
1.1 .................... moves to amend H.F. No. 2414, the delete everything amendment​

1.2 (A19-0349), as follows:​

1.3 Page 61, after line 30, insert:​

1.4 "Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 245A.03, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

1.5 Subd. 2. Exclusion from licensure. (a) This chapter does not apply to:​

1.6 (1) residential or nonresidential programs that are provided to a person by an individual​

1.7 who is related unless the residential program is a child foster care placement made by a​

1.8 local social services agency or a licensed child-placing agency, except as provided in​

1.9 subdivision 2a;​

1.10 (2) nonresidential programs that are provided by an unrelated individual to persons from​

1.11 a single related family;​

1.12 (3) residential or nonresidential programs that are provided to adults who do not misuse​

1.13 substances or have a substance use disorder, a mental illness, a developmental disability, a​

1.14 functional impairment, or a physical disability;​

1.15 (4) sheltered workshops or work activity programs that are certified by the commissioner​

1.16 of employment and economic development;​

1.17 (5) programs operated by a public school for children 33 months or older;​

1.18 (6) nonresidential programs primarily for children that provide care or supervision for​

1.19 periods of less than three hours a day while the child's parent or legal guardian is in the​

1.20 same building as the nonresidential program or present within another building that is​

1.21 directly contiguous to the building in which the nonresidential program is located;​

1.22 (7) nursing homes or hospitals licensed by the commissioner of health except as specified​

1.23 under section 245A.02;​

1​Sec. 19.​

REVISOR ACS/CH A19-0429​04/04/19   ​



2.1 (8) board and lodge facilities licensed by the commissioner of health that do not provide​

2.2 children's residential services under Minnesota Rules, chapter 2960, mental health or chemical​

2.3 dependency treatment;​

2.4 (9) homes providing programs for persons placed by a county or a licensed agency for​

2.5 legal adoption, unless the adoption is not completed within two years;​

2.6 (10) programs licensed by the commissioner of corrections;​

2.7 (11) recreation programs for children or adults that are operated or approved by a park​

2.8 and recreation board whose primary purpose is to provide social and recreational activities;​

2.9 (12) programs operated by a school as defined in section 120A.22, subdivision 4; YMCA​

2.10 as defined in section 315.44; YWCA as defined in section 315.44; or JCC as defined in​

2.11 section 315.51, whose primary purpose is to provide child care or services to school-age​

2.12 children;​

2.13 (13) Head Start nonresidential programs which operate for less than 45 days in each​

2.14 calendar year;​

2.15 (14) noncertified boarding care homes unless they provide services for five or more​

2.16 persons whose primary diagnosis is mental illness or a developmental disability;​

2.17 (15) programs for children such as scouting, boys clubs, girls clubs, and sports and art​

2.18 programs, and nonresidential programs for children provided for a cumulative total of less​

2.19 than 30 days in any 12-month period;​

2.20 (16) residential programs for persons with mental illness, that are located in hospitals;​

2.21 (17) the religious instruction of school-age children; Sabbath or Sunday schools; or the​

2.22 congregate care of children by a church, congregation, or religious society during the period​

2.23 used by the church, congregation, or religious society for its regular worship;​

2.24 (18) camps licensed by the commissioner of health under Minnesota Rules, chapter​

2.25 4630;​

2.26 (19) mental health outpatient services for adults with mental illness or children with​

2.27 emotional disturbance;​

2.28 (20) residential programs serving school-age children whose sole purpose is cultural or​

2.29 educational exchange, until the commissioner adopts appropriate rules;​

2.30 (21) community support services programs as defined in section 245.462, subdivision​

2.31 6, and family community support services as defined in section 245.4871, subdivision 17;​
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3.1 (22) the placement of a child by a birth parent or legal guardian in a preadoptive home​

3.2 for purposes of adoption as authorized by section 259.47;​

3.3 (23) settings registered under chapter 144D which provide home care services licensed​

3.4 by the commissioner of health to fewer than seven adults;​

3.5 (24) substance use disorder treatment activities of licensed professionals in private​

3.6 practice as defined in section 245G.01, subdivision 17;​

3.7 (25) consumer-directed community support service funded under the Medicaid waiver​

3.8 for persons with developmental disabilities when the individual who provided the service​

3.9 is:​

3.10 (i) the same individual who is the direct payee of these specific waiver funds or paid by​

3.11 a fiscal agent, fiscal intermediary, or employer of record; and​

3.12 (ii) not otherwise under the control of a residential or nonresidential program that is​

3.13 required to be licensed under this chapter when providing the service;​

3.14 (26) a program serving only children who are age 33 months or older, that is operated​

3.15 by a nonpublic school, for no more than four hours per day per child, with no more than 20​

3.16 children at any one time, and that is accredited by:​

3.17 (i) an accrediting agency that is formally recognized by the commissioner of education​

3.18 as a nonpublic school accrediting organization; or​

3.19 (ii) an accrediting agency that requires background studies and that receives and​

3.20 investigates complaints about the services provided.​

3.21 A program that asserts its exemption from licensure under item (ii) shall, upon request​

3.22 from the commissioner, provide the commissioner with documentation from the accrediting​

3.23 agency that verifies: that the accreditation is current; that the accrediting agency investigates​

3.24 complaints about services; and that the accrediting agency's standards require background​

3.25 studies on all people providing direct contact services;​

3.26 (27) a program operated by a nonprofit organization incorporated in Minnesota or another​

3.27 state that serves youth in kindergarten through grade 12; provides structured, supervised​

3.28 youth development activities; and has learning opportunities take place before or after​

3.29 school, on weekends, or during the summer or other seasonal breaks in the school calendar.​

3.30 A program exempt under this clause is not eligible for child care assistance under chapter​

3.31 119B. A program exempt under this clause must:​
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4.1 (i) have a director or supervisor on site who is responsible for overseeing written policies​

4.2 relating to the management and control of the daily activities of the program, ensuring the​

4.3 health and safety of program participants, and supervising staff and volunteers;​

4.4 (ii) have obtained written consent from a parent or legal guardian for each youth​

4.5 participating in activities at the site; and​

4.6 (iii) have provided written notice to a parent or legal guardian for each youth at the site​

4.7 that the program is not licensed or supervised by the state of Minnesota and is not eligible​

4.8 to receive child care assistance payments;​

4.9 (28) a county that is an eligible vendor under section 254B.05 to provide care coordination​

4.10 and comprehensive assessment services; or​

4.11 (29) a recovery community organization that is an eligible vendor under section 254B.05​

4.12 to provide peer recovery support services.; or​

4.13 (30) nonresidential child care programs serving four or fewer children from birth to 18​

4.14 years of age, who are not required to be related to each other or to the caregiver. If the​

4.15 provider is caring for his or her own children, those children must be included in the total​

4.16 number of children served. Programs exempt under this paragraph must:​

4.17 (i) register with the commissioner as a license-exempt family child care program. The​

4.18 commissioner shall create and maintain an updated registry of programs exempt under this​

4.19 paragraph and shall make the registry publicly available. The registry shall clearly indicate​

4.20 that the programs listed therein are not licensed or supervised by the state of Minnesota or​

4.21 any county agency and are not subject to health and safety or other program requirements​

4.22 in this chapter or Minnesota Rules, chapter 9502;​

4.23 (ii) certify that when children are present in the program, at least one caregiver will be​

4.24 present in the home who has been trained in cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR), according​

4.25 to the requirements of section 245A.50, subdivision 3; and​

4.26 (iii) ensure that when children are present in the program, all caregivers comply with​

4.27 the safe sleep requirements under section 245A.1435.​

4.28 (b) For purposes of paragraph (a), clause (6), a building is directly contiguous to a​

4.29 building in which a nonresidential program is located if it shares a common wall with the​

4.30 building in which the nonresidential program is located or is attached to that building by​

4.31 skyway, tunnel, atrium, or common roof.​

4.32 (c) Except for the home and community-based services identified in section 245D.03,​

4.33 subdivision 1, nothing in this chapter shall be construed to require licensure for any services​
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5.1 provided and funded according to an approved federal waiver plan where licensure is​

5.2 specifically identified as not being a condition for the services and funding."​

5.3 Renumber the sections in sequence and correct internal references​

5.4 Amend the title numbers accordingly​
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