STATE OF MINNESOTA HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

SUSTAINABLE INFRASTRUCTURE COMMITTEE

MINUTES

Representative Erin Koegel, Chair of the Sustainable Infrastructure Committee, called the meeting to order at 8:32am on January 25, 2023 in Room 120 of the Minnesota State Capitol. The meeting was broadcast via House Public Information Services.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members present:

KOEGEL, Erin, Chair CURRAN, Brion, Vice-Chair FRANSON, Mary, Lead ACOMB, Patty ANDERSON, Paul CLARDY, Mary Frances HORNSTEIN, Frank IGO, Spencer KRAFT, Larry REHM, Lucy SCHULTZ, Isaac

Members excused:

GILLMAN, Dawn SMITH, Andy

A quorum was present.

Rep. Kraft moved that the minutes from the January 18th meeting be approved. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

HF 413 (Stephenson) - Preference for purchase of electric vehicles for state fleet established, certification of training of motor vehicle dealer employees required, rebates for electric vehicle purchases provided, utilities required to file plans with Public Utilities Commission to promote electric vehicles, grants awarded to automobile dealers to defray cost of manufacturer certification allowing electric vehicle sales, and money appropriated.

Chair Koegel moved that HF 413 be rereferred to the Commerce Finance and Policy Committee.

Chair Koegel moved that the H0413A8 amendment be adopted. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.

Rep. Stephenson gave an overview of HF 413, as amended.

Public Testimony on HF 413, as amended:

Amber Backhaus, Vice President of Public Affairs, Minnesota Automobile Dealers Association Jeremy Estenson, Vice President, Taft Advisors James Pearson, Principal Manager of State Government Affairs, Xcel Energy Deb Erwin, Director of Policy and Program Planning, Xcel Energy Julie Bayer, Minnesota Department of Administration

Rep. Anderson moved that the H0413A4 amendment be adopted.

Rep. Franson requested a roll call. The results were as follows:

AYES:

FRANSON, Mary ANDERSON, Paul IGO, Spencer SCHULTZ, Isaac

NAYS:

KOEGEL, Erin CURRAN, Brion CLARDY, Mary Frances HORNSTEIN, Frank KRAFT, Larry REHM, Lucy

There being 4 AYES and 7 NAYS, THE AMENDMENT WAS NOT ADOPTED.

Rep. Franson moved that the H0413A6 amendment be adopted. THE AMENDMENT WAS NOT ADOPTED.

Rep. Franson moved the H0413A7 amendment.

Rep. Franson moved the oral amendment "Page 1, line 1, after 'amend' insert 'the amendment (H0431A8)" and "Page 1, line 2, delete '6' and insert '4'". THE ORAL AMENDMENT WAS INCORPORATED.

Rep. Franson moved that the H0413A7 amendment, as incorporated, be adopted. THE AMENDMENT WAS NOT ADOPTED.

Chair Koegel renewed the motion that HF 413, as amended, be rereferred to the Commerce Finance and Policy Committee. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

HF 246 (J. Hanson) - Commuter rail and intercity passenger rail moratoriums repealed.

Chair Koegel moved that HF 246 be rereferred to the Transportation Finance and Policy Committee.

Rep. Hanson gave an overview of HF 246.

Public testimony on HF 246:

Timothy Marino Jesse Cook Rand Carlson, University of Minnesota Model Railroad Club Katie Nicholson Darwin Schaeferlane

Chair Koegel renewed the motion to rerefer HF 246 to the Transportation Finance and Policy Committee. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Chair Koegel adjourned the meeting at 9:52am.

Representative Erin Koegel, Chair

Dan Dodge, Committee Legislative Assistant