April 21, 2025

Representative Rarick and Representative Wolgamott 658 Cedar Street Centennial Office Building St. Paul, MN 55155





Dear Co-Chair Rarick, Co-Chair Wolgamott and House Higher Education Committee Members,

On behalf of the Minnesota Association of Private College Students (MAPCS), we would like to thank you for the ongoing work that you are doing to make our state a better place for Minnesotans. Though our state is experiencing a deficit, the committee continues to work wholeheartedly to ensure that Minnesota students' needs are met.

The Minnesota Association of Private College Students is composed of student leaders from 18 private non-profit colleges that work together to address the needs of students. We are a group of students that reflect Minnesota. One of the priorities of MAPCS at the Capitol is to support students in accessing higher education through the Minnesota State Grant. One of the most significant issues affecting college students this year is the deficit in the State Grant Program, which has been crucial in giving over 70,000 students from low-to middle-income families an opportunity to pursue higher education.

MAPCS is very grateful for the committee's investment of \$34.5 million in the State Grant to minimize grant reductions for students this upcoming academic year and beyond. While this investment will help students already enrolled in higher education, we recommend temporarily reducing the Living and Miscellaneous Expense to under 115 percent of the poverty level. This would provide a fairer allocation of cost savings, instead of the proposed limitation on recognized tuition only for students at nonprofit colleges and the University of Minnesota-Twin Cities campus.

MAPCS would like to thank you for continuing to support the Minnesota State Grant program. Without this investment in the State Grant, students would have lost valuable financial support that has played a key role in applying to or staying in college. The program will continue to make education more affordable for many communities and invest in Minnesota's future workforce. Higher education plays a role in transforming different communities in our state and allows students to learn and build crucial skills for leading the next generation. Through your efforts and commitment, Minnesota continues to be a better place for many families and students.

Sincerely,

Victoire Mwakana, Student Government Official and MAPCS Legislative Affairs Chair, University of St. Thomas Ben Bugbee, Student Body President and MAPCS Co-Chair, College of Saint Benedict and Saint John's University Elena Osmanllari, Student Body Vice President and MAPCS Co-Chair, Bethany Lutheran College Daniel Fapohunda, Student Body President, Council of Student Government Presidents, Augsburg University Salma Caamir, Student Body Vice President, Council of Student Government Presidents, Augsburg University Jamma Jiggo, MAPCS representative, Augsburg University Devon Standingstrong, MAPCS representative, Augsburg University

Ashley Casper, Student Body President, Council of Student Government Presidents, Bethany Lutheran College

Mild Du, Student Body President, Council of Student Government Presidents, Bethel University
Vivian Agugo, Incoming Student Body President, Council of Student Government Presidents, Carleton College
Madelyn Ploof, Student Body President, Council of Student Government Presidents, The College of St.
Scholastica

Grace Halvorson, Student Body President, Council of Student Government Presidents, Concordia College Denya Jada, Student Body President, Council of Student Government Presidents, Concordia University, St. Paul Chance Korpela, Student Body President, Council of Student Government Presidents, Gustavus Adolphus College Robby Swenson, Student Body Vice President, Council of Student Government Presidents, Gustavus Adolphus College

Eleanor Charlson, Student Government Official, MAPCS representative, Gustavus Adolphus College Elisa Lopez, Student Body President, Council of Student Government Presidents, Hamline University Joel Sadofsky, Student Body President, Council of Student Government Presidents, Macalester College Mena Feleke, Student Body Vice President, MAPCS representative, Macalester College

Sarah Dyar, MAPCS representative, Minneapolis College of Art and Design

Maggie Newhouse, Student Body President, Council of Student Government Presidents, Saint Mary's University of Minnesota

Caden Boyer, Student Body Vice President, MAPCS representative, Saint Mary's University of Minnesota Madeline Bjonskaas, Senate Official, MAPCS representative, St. Catherine University Ingrid Rustad, MAPCS representative, St. Olaf College

Lydia Svien, MAPCS representative, St. Olaf College

Aisling Cox, MAPCS representative, St. Olaf College

Josiah Olson, Student Body President, Council of Student Government Presidents, University of Northwestern – St. Paul

Jake Manske, Student Body President, Council of Student Government Presidents, University of St. Thomas