1.1 ...... moves to amend H.F. No. 2856, the delete everything amendment
1.2 (H2856DE2), as follows:
1.3 Page 89, after line 29 insert:
1.4 "ARTICLE 8

Subd. 3. **Right to possession vests immediately; custody.** All right, title, and interest in an off-highway vehicle subject to forfeiture under this section vests in the appropriate agency upon commission of the conduct resulting in the designated offense giving rise to the forfeiture. Any vehicle seized under this section is not subject to replevin, but is deemed to be in the custody of the appropriate agency subject to the orders and decrees of the court having jurisdiction over the forfeiture proceedings. When an off-highway vehicle is seized under this section, the appropriate agency shall use reasonable diligence to secure the

**FORFEITURE** 

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 84.7741, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

1.15 (1) place the vehicle under seal;

1.5

1.6

1.7

1.8

1.9

1.10

1.11

1.12

1.13

1.14

(2) remove the vehicle to a place designated by the agency; and

property and prevent waste and may do any of the following:

- 1.17 (3) place a disabling device on the vehicle.
- 1.18 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 84.7741, subdivision 7, is amended to read:
- Subd. 7. **Presumptions; limitations on vehicle forfeiture.** (a) An off-highway vehicle is presumed subject to forfeiture under this section if the driver:
- (1) is convicted of the designated offense upon which the forfeiture is based; or

(2) fails to appear for a scheduled court appearance with respect to the designated offense charged and fails to voluntarily surrender within 48 hours after the time required for appearance.

- (b) An off-highway vehicle encumbered by a security interest perfected according to section 168A.17, subdivision 2, or subject to a lease that has a term of 180 days or more, is subject to the interest of the secured party or lessor unless the party or lessor had knowledge of or consented to the act upon which the forfeiture is based. However, when the proceeds of the sale of a seized vehicle do not equal or exceed the outstanding loan balance, the appropriate agency shall remit all proceeds of the sale to the secured party after deducting the agency's costs for the seizure, tow, storage, forfeiture, and sale of the vehicle. If the sale of the vehicle is conducted in a commercially reasonable manner consistent with section 336.9-610, the agency is not liable to the secured party for any amount owed on the loan in excess of the sale proceeds. The validity and amount of a nonperfected security interest must be established by its holder by clear and convincing evidence.
- (c) Notwithstanding paragraph (b), the secured party's or lessor's interest in an off-highway vehicle is not subject to forfeiture based solely on the secured party's or lessor's knowledge of the act or omission upon which the forfeiture is based if the secured party or lessor demonstrates by clear and convincing evidence that the party or lessor took reasonable steps to terminate use of the vehicle by the offender.
- (d) An off-highway vehicle is not subject to forfeiture under this section if its owner can demonstrate by clear and convincing evidence that the owner did not have actual or constructive knowledge that the vehicle would be used or operated in any manner contrary to law or that the owner took reasonable steps to prevent use of the vehicle by the offender. A hearing on a petition filed pursuant to this paragraph shall, to the extent practicable and consistent with the interests of justice, be held within 30 days of the filing of the petition. No petition filed or testimony given at a hearing pursuant to this paragraph shall be used as evidence in the related criminal matter. Nothing in this paragraph prevents any individual who has filed a petition under this section from providing information to any prosecuting authority or defendant involved in the related criminal matter or their representatives, or from testifying in any trial as to facts within the individual's knowledge. If the offender is a family or household member of the owner and has three or more prior off-highway vehicle convictions, the owner is presumed to know of any vehicle use by the offender that is contrary to law.
- (e) A claimant who is the defendant in the underlying criminal matter may bring a motion for replevin pursuant to section 609.5313, subdivision 3.

2.1

2.2

2.3

2.4

2.5

2.6

2.7

2.8

2.9

2.10

2.11

2.12

2.13

2.14

2.15

2.16

2.17

2.18

2.19

2.20

2.21

2.22

2.23

2.24

2.25

2.26

2.27

2.28

2.29

2.30

2.31

2.32

2.33

2 34

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 84.7741, subdivision 8, is amended to read:

Subd. 8. **Administrative forfeiture procedure.** (a) An off-highway vehicle used to commit a designated offense is subject to administrative forfeiture under this subdivision.

- (b) Within 60 days from when an off-highway vehicle is seized under subdivision 2, or within a reasonable time after seizure, the appropriate agency shall serve the driver or operator of the vehicle with a notice of the seizure and intent to forfeit the vehicle. Additionally, when an off-highway vehicle is seized under subdivision 2, or within a reasonable time after that, all persons known to have an ownership, possessory, or security interest in the vehicle must be notified of the seizure and the intent to forfeit the vehicle. For those vehicles required to be registered under chapter 168, the notification to a person known to have a security interest in the vehicle is required only if the vehicle is registered under chapter 168 and the interest is listed on the vehicle's title. Upon motion by the appropriate agency or prosecuting authority, a court may extend the time period for sending notice for a period not to exceed 90 days for good cause shown. Notice mailed by certified mail to the address shown in Department of Public Safety records is sufficient notice to the registered owner of the vehicle. For off-highway vehicles not required to be registered under chapter 168, notice mailed by certified mail to the address shown in the applicable filing or registration for the vehicle is sufficient notice to a person known to have an ownership, possessory, or security interest in the vehicle. Otherwise, notice may be given in the manner provided by law for service of a summons in a civil action.
- 3.21 (c) The notice must be in writing and contain:
- 3.22 (1) a description of the vehicle seized;
  - (2) the date of the seizure; and

3.1

3 2

3.3

3.4

3.5

3.6

3 7

3.8

3.9

3.10

3.11

3.12

3.13

3.14

3.15

3.16

3.17

3.18

3.19

3.20

3.23

3.24

3.25

3.26

3.27

3.28

3.29

3.30

3.31

3.32

3.33

- (3) notice of the right to obtain judicial review of the forfeiture and of the procedure for obtaining that judicial review, printed in English. This requirement does not preclude the appropriate agency from printing the notice in other languages in addition to English.
  - Substantially the following language must appear conspicuously in the notice:

"WARNING: You will may automatically lose the above-described property and the right to be heard in court if you do not file a lawsuit and serve the prosecuting authority within 60 days. You may file your lawsuit in conciliation court if the property is worth \$15,000 or less; otherwise, you must file in district court. You may not have to pay a filing fee for your lawsuit if you are unable to afford the fee. You do not have to pay a conciliation court fee if your property is worth less than \$500. If you are not the defendant, you may

also file an innocent owner petition. If you are the defendant, you may file a petition for replevin."

- (d) If notice is not sent in accordance with paragraph (b), and no time extension is granted or the extension period has expired, the appropriate agency shall return the property to the person from whom the property was seized, if known. An agency's return of property due to lack of proper notice does not restrict the agency's authority to commence a forfeiture proceeding at a later time. The agency shall not be required to return contraband or other property that the person from whom the property was seized may not legally possess.
- (e) Within 60 days following service of a notice of seizure and forfeiture under this subdivision, a claimant may file a demand for a judicial determination of the forfeiture. The demand must be in the form of a civil complaint and must be filed with the court administrator in the county in which the seizure occurred, together with proof of service of a copy of the complaint on the prosecuting authority having jurisdiction over the forfeiture and the standard filing fee for civil actions unless the petitioner has the right to sue in forma pauperis under section 563.01. The claimant may serve the complaint on the prosecuting authority by any means permitted by court rules. If the value of the seized property is \$15,000 or less, the claimant may file an action in conciliation court for recovery of the seized vehicle. A copy of the conciliation court statement of claim must be served personally or by mail on the prosecuting authority having jurisdiction over the forfeiture within 60 days following service of the notice of seizure and forfeiture under this subdivision. If the value of the seized property is less than \$500, the claimant does not have to pay the conciliation court filing fee. No responsive pleading is required of the prosecuting authority and no court fees may be charged for the prosecuting authority's appearance in the matter. Pleadings, filings, and methods of service are governed by the Rules of Civil Procedure.
- (f) The complaint must be captioned in the name of the claimant as plaintiff and the seized vehicle as defendant and must state with specificity the grounds on which the claimant alleges the vehicle was improperly seized, the claimant's interest in the vehicle seized, and any affirmative defenses the claimant may have. Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, an action for the return of an off-highway vehicle seized under this section may not be maintained by or on behalf of any person who has been served with a notice of seizure and forfeiture unless the person has complied with this subdivision.
- (g) If the claimant makes a timely demand for a judicial determination under this subdivision, the forfeiture proceedings must be conducted according to subdivision 9.

4.1

4.2

4.3

4.4

4.5

4.6

4.7

4.8

4.9

4.10

4.11

4.12

4.13

4.14

4.15

4.16

4.17

4.18

4.19

4.20

4.21

4.22

4.23

4.24

4.25

4.26

4.27

4.28

4.29

4.30

4.31

4.32

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 84.7741, subdivision 9, is amended to read:

- Subd. 9. **Judicial forfeiture procedure.** (a) This subdivision governs judicial determinations of the forfeiture of an off-highway vehicle used to commit a designated offense. An action for forfeiture is a civil in rem action and is independent of any criminal prosecution. All proceedings are governed by the Rules of Civil Procedure.
- (b) If no demand for judicial determination of the forfeiture is pending, the prosecuting authority may, in the name of the jurisdiction pursuing the forfeiture, file a separate complaint against the vehicle, describing it, specifying that it was used in the commission of a designated offense, and specifying the time and place of its unlawful use.
- (c) The prosecuting authority may file an answer to a properly served demand for judicial determination, including an affirmative counterclaim for forfeiture. The prosecuting authority is not required to file an answer.
- (d) A judicial determination under this subdivision must be held at the earliest practicable date, and in any event no later than 180 days following the filing of the demand by the claimant. If a related criminal proceeding is pending, the hearing under this subdivision shall not be held until the conclusion of the criminal proceedings. Hearings on petitions or actions brought pursuant to subdivision 7, paragraph (d), or section 609.5313, subdivision 3, must be held at the earliest practicable date and may not be delayed pending the conclusion of the criminal proceedings. The district court administrator shall schedule the hearing as soon as practicable after the conclusion of the criminal prosecution. The district court administrator shall establish procedures to ensure efficient compliance with this subdivision. The hearing is to the court without a jury.
- (e) There is a presumption that an off-highway vehicle seized under this section is subject to forfeiture if the prosecuting authority establishes that the vehicle was used in the commission of a designated offense. A claimant bears the burden of proving any affirmative defense raised.
- (f) If the forfeiture is based on the commission of a designated offense and the person charged with the designated offense appears in court as required and is not convicted of the offense, the court shall order the property returned to the person legally entitled to it upon that person's compliance with the redemption requirements of subdivision 12.
- (g) If the lawful ownership of the vehicle used in the commission of a designated offense can be determined and the owner makes the demonstration required under subdivision 7, paragraph (d), the vehicle must be returned immediately upon the owner's compliance with the redemption requirements of subdivision 12.

5.1

5.2

5.3

5.4

5.5

5.6

5 7

5.8

5.9

5.10

5.11

5.12

5.13

5.14

5.15

5.16

5.17

5.18

5.19

5.20

5.21

5.22

5.23

5.24

5.25

5.26

5.27

5.28

5.29

5.30

5.31

5.32

5.33

| (h) If the court orders the return of a seized vehicle under this subdivision, it must order  |
|---|
| that filing fees be reimbursed to the person who filed the demand for judicial determination. |
| In addition, the court may order sanctions under section 549.211. Any reimbursement fees      |
| or sanctions must be paid from other forfeiture proceeds of the law enforcement agency        |
| and prosecuting authority involved and in the same proportion as distributed under            |
| subdivision 10, paragraph (b).  |

- (i) No petition filed or testimony given at a hearing pursuant to this subdivision shall be used as evidence in the related criminal matter. Nothing in this paragraph prevents any individual who has filed a petition under this section from providing information to any prosecuting authority or defendant involved in the related criminal matter or their representatives, or from testifying in any trial as to facts within the individual's knowledge.
- Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 84.7741, subdivision 10, is amended to read:
  - Subd. 10. **Disposition of forfeited vehicle.** (a) If the vehicle is administratively forfeited under subdivision 8, or if the court finds under subdivision 9 that the vehicle is subject to forfeiture under subdivisions 6 and 7, the appropriate agency shall:
    - (1) sell the vehicle and distribute the proceeds under paragraph (b); or
  - (2) keep the vehicle for official use. If the agency keeps a forfeited off-highway vehicle for official use, the agency shall make reasonable efforts to ensure that the off-highway vehicle is available for use by the agency's officers who participate in off-highway vehicle enforcement or education programs.
  - (b) The proceeds from the sale of forfeited vehicles, after payment of seizure, towing, storage, forfeiture, and sale expenses and satisfaction of valid liens against the property, must be distributed as follows: forwarded to the commissioner of public safety within 60 days after resolution of the forfeiture and distributed pursuant to section 609.5315, subdivision 5.
  - (1) 70 percent of the proceeds must be forwarded to the appropriate agency for deposit as a supplement to the state or local agency's operating fund or similar fund for use in purchasing equipment for off-highway vehicle enforcement, training, and education; and
  - (2) 30 percent of the money or proceeds must be forwarded to the prosecuting authority that handled the forfeiture for deposit as a supplement to its operating fund or similar fund for prosecutorial purposes.
  - (c) If a vehicle is sold under paragraph (a), the appropriate agency shall not sell the vehicle to: (1) an officer or employee of the agency that seized the property or to a person

6.1

6.2

6.3

6.4

6.5

6.6

6.7

6.8

6.9

6.10

6.11

6.13

6.14

6.15

6.16

6.17

6.18

6.19

6.20

6.21

6.22

6.23

6.24

6.25

6.26

6.27

6.28

6.29

6.30

6.31

6.32

related to the officer or employee by blood or marriage; or (2) the prosecuting authority or any individual working in the same office or a person related to the authority or individual by blood or marriage.

- (d) Sales of forfeited vehicles under this section must be conducted in a commercially reasonable manner.
- (e) If a vehicle is forfeited administratively under this section and no demand for judicial determination is made, the appropriate agency shall provide the prosecuting authority with a copy of the forfeiture or evidence receipt, the notice of seizure and intent to forfeit, a statement of probable cause for forfeiture of the property, and a description of the property and its estimated value. Upon review and certification by the prosecuting authority that (1) the appropriate agency provided a receipt in accordance with subdivision 2, paragraph (c), (2) the appropriate agency served notice in accordance with subdivision 8, and (3) probable cause for forfeiture exists based on the officer's statement, the appropriate agency may dispose of the property in any of the ways listed in this subdivision.
- Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 169A.63, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
  - Subd. 3. **Right to possession vests immediately; custody.** All right, title, and interest in a vehicle subject to forfeiture under this section vests in the appropriate agency upon commission of the conduct resulting in the designated offense or designated license revocation giving rise to the forfeiture. Any vehicle seized under this section is not subject to replevin, but is deemed to be in the custody of the appropriate agency subject to the orders and decrees of the court having jurisdiction over the forfeiture proceedings. When a vehicle is seized under this section, the appropriate agency shall use reasonable diligence to secure the property and prevent waste and may do any of the following:
- 7.24 (1) place the vehicle under seal;

7.1

7.2

7.3

7.4

7.5

7.6

7.7

7.8

7.9

7.10

7.11

7.12

7.13

7.14

7.16

7.17

7.18

7.19

7.20

7.21

7.22

- 7.25 (2) remove the vehicle to a place designated by it; and
- 7.26 (3) place a disabling device on the vehicle.
- Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 169A.63, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
- Subd. 4a. Ignition interlock. (a) Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, if a person
   alleged to have committed the conduct resulting in a designated offense or the designated
   license revocation giving rise to the forfeiture is the owner of a vehicle that has been seized
   under this section and seeks possession of the vehicle before the forfeiture action is

| 04/17/18 02:55 PM       | HOUSE RESEARCH     | BJ/SK   | H2856A25   |
|-------------------------|--------------------|---------|------------|
| 0 1/1 // 10 02.33 1 101 | 110 CDE REBEI INCH | D3/ D11 | 1120501125 |

determined, the owner may apply for a restricted license and participation in the ignition interlock program pursuant to section 171.306.

- (b) A vehicle equipped with an ignition interlock device pursuant to this subdivision is not subject to forfeiture unless:
- (1) the commissioner terminates the owner's participation in the program pursuant to section 171.306, subdivision 5, paragraph (b); or
  - (2) the owner voluntarily terminates participation in the program before criminal charges for a designated offense and civil proceedings for a designated license revocation are resolved in the owner's favor, or the owner becomes eligible for restoration of full driving privileges.
    - (c) This subdivision does not apply to a vehicle being held for investigatory purposes.
- Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 169A.63, subdivision 7, is amended to read:
- 8.13 Subd. 7. **Limitations on vehicle forfeiture.** (a) A vehicle is presumed subject to forfeiture under this section if:
  - (1) the driver is convicted of the designated offense upon which the forfeiture is based;
  - (2) the driver fails to appear for a scheduled court appearance with respect to the designated offense charged and fails to voluntarily surrender within 48 hours after the time required for appearance; or
  - (3) the driver's conduct results in a designated license revocation and the driver fails to seek judicial review of the revocation in a timely manner as required by section 169A.53, subdivision 2, (petition for judicial review), or the license revocation is judicially reviewed and sustained under section 169A.53, subdivision 2.
  - (b) A vehicle encumbered by a security interest perfected according to section 168A.17, subdivision 2, or subject to a lease that has a term of 180 days or more, is subject to the interest of the secured party or lessor unless the party or lessor had knowledge of or consented to the act upon which the forfeiture is based. However, when the proceeds of the sale of a seized vehicle do not equal or exceed the outstanding loan balance, the appropriate agency shall remit all proceeds of the sale to the secured party after deducting the agency's costs for the seizure, tow, storage, forfeiture, and sale of the vehicle. If the sale of the vehicle is conducted in a commercially reasonable manner consistent with the provisions of section 336.9-610, the agency is not liable to the secured party for any amount owed on the loan in

8.1

8.2

83

8.4

8.5

8.6

8.7

8.8

8.9

8.10

8.15

8.16

8.17

8.18

8.19

8.20

8.21

8.22

8.23

8.24

8.25

8.26

8.27

8.28

8.29

8.30

excess of the sale proceeds. The validity and amount of a nonperfected security interest must be established by its holder by clear and convincing evidence.

- (c) Notwithstanding paragraph (b), the secured party's or lessor's interest in a vehicle is not subject to forfeiture based solely on the secured party's or lessor's knowledge of the act or omission upon which the forfeiture is based if the secured party or lessor demonstrates by clear and convincing evidence that the party or lessor took reasonable steps to terminate use of the vehicle by the offender.
- (d) A motor vehicle is not subject to forfeiture under this section if any of its owners who petition the court can demonstrate by clear and convincing evidence that the petitioning owner did not have actual or constructive knowledge that the vehicle would be used or operated in any manner contrary to law or that the petitioning owner took reasonable steps to prevent use of the vehicle by the offender. A hearing on a petition filed pursuant to this paragraph shall, to the extent practicable and consistent with the interests of justice, be held within 30 days of the filing of the petition. No petition filed or testimony given at a hearing pursuant to this paragraph shall be used as evidence in the related criminal matter. Nothing in this paragraph prevents any individual who has filed a petition under this section from providing information to any prosecuting authority or defendant involved in the related criminal matter or their representatives, or from testifying in any trial as to facts within the individual's knowledge. If the offender is a family or household member of any of the owners who petition the court and has three or more prior impaired driving convictions, the petitioning owner is presumed to know of any vehicle use by the offender that is contrary to law. "Vehicle use contrary to law" includes, but is not limited to, violations of the following statutes:
- (1) section 171.24 (violations; driving without valid license);
- 9.25 (2) section 169.791 (criminal penalty for failure to produce proof of insurance);
- 9.26 (3) section 171.09 (driving restrictions; authority, violations);
- 9.27 (4) section 169A.20 (driving while impaired);
- 9.28 (5) section 169A.33 (underage drinking and driving); and
- 9.29 (6) section 169A.35 (open bottle law).
- (e) A claimant who is the defendant in the underlying criminal matter may bring a motion
   for replevin pursuant to section 609.5313, subdivision 3.

9.1

9.2

9.3

9.4

9.5

9.6

9.7

9.8

9.9

9.10

9.11

9.12

9.13

9.14

9.15

9.16

9.17

9.18

9.19

9.20

9.21

9.22

9.23

Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 169A.63, subdivision 8, is amended to read:

Subd. 8. **Administrative forfeiture procedure.** (a) A motor vehicle used to commit a designated offense or used in conduct resulting in a designated license revocation is subject to administrative forfeiture under this subdivision.

- (b) Within 60 days from when a motor vehicle is seized under subdivision 2, or within a reasonable time after seizure, the appropriate agency shall serve the driver or operator of the vehicle with a notice of the seizure and intent to forfeit the vehicle. Additionally, when a motor vehicle is seized under subdivision 2, or within a reasonable time after that, all persons known to have an ownership, possessory, or security interest in the vehicle must be notified of the seizure and the intent to forfeit the vehicle. For those vehicles required to be registered under chapter 168, the notification to a person known to have a security interest in the vehicle is required only if the vehicle is registered under chapter 168 and the interest is listed on the vehicle's title. Upon motion by the appropriate agency or prosecuting authority, a court may extend the time period for sending notice for a period not to exceed 90 days for good cause shown. Notice mailed by certified mail to the address shown in Department of Public Safety records is sufficient notice to the registered owner of the vehicle. For motor vehicles not required to be registered under chapter 168, notice mailed by certified mail to the address shown in the applicable filing or registration for the vehicle is sufficient notice to a person known to have an ownership, possessory, or security interest in the vehicle. Otherwise, notice may be given in the manner provided by law for service of a summons in a civil action.
  - (c) The notice must be in writing and contain:
- 10.23 (1) a description of the vehicle seized;
- 10.24 (2) the date of seizure; and

10.1

10.2

10.3

10.4

10.5

10.6

10.7

10.8

10.9

10.10

10.11

10.12

10.13

10.14

10.15

10.16

10.17

10.18

10.19

10.20

10.21

10.22

10.25

10.26

10.27

10.28

10.29

10.30

10.31

10.32

10.33

- (3) notice of the right to obtain judicial review of the forfeiture and of the procedure for obtaining that judicial review, printed in English. This requirement does not preclude the appropriate agency from printing the notice in other languages in addition to English.
  - Substantially the following language must appear conspicuously in the notice:

"WARNING: You will may automatically lose the above-described property and the right to be heard in court if you do not file a lawsuit and serve the prosecuting authority within 60 days. You may file your lawsuit in conciliation court if the property is worth \$15,000 or less; otherwise, you must file in district court. You may not have to pay a filing fee for your lawsuit if you are unable to afford the fee. You do not have to pay a conciliation

court fee if your property is worth less than \$500. If you are not the defendant, you may also file an innocent owner petition. If you are the defendant, you may file a petition for replevin."

- (d) If notice is not sent in accordance with paragraph (b), and no time extension is granted or the extension period has expired, the appropriate agency shall return the property to the person from whom the property was seized, if known. An agency's return of property due to lack of proper notice does not restrict the agency's authority to commence a forfeiture proceeding at a later time. The agency shall not be required to return contraband or other property that the person from whom the property was seized may not legally possess.
- (e) Within 60 days following service of a notice of seizure and forfeiture under this subdivision, a claimant may file a demand for a judicial determination of the forfeiture. The demand must be in the form of a civil complaint and must be filed with the court administrator in the county in which the seizure occurred, together with proof of service of a copy of the complaint on the prosecuting authority having jurisdiction over the forfeiture, including the standard filing fee for civil actions unless the petitioner has the right to sue in forma pauperis under section 563.01. The claimant may serve the complaint by any means permitted by court rules. If the value of the seized property is \$15,000 or less, the claimant may file an action in conciliation court for recovery of the seized vehicle. A copy of the conciliation court statement of claim must be served personally or by mail on the prosecuting authority having jurisdiction over the forfeiture, as well as on the appropriate agency that initiated the forfeiture, within 60 days following service of the notice of seizure and forfeiture under this subdivision. If the value of the seized property is less than \$500, the claimant does not have to pay the conciliation court filing fee.

No responsive pleading is required of the prosecuting authority and no court fees may be charged for the prosecuting authority's appearance in the matter. The prosecuting authority may appear for the appropriate agency. Pleadings, filings, and methods of service are governed by the Rules of Civil Procedure.

(f) The complaint must be captioned in the name of the claimant as plaintiff and the seized vehicle as defendant, and must state with specificity the grounds on which the claimant alleges the vehicle was improperly seized, the claimant's interest in the vehicle seized, and any affirmative defenses the claimant may have. Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, an action for the return of a vehicle seized under this section may not be maintained by or on behalf of any person who has been served with a notice of seizure and forfeiture unless the person has complied with this subdivision.

11.1

11.2

11.3

11.4

11.5

11.6

11.7

11.8

11.9

11.10

11.11

11.12

11.13

11.14

11.15

11.16

11.17

11.18

11.19

11.20

11.21

11.22

11.23

11.24

11.25

11.26

11.27

11.28

11.29

11.30

11.31

11.32

11.33

(g) If the claimant makes a timely demand for a judicial determination under this subdivision, the forfeiture proceedings must be conducted as provided under subdivision 9.

- Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 169A.63, subdivision 9, is amended to read:
- Subd. 9. **Judicial forfeiture procedure.** (a) This subdivision governs judicial determinations of the forfeiture of a motor vehicle used to commit a designated offense or used in conduct resulting in a designated license revocation. An action for forfeiture is a civil in rem action and is independent of any criminal prosecution. All proceedings are governed by the Rules of Civil Procedure.
- (b) If no demand for judicial determination of the forfeiture is pending, the prosecuting authority may, in the name of the jurisdiction pursuing the forfeiture, file a separate complaint against the vehicle, describing it, specifying that it was used in the commission of a designated offense or was used in conduct resulting in a designated license revocation, and specifying the time and place of its unlawful use.
- (c) The prosecuting authority may file an answer to a properly served demand for judicial determination, including an affirmative counterclaim for forfeiture. The prosecuting authority is not required to file an answer.
- (d) A judicial determination under this subdivision must be held at the earliest practicable date, and in any event no later than 180 days following the filing of the demand by the claimant. If a related criminal proceeding is pending, the hearing under this subdivision shall not be held until the conclusion of the criminal proceedings. Hearings on petitions or actions brought pursuant to subdivision 7, paragraph (d), or section 609.5313, subdivision 3, must be held at the earliest practicable date and may not be delayed pending the conclusion of the criminal proceedings. The district court administrator shall schedule the hearing as soon as practicable after the conclusion of the criminal prosecution. The district court administrator shall establish procedures to ensure efficient compliance with this subdivision. The hearing is to the court without a jury.
- (e) There is a presumption that a vehicle seized under this section is subject to forfeiture if the prosecuting authority establishes that the vehicle was used in the commission of a designated offense or designated license revocation. A claimant bears the burden of proving any affirmative defense raised.
- (f) If the forfeiture is based on the commission of a designated offense and the person charged with the designated offense appears in court as required and is not convicted of the

12.1

12.2

12.3

12.4

12.5

12.6

12.7

12.8

12.9

12.10

12.11

12.12

12.13

12.14

12.15

12.16

12.17

12.18

12.19

12.20

12.21

12.22

12.23

12.24

12.25

12.26

12.27

12.28

12.29

12.30

12.31

12.32

offense, the court shall order the property returned to the person legally entitled to it upon that person's compliance with the redemption requirements of section 169A.42. If the forfeiture is based on a designated license revocation, and the license revocation is rescinded under section 169A.53, subdivision 3 (judicial review hearing, issues, order, appeal), the court shall order the property returned to the person legally entitled to it upon that person's compliance with the redemption requirements of section 169A.42.

- (g) If the lawful ownership of the vehicle used in the commission of a designated offense or used in conduct resulting in a designated license revocation can be determined and the owner makes the demonstration required under subdivision 7, paragraph (d), the vehicle must be returned immediately upon the owner's compliance with the redemption requirements of section 169A.42.
- (h) If the court orders the return of a seized vehicle under this subdivision it must order that filing fees be reimbursed to the person who filed the demand for judicial determination. In addition, the court may order sanctions under section 549.211 (sanctions in civil actions). Any reimbursement fees or sanctions must be paid from other forfeiture proceeds of the law enforcement agency and prosecuting authority involved and in the same proportion as distributed under subdivision 10, paragraph (b).
- (i) No petition filed or testimony given at a hearing pursuant to this subdivision shall be used as evidence in the related criminal matter. Nothing in this paragraph prevents any individual who has filed a petition under this section from providing information to any prosecuting authority or defendant involved in the related criminal matter or their representatives, or from testifying in any trial as to facts within the individual's knowledge.
- Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 169A.63, subdivision 10, is amended to read:
- Subd. 10. **Disposition of forfeited vehicle.** (a) If the vehicle is administratively forfeited under subdivision 8, or if the court finds under subdivision 9 that the vehicle is subject to forfeiture under subdivisions 6 and 7, the appropriate agency shall:
  - (1) sell the vehicle and distribute the proceeds under paragraph (b); or
- (2) keep the vehicle for official use. If the agency keeps a forfeited motor vehicle for official use, it shall make reasonable efforts to ensure that the motor vehicle is available for use by the agency's officers who participate in the drug abuse resistance education program.
- (b) The proceeds from the sale of forfeited vehicles, after payment of seizure, towing, storage, forfeiture, and sale expenses, and satisfaction of valid liens against the property,

13.1

13.2

13.3

13.4

13.5

13.6

13.7

13.8

13.9

13.10

13.11

13.12

13.13

13.14

13.15

13.16

13.17

13.18

13.19

13.20

13.21

13.22

13.23

13.24

13.25

13.26

13.27

13.28

13.29

13.30

13.31

must be distributed as follows: forwarded to the commissioner within 60 days after resolution of the forfeiture and distributed pursuant to section 609.5315, subdivision 5.

- (1) 70 percent of the proceeds must be forwarded to the appropriate agency for deposit as a supplement to the state or local agency's operating fund or similar fund for use in DWI-related enforcement, training, and education; and
- (2) 30 percent of the money or proceeds must be forwarded to the prosecuting authority that handled the forfeiture for deposit as a supplement to its operating fund or similar fund for prosecutorial purposes.
- (c) If a vehicle is sold under paragraph (a), the appropriate agency shall not sell the vehicle to: (1) an officer or employee of the agency that seized the property or to a person related to the officer or employee by blood or marriage; or (2) the prosecuting authority or any individual working in the same office or a person related to the authority or individual by blood or marriage.
- (d) Sales of forfeited vehicles under this section must be conducted in a commercially reasonable manner.
- (e) If a vehicle is forfeited administratively under this section and no demand for judicial determination is made, the appropriate agency shall provide the prosecuting authority with a copy of the forfeiture or evidence receipt, the notice of seizure and intent to forfeit, a statement of probable cause for forfeiture of the property, and a description of the property and its estimated value. Upon review and certification by the prosecuting authority that (1) the appropriate agency provided a receipt in accordance with subdivision 2, paragraph (c), (2) the appropriate agency served notice in accordance with subdivision 8, and (3) probable cause for forfeiture exists based on the officer's statement, the appropriate agency may dispose of the property in any of the ways listed in this subdivision.
- Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 171.306, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- Subdivision 1. **Definitions.** (a) As used in this section, the terms in this subdivision have the meanings given them.
  - (b) "Ignition interlock device" or "device" means equipment that is designed to measure breath alcohol concentration and to prevent a motor vehicle's ignition from being started by a person whose breath alcohol concentration measures 0.02 or higher on the equipment.
  - (c) "Location tracking capabilities" means the ability of an electronic or wireless device to identify and transmit its geographic location through the operation of the device.

14.1

14.2

14.3

14.4

14.5

14.6

14.7

14.8

14.9

14.10

14.11

14.12

14.13

14.14

14.15

14.16

14.17

14.18

14.19

14.20

14.21

14.22

14.23

14.24

14.25

14.26

14.29

14.30

14.31

14.32

(d) "Program participant" means a person who has qualified to take part in the ignition interlock program under this section, and either seeks return of a vehicle subject to forfeiture under section 169A.63, subdivision 4a, or whose driver's license has been:

- (1) revoked, canceled, or denied under section 169A.52; 169A.54; 171.04, subdivision 1, clause (10); or 171.177; or
- (2) revoked under section 171.17, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clause (1), or suspended under section 171.187, for a violation of section 609.2113, subdivision 1, clause (2), item (i) or (iii), (3), or (4); subdivision 2, clause (2), item (i) or (iii), (3), or (4); or subdivision 3, clause (2), item (i) or (iii), (3), or (4); or 609.2114, subdivision 2, clause (2), item (i) or (iii), (3), or (4), resulting in bodily harm, substantial bodily harm, or great bodily harm.
- 15.11 (e) "Qualified prior impaired driving incident" has the meaning given in section 169A.03, subdivision 22.
- 15.13 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 609.531, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:
- Subd. 1a. **Construction.** Sections 609.531 to 609.5318 must be <u>liberally strictly</u> construed to carry out the following remedial purposes:
- 15.16 (1) to enforce the law;
- 15.17 (2) to deter crime;

15.1

15.2

15.3

15.4

- 15.18 (3) to reduce the economic incentive to engage in criminal enterprise;
- (4) to increase the pecuniary loss resulting from the detection of criminal activity; and
- 15.20 (5) to forfeit property unlawfully used or acquired and divert the property to law 15.21 enforcement purposes; and
- 15.22 (6) to protect property and due process rights of innocent property owners.
- Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 609.531, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
- Subd. 5. Right to possession vests immediately; custody of seized property. All right, 15.24 title, and interest in property subject to forfeiture under sections 609.531 to 609.5318 vests 15.25 in the appropriate agency upon commission of the act or omission giving rise to the forfeiture. 15.26 Any property seized under sections 609.531 to 609.5318 is not subject to replevin, but is 15.27 deemed to be in the custody of the appropriate agency subject to the orders and decrees of 15.28 the court having jurisdiction over the forfeiture proceedings. When property is so seized, 15.29 the appropriate agency shall use reasonable diligence to secure the property and prevent 15.30 waste and may do any of the following: 15.31

| 16.1 | (1) | place | the | pro | perty | under | seal | Ι, |
|------|-----|-------|-----|-----|-------|-------|------|----|
|      |     |       |     |     |       |       |      |    |

16.2

16.7

16.8

16.9

16.10

16.11

16.12

16.13

16.17

16.18

16.19

16.20

16.21

- (2) remove the property to a place designated by it; and
- 16.3 (3) in the case of controlled substances, require the state Board of Pharmacy to take
  16.4 custody of the property and remove it to an appropriate location for disposition in accordance
  16.5 with law.
- Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 609.531, subdivision 8, is amended to read:
  - Subd. 8. Forfeiture policies; statewide model policy required. (a) By December 1, 2010, the Peace Officer Standards and Training Board, after consulting with the Minnesota County Attorneys Association, the Minnesota Sheriffs' Association, the Minnesota Chiefs of Police Association, and the Minnesota Police and Peace Officers Association, shall develop a model policy that articulates best practices for forfeiture and is designed to encourage the uniform application of forfeiture laws statewide. At a minimum, the policy shall address the following:
- 16.14 (1) best practices in pursuing, seizing, and tracking forfeitures;
- 16.15 (2) type and frequency of training for law enforcement on forfeiture laws; and
- 16.16 (3) situations in which forfeitures should not be pursued.
  - (b) By December 1, 2010, the Minnesota County Attorneys Association, after consulting with the attorney general, the Peace Officer Standards and Training Board, the Minnesota Sheriffs' Association, the Minnesota Chiefs of Police Association, and the Minnesota Police and Peace Officers Association, shall develop a model policy that articulates best practices for forfeiture and is designed to encourage the uniform application of forfeiture laws statewide. At a minimum, the policy shall address the following:
- 16.23 (1) statutory role of prosecuting authorities in forfeiture procedures;
- 16.24 (2) best practices for timely and fair resolution of forfeiture cases;
- 16.25 (3) type and frequency of training for prosecuting authorities on forfeiture laws; and
- 16.26 (4) situations in which forfeitures should not be pursued.
- 16.27 (c) By December 1, 2010, the Minnesota County Attorneys Association and the Peace
  16.28 Officer Standards and Training Board shall forward an electronic copy of its respective
  16.29 model policy to the chairs and ranking minority members of the senate and house of
  16.30 representatives committees having jurisdiction over criminal justice and civil law policy.

(d) By March 1, 2011, the chief law enforcement officer of every state and local law enforcement agency and every prosecution office in the state shall adopt and implement a written policy on forfeiture that is identical or substantially similar to the model policies developed under paragraphs (a) and (b). The written policy shall be made available to the public upon request.

- (e) By December 1, 2019, the County Attorneys Association and Peace Officer Standards and Training Board must update the model policies identified in paragraphs (a) and (b) and forward an electronic copy of the updated model policy to the chairs and ranking minority members of the senate and house of representatives committees having jurisdiction over criminal justice and civil law policy.
- (f) By March 1, 2020, the chief law enforcement officer of every state and local law enforcement agency and every prosecution office in the state must update the written policy adopted and implemented under paragraph (d) to be identical or substantially similar to the model policies updated under paragraph (e).
  - Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 609.5313, is amended to read:

## 609.5313 FORFEITURE BY JUDICIAL ACTION; PROCEDURE.

Subdivision 1. Complaint; notice. (a) The forfeiture of property under sections 609.5311 and 609.5312 is governed by this section. A separate complaint must be filed against the property stating the act, omission, or occurrence giving rise to the forfeiture and the date and place of the act or occurrence. Within 60 days from when the seizure occurs, the prosecuting authority shall notify the owner or possessor of the property of the action, if known or readily ascertainable. The action must be captioned in the name of the prosecuting authority or the prosecuting authority's designee as plaintiff and the property as defendant. Upon motion by the prosecuting authority, a court may extend the time period for sending notice for a period not to exceed 90 days for good cause shown.

- (b) If notice is not sent in accordance with paragraph (a), and no time extension is granted or the extension period has expired, the appropriate agency shall return the property to the person from whom the property was seized, if known. An agency's return of property due to lack of proper notice does not restrict the right of the agency to commence a forfeiture proceeding at a later time. The agency shall not be required to return contraband or other property that the person from whom the property was seized may not legally possess.
- 17.32 <u>Subd. 2.</u> <u>Innocent owner.</u> (a) Any person, other than the defendant, asserting a legal 17.33 interest in property which has been seized or restrained may, until the criminal conviction,

17.1

17.2

17.3

17.4

17.5

17.6

17.7

17.8

17.9

17.10

17.15

17.16

17.17

17.18

17.19

17.20

17.21

17.22

17.23

17.24

17.25

17.26

17.27

17.28

17.29

17.30

file an action in conciliation court or petition the court for a hearing to adjudicate the validity of the person's alleged interest in the property.

- (b) The petition shall be signed by the petitioner under penalty of perjury and shall set forth the nature and extent of the petitioner's right, title, or interest in the property, the time and circumstances of the petitioner's acquisition of the right, title, or interest in the property, any additional facts supporting the petitioner's claim, and the relief sought.
- (c) The hearing on the petition shall be held before a judge and, to the extent practicable and consistent with the interests of justice, be held within 30 days of the filing of the petition.

  The court may consolidate the hearing on the petition with a hearing on any other petition filed by a person other than the defendant under this subdivision.
- (d) At the hearing, the petitioner may testify and present evidence and witnesses on the petitioner's own behalf, and cross-examine witnesses who appear at the hearing. The state may present evidence and witnesses in rebuttal and in defense of its claim to the property and cross-examine witnesses who appear at the hearing.
- (e) The petitioner who has an ownership interest in property subject to forfeiture existing at the time the illegal conduct giving rise to forfeiture occurred and who claims to be an innocent owner bears the burden of proving by clear and convincing evidence that the person has a legal interest in the seized property.
- (f) If paragraph (e) is satisfied and the state seeks to proceed with the forfeiture against the property, the state shall prove by clear and convincing evidence that the petitioner actively or passively permitted the defendant to use the property while having actual or constructive knowledge that the property would be used in the manner contrary to law for which the defendant was charged and failed to take reasonable steps to prevent use of the property by the defendant.
- (g) For purposes of this subdivision, a person, other than the defendant, who claims an interest in seized property is presumed to know that property would be used in a manner contrary to law consistent with the offense of which the defendant was convicted if the defendant is a family or household member as defined in section 169A.63, subdivision 1, paragraph (e), and:
- (1) the defendant has three or more prior impaired driving convictions and the underlying criminal matter alleges a violation of a designated offense as defined in section 169A.63, subdivision 1, paragraph (d), or conduct resulting in a designated license revocation as defined in section 169A.63, subdivision 1, paragraph (d);

18.1

18.2

18.3

18.4

18.5

18.6

18.7

18.8

18.9

18.10

18.11

18.12

18.13

18.14

18.15

18.16

18.17

18.18

18.19

18.20

18.21

18.22

18.23

18.24

18.25

18.26

18.27

18.28

18.29

18.30

18.31

18.32

| 19.1  | (2) the defendant has three or more prior controlled substance convictions and the              |
|-------|---|
| 19.2  | underlying criminal matter alleges a controlled substance violation; or                         |
| 19.3  | (3) the defendant has three or more designated offense convictions and the underlying           |
| 19.4  | criminal matter alleges a designated offense violation.   |
| 19.5  | (h) A petitioner who acquired an ownership interest in property subject to forfeiture           |
| 19.6  | after the commission of a crime giving rise to the forfeiture and who claims to be an innocent  |
| 19.7  | owner bears the burden of proving by clear and convincing evidence that the person has a        |
| 19.8  | legal interest in the seized property.  |
| 19.9  | (i) If paragraph (h) is satisfied and the state seeks to proceed with the forfeiture against    |
| 19.10 | the property, the state shall prove by clear and convincing evidence that, at the time the      |
| 19.11 | petitioner acquired the property, the person:   |
| 19.12 | (1) had actual knowledge that the property was subject to forfeiture; or                        |
| 19.13 | (2) was not a bona fide purchaser who made the purchase (1) without notice of any               |
| 19.14 | defect in title, and (2) for valuable consideration.  |
| 19.15 | (j) If the state fails to meet its burden in paragraph (h), the court shall find that the       |
| 19.16 | petitioner is an innocent owner and shall order the state to relinquish all claims of title to  |
| 19.17 | the property.   |
| 19.18 | (k) An individual who asserts a claim pursuant to this subdivision is barred from asserting     |
| 19.19 | a claim pursuant to subdivision 5.  |
| 19.20 | (l) The defendant or convicted offender may invoke the right against self-incrimination         |
| 19.21 | or the marital privilege during the forfeiture-related stage of the prosecution. The trier of   |
| 19.22 | fact at the hearing may draw an adverse inference from the invocation of the right or           |
| 19.23 | privilege.  |
| 19.24 | (m) No petition filed or testimony given at a hearing pursuant to this subdivision shall        |
| 19.25 | be used as evidence in the related criminal matter. Nothing in this paragraph prevents any      |
| 19.26 | individual who has filed a petition under this section from providing information to any        |
| 19.27 | prosecuting authority or defendant involved in the related criminal matter or their             |
| 19.28 | representatives, or from testifying in any trial as to facts within the individual's knowledge. |
| 19.29 | Subd. 3. Replevin hearing. (a) Following the seizure of property, a defendant has a             |
| 19.30 | right to a pretrial hearing before a judge to determine the validity of the seizure.            |

| 04/17/18 02:55 PM | HOUSE RESEARCH | BJ/SK | H2856A25 |
|-------------------|----------------|-------|----------|
|                   |                |       |          |

| 20.1  | (b) The defendant may claim at any time prior to 60 days before trial of the related            |
|-------|---|
| 20.2  | criminal offense the right to possession of property by filing an action in conciliation court  |
| 20.3  | or a motion to the court to issue a writ of replevin.   |
| 20.4  | (c) The claimant shall file a complaint or motion establishing the validity of the alleged      |
| 20.5  | interest in the property.   |
| 20.6  | (d) The court shall hold a hearing before a judge no more than 30 days after the complaint      |
| 20.7  | or petition is filed.   |
| 20.8  | (e) The state shall file an answer showing probable cause for the seizure or cross motions      |
| 20.9  | at least ten days before the hearing.   |
| 20.10 | (f) Either party may, by agreement or for good cause, move the court for one extension          |
| 20.11 | of no more than ten days. Any such motion may be supported by affidavits or other               |
| 20.12 | submissions.  |
| 20.13 | (g) The court shall issue a writ of replevin if it finds that:                                  |
| 20.14 | (1) it is likely the final judgment will be that the state must return the property to the      |
| 20.15 | <u>claimant;</u>  |
| 20.16 | (2) the property is not reasonably required to be held for evidentiary reasons; or              |
| 20.17 | (3) the property is the only reasonable means for a defendant to pay for legal                  |
| 20.18 | representation in the forfeiture or criminal proceeding.  |
| 20.19 | At the court's discretion under clause (3), it may order the return of funds or property        |
| 20.20 | sufficient to obtain counsel of choice but less than the total amount seized.                   |
| 20.21 | (h) In lieu of ordering the issuance of the writ, the court may order the state to give         |
| 20.22 | security or written assurance for satisfaction of any judgment, including damages, that may     |
| 20.23 | be rendered in the action, or order other relief as may be just.                                |
| 20.24 | (i) A defendant who asserts a claim under this subdivision is not barred from asserting         |
| 20.25 | a claim pursuant to subdivision 9.  |
| 20.26 | (j) No complaint or motion filed, or testimony given at a hearing, pursuant to this             |
| 20.27 | subdivision shall be used as evidence in the related criminal matter. Nothing in this paragraph |
| 20.28 | prevents any individual who has filed a petition under this section from providing information  |
| 20.29 | to any prosecuting authority or defendant involved in the related criminal matter or their      |
| 20.30 | representatives, or from testifying in any trial as to facts within the individual's knowledge. |
| 20.31 | Subd. 4. Discovery. Discovery in a forfeiture proceeding is subject to the Rules of             |
| 20.32 | Criminal Procedure.   |

| 04/17/18 02:55 PM       | HOUSE RESEARCH    | BJ/SK  | H2856A25   |
|-------------------------|-------------------|--------|------------|
| 0 1/1 // 10 02.33 1 101 | 110 CDE REBERINCH | DUIDIE | 1120301125 |

| 21.1  | Subd. 5. Proceeding. (a) A contested forfeiture proceeding shall be held before a judge.          |
|-------|---|
| 21.2  | (b) The court shall provide notice of the hearing to the defendant in the related criminal        |
| 21.3  | matter and any owner or possessor of the property.  |
| 21.4  | (c) Except as otherwise provided in this section, when a judge conducts a contested               |
| 21.5  | forfeiture proceeding, the judge is not bound by the common law or statutory rules of             |
| 21.6  | evidence or technical or formal rules of pleading or procedure.                                   |
| 21.7  | (d) The defendant and any owner or possessor of the property shall be entitled to challenge       |
| 21.8  | the forfeiture and may be represented by counsel. If the defendant in the related criminal        |
| 21.9  | matter was represented by the public defender, the state public defender or chief public          |
| 21.10 | defender of the judicial district may authorize representation of the defendant in the forfeiture |
| 21.11 | proceeding.   |
| 21.12 | (e) Nothing in this subdivision prohibits resolution of the forfeiture proceeding by              |
| 21.13 | stipulation or as part of a plea agreement except that the court shall not accept a plea          |
| 21.14 | agreement or other arrangement that:  |
| 21.15 | (1) allows a defendant to contribute or donate property to a person, charity, or other            |
| 21.16 | organization; or  |
| 21.17 | (2) prevents the claims of any owner or possessor of the property from being heard.               |
| 21.18 | Subd. 6. Standards of proof. (a) At a hearing held pursuant to subdivision 5, a person,           |
| 21.19 | other than the defendant, who claims an interest in seized property has the burden to prove       |
| 21.20 | by clear and convincing evidence that the person has a legal interest in the seized property.     |
| 21.21 | (b) The prosecuting authority has the burden to prove by clear and convincing evidence            |
| 21.22 | that:   |
| 21.23 | (1) the defendant in the related criminal matter is the sole owner of the property, or any        |
| 21.24 | other person who claims an ownership interest in seized property actively or passively            |
| 21.25 | permitted the defendant to use the property while having actual or constructive knowledge         |
| 21.26 | that the property would be used in the manner contrary to law for which the defendant was         |
| 21.27 | charged and failed to take reasonable steps to prevent use of the property by the defendant;      |
| 21.28 | (2) the related criminal matter resulted in a conviction for the criminal offense related         |
| 21.29 | to the action for forfeiture; and   |
| 21.30 | (3) the seized property was an instrument or represents the proceeds of the underlying            |
| 21.31 | offense.  |

(c) The presumptions in subdivision 2, paragraph (f), apply to a hearing under this subdivision.

- Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 609.5314, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2. Administrative forfeiture procedure. (a) Forfeiture of property described in subdivision 1 that does not exceed \$50,000 in value is governed by this subdivision. Within 60 days from when seizure occurs, all persons known to have an ownership, possessory, or security interest in seized property must be notified of the seizure and the intent to forfeit the property. In the case of a motor vehicle required to be registered under chapter 168, notice mailed by certified mail to the address shown in Department of Public Safety records is deemed sufficient notice to the registered owner. The notification to a person known to have a security interest in seized property required under this paragraph applies only to motor vehicles required to be registered under chapter 168 and only if the security interest is listed on the vehicle's title. Upon motion by the appropriate agency or the prosecuting authority, a court may extend the time period for sending notice for a period not to exceed 90 days for good cause shown.
- (b) Notice may otherwise be given in the manner provided by law for service of a summons in a civil action. The notice must be in writing and contain:
- 22.18 (1) a description of the property seized;
- 22.19 (2) the date of seizure; and

22.1

22.2

22.3

22.4

22.5

22.6

22.7

22.8

22.9

22.10

22.11

22.12

22.13

22.14

22.15

22.16

22.17

22.24

22.25

22.26

22.27

22.28

22.29

22.30

22.31

22.32

- 22.20 (3) notice of the right to obtain judicial review of the forfeiture and of the procedure for obtaining that judicial review, printed in English. This requirement does not preclude the appropriate agency from printing the notice in other languages in addition to English.
- Substantially the following language must appear conspicuously in the notice:
  - "WARNING: You will may automatically lose the above-described property and the right to be heard in court if you do not file a lawsuit and serve the prosecuting authority within 60 days. You may file your lawsuit in conciliation court if the property is worth \$15,000 or less; otherwise, you must file in district court. You may not have to pay a filing fee for your lawsuit if you are unable to afford the fee. You do not have to pay a conciliation court fee if your property is worth less than \$500. If you are not the defendant, you may also file an innocent owner petition. If you are the defendant, you may file a petition for replevin."
    - (c) If notice is not sent in accordance with paragraph (a), and no time extension is granted or the extension period has expired, the appropriate agency shall return the property to the

person from whom the property was seized, if known. An agency's return of property due to lack of proper notice does not restrict the agency's authority to commence a forfeiture proceeding at a later time. The agency shall not be required to return contraband or other property that the person from whom the property was seized may not legally possess.

Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 609.5314, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

- Subd. 3. **Judicial determination.** (a) Within 60 days following service of a notice of seizure and forfeiture under this section, a claimant may file a demand for a judicial determination of the forfeiture. The demand must be in the form of a civil complaint and must be filed with the court administrator in the county in which the seizure occurred, together with proof of service of a copy of the complaint on the prosecuting authority for that county, and the standard filing fee for civil actions unless the petitioner has the right to sue in forma pauperis under section 563.01. The claimant may serve the complaint on the prosecuting authority by any means permitted by court rules. If the value of the seized property is \$15,000 or less, the claimant may file an action in conciliation court for recovery of the seized property. If the value of the seized property is less than \$500, the claimant does not have to pay the conciliation court filing fee. No responsive pleading is required of the prosecuting authority and no court fees may be charged for the prosecuting authority's appearance in the matter. The district court administrator shall schedule the hearing as soon as practicable after, and in any event no later than 90 days following, the conclusion of the criminal prosecution. The proceedings are governed by the Rules of Civil Procedure.
- (b) The complaint must be captioned in the name of the claimant as plaintiff and the seized property as defendant, and must state with specificity the grounds on which the claimant alleges the property was improperly seized and the plaintiff's interest in the property seized. Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, an action for the return of property seized under this section may not be maintained by or on behalf of any person who has been served with a notice of seizure and forfeiture unless the person has complied with this subdivision.
- (c) If the claimant makes a timely demand for judicial determination under this subdivision, the appropriate agency must conduct the forfeiture under <u>section</u> <u>sections</u> 609.531, subdivision 6a, and 609.5313, subdivisions 4 through 6. The limitations and defenses set forth in section 609.5311, subdivision 3, apply to the judicial determination.
- (d) If a demand for judicial determination of an administrative forfeiture is filed under this subdivision and the court orders the return of the seized property, the court shall order that filing fees be reimbursed to the person who filed the demand. In addition, the court may order sanctions under section 549.211. If the court orders payment of these costs, they

23.1

23.2

23.3

23.4

23.5

23.6

23.7

23.8

23.9

23.10

23.11

23.12

23.13

23.14

23.15

23.16

23.17

23.18

23.19

23.20

23.21

23.22

23.23

23.24

23.25

23.26

23.27

23.28

23.29

23.30

23.31

23.32

23.33

must be paid from forfeited money or proceeds from the sale of forfeited property from the appropriate law enforcement and prosecuting agencies in the same proportion as they would be distributed under section 609.5315, subdivision 5.

- Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 609.5314, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
- Subd. 4. Innocent owner claims; replevin hearing. Notwithstanding subdivision 3, a

  claimant, other than the defendant in the underlying criminal matter, may assert an innocent

  owner claim pursuant to section 609.5313, subdivision 2. A claimant who is the defendant

  in the underlying criminal matter may bring a motion for replevin pursuant to section

  609.5313, subdivision 3.
- Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 609.5315, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
  - Subd. 2. **Disposition of administratively forfeited property.** If property is forfeited administratively under section 609.5314 or 609.5318 and no demand for judicial determination is made, the appropriate agency shall provide the prosecuting authority with a copy of the forfeiture or evidence receipt, the notice of seizure and intent to forfeit, a statement of probable cause for forfeiture of the property, and a description of the property and its estimated value. Upon review and certification by the prosecuting authority that (1) the appropriate agency provided a receipt in accordance with section 609.531, subdivision 4, or 626.16; (2) the appropriate agency served notice in accordance with section 609.5314, subdivision 2, or 609.5318, subdivision 2; and (3) probable cause for forfeiture exists based on the officer's statement, the appropriate agency may dispose of the property in any of the ways listed in subdivision 1, but may not sell or use property until a defendant has been convicted or admitted guilt in a criminal proceeding unless the property is abandoned property.
- Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 609.5315, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
- Subd. 5. **Distribution of money.** (a) The money or proceeds from the sale of forfeited property, after payment of seizure, storage, forfeiture, and sale expenses, and satisfaction of valid liens against the property, must be distributed as follows: forwarded to the commissioner within 60 days after resolution of the forfeiture.
- 24.30 (1) 70 percent of the money or proceeds must be forwarded to the appropriate agency
  24.31 for deposit as a supplement to the agency's operating fund or similar fund for use in law
  24.32 enforcement;

24.1

24.2

24.3

24.12

24.13

24.14

24.15

24.16

24.17

24.18

24.19

24.20

24.21

24.22

24.23

| 04/17/18 02:55 PM | HOUSE RESEARCH | BJ/SK | H2856A25 |
|-------------------|----------------|-------|----------|
|                   |                |       |          |

| 25.1  | (2) 20 percent of the money or proceeds must be forwarded to the prosecuting authority          |
|-------|---|
| 25.2  | that handled the forfeiture for deposit as a supplement to its operating fund or similar fund   |
| 25.3  | for prosecutorial purposes; and   |
| 25.4  | (3) the remaining ten percent of the money or proceeds must be forwarded within 60              |
| 25.5  | days after resolution of the forfeiture to the state treasury and credited to the general fund. |
| 25.6  | Any local police relief association organized under chapter 423 which received or was           |
| 25.7  | entitled to receive the proceeds of any sale made under this section before the effective date  |
| 25.8  | of Laws 1988, chapter 665, sections 1 to 17, shall continue to receive and retain the proceeds  |
| 25.9  | of these sales.   |
| 25.10 | (b) The commissioner shall establish a grant program through the Office of Justice              |
| 25.11 | Programs.   |
| 25.12 | (c) The commissioner shall create two separate accounts. One shall consist of all money         |
| 25.13 | or proceeds from the sale of forfeited property received from an appropriate agency within      |
| 25.14 | the seven-county metropolitan area as defined in section 473.121, subdivision 4. The other      |
| 25.15 | shall consist of all money or proceeds from the sale of forfeited property received from an     |
| 25.16 | appropriate agency outside the seven-county metropolitan area.                                  |
| 25.17 | (d) An appropriate agency is eligible for grants for any lawful purpose if the appropriate      |
| 25.18 | agency forwarded money or proceeds from the sale of forfeited property to the commissioner      |
| 25.19 | in the previous 12 months. An appropriate agency within the seven-county metropolitan           |
| 25.20 | area is eligible for grants from the account consisting of all money or proceeds from the       |
| 25.21 | sale of forfeited property received from an appropriate agency within the seven-county          |
| 25.22 | metropolitan area. An appropriate agency outside the seven-county metropolitan area is          |
| 25.23 | eligible for grants from the account consisting of all money or proceeds from the sale of       |
| 25.24 | forfeited property received from an appropriate agency outside the seven-county metropolitan    |
| 25.25 | area.   |
| 25.26 | (e) The amount of a grant to an eligible appropriate agency is not contingent on the            |
| 25.27 | amount the agency forwarded to the commissioner.  |
| 25.28 | (f) The commissioner may retain up to 5% of the money or proceeds from the sale of              |
| 25.29 | forfeited property. All other money or proceeds from the sale of forfeited property must, at    |
| 25.30 | a minimum, be distributed on an annual basis.   |
| 25.31 | Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 609.5318, subdivision 2, is amended to read:          |
| 25.32 | Subd. 2. <b>Notice.</b> (a) The registered owner of the vehicle must be notified of the seizure |
| 25.33 | and intent to forfeit the vehicle within seven days after the seizure. Notice by certified mail |

| 04/17/18 02:55 PM | HOUSE RESEARCH | BJ/SK | H2856A25 |
|-------------------|----------------|-------|----------|
|                   |                |       |          |

| 26.1 | to the address shown in Department of Public Safety records is deemed to be sufficient |
|------|--|
| 26.2 | notice to the registered owner.  |
| 26.3 | (b) The notice must be in writing and:   |

- (b) The notice must be in writing and:
- (1) contain a description of the property seized; 26.4
- 26.5 (2) contain the date of seizure; and

26.9

26.10

26.11

26.12

26.13

26.14

26.15

- (3) be printed in English. This requirement does not preclude the appropriate agency 26.6 26.7 from printing the notice in other languages in addition to English.
- (c) Substantially, the following language must appear conspicuously in the notice: 26.8
  - "WARNING: You will may automatically lose the above-described property and the right to be heard in court if you do not file a lawsuit and serve the prosecuting authority within 60 days. You may file your lawsuit in conciliation court if the property is worth \$15,000 or less; otherwise, you must file in district court. You may not have to pay a filing fee for your lawsuit if you are unable to afford the fee. You do not have to pay a conciliation court fee if your property is worth less than \$500. If you are not the defendant, you may also file an innocent owner petition. If you are the defendant, you may file a petition for replevin."
- Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 609.5318, is amended by adding a subdivision 26.17 to read: 26.18
- Subd. 3a. **Innocent owner claims**; replevin hearing. Notwithstanding subdivision 3, 26.19 a claimant, other than the defendant in the underlying criminal matter, may assert an innocent 26.20 owner claim pursuant to section 609.5313, subdivision 2. A claimant who is the defendant 26.21 26.22 in the underlying criminal matter may bring a motion for replevin pursuant to section 609.5313, subdivision 3. 26.23
- Sec. 24. REPEALER. 26.24
- Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 609.5315, subdivisions 5a and 5b, and Minnesota 26.25 Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 609.5315, subdivision 5c, are repealed." 26.26
- Amend the title accordingly 26.27