# STATE OF MINNESOTA NINTH MEETING HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES NINETY-SECOND SESSION

Environment and Natural Resources Finance and Policy

#### **MINUTES**

Representative Hansen, Chair of the Environment and Natural Resources Finance and Policy Committee, called the meeting to order at 1:00 P.M. on February 9th, 2021, pursuant to House rule 10.01. The meeting was conducted over Zoom and broadcast via House Public Information Services, Facebook Live, and YouTube live streaming.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

# Members present:

HANSEN, Rick (Chair) WAZLAWIK, Ami (Vice Chair) HEINTZEMAN, Josh (Lead) ACOMB, Patty AKLAND, Susan BACKER, Jeff BECKER-FINN, Jamie ECKLUND, Rob FISCHER, Peter GREEN, Steve IGO, Spencer JORDAN, Sydney KEELER, Heather LEE, Fue LIPPERT, Todd LUECK, Dale MORRISON, Kelly NELSON, Nathan THEIS, Tama

Chair Hansen called the meeting to order at 1:00 P.M. A quorum was present.

Rep. Ecklund moved that the minutes from February 4th, 2021 be approved. MOTION PREVAILED.

Rep. Fischer moved that the minutes from the February 5th, 2021 joint meeting of the Environment Finance and Policy Committee and the Agriculture Finance and Policy Committee. MOTION PREVAILED.

HF387 (VANG) Turtle taking provisions modified.

Rep. Hansen moved that HF387 be laid over for possible inclusion in an omnibus bill.

Rep. Hansen moved H0387A2 to amend HF387 and a roll was taken:

# AYES:

HANSEN, Rick (Chair) WAZLAWIK, Ami (Vice Chair) HEINTZEMAN, Josh (Lead) ACOMB, Patty AKLAND, Susan BACKER, Jeff BECKER-FINN, Jamie ECKLUND, Rob FISCHER, Peter GREEN, Steve IGO, Spencer JORDAN, Sydney KEELER, Heather LEE, Fue LIPPERT, Todd LUECK, Dale MORRISON, Kelly NELSON, Nathan THEIS, Tama

By a vote of 19 Ayes and 0 Nays the MOTION PREVAILED and the amendment was adopted.

Rep. Hansen moved the A21-0010 amendment to amend HF387, as amended, and a roll was taken:

# AYES:

HANSEN, Rick (Chair)
WAZLAWIK, Ami (Vice Chair)
HEINTZEMAN, Josh (Lead)
ACOMB, Patty
AKLAND, Susan
BACKER, Jeff
BECKER-FINN, Jamie
ECKLUND, Rob

FISCHER, Peter GREEN, Steve IGO, Spencer JORDAN, Sydney KEELER, Heather LEE, Fue LIPPERT, Todd LUECK, Dale MORRISON, Kelly NELSON, Nathan THEIS, Tama

By a vote of 19 Ayes and 0 Nays the MOTION PREVAILED and the amendment was adopted.

Rep. Hansen renewed his motion that HF387, as amended, be laid over for possible inclusion in an omnibus bill. HF387, as amended, was laid over.

# Testifiers:

Collette Adkins, Center for Biological Diversity Christopher Smith, Minnesota Herpetological Society Ann Pierce, Minnesota Department of Natural Resources Bob Meier, Assistant Commissioner DNR

Rep. Wazlawik assumed the gavel at 1:35 P.M.

HF401 (HANSEN) Law enforcement employee salary increase provided and technical change made, and money appropriated.

Rep. Hansen moved that HF401 be recommended to be re-referred to the Commerce Finance and Policy Committee

Rep. Hansen moved H0401A1 to amend HF401, and a roll was taken:

## AYES:

HANSEN, Rick (Chair)
WAZLAWIK, Ami (Vice Chair)
HEINTZEMAN, Josh (Lead)
ACOMB, Patty
AKLAND, Susan
BACKER,Jeff
ECKLUND, Rob
FISCHER, Peter
GREEN, Steve

IGO, Spencer
JORDAN, Sydney
KEELER, Heather
LEE, Fue
LIPPERT, Todd
LUECK, Dale
MORRISON, Kelly
NELSON, Nathan
THEIS, Tama

By a vote of 18 Ayes and 0 Nays the MOTION PREVAILED and the amendment was adopted.

Rep. Green moved H0401A2 to amend HF401, as amended. Rep. Wazlawik ruled the amendment out of order. Rep. Green appealed the ruling of the chair, and a roll was taken:

# AYES:

HANSEN, Rick (Chair)
WAZLAWIK, Ami (Vice Chair)
ACOMB, Patty
BECKER-FINN, Jamie
ECKLUND, Rob
FISCHER, Peter
JORDAN, Sydney
KEELER, Heather
LEE, Fue
LIPPERT, Todd
MORRISON, Kelly

# NAYS:

HEINTZEMAN, Josh (Lead) AKLAND, Susan BACKER, Jeff GREEN, Steve IGO, Spencer LUECK, Dale NELSON, Nathan THEIS, Tama

By a vote of 11 Ayes and 7 Nays the ruling was SUSTAINED.

Rep. Green moved that the HF401 be tabled and a roll was taken:

# AYES:

HEINTZEMAN, Josh (Lead)
AKLAND, Susan
BACKER, Jeff
GREEN, Steve
IGO, Spencer
LUECK, Dale
NELSON, Nathan
THEIS, Tama

# NAYS:

HANSEN, Rick (Chair)
WAZLAWIK, Ami (Vice Chair)
ACOMB, Patty
BECKER-FINN, Jamie
ECKLUND, Rob
FISCHER, Peter
JORDAN, Sydney
KEELER, Heather
LEE, Fue
LIPPERT, Todd
MORRISON, Kelly

By a vote of 8 Ayes and 11 Nays the MOTION FAILED.

Rep. Hansen renewed motion HF401, as amended, be recommended to be re-referred to the Commerce Finance and Policy Committee and a roll was taken:

## AYES:

HANSEN, Rick (Chair)
WAZLAWIK, Ami (Vice Chair)
HEINTZEMAN, Josh (Lead)
ACOMB, Patty
AKLAND, Susan
BACKER, Jeff
ECKLUND, Rob
FISCHER, Peter
GREEN, Steve
IGO, Spencer
JORDAN, Sydney
LEE, Fue

LIPPERT, Todd LUECK, Dale MORRISON, Kelly NELSON, Nathan THEIS, Tama

NAYS:

KEELER, Heather

By a vote of 18 Ayes and 1 Nay the MOTION PREVAILED and HF401, as amended, was recommended to be re-referred to the Commerce Finance and Policy Committee.

## Testifiers:

Caleb Silgjord, Vice President, Minnesota Conservation Officers Association
Doug Henning, President, BCA Agent's Association
Brian Peters, Executive Director, MPPOA
Rodmen Smith, Minnesota Department of Natural Resources
Bob Meier, Minnesota Department of Natural Resources
James Schowalter, Commissioner, Minnesota Management and Budget
Paul Van Voorhis, President of the Minnesota State Patrol Supervisor Association

HF733 (HANSEN) Capital project review notice standardized.

Rep. Hansen moved that HF733 be laid over for possible inclusion in an omnibus bill.

Rep. Hansen moved H0733A1 to amend HF733, and a voice vote was taken. The MOTION PREVAILED and the amendment was adopted.

Rep. Backer moved to table HF733, as amended, and a roll was taken:

## AYES:

HEINTZEMAN, Josh (Lead)
AKLAND, Susan
BACKER, Jeff
GREEN, Steve
IGO, Spencer
LUECK, Dale
NELSON, Nathan
THEIS, Tama

NAYS:

HANSEN, Rick (Chair)
WAZLAWIK, Ami (Vice Chair)
ACOMB, Patty
BECKER-FINN, Jamie
ECKLUND, Rob
FISCHER, Peter
JORDAN, Sydney
KEELER, Heather
LEE, Fue
LIPPERT, Todd
MORRISON, Kelly

By a vote of 8 Ayes and 11 Nays the MOTION FAILED.

Rep. Hansen renewed his motion that HF733, as amended, be laid over for possible inclusion in an omnibus bill. The bill was laid over.

Testifiers:

Bob Meier, Assistant Commissioner DNR

Rep. Wazlawik adjourned the meeting at 2:31 P.M.

Rick Hansen
Chair of Environment Finance and Policy

Adam Kopel
Committee Legislative Assistant