
1.1 .................... moves to amend JD088 as follows:​

1.2 Page 12, after line 7, insert:​

1.3 "Sec. .... MAINTAINING AND REINSTATING DRIVING PRIVILEGES.​

1.4 Subdivision 1. Definition. As used in this section, "peacetime public health emergency"​

1.5 means the peacetime emergency declared on March 13, 2020, in Executive Order No. 20-01​

1.6 and any extensions authorized under Minnesota Statutes, section 12.31, subdivision 2.​

1.7 Subd. 2. Commissioner to stop suspensions during peacetime emergency. (a)​

1.8 Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, the commissioner of public safety shall not suspend​

1.9 an individual's driver's license during the peacetime public health emergency solely:​

1.10 (1) for a violation of Minnesota Statutes, section 171.16, subdivision 2, if the person​

1.11 was convicted only under Minnesota Statutes, section 171.24, subdivision 1 or 2;​

1.12 (2) for a violation of Minnesota Statutes, section 171.16, subdivision 3;​

1.13 (3) pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 169.92, subdivision 4, if the person was​

1.14 charged:​

1.15 (i) with an offense that is a petty misdemeanor;​

1.16 (ii) under Minnesota Statutes, section 171.24, subdivision 1 or 2; or​

1.17 (iii) both items (i) and (ii); or​

1.18 (4) any combination of clauses (1), (2), or (3).​

1.19 (b) If the driver's license of an individual described in paragraph (a) remains subject to​

1.20 suspension, the commissioner of public safety shall send notice of suspension and suspend​

1.21 the individual's driver's license pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 171.18, subdivision​
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2.1 2, 365 days after the effective date of this section or 60 days after the end of the peacetime​

2.2 public health emergency, whichever is later.​

2.3 Subd. 3. Commissioner to reinstate driver's licenses during peacetime emergency. (a)​

2.4 Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section 171.20, subdivision 4, or any other law to the​

2.5 contrary, the commissioner of public safety shall immediately reinstate an individual's​

2.6 driver's license if the license is suspended solely:​

2.7 (1) for a violation of Minnesota Statutes, section 171.16, subdivision 2, if the person​

2.8 was convicted only under Minnesota Statutes, section 171.24, subdivision 1 or 2;​

2.9 (2) for a violation of Minnesota Statutes, section 171.16, subdivision 3;​

2.10 (3) pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 169.92, subdivision 4, if the person was​

2.11 charged:​

2.12 (i) with an offense that is a petty misdemeanor;​

2.13 (ii) under Minnesota Statutes, section 171.24, subdivision 1 or 2; or​

2.14 (iii) both items (i) and (ii); or​

2.15 (4) any combination of clauses (1), (2), or (3).​

2.16 (b) The commissioner of public safety shall reestablish the suspension of the driver's​

2.17 license of an individual described in paragraph (a), subject to the same terms and conditions​

2.18 that applied immediately before the license was reinstated, 365 days after the effective date​

2.19 of this section or 60 days after the end of the peacetime public health emergency, whichever​

2.20 is later.​

2.21 (c) The period during which an individual's driver's license is reinstated under this section​

2.22 shall not be applied to any period of suspension required by law or rule.​

2.23 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment."​

2.24 Renumber the sections in sequence and correct the internal references​

2.25 Amend the title accordingly​
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