THIRTY-EIGHTH MEETING – Government Operations

2019-2020 Regular Session

STATE OF MINNESOTA THIRTY-EIGHTH MEETING HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES NINETY-FIRST SESSION

GOVERNMENT OPERATIONS COMMITTEE **MINUTES**

Representative Mike Freiberg Chair of the Committee, called the virtual Government Operations Committee meeting to order at 2:31pm on April 8th, 2020, pursuant to House rule 10.01. The meeting is being broadcast via Zoom and House Public Information Services.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members Present:

FREIBERG, Mike - Chair

SAUKE, Duane -Vice Chair

QUAM, Duane

BAHNER, Kristin

ELKINS, Steve

GOMEZ, Aisha

KOEGEL, Erin

LAYMAN, Sandy

LEE, Fue

LILLIE, Leon

MASIN, Sandra

NASH, Jim

NELSON, Michael

THEIS, Tama

VOGEL, Bob

WEST, Nolan

Absent, unexcused:

HEINRICH, John

A quorum was present.

Representative Koegel moved HF4507 be referred to the Rules Committee.



Representative Koegel moved HF4507DE1.

HF 4507 (Koegel); Open Meeting Law; interactive television attendance requirements modified.

There was a roll call:

Adobe Acrobat Document

AYES

FREIBERG, Mike

SAUKE, Duane

QUAM, Duane

BAHNER, Kristin

ELKINS, Steve

GOMEZ, Aisha KOEGEL, Erin

LAYMAN, Sandy

LEE, Fue

LILLIE, Leon

NASH, Jim

NELSON, Michael

THEIS, Tama

VOGEL, Bob

WEST, Nolan

THE MOTION PREVAILED. The amendment was adopted.

Representative Erin Koegel presented the bill as amended.

The following testified on HF4507:

Matt Ehling, Minnesota Coalition on Government Information

Irene Kao, League of Minnesota Cities

Representative Koegel renewed the motion to refer HF4507 as amended to the Rules Committee.

There was a roll call:

AYES

FREIBERG, Mike

SAUKE, Duane

QUAM, Duane

BAHNER, Kristin

ELKINS, Steve

GOMEZ, Aisha

KOEGEL, Erin

LAYMAN, Sandy

LEE, Fue

LILLIE, Leon

MASIN, Sandra

NASH, Jim

NELSON, Michael

THEIS, Tama

VOGEL, Bob

WEST, Nolan

THE MOTION PREVAILED. HF4507 as amended was referred to the Rules Committee.

Representative Freiberg presented **sc7479-4** to the committee.

sc7479-4 (Freiberg)

Representative Mike Freiberg presented the bill.

The following testified on sc7479-4:

Bruce Messelt, Sherburne County

Rob Doar, Minnesota Gun Owners Caucus

Matt Hilgart, Association of Minnesota Counties

Representative Sauke moved that the minutes from the committee meeting on March 12th, 2020 be approved.

FREIBERG, Mike

SAUKE, Duane

QUAM, Duane

BAHNER, Kristin

ELKINS, Steve

GOMEZ, Aisha

KOEGEL, Erin

LAYMAN, Sandy

LEE, Fue

LILLIE, Leon

MASIN, Sandra

NASH, Jim

NELSON, Michael

THEIS, Tama

VOGEL, Bob

WEST, Nolan

THE MOTION PREVAILED. The minutes were approved.

Chair Mike Freiberg moved to reconsider the motion to send HF4507 as amended to the Rules Committee.

FREIBERG, Mike

SAUKE, Duane

QUAM, Duane

BAHNER, Kristin
ELKINS, Steve
GOMEZ, Aisha
KOEGEL, Erin
LAYMAN, Sandy
LEE, Fue LILLIE, Leon
MASIN, Sandra
NELSON, Michael
THEIS, Tama
VOGEL, Bob
WEST, Nolan
1, 25 1, 1 (c) (d)
MOTION PREVAILED.
Representative Freiberg moved to send HF4507 as amended to the General Register. There was a roll call.
representative freezerg moved to send in 1207 as unionated to the General Register. There was a for early
FREIBERG, Mike
SAUKE, Duane
QUAM, Duane
BAHNER, Kristin
ELKINS, Steve
GOMEZ, Aisha
KOEGEL, Erin
LAYMAN, Sandy
LEE, Fue
LILLIE, Leon
MASIN, Sandra
NELSON, Michael
THEIS, Tama
VOGEL, Bob
WEST, Nolan
MOTION PREVAILED. HF4507 was referred to the General Register.
Masting was adjourned at 2:49pm
Meeting was adjourned at 3:48pm.

Committee Legislative Assistant

CHAIR, Mike Freiberg