CLIMATE AND ENERGY FINANCE AND POLICY MINUTES

Representative Patty Acomb, Chair of the Committee on Climate and Energy Finance and Policy, called the meeting to order at 3:00PM on January 11, 2023 in Room 200 of the State Office Building.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members present:

ACOMB, Patty, Chair KRAFT, Larry, Vice Chair SWEDZINSKI, Chris, Republican Lead BIERMAN, Robert CARROLL, Ned DAVIS, Ben GAROFALO, Pat HEMMINGSEN-JAEGER, Amanda HORNSTEIN, Frank IGO, Spencer MEKELAND, Shane NEWTON, Jerry O'NEILL, Marion REHM, Lucy STEPHENSON, Zack

Members excused:

ALTENDORF, Pam HOLLINS, Athena

A quorum was present.

Representative Rehm moved that the minutes of January 10, 2023, be adopted. <u>THE MOTION</u> <u>PREVAILED.</u>

A presentation on utilities future planning within the Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act (IIJA) and the Inflation Reduction Act (IRA) was provided.

Presenters:

- Karin Haas, Regulatory Policy Specialist, Xcel Energy
- David Ranallo, Director of Culture, Communications, Marketing and Member Relations, Great River Energy
- Brian Burandt, Vice President for Supply and Businesses Development, Connexus Energy

A presentation on the business case for clean energy was provided.

Presenters:

- Gregg Mast, Executive Director, Clean Energy Economy Minnesota
- Betsy Engelking, Vice President of Policy and Strategy, National Grid Renewables
- Nina Axelson, Founder and President, Grid Catalyst
- Satish Jayaram, General Manager, PSBU Innovation Program Office, Cummins
- Jim Steffes, Vice President of Business Development and Strategy, Zeus Electric Chassis
- Ken Smith, CEO, Ever-Green Energy

The meeting was adjourned at 4:30 PM.

Representative Patty Acomb, Chair

Chelsea Ray, Committee Legislative Assistant