Continuing Care April 13, 2017 10:04 AM
House Language UES0800-2

78.23

78.24

ARTICLE 2

CONTINUING CARE

116.1	ARTICLE 3
116.2	CONTINUING CARE
116.3	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144.0724, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
116.4	Subd. 4. Resident assessment schedule. (a) A facility must conduct and electronically
116.5	submit to the commissioner of health MDS assessments that conform with the assessment
116.6	schedule defined by Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, section 483.20, and published
116.7	by the United States Department of Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and
116.8	Medicaid Services, in the Long Term Care Assessment Instrument User's Manual, version
116.9	3.0, and subsequent updates when issued by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services. The commissioner of health may substitute successor manuals or question and answer
116.10	
	Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, to replace or supplement the current version
	of the manual or document.
110.15	of the mandar of document.
116.14	(b) The assessments used to determine a case mix classification for reimbursement
116.15	
110.10	and the test of the second sec
116.16	(1) a new admission assessment;
116.17	(2) an annual assessment which must have an assessment reference date (ARD) within
	92 days of the previous assessment and the previous comprehensive assessment;
110.10	y = unju of the provided abbedoment und une provided comprehensive abbedoment,
116.19	(3) a significant change in status assessment must be completed within 14 days of the
116.20	identification of a significant change, whether improvement or decline, and regardless of
116.21	the amount of time since the last significant change in status assessment;
116.22	(4) all quarterly assessments must have an assessment reference date (ARD) within 92
116.23	
116.24	(5) any significant correction to a prior comprehensive assessment, if the assessment
116.25	being corrected is the current one being used for RUG classification; and
116.26	(6) any significant correction to a prior quarterly assessment, if the assessment being
	corrected is the current one being used for RUG classification.
116.28	(c) In addition to the assessments listed in paragraph (b), the assessments used to
116.29	1 0 1 7

Senate Language S0800-3

House Language UES0800-2

April 13, 2017 10:04 AM

Senate	Language	S0800-3
--------	----------	---------

1 1 0.00	(1) producting completed under section 2003 /c, subdivisions /u to /c, of
116.31	the Senior LinkAge Line or other organization under contract with the Minnesota Board on
116.32	Aging; and
117.1	(2) a nursing facility level of care determination as provided for under section 256B.0911
117.2	subdivision 4e, as part of a face-to-face long-term care consultation assessment completed
117.3	under section 256B.0911, by a county, tribe, or managed care organization under contract
117.4	with the Department of Human Services.

(1) preadmission screening completed under section 256 975, subdivisions 7a to 7c, by

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144.0724, subdivision 6, is amended to read:

116 30

- 117.6 Subd. 6. **Penalties for late or nonsubmission.** (a) A facility that fails to complete or submit an assessment according to subdivisions 4 and 5 for a RUG-IV classification within seven days of the time requirements listed in the Long-Term Care Facility Resident Assessment Instrument User's Manual is subject to a reduced rate for that resident. The 117.10 reduced rate shall be the lowest rate for that facility. The reduced rate is effective on the 117.11 day of admission for new admission assessments, on the ARD for significant change in 117.12 status assessments, or on the day that the assessment was due for all other assessments and 117.13 continues in effect until the first day of the month following the date of submission and 117.14 acceptance of the resident's assessment.
- 117.15 (b) If loss of revenue due to penalties incurred by a facility for any period of 92 days 117.16 are equal to or greater than 1.0 0.1 percent of the total operating costs on the facility's most recent annual statistical and cost report, a facility may apply to the commissioner of human services for a reduction in the total penalty amount. The commissioner of human services, 117.19 in consultation with the commissioner of health, may, at the sole discretion of the 117.20 commissioner of human services, limit the penalty for residents covered by medical assistance 117.21 to 15 ten days.
- 117.22 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment.

8 2.5	Section 1	Minnesota	Statutes 201	6 section	144 0724	subdivision	6 is a	mended to	read:

- 78.26 Subd. 6. **Penalties for late or nonsubmission.** (a) A facility that fails to complete or 78.27 submit an assessment according to subdivisions 4 and 5 for a RUG-IV classification within seven days of the time requirements listed in the Long-Term Care Facility Resident Assessment Instrument User's Manual is subject to a reduced rate for that resident. The reduced rate shall be the lowest rate for that facility. The reduced rate is effective on the day of admission for new admission assessments, on the ARD for significant change in status assessments, or on the day that the assessment was due for all other assessments and continues in effect until the first day of the month following the date of submission and acceptance of the resident's assessment.
- 79.4 (b) If loss of revenue due to penalties incurred by a facility for any period of 92 days are equal to or greater than 1.0 0.1 percent of the total operating costs on the facility's most recent annual statistical and cost report, a facility may apply to the commissioner of human services for a reduction in the total penalty amount. The commissioner of human services, in consultation with the commissioner of health, may, at the sole discretion of the commissioner of human services, limit the penalty for residents covered by medical assistance 79.9 79.10 to 15 ten days.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment. 79.11

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144.562, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

79.13	Subd. 2. Eligibility for license condition. (a) A hospital is not eligible to receive a
79.14	license condition for swing beds unless (1) it either has a licensed bed capacity of less than
79.15	50 beds defined in the federal Medicare regulations, Code of Federal Regulations, title 42,
79.16	section 482.66, or it has a licensed bed capacity of 50 beds or more and has swing beds that
79.17	were approved for Medicare reimbursement before May 1, 1985, or it has a licensed bed
79.18	capacity of less than 65 beds and the available nursing homes within 50 miles have had, in
79.19	the aggregate, an average occupancy rate of 96 percent or higher in the most recent two
79.20	years as documented on the statistical reports to the Department of Health; and (2) it is
79.21	located in a rural area as defined in the federal Medicare regulations, Code of Federal
70.22	Descriptions title 42 section 402 ((

Regulations, title 42, section 482.66.

117.24	Subd. 4d. Consolidation of nursing facilities. (a) The commissioner of health, in
117.25	consultation with the commissioner of human services, may approve a request for
117.26	consolidation of nursing facilities which includes the closure of one or more facilities and
117.27	the upgrading of the physical plant of the remaining nursing facility or facilities, the costs
117.28	of which exceed the threshold project limit under subdivision 2, clause (a). The
117.29	commissioners shall consider the criteria in this section, section 144A.073, and section
117.30	256B.437 256R.40, in approving or rejecting a consolidation proposal. In the event the
117.31	commissioners approve the request, the commissioner of human services shall calculate ar
117.32	external fixed costs rate adjustment according to clauses (1) to (3):

(b) Except for those critical access hospitals established under section 144.1483, clause (9), and section 1820 of the federal Social Security Act, United States Code, title 42, section 1395i-4, that have an attached nursing home or that owned a nursing home located in the same municipality as of May 1, 2005, eligible hospitals are allowed a total of 2,000 days of swing bed use per year. Critical access hospitals that have an attached nursing home or that owned a nursing home located in the same municipality as of May 1, 2005, are allowed swing bed use as provided in federal law.

House Language UES0800-2

- 79.30 (c) Except for critical access hospitals that have an attached nursing home or that owned
 79.31 a nursing home located in the same municipality as of May 1, 2005, the commissioner of
 79.32 health may approve swing bed use beyond 2,000 days as long as there are no Medicare
 79.33 certified skilled nursing facility beds available within 25 miles of that hospital that are
 79.34 willing to admit the patient and the patient agrees to the referral being sent to the skilled
 80.1 nursing facility. Critical access hospitals exceeding 2,000 swing bed days must maintain
 80.2 documentation that they have contacted skilled nursing facilities within 25 miles to determine
 80.3 if any skilled nursing facility beds are available that are willing to admit the patient and the
 80.4 patient agrees to the referral being sent to the skilled nursing facility.
- 80.5 (d) After reaching 2,000 days of swing bed use in a year, an eligible hospital to which
 80.6 this limit applies may admit six additional patients to swing beds each year without seeking
 80.7 approval from the commissioner or being in violation of this subdivision. These six swing
 80.8 bed admissions are exempt from the limit of 2,000 annual swing bed days for hospitals
 80.9 subject to this limit.
- 80.10 (e) A health care system that is in full compliance with this subdivision may allocate its total limit of swing bed days among the hospitals within the system, provided that no hospital in the system without an attached nursing home may exceed 2,000 swing bed days per year.

THE FOLLOWING SECTION IS FROM HOUSE ARTICLE 9.

318.23 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.071, subdivision 4d, is amended to read:

318.24	Subd. 4d. Consolidation of nursing facilities. (a) The commissioner of health, in
318.25	consultation with the commissioner of human services, may approve a request for
318.26	consolidation of nursing facilities which includes the closure of one or more facilities and
318.27	the upgrading of the physical plant of the remaining nursing facility or facilities, the costs
318.28	of which exceed the threshold project limit under subdivision 2, clause (a). The
318.29	commissioners shall consider the criteria in this section, section 144A.073, and section
318.30	256B.437 256R.40, in approving or rejecting a consolidation proposal. In the event the
318.31	commissioners approve the request, the commissioner of human services shall calculate an
318.32	external fixed costs rate adjustment according to clauses (1) to (3):

April 13, 2017 10:04 AM

Senate Language S0800-3

118.1 118.2	(1) the closure of beds shall not be eligible for a planned closure rate adjustment under section 256B.437, subdivision 6 256B.40, subdivision 5;
116.2	section 230B.437, subdivision o 230K.40, subdivision 3,
118.3	(2) the construction project permitted in this clause shall not be eligible for a threshold
118.4	project rate adjustment under section 256B.434, subdivision 4f, or a moratorium exception
118.5	adjustment under section 144A.073; and
118.6	(3) the payment rate for external fixed costs for a remaining facility or facilities shall
118.7	be increased by an amount equal to 65 percent of the projected net cost savings to the state
118.8	calculated in paragraph (b), divided by the state's medical assistance percentage of medical
118.9	assistance dollars, and then divided by estimated medical assistance resident days, as
118.10	
	this paragraph. The rate adjustment is effective on the later of the first day of the month following first day of the month of January or July, whichever date occurs first following
	both the completion of the construction upgrades in the consolidation plan or the first day
	of the month following and the complete elosure of a facility closure of the facility or
	facilities designated for closure in the consolidation plan. If more than one facility is receiving
	upgrades in the consolidation plan, each facility's date of construction completion must be
	evaluated separately.
118.18	(b) For purposes of calculating the net cost savings to the state, the commissioner shall
118.19	consider clauses (1) to (7):
118.20	(1) the annual savings from estimated medical assistance payments from the net number
	of beds closed taking into consideration only beds that are in active service on the date of
118.22	the request and that have been in active service for at least three years;
118.23	(2) the estimated annual cost of increased case load of individuals receiving services
	under the elderly waiver;
110.24	under the elderly waiver,
118.25	(3) the estimated annual cost of elderly waiver recipients receiving support under group
	residential housing;
118.27	(4) the estimated annual cost of increased case load of individuals receiving services
118.28	under the alternative care program;
118.29	(5) the annual loss of license surcharge payments on closed beds;
118.30	(6) the savings from not paying planned closure rate adjustments that the facilities would
118.31	otherwise be eligible for under section 256B.437 256R.40; and

Hous	e Lar	iguage	UES	J800 - 2
------	-------	--------	-----	-----------------

319.1 319.2	(1) the closure of beds shall not be eligible for a planned closure rate adjustment under section 256B.437, subdivision 6 256R.40, subdivision 5;
319.3	(2) the construction project permitted in this clause shall not be eligible for a threshold
319.4	project rate adjustment under section 256B.434, subdivision 4f, or a moratorium exception
319.5	adjustment under section 144A.073; and
210.6	(2) the assument acts for external fixed costs for a security of cities as facilities about
319.6 319.7	(3) the payment rate for external fixed costs for a remaining facility or facilities shall be increased by an amount equal to 65 percent of the projected net cost savings to the state
319.8	calculated in paragraph (b), divided by the state's medical assistance percentage of medical
319.9	assistance dollars, and then divided by estimated medical assistance resident days, as
319.10	determined in paragraph (c), of the remaining nursing facility or facilities in the request in
319.11	this paragraph. The rate adjustment is effective on the later of the first day of the month
	following completion of the construction upgrades in the consolidation plan or the first day
319.13	of the month following the complete closure of a facility designated for closure in the
319.14 319.15	consolidation plan. If more than one facility is receiving upgrades in the consolidation plan, each facility's date of construction completion must be evaluated separately.
717.13	cach facility 5 date of construction completion must be evaluated separately.
319.16	(b) For purposes of calculating the net cost savings to the state, the commissioner shall
319.17	consider clauses (1) to (7):
210.10	(1) 4h
319.18	(1) the annual savings from estimated medical assistance payments from the net number of beds closed taking into consideration only beds that are in active service on the date of
	the request and that have been in active service for at least three years;
	the request and that have cook in accept to the reason and of yours,
319.21	(2) the estimated annual cost of increased case load of individuals receiving services
319.22	under the elderly waiver;
319.23	(3) the estimated annual cost of elderly waiver recipients receiving support under group
319.24	residential housing;
319.25	(1) the estimated annual cost of increased accollect of individuals receiving comices
	(4) the estimated annual cost of increased case load of individuals receiving services under the alternative care program;
717.20	under the alternative care program,
319.27	(5) the annual loss of license surcharge payments on closed beds;
319.28	(6) the savings from not paying planned closure rate adjustments that the facilities would
310 20	otherwise be eligible for under section 256R 427 256R 40; and

Senate Language S0800-3

Continuing Care

House Language UES0800-2

		(7) the savings from not paying external fixed costs payment rate adjustments from submission of renovation costs that would otherwise be eligible as threshold projects under section 256B.434, subdivision 4f.
19.6 9 19.7 d 19.8 re	(c) For purposes of the calculation in paragraph (a), clause (3), the estimated medical ssistance resident days of the remaining facility or facilities shall be computed assuming 5 percent occupancy multiplied by the historical percentage of medical assistance resident ays of the remaining facility or facilities, as reported on the facility's or facilities' most 320.4 excent nursing facility statistical and cost report filed before the plan of closure is submitted, 320.5 multiplied by 365.	95 percent occupancy multiplied by the historical percentage of medical assistance resident days of the remaining facility or facilities, as reported on the facility's or facilities' most recent nursing facility statistical and cost report filed before the plan of closure is submitted,
19.12 st		percentages will be those reported on the facility's or facilities' most recent nursing facility
19.15 19.16 tl	(e) To qualify for the external fixed costs payment rate adjustment under this subdivision, ne closing facilities shall: 320.1	(e) To qualify for the external fixed costs payment rate adjustment under this subdivision, the closing facilities shall:
19.17 19.18 <u>2</u>	(1) submit an application for closure according to section 256B.437, subdivision 3 56R.40, subdivision 2; and	(1) submit an application for closure according to section 256B.437, subdivision 3 256R.40, subdivision 2; and
19.19	(2) follow the resident relocation provisions of section 144A.161.	(2) follow the resident relocation provisions of section 144A.161.
19.22 fr	rom the date of the approval of the proposed consolidation. The applicant shall notify the	(f) The county or counties in which a facility or facilities are closed under this subdivision shall not be eligible for designation as a hardship area under subdivision 3 for five years from the date of the approval of the proposed consolidation. The applicant shall notify the county of this limitation and the county shall acknowledge this in a letter of support.
19.24 19.25 <u>1</u>	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for consolidations occurring after July , 2017.	

THE FOLLOWING SECTIONS ARE FROM HOUSE ARTICLE 2.

80.13	Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.74, is amended to read:
80.14	144A.74 MAXIMUM CHARGES.
00.15	A
80.15	A supplemental nursing services agency must not bill or receive payments from a nursing
80.16	home licensed under this chapter at a rate higher than 150 percent of the sum of the weighted
80.17	average wage rate, plus a factor determined by the commissioner to incorporate payroll
80.18	taxes as defined in Minnesota Rules, part 9549,0020, subpart 33 section 256R 02, subdivision

Senate Language S0800-3

119.26 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256.975, subdivision 7, is amended to read:

Subd. 7. Consumer information and assistance and long-term care options 119.27 119.28 **counseling; Senior LinkAge Line.** (a) The Minnesota Board on Aging shall operate a 119.29 statewide service to aid older Minnesotans and their families in making informed choices 119.30 about long-term care options and health care benefits. Language services to persons with 119.31 limited English language skills may be made available. The service, known as Senior 119.32 LinkAge Line, shall serve older adults as the designated Aging and Disability Resource 119.33 Center under United States Code, title 42, section 3001, the Older Americans Act Amendments of 2006 in partnership with the Disability Linkage Line under section 256.01, subdivision 24, and must be available during business hours through a statewide toll-free number and the Internet. The Minnesota Board on Aging shall consult with, and when appropriate work through, the area agencies on aging counties, and other entities that serve aging and disabled populations of all ages, to provide and maintain the telephone infrastructure and related support for the Aging and Disability Resource Center partners which agree by memorandum to access the infrastructure, including the designated providers of the Senior LinkAge Line and the Disability Linkage Line. 120.9 (b) The service must provide long-term care options counseling by assisting older adults, 120.10 caregivers, and providers in accessing information and options counseling about choices in

120.11 long-term care services that are purchased through private providers or available through

120.12 public options. The service must:

April 13, 2017 10:04 AM

House Language UES0800-2

80.19	$\underline{37}$, for the applicable employee classification for the geographic group to which the nursing
80.20	home is assigned under Minnesota Rules, part 9549.0052. The weighted average wage rates
80.21	must be determined by the commissioner of human services and reported to the commissioner
80.22	of health on an annual basis. Wages are defined as hourly rate of pay and shift differential,
80.23	including weekend shift differential and overtime. Facilities shall provide information
80.24	necessary to determine weighted average wage rates to the commissioner of human services
80.25	in a format requested by the commissioner. The maximum rate must include all charges for
80.26	administrative fees, contract fees, or other special charges in addition to the hourly rates for
80.27	the temporary nursing pool personnel supplied to a nursing home. A nursing home that pays
80.28	for the actual travel and housing costs for supplemental nursing services agency staff working
80.29	at the facility and that pays these costs to the employee, the agency, or another vendor, is
80.30	not violating the limitation on charges described in this section.

80.31 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment.

HOUSE ART. 2, SEC. 4 - SEE SENATE ART. 1, SEC. 2

HOUSE ART. 2, SEC. 5 - SEE SENATE ART. 7, SEC. 34

HOUSE ART. 2, SEC. 6 - SEE SENATE ART. 1, SEC. 3

Senate Language S0800-3

House Language UES0800-2

120.13 (1) develop and provide for regular updating of a comprehensive database that includes

120.14 detailed listings in both consumer- and provider-oriented formats that can provide search 120.15 results down to the neighborhood level; (2) make the database accessible on the Internet and through other telecommunication 120.16 120.17 and media-related tools: (3) link callers to interactive long-term care screening tools and make these tools available 120.18 120.19 through the Internet by integrating the tools with the database; (4) develop community education materials with a focus on planning for long-term care 120.21 and evaluating independent living, housing, and service options; 120.22 (5) conduct an outreach campaign to assist older adults and their caregivers in finding 120.23 information on the Internet and through other means of communication; 120.24 (6) implement a messaging system for overflow callers and respond to these callers by 120.25 the next business day; (7) link callers with county human services and other providers to receive more in-depth 120.27 assistance and consultation related to long-term care options; 120.28 (8) link callers with quality profiles for nursing facilities and other home and 120.29 community-based services providers developed by the commissioners of health and human 120.30 services; 120.31 (9) develop an outreach plan to seniors and their caregivers with a particular focus on 120.32 establishing a clear presence in places that seniors recognize and: (i) place a significant emphasis on improved outreach and service to seniors and their 121.1 caregivers by establishing annual plans by neighborhood, city, and county, as necessary, to address the unique needs of geographic areas in the state where there are dense populations of seniors: 121.4 (ii) establish an efficient workforce management approach and assign community living 121.5 specialist staff and volunteers to geographic areas as well as aging and disability resource center sites so that seniors and their caregivers and professionals recognize the Senior LinkAge Line as the place to call for aging services and information; 121.8 121.9 (iii) recognize the size and complexity of the metropolitan area service system by working 121.10 with metropolitan counties to establish a clear partnership with them, including seeking 121.11 county advice on the establishment of local aging and disabilities resource center sites; and

PAGE R7-A3

(iv) maintain dashboards with metrics that demonstrate how the service is expanding

121.12	(iv) maintain dashooards with metrics that demonstrate now the service is expanding
121.13	and extending or enhancing its outreach efforts in dispersed or hard to reach locations in
121.14	varied population centers;
121.15	(10) incorporate information about the availability of housing options, as well as
121.16	registered housing with services and consumer rights within the MinnesotaHelp.info network
121.17	long-term care database to facilitate consumer comparison of services and costs among
121.17	housing with services establishments and with other in-home services and to support financial
121.19	self-sufficiency as long as possible. Housing with services establishments and their arranged
121.20	
121.21	
	human services shall align the data elements required by section 144G.06, the Uniform
	Consumer Information Guide, and this section to provide consumers standardized information
121.24	1 6
121.25	shall provide the data to the Minnesota Board on Aging for inclusion in the
121.26	MinnesotaHelp.info network long-term care database;
121.27	(11) provide long-term care options counseling. Long-term care options counselors shall:
121.28	(i) for individuals not eligible for case management under a public program or public
121.29	funding source, provide interactive decision support under which consumers, family
121.30	members, or other helpers are supported in their deliberations to determine appropriate
121.31	long-term care choices in the context of the consumer's needs, preferences, values, and
121.31	individual circumstances, including implementing a community support plan;
121.32	individual circumstances, including implementing a community support plan,
100.1	(ii)ida Wah haard adarational information and calletonal amitten materials to
122.1	(ii) provide Web-based educational information and collateral written materials to
122.2	familiarize consumers, family members, or other helpers with the long-term care basics,
122.3	issues to be considered, and the range of options available in the community;
122.4	(iii) provide long-term care futures planning, which means providing assistance to
122.5	individuals who anticipate having long-term care needs to develop a plan for the more
122.6	distant future; and
122.7	(iv) provide expertise in benefits and financing options for long-term care, including
122.8	Medicare, long-term care insurance, tax or employer-based incentives, reverse mortgages,
122.9	private pay options, and ways to access low or no-cost services or benefits through
122.10	volunteer-based or charitable programs;
20	, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
122.11	(12) using risk management and support planning protocols, provide long-term care
122.11	options counseling under clause (13) to current residents of nursing homes deemed
122.12	appropriate for discharge by the commissioner, former residents of nursing homes who
122.14	were discharged to community settings, and older adults who request service after

121.12

122.15	eonsultation with the Senior LinkAge Line under clause (13). The Senior LinkAge Line
122.16	shall also receive referrals from the residents or staff of nursing homes. who meet a profile
122.17	that demonstrates that the consumer is either at risk of readmission to a nursing home or
	hospital, or would benefit from long-term care options counseling to age in place. The Senior
122.19	LinkAge Line shall identify and contact residents or patients deemed appropriate for
	discharge by developing targeting criteria and creating a profile in consultation with the
	commissioner who. The commissioner shall provide designated Senior LinkAge Line contact
	centers with a list of current or former nursing home residents or people discharged from a
122.23	hospital or for whom Medicare home care has ended, that meet the criteria as being
122.24	appropriate for discharge planning long-term care options counseling through a referral via
122.25	a secure Web portal. Senior LinkAge Line shall provide these residents, if they indicate a
122.26	preference to receive long-term care options counseling, with initial assessment and, if
122.27	appropriate, a referral to:
122.28	(i) long-term care consultation services under section 256B.0911;
122.29	(ii) designated care coordinators of contracted entities under section 256B.035 for persons
122.30	who are enrolled in a managed care plan; or
122.31	(iii) the long-term care consultation team for those who are eligible for relocation service
122.32	coordination due to high-risk factors or psychological or physical disability; and
122.33	(13) develop referral protocols and processes that will assist certified health care homes,
122.34	Medicare home care, and hospitals to identify at-risk older adults and determine when to
123.1	refer these individuals to the Senior LinkAge Line for long-term care options counseling
123.2	under this section. The commissioner is directed to work with the commissioner of health
123.3	to develop protocols that would comply with the health care home designation criteria and
123.4	protocols available at the time of hospital discharge or the end of Medicare home care. The
123.5	commissioner shall keep a record of the number of people who choose long-term care
123.6	options counseling as a result of this section.
123.7	(c) Nursing homes shall provide contact information to the Senior LinkAge Line for
123.8	residents identified in paragraph (b), clause (12), to provide long-term care options counseling
123.9	pursuant to paragraph (b), clause (11). The contact information for residents shall include
123.10	all information reasonably necessary to contact residents, including first and last names,
123.11	permanent and temporary addresses, telephone numbers, and e-mail addresses.
123.12	(d) The Senior LinkAge Line shall determine when it is appropriate to refer a consumer
123.13	who receives long-term care options counseling under paragraph (b), clause (12) or (13),
123.14	and who uses an unpaid caregiver to the self-directed caregiver service under subdivision
123.15	<u>12.</u>

Continuing Care	April 13, 2017 10:04 AM
-----------------	-------------------------

Senate Language	S0800-3
-----------------	---------

123.16	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2017.
123.17 123.18	Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256.975, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
123.19	Subd. 12. Self-directed caregiver grants. Beginning on July 1, 2019, the Minnesota
123.20	Board on Aging shall administer self-directed caregiver grants to support at risk family
123.21	caregivers of older adults or others eligible under the Older Americans Act of 1965, United
123.22	States Code, title 42, chapter 35, sections 3001 to 3058ff, to sustain family caregivers in
123.23	the caregivers' roles so older adults can remain at home longer. The board shall give priorit
123.24	to consumers referred under section 256.975, subdivision 7, paragraph (d).
123.25	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2017.

6.28	Sec 7	1256 97551	CAREGIVER SUPPORT PROGRAMS.
0.20	BCC. /.	[430.9133]	CAREGIVER SUITORI I ROGRAMIS.

86.29 86.30 86.31	<u>Subdivision 1.</u> Program goals. It is the goal of all area agencies on aging and caregive support programs to support family caregivers of persons with Alzheimer's disease or other related dementias who are living in the community by:
87.1 87.2	(1) promoting caregiver support programs that serve Minnesotans in their homes and communities; and
87.3	(2) providing, within the limits of available funds, the caregiver support services that
87.4	will enable the family caregiver to access caregiver support programs in the most
87.5	cost-effective and efficient manner.
87.6	Subd. 2. Authority. The Minnesota Board on Aging shall allocate to area agencies on
87.7	aging the state and federal funds which are received for the caregiver support program in a
87.8	manner consistent with federal requirements.
87.9	Subd. 3. Caregiver support services. Funds allocated to an area agency on aging for
87.10	caregiver support services must be used in a manner consistent with the National Family
87.11	Caregiver Support Program to reach family caregivers of persons with Alzheimer's disease
87.12	or related dementias. The funds must be used to provide social, nonmedical,
87.13	community-based services and activities that provide respite for caregivers and social
87.14	interaction for participants.

House Language UES0800-2

123.26 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256B.0911, subdivision 3a, is amended to read:

Subd. 3a. **Assessment and support planning.** (a) Persons requesting assessment, services planning, or other assistance intended to support community-based living, including persons who need assessment in order to determine waiver or alternative care program eligibility, must be visited by a long-term care consultation team within 20 calendar days after the date on which an assessment was requested or recommended. Upon statewide implementation of subdivisions 2b, 2c, and 5, this requirement also applies to an assessment of a person requesting personal care assistance services and home care nursing. The commissioner shall provide at least a 90-day notice to lead agencies prior to the effective date of this requirement. Face-to-face assessments must be conducted according to paragraphs (b) to (i).

- 124.4 (b) Upon implementation of subdivisions 2b, 2c, and 5, lead agencies shall use certified 124.5 assessors to conduct the assessment. For a person with complex health care needs, a public 124.6 health or registered nurse from the team must be consulted.
- 124.7 (c) The MnCHOICES assessment provided by the commissioner to lead agencies must
 124.8 be used to complete a comprehensive, person-centered assessment. The assessment must
 124.9 include the health, psychological, functional, environmental, and social needs of the
 124.10 individual necessary to develop a community support plan that meets the individual's needs
 124.11 and preferences.
- (d) The assessment must be conducted in a face-to-face interview with the person being assessed and the person's legal representative. At the request of the person, other individuals may participate in the assessment to provide information on the needs, strengths, and preferences of the person necessary to develop a community support plan that ensures the person's health and safety. Except for legal representatives or family members invited by the person, persons participating in the assessment may not be a provider of service or have

HOUSE ART. 2, SEC. 8 - SEE SENATE ART. 1
HOUSE ART. 2, SEC. 9 - SEE SENATE ART. 1
HOUSE ART. 2, SEC. 10 - SEE SENATE ART. 1
HOUSE ART. 2, SEC. 11 - SEE SENATE ART. 1
HOUSE ART. 2, SEC. 12 - SEE SENATE ART. 1
HOUSE ART. 2, SEC. 13 - SEE SENATE ART. 1
HOUSE ART. 2, SEC. 14 - SEE SENATE ART. 1

124.18	any financial interest in the provision of services. For persons who are to be assessed for
124.19	
124.20	permission of the person being assessed or the person's designated or legal representative,
124.21	the client's current or proposed provider of services may submit a copy of the provider's
124.22	nursing assessment or written report outlining its recommendations regarding the client's
124.23	care needs. The person conducting the assessment must notify the provider of the date by
124.24	
124.25	conducting the assessment prior to the assessment. For a person who is to be assessed for
124.26	waiver services under section 256B.092 or 256B.49, with the permission of the person being
124.27	assessed or the person's designated legal representative, the person's current provider of
124.28	services may submit a written report outlining recommendations regarding the person's care
124.29	needs prepared by a direct service employee with at least 20 hours of service to that client.
124.30	The person conducting the assessment or reassessment must notify the provider of the date
124.31	by which this information is to be submitted. This information shall be provided to the
124.32	person conducting the assessment and the person or the person's legal representative, and
124.33	must be considered prior to the finalization of the assessment or reassessment.
125.1	(e) The person or the person's legal representative must be provided with a written
125.2	community support plan within 40 calendar days of the assessment visit, regardless of
125.3	whether the individual is eligible for Minnesota health care programs.
125.4	(f) For a person being assessed for elderly waiver services under section 256B.0915, a
125.5	provider who submitted information under paragraph (d) shall receive a copy of the
125.6	assessment, the final written community support plan when available, the case mix level,
125.7	and the Residential Services Workbook.
125.8	(g) The written community support plan must include:
	<u></u>
125.9	(1) a summary of assessed needs as defined in paragraphs (c) and (d);
120.7	(1) a summary of assessed needs as defined in paragraphs (e) and (a),
125.10	(2) the individual's options and choices to meet identified needs, including all available
125.10	options for case management services and providers;
123.11	options for ease management services and providers,
125.12	(2) identification of health and sofety risks and how those risks will be addressed
125.12	(3) identification of health and safety risks and how those risks will be addressed,
123.13	including personal risk management strategies;
105.14	(4) (
125.14	(4) referral information; and
125.15	(5) informal caregiver supports, if applicable.

Senate Language S0800-3

125.16	For a person determined eligible for state plan home care under subdivision 1a, paragraph
125.17	
125.18	care service plan developed by the certified assessor.
125.19	(f) (h) A person may request assistance in identifying community supports without
125.20	participating in a complete assessment. Upon a request for assistance identifying community
125.21	support, the person must be transferred or referred to long-term care options counseling
125.22	services available under sections 256.975, subdivision 7, and 256.01, subdivision 24, for
125.23	telephone assistance and follow up.
125.24	(g) (i) The person has the right to make the final decision between institutional placement
125.25	and community placement after the recommendations have been provided, except as provided
125.26	
125.27	(h) (j) The lead agency must give the person receiving assessment or support planning,
125.28	or the person's legal representative, materials, and forms supplied by the commissioner
125.29	containing the following information:
125.30	(1) written recommendations for community-based services and consumer-directed
125.31	•
126.1	(2) documentation that the most cost-effective alternatives available were offered to the
126.2	individual. For purposes of this clause, "cost-effective" means community services and
126.3	living arrangements that cost the same as or less than institutional care. For an individual
126.4	found to meet eligibility criteria for home and community-based service programs under
126.5	section 256B.0915 or 256B.49, "cost-effectiveness" has the meaning found in the federally
126.6	approved waiver plan for each program;
126.7	(3) the need for and purpose of preadmission screening conducted by long-term care
126.8	options counselors according to section 256.975, subdivisions 7a to 7c, if the person selects
126.9	nursing facility placement. If the individual selects nursing facility placement, the lead
126.10	agency shall forward information needed to complete the level of care determinations and
126.11	screening for developmental disability and mental illness collected during the assessment
126.12	to the long-term care options counselor using forms provided by the commissioner;
126.13	(4) the role of long-term care consultation assessment and support planning in eligibility
126.14	determination for waiver and alternative care programs, and state plan home care, case
126.15	management, and other services as defined in subdivision 1a, paragraphs (a), clause (6),
126.16	and (b);
126.17	(5) information about Minnesota health care programs;

Senate Language S0800-3 House Language UES0800-2

126.18	(6) the person's freedom to accept or reject the recommendations of the team;
126.19	(7) the person's right to confidentiality under the Minnesota Government Data Practices
	Act, chapter 13;
	•
126.21	(8) the certified assessor's decision regarding the person's need for institutional level of
126.22	care as determined under criteria established in subdivision 4e and the certified assessor's
126.23 126.24	decision regarding eligibility for all services and programs as defined in subdivision 1a, paragraphs (a), clause (6), and (b); and
120.24	paragraphs (a), clause (b), and (b), and
126.25	(9) the person's right to appeal the certified assessor's decision regarding eligibility for
126.26	all services and programs as defined in subdivision 1a, paragraphs (a), clauses (6), (7), and
126.27	(8), and (b), and incorporating the decision regarding the need for institutional level of care
126.28	or the lead agency's final decisions regarding public programs eligibility according to section
126.29	256.045, subdivision 3.
126.30	(i) (k) Face-to-face assessment completed as part of eligibility determination for the
126.30	alternative care, elderly waiver, community access for disability inclusion, community
126.32	alternative care, and brain injury waiver programs under sections 256B.0913, 256B.0915,
127.1	and 256B.49 is valid to establish service eligibility for no more than 60 calendar days after
127.2	the date of assessment.
127.3	$\frac{(i)}{(1)}$ The effective eligibility start date for programs in paragraph $\frac{(i)(\underline{k})}{(1)}$ can never be
127.4	prior to the date of assessment. If an assessment was completed more than 60 days before
127.5 127.6	the effective waiver or alternative care program eligibility start date, assessment and support plan information must be updated and documented in the department's Medicaid Management
127.7	Information System (MMIS). Notwithstanding retroactive medical assistance coverage of
127.8	
127.8 127.9	state plan services, the effective date of eligibility for programs included in paragraph (i) (k) cannot be prior to the date the most recent updated assessment is completed.
	state plan services, the effective date of eligibility for programs included in paragraph (i) (k) cannot be prior to the date the most recent updated assessment is completed.
127.9 127.10	state plan services, the effective date of eligibility for programs included in paragraph (i) (k) cannot be prior to the date the most recent updated assessment is completed. (m) If an eligibility update is completed within 90 days of the previous face-to-face
127.9 127.10 127.11	state plan services, the effective date of eligibility for programs included in paragraph (i) (k) cannot be prior to the date the most recent updated assessment is completed. (m) If an eligibility update is completed within 90 days of the previous face-to-face assessment and documented in the department's Medicaid Management Information System
127.9 127.10 127.11 127.12	state plan services, the effective date of eligibility for programs included in paragraph (i) (k) cannot be prior to the date the most recent updated assessment is completed. (m) If an eligibility update is completed within 90 days of the previous face-to-face assessment and documented in the department's Medicaid Management Information System (MMIS), the effective date of eligibility for programs included in paragraph (k) is the date
127.9 127.10 127.11	state plan services, the effective date of eligibility for programs included in paragraph (i) (k) cannot be prior to the date the most recent updated assessment is completed. (m) If an eligibility update is completed within 90 days of the previous face-to-face assessment and documented in the department's Medicaid Management Information System
127.9 127.10 127.11 127.12 127.13	state plan services, the effective date of eligibility for programs included in paragraph (i) (k) cannot be prior to the date the most recent updated assessment is completed. (m) If an eligibility update is completed within 90 days of the previous face-to-face assessment and documented in the department's Medicaid Management Information System (MMIS), the effective date of eligibility for programs included in paragraph (k) is the date
127.9 127.10 127.11 127.12 127.13	state plan services, the effective date of eligibility for programs included in paragraph (i) (k) cannot be prior to the date the most recent updated assessment is completed. (m) If an eligibility update is completed within 90 days of the previous face-to-face assessment and documented in the department's Medicaid Management Information System (MMIS), the effective date of eligibility for programs included in paragraph (k) is the date of the previous face-to-face assessment when all other eligibility requirements are met. Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256B.0915, subdivision 3a, is amended to read:
127.9 127.10 127.11 127.12 127.13 127.14	state plan services, the effective date of eligibility for programs included in paragraph (i) (k) cannot be prior to the date the most recent updated assessment is completed. (m) If an eligibility update is completed within 90 days of the previous face-to-face assessment and documented in the department's Medicaid Management Information System (MMIS), the effective date of eligibility for programs included in paragraph (k) is the date of the previous face-to-face assessment when all other eligibility requirements are met. Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256B.0915, subdivision 3a, is amended to read: Subd. 3a. Elderly waiver cost limits. (a) Effective on the first day of the state fiscal
127.9 127.10 127.11 127.12 127.13 127.14 127.15 127.16	state plan services, the effective date of eligibility for programs included in paragraph (i) (k) cannot be prior to the date the most recent updated assessment is completed. (m) If an eligibility update is completed within 90 days of the previous face-to-face assessment and documented in the department's Medicaid Management Information System (MMIS), the effective date of eligibility for programs included in paragraph (k) is the date of the previous face-to-face assessment when all other eligibility requirements are met. Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256B.0915, subdivision 3a, is amended to read: Subd. 3a. Elderly waiver cost limits. (a) Effective on the first day of the state fiscal year in which the resident assessment system as described in section 256B.438 256R.17 for
127.9 127.10 127.11 127.12 127.13 127.14 127.15 127.16 127.17	state plan services, the effective date of eligibility for programs included in paragraph (i) (k) cannot be prior to the date the most recent updated assessment is completed. (m) If an eligibility update is completed within 90 days of the previous face-to-face assessment and documented in the department's Medicaid Management Information System (MMIS), the effective date of eligibility for programs included in paragraph (k) is the date of the previous face-to-face assessment when all other eligibility requirements are met. Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256B.0915, subdivision 3a, is amended to read: Subd. 3a. Elderly waiver cost limits. (a) Effective on the first day of the state fiscal year in which the resident assessment system as described in section 256B.438 256R.17 for nursing home rate determination is implemented and the first day of each subsequent state
127.9 127.10 127.11 127.12 127.13 127.14 127.15 127.16 127.17 127.18	state plan services, the effective date of eligibility for programs included in paragraph (i) (k) cannot be prior to the date the most recent updated assessment is completed. (m) If an eligibility update is completed within 90 days of the previous face-to-face assessment and documented in the department's Medicaid Management Information System (MMIS), the effective date of eligibility for programs included in paragraph (k) is the date of the previous face-to-face assessment when all other eligibility requirements are met. Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256B.0915, subdivision 3a, is amended to read: Subd. 3a. Elderly waiver cost limits. (a) Effective on the first day of the state fiscal year in which the resident assessment system as described in section 256B.438 256R.17 for

PAGE R14-A3 REVISOR FULL-TEXT SIDE-BY-SIDE

Senate Language S0800-3 House Language UES0800-2

127.20 would be assigned under Minnesota Rules, parts 9549.0051 to 9549.0059, in effect on the 127.21 last day of the previous state fiscal year, adjusted by any legislatively adopted home and 127.22 community-based services percentage rate adjustment. If a legislatively authorized increase 127.23 is service-specific, the monthly cost limit shall be adjusted based on the overall average increase to the elderly waiver program. 127.24 (b) The monthly limit for the cost of waivered services under paragraph (a) to an 127.25 127.26 individual elderly waiver client assigned to a case mix classification A with: 127.27 (1) no dependencies in activities of daily living; or (2) up to two dependencies in bathing, dressing, grooming, walking, and eating when 127.28 127.29 the dependency score in eating is three or greater as determined by an assessment performed under section 256B.0911 shall be \$1,750 per month effective on July 1, 2011, for all new participants enrolled in the program on or after July 1, 2011. This monthly limit shall be 127.32 applied to all other participants who meet this criteria at reassessment. This monthly limit 127.33 shall be increased annually as described in paragraphs (a) and (e). 128.1 (c) If extended medical supplies and equipment or environmental modifications are or will be purchased for an elderly waiver client, the costs may be prorated for up to 12 consecutive months beginning with the month of purchase. If the monthly cost of a recipient's waivered services exceeds the monthly limit established in paragraph (a), (b), (d), or (e), the annual cost of all waivered services shall be determined. In this event, the annual cost of all waivered services shall not exceed 12 times the monthly limit of waivered services as described in paragraph (a), (b), (d), or (e). 128.8 (d) Effective July 1, 2013, the monthly cost limit of waiver services, including any necessary home care services described in section 256B.0651, subdivision 2, for individuals 128.10 who meet the criteria as ventilator-dependent given in section 256B.0651, subdivision 1, paragraph (g), shall be the average of the monthly medical assistance amount established 128.12 for home care services as described in section 256B.0652, subdivision 7, and the annual 128.13 average contracted amount established by the commissioner for nursing facility services 128.14 for ventilator-dependent individuals. This monthly limit shall be increased annually as 128.15 described in paragraphs (a) and (e). 128.16 (e) Effective July 1, 2016 January 1, 2018, and each July January 1 thereafter, the monthly 128.17 cost limits for elderly waiver services in effect on the previous June 30 December 31 shall 128.18 be increased by the difference between any legislatively adopted home and community-based 128.19 provider rate increases effective on July January 1 or since the previous July January 1 and 128.20 the average statewide percentage increase in nursing facility operating payment rates under 128.21 sections 256B.431, 256B.434, and 256B.441 chapter 256R, effective the previous January 128.22 1. This paragraph shall only apply if the average statewide percentage increase in nursing

128.23 facility operating payment rates is greater than any legislatively adopted home and

PAGE R15-A3 REVISOR FULL-TEXT SIDE-BY-SIDE

Continuing Ca

House Language UES0800-2

Senate Language S0800-3

128.24 community-based provider rate increases effective on <u>July January</u> 1, or occurring since 128.25 the previous July January 1.

128.26 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256B.0915, subdivision 3e, is amended to read:

- Subd. 3e. **Customized living service rate.** (a) Payment for customized living services shall be a monthly rate authorized by the lead agency within the parameters established by the commissioner. The payment agreement must delineate the amount of each component service included in the recipient's customized living service plan. The lead agency, with input from the provider of customized living services, shall ensure that there is a documented need within the parameters established by the commissioner for all component customized living services authorized.
- 129.1 (b) The payment rate must be based on the amount of component services to be provided 129.2 utilizing component rates established by the commissioner. Counties and tribes shall use 129.3 tools issued by the commissioner to develop and document customized living service plans 129.4 and rates.
- 129.5 (c) Component service rates must not exceed payment rates for comparable elderly 129.6 waiver or medical assistance services and must reflect economies of scale. Customized 129.7 living services must not include rent or raw food costs.
- (d) With the exception of individuals described in subdivision 3a, paragraph (b), the individualized monthly authorized payment for the customized living service plan shall not exceed 50 percent of the greater of either the statewide or any of the geographic groups' weighted average monthly nursing facility rate of the case mix resident class to which the elderly waiver eligible client would be assigned under Minnesota Rules, parts 9549.0051 to 9549.0059, less the maintenance needs allowance as described in subdivision 1d, paragraph (a). Effective On July 1 of the state fiscal each year in which the resident assessment system as described in section 256B.438 for nursing home rate determination is implemented and July 1 of each subsequent state fiscal year, the individualized monthly authorized payment for the services described in this clause shall not exceed the limit which was in effect on June 30 of the previous state fiscal year updated annually based on legislatively adopted changes to all service rate maximums for home and community-based service providers.
- (e) For rates effective on or after January 1, 2022, the elderly waiver payment for customized living services includes a cognitive and behavioral needs factor equal to an additional 15 percent applied to the component service rates for a client:

THE FOLLOWING SECTION IS FROM HOUSE ARTICLE 9.

324.31 Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256B.0915, subdivision 3e, is amended to read:

- Subd. 3e. **Customized living service rate.** (a) Payment for customized living services shall be a monthly rate authorized by the lead agency within the parameters established by the commissioner. The payment agreement must delineate the amount of each component service included in the recipient's customized living service plan. The lead agency, with input from the provider of customized living services, shall ensure that there is a documented need within the parameters established by the commissioner for all component customized living services authorized.

 (b) The payment rate must be based on the amount of component services to be provided
- 325.7 utilizing component rates established by the commissioner. Counties and tribes shall use
 325.8 tools issued by the commissioner to develop and document customized living service plans
 325.9 and rates.
- 325.10 (c) Component service rates must not exceed payment rates for comparable elderly 325.11 waiver or medical assistance services and must reflect economies of scale. Customized 325.12 living services must not include rent or raw food costs.
- (d) With the exception of individuals described in subdivision 3a, paragraph (b), the individualized monthly authorized payment for the customized living service plan shall not exceed 50 percent of the greater of either the statewide or any of the geographic groups' weighted average monthly nursing facility rate of the case mix resident class to which the elderly waiver eligible client would be assigned under Minnesota Rules, parts 9549.0051 to 9549.0059, less the maintenance needs allowance as described in subdivision 1d, paragraph (a). Effective on July 1 of the state fiscal year in which the resident assessment system as described in section 256B.438 256R.17 for nursing home rate determination is implemented and July 1 of each subsequent state fiscal year, the individualized monthly authorized payment for the services described in this clause shall not exceed the limit which was in effect on June 30 of the previous state fiscal year updated annually based on legislatively adopted changes to all service rate maximums for home and community-based service

325.25 providers.

April 13, 2017 10:04 AM

April 13, 2017 10:04 AM

Senate Language S0800-3

129.23 129.24	(1) for whom the total monthly hours for customized living services divided by 30.4 is less than 3.62; and
129.25 129.26	(2) is determined, based on responses to questions 45 and 51 of the Minnesota long-term care consultation assessment form, to have either:
129.27	(i) wandering or orientation issues; or
129.28	(ii) anxiety, verbal aggression, physical aggression, repetitive behavior, agitation,
129.29	self-injurious behavior, or behavior related to property destruction.
129.30	(e) Effective July 1, 2011; (f) The individualized monthly payment for the customized
	living service plan for individuals described in subdivision 3a, paragraph (b), must be the
	monthly authorized payment limit for customized living for individuals classified as case
	mix A, reduced by 25 percent. This rate limit must be applied to all new participants enrolled
130.1	in the program on or after July 1, 2011, who meet the criteria described in subdivision 3a,
130.2 130.3	paragraph (b). This monthly limit also applies to all other participants who meet the criteria described in subdivision 3a, paragraph (b), at reassessment.
130.3	described in subdivision 5a, paragraph (6), at reassessment.
130.4	(f) (g) Customized living services are delivered by a provider licensed by the Department
130.5	of Health as a class A or class F home care provider and provided in a building that is
130.6	registered as a housing with services establishment under chapter 144D. Licensed home
130.7	care providers are subject to section 256B.0651, subdivision 14.
130.8	(g) (h) A provider may not bill or otherwise charge an elderly waiver participant or their
130.9	family for additional units of any allowable component service beyond those available under
130.10	the service rate limits described in paragraph (d) (e), nor for additional units of any allowable
130.11	component service beyond those approved in the service plan by the lead agency.
130.12	(h) (i) Effective July 1, 2016 January 1, 2018, and each July January 1 thereafter,
	individualized service rate limits for customized living services under this subdivision shall
	be increased by the difference between any legislatively adopted home and community-based
	provider rate increases effective on July January 1 or since the previous July January 1 and
	the average statewide percentage increase in nursing facility operating payment rates under sections 256B.431, and 256B.434, and 256B.441 chapter 256R, effective the previous
	January 1. This paragraph shall only apply if the average statewide percentage increase in
	nursing facility operating payment rates is greater than any legislatively adopted home and
130.20	community-based provider rate increases effective on July January 1, or occurring since
130.21	the previous July January 1.

130.22 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256B.0915, subdivision 3h, is amended to read:

325.26	(e) Effective July 1, 2011, the individualized monthly payment for the customized living
325.27	service plan for individuals described in subdivision 3a, paragraph (b), must be the monthly
325.28	authorized payment limit for customized living for individuals classified as case mix A,
325.29	reduced by 25 percent. This rate limit must be applied to all new participants enrolled in
325.30	the program on or after July 1, 2011, who meet the criteria described in subdivision 3a,
325.31	paragraph (b). This monthly limit also applies to all other participants who meet the criteria
325.32	described in subdivision 3a, paragraph (b), at reassessment.
325.33	(f) Customized living services are delivered by a provider licensed by the Department
325.34	of Health as a class A or class F home care provider and provided in a building that is
326.1	registered as a housing with services establishment under chapter 144D. Licensed home
326.2	care providers are subject to section 256B.0651, subdivision 14.
326.3	(g) A provider may not bill or otherwise charge an elderly waiver participant or their
326.4	family for additional units of any allowable component service beyond those available under
326.5	the service rate limits described in paragraph (d), nor for additional units of any allowable
326.6	component service beyond those approved in the service plan by the lead agency.
326.7	(h) Effective July 1, 2016, and each July 1 thereafter, individualized service rate limits
326.8	for customized living services under this subdivision shall be increased by the difference
326.9	between any legislatively adopted home and community-based provider rate increases
326.10	effective on July 1 or since the previous July 1 and the average statewide percentage increase
326.11	in nursing facility operating payment rates under sections 256B.431, 256B.434, and 256B.441
326.12	chapter 256R, effective the previous January 1. This paragraph shall only apply if the average
326.13	statewide percentage increase in nursing facility operating payment rates is greater than any
	legislatively adopted home and community-based provider rate increases effective on July
326.15	1, or occurring since the previous July 1.

THE FOLLOWING SECTIONS ARE FROM HOUSE ARTICLE 2.

130.23	Subd. 3h. Service rate limits; 24-hour customized living services. (a) The payment
130.24	rate for 24-hour customized living services is a monthly rate authorized by the lead agency
130.25	within the parameters established by the commissioner of human services. The payment
130.26	agreement must delineate the amount of each component service included in each recipient's
130.27	customized living service plan. The lead agency, with input from the provider of customized
130.28	living services, shall ensure that there is a documented need within the parameters established
130.29	by the commissioner for all component customized living services authorized. The lead
130.30	agency shall not authorize 24-hour customized living services unless there is a documented
130.31	need for 24-hour supervision.
130.32	(b) For purposes of this section, "24-hour supervision" means that the recipient requires
130.33	assistance due to needs related to one or more of the following:
	·
131.1	(1) intermittent assistance with toileting, positioning, or transferring;
	(-)
131.2	(2) cognitive or behavioral issues;
131.2	(2) 008111110 01 001111 1550005,
131.3	(3) a medical condition that requires clinical monitoring; or
131.3	(3) a medical condition that requires chinical monitoring, or
121.4	(4) for all and anticipants and all other
131.4	(4) for all new participants enrolled in the program on or after July 1, 2011, and all other
131.5	participants at their first reassessment after July 1, 2011, dependency in at least three of the
131.6	following activities of daily living as determined by assessment under section 256B.0911:
131.7	bathing; dressing; grooming; walking; or eating when the dependency score in eating is
131.8	three or greater; and needs medication management and at least 50 hours of service per
131.9	month. The lead agency shall ensure that the frequency and mode of supervision of the
131.10	recipient and the qualifications of staff providing supervision are described and meet the
131.11	needs of the recipient.
	() The second of the second o
131.12	(c) The payment rate for 24-hour customized living services must be based on the amount
131.13	of component services to be provided utilizing component rates established by the
131.14	commissioner. Counties and tribes will use tools issued by the commissioner to develop
131.15	and document customized living plans and authorize rates.
131.16	(d) Component service rates must not exceed payment rates for comparable elderly
131.17	waiver or medical assistance services and must reflect economies of scale.
131.18	(e) The individually authorized 24-hour customized living payments, in combination
131.19	with the payment for other elderly waiver services, including case management, must not
131.20	exceed the recipient's community budget cap specified in subdivision 3a. Customized living
131.21	services must not include rent or raw food costs.

Senate Language S0800-3

131.22	(f) The individually authorized 24-hour customized living payment rates shall not exceed
131.23	the 95 percentile of statewide monthly authorizations for 24-hour customized living services
131.24	in effect and in the Medicaid management information systems on March 31, 2009, for each
131.25	case mix resident class under Minnesota Rules, parts 9549.0051 to 9549.0059, to which
131.26	elderly waiver service clients are assigned. When there are fewer than 50 authorizations in
131.27	effect in the case mix resident class, the commissioner shall multiply the calculated service
131.28	payment rate maximum for the A classification by the standard weight for that classification
131.29	under Minnesota Rules, parts 9549.0051 to 9549.0059, to determine the applicable payment
131.30	rate maximum. Service payment rate maximums shall be updated annually based on
131.31	legislatively adopted changes to all service rates for home and community-based service
131.32	providers.
132.1	(g) Notwithstanding the requirements of paragraphs (d) and (f), the commissioner may
132.2	establish alternative payment rate systems for 24-hour customized living services in housing
132.3	with services establishments which are freestanding buildings with a capacity of 16 or fewer,
132.4	by applying a single hourly rate for covered component services provided in either:
102	sy upprymg a single nearly take for each component services provided in clinicia
132.5	(1) licensed corporate adult foster homes; or
132.3	(1) necessed corporate addit foster nomes, or
132.6	(2) specialized dementia care units which meet the requirements of section 144D.065
132.7	and in which:
122.0	
132.8	(i) each resident is offered the option of having their own apartment; or
132.9	(ii) the units are licensed as board and lodge establishments with maximum capacity of
132.10	eight residents, and which meet the requirements of Minnesota Rules, part 9555.6205,
132.11	subparts 1, 2, 3, and 4, item A.
132.12	(h) Twenty-four-hour customized living services are delivered by a provider licensed
132.13	by the Department of Health as a class A or class F home care provider and provided in a
132.14	
132.15	Licensed home care providers are subject to section 256B.0651, subdivision 14.
132.16	(i) A provider may not bill or otherwise charge an elderly waiver participant or their
132.17	family for additional units of any allowable component service beyond those available under
132.18	the service rate limits described in paragraph (e), nor for additional units of any allowable
132.19	
132.20	(j) Effective July 1, 2016 January 1, 2018, and each July January 1 thereafter,
132.21	individualized service rate limits for 24-hour customized living services under this
132.22	subdivision shall be increased by the difference between any legislatively adopted home
132.23	and community-based provider rate increases effective on July January 1 or since the previous
	, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Senate Language S0800-3

32.24	rand the average statewide percentage increase in nursing facinity operating
32.25	payment rates under sections 256B.431, 256B.434, and 256B.441 chapter 256R, effective
32.26	the previous January 1. This paragraph shall only apply if the average statewide percentage
32.27	increase in nursing facility operating payment rates is greater than any legislatively adopted
32.28	home and community-based provider rate increases effective on July January 1, or occurring
32.29	since the previous July January 1.
	, <u> </u>
32.30	Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256B.0915, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
32.31	Subd. 5. Assessments and reassessments for waiver clients. (a) Each client shall
32.32	receive an initial assessment of strengths, informal supports, and need for services in
32.33	accordance with section 256B.0911, subdivisions 3, 3a, and 3b. A reassessment of a client
33.1	served under the elderly waiver must be conducted at least every 12 months and at other
33.2	times when the ease manager determines that there has been significant change in the client's
33.3	functioning. This may include instances where the client is discharged from the hospital.
33.4	There must be a determination that the client requires nursing facility level of care as defined
33.5	in section 256B.0911, subdivision 4e, at initial and subsequent assessments to initiate and
33.6	maintain participation in the waiver program.
33.7	(b) Regardless of other assessments identified in section 144.0724, subdivision 4, as
33.8	appropriate to determine nursing facility level of care for purposes of medical assistance
33.9	payment for nursing facility services, only face-to-face assessments conducted according
33.10	to section 256B.0911, subdivisions 3a and 3b, that result in a nursing facility level of care
33.11	determination will be accepted for purposes of initial and ongoing access to waiver service
33.12	payment.
33.12	puyment.
33.13	(c) The lead agency shall conduct a change-in-condition reassessment before the annual
33.14	reassessment in cases where a client's condition changed due to a major health event, an
33.14	emerging need or risk, worsening health condition, or cases where the current services do
33.16	not meet the client's needs. A change-in-condition reassessment may be initiated by the lead
33.17	agency, or it may be requested by the client or requested on the client's behalf by another
33.17	party, such as a provider of services. The lead agency shall complete a change-in-condition
33.19	
	reassessment no later than 20 calendar days from the request. The lead agency shall conduct
33.20	these assessments in a timely manner and expedite urgent requests. The lead agency shall
33.21	evaluate urgent requests based on the client's needs and risk to the client if a reassessment
33.22	is not completed.
	0. 11 M
	Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256B.0915, is amended by adding a subdivision
33.24	to read:
33.25	Subd. 11. Payment rates; application. The payment methodologies in subdivisions 12
33.26	
22 27	alternative care under section 256B 0013 essential community supports under section

133.28	256B.0922, and community access for disability inclusion customized living, brain injury
133.29	customized living, and elderly waiver foster care and residential care.
	·
133.30	Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256B.0915, is amended by adding a subdivision
	to read:
133.32	Subd. 12. Payment rates; phase-in. (a) Effective January 1, 2019, through December
133.33	31, 2020, all rates and rate components for services under subdivision 11 shall be the sum
134.1	of 12 percent of the rates calculated under subdivisions 13 to 16 and 88 percent of the rates
134.2	calculated using the rate methodology in effect as of June 30, 2017.
	entential ability and that intentional of the of the of the office of th
134.3	(b) Effective January 1, 2021, all rates and rate components for services under subdivision
134.4	11 shall be the sum of 20 percent of the rates calculated under subdivisions 13 to 16 and 80
134.5	percent of the rates calculated using the rate methodology in effect as of June 30, 2017.
134.3	percent of the rates calculated using the rate methodology in effect as of Julie 30, 2017.
1246	Con 12 Minnesoto Statuto 2016 antique 256D 0015 in amondo de addinar antidicione
134.6 134.7	Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256B.0915, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
134./	to read.
134.8	Subd. 13. Payment rates; establishment. (a) The commissioner shall use standard
134.9	occupational classification (SOC) codes from the Bureau of Labor Statistics as defined in
134.10	the most recent edition of the Occupational Handbook and data from the most recent and
134.11	available nursing facility cost report, to establish rates and component rates every January
134.12	1 using Minnesota-specific wages taken from job descriptions.
134.13	(b) In creating the rates and component rates, the commissioner shall establish a base
134.14	wage calculation for each component service and value, and add the following factors:
134.15	(1) payroll taxes and benefits;
134.16	(2) general and administrative;
134.17	(3) program plan support;
	<u> </u>
134.18	(4) registered nurse management and supervision; and
15 1.10	(1) 105 to 10 manuagement and supervision, and
134.19	(5) social worker supervision
134.19	(5) social worker supervision.
10155	0 14 M
134.20	Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256B.0915, is amended by adding a subdivision

134.21 to read:

Senate Language S0800-3

134.22	Subd. 14. Payment rates; base wage index. (a) Base wages are calculated for customized
134.23	living, foster care, and residential care component services as follows:
134.24	(1) the home management and support services base wage equals 33.33 percent of the
134.25	
134.26	
134.27	MN-WI MetroSA average wage for food preparation workers (SOC code 35-2021); and
134.28	
134.29	for maids and housekeeping cleaners (SOC code 37-2012);
134.30	(2) the home care aide base wage equals 50 percent of the Minneapolis-St.
134.31 135.1	Paul-Bloomington, MN-WI MetroSA average wage for home health aides (SOC code 31-1011); and 50 percent of the Minneapolis-St. Paul-Bloomington, MN-WI MetroSA
135.1	average wage for nursing assistants (SOC code 31-1014);
133.2	average wage for nursing assistants (SOC code 31-1014),
135.3	(3) the home health aide base wage equals 20 percent of the Minneapolis-St.
135.4	Paul-Bloomington, MN-WI MetroSA average wage for licensed practical and licensed
135.5	vocational nurses (SOC code 29-2061); and 80 percent of the Minneapolis-St.
135.6	Paul-Bloomington, MN-WI MetroSA average wage for nursing assistants (SOC code
135.7	31-1014); and
135.8	(4) the medication setups by licensed practical nurse base wage equals ten percent of
135.9	the Minneapolis-St. Paul-Bloomington, MN-WI MetroSA average wage for licensed practical
135.10	//
135.11 135.12	Paul-Bloomington, MN-WI MetroSA average wage for registered nurses (SOC code 29-1141).
133.12	<u> 27-11+1).</u>
135.13	(b) Base wages are calculated for the following services as follows:
150.15	(0) 2400 114800 410 4110 11410 11410 11410 11410 11510 1151
135.14	(1) the chore services base wage equals 100 percent of the Minneapolis-St.
135.15	
135.16	workers (SOC code 37-3011);
135.17	(2) the companion services base wage equals 50 percent of the Minneapolis-St.
135.18	Paul-Bloomington, MN-WI MetroSA average wage for personal and home care aides (SOC
135.19	code 39-9021); and 50 percent of the Minneapolis-St. Paul-Bloomington, MN-WI MetroSA
135.20	average wage for maids and housekeeping cleaners (SOC code 37-2012);
135.21	(3) the homemaker services and assistance with personal care base wage equals 60
135.21	
135.22	
135.24	

135.25	31-1014); and 20 percent of the Minneapolis-St. Paul-Bloomington, MN-WI MetroSA
135.26	average wage for maids and housekeeping cleaners (SOC code 37-2012);
135.27	(4) the homemaker services and cleaning base wage equals 60 percent of the
135.28	Minneapolis-St. Paul-Bloomington, MN-WI MetroSA average wage for personal and home
135.29	care aide (SOC code 39-9021); 20 percent of the Minneapolis-St. Paul-Bloomington, MN-WI
135.30	MetroSA average wage for nursing assistants (SOC code 31-1014); and 20 percent of the
135.31	Minneapolis-St. Paul-Bloomington, MN-WI MetroSA average wage for maids and
135.32	housekeeping cleaners (SOC code 37-2012);
136.1	(5) the homemaker services and home management base wage equals 60 percent of the
136.2	Minneapolis-St. Paul-Bloomington, MN-WI MetroSA average wage for personal and home
136.3	care aide (SOC code 39-9021); 20 percent of the Minneapolis-St. Paul-Bloomington, MN-WI
136.4	MetroSA average wage for nursing assistants (SOC code 31-1014); and 20 percent of the
136.5	Minneapolis-St. Paul-Bloomington, MN-WI MetroSA average wage for maids and
136.6	housekeeping cleaners (SOC code 37-2012);
136.7	(6) the in-home respite care services base wage equals five percent of the Minneapolis-St.
136.8	Paul-Bloomington, MN-WI MetroSA average wage for registered nurses (SOC code
136.9	29-1141); 75 percent of the Minneapolis-St. Paul-Bloomington, MN-WI MetroSA average
136.10	wage for nursing assistants (SOC code 31-1014); and 20 percent of the Minneapolis-St.
136.11	Paul-Bloomington, MN-WI MetroSA average wage for licensed practical and licensed
136.12	vocational nurses (SOC code 29-2061);
136.13	(7) the out-of-home respite care services base wage equals five percent of the
136.13	Minneapolis-St. Paul-Bloomington, MN-WI MetroSA average wage for registered nurses
136.15	(SOC code 29-1141); 75 percent of the Minneapolis-St. Paul-Bloomington, MN-WI MetroSA
136.16	average wage for nursing assistants (SOC code 31-1014); and 20 percent of the
136.17	Minneapolis-St. Paul-Bloomington, MN-WI MetroSA average wage for licensed practical
136.18	and licensed vocational nurses (SOC code 29-2061); and
136.19	(8) the individual community living support base wage equals 20 percent of the
136.20	Minneapolis-St. Paul-Bloomington, MN-WI MetroSA average wage for licensed practical
136.21	and licensed vocational nurses (SOC code 29-2061); and 80 percent of the Minneapolis-St.
136.22	Paul-Bloomington, MN-WI MetroSA average wage for nursing assistants (SOC code
136.23	31-1014).

(c) Base wages are calculated for the following values as follows:

136.24

	(1) the registered nurse base wage equals 100 percent of the Minneapolis-St. Paul-Bloomington, MN-WI MetroSA average wage for registered nurses (SOC code 29-1141); and
136.28 136.29 136.30	(2) the social worker base wage equals 100 percent of the Minneapolis-St. Paul-Bloomington, MN-WI MetroSA average wage for medical and public health social workers (SOC code 21-1022).
136.31 136.32 136.33	(d) If any of the SOC codes and positions are no longer available, the commissioner shall, in consultation with stakeholders, select a new SOC code and position that is the closest match to the previously used SOC position.
137.1 137.2	Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256B.0915, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
137.3	Subd. 15. Payment rates; factors. The commissioner shall use the following factors:
137.4 137.5 137.6	(1) the payroll taxes and benefits factor is the sum of net payroll taxes and benefits divided by the sum of all salaries for all nursing facilities on the most recent and available cost report;
137.7 137.8 137.9	(2) the general and administrative factor is the sum of net general and administrative expenses minus administrative salaries divided by total operating expenses for all nursing facilities on the most recent and available cost report;
137.10 137.11 137.12 137.13	(3) the program plan support factor is defined as the direct service staff needed to provide support for the home and community-based service when not engaged in direct contact with clients. Based on the 2016 Non-Wage Provider Costs in Home and Community-Based Disability Waiver Services Report, this factor equals 12.8 percent;
137.14 137.15	(4) the registered nurse management and supervision factor equals 15 percent of the product of the position's base wage and the sum of the factors in clauses (1) to (3); and
137.16 137.17	(5) the social worker supervision factor equals 15 percent of the product of the position's base wage and the sum of the factors in clauses (1) to (3).
	Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256B.0915, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
137.20 137.21	Subd. 16. Payment rates; component rates. (a) For the purposes of this subdivision, the "adjusted base wage" for a position equals the position's base wage plus:

137.22	(1) the position's base wage multiplied by the payroll taxes and benefits factor;
137.23	(2) the position's base wage multiplied by the general and administrative factor; and
137.24	(3) the position's base wage multiplied by the program plan support factor.
137.25 137.26	(b) For medication setups by licensed nurse, registered nurse, and social worker services, the component rate for each service equals the respective position's adjusted base wage.
137.27 137.28 137.29	(c) For home management and support services, home care aide, and home health aide services, the component rate for each service equals the respective position's adjusted base wage plus the registered nurse management and supervision factor.
137.30 137.31	(d) The home management and support services component rate shall be used for payment for socialization and transportation component rates under elderly waiver customized living.
138.1 138.2	(e) The 15-minute unit rates for chore services and companion services are calculated as follows:
138.3 138.4	(1) sum the adjusted base wage for the respective position and the social worker factor; and
138.5	(2) divide the result of clause (1) by four.
138.6 138.7 138.8	(f) The 15-minute unit rates for homemaker services and assistance with personal care, homemaker services and cleaning, and homemaker services and home management are calculated as follows:
138.9 138.10	(1) sum the adjusted base wage for the respective position and the registered nurse management and supervision factor; and
138.11	(2) divide the result of clause (1) by four.
138.12	(g) The 15-minute unit rate for in-home respite care services is calculated as follows:
138.13 138.14	(1) sum the adjusted base wage for in-home respite care services and the registered nurse management and supervision factor; and
138.15	(2) divide the result of clause (1) by four.

138.16 138.17	(h) The in-home respite care services daily rate equals the in-home respite care services 15-minute unit rate multiplied by 18.
138.18	(i) The 15-minute unit rate for out-of-home respite care is calculated as follows:
138.19 138.20	(1) sum the out-of-home respite care services adjusted base wage and the registered nurse management and supervision factor; and
138.21	(2) divide the result of clause (1) by four.
138.22 138.23	(j) The out-of-home respite care services daily rate equals the out-of-home respite care services 15-minute unit rate multiplied by 18.
138.24	(k) The individual community living support rate is calculated as follows:
138.25 138.26	(1) sum the adjusted base wage for the home care aide rate in subdivision 14, paragraph (a), clause (2), and the social worker factor; and
138.27	(2) divide the result of clause (1) by four.
138.28 138.29 138.30	(1) The home delivered meals rate equals \$9.30. Beginning July 1, 2018, the commissioner shall increase the home delivered meals rate every July 1 by the percent increase in the nursing facility dietary per diem using the two most recent nursing facility cost reports.
139.1 139.2	(m) The adult day services rate is based on the home care aide rate in subdivision 14,
139.3 139.4 139.5 139.6 139.7	paragraph (a), clause (2), plus the additional factors from subdivision 15, except that the general and administrative factor used shall be 20 percent. The nonregistered nurse portion of the rate shall be multiplied by 0.25, to reflect an assumed-ratio staffing of one caregiver to four clients, and divided by four to determine the 15-minute unit rate. The registered nurse portion is divided by four to determine the 15-minute unit rate and \$0.63 per 15-minute unit is added to cover the cost of meals.
139.4 139.5 139.6	general and administrative factor used shall be 20 percent. The nonregistered nurse portion of the rate shall be multiplied by 0.25, to reflect an assumed-ratio staffing of one caregiver to four clients, and divided by four to determine the 15-minute unit rate. The registered nurse portion is divided by four to determine the 15-minute unit rate and \$0.63 per 15-minute

Senate Language S0800-3

	Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256B.0915, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
139.16 139.17	Subd. 17. Evaluation of rate methodology. The commissioner, in consultation with stakeholders, shall conduct a study to evaluate the following:
139.18 139.19 139.20	(1) base wages in subdivision 14, to determine if the standard occupational classification codes for each rate and component rate are an appropriate representation of staff who deliver the services; and
139.21 139.22	(2) factors in subdivision 15, and adjusted base wage calculation in subdivision 16, to determine if the factors and calculations appropriately address nonwage provider costs.
139.23 139.24 139.25 139.26 139.27	By January 1, 2019, the commissioner shall submit a report to the legislature on the changes to the rate methodology in this statute, based on the results of the evaluation. Where feasible, the report shall address the impact of the new rates on the workforce situation and client access to services. The report should include any changes to the rate calculations methods that the commissioner recommends.
139.28 139.29 139.30 139.31 139.32	Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256B.0922, subdivision 1, is amended to read: Subdivision 1. Essential community supports. (a) The purpose of the essential community supports program is to provide targeted services to persons age 65 and older who need essential community support, but whose needs do not meet the level of care required for nursing facility placement under section 144.0724, subdivision 11.
140.1 140.2 140.3	(b) Essential community supports are available not to exceed \$400 \u22086600 per person per month. Essential community supports may be used as authorized within an authorization period not to exceed 12 months. Services must be available to a person who: (1) is age 65 or older;
140.5	(2) is not eligible for medical assistance;
140.6 140.7	(3) has received a community assessment under section 256B.0911, subdivision 3a or 3b, and does not require the level of care provided in a nursing facility;
140.8 140.9	(4) meets the financial eligibility criteria for the alternative care program under section 256B.0913, subdivision 4;
140.10	(5) has a community support plan; and

140.11	(6) has been determined by a community assessment under section 256B.0911, subdivision 3a or 3b, to be a person who would require provision of at least one of the
140.12	following services, as defined in the approved elderly waiver plan, in order to maintain their
	
140.15	(i) adult day services;
140.16	(ii) <u>family</u> caregiver <u>support</u> <u>services</u> ;
140.17	(iii) respite care;
140.18	(iii) (iv) homemaker support;
140.19	(v) companion services;
140.20	(iv) (vi) chores;
140.21	(v) (vii) a personal emergency response device or system;
140.22	(vi) (viii) home-delivered meals; or
140.23	(vii) (ix) community living assistance as defined by the commissioner.
140.24	(c) The person receiving any of the essential community supports in this subdivision
140.25	must also receive service coordination, not to exceed \$600 in a 12-month authorization
140.26	period, as part of their community support plan.
140.27	(d) A person who has been determined to be eligible for essential community supports
140.28	must be reassessed at least annually and continue to meet the criteria in paragraph (b) to
140.29	remain eligible for essential community supports.
141.1	(a) The commission of the desired to the first few deficiency for the few desired committees and the committees of the few desired few desired committees and the committees of the few desired few de
141.1 141.2	(e) The commissioner is authorized to use federal matching funds for essential community supports as necessary and to meet demand for essential community supports as outlined in
141.2	subdivision 2, and that amount of federal funds is appropriated to the commissioner for this
141.4	purpose.
1 11.1	purposo.
141.5	Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256B.431, subdivision 10, is amended to read:
141.6	Subd. 10. Property rate adjustments and construction projects. A nursing facility
141.7	completing a construction project that is eligible for a rate adjustment under section
141.8	256B.434, subdivision 4f, and that was not approved through the moratorium exception

Senate Language S0800-3

141.9	process in section 144A.073 must request from the commissioner a property-related payment
141.10	rate adjustment. If the request is made within 60 days after the construction project's
141.11	eompletion date, The effective date of the rate adjustment is the first of the month of January
141.12	or July, whichever occurs first following both the construction project's completion date
141.13	and submission of the provider's rate adjustment request. If the request is made more than
141.14	60 days after the completion date, the rate adjustment is effective on the first of the month
141.15	following the request. The commissioner shall provide a rate notice reflecting the allowable
141.16	costs within 60 days after receiving all the necessary information to compute the rate
141.17	adjustment. No sooner than the effective date of the rate adjustment for the construction
141.18	project, a nursing facility may adjust its rates by the amount anticipated to be allowed. Any
141.19	amounts collected from private pay residents in excess of the allowable rate must be repaid
141.20	to private pay residents with interest at the rate used by the commissioner of revenue for
141.21	the late payment of taxes and in effect on the date the rate increase is effective. Construction
141.22	projects with completion dates within one year of the completion date associated with the
141.23	property rate adjustment request and phased projects with project completion dates within
141.24	three years of the last phase of the phased project must be aggregated for purposes of the
141.25	minimum thresholds in subdivisions 16 and 17, and the maximum threshold in section
141.26	144A.071, subdivision 2. "Construction project" and "project construction costs" have the
141.27	meanings given them in Minnesota Statutes, section 144A.071, subdivision 1a.
141.28	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for projects completed after January 1,
141.29	2018.
141.30	Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256B.431, subdivision 16, is amended to read:
14131	Subd 16 Major additions and replacements: equity incentive. For rate years beginning
141.31	Subd. 16. Major additions and replacements; equity incentive. For rate years beginning after June 30, 1993, if a pursing facility acquires capital assets in connection with a project
141.32	after June 30, 1993, if a nursing facility acquires capital assets in connection with a project
	after June 30, 1993, if a nursing facility acquires capital assets in connection with a project approved under the moratorium exception process in section 144A.073 or in connection
141.32 141.33	after June 30, 1993, if a nursing facility acquires capital assets in connection with a project approved under the moratorium exception process in section 144A.073 or in connection with an addition to or replacement of buildings, attached fixtures, or land improvements
141.32 141.33 142.1	after June 30, 1993, if a nursing facility acquires capital assets in connection with a project approved under the moratorium exception process in section 144A.073 or in connection
141.32 141.33 142.1 142.2	after June 30, 1993, if a nursing facility acquires capital assets in connection with a project approved under the moratorium exception process in section 144A.073 or in connection with an addition to or replacement of buildings, attached fixtures, or land improvements for which the total historical cost of those capital asset additions exceeds the lesser of
141.32 141.33 142.1 142.2 142.3	after June 30, 1993, if a nursing facility acquires capital assets in connection with a project approved under the moratorium exception process in section 144A.073 or in connection with an addition to or replacement of buildings, attached fixtures, or land improvements for which the total historical cost of those capital asset additions exceeds the lesser of \$150,000 or ten percent of the most recent appraised value, the nursing facility shall be
141.32 141.33 142.1 142.2 142.3 142.4	after June 30, 1993, if a nursing facility acquires capital assets in connection with a project approved under the moratorium exception process in section 144A.073 or in connection with an addition to or replacement of buildings, attached fixtures, or land improvements for which the total historical cost of those capital asset additions exceeds the lesser of \$150,000 or ten percent of the most recent appraised value, the nursing facility shall be eligible for an equity incentive payment rate as in paragraphs (a) to (d). This computation
141.32 141.33 142.1 142.2 142.3 142.4 142.5	after June 30, 1993, if a nursing facility acquires capital assets in connection with a project approved under the moratorium exception process in section 144A.073 or in connection with an addition to or replacement of buildings, attached fixtures, or land improvements for which the total historical cost of those capital asset additions exceeds the lesser of \$150,000 or ten percent of the most recent appraised value, the nursing facility shall be eligible for an equity incentive payment rate as in paragraphs (a) to (d). This computation is separate from the determination of the nursing facility's rental rate. An equity incentive
141.32 141.33 142.1 142.2 142.3 142.4 142.5	after June 30, 1993, if a nursing facility acquires capital assets in connection with a project approved under the moratorium exception process in section 144A.073 or in connection with an addition to or replacement of buildings, attached fixtures, or land improvements for which the total historical cost of those capital asset additions exceeds the lesser of \$150,000 or ten percent of the most recent appraised value, the nursing facility shall be eligible for an equity incentive payment rate as in paragraphs (a) to (d). This computation is separate from the determination of the nursing facility's rental rate. An equity incentive
141.32 141.33 142.1 142.2 142.3 142.4 142.5 142.6	after June 30, 1993, if a nursing facility acquires capital assets in connection with a project approved under the moratorium exception process in section 144A.073 or in connection with an addition to or replacement of buildings, attached fixtures, or land improvements for which the total historical cost of those capital asset additions exceeds the lesser of \$150,000 or ten percent of the most recent appraised value, the nursing facility shall be eligible for an equity incentive payment rate as in paragraphs (a) to (d). This computation is separate from the determination of the nursing facility's rental rate. An equity incentive payment rate as computed under this subdivision is limited to one in a 12-month period.
141.32 141.33 142.1 142.2 142.3 142.4 142.5 142.6	after June 30, 1993, if a nursing facility acquires capital assets in connection with a project approved under the moratorium exception process in section 144A.073 or in connection with an addition to or replacement of buildings, attached fixtures, or land improvements for which the total historical cost of those capital asset additions exceeds the lesser of \$150,000 or ten percent of the most recent appraised value, the nursing facility shall be eligible for an equity incentive payment rate as in paragraphs (a) to (d). This computation is separate from the determination of the nursing facility's rental rate. An equity incentive payment rate as computed under this subdivision is limited to one in a 12-month period. (a) An eligible nursing facility shall receive an equity incentive payment rate equal to
141.32 141.33 142.1 142.2 142.3 142.4 142.5 142.6	after June 30, 1993, if a nursing facility acquires capital assets in connection with a project approved under the moratorium exception process in section 144A.073 or in connection with an addition to or replacement of buildings, attached fixtures, or land improvements for which the total historical cost of those capital asset additions exceeds the lesser of \$150,000 or ten percent of the most recent appraised value, the nursing facility shall be eligible for an equity incentive payment rate as in paragraphs (a) to (d). This computation is separate from the determination of the nursing facility's rental rate. An equity incentive payment rate as computed under this subdivision is limited to one in a 12-month period. (a) An eligible nursing facility shall receive an equity incentive payment rate equal to the allowable historical cost of the capital asset acquired, minus the allowable debt directly identified to that capital asset, multiplied by the equity incentive factor as described in paragraphs (b) and (c), and divided by the nursing facility's occupancy factor under
141.32 141.33 142.1 142.2 142.3 142.4 142.5 142.6 142.7 142.8 142.9	after June 30, 1993, if a nursing facility acquires capital assets in connection with a project approved under the moratorium exception process in section 144A.073 or in connection with an addition to or replacement of buildings, attached fixtures, or land improvements for which the total historical cost of those capital asset additions exceeds the lesser of \$150,000 or ten percent of the most recent appraised value, the nursing facility shall be eligible for an equity incentive payment rate as in paragraphs (a) to (d). This computation is separate from the determination of the nursing facility's rental rate. An equity incentive payment rate as computed under this subdivision is limited to one in a 12-month period. (a) An eligible nursing facility shall receive an equity incentive payment rate equal to the allowable historical cost of the capital asset acquired, minus the allowable debt directly identified to that capital asset, multiplied by the equity incentive factor as described in paragraphs (b) and (c), and divided by the nursing facility's occupancy factor under subdivision 3f, paragraph (c). This amount shall be added to the nursing facility's total
141.32 141.33 142.1 142.2 142.3 142.4 142.5 142.6 142.7 142.8 142.9 142.10	after June 30, 1993, if a nursing facility acquires capital assets in connection with a project approved under the moratorium exception process in section 144A.073 or in connection with an addition to or replacement of buildings, attached fixtures, or land improvements for which the total historical cost of those capital asset additions exceeds the lesser of \$150,000 or ten percent of the most recent appraised value, the nursing facility shall be eligible for an equity incentive payment rate as in paragraphs (a) to (d). This computation is separate from the determination of the nursing facility's rental rate. An equity incentive payment rate as computed under this subdivision is limited to one in a 12-month period. (a) An eligible nursing facility shall receive an equity incentive payment rate equal to the allowable historical cost of the capital asset acquired, minus the allowable debt directly identified to that capital asset, multiplied by the equity incentive factor as described in paragraphs (b) and (c), and divided by the nursing facility's occupancy factor under subdivision 3f, paragraph (c). This amount shall be added to the nursing facility's total payment rate and shall be effective the same day as the incremental increase in paragraph
141.32 141.33 142.1 142.2 142.3 142.4 142.5 142.6 142.7 142.8 142.9 142.10 142.11	after June 30, 1993, if a nursing facility acquires capital assets in connection with a project approved under the moratorium exception process in section 144A.073 or in connection with an addition to or replacement of buildings, attached fixtures, or land improvements for which the total historical cost of those capital asset additions exceeds the lesser of \$150,000 or ten percent of the most recent appraised value, the nursing facility shall be eligible for an equity incentive payment rate as in paragraphs (a) to (d). This computation is separate from the determination of the nursing facility's rental rate. An equity incentive payment rate as computed under this subdivision is limited to one in a 12-month period. (a) An eligible nursing facility shall receive an equity incentive payment rate equal to the allowable historical cost of the capital asset acquired, minus the allowable debt directly identified to that capital asset, multiplied by the equity incentive factor as described in paragraphs (b) and (c), and divided by the nursing facility's occupancy factor under subdivision 3f, paragraph (c). This amount shall be added to the nursing facility's total payment rate and shall be effective the same day as the incremental increase in paragraph (d) or subdivision 17. The allowable historical cost of the capital assets and the allowable
141.32 141.33 142.1 142.2 142.3 142.4 142.5 142.6 142.7 142.8 142.9 142.10 142.11 142.12	after June 30, 1993, if a nursing facility acquires capital assets in connection with a project approved under the moratorium exception process in section 144A.073 or in connection with an addition to or replacement of buildings, attached fixtures, or land improvements for which the total historical cost of those capital asset additions exceeds the lesser of \$150,000 or ten percent of the most recent appraised value, the nursing facility shall be eligible for an equity incentive payment rate as in paragraphs (a) to (d). This computation is separate from the determination of the nursing facility's rental rate. An equity incentive payment rate as computed under this subdivision is limited to one in a 12-month period. (a) An eligible nursing facility shall receive an equity incentive payment rate equal to the allowable historical cost of the capital asset acquired, minus the allowable debt directly identified to that capital asset, multiplied by the equity incentive factor as described in paragraphs (b) and (c), and divided by the nursing facility's occupancy factor under subdivision 3f, paragraph (c). This amount shall be added to the nursing facility's total payment rate and shall be effective the same day as the incremental increase in paragraph

142.16	(b) The equity incentive factor shall be determined under clauses (1) to (4):
142.17 142.18	(1) divide the initial allowable debt in paragraph (a) by the initial historical cost of the capital asset additions referred to in paragraph (a), then cube the quotient,
142.19	(2) subtract the amount calculated in clause (1) from the number one,
142.20	(3) determine the difference between the rental factor and the lesser of two percentage
	points above the posted yield for standard conventional fixed rate mortgages of the Federal
	Home Loan Mortgage Corporation as published in the Wall Street Journal and in effect on
	the first day of the month the debt or cost is incurred, or 16 percent,
142.24	(4) multiply the amount calculated in clause (2) by the amount calculated in clause (3).
142.25	(c) The equity incentive payment rate shall be limited to the term of the allowable debt
142.26	in paragraph (a), not greater than 20 years nor less than ten years. If no debt is incurred in
142.27	
142.28	
	incentive payment rate effective on the date provided in subdivision 14, paragraph (f), for
142.30	the sale.
142.31	(d) A nursing facility with an addition to or a renovation of its buildings, attached fixtures,
142.32	or land improvements meeting the criteria in this subdivision and not receiving the
142.32 142.33	or land improvements meeting the criteria in this subdivision and not receiving the property-related payment rate adjustment in subdivision 17, shall receive the incremental
142.32 142.33 143.1	or land improvements meeting the criteria in this subdivision and not receiving the property-related payment rate adjustment in subdivision 17, shall receive the incremental increase in the nursing facility's rental rate as determined under Minnesota Rules, parts
142.32 142.33 143.1 143.2	or land improvements meeting the criteria in this subdivision and not receiving the property-related payment rate adjustment in subdivision 17, shall receive the incremental increase in the nursing facility's rental rate as determined under Minnesota Rules, parts 9549.0010 to 9549.0080, and this section. The incremental increase shall be added to the
142.32 142.33 143.1 143.2 143.3	or land improvements meeting the criteria in this subdivision and not receiving the property-related payment rate adjustment in subdivision 17, shall receive the incremental increase in the nursing facility's rental rate as determined under Minnesota Rules, parts 9549.0010 to 9549.0080, and this section. The incremental increase shall be added to the nursing facility's property-related payment rate. The effective date of this incremental
142.32 142.33 143.1 143.2	or land improvements meeting the criteria in this subdivision and not receiving the property-related payment rate adjustment in subdivision 17, shall receive the incremental increase in the nursing facility's rental rate as determined under Minnesota Rules, parts 9549.0010 to 9549.0080, and this section. The incremental increase shall be added to the nursing facility's property-related payment rate. The effective date of this incremental increase shall be the first day of the month of January or July, whichever occurs first
142.32 142.33 143.1 143.2 143.3	or land improvements meeting the criteria in this subdivision and not receiving the property-related payment rate adjustment in subdivision 17, shall receive the incremental increase in the nursing facility's rental rate as determined under Minnesota Rules, parts 9549.0010 to 9549.0080, and this section. The incremental increase shall be added to the nursing facility's property-related payment rate. The effective date of this incremental
142.32 142.33 143.1 143.2 143.3 143.4	or land improvements meeting the criteria in this subdivision and not receiving the property-related payment rate adjustment in subdivision 17, shall receive the incremental increase in the nursing facility's rental rate as determined under Minnesota Rules, parts 9549.0010 to 9549.0080, and this section. The incremental increase shall be added to the nursing facility's property-related payment rate. The effective date of this incremental increase shall be the first day of the month of January or July, whichever occurs first
142.32 142.33 143.1 143.2 143.3 143.4 143.5	or land improvements meeting the criteria in this subdivision and not receiving the property-related payment rate adjustment in subdivision 17, shall receive the incremental increase in the nursing facility's rental rate as determined under Minnesota Rules, parts 9549.0010 to 9549.0080, and this section. The incremental increase shall be added to the nursing facility's property-related payment rate. The effective date of this incremental increase shall be the first day of the month of January or July, whichever occurs first following the month in date on which the addition or replacement is completed. EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for additions or replacements completed
142.32 142.33 143.1 143.2 143.3 143.4 143.5	or land improvements meeting the criteria in this subdivision and not receiving the property-related payment rate adjustment in subdivision 17, shall receive the incremental increase in the nursing facility's rental rate as determined under Minnesota Rules, parts 9549.0010 to 9549.0080, and this section. The incremental increase shall be added to the nursing facility's property-related payment rate. The effective date of this incremental increase shall be the first day of the month of January or July, whichever occurs first following the month in date on which the addition or replacement is completed.
142.32 142.33 143.1 143.2 143.3 143.4 143.5	or land improvements meeting the criteria in this subdivision and not receiving the property-related payment rate adjustment in subdivision 17, shall receive the incremental increase in the nursing facility's rental rate as determined under Minnesota Rules, parts 9549.0010 to 9549.0080, and this section. The incremental increase shall be added to the nursing facility's property-related payment rate. The effective date of this incremental increase shall be the first day of the month of January or July, whichever occurs first following the month in date on which the addition or replacement is completed. EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for additions or replacements completed
142.32 142.33 143.1 143.2 143.3 143.4 143.5 143.6 143.7	or land improvements meeting the criteria in this subdivision and not receiving the property-related payment rate adjustment in subdivision 17, shall receive the incremental increase in the nursing facility's rental rate as determined under Minnesota Rules, parts 9549.0010 to 9549.0080, and this section. The incremental increase shall be added to the nursing facility's property-related payment rate. The effective date of this incremental increase shall be the first day of the month of January or July, whichever occurs first following the month in date on which the addition or replacement is completed. EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for additions or replacements completed after January 1, 2018. Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256B.431, subdivision 30, is amended to read:
142.32 142.33 143.1 143.2 143.3 143.4 143.5 143.6 143.7	or land improvements meeting the criteria in this subdivision and not receiving the property-related payment rate adjustment in subdivision 17, shall receive the incremental increase in the nursing facility's rental rate as determined under Minnesota Rules, parts 9549.0010 to 9549.0080, and this section. The incremental increase shall be added to the nursing facility's property-related payment rate. The effective date of this incremental increase shall be the first day of the month of January or July, whichever occurs first following the month in date on which the addition or replacement is completed. EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for additions or replacements completed after January 1, 2018. Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256B.431, subdivision 30, is amended to read: Subd. 30. Bed layaway and delicensure. (a) For rate years beginning on or after July
142.32 142.33 143.1 143.2 143.3 143.4 143.5 143.6 143.7 143.8	or land improvements meeting the criteria in this subdivision and not receiving the property-related payment rate adjustment in subdivision 17, shall receive the incremental increase in the nursing facility's rental rate as determined under Minnesota Rules, parts 9549.0010 to 9549.0080, and this section. The incremental increase shall be added to the nursing facility's property-related payment rate. The effective date of this incremental increase shall be the first day of the month of January or July, whichever occurs first following the month in date on which the addition or replacement is completed. EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for additions or replacements completed after January 1, 2018. Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256B.431, subdivision 30, is amended to read: Subd. 30. Bed layaway and delicensure. (a) For rate years beginning on or after July 1, 2000, a nursing facility reimbursed under this section which has placed beds on layaway
142.32 142.33 143.1 143.2 143.3 143.4 143.5 143.6 143.7 143.8	or land improvements meeting the criteria in this subdivision and not receiving the property-related payment rate adjustment in subdivision 17, shall receive the incremental increase in the nursing facility's rental rate as determined under Minnesota Rules, parts 9549.0010 to 9549.0080, and this section. The incremental increase shall be added to the nursing facility's property-related payment rate. The effective date of this incremental increase shall be the first day of the month of January or July, whichever occurs first following the month in date on which the addition or replacement is completed. EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for additions or replacements completed after January 1, 2018. Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256B.431, subdivision 30, is amended to read: Subd. 30. Bed layaway and delicensure. (a) For rate years beginning on or after July 1, 2000, a nursing facility reimbursed under this section which has placed beds on layaway shall, for purposes of application of the downsizing incentive in subdivision 3a, paragraph
142.32 142.33 143.1 143.2 143.3 143.4 143.5 143.6 143.7 143.8 143.9 143.10 143.11 143.12	or land improvements meeting the criteria in this subdivision and not receiving the property-related payment rate adjustment in subdivision 17, shall receive the incremental increase in the nursing facility's rental rate as determined under Minnesota Rules, parts 9549.0010 to 9549.0080, and this section. The incremental increase shall be added to the nursing facility's property-related payment rate. The effective date of this incremental increase shall be the first day of the month of January or July, whichever occurs first following the month in date on which the addition or replacement is completed. EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for additions or replacements completed after January 1, 2018. Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256B.431, subdivision 30, is amended to read: Subd. 30. Bed layaway and delicensure. (a) For rate years beginning on or after July 1, 2000, a nursing facility reimbursed under this section which has placed beds on layaway shall, for purposes of application of the downsizing incentive in subdivision 3a, paragraph (c), and calculation of the rental per diem, have those beds given the same effect as if the
142.32 142.33 143.1 143.2 143.3 143.4 143.5 143.6 143.7 143.8 143.9 143.10 143.11 143.12	or land improvements meeting the criteria in this subdivision and not receiving the property-related payment rate adjustment in subdivision 17, shall receive the incremental increase in the nursing facility's rental rate as determined under Minnesota Rules, parts 9549.0010 to 9549.0080, and this section. The incremental increase shall be added to the nursing facility's property-related payment rate. The effective date of this incremental increase shall be the first day of the month of January or July, whichever occurs first following the month in date on which the addition or replacement is completed. EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for additions or replacements completed after January 1, 2018. Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256B.431, subdivision 30, is amended to read: Subd. 30. Bed layaway and delicensure. (a) For rate years beginning on or after July 1, 2000, a nursing facility reimbursed under this section which has placed beds on layaway shall, for purposes of application of the downsizing incentive in subdivision 3a, paragraph

92.16 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256B.431, subdivision 30, is amended to read:

Subd. 30. **Bed layaway and delicensure.** (a) For rate years beginning on or after July 1, 2000, a nursing facility reimbursed under this section which has placed beds on layaway shall, for purposes of application of the downsizing incentive in subdivision 3a, paragraph (c), and calculation of the rental per diem, have those beds given the same effect as if the beds had been delicensed so long as the beds remain on layaway. At the time of a layaway, a facility may change its single bed election for use in calculating capacity days under Minnesota Rules, part 9549.0060, subpart 11. The property payment rate increase shall be

are

April 13, 2017 10:04 AM

143.17	effective the first day of the month of January or July, whichever occurs first following the month in date on which the layaway of the beds becomes effective under section 144A.071, subdivision 4b.
143.19 143.20 143.21 143.22	
143.23 143.24	(1) aggregate the applicable investment per bed limits based on the number of beds licensed immediately prior to entering the alternative payment system;
143.25 143.26	(2) retain or change the facility's single bed election for use in calculating capacity days under Minnesota Rules, part 9549.0060, subpart 11; and
143.27 143.28	(3) establish capacity days based on the number of beds immediately prior to the layaway and the number of beds after the layaway.
143.29 143.30 143.31 143.32 143.33 144.1 144.2 144.3	
144.5 144.6 144.7 144.8	(c) If a nursing facility removes a bed from layaway status in accordance with section 144A.071, subdivision 4b, the commissioner shall establish capacity days based on the number of licensed and certified beds in the facility not on layaway and shall reduce the nursing facility's property payment rate in accordance with paragraph (b).
144.11 144.12	(d) For the rate years beginning on or after July 1, 2000, notwithstanding any provision to the contrary under section 256B.434, a nursing facility reimbursed under that section, which that has delicensed beds after July 1, 2000, by giving notice of the delicensure to the commissioner of health according to the notice requirements in section 144A.071, subdivision 4b, shall be allowed to:
144.14 144.15	(1) aggregate the applicable investment per bed limits based on the number of beds licensed immediately prior to entering the alternative payment system;

House	Langua	ge U	ES0	800 - 2

92.24 92.25 92.26	effective the first day of the month of January or July, whichever occurs first following the month date in which the layaway of the beds becomes effective under section 144A.071, subdivision 4b.
92.27 92.28 92.29 92.30	(b) For rate years beginning on or after July 1, 2000, notwithstanding any provision to the contrary under section 256B.434, a nursing facility reimbursed under that section which has placed beds on layaway shall, for so long as the beds remain on layaway, be allowed to:
92.31 92.32	(1) aggregate the applicable investment per bed limits based on the number of beds licensed immediately prior to entering the alternative payment system;
93.1 93.2	(2) retain or change the facility's single bed election for use in calculating capacity days under Minnesota Rules, part 9549.0060, subpart 11; and
93.3 93.4	(3) establish capacity days based on the number of beds immediately prior to the layaway and the number of beds after the layaway.
93.5 93.6 93.7 93.8 93.9 93.10 93.11 93.12 93.13	The commissioner shall increase the facility's property payment rate by the incremental increase in the rental per diem resulting from the recalculation of the facility's rental per diem applying only the changes resulting from the layaway of beds and clauses (1), (2), and (3). If a facility reimbursed under section 256B.434 completes a moratorium exception project after its base year, the base year property rate shall be the moratorium project property rate. The base year rate shall be inflated by the factors in section 256B.434, subdivision 4, paragraph (c). The property payment rate increase shall be effective the first day of the month of January or July, whichever occurs first following the month date in which the layaway of the beds becomes effective.
93.14 93.15 93.16 93.17	(c) If a nursing facility removes a bed from layaway status in accordance with section 144A.071, subdivision 4b, the commissioner shall establish capacity days based on the number of licensed and certified beds in the facility not on layaway and shall reduce the nursing facility's property payment rate in accordance with paragraph (b).
93.18 93.19 93.20 93.21 93.22	(d) For the rate years beginning on or after July 1, 2000, notwithstanding any provision to the contrary under section 256B.434, a nursing facility reimbursed under that section, which has delicensed beds after July 1, 2000, by giving notice of the delicensure to the commissioner of health according to the notice requirements in section 144A.071, subdivision 4b, shall be allowed to:
93.23	(1) aggregate the applicable investment per bed limits based on the number of beds

93.24 licensed immediately prior to entering the alternative payment system;

April 13, 2017 10:04 AM

Senate L	anguage	S0800
----------	---------	-------

144.16	(2) retain or change the facility's single bed election for use in calculating capacity days
144.17	under Minnesota Rules, part 9549.0060, subpart 11; and
144.18	(3) establish capacity days based on the number of beds immediately prior to the
	delicensure and the number of beds after the delicensure.
1	
144.20	The commissioner shall increase the facility's property payment rate by the incremental
	increase in the rental per diem resulting from the recalculation of the facility's rental per
	diem applying only the changes resulting from the delicensure of beds and clauses (1), (2), and (3). If a facility reimbursed under section 256B.434 completes a moratorium exception
	project after its base year, the base year property rate shall be the moratorium project property
	rate. The base year rate shall be inflated by the factors in section 256B.434, subdivision 4,
	paragraph (c). The property payment rate increase shall be effective the first day of the
	month of January or July, whichever occurs first following the month in date on which the
144.28	delicensure of the beds becomes effective.
144.29	(e) For nursing facilities reimbursed under this section or section 256B.434, any beds
144.30	placed on layaway shall not be included in calculating facility occupancy as it pertains to
144.31	leave days defined in Minnesota Rules, part 9505.0415.
145.1	(f) For nursing facilities reimbursed under this section or section 256B.434, the rental
145.2	rate calculated after placing beds on layaway may not be less than the rental rate prior to
145.3	placing beds on layaway.
- 1010	k
145.4	(g) A nursing facility receiving a rate adjustment as a result of this section shall comply
145.5	with section 256B.47, subdivision 2 256R.06, subdivision 5.
143.3	with section 250B.47, subdivision 2 250R.00, subdivision 5.
145 ((h) A facility that does not utilize the space made available as a result of bed layaway
145.6	
145.7	or delicensure under this subdivision to reduce the number of beds per room or provide
145.8	more common space for nursing facility uses or perform other activities related to the
145.9	operation of the nursing facility shall have its property rate increase calculated under this
145.10	subdivision reduced by the ratio of the square footage made available that is not used for
145.11	
145.12	delicensure.
145.13	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for layaways occurring after July 1, 2017.
145.14	Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256B.434, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
145.15	Subd. 4. Alternate rates for nursing facilities. Effective for the rate years beginning
	on and after January 1, 2019, a nursing facility's case mix property payment rates rate for
	the second and subsequent years of a facility's contract under this section are the previous
1 10.17	and second and secondarity search of a facility secondarity and second and previous

H	ouse	Language	UES0800-2
---	------	----------	-----------

93.25 93.26	(2) retain or change the facility's single bed election for use in calculating capacity days under Minnesota Rules, part 9549.0060, subpart 11; and
93.27 93.28	(3) establish capacity days based on the number of beds immediately prior to the delicensure and the number of beds after the delicensure.
93.29 93.30 93.31 93.32 93.33 94.1 94.2 94.3 94.4	The commissioner shall increase the facility's property payment rate by the incremental increase in the rental per diem resulting from the recalculation of the facility's rental per diem applying only the changes resulting from the delicensure of beds and clauses (1), (2), and (3). If a facility reimbursed under section 256B.434 completes a moratorium exception project after its base year, the base year property rate shall be the moratorium project propert rate. The base year rate shall be inflated by the factors in section 256B.434, subdivision 4, paragraph (c). The property payment rate increase shall be effective the first day of the month of January or July, whichever occurs first following the month date in which the delicensure of the beds becomes effective.
94.5 94.6 94.7	(e) For nursing facilities reimbursed under this section or section 256B.434, any beds placed on layaway shall not be included in calculating facility occupancy as it pertains to leave days defined in Minnesota Rules, part 9505.0415.
94.8 94.9 94.10	(f) For nursing facilities reimbursed under this section or section 256B.434, the rental rate calculated after placing beds on layaway may not be less than the rental rate prior to placing beds on layaway.
94.11 94.12	(g) A nursing facility receiving a rate adjustment as a result of this section shall comply with section $\frac{256B.47}{256R.06}$, subdivision $\frac{2}{5}$.
94.13 94.14 94.15 94.16 94.17 94.18 94.19	(h) A facility that does not utilize the space made available as a result of bed layaway or delicensure under this subdivision to reduce the number of beds per room or provide more common space for nursing facility uses or perform other activities related to the operation of the nursing facility shall have its property rate increase calculated under this subdivision reduced by the ratio of the square footage made available that is not used for these purposes to the total square footage made available as a result of bed layaway or delicensure.
94.20	Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256B.434, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
94.21	Subd. 4. Alternate rates for nursing facilities. Effective for the rate years beginning
94.22	on and after January 1, 2018, a nursing facility's ease mix property payment rates rate for
94.23	the second and subsequent years of a facility's contract under this section are the previous

April 13, 2017 10:04 AM

Senate Language S0800-3

145.18	rate year's contract property payment rates rate plus an inflation adjustment and, for facilities
145.19	reimbursed under this section or section 256B.431, an adjustment to include the cost of any
145.20	increase in Health Department licensing fees for the facility taking effect on or after July
145.21	1, 2001. The index for the inflation adjustment must be based on the change in the Consumer
145.22	Price Index-All Items (United States City average) (CPI-U) forecasted by the eommissioner
145.23	of management and budget's national economic consultant Reports and Forecasts Division
145.24	of the Department of Human Services, as forecasted in the fourth quarter of the calendar
145.25	year preceding the rate year. The inflation adjustment must be based on the 12-month period
	from the midpoint of the previous rate year to the midpoint of the rate year for which the
145.27	rate is being determined. For the rate years beginning on July 1, 1999, July 1, 2000, July 1,
145.28	2001, July 1, 2002, July 1, 2003, July 1, 2004, July 1, 2005, July 1, 2006, July 1, 2007, July 1, 2008, July 1, 2
145.29	1, 2008, October 1, 2009, and October 1, 2010, this paragraph shall apply only to the
145.30	property-related payment rate. For the rate years beginning on October 1, 2011, October 1,
145.31	2012, October 1, 2013, October 1, 2014, October 1, 2015, January 1, 2016, and January 1,
145.32	2017, the rate adjustment under this paragraph shall be suspended. Beginning in 2005,
145.33	adjustment to the property payment rate under this section and section 256B.431 shall be
145.34	effective on October 1. In determining the amount of the property-related payment rate
146.1	adjustment under this paragraph, the commissioner shall determine the proportion of the
146.2	facility's rates that are property-related based on the facility's most recent cost report.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

.4 Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256B.434, subdivision 4f, is amended to read:

146.3

```
146.5
            Subd. 4f. Construction project rate adjustments effective October 1, 2006. (a)
       Effective October 1, 2006, facilities reimbursed under this section may receive a property
       rate adjustment for construction projects exceeding the threshold in section 256B.431.
       subdivision 16, and below the threshold in section 144A.071, subdivision 2, clause (a). For
       these projects, capital assets purchased shall be counted as construction project costs for a
       rate adjustment request made by a facility if they are: (1) purchased within 24 months of
       the completion of the construction project; (2) purchased after the completion date of any
       prior construction project; and (3) are not purchased prior to July 14, 2005. Except as
       otherwise provided in this subdivision, the definitions, rate calculation methods, and
       principles in sections 144A.071 and 256B.431 and Minnesota Rules, parts 9549.0010 to
       9549.0080, shall be used to calculate rate adjustments for allowable construction projects
       under this subdivision and section 144A.073. Facilities completing construction projects
       between October 1, 2005, and October 1, 2006, are eligible to have a property rate adjustment
146.18 effective October 1, 2006. Facilities completing projects after October 1, 2006, are eligible
       for a property rate adjustment effective on the first day of the month following the completion
146.20 date. Facilities completing projects after January 1, 2018, are eligible for a property rate
       adjustment effective on the first day of the month of January or July, whichever occurs
immediately following the completion date.
```

House Language UES0800-2

rate year's contract property payment rates rate plus an inflation adjustment and, for facilities reimbursed under this section or section 256B.431, an adjustment to include the cost of any increase in Health Department licensing fees for the facility taking effect on or after July 1, 2001. The index for the inflation adjustment must be based on the change in the Consumer Price Index-All Items (United States City average) (CPI-U) forecasted by the commissioner of management and budget's national economic consultant Reports and Forecasts Division of the Department of Human Services, as forecasted in the fourth quarter of the calendar year preceding the rate year. The inflation adjustment must be based on the 12-month period from the midpoint of the previous rate year to the midpoint of the rate year for which the rate is being determined. For the rate years beginning on July 1, 1999, July 1, 2000, July 1, 2001, July 1, 2002, July 1, 2003, July 1, 2004, July 1, 2005, July 1, 2006, July 1, 2007, July 1, 2008, October 1, 2009, and October 1, 2010, this paragraph shall apply only to the property-related payment rate. For the rate years beginning on October 1, 2011, October 1. 2012. October 1, 2013. October 1, 2014. October 1, 2015. January 1, 2016. and January 1. 2017, the rate adjustment under this paragraph shall be suspended. Beginning in 2005, adjustment to the property payment rate under this section and section 256B.431 shall be effective on October 1. In determining the amount of the property-related payment rate adjustment under this paragraph, the commissioner shall determine the proportion of the facility's rates that are property-related based on the facility's most recent cost report.

95.9 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment.

(b) Notwithstanding subdivision 18, as of July 14, 2005, facilities with rates set under
section 256B.431 and Minnesota Rules, parts 9549.0010 to 9549.0080, that commenced a
* *
,
(c) Facilities shall be allowed construction project rate adjustments no sooner than 12
* 5
adjustment according to section 250B. 151, subdivision 10.
(d) Capacity days shall be computed according to Minnesota Rules, part 9549.0060,
subpart 11. For rate calculations under this section, the number of licensed beds in the
nursing facility shall be the number existing after the construction project is completed and
the number of days in the nursing facility's reporting period shall be 365.
the number of days in the nursing facility's reporting period shall be 505.
(e) The value of assets to be recognized for a total replacement project as defined in
section 256B.431, subdivision 17d, shall be computed as described in clause (1). The value
of assets to be recognized for all other projects shall be computed as described in clause
(2).
(2).
(1) Replacement-cost-new limits under section 256B.431, subdivision 17e, and the
*
maximum amount of assets allowable in a facility's property rate calculation. If a facility's
, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
must be deducted from the cost of the construction project.
(2)(i) Replacement-cost-new limits under section 256B.431, subdivision 17e, and the
used to compute the maximum amount of assets allowable in a facility's property rate
calculation,
(ii) The value of a facility's assets to be compared to the amount in item (i) begins with
, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
the total appraised value from the last rate notice a facility received when its rates were set

147.25 under section 256B.431 and Minnesota Rules, parts 9549.0010 to 9549.0080. This value

147.26	shall be indexed by the factor in section 256B.431, subdivision 3f, paragraph (a), for each
147.27	rate year the facility received an inflation factor on its property-related rate when its rates
147.28	were set under this section. The value of assets listed as previous capital additions, capital
147.29	additions, and special projects on the facility's base year rate notice and the value of assets
147.30	related to a construction project for which the facility received a rate adjustment when its
147.31	rates were determined under this section shall be added to the indexed appraised value.
1 . 7 . 5 1	Table 17 - 10 account and 1 and 500 to 1 and 10 account approach 1 account
147.32	(iii) The maximum amount of assets to be recognized in computing a facility's rate
147.33	adjustment after a project is completed is the lesser of the aggregate replacement-cost-new
148.1	limit computed in (i) minus the assets recognized in (ii) or the actual allowable costs of the
148.2	construction project.
140.2	construction project.
148.3	(iv) If a facility's current request for a rate adjustment results from the completion of a
148.4	construction project that was previously approved under section 144A.073, the assets to be
148.5	added to the rate calculation cannot exceed the lesser of the amount determined under
148.6	sections 144A.071, subdivision 2, and 144A.073, subdivision 3b, or the actual allowable
148.7	costs of the construction project. A current request that is not the result of a project under
148.8	section 144A.073 cannot exceed the limit stated in section 144A.071, subdivision 2,
148.9	paragraph (a). Assets disposed of as a result of a construction project and applicable credits
148.10	must be deducted from the cost of the construction project.
110.10	must be accused from the cost of the construction project.
148.11	(f) For construction projects approved under section 144A.073, allowable debt may
148.12	never exceed the lesser of the cost of the assets purchased, the threshold limit in section
148.13	144A.071, subdivision 2, or the replacement-cost-new limit less previously existing capital
148.14	
140.14	debt.
148.15	(g) For construction projects that were not approved under section 144A.073, allowable
148.16	debt is limited to the lesser of the threshold in section 144A.071, subdivision 2, for such
148.17	construction projects or the applicable limit in paragraph (e), clause (1) or (2), less previously
148.18	existing capital debt. Amounts of debt taken out that exceed the costs of a construction
148.19	project shall not be allowed regardless of the use of the funds.
140.17	project shall not be allowed regardless of the disc of the funds.
148.20	For all construction projects being recognized, interest expense and average debt shall
148.21	be computed based on the first 12 months following project completion. "Previously existing
148.22	capital debt" means capital debt recognized on the last rate determined under section
148.23	256B.431 and Minnesota Rules, parts 9549.0010 to 9549.0080, and the amount of debt
148.24	recognized for a construction project for which the facility received a rate adjustment when
148.25	its rates were determined under this section.
1 10.23	and the determined under this section.
148.26	For a total replacement project as defined in section 256B.431, subdivision 17d, the
	1 of a total replacement project as defined in section 250B.451, subdivision 17d, the

148.27 value of previously existing capital debt shall be zero.

(h) In addition to the interest expense allowed from the application of paragraph (f), the

148.28

148.29	amounts allowed under section 256B.431, subdivision 17a, paragraph (a), clauses (2) and
148.30	(3), will be added to interest expense.
148.31	(i) The equity portion of the construction project shall be computed as the allowable
148.32	assets in paragraph (e), less the average debt in paragraph (f). The equity portion must be
148.33	multiplied by 5.66 percent and the allowable interest expense in paragraph (f) must be added.
149.1 149.2	This sum must be divided by 95 percent of capacity days to compute the construction project
149.2	rate adjustment.
149.3	(j) For projects that are not a total replacement of a nursing facility, the amount in
149.4	paragraph (i) is adjusted for nonreimbursable areas and then added to the current property
149.5	payment rate of the facility.
149.6	(k) For projects that are a total replacement of a nursing facility, the amount in paragraph
149.7	(i) becomes the new property payment rate after being adjusted for nonreimbursable areas.
149.8	Any amounts existing in a facility's rate before the effective date of the construction project
149.9	for equity incentives under section 256B.431, subdivision 16; capital repairs and replacements
149.10	under section 256B.431, subdivision 15; or refinancing incentives under section 256B.431,
149.11	subdivision 19, shall be removed from the facility's rates.
149 12	(1) No additional equipment allowance is allowed under Minnesota Rules, part 9549 0060
149.12 149.13	(l) No additional equipment allowance is allowed under Minnesota Rules, part 9549.0060, subpart 10, as the result of construction projects under this section. Allowable equipment
149.12 149.13 149.14	(l) No additional equipment allowance is allowed under Minnesota Rules, part 9549.0060, subpart 10, as the result of construction projects under this section. Allowable equipment shall be included in the construction project costs.
149.13	subpart 10, as the result of construction projects under this section. Allowable equipment
149.13	subpart 10, as the result of construction projects under this section. Allowable equipment
149.13 149.14 149.15 149.16	subpart 10, as the result of construction projects under this section. Allowable equipment shall be included in the construction project costs. (m) Capital assets purchased after the completion date of a construction project shall be counted as construction project costs for any future rate adjustment request made by a facility
149.13 149.14 149.15 149.16 149.17	subpart 10, as the result of construction projects under this section. Allowable equipment shall be included in the construction project costs. (m) Capital assets purchased after the completion date of a construction project shall be counted as construction project costs for any future rate adjustment request made by a facility under section 144A.071, subdivision 2, clause (a), if they are purchased within 24 months
149.13 149.14 149.15 149.16	subpart 10, as the result of construction projects under this section. Allowable equipment shall be included in the construction project costs. (m) Capital assets purchased after the completion date of a construction project shall be counted as construction project costs for any future rate adjustment request made by a facility
149.13 149.14 149.15 149.16 149.17 149.18	subpart 10, as the result of construction projects under this section. Allowable equipment shall be included in the construction project costs. (m) Capital assets purchased after the completion date of a construction project shall be counted as construction project costs for any future rate adjustment request made by a facility under section 144A.071, subdivision 2, clause (a), if they are purchased within 24 months of the completion of the future construction project.
149.13 149.14 149.15 149.16 149.17 149.18	subpart 10, as the result of construction projects under this section. Allowable equipment shall be included in the construction project costs. (m) Capital assets purchased after the completion date of a construction project shall be counted as construction project costs for any future rate adjustment request made by a facility under section 144A.071, subdivision 2, clause (a), if they are purchased within 24 months of the completion of the future construction project. (n) In subsequent rate years, the property payment rate for a facility that results from
149.13 149.14 149.15 149.16 149.17 149.18	subpart 10, as the result of construction projects under this section. Allowable equipment shall be included in the construction project costs. (m) Capital assets purchased after the completion date of a construction project shall be counted as construction project costs for any future rate adjustment request made by a facility under section 144A.071, subdivision 2, clause (a), if they are purchased within 24 months of the completion of the future construction project. (n) In subsequent rate years, the property payment rate for a facility that results from
149.13 149.14 149.15 149.16 149.17 149.18	subpart 10, as the result of construction projects under this section. Allowable equipment shall be included in the construction project costs. (m) Capital assets purchased after the completion date of a construction project shall be counted as construction project costs for any future rate adjustment request made by a facility under section 144A.071, subdivision 2, clause (a), if they are purchased within 24 months of the completion of the future construction project. (n) In subsequent rate years, the property payment rate for a facility that results from the application of this subdivision shall be the amount inflated in subdivision 4.
149.13 149.14 149.15 149.16 149.17 149.18 149.19 149.20	subpart 10, as the result of construction projects under this section. Allowable equipment shall be included in the construction project costs. (m) Capital assets purchased after the completion date of a construction project shall be counted as construction project costs for any future rate adjustment request made by a facility under section 144A.071, subdivision 2, clause (a), if they are purchased within 24 months of the completion of the future construction project. (n) In subsequent rate years, the property payment rate for a facility that results from
149.13 149.14 149.15 149.16 149.17 149.18 149.19 149.20	subpart 10, as the result of construction projects under this section. Allowable equipment shall be included in the construction project costs. (m) Capital assets purchased after the completion date of a construction project shall be counted as construction project costs for any future rate adjustment request made by a facility under section 144A.071, subdivision 2, clause (a), if they are purchased within 24 months of the completion of the future construction project. (n) In subsequent rate years, the property payment rate for a facility that results from the application of this subdivision shall be the amount inflated in subdivision 4. (o) Construction projects are eligible for an equity incentive under section 256B.431,
149.13 149.14 149.15 149.16 149.17 149.18 149.19 149.20 149.21 149.22	subpart 10, as the result of construction projects under this section. Allowable equipment shall be included in the construction project costs. (m) Capital assets purchased after the completion date of a construction project shall be counted as construction project costs for any future rate adjustment request made by a facility under section 144A.071, subdivision 2, clause (a), if they are purchased within 24 months of the completion of the future construction project. (n) In subsequent rate years, the property payment rate for a facility that results from the application of this subdivision shall be the amount inflated in subdivision 4. (o) Construction projects are eligible for an equity incentive under section 256B.431, subdivision 16. When computing the equity incentive for a construction project under this subdivision, only the allowable costs and allowable debt related to the construction project shall be used. The equity incentive shall not be a part of the property payment rate and not
149.13 149.14 149.15 149.16 149.17 149.18 149.20 149.21 149.22 149.23 149.24 149.25	subpart 10, as the result of construction projects under this section. Allowable equipment shall be included in the construction project costs. (m) Capital assets purchased after the completion date of a construction project shall be counted as construction project costs for any future rate adjustment request made by a facility under section 144A.071, subdivision 2, clause (a), if they are purchased within 24 months of the completion of the future construction project. (n) In subsequent rate years, the property payment rate for a facility that results from the application of this subdivision shall be the amount inflated in subdivision 4. (o) Construction projects are eligible for an equity incentive under section 256B.431, subdivision 16. When computing the equity incentive for a construction project under this subdivision, only the allowable costs and allowable debt related to the construction project shall be used. The equity incentive shall not be a part of the property payment rate and not inflated under subdivision 4. Effective October 1, 2006, all equity incentives for nursing
149.13 149.14 149.15 149.16 149.17 149.18 149.20 149.21 149.22 149.23 149.24	subpart 10, as the result of construction projects under this section. Allowable equipment shall be included in the construction project costs. (m) Capital assets purchased after the completion date of a construction project shall be counted as construction project costs for any future rate adjustment request made by a facility under section 144A.071, subdivision 2, clause (a), if they are purchased within 24 months of the completion of the future construction project. (n) In subsequent rate years, the property payment rate for a facility that results from the application of this subdivision shall be the amount inflated in subdivision 4. (o) Construction projects are eligible for an equity incentive under section 256B.431, subdivision 16. When computing the equity incentive for a construction project under this subdivision, only the allowable costs and allowable debt related to the construction project shall be used. The equity incentive shall not be a part of the property payment rate and not inflated under subdivision 4. Effective October 1, 2006, all equity incentives for nursing facilities reimbursed under this section shall be allowed for a duration determined under

149.29 Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256B.50, subdivision 1b, is amended to read:

Subd. 1b. **Filing an appeal.** To appeal, the provider shall file with the commissioner a written notice of appeal; the appeal must be postmarked or received by the commissioner within 60 days of the <u>publication</u> date the determination of the payment rate was mailed or personally received by a provider, whichever is earlier printed on the rate notice. The notice of appeal must specify each disputed item; the reason for the dispute; the total dollar amount in dispute for each separate disallowance, allocation, or adjustment of each cost item or part of a cost item; the computation that the provider believes is correct; the authority in statute or rule upon which the provider relies for each disputed item; the name and address of the person or firm with whom contacts may be made regarding the appeal; and other information required by the commissioner.

150.7 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment.

- 150.8 Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256B.5012, is amended by adding a subdivision
- 150.9 to read:
- 150.10 Subd. 3a. **Therapeutic leave days.** Notwithstanding Minnesota Rules, part 9505.0415, subpart 7, a vacant bed in an intermediate care facility for persons with developmental
- disabilities shall be counted as a reserved bed when determining occupancy rates and
- eligibility for payment of a therapeutic leave day.

150.14 Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256R.02, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

HOUSE ART. 2, SEC. 17-26 - SEE SENATE ART. 1, SEC. 18-27

117.23 Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256B.50, subdivision 1b, is amended to read:

- Subd. 1b. Filing an appeal. To appeal, the provider shall file with the commissioner a
- 117.25 written notice of appeal; the appeal must be postmarked or received by the commissioner
- 117.26 within 60 days of the publication date the determination of the payment rate was mailed or
- 117.27 personally received by a provider, whichever is earlier printed on the rate notice. The notice
- 117.28 of appeal must specify each disputed item; the reason for the dispute; the total dollar amount
- 117.29 in dispute for each separate disallowance, allocation, or adjustment of each cost item or part
- 117.30 of a cost item; the computation that the provider believes is correct; the authority in statute
- 117.31 or rule upon which the provider relies for each disputed item; the name and address of the
- 117.32 person or firm with whom contacts may be made regarding the appeal; and other information
- 117.33 required by the commissioner.
- 118.1 Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256B.5012, is amended by adding a subdivision
- 118.2 to read:
- Subd. 3a. **Therapeutic leave days.** Notwithstanding Minnesota Rules, part 9505.0415,
- subpart 7, a vacant bed in an intermediate care facility for persons with developmental
- disabilities shall be counted as a reserved bed when determining occupancy rates and
- eligibility for payment of a therapeutic leave day.
- 118.7 Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256B.5012, is amended by adding a subdivision
- 118.8 to read:
- Subd. 17. **ICF/DD rate increase effective July 1, 2017; Murray County.** Effective
- 118.10 July 1, 2017, the daily rate for an intermediate care facility for persons with developmental
- 118.11 disabilities located in Murray County that is classified as a class B facility and licensed for
- 118.12 14 beds is \$400. This increase is in addition to any other increase that is effective on July
- 118.13 $\overline{1,2017}$.

HOUSE ART. 2, SEC. 30-37 - SEE SENATE ART. 1, SEC. 32-39

HOUSE ART. 2, SEC. 38 - SEE SENATE ART. 1, SEC. 41

124.26 Sec. 39. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256R.02, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

50.15	Subd. 4. Administrative costs. "Administrative costs" means the identifiable costs for
50.16	administering the overall activities of the nursing home. These costs include salaries and
50.17	wages of the administrator, assistant administrator, business office employees, security
50.18	guards, and associated fringe benefits and payroll taxes, fees, contracts, or purchases related
50.19	to business office functions, licenses, and permits except as provided in the external fixed
50.20	costs category, employee recognition, travel including meals and lodging, all training except
50.21	as specified in subdivision 17, voice and data communication or transmission, office supplies,
50.22	property and liability insurance and other forms of insurance not designated to other areas
50.23	except insurance that is a fringe benefit under subdivision 22, personnel recruitment, legal
50.24	services, accounting services, management or business consultants, data processing,
50.25	information technology, Web site, central or home office costs, business meetings and
50.26	seminars, postage, fees for professional organizations, subscriptions, security services,
50.27	advertising, board of directors fees, working capital interest expense, and bad debts, and
50.28	bad debt collection fees.

150.29 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment.

150.30 Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256R.02, subdivision 18, is amended to read:

150.31 Subd. 18. Employer health insurance costs. "Employer health insurance costs" means 150.32 premium expenses for group coverage and reinsurance; actual expenses incurred for self-insured plans, including reinsurance; and employer contributions to employee health reimbursement and health savings accounts. Premium and expense costs and contributions

124.27 Subd. 4. Administrative costs. "Administrative costs" means the identifiable costs for 124.28 administering the overall activities of the nursing home. These costs include salaries and 124.29 wages of the administrator, assistant administrator, business office employees, security 124.30 guards, and associated fringe benefits and payroll taxes, fees, contracts, or purchases related 124.31 to business office functions, licenses, and permits except as provided in the external fixed 124.32 costs category, employee recognition, travel including meals and lodging, all training except as specified in subdivision 17, voice and data communication or transmission, office supplies, property and liability insurance and other forms of insurance not designated to other areas including insurance that is an employee benefit, personnel recruitment, legal services, accounting services, management or business consultants, data processing, information technology, Web site, central or home office costs, business meetings and seminars, postage, fees for professional organizations, subscriptions, security services, advertising, board of 125.7 directors fees, working capital interest expense, and bad debts and bad debt collection fees. and costs incurred for travel and housing for persons employed by a supplemental nursing services agency as defined in section 144A.70, subdivision 6. 125.10 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective October 1, 2017.

125.11 Sec. 40. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256R.02, subdivision 17, is amended to read:

Subd. 17. **Direct care costs.** "Direct care costs" means costs for the wages of nursing 125.13 administration, direct care registered nurses, licensed practical nurses, certified nursing 125.14 assistants, trained medication aides, employees conducting training in resident care topics 125.15 and associated fringe benefits and payroll taxes; services from a supplemental nursing 125.16 services agency; supplies that are stocked at nursing stations or on the floor and distributed 125.17 or used individually, including, but not limited to: alcohol, applicators, cotton balls, 125.18 incontinence pads, disposable ice bags, dressings, bandages, water pitchers, tongue 125.19 depressors, disposable gloves, enemas, enema equipment, soap, medication cups, diapers, 125.20 plastic waste bags, sanitary products, thermometers, hypodermic needles and syringes, 125.21 clinical reagents or similar diagnostic agents, drugs that are not paid on a separate fee 125.22 schedule by the medical assistance program or any other payer, and technology related to 125.23 the provision of nursing care to residents, such as electronic charting systems; costs of 125.24 materials used for resident care training, and training courses outside of the facility attended 125.25 by direct care staff on resident care topics; and costs for nurse consultants, pharmacy 125.26 consultants, and medical directors. Salaries and payroll taxes for nurse consultants who 125.27 work out of a central office must be allocated proportionately by total resident days or by direct identification to the nursing facilities served by those consultants.

125.29 Sec. 41. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256R.02, subdivision 18, is amended to read:

125.30 Subd. 18. Employer health insurance costs. "Employer health insurance costs" means 125.31 premium expenses for group coverage and reinsurance, actual expenses incurred for 125.32 self-insured plans including reinsurance and administrative costs, and employer contributions 125.33 to employee health reimbursement and health savings accounts. Premium and expense costs

April 13, 2017 10:04 AM

Senate Language S0800-3

- are allowable for (1) all employees and (2) the spouse and dependents of those employees
- who meet the definition of full-time employees under the federal Affordable Care Act,
- Public Law 111-148 are employed on average at least 30 hours per week.
- **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment. 151.6

- and contributions are allowable for (1) all employees and (2) the spouse and dependents of
- those employees who meet the definition of full-time employees under the federal Affordable
- Care Act, Public Law 111-148 are employed on average at least 30 hours of service per

- 126.4 week, or 130 hours of service per month.
- 126.5 Sec. 42. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256R.02, subdivision 19, is amended to read:
- Subd. 19. External fixed costs. "External fixed costs" means costs related to the nursing 126.6
- home surcharge under section 256.9657, subdivision 1; licensure fees under section 144.122;
- family advisory council fee under section 144A.33; scholarships under section 256R.37;
- planned closure rate adjustments under section 256R.40; consolidation rate adjustments 126.10 under section 144A.071, subdivisions 4c, paragraph (a), clauses (5) and (6), and 4d;
- 126.11 single-bed room incentives under section 256R.41; property taxes, assessments, and payments
- 126.12 in lieu of taxes; employer health insurance costs; quality improvement incentive payment
- 126.13 rate adjustments under section 256R.39; performance-based incentive payments under
- 126.14 section 256R.38; special dietary needs under section 256R.51; rate adjustments for
- 126.15 compensation-related costs for minimum wage changes under section 256R.49 provided
- on or after January 1, 2018; and Public Employees Retirement Association employer costs.
- 126.17 Sec. 43. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256R.02, subdivision 22, is amended to read:
- Subd. 22. Fringe benefit costs. "Fringe benefit costs" means the costs for group life, 126.18
- 126.19 dental, workers' compensation, and other employee insurances and short- and long-term
- 126.20 disability, long-term care insurance, accident insurance, supplemental insurance, legal
- 126.21 assistance insurance, profit sharing, health insurance costs not covered under subdivision
- 126.22 18, including costs associated with part-time employee family members or retirees, and
- 126.23 pension and retirement plan contributions, except for the Public Employees Retirement
- 126.24 Association and employer health insurance costs; profit sharing; and retirement plans for
- 126.25 which the employer pays all or a portion of the costs.
- 126.26 Sec. 44. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256R.02, subdivision 42, is amended to read:
- Subd. 42. Raw food costs. "Raw food costs" means the cost of food provided to nursing 126.27
- 126.28 facility residents and the allocation of dietary credits. Also included are special dietary
- 126.29 supplements used for tube feeding or oral feeding, such as elemental high nitrogen diet.
- 127.1 Sec. 45. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256R.02, is amended by adding a subdivision
- 127.2 to read:

27.3	Subd. 42a. Real estate taxes. "Real estate taxes" means the real estate tax liability show
27.4	on the annual property tax statement of the nursing facility for the reporting period. The
27.5	term does not include personnel costs or fees for late payment.
27.6	Sec. 46. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256R.02, is amended by adding a subdivision
27.7	to read:
27.8	Subd. 48a. Special assessments. "Special assessments" means the actual special
27.9	assessments and related interest paid during the reporting period. The term does not include
27.10	personnel costs or fees for late payment.
27.11	Sec. 47. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256R.02, subdivision 52, is amended to read:
27.12	Subd. 52. Therapy costs. "Therapy costs" means any costs related to medical assistance
27.13	therapy services provided to residents that are not billed separately billable from the daily
27.14	operating rate.
27.15	Sec. 48. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256R.06, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
27.16	Subd. 5. Notice to residents. (a) No increase in nursing facility rates for private paying
27.17	residents shall be effective unless the nursing facility notifies the resident or person
27.18	responsible for payment of the increase in writing 30 days before the increase takes effect.
27.19	The notice must include the amount of the rate increase, the new payment rate, and the date
27.20	the rate increase takes effect.
27.21	A nursing facility may adjust its rates without giving the notice required by this
27.22	subdivision when the purpose of the rate adjustment is to reflect a change in the case mix
27.23	classification of the resident. The nursing facility shall notify private pay residents of any
27.24	rate increase related to a change in case mix classifications in a timely manner after
27.25	confirmation of the case mix classification change is received from the Department of
27.26	<u>Health.</u>
27.27	If the state fails to set rates as required by section 256R.09, subdivision 1, the time
27.28	required for giving notice is decreased by the number of days by which the state was late
27.29	in setting the rates.
27.30	(b) If the state does not set rates by the date required in section 256R.09, subdivision 1,
27.31	or otherwise provides nursing facilities with retroactive notification of the amount of a rate
28.1	increase, nursing facilities shall meet the requirement for advance notice by informing the
28.2	resident or person responsible for payments, on or before the effective date of the increase,

128.3	apply to situations described in this paragraph.
128.5 128.6	If the exact amount has not yet been determined, the nursing facility may raise the rates by the amount anticipated to be allowed. Any amounts collected from private pay residents
128.7 128.8 128.9	in excess of the allowable rate must be repaid to private pay residents with interest at the rate used by the commissioner of revenue for the late payment of taxes and in effect on the date the rate increase is effective.
128.10	Sec. 49. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256R.07, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
128.11 128.12	Subdivision 1. Criteria. A nursing facility shall keep adequate documentation. In order to be adequate, documentation must:
128.13	(1) be maintained in orderly, well-organized files;
128.14 128.15	(2) not include documentation of more than one nursing facility in one set of files unless transactions may be traced by the commissioner to the nursing facility's annual cost report;
128.16 128.17 128.18 128.19 128.20 128.21	(3) include a paid invoice or copy of a paid invoice with date of purchase, vendor name and address, purchaser name and delivery destination address, listing of items or services purchased, cost of items purchased, account number to which the cost is posted, and a breakdown of any allocation of costs between accounts or nursing facilities. If any of the information is not available, the nursing facility shall document its good faith attempt to obtain the information;
128.22 128.23 128.24	(4) include contracts, agreements, amortization schedules, mortgages, other debt instruments, and all other documents necessary to explain the nursing facility's costs or revenues; and
128.25 128.26 128.27 128.28 128.29 128.30 128.31	(5) be retained by the nursing facility to support the five most recent annual cost reports. The commissioner may extend the period of retention if the field audit was postponed because of inadequate record keeping or accounting practices as in section 256R.13, subdivisions 2 and 4, the records are necessary to resolve a pending appeal, or the records are required for the enforcement of sections 256R.04; 256R.05, subdivision 2; 256R.06, subdivisions 2; and 6, and 7; 256R.08, subdivisions 1 to 3; and 256R.09, subdivisions 3 and 4.
129.1 129.2	Sec. 50. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256R.07, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

^{151.7} Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256R.07, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

Senate !	Language	S0800-3

151.9	Subd. 6. Electronic signature. For documentation requiring a signature under this
151.10	chapter or section 256B.431 or 256B.434, use of an electronic signature as defined under
151.11	section 325L.02, paragraph (h), is allowed.
	-
151.12	Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256R.10, is amended by adding a subdivision
	to read:
101.10	50 10 Mai.
151.14	Subd. 7. Not specified allowed costs. When the cost category for allowed cost items of
131.14	
151.15	services is not specified in this chapter or the provider reimbursement manual, the
151.16	commissioner, in consultation with stakeholders, shall determine the cost category for the
151.17	allowed cost item or service.
151.18	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

151.19 Sec. 30. **[256R.18] REPORT BY COMMISSIONER OF HUMAN SERVICES.**

151.24

151.20	Beginning January 1, 2019, the commissioner shall provide to the house of representatives
151.21	and senate committees with jurisdiction over nursing facility payment rates a biennial report
151.22	on the effectiveness of the reimbursement system in improving quality, restraining costs,
151.23	and any other features of the system as determined by the commissioner.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

April 13, 2017 10:04 AM

129.5	Subd. 6. Electronic signature. For documentation requiring a signature under units
129.4	chapter or section 256B.431 or 256B.434, use of an electronic signature as defined under
129.5	section 325L.02, paragraph (h), is allowed.
129.6	Sec. 51. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256R.13, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
129.0	Sec. 31. Millinesota Statutes 2010, Section 230K.13, Subdivision 4, is afficilized to feat.
129.7	Subd. 4. Extended record retention requirements. The commissioner shall extend the
129.8	period for retention of records under section 256R.09, subdivision 3, for purposes of
129.9	performing field audits as necessary to enforce sections 256R.04; 256R.05, subdivision 2;
129.10	256R.06, subdivisions 2, and 6, and 7; 256R.08, subdivisions 1 to 3; and 256R.09,
	subdivisions 3 and 4, with written notice to the facility postmarked no later than 90 days
	prior to the expiration of the record retention requirement.
127.12	prior to the supration of the record record requirement.
129.13	Sec. 52. [256R.18] BIENNIAL REPORT.
129.14	The commissioner shall provide to the legislative committees with jurisdiction over
	nursing facility payment rates a biennial report including:
129.13	nursing factory payment rates a ofeninal report including:

151.29	(a) For the 27-month period beginning October 1, 2015, through December 31, 2017, the commissioner shall allow a scholarship per diem of up to 25 cents for each nursing facility with no scholarship per diem that is requesting a scholarship per diem to be added to the external fixed payment rate to be used:
152.1	(1) for employee scholarships that satisfy the following requirements:
152.2 152.3 152.4 152.5 152.6	(i) scholarships are available to all employees who work an average of at least ten hours per week at the facility except the administrator, and to reimburse student loan expenses for newly hired and recently graduated registered nurses and licensed practical nurses, and training expenses for nursing assistants as specified in section 144A.611, subdivisions 2 and 4, who are newly hired and have graduated within the last 12 months; and
152.7 152.8	(ii) the course of study is expected to lead to career advancement with the facility or in long-term care, including medical care interpreter services and social work; and
152.9	(2) to provide job-related training in English as a second language.
152.10	(b) All facilities may annually request a rate adjustment under this section by submitting
	information to the commissioner on a schedule and in a form supplied by the commissioner.
152.12	The commissioner shall allow a scholarship payment rate equal to the reported and allowable
152.13	costs divided by resident days.

151.25 Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256R.37, is amended to read:

256R.37 SCHOLARSHIPS.

151.26

129.16	(1) the impact of using cost report data to set rates without updating the cost report data
129.17	by the change in the Consumer Price Index for all urban consumers from the mid-point of
129.18	the cost report to the mid-point of the rate year;
129.19	(2) the impact of the quality adjusted care limits;
129.20	(3) the ability of nursing facilities to retain employees, including whether rate increases
129.21	are passed through to employees;
127.21	are published through to employees,
129.22	(4) the efficacy of the critical access nursing facility program under section 256R.47;
129.22	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·
129.23	and
129.24	(5) the impact of payment rate limit reduction under section 256R.23, subdivision 6.
129.25	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2019.
129.26	Sec. 53. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256R.37, is amended to read:
129.27	256R.37 SCHOLARSHIPS.
129.28	(a) For the 27-month period beginning October 1, 2015, through December 31, 2017,
129.29	the commissioner shall allow a scholarship per diem of up to 25 cents for each nursing
130.1	facility with no scholarship per diem that is requesting a scholarship per diem to be added
130.2	to the external fixed payment rate to be used:
	1 7
130.3	(1) for employee scholarships that satisfy the following requirements:
130.4	(i) scholarships are available to all employees who work an average of at least ten hours
130.4	per week at the facility except the administrator, and to reimburse student loan expenses
130.5	for newly hired and recently graduated registered nurses and licensed practical nurses, and
130.0	training expenses for nursing assistants as specified in section 144A.611, subdivisions 2
	and 4, who are newly hired and have graduated within the last 12 months; and
130.8	and 4 , who are newly mred and have graduated within the last 12 months ; and
130.9	(ii) the course of study is expected to lead to career advancement with the facility or in
130.10	long-term care, including medical care interpreter services and social work; and
130.11	(2) to provide job-related training in English as a second language.
130.12	(b) All facilities may annually request a rate adjustment under this section by submitting
130.13	information to the commissioner on a schedule and in a form supplied by the commissioner.
130.14	The commissioner shall allow a scholarship payment rate equal to the reported and allowable
130.15	costs divided by resident days.

(c) In calculating the per diem under paragraph (b), the commissioner shall allow costs

(d) The rate increase under this section is an optional rate add-on that the facility must

(e) For instances in which a rate adjustment will be 15 cents or greater, nursing facilities

152.15 related to tuition, direct educational expenses, and reasonable costs as defined by the commissioner for child care costs and transportation expenses related to direct educational

152.19 request from the commissioner in a manner prescribed by the commissioner. The rate

152.22 that close beds during a rate year may request to have their scholarship adjustment under 152.23 paragraph (b) recalculated by the commissioner for the remainder of the rate year to reflect

152.20 increase must be used for scholarships as specified in this section.

152.24 the reduction in resident days compared to the cost report year.

152.17 expenses.

152.18

	(c) In calculating the per diem under paragraph (b), the commissioner shall allow costs related to tuition, direct educational expenses, and reasonable costs as defined by the commissioner for child care costs and transportation expenses related to direct educational
130.19	expenses.
	(d) The rate increase under this section is an optional rate add-on that the facility must request from the commissioner in a manner prescribed by the commissioner. The rate increase must be used for scholarships as specified in this section.
130.25	(e) For instances in which a rate adjustment will be 15 cents or greater, nursing facilities that close beds during a rate year may request to have their scholarship adjustment under paragraph (b) recalculated by the commissioner for the remainder of the rate year to reflect the reduction in resident days compared to the cost report year.
130.27	Sec. 54. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256R.40, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
130.28	Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) The definitions in this subdivision apply to this section.
130.29 130.30	(b) "Closure" means the cessation of operations of a nursing facility and delicensure and decertification of all beds within the facility.
130.31 130.32	(c) "Closure plan" means a plan to close a nursing facility and reallocate a portion of the resulting savings to provide planned closure rate adjustments at other facilities.
131.1 131.2 131.3	(d) "Commencement of closure" means the date on which residents and designated representatives are notified of a planned closure as provided in section 144A.161, subdivision 5a, as part of an approved closure plan.
131.4 131.5 131.6	(e) "Completion of closure" means the date on which the final resident of the nursing facility designated for closure in an approved closure plan is discharged from the facility or the date that beds from a partial closure are delicensed and decertified.
131.7 131.8	(f) "Partial closure" means the delicensure and decertification of a portion of the beds within the facility.

(g) "Planned closure rate adjustment" means an increase in a nursing facility's operating

131.10 rates resulting from a planned closure or a planned partial closure of another facility.

131.11 Sec. 55. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256R.40, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

House Language UES0800-2

152.25 Sec. 32. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256R.40, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

131.9

Care

Senate La

	Continuing
anguage S0800-3	

52.26 52.27 52.28	Subd. 5. Planned closure rate adjustment. (a) The commissioner shall calculate the amount of the planned closure rate adjustment available under subdivision 6 according to clauses (1) to (4):
52.29	(1) the amount available is the net reduction of nursing facility beds multiplied by \$2,080;
52.30 52.31	(2) the total number of beds in the nursing facility or facilities receiving the planned closure rate adjustment must be identified;
53.1 53.2	(3) capacity days are determined by multiplying the number determined under clause (2) by 365; and
53.3 53.4	(4) the planned closure rate adjustment is the amount available in clause (1), divided by capacity days determined under clause (3).
53.5 53.6 53.7 53.8	(b) A planned closure rate adjustment under this section is effective on the first day of the month of January or July, whichever occurs immediately following completion of closure of the facility designated for closure in the application and becomes part of the nursing facility's external fixed payment rate.
53.9 53.10	(c) Upon the request of a closing facility, the commissioner must allow the facility a closure rate adjustment as provided under section 144A.161, subdivision 10.
53.11 53.12 53.13	(d) A facility that has received a planned closure rate adjustment may reassign it to another facility that is under the same ownership at any time within three years of its effective date. The amount of the adjustment is computed according to paragraph (a).
53.17	(e) If the per bed dollar amount specified in paragraph (a), clause (1), is increased, the commissioner shall recalculate planned closure rate adjustments for facilities that delicense beds under this section on or after July 1, 2001, to reflect the increase in the per bed dollar amount. The recalculated planned closure rate adjustment is effective from the date the per bed dollar amount is increased.

153.19 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective for closures occurring after July 1, 2017. April 13, 2017 10:04 AM

	Subd. 5. Planned closure rate adjustment. (a) The commissioner shall calculate the amount of the planned closure rate adjustment available under subdivision 6 according to clauses (1) to (4):
131.15	(1) the amount available is the net reduction of nursing facility beds multiplied by \$2,080
131.16 131.17	(2) the total number of beds in the nursing facility or facilities receiving the planned closure rate adjustment must be identified;
131.18 131.19	(3) capacity days are determined by multiplying the number determined under clause (2) by 365; and
131.20 131.21	(4) the planned closure rate adjustment is the amount available in clause (1), divided by capacity days determined under clause (3).
131.22 131.23 131.24 131.25	<u> </u>
131.26 131.27	(c) Upon the request of a closing facility, the commissioner must allow the facility a closure rate adjustment as provided under section 144A.161, subdivision 10.
131.28 131.29 131.30	(d) A facility that has received a planned closure rate adjustment may reassign it to another facility that is under the same ownership at any time within three years of its effective date. The amount of the adjustment is computed according to paragraph (a).
132.1 132.2 132.3 132.4 132.5	(e) If the per bed dollar amount specified in paragraph (a), clause (1), is increased, the commissioner shall recalculate planned closure rate adjustments for facilities that delicense beds under this section on or after July 1, 2001, to reflect the increase in the per bed dollar amount. The recalculated planned closure rate adjustment is effective from the date the per bed dollar amount is increased.
132.6 132.7 132.8 132.9 132.10	(f) For a nursing facility that is ceasing operations through delicensure and decertification of all beds within the facility, the planned closure rate adjustment under this section is effective on the first day of the month following completion of closure of the facility designated for closure in the application and becomes part of any assigned nursing facility's external fixed payment rate.

153.21	256R.41 SINGLE-BED ROOM INCENTIVE.
153.22	(a) Beginning July 1, 2005, the operating payment rate for nursing facilities reimbursed
	under this chapter shall be increased by 20 percent multiplied by the ratio of the number of
	new single-bed rooms created divided by the number of active beds on July 1, 2005, for
	each bed closure that results in the creation of a single-bed room after July 1, 2005. The
	commissioner may implement rate adjustments for up to 3,000 new single-bed rooms each
153.27	year. For eligible bed closures for which the commissioner receives a notice from a facility
153.28	during a calendar quarter that a bed has been delicensed and a new single-bed room has
153.29	been established, the rate adjustment in this paragraph shall be effective on either the first
	day of the second month following that calendar quarter of January or July, whichever
153.31	occurs immediately following the date of the bed delicensure.
154.1	(b) A nursing facility is prohibited from discharging residents for purposes of establishing
154.2	single-bed rooms. A nursing facility must submit documentation to the commissioner in a
154.3	form prescribed by the commissioner, certifying the occupancy status of beds closed to
154.4	create single-bed rooms. In the event that the commissioner determines that a facility has
154.5	discharged a resident for purposes of establishing a single-bed room, the commissioner shall
154.6	not provide a rate adjustment under paragraph (a).
154.7	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for closures occurring after July 1, 2017.
15 1.7	This section is encourse for crossics occurring area only 1, 2017.
154.8	Sec. 34. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256R.47, is amended to read:
154.9	256R.47 RATE ADJUSTMENT FOR CRITICAL ACCESS NURSING
154.10	FACILITIES.
154.11	(a) The commissioner, in consultation with the commissioner of health, may designate
154.12	certain nursing facilities as critical access nursing facilities. The designation shall be granted
154.13	on a competitive basis, within the limits of funds appropriated for this purpose.
154.14	(b) The commissioner shall request proposals from nursing facilities every two years.
	Proposals must be submitted in the form and according to the timelines established by the
	commissioner. In selecting applicants to designate, the commissioner, in consultation with
	the commissioner of health, and with input from stakeholders, shall develop criteria designed
15/119	to preserve access to nursing facility services in isolated areas, rebalance long-term care,
	and improve quality. To the extent practicable, the commissioner shall ensure an even
154.19	
154.19	distribution of designations across the state.
154.19 154.20	distribution of designations across the state.
154.19 154.20 154.21	

153.20 Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256R.41, is amended to read:

132.11	Sec. 36. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 236K.41, is amended to read:
132.12	256R.41 SINGLE-BED ROOM INCENTIVE.
132.13	(a) Beginning July 1, 2005, the operating payment rate for nursing facilities reimbursed
	under this chapter shall be increased by 20 percent multiplied by the ratio of the number of
	new single-bed rooms created divided by the number of active beds on July 1, 2005, for
	each bed closure that results in the creation of a single-bed room after July 1, 2005. The
	commissioner may implement rate adjustments for up to 3,000 new single-bed rooms each
	year. For eligible bed closures for which the commissioner receives a notice from a facility
132.19	during a calendar quarter that a bed has been delicensed and a new single-bed room has
	been established, the rate adjustment in this paragraph shall be effective on either the first
	day of the second month of January or July, whichever occurs first following that ealendar
132.22	quarter the date of the bed delicensure.
132.23	(b) A nursing facility is prohibited from discharging residents for purposes of establishing
	single-bed rooms. A nursing facility must submit documentation to the commissioner in a
	form prescribed by the commissioner, certifying the occupancy status of beds closed to
	create single-bed rooms. In the event that the commissioner determines that a facility has
	discharged a resident for purposes of establishing a single-bed room, the commissioner shall
132.28	not provide a rate adjustment under paragraph (a).
132.29	Sec. 57. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256R.47, is amended to read:
132.30	256R.47 RATE ADJUSTMENT FOR CRITICAL ACCESS NURSING
132.31	FACILITIES.
133.1	(a) The commissioner, in consultation with the commissioner of health, may designate
133.2	certain nursing facilities as critical access nursing facilities. The designation shall be granted
133.3	on a competitive basis, within the limits of funds appropriated for this purpose.
133.4	(b) The commissioner shall request proposals from nursing facilities every two years.
133.5	Proposals must be submitted in the form and according to the timelines established by the
133.6	commissioner. In selecting applicants to designate, the commissioner, in consultation with
133.7	the commissioner of health, and with input from stakeholders, shall develop criteria designed
133.8	to preserve access to nursing facility services in isolated areas, rebalance long-term care,
133.9 133.10	and improve quality. To the extent practicable, the commissioner shall ensure an even distribution of designations across the state.
133.10	distribution of designations across the state.
133.11	(c) The commissioner shall allow the benefits in clauses (1) to (5) for nursing facilities

133.12 designated as critical access nursing facilities:

April 13, 2017 10:04 AM

Senate Language S0800-3

154.23	(1) partial rebasing, with the commissioner allowing a designated facility operating
154.24	payment rates being the sum of up to 60 percent of the operating payment rate determined
154.25	in accordance with section 256R.21, subdivision 3, and at least 40 percent, with the sum of
154.26	the two portions being equal to 100 percent, of the operating payment rate that would have
154.27	been allowed had the facility not been designated. The commissioner may adjust these
154.28	percentages by up to 20 percent and may approve a request for less than the amount allowed;
154.29	(2) enhanced payments for leave days. Notwithstanding section 256R.43, upon
154.30	
154.31	leave days to 60 percent of that nursing facility's total payment rate for the involved resident,
154.32	and shall allow this payment only when the occupancy of the nursing facility, inclusive of
154.33	bed hold days, is equal to or greater than 90 percent;
155.1	(3) two designated critical access nursing facilities, with up to 100 beds in active service,
155.2	may jointly apply to the commissioner of health for a waiver of Minnesota Rules, part
155.3	4658.0500, subpart 2, in order to jointly employ a director of nursing. The commissioner
155.4	of health shall consider each waiver request independently based on the criteria under
155.5	Minnesota Rules, part 4658.0040;
133.3	Willingsom Rules, part 4030.0040,
155 ((A) the minimum threshold under section 256D 421, subdivision 15, negocraph (a) shall
155.6	(4) the minimum threshold under section 256B.431, subdivision 15, paragraph (e), shall
155.7	be 40 percent of the amount that would otherwise apply; and
1550	(5) (1 1) (1 1 1 1
155.8	(5) the quality-based rate limits under section 256R.23, subdivisions 5 to 7, apply to
155.9	designated critical access nursing facilities.
155.10	(d) Designation of a critical access nursing facility is for a period of two years, after
155.11	which the benefits allowed under paragraph (c) shall be removed. Designated facilities may
155.12	apply for continued designation.
155.13	(e) This section is suspended and no state or federal funding shall be appropriated or
155.14	allocated for the purposes of this section from January 1, 2016, to December 31, 2017 2019.
155.15	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
155.16	Sec. 35. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256R.49, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
	, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
155 17	Subdivision 1. Rate adjustments for compensation-related costs. (a) Operating payment
155.17 155.18	
155.18	
	for rate years beginning on and after October 1, 2014, to address changes in compensation costs for pursing facility employees paid less than \$14 per hour in accordance with this

Ious	se La	angua	ge Ul	ES0	800-2	

133.13	(1) partial rebasing, with the commissioner allowing a designated facility operating
133.14	payment rates being the sum of up to 60 percent of the operating payment rate determined
	in accordance with section 256R.21, subdivision 3, and at least 40 percent, with the sum of
133.16	the two portions being equal to 100 percent, of the operating payment rate that would have
133.17	been allowed had the facility not been designated. The commissioner may adjust these
133.18	percentages by up to 20 percent and may approve a request for less than the amount allowed;
133.19	(2) enhanced payments for leave days. Notwithstanding section 256R.43, upon
	designation as a critical access nursing facility, the commissioner shall limit payment for
133.21	
	and shall allow this payment only when the occupancy of the nursing facility, inclusive of
	bed hold days, is equal to or greater than 90 percent;
100.20	ova nora anyo, io vigani to or ground mani yo pervona,
133.24	(3) two designated critical access nursing facilities, with up to 100 beds in active service,
	may jointly apply to the commissioner of health for a waiver of Minnesota Rules, part
	4658.0500, subpart 2, in order to jointly employ a director of nursing. The commissioner
	of health shall consider each waiver request independently based on the criteria under
133.28	Minnesota Rules, part 4658.0040;
	(A) d
133.29	(4) the minimum threshold under section 256B.431, subdivision 15, paragraph (e), shall
133.30	be 40 percent of the amount that would otherwise apply; and
133.31	(5) the quality-based rate limits under section 256R.23, subdivisions 5 to 7, apply to
133.32	designated critical access nursing facilities.
134.1	(d) Designation of a critical access nursing facility is for a period of two years, after
134.2	which the benefits allowed under paragraph (c) shall be removed. Designated facilities may
134.3	apply for continued designation.
134.4	(e) This section is suspended and no state or federal funding shall be appropriated or
134.5	allocated for the purposes of this section from January 1, 2016, to December 31, 2017 2019.
1246	Sec. 58. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256R.49, is amended to read:
134.6	
134.7	256R.49 RATE ADJUSTMENTS FOR COMPENSATION-RELATED COSTS
134.8	FOR MINIMUM WAGE CHANGES.
134.9	Subdivision 1. Rate adjustments for compensation-related costs. (a) Operating
134.10	Payment rates of all nursing facilities that are reimbursed under this chapter shall be increased
134.11	effective for rate years beginning on and after October 1, 2014, to address changes in
134.12	compensation costs for nursing facility employees paid less than \$14 per hour in accordance

April 13, 2017 10:04 AM

Senate Language S0800-3

155.21 section. Rate increases provided under this section before October 1, 2016, expire effective 155.22 January 1, 2018, and rate increases provided on or after October 1, 2016, expire effective

receive rate adjustments according to subdivision 4. The rate adjustments must be used to pay compensation costs for nursing facility employees paid less than \$14 per hour.

(b) Nursing facilities that receive approval of the applications in subdivision 2 must

155.23 January 1, 2019.

155.24

	with this section. Rate increases provided under this section before October 1, 2016, expire
	effective January 1, 2018. Rate increases provided on or after October 1, 2016, expire two
134.15	years after the effective date of the rate increases.
134.16	(b) Nursing facilities that receive approval of the applications in subdivision 2 must
134.17	receive rate adjustments according to subdivision 4. The rate adjustments must be used to
134.18	pay compensation costs for nursing facility employees paid less than \$14 per hour.
134.19	Subd. 2. Application process. To receive a rate adjustment, nursing facilities must
134.20	
134.21	commissioner. The applications for the rate adjustments shall include specified data, and
134.22	spending plans that describe how the funds from the rate adjustments will be allocated for
134.23	compensation to employees paid less than \$14 per hour. The applications must be submitted
134.24	
134.25	
134.26	
134.27	
134.28	months of the effective date of any operating payment rate adjustment under this section.
134.29	
	•
134.30	Subd. 3. Additional application requirements for facilities with employees
134.31	represented by an exclusive bargaining representative. For nursing facilities in which
134.32	employees are represented by an exclusive bargaining representative, the commissioner
134.33	shall approve the applications submitted under subdivision 2 only upon receipt of a letter
135.1	or letters of acceptance of the spending plans in regard to members of the bargaining unit,
135.2	signed by the exclusive bargaining agent and dated after May 31, 2014. Upon receipt of the
135.3	letter or letters of acceptance, the commissioner shall deem all requirements of this section
135.4	as having been met in regard to the members of the bargaining unit.
135.5	Subd. 4. Determination of the rate adjustments for compensation-related costs.
135.6	Based on the application in subdivision 2, the commissioner shall calculate the allowable
135.7	annualized compensation costs by adding the totals of clauses (1), and (2), and (3). The
135.8	result must be divided by the standardized or sum of the facility's resident days from the
135.9	most recently available cost report to determine per day amounts, which must be included
135.10	in the operating portion external fixed costs payment rate of the total payment rate and
135.11	allocated to direct care or other operating as determined by the commissioner:
135.12	(1) the sum of the difference between \$9.50 and any hourly wage rate less than \$9.50
135.12	for October 1, 2016; and between the indexed value of the minimum wage, as defined in
135.13	section 177.24, subdivision 1, paragraph (f), or any other minimum wage, as defined in
100.17	because 177.21, bacarrision 1, paragraph (1), or any other minimum wage implemented in

135.15 statute or by any local ordinance, and any hourly wage less than that indexed value for rate

	years beginning on and after October 1, 2017 January 1, 2018; multiplied by the number
135.17	of compensated hours at that wage rate; and
135.18	(2) using wages and hours in effect during the first three months of calendar year 2014,
	beginning with the first pay period beginning on or after January 1, 2014; 22.2 percent of
	the sum of items (i) to (viii) for October 1, 2016;
135.21	(i) for all compensated hours from \$8 to \$8.49 per hour, the number of compensated
135.22	
135.23	(ii) for all compensated hours from \$8.50 to \$8.99 per hour, the number of compensated
135.24	* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *
135.25	(iii) for all compensated hours from \$9 to \$9.49 per hour, the number of compensated
135.26	hours is multiplied by \$0.38;
135.27	(iv) for all compensated hours from \$9.50 to \$10.49 per hour, the number of compensated
135.28	
135.29	(v) for all compensated hours from \$10.50 to \$10.99 per hour, the number of compensated
	hours is multiplied by \$0.40;
135.31	(vi) for all compensated hours from \$11 to \$11.49 per hour, the number of compensated
135.32	* '
136.1	(vii) for all compensated hours from \$11.50 to \$11.99 per hour, the number of
136.2	compensated hours is multiplied by \$0.20; and
136.3	(viii) for all compensated hours from \$12 to \$13 per hour, the number of compensated
136.4	hours is multiplied by \$0.10; and
136.5	(3) (2) the sum of the employer's share of FICA taxes, Medicare taxes, state and federal
136.6	unemployment taxes, workers' compensation, pensions, and contributions to employee
136.7	retirement accounts attributable to the amounts in elauses clause (1) and (2).
1260	G 50 M 2016 (2016) (2016
136.8	Sec. 59 Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256R 53, subdivision 2, is amended to read

^{156.3} Sec. 37. <u>DIRECTION TO THE COMMISSIONER; BORDER CITY NURSING</u>
156.4 <u>FACILITY RATE STUDY.</u>

Care April 13, 2017 10:04 AM

Senate Language S0800-3

56.5	The commissioner of human services shall conduct a study using existing administrative
56.6	appropriations, to assess the rate disparity between the medical assistance rates paid to
56.7	nursing facilities located in Moorhead and those located in an adjacent city in another state
56.8	and in cities contiguous to the adjacent city. The study shall review past, current, and
56.9	projected disparities in rates and the impact of the disparities on workforce shortage issues
56.10	and continued access to medical assistance nursing facility services in Moorhead. The
56.11	commissioner shall submit the report to the legislature no later than January 15, 2018.

155.28 Sec. 36. <u>DIRECTION TO COMMISSIONER</u>; <u>ADULT DAY SERVICES STAFFING</u> 155.29 **RATIOS.**

55.30	The commissioner of human services shall study the staffing ratio for adult day services
55.31	clients and shall provide the chairs and ranking minority members of the house of
56.1	representatives and senate committees with jurisdiction over adult day services with
56.2	recommendations to adjust staffing ratios based on client needs by January 1, 2018.

136.9	Subd. 2. Nursing facility facilities in Breekenridge border cities. The operating
136.10	payment rate of a nonprofit nursing facility that exists on January 1, 2015, is located within
136.11	the boundaries of the eity cities of Breckenridge or Moorhead, and is reimbursed under this
136.12	chapter, is equal to the greater of:
136.13	(1) the operating payment rate determined under section 256R.21, subdivision 3; or
136.14	(2) the median case mix adjusted rates, including comparable rate components as
136.15	determined by the median case mix adjusted rates, including comparable rate components
136.16	as determined by the commissioner, for the equivalent case mix indices of the nonprofit
136.17	nursing facility or facilities located in an adjacent city in another state and in cities contiguous
136.18	to the adjacent city. The commissioner shall make the comparison required in this subdivision
136.19	on November 1 of each year and shall apply it to the rates to be effective on the following
136.20	January 1. The Minnesota facility's operating payment rate with a case mix index of 1.0 is
136.21	computed by dividing the adjacent city's nursing facility or facilities' median operating
136.22	payment rate with an index of 1.02 by 1.02. If the adjustments under this subdivision result
136.23	in a rate that exceeds the limits in section 256R.23, subdivision 5, and whose costs exceed
136.24	the rate in section 256R.24, subdivision 3, in a given rate year, the facility's rate shall not
136.25	be subject to the limits in section 256R.23, subdivision 5, and shall not be limited to the
136.26	rate established in section 256R.24, subdivision 3, for that rate year.

136.27 EFFECTIVE DATE. The rate increases for a facility located in Moorhead are effective for the rate year beginning January 1, 2020, and annually thereafter.

House Language UES0800-2

HOUSE ART. 2, SEC. 60 - SEE SENATE ART. 1, SEC. 48

138.6 Sec. 61. ALZHEIMER'S DISEASE WORKING GROUP.

138.7	Subdivision 1. Members. (a) The Minnesota Board on Aging must appoint 16 members
138 8	to an Alzheimer's disease working group, as follows:

(1) a caregiver of a person who has been diagnosed with Alzheimer's disease;

138.10	(2) a person who has been diagnosed with Alzheimer's disease;
138.1	(3) two representatives from the nursing facility or senior housing profession;
138.1	(4) a representative of the home care or adult day services profession;
138.1	(5) two geriatricians, one of whom serves a diverse or underserved community;
138.1	(6) a psychologist who specializes in dementia care;
138.1	(7) an Alzheimer's researcher;
138.1	(8) a representative of the Alzheimer's Association;
138.1°	
138.19	(10) the commissioner of human services or a designee;
138.20	(11) the commissioner of health or a designee;
138.2	(12) the ombudsman for long-term care or a designee; and
138.2	(13) one member of the Minnesota Board on Aging, selected by the board.
138.2 138.2	
138.2 138.2	
138.2 138.2 138.2	diversity in Minnesota, and must include representatives from rural and metropolitan areas
139.1 139.2 139.3 139.4	Subd. 2. Duties; recommendations. The Alzheimer's disease working group must review and revise the 2011 report, Preparing Minnesota for Alzheimer's: the Budgetary, Social and Personal Impacts. The working group shall consider and make recommendations and findings on the following issues as related to Alzheimer's disease or other dementias:

139.5	(1) analysis and assessment of public health and health care data to accurately determine
139.6	trends and disparities in cognitive decline;
139.7	(2) public awareness, knowledge, and attitudes, including knowledge gaps, stigma,
139.8	availability of information, and supportive community environments;
139.9	(3) risk reduction, including health education and health promotion on risk factors,
139.9	safety, and potentially avoidable hospitalizations;
139.11 139.12	(4) diagnosis and treatment, including early detection, access to diagnosis, quality of dementia care, and cost of treatment:
139.12	dementia care, and cost of freatment,
139.13	(5) professional education and training, including geriatric education for licensed health
139.14	
139.15	and other professionals in communities;
139.16	(6) residential services, including cost to families as well as regulation and licensing
139.17	
120.10	
139.18 139.19	(7) cultural competence and responsiveness to reduce health disparities and improve access to high-quality dementia care.
137.17	access to high-quanty demenda care.
139.20	Subd. 3. Meetings. The Board on Aging must convene the first meeting of the working
139.21	
139.22 139.23	
139.23	
139.25	not meet more than five times.
139.26	Subd. 4. Compensation. Members of the working group serve without compensation,
139.27 139.28	
	by the commissioner's plan adopted under Minnesota Statutes, section 43A.18, subdivision
139.30	
157.50	
139.31	Subd. 5. Administrative support. The Minnesota Board on Aging shall provide
139.32	administrative support and arrange meeting space for the working group.
140.1	Subd. 6. Report. The Board on Aging must submit a report providing the findings and
140.2	recommendations of the working group, including any draft legislation necessary to

140.3 140.4	implement the recommendations, to the governor and chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over health care by January 15, 2019.
140.5 140.6	Subd. 7. Expiration. The working group expires June 30, 2019, or the day after the working group submits the report required in subdivision 6, whichever is earlier.
	HOUSE ART. 2, SEC. 62 - SEE SENATE ART. 1
	HOUSE ART. 2, SEC. 63 - SEE SENATE ART. 1, SEC. 45
	HOUSE ART. 2, SEC. 64 - SEE SENATE ART. 1, SEC. 46
141.18	Sec. 65. ELECTRONIC SERVICE DELIVERY DOCUMENTATION SYSTEM.
141.19 141.20 141.21	Subdivision 1. Documentation; establishment. The commissioner of human services shall establish implementation requirements and standards for an electronic service delivery documentation system to comply with the 21st Century Cures Act, Public Law 114-255.
141.22 141.23	Subd. 2. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the terms in this subdivision have the meanings given them.
141.24 141.25	$\underline{\text{(b) "Electronic service delivery documentation" means the electronic documentation of }\underline{\text{the:}}$
141.26	(1) type of service performed;
141.27	(2) individual receiving the service;
141.28	(3) date of the service;
141.29	(4) location of the service delivery;
141.30	(5) individual providing the service; and
142.1	(6) time the service begins and ends.
142.2 142.3 142.4	(c) "Electronic service delivery documentation system" means a system that provides electronic service delivery documentation that complies with the 21st Century Cures Act, Public Law 114-255, and the requirements of subdivision 3.
1 74.7	The but II 1 200, and the requirements of subdivision 5.

142.5	(d) "Service" means one of the following:
142.6	(1) personal care assistance services as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.0625
142.7	subdivision 19a, and provided according to Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.0659; or
142.8	(2) community first services and supports under Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.85.
142.9	Subd. 3. Requirements. (a) In developing implementation requirements for an electronic
142.10	service delivery documentation system, the commissioner shall consider electronic visit
142.11	verification systems and other electronic service delivery documentation methods. The
142.12	commissioner shall convene stakeholders that will be impacted by an electronic service
142.13	delivery system, including service providers and their representatives, service recipients
142.14	and their representatives, and, as appropriate, those with expertise in the development and
142.15	operation of an electronic service delivery documentation system, to ensure that the
142.16	requirements:
142 17	(1) are minimally administratively and financially hypothesis to a provider
142.17	(1) are minimally administratively and financially burdensome to a provider;
142.18	(2) are minimally burdensome to the service recipient and the least disruptive to the
142.19	service recipient in receiving and maintaining allowed services:
	
142.20	(3) consider existing best practices and use of electronic service delivery documentation;
142.21	(4) are conducted according to all state and federal laws;
142.22	(5) are effective methods for preventing fraud when balanced against the requirements
142.23	of clauses (1) and (2); and
142.24	(6) are consistent with the Department of Human Services' policies related to covered
142.24	
142.25	services, flexibility of service use, and quality assurance.
142.26	(b) The commissioner shall make training available to providers on the electronic service
142.27	delivery documentation system requirements.
172.2/	delivery documentation system requirements.
142.28	(c) The commissioner shall establish baseline measurements related to preventing fraud
142.29	and establish measures to determine the effect of electronic service delivery documentation
142.30	requirements on program integrity.
143.1	Subd. 4. Legislative report. (a) The commissioner shall submit a report by January 15,
143.2	2018, to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with
143.3	iurisdiction over human services with recommendations, based on the requirements of

156.12 Sec. 38. REVISOR'S INSTRUCTION.

156.17

156.13	The revisor of statutes, in consultation with the House Research Department, Office o
156.14	Senate Counsel, Research, and Fiscal Analysis, and Department of Human Services shall
156.15	prepare legislation for the 2018 legislative session to recodify laws governing the elderly
156.16	waiver program in Minnesota Statutes, chapter 256B.
	

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

subdivision 3, to establish electronic service delivery documentation system requirements and standards. The report shall identify: (1) the essential elements necessary to operationalize a base-level electronic service 143.6 143.7 delivery documentation system to be implemented by January 1, 2019; and (2) enhancements to the base-level electronic service delivery documentation system to be implemented by January 1, 2019, or after, with projected operational costs and the costs and benefits for system enhancements. (b) The report must also identify current regulations on service providers that are either 143.11 143.12 inefficient, minimally effective, or will be unnecessary with the implementation of an electronic service delivery documentation system. 143.14 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment. HOUSE ART. 2, SEC. 66 - SEE SENATE ART. 1, SEC. 44 144.5 Sec. 67. DIRECTION TO COMMISSIONER; ICF/DD PAYMENT RATE STUDY. Within available appropriations, the commissioner of human services shall study the 144.6 144.7 intermediate care facility for persons with developmental disabilities payment rates under Minnesota Statutes, sections 256B.5011 to 256B.5013, and make recommendations on the rate structure to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with 144.10 jurisdiction over human services policy and finance by January 15, 2018. HOUSE ART. 2, SEC. 68 - SEE SENATE ART. 1, SEC. 43

House Language UES0800-2

HOUSE ART. 2, SEC. 70 - SEE SENATE ART. 1, SEC. 49

HOUSE ART. 2, SEC. 69 - SEE SENATE ART. 1, SEC. 42