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Article 9: Public Safety and Corrections (unless otherwise indicated) Sec. Article 12: Public Safety 

 

No comparable provision. 

1  Violations by drivers; penalties.  Amends traffic violations under Minnesota Statutes, 

section 169.444, by increasing the minimum fine from $300 to $500. Under Minnesota 

Statutes, section 169.444, it is a misdemeanor to fail to stop for a school bus displaying a stop 

arm or illegally pass on the right of a school bus flashing amber lights.  [H.F. 1948] 

 

 

 

 

No comparable provision. 

2  Violations; driving without a valid license.  Sets increased penalties for some repeated 

offenses and injury and death situations where a person operates a motor vehicle without a 

valid driver’s license (which under current law is generally a misdemeanor).  It: 

 makes it a gross misdemeanor for operating without a valid license if the person 

causes a collision resulting in substantial bodily harm (which is a temporary but 

substantial loss, impairment, fracture, or disfigurement) or a person’s death; 

 makes it a gross misdemeanor for a third or subsequent operating without a valid 

license conviction within a ten-year period; and 

 sets minimum fines, with a provision for community service in cases of financial 

hardship, of (1) $750 for a second conviction, and (2) $1,500 for third or subsequent 

convictions. 

The section also permits, in addition to conviction under the section of statutes on driving 

without a valid license, conviction for other violations arising from the driving conduct.  

[H.F. 3385] 

S.F. 2862-1 (passed Senate), section 1 is identical.  3  Registration required. Amends the predatory offender registration statute by striking 

language. This change expands registration in prostitution offenses to include not only cases 

where a minor is under 13, but also undercover operations where a minor is reasonably 

believed to be under 13. See section 6. [H.F. 2976, as amended] 

No comparable provision. 4  Sensory testing research.  Allows sensory testing services to possess and serve alcohol as 

part of their business operations.  [H.F. 3369] 

S.F. 2680-1 (on Senate floor) is similar. 5  Felony assault motivated by bias. Increases the statutory maximum penalty by 25 percent 

for felony assault motivated by bias. Applies to first- through third-degree assault. 

[H.F. 2928] 
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Article 9: Public Safety and Corrections (unless otherwise indicated) Sec. Article 12: Public Safety 

S.F. 2862-1 (passed Senate), section 2 is identical. 6  Hiring minor to engage in prostitution. Amends the crime of hiring or offering to hire an 

individual to engage in prostitution when the actor reasonably believes the individual is a 

minor. This law was amended last year to provide penalties in undercover operations, but was 

limited to a five-year felony. This section creates tiered penalties based on the age of the 

minor: 

 five-year felony if the minor is reasonably believed to be 16 or 17 

 ten-year felony if the minor is reasonably believed to be 13, 14, or 15 

 20-year felony if the minor is reasonably believed to be under 13. 

[H.F. 2976, as amended] 

Section 8, subdivision 1, requires the Peace Officer Standards and Training (POST) Board 

to create a list of approved training courses to instruct peace officers in the techniques of 

responding to a mental health crisis.  Delineates course requirements, including techniques 

on how to respond appropriately in a crisis to the children and families of individuals with 

mental health illnesses. 

Subdivision 2 requires peace officers holding an active license to complete a minimum of 

four hours of continuing education training under subdivision 1 over three years. 

The section has a July 1, 2017, effective date. 

 

  

 

 

No comparable provision. 

 

No comparable provision. 

8  Avian influenza emergency response.  Extends the authorization to use disaster 

contingency account monies to pay for costs of eligible avian influenza emergency response 

activities. The revised language would permit monies in the account to be used for “any 

agricultural emergency” and makes the monies in the account available for these purposes 

through fiscal year 2019. Requires reports from the commissioner of management and 

budget to the Legislature by both January 15, 2018, and January 15, 2020, on monies used 

from the account to fund these activities. 
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No comparable provision. 9  Correctional facility contract.  Directs the commissioner to enter into either a contract to 

operate and purchase or a lease to own the private prison in Appleton, Minnesota, in order to 

address bed capacity shortfalls in state correctional facilities.  [H.F. 3223, as amended] 

No comparable provision. 10  Transfer; appropriation.  Transfers $1,000,000 from the MINNCOR revolving fund to the 

general fund. 

 


