to make or modify products or processes for specific use. The medical drugs or medicinal

preparations include but are not limited to proteins, antibodies, nucleic acids, and vaccines.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 297A.77, is amended by adding a subdivision to

read:

Subd. 5. Records must be kept. Every person liable for any tax imposed by this chapter,

or for the collection thereof, shall keep such records, render such statements, make such

returns, and comply with such rules, as the commissioner may from time to time prescribe.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

ARTICLE 10

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE; TOBACCO TAXES; TECHNICAL CHANGES

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 297F.01, subdivision 19, is amended to read:

Subd. 19. Tobacco products. (a) "Tobacco products" means any product containing,
made, or derived from tobacco that is intended for human consumption, whether chewed,
smoked, absorbed, dissolved, inhaled, snorted, sniftfed, or ingested by any other means, or

any component, part, or accessory of a tobacco product, including, but not limited to, cigars;

Article 10 Section 1. 130



131.1

131.2

131.3

131.4

131.5

131.6

131.7

131.8

131.9

131.10

131.11

131.12

131.13

131.14

131.15

131.16

131.17

131.18

131.19

131.20

131.21

131.22

131.23

131.24

131.25

131.26

131.27

131.28

131.29

131.30

131.31

131.32

04/21/18 12:28 PM HOUSE RESEARCH PD/RK H4385DE1

cheroots; stogies; periques; granulated, plug cut, crimp cut, ready rubbed, and other smoking
tobacco; snuff; snuff flour; cavendish; plug and twist tobacco; fine-cut and other chewing
tobacco; shorts; refuse scraps, clippings, cuttings and sweepings of tobacco, and other kinds
and forms of tobacco; but does not include cigarettes as defined in this section. Tobacco

products includes vapor products. Tobacco products excludes any tobacco product that has

been approved by the United States Food and Drug Administration for sale as a tobacco
cessation product, as a tobacco dependence product, or for other medical purposes, and is

being marketed and sold solely for such an approved purpose.

(b) Except for the imposition of tax under section 297F.05, subdivisions 3 and 4, tobacco

products includes a premium cigar, as defined in subdivision 13a.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 297F.01, is amended by adding a subdivision to

read:

Subd. 22b. Vapor products. (a) "Vapor products" means any cartridge, bottle, or other

package that contains nicotine made or derived from tobacco, that is in a solution that is

consumed, or meant to be consumed, through the use of a heating element, power source,

electronic circuit, or other electronic, chemical, or mechanical means that produces vapor

from the nicotine. This paragraph expires December 31, 2018.

(b) Beginning January 1, 2019, "vapor products" means any cartridge, bottle, or other

package that contains nicotine, including nicotine produced from sources other than tobacco,

that is in a solution that is consumed, or meant to be consumed, through the use of a heating

element, power source, electronic circuit, or other electronic, chemical, or mechanical means

that produces vapor from the nicotine.

(c) Vapor products includes any electronic cigarette, electronic cigar, electronic cigarillo,

electronic pipe, or similar product or device, and any batteries, heating elements, or other

components, parts, or accessories sold with and meant to be used in the consumption of the

nicotine solution.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 297F.01, subdivision 23, is amended to read:

Subd. 23. Wholesale sales price. "Wholesale sales price" means the price at which a
distributor purchases a tobacco product. Wholesale sales price includes the applicable federal

excise tax, freight charges, or packaging costs, regardless of whether they were included in
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the purchase price. Wholesale sales price of a vapor product does not include the cost of a

product, device, component, part, or accessory described in subdivision 22b that is sold

with a nicotine solution if the distributor sells the cartridge of nicotine solution separately

and can isolate the cost of the product, device, component, part, or accessory.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

ARTICLE 11

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE; PROPERTY TAXES; TECHNICAL CHANGES

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 270C.85, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Powers and duties. The commissioner shall have and exercise the following

powers and duties in administering the property tax laws::

ta) (1) confer with, advise, and give the necessary instructions and directions to local
assessors and local boards of review throughout the state as to their duties under the laws

of the state:;

b) (2) direct proceedings, actions, and prosecutions to be instituted to enforce the laws
relating to the liability and punishment of public officers and officers and agents of
corporations for failure or negligence to comply with the provisions of the property tax
laws, and cause complaints to be made against local assessors, members of boards of
equalization, members of boards of review, or any other assessing or taxing officer, to the

proper authority, for their removal from office for misconduct or negligence of duty-;

e) (3) require county attorneys to assist in the commencement of prosecutions in actions
or proceedings for removal, forfeiture, and punishment, for violation of the property tax

laws in their respective districts or counties:;

&) (4) require town, city, county, and other public officers to report and certify

information, at the parcel level or in the aggregate, as to the assessment and taxation of real

and personal property, and such other information as may be needful in the work of the
commissioner;in-such-form-as-the-eommissioner-may-presertbe. The commissioner shall

prescribe the content, format, manner, and time of filing of all required reports and

certifications;

te) (5) transmit to the governor, on or before the third Monday in December of each
even-numbered year, and to each member of the legislature, on or before November 15 of

each even-numbered year, the report of the department for the preceding years, showing all
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the taxable property subject to the property tax laws and the value of the same, in tabulated
form:;

9 (6) inquire into the methods of assessment and taxation and ascertain whether the

assessors faithfully discharge their duties:; and

tg) (7) assist local assessors in determining the estimated market value of industrial
special-use property. For purposes of this paragraph clause, "industrial special-use property"

means property that:
B (1) 1s designed and equipped for a particular type of industry;
2) (ii) is not easily adapted to some other use due to the unique nature of the facilities;
3) (1i1) has facilities totaling at least 75,000 square feet in size; and

4 (iv) has a total estimated market value of $10,000,000 or greater based on the

assessor's preliminary determination.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 270C.89, subdivision 1, is amended

to read:

Subdivision 1. Initial report. Each county assessor shall file by-Apri+ with the

commissioner a copy of the-abstraet preliminary assessment information that the

commissioner may require under section 270C.85, subdivision 2, clause (4), that will be

acted upon by the local and county boards of review. The-abstract-mustlist-thereal-and
personal-property-in-the county itemized by-assessment-distriets: The assessor of each county

in the state shall file with the commissioner, within ten working days following final action

of the local board of review or equalization and within five days following final action of

the county board of equalization, any changes made by the local or county board. Fhe

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 270C.89, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Final report. The final abstraet-of-assessments assessment information after

adjustments by the State Board of Equalization and inclusion of any omitted property shall

be submitted reported to the commissioner en-or-before-September1-of-eachcalendaryear
under section 270C.85, subdivision 2, clause (4). The-final-abstractmust-separatelyreport

h o n ad n N 2 amaen nan N a ndo a ~n-4.60
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EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 270C.91, is amended to read:

270C.91 RECORD OF PROCEEDINGS CHANGING NET TAX CAPACITY;
DUTIES OF COUNTY AUDITOR.

A record of all proceedings of the commissioner affecting any change in the net tax
capacity of any property, as revised by the State Board of Equalization, shall be kept by the
commissioner and a copy thereof, duly certified, shall be mailed each year to the auditor of
each county wherein such property is situated, on or before June 30 er30-days-after
submission-of the-abstractrequired by-seetion 270C-89;whicheveristater. This record shall
specify the amounts or amount, or both, added to or deducted from the net tax capacity of
the real property of each of the several towns and cities, and of the real property not in towns
or cities, also the percent or amount of both, added to or deducted from the several classes
of personal property in each of the towns and cities, and also the amount added to or deducted
from the assessment of any person. The county auditor shall add to or deduct from such
tract or lot, or portion thereof, of any real property in the county the required percent or
amount, or both, on the net tax capacity thereof as it stood after equalized by the county
board, adding in each case a fractional sum of 50 cents or more, and deducting in each case
any fractional sum of less than 50 cents, so that no net tax capacity of any separate tract or
lot shall contain any fraction of a dollar; and add to, or deduct from, the several classes of
personal property in the county the required percent or amount, or both, on the net tax
capacity thereof as it stood after equalized by the county board, adding or deducting in
manner aforesaid any fractional sum so that no net tax capacity of any separate class of
personal property shall contain a fraction of a dollar, and add to or deduct from assessment
of any person, as they stood after equalization by the county board, the required amounts

to agree with the assessments as returned by the commissioner.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 273.061, subdivision 9, is amended to read:

Subd. 9. Additional general duties. Additional duties of the county assessor shall-be

are as follows:

Article 11 Sec. 5. 134



135.1

135.2

135.3

1354

135.5

135.6

135.7

135.8

135.9

135.10

135.11

135.12

135.13

135.14

135.15

135.16

135.17

135.18

135.19

135.20

135.21

135.22

135.23

135.24

135.25

135.26

135.27

135.28

135.29

135.30

135.31

04/21/18 12:28 PM HOUSE RESEARCH PD/RK H4385DE1

(1) to make all assessments, based upon the appraised values reported by the local
assessors or assistants and the county assessor's own knowledge of the value of the property

assessed;

(2) to personally view and determine the value of any property whieh that because of

its type or character may be difficult for the local assessor to appraise;

(3) to make all changes ordered by the local boards of review, relative to the net tax
capacity of the property of any individual, firm or corporation after notice has been given

and hearings held as provided by law;

(4) to enter all assessments in the assessment books, furnished by the county auditor,

with each book and the tabular statements for each book in correct balance;

(5) to prepare all assessment cards, charts, maps and any other forms prescribed by the

commissioner of revenue;

(6) to attend the meeting of the county board of equalization; to investigate and report
on any assessment ordered by said board; to enter all changes made by said board in the
assessment books and prepare the-abstract-of-assessments-for the-commisstoner-of revenue

information reported to the commissioner under section 270C.85, subdivision 2, clause (4);

to enter all changes made by the State Board of Equalization in the assessment books; to
deduct all exemptions authorized by law from each assessment and certify to the county
auditor the taxable value of each parcel of land, as described and listed in the assessment
books by the county auditor, and the taxable value of the personal property of each person,

firm, or corporation assessed;

(7) to investigate and make recommendations relative to all applications for the abatement

of taxes or applications for the reduction of the net tax capacity of any property; and

(8) to perform all other duties relating to the assessment of property for the purpose of

taxation which may be required by the commissioner of revenue.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 273.0755, is amended to read:

273.0755 TRAINING AND EDUCATION OF PROPERTY TAX PERSONNEL.

(a) Beginning with the four-year period starting on July 1, 2000, every person licensed
by the state Board of Assessors at the Accredited Minnesota Assessor level or higher, shall

successfully complete a weeklong Minnesota laws course sponsored by the Department of
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Revenue at least once in every four-year period. An assessor need not attend the course if

they successfully pass the test for the course.

(b) The commissioner of revenue may require that each county, and each city for which
the city assessor performs the duties of county assessor, have () (1) a person on the assessor's
staff who 1s certified by the Department of Revenue in sales ratio calculations, (i) (2) an
officer or employee who is certified by the Department of Revenue in tax calculations, and
@i (3) an officer or employee who is certified by the Department of Revenue in the proper

preparation of

properpreparation-of-abstracts-of tax-lists information reported to the commissioner under

section 270C.85, subdivision 2, clause (4). Certifications under this paragraph expire after

four years.

(c) Beginning with the four-year educational licensing period starting on July 1, 2004,
every Minnesota assessor licensed by the State Board of Assessors must attend and participate
in a seminar that focuses on ethics, professional conduct and the need for standardized
assessment practices developed and presented by the commissioner of revenue. This
requirement must be met at least once in every subsequent four-year period. This requirement

applies to all assessors licensed for one year or more in the four-year period.

(d) When the commissioner of revenue determines that an individual or board that
performs functions related to property tax administration has performed those functions in
a manner that is not uniform or equitable, the commissioner may require that the individual
or members of the board complete supplemental training. The commissioner may not require
that an individual complete more than 32 hours of supplemental training pursuant to this
paragraph. If the individual is required to complete supplemental training due to that
individual's membership on a local or county board of appeal and equalization, the
commissioner may not require that the individual complete more than two hours of

supplemental training.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 273.113, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Reimbursement for lost revenue. The county auditor shall certify to the

commissioner of revenue;-as-part-efthe-abstracts-of taxtists required-to-be-filed-with-the

eeommisstener under section 27529 270C.85, subdivision 2, clause (4), the amount of tax

lost to the county from the property tax credit under subdivision 2. Any prior year adjustments
must also be certified in-the-abstraets-eftaxlists. The commissioner of revenue shall review
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the certifications to determine their accuracy. The commissioner may make the changes in
the certification that are considered necessary or return a certification to the county auditor
for corrections. The commissioner shall reimburse each taxing district, other than school
districts, for the taxes lost. The payments must be made at the time provided in section
473H.10 for payment to taxing jurisdictions in the same proportion that the ad valorem tax
is distributed. Reimbursements to school districts must be made as provided in section
273.1392. The amount necessary to make the reimbursements under this section is annually

appropriated from the general fund to the commissioner of revenue.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 273.119, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Reimbursement for lost revenue. The county may transfer money from the
county conservation account created in section 40A.152 to the county revenue fund to
reimburse the fund for the cost of the property tax credit. The county auditor shall certify

to the commissioner of revenue;-as-part-efthe-abstracts-oftaxlistsrequired-to-be-filed-with
the-eemmisstoner under section 275:29 270C.85, subdivision 2, clause (4), the amount of

tax lost to the county from the property tax credit under subdivision 1 and the extent that
the tax lost exceeds funds available in the county conservation account. Any prior year
adjustments must also be certified n-the-abstraets-eftaxtists. The commissioner of revenue
shall review the certifications to determine their accuracy. The commissioner may make
the changes in the certification that are considered necessary or return a certification to the
county auditor for corrections. The commissioner shall reimburse each taxing district, other
than school districts, from the Minnesota conservation fund under section 40A.151 for the
taxes lost in excess of the county account. The payments must be made at the time provided
in section 473H.10, subdivision 3, for payment to taxing jurisdictions in the same proportion

that the ad valorem tax is distributed.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 273.1231, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Disaster or emergency area. (a) "Disaster or emergency area" means a

geographic area for which:

(1)(1) the president of the United States, the secretary of agriculture, or the administrator
of the Small Business Administration has determined that a disaster exists pursuant to federal

law, or
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(i1) a local emergency has been declared pursuant to section 12.29; and

(2) an application by the local unit of government requesting property tax relief under

this section has been received by the governor and approved by the executive council.
(b) The executive council must not approve an application unless:
(1) a completed disaster survey is included; and

(2) within the boundaries of the applicant, (1) the average damage for the buildings that
are damaged is at least $5,000, and (ii) either at least 25 taxable buildings were damaged,
or the total dollar amount of damage to all taxable buildings equals or exceeds one percent
of the total taxable market value of buildings for the applicant as reported to the commissioner

of revenue under section 270€89;-subdivisten2 270C.85, subdivision 2, clause (4), for the

assessment in the year prior to the year of the damage.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 273.136, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Reduction amounts submitted to county. The commissioner of revenue shall
determine, not later than April 1 of each year, the amount of reduction resulting from section

273.135 in each county containing a tax relief area as defined by section 273.134, paragraph

(b), basing determinations on a review of abstraets-oftaxlistssubmitted-by-the-eounty

auditerspurstantto-seetion 27529 information reported to the commissioner under section
270C.85, subdivision 2, clause (4). The commissioner may make changes in-the-abstraets

eftax-lists as deemed necessary. The commissioner of revenue, after such review, shall
submit to the St. Louis County auditor, on or before April 15, the amount of the first half
payment payable hereunder and on or before September 15 the amount of the second half

payment.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 273.1384, subdivision 2, is amended

to read:

Subd. 2. Agricultural homestead market value credit. Property classified as agricultural
homestead under section 273.13, subdivision 23, paragraph (a), is eligible for an agricultural
credit. The credit is computed using the property's agricultural credit market value, defined
for this purpose as the property's market value excluding the market value of the house,
garage, and immediately surrounding one acre of land. The credit is equal to 0.3 percent of

the first $115,000 of the property's agricultural credit market value plus 0.1 percent of the
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property's agricultural credit market value in excess of $115,000, subject to a maximum

credit of $490 for a full agricultural homestead. In the case of property that is classified as

part homestead and part nonhomestead solely because not all the owners occupy or farm
the property, not all the owners have qualifying relatives occupying or farming the property,
or solely because not all the spouses of owners occupy the property, the credit is computed
on the amount of agricultural credit market value corresponding to the percentage of

homestead, and the maximum credit equals $490 multiplied by the percentage of homestead.

The percentage of homestead is equal to 100 divided by the number of owners of the property,

or, in the case of a trust, the number of grantors of the trust that owns the property.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for taxes payable in 2019 and thereafter.

Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 273.1384, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Credit reimbursements. The county auditor shall determine the tax reductions

allowed under subdivision 2 within the county for each taxes payable year and shall certify

that amount to the commissioner of revenue as-a-part-ofthe-abstracts-of taxlists-submitted

by-the-ecounty-auditors-underseetion 27529 under section 270C.85, subdivision 2, clause
(4). Any prior year adjustments shall also be certified en-the-abstraets-oftaxlists. The

commissioner shall review the certifications for accuracy, and may make such changes as
are deemed necessary, or return the certification to the county auditor for correction. The
credit under this section must be used to proportionately reduce the net tax capacity-based

property tax payable to each local taxing jurisdiction as provided in section 273.1393.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 273.1387, subdivision 3, is amended

to read:

Subd. 3. Credit reimbursements. The county auditor shall determine the tax reductions
allowed under this section within the county for each taxes payable year and shall certify
that amount to the commissioner of revenue as-a-part-of-the-abstracts-of taxlists submitted
under-seetion275-29 under section 270C.85, subdivision 2, clause (4). Any prior year
adjustments shall also be certified en-the-abstraets-eftaxtists. The commissioner shall

review the certifications for accuracy, and may make such changes as are deemed necessary,
or return the certification to the county auditor for correction. The credit under this section
must be used to reduce the school district net tax capacity-based property tax as provided

1n section 273.1393.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
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Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 273.18, is amended to read:

273.18 LISTING, VALUATION, AND ASSESSMENT OF EXEMPT PROPERTY
BY COUNTY AUDITORS.

(a) In every sixth year after the year 2010, the county auditor shall enter the description
of each tract of real property exempt by law from taxation, with the name of the owner, and
the assessor shall value and assess the same in the same manner that other real property is
valued and assessed, and shall designate in each case the purpose for which the property is

used.

7% The county auditor shall include en-the-abstract-of-assessment-efexemptreal property
filed-underthis-seetion in the exempt property information that the commissioner may

require under section 270C.85, subdivision 2, clause (4), the total number of acres of all

natural resources lands for which in lieu payments are made under sections 477A.11 to
477A.14. The assessor shall estimate its market value, provided that if the assessor is not
able to estimate the market value of the land on a per parcel basis, the assessor shall furnish
the commissioner of revenue with an estimate of the average value per acre of this land

within the county.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 274.14, is amended to read:

274.14 LENGTH OF SESSION; RECORD.

The board must meet after the second Friday in June on at least one meeting day and
may meet for up to ten consecutive meeting days. The actual meeting dates must be contained
on the valuation notices mailed to each property owner in the county as provided in section
273.121. For this purpose, "meeting days" is defined as any day of the week excluding
Sunday. At the board's discretion, "meeting days" may include Saturday. No action taken
by the county board of review after June 30 is valid, except for corrections permitted in
sections 273.01 and 274.01. The county auditor shall keep an accurate record of the
proceedings and orders of the board. The record must be published like other proceedings
of county commissioners. A copy of the published record must be sent to the commissioner

of revenue;-with-the-abstract-ef-assessment required-by-seetton274-16 within five days

following final action of the county board of equalization.

For counties that conduct either regular board of review meetings or open book meetings,

at least one of the meeting days must include a meeting that does not end before 7:00 p.m.
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For counties that require taxpayer appointments for the board of review, appointments must
include some available times that extend until at least 7:00 p.m. The county may have a
Saturday meeting in lieu of, or in addition to, the extended meeting times under this

paragraph.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 274.16, 1s amended to read:

274.16 CORRECTED LISTS;ABSTRACTS.

The county assessor or, in Ramsey County, the official designated by the board of county
commissioners shall calculate the changes of the assessment lists determined by the county
board of equalization, and make corrections accordingly, in the real or personal lists, or
both, and shall make duplieate-abstraets duplicates of them. One must be filed in the assessor's
office, and one must be forwarded to the commissioner of revenue as provided in section

270C.89.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 275.025, subdivision 1, is amended

to read:

Subdivision 1. Levy amount. The state general levy is levied against
commercial-industrial property and seasonal residential recreational property, as defined
in this section. The state general levy for commercial-industrial property is $784,590,000
for taxes payable in 2018 and thereafter. The state general levy for seasonal-recreational
property is $44,190,000 for taxes payable in 2018 and thereafter. The tax under this section
is not treated as a local tax rate under section 469.177 and is not the levy of a governmental

unit under chapters 276A and 473F.

The commissioner shall increase or decrease the preliminary or final rate for a year as
necessary to account for errors and tax base changes that affected a preliminary or final rate
for either of the two preceding years. Adjustments are allowed to the extent that the necessary
information is available to the commissioner at the time the rates for a year must be certified,

and for the following reasons:
(1) an erroneous report of taxable value by a local official;

(2) an erroneous calculation by the commissioner; and
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(3) an increase or decrease in taxable value for commercial-industrial or seasonal

residential recreational property reported en-the-abstracts-eftaxtists submittedunderseetion

to the commissioner under section 270C.85, subdivision 2, clause (4), for the same year.

The commissioner may, but need not, make adjustments if the total difference in the tax

levied for the year would be less than $100,000.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 290B.09, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Determination; payment. The county auditor shall determine the total
current year's deferred amount of property tax under this chapter in the county, and submit
report those amounts as-part-of-the-abstracts-of tax-lists-submitted by-the-county-auditors
under-seetion 27529 to the commissioner under section 270C.85, subdivision 2, clause (4).
The commissioner may make changes in-the-abstraets-eftaxlists as deemed necessary. The

commissioner of revenue, after such review, shall pay the deferred amount of property tax

to each county treasurer on or before August 31.

The county treasurer shall distribute as part of the October settlement the funds received

as if they had been collected as a part of the property tax.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 469.177, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Original net tax capacity. (a) Upon or after adoption of a tax increment
financing plan, the auditor of any county in which the district is situated shall, upon request
of the authority, certify the original net tax capacity of the tax increment financing district
and that portion of the district overlying any subdistrict as described in the tax increment
financing plan and shall certify in each year thereafter the amount by which the original net
tax capacity has increased or decreased as a result of a change in tax exempt status of
property within the district and any subdistrict, reduction or enlargement of the district or
changes pursuant to subdivision 4. The auditor shall certify the amount within 30 days after
receipt of the request and sufficient information to identify the parcels included in the district.

The certification relates to the taxes payable year as provided in subdivision 6.

(b) If the classification under section 273.13 of property located in a district changes to

a classification that has a different assessment ratio, the original net tax capacity of that
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property must be redetermined at the time when its use is changed as if the property had

originally been classified in the same class in which it is classified after its use is changed.

(c) The amount to be added to the original net tax capacity of the district as a result of
previously tax exempt real property within the district becoming taxable equals the net tax
capacity of the real property as most recently assessed pursuant to seetten273-18 information

reported to the commissioner under section 270C.85, subdivision 2, clause (4), or, if that

assessment was made more than one year prior to the date of title transfer rendering the
property taxable, the net tax capacity assessed by the assessor at the time of the transfer. If
improvements are made to tax exempt property after the municipality approves the district
and before the parcel becomes taxable, the assessor shall, at the request of the authority,
separately assess the estimated market value of the improvements. If the property becomes
taxable, the county auditor shall add to original net tax capacity, the net tax capacity of the
parcel, excluding the separately assessed improvements. If substantial taxable improvements
were made to a parcel after certification of the district and if the property later becomes tax
exempt, in whole or part, as a result of the authority acquiring the property through
foreclosure or exercise of remedies under a lease or other revenue agreement or as a result
of tax forfeiture, the amount to be added to the original net tax capacity of the district as a
result of the property again becoming taxable is the amount of the parcel's value that was
included in original net tax capacity when the parcel was first certified. The amount to be
added to the original net tax capacity of the district as a result of enlargements equals the
net tax capacity of the added real property as most recently certified by the commissioner
of revenue as of the date of modification of the tax increment financing plan pursuant to

section 469.175, subdivision 4.

(d) If the net tax capacity of a property increases because the property no longer qualifies
under the Minnesota Agricultural Property Tax Law, section 273.111; the Minnesota Open
Space Property Tax Law, section 273.112; or the Metropolitan Agricultural Preserves Act,
chapter 473H, the Rural Preserve Property Tax Program under section 273.114, or because
platted, unimproved property is improved or market value is increased after approval of the
plat under section 273.11, subdivision 14a or 14b, the increase in net tax capacity must be
added to the original net tax capacity. If the net tax capacity of a property increases because
the property no longer qualifies for the homestead market value exclusion under section
273.13, subdivision 35, the increase in net tax capacity must be added to original net tax
capacity if the original construction of the affected home was completed before the date the

assessor certified the original net tax capacity of the district.
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(e) The amount to be subtracted from the original net tax capacity of the district as a
result of previously taxable real property within the district becoming tax exempt or
qualifying in whole or part for an exclusion from taxable market value, or a reduction in
the geographic area of the district, shall be the amount of original net tax capacity initially
attributed to the property becoming tax exempt, being excluded from taxable market value,
or being removed from the district. If the net tax capacity of property located within the tax
increment financing district is reduced by reason of a court-ordered abatement, stipulation
agreement, voluntary abatement made by the assessor or auditor or by order of the
commissioner of revenue, the reduction shall be applied to the original net tax capacity of
the district when the property upon which the abatement is made has not been improved
since the date of certification of the district and to the captured net tax capacity of the district
in each year thereafter when the abatement relates to improvements made after the date of
certification. The county auditor may specify reasonable form and content of the request
for certification of the authority and any modification thereof pursuant to section 469.175,

subdivision 4.

(f) If a parcel of property contained a substandard building or improvements described
in section 469.174, subdivision 10, paragraph (e), that were demolished or removed and if
the authority elects to treat the parcel as occupied by a substandard building under section
469.174, subdivision 10, paragraph (b), or by improvements under section 469.174,
subdivision 10, paragraph (e), the auditor shall certify the original net tax capacity of the
parcel using the greater of (1) the current net tax capacity of the parcel, or (2) the estimated
market value of the parcel for the year in which the building or other improvements were

demolished or removed, but applying the classification rates for the current year.

(g) For a redevelopment district qualifying under section 469.174, subdivision 10,
paragraph (a), clause (4), as a qualified disaster area, the auditor shall certify the value of
the land as the original tax capacity for any parcel in the district that contains a building

that suffered substantial damage as a result of the disaster or emergency.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 20. REPEALER.

Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 275.29, is repealed.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
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145.1 ARTICLE 12

1452 DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE; MISCELLANEOUS; TECHNICAL CHANGES

1453 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 272.02, subdivision 27, is amended to read:

145.4 Subd. 27. Superior National Forest; recreational property for use by disabled

1455 veterans with a disability. Real and personal property is exempt if it is located in the

145.6  Superior National Forest, and owned or leased and operated by a nonprofit organization
1457 that is exempt from federal income taxation under section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue

1458 Code and primarily used to provide recreational opportunities for disabled veterans with a

145.9  disability and their families.

145.10 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

145.11  Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 272.02, subdivision 81, is amended to read:

145.12 Subd. 81. Certain recreational property for disabled veterans with a disability. Real

145.13 and personal property is exempt if it is located in a county in the metropolitan area with a
145.14 population of less than 500,000 according to the 2000 federal census, and owned or leased
145.15 and operated by a nonprofit organization, and primarily used to provide recreational

145.16 opportunities for disabled veterans with a disability and their families.

145.17 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

145.18  Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 273.032, is amended to read:

145.19 273.032 MARKET VALUE DEFINITION.

145.20 (a) Unless otherwise provided, for the purpose of determining any property tax levy
14521 limitation based on market value or any limit on net debt, the issuance of bonds, certificates
14522 of indebtedness, or capital notes based on market value, any qualification to receive state
145.23 aid based on market value, or any state aid amount based on market value, the terms "market

nn

145.24 value," "estimated market value," and "market valuation," whether equalized or unequalized,

145.25 mean the estimated market value of taxable property within the local unit of government

14526 before any of the following or similar adjustments for:

145.27 (1) the market value exclusions under:

145.28 (1) section 273.11, subdivisions 14a and 14c¢ (vacant platted land);

145.29 (11) section 273.11, subdivision 16 (certain improvements to homestead property);

145.30 (1i1) section 273.11, subdivisions 19 and 20 (certain improvements to business properties);
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(iv) section 273.11, subdivision 21 (homestead property damaged by mold);

(v) section 273.13, subdivision 34 (homestead of a disabled veteran with a disability or

family caregiver); or
(vi) section 273.13, subdivision 35 (homestead market value exclusion); or
(2) the deferment of value under:
(1) the Minnesota Agricultural Property Tax Law, section 273.111;
(i1) the Aggregate Resource Preservation Law, section 273.1115;
(111) the Minnesota Open Space Property Tax Law, section 273.112;
(iv) the rural preserves property tax program, section 273.114; or
(v) the Metropolitan Agricultural Preserves Act, section 473H.10; or
(3) the adjustments to tax capacity for:
(1) tax increment financing under sections 469.174 to 469.1794;
(11) fiscal disparities under chapter 276A or 473F; or
(1i1) powerline credit under section 273.425.

(b) Estimated market value under paragraph (a) also includes the market value of
tax-exempt property if the applicable law specifically provides that the limitation,

qualification, or aid calculation includes tax-exempt property.

nn

(c) Unless otherwise provided, "market value," "estimated market value," and "market
valuation" for purposes of property tax levy limitations and calculation of state aid, refer
to the estimated market value for the previous assessment year and for purposes of limits
on net debt, the issuance of bonds, certificates of indebtedness, or capital notes refer to the

estimated market value as last finally equalized.

(d) For purposes of a provision of a home rule charter or of any special law that is not
codified in the statutes and that imposes a levy limitation based on market value or any limit
on debt, the issuance of bonds, certificates of indebtedness, or capital notes based on market
value, the terms "market value," "taxable market value," and "market valuation," whether

equalized or unequalized, mean "estimated market value" as defined in paragraph (a).

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
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Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 273.13, subdivision 22, is amended

to read:

Subd. 22. Class 1. (a) Except as provided in subdivision 23 and in paragraphs (b) and
(c), real estate which is residential and used for homestead purposes is class la. In the case
of a duplex or triplex in which one of the units is used for homestead purposes, the entire
property is deemed to be used for homestead purposes. The market value of class 1a property

must be determined based upon the value of the house, garage, and land.

The first $500,000 of market value of class 1a property has a net classification rate of
one percent of its market value; and the market value of class 1a property that exceeds

$500,000 has a classification rate of 1.25 percent of its market value.

(b) Class 1b property includes homestead real estate or homestead manufactured homes

used for the purposes of a homestead by:

(1) any person who is blind as defined in section 256D.35, or the blind person who is
blind and the blind-persen's spouse of the person who is blind;

(2) any person who is permanently and totally disabled or by the disabled person with
a disability and the disabled-persen's spouse of the person with a disability; or

(3) the surviving spouse of a veteran who was permanently and totally disabled veteran

homesteading a property classified under this paragraph for taxes payable in 2008.

Property is classified and assessed under clause (2) only if the government agency or
income-providing source certifies, upon the request of the homestead occupant, that the
homestead occupant satisfies the disability requirements of this paragraph, and that the

property is not eligible for the valuation exclusion under subdivision 34.

Property is classified and assessed under paragraph (b) only if the commissioner of
revenue or the county assessor certifies that the homestead occupant satisfies the requirements

of this paragraph.

Permanently and totally disabled for the purpose of this subdivision means a condition
which is permanent in nature and totally incapacitates the person from working at an
occupation which brings the person an income. The first $50,000 market value of class 1b
property has a net classification rate of .45 percent of its market value. The remaining market
value of class 1b property is classified as class 1a or class 2a property, whichever is

appropriate.

(c) Class lc property is commercial use real and personal property that abuts public

water as defined in section 103G.005, subdivision 15, or abuts a state trail administered by
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the Department of Natural Resources, and is devoted to temporary and seasonal residential
occupancy for recreational purposes but not devoted to commercial purposes for more than
250 days in the year preceding the year of assessment, and that includes a portion used as
a homestead by the owner, which includes a dwelling occupied as a homestead by a
shareholder of a corporation that owns the resort, a partner in a partnership that owns the
resort, or a member of a limited liability company that owns the resort even if the title to
the homestead is held by the corporation, partnership, or limited liability company. For
purposes of this paragraph, property is devoted to a commercial purpose on a specific day
if any portion of the property, excluding the portion used exclusively as a homestead, is
used for residential occupancy and a fee is charged for residential occupancy. Class 1c
property must contain three or more rental units. A "rental unit" is defined as a cabin,
condominium, townhouse, sleeping room, or individual camping site equipped with water
and electrical hookups for recreational vehicles. Class 1¢ property must provide recreational
activities such as the rental of ice fishing houses, boats and motors, snowmobiles, downhill
or cross-country ski equipment; provide marina services, launch services, or guide services;
or sell bait and fishing tackle. Any unit in which the right to use the property is transferred
to an individual or entity by deeded interest, or the sale of shares or stock, no longer qualifies
for class 1c even though it may remain available for rent. A camping pad offered for rent
by a property that otherwise qualifies for class 1c is also class 1c, regardless of the term of
the rental agreement, as long as the use of the camping pad does not exceed 250 days. If
the same owner owns two separate parcels that are located in the same township, and one
of those properties is classified as a class 1¢ property and the other would be eligible to be
classified as a class 1c property if it was used as the homestead of the owner, both properties
will be assessed as a single class 1c property; for purposes of this sentence, properties are
deemed to be owned by the same owner if each of them is owned by a limited liability
company, and both limited liability companies have the same membership. The portion of
the property used as a homestead is class 1a property under paragraph (a). The remainder
of the property is classified as follows: the first $600,000 of market value is tier I, the next
$1,700,000 of market value is tier II, and any remaining market value is tier III. The
classification rates for class 1c are: tier I, 0.50 percent; tier II, 1.0 percent; and tier III, 1.25
percent. Owners of real and personal property devoted to temporary and seasonal residential
occupancy for recreation purposes in which all or a portion of the property was devoted to
commercial purposes for not more than 250 days in the year preceding the year of assessment
desiring classification as class 1c¢, must submit a declaration to the assessor designating the
cabins or units occupied for 250 days or less in the year preceding the year of assessment

by January 15 of the assessment year. Those cabins or units and a proportionate share of
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the land on which they are located must be designated as class 1¢ as otherwise provided.
The remainder of the cabins or units and a proportionate share of the land on which they
are located must be designated as class 3a commercial. The owner of property desiring
designation as class 1¢ property must provide guest registers or other records demonstrating
that the units for which class 1¢ designation is sought were not occupied for more than 250
days in the year preceding the assessment if so requested. The portion of a property operated
as a (1) restaurant, (2) bar, (3) gift shop, (4) conference center or meeting room, and (5)
other nonresidential facility operated on a commercial basis not directly related to temporary

and seasonal residential occupancy for recreation purposes does not qualify for class Ic.
(d) Class 1d property includes structures that meet all of the following criteria:

(1) the structure is located on property that is classified as agricultural property under

section 273.13, subdivision 23;

(2) the structure is occupied exclusively by seasonal farm workers during the time when
they work on that farm, and the occupants are not charged rent for the privilege of occupying
the property, provided that use of the structure for storage of farm equipment and produce

does not disqualify the property from classification under this paragraph;

(3) the structure meets all applicable health and safety requirements for the appropriate

season; and

(4) the structure is not salable as residential property because it does not comply with

local ordinances relating to location in relation to streets or roads.

The market value of class 1d property has the same classification rates as class 1a property

under paragraph (a).

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 273.13, subdivision 34, is amended

to read:

Subd. 34. Homestead of disabled veteran with a disability or family caregiver. (a)

All or a portion of the market value of property owned by a veteran and serving as the
veteran's homestead under this section is excluded in determining the property's taxable
market value if the veteran has a service-connected disability of 70 percent or more as
certified by the United States Department of Veterans Affairs. To qualify for exclusion
under this subdivision, the veteran must have been honorably discharged from the United
States armed forces, as indicated by United States Government Form DD214 or other official

military discharge papers.
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(b)(1) For a disability rating of 70 percent or more, $150,000 of market value is excluded,

except as provided in clause (2); and

(2) for a total (100 percent) and permanent disability, $300,000 of market value is

excluded.

(c) If a disabled veteran with a disability qualifying for a valuation exclusion under

paragraph (b), clause (2), predeceases the veteran's spouse, and if upon the death of the
veteran the spouse holds the legal or beneficial title to the homestead and permanently
resides there, the exclusion shall carry over to the benefit of the veteran's spouse for the
current taxes payable year and for eight additional taxes payable years or until such time
as the spouse remarries, or sells, transfers, or otherwise disposes of the property, whichever
comes first. Qualification under this paragraph requires an application under paragraph (h),
and a spouse must notify the assessor if there is a change in the spouse's marital status,

ownership of the property, or use of the property as a permanent residence.

(d) If the spouse of a member of any branch or unit of the United States armed forces
who dies due to a service-connected cause while serving honorably in active service, as
indicated on United States Government Form DD1300 or DD2064, holds the legal or
beneficial title to a homestead and permanently resides there, the spouse is entitled to the
benefit described in paragraph (b), clause (2), for eight taxes payable years, or until such
time as the spouse remarries or sells, transfers, or otherwise disposes of the property,

whichever comes first.

(e) If a veteran meets the disability criteria of paragraph (a) but does not own property
classified as homestead in the state of Minnesota, then the homestead of the veteran's primary
family caregiver, if any, is eligible for the exclusion that the veteran would otherwise qualify

for under paragraph (b).

(f) In the case of an agricultural homestead, only the portion of the property consisting
of the house and garage and immediately surrounding one acre of land qualifies for the

valuation exclusion under this subdivision.

(g) A property qualifying for a valuation exclusion under this subdivision is not eligible
for the market value exclusion under subdivision 35, or classification under subdivision 22,

paragraph (b).

(h) To qualify for a valuation exclusion under this subdivision a property owner must
apply to the assessor by July 1 of the first assessment year for which the exclusion is sought.
For an application received after July 1, the exclusion shall become effective for the following

assessment year. Except as provided in paragraph (c), the owner of a property that has been

Article 12 Sec. 5. 150



151.1

151.2

151.3

151.4

151.5

151.6

151.7

151.8

151.9

151.10

151.11

151.12

151.13

151.14

151.15

151.16

151.17

151.18

151.19

151.20

151.21

151.22

151.23

151.24

151.25

151.26

151.27

151.28

151.29

151.30

151.31

04/21/18 12:28 PM HOUSE RESEARCH PD/RK H4385DE1
accepted for a valuation exclusion must notify the assessor if there is a change in ownership
of the property or in the use of the property as a homestead.

(1) A first-time application by a qualifying spouse for the market value exclusion under

paragraph (d) must be made any time within two years of the death of the service member.
(j) For purposes of this subdivision:
(1) "active service" has the meaning given in section 190.05;
(2) "own" means that the person's name is present as an owner on the property deed;

(3) "primary family caregiver" means a person who is approved by the secretary of the
United States Department of Veterans Affairs for assistance as the primary provider of
personal care services for an eligible veteran under the Program of Comprehensive Assistance

for Family Caregivers, codified as United States Code, title 38, section 1720G; and
(4) "veteran" has the meaning given the term in section 197.447.

(k) If a veteran dying after December 31, 2011, did not apply for or receive the exclusion
under paragraph (b), clause (2), before dying, the veteran's spouse is entitled to the benefit
under paragraph (b), clause (2), for eight taxes payable years or until the spouse remarries

or sells, transfers, or otherwise disposes of the property if:

(1) the spouse files a first-time application within two years of the death of the service

member or by June 1, 2019, whichever is later;

(2) upon the death of the veteran, the spouse holds the legal or beneficial title to the

homestead and permanently resides there;
(3) the veteran met the honorable discharge requirements of paragraph (a); and
(4) the United States Department of Veterans Aftairs certifies that:

(1) the veteran met the total (100 percent) and permanent disability requirement under

paragraph (b), clause (2); or
(11) the spouse has been awarded dependency and indemnity compensation.

(I) The purpose of this provision of law providing a level of homestead property tax

relief for gravely-disabled veterans with a disability, their primary family caregivers, and

their surviving spouses is to help ease the burdens of war for those among our state's citizens

who bear those burdens most heavily.

(m) By July 1, the county veterans service officer must certify the disability rating and

permanent address of each veteran receiving the benefit under paragraph (b) to the assessor.
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EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 289A.08, subdivision 6, is amended to read:

Subd. 6. Returns of married persons. A-husband-and-wife Individuals who are married

to each other must file a joint Minnesota income tax return if they filed a joint federal income
tax return. If the husband-and-wife spouses have elected to file separate federal income tax
returns, they must file separate Minnesota income tax returns. This election to file a joint

or separate return must be changed if they change their election for federal purposes. In the
event taxpayers desire to change their election, the change must be done in the manner and

on the form prescribed by the commissioner.

The determination of whether an individual is married shall be made under the provisions

of section 7703 of the Internal Revenue Code.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 289A.25, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Requirements to pay. An individual, trust, S corporation, or partnership
must, when prescribed in subdivision 3, paragraph (b), make payments of estimated tax.
For individuals, the term "estimated tax" means the amount the taxpayer estimates is the
sum of the taxes imposed by chapter 290 for the taxable year. For trusts, S corporations,
and partnerships, the term estimated tax means the amount the taxpayer estimates is the
sum of the taxes for the taxable year imposed by chapter 290 and the composite income tax
imposed by section 289A.08, subdivision 7. If the individual is an infant or incompetent
person, the payments must be made by the individual's guardian. If joint payments on
estimated tax are made but a joint return is not made for the taxable year, the estimated tax
for that year may be treated as the estimated tax of either the-husband-or-the-wife spouse or

may be divided between them.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 289A.31, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Joint income tax returns. (a) If a joint income tax return is made by ahusband
and-wife spouses, the liability for the tax is joint and several. A spouse who qualifies for
relief from a liability attributable to an underpayment under section 6015(b) of the Internal

Revenue Code is relieved of the state income tax liability on the underpayment.
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(b) In the case of individuals who were a-husband-and-wife married as determined in

section 7703 of the Internal Revenue Code prior to the dissolution of their marriage or their

legal separation, or prior to the death of one of the individuals, for tax liabilities reported
on a joint or combined return, the liability of each person is limited to the proportion of the
tax due on the return that equals that person's proportion of the total tax due if the-husband
and-wife each spouse filed separate returns for the taxable year. This provision is effective
only when the commissioner receives written notice of the marriage dissolution, legal

separation, or death of a spouse from the husband-er-wife surviving spouse. No refund may

be claimed by an ex-spouse, legally separated or widowed spouse for any taxes paid more

than 60 days before receipt by the commissioner of the written notice.

(c) A request for calculation of separate liability pursuant to paragraph (b) for taxes
reported on a return must be made within six years after the due date of the return. For
calculation of separate liability for taxes assessed by the commissioner under section 289A.35
or 289A.37, the request must be made within six years after the date of assessment. The
commissioner is not required to calculate separate liability if the remaining unpaid liability

for which recalculation is requested is $100 or less.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 289A.37, subdivision 6, is amended to read:

Subd. 6. Order of assessment if joint income tax return. If a joint income tax return
is filed by a-husband-and-wife spouses, an order of assessment may be a single joint notice.
If the commissioner has been notified by either spouse that that spouse's address has changed
and if that spouse requests it, then, instead of the single joint notice mailed to the last known
address of the husband-and-wife spouses, a duplicate or original of the joint notice must be
sent to the requesting spouse at the address designated by the requesting spouse. The other
joint notice must be mailed to the other spouse at that spouse's last known address. An
assessment is not invalid for failure to send it to a spouse if the spouse actually receives the
notice in the same period as if it had been mailed to that spouse at the correct address or if
the spouse has failed to provide an address to the commissioner other than the last known

address.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 290.0802, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Subtraction. (a) A qualified individual is allowed a subtraction from federal

taxable income of the individual's subtraction base amount. The excess of the subtraction
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base amount over the taxable net income computed without regard to the subtraction for

the elderly or disabled a person with a disability under section 290.0132, subdivision 5,

may be used to reduce the amount of a lump sum distribution subject to tax under section

290.032.
(b)(1) The initial subtraction base amount equals
(1) $12,000 for a married taxpayer filing a joint return if a spouse is a qualified individual,
(ii) $9,600 for a single taxpayer, and
(ii1) $6,000 for a married taxpayer filing a separate federal return.

(2) The qualified individual's initial subtraction base amount, then, must be reduced by
the sum of nontaxable retirement and disability benefits and one-half of the amount of

adjusted gross income in excess of the following thresholds:

(1) $18,000 for a married taxpayer filing a joint return if both spouses are qualified

individuals,

(1) $14,500 for a single taxpayer or for a married couple filing a joint return if only one

spouse is a qualified individual, and
(ii1) $9,000 for a married taxpayer filing a separate federal return.

(3) In the case of a qualified individual who is under the age of 65, the maximum amount

of the subtraction base may not exceed the taxpayer's disability income.
(4) The resulting amount is the subtraction base amount.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 290.0802, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Restrictions; married couples. Except in the case of ahusband-and-wife
spouses who live apart at all times during the taxable year, if the taxpayer is married at the
close of the taxable year, the subtraction under subdivision 2 is allowable only if the taxpayers

file joint federal and state income tax returns for the taxable year.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 290.091, subdivision 2, is amended

to read:

Subd. 2. Definitions. For purposes of the tax imposed by this section, the following

terms have the meanings given.
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(a) "Alternative minimum taxable income" means the sum of the following for the taxable
year:

(1) the taxpayer's federal alternative minimum taxable income as defined in section

55(b)(2) of the Internal Revenue Code;

(2) the taxpayer's itemized deductions allowed in computing federal alternative minimum

taxable income, but excluding:
(1) the charitable contribution deduction under section 170 of the Internal Revenue Code;
(i1) the medical expense deduction;
(111) the casualty, theft, and disaster loss deduction; and

(iv) the impairment-related work expenses of a disabled person with a disability;

(3) for depletion allowances computed under section 613A(c) of the Internal Revenue
Code, with respect to each property (as defined in section 614 of the Internal Revenue Code),
to the extent not included in federal alternative minimum taxable income, the excess of the
deduction for depletion allowable under section 611 of the Internal Revenue Code for the
taxable year over the adjusted basis of the property at the end of the taxable year (determined

without regard to the depletion deduction for the taxable year);

(4) to the extent not included in federal alternative minimum taxable income, the amount
of the tax preference for intangible drilling cost under section 57(a)(2) of the Internal Revenue

Code determined without regard to subparagraph (E);

(5) to the extent not included in federal alternative minimum taxable income, the amount

of interest income as provided by section 290.0131, subdivision 2; and
(6) the amount of addition required by section 290.0131, subdivisions 9 to 11;
less the sum of the amounts determined under the following:
(1) interest income as defined in section 290.0132, subdivision 2;

(11) an overpayment of state income tax as provided by section 290.0132, subdivision

3, to the extent included in federal alternative minimum taxable income;

(ii1) the amount of investment interest paid or accrued within the taxable year on
indebtedness to the extent that the amount does not exceed net investment income, as defined
in section 163(d)(4) of the Internal Revenue Code. Interest does not include amounts deducted

in computing federal adjusted gross income;
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(iv) amounts subtracted from federal taxable income as provided by section 290.0132,
subdivisions 7, 9 to 15, 17, 21, 24, and 26; and

(v) the amount of the net operating loss allowed under section 290.095, subdivision 11,
paragraph (c).

In the case of an estate or trust, alternative minimum taxable income must be computed

as provided in section 59(c) of the Internal Revenue Code.

(b) "Investment interest" means investment interest as defined in section 163(d)(3) of

the Internal Revenue Code.
(c) "Net minimum tax" means the minimum tax imposed by this section.

(d) "Regular tax" means the tax that would be imposed under this chapter (without regard
to this section and section 290.032), reduced by the sum of the nonrefundable credits allowed

under this chapter.

(e) "Tentative minimum tax" equals 6.75 percent of alternative minimum taxable income

after subtracting the exemption amount determined under subdivision 3.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 290A.03, subdivision 3, is amended

to read:
Subd. 3. Income. (a) "Income" means the sum of the following:
(1) federal adjusted gross income as defined in the Internal Revenue Code; and
(2) the sum of the following amounts to the extent not included in clause (1):
(1) all nontaxable income;

(11) the amount of a passive activity loss that is not disallowed as a result of section 469,
paragraph (i) or (m) of the Internal Revenue Code and the amount of passive activity loss

carryover allowed under section 469(b) of the Internal Revenue Code;

(i11) an amount equal to the total of any discharge of qualified farm indebtedness of a
solvent individual excluded from gross income under section 108(g) of the Internal Revenue

Code;
(iv) cash public assistance and relief;

(v) any pension or annuity (including railroad retirement benefits, all payments received

under the federal Social Security Act, Supplemental Security Income, and veterans benefits),
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which was not exclusively funded by the claimant or spouse, or which was funded exclusively
by the claimant or spouse and which funding payments were excluded from federal adjusted

gross income in the years when the payments were made;

(vi) interest received from the federal or a state government or any instrumentality or

political subdivision thereof;
(vii) workers' compensation;
(viil) nontaxable strike benefits;

(ix) the gross amounts of payments received in the nature of disability income or sick
pay as a result of accident, sickness, or other disability, whether funded through insurance

or otherwise;

(x) a lump-sum distribution under section 402(¢e)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code of

1986, as amended through December 31, 1995;

(x1) contributions made by the claimant to an individual retirement account, including
a qualified voluntary employee contribution; simplified employee pension plan;
self-employed retirement plan; cash or deferred arrangement plan under section 401(k) of
the Internal Revenue Code; or deferred compensation plan under section 457 of the Internal
Revenue Code, to the extent the sum of amounts exceeds the retirement base amount for

the claimant and spouse;

(xii) to the extent not included in federal adjusted gross income, distributions received

by the claimant or spouse from a traditional or Roth style retirement account or plan;
(xii1) nontaxable scholarship or fellowship grants;
(xiv) the amount of deduction allowed under section 199 of the Internal Revenue Code;

(xv) the amount of deduction allowed under section 220 or 223 of the Internal Revenue

Code;

(xvi) the amount deducted for tuition expenses under section 222 of the Internal Revenue

Code; and

(xvii) the amount deducted for certain expenses of elementary and secondary school

teachers under section 62(a)(2)(D) of the Internal Revenue Code.

In the case of an individual who files an income tax return on a fiscal year basis, the
term "federal adjusted gross income" shall mean federal adjusted gross income reflected in

the fiscal year ending in the calendar year. Federal adjusted gross income shall not be reduced
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by the amount of a net operating loss carryback or carryforward or a capital loss carryback
or carryforward allowed for the year.

(b) "Income" does not include:

(1) amounts excluded pursuant to the Internal Revenue Code, sections 101(a) and 102;

(2) amounts of any pension or annuity which was exclusively funded by the claimant
or spouse and which funding payments were not excluded from federal adjusted gross

income in the years when the payments were made;

(3) to the extent included in federal adjusted gross income, amounts contributed by the
claimant or spouse to a traditional or Roth style retirement account or plan, but not to exceed
the retirement base amount reduced by the amount of contributions excluded from federal

adjusted gross income, but not less than zero;
(4) surplus food or other relief in kind supplied by a governmental agency;
(5) relief granted under this chapter;

(6) child support payments received under a temporary or final decree of dissolution or

legal separation; or

(7) restitution payments received by eligible individuals and excludable interest as
defined in section 803 of the Economic Growth and Tax Relief Reconciliation Act of 2001,

Public Law 107-16.
(c) The sum of the following amounts may be subtracted from income:
(1) for the claimant's first dependent, the exemption amount multiplied by 1.4;
(2) for the claimant's second dependent, the exemption amount multiplied by 1.3;
(3) for the claimant's third dependent, the exemption amount multiplied by 1.2;
(4) for the claimant's fourth dependent, the exemption amount multiplied by 1.1;
(5) for the claimant's fifth dependent, the exemption amount; and

(6) if the claimant or claimant's spouse was-disabled had a disability or attained the age

of 65 on or before December 31 of the year for which the taxes were levied or rent paid,

the exemption amount.

(d) For purposes of this subdivision, the "exemption amount" means the exemption
amount under section 151(d) of the Internal Revenue Code for the taxable year for which
the income is reported; "retirement base amount" means the deductible amount for the

taxable year for the claimant and spouse under section 219(b)(5)(A) of the Internal Revenue
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Code, adjusted for inflation as provided in section 219(b)(5)(C) of the Internal Revenue
Code, without regard to whether the claimant or spouse claimed a deduction; and "traditional
or Roth style retirement account or plan" means retirement plans under sections 401, 403,

408, 408A, and 457 of the Internal Revenue Code.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 290A.03, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. Household. "Household" means a claimant and an individual related to the

claimant as husband-er-wife the claimant's spouse who are domiciled in the same homestead.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 290A.03, subdivision 8§, is amended

to read:

Subd. 8. Claimant. (a) "Claimant" means a person, other than a dependent, as defined
under sections 151 and 152 of the Internal Revenue Code disregarding section 152(b)(3)
of the Internal Revenue Code, who filed a claim authorized by this chapter and who was a
resident of this state as provided in chapter 290 during the calendar year for which the claim

for relief was filed.

(b) In the case of a claim relating to rent constituting property taxes, the claimant shall
have resided in a rented or leased unit on which ad valorem taxes or payments made in lieu
of ad valorem taxes, including payments of special assessments imposed in lieu of ad valorem

taxes, are payable at some time during the calendar year covered by the claim.

(c) "Claimant" shall not include a resident of a nursing home, intermediate care facility,
long-term residential facility, or a facility that accepts housing support payments whose
rent constituting property taxes is paid pursuant to the Supplemental Security Income
program under title XVI of the Social Security Act, the Minnesota supplemental aid program
under sections 256D.35 to 256D.54, the medical assistance program pursuant to title XIX

of the Social Security Act, or the housing support program under chapter 2561.

If only a portion of the rent constituting property taxes is paid by these programs, the
resident shall be a claimant for purposes of this chapter, but the refund calculated pursuant
to section 290A.04 shall be multiplied by a fraction, the numerator of which is income as
defined in subdivision 3, paragraphs (a) and (b), reduced by the total amount of income
from the above sources other than vendor payments under the medical assistance program

and the denominator of which is income as defined in subdivision 3, paragraphs (a) and (b),
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plus vendor payments under the medical assistance program, to determine the allowable

refund pursuant to this chapter.

(d) Notwithstanding paragraph (c), if the claimant was a resident of the nursing home,
intermediate care facility, long-term residential facility, or facility for which the rent was
paid for the claimant by the housing support program for only a portion of the calendar year
covered by the claim, the claimant may compute rent constituting property taxes by
disregarding the rent constituting property taxes from the nursing home or facility and use
only that amount of rent constituting property taxes or property taxes payable relating to
that portion of the year when the claimant was not in the facility. The claimant's household

income is the income for the entire calendar year covered by the claim.

(e) In the case of a claim for rent constituting property taxes of a part-year Minnesota
resident, the income and rental reflected in this computation shall be for the period of
Minnesota residency only. Any rental expenses paid which may be reflected in arriving at
federal adjusted gross income cannot be utilized for this computation. When two individuals
of'a household are able to meet the qualifications for a claimant, they may determine among
them as to who the claimant shall be. If they are unable to agree, the matter shall be referred
to the commissioner of revenue whose decision shall be final. If a homestead property owner
was a part-year Minnesota resident, the income reflected in the computation made pursuant
to section 290A.04 shall be for the entire calendar year, including income not assignable to

Minnesota.

(f) If a homestead is occupied by two or more renters, who are not husband-and-wife

married to each other, the rent shall be deemed to be paid equally by each, and separate

claims shall be filed by each. The income of each shall be each renter's household income

for purposes of computing the amount of credit to be allowed.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 290A.05, 1s amended to read:
290A.05 COMBINED HOUSEHOLD INCOME.

If a person occupies a homestead with another person erpersens not related to the person

as husband-and-wife the person's spouse, excluding dependents, roomers or boarders on

contract, and has property tax payable with respect to the homestead, the household income
of the claimant or claimants for the purpose of computing the refund allowed by section
290A.04 shall include the total income received by the other persons residing in the

homestead. For purposes of this section, "dependent" includes a parent of the claimant or
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spouse who lives in the claimant's homestead and does not have an ownership interest in
the homestead. If a person occupies a homestead with another person or persons not related

to the person as husband-and-wite the person's spouse or as dependents, the property tax

payable or rent constituting property tax shall be reduced as follows.

If the other person or persons are residing at the homestead under rental or lease
agreement, the amount of property tax payable or rent constituting property tax shall be that

portion not covered by the rental agreement.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 290A.08, is amended to read:

290A.08 ONE CLAIMANT PER HOUSEHOLD.

Only one claimant per household per year is entitled to relief under this chapter. Payment
of the claim for relief may be made payable to the husband-and-wife spouses as one claimant.
The commissioner, upon written request, may issue separate checks, to the husband-and
wife spouses for one-half of the relief provided the original check has not been issued or
has been returned. Individuals related as husband-and-wife spouses who were married during
the year may elect to file a joint claim which shall include each spouse's income, rent
constituting property taxes, and property taxes payable. Husbands-and-wives Spouses who
were married for the entire year and were domiciled in the same household for the entire
year must file a joint claim. The maximum dollar amount allowable for a joint claim shall

not exceed the amount that one person could receive.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 290A.09, is amended to read:

290A.09 PROOF OF CLAIM.

Every claimant shall supply to the commissioner of revenue, in support of the claim,
proof of eligibility under this chapter, including but not limited to amount of rent paid or
property taxes accrued, name and address of owner or managing agent of property rented,
changes in homestead, household membership, household income, size and nature of property

claimed as a homestead.

Disabled Persons with a disability filing claims shall submit proof of disability in the

form and manner as the commissioner may prescribe. The department may require
examination and certification by the claimant's physician or by a physician designated by

the commissioner. The cost of any examination shall be borne by the claimant, unless the

Article 12 Sec. 18. 161



162.1

162.2

162.3

162.4

162.5

162.6

162.7

162.8

162.9

162.10

162.11

162.12

162.13

162.14

162.15

162.16

162.17

162.18

162.19

162.20

162.21

162.22

162.23

162.24

162.25

162.26

162.27

04/21/18 12:28 PM HOUSE RESEARCH PD/RK H4385DE1
examination proves the disability, in which case the cost of the examination shall be borne
by the commissioner.

A determination of disability of a claimant by the Social Security Administration under

Title IT or Title XVI of the Social Security Act shall constitute presumptive proof of disability.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 297A.61, subdivision 18, is amended to read:

Subd. 18. Disabled Person with a disability. "Disabled Person with a disability" means

an individual who has a permanent and total disability as defined in section 273.13,

subdivision 22.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 297A.67, subdivision 6, is amended

to read:

Subd. 6. Other exempt meals. (a) Prepared food, candy, and soft drinks purchased for
and served exclusively to individuals who are 60 years of age or over and their spouses or

to disabled persons with a disability and their spouses by governmental agencies, nonprofit

organizations, or churches, or pursuant to any program funded in whole or in part through
United States Code, title 42, sections 3001 through 3045, wherever delivered, prepared, or

served, are exempt. Taxable food sold through vending machines is not exempt.

(b) Prepared food, candy, and soft drinks purchased for and served exclusively to children

who are less than 14 years of age or disabled children with a disability who are less than

16 years of age and who are attending a child care or early childhood education program,

are exempt if they are:

(1) purchased by a nonprofit child care facility that is exempt under section 297A.70,
subdivision 4, and that primarily serves families with income of 250 percent or less of

federal poverty guidelines; and
(2) prepared at the site of the child care facility.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
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Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 297A.67, subdivision 12, is amended to read:

Subd. 12. Parts and accessories used to make a motor vehicle disabled accessible

to a person with a disability. Parts, accessories, and labor charges that are used solely to

modify a motor vehicle to make it disabled accessible to persons with a disability are exempt.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 297A.70, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Sales of certain goods and services to government. (a) The following sales

to or use by the specified governments and political subdivisions of the state are exempt:

(1) repair and replacement parts for emergency rescue vehicles, fire trucks, and fire

apparatus to a political subdivision;

(2) machinery and equipment, except for motor vehicles, used directly for mixed
municipal solid waste management services at a solid waste disposal facility as defined in

section 115A.03, subdivision 10;

(3) chore and homemaking services to a political subdivision of the state to be provided

to elderly individuals or disabled-individuals persons with a disability;

(4) telephone services to the Office of MN.IT Services that are used to provide

telecommunications services through the MN.IT services revolving fund;

(5) firefighter personal protective equipment as defined in paragraph (b), if purchased
or authorized by and for the use of an organized fire department, fire protection district, or
fire company regularly charged with the responsibility of providing fire protection to the

state or a political subdivision;

(6) bullet-resistant body armor that provides the wearer with ballistic and trauma
protection, if purchased by a law enforcement agency of the state or a political subdivision

of the state, or a licensed peace officer, as defined in section 626.84, subdivision 1;

(7) motor vehicles purchased or leased by political subdivisions of the state if the vehicles
are exempt from registration under section 168.012, subdivision 1, paragraph (b), exempt
from taxation under section 473.448, or exempt from the motor vehicle sales tax under

section 297B.03, clause (12);

(8) equipment designed to process, dewater, and recycle biosolids for wastewater
treatment facilities of political subdivisions, and materials incidental to installation of that

equipment;
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(9) the removal of trees, bushes, or shrubs for the construction and maintenance of roads,
trails, or firebreaks when purchased by an agency of the state or a political subdivision of

the state;

(10) purchases by the Metropolitan Council or the Department of Transportation of
vehicles and repair parts to equip operations provided for in section 174.90, including, but

not limited to, the Northstar Corridor Rail project; and

(11) purchases of water used directly in providing public safety services by an organized
fire department, fire protection district, or fire company regularly charged with the

responsibility of providing fire protection to the state or a political subdivision.

(b) For purposes of this subdivision, "firefighters personal protective equipment" means
helmets, including face shields, chin straps, and neck liners; bunker coats and pants, including
pant suspenders; boots; gloves; head covers or hoods; wildfire jackets; protective coveralls;
goggles; self-contained breathing apparatus; canister filter masks; personal alert safety
systems; spanner belts; optical or thermal imaging search devices; and all safety equipment

required by the Occupational Safety and Health Administration.

(c) For purchases of items listed in paragraph (a), clause (10), the tax must be imposed
and collected as if the rate under section 297A.62, subdivision 1, applied and then refunded

in the manner provided in section 297A.75.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 297A.70, subdivision 4, is amended

to read:

Subd. 4. Sales to nonprofit groups. (a) All sales, except those listed in paragraph (b),

to the following "nonprofit organizations" are exempt:

(1) a corporation, society, association, foundation, or institution organized and operated
exclusively for charitable, religious, or educational purposes if the item purchased is used

in the performance of charitable, religious, or educational functions;
(2) any senior citizen group or association of groups that:

(1) in general limits membership to persons who are either age 55 or older, or physically
disabled persons with a physical disability;

(11) 1s organized and operated exclusively for pleasure, recreation, and other nonprofit
purposes, not including housing, no part of the net earnings of which inures to the benefit

of any private shareholders; and
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(iii) 1s an exempt organization under section 501(c) of the Internal Revenue Code; and

(3) an organization that qualifies for an exemption for memberships under subdivision

12 if the item is purchased and used in the performance of the organization's mission.

For purposes of this subdivision, charitable purpose includes the maintenance of a cemetery

owned by a religious organization.
(b) This exemption does not apply to the following sales:

(1) building, construction, or reconstruction materials purchased by a contractor or a
subcontractor as a part of a lump-sum contract or similar type of contract with a guaranteed
maximum price covering both labor and materials for use in the construction, alteration, or

repair of a building or facility;

(2) construction materials purchased by tax-exempt entities or their contractors to be
used in constructing buildings or facilities that will not be used principally by the tax-exempt

entities;

(3) lodging as defined under section 297A.61, subdivision 3, paragraph (g), clause (2),
and prepared food, candy, soft drinks, and alcoholic beverages as defined in section 297A.67,
subdivision 2, except wine purchased by an established religious organization for sacramental

purposes or as allowed under subdivision 9a; and

(4) leasing of a motor vehicle as defined in section 297B.01, subdivision 11, except as

provided in paragraph (c).

(c) This exemption applies to the leasing of a motor vehicle as defined in section 297B.01,

subdivision 11, only if the vehicle is:

(1) a truck, as defined in section 168.002, a bus, as defined in section 168.002, or a
passenger automobile, as defined in section 168.002, if the automobile is designed and used

for carrying more than nine persons including the driver; and

(2) intended to be used primarily to transport tangible personal property or individuals,
other than employees, to whom the organization provides service in performing its charitable,

religious, or educational purpose.

(d) A limited liability company also qualifies for exemption under this subdivision if
(1) it consists of a sole member that would qualify for the exemption, and (2) the items

purchased qualify for the exemption.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
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166.1 Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 297A.70, subdivision 16, is amended to read:
166.2 Subd. 16. Camp fees. Fees to camps or other recreation facilities are exempt for:

166.3 (1) services primarily for children, adults accompanying children, or persons with

166.4  disabilities a disability; or
166.5 (2) educational or religious activities;

166.6  and if the camp or facilities are owned and operated by an exempt organization under section

166.7  501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code.

166.8 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

166.9 Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 297A.71, subdivision 22, is amended to read:

166.10 Subd. 22. Materials used to make residential property disabled accessible to persons

166.11 with a disability. Building materials and equipment sold to, or stored, used, or consumed

166.12 by, a nonprofit organization are exempt if:

166.13 (1) the materials and equipment are used or incorporated into modifying an existing

166.14 residential structure to make it disabled accessible to persons with a disability; and

166.15 (2) the materials and equipment used in the modification would qualify for an exemption

166.16 under either subdivision 11 or 12 if made by the current owner of the residence.

166.17 For purposes of this subdivision, "nonprofit organization" means any nonprofit
166.18 corporation, society, association, foundation, or institution organized and operated exclusively
166.19 for charitable, religious, educational, or civic purposes; or a veterans' group exempt from

166.20 federal taxation under section 501(c), clause (19), of the Internal Revenue Code.

166.21 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

166.22  Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 297A.75, subdivision 1, is amended

166.23 to read:

166.24 Subdivision 1. Tax collected. The tax on the gross receipts from the sale of the following
166.25 exempt items must be imposed and collected as if the sale were taxable and the rate under

166.26 section 297A.62, subdivision 1, applied. The exempt items include:

166.27 (1) building materials for an agricultural processing facility exempt under section

166.28 297A.71, subdivision 13;

166.29 (2) building materials for mineral production facilities exempt under section 297A.71,

166.30 subdivision 14;
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(3) building materials for correctional facilities under section 297A.71, subdivision 3;

(4) building materials used in a residence for disabled veterans with a disability exempt

under section 297A.71, subdivision 11;
(5) elevators and building materials exempt under section 297A.71, subdivision 12;

(6) materials and supplies for qualified low-income housing under section 297A.71,

subdivision 23;

(7) materials, supplies, and equipment for municipal electric utility facilities under

section 297A.71, subdivision 35;

(8) equipment and materials used for the generation, transmission, and distribution of
electrical energy and an aerial camera package exempt under section 297A.68, subdivision

37,

(9) commuter rail vehicle and repair parts under section 297A.70, subdivision 3, paragraph

(a), clause (10);

(10) materials, supplies, and equipment for construction or improvement of projects and

facilities under section 297A.71, subdivision 40;

(11) materials, supplies, and equipment for construction, improvement, or expansion

of:

(1) an aerospace defense manufacturing facility exempt under Minnesota Statutes 2014,

section 297A.71, subdivision 42;

(1) a biopharmaceutical manufacturing facility exempt under section 297A.71, subdivision

45;

(ii1) a research and development facility exempt under Minnesota Statutes 2014, section

297A.71, subdivision 46; and

(iv) an industrial measurement manufacturing and controls facility exempt under

Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 297A.71, subdivision 47;

(12) enterprise information technology equipment and computer software for use in a

qualified data center exempt under section 297A.68, subdivision 42;

(13) materials, supplies, and equipment for qualifying capital projects under section

297A.71, subdivision 44, paragraph (a), clause (1), and paragraph (b);

(14) items purchased for use in providing critical access dental services exempt under

section 297A.70, subdivision 7, paragraph (c);
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(15) items and services purchased under a business subsidy agreement for use or
consumption primarily in greater Minnesota exempt under section 297A.68, subdivision

44;

(16) building materials, equipment, and supplies for constructing or replacing real

property exempt under section 297A.71, subdivision 49; and

(17) building materials, equipment, and supplies for constructing or replacing real

property exempt under section 297A.71, subdivision 50, paragraph (b).

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 297B.01, subdivision 14, i1s amended to read:

Subd. 14. Purchase price. (a) "Purchase price" means the total consideration valued
in money for a sale, whether paid in money or otherwise. The purchase price excludes the
amount of a manufacturer's rebate paid or payable to the purchaser. If a motor vehicle is
taken in trade as a credit or as part payment on a motor vehicle taxable under this chapter,
the credit or trade-in value allowed by the person selling the motor vehicle shall be deducted
from the total selling price to establish the purchase price of the vehicle being sold and the
trade-in allowance allowed by the seller shall constitute the purchase price of the motor
vehicle accepted as a trade-in. The purchase price in those instances where the motor vehicle
is acquired by gift or by any other transfer for a nominal or no monetary consideration shall
also include the average value of similar motor vehicles, established by standards and guides
as determined by the motor vehicle registrar. The purchase price in those instances where
a motor vehicle is manufactured by a person who registers it under the laws of this state
shall mean the manufactured cost of such motor vehicle and manufactured cost shall mean
the amount expended for materials, labor, and other properly allocable costs of manufacture,
except that in the absence of actual expenditures for the manufacture of a part or all of the
motor vehicle, manufactured costs shall mean the reasonable value of the completed motor

vehicle.

(b) The term "purchase price" shall not include the portion of the value of a motor vehicle
due solely to modifications necessary to make the motor vehicle disability accessible to

persons with a disability.

(c) The term "purchase price" shall not include the transfer of a motor vehicle by way
of gift between a-husband-and-wife spouses or parent and child, or to a nonprofit organization
as provided under subdivision 16, paragraph (c), clause (6), nor shall it include the transfer

of'a motor vehicle by a guardian to a ward when there is no monetary consideration and the
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title to such vehicle was registered in the name of the guardian, as guardian, only because

the ward was a minor.

(d) The term "purchase price" shall not include the transfer of a motor vehicle as a gift
between a foster parent and foster child. For purposes of this subdivision, a foster relationship
exists, regardless of the age of the child, if (1) a foster parent's home is or was licensed as
a foster family home under Minnesota Rules, parts 2960.3000 to 2960.3340, and (2) the

county verifies that the child was a state ward or in permanent foster care.

(e) There shall not be included in "purchase price" the amount of any tax imposed by
the United States upon or with respect to retail sales whether imposed upon the retailer or

the consumer.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 297B.01, subdivision 16, is amended

to read:

nn

Subd. 16. Sale, sells, selling, purchase, purchased, or acquired. (a) "Sale," "sells,"

nmn nn

"selling," "purchase," "purchased," or "acquired" means any transfer of title of any motor
vehicle, whether absolutely or conditionally, for a consideration in money or by exchange

or barter for any purpose other than resale in the regular course of business.

(b) Any motor vehicle utilized by the owner only by leasing such vehicle to others or
by holding it in an effort to so lease it, and which is put to no other use by the owner other
than resale after such lease or effort to lease, shall be considered property purchased for

resale.

(c) The terms also shall include any transfer of title or ownership of a motor vehicle by

other means, for or without consideration, except that these terms shall not include:

(1) the acquisition of a motor vehicle by inheritance from or by bequest of, or

transfer-on-death of title by, a decedent who owned it;

(2) the transfer of a motor vehicle which was previously licensed in the names of two
or more joint tenants and subsequently transferred without monetary consideration to one

or more of the joint tenants;

(3) the transfer of a motor vehicle by way of gift from a limited used vehicle dealer
licensed under section 168.27, subdivision 4a, to an individual, when the transfer is with
no monetary or other consideration or expectation of consideration and the parties to the

transfer submit an affidavit to that effect at the time the title transfer is recorded;
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170.1 (4) the transfer of a motor vehicle by gift between:
170.2 (1) spouses;

170.3 (i1) parents and a child; or

170.4 (1i1) grandparents and a grandchild,

170.5 (5) the voluntary or involuntary transfer of a motor vehicle between ahusband-and-wife

170.6  spouses in a divorce proceeding; or

170.7 (6) the transfer of a motor vehicle by way of a gift to an organization that is exempt from
170.8  federal income taxation under section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code when the

170.9  motor vehicle will be used exclusively for religious, charitable, or educational purposes.

170.10 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

170.11  Sec. 29. Laws 2017, First Special Session chapter 1, article 8, section 3, the effective date,

170.12 is amended to read:

170.13 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for (1) petitions and appeals filed after

170.14 June 30, 2017, for which notices of entry of order are mailed before July 1, 2018, and (2)

170.15 notices of entry of order mailed after June 30, 2018.

170.16 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment."

170.17 Delete the title and insert:

170.18 "A bill for an act

170.19 relating to taxation; making changes to conform with certain federal tax law
170.20 changes; adopting federal adjusted gross income as the starting point for calculating
170.21 individual income tax; making policy and technical changes to various tax-related
170.22 provisions including provisions related to the individual income tax, corporate
170.23 franchise tax, estate tax, sales and use tax, gross revenues tax, gross receipts tax,
170.24 property tax, partnership tax, tobacco tax, and other miscellaneous tax provisions;
170.25 making changes to the property tax refund program; providing for registration and
170.26 taxation of unmanned aircraft; modifying provisions related to local government
170.27 aid; appropriating money; amending Minnesota Statutes 2016, sections 116J.8737,
170.28 subdivisions 5, 12; 162.145, subdivision 3; 270.41, subdivision 3; 270B.08,
170.29 subdivision 2; 270C.85, subdivision 2; 270C.89, subdivision 2; 270C.91; 272.02,
170.30 subdivisions 27, 81; 273.032; 273.061, subdivision 9; 273.113, subdivision 3;
170.31 273.119, subdivision 2; 273.1231, subdivision 3; 273.136, subdivision 2; 273.1384,
170.32 subdivision 3; 273.18; 274.14; 274.16; 287.21, subdivision 1; 289A.08, subdivisions
170.33 1,6, 7;289A.25, subdivision 1; 289A.31, subdivision 2; 289A.37, subdivision 6;
170.34 289A.38, subdivisions 7, 10; 289A.42; 289A.60, subdivision 24; 290.01,

170.35 subdivision 22, by adding subdivisions; 290.0131, subdivisions 1, 3, by adding
170.36 subdivisions; 290.0132, subdivisions 1, 7, by adding subdivisions; 290.0133,
170.37 subdivision 6, by adding a subdivision; 290.0134, by adding subdivisions; 290.0136;

170.38 290.05, subdivision 3; 290.06, subdivisions 1, 2¢, 2d, by adding a subdivision,;
170.39 290.067, subdivision 2a; 290.0671, subdivision 7; 290.0672, subdivision 2;
170.40 290.0681, subdivisions 3, 4; 290.0685, subdivision 1, by adding a subdivision;
170.41 290.0802, subdivisions 2, 3; 290.091, subdivision 3; 290.0921, subdivision §;
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171.1 290.0922, subdivision 1;290.095, subdivision 4; 290.21, by adding a subdivision;
171.2 290.34, by adding a subdivision; 290.92, subdivisions 1, 28; 290A.03, subdivisions
1713 4,12;290A.04, subdivision 4; 290A.05; 290A.08; 290A.09; 290B.09, subdivision
171.4 1; 291.03, subdivisions 8, 10; 295.50, subdivisions 4, 9b, by adding subdivisions;
171.5 297A.61, subdivision 18; 297A.67, subdivision 12, by adding subdivisions;

171.6 297A.68, subdivisions 17, 25, 29, 44; 297A.70, subdivisions 3, 7, 16, by adding
171.7 subdivisions; 297A.71, subdivisions 22, 45, by adding subdivisions; 297A.77, by
171.8 adding a subdivision; 297A.84; 297A.85; 297B.01, subdivision 14; 297B.03;
171.9 297F.01, subdivisions 19, 23, by adding a subdivision; 297F.17, subdivision 6;

171.10 297G.16, subdivision 7; 360.013, by adding subdivisions; 360.55, by adding a
171.11 subdivision; 360.62; 469.177, subdivision 1; 469.316, subdivision 1; 469.317;

171.12 469.319, subdivision 4; 477A.013, subdivision 13; Minnesota Statutes 2017
171.13 Supplement, sections 270A.03, subdivision 5; 270C.445, subdivision 6; 270C.89,
171.14 subdivision 1; 272.115, subdivision 1; 273.0755; 273.13, subdivisions 22, 34;
171.15 273.1384, subdivision 2; 273.1387, subdivision 3; 275.025, subdivision 1; 289A.02,
171.16 subdivision 7; 289A.12, subdivision 14; 289A.31, subdivision 1; 289A.35; 289A.37,
171.17 subdivision 2;290.01, subdivisions 4a, 19, 31;290.0131, subdivision 10;290.0132,

171.18 subdivisions 21, 26; 290.0133, subdivision 12; 290.0137; 290.05, subdivision 1;
171.19 290.067, subdivisions 1, 2b; 290.0671, subdivision 1; 290.0672, subdivision 1;
171.20 290.0681, subdivisions 1, 2; 290.0684, subdivisions 1, 2; 290.0686, subdivision

171.21 1;290.091, subdivision 2; 290.17, subdivisions 2, 4; 290.31, subdivision 1;
171.22 290A.03, subdivisions 3, 8, 15; 291.005, subdivision 1; 291.03, subdivisions 9,
171.23 11; 297A.61, subdivision 3; 297A.67, subdivisions 6, 34; 297A.70, subdivisions
171.24 4,20;297A.75, subdivisions 1, 2, 3; 297B.01, subdivision 16; 297E.02, subdivision
171.25 3;462D.03, subdivision 2; 462D.06, subdivisions 1, 2; 477A.03, subdivision 2a;
171.26 Laws 2017, First Special Session chapter 1, article 8, section 3; proposing coding
171.27 for new law in Minnesota Statutes, chapters 289A; 290; repealing Minnesota
171.28 Statutes 2016, sections 275.29; 289A.38, subdivisions 7, 8, 9; 290.01, subdivision

171.29 29a; 290.0131, subdivisions 7, 11, 12, 13; 290.0132, subdivisions 8, 19, 20;
171.30 290.0133, subdivisions 13, 14; 290.0921, subdivisions 1, 2, 3a, 4, 6; 290.10,
171.31 subdivision 2."
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