and i	Ind	lustrv
	and i	and Inc

Senate Language S3656-2

May 04, 2018 04:28 PM

House Language UES3656-1

83.7	ARTICLE 6
83.8	LABOR AND INDUSTRY
83.9 83.10	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 175.46, subdivision 13, is amended to read:
83.11 83.12 83.13 83.14	Subd. 13. <b>Grant awards.</b> (a) <u>The commissioner shall award grants to local partnerships located throughout the state, not to exceed \$100,000 per local partnership grant. The commissioner may use up to five percent of this amount for administration of the grant program.</u>
83.15 83.16	(b) A local partnership awarded a grant under this section must use the grant award for any of the following implementation and coordination activities:
83.17 83.18	(1) recruiting additional employers to provide on-the-job training and supervision for student learners and providing technical assistance to those employers;
83.19 83.20 83.21	(2) recruiting students to participate in the local youth skills training program, monitoring the progress of student learners participating in the program, and monitoring program outcomes;
83.22 83.23	(3) coordinating youth skills training activities within participating school districts and among participating school districts, postsecondary institutions, and employers;
83.24 83.25 83.26	(4) coordinating academic, vocational and occupational learning, school-based and work-based learning, and secondary and postsecondary education for participants in the local youth skills training program;
83.27 83.28	(5) coordinating transportation for student learners participating in the local youth skills training program; and
83.29 83.30	(6) any other implementation or coordination activity that the commissioner may direct or permit the local partnership to perform.
83.31	(b) (c) Grant awards may not be used to directly or indirectly pay the wages of a student learner

216.6 ARTICLE 9
216.7 LABOR AND INDUSTRY

218.13 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 177.24, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. <b>Amount.</b> (a) For purposes of this subdivision, the terms defined in this paragraph have the meanings given them.
(1) "Large employer" means an enterprise whose annual gross volume of sales made or business done is not less than \$500,000 (exclusive of excise taxes at the retail level that are separately stated) and covered by the Minnesota Fair Labor Standards Act, sections 177.21 to 177.35.
(2) "Small employer" means an enterprise whose annual gross volume of sales made or business done is less than \$500,000 (exclusive of excise taxes at the retail level that are separately stated) and covered by the Minnesota Fair Labor Standards Act, sections 177.21 to 177.35.
218.24 (3) "Employee receiving gratuities" means an employee who customarily and regularly receives more than \$30 per month in gratuities.
(b) Except as otherwise provided in sections 177.21 to 177.35:
218.27 (1) every large employer must pay each employee wages at a rate of at least:
218.28 (i) \$8.00 per hour beginning August 1, 2014;
218.29 (ii) \$9.00 per hour beginning August 1, 2015;
218.30 (iii) \$9.50 per hour beginning August 1, 2016; and
(iv) the rate established under paragraph (f) beginning January 1, 2018; and
(2) every small employer must pay each employee at a rate of at least:
219.1 (i) \$6.50 per hour beginning August 1, 2014;
219.2 (ii) \$7.25 per hour beginning August 1, 2015;
219.3 (iii) \$7.75 per hour beginning August 1, 2016; and
(iv) the rate established under paragraph (f) beginning January 1, 2018.
(c) Notwithstanding paragraph (b), during the first 90 consecutive days of employment, an employer may pay an employee under the age of 20 years a wage of at least:

219.7	(1) \$6.50 per hour beginning August 1, 2014;
219.8	(2) \$7.25 per hour beginning August 1, 2015;
219.9	(3) \$7.75 per hour beginning August 1, 2016; and
219.10	(4) the rate established under paragraph (f) beginning January 1, 2018.
219.12	No employer may take any action to displace an employee, including a partial displacement through a reduction in hours, wages, or employment benefits, in order to hire an employee at the wage authorized in this paragraph.
219.16 219.17 219.18	(d) Notwithstanding paragraph (b), an employer that is a "hotel or motel," "lodging establishment," or "resort" as defined in Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 157.15, subdivisions 7, 8, and 11, must pay an employee working under a contract with the employer that includes the provision by the employer of a food or lodging benefit, if the employee is working under authority of a summer work travel exchange visitor program (J) nonimmigrant visa, a wage of at least:
219.20	(1) \$7.25 per hour beginning August 1, 2014;
219.21	(2) \$7.50 per hour beginning August 1, 2015;
219.22	(3) \$7.75 per hour beginning August 1, 2016; and
219.23	(4) the rate established under paragraph (f) beginning January 1, 2018.
219.25	No employer may take any action to displace an employee, including a partial displacement through a reduction in hours, wages, or employment benefits, in order to hire an employee at the wage authorized in this paragraph.
219.27 219.28	(e) Notwithstanding paragraph (b), a large employer must pay an employee under the age of 18 at a rate of at least:
219.29	(1) \$6.50 per hour beginning August 1, 2014;
219.30	(2) \$7.25 per hour beginning August 1, 2015;
220.1	(3) \$7.75 per hour beginning August 1, 2016; and
220.2	(4) the rate established under paragraph (f) beginning January 1, 2018.

No employer may take any action to displace an employee, including a partial displacement through a reduction in hours, wages, or employment benefits, in order to hire an employee at the wage authorized in this paragraph.

(f) No later than August 31 of each year, beginning in 2017, the commissioner shall determine the percentage increase in the rate of inflation, as measured by the implicit price deflator, national data for personal consumption expenditures as determined by the United States Department of Commerce, Bureau of Economic Analysis during the 12-month period immediately preceding that August or, if that data is unavailable, during the most recent 12-month period for which data is available. The minimum wage rates in paragraphs (b), (c), (d), and (e) are increased by the lesser of: (1) 2.5 percent, rounded to the nearest cent; or (2) the percentage calculated by the commissioner, rounded to the nearest cent. A minimum wage rate shall not be reduced under this paragraph. The new minimum wage rates determined under this paragraph take effect on the next January 1.

220.16 (g)(1) No later than September 30 of each year, beginning in 2017, the commissioner 220.17 may issue an order that an increase calculated under paragraph (f) not take effect. The 220.18 commissioner may issue the order only if the commissioner, after consultation with the 220.19 commissioner of management and budget, finds that leading economic indicators, including 220.20 but not limited to projections of gross domestic product calculated by the United States 220.21 Department of Commerce, Bureau of Economic Analysis; the Consumer Confidence Index 220.22 issued by the Conference Board; and seasonally adjusted Minnesota unemployment rates, 220.23 indicate the potential for a substantial downturn in the state's economy. Prior to issuing an 220,24 order, the commissioner shall also calculate and consider the ratio of the rate of the calculated 220.25 change in the minimum wage rate to the rate of change in state median income over the 220.26 same time period used to calculate the change in wage rate. Prior to issuing the order, the commissioner shall hold a public hearing, notice of which must be published in the State 220.28 Register, on the department's Web site, in newspapers of general circulation, and by other 220.29 means likely to inform interested persons of the hearing, at least ten days prior to the hearing. 220.30 The commissioner must allow interested persons to submit written comments to the 220.31 commissioner before the public hearing and for 20 days after the public hearing.

220.32 (2) The commissioner may in a year subsequent to issuing an order under clause (1),
220.33 make a supplemental increase in the minimum wage rate in addition to the increase for a
220.34 year calculated under paragraph (f). The supplemental increase may be in an amount up to
221.1 the full amount of the increase not put into effect because of the order. If the supplemental
221.2 increase is not the full amount, the commissioner may make a supplemental increase of the
221.3 difference, or any part of a difference, in a subsequent year until the full amount of the
221.4 increase ordered not to take effect has been included in a supplemental increase. In making
221.5 a determination to award a supplemental increase under this clause, the commissioner shall
221.6 use the same considerations and use the same process as for an order under clause (1). A
221.7 supplemental wage increase is not subject to and shall not be considered in determining

221.8 221.9	whether a wage rate increase exceeds the limits for annual wage rate increases allowed under paragraph (f).
221.10 221.11	(h) Notwithstanding paragraph (b), every large employer must pay an employee receiving gratuities a wage of at least:
	(1) \$9.65 per hour if the employee earns sufficient gratuities during the workweek so that the sum of \$9.65 per hour and gratuities received averages at least the amount established for large employers under paragraph (j); or
	(2) the greater of the wage rate under this section or United States Code, title 29, section 206(a)(1), if the employee does not earn sufficient gratuities during the workweek so that the sum of \$9.65 per hour and gratuities received averages at least the amount established for large employers under paragraph (j).
221.19 221.20	(i) Notwithstanding paragraph (b), every small employer must pay an employee receiving gratuities a wage of at least:
221.21 221.22 221.23	(1) \$7.87 per hour if the employee earns sufficient gratuities during the workweek so that the sum of \$7.87 per hour and gratuities received averages at least the amount established for small employers under paragraph (j); or
	(2) the greater of the wage rate under this section or United States Code, title 29, section 206(a)(1), if the employee does not earn sufficient gratuities during the workweek so that the sum of \$7.87 per hour and gratuities received averages at least the amount established for small employers under paragraph (j).
221.28 221.29	(j)(1) For large employers, the average hourly wage and gratuity amount begins at \$14 and increases annually by the lesser of:
221.30	(i) two percent, rounded to the nearest cent; or
221.31 221.32	(ii) the percentage calculated by the commissioner under paragraph (f), rounded to the nearest cent.
222.1 222.2	(2) For small employers, the average hourly wage and gratuity amount begins at \$12 and increases annually by the lesser of:
222.3	(i) two percent, rounded to the nearest cent; or

222.4	(ii) the percentage calculated by the commissioner under paragraph (f), rounded to the
222.5	nearest cent.
222.6	An average hourly wage and gratuity amount shall not be reduced under this paragraph.
222.7	The adjusted average hourly wage and salary amounts determined under this paragraph take
222.8	effect on the next January 1.
222.9	Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 182.666, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
222.10	Cub division 1 Willful on reported violations. Any applications who willfully as reported
222.10	Subdivision 1. Willful or repeated violations. Any employer who willfully or repeated
	violates the requirements of section 182.653, or any standard, rule, or order adopted under
	the authority of the commissioner as provided in this chapter, may be assessed a fine not to exceed \$70,000 \$126,750 for each violation. The minimum fine for a willful violation is
	\$5,000 \$9,055.
222.14	\$5, <del>000</del> \$5,000.
222.15	Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 182.666, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
222.13	Sec. 4. Millinesota Statutes 2010, Section 162.000, Subdivision 2, is afficilled to feat.
222.16	Subd. 2. <b>Serious violations.</b> Any employer who has received a citation for a serious
	violation of its duties under section 182.653, or any standard, rule, or order adopted under
	the authority of the commissioner as provided in this chapter, shall be assessed a fine not
	to exceed \$7,000 \$12,675 for each violation. If a serious violation under section 182.653,
	subdivision 2, causes or contributes to the death of an employee, the employer shall be
	assessed a fine of up to \$25,000 for each violation.
222.21	abbessed a line of up to \$25,000 to reach violation.
222.22	Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 182.666, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
222.23	Subd. 3. Nonserious violations. Any employer who has received a citation for a violatio
	of its duties under section 182.653, subdivisions 2 to 4, where the violation is specifically
	determined not to be of a serious nature as provided in section 182.651, subdivision 12,
	may be assessed a fine of up to \$7,000 \$12,675 for each violation.
	<u> </u>
222.27	Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 182.666, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
222.28	Subd. 4. Failure to correct a violation. Any employer who fails to correct a violation
222.29	for which a citation has been issued under section 182.66 within the period permitted for
222.30	
223.1	commissioner in the case of any review proceedings under this chapter initiated by the
223.2	employer in good faith and not solely for delay or avoidance of penalties, may be assessed
223.3	a fine of not more than \$7,000 \$12,675 for each day during which the failure or violation
223.4	continues.

Labor and Industry

Senate Language S3656-2

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 326B.106, subdivision 9, is amended to read:

84.8

Subd. 9. Accessibility. (a) Public buildings. The code must provide for making require
new public buildings constructed or remodeled after July 1, 1963, and existing public
buildings when remodeled, to be accessible to and usable by persons with disabilities;
although this does not require the remodeling of public buildings solely to provide
accessibility and usability to persons with disabilities when remodeling would not otherwise
be undertaken.

(b) **Leased space.** No agency of the state may lease space for agency operations in a non-state-owned building unless the building satisfies the requirements of the State Building Code for accessibility by persons with disabilities, or is eligible to display the state symbol

May 04, 2018 04:28 PM

223.5	Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2016, Section 182.000, Subdivision 3, 1s amended to read:
223.6	Subd. 5. <b>Posting violations.</b> Any employer who violates any of the posting requirements,
223.7	as prescribed under this chapter, except those prescribed under section 182.661, subdivision
223.8	3a, shall be assessed a fine of up to \$\frac{\$7,000}{12,675}\$ for each violation.
	*
223.9	Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 182.666, is amended by adding a subdivision to
223.10	, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
223.11	Subd. 6a. Increases for inflation. (a) No later than August 31 of each year, beginning
223.12	in 2018, the commissioner shall determine the percentage increase in the rate of inflation,
223.13	as measured by the implicit price deflator, national data for personal consumption
	expenditures as determined by the United States Department of Commerce, Bureau of
	Economic Analysis during the 12-month period immediately preceding that August or, if
	that data is unavailable, during the most recent 12-month period for which data is available.
223.17	The fines in subdivisions 1, 2, 3, 4, and 5, except for the fine for a serious violation under
	section 182.653, subdivision 2, that causes or contributes to the death of an employee, are
223.19	
	divisible by ten, or (2) the percentage calculated by the commissioner, rounded to the nearest
223.21	dollar amount evenly divisible by ten.
223.22	(b) The fines increased under paragraph (a) shall not be increased to an amount greater
223.23	than the corresponding federal penalties for the specified violations promulgated in United
223.24	States Code, title 29, section 666, subsections (a)-(d), (i), as amended through November
223.25	5, 1990, and adjusted according to United States Code, title 28, section 2461, note (Federal
223.26	Civil Penalties Inflation Adjustment), as amended through November 2, 2015.
223.27	(c) A fine must not be reduced under this subdivision. A fine increased under this
223.28	subdivision takes effect on the next January 1.

84.11	of accessibility. This limitation applies to leases of 30 days or more for space of at least
84.12	1,000 square feet.

84.13

84.24

84.28

84.29

85.3

85.4

- (c) Meetings or conferences. Meetings or conferences for the public or for state employees which are sponsored in whole or in part by a state agency must be held in buildings that meet the State Building Code requirements relating to accessibility for persons with disabilities. This subdivision does not apply to any classes, seminars, or training programs offered by the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities or the University of Minnesota. Meetings or conferences intended for specific individuals none of whom need the accessibility features for persons with disabilities specified in the State Building Code need not comply with this subdivision unless a person with a disability gives reasonable advance notice of an intent to attend the meeting or conference. When sign language interpreters will be provided, meetings or conference sites must be chosen which allow participants who are deaf or hard-of-hearing to see the sign language interpreters clearly.
- (d) Exemptions. The commissioner may grant an exemption from the requirements of paragraphs (b) and (c) in advance if an agency has demonstrated that reasonable efforts were made to secure facilities which complied with those requirements and if the selected facilities are the best available for access for persons with disabilities. Exemptions shall be granted using criteria developed by the commissioner in consultation with the Council on Disability.
- (e) **Symbol indicating access.** The wheelchair symbol adopted by Rehabilitation 84.30 International's Eleventh World Congress is the state symbol indicating buildings, facilities, and grounds which are accessible to and usable by persons with disabilities. In the interests of uniformity, this symbol is the sole symbol for display in or on all public or private buildings, facilities, and grounds which qualify for its use. The secretary of state shall obtain the symbol and keep it on file. No building, facility, or grounds may display the symbol unless it is in compliance with the rules adopted by the commissioner under subdivision 1. Before any rules are proposed for adoption under this paragraph, the commissioner shall consult with the Council on Disability. Rules adopted under this paragraph must be enforced in the same way as other accessibility rules of the State Building Code.

223.29 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 326B.805, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. **Prohibition.** Except as provided in subdivision 6, no persons required to be

223.31 licensed by subdivision 1 may act or hold themselves out as a residential building contractor,

residential remodeler, residential roofer, or manufactured home installer for compensation

without a license issued by the commissioner. Unlicensed residential building contractor,

residential remodeler, or residential roofer activity is a gross misdemeanor.

Labor and Industry

Senate Language S3656-2

May	04,	2018	04:28	PM
-----	-----	------	-------	----

#### House Language UES3656-1

85.6	Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 326B.815, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
85.7	Subdivision 1. <b>Fees.</b> (a) For the purposes of calculating fees under section 326B.092,
85.8	an initial or renewed residential contractor, residential remodeler, or residential roofer license
85.9	is a business license. Notwithstanding section 326B.092, the licensing fee for manufactured
85.10	home installers under section 327B.041 is \$300 \$180 for a three-year period.
85.11	(b) All initial and renewal licenses, except for manufactured home installer licenses,
85.12	shall be effective for two years and shall expire on March 31 of the year after the year in
85.13	which the application is made.
85.14	(c) The commissioner shall in a manner determined by the commissioner, without the
85.15	need for any rulemaking under chapter 14, phase in the renewal of residential contractor,
85.16	residential remodeler, and residential roofer licenses from one year to two years. By June
85.17	30, 2011, all renewed residential contractor, residential remodeler, and residential roofer
85.18	licenses shall be two-year licenses.
85.19	Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 327B.041, is amended to read:
85.20	327B.041 MANUFACTURED HOME INSTALLERS.
85.21	(a) Manufactured home installers are subject to all of the fees in section 326B.092 and
85.22	the requirements of sections 326B.802 to 326B.885, except for the following:
85.23	(1) manufactured home installers are not subject to the continuing education requirements
85.24	of sections 326B.0981, 326B.099, and 326B.821, but are subject to the continuing education
85.25	requirements established in rules adopted under section 327B.10;
85.26	(2) the examination requirement of section 326B.83, subdivision 3, for manufactured
85.27	home installers shall be satisfied by successful completion of a written examination
85.28	administered and developed specifically for the examination of manufactured home installers.
85.29	The examination must be administered and developed by the commissioner. The
85.30	commissioner and the state building official shall seek advice on the grading, monitoring,
85.31	and updating of examinations from the Minnesota Manufactured Housing Association;
86.1	(3) a local government unit may not place a surcharge on a license fee, and may not
86.2	charge a separate fee to installers;
86.3	(4) a dealer or distributor who does not install or repair manufactured homes is exempt
86.4	from licensure under sections 326B.802 to 326B.885;
86.5	(5) the exemption under section 326B.805, subdivision 6, clause (5), does not apply;
86.6	and

175.25 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 326B.815, subdivision 1, is amended to read: Subdivision 1. Fees. (a) For the purposes of calculating fees under section 326B.092, 175.26 175.27 an initial or renewed residential contractor, residential remodeler, or residential roofer license 175.28 is a business license. Notwithstanding section 326B.092, the licensing fee for manufactured 175.29 home installers under section 327B.041 is \$300 \$180 for a three-year period. (b) All initial and renewal licenses, except for manufactured home installer licenses, 176.1 shall be effective for two years and shall expire on March 31 of the year after the year in which the application is made. (c) The commissioner shall in a manner determined by the commissioner, without the 176.4 176.5 need for any rulemaking under chapter 14, phase in the renewal of residential contractor, residential remodeler, and residential roofer licenses from one year to two years. By June 30, 2011, all renewed residential contractor, residential remodeler, and residential roofer licenses shall be two-year licenses. 176.28 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 327B.041, is amended to read: 176.29 327B.041 MANUFACTURED HOME INSTALLERS. 176.30 (a) Manufactured home installers are subject to all of the fees in section 326B.092 and 176.31 the requirements of sections 326B.802 to 326B.885, except for the following: (1) manufactured home installers are not subject to the continuing education requirements 177.1 of sections 326B.0981, 326B.099, and 326B.821, but are subject to the continuing education requirements established in rules adopted under section 327B.10; (2) the examination requirement of section 326B.83, subdivision 3, for manufactured 177.4 177.5 home installers shall be satisfied by successful completion of a written examination administered and developed specifically for the examination of manufactured home installers. The examination must be administered and developed by the commissioner. The commissioner and the state building official shall seek advice on the grading, monitoring, and updating of examinations from the Minnesota Manufactured Housing Association;

(3) a local government unit may not place a surcharge on a license fee, and may not

(4) a dealer or distributor who does not install or repair manufactured homes is exempt

(5) the exemption under section 326B.805, subdivision 6, clause (5), does not apply;

177.11 charge a separate fee to installers;

177.13 from licensure under sections 326B.802 to 326B.885;

177.14 177.15 and Labor and Industry

### Senate Language S3656-2

0.8	Section 320B.89.
6.9	(b) The commissioner may waive all or part of the requirements for licensure as a
6.10	manufactured home installer for any individual who holds an unexpired license or certificat
6.11	issued by any other state or other United States jurisdiction if the licensing requirements of
6.12	that jurisdiction meet or exceed the corresponding licensing requirements of the department
6.13	and the individual complies with section 326B.092, subdivisions 1 and 3 to 7. For the
6.14	purposes of ealeulating fees under section 326B.092, licensure as a manufactured home
6.15	installer is a business license.

(6) manufactured home installers are not subject to the contractor recovery fund in

May 04, 2018 04:28 PM

- 177.16 (6) manufactured home installers are not subject to the contractor recovery fund in 177.17 section 326B.89.
- (b) The commissioner may waive all or part of the requirements for licensure as a manufactured home installer for any individual who holds an unexpired license or certificate issued by any other state or other United States jurisdiction if the licensing requirements of that jurisdiction meet or exceed the corresponding licensing requirements of the department and the individual complies with section 326B.092, subdivisions 1 and 3 to 7. For the purposes of calculating fees under section 326B.092, licensure as a manufactured home installer is a business license.
- 224.3 Sec. 10. **REPEALER.**
- 224.4 Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 177.24, subdivision 2, is repealed.