STATE OF MINNESOTA HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

ENERGY AND CLIMATE FINANCE & POLICY DIVISION

MINUTES

Representative Jean Wagenius, Chair of the Energy and Climate Finance & Policy Division, called the virtual meeting to order at 9:48 A.M. on, April 23, 2020, pursuant to House rule 10.01. The meeting was broadcasted via Zoom and House Public Information Services.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll. A quorum was present.

Members present: Wagenius, Jean, Chair Long, Jamie, Vice-Chair Swedzinski, Chris, Republican Lead Acomb Baker Bierman Boe Christensen Garofalo Hornstein Jordan Mahoney Mekeland Nelson Stephenson

Members excused:

Representative Long moved adoption of the March 12, 2020 minutes. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Pursuant to House rule 10.01, and at the request of Chair Wagenius, all motions pertaining to HF4502 will be determined by roll call vote.

HF4502 (Stephenson) - Energy Conservation and Optimization Act of 2020 established.

Representative Stevenson moved that HF4502 be placed on the general register.

Representative Stephenson moved the HF4502DE4 amendment and a roll-call vote on the motion was taken. The results are as follows:

AYES: Wagenius, Jean, Chair Long, Jamie, Vice-Chair Swedzinski, Chris, Republican Lead Acomb Baker Bierman Boe Christensen Garofalo Hornstein Jordan Mekeland Nelson Stephenson

NAYS:

ABSENT: Mahoney

On a vote of FOURTEEN AYES, ZERO NAYS and ONE ABSENT. THE MOTION PREVAILED AND THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.

Testifying on HF4502: Representative Stephenson Representative Ecklund Commissioner Steve Kelley

Public Testifying on HF4502: Dave Wager, Minnesota Propane Association

Representative Swedzinski moved the HF4502A1 amendment and a roll-call vote on the motion was taken. The results are as follows:

AYES: Swedzinski, Chris, Republican Lead Baker Boe Garofalo Mekeland Nelson

NAYS: Wagenius, Jean, Chair Long, Jamie, Vice-Chair Acomb Bierman Christensen Hornstein Jordan Mahoney Stephenson

On a vote of SIX AYES and NINE NAYS. THE MOTION DID NOT PREVAIL AND THE AMENDMENT WAS NOT ADOPTED.

Representative Baker moved the HF4502A2 amendment and a roll-call vote on the motion was taken. The results are as follows:

AYES: Swedzinski, Chris, Republican Lead Baker Boe Garofalo Mekeland Nelson

NAYS: Wagenius, Jean, Chair Long, Jamie, Vice-Chair Acomb Bierman Christensen Hornstein Jordan Mahoney Stephenson

ABSENT:

On a vote of SIX AYES and NINE NAYS. THE MOTION DID NOT PREVAIL AND THE AMENDMENT WAS NOT ADOPTED.

Representative Swedzinski moved the HF4502A4 amendment.

Representative Swedzinski withdrew the HF4502A4 amendment.

Representative Stevenson renewed his motion that HF4502, as amended, be placed on the general register and a roll-call vote on the motion was taken. The results are as follows:

AYES: Wagenius, Jean, Chair Long, Jamie, Vice-Chair Acomb Bierman Christensen Hornstein Jordan Mahoney Stephenson Garofalo

NAYS: Swedzinski, Chris, Republican Lead Baker Boe Mekeland Nelson

On a vote of TEN AYES and FIVE NAYS. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

The meeting adjourned at 11:39 A.M.

Rep. Jean Wagenius, Chair

Zachary Zimmerman Committee Legislative Assistant