April 29, 2021

Senator Eric Pratt Representative Mohamud Noor
Chair, Jobs and Economic Growth Chair, Workforce and Business
Committee Development Committee

3219 Minnesota Senate Office Building 379 State Office Building

St. Paul, MN 55155 St. Paul, MN 55155

Dear Conference Committee Members,

We are writing on behalf of the Coalition to End Wage Theft in opposition to provisions in
the Senate version of SF 1098 that weaken the 2019 Wage Theft Prevention Act.

In Minnesota, we believe that people should be paid for all of the hours they work.
Unfortunately, we know all too well this isn’t always the case. The 2019 Wage Theft
Prevention Act was enacted to address the longstanding, widespread, and well-
documented problem of wage theft in Minnesota and ensure working people are paid what
they are owed. Key components of the law are to ensure that workers know what they
are supposed to be paid, and that penalties are sufficient to deter violations of the
law.

If provisions in Section 3 and 4, pages R4-2 and R5-2 of the Labor and Industry side-by-side
were to become law, employers would not have to provide wage information at the start of
employment, so workers would not know what they are supposed to be paid until they
receive their first paycheck, up to 31 days after their first day of work. Similarly, employers
would no longer have to notify the worker of a change in their rate of pay in advance of the
change, so workers would not know what they are supposed to be paid until after the fact.
In addition, staffing agencies would not have to notify employees of changes to pay
information after the initial job placement, so employees of staffing agencies will not know
what they are supposed to be paid at subsequent placements.

These sections also eliminate penalties for a first violation of the written notice
requirements, no matter how many violations are found. This allows employers to ignore
the written notice requirement, since they are unlikely to be caught, and if they are, there
will be no penalty, even for willful violations affecting multiple employees.

Finally, these sections limit penalties on the worst actors, employers who fail to pay more
than 10 days after service of a demand from DLI on behalf of the employee. They cap the
penalties DLI can charge at 15 days’ worth of wages. This would allow the worst actors
refusing to pay their employees even a month after service of the demand to simply factor
in limited penalties as part of their cost of doing business.



We know many of the workers deemed “essential” during this pandemic, the people who
have kept our state running, are also in industries that too often have bad actors.
Weakening laws meant to protect working families is a bad idea at any time, but especially
bad during a pandemic when so many families are hanging on by a thread.

Sincerely,

The Advocates for Human Rights

AFSCME Council 65

Centro de Trabajadores Unidos en Lucha (CTUL)

Education Minnesota
Minnesota AFL-CIO
Minnesota Nurses Association

Restaurant Opportunities Center of Minnesota (ROC-MN)

SEIU State Council
Teamsters Joint Council 32
UNITE HERE Local 17

CC:

Senator Jason Rarick

Chair, Senate Labor committee
Senator Karin Housley
Senator Rich Draheim

Senator Kent Eken

=

Representative Rob Ecklund
Chair, House Labor committee
Representative Liz Olson
Representative Kaela Berg
Representative Rod Hamilton



