1.1	moves to amend H.F. No. 4355	, the first eng	grossment, as fo	llows:
1.2	Page 7, after line 24, insert:			
1.3	"Subd. 4. Paid Family and Medical Leave		<u>-0-</u>	30,347,000
1.4	(a) \$30,347,000 in fiscal year 2023 is for			
1.5	purposes of Minnesota Statutes, chapter 268B.			
1.6	This is a onetime appropriation.			
1.7	(b) The base for the family and medical benefit			
1.8	insurance account in the special revenue fund			
1.9	is \$37,215,000 in fiscal year 2024 and			
1.10	\$453,290,000 in fiscal year 2025."			
1.11	Page 7, before line 25, insert:			
1.12 1.13	"Sec. 3. <u>DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND</u> <u>INDUSTRY</u>	<u>\$</u>	<u>-0-</u> <u>\$</u>	<u>536,000</u>
1.14	(a) \$536,000 in fiscal year 2023 is for			
1.15				
	purposes of Minnesota Statutes, chapter 268B.			
1.16	purposes of Minnesota Statutes, chapter 268B. This is a onetime appropriation.			
1.16 1.17				
	This is a onetime appropriation.			
1.17	This is a onetime appropriation. (b) The base for the family and medical benefit			
1.17 1.18	This is a onetime appropriation. (b) The base for the family and medical benefit insurance account in the special revenue fund			
1.17 1.18 1.19	This is a onetime appropriation.(b) The base for the family and medical benefitinsurance account in the special revenue fundis \$436,000 in fiscal year 2024 and \$559,000	<u>\$</u>	<u>-0-</u> <u>\$</u>	<u>1,066,000</u>
1.17 1.18 1.19 1.20 1.21	This is a onetime appropriation.(b) The base for the family and medical benefitinsurance account in the special revenue fundis \$436,000 in fiscal year 2024 and \$559,000in fiscal year 2025.Sec. 4. DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN	<u>\$</u>	<u>-0-</u> <u>\$</u>	<u>1,066,000</u>

	04/25/22 10:50 am	HOUSE RESEARCH	AS/MC	H4355A9
2.1	for this appropriation is \$0 in fiscal year	2024		
2.2	and \$214,000 in fiscal year 2025.			
2.3	Sec. 5. MANAGEMENT AND BUDG	<u>ET §</u>	<u>-0-</u> <u>\$</u>	<u>-0-</u>
2.4	For purposes of Minnesota Statutes, cha	pter		
2.5	268B, the general fund base is \$1,967,00	<u>00 for</u>		
2.6	fiscal year 2024 and \$4,103,000 for fiscal	l year		
2.7	<u>2025.</u>			
2.8 2.9	Sec. 6. <u>LEGISLATIVE COORDINAT</u> <u>COMMISSION</u>	<u>FING</u> <u>\$</u>	<u>-0-</u> <u>\$</u>	<u>22,000</u>
2.10	\$22,000 in fiscal year 2023 is for purpos	ses of		
2.11	Minnesota Statutes, chapter 268B. The l	base		
2.12	for this appropriation is \$73,000 in fiscal	l year		
2.13	2024 and \$141,000 for fiscal year 2025.	<u>.</u>		
2.14	Sec. 7. SUPREME COURT	<u>\$</u>	<u>-0-</u> <u>\$</u>	<u>15,000</u>
2.15	\$15,000 in fiscal year 2023 is for purpos	ses of		
2.16	Minnesota Statutes, chapter 268B. The l	base		
2.17	for this appropriation is \$15,000 in fiscal	l year		
2.18	2024 and \$492,000 in fiscal year 2025.			
2.19	Sec. 8. UNIVERSITY OF MINNESO	<u>TA §</u>	<u>-0-</u> <u>\$</u>	<u>-0-</u>
2.20	For purposes of Minnesota Statutes, cha	pter		
2.21	268B, the general fund base is \$1,686,00	<u>00 for</u>		
2.22	fiscal year 2025.			
2.23	Sec. 9. <u>FAMILY AND MEDICAL B</u>	<u>ENEFITS; TRANSFI</u>	E R.	
2.24	\$31,986,000 in fiscal year 2024 is tra	ansferred from the fam	ily and medical	benefit
2.25	insurance account in the special revenue	fund to the general fund	d. This is a oneti	me transfer.
2.26	Sec. 10. DUPLICATE APPROPRIA	TIONS GIVEN EFFI	ECT ONCE.	
2.27	If an appropriation in this act is enact	ed more than once duri	ng the 2022 regu	ılar session,
2.28	the appropriation is to be given effect or	nly once."		
2.29	Page 46, after line 28, insert:			

04/25/22 10:50 am HOUSE RESEARCH AS/MC H4355A9 **"ARTICLE 3** 3.1 3.2 FAMILY AND MEDICAL BENEFITS Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 13.719, is amended by adding a subdivision 3.3 3.4 to read: Subd. 7. Family and medical insurance data. (a) For the purposes of this subdivision, 3.5 the terms used have the meanings given them in section 268B.01. 3.6 (b) Data on applicants, family members, or employers under chapter 268B are private 3.7 or nonpublic data, provided that the department may share data collected from applicants 3.8 with employers or health care providers to the extent necessary to meet the requirements 3.9 of chapter 268B or other applicable law. 3.10 (c) The department and the Department of Labor and Industry may share data classified 3.11 under paragraph (b) to the extent necessary to meet the requirements of chapter 268B or 3.12 the Department of Labor and Industry's enforcement authority over chapter 268B, as provided 3.13 3.14 in section 177.27. Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 177.27, subdivision 4, is amended to read: 3.15 Subd. 4. Compliance orders. The commissioner may issue an order requiring an 3.16 employer to comply with sections 177.21 to 177.435, 181.02, 181.03, 181.031, 181.032, 3.17 181.101, 181.11, 181.13, 181.14, 181.145, 181.15, 181.172, paragraph (a) or (d), 181.275, 3.18 subdivision 2a, 181.722, 181.79, and 181.939 to 181.943, 268B.09, subdivisions 1 to 6, and 3.19 268B.14, subdivision 3, or with any rule promulgated under section 177.28. The 3.20 commissioner shall issue an order requiring an employer to comply with sections 177.41 3.21 to 177.435 if the violation is repeated. For purposes of this subdivision only, a violation is 3.22 repeated if at any time during the two years that preceded the date of violation, the 3.23 commissioner issued an order to the employer for violation of sections 177.41 to 177.435 3.24 and the order is final or the commissioner and the employer have entered into a settlement 3.25 3.26 agreement that required the employer to pay back wages that were required by sections 177.41 to 177.435. The department shall serve the order upon the employer or the employer's 3.27 authorized representative in person or by certified mail at the employer's place of business. 3.28 An employer who wishes to contest the order must file written notice of objection to the 3.29 order with the commissioner within 15 calendar days after being served with the order. A 3.30 contested case proceeding must then be held in accordance with sections 14.57 to 14.69. 3.31 If, within 15 calendar days after being served with the order, the employer fails to file a 3.32

- 4.1 written notice of objection with the commissioner, the order becomes a final order of the4.2 commissioner.
- 4.3 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 181.032, is amended to read:

4.4 181.032 REQUIRED STATEMENT OF EARNINGS BY EMPLOYER; NOTICE 4.5 TO EMPLOYEE.

(a) At the end of each pay period, the employer shall provide each employee an earnings
statement, either in writing or by electronic means, covering that pay period. An employer
who chooses to provide an earnings statement by electronic means must provide employee
access to an employer-owned computer during an employee's regular working hours to
review and print earnings statements, and must make statements available for review or
printing for a period of three years.

4.12 (b) The earnings statement may be in any form determined by the employer but must4.13 include:

4.14 (1) the name of the employee;

- 4.15 (2) the rate or rates of pay and basis thereof, including whether the employee is paid by
 4.16 hour, shift, day, week, salary, piece, commission, or other method;
- 4.17 (3) allowances, if any, claimed pursuant to permitted meals and lodging;
- 4.18 (4) the total number of hours worked by the employee unless exempt from chapter 177;
- 4.19 (5) the total amount of gross pay earned by the employee during that period;
- 4.20 (6) a list of deductions made from the employee's pay;
- 4.21 (7) any amount deducted by the employer under section 268B.14, subdivision 3, and
- 4.22 the amount paid by the employer based on the employee's wages under section 268B.14,
- 4.23 <u>subdivision 1;</u>
- 4.24 (7) (8) the net amount of pay after all deductions are made;
- 4.25 (8) (9) the date on which the pay period ends;
- 4.26 (9) (10) the legal name of the employer and the operating name of the employer if
- 4.27 different from the legal name;
- (10) (11) the physical address of the employer's main office or principal place of business,
- 4.29 and a mailing address if different; and
- 4.30 (11)(12) the telephone number of the employer.

(c) An employer must provide earnings statements to an employee in writing, rather 5.1 than by electronic means, if the employer has received at least 24 hours notice from an 5.2 employee that the employee would like to receive earnings statements in written form. Once 5.3 an employer has received notice from an employee that the employee would like to receive 5.4 earnings statements in written form, the employer must comply with that request on an 5.5 ongoing basis. 5.6 (d) At the start of employment, an employer shall provide each employee a written notice 5.7 containing the following information: 5.8 (1) the rate or rates of pay and basis thereof, including whether the employee is paid by 5.9 5.10 the hour, shift, day, week, salary, piece, commission, or other method, and the specific application of any additional rates; 5.11 (2) allowances, if any, claimed pursuant to permitted meals and lodging; 5.12 (3) paid vacation, sick time, or other paid time-off accruals and terms of use; 5.13 (4) the employee's employment status and whether the employee is exempt from minimum 5.14 wage, overtime, and other provisions of chapter 177, and on what basis; 5.15 (5) a list of deductions that may be made from the employee's pay; 5.16 (6) the number of days in the pay period, the regularly scheduled pay day, and the pay 5.17 day on which the employee will receive the first payment of wages earned; 5.18 (7) the legal name of the employer and the operating name of the employer if different 5.19 from the legal name; 5.20 (8) the physical address of the employer's main office or principal place of business, and 5.21 a mailing address if different; and 5.22 (9) the telephone number of the employer. 5.23

(e) The employer must keep a copy of the notice under paragraph (d) signed by each 5.24 employee acknowledging receipt of the notice. The notice must be provided to each employee 5.25 5.26 in English. The English version of the notice must include text provided by the commissioner that informs employees that they may request, by indicating on the form, the notice be 5.27 provided in a particular language. If requested, the employer shall provide the notice in the 5.28 language requested by the employee. The commissioner shall make available to employers 5.29 the text to be included in the English version of the notice required by this section and assist 5.30 employers with translation of the notice in the languages requested by their employees. 5.31

- (f) An employer must provide the employee any written changes to the information 6.1 contained in the notice under paragraph (d) prior to the date the changes take effect. 6.2 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 268.19, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 6.3 Subdivision 1. Use of data. (a) Except as provided by this section, data gathered from 6.4 any person under the administration of the Minnesota Unemployment Insurance Law are 6.5 private data on individuals or nonpublic data not on individuals as defined in section 13.02, 6.6 subdivisions 9 and 12, and may not be disclosed except according to a district court order 6.7 or section 13.05. A subpoena is not considered a district court order. These data may be 6.8 disseminated to and used by the following agencies without the consent of the subject of 6.9 the data: 6.10 (1) state and federal agencies specifically authorized access to the data by state or federal 6.11 law: 6.12 (2) any agency of any other state or any federal agency charged with the administration 6.13 of an unemployment insurance program; 6.14 (3) any agency responsible for the maintenance of a system of public employment offices 6.15 for the purpose of assisting individuals in obtaining employment; 6.16 (4) the public authority responsible for child support in Minnesota or any other state in 6.17 accordance with section 256.978; 6.18 (5) human rights agencies within Minnesota that have enforcement powers; 6.19 (6) the Department of Revenue to the extent necessary for its duties under Minnesota 6.20 laws; 6.21 (7) public and private agencies responsible for administering publicly financed assistance 6.22 programs for the purpose of monitoring the eligibility of the program's recipients; 6.23 (8) the Department of Labor and Industry and the Commerce Fraud Bureau in the 6.24 Department of Commerce for uses consistent with the administration of their duties under 6.25 6.26 Minnesota law; (9) the Department of Human Services and the Office of Inspector General and its agents 6.27 within the Department of Human Services, including county fraud investigators, for 6.28 investigations related to recipient or provider fraud and employees of providers when the 6.29 provider is suspected of committing public assistance fraud; 6.30 (10) local and state welfare agencies for monitoring the eligibility of the data subject 6.31
 - 6.32 for assistance programs, or for any employment or training program administered by those

Article 3 Sec. 4.

agencies, whether alone, in combination with another welfare agency, or in conjunction
with the department or to monitor and evaluate the statewide Minnesota family investment
program by providing data on recipients and former recipients of Supplemental Nutrition
Assistance Program (SNAP) benefits, cash assistance under chapter 256, 256D, 256J, or
256K, child care assistance under chapter 119B, or medical programs under chapter 256B
or 256L or formerly codified under chapter 256D;

(11) local and state welfare agencies for the purpose of identifying employment, wages,
and other information to assist in the collection of an overpayment debt in an assistance
program;

(12) local, state, and federal law enforcement agencies for the purpose of ascertaining
the last known address and employment location of an individual who is the subject of a
criminal investigation;

(13) the United States Immigration and Customs Enforcement has access to data on
specific individuals and specific employers provided the specific individual or specific
employer is the subject of an investigation by that agency;

7.16 (14) the Department of Health for the purposes of epidemiologic investigations;

(15) the Department of Corrections for the purposes of case planning and internal research
for preprobation, probation, and postprobation employment tracking of offenders sentenced
to probation and preconfinement and postconfinement employment tracking of committed
offenders;

(16) the state auditor to the extent necessary to conduct audits of job opportunity building
zones as required under section 469.3201; and

(17) the Office of Higher Education for purposes of supporting program improvement,
system evaluation, and research initiatives including the Statewide Longitudinal Education
Data System-; and

7.26 (18) the Family and Medical Benefits Division of the Department of Employment and
 7.27 Economic Development to be used as necessary to administer chapter 268B.

(b) Data on individuals and employers that are collected, maintained, or used by the
department in an investigation under section 268.182 are confidential as to data on individuals
and protected nonpublic data not on individuals as defined in section 13.02, subdivisions 3
and 13, and must not be disclosed except under statute or district court order or to a party
named in a criminal proceeding, administrative or judicial, for preparation of a defense.

8.1	(c) Data gathered by the department	nt in the administration of the Minnesota unemployment
8.2	insurance program must not be made	the subject or the basis for any suit in any civil
8.3	proceedings, administrative or judici	al, unless the action is initiated by the department.
8.4	Sec. 5. [268B.01] DEFINITIONS	<u>-</u>
8.5	Subdivision 1. Scope. For the put	poses of this chapter, the terms defined in this section
8.6	have the meanings given.	
8.7	Subd. 2. Applicant. "Applicant"	means an individual applying for leave with benefits
8.8	under this chapter.	
8.9	Subd. 3. Applicant's average we	ekly wage. "Applicant's average weekly wage" means
8.10	an amount equal to the applicant's hi	gh quarter wage credits divided by 13.
8.11	Subd. 4. Base period. (a) "Base p	period," unless otherwise provided in this subdivision,
8.12	means the most recent four complete	ed calendar quarters before the effective date of an
8.13	applicant's application for family or n	nedical leave benefits if the application has an effective
8.14	date occurring after the month follow	ving the most recent completed calendar quarter. The
8.15	base period under this paragraph is a	s follows:
8.16	If the application for family or medic	
8.17 8.18	benefits is effective on or between the dates:	The base period is the prior:
8.19	February 1 to March 31	January 1 to December 31
8.20	May 1 to June 30	April 1 to March 31
8.21	August 1 to September 30	July 1 to June 30
8.22	November 1 to December 31	October 1 to September 30
8.23	(b) If an application for family or	medical leave benefits has an effective date that is
8.24	during the month following the most	recent completed calendar quarter, then the base period
8.25	is the first four of the most recent five	e completed calendar quarters before the effective date
8.26	of an applicant's application for fami	ly or medical leave benefits. The base period under
8.27	this paragraph is as follows:	
8.28	If the application for family or medic	
8.29 8.30	benefits is effective on or between the dates:	The base period is the prior:
8.31	January 1 to January 31	October 1 to September 30
8.32	April 1 to April 30	January 1 to December 31
8.33	July 1 to July 31	April 1 to March 31
8.34	October 1 to October 31	July 1 to June 30

9.1	(c) Regardless of paragraph (a), a base period of the first four of the most recent five
9.2	completed calendar quarters must be used if the applicant would have more wage credits
9.3	under that base period than under a base period of the four most recent completed calendar
9.4	quarters.
9.5	(d) If the applicant has insufficient wage credits to establish a benefit account under a
9.6	base period of the four most recent completed calendar quarters, or a base period of the first
9.7	four of the most recent five completed calendar quarters, but during either base period the
9.8	applicant received workers' compensation for temporary disability under chapter 176 or a
9.9	similar federal law or similar law of another state, or if the applicant whose own serious
9.10	illness caused a loss of work for which the applicant received compensation for loss of
9.11	wages from some other source, the applicant may request a base period as follows:
9.12	(1) if an applicant was compensated for a loss of work of seven to 13 weeks during a
9.13	base period referred to in paragraph (a) or (b), then the base period is the first four of the
9.14	most recent six completed calendar quarters before the effective date of the application for
9.15	family or medical leave benefits;
9.16	(2) if an applicant was compensated for a loss of work of 14 to 26 weeks during a base
9.17	period referred to in paragraph (a) or (b), then the base period is the first four of the most
9.18	recent seven completed calendar quarters before the effective date of the application for
9.19	family or medical leave benefits;
9.20	(3) if an applicant was compensated for a loss of work of 27 to 39 weeks during a base
9.21	period referred to in paragraph (a) or (b), then the base period is the first four of the most
9.22	recent eight completed calendar quarters before the effective date of the application for
9.23	family or medical leave benefits; and
9.24	(4) if an applicant was compensated for a loss of work of 40 to 52 weeks during a base
9.25	period referred to in paragraph (a) or (b), then the base period is the first four of the most
9.26	recent nine completed calendar quarters before the effective date of the application for
9.27	family or medical leave benefits.
9.28	Subd. 5. Benefit. "Benefit" or "benefits" means monetary payments under this chapter
9.29	associated with qualifying bonding, family care, pregnancy, serious health condition,
9.30	qualifying exigency, or safety leave events, unless otherwise indicated by context.
9.31	Subd. 6. Benefit account. "Benefit account" means a benefit account established under
9.32	section 268B.04.

10.1	Subd. 7. Benefit year. "Benefit year" means the period of 52 calendar weeks beginning
10.2	the date a benefit account under section 268B.04 is effective. For a benefit account established
10.3	effective any January 1, April 1, July 1, or October 1, the benefit year will be a period of
10.4	53 calendar weeks.
10.5	Subd. 8. Bonding. "Bonding" means time spent by an applicant who is a biological,
10.6	adoptive, or foster parent with a biological, adopted, or foster child in conjunction with the
10.7	child's birth, adoption, or placement.
10.8	Subd. 9. Calendar day. "Calendar day" or "day" means a fixed 24-hour period
10.9	corresponding to a single calendar date.
10.10	Subd. 10. Calendar quarter. "Calendar quarter" means the period of three consecutive
10.11	calendar months ending on March 31, June 30, September 30, or December 31.
10.12	Subd. 11. Calendar week. "Calendar week" has the same meaning as "week" under
10.13	subdivision 46.
10.14	Subd. 12. Commissioner. "Commissioner" means the commissioner of employment
10.15	and economic development, unless otherwise indicated by context.
10.16	Subd. 13. Covered employment. (a) "Covered employment" means performing services
10.17	of whatever nature, unlimited by the relationship of master and servant as known to the
10.18	common law, or any other legal relationship performed for wages or under any contract
10.19	calling for the performance of services, written or oral, express or implied.
10.20	(b) "Employment" includes an individual's entire service performed within or without
10.21	or both within and without this state, if:
10.22	(1) the service is localized in this state; or
10.23	(2) the service is not localized in any state, but some of the service is performed in this
10.24	state and:
10.25	(i) the base of operations of the employee is in the state, or if there is no base of
10.26	operations, then the place from which such service is directed or controlled is in this state;
10.27	<u>or</u>
10.28	(ii) the base of operations or place from which such service is directed or controlled is
10.29	not in any state in which some part of the service is performed, but the individual's residence
10.30	is in this state.
10.31	(c) "Covered employment" does not include:
10.32	(1) a self-employed individual; or

11.1	(2) an independent contractor.
11.2	Subd. 14. Department. "Department" means the Department of Employment and
11.3	Economic Development, unless otherwise indicated by context.
11.4	Subd. 15. Employee. (a) "Employee" means an individual who is in the employment of
11.5	an employer.
11.6	(b) Employee does not include employees of the United States of America.
11.7	Subd. 16. Employer. (a) "Employer" means:
11.8	(1) any person, type of organization, or entity, including any partnership, association,
11.9	trust, estate, joint stock company, insurance company, limited liability company, or
11.10	corporation, whether domestic or foreign, or the receiver, trustee in bankruptcy, trustee, or
11.11	the legal representative of a deceased person, having any individual in covered employment;
11.12	(2) the state, statewide system, and state agencies; and
11.13	(3) any local government entity, including but not limited to a county, city, town, school
11.14	district, municipal corporation, quasimunicipal corporation, or other political subdivision.
11.15	An employer also includes charter schools.
11.16	(b) Employer does not include:
11.17	(1) the United States of America; or
11.18	(2) a self-employed individual who has elected and been approved for coverage under
11.19	section 268B.11 with regard to the self-employed individual's own coverage and benefits.
11.20	Subd. 17. Estimated self-employment income. "Estimated self-employment income"
11.21	means a self-employed individual's average net earnings from self-employment in the two
11.22	most recent taxable years. For a self-employed individual who had net earnings from
11.23	self-employment in only one of the years, the individual's estimated self-employment income
11.24	equals the individual's net earnings from self-employment in the year in which the individual
11.25	had net earnings from self-employment.
11.26	Subd. 18. Family and medical benefit insurance account. "Family and medical benefit
11.27	insurance account" means the family and medical benefit insurance account in the special
11.28	revenue fund in the state treasury under section 268B.02.
11.29	Subd. 19. Family and medical benefit insurance enforcement account. "Family and
11.30	medical benefit insurance enforcement account" means the family and medical benefit
11.31	insurance enforcement account in the state treasury under section 268B.185.

12.1	Subd. 20. Family benefit program. "Family benefit program" means the program
12.2	administered under this chapter for the collection of premiums and payment of benefits
12.3	related to family care, bonding, safety leave, and leave related to a qualifying exigency.
12.4	Subd. 21. Family care. "Family care" means an applicant caring for a family member
12.5	with a serious health condition or caring for a family member who is a covered service
12.6	member.
12.7	Subd. 22. Family member. (a) "Family member" means, with respect to an employee:
12.8	(1) a spouse, including a domestic partner in a civil union or other registered domestic
12.9	partnership recognized by the state, and a spouse's parent;
12.10	(2) a child and a child's spouse;
12.11	(3) a parent and a parent's spouse;
12.12	(4) a sibling and a sibling's spouse;
12.13	(5) a grandparent, a grandchild, or a spouse of a grandparent or grandchild; and
12.14	(6) any other individual who is related by blood or affinity and whose association with
12.15	the employee is equivalent of a family relationship. For the purposes of this clause, with
12.16	respect to an employee, this includes but is not limited to:
12.17	(i) a child of a sibling of the employee;
12.18	(ii) a sibling of the parents of the employee;
12.19	(iii) a child-in-law, a parent-in-law, a sibling-in-law, and a grandparent-in-law; and
12.20	(iv) an individual who has resided at the same address as the employee for at least one
12.21	year as of the first day of leave under this chapter.
12.22	(b) For the purposes of this chapter, a child includes a stepchild; biological, adopted, or
12.23	foster child of the employee; or a child for whom the employee is standing in loco parentis.
12.24	(c) For the purposes of this chapter, a grandchild includes a step-grandchild or biological,
12.25	adopted, or foster grandchild of the employee.
12.26	Subd. 23. Health care provider. "Health care provider" means:
12.27	(1) an individual who is licensed, certified, or otherwise authorized under law to practice
12.28	in the individual's scope of practice as a physician, osteopath, surgeon, or advanced practice
12.29	registered nurse; or

13.1	(2) any other individual determined by the commissioner by rule, in accordance with
13.2	the rulemaking procedures in the Administrative Procedure Act, to be capable of providing
13.3	health care services.
13.4	Subd. 24. High quarter. "High quarter" means the calendar quarter in an applicant's
13.5	base period with the highest amount of wage credits.
13.6	Subd. 25. Incapacity. "Incapacity" means inability to perform regular work, attend
13.7	school, or fully perform other regular daily activities due to a serious health condition,
13.8	treatment therefore, or recovery therefrom.
13.9	Subd. 26. Independent contractor. (a) If there is an existing specific test or definition
13.10	for independent contractor in Minnesota statute or rule applicable to an occupation or sector
13.11	as of the date of enactment of this chapter, that test or definition shall apply to that occupation
13.12	or sector for purposes of this chapter. If there is not an existing test or definition as described,
13.13	the definition for independent contractor shall be as provided in this subdivision.
13.14	(b) An individual is an independent contractor and not an employee of the person for
13.15	whom the individual is performing services in the course of the person's trade, business,
13.16	profession, or occupation only if:
13.17	(1) the individual maintains a separate business with the individual's own office,
13.18	equipment, materials, and other facilities;
13.19	(2) the individual:
13.20	(i) holds or has applied for a federal employer identification number; or
13.21	(ii) has filed business or self-employment income tax returns with the federal Internal
13.22	Revenue Service if the individual has performed services in the previous year;
13.23	(3) the individual is operating under contract to perform the specific services for the
13.24	person for specific amounts of money and under which the individual controls the means
13.25	of performing the services;
13.26	(4) the individual is incurring the main expenses related to the services that the individual
13.27	is performing for the person under the contract;
13.28	(5) the individual is responsible for the satisfactory completion of the services that the
13.29	individual has contracted to perform for the person and is liable for a failure to complete

13.30 the services;

14.1	(6) the individual receives compensation from the person for the services performed
14.2	under the contract on a commission or per-job or competitive bid basis and not on any other
14.3	<u>basis;</u>
14.4	(7) the individual may realize a profit or suffer a loss under the contract to perform
14.5	services for the person;
14.6	(8) the individual has continuing or recurring business liabilities or obligations; and
14.7	(9) the success or failure of the individual's business depends on the relationship of
14.8	business receipts to expenditures.
14.9	(c) For the purposes of this chapter, an insurance producer, as defined in section 60K.31,
14.10	subdivision 6, is an independent contractor of an insurance company, as defined in section
14.11	60A.02, subdivision 4, unless the insurance producer and insurance company agree otherwise.
14.12	Subd. 27. Inpatient care. "Inpatient care" means an overnight stay in a hospital, hospice,
14.13	or residential medical care facility, including any period of incapacity, or any subsequent
14.14	treatment in connection with such inpatient care.
14.15	Subd. 28. Maximum weekly benefit amount. "Maximum weekly benefit amount"
14.16	means the state's average weekly wage as calculated under section 268.035, subdivision 23.
14.17	Subd. 29. Medical benefit program. "Medical benefit program" means the program
14.18	administered under this chapter for the collection of premiums and payment of benefits
14.19	related to an applicant's serious health condition or pregnancy.
14.20	Subd. 30. Net earnings from self-employment. "Net earnings from self-employment"
14.21	has the meaning given in section 1402 of the Internal Revenue Code, as defined in section
14.22	290.01, subdivision 31.
14.23	Subd. 31. Pregnancy. "Pregnancy" means prenatal care or incapacity due to pregnancy
14.24	or recovery from childbirth, still birth, miscarriage, or related health conditions.
14.25	Subd. 32. Qualifying exigency. (a) "Qualifying exigency" means a need arising out of
14.26	a military member's active duty service or notice of an impending call or order to active
14.27	duty in the United States armed forces, including providing for the care or other needs of
14.28	the family member's child or other dependent, making financial or legal arrangements for
14.29	the family member, attending counseling, attending military events or ceremonies, spending
14.30	time with the family member during a rest and recuperation leave or following return from
14.31	deployment, or making arrangements following the death of the military member.

15.1	(b) For the purposes of this chapter, a "military member" means a current or former
15.2	member of the United States armed forces, including a member of the National Guard or
15.3	reserves, who, except for a deceased military member, is a resident of the state and is a
15.4	family member of the employee taking leave related to the qualifying exigency.
15.5	Subd. 33. Safety leave. "Safety leave" means leave from work because of domestic
15.6	abuse, sexual assault, or stalking of the employee or employee's family member, provided
15.7	the leave is to:
15.8	(1) seek medical attention related to the physical or psychological injury or disability
15.9	caused by domestic abuse, sexual assault, or stalking;
15.10	(2) obtain services from a victim services organization;
15.11	(3) obtain psychological or other counseling;
15.12	(4) seek relocation due to the domestic abuse, sexual assault, or stalking; or
15.13	(5) seek legal advice or take legal action, including preparing for or participating in any
15.14	civil or criminal legal proceeding related to, or resulting from, the domestic abuse, sexual
15.15	assault, or stalking.
15.16	Subd. 34. Self-employed individual. "Self-employed individual" means a resident of
15.17	the state who, in one of the two taxable years preceding the current calendar year, derived
15.18	at least \$10,000 in net earnings from self-employment from an entity other than an S
15.19	corporation for the performance of services in this state.
15.20	Subd. 35. Self-employment premium base. "Self-employment premium base" means
15.21	the lesser of:
15.22	(1) a self-employed individual's estimated self-employment income for the calendar year
15.23	plus the individual's self-employment wages in the calendar year; or
15.24	(2) the maximum earnings subject to the FICA Old-Age, Survivors, and Disability
15.25	Insurance tax in the taxable year.
15.26	Subd. 36. Self-employment wages. "Self-employment wages" means the amount of
15.27	wages that a self-employed individual earned in the calendar year from an entity from which
15.28	the individual also received net earnings from self-employment.
15.29	Subd. 37. Serious health condition. (a) "Serious health condition" means a physical or
15.30	mental illness, injury, impairment, condition, or substance use disorder that involves:
15.31	(1) at-home care or inpatient care in a hospital, hospice, or residential medical care
15.32	facility, including any period of incapacity; or

16.1	(2) continuing treatment or supervision by a health care provider which includes any
16.2	one or more of the following:
16.3	(i) a period of incapacity of more than three consecutive, full calendar days, and any
16.4	subsequent treatment or period of incapacity relating to the same condition, that also involves:
16.5	(A) treatment two or more times by a health care provider or by a provider of health
16.6	care services under orders of, or on referral by, a health care provider; or
16.7	(B) treatment by a health care provider on at least one occasion that results in a regimen
16.8	of continuing treatment under the supervision of the health care provider;
16.9	(ii) a period of incapacity due to pregnancy, or for prenatal care;
16.10	(iii) a period of incapacity or treatment for a chronic health condition that:
16.11	(A) requires periodic visits, defined as at least twice a year, for treatment by a health
16.12	care provider or under orders of, or on referral by, a health care provider;
16.13	(B) continues over an extended period of time, including recurring episodes of a single
16.14	underlying condition; and
16.15	(C) may cause episodic rather than continuing periods of incapacity;
16.16	(iv) a period of incapacity which is permanent or long term due to a condition for which
16.17	treatment may not be effective. The employee or family member must be under the continuing
16.18	supervision of, but need not be receiving active treatment by, a health care provider; or
16.19	(v) a period of absence to receive multiple treatments, including any period of recovery
16.20	from the treatments, by a health care provider or by a provider of health care services under
16.21	orders of, or on referral by, a health care provider, for:
16.22	(A) restorative surgery after an accident or other injury; or
16.23	(B) a condition that would likely result in a period of incapacity of more than three
16.24	consecutive, full calendar days in the absence of medical intervention or treatment.
16.25	(b) For the purposes of paragraph (a), clauses (1) and (2), treatment by a health care
16.26	provider means an in-person visit or telemedicine visit with a health care provider, or by a
16.27	provider of health care services under orders of, or on referral by, a health care provider.
16.28	(c) For the purposes of paragraph (a), treatment includes but is not limited to examinations
16.29	to determine if a serious health condition exists and evaluations of the condition.
16.30	(d) Absences attributable to incapacity under paragraph (a), clause (2), item (ii) or (iii),
16.31	qualify for leave under this chapter even if the employee or the family member does not

17.1	receive treatment from a health care provider during the absence, and even if the absence
17.2	does not last more than three consecutive, full calendar days.
17.3	Subd. 38. State's average weekly wage. "State's average weekly wage" means the
17.4	weekly wage calculated under section 268.035, subdivision 23.
17.5	Subd. 39. Supplemental benefit payment. (a) "Supplemental benefit payment" means:
17.6	(1) a payment made by an employer to an employee as salary continuation or as paid
17.7	time off. Such a payment must be in addition to any family or medical leave benefits the
17.8	employee is receiving under this chapter; and
17.9	(2) a payment offered by an employer to an employee who is taking leave under this
17.10	chapter to supplement the family or medical leave benefits the employee is receiving.
17.11	(b) Employers may, but are not required to, designate certain benefits including but not
17.12	limited to salary continuation, vacation leave, sick leave, or other paid time off as a
17.13	supplemental benefit payment.
17.14	(c) Nothing in this chapter requires an employee to receive supplemental benefit
17.15	payments.
17.16	Subd. 40. Taxable year. "Taxable year" has the meaning given in section 290.01,
17.17	subdivision 9.
17.18	Subd. 41. Taxable wages. "Taxable wages" means those wages paid to an employee in
17.19	covered employment each calendar year up to an amount equal to the maximum wages
17.20	subject to premium in a calendar year, which is equal to the maximum earnings in that year
17.21	subject to the FICA Old-Age, Survivors, and Disability Insurance tax rounded to the nearest
17.22	<u>\$1,000.</u>
17.23	Subd. 42. Typical workweek hours. "Typical workweek hours" means:
17.24	(1) for an hourly employee, the average number of hours worked per week by an
17.25	employee within the high quarter during the base year; or
17.26	(2) 40 hours for a salaried employee, regardless of the number of hours the salaried
17.27	employee typically works.
17.28	Subd. 43. Wage credits. "Wage credits" means the amount of wages paid within an
17.29	applicant's base period for covered employment, as defined in subdivision 13.
17.30	Subd. 44. Wage detail report. "Wage detail report" means the report on each employee
17.31	in covered employment required from an employer on a calendar quarter basis under section
17.32	<u>268B.12.</u>

18.1	Subd. 45. Wages. (a) "Wages" means all compensation for employment, including
18.2	commissions; bonuses, awards, and prizes; severance payments; standby pay; vacation and
18.3	holiday pay; back pay as of the date of payment; tips and gratuities paid to an employee by
18.4	a customer of an employer and accounted for by the employee to the employer; sickness
18.5	and accident disability payments, except as otherwise provided in this subdivision; and the
18.6	cash value of housing, utilities, meals, exchanges of services, and any other goods and
18.7	services provided to compensate an employee, except:
18.8	(1) the amount of any payment made to, or on behalf of, an employee under a plan
18.9	established by an employer that makes provision for employees generally or for a class or
18.10	classes of employees, including any amount paid by an employer for insurance or annuities,
18.11	or into a plan, to provide for a payment, on account of (i) retirement, (ii) medical and
18.12	hospitalization expenses in connection with sickness or accident disability, or (iii) death;
18.13	(2) the payment by an employer of the tax imposed upon an employee under United
18.14	States Code, title 26, section 3101 of the Federal Insurance Contribution Act, with respect
18.15	to compensation paid to an employee for domestic employment in a private household of
18.16	the employer or for agricultural employment;
18.17	(3) any payment made to, or on behalf of, an employee or beneficiary (i) from or to a
18.18	trust described in United States Code, title 26, section 401(a) of the federal Internal Revenue
18.19	Code, that is exempt from tax under section 501(a) at the time of the payment unless the
18.20	payment is made to an employee of the trust as compensation for services as an employee
18.21	and not as a beneficiary of the trust, or (ii) under or to an annuity plan that, at the time of
18.22	the payment, is a plan described in section 403(a);
18.23	(4) the value of any special discount or markdown allowed to an employee on goods
18.24	purchased from or services supplied by the employer where the purchases are optional and
18.25	do not constitute regular or systematic payment for services;
18.26	(5) customary and reasonable directors' fees paid to individuals who are not otherwise
18.27	employed by the corporation of which they are directors;
18.28	(6) the payment to employees for reimbursement of meal expenses when employees are
18.29	required to perform work after their regular hours;
18.30	(7) the payment into a trust or plan for purposes of providing legal or dental services if
18.31	provided for all employees generally or for a class or classes of employees;
18.32	(8) the value of parking facilities provided or paid for by an employer, in whole or in
18.33	part, if provided for all employees generally or for a class or classes of employees;

19.1	(9) royalties to an owner of a franchise, license, copyright, patent, oil, mineral, or other
19.2	right;
19.3	(10) advances or reimbursements for traveling or other ordinary and necessary expenses
19.4	incurred or reasonably expected to be incurred in the business of the employer. Traveling
19.5	and other reimbursed expenses must be identified either by making separate payments or
19.6	by specifically indicating the separate amounts where both wages and expense allowances
19.7	are combined in a single payment;
19.8	(11) residual payments to radio, television, and similar artists that accrue after the
19.9	production of television commercials, musical jingles, spot announcements, radio
19.10	transcriptions, film soundtracks, and similar activities;
19.11	(12) the income to a former employee resulting from the exercise of a nonqualified stock
19.12	option;
19.13	(13) supplemental unemployment benefit payments under a plan established by an
19.14	employer, if the payment is not wages under the Federal Unemployment Tax Act. The
19.15	payments are wages unless made solely for the supplementing of weekly state or federal
19.16	unemployment benefits. Supplemental unemployment benefit payments may not be assigned,
19.17	nor may any consideration be required from the applicant, other than a release of claims in
19.18	order to be excluded from wages;
19.19	(14) sickness or accident disability payments made by the employer after the expiration
19.20	of six calendar months following the last calendar month that the individual worked for the
19.21	employer;
19.22	(15) disability payments made under the provisions of any workers' compensation law;
19.23	(16) sickness or accident disability payments made by a third-party payer such as an
19.24	insurance company; or
19.25	(17) payments made into a trust fund, or for the purchase of insurance or an annuity, to
19.26	provide for sickness or accident disability payments to employees under a plan or system
19.27	established by the employer that provides for the employer's employees generally or for a
19.28	class or classes of employees.
19.29	(b) Nothing in this subdivision excludes from the term "wages" any payment made under
19.30	any type of salary reduction agreement, including payments made under a cash or deferred
19.31	arrangement and cafeteria plan, as defined in United States Code, title 26, sections 401(k)
19.32	and 125 of the federal Internal Revenue Code, to the extent that the employee has the option
19.33	to receive the payment in cash.

20.1	(c) Wages includes the total payment to the operator and supplier of a vehicle or other
20.2	equipment where the payment combines compensation for personal services as well as
20.3	compensation for the cost of operating and hiring the equipment in a single payment. This
20.4	paragraph does not apply if:
20.5	(1) there is a preexisting written agreement providing for allocation of specific amounts;
20.6	<u>or</u>
20.7	(2) at the time of each payment there is a written acknowledgment indicating the separate
20.8	allocated amounts.
20.9	(d) Wages includes payments made for services as a caretaker. Unless there is a contract
20.10	or other proof to the contrary, compensation is considered as being equally received by a
20.11	married couple where the employer makes payment to only one spouse, or by all tenants of
20.12	a household who perform services where two or more individuals share the same dwelling
20.13	and the employer makes payment to only one individual.
20.14	(e) Wages includes payments made for services by a migrant family. Where services
20.15	are performed by a married couple or a family and an employer makes payment to only one
20.16	individual, each worker is considered as having received an equal share of the compensation
20.17	unless there is a contract or other proof to the contrary.
20.18	(f) Wages includes advances or draws against future earnings, when paid, unless the
20.19	payments are designated as a loan or return of capital on the books and records of the
20.20	employer at the time of payment.
20.21	(g) Wages includes payments made by a subchapter "S" corporation, as organized under
20.22	the Internal Revenue Code, to or on behalf of officers and shareholders that are reasonable
20.23	compensation for services performed for the corporation.
20.24	For a subchapter "S" corporation, wages does not include:
20.25	(1) a loan for business purposes to an officer or shareholder evidenced by a promissory
20.26	note signed by an officer before the payment of the loan proceeds and recorded on the books
20.27	and records of the corporation as a loan to an officer or shareholder;
20.28	(2) a repayment of a loan or payment of interest on a loan made by an officer to the
20.29	corporation and recorded on the books and records of the corporation as a liability;
20.30	(3) a reimbursement of reasonable corporation expenses incurred by an officer and
20.31	documented by a written expense voucher and recorded on the books and records of the
20.32	corporation as corporate expenses; and

21.1	(4) a reasonable lease or rental payment to an officer who owns property that is leased
21.2	or rented to the corporation.
21.3	Subd. 46. Wages paid. (a) "Wages paid" means the amount of wages:
21.4	(1) that have been actually paid; or
21.5	(2) that have been credited to or set apart so that payment and disposition is under the
21.6	control of the employee.
21.7	(b) Wage payments delayed beyond the regularly scheduled pay date are wages paid on
21.8	the missed pay date. Back pay is wages paid on the date of actual payment. Any wages
21.9	earned but not paid with no scheduled date of payment are wages paid on the last day of
21.10	employment.
21.11	(c) Wages paid does not include wages earned but not paid except as provided for in
21.12	this subdivision.
21.13	Subd. 47. Week. "Week" means calendar week ending at midnight Saturday.
21.14	Subd. 48. Weekly benefit amount. "Weekly benefit amount" means the amount of
21.15	family and medical leave benefits computed under section 268B.04.
21.16	Sec. 6. [268B.02] FAMILY AND MEDICAL BENEFIT INSURANCE PROGRAM
21.17	CREATION.
21.18	Subdivision 1. Creation. A family and medical benefit insurance program is created to
21.19	be administered by the commissioner according to the terms of this chapter.
21.20	Subd. 2. Creation of division. A Family and Medical Benefit Insurance Division is
21.21	created within the department under the authority of the commissioner. The commissioner
21.22	shall appoint a director of the division. The division shall administer and operate the benefit
21.23	program under this chapter.
21.24	Subd. 3. Rulemaking. The commissioner shall adopt rules to implement the provisions
21.25	of this chapter.
21.26	Subd. 4. Account creation; appropriation. The family and medical benefit insurance
21.27	account is created in the special revenue fund in the state treasury. Money in this account
21.28	is appropriated to the commissioner to pay benefits under and to administer this chapter,
21.29	including outreach required under section 268B.18.
21.30	Subd. 5. Information technology services and equipment. The department is exempt

22.1	Sec. 7. [268B.03] PAYMENT OF BENEFITS.
22.2	Subdivision 1. Requirements. The commissioner must pay benefits from the family
22.3	and medical benefit insurance account as provided under this chapter to an applicant who
22.4	has met each of the following requirements:
22.5	(1) the applicant has filed an application for benefits and established a benefit account
22.6	in accordance with section 268B.04;
22.7	(2) the applicant has met all of the ongoing eligibility requirements under section
22.8	<u>268B.06;</u>
22.9	(3) the applicant does not have an outstanding overpayment of family or medical leave
22.10	benefits, including any penalties or interest;
22.11	(4) the applicant has not been held ineligible for benefits under section 268.07, subdivision
22.12	<u>2; and</u>
22.13	(5) the applicant is not employed exclusively by a private plan employer and has wage
22.14	credits during the base year attributable to employers covered under the state family and
22.15	medical leave program.
22.16	Subd. 2. Benefits paid from state funds. Benefits are paid from state funds and are not
22.17	considered paid from any special insurance plan, nor as paid by an employer. An application
22.18	for family or medical leave benefits is not considered a claim against an employer but is
22.19	considered a request for benefits from the family and medical benefit insurance account.
22.20	The commissioner has the responsibility for the proper payment of benefits regardless of
22.21	the level of interest or participation by an applicant or an employer in any determination or
22.22	appeal. An applicant's entitlement to benefits must be determined based upon that information
22.23	available without regard to a burden of proof. Any agreement between an applicant and an
22.24	employer is not binding on the commissioner in determining an applicant's entitlement.
22.25	There is no presumption of entitlement or nonentitlement to benefits.
22.26	Sec. 8. [268B.04] BENEFIT ACCOUNT; BENEFITS.
22.27	Subdivision 1. Application for benefits; determination of benefit account. (a) An
22.28	application for benefits may be filed in person, by mail, or by electronic transmission as the

22.29 commissioner may require. The applicant must include certification supporting a request

22.30 for leave under this chapter. The applicant must meet eligibility requirements at the time

- 22.31 the application is filed and must provide all requested information in the manner required.
- 22.32 If the applicant does not meet eligibility at the time of the application or fails to provide all

23.1	requested information, the communication is not an application for family and medical leave
23.2	benefits.
23.3	(b) The commissioner must examine each application for benefits to determine the base
23.4	period and the benefit year, and based upon all the covered employment in the base period
23.5	the commissioner must determine the weekly benefit amount available, if any, and the
23.6	maximum amount of benefits available, if any. The determination, which is a document
23.7	separate and distinct from a document titled a determination of eligibility or determination
23.8	of ineligibility, must be titled determination of benefit account. A determination of benefit
23.9	account must be sent to the applicant and all base period employers, by mail or electronic
23.10	transmission.
23.11	(c) If a base period employer did not provide wage detail information for the applicant
23.12	as required under section 268B.12, the commissioner may accept an applicant certification
23.13	of wage credits, based upon the applicant's records, and issue a determination of benefit
23.14	account.
23.15	(d) The commissioner may, at any time within 24 months from the establishment of a
23.16	benefit account, reconsider any determination of benefit account and make an amended
23.17	determination if the commissioner finds that the wage credits listed in the determination
23.18	were incorrect for any reason. An amended determination of benefit account must be
23.19	promptly sent to the applicant and all base period employers, by mail or electronic
23.20	transmission. This paragraph does not apply to documents titled determinations of eligibility
23.21	or determinations of ineligibility issued.
23.22	(e) If an amended determination of benefit account reduces the weekly benefit amount
23.23	or maximum amount of benefits available, any benefits that have been paid greater than the
23.24	applicant was entitled is an overpayment of benefits. A determination or amended
23.25	determination issued under this section that results in an overpayment of benefits must set
23.26	out the amount of the overpayment and the requirement that the overpaid benefits must be
23.27	repaid according to section 268B.185.
23.28	Subd. 2. Benefit account requirements. (a) Unless paragraph (b) applies, to establish
23.29	a benefit account, an applicant must have wage credits of at least 5.3 percent of the state's
23.30	average annual wage rounded down to the next lower \$100.
23.31	(b) To establish a new benefit account following the expiration of the benefit year on a
23.32	prior benefit account, an applicant must have performed actual work in subsequent covered
23.33	employment and have been paid wages in one or more completed calendar quarters that
23.34	started after the effective date of the prior benefit account. The wages paid for that

24.1	employment must be at least enough to meet the requirements of paragraph (a). A benefit
24.2	account under this paragraph must not be established effective earlier than the Sunday
24.3	following the end of the most recent completed calendar quarter in which the requirements
24.4	of paragraph (a) were met. An applicant must not establish a second benefit account as a
24.5	result of one loss of employment.
24.6	Subd. 3. Weekly benefit amount; maximum amount of benefits available; prorated
24.7	amount. (a) Subject to the maximum weekly benefit amount, an applicant's weekly benefit
24.8	is calculated by adding the amounts obtained by applying the following percentage to an
24.9	applicant's average typical workweek and weekly wage during the high quarter of the base
24.10	period:
24.11	(1) 90 percent of wages that do not exceed 50 percent of the state's average weekly wage;
24.12	plus
24.13	(2) 66 percent of wages that exceed 50 percent of the state's average weekly wage but
24.14	not 100 percent; plus
24.15	(3) 55 percent of wages that exceed 100 percent of the state's average weekly wage.
24.16	(b) The state's average weekly wage is the average wage as calculated under section
24.17	268.035, subdivision 23, at the time a benefit amount is first determined.
24.18	(c) The maximum weekly benefit amount is the state's average weekly wage as calculated
24.19	under section 268.035, subdivision 23.
24.20	(d) The state's maximum weekly benefit amount, computed in accordance with section
24.21	268.035, subdivision 23, applies to a benefit account established effective on or after the
24.22	last Sunday in October. Once established, an applicant's weekly benefit amount is not
24.23	affected by the last Sunday in October change in the state's maximum weekly benefit amount.
24.24	(e) For an employee receiving family or medical leave, a weekly benefit amount is
24.25	prorated when:
24.26	(1) the employee works hours for wages; or
24.27	(2) the employee uses paid sick leave, paid vacation leave, or other paid time off that is
24.28	not considered a supplemental benefit payment as defined in section 268B.01, subdivision
24.29	<u>37.</u>
24.30	Subd. 4. Timing of payment. Except as otherwise provided for in this chapter, benefits
24.31	must be paid weekly.

25.1	Subd. 5. Maximum length of benefits. (a) Except as provided in paragraph (b), in a
25.2	single benefit year, an applicant may receive up to 12 weeks of benefits under this chapter
25.3	related to the applicant's serious health condition or pregnancy and up to 12 weeks of benefits
25.4	under this chapter for bonding, safety leave, or family care.
25.5	(b) An applicant may receive up to 12 weeks of benefits in a single benefit year for leave
25.6	related to one or more qualifying exigencies.
25.7	Subd. 6. Minimum period for which benefits payable. Except for a claim for benefits
25.8	for bonding leave, any claim for benefits must be based on a single qualifying event of at
25.9	least seven calendar days. Benefits may be paid for a minimum duration of eight consecutive
25.10	hours in a week. If an employee on leave claims eight hours at any point during a week, the
25.11	minimum duration is satisfied.
25.12	Subd. 7. Right of appeal. (a) A determination or amended determination of benefit
25.13	account is final unless an appeal is filed by the applicant within 30 calendar days after the
25.14	sending of the determination or amended determination, or within 60 calendar days, if an
25.15	applicant establishes good cause for not appealing within 30 days. For the purposes of this
25.16	paragraph, "good cause" means a reason that would have prevented an applicant from acting
25.17	with due diligence in appealing within 30 days and includes any illness, disability, or
25.18	linguistic and literacy limitation of the applicant, along with other relevant factors. If an
25.19	applicant claims good cause for a late appeal, the applicant must be granted a hearing on
25.20	the issue of timeliness. This hearing can be held at the same time as a hearing on the merits
25.21	of the appeal. Proceedings on the appeal are conducted in accordance with section 268B.08.
25.22	(b) Any applicant may appeal from a determination or amended determination of benefit
25.23	account on the issue of whether services performed constitute employment, whether the
25.24	employment is covered employment, and whether money paid constitutes wages.
25.25	Subd. 8. Limitations on applications and benefit accounts. (a) An application for
25.26	family or medical leave benefits is effective the Sunday of the calendar week that the
25.27	application was filed. An application for benefits may be backdated one calendar week
25.28	before the Sunday of the week the application was actually filed if the applicant requests
25.29	the backdating within seven calendar days of the date the application is filed. An application
25.30	may be backdated only if the applicant was eligible for the benefit during the period of the
25.31	backdating. If an individual attempted to file an application for benefits, but was prevented
25.32	from filing an application by the department, the application is effective the Sunday of the
25.33	calendar week the individual first attempted to file an application.

26.1	(b) A benefit account established under subdivision 2 is effective the date the application
26.2	for benefits was effective.
26.3	(c) A benefit account, once established, may later be withdrawn if:
26.4	(1) the applicant has not been paid any benefits on that benefit account; and
26.5	(2) a new application for benefits is filed and a new benefit account is established at the
26.6	time of the withdrawal.
26.7	A benefit account may be withdrawn after the expiration of the benefit year, and the
26.8	new work requirements of subdivision 2, paragraph (b), do not apply if the applicant was
26.9	not paid any benefits on the benefit account that is being withdrawn.
26.10	A determination or amended determination of eligibility or ineligibility issued under
26.11	section 268B.07 that was sent before the withdrawal of the benefit account, remains in effect
26.12	and is not voided by the withdrawal of the benefit account.
26.13	Sec. 9. [268B.05] CONTINUED REQUEST FOR BENEFITS.
26.14	A continued request for family or medical leave benefits is a certification by an applicant,
26.15	done on a weekly basis, that the applicant is unable to perform usual work due to a qualifying
26.16	event and meets the ongoing eligibility requirements for benefits under section 268B.06. A
26.17	continued request must include information on possible issues of ineligibility.
26.18	Sec. 10. [268B.06] ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS; PAYMENTS THAT AFFECT
26.19	BENEFITS.
26.20	Subdivision 1. Eligibility conditions. (a) An applicant may be eligible to receive family
26.21	or medical leave benefits for any week if:
26.22	(1) the applicant has filed a continued request for benefits for that week under section
26.23	<u>268B.05;</u>
26.24	(2) the week for which benefits are requested is in the applicant's benefit year;
26.25	(3) the applicant was unable to perform regular work due to a serious health condition,
26.26	a qualifying exigency, safety leave, family care, bonding, pregnancy, or recovery from
26.27	pregnancy for the period required under subdivision 2;
26.28	(4) the applicant has sufficient wage credits from an employer or employers as defined
26.29	in section 268B.01, subdivision 41, to establish a benefit account under section 268B.04;
26.30	and

27.1	(5) an applicant requesting benefits under this chapter must fulfill certification
27.2	requirements under subdivision 3.
27.3	(b) A self-employed individual or independent contractor who has elected and been
27.4	approved for coverage under section 268B.11 need not fulfill the requirement of paragraph
27.5	(a), clause (4).
27.6	Subd. 2. Seven-day qualifying event. (a) The period for which an applicant is seeking
27.7	benefits must be or have been based on a single event of at least seven calendar days' duration
27.8	related to pregnancy, recovery from pregnancy, family care, a qualifying exigency, safety
27.9	leave, or the applicant's serious health condition. The days need not be consecutive.
27.10	(b) Benefits related to bonding need not meet the seven-day qualifying event requirement.
27.11	(c) The commissioner shall use the rulemaking authority under section 268B.02,
27.12	subdivision 3, to adopt rules regarding what serious health conditions and other events are
27.13	prospectively presumed to constitute seven-day qualifying events under this chapter.
27.14	Subd. 3. Certification. (a) Certification for an applicant taking leave related to the
27.15	applicant's serious health condition shall be sufficient if the certification states the date on
27.16	which the serious health condition began, the probable duration of the condition, and the
27.17	appropriate medical facts within the knowledge of the health care provider as required by
27.18	the commissioner.
27.19	(b) Certification for an applicant taking leave to care for a family member with a serious
27.20	health condition shall be sufficient if the certification states the date on which the serious
27.21	health condition commenced, the probable duration of the condition, the appropriate medical
27.22	facts within the knowledge of the health care provider as required by the commissioner, a
27.23	statement that the family member requires care, and an estimate of the amount of time that
27.24	the family member will require care.
27.25	(c) Certification for an applicant taking leave related to pregnancy shall be sufficient if
27.26	the certification states the expected due date and recovery period based on appropriate
27.27	medical facts within the knowledge of the health care provider.
27.28	(d) Certification for an applicant taking bonding leave because of the birth of the
27.29	applicant's child shall be sufficient if the certification includes either the child's birth
27.30	certificate or a document issued by the health care provider of the child or the health care
27.31	provider of the person who gave birth, stating the child's birth date.
27.32	(e) Certification for an applicant taking bonding leave because of the placement of a
27.33	child with the applicant for adoption or foster care shall be sufficient if the applicant provides

28.1	a document issued by the health care provider of the child, an adoption or foster care agency
28.2	involved in the placement, or by other individuals as determined by the commissioner that
28.3	confirms the placement and the date of placement. To the extent that the status of an applicant
28.4	as an adoptive or foster parent changes while an application for benefits is pending, or while
28.5	the covered individual is receiving benefits, the applicant must notify the department of
28.6	such change in status in writing.
28.7	(f) Certification for an applicant taking leave because of a qualifying exigency shall be
28.8	sufficient if the certification includes:
28.9	(1) a copy of the family member's active-duty orders;
20.10	(2) other degumentation issued by the United States armed forease on
28.10	(2) other documentation issued by the United States armed forces; or
28.11	(3) other documentation permitted by the commissioner.
28.12	(g) Certification for an applicant taking safety leave is sufficient if the certification
28.13	includes a court record or documentation signed by a volunteer or employee of a victim's
28.14	services organization, an attorney, a police officer, or an antiviolence counselor. The
28.15	commissioner must not require disclosure of details relating to an applicant's or applicant's
28.16	family member's domestic abuse, sexual assault, or stalking.
28.17	(h) Certifications under paragraphs (a) to (e) must be reviewed and signed by a health
28.18	care provider with knowledge of the qualifying event associated with the leave.
28.19	(i) For a leave taken on an intermittent or reduced-schedule basis, based on a serious
28.20	health condition of an applicant or applicant's family member, the certification under this
28.21	subdivision must include an explanation of how such leave would be medically beneficial
28.22	to the individual with the serious health condition.
28.23	Subd. 4. Not eligible. An applicant is ineligible for family or medical leave benefits for
28.24	any portion of a typical workweek:
28.25	(1) that occurs before the effective date of a benefit account;
28.26	(2) that the applicant has an outstanding misrepresentation overpayment balance under
28.27	section 268B.185, subdivision 5, including any penalties and interest;
28.28	(3) that the applicant fails or refuses to provide information on an issue of ineligibility
28.29	required under section 268B.07, subdivision 2; or
28.30	(4) for which the applicant worked for pay.
28.31	Subd. 5. Vacation, sick leave, and supplemental benefit payments. (a) An applicant
28.32	is not eligible to receive benefits for any portion of a typical workweek the applicant is

29.1	receiving, has received, or will receive vacation pay, sick pay, or personal time off pay, also
29.2	known as "PTO."
29.3	(b) Paragraph (a) does not apply:
29.4	(1) upon a permanent separation from employment;
29.5	(2) to payments from a vacation fund administered by a union or a third party not under
29.6	the control of the employer; or
29.7	(3) to supplemental benefit payments, as defined in section 268B.01, subdivision 37.
29.8	(c) Payments under this subdivision are applied to the period immediately following the
29.9	later of the date of separation from employment or the date the applicant first becomes
29.10	aware that the employer will be making a payment. The date the payment is actually made
29.11	or received, or that an applicant must agree to a release of claims, does not affect the
29.12	application of this subdivision.
29.13	Subd. 6. Workers' compensation and disability insurance offset. (a) An applicant is
29.14	not eligible to receive benefits for any portion of a week in which the applicant is receiving
29.15	or has received compensation for loss of wages equal to or in excess of the applicant's
29.16	weekly family or medical leave benefit amount under:
29.17	(1) the workers' compensation law of this state;
29.18	(2) the workers' compensation law of any other state or similar federal law; or
29.19	(3) any insurance or trust fund paid in whole or in part by an employer.
29.20	(b) This subdivision does not apply to an applicant who has a claim pending for loss of
29.21	wages under paragraph (a). If the applicant later receives compensation as a result of the
29.22	pending claim, the applicant is subject to paragraph (a) and the family or medical leave
29.23	benefits paid are overpaid benefits under section 268B.185.
29.24	(c) If the amount of compensation described under paragraph (a) for any week is less
29.25	than the applicant's weekly family or medical leave benefit amount, benefits requested for
29.26	that week are reduced by the amount of that compensation payment.
29.27	Subd. 7. Separation, severance, or bonus payments. (a) An applicant is not eligible
29.28	to receive benefits for any week the applicant is receiving, has received, or will receive
29.29	separation pay, severance pay, bonus pay, or any other payments paid by an employer
29.30	because of, upon, or after separation from employment. This subdivision applies if the
29.31	payment is:
29.32	(1) considered wages under section 268B.01, subdivision 43; or

30.1	(2) subject to the Federal Insurance Contributions Act (FICA) tax imposed to fund Social
30.2	Security and Medicare.
30.3	(b) Payments under this subdivision are applied to the period immediately following the
30.4	later of the date of separation from employment or the date the applicant first becomes
30.5	aware that the employer will be making a payment. The date the payment is actually made
30.6	or received, or that an applicant must agree to a release of claims, does not affect the
30.7	application of this paragraph.
30.8	(c) This subdivision does not apply to vacation pay, sick pay, personal time off pay, or
30.9	supplemental benefit payment under subdivision 4.
30.10	(d) This subdivision applies to all the weeks of payment.
30.11	(e) Under this subdivision, if the payment with respect to a week is equal to or more
30.12	than the applicant's weekly benefit amount, the applicant is ineligible for benefits for that
30.13	week. If the payment with respect to a week is less than the applicant's weekly benefit
30.14	amount, benefits are reduced by the amount of the payment.
30.15	Subd. 8. Social Security disability benefits. (a) An applicant who is receiving, has
30.16	received, or has filed for primary Social Security disability benefits for any week is ineligible
30.17	for benefits for that week, unless:
30.18	(1) the Social Security Administration approved the collecting of primary Social Security
30.19	disability benefits each month the applicant was employed during the base period; or
30.20	(2) the applicant provides a statement from an appropriate health care professional who
30.21	is aware of the applicant's Social Security disability claim and the basis for that claim,
30.22	certifying that the applicant is available for suitable employment.
30.23	(b) If an applicant meets the requirements of paragraph (a), clause (1), there is no
30.24	deduction from the applicant's weekly benefit amount for any Social Security disability
30.25	benefits.
30.26	(c) If an applicant meets the requirements of paragraph (a), clause (2), there must be
30.27	deducted from the applicant's weekly benefit amount 50 percent of the weekly equivalent
30.28	of the primary Social Security disability benefits the applicant is receiving, has received,
30.29	or has filed for, with respect to that week.
30.30	If the Social Security Administration determines that the applicant is not entitled to receive
30.31	primary Social Security disability benefits for any week the applicant has applied for those

30.32 <u>benefits</u>, this paragraph does not apply to that week.

31.1	(d) Information from the Social Security Administration is conclusive, absent specific
31.2	evidence showing that the information was erroneous.
31.3	Sec. 11. [268B.07] DETERMINATION ON ISSUES OF ELIGIBILITY.
31.4	Subdivision 1. Employer notification. (a) Upon a determination that an applicant is
31.5	entitled to benefits, the commissioner must promptly send a notification to each current
31.6	employer of the applicant, if any, in accordance with paragraph (b).
31.7	(b) The notification under paragraph (a) must include, at a minimum:
31.8	(1) the name of the applicant;
31.9	(2) that the applicant has applied for and received benefits;
31.10	(3) the week the benefits commence;
31.11	(4) the weekly benefit amount payable; and
31.12	(5) the maximum duration of benefits.
31.13	Subd. 2. Determination. (a) The commissioner must determine any issue of ineligibility
31.14	raised by information required from an applicant and send to the applicant and any current
31.15	base period employer, by mail or electronic transmission, a document titled a determination
31.16	of eligibility or a determination of ineligibility, as is appropriate, within two weeks.
31.17	(b) If an applicant obtained benefits through misrepresentation, the department is
31.18	authorized to issue a determination of ineligibility within 48 months of the establishment
31.19	of the benefit account.
31.20	(c) If the department has filed an intervention in a worker's compensation matter under
31.21	section 176.361, the department is authorized to issue a determination of ineligibility within
31.22	48 months of the establishment of the benefit account.
31.23	(d) A determination of eligibility or determination of ineligibility is final unless an appeal
31.24	is filed by the applicant within 20 calendar days after sending. The determination must
31.25	contain a prominent statement indicating the consequences of not appealing. Proceedings
31.26	on the appeal are conducted in accordance with section 268B.08.
31.27	(e) An issue of ineligibility required to be determined under this section includes any
31.28	question regarding the denial or allowing of benefits under this chapter.
31.29	Subd. 3. Amended determination. Unless an appeal has been filed, the commissioner,
31.30	on the commissioner's own motion, may reconsider a determination of eligibility or
31.31	determination of ineligibility that has not become final and issue an amended determination.

32.1	Any amended determination must be sent to the applicant and any employer in the current
32.2	base period by mail or electronic transmission. Any amended determination is final unless
32.3	an appeal is filed by the applicant within 30 calendar days after sending, or within 60 calendar
32.4	days, if the applicant establishes good cause for not appealing within 30 days. For the
32.5	purposes of this paragraph, "good cause" means a reason that would have prevented an
32.6	applicant from acting with due diligence in appealing within 30 days and includes any
32.7	illness, disability, or linguistic and literacy limitation of the applicant, along with other
32.8	relevant factors. If an applicant claims good cause for a late appeal, the applicant must be
32.9	granted a hearing on the issue of timeliness. This hearing can be held at the same time as a
32.10	hearing on the merits of the appeal. Proceedings on the appeal are conducted in accordance
32.11	with section 268B.08.
32.12	Subd. 4. Benefit payment. If a determination or amended determination allows benefits
32.13	to an applicant, the family or medical leave benefits must be paid regardless of any appeal
32.14	period or any appeal having been filed.
32.15	Subd. 5. Overpayment. A determination or amended determination that holds an
32.16	applicant ineligible for benefits for periods an applicant has been paid benefits is an
32.17	overpayment of those family or medical leave benefits. A determination or amended
32.18	determination issued under this section that results in an overpayment of benefits must set
32.19	out the amount of the overpayment and the requirement that the overpaid benefits must be
32.20	repaid according to section 268B.185.
32.21	Sec. 12. [268B.08] APPEAL PROCESS.
32.22	Subdivision 1. Hearing. (a) The commissioner shall designate a chief benefit judge.
32.23	(b) Upon a timely appeal to a determination having been filed or upon a referral for
32.24	direct hearing, the chief benefit judge must set a time and date for a de novo due-process
32.25	hearing and send notice to an applicant and an employer, by mail or electronic transmission,
32.26	not less than ten calendar days before the date of the hearing.
32.27	(c) The commissioner may adopt rules on procedures for hearings. The rules need not
32.28	conform to common law or statutory rules of evidence and other technical rules of procedure.
32.29	(d) The chief benefit judge has discretion regarding the method by which the hearing is
32.30	conducted.
32.31	Subd. 2. Decision. (a) After the conclusion of the hearing, upon the evidence obtained,
32.32	the benefit judge must serve by mail or electronic transmission to all parties the decision,
32.33	reasons for the decision, and written findings of fact.

(b) Decisions of a benefit judge are not precedential. 33.1 Subd. 3. Request for reconsideration. Any party, or the commissioner, may, within 33.2 30 calendar days after service of the benefit judge's decision, file a request for reconsideration 33.3 asking the judge to reconsider that decision. 33.4 33.5 Subd. 4. Appeal to court of appeals. Any final determination on a request for reconsideration may be appealed by any party directly to the Minnesota Court of Appeals. 33.6 33.7 Subd. 5. Benefit judges. (a) Only employees of the department who are attorneys licensed to practice law in Minnesota may serve as a chief benefit judge, senior benefit judges who 33.8 are supervisors, or benefit judges. 33.9 (b) The chief benefit judge must assign a benefit judge to conduct a hearing and may 33.10 transfer to another benefit judge any proceedings pending before another benefit judge. 33.11 33.12 Sec. 13. [268B.085] LEAVE. Subdivision 1. Right to leave. Ninety calendar days from the date of hire, an employee 33.13 has a right to leave from employment for any day, or portion of a day, for which the employee 33.14 33.15 would be eligible for benefits under this chapter, regardless of whether the employee actually applied for benefits and regardless of whether the employee is covered under a private plan 33.16 or the public program under this chapter. 33.17 Subd. 2. Notice to employer. (a) If the need for leave is foreseeable, an employee must 33.18 provide the employer at least 30 days' advance notice before leave under this chapter is to 33.19 begin. If 30 days' notice is not practicable because of a lack of knowledge of approximately 33.20 when leave will be required to begin, a change in circumstances, or a medical emergency, 33.21 notice must be given as soon as practicable. Whether leave is to be continuous or is to be 33.22 taken intermittently or on a reduced-schedule basis, notice need only be given one time, but 33.23 the employee must advise the employer as soon as practicable if dates of scheduled leave 33.24 change or are extended, or were initially unknown. In those cases where the employee is 33.25 required to provide at least 30 days' notice of foreseeable leave and does not do so, the 33.26 33.27 employee must explain the reasons why notice was not practicable upon request from the employer. 33.28 (b) "As soon as practicable" means as soon as both possible and practical, taking into 33.29 account all of the facts and circumstances in the individual case. When an employee becomes 33.30 aware of a need for leave under this chapter less than 30 days in advance, it should be 33.31 practicable for the employee to provide notice of the need for leave either the same day or 33.32 the next day, unless the need for leave is based on a medical emergency. In all cases, 33.33

34.1	however, the determination of when an employee could practicably provide notice must
34.2	take into account the individual facts and circumstances.
34.3	(c) An employee shall provide at least oral, telephone, or text message notice sufficient
34.4	to make the employer aware that the employee needs leave allowed under this chapter and
34.5	the anticipated timing and duration of the leave. An employer may require an employee
34.6	giving notice of leave to include a certification for the leave as described in section 268B.06,
34.7	subdivision 3. Such certification, if required by an employer, is timely when the employee
34.8	delivers it as soon as practicable given the circumstances requiring the need for leave, and
34.9	the required contents of the certification.
34.10	(d) An employer may require an employee to comply with the employer's usual and
34.11	customary notice and procedural requirements for requesting leave, absent unusual
34.12	circumstances or other circumstances caused by the reason for the employee's need for
34.13	leave. Leave under this chapter must not be delayed or denied where an employer's usual
34.14	and customary notice or procedural requirements require notice to be given sooner than set
34.15	forth in this subdivision.
34.16	(e) If an employer has failed to provide notice to the employee as required under section
34.17	268B.26, paragraph (a), (b), or (e), the employee is not required to comply with the notice
34.18	requirements of this subdivision.
34.19	Subd. 3. Bonding leave. Bonding leave taken under this chapter begins at a time requested
34.20	by the employee. Bonding leave must begin within 12 months of the birth, adoption, or
34.21	placement of a foster child, except that, in the case where the child must remain in the
34.22	hospital longer than the mother, the leave must begin within 12 months after the child leaves
34.23	the hospital.
34.24	Subd. 4. Intermittent or reduced-leave schedule. (a) Leave under this chapter, based
34.25	on a serious health condition, may be taken intermittently or on a reduced-leave schedule
34.26	if such leave is reasonable and appropriate to the needs of the individual with the serious
34.27	health condition. For all other leaves under this chapter, leave may be taken intermittently
34.28	or on a reduced-leave schedule. Intermittent leave is leave taken in separate blocks of time
34.29	due to a single, seven-day qualifying event. A reduced-leave schedule is a leave schedule
34.30	that reduces an employee's usual number of working hours per workweek or hours per
34.31	workday.
34.32	(b) Leave taken intermittently or on a reduced-schedule basis counts toward the
34.33	maximums described in section 268B.04, subdivision 5.

AS/MC

Sec. 14. [268B.09] EMPLOYMENT PROTECTIONS. 35.1 Subdivision 1. Retaliation prohibited. An employer must not retaliate against an 35.2 employee for requesting or obtaining benefits, or for exercising any other right under this 35.3 chapter. 35.4 35.5 Subd. 2. Interference prohibited. An employer must not obstruct or impede an application for leave or benefits or the exercise of any other right under this chapter. 35.6 35.7 Subd. 3. Waiver of rights void. Any agreement to waive, release, or commute rights to benefits or any other right under this chapter is void. 35.8 Subd. 4. No assignment of benefits. Any assignment, pledge, or encumbrance of benefits 35.9 is void. Benefits are exempt from levy, execution, attachment, or any other remedy provided 35.10 for the collection of debt. Any waiver of this subdivision is void. 35.11 Subd. 5. Continued insurance. During any leave for which an employee is entitled to 35.12 benefits under this chapter, the employer must maintain coverage under any group insurance 35.13 policy, group subscriber contract, or health care plan for the employee and any dependents 35.14 as if the employee was not on leave, provided, however, that the employee must continue 35.15 35.16 to pay any employee share of the cost of such benefits. Subd. 6. Employee right to reinstatement. (a) On return from leave under this chapter, 35.17 an employee is entitled to be returned to the same position the employee held when leave 35.18 commenced or to an equivalent position with equivalent benefits, pay, and other terms and 35.19 conditions of employment. An employee is entitled to reinstatement even if the employee 35.20 has been replaced or the employee's position has been restructured to accommodate the 35.21 employee's absence. 35.22 (b)(1) An equivalent position is one that is virtually identical to the employee's former 35.23 position in terms of pay, benefits, and working conditions, including privileges, prerequisites, 35.24 35.25 and status. It must involve the same or substantially similar duties and responsibilities, which must entail substantially equivalent skill, effort, responsibility, and authority. 35.26 35.27 (2) If an employee is no longer qualified for the position because of the employee's inability to attend a necessary course, renew a license, fly a minimum number of hours, or 35.28 similar condition, as a result of the leave, the employee must be given a reasonable 35.29 opportunity to fulfill those conditions upon return from leave. 35.30 35.31 (c)(1) An employee is entitled to any unconditional pay increases which may have occurred during the leave period, such as cost of living increases. Pay increases conditioned 35.32 upon seniority, length of service, or work performed must be granted in accordance with 35.33

36.1	the employer's policy or practice with respect to other employees on an equivalent leave
36.2	status for a reason that does not qualify for leave under this chapter. An employee is entitled
36.3	to be restored to a position with the same or equivalent pay premiums, such as a shift
36.4	differential. If an employee departed from a position averaging ten hours of overtime, and
36.5	corresponding overtime pay, each week an employee is ordinarily entitled to such a position
36.6	on return from leave under this chapter.
36.7	(2) Equivalent pay includes any bonus or payment, whether it is discretionary or
36.8	nondiscretionary, made to employees consistent with clause (1). If a bonus or other payment
36.9	is based on the achievement of a specified goal such as hours worked, products sold, or
36.10	perfect attendance, and the employee has not met the goal due to leave under this chapter,
36.11	the payment may be denied, unless otherwise paid to employees on an equivalent leave
36.12	status for a reason that does not qualify for leave under this chapter.
36.13	(d) Benefits under this section include all benefits provided or made available to
36.14	employees by an employer, including group life insurance, health insurance, disability
36.15	insurance, sick leave, annual leave, educational benefits, and pensions, regardless of whether
36.16	benefits are provided by a practice or written policy of an employer through an employee
36.17	benefit plan as defined in section 3(3) of United States Code, title 29, section 1002(3).
36.18	(1) At the end of an employee's leave under this chapter, benefits must be resumed in
36.19	the same manner and at the same levels as provided when the leave began, and subject to
36.20	any changes in benefit levels that may have taken place during the period of leave affecting
36.21	the entire workforce, unless otherwise elected by the employee. Upon return from a leave
36.22	under this chapter, an employee must not be required to requalify for any benefits the
36.23	employee enjoyed before leave began, including family or dependent coverages.
36.24	(2) An employee may, but is not entitled to, accrue any additional benefits or seniority
36.25	during a leave under this chapter. Benefits accrued at the time leave began must be available
36.26	to an employee upon return from leave.
36.27	(3) With respect to pension and other retirement plans, leave under this chapter must
36.28	not be treated as or counted toward a break in service for purposes of vesting and eligibility
36.29	to participate. If the plan requires an employee to be employed on a specific date in order
36.30	to be credited with a year of service for vesting, contributions, or participation purposes,
36.31	an employee on leave under this chapter must be treated as employed on that date. Periods
36.32	of leave under this chapter need not be treated as credited service for purposes of benefit
36.33	accrual, vesting, and eligibility to participate.

37.1	(4) Employees on leave under this chapter must be treated as if they continued to work
37.2	for purposes of changes to benefit plans. Employees on leave under this chapter are entitled
37.3	to changes in benefit plans, except those which may be dependent upon seniority or accrual
37.4	during the leave period, immediately upon return from leave or to the same extent they
37.5	would have qualified if no leave had been taken.
37.6	(e) An equivalent position must have substantially similar duties, conditions,
37.7	responsibilities, privileges, and status as the employee's original position.
37.8	(1) The employee must be reinstated to the same or a geographically proximate worksite
37.9	from where the employee had previously been employed. If the employee's original worksite
37.10	has been closed, the employee is entitled to the same rights as if the employee had not been
37.11	on leave when the worksite closed.
37.12	(2) The employee is ordinarily entitled to return to the same shift or the same or an
37.13	equivalent work schedule.
37.14	(3) The employee must have the same or an equivalent opportunity for bonuses,
37.15	profit-sharing, and other similar discretionary and nondiscretionary payments.
37.16	(4) This chapter does not prohibit an employer from accommodating an employee's
37.17	request to be restored to a different shift, schedule, or position which better suits the
37.18	employee's personal needs on return from leave, or to offer a promotion to a better position.
37.19	However, an employee must not be induced by the employer to accept a different position
37.20	against the employee's wishes.
37.21	(f) The requirement that an employee be restored to the same or equivalent job with the
37.22	same or equivalent pay, benefits, and terms and conditions of employment does not extend
37.23	to de minimis, intangible, or unmeasurable aspects of the job.
37.24	Subd. 7. Limitations on an employee's right to reinstatement. An employee has no
37.25	greater right to reinstatement or to other benefits and conditions of employment than if the
37.26	employee had been continuously employed during the period of leave under this chapter.
37.27	An employer must be able to show that an employee would not otherwise have been
37.28	employed at the time reinstatement is requested in order to deny restoration to employment.
37.29	(1) If an employee is laid off during the course of taking a leave under this chapter and
37.30	employment is terminated, the employer's responsibility to continue the leave, maintain
37.31	group health plan benefits, and restore the employee cease at the time the employee is laid
37.32	off, provided the employer has no continuing obligations under a collective bargaining
37.33	agreement or otherwise. An employer has the burden of proving that an employee would

38.1	have been laid off during the period of leave under this chapter and, therefore, would not
38.2	be entitled to restoration to a job slated for layoff when the employee's original position
38.3	would not meet the requirements of an equivalent position.
38.4	(2) If a shift has been eliminated or overtime has been decreased, an employee would
38.5	not be entitled to return to work that shift or the original overtime hours upon restoration.
38.6	However, if a position on, for example, a night shift has been filled by another employee,
38.7	the employee is entitled to return to the same shift on which employed before taking leave
38.8	under this chapter.
38.9	(3) If an employee was hired for a specific term or only to perform work on a discrete
38.10	project, the employer has no obligation to restore the employee if the employment term or
38.11	project is over and the employer would not otherwise have continued to employ the employee.
38.12	Subd. 8. Remedies. (a) In addition to any other remedies available to an employee in
38.13	law or equity, an employer who violates the provisions of this section is liable to any
38.14	employee affected for:
38.15	(1) damages equal to the amount of:
38.16	(i) any wages, salary, employment benefits, or other compensation denied or lost to such
38.17	employee by reason of the violation, or, in cases in which wages, salary, employment
38.18	benefits, or other compensation have not been denied or lost to the employee, any actual
38.19	monetary losses sustained by the employee as a direct result of the violation; and
38.20	(ii) reasonable interest on the amount described in item (i); and
38.21	(2) such equitable relief as may be appropriate, including employment, reinstatement,
38.22	and promotion.
38.23	(b) An action to recover damages or equitable relief prescribed in paragraph (a) may be
38.24	maintained against any employer in any federal or state court of competent jurisdiction by
38.25	any one or more employees for and on behalf of:
38.26	(1) the employees; or
38.27	(2) the employees and other employees similarly situated.
38.28	(c) The court in an action under this section must, in addition to any judgment awarded
38.29	to the plaintiff or plaintiffs, allow reasonable attorney fees, reasonable expert witness fees,
38.30	and other costs of the action to be paid by the defendant.

(d) Nothing in this section shall be construed to allow an employee to recover damages 39.1 from an employer for the denial of benefits under this chapter by the department, unless the 39.2 39.3 employer unlawfully interfered with the application for benefits under subdivision 2. Sec. 15. [268B.10] SUBSTITUTION OF A PRIVATE PLAN. 39.4 Subdivision 1. Application for substitution. Employers may apply to the commissioner 39.5 for approval to meet their obligations under this chapter through the substitution of a private 39.6 plan that provides paid family, paid medical, or paid family and medical benefits. In order 39.7 to be approved as meeting an employer's obligations under this chapter, a private plan must 39.8 39.9 confer all of the same rights, protections, and benefits provided to employees under this chapter, including but not limited to benefits under section 268B.04 and employment 39.10 protections under section 268B.09. An employee covered by a private plan under this section 39.11 retains all applicable rights and remedies under section 268B.09. 39.12 Subd. 2. Private plan requirements; medical benefit program. (a) The commissioner 39.13 must approve an application for private provision of the medical benefit program if the 39.14 commissioner determines: 39.15 39.16 (1) all of the employees of the employer are to be covered under the provisions of the employer plan; 39.17 39.18 (2) eligibility requirements for benefits and leave are no more restrictive than as provided under this chapter; 39.19 (3) the weekly benefits payable under the private plan for any week are at least equal to 39.20 the weekly benefit amount payable under this chapter, taking into consideration any coverage 39.21 with respect to concurrent employment by another employer; 39.22 (4) the total number of weeks for which benefits are payable under the private plan is 39.23 at least equal to the total number of weeks for which benefits would have been payable 39.24 under this chapter; 39.25 (5) no greater amount is required to be paid by employees toward the cost of benefits 39.26 under the employer plan than by this chapter; 39.27 (6) wage replacement benefits are stated in the plan separately and distinctly from other 39.28 39.29 benefits; (7) the private plan will provide benefits and leave for any serious health condition or 39.30 39.31 pregnancy for which benefits are payable, and leave provided, under this chapter;

40.1	(8) the private plan will impose no additional condition or restriction on the use of
40.2	medical benefits beyond those explicitly authorized by this chapter or regulations
40.3	promulgated pursuant to this chapter;
40.4	(9) the private plan will allow any employee covered under the private plan who is
40.5	eligible to receive medical benefits under this chapter to receive medical benefits under the
40.6	employer plan; and
40.7	(10) coverage will continue under the private plan while an employee remains employed
40.8	by the employer.
40.9	(b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), a private plan may provide shorter durations of leave
40.10	and benefit eligibility if the total dollar value of wage replacement benefits under the private
40.11	plan for an employee for any particular qualifying event meets or exceeds what the total
40.12	dollar value would be under the public family and medical benefit program.
40.13	Subd. 3. Private plan requirements; family benefit program. (a) The commissioner
40.14	must approve an application for private provision of the family benefit program if the
40.15	commissioner determines:
40.16	(1) all of the employees of the employer are to be covered under the provisions of the
40.17	employer plan;
40.18	(2) eligibility requirements for benefits and leave are no more restrictive than as provided
40.19	under this chapter;
40.20	(3) the weekly benefits payable under the private plan for any week are at least equal to
40.21	the weekly benefit amount payable under this chapter, taking into consideration any coverage
40.22	with respect to concurrent employment by another employer;
40.23	(4) the total number of weeks for which benefits are payable under the private plan is
40.24	at least equal to the total number of weeks for which benefits would have been payable
40.25	under this chapter;
40.26	(5) no greater amount is required to be paid by employees toward the cost of benefits
40.27	under the employer plan than by this chapter;
40.28	(6) wage replacement benefits are stated in the plan separately and distinctly from other
40.29	benefits;
40.30	(7) the private plan will provide benefits and leave for any care for a family member
40.31	with a serious health condition, bonding with a child, qualifying exigency, or safety leave
40.32	event for which benefits are payable, and leave provided, under this chapter;

41.1	(8) the private plan will impose no additional condition or restriction on the use of family
41.2	benefits beyond those explicitly authorized by this chapter or regulations promulgated
41.3	pursuant to this chapter;
41.4	(9) the private plan will allow any employee covered under the private plan who is
41.5	eligible to receive medical benefits under this chapter to receive medical benefits under the
41.6	employer plan; and
41.7	(10) coverage will continue under the private plan while an employee remains employed
41.8	by the employer.
41.9	(b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), a private plan may provide shorter durations of leave
41.10	and benefit eligibility if the total dollar value of wage replacement benefits under the private
41.11	plan for an employee for any particular qualifying event meets or exceeds what the total
41.12	dollar value would be under the public family and medical benefit program.
41.13	Subd. 4. Use of private insurance products. Nothing in this section prohibits an
41.14	employer from meeting the requirements of a private plan through a private insurance
41.15	product. If the employer plan involves a private insurance product, that insurance product
41.16	must conform to any applicable law or rule.
41.17	Subd. 5. Private plan approval and oversight fee. An employer with an approved
41.17 41.18	Subd. 5. Private plan approval and oversight fee. An employer with an approved private plan is not required to pay premiums established under section 268B.14. An employer
41.18	private plan is not required to pay premiums established under section 268B.14. An employer
41.18 41.19	private plan is not required to pay premiums established under section 268B.14. An employer with an approved private plan is responsible for a private plan approval and oversight fee
41.1841.1941.20	private plan is not required to pay premiums established under section 268B.14. An employer with an approved private plan is responsible for a private plan approval and oversight fee equal to \$250 for employers with fewer than 50 employees, \$500 for employers with 50 to
41.1841.1941.2041.21	private plan is not required to pay premiums established under section 268B.14. An employer with an approved private plan is responsible for a private plan approval and oversight fee equal to \$250 for employers with fewer than 50 employees, \$500 for employers with 50 to 499 employees, and \$1,000 for employers with 500 or more employees. The employer must
 41.18 41.19 41.20 41.21 41.22 	private plan is not required to pay premiums established under section 268B.14. An employer with an approved private plan is responsible for a private plan approval and oversight fee equal to \$250 for employers with fewer than 50 employees, \$500 for employers with 50 to 499 employees, and \$1,000 for employers with 500 or more employees. The employer must pay this fee (1) upon initial application for private plan approval, and (2) any time the
 41.18 41.19 41.20 41.21 41.22 41.23 	private plan is not required to pay premiums established under section 268B.14. An employer with an approved private plan is responsible for a private plan approval and oversight fee equal to \$250 for employers with fewer than 50 employees, \$500 for employers with 50 to 499 employees, and \$1,000 for employers with 500 or more employees. The employer must pay this fee (1) upon initial application for private plan approval, and (2) any time the employer applies to amend the private plan. The commissioner must review and report on
 41.18 41.19 41.20 41.21 41.22 41.23 41.24 	private plan is not required to pay premiums established under section 268B.14. An employer with an approved private plan is responsible for a private plan approval and oversight fee equal to \$250 for employers with fewer than 50 employees, \$500 for employers with 50 to 499 employees, and \$1,000 for employers with 500 or more employees. The employer must pay this fee (1) upon initial application for private plan approval, and (2) any time the employer applies to amend the private plan. The commissioner must review and report on the adequacy of this fee to cover private plan administrative costs annually beginning
 41.18 41.19 41.20 41.21 41.22 41.23 41.24 41.25 	private plan is not required to pay premiums established under section 268B.14. An employer with an approved private plan is responsible for a private plan approval and oversight fee equal to \$250 for employers with fewer than 50 employees, \$500 for employers with 50 to 499 employees, and \$1,000 for employers with 500 or more employees. The employer must pay this fee (1) upon initial application for private plan approval, and (2) any time the employer applies to amend the private plan. The commissioner must review and report on the adequacy of this fee to cover private plan administrative costs annually beginning December 1, 2024, as part of the annual report established in section 268B.24.
 41.18 41.19 41.20 41.21 41.22 41.23 41.24 41.25 41.26 	private plan is not required to pay premiums established under section 268B.14. An employer with an approved private plan is responsible for a private plan approval and oversight fee equal to \$250 for employers with fewer than 50 employees, \$500 for employers with 50 to 499 employees, and \$1,000 for employers with 500 or more employees. The employer must pay this fee (1) upon initial application for private plan approval, and (2) any time the employer applies to amend the private plan. The commissioner must review and report on the adequacy of this fee to cover private plan administrative costs annually beginning December 1, 2024, as part of the annual report established in section 268B.24.
 41.18 41.19 41.20 41.21 41.22 41.23 41.24 41.25 41.26 41.27 	private plan is not required to pay premiums established under section 268B.14. An employer with an approved private plan is responsible for a private plan approval and oversight fee equal to \$250 for employers with fewer than 50 employees, \$500 for employers with 50 to 499 employees, and \$1,000 for employers with 500 or more employees. The employer must pay this fee (1) upon initial application for private plan approval, and (2) any time the employer applies to amend the private plan. The commissioner must review and report on the adequacy of this fee to cover private plan administrative costs annually beginning December 1, 2024, as part of the annual report established in section 268B.24. Subd. 6. Plan duration. A private plan under this section must be in effect for a period of at least one year and, thereafter, continuously unless the commissioner finds that the
 41.18 41.19 41.20 41.21 41.22 41.23 41.24 41.25 41.26 41.27 41.28 	private plan is not required to pay premiums established under section 268B.14. An employer with an approved private plan is responsible for a private plan approval and oversight fee equal to \$250 for employers with fewer than 50 employees, \$500 for employers with 50 to 499 employees, and \$1,000 for employers with 500 or more employees. The employer must pay this fee (1) upon initial application for private plan approval, and (2) any time the employer applies to amend the private plan. The commissioner must review and report on the adequacy of this fee to cover private plan administrative costs annually beginning December 1, 2024, as part of the annual report established in section 268B.24. Subd. 6. Plan duration. A private plan under this section must be in effect for a period of at least one year and, thereafter, continuously unless the commissioner finds that the employer has given notice of withdrawal from the plan in a manner specified by the
 41.18 41.19 41.20 41.21 41.22 41.23 41.24 41.25 41.26 41.27 41.28 41.29 	private plan is not required to pay premiums established under section 268B.14. An employer with an approved private plan is responsible for a private plan approval and oversight fee equal to \$250 for employers with fewer than 50 employees, \$500 for employers with 50 to 499 employees, and \$1,000 for employers with 500 or more employees. The employer must pay this fee (1) upon initial application for private plan approval, and (2) any time the employer applies to amend the private plan. The commissioner must review and report on the adequacy of this fee to cover private plan administrative costs annually beginning December 1, 2024, as part of the annual report established in section 268B.24. Subd. 6. Plan duration. A private plan under this section must be in effect for a period of at least one year and, thereafter, continuously unless the commissioner finds that the employer has given notice of withdrawal from the plan in a manner specified by the commissioner in this section or rule. The plan may be withdrawn by the employer within
 41.18 41.19 41.20 41.21 41.22 41.23 41.24 41.25 41.26 41.27 41.28 41.29 41.30 	private plan is not required to pay premiums established under section 268B.14. An employer with an approved private plan is responsible for a private plan approval and oversight fee equal to \$250 for employers with fewer than 50 employees, \$500 for employers with 50 to 499 employees, and \$1,000 for employers with 500 or more employees. The employer must pay this fee (1) upon initial application for private plan approval, and (2) any time the employer applies to amend the private plan. The commissioner must review and report on the adequacy of this fee to cover private plan administrative costs annually beginning December 1, 2024, as part of the annual report established in section 268B.24. Subd. 6. Plan duration. A private plan under this section must be in effect for a period of at least one year and, thereafter, continuously unless the commissioner finds that the employer has given notice of withdrawal from the plan in a manner specified by the commissioner in this section or rule. The plan may be withdrawn by the employer within 30 days of the effective date of any law increasing the benefit amounts or within 30 days

42.1	Subd. 7. Appeals. An employer may appeal any adverse action regarding that employer's
42.2	private plan to the commissioner, in a manner specified by the commissioner.
42.3	Subd. 8. Employees no longer covered. (a) An employee is no longer covered by an
42.4	approved private plan if a leave under this chapter occurs after the employment relationship
42.5	with the private plan employer ends, or if the commissioner revokes the approval of the
42.6	private plan.
42.7	(b) An employee no longer covered by an approved private plan is, if otherwise eligible,
42.8	immediately entitled to benefits under this chapter to the same extent as though there had
42.9	been no approval of the private plan.
42.10	Subd. 9. Posting of notice regarding private plan. An employer with a private plan
42.11	must provide a notice prepared by or approved by the commissioner regarding the private
42.12	plan consistent with section 268B.26.
42.13	Subd. 10. Amendment. (a) The commissioner must approve any amendment to a private
42.14	plan adjusting the provisions thereof, if the commissioner determines:
42.15	(1) that the plan, as amended, will conform to the standards set forth in this chapter; and
42.16	(2) that notice of the amendment has been delivered to all affected employees at least
42.17	ten days before the submission of the amendment.
42.18	(b) Any amendments approved under this subdivision are effective on the date of the
42.19	commissioner's approval, unless the commissioner and the employer agree on a later date.
42.20	Subd. 11. Successor employer. A private plan in effect at the time a successor acquires
42.21	the employer organization, trade, or business, or substantially all the assets thereof, or a
42.22	distinct and severable portion of the organization, trade, or business, and continues its
42.23	operation without substantial reduction of personnel resulting from the acquisition, must
42.24	continue the approved private plan and must not withdraw the plan without a specific request
42.25	for withdrawal in a manner and at a time specified by the commissioner. A successor may
42.26	terminate a private plan with notice to the commissioner and within 90 days from the date
42.27	of the acquisition.
42.28	Subd. 12. Revocation of approval by commissioner. (a) The commissioner may
42.29	terminate any private plan if the commissioner determines the employer:
42.30	(1) failed to pay benefits;
42.31	(2) failed to pay benefits in a timely manner, consistent with the requirements of this
42.32	chapter;

43.1	(3) failed to submit reports as required by this chapter or rule adopted under this chapter;
43.2	or
43.3	(4) otherwise failed to comply with this chapter or rule adopted under this chapter.
43.4	(b) The commissioner must give notice of the intention to terminate a plan to the employer
43.5	at least ten days before taking any final action. The notice must state the effective date and
43.6	the reason for the termination.
43.7	(c) The employer may, within ten days from mailing or personal service of the notice,
43.8	file an appeal to the commissioner in the time, manner, method, and procedure provided by
43.9	the commissioner under subdivision 7.
43.10	(d) The payment of benefits must not be delayed during an employer's appeal of the
43.11	revocation of approval of a private plan.
43.12	(e) If the commissioner revokes approval of an employer's private plan, that employer
43.13	is ineligible to apply for approval of another private plan for a period of three years, beginning
43.14	on the date of revocation.
43.15	Subd. 13. Employer penalties. (a) The commissioner may assess the following monetary
43.16	penalties against an employer with an approved private plan found to have violated this
43.17	chapter:
43.18	(1) \$1,000 for the first violation; and
43.19	(2) \$2,000 for the second, and each successive violation.
43.20	(b) The commissioner must waive collection of any penalty if the employer corrects the
43.21	violation within 30 days of receiving a notice of the violation and the notice is for a first
43.22	violation.
43.23	(c) The commissioner may waive collection of any penalty if the commissioner determines
43.24	the violation to be an inadvertent error by the employer.
43.25	(d) Monetary penalties collected under this section shall be deposited in the family and
43.26	medical benefit insurance account.
43.27	(e) Assessment of penalties under this subdivision may be appealed as provided by the
43.28	commissioner under subdivision 7.
43.29	Subd. 14. Reports, information, and records. Employers with an approved private
43.30	plan must maintain all reports, information, and records as relating to the private plan and
43.31	claims for a period of six years from creation and provide to the commissioner upon request.

44.1 Subd. 15. Audit and investigation. The commissioner may investigate and audit plans
44.2 approved under this section both before and after the plans are approved.

44.3 Sec. 16. [268B.11] SELF-EMPLOYED AND INDEPENDENT CONTRACTOR 44.4 ELECTION OF COVERAGE.

Subdivision 1. Election of coverage. (a) A self-employed individual or independent 44.5 contractor may file with the commissioner by electronic transmission in a format prescribed 44.6 by the commissioner an application to be entitled to benefits under this chapter for a period 44.7 not less than 104 consecutive calendar weeks. Upon the approval of the commissioner, sent 44.8 44.9 by United States mail or electronic transmission, the individual is entitled to benefits under this chapter beginning the calendar quarter after the date of approval or beginning in a later 44.10 calendar quarter if requested by the self-employed individual or independent contractor. 44.11 The individual ceases to be entitled to benefits as of the first day of January of any calendar 44.12 year only if, at least 30 calendar days before the first day of January, the individual has filed 44.13 44.14 with the commissioner by electronic transmission in a format prescribed by the commissioner a notice to that effect. 44.15 44.16 (b) The commissioner may terminate any application approved under this section with 30 calendar days' notice sent by United States mail or electronic transmission if the 44.17 self-employed individual is delinquent on any premiums due under this chapter. If an 44.18 approved application is terminated in this manner during the first 104 consecutive calendar 44.19 weeks of election, the self-employed individual remains obligated to pay the premium under 44.20 44.21 subdivision 3 for the remainder of that 104-week period. Subd. 2. Application. A self-employed individual who applies for coverage under this 44.22 section must provide the commissioner with (1) the amount of the individual's net earnings 44.23 from self-employment, if any, from the two most recent taxable years and all tax documents 44.24 necessary to prove the accuracy of the amounts reported, and (2) any other documentation 44.25 the commissioner requires. A self-employed individual who is covered under this chapter 44.26 must annually provide the commissioner with the amount of the individual's net earnings 44.27 44.28 from self-employment within 30 days of filing a federal income tax return. Subd. 3. Premium. A self-employed individual who elects to receive coverage under 44.29 44.30 this chapter must annually pay a premium equal to one-half the percentage in section 268B.14, subdivision 5, clause (1), times the lesser of: 44.31

44.32 (1) the individual's self-employment premium base; or

45.1	(2) the maximum earnings subject to the FICA Old-Age, Survivors, and Disability
45.2	Insurance tax.
45.3	Subd. 4. Benefits. Notwithstanding anything to the contrary, a self-employed individual
45.4	who has applied to and been approved for coverage by the commissioner under this section
45.5	is entitled to benefits on the same basis as an employee under this chapter, except that a
45.6	self-employed individual's weekly benefit amount under section 268B.04, subdivision 1,
45.7	must be calculated as a percentage of the self-employed individual's self-employment
45.8	premium base, rather than wages.
45.9	Sec. 17. [268B.12] WAGE REPORTING.
45.10	Subdivision 1. Wage detail report. (a) Each employer must submit, under the employer
45.11	premium account described in section 268B.13, a quarterly wage detail report by electronic
45.12	transmission, in a format prescribed by the commissioner. The report must include for each
45.13	employee in covered employment during the calendar quarter, the employee's name, Social
45.14	Security number, the total wages paid to the employee, and total number of paid hours
45.15	worked. For employees exempt from the definition of employee in section 177.23,
45.16	subdivision 7, clause (6), the employer must report 40 hours worked for each week any
45.17	duties were performed by a full-time employee and must report a reasonable estimate of
45.18	the hours worked for each week duties were performed by a part-time employee. In addition,
45.19	the wage detail report must include the number of employees employed during the payroll
45.20	period that includes the 12th day of each calendar month and, if required by the
45.21	commissioner, the report must be broken down by business location and separate business
45.22	unit. The report is due and must be received by the commissioner on or before the last day
45.23	of the month following the end of the calendar quarter. The commissioner may delay the
45.24	due date on a specific calendar quarter in the event the department is unable to accept wage
45.25	detail reports electronically.
45.26	(b) The employer may report the wages paid to the next lower whole dollar amount.
45.27	(c) An employer need not include the name of the employee or other required information
45.28	on the wage detail report if disclosure is specifically exempted from being reported by
45.29	federal law.
45.30	(d) A wage detail report must be submitted for each calendar quarter even though no
45.31	wages were paid, unless the business has been terminated.
45.32	Subd. 2. Electronic transmission of report required. Each employer must submit the
45.33	quarterly wage detail report by electronic transmission in a format prescribed by the

46.1	commissioner. The commissioner has the discretion to accept wage detail reports that are
46.2	submitted by any other means or the commissioner may return the report submitted by other
46.3	than electronic transmission to the employer, and reports returned are considered as not
46.4	submitted and the late fees under subdivision 3 may be imposed.
46.5	Subd. 3. Failure to timely file report; late fees. (a) Any employer that fails to submit
46.6	the quarterly wage detail report when due must pay a late fee of \$10 per employee, computed
46.7	based upon the highest of:
46.8	(1) the number of employees reported on the last wage detail report submitted;
46.9	(2) the number of employees reported in the corresponding quarter of the prior calendar
46.10	year; or
46.11	(3) if no wage detail report has ever been submitted, the number of employees listed at
46.12	the time of employer registration.
46.13	The late fee is canceled if the wage detail report is received within 30 calendar days after
46.14	a demand for the report is sent to the employer by mail or electronic transmission. A late
46.15	fee assessed an employer may not be canceled more than twice each 12 months. The amount
46.16	of the late fee assessed may not be less than \$250.
46.17	(b) If the wage detail report is not received in a manner and format prescribed by the
46.18	commissioner within 30 calendar days after demand is sent under paragraph (a), the late
46.19	fee assessed under paragraph (a) doubles and a renewed demand notice and notice of the
46.20	increased late fee will be sent to the employer by mail or electronic transmission.
46.21	(c) Late fees due under this subdivision may be canceled, in whole or in part, under
46.22	section 268B.16.
46.23	Subd. 4. Missing or erroneous information. (a) Any employer that submits the wage
46.24	detail report, but fails to include all required employee information or enters erroneous
46.25	information, is subject to an administrative service fee of \$25 for each employee for whom
46.26	the information is partially missing or erroneous.
46.27	(b) Any employer that submits the wage detail report, but fails to include an employee,
46.28	is subject to an administrative service fee equal to two percent of the total wages for each
46.29	employee for whom the information is completely missing.
46.30	Subd. 5. Fees. The fees provided for in subdivisions 3 and 4 are in addition to interest
46.31	and other penalties imposed by this chapter and are collected in the same manner as
46.32	delinquent taxes and credited to the family and medical benefit insurance account.

47.1	Sec. 18. [268B.13] EMPLOYER PREMIUM ACCOUNTS.
47.2	The commissioner must maintain a premium account for each employer. The
47.3	commissioner must assess the premium account for all the premiums due under section
47.4	268B.14, and credit the family and medical benefit insurance account with all premiums
47.5	paid.
47.6	Sec. 19. [268B.14] PREMIUMS.
47.7	Subdivision 1. Payments. (a) Family and medical leave premiums accrue and become
47.8	payable by each employer for each calendar year on the taxable wages that the employer
47.9	paid to employees in covered employment.
47.10	Each employer must pay premiums quarterly, at the premium rate defined under this
47.11	section, on the taxable wages paid to each employee. The commissioner must compute the
47.12	premium due from the wage detail report required under section 268B.12 and notify the
47.13	employer of the premium due. The premiums must be paid to the family and medical benefit
47.14	insurance account and must be received by the department on or before the last day of the
47.15	month following the end of the calendar quarter.
47.16	(b) If for any reason the wages on the wage detail report under section 268B.12 are
47.17	adjusted for any quarter, the commissioner must recompute the premiums due for that quarter
47.18	and assess the employer for any amount due or credit the employer as appropriate.
47.19	Subd. 2. Payments by electronic payment required. (a) Every employer must make
47.20	any payments due under this chapter by electronic payment.
47.21	(b) All third-party processors, paying on behalf of a client company, must make any
47.22	payments due under this chapter by electronic payment.
47.23	(c) Regardless of paragraph (a) or (b), the commissioner has the discretion to accept
47.24	payment by other means.
47.25	Subd. 3. Employee charge back. Notwithstanding section 177.24, subdivision 4, or
47.26	181.06, subdivision 1, employers and covered business entities may deduct up to 50 percent
47.27	of annual premiums paid under this section from employee wages. Such deductions for any
47.28	given employee must be in equal proportion to the premiums paid based on the wages of
47.29	that employee, and all employees of an employer must be subject to the same percentage
47.30	deduction. Deductions under this section must not cause an employee's wage, after the
47.31	deduction, to fall below the rate required to be paid to the worker by law, including any
47.32	applicable statute, regulation, rule, ordinance, government resolution or policy, contract, or
47.33	other legal authority, whichever rate of pay is greater.

48.1	Subd. 4. Wages and payments subject to premium. The maximum wages subject to
48.2	premium in a calendar year is equal to the maximum earnings in that year subject to the
48.3	FICA Old-Age, Survivors, and Disability Insurance tax.
48.4	Subd. 5. Annual premium rates. The employer premium rates for the calendar year
48.5	beginning January 1, 2024, shall be as follows:
48.6	(1) for employers participating in both family and medical benefit programs, 0.6 percent;
48.7	(2) for an employer participating in only the medical benefit program and with an
48.8	approved private plan for the family benefit program, 0.486 percent; and
48.9	(3) for an employer participating in only the family benefit program and with an approved
48.10	private plan for the medical benefit program, 0.114 percent.
48.11	Subd. 6. Premium rate adjustments. (a) Beginning January 1, 2026, and each calendar
48.12	year thereafter, the commissioner must adjust the annual premium rates using the formula
48.13	in paragraph (b).
48.14	(b) To calculate the employer rates for a calendar year, the commissioner must:
48.15	(1) multiply 1.45 times the amount disbursed from the family and medical benefit
48.16	insurance account for the 52-week period ending September 30 of the prior year;
48.17	(2) subtract the amount in the family and medical benefit insurance account on that
48.18	September 30 from the resulting figure;
48.19	(3) divide the resulting figure by twice the total wages in covered employment of
48.20	employees of employers without approved private plans under section 268B.10 for either
48.21	the family or medical benefit program. For employers with an approved private plan for
48.22	either the medical benefit program or the family benefit program, but not both, count only
48.23	the proportion of wages in covered employment associated with the program for which the
48.24	employer does not have an approved private plan; and
48.25	(4) round the resulting figure down to the nearest one-hundredth of one percent.
48.26	(c) The commissioner must apportion the premium rate between the family and medical
48.27	benefit programs based on the relative proportion of expenditures for each program during
48.28	the preceding year.
48.29	Subd. 7. Deposit of premiums. All premiums collected under this section must be
48.30	deposited into the family and medical benefit insurance account.

49.1	Subd. 8. Nonpayment of premiums by employer. The failure of an employer to pay
49.2	premiums does not impact the right of an employee to benefits, or any other right, under
49.3	this chapter.
49.4	Sec. 20. [268B.145] INCOME TAX WITHHOLDING.
49.5	If the Internal Revenue Service determines that benefits are subject to federal income
49.6	tax, and an applicant elects to have federal income tax deducted and withheld from the
49.7	applicant's benefits, the commissioner must deduct and withhold the amount specified in
49.8	the Internal Revenue Code in a manner consistent with state law.
49.9	Sec. 21. [268B.15] COLLECTION OF PREMIUMS.
49.10	Subdivision 1. Amount computed presumed correct. Any amount due from an
49.11	employer, as computed by the commissioner, is presumed to be correctly determined and
49.12	assessed, and the burden is upon the employer to show its incorrectness. A statement by the
49.13	commissioner of the amount due is admissible in evidence in any court or administrative
49.14	proceeding and is prima facie evidence of the facts in the statement.
49.15	Subd. 2. Priority of payments. (a) Any payment received from an employer must be
49.16	applied in the following order:
49.17	(1) family and medical leave premiums under this chapter; then
49.18	(2) interest on past due premiums; then
49.19	(3) penalties, late fees, administrative service fees, and costs.
49.20	(b) Paragraph (a) is the priority used for all payments received from an employer,
49.21	regardless of how the employer may designate the payment to be applied, except when:
49.22	(1) there is an outstanding lien and the employer designates that the payment made
49.23	should be applied to satisfy the lien;
49.24	(2) the payment is specifically designated by the employer to be applied to an outstanding
49.25	overpayment of benefits of an applicant;
49.26	(3) a court or administrative order directs that the payment be applied to a specific
49.27	obligation;
49.28	(4) a preexisting payment plan provides for the application of payment; or
49.29	(5) the commissioner, under the compromise authority of section 268B.16, agrees to
49.30	apply the payment to a different priority.

50.1	Subd. 3. Estimating the premium due. Only if an employer fails to make all necessary
50.2	records available for an audit under section 268B.21 and the commissioner has reason to
50.3	believe the employer has not reported all the required wages on the quarterly wage detail
50.4	reports, may the commissioner then estimate the amount of premium due and assess the
50.5	employer the estimated amount due.
50.6	Subd. 4. Costs. (a) Any employer and any applicant subject to section 268B.185,
50.7	subdivision 2, that fails to pay any amount when due under this chapter is liable for any
50.8	filing fees, recording fees, sheriff fees, costs incurred by referral to any public or private
50.9	collection agency, or litigation costs, including attorney fees, incurred in the collection of
50.10	the amounts due.
50.11	(b) If any tendered payment of any amount due is not honored when presented to a
50.12	financial institution for payment, any costs assessed the department by the financial institution
50.13	and a fee of \$25 must be assessed to the person.
50.14	(c) Costs and fees collected under this subdivision are credited to the enforcement account
50.15	under section 268B.185, subdivision 3.
50.16	Subd. 5. Interest on amounts past due. If any amounts due from an employer under
50.17	this chapter are not received on the date due, the commissioner must assess interest on any
50.18	amount that remains unpaid. Interest is assessed at the rate of one percent per month or any
50.19	part of a month. Interest is not assessed on unpaid interest. Interest collected under this
50.20	subdivision is credited to the account.
50.21	Subd. 6. Interest on judgments. Regardless of section 549.09, if a judgment is entered
50.22	upon any past due amounts from an employer under this chapter, the unpaid judgment bears
50.23	interest at the rate specified in subdivision 5 until the date of payment.
50.24	Subd. 7. Credit adjustments; refunds. (a) If an employer makes an application for a
50.25	credit adjustment of any amount paid under this chapter within four years of the date that
50.26	the payment was due, in a manner and format prescribed by the commissioner, and the
50.27	commissioner determines that the payment or any portion thereof was erroneous, the
50.28	commissioner must make an adjustment and issue a credit without interest. If a credit cannot
50.29	be used, the commissioner must refund, without interest, the amount erroneously paid. The
50.30	commissioner, on the commissioner's own motion, may make a credit adjustment or refund
50.31	under this subdivision.
50.32	(b) Any refund returned to the commissioner is considered unclaimed property under
50.33	chapter 345.

51.1	(c) If a credit adjustment or refund is denied in whole or in part, a determination of denial
51.2	must be sent to the employer by mail or electronic transmission. The determination of denial
51.3	is final unless an employer files an appeal within 20 calendar days after sending. Proceedings
51.4	on the appeal are conducted in accordance with section 268B.08.
51.5	(d) If an employer receives a credit adjustment or refund under this section, the employer
51.6	must determine the amount of any overpayment attributable to a deduction from employee
51.7	wages under section 268B.14, subdivision 3, and return any amount erroneously deducted
51.8	to each affected employee.
51.9	Subd. 8. Priorities under legal dissolutions or distributions. In the event of any
51.10	distribution of an employer's assets according to an order of any court, including any
51.11	receivership, assignment for benefit of creditors, adjudicated insolvency, or similar
51.12	proceeding, premiums then or thereafter due must be paid in full before all other claims
51.13	except claims for wages of not more than \$1,000 per former employee, earned within six
51.14	months of the commencement of the proceedings. In the event of an employer's adjudication
51.15	in bankruptcy under federal law, premiums then or thereafter due are entitled to the priority
51.16	provided in that law for taxes due in any state.
51.17	Sec. 22. [268B.155] CHILD SUPPORT DEDUCTION FROM BENEFITS.
	· · · · ·
51.18	Subdivision 1. Definitions. As used in this section:
51.18 51.19	· · · · ·
	Subdivision 1. Definitions. As used in this section:
51.19	Subdivision 1. Definitions. As used in this section: (1) "child support agency" means the public agency responsible for child support
51.19 51.20	Subdivision 1. Definitions. As used in this section: (1) "child support agency" means the public agency responsible for child support enforcement, including federally approved comprehensive Tribal IV-D programs; and
51.19 51.20 51.21	<u>Subdivision 1.</u> Definitions. As used in this section: (1) "child support agency" means the public agency responsible for child support enforcement, including federally approved comprehensive Tribal IV-D programs; and (2) "child support obligations" means obligations that are being enforced by a child
51.1951.2051.2151.22	<u>Subdivision 1.</u> Definitions. As used in this section: (1) "child support agency" means the public agency responsible for child support enforcement, including federally approved comprehensive Tribal IV-D programs; and (2) "child support obligations" means obligations that are being enforced by a child support agency in accordance with a plan described in United States Code, title 42, sections
 51.19 51.20 51.21 51.22 51.23 	Subdivision 1. Definitions. As used in this section: (1) "child support agency" means the public agency responsible for child support enforcement, including federally approved comprehensive Tribal IV-D programs; and (2) "child support obligations" means obligations that are being enforced by a child support agency in accordance with a plan described in United States Code, title 42, sections 454 and 455 of the Social Security Act that has been approved by the secretary of health
 51.19 51.20 51.21 51.22 51.23 51.24 	Subdivision 1. Definitions. As used in this section: (1) "child support agency" means the public agency responsible for child support enforcement, including federally approved comprehensive Tribal IV-D programs; and (2) "child support obligations" means obligations that are being enforced by a child support agency in accordance with a plan described in United States Code, title 42, sections 454 and 455 of the Social Security Act that has been approved by the secretary of health and human services under part D of title IV of the Social Security Act. This does not include
 51.19 51.20 51.21 51.22 51.23 51.24 51.25 	Subdivision 1. Definitions. As used in this section: (1) "child support agency" means the public agency responsible for child support enforcement, including federally approved comprehensive Tribal IV-D programs; and (2) "child support obligations" means obligations that are being enforced by a child support agency in accordance with a plan described in United States Code, title 42, sections 454 and 455 of the Social Security Act that has been approved by the secretary of health and human services under part D of title IV of the Social Security Act. This does not include any type of spousal maintenance or foster care payments.
 51.19 51.20 51.21 51.22 51.23 51.24 51.25 51.26 	Subdivision 1. Definitions. As used in this section: (1) "child support agency" means the public agency responsible for child support enforcement, including federally approved comprehensive Tribal IV-D programs; and (2) "child support obligations" means obligations that are being enforced by a child support agency in accordance with a plan described in United States Code, title 42, sections 454 and 455 of the Social Security Act that has been approved by the secretary of health and human services under part D of title IV of the Social Security Act. This does not include any type of spousal maintenance or foster care payments. Subd. 2. Notice upon application. In an application for family or medical leave benefits,
 51.19 51.20 51.21 51.22 51.23 51.24 51.25 51.26 51.27 	Subdivision 1. Definitions. As used in this section: (1) "child support agency" means the public agency responsible for child support enforcement, including federally approved comprehensive Tribal IV-D programs; and (2) "child support obligations" means obligations that are being enforced by a child support agency in accordance with a plan described in United States Code, title 42, sections 454 and 455 of the Social Security Act that has been approved by the secretary of health and human services under part D of title IV of the Social Security Act. This does not include any type of spousal maintenance or foster care payments. Subd. 2. Notice upon application. In an application for family or medical leave benefits, the applicant must disclose if child support obligations are owed and, if so, in what state
 51.19 51.20 51.21 51.22 51.23 51.24 51.25 51.26 51.27 51.28 	Subdivision 1. Definitions. As used in this section: (1) "child support agency" means the public agency responsible for child support enforcement, including federally approved comprehensive Tribal IV-D programs; and (2) "child support obligations" means obligations that are being enforced by a child support agency in accordance with a plan described in United States Code, title 42, sections 454 and 455 of the Social Security Act that has been approved by the secretary of health and human services under part D of title IV of the Social Security Act. This does not include any type of spousal maintenance or foster care payments. Subd. 2. Notice upon application. In an application for family or medical leave benefits, the applicant must disclose if child support obligations are owed and, if so, in what state and county. If child support obligations are owed, the commissioner must, if the applicant
 51.19 51.20 51.21 51.22 51.23 51.24 51.25 51.26 51.27 51.28 51.29 	Subdivision 1. Definitions. As used in this section: (1) "child support agency" means the public agency responsible for child support enforcement, including federally approved comprehensive Tribal IV-D programs; and (2) "child support obligations" means obligations that are being enforced by a child support agency in accordance with a plan described in United States Code, title 42, sections 454 and 455 of the Social Security Act that has been approved by the secretary of health and human services under part D of title IV of the Social Security Act. This does not include any type of spousal maintenance or foster care payments. Subd. 2. Notice upon application. In an application for family or medical leave benefits, the applicant must disclose if child support obligations are owed and, if so, in what state and county. If child support obligations are owed, the commissioner must, if the applicant establishes a benefit account, notify the child support agency.

51.33 (1) the amount required under a proper order of a court or administrative agency; or

Article 3 Sec. 22.

(2) if clause (1) is not applicable, the amount determined under an agreement under 52.1 United States Code, title 42, section 454 (20)(B)(i), of the Social Security Act; or 52.2 (3) if clause (1) or (2) is not applicable, the amount specified by the applicant. 52.3 Subd. 4. Payment. Any amount deducted and withheld must be paid to the child support 52.4 52.5 agency, must for all purposes be treated as if it were paid to the applicant as family or medical leave benefits and paid by the applicant to the child support agency in satisfaction 52.6 of the applicant's child support obligations. 52.7 Subd. 5. **Payment of costs.** The child support agency must pay the costs incurred by 52.8 the commissioner in the implementation and administration of this section and sections 52.9 518A.50 and 518A.53. 52.10 Sec. 23. [268B.16] COMPROMISE. 52.11 (a) The commissioner may compromise in whole or in part any action, determination, 52.12 52.13 or decision that affects only an employer and not an applicant. This paragraph applies if it is determined by a court of law, or a confession of judgment, that an applicant, while 52.14 employed, wrongfully took from the employer \$500 or more in money or property. 52.15 (b) The commissioner may at any time compromise any premium or reimbursement due 52.16 from an employer under this chapter. 52.17 (c) Any compromise involving an amount over \$10,000 must be authorized by an attorney 52.18 licensed to practice law in Minnesota who is an employee of the department designated by 52.19 the commissioner for that purpose. 52.20 (d) Any compromise must be in the best interest of the state of Minnesota. 52.21 Sec. 24. [268B.17] ADMINISTRATIVE COSTS. 52.22 52.23 From January 1, 2024, through December 31, 2024, the commissioner may spend up to seven percent of premiums collected under section 268B.15 for administration of this chapter. 52.24 Beginning January 1, 2025, and each calendar year thereafter, the commissioner may spend 52.25 up to seven percent of projected benefit payments for that calendar year for the administration 52.26 of this chapter. The department may enter into interagency agreements with the Department 52.27 of Labor and Industry, including agreements to transfer funds, subject to the limit in this 52.28 section, for the Department of Labor and Industry to fulfill its enforcement authority of this 52.29 52.30 chapter.

53.1 Sec. 25. [268B.18] PUBLIC OUTREACH.

Beginning January 1, 2024, the commissioner must use at least 0.5 percent of revenue 53.2 collected under this chapter for the purpose of outreach, education, and technical assistance 53.3 for employees, employers, and self-employed individuals eligible to elect coverage under 53.4 53.5 section 268B.11. The department may enter into interagency agreements with the Department of Labor and Industry, including agreements to transfer funds, subject to the limit in section 53.6 268B.17, to accomplish the requirements of this section. At least one-half of the amount 53.7 spent under this section must be used for grants to community-based groups. 53.8 Sec. 26. [268B.185] BENEFIT OVERPAYMENTS. 53.9 Subdivision 1. Repaying an overpayment. (a) Any applicant who (1) because of a 53.10 determination or amended determination issued under this chapter, or (2) because of a 53.11 benefit law judge's decision under section 268B.08, has received any family or medical 53.12 leave benefits that the applicant was held not entitled to, is overpaid the benefits and must 53.13 promptly repay the benefits to the family and medical benefit insurance account. 53.14 53.15 (b) If the applicant fails to repay the benefits overpaid, including any penalty and interest assessed under subdivisions 2 and 4, the total due may be collected by the methods allowed 53.16 under state and federal law. 53.17 53.18 Subd. 2. Overpayment because of misrepresentation. (a) An applicant has committed misrepresentation if the applicant is overpaid benefits by making a false statement or 53.19 representation without a good faith belief as to the correctness of the statement or 53.20 representation. 53.21 (b) After the discovery of facts indicating misrepresentation, the commissioner must 53.22 issue a determination of overpayment penalty assessing a penalty equal to 20 percent of the 53.23 amount overpaid. This penalty is in addition to penalties under section 268B.19. 53.24 (c) Unless the applicant files an appeal within 30 calendar days after the sending of a 53.25

determination of overpayment penalty to the applicant by mail or electronic transmission, or within 60 calendar days, if the applicant establishes good cause for not appealing within 30 days, the determination is final. For the purposes of this paragraph, "good cause" means a reason that would have prevented an applicant from acting with due diligence in appealing within 30 days and includes any illness, disability, or linguistic and literacy limitation of the applicant, along with other relevant factors. If an applicant claims good cause for a late appeal, the applicant must be granted a hearing on the issue of timeliness. This hearing can

54.1	be held at the same time as a hearing on the merits of the appeal. Proceedings on the appeal
54.2	are conducted in accordance with section 268B.08.
54.3	(d) A determination of overpayment penalty must state the methods of collection the
54.4	commissioner may use to recover the overpayment, penalty, and interest assessed. Money
54.5	received in repayment of overpaid benefits, penalties, and interest is first applied to the
54.6	benefits overpaid, second to the penalty amount due, and third to any interest due.
54.7	(e) The department is authorized to issue a determination of overpayment penalty under
54.8	this subdivision within 48 months of the establishment of the benefit account upon which
54.9	the benefits were obtained through misrepresentation.
54.10	Subd. 3. Family and medical benefit insurance enforcement account created. The
54.11	family and medical benefit insurance enforcement account is created in the state treasury.
54.12	Any penalties and interest collected under this section shall be deposited into the account
54.13	under this subdivision and shall be used only for the purposes of administering and enforcing
54.14	this chapter. Only the commissioner may authorize expenditures from the account under
54.15	this subdivision.
54.16	Subd. 4. Interest. For any family and medical leave benefits obtained by
54.17	misrepresentation, and any penalty amounts assessed under subdivision 2, the commissioner
54.18	must assess interest on any amount that remains unpaid beginning 30 calendar days after
54.19	the date of a determination of overpayment penalty. Interest is assessed at the rate of one
54.20	percent per month or any part of a month. A determination of overpayment penalty must
54.21	state that interest will be assessed. Interest is not assessed on unpaid interest. Interest collected
54.22	under this subdivision is credited to the family and medical benefit insurance enforcement
54.23	account.
54.24	Subd. 5. Offset of benefits. The commissioner may offset from any future family and
54.25	medical leave benefits otherwise payable the amount of a nonmisrepresentation overpayment.
54.26	Except when the nonmisrepresentation overpayment resulted because the applicant failed
54.27	to report deductible earnings or deductible or benefit delaying payments, no single offset
54.28	may exceed 50 percent of the amount of the payment from which the offset is made.
54.29	Subd. 6. Cancellation of overpayments. (a) If family and medical leave benefits overpaid
54.30	for reasons other than misrepresentation are not repaid or offset from subsequent benefits
54.31	within six years after the date of the determination or decision holding the applicant overpaid,
54.32	the commissioner must cancel the overpayment balance, and no administrative or legal
54.33	proceedings may be used to enforce collection of those amounts.

55.1	(b) If family and medical leave benefits overpaid because of misrepresentation including
55.2	penalties and interest are not repaid within ten years after the date of the determination of
55.3	overpayment penalty, the commissioner must cancel the overpayment balance and any
55.4	penalties and interest due, and no administrative or legal proceeding may be used to enforce
55.5	collection of those amounts.
55.6	(c) The commissioner may cancel at any time any overpayment, including penalties and
55.7	interest that the commissioner determines is uncollectible because of death or bankruptcy.
55.8	Subd. 7. Court fees; collection fees. (a) If the department is required to pay any court
55.9	fees in an attempt to enforce collection of overpaid family and medical leave benefits,
55.10	penalties, or interest, the amount of the court fees may be added to the total amount due.
55.11	(b) If an applicant who has been overpaid family and medical leave benefits because of
55.12	misrepresentation seeks to have any portion of the debt discharged under the federal
55.13	bankruptcy code, and the department files an objection in bankruptcy court to the discharge,
55.14	the cost of any court fees may be added to the debt if the bankruptcy court does not discharge
55.15	the debt.
55.16	(c) If the Internal Revenue Service assesses the department a fee for offsetting from a
55.17	federal tax refund the amount of any overpayment, including penalties and interest, the
55.18	amount of the fee may be added to the total amount due. The offset amount must be put in
55.19	the family and medical benefit insurance enforcement account and that amount credited to
55.20	the total amount due from the applicant.
55.21	Subd. 8. Collection of overpayments. (a) The commissioner has discretion regarding
55.22	the recovery of any overpayment for reasons other than misrepresentation. Regardless of
55.23	any law to the contrary, the commissioner is not required to refer any overpayment for
55.24	reasons other than misrepresentation to a public or private collection agency, including
55.25	agencies of this state.
55.26	(b) Amounts overpaid for reasons other than misrepresentation are not considered a
55.27	"debt" to the state of Minnesota for purposes of any reporting requirements to the
55.28	commissioner of management and budget.
55.29	(c) A pending appeal under section 268B.08 does not suspend the assessment of interest,
55.30	penalties, or collection of an overpayment.
55.31	(d) Section 16A.626 applies to the repayment by an applicant of any overpayment,
55.32	penalty, or interest.

56.1	Sec. 27. [268B.19] APPLICANT ADMINISTRATIVE PENALTIES.
56.2	(a) Any applicant who makes a false statement or representation without a good faith
56.3	belief as to the correctness of the statement or representation in order to obtain or in an
56.4	attempt to obtain benefits may be assessed, in addition to any other penalties, an
56.5	administrative penalty of being ineligible for benefits for 13 to 104 weeks.
56.6	(b) A determination of ineligibility setting out the weeks the applicant is ineligible must
56.7	be sent to the applicant by mail or electronic transmission. The department is authorized to
56.8	issue a determination of ineligibility under this subdivision within 48 months of the
56.9	establishment of the benefit account upon which the benefits were obtained, or attempted
56.10	to be obtained. Unless an appeal is filed within 20 calendar days of sending, the determination
56.11	is final. Proceedings on the appeal are conducted in accordance with section 268B.08.
56.12	Sec. 28. [268B.20] EMPLOYER MISCONDUCT; PENALTY.
56.13	(a) The commissioner must penalize an employer if that employer or any employee,
56.14	officer, or agent of that employer is in collusion with any applicant for the purpose of
56.15	assisting the applicant in receiving benefits fraudulently. The penalty is \$500 or the amount
56.16	of benefits determined to be overpaid, whichever is greater.
56.17	(b) The commissioner must penalize an employer if that employer or any employee,
56.18	officer, or agent of that employer:
56.19	(1) made a false statement or representation knowing it to be false;
56.20	(2) made a false statement or representation without a good-faith belief as to the
56.21	correctness of the statement or representation; or
56.22	(3) knowingly failed to disclose a material fact.
56.23	(c) The penalty is the greater of \$500 or 50 percent of the following resulting from the
56.24	employer's action:
56.25	(1) the amount of any overpaid benefits to an applicant;
56.26	(2) the amount of benefits not paid to an applicant that would otherwise have been paid;
56.27	<u>or</u>
56.28	(3) the amount of any payment required from the employer under this chapter that was
56.29	not paid.
56.30	(d) Penalties must be paid within 30 calendar days of issuance of the determination of
56.31	penalty and credited to the family and medical benefit insurance account.

57.1 (e) The determination of penalty is final unless the employer files an appeal within 30
 57.2 calendar days after the sending of the determination of penalty to the employer by United
 57.3 States mail or electronic transmission.

57.4

Sec. 29. [268B.21] RECORDS; AUDITS.

57.5 Subdivision 1. Employer records; audits. (a) Each employer must keep true and accurate
 57.6 records on individuals performing services for the employer, containing the information
 57.7 the commissioner may require under this chapter. The records must be kept for a period of

57.8 not less than four years in addition to the current calendar year.

57.9 (b) For the purpose of administering this chapter, the commissioner has the power to

57.10 audit, examine, or cause to be supplied or copied, any books, correspondence, papers,

57.11 records, or memoranda that are the property of, or in the possession of, an employer or any

57.12 other person at any reasonable time and as often as may be necessary. Subpoenas may be

57.13 issued under section 268B.22 as necessary, for an audit.

57.14 (c) An employer or other person that refuses to allow an audit of its records by the

57.15 department or that fails to make all necessary records available for audit in the state upon

57.16 request of the commissioner may be assessed an administrative penalty of \$500. The penalty

57.17 <u>collected is credited to the family and medical benefit insurance account.</u>

57.18 (d) An employer, or other person, that fails to provide a weekly breakdown of money

57.19 earned by an applicant upon request of the commissioner, information necessary for the

57.20 detection of applicant misrepresentation under section 268B.185, subdivision 2, may be

57.21 assessed an administrative penalty of \$100. Any notice requesting a weekly breakdown

57.22 must clearly state that a \$100 penalty may be assessed for failure to provide the information.

57.23 The penalty collected is credited to the family and medical benefit insurance account.

57.24 <u>Subd. 2.</u> **Department records; destruction.** (a) The commissioner may make summaries, 57.25 compilations, duplications, or reproductions of any records pertaining to this chapter that

57.26 the commissioner considers advisable for the preservation of the information.

57.27 (b) Regardless of any law to the contrary, the commissioner may destroy any records

57.28 that are no longer necessary for the administration of this chapter. In addition, the

57.29 commissioner may destroy any record from which the information has been electronically

57.30 captured and stored.

58.1	Sec. 30. [268B.22] SUBPOENAS; OATHS.
58.2	(a) The commissioner or benefit judge has authority to administer oaths and affirmations,
58.3	take depositions, certify to official acts, and issue subpoenas to compel the attendance of
58.4	individuals and the production of documents and other personal property necessary in
58.5	connection with the administration of this chapter.
58.6	(b) Individuals subpoenaed, other than applicants or officers and employees of an
58.7	employer that is the subject of the inquiry, are paid witness fees the same as witness fees
58.8	in civil actions in district court. The fees need not be paid in advance.
58.9	(c) The subpoena is enforceable through the district court in Ramsey County.
58.10	Sec. 31. [268B.23] LIEN; LEVY; SETOFF; AND CIVIL ACTION.
58.11	Subdivision 1. Lien. (a) Any amount due under this chapter, from an applicant or an
58.12	employer, becomes a lien upon all the property, within this state, both real and personal, of
58.13	the person liable, from the date of assessment. For the purposes of this section, "date of
58.14	assessment" means the date the obligation was due.
58.15	(b) The lien is not enforceable against any purchaser, mortgagee, pledgee, holder of a
58.16	Uniform Commercial Code security interest, mechanic's lien, or judgment lien creditor,
58.17	until a notice of lien has been filed with the county recorder of the county where the property
58.18	is situated, or in the case of personal property belonging to a nonresident person in the Office
58.19	of the Secretary of State. When the notice of lien is filed with the county recorder, the fee
58.20	for filing and indexing is as provided in sections 272.483 and 272.484.
58.21	(c) Notices of liens, lien renewals, and lien releases, in a form prescribed by the
58.22	commissioner, may be filed with the county recorder or the secretary of state by mail,
58.23	personal delivery, or electronic transmission into the computerized filing system of the
58.24	secretary of state. The secretary of state must, on any notice filed with that office, transmit
58.25	the notice electronically to the appropriate county recorder. The filing officer, whether the
58.26	county recorder or the secretary of state, must endorse and index a printout of the notice as
58.27	if the notice had been mailed or delivered.
58.28	(d) County recorders and the secretary of state must enter information on lien notices,
58.29	renewals, and releases into the central database of the secretary of state. For notices filed
58.30	electronically with the county recorders, the date and time of receipt of the notice and county
58.31	recorder's file number, and for notices filed electronically with the secretary of state, the
58.32	secretary of state's recording information, must be entered into the central database before
58.33	the close of the working day following the day of the original data entry by the commissioner.

59.1	(e) The lien imposed on personal property, even though properly filed, is not enforceable
59.2	against a purchaser of tangible personal property purchased at retail or personal property
59.3	listed as exempt in sections 550.37, 550.38, and 550.39.
39.3	insted as exempt in sections 550.57, 550.58, and 550.59.
59.4	(f) A notice of lien filed has priority over any security interest arising under chapter 336,
59.5	article 9, that is perfected prior in time to the lien imposed by this subdivision, but only if:
59.6	(1) the perfected security interest secures property not in existence at the time the notice
59.7	of lien is filed; and
59.8	(2) the property comes into existence after the 45th calendar day following the day the
59.9	notice of lien is filed, or after the secured party has actual notice or knowledge of the lien
59.10	filing, whichever is earlier.
59.11	(g) The lien is enforceable from the time the lien arises and for ten years from the date
59.12	of filing the notice of lien. A notice of lien may be renewed before expiration for an additional
59.13	ten years.
59.14	(h) The lien is enforceable by levy under subdivision 2 or by judgment lien foreclosure
59.15	under chapter 550.
59.16	(i) The lien may be imposed upon property defined as homestead property in chapter
59.17	510 but may be enforced only upon the sale, transfer, or conveyance of the homestead
59.18	property.
59.19	(j) The commissioner may sell and assign to a third party the commissioner's right of
59.20	redemption in specific real property for liens filed under this subdivision. The assignee is
59.21	limited to the same rights of redemption as the commissioner, except that in a bankruptcy
59.22	proceeding, the assignee does not obtain the commissioner's priority. Any proceeds from
59.23	the sale of the right of redemption are credited to the family and medical benefit insurance
59.24	account.
59.25	Subd. 2. Levy. (a) If any amount due under this chapter, from an applicant or an employer,
59.26	is not paid when due, the amount may be collected by the commissioner by direct levy upon
59.27	all property and rights of property of the person liable for the amount due except property
59.28	exempt from execution under section 550.37. For the purposes of this section, "levy" includes
59.29	the power of distraint and seizure by any means.
59.30	(b) In addition to a direct levy, the commissioner may issue a warrant to the sheriff of
59.31	any county who must proceed within 60 calendar days to levy upon the property or rights
59.32	to property of the delinquent person within the county, except property exempt under section
59.33	550.37. The sheriff must sell that property necessary to satisfy the total amount due, together

60.1	with the commissioner's and sheriff's costs. The sales are governed by the law applicable
60.2	to sales of like property on execution of a judgment.
60.3	(c) Notice and demand for payment of the total amount due must be mailed to the
60.4	delinquent person at least ten calendar days before action being taken under paragraphs (a)
60.5	<u>and (b).</u>
60.6	(d) If the commissioner has reason to believe that collection of the amount due is in
60.7	jeopardy, notice and demand for immediate payment may be made. If the total amount due
60.8	is not paid, the commissioner may proceed to collect by direct levy or issue a warrant without
60.9	regard to the ten calendar day period.
60.10	(e) In executing the levy, the commissioner must have all of the powers provided in
60.11	chapter 550 or any other law that provides for execution against property in this state. The
60.12	sale of property levied upon and the time and manner of redemption is as provided in chapter
60.13	550. The seal of the court is not required. The levy may be made whether or not the
60.14	commissioner has commenced a legal action for collection.
60.15	(f) Where any assessment has been made by the commissioner, the property seized for
60.16	collection of the total amount due must not be sold until any determination of liability has
60.17	become final. No sale may be made unless a portion of the amount due remains unpaid for
60.18	a period of more than 30 calendar days after the determination of liability becomes final.
60.19	Seized property may be sold at any time if:
60.20	(1) the delinquent person consents in writing to the sale; or
60.21	(2) the commissioner determines that the property is perishable or may become greatly
60.22	reduced in price or value by keeping, or that the property cannot be kept without great
60.23	expense.
60.24	(g) Where a levy has been made to collect the amount due and the property seized is
60.25	properly included in a formal proceeding commenced under sections 524.3-401 to 524.3-505
60.26	and maintained under full supervision of the court, the property may not be sold until the
60.27	probate proceedings are completed or until the court orders.
60.28	(h) The property seized must be returned if the owner:
60.29	(1) gives a surety bond equal to the appraised value of the owner's interest in the property,
60.30	as determined by the commissioner; or
60.31	(2) deposits with the commissioner security in a form and amount the commissioner
60.32	considers necessary to insure payment of the liability.

61.1	(i) If a levy or sale would irreparably injure rights in property that the court determines
61.2	superior to rights of the state, the court may grant an injunction to prohibit the enforcement
61.3	of the levy or to prohibit the sale.
61.4	(j) Any person who fails or refuses to surrender without reasonable cause any property
61.5	or rights to property subject to levy is personally liable in an amount equal to the value of
61.6	the property or rights not so surrendered, but not exceeding the amount due.
61.7	(k) If the commissioner has seized the property of any individual, that individual may,
61.8	upon giving 48 hours notice to the commissioner and to the court, bring a claim for equitable
61.9	relief before the district court for the release of the property upon terms and conditions the
61.10	court considers equitable.
61.11	(l) Any person in control or possession of property or rights to property upon which a
61.12	levy has been made who surrenders the property or rights to property, or who pays the
61.13	amount due is discharged from any obligation or liability to the person liable for the amount
61.14	due with respect to the property or rights to property.
61.15	(m) The notice of any levy may be served personally or by mail.
61.16	(n) The commissioner may release the levy upon all or part of the property or rights to
61.17	property levied upon if the commissioner determines that the release will facilitate the
61.18	collection of the liability, but the release does not prevent any subsequent levy. If the
61.19	commissioner determines that property has been wrongfully levied upon, the commissioner
61.20	must return:
61.21	(1) the specific property levied upon, at any time; or
61.22	(2) an amount of money equal to the amount of money levied upon, at any time before
61.23	the expiration of nine months from the date of levy.
61.24	(o) Regardless of section 52.12, a levy upon a person's funds on deposit in a financial
61.25	institution located in this state, has priority over any unexercised right of setoff of the
61.26	financial institution to apply the levied funds toward the balance of an outstanding loan or
61.27	loans owed by the person to the financial institution. A claim by the financial institution
61.28	that it exercised its right to setoff before the levy must be substantiated by evidence of the
61.29	date of the setoff, and verified by an affidavit from a corporate officer of the financial
61.30	institution. For purposes of determining the priority of any levy under this subdivision, the
61.31	levy is treated as if it were an execution under chapter 550.
61.32	Subd. 3. Right of setoff. (a) Upon certification by the commissioner to the commissioner

61.33 of management and budget, or to any state agency that disburses its own funds, that a person,

62.1	applicant, or employer has a liability under this chapter, and that the state has purchased
62.2	personal services, supplies, contract services, or property from that person, the commissioner
62.3	of management and budget or the state agency must set off and pay to the commissioner an
62.4	amount sufficient to satisfy the unpaid liability from funds appropriated for payment of the
62.5	obligation of the state otherwise due the person. No amount may be set off from any funds
62.6	exempt under section 550.37 or funds due an individual who receives assistance under
62.7	chapter 256.
62.8	(b) All funds, whether general or dedicated, are subject to setoff.
62.9	(c) Regardless of any law to the contrary, the commissioner has first priority to setoff
62.10	from any funds otherwise due from the department to a delinquent person.
62.11	Subd. 4. Collection by civil action. (a) Any amount due under this chapter, from an
62.12	applicant or employer, may be collected by civil action in the name of the state of Minnesota.
62.13	Civil actions brought under this subdivision must be heard as provided under section 16D.14.
62.14	In any action, judgment must be entered in default for the relief demanded in the complaint
62.15	without proof, together with costs and disbursements, upon the filing of an affidavit of
62.16	default.
62.17	(b) Any person that is not a resident of this state and any resident person removed from
62.18	this state, is considered to appoint the secretary of state as its agent for the acceptance of
62.19	process in any civil action. The commissioner must file process with the secretary of state,
62.20	together with a payment of a fee of \$15 and that service is considered sufficient service and
62.21	has the same force and validity as if served personally within this state. Notice of the service
62.22	of process, together with a copy of the process, must be sent by certified mail to the person's
62.23	last known address. An affidavit of compliance with this subdivision, and a copy of the
62.24	notice of service must be appended to the original of the process and filed in the court.
62.25	(c) No court filing fees, docketing fees, or release of judgment fees may be assessed
62.26	against the state for actions under this subdivision.
62.27	Subd. 5. Injunction forbidden. No injunction or other legal action to prevent the
62.28	determination, assessment, or collection of any amounts due under this chapter, from an
62.29	applicant or employer, are allowed.
62.30	Sec. 32. [268B.24] CONCILIATION SERVICES.
62.31	The Department of Labor and Industry may offer conciliation services to employers and
62.32	employees to resolve disputes concerning alleged violations of employment protections
62.33	identified in section 268B.09.

H4355A9

63.1	Sec. 33. [268B.25] ANNUAL REPORTS.
63.2	(a) Beginning on or before December 1, 2024, the commissioner must annually report
63.3	to the Department of Management and Budget and the house of representatives and senate
63.4	committee chairs with jurisdiction over this chapter on program administrative expenditures
63.5	and revenue collection for the prior fiscal year, including but not limited to:
63.6	(1) total revenue raised through premium collection;
63.7	(2) the number of self-employed individuals or independent contractors electing coverage
63.8	under section 268B.11 and amount of associated revenue;
63.9	(3) the number of covered business entities paying premiums under this chapter and
63.10	associated revenue;
63.11	(4) administrative expenditures including transfers to other state agencies expended in
63.12	the administration of the chapter;
63.13	(5) summary of contracted services expended in the administration of this chapter;
63.14	(6) grant amounts and recipients under sections 268B.29 and 268B.18;
63.15	(7) an accounting of required outreach expenditures;
63.16	(8) summary of private plan approvals including the number of employers and employees
63.17	covered under private plans; and
63.18	(9) adequacy and use of the private plan approval and oversight fee.
63.19	(b) Beginning on or before December 1, 2025, the commissioner must annually publish
63.20	a publicly available report providing the following information for the previous fiscal year:
63.21	(1) total eligible claims;
63.22	(2) the number and percentage of claims attributable to each category of benefit;
63.23	(3) claimant demographics by age, gender, average weekly wage, occupation, and the
63.24	type of leave taken;
63.25	(4) the percentage of claims denied and the reasons therefor, including but not limited
63.26	to insufficient information and ineligibility and the reason therefor;
63.27	(5) average weekly benefit amount paid for all claims and by category of benefit;
63.28	(6) changes in the benefits paid compared to previous fiscal years;
63.29	(7) processing times for initial claims processing, initial determinations, and final
	1 * *

63.30

decisions;

H4355A9

64.1	(8) average duration for cases completed; and
64.2	(9) the number of cases remaining open at the close of such year.
64.3	Sec. 34. [268B.26] NOTICE REQUIREMENTS.
64.4	(a) Each employer must post in a conspicuous place on each of its premises a workplace
64.5	notice prepared or approved by the commissioner providing notice of benefits available
64.6	under this chapter. The required workplace notice must be in English and each language
64.7	other than English which is the primary language of five or more employees or independent
64.8	contractors of that workplace, if such notice is available from the department.
64.9	(b) Each employer must issue to each employee not more than 30 days from the beginning
64.10	date of the employee's employment, or 30 days before premium collection begins, whichever
64.11	is later, the following written information provided or approved by the department in the
64.12	primary language of the employee:
64.13	(1) an explanation of the availability of family and medical leave benefits provided under
64.14	this chapter, including rights to reinstatement and continuation of health insurance;
64.15	(2) the amount of premium deductions made by the employer under this chapter;
64.16	(3) the employer's premium amount and obligations under this chapter;
64.17	(4) the name and mailing address of the employer;
64.18	(5) the identification number assigned to the employer by the department;
64.19	(6) instructions on how to file a claim for family and medical leave benefits;
64.20	(7) the mailing address, e-mail address, and telephone number of the department; and
64.21	(8) any other information required by the department.
64.22	Delivery is made when an employee provides written acknowledgment of receipt of the
64.23	information, or signs a statement indicating the employee's refusal to sign such
64.24	acknowledgment.
64.25	(c) Each employer shall provide to each independent contractor with whom it contracts,
64.26	at the time such contract is made or, for existing contracts, within 30 days of the effective
64.27	date of this section, the following written information provided or approved by the department
64.28	in the self-employed individual's primary language:
64.29	(1) the address and telephone number of the department; and
64.30	(2) any other information required by the department.

65.1	(d) An employer that fails to comply with this subdivision may be issued, for a first
65.2	violation, a civil penalty of \$50 per employee and per independent contractor with whom
65.3	it has contracted, and for each subsequent violation, a civil penalty of \$300 per employee
65.4	or self-employed individual with whom it has contracted. The employer shall have the
65.5	burden of demonstrating compliance with this section.
65.6	(e) Employer notice to an employee under this section may be provided in paper or
65.7	electronic format. For notice provided in electronic format only, the employer must provide
65.8	employee access to an employer-owned computer during an employee's regular working
65.9	hours to review and print required notices.
65.10	Sec. 35. [268B.27] RELATIONSHIP TO OTHER LEAVE; CONSTRUCTION.
65.11	Subdivision 1. Concurrent leave. An employer may require leave taken under this
65.12	chapter to run concurrently with leave taken for the same purpose under section 181.941
65.13	or the Family and Medical Leave Act, United States Code, title 29, sections 2601 to 2654,
65.14	as amended.
65.15	Subd. 2. Construction. Nothing in this chapter shall be construed to:
65.16	(1) allow an employer to compel an employee to exhaust accumulated sick, vacation,
65.17	or personal time before or while taking leave under this chapter;
65.18	(2) except as provided under section 268B.01, subdivision 37, prohibit an employer
65.19	from providing additional benefits, including but not limited to covering the portion of
65.20	earnings not provided under this chapter during periods of leave covered under this chapter;
65.21	or
65.22	(3) limit the parties to a collective bargaining agreement from bargaining and agreeing
65.23	with respect to leave benefits and related procedures and employee protections that meet
65.24	or exceed, and do not otherwise conflict with, the minimum standards and requirements in
65.25	this chapter.
65.26	Sec. 36. [268B.28] SEVERABLE.
65.27	If the United States Department of Labor or a court of competent jurisdiction determines
65.28	that any provision of the family and medical benefit insurance program under this chapter
65.29	is not in conformity with, or is inconsistent with, the requirements of federal law, the
65.30	provision has no force or effect. If only a portion of the provision, or the application to any
65.31	person or circumstances, is determined not in conformity, or determined inconsistent, the

04/25/22	10:50	am
----------	-------	----

66.1	remainder of the provision and the application of the provision to other persons or
66.2	circumstances are not affected.
66.3	Sec. 37. [268B.29] SMALL BUSINESS ASSISTANCE GRANTS.
66.4	(a) Employers with 50 or fewer employees may apply to the department for grants under
66.5	this section.
66.6	(b) The commissioner may approve a grant of up to \$3,000 if the employer hires a
66.7	temporary worker to replace an employee on family or medical leave for a period of seven
66.8	days or more.
66.9	(c) For an employee's family or medical leave, the commissioner may approve a grant
66.10	of up to \$1,000 as reimbursement for significant additional wage-related costs due to the
66.11	employee's leave.
66.12	(d) To be eligible for consideration for a grant under this section, the employer must
66.13	provide the department written documentation showing the temporary worker hired or
66.14	significant wage-related costs incurred are due to an employee's use of leave under this
66.15	chapter.
66.16	(e) The grants under this section may be funded from the family and medical benefit
66.17	insurance account.
66.18	(f) For the purposes of this section, the commissioner shall average the number of
66.19	employees reported by an employer over the last four completed calendar quarters to
66.20	determine the size of the employer.
66.21	(g) An employer who has an approved private plan is not eligible to receive a grant under
66.22	this section.
66.23	(h) The commissioner may award grants under this section only up to a maximum of
66.24	\$5,000,000 per calendar year.
66.25	Sec. 38. EFFECTIVE DATES.
66.26	(a) Sections 1, 4, 5, 6, and 36 are effective July 1, 2022.
66.27	(b) Section 15 is effective July 1, 2023.
66.28	(c) Section 34 is effective December 1, 2023.
66.29	(d) Sections 2, 3, 16 to 19, 21, 23 to 25, 28 to 31, and 33 are effective January 1, 2024.
66.30	(e) Sections 7 to 14, 20, 22, 26 to 27, 32, 35, and 37 are effective January 1, 2025.

04/25/22 10:50 am HOUSE RESEARCH AS/MC H4355A9 **ARTICLE 4** 67.1 FAMILY AND MEDICAL LEAVE BENEFIT AS EARNINGS 67.2 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256J.561, is amended by adding a subdivision 67.3 67.4 to read: Subd. 4. Parents receiving family and medical leave benefits. A parent who meets 67.5 the criteria under subdivision 2 and who receives benefits under chapter 268B is not required 67.6 to participate in employment services. 67.7 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256J.95, subdivision 3, is amended to read: 67.8 Subd. 3. Eligibility for diversionary work program. (a) Except for the categories of 67.9 family units listed in clauses (1) to (8), all family units who apply for cash benefits and who 67.10 meet MFIP eligibility as required in sections 256J.11 to 256J.15 are eligible and must 67.11 participate in the diversionary work program. Family units or individuals that are not eligible 67.12 for the diversionary work program include: 67.13 67.14 (1) child only cases; (2) single-parent family units that include a child under 12 months of age. A parent is 67.15 eligible for this exception once in a parent's lifetime; 67.16 (3) family units with a minor parent without a high school diploma or its equivalent; 67.17 (4) family units with an 18- or 19-year-old caregiver without a high school diploma or 67.18 its equivalent who chooses to have an employment plan with an education option; 67.19 (5) family units with a caregiver who received DWP benefits within the 12 months prior 67.20 to the month the family applied for DWP, except as provided in paragraph (c); 67.21 (6) family units with a caregiver who received MFIP within the 12 months prior to the 67.22 month the family applied for DWP; 67.23 (7) family units with a caregiver who received 60 or more months of TANF assistance; 67.24 and 67.25 (8) family units with a caregiver who is disqualified from the work participation cash 67.26 benefit program, DWP, or MFIP due to fraud-; and 67.27 (9) single-parent family units where a parent is receiving family and medical leave 67.28 67.29 benefits under chapter 268B.

(b) A two-parent family must participate in DWP unless both caregivers meet the criteria 68.1 for an exception under paragraph (a), clauses (1) through (5), or the family unit includes a 68.2 68.3 parent who meets the criteria in paragraph (a), clause (6), (7), or (8).

(c) Once DWP eligibility is determined, the four months run consecutively. If a participant 68.4 leaves the program for any reason and reapplies during the four-month period, the county 68.5 must redetermine eligibility for DWP. 68.6

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256J.95, subdivision 11, is amended to read: 68.7

Subd. 11. Universal participation required. (a) All DWP caregivers, except caregivers 68.8 who meet the criteria in paragraph (d), are required to participate in DWP employment 68.9 services. Except as specified in paragraphs (b) and (c), employment plans under DWP must, 68.10 at a minimum, meet the requirements in section 256J.55, subdivision 1. 68.11

(b) A caregiver who is a member of a two-parent family that is required to participate 68.12 in DWP who would otherwise be ineligible for DWP under subdivision 3 may be allowed 68.13 to develop an employment plan under section 256J.521, subdivision 2, that may contain 68.14 alternate activities and reduced hours. 68.15

(c) A participant who is a victim of family violence shall be allowed to develop an 68.16 employment plan under section 256J.521, subdivision 3. A claim of family violence must 68.17 be documented by the applicant or participant by providing a sworn statement which is 68.18 supported by collateral documentation in section 256J.545, paragraph (b). 68.19

(d) One parent in a two-parent family unit that has a natural born child under 12 months 68.20 of age is not required to have an employment plan until the child reaches 12 months of age 68.21 unless the family unit has already used the exclusion under section 256J.561, subdivision 68.22 3, or the previously allowed child under age one exemption under section 256J.56, paragraph 68.23 (a), clause (5). if that parent: 68.24

(1) receives family and medical leave benefits under chapter 268B; or 68.25

(2) has a natural born child under 12 months of age until the child reaches 12 months 68.26 of age unless the family unit has already used the exclusion under section 256J.561, 68.27 subdivision 3, or the previously allowed child under age one exemption under section 68.28 68.29 256J.56, paragraph (a), clause (5).

(e) The provision in paragraph (d) ends the first full month after the child reaches 12 68.30 months of age. This provision is allowable only once in a caregiver's lifetime. In a two-parent 68.31 household, only one parent shall be allowed to use this category. 68.32

- (f) The participant and job counselor must meet in the month after the month the child 69.1 reaches 12 months of age to revise the participant's employment plan. The employment plan 69.2 for a family unit that has a child under 12 months of age that has already used the exclusion 69.3
- in section 256J.561 must be tailored to recognize the caregiving needs of the parent. 69.4
- 69.5 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2021 Supplement, section 256P.01, subdivision 3, is amended to read: 69.6
- 69.7 Subd. 3. Earned income. "Earned income" means income earned through the receipt of wages, salary, commissions, bonuses, tips, gratuities, profit from employment activities, 69.8 net profit from self-employment activities, payments made by an employer for regularly 69.9 accrued vacation or sick leave, severance pay based on accrued leave time, benefits paid 69.10 under chapter 268B, royalties, honoraria, or other profit from activity that results from the 69.11 client's work, effort, or labor for purposes other than student financial assistance, 69.12 rehabilitation programs, student training programs, or service programs such as AmeriCorps. 69.13 The income must be in return for, or as a result of, legal activity.
- Sec. 5. EFFECTIVE DATES. 69.15

69.14

- Sections 1 to 4 are effective January 1, 2025." 69.16
- Adjust amounts accordingly 69.17
- Renumber the sections in sequence and correct internal references 69.18
- Amend the title accordingly 69.19