
1.1 .................... moves to amend H.F. No. 1717 as follows:​

1.2 Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:​

1.3 "Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 244.05, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

1.4 Subd. 4. Minimum imprisonment, life sentence. (a) An inmate serving a mandatory​

1.5 life sentence under section 609.106, subdivision 2, or 609.3455, subdivision 2, paragraph​

1.6 (a), must not be given supervised release under this section.​

1.7 (b) Except as provided in paragraph (f), an inmate serving a mandatory life sentence​

1.8 under section 609.185, paragraph (a), clause (3), (5), or (6); or Minnesota Statutes 2004,​

1.9 section 609.109, subdivision 3, must not be given supervised release under this section​

1.10 without having served a minimum term of 30 years.​

1.11 (c) An inmate serving a mandatory life sentence under section 609.385 must not be given​

1.12 supervised release under this section without having served a minimum term of imprisonment​

1.13 of 17 years.​

1.14 (d) An inmate serving a mandatory life sentence under section 609.3455, subdivision 3​

1.15 or 4, must not be given supervised release under this section without having served the​

1.16 minimum term of imprisonment specified by the court in its sentence.​

1.17 (e) An inmate serving a mandatory life sentence under section 609.106, subdivision 3,​

1.18 or 609.3455, subdivision 2, paragraph (c), must not be given supervised release under this​

1.19 section without having served a minimum term of imprisonment of 25 years.​

1.20 (f) An inmate serving a mandatory life sentence for a crime described in paragraph (b)​

1.21 who was under 18 years of age at the time of the commission of the offense must not be​

1.22 given supervised release under this section without having served a minimum term of​

1.23 imprisonment of 25 years.​

1​Section 1.​
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2.1 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 244.05, subdivision 5, is amended to read:​

2.2 Subd. 5. Supervised release, life sentence. (a) The commissioner of corrections may,​

2.3 under rules promulgated by the commissioner, give supervised release to an inmate serving​

2.4 a mandatory life sentence under section 609.106, subdivision 3; 609.185, paragraph (a),​

2.5 clause (3), (5), or (6); 609.3455, subdivision 2, paragraph (c), 3, or 4; 609.385; or Minnesota​

2.6 Statutes 2004, section 609.109, subdivision 3, after the inmate has served the minimum​

2.7 term of imprisonment specified in subdivision 4.​

2.8 (b) The commissioner shall require the preparation of a community investigation report​

2.9 and shall consider the findings of the report when making a supervised release decision​

2.10 under this subdivision. The report shall reflect the sentiment of the various elements of the​

2.11 community toward the inmate, both at the time of the offense and at the present time. The​

2.12 report shall include the views of the sentencing judge, the prosecutor, any law enforcement​

2.13 personnel who may have been involved in the case, and any successors to these individuals​

2.14 who may have information relevant to the supervised release decision. The report shall also​

2.15 include the views of the victim and the victim's family unless the victim or the victim's​

2.16 family chooses not to participate.​

2.17 (c) The commissioner shall make reasonable efforts to notify the victim, in advance, of​

2.18 the time and place of the inmate's supervised release review hearing. The victim has a right​

2.19 to submit an oral or written statement at the review hearing. The statement may summarize​

2.20 the harm suffered by the victim as a result of the crime and give the victim's recommendation​

2.21 on whether the inmate should be given supervised release at this time. The commissioner​

2.22 must consider the victim's statement when making the supervised release decision.​

2.23 (d) When considering whether to give supervised release to an inmate serving a life​

2.24 sentence under section 609.3455, subdivision 3 or 4, the commissioner shall consider, at a​

2.25 minimum, the following: the risk the inmate poses to the community if released, the inmate's​

2.26 progress in treatment, the inmate's behavior while incarcerated, psychological or other​

2.27 diagnostic evaluations of the inmate, the inmate's criminal history, and any other relevant​

2.28 conduct of the inmate while incarcerated or before incarceration. The commissioner may​

2.29 not give supervised release to the inmate unless:​

2.30 (1) while in prison:​

2.31 (i) the inmate has successfully completed appropriate sex offender treatment;​

2.32 (ii) the inmate has been assessed for chemical dependency needs and, if appropriate, has​

2.33 successfully completed chemical dependency treatment; and​

2​Sec. 2.​
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3.1 (iii) the inmate has been assessed for mental health needs and, if appropriate, has​

3.2 successfully completed mental health treatment; and​

3.3 (2) a comprehensive individual release plan is in place for the inmate that ensures that,​

3.4 after release, the inmate will have suitable housing and receive appropriate aftercare and​

3.5 community-based treatment. The comprehensive plan also must include a postprison​

3.6 employment or education plan for the inmate.​

3.7 (e) As used in this subdivision, "victim" means the individual who suffered harm as a​

3.8 result of the inmate's crime or, if the individual is deceased, the deceased's surviving spouse​

3.9 or next of kin.​

3.10 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 609.106, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

3.11 Subd. 2. Life without release. Except as provided in subdivision 3, the court shall​

3.12 sentence a person to life imprisonment without possibility of release under the following​

3.13 circumstances:​

3.14 (1) the person is convicted of first-degree murder under section 609.185, paragraph (a),​

3.15 clause (1), (2), (4), or (7);​

3.16 (2) the person is convicted of committing first-degree murder in the course of a​

3.17 kidnapping under section 609.185, paragraph (a), clause (3); or​

3.18 (3) the person is convicted of first-degree murder under section 609.185, paragraph (a),​

3.19 clause (3), (5), or (6), and the court determines on the record at the time of sentencing that​

3.20 the person has one or more previous convictions for a heinous crime.​

3.21 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 609.106, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

3.22 read:​

3.23 Subd. 3. Offender under age 18; life imprisonment. The court shall sentence a person​

3.24 who was under 18 years of age at the time of the commission of an offense under the​

3.25 circumstances described in subdivision 2 to imprisonment for life.​

3.26 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 609.3455, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

3.27 Subd. 2. Mandatory life sentence without release; egregious first-time and repeat​

3.28 offenders. (a) Except as provided in paragraph (c), notwithstanding the statutory maximum​

3.29 penalty otherwise applicable to the offense, the court shall sentence a person convicted​

3.30 under section 609.342, subdivision 1, paragraph (c), (d), (e), (f), or (h); or 609.343,​

3.31 subdivision 1, paragraph (c), (d), (e), (f), or (h), to life without the possibility of release if:​

3​Sec. 5.​
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4.1 (1) the fact finder determines that two or more heinous elements exist; or​

4.2 (2) the person has a previous sex offense conviction for a violation of section 609.342,​

4.3 609.343, or 609.344, and the fact finder determines that a heinous element exists for the​

4.4 present offense.​

4.5 (b) A fact finder may not consider a heinous element if it is an element of the underlying​

4.6 specified violation of section 609.342 or 609.343. In addition, when determining whether​

4.7 two or more heinous elements exist, the fact finder may not use the same underlying facts​

4.8 to support a determination that more than one element exists.​

4.9 (c) The court shall sentence a person who was under 18 years of age at the time of the​

4.10 commission of an offense described in paragraph (a) to imprisonment for life.​

4.11 Sec. 6. EFFECTIVE DATE.​

4.12 Sections 1 to 5 are effective the day following final enactment and apply to offenders​

4.13 sentenced on or after that date, and retroactively to offenders sentenced to life imprisonment​

4.14 without possibility of release following a conviction under Minnesota Statutes, section​

4.15 609.185, paragraph (a), clause (1), (2), (4), or (7) for an offense committed when the offender​

4.16 was under 18 years of age and when a sentence was imposed pursuant to Minnesota Statutes,​

4.17 section 609.106, subdivision 2, clause (1)."​

4​Sec. 6.​
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