STATE OF MINNESOTA FOURTEENTH MEETING HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES NINETY-SECOND SESSION

EDUCATION POLICY COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

Representative Richardson, Chair of the Education Policy Committee, called the virtual meeting to order at 1:00 PM on March 3, 2021, pursuant to House rule 10.01. The meeting was broadcast via Zoom and House Public Information Services. A quorum was present.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members present:

RICHARDSON, Ruth, Chair HASSAN, Hodan, Vice-Chair ERICKSON, Sondra, Lead **BENNETT**, Peggy BERG, Kaela BOE, Greg CHRISTENSEN, Shelly DRAZKOWSKI, Steve EDELSON, Heather FEIST, Sandra FRAZIER, Cedrick JORDAN, Sydney **KEELER**, Heather MOLLER, Kelly MUELLER, Patricia POSTON, John SCOTT, Peggy URDAHL, Dean WAZLAWIK, Ami

Rep. Berg moved that the minutes from March 1, 2021 be approved. THE MINUTES WERE ADOPTED.

Chair Richardson moved that HF 1408 be re-referred to the Education Finance committee.

Rep. Becker-Finn presented HF 1408.

Testifiers:

Gloria Nathanson, Parent advocate Dov Nathanson, Student

Chair Richardson renewed her motion that HF 1408 be re-referred to the Education Finance committee. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Rep. Keeler moved HF 1712 be re-referred to the Education Finance committee.

Rep. Keeler presented HF 1712.

Testifiers: Jenifer Loon, EdAllies Delores Gabbard, Teacher Peter Olson-Skog, Superintendent, West St. Paul-Mendota Heights-Eagan

Rep. Keeler renewed her motion to re-refer HF 1712 to the Education Finance committee. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Vice-Chair Hassan took the gavel.

Chair Richardson moved that HF 951 be laid over for possible inclusion in the omnibus bill.

Chair Richardson presented HF 951.

Testifiers: Maren Hulden, Minnesota Disability Law Center Idil Abdull, Parent advocate Jason Luksik, MESPA President-Elect, elementary school principal Sue Abderholden, Executive Director, NAMI Minnesota Jules Edwards, Parent advocate

Chair Richardson renewed her motion that HF 951 be laid over for possible inclusion in the omnibus bill.

The committee was adjourned at 2:29 PM.