1.3	"Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 60K.31, is amended by adding a
1.4	subdivision to read:
1.5	Subd. 1a. Agent of record. "Agent of record" means an insurance producer, as
1.6	defined in subdivision 6, who enters into an agreement with:
1.7	(1) a policyholder who has individual health insurance coverage from an insurance
1.8	company that the producer represents; or
1.9	(2) an applicant for individual health insurance coverage from an insurance company
1.10	the producer represents.
1.11	Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 60K.31, is amended by adding a subdivision
1.12	to read:
1.13	Subd. 1b. Agent of record agreement. "Agent of record agreement" means an
1.14	agreement documenting the agreement referenced in subdivision 1a, and that is signed by
1.15	the agent of record and either a policyholder or applicant for individual health insurance
1.16	coverage.
1.17	Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 60K.48, is amended by adding a subdivision
1.18	to read:
1.19	Subd. 4. Qualified health plans. (a) If a health carrier pays commissions or
1.20	service fees to licensed producers who are appointed by the health carrier for sale of a
1.21	qualified health plan, then, within 30 days of receipt of the agent of record agreement, the
1.22	health carrier must accommodate a policyholder or applicant for coverage by allowing a
1.23	policyholder or applicant to select or change the agent of record.
1.24	(b) The health carrier's standard commission and service fees must be paid to the
1.25	policyholder's agent of record or the agent's assignee if any premium rate for a qualified

..... moves to amend H.F. No. 1268 as follows:

Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:

1.1

1.2

Sec. 3.

03/23/15 04:42 PM	HOUSE RESEARCH	LP/JV	H1268DE1

health plan has been approved by the commissioner with costs associated with producer commissions included in the filed rate.

- (c) A health carrier is prohibited from offering, renewing, or failing to renew qualified health plans based solely on the commission paying status of the health plan.
- (d) Nothing in this subdivision requires a health carrier to pay any commission or service fee with respect to the sale of a qualified health plan, unless the rate for the qualified health plan has been approved by the commissioner with costs associated with producer commissions included in the filed rate.

Sec. 4. [62V.051] MNSURE; CONSUMER RETROACTIVE APPOINTMENT OF A NAVIGATOR OR PRODUCER PERMITTED.

Notwithstanding any other law or rule to the contrary, for up to 18 months after the effective date of the qualified health plan, MNsure must permit a consumer, who has not yet designated a navigator or an insurance producer, to retroactively appoint a navigator or insurance producer.

Sec. 5. EFFECTIVE DATE.

- Sections 1 to 4 are effective the day following final enactment."
- 2.17 Amend the title accordingly

2.1

2.2

2.3

2.4

2.5

2.6

2.7

2.8

2.9

2.10

2.11

2.12

2.13

2.14

2.15

2.16

Sec. 5. 2