STATE OF MINNESOTA HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

EDUCATION POLICY COMMITTEE

MINUTES

Representative Cheryl Youakim, Chair of the Committee, called the remote Education Policy Committee meeting to order at 2:31 P.M. on Wednesday, April 8, 2020 pursuant to House rule 10.01. The meeting is being broadcast via Zoom and House Public Information Services.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members present:

YOUAKIM, Cheryl (Chair) KUNESH-PODEIN, Mary (Vice-Chair) ERICKSON, Sondra (GOP-Lead) BAHR, Cal BAKER, Dave **BENNETT**, Peggy **BIERMAN**, Robert CHRISTENSEN, Shelly GRUENHAGEN, Glenn HASSAN, Hodan HER, Kaohly JORDAN, Sydney MARIANI, Carlos MOLLER, Kelly SANDELL, Steve SCOTT, Peggy URDAHL, Dean WAZLAWIK, Ami

A quorum was present.

Representative Her moved that the minutes of Wednesday, March 11, 2020 be adopted. The Committee Legislative Assistant took the roll on the motion.

AYES YOUAKIM, Cheryl (Chair) KUNESH-PODEIN, Mary (Vice-Chair) ERICKSON, Sondra (GOP-Lead) BAHR, Cal BAKER, Dave **BENNETT**, Peggy **BIERMAN**, Robert CHRISTENSEN, Shelly GRUENHAGEN, Glenn HASSAN, Hodan HER, Kaohly JORDAN, Sydney MARIANI, Carlos MOLLER, Kelly SANDELL, Steve SCOTT, Peggy URDAHL, Dean WAZLAWIK, Ami

None

With 18 ayes and 0 nays, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

HF 4415 (Davnie) Compensation for hourly employees required for school days cancelled due to COVID-19 (coronavirus) during the 2019-2020 school year.

Representative Christensen moved HF 4415 be re-referred to the Education Finance Division.

Representative Christensen moved the DE10 Amendment. The Committee Legislative Assistant took the roll on the motion:

AYES YOUAKIM, Cheryl (Chair) KUNESH-PODEIN, Mary (Vice-Chair) ERICKSON, Sondra (GOP-Lead) BAHR, Cal BAKER, Dave **BENNETT**, Peggy **BIERMAN**, Robert CHRISTENSEN, Shelly **GRUENHAGEN**, Glenn HASSAN, Hodan HER, Kaohly JORDAN, Sydney MARIANI, Carlos MOLLER, Kelly SANDELL, Steve SCOTT, Peggy URDAHL, Dean WAZLAWIK, Ami

NAYS None

With 18 ayes and 0 nays, THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.

Representative Davnie presented HF 4415 and took questions on the bill.

The following testifiers gave remarks regarding the bill: Mary Cathryn Ricker, Commissioner of the Minnesota Department of Education; Marty Hoerth, Field Service Support Technician for St. Paul Schools; Jeanne Fox, Education Support Professional for Osseo Area School District; Dr. Kathlene Holmes Campbell, Dean of the School of Education at the University of St. Thomas; Dianne Amundson, School Bus Driver for Sartell-St. Stephen School District; William Gronseth, Superintendent for Duluth Public Schools; Cathy Erickson, Business Manager for Duluth Public Schools; Michelle Koffa, Policy Manager for EdAllies; Gary Amoroso, Executive Director of the Minnesota Association of School Administrators.

Chair Youakim renewed Representative Christensen's motion that HF 4415, as amended, be re-referred to the Education Finance Division. The Committee Legislative Assistant took the roll on the motion:

AYES YOUAKIM, Cheryl (Chair) KUNESH-PODEIN, Mary (Vice-Chair) BIERMAN, Robert CHRISTENSEN, Shelly HASSAN, Hodan HER, Kaohly JORDAN, Sydney MARIANI, Carlos MOLLER, Kelly SANDELL, Steve URDAHL, Dean WAZLAWIK, Ami

NAYS ERICKSON, Sondra (GOP-Lead) BAHR, Cal BAKER, Dave GRUENHAGEN, Glenn SCOTT, Peggy

ABSENT BENNETT, Peggy

With 12 ayes, 5 nays, and 1 absent, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:04 P.M.

Representative Cheryl Youakim, Chair

Megan Arriola, Committee Legislative Assistant