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Assisted Living Facts and Figures
Background
Congregate housing options in Minnesota that offer some type of service package to residents, when at least 80 percent of residents are age 55 and older, is considered to be a “housing with service establishment” (HWS) and must be registered as such with the Minnesota Department of Health (MDH). A sub-category of housing with services establishments that meet requirements outlined in state statute may be designated an assisted living (AL). Both HWS and AL establishments must comply with applicable housing and safety codes, and the services offered must be provided by appropriately licensed providers. Residents usually pay a fixed monthly base fee that includes the rent and often includes a “package” of services.
What services are available in assisted living establishments?
To register as a HWS establishment, an establishment must offer two or more regularly scheduled supportive services and one or more health related services.
Examples of supportive services that an establishment may choose to offer include but are not limited to: arranging for medical or social services; arranging for transportation; and providing meals, housekeeping, laundry and opportunities for socialization.
Examples of health related services that an establishment may choose to provide include but are not limited to: professional nursing services; administration of medications; and providing assistance with activities of daily living such as dressing, grooming, bathing, eating, and toileting.
To register as an assisted living the establishment must offer certain supportive and health-related services, and must have a system for responding to health and safety needs for assisted living residents 24 hours a day, among other requirements. 
How are services paid for in assisted living establishments?
Residents typically pay for services through their personal funds, or for people who qualify for public programs, through a Medical Assistance (MA) home and community-based waiver program such as Elderly Waiver (EW). The EW program, for people age 65 and older, includes a range of services, including “customized living” which is a bundled service provided in assisted living. Customized living provides payment for individualized services based on a person’s needs. Like all Medical Assistance, it does not pay for room and board. In fiscal year 2016, a total of 11,845 people received customized living services through EW. The average age of EW customized living recipients was 84. Most (76%) were women and 24% were men. 
How is a person admitted to an assisted living establishment?
Like any other private apartment in Minnesota, a prospective consumer wishing to reside in assisted living applies to the owner and completes a lease agreement that spells out tenant rights. Pursuant to Minn. Stat. section 256B.0911, subdivision 3c, prior to the completion of a housing with service or assisted living lease, individuals must call the Senior LinkAge Line® to be offered long-term care options counseling regarding service options available to them in their own home. Callers who decide to continue to pursue assisted living residence receive a code that they provide to the assisted living owner in order to finalize their lease. 
How many assisted living beds are there in Minnesota?
The Continuing Care for Older Adults Administration collaborates with MDH to maintain a measure, the Number of Assisted Living Beds per 1,000 Persons Age 65 and Over by County. This is one of the measures tracked to gauge the availability of a range of housing and service choices for older adults in their communities.
In June 2016, there were 1,581 housing with services establishments. Of those, a total of 1,193 establishments were designated to provide assisted living services. These entities had a total capacity of 126,696 beds (71,555 for HWS and 55,146 for AL) and served a total of 91,394 residents (50,721 for HWS and 40,673 for AL). This data represents total capacity without regard to payer source.
There are assisted living beds in all counties except Cook and Traverse.
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