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.................... moves to amend S.F. No. 1706, the first engrossment, as follows:

Page 1, after line 6, insert:

"Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 550.136, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Limitation on levy on earnings. (a) Unless the judgment is for child support,
the maximum part of the aggregate disposable earnings of an individual for any pay period

subjected to an execution levy may not exceed the lesser of:
(1) 25 percent of the judgment debtor's disposable earnings; or

(2) the amount by which the judgment debtor's disposable earnings exceed the foeHewing
preduet greater of: (i) 40 times the hourly wage described in section 177.24, subdivision 1,

paragraph (b), item (iii); or (ii) 40 times the federal minimum hourly wages prescribed by

section 6(a)(1) of the Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938, United States Code, title 29, section
206(a)(1), in effect at the time the earnings are payable, times the number of work weeks
in the pay period. When a pay period consists of other than a whole number of work weeks,
each day of that pay period in excess of the number of completed work weeks shall be
counted as a fraction of a work week equal to the number of excess workdays divided by

the number of days in the normal work week.
(b) If the judgment is for child support, the levy may not exceed:

(1) 50 percent of the judgment debtor's disposable income, if the judgment debtor is
supporting a spouse or dependent child and the judgment is 12 weeks old or less (12 weeks

to be calculated to the beginning of the work week in which the execution levy is received);

(2) 55 percent of the judgment debtor's disposable income, if the judgment debtor is
supporting a spouse or dependent child, and the judgment is over 12 weeks old (12 weeks

to be calculated to the beginning of the work week in which the execution levy is received);

Section 1. 1
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(3) 60 percent of the judgment debtor's disposable income, if the judgment debtor is not
supporting a spouse or dependent child and the judgment is 12 weeks old or less (12 weeks
to be calculated to the beginning of the work week in which the execution levy is received);

or

(4) 65 percent of the judgment debtor's disposable income, if the judgment debtor is not
supporting a spouse or dependent child, and the judgment is over 12 weeks old (12 weeks

to be calculated to the beginning of the work week in which the execution levy is received).

Execution levies under this section on judgments for child support are effective until
the judgments are satisfied if the judgment creditor is a county and the employer is notified

by the county when the judgment is satisfied.

(c) No court may make, execute, or enforce an order or any process in violation of this

section.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 550.136, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. Multiple levies on earnings. Except as otherwise provided in this chapter or
section 518A.53, the priority of multiple earnings execution levies is determined by the
order in which the execution levies were served on the employer. If the employer is served
with two or more writs of execution at the same time on the same day, the writ of execution
issued pursuant to the first judgment entered has priority. If two or more execution levies
are served on the same day and are based on judgments entered on the same day, then the
employer shall select the priority of the earnings levies. However, in all cases except earnings
execution levies on judgments for child support if the judgment creditor is a county and the
employer is notified by the county when the judgment is satisfied, the execution levies shall

be effective no longer than 70 90 days from the date of the service of the writ of execution.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 550.136, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

Subd. 5. Earnings attachable. (a) Subject to the exemptions provided by sections 550.37
and 571.922, and any other applicable statute, and except as otherwise provided in paragraph
(b), the service of a writ of execution under this chapter attaches all unpaid nonexempt
disposable earnings owing or to be owed by the third party and earned or to be earned by
the judgment debtor before and within the pay period in which the writ of execution is
served and within all subsequent pay periods whose paydays occur within the 70 90 days
after the date of service of the writ of execution. "Paydays" means the days upon which the
third party pays earnings to the judgment debtor in the ordinary course of business. If the

judgment debtor has no regular paydays, paydays means the 15th day and the last day of

Sec. 3. 2
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each month. If the levy attaches less than $10, the third party shall not retain and remit the

sum.

(b) The service of a writ of execution on a judgment for child support attaches to all
unpaid nonexempt disposable earnings owing or to be owed by the third party and earned
or to be earned by the judgment debtor before and within the pay period in which the writ
of execution is served and within all subsequent pay periods until the judgment is satisfied
if the judgment creditor is a county and the third party is notified by the county when the

judgment is satisfied.

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 550.136, subdivision 9, is amended to read:

Subd. 9. Execution earnings disclosure form and worksheet. The judgment creditor
shall provide to the sheriff for service upon the judgment debtor's employer an execution
earnings disclosure form and an earnings disclosure worksheet with the writ of execution,

that must be substantially in the form set forth below.

STATE OF MINNESOTA DISTRICT COURT
COUNTY OF ooiiiiiicieiieieeeee e, JUDICIAL DISTRICT

FILE NO. .........
........................................... (Judgment Creditor)
against EARNINGS
........................................... (Judgment Debtor) EXECUTION
and DISCLOSURE
........................................... (Third Party)

DEFINITIONS

"EARNINGS": For the purpose of execution, "earnings" means compensation paid or
payable to an employee for personal services or compensation paid or payable to the producer
for the sale of agricultural products; milk or milk products; or fruit or other horticultural
products produced when the producer is operating a family farm, a family farm corporation,
or an authorized farm corporation, as defined in section 500.24, subdivision 2, whether
denominated as wages, salary, commission, bonus, or otherwise, and includes periodic

payments pursuant to a pension or retirement.

"DISPOSABLE EARNINGS": Means that part of the earnings of an individual remaining
after the deduction from those earnings of amounts required by law to be withheld. (Amounts
required by law to be withheld do not include items such as health insurance, charitable

contributions, or other voluntary wage deductions.)

Sec. 4. 3
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"PAYDAY": For the purpose of execution, "payday(s)" means the date(s) upon which
the employer pays earnings to the debtor in the ordinary course of business. If the judgment

debtor has no regular payday, payday(s) means the 15th and the last day of each month.

THE THIRD PARTY/EMPLOYER MUST ANSWER THE FOLLOWING
QUESTIONS:

(1) Do you now owe, or within 70 90 days from the date the execution levy was served

on you, will you or may you owe money to the judgment debtor for earnings?

(2) Does the judgment debtor earn more than $... per week? (this amount is the federal

minimum wage per week)

INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING THE
EARNINGS DISCLOSURE

A. If your answer to either question 1 or 2 is "No," then you must sign the affirmation
below and return this disclosure to the sheriff within 20 days after it was served on you,

and you do not need to answer the remaining questions.

B. If your answers to both questions 1 and 2 are "Yes," you must complete this form

and the Earnings Disclosure Worksheet as follows:

For each payday that falls within 70 90 days from the date the execution levy was served
on you, YOU MUST calculate the amount of earnings to be retained by completing steps
3 through 11 on page 2, and enter the amounts on the Earnings Disclosure Worksheet.
UPON REQUEST, THE EMPLOYER MUST PROVIDE THE DEBTOR WITH
INFORMATION AS TO HOW THE CALCULATIONS REQUIRED BY THIS
DISCLOSURE WERE MADE.

Each payday, you must retain the amount of earnings listed in column I on the Earnings

Disclosure Worksheet.

You must pay the attached earnings and return this earnings disclosure form and the
Earnings Disclosure Worksheet to the sheriff and deliver a copy of the disclosure and
worksheet to the judgment debtor within ten days after the last payday that falls within
the 70-day 90-day period. If the judgment is wholly satisfied or if the judgment debtor's
employment ends before the expiration of the 70-day 90-day period, your disclosure
and remittance should be made within ten days after the last payday for which earnings

were attached.

Sec. 4. 4
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For steps 3 through 11, "columns" refers to columns on the Earnings Disclosure

Worksheet.

3) COLUMN A. Enter the date of judgment debtor's payday.
4) COLUMN B. Enter judgment debtor's gross earnings for each payday.

(5) COLUMN C. Enter judgment debtor's disposable earnings for each
payday.

(6) COLUMN D. Enter 25 percent of disposable earnings. (Multiply
column C by .25.)

(7) COLUMN E. Enter here the greater of 40 times $ 9.50 or 40 times the
hourly federal minimum wage (§.......... ) times the
number of work weeks included in each payday. (Note:
If a payday includes days in excess of whole work
weeks, the additional days should be counted as a
fraction of a work week equal to the number of
workdays in excess of a whole work week divided by
the number of workdays in a normal work week.)

(8) COLUMN F. Subtract the amount in column E from the amount in
column C, and enter here.

9) COLUMN G. Enter here the lesser of the amount in column D and the
amount in column F.

(10) COLUMN H. Enter here any amount claimed by you as a setoff,
defense, lien, or claim, or any amount claimed by any
other person as an exemption or adverse interest which
would reduce the amount of earnings owing to the
judgment debtor. (Note: Any indebtedness to you
incurred within ten days prior to your receipt of the first
execution levy on a debt may not be set off against the
earnings otherwise subject to this levy. Any wage
assignment made by the judgment debtor within ten
days prior to your receipt of the first execution levy on
a debt is void.)

You must also describe your claim(s) and the claims of
others, if known, in the space provided below the
worksheet and state the name(s) and address(es) of these
persons.

Enter zero in column H if there are no claims by you or
others which would reduce the amount of earnings
owing to the judgment debtor.

(11) COLUMN L Subtract the amount in column H from the amount in
column G and enter here. This is the amount of earnings
that you must remit for the payday for which the
calculations were made.

AFFIRMATION

| R (person signing Affirmation), am the third party/employer or I am
authorized by the third party/employer to complete this earnings disclosure, and have done

so truthfully and to the best of my knowledge.

Sec. 4. 5
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DATED: ceiieetrteterieiie ettt ettt sttt
Signature
Title
Telephone Number
EARNINGS DISCLOSURE WORKSHEET e

Debtor's Name

A B
Payday Date Gross Earnings

25% of Greater of 40 x
Column C $9.50 or 40 X
Fed. Min. Wage

Sec. 4. 6

C

Disposable
Earnings
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G H I

Lesser of Setoff, Lien, Column G minus
Column D and Adverse Interest, Column H
Column F or Other Claims

*If you entered any amount in column H for any payday(s), you must describe below
either your claims, or the claims of others. For amounts claimed by others, you must both

state the names and addresses of such persons, and the nature of their claim, if known.

AFFIRMATION

Lo (person signing Affirmation), am the third party or I am authorized by the
third party to complete this earnings disclosure worksheet, and have done so truthfully and

to the best of my knowledge.

Title Phone Number

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 550.136, subdivision 10, is amended to read:

Subd. 10. Execution earnings disclosure form and worksheet for child support
judgments. The judgment creditor shall provide to the sherift for service upon a child

support judgment debtor's employer an execution earnings disclosure form and an earnings

Sec. 5. 7
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disclosure worksheet with the writ of execution, that must be substantially in the form set

forth below.
STATE OF MINNESOTA DISTRICT COURT
COUNTY OF coviiiviiiiviiiceeee e, JUDICIAL DISTRICT

FILE NO. .........
........................................... (Judgment Creditor)
against EARNINGS
........................................... (Judgment Debtor) EXECUTION
and DISCLOSURE
........................................... (Third Party)

DEFINITIONS

"EARNINGS": For the purpose of execution, "earnings" means compensation paid or
payable to an employee for personal services or compensation paid or payable to the producer
for the sale of agricultural products; milk or milk products; or fruit or other horticultural
products produced when the producer is operating a family farm, a family farm corporation,
or an authorized farm corporation, as defined in section 500.24, subdivision 2, whether
denominated as wages, salary, commission, bonus, or otherwise, and includes periodic
payments pursuant to a pension or retirement, workers' compensation, or unemployment

benefits.

"DISPOSABLE EARNINGS": Means that part of the earnings of an individual remaining
after the deduction from those earnings of amounts required by law to be withheld. (Amounts
required by law to be withheld do not include items such as health insurance, charitable

contributions, or other voluntary wage deductions.)

"PAYDAY": For the purpose of execution, "payday(s)" means the date(s) upon which
the employer pays earnings to the debtor in the ordinary course of business. If the judgment

debtor has no regular payday, payday(s) means the 15th and the last day of each month.
THE THIRD PARTY/EMPLOYER MUST ANSWER THE FOLLOWING QUESTION:

(1) Do you now owe, or within 70 90 days from the date the execution levy was served

on you, will you or may you owe money to the judgment debtor for earnings?

INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING THE

EARNINGS DISCLOSURE

Sec. 5. 8
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A. If your answer to question 1 is "No," then you must sign the affirmation below and
return this disclosure to the sheriff within 20 days after it was served on you, and you do

not need to answer the remaining questions.

B. If your answer to question 1 is "Yes," you must complete this form and the Earnings

Disclosure Worksheet as follows:

For each payday that falls within 70 90 days from the date the execution levy was served
on you, YOU MUST calculate the amount of earnings to be retained by completing steps
2 through 8 on page 2, and enter the amounts on the Earnings Disclosure Worksheet.
UPON REQUEST, THE EMPLOYER MUST PROVIDE THE DEBTOR WITH
INFORMATION AS TO HOW THE CALCULATIONS REQUIRED BY THIS
DISCLOSURE WERE MADE.

Each payday, you must retain the amount of earnings listed in column G on the Earnings

Disclosure Worksheet.

You must pay the attached earnings and return this earnings disclosure form and the
Earnings Disclosure Worksheet to the sheriff and deliver a copy of the disclosure and
worksheet to the judgment debtor within ten days after the last payday that falls within
the 70-day 90-day period. If the judgment is wholly satisfied or if the judgment debtor's
employment ends before the expiration of the 70-day 90-day period, your disclosure
and remittance should be made within ten days after the last payday for which earnings

were attached.

For steps 2 through 8, "columns" refers to columns on the Earnings Disclosure Worksheet.
(2) COLUMN A. Enter the date of judgment debtor's payday.

(3) COLUMN B. Enter judgment debtor's gross earnings for each payday.

(4) COLUMN C. Enter judgment debtor's disposable earnings for each payday.

(5) COLUMN D. Enter either 50, 55, 60, or 65 percent of disposable earnings, based

on which of the following descriptions fits the child support judgment debtor:

(a) 50 percent of the judgment debtor's disposable income, if the judgment debtor is
supporting a spouse or dependent child and the judgment is 12 weeks old or less (12 weeks

to be calculated to the beginning of the work week in which the execution levy is received);

(b) 55 percent of the judgment debtor's disposable income, if the judgment debtor is
supporting a spouse or dependent child, and the judgment is over 12 weeks old (12 weeks

to be calculated to the beginning of the work week in which the execution levy is received);

Sec. 5. 9
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(c) 60 percent of the judgment debtor's disposable income, if the judgment debtor is not
supporting a spouse or dependent child and the judgment is 12 weeks old or less (12 weeks
to be calculated to the beginning of the work week in which the execution levy is received);

or

(d) 65 percent of the judgment debtor's disposable income, if the judgment debtor is not
supporting a spouse or dependent child, and the judgment is over 12 weeks old (12 weeks
to be calculated to the beginning of the work week in which the execution levy is received).

(Multiply column C by .50, .55, .60, or .65, as appropriate.)

(6) COLUMN E. Enter here any amount claimed by you as a setoff, defense, lien, or
claim, or any amount claimed by any other person as an exemption or adverse interest that
would reduce the amount of earnings owing to the judgment debtor. (Note: Any indebtedness
to you incurred within ten days prior to your receipt of the first execution levy may not be
set off against the earnings otherwise subject to this levy. Any wage assignment made by

the judgment debtor within ten days prior to your receipt of the first execution levy is void.)

You must also describe your claim(s) and the claims of others, if known, in the space

provided below the worksheet and state the name(s) and address(es) of these persons.

Enter zero in column E if there are no claims by you or others that would reduce the

amount of earnings owing to the judgment debtor.

(7) COLUMN F. Subtract the amount in column E from the amount in column D and
enter here. This is the amount of earnings that you must remit for the payday for which the

calculations were made.
AFFIRMATION

| (S (person signing Affirmation), am the third party/employer or I am
authorized by the third party/employer to complete this earnings disclosure, and have done

so truthfully and to the best of my knowledge.

EARNINGS DISCLOSURE WORKSHEET e

Debtor's Name

Sec. 5. 10
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A B C

Payday Date Gross Earnings Disposable
Earnings

Either 50, 55, 60, or Setoff, Lien, Column D minus
65% of Column C Adverse Interest, Column E
or Other Claims

*If you entered any amount in column E for any payday(s), you must describe below
either your claims, or the claims of others. For amounts claimed by others, you must both

state the names and addresses of such persons, and the nature of their claim, if known.

AFFIRMATION

Sec. 5. 11
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| ISR (person signing Affirmation), am the third party or I am authorized by the
third party to complete this earnings disclosure worksheet, and have done so truthfully and

to the best of my knowledge.

Title Phone Number

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 550.136, subdivision 12, is amended to read:

Subd. 12. Third-party disclosure and remittance obligation. If there are no attachable
earnings, the third party shall serve the execution earnings disclosure form upon the sheriff
within 20 days after service of the writ of execution. However, if the judgment debtor has
attachable earnings, the third party shall serve the execution earnings disclosure form and
remit to the sheriff the attached earnings within ten days of the last payday to occur within
the 70 90 days after the date of the service of the execution. If the judgment is wholly
satisfied or if the judgment debtor's employment ends before the expiration of the 70-day
90-day period, the disclosure and remittance should be made within ten days after the last
payday for which earnings were attached. The amount of the third party's execution earnings
disclosure form and remittance need not exceed 110 percent of the amount of the judgment
creditor's judgment that remains unpaid, after subtracting the total of setoffs, defenses,
exemption, or other adverse interests. If the disclosure is by a corporation, it shall be made

by an officer or an authorized agent having knowledge of the facts.

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 551.04, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Property attachable. Subject to the exemptions provided by subdivision 3 and
section 550.37, and any other applicable statute, the service of a writ of execution under

this chapter attaches:

(a) Except as otherwise provided in paragraph (c), all unpaid nonexempt disposable
earnings owing or to be owed by the third party and earned or to be earned by the judgment
debtor within the pay period in which the writ of execution is served and within all subsequent
pay periods whose paydays occur within the 70 90 days after the date of service of the writ
of execution. "Payday" means the day upon which the third party pays earnings to the
judgment debtor in the ordinary course of business. If the judgment debtor has no regular

paydays, payday means the 15th day and the last day of each month.

Sec. 7. 12
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(b) All other nonexempt indebtedness or money due or belonging to the judgment debtor
and owing by the third party or in the possession or under the control of the third party at
the time of service of the writ of execution, whether or not the same, has become payable.
The third party shall not be compelled to pay or deliver the same before the time specified
by any agreement unless the agreement was fraudulently contracted to defeat an execution

levy or other collection remedy.

(c) For an execution on a judgment for child support, all unpaid nonexempt disposable
earnings owing or to be owed by the third party and earned or to be earned by the judgment
debtor within the pay period in which the writ of execution is served and within all subsequent
pay periods until the judgment is satisfied if the judgment creditor is a county and the third

party is notified by the county when the judgment is satisfied.

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 551.04, subdivision 11, is amended to read:

Subd. 11. Forms. No judgment creditor shall use a form that contains alterations or
changes from the statutory forms that mislead judgment debtors as to their rights and the
execution procedure generally. If a court finds that a judgment creditor has used a misleading
form, the judgment debtor shall be awarded actual damages, costs, reasonable attorney's
fees resulting from additional proceedings, and an amount not to exceed $100. All forms
must be clearly legible and printed in not less than the equivalent of 10-point type. A form
that uses both sides of a sheet must clearly indicate on the front side that there is additional

information on the back side of the sheet.

Forms, including the statutory forms, used in executions upon earnings for the satisfaction
of judgments for child support must be changed by the creditor to reflect the fact that the
70-day 90-day period of effectiveness does not apply to these executions if the judgment

creditor is a county and the employer is notified by the county when the judgment is satisfied.

Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 551.06, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Limitation on levy on earnings. (a) Unless the judgment is for child support,
the maximum part of the aggregate disposable earnings of an individual for any pay period

subjected to an execution levy may not exceed the lesser of:
(1) 25 percent of the judgment debtor's disposable earnings; or

(2) the amount by which the judgment debtor's disposable earnings exceed the felewing
preduet greater of: (i) 40 times the hourly wage described in section 177.24, subdivision 1,

paragraph (b), item (iii); or (ii) 40 times the federal minimum hourly wages prescribed by

Sec. 9. 13
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section 6(a)(1) of the Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938, United States Code, title 29, section
206(a)(1), in effect at the time the earnings are payable, times the number of work weeks
in the pay period. When a pay period consists of other than a whole number of work weeks,
each day of that pay period in excess of the number of completed work weeks shall be
counted as a fraction of a work week equal to the number of excess workdays divided by

the number of days in the normal work week.
(b) If the judgment is for child support, the levy may not exceed:

(1) 50 percent of the judgment debtor's disposable income, if the judgment debtor is
supporting a spouse or dependent child and the judgment is 12 weeks old or less (12 weeks

to be calculated to the beginning of the work week in which the execution levy is received);

(2) 55 percent of the judgment debtor's disposable income, if the judgment debtor is
supporting a spouse or dependent child, and the judgment is over 12 weeks old (12 weeks

to be calculated to the beginning of the work week in which the execution levy is received);

(3) 60 percent of the judgment debtor's disposable income, if the judgment debtor is not
supporting a spouse or dependent child and the judgment is 12 weeks old or less (12 weeks
to be calculated to the beginning of the work week in which the execution levy is received);

or

(4) 65 percent of the judgment debtor's disposable income, if the judgment debtor is not
supporting a spouse or dependent child, and the judgment is over 12 weeks old (12 weeks

to be calculated to the beginning of the work week in which the execution levy is received).

Execution levies under this section on judgments for child support are effective until
the judgments are satisfied if the judgment creditor is a county and the employer is notified

by the county when the judgment is satisfied.

(c) No court may make, execute, or enforce an order or any process in violation of this

section.

Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 551.06, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. Multiple levies on earnings. Except as otherwise provided in this chapter or
section 518A.53, the priority of multiple earnings execution levies is determined by the
order in which the execution levies were served on the employer. If the employer is served
with two or more writs of execution at the same time on the same day, the writ of execution
issued pursuant to the first judgment entered has priority. If two or more execution levies
are served on the same day and are based on judgments entered on the same day, then the

employer shall select the priority of the earnings levies. However, in all cases except earnings

Sec. 10. 14
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execution levies on judgments for child support if the judgment creditor is a county and the
employer is notified by the county when the judgment is satisfied, the execution levies shall

be effective no longer than 70 90 days from the date of the service of the writ of execution.

Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 551.06, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

Subd. 5. Earnings attachable. (a) Subject to the exemptions provided by subdivision
3 and section 550.37, and any other applicable statute, and except as otherwise provided in
paragraph (b), the service of a writ of execution under this chapter attaches all unpaid
nonexempt disposable earnings owing or to be owed by the third party and earned or to be
earned by the judgment debtor before and within the pay period in which the writ of execution
is served and within all subsequent pay periods whose paydays occur within the 76- 90days
after the date of service of the writ of execution. "Paydays" means the days upon which the
third party pays earnings to the judgment debtor in the ordinary course of business. If the
judgment debtor has no regular paydays, paydays means the 15th day and the last day of
each month. If the levy attaches less than $10, the third party shall not retain and remit the

Sum.

(b) The service of a writ of execution on a judgment for child support attaches to all
unpaid nonexempt disposable earnings owing or to be owed by the third party and earned
or to be earned by the judgment debtor before and within the pay period in which the writ
of execution is served and within all subsequent pay periods until the judgment is satisfied
if the judgment creditor is a county and the third party is notified by the county when the

judgment is satisfied.

Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 551.06, subdivision 9, is amended to read:

Subd. 9. Notice of levy on earnings, disclosure, and worksheet. The attorney for the
judgment creditor shall serve upon the judgment debtor's employer a notice of levy on
earnings and an execution earnings disclosure form and an earnings disclosure worksheet

with the writ of execution, that must be substantially in the form set forth below.

STATE OF MINNESOTA DISTRICT COURT

COUNTY OF .cooiviviiiiiviivieeee e, JUDICIAL DISTRICT
FILE NO...........

........................................... (Judgment Creditor)

against NOTICE OF LEVY ON

EARNINGS AND DISCLOSURE
........................................... (Judgment Debtor)

Sec. 12. 15
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........................................... (Third Party)

PLEASE TAKE NOTICE that pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, sections 551.04 and
551.06, the undersigned, as attorney for the judgment creditor, hereby makes demand and
levies execution upon all earnings due and owing by you (up to $10,000) to the judgment
debtor for the amount of the judgment specified below. A copy of the writ of execution

issued by the court is enclosed. The unpaid judgment balance is §$.....

This levy attaches all unpaid nonexempt disposable earnings owing or to be owed by
you and earned or to be earned by the judgment debtor before and within the pay period in
which the writ of execution is served and within all subsequent pay periods whose paydays

occur within the 70 90 days after the service of this levy.

In responding to this levy, you are to complete the attached disclosure form and worksheet
and mail it to the undersigned attorney for the judgment creditor, together with your check
payable to the above-named judgment creditor, for the nonexempt amount owed by you to
the judgment debtor or for which you are obligated to the judgment debtor, within the time

limits set forth in the aforementioned statutes.

Address
(c0) e
Phone Number

DISCLOSURE

DEFINITIONS

"EARNINGS": For the purpose of execution, "earnings" means compensation paid or
payable to an employee for personal services or compensation paid or payable to the producer
for the sale of agricultural products; milk or milk products; or fruit or other horticultural
products produced when the producer is operating a family farm, a family farm corporation,
or an authorized farm corporation, as defined in section 500.24, subdivision 2, whether
denominated as wages, salary, commission, bonus, or otherwise, and includes periodic

payments pursuant to a pension or retirement.

Sec. 12. 16
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"DISPOSABLE EARNINGS": Means that part of the earnings of an individual remaining
after the deduction from those earnings of amounts required by law to be withheld. (Amounts
required by law to be withheld do not include items such as health insurance, charitable

contributions, or other voluntary wage deductions.)

"PAYDAY": For the purpose of execution, "payday(s)" means the date(s) upon which
the employer pays earnings to the judgment debtor in the ordinary course of business. If
the judgment debtor has no regular payday, payday(s) means the 15th and the last day of

each month.

THE THIRD PARTY/EMPLOYER MUST ANSWER THE FOLLOWING
QUESTIONS:

1. Do you now owe, or within 70 days from the date the execution levy was served on

you, will you or may you owe money to the judgment debtor for earnings?

2. Does the judgment debtor earn more than $... per week? (This amount is the greater

of $9.50 per hour or the federal minimum wage per week.)

INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING THE
EARNINGS DISCLOSURE

A. If your answer to either question 1 or 2 is "No," then you must sign the affirmation
on page 2 and return this disclosure to the judgment creditor's attorney within 20 days after

it was served on you, and you do not need to answer the remaining questions.

B. If your answers to both questions 1 and 2 are "Yes," you must complete this form

and the Earnings Disclosure Worksheet as follows:

For each payday that falls within 70 90 days from the date the execution levy was served
on you, YOU MUST calculate the amount of earnings to be retained by completing steps
3 through 11 on page 2, and enter the amounts on the Earnings Disclosure Worksheet.
UPON REQUEST, THE EMPLOYER MUST PROVIDE THE DEBTOR WITH
INFORMATION AS TO HOW THE CALCULATIONS REQUIRED BY THIS
DISCLOSURE WERE MADE.

Each payday, you must retain the amount of earnings listed in column I on the Earnings

Disclosure Worksheet.

Sec. 12. 17
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You must pay the attached earnings and return this Earnings Disclosure Form and the

Earnings Disclosure Worksheet to the judgment creditor's attorney and deliver a copy

to the judgment debtor within ten days after the last payday that falls within the 70-day

90-day period.

If the judgment is wholly satisfied or if the judgment debtor's employment ends before

the expiration of the 70-day 90 day period, your disclosure and remittance should be

made within ten days after the last payday for which earnings were attached.

For steps 3 through 11, "columns" refers to columns on the Earnings Disclosure Worksheet.

3. COLUMN A.
4. COLUMN B.
5. COLUMN C.
6. COLUMN D.
7. COLUMN E.
8. COLUMN F.
9. COLUMN G.
10. COLUMN H.
11. COLUMN L.

Sec. 12.

Enter the date of judgment debtor's payday.
Enter judgment debtor's gross earnings for each payday.

Enter judgment debtor's disposable earnings for each
payday.

Enter 25 percent of disposable earnings. (Multiply
Column C by .25.)

Enter here the greater of 40 times $9.50 or 40 times the
hourly federal minimum wage (§.......) times the number
of work weeks included in each payday. (Note: If a pay
period includes days in excess of whole work weeks,
the additional days should be counted as a fraction of a
work week equal to the number of workdays in excess
of a whole work week divided by the number of
workdays in a normal work week.)

Subtract the amount in Column E from the amount in
Column C, and enter here.

Enter here the lesser of the amount in Column D and
the amount in Column F.

Enter here any amount claimed by you as a setoff,
defense, lien, or claim, or any amount claimed by any
other person as an exemption or adverse interest which
would reduce the amount of earnings owing to the
judgment debtor. (Note: Any indebtedness to you
incurred within ten days prior to your receipt of the first
execution levy on a debt may not be set off against the
earnings otherwise subject to this levy. Any wage
assignment made by the judgment debtor within ten
days prior to your receipt of the first execution levy on
a debt is void.)

You must also describe your claim(s) and the claims of
others, if known, in the space provided below the
worksheet and state the name(s) and address(es) of these
persons.

Enter zero in Column H if there are no claims by you
or others which would reduce the amount of earnings
owing to the judgment debtor.

Subtract the amount in Column H from the amount in
Column G and enter here. This is the amount of earnings

18
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that you must retain for the payday for which the
calculations were made. The total of all amounts entered
in Column I is the amount to be remitted to the attorney
for the judgment creditor.

AFFIRMATION

| SR (person signing Affirmation), am the third party/employer or I am

authorized by the third party/employer to complete this earnings disclosure, and have done

so truthfully and to the best of my knowledge.

A

Payday Date

25% of
Column C

Sec. 12.

Telephone Number

EARNINGS DISCLOSURE WORKSHEET

Fed. Min. Wage

19

Judgment Debtor's Name
B C
Gross Earnings Disposable

Earnings

S e, S e,
E F
Greater of 40 x Column C minus
$9.50 or 40 X Column E
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Lesser of Setoff, Lien, Column G minus
Column D and Adverse Interest, Column H
Column F or Other Claims

*If you entered any amount in Column H for any payday(s), you must describe below
either your claims, or the claims of others. For amounts claimed by others, you must both

state the names and addresses of these persons, and the nature of their claim, if known.

AFFIRMATION

| AT (person signing Affirmation), am the third party or I am authorized by the
third party to complete this earnings disclosure worksheet, and have done so truthfully and

to the best of my knowledge.

Sec. 12. 20
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Dated: ..ooieiie e e (c0) reerree e

Signature Phone Number

Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 551.06, subdivision 10, is amended to read:

Subd. 10. Notice of levy on earnings, disclosure, and worksheet for child support
judgment. The attorney for the judgment creditor shall serve upon the judgment debtor's
employer a notice of levy on earnings and an execution earnings disclosure form and an
earnings disclosure worksheet with the writ of execution, that must be substantially in the

form set forth below.

STATE OF MINNESOTA DISTRICT COURT
COUNTY OF ooiiiiiviieieieeeee e, JUDICIAL DISTRICT
FILE NO. .........

........................................... (Judgment Creditor)

against NOTICE OF LEVY ON
EARNINGS AND DISCLOSURE

........................................... (Judgment Debtor)

and

........................................... (Third Party)

PLEASE TAKE NOTICE that pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, sections 551.04 and
551.06, the undersigned, as attorney for the judgment creditor, hereby makes demand and
levies execution upon all earnings due and owing by you (up to $10,000) to the judgment
debtor for the amount of the judgment specified below. A copy of the writ of execution

issued by the court is enclosed. The unpaid judgment balance is $.....

This levy attaches all unpaid nonexempt disposable earnings owing or to be owed by
you and earned or to be earned by the judgment debtor before and within the pay period in
which the writ of execution is served and within all subsequent pay periods whose paydays

occur within the 70 90 days after the service of this levy.

In responding to this levy, you are to complete the attached disclosure form and worksheet
and mail it to the undersigned attorney for the judgment creditor, together with your check
payable to the above-named judgment creditor, for the nonexempt amount owed by you to
the judgment debtor or for which you are obligated to the judgment debtor, within the time

limits set forth in the aforementioned statutes.

Sec. 13. 21
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Phone Number

DISCLOSURE
DEFINITIONS

"EARNINGS": For the purpose of execution, "earnings" means compensation paid or
payable to an employee for personal services or compensation paid or payable to the producer
for the sale of agricultural products; milk or milk products; or fruit or other horticultural
products produced when the producer is operating a family farm, a family farm corporation,
or an authorized farm corporation, as defined in section 500.24, subdivision 2, whether
denominated as wages, salary, commission, bonus, or otherwise, and includes periodic
payments pursuant to a pension or retirement, workers' compensation, or unemployment

benefits.

"DISPOSABLE EARNINGS": Means that part of the earnings of an individual remaining
after the deduction from those earnings of amounts required by law to be withheld. (Amounts
required by law to be withheld do not include items such as health insurance, charitable

contributions, or other voluntary wage deductions.)

"PAYDAY": For the purpose of execution, "payday(s)" means the date(s) upon which
the employer pays earnings to the debtor in the ordinary course of business. If the judgment

debtor has no regular payday, payday(s) means the 15th and the last day of each month.
THE THIRD PARTY/EMPLOYER MUST ANSWER THE FOLLOWING QUESTION:

(1) Do you now owe, or within 70 90 days from the date the execution levy was served

on you, will you or may you owe money to the judgment debtor for earnings?

INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING THE
EARNINGS DISCLOSURE

A. If your answer to question 1 1s "No," then you must sign the affirmation below and
return this disclosure to the judgment creditor's attorney within 20 days after it was served

on you, and you do not need to answer the remaining questions.

B. If your answer to question 1 is "Yes," you must complete this form and the Earnings

Disclosure Worksheet as follows:

Sec. 13. 22
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For each payday that falls within 70 90 days from the date the execution levy was served
on you, YOU MUST calculate the amount of earnings to be retained by completing steps
2 through 8 on page 2, and enter the amounts on the Earnings Disclosure Worksheet.
UPON REQUEST, THE EMPLOYER MUST PROVIDE THE DEBTOR WITH
INFORMATION AS TO HOW THE CALCULATIONS REQUIRED BY THIS
DISCLOSURE WERE MADE.

Each payday, you must retain the amount of earnings listed in column G on the Earnings

Disclosure Worksheet.

You must pay the attached earnings and return this earnings disclosure form and the
Earnings Disclosure Worksheet to the judgment creditor's attorney and deliver a copy
of the disclosure and worksheet to the judgment debtor within ten days after the last
payday that falls within the 70-day 90-day period. If the judgment is wholly satisfied or
if the judgment debtor's employment ends before the expiration of the 70-day 90-day
period, your disclosure and remittance should be made within ten days after the last

payday for which earnings were attached.

For steps 2 through 8, "columns" refers to columns on the Earnings Disclosure Worksheet.
(2) COLUMN A. Enter the date of judgment debtor's payday.

(3) COLUMN B. Enter judgment debtor's gross earnings for each payday.

(4) COLUMN C. Enter judgment debtor's disposable earnings for each payday.

(5) COLUMN D. Enter either 50, 55, 60, or 65 percent of disposable earnings, based

on which of the following descriptions fits the child support judgment debtor:

(a) 50 percent of the judgment debtor's disposable income, if the judgment debtor is
supporting a spouse or dependent child and the judgment is 12 weeks old or less (12 weeks

to be calculated to the beginning of the work week in which the execution levy is received);

(b) 55 percent of the judgment debtor's disposable income, if the judgment debtor is
supporting a spouse or dependent child, and the judgment is over 12 weeks old (12 weeks

to be calculated to the beginning of the work week in which the execution levy is received);

(c) 60 percent of the judgment debtor's disposable income, if the judgment debtor is not
supporting a spouse or dependent child and the judgment is 12 weeks old or less (12 weeks
to be calculated to the beginning of the work week in which the execution levy is received);

or

Sec. 13. 23
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(d) 65 percent of the judgment debtor's disposable income, if the judgment debtor is not
supporting a spouse or dependent child, and the judgment is over 12 weeks old (12 weeks
to be calculated to the beginning of the work week in which the execution levy is received).

(Multiply column C by .50, .55, .60, or .65, as appropriate.)

(6) COLUMN E. Enter here any amount claimed by you as a setoff, defense, lien, or
claim, or any amount claimed by any other person as an exemption or adverse interest that
would reduce the amount of earnings owing to the judgment debtor. (Note: Any indebtedness
to you incurred within ten days prior to your receipt of the first execution levy on a debt
may not be set off against the earnings otherwise subject to this levy. Any wage assignment
made by the judgment debtor within ten days prior to your receipt of the first execution levy

on a debt is void.)

You must also describe your claim(s) and the claims of others, if known, in the space

provided below the worksheet and state the name(s) and address(es) of these persons.

Enter zero in column E if there are no claims by you or others that would reduce the

amount of earnings owing to the judgment debtor.

(7) COLUMN F. Subtract the amount in column E from the amount in column D and
enter here. This is the amount of earnings that you must remit for the payday for which the

calculations were made.
AFFIRMATION

| IS (person signing Affirmation), am the third party/employer or I am
authorized by the third party/employer to complete this earnings disclosure, and have done

so truthfully and to the best of my knowledge.

EARNINGS DISCLOSURE WORKSHEET e

Debtor's Name

A B C

Payday Date Gross Earnings Disposable
Earnings

Lo, S S

Sec. 13. 24
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Either 50, 55, 60, or Setoff, Lien, Column D minus
65% of Column C Adverse Interest, Column E
or Other Claims

*If you entered any amount in column E for any payday(s), you must describe below
either your claims, or the claims of others. For amounts claimed by others, you must both

state the names and addresses of such persons, and the nature of their claim, if known.

AFFIRMATION

| (SR (person signing Affirmation), am the third party or I am authorized by the
third party to complete this earnings disclosure worksheet, and have done so truthfully and

to the best of my knowledge.

Sec. 13. 25
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Title Phone Number

Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 551.06, subdivision 12, is amended to read:

Subd. 12. Third-party disclosure and remittance obligation. If there are no attachable
earnings, the third party shall serve the execution earnings disclosure form upon the attorney
for the judgment creditor within 20 days after service of the writ of execution. However, if
the judgment debtor has attachable earnings, the third party shall serve the execution earnings
disclosure form upon both the attorney for the judgment creditor and the judgment debtor
and remit to the attorney for the judgment creditor the attached earnings within ten days of
the last payday to occur within the 70 90 days after the date of the service of the writ of
execution. If the judgment is wholly satisfied or if the judgment debtor's employment ends
before the expiration of the 70-day 90-day period, the disclosure and remittance should be
made within ten days after the last payday for which earnings were attached. The amount
of the third party's execution earnings disclosure form and remittance need not exceed 100
percent of the amount of the judgment creditor's judgment that remains unpaid, after
subtracting the total of setoffs, defenses, exemption, or other adverse interests. If the
disclosure is by a corporation, it shall be made by an officer or an authorized agent having

knowledge of the facts."

Page 8, line 8, after the second "the" insert "greater of $9.50 per hour or the"

Page 9, line 10, after "here" insert "the greater of 40 times $9.50 or"

Page 10, line 27, strike "40 X Min. Wage" and insert "Greater of 40 X $ 9.50 or 40 X

Fed. Min. Wage"

Page 19, delete section 9 and insert:

"Sec. 23. EFFECTIVE DATE.

Sections 1 to 22 are effective August 1, 2021, and apply to all earnings garnished or

levied, or all attorney's summary executions upon earnings on or after that date."

Renumber the sections in sequence and correct the internal references

Amend the title accordingly

Sec. 23. 26
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