STATE OF MINNESOTA HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

PUBLIC SAFETY FINANCE AND POLICY MINUTES

Representative Kelly Moller, Chair of the Public Safety Finance and Policy Committee, called the meeting to order at 10:30 AM on March 2, 2023, in Room 200 of the State Office Building.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members Present:

MOLLER, Kelly, Chair FEIST, Sandra, Vice Chair NOVOTNY, Paul, GOP Lead BECKER-FINN, Jamie CURRAN, Brion ENGEN, Elliot FRAZIER, Cedrick GROSSELL, Matt HOLLINS, Athena HUDSON, Walter HUOT, John MUELLER, Patricia PINTO, Dave TABKE, Brad WITTE, Jeff

A quorum was present.

Representative Feist moved that the minutes from February 28, 2023, be approved. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u>

HF 1712 (Feist) Prevention services, intervention services, and barrier reduction services relating to youth involved or at risk of becoming involved in criminal or juvenile justice system funding provided; report required; and money appropriated.

Rep. Tabke moved to lay over HF 1712.

Rep. Feist presented HF 1712.

Testifiers on HF 1712:

- Kate Weeks, Executive Director, Office of Minnesota Justice Programs at Minnesota Department of Public Safety
- Malaika Eban, Interim Executive Director, Legal Rights Center Minneapolis
- Miki Lewis, Founder, 8212 Truce Center
- Ukasha Dakane, Executive Director, Fortune Relief and Youth Empowerment Organization
- Tom Evenstad
- Al Flowers, Founder, United Black Legislative Agenda
- Jennifer Flaherty, Board Chair, Hope for the Brave
- Latonya Reeves, Committee Member, Advisory Task Force for Women and Juvenile Female Offenders in Corrections

Rep. Tabke renewed the motion to lay over HF 1712. The bill was laid over.

HF 1511 (Feist) Juvenile Risk Assessments provided.

Rep. Feist moved that HF 1511 be placed on the General Register.

Rep. Feist moved the H1511DE1 amendment. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE</u> <u>AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.</u>

Rep. Feist presented HF 1511, as amended.

Testifiers on HF 1511, as amended:

- Curtis Shanklin, Deputy Commissioner, Minnesota Department of Corrections
- Tom Evenstad

Rep. Feist renewed the motion that HF 1511, as amended, be placed on the General Register. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u>

HF 1233 (Pinto) Visual inspection of delinquent children and youth in detention facilities prohibited, and disciplinary room time for delinquent children and youth in detention facilities prohibited.

Chair Moller moved to lay over HF 1233.

Rep. Pinto moved the H1233A5 amendment. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.</u>

Rep. Pinto presented HF 1233, as amended.

Testifiers on HF 1233, as amended:

- Paul Schnell, Commissioner, Department of Corrections
- Ta'Mara Hill, Policy Officer, The Centers for Victims of Torture
- Malaika Eban, Interim Executive Director, Legal Rights Center Minneapolis
- Elliot Butay, Senior Policy Coordinator, National Alliance on Mental Illness Minnesota (NAMI MN)
- Matthew Bauer, Ex-Officio, Minnesota Juvenile Detention Association
- Edward Reynoso, Political Director, Teamsters Local #320
- Jessica Remington, Representative, Arrowhead Regional Corrections
- Jasmyn Bryant, Representative, Hennepin County Juvenile Detention
- Molly Bruner, Director of Scott County Community Corrections, Minnesota Association of Community Corrections Act Counties

Chair Moller renewed the motion to lay over HF 1233, as amended. <u>THE MOTION</u> <u>PREVAILED.</u>

HF 100 (Stephenson) Omnibus cannabis bill.

Chair Moller moved that HF 100 be re-referred to the Committee on Economic Development Finance and Policy.

Chair Moller moved the H0100A57 amendment. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE</u> <u>AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.</u>

Rep. Stevenson presented HF 100, as amended.

Testifiers on HF 100, as amended:

- Munira Mohamed, Policy Associate, American Civil Liberties Union Minnesota (ACLU MN)
- RaeAnna Buchholz, Legislative Coalition Director, Americans for Prosperity
- Jay Henthorne, Chief, Richfield Police Department
- Kevin Torgerson, Sheriff, Olmstead County
- David Bernstein, Chair, Minnesota Driving While Impaired (DWI) Task Force
- Linda Stanton
- Ini Udomah
- Chris Wright, Member, Legal Marijuana Now Party
- Tom Evenstad
- Carli Stark, Public Safety Policy Analyst, Association of Minnesota Counties

- John Bartee III, Government Affairs Manager, Uniflora Holistics
- Marcus Harcus, Lobbyist, Uniflora Holistics
- Cameron Tyler
- Ted Galaty, Owner, Hemp Maze Minnesota

Rep. Novotny moved the H0100A54 amendment.

Rep. Novotny withdrew the H0100A54 amendment.

Rep. Mueller moved the H0100A55 amendment.

Representative Mueller requested roll call vote on the HF0100A55 amendment.

The clerk noted the roll:

AYES Rep. Novotny Rep. Engen Rep. Grossell Rep. Hudson Rep. Mueller Rep. Witte

NAYS Chair Moller Rep. Feist Rep. Becker-Finn Rep. Curran Rep. Frazier Rep. Hollins Rep. Huot Rep. Pinto Rep. Tabke

There being 6 ayes and 9 nays, THE MOTION DID NOT PREVAIL

Rep. Novotny moved the H0100A56 amendment.

Rep. Novotny withdrew the H0100A56 amendment.

The meeting was recessed at 12:30 PM.

The meeting was reconvened at 1:04 PM.

Rep. Witte moved the H0100A58 amendment.

Rep. Witte withdrew the H0100A58 amendment.

Chair Moller renewed the motion that HF 100, as amended, be re-referred to the Committee on Economic Development Finance and Policy. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u>

The meeting was adjourned at 1:19 PM.

Representative Kelly Moller, Chair